Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SONIC - 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 203 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (19) Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (12) Unknown Or Other (21)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (82) Structure (8) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (32) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (1) Suspension (17) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel Propulsion System (11) Service Brakes (11) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (49) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

8/23/2016 - FORT BLACKMORE, VA
SHIFTER BUTTON IS STICKING (WILL NOT RELEASE) WHICH PREVENTS REMOVAL OF THE KEY FROM THE IGNITION. ALSO, COULD ALLOW THE THE VEHICLE TO BE SHIFTED INTO OTHER GEARS (PARK, REVERSE, ETC) WHILE IN MOTION.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/22/2016 - GARLAND, TX
THE BUTTON THAT IS DEPRESSED TO PUT THE CAR IN AND OUT OF GEAR STICKS IN PLACE, ALLOWING FOR THE GEAR SHIFT TO BE PUSHED OUT OF PLACE. I HAVE HAD TROUBLE NUMEROUS TIMES GETTING MY CAR INTO PARK BECAUSE THE STUCK BUTTON CAUSES THE GEAR SHIFT TO GET CAUGHT IN REVERSE, AND TODAY I ACCIDENTALLY PUSHED THE GEAR SHIFT INTO NEUTRAL WHILE SITTING AT A RED LIGHT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/1/2016 - OMAHA, NE
ON MY WAY TO CHURCH LAST WEEK MY CAR CAUGHT FIRE AT A STOP LIGHT AND WAS TOTALLY ENGULFED IN FLAMES. I HAVE PICES IF YOU NEED THEM.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/30/2016 - OMAHA, NE
THE BUTTON ON THE GEAR SHIFT STICKS. WHEN THE BUTTON WON'T POP OUT AFTER BEING PUT INTO GEAR, IT CAN BE BUMPED AND MOVED INTO ANOTHER GEAR CAUSING A SAFETY RISK. THE GEAR SHIFT SHOULD BE RECALLED! ALSO WHEN I'M IN PARK AND IT WON'T POP OUT, MY CAR WILL NOT LET ME REMOVE THE KEYS. AND WHEN THE KEYS ARE IN THE IGNITION, THE CAR WON'T LOCK. MY CAR IS ALSO NOW LIKELY TO BE STOLEN.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/29/2016 - STOCKTON, CA
HAS BURNING SMELL OF ANTI FREEZE AND WIRES MELTING. AIR BAGS DON'T WORK ON FRONT PASSENGER SIDE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/29/2016 - STOCKTON, CA
HAS BURNING SMELL OF ANTI FREEZE AND WIRES MELTING. AIR BAGS DON'T WORK ON FRONT PASSENGER SIDE.

View Details

ENGINE

7/29/2016 - STOCKTON, CA
HAS BURNING SMELL OF ANTI FREEZE AND WIRES MELTING. AIR BAGS DON'T WORK ON FRONT PASSENGER SIDE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/19/2016 - OMAHA, NE
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 CHEVROLET SONIC. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V300000 (AIR BAGS). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 68,985.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/6/2016 - N. CHESTERFIELD, VA
FOR AN AUTOMATIC 2012 CHEVY SONIC. GEAR SHIFT KNOB BECAME NONFUNCTIONAL CAUSING KEY TO BECOME STICK IN IGNITION. COULD NOT EXIT VEHICLE. COULD NOT SHIFT INTO D OR SOMETIME OUT OF DRIVE INTO PARK. EVENTUALLY WENT TO THE DEALER WHO REPLACED THE WHOLE UNIT AT A CHARGE TO ME. THE REPLACEMENT UNIT SEEMS TO OCCASIONALLY STICK IN THE SAME WAY HOWEVER HAS NOT CAUSED PROBLEMS YET.

View Details

ENGINE

7/1/2016 - DOWNEY, CA
THIS CAR HAS GIVEN ME SO MANY PROBLEMS. THE RADIATOR, THE MOTOR EVERYTHING.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds