Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE AVENGER - 2012 DODGE AVENGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 215 complaints filed for the 2012 DODGE AVENGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 DODGE AVENGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 DODGE AVENGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (88) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (34) Structure (12) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electrical System (49) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes (13) Suspension (9) Visibility (10)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (12)
Engine (30) Power Train (20) Steering (11) Unknown Or Other (17) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY/WIPER

10/11/2017 - HARWOOD HEIGHTS, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 DODGE AVENGER. WHILE OPERATING THE VEHICLE, THE HEATER WOULD NOT BLOW WARM AIR FROM THE PASSENGER SIDE VENTS. WHEN ATTEMPTING TO USE THE DEFROSTER, THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE WINDSHIELD AND PASSENGER MIRROR COULD NOT BE DEFROSTED DUE TO THE FAILURE. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE, BUT THE LOCAL DEALER WAS NOT. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,000.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

10/8/2017 - TOPEKA, KS
OFFICIALLY WRITTEN COMPLAINT REGARDING UNREASONABLE DELAY BY DEALERSHIP TO REPAIR RECALLED PART. FIRST NOTICE WAS ISSUED OVER A YEAR AGO, HAVE NOT BEEN CONTACTED BY DEALERSHIP TO REPAIR THE AIRBAG. IN MEAN TIME HAVE RECEIVED 2ND RECALL FOR SEATBELT MALFUNCTION.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/8/2017 - TOPEKA, KS
OFFICIALLY WRITTEN COMPLAINT REGARDING UNREASONABLE DELAY BY DEALERSHIP TO REPAIR RECALLED PART. FIRST NOTICE WAS ISSUED OVER A YEAR AGO, HAVE NOT BEEN CONTACTED BY DEALERSHIP TO REPAIR THE AIRBAG. IN MEAN TIME HAVE RECEIVED 2ND RECALL FOR SEATBELT MALFUNCTION.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/13/2017 - NEENAH, WI
FRONT HOOD - PAINT HAS BEEN BUBBLING NOW. DEALER NOTIFIED, ADMITS A PROBLEM WITH HOOD AND NEEDS TO BE REPLACED WHICH COSTS 2,000.00. THIS A FACTORY ISSUE AND I DON'T FEEL THAT CONSUMER SHOULD PAY FOR THIS. REAR TRUNK LID - WATER LEAKS IN CARGO AREA AFTER EVERY RAIN. THIS HAS BEEN ONGOING AND DEALER HAS ALSO BEEN NOTIFIED. NO SOLUTION GIVEN AT THIS TIME.

View Details

VISIBILITY

8/31/2017 - FORT WASHINGTON, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 DODGE AVENGER. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS WITH THE HEATER TURNED ON, COLD AIR EMITTED FROM THE VENTS. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT WAS CONCERNED ABOUT THIS ESPECIALLY IN COLD WEATHER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 110,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/29/2017 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
FOR THE PAST THREE YEARS, I HAVE BEEN DEALING WITH THE HEATER ONLY BLOWING WARM AIR ON THE DRIVER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE AND COLD AIR ON THE PASSENGER SIDE. THIS IS A LITTLE UNBEARABLE IN THE WINTER TIME. TO OFFSET THE COLDNESS I BASICALLY HAVE TO WARM MY CAR UP FOR ABOUT 20 MINUTES WITH THE PASSENGER SIDE VENTS CLOSED TO DRIVE WITH A COMFORTABLE OR REASONABLE TEMPERATURE. UPON LIFTING THE FRONT HOOD TO CHECK MY ANTIFREEZE LEVEL, I NOTICED MY OVERFLOW TANK HAS ABOUT 1 INCH OF BROWN SLUDGE AT THE BOTTOM. AFTER TAKING MY VEHICLE TO 5 DIFFERENT MECHANICS, THE GENERAL CONSENSUS IS THIS IS A HEATING CORE PROBLEM THAT IS APPARENTLY A WELL-KNOWN AND DOCUMENTED ISSUE WITH THE DODGE AVENGER. TO NOT RECOGNIZE THIS PROBLEM AS A SOMETHING THAT SHOULD BE ADDRESSED VIA A RECALL IS VERY DISTURBING. THE COST OF HAVING THIS REPAIRED IS SOMEWHERE IN THE RANGE OF $900 TO $1800. WHILE I COULD "TRADE" THIS CAR IN FOR ANOTHER I WOULD REALLY PREFER TO KEEP THIS VEHICLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/24/2017 - LOS ANGELES, CA
WE RECEIVED A SAFETY RECALL FOR OUR 2012 DODGE AVENGER THAT OUR SEATBELTS AND AIRBAGS MAY NOT WORK IN A CRASH. OF COURSE WE WERE VERY CONCERNED AS THIS WAS OUR ONLY CAR. WHEN WE CALLED TO MAKE AN APPOINTMENT TO HAVE THIS VERY DANGEROUS SAFETY RECALL FIXED, THEY LIED AND TOLD US IT WOULD TAKE A WHILE FOR THE PARTS TO BECOME AVAILABLE. WE GOT TIRED OF WAITING AND WENT TO TRADE THIS CAR IN FOR A TOYOTA. WE WERE SHOCKED TO HEAR THAT THIS SAFELY RECALL WAS STAMPED WITH "NO FIX" AVAILABLE. DODGE WILL NOT FIX THIS ISSUE AND WE LOST OVER $7,000 IN TRADE IN VALUE DUE TO THIS "NO FIX" SAFETY RECALL. HOW CAN THESE COMPANIES GET AWAY WITH NOT FIXING SUCH A DANGEROUS SAFETY RECALLS AT THE EXPENSE OF THE CONSUMER?

View Details

SEAT BELTS

8/24/2017 - LOS ANGELES, CA
WE RECEIVED A SAFETY RECALL FOR OUR 2012 DODGE AVENGER THAT OUR SEATBELTS AND AIRBAGS MAY NOT WORK IN A CRASH. OF COURSE WE WERE VERY CONCERNED AS THIS WAS OUR ONLY CAR. WHEN WE CALLED TO MAKE AN APPOINTMENT TO HAVE THIS VERY DANGEROUS SAFETY RECALL FIXED, THEY LIED AND TOLD US IT WOULD TAKE A WHILE FOR THE PARTS TO BECOME AVAILABLE. WE GOT TIRED OF WAITING AND WENT TO TRADE THIS CAR IN FOR A TOYOTA. WE WERE SHOCKED TO HEAR THAT THIS SAFELY RECALL WAS STAMPED WITH "NO FIX" AVAILABLE. DODGE WILL NOT FIX THIS ISSUE AND WE LOST OVER $7,000 IN TRADE IN VALUE DUE TO THIS "NO FIX" SAFETY RECALL. HOW CAN THESE COMPANIES GET AWAY WITH NOT FIXING SUCH A DANGEROUS SAFETY RECALLS AT THE EXPENSE OF THE CONSUMER?

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

8/22/2017 - TROY, MI
WINDSHIELD WIPERS WILL RANDOMLY STOP WORKING. ISSUE HAPPENS WHEN THE VEHICLE IS STATIONARY AND IN MOTION. I WAS ON THE EXPRESS WAY IN A DOWNPOUR RAIN AND MY WIPERS STOPPED WORKING, I HAD ZERO VISIBILITY AND HAD TO PULL OVER FOR 20 MINUTES UNTIL THEY CAME BACK ON.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

8/17/2017 - NORTH LITTLE ROCK, AR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 DODGE AVENGER. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE ENGINE OVERHEATED AND THE ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER (FRANK FLETCHER DODGE IN SHERWOOD, AR: 501-834-7700) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE RADIATOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE TECHNICIAN ALSO STATED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL AND THAT THE WARRANTY EXPIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL. ADDITIONALLY, THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V668000 (SEAT BELTS, AIR BAGS). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 101,246. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds