Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET CRUZE - 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 159 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Equipment (2) Power Train (24) Steering (35) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (31) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (1) Structure (8) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (13) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (1) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (30) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes (35) Tires (5) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (13) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (13)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/15/2014 - CERSCO, NE
I WAS SITTING AT A STOPLIGHT TO TURN LEFT. AFTER THE LIGHT TURNED GREEN I APPLIED PRESSURE TO THE GAS PEDAL AND NOTICED A SLIGHT LOSS OF POWER. AS I PROCEEDED THROUGH THE TURN I HAD DIFFICULTY TURNING AS THOUGH I HAD NO POWER STEERING. ONCE THROUGH THE TURN I STILL HAS NO POWER STEERING AND NOTED A MESSAGE ON THE DASH READING "SERVICE STEERING". I CONTROLLED THE CAR TO THE NEXT STOPLIGHT WHICH WAS APPROXIMATELY 1/2 MILE DURING WHICH TIME I STILL HAD NO POWER STEERING. AT THE STOP LIGHT I TURNED THE CAR OFF, AND STARTED IT AGAIN. AFTER RESTARTING THE CAR I HAD NO MORE PROBLEMS WITH THE STEERING. PRIOR TO THIS INSTANCE AND MULTIPLE TIMES FOLLOWING I HAVE HAD ISSUES WITH THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM FAILING. IT USUALLY BEGINS WITH THE RADIO BOARD "BLINKING" OFF. BY BLINKING I MEAN THAT THE RADIO COMPLETELY SHUTS OFF AND THE RADIO DASH LIGHTS BLINK OFF AND ON UNTIL IT FINALLY RETURNS TO FULL POWER. BUT USUALLY ITS NOT A ONE TIME THING. THERE ARE TIMES WHERE THIS OCCURS EVERY 5 SECONDS UNTIL I'M ABLE TO PULL THE CAR OVER AND TURN IT OFF. WHILE THIS OCCURS I WILL GET A MESSAGE ON MY DASH CLUSTER SAYING TO "SERVICE STABILITRAC" ALONG WITH SEVERAL OTHER CLUSTER LIGHTS THAT BLINK. I HAVE TAKEN THIS CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP WHERE IT WAS PURCHASED AND THEY HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO REPRODUCE WHAT I'VE EXPERIENCED, AND SUCH THEY HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO FIX ANYTHING. THIS FIRST BEGAN WHILE THE CAR WAS UNDER BUMPER TO BUMPER WARRANTY, BUT THAT HAS SINCE PASSED AND IF THEY WERE ABLE TO ACTUALLY FIX ANYTHING I WOULD BE STUCK WITH THE BILL.

View Details

STEERING

4/15/2014 - CERSCO, NE
I WAS SITTING AT A STOPLIGHT TO TURN LEFT. AFTER THE LIGHT TURNED GREEN I APPLIED PRESSURE TO THE GAS PEDAL AND NOTICED A SLIGHT LOSS OF POWER. AS I PROCEEDED THROUGH THE TURN I HAD DIFFICULTY TURNING AS THOUGH I HAD NO POWER STEERING. ONCE THROUGH THE TURN I STILL HAS NO POWER STEERING AND NOTED A MESSAGE ON THE DASH READING "SERVICE STEERING". I CONTROLLED THE CAR TO THE NEXT STOPLIGHT WHICH WAS APPROXIMATELY 1/2 MILE DURING WHICH TIME I STILL HAD NO POWER STEERING. AT THE STOP LIGHT I TURNED THE CAR OFF, AND STARTED IT AGAIN. AFTER RESTARTING THE CAR I HAD NO MORE PROBLEMS WITH THE STEERING. PRIOR TO THIS INSTANCE AND MULTIPLE TIMES FOLLOWING I HAVE HAD ISSUES WITH THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM FAILING. IT USUALLY BEGINS WITH THE RADIO BOARD "BLINKING" OFF. BY BLINKING I MEAN THAT THE RADIO COMPLETELY SHUTS OFF AND THE RADIO DASH LIGHTS BLINK OFF AND ON UNTIL IT FINALLY RETURNS TO FULL POWER. BUT USUALLY ITS NOT A ONE TIME THING. THERE ARE TIMES WHERE THIS OCCURS EVERY 5 SECONDS UNTIL I'M ABLE TO PULL THE CAR OVER AND TURN IT OFF. WHILE THIS OCCURS I WILL GET A MESSAGE ON MY DASH CLUSTER SAYING TO "SERVICE STABILITRAC" ALONG WITH SEVERAL OTHER CLUSTER LIGHTS THAT BLINK. I HAVE TAKEN THIS CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP WHERE IT WAS PURCHASED AND THEY HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO REPRODUCE WHAT I'VE EXPERIENCED, AND SUCH THEY HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO FIX ANYTHING. THIS FIRST BEGAN WHILE THE CAR WAS UNDER BUMPER TO BUMPER WARRANTY, BUT THAT HAS SINCE PASSED AND IF THEY WERE ABLE TO ACTUALLY FIX ANYTHING I WOULD BE STUCK WITH THE BILL.

View Details

STEERING

4/7/2014 - BROWNSBURG, IN
AFTER ABOUT 15 MINUTES ON THE INTERSTATE AT A SPEED OF ABOUT 60MPH THE STEERING SEEMS TO HAVE A SPOT THAT IT STICKS IN AND DOES NOT SEEM SAFE. HAVE CALLED DEALERSHIP BUT THEY SAY THEY HAVENT HEARD OF THIS PROBLEM BUT I CAN HAVE IT CHECKED. IT DOES NOT SEEM TO HAPPEN EVERYTIME SO I HAVENT TAKEN IT IN.

View Details

WHEELS

4/4/2014 - CONROE, TX
MY 2012 CHEVY CRUZE SUDDENLY DEVELOPED VIBRATION IN THE FRONT END AS WELL AS PULLING TO THE RIGHT. PULLED OVER TO INSPECT IT AND FOUND A LARGE BULGE IN THE SIDEWALL ON THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE TIRE. I DROVE IT TO DISCOUNT TIRE WHERE THEY SAID IT WAS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE AND IT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THEY WONT GET INTO ANY WARRANTY/DEFECT ISSUES THEY REFERRED ME TO THE CHEVY DEALER FOR THAT. I DID HAVE THEM PUT THE OLD TIRE IN THE TRUNK. WHEN I GOT HOME I PULLED IT OUT TO LOOK AT IT AND ON THE INSIDE OF THE TIRE RIGHT WHERE THE BULGE IS THE TIRE IS CRACKED ON THE INSIDE. UGH! I CALLED CONTINENTAL AND THEY SAID I NEED TO TAKE THE CAR TO CHEVY AND HAVE THEM INSPECT THEM AND THEY WILL CONTACT CONTINENTAL TO SEE IF THEY ARE CONSIDERED DEFECTIVE.

View Details

ENGINE

4/3/2014 - DALLAS, GA
1G1GP5SC1C7184724 VIN MY CAR WAS TAKEN TO DEALERSHIP BECAUSE IT STARTED MAKING A SOUND LIKE THE MOTOR WAS TICKING AND HAD BEEN OVERFILLED WITH OIL ABOUT 6 MONTHS BEFORE BY THE DEALERSHIP. THE SERVICEMAN WAITED UNTIL NEXT DAY TO DRIVE THE CAR. WHILE BEING TEST DROVE BY THE SERVICE MAN IT CAUGHT ON FIRE AND BURNED THE WHOLE MOTOR AND OUTSIDE OF THE CAR UP. ALL PLASTIC WAS COMPLETELY BURNED. MY INSURANCE MAN WHO WENT TO LOOK AT THE CAR SAID HE COULD NOT TELL IF THE PLASTIC SHIELD ON THE BOTTOM HAD OIL ON IT OR NOT BUT THEY COULD FURTHER INVESTIGATE AND WOULD BE ABLE TO FIND OUT. NOW I HAD INSURANCE FULL COVERAGE ON THE CAR AND I BOUGHT GAP FROM THE DEALERSHIP WHEN I PURCHASED THE CAR. I AM PAYING A 6.25 INTEREST RATE ON THE CAR WHICH CAME TO 22,740.00 PLUS 3,000.00 DOWN WHEN PURCHASED AND BEEN PAYING FOR 1 YEAR. PAYED FOR EXTENDED WARRANTY AND GAP. I HAVE WAITED OVER A MONTH FOR GM TO INVESTIGATE THIS AND OF TODAY'S DATE THE DEALERSHIP SAYS THEY HAVE NOT COME TO DO THEIR JOB. I AM 64 YEARS OLD AND NEVER DREAMED THAT A LARGE DEALERSHIP COULD OR WOULD DO SOMEONE LIKE THEY HAVE DONE ME. THERE WAS VERY LARGE RECALL ON 2012 CARS AND I DON'T KNOW IF MINE WAS EVER FIXED BECAUSE I DIDN'T KNOW ABOUT THE RECALL UNTIL THIS HAPPENED. I JUST WANT MY MONEY BACK FOR THE DOWN PAYMENT SO I CAN BUY ANOTHER CAR AND FOR MY CAR TO BE PAID OFF BY THE DEALERSHIP BECAUSE THEY ARE THE ONES WHO OVER FILLED THE CAR IN THE FIRST PLACE. THE DEALERSHIP SHOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE CAR IT WAS IN THERE PLACE THERE SERVICE MEN WAS DRIVING IT WHEN IT CAUGHT ON FIRE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/3/2014 - DALLAS, GA
1G1GP5SC1C7184724 VIN MY CAR WAS TAKEN TO DEALERSHIP BECAUSE IT STARTED MAKING A SOUND LIKE THE MOTOR WAS TICKING AND HAD BEEN OVERFILLED WITH OIL ABOUT 6 MONTHS BEFORE BY THE DEALERSHIP. THE SERVICEMAN WAITED UNTIL NEXT DAY TO DRIVE THE CAR. WHILE BEING TEST DROVE BY THE SERVICE MAN IT CAUGHT ON FIRE AND BURNED THE WHOLE MOTOR AND OUTSIDE OF THE CAR UP. ALL PLASTIC WAS COMPLETELY BURNED. MY INSURANCE MAN WHO WENT TO LOOK AT THE CAR SAID HE COULD NOT TELL IF THE PLASTIC SHIELD ON THE BOTTOM HAD OIL ON IT OR NOT BUT THEY COULD FURTHER INVESTIGATE AND WOULD BE ABLE TO FIND OUT. NOW I HAD INSURANCE FULL COVERAGE ON THE CAR AND I BOUGHT GAP FROM THE DEALERSHIP WHEN I PURCHASED THE CAR. I AM PAYING A 6.25 INTEREST RATE ON THE CAR WHICH CAME TO 22,740.00 PLUS 3,000.00 DOWN WHEN PURCHASED AND BEEN PAYING FOR 1 YEAR. PAYED FOR EXTENDED WARRANTY AND GAP. I HAVE WAITED OVER A MONTH FOR GM TO INVESTIGATE THIS AND OF TODAY'S DATE THE DEALERSHIP SAYS THEY HAVE NOT COME TO DO THEIR JOB. I AM 64 YEARS OLD AND NEVER DREAMED THAT A LARGE DEALERSHIP COULD OR WOULD DO SOMEONE LIKE THEY HAVE DONE ME. THERE WAS VERY LARGE RECALL ON 2012 CARS AND I DON'T KNOW IF MINE WAS EVER FIXED BECAUSE I DIDN'T KNOW ABOUT THE RECALL UNTIL THIS HAPPENED. I JUST WANT MY MONEY BACK FOR THE DOWN PAYMENT SO I CAN BUY ANOTHER CAR AND FOR MY CAR TO BE PAID OFF BY THE DEALERSHIP BECAUSE THEY ARE THE ONES WHO OVER FILLED THE CAR IN THE FIRST PLACE. THE DEALERSHIP SHOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE CAR IT WAS IN THERE PLACE THERE SERVICE MEN WAS DRIVING IT WHEN IT CAUGHT ON FIRE.

View Details

STEERING

4/1/2014 - FORT WORTH , TX
VEHICLE STARTED WITH THE RADIO PANEL LIGHT FLASHING ON AND OFF AND THE RADIO WOULD ALSO TURN OFF. TODAY THE ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS PROGRESSED GREATLY, IMPACTING THE POWER STEALING I WAS TURING AROUND THE CORNER AND , THE STEERING SEEMS TO STICK/BIND AND REQUIRES ADDITIONAL EFFORT TO MAKE A STEERING CORRECTION. I ALMOST HIT THE CAR WAITING IN THE CORNER FOR THE LIGHT. BUT I WAS ABLE TO CONTROL THE STEERING WHILE EVEN THOUGH IT WAS VERY HARD TO DO.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/1/2014 - FORT WORTH , TX
VEHICLE STARTED WITH THE RADIO PANEL LIGHT FLASHING ON AND OFF AND THE RADIO WOULD ALSO TURN OFF. TODAY THE ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS PROGRESSED GREATLY, IMPACTING THE POWER STEALING I WAS TURING AROUND THE CORNER AND , THE STEERING SEEMS TO STICK/BIND AND REQUIRES ADDITIONAL EFFORT TO MAKE A STEERING CORRECTION. I ALMOST HIT THE CAR WAITING IN THE CORNER FOR THE LIGHT. BUT I WAS ABLE TO CONTROL THE STEERING WHILE EVEN THOUGH IT WAS VERY HARD TO DO.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/1/2014 - CORTLAND, NY
REFERENCE TO CHEVY CRUX 2012 INTERMITINTER SMELL OF GASOLINE, WORSE WHEN STANDING, THAT BECAME MORE NOTISIBLE AFTER SHIELD WAS CUT, BUT THE CUT MADE DID NOT PREVENT THE OIL FROM POOLING AFTER OIL CHANGE, SINCE THE METAL SHIELD THAT WAS LEFT COLLECT THE OIL, AND DOES NOT PREVENT THE POOLING OF OIL AFTER OIL CHANGE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/1/2014 - HOLT, MI
RECEIVED A RECALL IN OCTOBER 2013 (RECALL 12213). PARTS ARE STILL NOT AVAILABLE AS OF MARCH 2014.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds