Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA OPTIMA - 2012 KIA OPTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 295 complaints filed for the 2012 KIA OPTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 KIA OPTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 KIA OPTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Unknown Or Other (15)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (18) Steering (101) Vehicle Speed Control (17)
Electrical System (35) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (1) Structure (11) Visibility (12)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (14) Seats (4) Suspension (12) Visibility Wiper (8)
Engine (82) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (15) Tires (7) Wheels (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 38
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

10/27/2017 - VILLAS, NJ
THE ENGINE SEIZED WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY. THIS HAS ALS RESULTED IN THE CLIMATE CONTROL SYSTEM INCLUDING THE DEFROSTERS AND RADIO TO MALFUNCTION

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/27/2017 - VILLAS, NJ
THE ENGINE SEIZED WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY. THIS HAS ALS RESULTED IN THE CLIMATE CONTROL SYSTEM INCLUDING THE DEFROSTERS AND RADIO TO MALFUNCTION

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

10/27/2017 - VILLAS, NJ
THE ENGINE SEIZED WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY. THIS HAS ALS RESULTED IN THE CLIMATE CONTROL SYSTEM INCLUDING THE DEFROSTERS AND RADIO TO MALFUNCTION

View Details

ENGINE

10/23/2017 - MILFORD, NH
VEHICLE RECALLED UNDER SC147 ON JULY 13,2017. NEW ENGINE RECEIVED BY DEALER WEEK OF SEPTEMBER 25. LAST UPDATE I RECEIVED ON OCTOBER 20TH FROM KIA CORPORATION WAS NEW MOTOR INSTALLED HOWEVER COULD NOT GET THE VEHICLE TO RUN. SOME COMPRESSION TESTING INDICATES THAT THE NEW MOTOR INSTALLED WAS BAD. I REQUESTED KIA TO PROVIDE ME WITH A NEW CAR WITH SIMILAR SX LIMITED AND TECHNOLOGY PACKAGE. KIA DEALERSHIP HAS NOW HAD MY VEHICLE FOR OVER 3 MONTHS. ONLY UPDATES I RECEIVE IS IF I CALL KIA CORPORATION

View Details

STEERING

10/20/2017 - RUTLEDGE, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA OPTIMA. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, A LOUD NOISE WAS COMING FROM THE STEERING WHEEL WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/19/2017 - ARLINGTON, TX
DUE TO A RECALL, I HAD MY ENGINE REPLACED BY KIA PATTERSON IN JULY OF 2017. ABOUT A WEEK OR SO AFTER GETTING IT BACK, THE AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON AND THE HORN DOES NOT WORK. NATURALLY, I CONTACTED KIA PATTERSON REGARDING THE MATTER AND WAS TOLD THAT IT HAD NOTHING TO DO WITH THE ENGINE REPLACEMENT. I'M NOW BEING TOLD THAT IT MAY BE A DEFECTIVE AIRBAG OR CLOCKSPRING, BOTH OF WHICH ARE EXPENSIVE REPAIRS. I HAVE FOUND THAT SEVERAL KIA VEHICLES HAVE SUFFERED THE SAME FATE WITH NO RESOLUTION. MY CAR DOES NOT FALL INTO THE PREVIOUSLY RECALLED MODELS YET IT SEEMS TO HAVE THE SAME PROBLEMS. MY LEVEL OF FRUSTRATION IS SO HIGH AT THIS POINT AND I DON'T FEEL SAFE DRIVING WITH THESE PROBLEMS. UNFORTUNATELY, I WILL HAVE TO DO SO UNTIL I AM ABLE TO SAVE ENOUGH MONEY TO HAVE IT FIXED. SHAME ON YOU KIA!!!

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/19/2017 - ARLINGTON, TX
DUE TO A RECALL, I HAD MY ENGINE REPLACED BY KIA PATTERSON IN JULY OF 2017. ABOUT A WEEK OR SO AFTER GETTING IT BACK, THE AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON AND THE HORN DOES NOT WORK. NATURALLY, I CONTACTED KIA PATTERSON REGARDING THE MATTER AND WAS TOLD THAT IT HAD NOTHING TO DO WITH THE ENGINE REPLACEMENT. I'M NOW BEING TOLD THAT IT MAY BE A DEFECTIVE AIRBAG OR CLOCKSPRING, BOTH OF WHICH ARE EXPENSIVE REPAIRS. I HAVE FOUND THAT SEVERAL KIA VEHICLES HAVE SUFFERED THE SAME FATE WITH NO RESOLUTION. MY CAR DOES NOT FALL INTO THE PREVIOUSLY RECALLED MODELS YET IT SEEMS TO HAVE THE SAME PROBLEMS. MY LEVEL OF FRUSTRATION IS SO HIGH AT THIS POINT AND I DON'T FEEL SAFE DRIVING WITH THESE PROBLEMS. UNFORTUNATELY, I WILL HAVE TO DO SO UNTIL I AM ABLE TO SAVE ENOUGH MONEY TO HAVE IT FIXED. SHAME ON YOU KIA!!!

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

10/12/2017 - RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA
ELECTRICAL RACK AND PINIONS RECALL. STEERING WHEEL FEELS LOOSE. STEERING WHEEL STARTS SHAKING AT APPROXIMATELY 65-70 MPH

View Details

STEERING

10/12/2017 - RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA
ELECTRICAL RACK AND PINIONS RECALL. STEERING WHEEL FEELS LOOSE. STEERING WHEEL STARTS SHAKING AT APPROXIMATELY 65-70 MPH

View Details

ENGINE

10/12/2017 - CUTLER BAY, FL
ENGINE LOCKED UP HAD A WARRANTY THEY FIXED IT AND AFTER I GOT MY CAR BACK THE THE HORN DIDN'T WORK OR ANY OF MY CONTROLS ON THE STEERING WHEEL WORKED I NOTIFIED THEM AND THEY DID NOTHING TO FIX IT. WHEN I TURN THE CAR OVER TO KIA DEALERSHIP EVERYTHING WAS WORKING AND AFTER THEY PUT THE NEW ENGINE IN EVERYTHING WENT WRONG THE ABS SYSTEM WENT OUT THE HORN STOP WORKING THE TURBO IN THE CAR WASN'T ANY GOOD MY AIRBAG AND ENGINE WAS ON AND STILL IS AND I NOTIFIED THEM AGAIN EVEN TOOK IT TO MANAGEMENT AND THEY DID NOTHING ABOUT IT. I'M NOT A SATISFIED CUSTOMER AT ALL CAN U GUYS PLEASE HELP ME. I'M A HARD WORKING MAN HAVE A FAMILY AND JUST TRYING TO HAVE A CAR THAT WE CAN ENJOY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 38
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds