Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA PILOT - 2012 HONDA PILOT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 100 complaints filed for the 2012 HONDA PILOT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 HONDA PILOT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 HONDA PILOT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Power Train (16) Steering (9) Vehicle Speed Control (13)
Electrical System (10) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (1) Structure (3) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Service Brakes (21) Suspension (3) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (21) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (3) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

5/1/2017 - LITTLETON, CO
BOTH FRONT WHEEL BEARINGS FAILED, CREATED A DRONING AND RUMBLING NOISE WHILE DRIVING. THERE WAS ALSO VIBRATION THROUGH THE CAR. IT WAS FELT AT ALL SPEEDS. THE DEALER REPLACED BOTH BEARINGS TO REPLACE FIX THE ISSUE AND APPEARS TO BE RESOLVED, BUT UNKNOWN IF THIS ISSUE WILL RETURN. SPOKE WITH A FRIEND THAT WITH A PILOT AND THIS ALSO HAPPENED TO HIS VEHICLE.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

4/25/2017 - INDIAN TRAIL, NC
THE SUNROOF OF MY 2012 HONDA PILOT SHATTERED FOR NO REASON AFTER A VERY LOUD EXPLOSION SOUND (SOUNDED LIKE A FIRE CRACKER INSIDE THE SUV). THIS HAPPENED AS MY SON, MOTHER IN LAW AND I WERE DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. THIS ABRUPT EXPLOTION AND BREAKAGE COULD HAVE BEEN DEADLY. I URGE THAT HONDA TAKES OWNERSHIP OF THIS ISSUE. I READ MANY BLOGS AND FOR MY SURPRISE IT SEEMS TO BE A COMMON ISSUE DUE TO POOR QUALITY MATERIAL OF CHOICE BY THE MANUFACTURERS. NOW THE WORST PART IS THAT THIS REPLACEMENT IS VERY EXPENSIVE AND NEITHER THE HONDA DEALER OR GEICO WANTS TO HELP AND NOW I HAVE TO PAY A DEDUCTIBLE OF $500. DEFINITELY NOT A FAIR BARGAIN FOR ME AFTER SPENDING $40,000 FOR A HONDA SUV

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/16/2017 - HOUSTON, TX
IN TWO INSTANCES WHEN PULLING INTO A PARKING SPACE AT A SLOW SPEED WITH MY FOOT ON THE BRAKE, THE PILOT SUDDENLY ACCELERATED CAUSING A COLLISION WITH (1) A TREE AND (2) A BUILDING. IN BOTH CASES MY FOOT WAS ON THE BRAKE. THE FIRST INCIDENT HAPPENED IN 2014 AND THE SECOND IN 2017. NEITHER OF THE INCIDENTS CAUSED BODILY HARM. IN THE 2014 INCIDENT POLICE WERE NOT CALLED AND IT WAS NOT REPORTED TO INSURANCE. IN THE 2017 INCIDENT POLICE WERE CALLED AND A CLAIM WILL BE FILED WITH INSURANCE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/3/2017 - DUBLIN, OH
GAS TANK LEAKS AFTER FILLING. STRONG ODOR OF GAS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/31/2017 - MAPLE VALLEY, WA
MY HONDA HAS 60K MILES ON IT. IN OCTOBER, I NOTICED VIBRATION AND SHAKING WHEN BRAKING AT HIGH SPEEDS. I HAD MY PADS REPLACED AND MY ROTORS MACHINED. HERE IT IS A FEW MONTHS LATER AND I'M HAVING THE SAME ISSUES, THE CAR SHAKES AND VIBRATES SEVERELY WHEN GOING DOWNHILL.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/22/2016 - WINSTON-SALEM, NC
MY 2012 HONDA PILOT ROTOR WARP PREMATURELY RESULTING IN LOSS OF CONTROL AND INCREASED RISK FOR CRASH WHEN DRIVING AT MODERATE TO HIGH SPEEDS. AFTER BEING SHOOK TO DEATH AFTER HEAVY BREAKING, I TOOK MY PILOT TO THE DEALERSHIP. THEY SAID THEY ARE AWARE OF THE PROBLEM BUT ROTORS CARRY A 12K MILE WARRANTY. THEY SAY THAT THE ROTORS ARE NOT PROPERLY DESIGNED FOR THE WEIGHT OF THE VEHICLE. IN FACT, THEY UPDATED THE NEW PILOTS BECAUSE OF THIS ISSUE. ALSO, THE HAVE A REPLACEMENT FOR THE HONDA ODYSSEY BECAUSE OF THIS ISSUE BUT NOTHING FOR THE HONDA PILOT. THUS, I AM FORCE TO CHANGE OUT MY ROTORS EVERY 15K MILES BECAUSE OF HONDA'S POOR DESIGN. LOSS OF CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE DUE TO IMPROPERLY DESIGN ROTOR SHOULD BE RECALLED. THIS ON TOP OF HONDA KNOWINGLY AND ADMITTING THAT THERE IS A PROBLEM THAT AFFECTS SAFETY, IS PURE NEGLIGENCE.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

9/30/2016 - ELK GROVE, CA
WHEN BACKING UP USING THE BACKUP CAMERA THE CAMERA DISPLAY WILL SOMETIMES GO BLACK ON THE SCREEN. I HAVE ALMOST ON TWO OCCASIONS ALMOST HIT SOMEONE BACKING OUT OF A PARKING LOT. THIS IS A INTERMITTENT PROBLEM THAT COMES AND GOES. I FEEL IT'S A SAFETY ISSUES TO HAVE YOUR VISION SUDDENLY CUT OUT WITH NO WARNING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/30/2016 - ELK GROVE, CA
WHEN BACKING UP USING THE BACKUP CAMERA THE CAMERA DISPLAY WILL SOMETIMES GO BLACK ON THE SCREEN. I HAVE ALMOST ON TWO OCCASIONS ALMOST HIT SOMEONE BACKING OUT OF A PARKING LOT. THIS IS A INTERMITTENT PROBLEM THAT COMES AND GOES. I FEEL IT'S A SAFETY ISSUES TO HAVE YOUR VISION SUDDENLY CUT OUT WITH NO WARNING.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/5/2016 - SYKESVILLE, MD
I GOT AN ACCIDENT ON 06/30/2016 AND STILL WAITING FOR MY HONDA PILOT 2012 AIRBAG (PASSENGER SIDE) SINCE MONTH AND A HALF. I OPENED A CASE WITH AMERICAN HONDA TO PROVIDE ME AN ALTERNATIVE TRANSPORTATION AS THEY ARE NOT ABLE TO DELIVER THE AIRBAG WITHIN REASONABLE TIMEFRAME BUT IT ENDED UP WITH A MOMENT OF DISAPPOINTMENT. AFTER THREE WEEKS OF HASSLE, THE AMERICAN HONDA SAID WE CANNOT PROVIDE YOU ALTERNATE TRANSPORTATION AS THE AIR BAG IS NOT PART OF RECALL. HOWEVER, THE CASE MANAGER SAID "THE PART IS ON CRITICAL BACKORDER, IT+S ON THE HIGHEST LEVEL AND THERE IS NO ETA". THE DISAPPOINTMENT DOES NOT END HERE! I ASK THE CASE MANAGER TO SEND ME THIS DECISION IN BLACK AND WHITE SO I CAN DISCUSS THIS MATTER WITH LEGAL EXPERTS BUT ALL I HEAR NO, THEY ARE NOT ALLOWED TO DO SO. MOREOVER, I ASKED AMERICAN HONDA TO TALK TO SUPERVISOR OF MY CASE MANAGER AND ITS ALMOST A WEEK SINCE I AM WAITING, WAITING AND WAITING. JUST SO YOU KNOW, FOR ME IT'S A BIG WASTE OF TIME AND I FOUND HONDA SERVICE REPS REALLY UNPROFESSIONAL.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/13/2016 - SUGAR LAND, TX
BRAKES ARE VERY SOFT FROM NEW. DEALER NEVER FIX PROBLEM. ALWAYS SAID IS NORMAL.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds