Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA OPTIMA - 2012 KIA OPTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 97 complaints filed for the 2012 KIA OPTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 KIA OPTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 KIA OPTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Power Train (9) Steering (30) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Communications (1) Equipment (1) Seat Belts (1) Structure (4) Visibility (4)
Electrical System (8) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seats (4) Suspension (8) Visibility Wiper (5)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes (8) Tires (7) Wheels (3)
Engine (7) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Unknown Or Other (9)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

9/30/2014 - DECATUR, GA
I WAS DRIVING HOME FROM GULF SHORES, AL TO ATLANTA, GA. I STOPPED AT A REST AREA. WHEN I STARTED MY CAR BACK UP THERE WAS KIND OF A BUZZING NOISE AS I ACCELERATED, BUT IT WOULD STOP ONCE I REACHED CRUISING SPEED. AFTER ABOUT 15 MILES DOWN THE ROAD FROM THE REST AREA, MY GAS PEDAL JUST STOPPED WORKING. THE CAR COASTED UNTIL IT LOST SPEED AND THEN JUST TURNED OFF. AFTER I WAS EVENTUALLY TOWED TO THE NEAREST KIA DEALERSHIP, I WAS TOLD THAT THE ENGINE HAD DIED AND I WOULD NEED TO HAVE A NEW ONE INSTALLED.

View Details

ENGINE

9/26/2014 - NEWMAN, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA OPTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. IN ADDITION, A STRONG ELECTRICAL BURNING ODOR EMITTED INSIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS. THE MECHANIC INFORMED THAT THE STARTER AND ASSOCIATED FUSES WERE COMPLETELY BURNT. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER THE REPAIRS WERE PERFORMED, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER WHO RECOMMENDED THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 55,000.

View Details

ENGINE

9/23/2014 - SICKLERVILLE, NJ
DRIVING VEHICLE AT 35-40 MPH. ALL OF A SUDDEN ENGINE STOPPED. THERE WAS HEAVY SMOKE COMING FROM UNDER THE HOOD AND SMELLED OF AN ELECTRICAL FIRE. SMOKE DISSIPATED AFTER 15 MINUTES. VEHICLE WAS UNABLE TO BE RESTARTED AND HAD TO BE TOWED TO KIA DEALERSHIP IN TURNERSVILLE NJ. SPOKE WITH DEALERSHIP ON 9/23 AND WAS TOLD STARTER AND ENGINE NEEDS TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/16/2014 - ARLINGTON, TN
KEY FOB WAS PLACED ON THE ROOF OF THE CAR TO ENABLE FEMALE ADULT TO PLACE CHILD INTO SAFETY BOOSTER SEAT. KEY FOB WAS LEFT ON ROOF BY ACCIDENT, BUT THE CAR WAS STILL ALLOWED TO START. THE CAR GAVE NO AUDIBLE WARNING THAT THE KEY WAS STILL OUTSIDE THE CAR. THE CAR WAS DRIVEN 10 MILES. IN THE INTERVENING TIME, THE KEY FOB FLEW OFF THE TOP OF THE CAR AND WAS LOST. NO AUDIBLE WARNING WAS GIVEN TO THE DRIVER THAT THE KEY LEFT THE CAR'S PROXIMITY. UPON ARRIVING AT THE DESTINATION, THE FEMALE ADULT AND HER CHILD WERE STRANDED.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/7/2014 - CLAYTON, NC
CRUISE CONTROL "CANCEL" BUTTON NEEDS REPEATED PUSHING TO ACTIVATE. A SINGLE PUSH OF THE CANCEL BUTTON ACTUALLY SEEMS TO ACCELERATE THE CAR.

View Details

TIRES

8/29/2014 - HARPERS FERRY, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA OPTIMA EQUIPPED WITH HANKOOK OPTIMO H431 TIRES, SIZE 225/45R 18V. WHILE DRIVING 20 MPH, THE TIRE GAUGE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC FOUND AN AIR BUBBLE IN THE REAR DRIVER SIDE TIRE. THE TIRE WAS NOT REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN AND DOT NUMBER WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE VEHICLE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 36,000 AND THE TIRE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 7,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/21/2014 - BOCA RATON , FL
MY SATELLITE RADIO HAS BEEN CUTTING IN AND OUT EVER SINCE I BOUGHT THE CAR. DEALER SAYS ANTENNAE WAS REPLACED. PROBLEM STILL EXISTS. I HAVE BROUGHT CAR BACK SEVERAL TIMES AND THEY WERE NOT ABLE TO DUPLICATE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

8/21/2014 - BOCA RATON , FL
I WAS ACCELERATING VEHICLE AN STABILITY LIGHT CAME ON AND CAR WOULD NOT ACCELLERATE. WHEN I TRIED A LOUD NOISE CAME FROM THE FRONT. DEALER SAYS NOTHING WAS WRONG.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/31/2014 - HENDERSON, NV
I HAVE HAD THIS VEHICLE FOR OVER 2 YEARS NOW AND HAVE ABOUT 30,000 MILES ON IT. I TOOK THIS CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP WITHIN A WEEK AFTER I BOUGHT IT FOR PROBLEMS WITH STEERING AND IT'S INABILITY TO STAY STRAIGHT ON THE ROAD WITHOUT HAVING TO CONTUNUALLY ADJUST THE STEERING WHEEL. I WAS TOLD THAT THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD FIND WRONG WITH IT. BUT AFTER FINDING THIS WEBSITE, I NOW UNDERSTAND THAT I AM NOT THE FIRST ONE TO HAVE THIS ISSUE. RECENTLY I HAVE HAD AN ISSUE WITH THE AIR CONDITIONER. IT WORKS FINE WHEN THE CAR IS DRIVING BUT WHEN IT IS STOPPED OR IDLING, THE AIR SUDDENLY BLOWS WARM AIR AND DOESN'T START TO BLOW COLD UNTIL A FEW SECONDS AFTER THE CAR HAS STARTED MOVING.

View Details

STEERING

7/31/2014 - HENDERSON, NV
I HAVE HAD THIS VEHICLE FOR OVER 2 YEARS NOW AND HAVE ABOUT 30,000 MILES ON IT. I TOOK THIS CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP WITHIN A WEEK AFTER I BOUGHT IT FOR PROBLEMS WITH STEERING AND IT'S INABILITY TO STAY STRAIGHT ON THE ROAD WITHOUT HAVING TO CONTUNUALLY ADJUST THE STEERING WHEEL. I WAS TOLD THAT THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD FIND WRONG WITH IT. BUT AFTER FINDING THIS WEBSITE, I NOW UNDERSTAND THAT I AM NOT THE FIRST ONE TO HAVE THIS ISSUE. RECENTLY I HAVE HAD AN ISSUE WITH THE AIR CONDITIONER. IT WORKS FINE WHEN THE CAR IS DRIVING BUT WHEN IT IS STOPPED OR IDLING, THE AIR SUDDENLY BLOWS WARM AIR AND DOESN'T START TO BLOW COLD UNTIL A FEW SECONDS AFTER THE CAR HAS STARTED MOVING.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds