Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET CRUZE - 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 480 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (17) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (66) Steering (85) Unknown Or Other (27)
Electrical System (129) Exterior Lighting (7) Seat Belts (3) Structure (16) Vehicle Speed Control (32)
Electronic Stability Control (71) Fuel Propulsion System (17) Seats (2) Suspension (4) Visibility (7)
Engine (111) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (85) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (16)
Engine And Engine Cooling (29) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (5)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 75
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

2/25/2017 - BOZEMAN, MT
I HAVE A 2012 CHEVY CRUZE LTZ RS WITH 35,162 MILES.I WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK AT 2AM DURING A SNOW STORM. 30 MPH IN WHITE OUR CONDITION. LUCKILY I WAS ON A CITY ROAD. OUT OF NOWHERE MY SERVICE STABITRACK LIGHT FLASHES AND MY SPEED REDUCED DRAMATICALLY AND MY CAR BECAME ERRATIC. I WAS ALMOST REAR ENDED BY A SNOW PLOW.I COULD HAVE BEEN SERIOUSLY INJURED OR KILLED. I BASICALLY HAD NO CONTROL OVER MY CAR. I HAD NO IDEA WHAT IT WAS AND IT SCARED THE LIVING DAYLIGHTS OUT OF ME.I WAS SEARCHING FORUMS AND THIS SEEMS TO BE A COMMON ISSUE WITH THE CAR. HOWEVER CHEVY DOESN'T CARE ENOUGH ABOUT ITS CUSTOMERS TO ISSUE A RECALL ON THE ISSUE. I HOPE THIS ISSUE CAN BE ADDRESSED BEFORE SOMEONE IS KILLED OR SERIOUSLY INJURED

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/20/2017 - HEMET, CA
RADIO AND COMMUNICATION MODULE IS TURNING ON AND OFF. STABILITYTRAK CONTROL LIGHT COMES ON AND ABS BRAKES LIGHTS COMES ON.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

2/13/2017 - OAKLEY, CA
I HAVE A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE ECO, WITHIN A YEAR I HAD TO HAVE THE TURBOCHARGER REPLACED. BEFORE I HAD IT REPLACE I BROUGHT IT TO THE DEALER WITH COMPLAINTS OF LOSING POWER AND THE SMELL OF GAS AND EXHAUST. THEY SAID WORKING AS NORMAL; WITHIN DAYS IT STARTED MAKING A LOUD NOISE. I CALL ONSTAR TO DO A DIAGNOSIS' IT WAS MY TURBOCHARGER. IT WAS FIX BUT A FEW DAYS LATER IT SMELT LIKE FUMES AGAIN. TOOK IT IN AND THEY SAID WORKING AS NORMAL. A YEAR LATER THE TURBOCHARGER WENT OUT AGAIN AND I PAID 1200 TO HAVE IT FIX. LONG STORY SHORT I'M STILL SMELLING EXHAUST EVEN AFTER HAVING ALL THE RECALLS FIX. NOW MY STABILITY TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT CAME ON THE OFF AGAIN. THIS CAR WAS A LEMON FROM THE BEGINNING BUT I'M OUT OF WARRANTY. I THOUGHT BY NOW THEY WOULD OF HAD A RECALL ON THEIR TURBOCHARGER AND THE OIL LINE THAT THEY SAY THAT KEEPS GETTING BLOCK AND THE EXHAUST SMELLL. IS ANYONE WORKING ON ALL THESE COMPLAINTS?

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/13/2017 - OAKLEY, CA
I HAVE A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE ECO, WITHIN A YEAR I HAD TO HAVE THE TURBOCHARGER REPLACED. BEFORE I HAD IT REPLACE I BROUGHT IT TO THE DEALER WITH COMPLAINTS OF LOSING POWER AND THE SMELL OF GAS AND EXHAUST. THEY SAID WORKING AS NORMAL; WITHIN DAYS IT STARTED MAKING A LOUD NOISE. I CALL ONSTAR TO DO A DIAGNOSIS' IT WAS MY TURBOCHARGER. IT WAS FIX BUT A FEW DAYS LATER IT SMELT LIKE FUMES AGAIN. TOOK IT IN AND THEY SAID WORKING AS NORMAL. A YEAR LATER THE TURBOCHARGER WENT OUT AGAIN AND I PAID 1200 TO HAVE IT FIX. LONG STORY SHORT I'M STILL SMELLING EXHAUST EVEN AFTER HAVING ALL THE RECALLS FIX. NOW MY STABILITY TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT CAME ON THE OFF AGAIN. THIS CAR WAS A LEMON FROM THE BEGINNING BUT I'M OUT OF WARRANTY. I THOUGHT BY NOW THEY WOULD OF HAD A RECALL ON THEIR TURBOCHARGER AND THE OIL LINE THAT THEY SAY THAT KEEPS GETTING BLOCK AND THE EXHAUST SMELLL. IS ANYONE WORKING ON ALL THESE COMPLAINTS?

View Details

ENGINE

2/13/2017 - OAKLEY, CA
I HAVE A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE ECO, WITHIN A YEAR I HAD TO HAVE THE TURBOCHARGER REPLACED. BEFORE I HAD IT REPLACE I BROUGHT IT TO THE DEALER WITH COMPLAINTS OF LOSING POWER AND THE SMELL OF GAS AND EXHAUST. THEY SAID WORKING AS NORMAL; WITHIN DAYS IT STARTED MAKING A LOUD NOISE. I CALL ONSTAR TO DO A DIAGNOSIS' IT WAS MY TURBOCHARGER. IT WAS FIX BUT A FEW DAYS LATER IT SMELT LIKE FUMES AGAIN. TOOK IT IN AND THEY SAID WORKING AS NORMAL. A YEAR LATER THE TURBOCHARGER WENT OUT AGAIN AND I PAID 1200 TO HAVE IT FIX. LONG STORY SHORT I'M STILL SMELLING EXHAUST EVEN AFTER HAVING ALL THE RECALLS FIX. NOW MY STABILITY TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT CAME ON THE OFF AGAIN. THIS CAR WAS A LEMON FROM THE BEGINNING BUT I'M OUT OF WARRANTY. I THOUGHT BY NOW THEY WOULD OF HAD A RECALL ON THEIR TURBOCHARGER AND THE OIL LINE THAT THEY SAY THAT KEEPS GETTING BLOCK AND THE EXHAUST SMELLL. IS ANYONE WORKING ON ALL THESE COMPLAINTS?

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/13/2017 - JAMESTOWN, CA
LIKE ALL THE OTHER CHEVROLET CRUZES WITH RADIO ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS. MY 2012 LTZ CRUZE WITH 50,000 MILES ON IT IS ALSO HAVING THE SAME ISSUES. ON FEBRUARY 10, 2017 MY RADIO STARTED FREAKING OUT. IT WOULD GO OFF AND ON SEVERAL TIME WITH THE RADIO SOMETIMES WORK AND OTHER TIMES NOT. THIS WOULD HAPPEN UP TO 4 TIMES WITH IN A 1/2 HOUR OF DRIVING. MY DAYTIME RUNNING LIGHT IN THE DASH WILL GO ON AND OFF. THE BLINKER WOULD GO ON AND OFF. AND AFTER READING ALL THE OTHER PEOPLE POSTINGS I SOON WILL BE HAVING MORE ISSUES WITH THE ELECTRICAL/RADIO/DASH ISSUES AND THE CAR SHUTTING DOWN AND POSSIBLE STEERING PROBLEMS..... THAT'S JUST GREAT! WHY HASN'T GM DONE ANYTHING ABOUT THIS? WHY IS IT THAT PEOPLE HAVE TO HAVE A RECK AND POSSIBLY DIE BEFORE GM FIXES THIS.....WE PAY A LOT A MONEY FOR THIS CARS AND THEY SHOULD LAST A LOT LONGER WITH OUT ISSUES.

View Details

ENGINE

2/8/2017 - MIAMI, FL
SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/8/2017 - MIAMI, FL
SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/6/2017 - LAKELAND, MN
I AM HAVING PROBLEMS WITH MY TRUNK RELEASE. THE TRUNK WILL RANDOMLY POP OPEN WHEN THE CAR IS IN PARK AND WHEN I START THE CAR AND, WHEN THE CAR IS OFF AND IN PARK.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

2/4/2017 - BROWNWOOD, TX
"TAKATA RECALL" I HAVE AND ISSUE NOW FOR MONTHS SINCE I FINANCED THE CHEVY CRUZE 2012. IT HAS SOMETHING TO DO WITH THE BRAKES OR RUNNING LIGHTS SWITCH. IF THE LIGHTS ARE ON RUNNING MODE AND YOU TOUCH THE BRAKES IT SEEMS THE RADIO GOES ON AND OFF, ALSO ACTS LIKE THE CAR IS SHUTTING OFF WHEN YOU ARE STOPPED. ALSO THE STABLITY TRAC LIGHT ON DASH COMES ON MULTIPLE TIMES. I DO NOT HAVE THE FUNDS TO HAVE SOMEONE CHECK ON THE SITUATION ESPECIALLY WHEN I HAVE READ UP AND SEEN SO MANY COMPLAINTS BOUT THE SAME THING. I BELIEVE THIS IS A MANUFACTURER PROBLEM MAYBE TO MUCH POWER SURGE TO CIRCUIT OR WHATEVER YOU WANT TO CALL IT. HOWEVER IT IS A SERIOUS CONDITION BECAUSE WHEN I WENT TO MAKE A TURN THE BRAKES N STEERING WENT OUT BASICALLY I ASSUMED THE CAR LOST POWER AND THANK GOD I KNEW TO HIT THE GAS PEDAL TO GET IT TO STOP , AND RE-FUNCTION LIKE ITS SUPPOSE TO DO. I HATE TO SAY THIS TO CHEVY BUT THEY NEED A RECALL ON THESE CHEVY CRUZE 2012"S . BEFORE SOMEONE LIKE MYSELF OR ANOTHER GETS HURT OR EVEN WORSE KILLED IN THE CAR SYSTEMS MALFUNCTION. FEEL FREE TO CONTACT ME. I WILL LOVE TO TAKE YOU FOR A RIDE IN THE CAR SO YOU CAN ENJOY THE FAULTY SYSTEMS I SEE AND WHO KNOWS MAYBE THE POWER BRAKES N STEERING WILL SHUT OFF SO YOU CAN FEEL THE WAY I FELT WHEN IT HAPPEN LESS THAN A MILE FROM HOME AFTER WORKING 12HRS. YOU ASK FOR A SPECIFIC DATE WELL THERE HAS BEEN SO MANY DAYS AND MULTIPLE TIMES IN ONE DAY IT IS HARD TO LIST ALL THE ACTIONS. BUT TRUST ME IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO TAKE A RIDE AND SEE FOR YOURSELF I BE MORE THAN WILLING TO COMPLY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 75
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds