Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2012 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 558 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (13) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (8) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (99)
Electrical System (46) Fuel Propulsion System (45) Service Brakes (34) Suspension (8) Visibility (9)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel System Gasoline (34) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (9) Visibility Wiper (26)
Engine (303) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (40) Unknown Or Other (31) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Power Train (111)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 85
 
ComplaintDescription

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

2/5/2016 - SYRACUSE, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR DRIVER SIDE DOOR LATCH FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 49,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/4/2016 - SCRANTON, AR
DRIVER DOOR LATCH SENSOR IS FAULTY. DOOR AJAR WARNING ON INSTRUMENT PANEL WILL NOT GO OFF. INTERIOR LIGHTS STAY ON AND DOORS WILL NOT LOCK WHILE STILL OR IN MOTION. SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE FOR MY WIFE WHILE TRAVELING OR SHOPPING AT MIGHT. IMPAIRS VISIBILITY WHILE NIGHT DRIVING AND LOCKING CAR A BIG SECURITY ISSUE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/30/2016 - GRAND JUNCTION, CO
RECENTLY I TOOK MY VEHICLE IN BECAUSE BOTH DRIVER AND PASSENGER SEAT HEATERS WERE "FRIED" ACCORDING TO THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT. THERE ARE MULTIPLE PEOPLE WITH THIS SAME PROBLEM. HERE IS A POST WITH SOME SAME OWNERS THE THE SAME PROBLEM. HTTP://WWW.F150FORUM.COM/F38/HEATED-SEATS-PROBLEM-PLEASE-HELP-123190/INDEX2/ I WAS QUOTED $1900 TO FIX THE SEAT HEATERS. IN ONE OF THE POSTS THE OWNER STATED THE SEAT HEATER GOT BURNING HOT. ANOTHER STATED IT CHARRED THE FOAM AND EVEN THE LEATHER. I FEEL LIKE IT IS GOING TO TAKE A VEHICLE TO CATCH FIRE OR EVEN WORSE SOMEONE GETTING INJURED FROM THIS PROBLEM. IT IS FORDS PROBLEM IF THIS IS HAPPENING ON MULTIPLE VEHICLES AND ALL THEY ARE DOING IS PUTTING IN NEW ELEMENTS UNTIL THEY FRY AGAIN. THEY NEED TO FIGURE THE ISSUE OUT RIGHT AND SEE WHAT IS CAUSING IT TO HAPPEN. I FEEL IT IS A SAFETY ISSUE AND A HAZARD THAT THESE PROBLEMS ARE OCCURRING. I AM NOT SENDING THIS COMPLAINT BECAUSE I WANT FORD TO PAY FOR THE SEAT HEATERS. IT IS BECAUSE IT IS HAPPENING TO MULTIPLE OWNERS AND ITS A SAFETY ISSUE. THIS ISSUE CAN BE RESOLVED BUT IT SEEMS LIKE MY SERVICE ADVISORY DIDN'T TAKE THIS ISSUE SERIOUSLY.

View Details

SEATS

1/30/2016 - GRAND JUNCTION, CO
RECENTLY I TOOK MY VEHICLE IN BECAUSE BOTH DRIVER AND PASSENGER SEAT HEATERS WERE "FRIED" ACCORDING TO THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT. THERE ARE MULTIPLE PEOPLE WITH THIS SAME PROBLEM. HERE IS A POST WITH SOME SAME OWNERS THE THE SAME PROBLEM. HTTP://WWW.F150FORUM.COM/F38/HEATED-SEATS-PROBLEM-PLEASE-HELP-123190/INDEX2/ I WAS QUOTED $1900 TO FIX THE SEAT HEATERS. IN ONE OF THE POSTS THE OWNER STATED THE SEAT HEATER GOT BURNING HOT. ANOTHER STATED IT CHARRED THE FOAM AND EVEN THE LEATHER. I FEEL LIKE IT IS GOING TO TAKE A VEHICLE TO CATCH FIRE OR EVEN WORSE SOMEONE GETTING INJURED FROM THIS PROBLEM. IT IS FORDS PROBLEM IF THIS IS HAPPENING ON MULTIPLE VEHICLES AND ALL THEY ARE DOING IS PUTTING IN NEW ELEMENTS UNTIL THEY FRY AGAIN. THEY NEED TO FIGURE THE ISSUE OUT RIGHT AND SEE WHAT IS CAUSING IT TO HAPPEN. I FEEL IT IS A SAFETY ISSUE AND A HAZARD THAT THESE PROBLEMS ARE OCCURRING. I AM NOT SENDING THIS COMPLAINT BECAUSE I WANT FORD TO PAY FOR THE SEAT HEATERS. IT IS BECAUSE IT IS HAPPENING TO MULTIPLE OWNERS AND ITS A SAFETY ISSUE. THIS ISSUE CAN BE RESOLVED BUT IT SEEMS LIKE MY SERVICE ADVISORY DIDN'T TAKE THIS ISSUE SERIOUSLY.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/25/2016 - NEENAH, WI
'TAKATA RECALL" I TOOK THIS TRUCK TO THE BERGSTORM DEALERSHIP IN NEENAH,WI ON 1/07/16 MILEAGE WAS READ 30564. THE CABLE RETAINER FOR THE REAR DRIVER DOOR, COULD NOT BE OPEN. I DID NOT KNOW THAT THE I HAD TO PAID FOR THE DIAG, THAT THEY NEVER TOLD ME THERE BE CHARGE FOR. HE JUST SAID "HERE JUST SIGNED THIS BLANK FORM AND WILL LET YOU KNOW WHAT IS NEED TO BE DONE" I NOTICED THAT THE REAR DRIVER DOOR DID NOT OPEN ON 9/2015 AT THE MILEAGE OF 27000. I FELT THAT THIS IS A DEFECT.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

1/21/2016 - COLDWATER, MS
WAS DRING TO WORK ON SMOOTH ASPHALT ROAD WITH NO OTHER TRAFFIC VISIBLE. TURNED ON ELECTRIC REAR WINDOW DEFROST. HEARD LOUD NOICE LIKE GUNSHOT. FELT RUSH OF AIR. DRIVER SIDE REAR WINDOW HAD SHATTERED.

View Details

SEATS

1/19/2016 - 81505, CO
SEATS STOP WORKING THE TRUCK HAS 27,252 READING FORD FORUMS MULTIPLE PEOPLE HAVE EXPERENCED THIS AFTER THE WARRANTY HAS JUST RAN OUT. FORD WILL NOT STAND BEHIND THEIR PRODUCT AND THE DEALERSHIP WANTS $1,700.00 TO FIX THE SEAT HEATERS.

View Details

STEERING

1/19/2016 - PUXICO, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED, THE POWER STEERING ABILITY WAS INOPERABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE POWER STEERING CONTROL MODULE WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED REPLACEMENT. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE RECURRED EVERY DAY FOR THE PAST MONTH. THE VIN WAS INVALID. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 98,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

1/13/2016 - DOTHAN, AL
ON 1/12/16 AT ABOUT 06T00 HRS., ON MY WAY TO WORK TRAVELLING ON MAIN STREET, THE RIGHT SECTION OF MY SLIDING REAR GLASS WINDOW SHATTERED. ( IT SOUNDED LIKE A SHOTGUN GOING OFF). THE TEMP WAS AROUND 30F DEGREES AND ICE ON THE WINDOW. I ACTIVATED THE DEFROST AND WITHIN TEN MINUTES THE GLASS SHATTERED. I THOUGHT SOMEONE HAD JUST SHOT MY VEHICLE AND IT CAUSED TO SWERVE INTO THE ADJACENT LANE. HAD THEIR BEEN MANY VEHICLES ON THE ROADWAY AT THAT TIME I WOULD HAVE CAUSED AN ACCIDENT. I WENT TO THE LOCAL FORD DEALERSHIP IN DOTHAN, AL AND THEY SAID THAT MY VEHICLE WARRANTY WAS NO LONGER VALID AND THAT MY EXTENDED WARRANTY DID NOT COVER THE PART. I HAD THE SAME SLIDING GLASS REAR WINDOW REPLACED IN 2013 FOR FAILING TO CLOSE AFTER OPENING. I HAVE SEARCHED ONLINE AND HAVE NOTICED SIMILAR PROBLEMS WITH FORD F150 YEAR MODELS 2010-2013.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

1/12/2016 - HANOVER, PA
I USED THE REMOTE START ON MY 2012 F150 PLATINUM ON A 20 DEGREE JANUARY MORNING. GOT IN DROVE TO WORK AND REALIZED WHEN I GOT OUT THE REAR RIGHT SIDE OF THE SLIDING WINDOW WAS TOTALLY SHATTERED. NO EVIDENCE OF VANDALISM OR ANYTHING HITTING THE GLASS. SHATTERED TOTALLY EVEN ACROSS THE ENTIRE WINDOW. VEHICLE IS OUT OF WARRANTY BY 2 MONTHS BUT UNDER MILEAGE WARRANTY BY 9,000 MILES. FORD DEALER TOLD ME NOTHING THEY CAN DO. CALLED FORD AND REGIONAL CUSTOMER CARE CALLED ME AND SAID IT WOULD TAKE UP TO 3 DAYS TO GET ME AN ANSWER. DECIDED TO FORGET THEM AND USE MY COMPREHENSIVE INSURANCE JUST TO HAVE IT FIXED ASAP.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 85
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds