Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA OPTIMA - 2012 KIA OPTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 186 complaints filed for the 2012 KIA OPTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 KIA OPTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 KIA OPTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Unknown Or Other (9)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (12) Steering (67) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Electrical System (18) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (1) Structure (8) Visibility (11)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Seats (4) Suspension (10) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (30) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (10) Tires (7) Wheels (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

6/15/2016 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
DRIVING APPROX. 45MPH ON A BUSY CITY STREET, VEHICLE SUDDENLY BEGAN TO DECELERATE AND A RATTLING NOISE BEGAN GETTING LOUDER AND LOUDER FROM UNDER THE HOOD AND FINALLY ENGINE COMPLETELY CUT OFF AND WOULD NOT START AGAIN. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO GET OVER TO A SAFE AREA WHICH HAPPENED TO BE THE TURNING LANE, THE CAR ROLLED TO A COMPLETE STOP. WITH MY FAMILY IN THE CAR WITH ME, I HAD TO PUSH THE VEHICLE OVER TO PREVENT FROM BEING HIT DUE TO THE VEHICLE STALLING AND THE BACK END OF VEHICLE WAS STILL IN WAY OF ON COMING TRAFFIC. AFTER BEING TOWED TO A SERVICE CENTER, I WAS NOTIFIED THAT THE ROD BEARINGS SEIZED UP AND MY ONLY OPTION WAS ENGINE REPLACEMENT. VEHICLE WITH SUCH LOW MILEAGE SHOULD NOT NEED ENGINE REPLACEMENT.

View Details

ENGINE

6/13/2016 - FRANKLIN, IN
DRIVING THE VEHICLE THROUGH AN INTERSECTION AT APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH AND ENGINE JUST SHUT DOWN/OFF. THANKFULLY, WE WERE ABLE TO PULL TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED TO A KIA DEALERSHIP. SERVICE DEPT HAD THE VEHICLE FOR 2 DAYS AND WEREN'T ABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE CAUSE OR PROBLEM BUT NOTIFIED ME THAT I HAD METAL SHAVINGS IN THE ENGINE. THEY CHANGED ALL FLUIDS AND RESET THE COMPUTER, SO THE VEHICLE WOULD RUN, BUT WHEN THEY TEST DROVE THE VEHICLE, THE TECH SAID IT STILL WASN'T RUNNING SMOOTHLY. THEY SAID WE NEEDED A NEW ENGINE FOR $7000, OR ELSE WE COULD JUST DRIVE THE VEHICLE UNTIL IT QUIT RUNNING. WE DROVE THE VEHICLE FOR ABOUT ANOTHER 100 MILES WHILE TRYING TO DECIDE WHETHER TO REPAIR OR REPLACE, AND VEHICLE SEEMED TO BE RUNNING FINE BUT THEN SUDDENLY SHUT DOWN AGAIN. WE HAD PURCHASED THE 100,000 MILE WARRANTY, AND VEHICLE WAS AT 110,000 MILES. WE WERE ABLE TO SHOW ROUTINE MAINTENANCE AND OIL CHANGES. AFTER RESEARCHING, WE REALIZED THAT THESE ARE THE SAME ENGINES AND SAME "METAL SHAVING" PROBLEMS THAT WERE FOUND IN THE HYUNDAI SONATAS, AND HYUNDAI HAS ISSUED A RECALL FOR VEHICLES UNDER 10 YRS/120,000MILES. KIA IS HAVING SAME PROBLEMS FROM THE ONLINE COMMENTS/REVIEWS, BUT THEY HAVEN'T ISSUED ANY RECALLS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/13/2016 - TULLAHOMA, TN
I HAVE SENT IN COMPLAINTS ON MY KIA MANY OF TIMES AND THE ONE JUST CAME OUT ABOUT THE LATCHES, MINE IS NOT ON THE RECALL LIST. I HAVE HAD THE MIDDLE PART OF MY GLASS CRACK THE WINDSHIELD THAT WAS AND STILL UNDER WARRANTY AND MORE BUT IT SEEMS I AM BEING OVER LOOKED ON MY CAR. I GUESS THE ONLY ACTION TO TAKE IS A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT AGAINST KIA AMERICA. WHEN YOU HAVE THE PROOF THEY STILL DO NOT BELIEVE YOU.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/13/2016 - TULLAHOMA, TN
I HAVE SENT IN COMPLAINTS ON MY KIA MANY OF TIMES AND THE ONE JUST CAME OUT ABOUT THE LATCHES, MINE IS NOT ON THE RECALL LIST. I HAVE HAD THE MIDDLE PART OF MY GLASS CRACK THE WINDSHIELD THAT WAS AND STILL UNDER WARRANTY AND MORE BUT IT SEEMS I AM BEING OVER LOOKED ON MY CAR. I GUESS THE ONLY ACTION TO TAKE IS A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT AGAINST KIA AMERICA. WHEN YOU HAVE THE PROOF THEY STILL DO NOT BELIEVE YOU.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

6/13/2016 - TULLAHOMA, TN
I HAVE SENT IN COMPLAINTS ON MY KIA MANY OF TIMES AND THE ONE JUST CAME OUT ABOUT THE LATCHES, MINE IS NOT ON THE RECALL LIST. I HAVE HAD THE MIDDLE PART OF MY GLASS CRACK THE WINDSHIELD THAT WAS AND STILL UNDER WARRANTY AND MORE BUT IT SEEMS I AM BEING OVER LOOKED ON MY CAR. I GUESS THE ONLY ACTION TO TAKE IS A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT AGAINST KIA AMERICA. WHEN YOU HAVE THE PROOF THEY STILL DO NOT BELIEVE YOU.

View Details

ENGINE

6/5/2016 - NEW RICHMOND, WI
I WAS DRIVING HOME ON MEMORIAL DAY WEEKEND FROM A NICE VISIT WITH MY FAMILY AND WHEN I WAS ALMOST HOME I COULD HEAR CLICKING/TAPPING SOUND AND THE ENGINE STALLED ON A MAJOR INTERSTATE. I WAS ABLE TO QUICKLY RESTART AND GET TO THE SHOULDER. STARTED UP AGAIN AND TOOK OFF BUT WHEN I TRIED TO ACCELERATE TO THE FLOW OF TRAFFIC, THE CAR WOULD NOT ACCELERATE AND WAS LOSING POWER. I WAS CLOSE TO A KIA DEALERSHIP AND WAS ABLE TO MILK IT TO THE SERVICE GARAGE. UPON INSPECTION, THEY FOUND METAL SHAVINGS PAIRED WITH A TON OF COPPER ON THE VALVE TIMING SOLENOID. CRANKSHAFT BEARINGS ARE SHOT, CAUSING LOW OIL PRESSURE, STALLING AND ERRATIC BEHAVIOR. ENGINE IS TOAST! AFTER DOING SOME RESEARCH I CAME ACROSS THIS: HTTP://WWW.HYUNDAIPROBLEMS.COM/TRENDS/SONATA-ENGINE- FAILURE. SAME ENGINE, SAME PROBLEMS AND HYUNDAI STANDS BEHIND THEIR PRODUCT. I TAKE GREAT PRIDE IN MY VEHICLE. I TAKE IT IN FOR REGULAR MAINTENANCE AND OIL CHANGES. I AM NOT AT FAULT. I WILL BE ESCALATING THIS TO THE NATIONAL TEAM AT KIA CORPORATE OFFICE AND KIA CONSUMER AFFAIRS TO GET A CASE NUMBER AS I FEEL THEY NEED TO BE HELD LIABLE TO PAY FOR THE ENGINE.THIS IS OBVIOUSLY A KNOWN ISSUE AND IT'S SAD THAT KIA IS PUTTING THE BLAME ON THE CUSTOMERS INSTEAD OF TAKING RESPONSIBILITY FOR A FACTORY DEFECT. NO CAR WITH 111K MILES ON IT WITH PROPER MAINTENANCE SHOULD HAVE THE ENGINE JUST BLOW! KIA NOT ONLY PUT MY LIFE IN DANGER BUT THEY ALSO PUT MY DAUGHTER'S LIFE IN DANGER!! I'M LUCKY I WAS IN THE RIGHT PLACE AT THE RIGHT TIME ON A MAJOR INTERSTATE ON MEMORIAL WEEKEND OR THE RESULTS COULD HAVE BEEN MUCH WORSE!! MY DAUGHTER AND I ARE OK, BUT I FEAR THE NEXT KIA OPTIMA THIS HAPPENS TO WILL NOT BE A GOOD OUTCOME. MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE AND A RECALL SHOULD BE INSTATED.

View Details

ENGINE

6/4/2016 - PALM COAST, FL
WHILE DRIVING HOME THE CAR SUDDENLY LOST ALL POWER FOR NO REASON. GOT THE CAR JUMPED AND IT STARTED BUT WAS SLUGGISH. NO INDICATING LIGHTS EVER CAME ON. DROVE THE CAR TO WORK FOR THE NEXT 2 DAYS (APPROX 450 MILES) WITH NO ISSUES SO I THOUGH IT WEIRD BUT A FLUKE. TWO DAYS LATER APPROXIMATELY 2 BLOCKS FROM MY HOUSE THE CAR SUDDENLY LOCKED UP FOR A SPLIT SECOND (HEARD THE TIRES CHIRP) BUT KEPT ROLLING. THE CAR HAD NO POWER, ALL LIGHTS, RADIO, ETC STAYED ON BUT THE ENGINE WAS NOT RUNNING. I LET THE CAR COAST INTO MY DRIVEWAY TO PARK IT. THE CAR STARTS FINE BUT THE ENGINE IS DEFINITELY SHOT. SOUNDS LIKE THE CONNECTOR RODS ARE BENT. LOUD KNOCKING AND SOMETIMES A SQUEAL THAT SOUNDS LIKE METAL ON METAL. CHECKED THE OIL AND THERE WAS MINIMAL OIL BUT AGAIN NO INDICATING LIGHTS EVER CAME ON. THE CAR IS ONLY 4 YEARS OLD WITH 127,000 MILE BUT HAS ALWAYS BEEN MAINTAINED TO KIA SPECS. UPSIDE DOWN ON THE LOAN ALREADY WHICH I WOULDN'T HAVE A PROBLEM WITH IF THE CAR RAN. NOW I OWE ON A LOAN FOR A CAR I CAN'T DRIVE.

View Details

STEERING

5/27/2016 - PALM BEACH GARDEN, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA OPTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE THE DRIVER WAS DRIVING AT 65 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL BEGAN TO SHAKE VIOLENTLY WITH A LOUD NOISE. THE CONTACT COASTED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESUME DRIVING. THE FAILURE RECURRED TWICE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THERE WAS WEAR AND TEAR IN THE STEERING AND NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 73,853.

View Details

ENGINE

5/26/2016 - HOWELL, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA OPTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING, THE ENGINE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER WHERE AN UNKNOWN PART NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 84,000.

View Details

STEERING

5/24/2016 - HOUMA, LA
CLICKING NOISE AND PULLING WHEN I TURN OR HIT A BUMP IN THE ROAD. SOUNDS LIKE MY STEERING WOULD COME APART. LOTS OF PLAY IN THE STEERING WHEEL. VERY UNSAFE. I DRIVE THE INTERSTATE TO WORK EVERYDAY AND I AM NORMALLY TRAVELING BETWEEN 70 AND 75. I FEAR MY CAR IS AN ACCIDENT WAITING TO HAPPEN WITH THE DEFECTIVE STEERING.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds