Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI ELANTRA - 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 91 complaints filed for the 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Service Brakes (5) Suspension (5) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Electrical System (25) Exterior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (13) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Steering (17) Unknown Or Other (15) Wheels (4)
Engine (17) Power Train (13) Structure (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

9/28/2014 - FORT WASHINGTON, MD
MY 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA WILL NOT START. I TRIED SEVERAL TIMES TO GET IT TO START AND IT FINALLY STARTED. ALL INDICATOR LIGHTS WILL TURN ON BUT WHEN I TURNED THE IGNITION ALL THE WAY NOTHING HAPPENS. THIS HAS HAPPENED TO ME MULTIPLE TIMES A YEAR. I HAD IT TOWED BEFORE TO THE DEALERSHIP SINCE IT'S STILL UNDER WARRANTY BUT THE DEALER COULDN'T FIND NOTHING WRONG SINCE IT STARTED UP FOR THEM. THE ISSUE HAS ONLY EVER OCCURRED WHEN MY CAR IS PARKED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/28/2014 - FORT WASHINGTON, MD
MY 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA WILL NOT START. I TRIED SEVERAL TIMES TO GET IT TO START AND IT FINALLY STARTED. ALL INDICATOR LIGHTS WILL TURN ON BUT WHEN I TURNED THE IGNITION ALL THE WAY NOTHING HAPPENS. THIS HAS HAPPENED TO ME MULTIPLE TIMES A YEAR. I HAD IT TOWED BEFORE TO THE DEALERSHIP SINCE IT'S STILL UNDER WARRANTY BUT THE DEALER COULDN'T FIND NOTHING WRONG SINCE IT STARTED UP FOR THEM. THE ISSUE HAS ONLY EVER OCCURRED WHEN MY CAR IS PARKED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/25/2014 - FORT WASHINGTON, MD
I'VE HAD THE FOLLOWING ISSUES WITH THE 2012 ELANTRA: 1.) THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START. THIS ONLY HAPPENS INTERMITTENTLY SO IT IS HARD TO PREDICT WHEN IT WILL OCCUR AND WHERE YOU WILL BE STRANDED. ALL INDICATOR LIGHTS WILL TURN ON BUT WHEN I TURNED THE IGNITION ALL THE WAY NOTHING HAPPENS. I BROUGHT THE CAR TO THE DEALER SINCE IT STILL UNDER WARRANTY BUT THE DEALER HAD NO IDEA HOW TO FIX THE ISSUE. THEY HAD MY CAR FOR 3 WEEKS NOW AND STILL TRYING TO FIGURE WHAT IS WRONG WITH THE CAR. 2.) THERE ARE ALSO INSTANCE WHERE THE ENGINE STARTS BUT THE GEAR GETS STUCK IN PARK AND CANNOT SWITCH TO OTHER GEAR. I HAD TO TURN THE ENGINE OFF AND TRY TO RESTART. 3.) THE BATTERY LIGHT INDICATOR BRIEFLY LIGHTS UP AT 60 MPH.

View Details

ENGINE

9/25/2014 - FORT WASHINGTON, MD
I'VE HAD THE FOLLOWING ISSUES WITH THE 2012 ELANTRA: 1.) THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START. THIS ONLY HAPPENS INTERMITTENTLY SO IT IS HARD TO PREDICT WHEN IT WILL OCCUR AND WHERE YOU WILL BE STRANDED. ALL INDICATOR LIGHTS WILL TURN ON BUT WHEN I TURNED THE IGNITION ALL THE WAY NOTHING HAPPENS. I BROUGHT THE CAR TO THE DEALER SINCE IT STILL UNDER WARRANTY BUT THE DEALER HAD NO IDEA HOW TO FIX THE ISSUE. THEY HAD MY CAR FOR 3 WEEKS NOW AND STILL TRYING TO FIGURE WHAT IS WRONG WITH THE CAR. 2.) THERE ARE ALSO INSTANCE WHERE THE ENGINE STARTS BUT THE GEAR GETS STUCK IN PARK AND CANNOT SWITCH TO OTHER GEAR. I HAD TO TURN THE ENGINE OFF AND TRY TO RESTART. 3.) THE BATTERY LIGHT INDICATOR BRIEFLY LIGHTS UP AT 60 MPH.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/23/2014 - TAUNTON, MA
THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START, ALL LIGHTS / ACCESSORIES WERE IN PERFECT WORKING ORDER, BUT THE ENGINE WOULD DO NOTHING WHEN THE KEY WAS TURNED TO THE START POSITION. THE FIRST TIME THIS HAPPENED WE HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP WHERE WE PURCHASED IT NEW. AFTER RECOMMENDING A FUEL SYSTEM TREATMENT - WHICH WE HAD PREVIOUSLY UNDERGONE AT 40K - WE DECLINED. THE NET RESULT OF THIS VISIT WAS THAT NOTHING WAS WRONG WITH THE CAR. AFTER EXPERIENCING THE SAME PROBLEM A FEW MORE TIMES (9/8,9/9,9/21, 9/23 ALL ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE CALLS), SOMETIMES BEING ABLE TO START THE CAR AFTER A FEW MINUTES - SOMETIMES NOT. WE FIND OURSELVES AT AN IMPASS WITH THE DEALERSHIP. THEY ARE TELLING US THEY WILL NO LONGER BE ABLE TO RUN A DIAGNOSTIC WITHOUT CHARGING US THE FEE - EVEN THOUGH WHEN I BOUGHT THE CAR I PAID IN EXCESS OF $1200 FOR THE 100000 BUMPER TO BUMPER EXTENDED WARRANTY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/22/2014 - CHAPIN, SC
WHILE STOPPED IN TRAFFIC (RESTAURANT DRIVE THRU LANE), VEHICLE LURCHED FORWARD; ATTEMPTED TO PUT TRANSMISSION SHIFTER INTO PARK (AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION) TO CHECK THE PROBLEM; VEHICLE WOULD NOT GO INTO PARK OR REVERSE; WOULD ONLY GO INTO DRIVE OR NEUTRAL. HYUNDAI DEALER INSPECTED AND IDENTIFIED PROBLEM AS A DEFECTIVE SHIFT ASSEMBLY. I HAVE BEEN IN CONTACT WITH HYUNDAI CUSTOMER CARE EXPRESSING CONCERNS REGARDING POTENTIAL SAFETY ISSUES (NOT BEING ABLE TO REVERSE VEHICLE; VEHICLE NOT BEING ABLE TO BE RESTARTED IF ENGINE DIED). VEHICLE IS ONLY 2 YEARS OLD AND JUST OUT OF THE 60,000 WARRANTY PERIOD. HYUNDAI (AT THIS POINT) IS REFUSING TO REPAIR UNDER CUSTOMER GOOD WILL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/16/2014 - LOS ANGELES, CA
WITHIN THE FIRST YEAR OF OWNING MY 2012 ELANTRA, I STARTED HAVING AN ISSUE WITH THE CAR NOT STARTING. DASH WOULD LIGHT UP NORMALLY, AND RADIO, ETC WORKED FINE, HOWEVER THE ENGINE WOULD NOT TRY TO TURN OVER AT ALL OR MAKE ANY NOISE WHATSOEVER. THE PROBLEM IS THAT THE CAR IS NOT SENSING THAT THE CAR IS IN PARK. THE DASH WILL NORMALLY DISPLAY P (FOR PARK), HOWEVER IN THESE INSTANCES THE DASH IS BLANK WHERE THE TRANSMISSION POSITION SHOULD BE DISPLAYED. THE SHIFTER IS ALSO STUCK IN PARK SO I CAN NOT MOVE TO ANY OTHER GEAR. IN ORDER TO RESOLVE THIS ISSUE, I HAVE TO USE THE SHIFT OVERIDE AND MOVE THE CAR OUT OF PARK AND THEN BACK INTO PARK. THE DASH WILL THEN DISPLAY THE P, AND I CAN START THE CAR NORMALLY. I HAVE TAKEN TO THE DEALER ON TWO OCCASIONS, AND THEIR COMPUTER DIAGNOSTICS DON'T DETECT ANY PROBLEMS. THEY SAID IF THEY CAN'T REPEAT THE PROBLEM THEN THEY WON'T CHANGE OUT ANY COMPONENTS. THIS IS FRUSTRATING BECAUSE THERE IS NO WAY I CAN GET IT TO THE DEALER WHEN THE PROBLEM IS OCCURRING.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/16/2014 - LOS ANGELES, CA
WITHIN THE FIRST YEAR OF OWNING MY 2012 ELANTRA, I STARTED HAVING AN ISSUE WITH THE CAR NOT STARTING. DASH WOULD LIGHT UP NORMALLY, AND RADIO, ETC WORKED FINE, HOWEVER THE ENGINE WOULD NOT TRY TO TURN OVER AT ALL OR MAKE ANY NOISE WHATSOEVER. THE PROBLEM IS THAT THE CAR IS NOT SENSING THAT THE CAR IS IN PARK. THE DASH WILL NORMALLY DISPLAY P (FOR PARK), HOWEVER IN THESE INSTANCES THE DASH IS BLANK WHERE THE TRANSMISSION POSITION SHOULD BE DISPLAYED. THE SHIFTER IS ALSO STUCK IN PARK SO I CAN NOT MOVE TO ANY OTHER GEAR. IN ORDER TO RESOLVE THIS ISSUE, I HAVE TO USE THE SHIFT OVERIDE AND MOVE THE CAR OUT OF PARK AND THEN BACK INTO PARK. THE DASH WILL THEN DISPLAY THE P, AND I CAN START THE CAR NORMALLY. I HAVE TAKEN TO THE DEALER ON TWO OCCASIONS, AND THEIR COMPUTER DIAGNOSTICS DON'T DETECT ANY PROBLEMS. THEY SAID IF THEY CAN'T REPEAT THE PROBLEM THEN THEY WON'T CHANGE OUT ANY COMPONENTS. THIS IS FRUSTRATING BECAUSE THERE IS NO WAY I CAN GET IT TO THE DEALER WHEN THE PROBLEM IS OCCURRING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/16/2014 - NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV
THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START ON THE FIRST ATTEMPT. ALL OF THE INTERIOR ELECTRICAL COMPONENTS APPEARED TO BE WORKING. THE ENGINE FAILED TO TURN OVER. AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS, THE CAR STARTED. THE VEHICLE STARTED DOZENS OF TIMES OVER THE NEXT FEW DAYS WITHOUT ISSUE. HOWEVER, THE FAILURE TO START HAS REOCCURED TWICE MORE IN THE PAST FOUR DAYS. THIS DOES NOT APPEAR TO BE A BATTERY ISSUE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/16/2014 - NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV
THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START ON THE FIRST ATTEMPT. ALL OF THE INTERIOR ELECTRICAL COMPONENTS APPEARED TO BE WORKING. THE ENGINE FAILED TO TURN OVER. AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS, THE CAR STARTED. THE VEHICLE STARTED DOZENS OF TIMES OVER THE NEXT FEW DAYS WITHOUT ISSUE. HOWEVER, THE FAILURE TO START HAS REOCCURED TWICE MORE IN THE PAST FOUR DAYS. THIS DOES NOT APPEAR TO BE A BATTERY ISSUE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds