Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA OPTIMA - 2012 KIA OPTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 239 complaints filed for the 2012 KIA OPTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 KIA OPTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 KIA OPTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Unknown Or Other (13)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (16) Steering (90) Vehicle Speed Control (13)
Electrical System (23) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (1) Structure (10) Visibility (11)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Seats (4) Suspension (11) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (50) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (11) Tires (7) Wheels (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

3/15/2017 - KENNEDY, AL
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY AND MY 2012 KIA OPTIMA LOST POWER WITH NO WARNING SIGNS. I HAD IT TOWED TO A MECHANIC ONLY TO FIND THAT THE MOTOR WAS LOCKED UP. DID I MENTION THAT I HAD JUST BOUGHT THE CAR FROM BOYLES AUTO SALES IN JASPER, ALABAMA ON FEBRUARY 3, 2017 AND THE CAR QUIT ON FEBRUARY 26, 2017 NOT EVEN 30 DAYS SINCE THE PURCHASE OF MY CAR. UNFORTUNELY, SINCE WE PAID CASH FOR THE CAR THE DEALER BASICLY TOLD US HE WOULDN'T DO ANYTHING. SO NOW I AM WITHOUT A VEHICLE AND HAVING TO FIND MORE MONEY TO REPLACE THE MOTOR IN THE CAR THAT THIS DEALER SOLD ME. AFTER FURTHER RESEARCH I HAVE LEARNED THAT KIA HAS PROBLEMS WITH THE KIA OPTIMA'S FOR SEVERAL YEARS AND THE 2012 THAT I PURCHASED IS INCLUDED. THE MECHANIC TOLD US THAT ALL THE COMPONENTS OF THE CAR THAT SHOULD HAVE OIL, WATER, ANY TYPE OF FLUID WAS FINE BUT THAT SOMETHING INTERNAL HAD STOPPED OPERATING AND CAUSED THE MOTOR TO LOCK UP.

View Details

ENGINE

3/15/2017 - KENNEDY, AL
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY AND MY 2012 KIA OPTIMA LOST POWER WITH NO WARNING SIGNS. I HAD IT TOWED TO A MECHANIC ONLY TO FIND THAT THE MOTOR WAS LOCKED UP. DID I MENTION THAT I HAD JUST BOUGHT THE CAR FROM BOYLES AUTO SALES IN JASPER, ALABAMA ON FEBRUARY 3, 2017 AND THE CAR QUIT ON FEBRUARY 26, 2017 NOT EVEN 30 DAYS SINCE THE PURCHASE OF MY CAR. UNFORTUNELY, SINCE WE PAID CASH FOR THE CAR THE DEALER BASICLY TOLD US HE WOULDN'T DO ANYTHING. SO NOW I AM WITHOUT A VEHICLE AND HAVING TO FIND MORE MONEY TO REPLACE THE MOTOR IN THE CAR THAT THIS DEALER SOLD ME. AFTER FURTHER RESEARCH I HAVE LEARNED THAT KIA HAS PROBLEMS WITH THE KIA OPTIMA'S FOR SEVERAL YEARS AND THE 2012 THAT I PURCHASED IS INCLUDED. THE MECHANIC TOLD US THAT ALL THE COMPONENTS OF THE CAR THAT SHOULD HAVE OIL, WATER, ANY TYPE OF FLUID WAS FINE BUT THAT SOMETHING INTERNAL HAD STOPPED OPERATING AND CAUSED THE MOTOR TO LOCK UP.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/14/2017 - JACKSONVILLE, NC
LEATHER ON DOOR HANDLES ARE PEELING.

View Details

ENGINE

2/7/2017 - GREENSBURG, PA
LOUD KNOCKING SOUND COMING FROM ENGINE, THEN CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. MADE TO DEALERSHIP AND DISCOVERED A BAD OIL PUMP CAUSED METAL TO FLOW INTO THE ENGINE AND WEAR THE CONNECTING RODS AND DESTROY THE ENGINE. KIA KNEW THERE WERE PROBLEMS WITH THE 2012 KIA OPTIMA 2.4L ENGINE AND YET DID NOTHING TO RECTIFY THE ISSUE. NOW THEY WANT ME TO PAY $6000 FOR A NEW ENGINE WHEN THEY KNEW THERE WAS AN ISSUE WITH THE 2012 OPTIMA ALL A LONG.

View Details

ENGINE

1/24/2017 - WYLIE, TX
CAR STALLED OUT AT 55 MPH WHILE EXITING OFF RAMP FROM HIGHWAY DURING MORNING RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC WITH FAMILY INSIDE. DASH LIT UP WITH ALL WARNING LIGHTS (BATTERY, OIL, CHECK ENGINE). WAS ABLE TO START THE CAR AGAIN AND CONTINUED DRIVING. THAT SAME AFTERNOON WHILE DRIVING HOME, STARTED HEARING A KNOCKING NOISE UNDER HOOD WHILE STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT. ONCE GREEN, I ACCELERATED IN WHICH THE KNOCKING BECAME FASTER/LOUDER. PULLED OVER AND LOOKED UNDER THE HOOD INCLUDING CHECKING THE OIL. DIP STICK SHOWED NORMAL LEVEL WITHOUT ANY SIGN OF DEBRIS. DROVE 1/2 A MILE TO MY HOUSE AT 30 MPH (POSTED SPEED LIMIT) IN WHICH THE KNOCKING WAS VERY DISTINCT. PARKED THE CAR. TODAY, HAD THE CAR TOWED BY AAA TO DEALERSHIP AFTER I CALLED AHEAD TO INFORM THEM OF THE ISSUE. PROVIDED A COPY OF THE EXTENDED WARRANTY LETTER THAT I HAD RECEIVED IN THE MAIL 6 MONTHS PRIOR REGARDING THE SHORT BLOCK ISSUE/FAILURE. APPEARS THAT THIS IS A CATASTROPHIC ENGINE FAILURE (AT 75K MILES) AND NOW DEALERSHIP IS WANTING ALL RECORDS RELATED TO OIL CHANGES. CAR CURRENTLY IN SHOP AWAITING FURTHER INSPECTION.

View Details

ENGINE

1/20/2017 - WOODBRIDGE, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA OPTIMA. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND THE CHECK ENGINE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO BE REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 75,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/19/2017 - PASADENA, TX
SUNROOF SHATTERED WHILE DRIVING

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/19/2017 - PASADENA, TX
SUNROOF SHATTERED WHILE DRIVING

View Details

STEERING

1/17/2017 - CARROLLTON, TX
COLUMN SHAKED AND RATTLED WHEN I WENT OVER BUMPS OR MADE TURNS, THE DEALER, CLASSIC KIA IN LEWISVILLE TX, CHARGED ME $689 TO REPAIR. PER MY INTERNET SEARCH THIS IS A KNOWN PROBLEM AND TAKES APPROXIMATELY 45 MINUTES TO REPAIR AND THE PART COST A MAX OF $15

View Details

ENGINE

11/25/2016 - POWDER SPRINGS, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA OPTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS EXCESSIVE SMOKE AND A PREMATURE BUILD UP OF ENGINE SLUDGE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER MORE THAN TWICE FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING AND ADVISED THAT THE MOTOR BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A MECHANIC FOR INSPECTION. THE MANUFACTURER PROVIDED NO SOLUTION TO PREVENT THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds