Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ODYSSEY - 2012 HONDA ODYSSEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 177 complaints filed for the 2012 HONDA ODYSSEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 HONDA ODYSSEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 HONDA ODYSSEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seats (10) Structure (11) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Electrical System (20) Exterior Lighting (7) Service Brakes (51) Suspension (5) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (4) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (23) Power Train (17) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (16) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Seat Belts (9) Steering (17)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

7/1/2019 - WESTMINSTER,, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE LEAVING A PARKING PLACE, ANOTHER VEHICLE IMPACTED THE FRONTAL DRIVER SIDE TIRE. THE CONTACT STATED THE FRONT PASSENGER AIR BAG DID DEPLOY, BUT THE THE FRONT DRIVER AIR BAG DID NOT DEPLOY. THE CONTACT STATED NO ONE SUSTAINED ANY INJURIES OR SEEK MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DRIVABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED AS OF YET. A DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE MANUFACTURER HAD NOT BEEN INFORMED OF FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 215,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/6/2019 - KANSAS CITY, MO
WHEN STATIONARY, THE VAN'S POWER SLIDING DOORS WERE STRUGGLING TO CLOSE; IT WOULD FREQUENTLY START, AND THEN POP BACK OPEN. WE TOOK IT TO THE HONDA DEALERSHIP, WHO SAID THEY COULDN'T FIND ANY PROBLEMS EXCEPT THAT THE TRACKS WERE DIRTY, BUT OFFERED NO SUGGESTIONS ON HOW TO FIX THIS (ALSO WE COULD SEE NO DEBRIS TO VALIDATE THIS CLAIM). WE CONTINUED TO USE DOORS WITH DIFFICULTY UNTIL THERE WAS A LOUD POP ON THE DRIVER+S SIDE, AND SUDDENLY A CABLE WAS HANGING OUT. MOTOR COULD STILL BE HEARD, BUT WOULD NO LONGER OPERATE DOOR WITH BUTTONS, SO WE CLOSED IT MANUALLY FOR SEVERAL MONTHS. ONE DAY WHILE OPENING OR CLOSING MANUALLY, THE WHOLE DOOR CAME OFF OF THE TRACK AND COULD NOT GET IT BACK ON OURSELVES. WE HAD TO HAVE SOMEONE RIDE IN THE BACK, HOLDING THE DOOR CLOSED ENOUGH TO GET TO A SHOP, WHERE THEY PUT IT BACK ON THE TRACK FOR $400. THIS DID NOT RESTORE IT TO MOTORIZED FUNCTIONING, BUT ALLOWED US TO USE IT MANUALLY, THOUGH A SIGNIFICANT AMOUNT OF EXTERIOR DAMAGE TO OUR VEHICLE WAS CAUSED IN THE PROCESS OF PUTTING IT BACK INTO PLACE. WE CONTINUED TO USE THE DOOR MANUALLY UNTIL WE COULD AFFORD TO HAVE THE MOTOR REPLACED ON THE BROKEN DOOR. WITHIN 24 HOURS OF REPLACEMENT, THE INITIAL ISSUES REAPPEARED ON THAT DOOR, AND THE PASSENGER SLIDING DOOR IS ALSO HAVING FREQUENT DIFFICULTIES. THEY NOW BOTH STRUGGLE WITH BOTH OPENING AND CLOSING. WE RECENTLY HAD TO LEAVE THE VEHICLE STANDING OPEN IN A PARKING LOT WHILE WE WENT INTO A BUSINESS AFTER TRYING HALF A DOZEN TIMES TO USE THE POWER CLOSE WHILE PUSHING ON THE DOOR MANUALLY. WE PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE SPECIFICALLY FOR THE CONVENIENCE OF POWER DOORS FOR OUR GROWING FAMILY, BUT I'M TRULY CONCERNED THAT I'M GOING TO BE STRANDED IN THE HEAT WITH 4 SMALL CHILDREN BECAUSE WE CAN'T GET THE DOOR TO CLOSE. DEALERSHIP IS NOW QUOTING US $3K TO DO ADDITIONAL REPAIRS WHILE CLAIMING THEY'RE NOT TOTALLY SURE WHAT THE ISSUE IS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/6/2019 - KANSAS CITY, MO
WHEN STATIONARY, THE VAN'S POWER SLIDING DOORS WERE STRUGGLING TO CLOSE; IT WOULD FREQUENTLY START, AND THEN POP BACK OPEN. WE TOOK IT TO THE HONDA DEALERSHIP, WHO SAID THEY COULDN'T FIND ANY PROBLEMS EXCEPT THAT THE TRACKS WERE DIRTY, BUT OFFERED NO SUGGESTIONS ON HOW TO FIX THIS (ALSO WE COULD SEE NO DEBRIS TO VALIDATE THIS CLAIM). WE CONTINUED TO USE DOORS WITH DIFFICULTY UNTIL THERE WAS A LOUD POP ON THE DRIVER+S SIDE, AND SUDDENLY A CABLE WAS HANGING OUT. MOTOR COULD STILL BE HEARD, BUT WOULD NO LONGER OPERATE DOOR WITH BUTTONS, SO WE CLOSED IT MANUALLY FOR SEVERAL MONTHS. ONE DAY WHILE OPENING OR CLOSING MANUALLY, THE WHOLE DOOR CAME OFF OF THE TRACK AND COULD NOT GET IT BACK ON OURSELVES. WE HAD TO HAVE SOMEONE RIDE IN THE BACK, HOLDING THE DOOR CLOSED ENOUGH TO GET TO A SHOP, WHERE THEY PUT IT BACK ON THE TRACK FOR $400. THIS DID NOT RESTORE IT TO MOTORIZED FUNCTIONING, BUT ALLOWED US TO USE IT MANUALLY, THOUGH A SIGNIFICANT AMOUNT OF EXTERIOR DAMAGE TO OUR VEHICLE WAS CAUSED IN THE PROCESS OF PUTTING IT BACK INTO PLACE. WE CONTINUED TO USE THE DOOR MANUALLY UNTIL WE COULD AFFORD TO HAVE THE MOTOR REPLACED ON THE BROKEN DOOR. WITHIN 24 HOURS OF REPLACEMENT, THE INITIAL ISSUES REAPPEARED ON THAT DOOR, AND THE PASSENGER SLIDING DOOR IS ALSO HAVING FREQUENT DIFFICULTIES. THEY NOW BOTH STRUGGLE WITH BOTH OPENING AND CLOSING. WE RECENTLY HAD TO LEAVE THE VEHICLE STANDING OPEN IN A PARKING LOT WHILE WE WENT INTO A BUSINESS AFTER TRYING HALF A DOZEN TIMES TO USE THE POWER CLOSE WHILE PUSHING ON THE DOOR MANUALLY. WE PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE SPECIFICALLY FOR THE CONVENIENCE OF POWER DOORS FOR OUR GROWING FAMILY, BUT I'M TRULY CONCERNED THAT I'M GOING TO BE STRANDED IN THE HEAT WITH 4 SMALL CHILDREN BECAUSE WE CAN'T GET THE DOOR TO CLOSE. DEALERSHIP IS NOW QUOTING US $3K TO DO ADDITIONAL REPAIRS WHILE CLAIMING THEY'RE NOT TOTALLY SURE WHAT THE ISSUE IS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/3/2019 - BOWIE, MD
I WAS DRIVING/EXITING A PARKING GARAGE ONTO A STREET INTO TRAFFIC. SUDDENLY, THE PANEL LIGHTS AND AND CABIN LIGHTS STARTED FLASHING AND THE RADIO AND AC CUT OFF, AND IMMEDIATELY AFTER, THE CAR CUT OFF AND I COASTED, THROUGH CARS MOVING AT SPEED, TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE CAR WAS IN MOTION ON A CITY STREET. AT THE HONDA DEALERSHIP THEY TOOK A FEW DAYS TO CONTACT ME, THEN TOLD ME I NEED TO PAY $800 FOR A BATTERY CABLE BEFORE THEY DIAGNOSE ANY ISSUES WITH THE ALTERNATOR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/3/2019 - BOWIE, MD
I WAS DRIVING/EXITING A PARKING GARAGE ONTO A STREET INTO TRAFFIC. SUDDENLY, THE PANEL LIGHTS AND AND CABIN LIGHTS STARTED FLASHING AND THE RADIO AND AC CUT OFF, AND IMMEDIATELY AFTER, THE CAR CUT OFF AND I COASTED, THROUGH CARS MOVING AT SPEED, TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE CAR WAS IN MOTION ON A CITY STREET. AT THE HONDA DEALERSHIP THEY TOOK A FEW DAYS TO CONTACT ME, THEN TOLD ME I NEED TO PAY $800 FOR A BATTERY CABLE BEFORE THEY DIAGNOSE ANY ISSUES WITH THE ALTERNATOR.

View Details

STEERING

5/19/2019 - NEW HOPE, KY
POPPING IN THE STEERING COLUMN WHEN TURNING WHEEL BACK; MORE COMON AT LOWER SPEEDS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/25/2019 - GREEN COVE SPRINGS, FL
THIS VEHICLE HAD ISSUE ON ELECTRICAL SYSTEM. THIS VEHICLE IS ABOUT 100K MILES AND HAD BEEN CHANING 3 BATTERIES AND IT MEAN THAT 4HT BATERRY INSTALLED ON THIS VEHICLE. LUCAS HONDA DEALER CHANGED THREE TIMES PLUS ORIGINAL BATTERY. AS PER SPOKEN TO LUCAS HONDA CUSTOMER SERVICE FOR THE BATTERY PROBLEM. CUSTOMER SAID; "THERE IS NORMAL". I DID NOT BRING THIS VEHICLE FOR THIRD TIMES BECAUSE I THINK I WILL HEAR SAME AS IT "NORMAL". I HAVE YOUNG KID AND I HOPE THIS VEHICLE WILL NOT BREAK DOWN ON INTERSTATE OR MOUNTAIN, OR MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC. I WOULD LIKE YOUR ADVICE SO THE ISSUE SHOULD BE FIX.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/25/2019 - GREEN COVE SPRINGS, FL
THIS VEHICLE HAD ISSUE ON ELECTRICAL SYSTEM. THIS VEHICLE IS ABOUT 100K MILES AND HAD BEEN CHANING 3 BATTERIES AND IT MEAN THAT 4HT BATERRY INSTALLED ON THIS VEHICLE. LUCAS HONDA DEALER CHANGED THREE TIMES PLUS ORIGINAL BATTERY. AS PER SPOKEN TO LUCAS HONDA CUSTOMER SERVICE FOR THE BATTERY PROBLEM. CUSTOMER SAID; "THERE IS NORMAL". I DID NOT BRING THIS VEHICLE FOR THIRD TIMES BECAUSE I THINK I WILL HEAR SAME AS IT "NORMAL". I HAVE YOUNG KID AND I HOPE THIS VEHICLE WILL NOT BREAK DOWN ON INTERSTATE OR MOUNTAIN, OR MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC. I WOULD LIKE YOUR ADVICE SO THE ISSUE SHOULD BE FIX.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/18/2019 - ALEXANDRIA, VA
I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE THE BRAKES ON MY 2012 HONDA ODYSSEY MULTIPLE TIMES. THE BRAKES VIBRATE EXCESSIVELY WHEN THE BRAKES ARE APPLIED AT NORMAL HIGHWAY SPEEDS. THIS OCCURS FREQUENTLY WHEN I AM DRIVING DOWN LONG HILLS OR MOUNTAINS. THE VEHICLE IS HARD TO CONTROL AND THE VEHICLE'S STEERING WHEEL SHAKES EXCESSIVELY AND IS HARD FOR MY WIFE TO CONTROL. I THOUGHT I MAY HAVE HAD A UNIQUE PROBLEM BUT HAVE READ THAT MANY OTHER HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM. IN FACT HNDA HAS STATE THAT THE DISC DESIGN DOES NOT ALLOW FOR THE HEAT FROM BRAKING TO DISSIPATE THUS WARPING THE DISC. HONDA CONSIDERED IT AS MAINTENANCE ISSUE AND PART OF THE BRAKING SYSTEM, BUT THAT IS NOT TRUE. REQUEST ASSISTNACE IN MAKING THIS A RECALL ISSUE FOR THIS CRITICAL SAFETY ISSUE!

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/13/2019 - CRYSTAL LAKE, IL
WHEN AT A STOP WITH FOOT ON THE BRAKE, THE ENGINE STARTS REVVING. THE TACH WENT UP TO 6000 RPM AND CAR TRIED TO PUSH FORWARD ON CITY STREETS. THIS HAPPENED AT LEAST 8 TIMES IN FEB/MARCH 2019. ON MARCH 9, I CALLED THE DEALER, BRILLIANCE HONDA OF CRYSTAL LAKE. THEY SAID I COULD COME IN MONDAY 3/11. THEY TEST DROVE THE VEHICLE AND SAID THEY COULDN'T FIND AN ISSUE. I TOLD THEM THAT APPARENTLY THEY WOULDN'T FIX A PROBLEM UNTIL AN ACCIDENT HURTS OR KILLS ME OR A PASSENGER OR CAR HIT BY MY OUT OF CONTROL CAR. INTERNET SHOWS CARS HAVING OUT OF CONTROL ACCELERATION ISSUES IN THE PAST. CAN YOUR AGENCY INTERCEDE FOR ME?

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds