Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE AVENGER - 2012 DODGE AVENGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 131 complaints filed for the 2012 DODGE AVENGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 DODGE AVENGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 DODGE AVENGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (41) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (4) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Electrical System (35) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (10) Suspension (8) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (21) Power Train (16) Steering (9) Unknown Or Other (11) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

4/5/2016 - KILLEEN, TX
CAR HAS ONLY 50,000 MILES AND HAVE HAD TO REPLACE RACK AND PINION SEVEN MONTHS AGO. NOW THE CLOCK SPRING IS BAD IN STEERING RESULTING IN BORROWED TIME FOR AIR BAG. SO, IF WE DO NOT REPLACE THIS FOR THE COST OF $500, MY AIR BAG WILL NOT DEPLOY IN THE EVENT OF AN ACCIDENT, RESULTING IN POSSIBLE DEATH. THIS ISSUE NEEDS TO BE LOOKED AT AS SOON AS POSSIBLE WITH DODGE AVENGERS (2012). THERE SHOULD BE NO REASON MY STEERING WHEEL SHOULD HAVE THIS MANY ISSUES STARTING AT 35,000 MILES AND STILL CONTINUING. IF AN AIR BAG DOES NOT DEPLOY UPON IMPACT AND MYSELF, OR MY CHILD, OR SOMEONE DIES AS A RESULT OF THE FAULTY CLOCK SPRING AND AIR BAGS, IT WILL NOT BE A VERY GOOD SITUATION. THIS ISSUE NEEDS TO BE LOOKED AT IMMEDIATELY. MY CAR IS CURRENTLY AT THE DODGE AUTO SHOP AND I PURCHASED AN EXTENDED WARRANTY FROM MASTERTECH WHEN I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE, BUT APPARENTLY, MY WARRANTY DOES NOT COVER AIR BAGS. THIS IS SOMETHING I FEEL THAT NEEDS TO BE COVERED ON ALL WARRANTIES, PEOPLE'S LIVES ARE WORTH COVERING. PLEASE LOOK INTO THIS SAFETY ISSUE WITH MY CAR, AND OTHERS AS SOON AS POSSIBLE. THANK YOU.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/5/2016 - KILLEEN, TX
CAR HAS ONLY 50,000 MILES AND HAVE HAD TO REPLACE RACK AND PINION SEVEN MONTHS AGO. NOW THE CLOCK SPRING IS BAD IN STEERING RESULTING IN BORROWED TIME FOR AIR BAG. SO, IF WE DO NOT REPLACE THIS FOR THE COST OF $500, MY AIR BAG WILL NOT DEPLOY IN THE EVENT OF AN ACCIDENT, RESULTING IN POSSIBLE DEATH. THIS ISSUE NEEDS TO BE LOOKED AT AS SOON AS POSSIBLE WITH DODGE AVENGERS (2012). THERE SHOULD BE NO REASON MY STEERING WHEEL SHOULD HAVE THIS MANY ISSUES STARTING AT 35,000 MILES AND STILL CONTINUING. IF AN AIR BAG DOES NOT DEPLOY UPON IMPACT AND MYSELF, OR MY CHILD, OR SOMEONE DIES AS A RESULT OF THE FAULTY CLOCK SPRING AND AIR BAGS, IT WILL NOT BE A VERY GOOD SITUATION. THIS ISSUE NEEDS TO BE LOOKED AT IMMEDIATELY. MY CAR IS CURRENTLY AT THE DODGE AUTO SHOP AND I PURCHASED AN EXTENDED WARRANTY FROM MASTERTECH WHEN I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE, BUT APPARENTLY, MY WARRANTY DOES NOT COVER AIR BAGS. THIS IS SOMETHING I FEEL THAT NEEDS TO BE COVERED ON ALL WARRANTIES, PEOPLE'S LIVES ARE WORTH COVERING. PLEASE LOOK INTO THIS SAFETY ISSUE WITH MY CAR, AND OTHERS AS SOON AS POSSIBLE. THANK YOU.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/18/2016 - RIDGECREST, CA
THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. FEW DAYS LATER BEGAN HEARING A CLICKING UNDER THE DASHBOARD BEHIND THE GLOVE BOX. RECEIVED NOTICE FOR RECALL. DUE TO LOCATION NEAREST DODGE DEALERSHIP IS 2 HOURS AWAY. DECIDED TO WAIT. A SHORT TIME LATER, THE CAR BEGAN TO LOSE POWER BRIEFLY INTERMITTENTLY. ONCE AGAIN, DUE TO LOCATION DECIDED TO WAIT. TWO DAYS AGO THE CAR STALLED COMPLETELY WHILE TRAVELING AT 45 MILES PER HOUR. NO STEERING, NO BRAKES, NOTHING. SCARED ME. TRYING TO FIND SOMEONE LOCALLY TO LOOK AT IT. TODAY IT DIED IN THE MIDDLE OF A VERY BUSY INTERSECTION. ONCE AGAIN, COMING TO THE INTERSECTION THE CAR DROPPED BELOW 1,000 RPMS AND THEN DIES.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/18/2016 - RIDGECREST, CA
THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. FEW DAYS LATER BEGAN HEARING A CLICKING UNDER THE DASHBOARD BEHIND THE GLOVE BOX. RECEIVED NOTICE FOR RECALL. DUE TO LOCATION NEAREST DODGE DEALERSHIP IS 2 HOURS AWAY. DECIDED TO WAIT. A SHORT TIME LATER, THE CAR BEGAN TO LOSE POWER BRIEFLY INTERMITTENTLY. ONCE AGAIN, DUE TO LOCATION DECIDED TO WAIT. TWO DAYS AGO THE CAR STALLED COMPLETELY WHILE TRAVELING AT 45 MILES PER HOUR. NO STEERING, NO BRAKES, NOTHING. SCARED ME. TRYING TO FIND SOMEONE LOCALLY TO LOOK AT IT. TODAY IT DIED IN THE MIDDLE OF A VERY BUSY INTERSECTION. ONCE AGAIN, COMING TO THE INTERSECTION THE CAR DROPPED BELOW 1,000 RPMS AND THEN DIES.

View Details

ENGINE

3/18/2016 - RIDGECREST, CA
THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. FEW DAYS LATER BEGAN HEARING A CLICKING UNDER THE DASHBOARD BEHIND THE GLOVE BOX. RECEIVED NOTICE FOR RECALL. DUE TO LOCATION NEAREST DODGE DEALERSHIP IS 2 HOURS AWAY. DECIDED TO WAIT. A SHORT TIME LATER, THE CAR BEGAN TO LOSE POWER BRIEFLY INTERMITTENTLY. ONCE AGAIN, DUE TO LOCATION DECIDED TO WAIT. TWO DAYS AGO THE CAR STALLED COMPLETELY WHILE TRAVELING AT 45 MILES PER HOUR. NO STEERING, NO BRAKES, NOTHING. SCARED ME. TRYING TO FIND SOMEONE LOCALLY TO LOOK AT IT. TODAY IT DIED IN THE MIDDLE OF A VERY BUSY INTERSECTION. ONCE AGAIN, COMING TO THE INTERSECTION THE CAR DROPPED BELOW 1,000 RPMS AND THEN DIES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/14/2016 - JEFFERSON CITY, MO
MY AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON AND I TOOK IT IN FOR SERVICE AND THE LIGHT WENT OFF BUT NOW ITS BEEN BACK ON FOR MONTHS AND ALSO THE PASSENGER WINDOW HAS NOT BEEN WORKING, ITS BEEN STATIONARY AND I WAS OUT OF TOWN WHEN IT HAPPENED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/14/2016 - JEFFERSON CITY, MO
MY AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON AND I TOOK IT IN FOR SERVICE AND THE LIGHT WENT OFF BUT NOW ITS BEEN BACK ON FOR MONTHS AND ALSO THE PASSENGER WINDOW HAS NOT BEEN WORKING, ITS BEEN STATIONARY AND I WAS OUT OF TOWN WHEN IT HAPPENED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/27/2016 - MYRTLE BEACH, SC
THE HEATER IN THE CAR NOW ONLY BLOWS OUT HOT AIR ON THE DRIVERS SIDE. WHICH IN TURN ONLY CLEARS OFF HALF OF THE WINDSHIELD, MAKING THE VISIBILITY OF THE ROAD DIFFICULT. DURING THE CHANGES IN THE TEMPERATURE OUTSIDE AND THE HUMIDITY LEVELS IT IS IMPOSSIBLE TO GET A CLEAR VIEW OF THE ROAD. THIS CONDITION IS HAPPENING ALL THE TIME, THE CAR CAN BE IN PARK IDLING OR IN MOTION. THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE CAR CAN ONLY BLOW OUT COLD AIR AND DOES NOT CHANGE WITH THE TEMPERATURE DIAL.

View Details

VISIBILITY: DEFROSTER/DEFOGGER SYSTEM: WINDSHIELD: HEATER CORE

2/25/2016 - CHURUBUSCO, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 DODGE AVENGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE HEAT ON THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE STOPPED WORKING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/24/2016 - WHITEFIELD, ME
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 DODGE AVENGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE HEATER IN THE VEHICLE ON THE PASSENGER SIDE BLEW COLD AIR ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS AND THE DRIVER SIDE HEATER WORKED NORMALLY. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE ISSUE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds