Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SONIC - 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 260 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (27) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (109) Steering (14) Unknown Or Other (27)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (2) Structure (11) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (39) Fuel Propulsion System (13) Seats (1) Suspension (18) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (14) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (9)
Engine (61) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 38
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

5/24/2018 - COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO SHIFT GEARS WHEN PROMPTED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE REMAINED STUCK IN FIRST GEAR. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE STALLED ON MORE THAN ONE OCCASION. MIKE MAROONE CHEVROLET SOUTH IN COLORADO SPRINGS, COLORADO WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 36,000.

View Details

ENGINE

5/23/2018 - OMAHA, NE
NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS ON, NOT WHEN VEHICLE HAS STALLED. MY VEHICLE HAS HAD MULTIPLE ISSUES. STALLS WHILE MOVING AND AT A DEAD STOP. AND A SCENT OF BURNING LIKE A ELECTRICAL SHORT BEHIND THE DASHBOARD. I AM AFRAID THAT THIS VEHICLE COULD STALL WHILE I AM ON THE ROAD AND CAUSE ME TO BE REAR ENDED CAUSING A SERIOUS CRASH.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/23/2018 - OMAHA, NE
NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS ON, NOT WHEN VEHICLE HAS STALLED. MY VEHICLE HAS HAD MULTIPLE ISSUES. STALLS WHILE MOVING AND AT A DEAD STOP. AND A SCENT OF BURNING LIKE A ELECTRICAL SHORT BEHIND THE DASHBOARD. I AM AFRAID THAT THIS VEHICLE COULD STALL WHILE I AM ON THE ROAD AND CAUSE ME TO BE REAR ENDED CAUSING A SERIOUS CRASH.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/14/2018 - VALLEY, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO BACK OUT OF A PARKING SPACE, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO SHIFT INTO REVERSE. ADDITIONALLY, THE VEHICLE WOULD VIBRATE ABNORMALLY WHILE DRIVING. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TRANSMISSION FAILED TO SHIFT GEARS AS INTENDED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO BE DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/29/2018 - RAVEN, VA
MY 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC LT SEDAN HAS HARSH SHIFTING AND FEELS LIKE IT IS DOWNSHIFTING WHEN IT IS NOT SUPPOSE TO BE WHILE IN MOTION

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/22/2018 - PUTNAM, CT
IN MY 2012 CHEVY SONIC, THE SHIFT BUTTON STICKS WHEN TRYING TO CHANGE THE CAR FROM PARK, REVERSE, NEUTRAL, AND DRIVE. WHEN THIS OCCURS, THE SHIFTER IS FREE TO EASILY SWITCH INTO ANY POSITION. THE CAR IS NEVER FULLY ENGAGED IN PARK, AND SOMETIMES I CANNOT TAKE THE KEYS OUT OF THE IGNITION. MANY PEOPLE HAVE REPORTED SIMILAR ISSUES, BUT CHEVY WILL NOT COVER REPAIRS, WHICH THEY TYPICALLY REPORT TO BE AROUND $400. THE CAR COULD SHIFT OUT OF PARK ON ITS OWN AND INTO REVERSE OR DRIVE AND STRIKE A PEDIATRIAN OR PROPERTY. NOTE THAT THIS IS AN ONGOING PROBLEM EVERY TIME I DRIVE MY VEHICLE, NOT JUST A ONE TIME OCCURANCE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/15/2018 - LAS VEGAS, NV
TRANSMISSION FRACTURED

View Details

ENGINE

4/7/2018 - NORTH HOLLYWOOD, CA
COOLANT LEAK FROM WATER PUMP, APPLICABLE HOSES AND SURGE TANK. REPLACED WATER PUMP, SURGE TANK AND HOSE IN 2016. NEED TO REPLACE WATER PUMP, HOSES AND SURGE TANK AGAIN IN 2018. THERE IS ALSO AN ENGINE OIL LEAK YET TO BE IDENTIFIED. 1.8 L ENGINE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/20/2018 - EVANSVILLE, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. WHEN PRESSING THE SHIFT GEAR BUTTON TO SWITCH BETWEEN GEARS, THE BUTTON WOULD BECOME STUCK AND REMAIN DEPRESSED. AS A RESULT, THE SHIFTER WOULD INADVERTENTLY CHANGE THE TRANSMISSION FROM DRIVE TO REVERSE, NEUTRAL, OR PARK, WHEN ACCIDENTALLY BUMPED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO WAS UNABLE TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE LOCAL DEALER (PENNY KEMP CHEVROLET IN EVANSVILLE, IN) WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/13/2018 - WILLOUGHBY, OH
STARTING IN NOVEMBER 2016 THE GEAR SHIFT BUTTON BEGAN STICKING A LITTLE ON THE COLD DAYS. A MONTH LATER I WAS UNABLE TO TAKE THE KEY OUT OF THE IGNITION AND COULDN'T GET THE BUTTON TO POP BACK OUT UNTIL THE CAR WAS WARM. WD-40 HELPED TEMPORARILY AND THEN MY MECHANIC CLEANED IT AND USE SILICONE. IT WAS BETTER BUT STILL STICKY. NO ISSUES DURING SPRING, SUMMER AND FALL BUT IT STARTED AS SOON AS THE COLD WEATHER HIT. IF I AM IN THE CAR LONG ENOUGH IT ISN'T A PROBLEM BUT SHORT TRIPS ON COLD DAYS MEAN I HAVE TO USE A CARD TO PRY THE BUTTON OUT. ONLY ONCE HAS IT CAUSED A PROBLEM WHILE DRIVING WHEN IT TOO EASILY SLID FROM D INTO M1. I DROPPED MY CAR OFF TO HAVE THE GEAR SHIFTER REPLACED. THE PART IS ABOUT $150. I DON'T KNOW HOW MUCH LABOR WILL BE AND I HAVENT BEEN UNDER WARRANTY FOR YEARS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 38
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds