Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2012 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1895 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (31) Equipment (4) Parking Brake (2) Steering (374) Unknown Or Other (170)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (756) Structure (285) Vehicle Speed Control (114)
Electrical System (178) Exterior Lighting (9) Seat Belts (24) Suspension (18) Visibility (19)
Electronic Stability Control (23) Fuel Propulsion System (71) Seats (7) Tires (9) Visibility Wiper (22)
Engine (217) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Service Brakes (30) Traction Control System (4) Wheels (15)
Engine And Engine Cooling (20) Latches Locks Linkages (97) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 251
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

3/17/2017 - PORT ORCHARD, WA
THE ELECTRIC POWER STEERING UNIT IS DEFECTIVE. MY DAUGHTER WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY. IT BEGAN MAKING A GRINDING NOISE WHILE DRIVING AND MINUTES LATER AFTER PULLING OFF THE HIGHWAY IT STARTED LOCKING UP WHERE IT WOULD NOT TURN. MY DAUGHTER WAS ABLE TO JIGGLE IT BACK AND FORTH TO MAKE IT STEER INTO HER WORKS PARKING LOT. STEERING FAILURE LIGHT CAME ON AND SAID TO SAFELY STOP. I HAD TO TRAILER IT A MECHANIC SHOP BECAUSE IT WOULD NOT TURN. MECHANIC AND HAD TO REPLACE ENTIRE ELECTRIC STEERING RACK ($1947.74).

View Details

STEERING

3/16/2017 - WILSONVILLE, OR
I WENT TO START UP MY 2012 FORD FOCUS TO DRIVE MY SON TO SCHOOL, AND AS IT TURNED OVER I RECEIVED A MESSAGE ON MY DASHBOARD SAYING THERE WAS A PROBLEM WITH THE STEERING ASSIST MODULE AND THAT IT NEEDED SERVICE IMMEDIATELY. I STILL HAD TO DRIVE MY SON INTO SCHOOL, SO I HAD TO DRIVE MY FOCUS IN TRAFFIC WITH NO POWER STEERING. THE CAR WAS VERY HARD TO STEER AND FORTUNATELY I MADE IT OK. LATER, WHEN I WENT TO LEAVE FOR WORK, THERE WAS NO MESSAGE AND IT HAS BEEN FINE THE REST OF THE DAY. THIS SEEMS VERY DANGEROUS TO ME. WHY IS THERE NO FIX OR RECALL ON THIS?

View Details

STEERING

3/15/2017 - WAHIAWA, HI
THE POWER ASSIST FAULT KEEPS COMING ON AND THE STEERING WHEEL IS HARD TO TURN WHEN STATIONARY AND WHEN YOU TRY TO TURN.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/15/2017 - FARMINGTON, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. AFTER STOPPING AT AN INTERSECTION, THE ENGINE TURNED OFF. THE CONTACT HAD TO START THE ENGINE IN ORDER TO CONTINUE DRIVING. THE CHECK ENGINE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AFTER THE FAILURE. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL TANK WAS DEFORMED, WHICH AFFECTED THE FUEL PUMP AND FUEL LINE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 80,000.

View Details

STEERING

3/14/2017 - SACRAMENTO, CA
STEERING FAULT LIGHT AND LOCKED STEERING WHEEL - RECURRING IN MY DRIVEWAY, UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE & FIX - WHAT IF IT HAPPENS ON THE FREEWAY?

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/7/2017 - PALM BEACH, FL
MARCH 1, 2017 CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AFTER CAR STALLED, IDLE WOULD INCREASE AND THEN DECREASE AND THEN DIE. MADE APPOINTMENT AT FORD DEALER IN LAKE WORTH, FL. HAD TO LEAVE VEHICLE. AT SAME TIME 3 RECALLS SUPPOSEDLY FIXED. I WAS TOLD FUEL LEAK IN GAS TANK, THAT IS GOING THROUGH A HOSE INTO AREAS IT SHOULD NOT GO, CAUSING READINGS TO CAUSE STALLING AND CHECK ENGINE LIGHT. I WAS TOLD I NEEDED NEW FUEL TANK, SENDERA?, GASKET, TUBE ASY FOR APPROX. $1,300 THEN $500 FOR LABOR FOR TOTAL OF $1,800. NEVER HEARD OF SUCH AS THIS EXCEPT IN VEHICLES OVER 20 YEARS OLD OR FROM ACCIDENTS. VEHICLE HAS APPROX. 90,000 MILES. FIRST INCIDENT OCCURRED AS I WAS ACCELERATING FROM A TRAFFIC LIGHT ON A CITY STREET, OTHER TIMES WERE SIMILAR OR STOPPED OR RIDING ON INTERSTATE HWY, IT WOULD JUST STALL.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/6/2017 - MADISON, MS
INCIDENT DESCRIPTION: ENGINE STOPPED AND WITHOUT WARNING WHILE THE TRANSMISSION WAS IN DRIVE. ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AS THE ENGINE CEASED RUNNING. IT HAPPENED WHILE THE CAR WAS IN MOTION, THANKFULLY APPROACHING STOP SIGN. UNDERSTAND THAT THIS ALSO RESULTS IN THE LOSS OF POWER STEERING. THE CAR IS REGULARLY SERVICED, WELL-MAINTAINED, AND HAS APPROX. 94,000 MILES. VERDICT FROM FORD DEALERSHIP MECHANIC: VACUUM PURGE VALVE WAS STUCK IN THE OPEN POSITION. THE VACUUM FORCE THAT RESULTED DAMAGED/WARPED FUEL TANK, AND DAMAGED THE FUEL PUMP. THE PURGE VALVE, FUEL TANK, AND FUEL PUMP ALL MUST BE REPLACED. COST: THE COST OF REPAIRS IS OVER $2000, PLUS TOWING THE CAR, AND THE NEED FOR MY FAMILY TO GET A RENTAL VEHICLE FOR A WEEK. MISC: THERE IS NO RECALL FOR THIS ITEM AND THIS COULD PROVE EXCEPTIONALLY DANGEROUS IF IT OCCURRED ON A HIGHWAY ESPECIALLY SINCE YOU LOSE POWER STEERING WHEN THE ENGINE DIES SUDDENLY.

View Details

ENGINE

3/6/2017 - MADISON, MS
INCIDENT DESCRIPTION: ENGINE STOPPED AND WITHOUT WARNING WHILE THE TRANSMISSION WAS IN DRIVE. ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AS THE ENGINE CEASED RUNNING. IT HAPPENED WHILE THE CAR WAS IN MOTION, THANKFULLY APPROACHING STOP SIGN. UNDERSTAND THAT THIS ALSO RESULTS IN THE LOSS OF POWER STEERING. THE CAR IS REGULARLY SERVICED, WELL-MAINTAINED, AND HAS APPROX. 94,000 MILES. VERDICT FROM FORD DEALERSHIP MECHANIC: VACUUM PURGE VALVE WAS STUCK IN THE OPEN POSITION. THE VACUUM FORCE THAT RESULTED DAMAGED/WARPED FUEL TANK, AND DAMAGED THE FUEL PUMP. THE PURGE VALVE, FUEL TANK, AND FUEL PUMP ALL MUST BE REPLACED. COST: THE COST OF REPAIRS IS OVER $2000, PLUS TOWING THE CAR, AND THE NEED FOR MY FAMILY TO GET A RENTAL VEHICLE FOR A WEEK. MISC: THERE IS NO RECALL FOR THIS ITEM AND THIS COULD PROVE EXCEPTIONALLY DANGEROUS IF IT OCCURRED ON A HIGHWAY ESPECIALLY SINCE YOU LOSE POWER STEERING WHEN THE ENGINE DIES SUDDENLY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/3/2017 - GRANDVIEW, WA
I WAS DRIVING TO GET ON THE FREEWAY AND AS I TRIED TO ACCELERATE IT WOULD NOT GO ANY HIGHER IN SPEED OF 25MPH AND THEN IT SPEEDS UP DRASTICALLY. I PARKED IT AND LATER THAT DAY CAR WOULD NOT START AFTER 15 MINUTES CAR TURNED ON WITHOUT PROBLEMS THEN I DROVE IT HOME AND PARKED IT AND DOESN'T TURN ON AT ALL. PUT IN NEW BATTERY BUT CAR STILL WOULD NOT TURN ON ON COMPUTER SCREEN SAYS TO CONTACT MANUFACTURE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/3/2017 - GRANDVIEW, WA
I WAS DRIVING TO GET ON THE FREEWAY AND AS I TRIED TO ACCELERATE IT WOULD NOT GO ANY HIGHER IN SPEED OF 25MPH AND THEN IT SPEEDS UP DRASTICALLY. I PARKED IT AND LATER THAT DAY CAR WOULD NOT START AFTER 15 MINUTES CAR TURNED ON WITHOUT PROBLEMS THEN I DROVE IT HOME AND PARKED IT AND DOESN'T TURN ON AT ALL. PUT IN NEW BATTERY BUT CAR STILL WOULD NOT TURN ON ON COMPUTER SCREEN SAYS TO CONTACT MANUFACTURE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 251
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds