Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC TERRAIN - 2012 GMC TERRAIN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 65 complaints filed for the 2012 GMC TERRAIN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 GMC TERRAIN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 GMC TERRAIN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Seat Belts (1) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (9) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (1) Suspension (2) Visibility (3)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Service Brakes (1) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (9)
Engine (15) Power Train (3) Steering (3) Unknown Or Other (4) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/17/2017 - ROCKVILLE, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 GMC TERRAIN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR CONDITIONING WAS NOT WORKING AND LEAKED INSIDE THE VEHICLE ON BOTH SIDES DURING THE SUMMER MONTHS. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE HEATER DID NOT WORK IN THE WINTER. THE VEHICLE WAS DIAGNOSED BY AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO COULD NOT DETERMINE THE NATURE OF THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 27,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/17/2017 - CORRYTON, TN
1.) MY WINDOWS WILL NOT DEFROST. WHEN I'M DRIVING ON A CURVY HIGHWAY TO AND FROM WORK AT NIGHT IT DOGS UP SO BAD THAT I CAN'T SEE ANYTHING IN FRONT OF ME. I'VE ALMOST GOTTEN IN A DOZEN CAR ACCIDENT BECAUSE OF THIS ISSUE. 2.) CAR SMELLS LIKE MOLD IS COMING OUT OF VENT 3.) MY CAR MAKES A TERRIBLE SOUND WHEN I ACCELERATE FROM 0-30MPH

View Details

ENGINE

1/16/2017 - VIRGINIA BEACH, VA
ON THE 2.4L ECOTEC ENGINE, THE PCV ORIFICE IN THE INTAKE MANIFOLD BECOMES CLOGGED WHICH CAUSES OIL TO BE PULLED INTO THE ENGINE COMBUSTION CHAMBER AND BURNED. THIS CAUSES AN EXCESS BUILD UP OF CARBON INSIDE THE ENGINE AND ON THE SPARK PLUGS WHICH IN TURN CAUSES THE VEHICLE TO IDLE ROUGHLY AND STALL OUT WHILE SITTING IDLE, SUCH AS AT A STOP LIGHT. GM HAS ISSUED A SPECIAL COVERAGE SERVICE BULLETIN (#: 14882) BUT ONLY FOR SPECIFIC VIN'S. IT HAS BECOME KNOWN THAT THERE ARE MANY OTHER VEHICLES THAT FALL UNDER THE YEAR GROUPS STATED BY GM IN THEIR SERVICE BULLETIN, EVEN IF IT'S A VIN THAT THEY DEEM IS SAFE FROM THE PROBLEM, BUT THEY REFUSE TO RECALL THE VEHICLES EVEN IF THEY ARE AFFECTED BY THE KNOWN PROBLEM. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE THAT CAUSES THE VEHICLE TO DIE WHILE TRYING TO LEAVE FROM A STATIONARY POSITION ONCE THE ENGINE HAS WARMED UP, FOR EXAMPLE PASSING THROUGH AN INTERSECTION AFTER A RED LIGHT.

View Details

ENGINE

1/13/2017 - WOODSTOCK, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 GMC TERRAIN. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE ENGINE AND THE VEHICLE STARTED TO DECELERATE. THE CONTACT COASTED INTO A PARKING LOT AND NOTICED AN OIL ODOR AROUND THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS LEAKING OIL ALL OVER THE PARKING LOT. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE PCV VALVE WAS FROZEN AND WAS NOT CIRCULATING CAUSED BY EXCESSIVE PRESSURE LEAKING OUT OIL. THE INTAKE MANIFOLD AND CAM COVER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 11,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

1/4/2017 - STURGEON BAY, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 GMC TERRAIN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE WINDSHIELD WIPER TRANSMISSION ON THE DRIVER SIDE WAS CORRODED AND FAILED TO WORK. IT WAS DIFFICULT TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE SAFELY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DETERMINED THAT IT WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V582000 (VISIBILITY). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 95,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD WIPER/WASHER: MOTOR

12/28/2016 - HEBER SPRINGS, AR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 GMC TERRAIN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS DID NOT FUNCTION WHILE DRIVING. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE WINDSHIELD WIPER MOTOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/8/2016 - FREEMAN, SD
I WAS TRAVELING ABOUT 75MPH WHEN A DEER RAN INFRONT OF ME, I WASN'T ABLE TO STOP COMPLETELY AND HIT THE DEER ON MY RIGHT FRONT SIDE OF MY VEHICLE.. THE SMELL OF SMOKE CAME FROM MY VEHICLE AND MY "SERVICE AIRBAGS" INDICATOR CAME ON.. NO AIRBAGS DEPLOYED.. I HAD MY 6 YEAR OLD SON IN THE CAR WITH ME!! MY CAR ISN'T DRIVABLE DUE TO THE SIGNAL BEING ON EVEN THOUGH THE AIRBAGS DIDN'T DEPLOY.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

10/24/2016 - WHITE LAKE, MI
LINKAGE ARM BROKEN FROM MOTOR. WINDSHIELD WIPER MOTOR SOUNDED, BUT WOULD NOT MOVE. THE RECALL FOR 2013 SHOULD APPLY TO 2012 AS WELL.

View Details

ENGINE

10/9/2016 - VALRICO, FL
ENGINE STALLS WHEN AT LOW IDLE WHILE REDUCING SPEED I.E., AT STOP LIGHT. WILL IMMEDIATELY RESTART AND STALL WHEN PLACED INTO DRIVE OR REVERSE. HADE CAMSHAFT POSITION SENSOR INTAKE REPLACED. STALLING RESUMED WITHIN TWO WEEKS AND NOW CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS ON.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

9/30/2016 - LIVONIA, MI
I WAS DRIVING TO WORK IN EXTREMELY HEAVY RAIN THIS PAST THURSDAY MORNING DURING RUSH HOUR. I WAS TRAVELING ON I 96 IN DETROIT AND WAS PROBABLY GOING 60 MPH WHICH IS 10 MPH BELOW THE SPEED LIMIT. WITHOUT ANY WARNING, MY WINDSHIELD WIPERS WHICH WERE ON HIGH DUE TO THE VERY HEAVY RAIN, CEASED TO WORK LEAVING ME IN AN EXTREAMLY DANGEROUS POSITION. I WAS UNABLE TO SEE AND WAS IN HEAVY TRAFFIC. I SLOWED MY SPEED, TURNED ON HAZARD LIGHTS AND MOVED TO THE RIGHT SHOULDER SAFELY, THANKFULLY. I CALLED ROAD SERVICE TO GET A TOW AND HAD MY CAR SERVICED AT A LOCAL GAS STATION. THE MECHANIC SAID I NEEDED A NEW WIPER MODULE WHICH COST ME $260. I FOUND A RECALL FOR THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM FOR 2013 GMC TERRAINS, NHTSA RECALL NO. 16V-582, MANUFACTURER RECALL NO:25302. I FEEL THEY SHOULD LOOK INTO INCLUDING EARLIER MODELS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds