Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET CRUZE - 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 547 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (24) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (75) Steering (89) Unknown Or Other (35)
Electrical System (144) Exterior Lighting (10) Seat Belts (3) Structure (17) Vehicle Speed Control (34)
Electronic Stability Control (79) Fuel Propulsion System (19) Seats (2) Suspension (4) Visibility (7)
Engine (130) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (103) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (19)
Engine And Engine Cooling (29) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (6)
Equipment (3) Latches Locks Linkages (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 85
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

10/11/2017 - OZARK, MO
HIGH RESISTANCE IN DEPLOYMENT LOOP #8 DRIVERS SEAT SIDE AIRBAG REQUIRES: REPLACEMENT OF AIRBAG MODULE 1 AND ONLY OWNER OF THE VEHICLE. HAS NOT BEEN INVOLVED IN ANY ACCIDENT OR IMPACT WHICH MAY HAVE CAUSED AIRBAG DEPLOYMENT - YET MID-AUGUST MY "SERVICE AIRBAG" LIGHT CAME ON THE DASH. ON 8/23/17 I TOOK MY VEHICLE TO OUR LOCAL DEALER FOR THIS ISSUE (AND TO FIX, FOR THE SECOND TIME, A PRIOR RECALL OF THE POWER BRAKE VACUUM ASSEMBLY) AND WAS TOLD DIELECTRIC GREASE WAS PLACED ON THE AIRBAG CONNECTION AND THE AIRBAG LIGHT WENT OFF. WEEKS LATER THE "SERVICE AIRBAG" LIGHT CAME BACK ON. ON 9/25/17 THE CRUZE WAS TAKEN BY TO OUR LOCAL DEALER AT WHICH TIME WE WERE NOTIFIED THERE IS HIGH RESISTANCE IN DEPLOYMENT LOOP #8 DRIVERS SEAT SIDE AIRBAG AND IT WOULD REQUIRE REPLACEMENT OF THE AIRBAG. IN BOTH INSTANCES, THE SERVICE AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON AS TRAVELING STRAIGHT DOWN THE ROAD. AS MENTIONED ABOVE, MY VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN INVOLVED IN ANY ACCIDENT AND NOTHING HAS BEEN DONE WHICH WOULD HAVE CAUSED EITHER THE AIRBAGS TO DEPLOY OR THIS "SERVICE AIRBAG" LIGHT TO ENGAGE. AN AIRBAG WHICH SHOULD NOT REQUIRE ANY REPLACEMENT FOR THE LIFE OF THE VEHICLE, IS NOW NEEDING TO BE REPLACED AT NO FAULT OF MINE. THIS IS CLEARLY A MANUFACTURER DEFECT AS THERE IS NOTHING WHICH I COULD OR HAVE DONE TO CAUSE THIS TO REQUIRE REPLACEMENT. YET, CHEVROLET HAS INDICATED THAT SINCE THERE IS NOT A RECALL ON THIS ITEM YET AND IT IS NOT COVERED UNDER SPECIAL COVERAGES THEY CANNOT COVER THIS. WHEN YOU PURCHASE A VEHICLE BRAND NEW AND ARE THE ONLY ONE TO OWN IT (CURRENT MILEAGE OF 55,000) AN AIRBAG SHOULD NOT WARRANT REPLACEMENT. THERE IS NO CIRCUMSTANCE IN WHICH I SHOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR THE MANUFACTURERS DEFECTIVE AIRBAG. A RECALL NEEDS TO BE ESTABLISHED FOR THIS AS THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE WHICH NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED IMMEDIATELY. COST TO REPLACE AIRBAG - $1,230.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/4/2017 - MILFORD, OH
HOW MANY COMPLAINTS HAVE BEEN MADE AS THE TRANSMISSION CAN SEEM LAGGY AN UNRESPONSIVE AT TIMES IN THESE VEHICLES. I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE AT 42000 MILES AND AT 70,000 MILES THE TRANSMISSION HAS WENT OUT. WHILE GOING DOWN THE ROAD THE TRANSMISSION LAGS AS IN IT DOESN'T HAVE ENOUGH FLUID OR IT IS SLAMMING INTO GEAR. OH GOING DOWN THE ROAD AND SWITCHING GEARS YOU HEAR CLUNK AND IT JERKS YOU BACK IN YOUR SEAT. THE SHIFTER INDICATOR ON THE DASH WHEN PUT INTO DRIVE WILL NOT APPEAR ALL THE TIME CAUSING ENGINE TO MISFIRE TURNING OFF TRACTION CONTROL AND STABILITY CAUSING THE CAR TO GO INTO LIMP MODE WHEN STARTING THE CAR FROM THE STATIONARY POSITION. AS OF YESTERDAY WHEN SHIFTING INTO GEAR THE TRANSMISSION WENT COMPLETELY OUT. CAR WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALERSHIP TOLD IT WAS OUT OF WARRANTY AND WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR THE REPAIRS. CAR WAS ACTUALLY PRODUCED IN 2011 THE YEAR THAT CHEVY DID HAVE RECALL ON THE CHEVROLET CRUZES FOR TRANSMISSION ISSUES. CAR WAS BOUGHT NOVEMBER 2011 BY PREVIOUS OWNER.

View Details

ENGINE

9/27/2017 - NOVATO, CA
LACK OF POWER, COOLANT LEAKS, THE COOLING SYSTEM HAS A NUMBER OF PLASTIC PARTS. THE THERMOSTAT HOUSING AND A JUNCTION PIECE ARE MADE OF PLASTIC. AFTER CONSTANT HEAT AND COLD THEY CRACK. I HAD TO HAVE BOTH OF THESE PARTS REPLACED AT BELOW 40000 MILES AT A COST OF MORE THAN $800 DOLLARS. THESE PARTS WERE MADE TO FAIL. AS FOR POWER WITH A TURBO IT LACKS POWER. I HAVE CHANGED THE SPARK PLUGS AND THE COIL PACK. STILL LACES POWER.

View Details

ENGINE

9/26/2017 - ATOKA, TN
OVER HEATING. 3 TIMES IN 3 YEARS. I HAVE HAD TO HAVE WATER PUMP REPLACED AND THERMOMETER. MECHANIC HAS TOLD ME HE DOESN'T UNDERSTAND THIS ISSUE. CAR DOESN'T COOL DOWN IN IDLE. DIRECTED ME TO DEALERSHIP. 1 ST TIME OCCURRED I TOOK IT TO CLOSED SHOP. DEALERSHIP SAID IT'S NOT COVERED CAUSE THEY DIDN'T DO THE WORK. IT WASN'T LIKE I COULD GET IT TO THEM THE CAR WAS SHUTTING DOWN. NEXT TIME I GOT IT BACK TO SAME MECHANIC AS IT WAS STILL WARRANTY. THIS TIME THEY REPLACED SAME ITEMS NO CHARGE SAID TAKE IT TO DEALER THEY DON'T KNOW WHAT CAUSE IS. I KNOW OF OTHER PEOPLE THAT HAD A CHEVY CRUZ WITH SAME ISSUES AND THEY TRADED IT IN. THIS HAS BEEN A TERRIBLE CAR. THESE KIND OF PROBLEMS OCCURRED IN THE 80S NOT THE 2000S

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/25/2017 - OZARK, MO
SAME ISSUE AS NHTSA ID NUMBER: 11024806 I RECEIVED RECALL #12213 IN OCTOBER 2013 REGARDING BRAKE VACUUM MICRO SWITCH. VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO LOCAL DEALERSHIP IN DECEMBER 2013 FOR REPAIR. ON 8/23/17 HAD TO TAKE BACK TO THE DEALER TO HAVE THIS SAME PART REPLACED. DEALER INDICATED THAT SINCE THIS HAD ALREADY BEEN REPAIRED AS PART OF THE REPLACEMENT, WOULD NOT BE COVERED. AS A RESULT, HAD TO PAY $330 OUT OF POCKET TO REPLACE THIS PART WHICH WAS A PREVIOUSLY KNOWN DEFECT THAT HAD YET AGAIN FAILED.

View Details

STEERING

9/22/2017 - MANHATTAN, KS
WHILE BREAKING, USING THE BLINKER, TURNING, OR JUST DRIVING THE CAR WILL LOOSE POWER, SLOW THE CAR DOWN, THE RADIO LOOSES POWER, AND MY SERVICE STABLITKY TRACK, SERVICE POWER STEERING, ALONG WITH TRACTION CONTROL, ANTI-BREAKING LIGHTS, AND A FEW OTHER LIGHT WILL ALL COME BACK ON. IT WILL DO THIS RANDOMLY WHILE DRIVING, IT SEEMS TO DO IT MORE FREQUENTLY WHEN COMING TO A STOP OR ACCELERATING. I HAD THIS SERVICED BACK IN FEBRUARY OF 2017 AND THE DEALERSHIP TOLD ME I HAD ACID FROM MY BATTERY LEAKING INTO THE POSITIVE CABLE, SO I HAD ALL THE BATTERY AND BATTERY WIRES REPLACED. THIS TOOK CARE OF THE PROBLEM UNTIL A FEW WEEKS AGO. THIS IS HAPPENING MORE AND MORE OFTEN AND THE PROBLEM IS BECOMING WORSE. THIS IS A PERSISTENT PROBLEM WITH THE CHEVY CRUZES FROM THE RESEARCH I HAVE DONE AND CHEVY SEEMS TO BE DOING NOTHING ABOUT IT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/22/2017 - MANHATTAN, KS
WHILE BREAKING, USING THE BLINKER, TURNING, OR JUST DRIVING THE CAR WILL LOOSE POWER, SLOW THE CAR DOWN, THE RADIO LOOSES POWER, AND MY SERVICE STABLITKY TRACK, SERVICE POWER STEERING, ALONG WITH TRACTION CONTROL, ANTI-BREAKING LIGHTS, AND A FEW OTHER LIGHT WILL ALL COME BACK ON. IT WILL DO THIS RANDOMLY WHILE DRIVING, IT SEEMS TO DO IT MORE FREQUENTLY WHEN COMING TO A STOP OR ACCELERATING. I HAD THIS SERVICED BACK IN FEBRUARY OF 2017 AND THE DEALERSHIP TOLD ME I HAD ACID FROM MY BATTERY LEAKING INTO THE POSITIVE CABLE, SO I HAD ALL THE BATTERY AND BATTERY WIRES REPLACED. THIS TOOK CARE OF THE PROBLEM UNTIL A FEW WEEKS AGO. THIS IS HAPPENING MORE AND MORE OFTEN AND THE PROBLEM IS BECOMING WORSE. THIS IS A PERSISTENT PROBLEM WITH THE CHEVY CRUZES FROM THE RESEARCH I HAVE DONE AND CHEVY SEEMS TO BE DOING NOTHING ABOUT IT.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

9/22/2017 - MANHATTAN, KS
WHILE BREAKING, USING THE BLINKER, TURNING, OR JUST DRIVING THE CAR WILL LOOSE POWER, SLOW THE CAR DOWN, THE RADIO LOOSES POWER, AND MY SERVICE STABLITKY TRACK, SERVICE POWER STEERING, ALONG WITH TRACTION CONTROL, ANTI-BREAKING LIGHTS, AND A FEW OTHER LIGHT WILL ALL COME BACK ON. IT WILL DO THIS RANDOMLY WHILE DRIVING, IT SEEMS TO DO IT MORE FREQUENTLY WHEN COMING TO A STOP OR ACCELERATING. I HAD THIS SERVICED BACK IN FEBRUARY OF 2017 AND THE DEALERSHIP TOLD ME I HAD ACID FROM MY BATTERY LEAKING INTO THE POSITIVE CABLE, SO I HAD ALL THE BATTERY AND BATTERY WIRES REPLACED. THIS TOOK CARE OF THE PROBLEM UNTIL A FEW WEEKS AGO. THIS IS HAPPENING MORE AND MORE OFTEN AND THE PROBLEM IS BECOMING WORSE. THIS IS A PERSISTENT PROBLEM WITH THE CHEVY CRUZES FROM THE RESEARCH I HAVE DONE AND CHEVY SEEMS TO BE DOING NOTHING ABOUT IT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/21/2017 - DALLAS, GA
THIS COMPLAINT IS IN REGARDS TO GENERAL MOTORS PARTICULARLY THE CHEVROLET DIVISION NOT RESPONDING TO ONGOING BRAKE PROBLEM NOTED IN THEIR RECALL NOTIFICATIONS. I RECEIVED RECALL #12213 IN OCTOBER 2013 REGARDING BRAKE VACUUM MICRO SWITCH. VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO LOCAL DEALERSHIP IN DECEMBER 2013 FOR REPAIR. IT IS 3 YEARS 9 MONTHS AND THE SAME COMPONENT HAS FAILED AGAIN ACCORDING TO MY LOCAL DEALERSHIP AND CLAIMS IT IS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY OR RECALL SINCE IT WAS REPLACED ONCE ALREADY. I SHOWED THEM A SUBSEQUENT RECALL NOTICE # 12213A DATED JUNE 2015 WITH THE SAME PART AT ISSUE. THEY CLAIM THAT THE RECALL I PRESENTED WAS NOT ASSIGNED TO MY VEHICLE BECAUSE OF THE VIN NUMBER. NO WHERE IN THE DOCUMENT DATED JUNE 2015 DOES IT STATE THAT THIS RECALL IS ONLY FOR CERTAIN VIN NUMBERS. IN FACT IT CLEARLY IDENTIFIES 2011-2012 CHEVROLET CRUZE AS THE PROBLEM YEAR VEHICLE WHICH I OWN. IF RECALL NOTICES ARE VIN NUMBER SPECIFIC THEN IT SHOULD BE STATED SOME WHERE ON THE RECALL NOTICE THAT THESE RECALLS ARE VIN NUMBER SPECIFIC. AS A CONSUMER WHEN WE LOOK THIS INFORMATION UP AND IT CLEARLY IDENTIFIES THE YEAR MAKE AND MODEL OF THE VEHICLE I OWN IT SHOULD BE SAFE TO ASSUME THAT THE RECALL APPLIES. YOUR ASSISTANCE AND CLARIFICATION IN THIS MATER WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED.

View Details

ENGINE

9/15/2017 - MELBOURNE, FL
ECO 1.4L MODEL. ENGINE SUDDENLY BEGAN TO RUN ROUGH, MOST NOTICEABLE AT IDLE. SHORT TIME LATER CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND STAYED ON. AFTER TURNING CAR OFF COOLING FAN STAYED ON SEVERAL MINUTES, WHICH IT HAD NEVER DONE BEFORE. DEALER REPLACED VALVE COVER, AND INTAKE MANIFOLD FOR $1100, OUT OF WARRANTY. ONLY 36,200 MILES. FAILURE OF A NON-MOVING PART AT SUCH LOW MILEAGE IS CLEARLY A DEFECT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 85
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds