Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SONIC - 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 128 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (14) Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (52) Suspension (12) Visibility (4)
Electrical System (21) Exterior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (6) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (4)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (12) Wheels (2)
Engine (26) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Steering (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

5/20/2015 - DOUGLASVILLE , GA
I WAS GOING DOWN DENTON ROAD AND HIT A DEER GOING 55 MPH. THE FRONT OF MY CAR WAS DAMAGED REALLY BAD ALMOST $5,000.00 OF DAMAGE. I HAVE TWO SLIPPED DISK IN MY BACK BECAUSE OF THE INCIDENT. MY AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/13/2015 - HOUSTON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 35 MPH, THE IGNITION KEY REMAINED STUCK AND FAILED TO TURN. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE WAS UNABLE TO BE DRIVEN. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION TURBINE SHAFT FRACTURED AND THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 44,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/13/2015 - 281-691-1422, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO PARK, THE SHIFTER COULD NOT BE SWITCHED TO PARK. IN ADDITION, WHEN IN PARK, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO SHIFT INTO DRIVE OR REVERSE. THE FAILURE OCCURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 37,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/13/2015 - EL PASO, TX
THE SHIFT KNOB BUTTON IS STICKING. I CANNOT REMOVE THE KEY FROM THE VEHICLE. MORE IMPORTANTLY THE CAR IS NEVER FULLY IN PARK. THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP I PURCHASED THE CAR FROM IMMEDIATELY. HE SAID THE CAR WAS OUT OF WARRANTY AND THAT WAS NOT A RECALL. THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL AS SOON AS POSSIBLE.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

5/1/2015 - LUTTS, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO ACTIVATE THE WINDSHIELD WIPER FLUID, THE WINDSHIELD FLUID FAILED TO EMIT. THE CONTACT DISCOVERED THAT THE WIPER FLUID WAS LEAKING UNDER THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V408000 (VISIBILITY). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 36,100.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/17/2015 - SPRING VALLEY, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. WHILE DRIVING 25 MPH, THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL AND THE VEHICLE STARTED TO SLOW DOWN. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER AND IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE TRANSMISSION TURBINE SHAFT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND INFORMED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V375000 (POWER TRAIN). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 34,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/8/2015 - GOODYEAR, AZ
THE SHIFTER BUTTON STICKS WHEN PRESSED. THIS DOES NOT ALLOW THE KEY TO BE RELEASED. IT ALSO DOESN'T LOCK THE GEAR SHIFT INTO PLACE ALLOWING THE SHIFTER TO MOVE FROM PARK TO 1 GEAR WITH NO INTERVENTION.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/26/2015 - CRANBERRY TOWNSHIP, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. WHILE OPERATING THE VEHICLE, THE AIR BAG SENSOR LIGHT WOULD ILLUMINATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE FAILURE WAS DUE TO AN ELECTRONIC INTERFERENCE WHICH WAS CAUSED BY A CELL PHONE IN THE VEHICLE. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT AIR BAG "OFF" LIGHT WOULD ILLUMINATE WHEN A PASSENGER WAS OCCUPYING THE SEAT. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 68,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/17/2015 - NEW YORK, NY
2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. ATTORNEY REPRESENTING CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO PARTS NOT AVAILABLE TO COMPLETE RECALL. THE DEALER KEPT THE VEHICLE FOR 18 DAYS WITHOUT PERFORMING ANY WORK. RECALL # 14V315000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/16/2015 - NAGS HEAD, NC
THE GEAR SHIFT BUTTON WAS LOCKED IN PARK AND I COULD NOT RELEASE THE KEY FROM THE STEERING COLUMN. AFTER RESEARCHING ON THE INTERNET, ADVICE SAID TO PUSH HARD TO THE LEFT ON THE GEAR SHIFT TO POP THE BUTTON BACK OUT. I DID THAT WHILE JOSTLING THE BUTTON AND IT DID POP OUT. WHEN I PRESSED THE BUTTON AGAIN, THIS TIME IN NEUTRAL, THE BUTTON GOT STUCK WITHIN THE GEAR SHIFT COLUMN AGAIN, BUT I FOUND THAT I COULD THEN JUST PUSH THE GEAR SHIFT FORWARD AND BACK BETWEEN GEARS WITHOUT THE BUTTON LOCKING ON THE DESIRED GEAR. THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE BECAUSE IT APPEARED TO ME THAT IF I WERE DRIVING, THE GEAR SHIFT COLUMN COULD MOVE TO ANOTHER GEAR IF I HIT A POT HOLE OR BUMP, WITHOUT ME CONTROLLING IT. IN OTHER WORDS, IT MIGHT HAVE SLIPPED INTO NEUTRAL OR REVERSE. SHOULDN'T THERE BE A RECALL ON THIS? I HAVE TO TAKE IT TO THE DEALER WEDNESDAY, AND IF THIS HAPPENS AGAIN, I WILL HAVE TO DRIVE THE TRIP WITH MY HAND ON THE GEAR SHIFT KNOB TO INSURE IT WILL NOT SLIP OUT OF GEAR.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds