Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI ELANTRA - 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 127 complaints filed for the 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Power Train (18) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (41) Exterior Lighting (3) Service Brakes (7) Suspension (8) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (13) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (28) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Steering (18) Unknown Or Other (23) Wheels (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY/WIPER

5/21/2015 - MURRIETA, CA
THE SUN VISOR ON THE PASSENGER SIDE IS BROKEN AND WILL NOT STAY UP BLOCKING VISIBILITY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/21/2015 - DALY CITY, CA
LEFT TAIL/BRAKE LIGHT IS MALFUNCTIONING. WHEN THE HEADLIGHTS ARE ON, THE TAIL LIGHT IS ON; HOWEVER, THAT SAME LIGHT IS ALSO THE BRAKE LIGHT, AND WHEN THE BRAKE IS APPLIED, THE LIGHT WILL NOT ILLUMINATE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/21/2015 - DALY CITY, CA
LEFT TAIL/BRAKE LIGHT IS MALFUNCTIONING. WHEN THE HEADLIGHTS ARE ON, THE TAIL LIGHT IS ON; HOWEVER, THAT SAME LIGHT IS ALSO THE BRAKE LIGHT, AND WHEN THE BRAKE IS APPLIED, THE LIGHT WILL NOT ILLUMINATE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

5/21/2015 - DALY CITY, CA
LEFT TAIL/BRAKE LIGHT IS MALFUNCTIONING. WHEN THE HEADLIGHTS ARE ON, THE TAIL LIGHT IS ON; HOWEVER, THAT SAME LIGHT IS ALSO THE BRAKE LIGHT, AND WHEN THE BRAKE IS APPLIED, THE LIGHT WILL NOT ILLUMINATE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/11/2015 - COCONUT CREEK, FL
PERIODICALLY MY CAR REFUSES TO START. THE BATTERY IS GOOD, ALL LIGHTS ON THE DASH ARE NORMAL, HEADLIGHTS WORK, RADIO WORKS, CAR IS IN PARKED POSITION, YET WHEN I TURN THE KEY IT REFUSES TO START. THIS IS THE SECOND SET OF OCCURRENCES OF THE SAME ISSUE. I EXPERIENCED THIS ISSUE LAST YEAR (2014), AT WHICH TIME I HAD TO TAKE THE CAR INTO SERVICE ON MORE THAN THREE OCCASIONS BEFORE THE FIGURED IT OUT. THEY EVENTUALLY SORTED OUT THE ISSUE IN NOVEMBER OF 2014. NOW 6 MONTHS AFTER, IN MAY 2015, THE SAME ISSUE OCCURS ONLY TO FIND OUT THAT HYUNDAI WILL ONLY WARRANTY THE PART BUT NOT THE LABOR COSTS. TODAY WHILE AT THE DEALERSHIP, THERE WAS AT LEAST ONE OTHER HYUNDAI ELANTRA OWNER WITH THE SAME ISSUE. I'D HATE THAT THE CAR REFUSE TO START IN AN EMERGENCY SITUATION THIS IS OBVIOUSLY SOMETHING THAT HYUNDAI IS AWARE OF, YET REFUSE TO TAKE FULL RESPONSIBILITY AND REMEDY THE SITUATION FOR MYSELF AND ALL OTHER CUSTOMERS. I BELIEVE THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL FOR THIS. I ALSO HAVE A SECOND ISSUE WITH THIS CAR, FROM THE DAY OF PURCHASE. THE CAR SHAKES AT SPEEDS BETWEEN 40MPH AND 55MPH. I HAVE TAKEN THE CAR IN ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS TO TWO DIFFERENT HYUNDAI DEALERSHIPS, YET THEY CANNOT FIGURE OUT THE ISSUE. THEY HAVE BALANCED THE TIRES, ALIGNED THE WHEELS, ROTATED THE TIRES, ETC, YET NONE OF THEIR ATTEMPTS HAVE RESULTED IN A SOLUTION. THIS ISSUE MAKE DRIVING THE CAR FEEL VERY UNSAFE, AND VERY UNPREDICTABLE IN WET CONDITIONS

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/11/2015 - COCONUT CREEK, FL
PERIODICALLY MY CAR REFUSES TO START. THE BATTERY IS GOOD, ALL LIGHTS ON THE DASH ARE NORMAL, HEADLIGHTS WORK, RADIO WORKS, CAR IS IN PARKED POSITION, YET WHEN I TURN THE KEY IT REFUSES TO START. THIS IS THE SECOND SET OF OCCURRENCES OF THE SAME ISSUE. I EXPERIENCED THIS ISSUE LAST YEAR (2014), AT WHICH TIME I HAD TO TAKE THE CAR INTO SERVICE ON MORE THAN THREE OCCASIONS BEFORE THE FIGURED IT OUT. THEY EVENTUALLY SORTED OUT THE ISSUE IN NOVEMBER OF 2014. NOW 6 MONTHS AFTER, IN MAY 2015, THE SAME ISSUE OCCURS ONLY TO FIND OUT THAT HYUNDAI WILL ONLY WARRANTY THE PART BUT NOT THE LABOR COSTS. TODAY WHILE AT THE DEALERSHIP, THERE WAS AT LEAST ONE OTHER HYUNDAI ELANTRA OWNER WITH THE SAME ISSUE. I'D HATE THAT THE CAR REFUSE TO START IN AN EMERGENCY SITUATION THIS IS OBVIOUSLY SOMETHING THAT HYUNDAI IS AWARE OF, YET REFUSE TO TAKE FULL RESPONSIBILITY AND REMEDY THE SITUATION FOR MYSELF AND ALL OTHER CUSTOMERS. I BELIEVE THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL FOR THIS. I ALSO HAVE A SECOND ISSUE WITH THIS CAR, FROM THE DAY OF PURCHASE. THE CAR SHAKES AT SPEEDS BETWEEN 40MPH AND 55MPH. I HAVE TAKEN THE CAR IN ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS TO TWO DIFFERENT HYUNDAI DEALERSHIPS, YET THEY CANNOT FIGURE OUT THE ISSUE. THEY HAVE BALANCED THE TIRES, ALIGNED THE WHEELS, ROTATED THE TIRES, ETC, YET NONE OF THEIR ATTEMPTS HAVE RESULTED IN A SOLUTION. THIS ISSUE MAKE DRIVING THE CAR FEEL VERY UNSAFE, AND VERY UNPREDICTABLE IN WET CONDITIONS

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/28/2015 - PORTSMOUTH, VA
THIS IS A PROBLEM THAT HAS BEEN GOING ON WITH OTHER ELANTRA DRIVERS. THERE ARE VIDEOS ON YOU TUBE WITH THIS ISSUE. THE VEHICLE DOESN'T START AT TIMES AND IT SHOULD BE A RECALL ON THIS ISSUE. THIS IS A NEW CAR AND SHOULD HAVE ISSUES LIKE THAT. IT SEEMS TO BE A PROBLEM WITH THE STARTER OR THE IGNITION SWITCH.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/28/2015 - PORTSMOUTH, VA
THIS IS A PROBLEM THAT HAS BEEN GOING ON WITH OTHER ELANTRA DRIVERS. THERE ARE VIDEOS ON YOU TUBE WITH THIS ISSUE. THE VEHICLE DOESN'T START AT TIMES AND IT SHOULD BE A RECALL ON THIS ISSUE. THIS IS A NEW CAR AND SHOULD HAVE ISSUES LIKE THAT. IT SEEMS TO BE A PROBLEM WITH THE STARTER OR THE IGNITION SWITCH.

View Details

ENGINE

4/28/2015 - PORTSMOUTH, VA
THIS IS A PROBLEM THAT HAS BEEN GOING ON WITH OTHER ELANTRA DRIVERS. THERE ARE VIDEOS ON YOU TUBE WITH THIS ISSUE. THE VEHICLE DOESN'T START AT TIMES AND IT SHOULD BE A RECALL ON THIS ISSUE. THIS IS A NEW CAR AND SHOULD HAVE ISSUES LIKE THAT. IT SEEMS TO BE A PROBLEM WITH THE STARTER OR THE IGNITION SWITCH.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/21/2015 - ETIWANDA, CA
THE CAR WON'T START. THIS IS A PUSH BUTTON START. I THOUGHT PERHAPS THERE WAS SOMETHING WRONG WITH THE KEY THAT HAS TO BE IN THE CAR AT THE TIME OF STARTING THE CAR. THIS IS THE THIRD TIME THIS IS HAPPENED IN THREE WEEKS. THEN I WENT ONLINE AND FOUND OUT THERE ARE HUNDREDS OF OTHER OWNERS WITH THE SAME PROBLEM. I CALLED AN ONLINE NUMBER AND FOUND OUT THAT THE MANUFACTURE IS AWARE OF THIS PROBLEM. THEY ARE NOT ISSUING A RECALL BUT THEY CALL THIS A CAMPAIGN AND HAVE A NUMBER FOR THIS PROBLEM WHICH IS 933. THEY WILL NOT PAY FOR A RENTAL CAR, BUT THEY WILL PAY FOR THE REPAIR. THEN I CALLED A DEALER AND THEY SAID THEY DID NOT KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT THIS PROBLEM BUT TO BRING THE CAR IN. I FEEL THIS IS ALL HUSH-HUSH, TO THE DISADVANTAGE OF THE OWNER, WHO COULD FIND THEMSELVES IN A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION IF ALL OF A SUDDEN THERE CAR WILL START. PLEASE INVESTIGATE, INCLUDING AN ONLINE SEARCH, TO DETERMINE IF A NATIONWIDE MANDATORY RECALL SHOULD BE INITIATED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds