Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE AVENGER - 2012 DODGE AVENGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 155 complaints filed for the 2012 DODGE AVENGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 DODGE AVENGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 DODGE AVENGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (51) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (5) Structure (11) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electrical System (44) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (10) Suspension (9) Visibility (8)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (22) Power Train (19) Steering (10) Unknown Or Other (9) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
 
ComplaintDescription

SEAT BELTS

12/1/2016 - SMITHVILLE FLATS, NY
I RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE FOR THE AIRBAGS AND SEAT BELTS IN MY AVENGER. THEY ARE SAYING THAT THE RESTRAINTS AND PROTECTIVE EQUIPMENT MAY OR MAY NOT WORK PROPERLY IN THE EVENT OF AN ACCIDENT. I FREQUENTLY CARRY MY CHILDREN AND GRANDCHILDREN IN THAT VEHICLE. CHRYSLER IS SAYING THAT THERE IS NO FIX FOR THIS PROBLEM AT THIS TIME. THEY ARE SAYING THAT THE PARTS ARE NOT EVEN DESIGNED - OR AVAILABLE, AND WILL NOT BE UNTIL THE SECOND QUARTER OF NEXT YEAR. I AM IN CONTACT WITH CHRYSLER - AND THEY HAVE OFFERED TO PAY FOR A RENTAL VEHICLE USING MY CREDIT CARD - AND THEN REIMBURSE ME. HOWEVER, THIS COULD GO ON FOR MONTHS AND MONTHS. I DO NOT THINK THAT THEY HAVE PROPERLY NOTIFIED THE AMERICAN PUBLIC OF THE DANGERS OF THE FAILURE OF THE SAFETY EQUIPMENT. I DO NOT THINK THAT I SHOULD HAVE ANY RESPONSIBILITY FOR PROVIDING THEM WITH MY CREDIT CARD TO OBTAIN A SAFE VEHICLE WHEN I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE IN GOOD FAITH THAT IT WAS SAFE AND SOUND. PLEASE HELP ME.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/1/2016 - SMITHVILLE FLATS, NY
I RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE FOR THE AIRBAGS AND SEAT BELTS IN MY AVENGER. THEY ARE SAYING THAT THE RESTRAINTS AND PROTECTIVE EQUIPMENT MAY OR MAY NOT WORK PROPERLY IN THE EVENT OF AN ACCIDENT. I FREQUENTLY CARRY MY CHILDREN AND GRANDCHILDREN IN THAT VEHICLE. CHRYSLER IS SAYING THAT THERE IS NO FIX FOR THIS PROBLEM AT THIS TIME. THEY ARE SAYING THAT THE PARTS ARE NOT EVEN DESIGNED - OR AVAILABLE, AND WILL NOT BE UNTIL THE SECOND QUARTER OF NEXT YEAR. I AM IN CONTACT WITH CHRYSLER - AND THEY HAVE OFFERED TO PAY FOR A RENTAL VEHICLE USING MY CREDIT CARD - AND THEN REIMBURSE ME. HOWEVER, THIS COULD GO ON FOR MONTHS AND MONTHS. I DO NOT THINK THAT THEY HAVE PROPERLY NOTIFIED THE AMERICAN PUBLIC OF THE DANGERS OF THE FAILURE OF THE SAFETY EQUIPMENT. I DO NOT THINK THAT I SHOULD HAVE ANY RESPONSIBILITY FOR PROVIDING THEM WITH MY CREDIT CARD TO OBTAIN A SAFE VEHICLE WHEN I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE IN GOOD FAITH THAT IT WAS SAFE AND SOUND. PLEASE HELP ME.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/29/2016 - BELCOURT, ND
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 DODGE AVENGER. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V668000 (AIR BAGS); HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/27/2016 - BROWN SUMMIT, NC
HEAT NOT WORKING ON PASSENGER-SIDE THE HEAT DOES WORK ON DRIVER-SIDE CHRYSLER KNOWS ABOUT THE PROBLEM THEY EVEN HAVE A CASE NUMBER BUT NO RECALL YET THE CASE NUMBER IS S1207000008 A LOT OF PEOPLE HAVE CALLED CHRYSLER ABOUT THIS PROBLEM BUT CHRYSLER IS DOING NOTHING ABOUT THE PROBLEM.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/15/2016 - COLUMBIA, SC
I PURCHASED MY DODGE AVENGER IN THE MONTH OF JUNE AND IT HAS BEEN RUNNING FINE. THE ONLY PROBLEM THAT I HAVE WITH MY CAR IS THE FACT THAT THE PASSENGER'S SIDE BLOWS OUT COLD AIR. I WAS NOT AWARE THAT THE CAR DID THAT UNTIL THE WEATHER CHANGED AND IT WAS TIME TO USE MY HEAT. I LOOKED ONLINE BEFORE FILLING OUT THIS FORM AND IT TURNS OUT THAT ALMOST EVERYONE WHO PURCHASED THIS PARTICULAR VEHICLE HAS HAD THE SAME PROBLEM AS WELL. ALSO EVERYONE SAYS THAT THEY DON'T KNOW WHY THIS PROBLEM OCCURS. I'VE ONLY HAD MY CAR FOR 4 MONTHS AND EVERYTHING ELSE WORKS FINE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/28/2016 - SUMTER, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 DODGE AVENGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM EXPERIENCED OVERHEATING AND THE BATTERY WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE STARTER HAD OVERHEATED. THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL BURNING ODOR PRESENT. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. PRIOR TO THE FAILURE, THE ALTERNATOR AND STARTER WERE REPLACED. IN ADDITION, AFTER THE STARTER WAS REPLACED, THE VEHICLE WAS NO LONGER ABLE TO BE STARTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 65,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/19/2016 - OLIVE BRANCH, MS
MY CAR HESITATES AND JERKS VICIOUSLY WHENEVER I ACCELERATE. I ONLY HAD THE CAR 9 MONTHS. I DID RESEARCH AND NOTICED THIS YEAR CAR HAS A RECALL ON IT BUT I HAVE YET BEEN NOTIFIED BY MY DEALER. I JUST WANT TO KNOW WHAT'S THE PROBLEM AND WILL I RECEIVE ANY RECALL ASSISTANTS ??

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/19/2016 - LONGVIEW, WA
THE VEHICLE WAS TRAVELING STRAIGHT FORWARD DOWN A FLAT THREE-LANE ROAD. THE VEHICLE WAS GOING ABOUT 45-50 MILES PER HOUR. THE DRIVER FELL ASLEEP AND IT CROSSED TWO LANES AND ROLLED MULTIPLE TIMES DOWN A 30 FOOT EMBANKMENT. IT CAME TO A REST RIGHT SIDE UP. NONE OF THE AIRBAGS DEPLOYED DESPITE EXTENSIVE DAMAGE RESULTING IN A TOTAL LOSS OF THE VEHICLE. IN THE SIX MONTHS PRIOR TO THIS THERE WAS INTERMITTENT ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS AFFECTING INTERIOR LIGHTING AND POWER WINDOW FUNCTIONING THAT COULDN'T BE IDENTIFIED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/19/2016 - LONGVIEW, WA
THE VEHICLE WAS TRAVELING STRAIGHT FORWARD DOWN A FLAT THREE-LANE ROAD. THE VEHICLE WAS GOING ABOUT 45-50 MILES PER HOUR. THE DRIVER FELL ASLEEP AND IT CROSSED TWO LANES AND ROLLED MULTIPLE TIMES DOWN A 30 FOOT EMBANKMENT. IT CAME TO A REST RIGHT SIDE UP. NONE OF THE AIRBAGS DEPLOYED DESPITE EXTENSIVE DAMAGE RESULTING IN A TOTAL LOSS OF THE VEHICLE. IN THE SIX MONTHS PRIOR TO THIS THERE WAS INTERMITTENT ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS AFFECTING INTERIOR LIGHTING AND POWER WINDOW FUNCTIONING THAT COULDN'T BE IDENTIFIED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/18/2016 - DAWSON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 DODGE AVENGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 45 MPH, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURE RECURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DETERMINED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT VARIOUS PARTS HAVE BEEN REPLACED HOWEVER, THE FAILURE WAS PERSISTENT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 177,553.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds