Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2012 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 695 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (17) Equipment (2) Parking Brake (2) Steering (104) Unknown Or Other (45)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (395) Structure (30) Vehicle Speed Control (70)
Electrical System (78) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (10) Suspension (13) Visibility (11)
Electronic Stability Control (11) Fuel Propulsion System (34) Seats (4) Tires (7) Visibility Wiper (10)
Engine (125) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Service Brakes (20) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (9)
Engine And Engine Cooling (16) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 104
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

3/5/2015 - LANSING, IL
WHEN ACCELERATING FROM A STOPPED POSITION, THE TRANSMISSION SLIPS GEARS AND THE CAR LURCHES FORWARD OR STALLS AND THEN LURCHES. I HAVE ALMOST REAR ENDED SEVERAL CARS ON MANY OCCASIONS. THE CAR ALSO LURCHES BACKWARDS WHEN IN REVERSE. I HAVE TAKEN THE VEHICLE IN TWICE FOR SERVICE. IT IS IN FOR SERVICE AS I AM SUBMITTING THIS REPORT. THE FIRST TIME, I WAS TOLD THERE WERE RECALLS COMPLETED ON THE VEHICLE. I NEVER RECEIVED ANY PAPERWORK FROM THE DEALERSHIP AS TO WHAT WAS ACTUALLY "REPLACED/RECALLED" ON MY VEHICLE. IT SEEMED TO DRIVE SMOOTHER FOR A FEW MONTHS AND THEN THE SAME PROBLEMS STARTED AGAIN. I'M WAITING TO HEAR BACK FROM THE DEALERSHIP AS TO WHAT THEY HAVE FOUND WRONG THIS TIME.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/5/2015 - LANSING, IL
WHEN ACCELERATING FROM A STOPPED POSITION, THE TRANSMISSION SLIPS GEARS AND THE CAR LURCHES FORWARD OR STALLS AND THEN LURCHES. I HAVE ALMOST REAR ENDED SEVERAL CARS ON MANY OCCASIONS. THE CAR ALSO LURCHES BACKWARDS WHEN IN REVERSE. I HAVE TAKEN THE VEHICLE IN TWICE FOR SERVICE. IT IS IN FOR SERVICE AS I AM SUBMITTING THIS REPORT. THE FIRST TIME, I WAS TOLD THERE WERE RECALLS COMPLETED ON THE VEHICLE. I NEVER RECEIVED ANY PAPERWORK FROM THE DEALERSHIP AS TO WHAT WAS ACTUALLY "REPLACED/RECALLED" ON MY VEHICLE. IT SEEMED TO DRIVE SMOOTHER FOR A FEW MONTHS AND THEN THE SAME PROBLEMS STARTED AGAIN. I'M WAITING TO HEAR BACK FROM THE DEALERSHIP AS TO WHAT THEY HAVE FOUND WRONG THIS TIME.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/5/2015 - RESTON, VA
THE TRACTION CONTROL IN THE VEHICLE OPERATES IN AN UNSAFE MANNER IN SNOWY ROAD CONDITIONS. WHEN CLIMBING A SLIGHT GRADE IN SNOW, THE TRACTION CONTROL CONTINUALLY REDUCES ENGINE POWER TO THE POINT THAT THE VEHICLE WILL NO LONGER MOVE FORWARD. AS THE VEHICLE SLOWS TO A STOP WHILE MODULATING THE ACCELERATOR, THE ENGINE WILL NOT REV ABOVE 1500RPM WITHOUT THE TRACTION CONTROL CUTTING OFF POWER. CONTROLLED AND SUSTAINED FORWARD MOMENTUM IS REQUIRED FOR SAFE DRIVING IN SNOWY CONDITIONS. THAT IS NOT POSSIBLE WHEN TRAVERSING TYPICAL ROADWAY INCLINES IN SNOWY WEATHER WITH THE TRACTION CONTROL ENGAGED. ADDITIONALLY, IT TAKES NO FEWER THAN SEVEN INPUTS FROM THE DRIVER TO ENGAGE OR DISENGAGE THE TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM; SOMETHING THAT MUST BE DONE FREQUENTLY IN THIS VEHICLE TO KEEP IT MOVING SAFELY IN SNOW. THIS CREATES UNDUE DRIVER DISTRACTION IN ALREADY DEMANDING DRIVING CONDITIONS. A MANUFACTURER RETROFIT OF A SIMPLE ON/OFF SWITCH FOR THE TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM, AS INSTALLED IN MOST CONTEMPORARY VEHICLES, SHOULD BE THE MINIMUM REMEDY.

View Details

ENGINE

3/5/2015 - RESTON, VA
THE TRACTION CONTROL IN THE VEHICLE OPERATES IN AN UNSAFE MANNER IN SNOWY ROAD CONDITIONS. WHEN CLIMBING A SLIGHT GRADE IN SNOW, THE TRACTION CONTROL CONTINUALLY REDUCES ENGINE POWER TO THE POINT THAT THE VEHICLE WILL NO LONGER MOVE FORWARD. AS THE VEHICLE SLOWS TO A STOP WHILE MODULATING THE ACCELERATOR, THE ENGINE WILL NOT REV ABOVE 1500RPM WITHOUT THE TRACTION CONTROL CUTTING OFF POWER. CONTROLLED AND SUSTAINED FORWARD MOMENTUM IS REQUIRED FOR SAFE DRIVING IN SNOWY CONDITIONS. THAT IS NOT POSSIBLE WHEN TRAVERSING TYPICAL ROADWAY INCLINES IN SNOWY WEATHER WITH THE TRACTION CONTROL ENGAGED. ADDITIONALLY, IT TAKES NO FEWER THAN SEVEN INPUTS FROM THE DRIVER TO ENGAGE OR DISENGAGE THE TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM; SOMETHING THAT MUST BE DONE FREQUENTLY IN THIS VEHICLE TO KEEP IT MOVING SAFELY IN SNOW. THIS CREATES UNDUE DRIVER DISTRACTION IN ALREADY DEMANDING DRIVING CONDITIONS. A MANUFACTURER RETROFIT OF A SIMPLE ON/OFF SWITCH FOR THE TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM, AS INSTALLED IN MOST CONTEMPORARY VEHICLES, SHOULD BE THE MINIMUM REMEDY.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

3/5/2015 - RESTON, VA
THE TRACTION CONTROL IN THE VEHICLE OPERATES IN AN UNSAFE MANNER IN SNOWY ROAD CONDITIONS. WHEN CLIMBING A SLIGHT GRADE IN SNOW, THE TRACTION CONTROL CONTINUALLY REDUCES ENGINE POWER TO THE POINT THAT THE VEHICLE WILL NO LONGER MOVE FORWARD. AS THE VEHICLE SLOWS TO A STOP WHILE MODULATING THE ACCELERATOR, THE ENGINE WILL NOT REV ABOVE 1500RPM WITHOUT THE TRACTION CONTROL CUTTING OFF POWER. CONTROLLED AND SUSTAINED FORWARD MOMENTUM IS REQUIRED FOR SAFE DRIVING IN SNOWY CONDITIONS. THAT IS NOT POSSIBLE WHEN TRAVERSING TYPICAL ROADWAY INCLINES IN SNOWY WEATHER WITH THE TRACTION CONTROL ENGAGED. ADDITIONALLY, IT TAKES NO FEWER THAN SEVEN INPUTS FROM THE DRIVER TO ENGAGE OR DISENGAGE THE TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM; SOMETHING THAT MUST BE DONE FREQUENTLY IN THIS VEHICLE TO KEEP IT MOVING SAFELY IN SNOW. THIS CREATES UNDUE DRIVER DISTRACTION IN ALREADY DEMANDING DRIVING CONDITIONS. A MANUFACTURER RETROFIT OF A SIMPLE ON/OFF SWITCH FOR THE TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM, AS INSTALLED IN MOST CONTEMPORARY VEHICLES, SHOULD BE THE MINIMUM REMEDY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/3/2015 - MOORE, OK
HORN STOPPED WORKING CHECKED FUSES AND RELAYS WHICH ALL WORK BUT AFTER READING THERE ARE SEVERAL PEOPLE THAT COMPLAIN THAT THE WIRING IN THE CAR CAUSES A PROBLEM WITH THE HORN BECOMING INOPERATIVE. THIS IS A WIDER PROBLEM AND WISH TO HAVE FORD ISSUE A RECALL. I HAVE HAD ISSUES NOT BEING ABLE TO WARN PEOPLE DRIFTING OR NOT PAYING ATTENTION WITH NO WAY TO WARN THEM. THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/1/2015 - CANTON, OH
MY 2012 FOCUS SHUTTERS ALOT AND DOESN'T WANT TO SHIFT . I TOOK IT BACK TO THE DEALER IN AUG 2014. THEY SAID THEY REPLACED THE CLUTCHES AND SEALS ECT.5 MONTHS LATER WHILE ON THE INTERSTATE IT SHUT DOWN AND THE DASH READ TRANMISSION FAILURE. THIS LEFT ME STRANDED FOR 3 HOURS ALONG A BUSY INTERSTATE. CAN ANYTHING BE DONE ABOUT THIS PLEASE?

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/27/2015 - MISHICOT, WI
OUR 2012 FORD FOCUS, LIKE SO VERY MANY OTHERS, HAS SUCCUMBED TO THE TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS DELINEATED IN THE FORD OWNER FIELD SERVICE ACTION NUMBER 14M01. THE CAR IS CURRENTLY AT A LOCAL DEALERSHIP'S SERVICE DEPARTMENT AWAITING A REPLACEMENT PART (5 WEEKS AND COUNTING). I HAVE BEEN READING MORE AND MORE COMPLAINTS THAT, EVEN AFTER THE WORK IS DONE TO CORRECT THIS PROBLEM, THE SAME OR WORSE ISSUES ARE OCCURRING. I AM CONCERNED NOT ONLY FOR MY SAFETY AND THAT OF MY FAMILY, BUT OF ANYONE WHO MIGHT BECOME A VICTIM OF A CAR ACCIDENT THAT MAY BE CAUSED BY THIS AUTOMOBILE.

View Details

STEERING

2/26/2015 - MCKINNEY, TX
ON SEVERAL INSTANCES WHILE ENTERING A TURN THE POWER STEERING SHUT OFF AND A FAILURE NOTIFICATION WAS DISPLAYED ON THE DASHBOARD. THIS RESULTED IN SEVERAL NEAR ACCIDENTS, ESPECIALLY WHILE HAVING TO QUICKLY ADJUST TO THE INCREASED STRENGTH REQUIRED TO COMPLETE THE TURN WITHOUT HITTING ANOTHER CAR OR CURB. TURNING VEHICLE OFF AND BACK ON RESOLVES THE ISSUE TEMPORARILY, BUT POWER STEERING FAILS SEEMINGLY RANDOMLY EVERY TIME.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/25/2015 - KETTERING , OH
I HAVE HAD TO TAKE MY CAR INTO THE FORD DEALER 5 TIMES IN THE PAST 2 MONTHS AND ROUGHLY 15 TIMES IN THE PAST YEAR FOR THE SAME ISSUE, IT IS UNDER WARRANTY. WHEN I AM DRIVING AT OR AROUND 35 MPH MY TRANSMISSION WILL MAKE A GRINDING NOISE AND I WILL LOSE ALL POWER AND THE CAR WILL NEED TO BE RESTARTED. I HAVE PAID RIDICULOUS AMOUNTS IN REPAIRS AND RENTALS. I AM TOLD THAT THE TRANSMISSION AND CLUTCH IS UNDER WARRANTY UNTIL 100,000 MILES. I AM STILL BEING CHARGED. THIS IS A SAFETY HAZARD, I LOSE ALL POWER AND HAVE TO RESTART THE CAR IN THE MIDDLE OF INTERSECTIONS, AND WHEN ENTERING THE ON RAMP TO THE HIGHWAY. THE TECHS HAVE TOLD ME "IT IS SUPPOSED TO DRIVE LIKE THIS" BUT I SERIOUSLY DOUBT THAT. FORD HAS ACKNOWLEDGED THAT MY CAR HAS A BAD CLUTCH AND THAT THE CLUTCH IS UNDER WARRANTY, BUT I WAS TOLD THAT THE PART IS ON NATIONAL BACKORDER AND IT COULD BE UP TO 6 MONTHS BEFORE IT IS REPAIRED. I HAVE BEEN TOLD TO JUST KEEP DRIVING IT, WHEN I ASKED IF IT WAS SAFE THEY SAID "PROBABLY NOT, BUT IT IS MORE OF A PERSONAL PROBLEM OF MINE". THIS IS AN ON GOING PROBLEM, AND I HAVE ZERO CONFIDENCE THAT IT WILL EVER BE RESOLVED. FORD HAS HAD ME REPLACE EVERYTHING THAT IS NOT UNDER WARRANTY IN THE PAST 15 MONTHS AND THE SAME EXACT PROBLEM PERSISTS, NOW I AM BEING TOLD THAT IT IS THE CLUTCH IN MY AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION WHICH IS UNDER WARRANTY BUT "IT IS NOT A HIGH PRIORITY FOR THE DEALER" SO ILL HAVE TO WAIT IT OUT AND KEEP RENTING CARS TO KEEP MY JOB AND STAY MOBILE. BASICALLY FORD WANTS ME TO DRIVE THE CAR UNTIL I TOTAL IT DUE TO THEIR FAULTY TRANSMISSION AND BUY ANOTHER CAR, OR TOTAL IT AND DIE AND NOT BOTHER THEM ANY MORE, BUT HEY THEY ALREADY HAVE MY MONEY. THIS IS WHY PEOPLE DON'T BUY AMERICAN THEY WAY THEY SHOULD, THE CARS DON'T RUN PROPERLY AND THE CUSTOMER SERVICE FOR THESE COMPANIES IS ATROCIOUS AND UNSYMPATHETIC TO THE NEEDS OF THEIR CUSTOMERS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 104
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds