Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI ELANTRA - 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 118 complaints filed for the 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Service Brakes (5) Suspension (6) Visibility (4)
Electrical System (36) Exterior Lighting (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (13) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Steering (17) Unknown Or Other (25) Wheels (5)
Engine (25) Power Train (16) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/1/2015 - ORANGE PARK, FL
THE CAR WONT START. THE BATTERY AND STARTER ARE FINE. IT DOESN'T HAPPEN ALL THE TIME, JUST PERIODICALLY, MAYBE EVERY OTHER DAY OR TWICE A WEEK. THERE DOESN'T SEEM TO BE A PATTERN. THE CAR STARTS EVENTUALLY AFTER NUMEROUS TURNS OF THE KEY. IT DOESN'T SEEM TO MATTER IF I TURN OFF THE LIGHTS, RADIO ETC..

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/25/2015 - PLYMOUTH, WI
MY CAR WON'T START THE FIRST 4-5 TIMES I HIT THE START BUTTON. THE FIRST TIME IT HAPPENED MY CAR WAS LOWER ON GAS AND THE OUTSIDE TEMPERATURE WAS VERY LOW. I FILLED THE CAR UP, RAN AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS FOR 20 MINUTES. THE NEXT DAY IT WAS THE SAME SITUATION. I TOOK IT TO A SERVICE GARAGE AND THEY TESTED THE BATTERY AND ALTERNATOR, BOTH WERE PERFECT. I THOUGHT IT MIGHT JUST BE THE COLD, EVEN THOUGH I NEVER HAD THESE ISSUES AT LOWER TEMPS. THE THIRD DAY IT WAS 30 DEGREES...SAME ISSUE. TODAY WAS THE FOURTH DAY, WHERE MY CAR WON'T TURN OVER. WHAT IS GOING ON?? THIS COULD BE EXTREMELY DANGEROUS.

View Details

ENGINE

2/22/2015 - MINOT, ND
TODAY I WENT OUT TO START MY CAR AFTER IT SITTING OUT OVER NIGHT (LIVING IN NORTH DAKOTA MY VEHICLE HAS ALWAYS SAT OUT IN THE COLD OVER WINTER AND STARTED WITH NO ISSUES) AND IT WOULD NOT START. THE LIGHTS, DOORS, WIDOWS, EVERYTHING ELSE ELECTRICAL WORKED JUST FIND, BUT THE ENGINE WILL NOT TURN ON. I TRIED CHARGING THE BATTERY AND JUMPING IT WITH A FRIENDS VEHICLE. NOTHING HAS WORKED. I HAVE BEEN READING ONLINE THIS IS BECOMING A COMMON ISSUE AMONG HYUNDAI'S. I WOULD HOPE HYUNDAI WILL SOON HAVE SOME ANSWERS AND FIXES FOR THIS ISSUE.

View Details

ENGINE

2/5/2015 - AMBLER, PA
2012 HYUDAI ELANTRA WOULD NOT START WHEN IN PARK, EVEN THOUGH THE BATTERY HAS A FULL CHARGE. SHIFTED TO NEUTRAL AND BACK TO PARK, AND IT STARTED ON THE FIRST TRY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/5/2015 - AMBLER, PA
2012 HYUDAI ELANTRA WOULD NOT START WHEN IN PARK, EVEN THOUGH THE BATTERY HAS A FULL CHARGE. SHIFTED TO NEUTRAL AND BACK TO PARK, AND IT STARTED ON THE FIRST TRY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/5/2015 - AMBLER, PA
2012 HYUDAI ELANTRA WOULD NOT START WHEN IN PARK, EVEN THOUGH THE BATTERY HAS A FULL CHARGE. SHIFTED TO NEUTRAL AND BACK TO PARK, AND IT STARTED ON THE FIRST TRY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/5/2015 - MAHOPAC, NY
CAR WOULD NOT START. AFTER MULTIPLE ATTEMPTS AT TURNING KEY, IT FINALLY STARTED. LIGHTS AND HORN FUNCTIONED PROPERLY, BUT I REPLACED THE BATTERY ANYWAY. CAR WOULD STILL NOT START ON FIRST FEW ATTEMPTS. ENGINE WOULD NOT TURN OVER AT ALL, THEN AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS AT TURNING KEY, IT WOULD START, AS IF NOTHING WAS WRONG. BROUGHT IT TO DEALER, THEY SAID THEY CLEANED OUT SOME PARTS OF THE ENGINE AND UPDATED THE COMPUTER. THE NEXT DAY I HAD THE SAME PROBLEM AGAIN. BROUGHT IT TO THE DEALER, AND THEY SAID THEY CHANGED SOME FUSES. LESS THAN A WEEK LATER, STILL THE SAME PROBLEM. THERE ARE MULTIPLE INCIDENTS OF THIS HAPPENING FOR OTHER OWNERS OF THIS CAR WHICH I FOUND ONLINE WHEN I WAS LOOKING TO DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/5/2015 - MAHOPAC, NY
CAR WOULD NOT START. AFTER MULTIPLE ATTEMPTS AT TURNING KEY, IT FINALLY STARTED. LIGHTS AND HORN FUNCTIONED PROPERLY, BUT I REPLACED THE BATTERY ANYWAY. CAR WOULD STILL NOT START ON FIRST FEW ATTEMPTS. ENGINE WOULD NOT TURN OVER AT ALL, THEN AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS AT TURNING KEY, IT WOULD START, AS IF NOTHING WAS WRONG. BROUGHT IT TO DEALER, THEY SAID THEY CLEANED OUT SOME PARTS OF THE ENGINE AND UPDATED THE COMPUTER. THE NEXT DAY I HAD THE SAME PROBLEM AGAIN. BROUGHT IT TO THE DEALER, AND THEY SAID THEY CHANGED SOME FUSES. LESS THAN A WEEK LATER, STILL THE SAME PROBLEM. THERE ARE MULTIPLE INCIDENTS OF THIS HAPPENING FOR OTHER OWNERS OF THIS CAR WHICH I FOUND ONLINE WHEN I WAS LOOKING TO DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE

2/5/2015 - MAHOPAC, NY
CAR WOULD NOT START. AFTER MULTIPLE ATTEMPTS AT TURNING KEY, IT FINALLY STARTED. LIGHTS AND HORN FUNCTIONED PROPERLY, BUT I REPLACED THE BATTERY ANYWAY. CAR WOULD STILL NOT START ON FIRST FEW ATTEMPTS. ENGINE WOULD NOT TURN OVER AT ALL, THEN AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS AT TURNING KEY, IT WOULD START, AS IF NOTHING WAS WRONG. BROUGHT IT TO DEALER, THEY SAID THEY CLEANED OUT SOME PARTS OF THE ENGINE AND UPDATED THE COMPUTER. THE NEXT DAY I HAD THE SAME PROBLEM AGAIN. BROUGHT IT TO THE DEALER, AND THEY SAID THEY CHANGED SOME FUSES. LESS THAN A WEEK LATER, STILL THE SAME PROBLEM. THERE ARE MULTIPLE INCIDENTS OF THIS HAPPENING FOR OTHER OWNERS OF THIS CAR WHICH I FOUND ONLINE WHEN I WAS LOOKING TO DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/4/2015 - CLINTON, PA
ON THREE OCCASIONS THE PAST 2 WEEKS, MY CAR WOULD NOT START. IN RESEARCHING THE ISSUE, I FIND THAT THIS IS A COMMON OCCURRENCE WITH 2012 AND 2013 ELANTRAS. WHILE THIS IS NOT A SAFETY PROBLEM WITH VEHICLE PERFORMANCE, IT IS A SAFETY ISSUE FOR THE DRIVER FINDING OUT THAT YOUR CAR WON'T START AND IT'S THE MIDDLE OF THE WINTER. HYUNDAI NEEDS TO ADDRESS THIS COMMON ISSUE AND ISSUE A RECALL TO REPAIR THE DEFECTIVE PART(S).

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds