Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA PILOT - 2012 HONDA PILOT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 94 complaints filed for the 2012 HONDA PILOT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 HONDA PILOT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 HONDA PILOT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Power Train (16) Steering (9) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Electrical System (10) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (1) Structure (3) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Service Brakes (19) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (21) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (3) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/30/2016 - ELK GROVE, CA
WHEN BACKING UP USING THE BACKUP CAMERA THE CAMERA DISPLAY WILL SOMETIMES GO BLACK ON THE SCREEN. I HAVE ALMOST ON TWO OCCASIONS ALMOST HIT SOMEONE BACKING OUT OF A PARKING LOT. THIS IS A INTERMITTENT PROBLEM THAT COMES AND GOES. I FEEL IT'S A SAFETY ISSUES TO HAVE YOUR VISION SUDDENLY CUT OUT WITH NO WARNING.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

9/30/2016 - ELK GROVE, CA
WHEN BACKING UP USING THE BACKUP CAMERA THE CAMERA DISPLAY WILL SOMETIMES GO BLACK ON THE SCREEN. I HAVE ALMOST ON TWO OCCASIONS ALMOST HIT SOMEONE BACKING OUT OF A PARKING LOT. THIS IS A INTERMITTENT PROBLEM THAT COMES AND GOES. I FEEL IT'S A SAFETY ISSUES TO HAVE YOUR VISION SUDDENLY CUT OUT WITH NO WARNING.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/5/2016 - SYKESVILLE, MD
I GOT AN ACCIDENT ON 06/30/2016 AND STILL WAITING FOR MY HONDA PILOT 2012 AIRBAG (PASSENGER SIDE) SINCE MONTH AND A HALF. I OPENED A CASE WITH AMERICAN HONDA TO PROVIDE ME AN ALTERNATIVE TRANSPORTATION AS THEY ARE NOT ABLE TO DELIVER THE AIRBAG WITHIN REASONABLE TIMEFRAME BUT IT ENDED UP WITH A MOMENT OF DISAPPOINTMENT. AFTER THREE WEEKS OF HASSLE, THE AMERICAN HONDA SAID WE CANNOT PROVIDE YOU ALTERNATE TRANSPORTATION AS THE AIR BAG IS NOT PART OF RECALL. HOWEVER, THE CASE MANAGER SAID "THE PART IS ON CRITICAL BACKORDER, IT+S ON THE HIGHEST LEVEL AND THERE IS NO ETA". THE DISAPPOINTMENT DOES NOT END HERE! I ASK THE CASE MANAGER TO SEND ME THIS DECISION IN BLACK AND WHITE SO I CAN DISCUSS THIS MATTER WITH LEGAL EXPERTS BUT ALL I HEAR NO, THEY ARE NOT ALLOWED TO DO SO. MOREOVER, I ASKED AMERICAN HONDA TO TALK TO SUPERVISOR OF MY CASE MANAGER AND ITS ALMOST A WEEK SINCE I AM WAITING, WAITING AND WAITING. JUST SO YOU KNOW, FOR ME IT'S A BIG WASTE OF TIME AND I FOUND HONDA SERVICE REPS REALLY UNPROFESSIONAL.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/13/2016 - SUGAR LAND, TX
BRAKES ARE VERY SOFT FROM NEW. DEALER NEVER FIX PROBLEM. ALWAYS SAID IS NORMAL.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/6/2016 - LAKE PLEASANT, NY
REAR BRAKE PADS RUSTED SOLIDLY TO CALIPERS. INOPERATIVE. FRONT BRAKES PADS RUSTED BUT STILL OPERATING. ONLY 23,000 MILES ON VEHICLE. A LOUD SCREECHING NOISE ALERTED ME TO A PROBLEM AS I BACKED OUT OF MY GARAGE. TOOK VEHICLE TO MECHANIC WHO TEST DROVE CAR AND KNEW WHAT PROBLEM WAS. HE TOOK OFF ALL 4 WHEELS ,PRIED PADS LOOSE FROM CALIPERS, SANDED OFF RUST, LUBED AND REINSTALLED PARTS. HE INFORMED ME THAT I NEEDED NEW CALIPERS, PADS AND HARDWARE. I CALLED DEALER AND WAS TOLD THAT BEING OUT OF WARRANTY, THAT THEY COULD DO NOTHING FOR ME. I THEN CALLED HONDA MOTOR CO. I WAS TOLD THAT VEHICLE WAS OUT OF WARRANTY AND THEY COULD DO NOTHING FOR ME.TO ME,THIS SEEMED A SAFETY ISSUE MORE THAN A WARRANTY ISSUE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/10/2016 - CHARLOTTE, NC
ON MAY 17, 2016, IN MY DRIVEWAY, I WAS TRYING TO MOVE MY 2012 PILOT FROM BESIDE MY HUSBAND'S VEHICLE TO BEHIND IT SO MY SON COULD PULL INTO THE DRIVEWAY. I PRESSED THE GAS PEDAL TO MOVE BEHIND MY HUSBAND'S TRUCK AND IT MOVED UP A LITTLE BEFORE IT ACCELERATED TO A HIGH SPEED SLAMMING HIS TRUCK INTO THE GARAGE AND CRUSHING IT. I HIT THE BRAKES, BUT IT DIDN'T HELP. THE ENGINE WAS REVVING AND TIRES WERE SPINNING AS FAST AS THEY COULD. THE AIRBAG HIT ME IN THE FACE CAUSING ME TO JERK THE STEERING WHEEL TO THE RIGHT, WHICH THEN CAUSED THE PILOT TO DRIVE ACROSS MY FRONT YARD AT A HIGH SPEED CRASHING INTO MY NEIGHBOR'S TREE WITH MY FOOT STILL ON THE BRAKE! THE ENGINE ONLY STOPPED WHEN MY HUSBAND RAN OUT OF MY HOUSE AND TURNED OFF THE PILOT. AT THAT POINT, I DIDN'T KNOW WHAT WAS HAPPENING BECAUSE I HAD BEEN HIT SO HARD IN THE FACE BY THE AIRBAG. THE PILOT WAS INSPECTED TODAY BY HONDA CORPORATE AT A HONDA DEALERSHIP AGAINST MY BETTER JUDGMENT. OF COURSE AFTER A THOROUGH INSPECTION, "NO CAUSE WAS FOUND FOR UNINTENTIONAL ACCELERATION." THERE SEEMS TO BE A PATTERN OF THIS SAME THING HAPPENING TO OTHER PEOPLE AND HONDA NOT TAKING RESPONSIBILITY. SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE BEFORE SOMEONE IS SERIOUSLY HURT!

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/10/2016 - CHARLOTTE, NC
ON MAY 17, 2016, IN MY DRIVEWAY, I WAS TRYING TO MOVE MY 2012 PILOT FROM BESIDE MY HUSBAND'S VEHICLE TO BEHIND IT SO MY SON COULD PULL INTO THE DRIVEWAY. I PRESSED THE GAS PEDAL TO MOVE BEHIND MY HUSBAND'S TRUCK AND IT MOVED UP A LITTLE BEFORE IT ACCELERATED TO A HIGH SPEED SLAMMING HIS TRUCK INTO THE GARAGE AND CRUSHING IT. I HIT THE BRAKES, BUT IT DIDN'T HELP. THE ENGINE WAS REVVING AND TIRES WERE SPINNING AS FAST AS THEY COULD. THE AIRBAG HIT ME IN THE FACE CAUSING ME TO JERK THE STEERING WHEEL TO THE RIGHT, WHICH THEN CAUSED THE PILOT TO DRIVE ACROSS MY FRONT YARD AT A HIGH SPEED CRASHING INTO MY NEIGHBOR'S TREE WITH MY FOOT STILL ON THE BRAKE! THE ENGINE ONLY STOPPED WHEN MY HUSBAND RAN OUT OF MY HOUSE AND TURNED OFF THE PILOT. AT THAT POINT, I DIDN'T KNOW WHAT WAS HAPPENING BECAUSE I HAD BEEN HIT SO HARD IN THE FACE BY THE AIRBAG. THE PILOT WAS INSPECTED TODAY BY HONDA CORPORATE AT A HONDA DEALERSHIP AGAINST MY BETTER JUDGMENT. OF COURSE AFTER A THOROUGH INSPECTION, "NO CAUSE WAS FOUND FOR UNINTENTIONAL ACCELERATION." THERE SEEMS TO BE A PATTERN OF THIS SAME THING HAPPENING TO OTHER PEOPLE AND HONDA NOT TAKING RESPONSIBILITY. SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE BEFORE SOMEONE IS SERIOUSLY HURT!

View Details

ENGINE

6/5/2016 - DELTA, PA
39000 MILES AND EGR VALVE MALFUNCTION. JUST BOUGHT THIS 2012 HONDA PILOT. THE DEALER COVERED REPAIR AS I JUST BOUGHT IT. IS THIS GOING TO BE A REOCCURRING PROBLEM? THE DEALER ONLY REPLACED THE EGR VALVE AND DID NOT CLEAN CARBON BUILD UP. FROM WHAT I HAVE READ THEY SHOULD HAVE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/15/2016 - LINCOLNWOOD, IL
PILOT WITH 8K MILES -DRIVING 50MPH + ON THE HIGHWAY WHEN APPLYING BREAK THE VEHICLE SHAKES. POWER STEERING MAKES WHINING NOISE WHEN TURNING WHEEL.

View Details

STEERING

4/15/2016 - LINCOLNWOOD, IL
PILOT WITH 8K MILES -DRIVING 50MPH + ON THE HIGHWAY WHEN APPLYING BREAK THE VEHICLE SHAKES. POWER STEERING MAKES WHINING NOISE WHEN TURNING WHEEL.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds