Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2012 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 524 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Equipment (1) Parking Brake (2) Steering (63) Unknown Or Other (33)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (300) Structure (25) Vehicle Speed Control (53)
Electrical System (57) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (8) Suspension (11) Visibility (6)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel Propulsion System (32) Seats (4) Tires (7) Visibility Wiper (8)
Engine (96) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes (20) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (9)
Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 79
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

9/1/2014 - LIVONIA, MI
ENGINE MALFUNCTION MESSAGE APPEARED ON THE MESSAGE CENTER. THE ENGINE THEN SHUTOFF, LOSING POWER STEERING AND POWER BRAKES. I COASTED TO A STOP, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT RESTART AND HAD TO BE TOWED. THIS WAS THE SECOND INCIDENT WITH THIS SAME PROBLEM. FIRST INCIDENT WAS EIGHT DAYS PRIOR. DEALER STATED IT WAS FIXED, BUT EVIDENTLY NOT.

View Details

ENGINE

8/31/2014 - HARRISBURG, PA
THE CAR STOPPED ACCELERATING WHILE I WAS DRIVING ON 1-95 IN NEW JERSEY AT RUSH HOUR . I WAS ABLE TO PULL OVER SAFELY, RESUMED DRIVING AND THE CAR REPEATED THIS OVER THE NEXT DAY. AFTER A SERVICE BY A FORD DEALER, THE CAR RAN SMOOTHLY FOR 10 MILES THEN THE PROBLEM RE OCCURRED AND ENGINE LIGHT WENT BACK ON. WOULD NOT ACCELERATE IN REVERSE OR DRIVE. DEFINITELY WAS NOT FIXED. THIS IS IN ADDITION TO THE CONSTANT SPUTTERING AND CHUGGING WHEN I ACCELERATE. BUT COMING TO A DEAD STOP ON I95 IN NEW JERSEY TRAFFIC WAS TERRIFYING.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/31/2014 - HARRISBURG, PA
THE CAR STOPPED ACCELERATING WHILE I WAS DRIVING ON 1-95 IN NEW JERSEY AT RUSH HOUR . I WAS ABLE TO PULL OVER SAFELY, RESUMED DRIVING AND THE CAR REPEATED THIS OVER THE NEXT DAY. AFTER A SERVICE BY A FORD DEALER, THE CAR RAN SMOOTHLY FOR 10 MILES THEN THE PROBLEM RE OCCURRED AND ENGINE LIGHT WENT BACK ON. WOULD NOT ACCELERATE IN REVERSE OR DRIVE. DEFINITELY WAS NOT FIXED. THIS IS IN ADDITION TO THE CONSTANT SPUTTERING AND CHUGGING WHEN I ACCELERATE. BUT COMING TO A DEAD STOP ON I95 IN NEW JERSEY TRAFFIC WAS TERRIFYING.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/31/2014 - HARRISBURG, PA
THE CAR STOPPED ACCELERATING WHILE I WAS DRIVING ON 1-95 IN NEW JERSEY AT RUSH HOUR . I WAS ABLE TO PULL OVER SAFELY, RESUMED DRIVING AND THE CAR REPEATED THIS OVER THE NEXT DAY. AFTER A SERVICE BY A FORD DEALER, THE CAR RAN SMOOTHLY FOR 10 MILES THEN THE PROBLEM RE OCCURRED AND ENGINE LIGHT WENT BACK ON. WOULD NOT ACCELERATE IN REVERSE OR DRIVE. DEFINITELY WAS NOT FIXED. THIS IS IN ADDITION TO THE CONSTANT SPUTTERING AND CHUGGING WHEN I ACCELERATE. BUT COMING TO A DEAD STOP ON I95 IN NEW JERSEY TRAFFIC WAS TERRIFYING.

View Details

ENGINE

8/29/2014 - TAUNTON, MA
I WAS TRAVELING FROM THE ROUTE 128 HIGHWAY EXIT RAMP ONTO THE INTERSTATE 95 GOING APPROXIMATELY 50-55 MPH, AS I ROUNDED THE TOP OF THE RAMP I WENT TO ACCELERATE ONTO I-95 WHEN I FOUND I WAS SLOWING IN SPEED/DECELERATING AND FOUND THAT I HAD NO PICK UP WITH THE VEHICLE. I WAS ACTUALLY COASTING ,THE ENGINE APPEARED TO BE ON BUT I WAS UNABLE TO ACCELERATE. AS I COASTED TO THE BREAK DOWN LANE THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT FLASHED ON. I SAT AT THE SIDE OF THE ROAD FOR APPROXIMATELY 5-7 MINUTES, THE CAR DID RE-START. DUE TO WHAT APPEARED TO BE A DANGEROUS SPOT ON THE HIGHWAY I ATTEMPTED TO CONTINUE DRIVING TOWARDS AN EXIT. APPROXIMATELY 4 MILES DOWN THE HIGHWAY ( I TRAVELED AT 50 MPH IN THE FAR RIGHT LANE) THE CAR AGAIN, STOPPED ACCELERATING WAS DECELERATING, I WAS PUMPING THE GAS PETAL WITHOUT SUCCESS AND I COASTED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. I HAD THE CAR TOWED TO RODMAN FORD IN FOXBORO MA. THE SERVICE ADVISOR IS TELLING ME THE DIAGNOSTIC SHOWS NOTHING IS WRONG WITH THE CAR. HE ALSO REPORTS EVEN THOUGH THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT FLASHED ON TWICE THEIR IS NO INDICATION OF THE COMPUTER REGISTERING ANY TYPE OF FAILURE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/29/2014 - SUFFOLK, VA
CAR BEGAN TO SHUDDER AND BOG DOWN AS I MOVED FORWARD. THEN SLIPPED GOING INTO 2ND. WHEN GIVEN A GOOD AMOUNT OF GAS THE CAR HESITATED AND SLAMMED INTO GEAR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/29/2014 - CINCINNATI, OH
MY WIFE PURCHASED OUR FOCUS AUGUST 2012. SHORTLY THERE AFTER WE NOTICED THE CAR SHAKING AND SHUTTERING. WE TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALER TWO TIMES EACH TIME IT WAS PUT ON A COMPUTER AND GIVEN BACK TO US. THE SECOND TIME WE WERE TOLD THAT'S HOW FORD MADE THIS VEHICLE THERE WAS NOTHING MORE THAT COULD BE DONE.(WOODY SANDERS FORD). THE CAR ONLY HAS 9000 MILES ON IT AND STILL DRIVES LIKE CRAP.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/29/2014 - NORTH POTOMAC, MD
ONGOING ISSUE WITH THE TRANSMISSION, EVEN AFTER 3 "FIXES" AT A FORD SERVICE CENTER. TRANSMISSION HESITATES, JERKS, AND SHUDDERS IN GEARS 1 THROUGH 3 PRIMARILY, SOMETIMES HARD ENOUGH TO SPILL A DRINK. SLOW SPEEDS AND STOP AND GO SPEEDS RESULT IN HORRIBLE DRIVING CONDITIONS AS THE JERKS/SHUDDERS GET WORSE. IT FEELS UNSAFE TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE. FOR EXAMPLE, I'LL BE PREPARING FOR A LEFT TURN ACROSS TRAFFIC (WITH MORE THAN ENOUGH TIME TO TAKE THIS TURN), AND THE HESITATION WILL BE SO BAD THAT IT'S UNCLEAR IF I'LL MAKE THE LEFT OR GET HIT BY ONCOMING TRAFFIC FIRST. TRANSMISSION HAS NOW MOVED ON TO A GRINDING SOUND, JERKING MOTION, SOUNDS AS IF SOMETHING'S GETTING STUCK. EACH TIME I'VE TAKEN THE CAR INTO THE SHOP, IT RUNS WELL FOR A COUPLE OF WEEKS, AND THEN STARTS THE SHAKING AND HESITATING AGAIN. SLOWLY THE RESULTS COME BACK, AT FIRST SUBTLE SO YOU DON'T THINK TO RUSH TO THE SHOP TO DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT AGAIN (IT COSTS MONEY EACH TIME YOU HAVE TO TAKE IT), AND COME A COUPLE MONTHS THE CAR IS BACK TO HEAVY JERKING AND GRINDING. I FEEL EXTREMELY UNSAFE IN THE VEHICLE, IT'S UNCLEAR IF I'LL MAKE IT PROPERLY ACROSS TRAFFIC AT TIMES, OR BE ABLE TO MAKE TO DESTINATIONS ON LOG CAR RIDES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/29/2014 - HANOVER , MA
VEHICLE ROLLS BACKWARD WHILE AT A STOP, I DID NOT REALIZE I WAS ROLLING AND BUMPED THE CAR BEHIND ME WHILE AT A STOP LIGHT. GRADE AT STOP LIGHT IS 99% LEVEL GROUND. HAS CONSISTENTLY ATTEMPTED TO ROLL BACKWARDS AT ALL STOPS THEREAFTER, DEALER HAS SERVICED ISSUE MULTIPLE TIMES WITH NO RESULT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/28/2014 - SANFORD, FL
OUR 2012 FORD FOCUS SHUT OFF AT 70 MPH, WHILE SIMULTANEOUSLY LOSING PWR STR, PWR BRK, & ILLUMINATING ALL INST PANEL ICONS AS IN (KEY ON-ENG OFF). THEN WHILE COASTING TO COMPLETE STOP, CAR RETURNED TO NORMAL OPS & WAS ABLE TO DRIVE AWAY, NEVER TOUCHING THE IGN KEY SWITCH. FORD DEALER CLEARED MULTIPLE CODES, WHICH THEY WOULD NOT REVEAL. THEY DID TELL ME THERE WAS A PCM COMMUNICATION FAILURE IN HISTORY, BUT COULD NOT FIND ANY REASON FOR IT. THEY ALSO PERFORMED MULTIPOINT INSPECTION, WITH NO ISSUES FOUND. 1 MONTH PRIOR TO INCIDENT THE AUTOMATIC CLUTCH-OIL SEAL RECALL WAS PERFORMED UNDER WARRANTY. (CLUTCH & INNER INPUT SHAFT SEAL WAS REPLACED). CAR HAS BEEN OK SINCE. THIS INCIDENT OCCURRED WHILE DRIVING IN RAIN.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 79
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds