Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI ELANTRA - 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 212 complaints filed for the 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Power Train (25) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (69) Exterior Lighting (4) Service Brakes (12) Suspension (20) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (20) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (14) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine (39) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Steering (23) Unknown Or Other (26) Wheels (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/10/2016 - NEW MARKET, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED ISSUES STARTING SPORADICALLY. IN ADDITION, ALMOST ALL THE WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL EXCEPT THE PARKING INDICATOR. IT TOOK NUMEROUS ATTEMPTS FOR THE VEHICLE TO START. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE REPLICATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 30,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

6/4/2016 - EAST KILLINGLY, CT
THE DRIVER'S SIDE COIL BROKE AND PUNCTURED THE TIRE CAUSING A BLOW OUT WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH IN THE MIDDLE LANE OF A HIGHWAY. TERRIFIED BECAUSE THE THE SMOKE AND THE INABILITY TO STEER THE CAR I WAS BARELY ABLE TO GET ACROSS THE RIGHT HAND LANE AND PARK ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE CAR WAS TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP WHERE I HAD PURCHASED MY 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. I AM THE ORIGINAL OWNER, AND HAVE ALWAYS SERVICED MY CAR AT THE DEALERSHIP. THE COIL SPRING BROKE ON MAY 27TH AND THE DEALERSHIP IS HAVING DIFFICULTY LOCATING A REPLACEMENT FOR THE COIL SPRING. I AM TOLD THAT THEY COULD POSSIBLY HAVE ONE BY JUNE 8TH. THIS FACT ALONE TELLS ME THAT MY CAR IS NOT THE ONLY ONE WITH THIS ISSUE. I AM INSISTING THAT THEY REPLACE THE PASSENGER SIDE AS WELL BECAUSE I AM CERTAIN THAT IT IS JUST A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE THAT COIL ALSO BREAKS. THE DEALERSHIP SAID THAT HYUNDAI WILL NOT COVER THE COST OF REPLACING THE SECOND COIL SPRING AS THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH IT. I HAVE CONTACTED HYUNDAI AND STARTED A GOOD FAITH REQUEST AND THEY ARE REVIEWING TO SEE IF THEY WILL COVER THE COST OF REPLACING THE PASSENGER SIDE. HYUNDAI HAD A COIL SPRING RECALL ON 2012 ELANTRA VEHICLES FOR ALL CARS PRODUCED PRIOR TO 3/31/2011. MY CAR WAS PRODUCED ON 6/9/2011 JUST MISSING THE RECALL CUT OFF DATE. OBVIOUSLY GIVEN WHAT HAPPENED TO MY CAR THEY NEED TO EXTEND THAT CUT OFF DATE. I AM VERY LUCKY THAT MY BLOW OUT DID NOT CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. MY DEALERSHIP HAS BEEN VERY GOOD DURING THIS ORDEAL AND HAS PROVIDED ME WITH A LOANER CAR.

View Details

ENGINE

6/2/2016 - CANTON, OH
HAVE A TICKING SOUND IN ENGINE. TOOK TO DEALERSHIP WAS GOING TO CHARGE ME $62.00 TO LOOK AT IT. TOOK AROUND 45 MINS. SERVICE PERSON CAME AND TOLD ME IT SOUNDED LIKE A PISTON SLAP . WITH FURTHER LOOK AT THE ENGINE THEY SAID I NEED A NEW ENGINE. SAY WHAT! WILL I LOOKED ON LINE AND YOUTUBE ABOUT THIS PROBLEM. WENT TO A WEB SIGHT ABOUT COMPLAINTS FOUND A LOT OF THEM ABOUT TICKING . CALLED AND ASKED IF IT WAS A SHORT, LONG OR CREAT ENGINE. TO ME THE SHORT BLOCK NEED REPLACED. CALLED NEXT DAY AND TOLD ME THAT ENGINE WAS ON HOLD. HYUNDAI WANTED THEM TO TAKE PICTURES AND SEND THEM TO CORPORATE OFFICE. DEALERSHIP SAID THEY WOULD CALL ME WHEN THEY FIND OUT WHAT HYUNDAI WANTS TO DO. HAVE READ ONLINE LINE THAT HYUNDAI KNOWS ABOUT THE BAD ENGINES AND DO NOT WANT TO REPLACE THEM. YOU GET NOTHING BUT HASSLE FROM THEM ABOUT REPLACING THE ENGINE. DEALERSHIP STATED THAT IT'S NOT THERE FAULT. BUT I FEEL THAT THEY ARE ALSO. THEY SOLD ME A CAR WITH A BAD ENGINE. I COULD HAVE HAD A FROZEN ENGINE WHILE DRIVING ON THE EXPRESS WAY AND GOT INTO A BAD ACCIDENT. GOING TO CALL AGAIN ON FRIDAY TO SEE IF ANYTHING HAS BEEN DONE. TOOK IT IN ON MONDAY. DEALERSHIP TO ME NOT TO CALL THEM AGAIN. THAT THEY WILL CALL ME. ALL I WANT IS THE ENGINE REPLACED SO I HAVE A CAR.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

6/2/2016 - EAST ORANGE, NJ
MY VEHICLE WAS AFFECTED BY NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V871000. THE LOCAL HYUNDAI DEALER PERFORMED CAMPAIGN # 133 ON 04/14/16, AT WHICH TIME A Y YAW RATE SENSOR REP/HECU UPD WAS (CORRECTED). ON THAT DATE, THE ODOMETER READING WAS: 53,768. PRIOR TO HAVING THIS RE-CALIBRATION I HAD EXPERIENCED NO NOTICEABLE ISSUES REGARDING THE BRAKING SYSTEM. AFTER THE RECALL WAS PERFORMED BY THE DEALER, ON SIX (X6) SEPARATE OCCASIONS, ONE OF THE BAKES HAS INDEPENDENTLY LOCKED UP UPON TRANSITIONING FROM SMOOTH TO ROUGH SURFACES, GOING OVER A MANHOLE AND/OR DISSIMILAR ROAD MATERIALS (SUCH AS BLACKTOP TO CEMENT BRIDGE, OR ONTO A SERRATED METAL BRIDGE MATERIAL). THIS HAS BEEN COMPLETELY RANDOM IN OCCURRENCE, ON THE HIGHWAY OR TYPICAL CITY STREET, BUT DOES SEEM TO BE RELATED TO BRAKING OR SLOWING DOWN IN GENERAL AS THAT IS WHEN IT IS NOTICED, EXCEPT THAT ONE WHEEL BRAKE LOCKS - CAUSING THE US (THE DRIVERS) TO TAKE EVASIVE ACTION AS THE CAR SUDDENLY WILL VEER TO ONE DIRECTION OR ANOTHER UNEXPECTEDLY INSTEAD OF THE INTENDED SLOW-DOWN. RATHER THAN RECTIFY THE PROBLEM THE RECALL WAS MEANT TO RESOLVE (THAT WE HAD NOT EVEN SEEN SYMPTOMS OF), NOW THE "SUPPOSED REPAIR - HYUNDAI CAMPAIGN 137," SEEMS TO HAVE ACTUALLY REPRODUCED THE SYMPTOMS IN OUR VEHICLE, NOW MAKING US FEEL UNSAFE AND UNEASY DRIVING IT AS WE HAVE NEARLY AVOIDED COLLISIONS ON A FEW OCCASIONS DUE TO THE NEW BRAKE LOCK-UP THAT HAS STARTED SINCE RECALL WORK WAS PERFORMED ON 04/14/16, WHICH WAS MEANT TO CORRECT THIS ISSUE, NOT CREATE IT.

View Details

ENGINE

6/1/2016 - LEE'S SUMMIT, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE IN PARK, THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT CAUGHT FIRE. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS ABLE TO EXTINGUISH THE FIRE. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. NO INJURIES WERE SUSTAINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 20,000.

View Details

WHEELS

6/1/2016 - LECLAIRE, IA
DUE TO THE DESIGN OF THE 2012 ELANTRA SUSPENSION/REAR END, THE REAR WHEEL TIRES ARE WORN OUT WELL BEFORE EXPECTATION. PURCHASED THE CAR NEW AND AFTER 20K MILES DISCOVERED SIGNIFICANT WEAR ON THE REAR TIRES...ESPECIALLY THE INSIDE OF THE TIRE. THOUGHT IT WAS A TIRE PROBLEM. REPLACED ALL TIRES, AND AFTER ONLY 16K MILES THE REAR TIRES AGAIN NEED REPLACEMENT. FRONT TIRES LOOK LIKE NEW. THE TIRES ARE LESS THAN 2 YEARS OLD. AGAIN, STILL THOUGHT IT WAS A TIRE PROBLEM. WENT TO TIRE DEALER AND WAS TOLD THE PROBLEM WAS NOT THE TIRES BUT THE FACT THAT THE REAR SUSPENSION CANNOT BE ADJUSTED FOR ALIGNMENT. IT IS FIXED BY HYUNDAI AT A -1.50 CAMBER...WHICH APPARENTLY CAUSES THE TIRES TO WARE OUT QUICKLY. I NOW AGREE THAT IT A CAR PROBLEM AND CONTACTED HYUNDAI CUSTOMER SERVICE. THE REP SAID THEY HAD NEVER HEARD OF THIS BEFORE (WHICH I FIND DIFFICULT TO BELIEVE) AND REFUSED ANY ASSISTANCE PUSHING IT BACK ON THE TIRE MANUFACTURER. THE LOCAL HYUNDAI DEALER STATED THEY WERE AWARE OF THIS PROBLEM, BUT COULD NOTHING TO RESOLVE IT. THIS APPEARS TO BE A DESIGN FLAW WHICH HYUNDAI IS NOT READY OR WILLING TO ADDRESS.

View Details

SUSPENSION

6/1/2016 - LECLAIRE, IA
DUE TO THE DESIGN OF THE 2012 ELANTRA SUSPENSION/REAR END, THE REAR WHEEL TIRES ARE WORN OUT WELL BEFORE EXPECTATION. PURCHASED THE CAR NEW AND AFTER 20K MILES DISCOVERED SIGNIFICANT WEAR ON THE REAR TIRES...ESPECIALLY THE INSIDE OF THE TIRE. THOUGHT IT WAS A TIRE PROBLEM. REPLACED ALL TIRES, AND AFTER ONLY 16K MILES THE REAR TIRES AGAIN NEED REPLACEMENT. FRONT TIRES LOOK LIKE NEW. THE TIRES ARE LESS THAN 2 YEARS OLD. AGAIN, STILL THOUGHT IT WAS A TIRE PROBLEM. WENT TO TIRE DEALER AND WAS TOLD THE PROBLEM WAS NOT THE TIRES BUT THE FACT THAT THE REAR SUSPENSION CANNOT BE ADJUSTED FOR ALIGNMENT. IT IS FIXED BY HYUNDAI AT A -1.50 CAMBER...WHICH APPARENTLY CAUSES THE TIRES TO WARE OUT QUICKLY. I NOW AGREE THAT IT A CAR PROBLEM AND CONTACTED HYUNDAI CUSTOMER SERVICE. THE REP SAID THEY HAD NEVER HEARD OF THIS BEFORE (WHICH I FIND DIFFICULT TO BELIEVE) AND REFUSED ANY ASSISTANCE PUSHING IT BACK ON THE TIRE MANUFACTURER. THE LOCAL HYUNDAI DEALER STATED THEY WERE AWARE OF THIS PROBLEM, BUT COULD NOTHING TO RESOLVE IT. THIS APPEARS TO BE A DESIGN FLAW WHICH HYUNDAI IS NOT READY OR WILLING TO ADDRESS.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

5/31/2016 - SURPRISE, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE ENGINE LIGHT REMAINED ILLUMINATED. IN ADDITION, WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE VEHICLE SHOOK VIOLENTLY AND MADE A LOUD NOISE EACH TIME IT DROVE OVER A BUMP OR POTHOLE. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER AND WAS REPAIRED FROM A PREVIOUS RECALL; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V871000 (ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 61,828.

View Details

ENGINE

5/31/2016 - SURPRISE, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE ENGINE LIGHT REMAINED ILLUMINATED. IN ADDITION, WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE VEHICLE SHOOK VIOLENTLY AND MADE A LOUD NOISE EACH TIME IT DROVE OVER A BUMP OR POTHOLE. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER AND WAS REPAIRED FROM A PREVIOUS RECALL; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V871000 (ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 61,828.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

5/25/2016 - MEMPHIS, TN
NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V871000 - SAME SITUATION 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA - ENGINE BREAKS AUTOMATICALLY WHILE ON THE INTERSTATE. CAR SEEMS TO BREAK (SLOW DOWN) IN BURSTS WHILE TRYING TO ACCELERATE EVEN ON ROADS WITH SPEEDS UNDER 40MPH. HAS BEEN A INTERMITTENT ISSUE SINCE JANUARY. DEALER AGREES IT IS AN EBS/ YAW SYSTEM PROBLEM BUT WILL NOT FIX IT WITH THE RECALL OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V871000, EVEN THOUGH WE HAVE A 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. THE PROBLEM MAY BE BIGGER THAN THE ORIGINAL SCOPE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds