Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2012 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 590 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Equipment (1) Parking Brake (2) Steering (78) Unknown Or Other (42)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (331) Structure (27) Vehicle Speed Control (61)
Electrical System (66) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (8) Suspension (12) Visibility (8)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Fuel Propulsion System (33) Seats (4) Tires (7) Visibility Wiper (9)
Engine (111) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Service Brakes (20) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (9)
Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 89
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/30/2014 - IOLA, TX
IN MAY OF 2012 MY CAR HAD THE TRANSMISSION COMPLETELY REPLACED AFTER BEING IN THE SHOP FOR 6 WEEKS. THE CRUISE CONTROL WOULD STICK ON AND NOT SHUT OFF. THE POWER WINDOWS AND AIR CONDITIONER BOTH DECIDED NOT WORK AT THE SAME TIME. I HAVE HAD THE STRUTS REPLACES BEFORE 10,000 MILES. THE GAS MILEAGE GOES FROM 14 MPG TO 33MPG RANDOMLY. THE CAR LIKES TO ROLL BACK AND NOT GO INTO GEAR WHEN DRIVING. I REPLACE TIRES EVERY 6 MONTHS BECAUSE THE CAR EATS MY TIRES UP. MY FAVORITE PROBLEM IS LOOSING POWER WHEN DRIVING. I HAVE KEPT ALL PAPERS REGARDING THE CAR IN THE SHOP. MY FIRST YEAR OF OWNING THE FOCUS FORD PAID FOR MY RENTAL CAR TO BE DRIVEN 17,000 MILES DUE TO MY CAR BEING IN THE SHOP. I HAVE ASKED FOR HELP WITH THIS CAR FOR 2 YEARS WITH FORD TO BE TOLD I NEED TO LEARN TO DRIVE. I AM DRIVING A CAR KNOW THAT COMPLETELY LOOSES POWER ALL THE TIME AND THE TRANSMISSION STICKS. I HAVE HAD TO WAIT 3 WEEKS FOR AN APPOINTMENT ON NOV 3 TO GET THESE ISSUES LOOKED AT. MY CAR IS FAR FROM SAFE AND I HAVE EXPRESSED TO FORD I FEEL THIS CAR IS GOING TO KILL ME. I SPENT 30,000 MILES DRIVING THIS CAR WHEN IN FACT I SHOULDN'T HAD. THE DEALERSHIP CAN NEVER FIND A PROBLEM ON MY CAR. THE GAS ALSO CAN ONLY PUT 10 CENTS OF GAS AT A TIME IN OR GAS LIKES TO POUR OUT FROM THE BOTTOM. SOMETIMES THE GAS KNOZZLE CAN'T FIT IN THE GAS TANK BECAUSE IT CLOSES UP. ONCE AGAIN FORD COULDN'T FIND A PROBLEM. I CALL THE DEALERSHIP AND FORD CUSTOMER CARE EACH TIME THERE IS A PROBLEM.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/30/2014 - FARMINGTON, MN
I OWN A 2012 FORD FOCUS SEL THAT HAS HAD MULTIPLE TRANSMISSION ISSUES ALONG WITH AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM RELATING TO THE STEERING WHEEL AND A BATTERY FAILURE. THE VEHICLE HAS HAD ISSUES ACCELERATING THROUGH 1ST GEAR WHICH WAS EVIDENT BY EXTREME SHUDDERING AND SHAKING OF THE VEHICLE. THIS HAD PUT ME INTO DANGEROUS SITUATIONS NUMEROUS TIMES WHEN TRYING TO MERGE ONTO FREEWAYS AS THE VEHICLE HESITATED TO GET UP TO SPEED IN TIME. MY TRANSMISSION WAS REPLACED AT 9,562 MILES IN SEPT. 2013. THE SHUTTERING AND ACCELERATION PROBLEMS REOCCURRED AT 21,904 MILES IN SEPT. 2014 AND FORD RAN A SYSTEM UPDATE TO 'FIX' THE PROBLEM. THEY ALSO REPLACED THE STEERING WHEEL FOR ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS AT THIS TIME. THE ACCELERATION ISSUES CONTINUED FOR THE NEXT MONTH AND THE CLUTCH WAS FINALLY REPLACED IN OCT. 2014. A COUPLE WEEKS LATER THE BATTERY WAS DEAD 3 SUNDAYS IN A ROW AND WAS ALSO REPLACED. FORD HAS NOT BEEN ABLE TO REASSURE ME THAT THESE TRANSMISSION ISSUES WILL NOT BE ON-GOING. I CONTINUOUSLY READ OTHERS ACCOUNTS ONLINE STATING THEY ARE HAVING THE SAME ISSUES I AM HAVING, AND IN MANY CASES THEIR DEALERSHIPS ARE IGNORING THE ISSUES AND MAKING EXCUSES. PLEASE LOOK INTO THIS MATTER.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/30/2014 - FARMINGTON, MN
I OWN A 2012 FORD FOCUS SEL THAT HAS HAD MULTIPLE TRANSMISSION ISSUES ALONG WITH AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM RELATING TO THE STEERING WHEEL AND A BATTERY FAILURE. THE VEHICLE HAS HAD ISSUES ACCELERATING THROUGH 1ST GEAR WHICH WAS EVIDENT BY EXTREME SHUDDERING AND SHAKING OF THE VEHICLE. THIS HAD PUT ME INTO DANGEROUS SITUATIONS NUMEROUS TIMES WHEN TRYING TO MERGE ONTO FREEWAYS AS THE VEHICLE HESITATED TO GET UP TO SPEED IN TIME. MY TRANSMISSION WAS REPLACED AT 9,562 MILES IN SEPT. 2013. THE SHUTTERING AND ACCELERATION PROBLEMS REOCCURRED AT 21,904 MILES IN SEPT. 2014 AND FORD RAN A SYSTEM UPDATE TO 'FIX' THE PROBLEM. THEY ALSO REPLACED THE STEERING WHEEL FOR ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS AT THIS TIME. THE ACCELERATION ISSUES CONTINUED FOR THE NEXT MONTH AND THE CLUTCH WAS FINALLY REPLACED IN OCT. 2014. A COUPLE WEEKS LATER THE BATTERY WAS DEAD 3 SUNDAYS IN A ROW AND WAS ALSO REPLACED. FORD HAS NOT BEEN ABLE TO REASSURE ME THAT THESE TRANSMISSION ISSUES WILL NOT BE ON-GOING. I CONTINUOUSLY READ OTHERS ACCOUNTS ONLINE STATING THEY ARE HAVING THE SAME ISSUES I AM HAVING, AND IN MANY CASES THEIR DEALERSHIPS ARE IGNORING THE ISSUES AND MAKING EXCUSES. PLEASE LOOK INTO THIS MATTER.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

10/28/2014 - DALLAS, TX
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS 2012 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED WHEN SHE TURNED ON THE IGNITION THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS AUTOMATICALLY TURN ON AND OFF. THE CONTACT STATED THERE WERE DRY WATER SPOTS ON THE WINDSHIELD AND THE PASSENGER WINDSHIELD WIPER CAME OFF. THE CONTACT STATED WHENEVER SHE TURN ON THE AIR CONDITION AN UNUSUAL YELLOW SUBSTANCE CAME OUT OF THE VENT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO DEALER MECHANIC AND THEY WERE UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED THE CONTACT PURCHASED NEW PASSENGER WINDSHIELD WIPER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 26,000.LB

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/28/2014 - ANAHEIM, CA
WHILE DRIVING, VEHICLE ENGINE TEMPERATURE CLIMBED DRASTICALLY AND IMMEDIATELY. UPON CLOSER INSPECTION, COOLANT LEVEL IN ENGINE WAS DANGEROUSLY LOW. 2 WEEKS LATER, COOLANT LEVEL LOW AGAIN. NO VISIBLE LEAKS IN SYSTEM.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/27/2014 - CLOVIS, CA
WHILE MERGING ONTO THE FREEWAY MY CAR WOULD NOT ACCELERATE. I PUSHED THE GAS PEDAL TO THE FLOOR AND THE RPMS SHOT UP BUT CAR WOULD NOT ACCELERATE. FINALLY AFTER ALMOST BEING HIT BY OTHER CARS IT SHOT OFF LIKE A ROCKET. AFTER MULTIPLE INCIDENTS OF JERKING AND NOT ABLE TO ACCELERATE RANDOMLY I TOOK IT TO FORD AND THE CLUTCH WAS REPLACED IN APRIL 2014. NOT LONG AFTER, IT STARTED DOING THE SAME THING EXCEPT WORSE. I TOOK IT BACK TO FORD AND WAS TOLD THE TRANNY TEST RESULTS CAME BACK NORMAL AND THAT A MOTOR MOUNT WAS MISSING OR LOOSE. THEY KEPT IT FOR 3 DAYS TO FIX THE MOTOR MOUNT. THE CAR IS NOW WORSE AND TODAY THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND CAR HAD VERY LITTLE POWER. GOING TO TAKE IT BACK TO FORD AND HOPEFULY THEY WILL FIX IT THIS TIME. MY GAS MILEAGE IS ONLY 20.1 MPG. ANOTHER PROBLEM WAS THAT MY ENTIRE SYNC SYSTEM WENT OUT AND HAD TO BE REPLACED IN AUGUST 2014, COSTING ME $1093.00. IT STARTED MESSING UP BY HAVING A VERY LOUD POPPING/CRACKLING NOISE THAT WOULD START RANDOMLY EVEN WHEN CAR WAS OFF. IT WAS VERY SCARY WHEN IT WOULD SUDDENLY START MAKING THE LOUD NOISE WHILE I WAS DRIVING AND ALMOST CAUSED ME TO WRECK AT ONE POINT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/27/2014 - CLOVIS, CA
WHILE MERGING ONTO THE FREEWAY MY CAR WOULD NOT ACCELERATE. I PUSHED THE GAS PEDAL TO THE FLOOR AND THE RPMS SHOT UP BUT CAR WOULD NOT ACCELERATE. FINALLY AFTER ALMOST BEING HIT BY OTHER CARS IT SHOT OFF LIKE A ROCKET. AFTER MULTIPLE INCIDENTS OF JERKING AND NOT ABLE TO ACCELERATE RANDOMLY I TOOK IT TO FORD AND THE CLUTCH WAS REPLACED IN APRIL 2014. NOT LONG AFTER, IT STARTED DOING THE SAME THING EXCEPT WORSE. I TOOK IT BACK TO FORD AND WAS TOLD THE TRANNY TEST RESULTS CAME BACK NORMAL AND THAT A MOTOR MOUNT WAS MISSING OR LOOSE. THEY KEPT IT FOR 3 DAYS TO FIX THE MOTOR MOUNT. THE CAR IS NOW WORSE AND TODAY THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND CAR HAD VERY LITTLE POWER. GOING TO TAKE IT BACK TO FORD AND HOPEFULY THEY WILL FIX IT THIS TIME. MY GAS MILEAGE IS ONLY 20.1 MPG. ANOTHER PROBLEM WAS THAT MY ENTIRE SYNC SYSTEM WENT OUT AND HAD TO BE REPLACED IN AUGUST 2014, COSTING ME $1093.00. IT STARTED MESSING UP BY HAVING A VERY LOUD POPPING/CRACKLING NOISE THAT WOULD START RANDOMLY EVEN WHEN CAR WAS OFF. IT WAS VERY SCARY WHEN IT WOULD SUDDENLY START MAKING THE LOUD NOISE WHILE I WAS DRIVING AND ALMOST CAUSED ME TO WRECK AT ONE POINT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/27/2014 - CLOVIS, CA
WHILE MERGING ONTO THE FREEWAY MY CAR WOULD NOT ACCELERATE. I PUSHED THE GAS PEDAL TO THE FLOOR AND THE RPMS SHOT UP BUT CAR WOULD NOT ACCELERATE. FINALLY AFTER ALMOST BEING HIT BY OTHER CARS IT SHOT OFF LIKE A ROCKET. AFTER MULTIPLE INCIDENTS OF JERKING AND NOT ABLE TO ACCELERATE RANDOMLY I TOOK IT TO FORD AND THE CLUTCH WAS REPLACED IN APRIL 2014. NOT LONG AFTER, IT STARTED DOING THE SAME THING EXCEPT WORSE. I TOOK IT BACK TO FORD AND WAS TOLD THE TRANNY TEST RESULTS CAME BACK NORMAL AND THAT A MOTOR MOUNT WAS MISSING OR LOOSE. THEY KEPT IT FOR 3 DAYS TO FIX THE MOTOR MOUNT. THE CAR IS NOW WORSE AND TODAY THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND CAR HAD VERY LITTLE POWER. GOING TO TAKE IT BACK TO FORD AND HOPEFULY THEY WILL FIX IT THIS TIME. MY GAS MILEAGE IS ONLY 20.1 MPG. ANOTHER PROBLEM WAS THAT MY ENTIRE SYNC SYSTEM WENT OUT AND HAD TO BE REPLACED IN AUGUST 2014, COSTING ME $1093.00. IT STARTED MESSING UP BY HAVING A VERY LOUD POPPING/CRACKLING NOISE THAT WOULD START RANDOMLY EVEN WHEN CAR WAS OFF. IT WAS VERY SCARY WHEN IT WOULD SUDDENLY START MAKING THE LOUD NOISE WHILE I WAS DRIVING AND ALMOST CAUSED ME TO WRECK AT ONE POINT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/27/2014 - WALNUT HILL, IL
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 10 MPH, THE VEHICLE WILL SHIFT GEARS INTO NEUTRAL WHILE DRIVING.THE TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED FIVE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS. THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE POWER TRAIN AUTOMATIC CONTROL MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 119,000. KW

View Details

ENGINE

10/27/2014 - SANTA CLARITA, CA
TRANSMISSION SHAKES AND GRINDS. CAR ROLLS BACKWARDS ON HILLS. FORD SAYS THIS IS NORMAL BEHAVIOR BUT HAVING A CAR ROLL BACKWARDS ON HILLS WITH AN AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION IS A SAFETY CONCERN.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 89
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds