Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2012 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 2254 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (43) Equipment (4) Parking Brake (2) Steering (542) Unknown Or Other (198)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (845) Structure (295) Vehicle Speed Control (121)
Electrical System (213) Exterior Lighting (12) Seat Belts (36) Suspension (19) Visibility (20)
Electronic Stability Control (28) Fuel Propulsion System (103) Seats (8) Tires (9) Visibility Wiper (28)
Engine (240) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Service Brakes (32) Traction Control System (4) Wheels (16)
Engine And Engine Cooling (21) Latches Locks Linkages (113) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 297
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

5/14/2018 - INDIANAPLOIS, IN
TL THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VACUUM LINE MALFUNCTIONED WHEN THE VEHICLE REACHED HALF A TANK OF FUEL. THE FAILURE RESULTED IN THE VEHICLE BEING UNABLE TO START. IN ADDITION, THE CHECK ENGINE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AS THE VEHICLE FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000. THE VIN WAS NOT PROVIDED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/14/2018 - INDIANAPLOIS, IN
TL THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VACUUM LINE MALFUNCTIONED WHEN THE VEHICLE REACHED HALF A TANK OF FUEL. THE FAILURE RESULTED IN THE VEHICLE BEING UNABLE TO START. IN ADDITION, THE CHECK ENGINE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AS THE VEHICLE FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000. THE VIN WAS NOT PROVIDED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/11/2018 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
"PURGE VALVE"-MY VEHICLE WAS TAKEN INTO RED MCCOMBS FORD DUE TO A P0420 CODE WHICH IS A PROBLEM WITH THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER. BEFORE THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, I HAD NOT HAD ANY PERFORMANCE ISSUES OR NOTICED ANY PROBLEMS WHILE DRIVING OR IDLING ON ANY TYPE OF ROAD. THE CAR HAS 79,479 MILES AND THE CONVERTER WOULD BE COVERED UNDER THE FACTORY WARRANTY. I WAS TOLD THAT THE CONVERTER WENT OUT BECAUSE THE PURGE VALVE GOT STUCK OPEN WHICH CAUSED SEVERE DAMAGE TO THE FUEL TANK AND FUEL PUMP AND THAT THEY WOULD NOT REPLACE THE CONVERTER UNTIL I PAID $1,900 TO GET THE OTHER PROBLEMS FIXED. I DID NOT HAVE THE MONEY TO GET THE OTHER PROBLEMS FIXED BEFORE THE FACTORY WARRANTY EXPIRED, THEREFORE I WILL NEED TO PAY AN ADDITIONAL $1,700 TO HAVE THE CONVERTER REPLACED ONCE THE WARRANTY EXPIRES. I WAS TOLD THAT THE PROBLEMS WITH MY CAR COULD CAUSE IT TO LOSE POWER AND LEAVE ME STRANDED ON THE ROAD. I AM CONCERNED THAT, OTHER THAN THE ENGINE LIGHT TURNING ON BECAUSE OF THE CONVERTER, I WOULD NOT HAVE KNOWN ANYTHING WAS WRONG WITH THE CAR UNTIL IT COULD HAVE DIED ON ME IN THE MIDDLE OF THE FREEWAY. I HAVE HAD SO MANY PROBLEMS WITH THIS VEHICLE AND BY THE LOOKS OF THE COMPLAINTS ON NHTSA, THERE WILL BE MANY MORE SERIOUS PROBLEMS TO LOOK FORWARD TO. I DO NOT FEEL SAFE IN THIS VEHICLE AND FORD HAS DONE NOTHING TO FIX THESE PROBLEMS. I AM HOPING TO SELL IT BACK TO THEM THIS WEEKEND. I WILL NEVER BY FORD AGAIN.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

5/11/2018 - SALEM, NH
I WAS DRIVING AT NIGHT WHILE IT WAS RAINING I WANTED TO USE THE WIPERS TO CLEAR THE RAIN USING THE INTERMITTENT BUTTON BUT THEY WOULD NOT SHUT OFF AND THEN THE WIPER JUST STOPPED, I CAN PUT THE PASSENGER WIPER DOWN MANUAL AND THEN THE WIPER WILL CLOSE. THE WIPERS WILL NOT OPERATE NOW

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/9/2018 - PUYALLUP, WA
STEREO WILL WORK FOR ABOUT 30 SECONDS AND THEN THERE WILL BE A LOUD POPPING AND HIGH PITCHED FREQUENCY OF STATIC, EVEN WITH RHE RADIO VOLUME ON 0 OR WITH THE RADIO OFF. COULD CAUSE A DRIVER TO SWERVE OFF THE ROAD RESULTING IN A CRASH OR A FIRE TO START FROM FAULTY WIRING.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/8/2018 - VALLEY CITY, OH
SINCE PURCHASED BRAND NEW IN SEPT 2011, MY FOCUS HAS HAD MAJOR TRANSMISSION ISSUES THAT HAS BEEN A NIGHTMARE TO DEAL WITH WITH FORD TO THIS DAY. MY FOCUS WAS TAKEN IN AT LEAST 5 TIMES IN THE FIRST COUPLE YEARS FOR A FAULTY CLUTCH THAT CAUSED JOLTING AND SHUDDERING AND JEERING WHILE DRIVING, CAUSING MY CAR TO SLIP IN AND OUT OF NEUTRAL ON THE ROAD, SOMETIMES NEARLY HITTING OTHER DRIVERS. IT BECAME VERY DANGEROUS. IT TOOK AT LEAST 5 VISITS FOR FORD TO REPLACE THE FIRST CLUTCH. THEY REFUSED TO ACCEPT THAT THE PART WAS FAULTY AND DID COMPUTER "UPDATES" THAT DID NOTHING TO FIX THE ISSUE. OVER THE LAST FEW YEARS, MY CAR HAS BEEN BROUGHT IN ABOUT A DOZEN MORE TIMES FOR THE SAME ISSUE AND HAS HAD A TOTAL OF 5 CLUTCH REPLACEMENTS IN 6 YEARS, AND MY CAR JUST BROKE DOWN AGAIN YESTERDAY, JUST BARELY OVER 100K MILES, WITH FORD REFUSING TO WARRANTY MY TRANSMISSION. A MESSAGE APPEARED, "TRANSMISSION MALFUNCTION SERVICE NOW" AND MY CAR COMPLETELY DIED. FORD NEVER WANTS TO TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR THESE TRANSMISSION ISSUES AND HAVE HASSLED ME EVERY TIME IN THE LAST 6 YEARS OVER THESE ISSUES. IT IS A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE TO KEEP DRIVING THIS CAR NEVER KNOWING WHEN THE CLUTCH IS GOING TO GIVE OUT AND CAUSE THE TRANSMISSION TO FAIL. I HAVE SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS FOR THESE CLAIMS AND CAN REQUEST ALL SERVICE RECORDS FROM FORD IF NECESSARY. I DO NOT WANT THESE DOCUMENTS MADE PUBLIC SINCE THEY CONTAIN SENSITIVE INFORMATION.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/6/2018 - WASILLA, AK
THE RPMS ON MY VEHICLE KEPT FALLING AND CAUSING MY CAR TO STALL AND EVEN +DIE+ IN TRAFFIC. I TOOK IT TO A MECHANIC WHO TOLD ME THAT THERE WAS A PROBLEM WITH MY EVAP SENSOR, FUEL PUMP AND GAS TANK. THE SENSOR AND GAS PUMP ARE MALFUNCTIONING AND CAUSING THE PROBLEM AND SUCKING THE PLASTIC GAS TANK UP AND INTO THE PUMP CAUSING MY CAR TO DIE WHILE IN TRAFFIC. I WAS DRIVING ON A MAJOR HIGHWAY DOING 65MPH THE OTHER DAY AND THIS HAPPENED CAUSING EXTREME ANXIETY ABOUT THE POSSIBILITY OF BEING REAR ENDED BY SOMEONE NOT PAYING ATTENTION. I HAVE LOOKED THIS UP AND I AM NOT THE ONLY FOCUS OWNER WITH THIS PROBLEM. THIS PROBLEM HAS BEEN HAPPENING OFF AND ON FOR ABOUT A YEAR AND IS STARTING TO HAPPEN MOREVOFTEN AND GETTING MORE SEVERE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/4/2018 - CLINTON TOWNSHIP, MI
THE AUTOMATIC DUAL CLUTCH TRANSMISSION IN THIS VEHICLE HAS HAD NUMEROUS TSB'S ISSUED BECAUSE OF DEFECTS BUT NO ACTUAL RECALL. THEY EXTENDED THE WARRANTY COVERAGE ON THE TRANSMISSION BUT ONLY FOR "SPECIFICALLY TERMED" ISSUES. MY CLUTCH AND SEALS HAVE BEEN REPLACED TWICE, THE TCM HAS BEEN REPROGRAMMED 3 TIMES AND NOW THEY NOW TELL ME I NEED TO REPLACE THE "J AND K" FORKS, SNAP RING AND T/O BEARING IN THE TRANSMISSION. BUT, THEY TELL ME NONE OF THIS IS COVERED. THEY OPENED UP AND SERVICED A "SEALED" TRANSMISSION AT LEAST TWICE ALREADY AND THE CAR IS DOING THE SAME THING THAT WAS THE ORIGINAL PROBLEM, SHUDDERING, JERKING AND NO POWER BUT NOW I HAVE TO PAY. JUST GETTING IT TO THE DEALERSHIP I WAS ALMOST IN 2 ACCIDENTS BECAUSE OF THIS CARS ERRATIC ACCELERATION DRIVING BEHAVIOR.

View Details

STEERING

4/27/2018 - TAMPA, FL
ELECTRICAL ISSUE WITH THE CAR WHICH IS CAUSING THE POWER STEERING TO MALFUNCTION. WHEN THIS HAPPENS, I AM UNABLE TO TURN THE STEERING WHEEL AT ALL! FORD HAS NOT ISSUED A RECALL. THERE ARE SEVERAL COMPLAINTS REGARDING THIS ISSUE THAT HAS CAUSED ACCIDENTS BECAUSE THE ISSUE HAS BEEN KNOW TO HAPPEN WHILE DRIVING. THE FORD DEALERSHIP RECOMMENDS I REPLACE THE ENTIRE STEERING SYSTEM (EPAS) TO CORRECT THE CONCERN, FOR AROUND $2,000. I CANNOT AFFORD THIS - WHY DO I HAVE TO PAY FOR AN EXTREME MISTAKE MADE BY FORD WHEN THEY CREATED THESE CARS? I AM FEARFUL THE ERROR WILL OCCUR EVERY TIME I DRIVE, AND TAKE EXTRA CAUTION ON EACH TRIP I MAKE. PLEASE HELP

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/25/2018 - PALMETTO, FL
DOOR LATCH DID NOT CATCH AS WE WERE GOING HOME FROM DINNER ON SUNDAY 4-22-18 WITH MY SISTER SITTING IN THE BACK SEAT BEHIND THE DRIVER. WE LUCKILY WERE IN THE PARKING LOT OF THE RESTAURANT WHEN MY HUSBAND SAW IT WAS NOT CLOSING AS IT SHOULD. IN ORDER TO DRIVE IT HOME SAFELY WE HAD TO USE THE SEAT BELT TO HOLD THE DOOR AS CLOSED AS POSSIBLE WITH MY SISTER ALSO HOLDING IT AS WE HAD MANY MILES TO DRIVE TO OUR HOME. THIS WAS A PART THAT FORD REPLACED IN 2017 DUE TO A RECALL. WAS THIS PART DEFECTIVE TOO. IT WOULD SEEM TO ME IT SHOULD LAST MORE THAN 13 MONTHS. FORD WILL NOT DO ANYTHING TO HELP WITH THE COST TO CORRECT WHICH IS EXCESSIVE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 297
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds