Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA OPTIMA - 2012 KIA OPTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 172 complaints filed for the 2012 KIA OPTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 KIA OPTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 KIA OPTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Unknown Or Other (9)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (12) Steering (62) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Electrical System (17) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (1) Structure (7) Visibility (11)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Seats (4) Suspension (10) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (23) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (10) Tires (7) Wheels (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

4/28/2016 - WEST CHESTER, PA
AT 60,100 MILES THE ENGINE FAILED. NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT NO OIL LIGHT EVER CAME ON. I HAVE AN EXTENDED WARRANTY THAT DENIED IT ALONG WITH KIA CORPORATE. PREMATURE ENGINE FAILURE. MAINTAINED TO KIA STANDARDS AS WELL WITH OIL CHANGES. WITH EVERY OIL CHANGE I WAS TOLD THE OIL WAS FINE AND NOTHING SEEMED WRONG OR AMISS WITH THE OIL IN THE CAR. I TOOK MY CAR TO HAVE AN OIL CHANGE THE DAY BEFORE MY ENGINE BLEW. I WAS DRIVING TO WORK WHEN IT MADE A VERY LOUD KNOCKING NOISE AND I WAS UNABLE TO MAKE IT TO WORK. I HAD THE CAR TOWED IMMEDIATELY TO THE NEAREST DEALERSHIP. I HAVE OWNED THE CAR FOR 18 MONTHS AS THE SECOND OWNER. I AM STILL MAKING PAYMENTS.

View Details

ENGINE

4/25/2016 - CINCINNATI, OH
WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY AT APPX 60MPH THE CAR SUDDENLY STOPPED ON US, AND ALL OF THE INDICATOR LIGHTS ON THE DASHBOARD CAME ON-FOR THE FIRST TIME EVER. THERE WAS NO KNOCKING SOUND PRIOR TO THIS HAPPENING (WE FOUND OUT THERE SHOULD HAVE BEEN AFTER TAKING THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP) AFTER HAVING THE CAR TOWED TO OUR KIA DEALERSHIP, WE WERE INFORMED THAT THE ENGINE HAD SEIZED, BUT THERE WAS OIL IN THE CAR. I AM NOW HAVING TO REPLACE THE ENTIRE ENGINE. AFTER READING MULTIPLE STORIES OF THIS HAPPENING TO OTHER PEOPLE AS WELL, IT SOUNDS LIKE KIA NEEDS TO ISSUE A RECALL.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/19/2016 - GRIFFITH, IN
I OWN A 2012 KIA OPTIMA ON APRIL 5, 2016 I WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK AND MY SUNROOF EXPLODED. AT THE TIME I WAS DRIVING ON CLINE AVENUE (912). I WAS NOT DOING ANYTHING OUT OF THE NORMAL. THERE WERE NO CAR AROUND ME TO HIT ME THERE WAS NO FALLING DEBRIS FROM ANYWHERE. I HEARD A LOUD EXPLOSION SOUND AND WHEN I LOOKED UP I SAW MY SUNROOF WITH A HUGE HOLE AND TWO MORE LOUD POPS CAME AFTER THAT. SINCE THAT TIME I HAVE CONTACTED KIA USA THE CORPORATE HEADQUARTERS AND HAVE NOT GOTTEN ANYWHERE WITH THEM. THEY HAVE NOT OWNED UP TO THE FACT THAT THIS IS HAPPENING IN THEIR VEHICLES (2011 -2015). I DISCOVERED THIS WHILE RESEARCHING ON LINE. ONCE THE EXPLOSION HAPPENED I CONTACTED THE DEALERSHIP WHERE I PURCHASED IT AND WHERE I HAVE IT SERVICED ON A REGULAR BASIS. THEY HELD MY CAR FROM MONDAY, APRIL 11, 2016 UNTIL FRIDAY, APRIL 15, 2016. NOTHING WAS DONE TO IT. THEY CLAIM THAT THEY WERE INSTRUCTED TO HOLD IT SO THEY COULD AN INVESTIGATION OF THE CAR. I HAVE GIVEN 3 DEPOSITIONS OVER THE PHONE TO KIA WITH A PROMISE THAT SOMEONE WOULD GET BACK TO ME SOON. THAT HAS NOT HAPPENED YET. IN THE MEAN TIME I HAD TO GIVE THE DEALER SHIP A DEPOSIT SO THEY COULD ORDER THE GLASS TO FIX THE SUNROOF. THEY ARE TELLING ME THAT IT WILL COST $440.00 FOR THE CLASS AND $80.00 DOLLARS LABOR. THIS MAY NOT SEEM LIKE MUCH, BUT TO ME IT IS AND I FEEL LIKE THIS IS KIA'S RESPONSIBILITY. WHEN I WAS DOING MY RESEARCH ON-LINE I FOUND ARTICLE OF OTHERS CAR MAKERS HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM BUT THEY PAID FOR THE REPAIRS. I WAS TOLD THAT MY WARRANTY DOES NOT COVER GLASS AND SINCE THE TOTAL COST IS $520 AND MY INSURANCE DEDUCTIBLE IS $500. SO THIS IS MONEY I HAVE TO PAY OUT OF MY POCKET AND PRESENTLY I AM DRIVING AROUND WITH A PIECE OF PLASTIC FOR A ROOF.

View Details

STEERING

4/18/2016 - BOYNTON BEACH, FL
THE STEERING WHEEL MAKES A CLICKING SOUND AND STICKS EVERY TIME I TURN THE STEERING WHEEL. WHILE DRIVING IT CAN BE A CHALLENGE TO STEER WITH THE STEERING WHEEL AS IT WILL GRAB AND MAKE THAT CLICKING NOISE AND YOU HAVE TO USE SOME FORCE TO STEER.

View Details

STEERING

4/13/2016 - HARPER, TX
THE FIRST THING WOULD HAVE TO BE THE STEERING WHEEL LIKE IT HAS BEEN NOTED BEFORE WHEN YOU SIT STILL IT HAS A CLICKING SOUND. AND ALL DRIVING THE HIGHWAY AT 75 MILES AN HOUR IT STICKS AND YOU HAVE TO JERK IT BACK WITCH IS NO SAFE I HAVE HAD IT ALIGNED MANY TIMES BUT DOES NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. MY CAR HAS 112,113 MILES ON I TAKE CARE OF REPLACE THING THAT NEED TO DONE AND OIL CHANGES EVERY 3,000 WELL AFTER I HIT THE 100,000 MARK MY CAR SOUNDS LIKE IT HAS NO OIL .. ARE I HAVE SEEN ON THE INTERNET THAT IT SOUNDS LIKE YOUR RPMS ARE REALLY HIGH BUT THERE NOT ... IT STARTS WHEN I'M GOING 20 MPH ANOTHER THING THAT IS WEIRD WHEN I'M TURNING LEFT THE NOISE GOES AWAY

View Details

ENGINE

4/13/2016 - HARPER, TX
THE FIRST THING WOULD HAVE TO BE THE STEERING WHEEL LIKE IT HAS BEEN NOTED BEFORE WHEN YOU SIT STILL IT HAS A CLICKING SOUND. AND ALL DRIVING THE HIGHWAY AT 75 MILES AN HOUR IT STICKS AND YOU HAVE TO JERK IT BACK WITCH IS NO SAFE I HAVE HAD IT ALIGNED MANY TIMES BUT DOES NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. MY CAR HAS 112,113 MILES ON I TAKE CARE OF REPLACE THING THAT NEED TO DONE AND OIL CHANGES EVERY 3,000 WELL AFTER I HIT THE 100,000 MARK MY CAR SOUNDS LIKE IT HAS NO OIL .. ARE I HAVE SEEN ON THE INTERNET THAT IT SOUNDS LIKE YOUR RPMS ARE REALLY HIGH BUT THERE NOT ... IT STARTS WHEN I'M GOING 20 MPH ANOTHER THING THAT IS WEIRD WHEN I'M TURNING LEFT THE NOISE GOES AWAY

View Details

STEERING

4/8/2016 - WARETOWN, NJ
AS REPORTED IN MANY PREVIOUS COMPLAINTS, WHEN I DRIVE AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS, THE STEERING WHEEL GETS "STUCK" AND STIFFENS AND JERKS, REQUIRING ME TO TURN THE STEERING WHEEL BACK TO CENTER SO THAT I CAN DRIVE STRAIGHT AHEAD. IT'S VERY DANGEROUS AND VERY TIRING. THE KIA SERVICE MANAGER SAID THIS IS THE WAY THE ELECTRONIC POWER STEERING IS SUPPOSED TO WORK AND I HAVE TO "LIVE WITH IT". I HAVE HAD THIS CAR FOR 4 YEARS, HAVE 33,000 MILES, AND THIS PROBLEM ONLY JUST STARTED. THE KIA USA CONSUMER ASSISTANCE AGENT SAID THERE'S NOTHING KIA CAN DO, IT OPERATES AS DESIGNED. HE SAID MANY OF THEIR CUSTOMERS LOVE THE WAY THE ELECTRONIC STEERING HANDLES. REALLY? WHAT'S TO LOVE ABOUT NOT BEING ABLE TO CONTROL THE STEERING OF YOUR CAR ON THE HIGHWAY AT 65-75 MPH??? THIS IS A TRAVESTY ON KIA'S PART. I NOTICE THAT THERE ARE MANY COMPLAINTS ON THIS WEB SITE ABOUT THIS PROBLEM, AND ZERO INVESTIGATIONS. HOW MANY COMPLAINTS DOES IT TAKE TO INITIATE AN INVESTIGATION? DOES THERE HAVE TO BE A MAJOR AUTO ACCIDENT TO GET ANYONE TO ACKNOWLEDGE THAT THERE'S A DESIGN PROBLEM?

View Details

STEERING

4/6/2016 - MUNCIE, IN
WHEN DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS, THE STEERING WHEEL FEELS LIKE IT STICKS AND IT TAKES A BIT OF FORCE TO BREAK IT FREE. IT IS ALSO NEARLY IMPOSSIBLE TO KEEP IT GOING STRAIGHT DOWN THE ROAD. YOU MUST CONTINUOUSLY KEEP ADJUSTING THE STEERING WHEEL TO STAY IN YOUR LANE. I DID SOME SEARCHING AND THERE ARE A LOT OF COMPLAINTS ON THIS PROBLEM. I DON'T INK THIS IS SAFE AND SHOULD BE FIXED. I TOLD THE DEALER ABOUT IT, BUT THEY SAID THEY DIDN'T FIND ANY MECHANICAL ISSUES AND MAYBE IT WAS THE ALIGNMENT. I HAD ALREADY HAD THE ALIGNMENT CHECKED, WHICH WAS OK. THEY SAID MAYBE IT WAS THE TIRES. I BOUGHT NEW TIRES WHICH DIDN'T HELP. I HAVE HAD THE CAR FOR ABOUT 1.5 YEARS, BUT DIDN'T REALLY DRIVE IT A LOT ON THE HIGHWAY. THIS ISN'T NEARLY AS NOTICEABLE WHEN DRIVING AT IN TOWN SPEEDS, JUST AT NORMAL HIGHWAY SPEEDS.

View Details

VISIBILITY: WINDSHIELD

4/6/2016 - SEBRING, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA OPTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE WINDSHIELD AREA NEAR THE VEHICLES ANTENNA WAS FRACTURED AND DETERIORATING. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT ONLY THE FIRST LAYER ON THE REAR WINDSHIELD WAS FRACTURED AS LARGE THE SIZE OF A BASEBALL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 47,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

WHEELS

4/5/2016 - FORT MYERS, FL
I HAVE A KNOCKING SOUND IN MY STEERING WHEEL. THE NOISE HAPPENS WHEN I TURN THE WHEEL BACK AND FORTH. ALSO, I HAVE NOTICED AN ODD GRINDING/SLIPPING SENSATION IN THE FRONT LEFT WHEEL WHEN I ACCELERATE ON A RIGHT TURN FROM DIFFERENT ELEVATIONS. PULLING OUT OF A PARKING LOT ON A "DECLINE" WHILE ACCELERATING TO THE RIGHT TO ENTER TRAFFIC IS A GOOD EXAMPLE. 73,000 MILES CURRENTLY BUT I'VE NOTICED THE GRIND/SLIP A LOWER MILEAGE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds