Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET CRUZE - 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 439 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (14) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (56) Steering (83) Unknown Or Other (23)
Electrical System (122) Exterior Lighting (7) Seat Belts (3) Structure (15) Vehicle Speed Control (30)
Electronic Stability Control (60) Fuel Propulsion System (15) Seats (2) Suspension (4) Visibility (6)
Engine (102) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (83) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (11)
Engine And Engine Cooling (28) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (5)
Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 69
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/24/2016 - GLEN ELLYN, IL
THIS IS THE SECOND COMPLAINT THAT OUR GOVERNMENT REFUSES TO INVESTIGATE FOR THE GOVERNMENT MOTORS CHEVROLET CRUZ VEHICLE. WHILE DRIVING, THE RADIO WILL START TO POWER CYCLE AND THE DASH BOARD INSTRUMENT PANEL WILL ALSO START FLASHING ON AND OFF. THE VEHICLE WILL ALSO SHUT COMPLETELY OFF WHILE DRIVING. THIS WILL CONTINUE UNTIL YOU REMOVE BATTERY TERMINALS AND THEN REATTACH. THIS IS HAPPENING TO MANY CHEVY CRUZ'S AND THE NHTSA REFUSES TO DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT. I WOULD UPLOAD VIDEOS BUT THIS ANTIQUATED GOVERNMENT SITE DOESN'T WANT TO SEE REAL FACTS

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/24/2016 - WASHINGTON, DC
VICTORIATHIS IS THE THIRD INCIDENT IN A THREE MONTH SPAN I'VE HAD WITH MY TRACTION CONTROL/ STABILITRACK WARNING. (I GOT THE CAR THREE MONTHS AGO) IT IS A 2012 CHEVY CRUZE. THIS LAST TIME AFTER THE "SERVICE STABILITRACK" WARNING CAME ON MY RADIO AND DIC MENU RESET ITSELF. I'VE READ INTO OTHER COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS SAME PROBLEM WHERE OTHERS HAVE EVENTUALLY LOST ENGINE POWER OR POWER STEERING AND DRIVEN INTO A DITCH OR HAVE JUST BEEN PUT IN VERY DANGEROUS POSITIONS AS A RESULT OF THIS ISSUE. I HAVE NOT LOST ANY POWER AS OF YET BUT I'M NOT WAITING UNTIL I DO TO SAY SOMETHING, AFTER MAKING COUNTLESS TRIPS TO THE DEALERSHIP WITHOUT PREVAIL.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/18/2016 - LEDYARD, CT
RECALL BULLETIN 12213 PERFORMED APRIL 2014 FOR BRAKE VACUUM MICRO SWITCH. RECALLED PART FAILED AGAIN AUGUST 2016. VEHICLE HAS HARD BRAKE PEDAL UPON COLD START AND SOMETIMES WHEN RESTARTED AFTER DRIVING AND WARM. VEHICLE BECOMES VERY HARD TO STOP WITHOUT WARNING AND UNSAFE TO DRIVE. DEALER REFUSED TO REPLACE PART AT NO COST STATING NO ADDITIONAL RECALL EXISTS AND NO WARRANTY EXISTS. IT IS UNCLEAR IF THIS IS THE VERY START OF A LARGER SYSTEMIC PROBLEM WITH THE ACTUAL DESIGN OF THESE MICRO SWITCHES IN THIS APPLICATION. GM PART NUMBER 13460776 HAS BECOME OBSOLETE AND PART NOW COMES AS SUB ASSEMBLY WITH ADDITIONAL PARTS. THIS LEADS ME TO BELIEVE ORIGINAL DESIGN OF MICRO SWITCH WAS DEFECTIVE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/8/2016 - NORTH CANTON, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY, THE KEY FOB FRACTURED. THE KEY FOB WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE ISSUE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 43,000.

View Details

ENGINE

8/8/2016 - ENUMCLAW, WA
MIL CAME ON WHILE DRIVING, VEHICLE SET P0171 P0106 CODES, IDLES ROUGH. VALVE COVER CRACKED AT PCV HOUSING AND PCV VALVE STUCK OPEN RESULTING IN AIR LEAK.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/5/2016 - HEATHSVILLE, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING AND THE AIR BAG AND ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL LIGHTS REMAINED ILLUMINATED. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START IMMEDIATELY WHEN PROMPTED. THE CONTACT HAD TO WAIT APPROXIMATELY TEN SECONDS BEFORE THE VEHICLE WOULD START. FURTHERMORE, WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, THE CONTACT HAD TO APPLY A SIGNIFICANT AMOUNT OF PRESSURE BEFORE STOPPING THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 11,010.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/5/2016 - HEATHSVILLE, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING AND THE AIR BAG AND ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL LIGHTS REMAINED ILLUMINATED. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START IMMEDIATELY WHEN PROMPTED. THE CONTACT HAD TO WAIT APPROXIMATELY TEN SECONDS BEFORE THE VEHICLE WOULD START. FURTHERMORE, WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, THE CONTACT HAD TO APPLY A SIGNIFICANT AMOUNT OF PRESSURE BEFORE STOPPING THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 11,010.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/5/2016 - HEATHSVILLE, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING AND THE AIR BAG AND ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL LIGHTS REMAINED ILLUMINATED. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START IMMEDIATELY WHEN PROMPTED. THE CONTACT HAD TO WAIT APPROXIMATELY TEN SECONDS BEFORE THE VEHICLE WOULD START. FURTHERMORE, WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, THE CONTACT HAD TO APPLY A SIGNIFICANT AMOUNT OF PRESSURE BEFORE STOPPING THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 11,010.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/3/2016 - ELGIN, SC
THE STABILITY TRACK CONTROL AND SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL MESSAGES HAVE BOTH HAPPENED TO ME NOW A FEW TIMES WHILE DRIVING DOWN CITY/COUNTRY ROADS AND DOWN THE HIGHWAY. THE FIRST TIME I HAD THE SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL WAS YESTERDAY. (8/02/2016) IT'S SCARY BECAUSE THE RADIO RESETS AND THE POWER STEERING GOES OUT. I HAVE A 9 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER AND SHE'S TERRIFIED AS WELL. I WISH THEY WOULD FIGURE THIS OUT ALREADY. I CALLED THE DEALER ONCE AND LIKE MOST PEOPLE WRITE ONLINE ABOUT THIS ISSUE THEY DIDN'T KNOW WHAT IT COULD BE AND THEY DIDN'T HAVE A CAR I COULD USE TO GO BACK AND FORTH TO WORK WHILE THEY CHECKED IT OUT SO I HAVEN'T TAKEN TO THE DEALER YET. THE ISSUE COMES AND GOES. IT COULD GO AWAY FOR MONTHS BUT ALWAYS COMES BACK. I KEEP CHECKING ONLINE TO SEE IF THEY FINALLY FOUND A FIX FOR THIS ISSUE AND I STILL HAVEN'T FOUND ANYTHING. SO I'M ASSUMING ONCE SOMEONE DIES IN A BAD ACCIDENT OR NUMEROUS PEOPLE DO THEN MAYBE THEY WILL TAKE IT MORE SERIOUSLY? I'M A SINGLE MOM AND I CAN'T AFFORD TO NOT HAVE A CAR OR HAVE A PROBLEM THAT I HAVE TO PAY LOTS OF $ TO FIX WHEN THIS OBVIOUSLY NEEDS TO BE A RECALL WHEN THIS MANY PEOPLE ARE HAVING THE ISSUE AND IT AFFECTS YOUR STEERING!?!?!?! HELP PLS?!?!?!

View Details

STEERING

8/3/2016 - ELGIN, SC
THE STABILITY TRACK CONTROL AND SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL MESSAGES HAVE BOTH HAPPENED TO ME NOW A FEW TIMES WHILE DRIVING DOWN CITY/COUNTRY ROADS AND DOWN THE HIGHWAY. THE FIRST TIME I HAD THE SERVICE TRACTION CONTROL WAS YESTERDAY. (8/02/2016) IT'S SCARY BECAUSE THE RADIO RESETS AND THE POWER STEERING GOES OUT. I HAVE A 9 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER AND SHE'S TERRIFIED AS WELL. I WISH THEY WOULD FIGURE THIS OUT ALREADY. I CALLED THE DEALER ONCE AND LIKE MOST PEOPLE WRITE ONLINE ABOUT THIS ISSUE THEY DIDN'T KNOW WHAT IT COULD BE AND THEY DIDN'T HAVE A CAR I COULD USE TO GO BACK AND FORTH TO WORK WHILE THEY CHECKED IT OUT SO I HAVEN'T TAKEN TO THE DEALER YET. THE ISSUE COMES AND GOES. IT COULD GO AWAY FOR MONTHS BUT ALWAYS COMES BACK. I KEEP CHECKING ONLINE TO SEE IF THEY FINALLY FOUND A FIX FOR THIS ISSUE AND I STILL HAVEN'T FOUND ANYTHING. SO I'M ASSUMING ONCE SOMEONE DIES IN A BAD ACCIDENT OR NUMEROUS PEOPLE DO THEN MAYBE THEY WILL TAKE IT MORE SERIOUSLY? I'M A SINGLE MOM AND I CAN'T AFFORD TO NOT HAVE A CAR OR HAVE A PROBLEM THAT I HAVE TO PAY LOTS OF $ TO FIX WHEN THIS OBVIOUSLY NEEDS TO BE A RECALL WHEN THIS MANY PEOPLE ARE HAVING THE ISSUE AND IT AFFECTS YOUR STEERING!?!?!?! HELP PLS?!?!?!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 69
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds