Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SONIC - 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 226 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (24) Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (13) Unknown Or Other (24)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (90) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (34) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (2) Suspension (18) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel Propulsion System (11) Service Brakes (14) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (52) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 33
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/7/2017 - BURLINGTON, NC
MY CHEV SONIC 2012 TRIES TO RESTART BY IT SELF WHEN KEY IS TURNED OFF AND LEFT IN IGNITION AND CAR IS STATIONARY. YOU NEVER NO WHEN IT'S GOING TO HAPPEN. I DON'T LEAVE THE KEY IN IGNITION AT ALL FOR BEING AFRAID WHAT WILL HAPPEN. NEEDS TO BE A RECALL ON THIS PROBLEM. VERY DISAPPOINTED!!!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/1/2017 - WESTFORD, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH WITH THE GEAR SHIFTER IN DRIVE, THE TRANSMISSION DOWNSHIFTED INTO SECOND GEAR. THE VEHICLE THEN DECELERATED TO 30 MPH, JERKED BACK AND FORTH WITH A LOUD UNKNOWN NOISE, AND THEN WENT INTO IDLE MODE. THE CONTACT COASTED THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC (LOWELL AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION IN MA), WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TURBINE FRACTURED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS LATER TOWED TO THE DEALER (LANNAN CHEVROLET LOCATED AT 831 ROGERS ST, LOWELL MA, 01852) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION SHAFT FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V315000 (POWER TRAIN). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 125,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/2/2017 - CAMILLUS, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS, THE GEAR SHIFTER FAILED TO OPERATE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SHIFTER BUTTON WOULD DEPRESS, BUT NOT RELEASE. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO SHIFT GEARS AND THE KEY BECAME DIFFICULT TO REMOVE FROM THE IGNITION UNTIL THE SHIFTER BUTTON WAS RELEASED. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE SHIFTER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT HE PREVIOUSLY HAD THE SHIFTER REPLACED TWICE; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE, BUT DID NOT OFFER ANY ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 52,956.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/24/2017 - HAMTRAMCK, MI
GEAR SHIFT RELEASE BUTTON HAS BEEN SLOW TO RELEASE FOR SOME TIME AND RECENTLY CRACKED IN HALF. THAT LEFT ME UNABLE TO SHIFT GEARS OUT OF PARK. I REPAIRED WITH GLUE TEMPORARILY BUT WOULD LIKE A PERMANENT SOLUTION FROM THE MANUFACTURER.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/24/2017 - BIG BEAR LAKE, CA
MY WIFE AND I W'ER HIT BY A PERSON THAT RAN A RED LIGHT THE CAR WAS TOTTLED OUT WITH MAJOR FRONT END DAMAGE NO AIR BAGS DEPLOYED AT ALL WHEN THE SIDE AIR BAGS SHOULD HAVE DEPLOYED BUT DIDNT CAUSING MY WHOLE SIDE AND HEAD SMASHING INTO THE SIDE DRIVER DOOR

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

3/24/2017 - BIG BEAR LAKE, CA
MY WIFE AND I W'ER HIT BY A PERSON THAT RAN A RED LIGHT THE CAR WAS TOTTLED OUT WITH MAJOR FRONT END DAMAGE NO AIR BAGS DEPLOYED AT ALL WHEN THE SIDE AIR BAGS SHOULD HAVE DEPLOYED BUT DIDNT CAUSING MY WHOLE SIDE AND HEAD SMASHING INTO THE SIDE DRIVER DOOR

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/24/2017 - BIG BEAR LAKE, CA
MY WIFE AND I W'ER HIT BY A PERSON THAT RAN A RED LIGHT THE CAR WAS TOTTLED OUT WITH MAJOR FRONT END DAMAGE NO AIR BAGS DEPLOYED AT ALL WHEN THE SIDE AIR BAGS SHOULD HAVE DEPLOYED BUT DIDNT CAUSING MY WHOLE SIDE AND HEAD SMASHING INTO THE SIDE DRIVER DOOR

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/6/2017 - FLORENCE, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE AND MAKING A RIGHT TURN DEPRESSING THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL, THE VEHICLE JERKED FORWARD AND DECELERATED. THE GEAR FAILED TO SHIFT OUT OF FIRST GEAR. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V315000 (POWER TRAIN). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 66,200.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/19/2017 - CUMBERLAND, MD
THE CHROME ON THE FRONT INSIDE DOOR HANDLES IS PEELING. THIS HAS CAUSED ME TO SLICE MY FINGERS OPEN ON MORE THAN ONE OCCASION.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/16/2017 - GRANTS PASS, OR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. WHEN THE CONTACT STARTED THE IGNITION, THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG OFF INDICATOR ILLUMINATED WHEN THE PASSENGER SEAT WAS OCCUPIED WITH AN ADULT WHO WEIGHED 145 POUNDS. THE FAILURE OCCURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 105,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 33
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds