Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2012 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 614 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Equipment (2) Parking Brake (2) Steering (86) Unknown Or Other (39)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (341) Structure (27) Vehicle Speed Control (62)
Electrical System (68) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (8) Suspension (12) Visibility (8)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Fuel Propulsion System (36) Seats (4) Tires (7) Visibility Wiper (9)
Engine (116) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Service Brakes (20) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (9)
Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 92
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/24/2014 - WINCHESTER, KY
THE CAR GOES INTO NEAUTRAL WITH NO WARNING LOOSE ALL POWER AND THREE MONTHS LATER IT DOES NOT GO INTO REVERSE AND LOST GEARS WE HAD TO PAY OUT OF POCKET SOMEONE GOING TO GET HURT THIS CAR NEEDS A RECALL ON TRANSMISSION BEFORE SOMEONE GETS HURT BAD THERE IS SO MANY COMPLAINTS ON TRANSMISSION

View Details

ENGINE

11/24/2014 - WINCHESTER, KY
THE CAR GOES INTO NEAUTRAL WITH NO WARNING LOOSE ALL POWER AND THREE MONTHS LATER IT DOES NOT GO INTO REVERSE AND LOST GEARS WE HAD TO PAY OUT OF POCKET SOMEONE GOING TO GET HURT THIS CAR NEEDS A RECALL ON TRANSMISSION BEFORE SOMEONE GETS HURT BAD THERE IS SO MANY COMPLAINTS ON TRANSMISSION

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/24/2014 - WINCHESTER, KY
THE CAR GOES INTO NEAUTRAL WITH NO WARNING LOOSE ALL POWER AND THREE MONTHS LATER IT DOES NOT GO INTO REVERSE AND LOST GEARS WE HAD TO PAY OUT OF POCKET SOMEONE GOING TO GET HURT THIS CAR NEEDS A RECALL ON TRANSMISSION BEFORE SOMEONE GETS HURT BAD THERE IS SO MANY COMPLAINTS ON TRANSMISSION

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/20/2014 - EVANSVILLE, IN
PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE USED FROM FORD/NISSAN DEALER. TRANSMISSION MAKES GRINDING NOISE CONSTANTLY. DEALER SAYS THIS IS "NORMAL AND WITHIN SPECS" WHICH IS HARD TO BELIEVE. I CAN PROBABLY LIVE WITH THE NOISE FACTOR BUT CAR SHIFTING IS ALSO ERRATIC AND JERKY. WHEN MERGING INTO TRAFFIC AND SPEEDING UP CAR WILL "BOG DOWN" BEFORE UPSHIFTING TO FASTER GEAR AND THEN MAKES HIGH REVING SOUND. PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE TO REPLACE OUR FAMILIES SECOND VEHICLE AND WAS ALSO TO BE USED BY MY DAUGHTER. DON'T FEEL SAFE HAVING HER DRIVE THIS. DRIVING SAFELY IN TODAYS WORLD IS ALREADY A CHALLENGE BUT WHEN YOU HAVE TO ALSO ADJUST YOUR DRIVING AND SITUATIONAL THINKING TO COMPENSATE FOR THIS VEHICLES ABNORMALITIES, IT MAKES THIS FORD FOCUS AN ACCIDENT WAITING TO HAPPEN. VERY DISAPPOINTED WITH THIS VEHICLE AND VERY HARD TO BELIEVE THAT THIS WAS DESIGNED TO PERFORM THIS WAY AND THAT FORD HAS NO FIX OR REVISION TO CORRECT THIS ISSUE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/20/2014 - STERLING, VA
I HAVE BEEN EXPERIENCING INCREASING HESITATING AND SHUDDERING FROM MY TRANSMISSION WHEN ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE. AT TIMES, I HAVE EXPERIENCED HIGH ENGINE REVS WITH VERY LITTLE POWER TO THE WHEELS. I CAN NO LONGER RELY ON THE TRANSMISSION TO DELIVER THE ENGINE POWER TO THE WHEELS WHEN I NEED IT. I HAVE HAD SEVERAL INCIDENTS WHERE I'VE EXPERIENCED LOSS OF POWER WHEN ATTEMPTING TO MANEUVER THE VEHICLE INTO THE FLOW OF TRAFFIC. THIS PRESENTS A VERY REAL SAFETY HAZARD TO THE DRIVER. I WENT TO MY DEALERSHIP IN RESPONSE TO THE LETTER FROM FORD AND WAS TOLD THAT THE PARTS ARE ON NATIONAL BACK-ORDER. I WAS TOLD THAT THIS WAS NOT A SAFETY ISSUE AND WOULD NEED TO CONTINUE TO DRIVE MY VEHICLE UNTIL PARTS WERE AVAILABLE. AT THIS POINT, I HAVE PARKED THE CAR AND HAVE MADE OTHER ARRANGEMENTS UNTIL I CAN GET IT SERVICED. FORD MUST OWN UP TO THE FACT THAT THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE AND ISSUE A FACTORY RECALL.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/20/2014 - JIM THORPE, PA
WHILE DRIVING, THE VEHICLE LOSES POWER. THE ENGINE IS RUNNING, BUT THERE IS NO POWER TO THE DRIVETRAIN. THERE IS NO REVVING û JUST A LOSS OF POWER. THE FIRST TIME THIS HAPPENED, IT WAS ALONG A BACK ROAD. THERE WAS NO WARNING, THE CAR JUST STARTED SLOWING DOWN. MY DAUGHTER BRAKED AND CAME TO A STOP û THANKFULLY AS THERE WAS NO TRAFFIC. SHE PUT THE CAR IN PARK, THEN BACK INTO DRIVE. THE CAR WENT INTO REVERSE. SHE PUT IT BACK IN PARK THEN TRIED DRIVE AGAIN AND THIS TIME IT DID GO BACK INTO DRIVE. SHE WAS THEN ABLE TO MOVE FORWARD UNDER POWER. THE VEHICLE WORKED FINE FOR THE NEXT WEEK. THE SECOND TIME IT HAPPENED WAS IN THE EVENING. AGAIN, THE CAR JUST STARTED TO LOSE POWER. IT WOULD NOT GO OVER 45 MPH AND SHE HAD TO PULL TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. SHE STOPPED AND A FRIENDÆS DAD CAME TO HELP. HE GOT IT MOVING FORWARD FOR ABOUT 1.5 MILES; THEN THE ôCHECK ENGINEö LIGHT CAME ON AND THE D ON THE DASHBOARD FLASHED RED. THEN THE CAR STOPPED COMPLETELY. HE PUT IT IN PARK AND TURNED THE VEHICLE OFF. HE WAITED A FEW SECONDS AND TRIED TO TURN THE CAR ON. IT WOULD NOT TURN OVER, THERE WAS NOTHING. SINCE THIS WAS AT NIGHT, WE HAD TO LEAVE THE VEHICLE WHERE IT WAS. THE NEXT MORNING, WHILE WAITING FOR THE TOW TRUCK, I DECIDED TO TRY AND START IT. IT DID START. THE "CHECK ENGINE" LIGHT WAS OFF AND THERE WAS NO OTHER WARNINGS FLASHING. IT WAS LIKE IT CLEARED ITSELF. I PUT THE CAR IN DRIVE AND THE CAR MOVED FORWARD AS IF NOTHING WAS WRONG. I HAD IT TOWED TO THE FORD DEALERSHIP IN CASE THIS PROBLEM WAS RELATED TO THE OTHER TRANSMISSION ISSUES. I EXPLAINED WHAT HAPPENED AND THEY SAID THEY WOULD TRY TO REPLICATE THE PROBLEM. ACCORDING TO THE TECHNICIAN SINCE THE ôCHECK ENGINEö LIGHT WAS NO LONGER LIT, AND ALTHOUGH THEY PUT IT ON THE COMPUTER, THE CODES THAT WERE THERE LED THEM NOWHERE. THEY CLEARED THE CODES AND TRIED FOR ANOTHER DAY TO NO AVAIL.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/19/2014 - GILBERT, AZ
CAR IS SHUDDERING, VIBRATING, ROLLING BACKWARDS ON INCLINES, STUTTERING BAD GAS MILEAGE AT LOW SPEEDS BETWEEN 0 AND 20 MILES PER HOUR. THE CAR HAS BEEN IN 4 TIMES TO THE DEALER BEGINNING ON 5/3/12 THROUGH 11/14/13 IT HAS BEEN REPROGRAMMED 3 TIMES AND A NEW TRANSMISSION REPLACED IT WHICH HAS SOLVED THE PROBLEM TEMPORARILY BUT STARTS HAPPENING AGAIN. WHEN DRIVING IN OR PULLING OUT INTO TRAFFIC BECAUSE THE CAR EITHER HESITATES SO BAD OR JUST WONT MOVE FOR A FEW SECONDS. NEEDLESS TO SAY THERE HAVE BEEN MANY CLOSE CALLS. THE DEALER HAS BEEN PROACTIVE IN WORKING WITH ME HOWEVER THIS IS NOT A DEALER ISSUE THIS IS A MANUFACTURERS ISSUES.

View Details

STEERING

11/19/2014 - GILBERT, AZ
CAR IS SHUDDERING, VIBRATING, ROLLING BACKWARDS ON INCLINES, STUTTERING BAD GAS MILEAGE AT LOW SPEEDS BETWEEN 0 AND 20 MILES PER HOUR. THE CAR HAS BEEN IN 4 TIMES TO THE DEALER BEGINNING ON 5/3/12 THROUGH 11/14/13 IT HAS BEEN REPROGRAMMED 3 TIMES AND A NEW TRANSMISSION REPLACED IT WHICH HAS SOLVED THE PROBLEM TEMPORARILY BUT STARTS HAPPENING AGAIN. WHEN DRIVING IN OR PULLING OUT INTO TRAFFIC BECAUSE THE CAR EITHER HESITATES SO BAD OR JUST WONT MOVE FOR A FEW SECONDS. NEEDLESS TO SAY THERE HAVE BEEN MANY CLOSE CALLS. THE DEALER HAS BEEN PROACTIVE IN WORKING WITH ME HOWEVER THIS IS NOT A DEALER ISSUE THIS IS A MANUFACTURERS ISSUES.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/19/2014 - GILBERT, AZ
CAR IS SHUDDERING, VIBRATING, ROLLING BACKWARDS ON INCLINES, STUTTERING BAD GAS MILEAGE AT LOW SPEEDS BETWEEN 0 AND 20 MILES PER HOUR. THE CAR HAS BEEN IN 4 TIMES TO THE DEALER BEGINNING ON 5/3/12 THROUGH 11/14/13 IT HAS BEEN REPROGRAMMED 3 TIMES AND A NEW TRANSMISSION REPLACED IT WHICH HAS SOLVED THE PROBLEM TEMPORARILY BUT STARTS HAPPENING AGAIN. WHEN DRIVING IN OR PULLING OUT INTO TRAFFIC BECAUSE THE CAR EITHER HESITATES SO BAD OR JUST WONT MOVE FOR A FEW SECONDS. NEEDLESS TO SAY THERE HAVE BEEN MANY CLOSE CALLS. THE DEALER HAS BEEN PROACTIVE IN WORKING WITH ME HOWEVER THIS IS NOT A DEALER ISSUE THIS IS A MANUFACTURERS ISSUES.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/19/2014 - COCOA, FL
I WAS DRIVING ON A VERY BUSY EXPRESSWAY AND MY CAR LOST THE ABILITY TO ACCELERATE. I WAS ALMOST HIT FROM BEHIND. THE CAR NOW HAS NO POWER. IT WILL NOT ACCELERATE THE WAY IT IS SUPPOSED TO. I RECEIVED A "COURTESY FIX" NOTICE FROM FORD FOR THE TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS THAT HAVE BEEN REPORTED. THE PROBLEM THAT I HAD IS DIRECTLY RELATED TO THE FAULTY TRANSMISSION IN THESE CARS. I WAS TOLD BY THE DEALERSHIP THAT MY CAR COULD NOT BE REPAIRED FOR AT LEAST 3 WEEKS AS THE PARTS ARE ON BACK ORDER. I COMMUTE 90+ MILES PER DAY AND I CANNOT DRIVE MY CAR AND FEEL SAFE. THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 92
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds