Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SONIC - 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 183 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (17) Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (12) Unknown Or Other (15)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (74) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (32) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (1) Suspension (17) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel Propulsion System (10) Service Brakes (9) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (42) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

4/26/2016 - DOWELL, MD
MAJOR CONCERN: MY POWER STEERING FAILED. THE DEALER SAID THE POWER STEERING COLUMN NEEDED TO BE REPLACED ($1,300). THE CAR HAS HIGH MILEAGE (EXCESS OF 150,000). I HAVE HAD SEVERAL CARS WITH SIMILAR MILEAGE BUT NEVER HAD THE POWER STEERING FAIL. SINCE THIS IS ELECTRONIC STEERING THERE DOESN'T APPEAR TO BE ANY WARNING/NO PREVENTATIVE MAINTENANCE. FORTUNATELY I WAS NOT ON THE HIGHWAY AT THE TIME THIS OCCURRED BUT IN THE DRIVEWAY AFTER HAVING DRIVEN SEVERAL HOURS THE SAME DAY. WE CHECKED FOR RELAYS IN THE FUSE BOX BUT NONE ARE MARKED FOR THE POWER STEERING. THERE WERE AT LEAST TWO PREVIOUS TIMES WHEN BACKING OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY THAT THE POWER STEERING LOCKED UP BUT THEN STARTED WORKING FINE. DEALER COULD NOT FIND THE PROBLEM FOR THE FIRST TWO INCIDENTS. MY CAR HAS BEEN SITTING IN MY DRIVEWAY SINCE JUNE 2015 BECAUSE I DIDN'T FEEL SAFE DRIVING IF EVEN IT WAS FIXED. I'VE ALWAYS OWNED GM VEHICLES (FOR 36 YEARS) BUT THE LACK OF CONCERN ABOUT THIS PROBLEM PROMPTED ME TO PURCHASE A SUBARU. AT THE TIME OF THE STEERING FAILURE I STILL OWED 2 YEARS ON MY LOAN. THE SECOND PROBLEM WHICH I'VE COMPLAINED ABOUT SINCE THE CAR WAS NEW WAS THE TRANSMISSION. THERE WAS ALWAYS SLOW RESPONSE WHEN PULLING AWAY FROM A STOP. IT WORSENED AFTER THE CAR HAD BEEN DRIVEN SEVERAL HOURS. AGAIN, NOTHING WAS DIAGNOSED.

View Details

ENGINE

4/26/2016 - DOWELL, MD
MAJOR CONCERN: MY POWER STEERING FAILED. THE DEALER SAID THE POWER STEERING COLUMN NEEDED TO BE REPLACED ($1,300). THE CAR HAS HIGH MILEAGE (EXCESS OF 150,000). I HAVE HAD SEVERAL CARS WITH SIMILAR MILEAGE BUT NEVER HAD THE POWER STEERING FAIL. SINCE THIS IS ELECTRONIC STEERING THERE DOESN'T APPEAR TO BE ANY WARNING/NO PREVENTATIVE MAINTENANCE. FORTUNATELY I WAS NOT ON THE HIGHWAY AT THE TIME THIS OCCURRED BUT IN THE DRIVEWAY AFTER HAVING DRIVEN SEVERAL HOURS THE SAME DAY. WE CHECKED FOR RELAYS IN THE FUSE BOX BUT NONE ARE MARKED FOR THE POWER STEERING. THERE WERE AT LEAST TWO PREVIOUS TIMES WHEN BACKING OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY THAT THE POWER STEERING LOCKED UP BUT THEN STARTED WORKING FINE. DEALER COULD NOT FIND THE PROBLEM FOR THE FIRST TWO INCIDENTS. MY CAR HAS BEEN SITTING IN MY DRIVEWAY SINCE JUNE 2015 BECAUSE I DIDN'T FEEL SAFE DRIVING IF EVEN IT WAS FIXED. I'VE ALWAYS OWNED GM VEHICLES (FOR 36 YEARS) BUT THE LACK OF CONCERN ABOUT THIS PROBLEM PROMPTED ME TO PURCHASE A SUBARU. AT THE TIME OF THE STEERING FAILURE I STILL OWED 2 YEARS ON MY LOAN. THE SECOND PROBLEM WHICH I'VE COMPLAINED ABOUT SINCE THE CAR WAS NEW WAS THE TRANSMISSION. THERE WAS ALWAYS SLOW RESPONSE WHEN PULLING AWAY FROM A STOP. IT WORSENED AFTER THE CAR HAD BEEN DRIVEN SEVERAL HOURS. AGAIN, NOTHING WAS DIAGNOSED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/12/2016 - COVINGTON, OH
ONCE AGAIN MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS ON. I HAVE HAD THIS CAR SINCE 2013 WITH 16000 MILES ON IT. THE FIRST TIME THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON THE DEALERSHIP TRY TO TELL ME IT WAS THE GAS I WAS USING. COME TO FIND OUT IT WAS THE AIR INTAKE HOSE WAS CRACKED....THAT WAS A LITTLE OVER A YEAR AGO AND NOW IT IS ON AGAIN!!! THE FIRST IT WAS BARELY COVERED UNDER WARRANTY, I DONT THINK IT WILL THIS TIME. I AM PISSED.....I PAID 17000 FOR THIS CAR AND HAVE HAD IN THE SHOP SO MANY TIMES IT ISNT EVEN FUNNY. I EVEN HAD IT IN FOR THE SWAY BAR LINK THAT WAS BROKE WHICH SHOULDNT HAVE BEEN AT 42000 MILES.

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/12/2016 - COVINGTON, OH
ONCE AGAIN MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS ON. I HAVE HAD THIS CAR SINCE 2013 WITH 16000 MILES ON IT. THE FIRST TIME THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON THE DEALERSHIP TRY TO TELL ME IT WAS THE GAS I WAS USING. COME TO FIND OUT IT WAS THE AIR INTAKE HOSE WAS CRACKED....THAT WAS A LITTLE OVER A YEAR AGO AND NOW IT IS ON AGAIN!!! THE FIRST IT WAS BARELY COVERED UNDER WARRANTY, I DONT THINK IT WILL THIS TIME. I AM PISSED.....I PAID 17000 FOR THIS CAR AND HAVE HAD IN THE SHOP SO MANY TIMES IT ISNT EVEN FUNNY. I EVEN HAD IT IN FOR THE SWAY BAR LINK THAT WAS BROKE WHICH SHOULDNT HAVE BEEN AT 42000 MILES.

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/11/2016 - STANTON, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. WHILE REVERSING THE VEHICLE, THE PASSENGER SIDE LOWER CONTROL ARM FRACTURED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THE FAILURE WAS NOT YET DETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 130,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/5/2016 - ROCHESTER, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. WHILE IN PARK, THE GEAR SHIFTER FAILED TO SHIFT. THE CONTACT HAD TO FORCE THE GEAR SHIFTER INTO THE DRIVE POSITION. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE GEAR SHIFTER BECAME STUCK AND HAD TO BE FORCED AGAIN. THE VEHICLE HAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 48,500.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/22/2016 - BOLING, TX
CHECK ENGINE LIGHT-------AFTER THE FACTORY WARRANTEE EXPIRED I STILL HAVE THE POWER TRAIN IN FULL FORCE, BUT THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT KEEPS COMING ON. I HAD IT REPAIRED ABOUT 8 MONTHS AGO FOR SOME PART COVERED UNDER POWER TRAIN. THIS MAKES 6 TIMES THE ENGINE LIGHT HAS COME ON AGAIN. I HATE THIS BECAUSE I CANNOT USE THE MAIN FEATURE I PURCHASED THE CAR FOR AUTO START. SO NEEDLESS TO SAY IT IS DOING THE SAME MESS....

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/8/2016 - NORTH GRAFTON, MA
WITH ONLY 40,000 MILES AND 3 YEARS OLD, AIR INTAKE HOSE IS CRACKED AND SPLIT IN MANY LOCATIONS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/23/2016 - ALPHARETTA, GA
GEAR SHIFT GETS STUCK - UNABLE TO TAKE KEY OUT, DIFFICULT TO SHIFT GEARS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/23/2016 - SPRINGFIELD, IL
SHIFT GEAR CRACKED ABOUT A MONTH AGO...TWO MONTHS AGO KEYS BROKE,TODAY SITTING AT STOP LIGHT COULDN'T GET CAR INTO GEAR. EVERY GEAR WENT TO REVERSE. HAD TO HAVE CAKE TOWED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds