Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2012 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1989 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (35) Equipment (4) Parking Brake (2) Steering (412) Unknown Or Other (179)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (780) Structure (289) Vehicle Speed Control (117)
Electrical System (188) Exterior Lighting (9) Seat Belts (27) Suspension (19) Visibility (20)
Electronic Stability Control (25) Fuel Propulsion System (79) Seats (8) Tires (9) Visibility Wiper (24)
Engine (222) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Service Brakes (30) Traction Control System (4) Wheels (16)
Engine And Engine Cooling (20) Latches Locks Linkages (105) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 264
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

6/24/2017 - SHERBURNE, NY
I LOST POWER STEERING WITHOUT WARNING WHILE DRIVING MY SON TO SON TO SCHOOL. YOU CAN STILL STEER THE CAR BUT BARELY AND I AM A 200LB MAINTENANCE MAN. BROUGHT IT TO THE FORD DEALER AND IT IS GOING TO COSTS 1700 TO FIX. I HAVE READ MANY OTHER 2012 FOCUS OWNERS HAVE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM. VERY SURPRISED IT IS NOT COVERED UNDER A SAFETY RECALL AS IT HAPPENS WITHOUT WARNING AND MAKES MANEUVERING THE CAR ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE.

View Details

STEERING

6/21/2017 - SHREVEPORT, LA
WHILE STATIONARY, THE STEERING POWER ASSIST FAILURE WARNING LIGHT CAME ON AND THE CAR WAS ALMOST IMPOSSIBLE TO PULL OUT OF THE DRIVEWAY. THIS IS THE SECOND TIME THIS HAS OCCURRED.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/21/2017 - WINTER GARDEN, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. WHILE DRIVING AT UNKNOWN SPEEDS WITH THE CRUISE CONTROL ACTIVATED, THE RPMS ACCELERATED. ADDITIONALLY, THE CLUTCH WAS SLIPPING WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL DEALER (FORD OF CLERMONT LOCATED AT 1101 E HIGHWAY 50 CLERMONT, FL 34711 800-313-9787) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION CONTROL MODULE, ELECTRONIC CONTROL MODULE, AND CLUTCH NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER OPENED CASE NUMBER: CAS12559345 AND REFERRED THE CONTACT TO THE DEALER. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 51,691.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/21/2017 - WINTER GARDEN, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. WHILE DRIVING AT UNKNOWN SPEEDS WITH THE CRUISE CONTROL ACTIVATED, THE RPMS ACCELERATED. ADDITIONALLY, THE CLUTCH WAS SLIPPING WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL DEALER (FORD OF CLERMONT LOCATED AT 1101 E HIGHWAY 50 CLERMONT, FL 34711 800-313-9787) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION CONTROL MODULE, ELECTRONIC CONTROL MODULE, AND CLUTCH NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER OPENED CASE NUMBER: CAS12559345 AND REFERRED THE CONTACT TO THE DEALER. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 51,691.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/20/2017 - AIKEN, SC
HELP ME UNDERSTAND WHY THE NHTSA HAS NOT FORCED A RECALL CONCERNING THE MAJOR ISSUES FOUND WITH THESE TRANSMISSIONS? HAS FORD PULLED THE WOOL OVER THE EYES OF NHTSA JUST AS THEY HAVE WITH THEIR VERY OWN CUSTOMERS? MY CAR SITS AT THE DEALERSHIP BECAUSE IM NOT CONVINCED THE MECHANIC HAS DETERMINED THE TRUE CAUSE OF THE TRANS TO CAUSE A LOSS OF POWER WHILE I WAS DRIVING ABOUT 20-25MPH THE TRANS SEEMED TO SLIP INTO NEUTRAL BUT WHEN PRESSING THE GAS PED THE ENGINE WOULDNT REV NOR WOULD THE CAR GO ANY FASTER. I WAS 1/4 MILE FROM MY HOUSE & TURNED AROUND TO GO BACK, I SHUT THE CAR OFF & BACK ON, THE ENGINE REVVED & BACK TO IDLE, I PUT IN REVERSE & IT HESITATED TO MOVE BUT DID, I PUT IN FORWARD & IT REVVED UP 2X AGAIN WHILE I TO COAST TO MY DRIVEWAY. MY CAR HAS SHUDDERED AT TIMES & SEEMED TO HESITATE TO KNOW WHAT GEAR TO GO INTO ALTHOUGH I FIGURED IT TO BE NORMAL SINCE I OWNED THE CAR SINCE 9/2016 & THE MORE I DROVE THE MORE I ASSUMED IT WAS A TYPE OF TRANS THAT ACTED LIKE A MANUAL WHEN IT CHANGED GEARS, I HAVE ONLY RECENTLY LEARNED OF ALL THE MAJOR PROBLEMS WHILE DOING RESEARCH. I AM CONCERNED FOR MY SAFETY AFTER READING JUST A SMALL AMOUNT OF CUSTOMER COMPLAINTS. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS ON WHEN I EXPERIENCED THE LOSS OF POWER AND CODES P2831 P2832 & P287B WERE PRESENT. THE MECHANIC SAID THE "MECHANICAL MECHANISM" IS "STUCK" KEEPING THE CLUTCH APPLIED. HE MADE THIS ASSUMPTION WITH THE TRANSMISSION STILL INSTALLED & NOT CHECKING THE INTERNAL COMPONENTS; HE MUST BE PRETTY DARN GOOD TO DO ALL THAT! HE CHECKED THE TCM PER NOTIFICATION 14M02 WHICH SURPRISING PASSED. TO THE BEST OF MY KNOWLEDGE NOTIFICATION 14M01 WAS NOT CHECKED WHICH WOULD REQUIRE THE TRANS BE REMOVED FROM WHAT I READ. TSB 15-0121 ALSO CALLS OUT A POTENTIAL CAUSE. THEY WANT ME TO PAY $2500 TO REPLACE THE CLUTCH JUST TO BE ABLE TO FURTHER DIAGNOSE POTENTIAL PROBLEMS WITHOUT FULLY DIAGNOSING THE PROBLEM. 78000MI

View Details

STEERING

6/20/2017 - LAKE WORTH, FL
VEHICLE LOOSES STEERING ASSIST WHEN BACKING UP OR MOVING FORWARD (INTERMITTENT PROBLEM). VEHICLE HAS ONLY 35,000 MILES. CONCERNED ABOUT SAFETY AND LACK OF STEERING BACK UP SYSTEM. TOOK VEHICLE TO DEALER AND THEY CHARGED US $2,000 TO REPLACE THE ELECTRIC STEERING GEAR. MANY OWNERS OF THIS MODEL/YEAR VEHICLE ARE EXPERIENCING SAME COMPLAINT AND ARE CONCERNED ABOUT POTENTIAL SAFETY AND EXPOSURE TO ACCIDENTS.

View Details

STEERING

6/20/2017 - MANKATO, MN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THE POWER STEERING ABILITY SEIZED AND THE POWER STEERING ASSIST MESSAGE REMAINED ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC (JOE MILLER MODERN GARAGE IN MANKATO, MINNESOTA) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE POWER STEERING RACK FAILED AND NEEDED REPLACEMENT. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON MAY 13, 2017, BUT WENT AWAY AFTER TURNING THE VEHICLE ON AND OFF. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/19/2017 - GERMANTOWN, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THE "TRANSMISSION MALFUNCTION SERVICE NOW" INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE HESITATED AND FAILED TO ACCELERATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO ACADEMY FORD (13401 BALTIMORE AVE, LAUREL, MD 20707) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION CONTROL MODULE AND TRANSMISSION CLUTCH FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MODULE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE CLUTCH WAS NOT. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE ISSUE WAS "IN THE PROCESS OF BEING RECALLED" AND TRANSFERRED THE CONTACT DIRECTLY TO NHTSA FOR A "STATUS UPDATE." THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 98,500.

View Details

STEERING

6/19/2017 - APPLETON, WI
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY AT ABOUT 70 MPH AND THE STEERING ASSISTANCE MALFUNCTION MESSAGE SUDDENLY SHOWED UP ON THE DISPLAY AND THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME EXTREMELY TIGHT TO TURN. RESTARTING THE CAR DID NOT FIX THE ISSUE.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

6/19/2017 - WOODSTOWN, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS TURNED ON, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS ACTIVATED INDEPENDENTLY AND COULD NOT BE TURNED OFF. THE WIPERS EVENTUALLY SLOWED AND STOPPED FUNCTIONING INDEPENDENTLY. THE FAILURE CONTINUED TO RECUR EVEN WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS TURNED OFF. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER OR INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THEY COULD NOT ASSIST AS THERE WAS NO RECALL ON THE VEHICLE. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER 12V149000 (VISIBILITY). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 105,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 264
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds