Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2012 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 978 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (22) Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Power Train (269) Steering (103) Unknown Or Other (49)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (2) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (124)
Electrical System (90) Fuel Propulsion System (58) Seats (9) Suspension (12) Visibility (28)
Electronic Stability Control (24) Fuel System Gasoline (34) Service Brakes (70) Tires (10) Visibility Wiper (63)
Engine (369) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 137
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

6/8/2018 - KENOSHA, WI
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE ATTEMPTING TO TURN VEHICLE ON HEARD A ABNORMAL SOUND COMING FROM THE LEFT DRIVER REAR SIDE OF VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED WHEN BREAKING THE VACUUM PUMP INDICATOR LIGHT KEPT ILLUMINATING ON AND OFF. THE CONTACT CALLED THE GORDIE BOUCHER FORD OF KENOSHA LOCATED AT (8301 75TH ST, KENOSHA, WI 53142 (262) 697-0700). THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THE VACUUM PUMP NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND WAS INFORM THAT IT WAS NOT PART OF A RECALL. THE FAILURE MILEAGE APPROXIMATELY 110,000. AS

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/6/2018 - DOTHAN, AL
DESPITE NOT BEING INCLUDED IN THE RECENT RECALL, MY 2012 F-150 SUDDENLY DOWNSHIFTED WHILE CRUISING AT 45-50MPH, RESULTING IN A DANGEROUS SUDDEN SLOWDOWN AND LURCHING FORWARD ON BUSY CITY THOROUGHFARE. TWO DAYS LATER, A SUDDEN STOP RESULTED IN A TEMPORARY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT. DEALER DIAGNOSTICS INDICATED THE LEADFRAME CONNECTOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THIS IS THE SAME REPAIR COVERED UNDER THE CURRENT RECALL THAT DOES NOT INCLUDE THE PRODUCTION THAT MY TRUCK WAS A PART OF. APPROXIMATELY 1 MONTH PRIOR, THE TRUCK WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR ERRATIC SHIFTING AT SLOW SPEEDS, BUT THE ISSUE WAS NOT ABLE TO BE DIAGNOSED AT THAT TIME. INSTEAD, A TRANSMISSION FLUSH AND SLIP-YOKE LUBRICATION WERE RECOMMENDED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/5/2018 - VACAVILLE, CA
WHILE DRIVING MY 2012 F150 ON THE HIGHWAY AT ABOUT 65 MPH I EXPERIENCED UNEXPECTED DOWNSHIFTING FROM 6TH GEAR TO A LOW GEAR. THE REAR TIRES SKIDDED AND THE REAR STARTED TO COME AROUND. DID ALL I COULD TO MAINTAIN CONTROL. DANGEROUS AND SCARY. SUBSEQUENTLY, I CHECK AND LEARNED THERE WAS A RECALL. WENT TO FORD AND THE VIN WAS PUT INTO THE COMPUTER AND I WAS INFORMED MY VIN WAS NOT PART OF THE RECALL. HAD VEHICLE REPAIRED COST$1249.00. THE PROBLEM THE DEALER DIAGNOSED WAS IDENTICAL TO THE RECALL NOTICE ISSUE. FIX WAS TO REMOVE AND REPLACE LEAD FRAME. INSTALLING MAIN CONTROL ASSEMBLY AND TRANSMISSION PAN. NEW FLUID AND CODES CLEARED. WHAT IS ALSO FRIGHTENING IS ACCORDING TO NTHSA WEB SITE THIS PROBLEM IS SPECIFIC 2011 -2012 AND 2013 F150'S. I AM UNDER 150K IN MILEAGE AND WELL WITHIN 10 YEARS FROM DATE OF WARRANTY. THERE ARE MANY MORE F150S THAT DID NOT COME UNDER THE RECALL MINE BEING ONE OF THEM. NHTSA NOTES THAT ATTEMPTS TO FIX THE PROBLEM IN RECALLED VEHICLES HAVE BEEN UNSUCCESSFUL. WHAT CAN I DO? I HAVE COMPLAINED TO FORD AND HAVE AN OPEN CASE PENDING REVIEW. HOW CAN FORD JUSTIFY SOME VEHICLES ARE SUBJECT TO THE RECALL AND OTHERS ARE NOT? ESPECIALLY WHEN I HAVE THE IDENTICAL SYMPTOMS AND REMEDY.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/5/2018 - HUBERTUS, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. WHILE WASHING THE VEHICLE, THE CONTACT NOTICED SEVERE RUST ON THE INSIDE OF THE CABIN CORNERS ALL THE WAY TO THE OUTER SURFACE ON BOTH CORNERS OF THE CABIN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT BODY SHOP AND THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THIS WAS A COMMON FAILURE WITH THESE VEHICLES. DUE TO HOW THE VEHICLES WERE DESIGNED, WATER WOULD ACCUMULATE ON THE CORNERS OF THE CABIN. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 125,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/31/2018 - FRISCO, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE WOULD INADVERTENTLY SHIFT INTO FIRST GEAR AND THE "WRENCH" WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AUTONATION FORD FRISCO (6850 TX-121, FRISCO, TX 75034) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE LEAD FRAME FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT BELIEVED THE FAILURE WAS RELEVANT TO NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V248000 (POWER TRAIN). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,137. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

5/29/2018 - WAKE FOREST, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START. IN ADDITION, WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO COAST TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. WHEN THE CONTACT POWERED OFF AND RESTARTED THE ENGINE, HE WAS ABLE TO DRIVE NORMALLY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO CROSSROAD FORD OF WAKE FOREST, INC. (10101 CAPITAL BLVD, WAKE FOREST, NC 27587, (877) 331-8117), BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND FILED A CASE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 137,983.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/29/2018 - WAKE FOREST, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START. IN ADDITION, WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO COAST TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. WHEN THE CONTACT POWERED OFF AND RESTARTED THE ENGINE, HE WAS ABLE TO DRIVE NORMALLY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO CROSSROAD FORD OF WAKE FOREST, INC. (10101 CAPITAL BLVD, WAKE FOREST, NC 27587, (877) 331-8117), BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND FILED A CASE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 137,983.

View Details

STEERING

5/29/2018 - PEORIA, AZ
WHILE TRAVELING THE ELECTRONIC POWER STEERING ASSIST FAILED RENDERING THE TRUCK NEARLY IMPOSSIBLE TO CONTROL. DEALER (RODEO FORD) REPLACED ENTIRE STEERING RACK AND WITHIN 500 MILES IT FAILED AGAIN. THIS TIME WHILST TOWING A 5600 POUND TRAILER DOWN A 6% GRADE IN ARIZONA. NEARLY KILLED MY ENTIRE FAMILY.

View Details

STEERING

5/27/2018 - LINDSAY, OK
THE VEHICLES STEERING HAS MADE A LOUD POPPING NOISE AND NOW MY TWO FRONT TIRES ARE COMPLETELY OUT OF ALIGNMENT. BOTH ARE POINTING OUTWARDS. THE VEHICLE WILL NOT STEER CORRECTLY AND THE STEERING WHEEL HAS TURNED OFF OF CENTER. I CAN NOT DRIVE THE VEHICLE STRAIGHT GOING DOWN THE ROAD. I WAS BACKING OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY WHEN THE VEHICLE MADE A HORRIFIC NOISE AND STARTED ALL THIS WACKY DRIVING.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/26/2018 - WAKE FOREST, NC
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

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 137
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds