Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2012 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 156 complaints filed for the 2012 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (41) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (7)
Electrical System (20) Exterior Lighting (6) Power Train (28) Steering (13) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Seat Belts (5) Structure (12) Visibility (9)
Engine (14) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Seats (5) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (19) Tires (2) Wheels (2)
Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

3/14/2015 - WETUMPKA, AL
WAS DRIVING AROUND 50 MPH WHEN THE LIGHT CHANGED CHANGED TO YELLOW, WHEN I TRIED TO PUT ON BRAKES THEY WERE GONE AND THE STEERING WAS GONE ALSO, I DID SEE A ERROR MESSAGE THAT STATED TO CHECK POWER STEERING I WAS ABLE TO TURN THE CAR INTO A PARKING LOT INSTEAD OF GOING THROUGH THE LIGHT. I CUT OFF THE CAR AND RE-STARTED THE CAR AND THE MESSAGE AND THE CHECK STEERING LIGHT WERE GONE. IT WAS AS IF THE CAR LOST POWER. I PUT MY VIN IN HONDA'S WEB SITE TO CHECK FOR A RECALL AND THERE WERE NOT ANY. THIS COULD CAUSE FATAL ACCIDENTS.

View Details

STEERING

3/14/2015 - WETUMPKA, AL
WAS DRIVING AROUND 50 MPH WHEN THE LIGHT CHANGED CHANGED TO YELLOW, WHEN I TRIED TO PUT ON BRAKES THEY WERE GONE AND THE STEERING WAS GONE ALSO, I DID SEE A ERROR MESSAGE THAT STATED TO CHECK POWER STEERING I WAS ABLE TO TURN THE CAR INTO A PARKING LOT INSTEAD OF GOING THROUGH THE LIGHT. I CUT OFF THE CAR AND RE-STARTED THE CAR AND THE MESSAGE AND THE CHECK STEERING LIGHT WERE GONE. IT WAS AS IF THE CAR LOST POWER. I PUT MY VIN IN HONDA'S WEB SITE TO CHECK FOR A RECALL AND THERE WERE NOT ANY. THIS COULD CAUSE FATAL ACCIDENTS.

View Details

WHEELS

3/12/2015 - MANCHESTER, MD
I WAS TRAVELING ON ELKRIDGE LANDING ROAD AND MERGED RIGHT ONTO THE RAMP THAT MERGES TO WEST NURSERY ROAD. THE RAMP HAS A POT HOLE WHICH BASED ON ITS PLACEMENT IS EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO COMPLETELY MISS, I RAN OVER IT WITH MY FRONT DRIVER SIDE WHEEL. THE IMPACT IMMEDIATELY FLATTENED MY TIRE. I WAS FORCED TO GET THE CAR TOWED TO THE CLOSEST SHOP AND I HAD TO PAY FOR A NEW WHEEL AS WELL AS THE DIAGNOSTICS TO ENSURE ITS COMPLETION. I HAVE A BILL IN HAND FOR $296.26 WHICH I FEEL STRONGLY THAT I SHOULD BE COMPENSATED FOR AS THE PAYMENT WAS 100% THE RESULT OF THE CONDITION OF THE ROAD. I DO NOT SEE ANY OPTION FOR UPLOADING AN IMAGE OF THE BILL; HOWEVER, I AM MORE THAN WILLING TO SUBMIT A COPY OF IT IF NEED BE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/4/2015 - APEX, NC
ON THE FIRST OCCASION, UPON TURNING THE KEY TO START THE ENGINE THERE WAS NO IGNITION. I TURNED THE KEY OFF AND TRIED IT AGAIN AND THE ENGINE STARTED SO I THOUGHT IT JUST MY IMAGINATION PLAYING TRICKS ON ME. ABOUT SIX MONTHS LATER, THIS OCCURRED AGAIN AND IT TOOK NUMEROUS TURNS OF THE KEY TO START THE CAR. HONDA INSPECTED THE CAR AND REPORTED NOTHING WRONG. ON THE NEXT OCCASSION, I LEFT THE CAR WITH HONDA FOR A WEEK. THE RELATIVELY NEW LOANER CAR (HONDA CROSSTOUR) GAVE ME THE SAME PROBLEM ONE DAY WHILE MY CAR WAS BEING INSPECTED. I PRESENTED VIDEO TO THE SERVICE MANAGER WHEN I PICKED MY CAR UP AND RECEIVED THE SAME DUMBFOUNDED LOOK I HAD BEEN GETTING ALL ALONG FROM THE SERVICE REPS AT CARY, NC AUTOPARK HONDA. UPON PICKING MY CAR UP, I WAS TOLD THEY HAD FOUND A TECHLINE REFERENCE CONCERNING OCCASIONAL STARTER ISSUES WITH SOME OF THE NEWER HONDAS. THEY WOULD NOT PROVIDE A COPY UPON MY REQUEST, BUT THEY DID CHANGE OUT THE STARTER. WHEN I CONTACTED AMERICAN HONDA, MY REQUEST TO GET THIS CHANGE OF STARTER AND THE ISSUE IN WRITING FOR POTENTIAL PROBLEMS IN THE FUTURE, THE REQUEST WAS DENIED AND I WAS TOLD ALL MY FILES ARE SAVED BY HONDA AND THAT IF ANY NEEDS WERE TO ARISE IN THE FUTURE, THEY WOULD EVALUATE COVERAGE FOR THE REPAIR. ON A SEPARATE OCCASSION (BATTERY WOULDN'T CHARGE PROPERLY), I WAS TOLD (AFTER THE UPDATE) THAT THE CHARGING FREQUENCY SOFTWARE HAD TO BE UPDATED AND THAT IT WOULD ONLY COST ME $60. I WAS QUITE IRRITATED WITH HONDA TRYING TO MAKE ME PAY FOR THE SUB-PAR SOFTWARE ENGINEERING AT THE MANUFACTURING LEVEL AND REFUSED TO PAY A DIME. IT IS A SHAME HONDA SEEMS TO BE CONTENT WITH SINKING TO THE DEPTHS OF OTHER CAR MANUFACTURERS, AND I WILL BE LOOKING AT OTHER MAKES NEXT TIME AS HONDA IS NO LONGER THE COMPANY I HAD BELIEVED IT WAS. IT IS A REAL SHAME WHEN LOYAL CUSTOMERS ARE TREATED LIKE THEY ARE NOT NEEDED FOR THE CONTINUED SUCCESS OF HONDA. OH WELL!

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/19/2015 - FAIRVIEW, OK
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HONDA CIVIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS AN EXTREMELY STRONG ODOR OF FUEL PRESENT AND THERE WAS FUEL LEAKING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED SOME TYPE OF ANIMAL HAD CHEWED A HOLE IN THE FUEL LINES AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000.

View Details

STEERING

2/18/2015 - DOWNEY, CA
I HAVE A 2012 HONDA CIVIC AND I TAKE VERY GOOD CARE OF IT. I JUST NOTICED THAT MY STEERING WHEEL HAS A CRACK IN THE MIDDLE OF IT WHERE THE AIRBAG COMES OUT OF. MY VEHICLE HAS NEVER BEEN IN AN ACCIDENT SO FOR THIS TO START CRACKING OUT OF NO WHERE IS VERY UNSAFE. I'VE GONE TO HONDA TO GET IT FIXED AND THEY DON'T WANT TO HELP ME BECAUSE IT'S "NOT A BIG DEAL". MY SAFETY AND MY PASSENGERS SAFETY IS A BIG DEAL TO ME SO I NEED HELP GETTING THIS ISSUE FIXED BY HONDA.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/18/2015 - DOWNEY, CA
I HAVE A 2012 HONDA CIVIC AND I TAKE VERY GOOD CARE OF IT. I JUST NOTICED THAT MY STEERING WHEEL HAS A CRACK IN THE MIDDLE OF IT WHERE THE AIRBAG COMES OUT OF. MY VEHICLE HAS NEVER BEEN IN AN ACCIDENT SO FOR THIS TO START CRACKING OUT OF NO WHERE IS VERY UNSAFE. I'VE GONE TO HONDA TO GET IT FIXED AND THEY DON'T WANT TO HELP ME BECAUSE IT'S "NOT A BIG DEAL". MY SAFETY AND MY PASSENGERS SAFETY IS A BIG DEAL TO ME SO I NEED HELP GETTING THIS ISSUE FIXED BY HONDA.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/16/2015 - MINNEAPOLIS, MN
WHILE CAR WAS PARKED AND IDLING, I NOTICED FLAMES COMING FROM BACKSEAT CEILING LIGHT. PLASTIC AND FLAMES DRIPPED ONTO THE UPHOLSTERY CATCHING IT ON FIRE AS WELL AS THE CEILING AREA. I WAS ABLE TO EXTINGUISH THE FLAMES WITH A SNOW BRUSH. I IMMEDIATELY CALLED THE HONDA DEALERSHIP IN TOWN AND AM WAITING FOR A TOW TRUCK TO TAKE IT TO THE DEALERSHIP SO THEY CAN DIAGNOSE THE ISSUE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/16/2015 - MINNEAPOLIS, MN
WHILE CAR WAS PARKED AND IDLING, I NOTICED FLAMES COMING FROM BACKSEAT CEILING LIGHT. PLASTIC AND FLAMES DRIPPED ONTO THE UPHOLSTERY CATCHING IT ON FIRE AS WELL AS THE CEILING AREA. I WAS ABLE TO EXTINGUISH THE FLAMES WITH A SNOW BRUSH. I IMMEDIATELY CALLED THE HONDA DEALERSHIP IN TOWN AND AM WAITING FOR A TOW TRUCK TO TAKE IT TO THE DEALERSHIP SO THEY CAN DIAGNOSE THE ISSUE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/13/2015 - SAN FRANCISCO, CA
I AM VERY CONCERNED ABOUT THE TAKATA AIR BAG SITUATION. I QUESTION THE SAFETY OF MY CAR. FORTUNATELY I HAVEN'T HAD AN INCIDENT OR ACCIDENT HOWEVER I AM CONCERNED THAT TAKATA AND HONDA HAVE NOT BEEN FORTHRIGHT & TRANSPARENT IN RE: IDENTIFYING MODELS THAT ARE AT RISK OF FAULTY AIR BAGS. I HAVE CONTACTED HONDA SAN FRANCISCO WHERE I PURCHASED MY CAR AS WELL AS HONDA AMERICA. BECAUSE MY VIN INDICATES NO RECALL, NEITHER HONDA SAN FRANCISCO OR HONDA AMERICA WILL ADDRESS MY CONCERN. I'VE ASKED HONDA SAN FRANCISCO TO CHECK MY CAR FOR CONFIRMATION THAT MY AIR BAGS ARE TAKATA AND IF SO, FOR A SAFETY CHECK AND/OR TO DISCONNECT MY AIR BAG. THEY REFUSED TO DO THE SAFETY CHECK OR DISCONNECT BECAUSE THEY SAID THAT MY CAR WAS NOT PART OF THE CURRENT RECALL. I ASK, WHAT DOES IT TAKE TO GET THIS ADDRESSED? AN ACCIDENT OR DEATH? I WOULD LIKE FURTHER ACTION TO ENSURE THE SAFETY OF ALL CARS WITH TAKATA AIR BAGS. I WELCOME RECOMMENDATIONS FOR FURTHER ACTION.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds