Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2012 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 499 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Equipment (1) Parking Brake (2) Steering (62) Unknown Or Other (28)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (285) Structure (24) Vehicle Speed Control (51)
Electrical System (53) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (8) Suspension (11) Visibility (6)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel Propulsion System (34) Seats (4) Tires (7) Visibility Wiper (8)
Engine (89) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (20) Traction Control System (3) Wheels (9)
Engine And Engine Cooling (15) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 75
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

8/18/2014 - FUQUAY VARINA, NC
WHEN PULLING OUT ONTO A RURAL HIGHWAY FROM A STOP SIGN, MY CAR HESITATED BETWEEN 2-3 SECONDS AFTER MOVING PARTWAY INTO THE INTERSECTION. THE FEEL WAS DISTINCTLY LIKE CLUTCH SLIPPAGE, AND THE CAR REFUSED TO MOVE FORWARD DESPITE ME APPLYING ADDITIONAL PRESSURE ON THE ACCELERATOR. AFTER ALMOST 2 SECONDS OF VERY SLOWLY (2-3 MPH) CRAWLING INTO THE INTERSECTION THE TRANSMISSION ENGAGED ABRUPTLY AND I RESUMED MOVING INTO MY LANE. I FREQUENTLY EXPERIENCE THIS PARTICULAR PROBLEM, DESPITE TWO DEALERS OVER 4 TRIPS ATTEMPTING TO REPAIR IT, AND HAVE A GOOD FEEL FOR HOW TO MODULATE THE THROTTLE TO WORK THROUGH THE STALL. HOWEVER, THIS TIME IT NEARLY RESULTED IN ME BEING T-BONED ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR BY AN 18-WHEELER TRAVELLING 55 MPH. FORTUNATELY THE TRUCK WAS ABLE TO BYPASS ME IN HIS LEFT LANE. I WILL BE TAKING IT BACK TO A LOCAL DEALER FOR MY FIFTH TRIP, THIS TIME HOPEFULLY TO RECEIVE CLUTCH REVISION "F" AND TRANSMISSION SHAFT SEAL "D". WHY THE CARS BUILT WITH THE DPS6 TRANSMISSION HAVEN'T YET BEEN RECALLED IS A MYSTERY TO ME. I CAN ONLY GUESS THAT (HOPEFULLY) NO ONE HAS DIED WHEN FACED WITH A CIRCUMSTANCE SIMILAR TO MINE.

View Details

ENGINE

8/18/2014 - PACOIMA, CA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARING. THE VEHICLE FAILED TO RESTART AND WAS TOWED TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS CURRENTLY BEING DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 23,700. JS

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/17/2014 - ATASCADERO, CA
THIS YEAR VEHICLE YEAR HAS A TRANSMISSION SURGE PROBLEM. FORD FOCUS 2012. DANGEROUS TO DRIVE. YOU NEAVER KNOW WHEN THE TRANSMISSION WILL SURGE, BUCKING, SCARING ME ALMOST TO LOSING CONTROL. DEALERSHIP DID NOT ADVISE ME BEFORE I BOUGHT. WILL DO NOTHING TO HELP. DETROIT IS AWARE OF THE PROBLEM AND EXTENDED THE WARRANTY, BUT THAT DOES NOT HELP ME DRIVING IT. MY OPINION UNSAFE AND SHOULD NOT BE ON THE ROAD. I BOUGHT THIS IN FEB. 2014 WITH 34,000 MILES ON IT. I NEED PERRY FORD SAN LUIS OBISPO TO TAKE IT BACK. IT CAN NOT BE FIXED. I SEE 459 COMPLAINTS ON THIS. HOW CAN I GET HELP. I AM A DISABLED SENIOR.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/15/2014 - PENDLETON, OR
THIS HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES. WHEN PULLING OUT INTO TRAFFIC AND TRYING TO ACCELERATE THE VEHICLE WILL NOT ACCELERATE ABOVE, I'D SAY 10 MPH. IT TENDS TO HAPPEN WHEN IT IS WARMER OUT AND THE A/C IS ON. I HAVE FOUND THAT IF THE SHIFTER IS PUT INTO "SPORT MODE" AND I MANUALLY SHIFT FROM FIRST IT WON'T DO IT. THIS IS MY GF'S CAR AND SHE WILL NOT USE THE "SPORT MODE". THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS AND WILL PROBABLY LEAD TO AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/15/2014 - ROCHESTER, WA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE TRANSMISSION LOST ACCELERATION AND THERE WAS NO POWER TO THE WHEELS. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TESTING WHO STATED THE POWER TRAIN CONTROL MODULE HAD FAILED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 87,000. RG

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/14/2014 - GLEN BURNIE, MD
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 5 MPH, THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO MAKE A LOUD GRINDING NOISE AND STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN INTO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 47,491. PAM

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/13/2014 - PINCKNEY, MI
VEHICLE WOULD NOT ACCELERATE ON FREEWAY, FAILED TO SHIFT INTO HIGHER GEARS

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/12/2014 - LAUGHLIN, NV
WINDSHIELD WIPERS STOPPED WORKING DURING HEAVY DOWNPOUR. IT WAS NOT FUSES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/12/2014 - STANLEY, NC
THE TRANSMISSION SHUTTERS AND HESITATES TO SHIFT INTO GEAR WHILE ACCELERATING FROM STOP. HAVE TAKEN IT TO FORD MULTIPLE TIMES AND PROBLEM COMES BACK EVERY TIME

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/12/2014 - INDIO, CA
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 15 MPH AND ATTEMPTING TO MAKE A RIGHT TURN, THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE DOOR AJAR WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT SHE ATTEMPTED TO CLOSE THE DOOR BUT FAILED TO PROPERLY CLOSE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000. DJR

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 75
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds