Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI ELANTRA - 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 172 complaints filed for the 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Power Train (25) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electrical System (62) Exterior Lighting (3) Service Brakes (8) Suspension (15) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (14) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine (34) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Steering (19) Unknown Or Other (26) Wheels (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/22/2016 - ST LOUIS PARK, MN
2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA RANDOMLY WILL NOT START. WE REPLACED THE NEUTRAL SAFETY SWITCH AND ABOUT TWO WEEKS LATER IT DID IT AGAIN. DOES NOT SEEM TO BE AFFECTED BY WEATHER. IT HAS BEEN TOWED TO THE DEALER TWICE, BUT SINCE IT STARTS WHEN IT IS THERE, THEY SAY THEY CAN'T REPLICATE THE PROBLEM AND THEREFORE CAN'T FIX THE PROBLEM. I WOULD SAY IN THE YEAR AND A HALF THAT I HAVE HAD THE CAR IT HAS STRANDED ME 4 TIMES AND NOT ON THE FIRST TURN OVER ANOTHER 15. I USUALLY TURN THE KEY TO THE OFF POSITION AND TRY AGAIN. AFTER A COUPLE TRIES IT USUALLY STARTS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/19/2016 - SAN JOSE, CA
CAR WON'T START. AT FIRST, WE THOUGHT IT'S THE BATTERY SO WE GOT OUR BATTERY JUMP STARTER. BUT IT WASN'T THE CASE. LIGHTS AND ELECTRICAL WORKS BUT THE CAR STARTER WON'T TURN OVER. TOWED IT TO THE DEALER. THE FOLLOWING DAY, WENT TO DEALER TO CHECK IT AND THE CAR STARTED WITHOUT ANY PROBLEM. DEALER'S MECHANICS STILL HASN'T SEEN IT YET THAT DAY. THERE MIGHT BE SOME LOOSE WIRING OR INHIBITOR SWITCH PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/19/2016 - SAN JOSE, CA
CAR WON'T START. AT FIRST, WE THOUGHT IT'S THE BATTERY SO WE GOT OUR BATTERY JUMP STARTER. BUT IT WASN'T THE CASE. LIGHTS AND ELECTRICAL WORKS BUT THE CAR STARTER WON'T TURN OVER. TOWED IT TO THE DEALER. THE FOLLOWING DAY, WENT TO DEALER TO CHECK IT AND THE CAR STARTED WITHOUT ANY PROBLEM. DEALER'S MECHANICS STILL HASN'T SEEN IT YET THAT DAY. THERE MIGHT BE SOME LOOSE WIRING OR INHIBITOR SWITCH PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE

1/19/2016 - SAN JOSE, CA
CAR WON'T START. AT FIRST, WE THOUGHT IT'S THE BATTERY SO WE GOT OUR BATTERY JUMP STARTER. BUT IT WASN'T THE CASE. LIGHTS AND ELECTRICAL WORKS BUT THE CAR STARTER WON'T TURN OVER. TOWED IT TO THE DEALER. THE FOLLOWING DAY, WENT TO DEALER TO CHECK IT AND THE CAR STARTED WITHOUT ANY PROBLEM. DEALER'S MECHANICS STILL HASN'T SEEN IT YET THAT DAY. THERE MIGHT BE SOME LOOSE WIRING OR INHIBITOR SWITCH PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/18/2016 - BATON ROUGE, LA
MY CAR HAS BEEN HAVING ISSUES WITH STARTING. THE PROBLEM ISN'T ALL THE TIME. I'M NOT SURE WHAT THE TRIGGER IS, BUT ONE OR TWICE A WEEK, IT WON'T START. I THOUGHT IT WAS THE BATTERY, BUT IT'S NOT. I CHANGED IT AND STILL GIVING ME ISSUES. I READ ONLINE AND FOUND THAT IT MIGHT BE THE RANGE SWITCH BECAUSE PEOPLE THAT HAS THIS ISSUE HAD THEIR RANGE SWITCH REPLACED AND NO MORE ISSUE. BEFORE THEY REPLACED THE RANGE SWITCH, THEY RECOMMENDED TO PUT IN "N" POSITION BEFORE START, WHICH I DID AND IT WORKED FOR A WHILE. NOW, I HAVE TO PUT THE E-BRAKES ON BEFORE IT CRANKS. THE LAST COUPLE OF WEEKS, I HAVE ISSUES WITH LOCKING MY CAR. NEITHER THE ELECTRONIC PUSH BUTTON ON THE DOOR NOR REMOTE WORKS. I HAD TO MANUAL LOCK IT WITH THE KEY. BUT THIS ISSUE ISN'T ALL THE TIME EITHER. IT ONLY HAPPENED 6 TIMES SO FAR.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

1/18/2016 - BATON ROUGE, LA
MY CAR HAS BEEN HAVING ISSUES WITH STARTING. THE PROBLEM ISN'T ALL THE TIME. I'M NOT SURE WHAT THE TRIGGER IS, BUT ONE OR TWICE A WEEK, IT WON'T START. I THOUGHT IT WAS THE BATTERY, BUT IT'S NOT. I CHANGED IT AND STILL GIVING ME ISSUES. I READ ONLINE AND FOUND THAT IT MIGHT BE THE RANGE SWITCH BECAUSE PEOPLE THAT HAS THIS ISSUE HAD THEIR RANGE SWITCH REPLACED AND NO MORE ISSUE. BEFORE THEY REPLACED THE RANGE SWITCH, THEY RECOMMENDED TO PUT IN "N" POSITION BEFORE START, WHICH I DID AND IT WORKED FOR A WHILE. NOW, I HAVE TO PUT THE E-BRAKES ON BEFORE IT CRANKS. THE LAST COUPLE OF WEEKS, I HAVE ISSUES WITH LOCKING MY CAR. NEITHER THE ELECTRONIC PUSH BUTTON ON THE DOOR NOR REMOTE WORKS. I HAD TO MANUAL LOCK IT WITH THE KEY. BUT THIS ISSUE ISN'T ALL THE TIME EITHER. IT ONLY HAPPENED 6 TIMES SO FAR.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/11/2016 - STAFFORD, VA
CAR WON'T START UNTIL I DEPRESS THE ACCELERATOR AND HOLD AS I START THE VEHICLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/10/2016 - WHEELING, WV
CAR JUST WOULD NOT START 2 TIMES IN THE PAST TWO MONTHS WITH NO WARNINGS. I GOT IT JUMPED BOTH TIMES, AND IT WAS OK. I HAD THE BATTERY, ALTERNATOR, AND STARTER CHECKED AND THEY WERE ALL OK. I WENT ON A FORUM ABOUT IT AND MANY PEOPLE WERE COMPLAINING ABOUT THE SAME ISSUE ON THE 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. MANY PEOPLE WERE SAYING IT WAS THE RANGE SWITCH THAT NEEDS REPLACED. PLEASE RECALL THIS. THANK YOU!

View Details

SUSPENSION: REAR

12/30/2015 - CHARLESTOWN, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. WHILE DRIVING OVER A BUMP, TAR, OR ROUGH PAVEMENT, THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE WOULD BECOME UNSTABLE AND SWAY VIOLENTLY FROM SIDE TO SIDE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE AN ALIGNMENT WAS PERFORMED, BUT THE FAILURE CONTINUED. DUE TO THE FAULTY SUSPENSION SYSTEM, THE TIRES WOULD BECOME WORN AT AN ACCELERATED RATE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 750.

View Details

SUSPENSION

12/24/2015 - BECIDA, MN
I AM TERRIFIED TO DRIVE MY CAR ON COMPACTED SNOW OR ICE. THE BACKEND FISHTAILS SO BAD I FEAR LOSING CONTROL. I HAVE TO SLOW DOWN TO 30 MPH TO CONTROL THE CAR. I WILL NOT DRIVE ON ANY BIG HIGHWAYS BECAUSE I CAN'T GO OVER 30 MPH. LIKE OTHER COMPLAINTS I HAVE LIVED IN MN ALL MY LIFE AND HAD MANY CARS. I HAVE NEVER EXPERIENCED WHAT I AM WITH THIS CAR. THEY BACK END HAS A MIND OF IT'S OWN. IF YOU GO TO CARCOMPLAINTS.COM YOU WILL SEE WHAT OTHERS ARE EXPERIENCING. THERE ARE LOTS OF COMPLAINTS ON THIS ISSUE. LOOK UP THE 2013'S TO UNDERSTAND WHAT IS GOING ON. I LOVE MY CAR BUT NOW FEEL I HAVE TO GET RID OF IT. IN GOOD CONSCIENCE I CAN'T SELL THIS TO A PRIVATE PARTY. I DON'T WANT TO BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THEIR DEATH. ONLY CHOICE IS THRU A DEALER AND LOSE MONEY. I SUPPOSE A HYUNDAI DEALER IS MY ONLY OPTION BECAUSE SOME OF THEM ARE AWARE OF THIS PROBLEM. ONE ADMITTED IT WAS A DESIGN FLAW. LET THE DEALER SHIP CAR TO A SOUTHERN STATE WHERE THERE IS NO SNOW AND ICE. PLEASE HELP. MAKE HYUNDAI FIX THIS PROBLEM BEFORE SOMEONE GETS KILLED. I AM DISAPPOINTED WITH CONSUMER REPORT WHO RECOMMENDED THIS CAR. THEY MUST NOT HAVE TESTED IT ON WINTER ROADS. THANK YOU

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds