Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2012 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 161 complaints filed for the 2012 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (41) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (7)
Electrical System (20) Exterior Lighting (6) Power Train (28) Steering (14) Vehicle Speed Control (26)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel Propulsion System (11) Seat Belts (5) Structure (12) Visibility (9)
Engine (16) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seats (5) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (19) Tires (2) Wheels (2)
Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/17/2015 - HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA
ON APPROXIMATELY 10 OCCASIONS, AFTER REFUELING THE HONDA CIVIC GX (NATURAL GAS) VEHICLE, THE CAR WOULD START UP AND TRAVEL NO MORE THAN 100 YARDS FROM THE FILLING STATION. THE GAS GUAGE READS EMPTY EVEN THOUGH THE TANK IS FULL. THERE ARE PRESSURE REGULATORS AND SAFETY VALVES THAT OPEN UP WITH A THUNK SOUND WHEN THE CAR IS STARTED AFTER FILLING. IN EACH CASE WHEN THE CAR HAS STALLED, THE VALVES/REGULATORS DO NOT OPEN UP WITH THE THUNK SOUND. THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING FOR THE LAST 1.5 YEARS WITH THE 2012 CIVIC GX. THERE IS NO PATTERN TO WHEN THIS OCCURS OR DOESN'T, BUT, IT USUALLY HAPPENS IN A CLUSTER OF TIMES AND THEN GOES AWAY FOR 5-6 MONTHS. READING ONLINE FORUMS, THIS SEEMS TO HAPPEN TO VEHICLES THAT ARE MUCH OLDER AND HONDA'S ONLY SOLUTION IS TO REPLACE THE VALVES AND REGULATORS. AS MY VEHICLE IS STILL UNDER WARRANTY, THEY HAVE BEEN RELUCTANT TO DO ANYTHING. FROM CORPORATE HONDA, THEY ARE BLAMING THE DRIVERS FOR LEAVING THE KEY IN THE IGNITION IN THE ACC POSITION. I KNOW THAT FOR 9 OUT OF THE 10 INCIDENTS, THE KEY WAS NOT IN THE IGNITION. THE STALLING OF THE CAR HAS POSED A DANGEROUS SITUATION WHEN I WAS PULLING OUT INTO TRAFFIC ONLY TO HAVE THE CAR STALL DUE TO LACK OF GAS IN THE FUEL LINE (SAFETY VALVE IS LOCATED IN THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE) AS IT SUCKS WHAT IT CAN FROM THE FUEL LINE TO THE VALVES. IT USUALLY TAKES ABOUT 40-45 MINUTES FOR THE SYSTEM TO RESET AND ALLOW THE CAR TO RUN. IT WILL RUN FINE UNTIL SOME FUTURE REFUELLING. THIS DOES NOT APPEAR TO BE EASILY REPEATABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

4/11/2015 - SUNNYSIDE, NY
I WAS WAS STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT. WHEN THE LIGHT TURNED GREEN I STEPPED ON THE GAS AND THE CAR WENT IN REVERSE. I TRIED AGAIN AND THE CAR WAS IN DRIVE BUT WENT IN REVERSE WHEN I STEPPED ON THE GAS. I HAD TO TURN THE ENGINE OFF AND RESTART IT IN ORDER TO DRIVE FORWARD. THIS WAS THE SECOND TIME THIS HAD HAPPENED. IT HAPPENED THE FIRST TIME ABOUT TWO MONTHS AGO.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/11/2015 - SUNNYSIDE, NY
THE CAR LOSES POWER WHEN GOING UP HILLS AND HAS STALLED TWICE. IF I LIGHTLY BUMP THE SHIFT WHILE DRIVING IT GOES INTO NEUTRAL. I MUST USE THE EMERGENCY BRAKE WHEN PARKED EVEN ON A FLAT SURFACE OR THE CAR WILL ROLL.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/11/2015 - SUNNYSIDE, NY
THE CAR LOSES POWER WHEN GOING UP HILLS AND HAS STALLED TWICE. IF I LIGHTLY BUMP THE SHIFT WHILE DRIVING IT GOES INTO NEUTRAL. I MUST USE THE EMERGENCY BRAKE WHEN PARKED EVEN ON A FLAT SURFACE OR THE CAR WILL ROLL.

View Details

ENGINE

4/11/2015 - SUNNYSIDE, NY
THE CAR LOSES POWER WHEN GOING UP HILLS AND HAS STALLED TWICE. IF I LIGHTLY BUMP THE SHIFT WHILE DRIVING IT GOES INTO NEUTRAL. I MUST USE THE EMERGENCY BRAKE WHEN PARKED EVEN ON A FLAT SURFACE OR THE CAR WILL ROLL.

View Details

STEERING

4/10/2015 - MOUNT DORA, FL
DURING RAIN STORMS ESPECIALLY, THE POWER STEERING WARNING COMES ON AND I LOSE ALL POWER TO STEER. I CAN STILL STEER BUT ITS EXTREMELY HARD. HAS HAPPENED 3-4 TIMES NOW. HAS BEEN TO THE DEALER BUT HE DOESN'T KNOW WHY GET. HAD TO GET A RENTAL UNTIL ITS FIXED. IN MY OPINION, ELECTRONIC POWER STEERING IS MUCH LESS RELIABLE THAN THE OLD TYPE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/7/2015 - MAUNABO , PR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HONDA CIVIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TIGHTEN FULL CAP AND THE CHECK EMISSION SYSTEM WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED SIMULTANEOUSLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER SEVERAL TIMES FOR THE FAILURE AND EACH TIME THE DEALER REPLACED THE FUEL TANK COVER; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE WAS NOT CORRECTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 37,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/14/2015 - WETUMPKA, AL
WAS DRIVING AROUND 50 MPH WHEN THE LIGHT CHANGED CHANGED TO YELLOW, WHEN I TRIED TO PUT ON BRAKES THEY WERE GONE AND THE STEERING WAS GONE ALSO, I DID SEE A ERROR MESSAGE THAT STATED TO CHECK POWER STEERING I WAS ABLE TO TURN THE CAR INTO A PARKING LOT INSTEAD OF GOING THROUGH THE LIGHT. I CUT OFF THE CAR AND RE-STARTED THE CAR AND THE MESSAGE AND THE CHECK STEERING LIGHT WERE GONE. IT WAS AS IF THE CAR LOST POWER. I PUT MY VIN IN HONDA'S WEB SITE TO CHECK FOR A RECALL AND THERE WERE NOT ANY. THIS COULD CAUSE FATAL ACCIDENTS.

View Details

STEERING

3/14/2015 - WETUMPKA, AL
WAS DRIVING AROUND 50 MPH WHEN THE LIGHT CHANGED CHANGED TO YELLOW, WHEN I TRIED TO PUT ON BRAKES THEY WERE GONE AND THE STEERING WAS GONE ALSO, I DID SEE A ERROR MESSAGE THAT STATED TO CHECK POWER STEERING I WAS ABLE TO TURN THE CAR INTO A PARKING LOT INSTEAD OF GOING THROUGH THE LIGHT. I CUT OFF THE CAR AND RE-STARTED THE CAR AND THE MESSAGE AND THE CHECK STEERING LIGHT WERE GONE. IT WAS AS IF THE CAR LOST POWER. I PUT MY VIN IN HONDA'S WEB SITE TO CHECK FOR A RECALL AND THERE WERE NOT ANY. THIS COULD CAUSE FATAL ACCIDENTS.

View Details

WHEELS

3/12/2015 - MANCHESTER, MD
I WAS TRAVELING ON ELKRIDGE LANDING ROAD AND MERGED RIGHT ONTO THE RAMP THAT MERGES TO WEST NURSERY ROAD. THE RAMP HAS A POT HOLE WHICH BASED ON ITS PLACEMENT IS EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO COMPLETELY MISS, I RAN OVER IT WITH MY FRONT DRIVER SIDE WHEEL. THE IMPACT IMMEDIATELY FLATTENED MY TIRE. I WAS FORCED TO GET THE CAR TOWED TO THE CLOSEST SHOP AND I HAD TO PAY FOR A NEW WHEEL AS WELL AS THE DIAGNOSTICS TO ENSURE ITS COMPLETION. I HAVE A BILL IN HAND FOR $296.26 WHICH I FEEL STRONGLY THAT I SHOULD BE COMPENSATED FOR AS THE PAYMENT WAS 100% THE RESULT OF THE CONDITION OF THE ROAD. I DO NOT SEE ANY OPTION FOR UPLOADING AN IMAGE OF THE BILL; HOWEVER, I AM MORE THAN WILLING TO SUBMIT A COPY OF IT IF NEED BE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds