Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2012 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 2054 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (38) Equipment (4) Parking Brake (2) Steering (440) Unknown Or Other (183)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (798) Structure (291) Vehicle Speed Control (118)
Electrical System (191) Exterior Lighting (10) Seat Belts (28) Suspension (19) Visibility (20)
Electronic Stability Control (26) Fuel Propulsion System (82) Seats (8) Tires (9) Visibility Wiper (25)
Engine (229) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Service Brakes (30) Traction Control System (4) Wheels (16)
Engine And Engine Cooling (20) Latches Locks Linkages (108) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 271
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

8/18/2017 - HOQUIAM, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. WHILE DRIVING 25 MPH, THE CONTACT REAR ENDED ANOTHER VEHICLE DUE TO A WATER BOTTLE THAT BECAME LODGED BETWEEN THE BRAKE PEDAL AND THE FLOORBOARD. NONE OF THE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED IN THE VEHICLE. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED AN INJURY TO THE LEFT ARM DUE TO THE SEAT BELT SEIZING UPON IMPACT ON THE CONTACT'S ARM. MEDICAL ATTENTION WAS NOT REQUIRED. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT CONTACTED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 47,000.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

8/17/2017 - GODFREY, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V643000 (LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES) EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR REPAIR. THE CONTACT RECEIVED THE RECALL NOTIFICATION IN JUNE OF 2017. THE DEALER (ROBERTS MOTORS, 4350 N ALBY ST, ALTON, IL, 62002) WAS CONTACTED AT 855-999-5497 AND STATED THAT THE EARLIEST SCHEDULE FOR AN APPOINTMENT WAS APRIL 2,, 2018. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WAS UNREASONABLE, BUT TOOK THE APPOINTMENT ANYWAY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED OR MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE PER THE RECALL. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE SAME DEALER ON A FEW OCCASIONS AND WAS INFORMED THAT THERE WAS AN EXHAUST ISSUE. WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS DIAGNOSED A SECOND TIME, IT PASSED THE EMISSIONS TEST. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

ENGINE

8/17/2017 - GODFREY, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V643000 (LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES) EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR REPAIR. THE CONTACT RECEIVED THE RECALL NOTIFICATION IN JUNE OF 2017. THE DEALER (ROBERTS MOTORS, 4350 N ALBY ST, ALTON, IL, 62002) WAS CONTACTED AT 855-999-5497 AND STATED THAT THE EARLIEST SCHEDULE FOR AN APPOINTMENT WAS APRIL 2,, 2018. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WAS UNREASONABLE, BUT TOOK THE APPOINTMENT ANYWAY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED OR MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE PER THE RECALL. IN ADDITION, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE SAME DEALER ON A FEW OCCASIONS AND WAS INFORMED THAT THERE WAS AN EXHAUST ISSUE. WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS DIAGNOSED A SECOND TIME, IT PASSED THE EMISSIONS TEST. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

STEERING

8/17/2017 - GREENSBORO, NC
WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE FREEWAY AT 60 MPH THE INSPECTION LIGHT CAME ON AND A MESSAGE STATING THE POWER ASSIST HAS FAULTED AND REQUIRES MAINTENANCE. WHEN I ATTEMPTED TO PULL OFF AT THE NEXT OFF RAMP THE CAR WAS EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER AND I ALMOST WENT OF THE SIDE OF THE RAMP. I HAD TO STRUGGLE TO GET THE CAR HOME.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/17/2017 - GREENSBORO, NC
WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE FREEWAY AT 60 MPH THE INSPECTION LIGHT CAME ON AND A MESSAGE STATING THE POWER ASSIST HAS FAULTED AND REQUIRES MAINTENANCE. WHEN I ATTEMPTED TO PULL OFF AT THE NEXT OFF RAMP THE CAR WAS EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER AND I ALMOST WENT OF THE SIDE OF THE RAMP. I HAD TO STRUGGLE TO GET THE CAR HOME.

View Details

STEERING

8/15/2017 - VISALIA, CA
POWER STEERING FAILURE, UPON STARTING CAR DASH LIGHTS WARNS OF POWER STEERING FAILURE. AT FIRST WE COULD TURN CAR OFF AND RESTART CAR AND THEN IT WOULD FUNCTION. THIS WAS LAST YEAR WHEN FALL AND WINTER CAME WE HAD NO MORE PROBLEMS, AS SUMMER CAME THIS YEAR WITH HIGH HEAT IT WOULD NOT FUNCTION AT ALL NOW.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/14/2017 - CHAMBERSBURG, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE JERKED VIOLENTLY WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED WHILE DRIVING. THE FAILURE RECURRED ONCE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY TAKEN TO KEYSTONE FORD LOCATED IN CHAMBERSBURG, PA WHERE THE TRANSMISSION WAS UPDATED AND THE CONTROL SWITCH OF THE TRANSMISSION WAS REPLACED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 79,798.

View Details

STEERING

8/14/2017 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. WHILE DRIVING 10 MPH, THE STEERING MALFUNCTION WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE POWER STEERING FAILED AND THE VEHICLE BECAME DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO BE DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AN UNKNOWN LOCAL DEALER SCHEDULED A DIAGNOSTIC TEST IN THE NEXT 15 DAYS. THE CONTACT WAS CONCERNED THAT, DUE TO HER SMALL STATURE, IT WOULD BE UNSAFE TO OPERATE THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE WAS INTERMITTENT. THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO CONTACT FORD MOTOR COMPANY, BUT WAS UNABLE TO DO SO. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 99,450.

View Details

ENGINE

8/9/2017 - CLEVELAND, TN
FORD FOCUS TRANSMISSION MODULE REGULATOR RECALL. I HAVE HAD TO TAKE MY VEHICLE TO THE DEALER 5 TIMES FOR ISSUES THAT I FEEL ARE RELATED TO THIS MATTER. IN APRIL, I WAS DRIVING WHEN I LOST TOTAL POWER OF MY CAR AND THEN IT LURCHED FORWARD AS THE RPM'S RAN OVER THE TOP. I DROVE IT APPROXIMATELY 5 MILES TO MY HOME WHERE I HAD IT PICKED UP AND TOWED TO LARRY HILL FORD, CLEVELAND, TN. I HAD THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON AGAIN LAST WEEK AND DROVE THERE AND THEY TOLD ME IT WAS FINE TO DRIVE WHILE THEY ORDERED A PART. TODAY, I STALLED OUT COMPLETELY WHILE ACCELERATING ON 25TH STREET (ON MY LUNCH HOUR). I HAD TO CALL A TOW FOR THE 2ND TIME. I BELIEVE MY SAFETY TO BE IN QUESTION AS I CONTINUE TO DRIVE THIS CAR AND FORD DOES NOT FIX THE ISSUE NOR HAVE THEY OFFERED ME ANY TYPE OF BUYOUT OR TRADE OR COMPENSATION FOR THE CONSTANT PROBLEMS NOT EVEN RELATED TO MY SAFETY WHILE DRIVING.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/8/2017 - OFALLON, MO
I RECEIVED A NOTICE OF RECALL FROM FORD IN OCTOBER 2016 (RE: DOOR LATCH). I ATTEMPTED TO GET MY SCHEDULED FOR REPAIRS AND WAS TOLD THAT THEY DID NOT HAVE THE PARTS, BUT WHEN THEY HAVE PARTS THEY WOULD CONTACT ME. I TOOK MY VEHICLE IN FOR SCHEDULED MAINTENANCE (AND SOME OTHER ISSUES) FEB/MARCH. 2017 AND ASKED THAT THEY REPAIR MY VEHICLE FOR THIS SAME RECALL. AGAIN, TOLD THEY DID NOT HAVE PARTS, BUT WOULD LET US KNOW WHEN THEY DID. I MADE AN APPOINTMENT WITH THE DEALERSHIP (AGAIN) FOR AUGUST 2017 TO HAVE VEHICLE LOOKED AT FOR WARRANTY WORK AND HAVE THE RECALL FIXED. WHEN I PICKED UP THE VEHICLE I WAS TOLD THEY STILL DID NOT HAVE PARTS, BUT SHOULD HAVE THEM NEXT WEEK (CURRENT WEEK) AND WILL CALL WHEN THEY COME IN AND I CAN GET IT FIXED. I HAVE RECEIVED AT LEAST 2 LETTERS FROM FORD STATING I NEED TO GET THIS RECALL FIXED; BUT, THE DEALERSHIP (SAME ONE EACH TIME) DOES NOT CALL WHEN PART COMES IN AND HAS FAILED TO REPAIR MY VEHICLE AFTER MULTIPLE ATTEMPTS. DEALERSHIP: MARSHALL FORD IN OFALLON, MO 63366.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 271
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds