Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE AVENGER - 2012 DODGE AVENGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler Group LLC

There are 57 complaints filed for the 2012 DODGE AVENGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 DODGE AVENGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 DODGE AVENGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (14) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (5) Visibility (1)
Electrical System (13) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Service Brakes (5) Suspension (8) Visibility Wiper (2)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Vehicle Speed Control (2) Wheels (2)
Engine (6) Power Train (12) Steering (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/12/2014 - ELKHART, IN
THE THROTTLE BODY ON MY CAR HAS TO BE REPLACED. MY SON HAS HAD NUMEROUS INCIDENTS OF THE CAR RUNNING ROUGH, SEEMINGLY NOT GETTING ENOUGH GAS, AND THE FINAL STRAW BEFORE TAKING TO THE SHOP WAS WHEN IT THE ENGINE DIED AS HE WAS DRIVING. THIS CAR IS ONLY THREE YEARS OLD WITH APPROXIMATELY 62,000 MILES ON IT. IT IS NOT AT ALL ACCEPTABLE FOR THIS PART TO GO BAD GIVEN THE AGE / MILES OF THE CAR. AFTER SPEAKING WITH SEVERAL SHOP OWNERS AND TECHNICIANS, I'VE FOUND THAT THIS HAS BEEN A COMMON FAILURE ON LATE MODEL DODGE VEHICLES. IN ADDITION THE THE THROTTLE FAILURE, HE HAS NO HEAT COMING IN THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE CAR. ONLY COLD AIR AS IF SOMETHING IS STUCK OPEN. THIS BEGAN THE LATER PART OF LAST WINTER WHEN THE CAR WAS JUST TWO YEARS OLD. HE JUST DEALT WITH IT AT THE TIME DUE TO LACK OF MONEY. WITH WINTER COMING, THIS WILL NEED TO BE ADDRESSED RIGHT AWAY AS WELL. THEN WE HAVE THE POWER MIRROR NOT WORKING ON ONE SIDE. WHICH ALSO BEGAN LAST YEAR. AND LAST BUT NOT LEAST, THE AIRBAG LIGHT IS ON. I DID SEE THAT THERE IS A RECALL HAVING TO DO WITH ONE OF THE AIRBAGS. I WILL SCHEDULE THAT RIGHT AWAY, BUT IT REMAINS TO BE SEEN IF THAT IS WHY THE AIRBAG LIGHT IS ON.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/12/2014 - ELKHART, IN
THE THROTTLE BODY ON MY CAR HAS TO BE REPLACED. MY SON HAS HAD NUMEROUS INCIDENTS OF THE CAR RUNNING ROUGH, SEEMINGLY NOT GETTING ENOUGH GAS, AND THE FINAL STRAW BEFORE TAKING TO THE SHOP WAS WHEN IT THE ENGINE DIED AS HE WAS DRIVING. THIS CAR IS ONLY THREE YEARS OLD WITH APPROXIMATELY 62,000 MILES ON IT. IT IS NOT AT ALL ACCEPTABLE FOR THIS PART TO GO BAD GIVEN THE AGE / MILES OF THE CAR. AFTER SPEAKING WITH SEVERAL SHOP OWNERS AND TECHNICIANS, I'VE FOUND THAT THIS HAS BEEN A COMMON FAILURE ON LATE MODEL DODGE VEHICLES. IN ADDITION THE THE THROTTLE FAILURE, HE HAS NO HEAT COMING IN THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE CAR. ONLY COLD AIR AS IF SOMETHING IS STUCK OPEN. THIS BEGAN THE LATER PART OF LAST WINTER WHEN THE CAR WAS JUST TWO YEARS OLD. HE JUST DEALT WITH IT AT THE TIME DUE TO LACK OF MONEY. WITH WINTER COMING, THIS WILL NEED TO BE ADDRESSED RIGHT AWAY AS WELL. THEN WE HAVE THE POWER MIRROR NOT WORKING ON ONE SIDE. WHICH ALSO BEGAN LAST YEAR. AND LAST BUT NOT LEAST, THE AIRBAG LIGHT IS ON. I DID SEE THAT THERE IS A RECALL HAVING TO DO WITH ONE OF THE AIRBAGS. I WILL SCHEDULE THAT RIGHT AWAY, BUT IT REMAINS TO BE SEEN IF THAT IS WHY THE AIRBAG LIGHT IS ON.

View Details

ENGINE

10/28/2014 - FARMVILLE, NC
LACK OF HEAT IN THE CAR. THE SYSTEM WAS FLUSHED AND FOUND A HUGE AMOUNT OF SLUDGE BUILD UP DUE IN THE HEATER CORE. THE WINDSHIELD WOULD NOT DEFROST ENOUGH FOR THE CAR TO BE DRIVEN. WE HAD A FAMILY EMERGENCY AND COULD NOT DRIVE IT. THE SYSTEM COULD FAIL DURING A DRIVE CYCLE OF DAY WITH EXTREME COLD WEATHER AND PUT MY FAMILY IN DANGER. DODGE HAS ADMITTED IT WAS DUE TO A CASTING PROBLEM. I CAN NOT SELL THIS VEHICLE OR I WILL BE UPSIDE DOWN IN THE VALUE. THE COST OF THE FIX AT THE DEALER SHIP IS OVER $1200.

View Details

ENGINE

10/17/2014 - BUFFALO GROVE, IL
ASHLEY WAS DRIVING DOWN THE 294 EXPRESSWAY AND THE CAR JUST TURNED OFF ALL ELECTRIC ITEMS WENT DEAD. I CALLED FOR A TOW AND WAS AT THE DEALERSHIP 3 TO 4 DAYS. DEALER MECHANIC TOOK CAR HOME SAME THING HAPPENED TO HIM NEEDED A TOW TO THE SHOP. THEN ON 10/13 THE CAR WOULDNT START AGAIN. THE ALTERNATOR WAS REPLACED FROM FIRST VISIT AND DODGE SAYS NO CODES ARE COMING UP AND ARE NOT FIXING ANYTHING. MY GUESS IT WILL CONTINUE HAPPENING UNTIL FURTHER INVESTIGATED BY DODGE

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/17/2014 - BUFFALO GROVE, IL
ASHLEY WAS DRIVING DOWN THE 294 EXPRESSWAY AND THE CAR JUST TURNED OFF ALL ELECTRIC ITEMS WENT DEAD. I CALLED FOR A TOW AND WAS AT THE DEALERSHIP 3 TO 4 DAYS. DEALER MECHANIC TOOK CAR HOME SAME THING HAPPENED TO HIM NEEDED A TOW TO THE SHOP. THEN ON 10/13 THE CAR WOULDNT START AGAIN. THE ALTERNATOR WAS REPLACED FROM FIRST VISIT AND DODGE SAYS NO CODES ARE COMING UP AND ARE NOT FIXING ANYTHING. MY GUESS IT WILL CONTINUE HAPPENING UNTIL FURTHER INVESTIGATED BY DODGE

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/9/2014 - CHATSWORTH, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 DODGE AVENGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, WHERE THE HEAD RESTRAINT FAILURE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE AIRBAG LIGHT REMAINED ILLUMINATED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 52,120.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/18/2014 - GENOA, OH
WHILE DRIVING THROUGH THE MOUNTAINS IN MARYLAND,I APPLIED THE BRAKES AND THE ENTIRE CAR SHUDDERED. THE ROTORS WERE APPARENTLY WARPED AND THE CAR WAS DIFFICULT TO SLOW DOWN OR STOP. THE MORE THE BRAKE TEMPERATURE INCREASED THE MORE DIFFICULT IT BECAME TO SLOW THE VEHICLE DOWN. MOST OF THE MILEAGE ON THE CAR IS HIGHWAY OR COUNTRY ROADS, AS I LIVE IN A SUBURBAN AREA. THE BRAKES STILL ACT UP IN FLAT AREAS JUST NOT AS BAD AS THEY DID IN THE MOUNTAINS. I HAVE A SIX SPEED 2.4L, 4 CYLINDER IN THE AVENGER. BEFORE AND AFTER HAVING THE TRANSMISSION FLUSHED THE TRANSMISSION WOULD DOWNSHIFT HARD BETWEEN 3RD AND 2ND GEAR AND 2ND AND 1ST GEAR. WHEN I BACKED OUT AND PUT THE CAR IN DRIVE, IF YOU DIDN'T WAIT FOR ABOUT THREE SECONDS PRIOR TO ACCELERATING THE TRANSMISSION WOULD SLIP THEN BANG INTO GEAR A TAKE OFF. THE ENTIRE TRANSMISSION WAS REBUILT BUT YOU STILL HAVE TO WAIT FOR IT TO LOCK INTO DRIVE BEFORE TAKING OFF. THE TRANSMISSION WAS REBUILT WITH 36,000 MILES ON IT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/18/2014 - GENOA, OH
WHILE DRIVING THROUGH THE MOUNTAINS IN MARYLAND,I APPLIED THE BRAKES AND THE ENTIRE CAR SHUDDERED. THE ROTORS WERE APPARENTLY WARPED AND THE CAR WAS DIFFICULT TO SLOW DOWN OR STOP. THE MORE THE BRAKE TEMPERATURE INCREASED THE MORE DIFFICULT IT BECAME TO SLOW THE VEHICLE DOWN. MOST OF THE MILEAGE ON THE CAR IS HIGHWAY OR COUNTRY ROADS, AS I LIVE IN A SUBURBAN AREA. THE BRAKES STILL ACT UP IN FLAT AREAS JUST NOT AS BAD AS THEY DID IN THE MOUNTAINS. I HAVE A SIX SPEED 2.4L, 4 CYLINDER IN THE AVENGER. BEFORE AND AFTER HAVING THE TRANSMISSION FLUSHED THE TRANSMISSION WOULD DOWNSHIFT HARD BETWEEN 3RD AND 2ND GEAR AND 2ND AND 1ST GEAR. WHEN I BACKED OUT AND PUT THE CAR IN DRIVE, IF YOU DIDN'T WAIT FOR ABOUT THREE SECONDS PRIOR TO ACCELERATING THE TRANSMISSION WOULD SLIP THEN BANG INTO GEAR A TAKE OFF. THE ENTIRE TRANSMISSION WAS REBUILT BUT YOU STILL HAVE TO WAIT FOR IT TO LOCK INTO DRIVE BEFORE TAKING OFF. THE TRANSMISSION WAS REBUILT WITH 36,000 MILES ON IT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/30/2014 - VICTORIA, TX
WILL NOT SHIFT INTO DRIVE UNTIL SPEED REACHES 45 - 50 MPH. CAN NOT ACCELERATE OVER 4000 RPM AT ANY TIME. UNABLE TO PASS OTHER SLOW MOVING VEHICLES AT A REASONABLE SPEED. HAVE TAKEN THE VEHICLE INTO THE DODGE SERVICE CENTER, EXPLAINED WHAT WAS HAPPENING, AND WAS TOLD "NOTHING IS WRONG WITH IT BECAUSE THERE IS NO SENSOR LIGHT ON"

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/30/2014 - VICTORIA, TX
WILL NOT SHIFT INTO DRIVE UNTIL SPEED REACHES 45 - 50 MPH. CAN NOT ACCELERATE OVER 4000 RPM AT ANY TIME. UNABLE TO PASS OTHER SLOW MOVING VEHICLES AT A REASONABLE SPEED. HAVE TAKEN THE VEHICLE INTO THE DODGE SERVICE CENTER, EXPLAINED WHAT WAS HAPPENING, AND WAS TOLD "NOTHING IS WRONG WITH IT BECAUSE THERE IS NO SENSOR LIGHT ON"

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds