Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA PILOT - 2012 HONDA PILOT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 71 complaints filed for the 2012 HONDA PILOT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 HONDA PILOT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 HONDA PILOT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Power Train (14) Steering (6) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electrical System (9) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (1) Structure (1) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Service Brakes (12) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (19) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (1) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

4/16/2015 - IMPERIAL BEACH, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HONDA PILOT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO FIND A FAILURE. THE TRANSMISSION FLUID AND OIL WERE CHANGED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 10.

View Details

ENGINE

4/16/2015 - IMPERIAL BEACH, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HONDA PILOT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO FIND A FAILURE. THE TRANSMISSION FLUID AND OIL WERE CHANGED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 10.

View Details

ENGINE

4/14/2015 - SAN JOSE, CA
PURCHASED THE VEHICLE USED FROM A FRANCHISE DEALER AND AM THE SECOND OWNER. THE ENGINE HESITATES AT LOW SPEEDS (APPROX. 10 MPH) WHEN ACCELERATING. THIS BECOMES APPARENT WHEN ATTEMPTING ACCELERATE FROM A STOP LIGHT, ACCELERATING FROM A TURN, MERGING ONTO A FREEWAY, CHANGING LANES, ETC. IT DOES HAPPEN PERIODICALLY AND I AM UNABLE TO REPRODUCE THE ISSUE ON-DEMAND, BUT IT SEEMS TO HAPPEN DAILY WHENEVER THE CAR FEELS LIKE IT. I AM SURPRISED THERE IS NO RECALL ISSUED FOR THIS, AS I HAVE ALREADY HAD A COUPLE OF NEAR MISSING WHEN TRYING TO MERGE ONTO THE FREEWAY WITH STEADY FLOWING TRAFFIC AND WHEN CROSSING AN INTERSECTION FROM ONE SIDE OF THE STREET TO THE OTHER. I HAVE YET TO TAKE THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER, AS IT IS OUT OF WARRANTY AND THERE DOES NOT APPEAR TO BE A SOLUTION TO THIS ISSUE, SO I WANT TO UNDERSTAND WHAT MY OPTIONS ARE. I'LL BE REACHING OUT TO AMERICAN HONDA SOON.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/14/2015 - SAN JOSE, CA
PURCHASED THE VEHICLE USED FROM A FRANCHISE DEALER AND AM THE SECOND OWNER. THE ENGINE HESITATES AT LOW SPEEDS (APPROX. 10 MPH) WHEN ACCELERATING. THIS BECOMES APPARENT WHEN ATTEMPTING ACCELERATE FROM A STOP LIGHT, ACCELERATING FROM A TURN, MERGING ONTO A FREEWAY, CHANGING LANES, ETC. IT DOES HAPPEN PERIODICALLY AND I AM UNABLE TO REPRODUCE THE ISSUE ON-DEMAND, BUT IT SEEMS TO HAPPEN DAILY WHENEVER THE CAR FEELS LIKE IT. I AM SURPRISED THERE IS NO RECALL ISSUED FOR THIS, AS I HAVE ALREADY HAD A COUPLE OF NEAR MISSING WHEN TRYING TO MERGE ONTO THE FREEWAY WITH STEADY FLOWING TRAFFIC AND WHEN CROSSING AN INTERSECTION FROM ONE SIDE OF THE STREET TO THE OTHER. I HAVE YET TO TAKE THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER, AS IT IS OUT OF WARRANTY AND THERE DOES NOT APPEAR TO BE A SOLUTION TO THIS ISSUE, SO I WANT TO UNDERSTAND WHAT MY OPTIONS ARE. I'LL BE REACHING OUT TO AMERICAN HONDA SOON.

View Details

VISIBILITY: SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

4/8/2015 - MILLVILLE, NJ
2012 HONDA PILOT. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE MOON ROOF EXPLODED AND SHATTERED WHILE DRIVING.

View Details

STEERING

2/20/2015 - MIAMI, FL
2012 HONDA PILOT HAS VIBRATION/SHAKING IN THE STEERING WHEEL WHEN BRAKING FROM 50+ MPH. NOT NOTICEABLE AT LOWER SPEEDS, BUT VERY NOTICEABLE ABOVE 50MPH. STEERING WHEEL SHAKES AND MAKES IT SEEM AS IF THE CAR WANTS TO LOSE CONTROL OR NOT BRAKE AS IT SHOULD.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/20/2015 - MIAMI, FL
2012 HONDA PILOT HAS VIBRATION/SHAKING IN THE STEERING WHEEL WHEN BRAKING FROM 50+ MPH. NOT NOTICEABLE AT LOWER SPEEDS, BUT VERY NOTICEABLE ABOVE 50MPH. STEERING WHEEL SHAKES AND MAKES IT SEEM AS IF THE CAR WANTS TO LOSE CONTROL OR NOT BRAKE AS IT SHOULD.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/8/2015 - CUMMING, GA
I HAVE BEEN DRIVING MY HONDA PILOT 2012 LX SINCE NOV 2012, THOUGH HAVE BEEN VISITED HONDA ABOUT 03 TIMES FOR BRAKES, THE CURRENT MILES ARE APPROX 37400 MILES AND ALREADY RESURFACED THE FRONT BRAKE ROTORS 2 TIMES, THIS IS DUE TO THE VEHICLE WEIGHT PER HONDA, IT SEEMS THE ISSUE IS WITH ROTORS, EVEN AFTER DRIVING REALLY CONSERVATIVELY THE ROTORS GET UNEVEN REALLY FAST, I SINCERELY BELIEVE THE ROTORS NEED TO BE OF BETTER QUALITY AND HENCE REPLACED BY HONDA.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/20/2014 - PAPILLION, NE
SOMETIMES WHEN STARTING OUT AND MAKING LEFT OR RIGHT HAND TURN AFTER BEING STOPPED AT A STOP LIGHT OR STOP SIGN, THE ENGINE WILL HESITATE AND BOG DOWN FOR A FEW SECONDS BEFORE IT "KICKS IN" AND THEN THERE IS A "SURGE OF POWER". THIS IS VERY ANNOYING AT THE LEAST AND ALSO VERY DANGEROUS AS ONE COULD EASILY GET REARENDED OR WORSE YET GET CAUGHT IN THE INTERSECTION IN ONCOMING TRAFFIC. THIS HAS HAPPENED ON 3 OCCASIONS AND EACH TIME I WAS BARELY ABLE TO ACCELERATE ENOUGH TO CLEAR THE INTERSECTION. THERE ARE SEVERAL COMPLAINTS TO HONDA DEALERS OF THIS EXISTING PROBLEM AND THEY HAVE FAILED TO TAKE ANY CORRECTIVE ACTION OR ACKNOWLEDGE THE PROBLEM. SOMEONE'S GOING TO HAVE TO BE KILLED BEFORE THIS GETS THEIR ATTENTION. SEE LINK BELOW OF COMPLAINTS. HTTP://WWW.ARFC.ORG/COMPLAINTS/2012/HONDA/PILOT/VEHICLE_SPEED_CONTROL/PROBLEM.ASPX

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/17/2014 - ORLANDO, FL
PROBLEM: WHILE TRYING TO ACCELERATE, THERE IS A RESISTANCE/HESITATION THAT IS FELT IN THE GAS PEDAL AND THE ENGINE HAS TROUBLE INCREASING RPM'S. THIS IS AN INTERMITTENT ISSUE. CASE I: WHILE IN A PARKING LOT, TRYING TO PICK UP A LITTLE SPEED. GAS PEDAL HAS RESISTANCE AND ENGINE WON'T PICK UP SPEED. I KEEP MY FOOT STEADY ON THE ACCELERATOR AND THEN PILOT PICKS UP SPEED IN A UNEXPECTED RUSH. HIGH LEVEL OF DANGER DUE TO PEOPLE PRESENT IN THE AREA; AS THERE WAS AN UNEXPECTED AMOUNT OF SPEED. CASE II: ROAD TYPE: THREE LANE ROAD IN EACH DIRECTION OF TRAFFIC. WHILE IN THE LEGAL U-TURN LANE, I OBSERVE THAT THERE IS ENOUGH DISTANCE TO MAKE A U-TURN. FROM A STOP I TRY TO PICK UP SPEED (I WAS AIMING FOR 5K RPM'S, I KNOW HOW FAR TO PRESS THE GAS PEDAL TO GET THAT RESPONSE). A GREAT RESISTANCE AND LACK OF RESPONSE FROM THE GAS PEDAL WAS FELT. THERE WAS MINIMAL ACCELERATION HAPPENING AND THEN AFTER ABOUT 6 TO 8 SECONDS, THE ENGINE WAS ABLE TO GET TO 6K RPM'S. AS THE CARS APPROACHED FASTER I ALMOST GOT REAR ENDED. AS THERE HAVE BEEN MORE CASES, THESE ARE TO TWO MOST DANGEROUS ONES. E: THE RESISTANCE/HESITATION OF THE GAS PEDAL HAPPENS UNDER ANY TEMPERATURE IN THE CABIN.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds