Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2012 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 321 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Engine And Engine Cooling (11) Power Train (74) Steering (14) Vehicle Speed Control (76)
Electrical System (14) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (5) Suspension (5) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (35) Service Brakes (2) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (225) Fuel System Gasoline (25) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (6) Wheels (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 50
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

4/17/2014 - HAMILTON, OH
MY 2012 TRUCK HAS THE 3.5L ECO-BOOST ENGINE AND IT HAS SHUT ITSELF DOWN (GONE INTO LIMP MODE) AT LEAST 12 TIMES. THIS MORNING (4-17-14) IT JUST HAPPENED THREE TIMES WITHIN A 45 MIN WINDOW. THE TEMP OUTSIDE WAS 50 DEGREES F AND NOT RAINING. NORMALLY THIS VEHICLE GOES INTO LIMP MODE DURING A TURN OR AFTER A STOP, BUT IT HAS ALSO HAPPENED AT NORMAL DRIVING SPEEDS (45-50MPH). THIS IS A NEW VEHICLE AND I AM NO LONGER COMFORTABLE DRIVING THIS VEHICLE DUE TO SAFETY CONCERNS. THIS ISSUE HAS ALMOST CREATE THREE SEPARATE ACCIDENTS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/14/2014 - OAK GROVE , MN
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT REMAINED ILLUMINATED. THE MANUFACTURER ADVISED THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER 12V198000 (AIR BAGS). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 56,000. LI

View Details

ENGINE

4/9/2014 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
ENGINE SHUDDER/VIBERATION AFTER ACCELERATING. LOSS OF LIGHTS, DASH INSTRUMENTS, RADIO OUT. VEHICLE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. THIS HAS HAPPENED THREE TIMES BEFORE. TAKEN TO DEALER TWICE FOR REPAIR.

View Details

ENGINE

4/9/2014 - COLDWATER, MA
TRAVELING ON INTERSTATE HIGHWAY FROM ST LOUIS TO MEMPHIS IN RIGHT HAND LANE. ACCELERATED TO PASS SLOWER TRAFIIC WHEN TRUCK BEGIN TO SKAKE VIOLETLY, LURCHING FORWARD AND BACK. ALL THE WHILE LOSING SPEED AND MADE ME FEARFUL TO ATTEMPT TO TRY TO PASS OR MERGE. THIS CONTINUED ALL THE WAY BACK TO MEMPHIS. I TOOK THE VECHICLE IN FOR SERVICE AND DESCRIBED THE PROBLEM TO THE SERVICE TECH. WHEN I PICKED THE TRUCK UP THE SERVICE TICKET SAID "COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM. SINCE THEN THE PROBLEM HAS GOTTEN WORSE. I NEVER KNOW WHEN IT WILL OCCUR. IT COULD BE RAIN OR SHINE AND THERE DOESN'T SEEM TO BE A PATTERN. IT IS NOW A WEEKLY/DAILY OCCURANCE. IT HAS CONTRIBUTED TO SEVERAL NEAR MISS ACCIDENTS. I AM AFRAID TO DRIVE ANYWHERE EXCEPT SIDE STREETS AND I AVOID THE INTERSTATRE HWY. THE PROBELM IS SO BAD AND THE VEHICLE SHAKES SO VIOLETLY I WAS LOOKING IN THE MIRROR TO SEE WHAT I HAD RAN OVER. IT IS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE THAT MY FORD DEALER DENYS EXISTS!

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/9/2014 - LAWNDALE, NC
THE LOWER CONTROL ARMS ON MY 2012 FORD F-150 ECOBOOST HAVE EXCESSIVE RUST/CORROSION. SEPARATING ARMS HAVE RECENTLY BEEN LINKED TO STEERING PROBLEMS UP TO AND INCLUDING A CRASH.

View Details

WHEELS

4/9/2014 - LAWNDALE, NC
THE LOWER CONTROL ARMS ON MY 2012 FORD F-150 ECOBOOST HAVE EXCESSIVE RUST/CORROSION. SEPARATING ARMS HAVE RECENTLY BEEN LINKED TO STEERING PROBLEMS UP TO AND INCLUDING A CRASH.

View Details

ENGINE

4/6/2014 - ODESSA, TX
I OWN A 2012 F150 PLATINUM TRUCK WITH AN ECOBOOST ENGINE. WE PURCHASED THE TRUCK NEW. I WAS ON THE INTERSTATE AND WAS TRYING TO PASS A SLOW MOVING CAR. THE VEHICLE WENT INTO OVERDRIVE AND BEGAN TO SHAKE. I PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS ON. I TURNED OFF THE VEHICLE AND WAITED A MOMENT. WHEN I RESTARTED THE TRUCK I DROVE TO THE NEAREST DEALERSHIP. IT DID THIS AGAIN TWICE ON THE WAY TO THE DEALERSHIP. THEY SAID THAT THE WIRING WAS AT FAULT AND REPLACED THE DEFECTIVE PART. THEN AT 34,470 IT OCCURRED AGAIN. WE WERE ON A HIGHWAY ABOUT TO PASS SOMEONE WHEN THE TRUCK BEGAN TO SHAKE AND THE ENGINE SLOWED AND WOULD NOT ACCELERATE. THE DEALERSHIP SUGGESTED THAT WE USE A HIGHER OCTANE FUEL AND SAID THEY COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH IT. THIS PROBLEM OCCURRED EIGHT ADDITIONAL TIMES. THEN AT 82,200 MILES WE WERE TRAVELING UP HILL AND HEARD A LOUD BOOM. WE HAD IT TOWED TO THE NEAREST DEALERSHIP AND FOUND OUT THAT A CONNECTING ROD HAD BROKEN CAUSING TWO HOLES IN THE ENGINE. WE HAD TO HAVE THE ENTIRE ENGINE ASSEMBLY REPLACED ALONG WITH TWO NEW TURBOS. FORD WOULD NOT COVER BECAUSE THE ENGINE HAD 82,200 MILES AND THE POWER TRAIN WARRANTY ENDED AT 60,000 MILES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/6/2014 - ODESSA, TX
I OWN A 2012 F150 PLATINUM TRUCK WITH AN ECOBOOST ENGINE. WE PURCHASED THE TRUCK NEW. I WAS ON THE INTERSTATE AND WAS TRYING TO PASS A SLOW MOVING CAR. THE VEHICLE WENT INTO OVERDRIVE AND BEGAN TO SHAKE. I PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS ON. I TURNED OFF THE VEHICLE AND WAITED A MOMENT. WHEN I RESTARTED THE TRUCK I DROVE TO THE NEAREST DEALERSHIP. IT DID THIS AGAIN TWICE ON THE WAY TO THE DEALERSHIP. THEY SAID THAT THE WIRING WAS AT FAULT AND REPLACED THE DEFECTIVE PART. THEN AT 34,470 IT OCCURRED AGAIN. WE WERE ON A HIGHWAY ABOUT TO PASS SOMEONE WHEN THE TRUCK BEGAN TO SHAKE AND THE ENGINE SLOWED AND WOULD NOT ACCELERATE. THE DEALERSHIP SUGGESTED THAT WE USE A HIGHER OCTANE FUEL AND SAID THEY COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH IT. THIS PROBLEM OCCURRED EIGHT ADDITIONAL TIMES. THEN AT 82,200 MILES WE WERE TRAVELING UP HILL AND HEARD A LOUD BOOM. WE HAD IT TOWED TO THE NEAREST DEALERSHIP AND FOUND OUT THAT A CONNECTING ROD HAD BROKEN CAUSING TWO HOLES IN THE ENGINE. WE HAD TO HAVE THE ENTIRE ENGINE ASSEMBLY REPLACED ALONG WITH TWO NEW TURBOS. FORD WOULD NOT COVER BECAUSE THE ENGINE HAD 82,200 MILES AND THE POWER TRAIN WARRANTY ENDED AT 60,000 MILES.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/31/2014 - MILTON , VT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE REVERSING AT APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH, THE BRAKES BECAME HARD AND FAILED TO RESPOND, CAUSING THE CONTACT TO CRASH INTO A TREE. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THERE WERE NO INJURIES REPORTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 41,000.

View Details

ENGINE

3/31/2014 - MIDWEST CITY, OK
WHILE ATTEMPTING TO MERGE ONTO THE HIGHWAY THE ENGINE SHUDDERED AND THE CEL CAME ON WHICH PUT MY TRUCK INTO LIMP MODE. SINCE, UNDER ANY LOAD THE VEHICLE SHUDDERS AND GOES INTO LIMP MODE WHEN THERE IS ANY LOAD PUT ON THE ENGINE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 50
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds