Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2012 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1646 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (25) Equipment (4) Parking Brake (2) Steering (272) Unknown Or Other (161)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (688) Structure (273) Vehicle Speed Control (106)
Electrical System (162) Exterior Lighting (9) Seat Belts (20) Suspension (18) Visibility (17)
Electronic Stability Control (19) Fuel Propulsion System (53) Seats (5) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (18)
Engine (200) Fuel System Gasoline (11) Service Brakes (25) Traction Control System (4) Wheels (13)
Engine And Engine Cooling (20) Latches Locks Linkages (75) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 221
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

9/16/2016 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
THE ELECTRONIC POWER ASSISTED STEERING (DPAS) SYSTEM ON MY 2012 FORD FOCUS HAS FAILED. THE VEHICLE IS UN-DRIVABLE ABSENT EXTREME FORCE. EMERGENCY MANEUVERS ARE OUT OF THE QUESTION. THE VEHICLE IS UTTERLY UNSAFE TO OPERATE. RESTARTING THE VEHICLE AND RESETTING THE ECU HAVE NO EFFECT. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WHEN STARTING THE VEHICLE (STATIONARY). LUCKILY IT DIDN'T FAIL WHILE DRIVING.

View Details

STEERING

9/16/2016 - WINTER GARDEN, FL
LURCHING AND UNCONTROLLED SHIFTING OCCURS WITH THE TRANSMISSION. IT HAS LEFT ME STUCK IN THE MIDDLE OF A LEFT TURN BECAUSE IT DOESN'T SHIFT CORRECTLY. NOW I RAN OFF THE ROAD WHILE EXITING A FREEWAY BECAUSE THE POWER STEERING TURNED OFF IN THE MIDDLE OF THE TURN. THIS HAS NOW HAPPENED 6 TIMES RANDOMLY. IT GIVES ME A POWER STEERING FAULT. I HAVE COME CLOSE TO BEING THE CAUSE OF 3 ACCIDENTS BECAUSE OF THESE TWO ISSUES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/16/2016 - WINTER GARDEN, FL
LURCHING AND UNCONTROLLED SHIFTING OCCURS WITH THE TRANSMISSION. IT HAS LEFT ME STUCK IN THE MIDDLE OF A LEFT TURN BECAUSE IT DOESN'T SHIFT CORRECTLY. NOW I RAN OFF THE ROAD WHILE EXITING A FREEWAY BECAUSE THE POWER STEERING TURNED OFF IN THE MIDDLE OF THE TURN. THIS HAS NOW HAPPENED 6 TIMES RANDOMLY. IT GIVES ME A POWER STEERING FAULT. I HAVE COME CLOSE TO BEING THE CAUSE OF 3 ACCIDENTS BECAUSE OF THESE TWO ISSUES.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/15/2016 - CALEXICO, CA
DOOR LATCHES BAD ON CAR HAVE HAD TWO OCCACIONS WHERE THEY GO FAULTY, FIRST TIME WAS A COUPLE OF YEARS AGO BOTH THE DRIVERS DOOR LATCH WENT BAD, THE CAR WAS NOT IN MOTION WHEN I FOUND OUT, AND I WAS UNDER THE WARRANTY TO FIX THE PROBLEM SO I NEVER COMPLAINED. THE SECOND TIME I WAS DRIVING WITH MY DOG IN THE BACK SEAT AND THE DOOR SWINGS OPEN, I WAS VERY SHOCKED FROM THE SITUATION BECAUSE MY DOG NEARLY FEEL OUT, MY FIRST THOUGHT WAS IT WAS MY FAULT I DID NOT CLOSE THE DOOR, BUT WHEN I WENT TO SHUT THE DOOR IN THE BACK THE LATCH WOULD NOT CLOSE, I KNEW AT THIS POINT WHAT WAS GOING ON BECAUSE OF MY FIRST EXPERIENCE. THIS TIME I WAS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY AND HAD TO PAY OVER 500 DOLLARS TO FIX. THAT WAS THE SECOND TIME THIS HAPPENS TO ME AND IVE HEARD OTHER PEOPLE THAT OWN FORD FOCUS CARS THAT THEY HAVE EXPERIENCED SIMILAR PROBLEMS. ON BOTH DRIVERS DOOR. SEEMS LIKE FRAUD IF YOU ASK ME

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/14/2016 - WEST ALLIS, WI
AT 58,000. HORN STARTED TO WORK INTERMITTENT, NOW IT DOES NOT WORK AT ALL. WHAT NEXT? ALREADY HAD WORK DONE ON TRANNY. EVERY THING SEEMS TO BE COMPUTER RELATED. IT ALSO SURGES AT START UP AT STOP.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/14/2016 - WEST ALLIS, WI
AT 58,000. HORN STARTED TO WORK INTERMITTENT, NOW IT DOES NOT WORK AT ALL. WHAT NEXT? ALREADY HAD WORK DONE ON TRANNY. EVERY THING SEEMS TO BE COMPUTER RELATED. IT ALSO SURGES AT START UP AT STOP.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/14/2016 - WEST ALLIS, WI
AT 58,000. HORN STARTED TO WORK INTERMITTENT, NOW IT DOES NOT WORK AT ALL. WHAT NEXT? ALREADY HAD WORK DONE ON TRANNY. EVERY THING SEEMS TO BE COMPUTER RELATED. IT ALSO SURGES AT START UP AT STOP.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/13/2016 - DORAL, FL
THE DOOR ON THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE OF MY 2012 FORD FOCUS SUDDENLY OPENED WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION NEARLY CAUSING AN ACCIDENT. I WAS TRAVELLING ON THE HIGHWAY AT APPROX. 50 MPH WHEN THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE DOOR SPRUNG OPEN CAUSING THE VEHICLE TRAVELLING NEXT TO ME TO SWERVE AWAY. THE WEEK BEFORE THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE DOOR OPEN UNEXPECTEDLY.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/13/2016 - DORAL, FL
THE DOOR ON THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE OF MY 2012 FORD FOCUS SUDDENLY OPENED WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION NEARLY CAUSING AN ACCIDENT. I WAS TRAVELLING ON THE HIGHWAY AT APPROX. 50 MPH WHEN THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE DOOR SPRUNG OPEN CAUSING THE VEHICLE TRAVELLING NEXT TO ME TO SWERVE AWAY. THE WEEK BEFORE THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE DOOR OPEN UNEXPECTEDLY.

View Details

STEERING

9/13/2016 - BROKEN ARROW, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED A LOSS OF POWER STEERING AND THE POWER STEERING WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V643000 (LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES); HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 72,000. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 221
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds