Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SPORTAGE - 2012 KIA SPORTAGE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 20 complaints filed for the 2012 KIA SPORTAGE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 KIA SPORTAGE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 KIA SPORTAGE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Exterior Lighting (1) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (3) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electrical System (2) Power Train (2) Structure (2) Visibility (4) Wheels (1)
Engine (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2)

Pages:  1  
2  ... 2
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

3/15/2016 - DES MOINES, IA
DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH ON THE INTERSTATE, A LOUD SQUEAK SOUND OCCURRED AND ALL OF THE LIGHTS ON THE DASHBOARD LIT UP AND THE ENGINE PROMPTLY SHUT OFF AND HAS SINCE THEN BEEN UNABLE TO START AGAIN. THE KIA DEALERSHIP HAS INFORMED ME THAT THE VEHICLE HAS INTERNAL ENGINE FAILURE. MY CONCERN IS DRIVING A VEHICLE AT THAT SPEED AND HAVING IT INSTANTLY SHUT OFF IS A HUGE SAFETY RISK AND LIABILITY, ESPECIALLY AFTER HEARING IR HAS HAPPENED TO OTHERS WITH IDENTICAL VEHICLES.

View Details

ENGINE

3/15/2016 - DES MOINES, IA
DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH ON THE INTERSTATE, A LOUD SQUEAK SOUND OCCURRED AND ALL OF THE LIGHTS ON THE DASHBOARD LIT UP AND THE ENGINE PROMPTLY SHUT OFF AND HAS SINCE THEN BEEN UNABLE TO START AGAIN. THE KIA DEALERSHIP HAS INFORMED ME THAT THE VEHICLE HAS INTERNAL ENGINE FAILURE. MY CONCERN IS DRIVING A VEHICLE AT THAT SPEED AND HAVING IT INSTANTLY SHUT OFF IS A HUGE SAFETY RISK AND LIABILITY, ESPECIALLY AFTER HEARING IR HAS HAPPENED TO OTHERS WITH IDENTICAL VEHICLES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/5/2016 - WASHINGTON, DC
WINDSHIELD SEAL STRIP START PEELING FROM THE TOP OF THE DRIVER SIDE .

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/5/2016 - WASHINGTON, DC
WINDSHIELD SEAL STRIP START PEELING FROM THE TOP OF THE DRIVER SIDE .

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/5/2016 - WASHINGTON, DC
WINDSHIELD SEAL STRIP START PEELING FROM THE TOP OF THE DRIVER SIDE .

View Details

ENGINE

10/10/2015 - CENTER VALLEY, PA
WHILE DRIVING CAR AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS, SUDDENLY CAR BEGAN TO DECELERATE, LUCKILY WAS ABLE TO GET TO SHOULDER OF HIGHWAY. CAR DIED WHEN GETTING TO SHOULDER, STARTED AGAIN, ENGINE MAKING HORRIBLE KNOCKING SOUND, AND WOULDN'T MOVE. GOT TOWED TO KIA DEALER, STATED WE NEEDED A NEW ENGINE. KIA DEALER STATED THE CONNECTING ROD ON THE CRANKSHAFT EITHER SEIZED UP OR BROKE AND LOCKED UP.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/19/2015 - CLOVER, SC
WE HAVE HAD TO BRING IN AND HAVE REPAIRED TWICE WITH OUR KIA , IT WAS DUE TO A FAULTY CLUSTER , SO AM WONDERING WHAT DUE WE DO NEXT ,,,,,THANK YOU

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: BATTERY

12/2/2014 - GROTON, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA SPORTAGE. WHILE DRIVING OR ATTEMPTING TO START THE VEHICLE, THE ENGINE SEIZED. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE BATTERY POST WERE TOO BIG FOR THE BATTERY CONNECTORS. AS A RESULT, ALL THE ELECTRICITY IN THE VEHICLE FAILED, INCLUDING THE POWER STEERING AND BRAKES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 16,132.

View Details

ENGINE

6/14/2014 - CHINO, CA
WHILE DRIVING ON FREEWAY AT 70 MPH CAR ENGINE SLOWED TO 40 WITHOUT WARNING THEN DOWN TO 20, ALMOST CAUSING MULTIPLE CARS TO CRASH INTO ME. MANAGED TO DRIVE CAR DIRECTLY TO KIA DEALER WHILE GOING FROM DRIVING FINE, TO SLOWING TO 20 MPH TO SHAKING WHEN AT A STOP LIGHT WHEN I DROPPED OFF CAR TO DEALER THEY COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG. SAYS I HAVE TO PICK BACK UP. PRIOR TO THIS, WHILE ON FREEWAY ENGINE WOULD WIND AND REV RPM WITHOUT MOVING OR ACCELERATING. HAD KIA COMPUTER HOOKED UP FOR WEEKS AND IT DID NOT RECORD ANYTHING. I HAVE HAD IT IN NUMEROUS TIMES AND THEY CANNOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG. VERY DISAPPOINTED WITH MY CHOICE IN KIA.

View Details

ENGINE

4/9/2014 - OMAHA, NE
DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE, THE ENGINE OF THE CAR GAVE OUT. I WAS GIVEN ZERO WARNING BEFORE THE ENGINE COMPLETELY DIED AND I WAS FORCED TO PULL MY CAR OFF TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. I WAS LUCKY THAT THE CAR BEHIND ME DID NOT HIT ME. THE CAR IS ONLY 2 YEARS OLD WITH ABOUT 30,000 MILES AND THIS SHOULD NOT HAVE HAPPENED. IT PUT MY LIFE AND THAT OF MY 11 MONTH OLD SON AT RISK. THE PUBLIC NEEDS TO BE AWARE OF THIS ISSUE! NO ONE SHOULD HAVE TO WORRY ABOUT BEING IN A FATAL ACCIDENT DUE TO KIA'S FAULTY PARTS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  ... 2
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds