Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2012 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1841 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (29) Equipment (4) Parking Brake (2) Steering (345) Unknown Or Other (169)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (745) Structure (281) Vehicle Speed Control (112)
Electrical System (175) Exterior Lighting (9) Seat Belts (24) Suspension (18) Visibility (19)
Electronic Stability Control (22) Fuel Propulsion System (66) Seats (7) Tires (9) Visibility Wiper (22)
Engine (214) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Service Brakes (27) Traction Control System (4) Wheels (14)
Engine And Engine Cooling (20) Latches Locks Linkages (94) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 245
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

1/20/2017 - MORGAN HILL, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 20 TO 40 MPH AND WHEN THE GEAR SHIFTER WAS PLACED INTO THE DRIVE AND/OR REVERSE POSITIONS, THE VEHICLE SHUTTERED AND THE DISPLAY PANEL INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND DISPLAYED "HOT HOT PULL OVER". THE VEHICLE WAS PULLED OVER, RESTARTED, AND DRIVEN TO THE DEALER. IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION AND CLUTCH NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 22,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/20/2017 - GASTONIA, NC
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2012 FORD FOCUS. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNDETERMINED SPEED, THE DRIVER LOST CONTROL AND CRASHED THE VEHICLE. THERE WAS SIGNIFICANT DAMAGE TO THE EXTERIOR AND SUBFRAME. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE DRIVER SUSTAINED HEAD, NECK, AND BACK INJURIES. THE FRONT PASSENGER SUSTAINED A BRUISED NECK, AND THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE OCCUPANT SUSTAINED A FRACTURED RIGHT FEMUR. MEDICAL ATTENTION WAS RECEIVED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED AND TOWED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DETERMINED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS INVALID. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 51,000.

View Details

ENGINE

1/19/2017 - DETROIT, MI
"TAKATA RECALL" I HAVE A 2012 FORD FOCUS, THAT IS KNOCKING LOUD, I DON'T KNOW WHAT HAPPEN, THE DELEARSHIP DID TRANSMISSION WORK ON IT EARLIER 2016, ONE MORNING, WHEN I GOT INTO THE CAR, THE OIL LIGHT CAME ON AND IT KNOCKING, SO MY HUSBAND CHECK TO SEE IF, THERE IS OIL IN THERE AND IT WAS, SO I WAS GOING TO TAKE TO HAVE A OIL CHANGE, BUT HE SAID, WE NEED TO SEE WHAT'S GOING ON FIRST. I WILL TAKE TO DELARSHIP THIS WEEK TO SEE WHAT NEEDS TO BE DONE. BUT WOULD LIKE FORD TO TAKE CARE OF REPAIR. MY FOCUS WAS BOUGHT NEW AND I HAVE HAD AT LEAST 4 RECALLS ON IT SO FAR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/19/2017 - MORENO VALLEY, CA
I WAS ON MY WAY HOME VIA TYPICAL CITY STREETS AND THE CAR'S TRANSMISSION WOULD NOT CATCH GEAR AFTER COMING TO A STOP AT A STOP SIGN. IT FELT LIKE THE CAR WAS IN NEUTRAL. I WAS ABLE TO PULL INTO A PARKING LOT TO LOOK UNDER THE CAR AND SEE IF THERE WAS ANY VISUAL DAMAGE. NOTHING VISUAL BUT THERE WAS A SLIGHT BURNING SMELL COMING FROM UNDER THE HOOD. I TRIED TO DRIVE THE CAR AGAIN BUT THIS TIME IT WOULD NOT SHIFT OUT OF FIRST GEAR. A WARNING APPEARED "TRANSMISSION MALFUNCTION SERVICE NOW" I PUT THE CAR IN NEUTRAL TO GET DOWN THE STREET TO A SAFE PARKING SPOT AND BEFORE COMING TO A STOP THE "TRANSMISSION OVERHEATING" WARNING APPEARED. THIS IS THE SECOND TIME IN 2 YEARS THAT THE CAR HAS HAD THIS PROBLEM. THERE WERE SEVERAL TSB'S ISSUED BY FORD FOR THE TRANSMISSION ON THE FOCUS AND I HAD MY CAR SERVICED ACCORDINGLY SO I WAS ASSUMING THE PROBLEMS WERE FIXED.

View Details

STEERING

1/18/2017 - TAMAQUA, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 45 MPH, THE POWER STEERING MALFUNCTION LIGHT ILLUMINATED AND THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME VERY HARD TO MANEUVER. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE POWER STEERING RACK NEEDED TO BE REPLACED BUT WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,255.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/15/2017 - LEESBURG, FL
MY LAST REPORT WAS ON THE AFFECTS OF THE TCM FAILURE AND THE COMPUTER FAILURES OF THE ENGINE, WIPERS AND NOT BEING ABLE TO START THE CAR. AS I CONTINUED TO OBSERVE THE CONTINUED ISSUES OF THE FORD FOCUS, I NOW HAVE A PROBLEMS WITH THE DOORS. THE DOORS ARE NOT UNLOCKING. SOME WILL UNLOCK AND SOME WILL REMAIN LOCK. AT THIS POINT WITH THE MILEAGE AT 73400 THE PROBLEMS WITH THE FORD FOCUS IS NOT GOING AWAY. I STILL OWE MONEY ON THE VEHICLE AND I CAN'T DRIVE IT ANY MORE BECAUSE OF THE SAFETY ISSUES IT HAS. 1. TCM 2. SHUTTING DOWN WITHOUT NOTICE 3. JERKING BACK WHEN INITIATING PARK 4. WIPERS GOING ON WITHOUT NOTICE 5. ENGINE SHUTTING DOWN WHEN IN DRIVE

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/15/2017 - LEESBURG, FL
PURCHASED 2012 FORD FOCUS USED, 04-14-15. I TEST DROVE THE CAR IT JERKED A LITTLE. THE REP STATED IT WAS NORMAL. THE NEXT 4 MONTHS IT CONTINUED TO JERK, SKIP, HESITATE AND JUST NOT MOVE WHEN YOU ACCELERATED. IN 08-2015 I REC'D A LETTER FROM FORD, MY CAR NEEDED A TCM-SOFTWARE UPDATE. 09-09-15 I TOOK THE VEHICLE BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP IT TOOK AN HOUR TO RE-PROGRAM THE TCM. THE DEALERSHIP HANDED A PRINTED COPY OF THE TCM CHARACTERISTICS. I CONTINUED TO DRIVE THE CAR WITH THE SAME ISSUES HOPING IT WOULD GO AWAY. 10-19-15 WENT BACK TO THE DEALER TO HAVE THE TCM RE-PROGRAMMED AGAIN. I CALLED FORD TO COMPLAIN 10-19-15 AND A CASE FILE WAS ISSUED #CAS-8073663. I DID NOT WANT TO GO BACK TO THE SAME DEALERSHIP. 10-23-15 THE CAR WENT TO THE 2ND DEALERSHIP. DISCOVERED THE TCM HAD FAILED AND HAD TO BE REPLACED., EXPLAINING TO DRIVE THE CAR FOR A NUMBER OF MILES TO CORRECT ITSELF. THE DRIVE HAD IMPROVED, BUT THEN STARTED FAILING AGAIN. 03-16-16 I WENT BACK TO THE 2ND DEALERSHIP, THE TCM WAS REPLACED. AGAIN THE DRIVE HAD SLIGHTLY IMPROVED AND HAD AGAIN FAILED. THIS TIME WHEN THE TCM FAILED, WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY THE WIPERS CAME ON WITHOUT TURNING THEM ON,EVEN WHEN THE CAR WAS OFF. THE NEXT DAY THE CAR WOULDN'T COME ON SO I REPLACED THE BATTERY. DROVE THE CAR ABOUT 300 MILES MADE A STOP AND IT WOULD NOT COME BACK ON. THE CAR HAD TO BE TOWED AND THE LOCAL MECHANIC WAS ABLE TO GET THE CAR STARTED AGAIN. DRIVING BACK HOME ABOUT 150 MILES ON HIGHWAY ALL LIGHTS CAME ON THE DASH, BATTERY, FUEL, TRANS, ETC.. WIPERS CAME ON, POWER STEERING WAS LOST AND ENGINE SHUT OFF. ROLLED TO SIDE OF ROAD. SAT 5 MIN, THEN STARTED AS IF NOTHING HAPPENED!? WE MADE IT HOME. CAR NOT STARTING. 12-06-16 TOWED TO FORD. TCM MODULE CRASHED THE COMPUTER OPERATING SYSTEM, REPLACED TCM AND RE-PROGRAMMED SYSTEM. 01-10-17 WIPERS STILL COME ON WITH ENGINE OFF. W/RETURN TO FORD 01-17-17

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/15/2017 - LEESBURG, FL
PURCHASED 2012 FORD FOCUS USED, 04-14-15. I TEST DROVE THE CAR IT JERKED A LITTLE. THE REP STATED IT WAS NORMAL. THE NEXT 4 MONTHS IT CONTINUED TO JERK, SKIP, HESITATE AND JUST NOT MOVE WHEN YOU ACCELERATED. IN 08-2015 I REC'D A LETTER FROM FORD, MY CAR NEEDED A TCM-SOFTWARE UPDATE. 09-09-15 I TOOK THE VEHICLE BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP IT TOOK AN HOUR TO RE-PROGRAM THE TCM. THE DEALERSHIP HANDED A PRINTED COPY OF THE TCM CHARACTERISTICS. I CONTINUED TO DRIVE THE CAR WITH THE SAME ISSUES HOPING IT WOULD GO AWAY. 10-19-15 WENT BACK TO THE DEALER TO HAVE THE TCM RE-PROGRAMMED AGAIN. I CALLED FORD TO COMPLAIN 10-19-15 AND A CASE FILE WAS ISSUED #CAS-8073663. I DID NOT WANT TO GO BACK TO THE SAME DEALERSHIP. 10-23-15 THE CAR WENT TO THE 2ND DEALERSHIP. DISCOVERED THE TCM HAD FAILED AND HAD TO BE REPLACED., EXPLAINING TO DRIVE THE CAR FOR A NUMBER OF MILES TO CORRECT ITSELF. THE DRIVE HAD IMPROVED, BUT THEN STARTED FAILING AGAIN. 03-16-16 I WENT BACK TO THE 2ND DEALERSHIP, THE TCM WAS REPLACED. AGAIN THE DRIVE HAD SLIGHTLY IMPROVED AND HAD AGAIN FAILED. THIS TIME WHEN THE TCM FAILED, WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY THE WIPERS CAME ON WITHOUT TURNING THEM ON,EVEN WHEN THE CAR WAS OFF. THE NEXT DAY THE CAR WOULDN'T COME ON SO I REPLACED THE BATTERY. DROVE THE CAR ABOUT 300 MILES MADE A STOP AND IT WOULD NOT COME BACK ON. THE CAR HAD TO BE TOWED AND THE LOCAL MECHANIC WAS ABLE TO GET THE CAR STARTED AGAIN. DRIVING BACK HOME ABOUT 150 MILES ON HIGHWAY ALL LIGHTS CAME ON THE DASH, BATTERY, FUEL, TRANS, ETC.. WIPERS CAME ON, POWER STEERING WAS LOST AND ENGINE SHUT OFF. ROLLED TO SIDE OF ROAD. SAT 5 MIN, THEN STARTED AS IF NOTHING HAPPENED!? WE MADE IT HOME. CAR NOT STARTING. 12-06-16 TOWED TO FORD. TCM MODULE CRASHED THE COMPUTER OPERATING SYSTEM, REPLACED TCM AND RE-PROGRAMMED SYSTEM. 01-10-17 WIPERS STILL COME ON WITH ENGINE OFF. W/RETURN TO FORD 01-17-17

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

1/15/2017 - LEESBURG, FL
PURCHASED 2012 FORD FOCUS USED, 04-14-15. I TEST DROVE THE CAR IT JERKED A LITTLE. THE REP STATED IT WAS NORMAL. THE NEXT 4 MONTHS IT CONTINUED TO JERK, SKIP, HESITATE AND JUST NOT MOVE WHEN YOU ACCELERATED. IN 08-2015 I REC'D A LETTER FROM FORD, MY CAR NEEDED A TCM-SOFTWARE UPDATE. 09-09-15 I TOOK THE VEHICLE BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP IT TOOK AN HOUR TO RE-PROGRAM THE TCM. THE DEALERSHIP HANDED A PRINTED COPY OF THE TCM CHARACTERISTICS. I CONTINUED TO DRIVE THE CAR WITH THE SAME ISSUES HOPING IT WOULD GO AWAY. 10-19-15 WENT BACK TO THE DEALER TO HAVE THE TCM RE-PROGRAMMED AGAIN. I CALLED FORD TO COMPLAIN 10-19-15 AND A CASE FILE WAS ISSUED #CAS-8073663. I DID NOT WANT TO GO BACK TO THE SAME DEALERSHIP. 10-23-15 THE CAR WENT TO THE 2ND DEALERSHIP. DISCOVERED THE TCM HAD FAILED AND HAD TO BE REPLACED., EXPLAINING TO DRIVE THE CAR FOR A NUMBER OF MILES TO CORRECT ITSELF. THE DRIVE HAD IMPROVED, BUT THEN STARTED FAILING AGAIN. 03-16-16 I WENT BACK TO THE 2ND DEALERSHIP, THE TCM WAS REPLACED. AGAIN THE DRIVE HAD SLIGHTLY IMPROVED AND HAD AGAIN FAILED. THIS TIME WHEN THE TCM FAILED, WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY THE WIPERS CAME ON WITHOUT TURNING THEM ON,EVEN WHEN THE CAR WAS OFF. THE NEXT DAY THE CAR WOULDN'T COME ON SO I REPLACED THE BATTERY. DROVE THE CAR ABOUT 300 MILES MADE A STOP AND IT WOULD NOT COME BACK ON. THE CAR HAD TO BE TOWED AND THE LOCAL MECHANIC WAS ABLE TO GET THE CAR STARTED AGAIN. DRIVING BACK HOME ABOUT 150 MILES ON HIGHWAY ALL LIGHTS CAME ON THE DASH, BATTERY, FUEL, TRANS, ETC.. WIPERS CAME ON, POWER STEERING WAS LOST AND ENGINE SHUT OFF. ROLLED TO SIDE OF ROAD. SAT 5 MIN, THEN STARTED AS IF NOTHING HAPPENED!? WE MADE IT HOME. CAR NOT STARTING. 12-06-16 TOWED TO FORD. TCM MODULE CRASHED THE COMPUTER OPERATING SYSTEM, REPLACED TCM AND RE-PROGRAMMED SYSTEM. 01-10-17 WIPERS STILL COME ON WITH ENGINE OFF. W/RETURN TO FORD 01-17-17

View Details

SEAT BELTS

1/10/2017 - PITTSBURG, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SEAT BELT LATCHES WERE UNABLE TO LATCH OR UNLATCH IN COLD WEATHER. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT THEY WERE UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE OR REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 52,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 245
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds