Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2012 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 369 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (5) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (86)
Electrical System (15) Fuel Propulsion System (37) Service Brakes (5) Suspension (5) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (28) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (4) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (249) Power Train (86) Steering (20) Unknown Or Other (9) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 58
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

9/18/2014 - LAWRENCEVILLE, IL
DRIVING HOME FROM VACATION WE HAD STOPPED AND WERE GETTING BACK ONTO HIGHWAY , IT HAD BEEN RAINING ALL THE WAY AND WHEN WERE MERGING BACK ONTO HIGHWAY I ACCELERATED QUICKLY THE TRUCK STARTED SHACKING LOST POWER I LIFTED OFF ACCELERATOR UNTIL THE SHACKING HAD QUIT AND THEN EASED BACK IN AND WAS ABLE TO DRIVE THE REST OF THE WAY HOME.THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON DEALER SHOWED IT AS A MISFIRE.THE CURRENT FIX FOR THIS IS TO COVER THE FIRST 6 TO 8 INCHES OF THE INTERCOOLER.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/18/2014 - LAWRENCEVILLE, IL
DRIVING HOME FROM VACATION WE HAD STOPPED AND WERE GETTING BACK ONTO HIGHWAY , IT HAD BEEN RAINING ALL THE WAY AND WHEN WERE MERGING BACK ONTO HIGHWAY I ACCELERATED QUICKLY THE TRUCK STARTED SHACKING LOST POWER I LIFTED OFF ACCELERATOR UNTIL THE SHACKING HAD QUIT AND THEN EASED BACK IN AND WAS ABLE TO DRIVE THE REST OF THE WAY HOME.THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON DEALER SHOWED IT AS A MISFIRE.THE CURRENT FIX FOR THIS IS TO COVER THE FIRST 6 TO 8 INCHES OF THE INTERCOOLER.

View Details

ENGINE

9/15/2014 - SOLDOTNA, AK
USING TRUCK TO PULL APPROX. 5000 LB TRAVEL TRAILER FOR CAMPING. WE HAD BEEN DRIVING FOR ABOUT 45 MINS SINCE LAST STOP, 15 MIN BATHROOM BREAK. WEATHER WAS DRIZZLE RAIN THAT HAD BEEN CONTINUOUS FOR LAST 2 HOURS OF TRIP TIME AND THERE WAS STANDING WATER ON ROADWAY. I WAS IN A 65 MPH LOCATION, FLAT ROADWAY, AND CAME UPON A SMALL CAR DOING LESS THAN 60 MPH ON THE TURNIGAN ARM AREA OF THE SEWARD HIGHWAY (2 LANE-OPPOSING TRAFFIC). IT WAS CLEAR AND I BEGAN TO PASS. AS I CLEARED THE VEHICLE I NOTICED A LARGE CLASS A RV HAD FOLLOWED ME TO PASS THE CAR. I CONTINUED AT 65-70 MPH TO FINISH PASSING AND MY TRUCK STARTED VIBRATING AND LOSING POWER AND SPEED, NO LIGHTS OR PROBLEMS SHOWN ON DASH. THE RV THAT FOLLOWED ME WAS ON MY REAR END AND TRYING TO FIT BACK INTO THE LANE WITHOUT RUNNING THE SMALL VEHICLE OFF THE ROAD AS OPPOSING TRAFFIC APPROACHED. I COULD DO NOTHING BUT SIGNAL AND PULL OFF ON TO THE SHOULDER OF THE HIGHWAY. AS I STOPPED AND PUT TRUCK INTO NEUTRAL AND REVVED THE ENGINE IT APPEARED FINE. I WAITED FOR A CLEARING IN TRAFFIC AND PULLED BACK IN AND ACCELERATED WITH NO PROBLEM. THE PROBLEM CORRECTED THAT QUICKLY WITH OUT ME SHUTTING IT OFF. THE TRUCK HAD NO PROBLEMS FOR THE REST OF A 250 MILE TRIP. THIS INCIDENT COULD HAVE ENDED UP VERY BAD AND IT SHOOK MY WIFE UP EMOTIONALLY. THE PROBLEM OCCURRED ONE MORE TIME ON THE RETURN TRIP ON 9/13/14. SIMILAR WEATHER, BUT NOT QUITE AS WET. THIS TIME WHEN THE PROBLEM HAPPENED I WAS IN A PASSING LANE AND HAD A SLIGHT INCLINE AND A SEMI WAS DROPPING DOWN IN SPEED AND I WENT TO PASS ACCELERATING FROM 55 TO ABOUT 65 MPH, MOVING INTO THE PASSING LANE. AS I ACCELERATED THE TRUCK HAD THE SAME THING HAPPEN. THIS TIME THE SITUATION WAS NOT AS DIRE AS I RECOGNIZED IT, SIGNALED, MOVED BACK INTO THE SLOW LANE AND THEN SHOULDER. OTHER THAN UPSETTING OTHER MOTORISTS AS I SLOWED DOWN NO ENDANGERMENT TO LIFE OCCURRED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/15/2014 - SOLDOTNA, AK
USING TRUCK TO PULL APPROX. 5000 LB TRAVEL TRAILER FOR CAMPING. WE HAD BEEN DRIVING FOR ABOUT 45 MINS SINCE LAST STOP, 15 MIN BATHROOM BREAK. WEATHER WAS DRIZZLE RAIN THAT HAD BEEN CONTINUOUS FOR LAST 2 HOURS OF TRIP TIME AND THERE WAS STANDING WATER ON ROADWAY. I WAS IN A 65 MPH LOCATION, FLAT ROADWAY, AND CAME UPON A SMALL CAR DOING LESS THAN 60 MPH ON THE TURNIGAN ARM AREA OF THE SEWARD HIGHWAY (2 LANE-OPPOSING TRAFFIC). IT WAS CLEAR AND I BEGAN TO PASS. AS I CLEARED THE VEHICLE I NOTICED A LARGE CLASS A RV HAD FOLLOWED ME TO PASS THE CAR. I CONTINUED AT 65-70 MPH TO FINISH PASSING AND MY TRUCK STARTED VIBRATING AND LOSING POWER AND SPEED, NO LIGHTS OR PROBLEMS SHOWN ON DASH. THE RV THAT FOLLOWED ME WAS ON MY REAR END AND TRYING TO FIT BACK INTO THE LANE WITHOUT RUNNING THE SMALL VEHICLE OFF THE ROAD AS OPPOSING TRAFFIC APPROACHED. I COULD DO NOTHING BUT SIGNAL AND PULL OFF ON TO THE SHOULDER OF THE HIGHWAY. AS I STOPPED AND PUT TRUCK INTO NEUTRAL AND REVVED THE ENGINE IT APPEARED FINE. I WAITED FOR A CLEARING IN TRAFFIC AND PULLED BACK IN AND ACCELERATED WITH NO PROBLEM. THE PROBLEM CORRECTED THAT QUICKLY WITH OUT ME SHUTTING IT OFF. THE TRUCK HAD NO PROBLEMS FOR THE REST OF A 250 MILE TRIP. THIS INCIDENT COULD HAVE ENDED UP VERY BAD AND IT SHOOK MY WIFE UP EMOTIONALLY. THE PROBLEM OCCURRED ONE MORE TIME ON THE RETURN TRIP ON 9/13/14. SIMILAR WEATHER, BUT NOT QUITE AS WET. THIS TIME WHEN THE PROBLEM HAPPENED I WAS IN A PASSING LANE AND HAD A SLIGHT INCLINE AND A SEMI WAS DROPPING DOWN IN SPEED AND I WENT TO PASS ACCELERATING FROM 55 TO ABOUT 65 MPH, MOVING INTO THE PASSING LANE. AS I ACCELERATED THE TRUCK HAD THE SAME THING HAPPEN. THIS TIME THE SITUATION WAS NOT AS DIRE AS I RECOGNIZED IT, SIGNALED, MOVED BACK INTO THE SLOW LANE AND THEN SHOULDER. OTHER THAN UPSETTING OTHER MOTORISTS AS I SLOWED DOWN NO ENDANGERMENT TO LIFE OCCURRED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/13/2014 - GREENEVILLE , TN
WHILE TRAVELING ON THE INTERSTATE, MY VEHICLE STARTING SHUTTERING AS I CHANGED LANES TO PASS ANOTHER VEHICLE. AS I ACCELERATED, THE ENGINE LOST POWER, AND THE ENGINE LIGHT STARTED FLASHING. MY VEHICLE CONTINUES TO SHUTTER UNDER HARD ACCELERATION.

View Details

STEERING

9/11/2014 - WOODBRIDGE, VA
REVERSING VEHICLE AS IN A PARALLEL PARKING MANEUVER WITH STEERING LOCKED, SERVICE ADVANCETRAC WARNING DISPLAYED. VEHICLE OPERATED NORMALLY BUT TURN SIGNALS WOULD NOT STAY ON WHEN ACTIVATED. SYSTEM AUTOMATICALLY RESET LATER AFTER VEHICLE WAS SHUT OFF AND RESTARTED BUT WARNING RETURNED DURING SAME TYPE OF MANEUVER. DEALER DIAGNOSED CODE C1963 AND C1B00. STEERING RACK AND PINION (AKA STEERING GEAR) WAS REPLACED. CODE C1B00 INDICATES ISSUE WITH STEERING ANGLE SENSOR. THE ELECTRIC POWER ASSISTED STEERING (EPAS) IN THE F150 HAS NO SERVICEABLE PARTS SO WHEN THE SENSOR GOES BAD, THE RACK GOES BAD. VERY COINCIDENTAL THAT FORD RECALLED 2014 F150S FOR A SIMILAR PROBLEM (SEE NHTSA RECAII14V316.)

View Details

ENGINE

9/3/2014 - HIGHLAND, IN
WHILE DRIVING ON A 2 LANE HIGHWAY IN NORTHERN WISCONSIN WITH MY 11 YEAR OLD SON, I WENT TO PASS A SLOWER MOVING VEHICLE IN MY 2012 F150 ECOBOOST AND WHEN I ACCELERATED QUICKLY THE ENGINE JUST LOST ALL POWER AND TO AVOID A HEAD ON COLLISION I HAD TO SLAM ON MY BRAKES AND QUICKLY RETURN BEHIND THE SLOW MOVING CAR. QUITE FRIGHTENED, I DIDN'T ACCELERATE THE REST OF THE TRIP NORTH. WHILE RETURNING LABOR DAY, DAY, AND ON A FOUR LANE EXPRESSWAY I AGAIN TESTED THE ACCELERATION TO HAVE IT HAPPEN AGAIN, BUT THIS TIME THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT STARTED TO FLASH AND THEN SHORTLY AFTER STAYED ON. BEING 400 MILES AWAY FROM HOME, I DROVE THE REST OF THE WAY VERY CAREFULLY. AFTER GETTING HOME AND BEFORE CALLING THE DEALER SERVICE TO SCHEDULE A SERVICE VISIT, I DID SOME SEARCHING ON THE INTERNET TO FIND THIS TO BE A PROBLEM WITH F150 ECOBOOST ENGINES. DOING SOME MORE SEARCHING I FOUND THE FOLLOWING ARTICLE "NHTSA CLOSES FORD-150 ECOBOOST ACCELERATION PROBE" BY NOAH JOSEPH ON APRIL 14TH 2014, DETROIT NEWS. I WAS APPALLED THAT YOU WOULD CLOSE AN INVESTIGATION WHEN THE REASON TO ACCELERATE, COULD BE TO PASS A SLOWER MOVING VEHICLE, AND TO LOSE POWER DURING THIS MOVE COULD BE DEADLY! SINCE I PURCHASED THIS TRUCK, I HAVE MADE COUNTLESS PASSES ON SLOW MOVING VEHICLES ON TWO LANE HIGHWAYS AND FELT VERY SAFE TO COMPLETE THAT LEGAL MOVE UNTIL SATURDAY, WHEN, IF I DIDN'T TAKE A DRASTIC MEASURE TO BRAKE AND TURN BACK INTO MY LANE, MORE THAN LIKELY I WOULD NOT HAVE HAD THE OPPORTUNITY TODAY TO WRITE THIS LETTER TO YOU AND MORE IMPORTANT, MY SON MAY HAVE NOT BEEN HERE EITHER. I QUESTION WHY YOU MADE THE DETERMINATION TO FIRST, CLOSE THE PROBE, AND SECOND, NOT DEMAND THAT FORD TAKE THE NECESSARY STEPS TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM, THAT IS CLEARLY A SAFETY ISSUE. I WOULD APPRECIATE A RESPONSE AND HOPE NOT TO HAVE TO TAKE FURTHER ACTION FOR YOU TO RESOLVE THIS OVERSIGHT.

View Details

ENGINE

9/2/2014 - STAFFORD, VA
WHILE TRAVELING AT INTERSTATE SPEED OF APPROX. 70 MPH, I ATTEMPTED TO PASS A SLOWER VEHICLE GOING UP A SLIGHT HILL. THERE WAS A SHUDDER AND THEN THE VEHICLE LOST ENGINE SPEED. I WENT FROM 70 MPH TO 55 MPH WITHOUT THE ABILIRY TO MAINTAIN ANY SPEED, I WAS NOT APPLYING THE BRAKES. I COULD NOT COMPLETE THE PASS AND HAD TO PULL OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. IF I TRIED TO MAINTAIN SPEED OR ACCELERATE THE VEHICLE SHOOK VIOLENTLY, WAKING UP MY FAMILY. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND JUST FLASHED. I PULLED FROM THE DRIVING LANE AND RESTARTED THE VEHICLE. THE LIGHT WENT OFF AND I WAS ABLE TO CONTINUE THE DRIVE, HAD TO BE VERY MINDFUL OF MY ACCELERATION. IT HAPPENED A SECOND TIME THE NEXT MORNING, AGAIN PASSING; SHUDDER AND THEN AN INABILITY TO MAINTAIN SPEED OR INCREASE IT. I PULLED OVER THIS TIME THE LIGHT CAME ON AND STAYED ON. I WILL BE TAKING IT TO A DEALER THIS WEEK. I WAS TRAVELING FOR APPROX. TWO HOURS PRIOR TO THE FIRST EVENT. IT WAS RAINING DURING THE FIRST EVENT, THE SECOND EVENT IT WAS PARTLY CLOUDY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/2/2014 - STAFFORD, VA
WHILE TRAVELING AT INTERSTATE SPEED OF APPROX. 70 MPH, I ATTEMPTED TO PASS A SLOWER VEHICLE GOING UP A SLIGHT HILL. THERE WAS A SHUDDER AND THEN THE VEHICLE LOST ENGINE SPEED. I WENT FROM 70 MPH TO 55 MPH WITHOUT THE ABILIRY TO MAINTAIN ANY SPEED, I WAS NOT APPLYING THE BRAKES. I COULD NOT COMPLETE THE PASS AND HAD TO PULL OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. IF I TRIED TO MAINTAIN SPEED OR ACCELERATE THE VEHICLE SHOOK VIOLENTLY, WAKING UP MY FAMILY. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND JUST FLASHED. I PULLED FROM THE DRIVING LANE AND RESTARTED THE VEHICLE. THE LIGHT WENT OFF AND I WAS ABLE TO CONTINUE THE DRIVE, HAD TO BE VERY MINDFUL OF MY ACCELERATION. IT HAPPENED A SECOND TIME THE NEXT MORNING, AGAIN PASSING; SHUDDER AND THEN AN INABILITY TO MAINTAIN SPEED OR INCREASE IT. I PULLED OVER THIS TIME THE LIGHT CAME ON AND STAYED ON. I WILL BE TAKING IT TO A DEALER THIS WEEK. I WAS TRAVELING FOR APPROX. TWO HOURS PRIOR TO THE FIRST EVENT. IT WAS RAINING DURING THE FIRST EVENT, THE SECOND EVENT IT WAS PARTLY CLOUDY.

View Details

ENGINE

9/2/2014 - CLINTON, IL
WHILE DRIVING MY 2012 F150 ECOBOOST AT 55MPH I HAD TO ACCELERATE TO MERGE INTO TRAFFIC. 75DEGREES OUTSIDE WITH LIGHT RAIN. THE MOTOR STUMBLED AND LOST POWER. SERVICE ENGINE SOON LIGHT APPEARED. I LET OF THE ACCELERATOR AND TRUCK REGAINED POWER. TO TO SHOP FOR DIAGNOSIS AND COMPUTER SHOWED 3 CYLINDER MISFIRES. THIS HAPPENS CONSTANTLY AND FORD REFUSES TO COME WITH A SOLUTION. IS IT GOING TO TAKE A FATALITY BEFORE SOMEONE CARE?

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 58
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds