Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI ELANTRA - 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 279 complaints filed for the 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (35) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Power Train (31) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (11)
Electrical System (83) Exterior Lighting (8) Service Brakes (17) Suspension (24) Visibility (6)
Electronic Stability Control (29) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (14) Visibility Wiper (6)
Engine (51) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Steering (28) Unknown Or Other (31) Wheels (9)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 40
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

7/25/2017 - VAN BUREN, AR
AIRBAG LIGHT AND TIRE PRESSURE LIGHT CAME ON WHEN I TURNED ON MY CAR. IT DOES GO OFF AFTER DRIVING A FEW MINUTES, BUT ALWAYS COMES BACK ON

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/25/2017 - VAN BUREN, AR
AIRBAG LIGHT AND TIRE PRESSURE LIGHT CAME ON WHEN I TURNED ON MY CAR. IT DOES GO OFF AFTER DRIVING A FEW MINUTES, BUT ALWAYS COMES BACK ON

View Details

ENGINE

7/13/2017 - INGLEWOOD, CA
THE FIRST TROUBLE STARTED WHEN I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT 60 MILES/HOUR, MY CAR STARTED SLOWING DOWN AND WOULD NOT ACCELERATE. I HAD TO DRIVE AT THE SPEED THE CAR WOULD CHOOSE TO RUN AND IN A FEW MINUTES IT WOULD WORK FINE AGAIN. BUT THIS KEPT HAPPENING WHEN I WOULD ACCELERATE THE CAR ON HIGHWAYS AND I TOOK IT IN TO THE DEALER WHO SAID IT WAS SENSOR PROBLEMS. ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON WHEN I USE AIR CONDITIONING, OR USE THE HEAD LIGHTS. CAR WILL RANDOMLY NOT TURN ON ALTHOUGH BATTERY IS NEW AND MAKES A HUMMING NOISE AS I TURN THE KEY.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/13/2017 - INGLEWOOD, CA
THE FIRST TROUBLE STARTED WHEN I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT 60 MILES/HOUR, MY CAR STARTED SLOWING DOWN AND WOULD NOT ACCELERATE. I HAD TO DRIVE AT THE SPEED THE CAR WOULD CHOOSE TO RUN AND IN A FEW MINUTES IT WOULD WORK FINE AGAIN. BUT THIS KEPT HAPPENING WHEN I WOULD ACCELERATE THE CAR ON HIGHWAYS AND I TOOK IT IN TO THE DEALER WHO SAID IT WAS SENSOR PROBLEMS. ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON WHEN I USE AIR CONDITIONING, OR USE THE HEAD LIGHTS. CAR WILL RANDOMLY NOT TURN ON ALTHOUGH BATTERY IS NEW AND MAKES A HUMMING NOISE AS I TURN THE KEY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/13/2017 - INGLEWOOD, CA
THE FIRST TROUBLE STARTED WHEN I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT 60 MILES/HOUR, MY CAR STARTED SLOWING DOWN AND WOULD NOT ACCELERATE. I HAD TO DRIVE AT THE SPEED THE CAR WOULD CHOOSE TO RUN AND IN A FEW MINUTES IT WOULD WORK FINE AGAIN. BUT THIS KEPT HAPPENING WHEN I WOULD ACCELERATE THE CAR ON HIGHWAYS AND I TOOK IT IN TO THE DEALER WHO SAID IT WAS SENSOR PROBLEMS. ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON WHEN I USE AIR CONDITIONING, OR USE THE HEAD LIGHTS. CAR WILL RANDOMLY NOT TURN ON ALTHOUGH BATTERY IS NEW AND MAKES A HUMMING NOISE AS I TURN THE KEY.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

7/7/2017 - MURFREESBORO, TN
THE SUN VISOR BROKE WHILE ATTEMPTING TO LOWER IT INTO POSITION WHILE DRIVING. THE PLASTIC PARTS THAT SURROUND THE ARM INSIDE OF THE VISOR BROKE. THE SOUND AND MOVEMENT OF THE BROKEN VISOR CAUSED ME A MOMENT OF STARTLED, DISTRACTED DRIVING UNTIL I COULD PULL OVER AND TRY TO DEAL WITH IT. THE VISOR WILL NOT STAY UP OR DOWN. IT HANGS IN MY LINE OF VISION AND CREATES A DRIVING HAZARD. IT ALSO HANGS TOO CLOSE TO MY HEAD AND CREATES A PHYSICAL HAZARD. I BUMPED MY HEAD ON IT YESTERDAY WHILE AT THE DRIVE-THROUGH PHARMACY. THE OWNER'S MANUAL STATES THAT A WARNING (WITH AN EXCLAMATION POINT INSIDE A TRIANGLE IN A YELLOW BOX) INDICATES THAT A CONDITION MAY RESULT IN HARM, SERIOUS BODILY INJURY OR DEATH IF THE WARNING IS IGNORED. THERE IS A WARNING ON PAGE 4-94 OF THE OWNER'S MANUAL THAT STATES, "WARNING FOR YOUR SAFETY, DO NOT OBSTRUCT YOUR VISION WHEN USING THE SUNVISOR." HYUNDAI KNOWS THAT OBSTRUCTING ONE'S VISION WITH THE SUNVISOR MAY RESULT IN HARM, SERIOUS BODILY INJURY OR DEATH. HYUNDAI KNOWS THAT THIS IS A RECURRING PROBLEM WITH THIS VEHICLE AND SEVERAL OTHER VEHICLES, AS THEY HAVE ISSUED TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETINS IN THE PAST (08-01-029, HYUNDAI RECALL CAMPAIGN T64) FOR THE SAME ISSUE. HYUNDAI KNOWS THAT THIS CONTINUES TO BE A PROBLEM FOR SEVERAL ELANTRA, SANTA FE, ACCENT, SONATA, AND OTHER OWNERS. A SIMPLE WEB SEARCH WILL SHOW SEVERAL RESULTS: HTTP://WWW.HYUNDAI-FORUMS.COM/MD-2011-2016-ELANTRA-SEDAN-COUPE/130049-BROKEN-SUN-VISOR.HTML HTTP://WWW.CARSAFETYREFERENCE.COM/HYUNDAI-SONATA-2007/VISIBILITY_WIPER/ HTTP://WWW.HOWTOMENDIT.COM/ANSWERS.PHP?ID=157121 THE DEALERSHIP HAS INFORMED ME THAT THE REPLACEMENT SUNVISOR WILL COST OVER $100 WHICH DOES NOT INCLUDE LABOR CHARGES. THIS SEEMS TO BE A MANUFACTURING DEFECT AND SHOULD BE COVERED UNDER WARRANTY AND/OR EXTENDED WARRANTY.

View Details

ENGINE

7/3/2017 - LITTLE CANADA, MN
BROUGHT IT IN TO GET MY OIL CHANGED AND THEY TOLD ME I NEED A NEW ENGINE AS IT IS THE SAME PROBLEM THAT THE RECALLED HYUNDAI SONATA ENGINES HAVE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/21/2017 - OCEANSIDE, CA
INTERMITTENT...CAR IS STATIONARY AND I ATTEMPT TO START CAR WITH PUSH START AND THE ENGINE WILL CRANK FOR APPROX 3 SECOND AND THEN START. I TURN CAR OFF AND HEAR A TICK TICK TICK FROM ENGINE. RESTARTS WITH NO HESITATION. THIS IS USUALLY AFTER A DRIVE AROUND TOWN AND THEN I COME HOME AND MAYBE ABOUT 6 HOURS LATER I'LL GO BACK INTO MY CAR AND IT WILL SPUTTER AGAIN. NO SOLUTION AS OF YET.

View Details

SUSPENSION

6/12/2017 - FISKDALE, MA
MY HUSBAND BACKED THE CAR UP 3 INCHES IN OUR DRIVEWAY AND THE FRONT COIL SPRING BROKE, SHOT THROUGH THE TIRE AND THE TIRE EXPLODED. WE BOUGHT OUR 2012 ELANTRA IN OCTOBER 2011 AND APPARENTLY THERE WAS A RECALL OF THE 2011 ELANTRAS FOR THIS EXACT ISSUE FOR CARS THAT ARE OWNED IN THE "SALT BELT" / COLD WEATHER STATES WHICH IS WHERE WE LIVE, BUT THE RECALL WAS ONLY ISSUED FOR ELANTRAS MANUFACTURED BETWEEN 11/12/10 TO 3/31/11. MINE IS A 2012 WHICH WAS PURCHASED IN OCTOBER 2011AND MANUFACTURED SOMETIME BETWEEN MARCH 2011 AND OCTOBER 2011. I HIGHLY DOUBT THAT HYUNDAI, WHICH APPARENTLY DIDN'T KNOW ABOUT THE ISSUE UNTIL AN INCREASE IN WARRANTY CLAIMS ON THE ISSUE STARTED AN INVESTIGATION OF IT IN 2014, CHANGED THE FRONT COIL SPRINGS THEY WERE USING TO MANUFACTURE THE SAME CAR JUST 1 "YEAR" NEWER BETWEEN THE END OF THE RECALLED VEHICLE DATE AND THE MANUFACTURE DATE OF MY 2012 ELANTRA. I NOW HAVE TO REPLACE BOTH, RELATIVELY NEW TIRES, AND FRONT STRUTS AND SPRINGS. I BELIEVE THE RECALL SHOULD INCLUDE MORE VEHICLE YEARS SINCE THERE WOULD HAVE BEEN NO REASON FOR THEM TO CHANGE THE PARTS THEY WERE USING BETWEEN 2011 AND 2012 MODELS IF THEY WERE UNAWARE OF A PROBLEM. ALSO, A 2012 ELANTRA THAT WAS POSSIBLE MANUFACTURED IN THE RECALL TIME FRAME SHOULD ALSO BE INCLUDED IN THE RECALL.

View Details

ENGINE

6/12/2017 - THOUSAND PALMS, CA
MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON @ 25900 MILES & MANUAL STATES BRING INTO DEALER RIGHT AWAY, THIS WAS ALSO CONFIRMED WITH A CALL TO THE DEALER.. WORK ORDER STATES"TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN" STATES TECHNICIAN UPDATED ELECTRICAL CONTROL UNIT, & CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WENT OFF. MY CONCERN WHY IS THIS NOT A RECALL ITEM. SINCE THERE IS A SERVICE BULLETIN PUT OUR IN THIS ISSUE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 40
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds