Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA OPTIMA - 2012 KIA OPTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 112 complaints filed for the 2012 KIA OPTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 KIA OPTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 KIA OPTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Unknown Or Other (8)
Communications (1) Equipment (1) Power Train (9) Steering (37) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (10) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seat Belts (1) Structure (5) Visibility (7)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seats (4) Suspension (8) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (8) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (9) Tires (7) Wheels (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

3/15/2015 - MEMPHIS, TN
THE STEERING WHEEL STICKS AT HWY SPEEDS. I HAVE TO PULL THE WHEEL HARD TO BE ABLE TO CHANGE LANES. IT DRIFTS FROM LEFT TO RIGHT WITH OUT EVEN TURNING THE STEERING WHEEL. THIS IS A MAJOR SAFTEY CONCERN FOR ME AND EVERYBODY ELSE ON THE ROAD. IT WOULD BE A REAL BAD SITUATION IF I COULD NOT TURN IN THE EVENT OF SOMETHING IN MY WAY. I HAVE ALSO NOTIFIED KIA OF THIS PROBLEM. I HAVE SEEN POST DATING AS EARLY AS 2012 ABOUT THIS PROBLEM AND STILL KIA HAS NOT NOTIFIED ME THAT THIS COULD BE A REAL CONCERN. I AM POSTING ALONG WITH ALOT OF OTHER PEOPLE IN HOPES THAT THIS WILL BECOME PUBLIC NOT ONLY FOR MY CAR BUT FOR EVERYBODY ELSE WHO DOES NOT KNOW ABOUT THIS SITUATION BEFORE ITS TO LATE FOR SOMEBODY ELSE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/1/2015 - CLAREMONT, CA
I HAVE A 2012 KIA OPTIMA HYBRID OF WHICH I PURCHASED AT THE LOCAL KIA DEALER (ONTARIO, CA) AND EVEN PURCHASED AN ADDITIONAL "PLATINUM 100K MILE PROTECTION." ON DECEMBER 31ST MY CAR STARTED TO MOVE WHILE IN PARK AND THE IGNITION ON. I HIT THE BREAKS AND THERE WAS NO BREAK PRESSURE AT ALL. THE CAR STARTED TO FLASH CODES REGARDING THE BRAKES AND I HAD TO ENGAGE THE EMERGENCY BREAK TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE DEALER COULD NOT FIND THE ISSUE AND RETURNED THE CAR. ANOTHER MONTH LATER THE CAR DID THE SAME THING AND I VIDEO TAPED IT. THE GAUGES STARTED ILLUMINATING AND DELLUMINATING REPEATEDLY AND ALL THE LIGHTS ON THE DASH STARTED TO FLASH. THE "CHECK BRAKE" CODE CAME UP AGAIN! I NOW HAVE PROOF OF THE VEHICLE DOING THIS AND BROUGHT MY CAR BACK TO THE DEALER NOW THEY HAVE ADMITTED SOMETHING IS WRONG BUT THEY'RE STILL UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE ERROR. THEY ARE KEEPING THE CAR FOR FURTHER DIAGNOSIS BUT HAVE NOT DONE ANYTHING BUT TELL ME THEY DO NOT KNOW WHAT IS WRONG WITH IT YET AND THAT MY WARRANTY "MAY NOT" COVER IT. THEY HAVE TOLD ME REPEATEDLY THAT THEY WILL NOT BE ABLE TO FIX IT OR DO ANYTHING FOR ME UNTIL THEY KNOW WHAT IS WRONG, NOR HAVE THEY OFFERED ME A RENTAL CAR. I WANT MY CAR BACK BUT IT IS UNSAFE! WHAT IF THE BRAKES GO OUT AT A HIGH RATE OF SPEED?! PLEASE HEP ME NHTSA SO WE CAN SAVE LIVES OF OTHERS THAT MAY EXPERIENCE THIS PROBLEM AS WELL.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/1/2015 - CLAREMONT, CA
I HAVE A 2012 KIA OPTIMA HYBRID OF WHICH I PURCHASED AT THE LOCAL KIA DEALER (ONTARIO, CA) AND EVEN PURCHASED AN ADDITIONAL "PLATINUM 100K MILE PROTECTION." ON DECEMBER 31ST MY CAR STARTED TO MOVE WHILE IN PARK AND THE IGNITION ON. I HIT THE BREAKS AND THERE WAS NO BREAK PRESSURE AT ALL. THE CAR STARTED TO FLASH CODES REGARDING THE BRAKES AND I HAD TO ENGAGE THE EMERGENCY BREAK TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE DEALER COULD NOT FIND THE ISSUE AND RETURNED THE CAR. ANOTHER MONTH LATER THE CAR DID THE SAME THING AND I VIDEO TAPED IT. THE GAUGES STARTED ILLUMINATING AND DELLUMINATING REPEATEDLY AND ALL THE LIGHTS ON THE DASH STARTED TO FLASH. THE "CHECK BRAKE" CODE CAME UP AGAIN! I NOW HAVE PROOF OF THE VEHICLE DOING THIS AND BROUGHT MY CAR BACK TO THE DEALER NOW THEY HAVE ADMITTED SOMETHING IS WRONG BUT THEY'RE STILL UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE ERROR. THEY ARE KEEPING THE CAR FOR FURTHER DIAGNOSIS BUT HAVE NOT DONE ANYTHING BUT TELL ME THEY DO NOT KNOW WHAT IS WRONG WITH IT YET AND THAT MY WARRANTY "MAY NOT" COVER IT. THEY HAVE TOLD ME REPEATEDLY THAT THEY WILL NOT BE ABLE TO FIX IT OR DO ANYTHING FOR ME UNTIL THEY KNOW WHAT IS WRONG, NOR HAVE THEY OFFERED ME A RENTAL CAR. I WANT MY CAR BACK BUT IT IS UNSAFE! WHAT IF THE BRAKES GO OUT AT A HIGH RATE OF SPEED?! PLEASE HEP ME NHTSA SO WE CAN SAVE LIVES OF OTHERS THAT MAY EXPERIENCE THIS PROBLEM AS WELL.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/23/2015 - PRAIRIE VILLAGE, KS
I WAS HIT IN THE BACK WHILE STOPPED IN TRAFFIC.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/20/2015 - TULLAHOMA, TN
THIS STARTED IN JUNE 2014 DURING THE MID SUMMER. THE TRUNK WOULD COME OPEN WHILE JUST SITTING THERE OR COME OPEN WHILE DRIVING. SO FAR NO ONE HAS BEEN HURT BY IT OPENING UP WHILE I HAVE BEEN DRIVING BUT IT COULD COME OPEN WHILE I AM DRIVING AND IF I WAS TO TRAVEL ON THE INTERSTATE AT 70 MPH AND IT WAS TO OPEN IT COULD CAUSE MY BACK WINDOW TO BREAK OR FLY OFF AND HIT ANOTHER CAR CAUSING INJURIES. LAST YEAR DURING THE NIGHT WE HAD HEAVY RAIN THE WHOLE NIGHT AND WHEN I GOT UP IT WAS STILL RAINING HARD AND I NOTICED AFTER GOING OUT THE TRUNK WAS OPEN WIDE. THE MAT IN THE TRUNK WAS SOAKING WET, BACK AND FRONT MATS AND INSIDE WHERE THE TIRE GOES HAD A LITTLE ONE 2 FEET OF WATER. I CANNOT GIVE THE DATES FOR ALL OF THE TIME EXCEPT 4 WHICH WAS ON 10-14-14 WHERE FORD KIA HAD TO REMOVE THE WATER AND DRY OUT PARTS. I WAS STUCK WITH THE BILL IN WHICH I HAVE THE BILL AND IN OCTOBER 8, 17, 24 NOVEMBER 4,12,19,27. DECEMBER 10,15.18 22, 24.31. JANUARY 2015 2, 8,15,17,18. I HAVE CONTACTED THE DEALERSHIP HERE ABOUT IT AND I WAS TOLD THERE WAS NOTHING THAT COULD BE DONE AND I TOLD THEM THAT THE PEOPLE THAT LIVED NEXT DOOR HAD A WIRELESS KEY THAT THEY COULD OPEN, TURN ON MY LIGHTS INSIDE AND OUT AND A COUPLE THAT LIVED TWO DOORS DOWN HAD A CAR AND WHEN THEY MOVED IN THAT HE COULD OPEN HIS DOORS AND SUCH WHICH WOULD UNLOCK MY DOORS AND TURN ON THE LIGHTS AND OPEN THE TRUNK AND THEY SAID AT THE SHOP THAT THE FREQ ON MY CAR CANNOT BE CHANGED. IT SEEMS THAT I GOT A CAR THAT MANY OF THE PEOPLE CAN COME AND TRY THEIR KEY AND GET INSIDE AND JUST PUSH THE BUTTON AND TAKE OFF. IT HAPPENS DURING SETTING AND DRIVING SO THE SPEED I CANNOT STATE RIGHT.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: TRUNK LID: LOCK

1/20/2015 - TULLAHOMA, TN
THIS STARTED IN JUNE 2014 DURING THE MID SUMMER. THE TRUNK WOULD COME OPEN WHILE JUST SITTING THERE OR COME OPEN WHILE DRIVING. SO FAR NO ONE HAS BEEN HURT BY IT OPENING UP WHILE I HAVE BEEN DRIVING BUT IT COULD COME OPEN WHILE I AM DRIVING AND IF I WAS TO TRAVEL ON THE INTERSTATE AT 70 MPH AND IT WAS TO OPEN IT COULD CAUSE MY BACK WINDOW TO BREAK OR FLY OFF AND HIT ANOTHER CAR CAUSING INJURIES. LAST YEAR DURING THE NIGHT WE HAD HEAVY RAIN THE WHOLE NIGHT AND WHEN I GOT UP IT WAS STILL RAINING HARD AND I NOTICED AFTER GOING OUT THE TRUNK WAS OPEN WIDE. THE MAT IN THE TRUNK WAS SOAKING WET, BACK AND FRONT MATS AND INSIDE WHERE THE TIRE GOES HAD A LITTLE ONE 2 FEET OF WATER. I CANNOT GIVE THE DATES FOR ALL OF THE TIME EXCEPT 4 WHICH WAS ON 10-14-14 WHERE FORD KIA HAD TO REMOVE THE WATER AND DRY OUT PARTS. I WAS STUCK WITH THE BILL IN WHICH I HAVE THE BILL AND IN OCTOBER 8, 17, 24 NOVEMBER 4,12,19,27. DECEMBER 10,15.18 22, 24.31. JANUARY 2015 2, 8,15,17,18. I HAVE CONTACTED THE DEALERSHIP HERE ABOUT IT AND I WAS TOLD THERE WAS NOTHING THAT COULD BE DONE AND I TOLD THEM THAT THE PEOPLE THAT LIVED NEXT DOOR HAD A WIRELESS KEY THAT THEY COULD OPEN, TURN ON MY LIGHTS INSIDE AND OUT AND A COUPLE THAT LIVED TWO DOORS DOWN HAD A CAR AND WHEN THEY MOVED IN THAT HE COULD OPEN HIS DOORS AND SUCH WHICH WOULD UNLOCK MY DOORS AND TURN ON THE LIGHTS AND OPEN THE TRUNK AND THEY SAID AT THE SHOP THAT THE FREQ ON MY CAR CANNOT BE CHANGED. IT SEEMS THAT I GOT A CAR THAT MANY OF THE PEOPLE CAN COME AND TRY THEIR KEY AND GET INSIDE AND JUST PUSH THE BUTTON AND TAKE OFF. IT HAPPENS DURING SETTING AND DRIVING SO THE SPEED I CANNOT STATE RIGHT.

View Details

STEERING

1/18/2015 - BOISE, ID
UNABLE TO STEER THE VEHICLE IN A STRAIGHT LINE AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. CAR CONSISTENTLY DRIFTS FROM LEFT TO RIGHT AND RIGHT TO LEFT. STEERING WHEELS FEELS AS THOUGH IT BECOMES LOCKED IN POSITION. AS YOU ATTEMPT TO CORRECT THE STEERING, THE STEERING WHEEL RANDOMLY BREAKS FREE CAUSING OVER CORRECTING WHICH COULD VERY EASILY RESULT IN A CRASH. HAS BEEN TAKEN TO THE DEALERS AND THEY SAY THE CAR IS WITHIN SPECS AND YOU DON'T HAVE ANY WARNING LIGHTS ON SO THEREFORE THERE IS NO PROBLEM WITH IT. THIS IS GOING TO RESULT IN SOMEONE LOSING THEIR LIFE.

View Details

STEERING

1/6/2015 - WHITE PLAINS, NY
ELECTRIC POWER STEERING INTERMITTENTLY MALFUNCTIONS AT HIGHWAY SPEED CAUSING A SNAPPING SENSATION IN THE STEERING WHEEL AND INABILITY TO HOLD A A STEADY HEADING. STEERING BECOMES STICKY REQUIRING G CONSTANT ADJUSTMENTS AS THE CAR DRIFTS FROM ONE STICKY HEADING TO ANOTHER. DEALER REPEATEDLY UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE.

View Details

STEERING

1/5/2015 - NORTH CHESTERFIELD, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA OPTIMA. WHILE DRIVING BETWEEN 60-65 MPH, THE VEHICLE SWERVED INDEPENDENTLY TOWARDS THE LEFT AND WITHOUT WARNING. THE DEALER STATED THAT THERE WAS NO FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 23,682. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

12/31/2014 - GRAY, TN
I WAS DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE. HAD BEEN DRIVING FOR ABOUT 40 MINUTES WHEN I WAS ON THE INTERSTATE GOING UP A SMALL HILL AND TRIED TO ACCELERATE IN SPEED AND MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND MY CAR STARTED JUMPING AND THEN WOULD NOT KEEP THE SPEED I WAS AT. THE SPEED IN MY CAR KEPT DESCENDING. IT WASNT UNTIL I WAS GOING 30 MPH BEFORE I COULD GET OVER INTO THE SLOW LANE TO THEN GET IN THE EMERGENCY LANE. I HAD THE CAR TOWED FROM WHERE IT BROKE DOWN IN BAILEYTON TN TO BRISTOL TN WHICH IS ABOUT A 50 MIN DRIVE AND WAS THEN TOLD THEY WOULD NOT BE GIVING ME A LOANER CAR AND IT HADNT EVEN BEEN 1 MONTH SINCE I PURCHASED CAR.. NO ONE SEEMS TO BE WILLING TO HELP. THEY SAID THEY WILL NOT TRADE MY CAR IN FOR A DIFFERENT CAR EVEN THO THEY CLAIM THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE.... GRRRRRRRRR!!!!!!!!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds