Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2012 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 555 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Equipment (1) Parking Brake (2) Steering (68) Unknown Or Other (35)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (316) Structure (25) Vehicle Speed Control (59)
Electrical System (63) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (8) Suspension (11) Visibility (7)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Fuel Propulsion System (34) Seats (4) Tires (7) Visibility Wiper (8)
Engine (103) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes (20) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (9)
Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 83
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/29/2014 - NORCROSS, GA
ON SEPT 8 2014 I WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK AND ONCE I GOT OFF THE HIGHWAY I NOTICED THAT MY CAR WAS SLOWING DOWN AND THE BATTERY AND OIL LIGHT WAS ON THE NEXT THING I KNEW MY CAR SHUT OFF I RESTARTED IT AND TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP ( SINCE IT IS STILL UNDER WARRANTY ) TO GET IT CHECKED OUT. THE SERVICE DEPT TOLD ME THAT IT WAS THE FUEL PUMP AND THEY WERE ORDERING THE PART BUT THAT WAS A LIE NOT ONLY DID THEY NOT FIX THE PROBLEM IT HAS GOTTEN WORSE THE CAR RUNS OUT OF GAS EVEN THOUGH THERE IS GAS IN THE CAR IT SHUTS OFF AT SLOW SPEEDS AND THE DEALERSHIP BASICALLY TOLD ME THAT A 2 1/2 YEAR CAR IS COVERED UNDER WARRANTY AND TOLD ME ITS GOING TO BE 2000.00 TO FIX IT!! BUT ON THE BRIGHT SIDE IF FORD RECALLS THE PART THEN I COULD GET REIMBURSED REALLY!!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/29/2014 - KATONAH, NY
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THE AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION WAS UNABLE TO SHIFT INTO DIFFERENT GEARS. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO MANEUVER THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND VEHICLE WAS TOWED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO INDEPENDENT MECHANIC AND DIAGNOSED A PART KNOWN AS THE "FORK" FELL WITHIN THE TRANSMISSION AND THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 86,000.LB

View Details

ENGINE

9/27/2014 - EL PASO, IL
THE AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION SHIFTING IS HORRIBLE WITH EXCESSIVE SHUDDERING AND LURCHING

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/26/2014 - WASHINGTON, DC
THE REFLECTIVE CAP THAT SAYS "FORD" INSIDE THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE HEADLIGHT ASSEMBLY FELL DOWN, DISALLOWING THE HEADLAMP BEAM TO BE DIRECTLY IN FRONT OF THE CAR CAUSING VISIBILITY PROBLEMS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/26/2014 - NEWPORT, NH
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THE DRIVER SIDE WINDOW WAS INOPERABLE. THE WINDOW WILL NOT GO UP OR DOWN. THE PROBLEM PERSISTED FOR A MONTH. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THE REGULATOR CABLE AND THE MOTOR WAS REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 43,761. JB

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/25/2014 - ANTELOPE, CA
I PURCHASED A USED 2012 FOCUS RECENTLY AND A FEW DAYS LATER ON 9/22/14 I WAS DRIVING AROUND 50 MPH WHEN THE RPMS JUST SHOT UP. I LET OFF THE GAS AND PRESSED DOWN ON IT AGAIN AND THE ENGINE REVVED UP BUT AGAIN THE CAR DID NOT RESPOND. I PULLED OVER TO THE SHOULDER AND TRIED TO CHANGE THE GEAR TO NEUTRAL, THEN REVERSE, THEN BACK TO DRIVE AND EACH GEAR DID NOT RESPOND TO THE GAS. AFTER SHUTTING THE CAR OFF I TRIED TO START IT UP AGAIN AND THE CAR WOULD NOT START. THE TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT AND THE THE MESSAGE "HILL START ASSIST NOT AVAILABLE" CAME ON. AFTER LETTING THE CAR SIT FOR A FEW MINUTES IT STARTED UP AND DROVE FINE FOR THE REST OF THE DAY. TWO DAYS LATER THE SAME THING HAPPENED ON THE FREEWAY AND I HAD TO CROSS THREE LANES OF HIGHWAY TRAFFIC WITHOUT BEING ABLE TO ACCELERATE. AFTER LETTING THE CAR SIT FOR A MINUTE THE CAR STARTED BACK UP AND DROVE FOR ABOUT A MINUTE AND THEN THE SAME THING HAPPENED AGAIN. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ALSO CAME ON THIS TIME AND STAYED ON. I MANAGED TO GET TO SCHOOL ALTHOUGH A LITTLE LATE. ON MY WAY HOME THE ISSUE OCCURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE FIRST TIME THE CAR WAS JERKING FORWARD AND LOOSING THE GEAR AND THEN JERKING FORWARD AGAIN. THE ISSUE OCCURRED A FEW MILES FROM MY HOUSE AND THIS TIME THE CAR WOULD NOT START UP ON MULTIPLE ATTEMPTS LIKE IT HAD PREVIOUSLY. I DISCONNECTED THE BATTERY THINKING THAT WOULD HELP RESET WHATEVER WAS STUCK BUT WHEN THE BATTERY WAS CONNECTED BACK UP THE CAR STILL WOULD NOT START. AFTER LOOKING OVER FUSES AND DISCONNECTING AND RECONNECTING THE BATTERY MULTIPLE TIMES THE CAR FINALLY STARTED BACK UP AND I WAS ABLE TO MAKE THE LAST FEW MILES TO MY HOME. THE CAR IS VERY UNSAFE TO DRIVE AND I WAS ALMOST REAR ENDED ON THE FREEWAY WHEN I HAD TO PULL OFF TO THE SHOULDER WITHOUT POWER TO THE DRIVE TRAIN. THE CAR HAS ALSO BEEN MAKING A GRINDING NOISE WHEN SHIFTING BETWEEN GEARS SINCE THE FIRST DAY.

View Details

STEERING

9/25/2014 - BLYTHEWOOD, SC
POWER STEERING SPORADICALLY COMES IN AND OUT---USUALLY WHEN THE CAR IS JUST STARTED AND WE ATTEMPT TO BACK OUT---THE STEERING HAS NO POWER. IF THIS HAPPENS WHILE DRIVING AT A HIGHER SPEED----THIS COULD BE BAD.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/22/2014 - WALNUT CREEK, CA
CAR STUTTERS AND DOES NOT SHIFT. SEVERE SHAKING AND LOSS OF CRUISE SPEED IS EFFECTED. THE CAR DOES NOT ACCELERATE PROPERLY AND SEEMS TO LOSE SPEED WHILE DRIVING. I AM SCARED TO LET MY DAUGHTER DRIVE THIS CAR AND ONLY HAVE OWNING IT FOR SEVERAL MONTHS IT HAS BEEN IN THE SHOP ONCE AND GOING BACK AGAIN. THERE IS NO APPARENT FIX FOR THIS PROBLEM AND THEY WILL NOT DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT. THE CLUTCH WAS REPLACED AND REPROGRAMMED AND THIS DID NOTHING TO FIX THE ISSUE

View Details

ENGINE

9/22/2014 - WALNUT CREEK, CA
CAR STUTTERS AND DOES NOT SHIFT. SEVERE SHAKING AND LOSS OF CRUISE SPEED IS EFFECTED. THE CAR DOES NOT ACCELERATE PROPERLY AND SEEMS TO LOSE SPEED WHILE DRIVING. I AM SCARED TO LET MY DAUGHTER DRIVE THIS CAR AND ONLY HAVE OWNING IT FOR SEVERAL MONTHS IT HAS BEEN IN THE SHOP ONCE AND GOING BACK AGAIN. THERE IS NO APPARENT FIX FOR THIS PROBLEM AND THEY WILL NOT DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT. THE CLUTCH WAS REPLACED AND REPROGRAMMED AND THIS DID NOTHING TO FIX THE ISSUE

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/22/2014 - WALNUT CREEK, CA
CAR STUTTERS AND DOES NOT SHIFT. SEVERE SHAKING AND LOSS OF CRUISE SPEED IS EFFECTED. THE CAR DOES NOT ACCELERATE PROPERLY AND SEEMS TO LOSE SPEED WHILE DRIVING. I AM SCARED TO LET MY DAUGHTER DRIVE THIS CAR AND ONLY HAVE OWNING IT FOR SEVERAL MONTHS IT HAS BEEN IN THE SHOP ONCE AND GOING BACK AGAIN. THERE IS NO APPARENT FIX FOR THIS PROBLEM AND THEY WILL NOT DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT. THE CLUTCH WAS REPLACED AND REPROGRAMMED AND THIS DID NOTHING TO FIX THE ISSUE

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 83
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds