Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA OPTIMA - 2012 KIA OPTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 119 complaints filed for the 2012 KIA OPTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 KIA OPTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 KIA OPTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Unknown Or Other (6)
Communications (1) Equipment (1) Power Train (9) Steering (41) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (12) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seat Belts (1) Structure (5) Visibility (7)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seats (4) Suspension (9) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (9) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (9) Tires (7) Wheels (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

6/3/2015 - MORENO VALLEY , CA
I NOTICED WHEN I WAS DRIVING IN THE FREEWAY I HAD TO KEEP OVER CORRECTING THE STEERING WHEEL. IT WOULD GET STUCK AND YOU NEEDED TO KIND OF JERK IT TO UNSTICK.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/31/2015 - DALTON, NH
AT 20000 MILES MY FOG LIGHTS WOULD NOT WORK , THE WEIRD PUT THE DIRECTIONAL SIGNAL TO TURN RIGHT THEY WOULD COME ON FOR A SHORT TIME, REPLACED BULBS NOTHING THEY DON'T WORK. ALSO HAD TO REPLACE BRAKES AND THE TIRES, TIRE BRAND ARE JUNK, POORLY MADE THEY WERE BEYOND THE LIMIT FOR SAFTY, THEN AT 40000 MILES BOTH FRONT WHEEL BEARINGS HAD TO BE REPLACED, NOW AT 78000 MILES THE STRUTS ARE MAKING A HORRIBLE CLANKING AND THE AC IS BLOWING HOT AIR EVEN AFTER 2 CANS OF THE STUFF THE MECHANIC SAID TO ADD. I TRAVEL ON THE HIGHWAY TO WORK 36 MILES ONE WAY DAILY HENSE THE MILAGE BUT THE HIGH WAY IS SMOOTH AS WELL. VERY DISAPPOINTED KIA OWNER, WHEN CALLED TO ASK ABOUT THE FOG LIGHTS WAS TOLD YOUR PROBLEM SO IM SURE THE STRUTS WILL BE AND THE AC WILL ALSO BE MY PROBLEM . SADLY THOUGHT THEY WOULD BACK UP THERE PRODUCT

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/31/2015 - DALTON, NH
AT 20000 MILES MY FOG LIGHTS WOULD NOT WORK , THE WEIRD PUT THE DIRECTIONAL SIGNAL TO TURN RIGHT THEY WOULD COME ON FOR A SHORT TIME, REPLACED BULBS NOTHING THEY DON'T WORK. ALSO HAD TO REPLACE BRAKES AND THE TIRES, TIRE BRAND ARE JUNK, POORLY MADE THEY WERE BEYOND THE LIMIT FOR SAFTY, THEN AT 40000 MILES BOTH FRONT WHEEL BEARINGS HAD TO BE REPLACED, NOW AT 78000 MILES THE STRUTS ARE MAKING A HORRIBLE CLANKING AND THE AC IS BLOWING HOT AIR EVEN AFTER 2 CANS OF THE STUFF THE MECHANIC SAID TO ADD. I TRAVEL ON THE HIGHWAY TO WORK 36 MILES ONE WAY DAILY HENSE THE MILAGE BUT THE HIGH WAY IS SMOOTH AS WELL. VERY DISAPPOINTED KIA OWNER, WHEN CALLED TO ASK ABOUT THE FOG LIGHTS WAS TOLD YOUR PROBLEM SO IM SURE THE STRUTS WILL BE AND THE AC WILL ALSO BE MY PROBLEM . SADLY THOUGHT THEY WOULD BACK UP THERE PRODUCT

View Details

WHEELS

5/31/2015 - DALTON, NH
AT 20000 MILES MY FOG LIGHTS WOULD NOT WORK , THE WEIRD PUT THE DIRECTIONAL SIGNAL TO TURN RIGHT THEY WOULD COME ON FOR A SHORT TIME, REPLACED BULBS NOTHING THEY DON'T WORK. ALSO HAD TO REPLACE BRAKES AND THE TIRES, TIRE BRAND ARE JUNK, POORLY MADE THEY WERE BEYOND THE LIMIT FOR SAFTY, THEN AT 40000 MILES BOTH FRONT WHEEL BEARINGS HAD TO BE REPLACED, NOW AT 78000 MILES THE STRUTS ARE MAKING A HORRIBLE CLANKING AND THE AC IS BLOWING HOT AIR EVEN AFTER 2 CANS OF THE STUFF THE MECHANIC SAID TO ADD. I TRAVEL ON THE HIGHWAY TO WORK 36 MILES ONE WAY DAILY HENSE THE MILAGE BUT THE HIGH WAY IS SMOOTH AS WELL. VERY DISAPPOINTED KIA OWNER, WHEN CALLED TO ASK ABOUT THE FOG LIGHTS WAS TOLD YOUR PROBLEM SO IM SURE THE STRUTS WILL BE AND THE AC WILL ALSO BE MY PROBLEM . SADLY THOUGHT THEY WOULD BACK UP THERE PRODUCT

View Details

STEERING

5/13/2015 - MASSILLON, OH
VEHICLE HAS TROUBLE MAINTAINING PROPER STEERING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. THE STEERING NEEDS TO ALMOST CONSTANTLY BE TURNED RIGHT TO LEFT TO TRY TO MAINTAIN STRAIGHT DRIVING. THE STEERING WILL ALSO OCCASIONAL LOCK WHEN TURNING AND YOU HAVE TO MANUALLY TURN THE WHEEL BACK STRAIGHT. THE CONSTANT NEED TO OVER CORRECT THE STEERING MAKES THE VEHICLE UNSAFE TO DRIVE. I COULD SEE IT EASILY CAUSING AN ACCIDENT IN THE CORRECT CONDITIONS.

View Details

STEERING

4/23/2015 - APEX, NC
WE PURCHASED THE CAR ON 4/3/15 HENDRICK CHEVROLET IN CARY NC DROVE 5 MILES HOME BACK TO DEALER SHIP NEXT MORNING FOR PAPERWORK TO FINISH. LEFT DEALERSHIP HEADED TO MAIN HIGHWAY INTERSTATE 40 NOTICEABLE AS SOON AS YOU GET AT HIGHWAY SPEED THE STEERING WAS TIGHT HAD TO HOLD ON WITH BOTH HAND THE CAR WAS WEAVING LANE TO LANE AS THE WAS NO CENTER FOR YOU TO DRIVE STRAIGHT. IMMEDIATELY CALLED DEALER WE TOOK THE CAR BACK LEFT IT. TODAY IS A FEW WEEKS OUT 4/23/15 THE HAVE RESET STEERING CODE, ALIGN AND REBALANCED TIRES A FEW TIMES AND YESTERDAY REPLACED THE WHOLE STEERING COLUMN AND WE TODAY STILL DOES THE SAME THING. THEY SAID TODAY THEY WILL REPLACES THE TIRES AND SEE HIS THIS GOES. FROM THE START THEY SAID NO ONE HAS REPORTED THIS ISSUES BUT I SHOWED THEM ONLINE OF THE HUNDREDS OF COMPLAINTS. KIA IS INVOLVED BUT I THINK THEY JUST WANT US TO TAKE THE CAR AND GO. ITS NOT SAFE AND I AM NOT DRIVING IT. IT WILL SIT THERE TILL TIRES ROT. THEY ARE SUPPOSE TO CALL KIA FOE MORE THINGS TO THEY BUT THEY DIDN'T ACT LIME THEY ARE IN A HURRY. IF I WOULD HAVE KNOWN THIS CAR HAD COMPLAINTS L. WOULD HAVE NEVER PURCHASED IT. DID RESEARCH THE CAR BEFORE PURCHASE DID NOT SEE ANY ISSUE UNTIL I GOOGLED THE PROBLEM AND MAN THE INTERNET WENT CRAZY. I WANT IT FIXED AND SAFE OR KIA TO OFFER ME A SIMILAR CAR WITH NO ISSUES...............

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/17/2015 - KATY, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA OPTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE CLOCK SPRING NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details

STEERING

4/14/2015 - ONA, WV
WHILE TAKING A CURVE ON THE INTERSTATE, THE STEERING WHEEL WOULD HOLD ITSELF IN POSITION AS IF IT WERE ALMOST IN THE LOCKED POSITION. HAD BEEN DRIVING THE CAR FOR ALMOST 2 HOURS WHEN THIS OCCURRED. TOOK NEXT EXIT TO CHECK POWER STEERING FLUID AND TIRES. EVERYTHING CHECKED OK. GOT BACK ON THE INTERSTATE AND IT CONTINUED TO HAPPEN UNTIL THE CAR WAS SHUT OFF AND PARKED OVERNIGHT. VERY DANGEROUS, ESPECIALLY FOR SOMEONE NEW TO DRIVING. THE STEERING G WHEEL WOULD HOLD ITSELF INTO ANY POSITION I LEFT IT IN. IT WOULD NEVER TRY TO RE-CENTER ITSELF WHILE DRIVING. MAY BE COINCIDENCE, BUT THE CRUISE CONTROL WOULD NOT MAINTAIN THE SET SPEED AT THE SAME TIME THIS WAS OCCURING. DEALERSHIP STATED NO ERROR CODES WERE STORED ON THE CARS COMPUTER.

View Details

ENGINE

4/9/2015 - ALLENTOWN, PA
THE WASTE GATE ACTUATOR ON KIA OPTIMA TURBO MODEL FAILED. THERE ARE THOUSANDS OF COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS DEFECTIVE PART ONLINE AND KIA HAS NOT ADDRESS THE ISSUE OF THIS DEFECT. TO REPLACE THE DEFECTIVE PART WHICH IS NOT COVERED UNDER THE POWERTRAIN WARRANTY IS $500. DO NOT PURCHASE A KIA UNTIL THEY HAVE ADDRESSED THIS GLARING DEFECT. I'VE HAD 8 CARS IN MY LIFE 7 HONDAS AND 1 KIA. THE KIA WAS A BIG MISTAKE.

View Details

STEERING

3/15/2015 - MEMPHIS, TN
THE STEERING WHEEL STICKS AT HWY SPEEDS. I HAVE TO PULL THE WHEEL HARD TO BE ABLE TO CHANGE LANES. IT DRIFTS FROM LEFT TO RIGHT WITH OUT EVEN TURNING THE STEERING WHEEL. THIS IS A MAJOR SAFTEY CONCERN FOR ME AND EVERYBODY ELSE ON THE ROAD. IT WOULD BE A REAL BAD SITUATION IF I COULD NOT TURN IN THE EVENT OF SOMETHING IN MY WAY. I HAVE ALSO NOTIFIED KIA OF THIS PROBLEM. I HAVE SEEN POST DATING AS EARLY AS 2012 ABOUT THIS PROBLEM AND STILL KIA HAS NOT NOTIFIED ME THAT THIS COULD BE A REAL CONCERN. I AM POSTING ALONG WITH ALOT OF OTHER PEOPLE IN HOPES THAT THIS WILL BECOME PUBLIC NOT ONLY FOR MY CAR BUT FOR EVERYBODY ELSE WHO DOES NOT KNOW ABOUT THIS SITUATION BEFORE ITS TO LATE FOR SOMEBODY ELSE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds