Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA PILOT - 2012 HONDA PILOT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 64 complaints filed for the 2012 HONDA PILOT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 HONDA PILOT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 HONDA PILOT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Power Train (12) Steering (5) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Electrical System (8) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (1) Structure (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes (10) Suspension (2) Wheels (1)
Engine (16) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

10/10/2014 - MANAHAWKIN, NJ
ON APRIL 30 2014 MY WIFE LISA KETTIG ENTERED THE CHILDREN-++S HOSPITAL OF PHILADELPHIA CAMPUS IN THE 2012 HONDA PILOT. SHE APPROACHED THE GUARD BOOTH AND CAME TO A COMPLETE STOP. THIS CAN BE VERIFIED AS THE GUARD STOPPED HER AND THEY HAD A BRIEF CONVERSATION ABOUT WHERE TO PARK. LISA THEN ACCELERATED OUT OF THE GUARD BOOTH WHILE MAKING AN IMMEDIATE LOW SPEED RIGHT TURN DOWN A RAMP INTO A PARKING GARAGE. FROM THIS POINT THE HONDA PILOT CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE DOWN THE RAMP AS SHE APPLIED THE BRAKES. THE CAR ACCELERATED OUT OF CONTROL AND FAILED TO BRAKE. IT JUMPED A SMALL MEDIAN AND EVENTUALLY HIT A CONCRETE BLOCK WALL AT THE BOTTOM OF THE RAMP. LISA MAINTAINS THAT SHE WAS APPLYING THE BRAKES DURING THE DESCENT DOWN THE RAMP UP THE MOMENT OF IMPACT AND THE CAR WAS STILL CONTINUING TO ACCELERATE AND BRAKES DID NOT RESPOND. I CONTACTED HONDA AND SUBMITTED A WRITTEN REQUEST THAT THE EVENT DATA RECORDER (EDR) BE TESTED. A REPRESENTATIVE FROM HONDA CALLED ME ON SEPTEMBER 6 (I WAS ONLY GIVEN A FIRST NAME OF REGGIE) HE EXPLAINED THAT ON OR ABOUT AUGUST 19 A TECHNICIAN EXAMINED THE VEHICLE AND DETERMINED THAT NO PRE ACCIDENT DATA COULD BE RECOVERED. HE EXPLAINED THAT WHILE THE 2012 HONDA PILOT HAS AN EDR ONLY SOME OF THESE VEHICLES HAVE THE ABILITY TO RECORD PRE ACCIDENT DATA AND THAT MINE DID NOT HAVE THIS ABILITY. HE ALSO SAID THAT I WOULD NOT RECEIVE A REPORT OR ANY CONFIRMATION IN WRITING ABOUT THE INCIDENT OR SUBSEQUENT EXAMINATION OF THE VEHICLE. THE OWNER MANUAL INDICATES THAT EDRS HAS THE ABILITY TO RECORD DATA UP TO 30 SECONDS PRIOR TO THE ACCIDENT IT WILL REPORT IF THE ACCELERATOR OR BRAKE WAS BEING ACTIVATED AT THE MOMENT OF IMPACT. IT WILL ALSO INDICATE THE VEHICLE SPEED. MY REQUEST IS THAT HONDA FOLLOW THROUGH AND TEST THE EDR TO DETERMINE IF THE BRAKES AND OR ACCELERATOR MALFUNCTIONED AS LISA MAINTAINS AND SUPPLY THE RESULTS TO ME.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/10/2014 - MANAHAWKIN, NJ
ON APRIL 30 2014 MY WIFE LISA KETTIG ENTERED THE CHILDREN-++S HOSPITAL OF PHILADELPHIA CAMPUS IN THE 2012 HONDA PILOT. SHE APPROACHED THE GUARD BOOTH AND CAME TO A COMPLETE STOP. THIS CAN BE VERIFIED AS THE GUARD STOPPED HER AND THEY HAD A BRIEF CONVERSATION ABOUT WHERE TO PARK. LISA THEN ACCELERATED OUT OF THE GUARD BOOTH WHILE MAKING AN IMMEDIATE LOW SPEED RIGHT TURN DOWN A RAMP INTO A PARKING GARAGE. FROM THIS POINT THE HONDA PILOT CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE DOWN THE RAMP AS SHE APPLIED THE BRAKES. THE CAR ACCELERATED OUT OF CONTROL AND FAILED TO BRAKE. IT JUMPED A SMALL MEDIAN AND EVENTUALLY HIT A CONCRETE BLOCK WALL AT THE BOTTOM OF THE RAMP. LISA MAINTAINS THAT SHE WAS APPLYING THE BRAKES DURING THE DESCENT DOWN THE RAMP UP THE MOMENT OF IMPACT AND THE CAR WAS STILL CONTINUING TO ACCELERATE AND BRAKES DID NOT RESPOND. I CONTACTED HONDA AND SUBMITTED A WRITTEN REQUEST THAT THE EVENT DATA RECORDER (EDR) BE TESTED. A REPRESENTATIVE FROM HONDA CALLED ME ON SEPTEMBER 6 (I WAS ONLY GIVEN A FIRST NAME OF REGGIE) HE EXPLAINED THAT ON OR ABOUT AUGUST 19 A TECHNICIAN EXAMINED THE VEHICLE AND DETERMINED THAT NO PRE ACCIDENT DATA COULD BE RECOVERED. HE EXPLAINED THAT WHILE THE 2012 HONDA PILOT HAS AN EDR ONLY SOME OF THESE VEHICLES HAVE THE ABILITY TO RECORD PRE ACCIDENT DATA AND THAT MINE DID NOT HAVE THIS ABILITY. HE ALSO SAID THAT I WOULD NOT RECEIVE A REPORT OR ANY CONFIRMATION IN WRITING ABOUT THE INCIDENT OR SUBSEQUENT EXAMINATION OF THE VEHICLE. THE OWNER MANUAL INDICATES THAT EDRS HAS THE ABILITY TO RECORD DATA UP TO 30 SECONDS PRIOR TO THE ACCIDENT IT WILL REPORT IF THE ACCELERATOR OR BRAKE WAS BEING ACTIVATED AT THE MOMENT OF IMPACT. IT WILL ALSO INDICATE THE VEHICLE SPEED. MY REQUEST IS THAT HONDA FOLLOW THROUGH AND TEST THE EDR TO DETERMINE IF THE BRAKES AND OR ACCELERATOR MALFUNCTIONED AS LISA MAINTAINS AND SUPPLY THE RESULTS TO ME.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/2/2014 - WEST HARTFORD, CT
RECENTLY PURCHASED A USED 2012 HONDA PILOT TOURING. AFTER DRIVING FOR A FEW DAYS, I TUNED INTO A CONSIDERABLE VIBRATION IN MY SEAT MOSTLY AT HIGHWAY CRUISING SPEEDS. I BELIEVE IT IS THE SAME SHUDDER THAT OTHERS HAVE REPORTED. I HAVE BROUGHT TO THE DEALER ON 2 OCCASIONS SO FAR AND THEY HAVE BALANCED, ROTATED, AND EVEN PUT NEW WHEELS FROM ANOTHER VEHICLE ON IT. I SWEAR I CONTINUE TO FEEL IT AND HONDA TECHS INCLUDING THE MASTER TECH SAY IT DRIVES NORMAL. IT DRIVES ME INSANE AND I CONTINUOUSLY ADJUST SPEEDS TO AVOID IT FROM HAPPENING WHICH IS DANGEROUS ON THE HIGHWAY. IT ALSO PULLS CONSIDERABLY TO THE LEFT EVEN WHEN THE ROAD SLOPES RIGHT. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS AS IF SOMEONE EVER DRIFTED WHILE DRIVING, IT IS STRAIGHT INTO ONCOMING TRAFFIC! I ALSO WONDER ABOUT LONGEVITY OF THE TRANSMISSION, TORQUE CONVERTER ETC. I'M SUPPOSED TO BE EXCITED DRIVING A NEW CAR, AND NOW I AM FRUSTRATED THE ENTIRE RIDE EACH AND EVERY TIME. I REGRET THIS PURCHASE. THIS HAS GOTTEN TO THE POINT I WANT TO RETURN OR TAKE A LOSS AND TRADE IT FOR ANOTHER CAR MANUFACTURER. THIS IS UNACCEPTABLE IN A $42,000 VEHICLE. OTHER THAN THIS SOLE ISSUE, I LOVE THE PILOT. I DECIDED TO ADD MY ENTRY TO HOPEFULLY HELP GET HONDA'S ATTENTION TO THIS ISSUE AND RESOLVE FOR THOSE OF US EXPERIENCING THIS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/15/2014 - YONKERS, NY
WHEN DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AND BRAKING THE STEERING WHEEL SHAKES. CONFIRMED BY DEALERSHIP: WARPED ROTORS/ LIMITED BRAKE PAD USE: TO BE PRECISE 2 MILLIMETERS OF BRAKE PAD USE. MILEAGE IS UNDER 26,000, 2 & 1/2 YEAR OLD CAR. I AM AN AVERAGE DRIVER. IN MY OPINION TO HAVE THE ROTORS WARP WITH LIMITED USE ON THE BRAKE PADS LEADS ME TO BELIEVE THAT THE ROTORS WERE DEFECTIVE FROM THE START. HOWEVER THE DEALERSHIP IS STIPULATING WEAR AND TEAR WITH A $600 BILL INCLUDING REPLACING MY LIMITED WORN BRAKE PADS. I'M SURE I AM NOT THE ONLY OWNER WITH THIS DEFECT. ABSOLUTELY ABSURD!

View Details

STEERING

9/15/2014 - YONKERS, NY
WHEN DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AND BRAKING THE STEERING WHEEL SHAKES. CONFIRMED BY DEALERSHIP: WARPED ROTORS/ LIMITED BRAKE PAD USE: TO BE PRECISE 2 MILLIMETERS OF BRAKE PAD USE. MILEAGE IS UNDER 26,000, 2 & 1/2 YEAR OLD CAR. I AM AN AVERAGE DRIVER. IN MY OPINION TO HAVE THE ROTORS WARP WITH LIMITED USE ON THE BRAKE PADS LEADS ME TO BELIEVE THAT THE ROTORS WERE DEFECTIVE FROM THE START. HOWEVER THE DEALERSHIP IS STIPULATING WEAR AND TEAR WITH A $600 BILL INCLUDING REPLACING MY LIMITED WORN BRAKE PADS. I'M SURE I AM NOT THE ONLY OWNER WITH THIS DEFECT. ABSOLUTELY ABSURD!

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/5/2014 - GLOUCESTER, VA
GOOD MORNING, THIS SEEMS TO BE A FREQUENT PROBLEM ON OUR VEHICLE. WHEN WE COME DO A STOP AND THEN TRY TO ACCELERATE, THE VEHICLE HESITATES (2-3 SEC.). IN THE MEANTIME, I'M STILL PRESSING THE ACCELERTOR DOWN TRYING TO GET THE VEHICLE TO GO. EVENTUALLY, THE VEHICLE CATCHES, BUT THEN WANTS TO TAKE OFF (ACCELERATE FAST). RECENTLY, MY WIFE SAID SHE CAME TO A STOP, WENT TO CROSS THE STREET, AND AS THE VEHICLE STARTED TO MOVE, SHE COULDN'T GET THE VEHICLE TO GO AND EVENTUALLY HAD TO STOMP THE PEDAL TO AVOID AN ONCOMING VEHICLE. I HAVE ATTACHED A LINK TO A HONDA FORUM. THIS SEEMS TO BE A FARELY COMMON PROBLEM AND IT DOESN'T SEEM HONDA HAS A SOLUTION. HONDA FORUM REGARDING ISSUE: HTTP://WWW.PILOTEERS.ORG/FORUMS/82-2012-2015-PILOT/31680-HESITATION-ANYONE-ELSE-NOTICE.HTML I WORRY ABOUT THIS HESITATION NO ONLY FOR MY LIFE AND MY FAMILY, BUT ALSO OTHERS THAT OWN THIS VEHICLE. THIS HESITATION ISSUE NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED BY HONDA.

View Details

ENGINE

8/4/2014 - MONROE, NC
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

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/4/2014 - MONROE, NC
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

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/4/2014 - MONROE, NC
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

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/5/2014 - ARLINGTON , TX
THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND VTM4 LIGHT COME ON AFTER OVER AN HOUR OF DRIVING. SOMETIMES THE WHOLE INSIDE OF THE CAR SMELLS HAS WHILE DRIVING AND THE FUEL CONSUMPTION IS NOT EFFICIENT. IN ADDITION WHEN THE CAR SITS IN THE GARAGE FOR A FEW DAYS, MAYBE 2-3, AND I START DRIVING, THE WHEELS MAKE SOME DEEP BRUSHING NOISE. THIS GETS WORST WHEN I BRAKE. SOMETIMES IT SMELLS LIKE SOMETHING IS BURNING UNDER THE HOOD OR AROUND THE ENGINE,

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds