Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC TERRAIN - 2012 GMC TERRAIN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 59 complaints filed for the 2012 GMC TERRAIN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 GMC TERRAIN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 GMC TERRAIN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Seat Belts (1) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (8) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (1) Suspension (2) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Service Brakes (1) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (8)
Engine (13) Power Train (3) Steering (3) Unknown Or Other (3) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

11/8/2016 - FREEMAN, SD
I WAS TRAVELING ABOUT 75MPH WHEN A DEER RAN INFRONT OF ME, I WASN'T ABLE TO STOP COMPLETELY AND HIT THE DEER ON MY RIGHT FRONT SIDE OF MY VEHICLE.. THE SMELL OF SMOKE CAME FROM MY VEHICLE AND MY "SERVICE AIRBAGS" INDICATOR CAME ON.. NO AIRBAGS DEPLOYED.. I HAD MY 6 YEAR OLD SON IN THE CAR WITH ME!! MY CAR ISN'T DRIVABLE DUE TO THE SIGNAL BEING ON EVEN THOUGH THE AIRBAGS DIDN'T DEPLOY.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

10/24/2016 - WHITE LAKE, MI
LINKAGE ARM BROKEN FROM MOTOR. WINDSHIELD WIPER MOTOR SOUNDED, BUT WOULD NOT MOVE. THE RECALL FOR 2013 SHOULD APPLY TO 2012 AS WELL.

View Details

ENGINE

10/9/2016 - VALRICO, FL
ENGINE STALLS WHEN AT LOW IDLE WHILE REDUCING SPEED I.E., AT STOP LIGHT. WILL IMMEDIATELY RESTART AND STALL WHEN PLACED INTO DRIVE OR REVERSE. HADE CAMSHAFT POSITION SENSOR INTAKE REPLACED. STALLING RESUMED WITHIN TWO WEEKS AND NOW CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS ON.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

9/30/2016 - LIVONIA, MI
I WAS DRIVING TO WORK IN EXTREMELY HEAVY RAIN THIS PAST THURSDAY MORNING DURING RUSH HOUR. I WAS TRAVELING ON I 96 IN DETROIT AND WAS PROBABLY GOING 60 MPH WHICH IS 10 MPH BELOW THE SPEED LIMIT. WITHOUT ANY WARNING, MY WINDSHIELD WIPERS WHICH WERE ON HIGH DUE TO THE VERY HEAVY RAIN, CEASED TO WORK LEAVING ME IN AN EXTREAMLY DANGEROUS POSITION. I WAS UNABLE TO SEE AND WAS IN HEAVY TRAFFIC. I SLOWED MY SPEED, TURNED ON HAZARD LIGHTS AND MOVED TO THE RIGHT SHOULDER SAFELY, THANKFULLY. I CALLED ROAD SERVICE TO GET A TOW AND HAD MY CAR SERVICED AT A LOCAL GAS STATION. THE MECHANIC SAID I NEEDED A NEW WIPER MODULE WHICH COST ME $260. I FOUND A RECALL FOR THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM FOR 2013 GMC TERRAINS, NHTSA RECALL NO. 16V-582, MANUFACTURER RECALL NO:25302. I FEEL THEY SHOULD LOOK INTO INCLUDING EARLIER MODELS.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

9/30/2016 - CLINTON TOWNSHIP, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 GMC TERRAIN. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS SEIZED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

9/15/2016 - GUILDERLAND, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 GMC TERRAIN. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH IN THE RAIN, THE WINDSHIELD WIPER ON THE DRIVER SIDE FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE DRIVER SIDE WIPER FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE WINDSHIELD WIPER TRANSMISSION LINKAGE WAS REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V582000 (VISIBILITY). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 113,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER: MOTOR

9/9/2016 - BREWSTER, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 GMC TERRAIN. DURING INCLEMENT WEATHER, THE WINDOW WIPERS CEASED TO FUNCTION. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE WIPER TRANSMISSION WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 44,000. UPDATED 10/19/16

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

9/7/2016 - TEWKSBURY, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 GMC TERRAIN. WITHOUT WARNING, AN INTERNAL BALL JOINT ROD FRACTURED AND CAUSED THE DRIVER SIDE WINDSHIELD WIPER TO FAIL WHILE DRIVING DURING INCLEMENT WEATHER. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO PULL THE VEHICLE OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD TO MAKE ADJUSTMENTS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE WIPER TRANSMISSION ROD PREMATURELY FRACTURED. THE PART WAS REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE. UPDATED 10/19/16 UPDATED 10/24/16.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

8/28/2016 - SPRING VALLEY, MN
WINDSHIELD WIPER FAILURE TO CONTINUE TO OPERATE WHILE CAR IN USE. WIPERS CAME OUT OF SOCKET REPAIR SHOP SAID THAT SOMETIMES THE BALL JOINTS CORRODE AND THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS BECOME INOPERABLE. AFTER INVESTIGATION IT SOUNDS LIKE THIS IS A COMMON COMPLAINT WITH THE 2013 AND ON WONDERING IF THIS IS ALSO A COMPLAINT WITH THE 2012? THIS HAS NOW HAPPENED TO US TWICE. BOTH TIMES WE WERE DRIVING IN THE RAIN THE SECOND TIME I HAD JUST STARTED OUT AND ENDED UP GOING HOME THE FIRST TIME IT WAS EN ROUTE AND WAS INCREDIBLY DIFFICULT TO PULL OVER WE ALMOST CAUSED AN ACCIDENT BECAUSE IT WAS RAINING HARD AND I COULDN'T SEE THE WIPERS STOPPED IN THE UPRIGHT POSITION AND WERE ALSO IN MY WAY WHEN THEY STOPPED IN MY VISUAL FIELD. I HAD TO ROLL MY DRIVER SIDE DOWN IN ORDER TO SEE. THIS WAS HORRIBLY SCARRY AND THE 2012 MODELS NEED TO BE INVESTIGATED FOR THE SAME DEFECTS THAT THE 2013 ARE BEING RECALLED FOR.

View Details

SEATS

7/12/2016 - CHILLICOTHE, OH
DRIVERS SEAT QUIT GOING UP AND DOWN POSSITION.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds