Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE AVENGER - 2012 DODGE AVENGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 139 complaints filed for the 2012 DODGE AVENGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 DODGE AVENGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 DODGE AVENGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (46) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (4) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Electrical System (36) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (10) Suspension (8) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (22) Power Train (18) Steering (9) Unknown Or Other (9) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

7/20/2016 - GOSHEN, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 DODGE AVENGER. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE STEERING, BRAKE, AND ACCELERATOR PEDAL LOCKED UP WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT HAD TO TURN OFF AND RESTART THE VEHICLE IN ORDER FOR IT TO RESUME NORMAL OPERATION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 10,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/8/2016 - CHESTERFIELD, MI
AIRBAG LIGHT COMES ON INTERMITTENTLY. DEALERSHIP CORRECTED PROBLEM IN AUGUST 2015 AND IT CAME BACK ON JUNE 2016. WAS TOLD THE WORK WILL NOT BE COVERED BY DODGE. I LOOKED UP A RECALL FOR 2012 DODGE AVENGER AIR BAGS BUT WAS TOLD THIS RECALL DOES NOT APPLY TO MY VEHICLE. OCCURS WHEN CAR IS STATIONARY AND IN MOTION ON ALL TERRAINS. LIGHT WILL TURN OFF OCCASIONALLY AND THEN TURN BACK ON.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

7/5/2016 - NORCROSS, GA
MY PASSENGER AIRBAG LIGHT COMES ON AN OFF NO MATTER IF ANYONE IS IN THE SEAT OR NOT. TOOK MY CAR TO DODGE WAS TOLD THERES NO RECALL YET I LOOKED UP MY CAR IN FRONT OF THE SERVICE GUY SHOWED HIM THE INFORMATION HE TOLD ME THAT WASN'T TRUE I WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR MY CAR TO BE CHECK. ALSO MY WINDSHIELD WIPERS COME ON WHEN THEY WANT TO YET THERE'S A RECALL FOR THAT AS WELL AN SERVICE CONTINUE TO SAY THE INFORMATION NOT TRUE. DO THEY JUST NOT WONT TO FIX IT. BOTH ARE SO TO THE TOTALLY INTEGRATED POWER MODULE (TIPM) , WHICH IS A CONTROL MODUAL THAT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/5/2016 - NORCROSS, GA
MY PASSENGER AIRBAG LIGHT COMES ON AN OFF NO MATTER IF ANYONE IS IN THE SEAT OR NOT. TOOK MY CAR TO DODGE WAS TOLD THERES NO RECALL YET I LOOKED UP MY CAR IN FRONT OF THE SERVICE GUY SHOWED HIM THE INFORMATION HE TOLD ME THAT WASN'T TRUE I WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR MY CAR TO BE CHECK. ALSO MY WINDSHIELD WIPERS COME ON WHEN THEY WANT TO YET THERE'S A RECALL FOR THAT AS WELL AN SERVICE CONTINUE TO SAY THE INFORMATION NOT TRUE. DO THEY JUST NOT WONT TO FIX IT. BOTH ARE SO TO THE TOTALLY INTEGRATED POWER MODULE (TIPM) , WHICH IS A CONTROL MODUAL THAT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/28/2016 - EDMOND, OK
CONSISTENT INTERMITTENT FAILURE OF DRIVER'S HEADREST AIRBAG. SERVICE CENTER CANNOT DETERMINE A FIX. ISSUE OCCURS WHEN VEHICLE IS IN MOTION OR STATIONARY ON ALL ROAD TYPES AND WEATHER.

View Details

ENGINE

6/20/2016 - KENDALL, NY
POOR HEATING SYSTEM PERFORMANCE. SLUDGE BUILDS UP IN THE COOLING SYSTEM AND RESTRICTS COOLANT FLOW TO THE HEATER CORE CAUSING LOSS OF HEAT IN THE PASSENGER COMPARTMENT. LOSS OF HEAT ALSO EFFECTS THE ABILITY TO DE-ICE OR PREVENT ICE AND SNOW BUILD UP ON THE WINDSHIELD IN COLD WEATHER OPERATION. THIS CAN CREATE A HAZARDOUS CONDITION AS VISIBILITY IS GREATLY REDUCED. CHRYSLER GROUP LLC HAS NO CAUSE FOR THE SLUDGE FORMATION. THE ONLY RESOLUTION IS TO REPLACE THE RADIATOR, OIL COOLER, HEATER CORE AND RADIATOR CAP AFTER COMPLETELY FLUSHING THE COOLING SYSTEM. THIS IS TO BE DONE AT THE OWNERS EXPENSE AND CAN COST OVER $2500.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/10/2016 - YPSILANTI, MI
KNOCKING SOUND COMING FROM PASSENGER SIDE DASH, FOUND TO BE AIR BLEND DOOR. KNOCKING OCCURS INTERMITTENTLY BEFORE, DURING, AND AFTER ENGINE START. VEHICLE HAS ALSO LOST HEAT TO THE PASSENGER SIDE, DUE TO BUILDUP OF "SLUDGE" IN THE HEATER CORE. THE LOSS OF HEAT TO THE PASSENGER SIDE CREATES THE IN-ABILITY TO DE-FROST/DE-FOG WINDSHIELD AND COULD POSE A SAFETY RISK TO DRIVING CONDITIONS IN LOW TEMPERATURES OR HIGH HUMIDITY. CURRENTLY CUSTOMERS ARE BEING ASKED TO PAY A COST RANGING FROM $1,200-$2,000 TO REPLACE THE HEATER CORE, COOLANT FLUSH, AND BLEND DOOR REPLACEMENT. ISSUE SEEMS TO BE RELATED TO POWERTRAIN MANUFACTURING (WHERE ELSE WOULD SLUDGE/DEBRIS COME FROM IN HEATER CORE?) BUT THIS ISSUE IS NOT BEING COVERED UNDER WARRANTY...

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/6/2016 - BRONX, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 DODGE AVENGER. WHEN THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO START THE VEHICLE, THE AIR BAG LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V282000 (AIR BAGS, ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) AND STATED THAT THE PART NEEDED FOR THE REPAIR WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 94,000. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/6/2016 - BRONX, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 DODGE AVENGER. WHEN THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO START THE VEHICLE, THE AIR BAG LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V282000 (AIR BAGS, ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) AND STATED THAT THE PART NEEDED FOR THE REPAIR WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 94,000. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

5/17/2016 - BOWLING GREEN, KY
I TOOK MY CAR TO THE DODGE DEALERSHIP TO BE DIAGNOSE BECAUSE OF WINDSHIELD WIPER NOT WORKING PROPERLY. WHEN WIPERS ARE TURN ON THEY WOULD RANDOMLY STOP OUT OF NO WHERE THEN TAKE SEVERAL SECONDS SOMETIMES MINUTES BEFORE COMING BACK ON, THE DIAGNOSTIC CAME BACK INTERNAL SHORT IN TIPM. I'VE NOTICED IN MANY RESEARCH ONLINE THERE HAS BEEN MANY RECALLS AND PROBLEM REGARDING TIPM FROM DODGE, JEEP, CHRYSLER. ALSO I'VE HAD SHORTAGE IN MY POWER WINDOW NOT WANTING TO WORK BUT WILL EVENTUALLY START AGAIN AND AIR BAG LIGHT IS ON ALL THOSE COULD BE RELATED TO THE BAD TIPM. THE FIRST TIME I'D NOTICED THE WINDSHIELD WIPER NOT WORKING I WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK ON A RAINING NIGHT ON THE PARK WAY DOING 65MPH WITH A SEMI TRUCK IN FRONT OF ME THEN OUT OF NO WHERE THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS GOT STUCK IN THE MIDDLE OF THE WINDSHIELD I COULD NOT SEE BECAUSE IT WAS RAINING KIND OF HARD SO I HAD TO DRIVE 20MPH WITH MY EMERGENCY FLASHES ON BECAUSE I WAS LESS THEN A HALF OF MILE FROM MY EXIT THEN I PULLED OVER AT THE FIRST STORE OFF THE EXIT. THE OTHER SCENARIO WITH THE WINDOWS NOT ROLLING DOWN I WAS ON MY WAY TO THE DOCTOR MY DRIVER SIDE WINDOW WAS DOWN WHEN I PULLED UP TO THE PARKING LOT IT WOULDN'T ROLL BACK UP AFTER I LEFT THE DOCTOR I GOT HOME 5 HOURS LATER I DECIDED TO GIVE IT ANOTHER TRY IT WAS WORKING FIND. MY AIR BAG LIGHT HAS BEEN ON FOR ABOUT 4MONTHS NOW AND I'VE NOTICE THERE'S BEEN RECALLS ON MY VEHICLE ABOUT THE AIR BAG.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds