Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA PILOT - 2012 HONDA PILOT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 59 complaints filed for the 2012 HONDA PILOT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 HONDA PILOT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 HONDA PILOT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Engine And Engine Cooling (9) Power Train (10) Steering (4) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electrical System (7) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (1) Structure (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes (8) Suspension (2) Wheels (1)
Engine (15) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

7/5/2014 - ARLINGTON , TX
THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND VTM4 LIGHT COME ON AFTER OVER AN HOUR OF DRIVING. SOMETIMES THE WHOLE INSIDE OF THE CAR SMELLS HAS WHILE DRIVING AND THE FUEL CONSUMPTION IS NOT EFFICIENT. IN ADDITION WHEN THE CAR SITS IN THE GARAGE FOR A FEW DAYS, MAYBE 2-3, AND I START DRIVING, THE WHEELS MAKE SOME DEEP BRUSHING NOISE. THIS GETS WORST WHEN I BRAKE. SOMETIMES IT SMELLS LIKE SOMETHING IS BURNING UNDER THE HOOD OR AROUND THE ENGINE,

View Details

ENGINE

7/5/2014 - ARLINGTON , TX
THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND VTM4 LIGHT COME ON AFTER OVER AN HOUR OF DRIVING. SOMETIMES THE WHOLE INSIDE OF THE CAR SMELLS HAS WHILE DRIVING AND THE FUEL CONSUMPTION IS NOT EFFICIENT. IN ADDITION WHEN THE CAR SITS IN THE GARAGE FOR A FEW DAYS, MAYBE 2-3, AND I START DRIVING, THE WHEELS MAKE SOME DEEP BRUSHING NOISE. THIS GETS WORST WHEN I BRAKE. SOMETIMES IT SMELLS LIKE SOMETHING IS BURNING UNDER THE HOOD OR AROUND THE ENGINE,

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/5/2014 - ARLINGTON , TX
THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND VTM4 LIGHT COME ON AFTER OVER AN HOUR OF DRIVING. SOMETIMES THE WHOLE INSIDE OF THE CAR SMELLS HAS WHILE DRIVING AND THE FUEL CONSUMPTION IS NOT EFFICIENT. IN ADDITION WHEN THE CAR SITS IN THE GARAGE FOR A FEW DAYS, MAYBE 2-3, AND I START DRIVING, THE WHEELS MAKE SOME DEEP BRUSHING NOISE. THIS GETS WORST WHEN I BRAKE. SOMETIMES IT SMELLS LIKE SOMETHING IS BURNING UNDER THE HOOD OR AROUND THE ENGINE,

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/1/2014 - GOFFSTOWN, NH
WHEN I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE NEW IN MAY 2012, THERE WAS A SEVERE 'PULSING' VIBRATION WHEN BRAKING FROM SPEEDS > 60MPH. I TOOK THE VEHICLE BACK TO THE DEALER, THEY SAID THIS WAS BECAUSE IT SAT ON THE LOT WITHOUT BEING MOVED, AND 'MACHINED' THE RUST OFF THE ROTORS, WHICH SEEMED TO HAVE FIXED THE PROBLEM. NOW THE PROBLEM HAS REAPPEARED AT APPROXIMATELY 35000-40000 MILES. AGAIN THE DEALER SAYS IT IS A PROBLEM WITH THE REAR ROTORS, AND THEY NEED TO BE RESURFACED AND THE BRAKE PADS REPLACED. I OWNED A 2004 PILOT AND NEVER EXPERIENCED THIS PROBLEM WITH IT IN THE 100,000 MILES I DROVE IT. MY DRIVING HABITS HAVE NOT CHANGED. THERE SEEMS TO BE SOME SORT OF PROBLEM WITH THE BRAKE ROTORS ON THIS MODEL - BRAKING DISTANCE IS LONGER THAN MY PRIOR MODEL AND THE VIBRATION/PULSING IS SIGNIFICANT ENOUGH TO CAUSE A CONCERN FOR SAFETY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/23/2014 - AUBURN, NH
VEHICLE IS VIBRATING AT HIGH SPEEDS (70...75 MPH). AFTER NUMEROUS ATTEMPTS AT THE DEALERSHIP TO CORRECT VIBRATION PROBLEMS WHEN RUNNING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS, ONLY TO HAVE NO CORRECTION DONE AT ALL, I HAVE DECIDED TO WRITE TO YOU ABOUT THIS ISSUE. HONDA WILL ACKNOWLEDGE THERE IS A VIBRATION PROBLEM AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS BUT DO NOT HAVE A CORRECTION FOR IT, OTHER THAN CHARGE THE CUSTOMERS A NEW SET OF TIRES ON A CONSTANT BASIS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/23/2014 - AUBURN, NH
VEHICLE IS VIBRATING AT HIGH SPEEDS (70...75 MPH). AFTER NUMEROUS ATTEMPTS AT THE DEALERSHIP TO CORRECT VIBRATION PROBLEMS WHEN RUNNING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS, ONLY TO HAVE NO CORRECTION DONE AT ALL, I HAVE DECIDED TO WRITE TO YOU ABOUT THIS ISSUE. HONDA WILL ACKNOWLEDGE THERE IS A VIBRATION PROBLEM AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS BUT DO NOT HAVE A CORRECTION FOR IT, OTHER THAN CHARGE THE CUSTOMERS A NEW SET OF TIRES ON A CONSTANT BASIS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/23/2014 - JUPITER, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HONDA PILOT. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH, THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE AIR BAG INDICATOR WOULD ILLUMINATE AT ANY GIVEN TIME WHEN AN OCCUPANT'S WEIGHT SHIFTED FROM THE SEAT OR WHEN LEANING AGAINST THE ARM REST. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE AIR BAG WAS PERFORMING AS DESIGNED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 17,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/13/2014 - ROCKY POINT, NY
WHEN BRAKING AT SPEEDS ABOVE 50 MPH, THERE IS A VIBRATION AT THE STEERING WHEEL. I BROUGHT THE VEHICLE TO A HONDA DEALER AND WAS TOLD THE FRONT ROTORS SHOULD BE REFACED WHEN THE CAR NEEDS NEW BRAKE PADS. I HAVE HAD A 2006,2009, AND 2012 PILOT. MY DRIVING HABITS HAVE NOT CHANGED, THE MILEAGE PER YEAR IS CONSISTENT, AND THERE HAS BEEN NO HARD OR EXCESSIVE BRAKING. I HAVE NOT HAD THIS PROBLEM WITH THE OTHER MODEL YEARS. SO, WHAT'S THE PROBLEM? ARE THE CURRENT ROTORS THINNER OR INFERIOR?

View Details

STEERING

5/13/2014 - ROCKY POINT, NY
WHEN BRAKING AT SPEEDS ABOVE 50 MPH, THERE IS A VIBRATION AT THE STEERING WHEEL. I BROUGHT THE VEHICLE TO A HONDA DEALER AND WAS TOLD THE FRONT ROTORS SHOULD BE REFACED WHEN THE CAR NEEDS NEW BRAKE PADS. I HAVE HAD A 2006,2009, AND 2012 PILOT. MY DRIVING HABITS HAVE NOT CHANGED, THE MILEAGE PER YEAR IS CONSISTENT, AND THERE HAS BEEN NO HARD OR EXCESSIVE BRAKING. I HAVE NOT HAD THIS PROBLEM WITH THE OTHER MODEL YEARS. SO, WHAT'S THE PROBLEM? ARE THE CURRENT ROTORS THINNER OR INFERIOR?

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/13/2014 - CROFTON, MD
THE KEYS FOR THE 2012 HONDA PILOT ARE VERY CHEAPLY MADE. OUR VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED IN DECEMBER 2011. AFTER TWO YEARS OF NORMAL DRIVING, THE PLASTIC KEY FOB PART OF THE KEY STARTED TO CRACK AND EVENTUALLY BROKE IN HALF. THE KEY IS NOW USELESS. REPLACEMENT KEYS ARE $200 AT THE DEALER WHICH REQUIRES AN HOUR APPOINTMENT TO PROGRAM A NEW KEY. KEYS SHOULD LAST THE LIFE OF THE VEHICLE, NOT TWO YEARS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds