Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SPORTAGE - 2012 KIA SPORTAGE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 44 complaints filed for the 2012 KIA SPORTAGE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 KIA SPORTAGE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 KIA SPORTAGE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Exterior Lighting (1) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (4) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electrical System (2) Power Train (2) Structure (2) Visibility (4) Wheels (1)
Engine (30) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  ... 5
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

7/7/2017 - BALL GROUND, GA
TERRIBLE NOISE WHILE DRIVING; PARKED IT FOR TOWING; WHEN STARTED IT QUIT! JUST COMPLAINED TO KIA CUSTOMER SERVICE. THIS VIN IS CURRENTLY OUTSIDE THE ENGINE RECALLS---YOU CAN'T TELL ME THAT THERE ARE NOT MORE ENGINES INVOLVED IN THE CURRENT RECALL!!!!! KIA AND HYUNDAI ARE JUST WAITING US OUT...AND I'M GETTING PISSED OFF!

View Details

ENGINE

7/6/2017 - KISSIMMEE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA SPORTAGE. WHILE DRIVING 23 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT HEARD AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE ENGINE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE ENGINE SEIZED DUE TO PREMATURE BEARING WEAR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT METAL SHAVINGS WERE FOUND IN THE OIL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND ADVISED THE CONTACT TO TAKE THE VEHICLE TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED OR TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V224000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 81,000.

View Details

ENGINE

7/3/2017 - VALDOSTA, GA
DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD AT APPROXIMATELY 45-50 MPH AND THE ENGINE BEGAN KNOCKING. LOST ALL POWER TO THE CAR. A FEW MOMENTS LATER, THE CAR STOPPED COMPLETELY IN THE MIDDLE OF A BUSY INTERSECTION. I GOT OUT OF THE CAR AND PUSHED IT INTO A GAS STATION PARKING LOT. THE CAR WOULD CRANK BUT THE KNOCKING OF THE ENGINE WAS BECOMING WORSE. I HAD THE CAR TOWED TO A SHOP WHERE THE PROBLEM WAS DIAGNOSED AS "ROD KNOCK" WHICH IS CAUSED BY A FAULTY MOTOR, ALLOWING METAL SHAVINGS TO ENTER AND BLOCK THE FLOW OF OIL TO THE MOTOR. NOT WANTING TO BELIEVE THAT I WAS GOING TO HAVE TO PAY $5,000 TO REPLACE THE ENGINE, I GOT A SECOND OPINION FROM A KIA DEALERSHIP IN MY HOME TOWN. NOT ONLY DID THEY CONFIRM WHAT THE INITIAL MECHANIC HAD DIAGNOSED, BUT WERE VERY RUDE WHEN ASKING US TO "REMOVE OUR CAR FROM THEIR PARKING LOT BECAUSE UNLESS WE WERE GOING TO PAY THEM TO FIX IT, IT HAD NO BUSINESS BEING THERE." ALL OIL CHANGES HAVE BEEN DONE REGULARLY AND I HAVE DOCUMENTATION FOR THEM ALL. OUR VEHICLE HAD 74,000 MILES ON IT AND WAS KEPT IN EXCELLENT CONDITION. AS OF NOW, KIA HAS DONE NOTHING TO EXPLAIN WHY NOTHING HAS BEEN DONE ABOUT OUR PROBLEM, AS WELL AS MANY OTHERS WHO HAVE HAD THIS SAME PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE

6/23/2017 - EL MONTE, CA
ONE DAY ME AND MY WIFE WERE DRIVING AROUND THE CITY RUNNING SOME ERRANDS WHEN I NOTICED A SOUND COMING FROM THE ENGINE AREA. SO I ADMEDIATLY HEADED HOME. WHEN I ARRIVED I OPENED THE HOOD OF MY 2012 KIA SPORTAGE TO HEAR A KNOCKING SOUND. AFTER CONFIRMING THE SOUND WAS MY ENGINE I CALL KIA TELLING THEM WHAT WAS GOING ON, THEY MADE ME A APPOINTMENT DATE AND TOLD ME TO CALL MY EXTENDED WARRANTY COMPANY TO NOTIFY THEM OF THE SITUATION AND GET AUTHORIZATION TO DO AN INSPECTION. SO I DID AND THEY TOLD ME TO TAKE IT IN WHILE THEY INVESTIGATE. AS A COUPLE DAYS PASSED I TOOK MY CAR IN AN IMMEDIATELY THEY KNEW WHAT THE PROBLEM WAS AND GUARANTEED ME KIA WOULD HANDLE THE PROBLEM. AS THREE WEEKS WENT BYE I CALLED THE WARRANTY COMPANY TO SEE WHAT WAS TAKING SO LONG AND THEY BEGAN TO SAY THAT THE REASON FOR THE PROBLEM WAS MY FAULT DUE TO LACK OF MAINTENANCE AND IF I WANTED THE ENGINE FIXED IT WOULD COST $8000. I REFUSED REPAIRS AND WENT TO RECOVER MY VEHICLE. AS I DROVE AWAY IN MY VEHICLE I NOTICED THEY GAVE IT BACK MAKING A LOUDER KNOCKING. AS I PROCEEDED TO GO HOME MY CAR SUDDENLY STALLED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE STREET WITH TRAFFIC BEHIND ME. THE CAR WOULD NOT TURN ON ANYMORE. I PUSHED IT TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD WERE I HAD TO CALL FOR A TOW TRUCK TO TAKE IT HOME WERE MY VEHICLE HAS BEEN FOR THE LAST TWO MONTHS.. KIA AND THE EXTENDED WARRANTY COMPANY STILL REFUSING TO DO ANY REPAIRS WITHOUT ME PAYING $8000 FOR A NEW ENGINE.

View Details

ENGINE

6/12/2017 - CORAL SPRINGS, FL
THE CONTACT IS AN ATTORNEY WHOSE CLIENT OWNS A 2012 KIA SPORTAGE. WHILE THE CLIENT'S WIFE WAS DRIVING 65 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER (RICK CASE KIA SUNRISE 14500 W SUNRISE BLVD, SUNRISE, FL 33323), BUT THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE REPLICATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AGAIN AND THE FAILURE RECURRED AS THE DEALER DROVE THE VEHICLE. IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE CRANKSHAFT AND CRANK POSITION SENSORS FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CONTACT SPOKE TO THE DEALER WHO STATED THAT IF NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED, THEY COULD NOT ASSIST. THE FAILURE RECURRED ONCE AGAIN. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V224000 (ENGINE) AND TOOK THE VEHICLE BACK TO RICK CASE KIA FOR AN ENGINE INSPECTION. THE DEALER PERFORMED AN OIL CHANGE, REPLACED THE DIPSTICK, AND STATED THAT THE VEHICLE PASSED PER KIA'S SPECIFICATIONS. THE FAILURE HAD NOT RECURRED AT THE TIME OF THE COMPLAINT. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE CONTACT SHOULD MAKE AN APPOINTMENT WITH THE DEALER. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 59,918.

View Details

ENGINE

6/4/2017 - PHILLIPSBURG, NJ
WHILE DRIVING ON A HIGHWAY, THE ENGINE OF THE CAR BEGAN TO MAKE A LOUD KNOCKING SOUND. AFTER THE NOISE STARTED, THE ENGINE POWER WAS SEVERELY REDUCED. THE CAR FAILED TO ACCELERATE AS NORMAL. AT THE FIRST STOPLIGHT AFTER EXITING THE HIGHWAY, THE ENGINE STALLED. IT STARTED AGAIN, AND STALLED AGAIN AT THE NEXT LIGHT BUT WE WERE ABLE TO GET IT SAFELY TO A PARKING LOT AT AN AUTOMOTIVE SERVICE CENTER. AT NO TIME, DID THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT EVER ILLUMINATE INDICATING THAT THERE MAY BE A PROBLEM BEFORE OR DURING THIS ISSUE. THE CAR WAS INSPECTED THE NEXT DAY AND THE SHOP RECOMMENDED ENGINE REPLACEMENT. CAR WAS TOWED TO A KIA DEALERSHIP AND UPON THEIR INSPECTION, IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE KNOCKING NOISE WAS COMING FROM THE CRANKSHAFT WHICH CAUSED "EXCESSIVE METAL THROUGHOUT THE ENGINE". TOTAL ENGINE REPLACEMENT WAS NECESSARY. THE CAR HAD APPROXIMATELY 103,000 MILES AT THE TIME. KIA CORPORATE OFFERED NO FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE SINCE CERTIFIED PRE-OWNED WARRANTY EXPIRED AT 100,000 MILES. THE TOTAL COST OF THE ENGINE REPLACEMENT WAS $5,037.93 WHICH HAD TO BE PAID OUT OF POCKET.

View Details

ENGINE

6/1/2017 - LAWRENCE, KS
ENGINE KNOCKED AS I SPED UP ON HIGHWAY THEN CAR DIED AND ENGINE AND OIL LIGHTS CAME ON AS I PULLED ONTO AN OFF-RAMP CAR WILL NO LONGER START OR RUN HAD TO BE TOWED DIAGNOSED AS FAILED ENGINE

View Details

ENGINE

5/31/2017 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
YESTERDAY WHEN I WAS DRIVING MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. SO I TOOK IT TO PEPBOYS THAT SAID THE CODE WAS 791. THEN, CALLED THE DEALERSHIP AND MECHANICS TO FIND OUT ABOUT IT. MOST PEOPLE THAT PART SHOULD NOT HAD WENT BAD. THIS CODE IS FOR THE BUTTERFLY FLIPS IN THE INTAKE MANOFOLD.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/31/2017 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
YESTERDAY WHEN I WAS DRIVING MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. SO I TOOK IT TO PEPBOYS THAT SAID THE CODE WAS 791. THEN, CALLED THE DEALERSHIP AND MECHANICS TO FIND OUT ABOUT IT. MOST PEOPLE THAT PART SHOULD NOT HAD WENT BAD. THIS CODE IS FOR THE BUTTERFLY FLIPS IN THE INTAKE MANOFOLD.

View Details

ENGINE

5/27/2017 - HAMMETT, ID
DRIVING DOWN THE FREEWAY AT 80MPH (SPEED LIMIT IN IDAHO), RPMS STARTED TO REV OVER 6K, HEARD A TICKING SOUND, THEN A VERY LOUD BANG, FOLLOWED BY A BIG PUFF OF BLACK SMOKE, ALL IN THE SPAN OF AROUND 20 SECONDS. CAR DIED ON THE FREEWAY, HAD TO COAST TO GET IN EMERGENCY LANE. THEN THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. THERE WAS NO INDICATION OF ENGINE ISSUES UNTIL IT WAS FAR TOO LATE. THANKFUL THE CARS BEHIND ME WERE PAYING ATTENTION OR I WOULD HAVE BEEN IN AN AWFUL ACCIDENT WITH AN 18 WHEELER. MECHANIC FOUND THAT ENGINE HAD THROWN A ROD AND PUT A HOLE IN THE ENGINE BLOCK. 106K MILES ON THE VEHICLE, DID NOT EXPECT TO HAVE ENGINE FAILURE THIS EARLY. THIS VIN IS NOT PART OF THE CURRENT RECALL, I BELIEVE IT SHOULD BE, AS IT HAS BEEN PROPERLY MAINTAINED AND SHOULD NOT HAVE FAILED ON THE FREEWAY WITH NO INDICATION OF PROBLEMS UNTIL IT WAS TOO LATE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds