Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2012 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 641 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Exterior Lighting (3) Seats (8) Suspension (9) Vehicle Speed Control (100)
Electrical System (58) Fuel Propulsion System (51) Service Brakes (47) Tires (9) Visibility (18)
Electronic Stability Control (11) Fuel System Gasoline (34) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1) Visibility Wiper (37)
Engine (316) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (55) Unknown Or Other (25) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Power Train (130) Structure (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 95
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/20/2016 - FLORISSANT, MO
OUR TRANSMISSION IS DOING EXACTLY WHAT THE RECALL MENTIONED. WE ARE TRAVELING WITH A 2 YEAR OLD AND I CAN NOT BELIEVE THAT FORD DOES NOT HAVE A FIX TO THIS PROBLEM THIS USA VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION WHILE TRAVELING ON AN INTERSTATE

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/20/2016 - FLORISSANT, MO
OUR TRANSMISSION IS DOING EXACTLY WHAT THE RECALL MENTIONED. WE ARE TRAVELING WITH A 2 YEAR OLD AND I CAN NOT BELIEVE THAT FORD DOES NOT HAVE A FIX TO THIS PROBLEM THIS USA VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION WHILE TRAVELING ON AN INTERSTATE

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/20/2016 - FLORISSANT, MO
OUR TRANSMISSION IS DOING EXACTLY WHAT THE RECALL MENTIONED. WE ARE TRAVELING WITH A 2 YEAR OLD AND I CAN NOT BELIEVE THAT FORD DOES NOT HAVE A FIX TO THIS PROBLEM THIS USA VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION WHILE TRAVELING ON AN INTERSTATE

View Details

STEERING

8/13/2016 - LOWER BURRELL, PA
RATTLE IN STEERING, CAN BE FELT IN STEERING WHEEL. CAN BE FELT MOSTLY WHEN GOING IN A STRAIGHT LINE. VEHICLE DOES NOT HAVE TO BE ON ROUGH ROAD TO FEEL AND HEAR RATTLE. PURCHASED VEHICLE USED, BUT THIS PROBLEM IS REPORTED BY MANY OWNERS!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/12/2016 - LEAGUE CITY, SD
I WAS DRIVING CLOSE TO 50 MPH ON A STREET AND THE TRUCK SUDDENLY DOWNSHIFTED TO FIRST GEAR WITHOUT WARNING. THE REAR WHEELS LOCKED UP AND WENT INTO A SKID. THE ENGINE REVVED TO THE REDLINE. AFTER SEVERAL SECONDS THE TRANSMISSION SHIFTED BACK UP INTO A HIGHER GEAR AND RESUMED NORMAL OPERATION. IT WAS A SPONTANEOUS PROBLEM AND HAS NOT BEEN ABLE TO BE REPRODUCED. THESE SYMPTOMS ARE CONSISTENT WITH A RECALL ISSUED BY FORD FOR THE 2011-2012 F150'S WITH THE 6R80 TRANSMISSIONS, BUT MY VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. MY TRUCK'S BUILD DATE IS 8/29/2012. THE TRANSMISSION'S LEAD FRAME CONNECTOR WAS REPLACED BY THE LOCAL FORD DEALERSHIP, BUT THE SOFTWARE HAS NOT BEEN UPDATED AS PRESCRIBED IN THE RECALL.

View Details

ENGINE

8/11/2016 - FULTON, NY
FOR THE SECOND TIME SINCE OWNING THE VEHICLE, WE HAVE GOTTEN A SERVICE CODE OF P0019, AND DURING THE TIME OF THE ENGINE LIGHT BEING ON, WE EXPERIENCED SEVERE LOSS OF POWER, TO THE POINT HAD TO PULL OFF OF THE SIDE ROAD, AFTER A FEW MINUTES, RESTARTED VEHICLE, IT WAS ABLE TO RESUME. TOOK TO DEALER, THEY SAID NO PROBLEM, BECAUSE IT WAS UNDER WARRANTY. NOW, FAST FORWARD ANOTHER TWO YEARS, AND 80,000 MILES, WITH NO MORE WARRANTY, SAME ISSUE HAS HAPPENED, MAJOR LOSS OF POWER WHILE ACCELERATING AND CAUSING THE ENTIRE TRUCK TO VIBRATE, THIS TIME, ENGINE LIGHT IS ON AND CODE P0018 AND P0019, BACK TO THE FORD DEALER, THEY MADE ME CHANGE THE TURBO SENSORS, CHARGED ME $900 AND STILL THE PROBLEM EXISTS. NOW THEY WANT TO CHANGE THE CAM SHAFTS AND TIMING CHAIN GUIDES, CHARGE ME ANOTHER $2,400, AND WILL NOT GUARANTEE THE ISSUE WILL BE RESOLVED. THERE MUST BE SOMETHING GOING ON HERE THAT AN ENGINE CANNOT LAST MORE THAN 85,000 BEFORE NEEDING MAJOR ENGINE WORK. NOW I FIND THERE ARE SEVERAL COMPLAINTS AS IT RELATES TO THE ECOBOOST ENGINE, AND FORD IS UNWILLING TO STAND BEHIND THEIR POOR QUALITY PRODUCT AND THAT BUILT FORD TOUGH MEANS ONLY DURING THE 36,000 MILE WARRANTY. AMAZING THAT A $40,000 VEHICLE, CAN'T EVEN MAKE IT TO 100,000 MILES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/10/2016 - SAUCIER, MS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING 5 MPH, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, BUT VEHICLE HESITATED BEFORE IT ACCELERATED AND THE RPMS INCREASED. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT WAS AWARE OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V248000 (POWER TRAIN); HOWEVER, THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/8/2016 - BALLSTON LAKE, NY
STUMBLE/MISFIRES AT SPEED CAUSING TRUCK TO LOSE SPEED RAPIDLY WHILE IN TRAFFIC, HAS BEEN AT A FORD DEALER UP TO A MONTH AT A TIME FOR REPAIRS AND THEY CANNOT SEEM TO FIX PROBLEM. I HAVE BEEN IN CONTACT WITH FORD SINCE TUESDAY 3 MAY 2016AND THEY ASSIGNED A CASE NUMBER TO MY TRUCK CAS-9385544-N9C1Q6 CRM:01199000003347. SINCE THEN I HAVE BEEN THROUGH FOUR DIFFERENT CUSTOMER REPRESENTATIVES AND THE TRUCK HAS BEEN AT THE DEALER ON AND OFF FOR OVER SIX WEEKS WITH THEM SAYING TRY THIS IT SHOULD BE OK NOW. I ALMOST ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS GOT REAR ENDED ON THE INTERSTATE WHEN THE ENGINE SHUTS DOWN AND SPEED DROPS TO ABOUT 40, THEN I HAVE TO GET ACROSS LANES TO THE SHOULDER LET THE TRUCK IDLE FOR ABOUT 5 MINUETS. THEN I CANNOT GET IT TO GO ABOVE 50MPH FOR ABOUT 10 MILES. I BOUGHT THIS F150 NEW IN 2012 IT HAS BEN DOING THIS SINCE I BOUGHT BUT NOT THIS BAD, I AM GETTING AFRAID TO DRIVE THIS TRUCK. CAN YOU LOOK INTO WHAT CAN BE DONE TO GET THIS TRUCK REPAIRED BY FORD. YOU ASK FOR DATE AND MILEAGE THE THIS HAPPENED, IT HAPPENS EVERY DAY SO I CANNOT ALL THAT INFORMATION, SO I ONLY PROVIDED THE LAST DAY I DROVE THIS TRUCK.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/5/2016 - ROXBORO, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE TRANSMISSION BEGAN TO DOWNSHIFT WITHOUT WARNING. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED AFTER THE FAILURE OCCURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE POWER TRAIN CONTROL MODULE NEEDED TO BE UPDATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V248000 (POWER TRAIN). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 95,000.

View Details

STEERING

8/3/2016 - LAGO VISTA, TX
WHILE DRIVING ON THREE SEPARATE OCCASIONS WITHIN THE LAST TWO WEEKS THE VEHICLE STEERING HAS LOCKED UP WHILE IN MOTION. TWO OF THESE INCIDENTS WERE WHILE I WAS DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH ON TOLL 130 OUTSIDE OF CENTRAL TEXAS. THE LAST INCIDENT HAPPENED AUGUST 3, 2016 WHILE DRIVING IN A 45 MPH ZONE AND CURVE ON A CITY STREET.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 95
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds