Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA OPTIMA - 2012 KIA OPTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 178 complaints filed for the 2012 KIA OPTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 KIA OPTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 KIA OPTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Unknown Or Other (9)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (12) Steering (65) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Electrical System (17) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (1) Structure (7) Visibility (11)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Seats (4) Suspension (10) Visibility Wiper (6)
Engine (25) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (10) Tires (7) Wheels (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

5/18/2016 - JACKSONVILLE, NC
I HAVE HAD MY (2012) KIA OPTIMA SINCE 2012. I HAVE NOT HAD ANY HORRIBLE PROBLEMS UNTIL NOW. THE STEERING WHEEL CLICKS AND YOU CAN HEAR AND FEEL ANY BUMPS BECAUSE WHEN YOU EVEN HIT A SMALL HOLE IN THE ROAD THE STEERING WHEEL WILL ALSO CLICK AND MAKE A LOUD NOISE. I HAVE NOT HAD ANY WORK OR REPAIRS DONE TO THE CAR OTHER THAN THE NORMAL OIL CHANGES, TIRE ROTATION, NEW TIRES AND ALIGNMENT, BRAKE REPLACEMENT. I HAVE TAKEN CARE OF MY VEHICLE AND TO BE TOLD THAT THE STEERING WHEEL CLICKING IS SOMETHING THAT ISN+T COVERED OR THAT NO ONE IS LOOKING INTO FOR A RECALL IS SOMETHING I DON+T UNDERSTAND. I HAVE ALWAYS BACKED KIA AND EVEN BOUGHT 2 FOR MY KIDS, BUT NOW I AM STARTING TO WONDER ABOUT THE QUALITY OF THE CAR. I HAVE READ 63 OTHER COMPLAINTS WITH THE SAME PROBLEMS AND STILL NOTHING FROM THE COMPANY WITH A RECALL. I GUESS IT TAKES SOMEONE GETTING KILLED OR SERIOUSLY INJURED TO GET SOMETHING DONE ABOUT THE STEERING. I COULD SEE IF IT WAS A INTERIOR LIGHT BUT WAKE UP PEOPLE THERE IS A STEERING PROBLEM. HOW WOULD YOU FEEL IF IT WAS YOU OR SOMEONE THAT+S CLOSE TO YOU IN A VEHICLE THAT HAS FAULTY STEERING AND SOMETHING HAPPENED TO THEM.

View Details

ENGINE

5/18/2016 - KYLE, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA OPTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED A LOSS OF POWER WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT TWO CYLINDERS HAD NO COMPRESSION AND THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. PRIOR TO THE FAILURE, THE ENGINE WAS PREVIOUSLY REPLACED DUE TO THE SAME FAILURE. THE CONTACT OBSERVED STEAM COMING FROM THE ENGINE DURING THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V568000 (ENGINE); HOWEVER, THE VIN, YEAR, MAKE, AND MODEL WERE NOT INCLUDED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 10,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

5/14/2016 - TULLAHOMA, TN
ON 5/13/16 I WALKED OUT TO MY CAR WITHOUT NOTICE AND GOT IN. AS OF THEN I NOTICED A LONG CRACK STARTING AT THE BOTTOM RUNNING UPWARDS OVER HALF WAY AND OUT TO THE MIDDLE CRACKS. I CALLED THE POLICE TO GET A REPORT BUT THE OFFICER SAID IT HAD NOT BEEN HIT FROM THE OUT SIDE AND TAKE IT TO KIA. I TOOK IT THERE AND I WAS TOLD I WAS HIT BY SOMETHING LIKE A ROCK OR BALL. THE MAN AT KIA SAID TAKE IT TO MY INSURANCE COMPANY. I TOOK IT THERE AND THE AGENT SAID IT WAS HIT BUT I HAD TO PAY $100.00 BEFORE IT COULD BE FIXED. A MAN FROM THE GLASS REPAIR CAME TO LOOK AT IT AND HE SAID IT HAS BEEN BROKEN FROM THE INSIDE AND HE COULD TELL BETTER WHEN THE OLD ONE HAS BEEN REMOVED. HE CAME OUT ON 5/3/16 TO REPLACE IT AND HE SAID THAT WHOEVER TOLD ME THAT WINDOW WAS BROKEN ON THE OUTSIDE DID NOT KNOW WHAT THEY WERE TALKING ABOUT. AFTER LOOKING AT IT VERY CLOSE HE SAID THAT WHAT BROKE IT AND MADE THE CRACKS WAS THE LAMINATED PLASTIC THAT HOLDS THE TWO PIECES OF GLASS TOGETHER AND IT WAS A DEFECT IN THE GLASS. KIA ALWAYS TELLS ME WHEN I HAVE A PROBLEM, THAT IN NO WAY THE PROBLEMS WAS FROM KIA'S MAKING THE CAR. THIS IS MY THIRD PROBLEM WITH THAT CAR THAT THEY TELL ME THEY EITHER CANNOT FIND THE PROBLEM LIKE WITH THE TRUNK OPENING UP, THE BATTERY THEY REPLACED ON ME BY TAKING OUT ALMOST A NEW ONE AND REPLACING IT WITH A OLDER ONE. NOW I HAD TO PAY OUT OF POCKET $100.00 WHEN IT WAS NO ONES FAULT ABOUT THE GLASS BUT KIA BECAUSE I STILL HAVE SEVEN MONTHS WARRANTY LEFT ON THE GLASS AND THEY DID NOT WANT TO HAVE TO INSTALL A NEW ONE SO THEY COULD SAVE MONEY AND TIME AND KEEP PEOPLE THINKING THAT KIA IS NUMBER 1. THIS KIA WITH UNDER 19,000 MILES IS JUNK TO ME AND WITH SOME RECALLS ON THE MAKE, MODEL AND YEAR OF THIS ONE, NOT BUT ONE SINGLE RECALL WAS EVER MADE BUT YOU DID NOT HAVE TO HAVE IT DONE. ON THIS AND OTHER KIA'S THEY SHOULD MAKE KIA AMERICA REBUY ALL THOSE CARS.

View Details

STEERING

5/14/2016 - SCOTTSDALE, AZ
WHILE STEERING AT SLOW AND HIGH SPEEDS THE STEERING WHEEL MAKES A LOUD KNOCKING NOISE THAT CAN BE HEARD AND FELT. THE STEERING WHEEL OFTEN GETS STUCK AND REQUIRES ADDITIONAL FORCE TO GET IT TO MOVE. THE STEERING WHEELS SOMETIMES JERKS ITSELF AND OVERSTEERS IN THE DIRECTION I'M TURNING IT IN. IT STARTED ABOUT A MONTH AGO AND WAS HAPPENING INTERMITTENTLY BUT NOW IT'S HAPPENING ALL THE TIME.

View Details

STEERING

5/9/2016 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA OPTIMA. WHEN TURNING THE STEERING WHEEL IN EITHER DIRECTION, A CLICKING NOISE WAS PRESENT COMING FROM THE STEERING COLUMN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT A COUPLING WITHIN THE STEERING SYSTEM WAS FAULTY AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 73,000.

View Details

ENGINE

5/2/2016 - BRUNSWICK, GA
TRYING TO STATE A SHORT VERSION OF THIS BRUTAL SITUATION!! PURCHASED THE CAR WITH 60,000 MILES MY CAR IS NOW OUT OF WARRANTY HAS NOT REACHED 100,000 MILES AND THE ENGINE IS GONE. OF COURSE KIA WILL NOT FIX MY CAR I WOE $24,000 ON.

View Details

ENGINE

4/28/2016 - WEST CHESTER, PA
AT 60,100 MILES THE ENGINE FAILED. NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT NO OIL LIGHT EVER CAME ON. I HAVE AN EXTENDED WARRANTY THAT DENIED IT ALONG WITH KIA CORPORATE. PREMATURE ENGINE FAILURE. MAINTAINED TO KIA STANDARDS AS WELL WITH OIL CHANGES. WITH EVERY OIL CHANGE I WAS TOLD THE OIL WAS FINE AND NOTHING SEEMED WRONG OR AMISS WITH THE OIL IN THE CAR. I TOOK MY CAR TO HAVE AN OIL CHANGE THE DAY BEFORE MY ENGINE BLEW. I WAS DRIVING TO WORK WHEN IT MADE A VERY LOUD KNOCKING NOISE AND I WAS UNABLE TO MAKE IT TO WORK. I HAD THE CAR TOWED IMMEDIATELY TO THE NEAREST DEALERSHIP. I HAVE OWNED THE CAR FOR 18 MONTHS AS THE SECOND OWNER. I AM STILL MAKING PAYMENTS.

View Details

ENGINE

4/25/2016 - CINCINNATI, OH
WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY AT APPX 60MPH THE CAR SUDDENLY STOPPED ON US, AND ALL OF THE INDICATOR LIGHTS ON THE DASHBOARD CAME ON-FOR THE FIRST TIME EVER. THERE WAS NO KNOCKING SOUND PRIOR TO THIS HAPPENING (WE FOUND OUT THERE SHOULD HAVE BEEN AFTER TAKING THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP) AFTER HAVING THE CAR TOWED TO OUR KIA DEALERSHIP, WE WERE INFORMED THAT THE ENGINE HAD SEIZED, BUT THERE WAS OIL IN THE CAR. I AM NOW HAVING TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE ENGINE. AFTER READING MULTIPLE STORIES OF THIS HAPPENING TO OTHER PEOPLE AS WELL, IT SOUNDS LIKE KIA NEEDS TO ISSUE A RECALL.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/19/2016 - GRIFFITH, IN
I OWN A 2012 KIA OPTIMA ON APRIL 5, 2016 I WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK AND MY SUNROOF EXPLODED. AT THE TIME I WAS DRIVING ON CLINE AVENUE (912). I WAS NOT DOING ANYTHING OUT OF THE NORMAL. THERE WERE NO CAR AROUND ME TO HIT ME THERE WAS NO FALLING DEBRIS FROM ANYWHERE. I HEARD A LOUD EXPLOSION SOUND AND WHEN I LOOKED UP I SAW MY SUNROOF WITH A HUGE HOLE AND TWO MORE LOUD POPS CAME AFTER THAT. SINCE THAT TIME I HAVE CONTACTED KIA USA THE CORPORATE HEADQUARTERS AND HAVE NOT GOTTEN ANYWHERE WITH THEM. THEY HAVE NOT OWNED UP TO THE FACT THAT THIS IS HAPPENING IN THEIR VEHICLES (2011 -2015). I DISCOVERED THIS WHILE RESEARCHING ON LINE. ONCE THE EXPLOSION HAPPENED I CONTACTED THE DEALERSHIP WHERE I PURCHASED IT AND WHERE I HAVE IT SERVICED ON A REGULAR BASIS. THEY HELD MY CAR FROM MONDAY, APRIL 11, 2016 UNTIL FRIDAY, APRIL 15, 2016. NOTHING WAS DONE TO IT. THEY CLAIM THAT THEY WERE INSTRUCTED TO HOLD IT SO THEY COULD AN INVESTIGATION OF THE CAR. I HAVE GIVEN 3 DEPOSITIONS OVER THE PHONE TO KIA WITH A PROMISE THAT SOMEONE WOULD GET BACK TO ME SOON. THAT HAS NOT HAPPENED YET. IN THE MEAN TIME I HAD TO GIVE THE DEALER SHIP A DEPOSIT SO THEY COULD ORDER THE GLASS TO FIX THE SUNROOF. THEY ARE TELLING ME THAT IT WILL COST $440.00 FOR THE CLASS AND $80.00 DOLLARS LABOR. THIS MAY NOT SEEM LIKE MUCH, BUT TO ME IT IS AND I FEEL LIKE THIS IS KIA'S RESPONSIBILITY. WHEN I WAS DOING MY RESEARCH ON-LINE I FOUND ARTICLE OF OTHERS CAR MAKERS HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM BUT THEY PAID FOR THE REPAIRS. I WAS TOLD THAT MY WARRANTY DOES NOT COVER GLASS AND SINCE THE TOTAL COST IS $520 AND MY INSURANCE DEDUCTIBLE IS $500. SO THIS IS MONEY I HAVE TO PAY OUT OF MY POCKET AND PRESENTLY I AM DRIVING AROUND WITH A PIECE OF PLASTIC FOR A ROOF.

View Details

STEERING

4/18/2016 - BOYNTON BEACH, FL
THE STEERING WHEEL MAKES A CLICKING SOUND AND STICKS EVERY TIME I TURN THE STEERING WHEEL. WHILE DRIVING IT CAN BE A CHALLENGE TO STEER WITH THE STEERING WHEEL AS IT WILL GRAB AND MAKE THAT CLICKING NOISE AND YOU HAVE TO USE SOME FORCE TO STEER.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds