Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC TERRAIN - 2012 GMC TERRAIN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 112 complaints filed for the 2012 GMC TERRAIN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 GMC TERRAIN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 GMC TERRAIN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (16) Exterior Lighting (3) Seats (1) Suspension (2) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Service Brakes (2) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (24)
Engine (36) Power Train (9) Steering (3) Unknown Or Other (7) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY/WIPER

1/27/2018 - BRICK, NJ
WAS DRIVING IN THE MIDDLE OF A TORRENTIAL DOWNPOUR AND HAD MY WIPERS ON HIGH WHEN ALL OF A SUDDEN THEY JUST STOPPED WORKING ALMOST CAUSING ME TO CRASH AND DIE. THOUGHT MAYBE IT WAS A FUSE PROBLEM BUT CAME TO FIND OUT THAT THERE WAS A RECALL ON A PLASTIC PIECE THAT BREAKS OFF ON THE 2013 GMC TERRAIN WHAT IS NOT RECALLED ON MY VEHICLE SO I HAD TO PAY TO HAVE THIS FIXED AND IT WAS NOT CHEAP. CHECKING ONLINE NUMEROUS PEOPLE HAVE HAD THE SAME EXACT THING HAPPENED TO THEM FOR THE 2012 MODEL TERRAIN AND I DO NOT UNDERSTAND WHY SUCH A SAFETY ISSUE IS NOT ADDRESSED IMMEDIATELY SO AS TO NOT CAUSE ANYBODY TO CRASH AND DIE.

View Details

ENGINE

1/25/2018 - SAINT PETERSBURG, FL
JUST PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE 5 MONTHS AGO AND HAVE A MAJOR OIL LEAK WHICH IS GOING TO COST OVER $1000, MECHANIC TOLD ME THERE IS A RECALL 14882 CALLED GMC CUSTOMER SERVICE AND WAS TOLD MY VIN IS NOT COVERED. HOW DO YOU HAVE A RECALL FOR THE SAME YEAR MAKE MODEL BUT NOT ALL ARE INCLUDED BUT ALL HAVING THE SAME ISSUE? THIS IS A SERIOUS ISSUE AND THE VEHICLE NEEDS TO BE RECALLED BEFORE SOMEONE GET SERIOUSLY HURT, ESPECIALLY WHEN THE VEHICLE IS JUST CUTTING OFF IN TRAFFIC

View Details

ENGINE

1/16/2018 - OKC, OK
I HAVE HAD NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS WITH MY OIL CONSUMPTION ON MY VEHICLE, WHEN I FIRST GOT THE VEHICLE, IT STARTED MAKING SOME NOISES AND I DIDN'T KNOW WHAT IT WAS , UNTIL I TOOK IT IN TO HAVE IT LOOKED AT, IT WAS LOW ON OIL, SO I HAD TO PAY FOR THE OIL CHANGE AND THE FEE TO HAVE IT LOOKED AT, FOR OIL CONSUMPTION TEST, I HAVE ONLY HAD THE VEHICLE FOR 1 1/2 YEARS AND THE OIL CONSUMPTION IS ASTRONOMICAL, SEEMS LIKE I HAVE TO HAVE AN OIL CHANGE EVERY 2 MONTHS AND I HAVE TO ADD OIL SEEMS LIVE EVERY 1000 MILES, THIS IS A MAJOR PROBLEM, WITH THE 2011 GMC TERRAIN AND I THINK THEY NEED TO RECALL THESE VEHICLES OR FIX THE PROBLEM, I JUST GO AN OIL CHANGE 11/2017 AND WAS LOW ON OIL 12/2017, SO I HAD TO ADD OIL AGAIN, UNTIL IT IS TIME TO HAVE MY OIL CHANGE. NOW MY CAR IS LEAKING OIL AND SO I HAVE TO TAKE IT IN AGAIN, I HAVE HAD TO HAVE MY CAMSHAFTS FIXED 2 TIMES, THIS IS A PROBLEM. I AM NOT RICH, BUT I HAVE TO INCUR THE CHARGE. I STILL HAVE 5 YEARS LEFT TO PAY THIS CAR OFF. I JUST WANTED TO VOICE MY CONCERN WITH THIS VEHICLE.

View Details

ENGINE

1/9/2018 - CATASAUQUA, PA
ON JAN 1ST IT WAS 3¦F OUT MY WIFE WORMED UP HER TERRAIN WE DROVE IT APPROXIMATELY 12 MILES WHEN WE STARTED TO SMELL SOMETHING BURNING. NEXT CAME THE ENGINE KNOCKING REALLY BAD. WE STOPPED THE TERRAIN AND HAD IT TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP FOUND OUT THE REAR MAIN SEAL BLEW WITH SUCH FORCE THAT THE OIL COVERED THE MUFFLER. THIS HAPPENED FROM THE PCV BEING PLUGGED AND/OR FROZEN FROM THE COLD WEATHER. I RECENTLY FOUND A SERVICE BULLETIN FOR THAT YEAR MAKE AND MODEL THAT INDICATES THAT WILL HAPPEN AND THERE IS A SPECIAL COVERAGE FOR THAT.(14882: SPECIAL COVERAGE ADJUSTMENT) I ALSO RECEIVED A LETTER FROM GMC ABOUT HIGH OIL CONSUMPTION WARRANTY. THE TERRAIN MAY EXHIBIT ENGINE OIL CONSUMPTION. THAT IS ALSO A PART OF THAT 14882:ADJUSTMENT NOW TO THE POINT I WAS TOLD THAT THIS ISSUE MY WIFE'S TERRAIN WOULD BE COVERED UNDER THE 100K/5YEAR POWER TRAIN WARRANTY OUR TERRAIN ONLY HAS 71K MILES ON IT. BUT THE 5YEAR ARE UP. SO GM IS NOT TAKING RESPONSIBILITY FOR THIS ISSUE ACCORDING TO BOTH SPECIAL COVERAGE THE 14882: THEY ADJUSTED TO 10 YEARS OR 120K MILES BUT THEY ARE CLAIMING EVEN THOUGH ITS FOR THAT YEAR MAKE AND MODEL AND ENGINE AND THAT EVERYTHING THAT'S LISTED IS WHAT HAPPENED TO OUR GMC ITS NOT FOR OUR TERRAIN. I TOLD THEM I ALSO HAD A LETTER THAT THEY SENT TO US STATING THE OIL CONSUMPTION THAT HAS A ADJUSTMENT OF 7YEARS 6MONTHS/120K WARRANTY WITCH WAS PART OF THAT 14882: SPECIAL COVERAGE THEY STILL WILL NOT TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR FIXING. I BELIEVE WE ARE GETTING TAKEN ADVANTAGE OF IN THIS SITUATION. THEY ARE MAKING US PAY FOR ALL REPAIRS IT MAY NEED A NEW ENGINE IN RESULT OF THE REAR SEAL BLOWING BECAUSE IT LOST ALL THE OIL. BUT WE WOULD NOT KNOW TILL THE REPAIRS START OR AFTER ALL REPAIRS ARE MADE AND THE ENGINE SEIZES. I ALSO WAS TOLD FROM THE DEALER THAT IF WE FIX IT AND DRIVE IT DOWN THE ROAD THERE IS NO GUARANTY THAT IT WILL NOT HAPPEN AGAIN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/9/2018 - CATASAUQUA, PA
ON JAN 1ST IT WAS 3¦F OUT MY WIFE WORMED UP HER TERRAIN WE DROVE IT APPROXIMATELY 12 MILES WHEN WE STARTED TO SMELL SOMETHING BURNING. NEXT CAME THE ENGINE KNOCKING REALLY BAD. WE STOPPED THE TERRAIN AND HAD IT TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP FOUND OUT THE REAR MAIN SEAL BLEW WITH SUCH FORCE THAT THE OIL COVERED THE MUFFLER. THIS HAPPENED FROM THE PCV BEING PLUGGED AND/OR FROZEN FROM THE COLD WEATHER. I RECENTLY FOUND A SERVICE BULLETIN FOR THAT YEAR MAKE AND MODEL THAT INDICATES THAT WILL HAPPEN AND THERE IS A SPECIAL COVERAGE FOR THAT.(14882: SPECIAL COVERAGE ADJUSTMENT) I ALSO RECEIVED A LETTER FROM GMC ABOUT HIGH OIL CONSUMPTION WARRANTY. THE TERRAIN MAY EXHIBIT ENGINE OIL CONSUMPTION. THAT IS ALSO A PART OF THAT 14882:ADJUSTMENT NOW TO THE POINT I WAS TOLD THAT THIS ISSUE MY WIFE'S TERRAIN WOULD BE COVERED UNDER THE 100K/5YEAR POWER TRAIN WARRANTY OUR TERRAIN ONLY HAS 71K MILES ON IT. BUT THE 5YEAR ARE UP. SO GM IS NOT TAKING RESPONSIBILITY FOR THIS ISSUE ACCORDING TO BOTH SPECIAL COVERAGE THE 14882: THEY ADJUSTED TO 10 YEARS OR 120K MILES BUT THEY ARE CLAIMING EVEN THOUGH ITS FOR THAT YEAR MAKE AND MODEL AND ENGINE AND THAT EVERYTHING THAT'S LISTED IS WHAT HAPPENED TO OUR GMC ITS NOT FOR OUR TERRAIN. I TOLD THEM I ALSO HAD A LETTER THAT THEY SENT TO US STATING THE OIL CONSUMPTION THAT HAS A ADJUSTMENT OF 7YEARS 6MONTHS/120K WARRANTY WITCH WAS PART OF THAT 14882: SPECIAL COVERAGE THEY STILL WILL NOT TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR FIXING. I BELIEVE WE ARE GETTING TAKEN ADVANTAGE OF IN THIS SITUATION. THEY ARE MAKING US PAY FOR ALL REPAIRS IT MAY NEED A NEW ENGINE IN RESULT OF THE REAR SEAL BLOWING BECAUSE IT LOST ALL THE OIL. BUT WE WOULD NOT KNOW TILL THE REPAIRS START OR AFTER ALL REPAIRS ARE MADE AND THE ENGINE SEIZES. I ALSO WAS TOLD FROM THE DEALER THAT IF WE FIX IT AND DRIVE IT DOWN THE ROAD THERE IS NO GUARANTY THAT IT WILL NOT HAPPEN AGAIN.

View Details

ENGINE

1/5/2018 - CINCINNATI, OH
THE REAR MAIN SEAL COMPRIMISED AND CAUSED THE LOW OIL PRESSURE STIP ENGINE LIGHT TO COME ON. MY MECHANIC ADDED OIL AND IT POURED OUT. HE TRIED TO GET THE PART AND HE COULD ONLY LOCATE AT DEALERSGIP 200 MILES AWAT. APPAREBTLY THIS HAS BEEN OCCURRING OFTEN WITH VEHICLES WITH THIS ENGINE.

View Details

ENGINE

12/4/2017 - HAMDEN, CT
I RECEIVED A RECALL LETTER FROM GMC ABOUT A KNOCKING IN THE ENGINE WHICH JUST STARTED HAPPENING IN MY VEHICLE. THE RECALL DOES NOT SHOW UP WHEN THE DEALER CHECKED THE VIN NUMBER IN THE COMPUTER. BUT BEFORE I COULD TAKE MY CAR IN TO BE CHECKED MY ENGINE DIED WHEN I ARRIVE AT WORK WHICH IS 25 MILES FROM MY HOME. I HAD IT TOWED TO A GMC DEARLERSHIP AND WAS INFORMED THAT MY TIMING CHAIN JUMPED AND THREW VALVE TIMING OFF CAUSING INTERNAL ENGINE FAILURE.. I THEN HAD TO REPLACE THE ENGINE IN A 5 YEAR OLD VEHICLE, MY WARRANTY EXPIRED 3/2017 SO THIS WAS NOT COVERED. WHEN I CALLED GMC I WAS TOLD THEY MAY BE ABLE TO COVER SOME OF THE COST BUT SINCE I DID NOT REPLACE THE ENGINE WITH ANOTHER GMC ENGINE WHICH WOULD HAVE COST MORE I HAD TO PAY OUT OF MY POCKETS FOR THIS.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

11/22/2017 - LOWELL, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 GMC TERRAIN. WHETHER STATIONARY OR DRIVING THE VEHICLE VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE WINDSHIELD DEVELOPED A BLACK FILM THAT REFLECTED A GLARE INTO THE CONTACT'S EYES. THE ISSUE OBSTRUCTED THE CONTACT'S VIEW OF THE ROAD. GREATER LOWELL GMC IN LOWELL, MASSACHUSETTS WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND INITIALLY STATED THAT IT WAS THE TINT OF THE VEHICLE THAT CAUSED THE GLARE AND THAT IT WAS NORMAL. UPON FURTHER INSPECTION, THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DETERMINED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 20,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/6/2017 - ROCK, WV
THE LOW BEAM H11 BULB IS CAUSING THE (MALE/FEMALE PLUG IN) FOR THIS COMPONENT TO OVERHEAT CAUSING THE PLASTIC TO BECOME CHARRED, PARTIALLY MELTED AND BRITTLE IN WHICH THE LOW BEAM LIGHT STOPS WORKING DUE TO THIS PROBLEM. THE WIRING IS BECOMING SOFT AT THE PLUG IN CONNECTION FROM THIS HEAT AND ALLOWING THE PROTECTIVE WIRE INSULATION TO BE MELTED PERMITTING THE BARE WIRE TO BE VISIBLE WHICH COULD PRODUCE A FIRE HAZARD AT THIS LOCATION. THIS HAS OCCURRED ON THE RIGHT SIDE TWICE AND ON THE LEFT SIDE ONCE. IN ALL THREE CASES, THE BULBS WITH THE FEMALE PLUG IN AND THE MALE ELECTRICAL CONNECTION HAS BEEN REPLACE. THIS VEHICLE HAS ONLY 28755 MILES ON IT. JUST NOTICED THE LOW BEAM LIGHT ON RIGHT SIDE NOT WORKING AGAIN TODAY. REPLACED THIS SIDE WITHIN THE LAST 9 MONTHS.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/6/2017 - ROCK, WV
THE LOW BEAM H11 BULB IS CAUSING THE (MALE/FEMALE PLUG IN) FOR THIS COMPONENT TO OVERHEAT CAUSING THE PLASTIC TO BECOME CHARRED, PARTIALLY MELTED AND BRITTLE IN WHICH THE LOW BEAM LIGHT STOPS WORKING DUE TO THIS PROBLEM. THE WIRING IS BECOMING SOFT AT THE PLUG IN CONNECTION FROM THIS HEAT AND ALLOWING THE PROTECTIVE WIRE INSULATION TO BE MELTED PERMITTING THE BARE WIRE TO BE VISIBLE WHICH COULD PRODUCE A FIRE HAZARD AT THIS LOCATION. THIS HAS OCCURRED ON THE RIGHT SIDE TWICE AND ON THE LEFT SIDE ONCE. IN ALL THREE CASES, THE BULBS WITH THE FEMALE PLUG IN AND THE MALE ELECTRICAL CONNECTION HAS BEEN REPLACE. THIS VEHICLE HAS ONLY 28755 MILES ON IT. JUST NOTICED THE LOW BEAM LIGHT ON RIGHT SIDE NOT WORKING AGAIN TODAY. REPLACED THIS SIDE WITHIN THE LAST 9 MONTHS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds