Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2012 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1121 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (19) Equipment (3) Parking Brake (2) Steering (194) Unknown Or Other (71)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (590) Structure (89) Vehicle Speed Control (97)
Electrical System (128) Exterior Lighting (6) Seat Belts (12) Suspension (16) Visibility (14)
Electronic Stability Control (16) Fuel Propulsion System (45) Seats (5) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (13)
Engine (182) Fuel System Gasoline (11) Service Brakes (23) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (13)
Engine And Engine Cooling (19) Latches Locks Linkages (28) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 161
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/29/2016 - NEW PORT RICHEY, FL
AFTER OPENING THE DRIVER'S DOOR, IT WOULD NOT CLOSE. TOOK TO FORD AND THEY SAID THE DOOR LATCH WAS FAULTY AND NEED REPLACING AT PART COST OF OVER 450 DOLLARS. BOUGHT A NEW CAR INSTEAD.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/29/2016 - BALTIMORE, MD
POWER-SHIFT 6 SPEED TRANSMISSION. ERRATIC CLUTCH CHANGES, GRINDING, HESITATION, UNWANTED GEAR CHANGES IS HEAVY TRAFFIC LOWER GAS MILEAGE. AFTER 3 SOFTWARE UPDATES (JANUARY 2013, DECEMBER 2014, AUGUST 2014, NOV 2015), AND A PARTS CLUTCH REPLACEMENT (DECEMBER 2014), THE CAR STILL DOES NOT RUN PROPERLY. CAR WORKED FINE FOR A FEW DAYS, THEN WENT BACK TO THE SAME PROBLEM. FORD ADMITS THAT THE FOCUS CLUTCH ASSEMBLY IS DEFECTIVE AND ON 12 NOVEMBER, 2015, FORD AGREED TO REPLACE IT. HOWEVER, I AM IN THE 10TH WEEK OF WAITING, AND STILL NO CLUTCH. I MUST USE MY VEHICLE AND IT IS GETTING WORSE EVERY WEEK. FORD SAYS THERE IS NO RECALL, ONLY A SOFTWARE UPDATE. I HAVE NOTICED THAT THE INTERNET IS FILLED WITH OTHER FOCUS OWNERS WITH THE SAME PROBLEM. EVEN THE MECHANICS AT MY FORD DEALER FEEL THE CARS ARE GETTING MORE DANGEROUS AS THEY AGE. MY WIFE IS AFRAID TO DRIVE THE CAR AND I HAVE BEGUN TO USE THE MANUAL SHIFT OPTION INSTEAD OF THE DRIVE OPTION.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/29/2016 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
MY CAR HAS BEEN SHUTTERING AND JERKING AND SHAKING DOES NOT SHIFT INTO GEARS AND THE CAR DROPPED AND WILL ACCELERATE BY ITS SELF . THIS IS AN ONGOING ISSUE SINCE I BOUGHT THE CAR IN 2014

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/28/2016 - NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV
I UNLOCK THE CAR AND OPENED THE REAR DOOR AND TRIED TO CLOSE IT BACK AND IT WOULDN'T CATCH THE LATCH STOPPED WORKING. THE DOOR WOULDN'T STAY CLOSED EVEN WHEN I TRIED TO LOCK IT. I WAS TOLD BY DEALER THERE WAS NO RECALL ON IT. I HAVE ATTACHED AN INVOICE OF THE REPAIR.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

1/27/2016 - LAS VEGAS, NV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE DOOR UNLATCHED AND OPENED INDEPENDENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS MANEUVERED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE CONTACT WRAPPED THE SEAT BELT WEBBING AROUND THE DOOR HANDLE AND CONNECTED TO THE SEAT SECURELY TO PREVENT THE DOOR FROM OPENING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 47,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/27/2016 - JOHNS CREEK, GA
I HAVE TAKEN MY CAR IN FOR SERVICE 16-18 TIMES FOR PROBLEMS WITH THE SYNC AND THE TRANSMISSION SINCE I BOUGHT THIS CAR. I HAVE HAD BOTH THE SYNC MODULE AND THE TRANSMISSION MODULE RESET REPEATEDLY AND FINALLY REPLACED. I HAVE HAD THE CLUTCH REPLACED TWICE IN TWO YEARS. THE WORSE INCIDENT AND THE REASON FOR THE SECOND CLUTCH WAS BECAUSE THE CAR'S TRANSMISSION FAILED COMPLETELY WHILE I WAS DRIVING APPROX. 45 MILES AN HOUR DOWN A VERY BUSY TWO LANE CITY ROAD. I WAS ABLE TO PULL OVER, TURN OFF THE CAR AND RESTART THE CAR AND GOT ABOUT 3 MILES FROM HOME AND IT FAILED AGAIN. I WAS LITERALLY IN THE TURNING LANE FOR MY SUBDIVISION AND IT FAILED AGAIN. I HAD TO HAVE THE CAR TOWED FROM MY HOUSE. I WAS LUCKY I WAS NOT INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT. FORD REFUSED TO BUY BACK MY CAR WHEN I REQUESTED IT. I HAVE COPIES OF MY SERVICE RECORDS AS DOES CHEROKEE LINCOLN FORD OF ALPHARETTA, GA.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/27/2016 - JOHNS CREEK, GA
I HAVE TAKEN MY CAR IN FOR SERVICE 16-18 TIMES FOR PROBLEMS WITH THE SYNC AND THE TRANSMISSION SINCE I BOUGHT THIS CAR. I HAVE HAD BOTH THE SYNC MODULE AND THE TRANSMISSION MODULE RESET REPEATEDLY AND FINALLY REPLACED. I HAVE HAD THE CLUTCH REPLACED TWICE IN TWO YEARS. THE WORSE INCIDENT AND THE REASON FOR THE SECOND CLUTCH WAS BECAUSE THE CAR'S TRANSMISSION FAILED COMPLETELY WHILE I WAS DRIVING APPROX. 45 MILES AN HOUR DOWN A VERY BUSY TWO LANE CITY ROAD. I WAS ABLE TO PULL OVER, TURN OFF THE CAR AND RESTART THE CAR AND GOT ABOUT 3 MILES FROM HOME AND IT FAILED AGAIN. I WAS LITERALLY IN THE TURNING LANE FOR MY SUBDIVISION AND IT FAILED AGAIN. I HAD TO HAVE THE CAR TOWED FROM MY HOUSE. I WAS LUCKY I WAS NOT INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT. FORD REFUSED TO BUY BACK MY CAR WHEN I REQUESTED IT. I HAVE COPIES OF MY SERVICE RECORDS AS DOES CHEROKEE LINCOLN FORD OF ALPHARETTA, GA.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/26/2016 - ORLANDO, FL
MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON COMING HOME FROM WORK MONDAY NIGHT AND WENSDAY I TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP THE DEALERSHIP THE NEXT DAY AND FOUND OUT THAT THE PURGE VALVE WAS MALFUNCTIONING AND HAS COLLAPSED MY GAS TANK AND I NEEDED TO REPLACE THE FUEL PUMP, GAS TANK, FUEL TUBE ASSEMBLY. ALL COST $2000. THE SERVICE TECH STATED THERE HAS BEEN A LOT OF COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS AND FORD REFUSES TO HELP

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/26/2016 - AUGUSTA, GA
REAR DRIVER SIDE DOOR OPENED WHILE IN MOTION ON A HIGHWAY AND WILL NO LONGER CLOSE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

1/26/2016 - ASTON, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE TRANSMISSION BEGAN TO HESITATE IN A JERKING MOTION AND THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. AFTER WAITING TEN MINUTES, THE VEHICLE RESTARTED AND RESUMED NORMAL OPERATION. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED UNDER THE MANUFACTURER'S CUSTOMER SATISFACTION PROGRAM WHERE THE TRANSMISSION CONTROL MODULE WAS REPLACED; HOWEVER, THE TRANSMISSION CONTINUED TO EXHIBIT HESITATION AFTER THE REMEDY WAS PERFORMED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE REAR EXTERIOR PASSENGER SIDE DOOR FAILED TO UNLOCK UNTIL AFTER NUMEROUS ATTEMPTS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 45,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 161
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds