Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2012 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 433 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (5) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (90)
Electrical System (27) Fuel Propulsion System (42) Service Brakes (9) Suspension (6) Visibility (7)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (31) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (12)
Engine (270) Power Train (96) Steering (25) Unknown Or Other (16) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (13)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 67
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/2/2015 - HANOVER, PA
I WAS DRIVING ON RESIDENTIAL STREET DURING LIGHT SNOW CONDITIONS. I TURNED THE REAR WINDOW DEFROST ON AND AFTER 2 MINUTES I COULD SMELL A BURNING SMELL AND HEARD A CRACKLING/POPPING SOUND COMING FROM THE BACK SEAT AREA OF MY TRUCK CAB. I SENSED IT MAY BE SOMETHING WRONG WITH THE REAR DEFROST SO I SWITCHED IT OFF. APPROXIMATELY 30 SECONDS LATER I HEARD A LOUD BANG WHICH SOUNDED LIKE IT HIT THE ROOF OF THE CAB. IT SOUNDED LIKE SOMEONE DROPPED A LARGE BRICK ONTO MY MOVING VEHICLE. I WAS STARTLED AND STOPPED TO CHECK IF SOMETHING HIT OR WAS THROWN AT MY TRUCK AND THEN I NOTICED THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE OF THE REAR POWER SLIDING WINDOW WAS SHATTERED. I FELT THE GLASS AND IT WAS HOT EVEN THOUGH OUTSIDE TEMPERATURES WERE ABOUT 30 DEGREES F. THERE IS NO WAY FORD SHOULD BE LETTING THIS DEFECT GO WITHOUT A RECALL AND I AM SHOCKED THAT THE NHTSA HAS NOT PUT MORE PRESSURE ON FORD TO MAKE THIS RIGHT. I DIDN'T EVEN KNOW THIS WAS A POSSIBLE PROBLEM WITH USING THE REAR DEFROST UNTIL I CHECKED ONLINE AND THERE ARE THOUSANDS OF COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS ISSUE. MY CHILD SITS IN THAT REAR SEAT ALL THE TIME AND THERE ARE NO RECALLS OR NOTICES OF THE POTENTIAL FOR INJURY, FIRES, ETC. PLEASE MAKE FORD OWN UP TO THIS PROBLEM SO PEOPLE CAN HAVE PEACE OF MIND. FORD WILL NOT EVEN ADMIT THERE IS A PROBLEM AND IS TELLING ME I HAVE TO PAY $1100 TO FIX THIS SAFETY ISSUE AND MY VEHICLE IS STILL UNDER WARRANTY.

View Details

ENGINE

3/2/2015 - WILLIS, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED BUT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE. THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED TWICE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/2/2015 - MOSCOW, TX
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE UNDER CARRIAGE SHIELD DROPPED TO THE GROUND. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE UNDER CARRIAGE SHIELD NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE PROBLEM RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. PAM

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/1/2015 - HOUSTON, PA
DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD AT ABOUT 20MPH. 7 AND 9 YO CHILDREN IN BACK SEAT. TURNED REAR DEFROSTER ON AND ABOUT 2 MIN LATER HEARD VERY LOUD NOISE LIKE SOMETHING HITTING MY ROOF. DIDN'T KNOW WHAT HAPPENED TILL I LOOKED IN MY MIRROR AND SAW DRIVER SIDE REAR STATIONARY GLASS PANE SPIDER WEBBED. LOOKED AT ROOF AND SEE NOWHERE WHERE SOMETHING HIT ROOF. FROM WHAT I AM READING THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM THAT HAS NOT BEEN ADDRESSED BY FORD.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/26/2015 - WEAUBLEAU, MO
AT PASSING SPEEDS OR DURING ACCELERATION THE VEHICLE WILL STALL AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WILL COME ON AND START FLASHING. IT ONLY DOES THIS WHEN ACCELERATED AND HAS ALMOST CAUSED ACCIDENTS. AFTER NUMEROUS OCCASIONS OF THIS HAPPENING THE LIGHT HAS CONTINUOUSLY STAYED ON AND NOW IT WON'T GO OFF.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/26/2015 - WEAUBLEAU, MO
AT PASSING SPEEDS OR DURING ACCELERATION THE VEHICLE WILL STALL AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WILL COME ON AND START FLASHING. IT ONLY DOES THIS WHEN ACCELERATED AND HAS ALMOST CAUSED ACCIDENTS. AFTER NUMEROUS OCCASIONS OF THIS HAPPENING THE LIGHT HAS CONTINUOUSLY STAYED ON AND NOW IT WON'T GO OFF.

View Details

ENGINE

2/26/2015 - WEAUBLEAU, MO
AT PASSING SPEEDS OR DURING ACCELERATION THE VEHICLE WILL STALL AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WILL COME ON AND START FLASHING. IT ONLY DOES THIS WHEN ACCELERATED AND HAS ALMOST CAUSED ACCIDENTS. AFTER NUMEROUS OCCASIONS OF THIS HAPPENING THE LIGHT HAS CONTINUOUSLY STAYED ON AND NOW IT WON'T GO OFF.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

2/25/2015 - ELMONT, NY
ON FEBRUARY 19 2015 I REMOTE STARTED MY F150 IN THE DRIVEWAY TO WARM IT UP. I GOT IN THE VEHICLE AND PUT ON THE REAR DEFROSTER TO CLEAR THE MIRRORS AND REAR WINDOW. I HEARD A LOUD NOISE AFTER ABOUT 30 SECONDS LIKE AN EXPLOSION INSIDE VEHICLE. I LOOKED AROUND AND NOTICED THE DRIVERS SIDE REAR GLASS WAS SHATTERED. THERE WAS NO EXTERNAL DAMAGE TO THE GLASS. PREVIOUSLY THIS VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A FORD DEALER ON MARCH 27 2014 FOR AN INOPERATIVE REAR DEFROSTER SYSTEM. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED IT AS AN OPEN IN THE RESISTER IN THE DEFROSTER GRID AND THE WHOLE REAR WINDOW ASSEMBLY WAS REPLACED. FORD CORPORATE TOLD THE DEALER THAT THE WINDOW COULDN'T SHATTER BY TURNING ON THE DEFROSTER AND WOULD NOT REPLACE THE UNIT. I CALLED THE FORD CORPORATE NUMBER AND LODGED A COMPLAINT AND WAS GIVEN A CLAIM NUMBER. THEY HAD THE DEALER SEND THEM PICTURES OF THE SHATTERED GLASS. FORD CORPORATE DENIED MY CLAIM AND I WAS TOLD TO GO THROUGH MY INSURANCE GLASS COVERAGE. I FEEL THAT THIS IS INSURANCE FRAUD IN MY OPINION. I TOOK MY VEHICLE TO MY GLASS REPAIR SHOP AND THE OWNER TOOK A CAREFUL LOOK AT THE SHATTERED GLASS AND SAID THAT THEY SHOULD HAVE REPLACED IT NO CHARGE SINCE THERE WAS NO EXTERNAL DAMAGE. FORD IS LAYING THE BURDEN OF A DEFECTIVE GLASS ASSEMBLY OFF TO MY INSURANCE COMPANY.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/25/2015 - ELMONT, NY
ON FEBRUARY 19 2015 I REMOTE STARTED MY F150 IN THE DRIVEWAY TO WARM IT UP. I GOT IN THE VEHICLE AND PUT ON THE REAR DEFROSTER TO CLEAR THE MIRRORS AND REAR WINDOW. I HEARD A LOUD NOISE AFTER ABOUT 30 SECONDS LIKE AN EXPLOSION INSIDE VEHICLE. I LOOKED AROUND AND NOTICED THE DRIVERS SIDE REAR GLASS WAS SHATTERED. THERE WAS NO EXTERNAL DAMAGE TO THE GLASS. PREVIOUSLY THIS VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A FORD DEALER ON MARCH 27 2014 FOR AN INOPERATIVE REAR DEFROSTER SYSTEM. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED IT AS AN OPEN IN THE RESISTER IN THE DEFROSTER GRID AND THE WHOLE REAR WINDOW ASSEMBLY WAS REPLACED. FORD CORPORATE TOLD THE DEALER THAT THE WINDOW COULDN'T SHATTER BY TURNING ON THE DEFROSTER AND WOULD NOT REPLACE THE UNIT. I CALLED THE FORD CORPORATE NUMBER AND LODGED A COMPLAINT AND WAS GIVEN A CLAIM NUMBER. THEY HAD THE DEALER SEND THEM PICTURES OF THE SHATTERED GLASS. FORD CORPORATE DENIED MY CLAIM AND I WAS TOLD TO GO THROUGH MY INSURANCE GLASS COVERAGE. I FEEL THAT THIS IS INSURANCE FRAUD IN MY OPINION. I TOOK MY VEHICLE TO MY GLASS REPAIR SHOP AND THE OWNER TOOK A CAREFUL LOOK AT THE SHATTERED GLASS AND SAID THAT THEY SHOULD HAVE REPLACED IT NO CHARGE SINCE THERE WAS NO EXTERNAL DAMAGE. FORD IS LAYING THE BURDEN OF A DEFECTIVE GLASS ASSEMBLY OFF TO MY INSURANCE COMPANY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/24/2015 - CLINTON, IN
2012 FORD F150 TURNED ON REAR WINDOW DEFROST AND PASSENGER SIDE PANEL EXPLODED IN REAR WINDOW.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 67
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds