Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2012 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 715 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (17) Equipment (2) Parking Brake (2) Steering (106) Unknown Or Other (49)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (409) Structure (31) Vehicle Speed Control (72)
Electrical System (80) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (10) Suspension (13) Visibility (11)
Electronic Stability Control (11) Fuel Propulsion System (34) Seats (4) Tires (7) Visibility Wiper (10)
Engine (132) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Service Brakes (20) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (9)
Engine And Engine Cooling (16) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 107
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

3/30/2015 - CHARLESTON, WV
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE GAS PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED BUT THE VEHICLE DID NOT ACCELERATE WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE HAD TO BE RESTATED IN ORDER FOR THE VEHICLE TO BE DRIVEN. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THE VEHICLE WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE RESET. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 12,000

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/30/2015 - RICHMOND, VA
I WAS DRIVING TO WORK THIS MORNING. AS I WAS DRIVING MY CAR STOPPED ACCELERATING. I HAD TO COAST OFF OF THE INTERSTATE AND ONCE STOPPED IT WOULD NOT MOVE AT ALL. I GOT A WARNING THAT THE TRANSMISSION WAS HOT AND TO STOP SAFELY. RECENTLY I HAD THE CLUTCH REPLACED AND WAS ASSURED BY THE DEALERSHIP THAT THEY HAD FIXED THE PROBLEM.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/27/2015 - SHERMAN OAKS, CA
IN OCTOBER 2013, MY CAR STARTED SHUDDERING VIOLENTLY EVERY TIME I ACCELERATED FROM A STOP, GOING AROUND CORNERS AND GOING UP HILLS. ON OCT. 22, 2013, I BROUGHT THE CAR IN TO THE FORD DEALERSHIP FOR DIAGNOSTICS AND IT WAS DETERMINED I NEEDED A NEW CLUTCH. I WAS ALSO TOLD THAT THIS IS A VERY COMMON PROBLEM HAPPENING AT THE TIME WITH MY MAKE/MODEL. THE CAR WAS "REPAIRED" AND IT DID NOT SHUDDER UNTIL ALMOST EXACTLY A YEAR LATER IN OCTOBER 2014. THE SHUDDERING WAS EXACTLY THE SAME AS PREVIOUSLY - SHUDDERING VIOLENTLY EVERY TIME I ACCELERATED FROM A STOP, GOING AROUND CORNERS AND GOING UP HILLS. I BROUGHT MY CAR INTO THE DEALERSHIP ON MARCH 25, 2015 AND WAS TOLD THE TRANSMISSION WOULD HAVE TO BE REMOVED FOR REPAIRS. I WAS ALSO TOLD THAT SINCE SO MANY FORD OWNERS ARE HAVING THIS SAME PROBLEM, THEY ARE BOOKED SOLID AND CANNOT DO MY REPAIR UNTIL MIDDLE OF JUNE 2015 (3 MONTHS FROM TIME OF DIAGNOSTICS).

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/27/2015 - MIDDLEPOINT, OH
WHEN TAKING OFF TRANNY STUDDERS AND SLIPS IN KNOW ABOUT TO DRY CLUTCH YOU GUYS SHOULD RECALL BEFORE SOME GETS HURT THEN AL LEAST FORD WOULD FIX PROBLEM

View Details

EQUIPMENT ADAPTIVE

3/27/2015 - MIDDLEPOINT, OH
WHEN TAKING OFF TRANNY STUDDERS AND SLIPS IN KNOW ABOUT TO DRY CLUTCH YOU GUYS SHOULD RECALL BEFORE SOME GETS HURT THEN AL LEAST FORD WOULD FIX PROBLEM

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/27/2015 - MIDDLEPOINT, OH
WHEN TAKING OFF TRANNY STUDDERS AND SLIPS IN KNOW ABOUT TO DRY CLUTCH YOU GUYS SHOULD RECALL BEFORE SOME GETS HURT THEN AL LEAST FORD WOULD FIX PROBLEM

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/27/2015 - CONYERS, GA
IN SEPTEMBER OF 2013, I PURCHASED A USED FORD FOCUS FOR MY TEENAGE SON. SOON AFTER PURCHASING, WE REALIZED THE TRANSMISSION SEEMED TO BE HAVING PROBLEMS. IT WAS STILL UNDER FACTORY WARRANTY, SO WE TOOK IT TO A FORD DEALERSHIP TO HAVE IT CHECKED OUT AND REPAIRED. WE WERE TOLD THAT THE COMPUTER PROGRAMMING NEEDED TO BE RESET, WHICH THEY DID, AND THAT IT WOULD TAKE DRIVING IT ABOUT 1000 MILES FOR THE CAR TO "LEARN" THE NEW SETTING, AND THEN THE PROBLEM WOULD BE FIXED. THE PROBLEM, BY THE WAY, IS THE CAR FEELS LIKE IT WILL STALL OUT WHEN YOU TRY TO ACCELERATE, PARTICULARLY DURING INITIAL ACCELERATION SUCH AS AFTER COMING TO A COMPLETE STOP. THIS COULD PUT MY SON IN DANGER IF HE'S IN A SITUATION WHERE HE NEEDS IMMEDIATE ACCELERATION (SUCH AS TO PASS) AND THE TRANSMISSION DOESN'T PERFORM. FORD KNOWS ABOUT THIS PROBLEM, AND HAS EVEN SENT OUT A NOTICE THAT THEY'VE EXTENDED THE WARRANTY ON THE TRANSMISSION. YET THEY WON'T FIX THE PROBLEM. WHAT'S IT GOING TO TAKE TO GET THEM TO FIX THESE TRANSMISSIONS?

View Details

ENGINE

3/26/2015 - GONZALES, TX
MY GRANDDAUGHTER AND I WERE RETURNING HOME FROM OUT OF TOWN WHERE WE HAD BEEN ON TOLLWAYS THROUGHOUT THE DAY. FORTUNATELY, WE WERE ONLY A MILE FROM HOME AND OUT OF THE BIG CITY AND OFF THE TOLLWAYS, WHEN THE CAR BEGAN TO SHUDDER AND SHAKE AND COMPLETELY STALLED IN THE ROADWAY AS I WAS SLOWING TO APPROACH AN INTERSECTION. IT JUST SEEMED TO LOCK UP AND SHOOK VIOLENTLY AND LIGHTS FLASHED AND I IMMEDIATELY LOOKED AT THE DASH AND IT READ SERVICE IMMEDIATELY. I LOOKED IN MY REAR VIEW MIRROR AND FORTUNATELY NO ONE WAS BEHIND ME. I TRIED TO ACCELERATE TO GET TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND IT JERKED AND SLOWLY BEGAN TO ACCELERATE AND SLOWLY REACH HOME. AT HOME I PUT IT IN PARK AND AFTER THAT WAS UNABLE TO MOVE IT FORWARD OR BACKWARD. I HAD TO HAVE IT TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP. HAD THIS HAPPENED ON THE TOLLWAY I AM CERTAIN WE WOULD HAVE BEEN HIT FROM BEHIND. I HAVE NO DOUBT. WE HAVE BEEN DEALING WITH THIS SINCE SHORTLY AFTER WE PURCHASED THE CAR IN 2012. IT HAS BEEN IN THE SHOP AT LEAST FOUR TIMES FOR SIMILAR ISSUES BUT NEVER THIS SERIOUS. EACH TIME GETS WORSE. I AM AFRAID OF THE CAR NOW AND IT HAS BEEN IN THE SHOP NOW A MONTH AND IS BEING TAKEN TO ANOTHER SHOP OUT OF TOWN BECAUSE THE LOCAL DEALERSHIP DOESN'T HAVE ANYONE CAPABLE TO FIX IT AS PER THEIR SERVICE DEPARTMENT. MOST OF ALL THIS WAS A DANGEROUS EVENT THAT NEEDS TO BE TAKEN SERIOUSLY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/25/2015 - FORT WORTH, TX
TRANSMISSION SHUTTERS, FEELS LIKE ITS SKIPPING A GEAR, ROLLS BACKWARD DOWN HILL IN DRIVE. THE VEHICLE'S TRANSMISSION, IN THE MIDDLE OF AN INTERSECTION, STALLED AND WOULD NOT SHIFT INTO A GEAR. THIS INCIDENT ALMOST CAUSED A WRECK. THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN AT 3 DIFFERENT FORD DEALERSHIPS 7 DIFFERENT TIMES FOR TRANSMISSION ISSUES. FORD REFUSES TO ADMIT THAT THERE IS A SERIOUS ISSUE WITH THE TRANSMISSION AND IS MAKING CUSTOMERS DRIVE UNSAFE VEHICLES DURING THE WEEKS THAT THOSE VEHICLES AREN'T IN THE SHOP.

View Details

ENGINE

3/25/2015 - FORT WORTH, TX
TRANSMISSION SHUTTERS, FEELS LIKE ITS SKIPPING A GEAR, ROLLS BACKWARD DOWN HILL IN DRIVE. THE VEHICLE'S TRANSMISSION, IN THE MIDDLE OF AN INTERSECTION, STALLED AND WOULD NOT SHIFT INTO A GEAR. THIS INCIDENT ALMOST CAUSED A WRECK. THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN AT 3 DIFFERENT FORD DEALERSHIPS 7 DIFFERENT TIMES FOR TRANSMISSION ISSUES. FORD REFUSES TO ADMIT THAT THERE IS A SERIOUS ISSUE WITH THE TRANSMISSION AND IS MAKING CUSTOMERS DRIVE UNSAFE VEHICLES DURING THE WEEKS THAT THOSE VEHICLES AREN'T IN THE SHOP.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 107
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds