Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC TERRAIN - 2012 GMC TERRAIN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 39 complaints filed for the 2012 GMC TERRAIN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 GMC TERRAIN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 GMC TERRAIN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Seat Belts (1) Suspension (2) Visibility (1)
Electrical System (7) Exterior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (1) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (2)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Steering (3) Unknown Or Other (2) Wheels (1)
Engine (5) Power Train (2) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  ... 5
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/27/2016 - COPPELL, TX
I PURCHASED MY 2012 GMC TERRAIN FROM CLAY COOLEY IN IRVING, TX ON 01/05/2015 WITH AN EXTENDED SERVICE CONTRACT. I HAVE HAD ISSUES WITH THIS VEHICLE EVER SINCE. I TOOK THE VEHICLE IN FOR SERVICE AND WAS TOLD THE SERVICE CONTRACT WOULD NOT COVER MY ISSUE AND THAT THE ISSUE WAS CAUSED BY LACK OF MAINTENANCE, WHICH IS NOT THE CASE AS I MAINTAIN THE OIL IN THIS VEHICLE AND EVEN HAD TO PURCHASE A NEW BATTERY FOR THE VEHICLE RECENTLY. I AM ATTACHING A PICTURE OF THE CONDITION OF THE BATTERY SHORTLY AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS SOLD TO ME TO WHERE I CONTACTED MY SALES AGENT AND HE ADVISED ME TO CHECK MY SERVICE CONTRACT. THIS CAR+S ENGINE REPEATEDLY STOPS, ESPECIALLY WHEN APPROACHING A RED LIGHT OR STOP SIGN OR AT THE MOMENT OF ACCELERATION. I HAVE HAD TO AVOID MANY ACCIDENTS DUE TO PEOPLE DRIVING UP ON ME BECAUSE I SHOULD HAVE BEEN ACCELERATING AT THE TIME BUT MY CAR TURNED OFF. THE BATTERY WOULD DIE ON THIS CAR ON A WEEKLY BASIS WHICH CAUSED ME TO PURCHASE A BATTERY AND THERE IS STILL NO PROGRESS IN THE VEHICLE. THERE ARE ELECTRICAL ISSUES AS WELL AS THE LIGHTING IN THE CAR GETS DIM WHEN WE ARE IN THE DARK BUT BRIGHT WHEN THE SUN IS OUT. ALSO, THE SEATBELT FOR THE PASSENGER+S SIDE CONSTANTLY RINGS SENDING A NOTIFICATION THAT THE SEATBELT NEEDS TO BE LATCHED, EVEN WHEN NO ONE ELSE OR NOTHING ELSE IS IN THAT SEAT. I FEAR THAT ONE DAY I MAY NEED THAT AIR BAG AND IT MIGHT NOT WORK BECAUSE THE SEATBELT APPEARS TO BE FAULTY. ALSO, ANOTHER ISSUE, WHICH IS NOT NECESSARILY A SAFETY ISSUE, BUT AN EXTREME NUISANCE AND ALSO MAYBE AN ELECTRICAL ISSUE IS THE CAR RADIO AND VOLUME WILL FREEZE AT ANY GIVEN MOMENT AND THE CAR HAS TO BE STOPPED AND IDLE FOR A PERIOD OF TIME BEFORE THE RADIO IS ACTIVE AND ABLE TO TURN CHANNELS AGAIN. THE SAFETY ISSUES FOR THIS CAR IS REAL AND I AM IN FEAR THAT I WILL GET HIT FROM BEHIND DUE TO THE FAULTY ENGINE.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

1/27/2016 - COPPELL, TX
I PURCHASED MY 2012 GMC TERRAIN FROM CLAY COOLEY IN IRVING, TX ON 01/05/2015 WITH AN EXTENDED SERVICE CONTRACT. I HAVE HAD ISSUES WITH THIS VEHICLE EVER SINCE. I TOOK THE VEHICLE IN FOR SERVICE AND WAS TOLD THE SERVICE CONTRACT WOULD NOT COVER MY ISSUE AND THAT THE ISSUE WAS CAUSED BY LACK OF MAINTENANCE, WHICH IS NOT THE CASE AS I MAINTAIN THE OIL IN THIS VEHICLE AND EVEN HAD TO PURCHASE A NEW BATTERY FOR THE VEHICLE RECENTLY. I AM ATTACHING A PICTURE OF THE CONDITION OF THE BATTERY SHORTLY AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS SOLD TO ME TO WHERE I CONTACTED MY SALES AGENT AND HE ADVISED ME TO CHECK MY SERVICE CONTRACT. THIS CAR+S ENGINE REPEATEDLY STOPS, ESPECIALLY WHEN APPROACHING A RED LIGHT OR STOP SIGN OR AT THE MOMENT OF ACCELERATION. I HAVE HAD TO AVOID MANY ACCIDENTS DUE TO PEOPLE DRIVING UP ON ME BECAUSE I SHOULD HAVE BEEN ACCELERATING AT THE TIME BUT MY CAR TURNED OFF. THE BATTERY WOULD DIE ON THIS CAR ON A WEEKLY BASIS WHICH CAUSED ME TO PURCHASE A BATTERY AND THERE IS STILL NO PROGRESS IN THE VEHICLE. THERE ARE ELECTRICAL ISSUES AS WELL AS THE LIGHTING IN THE CAR GETS DIM WHEN WE ARE IN THE DARK BUT BRIGHT WHEN THE SUN IS OUT. ALSO, THE SEATBELT FOR THE PASSENGER+S SIDE CONSTANTLY RINGS SENDING A NOTIFICATION THAT THE SEATBELT NEEDS TO BE LATCHED, EVEN WHEN NO ONE ELSE OR NOTHING ELSE IS IN THAT SEAT. I FEAR THAT ONE DAY I MAY NEED THAT AIR BAG AND IT MIGHT NOT WORK BECAUSE THE SEATBELT APPEARS TO BE FAULTY. ALSO, ANOTHER ISSUE, WHICH IS NOT NECESSARILY A SAFETY ISSUE, BUT AN EXTREME NUISANCE AND ALSO MAYBE AN ELECTRICAL ISSUE IS THE CAR RADIO AND VOLUME WILL FREEZE AT ANY GIVEN MOMENT AND THE CAR HAS TO BE STOPPED AND IDLE FOR A PERIOD OF TIME BEFORE THE RADIO IS ACTIVE AND ABLE TO TURN CHANNELS AGAIN. THE SAFETY ISSUES FOR THIS CAR IS REAL AND I AM IN FEAR THAT I WILL GET HIT FROM BEHIND DUE TO THE FAULTY ENGINE.

View Details

ENGINE

1/27/2016 - COPPELL, TX
I PURCHASED MY 2012 GMC TERRAIN FROM CLAY COOLEY IN IRVING, TX ON 01/05/2015 WITH AN EXTENDED SERVICE CONTRACT. I HAVE HAD ISSUES WITH THIS VEHICLE EVER SINCE. I TOOK THE VEHICLE IN FOR SERVICE AND WAS TOLD THE SERVICE CONTRACT WOULD NOT COVER MY ISSUE AND THAT THE ISSUE WAS CAUSED BY LACK OF MAINTENANCE, WHICH IS NOT THE CASE AS I MAINTAIN THE OIL IN THIS VEHICLE AND EVEN HAD TO PURCHASE A NEW BATTERY FOR THE VEHICLE RECENTLY. I AM ATTACHING A PICTURE OF THE CONDITION OF THE BATTERY SHORTLY AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS SOLD TO ME TO WHERE I CONTACTED MY SALES AGENT AND HE ADVISED ME TO CHECK MY SERVICE CONTRACT. THIS CAR+S ENGINE REPEATEDLY STOPS, ESPECIALLY WHEN APPROACHING A RED LIGHT OR STOP SIGN OR AT THE MOMENT OF ACCELERATION. I HAVE HAD TO AVOID MANY ACCIDENTS DUE TO PEOPLE DRIVING UP ON ME BECAUSE I SHOULD HAVE BEEN ACCELERATING AT THE TIME BUT MY CAR TURNED OFF. THE BATTERY WOULD DIE ON THIS CAR ON A WEEKLY BASIS WHICH CAUSED ME TO PURCHASE A BATTERY AND THERE IS STILL NO PROGRESS IN THE VEHICLE. THERE ARE ELECTRICAL ISSUES AS WELL AS THE LIGHTING IN THE CAR GETS DIM WHEN WE ARE IN THE DARK BUT BRIGHT WHEN THE SUN IS OUT. ALSO, THE SEATBELT FOR THE PASSENGER+S SIDE CONSTANTLY RINGS SENDING A NOTIFICATION THAT THE SEATBELT NEEDS TO BE LATCHED, EVEN WHEN NO ONE ELSE OR NOTHING ELSE IS IN THAT SEAT. I FEAR THAT ONE DAY I MAY NEED THAT AIR BAG AND IT MIGHT NOT WORK BECAUSE THE SEATBELT APPEARS TO BE FAULTY. ALSO, ANOTHER ISSUE, WHICH IS NOT NECESSARILY A SAFETY ISSUE, BUT AN EXTREME NUISANCE AND ALSO MAYBE AN ELECTRICAL ISSUE IS THE CAR RADIO AND VOLUME WILL FREEZE AT ANY GIVEN MOMENT AND THE CAR HAS TO BE STOPPED AND IDLE FOR A PERIOD OF TIME BEFORE THE RADIO IS ACTIVE AND ABLE TO TURN CHANNELS AGAIN. THE SAFETY ISSUES FOR THIS CAR IS REAL AND I AM IN FEAR THAT I WILL GET HIT FROM BEHIND DUE TO THE FAULTY ENGINE.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

12/29/2015 - NEW LEBANON, OH
WIPERS IN "ON" POSITION, WIPER MOTOR AUDIBLY RUNNING, NEITHER WIPER BLADE WOULD MOVE ACROSS WINDSHIELD, BOTH REMAIN STATIONARY. CAN MANUALLY MOVE BOTH BLADES FREELY, NO BINDING, IN UNISON VALIDATING LINKAGE BETWEEN THE TWO BLADE ARMS WERE STILL CONNECTED. SUSPECTED MOTOR SHAFT/SPLINE CONNECTING TO THE "BLADE TRANSMISSION" WAS DISCONNECTED, STRIPPED, OR FELL OFF. TO ENSURE NOT AN ELECTRICAL ISSUE, REMOVED 25 AMP FUSE (NO. 29) FROM ENGINE COMPARTMENT FUSE BUSS AND INSPECTED FUSE. FUSE INTACT AND IN LIKE NEW CONDITION. REINSTALLED THE FUSE RESUMING MOTOR FUNCTION. DROVE THE VEHICLE TO VALENTINE GMC BUICK, FAIRBORN, OHIO AND ASKED SERVICE MGR IF A TSB REFERENCING THIS SAFETY ISSUE HAD BEEN REPORTED. THE SERVICE MGR DID NOT COMMENT; INSTEAD HE SHOWED ME AN ILLUSTRATED PARTS BREAKDOWN OF THE AREA IN QUESTION POINTING TO THE BLADE TRANSMISSION. TO CONFIRM MY DIAGNOSIS, HE HAD ONE OF THEIR MECHANICS INSPECT THE AREA IN QUESTION PENDING THE REMOVAL OF A PANEL. SERVICE MGR FOLLOWED BY STATING I "MIGHT" NOT HAVE TO PAY, DEPENDING ON THE PROBLEM. THE INSPECTION PROVED IT WAS INDEED THE WIPER BLADE TRANSMISSION P/N 25948436, GM AT FAULT. THE SERVICE MGR ALSO STATED PARTS ON-HAND FOLLOWED BY A $250.00 QUOTE TO REPLACE. WITH THE AREA IN QUESTION APART, I CONCURRED WITH THE WORK WHICH WAS DONE IN A FEW MINUTES. AFTER EXAMINING THE BILL, I CROSSED THIS PART NUMBER ON-LINE AND FOUND COUNTLESS GENUINE GM SOURCES CHARGING FAR LESS; $95.16, TO BE EXACT (LESS SHIPPING AND INCLUDES 1 YR WARRANTY). I BROUGHT IT UP TO THEIR ATTENTION AND WAS TOLD THEIR LIST PRICE IS $199.95 WITH THE SAME 1 YEAR WARRANTY, AND THE LABOR COST WAS DISCOUNTED DOWN TO $85.00 PER HOUR. REGARDLESS OF COSTS, THE FACT REMAINS; LOW OR NO VISIBILITY COULD RESULT IN A CRASH CAUSING INJURY OR DEATH UNLESS ADDRESSED. RECOMMEND RESEARCHING OTHER VEHICLES CARRYING THIS PART FOR POTENTIAL FAILURE.

View Details

STEERING

11/5/2015 - TUCSON, AZ
WON'T START, GET A "CHECK POWER STEERING"LIGHT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/5/2015 - TUCSON, AZ
WON'T START, GET A "CHECK POWER STEERING"LIGHT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: HATCHBACK/LIFTGATE

10/27/2015 - HAMMOND, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 GMC TERRAIN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE LIFTGATE FAILED TO FUNCTION PROPERLY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TRUNK FAILED TO REMAIN OPEN AND CLOSED INDEPENDENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 76,325.

View Details

TIRES: PRESSURE MONITORING AND REGULATING SYSTEMS

10/2/2015 - CAPITOL HEIGHTS, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 GMC TERRAIN. WHILE DRIVING 10 MPH, THE TPMS WARNING LIGHT FOR THE FRONT DRIVER SIDE TIRE. ON A LATER DATE, THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE TPMS WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHO MADE AN UNKNOWN ADJUSTMENT; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 10,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/21/2015 - SAN ANTONIO , TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 GMC TERRAIN. UPON STARTING AND DRIVING THE VEHICLE, THE SPEEDOMETER FAILED TO FUNCTION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 73,115. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

8/3/2015 - MUSKOGEE, OK
CAR DIE (STALL) AT IDOL AFTER WARMED UP DRIVE IT 10 MILES STOP AT STOP SIGN IT DIE RESTART DIE AGAIN MAY DO THAT 3-4 TIMES BEFORE IT WILL TAKE GAS AND RUN DOES THIS INTERMEDITLY RUN FINE FOR HALF A DAY STOP RUN IN STORE COME OUT RESTART AND IT DIE (NO CHUGGING JUST DIE) AUTO PARTS STORE SAID IT WAS A CRANKSHAFT SENSOR WHEN THEY CHECKED WHAT HAD THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON (NOTE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT NOT COME ON EACH TIME IT STALLS)

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds