Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA OPTIMA - 2012 KIA OPTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 256 complaints filed for the 2012 KIA OPTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 KIA OPTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 KIA OPTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Unknown Or Other (13)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (16) Steering (93) Vehicle Speed Control (14)
Electrical System (27) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (1) Structure (10) Visibility (11)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel Propulsion System (10) Seats (4) Suspension (11) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (62) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (12) Tires (7) Wheels (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

5/20/2017 - HOLLYSPRINGS, NC
I HAD PULLED OUT ON A BUSY HIGHWAY DURING HIGH VOLUME TRAFFIC. APPROXIMATELY 1/2 BLOCK DOWN HIGHWAY, MY OPTIMA STARTED TO MAKE A "SPUTTERING" NOISE. THEN THE ENGINE DIED WHILE I WAS DRIVING. I DIDN'T HAVE TIME TO GET TO SIDE OF ROAD. I ENDED UP STALLING GOING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH WHILE THE VEHICLES BEHIND ME SLAMMED ON THEIR BRAKES TO AVOID HITTING ME.

View Details

ENGINE

5/18/2017 - CHARLOTTE, NC
MY KIA OPTIMA HAS 50,000MILES . I WAS DRIVING 70MPN ON THE HIGHWAY, KIA ENGINE STARTED TO KNOCK VERY QUIETLY AND SHUT DOWN . LOST MY POWER STEERING . LUCKY CARS DIDN'T CRASH INTO ME CAUSE I HAD LITTLE BABY IN THE CAR. DROVE TO THE SIDE OF HIGHWAY.CAR WAS TOWED TO MY HOUSE. MECHANIC CAME OVER TO MY HOUSE AND TOLD ME MY ENGINE IS TOASTED. SITTING IN THE GARAGE FOR COUPLE MONTHS CAUSE IT NEEDS NEW ENGINE. CANT AFFORD NEW ENGINE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/16/2017 - MACON, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA OPTIMA. WHILE DRIVING 25 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND ALL THE INSTRUMENT PANEL INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS UNABLE TO RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT A RECALL WOULD BE ISSUED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V224000 (ENGINE). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 98,000.

View Details

ENGINE

5/16/2017 - MACON, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA OPTIMA. WHILE DRIVING 25 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND ALL THE INSTRUMENT PANEL INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS UNABLE TO RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT A RECALL WOULD BE ISSUED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V224000 (ENGINE). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 98,000.

View Details

ENGINE

5/12/2017 - YUCAIPA CITY, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA OPTIMA. WHILE DRIVING 50 MPH, THE ENGINE SEIZED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V224000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 151,000.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

5/11/2017 - LITHIA SPRINGS, GA
TODAY WAS THE 2ND TIME I WAS DRIVING MY VEHICLE AND THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM FAILED AND MY CAR SYSTEM SHUT DOWN. I HAD NO ABILITY TO STEER, BRAKE, SMOKE STARTED COMING OUT OF THE VENTS ALL THE LIGHTS STARTED FLASHING. HERO CAME TO ASSIST, OPENED THE HOOD SMELLED MELTING PLASTIC/RUBBER. STARTED SPARKING, CAR TURNED BACK ON ITS OWN. CAR IS NOT AT ED VOYLES KIA IN MARIETTA GEORGIA. KIA HAS REPLACED MY ENGINE TWICE. UNFORTUNATELY I AM AT 120K MILES OUT OF WARRANTY.

View Details

ENGINE

5/9/2017 - PARSONS, TN
CAR JUST STOPEVEN THED WHILE DRIVING DOWN STREET IN TOWN. ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AS CAR DIED, NO PRIOR WARNING. CAR HAD BEEN SERVICED REGULARLY WITH NO PROBLEMS DETECTED. KIA TECHNICIAN AT DEALERSHIP STATED THAT ENGINE HAD SEIZED. BLAMED ENGINE PROBLEM ON IMPROPER MAINTENANCE EVEN THOUGH I HAD PROOF OF REGULAR ON SCHEDULE MAINTENANCE. KIA REFUSED TO HONOR WARRANTY. WHEN I LOOKED UP PROBLEM ON COMPUTER FOUND THAT THERE HAD BEEN SEVERAL COMPLAINTS OF THIS SAME PROBLEM AND WAS ATTRIBUTED TO FAULTY ENGINE DESIGN CAUSING METAL SHAVINGS FROM BEARINGS THAT CLOOGED OIL PORTSCREATING SLUDGE AND EVENTUALLY ENGINE FAILURE. KIA REPRESENTITIVES STATED THAT THEY KNEW NOTHING OF THIS PROBLEM AND AGAIN DENIED TO HONOR WARRANTY IN NEGOTIATIONS.

View Details

ENGINE

5/9/2017 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
ENGINE FAILED IN MAY OF 2016 (ENGINE ROD FAILURE AND KNOCKING). KIA VOIDED OUR POWER TRAIN WARRANTY AND SAID WE WOULD HAVE TO PAY $6000 FOR REPLACEMENT. THE VEHICLE SAT FOR CLOSE TO A YEAR UNTIL THE RECALL NOTICE WAS LEAKED. DUE TO THE VEHICLE SITTING IN OUR DRIVEWAY KIA SAID WE WOULD HAVE TO PAY FOR ALL ISSUES FOUND OUTSIDE OF THE ENGINE. WE PAID $1497 FOR THOSE REPAIRS AND DROVE THE VEHICLE FOR ONE DAY. THAT SAME DAY WE GOT A CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND "KIA OF ORANGE PARK" SAID THE TRANSMISSION SENSOR IS BAD AND WE HAVE TO PAY ANOTHER $400 FOR REPLACEMENT. THE ENGINE WAS REPLACED WITH NO CHARGE BUT KIA IS STATING THAT OUR VEHICLE DID NOT QUALIFY FOR THE RECALL. WE MADE PAYMENTS ON A VEHICLE FOR CLOSE TO A YEAR AND STILL ARE A SINGLE CAR FAMILY. WE ARE LOOKING TO RECOVER THE FUNDS SPENT ON THIS VEHICLE.

View Details

ENGINE

5/5/2017 - ELIZABETHTOWN, KY
I WAS DRIVING MY 3 YR OLD KIA OPTIMA AT 55 MPH ON A TWO WAY ROAD WITH NO SHOULDER AND THE ENGINE SUDDENLY AND VIOLENTLY STARTED KNOCKING AND SHAKING. I LOST ALL POWER TO THE CAR AND WAS NEARLY HIT FROM BEHIND AS I SLOWLY TRIED TO COME TO STOP ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD WITH NO POWER. IT WAS SCARY AS HECK AND I AM GLAD TO BE ALIVE. MY CAR HAS BEEN SITTING AT THE DEALERSHIP FOR 5 MONTHS AS I TRY TO SAVE ENOUGH MONEY TO HAVE A NEW ENGINE INSTALLED. I STILL OWE $8,000.00 FOR THIS CAR AND THE KIA DEALERSHIP WANTS $8000.00 TO PUT A USED ENGINE IN IT.

View Details

ENGINE

5/5/2017 - CANDLER, NC
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY AND MY ENGINE STARTED MAKING A CLICKING/KNOCKING SOUND AND LOST ALL POWER. IT COMPLETELY STOPPED WORKING. AFTER I HAD IT TOWED, THE MECHANIC TOLD ME IT SOUNDED LIKE THERE WAS BEARING THAT HAD WORN OFF IN THE BOTTOM OF MY ENGINE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds