Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2012 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 2105 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (39) Equipment (4) Parking Brake (2) Steering (469) Unknown Or Other (190)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (810) Structure (292) Vehicle Speed Control (119)
Electrical System (196) Exterior Lighting (10) Seat Belts (33) Suspension (19) Visibility (20)
Electronic Stability Control (26) Fuel Propulsion System (82) Seats (8) Tires (9) Visibility Wiper (26)
Engine (231) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Service Brakes (32) Traction Control System (4) Wheels (16)
Engine And Engine Cooling (20) Latches Locks Linkages (110) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 278
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

10/11/2017 - FLORENCE, AL
STEERING ASSIST FAILURE OCCURRED THREE TIMES-ONCE IN THE STREET, ONCE IN OUR DRIVEWAY, AND ONCE IN OUR GARAGE. IN EACH INSTANCE, FRESTARTING THE CAR RETURNED OPERATION TO NORMAL.

View Details

STEERING

10/11/2017 - STATESVILLE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. UPON STARTING THE VEHICLE, "STEERING WHEEL FAULT" DISPLAYED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL AND THE POWER STEERING FAILED. THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO TURN THE STEERING WHEEL LEFT OR RIGHT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO RANDY MARION FORD LINCOLN (1011 FOLGER DR, STATESVILLE, NC 28625 (704) 235-6214) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING GEAR MODULE ASSEMBLY NEEDED REPLACEMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED DUE TO COST. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND DID NOT ASSIST. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 74,000.

View Details

STEERING

10/10/2017 - LA VISTA, NE
POWER STEERING FAULT VEHICLE SUFFERS FROM ELECTRONIC STEERING FAULTS AT RANDOM. THIS APPEARS TO BE A COMMON DEFECT WITH THE MODEL YEAR 2012 AND IS NOT COVERED UNDER A RECALL. WHEN STARTING THE VEHICLE FROM A STATIONARY POSITION, THE POWER STEERING WILL NOT ENGAGE. POWER CYCLING THE CAR A FEW TIMES WILL INITIALIZE THE STEERING CONTROL FOR THE TIME BEING. I HAVEN'T EXPERIENCED THE ISSUE AT SPEED AS OF YET, BUT AM CONCERNED.

View Details

STEERING

10/9/2017 - WILLOWICK, OH
I HAVE TAKEN MY CAR TO FORD MULTIPLE TIMES SAYING MY STEERING FELT "TIGHT" OR I WOULD HAVE TO JERK IT BACK INTO TURNING BECAUSE IT WOULD GET "STUCK" WHILE TURNING. MY STEERING ALSO "FREEZES" IN COLD WEATHER. MY STEERING WHEEL WON'T MOVE AT ALL WHEN TEMP DROPPED BELOW 42 DEGREES. I WOULD HAVE TO WARM CAR UP TO GET IT TO UNFREEZE. MY STEERING TOTALLY STOPPED WORKING 2 NIGHTS AGO. NO LIGHT CAME ON, NO CODES, IT JUST STOPPED TURNING. LUCKILY I WAS ON MY STREET GOING 25MPH, BUT TRYING TO GET IT TO TURN INTO MY DRIVEWAY WAS VERY HARD. WHEN I CAME TO A STOP I GOT A WARNING THERE IS A STEERING FAILURE AND TO STOP SAFELY. I NOW HAVE A CAR IN MY DRIVEWAY THAT I CAN'T MOVE BECAUSE STEERING WON'T MOVE. I HAVE TO GO TO FORD AGAIN AND SEE WHAT THEY SAW, THEN HAVE IT TOWED THERE. I HAVE HEARD IT IS $1200 TO FIX. I DON'T HAVE THAT KIND OF MONEY. I AM ON SSDI, AND ONLY CAN WORK PT. I CAN'T SELL IT BECAUSE OF NEGATIVE EQUITY, AND NO GAP INSURANCE. FORD, PLEASE RECALL THIS! SOMEONE IS GOING TO DIE. I USE HIGHWAY EVERY DAY, AND I COULD'VE SERIOULSY HURT STRANGERS. THIS IS THE WORST THING THAT CAN HAPPEN TO A CAR.

View Details

STEERING

10/9/2017 - GILBERT, AZ
MY 2012 FORD FOCUS SE ONLY HAS 57,000 MILES ON IT AND THE POWER STEERING HAS GONE OUT MULTIPLE TIMES. LUCKILY SO FAR IT+S ONLY GONE OUT WHILE PUTTING THE CAR IN REVERSE AND AT A LOW RATE OF SPEED BUT I+VE READ HUNDREDS OF REPORTS ONLINE ABOUT POWER STEERING SUDDENLY LOSING POWER WHILE AT HIGH RATES OF SPEED. I HAVE A 2 YEAR OLD SON AND THIS IS MY ONLY VEHICLE. THE 2012 FORD FUSION WITH THE EXACT SAME POWER STEERING SYSTEM WAS RECALLED. WHY WASN+T THE FOCUS RECALLED? WHAT WILL IT TAKE TO HAVE SOMEONE TAKE CARE OF THIS? WILL SOMEONE HAVE TO DIE FOR SOMEONE TO DO A RECALL? THE AVERAGE FIX FOR THIS PART IS $1500. AS A SINGLE MOM PLEASE TELL ME HOW I+M SUPPOSED TO AFFORD THAT AND EVEN IF I GET IT FIXED WHO+S TO SAY IT WON+T GO OUT IN ANOTHER 50,000 MILES? FORD NEEDS TO SUCK IT UP AND RECALL THIS PART BEFORE THEY HAVE A MAJOR LAWSUIT ON THEIR HANDS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/8/2017 - DUBLIN, OH
WHILE DRIVING ON SURFACE STREETS @ 25 MPH, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. TRANSMISSION SHUDDERING, ROUGH SHIFTING, OVERHEATED AND NEEDED TO STOP DRIVING TO COOL DOWN. AFTER PARKED OVERNIGHT, CAR WON'T START. TRIED THREE TIMES AND THEN HOLD KEY AND CAR RESETS AND STARTS. WAITED NEXT DAY, CAR WON'T START. TRIED THREE TIMES AND THEN HOLD KEY AND CAR RESETS AND STARTS. DROVE CAR TO DEALERSHIP. NEED NEW CLUTCH, BATTERY IN TRANSMISSION, TRANSMISSION CONTROL MODULE AND OTHER PARTS. CAR HAS ONLY 118K MILES ON IT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/5/2017 - WASILLA, AK
TRANSMISSION FAILING UNSAFE TO DRIVE

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/4/2017 - LACKAWANNA, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. WHILE REVERSING AT 4 MPH, THE CONTACT DEPRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL AND THE PEDAL TRAVELED TO THE FLOORBOARD, FAILING TO SLOW THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO FRASER FORD SALES LTD (815 KING ST W, OSHAWA, ON L1J 8N5, CANADA), BUT THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE DEALER FLUSHED THE BRAKE LINES; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO FRASER FORD SALES LTD, BUT THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DIAGNOSED AGAIN. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT REPLACED THE MASTER CYLINDER, BRAKE LINES, AND CALIPERS, BUT THE FAILURE CONTINUED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 78,000.

View Details

STEERING

10/4/2017 - HOUSTON, TX
I OWN A 2012 FORD FOCUS. WHILE DRIVING AT VARYING SPEEDS, THE POWER STEERING FAILED AND THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO TURN LEFT OR RIGHT. I HAVE TAKEN IT IN TO A FORD DEALERSHIP FOR DIAGNOSTICS THIS PAST WEEK, HOWEVER, THEY SIMPLY BLEW ME OFF, STATING THAT THERE WAS RECALL FOR THE PROBLEM. I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO MY PRIVATE MECHANIC YESTERDAY AND HIS DIAGNOSIS WAS THAT THE ELECTRONIC EPAS MODULE WITHIN THE POWER STEERING SYSTEM FAILED. THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 66,000 MILES. I HAVE HAD THE FOUR TIRES REPLACED ALSO YESTERDAY AND I GOT MERELY SOME RELIEF FROM THE STIFF STEERING WHEEL WHEN DRIVING FAST, AS OPPOSED TO WHEN I DRIVE SLOWLY. IN FACT, THE STEERING STIFFENS COMPLETELY WHEN MOVING THE VEHICLE FROM A PARKED POSITION.

View Details

STEERING

10/3/2017 - LEWISTON, ME
I STARTED THE ENGINE OF MY FORD FOCUS AND A WARNING LIGHT CAME ON THAT SAID STEERING ASSIST MALFUNCTION. AT THIS TIME, I NOTICED THAT MY STEERING WHEEL WOULD NOT TURN. MY CAR WAS IN PARK. I THEN TRIED PUTTING MY CAR IN REVERSE AND TURNING THE WHEEL. IT ALSO WOULD NOT TURN. I THEN PUT MY CAR BACK IN DRIVE AND RETURNED TO MY PARKING SPACE. I SHUT THE CAR OFF. A BIT LATER ON, I RESTARTED THE ENGINE TO SEE IF THE PROBLEM WOULD REOCCUR. NO WARNING LIGHT CAME ON AND I WAS ABLE TO TURN THE WHEEL JUST FINE. I HAD THE CAR TOWED TO A FORD DEALERSHIP BECAUSE I WAS AFRAID TO DRIVE IT. THE MECHANIC AT THE DEALERSHIP INFORMED ME THAT THE SAME EVENT OCCURRED FOR HIM ONE TIME, BUT THEN NEVER AGAIN. HE ALSO WAS UNABLE TO FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH THE STEERING DURING HIS INVESTIGATION OF IT. I WOULD LIKE THIS MATTER LOOKED INTO BECAUSE IT IS A SAFETY ISSUE. ALSO, THERE MUST BE A MALFUNCTION SOMEWHERE IN THE STEERING FOR THIS TO HAPPEN.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 278
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds