Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2012 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 774 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (1) Structure (9) Vehicle Speed Control (111)
Electrical System (72) Fuel Propulsion System (55) Seats (8) Suspension (11) Visibility (24)
Electronic Stability Control (19) Fuel System Gasoline (34) Service Brakes (56) Tires (10) Visibility Wiper (50)
Engine (339) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Power Train (172) Steering (76) Unknown Or Other (38)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 113
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

5/18/2017 - COLUMBUS, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE INDEPENDENTLY SHIFTED INTO ANOTHER GEAR, WHICH CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO STALL ON THE HIGHWAY. ALL THE INSTRUMENT PANEL WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 9,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/17/2017 - MANSFIELD, NJ
WHEN BACKING OUT OF DRIVEWAY AT APPROX. 5MPH, THE POWER BRAKES BECOME SPONGY AND CAN BE PUSHED ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOOR. THE VEHICLE FAILS TO STOP AND THE BRAKES MUST BE PUMPED SEVERAL TIMES BEFORE THEY WORK. THIS ONLY OCCURS AT INITIAL STARTUP (FIRST USE OF THE BRAKES) THAT DAY. THIS HAPPENS ALMOST DAILY DURING WARM/HOT WEATHER MONTHS. THE PROBLEM HAS EXISTED SINCE THE VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED AND I HAVE TAKEN IT TO THE DEALERSHIP 2-3 TIMES REGARDING THIS ISSUE. HOWEVER, THEY COULD NOT DUPLICATE PROBLEM OR DETERMINE THE CAUSE. IT'S BEEN HAPPENING FOR THE PAST 3-4 YEARS AND IT'S ONLY A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE I DON'T STOP IN TIME AND BACKUP INTO MY NEIGHBORS CAR ACROSS THE STREET. I HAVE THE 2012 FORD F150 W/ ECO BOOST SIX-CYLINDER ENGINE AND FIND SIMILAR COMPLAINTS ON THE INTERNET REGARDING THIS TRUCK. A RECALL FOR SIMILAR BRAKE PROBLEMS WAS ISSUED ON 2013-2014 YEAR MODELS BUT NOT 2012. MY TRUCK IS NOT USED DAILY AND HAS ABOUT 30,000 MILES ON IT.

View Details

STEERING

5/14/2017 - CORPUS CHRISTI, TX
DRIVING ON HIGHWAY. DISPLAY SHOWED PSCM ERROR CODE AND POWER STEERING FAILED. LUCKILY I WAS ABLE TO MANEUVER THE TRUCK OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY AND GET ADJUSTED BEFORE TAKING IT TO DEALERSHIP.

View Details

ENGINE

5/13/2017 - SALIDA, CA
NOTICED SMALL AMOUNT OF COOLANT ON THE GROUND. STARTED TO NOTICE OVER THE NEXT COUPLE DAYS LARGER AMOUNTS OF COOLANT AFTER DRIVING. TOOK TRUCK INTO DEALER AND THE WATER PUMP HAD ALREADY GONE BAD. WAS UNDER WARRANTY SO IT WAS REPLACED FOR FREE.

View Details

STEERING

5/13/2017 - SALIDA, CA
THE TRUCK DISPLAYED A SERVICE ADVANCETRAC ERROR, PARTIALLY DISABLING THE TURN SIGNALS WHILE DRIVING. WHEN I TURN CORNERS TRUCK STEERING WHEEL WILL PULL CAUSING TRUCK TO VEER SHARPER INTO THE TURN. IT WILL ALSO MAKE A SLIGHT NOISE WHEN IT HAPPENS. TRUCK HAS 66000 MILES ON IT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/12/2017 - BARTLETT, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, BUT THE VEHICLE LOST POWER. THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED SEVERAL OTHER TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THERE WERE NO RECALLS FOR THE FAILURE AND PROVIDED CASE NUMBER: CAS12309457. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 7,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/12/2017 - GRAND LEDGE, MI
AT INITIAL STARTUP AFTER SITTING OVER NIGHT THE BRAKES DO NOT WORK CORRECTLY. IT SOUNDS LIKE THE EXACT ISSUE WITH THE 13-14 RECALL. AFTER A COUPLE PUMPS ON THE BRAKES THE PRESSURE IS BACK AND THEY WORK FINE. AS I AM BACKING OUT OF THE GARAGE IT FEELS LIKE THE BRAKES LOCK UP A COUPLE TIMES AND THEN THEY ARE FINE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/12/2017 - ST SIMONS ISLAND, GA
I HAVE A 2012 F-150 AND HAVE LOST POWER ALONG WITH THE BODY OF TRUCK SHACKING ON 4 OCCASIONS. WANT TO KNOW HOW MANY THROTTLE BODIES I HAVE HAD - THE ORIGINAL, THE REPLACEMENT IN 2016, ANOTHER REPLACEMENT IN 2016 AND NOW I BROKE DOWN AGAIN YESTERDAY. ACTUALLY ON THE 3RD THROTTLE BODY, MY HUSBAND DROPPED ME OFF TO PICK TRUCK UP AT DEALERSHIP AND I BROKE DOWN IN THE FORD DEALERSHIP PARKING LOT AS I WAS EXITING THE DEALERSHIP. I AGAIN LEFT IT AND THEY SAID IT WAS DUST ON SOMETHING AND LATER AFTERNOON DELIVERED IT TO MY HOUSE. SO NOW ONE YEAR LATER... ONE YEAR TO THE DAY OF BREAKING DOWN, YESTERDAY 5/11/17, I LOST POWER ON TOP OF A BIG BRIDGE ON THE INSIDE LINE COMING ON TO OUR ISLAND AND BY THE GRACE OF GOD NO ONE WAS IN THE OUTER LANE AND I WAS ABLE TO COAST OVER TO THE VERY SMALL AND TIGHT EMERGENCY LANE. PEOPLE ARE USUALLY CRESTING THE BRIDGE AT 60 MPH SO I SAY GOD WAS WATCHING OVER US. WE CALLED 911 AND WAITED IN THE EMERGENCY LANE ON TOP OF BRIDGE AND HAD A POLICE ESCORT OFF THE BRIDGE TO A PARKING LOT. WE WERE AFRAID TO MOVE ON OUR OWN IN CASE SOMEONE CRESTED THE BRIDGE AND WAS CAUGHT OFF GUARD AS WE WERE COASTING DOWN. THE EMERGENCY LANE IS VERY NARROW ON THE BRIDGE AND IT WAS A LITTLE NERVE-WRACKING. AFTER SITTING 5 MINUTES I WAS ABLE TO START THE TRUCK AGAIN WHICH IS ALWAYS THE CASE. I HAD IT TOWED TO THE FORD DEALERSHIP AND HAVE CALLED LEFT MESSAGE TWICE TO SPEAK TO THE SERVICE MANAGER AND HE HAS YET TO CALL ME BACK. WAY TO GO FORD! MY FAITH IN YOU IS LOST. I WILL NEVER FEEL SAFE IN MY TRUCK AGAIN. HOW MANY THROTTLE BODIES DOES ONE HAVE TO GO THROUGH BEFORE YOU FEEL THERE NEEDS TO BE A RECALL ON THE 2012 F-150. #LUCKYTOBEALIVE

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/11/2017 - NAPLES, FL
VEHICLE IS EXPERIENCING THE ISSUES DESCRIBED IN FORD'S APRIL 27TH, 2016 RECALL ANNOUNCEMENT OF BAD TRANSMISSION SOFTWARE AND/OR HARDWARE. MY VEHICLE IS SAID TO BE OUTSIDE OF THE DATES THAT WAS AFFECTED. WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE AT SPEEDS OF AROUND 25 MPH (MULTIPLE TIMES) THE SPEEDOMETER BECOMES ERRATIC AND DROPS TO ZERO MPH. THROTTLE IS HELD STEADY. THE TRANSMISSION BOUNCES BETWEEN GEARS AND THEN GOES INTO FIRST GEAR AT WHICH POINT THE VEHICLE SLOWS ABRUPTLY AND THE REAR TIRES SQUEAL. I HAVE NOT DRIVEN THE VEHICLE AT HIGHER SPEEDS TO SEE IF THE ISSUE OCCURS THERE AS WELL. VIDEO OF THIS HAPPENING ON MY 2012 F-150 AVAILABLE HERE: HTTPS://YOUTU.BE/P5ZXVESUSUC

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/11/2017 - NAPLES, FL
VEHICLE IS EXPERIENCING THE ISSUES DESCRIBED IN FORD'S APRIL 27TH, 2016 RECALL ANNOUNCEMENT OF BAD TRANSMISSION SOFTWARE AND/OR HARDWARE. MY VEHICLE IS SAID TO BE OUTSIDE OF THE DATES THAT WAS AFFECTED. WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE AT SPEEDS OF AROUND 25 MPH (MULTIPLE TIMES) THE SPEEDOMETER BECOMES ERRATIC AND DROPS TO ZERO MPH. THROTTLE IS HELD STEADY. THE TRANSMISSION BOUNCES BETWEEN GEARS AND THEN GOES INTO FIRST GEAR AT WHICH POINT THE VEHICLE SLOWS ABRUPTLY AND THE REAR TIRES SQUEAL. I HAVE NOT DRIVEN THE VEHICLE AT HIGHER SPEEDS TO SEE IF THE ISSUE OCCURS THERE AS WELL. VIDEO OF THIS HAPPENING ON MY 2012 F-150 AVAILABLE HERE: HTTPS://YOUTU.BE/P5ZXVESUSUC

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 113
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds