Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC TERRAIN - 2012 GMC TERRAIN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 30 complaints filed for the 2012 GMC TERRAIN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 GMC TERRAIN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 GMC TERRAIN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (2) Visibility (1)
Electrical System (3) Exterior Lighting (1) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (2) Wheels (1)
Engine (3) Power Train (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  ... 4
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

5/28/2015 - RICHTON PARK, IL
CAR CRASH AT 45 MPH. FRONT IN DAMAGE AND AIR BAG DID NOT DEPLOY. SEATBELTS DID NOT LOCK UP.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/28/2015 - RICHTON PARK, IL
CAR CRASH AT 45 MPH. FRONT IN DAMAGE AND AIR BAG DID NOT DEPLOY. SEATBELTS DID NOT LOCK UP.

View Details

ENGINE

5/18/2015 - SARGENT, TX
CAR STARTED MAKING RATTLING NOISE ON STARTUP. GOT WORSE. TOOK TO A FEW CAR PLACES AND THOUGHT IT WAS THE OIL. BUT THE OIL WAS FINE. THEN THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND A SECOND LATER THE CAR SHUT OFF WHILE I WAS DIVING DOWN THE ROAD WITH MY TWO BABIES!! VERY DANGEROUS! RAN INTO A FRIEND WHO HAS THE SAME MAKE AND MODEL CAR AS MINE AND SAID SHE HAD THE EXACT SAME PROBLEMS. HAS 80K MILES AND HAS ALREADY CHANGED THE TIMING BELT FIVE TIMES. CAR JUST SHUTS OFF. EXTREMELY DANGEROUS! I WILL REPORT THIS TO EVERYONE I KNOW AND WARN THEM.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

5/5/2015 - BEAVER FALLS, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 GMC TERRAIN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS SEVERE CORROSION ON THE REAR DRIVER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THE DOOR WAS INCORRECTLY SEALED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. NO REPAIRS WERE MADE TO THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/6/2015 - FORT WAYNE, IN
GMC REFUSES TO HELP. I AM CONTACTING BECASUE I OWN A 2012 GMC TERRIAN AND WE JUST STARTED HAVING ISSUES WITH OUT RADIO WHERE IT WILL TURN ON EVEN WITH THE CAR OFF. OUR GMC DEALER SAID THAT THEY HAVE SEEN THIS ISSUE ALOT AND SINCE MY VEHICLE JUST CAME OUT OF WARRENTY IN FEB. IT WILL COST US $150. WHAT CAN WE DO SINCE THIS IS A FAULT IN THE RADIO FLASHING NOT SOMETHING WE HAVE DONE. IF THE RADIO TURNS ON WHILE THE CAR IS OFF WHAT ELSE WILL START DOING THAT.

View Details

WHEELS

3/7/2015 - JOHNSTOWN, PA
I WAS DRIVING UP A SLUSHY HILL AND HAD TO STOP MIDWAY UP THE HILL. ONCE I PROCEEDED UP THE HILL MY CAR JUST SPUN TIRE,SO I PUT THE CAR IN REVERSE AND BACKED BACK DOWN THE HILL. I THEN DROVE TO WORK AND PARKED MY CAR. WHEN I STARTED MY CAR TO LEAVE WORK THE SERVICE AWD ALERT CAME ON. THIS IS THE SECOND TIME SINCE DEC. 2013 THAT THE AWD HAS GONE OUT IN MY VEHICLE. I LIVE IN AN AREA WHERE SNOW IS PREVALENT AND PURPOSELY BOUGHT AN AWD VEHICLE FOR PEACE OF MIND AND NOW FOR THE SECOND TIME IT IS OUT!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: IGNITION: SWITCH

1/23/2015 - RICHMOND, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 GMC TERRAIN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER INSERTING THE KEY INTO THE IGNITION SWITCH, THE SWITCH WOULD NOT TURN AND THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START. ALSO, THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT THE KEY BECAME STUCK IN THE IGNITION SWITCH. AFTER REMOVING THE KEY FROM THE IGNITION SWITCH THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN REPLACED THE IGNITION KEY BUT WITHIN DAYS OF RETRIEVING THE VEHICLE THE FAILURE HAD RECURRED. NO FURTHER INFORMATION WAS AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 41,000.

View Details

STEERING

12/10/2014 - OWENSVILLE , IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 GMC TERRAIN. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT EXCESSIVE FORCE WAS REQUIRED TO CONTROL THE STEERING WHEEL. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO LOCATE A FAILURE CODE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 1,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/2/2014 - PLEASANTON, CA
WE HAD BEGUN TO CROSS AN INTERSECTION AND, WHILE OUR SPEED WAS FROM A DEAD STOP, THE OTHER DRIVER BLEW THROUGH A RED LIGHT AND HIT US AT WHAT WAS PROBABLY THE SPEED LIMIT OF 40MPH. HER CAR STRUCK US IN THE RIGHT FRONT PASSENGER SIDE AND AGAIN ON THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE. WE, MYSELF WHO WAS DRIVING, AND MY WIFE, WHO WAS THE PASSENGER ON THE SIDE HIT, WERE BOTH THROWN HARD TO THE RIGHT AT IMPACT, CAUSING INJURIES TO US BOTH, MOST NOTABLY, MY WIFE. SHE HIT HER HEAD VERY HARD ON EITHER THE PASSENGER DOOR FRAME OR THE PASSENGER WINDOW. NO AIRBAGS DEPLOYED. NO SIDE AIRBAGS, NO FRONT AIRBAGS. NO AIR BAGS DEPLOYED!

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/2/2014 - PLEASANTON, CA
WE HAD BEGUN TO CROSS AN INTERSECTION AND, WHILE OUR SPEED WAS FROM A DEAD STOP, THE OTHER DRIVER BLEW THROUGH A RED LIGHT AND HIT US AT WHAT WAS PROBABLY THE SPEED LIMIT OF 40MPH. HER CAR STRUCK US IN THE RIGHT FRONT PASSENGER SIDE AND AGAIN ON THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE. WE, MYSELF WHO WAS DRIVING, AND MY WIFE, WHO WAS THE PASSENGER ON THE SIDE HIT, WERE BOTH THROWN HARD TO THE RIGHT AT IMPACT, CAUSING INJURIES TO US BOTH, MOST NOTABLY, MY WIFE. SHE HIT HER HEAD VERY HARD ON EITHER THE PASSENGER DOOR FRAME OR THE PASSENGER WINDOW. NO AIRBAGS DEPLOYED. NO SIDE AIRBAGS, NO FRONT AIRBAGS. NO AIR BAGS DEPLOYED!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  ... 4
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds