Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA PILOT - 2012 HONDA PILOT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 85 complaints filed for the 2012 HONDA PILOT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 HONDA PILOT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 HONDA PILOT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Power Train (15) Steering (8) Vehicle Speed Control (11)
Electrical System (9) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (1) Structure (3) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Service Brakes (14) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (19) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (3) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/8/2016 - ALLEN, TX
TWO OCCURRENCES OF CAR LUNGING FORWARD 10-20 FEET ACTING LIKE BEING REAR-ENDED. FOOT WAS FIRMLY PRESSED ON THE BRAKE PEDAL AND CAR LUNGES MANY FEET, THIS OCCURRED TWO TIMES IN ONE DAY. TWO DAYS PRIOR TO THIS INCIDENT, I WAS UNABLE TO SUCCESSFULLY STOP AT AN INTERSECTION AS THE ENGINE WOULD NOT REV DOWN AND BRAKING WAS IMPOSSIBLE TO ACCOMPLISH. HONDA CARS OF MCKINNEY TX IS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE ISSUE. HONDA HEADQUARTERS SENT OUT A SPECIALIZED TECHNICIAN WHO ALSO CAN+T REPLICATE OR DIAGNOSE THE ISSUE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/5/2016 - PHOENIX, AZ
WARPED ROTORS DUE TO ISSUES WITH FRONT SUSPENSION REAR LOWER ARM BUSHINGS THAT ARE CURRENTLY LEAKING AND CRACHED. I TOOK MY CAR INTO THE DEALERSHIP SEVERAL TIMES AND WAS NEVER TOLD ABOUT THIS ISSUE, BUT DID COMPLAIN OF VIBRATING, YET NOTHING WAS SAID OR DONE. HAD TO GO TO ANOTHER MECHANIC TO FIND OUT WHAT WAS WRONG. HONDA NEEDS TO COVER THIS ISSUE AS I CAN SEE FROM THE OTHER COMPLAINTS THAT I AM NOT THE ONLY ONE WITH THIS ISSUE. THESE ARE FAULTY PARTS ON A VEHICLE THAT COSTS OVER $30,000.00. THIS IS MY SECOND HONDA PILOT AND I DID NOT HAVE THIS ISSUE WITH THE LAST PILOT. CAR VIOLENTLY SHAKES WHEN BRAKING. IT HOWEVER THE WHOLE FRONT END VIBRATES WHEN DRIVING. NOW MY WINDOW RATTLES AND I BELIEVE IT IS LOOSE BECAUSE I CAN HEAR THE AIR

View Details

STEERING

11/30/2015 - HAMPDEN, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HONDA PILOT. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH, THE POWER STEERING FAILED AND THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO A TELEPHONE POLE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. NO POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE LOWER BACK, WHICH DID NOT REQUIRE MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE AND VIN WERE UNKNOWN.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/10/2015 - MANCHESTER, MO
BLUETOOTH CONNECTION DROPS REGULARLY, CAUSING A DISTRACTION TO THE DRIVER.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/1/2015 - THOMASVILLE, NC
ON OCTOBER 31, 2015 AT APPROXIMATELY 1100 HOURS, I WAS TRAVELING ON INTERSTATE 85 NORTHBOUND APPROACHING THE EXIT RAMP TO ARCHDALE, NORTH CAROLINA WHEN A LOUD EXPLOSION SOUND OCCURRED. WHILE I CONTINUE NORTH ON INTERSTATE 85 IN THE SLOW LANE UNTIL I COULD FIND A GOOD AND SAFE AREA TO PULL OVER, I STARTED TO HEAR A NOISE THAT SOUNDED LIKE GLASS HITTING THE ROOF OF MY VEHICLE. THE NOISE WAS COMING FROM THE SUNROOF AREA BUT I HAVE THE SLIDING SUN VISOR CLOSED SO I COULD NOT SEE WHAT WAS COMING FROM MY SUNROOF UNTIL I LOOKED OUT MY REAR VIEW MIRROR AND NOTICED GLASS WAS FALLING OFF THE REAR OF MY VEHICLE. AFTER APPROXIMATELY DRIVING 150 FEET, I PULLED MY VEHICLE ON THE RIGHT SHOULDER OF I-85 JUST SOUTH OF HIGHWAY 62 EXIT RAMP TO INVESTIGATE THE INCIDENT. WHEN I GOT OUT OF MY VEHICLE, I NOTICED THAT I HAD A LARGE HOLE IN THE MIDDLE OF GLASS SUNROOF WITH MINOR CRACKS SURROUNDING THE LARGE HOLE. DURING MY INVESTIGATION AND BASED ON MY TRAINING AND EXPERIENCE INVESTIGATING CRASHES OR BEING INVOLVED IN A CRASH INVESTIGATIONS WHILE PERFORMING MY DUTIES AS A LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICER, I NOTICED THAT THE GLASS ON MY SUNROOF WAS PUSHED UP AS IF THE SUNROOF BUCKLED AND EXPLODED. I CAN TESTIFY 100% THAT NOTHING HIT MY VEHICLE WHILE DRIVING ON INTERSTATE 85 BECAUSE FOR SOMETHING TO HIT MY VEHICLE DIRECTLY IN THE CENTER OF MY SUNROOF AND PRODUCE A LARGE HOLE, IT WOULD HAVE BROKEN THE SLIDING SUN VISOR THAT I HAD CLOSED. IN ADDITION, I DID NOT SEE ANY ROCKS OR HARD OBJECTS LYING INSIDE THE LARGE HOLE. FURTHERMORE, AS I MENTIONED BEFORE THE EDGES OF THE LARGE HOLE OF MISSING GLASS WAS POSITIONED IN A UPWARD POSITION AND USUALLY WHEN GLASS IS BROKEN, IT CAVES INWARD AND NOT OUTWARD. THEREFORE, AFTER SPENDING APPROXIMATELY 15 MINUTES LOOKING AT MY SUNROOF THAT EXPLODED, I DROVE IT BACK HOME AND I CONTACTED MY INSURANCE COMPANY AND OBTAINED PHOTOGRAPHS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/25/2015 - BURR RIDGE, IL
RIGHT SIDE WINDSHIELD CLOSURE/TRIM (GARNISH - PART NUMBER 73152 - SZA - 01ZA) BLEW OFF WHILE TRAVELING AT INTERSTATE SPEED. SAW / HEARD SOMETHING HIT THE TOP PART OF THE WINDSHIELD AND ROOF. THOUGHT IT CAME FROM VEHICLE IN FRONT OF ME. DID NOTICE VEHICLE BEHIND ME PULLED OVER. DIDN'T NOTICE MISSING PC UNTIL CLEANING WINDSHIELD A COUPLE WEEKS LATER.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/4/2015 - ELLICOTT CITY , MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HONDA PILOT. WHILE DRIVING 15 MPH, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED BUT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE BEFORE GOING INTO A HIGHER SPEED. THE FAILURE RECURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 4,839.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/4/2015 - HARWICH, MA
2012 HONDA PILOT CERTIFIED PRE OWNED PURCHASED FROM HENDRICKS HONDA, BRADENTON, FL. I PURCHASED 1/27/2015. ORIGINAL IN SERVICE 4/19/2012. IN FLORIDA. VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN IN WINTER WEATHER OR ON SALTED ROADS SINCE ORIGINAL IN SERVICE DATE. APPR. 1 WEEK AFTER PURCHASE I BROUGHT TO THE ATTENTION OF USED CAR DEPT. PERSONEL THAT ALL 4 BRAKE ROTORS WERE SHOWING RUST ON ALL NON BRAKING SURFACES. I WAS TOLD THIS WAS NORMAL AND THEY WOULD NOT ADDRESS THIS ISSUE. I SUBSEQUENTLY RETURNED WITH VEHICLE TO MY HOME IN MASS. RUST ON ROTORS PROGRESSED TO POINT OF LOOKING LIKE IT WOULD AFFECT THE INTEGRITY OF THE ROTOR. UPON RRETURNING TO MY HOME IN MASS. I BROUGHT IT TO THE SERVICE DEPT OF ORLEANS AUTO, AS SUBSIDIARY OF THE AUTHORIZED HONDA DEALER; HYANNIS HONDA,AND WAS TOLD THAT HONDA WOULD NOT ADDRESS THIS ISSUE. AUG 4.2015, I BROUGHT THE VEHICLE TO HYANNIS HONDA TO BE INSPECTED BY SERVICE MANAGER; NORMAN LAMARRE, AND SERVICE DIRECTOR, RENE EANSEREAU. BOTH CONFIRMED THAT THIS IS A COMMONLY SEEN PROBLEM ON RECENT HONDA VEHICLES AND A KNOWN HONDA PROBLEM, THEY HAVE DEALT WITH MANY TIMES OVER MANY YEARS AND HAVE HAD MANY COMPLAINTS. HOWEVER AMERICAN HONDA WILL NOT COVER RUST ON ROTORS AS A WARRANTY. THIS IS UNACCEPTABLE AS THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE THAT AMERICAN HONDA IS REFUSING TO ADDRESS. I AM REQUESTING YOUR ASSISTANCE IN THE MATTER. I AM CONVINCED THAT THE THE INTEGRITY OF THESE BRAKE ROTORS IS PRESENTLY COMPROMISED, IN THE COOLING VAN AREA AND THE HUB AREA. I AM REQUESTING YOUR ASSISTANCE IN THE MATTER. UPDATED 10/06/15

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/29/2015 - GALT, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HONDA PILOT. WHILE AT A STOP LIGHT, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED BUT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE BEFORE GOING INTO A HIGHER SPEED. THE FAILURE RECURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED, BUT THE FAILURE WAS NOT DETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/11/2015 - HIALEAH, FL
I WAS IN MY DRIVEWAY, APPLYING BRAKES AS I BEGAN COASTING TO A STOP IN FRONT OF MY HOUSE WHEN THE CAR SUDDENLY ACCELERATED SMASHING INTO THE FRONT OF MY HOUSE. MIDDLE OF THE DAY, NO RAIN, NOT IMPAIRED, FLAT DRIVEWAY. AIR BAGS DID NOT ACTIVATE. PAINT/SCRATCHES ON THE FRONT BUMPER AND CRACKS ON THE HOUSE STUCCO BUT NO MAJOR DAMAGE. ACCELERATION STARTED JUST A COUPLE YARDS FROM THE HOUSE. HONDA DEALERSHIP COULD NOT FIND ANY EVIDENCE OF A COMPUTER OR OTHER PROBLEM.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds