Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SONIC - 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 84 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (26) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Electrical System (19) Exterior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (5) Suspension (12) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (19) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (7) Unknown Or Other (7) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/15/2014 - LOS ANGELES, CA
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. THE SENSORS ILLUMINATED FOR THE CHECK ENGINE AND FROM THE GEAR BOX THE GEAR BOX LIGHTS WERE FLASHING WHEN THE CONTACT WAS IN DRIVE, REVERSE OR PARK. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE TRAVELING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH ON A MAJOR HIGHWAY, THERE WAS A SUDDEN LOSS OF POWER, THE VEHICLE WAS EXTREMELY SLOW TO ACCELERATE, DIFFICULT TO CHANGE GEARS AND STALLED ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE INTAKE DUCT AND BOOT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED AND THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO CHANGE GEARS FROM THE GEAR BOX, SLOW TO ACCELERATE AND CONTINUED TO STALL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 14V315000 (POWER TRAIN). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 32,000. DYD

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/15/2014 - LOS ANGELES, CA
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. THE SENSORS ILLUMINATED FOR THE CHECK ENGINE AND FROM THE GEAR BOX THE GEAR BOX LIGHTS WERE FLASHING WHEN THE CONTACT WAS IN DRIVE, REVERSE OR PARK. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE TRAVELING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH ON A MAJOR HIGHWAY, THERE WAS A SUDDEN LOSS OF POWER, THE VEHICLE WAS EXTREMELY SLOW TO ACCELERATE, DIFFICULT TO CHANGE GEARS AND STALLED ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE INTAKE DUCT AND BOOT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED AND THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO CHANGE GEARS FROM THE GEAR BOX, SLOW TO ACCELERATE AND CONTINUED TO STALL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 14V315000 (POWER TRAIN). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 32,000. DYD

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/8/2014 - MAPLEWOOD, MO
WHEN I AM SLOWING AND THERE IS A GRATE IN THE STREET, MY VEHICLE HAS PROBLEMS BRAKING. THIS HAS HAPPENED NUMEROUS TIMES EVERY TIME I AM ON A GRATE, WHICH IS FAIRLY COMMON IN THE CITY. I TOLD JIM BUTLER AND THEY ADVISED ME THAT THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE BRAKES (THEY WERE DOING AN OIL CHANGE AND SAID THEY CHECKED THE BRAKES). WHEN I DRIVE OVER ICE, IT MAKES A LOUD NOISE AND THERE APPEARS TO BE A PROBLEM BRAKING.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/8/2014 - NEW CUMBERLAND, PA
SHIFTER BUTTON GETS STUCK AND CAN'T TAKE KEY OUT OF IGNITION! ITS BEEN REPLACED BEFORE AND THIS IS THE SECOND TIME! DEALER WONT REPLACE UNDER WARRANTY!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/5/2014 - LUDOWICI, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V315000 (POWER TRAIN) HOWEVER THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/27/2014 - ALFRED, ME
I'M EXPERIENCING SOME ISSUES WITH THE AIRBAG PASSENGER SIDE OF MY CAR WHICH IS IN RED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL CLUSTER. SAME DESCRIPTION OF THE AIRBAG RECALL MADE ON THE CHEVROLET SONIC, BUT MINE IS NOT INCLUDED. I DID RECEIVED A RECALL ON THE TRANSMISSION, BUT I DO BELIEVE THAT AIRBAGS IS A LIFE HAZARD FOR ANY DRIVER. I CALLED GM CUSTOMER SERVICE, WAS TOLD NO RECALLS ON MY MODEL, BUT NOT INTEREST SHOWN IN FINDING OUT ABOUT THOSE ISSUES. TO BE HONEST THERE ARE A LOT OF THINGS WRONG WITH THE CAR, BUT FOR NOW I'M INTEREST IN MAKING SURE MY AIRBAG IS WORKING AND I'M MORE SECURE ON THE TIME OF AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/27/2014 - NAPLES, FL
2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE METAL GRINDING NOISES WHEN ACCELERATING FROM A STOP.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

8/26/2014 - ENGLAND, AR
I WAS DRIVING AT NIGHT AND IT WAS WARM OUTSIDE.....SO BUGS CAKED ONTO THE WINDSHIELD. WHEN THE BUGS CAKED ONTO THE WINDSHIELD I TRIED TO USE MY WINDSHIELD CLEANER AND NOTHING WOULD COME OUT AND I ENDED UP SMEARING THE BUGS. I ABSOLUTELY COULD NOT SEE....SO I MADE IT TO THE NEAREST GAS STATION AND CHECKED THE RESERVOIR TO FIND IT EMPTY. I WENT INTO THE GAS STATION AND BOUGHT A CHEAP BOTTLE OF CLEAN AND PUT IT INTO THE RESERVOIR, AND AS SOON AS I PUT IT IN A PUDDLE DRAINED FROM UNDERNEATH THE CAR. I FOUND THAT THE RESERVOIR COULD NOT HOLD THE LIQUID AND I FIGURED THAT A HOSE MUST BE LOOSE.

View Details

STEERING: COLUMN

8/25/2014 - NITRO, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO NOTIFY THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER ABOUT HAVING THE VEHICLE REPAIRED ACCORDING TO NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V315000 (POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION), BUT WAS UNSUCCESSFUL. THE CONTACT ALSO HEARD A POPPING NOISE COMING FROM THE STEERING WHEEL AND NOTICED A STRONG PERSISTENT ODOR OF FUEL COMING THROUGH THE VENTILATION SYSTEM. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN, FUEL PUMP, AND CALIPER PINS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURES RECURRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 11,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/25/2014 - NITRO, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO NOTIFY THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER ABOUT HAVING THE VEHICLE REPAIRED ACCORDING TO NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V315000 (POWER TRAIN: AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION), BUT WAS UNSUCCESSFUL. THE CONTACT ALSO HEARD A POPPING NOISE COMING FROM THE STEERING WHEEL AND NOTICED A STRONG PERSISTENT ODOR OF FUEL COMING THROUGH THE VENTILATION SYSTEM. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN, FUEL PUMP, AND CALIPER PINS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURES RECURRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 11,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds