Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI ELANTRA - 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 275 complaints filed for the 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (34) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Power Train (31) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (81) Exterior Lighting (8) Service Brakes (17) Suspension (24) Visibility (6)
Electronic Stability Control (29) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (14) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (49) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Steering (28) Unknown Or Other (31) Wheels (9)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 39
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/21/2017 - OCEANSIDE, CA
INTERMITTENT...CAR IS STATIONARY AND I ATTEMPT TO START CAR WITH PUSH START AND THE ENGINE WILL CRANK FOR APPROX 3 SECOND AND THEN START. I TURN CAR OFF AND HEAR A TICK TICK TICK FROM ENGINE. RESTARTS WITH NO HESITATION. THIS IS USUALLY AFTER A DRIVE AROUND TOWN AND THEN I COME HOME AND MAYBE ABOUT 6 HOURS LATER I'LL GO BACK INTO MY CAR AND IT WILL SPUTTER AGAIN. NO SOLUTION AS OF YET.

View Details

SUSPENSION

6/12/2017 - FISKDALE, MA
MY HUSBAND BACKED THE CAR UP 3 INCHES IN OUR DRIVEWAY AND THE FRONT COIL SPRING BROKE, SHOT THROUGH THE TIRE AND THE TIRE EXPLODED. WE BOUGHT OUR 2012 ELANTRA IN OCTOBER 2011 AND APPARENTLY THERE WAS A RECALL OF THE 2011 ELANTRAS FOR THIS EXACT ISSUE FOR CARS THAT ARE OWNED IN THE "SALT BELT" / COLD WEATHER STATES WHICH IS WHERE WE LIVE, BUT THE RECALL WAS ONLY ISSUED FOR ELANTRAS MANUFACTURED BETWEEN 11/12/10 TO 3/31/11. MINE IS A 2012 WHICH WAS PURCHASED IN OCTOBER 2011AND MANUFACTURED SOMETIME BETWEEN MARCH 2011 AND OCTOBER 2011. I HIGHLY DOUBT THAT HYUNDAI, WHICH APPARENTLY DIDN'T KNOW ABOUT THE ISSUE UNTIL AN INCREASE IN WARRANTY CLAIMS ON THE ISSUE STARTED AN INVESTIGATION OF IT IN 2014, CHANGED THE FRONT COIL SPRINGS THEY WERE USING TO MANUFACTURE THE SAME CAR JUST 1 "YEAR" NEWER BETWEEN THE END OF THE RECALLED VEHICLE DATE AND THE MANUFACTURE DATE OF MY 2012 ELANTRA. I NOW HAVE TO REPLACE BOTH, RELATIVELY NEW TIRES, AND FRONT STRUTS AND SPRINGS. I BELIEVE THE RECALL SHOULD INCLUDE MORE VEHICLE YEARS SINCE THERE WOULD HAVE BEEN NO REASON FOR THEM TO CHANGE THE PARTS THEY WERE USING BETWEEN 2011 AND 2012 MODELS IF THEY WERE UNAWARE OF A PROBLEM. ALSO, A 2012 ELANTRA THAT WAS POSSIBLE MANUFACTURED IN THE RECALL TIME FRAME SHOULD ALSO BE INCLUDED IN THE RECALL.

View Details

ENGINE

6/12/2017 - THOUSAND PALMS, CA
MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON @ 25900 MILES & MANUAL STATES BRING INTO DEALER RIGHT AWAY, THIS WAS ALSO CONFIRMED WITH A CALL TO THE DEALER.. WORK ORDER STATES"TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN" STATES TECHNICIAN UPDATED ELECTRICAL CONTROL UNIT, & CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WENT OFF. MY CONCERN WHY IS THIS NOT A RECALL ITEM. SINCE THERE IS A SERVICE BULLETIN PUT OUR IN THIS ISSUE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/4/2017 - BOCA RATON, FL
IN MY ELANTRA 2012 THE LIGHT OF THE AIRBAG IS ON, THE VEHICLE HAS NOT SUFFERED ACCIDENTS OR STRONG BLOWS, AND HAS FOLLOWED THE MAINTENANCE RECOMMENDED BY THE MANUFACTURER (FOLLOWING THE MANUAL), (95K MILES). THE DEALER SAYS THAT THE AIRBAG LIGHT MAY COME ON BECAUSE SOME OF THE SENSORS ARE DAMAGED; THE COST OF THE REPAIR CAN RANGE FROM $ 250 UP TO $ 3000. WITH THIS LIGHT ON, THE AIRBAGS WILL NOT DEPLOY. HYUNDAI HAS A GOOD REPUTATION, AND SAFETY SHOULD BE INCLUDED IN THE WARRANTY, ESPECIALLY SINCE THE VAST MAJORITY OF ELANTRA OWNERS COMPLAIN ABOUT THE SAME PROBLEM. (GOOGLING). THE SOLUTION SHOULD BE INCLUDED AS A RECALL.

View Details

STEERING

5/30/2017 - FLEMING ISLAND, FL
CLICKING NOISE WHEN MOVING STEERING WHEEL IN EITHER DIRECTION. BOTH STOPPED AND WHILE DRIVING. NO RECALL YET BUT WITH THE NUMBER OF SIMILAR COMPLAINTS ONLINE, IT SHOULD BE. REPAIR ESTIMATE 425.00.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/29/2017 - ORLANDO, FL
THE CLOCK SPRING HAS WORN AFTER ROUGHLY 55K MILES AND JUST BEING OUT OF WARRANTY. DEALER REPLACEMENT IS $300 AND AIRBAGS WILL NOT DEPLOY WITHOUT REPAIR. THIS BEGAN AFTER GOING OVER ROUGH BRICK PAVERS AND THE LIGHT IS INTERMITTENTLY ON, PROBABLY ABOUT 80-90% OF THE TIME. AS I UNDERSTAND IT THE VERACRUZ AND SANTA FE MODELS HAD A SIMILAR ISSUE A FEW YEAR PRIOR (11-01-052) AND ONLINE SEARCHES SHOW THIS IS A COMMON ISSUE WITH (AT LEAST) EARLY PRODUCTION ELANTAS. WHILE OWNER DIY REPLACEMENT IS POSSIBLE, IT IS NOT RECOMMENDED DUE TO SRS SYSTEM IMPORTANCE AS WELL AS LACK OF ABILITY TO RECALIBRATE SOFTWARE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/29/2017 - ORLANDO, FL
THE CLOCK SPRING HAS WORN AFTER ROUGHLY 55K MILES AND JUST BEING OUT OF WARRANTY. DEALER REPLACEMENT IS $300 AND AIRBAGS WILL NOT DEPLOY WITHOUT REPAIR. THIS BEGAN AFTER GOING OVER ROUGH BRICK PAVERS AND THE LIGHT IS INTERMITTENTLY ON, PROBABLY ABOUT 80-90% OF THE TIME. AS I UNDERSTAND IT THE VERACRUZ AND SANTA FE MODELS HAD A SIMILAR ISSUE A FEW YEAR PRIOR (11-01-052) AND ONLINE SEARCHES SHOW THIS IS A COMMON ISSUE WITH (AT LEAST) EARLY PRODUCTION ELANTAS. WHILE OWNER DIY REPLACEMENT IS POSSIBLE, IT IS NOT RECOMMENDED DUE TO SRS SYSTEM IMPORTANCE AS WELL AS LACK OF ABILITY TO RECALIBRATE SOFTWARE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/24/2017 - WYLIE, TX
THE AIRBAG LIGHT IS ON. CLAY COOLEY HYUNDAI DEALER IN ROCKWALL, TEXAS DIAGNOSIS WAS THE CLOCK SPRING NEEDING REPLACEMENT. HYUNDAI TOLD ME "NO DEALER IN THE COUNTRY HAS THIS PART RIGHT NOW BECAUSE OF A DEFECT IN THE PART. THE MANUFACTURER MUST MAKE NEW PARTS THAT WILL NOT BE AVAILABLE UNTIL JUNE 2017." I WAS SENT AWAY AND TOLD THEY WOULD CALL ME WHEN PARTS ARE AVAILABLE. MEANWHILE, MY AIRBAGS ARE DEACTIVATED AND MAY NOT DEPLOY IN A CRASH

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

5/15/2017 - AUSTELL, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH AND DEPRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL, THE EXTERIOR BRAKE LIGHTS FAILED TO ILLUMINATE. THE CONTACT DROVE THE VEHICLE TO AN AUTO PART STORE, BUT THE EMPLOYEE COULD NOT DETERMINE WHAT FUSE THE VEHICLE NEEDED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V871000 (ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 114,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: BRAKE LIGHTS

5/15/2017 - AUSTELL, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH AND DEPRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL, THE EXTERIOR BRAKE LIGHTS FAILED TO ILLUMINATE. THE CONTACT DROVE THE VEHICLE TO AN AUTO PART STORE, BUT THE EMPLOYEE COULD NOT DETERMINE WHAT FUSE THE VEHICLE NEEDED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V871000 (ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 114,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 39
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds