Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2012 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 593 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (13) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (8) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (99)
Electrical System (53) Fuel Propulsion System (47) Service Brakes (44) Suspension (8) Visibility (16)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Fuel System Gasoline (34) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (9) Visibility Wiper (34)
Engine (307) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (47) Unknown Or Other (25) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Power Train (115)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 89
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

4/28/2016 - CORPUS CHRISTI, TX
AT FIRST THE SERVICE ADVANCE TRAC WARNING APPEARED AND THE DIRECTIONAL BLINKERS WOULD NOT WORK. STANDING STILL OR MOVING. HIT OK AND IT WOULD DISAPPEAR, BUT WOULD COME RIGHT BACK ON. NOW. IT APPEARS AND ALSO DRIVER ASSIST FAULT WARNING COMES ON AND YOU LOOSE YOUR POWER STEERING. EXTREME DIFFICULITY TURNING OR ANYTHING AT ANY SPEED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/28/2016 - LITTLE VALLEY, NY
FIRST OF ALL I HAVE A PICKUP WITH A RECONSTRUCTED TITLE. UPON ENTERING HIGHWAY AND STARTING TO ACCELERATE, I HAD TO STOP IMMEDIATELY FOR STOPPED VEHICLE IN FRONT OF ME. MY PEDAL WAS REAL HARD AND IT DIDN'T FEEL LIKE MY NORMAL PEDAL. I WASN'T SURE I WOULD STOP, BUT IT DID JUST IN TIME. IT IS THE HARDEST I HAVE EVER APPLIED A BRAKE PEDAL IN MY 44 PLUS YEARS DRIVING AND NOT ONE TIRE LOCKED UP OR ANY PULSATION ON PEDAL. FORD HAS SENT ME A LETTER WITH CUSTOMER SATISFACTION PROGRAM "15N05". VACUUM PUMP FAILURE. WHICH APPLIES TO WHAT HAPPEN TO ME. THEY INFORMED ME THAT THIS WAS A WARRANTY ISSUE THAT BRANDED TITLES ARE NOT COVERED, NOT A SAFETY ISSUE, WHICH WOULD COVER A BRANDED TITLE. HOW CAN BRAKES NOT BE SAFETY? FORD HAS CHANGED THIS BRAKE SYSTEM AFTER ONLY A COUPLE OF YEARS. JUST BECAUSE IT ONLY INVOLVES A COUPLE OF YEARS, FORD SHOULD MAKE THIS A SAFETY ISSUE NOT EXTENDED WARRANTY TO KEEP THE NHTSA FROM FORCING THEIR HAND.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/28/2016 - WASHINGTON, DC
I WAS GOING DOWN 105, TO GET FROM CONROE TO PORTER, WHEN I CHANGED LANES TO GET NEAR AN EXIT TO GO THROUGH BACK ROADS THE TRUCK ALL OF A SUDDEN SHOT DOWN TO 42 OR 43, CAUSING SOMEONE BEHIND ME TO TRY TO AVOID HITTING ME, HE AVOIDED MOST OF THE TRUCK BUT HIT MY BUMPER ON THE RIGHT SIDE PUSHING IT INTO THE BED A LITTLE, I DIDN'T KNOW WHAT WAS GOING ON SO I SLAMMED ON THE BREAKS CAUSING THE BELTS TO TIGHTEN UP. HE GOT OUT TO HELP ME AND WE GOT MY TRUCK TOWED, HE ASSUMED IT WAS THE TRANSMISSION LOCKING UP. ONCE BACK IN HOUSTON I WAS TOLD THE TRANSMISSION WAS FINE AND IT WAS A FREAK ACCIDENT.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

4/17/2016 - KINGSPORT, TN
VEHICLE IS DISPLAYING "SERVICE ADVANCETRAC" ERROR MESSAGE WHEN VEHICLE IS TURNED SHARPLY LEFT OR RIGHT. WHEN THE ERROR MESSAGE COMES ON, THE TURN SIGNALS DO NOT FUNCTION PROPERLY. THE DRIVER MUST HOLD THE TURN SIGNAL SWITCH TO ACTIVATE TURN SIGNALS ANYTIME NEEDING TO CHANGE LANES OR TURN OFF ROADWAY. VEHICLE ERROR HAS BEEN CHECKED BY SERVICING DEALER AND AN UPDATE WAS PERFORMED TO ABS MODULE TO ATTEMPT TO FIX THE PROBLEM, BUT EXPLAINED THAT A POSSIBLE NEED TO REPLACE THE POWER RACK AND PINION TO RESOLVE THE PROBLEM. I AM AFRAID THAT THE POWER RACK AND PINION IS GOING TO FAIL AND CAUSE ME TO HAVE AN ACCIDENT, OR THE TURN SIGNALS NOT FUNCTIONING PROPERLY IS GOING TO CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. FORD NEEDS TO ISSUE A SAFETY RECALL TO FIX THIS FAILING PART IN THE 2012 F150 MODEL LINE.

View Details

STEERING

4/17/2016 - KINGSPORT, TN
VEHICLE IS DISPLAYING "SERVICE ADVANCETRAC" ERROR MESSAGE WHEN VEHICLE IS TURNED SHARPLY LEFT OR RIGHT. WHEN THE ERROR MESSAGE COMES ON, THE TURN SIGNALS DO NOT FUNCTION PROPERLY. THE DRIVER MUST HOLD THE TURN SIGNAL SWITCH TO ACTIVATE TURN SIGNALS ANYTIME NEEDING TO CHANGE LANES OR TURN OFF ROADWAY. VEHICLE ERROR HAS BEEN CHECKED BY SERVICING DEALER AND AN UPDATE WAS PERFORMED TO ABS MODULE TO ATTEMPT TO FIX THE PROBLEM, BUT EXPLAINED THAT A POSSIBLE NEED TO REPLACE THE POWER RACK AND PINION TO RESOLVE THE PROBLEM. I AM AFRAID THAT THE POWER RACK AND PINION IS GOING TO FAIL AND CAUSE ME TO HAVE AN ACCIDENT, OR THE TURN SIGNALS NOT FUNCTIONING PROPERLY IS GOING TO CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. FORD NEEDS TO ISSUE A SAFETY RECALL TO FIX THIS FAILING PART IN THE 2012 F150 MODEL LINE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/15/2016 - LANSDALE, PA
STARTED THE TRUCK TO WARM UP, AS TEMPETURE WAS 17 DEG. F.. WENT INSIDE TO LOCK UP HOUSE AND WHEN I CAME OUT THERE WAS SMOKE COMING OUT OF DOORS. UPON OPENING, THE CAB WAS FILLED WITH BLACK SMOKE AND THERE WAS A FLAMING MASS ON PASSINGER SIDE FLOOR ON A FLOOR MAT I HAD PURCHASED FOR TRUCK. I PULLED MAT OUT WITH MELTING PILE OF PLASTIC AND PUT FIRE OUT WITH SNOW ON GROUND. HAD TO MAKE ARRANGEMENTS FOR SOMEONE TO PICK US UP AND GET HOME BECAUSE I HAD MY 8YR. OLD GRANDDAUGHTER WITH ME AND SHE HAD TO ATTEND SCHOOL THE NEXT DAY AND WE WERE 275 MILES FROM OUR HOME. THIS HAPPENED APRIL 3RD 2016 IN MILLPORT, PA. 16748 AND MY RESIDENCE IS IVYLAND, PA. 18974. RENTED A CAR AT HOME 4/4/16 AND GOT ION TOUCH WITH FORD DEALERSHIP IN COUDERSPORT, PA. 16915, KIGHTLINGER MOTORS. TRUCK WASTO BE READY 4/13 AND I WAS GOING TO RETURN RENTAL CAR TO MANSFIELD, PA. LOCATION AND HAD A RIDE TO COUDERSPORT TO PICK UP TRUCK. RECEIVED A CALL THURSDAY 4/14 THAT TRUCK WOULDN'T BE READY UNTIL POSSIBLY 4/20/16. THE VEHICLE WAS STANTIONARY WARMING UP WITH FAN ON LOW WHEN FIRE STARTED AND HAD BEEN WARMING UP (NO PUN INTENDED) LESS THAN 5 MINUTES AS WE WERE READY TO LEAVE. TRUCK IS A COMPANY VEHICLE.

View Details

ENGINE

4/14/2016 - HOLLAND, MI
F-150 WITH ECOBOOST ENGINE FAILS WITH HARD ACCELERATION IN WET CONDITIONS. FORDS FIX IS TO INSTALL A NEW PART DUE TO A DESIGN DEFECT THAT ALLOWS WATER TO BE INGESTED RESULTING IN SPARK PLUG FAILURE. ON 4/17/2016 WHILE ATTEMPTING TO MERGE ON HIGHWAY 57 THE ENGINE FAILED TO POWER UP AND "BOGGING" DOWN. THIS FORCED ME ON TO THE SHOULDER IN ORDER TO AVOID A COLLISION WITH A 18 WHEELER.

View Details

STEERING

4/6/2016 - SILVER CREEK, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE CONTACT HEARD A SQUEALING NOISE EMERGING FROM THE ENGINE. THE STEERING WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO ADVISED THE CONTACT TO HAVE THE DEALER INSPECT THE VEHICLE. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN MODULE FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/4/2016 - LITTLETON, CO
I REMOTE STARTED MY F-150 SUPERCREW IN THE MORNING, IT WAS APPROXIMATELY 22 DEGREES F OUTSIDE. I DROVE TO THE CORNER STORE (0.1 MILES AWAY) TO GRAB A BITE TO EAT. I TURNED MY TRUCK OFF, WENT IN, THEN STARTED MY TRUCK BACK UP TO HEAD TO THE GAS STATION (0.2 MILES AWAY) & FUELED UP. I TURNED MY TRUCK BACK ON AND HIT THE REAR DEFROST BUTTON TO CLEAR SOME ICE ON THE REAR WINDOW. AFTER DRIVING FOR ABOUT 3-4 MINUTES (ROUGHLY 3 MILES), WHILE ON THE FREEWAY, I HEARD A LOUD "POP". I NOTICED THAT THE REAR WINDOW HAD SHATTERED. IT WAS THE WINDOW PANE LOCATED BEHIND THE DRIVER SEAT. THERE WAS NO IMPACT TO THE WINDOW AND WOULD'VE BEEN EXTREMELY UNLIKELY SINCE I WAS DRIVING. MUST BE AN ELECTRICAL ISSUE (A SHORT, A SURGE, OR SOMETHING). MY TRUCK IS OUT OF THE 3 YEAR WARRANTY WINDOW, BUT HAS JUST UNDER 22,000 MILES ON IT. THE DEALERSHIP WOULD NOT PAY A PENNY TO REPLACE MY WINDOW. I CALLED THE FORD CUSTOMER CARE LINE AND THEY STAND BEHIND THE DEALER DECISION TO NOT PAY ANYTHING FOR IT. THIS IS CLEARLY AN ISSUE WITH THEIR VEHICLES. I'VE SEARCHED THIS SITE AND SEEN THE SAME PROBLEMS ON 2010 - 2015 MODELS OF THE F-150. THIS PROBLEM IS NOT BEING ADDRESSED WHAT-SO-EVER BY FORD. WHAT HAPPENS AFTER I GET THIS WINDOW REPLACED AND USE THE DEFROSTER, ONLY TO HAVE MY NEW WINDOW SHATTER AS WELL? I GUESS I HAVE TO PAY FOR THAT ONE TOO. MY GRANDMOTHER AND GRANDFATHER WORKED FOR FORD. MY FAMILY HAS BEEN LONG TIME FORD CUSTOMERS. THIS IS MY THIRD FORD VEHICLE. THAT TREND HAS JUST ENDED. CONSIDERING A TRADE IN TO CHEVY OR DODGE.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

4/4/2016 - LITTLETON, CO
I REMOTE STARTED MY F-150 SUPERCREW IN THE MORNING, IT WAS APPROXIMATELY 22 DEGREES F OUTSIDE. I DROVE TO THE CORNER STORE (0.1 MILES AWAY) TO GRAB A BITE TO EAT. I TURNED MY TRUCK OFF, WENT IN, THEN STARTED MY TRUCK BACK UP TO HEAD TO THE GAS STATION (0.2 MILES AWAY) & FUELED UP. I TURNED MY TRUCK BACK ON AND HIT THE REAR DEFROST BUTTON TO CLEAR SOME ICE ON THE REAR WINDOW. AFTER DRIVING FOR ABOUT 3-4 MINUTES (ROUGHLY 3 MILES), WHILE ON THE FREEWAY, I HEARD A LOUD "POP". I NOTICED THAT THE REAR WINDOW HAD SHATTERED. IT WAS THE WINDOW PANE LOCATED BEHIND THE DRIVER SEAT. THERE WAS NO IMPACT TO THE WINDOW AND WOULD'VE BEEN EXTREMELY UNLIKELY SINCE I WAS DRIVING. MUST BE AN ELECTRICAL ISSUE (A SHORT, A SURGE, OR SOMETHING). MY TRUCK IS OUT OF THE 3 YEAR WARRANTY WINDOW, BUT HAS JUST UNDER 22,000 MILES ON IT. THE DEALERSHIP WOULD NOT PAY A PENNY TO REPLACE MY WINDOW. I CALLED THE FORD CUSTOMER CARE LINE AND THEY STAND BEHIND THE DEALER DECISION TO NOT PAY ANYTHING FOR IT. THIS IS CLEARLY AN ISSUE WITH THEIR VEHICLES. I'VE SEARCHED THIS SITE AND SEEN THE SAME PROBLEMS ON 2010 - 2015 MODELS OF THE F-150. THIS PROBLEM IS NOT BEING ADDRESSED WHAT-SO-EVER BY FORD. WHAT HAPPENS AFTER I GET THIS WINDOW REPLACED AND USE THE DEFROSTER, ONLY TO HAVE MY NEW WINDOW SHATTER AS WELL? I GUESS I HAVE TO PAY FOR THAT ONE TOO. MY GRANDMOTHER AND GRANDFATHER WORKED FOR FORD. MY FAMILY HAS BEEN LONG TIME FORD CUSTOMERS. THIS IS MY THIRD FORD VEHICLE. THAT TREND HAS JUST ENDED. CONSIDERING A TRADE IN TO CHEVY OR DODGE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 89
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds