Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI ELANTRA - 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 80 complaints filed for the 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Service Brakes (5) Suspension (5) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Electrical System (18) Exterior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (12) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Steering (17) Unknown Or Other (10) Wheels (4)
Engine (13) Power Train (11) Structure (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

8/30/2014 - WEYMOUTH, MA
ENGINE WOULD NOT CRANK.LIGHTS,WINDOWS,RADIO,ETC. ALL WORKED.SHIFTED TO NEUTRAL AND CAR STARTED.HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/30/2014 - WEYMOUTH, MA
ENGINE WOULD NOT CRANK.LIGHTS,WINDOWS,RADIO,ETC. ALL WORKED.SHIFTED TO NEUTRAL AND CAR STARTED.HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/29/2014 - OXFORD, MS
SEVERAL WEEKS AGO, ON A SUNDAY, I GOT INTO MY 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA IN THE PARKING LOT OF THE LOCAL KROGER AND TRIED TO START THE CAR. IT REFUSED TO START OR TURN OVER. IT DIDN'T MAKE A SOUND. THE LIGHTS, RADIO, ETC. WORKED FINE, BUT THE CAR WOULD NOT START AFTER REPEATED ATTEMPTS. I CALLED A FRIEND WHO CAME OVER AND JUMPED ME OFF. I THOUGHT THIS COULD BE RELATED TO MY BATTERY, BUT FOR THE NEXT TWO WEEKS, I HAD NO PROBLEMS. THIS PAST SUNDAY, AUGUST 24, I PUT THE KEY IN THE IGNITION AND IT GAVE A LITTLE HICCUP, AS IF IT WASN'T GOING TO START, BUT THEN IT STARTED ANYWAY. I MADE A SHORT TRIP INTO TOWN, STOPPED AT THE STORE, CAME BACK AND THE CAR STILL STARTED FINE. BUT THE NEXT MORNING, MONDAY, AUG. 25, IT WOULD NOT START AFTER REPEATED ATTEMPTS. MY NEIGHBOR GAVE ME A JUMP-OFF - IT TOOK A COUPLE OF MINUTES, BUT FINALLY THE CAR STARTED. I ASSUMED THIS WAS DEFINITELY THE BATTERY, SO I HEADED TO AUTOZONE AND GOT A NEW BATTERY INSTALLED. SEVERAL DAYS PASSED, AND EVERYTHING WAS FINE. ON THURSDAY MORNING, AUGUST 28, IT WOULDN'T START AGAIN. I TRIED REPEATEDLY, NO LUCK. I CALLED A FRIEND, WHO CAME OVER TO JUMP IT OFF. STILL WOULDN'T START. I CALLED HYUNDAI ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE AND THEY HAD IT TOWED TO PRIDE HYUNDAI, A DEALERSHIP IN BATESVILLE, MISS. I GOT A RIDE TO WORK AND, LATER, I GOT A CALL FROM PRIDE HYUNDAI. THEY SAID THE CAR STARTED JUST FINE. THEY ALSO REPORTED THAT THE TOW TRUCK DRIVER SAID IT STARTED FOR HIM AS WELL. I EXPLAINED THE SITUATION AND THEY SAID THEY'D LOOK AT IT. HOURS LATER, I CALLED THEM BACK (SINCE IT WAS CLEAR THEY HAD FORGOTTEN TO CALL ME) AND THEY SAID THEY'D HOOKED IT UP TO THE COMPUTER AND FOUND NO PROBLEMS. I ASKED THEM TO KEEP IT OVERNIGHT AND TRY IT AGAIN THE NEXT MORNING. THE LADY ON THE PHONE WENT OUT TO THE LOT AND CAME BACK - SHE SAID IT STARTED FINE FOR HER AND AGAIN SHE INSISTED THEY COULD FIND NOTHING WRONG WITH MY CAR.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/21/2014 - CULPEPER, VA
AFTER SITTING OVERNIGHT, VEHICLE FAILED TO START FOLLOWING MORNING. ALTHOUGH ALL COMPONENTS REQUIRING POWER (WINDOWS, HEADLIGHTS, RADIO, INTERIOR LIGHTS, ETC.) SEEMED TO BE FUNCTIONING OK, JUMP STARTED VEHICLE, AND IT STARTED IMMEDIATELY. A FEW DAYS LATER PROBLEM REOCCURRED; LET VEHICLE SIT FOR SOME TIME, AND VEHICLE THEN STARTED IMMEDIATELY (NO JUMP START). TODAY PROBLEM OCCURRED YET AGAIN (WAITING TO SEE IF VEHICLE WILL EVENTUALLY START). A QUICK REVIEW OF ONLINE FORUMS INDICATES A POSSIBLE ISSUE WITH THE SHIFT INTERLOCK, OR PERHAPS A FAULTY RAIN SENSOR. AS AN ASIDE, A LONGER-TERM SPORADIC, PRESUMABLY ELECTRICAL, ISSUE ALSO EXISTS WITH THE PASSENGER SIDE FRONT WINDOW. THE WINDOW WILL GO DOWN WITHOUT ISSUE, BUT IT OFTEN TAKES MULTIPLE ATTEMPTS FROM EITHER THE PASSENGER SIDE OR DRIVER'S SIDE WINDOW CONTROL TO GET THE WINDOW BACK UP.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/21/2014 - CULPEPER, VA
AFTER SITTING OVERNIGHT, VEHICLE FAILED TO START FOLLOWING MORNING. ALTHOUGH ALL COMPONENTS REQUIRING POWER (WINDOWS, HEADLIGHTS, RADIO, INTERIOR LIGHTS, ETC.) SEEMED TO BE FUNCTIONING OK, JUMP STARTED VEHICLE, AND IT STARTED IMMEDIATELY. A FEW DAYS LATER PROBLEM REOCCURRED; LET VEHICLE SIT FOR SOME TIME, AND VEHICLE THEN STARTED IMMEDIATELY (NO JUMP START). TODAY PROBLEM OCCURRED YET AGAIN (WAITING TO SEE IF VEHICLE WILL EVENTUALLY START). A QUICK REVIEW OF ONLINE FORUMS INDICATES A POSSIBLE ISSUE WITH THE SHIFT INTERLOCK, OR PERHAPS A FAULTY RAIN SENSOR. AS AN ASIDE, A LONGER-TERM SPORADIC, PRESUMABLY ELECTRICAL, ISSUE ALSO EXISTS WITH THE PASSENGER SIDE FRONT WINDOW. THE WINDOW WILL GO DOWN WITHOUT ISSUE, BUT IT OFTEN TAKES MULTIPLE ATTEMPTS FROM EITHER THE PASSENGER SIDE OR DRIVER'S SIDE WINDOW CONTROL TO GET THE WINDOW BACK UP.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/21/2014 - CULPEPER, VA
AFTER SITTING OVERNIGHT, VEHICLE FAILED TO START FOLLOWING MORNING. ALTHOUGH ALL COMPONENTS REQUIRING POWER (WINDOWS, HEADLIGHTS, RADIO, INTERIOR LIGHTS, ETC.) SEEMED TO BE FUNCTIONING OK, JUMP STARTED VEHICLE, AND IT STARTED IMMEDIATELY. A FEW DAYS LATER PROBLEM REOCCURRED; LET VEHICLE SIT FOR SOME TIME, AND VEHICLE THEN STARTED IMMEDIATELY (NO JUMP START). TODAY PROBLEM OCCURRED YET AGAIN (WAITING TO SEE IF VEHICLE WILL EVENTUALLY START). A QUICK REVIEW OF ONLINE FORUMS INDICATES A POSSIBLE ISSUE WITH THE SHIFT INTERLOCK, OR PERHAPS A FAULTY RAIN SENSOR. AS AN ASIDE, A LONGER-TERM SPORADIC, PRESUMABLY ELECTRICAL, ISSUE ALSO EXISTS WITH THE PASSENGER SIDE FRONT WINDOW. THE WINDOW WILL GO DOWN WITHOUT ISSUE, BUT IT OFTEN TAKES MULTIPLE ATTEMPTS FROM EITHER THE PASSENGER SIDE OR DRIVER'S SIDE WINDOW CONTROL TO GET THE WINDOW BACK UP.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/20/2014 - BRYAN, TX
THE CAR WILL NOT START ONCE IT IS TURNED OFF. IT COULD START ONCE AND GO TO THE STORE, AND THEN LOCK UP FOR A FEW HOURS. EVENTUALLY IT WILL ACT NORMAL AGAIN AD THEN START ALL OVER AGAIN

View Details

ENGINE

8/20/2014 - BRYAN, TX
THE CAR WILL NOT START ONCE IT IS TURNED OFF. IT COULD START ONCE AND GO TO THE STORE, AND THEN LOCK UP FOR A FEW HOURS. EVENTUALLY IT WILL ACT NORMAL AGAIN AD THEN START ALL OVER AGAIN

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/20/2014 - BRYAN, TX
THE CAR WILL NOT START ONCE IT IS TURNED OFF. IT COULD START ONCE AND GO TO THE STORE, AND THEN LOCK UP FOR A FEW HOURS. EVENTUALLY IT WILL ACT NORMAL AGAIN AD THEN START ALL OVER AGAIN

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/20/2014 - LEESBURG, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE WOULD SUDDENLY DECELERATE WITHOUT WARNING AND THE ABS SENSOR ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE OCCURRED WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE VEHICLE WOULD SKID AND THE CONTACT WOULD LOSE CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED, BUT NO SOLUTION WAS OFFERED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 32,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds