Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI ELANTRA - 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 259 complaints filed for the 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (30) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Power Train (31) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (79) Exterior Lighting (6) Service Brakes (17) Suspension (23) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (27) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (14) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (44) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Steering (25) Unknown Or Other (31) Wheels (9)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 37
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/15/2017 - RICHMOND, CA
I HAD MY CAR FOR A YEAR AND 3MONTHS AND HAVEN'T HAD THIS PROBLEM TILL NOW I WAS DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY I HIT A SMALL BUMP AND I'VE HIT BIGGER BUMPS AND NEVER EVER HAVE MY AIR BAG LIGHT COME ON, OR BREAK LIGHT MAY GO OUT IF I HIT A BUMP THIS NEEDS TO BE FIXED ASAP AND IT SHOULDN'T BE A FEE THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE AND I'M NOT HAPPY ABOUT IT PLEASE FIX THIS ISSUE

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/15/2017 - RICHMOND, CA
I HAD MY CAR FOR A YEAR AND 3MONTHS AND HAVEN'T HAD THIS PROBLEM TILL NOW I WAS DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY I HIT A SMALL BUMP AND I'VE HIT BIGGER BUMPS AND NEVER EVER HAVE MY AIR BAG LIGHT COME ON, OR BREAK LIGHT MAY GO OUT IF I HIT A BUMP THIS NEEDS TO BE FIXED ASAP AND IT SHOULDN'T BE A FEE THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE AND I'M NOT HAPPY ABOUT IT PLEASE FIX THIS ISSUE

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/23/2017 - STRATFORD, CT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE SHUT OFF. ALSO, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT SHIFT GEARS CORRECTLY AND THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO PARK THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 78,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/23/2017 - STRATFORD, CT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE SHUT OFF. ALSO, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT SHIFT GEARS CORRECTLY AND THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO PARK THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 78,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/21/2017 - MANCHESTER, CT
OCCASIONALLY WHILE TRAVELING ON THE HIGHWAY - ANY SPEED FROM 50-70 MPH - THE ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL LIGHT WILL FLASH, EVEN THOUGH THERE ARE NO ADVERSE CONDITIONS. WHILE THE LIGHT IS FLASHING, I CAN FEEL THAT MY LEFT REAR BRAKE IS APPLIED, CAUSING ME TO HAVE TO CORRECT THE COURSE OF THE CAR. I DO NOT FEEL SAFE IN THIS CAR ANYMORE. THIS DID NOT START HAPPENING UNTIL AFTER I RECEIVED THE RECALL SERVICE ASSOCIATED WITH CAMPAIGN 137 FOR THE THE YAW SENSOR (WHICH DESCRIBES THE EXACT SCENARIO I AM EXPERIENCING NOW). THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR ABOUT 6 MONTHS SO FAR (DATE NOTED BELOW IS MOST RECENT INSTANCE). IN THAT TIME PERIOD I HAVE HAD TO HAVE MY REAR ROTORS REPLACED, AND THE BRAKE PADS REPLACED TWICE. THE SECOND TIME I REPLACED THE BRAKE PADS, THEY HAD HEATED UP SO MUCH FROM DRAGGING THAT THEY HAD FUSED ONTO THE ROTOR, AND THE CALIPER WAS BROKEN.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

2/21/2017 - MANCHESTER, CT
OCCASIONALLY WHILE TRAVELING ON THE HIGHWAY - ANY SPEED FROM 50-70 MPH - THE ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL LIGHT WILL FLASH, EVEN THOUGH THERE ARE NO ADVERSE CONDITIONS. WHILE THE LIGHT IS FLASHING, I CAN FEEL THAT MY LEFT REAR BRAKE IS APPLIED, CAUSING ME TO HAVE TO CORRECT THE COURSE OF THE CAR. I DO NOT FEEL SAFE IN THIS CAR ANYMORE. THIS DID NOT START HAPPENING UNTIL AFTER I RECEIVED THE RECALL SERVICE ASSOCIATED WITH CAMPAIGN 137 FOR THE THE YAW SENSOR (WHICH DESCRIBES THE EXACT SCENARIO I AM EXPERIENCING NOW). THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR ABOUT 6 MONTHS SO FAR (DATE NOTED BELOW IS MOST RECENT INSTANCE). IN THAT TIME PERIOD I HAVE HAD TO HAVE MY REAR ROTORS REPLACED, AND THE BRAKE PADS REPLACED TWICE. THE SECOND TIME I REPLACED THE BRAKE PADS, THEY HAD HEATED UP SO MUCH FROM DRAGGING THAT THEY HAD FUSED ONTO THE ROTOR, AND THE CALIPER WAS BROKEN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/18/2017 - CARROLLTON, TX
CAR WON'T START INTERMITTENTLY. HAD BATTERY AND ALTERNATOR CHECKED. LIGHTS GO ON,RADIO WORKS BUT CAR WON'T START. CAR IS USUALLY PARKED IN A PARKING LOT OR DRIVEWAY. WEATHER IS NICE NOT TOO HOT OR TOO COLD.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/18/2017 - CARROLLTON, TX
CAR WON'T START INTERMITTENTLY. HAD BATTERY AND ALTERNATOR CHECKED. LIGHTS GO ON,RADIO WORKS BUT CAR WON'T START. CAR IS USUALLY PARKED IN A PARKING LOT OR DRIVEWAY. WEATHER IS NICE NOT TOO HOT OR TOO COLD.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/24/2017 - HOUSTON, TX
AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT IS ON AND STAYS ON. I WENT TO THE DEALER AND THEY SAID THE CLOCKSPRING NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. THIS SHOULD BE RECALLED. THERE ARE OTHER VEHICLES AFFECTED, NOT JUST MINE. MY FRIEND WITH A 2011 SONATA HAS THE SAME PROBLEM. I DON'T KNOW WHY THEY WON'T DO A RECALL...

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/20/2017 - LAS VEGAS, NV
ALL OF THE ISSUES I AM HAVING APPEAR TO BE INVOLVED WITH THE COMPONENTS OF/ELECTRICAL CONNECTIONS TO MY STEERING WHEEL. THE RED AIRBAG "ERROR" LIGHT CAME ON (INTERMITTENTLY AT FIRST) ABOUT 6 MONTHS AGO WHEN THE VEHICLE HAD APPROX 64K MILES ON IT. OVER THE NEXT FEW MONTHS, THE HORN HAS STOPPED WORKING (ANOTHER POTENTIALLY LARGE SAFETY ISSUE), AND THE BUTTONS THAT CONTROL THE UPWARD VOLUME AND RADIO STATION BROWSING HAVE BEEN WAVERING BETWEEN WORKING SOMETIMES AND NOT WORKING AT ALL. I DID SOME RESEARCH ABOUT THE AIRBAG AND HORN PROBLEMS, AND THERE WERE MANY STORIES FROM OTHER OWNERS OF HYUNDAI ELANTRAS OF VARIOUS YEARS WITH THE SAME ISSUES. IN ADDITION, THEIR EXPERIENCES WITH DEALERS SOUNDED VERY MUCH LIKE MINE IN THAT THEY (THE DEALER(S)) WANT TO CHARGE A SUM OF MONEY TO FIRST INSPECT THE VEHICLE AND THEN CHARGE FOR THE REPAIR(S). BECAUSE THE AIRBAG AND HORN PROBLEMS ARE POTENTIALLY VERY DANGEROUS, I FELT THE NEED TO REPORT THESE CONCERNS. I AM ATTACHING A PICTURE THAT I TOOK WITH MY CELL PHONE ON 8/17/16 FOR REFERENCE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 37
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds