Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA OPTIMA - 2012 KIA OPTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 215 complaints filed for the 2012 KIA OPTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 KIA OPTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 KIA OPTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Unknown Or Other (10)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (14) Steering (80) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Electrical System (23) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (1) Structure (8) Visibility (11)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Seats (4) Suspension (11) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (41) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (11) Tires (7) Wheels (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

9/23/2016 - FALLS CHURCH, VA
WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH ON A HIGHWAY, THE ENGINE SHUT DOWN WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS COASTED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD BUT WOULD NOT RESTART. IT WAS TOWED TO A MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED A CATASTROPHIC ENGINE FAILURE. THE SHOP MAINTAINED THAT THE ENGINE SEIZED DUE TO APPARENT IMPROPER OIL CHANGE. THE VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED LESS THAN 30 DAYS PRIOR TO THE EVENT. THE VEHICLE WAS SUBSEQUENTLY TOWED TO A KIA DEALERSHIP WHERE THEY, TOO, WERE UNABLE TO MANUALLY TURN THE ENGINE OVER. KIA SERVICE CENTER REMOVED THE VALVE COVER AND FOUND HEAVY SLUDGE BUILT UP IN ENGINE CAUSING IT TO FAIL AND LOCK UP. KIA MOTORS OF AMERICA DENIED CLAIM DUE TO LACK OF PROPER MAINTENANCE. HOWEVER, HYUNDAI SONATA ENGINES WERE RECALLED DUE TO METALLIC DEBRIS IN ENGINE WHICH RESTRICTED OIL FLOW AND PRESENTED THE SAME MANIFESTATIONS OF ENGINE SLUDGE. KIA OPTIMA SEDANS WERE BUILT USING ENGINES MANUFACTURED AT THE PLANT CITED IN THE HYUNDAI RECALL.

View Details

ENGINE

9/23/2016 - FALLS CHURCH, VA
WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH ON A HIGHWAY, THE ENGINE SHUT DOWN WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS COASTED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD BUT WOULD NOT RESTART. IT WAS TOWED TO A MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED A CATASTROPHIC ENGINE FAILURE. THE SHOP MAINTAINED THAT THE ENGINE SEIZED DUE TO APPARENT IMPROPER OIL CHANGE. THE VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED LESS THAN 30 DAYS PRIOR TO THE EVENT. THE VEHICLE WAS SUBSEQUENTLY TOWED TO A KIA DEALERSHIP WHERE THEY, TOO, WERE UNABLE TO MANUALLY TURN THE ENGINE OVER. KIA SERVICE CENTER REMOVED THE VALVE COVER AND FOUND HEAVY SLUDGE BUILT UP IN ENGINE CAUSING IT TO FAIL AND LOCK UP. KIA MOTORS OF AMERICA DENIED CLAIM DUE TO LACK OF PROPER MAINTENANCE. HOWEVER, HYUNDAI SONATA ENGINES WERE RECALLED DUE TO METALLIC DEBRIS IN ENGINE WHICH RESTRICTED OIL FLOW AND PRESENTED THE SAME MANIFESTATIONS OF ENGINE SLUDGE. KIA OPTIMA SEDANS WERE BUILT USING ENGINES MANUFACTURED AT THE PLANT CITED IN THE HYUNDAI RECALL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/21/2016 - DOUGLASVILLE, GA
THE CAR WILL NOT START AFTER A SHORT TRIP TO MARKET, SHOP FOR
View Details

ENGINE

9/19/2016 - REDMOND, WA
WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH ON THE HIGHWAY, I HEARD AN ABNORMAL ENGINE NOISE AND WITH NO WARNING, MY 2012 OPTIMA STALLED WHILE BEING OPERATED AT A HIGH SPEED. THE ENTIRE INDICATOR PANEL LIT UP. THIS ALL OCCURRED IN LESS THAN ONE MINUTE. I WAS ABLE TO SAFELY PULL OVER ON THE SHOULDER, BUT I COULD HAVE POTENTIALLY CAUSED A SERIOUS CAR ACCIDENT. MY 2 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER WAS IN THE VEHICLE WITH ME. THE CAR WOULD NOT RESTART, AND WAS TOWED TO THE NEAREST DEALER IN WENATCHEE, WA. THE DIAGNOSIS WAS COMPLETE ENGINE FAILURE AS A RESULT OF FRACTURED ROD BEARINGS. I BOUGHT THIS VEHICLE CERTIFIED PRE-OWNED IN 2014 AND CATASTROPHIC ENGINE FAILURE WAS UNEXPECTED. RECORDS SHOW ROUTINE MAINTENANCE EVERY 3,000 MILES. I BELIEVE THIS INCIDENT IS A DIRECT RESULT OF AN ENGINE OIL DEFECT THAT HAS BEEN CONCEALED BY KIA.

View Details

ENGINE

9/7/2016 - DELTONA, FL
CAR HAS BEEN MAINTAINED WITH REGULAR OIL CHANGES EVERY 3 TO 5000 MILES. CAR WAS NOT GIVING ANY ISSUES UNTIL TWO DAYS AGO WHEN THE ENGIN SHUT OFF WHILE DRIVING. WE RESTARTED IT AND IT WAS KNOCKING LOUDLY, SPUTTERING AND SQUEALING. WE TOWED IT TO A KIA DEALER THE FOLLOWING MORNING WHO RAN DIAGNOSTICS AND SAID THE ENGINE IS BLOWN AND FULL OF SLUDGE. THEY WON'T HONOR THE WARRANTY SINCE WE CAN'T PROVIDE EVERY SINGLE OIL CHANGE RECEIPT SINCE THE DAY WE PURCHASED THE CAR. WE DID PROVIDE WHAT WE COULD AS WE LIVED IN A FEW STATES WITH THE CAR AND DIDN'T ALWAYS USE THE SAME SHOP. THE CAR WAS IN MOTION WHEN THE VEHICLE JUST COMPLETELY SHUT OFF WITHOUT AND WARNING LIGHTS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/6/2016 - GRANTS PASS, OR
THE CARE STALED AT LOW SPEED PULLED OVER SIDE OF ROAD AND SMOKE WAS COMING FROM ENGINE, OPENED THE HOOD AND FIRE HAD STARTED AT FRONT TOP OF ENGINE UNDER THE AIR CLEANER, SOME WARE, HAS NOT BEEN DETERMINED WHAT CAUSED IT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/6/2016 - GRANTS PASS, OR
THE CARE STALED AT LOW SPEED PULLED OVER SIDE OF ROAD AND SMOKE WAS COMING FROM ENGINE, OPENED THE HOOD AND FIRE HAD STARTED AT FRONT TOP OF ENGINE UNDER THE AIR CLEANER, SOME WARE, HAS NOT BEEN DETERMINED WHAT CAUSED IT.

View Details

ENGINE

9/6/2016 - GRANTS PASS, OR
THE CARE STALED AT LOW SPEED PULLED OVER SIDE OF ROAD AND SMOKE WAS COMING FROM ENGINE, OPENED THE HOOD AND FIRE HAD STARTED AT FRONT TOP OF ENGINE UNDER THE AIR CLEANER, SOME WARE, HAS NOT BEEN DETERMINED WHAT CAUSED IT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/27/2016 - NAVARRE, OH
STOPPED AT RED LIGHT AND CAR SHUT DOWN. CHECKED UNDER HOOD WHICH HAD SMOKE COMING FROM IT. GROUND WIRE WAS MELTED. OFFICER WAS CONTACTED AND HELPED PUSH CAR TO SAFETY. TOW COMPANY WAS CALLED AND CAR WAS LOADED WE ROAD WITH THE TOW TRUCK DRIVER. HALF WAY TO DESTINATION, THE CAR WAS SMOKING HEAVILY. WE PULLED OVER AND LOOKED UNDER THE HOOD AND THERE WERE FLAMES. WE USED THE FIRE EXTINGUISHER AND THE FLAMES GOT WORSE. CAR BURNED WITH TOTAL LOSS. TOW TRUCK PARTIALLY BURNED.

View Details

ENGINE

8/23/2016 - FALLS CHURCH, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA OPTIMA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THE ENGINE SHUT DOWN WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS COASTED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND WOULD NOT RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A MECHANIC. IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE SEIZED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 94,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds