Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2012 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 603 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Exterior Lighting (3) Seats (8) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (99)
Electrical System (55) Fuel Propulsion System (48) Service Brakes (44) Suspension (8) Visibility (18)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Fuel System Gasoline (34) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (9) Visibility Wiper (35)
Engine (310) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (48) Unknown Or Other (23) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Power Train (116)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 91
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

5/20/2016 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2012 FORD F-150. WHILE AT A COMPLETE STOP, ANOTHER VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE REAR OF THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE WAS PUSHED UNDER AN EIGHTEEN WHEELER. THE FRONTAL AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE VEHICLE THAT CRASHED INTO THE CONTACT CONTINUED TO DRIVE, SIDESWIPED ANOTHER VEHICLE, AND CRASHED INTO A POLE. THE POLICE AND FIRE DEPARTMENT WERE CALLED AND A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT HAD TO BE TRANSPORTED TO THE HOSPITAL BY HELICOPTER WITH A SHATTERED JAW, A NECK BONE INJURY, CUTS AND BRUISES UNDER THE CHIN AND INSIDE THE CHEEK, AND INFLAMED LUNGS AND KIDNEY. THE FRONT PASSENGER SUSTAINED FATAL INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN IMPOUND LOT AND WAS DEEMED DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 35,000.

View Details

STEERING

5/14/2016 - TACOMA, WA
WHILE MAKING A SHARP LEFT TURN AT SLOW SPEED I HEARD A SQUEAL AND GOT A (SERVICE ADVANCED TRACK WARNING). AND MY TURN SIGNALS STOPPED WORKING PROPERLY. LATER THAT DAY IT HAPPENED AGAIN AND THIS TIME THE STEERING QUIT ALL TOGETHER AND GOT A (ELECTRIC POWER STEERING FAULT) ON THE DISPLAY CLUSTER. CANT BELIEVE THIS IS NOT A SAFETY RECALL ISUE!

View Details

ENGINE

5/13/2016 - SOUTH WILLIAMSPORT, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS HIGHWAY SPEEDS, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT SUDDENLY ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WENT INTO LIMP MODE AND CAUSED THE SPEED TO REDUCE TO LESS THAN 20 MPH. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS AND THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER MULTIPLE TIMES. THE SPARK PLUGS WERE REPLACED, BUT THE FAILURE CONTINUED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 56,300.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

5/12/2016 - FARMINGTON, MO
BACK PASSENGER SIDE BACK GLASS JUST SHATTERED THIS AM. TEMPERATURE WAS ABOUT 60, RAINING, HUMID IN THE CABIN, WITH REAR DEFROSTER ON. AFTER PARKING THE TRUCK, I SHUT IT OFF, THEN HEARD A VERY LOUD POP, LIKE A ROCK HIT MY GLASS. I GOT OUT AND VIEWED THE GLASS FROM THE OUTSIDE, AND THERE APPEARED TO BE SMOKE COMING FROM THE MID-LINE, LOWEST POINT OF THE GLASS. THE FRAME WAS DRY IN ONLY THIS AREA, AND THE SHATTER WEBS OUT FROM THIS AREA.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/9/2016 - CENTRAL SQUARE, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH, THE VEHICLE INDEPENDENTLY DOWNSHIFTED INTO FIRST GEAR AND THE WHEELS SEIZED. THE CONTACT SLOWED DOWN AND THE FAILURE SUBSIDED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION CONTROL MODULE MALFUNCTIONED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE FAILURE WAS RELATED TO A RECALL FOR THE POWERTRAIN AND FORD RECALL NUMBER 16S19. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 88,000. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVALIABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

5/5/2016 - WHEATON, IL
I HAVE A 2012 WITH 78000 MILES. I AM EXPERIENCING THE VERY COMMON TSB15-0131. A FEW MONTHS BACK I STARTED TO HEAR A RATTLE AT SOME ENGINE STARTS BUT NOW IT IS OCCURRING DAILY. I ONLY STARTED TO RESEARCH THE NOISE RECENTLY AND CAME ACROSS A LOT OF OTHERS ON THE WEB FORUMS. I DROPPED IT OFF AT A LOCAL DEALER. THE GUY MADE IT SOUND LIKE THIS IS SOMETHING NEW OR NEVER HEARD OF. LONG STORY SHORT, THEY HAD THE TRUCK 4 DAYS AND CLAIMED THEY HEARD NO RATTLE WHEN STARTING. AFTER GETTING MY TRUCK BACK FROM THE LOCAL DEALER I HAVE HEARD THE NOISE EVERY MORNING WHEN I STARTED THE ENGINE. I VIDEO RECORD MY ENGINE AT START UP AND PLAN TO FROM NOW ON. I CALLED MY PURCHASING DEALER TO SEE WHAT THEY CAN DO. THEY WERE GOING TO CHECK AND LET ME KNOW. I HEARD BACK AND THEY SAY SINCE I AM OUT OF WARRANTY THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO. THEY SAID I HAVE TO CONTACT FORD CUSTOMER SERVICE TO GO FURTHER AND GAVE ME THE PHONE NUMBER. I CONTACTED THEM WHO SAID THE SAME THING..SORRY NO MORE WARRANTY. I DO NOT THINK THIS IS RIGHT. I UNDERSTAND MY EXTENDED WARRANTY IS JUST PAST BUT THIS SEEMS TO BE A PREVALENT ISSUE WITH THE 3.5 ECOBOOST ENGINES. I PAID OVER ONE THOUSAND DOLLARS TO UPGRADE TO THIS ENGINE AFTER SEEING AND HEARING ADVERTISEMENTS ABOUT ITS BENEFITS AND DURABILITY. NOW, WHEN IT HAS A PROBLEM BY NO FAULT OF MINE, I AM TOLD THAT IT WILL NOT BE TAKEN CARE OF. THIS WAS MY FIRST FORD AND WILL BE MY LAST.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

5/4/2016 - SONORA, TX
WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE, THE ELECTRONIC STABILITY WARNING LIGHT CAME ON A STAYED ON. THE ROADS WERE DRY AND THE VEHICLE SPEED WAS LESS THAN 55 MPH. WE DROVE APPROXIMATELY THREE MILES AND TURNED THE IGNITION OFF. AFTER RE-STARTING, THE WARMING LIGHTS WERE NOT ILLUMINATED.

View Details

ENGINE

5/3/2016 - MADISON, AL
WHEN ON CRUISE CONTROL GOING 60-70 MPH, AND YOU PULL OUT TO PASS AND STEP ON THE GAS, THE ECOBOOST "HESITATES" AND WILL NOT GAIN SPEED, BUT LOOSE SPEED. I CAN ONLY STOP THIS BY DOWNSHIFTING, THEN REENGAGING THE GAS. THIS CAN BE A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION. THIS HAS HAPPENED ABOUT 10 TIMES OVER THE LAST 4 YEARS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/3/2016 - MADISON, AL
WHEN ON CRUISE CONTROL GOING 60-70 MPH, AND YOU PULL OUT TO PASS AND STEP ON THE GAS, THE ECOBOOST "HESITATES" AND WILL NOT GAIN SPEED, BUT LOOSE SPEED. I CAN ONLY STOP THIS BY DOWNSHIFTING, THEN REENGAGING THE GAS. THIS CAN BE A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION. THIS HAS HAPPENED ABOUT 10 TIMES OVER THE LAST 4 YEARS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/2/2016 - SMYRNA, GA
STEERING WHEEL CLOCK SPRING, WHICH CONTROLS ALL STEERING WHEEL ELECTRONICS AND AIRBAG IS FAULTY. REPLACEMENT CLOCK SPRING REQUIRED. I NOTICED THIS ISSUE WHILE DRIVING AND USING MY RADIO CONTROLS ON THE STEERING WHEEL. UPON PUSHING A BUTTON LIKE VOLUME UP FOR INSTANCE, THE RADIO STATION WOULD CHANGE. THE BUTTONS WERE DOING THE IMPROPER FUNCTIONS. I BROUGHT IT INTO FORD AND THEY STATED THAT THE CLOCK SPRING IS FAULTY AND NEEDS TO BE REPLACED SINCE IT CONTROLS THE AIRBAG, WHICH MAY BE AFFECTED BY THE FAULTY UNIT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 91
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds