Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2012 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1267 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (21) Equipment (4) Parking Brake (2) Steering (222) Unknown Or Other (80)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (646) Structure (116) Vehicle Speed Control (103)
Electrical System (144) Exterior Lighting (7) Seat Belts (18) Suspension (17) Visibility (17)
Electronic Stability Control (16) Fuel Propulsion System (47) Seats (5) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (15)
Engine (194) Fuel System Gasoline (11) Service Brakes (24) Traction Control System (4) Wheels (13)
Engine And Engine Cooling (20) Latches Locks Linkages (38) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 179
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/26/2016 - WASHINGTON, DC
WHILE DRIVING DOWN A RESIDENTIAL ROAD, THE DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR OPENED. I STOPPED THE VEHICLE AND ATTEMPTED TO SHUT THE DOOR. THE DOOR OPENED WITHOUT PULLING THE HANDLE. NOW THE DOOR NO LONGER CLOSES AND MUST BE HELD SHUT AT ALL TIMES BY THE DRIVER.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/25/2016 - KANEOHE BAY, HI
DRIVER SIDE DOOR WILL NOT SHUT. OPENED DOOR AND TRIED TO SHUT IT BUT WILL NOT STAY CLOSED. DRIVER SIDE DOOR SWINGS OPEN WHEN DRIVING. TOOK IT TO A FORD DEALERSHIP AND THEY HAVE HEARD OF THE PROBLEM ON MULTIPLE OCCAISIONS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/25/2016 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
AFTER BACKING OUT OF A PARKING SPOT, MY "DOOR AJAR" SIGNAL CAME ON, I REOPENED AND CLOSED AND MY DOORS AND NOTICED THAT MY DRIVER SIDE DOOR WAS NOT LATCHING. AFTER LOOKING INTO THIS PROBLEM, I'VE LEARNED THAT MANY 2012 FORD FOCUS' HAVE THIS ISSUE. THE DEALERSHIP INSISTS THAT THERE WILL NOT BE A RECALL ON THIS ISSUE, BUT I OBJECT. SOMEONE COULD HAVE BEEN SERIOUSLY HURT IN THIS INCIDENT.

View Details

STEERING

5/25/2016 - PIGGOTT, AR
ELECTRIC STEERING GEAR OUT. $1650 DOLLARS TO REPLACE AT THE DEALERSHIP. THIS IS AN ONGOING ISSUE WITH FORD'S BAD DESIGN OF ELECTRONIC STEERING. 150 PLUS COMPLAINTS WITH CRASHES AND DEATHS. THIS IS MY 20YO DAUGHTERS CAR AND THANK GOD SHE WASN'T DRIVING IT WHEN IT WENT OUT. BASICALLY A YARD ORNAMENT NOW UNTIL WE CAN AFFORD TO FIX IT. STILL MAKING THE PAYMENTS BUT NO CHANCE OF DRIVING THE HAZARD TO THE ROAD CAR.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/24/2016 - TONOPAH, AZ
THE PASSENGER FRONT DOOR WOULDN'T CLOSE ON 5/22/16 WHEN MY WIFE AND I WERE LEAVING TO DRIVE 25 MILES EAST INTO TOWN FROM OUR HOME IN TONOPAH AZ. I TAPED THE DOOR UP ON THE SAME DAY AND WE GOT A RIDE INTO TOWN TO OUR BIBLE MEETING AND THEN TO THE STORE. ON 5/24/16 I TOOK OUR FORD FOCUS INTO JONES FORD IN BUCKEYE AZ TO HAVE THEIR SERVICE DEPARTMENT LOOK AT IT. WHILE I WAITED I WENT ONLINE TO SEE IF THIS ISSUE WE HAD WITH OUR DOOR HAS BEEN AN RECURRING PROBLEM WITH THIS MODEL AND FOUND A STORY THAT CBS5AZ COVERED BACK IN SEPTEMBER OF 2015 OF MANY AZ RESIDENTS HAVING THIS SAME ISSUE AND NOT JUST IN AZ. THESE DOORS ON THIS VEHICLE CAN POP OPEN AT ANY GIVEN TIME W/O WARNING, THAT'S VERY DANGEROUS AND SOMEONE CAN LOSE THEIR LIFE. JONES FORD TOLD ME THERE ARE CURRENTLY NO RECALLS OR HELP FROM FORD MOTOR, SO I PHONED FORD MOTOR FROM MY CELL RIGHT AWAY AND CONTACTED THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE. I WAS ABLE TO MAKE MY COMPLAINT AND I WAS GIVEN CARE #CAS-9558178 AND TOLD THAT A REQUEST FOR FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE ON MY BEHALF WOULD BE PUT IN TO PAY THE $600 BILL, BUT NO GUARANTEES AND IF I PAID OUT OF MY OWN POCKET TO KEEP THE RECEIPT IN CASE FORD DOES DO A RECALL. I DROVE THIS DANGEROUS UNPREDICTABLE CAR HOME AND TOOK THE TAPE OFF AND ROLLED THE WINDOWS UP AND PUSHED THE PASSENGER FRONT DOOR AS CLOSE AS IT WOULD STAY. I FEEL FORD SHOULD EITHER BUY BACK THIS DANGEROUS VEHICLE AND LET ME CHOOSE A DIFFERENT PRODUCT AND OR MAKE MY MONTHLY PAYMENT UNTIL I CAN DRIVE THIS VEHICLE THAT'S NOT SAFE. WHY SHOULD I MAKE A PAYMENT ON SOMETHING I CAN'T DRIVE OR BETTER YET, IF ANY DEALERSHIP WHO KNOWINGLY SOLD THESE UNITS TO PEOPLE W/O DISCLOSING THESE FACTS REGARDING THE POSSIBILITY OF THE DOORS JUST POPPING OPEN W/O WARNING, THEY SHOULD BE FORCED TO BUY THESE VEHICLES BACK AND GIVE ME AND OTHER CUSTOMERS OUR DEPOSIT AND EVERY MONTHLY PAYMENT WE'VE MADE. ANY DOOR CAN POP OPEN!!!

View Details

ENGINE

5/24/2016 - BLOOMFIELD, MI
THE CAR HAS 70,000 MILES ON IT. IT HAS HAD 3 OIL LEAKS (1 OIL PAN & 2 HEAD GASKET); I HAVE ALSO HAD TO HAVE THE CLUTCH REPLACED TWICE. THE FIRST TIME WAS DUE TO SHUDDERING AND THE SECOND TIME WAS DUE TO A TRANSMISSION MALFUNCTION CODE. THE TWO CLUTCHES WERE REPLACED 10,000 MILES APART.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/24/2016 - BLOOMFIELD, MI
THE CAR HAS 70,000 MILES ON IT. IT HAS HAD 3 OIL LEAKS (1 OIL PAN & 2 HEAD GASKET); I HAVE ALSO HAD TO HAVE THE CLUTCH REPLACED TWICE. THE FIRST TIME WAS DUE TO SHUDDERING AND THE SECOND TIME WAS DUE TO A TRANSMISSION MALFUNCTION CODE. THE TWO CLUTCHES WERE REPLACED 10,000 MILES APART.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

5/23/2016 - SAN TAN VALLEY, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE DOOR OPENED WITHOUT WARNING. THE DOOR FAILED TO LOCK. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 75,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/18/2016 - AUSTIN, TX
TAKATA RECALL. STARTED MY CAR AND SHUT THE DOOR I NOTICED THAT THE DRIVERS DOOR WOULD NOT SHUT.

View Details

ENGINE

5/17/2016 - LOS ANGELES, CA
WHILE DRIVING BACK ON THE FREEWAY, THE VEHICLE STARTED TO SMOKE. PULLED TO THE SIDE OF THE FREEWAY AND THE VEHICLE CAUGHT ON FIRE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 179
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds