Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2012 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 120 complaints filed for the 2012 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (25) Equipment Adaptive (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (7)
Electrical System (11) Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (26) Steering (7) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Seat Belts (2) Structure (10) Visibility (8)
Engine (10) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (3) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (14) Tires (1) Wheels (2)
Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
 
ComplaintDescription

EQUIPMENT ADAPTIVE

7/20/2014 - CORVALLIS, OR
WHILE DRIVING ON I5 HEADED SOUTH TO MEDFORD, OR ON JUNE 6, 2014, AT AROUND 9:30 PM I STRUCK WHAT APPEARED TO BE A SMALL REFRIGERATOR WHICH WAS LAYING ON THE HIGHWAY. THERE WAS WHAT APPEARED TO BE MINOR DAMAGE TO THE BUMPER OF THE 2012 HONDA CIVIC THAT I WAS DRIVING. THE SENSORS FOR THE AIRBAG SYSTEM WERE TRIGGERED, BUT THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. UPON TAKING THE VEHICLE TO THE HONDA DEALERSHIP TO GET REPAIRS, WE LEARNED THAT THE HARNESS FOR THE AIR BAG SYSTEM HAD BEEN SEVERED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/20/2014 - CORVALLIS, OR
WHILE DRIVING ON I5 HEADED SOUTH TO MEDFORD, OR ON JUNE 6, 2014, AT AROUND 9:30 PM I STRUCK WHAT APPEARED TO BE A SMALL REFRIGERATOR WHICH WAS LAYING ON THE HIGHWAY. THERE WAS WHAT APPEARED TO BE MINOR DAMAGE TO THE BUMPER OF THE 2012 HONDA CIVIC THAT I WAS DRIVING. THE SENSORS FOR THE AIRBAG SYSTEM WERE TRIGGERED, BUT THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. UPON TAKING THE VEHICLE TO THE HONDA DEALERSHIP TO GET REPAIRS, WE LEARNED THAT THE HARNESS FOR THE AIR BAG SYSTEM HAD BEEN SEVERED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/20/2014 - CORVALLIS, OR
WHILE DRIVING ON I5 HEADED SOUTH TO MEDFORD, OR ON JUNE 6, 2014, AT AROUND 9:30 PM I STRUCK WHAT APPEARED TO BE A SMALL REFRIGERATOR WHICH WAS LAYING ON THE HIGHWAY. THERE WAS WHAT APPEARED TO BE MINOR DAMAGE TO THE BUMPER OF THE 2012 HONDA CIVIC THAT I WAS DRIVING. THE SENSORS FOR THE AIRBAG SYSTEM WERE TRIGGERED, BUT THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. UPON TAKING THE VEHICLE TO THE HONDA DEALERSHIP TO GET REPAIRS, WE LEARNED THAT THE HARNESS FOR THE AIR BAG SYSTEM HAD BEEN SEVERED.

View Details

WHEELS

7/10/2014 - SHEPPHERDSTOWNS, WV
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HONDA CIVIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SPARE TIRE WAS CAUSING A STRONG SMELL OF RUBBER TO BE EMITTED THROUGHOUT THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE SMELL INCREASED DURING THE HOT WEATHER. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT WAS EXPERIENCING SHORTNESS OF BREATH AND NAUSEA. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND DID NOT PROVIDE A REMEDY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DECIDED TO WASH THE TIRE AND SPARE TIRE HOUSING WITH SOAP AND WATER. THE REMEDY FAILED TO REPAIR THE PROBLEM. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 19,000 AND THE 35,357. PAM

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/9/2014 - VALATIE, NY
THE DRIVER AIR BAG DEPLOYED HITTING ME IN THE FACE. IT FRACTURED MY ORBITAL BONE, PUT A HOLE IN MY EYELID, ANC FORCED MY CATARACT LENS TO RUPTURE FALLING BACK INTO THE VITREOUS TOWARDS MY RETINA. I NEEDED IMMEDIATE EYE SURGERY. I ALSO NEEDED STITCHES IN MY FOREHEAD AND HAND. I ALSO HAD A POSSIBLE CONCUSSION. I HAVE SINCE HAD 2 MORE EYE SURGERIES. I LOST MY PERIPHERAL VISION AND OVERALL VISION IS BLURRY. MY EYE IS LOWER AND SUNKEN BACK IN THE SOCKET BECAUSE OF THE FRACTURE. I STILL FACE ANOTHER SURAGERY TO CORRECT MY APPEARANCE. ...UPDATED 07/15/14

View Details

SEATS

7/1/2014 - MURFREESBORO, TN
I COMMUTE ALMOST 2 HOURS TO WORK AND THEN 2 HOURS BACK EACH DAY. THEREFORE, I TRADED MY SILVERADO FOR A 2012 CIVIC FOR THE GAS MILEAGE. I BOUGHT THE CAR USED IN MAY OF 2014. IT WAS THE SECOND CIVIC ON THE LOT THAT I TEST DROVE. I DID NOT NOTICE ANYTHING AMISS ABOUT EITHER CAR DURING THE TEST DRIVES. HOWEVER, ON MY FIRST TRIP HOME FROM WORK I NOTICED THAT I FELT LIKE MY BUTT WAS SINKING FURTHER INTO THE SEAT AND MY LEGS BEGAN TO ACHE REALLY BAD. ALSO, THE LUMBAR SUPPORT IS FAR LESS THAN DESIREABLE. SO FAR THE ONLY FIX I HAVE COME UP WITH IS TO LAY FOLDED TOWEL DOWN IN THE SEAT. BUT SOMETIMES THE TOWEL MOVES OR BECOMES UNFOLDED. I AM STILL SEARCHING FOR A MORE PERMANENT SOLUTION TO THE PROBLEM. HONDA NEEDS TO FIX THE UNCOMFORTABLE SEATS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/1/2014 - KEARNY, NJ
CAR WAS DRIVEN APPROX 3 MILES THEN WAS PARKED FOR APPROX. 10 MINUTES. WHEN RETURNING TO THE CAR FIRE TRUCKS WERE AT THE CAR PUTTING OUT THE FIRE. THE ENTIRE ENGINE COMPARTMENT CAUGHT ON FIRE. CAR WAS DESTROYED. KEARNY, NJ POLICE REPORT #14010678 STATED THAT THEY (TOW TRUCK OPERATOR AND THE POLICE OFFICER) OBSERVED A BROKEN FUEL LINE. I FOUND OUT ABOUT THE RECALL FOR FUEL DELIVERY SYSTEM AFTER THE FIRE. MY FRIEND AND I WENT TO THE DEALER, GARDEN STATE HONDA ON RIVER ROAD IN PASSAIC AND SAW THE MANAGER. HE STATED THAT HE WOULD NOT TALK TO US IF EITHER ONE OF US WAS AN ATTORNEY. WE GAVE HIM A BINDER WITH A SERIES OF 8.5 X 11 PHOTOS OF THE CAR AND COPIES OF THE RECALL FOUND ON THE INTERNET. A REP CALLED TO TELL ME THAT THE MATTER WAS BETWEEN THE INSURANCE COMPANY (ALLSTATE) AND HONDA USA. MY FRIEND CALLED THE MANAGER WHO WHEN ASKED ABOUT THE SITUATION GOT ANGRY AND REFUSED TO TALK ANYMORE ABOUT IT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/27/2014 - PLYMOUTH, MI
I WAS DRIVING ON AN EXIT RAMP FROM A HIGHWAY, CAR WAS COASTING, AND AS I WAS APPROACHING THE STOP SIGN, I APPLIED THE BREAKS SOFTLY, THE CAR STARTED SLOWING DOWN FURTHER DUE TO BREAKING AND THEN SUDDENLY CAME TO A BRUTAL STOP WITH TIRES SCREECHING. ENGINE WAS STALLED, AUTOMATIC GEAR HAD SHIFTED IN NEUTRAL BY ITSELF, AND THERE WAS A BURNING SMELL IN THE CAR. FORTUNATELY THERE WAS NO CAR BEHIND ME, OTHERWISE IT WOULD HAVE NOT BEEN POSSIBLE TO PREVENT BEING REAR-ENDED. THE 25 MPH SPEED IS APPROXIMATE AS I WAS DECELERATING. A SIMILAR SITUATION ON A HIGHWAY WHEN TRAFFIC SLOWS DOWN COULD HAVE DRAMATIC CONSEQUENCES, CAUSING A PILE-UP AND POSSIBLY MULTIPLE DEATHS AND INJURIES. I WILL DRIVE THE CAR VERY CAREFULLY TO THE DEALERSHIP TODAY. THE CAR WAS PURCHASED CERTIFIED PRE-OWNED YESTERDAY.

View Details

ENGINE

5/27/2014 - PLYMOUTH, MI
I WAS DRIVING ON AN EXIT RAMP FROM A HIGHWAY, CAR WAS COASTING, AND AS I WAS APPROACHING THE STOP SIGN, I APPLIED THE BREAKS SOFTLY, THE CAR STARTED SLOWING DOWN FURTHER DUE TO BREAKING AND THEN SUDDENLY CAME TO A BRUTAL STOP WITH TIRES SCREECHING. ENGINE WAS STALLED, AUTOMATIC GEAR HAD SHIFTED IN NEUTRAL BY ITSELF, AND THERE WAS A BURNING SMELL IN THE CAR. FORTUNATELY THERE WAS NO CAR BEHIND ME, OTHERWISE IT WOULD HAVE NOT BEEN POSSIBLE TO PREVENT BEING REAR-ENDED. THE 25 MPH SPEED IS APPROXIMATE AS I WAS DECELERATING. A SIMILAR SITUATION ON A HIGHWAY WHEN TRAFFIC SLOWS DOWN COULD HAVE DRAMATIC CONSEQUENCES, CAUSING A PILE-UP AND POSSIBLY MULTIPLE DEATHS AND INJURIES. I WILL DRIVE THE CAR VERY CAREFULLY TO THE DEALERSHIP TODAY. THE CAR WAS PURCHASED CERTIFIED PRE-OWNED YESTERDAY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/27/2014 - PLYMOUTH, MI
I WAS DRIVING ON AN EXIT RAMP FROM A HIGHWAY, CAR WAS COASTING, AND AS I WAS APPROACHING THE STOP SIGN, I APPLIED THE BREAKS SOFTLY, THE CAR STARTED SLOWING DOWN FURTHER DUE TO BREAKING AND THEN SUDDENLY CAME TO A BRUTAL STOP WITH TIRES SCREECHING. ENGINE WAS STALLED, AUTOMATIC GEAR HAD SHIFTED IN NEUTRAL BY ITSELF, AND THERE WAS A BURNING SMELL IN THE CAR. FORTUNATELY THERE WAS NO CAR BEHIND ME, OTHERWISE IT WOULD HAVE NOT BEEN POSSIBLE TO PREVENT BEING REAR-ENDED. THE 25 MPH SPEED IS APPROXIMATE AS I WAS DECELERATING. A SIMILAR SITUATION ON A HIGHWAY WHEN TRAFFIC SLOWS DOWN COULD HAVE DRAMATIC CONSEQUENCES, CAUSING A PILE-UP AND POSSIBLY MULTIPLE DEATHS AND INJURIES. I WILL DRIVE THE CAR VERY CAREFULLY TO THE DEALERSHIP TODAY. THE CAR WAS PURCHASED CERTIFIED PRE-OWNED YESTERDAY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds