Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC TERRAIN - 2012 GMC TERRAIN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 102 complaints filed for the 2012 GMC TERRAIN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 GMC TERRAIN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 GMC TERRAIN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (13) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (1) Suspension (2) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Service Brakes (2) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (22)
Engine (30) Power Train (8) Steering (3) Unknown Or Other (6) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

10/5/2017 - CORDOVA, TN
"FUEL SENSOR" ISSUE. I TOOK MY CAR TO GMC DEALERSHIP TO GET THE BATTERY REPLACED AFTER ONLY 4 YEARS AND WHILE THEY HAD IT THE FUEL SENSOR WENT OUT AND I COULD NOT TELL HOW MUCH GAS I HAD IN THE CAR. THEY WOULD NOT REPAIR IT BECAUSE THEY CLAIMED IT WENT OUT ON ITS ON.

View Details

ENGINE

10/4/2017 - CHICAGO, IL
TAKATA RECALL, I THOUGHT THAT I HAD EXCESSIVE OIL LEAKAGE BECAUSE THERE WAS NO OIL, WHEN I JUST HAD A OIL CHANGE THE DAY BEFORE, BUT IT HAD TO BE A EXCESSIVE ENGINE OIL CONSUMPTION, ON MY WAY FROM WORK I HEARD A VERY LOUD NOISE FROM MY ENGINE, AND AND A POP, ON MY DASHBOARD WAS SIGNALING OIL PRESSURE IS LOW - STOP ENGINE, THROUGHOUT THE HOLD ORDEAL THERE WAS SMOKE COMING INTO THE CAR, WHEN I WAS ABLE TO GET TO CAR DEALER SHIP, I WAS CHARGED $3400.00 TO HAVE THE CAR FIX. THEN I RECEIVE A LETTER FROM GMC STATING THAT THEY WERE DOING A RECALL ON 2012 TERRAIN RELATING TO THE SAME ISSUE THAT WAS LISTED IN THE LETTER THAT WAS SENT TO ME. THEY REJECT MY REIMBURSEMENT DUE TO THE FACT THAT THEY SAYING THE OIL HAD TO BURNING ON THE ENGINE, AND NOT EXCESSIVE OIL LEAKAGE, WHEN IN FACT THERE WAS BURNING OIL ON MY ENGINE, WHICH I FEEL CAUSE THE SMOKE WITHIN MY VEHICLE, ALSO THE MANAGER AT MIKE ANDERSON ALSO SAID GMC REJECTED MY CLAIM DUE TO THE PART NUMBERS THEN MATCH UP TO PART NUMBERS THEY HAVE LISTED ON THE RECALL, WHEN I VIEW THE LIST, IT DID LIST DIFFERENT NUMBER BUT THE PARTS WAS THE SAME, THE CAR WAS IN MOTION I WAS ON THE HIGHWAY 294 GOING EAST TO MERRILLVILLE INDIANA, WHICH ALMOST CAUSED ME TO HAVE A ACCIDENT IN WHICH I HAPPEN TO AVOID.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

9/21/2017 - KILLEN, AL
WINDSHIELD WIPERS FAILED DURING A HEAVY DOWNPOUR WHILE TRAVELING 60MPH ON THE HIGHWAY. WITHOUT WARNING WIPERS STOPPED IN THE MIDDLE OF MY WINDSHIELD I WAS COMPLETELY BLINDED AND HAD TO ABRUPTLY PULL ONTO THE SHOULDER AND WAIT FOR THE RAIN TO STOP BEFORE I COULD DRIVE AGAIN. THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY HAZARD AND CLEARLY A COMMON PROBLEM FOR GMC SINCE THEY RECALLED WIPERS ON THE 2013 TERRAIN. THEY SHOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE 2012 MODELS AS WELL. IT'S ONLY A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE THIS PROBLEM KILLS SOMEONE IF IT HASN'T ALREADY.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

9/11/2017 - LAPORTE, IN
MY WINDSHIELD WIPERS STOPPED FUNCTIONING WHILE DRIVING IN A RAIN STORM. I HAD TO PULL OVER UNTIL THE RAIN SUBSIDED ENOUGH FOR ME TO HAVE PARTIAL BUT IMPAIRED VISIBILITY. I HAD THE GARAGE WHERE I GET MY OIL CHANGED LOOK AND IT AND THEY SAID A BUSHING WAS WORN AND I NEED A NEW WIPER ASSEMBLY. THERE IS A RECALL #25302 WITH SAME COMPLAINT FOR 2013 GMC TERRAINS. I CALLED GMC AND WAS TOLD THIS REPAIR WOULD BE MY RESPONSIBILITY.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

9/8/2017 - EAST LIVERPOOL, OH
WHILE TRAVELING UNDER SEVERE RAIN FRONT WIPERS STOPPED WORKING

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/22/2017 - PASADENA, TX
WHILE DRIVING DURING HEAVY RAIN AT 50 MPH MY WINDSHIELD WIPERS STALLED RIGHT IN FRONT OF MY VIEW. THE MOTOR WAS OBVIOUSLY STILL FUNCTIONING BECAUSE I COULD HEAR IT BUT WIPERS WERE NOT MOVING. HAD TO PULL OVER TO KEEP FROM BEING INVOLVED IN ACCIDENT DUE TO OBSTRUCTED VIEW AND RAIN ON WINDSHIELD...THIS NEEDS TO RECALLED!! SAFETY ISSUE AND A HAZARD TO BOTH DRIVER AND OTHER VEHICLES ON ROAD. CALLED BOTH DEALERSHIP AND GMC DIRECTLY WHICK BOTH STATED DUE TO NO SET RECALL IT WOULD HAVE TO BE ON ME TO REPLACE AND PAY OUT OF POCKET FOR DIAGNOSIS OF VEHICLE AND THEN REACEMENT IF NEEDED! THIS 2012 TERRAIN ONLY HAS 65,900 MILES. THEY NEED TO GET IT TOGETHER BEFORE THEY END UP SUED FOR CAUSING ACCIDENTS OR DEATHS!

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/14/2017 - WOODBRIDGE, VA
WHEN TRYING TO OPEN THE REAR LIFTGATE THE DOOR WILL OPEN COMPLETELY THEN QUICKLY CLOSE HALFWAY, OPEN COMPLETELY AGAIN, THEN QUICKLY CLOSE SHUT MAKING IT IMPOSSIBLE TO SAFELY PUT ANYTHING INTO OR REMOVE FROM THE TRUNK OF THE CAR. THERE IS A RECALL FOR THIS ISSUE ON THE ACADIA'S ALREADY.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

8/10/2017 - YOUNGSVILLE, NC
WINDSHIELD WIPERS STOPPED WORKING WHILE DRIVING (ON HIGHWAY) IN THE RAIN RESULTING IN COMPROMISED VISIBILITY. I TRIED TURNING THE WIPERS OFF WHILE DRIVING AND EVENTUALLY RESTARTED THE CAR TO SEE IF THAT WOULD HELP. THE WIPERS REMAINED STUCK IN A VERTICAL POSITION DESPITE THESE EFFORTS. EVENTUALLY, I MANUALLY SLID THE WIPERS INTO THE DOWN POSITION.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/2/2017 - NAUGATUCK, CT
MY 2012 TERRAIN IS GETTING WATER IN THE REAR LEFT TAIL LIGHT. I WAS TOLD THAT IT WAS A VENTED TAIL LIGHT AND THE VENT WAS BLOCKED BY DIRT AND DEBRIS AND THEY WOULD HAVE TO REPLACE THE TAILLIGHT AND REPLACE BOTH SEALS. WHEN I LIFT THE HATCHBACK UP WATER DRAINS OUT FROM THE INTERIOR SIDE OF THE HATCH BACK INTO THE VEHICLE. GMC OF WATERTOWN CONNECTICUT SAYS THAT THIS IS NOT COVERED UNDER MY EXTENDED WARRANTY. I CALLED GMC CORPORATION AND THEY SAID THAT THIS WAS A DEFECT BUT IS NORMAL WITH THESE VEHICLES. GMC CASE NUMBER 8+3054294483. I HAVE THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU AUTO LINE INVESTIGATING THE PROBLEM AND THAT CASE NUMBER IS PGM1719802. GMC TOLD ME THE WATER IN THE TAIL LIGHT CAN SHORT OUT MY ELECTRICAL SYSTEMS AND THIS DEFECT HAS BEEN BY KNOWN GMC FROM 2011. SINCE I PURCHASED THIS CAR NEW IN 2013 I HAVE HAD MULTIPLE PROBLEMS SUCH AS HAVING THE BACK CAMERA REPLACED TWICE, FRONT NAVIGATION SCREEN GOING BLACK, STABILIZER MALFUNCTION WHICH WAS ALSO A PROBLEM WITH THIS VEHICLE WHEN IT CAME OFF THE ASSEMBLY LINE, HAVING THE COMPUTER UPDATED EVERY YEAR BECAUSE THEY SAY OF ALL THE COMPUTER CHIP MODULES THAT ARE INSTALLED IN THIS VEHICLE, JUST TO NAME A FEW WHICH ARE ALL DOCUMENTED WITH GMC. I AM SUBMITTING THIS TO MAKE THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT AWARE THAT THIS DEFECT IS POTENTIALLY A HAZARD TO THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM AND HAS BEEN KNOWN TO GMC FOR A LONG TIME AND THEY HAVE NOT CORRECTED THE SITUATION. THEIR SOLUTION IS REPLACING THE TAIL LIGHT AT A COST OF $254 WITHOUT TAX. I BELIEVE THIS IS A SERIOUS DEFECT AND IF YOU REQUIRE MORE INFORMATION I WILL COMPLY TO ANY REQUESTS THAT YOU HAVE. ALSO ALL CONVERSATIONS WITH GMC CORPORATION AND BBB AUTO LINE WERE RECORDED IF NEEDED. THANK YOU FOR YOUR TIME.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

6/26/2017 - CORTLAND, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 GMC TERRIAN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT DURING INCLEMENT WEATHER, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS FAILED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO SUN AUTO DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE WIPER MOTOR HAD MALFUNCTIONED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 63,578.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds