Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE AVENGER - 2012 DODGE AVENGER Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 165 complaints filed for the 2012 DODGE AVENGER

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 DODGE AVENGER. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 DODGE AVENGER, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (55) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (7) Structure (11) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electrical System (45) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (10) Suspension (9) Visibility (9)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (9)
Engine (24) Power Train (19) Steering (10) Unknown Or Other (11) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

1/14/2017 - LAS VEGAS, NV
SUMMARY: THE VEHICLES MAY EXPERIENCE LOSS OF AIR BAG AND SEAT BELT PRETENSIONER DEPLOYMENT CAPABILITY IN CERTAIN CRASH EVENTS DUE TO A SHORTING CONDITION RESULTING IN A NEGATIVE VOLTAGE TRANSIENT THAT TRAVELS TO THE OCCUPANT RESTRAINT CONTROLLER VIA THE FRONT IMPACT SENSOR WIRES. SAFETY RISK: THE POTENTIAL LOSS OF AIR BAG AND SEAT BELT PRETENSIONER DEPLOYMENT CAPABILITY IN SUCH CRASH EVENTS MAY INCREASE THE RISK OF INJURY IN A CRASH.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

1/14/2017 - LAS VEGAS, NV
SUMMARY: THE VEHICLES MAY EXPERIENCE LOSS OF AIR BAG AND SEAT BELT PRETENSIONER DEPLOYMENT CAPABILITY IN CERTAIN CRASH EVENTS DUE TO A SHORTING CONDITION RESULTING IN A NEGATIVE VOLTAGE TRANSIENT THAT TRAVELS TO THE OCCUPANT RESTRAINT CONTROLLER VIA THE FRONT IMPACT SENSOR WIRES. SAFETY RISK: THE POTENTIAL LOSS OF AIR BAG AND SEAT BELT PRETENSIONER DEPLOYMENT CAPABILITY IN SUCH CRASH EVENTS MAY INCREASE THE RISK OF INJURY IN A CRASH.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/12/2017 - BETHLEHEM, PA
I RECEIVED NOTICE STATING THAT THERE IS A CURRENT SAFETY RECALL FOR : THE POTENTIAL LOSS OF AIR BAG AND SEAT BELT PRETENSIONER DEPLOYMENT CAPABILITY IN SUCH CRASH EVENTS MAY INCREASE THE RISK OF INJURY IN A CRASH. IT WAS RECALLED IN OCT2016 WE ARE IN JAN2017 AND I HAVE YET TO HEAR ANYTHING AND WE HAVE TWO OF THESE SAME VEHICLES. WE HAVE YOUNG CHILDREN RIDING IN THESE VEHICLES AND WE COMMUTE FOR WORK DAILY. THIS IS A GREAT CONCERN.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

1/12/2017 - BETHLEHEM, PA
I RECEIVED NOTICE STATING THAT THERE IS A CURRENT SAFETY RECALL FOR : THE POTENTIAL LOSS OF AIR BAG AND SEAT BELT PRETENSIONER DEPLOYMENT CAPABILITY IN SUCH CRASH EVENTS MAY INCREASE THE RISK OF INJURY IN A CRASH. IT WAS RECALLED IN OCT2016 WE ARE IN JAN2017 AND I HAVE YET TO HEAR ANYTHING AND WE HAVE TWO OF THESE SAME VEHICLES. WE HAVE YOUNG CHILDREN RIDING IN THESE VEHICLES AND WE COMMUTE FOR WORK DAILY. THIS IS A GREAT CONCERN.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

1/8/2017 - NEW RICHLAND, MN
THE HEAT BLOWS HOT ON THE DRIVER SIDE BUT BLOWS COLD ON THE PASSENGER SIDE CAUSING THE WINDOWS AND WINDSHIELD TO FOG UP AND REDUCE VISIBILITY NOT TO MENTION POSSIBLE FROSTBITE FROM SITTING ON THAT SIDE.....GETS PRETTY COLD HERE IN MINNESOTA.BOUGHT THE CAR NEW AND THE HEAT HAS NEVER REALLY BEEN GREAT ON THE PASSENGER SIDE,BUT NOW IT'S LIKE TURNING THE A.C. ON. I HAVE READ SOME INTERESTING ARTICLES ABOUT PEOPLE HAVING THE SAME ISSUES AND IT SOUNDS LIKE IT'S A MANUFACTURES DEFECT AND PRETTY EXPENSIVE TO FIX,DOESN'T MATTER IF THE CAR IS AT IDLE OR GOING DOWN THE ROAD

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

1/6/2017 - MADISON, WI
AT AROUND 100,000 MILES MY PASSENGER SIDE HEAT STOPPED WORKING WITH ONLY MY DRIVER SIDE HAVING SOME WARMTH. THIS WAS VERY SUDDEN. NOW, 3 WEEKS LATER THERE IS NO HEAT IN MY 2012 DODGE AVENGER SE. IT'S THE MIDDLE OF WINTER AND I CANNOT SEE BECAUSE WITHOUT HEAT I HAVE NO DEFROSTER. THE CAR IS NOT OVERHEATING, AND MY COOLIENT LEVELS HAVE BEEN FINE. THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE WHICH SHOULD WARRANT A RECALL ON THIS VEHICLE. I AM TAKING IT TO THE AUTOMOTIVE SHOP THIS WEEK, BUT WORRY BECAUSE I HAVE SEEN PEOPLE STATING THEY HAD TO PAY HUGE SUMS OF MONEY FOR DODGES MANUFACTURING DEFECT. PLEASE RECALL THIS DEFECT.

View Details

VISIBILITY: DEFROSTER/DEFOGGER SYSTEM

1/4/2017 - OSALON, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 DODGE AVENGER. THE CONTACT OBSERVED THAT THE DEFROSTER FAILED ON THE PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC DIAGNOSED THAT THE SAND CASTING AND RADIATOR CORE FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 90,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/27/2016 - CARRIER MILLS, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 DODGE AVENGER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH, AN UNKNOWN ANIMAL WAS HIT BY THE VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN UNKNOWN LOCATION AND WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V668000 (AIR BAGS) HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 83,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/13/2016 - WOODBRIDGE, VA
NO HEAT COMING IN ON THE PASSENGER SIDE VENTS. LUSTINE DODGE DID A RADIATOR AND HEATER CORE FLUSH THEN TOLD ME THE HEATING CORE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED AND STILL WANT TO CHARGE FOR THE FLUSH. I HAVE SEEN THE HEATING CORE ISSUE SEVERAL TIMES REPORTED AND NEEDS TO BE RECALLED. I AM ALSO CALLING DODGE TO REGISTER COMPLAINT AND FRAUD SINCE THEY KNOW THIS IS AN ISSUE.

View Details

ENGINE

12/11/2016 - MATAWAN, NJ
THIS IS THE SECOND TIME THAT I ONLY HAVE HEAT ON THE DRIVERS SIDE. I WAS TOLD THAT THE PROBLEM IS CAUSED BY CASTING SAND THAT WAS IN THE ENGINE WHICH CAUSES THE RADIATOR, HEATER CORE, AND OIL COOLER TO PLUG UP. NOT A CHEAP FIX AND I HAVE SEEN COMPLAINTS FROM MANY OTHERS WITH SAME ISSUE. MANUFACTURER AWARE OF PROBLEM.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds