Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA OPTIMA - 2012 KIA OPTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 208 complaints filed for the 2012 KIA OPTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 KIA OPTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 KIA OPTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Unknown Or Other (10)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (13) Steering (80) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Electrical System (20) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (1) Structure (8) Visibility (11)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Seats (4) Suspension (11) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (36) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (11) Tires (7) Wheels (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

8/15/2016 - ROME, GA
GEAR OR BEARING DEFECTIVE IN STEERING COLUMN .EXCESSIVE MOTION , PLAY AND NOISE WHEN OPERATING VEHICLE . CONTACTED DEALER BUT THERE HAS NOT BEEN ANY RECALL REGARDING THIS PROBLEM . DEALER SERVICE DEPT. QUOTED REPAIR TO BE APPROXIMATELY 300 DOLLARS . WHEN IS KIA GOING TO RECALL VEHICLES WITH THIS MALFUNCTION ?

View Details

STEERING

8/12/2016 - JACKSONVILLE, NC
I TOOK MY CAR TO GET A OIL CHANGE AND THE GUY THAT WAS MOVING THE CAR WAS SO WORRIED ABOUT THE STEERING. HE STATED THAT I NEEDED TO GET IT SERVICED AT THE KIA DEALERSHIP ASAP. THE STEERING SEEMS TO BE CLICKING AND WHEN I HIT A SMALL DIP OR POTHOLE IN THE ROAD IT CLICKS AND SOUNDS LIKE THE WHOLE FRONT END IS COMING OFF. I WAS TOLD THAT THIS IS NOT COVERED BY THE WARRANTY WITH THE VEHICLE WHICH I THINK IS CRAZY. I COULD SEE IF IT WAS SOMETHING THAT I DID I WOULD TAKE CARE OF THAT REPAIR. HOWEVER THERE ARE A LOT OF OTHER PEOPLE THAT ARE HAVING THIS SAME PROBLEM. I'M REALLY THINKING ABOUT TRADING IN THIS VEHICLE AND MOVING ON TO SOMEONE WHO DOES TAKE CARE OF THEIR CARS AND CUSTOMERS. I WAS TOLD THAT THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH THESE CARS.

View Details

STEERING

8/12/2016 - FAYETTEVILLE, NC
STEERING WHEEL SHAKES, RATTLES, AND CLICKS WHEN TURNING. IT SOUNDS LIKE SOMETHING IS LOOSE. GOING OVER ANY THING THAT IS NOT LEVEL (EX. RAILROAD TRACKS, SPEED BUMPS ETC) CAUSES THE STEERING WHEEL TO RATTLE AND SHAKE ALSO EVEN IF YOU ARE NOT SPEEDING. IT WILL OCCUR IN MOTION AND EVEN IF THE VEHICLE IS IN PARK, AND OFF. I AM NOT REALLY SURE WHAT THIS ISSUE IS OR WHAT REALLY CAUSED IT.

View Details

STEERING

8/10/2016 - BRIGHTON, AL
WHEN U DRIVING IT . U CAN HERE NOISE IN THE STEERING WHEEL. IT HAD THE OIL LIGHT TO POP ON WHILE DRIVING ON THR FREEWAY PUT OVER. PUT SOME OIL IN IT. THEN THAT NIGHT TRYING TO CRANK IT & IT STARTED TO SMOKE & CAUGHT A FIRE.

View Details

ENGINE

8/10/2016 - BRIGHTON, AL
WHEN U DRIVING IT . U CAN HERE NOISE IN THE STEERING WHEEL. IT HAD THE OIL LIGHT TO POP ON WHILE DRIVING ON THR FREEWAY PUT OVER. PUT SOME OIL IN IT. THEN THAT NIGHT TRYING TO CRANK IT & IT STARTED TO SMOKE & CAUGHT A FIRE.

View Details

STEERING

8/7/2016 - POLLOK, TX
LOUD CLICKING NOISE IN STEERING WHILE DRIVING, HARD TO TURN AT TIMES AND VERY LOUD RATTLING WHILE DRIVING ON ROUGH ROADS. MY DAUGHTER USES THIS CAR DUE TO BETTER GAS MILAGE THAN HERS TO GO TO COLLEGE SOMETIMES AND I ALSO CARRY MY 2 YEAR OLD GRANDDAUGHTER IN THIS CAR AND HAVE HAD NO PROBLEMS BEFORE NOW AND THOUGHT I PURCHASED A SAFE CAR ALL AROUND BUT BEING THAT NOTHING IS GETTING DONE ABOUT THIS POSSIBLE SAFETY ISSUE I AM CONCERNED. I WOULD HAVE RECOMMENDED A KIA TO ANYONE TILL NOW AND NOW JUST NOT SURE.

View Details

ENGINE

8/3/2016 - STOUGHTON, WI
I WAS DRIVING STRAIGHT ON THE INTERSTATE AT 70 MPH WHEN THE CAR LOST THE ABILITY TO ACCELERATE AND STARTED MAKING A KNOCKING SOUND. I PULLED THE CAR OVER AND SHUT IT OFF. TRIED TO RESTART AND IT IMMEDIATELY SHUT OFF. THE OIL LIGHT FLASHED A FEW TIMES AND THAT WAS IT. THE CAR HAD 75,000 MILES WITH 30,000 PUT ON WITHIN THE ONE YEAR I HAVE OWNED IT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/2/2016 - HAMPTON COVE, AL
2012 KIA OPTIMA CAUGHT FIRE WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH & WAS UNABLE TO ACCELERATE/BREAK. RECENTLY WAS TAKEN FOR SERVICE WITH NO ITEMS THAT WOULD CAUSE THE ISSUE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/2/2016 - HAMPTON COVE, AL
2012 KIA OPTIMA CAUGHT FIRE WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH & WAS UNABLE TO ACCELERATE/BREAK. RECENTLY WAS TAKEN FOR SERVICE WITH NO ITEMS THAT WOULD CAUSE THE ISSUE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/2/2016 - HAMPTON COVE, AL
2012 KIA OPTIMA CAUGHT FIRE WHILE DRIVING 45 MPH & WAS UNABLE TO ACCELERATE/BREAK. RECENTLY WAS TAKEN FOR SERVICE WITH NO ITEMS THAT WOULD CAUSE THE ISSUE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds