Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SONIC - 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 121 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (44) Suspension (12) Visibility (4)
Electrical System (20) Exterior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (6) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (3)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (16) Wheels (2)
Engine (26) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Steering (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

3/26/2015 - CRANBERRY TOWNSHIP, PA
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE OPERATING THE VEHICLE THE AIR BAG SENSOR LIGHT WOULD ILLUMINATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE FAILURE WAS DUE TO AN ELECTRONIC INTERFERENCE WHICH WAS CAUSED BY A CELL PHONE IN THE VEHICLE. IN ADDITION THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT AIR BAG "OFF" LIGHT WOULD ILLUMINATE WHEN A PASSENGER WAS SEATED. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 68,000. JFT

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/17/2015 - NEW YORK, NY
2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. ATTORNEY REPRESENTING CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO PARTS NOT AVAILABLE TO COMPLETE RECALL. THE DEALER KEPT THE VEHICLE FOR 18 DAYS WITHOUT PERFORMING ANY WORK. RECALL # 14V315000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/16/2015 - NAGS HEAD, NC
THE GEAR SHIFT BUTTON WAS LOCKED IN PARK AND I COULD NOT RELEASE THE KEY FROM THE STEERING COLUMN. AFTER RESEARCHING ON THE INTERNET, ADVICE SAID TO PUSH HARD TO THE LEFT ON THE GEAR SHIFT TO POP THE BUTTON BACK OUT. I DID THAT WHILE JOSTLING THE BUTTON AND IT DID POP OUT. WHEN I PRESSED THE BUTTON AGAIN, THIS TIME IN NEUTRAL, THE BUTTON GOT STUCK WITHIN THE GEAR SHIFT COLUMN AGAIN, BUT I FOUND THAT I COULD THEN JUST PUSH THE GEAR SHIFT FORWARD AND BACK BETWEEN GEARS WITHOUT THE BUTTON LOCKING ON THE DESIRED GEAR. THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE BECAUSE IT APPEARED TO ME THAT IF I WERE DRIVING, THE GEAR SHIFT COLUMN COULD MOVE TO ANOTHER GEAR IF I HIT A POT HOLE OR BUMP, WITHOUT ME CONTROLLING IT. IN OTHER WORDS, IT MIGHT HAVE SLIPPED INTO NEUTRAL OR REVERSE. SHOULDN'T THERE BE A RECALL ON THIS? I HAVE TO TAKE IT TO THE DEALER WEDNESDAY, AND IF THIS HAPPENS AGAIN, I WILL HAVE TO DRIVE THE TRIP WITH MY HAND ON THE GEAR SHIFT KNOB TO INSURE IT WILL NOT SLIP OUT OF GEAR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/28/2015 - LAKEWOOD, CO
WHEN PLACING THE CAR IN PARK THE GEAR SHIFTER BUTTON GETS STUCK AND DOESN'T DISENGAGE. SINCE IT DOESN'T DISENGAGE THE KEYS CAN'T BE REMOVED FROM THE CAR. IF THE CAR IS PLACED IN REVERSE OR DRIVE THE BUTTON STAYS STUCK CAUSING THE SHIFTER TO BE ENGAGED AND ABLE TO FREELY SHIFT INTO REVERSE OR PARK WHILE DRIVING. THIS HAS HAPPENED ON SEVERAL OCCASION AND MOST OFTEN IN COLDER TEMPERATURES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/28/2015 - LAKEWOOD, CO
WHEN PLACING THE CAR IN PARK THE GEAR SHIFTER BUTTON GETS STUCK AND DOESN'T DISENGAGE. SINCE IT DOESN'T DISENGAGE THE KEYS CAN'T BE REMOVED FROM THE CAR. IF THE CAR IS PLACED IN REVERSE OR DRIVE THE BUTTON STAYS STUCK CAUSING THE SHIFTER TO BE ENGAGED AND ABLE TO FREELY SHIFT INTO REVERSE OR PARK WHILE DRIVING. THIS HAS HAPPENED ON SEVERAL OCCASION AND MOST OFTEN IN COLDER TEMPERATURES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/23/2015 - PORT CRANE, NY
(AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION) BUTTON ON GEAR SHIFT GETS STUCK IN ENGAGE. ALLOWS FREE SHIFTING FROM PARK TO ANY GEAR WITHOUT THE BRAKE PEDAL BEING PRESSED. MAY EASILY BE BUMPED INTO NEUTRAL, DRIVE, REVERSE, OR MANUAL WITH JUST A TOUCH. ALSO APPLIES IF IN DRIVE OR ANY OTHER GEAR WHICH MAY RESULT IN LOSS OF CONTROL IF IT SHOULD ACCIDENTALLY BE BUMPED. WHEN THIS OCCURS, IT IS NOT POSSIBLE TO REMOVE THE KEY FROM THE IGNITION. THIS EXPOSES THE VEHICLE TO THE POTENTIAL OF THEFT OR OTHER UNAUTHORIZED USE. THIS VIDEO ILLUSTRATES THE SAME ISSUE WITH A 2013 SONIC: HTTPS://WWW.YOUTUBE.COM/WATCH?V=TMUXP0BXTVI

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/23/2015 - PORT CRANE, NY
(AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION) BUTTON ON GEAR SHIFT GETS STUCK IN ENGAGE. ALLOWS FREE SHIFTING FROM PARK TO ANY GEAR WITHOUT THE BRAKE PEDAL BEING PRESSED. MAY EASILY BE BUMPED INTO NEUTRAL, DRIVE, REVERSE, OR MANUAL WITH JUST A TOUCH. ALSO APPLIES IF IN DRIVE OR ANY OTHER GEAR WHICH MAY RESULT IN LOSS OF CONTROL IF IT SHOULD ACCIDENTALLY BE BUMPED. WHEN THIS OCCURS, IT IS NOT POSSIBLE TO REMOVE THE KEY FROM THE IGNITION. THIS EXPOSES THE VEHICLE TO THE POTENTIAL OF THEFT OR OTHER UNAUTHORIZED USE. THIS VIDEO ILLUSTRATES THE SAME ISSUE WITH A 2013 SONIC: HTTPS://WWW.YOUTUBE.COM/WATCH?V=TMUXP0BXTVI

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/15/2015 - MEMPHIS, TN
I HAVE A 2012 CHEVY SONIC AND THE GEARSHIFT WILL NOT LOCK INTO PLACE AND AN ACCIDENTAL BUMP WILL KNOCK THE CAR INTO ANOTHER GEAR WHICH COULD BE DANGEROUS TO ME AND OTHERS. READING ONLINE THREADS, I HAVE NOTICED THAT THIS AFFECTING MANY OTHER CARS OF THIS MAKE AND MODEL. I NOTICE THAT GM WAIT UNTIL THE LAST MINUTE TO ISSUE RECALLS. I JUST HOPE THAT IT IS NOT TO LATE FOR ME AND MY FAMILY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/10/2015 - COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
A FEW MONTHS AFTER PURCHASING MY 2012 CHEVY SONIC, I'VE NOTICED A DECEASE IN POWER AND HESITATION IN ITS AUTOMATIC SHIFTING BETWEEN GEARS. I'VE TAKEN IT IN SEVERAL TIMES WITH THE SAME ISSUE, AND EACH TIME THE SERVICE TECHS (EVEN THE SERVICE MANAGER) HAS TOLD ME AND EXPLAINED THAT IT IS BEHAVING "NORMAL" AND "TO DESIGN". IF IT WERE "NORMAL" WHY HADN'T IT DONE THAT DRIVING RIGHT OFF THE LOT??? AND WHY IS IT, YEARS LATER, ITS SHIFTING HESITATION HAS GOTTEN WORSE TO THE POINT OF SEVERE JERKING AS IT SHIFTS FROM ONE GEAR TO ANOTHER, AS IF SOMEONE WERE LEARNING HOW TO DRIVE STICK FOR THE FIRST TIME?????? THERE IS NOTHING "NORMAL" ABOUT HOW MY VEHICLE IS PERFORMING. IT IS COMPLETE[XXX] THAT I'VE BEEN GETTING THE RUN AROUND ABOUT THIS ISSUE FOR YEARS. AND THEY REFUSE TO ADMIT THERE'S A PROBLEM, NOR WILL THEY SERVICE IT, WHICH MAKES MY VEHICLE INELIGIBLE TO BE CLAIMED AS A LEMON, WHICH IT OBVIOUSLY IS!!! INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/10/2015 - COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
A FEW MONTHS AFTER PURCHASING MY 2012 CHEVY SONIC, I'VE NOTICED A DECEASE IN POWER AND HESITATION IN ITS AUTOMATIC SHIFTING BETWEEN GEARS. I'VE TAKEN IT IN SEVERAL TIMES WITH THE SAME ISSUE, AND EACH TIME THE SERVICE TECHS (EVEN THE SERVICE MANAGER) HAS TOLD ME AND EXPLAINED THAT IT IS BEHAVING "NORMAL" AND "TO DESIGN". IF IT WERE "NORMAL" WHY HADN'T IT DONE THAT DRIVING RIGHT OFF THE LOT??? AND WHY IS IT, YEARS LATER, ITS SHIFTING HESITATION HAS GOTTEN WORSE TO THE POINT OF SEVERE JERKING AS IT SHIFTS FROM ONE GEAR TO ANOTHER, AS IF SOMEONE WERE LEARNING HOW TO DRIVE STICK FOR THE FIRST TIME?????? THERE IS NOTHING "NORMAL" ABOUT HOW MY VEHICLE IS PERFORMING. IT IS COMPLETE[XXX] THAT I'VE BEEN GETTING THE RUN AROUND ABOUT THIS ISSUE FOR YEARS. AND THEY REFUSE TO ADMIT THERE'S A PROBLEM, NOR WILL THEY SERVICE IT, WHICH MAKES MY VEHICLE INELIGIBLE TO BE CLAIMED AS A LEMON, WHICH IT OBVIOUSLY IS!!! INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds