Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET CRUZE - 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 471 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (64) Steering (85) Unknown Or Other (27)
Electrical System (127) Exterior Lighting (7) Seat Belts (3) Structure (15) Vehicle Speed Control (32)
Electronic Stability Control (68) Fuel Propulsion System (16) Seats (2) Suspension (4) Visibility (7)
Engine (109) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (84) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (16)
Engine And Engine Cooling (29) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (5)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 73
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/7/2017 - PORT ORCHARD, WA
I JUST BOUGHT MY CHEVY CRUZE ON DEC 18TH 2016 AND ON DEC 24TH 2016 MY CAR WOULDN'T START WHILE IN PARK, NO WARNING LIGHTS, NO PEEPING, NO NOTHING JUST WOULD NOT START, I WAITED A FEW MINUTES THEN IT STARTED. I DROVE ABOUT 10 OR MORE MILES TO MY DADS WAS THERE ABOUT 5 MINUTES GOT IN MY CAR TO LEAVE, SAME THING, WOULDN'T START, AGAIN NO PEEPING, NO WARNING LIGHTS NOTHING,WAITED ABOUT 3 TO 5 MINUTES AND IT STARTED. I IMMEDIATELY TOOK IT TO THE DEALER, THEY TOLD METO BRING IT IN THE FOLLOWING SAT WHICH WAS DEC. 31, 2016, THE CAR STARTED THE REST OF THAT WEEK NO PROBLEM. TOOK THE CAR IN ON DEC. 31, 2016, THEY STILL HAVE MY CAR AND IT IS JANUARY 7TH, 2017, THEY CAN'T FIND WHAT IS WRONG. I HAVE SINCE DONE RESEARCH ON THIS CAR AND FOUND OUT IT IS THE MOST UNRELIABLE CAR OUT THERE. I DRIVE AN 82 YEAR OLD LADY TO HER APPOINTMENTS AND I CAN'T RISK BEING IN AN ACCIDENT BECAUSE OF CAR PROBLEMS. I GOT RID OF A 1994 FORD ESCORT BECAUSE OF IT BREAKING DOWN ALL THE TIME, NOW IT SOUNDS LIKE I JUST TRADED THAT IN FOR THE SAME DAMN THING JUST A DIFFERENT MAKE AND MODEL. I AM NOT DEALING WITH IT, I'M TAKING THE CAR BACK ONE WAY OR THE OTHER. VERY DISAPPOINTED IN DEALERSHIP SELLING ME THIS CAR, SPECIFICALLY TOLD THEM I NEEDED A SAFE RELIABLE CAR AND THEY SELL ME THE WORST RATING CAR ON THE DAMN LOT. NEVER EVER WILL I BUY A CHEVY OR A FORD AGAIN. WE WILL SEE HOW THE DEALER MAKES THIS RIGHT IF I GO BACK TO THEM OR GIVE THEM A GOOD REVIEW. IT HAS BEEN 7 DAYS NOW AND THEY STILL HAVE MY CAR AND EVERYDAY I'M TOLD THE SAME THING, DON'T KNOW WHAT THE PROBLEM IS, DON'T KNOW WHEN WE WILL GIVE YOU YOUR CAR BACK. MUCH LONGER DEALING WITH THIS AND THEY CAN TALK TO MY ATTORNEY. I DON['T WANT THE CAR BACK, TRADE IT IN OR GIVE ME MY MONEY BACK. THIS IS BULL.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

1/6/2017 - JONESBORO, IN
THE MORNING OF 1/5/17 I NOTICED MY PASSENGER WINDSHIELD WIPER WOULD NOT MOVE, BUT THE DRIVERS SIDE STILL WORKED. NO CHANGE ON THE AFTERNOON DRIVE HOME. ON THE MORNING OF 1/6/17, THE PASSENGER SIDE WIPER STILL DIDN'T MOVE, BUT THE DRIVERS SIDE WIPER MOVED UP AND THEN WOULD NOT RETURN TO THE DOWN POSITION. I MANUALLY MOVED IT DOWN, AND NOW NEITHER WIPER MOVES. VERY DANGEROUS AT ANY TIME TO NOT BE ABLE TO CLEAR MY WINDSHIELD, BUT WITH THE DIRT AND GRIME OF THE WINTER IN THE MIDWEST ALONG WITH THE CONSTANT FLECKS OF SNOW FROM THE CARS AROUND ME, I WAS STRUGGLING TO MAKE IT TO WORK SAFELY. I'LL HAVE THE ISSUE ADDRESSED WITH MY MECHANIC THIS EVENING/WEEKEND.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

12/29/2016 - CHANDLER, AZ
RADIO IS TURNING ON AND OFF. STABILITYTRAK CONTROL LIGHT COMES ON POWER STEERING GIVE OUT AND BRAKES

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/29/2016 - CHANDLER, AZ
RADIO IS TURNING ON AND OFF. STABILITYTRAK CONTROL LIGHT COMES ON POWER STEERING GIVE OUT AND BRAKES

View Details

STEERING

12/29/2016 - CHANDLER, AZ
RADIO IS TURNING ON AND OFF. STABILITYTRAK CONTROL LIGHT COMES ON POWER STEERING GIVE OUT AND BRAKES

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

12/22/2016 - JOLIET, IL
DRIVER SIDE WINDSHIELD WIPER BECOMES DETACHED FROM WIPER TRANSMISSION WHEN DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS AND SIMULTANEOUSLY USING WINDSHIELD WIPERS. THIS POSES SIGNIFICANT DANGER BECAUSE VISIBILITY IS DRASTICALLY REDUCED IN RAINY OR SNOWY CONDITIONS. CAR LURCHES FORWARD WHEN AT A STOP AND TRANSMISSION IS IN DRIVE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/22/2016 - JOLIET, IL
DRIVER SIDE WINDSHIELD WIPER BECOMES DETACHED FROM WIPER TRANSMISSION WHEN DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS AND SIMULTANEOUSLY USING WINDSHIELD WIPERS. THIS POSES SIGNIFICANT DANGER BECAUSE VISIBILITY IS DRASTICALLY REDUCED IN RAINY OR SNOWY CONDITIONS. CAR LURCHES FORWARD WHEN AT A STOP AND TRANSMISSION IS IN DRIVE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/21/2016 - ROCHESTER, NY
CAR GOES INTO A POWER DOWN MODE AND STABILITRACK LIGHT COMES ON. HAS BEEN IN DEALERSHIP FOR A WEEK AND STORED NO CODES TO DIAGNOSE. CAN BE DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY AT 60 AND HAVE LOSS OF POWER. WILL EVENTUALLY CAUSE ACCIDENT. CAR IS STILL UNDER POWERTRAIN WARRANTY AND CANT BE DIAGNOSED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/21/2016 - WILLIS, MI
I WAS OUT DRIVING ON OUR WAY HOME ABOUT 1 MILE FROM MY HOUSE,. I SAW STEAM EMIT FROM THE FRONT OF THE HOOD. PULLED INTO MY DRIVEWAY AND WALKED AROUND TO THE FRONT OF VEHICLE. THERE WAS A BURNING KIND OF SMELL, OPENED HOOD AND SAW ENGINE OIL ALL OVER THE BOTTOM OF ENGINE, PARTS AND UNDERNEATH CAR ALL OVER THE UNDERBODY. ALSO LARGE PUDDLE ON THE GROUND. THE CAR HAS 42,000 MILES ON IT AND HAD IT TOWED TO THE CHEVY DEALER IMMEDIATELY AND THERE IT SITS WAITING TO FIGURE OUT WHAT CAUSED THIS TO HAPPEN. AND THE ESTIMATE AND OUR IF IT IS UNDER THE POWERTRAIN WARRANTY. THIS WAS REALLY SCARY ONCE I I OPENED THE HOOD AND THE BURNING SMELL WAS BAD. I HAVE HAD SEVERAL RECALLS ON MY CAR THAT I GUESS WE'RE CORRECTED. I'M NOT A MECHANIC. I HAVE KEPT UP ON ALL MAINTENANCE AND OIL CHANGES WITH THE CAR DEALER. IN FACT I JUST HAD AN OIL CHANGE 2 MONTHS AGO BY THE DEALER. YOU KNOW THEY TELL YOU TO USE SYNTHETIC OIL IT WILL LAST THE LONGEST IN BETWEEN OIL CHANGES. I'M STUNNED BECAUSE I DO NOT KNOW HOW THIS WOULD HAPPEN SO SUDDENLY. IS THIS RELATED TO ANY RECALLS?

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/17/2016 - DAYTON, OH
I WAS DRIVING BY MYSELF DOWN A BUSY ROAD, LUCKILY NOT TOO BUSY WITH TRAFFIC AND THE SERVICE ENGINE SOON LIGHT CAME ON WITH COMMENT STABILITY TRACTION. I IMMEDIATELY PULLED OVER, TURNED THE CAR OFF AND CALLED OUR CHEVY DEALER. I WAS INSTRUCTED TO LEAVE THE CAR OFF A FEW MINUTES THEN TURN IT BACK ON WHICH I DID. ALL THE LIGHTS WENT AWAY. I SCHEDULED AN APPOINTMENT FOR SEVERAL DAYS LATER TO HAVE THE CAR CHECKED. THE CAR WAS FINE THE REST OF THE DAY. THE NEXT DAY AROUND 3 PM I WAS LEAVING WORK THE STABILITY TRACTION LIGHT CAME ON AND THEN THE REDUCED ENGINE SPEED LIGHT CAME ON. MY CAR DROPPED TO 10 MILES AN HOUR I WAS ABOUT REAR ENDED. I TURNED ON HAZARDS. I RIGHT AT AN INTERSECTION, I STARTED BLOWING MY HORN CAUSE THE LIGHT TURNED YELLOW. I TURNED INTO A PARKING LOT. I IMMEDIATELY TURNED THE CAR OFF AND CALLED THE DEALER AGAIN. THE GUY ON THE PHONE STATED TURN THE CAR OFF AND ON FOR A FEW MINUTES AND IT DID RESET. HE SAID I SEE YOU HAVE AN UPCOMING APPOINTMENT. I SAID YES BUT I AM DROPPING THE CAR OFF TONIGHT AND HE STATED OKAY. NEXT DAY THEY PHONE ME AND THE"THROTTLE BODY" WAS BAD. MANY, MANY COMPLAINTS ONLINE ABOUT THIS. HE STATED HE ALSO HAD TO REPLACE THE OUTLET HOUSING, SOMETHING TO DO WITH OIL. THIS WAS JUST RE-PLACED 15 MONTHS AGO BUT WAS NOW OUT OF WARRANTY. A DAY LATER I WAS OUT $1,053.99. LUCKILY I HAD THE MONEY! MY POINT IS NOT ONLY MYSELF BUT OTHERS, MANY OTHERS ALL OVER THE INTERNET HAVE ISSUES WITH THIS THROTTLE BODY. WHY NOT RECALL IT? DO YOU REALIZE WHAT DANGER I WAS IN??? THANK YOU.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 73
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds