Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ODYSSEY - 2012 HONDA ODYSSEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 165 complaints filed for the 2012 HONDA ODYSSEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 HONDA ODYSSEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 HONDA ODYSSEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seats (10) Structure (11) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Electrical System (16) Exterior Lighting (7) Service Brakes (49) Suspension (5) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (4) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (22) Power Train (17) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (13) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Seat Belts (8) Steering (16)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

10/5/2018 - ARLINGTON HEIGHTS, IL
CLUNKING SOUND WHEN TURNING. SOMETHING APPEARS TO BE LOOSE.

View Details

STEERING

10/5/2018 - ARLINGTON HEIGHTS, IL
CLUNKING SOUND WHEN TURNING. SOMETHING APPEARS TO BE LOOSE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/23/2018 - MONTGOMERY, AL
PURCHASE BRAND NEW HONDA ODYSSEY IN 2012. PAINT FAILURE BECAME VISIBLE IN JULY 2017. VEHICLE HAS NEVER BEEN WRECKED NOR ABUSED. CLAIMANT MADE ATTEMPTS TO GO THROUGH PROTOCOL AT HONDA CONSUMER CHANNELS. RECEIVED EVALUATION FROM REPUTABLE BODY SHOP USED BY MY LOCAL HONDA. THE PAINT PEALING IS AN ADHESION PROBLEM OCCURING AT MANUFACTURING. HONDA HAS ONLY RECOGNIZED THE PROBLEM IN 25 NORTHERN STATES (BACK DOOR ONLY, DARK COLORS). I LIVE IN THE SOUTH. IRONICALLY, THIS HONDA IS PRODUCED IN LINCOLN, AL. HONDA REFUSES TO ACKNOWLEDGE THEIR ERROR NOR DO THEY RESPECT NHTSA. VEHICLE USED DAILY IN TRANSPORT OF MY FAMILY. PAINT PEELING TO BASE COAT ROOF AND BACK PANEL. PICS ATTACHED. CUTTING CORNERS ON PAINT WORK IS UNACCEPTABLE TO THIS CLAIMANT. HONDA OPERATES IN INTERSTATE COMMERCE AND HAS A DUTY AND A CONTRACT WITH CITIZENS THAT PURCHASE THEIR PRODUCTS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

8/17/2018 - CRETE, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HONDA ODYSSEY. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THE PASSENGER SIDE ELECTRONIC SLIDING DOOR WOULD NOT CLOSE AND REMAINED IN THE OPEN POSITION. THE DOOR ALSO COULD NOT BE CLOSED MANUALLY. THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN TO THE LOCAL DEALER (NAPLETON HONDA, 17220 TORRENCE AVE, LANCING, IL 60438), BUT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DETERMINED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE, BUT NO SOLUTION WAS OFFERED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 140,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/11/2018 - HOLLAND, MI
HAVE VIBRATION UP THRU STEERING COLUMN. PROBLEM ORIGINALLY BECAME NOTICEABLE INSIDE OF 10,000 MILES. BY 36,000 MILES SHAKING WAS SEVERE WHEN BRAKING HARD AT HIGH SPEED ESPECIALLY GOING DOWNHILL, BUT ALSO NOTICEABLE, AT LOWER IN CITY DRIVING SPEEDS, WHEN BRAKING AND AFTER THE BRAKES HAVE BEEN USED AND HEATED UP. AT 36,773 MILES THE DEALER TURNED THE ROTORS WHICH ELIMINATED THE VIBRATION FOR A TIME. BUT MUCH LIKE THE CONDITION WHEN THE CAR WAS NEW, THE VIBRATION, OVER TIME AND USE, HAS RETURNED AND IS ONCE AGAIN SEVERE. THIS IS CAUSED BY FAULTY DESIGN OF THE BRAKE ROTORS WHICH WHEN HEATED UP FROM USE WARP CAUSING UNEVEN WEAR OF THE BRAKE PADS WHICH OVER TIME CAUSES THE VIBRATION WHEN BRAKING. HONDA COVERED HALF THE COST FOR THE REPAIR AT 36,773 MILES. DOUBT THEY'LL DO ANYTHING THIS TIME WHEN I TAKE THE CAR IN AGAIN FOR REPAIR AT 73,000 MILES. OWNERS SHOULD NOT GET STUCK WITH COSTLY REPAIRS DUE TO FAULTY DESIGN AND/OR MANUFACTURING. THIS IS A PROBLEM THAT HAS BEEN PREVALENT OF OTHER MODEL YEAR ODYSSEYS AND PILOTS.

View Details

ENGINE

8/11/2018 - ITASCA, IL
FREQUENT CHECK ENGINE SIGN COMING ON, MECHANIC SAID EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION, OIL BURING OFF, ALTHOUGH HONDA HAS REACHED A SETTLEMENT WITH OWNERS OF ODYSSEY FROM 2008-2013 REGARDING THIS ISSUE, WHEN I CALLED WITH THE COMPLAINT THEY ARE SAYING MY 2012 ODYSSEY IS NOT ON THE LIST OF CARS WITH THIS PROBLEM. BUT MY CAR IS HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM AS OTHER OWNERS WERE HAVING.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/3/2018 - SAN DIEGO, CA
THE ORIGINAL FACTORY FRONT BRAKE ROTORS IN THIS VEHICLE (AND ALL OTHERS OF THE SAME MODEL YEAR) DO NOT COOL ADEQUATELY UNDER NORMAL USE, WHICH CAN CAUSE THE VEHICLE TO VIBRATE DRAMATICALLY WHEN BRAKING. TWO SEPARATE DEALERS CLAIM THAT IS IS "NOT A SAFETY HAZARD," BUT THE VIBRATION WAS SO BAD THAT NORMAL DRIVERS OF THIS VEHICLE FEARED FOR LOSS OF CONTROL AND/OR POSSIBLE DAMAGE TO THE BRAKE SYSTEM. A REDESIGNED BRAKE ROTOR IS AVAILABLE FROM THE MANUFACTURER, ALTHOUGH, IN SPITE OF THE OBVIOUS CORRECTION OF A PRIOR DESIGN DEFECT, THE NEW ROTORS ARE NOT COVERED BY ANY WARRANTY PROVISION FOR REPLACEMENT. WE HAVE REPLACED THE FRONT ROTORS AND BRAKE PADS AT A COST OF $755.18. IN THE OPINION OF THIS WRITER, EVERY ODYSSEY OWNER FOR THIS MODEL YEAR OUGHT TO DO THE SAME. GENERAL ONLINE CONSENSUS ON THIS ISSUE APPEARS TO COVER OTHER MODEL YEARS AS WELL AND SUPPORTS THIS DIAGNOSIS AND ITS RESOLUTION IN THIS MANNER. PHOTOS INCLUDE BOTH OLD AND NEW BRAKE ROTORS. THE REDESIGNED ROTORS HAVE VENTS AROUND A MUCH LARGER HUB, UNLIKE THE ORIGINAL ONES.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: DISC: ROTOR

7/30/2018 - EDWARDS, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HONDA ODYSSEY. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THE VEHICLE STARTED TO VIBRATE WHILE THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED DURING THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER (BOB LINDSAY HONDA, 900 W PIONEER PKWY, PEORIA, IL 61615) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ROTORS WERE WARPED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 58,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. *

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/10/2018 - PLATTSBURGH, NY
MY 2012 HONDA ODYSSEY WAS STATIONARY IN MY 2 CAR GARAGE THE MORNING OF JAN 10TH 2018. I WAS WITH MY 3 TODDLERS, GETTING READY TO PACK THEM UP IN THE VAN WHEN I PRESSED THE DRIVERS SIDE SLIDING DOOR BUTTON ON MY KEY FOB. IMMEDIATELY AFTER I PRESSED THE BUTTON I HEARD A LOUD POP NOISE AND SCRATCHING. I HELD MY KIDS BACK AND CALLED FOR MY WIFE TO BRING THEM INSIDE. IN THE TIME I TURNED TO GET THE KIDS OUT OF THE GARAGE THE SLIDING DOOR HAD SCRATCHED THE SIDE DOOR PANEL AND THEN THE DOOR POPPED OFF THE CAR AND HIT MY GARAGE WALL, IT WAS HANGING AT A 45 DEGREE ANGLE. THE ONLY THING THAT WAS HOLDING THE DOOR FROM FALLING COMPLETELY FALLING OFF THE VEHICLE COMPLETELY WAS THE MIDDLE CABLE AND THE BOTTOM ROLLER.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/10/2018 - PLATTSBURGH, NY
I WAS GOING TO PACK THE CAR (STATIONARY IN MY DRIVEWAY) ON SAT JULY 7TH FOR A FAMILY REUNION WHEN I PRESSED THE PASSENGER SIDE SLIDING DOOR BUTTON ON MY KEY FOB. WHILE WALKING TO MY 2012 HONDA ODYSSEY I HEARD THE NOISE OF THE DOOR OPENING BUT THE DOOR REMAINED SHUT. WHILE NEXT TO THE CAR AND WITHOUT TOUCHING THE HANDLE I HIT THE PASSENGER SIDE SLIDING DOOR BUTTON AGAIN, AND AGAIN JUST THE NOISE OF THE DOOR OPENING/CLOSING COULD BE HEARD BUT THE ACTUAL DOOR REMAINED SHUT. I LOOKED UP INTO THE TRACK AND DIDN'T SEE THE CABLE, LOOKING CLOSER AT THE CAR I NOTICED THAT THE CABLE WAS ACTUALLY DANGLING DOWN THE EDGE OF THE SLIDING DOOR. THE CABLE HAD SNAPPED OFF. THE VEHICLE IS CURRENTLY AT DELLA HONDA IN PLATTSBURGH, NY BEING WORKED ON.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds