Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA OPTIMA - 2012 KIA OPTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 108 complaints filed for the 2012 KIA OPTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 KIA OPTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 KIA OPTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Power Train (9) Steering (36) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Communications (1) Equipment (1) Seat Belts (1) Structure (4) Visibility (7)
Electrical System (10) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seats (4) Suspension (8) Visibility Wiper (5)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes (8) Tires (7) Wheels (3)
Engine (8) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Air (1) Unknown Or Other (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

1/18/2015 - BOISE, ID
UNABLE TO STEER THE VEHICLE IN A STRAIGHT LINE AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. CAR CONSISTENTLY DRIFTS FROM LEFT TO RIGHT AND RIGHT TO LEFT. STEERING WHEELS FEELS AS THOUGH IT BECOMES LOCKED IN POSITION. AS YOU ATTEMPT TO CORRECT THE STEERING, THE STEERING WHEEL RANDOMLY BREAKS FREE CAUSING OVER CORRECTING WHICH COULD VERY EASILY RESULT IN A CRASH. HAS BEEN TAKEN TO THE DEALERS AND THEY SAY THE CAR IS WITHIN SPECS AND YOU DON'T HAVE ANY WARNING LIGHTS ON SO THEREFORE THERE IS NO PROBLEM WITH IT. THIS IS GOING TO RESULT IN SOMEONE LOSING THEIR LIFE.

View Details

STEERING

1/6/2015 - WHITE PLAINS, NY
ELECTRIC POWER STEERING INTERMITTENTLY MALFUNCTIONS AT HIGHWAY SPEED CAUSING A SNAPPING SENSATION IN THE STEERING WHEEL AND INABILITY TO HOLD A A STEADY HEADING. STEERING BECOMES STICKY REQUIRING G CONSTANT ADJUSTMENTS AS THE CAR DRIFTS FROM ONE STICKY HEADING TO ANOTHER. DEALER REPEATEDLY UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE.

View Details

STEERING

1/5/2015 - NORTH CHESTERFIELD, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA OPTIMA. WHILE DRIVING BETWEEN 60-65 MPH, THE VEHICLE SWERVED INDEPENDENTLY TOWARDS THE LEFT AND WITHOUT WARNING. THE DEALER STATED THAT THERE WAS NO FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 23,682. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

12/31/2014 - GRAY, TN
I WAS DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE. HAD BEEN DRIVING FOR ABOUT 40 MINUTES WHEN I WAS ON THE INTERSTATE GOING UP A SMALL HILL AND TRIED TO ACCELERATE IN SPEED AND MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND MY CAR STARTED JUMPING AND THEN WOULD NOT KEEP THE SPEED I WAS AT. THE SPEED IN MY CAR KEPT DESCENDING. IT WASNT UNTIL I WAS GOING 30 MPH BEFORE I COULD GET OVER INTO THE SLOW LANE TO THEN GET IN THE EMERGENCY LANE. I HAD THE CAR TOWED FROM WHERE IT BROKE DOWN IN BAILEYTON TN TO BRISTOL TN WHICH IS ABOUT A 50 MIN DRIVE AND WAS THEN TOLD THEY WOULD NOT BE GIVING ME A LOANER CAR AND IT HADNT EVEN BEEN 1 MONTH SINCE I PURCHASED CAR.. NO ONE SEEMS TO BE WILLING TO HELP. THEY SAID THEY WILL NOT TRADE MY CAR IN FOR A DIFFERENT CAR EVEN THO THEY CLAIM THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE.... GRRRRRRRRR!!!!!!!!

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

12/10/2014 - AUBURN, CA
2012 KIA OPTIMA SX CAR WENT INTO AUXILIARY MODE FIRST, BUT UPON PUSHING THE BUTTON THE PUSH START BUTTON A SECOND TIME THE ENGINE TURNED OVER AND STARTED. THE CONSUMER HAD TO REPLACED THE TIRES, THERE WAS AN ISSUE WITH THE TURBO ACTUATOR AND THE RADIO WAS MAKING A STRANGE NOISE. THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START. THE VEHICLE WENT INTO AUXILIARY; WHERE THE AC, RADIO AND LIGHTS WERE ON. SHE TURNED THEM ALL OFF AND PUSHED THE START BUTTON AGAIN. THE VEHICLE TURNED OFF, WENT OUT OF AUXILIARY MODE AND SHE REMOVED HER FOOT FROM THE BRAKE. ON THE SECOND ATTEMPT, SHE REALIZED THE PEDAL WAS STILL ENGAGED, SHE TRIED PUMPING IT, TO RELEASE IT, BUT IT WOULD NOT. SHE VERIFIED THE GEAR WAS IN PARK. UPON PUSHING THE START BUTTON AGAIN, THE VEHICLE WENT INTO AUXILIARY MODE AGAIN. AFTER FIVE ATTEMPTS, SHE WAS ABLE TO START THE VEHICLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/10/2014 - AUBURN, CA
2012 KIA OPTIMA SX CAR WENT INTO AUXILIARY MODE FIRST, BUT UPON PUSHING THE BUTTON THE PUSH START BUTTON A SECOND TIME THE ENGINE TURNED OVER AND STARTED. THE CONSUMER HAD TO REPLACED THE TIRES, THERE WAS AN ISSUE WITH THE TURBO ACTUATOR AND THE RADIO WAS MAKING A STRANGE NOISE. THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START. THE VEHICLE WENT INTO AUXILIARY; WHERE THE AC, RADIO AND LIGHTS WERE ON. SHE TURNED THEM ALL OFF AND PUSHED THE START BUTTON AGAIN. THE VEHICLE TURNED OFF, WENT OUT OF AUXILIARY MODE AND SHE REMOVED HER FOOT FROM THE BRAKE. ON THE SECOND ATTEMPT, SHE REALIZED THE PEDAL WAS STILL ENGAGED, SHE TRIED PUMPING IT, TO RELEASE IT, BUT IT WOULD NOT. SHE VERIFIED THE GEAR WAS IN PARK. UPON PUSHING THE START BUTTON AGAIN, THE VEHICLE WENT INTO AUXILIARY MODE AGAIN. AFTER FIVE ATTEMPTS, SHE WAS ABLE TO START THE VEHICLE.

View Details

STEERING

12/9/2014 - MT. AIRY , MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA OPTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 40-45 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO SWAY ABNORMALLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 49,000.

View Details

STEERING

11/27/2014 - MIDWAY, GA
THE VEHICLE IS VERY HARD TO STEER WHEN YOU GO OVER 45/55 MILES PER HOUR. IT BECOMES SO UNCONTROLLABLE THAT I HAVE TO DRIVE IT WITH BOTH HANDS AS I CONTINUE TO TRY TO CONTROL THE VEHICLE FROM EITHER GOING INTO ANOTHER LANE OR HITTING THE ONE COMING TRAFFIC. THE STEERING WHEEL GETS SOOOO TIGHT /STIFF THAT THE CAR CANNOT TRAVEL DOWN THE HIGHWAY WITHOUT ME CONSTANTLY SHIFTING STEERING WHEEL FROM LEFT TO RIGHT. ANY SLIGHT OVER PULL / CORRECTION OF THE WHEEL IS GOING TO CAUSE SOMEONE THERE LIFE OR A HORRIBLE ACCIDENT .I PRAY THAT KIA CORRECTS THIS BEFORE SOMEONE OR CAUSE SOMEONE TO LOSE THEIR LIFE. HOPE THIS WILL BE RECALLED BEFORE IT'S TO LATE. I WAS ON THE HIGHWAY FIGHTING TO STAY IN MY LANE AND CROSSED OVER INTO THE ONCOMING TRAFFIC (WHICH COULD'VE CAUSED ME MY LIFE)AND IT WAS A SHERIFF DEPUTY. HE IMMEDIATELY TURNED AROUND TO STOP ME. HE THOUGHT I WAS DUI. THIS WAS VERY EMBARRASSING .I EXPLAINED TO HIM THAT I HAD THE TXT THE DEALERSHIP WHERE I HAD GOT THE CAR FROM AND THEY TRIED TO PUT IT ON THE HIGHWAY/ TIRES BUT THEY SUGGESTED I TAKE IT TO KIA DEALERSHIP CLOSER TO ME. THE OFFICER SUGGESTED I GET IT CHECKED ASAP AND DIDN'T CHARGE ME . NOT ONLY AM I AFRAID TO DRIVE THE CAR BUT I'M EXHAUSTED AND BODY EXTREMELY TIRED FROM DRIVING IT. NO ONE SHOULD FEEL THIS WAY. KIA PLEASE LISTEN TO YOUR CUSTOMERS BECAUSE THEY CAN MAKE YOU OR BREAK YOU. PLEASE DON'T BE LIKE THAT OTHER CAR COMPANY AND SOMEONE HAD TO LOSE THEIR LIFE FIRST. PLEASE LISTEN!!!!!

View Details

STEERING

11/18/2014 - AUGUSTA, GA
VEHICLE IS HARD TO HOLD STRAIGHT AT HIGHER SPEEDS. THE STEERING LOCKS INTO A POSITION AND REQUIRES EXTRA EFFORT TO TURN THE WHEEL CAUSING OVER CORRECTION.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/11/2014 - LOUISVILLE, KY
THE INTERIOR OVERHEAD LIGHTS PERIODICALLY COME ON AND GO OFF WHILE OPERATING OUR 2012 OPTIMA. THIS OCCURS WITH THE SWITCH IN BOTH ON AND OFF POSITION AND THE LIGHTBULBS TEND TO BECOME OVERHEATED.THEY DO NOT RESPOND TO MANUAL OPERATION, BUT GO OFF ON THEIR OWN AND THIS MALFUNCTION REPEATS SEVERAL TIMES IN A TEN MINUTE DRIVE. BEST-CASE SCENARIO RESULTS IN THE BULBS BURNING OUT PREMATURELY, BUT I BELIEVE THERE IS A REAL CHANCE OF A MORE SERIOUS SHORT-CIRCUIT AND POTENTIAL INTERIOR FIRE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds