Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC TERRAIN - 2012 GMC TERRAIN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 91 complaints filed for the 2012 GMC TERRAIN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 GMC TERRAIN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 GMC TERRAIN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (12) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (1) Suspension (2) Visibility (3)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Service Brakes (2) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (17)
Engine (28) Power Train (8) Steering (3) Unknown Or Other (6) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY/WIPER

6/23/2017 - HOWELL, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 GMC TERRAIN. WHILE DRIVING 50 MPH, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS FAILED DURING A HEAVY RAINSTORM. CHAMPION BUICK OF BRIGHTON, MICHIGAN WAS CONTACTED AND STATED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL ON THE VEHICLE, AND ADVISED THE CONTACT TO FILE A COMPLAINT WITH NHTSA. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND REFERRED THE CONTACT TO NHTSA. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 253,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/23/2017 - MIAMI, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 GMC TERRAIN. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO TAP THE BRAKES TO SLIGHTLY SLOW DOWN THE VEHICLE; HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE STOPPED ABRUPTLY. THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CONTACT FOUND THAT WHENEVER HE WOULD LIGHTLY TAP THE BRAKE PEDAL, THE VEHICLE WOULD ABRUPTLY STOP. THE CONTACT FOUND THAT THE VEHICLE WAS EQUIPPED WITH A BRAKE ASSIST SYSTEM AND BELIEVED IT WAS ACTIVATING PREMATURELY. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE WILLIAMSON CADILLAC DEALER WHO STATED THAT THE SYSTEM WAS PERFORMING NORMALLY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND OPENED CASE NUMBER: 8/3047871526, WHICH WAS NOW DEEMED A CLOSED CASE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 59,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

6/19/2017 - BENSALEM, PA
DRIVING AT 35 MILES AN HOUR ON A DOUBLE LANE HIGHWAY IN VERY HEAVY RAIN AT ABOUT 6:00 P.M.. THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS WERE ON HIGH TO CLEAR THE WATER FROM THE WINDSHIELD. WIPERS STOPPED WORKING DURING THE MIDDLE OF THE STORM. I WAS ABLE TO SAFELY NAVIGATE MY CAR TO A PARKING LOT AND WAIT FOR THE RAIN TO STOP. LATER UPON INSPECTION THE BALL JOINT BECAME SEPARATED FROM THE SOCKET WHICH RENDERED THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS USELESS. SEE ATTACHMENTS. THIS HAS BEEN REPORTED TO GM AND IS A KNOWN PROBLEM IN CANADA. "25300-03: SAFETY RECALL - FRONT WIPER TRANSMISSION CORROSION FAILURE (CANADA ONLY) - 2010-2017 CHEVROLET EQUINOX & GMC TERRAIN". I NOTIFIED GM ABOUT THIS AND THEY STATED THEY WILL NOTIFY ME IF THEY ISSUE A RECALL FOR MY VIN.

View Details

ENGINE

6/13/2017 - LEVANT, ME
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 GMC TERRAIN. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 2 MPH IN REVERSE, THE CONTACT HEARD AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE ENGINE. THE CONTACT PULLED OVER AND FOUND THAT THE ENGINE DIPSTICK WAS DRY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE PISTONS AND RINGS FAILED TO CLEAN THE CYLINDER WALLS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT IT WAS NOT A KNOWN ISSUE. THE CONTACT SPOKE TO VARNEY BUICK GMC MAZDA (260 HOGAN RD, BANGOR, ME 04401) WHO ADVISED THE CONTACT TO CONTINUE ADDING OIL TO THE VEHICLE UNTIL IT COULD BE REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 77,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/12/2017 - ORANGE COVE, CA
ON VARIOUS OCCASIONS WHEN SLOWING DOWN OR TURNING, THE ENGINE WILL DIE. FRONT END ACCIDENT GOING 55+ MPH ON A COUNTRY ROAD, HIT A VERY LARGE DIP, AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY, SEAT BELTS DID LOCK UP.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

6/12/2017 - ORANGE COVE, CA
ON VARIOUS OCCASIONS WHEN SLOWING DOWN OR TURNING, THE ENGINE WILL DIE. FRONT END ACCIDENT GOING 55+ MPH ON A COUNTRY ROAD, HIT A VERY LARGE DIP, AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY, SEAT BELTS DID LOCK UP.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/12/2017 - ORANGE COVE, CA
ON VARIOUS OCCASIONS WHEN SLOWING DOWN OR TURNING, THE ENGINE WILL DIE. FRONT END ACCIDENT GOING 55+ MPH ON A COUNTRY ROAD, HIT A VERY LARGE DIP, AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY, SEAT BELTS DID LOCK UP.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/12/2017 - ELK GROVE VILLAGE, IL
I RECENTLY RECEIVED A LETTER FROM GMC INFORMING ME THAT VEHICLES WERE BUILT INCORRECTLY, THAT THE FUEL COMPOSITION SENSOR MAY BE MOUNTED BELOW THE FRAME, EXPOSING THE SENSOR AND FUEL LINES TO ROAD DEBRIS, WHICH MAY RESULT IN THE FUEL LINE EMITTING FUEL ODOR, WEEPING, OR LEAKING. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE MAY EXPERIENCE ENGINE STUMBLE, LOSS OF POWER AND STALL WHILE DRIVING. IT DID NOT PROVIDE A PICTURE OF THE FUEL COMPOSITION SENSOR, NOR DID IT PROVIDE INFORMATION AS TO WHERE IT IS LOCATED. I WAS TOLD BY THE CUSTOMER ASSISTANCE CENTER THIS WAS INTENTIONAL. I AM NOW FEARFUL EVERY TIME I DRIVE THE CAR, BUT THIS IS MY ONLY MEANS OF TRANSPORTATION. I AM HIGHLY CONCERNED REGARDING NOT ONLY THE FAILURE OF THE FUEL COMPOSITION SENSOR AND FUEL LINES, BUT ROAD DEBRIS, OR AN ACCIDENT MAY PUNCTURE THE FUEL COMPOSITION SENSOR AND/OR FUEL LINES, CAUSING A POSSIBLE FUEL LEAK AND POTENTIAL FIRE. ADD IN THE CONCERN THAT THE VEHICLE MAY UNEXPECTEDLY LOSE POWER AND/OR STALL, (MY VEHICLE LOST POWER ON 12-13-13). I DO NOT UNDERSTAND WHY AN ISSUE THIS DANGEROUS DID NOT RESULT IN GMC INITIATING A RECALL OR FIELD INSPECTION OF SOME SORT TO INSPECT ALL VEHICLES AT NO COST TO THE OWNERS AND MAKE ANY NECESSARY REPAIRS IN ORDER TO ELIMINATE ANY RISK OF ACCIDENT OR INJURIES TO THE PUBLIC. I HAVE BEEN ADVISED BY THE CUSTOMER ASSISTANCE CENTER THAT IF I BRING MY VEHICLE TO THE DEALER, THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT NEEDS TO PERFORM A DIAGNOSIS. ONCE DETERMINED THAT THE CODES MATCH THE SPECIAL COVERAGE, THE DIAGNOSIS WILL BE WAIVED AND ALL REPAIRS RELATED TO IT WILL BE FREE OF CHARGE.THERE WILL BE AN OUT OF POCKET EXPENSE FOR THE DIAGNOSIS UNLESS THE CONDITION DESCRIBED IS MET. WHY DOES THE VEHICLE NEED TO BE HOOKED UP TO A COMPUTER TO FIND ENGINE OR OTHER ELECTRICAL ISSUE CODES? THE LETTER STATES THIS IS A PART THAT MAY BE MOUNTED BELOW THE FRAME RAIL, SO WOULDN+T THIS JUST REQUIRE A VISUAL INSPECTION?

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

6/8/2017 - SOUTH EUCLID, OH
THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS STOPPED WORKING WHILE I WAS DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY IN THE RAIN ON THE NIGHT OF 5/21/2017. I HAD TO PULL OVER TO WAIT FOR A BREAK IN THE WEATHER BECAUSE I HAD NO VISIBILITY. I WAITED FOR HOURS BEFORE IT WAS CLEAR ENOUGH TO SEE. I WAS TOLD BY THE MECHANIC THE TRANSMISSION IN THE WIPERS WENT OUT. THE DEALERSHIP TOLD ME THERE IS A RECALL FOR THIS ON THE MAKE MODEL AND YEAR OF MY VEHICLE BUT I HAVE TO FILE A REPORT TO GET ADDED TO THE RECALL BECAUSE MY VIN IS NOT CURRENTLY APART OF THE OPEN RECALL. I STILL DO NOT CURRENTLY HAVE OPERATIONAL WIPERS

View Details

ENGINE

5/15/2017 - DURAND, WI
VEHICLE WAS STARTED AFTER SITTING IN A PARKING LOT FOR 8 HOURS WHILE I WAS AT WORK. SEASON WAS WINTER. VEHICLE NOTED TO BE RUNNING ROUGH, BARELY DRIVEABLE, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds