Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SONIC - 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 55 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (5) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (11) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (15) Structure (3) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Exterior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (3) Suspension (9) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (14) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (1) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/9/2014 - AKRON, IN
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE MAKING A TURN AT APPROXIMATELY 10 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THIS CAUSED THE CONTACT TO CRASH INTO A TELEPHONE POLE. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. NO POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DESTROYED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 8,500. RG

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/1/2014 - GRAND CANYON, AZ
ON OR AROUND DECEMBER, 2014, THE SHIFT COVER WOULD NOT ATTACH PERMANENTLY. ON OR AROUND MARCH 10, 2014, THE ELECTRICAL ACCESS PLUG DID NOT OPERATE. ON OR AROUND MARCH 6, 2014, MY MOTHER WAS DRIVING AROUND 45MPH, AND WE HIT AN ELK. NO AIRBAGS DEPLOYED.

View Details

EQUIPMENT ADAPTIVE

4/1/2014 - GRAND CANYON, AZ
ON OR AROUND DECEMBER, 2014, THE SHIFT COVER WOULD NOT ATTACH PERMANENTLY. ON OR AROUND MARCH 10, 2014, THE ELECTRICAL ACCESS PLUG DID NOT OPERATE. ON OR AROUND MARCH 6, 2014, MY MOTHER WAS DRIVING AROUND 45MPH, AND WE HIT AN ELK. NO AIRBAGS DEPLOYED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/1/2014 - GRAND CANYON, AZ
ON OR AROUND DECEMBER, 2014, THE SHIFT COVER WOULD NOT ATTACH PERMANENTLY. ON OR AROUND MARCH 10, 2014, THE ELECTRICAL ACCESS PLUG DID NOT OPERATE. ON OR AROUND MARCH 6, 2014, MY MOTHER WAS DRIVING AROUND 45MPH, AND WE HIT AN ELK. NO AIRBAGS DEPLOYED.

View Details

ENGINE

3/26/2014 - ALTOONA, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, A CHIME SOUNDED WITH THE ILLUMINATION OF THE ENGINE OIL PRESSURE WARNING INDICATOR. THE FAILURE ALSO RECURRED UPON STARTING THE IGNITION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS. THE TECHNICIAN INFORMED THAT THE OIL PRESSURE INDICATOR SWITCH WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS CURRENTLY BEING REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 44,500.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/26/2014 - ALTOONA, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, A CHIME SOUNDED WITH THE ILLUMINATION OF THE ENGINE OIL PRESSURE WARNING INDICATOR. THE FAILURE ALSO RECURRED UPON STARTING THE IGNITION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS. THE TECHNICIAN INFORMED THAT THE OIL PRESSURE INDICATOR SWITCH WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS CURRENTLY BEING REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 44,500.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/19/2014 - WINTER GARDEN, FL
VEHICLE WAS STRUCK ON DRIVER SIDE BY ANOTHER CAR THAT FAILED TO STOP AT A FOUR WAY STOP. THE IMPACT WAS MOSTLY ON THE DRIVER DOOR. THE AIRBAG FAILED TO DEPLOY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/17/2014 - VANDENBERG AFB, CA
I WAS IN A TBONE ACCIDENT WHERE THE DRIVER WAS GOING WELL OVER MY SPEED. AFTER THE HIT, MY HEAD HIT THE DRIVER'S SIDE WINDOW. THE IMPACT SENT ME SPINNING ACROSS THE ROAD INTO A WOODED AREA WHERE MY PASSENGERS SIDE STRUCK A TREE. I WAS OUT FOR A LITTLE WHILE (NOT SURE HOW LONG). WHEN I CAME TO MY SENSES MEDICAL WAS ON SCENE AND I HAD A MAJOR HEADACHE AND MY LEFT KNEE WAS PRETTY SORE. I WENT TO THE EMERGENCY ROOM THAT DAY TO BE INFORMED THAT I SUFFERED HEAD AND BACK INJURIES. AFTER GETTING THE VEHICLE INSPECTED I WAS TOLD THAT MY PARTICULAR VEHICLES HAD MORE AIRBAGS THAN THE STANDARD VEHICLE AND MY AIRBAGS SHOULD HAVE DEPLOYED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/13/2014 - NORTH GROSVENORDALE, CT
WHEN TRYING TO CROSS A BUSY INTERSECTION, I HAD NO POWER WHEN I PRESSED ON THE GAS PEDAL. THE ENGINE JUST REVED. WE SLOWLY MOVED FORWARD AND WERE VERY NEARLY HIT BY BOTH SIDES OF ONCOMING TRAFFIC. I WAS ABLE TO PULL OVER AND PUT ON FLASHERS. I DROVE ON THE SIDE OF ROAD UNTIL THE GEARS ENGAGED A FEW SECONDS LATER. EVER SINCE I STILL HAVE ISSUES MERGING ON HIGHWAYS ON IN TRAFFIC.

View Details

ENGINE

3/4/2014 - GARDEN GROVE, CA
EVERY COLD START THE IS A GRINDING AND RATTLE NOISE THAT COMES FROM THE TIMING SIDE. I TOOK IT TO CHEVY AND THEY SAID THAT CANT DO ANYTHING UNLESS THEY HEAR IT WHICH I THOUGHT WAS REASONABLE AND THE NEXT MORNING THEY CALLED AND STATED MY CAR HAS NO NOISE EVEN THO THIS HAPPENS EVERY COLD START. I ALSO HAVE A LOUD KNOCKING NOISE COMING FROM THE ENGINE WHEN IT IS WARM OR HAS BEEN DRIVEN FOR MORE THAN 20MINUTES THE DEALER SAYS ITS NORMAL BUT AT 21454 THE NOISE IS 3 TIMES LOUDER THAN EVER BEFOR. I HAD A CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CODE P0011 INTAKE CAMSHAFT POSITION TIMING -OVER-ADVANCED (BANK-1) WHICH I TOOK IN AND THEY FIXED IT 4DAYS LATER AND IT IS BACK SAME CODE I CALLED THE DEALER AND THEY SAID TO BRING IT IN I EXPLAINED I DONT HAVE A RIDE TO WORK THEY SAID I HAVE TO FIGURE IT OUT BECAUSE I HAVE TO PAY THE DEPOSIT FOR A RENTAL I SHOULDNT EVEN NEED. THE ENGINE ALSO SEEMS TO SPUDDER AND LOSE POWER RANDOMLY ALSO THE RPMS WILL GO UP TO 2500 SOMETIMES WHILE STOPPING I HAVE ALWAYS DRIVE. MANUAL TRANSMISSIONS I BELIEVE I WOULD KNOW WHEN I AM PUSHING THE GAS! CHEVY SEEMS LIKE THEY DONT WANT TO TOUCH MY CAR UNTIL MY WARRANTY IS OUT I AM SO DISAPPOINTED BY THEIR ACTIONS AND THIS CAR SAD I GOT 4 OF MY FRIENDS TO BUY THEM TOO IN 2013 I JUST WANT CHEVY TO BUY BACK MY CAR OR FIX ALL OF IT! THIS IS MY FIRST AMERICAN 100% BRAND NEW CAR AND I FEEL LIKE IT IS THE BIGGEST MISTAKE I HAVE EVER MADE. THE WHOLE WE CANT JUST CANT LOOK AT IT UNLESS WE SEE OR HEAR IT IS KIND OF BS!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds