Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC TERRAIN - 2012 GMC TERRAIN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 23 complaints filed for the 2012 GMC TERRAIN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 GMC TERRAIN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 GMC TERRAIN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (2) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Exterior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (2) Visibility (1)
Engine (2) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Steering (1) Unknown Or Other (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  ... 3
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

7/2/2014 - PLEASANTON, CA
WE HAD BEGUN TO CROSS AN INTERSECTION AND, WHILE OUR SPEED WAS FROM A DEAD STOP, THE OTHER DRIVER BLEW THROUGH A RED LIGHT AND HIT US AT WHAT WAS PROBABLY THE SPEED LIMIT OF 40MPH. HER CAR STRUCK US IN THE RIGHT FRONT PASSENGER SIDE AND AGAIN ON THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE. WE, MYSELF WHO WAS DRIVING, AND MY WIFE, WHO WAS THE PASSENGER ON THE SIDE HIT, WERE BOTH THROWN HARD TO THE RIGHT AT IMPACT, CAUSING INJURIES TO US BOTH, MOST NOTABLY, MY WIFE. SHE HIT HER HEAD VERY HARD ON EITHER THE PASSENGER DOOR FRAME OR THE PASSENGER WINDOW. NO AIRBAGS DEPLOYED. NO SIDE AIRBAGS, NO FRONT AIRBAGS. NO AIR BAGS DEPLOYED!

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/2/2014 - PLEASANTON, CA
WE HAD BEGUN TO CROSS AN INTERSECTION AND, WHILE OUR SPEED WAS FROM A DEAD STOP, THE OTHER DRIVER BLEW THROUGH A RED LIGHT AND HIT US AT WHAT WAS PROBABLY THE SPEED LIMIT OF 40MPH. HER CAR STRUCK US IN THE RIGHT FRONT PASSENGER SIDE AND AGAIN ON THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE. WE, MYSELF WHO WAS DRIVING, AND MY WIFE, WHO WAS THE PASSENGER ON THE SIDE HIT, WERE BOTH THROWN HARD TO THE RIGHT AT IMPACT, CAUSING INJURIES TO US BOTH, MOST NOTABLY, MY WIFE. SHE HIT HER HEAD VERY HARD ON EITHER THE PASSENGER DOOR FRAME OR THE PASSENGER WINDOW. NO AIRBAGS DEPLOYED. NO SIDE AIRBAGS, NO FRONT AIRBAGS. NO AIR BAGS DEPLOYED!

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/2/2014 - PLEASANTON, CA
WE HAD BEGUN TO CROSS AN INTERSECTION AND, WHILE OUR SPEED WAS FROM A DEAD STOP, THE OTHER DRIVER BLEW THROUGH A RED LIGHT AND HIT US AT WHAT WAS PROBABLY THE SPEED LIMIT OF 40MPH. HER CAR STRUCK US IN THE RIGHT FRONT PASSENGER SIDE AND AGAIN ON THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE. WE, MYSELF WHO WAS DRIVING, AND MY WIFE, WHO WAS THE PASSENGER ON THE SIDE HIT, WERE BOTH THROWN HARD TO THE RIGHT AT IMPACT, CAUSING INJURIES TO US BOTH, MOST NOTABLY, MY WIFE. SHE HIT HER HEAD VERY HARD ON EITHER THE PASSENGER DOOR FRAME OR THE PASSENGER WINDOW. NO AIRBAGS DEPLOYED. NO SIDE AIRBAGS, NO FRONT AIRBAGS. NO AIR BAGS DEPLOYED!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/14/2014 - MONETA, VA
VEERED OFF SIDE OF HIGHWAY, STRUCK SOMETHING HEAD-ON AND WAS RENDERED UNCONSCIOUS AS HEAD HIT STEERING WHEEL. I WAS TRANSPORTED UNCONSCIOUS IN AMBULANCE FROM CRASH SCENE TO LOCAL HOSPITAL, WHERE I WAS AN INPATIENT FOR TWO DAYS. EXTENSIVE DAMAGE TO FRONT OF VEHICLE INDICATED THE SEVERITY OF IMPACT... YET AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. I BELIEVE AIR BAGS SHOULD HAVE DEPLOYED ON IMPACT AND I WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN RENDERED UNCONSCIOUS, AND COULD HAVE CONTROLLED VEHICLE TO AVOID STRIKING TREE, BRUSH, ETC. I CONTACTED GMC CORPORATE.. TO ADVISE MY CONCERNS FOR SAFETY... RECEIVED A FOLLOW UP TELEPHONE CALL FROM GMC REPRESENTATIVE... (HE) EXPRESSED NO INTEREST IN MY COMPLAINT... REFUSED TO COMMENT ON MY STATEMENT THAT AIR BAG FAILED TO DEPLOY RESULTING IN EXTENSIVE DAMAGE TO FRONT OF VEHICLE AND SUSTAINING A HEAD INJURY AS NO BAG DEPLOYED. NO MATTER THAT I AM LEASING THE VEHICLE AND FEAR FOR MY SAFETY... I WAS ADVISED THAT GMC HAD NO FURTHER INTEREST IN THIS MATTER AND WOULD NOT EVALUATE MY SAFETY CONCERNS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/14/2014 - MONETA, VA
VEERED OFF SIDE OF HIGHWAY, STRUCK SOMETHING HEAD-ON AND WAS RENDERED UNCONSCIOUS AS HEAD HIT STEERING WHEEL. I WAS TRANSPORTED UNCONSCIOUS IN AMBULANCE FROM CRASH SCENE TO LOCAL HOSPITAL, WHERE I WAS AN INPATIENT FOR TWO DAYS. EXTENSIVE DAMAGE TO FRONT OF VEHICLE INDICATED THE SEVERITY OF IMPACT... YET AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. I BELIEVE AIR BAGS SHOULD HAVE DEPLOYED ON IMPACT AND I WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN RENDERED UNCONSCIOUS, AND COULD HAVE CONTROLLED VEHICLE TO AVOID STRIKING TREE, BRUSH, ETC. I CONTACTED GMC CORPORATE.. TO ADVISE MY CONCERNS FOR SAFETY... RECEIVED A FOLLOW UP TELEPHONE CALL FROM GMC REPRESENTATIVE... (HE) EXPRESSED NO INTEREST IN MY COMPLAINT... REFUSED TO COMMENT ON MY STATEMENT THAT AIR BAG FAILED TO DEPLOY RESULTING IN EXTENSIVE DAMAGE TO FRONT OF VEHICLE AND SUSTAINING A HEAD INJURY AS NO BAG DEPLOYED. NO MATTER THAT I AM LEASING THE VEHICLE AND FEAR FOR MY SAFETY... I WAS ADVISED THAT GMC HAD NO FURTHER INTEREST IN THIS MATTER AND WOULD NOT EVALUATE MY SAFETY CONCERNS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/19/2014 - MONETA, VA
I INADVERTENTLY VEERED OFF SIDE ROADWAY, (VA HIGHWAY 220) COLLIDING WITH A TREE/ROADSIDE SHRUBS, ETC (WAS KNOCKED UNCONSCIOUS AS FOREHEAD HIT STEERING WHEEL ON INITIAL IMPACT). AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY ALLOWING ME TO SUSTAIN A HEAD INJURY THAT KNOCKED ME UNCONSCIOUS... FOREHEAD WAS GASHED WITH SIGNIFICANT BLEEDING. I WAS TRANSPORTED BY AMBULANCE IN UNCONSCIOUS STATE. DAMAGE TO VEHICLE IS IN EXCESS OF $8,000 SO FAR AS VEHICLE STILL IN REPAIR SHOP WITH MASSIVE FRONT END DAMAGE THAT AFFECTS STEERING LINKAGE, ETC. THE IMPACT OF VEHICLE AGAINST FOLIAGE, TREES SHRUBS, SHOULD HAVE FORCED AIR BAGS TO DEPLOY AND I BELIEVE THAT I WOULD NOT HAVE SUSTAINED A HEAD INJURY THAT RENDERED ME UNCONSCIOUS WITH MILD CONCUSSION AND COULD NOT CONTROL VEHICLE LEAVING ROADWAY.

View Details

EQUIPMENT ADAPTIVE

4/6/2014 - MORRIS PLAINS, NJ
WE HAVE HAD THE GMC TERRAIN SHUT DOWN TWICE WHILE DRIVING. BOTH TIME THE CAR CENTER CONSOLE GOES COMPLETELY BLACK AND YOU HAVE NO CONTROL OVER THE VEHICLE. WE BROUGHT IT IN FOR SERVICE BUT THEY COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG, AFTER THE SECOND TIME THEY STILL FOUND NOTHING WRONG BUT THEY DECIDE TO REPLACE THE CARS INTERNAL COMPUTER. THE ISSUE WAS REPORTED TO CORPORATE GM BUT NOT MUCH WAS MADE IF IT. AFTER ALL THE NEWS WITH OTHER GM VEHICLE I'M CONCERNED THIS THAT THIS MAY BE HAPPENING WITH OTHER GMC TERRAIN VEHICLE. MY WIFE WHO IS THE PRIMARY DRIVER IS VERY FRIGHTEN TO DRIVE THE CAR SINCE THIS. IF YOU HAVE ANY FURTHER QUESTION PLEASE FEEL FREE TO CONTACT ME.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/14/2014 - WEST PALM BEACH, FL
ON 8/2/12 I PURCHASED MY GMC TERRAIN BRAND NEW IN ASHLAND CITY, TN. I MOVED TO WEST PALM BEACH IN OCTOBER 2012. THE CURRENT MILES ON THE VEHICLE ARE 44,039. I GOT AN OIL CHANGE, FILTER AND MULTI-POINT INSPECTION ON 10/24/13 BY THE LOCAL GMC DEALER. ON 10/23/13 I TOOK MY VEHICLE IN TO HAVE A RECALL REPAIRED AT SCHUMACHER BUICK/GMC. THE RECALL # IS 12312. A MONTH LATER THE VEHICLE WOULD LUNGE SHARPLY FORWARD WHILE DRIVING AND A HEAVY SHAKING VIBRATION (BOTH WHILE DRIVING AND AT A STOP) BELOW MY FEET IN THE VEHICLE (FLOOR BOARD). I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO SCHUMACHER BUICK/GMC 3031 OKEECHOBEE BLVD, ON 11/11/13 AND IT REMAINED UNTIL 11/15/14 AND THE PROBLEM WAS NOT IDENTIFIED. I RETURNED THE VEHICLE FOR THE SAME PROBLEM ON 12/21/13 (SAME DEALER) AND IT WAS PICKED UP ON 12/31/13. THE FIRST SERVICE ADVISOR WAS ROB DEAL HE TOLD ME THAT THE VEHICLE SHIFTS ITS DRIVABILITY TO THE DRIVER AND NOTHING WAS WRONG. I TOOK MY VEHICLE BACK A SECOND TIME FOR THE SAME PROBLEM THIS TIME (IT WAS GETTING WORST) MY REP WAS "[XXX]". HE SAID IT WAS THE "ECO" BUTTON IN THE CAR, IF PUSHED MAKES THE CAR RUN ROUGH." ON MARCH 7, 2014, I CONTACTED GMC CORPORATE OFFICE AND SPOKE TO SHERRY AND REQUESTED A FULL ANALYSIS OF MY CAR. THIS TIME I WENT TO ANOTHER GMC DEALER LOCALLY (LAKE PARK SCHUMACHER) AND MY SERVICE TECH WAS [XXX]. PER [XXX] IT IS A TRANSMISSION ISSUE -LEFT ON MY VOICEMAIL AND SAVED" SPECIFICALLY HE SAID IT WAS THE "CONTROL PRESSURE VALVE CAUSING IT TO LUNGE FORWARD AND IT WAS IMPROPER." HE SAID IT WAS "UNCOMMON TO SEE THIS ISSUE." THE REASON I TOOK THE VEHICLE IN IS THAT I ALMOST REAR ENDED TWO PEOPLE WHILE DRIVING DUE TO THE VEHICLES LUNGES AND HAVE MY BODY JOLTED INTO THE GLASS THE FORCE WAS SO STRONG WITH THE LUNGE. I FEAR FOR MY SAFETY AND THAT OF MY 12 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER IN THIS CAR. I WAS CONTACTED ON 3/13/14 THAT THE VEHICLE WAS READY FOR PICK-UP AND IT HAD BEEN FIXED. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

STRUCTURE

3/14/2014 - WEST PALM BEACH, FL
ON 8/2/12 I PURCHASED MY GMC TERRAIN BRAND NEW IN ASHLAND CITY, TN. I MOVED TO WEST PALM BEACH IN OCTOBER 2012. THE CURRENT MILES ON THE VEHICLE ARE 44,039. I GOT AN OIL CHANGE, FILTER AND MULTI-POINT INSPECTION ON 10/24/13 BY THE LOCAL GMC DEALER. ON 10/23/13 I TOOK MY VEHICLE IN TO HAVE A RECALL REPAIRED AT SCHUMACHER BUICK/GMC. THE RECALL # IS 12312. A MONTH LATER THE VEHICLE WOULD LUNGE SHARPLY FORWARD WHILE DRIVING AND A HEAVY SHAKING VIBRATION (BOTH WHILE DRIVING AND AT A STOP) BELOW MY FEET IN THE VEHICLE (FLOOR BOARD). I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO SCHUMACHER BUICK/GMC 3031 OKEECHOBEE BLVD, ON 11/11/13 AND IT REMAINED UNTIL 11/15/14 AND THE PROBLEM WAS NOT IDENTIFIED. I RETURNED THE VEHICLE FOR THE SAME PROBLEM ON 12/21/13 (SAME DEALER) AND IT WAS PICKED UP ON 12/31/13. THE FIRST SERVICE ADVISOR WAS ROB DEAL HE TOLD ME THAT THE VEHICLE SHIFTS ITS DRIVABILITY TO THE DRIVER AND NOTHING WAS WRONG. I TOOK MY VEHICLE BACK A SECOND TIME FOR THE SAME PROBLEM THIS TIME (IT WAS GETTING WORST) MY REP WAS "[XXX]". HE SAID IT WAS THE "ECO" BUTTON IN THE CAR, IF PUSHED MAKES THE CAR RUN ROUGH." ON MARCH 7, 2014, I CONTACTED GMC CORPORATE OFFICE AND SPOKE TO SHERRY AND REQUESTED A FULL ANALYSIS OF MY CAR. THIS TIME I WENT TO ANOTHER GMC DEALER LOCALLY (LAKE PARK SCHUMACHER) AND MY SERVICE TECH WAS [XXX]. PER [XXX] IT IS A TRANSMISSION ISSUE -LEFT ON MY VOICEMAIL AND SAVED" SPECIFICALLY HE SAID IT WAS THE "CONTROL PRESSURE VALVE CAUSING IT TO LUNGE FORWARD AND IT WAS IMPROPER." HE SAID IT WAS "UNCOMMON TO SEE THIS ISSUE." THE REASON I TOOK THE VEHICLE IN IS THAT I ALMOST REAR ENDED TWO PEOPLE WHILE DRIVING DUE TO THE VEHICLES LUNGES AND HAVE MY BODY JOLTED INTO THE GLASS THE FORCE WAS SO STRONG WITH THE LUNGE. I FEAR FOR MY SAFETY AND THAT OF MY 12 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER IN THIS CAR. I WAS CONTACTED ON 3/13/14 THAT THE VEHICLE WAS READY FOR PICK-UP AND IT HAD BEEN FIXED. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

12/18/2013 - ELK GROVE VILLAGE, IL
I OWN A 2012 TERRAIN SLE2 WITH APPROXIMATELY 20,000 MILES. ON FRIDAY, DECEMBER 13, 2013, I JOINED THE INNUMERABLE OWNERS OF GM PRODUCTS (FOUND ON THE VARIOUS OWNER FORUMS ON THE INTERNET) THAT HAVE EXPERIENCED THE SERVICE STABILITRAK LIGHT COMING ON WITH ROUGH IDLING. OTHER OWNERS HAVE EXPRESSED THE LOSS OF POWER WHEN THIS EVENT OCCURS. LUCKILY, I WAS BACKING OUT OF MY GARAGE AND NOT TRAVELING ON THE EXPRESSWAY SO I CANNOT ADVISE WHETHER THERE WAS LOSS OF POWER SINCE I WAS GOING SO SLOW. THE LIGHT WENT OFF WHEN I TURNED THE VEHICLE OFF IN ORDER TO COME INSIDE AND CALL THE DEALER (WOODY BUICK GMC IN NAPERVILLE IL). THE DEALER WAS ABLE TO FIND CODE PO300 (RANDOM CYLINDER MISFIRE) BUT THEY COULD FIND NOTHING WRONG. I WAS TOLD THE VEHICLE FIXED ITSELF (WHICH I FIND HIGHLY DOUBTFUL AND VERY DISTURBING). I AM A ONE VEHICLE FAMILY AND NOW IN A COMPLETE PANIC WHENEVER I DRIVE THIS VEHICLE. I FEAR FOR MY LIFE, MY PASSENGERS? AND OTHERS BECAUSE LOSS OF POWER CAN HAPPEN AT ANY TIME AND I AM CONCERNED ABOUT BEING REAR ENDED SINCE THE DRIVER BEHIND ME WOULD HAVE NO CLUE, AS I DON?T, THAT MY VEHICLE WILL LOSE POWER. SINCE THIS IS A HUGE SAFETY CONCERN, I AM SHOCKED THAT GM HAS NOT ADDRESSED THIS FAILURE OF ITS PRODUCTS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  ... 3
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds