Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2012 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 240 complaints filed for the 2012 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (65) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (12)
Electrical System (31) Exterior Lighting (8) Power Train (35) Steering (28) Vehicle Speed Control (36)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Fuel Propulsion System (11) Seat Belts (7) Structure (18) Visibility (10)
Engine (19) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Seats (10) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (23) Tires (3) Wheels (8)
Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 35
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

10/17/2017 - OLD BRIDGE, NJ
TAKATA RECALL: AIRBAGS DEPLOYED AS CAR WAS PARKED IN MY DRIVE WAY WITH A SOFT TOUCH/CONTACT TO A TRASH BIN. CAR WAS NOT MOVING AT A SPEED OF NO MORE THAN 3 MILES PER HOUR! AT THE SAME TIME THE SEAT BELT IT LOCKED IN AN EXTENDED POSITION. THERE MOST DEFINITELY IS A DEFECT IN THIS AIR BAG AT NO EXPLAINABLE MANNER CAN THIS BE JUSTIFIED AT A REASON TO HAVE AN AIRBAG DEPLOY AT LESS THAN 5 MILE PER HOUR!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/16/2017 - APO, AE
RECENTLY, I STARTED NOTICING MY VEHICLE EXPERIENCING A SLIGHT LOSS OF POWER WHEN ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE, AND A TENDENCY TO OVER-REV, AS WELL AS SPOTTING IN MY PARKING SPACE. THE PROBLEM WAS INTERMITTENT AT FIRST, OCCURRING MAINLY IN THE MORNING. AFTER TWO DAYS, I TOOK IT TO A MECHANIC TO TAKE A LOOK, AND AFTER CLEANING THE UNDERCARRIAGE, HE TOOK IT FOR A TEST DRIVE. UPON ENTERING A ROUNDABOUT, THE VEHICLE LOST ALL DRIVING POWER. HE INSPECTED IT AGAIN, AND FOUND THAT THE FRONT LEFT DRIVE SHAFT HAD SLIPPED OUT OF THE AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION HOUSING, ALLOWING ALL OF THE TRANSMISSION FLUID TO LEAK OUT. WHILE SHOPPING FOR REPLACEMENT PARTS, I FOUND MENTION OF THIS EXACT PROBLEM BEING REPORTED IN THE SAME MAKE, MODEL AND YEAR OF VEHICLES, REQUIRING A RECALL.

View Details

STEERING

10/7/2017 - MONTGOMARY, MD
I STARTED MY PACKED CAR BUT REALIZED THAT THE STEERING WAS SO STIFF/HARD THAT L COULD NOT STEER IT ,AFTER WHICH IT PRODUCED A SHARP SOUND AND L LOST CONTROL OVER THE CAR .I PUMPED MY FOOT BREAKS BUT TO AVAIL ,I MANAGED AND GOT TO A NEIGHBOR DRIVEWAY WHERE I PUT IT ON PACK AND RAISE THE HAND BREAKS .I HAD A WARNING MESSAGE SAYING THAT L SHOULD CHECK POWER STEERING SYSTEM .I TOLLED THE CAR TO A MECHANICS AND THE GUY TOLD ME THAT HE DIDNOT NOT SEE ANY PROBLEM .WHILE ON THE DRIVEWAY ,I STARTED THE CAR AGAIN BUT IT WILL MOVING ON IT OWN ,SO L HAD THREE PEOPLE WHO CAME AND PUSHED FROM BEHIND IN ORDER FOR ME TO PACK IT STRAIGHT. I ALMOST THE HIT THE LADY'S CAR ON HER DRIVEWAY .MY CAR IS STILL WITH THE MECHANIC.

View Details

STEERING

9/30/2017 - POTOMAC, MD
RECENTLY THE ELECTRIC POWER STEERING SYSTEM INDICATOR STARTED TO TURN ON WHILE DRIVING IN THE STREET, WHICH STAYED ON (INCLUDING IN HIGHWAY) UNTIL THE ENGINE WAS TURNED OFF. THIS HAPPENED TWICE WITHOUT NOTICEABLE PROBLEMS FOR THE STEERING WHEEL. LAST WEEK, THE INDICATOR TURNED ON AGAIN ALONG WITH A MESSAGE "CHECK THE POWER STEERING SYSTEM" WHILE DRIVING IN THE LOCAL WAY, AND AT THE SAME TIME THE STEERING WHEEL WAS STIFF AND UNABLE TO MAKE ANY TURN. TO GET RID OF THIS PROBLEM, I HAD TO TURN OFF AND ON THE ENGINE REPEATEDLY. THIS PROBLEM HAPPENED TWICE. I CHECKED THE FUSE FOR EPS (ELECTRONIC POWER STEERING), WHICH LOOKED FINE. I CALLED SEVERAL AUTO SERVICE SHOPS AND THEY SAID THIS PROBLEM IS WEIRD AND THEY WERE UNABLE TO HELP. ALTHOUGH THE CAR IS STILL DRIVABLE, I'M VERY WORRIED ABOUT ITS SAFETY IN DRIVING, ESPECIALLY IN HIGH SPEEDS. I BOUGHT THIS CAR AS AN USED ONE FROM A DEALER 3 YEARS AGO. ALL WARRANTIES HAVE EXPIRED. CURRENTLY THERE ARE NO OPEN SAFETY RECALLS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/13/2017 - COPPELL, TX
THE VEHICLE DISPLAY A MESSAGE STATING, "PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAGS OFF" BOTH AT REST AND IN MOTION. THE MESSAGE APPEARS AND REMAINS ON FOR A FEW SECONDS AND THEN DISAPPEARS. THE HONDA SERVICE TEAM IS UNABLE TO IDENTIFY A FAILURE AS THEY FEEL IT IS WORKING AS DESIGNED. IF A PERSON MOVES WHILE SEATED IN THE PASSENGER SEAT, THIS MESSAGE APPEARS. PER A HONDA REPRESENTATIVE, THIS IS A USER ERROR AS THEY EXPECT A PERSON WILL SIT ENTIRELY STILL FOR THE WHOLE RIDE. ANY MOVEMENT CAN CAUSE THAT MESSAGE TO APPEAR.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

9/1/2017 - HAMPTON, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HONDA CIVIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE PLASTIC GLASS COVER ON THE REAR DRIVER'S SIDE WINDOW WAS MELTING AND CAUSED THE WINDOW TO BECOME BLURRED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR PASSENGER'S SIDE WINDOW WAS BEGINNING TO FAIL IN THE SAME MANNER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWAY OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 100,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/31/2017 - MISSION VIEJO, CA
I WAS STOPPED IN TRAFFIC WHEN ALL OF A SUDDEN THE CAR TRIED TO ACCELERATE EVEN THOUGH MY FOOT WAS FIRM ON THE BRAKE PEDAL. I HAD TO "STAND" ON THE BRAKE PEDAL AND I IMMEDIATELY SHIFTED INTO PARK. THE ENGINE REACHED A VERY HIGH RPM UNTIL I JIGGLED THE ACCELERATION PEDAL. THEN THE ENGINE ACTED NORMALLY. THE ECO WAS NOT ENGAGED AND THE CRUISE CONTROL WAS NOT ENGAGED. MILEAGE IS 40,078 MILES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/1/2017 - NIAGARA FALLS, NY
THE CHECK TPMS SYSTEM WARNING LIGHT COME ON AND OFF IRREGULARLY. SOMETIMES FOR A FEW DAYS THEN OFF FOR A DAY, THEN ON AGAIN. TIRES AND PRESSURES ARE FINE. NO LEAKS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/16/2017 - STRATFORD, NJ
IT WAS AROUND 30000 MILES WHEN THE "CHECK AIRBAG SYSTEM" STARTS FLASHING EVERY NOW AND THEN. SOMETIMES IT TELLS ME THE PASSENGER AIRBAG IS OFF. I DON'T KNOW WHY AND MY CAR NEVER GOT INTO ANY KIND OF ACCIDENT NOR A CRASH. IT JUST KEEPS ON BLINKING FLUKE EVERY 2 MINUTES AND IT'S REALLY ANNOYING. THIS HAPPENS EVERY TIME AND IT DOESN'T MATTER IF IM MOVING OR NOT.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/23/2017 - SANTA ANA, CA
GOT A CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON AND IT SAYS SOMETHING TO DO WITH FLUKE TANK.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 35
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds