Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC TERRAIN - 2012 GMC TERRAIN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 74 complaints filed for the 2012 GMC TERRAIN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 GMC TERRAIN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 GMC TERRAIN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Seat Belts (1) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (10) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (1) Suspension (2) Visibility (3)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Service Brakes (1) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (10)
Engine (23) Power Train (6) Steering (3) Unknown Or Other (4) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY/WIPER

3/23/2017 - ELLENWOOD, GA
WIPERS STOPPED WORKING ON ME TWICE AND BOTH TIMES I WAS DRIVING DURING HEAVY RAIN. ALTHOUGH I COULD NOT SEE, LUCKILY I WAS ABLE TO PULL OVER EACH TIMES THE OCCURRENCE HAPPENED. I WAS SO SCARED BECAUSE I WENT FROM VISIBILITY TO NON IN SECONDS AND TO PULL OVER IN AN AREA UNFAMILIAR TO ME THE FIRST TIME. I HAVE BEEN TO HENNESSY GMC SERVICE TWICE, AN ON BOTH OCCASIONS; I WAS TOLD ABOUT RECALL AND THAT PARTS HAS TO COME FROM CANADA SINCE CAR ORIGIN IS FROM CANADA. I ALSO WAS TOLD THE WIPERS ARE TEMPORARILY REPAIRED. NO WIPERS ARE NOT. THE FIRST TIME I DID NOT HAVE TO SIGN PAPERS BUT THE 2ND TIME I DID WHEN I WENT BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP BOTHIN ANGER AND NERVOUSNESS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/6/2017 - CABOT, AR
TIMING CHAIN JUMPING OFF OF SPROCKETS AND EATING AWAY AT THE CHAIN GUIDES AND TENSIONERS.

View Details

ENGINE

3/6/2017 - CABOT, AR
TIMING CHAIN JUMPING OFF OF SPROCKETS AND EATING AWAY AT THE CHAIN GUIDES AND TENSIONERS.

View Details

ENGINE

3/1/2017 - NEWARK, DE
I HAVE A GMC 2012 SLT 1 WITH 2.4 CYLINDER CAR THAT I BOUGHT IN 2011. IT HAS 75K MILES NOW. RECENTLY GOT TO KNOW FROM MY DEALER THAT THERE IS A ISSUE WITH THE ENGINE OIL CONSUMPTION AND PISTON NEEDS TO BE REPLACED AND WAS REFERRED TO A SPECIAL COVERAGE INFORMATION FOR 2011 VEHICLE WITH SIMILAR ISSUE BUT NOT FOR A 2012 VEHICLE - HTTP://GM.OEMDTC.COM/3953/15285-EXCESSIVE-ENGINE-OIL-CONSUMPTION-2011-CHEVROLET-EQUINOX-GMC-TERRAIN IF MY 2012 CAR BOUGHT IN 2011 IS ALSO GIVING THE SAME PROBLEM AS CONFIRMED BY CETRTIFIED GMC SERVICE DEALER, THEN WHY IS IT NOT COVERED UNDER GM'S SPECIAL COVERAGE. VIN: 2GKFLVEK1C6101413

View Details

ENGINE

2/28/2017 - EASTLAND, TX
EXCESSIVE ENGINE OIL CONSUMPTION 2 QUARTERS PER EVERY 3000 MILES. VEHICLE IS NOW 71K MILES I CHANGED THE OIL 3 WEEKS AGO AND IT WAS MISSING 2.5 QUARTERS OF OIL I HAVE DRIVEN THE CAR AROUND 800 MILES AFTER THE OIL CHANGE AND IS HALF WAY ON THE DEEP STICK AM AFRAID IF I KEEP DRIVING IT FOR 3 TO 4K MILES IT WILL BE VERY LOW ON OIL AGAIN AND I PURCHASED THIS CAR 7 MONTHS AGO FRO THE DEALERSHIP AND IT HAD 55K MILES AT THE TIME I ALWAYS NOTICED TO BE LOW OF MOTOR OIL AND I THOUGHT IT WAS NORMAL BUT IT'S GETTING WORSE BY THE TIME GOING BY. I THINK IS TOO SOON TO BE BURNING MOTOR OIL AT THOSE LOW MILES.

View Details

ENGINE

2/28/2017 - EASTLAND, TX
EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION 3K MILES 2 QUARTERS OF OIL CONSUMPTION

View Details

ENGINE

2/26/2017 - REYNOLDSBURG, OH
I HAVE HAD THIS CAR FOR LESS THAN A YEAR, BOUGHT FROM A DEALER, AND I HAVE CHECKED THE BACKGROUND TO WHICH THERE HAVE NOT BEEN ANY TYPE OF ACCIDENT OR DAMAGE FROM WHAT WAS PROVIDED TO ME. IT RANDOMLY STARTED SHAKING UNCONTROLLABLY AND SHUTTING OFF WHILE I WAS DRIVING. NOW MIND YOU, AS A PREGNANT WOMAN DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY, THIS IS NOT SAFE. MY ENGINE LIGHT TURNED ON. THOUGH I COULD HAVE GOTTEN IN AN ACCIDENT, BY THE GRACE OF GOD PEOPLE MOVED OUT THE WAY AND ALLOWED ME TO GET OFF AND TO THE SIDE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/26/2017 - REYNOLDSBURG, OH
I HAVE HAD THIS CAR FOR LESS THAN A YEAR, BOUGHT FROM A DEALER, AND I HAVE CHECKED THE BACKGROUND TO WHICH THERE HAVE NOT BEEN ANY TYPE OF ACCIDENT OR DAMAGE FROM WHAT WAS PROVIDED TO ME. IT RANDOMLY STARTED SHAKING UNCONTROLLABLY AND SHUTTING OFF WHILE I WAS DRIVING. NOW MIND YOU, AS A PREGNANT WOMAN DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY, THIS IS NOT SAFE. MY ENGINE LIGHT TURNED ON. THOUGH I COULD HAVE GOTTEN IN AN ACCIDENT, BY THE GRACE OF GOD PEOPLE MOVED OUT THE WAY AND ALLOWED ME TO GET OFF AND TO THE SIDE.

View Details

ENGINE

2/9/2017 - CANYON, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 GMC TERRAIN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY LOST ACCELERATION POWER. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT WHILE AT A STOP THE ENGINE STALLED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON TWO DIFFERENT OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER BOTH THE TIMES WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENTIRE ENGINE AND THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT ONLY THE ENGINE WAS REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 106,122.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/9/2017 - CANYON, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 GMC TERRAIN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY LOST ACCELERATION POWER. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT WHILE AT A STOP THE ENGINE STALLED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON TWO DIFFERENT OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER BOTH THE TIMES WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENTIRE ENGINE AND THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT ONLY THE ENGINE WAS REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 106,122.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds