Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SONIC - 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 99 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (35) Suspension (12) Visibility (4)
Electrical System (19) Exterior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (6) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (2)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (10) Wheels (2)
Engine (22) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Steering (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/18/2014 - PORTLAND , TN
MY CAR WAS LOSING SPEED EVEN UPON PRESSING THE GAS, IN THE MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC THE RPM'S WENT ALL THE WAY TO 7 AND THEN I LET OFF THE GAS AND THEY WENT ALL THE WAY DOWN. THEN IT FINALLY STARTED REGAIN SPEED.NOW THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS ON AND THE CODE WAS PERTAINING TO THE FUEL SYSTEM , I AM VERY FURIOUS DUE TO THE FACT THAT ME AND MY CHILDREN RIDE IN THIS CAR DAILY AND THIS HAPPENED I UNDERSTAND PEOPLE MAKE MISTAKES BUT I WOULD GREATLY APPRECIATE A CALL IN THIS MATTER BECAUSE I HAVE CALLED THE TOLL FREE NUMBER TWICE AND THEY ARE GIVING ME NO INFORMATION AS FAR AS WHO I CAN REACH OUT TO GET THIS FIXED BEFORE THERE IS SOMETHING BAD TO HAPPEN. I DON'T PAY FOR SOMETHING TO PUT MINE AND MY CHILDREN'S LIFE IN DANGER. WEATHER OR NOT THIS IS A RECALL IT NEEDS TO BE FIXED BY THE PEOPLE WHO MADE IT . THANKS MARY & HARVEY LAMB

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/18/2014 - PORTLAND , TN
MY CAR WAS LOSING SPEED EVEN UPON PRESSING THE GAS, IN THE MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC THE RPM'S WENT ALL THE WAY TO 7 AND THEN I LET OFF THE GAS AND THEY WENT ALL THE WAY DOWN. THEN IT FINALLY STARTED REGAIN SPEED.NOW THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS ON AND THE CODE WAS PERTAINING TO THE FUEL SYSTEM , I AM VERY FURIOUS DUE TO THE FACT THAT ME AND MY CHILDREN RIDE IN THIS CAR DAILY AND THIS HAPPENED I UNDERSTAND PEOPLE MAKE MISTAKES BUT I WOULD GREATLY APPRECIATE A CALL IN THIS MATTER BECAUSE I HAVE CALLED THE TOLL FREE NUMBER TWICE AND THEY ARE GIVING ME NO INFORMATION AS FAR AS WHO I CAN REACH OUT TO GET THIS FIXED BEFORE THERE IS SOMETHING BAD TO HAPPEN. I DON'T PAY FOR SOMETHING TO PUT MINE AND MY CHILDREN'S LIFE IN DANGER. WEATHER OR NOT THIS IS A RECALL IT NEEDS TO BE FIXED BY THE PEOPLE WHO MADE IT . THANKS MARY & HARVEY LAMB

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/17/2014 - NOMAD , UT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BUTTON ON THE GEAR SHIFTER SEIZED. AS A RESULT, THE SHIFT LEVER BECAME LODGED IN ONE GEAR. THE FAILURE RECURRED DAILY AND NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENTIRE GEAR SHIFTER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/10/2014 - CINCINNATI, OH
WHEN PRESSING ON THE BRAKE THE BRAKE FRONT PADS DON'T CATCH ALL THE WAY SOME TIMES EVEN THE ROADS ARE DRY. IT IS ESPECIALLY NOTICEABLE IF I'M DRIVING OVER A BUMPY ROAD AND APPLY THE BRAKES YOU CAN FEEL THE SKIPPING OF THE BRAKES NOT CATCHING. HAD BRAKES INSPECTED THEY ARE IN GOOD CONDITION WITH LIFE STILL ON THEM. THE DEALERSHIP CHECKED THE BRAKES THEY SAID NOTHING IS WRONG. I MADE A COMPLAIN TO THE DEALERSHIP ABOUT THE UNSAFENESS I FEEL DRIVING. I ONLY DRIVE ON THE STREET TO WORK AND HOME. I STILL HAVE THE SKIPPING IN THE BRAKING. I'M ALWAYS CHECKING TO SEE IF THERE IS A RECAL OF SOMEKIND ON THIS CAR PART.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/7/2014 - GREENWOOD, IN
BUTTON ON SHIFTER KNOB THAT ALLOWS CAR TO BE PUT INTO GEAR GETS STUCK AND EVENTUALLY BREAKS. THIS ALLOWS THE CAR TO ACCIDENTALLY BE PUT INTO GEAR. THIS PROBLEM ALSO DOES NOT ALLOW YOU TO REMOVE YOUR KEY FROM THE IGNITION, FORCING YOU TO LEAVE YOUR KEY IN THE IGNITION IF YOU WANT TO LEAVE THE VEHICLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/7/2014 - GREENWOOD, IN
BUTTON ON SHIFTER KNOB THAT ALLOWS CAR TO BE PUT INTO GEAR GETS STUCK AND EVENTUALLY BREAKS. THIS ALLOWS THE CAR TO ACCIDENTALLY BE PUT INTO GEAR. THIS PROBLEM ALSO DOES NOT ALLOW YOU TO REMOVE YOUR KEY FROM THE IGNITION, FORCING YOU TO LEAVE YOUR KEY IN THE IGNITION IF YOU WANT TO LEAVE THE VEHICLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/28/2014 - INDEPENDENCE , KY
I WAS DRIVING WITH TRAFFIC AT CORRECT SPEED DOWN MAIN ROAD. WHEN SUDDENLY A LADY THAT DID NOT HAVE THE RIGHT AWAY PULLED OUT INTO ON COMING TRAFFIC. SHE HIT THE SIDE OF MY CAR ON THE PASSENGER SIDE IN THE AREA OF MY FRONT WHEEL. THE IMPACT WAS SO HARD THAT MY CAR WAS PUSHED ACROSS TURNING LANE IN MIDDLE, ACROSS A LANE OF ONCOMING TRAFFIC AND PART OF CAR WAS IN THE EMERGENCY LANE WHEN IT FINALLY CAME TO A STOP. SINCE SHE WAS TURNING THE OPPOSITE DIRECTION OF TRAFFIC ON HER SIDE OF THE STREET WHEN SHE STRUCK ME HER SVC WENT FROM MY FRONT WHEEL DOWN ALMOST THE ENTIRE LENGTH OF MY CAR. MY CONCERN THAT DURING THIS ENTIRE ACCIDENT AND MY 2012 BEING TOTALED OVER $12,000 WORTH OF DAMAGE AND I WAS HURT, NOT ONE SINGLE AIRBAG OUT OF THE 10 IN MY 2012 SONIC DEPLOYED.

View Details

ENGINE

10/19/2014 - DALLAS, TX
BEGINNING FROM THE FIRST MONTH OF OWNERSHIP. APPROX. 28,000 MI. AT COLD START THERE IS A RATTLE NOISE LIKE METAL ON METAL. THEN WILL DISAPPEAR RIGHT AFTER. HAS BEEN GETTING WORSE/ LOUDER. HARD SHIFTS, LOSS OF POWER. NOW AS OF LAST NIGHT THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS ON AND THE CAR RUNS ROUGH. HIGH IDLE, STALLS, KNOCKING NOISES FROM ENGINE. FAULT CODE. P0011?

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/19/2014 - DALLAS, TX
BEGINNING FROM THE FIRST MONTH OF OWNERSHIP. APPROX. 28,000 MI. AT COLD START THERE IS A RATTLE NOISE LIKE METAL ON METAL. THEN WILL DISAPPEAR RIGHT AFTER. HAS BEEN GETTING WORSE/ LOUDER. HARD SHIFTS, LOSS OF POWER. NOW AS OF LAST NIGHT THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS ON AND THE CAR RUNS ROUGH. HIGH IDLE, STALLS, KNOCKING NOISES FROM ENGINE. FAULT CODE. P0011?

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/19/2014 - DALLAS, TX
BEGINNING FROM THE FIRST MONTH OF OWNERSHIP. APPROX. 28,000 MI. AT COLD START THERE IS A RATTLE NOISE LIKE METAL ON METAL. THEN WILL DISAPPEAR RIGHT AFTER. HAS BEEN GETTING WORSE/ LOUDER. HARD SHIFTS, LOSS OF POWER. NOW AS OF LAST NIGHT THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS ON AND THE CAR RUNS ROUGH. HIGH IDLE, STALLS, KNOCKING NOISES FROM ENGINE. FAULT CODE. P0011?

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds