Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2012 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 166 complaints filed for the 2012 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (42) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (8)
Electrical System (21) Exterior Lighting (6) Power Train (28) Steering (15) Vehicle Speed Control (28)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Fuel Propulsion System (11) Seat Belts (5) Structure (12) Visibility (9)
Engine (17) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seats (5) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (19) Tires (2) Wheels (2)
Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

5/22/2015 - MANSFIELD, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HONDA CIVIC. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN THE PARK POSITION, THE RPMS SUDDENLY INCREASED TO APPROXIMATELY 4,000. AFTER TURNING THE VEHICLE OFF AND RESTARTING THE ENGINE, THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO IDLE AT APPROXIMATELY 4,000 RPMS. AFTER TURNING THE ENGINE OFF AND BACK ON A SECOND TIME, THE VEHICLE OPERATED NORMALLY. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS AND WAS INTERMITTENT. WHILE DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS, THE RPMS WOULD ALSO ERRONEOUSLY INCREASE. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 36,500.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/22/2015 - MANSFIELD, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HONDA CIVIC. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN THE PARK POSITION, THE RPMS SUDDENLY INCREASED TO APPROXIMATELY 4,000. AFTER TURNING THE VEHICLE OFF AND RESTARTING THE ENGINE, THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO IDLE AT APPROXIMATELY 4,000 RPMS. AFTER TURNING THE ENGINE OFF AND BACK ON A SECOND TIME, THE VEHICLE OPERATED NORMALLY. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS AND WAS INTERMITTENT. WHILE DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS, THE RPMS WOULD ALSO ERRONEOUSLY INCREASE. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 36,500.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/2/2015 - AUBURN, CA
MY SON USED THE CAR AND HAD A FENDER BENDER SINCE THEN THE AIR BAG WARNING COMES ON AND THE BAG DID NOT DEPLOY, QUITE A NUISANCE TO HAVE TO DEAL WITH EVERY TIME I START THE CAR. I UNDERSTAND MANY OTHERS ARE EXPERIENCING SIMILAR PROBLEMS AND NO RECALL OR SATISFACTION FROM HONDA

View Details

STEERING

4/28/2015 - CARROLLTON, TX
WHILE I WAS DRIVING MY CAR 40MPH SOMETHING HAPPENED AND SUDDENLY POWER STEERING WENT OFF ALONG WITH A MESSAGE. IT IS SO DIFFICULT TO STEER. AND THE DEALER STATED THAT THERE IS NOTHING WRONG. IT'S STILL AT THE DEALER. HOWEVER PROBLEM KEEPS GOING ON. I THINK IT HAS TO BE RECALLED, TOO.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/28/2015 - CARROLLTON, TX
WHILE I WAS DRIVING MY CAR 40MPH SOMETHING HAPPENED AND SUDDENLY POWER STEERING WENT OFF ALONG WITH A MESSAGE. IT IS SO DIFFICULT TO STEER. AND THE DEALER STATED THAT THERE IS NOTHING WRONG. IT'S STILL AT THE DEALER. HOWEVER PROBLEM KEEPS GOING ON. I THINK IT HAS TO BE RECALLED, TOO.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

4/28/2015 - CARROLLTON, TX
WHILE I WAS DRIVING MY CAR 40MPH SOMETHING HAPPENED AND SUDDENLY POWER STEERING WENT OFF ALONG WITH A MESSAGE. IT IS SO DIFFICULT TO STEER. AND THE DEALER STATED THAT THERE IS NOTHING WRONG. IT'S STILL AT THE DEALER. HOWEVER PROBLEM KEEPS GOING ON. I THINK IT HAS TO BE RECALLED, TOO.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/26/2015 - HIGHLANDS RANCH, CO
DURING A MILD RAIN EVENT TODAY I DROVE MY CAR FOR NO MORE THAN 35 MINUTES AT NO MORE THAN 60 MPH. WHEN I ARRIVED AT MY DESTINATION, I NOTICED A WET SPOT WHERE THE DRIVER'S SIDE CURTAIN AIRBAG COVER MEETS THE INTERIOR ROOF COVER ALONG THE A PILLAR. I SUSPECT THAT WATER IS LEAKING IN NEAR THE JUNCTION OF THE WINDSHIELD AND ROOF RAIL SEAL AS THEY APPEAR TO HAVE DETERIORATED. I AM CONCERNED THAT THIS LEAK WILL CAUSE A MALFUNCTION IN MY DRIVER SIDE CURTAIN AIRBAG, A MAJOR SAFETY CONCERN. THE FOLLOWING YOUTUBE VIDEO DEMONSTRATES THE ISSUE PERFECTLY (HTTPS://WWW.YOUTUBE.COM/WATCH?V=XIYZNF6IGBE).

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/22/2015 - CORVALLIS, OR
SUDDEN UNINTENDED ACCELERATION : WHILE MY WIFE WAS DRIVING THE VEHICLE ON THE DRIVING LANE ON I-5 SOUTH AT ABOUT 60MPH AND I WAS AT PASSENGER'S SEAT, MY WIFE YELLED "THE CAR IS GETTING FASTER AND FASTER." AND I TOLD HER TO STEP ON THE BRAKE. SHE SAID SHE WAS ALREADY PEDALLING THE BRAKE BUT IT DID NOT WORK, AND THE CAR WAS APPROACHING TO A BIG TRUCK IN FRONT OF US WITH FRIGHTENING SPEED. SINCE THERE WERE MANY CARS IN FRONT, BEHIND AND ON THE PASSING LANE AT THE TIME OF THE INCIDENT, WE COULD NOT DO ANYTHING ELSE BUT STEERING THE CAR TO THE RIGHT SIDE OFF THE DRIVING LANE IN ORDER TO AVOID FATAL ACCIDENT. THERE WAS SPACE COVERED WITH ROUGHT GRASSES, BUSHES AND SOFT FENCES THERE. THE VEHICLE KEPT MOVING ALONG, CRASHING THE OBJECTS WITH HIGH SPEED OF ABOUT MORE THAN 85 MPH. FINALLY THE CAR STOPPED AFTER GOING ALONG MORE THAN 50 YARDS. AS SOON AS THE CAR STOPPED, WE BARELY OPENED THE DOORS AND ESCAPED FROM THE TERRIBLY DAMAGED CAR. THE CAR'S FRON SIDE WAS FACING BACKWARD, AND I HEARD AFTERWARD THAT MY WIFE USED THE HAND BRAKE TO STOP THE CAR. AIR BAGS OF DRIVER'S AND PASSENGER'S SEAT, AND SIDE AIRBAG WERE DEPLOYED. OTHER THREE CARS STOPPED AT THE SCENE OFF THE LANE, AND ADVISED US TO REMOVE VALUABLES INSIDE THE CAR, BECAUSE IT MAY CATCH FIRE. THEY CALLED 911, AND FIRE FIGHTERS AND THE POLICE ARRIVED AT THE SCENE. I REPORTED THE ACCIDENT TO MY INSURANCE, DMV, AND HONDA USA. MY WIFE'S RIGHT KNEE GOT BRUISE, AND I HAVE LIGHT PAIN ON THE LEFT SIDE OF MY NECK AND CHEST. MY WIFE IS PANIC, AND AFRAID OF DRIVING. I AM ALSO VERY MUCH SHOCKED. I KNOW HONDA WOULD NOT EASILY ADMIT THE DEFECT OF THE CAR, EVEN THOUGH IT WILL INVESTIGATE THE CAR. BUT I SWEAR TO GOD THAT THE SUA TOOK PLACE. NOW I BELIEVE THAT SUA OCCURS WITHOUT DRIVER'S MALOPERATION OF THE CAR, BECAUSE THERE WAS ABSOLUTELY NO MISOPERATION OF THE CAR. I PLEASE REQUEST NHTSA CONSIDER THIS INCIDENT VERY SERIOUSLY. THANKS

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/17/2015 - HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA
ON APPROXIMATELY 10 OCCASIONS, AFTER REFUELING THE HONDA CIVIC GX (NATURAL GAS) VEHICLE, THE CAR WOULD START UP AND TRAVEL NO MORE THAN 100 YARDS FROM THE FILLING STATION. THE GAS GUAGE READS EMPTY EVEN THOUGH THE TANK IS FULL. THERE ARE PRESSURE REGULATORS AND SAFETY VALVES THAT OPEN UP WITH A THUNK SOUND WHEN THE CAR IS STARTED AFTER FILLING. IN EACH CASE WHEN THE CAR HAS STALLED, THE VALVES/REGULATORS DO NOT OPEN UP WITH THE THUNK SOUND. THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING FOR THE LAST 1.5 YEARS WITH THE 2012 CIVIC GX. THERE IS NO PATTERN TO WHEN THIS OCCURS OR DOESN'T, BUT, IT USUALLY HAPPENS IN A CLUSTER OF TIMES AND THEN GOES AWAY FOR 5-6 MONTHS. READING ONLINE FORUMS, THIS SEEMS TO HAPPEN TO VEHICLES THAT ARE MUCH OLDER AND HONDA'S ONLY SOLUTION IS TO REPLACE THE VALVES AND REGULATORS. AS MY VEHICLE IS STILL UNDER WARRANTY, THEY HAVE BEEN RELUCTANT TO DO ANYTHING. FROM CORPORATE HONDA, THEY ARE BLAMING THE DRIVERS FOR LEAVING THE KEY IN THE IGNITION IN THE ACC POSITION. I KNOW THAT FOR 9 OUT OF THE 10 INCIDENTS, THE KEY WAS NOT IN THE IGNITION. THE STALLING OF THE CAR HAS POSED A DANGEROUS SITUATION WHEN I WAS PULLING OUT INTO TRAFFIC ONLY TO HAVE THE CAR STALL DUE TO LACK OF GAS IN THE FUEL LINE (SAFETY VALVE IS LOCATED IN THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE) AS IT SUCKS WHAT IT CAN FROM THE FUEL LINE TO THE VALVES. IT USUALLY TAKES ABOUT 40-45 MINUTES FOR THE SYSTEM TO RESET AND ALLOW THE CAR TO RUN. IT WILL RUN FINE UNTIL SOME FUTURE REFUELLING. THIS DOES NOT APPEAR TO BE EASILY REPEATABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

4/11/2015 - SUNNYSIDE, NY
I WAS WAS STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT. WHEN THE LIGHT TURNED GREEN I STEPPED ON THE GAS AND THE CAR WENT IN REVERSE. I TRIED AGAIN AND THE CAR WAS IN DRIVE BUT WENT IN REVERSE WHEN I STEPPED ON THE GAS. I HAD TO TURN THE ENGINE OFF AND RESTART IT IN ORDER TO DRIVE FORWARD. THIS WAS THE SECOND TIME THIS HAD HAPPENED. IT HAPPENED THE FIRST TIME ABOUT TWO MONTHS AGO.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds