Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2012 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 225 complaints filed for the 2012 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (60) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (11)
Electrical System (30) Exterior Lighting (7) Power Train (34) Steering (25) Vehicle Speed Control (34)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Fuel Propulsion System (10) Seat Belts (7) Structure (17) Visibility (9)
Engine (19) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Seats (10) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (23) Tires (3) Wheels (8)
Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 33
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/12/2017 - BEDFORD, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HONDA CIVIC. THE CONTACT OBSERVED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE COMPUTER MODULE NEEDED TO BE UPDATED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AGAIN AFTER THE REPAIR. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AGAIN WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENTIRE AIR BAG SYSTEM NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THEY NEEDED 24 HOURS TO REVIEW AND WOULD CONTACT THE CONSUMER BACK. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 25,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/12/2017 - BEDFORD, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HONDA CIVIC. THE CONTACT OBSERVED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE COMPUTER MODULE NEEDED TO BE UPDATED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AGAIN AFTER THE REPAIR. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AGAIN WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENTIRE AIR BAG SYSTEM NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THEY NEEDED 24 HOURS TO REVIEW AND WOULD CONTACT THE CONSUMER BACK. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 25,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/11/2017 - OAK PARK, IL
I WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK ON A HIGHWAY (THOUGH SLOWLY, AS THERE WAS TRAFFIC), WHEN I NOTICED SMOKE FROM UNDER THE HOOD ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE. I PULLED OVER, GOT OUT OF THE CAR, AND WENT TO OPEN THE HOOD TO SEE WHAT WAS GOING ON. AS I WENT TO OPEN IT, I SAW FLAMES, SO I LEFT IT DOWN, GRABBED SOME BELONGINGS, GOT FAR AWAY, AND CALLED 911. WITHIN SECONDS, THE FLAMES ENGULFED THE ENTIRE FRONT END OF THE CAR. MY CAR WAS WELL-MAINTAINED WITH REGULAR SERVICE. THERE WERE NO LIGHTS ON THE DASHBOARD INDICATING THAT ANYTHING WAS AMISS. I DID NOT HEAR ANY UNUSUAL SOUNDS PRECEDING THE FLAMES, AND THE CAR HAD BEEN HANDLING THE SAME AS IT ALWAYS DID.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/16/2017 - WAYNESBORO, VA
WHINING NOISE IN FRONT LEFT OF MOTOR WHEN TAKING OFF IN FIRST GEAR. READ MULTIPLE COMPLAINTS FROM OTHER CONSUMERS HAVING THE SAME ISSUES.

View Details

WHEELS

2/2/2017 - ORLAND PARK, IL
THE TPMS SYSTEM WILL NOT TURN OFF. THE CAR HAS BRAND NEW TIRES AND COSTS $99 TO SCAN THE PROBLEM.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/13/2016 - STOCKTON, CA
I WAS ON A RESIDENTIAL STREET AND HAD A VERY LOW FRONT IMPACT CAR ACCIDENT. I WAS AT A STOP SIGN. I BARELY TOOK MY FOOT OFF OF THE BRAKE AND PUT MY FOOT ON THE ACCELERATOR. A CAR CAME OUT OF NO WHERE AND I HIT THEM. I WAS GOING 5-7MPH, MY FRONT STEERING WHEEL AND PASSENGER AIRBAGS DEPLOYED. I DON'T THINK THEY SHOULD HAVE AT SUCH A SLOW SPEED. THE DRIVER AIRBAG BROKE MY RIGHT LOWER ARM. IT BROKE BOTH BONES AND TORE A NERVE WHICH REQUIRED SURGERY. I NOW HAVE TWO PLATES AND MANY SCREWS IN MY ARM WITH NERVE DAMAGE. I HAVE NO FEELING IN PARTS OF MY THUMB AND FIRST TWO FINGERS AND HALF OF MY KNUCKLE AREA IS ALSO NUMB. THIS ACCIDENT HAPPENED ON SEPTEMBER 16, 2016. IT IS THE MIDDLE OF DECEMBER AND I AM STILL TOO SCARED TO DRIVE. I STILL CAN'T USE MY ARM BECAUSE IT STILL HASN'T HEALED. I HAVE SUFFERED PHYSICALLY AND EMOTIONALLY BECAUSE OF THE AIR BAG BREAKING MY ARM. IF THE AIR BAG DIDN'T DEPLOY, I WOULDN'T HAVE BEEN HURT AT ALL. COULD THERE HAVE BEEN SOMETHING WRONG WITH MY AIRBAGS? A RECALL?? I WOULD HATE FOR THIS TO HAPPEN TO SOMEONE ELSE.

View Details

STEERING

11/7/2016 - PLEASANTON, CA
ELECTRIC POWER STEERING MODULE FAILED WHILE DRIVING AT SLOW SPEED (STRAIGHT). EPS WARNING CAME ON. EPS RE-ACTIVATED 1 HOUR LATER BUT FAILED AGAIN AFTER VEHICLE WAS SWITCHED-OFF AND RESTARTED. EPS WORKING AGAIN AFTER 14 HRS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/1/2016 - DUBLIN, CA
I WAS IN A STOP AND GO TRAFFIC THE VAN IN FRONT MADE A SUDDEN STOP I SLAMMED ON MY BRAKE BUT HIT THE VAN. IMPACT WAS BIG NO MAJOR DAMAGE BUT SEAT BELT WAS LOCKED AND I CAN SMELL NEAR AIR BAG I HAVE CHECK AIR BAG SYSTEM SIGN ON BUT AIR BAG DID NOT DEPLOY

View Details

SEAT BELTS

11/1/2016 - DUBLIN, CA
I WAS IN A STOP AND GO TRAFFIC THE VAN IN FRONT MADE A SUDDEN STOP I SLAMMED ON MY BRAKE BUT HIT THE VAN. IMPACT WAS BIG NO MAJOR DAMAGE BUT SEAT BELT WAS LOCKED AND I CAN SMELL NEAR AIR BAG I HAVE CHECK AIR BAG SYSTEM SIGN ON BUT AIR BAG DID NOT DEPLOY

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/18/2016 - EL PASO, TX
RECEIVED RECALL NOTICE, AND IT SAYS THE MANUFACTURER IS NOT ABLE TO PERFORM THE FIX IN A TIMELY MANNER, IT SAYS TO AVOID PASSENGERS IN MY VEHICLE. I AM REQUESTING INFORMATION ON WHAT TO DO, BECAUSE IT IS IMPERATIVE FOR MY JOB TO HAVE PASSENGERS IN MY CAR. NO INCIDENT HAS TAKEN PLACE INVOLVING A MALFUNCTION, BUT I WISH TO RESOLVE OR KNOW MY OPTIONS AND LIMITATIONS MORE THOROUGHLY REGARDING THIS ISSUE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 33
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds