Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2012 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1234 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (23) Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Power Train (397) Steering (138) Unknown Or Other (68)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (2) Structure (16) Vehicle Speed Control (146)
Electrical System (113) Fuel Propulsion System (68) Seats (9) Suspension (14) Visibility (30)
Electronic Stability Control (31) Fuel System Gasoline (36) Service Brakes (87) Tires (10) Visibility Wiper (80)
Engine (402) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 170
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

7/16/2019 - JURUPA VALLEY, CA
WHILE DRIVING MY 2012 F-150 I RECEIVED A POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHT ON THE DASHBOARD COMPUTER AND THE STEERING WENT OUT ALMOST CAUSE ME TO SWERVE INTO ONCOMING TRAFFIC. THIS HAPPENED WITHOUT WARNING WHILE MY VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION. THE STEERING WENT OUT AND I HAD TO MUSCLE THE WHEEL TO TURN THE VEHICLE.

View Details

STEERING

7/16/2019 - JURUPA VALLEY, CA
WHILE DRIVING MY 2012 F-150 I RECEIVED A POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHT ON THE DASHBOARD COMPUTER AND THE STEERING WENT OUT ALMOST CAUSE ME TO SWERVE INTO ONCOMING TRAFFIC. THIS HAPPENED WITHOUT WARNING WHILE MY VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION. THE STEERING WENT OUT AND I HAD TO MUSCLE THE WHEEL TO TURN THE VEHICLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/12/2019 - MESA, AZ
DOWN SHIFTS AND RUCK JERK SO HARD. WHEN YOU GO FROM STOP AND ACCELERATE, IF YOU LET UP AT ALL OR BREAK, IT WILL DO IT.

View Details

ENGINE

7/11/2019 - DESOTA, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT ACCELERATE PAST 25 MPH. THE CONTACT HAD TO MOVE THE VEHICLE OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD BECAUSE IT CONTINUED TO DECELERATE. WHEN THE CONTACT TURNED OFF AND RESTARTED THE VEHICLE, IT OPERATED NORMALLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO MAC HAIK FORD (515 I-35E, DESOTO, TX 75115, (972) 223-8050) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT AN UPDATE NEEDED TO BE PERFORMED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 98,264.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/10/2019 - RENFREW, PA
DRIVING 75MPH TOWING BOAT. TRUCK SHIFTS INTO 1ST GEAR. REDLINED ENGINE, MANY NOISES, SLIPPING TRANSMISSION, STEP ON PEDAL TO ACCELERATE, IT GOES TO 5K BEFORE SHIFTING. ALMOST CAUSED MAJOR HIGHWAY DISASTER. NOW MY FAMILY IS AFRAID TO RIDE IN VEHICLE. ALSO WHEN FIRST START UP NO BRAKES. RECALLS WHERE DONE FOR BOTH , DID NOT FIX EITHER.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/10/2019 - RENFREW, PA
DRIVING 75MPH TOWING BOAT. TRUCK SHIFTS INTO 1ST GEAR. REDLINED ENGINE, MANY NOISES, SLIPPING TRANSMISSION, STEP ON PEDAL TO ACCELERATE, IT GOES TO 5K BEFORE SHIFTING. ALMOST CAUSED MAJOR HIGHWAY DISASTER. NOW MY FAMILY IS AFRAID TO RIDE IN VEHICLE. ALSO WHEN FIRST START UP NO BRAKES. RECALLS WHERE DONE FOR BOTH , DID NOT FIX EITHER.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/10/2019 - BLUERIDGE, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS SHUT OFF, THE BATTERY FAILED AND THE VEHICLE COULD NOT BE RESTARTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO BLUE RIDGE NORTH GEORGIA FORD (7525 E. APPALACHIAN HIGHWAY, BLUE RIDGE, GA) TO BE DIAGNOSED, BUT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DETERMINED. THE CONTACT WAS ALSO INFORMED THAT THE REMOTE CONTROL MODULE WAS DAMAGED DUE TO THE BATTERY FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 39,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/8/2019 - SEYMOUR, WI
INTERMITTENTLY, THERE IS A HARD BRAKE PEDAL AT FIRST START. AFTER A FEW PRESSES OF THE BRAKE IT GOES AWAY.

View Details

STEERING

7/4/2019 - SHORELINE, WA
POWER STEERING LOCKS UP WHEN DRIVING. IT STARTED (03/01/2019) WITH THE ADVANCE TRAC-CONTROL LIGHT TURNING ON AND THE STEERING WHEEL WOULD BECOME VERY DIFFICULT TO TURN. NOW (07/03/2019) THE POWER STEERING CUTS OUT AND LOCKS UP ALL THE TIME. DID I MENTION THAT IT IS MY STEERING WHEEL THAT IS AFFECTED BY THIS ISSUE- THE DEVICE THAT ALLOWS ME TO MANEUVER THE VEHICLE AND HELPS TO KEEP THE VEHICLE FROM GETTING IN AN ACCIDENT AND POSSIBLY SEVERELY INJURING OR KILLING MYSELF OR SOMEONE ELSE? FORD KNOWS ABOUT THIS PROBLEM (AS EVIDENT FROM THE MANY OTHER COMPLAINTS AND TESTIMONIES SUBMITTED TO DATE) - AND I HAVE EVEN TAKEN IT TO THE DEALER BUT TO NO AVAIL. WITH SO MANY COMPLAINTS REGARDING THIS ISSUE, I CANNOT BELIEVE THAT FORD HAS NOT ISSUED A RECALL TO FIX THE ISSUE OF THE """"POWER STEERING CUTTING OUT""""" WHICH IN TURN MAKES THE STEERING WHEEL VERY DIFFICULT TO TURN, WHICH IN TURN MAKES THE VEHICLE VERY, VERY, VERY DIFFICULT TO CONTROL. THIS OCCURS AT SPEEDS FROM 5 MPH TO 70 MPH WITH NO WARNING AND HAPPENS IN THE MIDDLE OF A LEFT TURN, IN THE MIDDLE OF A RIGHT TURN, WHILE DRIVING STRAIGHT, WHILE DRIVING UP A HILL, WHILE DRIVING DOWN A HILL!!!!! ARE YOU KIDDING ME - A COMPANY THAT PUTS NOT ONLY THE LIVES OF PEOPLE WHO PURCHASE THEIR PRODUCTS AT RISK BUT ALL OF THE GENERAL PUBLIC'S LIVES AT RISK DUE TO A PROBLEM THAT THEY ARE AWARE OF IS APPALLING, AT BEST!!!!! I HAVE READ STATEMENT AFTER STATEMENT AFTER STATEMENT ON THIS ISSUE """"POWER STEERING CUTS OUT"""" AND ALL I CAN SAY IS THAT IF FORD DOES NOT STEP UP AND TAKE CARE OF THIS ISSUE, BUT CONTINUES TO TURN AWAY FROM IT, THEN I TOO SHALL TURN AWAY FROM FORD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/3/2019 - DONGOLA, IL
THE TRUCK WAS IN PARK I HAD STEPPED OUT TO CHECK THE MAIL WITH MY CHILDREN IN THE TRUCK THE NEXT THING I KNEW MY TRUCK WAS MOVING LIKE IT WAS IN GEAR I JUMPED IN PRESSED THE BREAK AND IT STILL SHOWED IT IN PARK I PUSHED INTO PARK HARDER AND IT STOPPED.. I WAS NOT ON A HILL OR ANYTHING TO MAKE IT ROLL AND IT WAS ACTUALLY MOVING LIKE IT WAS PUT INTO GEAR

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 170
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds