Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2012 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 2404 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (44) Equipment (4) Parking Brake (2) Steering (609) Unknown Or Other (215)
Communications (2) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (871) Structure (303) Vehicle Speed Control (124)
Electrical System (227) Exterior Lighting (13) Seat Belts (37) Suspension (22) Visibility (22)
Electronic Stability Control (34) Fuel Propulsion System (117) Seats (8) Tires (9) Visibility Wiper (31)
Engine (254) Fuel System Gasoline (13) Service Brakes (36) Traction Control System (4) Wheels (16)
Engine And Engine Cooling (21) Latches Locks Linkages (117) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 316
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

11/14/2018 - WESTMINSTER, CO
WHEN I START THE CAR A MESSAGE COMES ON THE DASH THAT SAYS STEERING ASSIST MALFUNCTION AND THE CAR WILL NOT STEER. I HAVE TO TURN IT OFF AND WAIT A MINUTE AND TRY TO START THE CAR AGAIN.

View Details

ENGINE

11/12/2018 - TOLEDO, OH
TWICE, WHEN EXITING CAR IN THE GARAGE, THE DOORS LOCKED AND THE ENGINE STARTED ON IT'S OWN. HAD TO USE THE KEY TO UNLOCK THE CAR, INSERT KEY AND THE ENGINE STOPPED. WITHOUT HEARING AIDS I WOULD HAVE JUST GONE IN THE HOUSE. DISASTER!

View Details

STEERING

11/12/2018 - CROSBY, TX
VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION WITH MY SON DRIVING. TURNING LEFT AT A PROTECTED GREEN ARROW, THE POWER STEERING STOPPED WORKING AND THE WHEEL EFFORT SKYROCKETED. CAR WAS JERKED RIGHT, MY SON SLAMMED ON THE BRAKES AND HE WAS ABLE TO PULL OVER. STOPPED, LOOKED UNDER THE HOOD. NOTHING SEEN. RESTARTED THE CAR AND A "POWER STEERING ASSIST MODEL FAULT" WAS ILLUMINATED. TURNED THE CAR OFF. TURNED CAR BACK ON AND THE FAULT WAS GONE. DROVE CAR 1 MILE HOME AT LOW SPEED WITH HAZARDS. ERROR COMES BACK UNPREDICTABLY AND DANGEROUSLY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/12/2018 - CAMPBELLSBURG, IN
WHILE DRIVING THE TRANSMISSION WILL SLIP OUT OF GEAR AND THE ENGINE WILL RACE AND CAR WILL STOP.

View Details

STEERING

11/11/2018 - THORNTON, CO
STEERING ASSIST FAILURE WHEN WIFE WAS DRIVING HOME ALMOST LOST CONTROL OF THE CAR LEAVING HER WORK SHE HAD A HORRIBLE TIME CONTROLLING THE VERTICAL TO MAKE IT HOME WOULD NOT TURN EASY WHAT SO EVER

View Details

STEERING

11/11/2018 - WORCESTER, MA
STEERING ASSIST FAULT SERVICE REQUIRED WARNING SIGNAL SHOWING ON DASH BOARD. STEER IS VERY HEAVY, CANNOT TURN. CANNOT MAKE RIGHT OR LEFT TURN. IF YOU ARE STRONG ENOUGH, AND WANT TO TURN, YOU NEED ALWAYS OCCUPIED REVERSE ROAD. THAT'S VERY DANGEROUS. I'D LIKE TO SAY, IT LOST TURN FUNCTION, OUT OF CONTROL. DANGEROUS FOR MYSELF, AND OTHER VEHICLE. IF YOU GOOGLE THIS PROBLEM. A LOT OF FOCUS 2012 HAVE SAME ISSUES. BELOW LINK FOR YOUR REFERENCE. ALL OF THIS CAN SHOW IT'S DESIGN DEFECT. THIS PROBLEM CAN HAPPEN AT ANY TIME. HTTPS://WWW.NYTIMES.COM/2015/12/25/AUTOMOBILES/FORD-FOCUS-STEERING-PROBLEM-PROMPTS-MANY-COMPLAINTS-BUT-NO-INQUIRY.HTML MY CAR HAVE HAPPENED SEVERAL TIME, BUT NORMALLY WHEN I SHUT DOWN, RESTART, IT'S GONE. THIS TIME HAPPENED ON LAST FRIDAY NIGHT, MILE 48209, WITH HEAVY RAIN, FROZEN DAY. I CANNOT DRIVE IT TO HOME. IT'S VERY SAD AND FRUSTRATED. AND I BROUGHT IT TO DEALER, THEY ADVISE" FS27 RACK AND PINION-REPLACE" . COST 2200 USD. IT'S NOT FAIR TO ASK CUSTOMER PAY FOR THEIR DESIGN DEFECT. HIGHLY APPRECIATE IF YOUR EXCELLENCY CAN LOOK INTO THIS CASE, HELP ALL CUSTOMER SOLVE THIS POTENTIAL RISK.

View Details

SUSPENSION

11/9/2018 - SMYRNA, GA
I STARTED ENGINE TODAY AND GOT NOTIFICATION THAT "STEERING ASSIST" NEEDS ATTENTION. I JUST RECENTLY TOOK MY CAR TO DEALER FOR RECALLS ON DOOR LATCHES, WINDSHIELD WIPER MOTOR, AND TRANSMISSION. THEY KEPT IT 2 WEEKS AND I HAD TO PAY $393.00 FOR REPAIR OF BROKEN MOTOR MOUNT AND WIRING DIAGNOSTIC BECAUSE LINKAGE TO COMPUTER FAILED DUE TO SHORT. I HAVE ATTACHED THE DEALER INVOICE FOR THESE SERVICES. ON SEEING PROBLEM WITH POWER STEERING ASSIST I LOOKED ON INTERNET AND SEE THAT FORD HAS ISSUED RECALLS FOR MOTOR MOUNTS,STEERING ASSIST PROBLEMS, AND FAULTY WIRING ISSUES ON OTHER FORD MODELS BUT NOT FOR THE FOCUS. I HAVE NOT RECEIVED RECALL INFO FOR THE MOTOR MOUNT, STEERING ASSIST PROBLEM, OR WIRING ISSUES FOR MY FOCUS. SHOULD THEY NOT BE REQUIRED TO DO SO IF THEY HAVE ISSUED RECALLS FOR OTHER FORD PRODUCTS WITH THE SAME ISSUES?

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/9/2018 - SMYRNA, GA
I STARTED ENGINE TODAY AND GOT NOTIFICATION THAT "STEERING ASSIST" NEEDS ATTENTION. I JUST RECENTLY TOOK MY CAR TO DEALER FOR RECALLS ON DOOR LATCHES, WINDSHIELD WIPER MOTOR, AND TRANSMISSION. THEY KEPT IT 2 WEEKS AND I HAD TO PAY $393.00 FOR REPAIR OF BROKEN MOTOR MOUNT AND WIRING DIAGNOSTIC BECAUSE LINKAGE TO COMPUTER FAILED DUE TO SHORT. I HAVE ATTACHED THE DEALER INVOICE FOR THESE SERVICES. ON SEEING PROBLEM WITH POWER STEERING ASSIST I LOOKED ON INTERNET AND SEE THAT FORD HAS ISSUED RECALLS FOR MOTOR MOUNTS,STEERING ASSIST PROBLEMS, AND FAULTY WIRING ISSUES ON OTHER FORD MODELS BUT NOT FOR THE FOCUS. I HAVE NOT RECEIVED RECALL INFO FOR THE MOTOR MOUNT, STEERING ASSIST PROBLEM, OR WIRING ISSUES FOR MY FOCUS. SHOULD THEY NOT BE REQUIRED TO DO SO IF THEY HAVE ISSUED RECALLS FOR OTHER FORD PRODUCTS WITH THE SAME ISSUES?

View Details

STEERING

11/9/2018 - SMYRNA, GA
I STARTED ENGINE TODAY AND GOT NOTIFICATION THAT "STEERING ASSIST" NEEDS ATTENTION. I JUST RECENTLY TOOK MY CAR TO DEALER FOR RECALLS ON DOOR LATCHES, WINDSHIELD WIPER MOTOR, AND TRANSMISSION. THEY KEPT IT 2 WEEKS AND I HAD TO PAY $393.00 FOR REPAIR OF BROKEN MOTOR MOUNT AND WIRING DIAGNOSTIC BECAUSE LINKAGE TO COMPUTER FAILED DUE TO SHORT. I HAVE ATTACHED THE DEALER INVOICE FOR THESE SERVICES. ON SEEING PROBLEM WITH POWER STEERING ASSIST I LOOKED ON INTERNET AND SEE THAT FORD HAS ISSUED RECALLS FOR MOTOR MOUNTS,STEERING ASSIST PROBLEMS, AND FAULTY WIRING ISSUES ON OTHER FORD MODELS BUT NOT FOR THE FOCUS. I HAVE NOT RECEIVED RECALL INFO FOR THE MOTOR MOUNT, STEERING ASSIST PROBLEM, OR WIRING ISSUES FOR MY FOCUS. SHOULD THEY NOT BE REQUIRED TO DO SO IF THEY HAVE ISSUED RECALLS FOR OTHER FORD PRODUCTS WITH THE SAME ISSUES?

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/8/2018 - TEMPE, AZ
I WAS DRIVING HOME AND THE DOOR UNLATCHED ON IT'S OWN AND BECAME CRACKED OPEN IN THE MIDDLE OF RUSH HOUR. I HAD TO STOP AND HURRY UP AND GET OUT TO OPEN AND CLOSE THE DOOR AGAIN. MY DAUGHTER WAS SITTING IN HER CAR SEAT ON THAT SIDE. PLEASE FIX THIS PROBLEM. THIS PROBLEM HAPPENED TO ME ABOUT 2 TIMES YESTERDAY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 316
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds