Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA OPTIMA - 2012 KIA OPTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 196 complaints filed for the 2012 KIA OPTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 KIA OPTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 KIA OPTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Unknown Or Other (10)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (12) Steering (74) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Electrical System (18) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (1) Structure (8) Visibility (11)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Seats (4) Suspension (11) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (30) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (10) Tires (7) Wheels (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

7/23/2016 - SAINT CHARLES, IL
AT 60K MILES, STEERING HAS BECOME DIFFICULT TO MAINTAIN, STEERING COLUMN IS LOUD AND MAKES A POPPING NOISE, AND NOW THERE IS SOME TYPE OF CLUNK IN THE FRONT SUSPENSION THAT CAN BE HEARD WHEN STEERING ANGLE IS BEING ALTERED WHILE SIMULTANEOUSLY BRIDGING A BUMP. STEERING WHEEL STICKS AT SPEEDS ABOVE 55MPH, AND THUS OVER-STEERING IS NECESSARY IN ORDER TO MAINTAIN TRACKING. DEALER INFORMS ME THAT SOME $4 PLASTIC GEAR NEEDS REPLACING SOMEWHERE, BUT THAT IT WILL BE $400 IN LABOR TO REPLACE, BUT THEY CAN'T EVEN GUARANTEE REPLACING THIS PART WILL FIX THE ISSUE. WHAT A JOKE- THIS IS MY FIRST AND LAST KIA/HYUNDAI PRODUCT.

View Details

STEERING

7/23/2016 - SAINT CHARLES, IL
AT 60K MILES, STEERING HAS BECOME DIFFICULT TO MAINTAIN, STEERING COLUMN IS LOUD AND MAKES A POPPING NOISE, AND NOW THERE IS SOME TYPE OF CLUNK IN THE FRONT SUSPENSION THAT CAN BE HEARD WHEN STEERING ANGLE IS BEING ALTERED WHILE SIMULTANEOUSLY BRIDGING A BUMP. STEERING WHEEL STICKS AT SPEEDS ABOVE 55MPH, AND THUS OVER-STEERING IS NECESSARY IN ORDER TO MAINTAIN TRACKING. DEALER INFORMS ME THAT SOME $4 PLASTIC GEAR NEEDS REPLACING SOMEWHERE, BUT THAT IT WILL BE $400 IN LABOR TO REPLACE, BUT THEY CAN'T EVEN GUARANTEE REPLACING THIS PART WILL FIX THE ISSUE. WHAT A JOKE- THIS IS MY FIRST AND LAST KIA/HYUNDAI PRODUCT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/22/2016 - HEBRON, OH
AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON AND TOOK CAR TO DEALER. CLOCK SPRING IS FAULTY AND NEEDS REPLACED. COST TO REPLACE IS $350 ACCORDING TO KIA DEALERSHIP. I'VE READ THAT KIA HAS HAD A RECALL FOR THIS ON PRIOR MODELS AND WANT TO FILE A COMPLAINT. CAR ONLY HAS 74K MILES AND SHOULD BE COVERED UNDER WARRANTY SINCE IT DIRECTLY IMPACTS THE SAFETY FEATURES ON THIS CAR

View Details

STEERING

7/18/2016 - QUINTON, VA
2012 KIA OPTIMA LX ****(ELECTRONIC POWER STEERING)***S IS VERY UNSAFE AND IS AN ACCIDENT WAITING TO HAPPEN. WHAT IN THE WORLD IS KIA WAITING FOR, DOES SOMEONE HAVE TO BE KILLED OR SERIOUSLY HURT FROM THEIR NEGLIGENCE TO RECALL THESE PROBLEMS!!!! THE STEERING WHEEL STARTED TO MAKE A LOUD POPPING/KNOCKING NOISE, STICKS, PLAY/ VERY LOOSE WHEN TURNING LEFT TO RIGHT, WHILE DRIVING OR PARKING THE VEHICLE. HAVE TAKEN IT TO A SERVICE CENTER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN, TIE ROD AND FLEXIBLE COUPLING NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED/ REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND THE VEHICLE HAS NOT BEEN REPAIRED AS OF YET. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 242,000. HOWEVER, I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE IN 2014, THE APPROXIMATELY MILEAGE WAS 208,412. JUST PRIOR TO THAT THIS VEHICLE WAS STRICKLEY USED FOR FUEL TESTING/STUDIES ONLY, IN A CLIMATE CONTROL BUILDING, WHERE IT WAS ON A DINO MACHINE. THESE PROBLEMS NEED TO HAVE A RESOLUTION AND BE RECALLED ASAP.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/11/2016 - SICKLERVILLE, NJ
PURCHASED A USED 2012 KIA OPTIMA ON 5/18/15 WITH 20,000 MILES ON IT FROM A KIA DEALERSHIP WHICH CERTIFIED THAT THE ENGINE WAS COVERED UNDER WARRANTY. CAR WAS SERVICED FOR OIL CHANGES AT THE RECOMMENDED INTERVALS. THE LAST OIL CHANGE OCCURRED ON 5/24/2016 FOR WHICH I PROVIDED A JIFFY LUBE RECEIPT. THE ENGINE FAILED ON 7/4/2016 AT WHICH TIME THE CAR HAD 39,520 MILES. PRIOR TO THE OIL CHANGE ON 5/24/2016 I HAD THE OIL CHANGED ON 2/26/2016 FOR WHICH I PROVIDED A HAND WRITTEN RECEIPT AS THE GARAGE IS NOT A NATIONAL CHAIN AND DOESN'T HAVE COMPUTERIZED RECEIPTS. KIA MOTORS IS REFUSING TO HONOR THE WARRANTY BECAUSE THEY SAID I DON'T HAVE SUFFICIENT PROOF OF REGULAR MAINTENANCE. I PROVIDED THEM WITH THE PROOF I HAD REGULARLY MAINTAINED THE VEHICLE BUT THEY REFUSED TO ACCEPT IT. THIS CAR SHUT OFF AT A MAJOR INTERSECTION. A NOTICE FLASHED TO PUT THE CAR IN NEUTRAL OR PARK AND RESTART THE ENGINE WHICH I DID. THE CAR RESTARTED AND I DROVE ANOTHER 10 MILES AND IT CUT OFF AGAIN IN THE MIDDLE OF A BUSY HIGHWAY AND WOULD NOT RESTART . I WENT ON THE INTERNET AND DISCOVERED THAT THERE IS A WARRANTY BULLETIN 2016-09 ON THIS ENGINE EXTENDING THE WARRANTY TO TEN YEARS 120,000 MILES . THEY EXTENDED THE WARRANTY BECAUSE THERE IS A PROBLEM WITH THE ENGINE AND ARE DENYING CUSTOMER'S WARRANTIES BY REJECTING PROOF OF REGULAR MAINTENANCE THUS NOT FULFILLING THEIR WARRANTY . THEY POSITION IS THE OIL WAS DARK BUT I LOOKED AT THE OIL AND ENGINE AND IT LOOKS FINE TO ME... IT'S DARK BECAUSE IT HAD BEEN DRIVEN NOT BECAUSE OF NEGLECT.

View Details

STEERING

7/10/2016 - HOUSTON, TX
STEERING IS KNOCKING AND MAKING LOUD NOISES WHILE DRIVING VEHICLE. HAVE NOT YET TAKEN TO DEALERSHIP, BUT FROM READING OTHER COMPLAINTS KIA HAS NOT ACTED ON THIS PROBLEM FOR A RESOLUTION.

View Details

STEERING

7/6/2016 - ROCKY MOUNTAIN, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA OPTIMA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH MAKING A LEFT OR RIGHT TURN, THE STEERING WHEEL MADE AN ABNORMAL NOISE WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING COLUMN FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 98,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/29/2016 - MADERA, CA
I AM AN OFFICER (OFF. WARREN WEBB #48) WITH THE MADERA (CALIFORNIA) POLICE DEPARTMENT. I INVESTIGATED A TRAFFIC COLLISION WHERE THE DRIVER OF A 2012 KIA OPTIMA COLLIDED WITH A PARKED VEHICLE GOING APPROX. 35 MPH. THE IMPACT SENT THE PARKED VEHICLE FORWARD APPROX. 3-4 FEET INTO ANOTHER PARKED VEHICLE CAUSING DAMAGE TO ALL 3 VEHICLE. THE KIA SUSTAINED SIGNIFICANT DAMAGE TO THE RIGHT FRONT BUMPER / FENDER AREA AND SHEARED THE RIGHT FRONT TIRE OFF. THE IMPACT WAS ENOUGH FOR THE KIA TO ROLL OVER AND CAUSE DAMAGE TO THE LEFT FRONT TIRE AND RIM FROM GRINDING INTO THE ROADWAY. THE PARKED VEHICLE IT COLLIDED WITH SUSTAINED MODERATE DAMAGE TO THE LEFT REAR AND DRIVER'S SIDE AREA. WHEN IT WAS SHOVED FORWARD IT SUSTAINED MINOR FRONT END DAMAGE AND CAUSED MINOR DAMAGE TO THE BACK BUMPER OF THE SECOND PARKED VEHICLE. THERE WAS CENTRIFUGAL RIM MARKS FROM THE KIA AFTER IMPACTING WITH THE FIRST PARKED VEHICLE. THE RIGHT FRONT TIRE WAS BROKEN FROM THE AXLE. THE KIA WAS HEADING N/B AND CAME TO REST IN AN ALMOST TOTAL E/B POSITION FROM THE COLLISION. MY CONCERN IS THAT THE AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY WITH SUCH AN IMPACT AND DAMAGE SUSTAINED. THE DRIVER WAS WEARING HIS SEATBELT AND DID NOT SUSTAIN ANY INJURIES. THIS OCCURRED ON A CITY STREET. THE REPORT # IS MADERA PD INCIDENT 16M-04449.

View Details

STEERING

6/26/2016 - STUART, FL
PLAY IN STEERING COLUMN MAKING A NOISE WHEN TURN STEERING WHEEL RIGHT AND LEFT DEFECTIVE FLEX COUPLER

View Details

STEERING

6/24/2016 - WINTER HAVEN, FL
WHILE THE VEHICLE IS IN MOTION, THE STEERING HAS BECOME VERY LOOSE AND MAKING A CLUNKING NOISE WHEN TURNING THE WHEEL OR GOING OVER SLIGHT BUMPS, SUCH AS A REFLECTOR IN THE ROAD, THIS IS DURING ANY SPEEDS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds