Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2012 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 800 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (18) Equipment (2) Parking Brake (2) Steering (130) Unknown Or Other (46)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (452) Structure (34) Vehicle Speed Control (81)
Electrical System (91) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (10) Suspension (13) Visibility (13)
Electronic Stability Control (16) Fuel Propulsion System (35) Seats (4) Tires (7) Visibility Wiper (10)
Engine (146) Fuel System Gasoline (11) Service Brakes (20) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (10)
Engine And Engine Cooling (17) Latches Locks Linkages (8) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 119
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

6/22/2015 - LOS ANGELES, CA
ELECTRONIC POWER-ASSISTED STEERING (EPAS) FAILURE DUE TO RACK-AND-PINION STEERING DEFECT. REQUIRED TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE RACK-AND-PINION MODULE, WHICH COST $1,700, DUE TO THE FACT THAT THIS WIDELY KNOWN AND DANGEROUS DEFECT HAS NOT BEEN ACKNOWLEDGED OR RECALLED BY FORD AND MY VEHICLE IS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN: CLUTCH ASSEMBLY

6/22/2015 - WICHITA, KS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE WHILE THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE GEAR SHIFTER FAILED TO MOVE FROM PARK INTO NEUTRAL. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE CLUTCH NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 107,000.

View Details

STEERING

6/18/2015 - CLARKSVILLE, TN
MY SON WAS DRIVING HIS 2012 FORD FOCUS SE, WHEN THE STEERING ASSIST SERVICE LIGHT CAME ON AND HE LOST STEERING. HE PULLED OFF THE ROAD WITH NO INCIDENT. THE DEALERSHIP SAID THAT IT IS A BAD STEERING RACK, $1500.00

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/18/2015 - NEW BEDFORD, MA
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2012 FORD FOCUS. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 2 MPH AND ATTEMPTING TO PARK, THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED UNINTENDED ACCELERATION AND DROVE OVER THE SIDEWALK AND CRASHED INTO A WALL. NO WARNING INDICATORS WERE ILLUMINATED. IT WAS UNKNOWN IF ANY INJURIES WERE SUSTAINED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS INFORMED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 25,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/18/2015 - GREENVILLE, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE LOST ACCELERATION. THE CONTACT HAD TO SHIFT INTO PARK IN ORDER TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION CONTROL MODULE FAILED. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE TRANSMISSION CONTROL MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPROGRAMMED. THE FAILURE RECURRED ONCE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 51,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/18/2015 - PAYNESVILLE, MN
VEHICLE LEAKS COOLANT AFTER BEING PARKED IN GARAGE FOR NO REASON. NOTICED THIS PROBLEM WHEN LEAVING AND FINDING A HUGE PUDDLE UNDER CAR AND DRIP SPOTS FROM MOVING THE CAR. WHEN I OPENED THE HOOD THE COOLING RESERVOIR WAS EMPTY.

View Details

STEERING

6/17/2015 - COVINGTON, KY
THIS IS THE SECOND TIME IN 2 MONTHS THAT I'VE HAD PROBLEMS WITH THIS CAR'S TRANSMISSION. NOT ONLY DOES IT STUTTER WHEN SHIFTING AND TAKE TIME TO ACCELERATE, BUT NOW THE TRANSMISSION IS NOT WORKING. IN APRIL, THE CAR COMPLETELY STOPPED ACCELERATING, ALMOST RESULTING IN A CRASH ON THE HIGHWAY. THE DEALERSHIP DIAGNOSED IT AS A TRANSMISSION CENSOR AND COST WAS PAID OUT OF POCKET. THIS TIME, THE CAR BEGAN JERKING AND THE TRANSMISSION LIGHT FLASHED. I DROVE THE CAR HOME AND BECAUSE OF THE VIOLENT JERKING ALMOST WRECKED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. I AM TAKING IT TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR REPAIRS TODAY. CONSIDERING THIS CAR IS ONLY 3 YEARS OLD, IT SHOULD NOT BE HAVING ANY OF THESE PROBLEMS AND I CONSIDER IT UNRELIABLE AND A HAZARD TO MY FAMILY AND OTHER DRIVERS ON THE ROAD.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/17/2015 - COVINGTON, KY
THIS IS THE SECOND TIME IN 2 MONTHS THAT I'VE HAD PROBLEMS WITH THIS CAR'S TRANSMISSION. NOT ONLY DOES IT STUTTER WHEN SHIFTING AND TAKE TIME TO ACCELERATE, BUT NOW THE TRANSMISSION IS NOT WORKING. IN APRIL, THE CAR COMPLETELY STOPPED ACCELERATING, ALMOST RESULTING IN A CRASH ON THE HIGHWAY. THE DEALERSHIP DIAGNOSED IT AS A TRANSMISSION CENSOR AND COST WAS PAID OUT OF POCKET. THIS TIME, THE CAR BEGAN JERKING AND THE TRANSMISSION LIGHT FLASHED. I DROVE THE CAR HOME AND BECAUSE OF THE VIOLENT JERKING ALMOST WRECKED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. I AM TAKING IT TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR REPAIRS TODAY. CONSIDERING THIS CAR IS ONLY 3 YEARS OLD, IT SHOULD NOT BE HAVING ANY OF THESE PROBLEMS AND I CONSIDER IT UNRELIABLE AND A HAZARD TO MY FAMILY AND OTHER DRIVERS ON THE ROAD.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/17/2015 - COVINGTON, KY
THIS IS THE SECOND TIME IN 2 MONTHS THAT I'VE HAD PROBLEMS WITH THIS CAR'S TRANSMISSION. NOT ONLY DOES IT STUTTER WHEN SHIFTING AND TAKE TIME TO ACCELERATE, BUT NOW THE TRANSMISSION IS NOT WORKING. IN APRIL, THE CAR COMPLETELY STOPPED ACCELERATING, ALMOST RESULTING IN A CRASH ON THE HIGHWAY. THE DEALERSHIP DIAGNOSED IT AS A TRANSMISSION CENSOR AND COST WAS PAID OUT OF POCKET. THIS TIME, THE CAR BEGAN JERKING AND THE TRANSMISSION LIGHT FLASHED. I DROVE THE CAR HOME AND BECAUSE OF THE VIOLENT JERKING ALMOST WRECKED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. I AM TAKING IT TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR REPAIRS TODAY. CONSIDERING THIS CAR IS ONLY 3 YEARS OLD, IT SHOULD NOT BE HAVING ANY OF THESE PROBLEMS AND I CONSIDER IT UNRELIABLE AND A HAZARD TO MY FAMILY AND OTHER DRIVERS ON THE ROAD.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/17/2015 - SHELBY TOWNSHIP, MI
CAR LOST TOTAL ABILITY TO ACCELERATE, AS IF IT SLIPPED INTO NEUTRAL. I WAS ATTEMPTING TO GET INTO THE PASSING LANE. THE TRANSMISSION FAILED TO SHIFT BUT WENT INTO A STATE THAT APPEARED TO BE NEUTRAL. THE RPMS WENT THROUGH THE ROOF AND THE CAR WAS SUDDENLY DECELERATING AS I WAS TRYING TO MERGE INTO THE PASSING LANE, A LARGE TRUCK LITERALLY ALMOST COLLIDED WITH MY REAR END AS THE EVENT WAS SO SPONTANEOUS THAT I HAD LITTLE ABILITY OR EXPERIENCE IN DEALING WITH SUCH A SITUATION. PULLED OVER TO COLLECT MY WITS, SHUT THE CAR OFF AND PROCEEDED ON AFTER A WHILE. THE CAR WAS TAKEN TO FORD DEALERSHIP , RUSS MILNE IN MACOMB MI, THEY TOLD ME THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO WITHOUT BEING ABLE TO REPLICATE THE EVENT. ITS OBVIOUS FORD KNOWS OF THIS PROBLEM YET THE DEALERSHIP SENDS ME BACK ON THE ROAD WITH A KNOWN FAULTY TRANSMISSION. WOULD NOT SELL THIS CAR TO SOMEONE ELSE (DONT WANT THAT ON MY HEAD) AND TOO LITTLE EQUITY TO TRADE-IN (WHO WOULD TAKE IT ANYWAYS). FORD IS PLAYING WITH A TICKING TIME-BOMB.. SOMEONE WILL GET KILLED BECAUSE OF THIS. I NOW STAY IN THE SLOW LANE.. DONT TRY TO PASS AND JUST PRAY. NO $$ TO BUY A NEW CAR AND I HAVE TO DRIVE THIS THING TO KEEP MY JOB/HOUSE/FOOD/CLOTHING. TRAPPED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 119
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds