Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET CRUZE - 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 557 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (25) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (77) Steering (89) Unknown Or Other (37)
Electrical System (144) Exterior Lighting (10) Seat Belts (3) Structure (17) Vehicle Speed Control (36)
Electronic Stability Control (81) Fuel Propulsion System (19) Seats (2) Suspension (4) Visibility (7)
Engine (138) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (104) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (19)
Engine And Engine Cooling (29) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (6)
Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 87
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

12/6/2017 - WILLIAMSTOWN, KY
AFTER DRIVING FOR A WHILE LIKE 8 TO 10 MILES STOPPING FOR A LITTLE WHILE AT A DRIVE THROW AND THE CAR FAN CAME ON AND THE CAR TEMPERATURE GAGE ISN'T EVEN HALF WAY ON THE GAGE AND THE FAN COMES ON. THE CAR HEATER IS BLOWING COOL AIR INSTEAD OF HEAT BUT WHEN DRIVING OR RAMEN THE ENGINE A LITTLE HEAT STARTS WORKING

View Details

ENGINE

12/1/2017 - JOHNSON CITY, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. WHILE DRIVING, THE VEHICLE OVERHEATED AND THE CHECK ENGINE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE SHUT DOWN AND WAS TOWED TO CHAMPION CHEVROLET CADILLAC (36006 BRISTOL HWY, JOHNSON CITY, TN 37601) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT HEAD GASKET NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. IT WOULD COST AN ADDITIONAL $500 FOR ADDITIONAL DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE AND OPENED CASE NUMBER: 8-356-5888446. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE WATER PUMP WAS REPLACED IN 2014 AND REFERRED THE CONTACT TO NHTSA. NO FURTHER ASSISTANCE WAS PROVIDED. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 138,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/1/2017 - HARRISON TOWNSHIP, MI
WHILE DRIVING MY CAR WOULD NOT ACCELERATE. THE CAR WILL NOT MOVE WHEN CHANGING GEARS. I TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP BECAUSE THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND STABILIK SERVICE LIGHT CAME ON. THE MECHANIC DIAGNOSED THE CAR AND REPLACED A CONNECTOR. NOW, THE CAR GEARS DON'T WORK. MISDIAGNOSIS.

View Details

ENGINE

12/1/2017 - HARRISON TOWNSHIP, MI
WHILE DRIVING MY CAR WOULD NOT ACCELERATE. THE CAR WILL NOT MOVE WHEN CHANGING GEARS. I TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP BECAUSE THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND STABILIK SERVICE LIGHT CAME ON. THE MECHANIC DIAGNOSED THE CAR AND REPLACED A CONNECTOR. NOW, THE CAR GEARS DON'T WORK. MISDIAGNOSIS.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

12/1/2017 - HARRISON TOWNSHIP, MI
WHILE DRIVING MY CAR WOULD NOT ACCELERATE. THE CAR WILL NOT MOVE WHEN CHANGING GEARS. I TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP BECAUSE THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND STABILIK SERVICE LIGHT CAME ON. THE MECHANIC DIAGNOSED THE CAR AND REPLACED A CONNECTOR. NOW, THE CAR GEARS DON'T WORK. MISDIAGNOSIS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/28/2017 - HOUSTON, TX
ENGINE COOLANT LEAKED FROM THE WATER PUMP WHILE DRIVING. THE PUMP LEAKED, LEADING TO A DRIP OF COOLANT ONTO THE ENGINE AND ONTO THE GROUND. OVER TIME, THE LOSS OF COOLANT REDUCED COOLING PERFORMANCE AND EVENTUALLY LEAD TO ENGINE OVERHEATING. THE +SERVICE ENGINE+ INDICATOR LIGHT CAME ON, AN +ENGINE HOT, AC OFF+ MESSAGE APPEARED, A CHIME THEN THE ENGINE POWER REDUCED. THIS COVERAGE SHOULD HAVE BEEN COVERED BY GM SERVICE BULLETIN 14371A BUT WE ARE BEING DENIED REIMBURSEMENT BECAUSE THE VIN NUMBER IS NOT LISTED AS DEFECTIVE. I AM SEEKING REIMBURSEMENT APPROVAL SINCE THIS REPAIR WAS MADE BY A THIRD PARTY. AFTER SPEAKING WITH A GM REPRESENTATIVE, THEY SUGGESTED ESCALATING THIS ISSUE WITH NHTSA. THE GM CASE NUMBER IS 8-3599435878.

View Details

ENGINE

11/28/2017 - RIPON, CA
THIS CAR HAS HAD ISSUES SINCE WE PURCHASED IT BRAND NEW IN 2012. DOES NOT ACCELERATE WHEN MERGING ON FREEWAY OR TRYING TO PICK UP SPEED. IT PUTS THE DRIVER AT A VERY HIGH RISK OF AN ACCIDENT. THIS CAR WAS PURCHASED FOR MY DAUGHTER TO ATTEND COLLEGE AND SHE FEELS VERY UNSAFE. WE HAVE HAD TO HAVE IT TOWED AND TAKEN INTO SHOP SEVERAL TIME FOR CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND LOUD SHAKING NOISE. THIS CAR HAS BEEN NOTHING BUT A NIGHTMARE AND SEEM TO THINK BASED ON REVIEWS THAT THESE CARS FALL INTO THE LEMON CATEGORY. WE WILL BE TAKING IT TO A VERY RELIABLE MECHANIC THIS WEEK AND WILL WAIT TO SEE WHAT THEY FIND.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/28/2017 - RIPON, CA
THIS CAR HAS HAD ISSUES SINCE WE PURCHASED IT BRAND NEW IN 2012. DOES NOT ACCELERATE WHEN MERGING ON FREEWAY OR TRYING TO PICK UP SPEED. IT PUTS THE DRIVER AT A VERY HIGH RISK OF AN ACCIDENT. THIS CAR WAS PURCHASED FOR MY DAUGHTER TO ATTEND COLLEGE AND SHE FEELS VERY UNSAFE. WE HAVE HAD TO HAVE IT TOWED AND TAKEN INTO SHOP SEVERAL TIME FOR CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND LOUD SHAKING NOISE. THIS CAR HAS BEEN NOTHING BUT A NIGHTMARE AND SEEM TO THINK BASED ON REVIEWS THAT THESE CARS FALL INTO THE LEMON CATEGORY. WE WILL BE TAKING IT TO A VERY RELIABLE MECHANIC THIS WEEK AND WILL WAIT TO SEE WHAT THEY FIND.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/28/2017 - RIPON, CA
THIS CAR HAS HAD ISSUES SINCE WE PURCHASED IT BRAND NEW IN 2012. DOES NOT ACCELERATE WHEN MERGING ON FREEWAY OR TRYING TO PICK UP SPEED. IT PUTS THE DRIVER AT A VERY HIGH RISK OF AN ACCIDENT. THIS CAR WAS PURCHASED FOR MY DAUGHTER TO ATTEND COLLEGE AND SHE FEELS VERY UNSAFE. WE HAVE HAD TO HAVE IT TOWED AND TAKEN INTO SHOP SEVERAL TIME FOR CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND LOUD SHAKING NOISE. THIS CAR HAS BEEN NOTHING BUT A NIGHTMARE AND SEEM TO THINK BASED ON REVIEWS THAT THESE CARS FALL INTO THE LEMON CATEGORY. WE WILL BE TAKING IT TO A VERY RELIABLE MECHANIC THIS WEEK AND WILL WAIT TO SEE WHAT THEY FIND.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/21/2017 - WATERFORD TWP, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. WHILE DRIVING 10 MPH, ANOTHER VEHICLE REAR ENDED THE CONTACT+S VEHICLE. ALL THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED BRUISES TO THE NOSE THAT DID NOT REQUIRE MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED, BUT THE CONTACT DID NOT KNOW WHERE THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 59,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 87
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds