Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2012 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 270 complaints filed for the 2012 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (84) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (15)
Electrical System (33) Exterior Lighting (8) Power Train (37) Steering (34) Vehicle Speed Control (37)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Fuel Propulsion System (12) Seat Belts (8) Structure (18) Visibility (10)
Engine (20) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Seats (11) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (25) Tires (3) Wheels (9)
Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 39
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

4/3/2018 - FORT WAYNE, IN
DRIVING BACK HOME FROM WORK, CHECK POWER STEERING LIGHT CAME ON. DIFFICULT TO DRIVE HOME. NEXT DAY I STARTED MY CAR, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT IS NOT DISPLAYING.

View Details

ENGINE

4/3/2018 - SAN FRANCISCO, CA
THE CAR RANDOMLY DISPLAYS A CHECK EMISSIONS SYSTEM AND CHECK TRANSMISSION SYSTEMS ERROR ON THE DASHBOARD WHILE DRIVING. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON AND THE "D" INDICATOR ON THE DISPLAY FLASHES. WHEN THE CHECK TRANSMISSION SYSTEMS ERROR DISPLAYS THE CAR DOES NOT SHIFT AS IT SHOULD. I TOOK IT TO MY MECHANIC AND HE COULDN'T FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH THE ENGINE OR TRANSMISSION, AND NO ERROR CODES CAME UP ON HIS COMPUTER. I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAID A SOFTWARE UPDATE IS NEEDED. I AM CONCERNED ABOUT WEAR AND TEAR ON THE ENGINE AND/OR TRANSMISSION DUE TO THESE ISSUES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/3/2018 - SAN FRANCISCO, CA
THE CAR RANDOMLY DISPLAYS A CHECK EMISSIONS SYSTEM AND CHECK TRANSMISSION SYSTEMS ERROR ON THE DASHBOARD WHILE DRIVING. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON AND THE "D" INDICATOR ON THE DISPLAY FLASHES. WHEN THE CHECK TRANSMISSION SYSTEMS ERROR DISPLAYS THE CAR DOES NOT SHIFT AS IT SHOULD. I TOOK IT TO MY MECHANIC AND HE COULDN'T FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH THE ENGINE OR TRANSMISSION, AND NO ERROR CODES CAME UP ON HIS COMPUTER. I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAID A SOFTWARE UPDATE IS NEEDED. I AM CONCERNED ABOUT WEAR AND TEAR ON THE ENGINE AND/OR TRANSMISSION DUE TO THESE ISSUES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/3/2018 - SAN FRANCISCO, CA
THE CAR RANDOMLY DISPLAYS A CHECK EMISSIONS SYSTEM AND CHECK TRANSMISSION SYSTEMS ERROR ON THE DASHBOARD WHILE DRIVING. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON AND THE "D" INDICATOR ON THE DISPLAY FLASHES. WHEN THE CHECK TRANSMISSION SYSTEMS ERROR DISPLAYS THE CAR DOES NOT SHIFT AS IT SHOULD. I TOOK IT TO MY MECHANIC AND HE COULDN'T FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH THE ENGINE OR TRANSMISSION, AND NO ERROR CODES CAME UP ON HIS COMPUTER. I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY SAID A SOFTWARE UPDATE IS NEEDED. I AM CONCERNED ABOUT WEAR AND TEAR ON THE ENGINE AND/OR TRANSMISSION DUE TO THESE ISSUES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/25/2018 - NORTH EAST, MD
WHEN THE PASSENGER SIDE DOOR ARM REST IS LEANED ON, THE DASHBOARD SIMULATES "DOOR OPEN" AND THE INTERIOR LIGHT COMES ON. THIS HAPPENS WHEN SITTING STILL OR MOVING.

View Details

STEERING

2/27/2018 - WINDBER, PA
I LEFT THE HOUSE TO PICK UP MY DAUGHTER FROM DAYCARE. LEFT THE HOUSE TO THE DAYCARE AND EVERYTHING WAS FINE. WHEN I LEFT THE DAYCARE, STARTED THE CAR EVERYTHING WAS GOOD UNTIL I WENT TO TURN THE WHEEL TO GET ONTO THE MAIN ROAD AND I RECEIVED THE WARNING LIGHT ON THE DASH THAT SAID "CHECK POWER STEERING SYSTEM". NEEDLESS TO SAY, MY POWER STEERING WAS GONE. I BACKED UP, WITH TURNING THE WHEEL HARD, AND TURNED THE CAR OFF HOPING IT WAS FLUKE. TURNED THE CAR BACK ON AND SAME ISSUE. SINCE I DON'T LIVE TOO FAR FROM THE DAYCARE, I DID DRIVE HOME WITH MY DAUGHTER IN THE CAR. PULLED IN DRIVEWAY AND TURNED CAR OFF AND ON A FEW TIMES AND STILL AN ISSUE. DROVE TO LOCAL MAINTENANCE SHOP TO INVESTIGATE- THEY DIDN'T GET TO IT UNTIL NEXT DAY.....NO ISSUES WHEN THEY STARTED THE CAR! APPEARS OTHERS HAVE HAD THIS SAME ISSUE. I MAY TAKE TO LOCAL HONDA DEALER FOR FURTHER DIAGNOSIS IF ISSUE PERSISTS, BUT I DON'T WANT POWER STEERING TO GO ON THE MIDDLE OF THE HIGHWAY WHEN HITTING 65 MILES / HOUR! BELIEVE THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE FOR HONDA TO INVESTIGATE.

View Details

STEERING

2/12/2018 - MILWAUKEE, WI
STARTED CAR IN MORNING AND A LIGHT CAME ON TO "CHECK POWER STEERING SYSTEM". BROUGHT CAR IN TO BE CHECKED AND POWERS STEERING RACK OF PINION IS MISSING A PIECE (WAS EITHER NEVER IN PLACE OR FELL OUT). HONDA DEALERSHIP UNWILLING TO COVER ANY COST BECAUSE THE CAR WAS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/10/2018 - FLORIDA, NY
FROM THE TIME I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE IT+S BEEN SHOWING THE AIR BAG LIGHT AND THE DEALER STAYED IT+S THE SENSORS BEHIND THE SEAT THAT ARE DEFECTIVE. THEY REPLACED THE SENSORS AND CONTINUED HAPPENING DIDN+T WORRY ABOUT IT BECAUSE CAR ALWAYS PASSED STATE INSPECTION. I WENT BACK TO THE DEALER AND THE DEALER STATED IT+S THE SAME PROBLEM AND IT+S OUT OF WARRANTY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/9/2018 - MURRIETA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2012 HONDA CIVIC. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED AND TRAVELED TO THE FLOORBOARD. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE REAR ENDED ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE DRIVER'S AIR BAG DEPLOYED AND CAUSED IRRITATION TO THE FACE. NO MEDICAL ATTENTION WAS REQUIRED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED BY THE INSURANCE COMPANY WHO ADVISED HIM TO HAVE THE VEHICLE INSPECTED FOR THE BRAKE FAILURE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT DIAMOND VALLEY HONDA (300 CARRIAGE CIR, HEMET, CA 92545 (888) 794-1620) WAS CONTACTED, BUT DECLINED TO INSPECT THE VEHICLE DUE TO THE BODY DAMAGE AND AIR BAG DEPLOYMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THERE WAS A LEAK IN THE BRAKE LINE AND THE BRAKE LINE NEEDED REPLACEMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED DUE TO BEING DEEMED A TOTAL LOSS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 134,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/8/2018 - EAST ROCKAWAY, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HONDA CIVIC. WHILE THE CONTACT'S DAUGHTER WAS DRIVING 50 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AND THE POWER STEERING WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED WITH A POWER STEERING AND ELECTRICAL FAILURE. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE POWER STEERING COLUMN NEEDED REPLACEMENT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED DUE TO COST AND BELIEVED THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL. THE HONDA MANUFACTURER AND LOCAL DEALER (MILLENNIUM HONDA, 286 N FRANKLIN ST, HEMPSTEAD, NY 11550, (516) 481-2800) WERE CONTACTED AND INFORMED THE CONTACT OF NO OPEN RECALLS. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 39
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds