Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET CRUZE - 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 224 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Equipment (2) Power Train (32) Steering (53) Unknown Or Other (16)
Electrical System (63) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (1) Structure (8) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Electronic Stability Control (26) Exterior Lighting (3) Seats (1) Suspension (2) Visibility (5)
Engine (43) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Service Brakes (49) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (18) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 35
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/18/2014 - DELAWARE, OH
FIRST THE CAR WOULD NOT START. AFTER MULTIPLE ATTEMPTS IT DID START AND SERVICE ANTI THEFT SYSTEM FLASHED. SHORTLY AFTER, WHILE STOPPED, ALL OF THE DASH LIGHTS BEGAN FLICKERING ON AND OFF CAUSING MULTIPLE SERVICE CODES TO FLASH. THEN WHILE DRIVING THE POWER STEERING WOULD STOP WORKING AT RANDOM TIMES.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/18/2014 - DELAWARE, OH
FIRST THE CAR WOULD NOT START. AFTER MULTIPLE ATTEMPTS IT DID START AND SERVICE ANTI THEFT SYSTEM FLASHED. SHORTLY AFTER, WHILE STOPPED, ALL OF THE DASH LIGHTS BEGAN FLICKERING ON AND OFF CAUSING MULTIPLE SERVICE CODES TO FLASH. THEN WHILE DRIVING THE POWER STEERING WOULD STOP WORKING AT RANDOM TIMES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/18/2014 - DELAWARE, OH
FIRST THE CAR WOULD NOT START. AFTER MULTIPLE ATTEMPTS IT DID START AND SERVICE ANTI THEFT SYSTEM FLASHED. SHORTLY AFTER, WHILE STOPPED, ALL OF THE DASH LIGHTS BEGAN FLICKERING ON AND OFF CAUSING MULTIPLE SERVICE CODES TO FLASH. THEN WHILE DRIVING THE POWER STEERING WOULD STOP WORKING AT RANDOM TIMES.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/8/2014 - EL PRADO, NM
ON SEVERAL OCCURRENCES THE BRAKES FROM MY 2012 CHEVY CRUZE HAVE FAILED TO WORK. THIS IS ESPECIALLY TRUE WHEN BACKING UP. THE BRAKE PEDAL GETS REALLY HARD AND YOU REALLY NEED TO PUSH HARD ON BRAKE PEDAL TO SLOW DOWN, VEHICLE WILL NOT ALWAYS STOP. I HAVE NOTICED IT THE AC IS RUNNING THIS WILL HAPPEN EVERY TIME I BACK UP. I HAVE HAD MANY INSTANCES WHERE I HAVE ALMOST HIT OTHER CARS OR OBJECTS. I AM EXTREMELY WORRIED ABOUT THIS BECAUSE I USUALLY HAVE MY 2 YOUNG CHILDREN WITH ME WHEN THIS HAPPENS. I HAVE TAKEN MY CAR INTO THE LOCAL DEALERSHIP TO GET THIS CHECKED OUT. THEY HAVE TOLD ME THAT THE VACUUM SWITCH HAS ALREADY BEEN REPLACED AND THERE WOULD BE A $100 CHARGE TO DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM EVEN THOUGH MY VEHICLE IS STILL COVERED BY WARRANTY. THE LAST TIME I TOOK IT IN THEY SAID NOTHING WAS WRONG WITH MY VEHICLE, EVEN THOUGH I AM STILL EXPERIENCING POOR BRAKING.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/7/2014 - LOUISVILLE, KY
WHEN PUTTING THE 2012 CRUZE IN REVERSE THE BREAKS WOULD FAIL TEMPORARILY FORCING ME TO PUSH THE CAR INTO PARK. A WEEK LATER THE RADIO START TO TURN ON AND OFF. AT THIS POINT IN TIME AUG 7 2014 ONLY THE BREAKS HAVE BEEN FIXED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/7/2014 - LOUISVILLE, KY
WHEN PUTTING THE 2012 CRUZE IN REVERSE THE BREAKS WOULD FAIL TEMPORARILY FORCING ME TO PUSH THE CAR INTO PARK. A WEEK LATER THE RADIO START TO TURN ON AND OFF. AT THIS POINT IN TIME AUG 7 2014 ONLY THE BREAKS HAVE BEEN FIXED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/6/2014 - BRYAN, OH
BESIDES THE TRANSMISSION COMPLAINT I HAVE ALREADY MADE, I AM ALSO EXPERIENCING CONSTANT ELECTRICAL ISSUES. AN UPDATE WAS ALREADY RAN ON THE CAR'S COMPUTER FOR THIS COMPLAINT AND THE IGNITION SWITCH WAS LUBRICATED (HOPEFULLY THAT WILL PREVENT THE STEERING LOCK UP THAT OTHERS EXPERIENCE). NEITHER GM SOLUTION HAS PROVIDED AN END TO MY TROUBLE. DINGING WHEN KEYS AREN'T IN, CAR WON'T ALWAYS START, SERVICE THIS OR THAT DASH LIGHTS, RADIO DISPLAY GOES ON AND OFF, I CAN'T OPEN MY TRUNK WITHOUT THE PUSH BUTTON KEY FOB, THE STEERING IS NOW PULLING, AND ALSO THE HEADLIGHTS ARE NOW TURNING OFF AND ON WITHOUT MY HAND. THERE IS SOMETHING WRONG WITH THE ELECTRICAL COMPONENTS OF MY CAR, THINGS I SHOULD NEVER HAVE TO CONCERN MYSELF WITH...WHICH COULD LEAD TO ANY MALFUNCTION BUT THE CHEVROLET TECHS CAN NOT DIAGNOSE WHAT THEY SEE WITH THEIR OWN EYES BECAUSE THE COMPUTER OF THE CAR DOESN'T TELL THEM ANYTHING IS WRONG. AREN'T THERE ALTERNATE TROUBLESHOOTING METHODS INCLUDED WITH THE BLUEPRINT THEY DESIGNED BESIDES RELYING ON A POSSIBLY THIRD-PARTY CONTROL MODULE THAT ISN'T LOGGING ERRORS? I JUST HOPE I'M READY FOR WHATEVER HAPPENS AND THAT I CAN CONTROL A LOSS OF POWER WITHOUT SUFFERING INJURY TO MYSELF OR OTHERS. SCARY THINGS TO THINK ABOUT ON A 100 MILE ONE WAY, HIGHWAY SPEED COMMUTE. ALL OF THESE CARS SHOULD BE OVERHAULED OR REPLACED INSTEAD OF WAITING TO SEE WHICH ONE'S COMPUTER FROM WHICH LINE CRASHES FIRST BEFORE WE PUT OUT A RECALL. THESE ARE REAL SAFETY CONCERNS THAT ARE KILLING PEOPLE. CONCERNS THAT I CAN'T JUST TRADE OFF TO ANOTHER BLIND CONSUMER AND THEIR FAMILY. CONCERNS THAT EITHER CONSUMER OR MANUFACTURER HAVE TO PAY FOR. WE PAY WITH OUR SAFETY AND HARD EARNED DOLLAR TO OWN THEIR VEHICLES THAT THEY MAKE AND DON'T TAKE RESPONSIBILITY IN MAINTAINING A STANDARD FOR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/6/2014 - LAKELAND, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE HESITATED AND STALLED WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS. WHILE DRIVING ON AN INCLINE, THE CONTACT HAD TO KEEP THE CLUTCH PEDAL DEPRESSED IN FIRST AND SECOND GEAR TO PREVENT THE VEHICLE FROM STALLING. THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL ALSO HAD TO REMAIN DEPRESSED TO MAINTAIN ACCELERATION. THE VEHICLE ALSO STALLED WHEN THE GEAR WAS IN REVERSE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER MORE THAN ONCE, BUT THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DUPLICATED. IN ADDITION, THE AIR CONDITIONING AND HEAT WERE INOPERABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/6/2014 - LAKELAND, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE HESITATED AND STALLED WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS. WHILE DRIVING ON AN INCLINE, THE CONTACT HAD TO KEEP THE CLUTCH PEDAL DEPRESSED IN FIRST AND SECOND GEAR TO PREVENT THE VEHICLE FROM STALLING. THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL ALSO HAD TO REMAIN DEPRESSED TO MAINTAIN ACCELERATION. THE VEHICLE ALSO STALLED WHEN THE GEAR WAS IN REVERSE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER MORE THAN ONCE, BUT THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DUPLICATED. IN ADDITION, THE AIR CONDITIONING AND HEAT WERE INOPERABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100.

View Details

ENGINE

8/5/2014 - PORTAGE, MI
LOUD WHINING/ELECTRONIC NOISE COME FROM ENGINE AFTER THE CAR HAS BEEN TURNED OFF AND AC HAS RUN. HAPPENS MOST WARM/HOT DAYS THE AC HAS RUN.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 35
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds