Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA OPTIMA - 2012 KIA OPTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 235 complaints filed for the 2012 KIA OPTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 KIA OPTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 KIA OPTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Unknown Or Other (12)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (15) Steering (90) Vehicle Speed Control (13)
Electrical System (23) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (1) Structure (10) Visibility (11)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Seats (4) Suspension (11) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (47) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (11) Tires (7) Wheels (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

1/20/2017 - WOODBRIDGE, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA OPTIMA. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND THE CHECK ENGINE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO BE REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 75,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/19/2017 - PASADENA, TX
SUNROOF SHATTERED WHILE DRIVING

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/19/2017 - PASADENA, TX
SUNROOF SHATTERED WHILE DRIVING

View Details

STEERING

1/17/2017 - CARROLLTON, TX
COLUMN SHAKED AND RATTLED WHEN I WENT OVER BUMPS OR MADE TURNS, THE DEALER, CLASSIC KIA IN LEWISVILLE TX, CHARGED ME $689 TO REPAIR. PER MY INTERNET SEARCH THIS IS A KNOWN PROBLEM AND TAKES APPROXIMATELY 45 MINUTES TO REPAIR AND THE PART COST A MAX OF $15

View Details

ENGINE

11/25/2016 - POWDER SPRINGS, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA OPTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS EXCESSIVE SMOKE AND A PREMATURE BUILD UP OF ENGINE SLUDGE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER MORE THAN TWICE FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING AND ADVISED THAT THE MOTOR BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A MECHANIC FOR INSPECTION. THE MANUFACTURER PROVIDED NO SOLUTION TO PREVENT THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/22/2016 - MEMPHIS, TN
I TOOK CAR IN FOR THE CLICKING NOISE IN STEERING WHEEL. WHILE CAR WAS UP INAIR ON STANDS. THE REP STATED THEIR WAS A SMALL LEAK COMING FROM THE TURBO OIL FEED LINE. HOWEVER IT WAS NOT COVER UNDER WARRANTY BECAUSE ITS NOT THE TURBO. I TOLD THE IT IS IF ITS FEEDING THE OIL. I DID SOME RESEARCH ON THE PROBLEM AND FOUND THAT IT IS A COMMON ISSUE WITH ALL OF THEIR CARS AND THEY ARE REFUSING TO FIX THE ISSUE. I TOLD THE REP THAT IF THE OIL CAUSES A BURNING SMELL IT CAN CAUSE A FIRE. I WAS TOLD THE MANAGER WOULD CALL ME BUT NOW THEY ARE NOT TAKING MY CALLS ABOUT REPLACING THE LINE TO THE TURBO.

View Details

STEERING

11/22/2016 - MEMPHIS, TN
I TOOK CAR IN FOR THE CLICKING NOISE IN STEERING WHEEL. WHILE CAR WAS UP INAIR ON STANDS. THE REP STATED THEIR WAS A SMALL LEAK COMING FROM THE TURBO OIL FEED LINE. HOWEVER IT WAS NOT COVER UNDER WARRANTY BECAUSE ITS NOT THE TURBO. I TOLD THE IT IS IF ITS FEEDING THE OIL. I DID SOME RESEARCH ON THE PROBLEM AND FOUND THAT IT IS A COMMON ISSUE WITH ALL OF THEIR CARS AND THEY ARE REFUSING TO FIX THE ISSUE. I TOLD THE REP THAT IF THE OIL CAUSES A BURNING SMELL IT CAN CAUSE A FIRE. I WAS TOLD THE MANAGER WOULD CALL ME BUT NOW THEY ARE NOT TAKING MY CALLS ABOUT REPLACING THE LINE TO THE TURBO.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/22/2016 - MEMPHIS, TN
I TOOK CAR IN FOR THE CLICKING NOISE IN STEERING WHEEL. WHILE CAR WAS UP INAIR ON STANDS. THE REP STATED THEIR WAS A SMALL LEAK COMING FROM THE TURBO OIL FEED LINE. HOWEVER IT WAS NOT COVER UNDER WARRANTY BECAUSE ITS NOT THE TURBO. I TOLD THE IT IS IF ITS FEEDING THE OIL. I DID SOME RESEARCH ON THE PROBLEM AND FOUND THAT IT IS A COMMON ISSUE WITH ALL OF THEIR CARS AND THEY ARE REFUSING TO FIX THE ISSUE. I TOLD THE REP THAT IF THE OIL CAUSES A BURNING SMELL IT CAN CAUSE A FIRE. I WAS TOLD THE MANAGER WOULD CALL ME BUT NOW THEY ARE NOT TAKING MY CALLS ABOUT REPLACING THE LINE TO THE TURBO.

View Details

STEERING

11/21/2016 - LEAGUE CITY, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA OPTIMA. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE STEERING COLUMN VIBRATED AND A LOUD NOISE WAS HEARD. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO STATED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN WOULD NEED TO BE REMOVED IN ORDER TO DIAGNOSE THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 52,827. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

STEERING

11/15/2016 - PRESTON, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA OPTIMA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL MADE A LOUD CLUNKING NOISE AND BEGAN TO SHAKE UNCONTROLLABLY WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 98,696.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds