Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA OPTIMA - 2012 KIA OPTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 101 complaints filed for the 2012 KIA OPTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 KIA OPTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 KIA OPTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Power Train (9) Steering (31) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Communications (1) Equipment (1) Seat Belts (1) Structure (4) Visibility (5)
Electrical System (9) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seats (4) Suspension (8) Visibility Wiper (5)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes (8) Tires (7) Wheels (3)
Engine (7) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Unknown Or Other (9)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

11/18/2014 - AUGUSTA, GA
VEHICLE IS HARD TO HOLD STRAIGHT AT HIGHER SPEEDS. THE STEERING LOCKS INTO A POSITION AND REQUIRES EXTRA EFFORT TO TURN THE WHEEL CAUSING OVER CORRECTION.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/11/2014 - LOUISVILLE, KY
THE INTERIOR OVERHEAD LIGHTS PERIODICALLY COME ON AND GO OFF WHILE OPERATING OUR 2012 OPTIMA. THIS OCCURS WITH THE SWITCH IN BOTH ON AND OFF POSITION AND THE LIGHTBULBS TEND TO BECOME OVERHEATED.THEY DO NOT RESPOND TO MANUAL OPERATION, BUT GO OFF ON THEIR OWN AND THIS MALFUNCTION REPEATS SEVERAL TIMES IN A TEN MINUTE DRIVE. BEST-CASE SCENARIO RESULTS IN THE BULBS BURNING OUT PREMATURELY, BUT I BELIEVE THERE IS A REAL CHANCE OF A MORE SERIOUS SHORT-CIRCUIT AND POTENTIAL INTERIOR FIRE.

View Details

EQUIPMENT ADAPTIVE

11/8/2014 - TULLAHOMA, TN
I HAVE NOTICED OVER TWENTY TIMES THAT THE TRUNK WOULD OPEN BY ITSELF. IT WOULD BE FOUND OPEN AFTER I GET TO MY CAR OR WHILE DRIVING IT WOULD JUST OPEN UP ON ITS OWN. LAST MONTH MY TRUNK, WAS SHUT, DOORS LOCKED, WE HAD A HEAVY RAIN THAT NIGHT AND THE NEXT DAY I WENT OUT, AND THE TRUNK WAS OPEN UP ALL THE WAY. THE TRUNK FLAP WAS SOAKING WET AND UNDER IT, THERE WAS A FOOT OF WATER AND KIA DOES NOT GIVE YOU A TIRE WHEN YOU BUY A NEW ONE. IT COST ME $80.00 TO GET EVERYTHING DRIED OUT AND WATER REMOVED. THERE IS A PROBLEM WITH THE TRUNK OPENING AND THE KIA DEALER SAID THAT THEY COULD DO NOTHING COULD BE, DONE WITH IT OR THE KEY THAT OPENS IT TOLD ME. KIA SAID THEY COULD NOT FIX THE FREQUENCY FOR THE KEYS AND THERE ARE TWO PEOPLE, WHICH HAVE DIFFERENT CARS THAT THEIR KEY WILL OPEN MY TRUNK DOORS AND EVEN TURN ON MY LIGHTS. THE TRUNK CAN BE SHUT AND YOU DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD AT 55 MPH AND IT WILL OPEN UP AND BLOCK YOUR VIEW AND IT COULD CAUSE A WRECK IF YOU ARE CHANGING LANES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/27/2014 - NITRO, WV
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE I77 NORTH AT 70MPH WITH THE SUNROOF AND SHADE SHUT WHEN THERE WAS A LOUD EXPLOSION AND THE SHADE STARTED GOING THROUGH THE SUNROOF AND GLASS CAME RAINING DOWN ON MYSELF (I AM 7 MONTHS PREGNANT) AND MY 13 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER. THERE WERE NO CARS AROUND US. IT WAS SUNNY AROUND 80 DEGREES.

View Details

ENGINE

9/30/2014 - DECATUR, GA
I WAS DRIVING HOME FROM GULF SHORES, AL TO ATLANTA, GA. I STOPPED AT A REST AREA. WHEN I STARTED MY CAR BACK UP THERE WAS KIND OF A BUZZING NOISE AS I ACCELERATED, BUT IT WOULD STOP ONCE I REACHED CRUISING SPEED. AFTER ABOUT 15 MILES DOWN THE ROAD FROM THE REST AREA, MY GAS PEDAL JUST STOPPED WORKING. THE CAR COASTED UNTIL IT LOST SPEED AND THEN JUST TURNED OFF. AFTER I WAS EVENTUALLY TOWED TO THE NEAREST KIA DEALERSHIP, I WAS TOLD THAT THE ENGINE HAD DIED AND I WOULD NEED TO HAVE A NEW ONE INSTALLED.

View Details

ENGINE

9/26/2014 - NEWMAN, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA OPTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. IN ADDITION, A STRONG ELECTRICAL BURNING ODOR EMITTED INSIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS. THE MECHANIC INFORMED THAT THE STARTER AND ASSOCIATED FUSES WERE COMPLETELY BURNT. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER THE REPAIRS WERE PERFORMED, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER WHO RECOMMENDED THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 55,000.

View Details

ENGINE

9/23/2014 - SICKLERVILLE, NJ
DRIVING VEHICLE AT 35-40 MPH. ALL OF A SUDDEN ENGINE STOPPED. THERE WAS HEAVY SMOKE COMING FROM UNDER THE HOOD AND SMELLED OF AN ELECTRICAL FIRE. SMOKE DISSIPATED AFTER 15 MINUTES. VEHICLE WAS UNABLE TO BE RESTARTED AND HAD TO BE TOWED TO KIA DEALERSHIP IN TURNERSVILLE NJ. SPOKE WITH DEALERSHIP ON 9/23 AND WAS TOLD STARTER AND ENGINE NEEDS TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/16/2014 - ARLINGTON, TN
KEY FOB WAS PLACED ON THE ROOF OF THE CAR TO ENABLE FEMALE ADULT TO PLACE CHILD INTO SAFETY BOOSTER SEAT. KEY FOB WAS LEFT ON ROOF BY ACCIDENT, BUT THE CAR WAS STILL ALLOWED TO START. THE CAR GAVE NO AUDIBLE WARNING THAT THE KEY WAS STILL OUTSIDE THE CAR. THE CAR WAS DRIVEN 10 MILES. IN THE INTERVENING TIME, THE KEY FOB FLEW OFF THE TOP OF THE CAR AND WAS LOST. NO AUDIBLE WARNING WAS GIVEN TO THE DRIVER THAT THE KEY LEFT THE CAR'S PROXIMITY. UPON ARRIVING AT THE DESTINATION, THE FEMALE ADULT AND HER CHILD WERE STRANDED.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/7/2014 - CLAYTON, NC
CRUISE CONTROL "CANCEL" BUTTON NEEDS REPEATED PUSHING TO ACTIVATE. A SINGLE PUSH OF THE CANCEL BUTTON ACTUALLY SEEMS TO ACCELERATE THE CAR.

View Details

TIRES

8/29/2014 - HARPERS FERRY, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA OPTIMA EQUIPPED WITH HANKOOK OPTIMO H431 TIRES, SIZE 225/45R 18V. WHILE DRIVING 20 MPH, THE TIRE GAUGE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOUND AN AIR BUBBLE IN THE REAR DRIVER SIDE TIRE. THE TIRE WAS NOT REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN AND DOT NUMBER WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE VEHICLE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 36,000 AND THE TIRE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 7,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds