Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2012 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 360 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (5) Structure (1) Vehicle Speed Control (85)
Electrical System (15) Fuel Propulsion System (36) Service Brakes (5) Suspension (5) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (28) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (4) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (244) Power Train (83) Steering (19) Unknown Or Other (6) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 57
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

8/21/2014 - GILL, MA
WHILE TRAVELING AT 55MPH, UP A SLIGHT INCLINE ON THE HIGHWAY, I PULLED OUT TO PASS ANOTHER VEHICLE. AS I PRESSED ON THE ACCELERATOR I HAD NO ENGINE POWER AND THE THE F150, LARIAT, ECO BOOST BEGAN TO SLOW. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND FLASHED. I LET OFF OF THE ACCELERATOR AND THEN PRESSED IT DOWN AGAIN. THIS TIME I HAD POWER. I PULLED BACK INTO THE LANE AND EVERYTHING APPEARED TO BE IN WORKING ORDER.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/19/2014 - ROWLEY, MA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 5 MPH, THE ECO BOOST BRAKING SYSTEM FAILED. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO ENGAGE THE ECO BRAKING SYSTEM ONCE THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN FOR AWHILE. THE PROBLEM HAS RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 5,874. PAM

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/16/2014 - VESTAL, MO
MY VEHICLE WHEN GOING AROUND NA TURN WOULD WANT TO STARIGHTEN OUT IN THE TURN. LATER THAT DAY I CAME INTO A SMALL TOWN GOT THRU THE RED LIGHT AT THAT TIME MY POWER STEERING NEEDS MAINTENENCE LIGHT CAME ON SHORTLY AFTER THAT I WAS UNABLE TO CONTROLL MY THE STEERING OF MY TRUCK THERE WAS NO STEERING I HAD A GENTLEMAN HELP ME GET THE TRUCK OFF THE ROAD AS FAR AS HE COULD YOU JUST COULD NOT STEER AS IT TURNS OUT MY RACK AND PIOION STEERING IS NO GOOD THERE IS NO RECALL ON THIS ITEM BUT IF IT HAPPENS TO SOMEONE GOING INTO A CORNER THEY WILL HAVE A BAD ACCIDENT BECAUSE YOU JUST CANNOT STEER

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/16/2014 - VESTAL, MO
MY VEHICLE WHEN GOING AROUND NA TURN WOULD WANT TO STARIGHTEN OUT IN THE TURN. LATER THAT DAY I CAME INTO A SMALL TOWN GOT THRU THE RED LIGHT AT THAT TIME MY POWER STEERING NEEDS MAINTENENCE LIGHT CAME ON SHORTLY AFTER THAT I WAS UNABLE TO CONTROLL MY THE STEERING OF MY TRUCK THERE WAS NO STEERING I HAD A GENTLEMAN HELP ME GET THE TRUCK OFF THE ROAD AS FAR AS HE COULD YOU JUST COULD NOT STEER AS IT TURNS OUT MY RACK AND PIOION STEERING IS NO GOOD THERE IS NO RECALL ON THIS ITEM BUT IF IT HAPPENS TO SOMEONE GOING INTO A CORNER THEY WILL HAVE A BAD ACCIDENT BECAUSE YOU JUST CANNOT STEER

View Details

STEERING

8/16/2014 - VESTAL, MO
MY VEHICLE WHEN GOING AROUND NA TURN WOULD WANT TO STARIGHTEN OUT IN THE TURN. LATER THAT DAY I CAME INTO A SMALL TOWN GOT THRU THE RED LIGHT AT THAT TIME MY POWER STEERING NEEDS MAINTENENCE LIGHT CAME ON SHORTLY AFTER THAT I WAS UNABLE TO CONTROLL MY THE STEERING OF MY TRUCK THERE WAS NO STEERING I HAD A GENTLEMAN HELP ME GET THE TRUCK OFF THE ROAD AS FAR AS HE COULD YOU JUST COULD NOT STEER AS IT TURNS OUT MY RACK AND PIOION STEERING IS NO GOOD THERE IS NO RECALL ON THIS ITEM BUT IF IT HAPPENS TO SOMEONE GOING INTO A CORNER THEY WILL HAVE A BAD ACCIDENT BECAUSE YOU JUST CANNOT STEER

View Details

STEERING

8/13/2014 - GOOSE CREEK, SC
FEEL A CLUNKING FEELING IN STEERING WHEEL WHEN DRIVING STRAIGHT AT ALL SPEEDS, WHEN GO OVER ANY LITTLE BUMP IN ROAD. DOES NOT HAVE TO BE A BIG BUMP. THE CLUNKING FEELING IS ON ANY TYPE OF ROAD.

View Details

TIRES: TEMPORARY/EMERGENCY SPARE TIRE

8/11/2014 - LYNDON, IL
2012 FORD F-150. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO ISSUES WITH THE VEHICLE SPARE TIRE. THE CONSUMER STATED IT WASN'T UNTIL HE HAD A FLAT TIRE, THAT HE WAS INTRODUCED TO THE TERM FULL-SIZE DIS-SIMILAR SPARE AND THE RESTRICTIONS FORD STIPULATED. DRIVING SPEED, TOWING A TRAILER, OR EVEN WASHING THE VEHICLE WITH THE SPARE ON IT IN A COMMERCIAL WASH, WOULD VIOLATE THE WARRANTY, HE PAID FOR. THE CONSUMER WAS INFORMED BY THE TIRE TECHNICIAN, THE RADIUS OF THE ORIGINAL TIRES WERE 39,9 INCHES AND THE RADIUS OF THE DIS-SIMILAR SPARE WAS 39.1 INCHES. FURTHER, THAT PROLONGED USE OF THE SPARE COULD AND MOST PROBABLY WOULD AFFECT THE MECHANICAL OPERATION OF THE TRANSFER CASE.

View Details

ENGINE

8/7/2014 - RAEFORD , NC
WHILE PASSING, MY VEHICLE LOSES POWER AND STARTS TO SPUTTER. THIS HAS HAPPEN ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS, AND ON THE LATEST OCCASION THE SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT HAS COME ON. I HAVE THE 3.6 L ECOBOOST ENGINE IN THE VEHICLE. I HAVE TURNED THE VEHICLE INTO THE DEALERSHIP FOR REPAIRS, BUT WAS TOLD THEY HAD TO ORDER A COOLER TO INSTALL ON THE TURBO CHARGER. BOTTOM LINE NO PARTS ARE BROKE, BUT IT NOW REQUIRES ADDITIONAL PARTS. I DO NOT SEE ANY RECALLS FOR THIS ISSUE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/7/2014 - MURRYSVILLE, PA
I AM WRITING TO COMPLAIN ABOUT THE FAILURE OF THE VACUUM PUMP ON OUR 2012 FORD F150 WITH ECOBOOST. ONCE THE VEHICLE HAD BEEN DRIVEN AROUND 33,000 MILES, WE BEGAN TO NOTICE SOME ISSUES WITH THE BRAKES IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWING STARTUP: THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DIFFICULT TO PRESS AND UNLESS PUMPED SEVERAL TIMES BEFORE MOVING, THE BRAKES WOULD NOT FULLY ENGAGE. THIS IN OTHER WORDS, THE VEHICLE COULD NOT BE BROUGHT TO A COMPLETE STOP IN A NORMAL OR SAFE AMOUNT OF DISTANCE. WE INFORMED THE TECHNICIANS AT OUR LOCAL FORD DEALER OF THIS ISSUE WHILE HAVING THE ANNUAL INSPECTION COMPLETED. ULTIMATELY, THEY FOUND THE VACUUM PUMP TO BE COMPLETELY INOPERABLE AND IT HAD TO BE REPLACED. FORTUNATELY, NO ACCIDENT OCCURRED BEFORE WE HAD THIS PART REPLACED, BUT THE POTENTIAL WAS SIGNIFICANT. FORD SHOULD TAKE SOME ACTION TO PREVENT ANY POSSIBLE CRASHES THAT MAY HAPPEN AS A RESULT OF THE EARLY MALFUNCTION OF THIS COMPONENT.

View Details

ENGINE

7/31/2014 - MANTORVILLE, MN
DRIVING DOWN THE INTERSTATE DURING WET CONDITIONS MY 2012 FORD F150 ECOBOOST STARTED TO STUMBLE AND LOOSE POWER DRASTICALLY WHILE PULLING A TRAILER. THE TRUCK WOULD ONLY DO 30 MPH AS IT SHOOK AND STUMBLED DOWN THE INTERSTATE. THIS POWER LOSS MADE IT REALLY DANGEROUS TO GET OFF THE ROAD SAFELY WITHOUT OTHER CARS AND TRUCKS BEING AFFECTED. THE ONLY WAY TO RESET THE TRUCK WAS TO SHUT THE ENGINE OFF AND RESTART IT. THIS HAS HAPPENED TWICE TO ME DURING WET RAINY CONDITIONS. THIS ISSUE REALLY CONCERNS ME FROM THE SAFETY OF MY WELL BEING AND OTHER FELLOW DRIVERS. FORD NEEDS TO TAKE ACTION IN FIXING THIS PROBLEM WITH THE F150 ECOBOOST TRUCKS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 57
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds