Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2012 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 449 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (5) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (92)
Electrical System (28) Fuel Propulsion System (42) Service Brakes (10) Suspension (6) Visibility (7)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (32) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (12)
Engine (277) Power Train (99) Steering (26) Unknown Or Other (22) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (13)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 70
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

4/14/2015 - TRENTON, MI
WHILE ATTEMPTING TO PASS A SLOW MOVING VEHICLE ON A TWO LANE ROAD, THE ENGINE ON MY TRUCK STARTED SPUTTERING, THEN LOST SPEED AND POWER VERY RAPIDLY. AT THAT POINT THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT STARTED BLINKING AND THE TRUCK ALMOST STALLED. FORTUNATELY I WAS ABLE TO PULL INTO A PARKING LOT AND AVOID OTHER DRIVERS. HAD AN ONCOMING CAR BEEN TOO CLOSE, OR HAD I NOT HAD A PARKING LOT TO PULL INTO, THERE WAS A STRONG POSSIBILITY I WOULD HAVE HAD AN ACCIDENT. I HAVE HAD THIS HAPPEN TO A LESSER DEGREE IN THE PAST, BUT NOT TO THE EXTENT I EXPERIENCED ABOVE, NOR DID THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT EVER START BLINKING. AT THE TIME I PASSED THIS OFF AS BEING BAD GAS, MY TIRES SLIPPING OR SOME OTHER ISSUE AND THOUGHT NO MORE OF IT. AT THIS POINT I DON'T WANT OTHERS TO GET PUT INTO THE SAME SITUATION, WHICH COULD RESULT IN SOMEONE GETTING HURT. BECAUSE REPORTS OF THIS HAPPENING TO TRUCKS OF THE SAME YEAR, MAKE, MODEL AND ENGINE I FELT COMPELLED TO FILE THIS COMPLAINT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/14/2015 - TRENTON, MI
WHILE ATTEMPTING TO PASS A SLOW MOVING VEHICLE ON A TWO LANE ROAD, THE ENGINE ON MY TRUCK STARTED SPUTTERING, THEN LOST SPEED AND POWER VERY RAPIDLY. AT THAT POINT THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT STARTED BLINKING AND THE TRUCK ALMOST STALLED. FORTUNATELY I WAS ABLE TO PULL INTO A PARKING LOT AND AVOID OTHER DRIVERS. HAD AN ONCOMING CAR BEEN TOO CLOSE, OR HAD I NOT HAD A PARKING LOT TO PULL INTO, THERE WAS A STRONG POSSIBILITY I WOULD HAVE HAD AN ACCIDENT. I HAVE HAD THIS HAPPEN TO A LESSER DEGREE IN THE PAST, BUT NOT TO THE EXTENT I EXPERIENCED ABOVE, NOR DID THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT EVER START BLINKING. AT THE TIME I PASSED THIS OFF AS BEING BAD GAS, MY TIRES SLIPPING OR SOME OTHER ISSUE AND THOUGHT NO MORE OF IT. AT THIS POINT I DON'T WANT OTHERS TO GET PUT INTO THE SAME SITUATION, WHICH COULD RESULT IN SOMEONE GETTING HURT. BECAUSE REPORTS OF THIS HAPPENING TO TRUCKS OF THE SAME YEAR, MAKE, MODEL AND ENGINE I FELT COMPELLED TO FILE THIS COMPLAINT.

View Details

STEERING

4/10/2015 - SEAFORD, DE
BACK OUT OF GARAGE TURNED STEERING WHEEL TO LEFT; PUT IN DRIVE PULLED AHEAD , ADVANCE TRACK LIGHT CAME ON AND SERVICE ADVANCE LIGHT ALSO CAME ON . IF YOU DON'T RESET LIGHT THE SIGNAL LIGHTS DON'T WORK UNLESS YOU HOLD THE LEVER UP OR DOWN IT BRING CODES UP C1B00 AND U0428-20 ANDU2101 WHICH DEALER SAYS STEERING SENSOR IS BAD BUT NOT SERVICEABLE SO YOU NEED NEW ELECTRIC STEERING RACK. THIS IS ON A 2012 F150XLT AND THERE IS NO RECALL BUT I THINK THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE, ALSO I THINK IT IS A POWER TRAIN ISSUE

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/10/2015 - SEAFORD, DE
BACK OUT OF GARAGE TURNED STEERING WHEEL TO LEFT; PUT IN DRIVE PULLED AHEAD , ADVANCE TRACK LIGHT CAME ON AND SERVICE ADVANCE LIGHT ALSO CAME ON . IF YOU DON'T RESET LIGHT THE SIGNAL LIGHTS DON'T WORK UNLESS YOU HOLD THE LEVER UP OR DOWN IT BRING CODES UP C1B00 AND U0428-20 ANDU2101 WHICH DEALER SAYS STEERING SENSOR IS BAD BUT NOT SERVICEABLE SO YOU NEED NEW ELECTRIC STEERING RACK. THIS IS ON A 2012 F150XLT AND THERE IS NO RECALL BUT I THINK THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE, ALSO I THINK IT IS A POWER TRAIN ISSUE

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/31/2015 - LEESBURG, VA
I WAS GETTING READY TO GET OUR OF MY HOUSE WITH MY SON. WHILE WE WERE LOCKING OUR SEAT-BELTS, I HEARD A LOUD BANG AND WHEN I TURNED, THE BACK RIGHT REAR WINDOW BEHIND MY SON'S HEAD WAS ALL SHATTERED.NOTHING HIT IT AS THE TRUCK WAS STANDING WITH THE WINDOWS FACING MY HOUSE, IT JUST EXPLODED ON ITS OWN.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/30/2015 - BROOMALL, PA
ON MARCH 26, I WAS DRIVING TO WORK WHEN I PRESSED MY REAR DEFROST BUTTON BECAUSE MY MIRRORS HAD SOME ICE ON THEM. I STARTED TO HEAR WHAT SOUNDED LIKE A SIZZLE FROM THE BACKSEAT. I TURNED THE BUTTON OFF FOR A MINUTE OR SO AND THEN TURNED IT BACK ON. SECONDS LATER, THE REAR WINDOW OF MY TRUCK SHATTERED. IT SOUNDED LIKE A GUNSHOT. I CONTACTED FORD, AND SO FAR THEY ARE CLAIMING THERE IS NOT A PROBLEM, EVEN THOUGH I SEE HUNDREDS OF PEOPLE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM WITH THEIR F150S.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/30/2015 - BROOMALL, PA
ON MARCH 26, I WAS DRIVING TO WORK WHEN I PRESSED MY REAR DEFROST BUTTON BECAUSE MY MIRRORS HAD SOME ICE ON THEM. I STARTED TO HEAR WHAT SOUNDED LIKE A SIZZLE FROM THE BACKSEAT. I TURNED THE BUTTON OFF FOR A MINUTE OR SO AND THEN TURNED IT BACK ON. SECONDS LATER, THE REAR WINDOW OF MY TRUCK SHATTERED. IT SOUNDED LIKE A GUNSHOT. I CONTACTED FORD, AND SO FAR THEY ARE CLAIMING THERE IS NOT A PROBLEM, EVEN THOUGH I SEE HUNDREDS OF PEOPLE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM WITH THEIR F150S.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/21/2015 - LAKEVILLE, OH
STARTED TRUCK AND PULLED AWAY, PRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL TO STOP AND NO BRAKES. AS TRUCK RUNS A FEW MINUTES THE BRAKES START WORKING. FAILED 2 DAYS NOW. FORD WANTS ABOUT $600 FOR REPLACEMENT OF VACUUM PUMP. SHOULD BE RECALLED FOR SAFETY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/20/2015 - HUTCHINSON, MN
WHEN THERE WAS SNOW AND ICE ON THE HIGHWAYS I PUT MY TRUCK IN 4 WHEEL DRIVE AND WHEN TURNED BACK INTO 2 WHEEL DRIVE I BEGAN TO NOTICE A GRINDING AND VIBRATION NOISE THAT OCCURRED WHEN TURNING. THEN COUPLE WEEKS LATER THE NOISE STARTED WHEN BACKING OUT CAUSING TRUCK TO SHAKE AND LOSE POWER TO BARELY BACK OUT. THIS NOISE CONTINUED AND HAS GOTTEN WORSE. WAS TAKEN TO DEALERSHIP AND LOOKED OVER. UPDATES WERE MADE AS WELL AS OIL CHANGE BUT DAYS LATER NOISE CAME BACK. SINCE 2/12/15 MY TRUCK HAS BEEN IN THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT FOUR TIMES AND HAS PERFORMED RECOMMENDATIONS BY FORD BUT DAYS LATER NOISE COMES BACK. THE LAST TIME MY TRUCK WAS IN I WAS TOLD BY THE OWNER AND SERVICE MANAGER MY TRUCK IS NOT FIXABLE AS THEY WERE INFORMED OTHER 2012 F150'S ARE HAVING SAME ISSUES AND AN INVESTIGATION IS BEING DONE. SINCE THIS MY TRUCK IS SHAKING MORE BACKING UP, JERKING THE VEHICLE ON THE HIGHWAY AS IF LOSING POWER THAN WILL GAIN POWER AND JOLT FORWARD, I HEAR THIS GRINDING NOISE ALL THE TIME WHEN DRIVING AT DIFFERENT SPEEDS FROM 30-60 MPH, TURNS, AND BACKING UP. THE OTHER ISSUE IS WHEN TRUCK GETS TO 60 MPH OR HIGHER IT DOES NOT SHIFT DOWN UNLESS I LET UP ON PEDAL AND THEN PUSH IT AGAIN. I AM FEELING UNSAFE IN THIS VEHICLE AS TWICE NOW I HAVE HEARD A POPPING NOISE WHILE DRIVING WITH THIS NOISE. THE DEALERSHIP HAS TOLD ME THERE IS NOTHING MORE THEY CAN DO. THE ISSUE HAS BEEN REPORTED TO FORD AND THEY HAVE DONE NOTHING FOR ME. I WANT TO GET RID OF THIS TRUCK AS I DO NOT FEEL SAFE DRIVING IT LIKE THIS.

View Details

ENGINE

3/20/2015 - HUTCHINSON, MN
WHEN THERE WAS SNOW AND ICE ON THE HIGHWAYS I PUT MY TRUCK IN 4 WHEEL DRIVE AND WHEN TURNED BACK INTO 2 WHEEL DRIVE I BEGAN TO NOTICE A GRINDING AND VIBRATION NOISE THAT OCCURRED WHEN TURNING. THEN COUPLE WEEKS LATER THE NOISE STARTED WHEN BACKING OUT CAUSING TRUCK TO SHAKE AND LOSE POWER TO BARELY BACK OUT. THIS NOISE CONTINUED AND HAS GOTTEN WORSE. WAS TAKEN TO DEALERSHIP AND LOOKED OVER. UPDATES WERE MADE AS WELL AS OIL CHANGE BUT DAYS LATER NOISE CAME BACK. SINCE 2/12/15 MY TRUCK HAS BEEN IN THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT FOUR TIMES AND HAS PERFORMED RECOMMENDATIONS BY FORD BUT DAYS LATER NOISE COMES BACK. THE LAST TIME MY TRUCK WAS IN I WAS TOLD BY THE OWNER AND SERVICE MANAGER MY TRUCK IS NOT FIXABLE AS THEY WERE INFORMED OTHER 2012 F150'S ARE HAVING SAME ISSUES AND AN INVESTIGATION IS BEING DONE. SINCE THIS MY TRUCK IS SHAKING MORE BACKING UP, JERKING THE VEHICLE ON THE HIGHWAY AS IF LOSING POWER THAN WILL GAIN POWER AND JOLT FORWARD, I HEAR THIS GRINDING NOISE ALL THE TIME WHEN DRIVING AT DIFFERENT SPEEDS FROM 30-60 MPH, TURNS, AND BACKING UP. THE OTHER ISSUE IS WHEN TRUCK GETS TO 60 MPH OR HIGHER IT DOES NOT SHIFT DOWN UNLESS I LET UP ON PEDAL AND THEN PUSH IT AGAIN. I AM FEELING UNSAFE IN THIS VEHICLE AS TWICE NOW I HAVE HEARD A POPPING NOISE WHILE DRIVING WITH THIS NOISE. THE DEALERSHIP HAS TOLD ME THERE IS NOTHING MORE THEY CAN DO. THE ISSUE HAS BEEN REPORTED TO FORD AND THEY HAVE DONE NOTHING FOR ME. I WANT TO GET RID OF THIS TRUCK AS I DO NOT FEEL SAFE DRIVING IT LIKE THIS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 70
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds