Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE AVENGER - 2012 DODGE AVENGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 142 complaints filed for the 2012 DODGE AVENGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 DODGE AVENGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 DODGE AVENGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (47) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (4) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Electrical System (37) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (10) Suspension (9) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (22) Power Train (18) Steering (10) Unknown Or Other (9) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

8/19/2016 - FORT HOOD, TX
BOUGHT A BRAND NEW 2012 AVENGER SE WITH A 3.6L. THE CAR HAS SHAKEN VIOLENTLY AT SPEEDS ABOVE 45 MPH. IT HAS BEEN TO THE DEALER UNDER WARRANTY 6 TIMES FOR THE ISSUE, AND NO FAULTS WE'RE FOUND. THE CAR IS PAST IT'S WARRANTY, AND THE DEALER NOW WANTS AN ARM AND A LEG TO DIAGNOSE THE ISSUE. THE VIBRATION IS ONLY GETTING WORSE AND WORSE. THE FRONT SUSPENSION HAS BEEN CHECKED NUMEROUS TIMES, AND EVERYTHING SEEMS FINE, THE REAR STRUTS WE'RE JUST REPLACED, WHICH HELPED THE VIBRATION UNDER 60 MPH, HOWEVER IT STILL VIBRATES. CAR WENT TO THE DEALER WITH 8000 MILES ON IT DUE TO PASSENGER SIDE WINDOW ISSUES, WHERE THE DEALER ONCE AGAIN FOUND NOTHING WRONG. LEFT THE DEALERSHIP, AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON FOR AN O2 SENSOR. THE WIRES HAD BEEN PINCHED SO BAD, THAT IT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED AS WELL. WE HAVE BEEN THROUGH 6 SETS OF TIRES IN 4 YEARS. CAR CURRENTLY HAS 90,000 MILES ON IT, AND VIBRATION GETS WORSE EVERY DAY.

View Details

STEERING

8/19/2016 - FORT HOOD, TX
BOUGHT A BRAND NEW 2012 AVENGER SE WITH A 3.6L. THE CAR HAS SHAKEN VIOLENTLY AT SPEEDS ABOVE 45 MPH. IT HAS BEEN TO THE DEALER UNDER WARRANTY 6 TIMES FOR THE ISSUE, AND NO FAULTS WE'RE FOUND. THE CAR IS PAST IT'S WARRANTY, AND THE DEALER NOW WANTS AN ARM AND A LEG TO DIAGNOSE THE ISSUE. THE VIBRATION IS ONLY GETTING WORSE AND WORSE. THE FRONT SUSPENSION HAS BEEN CHECKED NUMEROUS TIMES, AND EVERYTHING SEEMS FINE, THE REAR STRUTS WE'RE JUST REPLACED, WHICH HELPED THE VIBRATION UNDER 60 MPH, HOWEVER IT STILL VIBRATES. CAR WENT TO THE DEALER WITH 8000 MILES ON IT DUE TO PASSENGER SIDE WINDOW ISSUES, WHERE THE DEALER ONCE AGAIN FOUND NOTHING WRONG. LEFT THE DEALERSHIP, AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON FOR AN O2 SENSOR. THE WIRES HAD BEEN PINCHED SO BAD, THAT IT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED AS WELL. WE HAVE BEEN THROUGH 6 SETS OF TIRES IN 4 YEARS. CAR CURRENTLY HAS 90,000 MILES ON IT, AND VIBRATION GETS WORSE EVERY DAY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/18/2016 - HEBER CITY, UT
ETC REPLACEMENT. VEHICLE WILL JUMP, STALL, OR STUTTER IN THE MIDDLE OF DRIVING. YOU WONT BE ABLE TO PUSH ON THE GAS PEDAL FOR A WHILE AND WILL CAUSE DAMAGE TO ENGINE AND TRANSMISSION.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/7/2016 - HAYMARKET, VA
AIR BAG LIGHT STAYED ON. TOOK CAR IN FOR N38 SAFETY RECALL DIDNOT FIX PROBLEM. CHARGED$135 FOR DIAGNOSTIC WHICH SAID BAD ORC MODULE. FOUND OUT THAT DODGE REPLACED THE ORC ON 2011 MODEL AND THE 2012 OF OTHER MODELS BUT NOT AVENGER. OTHER PEOPLE COMPLAIN OF SAME DEFECT NOW THEY WANT +565 TO FIX

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/20/2016 - GOSHEN, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 DODGE AVENGER. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE STEERING, BRAKE, AND ACCELERATOR PEDAL LOCKED UP WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT HAD TO TURN OFF AND RESTART THE VEHICLE IN ORDER FOR IT TO RESUME NORMAL OPERATION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 10,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/8/2016 - CHESTERFIELD, MI
AIRBAG LIGHT COMES ON INTERMITTENTLY. DEALERSHIP CORRECTED PROBLEM IN AUGUST 2015 AND IT CAME BACK ON JUNE 2016. WAS TOLD THE WORK WILL NOT BE COVERED BY DODGE. I LOOKED UP A RECALL FOR 2012 DODGE AVENGER AIR BAGS BUT WAS TOLD THIS RECALL DOES NOT APPLY TO MY VEHICLE. OCCURS WHEN CAR IS STATIONARY AND IN MOTION ON ALL TERRAINS. LIGHT WILL TURN OFF OCCASIONALLY AND THEN TURN BACK ON.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/5/2016 - NORCROSS, GA
MY PASSENGER AIRBAG LIGHT COMES ON AN OFF NO MATTER IF ANYONE IS IN THE SEAT OR NOT. TOOK MY CAR TO DODGE WAS TOLD THERES NO RECALL YET I LOOKED UP MY CAR IN FRONT OF THE SERVICE GUY SHOWED HIM THE INFORMATION HE TOLD ME THAT WASN'T TRUE I WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR MY CAR TO BE CHECK. ALSO MY WINDSHIELD WIPERS COME ON WHEN THEY WANT TO YET THERE'S A RECALL FOR THAT AS WELL AN SERVICE CONTINUE TO SAY THE INFORMATION NOT TRUE. DO THEY JUST NOT WONT TO FIX IT. BOTH ARE SO TO THE TOTALLY INTEGRATED POWER MODULE (TIPM) , WHICH IS A CONTROL MODUAL THAT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

7/5/2016 - NORCROSS, GA
MY PASSENGER AIRBAG LIGHT COMES ON AN OFF NO MATTER IF ANYONE IS IN THE SEAT OR NOT. TOOK MY CAR TO DODGE WAS TOLD THERES NO RECALL YET I LOOKED UP MY CAR IN FRONT OF THE SERVICE GUY SHOWED HIM THE INFORMATION HE TOLD ME THAT WASN'T TRUE I WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR MY CAR TO BE CHECK. ALSO MY WINDSHIELD WIPERS COME ON WHEN THEY WANT TO YET THERE'S A RECALL FOR THAT AS WELL AN SERVICE CONTINUE TO SAY THE INFORMATION NOT TRUE. DO THEY JUST NOT WONT TO FIX IT. BOTH ARE SO TO THE TOTALLY INTEGRATED POWER MODULE (TIPM) , WHICH IS A CONTROL MODUAL THAT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/28/2016 - EDMOND, OK
CONSISTENT INTERMITTENT FAILURE OF DRIVER'S HEADREST AIRBAG. SERVICE CENTER CANNOT DETERMINE A FIX. ISSUE OCCURS WHEN VEHICLE IS IN MOTION OR STATIONARY ON ALL ROAD TYPES AND WEATHER.

View Details

ENGINE

6/20/2016 - KENDALL, NY
POOR HEATING SYSTEM PERFORMANCE. SLUDGE BUILDS UP IN THE COOLING SYSTEM AND RESTRICTS COOLANT FLOW TO THE HEATER CORE CAUSING LOSS OF HEAT IN THE PASSENGER COMPARTMENT. LOSS OF HEAT ALSO EFFECTS THE ABILITY TO DE-ICE OR PREVENT ICE AND SNOW BUILD UP ON THE WINDSHIELD IN COLD WEATHER OPERATION. THIS CAN CREATE A HAZARDOUS CONDITION AS VISIBILITY IS GREATLY REDUCED. CHRYSLER GROUP LLC HAS NO CAUSE FOR THE SLUDGE FORMATION. THE ONLY RESOLUTION IS TO REPLACE THE RADIATOR, OIL COOLER, HEATER CORE AND RADIATOR CAP AFTER COMPLETELY FLUSHING THE COOLING SYSTEM. THIS IS TO BE DONE AT THE OWNERS EXPENSE AND CAN COST OVER $2500.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds