Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2012 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 133 complaints filed for the 2012 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (29) Equipment Adaptive (1) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electrical System (15) Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (27) Steering (9) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Seat Belts (3) Structure (10) Visibility (9)
Engine (12) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (4) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (16) Tires (2) Wheels (1)
Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/22/2014 - PACIFIC GROVE, CA
SENSE THE DATE OF PURCHASE THE NOISE LEVEL FROM THE ROAD SURFACE INSIDE THE CAR HAS BEEN VARY LOUD. I DOWN LOADED A DB APP IN OUR IPHONE AND HAVE MEASURED SOUND LEVELS ABOVE 90DB. ON OUR RECENT VACATION ON HIGHWAY 197 BETWEEN THE DALLES AND BEND OR WHICH HAD BEEN JUST TAR&GRAVELED THE NOISE LEVEL WAS IN THE 90DB+ RANGE FOR CLOSE TO 4 HOURS. THIS NOISE LEVEL IS HAZARDOUS FOR ADULTS BUT EXTREMELY DANGEROUS FOR INFANTS AND YOUNG CHILDREN. I COMPLAINED TO THE DEALER AND THEY BLAMED THE TIRES (WHICH ARE THE ORIGINALS), BUT THEY DID NOT REPLACE THEM. IT'S ILLEGAL FOR THE DRIVER TO WEAR HEAD PHONES OR EAR PLUGS IN CA. THE CAR SHOULD NOT REALLY ON SPECIAL TIRES TO MAINTAIN AN EXCEPT-ABLE NOISE LEVEL IN THE PASSENGER COMPARTMENT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/21/2014 - WASHINGTON, DC
WHEN I GO OUT TO START MY VEHICLE IT WILL NOT TURN OVER. I HAVE HAD THE BATTERY TESTED, ALTERNATOR, HARNESS BUT HAVE BEEN ASSURED THAT THESE TEST OUT POSITIVE. I WENT ONLINE AND READ THAT A LOT OF PEOPLE WITH 2012 HONDA CIVICS ARE HAVING THE SAME EXPERIENCE AND GO THROUGH THE SAME PROCESS AS I WITH NO RELIEF. SOME DESCRIBE SITUATIONS THAT ARE MORE FRIGHTENING THAN MINE SUCH AS DRIVING ALONG AND ALL THE PANEL LIGHTS COME ON AND THEN DIE AND THE CAR QUITS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/21/2014 - WASHINGTON, DC
WHEN I GO OUT TO START MY VEHICLE IT WILL NOT TURN OVER. I HAVE HAD THE BATTERY TESTED, ALTERNATOR, HARNESS BUT HAVE BEEN ASSURED THAT THESE TEST OUT POSITIVE. I WENT ONLINE AND READ THAT A LOT OF PEOPLE WITH 2012 HONDA CIVICS ARE HAVING THE SAME EXPERIENCE AND GO THROUGH THE SAME PROCESS AS I WITH NO RELIEF. SOME DESCRIBE SITUATIONS THAT ARE MORE FRIGHTENING THAN MINE SUCH AS DRIVING ALONG AND ALL THE PANEL LIGHTS COME ON AND THEN DIE AND THE CAR QUITS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/21/2014 - WASHINGTON, DC
WHEN I GO OUT TO START MY VEHICLE IT WILL NOT TURN OVER. I HAVE HAD THE BATTERY TESTED, ALTERNATOR, HARNESS BUT HAVE BEEN ASSURED THAT THESE TEST OUT POSITIVE. I WENT ONLINE AND READ THAT A LOT OF PEOPLE WITH 2012 HONDA CIVICS ARE HAVING THE SAME EXPERIENCE AND GO THROUGH THE SAME PROCESS AS I WITH NO RELIEF. SOME DESCRIBE SITUATIONS THAT ARE MORE FRIGHTENING THAN MINE SUCH AS DRIVING ALONG AND ALL THE PANEL LIGHTS COME ON AND THEN DIE AND THE CAR QUITS.

View Details

ENGINE

10/16/2014 - WHITE LAKE, MI
ENGINE IS CONSUMING OIL, I CHECK MY OIL EVERY TWO WEEKS AND HAVE TO ADD OIL. GENERALLY 1/2 TO 3/4 A QUART A MONTH. THERE IS NO OIL IS ON THE DRIVE WAY OR ON THE UNDER CARRIAGE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/4/2014 - UPLAND, CA
DRIVERSIDE REAR BRAKE PADS AND ROTOR EXCESSIVE WEAR MORE THAN FRONT DISC BRAKES. USUALLY THE FRONT DISC BRAKE PADS HAVE TO BE REPLACED BEFORE THE REAR.

View Details

SEATS

9/29/2014 - CLEARWATER, FL
2012 CIVIC SEAT ISSUE - I HAD A 2008 CIVIC COUPE. THIS CAR WAS GREAT. THE SEAT, FOR ME WAS VERY COMFORTABLE. A COUPLE OF WEEKS AGO, IT WAS TOTALED IN A CAR CRASH AND I REPLACED IT WITH A 2012 CIVIC SEDAN. THE SEATS LOOK THE SAME AS THE 2008, BUT NOT AT ALL COMFORTABLE. MY BACK HURTS AFTER JUST 10 MINUTES OF DRIVING. THE SEAT IS HARD ON THE BOTTOM AND THE BACK, NOT CURVED PROPERLY TO MY BACK AND NO MATTER WHAT POSITION OR SETTING I TRY, IT HURTS. THE DEALER REFUSES TO REPLACE IT STATING THAT IT IS NOT DEFECTIVE AND A NEW ONE WILL NOT SOLVE THE PROBLEM. I WANT MY 2008 SEAT BACK. I DON'T KNOW HOW LONG I CAN PUT UP WITH THIS. I GUESS I WILL HAVE TO SELL THE CAR SOON.

View Details

STEERING

9/22/2014 - CARY, NC
THE POWER STEERING IS OFF WHEN MAKING TURNS. THE ENGINE HAS TO BE RESTARTED TO RECOVER THE POWER STEERING.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/12/2014 - DENVER, CO
THE PASSENGER AIR BAG TURNS OFF WHEN THERE IS SOMEONE IN THE SEAT. THE PASSENGER IS NOT NEAR THE WEIGHT MINIMUM, AND THERE IS NOTHING IN THE BACK SEAT POCKET THAT MIGHT DISTURB THE SENSOR. THEY ALSO ARE NOT MOVING AROUND. I AM ALSO NOT AWARE OF BEING ABLE TO KEEP THE AIRBAG ON OR MANUALLY TURNING IT BACK ON.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/6/2014 - WETHERSFIELD, CT
TWICE I WAS STOPPED AND FOOT ON BRAKE. CAR ROLLED INTO CAR UP FRONT. MY FOOT WAS STILL ON THE BRAKE. I READ THAT OTHER PEOPLE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM. MY INSURANCE PAID FOR ONE AUTO AND THE OTHER LET IT GO.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds