Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI ELANTRA - 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor Company

There are 62 complaints filed for the 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Service Brakes (3) Suspension (5) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electrical System (11) Exterior Lighting (1) Steering (17) Tires (11) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Structure (3) Unknown Or Other (1) Wheels (4)
Engine (7) Power Train (11)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/23/2014 - WASHINGTON, DC
CPSC: I1440033A. 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. CONSUMER STATED THAT THERE IS SOMETHING WRONG WITH THE CAR BRAKE SYSTEM.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

4/23/2014 - GILBERTSVILLE, PA
I ACCELERATED OUT OF A PARKING LOT AND THEN LOST POWER BECAUSE THE CAR WENT OUT OF TIME AND STARTED MISFIRING. THEN WHITE SMOKE STARTED COMING OUT OF MY TAILPIPE. THE CAR BEHIND ME ALMOST HIT ME. THIS IS THE SECOND TIME MY CAR HAS MISFIRED. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. THE REASON I KNOW IT MISFIRED IS BECAUSE I HAVE A CODE READER AND IT SAID CYLINDER 1 & 2 MISFIRE. I PULLED OVER AND TURNED OFF THE CAR, WAITED ABOUT 5 MINUTES, RESTARTED IT AND THE CAR RUNS FINE. THE DEALER CANNOT DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT BECAUSE THEY CANNOT RECREATE THE PROBLEM AND BY THE TIME I GET THE CAR TO THEM THE ENGINE LIGHT GOES OFF. STRANGE BEHAVIOR WITH THIS CAR.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/14/2014 - ROYAL PALM BEACH, FL
DRIVER ATTEMPTING TO BRAKE BUT THE BRAKE SYSTEM FAILED AND HIT ANOTHER CAR, ALSO UPON IMPACT THE AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOYED TO PROTECT THE DRIVER CONSIDERING HOW SEVERELY THE FRONT AREA OF THE CAR WERE DAMAGED. 2 DAYS PRIOR TO THE ACCIDENT, CAR WAS NOT STARTING, WAS JUMPED- START AND VEHICLE WAS BROUGHT TO HYUNDAI SERVICE AND THEY DID NOT SEE ANYTHING WRONG.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/14/2014 - ROYAL PALM BEACH, FL
DRIVER ATTEMPTING TO BRAKE BUT THE BRAKE SYSTEM FAILED AND HIT ANOTHER CAR, ALSO UPON IMPACT THE AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOYED TO PROTECT THE DRIVER CONSIDERING HOW SEVERELY THE FRONT AREA OF THE CAR WERE DAMAGED. 2 DAYS PRIOR TO THE ACCIDENT, CAR WAS NOT STARTING, WAS JUMPED- START AND VEHICLE WAS BROUGHT TO HYUNDAI SERVICE AND THEY DID NOT SEE ANYTHING WRONG.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/14/2014 - ROYAL PALM BEACH, FL
DRIVER ATTEMPTING TO BRAKE BUT THE BRAKE SYSTEM FAILED AND HIT ANOTHER CAR, ALSO UPON IMPACT THE AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOYED TO PROTECT THE DRIVER CONSIDERING HOW SEVERELY THE FRONT AREA OF THE CAR WERE DAMAGED. 2 DAYS PRIOR TO THE ACCIDENT, CAR WAS NOT STARTING, WAS JUMPED- START AND VEHICLE WAS BROUGHT TO HYUNDAI SERVICE AND THEY DID NOT SEE ANYTHING WRONG.

View Details

STEERING

3/10/2014 - KENSINGTON, MD
POTHOLE INDUCED TIRE FAILURE - TORN SIDEWALL. THE LIMITED EDITION OF THIS CAR IS FITTED WITH 17" RIMS -- STOCK TIRE IS A 215.45.17. WITH APPROXIMATELY 22,000 MILES OF DRIVING, WE HAVE DESTROYED THREE TIRES ON POTHOLES, FORTUNATELY ALL WERE AT LOW SPEED AND THERE WAS NO LOSS OF CONTROL. HOWEVER, HITTING A POTHOLE OR OTHER BREAK IN THE PAVEMENT AT HIGH SPEED COULD EASILY DESTROY THE TIRE AND CAUSE THE VEHICLE TO GO OUT OF CONTROL. THE ASPECT RATIO IS SIMPLY TO SMALL FOR SAFETY. A REVIEW OF AUTOMOTIVE FORUMS INDICATES THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM FOR HYUNDAI ELANTRAS WITH 17" RIMS. I WAS HESITANT TO LET MY CHILDREN DRIVE THE CAR ON THE HIGHWAY. AT OUR OWN EXPENSE WE HAVE REPLACED THE STOCK WHEELS AND TIRES WITH A 16" WHEEL AND LARGER ASPECT TIRE.

View Details

WHEELS

3/10/2014 - KENSINGTON, MD
POTHOLE INDUCED TIRE FAILURE - TORN SIDEWALL. THE LIMITED EDITION OF THIS CAR IS FITTED WITH 17" RIMS -- STOCK TIRE IS A 215.45.17. WITH APPROXIMATELY 22,000 MILES OF DRIVING, WE HAVE DESTROYED THREE TIRES ON POTHOLES, FORTUNATELY ALL WERE AT LOW SPEED AND THERE WAS NO LOSS OF CONTROL. HOWEVER, HITTING A POTHOLE OR OTHER BREAK IN THE PAVEMENT AT HIGH SPEED COULD EASILY DESTROY THE TIRE AND CAUSE THE VEHICLE TO GO OUT OF CONTROL. THE ASPECT RATIO IS SIMPLY TO SMALL FOR SAFETY. A REVIEW OF AUTOMOTIVE FORUMS INDICATES THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM FOR HYUNDAI ELANTRAS WITH 17" RIMS. I WAS HESITANT TO LET MY CHILDREN DRIVE THE CAR ON THE HIGHWAY. AT OUR OWN EXPENSE WE HAVE REPLACED THE STOCK WHEELS AND TIRES WITH A 16" WHEEL AND LARGER ASPECT TIRE.

View Details

STEERING

2/21/2014 - NAPERVILLE, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME UNSTABLE. IN ADDITION, THE VEHICLE WOULD EXHIBIT AN ABNORMALLY LOUD NOISE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC SEVERAL TIMES, WHO PERFORMED AN ALIGNMENT AND REPLACED THE AXLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 20,638....UPDATED 03/25/14

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/30/2013 - WASHINGTON, DC
I PURCHASED THIS CAR IN JUNE 2011 AND THERE HAVE BEEN THREE SEPARATE TIMES THAT MY CAR WILL NOT START. THE FIRST TIME WAS A FEW MONTHS AFTER I FIRST PURCHASED MY CAR. I WENT TO START MY CAR IN THE MORNING AND IT WOULD NOT CUT ON. AFTER LETTING IT SIT FOR THE DAY I TRIED IT AND IT TURNED ON WITH NO PROBLEMS. THE SECOND INCIDENT HAPPENED SEPTEMBER 2013. I WENT TO START MY CAR IN THE MORNING. IT WOULD CRANK BUT NOT TURN OVER. I LET IS SIT FOR ABOUT 3 DAYS AND EVERYDAY I WOULD TRY IT AND IT STILL WOULD NOT START. I FINALLY HAD IT TOWED TO A HYUNDAI DEALER NEAR ME AND THEY RAN TESTS AND EVERYTHING CAME BACK FINE AND WAS TOLD THE CAR STARTED FOR THEM WITH NO PROBLEM AND I PROBABLY DIDN'T PUSH IN ON THE CLUTCH ALL THE WAY. EVEN THOUGH THE TOW TRUCK DRIVER ALSO TRIED IT AND WOULD NOT START FOR HIM TOO. THE MOST RECENT INCIDENT THE SAME ISSUE HAPPENED. CAR WOULD CRANK AND NOT TURN OVER. I DID SOME RESEARCH ONLINE AND SAW FROM ANOTHER HYUNDAI OWNER THAT THEY HAD TO PUMP THEIR GAS PEDAL TO GET THEIR CAR TO START. ONCE I TRIED THAT THE CAR STARTED AFTER A FEW MINUTES. THIS TIME I DROVE IT TO THE HYUNDAI DEALER WHERE I PURCHASED THE CAR AND ONCE AGAIN ALL TESTS CAME BACK FINE AND THEY CANNOT FIND A PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/30/2013 - WASHINGTON, DC
I PURCHASED THIS CAR IN JUNE 2011 AND THERE HAVE BEEN THREE SEPARATE TIMES THAT MY CAR WILL NOT START. THE FIRST TIME WAS A FEW MONTHS AFTER I FIRST PURCHASED MY CAR. I WENT TO START MY CAR IN THE MORNING AND IT WOULD NOT CUT ON. AFTER LETTING IT SIT FOR THE DAY I TRIED IT AND IT TURNED ON WITH NO PROBLEMS. THE SECOND INCIDENT HAPPENED SEPTEMBER 2013. I WENT TO START MY CAR IN THE MORNING. IT WOULD CRANK BUT NOT TURN OVER. I LET IS SIT FOR ABOUT 3 DAYS AND EVERYDAY I WOULD TRY IT AND IT STILL WOULD NOT START. I FINALLY HAD IT TOWED TO A HYUNDAI DEALER NEAR ME AND THEY RAN TESTS AND EVERYTHING CAME BACK FINE AND WAS TOLD THE CAR STARTED FOR THEM WITH NO PROBLEM AND I PROBABLY DIDN'T PUSH IN ON THE CLUTCH ALL THE WAY. EVEN THOUGH THE TOW TRUCK DRIVER ALSO TRIED IT AND WOULD NOT START FOR HIM TOO. THE MOST RECENT INCIDENT THE SAME ISSUE HAPPENED. CAR WOULD CRANK AND NOT TURN OVER. I DID SOME RESEARCH ONLINE AND SAW FROM ANOTHER HYUNDAI OWNER THAT THEY HAD TO PUMP THEIR GAS PEDAL TO GET THEIR CAR TO START. ONCE I TRIED THAT THE CAR STARTED AFTER A FEW MINUTES. THIS TIME I DROVE IT TO THE HYUNDAI DEALER WHERE I PURCHASED THE CAR AND ONCE AGAIN ALL TESTS CAME BACK FINE AND THEY CANNOT FIND A PROBLEM.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds