Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET CRUZE - 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 330 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (44) Steering (69) Unknown Or Other (24)
Electrical System (93) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (1) Structure (11) Vehicle Speed Control (18)
Electronic Stability Control (38) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Seats (2) Suspension (3) Visibility (5)
Engine (67) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (60) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (9)
Engine And Engine Cooling (24) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (5)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 51
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/21/2015 - CARIBOU, MD
STRONG SICKENING COOLANT SMELL INSIDE CAR WHILE HEATER SYSTEM IS ON. MAY 7,2015 DEALER PRESSURE CHECKED FOUND NO LEAKS. CAN'T FIND PROBLEM. NO LEAKS VISIBLE. SMELL STILL EXISTS WHILE HEATER IS ON.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/20/2015 - MOUNT PLEASANT, MI
THE ELECTRICAL PAD THAT YOU PUSH TO OPEN THE TRUNK IS FAULTY AND DOES NOT WORK ANYMORE. ONLY WAY TO GET INTO TRUNK IS TO PUSH KEY FOB. IF A CHILD OR ADULT GOT TRAPPED INSIDE IT COULD BE HARMFUL DUE TO FACT THAT THE PUSH PAD FOR THE TRUNK OPEN IS FAULTY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/20/2015 - MOUNT PLEASANT, MI
THE ELECTRICAL PAD THAT YOU PUSH TO OPEN THE TRUNK IS FAULTY AND DOES NOT WORK ANYMORE. ONLY WAY TO GET INTO TRUNK IS TO PUSH KEY FOB. IF A CHILD OR ADULT GOT TRAPPED INSIDE IT COULD BE HARMFUL DUE TO FACT THAT THE PUSH PAD FOR THE TRUNK OPEN IS FAULTY.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/20/2015 - MOUNT PLEASANT, MI
THE ELECTRICAL PAD THAT YOU PUSH TO OPEN THE TRUNK IS FAULTY AND DOES NOT WORK ANYMORE. ONLY WAY TO GET INTO TRUNK IS TO PUSH KEY FOB. IF A CHILD OR ADULT GOT TRAPPED INSIDE IT COULD BE HARMFUL DUE TO FACT THAT THE PUSH PAD FOR THE TRUNK OPEN IS FAULTY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/17/2015 - ELLISVILLE, MO
WHILE TRAVELING DOWN A 4 LINE ROAD WITH NORMAL TRAFFIC, A CAR PULLED OUT IN FRONT OF ME. I SLAMMED ON MY BRAKES T BONING HER IN HER RIGHT DOOR HITTING MY HEAD ON THE STEERING WHEEL. MY AIRBAGS DIDN'T DEPLOY AND IT SCARES THE HELL OUT OF ME...!!!! I'M REPORTING THIS MATTER AND WOULD LIKE TO KNOW WHAT TO DO NEXT? WITNESS STAYED TALKING TO THE POLICE SAYING SHE WAS AT FAULT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/7/2015 - PITTSBORO, IN
I HAVE HAD MANY ISSUES WITH MY BRAKES ON MY 2012 CHEVY CRUZE. SOMETIMES IT FEELS LIKE I AM HIT FROM BEHIND WHILE STOPPED BECAUSE THE VEHICLE WILL RANDOMLY LURCH FORWARD AN INCH. THEN, THE BRAKE LIGHTS BEGAN TO RANDOMLY COME ON WHEN THE CAR WAS NOT RUNNING. THIS CAUSED THE BATTERY TO DIE NUMEROUS TIMES. EVENTUALLY, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND THE FAULT SAID THE BRAKE PEDAL POSITION SENSOR WAS BAD. I HAD THAT REPLACED. NOW, THE BRAKE PEDAL DOES NOT COME ALL THE WAY UP WHEN IT IS LIGHTLY DEPRESSED (LIKE WHEN SLOWING DOWN JUST A LITTLE OR CANCELLING THE CRUISE). THIS CAUSES THE BRAKE LIGHTS TO STAY ON. THE ONLY WAY TO FIX IT IS EITHER HIT THE BRAKES HARD OR PULL THE PEDAL BACK UP. I HAVE BEEN RESEARCHING THIS AND IT APPEARS THAT MANY PEOPLE ARE HAVING SIMILAR PROBLEMS. TSB #PI0928/NHTSA ID #10052020 DISCUSSES THE "LURCHING". TSB #PIC-5862/NHTSA ID #10053904 DOESN'T SAY IT'S FOR CRUZES, BUT APPEARS TO BE THE SAME TYPE OF PROBLEM.

View Details

STEERING

5/6/2015 - UVALDE, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL WAS EXTREMELY TIGHT CAUSING THE CONTACT TO HAVE TO APPLY FORCE IN ORDER TO STEER THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V288000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING), BUT THE REMEDY WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/5/2015 - WASHINGTON, DC
WHILE DRIVING ON HIGHWAY WITH MY SUNROOF RAISED I HEARD AN EXPLOSION AND FELT PIECES OF GLASS FALLING. WHEN I PULLED OVER I NOTICED MY SUNROOF GLASS EXPLODED FROM THE INSIDE OUT. NOTHING HIT MY CAR. I DID NOT HEAR A THUD OR SEE ANYTHING ROLL OFF MY CAR. THERE IS NO DENT. JUST A HOLE WHERE THE GLASS EXPLODED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/30/2015 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
MY CAR STARTED JERKING VIOLENTLY ON SATURDAY APRIL 25 2015. A FEW HOURS LATER THE CAR STALLED THEN MADE A LOUD NOISE AND RETURNED TO NORMAL DRIVING. ITS BEEN HAPPENING 5 DAYS NOW.I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND THEY TOLD ME IT WAS MY DRIVE WISE INSURANCE TRACKER THAT WAS MAKING THE CAR JERK SO IT WAS REMOVED.THE PROBLEM IS STILL HAPPENING. IT JERKS WHEN I STOP AND GO BUT ITS FINE WHEN I'M AT A STEADY SPEED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/23/2015 - PITTSBORO, IN
THE BRAKE LIGHTS WOULD RANDOMLY COME ON AND STAY ON WHEN CAR WAS OFF AND SITTING STILL. I REPLACED THE BRAKE PEDAL POSITION SENSOR AND IT SEEMED TO STOP. NOW, THE BRAKE PEDAL DOESN'T COME BACK UP ALL OF THE WAY AFTER APPLYING THE BRAKES. THIS KEEPS THE BRAKE LIGHT ON AND THE BRAKES SLIGHTLY APPLIED. THE ONLY WAY TO GET IT ALL THE WAY UP IS TO PULL IT FROM BEHIND WITH YOUR FOOT. THIS SEEMS TO BE PART OF THE BRAKE PUSHROD AND BRAKE ASSIST ISSUE THEY ARE HAVING, BUT HAVEN'T DONE A RECALL.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 51
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds