Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2012 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 829 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (17) Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Power Train (191) Steering (91) Unknown Or Other (40)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (1) Structure (9) Vehicle Speed Control (114)
Electrical System (77) Fuel Propulsion System (57) Seats (9) Suspension (11) Visibility (26)
Electronic Stability Control (19) Fuel System Gasoline (34) Service Brakes (60) Tires (10) Visibility Wiper (50)
Engine (350) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 119
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/28/2017 - BROWNSBORO, TX
MY TRUCK WOULD LOSE POWER AT TIMES THEN WOULD NOT START. DEALER ADVISED THE FUSE TO THE FUEL RELAY PUMP WAS BURNED AND NEEDED TO BE BYPASSED TO A LARGER FUSE BECAUSE THE FUSE INSTALLED BY THE MANUFACTURE IS TOO SMALL. THIS REPAIR COST ME $411. DEALER ADVISED THIS WAS A DEFECT FROM MANUFACTURE AND WAS COMMON IN THE 2012 YEAR MODEL. I RESEARCHED THE ISSUE AND LOCATED MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT VEHICLES LOSING POWER ON THE HIGHWAYS AND ALMOST INVOLVED IN COLLISIONS DUE TO THE FUEL PUMP PROBLEM. I'M SURE THERE ARE MANY COMPLAINTS AND ACCIDENTS THAT CAN BE ATTRIBUTED TO THE DEFECT WHICH CAUSES FUEL DISRUPTION.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/27/2017 - PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL
WHILE DRIVING AND ACCELERATING MY FORD F150 VEHICLE AT APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, TRANSMISSION DROPPED TO FIRST GEAR, WHICH CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO REDUCE SPEED QUICKLY AND WHEELS TO LOCK UP. PULLED OFF THE ROAD. ATTEMPTED TO DRIVE ONE MORE TIME AND VEHICLE DID THE SAME ACTION, WHILE ACCELERATING AROUND 30-35 MPH VEHICLE DROPPED TO FIRST GEAR AND WHEELS LOCKED UP. PULLED OVER, SHUT OFF VEHICLE, THEN TURNED IT BACK ON. PLACED VEHICLE IN MANUAL MODE AND WAS ABLE TO DRIVE HOME. THE NEXT DAY I TOOK F-150 TO ADVANTAGE FORD OF STUART. ADVANTAGE FORD SAID IT IS LEAD FRAME THAT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. RESEARCHED ON THE INTERNET SIMILAR PROBLEMS WITH 2012 FORD F-150'S AND FOUND A RECALL FOR FORD F-150'S RECALL NUMBER 16S19. I SEARCHED MY VIN ON FORD'S WEBSITE AND CALLED CUSTOMER CARE, AND MY VIN DOES NOT SHOW ON THIS RECALL. THEN I CAME ACCROSS NHTSA NUMBER 16V248 WHICH COVERS FORD F150'S BUILT IN DEARBORN MICHIGAN BETWEEN FEBRUARY 11. 2011 AND SEPTEMBER 8, 2012. MY FORD F 150 WAS BUILT IN AUGUST OF 2012 ACCORDING TO THE MANUFACTURER. MY VIN WAS OBVIOUSLY MISSED IN THIS SAFETY RECALL, AND I WOULD LIKE A RESOLUTION TO ADD MY VIN NUMBER TO THIS SATETY RECALL. I TALKED WITH FORD, AND THEY STARTED A CASE NUMBER CAS-13394098.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/26/2017 - HONOLULU, HI
1. TRANSMISSION STARTS OUT IN 1ST GEAR. PULLING OUT INTO TRAFFIC TRANSMISSION FAILS TO SHIFT AND REMAINS IN 1ST GEAR. ALMOST REAR ENDED BY ONCOMING TRAFFIC. SPEEDOMETER DOES NOT WORK AND SEVERAL OTHER INSTRUMENTS NOT WORKING. PULL TO SIDE OF ROAD, TURN OFF IGNITION KEY. SYSTEMS RESETS, EVERYTHING WORKING. 2. AFTER STOPPING AT INTERSECTION TRANSMISSION REMAINS IN 5TH GEAR. WILL NOT DOWNSHIFT AND HAS NO ACCELERATION. PULL TO SIDE OF ROAD, TURN IGNITION KEY OFF. RESTART TRUCK AND TRANSMISSION WORKS AGAIN.

View Details

SEATS

10/24/2017 - DEER PARK, NY
SOMEONE STOPPED SHORT IN FRONT OF ME. I APPLIED THE BRAKES BUT COULD NOT AVOID HITTING CAR. THE BRAKE INDICATOR ON FRONT CONTROL DISPLAY SAID MY BRAKES ARE OK. ONCE I CRASHED THE SEAT BELT ENGAGED BUT I STILL HIT THE STEERING WHEEL WITH MY CHEST. THE AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY! THERE WAS SOME HEAVY SMOKE THOUGH AROUND THE SEAT BELT AREA OR FROM PERHAPS THE ELECTRICAL CONNECTIONS UNDER THE SEAT?

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/24/2017 - DEER PARK, NY
SOMEONE STOPPED SHORT IN FRONT OF ME. I APPLIED THE BRAKES BUT COULD NOT AVOID HITTING CAR. THE BRAKE INDICATOR ON FRONT CONTROL DISPLAY SAID MY BRAKES ARE OK. ONCE I CRASHED THE SEAT BELT ENGAGED BUT I STILL HIT THE STEERING WHEEL WITH MY CHEST. THE AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY! THERE WAS SOME HEAVY SMOKE THOUGH AROUND THE SEAT BELT AREA OR FROM PERHAPS THE ELECTRICAL CONNECTIONS UNDER THE SEAT?

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/24/2017 - DEER PARK, NY
SOMEONE STOPPED SHORT IN FRONT OF ME. I APPLIED THE BRAKES BUT COULD NOT AVOID HITTING CAR. THE BRAKE INDICATOR ON FRONT CONTROL DISPLAY SAID MY BRAKES ARE OK. ONCE I CRASHED THE SEAT BELT ENGAGED BUT I STILL HIT THE STEERING WHEEL WITH MY CHEST. THE AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY! THERE WAS SOME HEAVY SMOKE THOUGH AROUND THE SEAT BELT AREA OR FROM PERHAPS THE ELECTRICAL CONNECTIONS UNDER THE SEAT?

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/23/2017 - PRATTVILLE, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH, THE REAR TIRES SEIZED AND THE ADVANCE TRACK WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT COASTED THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND WAS ABLE TO RESUME DRIVING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER OR AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V248000 (POWER TRAIN). THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN A RECALL AND REFERRED THE CONTACT TO NHTSA. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

STEERING

10/23/2017 - COLUMBIA, MO
MY 6 MONTH PREGNANT WIFE WAS DRIVING THE TRUCK WHEN THE DASH READ "POWER STEERING ASSIST FAULT" SHE LOST ALL POWER STEERING AND WAS UN ABLE TO CONTROL THE VEHICLE. TALKED TO FORD DEALERSHIP, THEY SAID RACK IS FAULTY. THANKFULLY MY WIFE, NIECE AND UNBORN CHILD WHERE UN HARMED WHEN THE DEFECTIVE PIECE FAILED. THIS IS A SAFETY HAZARD AND SHOULD BE RECALLED IMMEDIATELY. IF THEY WERE TRAVELING AT HIGH SPEEDS, SHE WOULDN'T HAVE BEEN ABLE TO CONTROL THE VEHICLE ON A CORNER.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/21/2017 - WALTON, KY
VEHICLE RANDOMLY SHIFTS UP AND DOWN. IT WILL SOMETIMES SHIFT FROM 1ST TO 6TH AND THEN THE VEHICLE DOES NOT GO SINCE IT IS IN HIGH GEAR. OTHER TIMES, IT WILL SHIFT FROM 6TH TO 3RD. THIS HAPPENED WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH ON EXPRESSWAY, IT SHIFTED TO 3RD AND CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO JERK. I RESEARCHED AND OTHERS HAVE HAD SIMILAR ISSUES. TOOK TO FORD AND THEY SAID IT NEEDS A NEW LEAD RELAY WHICH WILL COST $600.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/21/2017 - WALTON, KY
VEHICLE RANDOMLY SHIFTS UP AND DOWN. IT WILL SOMETIMES SHIFT FROM 1ST TO 6TH AND THEN THE VEHICLE DOES NOT GO SINCE IT IS IN HIGH GEAR. OTHER TIMES, IT WILL SHIFT FROM 6TH TO 3RD. THIS HAPPENED WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH ON EXPRESSWAY, IT SHIFTED TO 3RD AND CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO JERK. I RESEARCHED AND OTHERS HAVE HAD SIMILAR ISSUES. TOOK TO FORD AND THEY SAID IT NEEDS A NEW LEAD RELAY WHICH WILL COST $600.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 119
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds