Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SONIC - 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 233 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (24) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (94) Steering (13) Unknown Or Other (25)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (2) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (35) Fuel Propulsion System (12) Seats (1) Suspension (18) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (14) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (8)
Engine (54) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 35
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

8/8/2017 - WARWICK, RI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EXHIBITED AN ABNORMAL EXHAUST SOUND. THE CONTACT CHECKED THE OIL AND AN ABNORMAL FUEL ODOR EMITTED FROM THE OIL. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT CONTACTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 66,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/8/2017 - WARWICK, RI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EXHIBITED AN ABNORMAL EXHAUST SOUND. THE CONTACT CHECKED THE OIL AND AN ABNORMAL FUEL ODOR EMITTED FROM THE OIL. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT CONTACTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 66,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/31/2017 - SHORELINE, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY WITH THE KEY IN THE IGNITION, THE VEHICLE STARTED UP WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO SHAKE AND THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AUTO-START FEATURE MAY HAVE MALFUNCTIONED. ON ANOTHER OCCASION, WHILE DRIVING 50 MPH, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO SHAKE AGAIN AND SEEMED AS IF IT WOULD STALL. BELL PIERRE CHEVROLET IN SEATTLE, WASHINGTON WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES BY PHONE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE AND REFERRED THE CONTACT TO THE DEALER. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 27,500.

View Details

ENGINE

7/31/2017 - SHORELINE, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY WITH THE KEY IN THE IGNITION, THE VEHICLE STARTED UP WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO SHAKE AND THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AUTO-START FEATURE MAY HAVE MALFUNCTIONED. ON ANOTHER OCCASION, WHILE DRIVING 50 MPH, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO SHAKE AGAIN AND SEEMED AS IF IT WOULD STALL. BELL PIERRE CHEVROLET IN SEATTLE, WASHINGTON WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES BY PHONE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE AND REFERRED THE CONTACT TO THE DEALER. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 27,500.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/27/2017 - KENNESAW, GA
I PURCHASE MY CAR MARCH 2012. HAD HAVE BEEN TAKING IT TO DEALER ABOUT THE WASHER FLUID NOT STAYING IN BOTTLE. THEY TOLD ME NOTHING WAS WRONG. THEN TOOK IT AGAIN FOR TRANSMISSION SLIPPING INTO GEAR THEY SAID AGAIN NOTHING WAS WRONG. NOW THE TRANSMISSION IS NOT WORKING AND THEY SAY THE RECALL IS NOT FOR MY CAR CAUSE THERE WEBSITE SAYS SO.IT STOPPED MOVING ON THE HIGHWAY WITH ME HAVING A 2YEAR OLD IN BACK SEAT. I FINALLY GOT MY FLUID TO STAY IN BOTTLE BY SOME OTHER MECHANIC.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

7/27/2017 - KENNESAW, GA
I PURCHASE MY CAR MARCH 2012. HAD HAVE BEEN TAKING IT TO DEALER ABOUT THE WASHER FLUID NOT STAYING IN BOTTLE. THEY TOLD ME NOTHING WAS WRONG. THEN TOOK IT AGAIN FOR TRANSMISSION SLIPPING INTO GEAR THEY SAID AGAIN NOTHING WAS WRONG. NOW THE TRANSMISSION IS NOT WORKING AND THEY SAY THE RECALL IS NOT FOR MY CAR CAUSE THERE WEBSITE SAYS SO.IT STOPPED MOVING ON THE HIGHWAY WITH ME HAVING A 2YEAR OLD IN BACK SEAT. I FINALLY GOT MY FLUID TO STAY IN BOTTLE BY SOME OTHER MECHANIC.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/20/2017 - GRAND RAPIDS, MI
MY CHEVROLET SONIC HAS DEVELOPED AN ISSUE WHERE THE AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION SHIFT LEVER BUTTON IS STICKING IN THE +IN+ POSITION. IN THIS POSITION, THE TRANSMISSION GEARS CAN BE CHANGED WITHOUT TOUCHING THE BUTTON IS SUCH A FASHION AS TO MOVE THE TRANSMISSION FROM PARK TO REVERSE, NEUTRAL, DRIVE AND IN THIS MODULE IT HAS A SO CALLED MANUAL MODE. SO ONE COULD BUMP THE GEAR FROM REVERSE TO DRIVE OR FROM DRIVE TO REVERSE JUST BY TOUCHING THE GEAR SHIFTER. OF COURSE, WITH THIS BUTTON IN THE IN POSITION YOU CANNOT REMOVE THE KEY OUT OF THE IGNITION. I FEEL THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE AND THUS REPORTING IT AS SUCH. THIS ISSUE CAN HAPPEN BOTH DRIVING AND BEFORE DRIVING. AS IT IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE THE CAR THIS WAY I WILL BE TAKING THIS IN TO A CHEVROLET DEALER TO BE FIXED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/17/2017 - GRAND RAPIDS, MI
THERE IS A BUTTON ON THE TRANSMISSION GEAR SELECTOR THAT ALLOWS THE SELECTOR TO MOVE FROM PARK TO THE DRIVING GEARS. ON MY CAR THE BUTTON IS NOW STICKING IN (WILL NOT RELEASE) THIS CAUSE THE GEAR SELECTOR TO MOVE FREELY FROM ONE GEAR TO ANOTHER SUCH AS DRIVE TO REVERSE ECT ALSO AS THIS IN IN THE IN OR ENGAGED POSITION THE KEY CANNOT BE REMOVED. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE AS THE CAR CAN BE PLACED INTO REVERSE AND OR DRIVE JUST BY TOUCHING THE GEAR SELECTOR

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/9/2017 - LAKE ELSINORE, CA
THE HEATED SEATS STOPED HEATING AT 90K MILES TRANSMISSION WENT OUT AT 107K MIKES

View Details

SEATS

7/9/2017 - LAKE ELSINORE, CA
THE HEATED SEATS STOPED HEATING AT 90K MILES TRANSMISSION WENT OUT AT 107K MIKES

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 35
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds