Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE AVENGER - 2012 DODGE AVENGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 73 complaints filed for the 2012 DODGE AVENGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 DODGE AVENGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 DODGE AVENGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (24) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (6) Visibility (1)
Electrical System (17) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Service Brakes (6) Suspension (8) Visibility Wiper (4)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (3) Wheels (2)
Engine (8) Power Train (12) Steering (7) Vehicle Speed Control (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

1/24/2015 - ARLINGTON, TX
RECEIVED NOTICE OF A RECALL ON ACTIVE HEAD RESTRAINTS. VENDOR DID NOT HONOR RECALL.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/20/2015 - PENN YAN, NY
I RECENTLY WAS IN CAR ACCIDENT AND MY AIR BAGS NEVER DEPLOYED. I CHECKED INTO THIS WITH CRYSLER COMPANY. ACCORDING TO THEM THERE WAS A RECALL, BUT I NEVER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE RECALL. MY CAR IS SITTING IN FINGERLAKES COLLISION BODY SHOP UNTOUCHED BECAUSE OF LIABILITY ISSUES. CHRYSLER TOOK MY INFORMATION DOWN BUT HAS RESPONDED WITH MY COMPLAINT. MY COMPLAINT NUMBER WITH CYSLER IS 26291789. THE BODY SHOP NUMBER IS 315-568-6390. CHRIS REPLIED THAT IT TAKES A LOT OF POWER TO HAVE THE BAGS GO OFF. I SAID THE SEAT BELTS HURT US, TOT HE POINT OF BRUIZES AROUND NECK, SHOULDERS, AND BACK.I HAVE TALKEN TO SEVERAL ATTORNEYS AND BECAUSE WE ARE NOT DEAD OR HAVE A LIMB MISSING THEY CANT HELP US.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/20/2015 - PENN YAN, NY
I RECENTLY WAS IN CAR ACCIDENT AND MY AIR BAGS NEVER DEPLOYED. I CHECKED INTO THIS WITH CRYSLER COMPANY. ACCORDING TO THEM THERE WAS A RECALL, BUT I NEVER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE RECALL. MY CAR IS SITTING IN FINGERLAKES COLLISION BODY SHOP UNTOUCHED BECAUSE OF LIABILITY ISSUES. CHRYSLER TOOK MY INFORMATION DOWN BUT HAS RESPONDED WITH MY COMPLAINT. MY COMPLAINT NUMBER WITH CYSLER IS 26291789. THE BODY SHOP NUMBER IS 315-568-6390. CHRIS REPLIED THAT IT TAKES A LOT OF POWER TO HAVE THE BAGS GO OFF. I SAID THE SEAT BELTS HURT US, TOT HE POINT OF BRUIZES AROUND NECK, SHOULDERS, AND BACK.I HAVE TALKEN TO SEVERAL ATTORNEYS AND BECAUSE WE ARE NOT DEAD OR HAVE A LIMB MISSING THEY CANT HELP US.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/19/2015 - N. BRADDOCK, PA
ON JANUARY 3, 2015, COMPLAINANT WAS DRIVING A FRIEND TO WORK AT APPROXIMATELY 9 A.M. WHEN COMPLAINANT LOST TOTAL CONTROL OF HIS 2012 DODGE AVENGER DUE TO ICE COVERING THE ENTIRETY OF THE STREETS CAUSING COMPLAINANT TO SLIDE TWO (2) BLOCKS TOWARDS AN OVERHANGING CLIFF WHERE PLAINTIFF HAD A HEAD ON COLLISION WITH A HUGH TREE TOTALING HIS 2012 DODGE AVENGER. AT THE INSTANT OF COLLISION, THERE WAS A STRANGE AND PUNGENT ODOR THAT PERMEATED THE INTERIOR OF THE AUTOMOBILE WHEN BOTH FRONT AIRBAGS CAME OUT BUT FAILED TO INFLATE AND TO OFFER ANY SUPPORT. THE AIRBAGS ONLY STAYED LAYING FLAT ON THE STEERING COLUMN AND THE PASSENGER SIDE DASHBOARD. AT THE INSTANT OF COLLISION, COMPLAINANT STRUCK HIS FOREHEAD AGAINST THE STEERING COLUMN CAUSING COMPLAINT SEVERE NECK TRAUMA, SEVERE SPINAL TRAUMA, SEVERE BACK TRAUMA AND SEVERE HIP TRAUMA... COMPLAINANT WAS WEARING HIS SEAT BELT AT THE TIME AND SO WAS THE PASSENGER. AT THE TIME OF COLLISION THE PASSENGER STRUCK HER ENTIRE FACE AGAINST THE PASSENGER SIDE DASHBOARD WHERE THE MALFUNCTIONING AIRBAG.... AT NO TIME DID THE AIRBAGS INFLATE AND THERE WAS SO SORT OF ELECTRICAL PROBLEM BEFORE THE AIRBAGS CAME OUT THAT GAVE OFF A VERY DISTURBING ODOR... THE WRECKED CAR IS PRESENTLY AT THE PROGRESSIVE INSURANCE AUTO AUCTION AND THE TELEPHONE NUMBER THERE IS 724 443 7881... I AM REQUESTING THAT AN INVESTIGATION BE DONE TO DETERMINE THAT BOTH FRONT AIRBAGS DID NOT INFLATE AND OFFER PROTECTION... BOTH AIRBAGS APPEARED TO BE DAMAGED... ALSO THERE WAS A RECALL ON THAT PRODUCT IN EARLY 2014 AND COMPLAINANT BELIEVES THAT WHATEVER DODGE OF MONROEVILLE DID DURING THIS RECALL WAS NOT APPROPRIATE AND WAS IN VIOLATION OF FEDERAL SAFETY AND WARRANTY LAWS....

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/19/2015 - N. BRADDOCK, PA
ON JANUARY 3, 2015, COMPLAINANT WAS DRIVING A FRIEND TO WORK AT APPROXIMATELY 9 A.M. WHEN COMPLAINANT LOST TOTAL CONTROL OF HIS 2012 DODGE AVENGER DUE TO ICE COVERING THE ENTIRETY OF THE STREETS CAUSING COMPLAINANT TO SLIDE TWO (2) BLOCKS TOWARDS AN OVERHANGING CLIFF WHERE PLAINTIFF HAD A HEAD ON COLLISION WITH A HUGH TREE TOTALING HIS 2012 DODGE AVENGER. AT THE INSTANT OF COLLISION, THERE WAS A STRANGE AND PUNGENT ODOR THAT PERMEATED THE INTERIOR OF THE AUTOMOBILE WHEN BOTH FRONT AIRBAGS CAME OUT BUT FAILED TO INFLATE AND TO OFFER ANY SUPPORT. THE AIRBAGS ONLY STAYED LAYING FLAT ON THE STEERING COLUMN AND THE PASSENGER SIDE DASHBOARD. AT THE INSTANT OF COLLISION, COMPLAINANT STRUCK HIS FOREHEAD AGAINST THE STEERING COLUMN CAUSING COMPLAINT SEVERE NECK TRAUMA, SEVERE SPINAL TRAUMA, SEVERE BACK TRAUMA AND SEVERE HIP TRAUMA... COMPLAINANT WAS WEARING HIS SEAT BELT AT THE TIME AND SO WAS THE PASSENGER. AT THE TIME OF COLLISION THE PASSENGER STRUCK HER ENTIRE FACE AGAINST THE PASSENGER SIDE DASHBOARD WHERE THE MALFUNCTIONING AIRBAG.... AT NO TIME DID THE AIRBAGS INFLATE AND THERE WAS SO SORT OF ELECTRICAL PROBLEM BEFORE THE AIRBAGS CAME OUT THAT GAVE OFF A VERY DISTURBING ODOR... THE WRECKED CAR IS PRESENTLY AT THE PROGRESSIVE INSURANCE AUTO AUCTION AND THE TELEPHONE NUMBER THERE IS 724 443 7881... I AM REQUESTING THAT AN INVESTIGATION BE DONE TO DETERMINE THAT BOTH FRONT AIRBAGS DID NOT INFLATE AND OFFER PROTECTION... BOTH AIRBAGS APPEARED TO BE DAMAGED... ALSO THERE WAS A RECALL ON THAT PRODUCT IN EARLY 2014 AND COMPLAINANT BELIEVES THAT WHATEVER DODGE OF MONROEVILLE DID DURING THIS RECALL WAS NOT APPROPRIATE AND WAS IN VIOLATION OF FEDERAL SAFETY AND WARRANTY LAWS....

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

1/15/2015 - STANTON, KY
HEAT DOES NOT WORK ON PASSENGER SIDE DEFROST OR VENTS. THIS CAUSES A SAFETY ISSUE WHEN LOOKING OUT THE PASSENGER SIDE WINDSHIELD AND PASSENGER DOOR WINDOW. THE WINDOWS FOG UP AND IT IS DIFFICULT TO LOOK OUT THE WINDOWS WHEN TURNING OR CHANGING LANES.

View Details

ENGINE

1/12/2015 - CARTHAGE, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 DODGE AVENGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN IN FOR AN OIL CHANGE, THE TECHNICIAN NOTIFIED HER THAT THE VEHICLE WAS LEAKING OIL. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BOLTS THAT HELD DOWN THE OIL PAN WERE LOOSE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, WHERE THE BOLTS WERE TIGHTENED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 34,800.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

1/11/2015 - BYRON, GA
MY 2012 DODGE AVENGER SXT IS HAVING WIPER AND AC PROBLEMS. MY WIPERS GO ON AND OFF BY ITS SELF THIS BEEN GOING ON FOR THE PAST YEAR I'VE TAKEN THE CAR TO TWO DEALERSHIPS AND THEY TOLD ME THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE CAR. I HAVE VIDEOS OF THE CAR LOCKED AND THE WIPERS ARE GOING OFF BY ITS SELF. WHEN DRIVING IN ACCLIMATE WEATHER THE WIPERS WILL STOP WORKING. THE AC HAVE BEGAN MAKING A CLICKING NOISE WHILE TURNED ON OR OFF. NOT SURE WHATS CAUSING THE NOISE. THE NOISE BEGAN AFTER TAKING IT TO THE DEALERSHIP TO DO A RE-WIRING FOR THE WIPERS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/11/2015 - BYRON, GA
MY 2012 DODGE AVENGER SXT IS HAVING WIPER AND AC PROBLEMS. MY WIPERS GO ON AND OFF BY ITS SELF THIS BEEN GOING ON FOR THE PAST YEAR I'VE TAKEN THE CAR TO TWO DEALERSHIPS AND THEY TOLD ME THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE CAR. I HAVE VIDEOS OF THE CAR LOCKED AND THE WIPERS ARE GOING OFF BY ITS SELF. WHEN DRIVING IN ACCLIMATE WEATHER THE WIPERS WILL STOP WORKING. THE AC HAVE BEGAN MAKING A CLICKING NOISE WHILE TURNED ON OR OFF. NOT SURE WHATS CAUSING THE NOISE. THE NOISE BEGAN AFTER TAKING IT TO THE DEALERSHIP TO DO A RE-WIRING FOR THE WIPERS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/9/2015 - BROOKLYN PARK, MN
WITHOUT CAUSE, THE AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON. AFTER INVESTIGATING THE ISSUE, I FIND THAT MY CAR HAD A RECALL FOR THE TIPM, WHICH WAS NOT DONE. I THEN HAD THE TIPM RESET, HOWEVER IT DID NOT TURN THE LIGHT OUT. THEN I HAD A DIAGNOSTIC TEST DONE THAT CAME UP WITH A CODE OF B2208, WHICH OF COURSE WARRANTY DOESN'T COVER. THIS MODULE SHOULD BE REPLACED BY CHRYSLER FOR THE 2012 AVENGER AS WELL.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds