Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE AVENGER - 2012 DODGE AVENGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 285 complaints filed for the 2012 DODGE AVENGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 DODGE AVENGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 DODGE AVENGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (91) Exterior Lighting (7) Seat Belts (39) Structure (15) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (61) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes (14) Suspension (9) Visibility (15)
Electronic Stability Control (13) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (28)
Engine (40) Power Train (21) Steering (13) Unknown Or Other (47) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

5/15/2018 - KELLER, TX
TL THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 DODGE AVENGER. WHILE DRIVING 25 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO COAST THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE ENGINE WAS RESTARTED AND THE CONTACT DROVE THE VEHICLE HOME. THE VEHICLE WAS LATER TAKEN TO AUTONATION CHRYSLER DODGE JEEP RAM NORTH FORT WORTH (11200 N FREEWAY, FORT WORTH, TX 76177, (817) 642-7894) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN A RECALL. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 97,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/15/2018 - KELLER, TX
TL THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 DODGE AVENGER. WHILE DRIVING 25 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO COAST THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE ENGINE WAS RESTARTED AND THE CONTACT DROVE THE VEHICLE HOME. THE VEHICLE WAS LATER TAKEN TO AUTONATION CHRYSLER DODGE JEEP RAM NORTH FORT WORTH (11200 N FREEWAY, FORT WORTH, TX 76177, (817) 642-7894) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN A RECALL. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 97,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

4/23/2018 - ALTOONA, PA
2012 DODGE AVENGER ACT PLUS. STOPPED HEATING ON PASSENGER SIDE AND ONLY DEFROSTS AND UNFOGS THE WINDOW ON THE DRIVER SIDE. THIS IS AN APPARENT MANUFACTURER DEFECT THAT REQUIRES THE HEATER CORE TO BE REPLACED AS A REMEDY. I WOULD URGE DODGE TO DO A PROPER RE ALL BEFORE SOMEBODY DIES DUE TO POOR VISIBILITY. THIS, FIRST, HAPPENED TO MY CAR WHILE DRIVING AT NIGHT. THE WINDOW WAS COVERED IN STEAM OR FOG (WHATEVER YOU CALL IT) AND THE BLOWER IN THE DASH WAS NOT CLEARING IT FOR PROPER VISIBILITY. I'M GLAD I DID NOT CRASH OR HURT SOMEONE BECAUSE I COULD NOT SEE. AFTER I PULLED OFF THE ROAD AND INVESTIGATED, I REALIZED THAT THE HEAT WAS NOT WORKING ON PASSENGER SIDE, IT ONLY BLEW COLD AIR, BUT DRIVER SIDE WAS WARM AIR. NOT IDEAL FOR COLD PA WINTERS AND I SHOULD NOT HAVE TO FOOT THE BILL FOR AN OBVIOUS MANUFACTURER DEFECT. I HOPE DODGE WILL RECALL THIS AND DO THE RIGHT THING BEFORE SOMEBODY IS KILLED, IF IT HASN'T HAPPENED ALREADY. THERE ARE ENDLESS COMPLAINTS EXACTLY LIKE THIS. STEP UP AND FIX IT!

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

4/20/2018 - EASLEY, SC
WHEN USING CLIMATE CONTROLS THE AIR ON DRIVER SIDE GETS HOT BUT AIR THROUGH THE VENTS ON PASSENGER SIDE REMAIN COLD. IN WINTER THE WINSHIELD WILL ONLY DEFROST OR DEFOG ONE SIDE WHICH OBSCURES VISION ON PASSENGER SIDE WHICH COULD LEAD TO AN ACCIDENT AND OR DEATH AS A RESULT.

View Details

ENGINE

4/18/2018 - CHULA VISTA, CA
I OWN A DODGE 2012 AVENGER AND HAD SOME ISSUES HERE AND THERE BUT THIS IS THE FIRST TIME THE VEHICLE JUST DIED FOR NO REASON. I WAS STOPPED IN HEAVY TRAFFIC ON A HILL, READY TO MERGE ONTO THE FREEWAY. THE LIGHT TURNED GREEN AND I STEPPED ON THE GAS PEDDLE AND NOTHING HAPPENED. I WASN'T SURE WHAT WAS GOING ON SO I PUT ON MY HAZARD LIGHTS WHICH THANKFULLY WORKED. I COULD TELL STRAIGHT AWAY THAT THE CAR WASN'T EVEN ON SO I PUT IT IN PARK AND TURNED THE KEY AND IT STARTED UP. THIS IS AN ISSUE THAT NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED BY DODGE AS IT POSES A MAJOR SAFETY HAZARD ESPECIALLY IF I'M IN THE MIDDLE OF HEAVY TRAFFIC ON A FREEWAY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/18/2018 - CHULA VISTA, CA
I OWN A DODGE 2012 AVENGER AND HAD SOME ISSUES HERE AND THERE BUT THIS IS THE FIRST TIME THE VEHICLE JUST DIED FOR NO REASON. I WAS STOPPED IN HEAVY TRAFFIC ON A HILL, READY TO MERGE ONTO THE FREEWAY. THE LIGHT TURNED GREEN AND I STEPPED ON THE GAS PEDDLE AND NOTHING HAPPENED. I WASN'T SURE WHAT WAS GOING ON SO I PUT ON MY HAZARD LIGHTS WHICH THANKFULLY WORKED. I COULD TELL STRAIGHT AWAY THAT THE CAR WASN'T EVEN ON SO I PUT IT IN PARK AND TURNED THE KEY AND IT STARTED UP. THIS IS AN ISSUE THAT NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED BY DODGE AS IT POSES A MAJOR SAFETY HAZARD ESPECIALLY IF I'M IN THE MIDDLE OF HEAVY TRAFFIC ON A FREEWAY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/16/2018 - MCDONOUGH, GA
WHEN IT RAINS I CAN NOT DRIVE I BOUGHT THE CAR A YEAR AGO IN THE CAR HAD THE PROBLEM I DIDN KNO AT THE TIME CAUSE IT WAS WINTER WHEN I GOT IT AND I REALLY FEEL IN DANGER PLEAS HELP

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/12/2018 - HINESVILLE, GA
PASSENGER SIDE HEAT BLOWS COLD AIR OUT.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

4/10/2018 - EDMORE, MI
PASSENGER-SIDE DEFROSTER BLOWS COLD RATHER THAN HOT/WARM AIR CAUSING COLLECTION OF CONDENSATION/FROST ON THE WINDSHIELD IN THE WINTER. THIS HAPPENS ALL THE TIME, REGARDLESS OF IF IN MOTION OR STATIONARY. I'M TOLD IT IS A PARTIALLY BLOCKED HEATER CORE.

View Details

ENGINE

4/6/2018 - PERRYSBURG, OH
DRIVING AT 50-55 MPH AND CHECK ENGINE AND OTHER DASHBOARD LIGHTS FLASHED AND STARTED LOSING POWER. PULLED OFF TO SIDE STREET A FEW FEET AWAY. I WAS LUCKY TO BE ABLE TO GET IN CENTER TURN LANE WHERE THE CAR DIED COMPLETELY. POWER STEERING ALSO WAS LOST. WE PUSHED CAR OFF ROAD WHERE IT RESTARTED ABOUT 1/2 HOUR LATER. DRIVING HOME LESS THEN 5 MILES IT DIED BUT STARTED AGAIN.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds