Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA PILOT - 2012 HONDA PILOT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 104 complaints filed for the 2012 HONDA PILOT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 HONDA PILOT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 HONDA PILOT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Power Train (16) Steering (9) Vehicle Speed Control (14)
Electrical System (10) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (1) Structure (3) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Service Brakes (22) Suspension (4) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (22) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (3) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

10/10/2017 - PEORIA, AZ
BRAKE ROTORS WARPING AGAIN FOR THIRD TIME, 80,000 MILES. NO HARD BRAKING. MECHANIC TELLS ME HE SEES THIS A LOT WITH THIS MAKE AND MODEL. VERY SEVERE STEERING WHEEL SHAKING AND ALMOST LOSS OF CONTROL ON HIGHWAY WHEN EVEN SLIGHTLY BRAKING AT 60+ MPH

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/5/2017 - RAGLAND, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HONDA PILOT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO SIERRA HONDA OF SYLACAUGA (40941 US-280, SYLACAUGA, AL 35150 (256) 245-5000) REGARDING NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V03000 (AIR BAGS). THE MECHANIC NOTICED THAT THE LEFT BUSHINGS LEAKED FLUID. IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE LEFT COMPLIANCE BUSHING NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 83,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

10/5/2017 - RAGLAND, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HONDA PILOT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO SIERRA HONDA OF SYLACAUGA (40941 US-280, SYLACAUGA, AL 35150 (256) 245-5000) REGARDING NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V03000 (AIR BAGS). THE MECHANIC NOTICED THAT THE LEFT BUSHINGS LEAKED FLUID. IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE LEFT COMPLIANCE BUSHING NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 83,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/29/2017 - WEST CALDWELL, NJ
I WAS IN STOP AND GO TRAFFIC IN RUSH HOUR, TRAVELING IN THE MIDDLE LANE OF A 3 LANE INTERSTATE HIGHWAY. ONE OF MY DAUGHTERS WAS TRAVELING IN THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT AND THE OTHER ONE WAS I SEATED BEHIND ME. I HAD BEEN TRAVELING FOR ABOUT 45 MINUTES AT A MAXIMUM SPEED OF APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH, AS TRAFFIC WOULD CLEAR AND THEN BECOME CONGESTED AGAIN. I WAS MAINTAINING ABOUT 5 CAR LENGTHS BETWEEN MY CAR AND THE CAR AHEAD OF ME. I TAPPED MY ACCELERATOR TO MOVE UP WHICH CAUSED MY PILOT TO SHOOT FORWARD. I THOUGHT TO MYSELF IT WAS LUCKY I HAD MAINTAINED A GOOD DISTANCE WITH THE CAR IN FRONT AND APPLIED THE BRAKES TO SLOW DOWN. THE CAR CONTINUED TO SURGE, AND I COULD HEAR THE ENGINE REVVING. I BEGAN SCREAMING, AND MY DAUGHTER IN THE FRONT SEAT WAS YELLING FOR ME TO HIT THE BRAKES. I TOLD HER I WAS PRESSING THE BRAKES, BUT THE CAR CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE, DESPITE MY APPLYING WITH GREAT PRESSURE ON THE BRAKE. MY DAUGHTER COULD ALSO HEAR THE ENGINE REVVING. WE SLAMMED INTO THE CAR IN FRONT OF US, AND CONTINUED MOVING. THIS CAR REAR ENDED A PICK UP TRUCK WHICH FINALLY STOPPED MY PILOT. BOTH FRONT SEAT AIRBAGS DEPLOYED, AND MY CAR BECAME ATTACHED TO THE CAR I REAR ENDED. LUCKILY, EVERYONE INVOLVED IN THE ACCIDENT WAS ABLE TO WALK AWAY, BUT IF THE DRIVER I HAD STRUCK HAD PASSENGERS, THERE DEFINITELY WOULD HAVE BEEN SEVERE INJURIES. I RECEIVED A TICKET FROM A STATE TROOPER FOR FAILURE TO MAINTAIN A SAFE DRIVING DISTANCE FOR AN ACCIDENT THAT WAS NOT MY FAULT.

View Details

ENGINE

7/7/2017 - GULF BREEZE, FL
EXCESSIVE OIL USAGE - FOULING PLUGS - REDUCED GAS MILEAGE - VCM FAULT DTC 3400 TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN (TSB #11-033)

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/7/2017 - GULF BREEZE, FL
EXCESSIVE OIL USAGE - FOULING PLUGS - REDUCED GAS MILEAGE - VCM FAULT DTC 3400 TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN (TSB #11-033)

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/1/2017 - LITTLETON, CO
BOTH FRONT WHEEL BEARINGS FAILED, CREATED A DRONING AND RUMBLING NOISE WHILE DRIVING. THERE WAS ALSO VIBRATION THROUGH THE CAR. IT WAS FELT AT ALL SPEEDS. THE DEALER REPLACED BOTH BEARINGS TO REPLACE FIX THE ISSUE AND APPEARS TO BE RESOLVED, BUT UNKNOWN IF THIS ISSUE WILL RETURN. SPOKE WITH A FRIEND THAT WITH A PILOT AND THIS ALSO HAPPENED TO HIS VEHICLE.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

4/25/2017 - INDIAN TRAIL, NC
THE SUNROOF OF MY 2012 HONDA PILOT SHATTERED FOR NO REASON AFTER A VERY LOUD EXPLOSION SOUND (SOUNDED LIKE A FIRE CRACKER INSIDE THE SUV). THIS HAPPENED AS MY SON, MOTHER IN LAW AND I WERE DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. THIS ABRUPT EXPLOTION AND BREAKAGE COULD HAVE BEEN DEADLY. I URGE THAT HONDA TAKES OWNERSHIP OF THIS ISSUE. I READ MANY BLOGS AND FOR MY SURPRISE IT SEEMS TO BE A COMMON ISSUE DUE TO POOR QUALITY MATERIAL OF CHOICE BY THE MANUFACTURERS. NOW THE WORST PART IS THAT THIS REPLACEMENT IS VERY EXPENSIVE AND NEITHER THE HONDA DEALER OR GEICO WANTS TO HELP AND NOW I HAVE TO PAY A DEDUCTIBLE OF $500. DEFINITELY NOT A FAIR BARGAIN FOR ME AFTER SPENDING $40,000 FOR A HONDA SUV

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/16/2017 - HOUSTON, TX
IN TWO INSTANCES WHEN PULLING INTO A PARKING SPACE AT A SLOW SPEED WITH MY FOOT ON THE BRAKE, THE PILOT SUDDENLY ACCELERATED CAUSING A COLLISION WITH (1) A TREE AND (2) A BUILDING. IN BOTH CASES MY FOOT WAS ON THE BRAKE. THE FIRST INCIDENT HAPPENED IN 2014 AND THE SECOND IN 2017. NEITHER OF THE INCIDENTS CAUSED BODILY HARM. IN THE 2014 INCIDENT POLICE WERE NOT CALLED AND IT WAS NOT REPORTED TO INSURANCE. IN THE 2017 INCIDENT POLICE WERE CALLED AND A CLAIM WILL BE FILED WITH INSURANCE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/3/2017 - DUBLIN, OH
GAS TANK LEAKS AFTER FILLING. STRONG ODOR OF GAS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds