Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET CRUZE - 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 449 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (14) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (59) Steering (84) Unknown Or Other (24)
Electrical System (125) Exterior Lighting (7) Seat Belts (3) Structure (15) Vehicle Speed Control (31)
Electronic Stability Control (64) Fuel Propulsion System (15) Seats (2) Suspension (4) Visibility (6)
Engine (104) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (84) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (11)
Engine And Engine Cooling (28) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (5)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 70
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/18/2016 - BALTIMORE, MD
WHEN I START MY CAR, THE FOUR WAY FLASHERS TURN ON, MY TRUNK OPENS, WIPERS GO OFF, INTERIOR LIGHTS FLICKER, AND SERVE POWER STEERING APPEARS. I BROUGHT IT INTO THE DEALER, THEY REPLACED THE NEGATIVE BATTERY CABLE FOR A SECOND TIME, AND RAN AN ELECTRICAL DIAGNOSIS. I WAS TOLD IT WAS THE BATTERY CABLE, THE ISSUES ARE STILL OCCURRING.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

9/16/2016 - MARION, LA
IVE HAD MY CAR FOR 2 YEARS NOW. AFTER THE FIRST YEAR I BEGAN NOTICING THE ENGINE WOULD BE GOING AT A STEADY SPEED AND IF YOU BEGAN TO ACCELERATE THE ENGINE WOULD REV OR STALL AND THE RPMS SHOOT UP. THE ONLY WAY TO KEEP IT FROM PRODUCING THE ACTIONS IS TO SLOWLY ACCELERATE. THE ENGINE IS SLUGGISH AND DOES THIS WHILE IN CRUISE CONTROL.. AFTER GETTING THE COMPLETE READ, IT WAS SAID THE 02 SENSORS WERE OUT. THE ENGINE IS NOW TO THE POINT IT WILL RANDOMLY BE GOING AND THE ENGINE LIGHT WILL START FLASHING AND ALL SPEED IS REDUCED. THEY WERE REPLACED, BUT THE PROBLEM PERSISTED. THE CAR STALLS OUT SO OFTEN I REFUSE TO TAKE IT IN TO CITIES OR ONTO THE INTERSTATE. I WILL BE GOING BACK TO A TRUCK AFTER THIS IS PAID OFF! WILL BE GOING TO THE DEALERSHIP THIS WEEK!

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/16/2016 - MARION, LA
IVE HAD MY CAR FOR 2 YEARS NOW. AFTER THE FIRST YEAR I BEGAN NOTICING THE ENGINE WOULD BE GOING AT A STEADY SPEED AND IF YOU BEGAN TO ACCELERATE THE ENGINE WOULD REV OR STALL AND THE RPMS SHOOT UP. THE ONLY WAY TO KEEP IT FROM PRODUCING THE ACTIONS IS TO SLOWLY ACCELERATE. THE ENGINE IS SLUGGISH AND DOES THIS WHILE IN CRUISE CONTROL.. AFTER GETTING THE COMPLETE READ, IT WAS SAID THE 02 SENSORS WERE OUT. THE ENGINE IS NOW TO THE POINT IT WILL RANDOMLY BE GOING AND THE ENGINE LIGHT WILL START FLASHING AND ALL SPEED IS REDUCED. THEY WERE REPLACED, BUT THE PROBLEM PERSISTED. THE CAR STALLS OUT SO OFTEN I REFUSE TO TAKE IT IN TO CITIES OR ONTO THE INTERSTATE. I WILL BE GOING BACK TO A TRUCK AFTER THIS IS PAID OFF! WILL BE GOING TO THE DEALERSHIP THIS WEEK!

View Details

ENGINE

9/16/2016 - MARION, LA
IVE HAD MY CAR FOR 2 YEARS NOW. AFTER THE FIRST YEAR I BEGAN NOTICING THE ENGINE WOULD BE GOING AT A STEADY SPEED AND IF YOU BEGAN TO ACCELERATE THE ENGINE WOULD REV OR STALL AND THE RPMS SHOOT UP. THE ONLY WAY TO KEEP IT FROM PRODUCING THE ACTIONS IS TO SLOWLY ACCELERATE. THE ENGINE IS SLUGGISH AND DOES THIS WHILE IN CRUISE CONTROL.. AFTER GETTING THE COMPLETE READ, IT WAS SAID THE 02 SENSORS WERE OUT. THE ENGINE IS NOW TO THE POINT IT WILL RANDOMLY BE GOING AND THE ENGINE LIGHT WILL START FLASHING AND ALL SPEED IS REDUCED. THEY WERE REPLACED, BUT THE PROBLEM PERSISTED. THE CAR STALLS OUT SO OFTEN I REFUSE TO TAKE IT IN TO CITIES OR ONTO THE INTERSTATE. I WILL BE GOING BACK TO A TRUCK AFTER THIS IS PAID OFF! WILL BE GOING TO THE DEALERSHIP THIS WEEK!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/15/2016 - BROWNSBURG, IN
TAKATA RECALL MY 2012 CHEVY CRUIZE ECO WILL JUST SHUT OFF DIE WHILE IAM DRIVING SOMETIMES WILL START BACK AND SOMETIME WHEN I WHEN I TRY TO START IT IT WON'T START OR EVEN TURN OVER HAVE TAKEN TO MECHANIC 3 TIMES HAVE NOT FIXED IT SAID WAS LOOSE WIRE AND BAD BATTERY AND GPS BUT IT WON'T START AGAIN TODAY JUST GOT IT FIXED 2 DAYS AGO IT'S GOING TO GET SOMEONE KILLED DIEING WHEN DRIVING G

View Details

STEERING

9/7/2016 - GROSSE POINTE WOODS, MI
POWER STEERING FAILED WHILE IN MOTION. THE COST OF THE REPAIR IS $1,900.00 ON A $16,000 VEHICLE THAT IS LESS THAN 5 YEARS OLD

View Details

POWER TRAIN: CLUTCH ASSEMBLY

9/6/2016 - ST LOUIS, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE CLUTCH ASSEMBLY FAILED TO ENGAGE AND DISENGAGE WITHOUT WARNING. THE DEALER REPLACED THE PART; HOWEVER, WITHIN LESS THAN 60 DAYS OF OWNING THE VEHICLE, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CONTACT SMELLED AN ABNORMAL BURNING ODOR COMING FROM THE AREA OF THE CLUTCH ASSEMBLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE CLUTCH ASSEMBLY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED A SECOND TIME. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details

ENGINE

9/5/2016 - BALTIMORE, MD
DRIVING ON BUSY STREET CAR CUTS OFF HEARD A POP IN ENGINE DISPLAY SAYS ENGINE LOSING POWER ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON MANAGED TO PULL OVER CAR WILL TURN OVER BUT WILL DIE OUT. HAD TO HAVE CAR TOWED BY INSURANCE COMPANY CAR HAS 64,000 MILES.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/31/2016 - RICHWOOD, TX
MY CAR IS HAVING THE SAME PROBLEMS AND SHOULD BE COVERED WITH THE RECALL. MANUFACTURER: GENERAL MOTORS LLC SUMMARY: GENERAL MOTORS (GM) IS RECALLING CERTAIN MODEL YEAR 2011-2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE VEHICLES EQUIPPED WITH 1.4L DOHC GASOLINE TURBO ENGINES AND 6T40 FRONT WHEEL DRIVE AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSIONS AND EQUIPPED WITH AN ELECTRIC VACUUM PUMP TO PROVIDE SUPPLEMENTAL VACUUM FOR BRAKE ASSIST, WHEN NEEDED. IN THE AFFECTED VEHICLES, THE PUMP MAY NOT ACTIVATE, RESULTING IN AN INTERMITTENT REDUCTION OR LOSS OF BRAKE ASSIST. CONSEQUENCE: A LOSS OF BRAKING ASSISTANCE WILL REQUIRE EXTRA PEDAL FORCE AND/OR DISTANCE TO BRING THE VEHICLE TO A STOP, INCREASING THE RISK OF A CRASH. REMEDY: GENERAL MOTORS WILL NOTIFY OWNERS, AND DEALERS WILL REPLACE A MICROSWITCH IN THE POWER BRAKE VACUUM PIPE ASSEMBLY, FREE OF CHARGE. THE RECALL BEGAN ON OCTOBER 7, 2013. OWNERS MAY CONTACT CHEVROLET AT 1-800-222-1020. GM'S RECALL NUMBER IS 12213. NOTES: OWNERS MAY ALSO CONTACT THE NATIONAL HIGHWAY TRAFFIC SAFETY ADMINISTRATION VEHICLE SAFETY HOTLINE AT 1-888-327-4236 (TTY 1-800-424-9153), OR GO TO WWW.SAFERCAR.GOV.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/30/2016 - HUNTSVILLE, AL
WHILE DRIVING, RADIO DISPLAY AND SPEAKERS TURN ON AND OFF. STARTED JUNE 2016 AND HAS PROGRESSIVELY GOTTEN WORSE. SEEMS TO HAPPEN WHEN TURNING THE VEHICLE AND OR PRESSING THE BRAKES. STABILITRACK/TRACTION CONTROL ERROR MESSAGE APPEARS ON DASH. ALL ABS RELATED ICONS FLASH. SOMETIMES IT HAPPENS ONCE. SOMETIMES IT'S REPETITIVE UNTIL I TURN THE CAR OFF AND THEN TURN IT BACK ON. DOESN'T MATTER HOW FAST I'M GOING AND THE LONGER THE TRIP, THE MORE FREQUENT IT IS. BASED ON WHAT I'VE LEARNED ABOUT THIS, IT SHOULD BE COVERED BY SPECIAL COVERAGE 14311B BUT MY DEALERSHIP GIVES ME THE RUN AROUND AND ASKS SILLY QUESTIONS ABOUT IF MY BATTERY IS IN GOOD CONDITION AND IF I THINK I NEED A NEW ALTERNATOR. IF IT WAS THE BATTERY, THE RADIO/SPEAKERS WOULDN'T BE THE ONLY ITEM(S) THAT TURNED OFF. FROM WHAT I'M LEARNING, THIS PROBLEM GETS WORSE AND POWER STEERING OR FULL VEHICLE FUNCTION IS DIMINISHED OR GOES OFF COMPLETELY. NOT SURE WHAT MORE NEEDS TO HAPPEN TO CHEVY CUSTOMERS FOR CHEVY TO MAKE THIS A RECALL.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 70
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds