Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2012 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1340 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (23) Equipment (4) Parking Brake (2) Steering (234) Unknown Or Other (97)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (652) Structure (144) Vehicle Speed Control (103)
Electrical System (146) Exterior Lighting (7) Seat Belts (19) Suspension (18) Visibility (17)
Electronic Stability Control (16) Fuel Propulsion System (49) Seats (5) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (15)
Engine (194) Fuel System Gasoline (11) Service Brakes (24) Traction Control System (4) Wheels (13)
Engine And Engine Cooling (20) Latches Locks Linkages (46) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 187
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/25/2016 - DADE CITY, FL
WHILE DRIVING AND MAKING A TURN BACK DRIVERS SIDE DOOR FLEW OPEN.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/24/2016 - WICHITA, KS
THE DRIVER SIDE DOOR DOES NOT LATCH. I NOTICED IT BEFORE DRIVING SO I HELD ONTO THE DOOR SO IT WOULDN'T FLY OPEN.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/23/2016 - OVIEDO, FL
SUNROOF EXPLODED. JUST DRIVING ALONG A CITY STREET AT APPROX. 45 MPH AND A LOUD BANG SOUNDED. ALL MY WINDOWS ARE CLOSED, AC IS ON 2, AND SUDDENLY I HEAR WIND. I CRACK THE DIVIDER BACK A BIT, AND I SEE THE HOLE AND SHATTERED GLASS. LITERALLY HAPPENED TO ME WITH NO WARNING, AT 8:00 PM TODAY (JUNE 23, 2016), SO NO FORD CUSTOMER SERVICE. DRIVING IT TO A FORD DEALERSHIP TOMORROW TO HAVE IT LOOKED AT. IS THIS A RECURRING ISSUE?

View Details

STEERING

6/23/2016 - GRAND PRAIRIE, TX
THE ELECTRICAL STEERING SYSTEM STOPPED WORKING IN THIS CAR. THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME VERY HEAVY FEELING, AND WAS VERY DIFFICULT TO STEER. THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION ON A CITY STREET WHEN THIS FIRST STARTED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/23/2016 - CAVE CREEK, AZ
DOOR LATCHES ON BOTH DRIVER AND FRONT PASSENGER SIDE DOORS HAVE BROKEN IN THE PAST 9 MONTHS. THIS IS A PERSISTENT PROBLEMS WITH OTHER FORD MODELS, HOWEVER, THEY REFUSE TO ACKNOWLEDGE THIS AS AN ISSUE WITH FORD FOCUS. THE DOOR LATCH BREAKS FOR NO REASON AND PUTS DRIVER AND PASSENGERS AT RISK OF INJURY OR DEATH. THE FILE ATTACHED IS THE ORIGINAL COMPLAINT ISSUED TO FORD IN SEPTEMBER 2015.

View Details

STEERING

6/22/2016 - ROCKY POINT, NC
POWER STEERING HAS INTERMITTENTLY GONE OUT ON CAR. ON JUNE 21, 2016 THE STEERING FAULT LIGHT CAME ON WHILE BACKING OUT OF A PARKING PLACE. THE STEERING LOCKED UP, THE FAULT LIGHT APPEARED AND STATED SERVICE WAS REQUIRED. DEALERSHIP SAYS COMPUTER RECORDED DEFAULT MESSAGE BUT FORD MOTOR COMPANY WILL NOT AUTHORIZE REPAIRS UNLESS THE STEERING LOCKS UP, LIGHT AND DEFAULT MESSAGE APPEARS WHILE IN THE DEALERSHIP'S POSSESSION. WE HAVE CONTACTED FORD MOTOR COMPANY AND THEY REFUSE TO TAKE ANY ACTION. I HAVE FILED A COMPLAINT AND RECEIVED A CASE NUMBER -CAS9882100- AS OF JUNE 22, 2016.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/22/2016 - CROSS PLAINS, WI
I HAVE HAD MY FORD FOCUS SINCE 2012. BOUGHT NEW. NOTICED ROLL BACK AT STOP SIGNS AND DEFINITELY ON HILLS. HAD IT LOOKED AT, WAS TOLD IT WAS FIXED AND AS GOOD AS IT IS GOING TO GET. STILL ROLLS BACK. ONE NIGHT PUT CAR IN REVERSE. IT DIDN'T MOVE. SHUT IT OFF THREE TIMES, IT FINALLY RESET. TALKED TO THE DEALERSHIP ABOUT THIS. SAID THEY HAVE NEVER HEARD OF THIS HAPPENING. HAVE NOTICED A LITTLE JERKING HERE AND THERE. ONE DAY, JUNE 2016, DROVE THE CAR TO DOWNTOWN MADISON, PARKED IN A RAMP. ALL WAS FINE. GOT BACK IN AND STARTED IT UP TO BELLS AND WHISTLES TELLING US THE TRANSMISSION MALFUNCTIONED AND TO HAVE IT SERVICED IMMEDIATELY. CAR WOULD NOT SHIFT PROPERLY. HAD THE TRANSMISSION CONTROL MODULE REPLACED. TWO WEEKS LATER, 350 MILES FROM HOME, AFTER PASSING A SEMI, PULLED BACK INTO THE RIGHT LANE AND 10 MINUTES DOWN THE ROAD, CAR REFUSED TO ACCELERATE. IT WOULD REV UP TO 4500 RPM'S BUT NOT MOVE. ALL THE WAY HOME. GOING UP HILL, SAME THING. GET ON A STRAIGHT AWAY AND IT MOVED FINE, BUT TO START OFF AND STOP LIGHTS AND INTERSECTIONS, IT WOULD START SLOWLY. BUT RPM'S WOULD REV EVERY TIME. DEALERSHIP JUST CALLED. THE WORK THEY DID IS "FINE", NOW RUNNING A DIAGNOSTIC ON THE POWERTRAIN. ALREADY 100 DOLLARS IN. NOT A HAPPY CAMPER AT THIS MOMENT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/22/2016 - ABERDEEN, NJ
DASHBOARD LIGHT INDICATES PROBLEM WITH PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG. COMPANY DIAGNOSTIC INDICATES THAT A FAULTY SENSOR IN SEAT BUCKLE WILL PREVENT PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG FROM DEPLOYING UPON IMPACT. CAR BLOGS INDICATE THIS HAS BEEN A SAFETY CONCERN IN FORD CARS SINCE 2003, YET FORD REFUSES TO ADDRESS THIS LIFE-THREATENING DEFECT.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

6/22/2016 - ARDMORE, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT AND REAR DRIVER SIDE DOOR LATCHES FAILED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 70,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/22/2016 - HARLINGEN, TX
I WAS LEAVING AFTER MEETING UP WITH A FRIEND AND AS I TURNED MY DRIVER DOOR OPENED OUT OF NO WHERE CAUSING MY TO STRIKE ANOTHER VEHICLE, TURNS OUT IT'S THE DOOR LATCH THAT WON'T CLOSE, SO I'M SITTING HERE STARTLED WRITING THIS AND MY CAR DOOR IS STILL NOT ABLE TO CLOSE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 187
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds