Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2012 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 2714 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (47) Equipment (4) Parking Brake (2) Steering (720) Unknown Or Other (237)
Communications (3) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (972) Structure (308) Vehicle Speed Control (136)
Electrical System (258) Exterior Lighting (20) Seat Belts (37) Suspension (23) Visibility (22)
Electronic Stability Control (37) Fuel Propulsion System (165) Seats (8) Tires (9) Visibility Wiper (33)
Engine (308) Fuel System Gasoline (16) Service Brakes (39) Traction Control System (4) Wheels (19)
Engine And Engine Cooling (21) Latches Locks Linkages (122) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 357
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

7/22/2019 - MCKEE'S ROCKS, PA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED WHILE THE SERVICE POWER STEERING ERROR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS UNABLE TO RESTART AND OPERATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT RESIDENCE. THE DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 927,008. AK

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/21/2019 - MOUNT AIRY, NC
SHUDDERING RESUMED AGAIN DURING CITY AND HIGHWAY DRIVING BETWEEN GEAR SHIFTS. THIS WAS THE SECOND PROBLEM OF THIS TYPE. IT WAS A CONSTANT CONCERN IF I WOULD GET TO MY DESTINATION AND BACK HOME SAFELY WITHOUT BEING STRANDED ALONG THE ROADWAY. WHEN I GOT BACK HOME, I CALLED THE DEALER, PARKWAY FORD IN WINSTON SALEM, NC TO SCHEDULE CONSULTATION FOR THEM TO DETERMINE THE PROBLEM. I BEGAN DOING SOME RESEARCH ON THE FORD DPS6 TRANSMISSION AND FOUND THERE HAD BEEN SOME PROBLEMS. DURING THE CONSULT, IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE CLUTCH WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED FOR THE SECOND TIME. THIS IS SEVEN MONTHS AFTER THE FIRST CLUTCH REPLACEMENT. THE SERVICE CONSULTANT ASSURED ME THAT THIS WAS A NEW TYPE OF CLUTCH AND I WOULD NOT BE HAVING ANY MORE OF THESE PROBLEMS. I AM REPRESENTED BY STERN LAW OF NOVI, MICHIGAN IN A MASS ACTION SUIT AGAINST FORD MOTOR COMPANY REGARDING THIS VEHICLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/20/2019 - LAKE WORTH, FL
I HAVE OWNED MY 2016 FORD F-150 SUPER CREW LARIAT FOR ALMOST 3 YEARS. I PURCHASED IT BRAND NEW FROM A DEALER IN PALM BEACH COUNTY FLORIDA. I AM ON TOP OF MY ROUTINE MAINTENANCE AND HAVE JUST HAD MY TRUCK SERVICED 3 WEEKS AGO. ON 7/20/19 MY TRUCK+S BRAKES COMPLETELY FAILED WHILE DRIVING FROM MY HOUSE ON A RESIDENTIAL ROAD. I HAD TO USE MY EMERGENCY BRAKE TO STOP MY VEHICLE FROM GOING THROUGH A STOP SIGN. THANKFULLY, I WAS NOT INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT. MY MASTER CYLINDER HAD LOST ALL ITS FLUID BUT THERE WERE NO SIGNS OF LEAKS. I ADDED BRAKE FLUID AND I COULD SEE IT LEAVING THE RESERVOIR. IT APPEARS TO BE LEAKING INTO THE BRAKE BOOSTER. I HAD TO HAVE MY TRUCK TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP AND I+M WAITING TO HEAR BACK FROM THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT.

View Details

ENGINE

7/20/2019 - DUBLIN, OH
RECALL NOTICE NUMBER18V735 HAS NOT BEEN PERFORMED. I RECEIVED A NOTICE DECEMBER 2018 AND NOTHING HAS HAPPENED. I'M CONCERNED MY VEHICLE HAS AN OPEN ISSUE THAT HASN'T BEEN REMEDIATED. APPARENTLY, FORD HASN'T IDENTIFIED A SOLUTION. WHY HASN'T THIS BEEN RESOLVED?

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/19/2019 - LOUISVILLE, KY
I+VE EXPERIENCED BOTH HESITATION AND LURCHING FORWARD WITH THIS VEHICLE WHEN ACCELERATING AND TRAVELING AT LOW SPEEDS (5-15 MILES PER HOUR) THIS IS SCARY WHEN MERGING ONTO FOUR LANE OR EVEN WHEN CAUGHT IN BUMPER TO BUMPER TRAFFIC. THIS HAS BEEN AN ON-GOING PROBLEM EVER SINCE THE VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED NEW. THE CLUTCH HAS BEEN REPLACED ONCE OR TWICE, BUT THE PROBLEM CONTINUES.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/19/2019 - LOUISVILLE, KY
I+VE EXPERIENCED BOTH HESITATION AND LURCHING FORWARD WITH THIS VEHICLE WHEN ACCELERATING AND TRAVELING AT LOW SPEEDS (5-15 MILES PER HOUR) THIS IS SCARY WHEN MERGING ONTO FOUR LANE OR EVEN WHEN CAUGHT IN BUMPER TO BUMPER TRAFFIC. THIS HAS BEEN AN ON-GOING PROBLEM EVER SINCE THE VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED NEW. THE CLUTCH HAS BEEN REPLACED ONCE OR TWICE, BUT THE PROBLEM CONTINUES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/19/2019 - DUBLIN, OH
CONTINUES TO SHUDDER, HESITATION AND ROUGH SHIFTING WHILE DRIVING ON SURFACE STREETS AND HIGHWAYS AFTER TWO REPAIRS AND THREE RECALLS.

View Details

ENGINE

7/18/2019 - CLOVIS, CA
WE BOUGHT THE 2012 FORD FOCUS AS A CAR FOR OUR DAUGHTER. WHEN TEST DRIVING IT, FOR A SHORT PERIOD, WE DIDN+T NOTICE ANYTHING WITH THE TRANSMISSION. BUT NOW THAT WE ARE DRIVING IT MORE, THERE IS A SHUDDER WHEN WE ACCELERATE. LIKE DRIVING A STICK SHIFT WHEN YOU TAKE OFF AND DIDN+T DO IT SMOOTHLY. IT LACKS IN POWER AT TIMES WHEN TURNING ONTO THE ROAD, WHICH SCARES ME AT TIMES WHEN OTHER CARS ARE COMING AND WE CAN+T GET IT TO ACCELERATE. THE MORE I+M READING ABOUT THIS CAR, I AM SERIOUSLY SO SCARED FOR MY DAUGHTER TO DRIVE IT ALONE. EXTREMELY SCARED!!! AS SOMEONE WHO SAVED TO GET WHAT WE THOUGHT WAS A GOOD CAR FOR OUR DAUGHTER, I FEEL WE ARE STUCK WITH IT. I WOULDN+T FEEL RIGHT SELLING THIS TO SOMEONE ELSE, I WISH THE PREVIOUS SELLER HAD FELT THE SAME WAY!! PEOPLE ARE PUTTING THEIR FAMILIES IN THESE CARS, THEIR LOVED ONES. THERE NEEDS TO BE A RECALL ON THESE VEHICLES SO WE CAN HAVE A CHANCE TO GET SAFER CARS TO PROTECT US. I DID TAKE THE VEHICLE IN FOR IT+S OTHER RECALL REGARDING SOMETHING WITH THE FUEL TANK, WHERE WE HAD TO KEEP IT HALF FULL. THE MECHANIC TOOK THE CAR FOR A DRIVE AND NOTED THE SHUDDERING ON THE VEHICLE, BUT THEY WANTED $150 TO DIAGNOSE IT. AND COULDN+T TELL ME IF THAT WAS COVERED UNDER WARRANTY. IF FORD KNOWS THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM, THEY WOULD KNOW IF IT+S COVERED. THEIR JUST TRYING TO GET MONEY OUT OF ME.

View Details

STEERING

7/18/2019 - SELINSGROVE, PA
THREADS ON THE OUTER TIE ROD END STRIPPED ON THE DRIVER SIDE. TIE ROD END CAME OFF WHILE I WAS DRIVING! CALLED SEVERAL LOCAL PARTS DEPARTMENTS AND FUNNY THING IS THEY REPORT THAT'S THE USUAL SIDE THAT IS AFFECTED. EVERY STORE IN A 20 MILE RADIUS HAD RIGHT TIE RODS BUT NO LEFT.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/18/2019 - SELINSGROVE, PA
THREADS ON THE OUTER TIE ROD END STRIPPED ON THE DRIVER SIDE. TIE ROD END CAME OFF WHILE I WAS DRIVING! CALLED SEVERAL LOCAL PARTS DEPARTMENTS AND FUNNY THING IS THEY REPORT THAT'S THE USUAL SIDE THAT IS AFFECTED. EVERY STORE IN A 20 MILE RADIUS HAD RIGHT TIE RODS BUT NO LEFT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 357
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds