Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SONIC - 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 253 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (27) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (105) Steering (14) Unknown Or Other (25)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (2) Structure (11) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (39) Fuel Propulsion System (13) Seats (1) Suspension (18) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (14) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (9)
Engine (59) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 37
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

3/20/2018 - EVANSVILLE, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. WHEN PRESSING THE SHIFT GEAR BUTTON TO SWITCH BETWEEN GEARS, THE BUTTON WOULD BECOME STUCK AND REMAIN DEPRESSED. AS A RESULT, THE SHIFTER WOULD INADVERTENTLY CHANGE THE TRANSMISSION FROM DRIVE TO REVERSE, NEUTRAL, OR PARK, WHEN ACCIDENTALLY BUMPED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO WAS UNABLE TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE LOCAL DEALER (PENNY KEMP CHEVROLET IN EVANSVILLE, IN) WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/13/2018 - WILLOUGHBY, OH
STARTING IN NOVEMBER 2016 THE GEAR SHIFT BUTTON BEGAN STICKING A LITTLE ON THE COLD DAYS. A MONTH LATER I WAS UNABLE TO TAKE THE KEY OUT OF THE IGNITION AND COULDN'T GET THE BUTTON TO POP BACK OUT UNTIL THE CAR WAS WARM. WD-40 HELPED TEMPORARILY AND THEN MY MECHANIC CLEANED IT AND USE SILICONE. IT WAS BETTER BUT STILL STICKY. NO ISSUES DURING SPRING, SUMMER AND FALL BUT IT STARTED AS SOON AS THE COLD WEATHER HIT. IF I AM IN THE CAR LONG ENOUGH IT ISN'T A PROBLEM BUT SHORT TRIPS ON COLD DAYS MEAN I HAVE TO USE A CARD TO PRY THE BUTTON OUT. ONLY ONCE HAS IT CAUSED A PROBLEM WHILE DRIVING WHEN IT TOO EASILY SLID FROM D INTO M1. I DROPPED MY CAR OFF TO HAVE THE GEAR SHIFTER REPLACED. THE PART IS ABOUT $150. I DON'T KNOW HOW MUCH LABOR WILL BE AND I HAVENT BEEN UNDER WARRANTY FOR YEARS.

View Details

ENGINE

2/9/2018 - VERO BEACH, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. AFTER DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE CONTACT PARKED THE VEHICLE AND NOTICED SMOKE EMERGING FROM THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. THE CONTACT DROVE THE VEHICLE BACK HOME (A MILE AWAY) AND NOTICED A LOT OF SMOKE EMERGING FROM THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE OIL COOLER COMPONENT AND LINES FAILED AND NEEDED REPLACEMENT. THE DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC COULD NOT FIND THE PART TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 145,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/2/2018 - PHOENIX, AZ
I WAS INVOLVED IN A CRASH IN WHICH I WAS ON THE HIGHWAY, TRAFFIC WAS CONGESTED DUE TO ANOTHER ACCIDENT AND CONSTRUCTION. ME AND THE VEHICLE AHEAD OF ME WERE AT A COMPLETE STOP AS WAS EVERYONE ELSE, WHEN I WAS REAR ENDED PRETTY FORCEFULLY AND TO THE POINT THAT AFTER SLAMMING HARDER ON MY BREAKS, MY VEHICLE WAS STILL SHOVED INTO THE TRUCK IN FRONT OF ME. MY COMPLAINT IS THAT MY AIRBAG NEVER EVEN DEPLOYED. I WAS STRUCK PRETTY HARD AS WELL AS SHOVED INTO THE VEHICLE IN FRONT OF ME THAT CRUNCHED MY CAR AT BOTH ENDS. I FIND THIS A SERIOUS SAFETY HAZARD THAT MY AIRBAGS DID NOT PROTECT ME FROM IF I WOULD HAVE HIT THE STEERING WHEEL.

View Details

ENGINE

1/17/2018 - HARLEM, CT
TL-CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVY SONIC ---- CONTACT WAS STOPPED AT TRAFFIC LIGHT AND HEAT WENT COLD -- NO HAT ONLY BLOWS COLD AIR -- DEALERSHIP DID DIAGNOSTIC TEST AND VEHICLE WAS FIXED ONCE ALREADY -- VEHICLE HAS 60,000 MILES --- HEAT KEEPS GOING COLD WHEN VEHICLE IS STOPPED . 0 RECALLS ASSOCIATED WITH THIS VIN...CB

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/5/2018 - BERKELEY, IL
WHILE DRIVING THE CAR ON DESIGNATED TRUCK ROUTE STREET -SPEED LIMIT WAS 45 MPH -THE TRANSMISSION WOULD NOT UP-SHIFT TO THE THIRD THROUGH SIXTH GEARS, LIMITING THE VEHICLE'S SPEED CAUSING A UNSAFE SPEED REDUCTION. AFTER FINALLY PULLING THE CAR OVER OUT OF TRAFFIC AND PARKING THE CAR IT WOULD NOT GO INTO REVERSE AND ALL FOUR WHEELS TO LOCKED. CAR HAD TO BE TOWED TO DEALER WHERE THEY HAD TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE TRANSMISSION WITH ONLY 56,935 MILES ON THE CAR .

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/2/2018 - ATLANTA, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE KEY WAS UNABLE TO BE REMOVED FROM THE IGNITION. IN ADDITION, THE SHIFTER FRACTURED WHILE SHIFTING FROM PARK TO DRIVE. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN TO A DEALER (HENNESSY BUICK GMC, 7261 JONESBORO ROAD BUILDING 1, MORROW, GA 30260, (844) 240-2377) FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 69,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION

1/2/2018 - ATLANTA, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE KEY WAS UNABLE TO BE REMOVED FROM THE IGNITION. IN ADDITION, THE SHIFTER FRACTURED WHILE SHIFTING FROM PARK TO DRIVE. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN TO A DEALER (HENNESSY BUICK GMC, 7261 JONESBORO ROAD BUILDING 1, MORROW, GA 30260, (844) 240-2377) FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 69,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

1/1/2018 - FRANKLIN, IN
I AM HAVING PROBLEMS WITH MY WINDSHIELD WIPER FLUID THE HOSE OR SOMETHING IS CAUSING THE FLUID TO DRAIN ON THE GROUND I EXPLAINED TO BRADLEY CHEVROLET IN FRANKLIN INDIANA THAT THIS HAS BEEN A RECALL ISSUE BUT THEY STATED THAT MY VIN NUMBER WASN'T IN THE RECALL BUT I AM HAVING THE SAME ISSUE THAT IS DUMB I WANT THIS WORK COMPLETED UNDER THE RECALL AND FIXED AND I AM HAVING A LEAN CODE OF PO171 COME UP THAT ONSTAR DIAGNOSED AND BRADLEY DOESN'T WANT TO EVEN LOOK AT IT WITHOUT CHARGING ME A DIAGNOSTIC FEE WHEN I ALREADY HAVE THE CODE FEELING VERY FRUSTRATED PLEASE HELP ME

View Details

ENGINE

1/1/2018 - FRANKLIN, IN
I AM HAVING PROBLEMS WITH MY WINDSHIELD WIPER FLUID THE HOSE OR SOMETHING IS CAUSING THE FLUID TO DRAIN ON THE GROUND I EXPLAINED TO BRADLEY CHEVROLET IN FRANKLIN INDIANA THAT THIS HAS BEEN A RECALL ISSUE BUT THEY STATED THAT MY VIN NUMBER WASN'T IN THE RECALL BUT I AM HAVING THE SAME ISSUE THAT IS DUMB I WANT THIS WORK COMPLETED UNDER THE RECALL AND FIXED AND I AM HAVING A LEAN CODE OF PO171 COME UP THAT ONSTAR DIAGNOSED AND BRADLEY DOESN'T WANT TO EVEN LOOK AT IT WITHOUT CHARGING ME A DIAGNOSTIC FEE WHEN I ALREADY HAVE THE CODE FEELING VERY FRUSTRATED PLEASE HELP ME

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 37
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds