Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET CRUZE - 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 413 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (13) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (52) Steering (81) Unknown Or Other (20)
Electrical System (117) Exterior Lighting (7) Seat Belts (2) Structure (14) Vehicle Speed Control (30)
Electronic Stability Control (58) Fuel Propulsion System (12) Seats (2) Suspension (4) Visibility (6)
Engine (93) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (78) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (11)
Engine And Engine Cooling (28) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (5)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 65
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY/WIPER

5/20/2016 - ALBUQUERQUE, NM
DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE AFTER WORK DURING A RAINSTORM. WIPERS WERE OPERATING NORMALLY THE FIRST FEW MINUTES, AND SUDDENLY THE DRIVER SIDE WIPER FAILED. VISIBILITY WAS EXTREMELY DIMINISHED AND CREATED A SEVERE SAFETY HAZARD, AS I WAS IN MOTION, TRAVELING AT 65MPH AND IN HEAVY TRAFFIC CONDITIONS. I MANAGED TO MANEUVER MY CAR OFF TO THE SHOULDER WHERE I HAD TO REMAIN FOR SOME TIME UNTIL THE RAINSTORM PASSED; ONLY THEN WAS I ABLE TO CONTINUE DRIVING. I BELIEVE THIS IS AN EXTREME SAFETY HAZARD AND NEEDS TO BE PROPERLY ADDRESSED FOR RECALL, AS IT SEEMS MANY OTHER CHEVROLET CRUZE DRIVERS/OWNERS HAVE EXPERIENCED THE SAME TYPE OF SITUATION INVOLVING FAILING WIPER ARM FUNCTIONING.

View Details

STEERING

5/12/2016 - ROYAL OAKS, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. WHILE DRIVING 10 MPH, THE STABILITRAC WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED, THE POWER STEERING FAILED, AND THE INSTRUMENT PANEL AND RADIO LOST POWER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO BE DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE RECURRED THREE TIMES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/12/2016 - ROYAL OAKS, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. WHILE DRIVING 10 MPH, THE STABILITRAC WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED, THE POWER STEERING FAILED, AND THE INSTRUMENT PANEL AND RADIO LOST POWER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO BE DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE RECURRED THREE TIMES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

5/12/2016 - ROYAL OAKS, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. WHILE DRIVING 10 MPH, THE STABILITRAC WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED, THE POWER STEERING FAILED, AND THE INSTRUMENT PANEL AND RADIO LOST POWER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO BE DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE RECURRED THREE TIMES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/5/2016 - MILTON, FL
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 30 MPH, THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO AVOID A CRASH WITH ANOTHER DRIVING VEHICLE. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO A MAIL BOX. BOTH FRONTAL AIR BAGS DEPLOYED BUT DEFLATED. THE DRIVER SUSTAINED BACK, LEG SHOULDER, HEAD AND LEG INJURIES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED AND WAS DEEMED DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 94,000.

View Details

ENGINE

5/3/2016 - ROULETTE, PA
DRIVING MY CAR AT ABOUT 25MPH STARTED TO HEAR A RATTLE IN IT. WHEN WENT TO ACCELERATE THE CAR STARTED TO SMOKE AND HAD NO POWER. WHEN IDLING YOU COULD HEAR THE MOTOR "WORK" AND IT HAD A JUMP IN IT. ONLY HAS 50,000 MILES AND HAS NEVER BEEN DRIVEN HARD. OF COURSE IT'S OUT OF WARRANTY NOW AND I HAVE NO CLUE WHY IT WOULDN'T ACCELERATE AND STARTED SMOKING. THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND WAS STILL ON WHEN I LEFT MY CAR SITTING ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

5/3/2016 - ROULETTE, PA
DRIVING MY CAR AT ABOUT 25MPH STARTED TO HEAR A RATTLE IN IT. WHEN WENT TO ACCELERATE THE CAR STARTED TO SMOKE AND HAD NO POWER. WHEN IDLING YOU COULD HEAR THE MOTOR "WORK" AND IT HAD A JUMP IN IT. ONLY HAS 50,000 MILES AND HAS NEVER BEEN DRIVEN HARD. OF COURSE IT'S OUT OF WARRANTY NOW AND I HAVE NO CLUE WHY IT WOULDN'T ACCELERATE AND STARTED SMOKING. THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND WAS STILL ON WHEN I LEFT MY CAR SITTING ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/3/2016 - ROULETTE, PA
DRIVING MY CAR AT ABOUT 25MPH STARTED TO HEAR A RATTLE IN IT. WHEN WENT TO ACCELERATE THE CAR STARTED TO SMOKE AND HAD NO POWER. WHEN IDLING YOU COULD HEAR THE MOTOR "WORK" AND IT HAD A JUMP IN IT. ONLY HAS 50,000 MILES AND HAS NEVER BEEN DRIVEN HARD. OF COURSE IT'S OUT OF WARRANTY NOW AND I HAVE NO CLUE WHY IT WOULDN'T ACCELERATE AND STARTED SMOKING. THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND WAS STILL ON WHEN I LEFT MY CAR SITTING ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD.

View Details

ENGINE

4/16/2016 - BREMEN, GA
I WAS STARTING TO CROSS A BUSY INTERSECTION WHEN THE ENGINE LOSS POWER LIGHT AND STABILITY CONTROL LIGHT CAME ON. CAR WOULD NOT GO OVER 5 MILES AN HOUR. JUST ABOUT 90 DAYS AGO IT WAS AT THE CHEVY DEALERSHIP FOR SAME PROBLEM WHERE THE THROTTLE BODY AND ALL SENSORS WERE REPLACED.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

4/16/2016 - BREMEN, GA
I WAS STARTING TO CROSS A BUSY INTERSECTION WHEN THE ENGINE LOSS POWER LIGHT AND STABILITY CONTROL LIGHT CAME ON. CAR WOULD NOT GO OVER 5 MILES AN HOUR. JUST ABOUT 90 DAYS AGO IT WAS AT THE CHEVY DEALERSHIP FOR SAME PROBLEM WHERE THE THROTTLE BODY AND ALL SENSORS WERE REPLACED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 65
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds