Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA OPTIMA - 2012 KIA OPTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 304 complaints filed for the 2012 KIA OPTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 KIA OPTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 KIA OPTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Unknown Or Other (16)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (18) Steering (105) Vehicle Speed Control (18)
Electrical System (36) Exterior Lighting (3) Seat Belts (1) Structure (11) Visibility (12)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (15) Seats (4) Suspension (12) Visibility Wiper (8)
Engine (84) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (17) Tires (7) Wheels (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 39
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

12/27/2017 - EL SOBRANTE, CA
SINCE I GOT THE CAR IN MAY OF 2016, IT HAS MADE A CLICKING SOUND WHEN I TURN THE WHEEL. AS TIME HAS GONE ON THE SOUND IS GETTING LOUDER. I HAVE SEEN A NUMBER OF VIDEOS REGARDING THIS ISSUE. I BELIEVE IT IS SUGGESTED FOR THE PART TO BE REPLACED. I BELIEVE THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/20/2017 - OVIEDO, FL
BREAK LIGHTS STAY ON AT ALL TIMES WHEN PARKED AND EVEN WHEN IN MONTION EVERY TIME.

View Details

STEERING

12/16/2017 - SAN BERNARDINO, CA
WHEN EVER I TURN THE STEERING WHEEL RIGHT OR LEFT THERE IS A CLUNKING SOUND COMING FROM THE STEERING IT SEEMS LIKE THE STEERING COUPLER ON THIS CARS GO BAD WITHIN TIME. THIS HAPPENS ALL THE TIME IN MOTION OR NOT.

View Details

ENGINE

12/7/2017 - JACKSON, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2012 KIA OPTIMA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH, SMOKE WAS SUDDENLY PRESENT INSIDE THE VEHICLE. AFTER STOPPING THE VEHICLE, FLAMES WERE DISCOVERED UNDER THE VEHICLE. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS CALLED TO THE SCENE AND EXTINGUISHED THE FLAMES. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE CAUSE OF THE FIRE WAS NOT DETERMINED THE MANUFACTURER AND LOCAL DEALER (DIFEO KIA IN LAKEWOOD, NJ) WERE NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/29/2017 - ROSEMEAD, CA
1 STUMBLES ON ACCELERATION 2ACCELERATS WHEN SHIFTING REVERSE--DRIVE 3 ACCELERATES ON RIGHT HAND TURN .THESE PROBLEMS HAPPEN RANDOMLY IT.HAS. .HAPPENED 5 TIMES IN MOTIOM, CITY STREETS

View Details

ENGINE

11/29/2017 - ROSEMEAD, CA
1 STUMBLES ON ACCELERATION 2ACCELERATS WHEN SHIFTING REVERSE--DRIVE 3 ACCELERATES ON RIGHT HAND TURN .THESE PROBLEMS HAPPEN RANDOMLY IT.HAS. .HAPPENED 5 TIMES IN MOTIOM, CITY STREETS

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/28/2017 - OKLAHOMA CITY, OK
WHEN IN MOTION THERE IS A KNOCKING NOISE IN STEERING WHEEL THAT SOUNDS LIKE SOMETHING BROKEN INSIDE. ALSO MOTOR FOR RIGHT PASSENGER WINDOWS ON BOTH FRONT AND BACK SEAT DO NOT WORK AND FROM DRIVER'S PANEL.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/28/2017 - OKLAHOMA CITY, OK
WHEN IN MOTION THERE IS A KNOCKING NOISE IN STEERING WHEEL THAT SOUNDS LIKE SOMETHING BROKEN INSIDE. ALSO MOTOR FOR RIGHT PASSENGER WINDOWS ON BOTH FRONT AND BACK SEAT DO NOT WORK AND FROM DRIVER'S PANEL.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/21/2017 - BIRMINGHAM, AL
I FIRST NOTICED A PROBLEM WITH MY VEHICLE WHEN THE CRUISE CONTROL WOULD RANDOMLY DISENGAGE WHILE GOING DOWN THE INTERSTATE. THEN A COUPLE OF WEEKS LATER I WAS MAKING A LEFT TURN ACROSS A TWO LANES OF TRAFFIC ON A CITY STREET. WHEN I FIRST PUSHED THE ACCELERATOR THE CAR STARTED TO GO AND THEN SUDDENLY I LOST ALL ACCELERATION. I LET MY FOOT OFF THE ACCELERATOR AND THEN PUSHED BACK DOWN AND WAS ABLE TO GO. THIS WAS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION AS I WAS STUCK IN THE MIDDLE OF TWO LANES OF TRAFFIC FOR SEVERAL EXTRA SECONDS LONGER THAN NECESSARY. A SIMILAR SITUATION HAPPENED A COUPLE OF MORE TIME AND WHEN I PARKED THE VEHICLE AT HOME I NOTICED THAT BRAKE LIGHT WAS STAYING ON AFTER I GOT OUT OF THE CAR. I TOOK THE CAR TO THE LOCAL KIA DEALERSHIP AND THEY REPLACED THE BRAKE SENSOR WHICH FIXED ALL OF THE ABOVE PROBLEMS. I WOULD LIKE TO NOT THAT HYUNDAI ISSUED A RECALL ON THE NEARLY IDENTICAL SONATA FOR THIS SAME ISSUE AND DID SO YEARS AGO AND YET NOTHING FOR THE OPTIMA.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/21/2017 - BIRMINGHAM, AL
I FIRST NOTICED A PROBLEM WITH MY VEHICLE WHEN THE CRUISE CONTROL WOULD RANDOMLY DISENGAGE WHILE GOING DOWN THE INTERSTATE. THEN A COUPLE OF WEEKS LATER I WAS MAKING A LEFT TURN ACROSS A TWO LANES OF TRAFFIC ON A CITY STREET. WHEN I FIRST PUSHED THE ACCELERATOR THE CAR STARTED TO GO AND THEN SUDDENLY I LOST ALL ACCELERATION. I LET MY FOOT OFF THE ACCELERATOR AND THEN PUSHED BACK DOWN AND WAS ABLE TO GO. THIS WAS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION AS I WAS STUCK IN THE MIDDLE OF TWO LANES OF TRAFFIC FOR SEVERAL EXTRA SECONDS LONGER THAN NECESSARY. A SIMILAR SITUATION HAPPENED A COUPLE OF MORE TIME AND WHEN I PARKED THE VEHICLE AT HOME I NOTICED THAT BRAKE LIGHT WAS STAYING ON AFTER I GOT OUT OF THE CAR. I TOOK THE CAR TO THE LOCAL KIA DEALERSHIP AND THEY REPLACED THE BRAKE SENSOR WHICH FIXED ALL OF THE ABOVE PROBLEMS. I WOULD LIKE TO NOT THAT HYUNDAI ISSUED A RECALL ON THE NEARLY IDENTICAL SONATA FOR THIS SAME ISSUE AND DID SO YEARS AGO AND YET NOTHING FOR THE OPTIMA.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 39
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds