Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2012 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 684 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Exterior Lighting (3) Seats (8) Suspension (10) Vehicle Speed Control (103)
Electrical System (61) Fuel Propulsion System (51) Service Brakes (49) Tires (9) Visibility (20)
Electronic Stability Control (13) Fuel System Gasoline (34) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1) Visibility Wiper (38)
Engine (327) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (61) Unknown Or Other (28) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Power Train (147) Structure (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 100
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY/WIPER

12/3/2016 - LAKE ORION, MI
I DROVE TO MY DOCTOR'S OFFICE AND PARKED. I HEARD WHAT SOUNDED LIKE ICE FALLING ON MY BACK WINDOW (IT HAD BEEN FROSTY THAT DAY). I DIDN'T NOTICE THE DAMAGE AT THAT TIME. I THEN DROVE TO ANOTHER LOCATION AND HEARD IT AGAIN, AND WHEN I EXITED THE TRUCK AND CIRCLED AROUND THE BACK, I SAW THE SHATTERED GLASS PANEL AND SMALL HOLE ON THE PASSENGER'S BACK WINDOW. I HAD USED THE DEFROST BUTTON THAT DAY. I HAVE SINCE CLEARED THE PANEL OF GLASS PIECES AND SECURED A TEMPORARY PANEL IN PLACE. THIS GLASS PANEL IS RIGHT BEHIND MY 6-YEAR-OLD SON'S BOOSTER SEAT, WHERE HE ALWAYS SITS.

View Details

ENGINE

11/30/2016 - CEDAR GROVE, WI
THE VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED USED FROM A DEALERSHIP WITH 95,000 MILES. AT 115,000 MILES THE VEHICLE EXHIBITED A RATTLING SOUND AT STARTUP AND WAS TAKEN TO A MECHANIC. THE MECHANIC NOTED THE PROBLEM WAS WITH THE TMING CHAIN AND FORD HAD ISSUED TSB 14-0194. HE ADVISED IT SHOULD BE ADDRESSED BY A FORD DEALER. THE FORD DEALER INSPECTED AND AGREED WITH THE DIAGNOSIS, PRIMARY TIMING CHAIN WEAR, AND PROVIDED AN ESTIMATE OF $2,200 FOR THE REPAIRS. SHOCKED BY THE NEED FOR A MAJOR ENGINE REPAIR AT THIS MILEAGE, A COMPLAINT WAS ISSUED TO FORD CORP. THEY RESPONDED THROUGH THE DEALERSHIP OFFERING NOTHING. THE DEALERSHIP'S SERVICE CONSULTANT NOTED THE VEHICLES SERVICE RECORDS INDICATE THE TIMING CHAIN HAD ALREADY BEEN REPLACED UNDER WARRANTY. FURTHER RESEARCH INDICATES THIS IS A COMMON AND RECURRING PROBLEM FOR THIS MODEL YEAR. I EXPECT A RECALL TO BE ISSUED.

View Details

STEERING

11/29/2016 - HOUSTON, TX
LOST POWER STEERING WHILE DRIVING ON A FREEWAY. I WAS ABLE TO DRIVE VEHICLE HOME. BUT VEHICLE UNSAFE TO DRIVE. FORD NEEDS TO MAKE A POWER STEERING RECALL TO THIS VEHICLE BEFORE SOMEBODY DIES....

View Details

ENGINE

11/27/2016 - KANSAS CITY, MO
THE TRUCK SUDDENLY DECELERATED AND A WARNING LIGHT CAME ON. THE FIRST TIME I WAS ON A RESIDENTIAL STREET AND WENT FROM 25 TO 2 MPH W/O ANY OTHER TRAFFIC. THE SECOND TIME IT WAS ON A STATE HIGHWAY AND WE WENT FROM 45 TO 2 MPH WITH TRAFFIC BEHIND US. THE DEALER SAID THE THROTTLE BODY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED BECAUSE OF A BAD SENSOR. THIS IS APPARENTLY A KNOWN ISSUE ON 2015/2016 MODEL YEARS, BUT NOT ON 2012'S. THE DEALER SAID IT IS THE SAME PROBLEM AND FORD HAS RECALLED NEWER TRUCKS BECAUSE OF IT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/27/2016 - KANSAS CITY, MO
THE TRUCK SUDDENLY DECELERATED AND A WARNING LIGHT CAME ON. THE FIRST TIME I WAS ON A RESIDENTIAL STREET AND WENT FROM 25 TO 2 MPH W/O ANY OTHER TRAFFIC. THE SECOND TIME IT WAS ON A STATE HIGHWAY AND WE WENT FROM 45 TO 2 MPH WITH TRAFFIC BEHIND US. THE DEALER SAID THE THROTTLE BODY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED BECAUSE OF A BAD SENSOR. THIS IS APPARENTLY A KNOWN ISSUE ON 2015/2016 MODEL YEARS, BUT NOT ON 2012'S. THE DEALER SAID IT IS THE SAME PROBLEM AND FORD HAS RECALLED NEWER TRUCKS BECAUSE OF IT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/22/2016 - ANCHORAGE, AK
SUNROOF IMPLODED WHILE PARKED. I WENT TO MY TRUCK TO GET SOMETHING IN THE AFTERNOON CLOSED THE DOOR, THOUGHT I HEARD A POP. WENT BACK TO WORK AND A COWORKER POINTED OUT SOMETHING LOOKED WRONG WITH MY SUNROOF. THE GLASS POPPED UP AND THE ENTIRE SUNROOF SHATTERED. HOW AM I RESPONSIBLE FOR REPLACING THIS!? $900 WAS THE ESTIMATE.

View Details

ENGINE

11/17/2016 - GIG HARBOR, WA
IN HEAVY RAIN CONDITIONS AFTER DRIVING FOR 2 HOURS IN THE PACIFIC NORTHWEST ON THE I-5 THE TRUCK ECOBOOST TURBO STALLED AND LOST POWER DURING A PASSING SITUATION OF A LARGE 18 WHEELER. I WAS DRIVING AT 60 MPH, AND ATTEMPTED A PASS, BUT WAS UNABLE TO PASS DUE TO POWER LOSS, SHUDDER, AND LIMP MODE. INTERMITTENT CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND PARTIAL LIMP MODE OCCURRED. THIS IS THE KNOWN STALL/SHUDDER ISSUE THAT MULTIPLE ECOBOOST MOTORS ON F150S ARE EXPERIENCING IN RAINY DAMP CONDITIONS. SEVERE SAFETY ISSUE IF YOU ARE TRYING TO PASS ON A TWO LANE HIGHWAY AND YOU LOSE POWER WHILE TRYING TO PASS A LOGGING TRUCK AND SOMEONE FOLLOWS YOU AND YOU GET ONLY HALF WAY. THIS IS THE SECOND INCIDENT I HAVE HAD WITH THIS TRUCK. DEALER DID A TSB THAT INVOLVED REPROGRAMMING THE PCM AND REMOVING A DEFLECTOR SHIELD. THIS FIX SEEMS LIKE A BAND AID, AND FORD SHOULD BE DOING A COMPLETE REDESIGN OF THE TURBO COOLER INTAKE.

View Details

ENGINE

11/17/2016 - GIG HARBOR, WA
IN HEAVY RAIN CONDITIONS AFTER DRIVING FOR 2 HOURS IN THE PACIFIC NORTHWEST HERE IN THE STATE OF WASHINGTON, THE TRUCK ECOBOOST TURBO STALLED AND LOST POWER DURING AN ACCELERATION ONTO A FREEWAY ON RAMP. INTERMITTENT CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND PARTIAL LIMP MODE OCCURRED. DEALER MISDIAGNOSED THE PROBLEM AS A LOOSE CONNECTION WHEN IN FACT IT WAS THE KNOWN STALL/SHUDDER ISSUE THAT MULTIPLE ECOBOOST MOTORS ON F150S ARE EXPERIENCING IN RAINY DAMP CONDITIONS. SEVERE SAFETY ISSUE IF YOU ARE TRYING TO PASS ON A TWO LANE HIGHWAY AND YOU LOSE POWER WHILE TRYING TO PASS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/17/2016 - CANYON LAKE, TX
VEHICLE UNEXPECTEDLY DOWNSHIFTS WHEN AT A HIGH SPEED ON THE HIGHWAY. DOWNSHIFT WAS SO SUDDEN AND ABRUPT, IT CAUSED MY BACK WHEELS TO LOCK AND ACTUALLY SKIDDED TO AN ALMOST COMPLETE STOP WHILE PASSING A ANOTHER CAR GOING 55 ON A 65 MPH HIGHWAY. IF OTHER CARS WERE AROUND, IT WOULD HAVE CAUSED A MAJOR ACCIDENT. FORD HAS RECALLED VEHICLES LIKE MINE (RECALL # 16S19) FROM KANSAS CITY, WHERE MY VEHICLE WAS MADE. BUT HAS TOLD ME THAT MY VEHICLE DOES NOT SHOW UP. I BOUGHT THIS VEHICLE IN CANADA. IT WAS EXPORT FROM THE SAME PLAN HAVING THE PROBLEM. THIS SUDDEN DOWNSHIFT CAN CAUSE A SERIOUS ACCIDENT. EFFECT IS LIKE SLAMMING THE BRAKES AT 65 MPH. I WILL BE TAKING IN FOR REPAIRS AT MY EXPENSE. BUT FORD NEEDS TO BE MORE SAFETY CONSCIOUS WITH THEIR CUSTOMERS AND SOCIETY IN GENERAL . THIS ISSUE IS VERY DANGEROUS.

View Details

VISIBILITY: DEFROSTER/DEFOGGER SYSTEM: REAR WINDOW

11/16/2016 - MONROE, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE CONTACT ACTIVATED THE REAR WINDOW DEFROSTER. MOMENTS LATER, THE REAR WINDOW SHATTERED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS ADVISED THAT THE REAR WINDOW NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DETERMINED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 53,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 100
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds