Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2012 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 742 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Exterior Lighting (4) Seats (8) Suspension (11) Vehicle Speed Control (107)
Electrical System (68) Fuel Propulsion System (53) Service Brakes (52) Tires (10) Visibility (24)
Electronic Stability Control (17) Fuel System Gasoline (34) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Traction Control System (2) Visibility Wiper (50)
Engine (335) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (69) Unknown Or Other (34) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Power Train (164) Structure (9)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 109
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

3/24/2017 - HARTFORD, WI
ALREADY HAD TIMING BELT REPLACED AT 84,000 MILES. NOW AT 85,600 MILES I WAS ON RAMP MERGING ONTO HWY. WHEN A BLINKING ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, LOSS OF POWER, AND TRUCK SHOOK LIKE CRAZY. I FELT LIKE IT WAS A POLTERGEIST. TOOK NEXT EXIT OFF AND CAME TO A COMPLETE STOP. ENGINE LIGHT WENT OFF AND TRUCK ACTED NORMALLY AGAIN. DAMP CONDITIONS. NOT LIKING ALL THE COMPLAINTS I HAVE READ AND CERTAINLY NOT LIKING THE SPORATIC UNKNOWN. I THINK I'LL BE TRADING THIS $50,000 LARIAT IN FOR SOMETHING ELSE. FORD NEEDS TO REACT, THAT WAS A SCARY SITUATION ON THE FREEWAY WITH TRUCKS BEARING DOWN ON ME.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK: WHEEL SPEED SENSOR

3/22/2017 - NIXA, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE DOWNSHIFTED INTO FIRST GEAR INDEPENDENTLY AND THE POWER TRAIN WARNING SENSOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE SPEED SENSOR PANEL NEEDED TO BE REPROGRAMMED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V198000 (POWER TRAIN). THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 135,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/22/2017 - NIXA, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE DOWNSHIFTED INTO FIRST GEAR INDEPENDENTLY AND THE POWER TRAIN WARNING SENSOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE SPEED SENSOR PANEL NEEDED TO BE REPROGRAMMED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V198000 (POWER TRAIN). THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 135,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/22/2017 - MONROE, NC
2012 FORD F-150. MULTIPLE OCCURRENCES...VEHICLE IN MOTION AND THE VEHICLE DOWNSHIFTS TO 1 GEAR ON ITS ON. IT STICKS FOR 10-20 SECONDS BEFORE IT RELEASES AND THEN YOU CAN ACCELERATE AGAIN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/22/2017 - MONROE, NC
2012 FORD F-150. MULTIPLE OCCURRENCES...VEHICLE IN MOTION AND THE VEHICLE DOWNSHIFTS TO 1 GEAR ON ITS ON. IT STICKS FOR 10-20 SECONDS BEFORE IT RELEASES AND THEN YOU CAN ACCELERATE AGAIN.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

3/22/2017 - NEW YORK, NY
TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN, THIS COMPLIANT IS FORWARDED TO YOU IN DUE TIME. TOO MANY TIMES WHEN DRIVING BACK FROM MY FAMILIES HOME IN PA, I ENCOUNTER DANGEROUS CONDITIONS ON THE ROAD WITH REGARD TO LARGE DUMP TRUCKS THAT CARRY STONE. THIS MORNING IT HAPPENED AGAIN, WHEN I PASSED A SAID TRUCK, ROCKS CAME OUT OF THE TOP OF THE BED, HITTING MY HOOD AND WINDSHIELD IN SEVERAL AREAS. IT GOES WITHOUT SAY HOW DANGEROUS THIS MATTER CAN BECOME. THE SITUATION IS EVEN WORST, IF YOUR PASSING WHEN THE ROAD IN BUMPY. I TRAVEL EAST FROM PA, ROUTE 15, ROUTE 206, ROUTE 80, ROUTE 46 AND ROUTE 3. I HAD TO REPLACE WINDSHIELDS BEFORE, BECAUSE OF ROCKS FLYING OFF OF DUMP TRUCKS. PLEASE LOOK INTO TO THIS MATTER, BEFORE THIS ISSUE CAUSES MORE ACCIDENTS. THERE MUST BE REGULATIONS, THAT CAN BE MORE STRICTLY ENFORCED. THANK, YOU RICH LOMBARDO.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/22/2017 - NEW YORK, NY
TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN, THIS COMPLIANT IS FORWARDED TO YOU IN DUE TIME. TOO MANY TIMES WHEN DRIVING BACK FROM MY FAMILIES HOME IN PA, I ENCOUNTER DANGEROUS CONDITIONS ON THE ROAD WITH REGARD TO LARGE DUMP TRUCKS THAT CARRY STONE. THIS MORNING IT HAPPENED AGAIN, WHEN I PASSED A SAID TRUCK, ROCKS CAME OUT OF THE TOP OF THE BED, HITTING MY HOOD AND WINDSHIELD IN SEVERAL AREAS. IT GOES WITHOUT SAY HOW DANGEROUS THIS MATTER CAN BECOME. THE SITUATION IS EVEN WORST, IF YOUR PASSING WHEN THE ROAD IN BUMPY. I TRAVEL EAST FROM PA, ROUTE 15, ROUTE 206, ROUTE 80, ROUTE 46 AND ROUTE 3. I HAD TO REPLACE WINDSHIELDS BEFORE, BECAUSE OF ROCKS FLYING OFF OF DUMP TRUCKS. PLEASE LOOK INTO TO THIS MATTER, BEFORE THIS ISSUE CAUSES MORE ACCIDENTS. THERE MUST BE REGULATIONS, THAT CAN BE MORE STRICTLY ENFORCED. THANK, YOU RICH LOMBARDO.

View Details

STEERING

3/21/2017 - NORMAN, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH, THE POWER STEERING SYSTEM MALFUNCTIONED AND THE CONTACT LOSS COMPLETE STEERING ASSISTANCE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 160,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/21/2017 - TROUTVILLE, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH, THE TRANSMISSION SEIZED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE POWER TRAIN CONTROL MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 29,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/17/2017 - RESERVE, LA
WHEN ACCELERATING FROM A STOP OR SLOW ROLL, THE TRUCK WILL JERK HARD FEELING LIKE THE IT IS COMING FROM THE DRIVESHAFT. THERE IS NO COMMON CAUSE FOR THIS ISSUE SUCH AS GOING OVER A BUMP, ETC. BROUGHT TRUCK TO THE LOCAL FORD DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD IT WAS "LEAF SPRING SLAP" WHICH IT IS CLEAR UNDER THE TRUCK THAT THERE IS DEEP GROOVES ON THE DRIVE SHAFT, YOKE AREA. FORD DENIES THIS IS THE ISSUE. THIS HAPPENS 80% OF THE TIME THAT I ACCELERATE EITHER FROM A STOP OR SLOW MOVEMENT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 109
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds