Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2012 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 347 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (5) Structure (1) Vehicle Speed Control (85)
Electrical System (15) Fuel Propulsion System (35) Service Brakes (3) Suspension (5) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (28) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (238) Power Train (81) Steering (17) Unknown Or Other (4) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 55
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

7/21/2014 - MENDHAM, NJ
THIS VEHICLE IS EQUIPPED WITH THE ECOBOOST 3.5L ENGINE. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE ONTO A HIGHWAY, THE VEHICLE SPORADICALLY AND UNPREDICTABLY LOSES POWER, SEEMS TO HAVE TROUBLE SHIFTING GEARS AND SHUDDERS SEVERELY. BECAUSE THIS HAS OCCURRED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS WHILE ENTERING A HIGHWAY, IT POSES A DEFINITE SAFETY RISK OF BEING STRUCK IN THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. COMPLETE LOSS OF ACCELERATION OR STALLING WHILE ENTERING A HIGHWAY COULD RESULT IN A CRASH THAT COULD RESULT IN SERIOUS INJURY OR DEATH.

View Details

ENGINE

7/21/2014 - MENDHAM, NJ
THIS VEHICLE IS EQUIPPED WITH THE ECOBOOST 3.5L ENGINE. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE ONTO A HIGHWAY, THE VEHICLE SPORADICALLY AND UNPREDICTABLY LOSES POWER, SEEMS TO HAVE TROUBLE SHIFTING GEARS AND SHUDDERS SEVERELY. BECAUSE THIS HAS OCCURRED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS WHILE ENTERING A HIGHWAY, IT POSES A DEFINITE SAFETY RISK OF BEING STRUCK IN THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. COMPLETE LOSS OF ACCELERATION OR STALLING WHILE ENTERING A HIGHWAY COULD RESULT IN A CRASH THAT COULD RESULT IN SERIOUS INJURY OR DEATH.

View Details

STEERING

7/21/2014 - LAKE WYLIE, SC
ELECTRONIC POWER STEERING MODULE FAILED LEAVING VEHICLE WITH NO POWER STEERING

View Details

ENGINE

7/19/2014 - CHARLOTTE, NC
WHILE DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS, AFTER ACCELERATING TO PASS ANOTHER VEHICLE, THE TRUCK SUDDENLY SHUDDERED AND THERE WAS SIGNIFICANT POWER LOSS. SO MUCH SO, IT WAS DANGEROUS TO GET OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD TO SEE WHAT WAS WRONG. THE VEHICLE CONTINUED ACTING LIKE THIS THROUGHOUT THE DAY. I TOOK IT INTO A FORD DEALERSHIP WHO 'RESOLVED' THE ISSUE. 1.5 YEARS LAYER, THE SAME EXACT THING STARTED OCCURRING AGAIN (18JUL2014). AGAIN, IT WAS UNSAFE FOR ME TO PULL OVER AFTER SUCH A CONSIDERABLE POWER LOSS.

View Details

ENGINE

7/17/2014 - OKLAHOMA CITY, OK
ENGINE SHUTTERS, LOSS OF POWER, ENGINE MISFIRES. DEALER HAS ATTEMPTED TO REPAIR ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. THIS PROBLEM HAS ALMOST CAUSED SEVERAL ACCIDENTS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/14/2014 - SKANEATELES, NY
AFTER THE VEHICLE IS STARTED AND PLACED IN GEAR, THERE ARE TIMES WHEN NO POWER BRAKES ARE AVAILABLE AND THE VEHICLE IS DIFFICULT TO STOP WHEN IT IS ONLY ROLLING AT A FEW MILES PER HOUR (LESS THAN 5MPH). YOU HAVE TO STAND ON THE BRAKES TO STOP THE VEHICLE, AND IF I'M TOWING A LOAD WHEN THIS HAPPENS IT'S A VERY SCARY EVENT BECAUSE THE VEHICLE DOESN'T STOP WHEN YOU NEED IT TO STOP. WHEN PULLING OUT OF A PARKING POSITION IN A PARKING LOT, I'VE COME CLOSE TO HITTING A PARKED VEHICLE WHEN MY VEHICLE WOULDN'T STOP AS YOU WOULD EXPECT IT TO. I HAD MY VEHICLE INTO THE FORD DEALERSHIP TODAY TO HAVE THIS VACUUM BRAKE PUMP REPLACED TO CORRECT THIS PROBLEM, A PROBLEM THAT THEY KNOW THAT EXISTS AND THAT IS A SAFETY ISSUE, AND I WAS TOLD THAT THE PART WILL NOT BE AVAILABLE UNTIL HALLOWEEN TIMEFRAME.... A 3.5 MONTH BACK ORDER. THIS IS THE MOST POPULAR SELLING VEHICLE IN NORTH AMERICA, AND IF THIS IS HAPPENING TO ONLY A SMALL PERCENTAGE OF FORD F150 ECOBOOST'S, IT'S ONLY A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE AN INDIVIDUAL IS SERIOUSLY INJURIED OR KILLED FROM THIS VACUUM BRAKE PUMP FAILURE ON THIS VEHICLE EQUIPPED WITH THE ECOBOOST ENGINE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/14/2014 - BRYANT, AR
PULLED INTO PARKING LOT AND TRUCK STALLED. COULD NOT STEER. COULD NOT ACCELLERATE. WARNING LIGHT POPPED UP SAID LOW OIL PRESSURE. WAS NOT ON A HILL. RAN VEHICLE HEALTH REPORT THROUGH FORD SYNC SERVICE AND EVERYTHING CAME BACK OK. WILL CALL DEALERSHIP NEXT. HAD MY DAUGHTER WITH ME AND IT SCARED ME TO DEATH.

View Details

ENGINE

7/14/2014 - BRYANT, AR
PULLED INTO PARKING LOT AND TRUCK STALLED. COULD NOT STEER. COULD NOT ACCELLERATE. WARNING LIGHT POPPED UP SAID LOW OIL PRESSURE. WAS NOT ON A HILL. RAN VEHICLE HEALTH REPORT THROUGH FORD SYNC SERVICE AND EVERYTHING CAME BACK OK. WILL CALL DEALERSHIP NEXT. HAD MY DAUGHTER WITH ME AND IT SCARED ME TO DEATH.

View Details

STEERING

7/14/2014 - BRYANT, AR
PULLED INTO PARKING LOT AND TRUCK STALLED. COULD NOT STEER. COULD NOT ACCELLERATE. WARNING LIGHT POPPED UP SAID LOW OIL PRESSURE. WAS NOT ON A HILL. RAN VEHICLE HEALTH REPORT THROUGH FORD SYNC SERVICE AND EVERYTHING CAME BACK OK. WILL CALL DEALERSHIP NEXT. HAD MY DAUGHTER WITH ME AND IT SCARED ME TO DEATH.

View Details

ENGINE

7/8/2014 - COMMERCE TWP, MI
DOING 45 ON A TWO LANE HIGHWAY, PULL OUT TO PASS, HAD NO ACCELERATION AT ALL. I WAS UNABLE TO COMPLETE THE PASSING. THE FIRST TIME THIS HAPPENED I THOUGHT PERHAPS I GOT BAD GASOLINE. THE SECOND INCEDENT, A FEW MONTHS LATER, WENT JUST ABOUT EXACTLY THE SAME WAY. RECENTLY, WHILE ATTEMPTING TO MERGE ON TO A HIGHWAY I PUT THE PEDAL DOWN, THE VEHICLE SEEMED LIKE IT WAS MISSING VERY BADLY AND IT STARTED SHAKING VIOLENTLY AND WOULD NOT STOP FOR SEVERAL MINUTES, EVEN WHEN I SLOWED DOWN. I TOOK THE VEHICLE RIGHT TO THE DEALERSHIP, IT'S STILL THERE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 55
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds