Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2012 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1233 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (19) Equipment (3) Parking Brake (2) Steering (216) Unknown Or Other (78)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (639) Structure (109) Vehicle Speed Control (102)
Electrical System (138) Exterior Lighting (7) Seat Belts (14) Suspension (17) Visibility (17)
Electronic Stability Control (16) Fuel Propulsion System (47) Seats (5) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (15)
Engine (191) Fuel System Gasoline (11) Service Brakes (24) Traction Control System (4) Wheels (13)
Engine And Engine Cooling (20) Latches Locks Linkages (34) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 175
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/27/2016 - GLENDALE, AZ
MY DRIVER DOOR WILL NOT CLOSE AND I TOOK IT TO FORD THEY SAID IT IS THE LATCH THAT BROKE TOLD ME THEY COULD NOT FIX IT AS A RECALL BUT FORD FIESTA IS BEING RECALLED FOR THE SAME PART . TOLD ME I COULD PAY 450 BUCKS TO FIX IT FOR A PART THAT IS BEING RECALLED ON A DIFFERENT CAR BUT IT'S THE SAME PIECE.. I HAVE BEEN DRIVING WITH BUNGY CORDS ATTACHED TO MY DOOR ...IF I HAD SOMETHING TO DO WITH THIS I COULD UNDERSTAND BUT I DIDN'T IT IS A PIECE ON THERE CAR THAT BROKE AND THEY NEED TO FIX IT...MY TRANSMISSION WAS A RECALL THEY FIXED THAT AND IT CONTINUES TO DO THE SAME THING AS BEFORE

View Details

STEERING

4/26/2016 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
THE DISPLAY ON THE DASH READS "STEERING ASSIST FAULT". IT STARTED AS AN INTERMITTENT FAILURE THAT HAPPENED ONCE THE CAR WAS FIRST STARTED, THE PROBLEM WOULD GO AWAY AFTER SHUTTING DOWN AND RESTARTING, THAT HAD BEEN HAPPENING FOR A COUPLE WEEKS. NOW IT IS A CONSISTENT PROBLEM. THERE IS ABSOLUTELY NO ASSIST IN THE POWER STEERING, MAKJNG THE CAR VERY DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER AT NORMAL DRIVING SPEED AND NEAR IMPOSSIBLE TO MANEUVER AT VERY LOW SPEED, E.G. DURING PARALLEL PARKING, U-TURNS, SHARP TURNS, ETC.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/26/2016 - ONSET, MA
POWERTRAIN IS SLIPPING, CAR LUNGES FORWARD WHEN PRESSES ON BRAKE, ROLLS WHEN GEAR, AND THE POWERTRAIN LIGHT TURNS ON. THIS IS THE SECOND/THIRD TIME THAT THIS HAS HAPPENED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/26/2016 - BELTON, TX
THE DRIVERS SIDE PASSENGER DOOR SONT CLOSE AND IT WONT STAY CLOSED. IT JUST FLAPS OPEN. THE LOCK MECHANISM NEVER ENGAGES.

View Details

STEERING

4/25/2016 - MESQUITE, TX
STEERING FREEZES, MAKES A VERY DANGEROUS MOMENT, DOOR WINDOW DOESN'T SUDDENLY WORK. FEEL A RECALL SHOULD BE IN EFFECT, CHOSEN STATES HAVE A RECALL ON THE STEERING, BUT NOT IN TEXAS, I'M A SENIOR CITZEN, LIVING OFF GOVE. BENITFITS , CAN'T AFFORD THE PRICE TO FIX, THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY, AND ONE TIME IN MOTION.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/25/2016 - MESQUITE, TX
STEERING FREEZES, MAKES A VERY DANGEROUS MOMENT, DOOR WINDOW DOESN'T SUDDENLY WORK. FEEL A RECALL SHOULD BE IN EFFECT, CHOSEN STATES HAVE A RECALL ON THE STEERING, BUT NOT IN TEXAS, I'M A SENIOR CITZEN, LIVING OFF GOVE. BENITFITS , CAN'T AFFORD THE PRICE TO FIX, THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY, AND ONE TIME IN MOTION.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/19/2016 - TAMPA, FL
I HAVE TAKEN MY CAR INTO TWO SEPARATE FORD DEALERSHIPS (ELDER FORD AND BILL CURRIE FORD, BOTH LOCATED IN TAMPA, FL) FOR SERVICE DUE TO THE TRANSMISSION AUDIBLY GRINDING AND THE CAR LITERALLY SHAKING ON TAKE OFF. IT SOUNDS LIKE THE CAR IS GOING TO DIE AT ANY MOMENT. EACH TIME I HAVE TAKEN IT IN, I WAS TOLD IT JUST NEEDED TO BE "RE-PROGRAMMED". THEY WOULD DO THAT THEN SEND ME ON MY WAY ONLY FOR ME TO RETURN A MONTH OR TWO LATER WITH THE SAME ISSUE. THIS PAST TIME, THEY REPLACED THE TRANSMISSION CONTROL MODULE AGAIN ONLY FOR THE TRANSMISSION TO FAIL ONCE MORE. WHILE DRIVING HOME, MY CAR INEXPLICABLY STOPPED RUNNING IN THE MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC ON A BUSY STREET. THE DASHBOARD SHOWED A TRANSMISSION MALFUNCTION AND TO GET IT SERVICED IMMEDIATELY. I HAVE CALLED FORD'S CORPORATE OFFICE AND THEY KEEP TELLING ME TO SPEAK WITH A CUSTOMER SERVICE MANAGER WHO JUST REFERS ME BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR REPAIRS. WHAT IF THE CAR HAD STOPPED THE WAY IT DID WHILE I WAS ON THE EXPRESSWAY? THIS IS NOT A SAFE VEHICLE AND FORD DOESN'T SEEM TO CARE. I HAVE COPIES OF THE DOCUMENTATION FROM EACH TIME THE CAR WAS SERVICED FOR THIS ISSUE. I AM WRITING BECAUSE I AM AT MY WITS END AND I HAVE GIVEN FORD MULTIPLE OPPORTUNITIES TO GET THIS CORRECTED AND THEY KEEP TRYING TO PUT A BAND-AID ON IT. I HAVE DONE MY OWN RESEARCH AND THIS PROBLEM IS A VERY COMMON ONE AMONG THIS PARTICULAR MODEL OF VEHICLE. I WANT TO MAKE SURE THAT AWARENESS IS BROUGHT TO THIS SO THAT HOPEFULLY SOMETHING CAN BE DONE BEFORE SOMETHING TRAGIC HAPPENS.

View Details

ENGINE

4/19/2016 - FORT WORTH, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL VIBRATION. WHILE DRIVING, THERE WAS A HESITATION WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE MOTOR MOUNTS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/16/2016 - GRAND PRAIRIE, TX
I OWN A FORD FOCUS 2012. THE DOOR LATCH IS DEFECTIVE AND THE DRIVERS SIDE DOOR DOES NOT CLOSE. WHILE MY SPECIFIC MODEL IS NOT BEING RECALLED, SIMILAR MODELS ARE FOR THE SAME CAUSE. THIS CANNOT BE CONCIDENCE AND NOW FORD IS CHARGING ME 600 TO FIX IT. I'VE READ ONLINE THAT THIS IS COMMON FOR FORD FOCUS MODELS. I DO HAVE DOCUMENTATION OF THEM REPLACING THE LATCH. I ALSO REQUESTED THAT I KEEP THE OLD LATCH FOR PROOF.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/16/2016 - ZEPHYRHILLS, FL
CLUTCH IN TRANS. SKIPPING. THIS HAS AND STILL HAPPENING TWO MONTHS AFTER PURCHASE,.BEEN IN FORD DEALER ( PARK FORD ) WESLEY CHAPEL FL. SEVERAL TIMES, STILL REACTING THE SAME.VERY AGGRAVATING .SOONER OR LATER IT'S GOING TO JAM,CAUSING AN ACCIDENT. RAY BEAUDOIN

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 175
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds