Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI ELANTRA - 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 318 complaints filed for the 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (44) Exterior Lighting (9) Seats (1) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Electrical System (87) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Service Brakes (19) Suspension (29) Visibility (6)
Electronic Stability Control (30) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (14) Visibility Wiper (6)
Engine (65) Power Train (32) Steering (35) Unknown Or Other (35) Wheels (10)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 45
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

5/18/2018 - LAWRENCEVILLE, GA
EARLY SUNDAY MORNING, ON MARCH 23, 2013, JUST THREE DAYS BEFORE I AM TO HAVE AN ANTERIOR CERVICAL DISCECTOMY AND FUSION (WHICH IS THE RESULT OF A PREVIOUS AUTO ACCIDENT) A DRUNK DRIVER RUNS A RED LIGHT. T-BONING OUR 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. THE IMPACT CAUSES THE 2012 ELANTRA TO SPIN THROUGH THE INTERSECTION, COMING TO REST IN ITS ORIGINAL DIRECTION ON THE LEFT SIDE OF THE STREET, JUST A FEW FEET SHY OF A LARGE TREE. NO AIRBAGS DEPLOYED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/18/2018 - LAWRENCEVILLE, GA
IN JUNE 2012 A TRUCK MAKING A LEFT TURN INTO ONCOMING TRAFFIC IS T-BONED BY ME IN A 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. THE TRUCK WAS HIT SO HARD IT ROCKED OVER ONTO ITS DRIVER SIDE WHEELS BEFORE COMING TO REST ON ALL FOUR. I LEARNED LATER THE IMPACT BROKE THE REAR AXLE. THAT SAID, MY FRONT AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/17/2018 - NORTH BETHESDA, MD
I HAVE HAD A FEW INCIDENTS WHERE MY CAR SUDDEN ACCELERATES WHEN I AM NOT PRESSING THE ACCELERATOR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/14/2018 - BALTIMORE, MD
THE VEHICLE HAS CONSTANT INTERMITTENT START UP ISSUES WHERE YOU GET A CLICK WHEN TRYING TO START THE CAR. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS BECAUSE OF WHAT IF THE CAR RANDOMLY CUTS OUT WHILE DRIVING? THE FACT THAT THEY CHANTED THE BATTERY SIZE HAS CREATED CONCERNS OF POTENTIAL FIRES WITH THE VEHICLE AS THE FAULTY WIRING MIXED WITH A BATTERY SIZE THAT JUST A YEAR LATER HYUNDAI CHANGED COULD LEAD TO A SIGNIFICANT ISSUE. THERE ARE THOUSANDS OF COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS ISSUE AND THE FACT HYUNDAI IS CHARGING PEOPLE HUNDREDS OF DOLLARS FOR "FIXES" THAT WITHIN HOURS OF COMPLETION ARE RENDERED WORTHLESS IS UNACCEPTABLE. THIS ISSUE IS WIDELY SEEN ONLINE FOR THIS YEAR MODEL BUT HYUNDAI REFUSES TO ACKNOWLEDGE. EVEN SPOKE TO A PARTS MANAGER FROM HYUNDAI AND THEY ACKNOWLEDGED THE ISSUE WITH THIS MODEL IN PARTICULAR AS IT WAS THE FIRST OF THE NEW BODY STYLE AND THAT BY THE 2013 MODEL THEY HAD MADE CHANGES TO THE BATTERY SIZE AND CONNECTORS WHICH CORRECTED THE ISSUE FOR FUTURE MODELS.

View Details

ENGINE

5/14/2018 - VANCOUVER, WA
MY ENGINE HAS VERY LOUD TICKING SOUNDS. AS WELL WHEN I GO TO SHIFT MY CAR BACK INTO PARK THE ENGINE REVS ERRATICALLY. WHILE SITTING IDLING IT GOES LOWER AND HIGHER.

View Details

ENGINE

4/26/2018 - TWINSBURG, OH
I AM THE SECOND OWNER OF THE 2012 ELANTRA WITH 85200 MILES. I HAVE HAD IT FOR 1 1/2 YEARS AND NOW MY SON OWNS IT (AS OF AUG 2017, MAKING HIM THE THIRD OWNER. HE LIVES WITH ME). THE OIL HAS BEEN CHANGED AS REQUIRED. THE TICKING SOUND THE ENGINE MADE SINCE WE GOT THE CAR HAS BEEN STEADILY INCREASING IN SOUND, AND OF RECENT, IT IS THE WORST IT HAS BEEN. I SELL CARS FULL TIME (OUR DEALERSHIP OWNS 2 HYUNDAI STORES), AND I ALSO OWN ANOTHER 2013 ELANTRA THAT I DRIVE PRESENTLY. OUR SERVICE DEPT TOOK APART THE ENGINE (ON THE 2012) TO FIND METAL SHAVINGS WHICH LED TO THE DIAGNOSIS THAT I NEED A NEW ENGINE. MY SON IS 2000 MILES OUT OF HIS EXTENDED WARRANTY, AND HYUNDAI, NOR THE WARRANTY COMPANY IS EAGER TO FIX IT. I WAS TOLD BY OUR SERVICE DEPT THAT IN THE LAST MONTH AND A HALF, 5 ELANTRAS CAME IN WITH THE SAME PROBLEM NEEDING NEW ENGINES AND HYUNDAI WOULDN'T REPLACE. HYUNDAI STATES THEY ARE NOT GOING TO DO A RECALL, EVEN THOUGH THIS IS BECOMING A BIGGER AND BIGGER UNIVERSAL PROBLEM WITH ELANTRA OWNERS. THE TICKING IS LOUDEST WHEN RUNNING COLD, AND/OR IN COLD WEATHER. (CAR IS IN OHIO). METAL SHAVINGS FROM THE ENGINE FOUND IN THE OIL IS NOT A 'NORMAL' ISSUE. I AM SEEKING RECOURSE WITH HYUNDAI TO FIX/REPLACE MY ENGINE. THE DATE STATED ON THIS FORM AS TO "WHEN DID THIS HAPPEN" IS WHEN I TOOK IT TO MY DEALERSHIP AT WORK TO HAVE IT LOOKED AT. THE TICKING HAS BEEN ONGOING SINCE I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE, BUT NEVER AS LOUD AS IT HAS BECOME. MY SON HAS HAD THE CAR AT COLLEGE, BUT I KEEP TRACK OF IT NEEDING OIL CHANGES AND HAVE DOCUMENTATION.

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/25/2018 - ANN ARBOR, MI
I WAS DRIVING THROUGH A STORE PARKING LOT AND WENT OVER A SPEED BUMP. MY FRONT SUSPENSION COLLAPSED. LUCKILY I WAS CLOSE TO A CAR REPAIR PLACE AND WAS ABLE TO GET IT THERE THROUGH BURNING RUBBER AND INCREDIBLY LOUD NOISE. I BOUGHT THE TIRES A MONTH PRIOR. WHOLE FRONT SUSPENSION WAS REPLACED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/23/2018 - DRACUT, MA
RADIO HAS STOPPED WORKING

View Details

SEATS

4/21/2018 - PATERSON, NJ
I BOUGHT USED CAR WITH AIR BAG LIGHTS ON. NO ACCIDENT ON THE CAR AND AIR BAG LIGHT IS ON. I CHECKED WITTH MY LOCAL MECHANIC AND HE CHECKED AND TOLD ME SENSOR ON PASSENGER FRONT SEAT IS BAD AND NEED TO REPLACE SEAT

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/21/2018 - PATERSON, NJ
I BOUGHT USED CAR WITH AIR BAG LIGHTS ON. NO ACCIDENT ON THE CAR AND AIR BAG LIGHT IS ON. I CHECKED WITTH MY LOCAL MECHANIC AND HE CHECKED AND TOLD ME SENSOR ON PASSENGER FRONT SEAT IS BAD AND NEED TO REPLACE SEAT

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 45
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds