Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2012 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 788 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (1) Structure (9) Vehicle Speed Control (112)
Electrical System (74) Fuel Propulsion System (56) Seats (8) Suspension (11) Visibility (24)
Electronic Stability Control (19) Fuel System Gasoline (34) Service Brakes (58) Tires (10) Visibility Wiper (50)
Engine (343) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Power Train (172) Steering (82) Unknown Or Other (39)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 114
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

7/11/2017 - SOUTHBOROUGH, MA
THE BRAKES GAVE OUT AND ALL OF THE BRAKE FLUID LEAKED OUT. THE BRAKE WENT STRAIGHT TO THE FLOOR. THERE ARE NO INJURIES INVOLVED, BUT COULD HAVE BEEN FATAL IF ON A HIGHWAY AT SPEED VS IN A PARKING LOT.

View Details

STEERING

7/8/2017 - AGUANGA, CA
THE POWER STEERING WENT OUT ON MY VEHICLE WHILE DRIVING DOWN A TWO LANE WINDING ROAD. IT WENT FROM BEING EASY TO STEER TO VERY HARD TO STEER. MESSAGE CAME ON STATING SERVICE POWER STEERING NOW.

View Details

STEERING

7/3/2017 - CORAL SPRINGS, FL
WAS MAKING A RIGHT TURN FROM A STATE ROAD TO A CITY STREET THE DASH DISPLAY POPPED UP STATING THERE WAS A POWER STEERING ASSIST FAULT AND I LOST MY POWER STEERING IMMEDIATELY. I WAS ABLE TO FORCEFULLY TURN THE STEERING WHEEL TO AVOID GOING INTO ONCOMING TRAFFIC. DON'T BELIEVE MY WIFE WOULD HAVE HAD THE SAME RESULTS. TOOK VEHICLE TO FORD DEALERSHIP TO BE LOOKED AT. $1600.00 LATER TO REPLACE THE RACK AND PINION STEERING UNIT WHICH INCLUDES THE POWER STEERING ASSIST MECHANISM. I WAS LUCKY TO NOT GET INTO A CRASH. AFTER READING ABOUT OTHER PEOPLE HAVING THE SAME ISSUE WHICH DID RESULT IN A CRASH, I FEEL FORD NEEDS TO PUT THIS ON RE CALL NOTICE BEFORE A DEATH OCCURS.

View Details

ENGINE

6/30/2017 - MICHIGAN CITY, IN
ENGINE RATTLE UPON STARTUP, 3.5L ECO BOOST ENGINE. USUALLY ONLY WHEN THE VEHICLE HAS SAT FOR SOME TIME.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/30/2017 - MECHANICSVILLE, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE ENGINE SHUTTERED AND THE VEHICLE LOST POWER. THE VEHICLE WAS COASTED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, SHUT OFF, AND RESTARTED. THE ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND FLICKERED OCCASIONALLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER (CROSSROADS FORD IN PRINCE GEORGE, VIRGINIA) WHO STATED THAT NOTHING WAS WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND DID NOT ASSIST. THE FAILURE RECURRED AND A POPPING NOISE WAS HEARD FROM THE ENGINE. THE VEHICLE WAS PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE CONTACT LOOKED UNDERNEATH THE VEHICLE AND NOTICED OIL DRIPPING FROM THE ENGINE. THE LOW PRESSURE OIL WARNING INDICATOR ALSO ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER (SHEEHY FORD IN ASHLAND, VIRGINIA) WHERE THE TECHNICIAN FOUND PIECES OF METAL FROM THE ENGINE AND DIAGNOSED THAT THERE WAS A HOLE IN THE ENGINE. THE FAILURE WAS NOT REPAIRED PER THE CONTACT'S ORDER, PENDING A DISCUSSION WITH THE MANUFACTURER. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 15,000.

View Details

ENGINE

6/30/2017 - MECHANICSVILLE, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE ENGINE SHUTTERED AND THE VEHICLE LOST POWER. THE VEHICLE WAS COASTED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, SHUT OFF, AND RESTARTED. THE ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND FLICKERED OCCASIONALLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER (CROSSROADS FORD IN PRINCE GEORGE, VIRGINIA) WHO STATED THAT NOTHING WAS WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND DID NOT ASSIST. THE FAILURE RECURRED AND A POPPING NOISE WAS HEARD FROM THE ENGINE. THE VEHICLE WAS PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE CONTACT LOOKED UNDERNEATH THE VEHICLE AND NOTICED OIL DRIPPING FROM THE ENGINE. THE LOW PRESSURE OIL WARNING INDICATOR ALSO ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER (SHEEHY FORD IN ASHLAND, VIRGINIA) WHERE THE TECHNICIAN FOUND PIECES OF METAL FROM THE ENGINE AND DIAGNOSED THAT THERE WAS A HOLE IN THE ENGINE. THE FAILURE WAS NOT REPAIRED PER THE CONTACT'S ORDER, PENDING A DISCUSSION WITH THE MANUFACTURER. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 15,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/27/2017 - LITTLE CHUTE, WI
BRAKE VACUUM PUMP FAILURE: USED 2012 FORD F150 PURCHASED IN OCTOBER 2016. WHEN WE MOVED IN MARCH 2017 TO A HOME WITH A SLIGHT DRIVEWAY SLANT, THERE WERE DAILY BRAKE ISSUES WHERE WHEN APPLYING THE BRAKE IT WOULD FEEL STIFF AND FAIL TO STOP THE VEHICLE. UPON INVESTIGATION, WE LEARNED THAT A RECALL HAD BEEN DONE ON OUR MAKE, MODEL, AND YEAR OF VEHICLE DUE TO A VACUUM BRAKE PUMP FAILURE, BUT WERE TOLD THAT OUR VEHICLE WAS MADE AT A DIFFERENT PLANT THEN WHERE THE RECALL WAS VALID FOR. ON 4/24/17 WE TOOK THE VEHICLE IN TO HAVE IT CHECKED OUT AND WERE TOLD BY THE DEALERSHIP THAT THIS WAS "NORMAL" AND CHARGED $83.95 FOR THIS. WITHIN A COUPLE WEEKS WE STARTED HEARING ANOTHER LOUD NOISE WHEN STARTING THE VEHICLE AND TOOK IT IN ON 5/12/17 WHERE THE TIMING CHAIN WAS REPLACED UNDER POWERTRAIN WARRANTY. A MONTH LATER, THE SERVICE BRAKE LIGHT STARTED COMING ON WHILE DRIVING, BUT IF WE STOPPED AND TURNED OFF THE VEHICLE AND TURNED IT BACK ON IT WOULD STAY OFF (FOR A DAY OR TWO). WE CALLED AND WERE TOLD NOT TO BRING IT IN UNLESS THE LIGHT WAS ACTUALLY ON. A WEEK LATER THE LIGHT CAME ON AND WE TOOK IT INTO AN AUTO SHOP TO HAVE THE CODES READ TO IDENTIFY THE ISSUE TO SHOW THE DEALERSHIP. ON 6/21/17 THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN IN WITH THE READINGS AND AT THAT TIME WE WERE INFORMED THAT THE VACUUM PUMP HAD FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. FORD REFUSED TO PAY FOR ANY OF THE SERVICE AND WE WERE CHARGED $559.08 FOR THE EXACT PROBLEM THE OTHER VEHICLES HAD BEEN RECALLED FOR AND WHICH WE WERE ORIGINALLY TOLD WAS "NORMAL" TO NOT BE ABLE TO USE THE BRAKES ON OUR VEHICLE FOR 20 SECONDS OR SO WHEN STARTED. AT THIS TIME WE REQUESTED TO SEE WHAT REPAIRS HAD BEEN DONE ON THE VEHICLE IN THE PAST PRIOR TO US PURCHASING THE VEHICLE AND OUR LISTED BELOW:3/21/16 REPLACE TIMING CHAIN AT BICKLEY FORD;3/21/16 REPLACE VACUUM PUMP AT BICKLEY FORD;4/8/16 REPLACE HOSES FOR VACUUM PUMP AT BICKLEY FORD

View Details

ENGINE

6/26/2017 - MARK, IL
3.5 ECOBOOST ENGINE 75,000 MILES, ENGINE NOISE ON STARTUP AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT REGISTERING A P0016 CRANKSHAFT/CAMSHAFT POSITION SENSOR, AND GOES INTO "LIMP MODE" WITH LOSS OF POWER AND POOR ACCELERATION. DEALERSHIP STATES THIS IS A RECOGNIZED ISSUE WITH THE TIMING CHAIN AND TSB 14-0194 ADDRESSES THE ISSUE. DEALERSHIP STATES THIS IS A $ 1,500- $ 2,000 REPAIR AND IS NOT COVERED BY FORD. TIMING CHAINS SHOULD LAST LONGER THAN SHOCK ABSORBERS.

View Details

STEERING

6/24/2017 - FAIRVIEW PARK, OH
ADVANCETRAC SERVICE LIGHT COMES ON. TURN SIGNAL QUITS WORKING. JUST LIKE ALL THE THOUSANDS OF OTHER PEOPLE WITH THE PROBLEM. APPARENTLY THE STEERING CAN FREEZE UP WHICH IS DEMONSTRATED ON YOU TUBE VIDEOS!!! NEEDS TO BE RECALLED BY FORD FOR MAJOR SAFETY CONCERN!!! COULD KILL SOMEONE. ARE WE JUST WAITING TILL IT KILLS SOMEONE??? HOPEFULLY THIS HELPS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/16/2017 - CLEAR LAKE, SD
TAILGATE STEP HINGE NEEDS TO HAVE SLIP RESISTANT SPRAY OR MATERIAL ON IT. THE STEP HAS SLIP RESISTANT MATERIAL, BUT WHEN STEPPING DOWN, IF THE BALL OF YOUR FOOT LANDS ON THE HINGE YOU CAN SLIDE OFF THE STEP RESULTING IN SEVERE INJURY

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 114
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds