Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC TERRAIN - 2012 GMC TERRAIN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 68 complaints filed for the 2012 GMC TERRAIN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 GMC TERRAIN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 GMC TERRAIN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Seat Belts (1) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (9) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (1) Suspension (2) Visibility (3)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Service Brakes (1) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (9)
Engine (18) Power Train (5) Steering (3) Unknown Or Other (4) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

2/9/2017 - CANYON, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 GMC TERRAIN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY LOST ACCELERATION POWER. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT WHILE AT A STOP THE ENGINE STALLED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON TWO DIFFERENT OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER BOTH THE TIMES WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENTIRE ENGINE AND THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT ONLY THE ENGINE WAS REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 106,122.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/9/2017 - CANYON, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 GMC TERRAIN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY LOST ACCELERATION POWER. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT WHILE AT A STOP THE ENGINE STALLED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON TWO DIFFERENT OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER BOTH THE TIMES WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENTIRE ENGINE AND THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT ONLY THE ENGINE WAS REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 106,122.

View Details

ENGINE

2/2/2017 - SENOIA, GA
THE VEHICLE HAS EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION. I HAVE TO ADD 3 QTS BETWEEN EVERY OIL CHANGE TO BRING IT BACK TO THE CORRECT LEVEL. I KNOW WHEN IT NEEDS THIS BECAUSE THE VALVE TRAIN GETS VERY LOUD AS IT IS STARVED FOR LUBRICATION. IT ALSO WILL HAVE IRREGULAR RPM LEVELS FROM TIME TO TIME AS WELL AS HARD STARTS. VEHICLE HAS 40K MILES ON IT. I HAVE BEEN HAVING TO DO THIS FOR THE LAST 10-12K MILES UNTIL I HEARD OF THIS BULLETIN.

View Details

ENGINE

1/26/2017 - MIDLOTHIAN, VA
OIL CONSUMPTION ISSUE: I REALIZED ABOUT 3 MONTHS AGO THAT MY CAR ENGINE WOULD SHAKE A BIT ON START UP AND DURING IDLE. I TOOK IT INTO THE DEALERSHIP FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TEST AND WAS TOLD THAT THERE WAS VERY LITTLE OIL IN THE CAR AND THAT IT WAS BURNT. I WAS VERY SURPRISED BECAUSE I HAVE NEVER HAD AN ISSUE LIKE THIS BEFORE. SO WE GOT AN OIL CHANGE AND THAT WAS THAT. ENGINE STILL SHOOK ON IDLE AND DURING STARTUP. 5000 MILES LATER I REALIZE THAT IT IS TIME FOR AN OIL CHANGE AND CHECK THE DIP STICK AND FIND THAT NOTHING APPEARS ON IT, INDICATING THAT IT IS SHORT AT LEAST 1.25 QUARTS. I FILL IT UP WITH 0.5 QUARTS AND STILL NOTHING ON THE DIP STICK. I HAVE LOOKED ONLINE AND SEEN THAT MANY OTHERS HAVE HAD THIS ISSUE OF OIL CONSUMPTION WITH 2010-2013 TERRAINS AND THAT THERE IS A BULLETIN ON IT (BELOW): HTTP://GM.OEMDTC.COM/1893/EXCESSIVE-OIL-CONSUMPTION-2010-2013-BUICK-CHEVROLET-GMC#COMMENT-1224 I CALL THE DEALERSHIP AND THE GMC CUSTOMER SERVICE LINE, CHECK MY VIN AND THEY SAY THERE ARE NO RECALLS ON MY CAR. WHAT AM I TO DO? THIS IS AN ONGOING ISSUE THAT MANY OTHERS HAVE COMPLAINED ABOUT IN BULLETINS AND ON THE WEBSITE ABOVE. I FEEL THAT THIS ISSUE HAS DONE ITS DAMAGE ON THE ENGINE AND IS GOING TO COST ME THOUSANDS TO REPAIR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/26/2017 - MIDLOTHIAN, VA
OIL CONSUMPTION ISSUE: I REALIZED ABOUT 3 MONTHS AGO THAT MY CAR ENGINE WOULD SHAKE A BIT ON START UP AND DURING IDLE. I TOOK IT INTO THE DEALERSHIP FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TEST AND WAS TOLD THAT THERE WAS VERY LITTLE OIL IN THE CAR AND THAT IT WAS BURNT. I WAS VERY SURPRISED BECAUSE I HAVE NEVER HAD AN ISSUE LIKE THIS BEFORE. SO WE GOT AN OIL CHANGE AND THAT WAS THAT. ENGINE STILL SHOOK ON IDLE AND DURING STARTUP. 5000 MILES LATER I REALIZE THAT IT IS TIME FOR AN OIL CHANGE AND CHECK THE DIP STICK AND FIND THAT NOTHING APPEARS ON IT, INDICATING THAT IT IS SHORT AT LEAST 1.25 QUARTS. I FILL IT UP WITH 0.5 QUARTS AND STILL NOTHING ON THE DIP STICK. I HAVE LOOKED ONLINE AND SEEN THAT MANY OTHERS HAVE HAD THIS ISSUE OF OIL CONSUMPTION WITH 2010-2013 TERRAINS AND THAT THERE IS A BULLETIN ON IT (BELOW): HTTP://GM.OEMDTC.COM/1893/EXCESSIVE-OIL-CONSUMPTION-2010-2013-BUICK-CHEVROLET-GMC#COMMENT-1224 I CALL THE DEALERSHIP AND THE GMC CUSTOMER SERVICE LINE, CHECK MY VIN AND THEY SAY THERE ARE NO RECALLS ON MY CAR. WHAT AM I TO DO? THIS IS AN ONGOING ISSUE THAT MANY OTHERS HAVE COMPLAINED ABOUT IN BULLETINS AND ON THE WEBSITE ABOVE. I FEEL THAT THIS ISSUE HAS DONE ITS DAMAGE ON THE ENGINE AND IS GOING TO COST ME THOUSANDS TO REPAIR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/17/2017 - ROCKVILLE, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 GMC TERRAIN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR CONDITIONING WAS NOT WORKING AND LEAKED INSIDE THE VEHICLE ON BOTH SIDES DURING THE SUMMER MONTHS. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE HEATER DID NOT WORK IN THE WINTER. THE VEHICLE WAS DIAGNOSED BY AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO COULD NOT DETERMINE THE NATURE OF THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 27,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/17/2017 - CORRYTON, TN
1.) MY WINDOWS WILL NOT DEFROST. WHEN I'M DRIVING ON A CURVY HIGHWAY TO AND FROM WORK AT NIGHT IT DOGS UP SO BAD THAT I CAN'T SEE ANYTHING IN FRONT OF ME. I'VE ALMOST GOTTEN IN A DOZEN CAR ACCIDENT BECAUSE OF THIS ISSUE. 2.) CAR SMELLS LIKE MOLD IS COMING OUT OF VENT 3.) MY CAR MAKES A TERRIBLE SOUND WHEN I ACCELERATE FROM 0-30MPH

View Details

ENGINE

1/16/2017 - VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
ON THE 2.4L ECOTEC ENGINE, THE PCV ORIFICE IN THE INTAKE MANIFOLD BECOMES CLOGGED WHICH CAUSES OIL TO BE PULLED INTO THE ENGINE COMBUSTION CHAMBER AND BURNED. THIS CAUSES AN EXCESS BUILD UP OF CARBON INSIDE THE ENGINE AND ON THE SPARK PLUGS WHICH IN TURN CAUSES THE VEHICLE TO IDLE ROUGHLY AND STALL OUT WHILE SITTING IDLE, SUCH AS AT A STOP LIGHT. GM HAS ISSUED A SPECIAL COVERAGE SERVICE BULLETIN (#: 14882) BUT ONLY FOR SPECIFIC VIN'S. IT HAS BECOME KNOWN THAT THERE ARE MANY OTHER VEHICLES THAT FALL UNDER THE YEAR GROUPS STATED BY GM IN THEIR SERVICE BULLETIN, EVEN IF IT'S A VIN THAT THEY DEEM IS SAFE FROM THE PROBLEM, BUT THEY REFUSE TO RECALL THE VEHICLES EVEN IF THEY ARE AFFECTED BY THE KNOWN PROBLEM. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE THAT CAUSES THE VEHICLE TO DIE WHILE TRYING TO LEAVE FROM A STATIONARY POSITION ONCE THE ENGINE HAS WARMED UP, FOR EXAMPLE PASSING THROUGH AN INTERSECTION AFTER A RED LIGHT.

View Details

ENGINE

1/13/2017 - WOODSTOCK, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 GMC TERRAIN. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE ENGINE AND THE VEHICLE STARTED TO DECELERATE. THE CONTACT COASTED INTO A PARKING LOT AND NOTICED AN OIL ODOR AROUND THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS LEAKING OIL ALL OVER THE PARKING LOT. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE PCV VALVE WAS FROZEN AND WAS NOT CIRCULATING CAUSED BY EXCESSIVE PRESSURE LEAKING OUT OIL. THE INTAKE MANIFOLD AND CAM COVER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 11,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

1/4/2017 - STURGEON BAY, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 GMC TERRAIN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE WINDSHIELD WIPER TRANSMISSION ON THE DRIVER SIDE WAS CORRODED AND FAILED TO WORK. IT WAS DIFFICULT TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE SAFELY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DETERMINED THAT IT WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V582000 (VISIBILITY). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 95,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds