Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2012 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 665 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Equipment (2) Parking Brake (2) Steering (97) Unknown Or Other (42)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (377) Structure (29) Vehicle Speed Control (68)
Electrical System (77) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (9) Suspension (12) Visibility (11)
Electronic Stability Control (10) Fuel Propulsion System (34) Seats (4) Tires (7) Visibility Wiper (10)
Engine (120) Fuel System Gasoline (9) Service Brakes (20) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (9)
Engine And Engine Cooling (16) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 100
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

1/26/2015 - ANTHONY, TX
AT FIRST THE POWER STEERING WOULD GO OUT IN REVERSE WHEN I WAS TRYING TO BACK OUT OF A DRIVEWAY. IT THEN STARTED TO ACT UP WHEN I WOULD START THE CAR. I WOULD HAVE TO TURN OFF THE ENGINE AND RESTART IT. NOW IT DOESN'T WORK AT ALL. I HAVE FOUND THIS TO BE UNSAFE TO DRIVE WHEN GOING AROUND CURVES AND CORNERS. ALSO VERY HARD TO MANEUVER IN PARKING LOTS AROUND PEOPLE AND OTHER CARS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/25/2015 - DES MOINES, IA
WAS DRIVING DOWN THE FREEWAY, WHEN THE CAR LOST ALL POWER. THE TRANSMISSION STOPPED WORKING. WARNED THE HILL START ASSIST WAS NOT AVAILABLE, AND THEN THE TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT CAME ON. THE CAR WOULDN'T MOVE. THE CAR HAS REPEATED DONE THIS DURING DRIVING, AFTER RESTARTING THE CAR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/22/2015 - PHE VILLAGES, FL
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT UNKNOWN NOISES WERE EMITTING FROM THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE AND THE VEHICLE SLIGHTLY SHOOK WHILE DRIVING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 44,000. PAM

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

1/22/2015 - FONTANA, CA
WAS DRIVING WITH MY MOM WHEN ALL OF A SUDDEN HER POWER STEERING GAVE OUT AND IT WAS INCREDIBLELY HARD FOR HER TO STEER. I TOOK OVER AND DROVE HOME NOW I DROVE VECHICLES WITH OUT POWER STEERING BEFORE BUT THIS WAS BY FAR THE TOUGHEST STEERING VECHICLE I DROVE. IT WAS COMPLETELY DANGEROUS AND IRRESPONSIBLE OF FORD TO NOT ADDRESS THE ISSUE AS OF YET. THANKFULLY I WAS WITH MY MOM THAT DAY AND NOTHING WORSE HAPPENED BUT IT COULD HAVE ENDED ALOT WORSE.

View Details

STEERING

1/22/2015 - FONTANA, CA
WAS DRIVING WITH MY MOM WHEN ALL OF A SUDDEN HER POWER STEERING GAVE OUT AND IT WAS INCREDIBLELY HARD FOR HER TO STEER. I TOOK OVER AND DROVE HOME NOW I DROVE VECHICLES WITH OUT POWER STEERING BEFORE BUT THIS WAS BY FAR THE TOUGHEST STEERING VECHICLE I DROVE. IT WAS COMPLETELY DANGEROUS AND IRRESPONSIBLE OF FORD TO NOT ADDRESS THE ISSUE AS OF YET. THANKFULLY I WAS WITH MY MOM THAT DAY AND NOTHING WORSE HAPPENED BUT IT COULD HAVE ENDED ALOT WORSE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/22/2015 - FONTANA, CA
WAS DRIVING WITH MY MOM WHEN ALL OF A SUDDEN HER POWER STEERING GAVE OUT AND IT WAS INCREDIBLELY HARD FOR HER TO STEER. I TOOK OVER AND DROVE HOME NOW I DROVE VECHICLES WITH OUT POWER STEERING BEFORE BUT THIS WAS BY FAR THE TOUGHEST STEERING VECHICLE I DROVE. IT WAS COMPLETELY DANGEROUS AND IRRESPONSIBLE OF FORD TO NOT ADDRESS THE ISSUE AS OF YET. THANKFULLY I WAS WITH MY MOM THAT DAY AND NOTHING WORSE HAPPENED BUT IT COULD HAVE ENDED ALOT WORSE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/20/2015 - MAHTOMEDI, MN
MY CAR SYNC HAS NOT BEEN WORKING PROPERLY AND MY RADIO WOULD JUST SHUT OFF WHILE DRIVING. I WOULD HAVE TO STOP TURN OFF MY CAR AND TAKE THE KIT WAS DEFIITELY SOMETHING ELECTRICAL BECAUSE I COULD MANIPULATE THE FREQUENCY SOUND BY TURNING THE HEAT ON AND OFF OR THE WIPERS.EY OUT THEN OPEN AND SHUT THE DOOR START IT BACK UP AND THE RADIO WOULD TURN ON. RECENTLY SOMETHING HAPPENED WHERE A LOUD CRACKLE CAME THROUGH THE SPEAKER AND THE RADIO WENT OUT BUT THEN A STATIC CAME ON THAT I COULD NOT SHUT OFF. I COULD NOT TURN OFF THE SOUND EVEN AFTER I SHUT OFF THE CAR THE STATIC KEPT GOING LONG AFTER I SHUT THE DOOR AND WALKED AWAY. I WOKE UP TO A DEAD BATTERY. FORD MADE ME PAY FOR A NEW BATTERY BECAUSE THEY SAID IT WAS A WEAR ITEM EVEN THOUGH WHATEVER WAS HAPPENING TO THE CAR WAS WHAT WORE THE BATTERY DOWN.

View Details

ENGINE

1/20/2015 - MAHTOMEDI, MN
I WAS DRIVING IN A RESIDENTIAL NEIGHBORHOOD AND APPROACHING A FOUR WAY STOP SO NOT GOING FAST. MY CAR STOPPED ACCELERATING AND THEN JERKED FORWARD CAUSING ME TO HAVE TO TURN OFF THE ROAD TO AVOID GOING THROUGH THE STOP SIGN. I INSTEAD HIT THE STOP SIGN. THE CAR HAS TRANSMISSION ISSUES THAT HAVE NOT YET BEEN RESOLVED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/19/2015 - ROCESTER HILLS, MI
SHUDDERING WHILE ACCELERATING. GRINDING NOISE WHILE THE AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION IS SHIFTING GEARS. VEHICLE HAS BEEN INTO DEALER MULTIPLE TIMES FOR SHUDDERING AND SHIFTING ISSUES. THE LAST TIME, AT 49K MILES, IT WAS OVER AN 8 WEEK WAIT TO GET THE CAR INTO THE DEALER - THE TRANSMISSION GUYS WERE BACKED UP MONTHS AT ALL SURROUNDING DEALERS. FORD'S REPAIR HAS BEEN TO REPROGRAM THE TRANSMISSION. WE PURCHASED THE CAR NEW AND HAVE BEEN THE ONLY OWNERS. THE CAR DID NOT SHUDDER AND GRIND WHEN FIRST PURCHASED. AND IT PERFORMS BETTER IMMEDIATELY AFTER THE REPROGRAMMING. BUT AFTER A FEW THOUSAND MILES OF TRAVEL, SHUDDERING AND GRINDING RETURN. ONCE IT STARTS SHUDDERING, I CAN DUPLICATE THIS BEHAVIOR WITHIN 2 MILES OF A FORD DEALERSHIP. THERE IS A ROUNDABOUT AT LIVERNOIS AND HAMLIN ROADS THAT HAS A YIELD FOR INCOMING TRAFFIC. IF THE ROUNDABOUT IS CLEAR, PROCEED INTO THE ROUNDABOUT BETWEEN 5 AND 10 MPH AND ACCELERATE SLOWLY WHILE NAVIGATING THE ROUNDABOUT - AND YOU GET SHUDDERING. PERSONNEL IN THE DEALERSHIPS STATE THAT "DRIVERS JUST DON'T KNOW HOW TO DRIVE THE CAR". I AM A 50+ YEAR OLD DRIVER WITH EXPERIENCE IN BOTH MANUAL AND AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSIONS. NO TICKETS NO ACCIDENTS. THIS VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED WITH THE INTENT OF PASSING TO MY CHILDREN WHEN THEY START DRIVING. THE INABILITY TO USE SLOW ACCELERATION WITHOUT SHUDDERING MAKES IT TOO DANGEROUS FOR INEXPERIENCED DRIVERS. ESPECIALLY IN MICHIGAN WHERE WINTER CONDITIONS OFTEN REQUIRE SLOW ACCELERATION TO MAINTAIN CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. PLEASE ACT UPON CONSUMERS BEHALF AND FORCE FORD TO PROVIDE A PERMANENT RESOLUTION. EITHER A FIX THAT PERMANENTLY STOPS THE SHUDDERING OR REPLACEMENT OF THE DEFECTIVE POWERTRAIN COMPONENTS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/18/2015 - TORRANCE, CA
IT STARTS SHUTTERING AT TAKE OFF .ALSO WHEN BRAKING AND TRYING TO COME TO A STOP THE RPMS REV UP WORDS AND THE CAR PULLS FORWARD WHEN YOU ARE TRYING TO STOP AT LOW SPEEDS WHEN TRYING TO TO MAKE A COMPLETE STOP. ALSO ON ANY TYPE OF INCLINE THE CAR WILL ROLL BACKWARDS WHEN IT IS IN DRIVE MODE IT IS ROLLING FORWARD AS WELL WHEN TRYING TO BACK UP INTO A DRIVEWAY.WE JUST PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE A FEW WEEKS AGO AROUND CHRISTMAS 2014 AND IT IS IN SERVICE AT FORD ON JANUARY,12TH AND 13TH 2015.THE INDICATIONS INFORMATION IN BOX IN NUMBER 2 IS INFORMATION FROM THE DEALER PROVIDED ME WITH THAT WHEN IT FIRST WENT INTO SERVICE ALONG WITH OTHER PROBLEMS I WAS TOLD BY FORD AND THE PLACE I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE THAT THERE IS NO FIX AND THE RECALL HAS BEEN DONE ON IT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 100
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds