Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2012 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 417 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (5) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (89)
Electrical System (24) Fuel Propulsion System (42) Service Brakes (9) Suspension (6) Visibility (7)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (31) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (268) Power Train (95) Steering (24) Unknown Or Other (13) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 65
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/24/2015 - ALIQUIPPA, PA
PUSHED REAR DEFROSTER BUTTON 3 TIMES TO TURN ON DEFROSTER AND IT DIDN'T WORK. FINALLY POWER TURNED ON AFTER ABOUT 10 SECONDS AND DEFROSTER STARTED. DROVE APPROXIMATELY HALF MILE AND STOPPED IN A FAST FOOD DRIVE THRU LANE. HEARD A LOUD POPPING SOUND AND SMELLED LIKE SOMETHING WAS BURNING. TURNED AROUND AND FOUND THE PASSENGER SIDE REAR WINDSHIELD WINDOW SHATTERED. IMMEDIATELY TURNED OFF ALL CLIMATE CONTROLS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/23/2015 - OAKLAND TOWNSHIP, MI
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH, THE VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE DRIVER SIDE OF A SECOND VEHICLE CAUSING SIGNIFICANT DAMAGE TO THE FRONT END. DURING THE INCIDENT, THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE DRIVER SUFFERED NECK, BACK AND LEG INJURIES AND THE PASSENGER SUFFERED CONTUSIONS AND TRAUMA TO THE CHEST AREA WHICH REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE DRIVER OF THE SECOND VEHICLE SUFFERED FATAL INJURIES DURING THE CRASH. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 52,000. PAM

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/22/2015 - RISING SUN, MD
ON 27 DECEMBER 2013, I RETURNED HOME FROM WORK SOMETIME BETWEEN 5-6PM. I PARKED THE VEHICLE IN THE DRIVEWAY JUST AS I HAD EVERY DAY SINCE I HAVE OWNED THE VEHICLE. I PUT THE VEHICLE IN PARK, AND EXITED THE VEHICLE AND WALKED TO THE PASSENGER SIDE TO RETRIEVE BAGS THAT I HAD TO TAKE INTO THE HOUSE. I OPENED THE PASSENGER SIDE DOOR, TOOK OUT THE BAGS, CLOSED THE DOOR, AND PRESSED THE LOCK BUTTON ON THE KEY FOB AS I WALKED INTO MY HOUSE. I REMEMBER IT WAS A WINDY DAY AND AS I RECENTLY RESEARCHED, GUSTS WERE UP TO 27 MILES PER HOUR DURING THE TIME IN QUESTION. APPROXIMATELY 45 MINUTES AFTER I WENT INTO THE HOUSE, THE NEIGHBOR WAS AT THE DOOR AND TOLD ME THAT MY TRUCK HAD ROLLED DOWN THE HILL. IN PANIC AND DISBELIEF I RAN OUTSIDE TO SEE THAT MY TRUCK HAD ROLLED DOWN MY DRIVEWAY, BUT SINCE THE WHEELS WERE SLIGHTLY TURNED, IT STOPPED IN MY YARD AFTER RUNNING INTO THE MAILBOX. I QUICKLY RAN DOWN TO THE VEHICLE AND TRIED TO OPEN THE DOOR BUT IT WAS LOCKED. I PUT IN THE CODE AND UNLOCKED THE TRUCK. I THEN RAN INTO THE HOUSE TO GET THE KEYS. I HAD NOT BROUGHT THEM OUT THE FIRST TIME I RAN OUT. WHEN I GOT BACK IN THE CAR, I NOTICED THAT THE GEAR SELECTOR IN THE DASHBOARD DID NOT HAVE THE ORANGE LINE IT USUALLY DOES WHEN IN PARK. IT LOOKED LIKE A SMALLER LINE, ALMOST AS IF IT WAS SOMEHOW BETWEEN PARK AND REVERSE. WHEN I ASSESSED THE DAMAGES THE TRUCK RAN INTO THE MAILBOX AND BUSTED THE DRIVERÆS SIDE TAIL LIGHT. T THE NEXT DAY, I TOOK THE TRUCK TO THE DEALERSHIP. THEY SAID THEY COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE, AND STATED THAT THEY WOULD NOT PAY FOR THE VEHICLE DAMAGE EVEN THOUGH IT WAS STILL UNDER FACTORY WARRANTY. THEY SUGGESTED A FILE A CLAIM WITH MY INSURANCE. I FILED A CLAIM WITH FORD, BUT THEY STATED THAT MY INFORMATION DID NOT SUBSTANTIATE MY CLAIM OF A MANUFACTURING OR DESIGN DEFECT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/22/2015 - RISING SUN, MD
ON 27 DECEMBER 2013, I RETURNED HOME FROM WORK SOMETIME BETWEEN 5-6PM. I PARKED THE VEHICLE IN THE DRIVEWAY JUST AS I HAD EVERY DAY SINCE I HAVE OWNED THE VEHICLE. I PUT THE VEHICLE IN PARK, AND EXITED THE VEHICLE AND WALKED TO THE PASSENGER SIDE TO RETRIEVE BAGS THAT I HAD TO TAKE INTO THE HOUSE. I OPENED THE PASSENGER SIDE DOOR, TOOK OUT THE BAGS, CLOSED THE DOOR, AND PRESSED THE LOCK BUTTON ON THE KEY FOB AS I WALKED INTO MY HOUSE. I REMEMBER IT WAS A WINDY DAY AND AS I RECENTLY RESEARCHED, GUSTS WERE UP TO 27 MILES PER HOUR DURING THE TIME IN QUESTION. APPROXIMATELY 45 MINUTES AFTER I WENT INTO THE HOUSE, THE NEIGHBOR WAS AT THE DOOR AND TOLD ME THAT MY TRUCK HAD ROLLED DOWN THE HILL. IN PANIC AND DISBELIEF I RAN OUTSIDE TO SEE THAT MY TRUCK HAD ROLLED DOWN MY DRIVEWAY, BUT SINCE THE WHEELS WERE SLIGHTLY TURNED, IT STOPPED IN MY YARD AFTER RUNNING INTO THE MAILBOX. I QUICKLY RAN DOWN TO THE VEHICLE AND TRIED TO OPEN THE DOOR BUT IT WAS LOCKED. I PUT IN THE CODE AND UNLOCKED THE TRUCK. I THEN RAN INTO THE HOUSE TO GET THE KEYS. I HAD NOT BROUGHT THEM OUT THE FIRST TIME I RAN OUT. WHEN I GOT BACK IN THE CAR, I NOTICED THAT THE GEAR SELECTOR IN THE DASHBOARD DID NOT HAVE THE ORANGE LINE IT USUALLY DOES WHEN IN PARK. IT LOOKED LIKE A SMALLER LINE, ALMOST AS IF IT WAS SOMEHOW BETWEEN PARK AND REVERSE. WHEN I ASSESSED THE DAMAGES THE TRUCK RAN INTO THE MAILBOX AND BUSTED THE DRIVERÆS SIDE TAIL LIGHT. T THE NEXT DAY, I TOOK THE TRUCK TO THE DEALERSHIP. THEY SAID THEY COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE, AND STATED THAT THEY WOULD NOT PAY FOR THE VEHICLE DAMAGE EVEN THOUGH IT WAS STILL UNDER FACTORY WARRANTY. THEY SUGGESTED A FILE A CLAIM WITH MY INSURANCE. I FILED A CLAIM WITH FORD, BUT THEY STATED THAT MY INFORMATION DID NOT SUBSTANTIATE MY CLAIM OF A MANUFACTURING OR DESIGN DEFECT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/20/2015 - CASTLE ROCK, CO
WHEN SLOWING DOWN TO MAKE A TURN THE VEHICLE MAKES A KIND OF MOANING SOUND. AT FIRST WE WERE TOLD IT MIGHT BE THE FRONT WHEEL BEARINGS GOING OUT BUT WHEN WE TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP THEY SAID IT WAS THE ELECTRONIC STEERING GEAR WHICH WOULD COST US $1645 TO FIX. THIS IS A 2012 VEHICLE THAT GETS REGULAR OIL CHANGES AND MAINTENANCE, IS DRIVEN TO AND FROM WORK AND ON HIGHWAYS AND INTERSTATES. THERE'S NO REASON THIS SHOULD NEED TO BE REPAIRED AFTER LESS THAN THREE YEARS OF OWNERSHIP. WE ARE THE ORIGINAL OWNERS. THERE SEEMS TO BE A DEFECT WITH THIS SYSTEM AND FORD IS RECALLING THEIR 2014 F150'S DUE TO THIS PROBLEM. I THINK THEY NEED TO EXPAND THEIR RECALL TO INCLUDE 2012'S.

View Details

ENGINE

1/15/2015 - ELDRIDGE, IA
ENGINE SHUT OFF COMPLETELY A BIG WRENCH CAME UP ON THE SCREEN WHERE THE MPG AND STUFF ARE ALMOST GOT REAR ENDED DUE TO RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC.

View Details

ENGINE

1/14/2015 - PAISLEY, FL
DRIVING AT 5 MPH RAINING OUT AND ENGINE SHUT OFF FOR ABOUT 10 SEC. NOW ENGINE HESITATION WHEN PASSING OR JUST TAKING OFF.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/13/2015 - STRAWN, TX
DIFFERENTIAL LOCK ACTIVATES BY IT'S SELF. LIGHT COMES ON INSTRUMENT PANEL SHOWING REAR AXLE LOCKED. REAR AXLE LOCKS UP AT SPEEDS BELOW 20 MPH. IF STOPPED AT A LIGHT OR SIGN YOUR REAR WHEELS WILL DRAG AS IF THE BRAKES ARE BEING APPLIED. IT CAN HAPPEN AT ANY TIME. IF GOING OVER 20 MPH SOME TIMES THE INSTRUMENT PANEL MESSAGE CENTER LIGHTS UP AND SAYS YOU HAVE TO SLOW DOWN BELOW 20 MPH TO APPLY REAR DIFFERENTIAL LOCK. HAPPENS MOSTLY IN 2WD. THIS HAS HAPPENED FOR OVER 6,000 MILES. CAN BE ON DRY PAVEMENT OR ROUGH SURFACE. HAVE NOTICED THAT THE 4WD MODE SWITCH ON DASH WILL SEEM LOOSE AND THE KNOB WILL PULL OUT IF YOU HIT A ROUGH ROAD SURFACE. I HAVE REPLACED THE MODE SWITCH AT MY EXPENSE (1) TIME AT MY EXPENSE P/N CL3Z-14B166-EA. DEALER AND FORD STILL TRYING TO FIGURE OUT PROBLEM. THIS CAUSES VEHICLE TO LOOSE COMMUNICATIONS WITH OBD CIRCUIT AND SEVERAL OTHER MODULES. NOT ALLOWING SYSTEM TO DOWNLOAD CODES OR TO UPDATE PARAMETERS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/12/2015 - SARVER, PA
2012 F150 ECOBOOST ENGINE.LOSS OF POWER AND TRUCK SHUDDERING WHEN ACCELERATING AT HIGHWAY SPEED FROM POSSIBLE MISFIRING. SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON ALSO, BUT TURNED OFF SOON AFTER EVENT. TOOK TO DEALER TO CHECK, DEALER SAID TO CHANGE SPARK PLUGS AND BOOTS. DEALER DID NOT MENTION PREVIOUS OR CURRENT TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETINS FOR THIS.

View Details

ENGINE

1/12/2015 - SARVER, PA
2012 F150 ECOBOOST ENGINE.LOSS OF POWER AND TRUCK SHUDDERING WHEN ACCELERATING AT HIGHWAY SPEED FROM POSSIBLE MISFIRING. SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON ALSO, BUT TURNED OFF SOON AFTER EVENT. TOOK TO DEALER TO CHECK, DEALER SAID TO CHANGE SPARK PLUGS AND BOOTS. DEALER DID NOT MENTION PREVIOUS OR CURRENT TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETINS FOR THIS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 65
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds