Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA OPTIMA - 2012 KIA OPTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 328 complaints filed for the 2012 KIA OPTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 KIA OPTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 KIA OPTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Air (1) Unknown Or Other (18)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (18) Steering (110) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Electrical System (37) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (1) Structure (12) Visibility (12)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Fuel Propulsion System (14) Seats (4) Suspension (12) Visibility Wiper (9)
Engine (95) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (17) Tires (7) Wheels (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 42
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/14/2018 - MABLETON, GA
THE PASSENGER SIDE OF CAR IS FLOODED DUE TO A CLOGGED PIPE OR DISCONNECTED PIPE. WATER IS POURING OUT INTO MY CAR AND NOT SMALL AMOUNTS BUT LARGE AMOUNTS OF WATER ON THE BASE OF MY FLOOR.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

5/13/2018 - ATLANTA, GA
RADIO PANELING AND CHARGING DO NOT WORK

View Details

STEERING

5/3/2018 - BAY SAINT LOUIS, MS
WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY(60MPH AND ABOVE) STEERING WHEEL APPEARS TO STICK AROUND 12 O'CLOCK POSITION. HAVE HAD THE FLEX COUPLER REPAIRED UNDER THE RECALL. I STARTED TO NOTICE THIS SHORTLY AFTER IT WAS REPLACED. SEEMS TO BE INCREASING IN FREQUENCY.

View Details

STEERING

5/1/2018 - UPPER MARLBORO, MD
THERE IS A LOUD CLANKING SOUND COMING FROM THE STEERING WHEEL WHENEVER IT IS MOVED, SHAKEN OR TURNED. IT MAKES THE SOUND WHEN THE CAR IS BOTH MOVING AND STATIONARY AND IT OCCURS WHILE ON ALL ROAD TYPES, AT ALL SPEEDS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/1/2018 - THORNTON, CO
I WAS DRIVING DOWN A RESIDENTIAL STREET AT 35MPH AND HEARD WHAT SOUNDED LIKE A LOUD EXPLOSION. I LITERALLY THOUGHT A GUN SHOT HAD BEEN FIRED TOWARDS ME AND HIT MY VEHICLE. I TRIED LOOKING AROUND AND NOTHING SEEMED TO BE SHATTERED UNTIL I SAW MY ARM BLEEDING SLIGHTLY. AND SMALL SHARDS OF GLASS ON THE SEAT. I PULLED THE CAR OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND THE SUN ROOF WAS COMPLETELY SHATTERED. I AM ABLE TO TELL THAT THERE WAS NO IMPACT FROM A ROCK OR ANYTHING AS THE GLASS IS BLOWN OUTWARDS AND NOT INWARD. I AM NOT SURE HOW THE GLASS +BLEW UP+ OR SHATTERED IF NOT FROM ANY IMPACT BUT THIS IS VERY CONCERNING AS I DO HAVE SMALL CUTS ON MY ARM FROM THE GLASS COMING THROUGH.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/25/2018 - KEWANEE, IL
THIS STARTED A WEEK AGO THAT WHEN I WOULD TURN RIGHT, BY DOOR OPEN INDICATOR WOULD COME ON FOR MY DRIVER'S SIDE FRONT DOOR. NOW IT IS CONSTANTLY COMING ON AND OFF, MORE ON THAN OFF. IT DOESN'T MATTER IF IT IS INTERSTATE DRIVING OR IN TOWN. AND IF I AM STOPPED IT WILL OCCASIONALLY COME ON, THEN UNLOCK MY DOORS BECAUSE OF THEKEY BEING IN THE IGNITION. WHAT IS CAUSING THIS?

View Details

ENGINE

4/18/2018 - SAN DIEGO, CA
MY CAR HAS A KNOCKING NOISE IN THE ENGINE, THE CAR WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALERSHIP TO GET INSPECTED FOR THE RECALL SEPTEMBER 2017. TEAM KIA OF EL CAJON; THE DEALERSHIP SAID THAT THE SALVAGE TITLES AREN'T COVERED UNDER RECALL WARRANTY. 4/18/2018 WHILE DRIVING IN THE FAST MOVING TRAFFIC , MY CAR'S ENGINE SHUT OFF. AFTER MEETING WITH THE MECHANIC TODAY I WAS TOLD THE ENGINE WENT OUT. THESE SIGNS INDICATE TO ME THAT THE ENGINE WENT BAD DUE TO THE RECALL ISSUE THAT THE DEALERSHIP REFUSED TO REPLACE. I'VE OWNED THE CAR FOR LESS THAN A YEAR AND PROVIDED PREVENTATIVE MAINTENANCE ON THE CAR AT THE SCHEDULED TIMES. PRIOR TO PURCHASING THE VECHILE THE CAR RECEIVED A ENGINE CLEARANCE THROUGH KIA DEALERSHIP AND THROUGH MY PRIVATE MECHANIC, SAYING THE ENGINE WAS GOOD. NOW 8 MONTHS LATER AFTER HEARING CONTINUOUS KNOCKING NOISE AND ALMOST GETTING INTO AN ACCIDENT I FEEL LIKE IM NOT RECEIVING FAIR TREATMENT OR GETTING MY CAR'S ENGINE REPLACED.

View Details

ENGINE

3/28/2018 - FREDERICKSBURG, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA OPTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EMITTED A LOUD NOISE UNDER THE HOOD WHILE DRIVING, AS IF A PART HAD SEPARATED FROM THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT COASTED THE VEHICLE ONTO THE ROAD SHOULDER, OPENED THE HOOD, AND FOUND THAT THE ENGINE WAS EMITTING FLAMES.. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO LOCATE THE PART THAT SEPARATED FROM THE ENGINE AND EXTINGUISH THE FIRE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO STAFFORD KIA OF FREDERICKSBURG (5204 JEFFERSON DAVIS HIGHWAY, FREDERICKSBURG, VIRGINIA, 22408, 540-891-7400) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE CAUGHT FIRE. THE PART THAT CAUSED THE ENGINE TO CATCH FIRE WAS NOT GIVEN TO THE CONTACT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V224000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING), BUT THE CONTACT HAD NOT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTIFICATION. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 65,046.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: ENGINE: GASOLINE: TURBO-CHARGER

3/27/2018 - ARLINGTON, TX
2012 KIA OPTIMA. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO ENGINE CONNECTING ROD SAFETY RECALL. THE CONSUMER STATED THE TURBOCHARGER HAD TO BE REPLACED. THE CONSUMER REQUESTED TO BE REIMBURSED FOR THE COST OF THE TURBOCHARGER REPLACEMENT.

View Details

ENGINE

3/17/2018 - RAYTOWN, MO
DRIVING ONE DAY PULLED INTO DRIVEWAY.HEARD KNOCKING ON LOWER PART OF ENGINE. OPENED HOOD YOU CAN HEAR KNOCKING, WHEN I ACCERELED KNOCKING GOT LOUDER, A SPUN BEARING. I HAVE BEEN A CERTIFIED MECHANIC ALL MY LIFE. 40 YEARS OF EXPERIENCE. CAR WAS WELL MAINTAINED. AT 76,000 MILES, THIS SHOULD NOT HAVE HAPPENED. THANK YOU CLARENCE SEXTON

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 42
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds