Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2012 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 387 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (5) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (88)
Electrical System (18) Fuel Propulsion System (37) Service Brakes (7) Suspension (5) Visibility (6)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (31) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (4) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (257) Power Train (89) Steering (21) Unknown Or Other (11) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 61
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

11/24/2014 - RICHMOND, IN
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD 150. THE CONTACT STATED WHEN DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH THE VEHICLE DECELERATED INDEPENDENTLY AND THEN THE VEHICLE STARTED SHAKING AND CUT OFF. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE DEALER COULD NOT DIAGNOSED THE PROBLEM, BUT SENT A MESSAGE TO FORD MANUFACTURER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT ADVISE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE 43,000. RWK

View Details

STEERING

11/21/2014 - SANTA ROSA , CA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE THE TURN SIGNAL WAS ENGAGED THE SERVICE TRACK LIGHT ILLUMINATED CAUSING THE TURN SIGNAL TO DEACTIVATE. THE FAILURE WAS EXPERIENCED SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER A DIAGNOSTIC WAS PERFORMED WHICH LOCATED THE FAILURE AT THE STEERING RACK NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER 14V316000 (STEERING). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 39,000. LI

View Details

ENGINE

11/19/2014 - TUPELO, MS
I HAD BEEN ON THE HIGHWAY FOR 6 HOURS WITH INTERMITTENT RAIN, ABOUT 3.5 HOURS SINCE LAST STOP, 1/2 TANK OF GAS REMAINING. LOCATION WAS I-65 NORTH NEAR ELIZABETHTOWN, KY, 11:15 PM, WITH MIST, WET ROAD AND SPRAY. WEATHER RECORDS INDICATE 50 DEGREES AND FALLING, LIGHT RAIN, 84% HUMIDITY. I HAD THE F-150 IN 4WD-AUTO MODE DUE TO THE ROAD CONDITIONS. FOR SEVERAL MILES ANOTHER CAR HAD BEEN CONTINUALLY STAYING IN MY BLIND SPOT IN THE LANE IMMEDIATELY TO THE LEFT, DESPITE ATTEMPTS TO CLEAR WITH GRADUAL REDUCTIONS/INCREASES IN MY SPEED. MY GENERAL CRUISING SPEED WAS ABOUT 70 MPH. I WAS IN THE RIGHT LANE APPROACHING A VERY SLOW-MOVING TRACTOR TRAILER, SO I ACCELERATED MODERATELY-HARD TO MOVE AHEAD OF THE CAR TO MY LEFT AND WAS CHANGING INTO THAT LANE WHEN THE F-150 STARTED SHAKING VIOLENTLY AND LOST SPEED. MY WIFE THOUGHT THAT WE HAD COLLIDED WITH SOMETHING IN THE ROAD. I QUICKLY VEERED BACK INTO THE RIGHT LANE AND BRAKED HARD, NARROWLY AVOIDING AN ACTUAL COLLISION. I SUSPECTED WE HAD SOME TYPE OF ENGINE OR TRANSMISSION PROBLEM, BUT WHILE COASTING THE VEHICLE SEEMED TO BE RUNNING SMOOTHLY. I SWITCHED FROM 4WD-AUTO TO 2WD AND TRIED TO GENTLY ACCELERATE AGAIN, BUT THE F-150 STARTED SHAKING AGAIN AND THE CHECK-ENGINE LIGHT STARTED FLASHING. I PULLED OFF OF THE ROAD, AND BY THE TIME I CAME TO A STOP THE LIGHT HAD STOPPED FLASHING. I CHECKED ALL AROUND AND UNDER THE VEHICLE, UNDER HOOD, GAUGES, ETC. WITH NO FURTHER SIGN OF A PROBLEM. I STOPPED AND STARTED THE ENGINE, THEN DROVE AWAY AND THE F-150 PERFORMED NORMALLY FOR REMAINDER OF TRIP TO LOUISVILLE, KY. THE NEXT DAY I TOOK THE F-150 TO A LOCAL DEALER, WHO ADVISED THAT I HAD EXPERIENCED THE "CLASSIC SCENARIO" FOR CONDENSATION IN THE CHARGE-AIR COOLER, CAUSING ENGINE MISFIRES. THE F-150 IS GETTING VERY POOR GAS MILEAGE EVER SINCE. HOME DEALER HAS DECLINED SERVICE BECAUSE OBD CODES ARE NO LONGER PRESENT. ENGINE: 3.5L GTDI (ECOBOOST)

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/19/2014 - LAKELAND, FL
MY SON WAS GOING TO WORK AND FORGOT HIS PHONE CAME BACK TO GET IT SOMETHING RAN IN FRONT OF THE TRUCK AND HE HIT AN OAK TREE IN OUR FRONT YARD KNOCKED HIM COLD,,AIR BAG DID NOT DEPLOY, I OPENED THE DOOR NO RESPONCE,,,SHUCK HIM HE CAME TO SO I TOOK HIM TO THE HOSPITAL HEAD INJURIES AND BRUISED RIB,S,THE BODY SHOP SAID TO CALL FORD MOTOR COMP, TO COME CHECK THE AIR BAG,S WHY THAY DID NOT GO OFF THAT REFUESED,CALLED THEM AGAIN THAY SAID TO BAD,NOW MY SON IS NOT THE SAME ,AND FORD MOTOR COMP DOES NOT CARE SAID THAY WOULD DO NOTHING,HE MIGHT NOT HAGVE HIT HIS HEAD IF THE AIRBAG HAD DEPLOYED,WHAT CAN I DO? MARK RAGSDALE 863 581 3182 THANK YOU AND HAGVE A BLESSED DAY MARK RAGSDALE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/12/2014 - CHICAGO, IL
BELOW IS THE EMAIL I SENT TO FORD, PLEASE HELP ME. I HAVE JUST BOUGHT A 2012 F150 ECOBOOST AND HAVE HAD A ISSUE WITH THE BREAKS WHEN IN REVERSE, I ALMOST CRASHED WITH MY 3 YEAR OLD SON IN THE CAR THE FIRST TIME THIS HAPPENED, A QUICK GOOGLE SEARCH SHOWED THAT THIS IS A COMMON ISSUE, A ISSUE I AM SURE YOU HAVE HEARD OF, I AM AN IRAQ WAR VET WHO COULD HAVE BEEN KILLED ALONG WITH MY 3 YEAR OLD SON BECAUSE OF THIS DEFECT, I DEMAND ANSWERS THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY DEFECT AND I AM PUTTING YOU ON NOTICE NO DENYING YOU KNEW ABOUT THIS WHEN SOMEONE IS KILLED. HERE IS A LINK DOCUMENTING THIS ISSUE HTTP://WWW.F150ONLINE.COM/FORUMS/2009-2014-F-150/500762-ECOBOOST-NO-BRAKES-FIRST-THING-MORNING-HERE-S- I HAVE TAKEN IT TO THE SHOP REPAIR BILL OF $890 THIS IS WHY FORD IS NOT RECALLING IT, ALTHOUGH THEY CHANGED THE PART IN MODEL YEAR 2014.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/7/2014 - DALLAS, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH, THE VEHICLE DECELERATED INDEPENDENTLY AND THERE WAS A SUDDEN INCREASE IN ENGINE RPMS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,100.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/6/2014 - JACKSONVILLE, NC
WHEN TRYING TO PASS A SLOW MOVING VEHICLE ( GOING 45 IN A 55) I TRIED TO PASS. WHEN I MOVED INTO OTHER LANE AND GASSED TRUCK I LOST POWER AND STARTED JERKING. I HAD TO LET UP COMPLETELY OFF THE GAS AND FALL BACK BEHIND THE CAR THAT I WAS PASSING. THIS WAS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION SINCE THERE WERE OTHER CARS BEHIND ME THAT HAD ALSO STARTED TO PASS AS WELL AS ONCOMING CARS UP AHEAD (A SAFE DISTANCE BEFORE ATTEMPTING TO PASS OF COURSE). THIS SEEMS TO BE A MAJOR ISSUE SINCE MANY OF THE SAME STORIES CAME UP WHEN SEARCHING THE INTERNET ABOUT THIS.

View Details

ENGINE

11/6/2014 - JACKSONVILLE, NC
WHEN TRYING TO PASS A SLOW MOVING VEHICLE ( GOING 45 IN A 55) I TRIED TO PASS. WHEN I MOVED INTO OTHER LANE AND GASSED TRUCK I LOST POWER AND STARTED JERKING. I HAD TO LET UP COMPLETELY OFF THE GAS AND FALL BACK BEHIND THE CAR THAT I WAS PASSING. THIS WAS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION SINCE THERE WERE OTHER CARS BEHIND ME THAT HAD ALSO STARTED TO PASS AS WELL AS ONCOMING CARS UP AHEAD (A SAFE DISTANCE BEFORE ATTEMPTING TO PASS OF COURSE). THIS SEEMS TO BE A MAJOR ISSUE SINCE MANY OF THE SAME STORIES CAME UP WHEN SEARCHING THE INTERNET ABOUT THIS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/5/2014 - EL PASO , TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER BRAKING TO A COMPLETE STOP, THERE WAS A SUDDEN INCREASE IN ENGINE RPMS AS THE VEHICLE JERKED VIOLENTLY. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 34,148. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/28/2014 - WARWICK, RI
THE VACUUM PUMP ON MY ECOBOOST TRUCK NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. WHEN I START MY CAR EVERY ONCE AND WHILE THE BRAKES ARE SUPER STIFF AND IT HAS TROUBLE STOPPING THE CAR FOR A FEW SECONDS. AFTER DRIVING FOR A BIT THE BRAKES ARE FINE. THIS SEEMS TO BE A COMMON ISSUE WITH THE 2011/2012 ECOBOOSTS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 61
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds