Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2012 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 985 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (22) Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Power Train (272) Steering (105) Unknown Or Other (50)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (2) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (125)
Electrical System (91) Fuel Propulsion System (58) Seats (9) Suspension (12) Visibility (28)
Electronic Stability Control (25) Fuel System Gasoline (34) Service Brakes (70) Tires (10) Visibility Wiper (63)
Engine (369) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 139
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

6/29/2018 - COLUMBIA, MO
TL - THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F150. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH WITH THE CRUISE CONTROL ON AND THE POWER STEERING FAILED AND WAS VERY HARD TO STEER AND THEN THE ELECTRONIC POWER STEERING FAILURE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER JOE MACHENS FORD LINCOLN 1911 WEST WOLEY STREET, COLUMBIA, MI 65206 TO BE DIAGNOSED BUT IT HAD NOT BEEN DONE YET AND THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED VIA CHAT AND INFORMED THE CONTACT TO NOTIFY NHTSA OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 82,000. JC

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/27/2018 - LAMBERTVILLE, NJ
MY 2012 FORD F150 XLT SUPERCREW ECOBOOST HAS ABOUT 85000 MILES AND ABRUPTLY WENT FROM ABOUT 30-40MPH TO ABOUT 0MPH A FEW TIMES NOW WHILE DRIVING. ONCE TIME WAS VERY SCARY ON A CONGESTED ROAD. AFTER THIS HAPPENED, ITS LIKE MY TRANSMISSION MISFIRES AND MISSES GEARS ALL OF THE TIME. THERE IS NOW A VACUUM NOISE ALSO COMING OUT IF THE ENGINE AND IT DOESN'T RUN RIGHT. I BROUGHT IT TO FORD AND THEY TOLD ME THAT I PROBABLY WASN'T CHANGING THE OIL PROPERLY (I HAD CHANGED MY OIL EVERY 3000-5000 MILES REGULARLY.), BUT NOW THEY SAID I MESSED UP THE TIMING CHAIN AND PHASERS AND THEY HAD TO BE CHANGED FOR A PRICE OF ABOUT 4000 DOLLARS. I HAVE OWNED OTHER FORDS NOT ECOBOOSTS AND THEY ALL RAN FINE. I STARTED DOING SOME RESEARCH AND I AM SURE THIS IS AN ENGINEERING FLAW ON THE PART OF FORD. I ACTUALLY READ THAT THE NHTSA DID RESEARCH ON THIS TOPIC. THERE ARE TONS OF FORUMS THAT HAVE THE INFORMATION ON THEM AND BELIEVE THAT FORD SHOULD DO THE RIGHT THING AND DO A RECALL OR FIX THE PROBLEM. I KNOW ITS A BIG PROBLEM. I DON'T THINK IT IS FAIR TO THE AMERICAN CONSUMER TO HAVE TO SHELL OUT THAT KIND OF MONEY ON A BAD DESIGN FLAW ON APART OF FORD THAT ALMOST GOT ME INTO AN ACCIDENT BAD ONE TIME AND WHEN MY KIDS AND I HAVE TO GO TO AN ERUPT STOP. I DON'T TOW ANYTHING AND DRIVE THE TRUCK LIKE A CAR. THIS SHOULDN'T BE HAPPENING.

View Details

ENGINE

6/27/2018 - LAMBERTVILLE, NJ
MY 2012 FORD F150 XLT SUPERCREW ECOBOOST HAS ABOUT 85000 MILES AND ABRUPTLY WENT FROM ABOUT 30-40MPH TO ABOUT 0MPH A FEW TIMES NOW WHILE DRIVING. ONCE TIME WAS VERY SCARY ON A CONGESTED ROAD. AFTER THIS HAPPENED, ITS LIKE MY TRANSMISSION MISFIRES AND MISSES GEARS ALL OF THE TIME. THERE IS NOW A VACUUM NOISE ALSO COMING OUT IF THE ENGINE AND IT DOESN'T RUN RIGHT. I BROUGHT IT TO FORD AND THEY TOLD ME THAT I PROBABLY WASN'T CHANGING THE OIL PROPERLY (I HAD CHANGED MY OIL EVERY 3000-5000 MILES REGULARLY.), BUT NOW THEY SAID I MESSED UP THE TIMING CHAIN AND PHASERS AND THEY HAD TO BE CHANGED FOR A PRICE OF ABOUT 4000 DOLLARS. I HAVE OWNED OTHER FORDS NOT ECOBOOSTS AND THEY ALL RAN FINE. I STARTED DOING SOME RESEARCH AND I AM SURE THIS IS AN ENGINEERING FLAW ON THE PART OF FORD. I ACTUALLY READ THAT THE NHTSA DID RESEARCH ON THIS TOPIC. THERE ARE TONS OF FORUMS THAT HAVE THE INFORMATION ON THEM AND BELIEVE THAT FORD SHOULD DO THE RIGHT THING AND DO A RECALL OR FIX THE PROBLEM. I KNOW ITS A BIG PROBLEM. I DON'T THINK IT IS FAIR TO THE AMERICAN CONSUMER TO HAVE TO SHELL OUT THAT KIND OF MONEY ON A BAD DESIGN FLAW ON APART OF FORD THAT ALMOST GOT ME INTO AN ACCIDENT BAD ONE TIME AND WHEN MY KIDS AND I HAVE TO GO TO AN ERUPT STOP. I DON'T TOW ANYTHING AND DRIVE THE TRUCK LIKE A CAR. THIS SHOULDN'T BE HAPPENING.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/26/2018 - PARKER, TX
MY VEHICLE HAS ISSUES DESCRIBED IN DOC HTTPS://STATIC.NHTSA.GOV/ODI/INV/2013/INRD-PE13018-58124P.PDF BUT IS NOT COMING UP ON THE VIN SEARCH FOR THIS ISSUE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/20/2018 - HOWELL, MI
THE VEHICLE WILL LOSE SPEED SENSING AND THEN THE TRANSMISSION SHIFTS GEARS OR IS ERRATIC AND JUMPS BACK AND FORTH BETWEEN GEARS. WORST CASE I WAS APPROXIMATELY DOING 40 MPH, SPEEDOMETER WENT TO 0 THE TRUCK SHIFTED FROM 4TH GEAR TO 1ST GEAR. USUALLY THE ERRATIC BEHAVIOR IS AT LOWER SPEED AND LOWER GEARS, BUT IS GRADUALLY GETTING WORSE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/20/2018 - HOWELL, MI
THE VEHICLE WILL LOSE SPEED SENSING AND THEN THE TRANSMISSION SHIFTS GEARS OR IS ERRATIC AND JUMPS BACK AND FORTH BETWEEN GEARS. WORST CASE I WAS APPROXIMATELY DOING 40 MPH, SPEEDOMETER WENT TO 0 THE TRUCK SHIFTED FROM 4TH GEAR TO 1ST GEAR. USUALLY THE ERRATIC BEHAVIOR IS AT LOWER SPEED AND LOWER GEARS, BUT IS GRADUALLY GETTING WORSE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

6/13/2018 - LA MESA, CA
YESTERDAY AS I WAS MAKING A TURN THROUGH A BUSY INTERSECTION, MY STEERING WHEEL SUDDENLY LOCKED UP AND THE ALERT "SERVICE ADVANCETRAC" POPPED UP ON MY DASH. I WAS UNABLE TO COMPLETE THE TURN, AND A CAR GOING NEARLY 55 MPH SWERVED AROUND ME AND MISSED T-BONING ME BY A FEW FEET. INITIALLY, I WAS JUST CONCERNED. BUT AFTER GOING TO THE MECHANIC AND FINDING THAT MY STEERING CONTROL MODULE IS FAULTY (THIS VEHICLE ONLY HAS 62,000 MILES ON IT), AND THIS IS A WELL-KNOWN ISSUE IN OTHER FORD VEHICLES AND IN THE F150 AS WELL, I BECAME FURIOUS THAT FORD HAS NOT ISSUED A RECALL WHEN I COULD HAVE BEEN KILLED YESTERDAY. IF FORD DOES NOT MAKE THIS RIGHT, I WILL NEVER PURCHASE ANOTHER FORD VEHICLE, WILL ENCOURAGE ALL MY FRIENDS/FAMILY TO NEVER PURCHASE A FORD VEHICLE, AND WILL USE MY CONSIDERABLE BUSINESS AND PERSONAL NETWORK TO ENSURE THAT THEY ALL KNOW THAT FORD KNOWS ABOUT A VERY SIGNIFICANT ISSUE AND IS REFUSING TO ISSUE A RECALL FOR AN ISSUE THAT COULD LEAD TO THE DEATH OF ITS CUSTOMERS. I CALLED THE MINIONS AT THE 1-800 NUMBER AND THEY TOLD ME THEY COULD NOT HELP ME AND THAT FORD HAD NOT ISSUED A RECALL FOR THIS ISSUE AND I WAS ON MY OWN. I'LL PAY THE $1500 + LABOR NOW. BUT I'LL BE BACK WITH MY ATTORNEY IF THIS ISSUE IS NOT ADDRESSED TO MY SATISFACTION.

View Details

STEERING

6/13/2018 - LA MESA, CA
YESTERDAY AS I WAS MAKING A TURN THROUGH A BUSY INTERSECTION, MY STEERING WHEEL SUDDENLY LOCKED UP AND THE ALERT "SERVICE ADVANCETRAC" POPPED UP ON MY DASH. I WAS UNABLE TO COMPLETE THE TURN, AND A CAR GOING NEARLY 55 MPH SWERVED AROUND ME AND MISSED T-BONING ME BY A FEW FEET. INITIALLY, I WAS JUST CONCERNED. BUT AFTER GOING TO THE MECHANIC AND FINDING THAT MY STEERING CONTROL MODULE IS FAULTY (THIS VEHICLE ONLY HAS 62,000 MILES ON IT), AND THIS IS A WELL-KNOWN ISSUE IN OTHER FORD VEHICLES AND IN THE F150 AS WELL, I BECAME FURIOUS THAT FORD HAS NOT ISSUED A RECALL WHEN I COULD HAVE BEEN KILLED YESTERDAY. IF FORD DOES NOT MAKE THIS RIGHT, I WILL NEVER PURCHASE ANOTHER FORD VEHICLE, WILL ENCOURAGE ALL MY FRIENDS/FAMILY TO NEVER PURCHASE A FORD VEHICLE, AND WILL USE MY CONSIDERABLE BUSINESS AND PERSONAL NETWORK TO ENSURE THAT THEY ALL KNOW THAT FORD KNOWS ABOUT A VERY SIGNIFICANT ISSUE AND IS REFUSING TO ISSUE A RECALL FOR AN ISSUE THAT COULD LEAD TO THE DEATH OF ITS CUSTOMERS. I CALLED THE MINIONS AT THE 1-800 NUMBER AND THEY TOLD ME THEY COULD NOT HELP ME AND THAT FORD HAD NOT ISSUED A RECALL FOR THIS ISSUE AND I WAS ON MY OWN. I'LL PAY THE $1500 + LABOR NOW. BUT I'LL BE BACK WITH MY ATTORNEY IF THIS ISSUE IS NOT ADDRESSED TO MY SATISFACTION.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/11/2018 - NAMPA, ID
VEHICLE IS RANDOMLY SHIFTING INTO 1ST GEAR. IT DOESN+T MATTER WHAT SPEED YOU ARE GOING (IT HAS DONE IT TO ME AT 45 LOCKING UP THE REAR WHEELS) FORD HAS A RECALL ON THIS , BUT OUR PICKUP ISN+T INCLUDED FOR SOME REASON.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: POWER ASSIST: VACUUM

6/8/2018 - KENOSHA, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING AND ATTEMPTING TO MAKE A TURN, AN ABNORMAL SOUND WAS HEARD COMING FROM THE REAR DRIVER'S SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, THE VACUUM PUMP INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT CALLED GORDIE BOUCHER FORD OF KENOSHA (8301 75TH ST, KENOSHA, WI 53142, (262) 697-0700), BUT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC AND IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE VACUUM PUMP NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE FAILURE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN A RECALL. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 110,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 139
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds