Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2012 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 138 complaints filed for the 2012 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (33) Equipment Adaptive (2) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (15) Exterior Lighting (5) Power Train (27) Steering (9) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Seat Belts (4) Structure (10) Visibility (9)
Engine (12) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (5) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (15) Tires (2) Wheels (1)
Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/21/2014 - FAIRFAX, CA
ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS UPON TURNING THE KEY TO START THE ENGINE THERE IS NO IGNITION. I TURN THE KEY OFF AND TRY IT AGAIN AND THE SECOND TIME THE ENGINE STARTS.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

11/14/2014 - BLOUNTVILLE, TN
DRIVING THROUGH PARKING LOT AT ABOUT 3 MILES AN HOUR PEDESTRIAN STEPPED IN FRONT OF THE VEHICLE I DO APPLY THE BRAKES UPON DOING SO THE DRIVER SIDE AIRBAG IN THE STEERING COLUMN DEPLOYED. THERE WAS NO CONTACT WITH ANY OTHER VEHICLE NO DAMAGE WHATSOEVER TO THE CAR OTHER THAN THE AIRBAG SEATBELT DEPLOYING. TOOK THE CAR TO THE LOCAL HONDA DEALERSHIP A REPRESENTATIVE FROM HONDA AMERICA LOOKED UP THE CAR AND SAID SINCE THERE WAS A SCRATCH ON THE BUMPER PROBABLY FROM A SHOPPING CART, THAT THERE WAS SUFFICIENT EVIDENCE TO SAY THAT THE AIRBAG SHOULD'VE WENT OFF. HONDA REFUSES TO TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE REPAIRS FOR THIS VEHICLE THAT IS NOW UNSAFE BUT ON THE ROAD.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/14/2014 - BLOUNTVILLE, TN
DRIVING THROUGH PARKING LOT AT ABOUT 3 MILES AN HOUR PEDESTRIAN STEPPED IN FRONT OF THE VEHICLE I DO APPLY THE BRAKES UPON DOING SO THE DRIVER SIDE AIRBAG IN THE STEERING COLUMN DEPLOYED. THERE WAS NO CONTACT WITH ANY OTHER VEHICLE NO DAMAGE WHATSOEVER TO THE CAR OTHER THAN THE AIRBAG SEATBELT DEPLOYING. TOOK THE CAR TO THE LOCAL HONDA DEALERSHIP A REPRESENTATIVE FROM HONDA AMERICA LOOKED UP THE CAR AND SAID SINCE THERE WAS A SCRATCH ON THE BUMPER PROBABLY FROM A SHOPPING CART, THAT THERE WAS SUFFICIENT EVIDENCE TO SAY THAT THE AIRBAG SHOULD'VE WENT OFF. HONDA REFUSES TO TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE REPAIRS FOR THIS VEHICLE THAT IS NOW UNSAFE BUT ON THE ROAD.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/12/2014 - ASBURY PARK, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HONDA CIVIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE AT A STOP, ANOTHER VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE DRIVER SIDE OF THE CONTACT+S VEHICLE. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED A LACERATION TO THE RIGHT LEG AND MULTIPLE FRACTURES TO THE PELVIS WHICH REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE CONTACT BELIEVED THAT ALL THE INJURIES SUSTAINED WERE CAUSED BY THE AIR BAGS DEPLOYING. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 25,210.

View Details

SEATS

11/8/2014 - SHELBY TWP., MI
EVERY NOW AND THEN AT RANDOM TIMES, SPEEDS,ETC. THE WARNING LIGHT THAT SAYS "PASSENGER AIRBAG OFF" COMES ON. THIS HAPPENS WHEN SOMEONE WEIGHING AS MUCH AS 145 LBS. IS SITTING IN THAT SEAT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/8/2014 - SHELBY TWP., MI
EVERY NOW AND THEN AT RANDOM TIMES, SPEEDS,ETC. THE WARNING LIGHT THAT SAYS "PASSENGER AIRBAG OFF" COMES ON. THIS HAPPENS WHEN SOMEONE WEIGHING AS MUCH AS 145 LBS. IS SITTING IN THAT SEAT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/28/2014 - PORTERVILLE , CA
I JUST NOTICED THAT EVERYTIME I HAVE A LIGHTWEIGHT PASSENGER LET US SAY 120 LBS AND BELOW, SITTING ON THE PASSENGER'S SEAT ON MY RIGHT A WARNING WOULD APPEAR ON THE CONSOLE THAT SAYS "AIR BAG PASSENGER" WHAT IS THAT MEAN? IT MAKES ME WORRIED. DOES THAT WARNING SUPPOSE TO APPEAR THERE? PLEASE ADVISE. THANK YOU.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/22/2014 - PACIFIC GROVE, CA
SENSE THE DATE OF PURCHASE THE NOISE LEVEL FROM THE ROAD SURFACE INSIDE THE CAR HAS BEEN VARY LOUD. I DOWN LOADED A DB APP IN OUR IPHONE AND HAVE MEASURED SOUND LEVELS ABOVE 90DB. ON OUR RECENT VACATION ON HIGHWAY 197 BETWEEN THE DALLES AND BEND OR WHICH HAD BEEN JUST TAR&GRAVELED THE NOISE LEVEL WAS IN THE 90DB+ RANGE FOR CLOSE TO 4 HOURS. THIS NOISE LEVEL IS HAZARDOUS FOR ADULTS BUT EXTREMELY DANGEROUS FOR INFANTS AND YOUNG CHILDREN. I COMPLAINED TO THE DEALER AND THEY BLAMED THE TIRES (WHICH ARE THE ORIGINALS), BUT THEY DID NOT REPLACE THEM. IT'S ILLEGAL FOR THE DRIVER TO WEAR HEAD PHONES OR EAR PLUGS IN CA. THE CAR SHOULD NOT REALLY ON SPECIAL TIRES TO MAINTAIN AN EXCEPT-ABLE NOISE LEVEL IN THE PASSENGER COMPARTMENT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/21/2014 - WASHINGTON, DC
WHEN I GO OUT TO START MY VEHICLE IT WILL NOT TURN OVER. I HAVE HAD THE BATTERY TESTED, ALTERNATOR, HARNESS BUT HAVE BEEN ASSURED THAT THESE TEST OUT POSITIVE. I WENT ONLINE AND READ THAT A LOT OF PEOPLE WITH 2012 HONDA CIVICS ARE HAVING THE SAME EXPERIENCE AND GO THROUGH THE SAME PROCESS AS I WITH NO RELIEF. SOME DESCRIBE SITUATIONS THAT ARE MORE FRIGHTENING THAN MINE SUCH AS DRIVING ALONG AND ALL THE PANEL LIGHTS COME ON AND THEN DIE AND THE CAR QUITS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/21/2014 - WASHINGTON, DC
WHEN I GO OUT TO START MY VEHICLE IT WILL NOT TURN OVER. I HAVE HAD THE BATTERY TESTED, ALTERNATOR, HARNESS BUT HAVE BEEN ASSURED THAT THESE TEST OUT POSITIVE. I WENT ONLINE AND READ THAT A LOT OF PEOPLE WITH 2012 HONDA CIVICS ARE HAVING THE SAME EXPERIENCE AND GO THROUGH THE SAME PROCESS AS I WITH NO RELIEF. SOME DESCRIBE SITUATIONS THAT ARE MORE FRIGHTENING THAN MINE SUCH AS DRIVING ALONG AND ALL THE PANEL LIGHTS COME ON AND THEN DIE AND THE CAR QUITS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds