Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2012 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1580 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (24) Equipment (4) Parking Brake (2) Steering (258) Unknown Or Other (151)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (675) Structure (251) Vehicle Speed Control (104)
Electrical System (157) Exterior Lighting (8) Seat Belts (20) Suspension (18) Visibility (17)
Electronic Stability Control (18) Fuel Propulsion System (53) Seats (5) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (18)
Engine (198) Fuel System Gasoline (11) Service Brakes (25) Traction Control System (4) Wheels (13)
Engine And Engine Cooling (20) Latches Locks Linkages (68) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 213
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/27/2016 - TUCSON, AZ
TAKATA RECALL THE DOOR LATCH ON THE DRIVER SIDE UNEXPECTEDLY STOP LATCHING SHUT. WAS PARKING THE CAR IN A PARKING LOT AND WENT TO CLOSE THE DOOR AND IT WOULD NOT LOCK OR CLOSE. THE DOOR DOES NOT CLOSE AND WHEN ATTEMPTING TO CLOSE THE DOOR IT BOUNCES BACK AND DOES NOT LATCH SHUT. HAD HOLD THE DOOR SHUT IN ORDER TO DRIVE HOME. RESEARCHED FORD FOR RECALLS AND FOUND THAT THE 2012 FORD FIESTA AND THE 2012 FORD FUSION WERE RECALLED WITH THE SAME PROBLEM.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/27/2016 - PLANO, TX
THE DRIVER DOOR LATCH FAILS TO CATCH WHEN CLOSING THE DOOR, EVEN WHEN ATTEMPTING TO LOCK THE DOOR. AS A RESULT, THE DOOR DOES NOT SECURE AND SWINGS OPEN WHILE DRIVING, PARTICULARLY WHEN TURNING TO THE RIGHT, AND DOES NOT LOCK TO SECURE INTERIOR AND CONTENTS. THE FAILURE WAS FIRST DISCOVERED WHILE DRIVING. AS WE TURNED RIGHT AT AN INTERSECTION, AFTER HAVING COME TO A COMPLETE STOP, THE DRIVER'S DOOR FLEW OPEN, ALMOST STRIKING A CAR DRIVING IN THE OPPOSITE DIRECT ON THE STREET WE TURNED ONTO, NARROWLY AVOIDING AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

8/26/2016 - EDMOND, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE DRIVER SIDE DOOR OPENED INDEPENDENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 80,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/26/2016 - CALIMESA, CA
I AM AN OWNER OF A 2012 FORD FOCUS. THE DRIVER DOOR LATCH SUDDENLY GAVE OUT AND WILL NOT SECURELY SHUT. THE DOOR WILL CLOSE, BUT WILL FLAP OPEN. THIS IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS AND EXPENSIVE FIX. YOU CAN SEE HOW THIS IS FRUSTRATING WHEN THE LATCH GAVE OUT ON ITS OWN. THANKFULLY, NOT WHILE I WAS DRIVING. PLEASE KEEP INVESTIGATING THIS ISSUE FOR IT SHOULD BE AN ISSUED RECALL. THIS IS A MUST TO KEEP ALL FOCUS OWNERS SAFE AND SECURE WHILE DRIVING. THANKS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/26/2016 - JUSTIN, TX
I WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK ,AND THE DRIVER DOOR LATCH FAILED. THE DOOR CAME OPEN WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION, AND NEARLY CAUSED AN ACCIDENT. THE VEHICLE CURRENTLY HAS ABOUT 49,000 MILES ON IT. ALL SCHEDULE MAINTENANCE IS UP TO DATE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/25/2016 - LAUDERDALE BY THE SEA, FL
WHEN I COME TO A STOP....AND THEN HAVE TO START UP AGAIN...THE CAR DOESN'T PICK UP THE SPEED. IT STUTTERS AND WILL NOT GET MOVING FOR A BIT. AND THEN IT DOES. SOMETIMES SCARY AS I AM TURING INTO ON COMING TRAFFIC AND CAN'T GET MOVING. THIS HAPPENS ON CITY STREETS AFTER STOPPING. ON A FEW OCCASIONS IT HAS HAPPENED WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY, LIKE IT HAS LOST A CONNECTION.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/25/2016 - ARLINGTON, TX
AS I WAS DRIVING MY 2012 FORD FOCUS THE DOOR ALL OF SUDDEN THE DRIVER REAR SIDE DOOR OPENED. I PULLED OVER AND TRIED TO SHUT THE DOOR BUT IT JUST BOUNCED BACK OPEN. THIS IS A BIG SAFETY HAZARD AND I'M NOT QUITE SURE WHY I SHOULD TO PAY FOR THE REPAIR AS THIS VEHICLE IS NOT THAT OLD FOR THIS TO BE HAPPENING AND I'VE ALSO HEARD A LOT OF COMPLAINTS FROM OTHER CONSUMERS HAVING THE SAME ISSUE. GOOD THING NO ONE WAS IN THE BACK OF THE VEHICLE WHEN THIS OCCURRED OR THE RESULTS WOULD HAVE BEEN DEVASTATING. I'M HOPING THERE WILL BE A RECALL FOR THE DOOR LATCH SOON.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/25/2016 - PHOENIX, AZ
ON TWO SEPARATE OCCASIONS THE DOOR LATCHES (REAR PASSENGER AND REAR DRIVER SIDE) ON THE VEHICLE BECAME STUCK OPEN/LOCKED. ONE OCCURRENCE RESULTED IN THE PASSENGER REAR DOOR FULLY OPENING WHILE MAKING A RIGHT TURN THE OTHER INCIDENT (8/24/2016) INVOLVED NOT BEING ABLE TO CLOSE THE REAR DRIVER SIDE DOOR, LATCH WAS STUCK IN THE LOCK POSITION AND WOULD NOT ALLOW FOR FULL CLOSURE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/25/2016 - THE WOODLANDS, TX
DOOR LATCH ON BOTH FRONT AND REAR DOORS FAILS TO OPERATE. DOORS CANNOT CLOSE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/25/2016 - KATY, TX
WHEN I WENT OUT ONE DAY TO LEAVE WORK THE BACK DRIVER SIDE PASSENGER DOOR LATCH NO LONGER WORKED AFTER I OPENED THE CAR. I CAN'T DRIVE THE CAR AT ALL WITHOUT THE DOOR FLYING OPEN. I TRIED TO SECURE IT BUT THE WEIGHT OF THE DOOR BREAKS ALL STRINGS/ROPES. I RESORTED TO A BUNGEE CORD. WHEN I TAKE TURNS THE DOOR STILL OPENS BUT CLOSES SHUT. I HAVE A BABY THAT SITS IN THE BACK SEAT SO I WAS SCARED AND TOOK IT INTO THE DEALERSHIP. THEY ARE TELLING ME SINCE ITS NOT AN ACTIVE RECALL YET THAT THEY WILL ONLY REPAIR IT FOR A DISCOUNTED RATE OF $350 BUT THE PART IS ON BACK ORDER. I TOLD THEM THIS WAS UNACCEPTABLE AS I HAVE A BABY IN THE BACKSEAT AND IT'S A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE. INTERESTING ENOUGH, AT FIRST WHEN THE REP. THOUGHT IT WAS COVERED UNDER A WARRANTY, HE TOLD ME HE COULD NOT RELEASE MY VEHICLE TO ME BECAUSE IT WAS A SAFETY HAZARD. NOW THAT THEY MIGHT NOT PAY FOR IT, IT'S OK TO BE RELEASED. VERY DISAPPOINTED IN FORD. I AM STILL WAITING TO HEAR BACK IF THEY WILL PAY FOR IT BUT AGAIN, THE PART ISN'T IN YET EITHER. I AM ALSO NOT ABLE TO SECURE MY CAR ANYMORE BECAUSE WITH ONE DOOR ALWAYS OPEN THE DOORS WILL LOCK BUT THE ALARM DOESN'T WORK.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 213
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds