Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2012 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 2151 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (40) Equipment (4) Parking Brake (2) Steering (497) Unknown Or Other (192)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (817) Structure (294) Vehicle Speed Control (121)
Electrical System (199) Exterior Lighting (11) Seat Belts (35) Suspension (19) Visibility (20)
Electronic Stability Control (26) Fuel Propulsion System (86) Seats (8) Tires (9) Visibility Wiper (26)
Engine (232) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Service Brakes (32) Traction Control System (4) Wheels (16)
Engine And Engine Cooling (21) Latches Locks Linkages (111) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 284
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

12/7/2017 - PHOENIXVILLE, PA
MY STEERING LOCKED UP AND I WAS UNABLE TO TURN MY WHEEL WHEN DRIVING. THE ALERT "STEER ASSIST FAILURE" APPEARED ON DASH. I HAD MY CAR TOWED INTO THE FORD DEALERSHIP AND I NEEDED TO REPLACE MY POWER STEERING WHICH COSTS $2000. THEY IMPLIED THAT IT WOULD BE UNSAFE TO DRIVE ON THE ROAD AS NO POWER STEERING VERY WELL WOULD RESULT IN AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/4/2017 - ACWORTH, GA
CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. CODES INDICATED SOMETHING WRONG WITH PURGE VALVE AND SMALL EVAP LEAK. WHILE DRIVING AT 55+MPH ON A 6 LANE HIGHWAY, MY CAR STALLED AND MY BATTERY LIGHT AND OIL LIGHT ILLUMINATED. BEFORE THAT HAPPENED, CAR WOULD JUST REV AND THEN JERK ME FORWARD. I WAS ALMOST HIT BY MULTIPLE VEHICLES. THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE!! I MADE IT TO MY MECHANIC WHERE THEY INFORMED ME THAT MY PURGE VALVE GOT STUCK OPEN CAUSING THE VACUUM SYSTEM TO SUCK MY FUEL TANK IT, ALSO CAUSING IT TO COLLAPSE. MY FUEL TANK, FUEL PUMP, CHARCOAL CANISTER, AND PURGE SOLENOID ALL NEEDED REPLACING. REPAIRS COST ME $1700 OUT OF POCKET, NOT TO ALSO MENTION RENTAL CAR. THIS WAS RECALLED ON FORD FUSION...WHY NOT FOCUS?! THIS COULD HAVE CAUSED SERIOUS INJURIES OR FATALITIES!! I EXPECT REIMBURSEMENT FOR ALL EXPENSES!!!

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM: EMISSION CONTROL

12/4/2017 - ACWORTH, GA
(AM - NO DEALER INFO) TL THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. WHILE DRIVING 50 MPH, THE VEHICLE MADE A LOUD NOISE AND THEN CAME TO AN ABRUPT STOP. AFTER A FEW ATTEMPTS OF DEPRESSING THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL, THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO BE DRIVEN. THE CONTACT DROVE THE VEHICLE TO A LOCAL MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE PURGE VALE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 52,433.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/3/2017 - REDFORD, MI
LEFT SIDE HEADLIGHT HAS AN INTERMITTENT ISSUE WHERE IT WORKS AND DOESN'T WORK. CHANGED THE BULB AND THE PROBLEM STILL OCCURS. DISCOVERED THE PLUG IN THE WIRING HARNESS THAT GOES TO THE BULB LOOKS CRACKED. THE BULB TESTS OK. THERE HAS NOT BEEN ANY DAMAGE TO THIS VEHICLE RELATED TO THE HEADLIGHT ACCORDING TO THE DEALERSHIP. THERE IS A DIPPED BEAM FAULT COMING UP ON THE CAR.

View Details

STEERING

12/3/2017 - FOWLERVILLE, MI
GOT STEERING ASSIST SENSOR FAULT. STEERING WHEEL LOCKED AND WAS UNABLE TO BE USED. THIS HAPPENED WHILE CAR WAS IN DRIVE AND IN MOTION IN A PARKING LOT AT FIRST THEN ON THE ROAD. WAS ABLE TO TURN CAR OFF AND ON SEVERAL TIMES BEFORE IT WOULD UNLOCK STEERING WHEEL. IT HAPPENED THE LAST TIME AS I WAS GOING DOWN THE ROAD AND WOULDN'T UNLOCK. TOOK TO DEALERSHIP FOR REPAIR AND IT COST $2000 TO FIX A SENSOR. I LOOKED UP HOW TO FIX IT MYSELF AND FOUND SEVERAL COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE SAME ISSUE WITH NO LISTED FIX OTHER THAN TO TAKE IT TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR A STEERING GEAR REPLACEMENT. FORTUNATELY I WAS ABLE TO STOP VEHICLE PRIOR TO HITTING ANYTHING.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/30/2017 - SPARTANBURG, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE TRANSMISSION BECAME INOPERABLE WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STOPPED IN TRAFFIC. THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO SHIFT THE VEHICLE INTO GEAR, AND THE FORWARD AND REVERSE GEARS FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO D & D FORD (13655 E WADE HAMPTON BLVD, GREER, SC 29651, (855) 505-1172) TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED OF DTC CODE: P0785 (TIMING SOLENOID MALFUNCTION) AND THAT THE CLUTCH ACTUATORS AND SLAVE CYLINDER FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. ADDITIONALLY, THE TRANSMISSION CLUTCH MOTOR #2 WAS SWITCHED TO CLUTCH MOTOR #1 AND THE TCM MODULE WAS REPLACED PRIOR TO THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 133,230.

View Details

STEERING

11/28/2017 - HELLERTOWN, PA
STARTED GETTING RANDOM STEERING ASSIST FAULTS WHEN STARTING CAR. WOULD SHUT CAR OFF AND RESTART CAR AND EVERYTHING WOULD BE FINE. STARTED CAR AND TO WORK ON MONDAY MORNING WITHOUT ANY ISSUES. WENT TO START CAR AT LUNCH TIME AND GOT THE STEERING ASSIST FAULT AGAIN. TURNED OFF CAR AND RESTARTED - PROBLEM STILL THERE. NO POWER STEERING AT ALL NOW. HAD TO CAREFULLY DRIVE CAR TO DEALER WITHOUT ANY POWER STEERING. CAR IS PRESENTLY AT FORD DEALERS AWAITING SERVICE. CAR HAS ABOUT 84,000 MILES.

View Details

STEERING

11/27/2017 - SAXE, VA
NOV 27, 2017. GOT IN MY CAR AFTER WORK AND STEERING ASSIST LIGHT CAME ON. PUT HANDS ON STEERING WHEEL AND I HAD NO POWER STEERING. CALLED A MECHANIC HE SAID IT WOULD BE $1800 TO FIX IT. SAME THING HAS HAPPENED TO FIVE OTHER PEOPLE HE KNOWS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/27/2017 - SAXE, VA
NOV 27, 2017. GOT IN MY CAR AFTER WORK AND STEERING ASSIST LIGHT CAME ON. PUT HANDS ON STEERING WHEEL AND I HAD NO POWER STEERING. CALLED A MECHANIC HE SAID IT WOULD BE $1800 TO FIX IT. SAME THING HAS HAPPENED TO FIVE OTHER PEOPLE HE KNOWS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/27/2017 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
TWICE IN THE LAST MONTH THIS CAR HAS STOPPED RUNNING, ALL THE DASH LIGHTS COME ON AND IT WILL NOT ACCELERATE. THE MOST RECENT TIME, MY DAUGHTER WAS DRIVING BACK TO SCHOOL IN LUBBOCK, TX GOING 80 MPH WHEN IT SHUTDOWN. SHE TRIED TO PULL OVER BUT ALMOST WRECKED DUE TO THE FACT SHE HAD NO POWER BRAKES. I HAVE SEEN MANY REPORTS ON THE INTERNET AND YOUTUBE VIDEOS DOCUMENTING THE SAME THING SHE HAD HAPPEN TO HER. WHEN SHE TOOK IT INTO THE FORD DEALERSHIP THEY OF COURSE COULD NOT FIND AN ISSUE AND THEY WOULD NOT GIVE HER A LOANER OR RENTAL CAR DURING THE TIME IT TOOK THEM TO LOOK AT IT. THIS IS OBVIOUSLY A SAFETY ISSUE WITH FORD NOT HAVING A FIX. AT THIS POINT, IF I WASN'T UPSIDE DOWN ON THE CAR, I WOULD TRADE IT IN ON SOMETHING DIFFERENT AND IT WOULDN'T BE A FORD. I DIGRESS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 284
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds