Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC TERRAIN - 2012 GMC TERRAIN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 107 complaints filed for the 2012 GMC TERRAIN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 GMC TERRAIN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 GMC TERRAIN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (16) Exterior Lighting (3) Seats (1) Suspension (2) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Service Brakes (2) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (23)
Engine (32) Power Train (8) Steering (3) Unknown Or Other (7) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

12/4/2017 - HAMDEN, CT
I RECEIVED A RECALL LETTER FROM GMC ABOUT A KNOCKING IN THE ENGINE WHICH JUST STARTED HAPPENING IN MY VEHICLE. THE RECALL DOES NOT SHOW UP WHEN THE DEALER CHECKED THE VIN NUMBER IN THE COMPUTER. BUT BEFORE I COULD TAKE MY CAR IN TO BE CHECKED MY ENGINE DIED WHEN I ARRIVE AT WORK WHICH IS 25 MILES FROM MY HOME. I HAD IT TOWED TO A GMC DEARLERSHIP AND WAS INFORMED THAT MY TIMING CHAIN JUMPED AND THREW VALVE TIMING OFF CAUSING INTERNAL ENGINE FAILURE.. I THEN HAD TO REPLACE THE ENGINE IN A 5 YEAR OLD VEHICLE, MY WARRANTY EXPIRED 3/2017 SO THIS WAS NOT COVERED. WHEN I CALLED GMC I WAS TOLD THEY MAY BE ABLE TO COVER SOME OF THE COST BUT SINCE I DID NOT REPLACE THE ENGINE WITH ANOTHER GMC ENGINE WHICH WOULD HAVE COST MORE I HAD TO PAY OUT OF MY POCKETS FOR THIS.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

11/22/2017 - LOWELL, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 GMC TERRAIN. WHETHER STATIONARY OR DRIVING THE VEHICLE VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE WINDSHIELD DEVELOPED A BLACK FILM THAT REFLECTED A GLARE INTO THE CONTACT'S EYES. THE ISSUE OBSTRUCTED THE CONTACT'S VIEW OF THE ROAD. GREATER LOWELL GMC IN LOWELL, MASSACHUSETTS WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND INITIALLY STATED THAT IT WAS THE TINT OF THE VEHICLE THAT CAUSED THE GLARE AND THAT IT WAS NORMAL. UPON FURTHER INSPECTION, THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DETERMINED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 20,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/6/2017 - ROCK, WV
THE LOW BEAM H11 BULB IS CAUSING THE (MALE/FEMALE PLUG IN) FOR THIS COMPONENT TO OVERHEAT CAUSING THE PLASTIC TO BECOME CHARRED, PARTIALLY MELTED AND BRITTLE IN WHICH THE LOW BEAM LIGHT STOPS WORKING DUE TO THIS PROBLEM. THE WIRING IS BECOMING SOFT AT THE PLUG IN CONNECTION FROM THIS HEAT AND ALLOWING THE PROTECTIVE WIRE INSULATION TO BE MELTED PERMITTING THE BARE WIRE TO BE VISIBLE WHICH COULD PRODUCE A FIRE HAZARD AT THIS LOCATION. THIS HAS OCCURRED ON THE RIGHT SIDE TWICE AND ON THE LEFT SIDE ONCE. IN ALL THREE CASES, THE BULBS WITH THE FEMALE PLUG IN AND THE MALE ELECTRICAL CONNECTION HAS BEEN REPLACE. THIS VEHICLE HAS ONLY 28755 MILES ON IT. JUST NOTICED THE LOW BEAM LIGHT ON RIGHT SIDE NOT WORKING AGAIN TODAY. REPLACED THIS SIDE WITHIN THE LAST 9 MONTHS.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/6/2017 - ROCK, WV
THE LOW BEAM H11 BULB IS CAUSING THE (MALE/FEMALE PLUG IN) FOR THIS COMPONENT TO OVERHEAT CAUSING THE PLASTIC TO BECOME CHARRED, PARTIALLY MELTED AND BRITTLE IN WHICH THE LOW BEAM LIGHT STOPS WORKING DUE TO THIS PROBLEM. THE WIRING IS BECOMING SOFT AT THE PLUG IN CONNECTION FROM THIS HEAT AND ALLOWING THE PROTECTIVE WIRE INSULATION TO BE MELTED PERMITTING THE BARE WIRE TO BE VISIBLE WHICH COULD PRODUCE A FIRE HAZARD AT THIS LOCATION. THIS HAS OCCURRED ON THE RIGHT SIDE TWICE AND ON THE LEFT SIDE ONCE. IN ALL THREE CASES, THE BULBS WITH THE FEMALE PLUG IN AND THE MALE ELECTRICAL CONNECTION HAS BEEN REPLACE. THIS VEHICLE HAS ONLY 28755 MILES ON IT. JUST NOTICED THE LOW BEAM LIGHT ON RIGHT SIDE NOT WORKING AGAIN TODAY. REPLACED THIS SIDE WITHIN THE LAST 9 MONTHS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/5/2017 - CHARLOTTE, NC
VEHICLE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AT 50,000 MILES, WOULD NOT PASS INSPECTION. COMPUTER DID NOT SHOW WHAT PROBLEM WAS. CAR WOULD CUT OFF IN DRIVE IN IDLE. CAR WOULD SHAKE. MECHANICS PUT IN NEW PARTS AND BATTERY FOR MORE THAN $1200. STILL WAS NOT FIXED. MECHANIC WENT TO A DEALERSHIP TO INQUIRE IF THEY HAD SEEN THIS PROBLEM. AT THE DEALERSHIP IT WAS DISCOVERED THAT MANY OF THE PARTS THAT WOULD CAUSE THE PROBLEM WERE ON RECALL. GM HAD NOT POSTED THESE RECALLS OR NOTIFIED ME, THE OWNER. AFTER INSPECTING THE CAR THEY SAID THERE WAS TOO MUCH WRONG TO REPAIR AND THE ENTIRE ENGINE WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THEY SAID I WOULD NEED TO DRIVE 2000 MILES TO CHECK OIL CONSUMPTION. THEY NEVER MADE US AWARE THERE MAY BE PROBLEM WITH THE OIL CONSUMPTION. I AM 68 YRS OLD AND WALK WITH A WALKER. I AM IN THE HOSPITAL OFTEN. THE MECHANICS SAID THEY WOULD DRIVE THE CAR AS MUCH AS THEY THOUGHT NECESSARY TO DETERMINE OIL CONSUMPTION. WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE IN CHARLOTTE NC THE CAR STARTED SMOKING AND CAUGHT FIRE. THE DRIVER FORCED HIS WAY OUT BUT HAD THAT BEEN ME, I PROBABLY WOULD HAVE DIED DUE TO MY HANDICAP. I HAVE NOW BEEN WITHOUT A VEHICLE FOR OVER A MONTH. I HAVE CONTACTED GM BUT THEY ARE SLOW FOR ANY RESOLUTION. I ASKED FOR A LOANER VEHICLE BUT WAS TOLD THEY COULDN'T DO THAT NOW.

View Details

ENGINE

11/5/2017 - CHARLOTTE, NC
VEHICLE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AT 50,000 MILES, WOULD NOT PASS INSPECTION. COMPUTER DID NOT SHOW WHAT PROBLEM WAS. CAR WOULD CUT OFF IN DRIVE IN IDLE. CAR WOULD SHAKE. MECHANICS PUT IN NEW PARTS AND BATTERY FOR MORE THAN $1200. STILL WAS NOT FIXED. MECHANIC WENT TO A DEALERSHIP TO INQUIRE IF THEY HAD SEEN THIS PROBLEM. AT THE DEALERSHIP IT WAS DISCOVERED THAT MANY OF THE PARTS THAT WOULD CAUSE THE PROBLEM WERE ON RECALL. GM HAD NOT POSTED THESE RECALLS OR NOTIFIED ME, THE OWNER. AFTER INSPECTING THE CAR THEY SAID THERE WAS TOO MUCH WRONG TO REPAIR AND THE ENTIRE ENGINE WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THEY SAID I WOULD NEED TO DRIVE 2000 MILES TO CHECK OIL CONSUMPTION. THEY NEVER MADE US AWARE THERE MAY BE PROBLEM WITH THE OIL CONSUMPTION. I AM 68 YRS OLD AND WALK WITH A WALKER. I AM IN THE HOSPITAL OFTEN. THE MECHANICS SAID THEY WOULD DRIVE THE CAR AS MUCH AS THEY THOUGHT NECESSARY TO DETERMINE OIL CONSUMPTION. WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE IN CHARLOTTE NC THE CAR STARTED SMOKING AND CAUGHT FIRE. THE DRIVER FORCED HIS WAY OUT BUT HAD THAT BEEN ME, I PROBABLY WOULD HAVE DIED DUE TO MY HANDICAP. I HAVE NOW BEEN WITHOUT A VEHICLE FOR OVER A MONTH. I HAVE CONTACTED GM BUT THEY ARE SLOW FOR ANY RESOLUTION. I ASKED FOR A LOANER VEHICLE BUT WAS TOLD THEY COULDN'T DO THAT NOW.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/5/2017 - CHARLOTTE, NC
VEHICLE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AT 50,000 MILES, WOULD NOT PASS INSPECTION. COMPUTER DID NOT SHOW WHAT PROBLEM WAS. CAR WOULD CUT OFF IN DRIVE IN IDLE. CAR WOULD SHAKE. MECHANICS PUT IN NEW PARTS AND BATTERY FOR MORE THAN $1200. STILL WAS NOT FIXED. MECHANIC WENT TO A DEALERSHIP TO INQUIRE IF THEY HAD SEEN THIS PROBLEM. AT THE DEALERSHIP IT WAS DISCOVERED THAT MANY OF THE PARTS THAT WOULD CAUSE THE PROBLEM WERE ON RECALL. GM HAD NOT POSTED THESE RECALLS OR NOTIFIED ME, THE OWNER. AFTER INSPECTING THE CAR THEY SAID THERE WAS TOO MUCH WRONG TO REPAIR AND THE ENTIRE ENGINE WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. THEY SAID I WOULD NEED TO DRIVE 2000 MILES TO CHECK OIL CONSUMPTION. THEY NEVER MADE US AWARE THERE MAY BE PROBLEM WITH THE OIL CONSUMPTION. I AM 68 YRS OLD AND WALK WITH A WALKER. I AM IN THE HOSPITAL OFTEN. THE MECHANICS SAID THEY WOULD DRIVE THE CAR AS MUCH AS THEY THOUGHT NECESSARY TO DETERMINE OIL CONSUMPTION. WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE IN CHARLOTTE NC THE CAR STARTED SMOKING AND CAUGHT FIRE. THE DRIVER FORCED HIS WAY OUT BUT HAD THAT BEEN ME, I PROBABLY WOULD HAVE DIED DUE TO MY HANDICAP. I HAVE NOW BEEN WITHOUT A VEHICLE FOR OVER A MONTH. I HAVE CONTACTED GM BUT THEY ARE SLOW FOR ANY RESOLUTION. I ASKED FOR A LOANER VEHICLE BUT WAS TOLD THEY COULDN'T DO THAT NOW.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/16/2017 - ROMEO, MI
TOOK MY 2012 TERRAIN IN FOR THE EXCESSIVE OIL BURN IN MAY 2017. SEVERAL TIMES BEFORE THE CAR WOULD NOT START. I WAS TOLD BY DEALER IT WAS DUE TO THE OIL BEING LOW DUE TO BURN WITHIN 1000 MILES OF CHANGE. ABOUT A MONTH AFTER GETTING IT BACK IT STARTED RANDOMLY NOT STARTING. I FIRST THOUGHT IT WAS THAT I LEFT THE DOME LIGHTS ON. THEN IT WOULD HAPPEN WHEN I USED MY BACK GATE, THEN RANDOMLY AFTER OPENING ANY DOOR BUT THE DRIVERS WHEN THE CAR WAS NOT ON. EVERYTHING WAS WORKING BUT THE CAR WOULDN'T START. IT WAS ALL RANDOM. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND IT READ GAS CAP, SO I CHANGED THAT AS I WAS TOLD THAT COULD CAUSE THE CAR NOT TO START. IT DIDN'T HELP AND IT RESUMED NOT STARTING WITHIN DAYS. SO I HAVE BEEN STARTING CAR TO OPEN ANY OTHER DOORS AND REDUCED TO NO DOME LIGHTS AT NIGHT. LAST NIGHT, IT WOULDN'T' START AFTER SIMPLY BACKING MY CAR INTO A DIFFERENT SPOT IN MY DRIVEWAY. I HAD IT JUMPED AND THEN THE CENT CONSOLE WAS COMPLETELY BLACKED OUT. I COULD CHANGE THE STATIONS AND CHANGE THE HEAT BUT NO LIGHTS. GOT BACK HOME AFTER DRIVING IT TO CHARGE BATTERY AND THE RADIO WOULDN'T SHUT OFF EVEN AFTER REMOVING KEY AND LOCKING. I TRIED BOTH FOBS, AND IT WOULDN'T SHUT DOWN. I SHUT THE RADIO OFF, AND THEN IT SEEMED TO HAVE WORKED BECAUSE THE SECURITY LIGHT CAME ON AND I DIDN'T SEE ANY LIGHTS INSIDE. THIS MORNING THE CAR WAS DEAD. MORE THAN USUAL, I COULDN'T EVEN UNLOCK IT EXCEPT WITH KEY. I TRIED TO START, NO CLICK AND THEN IT LOCKED MY KEYS INTO THE IGNITION. WE JUMPED IT AND I DROVE IT STRAIGHT TO THE DEALER. I HAVE TO DRIVE FOR MY JOB AND RIGHT NOW I AM SCARED SOMETHING IT GOING TO STOP WORKING LIKE THE LIGHTS OR ENGINE AND I WILL BE HURT OR KILLED OR HURT SOMEONE ELSE. VERY SCARY.

View Details

ENGINE

10/5/2017 - CORDOVA, TN
"FUEL SENSOR" ISSUE. I TOOK MY CAR TO GMC DEALERSHIP TO GET THE BATTERY REPLACED AFTER ONLY 4 YEARS AND WHILE THEY HAD IT THE FUEL SENSOR WENT OUT AND I COULD NOT TELL HOW MUCH GAS I HAD IN THE CAR. THEY WOULD NOT REPAIR IT BECAUSE THEY CLAIMED IT WENT OUT ON ITS ON.

View Details

ENGINE

10/4/2017 - CHICAGO, IL
TAKATA RECALL, I THOUGHT THAT I HAD EXCESSIVE OIL LEAKAGE BECAUSE THERE WAS NO OIL, WHEN I JUST HAD A OIL CHANGE THE DAY BEFORE, BUT IT HAD TO BE A EXCESSIVE ENGINE OIL CONSUMPTION, ON MY WAY FROM WORK I HEARD A VERY LOUD NOISE FROM MY ENGINE, AND AND A POP, ON MY DASHBOARD WAS SIGNALING OIL PRESSURE IS LOW - STOP ENGINE, THROUGHOUT THE HOLD ORDEAL THERE WAS SMOKE COMING INTO THE CAR, WHEN I WAS ABLE TO GET TO CAR DEALER SHIP, I WAS CHARGED $3400.00 TO HAVE THE CAR FIX. THEN I RECEIVE A LETTER FROM GMC STATING THAT THEY WERE DOING A RECALL ON 2012 TERRAIN RELATING TO THE SAME ISSUE THAT WAS LISTED IN THE LETTER THAT WAS SENT TO ME. THEY REJECT MY REIMBURSEMENT DUE TO THE FACT THAT THEY SAYING THE OIL HAD TO BURNING ON THE ENGINE, AND NOT EXCESSIVE OIL LEAKAGE, WHEN IN FACT THERE WAS BURNING OIL ON MY ENGINE, WHICH I FEEL CAUSE THE SMOKE WITHIN MY VEHICLE, ALSO THE MANAGER AT MIKE ANDERSON ALSO SAID GMC REJECTED MY CLAIM DUE TO THE PART NUMBERS THEN MATCH UP TO PART NUMBERS THEY HAVE LISTED ON THE RECALL, WHEN I VIEW THE LIST, IT DID LIST DIFFERENT NUMBER BUT THE PARTS WAS THE SAME, THE CAR WAS IN MOTION I WAS ON THE HIGHWAY 294 GOING EAST TO MERRILLVILLE INDIANA, WHICH ALMOST CAUSED ME TO HAVE A ACCIDENT IN WHICH I HAPPEN TO AVOID.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds