Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI ELANTRA - 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 288 complaints filed for the 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (36) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Power Train (31) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (11)
Electrical System (85) Exterior Lighting (8) Service Brakes (17) Suspension (26) Visibility (6)
Electronic Stability Control (29) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (14) Visibility Wiper (6)
Engine (55) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Steering (29) Unknown Or Other (32) Wheels (9)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 41
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/12/2017 - HILLSBORO, NH
CLICKING NOISE WHEN ACCELERATING/ STARTING CAR

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/11/2017 - ASHBURN, VA
MY 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA BEGAN HAVING ACCELERATION PROBLEMS FOR THE PAST 6 TO 9 MONTHS. AS I STEP ON THE GAS AT APPROXIMATELY 30 TO 40 MPH THE AUTOMOBILE KICKS, BUCKS AND DOES NOT ACCELERATE AS INTENDED. MY HYUNDAI DEALER REPLACED THE FUEL PUMP/ASSEMBLY ($700) AND IT SEEMED TO GET WORSE.FAILURE TO ACCELERATE AS EXPECTED IS A DANGER IF YOU ARE TRYING TO ENTER A BUSY HIGHWAY OR TRYING TO GET OUT OF THE WAY OF ANOTHER SPEEDING VEHICLE. THIS SEEMS TO OCCUR AT SPEEDS UP TO 65 MPH WHEN STEPPING ON THE GAS. THIS HAPPENS ON A REGULAR BASIS BUT NOT EVERY DAY.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/11/2017 - ASHBURN, VA
MY 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA BEGAN HAVING ACCELERATION PROBLEMS FOR THE PAST 6 TO 9 MONTHS. AS I STEP ON THE GAS AT APPROXIMATELY 30 TO 40 MPH THE AUTOMOBILE KICKS, BUCKS AND DOES NOT ACCELERATE AS INTENDED. MY HYUNDAI DEALER REPLACED THE FUEL PUMP/ASSEMBLY ($700) AND IT SEEMED TO GET WORSE.FAILURE TO ACCELERATE AS EXPECTED IS A DANGER IF YOU ARE TRYING TO ENTER A BUSY HIGHWAY OR TRYING TO GET OUT OF THE WAY OF ANOTHER SPEEDING VEHICLE. THIS SEEMS TO OCCUR AT SPEEDS UP TO 65 MPH WHEN STEPPING ON THE GAS. THIS HAPPENS ON A REGULAR BASIS BUT NOT EVERY DAY.

View Details

ENGINE

10/11/2017 - ASHBURN, VA
MY 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA BEGAN HAVING ACCELERATION PROBLEMS FOR THE PAST 6 TO 9 MONTHS. AS I STEP ON THE GAS AT APPROXIMATELY 30 TO 40 MPH THE AUTOMOBILE KICKS, BUCKS AND DOES NOT ACCELERATE AS INTENDED. MY HYUNDAI DEALER REPLACED THE FUEL PUMP/ASSEMBLY ($700) AND IT SEEMED TO GET WORSE.FAILURE TO ACCELERATE AS EXPECTED IS A DANGER IF YOU ARE TRYING TO ENTER A BUSY HIGHWAY OR TRYING TO GET OUT OF THE WAY OF ANOTHER SPEEDING VEHICLE. THIS SEEMS TO OCCUR AT SPEEDS UP TO 65 MPH WHEN STEPPING ON THE GAS. THIS HAPPENS ON A REGULAR BASIS BUT NOT EVERY DAY.

View Details

SUSPENSION

10/2/2017 - CHESAPEAKE, VA
FRONT AXLES ARE LOUD WHILE DRIVING. CHANGED TO A SOFTER COMPOUND TIRE AND MADE A DIFFERENCE. HOWEVER, THE ROAD NOISE HAS BECOME LOUDER AT 77,986. TOOK VEHICLE TO SERVICE AND THEY FOUND NOTHING WRONG. THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON AROUND 20,000 MILES.

View Details

ENGINE

10/2/2017 - CHESAPEAKE, VA
"TAKATA RECALL" POOR ENGINE PERFORMANCE. ROUGH IDLE AT COLD START. SMELL GAS AS WELL. RANDOMLY BLOWS HUGE AMOUNTS OF SMOKE OUT THE TAIL PIPE WHILE ACCELERATING. "EXAMPLE" MERGING ON INTERSTATE. THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON SINCE THE VEHICLE REACHED 50,000 MILES. ALL MAINTENANCE WORK HAS BEEN DONE. NOW AT 77,986 RUNS LIKE A GRASS CUTTER. JUST RUNS ROUGH.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/2/2017 - CHESAPEAKE, VA
"TAKATA RECALL" TURN IGNITION KEY TO START POSITION AND CLICK, CLICK, MOTOR DOES NOT START. TURN KEY OFF BACK ON TO START POSITION AND ENGINE STARTS. THIS HAPPENS RANDOMLY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/25/2017 - HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA
TAKATA RECALL. AIRBAG LIGHT IS ON. LOOKED ONLINE AND A LOT OF OTHER PEOPLE ARE HAVING THIS ISSUE.

View Details

ENGINE

9/4/2017 - ATLANTA, GA
WHEN ATTEMPTING TO START MY VEHICLE IT WOULD NOT START. ALL LIGHTS CAME ON, BUT THE ENGINE WOULD NOT TURN OVER. AFTER TURNING THE CAR OFF AND SITTING FOR 10 MINUTES IT FINALLY STARTED. TWO DAYS LATER MY VEHICLE DID THE SAME EXACT THING. I TOOK MY CAR TO THE SHOP AND THEY FOUND NOTHING WRONG WITH IT. WHILE AT THE CAR SHOP ANOTHER ELANTRA OWNER (2011 MODEL YEAR) WAS THERE WITH THE SAME ISSUE. I AM UNSURE EXACTLY WHAT THE PROBLEM CAN BE BUT I DID LOOK ONLINE AND MANY OWNERS FOR THE HYUNDAI ELANTRA MODEL YEARS 2011-2013 COMPLAINED OF THE SAME ISSUE.

View Details

ENGINE

8/28/2017 - KINSMAN, OH
I HAVE AN ISSUE WITH A 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. IT CURRENTLY HAS 84,585 MILES AND I PURCHASED IT USED FROM A DEALERSHIP AT 48,484 MILES. IT WAS INSPECTED BY A HYUNDAI SERVICE DEPARTMENT IN AUGUST OF THIS YEAR AFTER MAKING A KNOCKING NOISE AND STALLING CONTINUALLY. IT WAS DIAGNOSED BY THE HYUNDAI SERVICE DEPARTMENT WITH THE SAME EXACT ISSUE THE SONATA HAS WHICH IS COVERED IN THE CLASS ACTION SUIT, BUT OUR DEALERS REQUEST FOR A NEW SHORT BLOCK WAS DENIED BY HYUNDAI. THERE ARE METAL SHAVINGS IN THE OIL VALVE, AND ALSO IN THE OIL PAN CAUSED BY SHEARING FROM THE CRANKSHAFT. THERE APPEAR TO BE OTHERS WITH THE SAME CRANKSHAFT ISSUE THAT OWN ELANTRA MODELS AS WELL. PLEASE SEE ABOVE ATTACHMENTS. MY CONCERN IS THAT THE SAME FAULTY DEBURRING PROCESS THAT WAS USED ON THE SONATA+S CRANK SHAFT MAY HAVE ALSO BEEN USED ON CERTAIN ELANTRA+S DURING THE SAME TIMEFRAME. I ALSO HAVE RECEIPTS OF ALL OF MY OIL CHANGES. IF THERE IS ANY INFORMATION THAT IS PUBLIC KNOWLEDGE ABOUT THIS DEBURRING PROCESS THAT MIGHT HAVE BEEN USED ON OTHER ENGINE MODELS OR IF YOU HAVE ANY SUGGESTIONS ON HOW TO PROCEED, I WOULD APPRECIATE IT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 41
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds