Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2012 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 194 complaints filed for the 2012 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (48) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (8)
Electrical System (26) Exterior Lighting (7) Power Train (32) Steering (18) Vehicle Speed Control (30)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Fuel Propulsion System (10) Seat Belts (5) Structure (15) Visibility (9)
Engine (19) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Seats (9) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (21) Tires (2) Wheels (4)
Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/2/2016 - GLOUCESTER, VA
CAR RANDOMLY DOES NOT START. IT WILL GO A WEEK OR TWO, THEN WHEN I TRY TO START IT, IT NEEDS TO BE JUMPED. BATTERY AND ALTERNATOR TESTED GOOD. CAR SAT FOR SEVERAL DAYS COVERED IN SNOW AND THEN STARTED WITHOUT HESITATION, BUT ON A 70 DEGREE DAY, I PULL OVER TO GET GAS AND THEN HAVE TO JUMP IT. HAPPENS EVERY WEEK OR TWO. HONDA DID A SOFTWARE UPDATE A FEW MONTHS AGO, AND NOW IT HAPPENS MORE OFTEN.

View Details

STEERING

1/11/2016 - CREVE COEUR, MO
DRIVING ON A SURFACE ROAD AT APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH AND THE POWER STEERING FAILED WITH A POWER STEERING WARNING MESSAGE ON THE DASH DISPLAY. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/30/2015 - HOUSTON, TX
THE BRAKES DRAG EACH TIME THE BRAKES ARE APPLIED, THIS IS A CONSTANT ISSUE. IT HAS BEEN FOR SOMETIME NOW.

View Details

SUSPENSION

12/30/2015 - WOODBRIDGE, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HONDA CIVIC. WHILE DRIVING AT SPEEDS BELOW 40 MPH AND ACCELERATING, THE CONTACT HEARD A GRINDING NOISE COMING FROM THE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE. NO FURTHER INFORMATION WAS AVAILABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO WAS UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 57,000.

View Details

ENGINE

12/25/2015 - HOUSTON, TX
VEHICLE FREQUENTLY STALLS WHEN TURNING LEFT AFTER COMING TO A STOP, VERY DANGEROUS WHEN ONCOMING TRAFFIC, READ NUMEROUS OTHER COMPLAINTS ONLINE, HONDA NEEDS TO FIX THIS PROBLEM BEFORE SOMEONE HURT/KILLED (IF NOT ALREADY, AND HOW WOULD WE KNOW BECAUSE OF THEIR NEGLIGENCE TO FIX THIS PROBLEM DESPITE ALL THE COMPLAINTS?), AND NO IT IS NOT DUE TO "LEFT FOOT BRAKING"

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/18/2015 - ATLANTA, GA
I HAVE PROBLEM WITH MY 2012 CIVIC RPM , ESPECIALLY WHILE CLAMPING HILL, IT WILL SUDDENLY LOSE POWER BEFORE PICKING UP . THE RPM WILL GO UP TO 4000. WHILE GOING DOWN THE HILL IT JUST ACCELERATE EVEN IF I STEP ON BRAKE. WHEN I START THE CAR IN THE MORNING , IT ACCELERATE ITSELF. I CONSIDER THIS MODEL OF HONDA AS DANGEROUS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/4/2015 - SAINT MARYS, GA
THE SENSOR THAT CONTROLS THE SPEED OF THE AIRBAG IN THE PASSENGER SEAT, BASED ON THE PASSENGER WEIGHT, IS MALFUNCTIONING. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER AND WAS TOLD THAT THE DEFECTIVE PART THAT NEEDS REPLACING IS NOT ON ANY RECALL LIST.

View Details

SEATS

11/2/2015 - CUMMING, GA
EXTREMELY UNCOMFORTABLE FRONT SEATS HAVE LED TO BACK, LEG AND NECK PAIN. HONDA NEEDS TO RECALL THESE VEHICLES AND REPLACE THE SEATS FOR EFFECTED CUSTOMERS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/29/2015 - SAINT LOUIS, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HONDA CIVIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED WHEN THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT WAS OCCUPIED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

SEATS

10/16/2015 - BROOKLYN, NY
HEADREST'S FIXED, FORWARD PROTRUDING ANGLE CAUSES ME DRIVER FATIGUE AND SHAPE OF SEATS CAUSES NUMBNESS. THESE AFFECT DRIVER REACTION AND POSE RISK. I WOULD MUCH PREFER THE PRE-2009 HEADRESTS BECAUSE I WAS ABLE TO STAY ALERT AND NOT HAVE MY HEAD SHOVED FORWARD IN AN UNCOMFORTABLE, NON-ERGONOMIC MANNER THAT CAUSES FATIGUE WITHIN JUST MINUTES OF DRIVING. PLEASE STAND UP TO THE INSURANCE COMPANIES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds