Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2012 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1873 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (31) Equipment (4) Parking Brake (2) Steering (365) Unknown Or Other (170)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (752) Structure (285) Vehicle Speed Control (112)
Electrical System (177) Exterior Lighting (9) Seat Belts (24) Suspension (18) Visibility (19)
Electronic Stability Control (23) Fuel Propulsion System (66) Seats (7) Tires (9) Visibility Wiper (22)
Engine (216) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Service Brakes (30) Traction Control System (4) Wheels (15)
Engine And Engine Cooling (20) Latches Locks Linkages (94) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 249
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

2/17/2017 - CONCORD, NC
"DRIVER ASSIST FAULT" AGAIN. THIS IS THE 4TH INSTANCE THAT IS HAPPENED IN 3 WEEKS - WHERE MY CAR SUDDENLY POWERS OFF WHILE I AM BEHIND THE WHEEL. THE LAST THREE TIMES IT HAPPENED WHILE MY CAR WAS IN REVERSE MOTION. TODAY, IT HAPPENED WHILE I WAS IN DRIVE BUT STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT IN DOWNTOWN CHARLOTTE, NC. SOMEONE HAD TO HELP ME PUSH MY CAR OUT OF THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD. OCCURRED ON MY WAY TO WORK AROUND 3:30 PM EST.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/17/2017 - CONCORD, NC
"DRIVER ASSIST FAULT" AGAIN. THIS IS THE 4TH INSTANCE THAT IS HAPPENED IN 3 WEEKS - WHERE MY CAR SUDDENLY POWERS OFF WHILE I AM BEHIND THE WHEEL. THE LAST THREE TIMES IT HAPPENED WHILE MY CAR WAS IN REVERSE MOTION. TODAY, IT HAPPENED WHILE I WAS IN DRIVE BUT STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT IN DOWNTOWN CHARLOTTE, NC. SOMEONE HAD TO HELP ME PUSH MY CAR OUT OF THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD. OCCURRED ON MY WAY TO WORK AROUND 3:30 PM EST.

View Details

STEERING

2/17/2017 - CONCORD, NC
"DRIVER ASSIST FAULT" AGAIN. THIS IS THE 4TH INSTANCE THAT IS HAPPENED IN 3 WEEKS - WHERE MY CAR SUDDENLY POWERS OFF WHILE I AM BEHIND THE WHEEL. THE LAST THREE TIMES IT HAPPENED WHILE MY CAR WAS IN REVERSE MOTION. TODAY, IT HAPPENED WHILE I WAS IN DRIVE BUT STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT IN DOWNTOWN CHARLOTTE, NC. SOMEONE HAD TO HELP ME PUSH MY CAR OUT OF THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD. OCCURRED ON MY WAY TO WORK AROUND 3:30 PM EST.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/16/2017 - PINETOPS, NC
02 SENSOR READING WANT GO OUT AFTER 02 REPLACEMENTS AND TRANSMISSION ALL OF A SUDDEN WANT GO IN REVERSE.

View Details

STEERING

2/16/2017 - BROOKFIELD, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACTS STATED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED INTERMITTENTLY WHEN ATTEMPTING TO START THE VEHICLE. A WARNING MESSAGE ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL STATING, "STEERING ASSIST FAILURE". THE CONTACT WAS ADVISED THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD HAVE TO BE TRANSPORTED TO THE DEALER WITH THE ERROR MESSAGE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details

ENGINE

2/15/2017 - SMYRNA, GA
WHEN ACCELERATING THE VEHICLE IS EXTREMELY HESITANT TO DRIVE ON A FLAT ROAD. THIS ISSUE GETS WORST WHEN ON A UPWARD HILL. ONCE THE VEHICLE GETS GOING, IT SHAKES AND SHUDDERS UNTIL IT PICKS UP ENOUGH SPEED TO GO. THERE SOUNDS LIKE THERE IS SOMETHING SCRAPING OR RATTLING INSIDE THE ENGINE. THIS IS A HAZARD WHEN MAKING ANY TYPE OF TURNS IN THE VEHICLE OR EVEN DRIVING.

View Details

STEERING

2/14/2017 - REEDLEY, CA
IT USED TO BE THAT UPON STARTING MY CAR, A WARNING PROMPT READING "STEERING ASSIST MALFUNCTION" POPPED UP AND MY STEERING WHEEL WOULD BE VERY DIFFCULT TO TURN. USUALLY, I WOULD TURN OFF THE CAR, TURN IT BACK ON, AND VOILA--IT WOULD WORK FINE. BUT NOW, THE STEERING WHEEL MALFUNCTION HAS DEVELOPED WHILE DRIVING THE CAR WITH NO PATTER OR WARNING OF IT HAPPENING. AGAIN I WOULD TURN OFF THE CAR AND TURN IT BACK ON ONCE I MERGED OUT FROM THE ROADS OF THE STREET OR FREEWAY. STEERING ALONE WAS REALLY DIFFICULT. NOW, MY CAR READS THE SAME MALFUNCTION PROMPT, AND MY NIFTY TRICK OF TURNING IT OFF AND BACK ON NO LONGER WORKS. THE ISSUE IS PERMANENT AS OF NOW. ALSO I HAVE LOTS OF VIDEOS DOCUMENTED ABOUT THIS ISSUE ON YOUTUBE.

View Details

STEERING

2/14/2017 - WINTER PARK, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS SHIFTED INTO THE DRIVE OR REVERSE POSITIONS, THE STEERING WHEEL FAILED AND BECAME DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER. THE POWER STEERING DEFAULT WARNING MESSAGE DISPLAYED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 75,600. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

STEERING

2/12/2017 - ROMEOVILLE, IL
INTERMITTENT POWER ASSIST STEERING MALFUNCTION OVER THE PAST 6 MONTHS. POWER ASSIST MALFUNCTION ON STARTING CAR WOULD RESET AFTER RESTARTING CAR. FORD GARAGE CHECKED AND COULD FIND NOTHING WRONG. WENT OUT TO START CAR TODAY AND POWER ASSIST STEERING NOW OUT COMPLETELY. UNABLE TO TURN STEERING WHEEL. RESTARTING CAR DOES NOT HELP. FORTUNATELY CAR WAS PARKED IN GARAGE WHEN THIS HAPPENED. WILL BE CALLING FORD TOMORROW.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/11/2017 - HARRISBURG, NC
METAL ON AIRBAG ASSEMBLY/STEERING WHEEL COVER CRACKING AND PEELING. CAUSING MULTIPLE FINGER LACERATIONS WHILE DRIVING.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 249
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds