Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI ELANTRA - 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 264 complaints filed for the 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (31) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Power Train (31) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (80) Exterior Lighting (7) Service Brakes (17) Suspension (23) Visibility (6)
Electronic Stability Control (28) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (14) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (46) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Steering (26) Unknown Or Other (30) Wheels (9)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 38
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

4/10/2017 - HIBBING, MN
THE ENGINE IS MAKING A TICKING NOISE. WAS TOLD THAT THE LIFTERS NEED TO BE REPLACED AND THERE IS TOO MUCH BACK PRESSURE. I WILL NEED A NEW ENGINE. SEVERAL OTHER MODELS ARE UNDER A RECALL BUT NOT THIS BRAND.

View Details

ENGINE

4/7/2017 - ETIWANDA, CA
ENGINE FAILURE. DRIVING ON FREEWAY.LOST POWER. ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. NOISE FROM ENGINE. PULLED OVER TO GAS STATION. OIL WAS LOW. TOWED TO DEALER. THEY SAID THE CAR HAD SEVERE OIL SLUDGE THROUGHOUT ENGINE. MY CAR WAS MADE AT THE SAME ALABAMA MANUFACTURING PLANT AS THE RECALLED HYUNDAI SONATAS THAT WERE RECALLED FOR ENGINE FAILURE. MY CAR IS STILL UNDER THE 5 YEAR WARRANTY. HYUNDAI OF AMERICA WILL NOT REPAIR OR REPLACE MY ENGINE BECAUSE I DON'T HAVE ALL MY OIL AND MAINTENANCE RECEIPTS. I HAVE ANOTHER 2006 SATURN THAT I MAINTAINED THE SAME WAY AND IT IS DRIVING PERFECTLY. PLEASE CONSIDER A RECALL FOR ENGINE FAILURE FOR ELANDRAS BUILT IN ALABAMA IN 2012. I HAVE SEEN ONLINE OTHER OWNERS WITH THE SAME MAKE, MODEL AND YEAR HAVE SIMILAR COMPLAINTS.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/30/2017 - ALBANY, GA
YES , I HAVE BEEN BUYING LIGHT BULLS FOR MY CAR OVER THE LAST YEAR'S AND THEY GO OUT LESS THAN A MONTH TIME, I HAVE BROUGHT MORE THEN 10 AND THE PEOPLE AT THE PART STORE SAID IT'S A ELECTRIC PROBLEM, BUT THE PEOPLE AT DEALERSHIP WANT ME TO PAY 125 TO PUT IT ON THERE MACHINE. I DON'T THINK THAT'S FAIR.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/23/2017 - HOLLISTER, CA
AIRBAG LIGHT ON DASH REMAINED ON AFTER START, WENT OUT FOR SEVERAL MOMENTS THEN HAS REMAINED ON. IS REMAINING ON AFTER MULTIPLE RESTARTS.

View Details

STEERING

3/21/2017 - CHANDLER, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. WHEN THE CONTACT STARTED THE VEHICLE, THE ESC INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. WHILE DRIVING AND ACCELERATING, THE VEHICLE PULLED TO THE LEFT AND RIGHT AND SEEMED TO LOSE POWER. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 24,000.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

3/21/2017 - CHANDLER, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. WHEN THE CONTACT STARTED THE VEHICLE, THE ESC INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. WHILE DRIVING AND ACCELERATING, THE VEHICLE PULLED TO THE LEFT AND RIGHT AND SEEMED TO LOSE POWER. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 24,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/21/2017 - CHANDLER, AZ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. WHEN THE CONTACT STARTED THE VEHICLE, THE ESC INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. WHILE DRIVING AND ACCELERATING, THE VEHICLE PULLED TO THE LEFT AND RIGHT AND SEEMED TO LOSE POWER. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 24,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/15/2017 - RICHMOND, CA
I HAD MY CAR FOR A YEAR AND 3MONTHS AND HAVEN'T HAD THIS PROBLEM TILL NOW I WAS DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY I HIT A SMALL BUMP AND I'VE HIT BIGGER BUMPS AND NEVER EVER HAVE MY AIR BAG LIGHT COME ON, OR BREAK LIGHT MAY GO OUT IF I HIT A BUMP THIS NEEDS TO BE FIXED ASAP AND IT SHOULDN'T BE A FEE THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE AND I'M NOT HAPPY ABOUT IT PLEASE FIX THIS ISSUE

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/15/2017 - RICHMOND, CA
I HAD MY CAR FOR A YEAR AND 3MONTHS AND HAVEN'T HAD THIS PROBLEM TILL NOW I WAS DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY I HIT A SMALL BUMP AND I'VE HIT BIGGER BUMPS AND NEVER EVER HAVE MY AIR BAG LIGHT COME ON, OR BREAK LIGHT MAY GO OUT IF I HIT A BUMP THIS NEEDS TO BE FIXED ASAP AND IT SHOULDN'T BE A FEE THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE AND I'M NOT HAPPY ABOUT IT PLEASE FIX THIS ISSUE

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/23/2017 - STRATFORD, CT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE SHUT OFF. ALSO, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT SHIFT GEARS CORRECTLY AND THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO PARK THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 78,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 38
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds