Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS ELECTRIC - 2012 FORD FOCUS ELECTRIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 31 complaints filed for the 2012 FORD FOCUS ELECTRIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 FORD FOCUS ELECTRIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 FORD FOCUS ELECTRIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Engine (2) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes (2) Unknown Or Other (1)
Electrical System (13) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Power Train (13) Steering (6) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electronic Stability Control (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  ... 4
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN: CLUTCH ASSEMBLY

6/26/2019 - MONSEY, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 FORD FOCUS ELECTRIC. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH, THE VEHICLE HESITATED TO SWITCH GEARS. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN TO MAHWAH FORD (55 FRANKLIN TPK, MAHWAH, NJ 07430) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE CLUTCH ASSEMBLY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 26,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/18/2019 - SACRAMENTO, CA
MY VEHICLE EXPERIENCED A STOP SAFELY NOW MESSAGE WHILE DRIVING. POWER WERE CUT OFF AND THE VEHICLE STALLED IN MOVING TRAFFIC. MY VEHICLE HAD DONE A RECALL ON THE POWER HARNESS TO ADDRESS THE STOP SAFELY NOW ISSUE BUT I DON'T THINK THE RECALL FIXED IT COMPLETELY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/29/2019 - GREENVILLE, NC
JERKING DURING TAKE OFF AND GEAR SHIFTING. WHILE DRIVING CAR WILL JERK AT LOW SPEED BUT RISE TO 4 SPEED. TOOK TO DEALERSHIP THEY SAY IT+S TRANSMISSION CLUTCH SHUDDER, MY THIRD REPLACEMENT AND IT+S A ISSUE THT CONTINUES TO HAPPEN. $1400.00 REPAIR

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/19/2019 - CARLSBAD, CA
JUST TURNED IN AN ORIGINAL CHARGING CORD UNDER RECALL (THE CORDS PLUG WOULD TEND TO OVERHEAT AND WAS A POTENTIAL FIRE HAZARD) AND GOT A BRAND NEW CORD FROM KEN GRODY FORD, CARLSBAD, CA. MY FIRST THOUGHT WHEN LOOKING AT THE NEW CORD WAS THAT THE ELECTRICAL CORD (19' LONG PART) LOOKED UNUSUALLY THIN. WITH THE NEW CORD, THE APPROX 19' PART OF THE CORD GETS WARM, ALL 19 FEET! THEY OBVIOUSLY USED TOO SMALL OF A WIRE GAUGE IN THE NEW CORD, AND THIS IN ITSELF IS A SAFETY HAZARD IN MY OPINION. I SPECIALIZE IN SELLING ELECTRIC CARS, AND I'M ALWAYS CHARGING VARIOUS MAKES AND MODELS IN MY GARAGE ON A 15AMP/110V DEDICATED CIRCUIT, AND HAVE NO ISSUES WITH OTHER CHARGING CORDS.

View Details

STEERING

10/30/2018 - DALLAS, TX
THE STEERING WHEEL ON MY CAR IS STARTING TO LOCK UP WHEN YOU ARE DRIVING THE STEERLING WHEEL GETS STUCK AND ITS HARD TO CONTROL THE CAR,.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/10/2018 - HOT SPRINGS, AR
THE BATTERY WHICH IS FUNCTIONAL DISCHARGES EVEN AFTER THE CAR HAS BEEN DRIVEN RECENTLY AND THE CAR WILL NOT START UNTIL THE BATTERY IS JUMPED. WHICH PRESENTS A PROBLEM IN THAT YOU CANNOT SURE IF YOU GET BACK FROM WHERE YOU HAVE GONE. THE BATTERY AND ALTERNATOR ARE FUNCTIONING.

View Details

STEERING

7/25/2018 - OKLAHOMA CITY, OK
TWICE SINCE WE HAVE OWNED THIS CAR THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKS UP AFTER THE ENGINE IS STARTED. MY WIFE SAYS THERE IS A MESSAGE ON THE DASH DISPLAY ABOUT THE STEERING. BOTH TIMES SHE SHOWED ME THE STEERING BEING LOCKED UP IN THE DRIVEWAY OF OUR HOME. I WAS ABLE TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM BY TURNING OFF THE IGNITION SWITCH AND RESTARTING. SHE TOLD ME THIS MORNING IT HAS HAPPENED TO HER WHILE DRIVING ONCE ON A HIGHWAY AT 60 MPH . SHE WAS ABLE TO STRONG ARM THE STEERING WHEEL TO THE SHOULDER. I AM EXTREMELY CONCERNED ABOUT THIS PROBLEM. I STILL OWE A LOT OF MONEY ON THIS CAR AND I CAN'T EVEN GIVE IT AWAY WITH THIS KIND OF PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

6/5/2018 - CENTENNIAL, CO
THE FORD FOCUS ELECTRIC HAS TWO "DRIVE" MODES: "D" AND "L". THE LATTER IS MORE AGGRESSIVE IN REGENERATIVE BRAKING. WHEN I APPROACH A RIGHT TURN INTO MY NEIGHBORHOOD, THERE IS A SHORT SEGMENT OF CEMENT BETWEEN THE TWO ASPHALT ROADS. I BELIEVE THE TRACTION/STEERING CONTROL GETS CONFUSED, AND THE REGENERATIVE BRAKING DISENGAGES, CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO ACCELERATE AND LURCH FORWARD, EVEN IF I AM BRAKING/DECELERATING. STEERING BEHAVIOR ALSO SEEMS AFFECTED. THE FIRST TIME THIS HAPPENED WAS VERY DISCONCERTING AS I THOUGHT I WAS GOING TO CRASH INTO THE VEHICLE STOPPED AT THE CROSS-STREET I WAS TURNING ONTO. I CAN REPRODUCE THIS CONSISTENTLY.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/5/2018 - CENTENNIAL, CO
THE FORD FOCUS ELECTRIC HAS TWO "DRIVE" MODES: "D" AND "L". THE LATTER IS MORE AGGRESSIVE IN REGENERATIVE BRAKING. WHEN I APPROACH A RIGHT TURN INTO MY NEIGHBORHOOD, THERE IS A SHORT SEGMENT OF CEMENT BETWEEN THE TWO ASPHALT ROADS. I BELIEVE THE TRACTION/STEERING CONTROL GETS CONFUSED, AND THE REGENERATIVE BRAKING DISENGAGES, CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO ACCELERATE AND LURCH FORWARD, EVEN IF I AM BRAKING/DECELERATING. STEERING BEHAVIOR ALSO SEEMS AFFECTED. THE FIRST TIME THIS HAPPENED WAS VERY DISCONCERTING AS I THOUGHT I WAS GOING TO CRASH INTO THE VEHICLE STOPPED AT THE CROSS-STREET I WAS TURNING ONTO. I CAN REPRODUCE THIS CONSISTENTLY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/5/2018 - CENTENNIAL, CO
THE FORD FOCUS ELECTRIC HAS TWO "DRIVE" MODES: "D" AND "L". THE LATTER IS MORE AGGRESSIVE IN REGENERATIVE BRAKING. WHEN I APPROACH A RIGHT TURN INTO MY NEIGHBORHOOD, THERE IS A SHORT SEGMENT OF CEMENT BETWEEN THE TWO ASPHALT ROADS. I BELIEVE THE TRACTION/STEERING CONTROL GETS CONFUSED, AND THE REGENERATIVE BRAKING DISENGAGES, CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO ACCELERATE AND LURCH FORWARD, EVEN IF I AM BRAKING/DECELERATING. STEERING BEHAVIOR ALSO SEEMS AFFECTED. THE FIRST TIME THIS HAPPENED WAS VERY DISCONCERTING AS I THOUGHT I WAS GOING TO CRASH INTO THE VEHICLE STOPPED AT THE CROSS-STREET I WAS TURNING ONTO. I CAN REPRODUCE THIS CONSISTENTLY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  ... 4
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds