Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI ELANTRA - 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 131 complaints filed for the 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Power Train (19) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (43) Exterior Lighting (3) Service Brakes (7) Suspension (9) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (13) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (28) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Steering (18) Unknown Or Other (23) Wheels (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

6/19/2015 - POMONA, CA
EARLIER THIS MONTH, TWO ATTEMPTS TO TURN OFF/RESET THE RED AIRBAG SYMBOL FAILED LEAVING ME WITH A CONSTANT FEAR OF SAFETY FOR MYSELF AND PASSENGERS WHILE DRIVING MY 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. INEXPLICABLY, THE RED AIRBAG SYMBOL POPPED UP ONTO MY DASHBOARD SCREEN EVEN THOUGH I HAVE NEVER BEEN INVOLVED IN A COLLISION WITH THIS CAR. I AM THE FIRST AND ONLY OWNER AND SOLE DRIVER OF MY AUTOMOBILE. ACCORDING TO MECHANICS WHO HAVE CHECKED THE AIRBAG PROBLEM, IN THE EVENT OF A COLLISION THE AIRBAG WILL MALFUNCTION POTENTIALLY SETTING OFF A SERIOUS SCENARIO FOR DRIVER AND PASSENGERS. TWO ATTEMPTS TO READJUST THE AIRBAG SYMBOL AND CORRECT THE PROBLEM WERE MADE BY GLENDORA HYUNDAI IN SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA FOLLOWED BY A REPUTABLE AUTOMOBILE REPAIR SHOP. THE PROBLEM COULD NOT BE TRACED OR IDENTIFIED USING STATE OF THE ART DIAGNOSTIC TESTING, THUS, THE ROOT OF THE PROBLEM REMAINS A MYSTERY. AGAIN, AS LONG AS THE SOURCE OF THE AIRBAG PROBLEM REMAINS UNDETECTED THE PROBLEM CANNOT BE CORRECTED AND MY VULNERABILITY TO BEING SERIOUSLY INJURED IS A VIABLE SPECTER THAT WILL NO DOUBT BE REALIZED IN THE EVENT I EXPERIENCE THE MISFORTUNE OF A VEHICLE TO VEHICLE COLLISION.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/19/2015 - GLENMONT, NY
WHEN STOPPED AT RED LIGHTS OR MERGING FROM A SLOW SPEED INTO FAST MOVING TRAFFIC THE VEHICLES RPM GAUGE SUDDENLY SHOOTS UP, THE CAR SHAKES AND THEN STALLS FOR NO APPARENT REASON.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/1/2015 - WIMBERLEY, TX
I DRIVE IN STOP AND GO TRAFFIC TO AND FROM WORK. WHEN I PUSH ON GAS IT MAKES ONE KNOCK SOUND. WHEN I LET GO IT MAKES ONE KNOCK SOUND. IT'S ONLY ONCE, IT DOES NOT KNOCK CONTINUOUSLY. IT STARTED MAKING THIS NOISE AFTER OIL CHANGE IN JANUARY EVERY SO OFTEN BUT IT HAS GOTTEN TO BE EVERY TIME I PUSH ON GAS AND LET GO NOW. I WAS TOLD I NEED A TRANSMISSION FLUSH WHEN I GOT THE OIL CHANGED JUST RECENTLY IN APRIL. COULD THIS BE THE WHAT IS CAUSING THE KNOCK NOISE? I READ REVIEWS ON FLUSHES AND SOME SAY TO GET IT DONE , OTHERS SAY IT HAS DAMAGED THEIR CARS TRANSMISSION.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/29/2015 - COBINGTON, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT ANY SPEED OVER A BUMP IN THE ROAD, THE VEHICLE VEERED TO THE LEFT OR RIGHT. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE WOULD JERK VIOLENTLY AND THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT EITHER THE FRONT ENLIGHTENMENT NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED OR THE FRONT TIRES NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE TIRES WERE REPLACED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN A SECOND TIME TO THE DEALER WHERE THEY RECALIBRATED THE VEHICLE, BUT THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 46,066.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

5/21/2015 - MURRIETA, CA
THE SUN VISOR ON THE PASSENGER SIDE IS BROKEN AND WILL NOT STAY UP BLOCKING VISIBILITY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/21/2015 - DALY CITY, CA
LEFT TAIL/BRAKE LIGHT IS MALFUNCTIONING. WHEN THE HEADLIGHTS ARE ON, THE TAIL LIGHT IS ON; HOWEVER, THAT SAME LIGHT IS ALSO THE BRAKE LIGHT, AND WHEN THE BRAKE IS APPLIED, THE LIGHT WILL NOT ILLUMINATE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/21/2015 - DALY CITY, CA
LEFT TAIL/BRAKE LIGHT IS MALFUNCTIONING. WHEN THE HEADLIGHTS ARE ON, THE TAIL LIGHT IS ON; HOWEVER, THAT SAME LIGHT IS ALSO THE BRAKE LIGHT, AND WHEN THE BRAKE IS APPLIED, THE LIGHT WILL NOT ILLUMINATE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

5/21/2015 - DALY CITY, CA
LEFT TAIL/BRAKE LIGHT IS MALFUNCTIONING. WHEN THE HEADLIGHTS ARE ON, THE TAIL LIGHT IS ON; HOWEVER, THAT SAME LIGHT IS ALSO THE BRAKE LIGHT, AND WHEN THE BRAKE IS APPLIED, THE LIGHT WILL NOT ILLUMINATE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/11/2015 - COCONUT CREEK, FL
PERIODICALLY MY CAR REFUSES TO START. THE BATTERY IS GOOD, ALL LIGHTS ON THE DASH ARE NORMAL, HEADLIGHTS WORK, RADIO WORKS, CAR IS IN PARKED POSITION, YET WHEN I TURN THE KEY IT REFUSES TO START. THIS IS THE SECOND SET OF OCCURRENCES OF THE SAME ISSUE. I EXPERIENCED THIS ISSUE LAST YEAR (2014), AT WHICH TIME I HAD TO TAKE THE CAR INTO SERVICE ON MORE THAN THREE OCCASIONS BEFORE THE FIGURED IT OUT. THEY EVENTUALLY SORTED OUT THE ISSUE IN NOVEMBER OF 2014. NOW 6 MONTHS AFTER, IN MAY 2015, THE SAME ISSUE OCCURS ONLY TO FIND OUT THAT HYUNDAI WILL ONLY WARRANTY THE PART BUT NOT THE LABOR COSTS. TODAY WHILE AT THE DEALERSHIP, THERE WAS AT LEAST ONE OTHER HYUNDAI ELANTRA OWNER WITH THE SAME ISSUE. I'D HATE THAT THE CAR REFUSE TO START IN AN EMERGENCY SITUATION THIS IS OBVIOUSLY SOMETHING THAT HYUNDAI IS AWARE OF, YET REFUSE TO TAKE FULL RESPONSIBILITY AND REMEDY THE SITUATION FOR MYSELF AND ALL OTHER CUSTOMERS. I BELIEVE THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL FOR THIS. I ALSO HAVE A SECOND ISSUE WITH THIS CAR, FROM THE DAY OF PURCHASE. THE CAR SHAKES AT SPEEDS BETWEEN 40MPH AND 55MPH. I HAVE TAKEN THE CAR IN ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS TO TWO DIFFERENT HYUNDAI DEALERSHIPS, YET THEY CANNOT FIGURE OUT THE ISSUE. THEY HAVE BALANCED THE TIRES, ALIGNED THE WHEELS, ROTATED THE TIRES, ETC, YET NONE OF THEIR ATTEMPTS HAVE RESULTED IN A SOLUTION. THIS ISSUE MAKE DRIVING THE CAR FEEL VERY UNSAFE, AND VERY UNPREDICTABLE IN WET CONDITIONS

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/11/2015 - COCONUT CREEK, FL
PERIODICALLY MY CAR REFUSES TO START. THE BATTERY IS GOOD, ALL LIGHTS ON THE DASH ARE NORMAL, HEADLIGHTS WORK, RADIO WORKS, CAR IS IN PARKED POSITION, YET WHEN I TURN THE KEY IT REFUSES TO START. THIS IS THE SECOND SET OF OCCURRENCES OF THE SAME ISSUE. I EXPERIENCED THIS ISSUE LAST YEAR (2014), AT WHICH TIME I HAD TO TAKE THE CAR INTO SERVICE ON MORE THAN THREE OCCASIONS BEFORE THE FIGURED IT OUT. THEY EVENTUALLY SORTED OUT THE ISSUE IN NOVEMBER OF 2014. NOW 6 MONTHS AFTER, IN MAY 2015, THE SAME ISSUE OCCURS ONLY TO FIND OUT THAT HYUNDAI WILL ONLY WARRANTY THE PART BUT NOT THE LABOR COSTS. TODAY WHILE AT THE DEALERSHIP, THERE WAS AT LEAST ONE OTHER HYUNDAI ELANTRA OWNER WITH THE SAME ISSUE. I'D HATE THAT THE CAR REFUSE TO START IN AN EMERGENCY SITUATION THIS IS OBVIOUSLY SOMETHING THAT HYUNDAI IS AWARE OF, YET REFUSE TO TAKE FULL RESPONSIBILITY AND REMEDY THE SITUATION FOR MYSELF AND ALL OTHER CUSTOMERS. I BELIEVE THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL FOR THIS. I ALSO HAVE A SECOND ISSUE WITH THIS CAR, FROM THE DAY OF PURCHASE. THE CAR SHAKES AT SPEEDS BETWEEN 40MPH AND 55MPH. I HAVE TAKEN THE CAR IN ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS TO TWO DIFFERENT HYUNDAI DEALERSHIPS, YET THEY CANNOT FIGURE OUT THE ISSUE. THEY HAVE BALANCED THE TIRES, ALIGNED THE WHEELS, ROTATED THE TIRES, ETC, YET NONE OF THEIR ATTEMPTS HAVE RESULTED IN A SOLUTION. THIS ISSUE MAKE DRIVING THE CAR FEEL VERY UNSAFE, AND VERY UNPREDICTABLE IN WET CONDITIONS

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds