Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC TERRAIN - 2012 GMC TERRAIN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 50 complaints filed for the 2012 GMC TERRAIN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 GMC TERRAIN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 GMC TERRAIN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Seat Belts (1) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (8) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (1) Suspension (2) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Service Brakes (1) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (12) Power Train (3) Steering (3) Unknown Or Other (3) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
 
ComplaintDescription

SEATS

7/12/2016 - CHILLICOTHE, OH
DRIVERS SEAT QUIT GOING UP AND DOWN POSSITION.

View Details

ENGINE

6/23/2016 - ADAIRISZILLE, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 GMC TERRAIN. WHILE IDLING, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY STALLED AND SHUT OFF. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE DASHBOARD LIGHTS SUDDENLY BEGAN TO DIM AND THE SPEED REDUCED TO 15 MPH. THE "ENGINE POWER REDUCED" MESSAGE APPEARED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS AND THE ELECTRONIC CONTROL MODULE WAS REPLACED AND THE THROTTLE BODY WAS CLEANED, BUT THE FAILURES CONTINUED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 32,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/1/2016 - WEST BLOOMFIELD, MI
SUDDEN UNINTENDED ACCELERATION WHEN VEHICLE SHIFTED FROM PARK TO DRIVE, RESULTED IN EXTREME HIGH SPEED ACCELERATION AND NO CONTROL OF VEHICLE. THIS RESULTED IN A HIGH IMPACT CRASH INTO GARAGE SIDE WALL. ALSO AIR BAG DID NOT DEPLOY. ASSUME THROTTLE WIDE OPEN CAUSING SUDDEN ACCELERATION. INSURANCE REPORT , AND POLICE REPORT PENDING

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/1/2016 - WEST BLOOMFIELD, MI
SUDDEN UNINTENDED ACCELERATION WHEN VEHICLE SHIFTED FROM PARK TO DRIVE, RESULTED IN EXTREME HIGH SPEED ACCELERATION AND NO CONTROL OF VEHICLE. THIS RESULTED IN A HIGH IMPACT CRASH INTO GARAGE SIDE WALL. ALSO AIR BAG DID NOT DEPLOY. ASSUME THROTTLE WIDE OPEN CAUSING SUDDEN ACCELERATION. INSURANCE REPORT , AND POLICE REPORT PENDING

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/1/2016 - WEST BLOOMFIELD, MI
SUDDEN UNINTENDED ACCELERATION WHEN VEHICLE SHIFTED FROM PARK TO DRIVE, RESULTED IN EXTREME HIGH SPEED ACCELERATION AND NO CONTROL OF VEHICLE. THIS RESULTED IN A HIGH IMPACT CRASH INTO GARAGE SIDE WALL. ALSO AIR BAG DID NOT DEPLOY. ASSUME THROTTLE WIDE OPEN CAUSING SUDDEN ACCELERATION. INSURANCE REPORT , AND POLICE REPORT PENDING

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/19/2016 - BEEBE, AR
AT LOW IDLE OR WHEN BACKING UP AND ACCELERATING VEHICLE THE ENGINE STALLS. THIS TYPICALLY OCCURS AFTER DRIVING CAR FOR 10-15 MINUTES. ENGINE LIGHT APPEARS. IT WILL CONTINUE TO STALL UNLESS HOLDING DOWN BRAKE & ACCELERATOR AT SAME TIME. STOPS STALLING WHEN SPEED INCREASES, BUT STALLS ON LOW SPEEDS & BACKING UP CONTINUALLY. CODE INDICATES CAMSHAFT ADJUSTER SENSOR. FIRST SENSOR REPLACED. PROBLEM OCCURRED AGAIN IMMEDIATELY AFTER LEAVING GARAGE. SECOND SENSOR REPLACED. PROBLEM OCCURRED ONCE AGAIN! MECHANIC THINKS IT COULD BE GROUND WIRING ISSUE IS BURNING UP THE CAMSHAFT SENSORS. THE CAR IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE.

View Details

ENGINE

4/19/2016 - BEEBE, AR
AT LOW IDLE OR WHEN BACKING UP AND ACCELERATING VEHICLE THE ENGINE STALLS. THIS TYPICALLY OCCURS AFTER DRIVING CAR FOR 10-15 MINUTES. ENGINE LIGHT APPEARS. IT WILL CONTINUE TO STALL UNLESS HOLDING DOWN BRAKE & ACCELERATOR AT SAME TIME. STOPS STALLING WHEN SPEED INCREASES, BUT STALLS ON LOW SPEEDS & BACKING UP CONTINUALLY. CODE INDICATES CAMSHAFT ADJUSTER SENSOR. FIRST SENSOR REPLACED. PROBLEM OCCURRED AGAIN IMMEDIATELY AFTER LEAVING GARAGE. SECOND SENSOR REPLACED. PROBLEM OCCURRED ONCE AGAIN! MECHANIC THINKS IT COULD BE GROUND WIRING ISSUE IS BURNING UP THE CAMSHAFT SENSORS. THE CAR IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/8/2016 - COSTA MESA, CA
SUMMARY: I HAD TO DECIDE TO BRAKE OR SHOOT THROUGH A YELLOW LIGHT, GOING ABOUT 35 MPH, I BRAKED! ALL OF A SUDDEN I HEARD A CLUNK AND THEN ALARM DING FROM THE DASH AS WELL AS MESSAGE "SERVICE STABILTRAK" THEN "REDUCED ENGINE POWER". I WAS UNABLE TO GO ANY FASTER THAN 25MPH. I DROVE IN THIS MODE FOR ABOUT 2 MILES TAKING THE BACK STREETS TO MY DESTINATION. AT DESTINATION SHUT VEHICLE OFF TO SEE IF THIS WOULD RESET SOMETHING, IT DID! IT WAS SUPER SCARY. SO NOW TERRIFIED TO BRAKE HARD.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

3/8/2016 - COSTA MESA, CA
SUMMARY: I HAD TO DECIDE TO BRAKE OR SHOOT THROUGH A YELLOW LIGHT, GOING ABOUT 35 MPH, I BRAKED! ALL OF A SUDDEN I HEARD A CLUNK AND THEN ALARM DING FROM THE DASH AS WELL AS MESSAGE "SERVICE STABILTRAK" THEN "REDUCED ENGINE POWER". I WAS UNABLE TO GO ANY FASTER THAN 25MPH. I DROVE IN THIS MODE FOR ABOUT 2 MILES TAKING THE BACK STREETS TO MY DESTINATION. AT DESTINATION SHUT VEHICLE OFF TO SEE IF THIS WOULD RESET SOMETHING, IT DID! IT WAS SUPER SCARY. SO NOW TERRIFIED TO BRAKE HARD.

View Details

ENGINE

3/8/2016 - WARRENVILLE, IL
I WAS TRAVELING ON THE TOLL WAY AND WENT TO PASS A VEHICLE GOING BELOW THE SPEED LIMIT. UPON ACCELERATION (APPROX 53 MPH), I HEARD A MUFFLED POP IN THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT AND WHITE SMOKE TRAILED THE VEHICLE. NO WARNING LIGHTS WENT OFF PRIOR AND I DO NOT RECALL SEEING ANY AFTER THE "POP". I STOPPED THE VEHICLE AND TURNED OFF THE ENGINE, OPENED THE HOOD TO FIND FLAMES UNDER THE ENGINE IN VICINITY OF THE OIL PAN. I WAS UNABLE TO PUT OUT THE FLAMES AND THE FIRE CONSUMED THE VEHICLE. I VEHICLE WAS WELL MAINTAINED AND HAVE NO IDEA WHAT THE ORIGIN OF THE FIRE WAS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds