Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2012 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 202 complaints filed for the 2012 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (49) Equipment Adaptive (3) Parking Brake (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Unknown Or Other (9)
Electrical System (28) Exterior Lighting (7) Power Train (34) Steering (20) Vehicle Speed Control (32)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Fuel Propulsion System (10) Seat Belts (5) Structure (15) Visibility (9)
Engine (19) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Seats (10) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Interior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (22) Tires (2) Wheels (4)
Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

4/7/2016 - MIAMI, FL
HORN FAILS TO WORK ALL THE TIME. ON THE FOURTH TRIP TO THE DEALER IT WAS FOUND TO BE RELATED TO POSITION OF STEERING WHEEL. THE DEALER REPLACED THE RIBBON CABLE ASSOCIATED WITH THE HORN (BROKEN/ INTERMITTENT WIRING). NOW CAR OUT OF WARRANTY PROBLEM CAME BACK. IS THIS POOR WORKMANSHIP? BAD DESIGN? LEMON??? NOT A HAPPY CAMPER!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/7/2016 - MIAMI, FL
HORN FAILS TO WORK ALL THE TIME. ON THE FOURTH TRIP TO THE DEALER IT WAS FOUND TO BE RELATED TO POSITION OF STEERING WHEEL. THE DEALER REPLACED THE RIBBON CABLE ASSOCIATED WITH THE HORN (BROKEN/ INTERMITTENT WIRING). NOW CAR OUT OF WARRANTY PROBLEM CAME BACK. IS THIS POOR WORKMANSHIP? BAD DESIGN? LEMON??? NOT A HAPPY CAMPER!

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

4/7/2016 - NEW HYDE PARK, NY
FRONT SEAT ERGONOMICS ARE BAD! CURVES YOUR BACK FORWARD AND HEAD DOWN. THE HEADREST IS TILTED TOO FAR FORWARD AND DOWN. IT HAS RUINED MY BACK. VISIBILITY FRONT AND BACK IS MINIMAL. CAN'T SEE HOOD OR CAR CORNERS. DISTANCE TO OBJECTS, OTHER CARS ETC. IS A GUESSING GAME. WHEN FOOT IS RESTING ON BRAKE AND YOU STEP ON GAS, ENGINE DROPS TO IDLE. DEALER SAYS THIS IS A SAFETY FEATURE. IT'S DANGEROUS!!!!!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/7/2016 - NEW HYDE PARK, NY
FRONT SEAT ERGONOMICS ARE BAD! CURVES YOUR BACK FORWARD AND HEAD DOWN. THE HEADREST IS TILTED TOO FAR FORWARD AND DOWN. IT HAS RUINED MY BACK. VISIBILITY FRONT AND BACK IS MINIMAL. CAN'T SEE HOOD OR CAR CORNERS. DISTANCE TO OBJECTS, OTHER CARS ETC. IS A GUESSING GAME. WHEN FOOT IS RESTING ON BRAKE AND YOU STEP ON GAS, ENGINE DROPS TO IDLE. DEALER SAYS THIS IS A SAFETY FEATURE. IT'S DANGEROUS!!!!!

View Details

SEATS

4/7/2016 - NEW HYDE PARK, NY
FRONT SEAT ERGONOMICS ARE BAD! CURVES YOUR BACK FORWARD AND HEAD DOWN. THE HEADREST IS TILTED TOO FAR FORWARD AND DOWN. IT HAS RUINED MY BACK. VISIBILITY FRONT AND BACK IS MINIMAL. CAN'T SEE HOOD OR CAR CORNERS. DISTANCE TO OBJECTS, OTHER CARS ETC. IS A GUESSING GAME. WHEN FOOT IS RESTING ON BRAKE AND YOU STEP ON GAS, ENGINE DROPS TO IDLE. DEALER SAYS THIS IS A SAFETY FEATURE. IT'S DANGEROUS!!!!!

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/8/2016 - SOCIAL CIRCLE, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HONDA CIVIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED BUT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DUPLICATED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/2/2016 - CINCINNATI, OH
MY CAR WAS WORKING JUST FINE. ONE MORNING I WENT OUTSIDE TO START MY CAR, NEXT THING I KNOW IT WOULDN'T TURN OVER. MY DASHBOARD WORKED, BUT THE CAR WOULDN'T START. MY CAR WAS PARKED OVERNIGHT. I CALLED MY ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE AND THEY CAME OUT AND GAVE ME A JUMP. AS SOON AS THE CAR WAS TURNED OFF IT WOULD NOT CUT BACK ON. HE JUMPED IT AGAIN AND TOLD ME THAT MY ALTERNATOR AND BATTERY WERE BOTH BAD, AND THAT MY CAR WOULD NOT START BACK UP ON ITS ON. SURE ENOUGH IT DID NOT. MY CAR HAS BEEN DOWN FOR ALMOST A WEEK NOW. I PURCHASED IT MAY 2012, AND I HAVE NEVER HAD ANY PROBLEMS WITH IT UNTIL NOW. I LOOKED ONLINE AND I SAW THAT THERE WERE SEVERAL OTHER PEOPLE THAT WERE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM.

View Details

STEERING

2/29/2016 - NEW MILFORD, NJ
I WAS DRIVING AT 35 MPH ON A CITY STREET WITH HIGH TRAFFIC VOLUMERWHEN I LOST ALL POWER STEERING AND THE INDICATOR LIGHT WENT ON STATTING CHECK POWER STEERING SYSTEM.. THE CAR WAS UNABLE TO BE STEERED PROPERLY AND IS CURRENTLY AT THE SHOP IN TENAFLY NJ- TENAFLY OF HONDA. THIS INCIDENT IS EXTREMELY TROUBLESOME AS I NOW DOUBT THE RELIABILITY OF THE VEHICLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/24/2016 - CORTLAND, NY
FOR MANUAL TRANSMISSIONS RPMS REMAIN HIGH EVEN AFTER FOOT IS OFF THE GAS PEDAL CONSEQUENTLY MAKING IT IMPOSSIBLE TO MATCH RPMS AND CAUSING PREMATURE FAILURE TO FRICTION DISKS (CLUTCH). UN NECESSARY WEAR CAUSING 1200+ IN REPAIRS. BRAKES LOCKED UP ON HIGHWAY.. LOST CONTROL SPUN 5 TIMES AND EVEN AFTER NEW ALTERNATOR.. THE RPM NEVER REDUCES PROPERLY.. HAD IN SHOP 3 X'S SET AT YOUR SPEC IS WRONG TO MAKE BRAKE ELEASE JERK, CAR SHAKE AT LIGHTS AND CAUSES ME TO REAR END ANOTHER CAR. 2/6/16

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/24/2016 - CORTLAND, NY
FOR MANUAL TRANSMISSIONS RPMS REMAIN HIGH EVEN AFTER FOOT IS OFF THE GAS PEDAL CONSEQUENTLY MAKING IT IMPOSSIBLE TO MATCH RPMS AND CAUSING PREMATURE FAILURE TO FRICTION DISKS (CLUTCH). UN NECESSARY WEAR CAUSING 1200+ IN REPAIRS. BRAKES LOCKED UP ON HIGHWAY.. LOST CONTROL SPUN 5 TIMES AND EVEN AFTER NEW ALTERNATOR.. THE RPM NEVER REDUCES PROPERLY.. HAD IN SHOP 3 X'S SET AT YOUR SPEC IS WRONG TO MAKE BRAKE ELEASE JERK, CAR SHAKE AT LIGHTS AND CAUSES ME TO REAR END ANOTHER CAR. 2/6/16

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds