Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC TERRAIN - 2012 GMC TERRAIN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 123 complaints filed for the 2012 GMC TERRAIN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 GMC TERRAIN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 GMC TERRAIN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (14) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (17) Exterior Lighting (3) Seats (1) Suspension (2) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Service Brakes (3) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (26)
Engine (41) Power Train (12) Steering (3) Unknown Or Other (8) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

3/21/2018 - WAUSAU, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 GMC TERRAIN. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND DID NOT RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE. THE FOLLOWING DAY, THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO STARK CHEVROLET/BUICK IN MERRILL, WISCONSIN WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 75,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/5/2018 - POWDER SPRINGS, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 GMC TERRAIN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BRAKE PEDAL TRAVELED TO THE FLOORBOARD WHEN IT WAS DEPRESSED. THE CONTACT HAD TO APPLY FORCE TO THE BRAKE PEDAL TO ENSURE THE VEHICLE MADE A COMPLETE STOP. THE DEALER (HARDY CHEVROLET, 2115 BROWNS BRIDGE RD, GAINESVILLE, GA 30501, (770) 532-4389) DIAGNOSED THAT THE BRAKE MASTER CYLINDER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER ISSUED 20 TSBS ON THE BRAKE SYSTEM, BUT HAD NOT ISSUED A RECALL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

3/4/2018 - MIAMI, FL
I EXPERIENCING PROBLEMS WITH MY GMC TERRAIN. I HAVE CONTACTED MY LOCAL DEALER (DORAL GMC, IN MIAMI, FL) ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS WITH NO RESPONSE. I HAVE SUBMITTED A WRITTEN COMPLAINT TO GMC ON APRIL 10TH, 2012 AND NEVER RECEIVED A REPLY. I+VE EXPERIENCED CONTINUOUS CAR PROBLEMS SINCE THE PURCHASE OF MY VEHICLE. WITHIN THE FIRST 3 MONTHS OF PURCHASE MY CAR HAD ALREADY BEEN KEPT AT THE DEALER FOR 30 DAYS ON 2 SEPARATE OCCASIONS. VEHICLE PROBLEMS WERE, FOR EXAMPLE; THE AIRBAG SERVICE LIGHT TURNED ON, CAR TURNED OFF WHILE DRIVING ON A HIGHWAY, THIS ISSUE WAS TAKEN CARE OF BUT RETURNED SEVERAL TIMES TO HAVE IT CORRECTED AS IT KEPT HAPPENING. THE VEHICLE ALSO EXPERIENCED TRANSMISSION ISSUES, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ALSO KEPT TURNING ON AND SERVICE DEPARTMENT COULDN+T FIGURE ANYTHING OUT WITH MY VEHICLE.THIS WAS MY FIRST GMC PURCHASE AND IT HAS BEEN MY ABSOLUTE WORST EXPERIENCE WITH ANY AMERICAN CAR COMPANY. THE LATEST ISSUE SINCE DECEMBER OF 2017 HAS BEEN THE AIRBAG SERVICE LIGHT ONCE AGAIN AND THE STABILITY TRACK LIGHT. I TOOK THE VEHICLE IN FOR SERVICE ONCE AGAIN AND I WAS CHARGED FOR DIAGNOSTIC SERVICE SO THAT THE ISSUE COULD BE FOUND FOR EACH ISSUE AND WAS TOLD I WOULD HAVE TO PAY $135.00 PER ISSUE. I ONLY PAID FOR THE AIRBAG ISSUE SINCE IT SEEMED TO BE THE MOST DANGEROUS ONE AND WAS TOLD BY SERVICE DEPARTMENT THAT THE MODULE KIT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THIS NEW CHARGE WAS $ 823.90 THAT I HAD TO PAY OUT OF POCKET. THIS ISSUE SEEMS TO BE A FACTORY ONE AND I WOULD LIKE TO BE REIMBURSED SINCE THIS IS A SAFETY FEATURE THAT SHOULD NOT HAVE HAPPENED. I+VE NEVER HAD AN ACCIDENT AND HAVE KEPT IT SERVICED AND WELL MAINTAINED AT THE DEALER THROUGH OUT ALL THE RECALLS AND SERVICE PROBLEMS. THE REASON I PAID FOR THIS SERVICE WAS MAINLY FOR THE SAFETY OF MY FAMILY BUT ONCE AGAIN, IT+S AN INCONVENIENCE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/4/2018 - MIAMI, FL
I EXPERIENCING PROBLEMS WITH MY GMC TERRAIN. I HAVE CONTACTED MY LOCAL DEALER (DORAL GMC, IN MIAMI, FL) ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS WITH NO RESPONSE. I HAVE SUBMITTED A WRITTEN COMPLAINT TO GMC ON APRIL 10TH, 2012 AND NEVER RECEIVED A REPLY. I+VE EXPERIENCED CONTINUOUS CAR PROBLEMS SINCE THE PURCHASE OF MY VEHICLE. WITHIN THE FIRST 3 MONTHS OF PURCHASE MY CAR HAD ALREADY BEEN KEPT AT THE DEALER FOR 30 DAYS ON 2 SEPARATE OCCASIONS. VEHICLE PROBLEMS WERE, FOR EXAMPLE; THE AIRBAG SERVICE LIGHT TURNED ON, CAR TURNED OFF WHILE DRIVING ON A HIGHWAY, THIS ISSUE WAS TAKEN CARE OF BUT RETURNED SEVERAL TIMES TO HAVE IT CORRECTED AS IT KEPT HAPPENING. THE VEHICLE ALSO EXPERIENCED TRANSMISSION ISSUES, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ALSO KEPT TURNING ON AND SERVICE DEPARTMENT COULDN+T FIGURE ANYTHING OUT WITH MY VEHICLE.THIS WAS MY FIRST GMC PURCHASE AND IT HAS BEEN MY ABSOLUTE WORST EXPERIENCE WITH ANY AMERICAN CAR COMPANY. THE LATEST ISSUE SINCE DECEMBER OF 2017 HAS BEEN THE AIRBAG SERVICE LIGHT ONCE AGAIN AND THE STABILITY TRACK LIGHT. I TOOK THE VEHICLE IN FOR SERVICE ONCE AGAIN AND I WAS CHARGED FOR DIAGNOSTIC SERVICE SO THAT THE ISSUE COULD BE FOUND FOR EACH ISSUE AND WAS TOLD I WOULD HAVE TO PAY $135.00 PER ISSUE. I ONLY PAID FOR THE AIRBAG ISSUE SINCE IT SEEMED TO BE THE MOST DANGEROUS ONE AND WAS TOLD BY SERVICE DEPARTMENT THAT THE MODULE KIT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THIS NEW CHARGE WAS $ 823.90 THAT I HAD TO PAY OUT OF POCKET. THIS ISSUE SEEMS TO BE A FACTORY ONE AND I WOULD LIKE TO BE REIMBURSED SINCE THIS IS A SAFETY FEATURE THAT SHOULD NOT HAVE HAPPENED. I+VE NEVER HAD AN ACCIDENT AND HAVE KEPT IT SERVICED AND WELL MAINTAINED AT THE DEALER THROUGH OUT ALL THE RECALLS AND SERVICE PROBLEMS. THE REASON I PAID FOR THIS SERVICE WAS MAINLY FOR THE SAFETY OF MY FAMILY BUT ONCE AGAIN, IT+S AN INCONVENIENCE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/26/2018 - MEDINA, NY
WHEN I FIRST PURCHASED THIS SUV, IT WAS FINE. THEN TWO YEARS INTO HAVING THIS VEHICLE I HAD TO KEEP PUTTING OIL INTO IT. IT TURNS OUT THAT THIS YEAR CAR HAS AN OIL COMSUPTION RECALL. HOWEVER, I HAD TO GO IN FOR A TEST, I ALMOST RAN OUT OF OIL WITHIN A WEEK MY CAR WOULD STALL ON THE HIGHWAY, I WAS ALSO REAR ENDED BECAUSE IT WOULD OUT OF OIL WHEN IT WASN'T SUPPOSE TO. IN DEC 2017 I TOOK THE CAR IN AND GOT THE CAR RECALL DONE WHICH WAS NO CHARGE TO ME. HOWEVER, TWO DAYS AFTER THE RECALL WAS DONE MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN. I TOOK IT BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP WHICH IS CAPPELLINO BUICK GMC IN WILLIAMSVILLE AND THEY CHARGED ME THE 119 TO DIANOGSIS THE CAR AND TELL ME THAT IT WAS THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER. HE TOLD ME THAT THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER WAS NOT COVERED ENOUGH THOUGH HE STATES THAT THEY KNOW THAT THE ENGINE CONSUMPTION RECALL MADE THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER GET CLOGGED. I HAVE CHANGED MY O2 SENSOR TWICE AND I WILL PROBABLY HAVE TO CHANGE IT AGAIN BECAUSE ONCE THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER GOES, TYPICALLY THE O2 SENSORS GO AS WELL. IF YOUR CAR IS CONSUMING A LOT OF OIL, BLOWING BLACK SMOKE AND IT IS A GMC TERRAIN (NO MATTER THE YEAR), GET IT CHECKED, HONESTLY, I AM NOT BEING OVERDRAMATIC, IT COULD BE LIFE OR DEATH. IF YOU HAVE KIDS AND YOU HAVE THE CAR, GO FOR A OIL CONSUMPTION TEST ASAP. MY CAR STALLED OUT ON THE HIGHWAY, STOP LIGHTS AND STOP SIGNS, EVEN WHEN NOT COMPLETELY STOPPED OR PERFORMING A "ROLLING STOP".

View Details

ENGINE

2/20/2018 - SUNBURY, OH
AS I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD AT 55 MPH HOUR MY SUV BEGAN TO SHAKE EXTREMELY AND WAS THROTTLING AT VERY HIGH RPM'S AND THE SUV THRASH TO SUDDEN HALT AND CONTINUED TO SHAKE AND IDLE VERY HIGH AND LOUD. I TRIED TO HIT THE GAS TO GET MYSELF OFF THE ROAD AS I WAS ON A 2 LANE HIGHWAY WITH MY 4 YEAR OLD SON IN THE CAR, AND THE ENGINE REVVED AND THE RPM'S SPIKED BUT I WENT NOT MORE THAN 15 MPH, AT THE SAME TIME THE FOLLOWING ERRORS APPEARED ON MY SCREEN: 1) SERVICE STABAILI TRAK 2) ENGINE POWER IS REDUCED SLOWLY I WAS ABLE TO SAFELY GET THE CAR UP TO 35 MPH AND GET US HOME SAFE. I DID SOME RESEARCH AND SEEMS THAT THIS IS A VERY WELL KNOWN ISSUE WITH GMC SO I CONTACTED GMC AND WAS BASICALLY GIVEN THE RUNAROUND. I TOOK THE CAR TO A GMC DEAR TODAY AND WAS TOLD IT WAS THE FUEL PUMP THAT NEEDED REPLACED.....

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/20/2018 - SUNBURY, OH
AS I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD AT 55 MPH HOUR MY SUV BEGAN TO SHAKE EXTREMELY AND WAS THROTTLING AT VERY HIGH RPM'S AND THE SUV THRASH TO SUDDEN HALT AND CONTINUED TO SHAKE AND IDLE VERY HIGH AND LOUD. I TRIED TO HIT THE GAS TO GET MYSELF OFF THE ROAD AS I WAS ON A 2 LANE HIGHWAY WITH MY 4 YEAR OLD SON IN THE CAR, AND THE ENGINE REVVED AND THE RPM'S SPIKED BUT I WENT NOT MORE THAN 15 MPH, AT THE SAME TIME THE FOLLOWING ERRORS APPEARED ON MY SCREEN: 1) SERVICE STABAILI TRAK 2) ENGINE POWER IS REDUCED SLOWLY I WAS ABLE TO SAFELY GET THE CAR UP TO 35 MPH AND GET US HOME SAFE. I DID SOME RESEARCH AND SEEMS THAT THIS IS A VERY WELL KNOWN ISSUE WITH GMC SO I CONTACTED GMC AND WAS BASICALLY GIVEN THE RUNAROUND. I TOOK THE CAR TO A GMC DEAR TODAY AND WAS TOLD IT WAS THE FUEL PUMP THAT NEEDED REPLACED.....

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/20/2018 - SUNBURY, OH
AS I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD AT 55 MPH HOUR MY SUV BEGAN TO SHAKE EXTREMELY AND WAS THROTTLING AT VERY HIGH RPM'S AND THE SUV THRASH TO SUDDEN HALT AND CONTINUED TO SHAKE AND IDLE VERY HIGH AND LOUD. I TRIED TO HIT THE GAS TO GET MYSELF OFF THE ROAD AS I WAS ON A 2 LANE HIGHWAY WITH MY 4 YEAR OLD SON IN THE CAR, AND THE ENGINE REVVED AND THE RPM'S SPIKED BUT I WENT NOT MORE THAN 15 MPH, AT THE SAME TIME THE FOLLOWING ERRORS APPEARED ON MY SCREEN: 1) SERVICE STABAILI TRAK 2) ENGINE POWER IS REDUCED SLOWLY I WAS ABLE TO SAFELY GET THE CAR UP TO 35 MPH AND GET US HOME SAFE. I DID SOME RESEARCH AND SEEMS THAT THIS IS A VERY WELL KNOWN ISSUE WITH GMC SO I CONTACTED GMC AND WAS BASICALLY GIVEN THE RUNAROUND. I TOOK THE CAR TO A GMC DEAR TODAY AND WAS TOLD IT WAS THE FUEL PUMP THAT NEEDED REPLACED.....

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/20/2018 - RUSSELLVILLE, AR
WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE, I EXPERIENCED STRONG KNOCKING VIBRATIONS AND SOUNDS SEEMINGLY COMING THROUGH THE FLOORBOARD. AS I CONTINUED DRIVING FOR ABOUT 5 MILES TRYING TO GET HOME, THE KNOCKING BECAME MORE PRONOUNCED AND MY STEERING WAS AFFECTED. I ALSO BEGAN NOTICING AN EXTREMELY STRONG ODOR NECESSITATING LOWERING WINDOWS TO BREATHE. I NOTIFIED MY DEALERSHIP AND TOOK THE VEHICLE IN FOR DIAGNOSIS THE VERY NEXT MORNING WITHOUT DRIVING IT AFTER ARRIVING TO MY GARAGE. I WAS TOLD THE AWD HAD COMPLETELY DETERIORATED. MY CONCERN WAS THAT I NEVER RECEIVED ANY DASHBOARD NOTIFICATION OF THE PROBLEM, NOT DID MY ONSTAR DIAGNOSIS INDICATE A PROBLEM. I HAVE BEEN QUITE DISTURBED THAT THE VEHICLE BECAME DISABLED BEFORE I WAS AWARE OF ANY PROBLEM. I HAVE TAKEN MY VEHICLE IN FOR REGULAR MAINTENANCE AT MY GMC DEALERSHIP AND WOULD LIKE AN EXPLANATION REGARDING THE FAILURE TO IDENTIFY THIS PROBLEM THROUGH THE REGULAR MAINTENANCE CHECKS. I AM SINGLE SENIOR WOMAN WHO HAS NO BACKUP VEHICLE AND AM QUITE CONCERNED ABOUT MY SAFETY ON THE HIGHWAY AND THIS ISSUE HAS CAUSED ME TO HAVE SERIOUS SAFETY CONCERNS. I DROVE THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP TO CHECK ON THE PROBLEM ON FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 16, 2018. I CALLED THE GMC COMPLAINT CENTER TO CHECK ON POSSIBLE RECALLS OR ANY REMAINING WARRANTIES THAT MIGHT APPLY AND I WAS TOLD THE CENTER WAS ASSIGNING A SR. ADVISOR TO CONTACT THE LOCAL GMC DEALERSHIP THAT STILL HAS MY CAR AND THE ADVISOR WAS TOLD THE DEALERSHIP NEEDED MORE TIME TO DIAGNOSE AND ASSESS THE CAUSE OF THE PROBLEM.I HAVE HAD TO RENT A VEHICLE SINCE IT MAY BE ANOTHER 2-3 DAYS BEFORE I EVEN GET A RESPONSE REGARDING THE NATURE AND COST OF THE REPAIRS. I WAS ORIGINALLY TOLD THE ENTIRE AWD SYSTEM HAD TO BE REPLACED AT A COST OF $1500--$2000. I QUESTIONED THE REASON FOR THE EXTREME MALFUNCTION WITHOUT ANY WARNING NOTICES APPEARING...MAIN REASON FOR MY COMPLAINT AND CONCERN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/20/2018 - RUSSELLVILLE, AR
WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE, I EXPERIENCED STRONG KNOCKING VIBRATIONS AND SOUNDS SEEMINGLY COMING THROUGH THE FLOORBOARD. AS I CONTINUED DRIVING FOR ABOUT 5 MILES TRYING TO GET HOME, THE KNOCKING BECAME MORE PRONOUNCED AND MY STEERING WAS AFFECTED. I ALSO BEGAN NOTICING AN EXTREMELY STRONG ODOR NECESSITATING LOWERING WINDOWS TO BREATHE. I NOTIFIED MY DEALERSHIP AND TOOK THE VEHICLE IN FOR DIAGNOSIS THE VERY NEXT MORNING WITHOUT DRIVING IT AFTER ARRIVING TO MY GARAGE. I WAS TOLD THE AWD HAD COMPLETELY DETERIORATED. MY CONCERN WAS THAT I NEVER RECEIVED ANY DASHBOARD NOTIFICATION OF THE PROBLEM, NOT DID MY ONSTAR DIAGNOSIS INDICATE A PROBLEM. I HAVE BEEN QUITE DISTURBED THAT THE VEHICLE BECAME DISABLED BEFORE I WAS AWARE OF ANY PROBLEM. I HAVE TAKEN MY VEHICLE IN FOR REGULAR MAINTENANCE AT MY GMC DEALERSHIP AND WOULD LIKE AN EXPLANATION REGARDING THE FAILURE TO IDENTIFY THIS PROBLEM THROUGH THE REGULAR MAINTENANCE CHECKS. I AM SINGLE SENIOR WOMAN WHO HAS NO BACKUP VEHICLE AND AM QUITE CONCERNED ABOUT MY SAFETY ON THE HIGHWAY AND THIS ISSUE HAS CAUSED ME TO HAVE SERIOUS SAFETY CONCERNS. I DROVE THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP TO CHECK ON THE PROBLEM ON FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 16, 2018. I CALLED THE GMC COMPLAINT CENTER TO CHECK ON POSSIBLE RECALLS OR ANY REMAINING WARRANTIES THAT MIGHT APPLY AND I WAS TOLD THE CENTER WAS ASSIGNING A SR. ADVISOR TO CONTACT THE LOCAL GMC DEALERSHIP THAT STILL HAS MY CAR AND THE ADVISOR WAS TOLD THE DEALERSHIP NEEDED MORE TIME TO DIAGNOSE AND ASSESS THE CAUSE OF THE PROBLEM.I HAVE HAD TO RENT A VEHICLE SINCE IT MAY BE ANOTHER 2-3 DAYS BEFORE I EVEN GET A RESPONSE REGARDING THE NATURE AND COST OF THE REPAIRS. I WAS ORIGINALLY TOLD THE ENTIRE AWD SYSTEM HAD TO BE REPLACED AT A COST OF $1500--$2000. I QUESTIONED THE REASON FOR THE EXTREME MALFUNCTION WITHOUT ANY WARNING NOTICES APPEARING...MAIN REASON FOR MY COMPLAINT AND CONCERN.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds