Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA OPTIMA - 2012 KIA OPTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 151 complaints filed for the 2012 KIA OPTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 KIA OPTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 KIA OPTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Unknown Or Other (7)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (11) Steering (53) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Electrical System (15) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (1) Structure (7) Visibility (10)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seats (4) Suspension (9) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (18) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (10) Tires (7) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

2/5/2016 - STAFFORD, TX
THE STEERING WHEEL IS LOOSE WHEN I HIT A BUMP FEELS LIKE THE CAR JUST WANTS TO TURN. SEEMS LIKE IF THE WHEEL COULD JUST LOCK UP OR WILL JUST COMPLETELY NOT TURN AT SOME POINT

View Details

ENGINE

2/3/2016 - DEER PARK, TX
DRIVING NORTH BOUND ON MAJOR HIGHWAY. CAR STARTS LOSING SPEED, I PULL OVER INTO A GAS STATION AND MY CAR DIES, IT RESTARTS INSTANTLY WITH NO SERVICE LIGHTS I CONTINUE DOWN THE ROAD ON THE SERVICE ROAD, THE CAR DIES AT A RED LIGHT. STARTS UP ONCE MORE. I HEAR A KNOCKING NOISE COMING FROM MY ENGINE. I WAS ABLE TO MAKE IT HOME BUT NOW THE NOISE IS MUCH LOUDER, ITS COMING FROM THE REAR OF THE ENGINE ON THE RIGHT SIDE. I TAKE IT INTO THE DEALERSHIP. THE CONNECTOR ROD TO A PISTON IS DESTROYED. THE CAR HAS PLENTY OF OIL. I'VE READ ON FORUMS MANY PEOPLE HAVE HAD THIS SAME PROBLEM.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/2/2016 - LAFAYETTE, LA
I WAS DRIVING ON I10 DRIVING 70 MPH TODAY AND MY SUNROOF EXPLODED. THE ROAD WAS SMOOTH. NOTHING SEEMED TO HIT ME, IT JUST EXPLODED, LIKE A LOUD GUNSHOT ABOVE MY HEAD.

View Details

STEERING

1/21/2016 - HOMESTEAD, FL
MOTOR DRIVEN POWER STEERING COUPLER REPLACEMENT NEEDED

View Details

ENGINE

1/21/2016 - FORKED RIVER, NJ
DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH ON THE PARKWAY, ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING AND WOULD NOT RE-START. I HAD THE CAR TOWED TO A SHOP WHERE THEY INFORMED ME THE ENGINE HAD SEIZED. THERE WAS DEFINITELY OIL IN THERE AS I HAD AN OIL CHANGE WITHIN THE LAST COUPLE OF WEEKS,. THE CAR HAS 72K MILES ON IT AND I AM THE SECOND OWNER SO NOT COVERED BY KIA'S NON-TRANSFERABLE 10YR/100K MI WARRANTY. WORKING WITH KIA CUSTOMER SERVICE, WAITING TO HEAR BACK FROM A SUPERVISOR.

View Details

STEERING

1/19/2016 - SAVANNAH, GA
TAKATA RECALL

View Details

ENGINE

1/15/2016 - PERKIOMENVILLE, PA
SUDDEN ENGINE FAILURE WITHOUT WARNING LIGHTS. KNOCKING SOUND. PARKED CAR AND HAD TOWED TO DEALER. CAR HAS 63,000 MILES ON IT. DRY OF OIL, AND OIL WAS CHANGED WITHIN PAST SIX WEEKS. SAME ENGINE (THETA II) FROM SAME PLANT (ALA) AS THE HYUNDAI SONATAS COVERED BY RECENT RECALL. SYMPTOMS ARE ALSO THE SAME. KIA REFUSING COVERAGE UNDER WARRANTY BECAUSE NOT ORIGINAL OWNER. WORKING THROUGH THEIR CONSUMER AFFAIRS TO ESCALATE. SO FAR, NO RESULTS. I BELIEVE WE ARE SEEING AN IDENTICAL PROBLEM IN MY CAR WITH IDENTICAL ENGINE TO SONATA AND KIA SHOULD FIX

View Details

STEERING

1/10/2016 - ORLANDO, FL
URGENT: STEERING WHEEL CONSTANTLY STICKS WHILE DRIVING. THIS IS A SAFETY HAZARD!!!!!!!!!! I SEE THERE ARE DOZENS AND DOZENS OF SIMILAR COMPLAINTS FROM OTHER OPTIMA OWNERS!!! DOES SOMEONE HAVE TO HAVE A FATAL ACCIDENT FOR THIS TO BECOME A RECALL ITEM ????

View Details

STEERING

1/3/2016 - DURHAM, NC
I'VE BEEN DRIVING MY CAR FOR SOME TIME NOW WHEN IT REACH 60,000 + MILES, I NOTICE THE CAR STEERING WOULD STICK WHEN SLIGHTLY TURN OR A FULL TURN. IT ALSO DRIFTS AND THERE IS A CLICKING NOISE WHEN THE STEERING WHEEL IS TURNING LEFT AND RIGHT . I HAD FRONT END LINE MEANT DONE. THAT DID NOT STOP THE NOISE OR STICKING STEERING COLUMN. THIS HAPPENS WHILE DRIVING OR SITTING.

View Details

STEERING

12/24/2015 - STAFFORD, VA
THE STEERING WHEEL STICKS, AND IT MAKES IT HARD TO KEEP THE CAR STRAIGHT. THERE'S NO SMOOTHNESS WHEN TURNING THE WHEEL. IT'S LIKE THE STEERING WHEEL TURNS IN INCREMENTS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds