Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2012 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 361 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (5) Structure (1) Vehicle Speed Control (85)
Electrical System (15) Fuel Propulsion System (36) Service Brakes (5) Suspension (5) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (28) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (4) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (245) Power Train (83) Steering (19) Unknown Or Other (7) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 57
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/31/2014 - PITTSBURGH, PA
ON THIS DATE (8-2-14) AT APPROX 0400 HRS(4AM) WHILE DRIVING IN WET RAINY CONDITIONS AND AIR TEMP APPROX 75 I HAD BEEN DRIVING FOR A FEW HOURS AND MADE A STOP. UPON GETTING BACK INTO TRUCK AND ATTEMPTING TO MERGE BACK ONTO THE HIGHWAY MY TRUCK EQUIPPED WITH 3.5 ECOBOOST LOST ALL POWER AND FAILED TO ACCELERATE. DURING THIS TIME THE TRUCK BEGAN TO SHAKE WHILE LOSING ACCELERATION. THIS OCCURRED APPROXIMATELY 4 TIMES IN A TWO WEEK PERIOD AND WHEN I TOOK THE TRUCK TO THE FORD DEALER THEY SAID NO RECORD IN THE COMPUTER SO THEY COULD NOT DO ANY REPAIRS. THIS HAPPENED ONE YEAR EARLIER (PREVIOUS AUGUST) WHEN ON VACATION AND FORD FOUND IT WAS THE CHARGE AIR COOLER (INTERCOOLER) AND BOLTED ON AN AIR DEFLECTOR WHICH OBVIOUSLY DID NOT WORK. FORD SOLD ME THIS VEHICLE KNOWING THERE WAS ISSUES WITH THIS SYSTEM AND FAILED (DID NOT) TELL ME ABOUT IT UNTIL THE ISSUE OCCURRED AND AT THAT POINT I LEARNED ABOUT IT ON THE INTERNET PRIOR TO FORD EMPLOYEES TELLING ME. THIS PROBLEM WILL CAUSE AN ACCIDENT AT SOME POINT. THE VERY FIRST TIME IT HAPPENED TO ME AUGUST 2013 I WAS MERGING WHILE PULLING A SMALL CARGO TRAILER AND UPON THE VEHICLE LOOSING ALL POWER A SEMI ALMOST REAR ENDED ME WHICH WOULD HAVE CAUSED A MAJOR ACCIDENT. POWER SEEMS TO COME BACK AFTER ABOUT LIMPING TRUCK FOR APPROXIMATELY 1/8 TH OF A MILE. FORD KNOWINGLY SOLD A TRUCK WITH FAULTY EQUIPMENT THAT WILL CAUSE INJURIES AND/OR FATALITIES AND DOES NOT APPEAR AS THOUGH THEY CARE TO FIX THE PROBLEM

View Details

ENGINE

8/31/2014 - PITTSBURGH, PA
ON THIS DATE (8-2-14) AT APPROX 0400 HRS(4AM) WHILE DRIVING IN WET RAINY CONDITIONS AND AIR TEMP APPROX 75 I HAD BEEN DRIVING FOR A FEW HOURS AND MADE A STOP. UPON GETTING BACK INTO TRUCK AND ATTEMPTING TO MERGE BACK ONTO THE HIGHWAY MY TRUCK EQUIPPED WITH 3.5 ECOBOOST LOST ALL POWER AND FAILED TO ACCELERATE. DURING THIS TIME THE TRUCK BEGAN TO SHAKE WHILE LOSING ACCELERATION. THIS OCCURRED APPROXIMATELY 4 TIMES IN A TWO WEEK PERIOD AND WHEN I TOOK THE TRUCK TO THE FORD DEALER THEY SAID NO RECORD IN THE COMPUTER SO THEY COULD NOT DO ANY REPAIRS. THIS HAPPENED ONE YEAR EARLIER (PREVIOUS AUGUST) WHEN ON VACATION AND FORD FOUND IT WAS THE CHARGE AIR COOLER (INTERCOOLER) AND BOLTED ON AN AIR DEFLECTOR WHICH OBVIOUSLY DID NOT WORK. FORD SOLD ME THIS VEHICLE KNOWING THERE WAS ISSUES WITH THIS SYSTEM AND FAILED (DID NOT) TELL ME ABOUT IT UNTIL THE ISSUE OCCURRED AND AT THAT POINT I LEARNED ABOUT IT ON THE INTERNET PRIOR TO FORD EMPLOYEES TELLING ME. THIS PROBLEM WILL CAUSE AN ACCIDENT AT SOME POINT. THE VERY FIRST TIME IT HAPPENED TO ME AUGUST 2013 I WAS MERGING WHILE PULLING A SMALL CARGO TRAILER AND UPON THE VEHICLE LOOSING ALL POWER A SEMI ALMOST REAR ENDED ME WHICH WOULD HAVE CAUSED A MAJOR ACCIDENT. POWER SEEMS TO COME BACK AFTER ABOUT LIMPING TRUCK FOR APPROXIMATELY 1/8 TH OF A MILE. FORD KNOWINGLY SOLD A TRUCK WITH FAULTY EQUIPMENT THAT WILL CAUSE INJURIES AND/OR FATALITIES AND DOES NOT APPEAR AS THOUGH THEY CARE TO FIX THE PROBLEM

View Details

ENGINE

8/21/2014 - GILL, MA
WHILE TRAVELING AT 55MPH, UP A SLIGHT INCLINE ON THE HIGHWAY, I PULLED OUT TO PASS ANOTHER VEHICLE. AS I PRESSED ON THE ACCELERATOR I HAD NO ENGINE POWER AND THE THE F150, LARIAT, ECO BOOST BEGAN TO SLOW. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND FLASHED. I LET OFF OF THE ACCELERATOR AND THEN PRESSED IT DOWN AGAIN. THIS TIME I HAD POWER. I PULLED BACK INTO THE LANE AND EVERYTHING APPEARED TO BE IN WORKING ORDER.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/19/2014 - ROWLEY, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING 5 MPH, THE ECO BOOST BRAKING SYSTEM FAILED. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO ENGAGE THE ECO BRAKING SYSTEM ONCE THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN FOR AWHILE. THE FAILURE OCCURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 5,874.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/16/2014 - VESTAL, MO
MY VEHICLE WHEN GOING AROUND NA TURN WOULD WANT TO STARIGHTEN OUT IN THE TURN. LATER THAT DAY I CAME INTO A SMALL TOWN GOT THRU THE RED LIGHT AT THAT TIME MY POWER STEERING NEEDS MAINTENENCE LIGHT CAME ON SHORTLY AFTER THAT I WAS UNABLE TO CONTROLL MY THE STEERING OF MY TRUCK THERE WAS NO STEERING I HAD A GENTLEMAN HELP ME GET THE TRUCK OFF THE ROAD AS FAR AS HE COULD YOU JUST COULD NOT STEER AS IT TURNS OUT MY RACK AND PIOION STEERING IS NO GOOD THERE IS NO RECALL ON THIS ITEM BUT IF IT HAPPENS TO SOMEONE GOING INTO A CORNER THEY WILL HAVE A BAD ACCIDENT BECAUSE YOU JUST CANNOT STEER

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/16/2014 - VESTAL, MO
MY VEHICLE WHEN GOING AROUND NA TURN WOULD WANT TO STARIGHTEN OUT IN THE TURN. LATER THAT DAY I CAME INTO A SMALL TOWN GOT THRU THE RED LIGHT AT THAT TIME MY POWER STEERING NEEDS MAINTENENCE LIGHT CAME ON SHORTLY AFTER THAT I WAS UNABLE TO CONTROLL MY THE STEERING OF MY TRUCK THERE WAS NO STEERING I HAD A GENTLEMAN HELP ME GET THE TRUCK OFF THE ROAD AS FAR AS HE COULD YOU JUST COULD NOT STEER AS IT TURNS OUT MY RACK AND PIOION STEERING IS NO GOOD THERE IS NO RECALL ON THIS ITEM BUT IF IT HAPPENS TO SOMEONE GOING INTO A CORNER THEY WILL HAVE A BAD ACCIDENT BECAUSE YOU JUST CANNOT STEER

View Details

STEERING

8/16/2014 - VESTAL, MO
MY VEHICLE WHEN GOING AROUND NA TURN WOULD WANT TO STARIGHTEN OUT IN THE TURN. LATER THAT DAY I CAME INTO A SMALL TOWN GOT THRU THE RED LIGHT AT THAT TIME MY POWER STEERING NEEDS MAINTENENCE LIGHT CAME ON SHORTLY AFTER THAT I WAS UNABLE TO CONTROLL MY THE STEERING OF MY TRUCK THERE WAS NO STEERING I HAD A GENTLEMAN HELP ME GET THE TRUCK OFF THE ROAD AS FAR AS HE COULD YOU JUST COULD NOT STEER AS IT TURNS OUT MY RACK AND PIOION STEERING IS NO GOOD THERE IS NO RECALL ON THIS ITEM BUT IF IT HAPPENS TO SOMEONE GOING INTO A CORNER THEY WILL HAVE A BAD ACCIDENT BECAUSE YOU JUST CANNOT STEER

View Details

STEERING

8/13/2014 - GOOSE CREEK, SC
FEEL A CLUNKING FEELING IN STEERING WHEEL WHEN DRIVING STRAIGHT AT ALL SPEEDS, WHEN GO OVER ANY LITTLE BUMP IN ROAD. DOES NOT HAVE TO BE A BIG BUMP. THE CLUNKING FEELING IS ON ANY TYPE OF ROAD.

View Details

TIRES: TEMPORARY/EMERGENCY SPARE TIRE

8/11/2014 - LYNDON, IL
2012 FORD F-150. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO ISSUES WITH THE VEHICLE SPARE TIRE. THE CONSUMER STATED IT WASN'T UNTIL HE HAD A FLAT TIRE, THAT HE WAS INTRODUCED TO THE TERM FULL-SIZE DIS-SIMILAR SPARE AND THE RESTRICTIONS FORD STIPULATED. DRIVING SPEED, TOWING A TRAILER, OR EVEN WASHING THE VEHICLE WITH THE SPARE ON IT IN A COMMERCIAL WASH, WOULD VIOLATE THE WARRANTY, HE PAID FOR. THE CONSUMER WAS INFORMED BY THE TIRE TECHNICIAN, THE RADIUS OF THE ORIGINAL TIRES WERE 39,9 INCHES AND THE RADIUS OF THE DIS-SIMILAR SPARE WAS 39.1 INCHES. FURTHER, THAT PROLONGED USE OF THE SPARE COULD AND MOST PROBABLY WOULD AFFECT THE MECHANICAL OPERATION OF THE TRANSFER CASE.

View Details

ENGINE

8/7/2014 - RAEFORD , NC
WHILE PASSING, MY VEHICLE LOSES POWER AND STARTS TO SPUTTER. THIS HAS HAPPEN ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS, AND ON THE LATEST OCCASION THE SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT HAS COME ON. I HAVE THE 3.6 L ECOBOOST ENGINE IN THE VEHICLE. I HAVE TURNED THE VEHICLE INTO THE DEALERSHIP FOR REPAIRS, BUT WAS TOLD THEY HAD TO ORDER A COOLER TO INSTALL ON THE TURBO CHARGER. BOTTOM LINE NO PARTS ARE BROKE, BUT IT NOW REQUIRES ADDITIONAL PARTS. I DO NOT SEE ANY RECALLS FOR THIS ISSUE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 57
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds