Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2012 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 153 complaints filed for the 2012 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (41) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electrical System (20) Exterior Lighting (6) Power Train (28) Steering (12) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Seat Belts (5) Structure (12) Visibility (9)
Engine (14) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seats (5) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (18) Tires (2) Wheels (1)
Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/19/2015 - FAIRVIEW, OK
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HONDA CIVIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS AN EXTREMELY STRONG ODOR OF FUEL PRESENT AND THERE WAS FUEL LEAKING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED SOME TYPE OF ANIMAL HAD CHEWED A HOLE IN THE FUEL LINES AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/18/2015 - DOWNEY, CA
I HAVE A 2012 HONDA CIVIC AND I TAKE VERY GOOD CARE OF IT. I JUST NOTICED THAT MY STEERING WHEEL HAS A CRACK IN THE MIDDLE OF IT WHERE THE AIRBAG COMES OUT OF. MY VEHICLE HAS NEVER BEEN IN AN ACCIDENT SO FOR THIS TO START CRACKING OUT OF NO WHERE IS VERY UNSAFE. I'VE GONE TO HONDA TO GET IT FIXED AND THEY DON'T WANT TO HELP ME BECAUSE IT'S "NOT A BIG DEAL". MY SAFETY AND MY PASSENGERS SAFETY IS A BIG DEAL TO ME SO I NEED HELP GETTING THIS ISSUE FIXED BY HONDA.

View Details

STEERING

2/18/2015 - DOWNEY, CA
I HAVE A 2012 HONDA CIVIC AND I TAKE VERY GOOD CARE OF IT. I JUST NOTICED THAT MY STEERING WHEEL HAS A CRACK IN THE MIDDLE OF IT WHERE THE AIRBAG COMES OUT OF. MY VEHICLE HAS NEVER BEEN IN AN ACCIDENT SO FOR THIS TO START CRACKING OUT OF NO WHERE IS VERY UNSAFE. I'VE GONE TO HONDA TO GET IT FIXED AND THEY DON'T WANT TO HELP ME BECAUSE IT'S "NOT A BIG DEAL". MY SAFETY AND MY PASSENGERS SAFETY IS A BIG DEAL TO ME SO I NEED HELP GETTING THIS ISSUE FIXED BY HONDA.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/16/2015 - MINNEAPOLIS, MN
WHILE CAR WAS PARKED AND IDLING, I NOTICED FLAMES COMING FROM BACKSEAT CEILING LIGHT. PLASTIC AND FLAMES DRIPPED ONTO THE UPHOLSTERY CATCHING IT ON FIRE AS WELL AS THE CEILING AREA. I WAS ABLE TO EXTINGUISH THE FLAMES WITH A SNOW BRUSH. I IMMEDIATELY CALLED THE HONDA DEALERSHIP IN TOWN AND AM WAITING FOR A TOW TRUCK TO TAKE IT TO THE DEALERSHIP SO THEY CAN DIAGNOSE THE ISSUE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/16/2015 - MINNEAPOLIS, MN
WHILE CAR WAS PARKED AND IDLING, I NOTICED FLAMES COMING FROM BACKSEAT CEILING LIGHT. PLASTIC AND FLAMES DRIPPED ONTO THE UPHOLSTERY CATCHING IT ON FIRE AS WELL AS THE CEILING AREA. I WAS ABLE TO EXTINGUISH THE FLAMES WITH A SNOW BRUSH. I IMMEDIATELY CALLED THE HONDA DEALERSHIP IN TOWN AND AM WAITING FOR A TOW TRUCK TO TAKE IT TO THE DEALERSHIP SO THEY CAN DIAGNOSE THE ISSUE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/13/2015 - SAN FRANCISCO, CA
I AM VERY CONCERNED ABOUT THE TAKATA AIR BAG SITUATION. I QUESTION THE SAFETY OF MY CAR. FORTUNATELY I HAVEN'T HAD AN INCIDENT OR ACCIDENT HOWEVER I AM CONCERNED THAT TAKATA AND HONDA HAVE NOT BEEN FORTHRIGHT & TRANSPARENT IN RE: IDENTIFYING MODELS THAT ARE AT RISK OF FAULTY AIR BAGS. I HAVE CONTACTED HONDA SAN FRANCISCO WHERE I PURCHASED MY CAR AS WELL AS HONDA AMERICA. BECAUSE MY VIN INDICATES NO RECALL, NEITHER HONDA SAN FRANCISCO OR HONDA AMERICA WILL ADDRESS MY CONCERN. I'VE ASKED HONDA SAN FRANCISCO TO CHECK MY CAR FOR CONFIRMATION THAT MY AIR BAGS ARE TAKATA AND IF SO, FOR A SAFETY CHECK AND/OR TO DISCONNECT MY AIR BAG. THEY REFUSED TO DO THE SAFETY CHECK OR DISCONNECT BECAUSE THEY SAID THAT MY CAR WAS NOT PART OF THE CURRENT RECALL. I ASK, WHAT DOES IT TAKE TO GET THIS ADDRESSED? AN ACCIDENT OR DEATH? I WOULD LIKE FURTHER ACTION TO ENSURE THE SAFETY OF ALL CARS WITH TAKATA AIR BAGS. I WELCOME RECOMMENDATIONS FOR FURTHER ACTION.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/11/2015 - HOCKESSIN, DE
I PURCHASED A NEW 2012 HONDA CIVIC LX ON MAY 2012. UNTIL NOV 2014, I HAD DRIVEN THE CAR WITHOUT A PASSENGER. MID NOVEMBER, I TRIED TO TAKE THE CAR ON AN OUT OF TOWN TRIP TO ADD MILEAGE; I WAS THE PASSENGER. A FEW MILES INTO THE TRIP, THE "PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG OFF" INDICATOR LIKE STARTED GOING ON AND OFF. THIS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES. THE LIGHT KEPT GOING ON AND OFF; WE ABORTED THE TRIP IN THIS CAR; AIRBAGS ARE AN INTEGRAL PART OF THE SAFETY SYSTEM.CAR WAS SERVICED AT THE HONDA DEALER ON NOV 18; THEY FOUND NOTHING WRONG; I TOOK THE CAR HOME. I AGAIN TRIED TO RIDE THE PASSENGER SEAT - THE LIGHT WENT OFF MULTIPLE TIMES (10 OR MORE); ONCE AGAIN THE CAR WAS SERVICED BY HONDA ON JAN 7, 2015. AGAIN, I WAS TOLD THE CAR WAS "SAFE" AND THAT I MUST BE TOO LIGHT/PETITE FOR THE AIRBAG, SO THE PASSENGER AIRBAG OFF LIGHT WAS GOING ON AND OFF. MILEAGE WAS NOW 4,307 MILES AND CAR LESS THAN 3 YEARS OLD. PER THE INVOICE "THE SYSTEM OPERATES AS DESIGNED AT THIS TIME. SYSTEM DISABLES SIDE AIR BAG FPOR CUSTOMER SAFETY". I EXPRESSED MY CONCERN TO THE HONDA SERVICE REP. THE CIVIC MANUAL SAYS THE SYSTEM OPERATES WITH PERSON "65 POUNDS" AND UP (I WEIGH 115 LBS). I AM NOW EXPECTED TO DRIVE A CAR THAT I CANNOT USE AS A PASSENGER - AND GET THIS - IT IS FOR "MY PROTECTION" THAT THE AIRBAG IS TURNED OFF. I REPORTED THE SITUATION TO HONDA CORP ON FEB 4 AND OPENED A CASE. AS I WRITE, I AM SCHEDULED TO TAKE THE CAR WITH A TECHNICIANON 2/12 TO SEE IF TECH CAN DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM. ISSUE IS THAT THE INCIDENTS ARE RANDOM AND A TEST DRIVE MAY NOT DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM. I HAVE SEARCHED "CAR COMPLAINTS AND HONDA SITES" AND FOUND MANY OTHER SIMILAR INCIDENTS. I PURCHASED THIS CAR FOR SAFETY AND IN GOOD FAITH ; HONDA WAS PAID A FAIR PRICE. HONDA NEEDS TO DELIVER A CAR THAT WORKS AS ADVERTISED!!!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/9/2015 - PALM BAY, FL
THE TPMS SYSTEM FAILS DESPITE THE FACT THE ALL THE TIRES ARE PROPERLY INFLATED. THIS ILLUMINATES 2 WARNING LIGHTS PLUS ACTIVATE THE INFORMATION CENTER DISPLAY. TWO OF THE SENSORS HAVE BEEN REPLACED BY THE DEALER UNDER WARRANTY BUT THE PROBLEM KEEP OCCURRING.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

2/6/2015 - SCHENECTADY, NY
WHILE DRIVING ON HILLY CITY STREETS DURING A SNOW STORM, THE VEHICLE STABILITY CONTROL AND ABS SYSTEMS ENGAGED, FOLLOWED SHORTLY BY WARNING LIGHTS AND MESSAGES THAT THESE SYSTEMS NEEDED ATTENTION. DESPITE PARKING THE CAR AND TURNING OFF THE ENGINE, A SMALL MOTOR WITHIN THE "ABS MODULATOR CONTROL UNIT" CONTINUED TO OPERATE AND WOULD NOT STOP UNTIL I DISCONNECTED THE BATTERY. THE MODULATOR/CONTROL UNIT HAD TO BE REPLACED WITH A USED UNIT COSTING $280, NOT COUNTING DIAGNOSTIC AND LABOR CHARGES. (TOTAL REPAIR COST: $602.) A NEW UNIT WOULD HAVE COST OVER $1000. THE USED PART CAME WITH A "LIFETIME WARRANTEE." IT SEEMS THAT THE ORIGINAL DEVICE SHOULD HAVE BEEN WARRANTEED BEYOND THE STANDARD 3YR/30,000 MILE LIMIT AS IT IS AN IMPORTANT SAFETY FEATURE. DESPITE SIMILAR COMPLAINTS POSTED ON VARIOUS WEBSITES, THIS PROBLEM HAS NOT BEEN ADDRESSED WITH A RECALL.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/6/2015 - SCHENECTADY, NY
WHILE DRIVING ON HILLY CITY STREETS DURING A SNOW STORM, THE VEHICLE STABILITY CONTROL AND ABS SYSTEMS ENGAGED, FOLLOWED SHORTLY BY WARNING LIGHTS AND MESSAGES THAT THESE SYSTEMS NEEDED ATTENTION. DESPITE PARKING THE CAR AND TURNING OFF THE ENGINE, A SMALL MOTOR WITHIN THE "ABS MODULATOR CONTROL UNIT" CONTINUED TO OPERATE AND WOULD NOT STOP UNTIL I DISCONNECTED THE BATTERY. THE MODULATOR/CONTROL UNIT HAD TO BE REPLACED WITH A USED UNIT COSTING $280, NOT COUNTING DIAGNOSTIC AND LABOR CHARGES. (TOTAL REPAIR COST: $602.) A NEW UNIT WOULD HAVE COST OVER $1000. THE USED PART CAME WITH A "LIFETIME WARRANTEE." IT SEEMS THAT THE ORIGINAL DEVICE SHOULD HAVE BEEN WARRANTEED BEYOND THE STANDARD 3YR/30,000 MILE LIMIT AS IT IS AN IMPORTANT SAFETY FEATURE. DESPITE SIMILAR COMPLAINTS POSTED ON VARIOUS WEBSITES, THIS PROBLEM HAS NOT BEEN ADDRESSED WITH A RECALL.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds