Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2012 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 467 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Equipment (1) Parking Brake (2) Steering (61) Unknown Or Other (22)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (271) Structure (22) Vehicle Speed Control (45)
Electrical System (47) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (8) Suspension (11) Visibility (6)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel Propulsion System (33) Seats (4) Tires (7) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (81) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (19) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (9)
Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 70
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

7/28/2014 - HOUSTON, TX
THE TRANSMISSION IS KNOCKING WHEN IT SHIFTS GEARS ESPECIALLY THE LOWER GEARS. IT STUTTERS REALLY BAD AS WELL.

View Details

STEERING

7/28/2014 - HOUSTON, TX
THE TRANSMISSION IS KNOCKING WHEN IT SHIFTS GEARS ESPECIALLY THE LOWER GEARS. IT STUTTERS REALLY BAD AS WELL.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/27/2014 - WASHINGTON, DC, DC
BEGINNING IN APRIL, THE CAR HAS RANDOMLY BROKEN DOWN SEVERAL TIMES, WITH NO NOTICE, PUTTING MY SAFETY AND LIFE IN DANGER. CARS HAD TO COME TO A JOLTING STOP TO AVOID FROM HITTING ME AND ON ONE OCCASION A POLICE OFFICER ACTUALLY HAD TO INTERVENE TO SAFEGUARD ME FROM ONCOMING TRAFFIC. PLEASE SEE THE SEQUENCE OF EVENTS BELOW. OFRIDAY, APRIL 12TH-CAR BROKE DOWN IN A MAJOR INTERSECTION DURING RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC ENDANGERING MY LIFE AND THE OTHER DRIVERS AROUND ME. CARS WERE ZOOMING PASS AT HIGH SPEEDS AND BRAKING ABRUPTLY TO AVOID CRASHING INTO ME. OWEDNESDAY, JULY 2ND-CAR SUDDENLY DECELERATED WHILE I WAS DRIVING ACROSS A BRIDGE. ONCE AGAIN MY LIFE WAS ENDANGERED. I TRIED TO GET THE CAR TO ACCELERATE WITH RAPIDLY PUSHING DOWN ON THE GAS PEDAL, BUT NOTHING HAPPENED. THE CAR EVENTUALLY CAME TO A STOP AND I WAS FORCED TO TURN THE CAR OFF WHILE STILL IN THE MIDDLE OF THE STREET AND RESTART IT. AFTER GETTING THE CAR STARTED I DROVE IT BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP HOPING THEY COULD RESOLVE THE ISSUE. UNFORTUNATELY, THE MECHANIC WAS UNABLE TO FIND ANYTHING THROUGH THE DIAGNOSTIC READING OR MULTIPLE TEST DRIVES. OMONDAY, JULY 7TH-CAR BEGAN TO DECELERATE WHILE DRIVING ON A BUSY STREET. I IMMEDIATELY PULLED OVER TO TURN THE CAR OFF. WHEN I WAS ABLE TO START THE CAR AGAIN I DROVE IT TO CARMAX. ON THE WAY THERE I HAD TO DRIVE THE CAR AT A SLOW SPEED TO PREVENT THE CAR FROM CUTTING OFF ON ME AGAIN. ALSO, SINCE THE AC SEEMED TO WORSEN THE ACCELERATION OF THE CAR I TURNED IT OFF AND DROVE THE CAR FOR 15 MINUTES IN THE SEARING HEAT. IN THE END THE CAR WAS WITH THE FORD DEALER FROM FRIDAY, JULY 7TH TO TUESDAY, JULY 22ND. OFRIDAY, JULY 25TH- CAR BROKE DOWN IN MIDDLE LANE OF HIGHWAY 64E RIGHT BEFORE ENTERING THE HAMPTON ROADS BRIDGE TUNNEL. CARS SWERVED TO PREVENT FROM HITTING ME AND ONCE AGAIN MY LIFE AND THE LIVES OF OTHERS WAS PUT IN JEOPARDY.

View Details

ENGINE

7/25/2014 - AUSTIN, TX
PURCHASED VEHICLE IN JUNE 2012 AND TRANSMISSION HAS BEEN SHAKY, SLIPPING, STUTTERING, JERKING, STALLING ON ACCELERATION, OVERHEATING, ROLLING BACK ON HILLS, NO ACCELERATION ON HILLS, AND GRINDING EVER SINCE. HAD CLUTCH SEAL REPLACED WITHIN A COUPLE OF MONTHS FROM PURCHASE WHICH THEY CLAIMED CAUSED THE PROBLEM. PROBLEM PERSISTED BUT THEY TOLD ME TO GIVE IT TIME TO ADJUST TO THE REPAIR. I TOOK IT BACK IN AT 11,000 AND THEY REPLACED ONE OF THE CLUTCHES. PROBLEM PERSISTED ONLY THEN THE CAR'S SYSTEM INDICATED THE TRANSMISSION WAS OVERHEATING (WHILE I WAS ON THE HIGHWAY) AND INDICATED ON THE CONSOLE THAT I NEEDED TO WAIT UNTIL THE CAR COOLED DOWN. THE TEMP ON THE CAR WAS IN NORMAL RANGE. I WAS 3 HOURS FROM HOME WITH SMALL CHILDREN IN THE CAR AND LEFT ON THE SIDE OF A MAJOR HIGHWAY BECAUSE MY CAR'S SYSTEM SAID THE TRANNY WAS OVERHEATING. TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AGAIN AND THEY SAID IT WAS A GLITCH; NO CONCERN NECESSARY. I COMPLAINED AGAIN ABOUT THE JERKING IN THE TRANSMISSION AND THEY SAID I NEEDED TO GIVE THE CAR SOME TIME TO ADJUST TO THE REPAIR AT 11,000. AT 24, 000, I WAS FED UP FROM WAITING AND TOOK THE CAR IN AGAIN ONLY TO BE TOLD THAT I NEEDED THE ENTIRE CLUTCH ASSEMBLY REPLACED BUT THEY WERE ON BACK-ORDER. CONTACTED FORD FOR A BUY BACK AND THEY SAID "NO, THAT'S HOW THE CAR DRIVES - IT'S NORMAL" CAR IS NOW AT 50,000 WITH SAME PROBLEMS. CURRENTLY WORKING WITH AN ATTORNEY ON A SUIT AGAINST FORD.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/24/2014 - NANCY, KY
I HAVE HAD THE WORST PROBLEMS WITH THIS CAR. I HAVE HAD IT IN THE FORD DEALER SHIP 5 TIMES SINCE JAN. 2012. THEY KEEP SAYING NOTHING IS WRONG. IT ROLLS WORSE THEN A 5 SPEED. IT TRIES TO STALL OUT ON ME TAKING OFF., ACTS LIKE IT IS GOING TO DIE GOING UP A HILL. I HAVE TO PUSH GAS PEDAL DOWN ALL THE WAY TO GET UP A HILL. IT HAPPENS MOST THE TIME BUT NOT ALWAYS. IT IS TO THE POINT I AM ABOUT TO NEVER OWN A FORD AGAIN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/24/2014 - PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT SHIFTING INTO GEARS PROPERLY FROM THE GEAR BOX INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER SEVERAL TIMES WHO HAD NOT BEEN ABLE TO REPLICATE NOR DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS JERKING VIOLENTLY UPON MAKING A TURN OR ON A MAJOR ROADWAY. THE AUTHORIZED DEALER REPLACED THE TRANSMISSION, REFLASHED THE TRANSMISSION ANDAFTER THAT REPAIR ALSO THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO REPLACE THE TRANSMISSION SENSOR AND THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE STALLED SEVERAL TIMES TO NO AVAIL AND THE SENSOR ILLUMINATED FOR STEERING ASSIST DEFAULT. THE STEERING WHEEL WAS EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO STEER INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER MORE THAN ONCE AND THEY HAD NOT BEEN ABLE TO REPLICATE NOR DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT ALSO MENTIONED THAT THE LIGHTS INTERMITTENTLY ILLUMINATED AND THE RADIO WAS MAKING A LOUD NOISE WHEN IT WAS OFF. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER SEVERAL TIMES AND THE FAILURES RECURRED TO NO AVAIL. THE CONTACT DROVE HOME FROM THE LAST REPAIR AND THE VEHICLE STALLED IN THE DRIVEWAY. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART AND WAS DRIVEN TO THE DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THECOMPUTER CHIP IN THE GAS PUMP. NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000. DYD

View Details

STEERING

7/24/2014 - PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT SHIFTING INTO GEARS PROPERLY FROM THE GEAR BOX INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER SEVERAL TIMES WHO HAD NOT BEEN ABLE TO REPLICATE NOR DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS JERKING VIOLENTLY UPON MAKING A TURN OR ON A MAJOR ROADWAY. THE AUTHORIZED DEALER REPLACED THE TRANSMISSION, REFLASHED THE TRANSMISSION ANDAFTER THAT REPAIR ALSO THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO REPLACE THE TRANSMISSION SENSOR AND THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE STALLED SEVERAL TIMES TO NO AVAIL AND THE SENSOR ILLUMINATED FOR STEERING ASSIST DEFAULT. THE STEERING WHEEL WAS EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO STEER INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER MORE THAN ONCE AND THEY HAD NOT BEEN ABLE TO REPLICATE NOR DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT ALSO MENTIONED THAT THE LIGHTS INTERMITTENTLY ILLUMINATED AND THE RADIO WAS MAKING A LOUD NOISE WHEN IT WAS OFF. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER SEVERAL TIMES AND THE FAILURES RECURRED TO NO AVAIL. THE CONTACT DROVE HOME FROM THE LAST REPAIR AND THE VEHICLE STALLED IN THE DRIVEWAY. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART AND WAS DRIVEN TO THE DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THECOMPUTER CHIP IN THE GAS PUMP. NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000. DYD

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/24/2014 - PORT SAINT LUCIE, FL
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT SHIFTING INTO GEARS PROPERLY FROM THE GEAR BOX INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER SEVERAL TIMES WHO HAD NOT BEEN ABLE TO REPLICATE NOR DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS JERKING VIOLENTLY UPON MAKING A TURN OR ON A MAJOR ROADWAY. THE AUTHORIZED DEALER REPLACED THE TRANSMISSION, REFLASHED THE TRANSMISSION ANDAFTER THAT REPAIR ALSO THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO REPLACE THE TRANSMISSION SENSOR AND THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE STALLED SEVERAL TIMES TO NO AVAIL AND THE SENSOR ILLUMINATED FOR STEERING ASSIST DEFAULT. THE STEERING WHEEL WAS EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO STEER INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER MORE THAN ONCE AND THEY HAD NOT BEEN ABLE TO REPLICATE NOR DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT ALSO MENTIONED THAT THE LIGHTS INTERMITTENTLY ILLUMINATED AND THE RADIO WAS MAKING A LOUD NOISE WHEN IT WAS OFF. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER SEVERAL TIMES AND THE FAILURES RECURRED TO NO AVAIL. THE CONTACT DROVE HOME FROM THE LAST REPAIR AND THE VEHICLE STALLED IN THE DRIVEWAY. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART AND WAS DRIVEN TO THE DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THECOMPUTER CHIP IN THE GAS PUMP. NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000. DYD

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/23/2014 - SHAWNEE, OK
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE PULLING OFF FROM A STOP LIGHT THE VEHICLE HESITATED TO ACCELERATE WHEN THE GAS WAS APPLIED. THE VEHICLE WOULD THEN ACCELERATE AT A VERY HIGHT LEVEL INDEPENDENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TESTING, THEY STATED THAT THE CLUTCHES IN THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 24,000. RG

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/23/2014 - JERSEY CITY , NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO STATED THAT THE AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 45,000. RG

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 70
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds