Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET CRUZE - 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 336 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (44) Steering (69) Unknown Or Other (23)
Electrical System (94) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (1) Structure (11) Vehicle Speed Control (18)
Electronic Stability Control (40) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Seats (2) Suspension (3) Visibility (5)
Engine (68) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (63) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (9)
Engine And Engine Cooling (24) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (5)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 52
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

6/22/2015 - BULLUCK, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE BRAKES MALFUNCTIONED AND THE BRAKE PEDAL COULD NOT BE DEPRESSED TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON SEVERAL DIFFERENT OCCASIONS, AT MULTIPLE SPEEDS, IN BOTH DRIVE AND REVERSE, AND WITH THE CRUISE CONTROL ACTIVATED AND DEACTIVATED. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V36000 (SERVICE BRAKES), ALTHOUGH THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED THE SAME FAILURE LISTED IN THE RECALL. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 95,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/14/2015 - FLAGSTAFF, AZ
WAS BACKING OUT OF MY PARKING SPOT IN APARTMENT COMPLEX, BRAKE ASSIST FAILED TO ENGAGE HARD TO STOP REQUIRED A LOT OF [UNEXPECTED] PRESSURE ON BRAKE PEDAL. ALMOST BACKED INTO NEIGHBORS CAR, COULD HAVE BACKED INTO A CHILD. BRAKES CONTINUED TO OPERATE IN SIMILAR MANNER UNTIL I GOT TO THE STREET.. ISSUE SEEMS TO SIMILAR TO CHEVY CRUZE RECALL FOR 1.4TURBO

View Details

ENGINE

6/11/2015 - KENNETT , MO
I WENT TO MY FATHERS HOUSE AND HE NOTICED THE SMELL OF ANTIFREEZE STRONGLY. HE LOOKED UNDER MY HOOD AND ON THE GROUND AND ITS LEAKING EVERYWHERE. I HAD BOUGHT THIS CAR NOT EVEN 4 MONTHS AGO AND THE FIRST WEEK THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS ON.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/10/2015 - GATE CITY, VA
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. WHILE DRIVING AT 60 MPH, THE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED WITHOUT THE VEHICLE BEING INVOLVED IN A COLLISION. THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AFTER THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES AND MEDICAL ATTENTION WAS REQUIRED. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 75,725.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

6/7/2015 - PEORIA, IL
THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM, RADIO, POWER STEERING, STOPS WORKING INTERMITTENTLY . I SLOWED DOWN RECENTLY TO TURN AND THE POWER STEERING QUIT AND I HIT THE CURB. I HAD A PRIVATE MECHANIC TIGHTEN CABLES TO BATTERY WHICH WORKED FOR MONTHS BUT NOW THE PROBLEM IS BACK.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/5/2015 - HENDERSONVILLE , NC
I WAS TRAVELING APP. 60 MPH DOWN I26 WHEN MY BRAKES COMPLETELY MALFUNCTIONED. I CAME WITHIN INCHES OF HITTING A TRANSFER TRUCK DUE TO THE INABILITY TO BRAKE. I'VE SOUGHT RESOLUTION FROM CORPORATE CHEVY ALONG WITH MY LOCAL DEALER WHO SIMPLY TESTED THE BRAKES TO TELL ME THEY ARE FUNCTIONING PROPERLY. I DO NOT FEEL SALE IN THE CRUZE. I HAVE CONSTANT ANXIETY WHILE DRIVING. WHO KNOWS WHEN THEY WILL MALFUNCTION AGAIN AND KILL ME AND MY PRECIOUS CHILDREN.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/21/2015 - CARIBOU, MD
STRONG SICKENING COOLANT SMELL INSIDE CAR WHILE HEATER SYSTEM IS ON. MAY 7,2015 DEALER PRESSURE CHECKED FOUND NO LEAKS. CAN'T FIND PROBLEM. NO LEAKS VISIBLE. SMELL STILL EXISTS WHILE HEATER IS ON.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/20/2015 - MOUNT PLEASANT, MI
THE ELECTRICAL PAD THAT YOU PUSH TO OPEN THE TRUNK IS FAULTY AND DOES NOT WORK ANYMORE. ONLY WAY TO GET INTO TRUNK IS TO PUSH KEY FOB. IF A CHILD OR ADULT GOT TRAPPED INSIDE IT COULD BE HARMFUL DUE TO FACT THAT THE PUSH PAD FOR THE TRUNK OPEN IS FAULTY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/20/2015 - MOUNT PLEASANT, MI
THE ELECTRICAL PAD THAT YOU PUSH TO OPEN THE TRUNK IS FAULTY AND DOES NOT WORK ANYMORE. ONLY WAY TO GET INTO TRUNK IS TO PUSH KEY FOB. IF A CHILD OR ADULT GOT TRAPPED INSIDE IT COULD BE HARMFUL DUE TO FACT THAT THE PUSH PAD FOR THE TRUNK OPEN IS FAULTY.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/20/2015 - MOUNT PLEASANT, MI
THE ELECTRICAL PAD THAT YOU PUSH TO OPEN THE TRUNK IS FAULTY AND DOES NOT WORK ANYMORE. ONLY WAY TO GET INTO TRUNK IS TO PUSH KEY FOB. IF A CHILD OR ADULT GOT TRAPPED INSIDE IT COULD BE HARMFUL DUE TO FACT THAT THE PUSH PAD FOR THE TRUNK OPEN IS FAULTY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 52
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds