Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2012 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 737 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (17) Equipment (2) Parking Brake (2) Steering (112) Unknown Or Other (44)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (423) Structure (31) Vehicle Speed Control (74)
Electrical System (82) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (10) Suspension (13) Visibility (12)
Electronic Stability Control (12) Fuel Propulsion System (34) Seats (4) Tires (7) Visibility Wiper (10)
Engine (138) Fuel System Gasoline (11) Service Brakes (20) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (9)
Engine And Engine Cooling (17) Latches Locks Linkages (7) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 110
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

4/24/2015 - WESTFIELD , IN
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS.THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN COMING TO A STOP SIGN, THE VEHICLE WOULD INCLINE AND ROLLED BACKWARDS. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 52,882.AW

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/23/2015 - LONG BEACH, CA
VEHICLE LOST DRIVETRAIN POWER ON THE FREEWAY. I WENT TO ACCELERATE IN VERY HEAVY TRAFFIC, AND THE ENGINE REVVED WITHOUT MOVING FORWARD (SIMILAR TO SOMEONE DEPRESSING THE CLUTCH AND ACCELERATING). SHIFTED THE CAR INTO NEUTRAL, BACK INTO DRIVE IN ORDER TO JOG THE TRANSMISSION INTO OPERATION, THAT DID NOT WORK. I SHIFTED INTO THE 'SPORT' MODE IN THE TRANSMISSION THINKING THAT WOULD HELP, THAT DIDN'T WORK. I HAD ENOUGH FORWARD MOMENTUM TO GET THE CAR TO THE SHOULDER AND CALL FOR A TOW, BUT OVERALL, THE CAR WOULD NOT TRAVEL UNDER IT'S OWN POWER. AT THIS POINT, I AM QUITE CONCERNED THAT I OWN THIS CAR, AND IT'S NOT SAFE TO DRIVE. ONCE IT'S FIXED, I AM STILL QUITE CONCERNED THAT I'VE OWNED THIS CAR FOR 2 YEARS, AND IT'S BEEN IN THE SHOP BETWEEN 8 - 10 INDIVIDUAL INCIDENTS. I AM CONCERNED THAT I CANNOT PUT MYSELF OR MY FAMILY INSIDE THIS CAR WITH ANY REASONABLE EXPECTATION OF SAFETY. PLEASE, FORD MOTOR COMPANY NEEDS TO ISSUE A FULL, MANDATORY RECALL OF THIS CAR IN ORDER TO GET THIS ISSUE FIXED BEFORE SOMEONE FACES A SEVERE INJURY OR DEATH AS A RESULT OF THIS ISSUE. IF I WAS IN FRONT OF A TRUCK THAT WASN'T PAYING ATTENTION, I COULD HAVE BEEN KILLED.

View Details

ENGINE

4/23/2015 - LONG BEACH, CA
VEHICLE LOST DRIVETRAIN POWER ON THE FREEWAY. I WENT TO ACCELERATE IN VERY HEAVY TRAFFIC, AND THE ENGINE REVVED WITHOUT MOVING FORWARD (SIMILAR TO SOMEONE DEPRESSING THE CLUTCH AND ACCELERATING). SHIFTED THE CAR INTO NEUTRAL, BACK INTO DRIVE IN ORDER TO JOG THE TRANSMISSION INTO OPERATION, THAT DID NOT WORK. I SHIFTED INTO THE 'SPORT' MODE IN THE TRANSMISSION THINKING THAT WOULD HELP, THAT DIDN'T WORK. I HAD ENOUGH FORWARD MOMENTUM TO GET THE CAR TO THE SHOULDER AND CALL FOR A TOW, BUT OVERALL, THE CAR WOULD NOT TRAVEL UNDER IT'S OWN POWER. AT THIS POINT, I AM QUITE CONCERNED THAT I OWN THIS CAR, AND IT'S NOT SAFE TO DRIVE. ONCE IT'S FIXED, I AM STILL QUITE CONCERNED THAT I'VE OWNED THIS CAR FOR 2 YEARS, AND IT'S BEEN IN THE SHOP BETWEEN 8 - 10 INDIVIDUAL INCIDENTS. I AM CONCERNED THAT I CANNOT PUT MYSELF OR MY FAMILY INSIDE THIS CAR WITH ANY REASONABLE EXPECTATION OF SAFETY. PLEASE, FORD MOTOR COMPANY NEEDS TO ISSUE A FULL, MANDATORY RECALL OF THIS CAR IN ORDER TO GET THIS ISSUE FIXED BEFORE SOMEONE FACES A SEVERE INJURY OR DEATH AS A RESULT OF THIS ISSUE. IF I WAS IN FRONT OF A TRUCK THAT WASN'T PAYING ATTENTION, I COULD HAVE BEEN KILLED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/23/2015 - LONG BEACH, CA
VEHICLE LOST DRIVETRAIN POWER ON THE FREEWAY. I WENT TO ACCELERATE IN VERY HEAVY TRAFFIC, AND THE ENGINE REVVED WITHOUT MOVING FORWARD (SIMILAR TO SOMEONE DEPRESSING THE CLUTCH AND ACCELERATING). SHIFTED THE CAR INTO NEUTRAL, BACK INTO DRIVE IN ORDER TO JOG THE TRANSMISSION INTO OPERATION, THAT DID NOT WORK. I SHIFTED INTO THE 'SPORT' MODE IN THE TRANSMISSION THINKING THAT WOULD HELP, THAT DIDN'T WORK. I HAD ENOUGH FORWARD MOMENTUM TO GET THE CAR TO THE SHOULDER AND CALL FOR A TOW, BUT OVERALL, THE CAR WOULD NOT TRAVEL UNDER IT'S OWN POWER. AT THIS POINT, I AM QUITE CONCERNED THAT I OWN THIS CAR, AND IT'S NOT SAFE TO DRIVE. ONCE IT'S FIXED, I AM STILL QUITE CONCERNED THAT I'VE OWNED THIS CAR FOR 2 YEARS, AND IT'S BEEN IN THE SHOP BETWEEN 8 - 10 INDIVIDUAL INCIDENTS. I AM CONCERNED THAT I CANNOT PUT MYSELF OR MY FAMILY INSIDE THIS CAR WITH ANY REASONABLE EXPECTATION OF SAFETY. PLEASE, FORD MOTOR COMPANY NEEDS TO ISSUE A FULL, MANDATORY RECALL OF THIS CAR IN ORDER TO GET THIS ISSUE FIXED BEFORE SOMEONE FACES A SEVERE INJURY OR DEATH AS A RESULT OF THIS ISSUE. IF I WAS IN FRONT OF A TRUCK THAT WASN'T PAYING ATTENTION, I COULD HAVE BEEN KILLED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/22/2015 - COOK, MN
PRIOR TO THIS INCIDENT I HAD BROUGHT THE CAR INTO THE SHOP TWICE WITH COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE TRANSMISSION SHUTTERING IN REVERSE AND SLOW SPEEDS. ON JANUARY 18, 2014 WHEN LEAVING A DRUG STORE TO RETURN TO OUR HOTEL THE CAR WOULD NOT GO IN REVERSE, WE HAD TO PUT THE CAR IN NEUTRAL AND PUSH IT OUT OF THE PARKING SPACE. BEING A SATURDAY NIGHT AND 180 MILES FROM HOME WE HAD NO OPTION TO BRING IT IN TO A LOCAL SHOP. MY HUSBAND AND SON WERE TRAVELING TO COLORADO SO THEY TOOK THE HOTEL SHUTTLE TO THE AIRPORT EARLY SUNDAY MORNING AND I HAD A FAMILY MEMBER FOLLOW ME IN THE CAR THE 180 MILES BACK TO OUR LOCAL DEALERSHIP. THE DASH HAD NO WARNING LIGHTS ON AT THAT POINT OF THE TRIP. WHEN DRIVING THE CAR IT WOULD SHUDDER AT LOW SPEEDS, BUT DID OK AROUND 60MPH. ABOUT 1 MILE FROM THE DEALERSHIP THE SERVICE TRANSMISSION LIGHT CAME ON WHILE STOPPED AT AN INTERSECTION. WHEN I WENT TO ACCELERATE AT THE GREEN LIGHT IT NEARLY DIED- THE RPMS BLASTED BUT THE CAR HAD NO POWER. I BARELY MADE IT THROUGH THE INTERSECTION AND TO MY NEXT TURN. THE CAR LOST ALL POWER ABOUT 1/4 MILE FROM THE DEALERSHIP. I HAD TO PUSH THE VEHICLE ONTO THE SHOULDER AND HAVE IT TOWED TO THE SHOP. THE SEALS IN THE TRANSMISSION HAD LEAKED AND TOASTED THE TRANNY AND I HAD TO HAVE THE TRANNY REBUILT. THE ENTIRE PROCESS TOOK ALMOST A MONTH. STARTED TO HAVE SIMILAR PROBLEMS A FEW WEEKS AGO, BROUGHT IT BACK INTO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAID THE SEALS ARE LEAKING AGAIN AND IT'S JUST A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE MY TRANNY GOES BUT THAT IT WILL BE ABOUT 12 WEEKS FOR THEM TO GET THE PARTS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/22/2015 - MONTGOMERY, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TRANSMISSION STOPPED SHIFTING OUT OF THIRD GEAR AND THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO ACCELERATE AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THE TRANSMISSION WAS REPROGRAMMED. THE REPAIR FAILED TO REMEDY THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO SHUTTER. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 55,000.

View Details

STEERING

4/20/2015 - ELYRIA, OH
AS I WAS BACKING OUT OF A DRIVEWAY MY POWER STEERING FAILED. HAD TO HAVE MY CAR TOWED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/20/2015 - BOSTON, MA
2012 FORD FOCUS. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE TRANSMISSION ASSEMBLY PROBLEMS. THE CONSUMER EXPERIENCED AN INTERMITTENT LOSS OF TRANSMISSION ENGAGEMENT WHILE DRIVING. THE CONSUMER RECEVIED A LETTER FROM FORD, WARNING HER OF THE PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

4/15/2015 - ALBUQUERQUE, NM
I WAS DRIVING AT A STEADY SPEED OF 40 MPH ON A FLAT ROAD. I WAS GRADUALLY SLOWING DOWN AS I WAS COMING TOWARDS AN INTERSECTION AND GRADUALLY APPLYING THE BRAKE. THE CAR WAS GOING AT ABOUT 10 MPH AND THEN I ATTEMPTED TO ACCELERATE AS I WAS ABOUT TO DRIVE ON PASS THE INTERSECTION. HOWEVER, THE CAR SUDDENLY LOST POWER COMPLETELY AND IT COULD NOT ACCELERATE AT ALL. I WAS STUCK ON THE ROAD. I REPEATEDLY PRESSED ON THE GAS PEDAL TO ATTEMPT ACCELERATING A FEW MORE TIMES AND THE CAR JUST WOULD NOT MOVE. EACH TIME I PRESS THE GAS PEDAL, I HEARD A LOUD NOISE COMING FROM THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE BUT THE CAR DIDN'T MOVE. THE ENGINE CONTINUED TO REMAIN RUNNING AND BOTH WARNING INDICATOR AND TRACTION LIGHT SUDDENLY CAME ON. I HAD TO SHUT OFF THE ENGINE BY TURNING THE KEY, AND ATTEMPTED TO RESTART THE CAR, BOTH THE WARNING INDICATOR LIGHT AND THE TRACTION LIGHT WENT AWAY AND THE CAR SEEMED TO BEHAVE LIKE NORMAL AS I COULD MOVE MY CAR AGAIN. I THEN TOOK THE CAR TO THE FORD DEALER TO INVESTIGATE THE CAUSE, BUT THE TECHNICIAN SAID THAT THERE WERE ERROR CODES WITHIN THE ABS MODULE BUT THEY COULD NOT EXPLAIN OR FIGURE OUT WHY THE ABS MODULE WOULD SUDDENLY STALL THE CAR. ALL THEY DID WAS TO CLEAR THE CODE IN THE ABS MODULE, BUT THAT DOES NOT APPEAR TO SOLVE THE UNDERLYING PROBLEM. PLUS, THERE WAS NO ASSURANCE THAT THIS PROBLEM WOULD NOT HAPPEN AGAIN. SUDDEN LOST OF POWER CAN LEAD TO EXTREMELY DANGEROUS SITUATION AND I EARNESTLY NHTSA COULD TAKE ACTION TO THIS INVESTIGATION TO IMPROVE SAFETY FOR ME AND FOR OTHERS DRIVING THE SAME CAR MODEL.

View Details

STEERING

4/15/2015 - HOUSTON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE POWER STEERING FAILED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE STEERING RACK WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 56,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 110
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds