Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2012 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 579 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Equipment (1) Parking Brake (2) Steering (77) Unknown Or Other (41)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (324) Structure (26) Vehicle Speed Control (61)
Electrical System (64) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (8) Suspension (12) Visibility (8)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Fuel Propulsion System (34) Seats (4) Tires (7) Visibility Wiper (8)
Engine (106) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes (20) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (9)
Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 87
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

10/17/2014 - SAN DIEGO, CA
MY FIRST ENCOUNTER STARTED IN MARCH WITH A WARNING CONDITION INDICATING A DEFAULT IN MY STEERING ASSISTANCE ONLY WHEN I WOULD TURN ON THE IGNITION, I CALLED FORD DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD IT WOULD GO AWAY BY TURNING OF THE IGNITION AND TURNING IT BACK ON.,AND IT DID GO AWAY. NOW IN AUGUST, I WAS DRIVING ON FREEWAY AND THE WARNING LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN WHILE DRIVING AND THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME VERY HARD TO STEER, I WAS ABLE TO MAKE IT TO A SAFE STOP ON THE SHOULDER OF THE HIGHWAY. THAT WAS THE MOST SCARIEST FOR ME WHILE ON THE HIGHWAY. GOD WAS WITH ME..

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/17/2014 - FT. THOMAS, KY
WHILE DRIVING MY CAR, IT OFTEN HESITATES WHEN SHIFTING, TURNING, ACCELERATING, OR DECELERATING. I HAD IT "REPAIRED" AT A FORD DEALERSHIP, WHICH INCLUDING REPLACING THE ENTIRE CLUTCH, IN MARCH 2014. THE PROBLEM CONTINUED WITH ADDED LOUD NOISES AND GRINDING/SHUDDERING. I RETURNED IT TO A DEALERSHIP, WHERE THE CLUTCH WAS REPLACED AGAIN IN JULY 2014. THE CAR WAS FINE FOR AWHILE, BUT AFTER 200 MILES, STARTED HAVING THE SAME ISSUES AS BEFORE. THE DEALERSHIP REPLACED THE CLUTCH AGAIN IN SEPTEMBER 2014. ON MY 4TH CLUTCH, AND IT CONTINUES TO HAVE THE SAME PROBLEMS. I LACK CONFIDENCE IN FORD THAT THEY CAN FIX THE PROBLEM AND I AM CONTINUOUSLY CONCERNED THAT MY CAR MAY HAVE UNEXPECTED PROBLEMS CAUSING SERIOUS SAFETY CONCERNS.

View Details

STEERING

10/16/2014 - LA GRANGE, NC
WHILE PULLING OUT INTO THE HWY MY CAR'S DASHBOARD GAVE A MESSAGE THAT STATED STEERING ASSIST MALFUNCTION. MY CARS STEERING WHEEL BECAME TIGHT AND HARD TO TURN. I GOT MY CAR TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND TURNED IT OFF. WHEN I TURNED THE CAR BACK ON THE DASH INFORMATION STATED THAT ALL SYSTEMS WERE NORMAL. I CALLED THE FORD COMPANY WHERE I PURCHASED THE CAR FOR THE SECOND TIME AND WAS TOLD THAT IF IT HAPPENED AGAIN TO BRING THE CAR IN. I CURRENTLY LIVE 70 MILES FROM WHERE I PURCHASED MY VEHICLE AND I'M SCARED TO DRIVE IT THAT FAR. I'VE HAD SERVICE WITH THEM BEFORE AND I AM NOT VERY HAPPY WITH ANY OF THEIR SERVICE I WANT MY CAR FIXED PROPERLY AND RIGHT SO I WON'T BE AFRAID TO DRIVE IT. PLEASE HELP.

View Details

STEERING

10/14/2014 - NEWPORT NEWS, VA
ON THE WAY HOME GOING ALONG THE INTERSTATE AT THE SPEED LIMIT OF 70 MPH, MY CARS STEERING SUDDENLY CUT OUT WITHOUT WARNING. WE SAFELY MADE IT TO THE SIDE OF THE INTERSTATE IN WHICH A LIGHT POPPED UP IN MY DASH WHICH SAID STEERING LOSS STOP SAFELY. I TURNED THE CAR OFF AND THEN STARTED IT BACK AGAIN IN HOPES THAT IT WAS JUST A GLITCH, BUT THE ERROR WAS STILL THERE. BY THE GRACE OF GOD, WE MADE IT HOME SAFELY. THE FOLLOWING MORNING, I CALLED THE CORPORATE CUSTOMER RELATIONS NUMBER AT THE FORD MOTOR COMPANY AND SPOKE TO A CUSTOMER REPRESENTATIVE WHO TOLD ME THAT YES THERE ARE RECALLS ON FOCUSES OF THE SAME YEAR FOR STEERING LOSS, BUT MY VIN NUMBER DID NOT FALL UNDER THAT RECALL BECAUSE MY CAR WAS NOT MADE AT THE SAME MANUFACTURING LOCATION. HE BASICALLY ADVISED ME THAT I NEED TO CALL MY LOCAL FORD DEALER AND HAVE MY CAR SENT THERE FOR REPAIR.I THEN RECEIVED THE ACTION PLAN-+-¥ FROM THE SUPERVISOR AT FORD IN WHICH IT DISCUSSED THE RESULTS FROM THE DIAGNOSTIC TEST. ALL THE RESULTS CORRELATED WITH THE OTHER FOCUS RECALLS WHICH SPOKE OF HIGH STEERING RESISTANCE AND THE TOTAL ESTIMATED BILL OF $2,207.55. I THEN CALLED THE CUSTOMER RELATIONS BACK AT CORPORATE FORD MOTOR COMPANY, GAVE THEM MY CASE NUMBER, AND EXPRESSED THE ISSUE THAT I WAS HAVING, THE DIAGNOSIS OF THE CAR, THE CORRELATION BETWEEN MY CARS DIAGNOSIS AND THE RECALLED FORD FOCUS DIAGNOSIS; THE REPRESENTATIVE THAT I SPOKE TO THEN SAID SHE WOULD DRAFT UP SOME MORE PAPERWORK IN MY CASE AND SEND IT TO HER SUPERVISOR, BUT IT WASN'T LIKELY THAT MY CAR WOULD BE COVERED UNDER RECALL.THE INCIDENT ON THE INTERSTATE WAS ONE THAT WAS HORRIFYING, COULD HAVE CAUSED DEATH AND HAS SENT ME INTO A SPIRAL OF NON-STOP PANIC ATTACKS AND I AM UNSURE OF WHAT ALL I CAN DO. I NEED YOUR HELP TO STOP THIS FROM HAPPENING TO SOMEONE ELSE AND TO HELP US GET THE RECALL FOR SAFETY CONCERNS THAT WE SHOULD HAVE BEEN AFFORDED IN THE FIRST PLACE.

View Details

STEERING

10/14/2014 - CLAY, WV
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AND EXCESSIVE FORCE WAS REQUIRED. THE "HYDRAULIC STERRING" WARNING LIGHT HAD ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT HAD THEN SHIFTED THE VEHICLE INTO PARK AND SHUT THE VEHICLE OFF. THE CONTACT HAD THEN RESTARTED THE VEHICLE AND THE FAILURE STOPPED. HOWEVER, THE FAILURE HAD RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR A DIAGNOSIS OF THE FAILURE AND THE MECHNIC STATED THT THE STEERING COULMN NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 78,500.GB

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/14/2014 - LITHIA, FL
DRIVING DURING VERY HEAVY MORNING RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC (AT APPROX 25 MPH). CAR BEGAN TO SHUDDER/HESITATE VERY BAD AND WOULD NOT ACCELERATE - I WAS ABOUT TO GET ONTO THE INTERSTATE. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND I WAS ABLE TO LIMP THE CAR THE REMAINING FEW MILES TO THE OFFICE. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT STAYED ON IN THE AFTERNOON ON THE DRIVE HOME. WAS ABLE TO PLUG IN MY OWN OBD COMPUTER AND RECEIVED THE CODE P0902 (CLUTCH ACTUATOR CONTROL CIRCUIT LOW). NEXT DAY, STARTED CAR AND THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS OFF AND CAR DROVE FINE. HAVE APPOINTMENT FOR 10/15 TO TAKE CAR TO DEALERSHIP BUT FEAR THAT BECAUSE THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS NO LONGER ON THEY WILL BE UNABLE TO "RECREATE THE ISSUE" AND WILL NOT FIX IT. I HAVE ALREADY HAD THIS CAR IN MULTIPLE TIMES FOR TRANSMISSION RESET, BUT THIS OCCURRENCE WAS BY FAR THE WORST. HAD I BEEN TRYING TO PULL OUT INTO TRAFFIC, THERE WOULD HAVE BEEN AN ACCIDENT BECAUSE THE CAR STOPPED ACCELERATING. I HAVE PRINTED THE CODE DESCRIPTION ALONG WITH THE SYNC VEHICLE HEALTH REPORT I RAN PROVING THAT THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS ON. HOPEFULLY, THIS (ALONG WITH THE CODE INFORMATION I PULLED MYSELF) WILL BE ENOUGH FOR THE DEALER TO TAKE THIS SERIOUSLY AND FIX THE PROBLEM.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/14/2014 - SHELBY TOWNSHIP, MI
ON-GOING ISSUES WITH THE TRANSMISSION SHUDDER, JERK, CHOKING AT LOWER SPEEDS ESPECIALLY AT ABOUT 15 MPG TO 40 MPG. THERE HAS NOT BEEN AN ACCIDENT YET BUT MANY CLOSE CALLS. DURING STOP AND GO TRAFFIC, OR MAKING A TURN FROM A STOPLIGHT, OR IN A CONSTRUCTION ZONE WHERE SPEEDS ARE SLOWER - DRIVING THIS VEHICLE BECOMES AN ISSUE. THERE ARE TIME WHEN THE CAR WILL NOT MOVE EVEN WITH THE GAS PEDAL PUSHED, IT JERKS AND CHUGS UNTIL THE TRANSMISSION KICKS IN CAUSING A DELAY IN ACCELERATION, OR IT CHOKES AS IF IT WILL DIE ON THE SPOT. THESE ARE ALL OPPORTUNITIES TO CAUSE AN ACCIDENT OR TO BE HIT BECAUSE YOU CANNOT GET YOUR CAR TO MOVE. IN DETROIT TRAFFIC IS BRUTAL - THEY DO NOT STOP FOR ANYTHING. I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE IN MAY OF 2012 - I ONLY HAVE 21,000 MILES ON THE VEHICLE ( CURRENTLY 10/15/14). I CANNOT TRADE IT IN SINCE THE VEHICLE VALUED SO LOW. I CANNOT SELL IT SINCE NO ONE WILL BUY A VEHICLE THAT DRIVES THE WAY IT DOES. FORD HAS PROVIDED A 7 YR. 100,000 MILE WARRANTY FOR THE TRANSMISSION BUT THAT IS OF NO SATISFACTION TO ME. NO ONE KNOWS WHAT THE WEAR AND TEAR WILL BE AS THE CAR AGES AND SOMEONE DIES BECAUSE OF IT. THESE VEHICLES NEED TO BE SERIOUSLY ADDRESSED. I DON'T DRIVE THE VEHICLE MUCH BECAUSE I DO NOT FEEL SAFE - YOU CANNOT PREDICT HOW MUCH WORSE IT IS GOING TO DRIVE ON ANY GIVEN DAY. DEALER REPAIRS DO NOT FIX THE PROBLEM, IT NEVER GOES WAYS AND THE CAR BEHAVES BADLY EVERY DAY - THROW IN A MAJOR MELTDOWN FOR THE REALLY BAD DAYS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/14/2014 - HARRISON, MI
CLUTCH CHATTER AT LOW SPEED, START OFF AND SHIFTING FROM 1ST TO 2ND, ONLY SEEMS TO DO IT AFTER ITS WARM OR UNDER A LOAD.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/13/2014 - SHREWSBURY, PA
DRIVER'S SIDE FRONT POWER WINDOW MOTOR FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/13/2014 - SHREWSBURY, PA
DRIVER'S SIDE FRONT POWER WINDOW MOTOR FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 87
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds