Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET CRUZE - 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 596 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (25) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (83) Steering (92) Unknown Or Other (44)
Electrical System (149) Exterior Lighting (11) Seat Belts (3) Structure (17) Vehicle Speed Control (37)
Electronic Stability Control (90) Fuel Propulsion System (23) Seats (2) Suspension (4) Visibility (7)
Engine (153) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (106) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (24)
Engine And Engine Cooling (29) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (6)
Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 92
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/10/2018 - TALLAPOOSA, GA
I WAS DRIVING DOWN INTERSTATE WITH NO OVERHEADS NO CAR IN FRONT OR BACK OF ME AND MY SUNROOF EXPLODED. SHATTERED GLASS FILLED MY CAR AND IT WAS SO SCARY. I HAVE NO IDEA WHY THIS HAPPENED, HOWEVER GM NEEDS TO FIND OUT WHY THEIR SUNROOFS WILL EXPLODE AND SHATTER. I WANT IT REPLACED, WHAT DO I DO?

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/27/2018 - PHOENIX, AZ
I HAVE TO PUSH HARDER ON THE BRAKE PEDAL TO BRAKE ON TIME OR BRAKE AT ALL. TO NOT REAR END THE VEHICLE IN FRONT OF ME AND CAUSE AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

ENGINE

4/13/2018 - WEST ALLIS, WI
BURNING OIL SMELL STARTED AFTER AN OIL CHANGE. I HAVE REPLACED THE INTAKE TUBING THAT LEADS IN THE TURBO BECAUSE WHEN I REPLACED THE THROTTLE POSITION SENSOR IN THE TURBO AREA, THERE WAS OIL IN THE TURBO INTAKE. IT HAS LOST SOME POWER SINCE I STARTED EXPERIENCING THE BURNING SMELL. IT NOW SMELLS LIKE PLASTIC BURNING SINCE REPLACING THE INTAKE TUBING/GASKET.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/13/2018 - WEST ALLIS, WI
BURNING OIL SMELL STARTED AFTER AN OIL CHANGE. I HAVE REPLACED THE INTAKE TUBING THAT LEADS IN THE TURBO BECAUSE WHEN I REPLACED THE THROTTLE POSITION SENSOR IN THE TURBO AREA, THERE WAS OIL IN THE TURBO INTAKE. IT HAS LOST SOME POWER SINCE I STARTED EXPERIENCING THE BURNING SMELL. IT NOW SMELLS LIKE PLASTIC BURNING SINCE REPLACING THE INTAKE TUBING/GASKET.

View Details

ENGINE

4/11/2018 - BREMERTON, WA
EVEN AFTER FREE REPAIR DUE TO BEING COVERED UNDER WARRANTY, THE NEW PCV VALVE AND COVER ARE LEAKING AGAIN. ENGINE IDLES ROUGHLY, BOTH IN PARK AND IN DRIVE. THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE WITH CHEVROLET CRUZE, BUT MY VIN IS NOT PART OF THE RECALL. MAIN ERROR CODE P0171- BANK 1 SYSTEM TOO LEAN- IS BEING PICKED UP (CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON YESTERDAY MORNING (APRIL 10, 2018)), ALONG WITH ERROR CODES: P0106, P015B, P0236, P0237, P1101, P112D.

View Details

ENGINE

4/10/2018 - EDGEWOOD, NM
WHEN EXITING THE FREEWAY COMING TO A STOP MY CAR COMPLETLY SHUTS OFF. HAVING TO PUT IT IN PARK TO RESTART

View Details

ENGINE

4/5/2018 - PORT JERVIS, NY
ENGINE COOLANT STENCH AND LOSS OF COOLANT SINCE DAY ONE! I NOW HAVE JUST OVER 45,600 MILES AND PER THE DEALER A NEED A TEMP SENSOR HOUSING AND THERMOSTAT. WHILE DRIVING I GOT A MESSAGE ON THE DASH READING "AC OFF DUE TO HIGH ENGINE TEMP" AND THE COOLANT TEMP READ - - - AND THE NEEDLE ON THE TEMP GAUGE DROPPED TO LOW FROM A PRIOR MIDWAY POINT AND COOLANT TEMP OF 218 DEGREES. BACK IN 2014 I SUDDENLY HAD BLACK SMOKE COMING FROM TAILPIPE AND THE "DEALER REPLACED THE WATER PUMP ASSEMBLY WITH NEW BASE AND THERMOSTAT." I ALSO HAD A "SERVICE STABILITRAC" NOTICE AND SUDDEN LOSS OF POWER WHILE DRIVING BACK IN 2015 AND THE DEALER SAID THEY COULDN'T DUPLICATE THE ISSUE BUT THAT I NEEDED A NEW COIL PACK WHICH I HAD TO PAY FOR AND REPAIR ON MY OWN EVEN THOUGH CAR WAS STILL UNDER WARRANTY!! THIS VEHICLE HAS SMELLED LIKE ANTIFREEZE SINCE THE DAY I BOUGHT IT, BRAND NEW, FROM THE DEALER THAT WAS PERFORMING ALL THE SERVICES. IN ADDITION, THE BACK WINDOW LEAKED FROM DAY ONE AND I HAD 2" OF STANDING WATER IN MY TRUNK AND I HAD TO PAY, OUT OF MY OWN POCKET!!, TO REPLACE THE REAR WINDOW = TWICE!!! THIS CAR IS A PIECE OF JUNK AND HAS BEEN NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS AND THE DEALER HAS FORCED ME TO DO REPAIRS THAT SHOULD HAVE BEEN COVERED BY THE WARRANTY. I AM SICK AND TIRED OF THE STENCH OF ANTIFREEZE AND THE FACT THAT I NOW HAVE TO REPAIR THE THERMOSTAT HOUSING AND THERMOSTAT DUE TO ENGINE OVERHEATING!!!

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

4/4/2018 - GREENBACK, TN
OVERHEATING. LOUD NOISE IN ENGINE WITH LOSS OF POWER THAT WE DETERMINED TO BE THE TURBO. CARS BREAKS HAVE BEEN CHANGED SEVERAL TIMES SINCE PURCHASE. CONSISTENT WARNING LIGHTS ON DASH. THE CAR HAS A VERY LOUD RATTLING SOUND WHEN DRIVING. IT ISN'T AS LOUND WHEN SITTING STILL AT A REDLIGHT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/4/2018 - GREENBACK, TN
OVERHEATING. LOUD NOISE IN ENGINE WITH LOSS OF POWER THAT WE DETERMINED TO BE THE TURBO. CARS BREAKS HAVE BEEN CHANGED SEVERAL TIMES SINCE PURCHASE. CONSISTENT WARNING LIGHTS ON DASH. THE CAR HAS A VERY LOUD RATTLING SOUND WHEN DRIVING. IT ISN'T AS LOUND WHEN SITTING STILL AT A REDLIGHT.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/4/2018 - GREENBACK, TN
OVERHEATING. LOUD NOISE IN ENGINE WITH LOSS OF POWER THAT WE DETERMINED TO BE THE TURBO. CARS BREAKS HAVE BEEN CHANGED SEVERAL TIMES SINCE PURCHASE. CONSISTENT WARNING LIGHTS ON DASH. THE CAR HAS A VERY LOUD RATTLING SOUND WHEN DRIVING. IT ISN'T AS LOUND WHEN SITTING STILL AT A REDLIGHT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 92
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds