Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SONIC - 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 171 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (17) Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (11) Unknown Or Other (14)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (66) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (31) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (1) Suspension (15) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Service Brakes (8) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (39) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

1/29/2016 - GREENEVILLE, TN
I WAS DRIVING MY 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC COMMUTING MY GRANDCHILD TO PRE-K,PULLING OUT FROM STOP SIGN ONTO STRAIGHTAWAY STREET CROSSING IN FRONT OF DISTANT ONCOMING TRAFFIC,AND MY CAR STALLED,VERY SCARY AS COULD HAVE BEEN VERY BAD WRECK WITH MY GRANDCHILD BEING HURT AS MYSELF! FORTUNATELY I LET COAST TO SIDE OF STREET AS I WAS ONLY GOING 10 MILES OR LESS AN HOUR WHEN IT SHUT OFF! IT WOULDN'T START RIGHT OFF! IT FINALLY STARTED AFTER A FEW SECONDS,MAYBE 5 OR MORE WENT BY! THIS IS VERY DISTURBING AS IT RISKS MY LIFE ,PLUS ANOTHER ALSO,AS HE IS ONLY 4 YEARS OLD! I NEED TO KNOW IF CAR IS EVEN SAFE TO KEEP DRIVING!

View Details

ENGINE

1/25/2016 - ARANSAS PASS, TX
MY MOM PURCHASED HER VEHICLE AND FOR THIS LAST YEAR IT HAS BEEN NOTHING BUT ISSUES. SHE TOOK IT AND HAD IT REPAIRED BECAUSE THE OIL LIGHT KEPT COMING ON AND THE GEAR SHIFT STICKING AND THE TRANSMISSION. SHE TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP THEY CHARGED HER 400$. THIS IS THE SECOND TIME. AUTOPLEX IN ARANSAS PASS TEXAS. AS WELL AS CHARGING HER FOR A BATTERY THAT WAS UNDER WARRANTY. THE CAR IS NOW UNDRIVEABLE AS IT WONT SHIFT AT ALL. WE AGAIN TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP. THEY ARE NOT VERY THOROUGHLY FIXING IT. MY MOTHER IS 74 AND IS ON A FIXED INCOME. THE FINANCIAL REPAIRS ARE RIDICULOUS AS WELL AS THE SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/20/2016 - BLAINE, MN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. WHILE DRIVING 5 MPH, THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE STABILIZER SHAFT LINK JOINT WAS LOSE AT THE BAR. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN REPLACED THE STABILIZER SHAFT LINK THREE TIMES. THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 22,272.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

1/12/2016 - NORTH EAST, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SEAT BELT LATCH THAT ATTACHES THE SEAT BELT TO THE VEHICLE SEAT FRACTURED ON THE DRIVER SIDE AND BECAME DETACHED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE SEAT BELT EXPERIENCED THE SAME FRACTURE. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE SEAT BELT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD BE REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 145,573.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/8/2016 - SIOUX FALLS, SD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BRAKE PEDAL STUCK TO THE FLOOR BOARD, WHILE ATTEMPTING TO SLOW DOWN AND DRIVING AT 65 MPH. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO A GUARD RAIL. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND THERE WERE NO INJURIES REPORTED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 35,500.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/28/2015 - CASPER, WY
WHILE DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEED ON A TWO LANE ROAD AT NIGHT, APPLIED BRAKES TO AVOID ANIMAL IN ROAD. CONDITIONS WERE CLEAR AND ROAD WAS DRY. THERE WAS PLENTY OF TIME TO SLOW TO AVOID ANIMAL SO THIS WAS NOT A PANIC STOP. UPON APPLICATION OF BRAKES, HEADLIGHTS WENT OUT. DASH LIGHTS STAYED ON MAKING IT IMPOSSIBLE TO SEE OUT OF THE VEHICLE. APPLIED BRAKES WITH MORE URGENCY AND ALL FOUR WHEELS LOCKED. VEHICLE SKIDDED STRAIGHT UNTIL THE RIGHT TIRES MADE CONTACT WITH THE RIGHT SHOULDER. THE CAR THEN SPUN COUNTER CLOCKWISE BACK ONTO THE ROADWAY, ACROSS BOTH LANES, AND CAME TO REST ON THE SHOULDER OF THE ONCOMING LANE (APPROXIMATELY ONE AND ONE-HALF REVOLUTIONS). SKID MARKS ON HIGHWAY CONFIRMED THE WHEEL LOCK AND THE SPIN. CAR WAS SHUT OFF AND RE-STARTED AND ALL SYSTEMS WORKED FINE. UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

12/28/2015 - CASPER, WY
WHILE DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEED ON A TWO LANE ROAD AT NIGHT, APPLIED BRAKES TO AVOID ANIMAL IN ROAD. CONDITIONS WERE CLEAR AND ROAD WAS DRY. THERE WAS PLENTY OF TIME TO SLOW TO AVOID ANIMAL SO THIS WAS NOT A PANIC STOP. UPON APPLICATION OF BRAKES, HEADLIGHTS WENT OUT. DASH LIGHTS STAYED ON MAKING IT IMPOSSIBLE TO SEE OUT OF THE VEHICLE. APPLIED BRAKES WITH MORE URGENCY AND ALL FOUR WHEELS LOCKED. VEHICLE SKIDDED STRAIGHT UNTIL THE RIGHT TIRES MADE CONTACT WITH THE RIGHT SHOULDER. THE CAR THEN SPUN COUNTER CLOCKWISE BACK ONTO THE ROADWAY, ACROSS BOTH LANES, AND CAME TO REST ON THE SHOULDER OF THE ONCOMING LANE (APPROXIMATELY ONE AND ONE-HALF REVOLUTIONS). SKID MARKS ON HIGHWAY CONFIRMED THE WHEEL LOCK AND THE SPIN. CAR WAS SHUT OFF AND RE-STARTED AND ALL SYSTEMS WORKED FINE. UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/28/2015 - CASPER, WY
WHILE DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEED ON A TWO LANE ROAD AT NIGHT, APPLIED BRAKES TO AVOID ANIMAL IN ROAD. CONDITIONS WERE CLEAR AND ROAD WAS DRY. THERE WAS PLENTY OF TIME TO SLOW TO AVOID ANIMAL SO THIS WAS NOT A PANIC STOP. UPON APPLICATION OF BRAKES, HEADLIGHTS WENT OUT. DASH LIGHTS STAYED ON MAKING IT IMPOSSIBLE TO SEE OUT OF THE VEHICLE. APPLIED BRAKES WITH MORE URGENCY AND ALL FOUR WHEELS LOCKED. VEHICLE SKIDDED STRAIGHT UNTIL THE RIGHT TIRES MADE CONTACT WITH THE RIGHT SHOULDER. THE CAR THEN SPUN COUNTER CLOCKWISE BACK ONTO THE ROADWAY, ACROSS BOTH LANES, AND CAME TO REST ON THE SHOULDER OF THE ONCOMING LANE (APPROXIMATELY ONE AND ONE-HALF REVOLUTIONS). SKID MARKS ON HIGHWAY CONFIRMED THE WHEEL LOCK AND THE SPIN. CAR WAS SHUT OFF AND RE-STARTED AND ALL SYSTEMS WORKED FINE. UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/28/2015 - FREMONT, NH
THIS VEHICLE HAS HAD "UNDIAGNOSABLE" PROBLEMS AINCE IT HIT 1200 MILES. I HAVE MADE 57 VISITS TO CHEVY DEALERSHIPS FOR ATTEMPTED DIAGNOSTICS AND REPAIRS. THE CAR HAS LURCHED FORWARD OF ITS OWN ACCORD, MY BRAKES HAVE FAILED TO ENGAGE ON A SINGLE OCCASION, THE CAR HAS INTERMITTENTLY SHUT OFF DURING IDLE, THE CAR HAS ALSO HAD ISSUES WITH SHIFTING FOR THE LAST 2 YEARS. A 3 YEAR BATTLE HAS YEILDED NO ANSWERS OR IMPROVEMENT; I WAS UNABLE TO UTILIZE THE LEMON LAW BECAUSE THE ISSUES COULDN'T BE DIAGNOSED. FINALLY THE CAR IS SHOWING CODES FOR WHAT I BELIEVE IS THE TRANSMISSION BASED ON HOW POORLY THE CAR IS RUNNING. I CAN PROVIDE INFORMATION FOR THE DEALERSHIPS I HAVE WORKED WITH; THEY HAVE ALL THE DOCUMENTATION FOR THE OBSCENE NUMBER OF VISITS I'VE MADE WITH THIS CAR.

View Details

ENGINE

12/27/2015 - PHARR, TX
I BOUGHT THIS VEHICLE BRAND NEW. PAINT STARTED TO LOOSE SHINE ABOUT TWO MONTHS AGO ( I PERSONALLY WASH THE VEHICLE WITH PROPERLY CARS WASH SOUP). TOOK TO DEALERSHIP AND THEY CAN'T COVER UNDER MANUFACTURE WARRANTY. COST OVER $400.00. CHECK ENGINE ON. TOOK TO DEALERSHIP AND THEY FOUND TWO HOSES DAMAGED AND THERMOSTAT LEAKING.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds