Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC TERRAIN - 2012 GMC TERRAIN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 95 complaints filed for the 2012 GMC TERRAIN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 GMC TERRAIN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 GMC TERRAIN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (13) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (1) Suspension (2) Visibility (3)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Service Brakes (2) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (19)
Engine (28) Power Train (8) Steering (3) Unknown Or Other (6) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY/WIPER

8/10/2017 - YOUNGSVILLE, NC
WINDSHIELD WIPERS STOPPED WORKING WHILE DRIVING (ON HIGHWAY) IN THE RAIN RESULTING IN COMPROMISED VISIBILITY. I TRIED TURNING THE WIPERS OFF WHILE DRIVING AND EVENTUALLY RESTARTED THE CAR TO SEE IF THAT WOULD HELP. THE WIPERS REMAINED STUCK IN A VERTICAL POSITION DESPITE THESE EFFORTS. EVENTUALLY, I MANUALLY SLID THE WIPERS INTO THE DOWN POSITION.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/2/2017 - NAUGATUCK, CT
MY 2012 TERRAIN IS GETTING WATER IN THE REAR LEFT TAIL LIGHT. I WAS TOLD THAT IT WAS A VENTED TAIL LIGHT AND THE VENT WAS BLOCKED BY DIRT AND DEBRIS AND THEY WOULD HAVE TO REPLACE THE TAILLIGHT AND REPLACE BOTH SEALS. WHEN I LIFT THE HATCHBACK UP WATER DRAINS OUT FROM THE INTERIOR SIDE OF THE HATCH BACK INTO THE VEHICLE. GMC OF WATERTOWN CONNECTICUT SAYS THAT THIS IS NOT COVERED UNDER MY EXTENDED WARRANTY. I CALLED GMC CORPORATION AND THEY SAID THAT THIS WAS A DEFECT BUT IS NORMAL WITH THESE VEHICLES. GMC CASE NUMBER 8+3054294483. I HAVE THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU AUTO LINE INVESTIGATING THE PROBLEM AND THAT CASE NUMBER IS PGM1719802. GMC TOLD ME THE WATER IN THE TAIL LIGHT CAN SHORT OUT MY ELECTRICAL SYSTEMS AND THIS DEFECT HAS BEEN BY KNOWN GMC FROM 2011. SINCE I PURCHASED THIS CAR NEW IN 2013 I HAVE HAD MULTIPLE PROBLEMS SUCH AS HAVING THE BACK CAMERA REPLACED TWICE, FRONT NAVIGATION SCREEN GOING BLACK, STABILIZER MALFUNCTION WHICH WAS ALSO A PROBLEM WITH THIS VEHICLE WHEN IT CAME OFF THE ASSEMBLY LINE, HAVING THE COMPUTER UPDATED EVERY YEAR BECAUSE THEY SAY OF ALL THE COMPUTER CHIP MODULES THAT ARE INSTALLED IN THIS VEHICLE, JUST TO NAME A FEW WHICH ARE ALL DOCUMENTED WITH GMC. I AM SUBMITTING THIS TO MAKE THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT AWARE THAT THIS DEFECT IS POTENTIALLY A HAZARD TO THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM AND HAS BEEN KNOWN TO GMC FOR A LONG TIME AND THEY HAVE NOT CORRECTED THE SITUATION. THEIR SOLUTION IS REPLACING THE TAIL LIGHT AT A COST OF $254 WITHOUT TAX. I BELIEVE THIS IS A SERIOUS DEFECT AND IF YOU REQUIRE MORE INFORMATION I WILL COMPLY TO ANY REQUESTS THAT YOU HAVE. ALSO ALL CONVERSATIONS WITH GMC CORPORATION AND BBB AUTO LINE WERE RECORDED IF NEEDED. THANK YOU FOR YOUR TIME.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

6/26/2017 - CORTLAND, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 GMC TERRIAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT DURING INCLEMENT WEATHER, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS FAILED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO SUN AUTO DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE WIPER MOTOR HAD MALFUNCTIONED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 63,578.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

6/24/2017 - ST LOUIS, MO
MY 2012 GMC TERRAIN HAS BEEN STALLING FOR A FEW DAYS NOW THE STABILLTRACK SENSOR WAS REPLACED THIS YEAR THE ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON AND OFF. AND MY RADIO SOMETIMES CUTS OFF ON IT'S OWN BUT NOW MY KEY KEEPS GETTING STUCK IN THE IGNITION SWITCH AND THE CAR KEEPS STALLING BUT WHEN I GET A JUMP IT STARTS WITH NO PROBLEM BUT ONCE IT STALLED WHEN I WAS DRIVING THANK GOD I WAS A FEW BLOCKS FROM HOME . THEN WHEN I TRY TO START AGAIN IT WON'T START. IT'S ONLY 5YRS. OLD I'VE READ MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS MODLE. I THINK I BOUGHT A LEMON 😕

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/24/2017 - ST LOUIS, MO
MY 2012 GMC TERRAIN HAS BEEN STALLING FOR A FEW DAYS NOW THE STABILLTRACK SENSOR WAS REPLACED THIS YEAR THE ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON AND OFF. AND MY RADIO SOMETIMES CUTS OFF ON IT'S OWN BUT NOW MY KEY KEEPS GETTING STUCK IN THE IGNITION SWITCH AND THE CAR KEEPS STALLING BUT WHEN I GET A JUMP IT STARTS WITH NO PROBLEM BUT ONCE IT STALLED WHEN I WAS DRIVING THANK GOD I WAS A FEW BLOCKS FROM HOME . THEN WHEN I TRY TO START AGAIN IT WON'T START. IT'S ONLY 5YRS. OLD I'VE READ MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS MODLE. I THINK I BOUGHT A LEMON 😕

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

6/23/2017 - HOWELL, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 GMC TERRAIN. WHILE DRIVING 50 MPH, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS FAILED DURING A HEAVY RAINSTORM. CHAMPION BUICK OF BRIGHTON, MICHIGAN WAS CONTACTED AND STATED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL ON THE VEHICLE, AND ADVISED THE CONTACT TO FILE A COMPLAINT WITH NHTSA. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND REFERRED THE CONTACT TO NHTSA. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 253,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/23/2017 - MIAMI, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 GMC TERRAIN. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO TAP THE BRAKES TO SLIGHTLY SLOW DOWN THE VEHICLE; HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE STOPPED ABRUPTLY. THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CONTACT FOUND THAT WHENEVER HE WOULD LIGHTLY TAP THE BRAKE PEDAL, THE VEHICLE WOULD ABRUPTLY STOP. THE CONTACT FOUND THAT THE VEHICLE WAS EQUIPPED WITH A BRAKE ASSIST SYSTEM AND BELIEVED IT WAS ACTIVATING PREMATURELY. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE WILLIAMSON CADILLAC DEALER WHO STATED THAT THE SYSTEM WAS PERFORMING NORMALLY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND OPENED CASE NUMBER: 8/3047871526, WHICH WAS NOW DEEMED A CLOSED CASE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 59,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

6/19/2017 - BENSALEM, PA
DRIVING AT 35 MILES AN HOUR ON A DOUBLE LANE HIGHWAY IN VERY HEAVY RAIN AT ABOUT 6:00 P.M.. THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS WERE ON HIGH TO CLEAR THE WATER FROM THE WINDSHIELD. WIPERS STOPPED WORKING DURING THE MIDDLE OF THE STORM. I WAS ABLE TO SAFELY NAVIGATE MY CAR TO A PARKING LOT AND WAIT FOR THE RAIN TO STOP. LATER UPON INSPECTION THE BALL JOINT BECAME SEPARATED FROM THE SOCKET WHICH RENDERED THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS USELESS. SEE ATTACHMENTS. THIS HAS BEEN REPORTED TO GM AND IS A KNOWN PROBLEM IN CANADA. "25300-03: SAFETY RECALL - FRONT WIPER TRANSMISSION CORROSION FAILURE (CANADA ONLY) - 2010-2017 CHEVROLET EQUINOX & GMC TERRAIN". I NOTIFIED GM ABOUT THIS AND THEY STATED THEY WILL NOTIFY ME IF THEY ISSUE A RECALL FOR MY VIN.

View Details

ENGINE

6/13/2017 - LEVANT, ME
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 GMC TERRAIN. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 2 MPH IN REVERSE, THE CONTACT HEARD AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE ENGINE. THE CONTACT PULLED OVER AND FOUND THAT THE ENGINE DIPSTICK WAS DRY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE PISTONS AND RINGS FAILED TO CLEAN THE CYLINDER WALLS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT IT WAS NOT A KNOWN ISSUE. THE CONTACT SPOKE TO VARNEY BUICK GMC MAZDA (260 HOGAN RD, BANGOR, ME 04401) WHO ADVISED THE CONTACT TO CONTINUE ADDING OIL TO THE VEHICLE UNTIL IT COULD BE REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 77,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/12/2017 - ORANGE COVE, CA
ON VARIOUS OCCASIONS WHEN SLOWING DOWN OR TURNING, THE ENGINE WILL DIE. FRONT END ACCIDENT GOING 55+ MPH ON A COUNTRY ROAD, HIT A VERY LARGE DIP, AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY, SEAT BELTS DID LOCK UP.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds