Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET CRUZE - 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 701 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (29) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (102) Steering (94) Unknown Or Other (55)
Electrical System (169) Exterior Lighting (13) Seat Belts (4) Structure (19) Vehicle Speed Control (42)
Electronic Stability Control (103) Fuel Propulsion System (32) Seats (3) Suspension (4) Visibility (7)
Engine (193) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (127) Tires (9) Visibility Wiper (31)
Engine And Engine Cooling (30) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (6)
Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 108
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/17/2019 - RIVERSIDE, CA
LOW PREASSURE ON TURBO, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT TURNS ON, AND LOW ENGINE PERFORMANCE

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/16/2019 - HUNTINGTON, WV
WHILE DRIVING MY 2012 CHEVY CRUZE, MY RADIO WILL SHUT OFF RANDOMLY FOR ABOUT 10 SECONDS, AND WHEN IT DOES, I LOSE COMPLETE CONTROL OF THE STEERING. IT IS LIKE THE CAR SHUTS OFF BUT WHEN THE RADIO TURNS BACK ON, THEN THE CAR WILL RESTORE POWER. VERY DANGEROUS AND SCARY!!! AND YET, THERE IS STILL NO RECALL FOR MY SPECIFIC VIN. ALSO, FOR TWO MORNINGS IN A ROW, I HAVE NOTICED A SMELL AND SOME SMOKE COMING FROM THE ENGINE. IT WILL ONLY DO IT FOR ABOUT 5 MINUTES AND THE CAR WILL NOT OVERHEAT. I SWEAR IT IS ONE THING AFTER ANOTHER WITH THIS CAR.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

7/16/2019 - HUNTINGTON, WV
WHILE DRIVING MY 2012 CHEVY CRUZE, MY RADIO WILL SHUT OFF RANDOMLY FOR ABOUT 10 SECONDS, AND WHEN IT DOES, I LOSE COMPLETE CONTROL OF THE STEERING. IT IS LIKE THE CAR SHUTS OFF BUT WHEN THE RADIO TURNS BACK ON, THEN THE CAR WILL RESTORE POWER. VERY DANGEROUS AND SCARY!!! AND YET, THERE IS STILL NO RECALL FOR MY SPECIFIC VIN. ALSO, FOR TWO MORNINGS IN A ROW, I HAVE NOTICED A SMELL AND SOME SMOKE COMING FROM THE ENGINE. IT WILL ONLY DO IT FOR ABOUT 5 MINUTES AND THE CAR WILL NOT OVERHEAT. I SWEAR IT IS ONE THING AFTER ANOTHER WITH THIS CAR.

View Details

ENGINE

7/16/2019 - HUNTINGTON, WV
WHILE DRIVING MY 2012 CHEVY CRUZE, MY RADIO WILL SHUT OFF RANDOMLY FOR ABOUT 10 SECONDS, AND WHEN IT DOES, I LOSE COMPLETE CONTROL OF THE STEERING. IT IS LIKE THE CAR SHUTS OFF BUT WHEN THE RADIO TURNS BACK ON, THEN THE CAR WILL RESTORE POWER. VERY DANGEROUS AND SCARY!!! AND YET, THERE IS STILL NO RECALL FOR MY SPECIFIC VIN. ALSO, FOR TWO MORNINGS IN A ROW, I HAVE NOTICED A SMELL AND SOME SMOKE COMING FROM THE ENGINE. IT WILL ONLY DO IT FOR ABOUT 5 MINUTES AND THE CAR WILL NOT OVERHEAT. I SWEAR IT IS ONE THING AFTER ANOTHER WITH THIS CAR.

View Details

ENGINE

7/15/2019 - IRVING, TX
ENGINE RECALL! THE ENGINE OFTEN MAKES SOUND THAT IS DIFFERENT THAN NORMAL. OVER 100,000 MILES, THE PROBLEM STARTS! WHEN NOT IN MOTION, ALTHOUGH THE ENGINE IS ON, THE VEHICLE ENGINE STOPS EVEN IN WAITING AT THE TRAFFIC LIGHT STOP.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/14/2019 - CHAMPAIGN, IL
CAR WILL NOT START. PUT KEY IN THE IGNITION AND IT WILL NOT TURN OVER. HAD MECHANIC COME AND CHECK OUT AND HE SAID THE IGNITION SWITCH IS NOT GETTING THE POWER IT SUPPOSED TO ONE CORE READS 12 VOLTS THE OTHER 6 AND THEY BOTH SUPPOSE TO READ 12 VOLTS TO TURN IT OVER.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

7/11/2019 - MACUNGIE, PA
BACKING OUT OF A PARKING SPOT IN A NON-REGULATED PRIVATELY OWNED PARKING AREA VISION IS IMPAIRED AND ANYONE MOVING IN ANY DIRECTION TOWARD YOU CANNOT BE SEEN OR NOTICED UNTIL IMPACT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/7/2019 - TEMPLE, GA
WHEN BACKING MY DAUGHTERS CAR OUT OF OUR DRIVEWAY, THE BRAKE PEDAL BECAME HARD AND THE CAR WOULD NOT STOP. THERE WAS A RECALL FOR HER CAR FOR THIS EXACT SAME ISSUE, BUT WHEN I PUT THE VIN NUMBER IN FOR HER CAR, IT WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. I AM AFRAID TO LET HER DRIVE THE CAR DUE TO THIS ISSUE.

View Details

ENGINE

7/2/2019 - MEMPHIS, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. WHILE DRIVING 10 MPH, THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE CONSUMED OIL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO CHUCK HUTTON CHEVROLET (LOCATED AT 2471 MT MORIAH RD, MEMPHIS, TN 38115, (901) 318-3703) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TURBO HEAD FAILED INTERNALLY AND WAS PUSHING EXHAUST FUEL INTO THE ENGINE CRANKCASE. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE TURBO HEAD NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND PROVIDED CASE NUMBER. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 83,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/2/2019 - MEMPHIS, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. WHILE DRIVING 10 MPH, THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE CONSUMED OIL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO CHUCK HUTTON CHEVROLET (LOCATED AT 2471 MT MORIAH RD, MEMPHIS, TN 38115, (901) 318-3703) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TURBO HEAD FAILED INTERNALLY AND WAS PUSHING EXHAUST FUEL INTO THE ENGINE CRANKCASE. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE TURBO HEAD NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND PROVIDED CASE NUMBER. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 83,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 108
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds