Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET CRUZE - 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 461 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (61) Steering (84) Unknown Or Other (26)
Electrical System (125) Exterior Lighting (7) Seat Belts (3) Structure (15) Vehicle Speed Control (32)
Electronic Stability Control (66) Fuel Propulsion System (16) Seats (2) Suspension (4) Visibility (7)
Engine (108) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (84) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (13)
Engine And Engine Cooling (29) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (5)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 72
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/18/2016 - PLYNOUTH, MA
HELLO, I HAVE ISSUES WITH MY CHEVROLET CRUZE ECO ABOUT BURNING SMELL, COOLANT BURNING ISSUE SMEL. AFTER GOING THROUGH TOO MUCH BACK AND FORTH WITH THE DEALERSHIP AND GM AND THEY ARE BUSY PLAYING BLAME GAME . I FEEL LIKE I AM GOING THROUGH TOO MUCH AND THERE IS ABSOLUTELY NO BODY WHO IS WILLING TO HELP. THE DEALERSHIP HERE SAID THAT THEY PERFORMED EVERYTHING POSSIBLE THINGS AND THERE IS NO FIX. I HAVE ALL THE PAPERWORK. I HAVE THIS ISSUE FOR A WHILE AND ITS REALLY SAD THAT I HAVE TO DRIVE THE CAR WITH THE BURNING SMELL AND HAVE MY DAUGHTER ( 3 YEARS OLD ) SMELL. PLEASE HELP.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

11/11/2016 - WILLOWICK, OH
?/?/16 SUNNY-DRIVING ON CITY STREET. TRACTION LIGHT/SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL APPEAR. DROVE CAR TO SHOULDER-CAR COULD BARELY MOVE THEN WAS COMPLETELY UNABLE TO MOVE. TURNED CAR OFF/BACK ON. LIGHTS/ERRORS WERE GONE. DROVE AWAY. 7/9/16 SUNNY-DRIVING OUT OF PARKING LOT. TRACTION LIGHT/SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL/SERVICE STABILITRAK APPEAR. CAR BARELY CREPT FORWARD BEFORE IT COULD NOT MOVE. CALLED ONSTAR FOR VEHICLE DIAGNOSIS. NOTHING FOUND. TURNED CAR OFF/BACK ON AND EVERYTHING RESET/WAS OK 10/21/16 RAINY-DRIVING ON INTERSTATE. CAR RANDOMLY YANKS LEFT (DIDN+T BRAKE/ACCELERATE) CAR SPINS & CRASHES INTO GUARDRAIL MULTIPLE TIMES. CAR BARELY CREPT FORWARD AS I DROVE TO LEFT SHOULDER BUT STOPPED MOVING BEFORE GETTING TO SAFETY. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT/TRACTION LIGHT/SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL/ STABILITRAK APPEAR (SEE PHOTO-THE PAPERS IN CORNER OF DISPLAY SHOW STABILITRAK ERROR IS ON NEXT SCREEN BUT I SCROLLED PAST NEEDING TO SEE ODOMETER AND DIDN+T SNAP PHOTO). TWO OFFICERS SAW THE ERRORS AND THAT CAR COULDN+T MOVE. OUR TAKE: RAIN INITIATED TRACTION CONTROL, BUT CAR THOUGHT IT WAS SPINNING WHEN IT WASN+T, AND CORRECTED FOR IT BY APPLYING CERTAIN BRAKES TO CERTAIN TIRES CAUSING IT TO SPIN. DEALERSHIP SEES NO HISTORY OF THESE ERRORS FOR ALL 3 INSTANCES AND SAY THEY CAN+T DO ANYTHING. I LEFT MY CAR RUNNING WITH THESE ERRORS ON FOR OVER AN HOUR WHILE WAITING FOR POLICE/TOW TRUCK. INSURANCE WON+T GO AFTER GMS+S LEGAL TEAMS BUT TELL ME TO JUMP INTO A LAWSUIT LATER. IT+S UPSETTING WE+RE WAITING FOR SOMEBODY TO GET HURT/DIE TO LOOK INTO THIS. MY SISTER HAS SAME CAR OFF SAME LOT AND EXPERIENCED A TRACTION CONTROL ERROR. SIMILAR CIRCUMSTANCES ONLINE-PICTURES/VIDEOS OF THESE ERRORS BUT DEALERSHIP FINDS NO HISTORY. ISSUES 1) DANGEROUS ERRORS NOT BEING LOGGED 2) TRACTION CONTROL/STABILITRAK NOT READING SITUATION CORRECTLY 3) CAR CANNOT OPERATE/DRIVE TO SAFETY AFTER INCORRECTLY READING SITUATION.

View Details

ENGINE

11/11/2016 - TAMPA, FL
WAS DRIVING AND ALL THE SUDDEN GOT WARNING LIGHTS AND A/C SHUT OFF DUE TO COOLANT TEMP? OR SOMETHING TO THAT AFFECT. THEN MY FAN KICKED ON AND IT WENT AWAY BUT THE FAN JUST STAYS RUNNING BUT THE COOLANT TEMP IS NOT EVEN HOT CAN EVEN GET HOT OUT OF THE HEATER VENTS BUT STILL THINKS I'M OVERHEATING THEN THE CAR SHUT ITSELF OFF! I HAVE AN APPOINTMENT IN THE MORNING WITH CAR DEALERSHIP BUT I'VE SEEN MANY PEOPLE ARE HAVING THE SAME ISSUE SHOULD BE A RECALL NOT FAIR TO MAKE US PAY MY CAR IS STILL NEW

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/1/2016 - TULLAHOMA, TN
MY 2012 CHEVY CRUZE ECO SUDDENLY LOST POWER AND ACCELERATION WAS VERY POOR ON 10/29/2016. ALMOST GOT HIT TRYING TO PULL OUT FROM A STOP SIGN BECAUSE THE POWER WAS NO LONGER THERE TO TAKE OFF. AFTER HAVING AN AUTO MECHANIC SHOP LOOK AT THE CAR ON 10/31/2016 WE DISCOVERED THAT THE OIL LINE FROM THE BLOCK OR WHERE THE OIL SUPPLY COMES FROM FOR THE TURBO HAD BEEN A PLASTIC LINE THAT HAD MELTED AND STOPPED OIL FROM FLOWING TO THE TURBO CHARGER. THIS APPEARS TO BE A POOR DESIGN ON GM'S PART TO USE PLASTIC LINES FOR SOMETHING THAT WILL OBVIOUSLY BE TRANSFERRING HOT OIL. IT SEEMS TO HAVE CAUSED THE TURBO TO BURN UP AND ALSO CREATED AN EXHAUST LEAK . I AM STILL WAITING ON A FINAL PRICE FROM THE MECHANIC SHOP TO FIND OUT HOW MUCH DAMAGE WAS DONE. THEY HAVE CALLED ME TODAY 11/1/2016 AND ASKED THAT I COME IN SO THEY CAN SHOW ME MORE DAMAGE THEY HAVE FOUND AS A RESULT OF THIS LINE MELTING. I HAVE SPOKEN TO ONE OF THE OWNERS AT RUSSELL BARNETT FAMILY OF DEALERSHIPS AND THEY WERE OF NO HELP STATING THAT IT IS OUT OF WARRANTY. REALLY? IT IS A DEFECTIVE DESIGN FLAW SO WHY SHOULD I BE HAVING TO PAY FOR THE REPAIR? I WOULD LIKE SOME HELP WITH THIS ISSUE PLEASE! I KNOW I HAVE 140000+/- MILES ON THE CAR BUT IT HAS BEEN MOSTLY HIGHWAY MILES AND MAINTENANCE HAS ALWAYS BEEN DONE ON THE VEHICLE. I USE THIS FOR MY WORK AND FAMILY VEHICLE SO IT IS NOT DRIVEN HARD OR ABUSED IN ANYWAY. I HATE THE FACT OF TURNING IN A COMPLAINT THAT INVOLVES A DEALER THAT I HAVE RECOMMENDED TO SO MANY PEOPLE IN THE PAST BUT HE WAS OF NO HELP AT ALL AND REALLY SHOWED NO CONCERN THAT THERE WAS AN ISSUE LIKE THIS WITH A VEHICLE THAT HE HAD SOLD.

View Details

ENGINE

11/1/2016 - TULLAHOMA, TN
MY 2012 CHEVY CRUZE ECO SUDDENLY LOST POWER AND ACCELERATION WAS VERY POOR ON 10/29/2016. ALMOST GOT HIT TRYING TO PULL OUT FROM A STOP SIGN BECAUSE THE POWER WAS NO LONGER THERE TO TAKE OFF. AFTER HAVING AN AUTO MECHANIC SHOP LOOK AT THE CAR ON 10/31/2016 WE DISCOVERED THAT THE OIL LINE FROM THE BLOCK OR WHERE THE OIL SUPPLY COMES FROM FOR THE TURBO HAD BEEN A PLASTIC LINE THAT HAD MELTED AND STOPPED OIL FROM FLOWING TO THE TURBO CHARGER. THIS APPEARS TO BE A POOR DESIGN ON GM'S PART TO USE PLASTIC LINES FOR SOMETHING THAT WILL OBVIOUSLY BE TRANSFERRING HOT OIL. IT SEEMS TO HAVE CAUSED THE TURBO TO BURN UP AND ALSO CREATED AN EXHAUST LEAK . I AM STILL WAITING ON A FINAL PRICE FROM THE MECHANIC SHOP TO FIND OUT HOW MUCH DAMAGE WAS DONE. THEY HAVE CALLED ME TODAY 11/1/2016 AND ASKED THAT I COME IN SO THEY CAN SHOW ME MORE DAMAGE THEY HAVE FOUND AS A RESULT OF THIS LINE MELTING. I HAVE SPOKEN TO ONE OF THE OWNERS AT RUSSELL BARNETT FAMILY OF DEALERSHIPS AND THEY WERE OF NO HELP STATING THAT IT IS OUT OF WARRANTY. REALLY? IT IS A DEFECTIVE DESIGN FLAW SO WHY SHOULD I BE HAVING TO PAY FOR THE REPAIR? I WOULD LIKE SOME HELP WITH THIS ISSUE PLEASE! I KNOW I HAVE 140000+/- MILES ON THE CAR BUT IT HAS BEEN MOSTLY HIGHWAY MILES AND MAINTENANCE HAS ALWAYS BEEN DONE ON THE VEHICLE. I USE THIS FOR MY WORK AND FAMILY VEHICLE SO IT IS NOT DRIVEN HARD OR ABUSED IN ANYWAY. I HATE THE FACT OF TURNING IN A COMPLAINT THAT INVOLVES A DEALER THAT I HAVE RECOMMENDED TO SO MANY PEOPLE IN THE PAST BUT HE WAS OF NO HELP AT ALL AND REALLY SHOWED NO CONCERN THAT THERE WAS AN ISSUE LIKE THIS WITH A VEHICLE THAT HE HAD SOLD.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/1/2016 - TULLAHOMA, TN
MY 2012 CHEVY CRUZE ECO SUDDENLY LOST POWER AND ACCELERATION WAS VERY POOR ON 10/29/2016. ALMOST GOT HIT TRYING TO PULL OUT FROM A STOP SIGN BECAUSE THE POWER WAS NO LONGER THERE TO TAKE OFF. AFTER HAVING AN AUTO MECHANIC SHOP LOOK AT THE CAR ON 10/31/2016 WE DISCOVERED THAT THE OIL LINE FROM THE BLOCK OR WHERE THE OIL SUPPLY COMES FROM FOR THE TURBO HAD BEEN A PLASTIC LINE THAT HAD MELTED AND STOPPED OIL FROM FLOWING TO THE TURBO CHARGER. THIS APPEARS TO BE A POOR DESIGN ON GM'S PART TO USE PLASTIC LINES FOR SOMETHING THAT WILL OBVIOUSLY BE TRANSFERRING HOT OIL. IT SEEMS TO HAVE CAUSED THE TURBO TO BURN UP AND ALSO CREATED AN EXHAUST LEAK . I AM STILL WAITING ON A FINAL PRICE FROM THE MECHANIC SHOP TO FIND OUT HOW MUCH DAMAGE WAS DONE. THEY HAVE CALLED ME TODAY 11/1/2016 AND ASKED THAT I COME IN SO THEY CAN SHOW ME MORE DAMAGE THEY HAVE FOUND AS A RESULT OF THIS LINE MELTING. I HAVE SPOKEN TO ONE OF THE OWNERS AT RUSSELL BARNETT FAMILY OF DEALERSHIPS AND THEY WERE OF NO HELP STATING THAT IT IS OUT OF WARRANTY. REALLY? IT IS A DEFECTIVE DESIGN FLAW SO WHY SHOULD I BE HAVING TO PAY FOR THE REPAIR? I WOULD LIKE SOME HELP WITH THIS ISSUE PLEASE! I KNOW I HAVE 140000+/- MILES ON THE CAR BUT IT HAS BEEN MOSTLY HIGHWAY MILES AND MAINTENANCE HAS ALWAYS BEEN DONE ON THE VEHICLE. I USE THIS FOR MY WORK AND FAMILY VEHICLE SO IT IS NOT DRIVEN HARD OR ABUSED IN ANYWAY. I HATE THE FACT OF TURNING IN A COMPLAINT THAT INVOLVES A DEALER THAT I HAVE RECOMMENDED TO SO MANY PEOPLE IN THE PAST BUT HE WAS OF NO HELP AT ALL AND REALLY SHOWED NO CONCERN THAT THERE WAS AN ISSUE LIKE THIS WITH A VEHICLE THAT HE HAD SOLD.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

10/31/2016 - BRIGHTON, MA
WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION AT APPROXIMATELY 50 MILES/HOUR, AFTER DARK IN HEAVY RAIN, THE DRIVERS WINDSHIELD WIPER ARM SUDDENLY STOPPED MOVING. THIS FAILURE MAY HAVE RESULTED IN PROPERTY OR PERSONAL INJURY OR BOTH, WHEN MY VIEW WAS OBSTRUCTED DUE TO THE FAILURE OF THE WIPER ARM TO CLEAR THE RAIN. THE PASSENGER SIDE WIPER ARM CONTINUED NORMALLY. A QUICK SEARCH INDICATED THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN PREVIOUSLY REPORTED. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE IN MY VIEW, WHERE THE MANUFACTURER IS CULPABLE AND LIABLE TO MAKE THE NECESSARY REPAIR SO THIS DOESN'T RESULT IN DAMAGE/PERSONAL INJURY. THE DEALER QUICKLY REPLACED THE 'WIPER TRANSMISSION' WHICH I HAD TO PAY FOR, AND FEEL THIS IS A MANUFACTURING SAFETY DEFECT THAT IS A SAFETY ISSUE THAT NEEDS TO BE ASSESSED FOR RECALL AT NO COST TO THE OWNER (OR REIMBURSEMENT FOR THOSE ALREADY REPLACED).

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/21/2016 - BIRMINGHAM, AL
MESSAGE CAME ON "AC OFF DUE TO HIGH ENGINE TEMP." THE TEMPERATURE GAUGE HAS MOT NOT MOVED FROM "C" SINCE MESSAGE APPEARED. I FOUND A LOT OF THIS COMPLAINTS ONLINE. I FEEL LIKE IT NEEDS TO BE A RECALLED ISSUE. I LOVE MY CAR. PLEASE HELP ME. I'M ON FIXED INCOME AND AFFORD TO HAVE TO HAVE IT FIXED.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

10/20/2016 - WAUKEGAN, IL
IN 2014 MY CAR HAD AN ISSUE WHERE IT STARTED OVER HEATING. THE CAR WAS PREVIOUSLY PART OF A RECALL FOR THE WATER PUMP BREAKING. THIS CAUSED MY CAR HEATING AND COOLING SYSTEM NOT TO WORK PROPERLY. THIS CAN BE DANGEROUS IF DRIVING AND IT HAPPENED WHILE I WAS DRIVING. I JUST HAD THE SAME ISSUE ON OCTOBER 20 OF 2016.

View Details

VISIBILITY: DEFROSTER/DEFOGGER SYSTEM

10/20/2016 - WAUKEGAN, IL
IN 2014 MY CAR HAD AN ISSUE WHERE IT STARTED OVER HEATING. THE CAR WAS PREVIOUSLY PART OF A RECALL FOR THE WATER PUMP BREAKING. THIS CAUSED MY CAR HEATING AND COOLING SYSTEM NOT TO WORK PROPERLY. THIS CAN BE DANGEROUS IF DRIVING AND IT HAPPENED WHILE I WAS DRIVING. I JUST HAD THE SAME ISSUE ON OCTOBER 20 OF 2016.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 72
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds