Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA OPTIMA - 2012 KIA OPTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 286 complaints filed for the 2012 KIA OPTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 KIA OPTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 KIA OPTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Unknown Or Other (15)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (18) Steering (99) Vehicle Speed Control (17)
Electrical System (31) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (1) Structure (11) Visibility (12)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (13) Seats (4) Suspension (12) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (77) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (14) Tires (7) Wheels (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 36
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

9/14/2017 - FAYETTEVILLE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA OPTIMA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH, THE ENGINE SUDDENLY SHUT OFF. THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO RESTART THE ENGINE. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE, BUT NO ASSISTANCE WAS OFFERED. THE LOCAL DEALER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 108,000.

View Details

ENGINE

9/12/2017 - GREER, SC
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2012 KIA OPTIMA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND WAS PULLED OVER TO A FUEL STATION. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER (KIA OF GREER IN GREER, SC, 864-879-3800) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE WAS CLOGGED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND THE ENGINE WAS REPLACED FOR FREE. SIX MONTHS LATER, ON AUGUST 14, 2017 AND DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, A BANGING NOISE WAS HEARD UNDER THE HOOD AND THE ENGINE CAUGHT FIRE. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE. A FIRE REPORT WAS FILED. THE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE WAS COMPLETELY DESTROYED AND THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A STORAGE LOT. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. THE VEHICLE WAS TOTALED. THE SAME KIA DEALER WAS CONTACTED AND REFERRED THE CONTACT TO THE MANUFACTURER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND SENT AN INVESTIGATOR TO INSPECT THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER MADE A GOOD WILL OFFER, BUT THE CONTACT PROTESTED THE OFFER. THE ISSUE WAS NOT SETTLED. ADDITIONALLY, THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V224000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 87,500. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

SUSPENSION

9/12/2017 - GREENWOOD, AR
I HAVE JUST RECENTLY STARTED HAVING A PROBLEM WHEN I HIT BUMPS IN THE ROAD OR A ROUGH ROAD. THE STEERING WHEEL MAKES A NOISE AND I CAN FEEL A SHAKING SORT OF. I CLICKED ON SUSPENSION BECAUSE OF HOW ROUGH IT FEELS RIDING RIGHT NOW AND I DONT KNOW IF IM JUST FEELING THE STEERING OR IF ITS AFFECTING THE WHOLE RIDE. IT HAS BEEN VERY COMFORTBALE SINCE BOUGHT NEW IN 2012.

View Details

STEERING

9/12/2017 - GREENWOOD, AR
I HAVE JUST RECENTLY STARTED HAVING A PROBLEM WHEN I HIT BUMPS IN THE ROAD OR A ROUGH ROAD. THE STEERING WHEEL MAKES A NOISE AND I CAN FEEL A SHAKING SORT OF. I CLICKED ON SUSPENSION BECAUSE OF HOW ROUGH IT FEELS RIDING RIGHT NOW AND I DONT KNOW IF IM JUST FEELING THE STEERING OR IF ITS AFFECTING THE WHOLE RIDE. IT HAS BEEN VERY COMFORTBALE SINCE BOUGHT NEW IN 2012.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/6/2017 - BREWSTER, OH
MY FIANCE WAS DRIVINGDRIVING 55 DOWN THE I77 HIGHWAY NORTH GETTING READY TO TURN OFF THE EXIT AND SHE HEARD A LOUD BANG. NEXT THING SHE KNEW SHE HAD GLASS ALL OVER HER.THE POWERED SUNROOF EXPLODED!!!!THE GLASS CUT HER HAND IN A FEW SPOT BUT THANKFULLY SHE IS OK AND DIDNT WRECK THE VEHICLE AND THAT OUR KIDS WEREN'T IN THE CAR. MY FIANCE CALLED THE POLICE AND SAID THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO AND MY INSURANCE HAS A 1000$$$ DEDUCTIBLE.

View Details

STEERING

8/29/2017 - NAPLES, FL
LOUD CLICKING NOISE WHEN TURNING THE STEERING WHEEL BOTH WAYS MAKING STEERING AND DRIVING VERY UNSTABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

8/23/2017 - KENNEDY, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA OPTIMA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED A COMPLETE LOSS OF ENGINE POWER. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO COAST THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND ATTEMPTED TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. DURING EACH ATTEMPT, THE CONTACT NOTICED SMOKE COMING FROM THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO CAR LOCK KIA (LOCATED AT 4301 GREENSBORO AVE, TUSCALOOSA, AL) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE ASSEMBLY, BATTERY, AND STARTER WERE DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. UPON DOING RESEARCH, THE CONTACT FOUND THAT THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V224000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 104,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/23/2017 - KENNEDY, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA OPTIMA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 55 MPH, THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED A COMPLETE LOSS OF ENGINE POWER. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO COAST THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND ATTEMPTED TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. DURING EACH ATTEMPT, THE CONTACT NOTICED SMOKE COMING FROM THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO CAR LOCK KIA (LOCATED AT 4301 GREENSBORO AVE, TUSCALOOSA, AL) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE ASSEMBLY, BATTERY, AND STARTER WERE DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. UPON DOING RESEARCH, THE CONTACT FOUND THAT THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V224000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 104,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/19/2017 - PHOENIX, AZ
I WAS NOTIFIED BY KIA EARLIER THIS YEAR THAT MY VEHICLE WAS INVOLVED IN A RECALL BECAUSE THE ENGINE COULD SEIZE CAUSING A SAFETY ISSUE. ON 6/12/17 I TOOK MY OPTIMA TO CAMELBACK KIA FOR RECALL WORK AND INSPECTION. ON 8/1/2017 AS I WAS DRIVING NORTHBOUND ON AZ SR51, MY ENGINE STALLED WHILE MOVING ABOUT 40 MPH IN RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC. I THEN PULLED OVER TO RESTART MY VEHICLE, A SHORT TIME LATER I NOTICED SMOKE COMING FROM UNDER THE HOOD. I WAS TOLD BY KIA UPON THEIR INSPECTION THAT THE STARTER IS WHERE THE FIRE ORIGINATED DUE TO THE SEIZED ENGINE. THE VEHICLE BURNED AND IS NOW A TOTAL LOSS. THIS CAUSED A 3 LANE CLOSURE ON THE FREEWAY AT 5PM AS WELL AS A CRASH DUE TO SPECTATORS.

View Details

ENGINE

8/19/2017 - PHOENIX, AZ
I WAS NOTIFIED BY KIA EARLIER THIS YEAR THAT MY VEHICLE WAS INVOLVED IN A RECALL BECAUSE THE ENGINE COULD SEIZE CAUSING A SAFETY ISSUE. ON 6/12/17 I TOOK MY OPTIMA TO CAMELBACK KIA FOR RECALL WORK AND INSPECTION. ON 8/1/2017 AS I WAS DRIVING NORTHBOUND ON AZ SR51, MY ENGINE STALLED WHILE MOVING ABOUT 40 MPH IN RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC. I THEN PULLED OVER TO RESTART MY VEHICLE, A SHORT TIME LATER I NOTICED SMOKE COMING FROM UNDER THE HOOD. I WAS TOLD BY KIA UPON THEIR INSPECTION THAT THE STARTER IS WHERE THE FIRE ORIGINATED DUE TO THE SEIZED ENGINE. THE VEHICLE BURNED AND IS NOW A TOTAL LOSS. THIS CAUSED A 3 LANE CLOSURE ON THE FREEWAY AT 5PM AS WELL AS A CRASH DUE TO SPECTATORS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 36
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds