Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET TRAVERSE - 2012 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 252 complaints filed for the 2012 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 CHEVROLET TRAVERSE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (35) Equipment (2) Power Train (27) Structure (11) Vehicle Speed Control (27)
Electrical System (26) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (11) Suspension (6) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (66) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (4) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (11)
Engine (70) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Service Brakes (10) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (51) Unknown Or Other (18)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 31
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

3/21/2019 - VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
I NOTICED THE CAR RUNNING A BIT ROUGHER THAN NORMAL AND ADVISED MY HUSBAND. THEN THE CAR TOOK A COUPLE ATTEMPTS TO START. MY HUSBAND RESEARCHED THE ISSUE WITH AN OEM READER AND RECEIVED ERROR CODES THAT INDICATED IT MIGHT BE THE TIMING CHAIN. WE TOOK IT TO OUR MECHANIC WHO AGREED BUT ADVISED US THAT GM HAD A TIB WHICH EXTENDED THE WARRANTY TO 120,000 MILES DUE TO A PROBLEMATIC ISSUE WITH THEIR TIMING CHAINS. WE HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED TO A GM DEALERSHIP. THEY CONFIRMED THAT THE TIMING CHAIN WAS LOOSE AND ADVISED THAT IT DAMAGED THE ENGINE WHICH WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED AT THE COST OF $9000. MY HUSBAND CONTACTED GM SEVERAL TIMES ONLY TO BE ADVISED THAT, ALTHOUGH THE SAME ISSUE, THE TIB DID NOT APPLY TO OUR VIN. I HAVE CONTACT GM SEVERAL TIMES TO DISCUSS WHY THIS SEEMS TO BE A CHRONIC PROBLEM WITH TRAVERSES FOR SEVERAL CONSECUTIVE MODEL YEARS, HOWEVER THEY ARE NOT WILLING TO DISCUSS THE ISSUE AS THEIR CANNED ANSWER IS IT'S OUTSIDE THE WARRANTY PERIOD. WE HAVE 107,000 MILES ON OUR VEHICLE AND WOULD NEVER HAVE PURCHASED THIS CAR HAD WE BEEN AWARE OF THE CATASTROPHIC ISSUES WITH THE TIMING CHAIN. I HAVE BEEN ONLINE AND SEE SO MANY FAMILIES EXPERIENCING THIS SAME ISSUE WITH NO ASSISTANCE FROM GM. THEY OFFERED US $3000 TOWARDS A NEW CAR, HOWEVER, AT THIS TIME, WE ARE NOT IN A POSITION TO READILY ACCEPT A CAR PAYMENT. WE HAVE TWO SONS IN COLLEGE AND ARE NOT LOOKING AT HAVING TO GO INTO DEBT TO CORRECT A PROBLEM THAT WE DON'T BELIEVE WE SHOULD BE HAVING. THE CAR WAS AT THE DEALERSHIP AND RECEIVED A 153 POINT INSPECTION ONLY 4 WEEKS PRIOR TO THIS TIMING CHAIN FAILURE AND THEY DID NOT REPORT ANY ISSUES TO US. WITH THE NUMBER OF CONSUMERS REPORTING THIS ISSUE, I HOPE THERE WILL BE AN INVESTIGATION AND COMPENSATION TO THOSE OF US WHO TRUSTED IN GM TO MANUFACTURER A CAR THAT WE COULD ENJOY AFTER IT WAS PAID FOR. WE PAID OUR FINAL PAYMENT IN NOVEMBER OF 2018.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

3/21/2019 - BILLINGS, MT
STABILITRAK/ TRACTION CONTROL TURNS OFF SUDDENLY WHILE DRIVING WITHOUT REASON. ABS BRAKES LIGHT COMES ON IN MESSAGE CENTER. VEHICLE SUDDENLY LOSES POWER AND ENGINE IDLES ROUGH. OCCURS SUDDENLY WITHOUT WARNING LEAVING DRIVER/PASSENGERS STRANDED IN DANGEROUS ROADWAYS. VEHICLE ONLY HAS 70,000 MILES AND IS SERVICED REGULARLY. VEHICLE WAS SERVICED TWO MONTHS AGO FOR THIS PROBLEM, WHERE AN ALIGNMENT TEMPORARILY FIXED THE PROBLEM. TWO MONTHS LATER, PROBLEM RETURNED.

View Details

ENGINE

3/21/2019 - BILLINGS, MT
STABILITRAK/ TRACTION CONTROL TURNS OFF SUDDENLY WHILE DRIVING WITHOUT REASON. ABS BRAKES LIGHT COMES ON IN MESSAGE CENTER. VEHICLE SUDDENLY LOSES POWER AND ENGINE IDLES ROUGH. OCCURS SUDDENLY WITHOUT WARNING LEAVING DRIVER/PASSENGERS STRANDED IN DANGEROUS ROADWAYS. VEHICLE ONLY HAS 70,000 MILES AND IS SERVICED REGULARLY. VEHICLE WAS SERVICED TWO MONTHS AGO FOR THIS PROBLEM, WHERE AN ALIGNMENT TEMPORARILY FIXED THE PROBLEM. TWO MONTHS LATER, PROBLEM RETURNED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/21/2019 - BILLINGS, MT
STABILITRAK/ TRACTION CONTROL TURNS OFF SUDDENLY WHILE DRIVING WITHOUT REASON. ABS BRAKES LIGHT COMES ON IN MESSAGE CENTER. VEHICLE SUDDENLY LOSES POWER AND ENGINE IDLES ROUGH. OCCURS SUDDENLY WITHOUT WARNING LEAVING DRIVER/PASSENGERS STRANDED IN DANGEROUS ROADWAYS. VEHICLE ONLY HAS 70,000 MILES AND IS SERVICED REGULARLY. VEHICLE WAS SERVICED TWO MONTHS AGO FOR THIS PROBLEM, WHERE AN ALIGNMENT TEMPORARILY FIXED THE PROBLEM. TWO MONTHS LATER, PROBLEM RETURNED.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

3/13/2019 - BELLEVILLE, MI
PURCHASED CAR USED IN DECEMBER '15. NUMEROUS TIMES CAR WAS DRIVING AND A WARNING WAS GIVEN ON DASH "REDUCE ENGINE OWR, SERVICE STABLITRAK". CAR WAS TAKENTO MARTY FELDMAN IN LIVONIA, MI (MAY 17)AND PER INSPECTION STATED NEEDED NEW ACCELERATOR PEDAL WHICH WAS NOT THE PROBLEM. PROBLEMS PERSISTED WITH SAID VEHICLE FAST FWD TO MARCH 2019 CAR WILL NOT START AT ALL. VICTORY CHEVY IN MILAN, MI STATED TIMING CHAIN WENT OUT NEEDS REPLACED. ONLINE A QUICK SEARCH FINDS THESE SAME ISSUES WITH THOUSANDS OF TRAVERSE N EQUINOX MODELS!!! A RECALL IS NEEDED

View Details

ENGINE

3/13/2019 - BELLEVILLE, MI
PURCHASED CAR USED IN DECEMBER '15. NUMEROUS TIMES CAR WAS DRIVING AND A WARNING WAS GIVEN ON DASH "REDUCE ENGINE OWR, SERVICE STABLITRAK". CAR WAS TAKENTO MARTY FELDMAN IN LIVONIA, MI (MAY 17)AND PER INSPECTION STATED NEEDED NEW ACCELERATOR PEDAL WHICH WAS NOT THE PROBLEM. PROBLEMS PERSISTED WITH SAID VEHICLE FAST FWD TO MARCH 2019 CAR WILL NOT START AT ALL. VICTORY CHEVY IN MILAN, MI STATED TIMING CHAIN WENT OUT NEEDS REPLACED. ONLINE A QUICK SEARCH FINDS THESE SAME ISSUES WITH THOUSANDS OF TRAVERSE N EQUINOX MODELS!!! A RECALL IS NEEDED

View Details

ENGINE

3/12/2019 - CHENOA, IL
THE VEHICLE STARTED MAKING A NOISE IN THE ENGINE, TOOK IT INTO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAID THEY THOUGHT IT WAS SOMETHING DIFFERENT. A WEEK LATER THE CAR STARTED TO DRIVE BADLY AND THE ENGINE SOUNDED WORSE. AFTER WORK I TRIED TO START THE VEHICLE AND IT WOULDN'T START. THE NUMBERS ON THE SENSOR READER STATED IT WAS THE TIMING CHAIN. WE GOT IT SERVED BY A MECHANIC AND THE TIMING CHAIN WHEN IT SLIPPED DAMAGED THE ENGINE. NOW WE HAVEN'T BEEN ABLE TO DRIVE THE TRAVERS FOR OVER A YEAR AND WE ARE STILL PAYING FOR IT BECAUSE WE NOW NEED TO PUT A NEW ENGINE IN IT. THE DEALERSHIP AND THE MANUFACTURE WERE OF NO HELP TO US. I ALSO WOULD LIKE TO MAKE MENTION, WE DID HAVE OUR OIL CHANGED REGULARLY.

View Details

SEATS

3/8/2019 - OSHKOSH, WI
SERVICE AIR BAG LIGHT IS INTERMITTENT AS AN ICON ALSO IN TEXT OF DRIVERS DISPLAY. I HAVE ONLY OWNED THIS CAR FOR FOUR MONTHS AND HAVE HAD IT TO A GM SERVICE DEALER TWICE. FIRST TRIP COSTED $254.15 FOR AN IMPACT SENSOR AND DIAGNOSIS. TWO DAYS LATER LIGHTS ONE AGAIN THIS TIME TENSIONER KIT WAS REPLACED. IT'S BEEN ABOUT FOUR WEEKS AND THE LIGHTS ARE BACK ON AGAIN. IT HAPPENS ANYTIME, DRIVING OR BEING STARTED, NO ROUGH TERRAIN JUST CRUISING AND LIGHTS WILL COME ON.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/8/2019 - OSHKOSH, WI
SERVICE AIR BAG LIGHT IS INTERMITTENT AS AN ICON ALSO IN TEXT OF DRIVERS DISPLAY. I HAVE ONLY OWNED THIS CAR FOR FOUR MONTHS AND HAVE HAD IT TO A GM SERVICE DEALER TWICE. FIRST TRIP COSTED $254.15 FOR AN IMPACT SENSOR AND DIAGNOSIS. TWO DAYS LATER LIGHTS ONE AGAIN THIS TIME TENSIONER KIT WAS REPLACED. IT'S BEEN ABOUT FOUR WEEKS AND THE LIGHTS ARE BACK ON AGAIN. IT HAPPENS ANYTIME, DRIVING OR BEING STARTED, NO ROUGH TERRAIN JUST CRUISING AND LIGHTS WILL COME ON.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/8/2019 - OSHKOSH, WI
SERVICE AIR BAG LIGHT IS INTERMITTENT AS AN ICON ALSO IN TEXT OF DRIVERS DISPLAY. I HAVE ONLY OWNED THIS CAR FOR FOUR MONTHS AND HAVE HAD IT TO A GM SERVICE DEALER TWICE. FIRST TRIP COSTED $254.15 FOR AN IMPACT SENSOR AND DIAGNOSIS. TWO DAYS LATER LIGHTS ONE AGAIN THIS TIME TENSIONER KIT WAS REPLACED. IT'S BEEN ABOUT FOUR WEEKS AND THE LIGHTS ARE BACK ON AGAIN. IT HAPPENS ANYTIME, DRIVING OR BEING STARTED, NO ROUGH TERRAIN JUST CRUISING AND LIGHTS WILL COME ON.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 31
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds