Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE AVENGER - 2012 DODGE AVENGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 91 complaints filed for the 2012 DODGE AVENGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 DODGE AVENGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 DODGE AVENGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (29) Exterior Lighting (3) Seat Belts (3) Structure (9) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electrical System (22) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Service Brakes (6) Suspension (8) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine (13) Power Train (12) Steering (7) Unknown Or Other (9) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

6/17/2015 - WARNER ROBINS, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 DODGE AVENGER. WHILE DRIVING AT 25 MPH UPHILL, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING AND ROLLED DOWN THE HILL. CONSEQUENTLY, THE VEHICLE STRUCK A POLE ON THE DRIVER SIDE DOOR. THE DRIVER SUSTAINED MINOR INJURIES, BUT DID NOT REQUIRE MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART AFTER ONE ATTEMPT. THE FAILURE DID NOT RECUR. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 58,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/9/2015 - DEATSVILLE , AL
TOOK MY CAR TO DEALER FOR RECALL NOTICE A FEW DAYS BEFORE MY AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON WHEN I WAS AT DEALER THEY SAID THAT THE ORC MODULE NEEDED REPLACED I NOTICED IN MY RECALL NOTICE THAT IT WAS TO BE REPLACED IN 2011 MODEL BUT NOT 2012 PLEASE SEE BELOW : FOR 2012 AND 2013 MODEL JS VEHICLES: THE TOTALLY INTEGRATED POWER MODULE (TIPM) MUST BE REPROGRAMMED. FOR 2011 MODEL JS VEHICLES: THE OCCUPANT RESTRAINT CONTROL (ORC) MODULE MUST BE REPLACED. FOR 2011 AND 2012 MODEL KA VEHICLES: THE OCCUPANT RESTRAINT CONTROL (ORC) MODULE MUST BE REPLACED. FOR 2011 MODEL KK VEHICLES: THE OCCUPANT RESTRAINT CONTROL (ORC) MODULE MUST BE REPLACED. FOR 2012 MODEL KK VEHICLES: THE TOTALLY INTEGRATED POWER MODULE (TIPM) MUST BE REPROGRAMMED. I BELIEVE THIS PART ALSO SHOULD HAVE BEEN REPAIRED

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/5/2015 - SANFORD, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 DODGE AVENGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 91,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/21/2015 - OSKALOOSA, IA
LAST WEEK THE AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT CAME ON WHILE THE CAR WAS IN PARK.WE TOOK OUR 2012 DODGE AVENGER TO THE DEALER FOR A RECALL ON AN AIRBAG PROBLEM. THE DEALER "FLASHED" OR UPDATED THE TIOM. THE AIRBAG LIGHT REMAINED ON. THEY SAY WE HAVE A FAULTY INTERNAL ORC( OCCUPANT RESTRAINT CONTROLLER) MODULE.THIS IS A RECALLED PART ON THE 2011 BUT APPARENTLY NOT THE 2012 AT THIS TIME.

View Details

ENGINE

5/12/2015 - AMHERST, OH
WHILE DRIVING HOME WITH MY PREGNANT WIFE AT NIGHT, CAR ALL OF A SUDDEN STALLED. AFTER COMING TO A COMPLETE STOP, CAR WAS PUT IN PARK AND RESTARTED. GO OUT AND INSPECTED CAR EVEN LOOKING UNDER HOOD. NOTHING LOOKED OUT OF PLACE SO RESTARTED CAR. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON BUT CAR MADE NO UNUSUAL NOISES AND DROVE THE LAST MILE HOME WITH EMERGENCY FLASHERS ON. CAR STALLED ONCE AGAIN ONE BLOCK FROM OUR HOME BUT AGAIN RESTARTED. TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP THE FOLLOWING BUSINESS DAY FOR A DIAGNOSTIC WHERE I WAS TOLD IT WAS THE CRANKSHAFT POSITION SENSOR AND WAS NOT COVERED UNDER THE POWERTRAIN WARRANTY. TOTAL COST INCLUDING LABOR TO REPLACE SENSOR WAS $224. THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE. THANKFULLY MY PREGNANT WIFE WAS NOT ON THE HIGHWAY DURING HEAVY TRAFFIC. I CALLED DODGE TO INFORM THEM OF THE PROBLEM AND THEY DOCUMENTED BUT DIDN'T SEEM VERY CONCERNED WITH ISSUE. AGAIN, STALLING ON A BUSY HIGHWAY CAN RESULT IN A MAJOR ACCIDENT

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/4/2015 - ONTARIO, CA
A KNOCKING NOICE EVERY TIME I TURNED THE AC OR THE HEATER. THE KNOCKING NOICE KEEPS GOING EVEN WHEN THE CAR IS OFF.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/27/2015 - PHILA, PA
WHEN I TURN ON HEAT OR AIR IT MAKE A ON GOING NOISE WHILE ON. WHEN AIR IS ON IT MAKES ONGOING NOISE AND LEAK S WATER UNDERNEATH GLOVE COMPARTMENT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/27/2015 - YANKTON , SD
2012 DODGE AVENGER. UPON USING THE VENT CONTROLS FOR THE HEATER OR AIR CONDITIONER, A KNOCKING NOISE PROGRESSED NEAR THE AREA OF THE GLOVE COMPARTMENT. HEATING CORE FAILED & HAD TO BE REPLACED, ALSO PROBLEM WITH FUEL LINE, DEALER HAS REPLACED HEATING CORE AND FUEL LINE. KNOCKING NOISE APPEARS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM AMONG DODGE AVENGERS, APPROPRIATE RECALL TO FIX HEATING/AIR COMPRESSOR SHOULD BE DONE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/27/2015 - YANKTON , SD
2012 DODGE AVENGER. UPON USING THE VENT CONTROLS FOR THE HEATER OR AIR CONDITIONER, A KNOCKING NOISE PROGRESSED NEAR THE AREA OF THE GLOVE COMPARTMENT. HEATING CORE FAILED & HAD TO BE REPLACED, ALSO PROBLEM WITH FUEL LINE, DEALER HAS REPLACED HEATING CORE AND FUEL LINE. KNOCKING NOISE APPEARS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM AMONG DODGE AVENGERS, APPROPRIATE RECALL TO FIX HEATING/AIR COMPRESSOR SHOULD BE DONE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/13/2015 - CORDELE, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 DODGE AVENGER. UPON USING THE VENT CONTROLS FOR THE HEATER OR AIR CONDITIONER, A KNOCKING NOISE PROGRESSED NEAR THE AREA OF THE GLOVE COMPARTMENT. THE CONTACT ALSO INDICATED THAT WATER POURED IN EXCESS WHEN THE TRUNK WAS OPENED AND THAT THERE MAY BE A POTENTIAL LEAK WITHIN A SEAL. ALSO, THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE DOOR HANDLE WAS DETERIORATING WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INSPECTED OR DIAGNOSED. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V282000 (AIR BAGS, ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO DETERMINE WHEN THE PART WOULD BECOME AVAILABLE TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 20,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds