Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2012 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1444 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (24) Equipment (4) Parking Brake (2) Steering (248) Unknown Or Other (120)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (3) Power Train (662) Structure (186) Vehicle Speed Control (103)
Electrical System (152) Exterior Lighting (7) Seat Belts (19) Suspension (18) Visibility (17)
Electronic Stability Control (16) Fuel Propulsion System (51) Seats (5) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (16)
Engine (195) Fuel System Gasoline (11) Service Brakes (25) Traction Control System (4) Wheels (13)
Engine And Engine Cooling (20) Latches Locks Linkages (57) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 199
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

7/23/2016 - WOODS CROSS, UT
2 MAJOR ISSUES: TRANSMISSION WOULD SUDDEN DROP OUT OF GEAR WHILE DRIVING. SEVERAL TIMES I WAS ON THE HIGHWAY AND IT WOULD DROP INTO NEUTRAL, LEAVING ME NO WAY TO CONTROL MY VEHICLE. THIS WAS FIXED WITH A FORD WARRANTY EXTENSION AND REPLACEMENT OF THE TRANSMISSION CONTROL MODULE (TCM). NOW, AT 74000 MILES, I AM HAVING A MALFUNCTION OF THE ELECTRONIC POWER STEERING (EPS). USUALLY RIGHT WHEN I START THE VEHICLE AND AM BACKING OUT OF MY GARAGE, BUT OCCASIONALLY ALSO WHILE DRIVING, A WARNING CODE APPEARS ON THE DASHBOARD SAYING "MALFUNCTION: POWER STEERING" AND THE WHEEL LOCKS IN PLACE. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS AND THE 2012 FOCUS SEEMS TO HAVE LOTS OF MAJOR ISSUES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/23/2016 - WOODS CROSS, UT
2 MAJOR ISSUES: TRANSMISSION WOULD SUDDEN DROP OUT OF GEAR WHILE DRIVING. SEVERAL TIMES I WAS ON THE HIGHWAY AND IT WOULD DROP INTO NEUTRAL, LEAVING ME NO WAY TO CONTROL MY VEHICLE. THIS WAS FIXED WITH A FORD WARRANTY EXTENSION AND REPLACEMENT OF THE TRANSMISSION CONTROL MODULE (TCM). NOW, AT 74000 MILES, I AM HAVING A MALFUNCTION OF THE ELECTRONIC POWER STEERING (EPS). USUALLY RIGHT WHEN I START THE VEHICLE AND AM BACKING OUT OF MY GARAGE, BUT OCCASIONALLY ALSO WHILE DRIVING, A WARNING CODE APPEARS ON THE DASHBOARD SAYING "MALFUNCTION: POWER STEERING" AND THE WHEEL LOCKS IN PLACE. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS AND THE 2012 FOCUS SEEMS TO HAVE LOTS OF MAJOR ISSUES.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/23/2016 - LAS VEGAS, NV
DRIVER SIDE DOOR LATCHES/UNLATCHES WHENEVER IT WANTS WHILE DRIVING. DOOR WON'T LATCH SHUT WHEN ENTERING OR EXITING CAR. DRIVER DOOR OPENED ON ITS OWN DRIVING DOWN FREEWAY TODAY 7/23/16 AND WOULDN'T LATCH BACK WHEN I TRIED TO SHUT THE DOOR. THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR SEVERAL MONTHS AND HAS HAPPENED ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS. MY CAR IS LESS THAN 4 YEARS OLD I SHOULDN'T BE HAVING THESE PROBLEMS. IT IS HIGHLY DANGEROUS AND NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED BEFORE SERIOUS INJURY OR DEATH OCCURS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/22/2016 - AUSTIN, TX
MY 2012 FORD FOCUS HAS HAD TWO DOORS BREAK DURING OPERATION AS IS DESCRIBED IN YOUR CURRENT INVESTIGATION TITLED "NHTSA ACTION NUMBER: PE16001". THE FIRST DOOR THAT MALFUNCTIONED WAS THE DRIVER'S DOOR. THE SECOND WAS THE REAR PASSENGER DOOR. IN BOTH CASES, I HAD BEEN DRIVING THE VEHICLE AND PARKED, THEN UPON ATTEMPTING TO CLOSE THE DOOR IT WOULD NO LONGER LATCH. FROM THAT POINT ON IT WAS IMPOSSIBLE TO LATCH THE DOOR CLOSED. IN THE CASE OF THE SECOND/REAR PASSENGER DOOR, MY GIRLFRIENDS' 9 YEAR OLD SISTER WAS IN THAT SEAT...WHEN I WENT TO OPEN IT FOR HER TO GET OUT I DISCOVERED THE DOOR WAS OPEN. THIS IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS, OBVIOUSLY. I HAVE ALSO HAD TO SPEND APPROXIMATELY $1000 REPAIRING THESE DOORS AT MY LOCAL FORD DEALERSHIP, AS THE CAR ISN'T OPERABLE IN THAT CONDITION AND FORD DENIED MY REQUESTS TO PAY FOR THE REPAIRS. I AM AWARE THAT A SIMILAR PROBLEM IN OTHER FORD MODELS HAS RESULTED IN A RECALL, BUT FOR MY SPECIFIC MODEL JUST YOUR ON-GOING INVESTIGATION HAS TAKEN PLACE THUSFAR.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/22/2016 - AUSTIN, TX
THE REAR DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR SPONTANEOUSLY REFUSED TO STAY SHUT. I WAS PARKED IN MY DRIVEWAY. WHEN I TRIED TO BACK OUT OF THE DRIVEWAY, THE ALARM SOUNDED, INDICATING THE REAR DOOR WAS AJAR.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/21/2016 - CAPISTRANO BEACH, CA
TAKATA RECALL. I HAVE A 2012 FORD FOCUS THAT I BOUGHT ABOUT 2 YEARS AGO FROM SOMEONE ON CRAIGSLIST. IT'S MY FIRST CAR AND HAS BEEN THE MOST AMAZING FIRST CAR I COULD'VE ASKED FOR, WHEN I FIRST PURCHASED IT I HAD GOTTEN A LETTER IN THE MAIL REGARDING MY FORD AND IT TOLD ME TO BRING IT INTO FORD BECAUSE THERE WAS A RECALL ON MY TRANSMISSION. SO I BROUGHT IT IN TO CAPISTRANO FORD TURTLE CLICK, THEY TOLD ME TO COME BACK AFTER THE 4 DAY WEEKEND BECAUSE I PROBABLY DIDN'T WANT MY CAR SITTING IN THE SHOP ALL WEEKEND FOR SUCH A MINOR PROBLEM. SO I ASKED IF MY CAR WAS GOING TO BE FINE FOR ME TO STILL DRIVE IN OR SHOULD I JUST LET IT BE UNTIL THEY COULD WORK ON IT. THE MAN TOLD ME THAT MY CAR WOULD BE FINE AND JUST BRING IT IN AFTER THE WEEKEND. I ALSO CALLED AS SOON AS I WAS LEAVING THE DEALERSHIP AND MADE AN APPT AND ALSO GOT IT VERIFIED THAT MY CAR WOULD BE FINE TO DRIVE IN UNTIL MY APPT. FUNNY THING THE NEXT DAY MY GF AND I WE'RE DRIVING AND I STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT AND IT TURNED GREEN WENT TO HIT THE GAS AND MY CAR JUST DIED. DIDN'T EVEN FEEL LIKE IT TURNED OFF OR ANYTHING AND THEN IT SHOWED MY CAR WAS NOT REGISTERING THAT IT WAS IN DRIVE. SO I CALL FORD AND THEY HAD ME TOW THE CAR TO THEM AND THEY SAID THERE HAD BEEN A RECALL ON THE TRANSMISSION SOMETHING AND THEY FIXED IT FOR ME. SO SHE WAS RUNNING SO GOOD AND ABOUT 8 MONTHS DOWN THE LINE THE SAME KIND OF PROBLEM WITH MY TRANSMISSION IS HAPPENING EXCEPT NOW I GET IN MY CAR AND WILL GO TO TURN THE KEY AND IT WON'T TURN OVER, I HAVE TO LET IT DING 4 TIMES AND THEN IT'LL START. VERY ODD? I THEN WILL START DRIVING AND WHEN IT GOES TO SHIFT INTO SECOND GEAR IT DOES A GNARLY STALL AND IT'S ALMOST LIKE IT CAN'T CATCH THE GEARS AND IT'S BEEN TELLING ME "TRANSMISSION TOO HOT PULL OVER SAFELY" AND THEN IT JUST PULLS ITSELF OUT OF GEAR AND I KINDA JUST COAST INTO A SPOT. SO I TOLD FORD ABOUT IT ALL AND NOW THEY CAN'T FIX MY CAR BECA

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/21/2016 - COLBY, KS
THE DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR LATCH HAS FAILED AND THE DOOR WILL NOT HOLD ITSELF CLOSED. WHEN I ATTEMPT TO LOCK THE DOORS, IT TRIES AND IMMEDIATELY UNLOCKS THEM. THE LATCH MECHANISM ITSELF CAN BE PUSHED CLOSED WITH YOUR FINGER WHEN THE DOOR IS OPEN HOWEVER IT DOESN'T ACTUALLY STAY CLOSED. A SPRING FORCES IT BACK OPEN. THE LATCH FAILED IN THE PARKING LOT. WHEN I GOT IN TO COME HOME FROM WORK, THE DOOR WOULD NOT LATCH CLOSED. I THOUGHT MAYBE THE SEAT BELT OR SOME OTHER OBJECT GOT CAUGHT IN IT HOWEVER THAT WAS NOT THE CASE. IN ORDER TO DRIVE HOME, I HAD TO HOLD THE DOOR CLOSED AS BEST AS I COULD WITH ONE HAND WHILE ATTEMPTING TO STEER AND OPERATE TURN SIGNALS WHICH IS EXTRAORDINARILY UNSAFE AND DISTRACTING.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/21/2016 - SIMI VALLEY, CA
MY SON'S 2012 FORD FOCUS LEFT REAR DOOR FLUNG OPEN ON ITS OWN WHILE DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY. THANKFUL NO ONE WAS INJURED, AND WHEN HE PULLED TO THE SHOULDER HE REALIZED THAT HE COULD NOT GET THE TO ENGAGE TO CLOSE OR LOCK. HE STRUGGLED WITH IT FOR A FEW MINUTES, AND REALIZED IT WAS USELESS. HE THEN HAD TO DRIVE HOME HOLDING REAR DOOR CLOSED WHILE TRYING TO SAFELY DRIVE THE CAR. FORD NEEDS TO RECALL THE DOOR LATCHES ON THESE VEHICLES. DRIVERS RISK DEATH AND INJURY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/21/2016 - BALTIMORE, MD
TCM RECALL, I HAVE HAD TO TAKE MY CAR TO THE SHOP GOING ON 3 TIMES NOW FOR THE SAME ISSUE. MY CAR IS LOOSING POWER, HESITATING TO GO INTO GEAR, AND SHUDDERING WHILE DRIVING. MY RADIO IS ALSO TURNING OFF WHILE DRIVING AND DOES NOT FIX UNTIL I TURN THE CAR ON AND OFF. MY TRANSMISSION FEELS LIKE ITS DRIVING. I DON'T FEEL SAFE DRIVING THIS VEHICLE AND I HAVE STARTED THE STEPS TO FILE A COMPLAINT WITH FORD. I WANT TO DRIVE A SAFER CAR I FEEL LIKE IM RISKING ME AND MY PASSENGERS LIVES WHEN I DRIVE THIS CAR. I LOVE IT BUT I JUST WANT TO FEEL SAFE AND WANT TO FEEL LIKE MY AUTO COMPANY CARES ABOUT ITS DRIVERS. ONCE WHEN THEY FIRST FIXED THE TCM I DROVE IT OFF THE LOT AND GOT A TRANSMISSION ERROR MESSAGE AND THEY HAD TO COME TAKE IT BACK TO THE DEALER. WHEN I PULL OFF AT A LIGHT MY CAR SHAKES UNTIL IT GETS TO 20MPH THEN IT STILL SHUDDERS A BIT UNTIL IT GETS ABOUT 50 MPH

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/20/2016 - SANTEE, CA
WHEN I APPROACHED MY VEHICLE PARKED IN A PRIVATE PARKING LOT I NOTICED THE DRIVER DOOR WAS AJAR. I TRIED TO SHUT IT MULTIPLE TIMES WITH NO SUCCESS. I ENDED UP MANUALLY HOLDING THE DOOR CLOSED, WHICH WAS VERY UNSAFE, AND TOOK MY VEHICLE TO THE NEAREST FORD SERVICE CENTER FOR REPAIRS. I WAS EVENTUALLY DETERMINED THAT IT WAS A FAULTY DOOR LATCH THAT WAS EXTREMELY EXPENSIVE TO HAVE REPLACED. UGH!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 199
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds