Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SONIC - 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 63 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (5) Unknown Or Other (3)
Electrical System (14) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (17) Structure (3) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Exterior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (3) Suspension (10) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (17) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (1) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/13/2014 - CASA GRANDE , AZ
THE BATTERY GO'S DEAD WHEN NOT STARTED FOR MORE THEN2 DAYS

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/9/2014 - KEYPORT, NJ
THE SHIFTER MECHANISM GETS STUCK & THE CAR CANNOT BE PUT INTO DRIVE. THIS HAPPENS MANY TIMES-ESPECIALLY DURING THE COLDER MONTHS, WHEN THE CAR CANNOT BE SHIFTED INTO DRIVE & I AM LEFT STRANDED IN EXTREMELY COLD WEATHER. ADDITIONALLY, GM REFUSES TO ADMIT THE SHIFTER IS DEFECTIVE & REFUSES TO BUY THE CAR BACK, AS I AM JUST A STUDENT IN COLLEGE WORKING A PART-TIME JOB. I BOUGHT THIS CAR BECAUSE I NEEDED A DEPENDABLE CAR TO GET ME BACK & FOURTH TO COLLEGE & MY PART-TIME JOB...BECAUSE OF THE CARS DEFECTS, I AM OFTEN LATE FOR SCHOOL & OR WORK. PLUS, MY SISTER ALSO HAS A CHEVY 2006 AVEO SHE WAS GIVEN, BUT THIS CAR ALSO HAS THE VERY SAME ISSUE'S WITH THE SHIFTER...THEREFORE, WHEN GM CEO MARY BARRA TESTIFIES BEFORE CONGRESS AND TELLS CONGRESS THAT GM IS NOT HIDING OR COVERING-UP ANY ADDITIONAL CAR PROBLEMS...SHE IS A LIAR & I AM STUCK WITH THIS PRETTY MUCH USELESS CAR, THAT GM HAS MY MONEY & I DON'T HAVE A DEPENDABLE CAR & I/WE ARE WILLING TO OFFER BOTH CARS SO THAT AN INDEPENDENT EXPERT MECHANIC CAN EVALUATE BOTH CARS TO PROVE THAT GM INDEED KNEW ABOUT THESE SHIFTER MECHANISM DEFECTS GOING BACK TO AT LEAST 2006 AVEO MODEL, BUT CONTINUED TO SELL THESE TIME-BOMBS TO THE YOUNG ADULTS OF THIS COUNTRY, WHO ARE SCRAPPING BY TO MAKE ENDS-MEAT & TRY TO GET AN EDUCATION...THEN WE BUY A CAR FROM AN ARROGANT, RUTHLESS, EVIL, LYING COMPANY & WE HAVE NOWHERE TO TURN...I TIRED AN NJ LEMON LAW ATTORNEY, BUT I DETERMINED THAT HE WAS ACTUALLY I BED WITH GM & THE OTHER GM ATTORNEY. I WANT GM TO TAKE THIS CAR BACK, AS I WOULDN'T SELL IT TO MY WORST ENEMY, AS THAT IS NOT THE RIGHT THING TO DO. I WANT GM TO STEP-UP TO THE PLATE & REFUND ALL MY MONEY SO THAT I CAN GO OUT & BUY A DEPENDABLE CAR FROM A REPUTABLE CAR COMPANY. MY DAD, MICHAEL LARKO, IS ALSO HELPING ME WITH THIS MESS.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/6/2014 - WIMAUMA, FL
THE CAR HAS A POPPING NOISE WHEN BACKING OVER A CURB OR TURNING SLOWLY. FERMAN DEALERSHIP IN BRANDON, FL. COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG. 2012 SONICS HAVE HAD MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE POPPING NOISE UNDER CAR. SEEMS TO BE A SUSPENSION PROBLEM. DEALER SAID THEY HAVE NOT HEARD ANY COMPLAINTS. THEY ARE NOT TELLING THE TRUTH.

View Details

ENGINE

6/12/2014 - SPRING VALLEY, NY
2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO RECALLS AND VEHICLE REPAIRS ISSUES. THE CONSUMER STATED THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE KNOCK SENSOR AND LOWER TRANSMISSION MOUNT WERE REPLACED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/12/2014 - SPRING VALLEY, NY
2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO RECALLS AND VEHICLE REPAIRS ISSUES. THE CONSUMER STATED THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE KNOCK SENSOR AND LOWER TRANSMISSION MOUNT WERE REPLACED.

View Details

ENGINE

6/7/2014 - BALTIMORE, MD
FOR ABOUT A MONTH NOW EVERYTIME I GO TO PARK MY CAR MY SHIFTER GET STUCK AND I AM UNABLE TO PUT MY CAR IN PARK OR TAKE THE KEY OUT. I WENT TO THE DEALER SHIP AND I WAS TOLD I COULD SPEND $150 TO GET IT LOOKED AT & THEN SPEND HOW EVERY MUCH MONEY IT WOULD BE TO FIX IT. I DONT HAVE THAT KIND OF MONEY FOR THAT AT THE MOMENT BUT NOW ITS TO THE POINT WHERE I CANT EVEN DRIVE MY CAR AT ALL BECAUSE THE SHIFTER ALWAYS GETS STUCK AND I CANT GET MY KEY OUT TO PARK OR PUT IT IN PARK DRIVE REVERSE ETC...... ! ! ! I HAVE SEEN THAT A COUPLE PEOPLE ARE HAVING THIS PROBLEM SO ITS NOT JUST MY CAR. BUT SINCE IT GETS SUCK I CAN BE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD AND HIT THE SHIFTER BY ACCIDENT AND IT WILL MOVE THE CAR INTO ANOTHER POSITION BECAUSE IT DOSNT CLICK WITCH MEANS I CAN GO FROM DRIVING TO IT BEING THROWN INTO PARK OR REVERSE IN SECONDS. THATS GOING TO CAUSE A ACCIDENT! I NEED THIS FIXED I DRIVE WITH KIDS IN MY CAR ON A DAILY BASIS .......... THEIR IS SOMETHING WRONG IN THE SHIFTER

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/7/2014 - BALTIMORE, MD
FOR ABOUT A MONTH NOW EVERYTIME I GO TO PARK MY CAR MY SHIFTER GET STUCK AND I AM UNABLE TO PUT MY CAR IN PARK OR TAKE THE KEY OUT. I WENT TO THE DEALER SHIP AND I WAS TOLD I COULD SPEND $150 TO GET IT LOOKED AT & THEN SPEND HOW EVERY MUCH MONEY IT WOULD BE TO FIX IT. I DONT HAVE THAT KIND OF MONEY FOR THAT AT THE MOMENT BUT NOW ITS TO THE POINT WHERE I CANT EVEN DRIVE MY CAR AT ALL BECAUSE THE SHIFTER ALWAYS GETS STUCK AND I CANT GET MY KEY OUT TO PARK OR PUT IT IN PARK DRIVE REVERSE ETC...... ! ! ! I HAVE SEEN THAT A COUPLE PEOPLE ARE HAVING THIS PROBLEM SO ITS NOT JUST MY CAR. BUT SINCE IT GETS SUCK I CAN BE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD AND HIT THE SHIFTER BY ACCIDENT AND IT WILL MOVE THE CAR INTO ANOTHER POSITION BECAUSE IT DOSNT CLICK WITCH MEANS I CAN GO FROM DRIVING TO IT BEING THROWN INTO PARK OR REVERSE IN SECONDS. THATS GOING TO CAUSE A ACCIDENT! I NEED THIS FIXED I DRIVE WITH KIDS IN MY CAR ON A DAILY BASIS .......... THEIR IS SOMETHING WRONG IN THE SHIFTER

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/5/2014 - LOS ANGELES, CA
A BAD SMELL LIKE ROTTEN EGGS, KEEPS COMING OUT OF THE AC/C VENTS AND THE ENGINE OF THE CAR. I CHANGED THE AIR FILTER AND EVERYTHING BUT NOTHING HAPPEN THE SMELL DOES NOT GO AWAY.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/5/2014 - LOS ANGELES, CA
A BAD SMELL LIKE ROTTEN EGGS, KEEPS COMING OUT OF THE AC/C VENTS AND THE ENGINE OF THE CAR. I CHANGED THE AIR FILTER AND EVERYTHING BUT NOTHING HAPPEN THE SMELL DOES NOT GO AWAY.

View Details

ENGINE

6/5/2014 - LOS ANGELES, CA
A BAD SMELL LIKE ROTTEN EGGS, KEEPS COMING OUT OF THE AC/C VENTS AND THE ENGINE OF THE CAR. I CHANGED THE AIR FILTER AND EVERYTHING BUT NOTHING HAPPEN THE SMELL DOES NOT GO AWAY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds