Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET CRUZE - 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 307 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (41) Steering (63) Unknown Or Other (22)
Electrical System (88) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (1) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (13)
Electronic Stability Control (36) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Seats (2) Suspension (3) Visibility (5)
Engine (64) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (57) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (22) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (5)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 47
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/3/2015 - LAPLATA, MD
WHILE DRIVING APPROX. 40 MPH, VEHICLE STALLED, TRACTION STABILITY AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS ILLUMINATED, AND STEERING LOCKED. THE RADIO SHUT OFF AND THE RADIO SCREEN/ ENV CONTROL PANEL FLICKERED ON AND OFF CONTINUOUSLY. I CONTINUED TO DRIVE THE CAR SINCE I WAS A SHORT DISTANCE FROM HOME. CHECKED THE BATTERY CONNECTIONS AND ALL SEEMED TO BE TIGHT. DROVE CAR TO WORK TODAY BUT DIDN'T HAVE THE ISSUE. I LITERALLY JUST BOUGHT THIS CAR A WEEK AGO AND IT PASSED MD STATE INSPECTION. I AM WONDERING NOW IF THE INSPECTION INCLUDED A OBD CHECK.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

3/3/2015 - LAPLATA, MD
WHILE DRIVING APPROX. 40 MPH, VEHICLE STALLED, TRACTION STABILITY AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS ILLUMINATED, AND STEERING LOCKED. THE RADIO SHUT OFF AND THE RADIO SCREEN/ ENV CONTROL PANEL FLICKERED ON AND OFF CONTINUOUSLY. I CONTINUED TO DRIVE THE CAR SINCE I WAS A SHORT DISTANCE FROM HOME. CHECKED THE BATTERY CONNECTIONS AND ALL SEEMED TO BE TIGHT. DROVE CAR TO WORK TODAY BUT DIDN'T HAVE THE ISSUE. I LITERALLY JUST BOUGHT THIS CAR A WEEK AGO AND IT PASSED MD STATE INSPECTION. I AM WONDERING NOW IF THE INSPECTION INCLUDED A OBD CHECK.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/3/2015 - LAPLATA, MD
WHILE DRIVING APPROX. 40 MPH, VEHICLE STALLED, TRACTION STABILITY AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS ILLUMINATED, AND STEERING LOCKED. THE RADIO SHUT OFF AND THE RADIO SCREEN/ ENV CONTROL PANEL FLICKERED ON AND OFF CONTINUOUSLY. I CONTINUED TO DRIVE THE CAR SINCE I WAS A SHORT DISTANCE FROM HOME. CHECKED THE BATTERY CONNECTIONS AND ALL SEEMED TO BE TIGHT. DROVE CAR TO WORK TODAY BUT DIDN'T HAVE THE ISSUE. I LITERALLY JUST BOUGHT THIS CAR A WEEK AGO AND IT PASSED MD STATE INSPECTION. I AM WONDERING NOW IF THE INSPECTION INCLUDED A OBD CHECK.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

3/2/2015 - WESTFIELD, MA
I WAS MOVING UP IN MY DRIVEWAY WHEN MY VEHICLE LOST POWER AND THE A CHIMEING NOISE CAME ON AND THE STABILITRAK APPEARED AND WILL NOT COME OFF I FOLLOWED THE INSTRUCTION THAT I WAS READ IN MY MANUAL BUT NOW THIS KEEPS HAPPENING I DON'T FEEL THAT I SHOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THIS SINCE THERE HAS BEEN MORE THE ONE COMPLAINT ON THE SAME ISSUE.. THIS SHOULD BE A CHEVY PROBLEM ABD THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL..

View Details

ENGINE

2/28/2015 - NEW WINDSOR, NY
REPORTED OIL PRESSURE DROP ALERT ON MY CAR, STRONG RUBBER BURNING SMELL AND SMOKE COMING FROM ENGINE. OIL WAS SPRAYING OUT ON ENGINE, REPORTED THE ISSUE TO CHEVY, HOWEVER THEY STATE NOTHING CAN BE DONE UNTIL MID APRIL. WAS SENT HOME DRIVING CAR IN THIS CONDITION AND WAS NOT OFFERED HELP NOR WAS MY CAR SERVICED OR FIXED DURING THE APPOINTMENT I MADE AT THE SUNRISE CHEVROLET LOCATION.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/27/2015 - MACOMB , MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH AND MAKING A LEFT TURN, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED. IN ADDITION, THE INSTRUMENT PANEL AND RADIO INTERMITTENTLY OPERATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE POSITIVE BATTERY CABLE AND GENERATOR STARTER CABLE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 47,000.

View Details

STEERING

2/27/2015 - MACOMB , MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH AND MAKING A LEFT TURN, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED. IN ADDITION, THE INSTRUMENT PANEL AND RADIO INTERMITTENTLY OPERATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE POSITIVE BATTERY CABLE AND GENERATOR STARTER CABLE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 47,000.

View Details

STEERING

2/26/2015 - PLACITAS, NM
2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO POWER STEERING MALFUNCTION. CONSUMER HAS DIFFERENT VEHICLE COMPLAINTS LISTED IN ARTEMIS. THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE STALLED, IN THE MIDST OF DRIVING. AN ALERT DISPLAYED TRACTION CONTROL ERROR AND POWER STEERING MALFUNCTION. THE DRIVE TRAIN WAS DISABLED AND APPARENTLY LOCKED DOWN. THE SHIFT LEVER MOVED FREELY FROM PARK, REVERSE AND THE DRIVE POSITION. THE STEERING WHEEL WOULD NOT MOVE. HYDRAULIC RESISTANCE WAS APPARENT WHEN ATTEMPTING TO TURN LEFT AND RIGHT. THREE HOURS LATER, THE ALERT DISAPPEARED AND THE VEHICLE PERFORMED AS IT WAS DESIGNED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/25/2015 - LENORE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CONTINUED TO ILLUMINATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE MAP SENSOR WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO PASS INSPECTION. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 66,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/24/2015 - WARNER ROBINS, GA
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE BACKING UP, ANOTHER VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE REAR END OF THE VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED A HEART CONTUSION, THE FRONT SEAT PASSENGER SUSTAINED A BROKEN THUMB AND A CONCUSSION, THE REAR MIDDLE SEAT PASSENGER SUSTAINED A BROKEN NOSE AND THE REAR DRIVER SIDE PASSENGER SUSTAINED INTERNAL STOMACH BLEEDING WHICH REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 32,500.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 47
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds