Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI ELANTRA - 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 222 complaints filed for the 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (20) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Power Train (27) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (71) Exterior Lighting (4) Service Brakes (13) Suspension (21) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (21) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (14) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine (40) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Steering (23) Unknown Or Other (26) Wheels (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 31
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

8/25/2016 - CLAYTON, NC
VEHICLE STATIONARY. SHIFTER IN "PARK". ATTEMPTED TO START VEHICLE. TURNED KEY IN IGNITION - CAR DID NOT START. RADIO, LIGHTS, AIR AND ALL OTHER PERIPHERALS STARTED AND FUNCTIONED APPROPRIATELY. TRIED TO "JUMP" VEHICLE USING TWO DIFFERENT JUMPER-CABLE SETS. HAD BATTERY TESTED - OEM BATTERY, 4 YEARS OLD, RATED AT 550 AND FUNCTIONING AT 542 - GOOD BATTERY, NO NEED FOR REPLACEMENT. POPPED OUT THE SHIFT LOCK INSERT. INSERTED FLAT HEAD SCREWDRIVER TO DEPRESS THE BUTTON. PUT CAR IN NEUTRAL. PUT KEY IN IGNITION, TURNED TO START - CAR STARTED AS IF NOTHING WAS WRONG. DROVE FOR ABOUT 30 MINTUTES. STOPPED AT A STORE. ATTEMPTED TO START VEHICLE AS NORMAL - VEHICLE STARTED FINE. PARKED VEHICLE IN DRIVEWAY OVERNIGHT. ATTEMPTED TO START VEHICLE TO GO TO WORK - VEHICLE WOULD NOT START. REPEATED THE SAME PROCESS FROM THE PREVIOUS TIME IT WOULDN'T START AND WAS SUCESSFUL. HAVE A VIDEO SHOWING THE SHIFTER GOING THROUGH ALL GEARS - WHEN PUT INTO "PARK" THE LIGHTS ON THE SHIFTER COMPLETELY GO OUT AND THEN EVENTUALLY FLICKER BACK ON. PLEASE CONTACT ME IF YOU WOULD LIKE THE VIDEO, AS A PICTURE WOULD NOT SHOW THE ISSUE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/23/2016 - DOUGLASVILLE, GA
CAR WONT START WHEN YOU TRY TO TURN IT OVER. ALL LIGHTS WORK EVEN AIR WILL BLOW BUT WONT START

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/21/2016 - PASADENA, MD
MY AIRBAG LIGHT IS STUCK ON. WILL BE TAKING TO A DEALER HOWEVER HAVE FOUND MANY OTHER COMPLAINTS OF THIS PROBLEM ONLINE. THE LIGHT WILL COME ON AS USUAL WHEN STARTING, GO OFF AFTER 6 SECONDS THEN STAY ILLUMINATED WHILE DRIVING OR GO OFF AND ON.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/9/2016 - DENVER, CO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT REMAINED ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER MONTHS AND A WEIGHT SENSOR ON THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE WAS REPLACED. THE REMEDY DID NOT CORRECT THE FAILURE AND THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED AGAIN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO ANOTHER DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE CLOCK SPRING FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CONTACT WAS TO CHECK WITH THE MANUFACTURER TO DETERMINE A REPAIR SOLUTION FROM THE DEALER. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/1/2016 - JEFFERSON, WI
MY ELANTRA LIMITED 2012 UNLOCK MY DOORS OR START THE CAR UNLESS I PUT THE KEY UP TO THE START BUTTON. I DON'T HAVEAN IGNITION MY CAR ONLY STARTS WITH A PUSH BUTTON,BOTH KEY FABS WON'T WORK, I'VE RESEARCHED AND ALOT IF CUSTOMER HAVE THE SAME COMPLAINT THIS HAPPENS MULTIPLE TIMES SOMEONE MENTIONED THE HAD RANGE SHAFT OR SOMETHING REPLACE AND IT WORKS BUT MANY PEOPLE ARE COMPLAINING ABOUT THE SAME PROBLEM

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/31/2016 - PINE HILL, NJ
AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON ABOUT A WEEK AGO FOR ABOUT 10 MINUTES WHILE AT A DRIVE-THRU WINDOW AND WENT OFF. DRIVING DOWN A 45 MPH ROAD THE LIGHT CAME BACK ON AND WENT OFF JUST AS QUICKLY. CALLED THE DEALER THE NEXT DAY AND MADE AN APPOINTMENT. LIGHT CONTINUED TO GO ON AND OFF WHILE DRIVING AROUND TOWN AND EVEN CAME ON WHEN I PUT THE CAR IN PARK. TOOK IT TO DEALER AND THEY COULDN'T "DUPLICATE" THE PROBLEM SO THEY HAVE NO IDEA WHAT IS CAUSING THE LIGHT TO GO ON AND OFF. HAS BEEN DOING IT EVERYDAY SINCE I LEFT THE DEALER. I AM WAITING ON A LOANER FROM THEM SO THEY CAN KEEP THE CAR FOR LONGER THAN A COUPLE OF HOURS. HAVE TO SAY I DON'T FEEL REAL SAFE DRIVING MY CAR WITH THE AIRBAG LIGHT GOING ON AND OFF WHILE I AM DRIVING.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/27/2016 - HARVARD, IL
I PURCHASED THIS CAR NEW FROM A HYUNDAI DEALER IN MARCH 2012 PROBLEM 1. SINCE EARLY ON, THE CAR ALWAYS EXHIBITED A SERIOUS INSTABILITY IN THE REAR END. SPECIFICALLY SPEAKING, WHEN DRIVING ON ANY SMALL BUMP FOUND ON ANY NORMAL ROAD, THE CAR REAR SUSPENSION WILL NOT ABSORBE THE BUMP LIKE ANY NORMAL CAR WOULD BUT INSTEAD SEVERELY JUMPS AND THEN 'DARTS OR SHIFTS' LATERALLY. EVEN IN DRY PAVEMENT. HAVING LIVED IN THE NE AND ILLINOIS NOW, I AM A VERY EXPERIENCED DRIVING IN SNOWY CONDITIONS. DRIVING THIS CAR IN EVEN 1/2" OF SNOW IS DOWNRIGHT TERRIFYING. THERE IS ABSOLUTELY NO REAR END CONTROL AND TOTAL INSTABILITY NO MATTER HOW CAREFUL YOU DRIVE. I HAVE FOUND MYSELF NOT KNOWING IF I WAS GOING TO MAKE HOME WITHOUT GETTING INTO AN ACCIDENT. THE PAST TWO WINTERS I HAD TO USE OTHER VEHICLE EVEN IF THE WEATHER FORECAST CALL FOR SNOWN FLURRIES. I HAVE NEVER DRIVEN A CAR SO UNSTABLE IN MY 45 YEARS OF DRIVING. BY THE WAY, LOADING UP THE CAR WITH PASSENGERS OR ADDITIONAL WEIGHT HAS ZERO IMPACT REDUCING THE SEVERITY OF THE PROBLEM. PROBLEM 2 THE REAR TIRES WEAR OUT VERY FAST. EVEN THOUGH I ROTATE THEM EVEN 5K MILES, THEY WEAR SO BADLY THAT THEY PRODUCE A LOUD ROAD NOISE FROM UNEVEN WEAR. I AM ON MY THIRD SET OF TIRES AND THESE NEED REPLACEMENT NOW. I HAVE TAKEN THE CAR TO TO HYUNDAI, THEY CHECKED ALIGNMENT AND SAID THERE IS NOTHING WRONG AND THE PROBLEM MUST BE THE TIRES. AFTER DOING SOME RESEARCH, I LEARNED THESE CARS HAVE A SOLID , NON-ADJUSTABLE REAR END WITH A FIXED TOE-IN AND CAMBER. I AM CERTAIN THAT BOTH PROBLEMS I LISTED ARE CAUSED BY HYUNDAI'S REAR END DESIGN. THIS IS A MAJOR PROBLEM AND HYUNDAI REFUSES TO ACKNOWLEDGE IT. IT IS A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE ACCIDENTS WITH LOSS OF LIFE WILL OCCUR. WHAT AM I SUPPOSE TO DO THIS COMING WINTER? .A NEIGHBOR WITH A 2013 ELANTRA COMPLAINED ABOUT THE SAME INSTABILITY.

View Details

WHEELS

7/27/2016 - HARVARD, IL
I PURCHASED THIS CAR NEW FROM A HYUNDAI DEALER IN MARCH 2012 PROBLEM 1. SINCE EARLY ON, THE CAR ALWAYS EXHIBITED A SERIOUS INSTABILITY IN THE REAR END. SPECIFICALLY SPEAKING, WHEN DRIVING ON ANY SMALL BUMP FOUND ON ANY NORMAL ROAD, THE CAR REAR SUSPENSION WILL NOT ABSORBE THE BUMP LIKE ANY NORMAL CAR WOULD BUT INSTEAD SEVERELY JUMPS AND THEN 'DARTS OR SHIFTS' LATERALLY. EVEN IN DRY PAVEMENT. HAVING LIVED IN THE NE AND ILLINOIS NOW, I AM A VERY EXPERIENCED DRIVING IN SNOWY CONDITIONS. DRIVING THIS CAR IN EVEN 1/2" OF SNOW IS DOWNRIGHT TERRIFYING. THERE IS ABSOLUTELY NO REAR END CONTROL AND TOTAL INSTABILITY NO MATTER HOW CAREFUL YOU DRIVE. I HAVE FOUND MYSELF NOT KNOWING IF I WAS GOING TO MAKE HOME WITHOUT GETTING INTO AN ACCIDENT. THE PAST TWO WINTERS I HAD TO USE OTHER VEHICLE EVEN IF THE WEATHER FORECAST CALL FOR SNOWN FLURRIES. I HAVE NEVER DRIVEN A CAR SO UNSTABLE IN MY 45 YEARS OF DRIVING. BY THE WAY, LOADING UP THE CAR WITH PASSENGERS OR ADDITIONAL WEIGHT HAS ZERO IMPACT REDUCING THE SEVERITY OF THE PROBLEM. PROBLEM 2 THE REAR TIRES WEAR OUT VERY FAST. EVEN THOUGH I ROTATE THEM EVEN 5K MILES, THEY WEAR SO BADLY THAT THEY PRODUCE A LOUD ROAD NOISE FROM UNEVEN WEAR. I AM ON MY THIRD SET OF TIRES AND THESE NEED REPLACEMENT NOW. I HAVE TAKEN THE CAR TO TO HYUNDAI, THEY CHECKED ALIGNMENT AND SAID THERE IS NOTHING WRONG AND THE PROBLEM MUST BE THE TIRES. AFTER DOING SOME RESEARCH, I LEARNED THESE CARS HAVE A SOLID , NON-ADJUSTABLE REAR END WITH A FIXED TOE-IN AND CAMBER. I AM CERTAIN THAT BOTH PROBLEMS I LISTED ARE CAUSED BY HYUNDAI'S REAR END DESIGN. THIS IS A MAJOR PROBLEM AND HYUNDAI REFUSES TO ACKNOWLEDGE IT. IT IS A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE ACCIDENTS WITH LOSS OF LIFE WILL OCCUR. WHAT AM I SUPPOSE TO DO THIS COMING WINTER? .A NEIGHBOR WITH A 2013 ELANTRA COMPLAINED ABOUT THE SAME INSTABILITY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/25/2016 - NEW BRIGHTON, MN
INTERMITTENTLY, MY CAR DOES NOT START. I TURN THE KEY AND NOTHING HAPPENS. I TRY IT AGAIN. NOTHING. I TRY IT AGAIN AND IT STARTS. IT HAPPENED WHEN THE CAR WAS SITTING OVERNIGHT IN MY GARAGE. IT HAPPENED AFTER I WAS IN A STORE FOR ABOUT 45 MINUTES. IT HAPPENED AFTER I WAS IN ANOTHER LOCATION FOR 2 HOURS. I BROUGHT IT TO THE DEALER ABOUT A YEAR AGO WHEN IT HAPPENED AND THEY SAID NOTHING WAS WRONG BECAUSE IT DIDN'T DO IT FOR THEM. (OF COURSE, IT DIDN'T!) THEN, AFTER ANOTHER COUPLE OF TIMES OF IT HAPPENING AGAIN, I RESEARCHED AND FOUND IT WAS PROBABLY SOME KIND OF SWITCH. I TOLD THAT TO THE DEALER AND THEY REPLACED SOMETHING WHICH SEEMED TO FIX THE PROBLEM. NOW, ALL OF A SUDDEN, IT'S HAPPENING AGAIN. I AM AFRAID TO DRIVE THIS CAR FOR FEAR I WILL BE STRANDED SOMEWHERE UNSAFE ONE DAY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/10/2016 - PHOENIX, AZ
PROBLEM : ESC LIGHT FLASHES WHILE DRIVING, SOME TIME MAKES RUMBLING NOISE , POWER LOSS, FEEL LIKE CAR IN NEUTRAL, STEERING FELT LOCK, SUDDEN BREAK AND CREATES UNSAFE CONDITION. NOT ALL SYMPTOMS COME UP SAME TIME BUT ONE OF THEM WHILE LIGHT FLASHING. DETAILS : 1. FIRST TIME HAPPENED IN JUNE/JULY 2015 CONTACTED DEALER. SINCE DEALER CANNOT REPLICATE THEY DID TEST DRIVE AND FELT EVERYTHING NORMAL. I DROVE 1 YEAR SCARRED BUT ISSUE DIDN'T OCCURRED 2. FEW WEEKS AGO THIS PROBLEM RESURFACED DEALER REPEATED SAME STORY BUT WANTED TO DRIVE WITH ME WHICH IS PENDING. WHILE NORMAL DRIVING IT HAPPENED AND THIS TIME IT WAS RECORDED ON MY CELLPHONE TO SHOW AS PROOF BECAUSE IN TEST DRIVE IT MAY OR MAY NOT HAPPEN. I FEEL COMPANY AND DEALER NOT WORKING CLOSELY AND SOMEONE CAN CAUSE SERIOUS ISSUE OF SAFETY. I REQUEST TO LOOK INTO THIS REACHING OUT TO COMPANY AND ADDRESS THIS ISSUE. I CANNOT UPLOAD VIDEO LET ME KNOW IF YOU NEED. JUST LOADING A PICTURE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 31
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds