Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET CRUZE - 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 388 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (49) Steering (76) Unknown Or Other (21)
Electrical System (111) Exterior Lighting (6) Seat Belts (2) Structure (14) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Electronic Stability Control (47) Fuel Propulsion System (10) Seats (2) Suspension (3) Visibility (6)
Engine (82) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (74) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (10)
Engine And Engine Cooling (28) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (5)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 60
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

1/27/2016 - BRICK, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, AN ABNORMAL FUEL ODOR WAS PRESENT INSIDE THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE WAS PERSISTENT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION LINES FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 60,000.

View Details

STEERING

1/26/2016 - NORMAN, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED AND THE HEADLAMPS TURNED OFF WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT EXPERIENCED SEVERAL ELECTRICAL ISSUES WITH THE VEHICLE, INCLUDING THE KEY FAILING TO DISLODGE FROM THE IGNITION SWITCH. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 58,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: HEADLIGHTS

1/26/2016 - NORMAN, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED AND THE HEADLAMPS TURNED OFF WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT EXPERIENCED SEVERAL ELECTRICAL ISSUES WITH THE VEHICLE, INCLUDING THE KEY FAILING TO DISLODGE FROM THE IGNITION SWITCH. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 58,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/26/2016 - NORMAN, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED AND THE HEADLAMPS TURNED OFF WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT EXPERIENCED SEVERAL ELECTRICAL ISSUES WITH THE VEHICLE, INCLUDING THE KEY FAILING TO DISLODGE FROM THE IGNITION SWITCH. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 58,000.

View Details

ENGINE

1/17/2016 - MEXICO, MO
WHILE DRIVING THE CAR LOSES POWER AND COMES BACK. THIS HAPPENS AT ANY SPEED OR EVEN TAKING OFF FROM A STOP SIGN. THERE HAVE BEEN SEVERAL OCCISIONS

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/12/2016 - XENIA, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THERE WAS STRONG ODOR INSIDE THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT FUEL LEAKED FROM THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE WAS PERSISTENT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TURBO COOLER LINE, THE TRANSMISSION COOLER HOSE LINE AND THE OIL SEAL GASKET NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 48,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/12/2016 - XENIA, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THERE WAS STRONG ODOR INSIDE THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT FUEL LEAKED FROM THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE WAS PERSISTENT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TURBO COOLER LINE, THE TRANSMISSION COOLER HOSE LINE AND THE OIL SEAL GASKET NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 48,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/12/2016 - ZACHARY, LA
WE PURCHASED THE CAR FOR MY DAUGHTER IN 2012 AND MADE THE DECISION BASED ON ALL OF THE SAFETY FEATURES AND SUPPOSEDLY WARANTIES THAT WERE ASSOCIATED WITH THIS CAR, WHICH SHE LOVED. WE HAVE HAD NUMEROUS RECALLS OVER THE 4 YEARS, BUT NOW THE CAR IS FAILING TO BRAKE WHEN SHE IS PRESSING THE PEDAL AND AFTER SHE PUMPS IT, IT FINALLY COMES TO A STOP, BUT OF COURSE THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE FOR ANYONE. TOOK IT TO OUR MECHANIC THINKING MAYBE IT WAS BRAKE FLUID, BUT THEN HE FOUND ON THIS WEBSITE THE RECALL #12213 THAT GM HAD FROM 2013 DESCRIBING THIS VERY ISSUE. HE SUGGESTED CALLING THE DEALERSHIP BECAUSE IT WAS UNDER THE RECALL AND WHEN I DID, THEY ARE TELLING ME IT WAS ALREADY REPAIRED ON HER CAR (WHICH I AM NOT SURE I BELIEVE BECAUSE WE HAVE HAD SO MANY BAD EXPERIENCES WITH THIS DEALER & RECALLS THAT I DON'T THINK IT WAS EVER REPAIRED!) THEY TELL ME WE WILL HAVE TO PAY TO REPAIR THE PROBLEM BECAUSE IT IS NO LONGER UNDER THE RECALL. I CALLED GM TO QUESTION WHY THEY WOULDN'T REPAIR A "KNOWN" ISSUE WITH THE BRAKES AND SHE TELLS ME THAT THE RECALL ITSELF HAS ALREADY BEEN CLOSED DOWN, SO IT MUST BE SOMETHING ELSE WRONG WITH THE CAR! I GUESS THEY WOULD RATHER HAVE A CRASH ON THEIR HANDS THEN TAKE RESPONSIBILITY BECAUSE AFTER READING THIS WEBSITE, MY DAUGHTER IS NOT THE ONLY ONE HAVING THIS ISSUE. WHAT TERRIBLE CIVIC RESPONSIBILITY, CUSTOMER SERVICE AND BLATANT DISREGARD FOR SOMEONE'S LIFE THAN TO JUST IGNORE AN OBVIOUS PROBLEM. I HAVE ALREADY ASKED OUR MECHANIC TO FIX HER BRAKES SO THAT SHE IS NOT INVOLVED IN A CRASH, BUT THIS IS AN OBVIOUS ISSUE AND THEY HAVE NOTHING TO SAY. I FEEL LIKE SOME OF THE OTHERS ON THIS SITE, THAT I'M NOT EVEN SURE WE GOT A NOTICE ON THIS ISSUE OR WE FELL THROUGH THE CRACKS. LAST USA CAR FOR US-THEY REALLY DON'T CARE ABOUT CUSTOMERS! I CAN'T PUT MY CHILD'S LIFE INTO THEIR HANDS ANY LONGER.

View Details

ENGINE

1/1/2016 - BOCA RATON, FL
CHEVROLET CRUZE RECALL MY 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE WAS RECALLED TWICE, ONCE OF OVERHEATING WHILE DRIVING, AND ONCE FOR BRAKE FAILURE WHEN CRAWLING, SUCH A PARKING. THE DEALERSHIP TRIED TO FIX THESE PROBLEMS, BUT THE BRAKES STILL FAIL, AND NOW THE USES 1 QUART EVERY WEEK. THE BRAKE FAILURE RECENTLY REOCCURRED WHEN MY SPOUSE WAS PARKING AND SHE HIT A WALL AND DAMAGES THE CAR. THE DEALER HAS SINCE TOLD ME THEY DO NOT KNOW WHY THE CAR IS CONSUMING OIL, SO I HAVE ELEVATED THE ISSUE TO GM I THINK THAT THE NTSB HAS TO FURTHER MONITOR THIS PROBLEM TO ASCERTAIN WHY THE RECALLED ITEMS ARE STILL FAILING.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/1/2016 - BOCA RATON, FL
CHEVROLET CRUZE RECALL MY 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE WAS RECALLED TWICE, ONCE OF OVERHEATING WHILE DRIVING, AND ONCE FOR BRAKE FAILURE WHEN CRAWLING, SUCH A PARKING. THE DEALERSHIP TRIED TO FIX THESE PROBLEMS, BUT THE BRAKES STILL FAIL, AND NOW THE USES 1 QUART EVERY WEEK. THE BRAKE FAILURE RECENTLY REOCCURRED WHEN MY SPOUSE WAS PARKING AND SHE HIT A WALL AND DAMAGES THE CAR. THE DEALER HAS SINCE TOLD ME THEY DO NOT KNOW WHY THE CAR IS CONSUMING OIL, SO I HAVE ELEVATED THE ISSUE TO GM I THINK THAT THE NTSB HAS TO FURTHER MONITOR THIS PROBLEM TO ASCERTAIN WHY THE RECALLED ITEMS ARE STILL FAILING.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 60
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds