Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2012 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 582 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Equipment (1) Parking Brake (2) Steering (77) Unknown Or Other (41)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (326) Structure (27) Vehicle Speed Control (61)
Electrical System (64) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (8) Suspension (12) Visibility (8)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Fuel Propulsion System (35) Seats (4) Tires (7) Visibility Wiper (8)
Engine (108) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes (20) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (9)
Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 87
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

10/22/2014 - BRIDGEWATER, NJ
ENGINE STALLED AND SHUTDOWN WHILE DRIVING WITH LOSS OF CONTROL. ENGINE ALSO REV'ED UP DOWN WITHOUT ACCELERATION AND DECELERATION WHILE DRIVING AND TRACTION WARNING CONTROL LIGHT CAME ON. CAR WAS DRIVEN TO NEARBY PARKING LOT WHERE IT COMPLETELY SHUTDOWN. CAR NEEDED TO BE TOWED TO DEALER, AS IT COULD NOT BE DRIVEN SAFELY. FORD DEALER IDENTIFIED THE PROBLEM AS A DTC CODE U0101 OR SIMPLY A BAD TCM(TRANSMISSION CONTROL MODULE). TCM WAS REPLACED ON THE TRANSMISSION AND PAID BY OWNER, DESPITE THIS PART BEING RECALLED BY FORD ON OTHER FORD FOCUS MODELS, AS FOLLOWS: FOCUS POWER TRAIN:AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION:CONTROL MODULE (TCM, PCM) RECALL NUMBER: 13V523000 RECALL DATE: 10/30/2013 PROBLEM SUMMARY: FORD MOTOR COMPANY (FORD) IS RECALLING CERTAIN MODEL YEAR 2012-2014 FOCUS ELECTRIC VEHICLES MANUFACTURED SEPTEMBER 15, 2011, THROUGH AUGUST 23, 2013. IN THE AFFECTED VEHICLES, A POWERTRAIN CONTROL MODULE SOFTWARE PROBLEM MAY RESULT IN A STALL-LIKE CONDITION. CONSEQUENCE: AN UNEXPECTED LOSS OF POWER WHILE DRIVING INCREASES THE RISK OF A CRASH. CORRECTIVE ACTION: FORD WILL NOTIFY OWNERS, AND DEALERS WILL REPROGRAM THE POWER CONTROL MODULE, FREE OF CHARGE. THE RECALL IS EXPECTED TO BEGIN BY LATE NOVEMBER 2013. FORD'S RECALL CAMPAIGN NUMBER IS 13S09. OWNERS MAY CONTACT FORD MOTOR COMPANY CUSTOMER RELATIONSHIP CENTER AT 1-866-436-7332. THIS RECALL AFFECTS VEHICLES MANUFACTURED BETWEEN 09/15/2011 AND 08/23/2013.

View Details

ENGINE

10/22/2014 - BEECH GROVE, IN
THE TRANSMISSION IN OUR FOCUS STUTTERS AND GRINDS WHEN SHIFTING FROM 1ST GEAR TO 2ND.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/22/2014 - BEECH GROVE, IN
THE TRANSMISSION IN OUR FOCUS STUTTERS AND GRINDS WHEN SHIFTING FROM 1ST GEAR TO 2ND.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/22/2014 - BEECH GROVE, IN
THE TRANSMISSION IN OUR FOCUS STUTTERS AND GRINDS WHEN SHIFTING FROM 1ST GEAR TO 2ND.

View Details

ENGINE

10/17/2014 - WESTMINSTER, CO
WAS PARKING CAR WHEN SUDDENLY IT LUNGED FORWARD AT A FAST SPEED, I LOST CONTROL AND HIT CAR IN FRONT OF ME PLUS 3 OTHER CARS THEN CRASHED INTO CEMENT WALL. I HIT MY HEAD AND LEFT SIDE OF BODY ON THE DOOR, I BRUISED MY RIB CAGE FRONT & BACK PLUS MY LEFT LEG VERY BRUISED. I WAS VERY LUCKY I DIDN'T GET KILLED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/17/2014 - WESTMINSTER, CO
WAS PARKING CAR WHEN SUDDENLY IT LUNGED FORWARD AT A FAST SPEED, I LOST CONTROL AND HIT CAR IN FRONT OF ME PLUS 3 OTHER CARS THEN CRASHED INTO CEMENT WALL. I HIT MY HEAD AND LEFT SIDE OF BODY ON THE DOOR, I BRUISED MY RIB CAGE FRONT & BACK PLUS MY LEFT LEG VERY BRUISED. I WAS VERY LUCKY I DIDN'T GET KILLED.

View Details

STEERING

10/17/2014 - SAN DIEGO, CA
MY FIRST ENCOUNTER STARTED IN MARCH WITH A WARNING CONDITION INDICATING A DEFAULT IN MY STEERING ASSISTANCE ONLY WHEN I WOULD TURN ON THE IGNITION, I CALLED FORD DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD IT WOULD GO AWAY BY TURNING OF THE IGNITION AND TURNING IT BACK ON.,AND IT DID GO AWAY. NOW IN AUGUST, I WAS DRIVING ON FREEWAY AND THE WARNING LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN WHILE DRIVING AND THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME VERY HARD TO STEER, I WAS ABLE TO MAKE IT TO A SAFE STOP ON THE SHOULDER OF THE HIGHWAY. THAT WAS THE MOST SCARIEST FOR ME WHILE ON THE HIGHWAY. GOD WAS WITH ME..

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/17/2014 - FT. THOMAS, KY
WHILE DRIVING MY CAR, IT OFTEN HESITATES WHEN SHIFTING, TURNING, ACCELERATING, OR DECELERATING. I HAD IT "REPAIRED" AT A FORD DEALERSHIP, WHICH INCLUDING REPLACING THE ENTIRE CLUTCH, IN MARCH 2014. THE PROBLEM CONTINUED WITH ADDED LOUD NOISES AND GRINDING/SHUDDERING. I RETURNED IT TO A DEALERSHIP, WHERE THE CLUTCH WAS REPLACED AGAIN IN JULY 2014. THE CAR WAS FINE FOR AWHILE, BUT AFTER 200 MILES, STARTED HAVING THE SAME ISSUES AS BEFORE. THE DEALERSHIP REPLACED THE CLUTCH AGAIN IN SEPTEMBER 2014. ON MY 4TH CLUTCH, AND IT CONTINUES TO HAVE THE SAME PROBLEMS. I LACK CONFIDENCE IN FORD THAT THEY CAN FIX THE PROBLEM AND I AM CONTINUOUSLY CONCERNED THAT MY CAR MAY HAVE UNEXPECTED PROBLEMS CAUSING SERIOUS SAFETY CONCERNS.

View Details

STEERING

10/16/2014 - LA GRANGE, NC
WHILE PULLING OUT INTO THE HWY MY CAR'S DASHBOARD GAVE A MESSAGE THAT STATED STEERING ASSIST MALFUNCTION. MY CARS STEERING WHEEL BECAME TIGHT AND HARD TO TURN. I GOT MY CAR TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND TURNED IT OFF. WHEN I TURNED THE CAR BACK ON THE DASH INFORMATION STATED THAT ALL SYSTEMS WERE NORMAL. I CALLED THE FORD COMPANY WHERE I PURCHASED THE CAR FOR THE SECOND TIME AND WAS TOLD THAT IF IT HAPPENED AGAIN TO BRING THE CAR IN. I CURRENTLY LIVE 70 MILES FROM WHERE I PURCHASED MY VEHICLE AND I'M SCARED TO DRIVE IT THAT FAR. I'VE HAD SERVICE WITH THEM BEFORE AND I AM NOT VERY HAPPY WITH ANY OF THEIR SERVICE I WANT MY CAR FIXED PROPERLY AND RIGHT SO I WON'T BE AFRAID TO DRIVE IT. PLEASE HELP.

View Details

STEERING

10/14/2014 - NEWPORT NEWS, VA
ON THE WAY HOME GOING ALONG THE INTERSTATE AT THE SPEED LIMIT OF 70 MPH, MY CARS STEERING SUDDENLY CUT OUT WITHOUT WARNING. WE SAFELY MADE IT TO THE SIDE OF THE INTERSTATE IN WHICH A LIGHT POPPED UP IN MY DASH WHICH SAID STEERING LOSS STOP SAFELY. I TURNED THE CAR OFF AND THEN STARTED IT BACK AGAIN IN HOPES THAT IT WAS JUST A GLITCH, BUT THE ERROR WAS STILL THERE. BY THE GRACE OF GOD, WE MADE IT HOME SAFELY. THE FOLLOWING MORNING, I CALLED THE CORPORATE CUSTOMER RELATIONS NUMBER AT THE FORD MOTOR COMPANY AND SPOKE TO A CUSTOMER REPRESENTATIVE WHO TOLD ME THAT YES THERE ARE RECALLS ON FOCUSES OF THE SAME YEAR FOR STEERING LOSS, BUT MY VIN NUMBER DID NOT FALL UNDER THAT RECALL BECAUSE MY CAR WAS NOT MADE AT THE SAME MANUFACTURING LOCATION. HE BASICALLY ADVISED ME THAT I NEED TO CALL MY LOCAL FORD DEALER AND HAVE MY CAR SENT THERE FOR REPAIR.I THEN RECEIVED THE ACTION PLAN-+-¥ FROM THE SUPERVISOR AT FORD IN WHICH IT DISCUSSED THE RESULTS FROM THE DIAGNOSTIC TEST. ALL THE RESULTS CORRELATED WITH THE OTHER FOCUS RECALLS WHICH SPOKE OF HIGH STEERING RESISTANCE AND THE TOTAL ESTIMATED BILL OF $2,207.55. I THEN CALLED THE CUSTOMER RELATIONS BACK AT CORPORATE FORD MOTOR COMPANY, GAVE THEM MY CASE NUMBER, AND EXPRESSED THE ISSUE THAT I WAS HAVING, THE DIAGNOSIS OF THE CAR, THE CORRELATION BETWEEN MY CARS DIAGNOSIS AND THE RECALLED FORD FOCUS DIAGNOSIS; THE REPRESENTATIVE THAT I SPOKE TO THEN SAID SHE WOULD DRAFT UP SOME MORE PAPERWORK IN MY CASE AND SEND IT TO HER SUPERVISOR, BUT IT WASN'T LIKELY THAT MY CAR WOULD BE COVERED UNDER RECALL.THE INCIDENT ON THE INTERSTATE WAS ONE THAT WAS HORRIFYING, COULD HAVE CAUSED DEATH AND HAS SENT ME INTO A SPIRAL OF NON-STOP PANIC ATTACKS AND I AM UNSURE OF WHAT ALL I CAN DO. I NEED YOUR HELP TO STOP THIS FROM HAPPENING TO SOMEONE ELSE AND TO HELP US GET THE RECALL FOR SAFETY CONCERNS THAT WE SHOULD HAVE BEEN AFFORDED IN THE FIRST PLACE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 87
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds