Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2012 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 815 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Power Train (183) Steering (89) Unknown Or Other (40)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (1) Structure (9) Vehicle Speed Control (114)
Electrical System (76) Fuel Propulsion System (56) Seats (8) Suspension (11) Visibility (26)
Electronic Stability Control (19) Fuel System Gasoline (34) Service Brakes (59) Tires (10) Visibility Wiper (50)
Engine (348) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 118
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

9/21/2017 - HERTFORD, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING DIFFERENT SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND THE TRANSMISSION WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO BE RESTARTED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER (HALL FORD IN ELIZABETH CITY, NC, 877-475-0723) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL. THE CONTACT WAS REFERRED TO NHTSA. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 60,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/19/2017 - TOMBALL, TX
I PURCHASED A 2012 FORD ECOBOOST IN JULY 2012. AND PURCHASED AN EXTENDED 5YR 100K MILE WARRANTY., WHICH WAS VALID THROUGH JULY 20, 2017. IN AUGUST OF 2017, AFTER THE TRUCK SAT FOR A COUPLE DAYS, I WOULD START THE CAR AND HEAR A LOUD RATTLE COMING FROM THE FRONT OF THE MOTOR. I STARTED TO RESEARCH THE INTERNET AND FOUND OUT THAT ECOBOOST MODELS FROM 2011-2015 HAD FAULTY TIMING CHAINS THAT STRETCHED / MALFUNCTIONED AFTER A SHORT PERIOD OF TIME. I FOUND SEVERAL TESTIMONIALS AND VIDEOS OF ECOBOOST OWNERS WITH THE SAME ISSUE. I CONTACTED FORD AND BASICALLY GOT A "SORRY" RESPONSE SINCE I WAS 60 DAYS OVER THE WARRANTY PERIOD. THE REPAIR COST $~ 4000 AND FORD IS TURNING A BLIND EYE. I HAVE FOLLOWED ALL MAINTENANCE REQUIREMENTS AND TAKE IMPECCABLE CARE OF MY VEHICLE. AND I'M NOW FACED WITH A $4000 REPAIR BILL WITH A TRUCK WITH 77K MILES ON IT. WE NEED NHTSA TO HELP FORD STEP UP TO THE PLATE AND MAKE THIS RIGHT TO THE CUSTOMER. AND ISSUE A RECALL FOR THIS CURRENT TSB. IF NOT REPAIRED, THE TIME CHAIN CAN JUMP AND DESTROY THE MOTOR. THIS ISN'T A SMALL ISSUE. NO CONSUMER SHOULD BE FACED WITH A $4000 REPAIR BILL AFTER 77K MILES AND TAKING CARE OF THEIR VEHICLE. YOUR SUPPORT IN INSTITUTING A RECALL FOR THIS DESIGN MALFUNCTION WILL NOT JUST HELP ME, BUT MANY OTHERS I'VE MET ONLINE WITH THE SAME ISSUE. REGARDS.

View Details

STEERING

9/14/2017 - PORT RICHEY, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. WHILE MAKING A RIGHT TURN, THE STEERING WHEEL INADVERTENTLY BECAME DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER AND THE POWER STEERING FAULT INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO FORD OF PORT RICHEY (10715 US-19, PORT RICHEY, FL 34668 (727) 868-9545) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE RACK AND PINION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 33,840.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/7/2017 - ROUND ROCK, TX
DRIVING ABOUT 70 MPH THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED A LACK OF ACCELERATION, DEPRESSING THE GAS PEDAL WOULD ONLY ACCELERATE VERY SLOWLY; SPEEDOMETER WENT DOWN TO ZERO, RPM GAUGE WENT TO ZERO, INSTANT MPG DISPLAY WENT TO ZERO, SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. PULLED OVER IN HIGHWAY AND REQUESTED A VEHICLE HEALTH REPORT; THE REPORT INDICATES "RESTRAINTS INDICATOR LAMP WARNING". AFTER PARKING AND TURNING VEHICLE OFF/ON, PROBLEM GOES AWAY, HOWEVER IT WAS DIFFICULT TO MOVE FROM THE LEFTMOST LANE TO THE RIGHT SIDE OF THE ROAD WITH LIMITED ACCELERATION. THIS IS THE THIRD TIME I HAVE EXPERIENCED THIS IN THE LAST TWO WEEKS, A REPORT WAS ALSO SUBMITTED FOR THAT CASE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/6/2017 - PITTSBURG, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE STOPPED A LIGHT, THE VEHICLE'S REAR END MADE AN ABNORMAL NOISE AND JUMPED OFF THE ROAD. THE CONTACT STATED THAT ONCE THE VEHICLE LANDED THEY ATTEMPTED TO MOVE THE VEHICLE HOWEVER, WHEN DEPRESSING THE ACCELERATION PEDAL, THE VEHICLE MADE A GRINDING NOISE AND FAILED TO ACCELERATE FORWARD. AFTER OBSERVING THE VEHICLE, THE CONTACT FOUND THAT THE TRANSMISSION GEARS IN THE REAR BLEW OUT. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE RESIDENCE. THE CONTACT CONTACTED THE ALL STAR FORD DEALER LOCATED AT 300 CENTURY CT, PITTSBURG, CA 94565; 925-752-7800 WHO INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THEY WOULD HAVE TO HAVE THE VEHICLE TOWED INTO THE DEALER TO RECEIVE A DIAGNOSIS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 99,000.

View Details

STEERING

9/5/2017 - LEMON GROVE, CA
VEHICLE TRAVELING APPROX 35MPH ON A CITY STREET AROUND A CURVE WHEN THE EPAS SYSTEM FAILED SUDDENLY. STEERING BECAME EXTREMELY DIFFICULT AND VEHICLE WAS NEARLY INVOLVED IN A COLLISION. VEHICLE DASHBOARD DISPLAYED "SERVICE ADVANCETRAK" AND " ELECTROINIC POWER STEERING ASSIST FAILURE" SIMULTANEOUSLY. VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO DEALERSHIP. NO OFFICIAL DIAGNOSIS FROM DEALER.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/31/2017 - MYERSTOWN, PA
WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT 55 MPH TRUCK SPEEDOMETER WAS DROPPING TO ZERO AND BACK TO 55 AND THEN REAR TIRES STARTED SKIDDING AND I LOOKED AT ELECTRONIC GEAR SELECTION AND IT WAS IN FIRST GEAR, ALSO THERE WAS PICTURE OF A WRENCH ON THE THE DASH SCREEN THEN IT WENT OUT AND GAUGES WERE DASHES NO SPEEDOMETER AND AIR BAG LIGHTS AND A CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON. PULLED OVER ALONG THE HIGHWAY AND SHUT OFF FOR A LITTLE WHILE THEN STARTED ENGINE AND WENT TO PULL BACK ON HIGHWAY AND IT WOULDN'T GO, SO L LOOKED AT THE DASH AND IT WAS IN 5TH GEAR , SO I SHUT IT OFF AGAIN AND RESTARTED IT AND IT WAS TRYING TO PULL OUT IN 3RD GEAR SO I GOT ON THE HIGHWAY AND WENT SLOW AND THE SPEEDOMETER WAS GOING UP AND DOWN ALL THE TIME. SO I GOT OFF ON AN EXIT AND SHUT IT OFF AGAIN AND FINALLY IT WORKED SO I MADE IT HOME

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/31/2017 - NEW FRANKLIN, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THE TRANSMISSION WENT FROM ONE GEAR TO ANOTHER WITHOUT WARNING. THE DEALER WAS CONTACTED (AUTONATION FORD, NORTH CANTON, OH, 330-497-9100) AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL. THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 103,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/31/2017 - CRANSTON, RI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 50 MPH, AUTOMATICALLY THE 6TH GEAR SHIFTED TO THE 1ST GEAR WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, CHANGED THE GEAR TO PARK AND RESTARTED THE ENGINE, THE VEHICLE THE OPERATED AS NORMAL. THE FAILURE RECURRED SEVERAL OTHER TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT PART OF A RECALL. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 38,623.

View Details

ENGINE

8/29/2017 - ROUND ROCK, TX
LOSS OF POWER WHILE DRIVING, DEPRESSING ACCELERATOR DOES NOT POWER THE VEHICLE, SPEEDOMETER NEEDLE NOT WORKING. ONCE ABLE TO STEER VEHICLE SAFELY TO SIDE OF ROAD AND TURNED OFF AND BACK ON, VEHICLE RESPONDS AS EXPECTED. HAPPENED TWICE ALREADY, ON 8/24/2017 AND 8/29/2017.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 118
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds