Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2012 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 266 complaints filed for the 2012 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (84) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (14)
Electrical System (32) Exterior Lighting (8) Power Train (36) Steering (32) Vehicle Speed Control (37)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Fuel Propulsion System (12) Seat Belts (8) Structure (18) Visibility (10)
Engine (19) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Seats (11) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (25) Tires (3) Wheels (9)
Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 39
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

2/12/2018 - MILWAUKEE, WI
STARTED CAR IN MORNING AND A LIGHT CAME ON TO "CHECK POWER STEERING SYSTEM". BROUGHT CAR IN TO BE CHECKED AND POWERS STEERING RACK OF PINION IS MISSING A PIECE (WAS EITHER NEVER IN PLACE OR FELL OUT). HONDA DEALERSHIP UNWILLING TO COVER ANY COST BECAUSE THE CAR WAS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/10/2018 - FLORIDA, NY
FROM THE TIME I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE IT+S BEEN SHOWING THE AIR BAG LIGHT AND THE DEALER STAYED IT+S THE SENSORS BEHIND THE SEAT THAT ARE DEFECTIVE. THEY REPLACED THE SENSORS AND CONTINUED HAPPENING DIDN+T WORRY ABOUT IT BECAUSE CAR ALWAYS PASSED STATE INSPECTION. I WENT BACK TO THE DEALER AND THE DEALER STATED IT+S THE SAME PROBLEM AND IT+S OUT OF WARRANTY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/9/2018 - MURRIETA, CA
TL THE CONTACT OWNED A 2012 HONDA CIVIC. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED AND TRAVELED TO THE FLOORBOARD. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE REAR ENDED ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE DRIVER'S AIR BAG DEPLOYED AND CAUSED IRRITATION TO THE FACE. NO MEDICAL ATTENTION WAS REQUIRED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED BY THE INSURANCE COMPANY WHO ADVISED HIM TO HAVE THE VEHICLE INSPECTED FOR THE BRAKE FAILURE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT DIAMOND VALLEY HONDA (300 CARRIAGE CIR, HEMET, CA 92545 (888) 794-1620) WAS CONTACTED, BUT DECLINED TO INSPECT THE VEHICLE DUE TO THE BODY DAMAGE AND AIR BAG DEPLOYMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THERE WAS A LEAK IN THE BRAKE LINE AND THE BRAKE LINE NEEDED REPLACEMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED DUE TO BEING DEEMED A TOTAL LOSS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 134,000.

View Details

STEERING

2/8/2018 - EAST ROCKAWAY, NY
TL THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HONDA CIVIC. WHILE THE CONTACT'S DAUGHTER WAS DRIVING 50 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AND THE POWER STEERING WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED WITH A POWER STEERING AND ELECTRICAL FAILURE. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE POWER STEERING COLUMN NEEDED REPLACEMENT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED DUE TO COST AND BELIEVED THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL. THE HONDA MANUFACTURER AND LOCAL DEALER (MILLENNIUM HONDA, 286 N FRANKLIN ST, HEMPSTEAD, NY 11550, (516) 481-2800) WERE CONTACTED AND INFORMED THE CONTACT OF NO OPEN RECALLS. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/8/2018 - EAST ROCKAWAY, NY
TL THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HONDA CIVIC. WHILE THE CONTACT'S DAUGHTER WAS DRIVING 50 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AND THE POWER STEERING WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED WITH A POWER STEERING AND ELECTRICAL FAILURE. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE POWER STEERING COLUMN NEEDED REPLACEMENT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED DUE TO COST AND BELIEVED THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL. THE HONDA MANUFACTURER AND LOCAL DEALER (MILLENNIUM HONDA, 286 N FRANKLIN ST, HEMPSTEAD, NY 11550, (516) 481-2800) WERE CONTACTED AND INFORMED THE CONTACT OF NO OPEN RECALLS. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/1/2018 - FISHERS, IN
THE TPMS ALERT IS ALWAYS ON EVEN THOUGH THE TIRES ARE INFLATED AT THE APPROPRIATE PSI. I HAVE TAKEN MY CAR TO HONDA NUMEROUS TIMES TO GET THE TPMS RESET SO THAT IT WOULD TURN ON ONLY WHEN NECESSARY. BECAUSE THE TPMS ALERT IS ALWAYS ON, I NEVER KNOW WHEN THE TIRE IS LOW ON AIR PRESSURE. I TOOK IT TO HONDA MULTIPLE TIMES TO CORRECT THIS ISSUE, BUT I WAS TOLD THAT THIS HAS BEEN A KNOWN ISSUE WITH HONDA CIVICS AND THAT TO GET IT FIXED, IT WOULD COST $200-300 WITH THE POSSIBILITY THAT THE TPMS CAN ACT UP LIKE THIS AGAIN. THIS IS A BIG SAFETY CONCERN BECAUSE I ONCE DROVE FOR MILES AND MILES WITHOUT KNOWING THAT ONE OF MY TIRES WAS AT 14 PSI. I HAD NO IDEA THAT MY TIRES WERE SO FLAT BECAUSE AS MENTIONED PREVIOUSLY, THE TPMS ALERT IS ALWAYS ON. HONDA NEEDS TO ISSUE A SAFETY RECALL ON THIS IF THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE AMONGST HONDA CIVICS AND GET THIS ISSUE FIXED.

View Details

STEERING

1/29/2018 - KNOXVILLE, TN
I WAS DRIVING ON HIGHWAY YESTERDAY WITH 2 OF MY TODDLER KIDS IN MY HONDA. SUDDENLY THE POWER STEERING LIGHT TURNED ON AND IMMEDIATELY THE STEERING BECAME EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO TURN AND LIKE DEAD. I WAS VERY SCARED AND TRY TO SLOW DOWN. BUT IT IS STILL VERY EXTREME DIFFICULT TO TURN. I TURNED ON THE DOUBLE FLASHING LIGHT AND SLOWED MOVED TO THE NEARBY GAS STATION AND ASKED MY INSURANCE TO TOW MY CAR TO DEALER. I AM 20WEEKS PREGNANT SO I HAVE 3 CHILDREN IN THE CAR. THE SECOND DAY THE DEALER CHECKED EVERYTHING BUT TOLD ME THEY CANNOT FIND ANY PROBLEM WITH IT. I FOUND A LOT OF COMPLAINT FILED ONLINE WITH 2012 HONDA CIVIC AND THERE IS A RECALL WITH CERTAIN 2012 HONDA CIVIC THAT WAS MADE LATE THAT YEAR. I CALLED HONDA INC AND CHECKED MY VIN, I WAS INFORMED THERE IS NO RECALL ON MY CAR. I EXPLAINED THIS IS VERY SIMILAR TO OTHER CASES THEY MADE RECALL ON ABOUT THE STEERING SYSTEM AND THIS IS VERY LIKELY DUE TO THEIR MANUFACTURE MISTAKE AS I HAVE BEEN DRIVING THIS CAR WITHOUT ANY ISSUE IN 5 YEARS AND NO ANY ACCIDENT OR INJURY. THEY SAY THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO. THE CAR DEALER ALSO INFORM ME THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO BUT HAVE ME DRIVE CAREFULLY AND THEY TOLD ME THIS CAN HAPPEN AGAIN!!!. I AM PREGNANT AND HAVE 2 LITTLE CHILDREN I SENT TO SCHOOL WITH DAILY. I CANNOT HAVE THIS HAPPEN AGAIN IN A TRAGIC ACCIDENT.!!!

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/27/2018 - ALEXANDRIA, VA
THE BRAKES HAVE FAILED ON THIS CAR TWICE. WE WERE FORTUNATE THAT BOTH TIMES WERE IN A PARKING LOT AND MY DAUGHTER WAS ABLE TO STOP THE CAR WITH THE EMERGENCY BRAKE. AT THE SAME TIME THE BRAKES WENT OUT THE POWER STEERING WENT OUT AS WELL AND SHE HAD GREAT DIFFICULTY TURNING THE CAR AS WELL AS STOPPING IT. THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY AT THE TIME, SHE WAS ATTEMPTING TO BACK OUT OF A PARKING PLACE ONE TIME AND THE SECOND TIME WAS ABLE TO LET THE CAR ROLL FORWARD IN TO AN EMPTY PARKING SPOT WHERE SHE PULLED THE EMERGENCY BRAKE.

View Details

STEERING

1/27/2018 - ALEXANDRIA, VA
THE BRAKES HAVE FAILED ON THIS CAR TWICE. WE WERE FORTUNATE THAT BOTH TIMES WERE IN A PARKING LOT AND MY DAUGHTER WAS ABLE TO STOP THE CAR WITH THE EMERGENCY BRAKE. AT THE SAME TIME THE BRAKES WENT OUT THE POWER STEERING WENT OUT AS WELL AND SHE HAD GREAT DIFFICULTY TURNING THE CAR AS WELL AS STOPPING IT. THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY AT THE TIME, SHE WAS ATTEMPTING TO BACK OUT OF A PARKING PLACE ONE TIME AND THE SECOND TIME WAS ABLE TO LET THE CAR ROLL FORWARD IN TO AN EMPTY PARKING SPOT WHERE SHE PULLED THE EMERGENCY BRAKE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/18/2018 - SPRING, TX
TAKATA RECALL ON AIRBAGS ASSOCIATED WITH MY VEHICLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 39
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds