Auto Recalls for Consumers

GMC TERRAIN - 2012 GMC TERRAIN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 79 complaints filed for the 2012 GMC TERRAIN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 GMC TERRAIN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 GMC TERRAIN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Seat Belts (1) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (11) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (1) Suspension (2) Visibility (3)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Service Brakes (1) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (10)
Engine (26) Power Train (7) Steering (3) Unknown Or Other (5) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

4/12/2017 - NOTTINGHAM, MD
TIMING BELT STRETCHED AND JUMPED. CYLINDER HEAD BROKEN. TIMING BELT JUMPED WHILE DRIVING, BEGAN MAKING A VERY LOUD RATTLING NOISE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/12/2017 - NOTTINGHAM, MD
TIMING BELT STRETCHED AND JUMPED. CYLINDER HEAD BROKEN. TIMING BELT JUMPED WHILE DRIVING, BEGAN MAKING A VERY LOUD RATTLING NOISE.

View Details

ENGINE

4/5/2017 - RICHARDSON, TX
I BOUGHT MY VEHICLE BRAND NEW AND HAVE RECORDS OF EVERY MAINTENANCE DONE IN A TIMELY MANNER. ON 03/31/2017, I DROVE 38 MILES TO A FURNITURE STORE WITH MY 11 MONTH OLD BABY AND WIFE. WHEN I RETURNED TO MY CAR, IT WOULD NOT START. WHEN I TURN THE CAR ON, IT CLICKS BUT NO POWER GOES TO THE ENGINE. THERE WAS NO ENGINE LIGHT ON AND NO INDICATION THAT SOMETHING WAS WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE. I ENDED UP TOWING IT TO A GMC DEALERSHIP. THEY DID INSPECTION AND ADVISED THE TIMING CHAIN BROKE AND HAD A CHAIN EFFECT BRAKING RODS IN THE ENGINE. THEY ALSO MENTIONED SOMETHING ABOUT THE ENGINE OIL BURNING. I WAS ADVISED BY THE GM DEALERS THAT THE WHOLE ENGINE WILL NEED TO BE REPLACED AND ADVISED MY WARRANTY EXPIRED ON 1/14/2017. I CONTACTED GM CUSTOMER SERVICE AND HAVE OPENED A CASE FILE BUT I AM NOT SURE IF THEY WILL DO ANYTHING TO ASSIST ME. I DID SOME RESEARCH ONLINE AND IT APPEARS MULTIPLE CUSTOMERS WHO HAVE OWNED GMC TERRAIN HAVE HAD SIMILAR ISSUES. IF THE TIMING CHAIN BROKE WHILE I WAS DRIVING, IT IS QUITE POSSIBLE THERE MIGHT HAVE BEEN A FATALITY AND I OR MY FAMILY MIGHT NOT BE ALIVE TODAY.

View Details

ENGINE

4/4/2017 - HEBRON, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 GMC TERRAIN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE OPERATED ABNORMALLY. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE MALFUNCTION WAS DUE TO EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 105,649.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/4/2017 - MARLTON, NJ
MY COMPLAINT IS IN REGARDS TO TIRES. SPECIFICALLY MICHELIN LATITUDE TOUR. MY TERRAIN IS 5 YEARS OLD WITH 27K MILES ON IT, NOT EXACTLY A LOT OF USE. HOWEVER I JUST FOUND OUT THAT THE TIRES ON THE VEHICLE, NOT THE ORIGINAL TIRES ARE FALLING APART. THE TREAD IS SEPARATING FROM THE TIRE BODY. AND THE TIRES ARE DRY ROTTED. IF YOU MEASURE THE TREAD DEPTH, THESE ARE ALMOST NEW TIRES. I AM AGHAST THAT AN EXPENSIVE TIRE LIKE THESE SHOULD JUST FALL APART. MICHELIN HAS GIVEN ME A RUN AROUND. THE TIRE TECH AT COSTCO TOLD ME THIS WAS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THIS MODEL TIRE. HOW IN GOOD CONSCIENCE CAN A COMPANY LIKE MICHELIN CONTINUE TO SELL A DEFECTIVE DESIGN? CAN ANYTHING BE DONE TO MAKE THE PUBLIC SAFE?

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/28/2017 - AHOSKIE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 GMC TERRAIN. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE CHECK ENGINE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. ALSO, THE VEHICLE WOULD OCCASIONALLY FAIL TO START WITH THE REMOTE STARTER. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTO PART STORE AND DIFFERENT FAILURE CODES APPEARED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 95,000.

View Details

ENGINE

3/28/2017 - AHOSKIE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 GMC TERRAIN. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE CHECK ENGINE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. ALSO, THE VEHICLE WOULD OCCASIONALLY FAIL TO START WITH THE REMOTE STARTER. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTO PART STORE AND DIFFERENT FAILURE CODES APPEARED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 95,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

3/23/2017 - ELLENWOOD, GA
WIPERS STOPPED WORKING ON ME TWICE AND BOTH TIMES I WAS DRIVING DURING HEAVY RAIN. ALTHOUGH I COULD NOT SEE, LUCKILY I WAS ABLE TO PULL OVER EACH TIMES THE OCCURRENCE HAPPENED. I WAS SO SCARED BECAUSE I WENT FROM VISIBILITY TO NON IN SECONDS AND TO PULL OVER IN AN AREA UNFAMILIAR TO ME THE FIRST TIME. I HAVE BEEN TO HENNESSY GMC SERVICE TWICE, AN ON BOTH OCCASIONS; I WAS TOLD ABOUT RECALL AND THAT PARTS HAS TO COME FROM CANADA SINCE CAR ORIGIN IS FROM CANADA. I ALSO WAS TOLD THE WIPERS ARE TEMPORARILY REPAIRED. NO WIPERS ARE NOT. THE FIRST TIME I DID NOT HAVE TO SIGN PAPERS BUT THE 2ND TIME I DID WHEN I WENT BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP BOTHIN ANGER AND NERVOUSNESS.

View Details

ENGINE

3/6/2017 - CABOT, AR
TIMING CHAIN JUMPING OFF OF SPROCKETS AND EATING AWAY AT THE CHAIN GUIDES AND TENSIONERS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/6/2017 - CABOT, AR
TIMING CHAIN JUMPING OFF OF SPROCKETS AND EATING AWAY AT THE CHAIN GUIDES AND TENSIONERS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds