Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI ELANTRA - 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 104 complaints filed for the 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Service Brakes (5) Suspension (6) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electrical System (29) Exterior Lighting (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (13) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Steering (17) Unknown Or Other (20) Wheels (5)
Engine (21) Power Train (15) Structure (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

12/15/2014 - EWING TWP., NJ
MY HYUNDAI ELANTRA 2012 GLS SEDAN WAS SOLD AS HAVING DAYTIME RUNNING LIGHTS (DRLS) ACCORDING TO MONRONEY STICKER. NHTSA AND IIHS DICTATE THAT "DAYTIME RUNNING LIGHTS (DRLS) ARE HEADLIGHTS THAT ARE LIT WHENEVER A VEHICLE IS RUNNING. A LOW-COST METHOD TO REDUCE CRASHES, THEY ARE ESPECIALLY EFFECTIVE IN PREVENTING DAYTIME HEAD-ON AND FRONT-CORNER COLLISIONS BY MAKING IT EASIER TO SEE VEHICLES, PARTICULARLY AS THEY APPROACH FROM FAR AWAY." HOWEVER, DRLS DO NOT ENGAGE AUTOMATICALLY WHEN MY VEHICLE IS STARTED, AGAINST TO NHTSA AND IIHS DRLS DEFINITION. IN ORDER TO OPERATE DRLS IN MY HYUNDAI ELANTRA 2012, PARKING LIGHTS HAVE TO BE ENGAGED. IN OTHER WORDS, WHEN DRLS ARE OPERATIONAL, AMBER SIDE PARKING LIGHTS AND THE REAR TAIL LIGHTS ARE ALSO ON, WHICH OBVIOUSLY MASKS TURN AND STOP SIGNALS AND IN MY OPINION COULD REPRESENT A VERY REAL ROAD SAFETY ISSUE. IN ADDITION, WHEN DRLS ARE ENGAGED, THE INTERIOR GAUGE LIGHTS ARE AUTOMATICALLY DIMMED TO A NIGHT DRIVING LEVEL, WHICH MAKES IT MUCH HARDER TO READ THE GAUGE DURING DAYTIME AND REPRESENTS A POTENTIAL SAFETY ISSUE AS WELL. CONTACTING MULTIPLE LOCAL HYUNDAI DEALERSHIPS AND HYUNDAI EASTERN REGION HQS WAS FUTILE, SINCE THE ONLY ANSWER I WAS GETTING IS THAT THIS IS "A NEW DESIGN DRLS" AND NOTHING WILL BE DONE TO ADDRESS THE ISSUE. IRONICALLY, IT LOOKS TO ME THE END RESULT OF THIS "NEW DESIGN" REPRESENTS NOT AN INCREASED SAFETY FOR MY VEHICLE (ACCORDING TO PUBLICATIONS DOT HS 809 760 AND DOT HS 811 029 DRLS ARE AN IMPORTANT SAFETY FEATURE), BUT RATHER AN INCREASED RISK OF A COLLISION DUE TO MASKING TURN AND STOP SIGNALS, AND SUBSTANTIAL DIMMING OF THE CABIN. I NOTICED THERE ARE MULTIPLE COMPLAINTS OF THIS NATURE ON THE NHTSA WEBSITE BOTH FOR 2012 AND 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. I WOULD LIKE TO THANK YOU FOR TAKING TIME TO READ MY COMPLAINT, AND I WOULD ASK NHTSA TEAM TO LOOK INTO THE SITUATION PROMPTLY AND TO ADDRESS THIS SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

ENGINE

12/11/2014 - BROOKFIELD, WI
MY CAR WAS PARKED OUTSIDE OVERNIGHT AND I USED THE KEY FOB TO UNLOCK MY CAR. I THEN TRIED TO START THE CAR BUT IT WOULD NOT START. I HAD MY FOOT PRESSING ON THE BRAKE AND PUSHED THE IGNITION BUTTON AND THE LIGHTS/RADIO WOULD COME ON BUT THE CAR MADE A CLICK NOISE AND WOULD NOT CRANK OVER TO START. I TRIED THIS 5 TIMES BEFORE IT STARTED. IT WAS NOT THAT COLD SO WEATHER WAS NOT A FACTOR. I THEN DROVE TO WORK AND AT LUNCH THE SAME THING HAPPENED. IT TOOK 5 TRIES BEFORE THE CAR CRANKED OVER TO START. THE BRAKE PEDAL SEEMS TO BE LOCKED AND THEN FINALLY IT HAS SOME GIVE TO START THE CAR. I HAD TAKEN MY CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP 6 WEEKS PRIOR FOR THIS SAME ISSUE BUT THEY SAID THEY COULD NOT FIND A PROBLEM AS IT STARTED FOR THEM EVERY TIME. IT IS STARTING TO NOW GET FRUSTRATING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/11/2014 - BROOKFIELD, WI
MY CAR WAS PARKED OUTSIDE OVERNIGHT AND I USED THE KEY FOB TO UNLOCK MY CAR. I THEN TRIED TO START THE CAR BUT IT WOULD NOT START. I HAD MY FOOT PRESSING ON THE BRAKE AND PUSHED THE IGNITION BUTTON AND THE LIGHTS/RADIO WOULD COME ON BUT THE CAR MADE A CLICK NOISE AND WOULD NOT CRANK OVER TO START. I TRIED THIS 5 TIMES BEFORE IT STARTED. IT WAS NOT THAT COLD SO WEATHER WAS NOT A FACTOR. I THEN DROVE TO WORK AND AT LUNCH THE SAME THING HAPPENED. IT TOOK 5 TRIES BEFORE THE CAR CRANKED OVER TO START. THE BRAKE PEDAL SEEMS TO BE LOCKED AND THEN FINALLY IT HAS SOME GIVE TO START THE CAR. I HAD TAKEN MY CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP 6 WEEKS PRIOR FOR THIS SAME ISSUE BUT THEY SAID THEY COULD NOT FIND A PROBLEM AS IT STARTED FOR THEM EVERY TIME. IT IS STARTING TO NOW GET FRUSTRATING.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/13/2014 - BRAIDWOOD, IL
LAST OCT. I NOTICED MY TIRES ON THE REAR OF MY CAR WERE BALD .I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP TO HAVE IT LOOKED AT THEY WOULD NOT DO ANYTHING WITH IT . SO I TALKED TO THE OWNER HE AGREED TO REPLACE THEM. THEY CHECKED THE ALIGNMENT SAID NOTHING WAS WRONG. PUT NEW TIRES ON ,NOW ONE YEAR LATER TIRES ARE BALD AGAIN. DEALER SAID THEY WOULD NOT DO ANYTHING FOR ME . HYUNDAI SAID THEY WILL NOT DO ANYTHING. THE CAR HAS ONLY 32000 MILES ON IT. THIS IS GOING TO BE THE 2ND. SET OF TIRES ON THE REAR IN 1 YEAR .PLEASE LET ME KNOW WHAT I CAN DO TO RESOLVE THIS PROBLEM.THANK YOU

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/12/2014 - GAITHERSBURG, MD
HELLO, WELL, I AM THE FIRST OWNER, AND THERE WAS NOT ANY ACCIDENT BEFORE. LAST THURSDAY, AFTER I STARTED MY CAR, I TRIED TO SHIFT THE GEAR TO DRIVE, AND THE CAR WAS SUDDENLY SHOOK. I KEPT TRIED TO DRIVE IT, BUT WHENEVER THE RPM GOES UP TO 2000, THE CAR WAS BOUNCING LIKE THAT I STEPPED ON THE BRAKE OR SO. I WAS NOT EVEN ABLE TO DRIVE IT, AND IT WAS EVEN SO DANGEROUS TO DRIVE. THEREFORE, I JUST TRIED IT AGAIN AT NIGHT, AND THE ENGINE LIGHT TURNED ON. I PUT MY CAR INTO THE FITZGERALD HYUNDAI SERVICE CENTER IN GAITHERSBURG, MD ON FRIDAY MORNING (11/7/14), AND I GOT MY CAR BACK YESTERDAY. WHEN I PICKED UP MY CAR, I ASKED THEM WHAT WAS THE WRONG WITH IT, AND THEY TOLD ME THAT THE TRANSMISSION SENSOR DID NOT LEAD THE TEMPERATURE. THEREFORE, I TOLD THEM THAT I PUT MY CAR INTO THE HYUNDAI SERVICE CENTER IN FAIRFAX, VA THREE MONTHS AGO FOR THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM, AND THE FAIRFAX REPRESENTATIVE TOLD ME THAT THEY COULD NOT FIND ANY PROBLEMS WITH IT, SO THEY JUST RESET THE SOFTWARE SO THAT IT IS GOING TO BE FINE. HOWEVER, THIS HAPPENED AGAIN AFTER FEW MONTHS. A MAN FROM FITZGERALD TOLD ME THAT THIS TIME THEY UPDATE SOME NUMBERS, SO IT IS GOING TO BE FINE. I DO NOT KNOW WHENEVER THIS HAPPENS, THE ENGINE LIGHT TURNED ON, TOO, AND IT SEEMS LIKE THAT IT IS BREAKING TRANSMISSION AND THE ENGINE TOGETHER. SINCE THIS WAS NOT MY FIRST TIME, I REPORTED THIS TO THE HYUNDAI RECALL SERVICE CENTER. THEY CALLED ME YESTERDAY AND TOLD ME THAT THEY DO NOT KNOW THE REASON, BUT THEY FIXED IT. HOW COME THEY CAN FIX IT EVEN IF THEY DO NOT KNOW THE REASON? I KEPT COMPLAINED ABOUT IT, AND THEY JUST TOLD ME THAT THEY WILL EXPAND THE DATES FOR THE WARRANTY SO THAT I CAN FIX IT WHENEVER IT HAPPENS AGAIN! THEY ALSO SAID THAT THEY DO NOT KNOW THE NEXT STEP FOR IT. HOW IRRESPONSIBLE! NOW, ALL I CAN THINK OF IS THAT THIS IS THE DEFECTED CAR. CAN YOU PLEASE INVESTIGATE THIS? THANK YOU.

View Details

ENGINE

11/12/2014 - GAITHERSBURG, MD
HELLO, WELL, I AM THE FIRST OWNER, AND THERE WAS NOT ANY ACCIDENT BEFORE. LAST THURSDAY, AFTER I STARTED MY CAR, I TRIED TO SHIFT THE GEAR TO DRIVE, AND THE CAR WAS SUDDENLY SHOOK. I KEPT TRIED TO DRIVE IT, BUT WHENEVER THE RPM GOES UP TO 2000, THE CAR WAS BOUNCING LIKE THAT I STEPPED ON THE BRAKE OR SO. I WAS NOT EVEN ABLE TO DRIVE IT, AND IT WAS EVEN SO DANGEROUS TO DRIVE. THEREFORE, I JUST TRIED IT AGAIN AT NIGHT, AND THE ENGINE LIGHT TURNED ON. I PUT MY CAR INTO THE FITZGERALD HYUNDAI SERVICE CENTER IN GAITHERSBURG, MD ON FRIDAY MORNING (11/7/14), AND I GOT MY CAR BACK YESTERDAY. WHEN I PICKED UP MY CAR, I ASKED THEM WHAT WAS THE WRONG WITH IT, AND THEY TOLD ME THAT THE TRANSMISSION SENSOR DID NOT LEAD THE TEMPERATURE. THEREFORE, I TOLD THEM THAT I PUT MY CAR INTO THE HYUNDAI SERVICE CENTER IN FAIRFAX, VA THREE MONTHS AGO FOR THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM, AND THE FAIRFAX REPRESENTATIVE TOLD ME THAT THEY COULD NOT FIND ANY PROBLEMS WITH IT, SO THEY JUST RESET THE SOFTWARE SO THAT IT IS GOING TO BE FINE. HOWEVER, THIS HAPPENED AGAIN AFTER FEW MONTHS. A MAN FROM FITZGERALD TOLD ME THAT THIS TIME THEY UPDATE SOME NUMBERS, SO IT IS GOING TO BE FINE. I DO NOT KNOW WHENEVER THIS HAPPENS, THE ENGINE LIGHT TURNED ON, TOO, AND IT SEEMS LIKE THAT IT IS BREAKING TRANSMISSION AND THE ENGINE TOGETHER. SINCE THIS WAS NOT MY FIRST TIME, I REPORTED THIS TO THE HYUNDAI RECALL SERVICE CENTER. THEY CALLED ME YESTERDAY AND TOLD ME THAT THEY DO NOT KNOW THE REASON, BUT THEY FIXED IT. HOW COME THEY CAN FIX IT EVEN IF THEY DO NOT KNOW THE REASON? I KEPT COMPLAINED ABOUT IT, AND THEY JUST TOLD ME THAT THEY WILL EXPAND THE DATES FOR THE WARRANTY SO THAT I CAN FIX IT WHENEVER IT HAPPENS AGAIN! THEY ALSO SAID THAT THEY DO NOT KNOW THE NEXT STEP FOR IT. HOW IRRESPONSIBLE! NOW, ALL I CAN THINK OF IS THAT THIS IS THE DEFECTED CAR. CAN YOU PLEASE INVESTIGATE THIS? THANK YOU.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/12/2014 - GAITHERSBURG, MD
HELLO, WELL, I AM THE FIRST OWNER, AND THERE WAS NOT ANY ACCIDENT BEFORE. LAST THURSDAY, AFTER I STARTED MY CAR, I TRIED TO SHIFT THE GEAR TO DRIVE, AND THE CAR WAS SUDDENLY SHOOK. I KEPT TRIED TO DRIVE IT, BUT WHENEVER THE RPM GOES UP TO 2000, THE CAR WAS BOUNCING LIKE THAT I STEPPED ON THE BRAKE OR SO. I WAS NOT EVEN ABLE TO DRIVE IT, AND IT WAS EVEN SO DANGEROUS TO DRIVE. THEREFORE, I JUST TRIED IT AGAIN AT NIGHT, AND THE ENGINE LIGHT TURNED ON. I PUT MY CAR INTO THE FITZGERALD HYUNDAI SERVICE CENTER IN GAITHERSBURG, MD ON FRIDAY MORNING (11/7/14), AND I GOT MY CAR BACK YESTERDAY. WHEN I PICKED UP MY CAR, I ASKED THEM WHAT WAS THE WRONG WITH IT, AND THEY TOLD ME THAT THE TRANSMISSION SENSOR DID NOT LEAD THE TEMPERATURE. THEREFORE, I TOLD THEM THAT I PUT MY CAR INTO THE HYUNDAI SERVICE CENTER IN FAIRFAX, VA THREE MONTHS AGO FOR THE EXACT SAME PROBLEM, AND THE FAIRFAX REPRESENTATIVE TOLD ME THAT THEY COULD NOT FIND ANY PROBLEMS WITH IT, SO THEY JUST RESET THE SOFTWARE SO THAT IT IS GOING TO BE FINE. HOWEVER, THIS HAPPENED AGAIN AFTER FEW MONTHS. A MAN FROM FITZGERALD TOLD ME THAT THIS TIME THEY UPDATE SOME NUMBERS, SO IT IS GOING TO BE FINE. I DO NOT KNOW WHENEVER THIS HAPPENS, THE ENGINE LIGHT TURNED ON, TOO, AND IT SEEMS LIKE THAT IT IS BREAKING TRANSMISSION AND THE ENGINE TOGETHER. SINCE THIS WAS NOT MY FIRST TIME, I REPORTED THIS TO THE HYUNDAI RECALL SERVICE CENTER. THEY CALLED ME YESTERDAY AND TOLD ME THAT THEY DO NOT KNOW THE REASON, BUT THEY FIXED IT. HOW COME THEY CAN FIX IT EVEN IF THEY DO NOT KNOW THE REASON? I KEPT COMPLAINED ABOUT IT, AND THEY JUST TOLD ME THAT THEY WILL EXPAND THE DATES FOR THE WARRANTY SO THAT I CAN FIX IT WHENEVER IT HAPPENS AGAIN! THEY ALSO SAID THAT THEY DO NOT KNOW THE NEXT STEP FOR IT. HOW IRRESPONSIBLE! NOW, ALL I CAN THINK OF IS THAT THIS IS THE DEFECTED CAR. CAN YOU PLEASE INVESTIGATE THIS? THANK YOU.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/8/2014 - SUFFIELD, CT
A FEW DAYS BEFORE THIS INCIDENT, A WARNING INDICATOR LIGHT APPEARED ON MY INSTRUMENT PANEL. I MADE AN APPOINTMENT FOR THAT WEEKEND TO HAVE IT CHECKED AT A LOCAL DEALERSHIP. AS I WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK, THE FIRST UNUSUAL THING THAT HAPPENED WAS THE HYUNDAI LOGO APPEARED ON THE NAV SCREEN WHILE THE CAR WAS IN MOTION.TYPICALLY THE HYUNDAI LOGO ONLY APPEARS WHEN THE CAR IS FIRST STARTED-NEVER WHILE VEHICLE IS IN MOTION. ABOUT 10 MILES LATER, ALL OF THE POWER TO THE VEHICLE DISAPPEARED AS I WAS DRIVING ABOUT 65 MPH IN HEAVY TRAFFIC. WHEN THIS HAPPENED, IT FELT AS IF I HAD BEEN REAR-ENDED IN AN ACCIDENT. AFTER DETERMINING THAT WAS NOT THE CASE, I LOOKED AT THE INSTRUMENT PANEL TO SEE ALL THE WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. NOW I'M TRYING TO MOVE TO THE SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY WHEN THE POWER WAS MAGICALLY RESTORED AND THE WARNING INDICATOR LIGHT THAT HAD APPEARED A FEW DAYS PRIOR WAS NOW GONE. I DID NOT HAVE AN OPPORTUNITY TO PULL TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, PUT THE TRANSMISSION IN PARK AND ATTEMPT TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. NO, IT RESTARTED ALL BY ITSELF! I TOOK IT TO TWO DIFFERENT DEALERSHIPS WHO BOTH ASSURED ME THE CAR WAS FINE AND THAT WHAT I DESCRIBED WAS IMPOSSIBLE TO OCCUR. TRUST ME WHEN I TELL YOU THAT UNLESS YOU'VE EXPERIENCED LOSING ALL POWER TO A VEHICLE WHILE DRIVING AT 65 MPH, YET HERE IS NOT ANOTHER FEELING LIKE IT. I NO LONGER FELT SAFE IN MY OWN VEHICLE AND MADE ARRANGEMENTS FOR IT TO BE REPLACED. I WOULD HAVE FELT MUCH MORE COMFORTABLE HAD THE DEALERSHIP(S) FOUND SOMETHING THAT COULD HAVE BEEN REPAIRED. GIVEN THAT THEY COULD FIND NOTHING WRONG LEFT ME VERY LEERY OF THE VEHICLE'S ELECTRICAL SYSTEM. ALSO, THE MPG GAUGE WOULD RESET ITSELF; AT IDLE, IT FREQUENTLY ALMOST STALLED; AT NIGHT, THE HEADLIGHTS WOULD FLICKER AT IDLE; THE COMPASS READOUT ON THE REAR VIEW MIRROR WOULD ALSO FLICKER AT IDLE WHEN THE VEHICLE ALMOST STALLED---VERY BIZARRE BEHAVIOR FROM A VEHICLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/5/2014 - BELVIDERE, NJ
CAR WOULD NOT START WHEN KEY TURNED. DASH LIGHTS CAME ON, BUT ENGINE WOULD NOT TURN OVER OR EVEN CRANK. THE ONLY SOUND WAS A SLIGHT CLICK IN THE ENGINE WHEN THE KEY WAS TURNED. JUMP START WOULD NOT HELP. REMEDIED BY TURNING THE KEY UNTIL I COULD SHIFT OUT OF PARK TO ANOTHER GEAR, THEN RETURNED TO PARK. DID THIS MULTIPLE TIMES AND FINALLY THE CAR STARTED NORMALLY. CONCERNED ABOUT LOSING POWER WHEN DRIVING AND HAVING AN ACCIDENT, OR GETTING STRANDED SOMEWHERE. CALLED DEALER AND WAS TOLD THAT THEY COULD CHECK FOR BATTERY ISSUES (WHICH IT IS NOT), BUT TO CALL THEM IF IT HAPPENED AGAIN (HOPEFULLY, NOT WHILE DRIVING).

View Details

WHEELS

10/31/2014 - ATLANTA, GA
HAD JUST HAD MY CAR IN FOR MY 20,000 MILE CHECK ONE WEEK AGO. HAD TIRES ROTATED AND ALL THE OTHER RECOMMENDED SERVICE. WAS DRIVING ON HIGHWAY, GOOD WEATHER IN ATLANTA, GA, AND TIRE PRESSURE GAUGE WENT ON. I EXITED THE HIGHWAY (FORTUNATELY I WAS IN A LOCATION WHERE I COULD AND IT WAS EVENING WITH LESS TRAFFIC THAN THE NORM) TO FIND A STATION TO CHECK TIRES AND PUT IN AIR IN. ONE TIRE HAD A BUBBLE/BULGE IN THE SIDEWALL AND ALL FOUR TIRES WERE SHOWING A PRESSURE OF 29/30....DOWN THAT MUCH IN ONE WEEK WITH NO SIGNIFICANT WEATHER CHANGES, I HAVEN'T HIT ANY POTHOLES OR BUMPS, OR ANY REASON WHY THIS SHOULD BE THE CASE. VERY FRUSTRATED AND AFRAID TO DRIVE, ESPECIALLY AFTER READING ALL THE HORROR STORIES ABOUT THE WHEELS/RIMS/TIRES ON THIS CAR BEING THE WRONG SIZE FOR THE CAR. PLEASE DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS SOONER RATHER THAN LATER BEFORE SOMEONE DIES! WHY MUST THAT ALWAYS HAPPEN BEFORE ANYTHING IS DONE?

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds