Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2012 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 127 complaints filed for the 2012 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (29) Equipment Adaptive (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (12) Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (27) Steering (8) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Seat Belts (3) Structure (10) Visibility (9)
Engine (11) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (3) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (15) Tires (2) Wheels (1)
Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

9/12/2014 - DENVER, CO
THE PASSENGER AIR BAG TURNS OFF WHEN THERE IS SOMEONE IN THE SEAT. THE PASSENGER IS NOT NEAR THE WEIGHT MINIMUM, AND THERE IS NOTHING IN THE BACK SEAT POCKET THAT MIGHT DISTURB THE SENSOR. THEY ALSO ARE NOT MOVING AROUND. I AM ALSO NOT AWARE OF BEING ABLE TO KEEP THE AIRBAG ON OR MANUALLY TURNING IT BACK ON.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/6/2014 - WETHERSFIELD, CT
TWICE I WAS STOPPED AND FOOT ON BRAKE. CAR ROLLED INTO CAR UP FRONT. MY FOOT WAS STILL ON THE BRAKE. I READ THAT OTHER PEOPLE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM. MY INSURANCE PAID FOR ONE AUTO AND THE OTHER LET IT GO.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/4/2014 - ARLINGTON, TX
TURNED KEY TO START AND NOTHING HAPPENED; SOME WARNING LIGHTS WENT OFF, BUT NO SOUND FROM STARTER, SOLENOID OR OTHER ENGINE PARTS. RELEASED KEY AND TURNED KEY TO START AGAIN; ON SECOND TRY, ENGINE STARTED PROPERLY. SOMETIMES, I MAY TURN THE KEY TWICE WITH NOTHING HAPPENING AND ENGINE STARTS ON THIRD TRY. HAPPENS INTERMITTENTLY; CAN HAPPEN WHEN ENGINE IS COLD OR HOT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/4/2014 - ARLINGTON, TX
TURNED KEY TO START AND NOTHING HAPPENED; SOME WARNING LIGHTS WENT OFF, BUT NO SOUND FROM STARTER, SOLENOID OR OTHER ENGINE PARTS. RELEASED KEY AND TURNED KEY TO START AGAIN; ON SECOND TRY, ENGINE STARTED PROPERLY. SOMETIMES, I MAY TURN THE KEY TWICE WITH NOTHING HAPPENING AND ENGINE STARTS ON THIRD TRY. HAPPENS INTERMITTENTLY; CAN HAPPEN WHEN ENGINE IS COLD OR HOT.

View Details

ENGINE

9/4/2014 - ARLINGTON, TX
TURNED KEY TO START AND NOTHING HAPPENED; SOME WARNING LIGHTS WENT OFF, BUT NO SOUND FROM STARTER, SOLENOID OR OTHER ENGINE PARTS. RELEASED KEY AND TURNED KEY TO START AGAIN; ON SECOND TRY, ENGINE STARTED PROPERLY. SOMETIMES, I MAY TURN THE KEY TWICE WITH NOTHING HAPPENING AND ENGINE STARTS ON THIRD TRY. HAPPENS INTERMITTENTLY; CAN HAPPEN WHEN ENGINE IS COLD OR HOT.

View Details

STEERING

9/3/2014 - WALTERS, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HONDA CIVIC COUPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE POWER STEERING FAILED CAUSING THE CONTACT TO CRASH INTO THE SIDE RAIL. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND INJURIES WERE SUSTAINED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AUTO SERVICE REPAIR SHOP. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/20/2014 - DULUTH, GA
PASSENGER AIRBAG OFF LIGHT COME ON AND OFF. IT STAYED ON FOR A COUPLE OF MILES AND THEN SHUT OFF AGAIN. THIS IS NOT THE FIRST TIME THIS HAPPENED. I DON'T EVEN KNOW HOW TO TURN OFF MY AIRBAG TO BEGIN WITH. OF COURSE I WANT PASSENGER AIRBAG IS ALWAYS ON.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

8/18/2014 - CHULA VISTA, CA
WHILE DECELERATING (SUDDEN), MY SEATBELT TENSIONER AND AIRBAG DEPOLYED WITH NO COLLISION OR CONTACT WITH ANYTHING. INITIALLY, THE HONDA DEALER SAID THAT THE AIRBAG ONLY DEPLOYS WHEN THERE IS CONTACT. BOTH HONDA DEALER AND AAA (MY INSURANCE) EXAMINED THE VEHICLE AND FOUND NO SIGN OF COLLISION OR DAMAGE. HONDA HAS NOW SAID THAT IN A SUDDEN DECELERATION, THE AIRBAG IS DESIGNED TO DEPLOY WITHOUT ANY CONTACT. THE UNNEEDED DEPLOYMENT OF THE SYSTEMS COULD HAVE LED TO AN IMPACT AND WORSE DAMAGE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/18/2014 - CHULA VISTA, CA
WHILE DECELERATING (SUDDEN), MY SEATBELT TENSIONER AND AIRBAG DEPOLYED WITH NO COLLISION OR CONTACT WITH ANYTHING. INITIALLY, THE HONDA DEALER SAID THAT THE AIRBAG ONLY DEPLOYS WHEN THERE IS CONTACT. BOTH HONDA DEALER AND AAA (MY INSURANCE) EXAMINED THE VEHICLE AND FOUND NO SIGN OF COLLISION OR DAMAGE. HONDA HAS NOW SAID THAT IN A SUDDEN DECELERATION, THE AIRBAG IS DESIGNED TO DEPLOY WITHOUT ANY CONTACT. THE UNNEEDED DEPLOYMENT OF THE SYSTEMS COULD HAVE LED TO AN IMPACT AND WORSE DAMAGE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/26/2014 - TULSA, OK
I WAS PULLING INTO A PARKING LOT WHEN ANOTHER DRIVER PULLED OUT AND T-BONED MY 2012 HONDA CIVIC. THE CAR WAS HIT ON THE DRIVER SIDE RIGHT IN THE MIDDLE WHERE THE FRONT DRIVER AND BACK PASSENGER DOOR MEET, NONE OF THE SIDE CURTAIN AIRBAGS DEPLOYED. THE CAR NOW HAS EXTENSIVE FRAME DAMAGE... THE LUMBAR SUPPORT IN THIS CAR IS THE ABSOLUTE WORST!! THE CAR ALSO GETS TERRIBLE GAS MILEAGE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds