Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA OPTIMA - 2012 KIA OPTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors Corporation

There are 79 complaints filed for the 2012 KIA OPTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 KIA OPTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 KIA OPTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Seats (4) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Service Brakes (8) Suspension (8) Visibility (3)
Electrical System (7) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes Air (1) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (3)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Power Train (9) Steering (27) Unknown Or Other (3) Wheels (3)
Engine (5) Seat Belts (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

TIRES

3/25/2014 - HIGHLAND PARK, NJ
2012 KIA OPTIMA. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO STRUCTURAL DEFECT IN VEHICLE TIRES. THE CONSUMER STATED WHILE PULLING AWAY FROM A STOP SIGN ON A SNOW COVERED, BUT PLOWED STREET, THE VEHICLE WENT INTO A VERY DANGEROUS SKID IN A BUSY INTERSECTION. HE COMPLETELY LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE GOING 5 MPH. FORTUNATELY, THERE WERE NO CARS OR PEDESTRIANS NEARBY, BUT WHILE THE CAR WAS SKIDDING, HE CRASHED INTO THE DIAGONAL STREET CORNER WHICH CAUSED THE REAR FENDER TO BE SCRAPED AND THE TIRES MISALIGNED. THERE WERE SEVERAL OTHER OCCASIONS, WHERE THE VEHICLE SKIDDED AND HYDROPLANED ALWAYS CAUSING HIM TO LOSE CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONSUMER ALSO NOTICED A BULGE IN THE REAR TIRE THAT DID NOT HIT THE CURB.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

3/18/2014 - VALRICO, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA OPTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED IN A RESIDENTIAL GARAGE, THE SUNROOF EXPLODED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS BEING DIAGNOSED AND REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED ABOUT THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 38,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

STEERING

3/14/2014 - MADISON, WI
VEHICLE STEERING WHEEL CONTROL HAS ABNORMAL NONFLUENT CONSISTANCY. THE DRIVER HAS TO CONTINUOUSLY CORRECT STEERING TO CONTINUE TO KEEP THE VEHICLE TRAVELING STRIAGHT, OTHERWISE VEHICLE WILL START TO DRIFT IMMEDIATELY. WHEN CORRECTION IS MADE TO KEEP VEHICLE TRAVELING STRAIGHT, STEERING WHEEL HAS TO BE TURNED WITH MORE THAN NORMAL FORCE, WHICH THEN RESULTS TO A OVERSTEERING RESPONSE DUE TO THE UNCAPABILITY OF MAKING A MINOR ADJUSTMENT. THIS CONTINUES TO MAKE VEHICLE TO DRIFT FROM SIDE TO SIDE EXCESSIVELY WHILE DRIVING WHICH IN TURN CAN MAKE THE DRIVER APPEAR IMPAIRRED OR DISTRACTED. THE PROBLEM IS FELT IN THE STEERING WHEEL CAUSING THE WHEEL TO STICK IN PLACE NEAR CENTER PLACEMENT. FOR EXAMPLE, IT IS LIKE RIDING A BIKE ON PAVEMENT THEN TRANSITIONING TO MUD, ONE HAS TO APPLY MORE PEDDLING MOTION TO GET THROUGH THE MUD, AND WHEN THEY ARE BACK ON PAVEMENT SUDDENLY, THEY JUMP TO AN UNEXPECTED SPEED, FASTER THEN WHAT THEY INTENDED. THIS IS HOW THE STEERING REACTS TO MINOR ADJUSTMENTS THAT NEED EXTRA FORCE TO UNSTICK THE STEERING WHEEL WHICH CONCLUDES THAT THE ELECTRIC-ASSISTED POWER STEERING IS NOT FUNCTIONING PROPERLY. THE VEHICLE'S AIR PRESSURE IN ALL 4 TIRES ARE EQUAL AND AT 35PSI, WHEELS ARE PROPERLY BALANCED ANLIGNMENT IS AT MANUFACTUERS SPECIFICATIONS. THIS PROBLEM DID NOT EXSIST WHEN THE CAR WAS BOUGHT NEW (BECAUSE NO ONE WOULD BUY A $30,000 CAR THAT DOES NOT DRIVE STRAIGHT) AND JUST CURRENTLY STARTED TO ACT UP.

View Details

STEERING

2/28/2014 - GREEN BAY, WI
AT, HIGHWAY SPEEDS, THE STEERING WHEEL SEEMS TO STICK WHEN MAKING MINOR CORRECTIONS. IT IS VERY ANNOYING AND TIRING ON THE ARMS. GOING AROUND CORNERS OR BENDS IN THE ROAD IT SEEMS FINE THOUGH. IT ONLY HAPPENS AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS MAKING MINOR CORRECTIONS IN THE LANE. THIS IS SOMETHING KIA SHOULD TAKE A SERIOUS LOOK AT BECAUSE IT SEEMS LIKE A LOT OF THE COMPLAINTS ARE AROUND THIS ISSUE. I PUT 10,000 MILES BUT IT HAS BEEN HAPPING SINCE WE BOUGHT THE CAR NEW AND IT CURRENTLY HAS 16,000. HAVE NOT HAD DEALER LOOK AT IT YET.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/28/2014 - MCKINNEY, TX
WIFE WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK IN EARLY EVENING ON NORMAL DAILY COMMUTER ROUTER WHEN VERY LOUD EXPLOSION NOISE. INCIDENT SCARED WIFE ENOUGH THAT SHE CALLED HUSBAND FOR ADVICE ON SITUATION. SUNROOF SHATTERED. NO OVERPASSES WITHIN SEVERAL MILES AT TIME OF INCIDENT. NO FLYING ROAD DEBRIS. NOTHING UNUSUAL ABOUT CIRCUMSTANCES. REPORTED INCIDENT TO KIA DEALERSHIP AND TOOK CAR IN FOR REPAIRS. REPAIRS TOOK ABOUT 2 WEEKS BECAUSE "NO SUNROOF IN STOCK". RECEIVED CALL FROM KIA CORPORATE OFFICE REGARDING INCIDENT AFTER 2 OR 3 DAYS ASKING FOR DETAILS. JUST AFTER PICKING UP THE REPAIRED CAR, RECEIVED CALL AND SUSPICIOUS LETTER (EMAIL) ASKING FOR US TO SIGN AND RETURN ESSENTIALLY A LIABILITY RELEASE. WE DID NOT SIGN IT. SUSPECT THAT KIA CORPORATE INTENDED TO HAVE US SIGN LETTER BEFORE RETURNING THE CAR TO US.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/13/2014 - KISSIMMEE, FL
VEHICLE HAD RANDOM ABNORMAL JERKING, BUCKING AND CLUNKING BY THE TRANSMISSION DURING NORMAL ACCELERATION, WHICH CAUSES ABNORMAL DECELERATION. THIS COULD CAUSE AN ISSUE WITH NORMAL DRIVING AND CAN CAUSE A REAR END ACCIDENT. THE CAUSE OF THIS AFTER VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, IS THE TRANSMISSION TEMPERATURE RELAY. APPARENTLY THE MECHANIC ADVISED THAT OTHER VEHICLES HAVE BEEN BROUGHT IN WITH THE SAME RELAY ISSUE AND THERE HAS BEEN NO RECALLS ON THE PART.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/10/2014 - SAN DIEGO, CA
MAKING A CALL WITH MY BLUETOOTH EQUIPPED IN THE VEHICLE, LOOKED DOWN TO VERIFY CONNECTION, BY THE TIME I LOOKED UP I WAS A FOOT AWAY FROM A PARKED VEHICLE, I SWERVED AS TO THE LEFT AS MUCH AS I COULD BUT IT WAS TOO LATE, I SLAMMED INTO THE VEHICLE CAUSING DAMAGE, MY HOOD AND ENGINE WERE PRACTICALLY CRUSHED IN AND ALONG THE PASSENGER SIDE OF MY VEHICLE, MY CAR CAME TO A HAULT BEFORE JUMPING OVER THE MEDIAN. NONE OF AIRBAGS DEPLOYED. I WAS GOING SPEED OF 50-60 MILES PER HOUR.

View Details

ENGINE

2/10/2014 - SAN DIEGO, CA
MAKING A CALL WITH MY BLUETOOTH EQUIPPED IN THE VEHICLE, LOOKED DOWN TO VERIFY CONNECTION, BY THE TIME I LOOKED UP I WAS A FOOT AWAY FROM A PARKED VEHICLE, I SWERVED AS TO THE LEFT AS MUCH AS I COULD BUT IT WAS TOO LATE, I SLAMMED INTO THE VEHICLE CAUSING DAMAGE, MY HOOD AND ENGINE WERE PRACTICALLY CRUSHED IN AND ALONG THE PASSENGER SIDE OF MY VEHICLE, MY CAR CAME TO A HAULT BEFORE JUMPING OVER THE MEDIAN. NONE OF AIRBAGS DEPLOYED. I WAS GOING SPEED OF 50-60 MILES PER HOUR.

View Details

SUSPENSION

2/10/2014 - SAN DIEGO, CA
MAKING A CALL WITH MY BLUETOOTH EQUIPPED IN THE VEHICLE, LOOKED DOWN TO VERIFY CONNECTION, BY THE TIME I LOOKED UP I WAS A FOOT AWAY FROM A PARKED VEHICLE, I SWERVED AS TO THE LEFT AS MUCH AS I COULD BUT IT WAS TOO LATE, I SLAMMED INTO THE VEHICLE CAUSING DAMAGE, MY HOOD AND ENGINE WERE PRACTICALLY CRUSHED IN AND ALONG THE PASSENGER SIDE OF MY VEHICLE, MY CAR CAME TO A HAULT BEFORE JUMPING OVER THE MEDIAN. NONE OF AIRBAGS DEPLOYED. I WAS GOING SPEED OF 50-60 MILES PER HOUR.

View Details

ENGINE

1/9/2014 - STAFFORD, VA
I NOTICED ON MONDAY THAT THE CAR SEEMED TO BE STRUGGLING WITH ACCELERATION. IT SEEMED TO BE SLOW AND SLUGGISH. I DROVE THE CAR HOME NOT EXCEEDING 40 MPH. NEXT MORNING WHEN STARTING THE VEHICLE THE DASHBOARD IS LIT UP WITH AN INDICATION OF ENGINE MALFUNCTION. I ONLY HAD TO DRIVE THE CAR A MILE SO I CONTINUED ON TO WORK BUT I HAD NO POWER AT ALL. THE CAR WAS STRUGGLING TO MAKE IT UP A SMALL HILL AND I HAD NO SPEED ON LEVEL GROUND. I AM AFRAID TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE AT THIS POINT. I HAVE SCHEDULED AN APPOINTMENT BUT THE NEXT QUESTION IS HOW MUCH IS THIS GOING TO COST? WOW I HAVE ONLY OWNED CAMRY'S FOR THE PAST 15 YEARS AND THOUGHT I WOULD TRY A KIA. THEY LOOK NICE. NOT SURE I WILL KEEP THIS VEHICLE MUCH LONGER.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds