Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2012 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 216 complaints filed for the 2012 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (56) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electrical System (28) Exterior Lighting (7) Power Train (34) Steering (24) Vehicle Speed Control (34)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Fuel Propulsion System (10) Seat Belts (6) Structure (17) Visibility (9)
Engine (19) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Seats (10) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (23) Tires (3) Wheels (7)
Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/12/2016 - CHATSWORTH, CA
I HAD BEEN DRIVING ON THE STREET FOR ABOUT 5 MINUTES WITH MY TWO KIDS. I HAD STEPPED ON MY BRAKES A FEW TIMES AND EVERYTHING SEEM TO WORK. SUDDENLY, I NEEDED TO SLOW DOWN AND PRESSED ON MY BRAKE AND THE BRAKE WAS HARD WHERE I COULDN'T STEP DOWN ON IT. IT SEEMED LIKE IT GOT STUCK. I KEPT PRESSING ON IT AND IT DID NOT WORK. I STARTED ZIG ZAGGING BACK AND FORTH ON THE ROAD TRYING TO GET THE CAR TO STOP. I WAS TRYING MY BEST TO CONTROL THE CAR SO I WOULDN'T RUN INTO A HOUSE OR ANOTHER CAR. I SHIFTED THE CAR TO PARK AND THE CAR DID NOT STOP. ALL THIS TIME I KEPT TRYING TO STEP ON THE BRAKE AND NOTHING WOULD HAPPEN. FINALLY, MY LAST RESORT I PULLED THE HAND BRAKE AND THE CAR FINALLY STOPPED. MY CAR GOT VERY DAMAGED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/12/2016 - CHATSWORTH, CA
I HAD BEEN DRIVING ON THE STREET FOR ABOUT 5 MINUTES WITH MY TWO KIDS. I HAD STEPPED ON MY BRAKES A FEW TIMES AND EVERYTHING SEEM TO WORK. SUDDENLY, I NEEDED TO SLOW DOWN AND PRESSED ON MY BRAKE AND THE BRAKE WAS HARD WHERE I COULDN'T STEP DOWN ON IT. IT SEEMED LIKE IT GOT STUCK. I KEPT PRESSING ON IT AND IT DID NOT WORK. I STARTED ZIG ZAGGING BACK AND FORTH ON THE ROAD TRYING TO GET THE CAR TO STOP. I WAS TRYING MY BEST TO CONTROL THE CAR SO I WOULDN'T RUN INTO A HOUSE OR ANOTHER CAR. I SHIFTED THE CAR TO PARK AND THE CAR DID NOT STOP. ALL THIS TIME I KEPT TRYING TO STEP ON THE BRAKE AND NOTHING WOULD HAPPEN. FINALLY, MY LAST RESORT I PULLED THE HAND BRAKE AND THE CAR FINALLY STOPPED. MY CAR GOT VERY DAMAGED.

View Details

WHEELS

8/12/2016 - CHATSWORTH, CA
I HAD BEEN DRIVING ON THE STREET FOR ABOUT 5 MINUTES WITH MY TWO KIDS. I HAD STEPPED ON MY BRAKES A FEW TIMES AND EVERYTHING SEEM TO WORK. SUDDENLY, I NEEDED TO SLOW DOWN AND PRESSED ON MY BRAKE AND THE BRAKE WAS HARD WHERE I COULDN'T STEP DOWN ON IT. IT SEEMED LIKE IT GOT STUCK. I KEPT PRESSING ON IT AND IT DID NOT WORK. I STARTED ZIG ZAGGING BACK AND FORTH ON THE ROAD TRYING TO GET THE CAR TO STOP. I WAS TRYING MY BEST TO CONTROL THE CAR SO I WOULDN'T RUN INTO A HOUSE OR ANOTHER CAR. I SHIFTED THE CAR TO PARK AND THE CAR DID NOT STOP. ALL THIS TIME I KEPT TRYING TO STEP ON THE BRAKE AND NOTHING WOULD HAPPEN. FINALLY, MY LAST RESORT I PULLED THE HAND BRAKE AND THE CAR FINALLY STOPPED. MY CAR GOT VERY DAMAGED.

View Details

WHEELS

7/28/2016 - KANSAS CITY, KS
CHECK TPMS SYSTEM WARNING KEPT COMING BACK AFTER SENSOR HAS BEEN REPLACED TWICE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/26/2016 - MASHPEE, MA
DRIVING UP TO A DRIVE-IN BANK THE CAR SUDDENLY ACCELERATED. I STOPPED THE CAR A FEW FEET BEYOND THE TELLER WINDOW BY A HEAVY APPLICATION OF THE BRAKES. I PUT THE CAR IN REVERSE AND BACKED UP TO THE WINDOW. IN REVERSE THE ENGINE WAS STILL RACING. I PUT THE CAR IN NEUTRAL AND THE ENGINE CONTINUED TO RACE. UPON FINISHING MY BANKING TRANSACTION I PUT THE CAR IN DRIVE. THE ENGINE SLOWED TO A NORMAL IDLE I TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALER FOR SERVICE FOUR DAYS LATER; THE DEALER FOUND NOTHING ABNORMAL.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/26/2016 - MASHPEE, MA
DRIVING UP TO A DRIVE-IN BANK THE CAR SUDDENLY ACCELERATED. I STOPPED THE CAR A FEW FEET BEYOND THE TELLER WINDOW BY A HEAVY APPLICATION OF THE BRAKES. I PUT THE CAR IN REVERSE AND BACKED UP TO THE WINDOW. IN REVERSE THE ENGINE WAS STILL RACING. I PUT THE CAR IN NEUTRAL AND THE ENGINE CONTINUED TO RACE. UPON FINISHING MY BANKING TRANSACTION I PUT THE CAR IN DRIVE. THE ENGINE SLOWED TO A NORMAL IDLE I TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALER FOR SERVICE FOUR DAYS LATER; THE DEALER FOUND NOTHING ABNORMAL.

View Details

STEERING

7/21/2016 - MANKATO, MN
DIFFICULT TO STEER AT BOTH LOW AND HIGH SPEED. A LOT OF RESISTANCE TO TURNING THE WHEEL. TOOK IT TO DEALER WHO COULD FIND NOTHING WRONG, AND WOULD NOT INVESTIGATE FURTHER UNDER WARRANTY. SLIGHTLY MORE THAN 60,000 MILES

View Details

STEERING

7/21/2016 - HUDGINS, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HONDA CIVIC. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH, THE POWER STEERING FAILED WITHOUT WARNING AND THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO TURN. THE VEHICLE WAS MANEUVERED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD WITH CAUTION. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING, BUT THE RESULTS WERE UNKNOWN. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 36,000.

View Details

STEERING

7/15/2016 - LUTHER, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HONDA CIVIC. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED. IN ORDER FOR THE STEERING TO OPERATE, THE CONTACT HAD TO TURN THE IGNITION SWITCH ON AND OFF FOUR TIMES. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED AND THE POWER STEERING RACK WAS REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 35,000.

View Details

STEERING

7/6/2016 - CLEVELAND HEIGHTS, OH
CHECK YOUR POWER STEERING SYSTEM, ERROR MESSAGE CAME ON WHILE STOPPED. AM UNABLE TO STEER MY CAR. CAR IS ONLY A 2012 WITH 23,000 MILES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds