Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA PILOT - 2012 HONDA PILOT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 68 complaints filed for the 2012 HONDA PILOT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 HONDA PILOT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 HONDA PILOT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Power Train (13) Steering (6) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (9) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (1) Structure (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Service Brakes (12) Suspension (2) Wheels (1)
Engine (17) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

2/20/2015 - MIAMI, FL
2012 HONDA PILOT HAS VIBRATION/SHAKING IN THE STEERING WHEEL WHEN BRAKING FROM 50+ MPH. NOT NOTICEABLE AT LOWER SPEEDS, BUT VERY NOTICEABLE ABOVE 50MPH. STEERING WHEEL SHAKES AND MAKES IT SEEM AS IF THE CAR WANTS TO LOSE CONTROL OR NOT BRAKE AS IT SHOULD.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/20/2015 - MIAMI, FL
2012 HONDA PILOT HAS VIBRATION/SHAKING IN THE STEERING WHEEL WHEN BRAKING FROM 50+ MPH. NOT NOTICEABLE AT LOWER SPEEDS, BUT VERY NOTICEABLE ABOVE 50MPH. STEERING WHEEL SHAKES AND MAKES IT SEEM AS IF THE CAR WANTS TO LOSE CONTROL OR NOT BRAKE AS IT SHOULD.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/8/2015 - CUMMING, GA
I HAVE BEEN DRIVING MY HONDA PILOT 2012 LX SINCE NOV 2012, THOUGH HAVE BEEN VISITED HONDA ABOUT 03 TIMES FOR BREAKS, THE CURRENT MILES ARE APPROX 37400 MILES AND ALREADY RESURFACED THE FRONT BRAKE ROTORS 2 TIMES, THIS IS DUE TO THE VEHICLE WEIGHT PER HONDA, IT SEEMS THE ISSUE IS WITH ROTORS, EVEN AFTER DRIVING DRIVING REALLY CONSERVATIVELY THE ROTORS GET UNEVEN REALLY FAST, I SINCERELY BELIEVE THE ROTORS NEED TO BE OF BETTER QUALITY AND HENCE REPLACED BY HONDA.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/20/2014 - PAPILLION, NE
SOMETIMES WHEN STARTING OUT AND MAKING LEFT OR RIGHT HAND TURN AFTER BEING STOPPED AT A STOP LIGHT OR STOP SIGN, THE ENGINE WILL HESITATE AND BOG DOWN FOR A FEW SECONDS BEFORE IT "KICKS IN" AND THEN THERE IS A "SURGE OF POWER". THIS IS VERY ANNOYING AT THE LEAST AND ALSO VERY DANGEROUS AS ONE COULD EASILY GET REARENDED OR WORSE YET GET CAUGHT IN THE INTERSECTION IN ONCOMING TRAFFIC. THIS HAS HAPPENED ON 3 OCCASIONS AND EACH TIME I WAS BARELY ABLE TO ACCELERATE ENOUGH TO CLEAR THE INTERSECTION. THERE ARE SEVERAL COMPLAINTS TO HONDA DEALERS OF THIS EXISTING PROBLEM AND THEY HAVE FAILED TO TAKE ANY CORRECTIVE ACTION OR ACKNOWLEDGE THE PROBLEM. SOMEONE'S GOING TO HAVE TO BE KILLED BEFORE THIS GETS THEIR ATTENTION. SEE LINK BELOW OF COMPLAINTS. HTTP://WWW.ARFC.ORG/COMPLAINTS/2012/HONDA/PILOT/VEHICLE_SPEED_CONTROL/PROBLEM.ASPX

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/17/2014 - ORLANDO, FL
PROBLEM: WHILE TRYING TO ACCELERATE, THERE IS A RESISTANCE/HESITATION THAT IS FELT IN THE GAS PEDAL AND THE ENGINE HAS TROUBLE INCREASING RPM'S. THIS IS AN INTERMITTENT ISSUE. CASE I: WHILE IN A PARKING LOT, TRYING TO PICK UP A LITTLE SPEED. GAS PEDAL HAS RESISTANCE AND ENGINE WON'T PICK UP SPEED. I KEEP MY FOOT STEADY ON THE ACCELERATOR AND THEN PILOT PICKS UP SPEED IN A UNEXPECTED RUSH. HIGH LEVEL OF DANGER DUE TO PEOPLE PRESENT IN THE AREA; AS THERE WAS AN UNEXPECTED AMOUNT OF SPEED. CASE II: ROAD TYPE: THREE LANE ROAD IN EACH DIRECTION OF TRAFFIC. WHILE IN THE LEGAL U-TURN LANE, I OBSERVE THAT THERE IS ENOUGH DISTANCE TO MAKE A U-TURN. FROM A STOP I TRY TO PICK UP SPEED (I WAS AIMING FOR 5K RPM'S, I KNOW HOW FAR TO PRESS THE GAS PEDAL TO GET THAT RESPONSE). A GREAT RESISTANCE AND LACK OF RESPONSE FROM THE GAS PEDAL WAS FELT. THERE WAS MINIMAL ACCELERATION HAPPENING AND THEN AFTER ABOUT 6 TO 8 SECONDS, THE ENGINE WAS ABLE TO GET TO 6K RPM'S. AS THE CARS APPROACHED FASTER I ALMOST GOT REAR ENDED. AS THERE HAVE BEEN MORE CASES, THESE ARE TO TWO MOST DANGEROUS ONES. E: THE RESISTANCE/HESITATION OF THE GAS PEDAL HAPPENS UNDER ANY TEMPERATURE IN THE CABIN.

View Details

ENGINE

11/17/2014 - ORLANDO, FL
PROBLEM: WHILE TRYING TO ACCELERATE, THERE IS A RESISTANCE/HESITATION THAT IS FELT IN THE GAS PEDAL AND THE ENGINE HAS TROUBLE INCREASING RPM'S. THIS IS AN INTERMITTENT ISSUE. CASE I: WHILE IN A PARKING LOT, TRYING TO PICK UP A LITTLE SPEED. GAS PEDAL HAS RESISTANCE AND ENGINE WON'T PICK UP SPEED. I KEEP MY FOOT STEADY ON THE ACCELERATOR AND THEN PILOT PICKS UP SPEED IN A UNEXPECTED RUSH. HIGH LEVEL OF DANGER DUE TO PEOPLE PRESENT IN THE AREA; AS THERE WAS AN UNEXPECTED AMOUNT OF SPEED. CASE II: ROAD TYPE: THREE LANE ROAD IN EACH DIRECTION OF TRAFFIC. WHILE IN THE LEGAL U-TURN LANE, I OBSERVE THAT THERE IS ENOUGH DISTANCE TO MAKE A U-TURN. FROM A STOP I TRY TO PICK UP SPEED (I WAS AIMING FOR 5K RPM'S, I KNOW HOW FAR TO PRESS THE GAS PEDAL TO GET THAT RESPONSE). A GREAT RESISTANCE AND LACK OF RESPONSE FROM THE GAS PEDAL WAS FELT. THERE WAS MINIMAL ACCELERATION HAPPENING AND THEN AFTER ABOUT 6 TO 8 SECONDS, THE ENGINE WAS ABLE TO GET TO 6K RPM'S. AS THE CARS APPROACHED FASTER I ALMOST GOT REAR ENDED. AS THERE HAVE BEEN MORE CASES, THESE ARE TO TWO MOST DANGEROUS ONES. E: THE RESISTANCE/HESITATION OF THE GAS PEDAL HAPPENS UNDER ANY TEMPERATURE IN THE CABIN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/17/2014 - ORLANDO, FL
PROBLEM: WHILE TRYING TO ACCELERATE, THERE IS A RESISTANCE/HESITATION THAT IS FELT IN THE GAS PEDAL AND THE ENGINE HAS TROUBLE INCREASING RPM'S. THIS IS AN INTERMITTENT ISSUE. CASE I: WHILE IN A PARKING LOT, TRYING TO PICK UP A LITTLE SPEED. GAS PEDAL HAS RESISTANCE AND ENGINE WON'T PICK UP SPEED. I KEEP MY FOOT STEADY ON THE ACCELERATOR AND THEN PILOT PICKS UP SPEED IN A UNEXPECTED RUSH. HIGH LEVEL OF DANGER DUE TO PEOPLE PRESENT IN THE AREA; AS THERE WAS AN UNEXPECTED AMOUNT OF SPEED. CASE II: ROAD TYPE: THREE LANE ROAD IN EACH DIRECTION OF TRAFFIC. WHILE IN THE LEGAL U-TURN LANE, I OBSERVE THAT THERE IS ENOUGH DISTANCE TO MAKE A U-TURN. FROM A STOP I TRY TO PICK UP SPEED (I WAS AIMING FOR 5K RPM'S, I KNOW HOW FAR TO PRESS THE GAS PEDAL TO GET THAT RESPONSE). A GREAT RESISTANCE AND LACK OF RESPONSE FROM THE GAS PEDAL WAS FELT. THERE WAS MINIMAL ACCELERATION HAPPENING AND THEN AFTER ABOUT 6 TO 8 SECONDS, THE ENGINE WAS ABLE TO GET TO 6K RPM'S. AS THE CARS APPROACHED FASTER I ALMOST GOT REAR ENDED. AS THERE HAVE BEEN MORE CASES, THESE ARE TO TWO MOST DANGEROUS ONES. E: THE RESISTANCE/HESITATION OF THE GAS PEDAL HAPPENS UNDER ANY TEMPERATURE IN THE CABIN.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/10/2014 - MANAHAWKIN, NJ
ON APRIL 30 2014 MY WIFE LISA KETTIG ENTERED THE CHILDREN-++S HOSPITAL OF PHILADELPHIA CAMPUS IN THE 2012 HONDA PILOT. SHE APPROACHED THE GUARD BOOTH AND CAME TO A COMPLETE STOP. THIS CAN BE VERIFIED AS THE GUARD STOPPED HER AND THEY HAD A BRIEF CONVERSATION ABOUT WHERE TO PARK. LISA THEN ACCELERATED OUT OF THE GUARD BOOTH WHILE MAKING AN IMMEDIATE LOW SPEED RIGHT TURN DOWN A RAMP INTO A PARKING GARAGE. FROM THIS POINT THE HONDA PILOT CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE DOWN THE RAMP AS SHE APPLIED THE BRAKES. THE CAR ACCELERATED OUT OF CONTROL AND FAILED TO BRAKE. IT JUMPED A SMALL MEDIAN AND EVENTUALLY HIT A CONCRETE BLOCK WALL AT THE BOTTOM OF THE RAMP. LISA MAINTAINS THAT SHE WAS APPLYING THE BRAKES DURING THE DESCENT DOWN THE RAMP UP THE MOMENT OF IMPACT AND THE CAR WAS STILL CONTINUING TO ACCELERATE AND BRAKES DID NOT RESPOND. I CONTACTED HONDA AND SUBMITTED A WRITTEN REQUEST THAT THE EVENT DATA RECORDER (EDR) BE TESTED. A REPRESENTATIVE FROM HONDA CALLED ME ON SEPTEMBER 6 (I WAS ONLY GIVEN A FIRST NAME OF REGGIE) HE EXPLAINED THAT ON OR ABOUT AUGUST 19 A TECHNICIAN EXAMINED THE VEHICLE AND DETERMINED THAT NO PRE ACCIDENT DATA COULD BE RECOVERED. HE EXPLAINED THAT WHILE THE 2012 HONDA PILOT HAS AN EDR ONLY SOME OF THESE VEHICLES HAVE THE ABILITY TO RECORD PRE ACCIDENT DATA AND THAT MINE DID NOT HAVE THIS ABILITY. HE ALSO SAID THAT I WOULD NOT RECEIVE A REPORT OR ANY CONFIRMATION IN WRITING ABOUT THE INCIDENT OR SUBSEQUENT EXAMINATION OF THE VEHICLE. THE OWNER MANUAL INDICATES THAT EDRS HAS THE ABILITY TO RECORD DATA UP TO 30 SECONDS PRIOR TO THE ACCIDENT IT WILL REPORT IF THE ACCELERATOR OR BRAKE WAS BEING ACTIVATED AT THE MOMENT OF IMPACT. IT WILL ALSO INDICATE THE VEHICLE SPEED. MY REQUEST IS THAT HONDA FOLLOW THROUGH AND TEST THE EDR TO DETERMINE IF THE BRAKES AND OR ACCELERATOR MALFUNCTIONED AS LISA MAINTAINS AND SUPPLY THE RESULTS TO ME.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/10/2014 - MANAHAWKIN, NJ
ON APRIL 30 2014 MY WIFE LISA KETTIG ENTERED THE CHILDREN-++S HOSPITAL OF PHILADELPHIA CAMPUS IN THE 2012 HONDA PILOT. SHE APPROACHED THE GUARD BOOTH AND CAME TO A COMPLETE STOP. THIS CAN BE VERIFIED AS THE GUARD STOPPED HER AND THEY HAD A BRIEF CONVERSATION ABOUT WHERE TO PARK. LISA THEN ACCELERATED OUT OF THE GUARD BOOTH WHILE MAKING AN IMMEDIATE LOW SPEED RIGHT TURN DOWN A RAMP INTO A PARKING GARAGE. FROM THIS POINT THE HONDA PILOT CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE DOWN THE RAMP AS SHE APPLIED THE BRAKES. THE CAR ACCELERATED OUT OF CONTROL AND FAILED TO BRAKE. IT JUMPED A SMALL MEDIAN AND EVENTUALLY HIT A CONCRETE BLOCK WALL AT THE BOTTOM OF THE RAMP. LISA MAINTAINS THAT SHE WAS APPLYING THE BRAKES DURING THE DESCENT DOWN THE RAMP UP THE MOMENT OF IMPACT AND THE CAR WAS STILL CONTINUING TO ACCELERATE AND BRAKES DID NOT RESPOND. I CONTACTED HONDA AND SUBMITTED A WRITTEN REQUEST THAT THE EVENT DATA RECORDER (EDR) BE TESTED. A REPRESENTATIVE FROM HONDA CALLED ME ON SEPTEMBER 6 (I WAS ONLY GIVEN A FIRST NAME OF REGGIE) HE EXPLAINED THAT ON OR ABOUT AUGUST 19 A TECHNICIAN EXAMINED THE VEHICLE AND DETERMINED THAT NO PRE ACCIDENT DATA COULD BE RECOVERED. HE EXPLAINED THAT WHILE THE 2012 HONDA PILOT HAS AN EDR ONLY SOME OF THESE VEHICLES HAVE THE ABILITY TO RECORD PRE ACCIDENT DATA AND THAT MINE DID NOT HAVE THIS ABILITY. HE ALSO SAID THAT I WOULD NOT RECEIVE A REPORT OR ANY CONFIRMATION IN WRITING ABOUT THE INCIDENT OR SUBSEQUENT EXAMINATION OF THE VEHICLE. THE OWNER MANUAL INDICATES THAT EDRS HAS THE ABILITY TO RECORD DATA UP TO 30 SECONDS PRIOR TO THE ACCIDENT IT WILL REPORT IF THE ACCELERATOR OR BRAKE WAS BEING ACTIVATED AT THE MOMENT OF IMPACT. IT WILL ALSO INDICATE THE VEHICLE SPEED. MY REQUEST IS THAT HONDA FOLLOW THROUGH AND TEST THE EDR TO DETERMINE IF THE BRAKES AND OR ACCELERATOR MALFUNCTIONED AS LISA MAINTAINS AND SUPPLY THE RESULTS TO ME.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/2/2014 - WEST HARTFORD, CT
RECENTLY PURCHASED A USED 2012 HONDA PILOT TOURING. AFTER DRIVING FOR A FEW DAYS, I TUNED INTO A CONSIDERABLE VIBRATION IN MY SEAT MOSTLY AT HIGHWAY CRUISING SPEEDS. I BELIEVE IT IS THE SAME SHUDDER THAT OTHERS HAVE REPORTED. I HAVE BROUGHT TO THE DEALER ON 2 OCCASIONS SO FAR AND THEY HAVE BALANCED, ROTATED, AND EVEN PUT NEW WHEELS FROM ANOTHER VEHICLE ON IT. I SWEAR I CONTINUE TO FEEL IT AND HONDA TECHS INCLUDING THE MASTER TECH SAY IT DRIVES NORMAL. IT DRIVES ME INSANE AND I CONTINUOUSLY ADJUST SPEEDS TO AVOID IT FROM HAPPENING WHICH IS DANGEROUS ON THE HIGHWAY. IT ALSO PULLS CONSIDERABLY TO THE LEFT EVEN WHEN THE ROAD SLOPES RIGHT. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS AS IF SOMEONE EVER DRIFTED WHILE DRIVING, IT IS STRAIGHT INTO ONCOMING TRAFFIC! I ALSO WONDER ABOUT LONGEVITY OF THE TRANSMISSION, TORQUE CONVERTER ETC. I'M SUPPOSED TO BE EXCITED DRIVING A NEW CAR, AND NOW I AM FRUSTRATED THE ENTIRE RIDE EACH AND EVERY TIME. I REGRET THIS PURCHASE. THIS HAS GOTTEN TO THE POINT I WANT TO RETURN OR TAKE A LOSS AND TRADE IT FOR ANOTHER CAR MANUFACTURER. THIS IS UNACCEPTABLE IN A $42,000 VEHICLE. OTHER THAN THIS SOLE ISSUE, I LOVE THE PILOT. I DECIDED TO ADD MY ENTRY TO HOPEFULLY HELP GET HONDA'S ATTENTION TO THIS ISSUE AND RESOLVE FOR THOSE OF US EXPERIENCING THIS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds