Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI ELANTRA - 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor Company

There are 69 complaints filed for the 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Service Brakes (5) Suspension (5) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electrical System (12) Exterior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (12) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Steering (17) Unknown Or Other (4) Wheels (4)
Engine (8) Power Train (11) Structure (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/15/2014 - DECATUR, GA
ONE DAY IN JUNE, I TRIED TO START MY CAR AND THE PARK SENSOR ABOVE MY ODOMETER WOULD NOT SHOW. BECAUSE OF THIS, THE CAR WOULDN'T START AT ALL. I HAD TO CONTINUE TO TRY TO START THE CAR, BY TURNING THE KEY MULTIPLE TIMES INSIDE THE IGNITION AND PRESSING MY FOOT ONTO THE PEDAL. IT FINALLY STARTED, BUT NOT WITHOUT APPREHENSION ON MY PART. THE REST OF THE TIME, THE CAR WORKED OK FOR THE MOST PART, BUT WHENEVER I REACHED A TRAFFIC LIGHT IT WOULD ACT AS IF IT WERE PARKED AND ACTED A BIT FUNNY. THE STORY ABOVE HAPPENED 8 MORE TIMES OVER THE NEXT FEW WEEKS. I HAD THE BATTERY CHECKED TO SEE IF IT WAS A BATTERY PROBLEM, ONLY TO REALIZE THE BATTERY WAS FINE. I TRIED OTHER TECHNIQUES, SUCH AS TURNING THE KEY COMPLETELY 90 DEGREES, BUT THAT DIDN'T SOLVE IT. FINALLY, I WENT TO THE DEALER AND UPON MY STORY BEING SHARED, THE MECHANICS IMMEDIATELY TOLD ME THAT THE TRANSMISSION RANGE SWITCH WAS NOT WORKING. THEY HAD NOTICED MORE HYUNDAI ELANTRA 2012 CARS IN THE PAST FEW DAYS HAVING THE SAME ISSUE. SINCE I AM UNDER THE 5 YEAR / 60,000 MILE WARRANTY, THIS ISSUE WAS FIXED AT NO COST. HOWEVER, WHILE THIS ISSUE WAS FIXED AT MY END. I WOULD HOPE THIS STORY WOULD SPUR A FURTHER INVESTIGATION INTO THE TRANSMISSION RANGE SWITCHES ON ALL HYUNDAI ELANTRA 2012S AND SEE WHAT ISSUES (IF ANY) COULD RESULT OVER A FAULTED TRANSMISSION RANGE SWITCH.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/27/2014 - CHARLOTTE, NC
THERE APPEARS TO BE AN ISSUE WITH THE IGNITION SWITCH THAT MAY BE DUE TO THE SWITCH OVERHEATING. WHAT HAPPENS IS THAT I WILL PARK MY CAR AND WHEN I RETURN A FEW MINUTES LATER AND TRY TO START THE CAR NOTHING HAPPENS WHEN I TURN THE IGNITION SWITCH. IF YOU GO TO YOUTUBE.COM AND TYPE 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA IGNITION PROBLEM INTO THE SEARCH ENGINE YOU WILL SEE OTHER 2012 ELANTRA OWNERS POSTING VIDEOS OF THE SAME PROBLEM. I CALLED MY DEALERSHIP WHICH STATED THERE IS NO RECALL OF THE 2012 ELANTRA. AGAIN SINCE OTHER 2012 ELANTRA OWNERS ARE POSTING THIS ON YOUTUBE THAT TELLS ME THIS IS NOT AN ISOLATED INCIDENT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/26/2014 - TEQUESTA, FL
TURN KEY IN IGNITION. NOTHING HAPPENS. TURN OFF, TURN ON, EVENTUALLY IGNITION WORKS AND CAR TURNS ON. THIS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES BEFORE FIRST VISIT TO DEALER TO TRY TO REMEDY ISSUE. FIRST TRIP TO DEALER 5/14/14. DEALER CAN'T RECREATE PROBLEM. PROBLEM CONTINUES. 6/11/14: TURN KEY, CAR WON'T START, TURN OFF, TURN ON, CAR WONT START. AFTER SEVERAL TRIES, HYUNDAI DEALER CALLED, SENDS A TOW TRUCK. TOW TRUCK DRIVER TURNS KEY. WON'T START. TOW TRUCK DRIVER SAYS YOU NEED TO TURN THE KEY AND HOLD IT DOWN TO "RESET THE COMPUTER, RESET THE BRAKE SWITCH." HE DOES THIS AND CAR STARTS. HE TOWS IT TO DEALER 6/11/14. DEALER CAN'T RECREATE PROBLEM (SANDS DOWN PAINTED GROUND AREAS). 6/26/14- CAR STARTS BUT IS STUCK IN PARK, CAN'T SHIFT TO DRIVE. TURN OFF. TURN BACK ON. ABLE TO SHIFT TO DRIVE. LATER SAME DAY 6/26/14, TURN KEY IN IGNITION. NOTHING HAPPENS. HOLD KEY DOWN AS INSTRUCTED BY TOW TRUCK DRIVER ON 6/11. TURN OFF, TURN BACK ON, CAR STARTS. READ UP ON THE ISSUE ONLINE. SYMPTOMS SOUND SIMILAR TO BRAKE SWITCH RECALL ISSUES ON EARLIER MODELS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/24/2014 - JACKSON, NC
DURING NORMAL VEHICLE OPERATION AT APPROX. 45 MPH, DRY PAVEMENT, THE VEHICLE BRAKES SUDDENLY LOCKED UP, CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO SKID LEFT INTO ONCOMING TRAFFIC WITH TIRES SCREECHING. DURING THE SKID INTO ONCOMING TRAFFIC AND A FRIGHTENING ATTEMPT TO CONTROL THE VEHICLE, THE ABS LIGHT BLINKED SEVERAL TIMES THEN WENT OFF. THIS COULD HAVE RESULTED IN DEADLY CONSEQUENCES HAD I BEEN DRIVING IN HEAVY TRAFFIC OR ON AN INTERSTATE. ( A FEW DAYS PRIOR, WHILE TRAVELING AT APPROX. 50 MPH THE BRAKES WERE MAKING A HORRIFIC GRINDING NOISE WITH NO PRESSURE APPLIED TO THE BRAKE PEDAL. THIS RESULTED IN DECREASE OF SPEED IN THE VEHICLE IN WHICH IT WOULD NOT ACCELERATE ABOVE 40 MPH.) THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE HYUNDAI DEALER WHERE THEY QUESTIONED IF THERE WAS ANY PROBLEM. THE COMPUTER READINGS WERE ALL GOOD AND SHOWED NO PROBLEMS WITH THE VEHICLE. FINALLY, AFTER A SERVICE TECHNICIAN DRIVING IT HOME FOR THE NIGHT AND EXPERIENCING THE PROBLEM TWICE HIMSELF, THEY REALIZED THERE WAS A SERIOUS ISSUE WITH THE BRAKES. THE HECU (HYDRAULIC ELECTRONIC CONTROL UNIT) HAD FAILED AT 31,685 MILES. THIS IS THE ANSWER THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT HAS GIVEN FOR THE PROBLEM. THE VEHICLE IS STILL CURRENTLY IN THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT BEING REPAIRED. I AM STILL IN FEAR OF DRIVING THIS VEHICLE EVEN THOUGH IT IS BEING REPAIRED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/21/2014 - LOUISVILLE, KY
THE CAR SHUT ITSELF OFF WHILE WE WERE DRIVING. THE CAR WOULD NOT RESTART OR SHIFT INTO PARK AND THE KEY WOULD NOT COME OUT. FINALLY GOT THE CAR TO START IN NEUTRAL AND CAR SPUTTERED AND IT REGISTERED NO RPMS, SO IT DIDN'T MOVE. AFTER ABOUT 20 MINUTES CAR DID START IN NEUTRAL AND WE WERE ABLE TO MAKE IT HOME.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

5/29/2014 - PATASKALA, OH
I WAS DRIVING IN DRY WEATHER AND ON NORMAL ROAD CONDITIONS WHEN THE ESC LIGHT BEGIN TO BLINK FOR NO APPARENT REASON. I COULD NOT ACCELERATE WHEN THIS OCCURRED, AND THEN THE VEHICLE BRAKES LOCKED UP. LUCKILY, I WAS ENTERING ONTO A ON RAMP AND THE VEHICLE SKIDDED TO A STOP ONTO THE SHOULDER. IF THIS WOULD HAVE OCCURRED WHILE TRAVELING AT A HIGHER RATE OF SPEED IT COULD HAVE BEEN VERY DANGEROUS. I HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED TO A NEARBY HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP FOR REVIEW OF THE ISSUE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/29/2014 - PATASKALA, OH
I WAS DRIVING IN DRY WEATHER AND ON NORMAL ROAD CONDITIONS WHEN THE ESC LIGHT BEGIN TO BLINK FOR NO APPARENT REASON. I COULD NOT ACCELERATE WHEN THIS OCCURRED, AND THEN THE VEHICLE BRAKES LOCKED UP. LUCKILY, I WAS ENTERING ONTO A ON RAMP AND THE VEHICLE SKIDDED TO A STOP ONTO THE SHOULDER. IF THIS WOULD HAVE OCCURRED WHILE TRAVELING AT A HIGHER RATE OF SPEED IT COULD HAVE BEEN VERY DANGEROUS. I HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED TO A NEARBY HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP FOR REVIEW OF THE ISSUE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/13/2014 - TOMS RIVER, NJ
VEHICLE BROUGHT TO LESTER GLENN HYUNDAI TOMS RIVER NJ ON MARCH 21, 2014 FOR NOISE IN ENGINE OR TRANS...SAID THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG..THEY PUSHED CAR OUT AND TOLD ME IT WAS A CLAMP FOR MY EXHAUST..I CONTINUED TO HEAR NOISE..(IT DID NOT HAPPEN ALL THE TIME) SO THE CAR WAS RETURNED TO THE DEALER 3 WEEKS LATER..THEY DID DIAGNOSTICS ON VEHICLE AND PUSHED MY CAR OUT TELLING ME THAT I HAD "AGGRESSIVE TIRES" ON THE VEHICLE.AND THEY CHARGED ME 243.00 FOR DIAGNOSTICS..MY VEHICLE IS UNDER WARRANTY..THEY TOLD ME IF I DIDNT PAY I WOULDN'T GET MY CAR BACK...I HAVE BRAND NEW COOPER TOURING TIRES ON AND THE PROBLEM WAS THERE BEFORE THE TIRES..ON 05/12/2014 I DROVE TO NEW YORK TO VISIT MY DAUGHTER AND WHEN I LEFT WAS ON 278 WEST TRAVELING TO TOMS RIVER NJ . I WAS ON 278 FOR APPROXIMATELY 5 MINUTES ..I TRIED TO ACCELERATE AND THE CAR WOULDN'T MOVE..THE RPM'S WERE GOING CRAZY, SPEED OF VEHICLE WOULD NOT ACCELERATE MORE THAN 25MPH..WHITE SMOKE STARTED POURING OUT OF REAR AND UNDERCARRIAGE OF VEHICLE..IT WAS NOT OVERHEATING..MY PRESSURE FINE..I MANAGED TO GET TO SIDE OF BROOKLYN QUEENS EXPRESSWAY AND SHUT VEHICLE OFF..3 PEDESTRIANS STOPPED BECAUSE THEY THOUGHT MY VEHICLE WAS ON FIRE..A TOW WAS CALLED..ARRIVED IN 1.5 HOURS..ONLY 1 TOW COMPANY ALLOWED ON THE BQE..I HAD NO CHOICE BUT TO TAKE THE TOW..IT COST ME $660.00 TO GET MY VEHICLE BACK TO LESTER GLENN HYUNDAI..TOMS RIVER NJ...THEY DIAGNOSED MY VEHICLE SAYING IT WAS PCV VALVE ..I DO NOT FEEL LIKE MY VEHICLE WAS FIXED AND I FEEL VERY UNSAFE IN IT..I WORK IN A FULL SERVICE GARAGE AND I HAD AT LEAST 15 MECHAINCS LOOK AT MY VEHICLE..THEY ALL SAY ITS IN THE TRANSMISSION AND NOW I DO NOT WANT TO DRIVE MY CAR MORE THAN 20 MILES..CAN YOU HELP ME??

View Details

ENGINE

5/13/2014 - TOMS RIVER, NJ
VEHICLE BROUGHT TO LESTER GLENN HYUNDAI TOMS RIVER NJ ON MARCH 21, 2014 FOR NOISE IN ENGINE OR TRANS...SAID THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG..THEY PUSHED CAR OUT AND TOLD ME IT WAS A CLAMP FOR MY EXHAUST..I CONTINUED TO HEAR NOISE..(IT DID NOT HAPPEN ALL THE TIME) SO THE CAR WAS RETURNED TO THE DEALER 3 WEEKS LATER..THEY DID DIAGNOSTICS ON VEHICLE AND PUSHED MY CAR OUT TELLING ME THAT I HAD "AGGRESSIVE TIRES" ON THE VEHICLE.AND THEY CHARGED ME 243.00 FOR DIAGNOSTICS..MY VEHICLE IS UNDER WARRANTY..THEY TOLD ME IF I DIDNT PAY I WOULDN'T GET MY CAR BACK...I HAVE BRAND NEW COOPER TOURING TIRES ON AND THE PROBLEM WAS THERE BEFORE THE TIRES..ON 05/12/2014 I DROVE TO NEW YORK TO VISIT MY DAUGHTER AND WHEN I LEFT WAS ON 278 WEST TRAVELING TO TOMS RIVER NJ . I WAS ON 278 FOR APPROXIMATELY 5 MINUTES ..I TRIED TO ACCELERATE AND THE CAR WOULDN'T MOVE..THE RPM'S WERE GOING CRAZY, SPEED OF VEHICLE WOULD NOT ACCELERATE MORE THAN 25MPH..WHITE SMOKE STARTED POURING OUT OF REAR AND UNDERCARRIAGE OF VEHICLE..IT WAS NOT OVERHEATING..MY PRESSURE FINE..I MANAGED TO GET TO SIDE OF BROOKLYN QUEENS EXPRESSWAY AND SHUT VEHICLE OFF..3 PEDESTRIANS STOPPED BECAUSE THEY THOUGHT MY VEHICLE WAS ON FIRE..A TOW WAS CALLED..ARRIVED IN 1.5 HOURS..ONLY 1 TOW COMPANY ALLOWED ON THE BQE..I HAD NO CHOICE BUT TO TAKE THE TOW..IT COST ME $660.00 TO GET MY VEHICLE BACK TO LESTER GLENN HYUNDAI..TOMS RIVER NJ...THEY DIAGNOSED MY VEHICLE SAYING IT WAS PCV VALVE ..I DO NOT FEEL LIKE MY VEHICLE WAS FIXED AND I FEEL VERY UNSAFE IN IT..I WORK IN A FULL SERVICE GARAGE AND I HAD AT LEAST 15 MECHAINCS LOOK AT MY VEHICLE..THEY ALL SAY ITS IN THE TRANSMISSION AND NOW I DO NOT WANT TO DRIVE MY CAR MORE THAN 20 MILES..CAN YOU HELP ME??

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

4/23/2014 - WASHINGTON, DC
CPSC: I1440033A. 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. CONSUMER STATED THAT THERE IS SOMETHING WRONG WITH THE CAR BRAKE SYSTEM. THE MECHANIC RESURFACE THE ROTORS, BUT STATED THE CALIPERS WERE NOT FUNCTIONING PROPERLY AND IT WOULD HAPPEN AGAIN. A FEW MONTHS LATER, THE GRINDING NOISE RETURNED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds