Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2012 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 767 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (17) Equipment (2) Parking Brake (2) Steering (122) Unknown Or Other (45)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (439) Structure (32) Vehicle Speed Control (76)
Electrical System (85) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (10) Suspension (13) Visibility (12)
Electronic Stability Control (14) Fuel Propulsion System (34) Seats (4) Tires (7) Visibility Wiper (10)
Engine (142) Fuel System Gasoline (11) Service Brakes (20) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (10)
Engine And Engine Cooling (17) Latches Locks Linkages (8) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 114
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

5/22/2015 - MEMPHIS, TN
ON SATURDAY, MAY 16, 2015, I WAS TRAVELING EAST ON INTERSTATE 40, MEMPHIS, TENNESSEE. SUDDENLY THE GAS PEDAL BUMPED TWICE AND MY VEHICLE WENT COMPLETELY DEAD IN THE MIDDLE OF THIS BUSY INTERSTATE. THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM JUST DIED, MY EMERGENCY FLASHERS WOULDN,T EVEN WORK. IALL I COULD DO WAS CONTINUE TO LAY ON THE HORN AND WAVE MY HAND OUT THE WINDOW TRYING TO GET THE ONCOMING TRAFFIC TO REALIZE MY CAR HAD STOPPED. MY HUSBAND TOLD ME TO GET OUT OF THE CAR. I WENT TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. A GOOD SAMARITAN, STOPPED AND WAS ABLE TO PUSH MY CAR ACROSS THE TWO LANES OF TRAFFIC AND SAFELY ON THE RIGHT MEDIAN. THIS HAPPENED BETWEEN 7:30 AND 8:15 IN THE EVENING. MY HUSBAND ARRIVED ON SCENE AND WE PLANNED TO RETURN IN THE MORNING WITH A BATTERY HOPING THAT WAS THE PROBLEM. I AM CURRENTLY UNEMPLOYED SINCE 03/15/2015, I COULDN'T AFFORD TO HAVE THE VEHICLE TOWED. I DO NOT THINK THIS WAS CAUSED BY THE BATTERY, I THINK IT WAS A DEFECTIVE TRANSMISSION. I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE IN MARCH, 2013 AS A CERTIFIED PRE-OWNED VEHICLE. EVERY PROBLEM I'VE HAD WITH THIS VEHICLE HAS BEEN WITH THE TRANSMISSION. THERE WAS IN FACT AN ISSUE WITH THE CLUTCH, I RECEIVED A LETTER FROM FORD MOTOR COMPANY THAT THE REPLACEMENT PART WAS DEFECTIVE AND MAY NEED TO BE REPLACED AGAIN. THE WARRANTY ON THE CLUTCH WAS EXTENDED TO 100,000 MILES. I HAVE A MESSAGE SCREEN ON THIS CAR. THERE WERE NO WARNINGS GIVEN TO ME. I DEFINITELY FEEL THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE! WHAT MAKES A CAR COMPLETELY DIE AS YOU ARE TRAVELING 55MPH? I HAVE SPOKEN TO FORD AND THEY SAY THAT PARTICULAR MODEL DOES HAVE SOME ISSUES, BUT THEY SAID THEY HAD NO IDEA WHAT COULD HAVE GONE WRONG. I WAS TOLD TO JUST FEEL LUCKY I WASN'T KILLED. ALL I WANT TO KNOW IS WHY WOULD A CAR GOING 55MPH SUDDENLY JUST DIE, WITH NO WARNING? I GUESS SOMEONE WILL HAVE TO BE KILLED TO GET ANY ANSWERS. THANK YOU.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/22/2015 - MEMPHIS, TN
ON SATURDAY, MAY 16, 2015, I WAS TRAVELING EAST ON INTERSTATE 40, MEMPHIS, TENNESSEE. SUDDENLY THE GAS PEDAL BUMPED TWICE AND MY VEHICLE WENT COMPLETELY DEAD IN THE MIDDLE OF THIS BUSY INTERSTATE. THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM JUST DIED, MY EMERGENCY FLASHERS WOULDN,T EVEN WORK. IALL I COULD DO WAS CONTINUE TO LAY ON THE HORN AND WAVE MY HAND OUT THE WINDOW TRYING TO GET THE ONCOMING TRAFFIC TO REALIZE MY CAR HAD STOPPED. MY HUSBAND TOLD ME TO GET OUT OF THE CAR. I WENT TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. A GOOD SAMARITAN, STOPPED AND WAS ABLE TO PUSH MY CAR ACROSS THE TWO LANES OF TRAFFIC AND SAFELY ON THE RIGHT MEDIAN. THIS HAPPENED BETWEEN 7:30 AND 8:15 IN THE EVENING. MY HUSBAND ARRIVED ON SCENE AND WE PLANNED TO RETURN IN THE MORNING WITH A BATTERY HOPING THAT WAS THE PROBLEM. I AM CURRENTLY UNEMPLOYED SINCE 03/15/2015, I COULDN'T AFFORD TO HAVE THE VEHICLE TOWED. I DO NOT THINK THIS WAS CAUSED BY THE BATTERY, I THINK IT WAS A DEFECTIVE TRANSMISSION. I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE IN MARCH, 2013 AS A CERTIFIED PRE-OWNED VEHICLE. EVERY PROBLEM I'VE HAD WITH THIS VEHICLE HAS BEEN WITH THE TRANSMISSION. THERE WAS IN FACT AN ISSUE WITH THE CLUTCH, I RECEIVED A LETTER FROM FORD MOTOR COMPANY THAT THE REPLACEMENT PART WAS DEFECTIVE AND MAY NEED TO BE REPLACED AGAIN. THE WARRANTY ON THE CLUTCH WAS EXTENDED TO 100,000 MILES. I HAVE A MESSAGE SCREEN ON THIS CAR. THERE WERE NO WARNINGS GIVEN TO ME. I DEFINITELY FEEL THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE! WHAT MAKES A CAR COMPLETELY DIE AS YOU ARE TRAVELING 55MPH? I HAVE SPOKEN TO FORD AND THEY SAY THAT PARTICULAR MODEL DOES HAVE SOME ISSUES, BUT THEY SAID THEY HAD NO IDEA WHAT COULD HAVE GONE WRONG. I WAS TOLD TO JUST FEEL LUCKY I WASN'T KILLED. ALL I WANT TO KNOW IS WHY WOULD A CAR GOING 55MPH SUDDENLY JUST DIE, WITH NO WARNING? I GUESS SOMEONE WILL HAVE TO BE KILLED TO GET ANY ANSWERS. THANK YOU.

View Details

STEERING

5/19/2015 - SMETHPORT , PA
WHILE DRIVING THE CAR AROUND A SLIGHT BEND IN THE ROAD AT AROUND 45 MILES PER HOUR, I BEGAN RECEIVING NOTIFICATIONS ON MY CONSOLE SAYING HILL ASSIST START WAS NOT FUNCTIONING AND THAT I HAD A STEERING ISSUE AND TO PULL OVER SAFELY. THE VEHICLE HAD NO POWER STEERING AND WAS DIFFICULT TO CONTROL ON THE ROAD BECAUSE THE CAR WANTED TO SWERVE. IT WAS ALSO PULLING TO THE RIGHT. AFTER TAKING THE CAR TO THE LOCAL GARAGE THEY TOLD ME THAT IT NEEDED TO GO TO A DEALERSHIP TO BE REPAIRED AND THAT THE PARTS ARE ON BACK ORDER. AFTER SPEAKING WITH A FORD DEALER IN KANE PENNSYLVANIA THEY NOTIFIED ME THAT IT HAS HAPPENED IN NUMEROUS OTHER FOCUSES AND THAT IT WOULD $1600 TO REPAIR IT.

View Details

STEERING

5/19/2015 - SAN JUAN CAPISTRANO, CA
COULD NOT MOVE STEERING WHEEL AT ALL WHEN I STARTED CAR. AFTER MULTIPLE RESTARTS, STEERING FINALLY WORKED NORMALLY. THIS SAME STEERING LOCK HAS HAPPENED WHEN I START MY CAR APPROXIMATELY 20 TO 30 TIMES SINCE THE FIRST INCIDENT. FORD DEALER COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG. THEY TOLD ME I NEEDED A CODE FOR THEM TO INVESTIGATE THE ISSUE. THIS HAS NOT HAPPENED WHILE DRIVING, BUT AM SOMEWHAT WORRIED MY STEERING MAY LOCK UP IN THIS SAME MANNER WHILE ON THE ROAD.

View Details

STEERING

5/18/2015 - WINTER HAVEN , FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. WHILE REVERSING, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE FAILURE WAS EXPERIENCED SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING RACK AND PINION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 34,200.

View Details

ENGINE

5/18/2015 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS AND ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE, THE VEHICLE HESITATED TO ACCELERATE. ALL OF THE WARNING INDICATORS ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE HAD A LEAK AND NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED AND THE BRAKE LINE AND CIRCUIT BOARD FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 29,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/18/2015 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS AND ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE, THE VEHICLE HESITATED TO ACCELERATE. ALL OF THE WARNING INDICATORS ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE HAD A LEAK AND NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED AND THE BRAKE LINE AND CIRCUIT BOARD FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 29,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/18/2015 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS AND ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE, THE VEHICLE HESITATED TO ACCELERATE. ALL OF THE WARNING INDICATORS ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE HAD A LEAK AND NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED AND THE BRAKE LINE AND CIRCUIT BOARD FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 29,000.

View Details

STEERING

5/16/2015 - CAMDEN, NC
I WAS DRIVING TO WORK ONE MORE WHEN MY CAR DASHBOARD LITE UP SAYING STEERING ASSISTANCE SERVICE REQUIRED. AN AT THAT POINT MY POWER STEERING WENT OUT ON ME. I PULLED OVER AND TURNED THE CAR OFF AS STEERING BECAME VERY HARD. AFTER TURNING MY CAR OFF AND BACK ON THE LIGHT WENT OFF AND MY STEERING WAS BACK TO NORMAL. CALLED THE DEALERSHIP WHO SAID AT THIS POINT DON'T WORRY ABOUT IF IT HAPPENS AGAIN TO BRING IT IN. WELL 5/14/15 ROLLS AROUND AND I'M LEAVING WORK GET IN MY CAR AN TURN THE CAR ON THE MY DASHBOARD LIGHTS UP AGAIN WITH THE SAME MESSAGE AND MY STEERING IS OUT AGAIN. CALLED THE DEALERSHIP THEY SAID TO BRING IT IN. I BRING IT IN ON 5/15/15 AND THEY SAID THAT MY POWER STEERING RACK ASSEMBLY NEEDS TO BE REPLACED AN SINCE MY WARRANTY RAN OUT THAT IT ISN'T COVERED AND THEY QUOTED ME OVER A THOUSAND DOLLARS TO FIX IT. I DON'T HAVE THAT KIND OF MONEY AND TO ME SINCE THAT IS A SAFTEY ISSUE THAT IS SOMETHING FORD SHOULD BE FIXING FOR FREE AS THAT CAN CAUSE ME TO GET INTO AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/12/2015 - CLEBURNE, TX
VEHICLE NOT STARTING. VEHICLE HAS POWER BUT NOTHING WHEN I TRY TO START CAR. EVERYTHING WORKS BUT FUEL GAUGE DOES NOT. AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS THE CAR STARTS. I'M STILL HAVING ISSUES WITH TRANSMISSION NOT SHIFTING RIGHT. DEALER KEEPS TELLING ME THEY FIXED IT BUT SAME JERKING STILL HAPPENS. SO FED UP WITH THIS CAR. . IT IS A LEMON.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 114
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds