Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2012 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 373 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (5) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (87)
Electrical System (16) Fuel Propulsion System (37) Service Brakes (5) Suspension (5) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (29) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (4) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine (252) Power Train (86) Steering (20) Unknown Or Other (9) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 59
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

10/15/2014 - WAUNAKEE, WI
WHEN YOU PRESS THE THROTTLE PEDAL TO PASS THE VEHICLE HAS A SLIGHT ACCELERATION AND THEN SHAKES, SHUDDERS AND WILL NOT ACCELERATE. I NEED TO COAST FOR SEVERAL HUNDRED YARDS BEFORE THE SYSTEM RECOVERS AND THE TRUCK ACCELERATES. THIS HAPPENS ALL SUMMER LONG PRETTY MUCH EVERY TIME I NEED TO PASS. MY FORD DEALER SAYS THEY HAVE APPLIED THE SERVICE BULLETINS BUT THAT DOES NOT CORRECT THE PROBLEM. IN YOUR INVESTIGATION OF THIS MATTER IT IS STATED THAT FORD SAYS YOU CAN STILL ACCELERATE I CAN TELL YOU THAT IS ABSOLUTELY NOT TRUE WITH MY TRUCK. I SHOULD NOTE THAT MOST OF THE TIME I AM PULLING AN 18' FISHING BOAT THAT WEIGHTS ABOUT 3000 LBS. ON AT LEAST SIX DIFFERENT OCCASIONS NOW WHILE ON VACATION I HAVE BEEN IN A LONG STRING OF TRAFFIC BEHIND EITHER MOTOR HOMES OR LOGGING TRUCKS THAT COULD NOT GO HIGHWAY SPEED, I PULL OUT TO PASS THEM STEP ON THE GAS, IT SHAKES, SHUDDERS AND THERE I SIT IN THE ONCOMING TRAFFIC LANE, MEANWHILE THE STRING OF VEHICLES BEHIND ME HAVE CLOSED THE GAP, I CANNOT PULL BACK INTO THE RIGHT LANE AND I CANNOT ACCELERATE TO GET IN FRONT OF THEM. I END UP JUST SLOWLY MOVING BACK TO THE RIGHT HOPING THE OTHER VEHICLES WILL BACK OFF AND MOVE OUT OF THE WAY, THEN COMES THE BLASTING OF THEIR HORNS AND SHAKING OF THEIR FISTS WHEN THEY EVENTUALLY PASS ME. I CANNOT IMAGINE HOW THIS IS NOT CONSIDERED A SAFETY ISSUE. FORD SPECIFICALLY MARKETS THIS ECOBOOST ENGINE BASED ON IT'S TORQUE FOR TOWING TO PEOPLE THAT NEED A TRUCK FOR TOWING BUT YOU CANNOT USE ANY OF THAT TORQUE ALL SUMMER LONG AND I AM PULLING A BOAT THAT IS ONLY AT ONE THIRD OF THE TOWING CAPACITY.

View Details

ENGINE

10/8/2014 - WAXAHACHIE, TX
WHILE GETTING ON THE HIGHWAY AND ACCELERATING, MY TRUCK BEGAN TO SHAKE AND LOSE POWER. I TOOK IT IN TO THE SHOP AFTERWARDS AND THEY HAD TO REPLACE ALL SPARK PLUGS AND 1 IGNITION COIL. AFTER RESEARCHING THIS, I FOUND OUT THIS HAS BEEN AN ISSUE ON SEVERAL 2011 - 2013 MODEL ECO BOOST. PLEASE FORCE A RECALL, AS I DO NOT FEEL I NEED TO PAY FOR SOMETHING FORD IS RESPONSIBLE FOR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/8/2014 - WAXAHACHIE, TX
WHILE GETTING ON THE HIGHWAY AND ACCELERATING, MY TRUCK BEGAN TO SHAKE AND LOSE POWER. I TOOK IT IN TO THE SHOP AFTERWARDS AND THEY HAD TO REPLACE ALL SPARK PLUGS AND 1 IGNITION COIL. AFTER RESEARCHING THIS, I FOUND OUT THIS HAS BEEN AN ISSUE ON SEVERAL 2011 - 2013 MODEL ECO BOOST. PLEASE FORCE A RECALL, AS I DO NOT FEEL I NEED TO PAY FOR SOMETHING FORD IS RESPONSIBLE FOR.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/8/2014 - WAXAHACHIE, TX
WHILE GETTING ON THE HIGHWAY AND ACCELERATING, MY TRUCK BEGAN TO SHAKE AND LOSE POWER. I TOOK IT IN TO THE SHOP AFTERWARDS AND THEY HAD TO REPLACE ALL SPARK PLUGS AND 1 IGNITION COIL. AFTER RESEARCHING THIS, I FOUND OUT THIS HAS BEEN AN ISSUE ON SEVERAL 2011 - 2013 MODEL ECO BOOST. PLEASE FORCE A RECALL, AS I DO NOT FEEL I NEED TO PAY FOR SOMETHING FORD IS RESPONSIBLE FOR.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

10/3/2014 - HOUSTON, TX
WHILE DRIVING THE INTERSTATE THE DRIVER SIDE MIRROR GLASS (JUST MIRROR ITSELF WITH BLACK BACK SUPPORT) SLUMPED PARTIALLY DETACHING ITSELF FROM THE MIRROR ADJUSTMENT MOUNT MAKING IT UNUSABLE TO VIEW THE DRIVER SIDE SIDE REAR VIEW.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/22/2014 - ROCHESTER, MI
FOR THE FOURTH TIME, MY 2012 FORD F150 ECOBOOSTED ENGINE STALLED OR SHUTTERED WHEN HAULING A LOAD (TRAILER OR HEAVY BED LOAD) IN A HIGH HUMIDITY ENVIRONMENT. I WAS PULLING A U-HAUL TRAILER BEHIND MY TRUCK AND IT WAS RAINING HEAVILY. WHEN I PUNCHED THE ACCELERATOR TO PASS A SLOWER VEHICLE, THE ENGINE STALLED, SPUTTERED, AND NEARLY SHUT DOWN. THE "CHECK ENGINE" LIGHT CAME ON FOR ABOUT A MINUTE, THEN TURNED OFF ONCE THE ENGINE HAD CLEARED WHAT FELT LIKE CONDENSATION, AND RETURNED TO NORMAL OPERATING MODE. WHEN I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALERSHIP TO COMPLAIN (FOR THE 4TH TIME), THEY TOLD ME THAT THEY WERE OF AWARE OF A DESIGN PROBLEM WITH THE INTERCOOLER ON 2011-2013 TURBOCHARGED VEHICLES, BUT SINCE THEY COULD NOT VERIFY THE DEFECT "CODE," FORD WOULD NOT REIMBURSE THEM FOR THE SERVICE FIX. THIS IS CLEARLY A SAFETY AND ENVIRONMENTAL ISSUE AS THE SERVICE BULLETIN THAT FORD ISSUED TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM, REQUIRES REPLACEMENT OF THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER AS WELL. FRUSTRATED!

View Details

ENGINE

9/22/2014 - ROCHESTER, MI
FOR THE FOURTH TIME, MY 2012 FORD F150 ECOBOOSTED ENGINE STALLED OR SHUTTERED WHEN HAULING A LOAD (TRAILER OR HEAVY BED LOAD) IN A HIGH HUMIDITY ENVIRONMENT. I WAS PULLING A U-HAUL TRAILER BEHIND MY TRUCK AND IT WAS RAINING HEAVILY. WHEN I PUNCHED THE ACCELERATOR TO PASS A SLOWER VEHICLE, THE ENGINE STALLED, SPUTTERED, AND NEARLY SHUT DOWN. THE "CHECK ENGINE" LIGHT CAME ON FOR ABOUT A MINUTE, THEN TURNED OFF ONCE THE ENGINE HAD CLEARED WHAT FELT LIKE CONDENSATION, AND RETURNED TO NORMAL OPERATING MODE. WHEN I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALERSHIP TO COMPLAIN (FOR THE 4TH TIME), THEY TOLD ME THAT THEY WERE OF AWARE OF A DESIGN PROBLEM WITH THE INTERCOOLER ON 2011-2013 TURBOCHARGED VEHICLES, BUT SINCE THEY COULD NOT VERIFY THE DEFECT "CODE," FORD WOULD NOT REIMBURSE THEM FOR THE SERVICE FIX. THIS IS CLEARLY A SAFETY AND ENVIRONMENTAL ISSUE AS THE SERVICE BULLETIN THAT FORD ISSUED TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM, REQUIRES REPLACEMENT OF THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER AS WELL. FRUSTRATED!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/18/2014 - LAWRENCEVILLE, IL
DRIVING HOME FROM VACATION WE HAD STOPPED AND WERE GETTING BACK ONTO HIGHWAY , IT HAD BEEN RAINING ALL THE WAY AND WHEN WERE MERGING BACK ONTO HIGHWAY I ACCELERATED QUICKLY THE TRUCK STARTED SHAKING LOST POWER I LIFTED OFF ACCELERATOR UNTIL THE SHAKING HAD QUIT AND THEN EASED BACK IN AND WAS ABLE TO DRIVE THE REST OF THE WAY HOME. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON DEALER SHOWED IT AS A MISFIRE. THE CURRENT FIX FOR THIS IS TO COVER THE FIRST 6 TO 8 INCHES OF THE INTERCOOLER. ..UPDATED 09-24-14

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

9/18/2014 - LAWRENCEVILLE, IL
DRIVING HOME FROM VACATION WE HAD STOPPED AND WERE GETTING BACK ONTO HIGHWAY , IT HAD BEEN RAINING ALL THE WAY AND WHEN WERE MERGING BACK ONTO HIGHWAY I ACCELERATED QUICKLY THE TRUCK STARTED SHAKING LOST POWER I LIFTED OFF ACCELERATOR UNTIL THE SHAKING HAD QUIT AND THEN EASED BACK IN AND WAS ABLE TO DRIVE THE REST OF THE WAY HOME. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON DEALER SHOWED IT AS A MISFIRE. THE CURRENT FIX FOR THIS IS TO COVER THE FIRST 6 TO 8 INCHES OF THE INTERCOOLER. ..UPDATED 09-24-14

View Details

ENGINE

9/15/2014 - SOLDOTNA, AK
USING TRUCK TO PULL APPROX. 5000 LB TRAVEL TRAILER FOR CAMPING. WE HAD BEEN DRIVING FOR ABOUT 45 MINS SINCE LAST STOP, 15 MIN BATHROOM BREAK. WEATHER WAS DRIZZLE RAIN THAT HAD BEEN CONTINUOUS FOR LAST 2 HOURS OF TRIP TIME AND THERE WAS STANDING WATER ON ROADWAY. I WAS IN A 65 MPH LOCATION, FLAT ROADWAY, AND CAME UPON A SMALL CAR DOING LESS THAN 60 MPH ON THE TURNIGAN ARM AREA OF THE SEWARD HIGHWAY (2 LANE-OPPOSING TRAFFIC). IT WAS CLEAR AND I BEGAN TO PASS. AS I CLEARED THE VEHICLE I NOTICED A LARGE CLASS A RV HAD FOLLOWED ME TO PASS THE CAR. I CONTINUED AT 65-70 MPH TO FINISH PASSING AND MY TRUCK STARTED VIBRATING AND LOSING POWER AND SPEED, NO LIGHTS OR PROBLEMS SHOWN ON DASH. THE RV THAT FOLLOWED ME WAS ON MY REAR END AND TRYING TO FIT BACK INTO THE LANE WITHOUT RUNNING THE SMALL VEHICLE OFF THE ROAD AS OPPOSING TRAFFIC APPROACHED. I COULD DO NOTHING BUT SIGNAL AND PULL OFF ON TO THE SHOULDER OF THE HIGHWAY. AS I STOPPED AND PUT TRUCK INTO NEUTRAL AND REVVED THE ENGINE IT APPEARED FINE. I WAITED FOR A CLEARING IN TRAFFIC AND PULLED BACK IN AND ACCELERATED WITH NO PROBLEM. THE PROBLEM CORRECTED THAT QUICKLY WITH OUT ME SHUTTING IT OFF. THE TRUCK HAD NO PROBLEMS FOR THE REST OF A 250 MILE TRIP. THIS INCIDENT COULD HAVE ENDED UP VERY BAD AND IT SHOOK MY WIFE UP EMOTIONALLY. THE PROBLEM OCCURRED ONE MORE TIME ON THE RETURN TRIP ON 9/13/14. SIMILAR WEATHER, BUT NOT QUITE AS WET. THIS TIME WHEN THE PROBLEM HAPPENED I WAS IN A PASSING LANE AND HAD A SLIGHT INCLINE AND A SEMI WAS DROPPING DOWN IN SPEED AND I WENT TO PASS ACCELERATING FROM 55 TO ABOUT 65 MPH, MOVING INTO THE PASSING LANE. AS I ACCELERATED THE TRUCK HAD THE SAME THING HAPPEN. THIS TIME THE SITUATION WAS NOT AS DIRE AS I RECOGNIZED IT, SIGNALED, MOVED BACK INTO THE SLOW LANE AND THEN SHOULDER. OTHER THAN UPSETTING OTHER MOTORISTS AS I SLOWED DOWN NO ENDANGERMENT TO LIFE OCCURRED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 59
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds