Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA OPTIMA - 2012 KIA OPTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 104 complaints filed for the 2012 KIA OPTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 KIA OPTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 KIA OPTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Power Train (9) Steering (33) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Communications (1) Equipment (1) Seat Belts (1) Structure (4) Visibility (6)
Electrical System (10) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seats (4) Suspension (8) Visibility Wiper (5)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes (8) Tires (7) Wheels (3)
Engine (7) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Air (1) Unknown Or Other (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/10/2014 - AUBURN, CA
2012 KIA OPTIMA SX CAR WENT INTO AUXILIARY MODE FIRST, BUT UPON PUSHING THE BUTTON THE PUSH START BUTTON A SECOND TIME THE ENGINE TURNED OVER AND STARTED. THE CONSUMER HAD TO REPLACED THE TIRES, THERE WAS AN ISSUE WITH THE TURBO ACTUATOR AND THE RADIO WAS MAKING A STRANGE NOISE. THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START. THE VEHICLE WENT INTO AUXILIARY; WHERE THE AC, RADIO AND LIGHTS WERE ON. SHE TURNED THEM ALL OFF AND PUSHED THE START BUTTON AGAIN. THE VEHICLE TURNED OFF, WENT OUT OF AUXILIARY MODE AND SHE REMOVED HER FOOT FROM THE BRAKE. ON THE SECOND ATTEMPT, SHE REALIZED THE PEDAL WAS STILL ENGAGED, SHE TRIED PUMPING IT, TO RELEASE IT, BUT IT WOULD NOT. SHE VERIFIED THE GEAR WAS IN PARK. UPON PUSHING THE START BUTTON AGAIN, THE VEHICLE WENT INTO AUXILIARY MODE AGAIN. AFTER FIVE ATTEMPTS, SHE WAS ABLE TO START THE VEHICLE.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

12/10/2014 - AUBURN, CA
2012 KIA OPTIMA SX CAR WENT INTO AUXILIARY MODE FIRST, BUT UPON PUSHING THE BUTTON THE PUSH START BUTTON A SECOND TIME THE ENGINE TURNED OVER AND STARTED. THE CONSUMER HAD TO REPLACED THE TIRES, THERE WAS AN ISSUE WITH THE TURBO ACTUATOR AND THE RADIO WAS MAKING A STRANGE NOISE. THE CONSUMER STATED THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT START. THE VEHICLE WENT INTO AUXILIARY; WHERE THE AC, RADIO AND LIGHTS WERE ON. SHE TURNED THEM ALL OFF AND PUSHED THE START BUTTON AGAIN. THE VEHICLE TURNED OFF, WENT OUT OF AUXILIARY MODE AND SHE REMOVED HER FOOT FROM THE BRAKE. ON THE SECOND ATTEMPT, SHE REALIZED THE PEDAL WAS STILL ENGAGED, SHE TRIED PUMPING IT, TO RELEASE IT, BUT IT WOULD NOT. SHE VERIFIED THE GEAR WAS IN PARK. UPON PUSHING THE START BUTTON AGAIN, THE VEHICLE WENT INTO AUXILIARY MODE AGAIN. AFTER FIVE ATTEMPTS, SHE WAS ABLE TO START THE VEHICLE.

View Details

STEERING

12/9/2014 - MT. AIRY , MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA OPTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 40-45 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO SWAY ABNORMALLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 49,000.

View Details

STEERING

11/27/2014 - MIDWAY, GA
THE VEHICLE IS VERY HARD TO STEER WHEN YOU GO OVER 45/55 MILES PER HOUR. IT BECOMES SO UNCONTROLLABLE THAT I HAVE TO DRIVE IT WITH BOTH HANDS AS I CONTINUE TO TRY TO CONTROL THE VEHICLE FROM EITHER GOING INTO ANOTHER LANE OR HITTING THE ONE COMING TRAFFIC. THE STEERING WHEEL GETS SOOOO TIGHT /STIFF THAT THE CAR CANNOT TRAVEL DOWN THE HIGHWAY WITHOUT ME CONSTANTLY SHIFTING STEERING WHEEL FROM LEFT TO RIGHT. ANY SLIGHT OVER PULL / CORRECTION OF THE WHEEL IS GOING TO CAUSE SOMEONE THERE LIFE OR A HORRIBLE ACCIDENT .I PRAY THAT KIA CORRECTS THIS BEFORE SOMEONE OR CAUSE SOMEONE TO LOSE THEIR LIFE. HOPE THIS WILL BE RECALLED BEFORE IT'S TO LATE. I WAS ON THE HIGHWAY FIGHTING TO STAY IN MY LANE AND CROSSED OVER INTO THE ONCOMING TRAFFIC (WHICH COULD'VE CAUSED ME MY LIFE)AND IT WAS A SHERIFF DEPUTY. HE IMMEDIATELY TURNED AROUND TO STOP ME. HE THOUGHT I WAS DUI. THIS WAS VERY EMBARRASSING .I EXPLAINED TO HIM THAT I HAD THE TXT THE DEALERSHIP WHERE I HAD GOT THE CAR FROM AND THEY TRIED TO PUT IT ON THE HIGHWAY/ TIRES BUT THEY SUGGESTED I TAKE IT TO KIA DEALERSHIP CLOSER TO ME. THE OFFICER SUGGESTED I GET IT CHECKED ASAP AND DIDN'T CHARGE ME . NOT ONLY AM I AFRAID TO DRIVE THE CAR BUT I'M EXHAUSTED AND BODY EXTREMELY TIRED FROM DRIVING IT. NO ONE SHOULD FEEL THIS WAY. KIA PLEASE LISTEN TO YOUR CUSTOMERS BECAUSE THEY CAN MAKE YOU OR BREAK YOU. PLEASE DON'T BE LIKE THAT OTHER CAR COMPANY AND SOMEONE HAD TO LOSE THEIR LIFE FIRST. PLEASE LISTEN!!!!!

View Details

STEERING

11/18/2014 - AUGUSTA, GA
VEHICLE IS HARD TO HOLD STRAIGHT AT HIGHER SPEEDS. THE STEERING LOCKS INTO A POSITION AND REQUIRES EXTRA EFFORT TO TURN THE WHEEL CAUSING OVER CORRECTION.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/11/2014 - LOUISVILLE, KY
THE INTERIOR OVERHEAD LIGHTS PERIODICALLY COME ON AND GO OFF WHILE OPERATING OUR 2012 OPTIMA. THIS OCCURS WITH THE SWITCH IN BOTH ON AND OFF POSITION AND THE LIGHTBULBS TEND TO BECOME OVERHEATED.THEY DO NOT RESPOND TO MANUAL OPERATION, BUT GO OFF ON THEIR OWN AND THIS MALFUNCTION REPEATS SEVERAL TIMES IN A TEN MINUTE DRIVE. BEST-CASE SCENARIO RESULTS IN THE BULBS BURNING OUT PREMATURELY, BUT I BELIEVE THERE IS A REAL CHANCE OF A MORE SERIOUS SHORT-CIRCUIT AND POTENTIAL INTERIOR FIRE.

View Details

EQUIPMENT ADAPTIVE

11/8/2014 - TULLAHOMA, TN
I HAVE NOTICED OVER TWENTY TIMES THAT THE TRUNK WOULD OPEN BY ITSELF. IT WOULD BE FOUND OPEN AFTER I GET TO MY CAR OR WHILE DRIVING IT WOULD JUST OPEN UP ON ITS OWN. LAST MONTH MY TRUNK, WAS SHUT, DOORS LOCKED, WE HAD A HEAVY RAIN THAT NIGHT AND THE NEXT DAY I WENT OUT, AND THE TRUNK WAS OPEN UP ALL THE WAY. THE TRUNK FLAP WAS SOAKING WET AND UNDER IT, THERE WAS A FOOT OF WATER AND KIA DOES NOT GIVE YOU A TIRE WHEN YOU BUY A NEW ONE. IT COST ME $80.00 TO GET EVERYTHING DRIED OUT AND WATER REMOVED. THERE IS A PROBLEM WITH THE TRUNK OPENING AND THE KIA DEALER SAID THAT THEY COULD DO NOTHING COULD BE, DONE WITH IT OR THE KEY THAT OPENS IT TOLD ME. KIA SAID THEY COULD NOT FIX THE FREQUENCY FOR THE KEYS AND THERE ARE TWO PEOPLE, WHICH HAVE DIFFERENT CARS THAT THEIR KEY WILL OPEN MY TRUNK DOORS AND EVEN TURN ON MY LIGHTS. THE TRUNK CAN BE SHUT AND YOU DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD AT 55 MPH AND IT WILL OPEN UP AND BLOCK YOUR VIEW AND IT COULD CAUSE A WRECK IF YOU ARE CHANGING LANES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/27/2014 - NITRO, WV
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE I77 NORTH AT 70MPH WITH THE SUNROOF AND SHADE SHUT WHEN THERE WAS A LOUD EXPLOSION AND THE SHADE STARTED GOING THROUGH THE SUNROOF AND GLASS CAME RAINING DOWN ON MYSELF (I AM 7 MONTHS PREGNANT) AND MY 13 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER. THERE WERE NO CARS AROUND US. IT WAS SUNNY AROUND 80 DEGREES.

View Details

ENGINE

9/30/2014 - DECATUR, GA
I WAS DRIVING HOME FROM GULF SHORES, AL TO ATLANTA, GA. I STOPPED AT A REST AREA. WHEN I STARTED MY CAR BACK UP THERE WAS KIND OF A BUZZING NOISE AS I ACCELERATED, BUT IT WOULD STOP ONCE I REACHED CRUISING SPEED. AFTER ABOUT 15 MILES DOWN THE ROAD FROM THE REST AREA, MY GAS PEDAL JUST STOPPED WORKING. THE CAR COASTED UNTIL IT LOST SPEED AND THEN JUST TURNED OFF. AFTER I WAS EVENTUALLY TOWED TO THE NEAREST KIA DEALERSHIP, I WAS TOLD THAT THE ENGINE HAD DIED AND I WOULD NEED TO HAVE A NEW ONE INSTALLED.

View Details

ENGINE

9/26/2014 - NEWMAN, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA OPTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. IN ADDITION, A STRONG ELECTRICAL BURNING ODOR EMITTED INSIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS. THE MECHANIC INFORMED THAT THE STARTER AND ASSOCIATED FUSES WERE COMPLETELY BURNT. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER THE REPAIRS WERE PERFORMED, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER WHO RECOMMENDED THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 55,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds