Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA OPTIMA - 2012 KIA OPTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors Corporation

There are 88 complaints filed for the 2012 KIA OPTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 KIA OPTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 KIA OPTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Seat Belts (1) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Communications (1) Equipment (1) Seats (4) Suspension (8) Visibility (4)
Electrical System (7) Equipment Adaptive (1) Service Brakes (8) Tires (6) Visibility Wiper (5)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes Air (1) Unknown Or Other (6) Wheels (3)
Engine (4) Power Train (9) Steering (29)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY/WIPER

7/4/2014 - HERMITAGE, TN
I WAS ON I-40 GOING ABOUT 75 MPG. TEMP WAS ABOUT 75 AND THE DRIVER SIDE WINDOW CRACKED A LITTLE. THE SHADE WAS NOT DOWN ON THE SUNROOF, BUT THE SUNROOF WAS NOT LIFTED.I WAS ABOUT TO PASS A VEHICLE TO MY RIGHT. ALL OF A SUDDEN THERE WAS A LOUD BANG IN THE BACK OF MY HEAD. I WAS SO THROWN OFF, I ALMOST LET GO OF THE WHEEL. IT ECHOED IN MY HEAD. I PANICKED AND PULLED OVER ON THE INTERSTATE AND FLAGGED DOWN A STATE TROOPER. THE TROOPER CHECKED... MY CAR WAS NOT HOT. NOTHING FLEW IN MY CAR. NOTHING FLEW OUT OF MY CAR. THERE WAS NO OTHER DAMAGE BESIDES THE HOLE IN THE SUNROOF. BUT YOU COULD TELL THAT THE EXPLOSION CAME FROM INSIDE THE CAR. THE TROOPER WAS SPEECHLESS. I WAS TERRIFIED TO DRIVE THE CAR ANYMORE BECAUSE I DIDN'T KNOW WHAT CAUSED IT. WE CONCLUDED THAT IT HAD TO BE SOME KIND OF AIR PRESSURE THAT CAUSED IT. AGAIN, I'M NOT AN EXPERT BUT I DO KNOW THAT I DIDN'T DO ANYTHING TO CAUSE THIS. I KEEP MY CAR IN GREAT CONDITION. AFTER SEEING THE OTHER REPORTS, I'M GLAD I HEARD ABOUT THIS SITE. PLEASE MANDATE A RECALL OR REBATE FOR PEOPLE WHO HAVE HAD THIS ISSUE. THE IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS. MY HEARING IN MY RIGHT EAR WAS "FUZZY" FOR A FEW HOURS, I HAD A MASSIVE HEADACHE, MY EAR IS SORE, THE WHOLE RIGHT SIDE OF MY BODY HURTS. THANK GOD I DIDN'T HAVE ANY CUTS OR BRUISES, BUT IT FELT LIKE IT (WEIRD). I COULD HAVE CAUSED A HORRIBLE ACCIDENT IF I TOOK BOTH HANDS OFF OF THE WHEEL. AND IT'S SAD THAT KIA HAS NOT ADDRESSED THIS WITH SO MANY COMPLAINS. WE SHOULDN'T HAVE TO PAY A DEDUCTIBLE FOR A MANUFACTURE FLAW.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/4/2014 - HERMITAGE, TN
I WAS ON I-40 GOING ABOUT 75 MPG. TEMP WAS ABOUT 75 AND THE DRIVER SIDE WINDOW CRACKED A LITTLE. THE SHADE WAS NOT DOWN ON THE SUNROOF, BUT THE SUNROOF WAS NOT LIFTED.I WAS ABOUT TO PASS A VEHICLE TO MY RIGHT. ALL OF A SUDDEN THERE WAS A LOUD BANG IN THE BACK OF MY HEAD. I WAS SO THROWN OFF, I ALMOST LET GO OF THE WHEEL. IT ECHOED IN MY HEAD. I PANICKED AND PULLED OVER ON THE INTERSTATE AND FLAGGED DOWN A STATE TROOPER. THE TROOPER CHECKED... MY CAR WAS NOT HOT. NOTHING FLEW IN MY CAR. NOTHING FLEW OUT OF MY CAR. THERE WAS NO OTHER DAMAGE BESIDES THE HOLE IN THE SUNROOF. BUT YOU COULD TELL THAT THE EXPLOSION CAME FROM INSIDE THE CAR. THE TROOPER WAS SPEECHLESS. I WAS TERRIFIED TO DRIVE THE CAR ANYMORE BECAUSE I DIDN'T KNOW WHAT CAUSED IT. WE CONCLUDED THAT IT HAD TO BE SOME KIND OF AIR PRESSURE THAT CAUSED IT. AGAIN, I'M NOT AN EXPERT BUT I DO KNOW THAT I DIDN'T DO ANYTHING TO CAUSE THIS. I KEEP MY CAR IN GREAT CONDITION. AFTER SEEING THE OTHER REPORTS, I'M GLAD I HEARD ABOUT THIS SITE. PLEASE MANDATE A RECALL OR REBATE FOR PEOPLE WHO HAVE HAD THIS ISSUE. THE IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS. MY HEARING IN MY RIGHT EAR WAS "FUZZY" FOR A FEW HOURS, I HAD A MASSIVE HEADACHE, MY EAR IS SORE, THE WHOLE RIGHT SIDE OF MY BODY HURTS. THANK GOD I DIDN'T HAVE ANY CUTS OR BRUISES, BUT IT FELT LIKE IT (WEIRD). I COULD HAVE CAUSED A HORRIBLE ACCIDENT IF I TOOK BOTH HANDS OFF OF THE WHEEL. AND IT'S SAD THAT KIA HAS NOT ADDRESSED THIS WITH SO MANY COMPLAINS. WE SHOULDN'T HAVE TO PAY A DEDUCTIBLE FOR A MANUFACTURE FLAW.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/1/2014 - HOUSTON, TX
DRIVING DOWN THE FREEWAY AT 70 MPH, SUNNY CLEAR WEATHER, TEMP 85. NO OVERPASSES OR OTHER VEHICLES IN SIGHT. THE SUNROOF EXPLODED SHOWERING AN ENORMOUS AMOUNT OF GLASS ON TOP OF MY HEAD RESULTING IN A FEW MINOR CUTS. EITHER I WAS STRUCK BY A METEORITE OR KIA HAS DEFECTIVE GLASS. THE DEALER REPLACED IT FOR $550.00 AND NO EXPLANATION. AS THERE ARE SEVERAL OTHER POSTS WITH SIMILAR DESCRIPTIONS I FEEL KIA HAS DEFECTIVE GLASS AND THIS SHOULD BE INVESTIGATED.. I VERY NEARLY LOST CONTROL OF MY CAR AT FREEWAY SPEEDS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/1/2014 - HOUSTON, TX
DRIVING DOWN THE FREEWAY AT 70 MPH, SUNNY CLEAR WEATHER, TEMP 85. NO OVERPASSES OR OTHER VEHICLES IN SIGHT. THE SUNROOF EXPLODED SHOWERING AN ENORMOUS AMOUNT OF GLASS ON TOP OF MY HEAD RESULTING IN A FEW MINOR CUTS. EITHER I WAS STRUCK BY A METEORITE OR KIA HAS DEFECTIVE GLASS. THE DEALER REPLACED IT FOR $550.00 AND NO EXPLANATION. AS THERE ARE SEVERAL OTHER POSTS WITH SIMILAR DESCRIPTIONS I FEEL KIA HAS DEFECTIVE GLASS AND THIS SHOULD BE INVESTIGATED.. I VERY NEARLY LOST CONTROL OF MY CAR AT FREEWAY SPEEDS.

View Details

SUSPENSION

6/17/2014 - TARZANA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA OPTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN MAKING A TURN THE VEHICLE SHOOK VIOLENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 20,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 34,000.THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/5/2014 - RICHMOND, VA
I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY WITH THE SUNROOF OPEN. I HEARD AN EXTREMELY LOUD POP, AS IF SOMEONE POPPED A BALLOON RIGHT NEXT TO MY EAR, AND I WAS SHOWERED WITH GLASS. THE SUNROOF HAD EXPLODED. I WASN'T AROUND A BRIDGE OR OVERPASS, AND THERE WEREN'T CARS AROUND ME. I DON'T RECALL SEEING ANYTHING ON THE ROAD IN FRONT OR ME. THERE WAS NO DAMAGE TO THE SUNROOF PRIOR TO MY TRIP. IT WAS ABOUT 80-82 DEGREES OUTSIDE WITH CLEAR SKIES. I'VE READ THAT THIS HAS HAPPENED TO OTHER PEOPLE WITH KIA OPTIMAS, HYUNDAI VELOSTERS, AND OTHER CAR MANUFACTURERS. MY CAR IS AT THE DEALER NOW, AND KIA IS AWARE OF THE ISSUE AND IS INVESTIGATING. LUCKILY I REMAINED CALM AND PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY TO CLEAR OFF THE GLASS AND GO TO THE DEALER. THAT SOUND AND SHOWER OF GLASS COULD HAVE EASILY STARTLED SOMEONE ELSE AND POSSIBLY CAUSED AN ACCIDENT. I DO HAVE A PICTURE OF THE SUNROOF PRIOR TO BREAKING AWAY THE ADDITIONAL, BROKEN GLASS. PLEASE CONTACT ME FOR IT, SHOULD IT BE NEEDED.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

6/5/2014 - RICHMOND, VA
I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY WITH THE SUNROOF OPEN. I HEARD AN EXTREMELY LOUD POP, AS IF SOMEONE POPPED A BALLOON RIGHT NEXT TO MY EAR, AND I WAS SHOWERED WITH GLASS. THE SUNROOF HAD EXPLODED. I WASN'T AROUND A BRIDGE OR OVERPASS, AND THERE WEREN'T CARS AROUND ME. I DON'T RECALL SEEING ANYTHING ON THE ROAD IN FRONT OR ME. THERE WAS NO DAMAGE TO THE SUNROOF PRIOR TO MY TRIP. IT WAS ABOUT 80-82 DEGREES OUTSIDE WITH CLEAR SKIES. I'VE READ THAT THIS HAS HAPPENED TO OTHER PEOPLE WITH KIA OPTIMAS, HYUNDAI VELOSTERS, AND OTHER CAR MANUFACTURERS. MY CAR IS AT THE DEALER NOW, AND KIA IS AWARE OF THE ISSUE AND IS INVESTIGATING. LUCKILY I REMAINED CALM AND PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY TO CLEAR OFF THE GLASS AND GO TO THE DEALER. THAT SOUND AND SHOWER OF GLASS COULD HAVE EASILY STARTLED SOMEONE ELSE AND POSSIBLY CAUSED AN ACCIDENT. I DO HAVE A PICTURE OF THE SUNROOF PRIOR TO BREAKING AWAY THE ADDITIONAL, BROKEN GLASS. PLEASE CONTACT ME FOR IT, SHOULD IT BE NEEDED.

View Details

STEERING

5/23/2014 - SANTA CLARITA, CA
VEHICLE IS HARD TO HOLD STRAIGHT AT HIGHER SPEEDS. THE STEERING LOCKS INTO A POSITION AND REQUIRES EXTRA EFFORT TO TURN THE WHEEL CAUSING OVER CORRECTION. THIS CAUSES MENTAL AND PHYSICAL FATIGUE ON LONGER TRIPS AND COULD CAUSE AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/17/2014 - UNION CITY, CA
I WAS PARKED IN A SECURED POLICE PARKING GARAGE THAT NO ONE HAS ACCESS TO EXCEPT POLICE OFFICERS. UPON GETTING INTO MY CAR, PLACING IT INTO DRIVE AND BEGINNING TO MOVE FORWARD OUT OF THE PARKING SPACE, THERE WAS A LOUD NOISE THAT SOUNDED LIKE GLASS SHATTERING. I EXITED MY VEHICLE TO FIND THAT MY SUNROOF HAD EXPLODED INTO THOUSANDS OF PIECES. THERE WAS NOTHING THAT STRUCK THE GLASS THAT CAUSED THIS TO HAPPEN. UPON DOING RESEARCH, I DISCOVERED THAT THIS IS A PROBLEM THAT THE KIA VEHICLES SUNROOFS HAVE. KIA IS AWARE OF THE PROBLEM AND IS TELLING ME THAT I WILL HAVE TO PAY FOR THE REPLACEMENT. MY VEHICLE IS STILL UNDER WARRANTY WHICH DOES NOT SEEM TO MATTER TO KIA. KIA IS TELLING ME THAT THIS INCIDENT OCCURRED BECAUSE THERE WAS AN OBJECT THAT CAUSED THIS TO HAPPEN. I TOLD THEM THAT I WAS IN THE VEHICLE BARELY MOVING WHEN THIS HAPPENED. THEY DO NOT WANT TO TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE PROBLEM.

View Details

STEERING

5/16/2014 - QUARTZ HILL, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA OPTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME UNCONTROLLABLE, CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO SWAY ABNORMALLY. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE VEHICLE BECAME DIFFICULT TO MANEUVER. THE FAILURE RECURRED SEVERAL TIMES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 1,000 AND THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 24,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds