Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET CRUZE - 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 289 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (40) Steering (60) Unknown Or Other (20)
Electrical System (83) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (1) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electronic Stability Control (29) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Seats (2) Suspension (3) Visibility (5)
Engine (61) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (55) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (21) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (5)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 44
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

1/23/2015 - ELKINS, AR
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH, THERE WAS THE SMELL OF OIL AND COOLANT IN THE VEHICLE'S CABIN. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE OIL AND COOLANT NEEDED TO BE CHANGED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 10,000. SG

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/22/2015 - PHILADELPHIA , PA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE APPROXIMATELY DRIVING 60 MPH, THE TRACTION STABILITY, REDUCE ENGINE POWER AND CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND FAILED TO RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 56,653. PAM

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/21/2015 - MARTINSBURG, WV
I TURNED MY CAR ON ONE MORNING AFTER I JUST HAD IT IN THE SHOP TO GET THE RECALLS FIXED ON IT. IM SEEING SERVICE STABILITRAK AND SERVICE TRACTION AND ABS LIGHTS. I CAN NO LONGER TURN ON OR OFF MY TRACTION CONTROLE. MY BRAKES ARE NOW GRABBING REALLY BAD AND IM GETTING A REALLY WEIRD FEEL WHEN I HAVE MY FOOT IN THE GAS AND TURN MY WHEEL. MY CAR IS NOT THE SAME AFTER THE RECALLS WERE DONE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/16/2015 - ABERDEEN, WA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTIFICATION FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 13V360000 (SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC) AND STATED THAT THE PART NEEDED WAS UNAVAILABLE TO PERFORM THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. DJR

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/15/2015 - IOWA FALLS , IA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE IN A RESIDENTIAL DRIVEWAY, THE VEHICLE CAUGHT ON FIRE WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. IT WAS UNKNOWN IF A FIRE OR POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE WAS 42,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/14/2015 - CHARLOTTE, NC
DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT ROUGHLY 70MPH WHEN CAR SHUDDERED, AND LOST POWER IMMEDIATELY. AFTER THIS THE CAR WOULD NOT ACCELERATE. FORTUNATELY THERE WERE NO VEHICLES DIRECTLY BEHIND ME, SO I WAS ABLE TO P;ULL OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS ILLUMINATED AND THE DASHBOARD READ THREE ERRORS: "ENGINE POWER IS REDUCED", "SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL", "SERVICE STABILITRACK". AFTER TURNING THE CAR OFF, WAITING, AND TURNING BACK ON THE VEHICLE WORKED CORRECTLY, BUT THE ISSUE OCCURRED AFTER ANOTHER 15 MINUTES ON THE ROAD. I DROVE IN THE RIGHT LANE THE REST OF THE WAY HOME TO ENSURE OUR SAFETY, AND THIS OCCURRED 4 TIMES IN TOTAL. THIS WAS AN EXTREMELY DANGEROUS SITUATION DURING A BUSY HOLIDAY TRAVEL WEEKEND. HAD THIS OCCURRED AT THE WRONG TIME, THIS COULD HAVE BEEN CATASTROPHIC. QUICK RESEARCH ONLINE HAS SHOWN THIS TO BE AN ISSUE WITH THE MAKE AND MODEL, AS MANY OTHER PEOPLE HAVE REPORTED THIS EXACT DEFECT.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/14/2015 - CHARLOTTE, NC
DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT ROUGHLY 70MPH WHEN CAR SHUDDERED, AND LOST POWER IMMEDIATELY. AFTER THIS THE CAR WOULD NOT ACCELERATE. FORTUNATELY THERE WERE NO VEHICLES DIRECTLY BEHIND ME, SO I WAS ABLE TO P;ULL OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS ILLUMINATED AND THE DASHBOARD READ THREE ERRORS: "ENGINE POWER IS REDUCED", "SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL", "SERVICE STABILITRACK". AFTER TURNING THE CAR OFF, WAITING, AND TURNING BACK ON THE VEHICLE WORKED CORRECTLY, BUT THE ISSUE OCCURRED AFTER ANOTHER 15 MINUTES ON THE ROAD. I DROVE IN THE RIGHT LANE THE REST OF THE WAY HOME TO ENSURE OUR SAFETY, AND THIS OCCURRED 4 TIMES IN TOTAL. THIS WAS AN EXTREMELY DANGEROUS SITUATION DURING A BUSY HOLIDAY TRAVEL WEEKEND. HAD THIS OCCURRED AT THE WRONG TIME, THIS COULD HAVE BEEN CATASTROPHIC. QUICK RESEARCH ONLINE HAS SHOWN THIS TO BE AN ISSUE WITH THE MAKE AND MODEL, AS MANY OTHER PEOPLE HAVE REPORTED THIS EXACT DEFECT.

View Details

ENGINE

1/14/2015 - CHARLOTTE, NC
DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT ROUGHLY 70MPH WHEN CAR SHUDDERED, AND LOST POWER IMMEDIATELY. AFTER THIS THE CAR WOULD NOT ACCELERATE. FORTUNATELY THERE WERE NO VEHICLES DIRECTLY BEHIND ME, SO I WAS ABLE TO P;ULL OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS ILLUMINATED AND THE DASHBOARD READ THREE ERRORS: "ENGINE POWER IS REDUCED", "SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL", "SERVICE STABILITRACK". AFTER TURNING THE CAR OFF, WAITING, AND TURNING BACK ON THE VEHICLE WORKED CORRECTLY, BUT THE ISSUE OCCURRED AFTER ANOTHER 15 MINUTES ON THE ROAD. I DROVE IN THE RIGHT LANE THE REST OF THE WAY HOME TO ENSURE OUR SAFETY, AND THIS OCCURRED 4 TIMES IN TOTAL. THIS WAS AN EXTREMELY DANGEROUS SITUATION DURING A BUSY HOLIDAY TRAVEL WEEKEND. HAD THIS OCCURRED AT THE WRONG TIME, THIS COULD HAVE BEEN CATASTROPHIC. QUICK RESEARCH ONLINE HAS SHOWN THIS TO BE AN ISSUE WITH THE MAKE AND MODEL, AS MANY OTHER PEOPLE HAVE REPORTED THIS EXACT DEFECT.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

12/27/2014 - BLOOMFIELD, NY
WHILE DRIVING ON THE NYS THRUWAY AT 5:30 A.M. THROUGH LIGHT SNOW AND RESULTING SALTY ROAD-SPRAY FROM OTHER VEHICLES, THE DRIVER'S SIDE WIPER STOPPED WORKING WITHOUT WARNING. THE PASSENGER SIDE CONTINUED TO WORK. I PULLED OFF THE NYS THRUWAY TO TRY TO SEE IF I COULD GET THE WIPER MOVING AGAIN BY LOWERING IT FROM A 90-DEGREE UPRIGHT POSITION IN WHICH IT WAS STUCK, TO THE RESTING POSITION. I TRIED THE WIPERS AGAIN AND THE DRIVER'S SIDE WENT UP ABOUT SIX INCHES AND STOPPED. TRIPLE A CAME AND FLATBEDDED MY CAR TO A DEALERSHIP WHERE IT WAS DETERMINED THE WIPER TRANSMISSION HAD GONE BAD AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THIS CAR IS 2 YEARS OLD, AND THE WINDSHIELD WAS ALWAYS CLEARED OF HEAVY SNOW/ICE BEFORE USING THE WIPERS--WIPERS WEREN'T USED TO REMOVE SNOW. OTHER CRUZE OWNERS HAVE POSTED SAME ISSUE WHICH LEADS ME TO BELIEVE THE PART IS DEFECTIVE AND SHOULD BE REPLACED AT THE COST OF THE COMPANY. I PAID $235.94 IN PARTS AND LABOR, AND AN ADDITIONAL $53 IN TOWING EXPENSES BEYOND MY TRIPLE A COVERAGE.

View Details

ENGINE

12/23/2014 - FAYETTEVILLE, NC
I WAS AT A RED LIGHT AND WHEN THE LIGHT TURNED GREEN, I WAS ABOUT TO PUSH THE GAS PEDAL. THE VEHICLE DASH READ ENGINE POWER IS REDUCED AND SHUT OFF. I TRIED SEVERAL TIMES TO START THE VEHICLE BUT IT SHUT DOWN SAYING THE SAME THING ON THE DASH. I'M AFRAID BECAUSE SOMEONE COULD HAVE RAN INTO ME FROM THE REAR AND I HAVE A 7YR OLD DAUGHTER. I THINK THIS SHOULD BE HANDLED IMMEDIATELY. THIS IS NOT SAFE AT ALL.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 44
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds