Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SPORTAGE - 2012 KIA SPORTAGE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors Corporation

There are 14 complaints filed for the 2012 KIA SPORTAGE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 KIA SPORTAGE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 KIA SPORTAGE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Power Train (1) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Structure (2) Visibility (3) Wheels (1)
Exterior Lighting (1)

Pages:  1 
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

4/9/2014 - OMAHA, NE
DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE, THE ENGINE OF THE CAR GAVE OUT. I WAS GIVEN ZERO WARNING BEFORE THE ENGINE COMPLETELY DIED AND I WAS FORCED TO PULL MY CAR OFF TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. I WAS LUCKY THAT THE CAR BEHIND ME DID NOT HIT ME. THE CAR IS ONLY 2 YEARS OLD WITH ABOUT 30,000 MILES AND THIS SHOULD NOT HAVE HAPPENED. IT PUT MY LIFE AND THAT OF MY 11 MONTH OLD SON AT RISK. THE PUBLIC NEEDS TO BE AWARE OF THIS ISSUE! NO ONE SHOULD HAVE TO WORRY ABOUT BEING IN A FATAL ACCIDENT DUE TO KIA'S FAULTY PARTS.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/24/2014 - FARMINGTON HILLS, MI
AT APPROXIMATELY 5:30AM, I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE FREEWAY. MY KIA SPORTAGE SUDDENLY MADE A LOUD BANG, AND THE ENGINE STALLED. IT ALSO SHUT OFF THE HEADLIGHTS, AND DISABLED THE POWER STEERING, WHILE ON A CURVE, GOING 70MPH. THE POWER ASSISTED BRAKES WERE ALSO NOT WORKING, BECAUSE THE ENGINE SHUT DOWN. I MANAGED TO PULL THE VEHICLE OVER WITHOUT INCIDENT, BUT WAS ALMOST HIT BY SEVERAL VEHICLES THAT COULD NO LONGER SEE ME, BECAUSE MY LIGHTS WERE OFF. THE ENGINE WOULD NOT START UP AGAIN, AND I HAD TO HAVE THE VEHICLE TOWED HOME. THIS IS THE 3RD TIME THIS VEHICLE HAS DONE THIS, AND KIA REFUSES TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE.

View Details

ENGINE

3/24/2014 - FARMINGTON HILLS, MI
AT APPROXIMATELY 5:30AM, I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE FREEWAY. MY KIA SPORTAGE SUDDENLY MADE A LOUD BANG, AND THE ENGINE STALLED. IT ALSO SHUT OFF THE HEADLIGHTS, AND DISABLED THE POWER STEERING, WHILE ON A CURVE, GOING 70MPH. THE POWER ASSISTED BRAKES WERE ALSO NOT WORKING, BECAUSE THE ENGINE SHUT DOWN. I MANAGED TO PULL THE VEHICLE OVER WITHOUT INCIDENT, BUT WAS ALMOST HIT BY SEVERAL VEHICLES THAT COULD NO LONGER SEE ME, BECAUSE MY LIGHTS WERE OFF. THE ENGINE WOULD NOT START UP AGAIN, AND I HAD TO HAVE THE VEHICLE TOWED HOME. THIS IS THE 3RD TIME THIS VEHICLE HAS DONE THIS, AND KIA REFUSES TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE.

View Details

STEERING

3/24/2014 - FARMINGTON HILLS, MI
AT APPROXIMATELY 5:30AM, I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE FREEWAY. MY KIA SPORTAGE SUDDENLY MADE A LOUD BANG, AND THE ENGINE STALLED. IT ALSO SHUT OFF THE HEADLIGHTS, AND DISABLED THE POWER STEERING, WHILE ON A CURVE, GOING 70MPH. THE POWER ASSISTED BRAKES WERE ALSO NOT WORKING, BECAUSE THE ENGINE SHUT DOWN. I MANAGED TO PULL THE VEHICLE OVER WITHOUT INCIDENT, BUT WAS ALMOST HIT BY SEVERAL VEHICLES THAT COULD NO LONGER SEE ME, BECAUSE MY LIGHTS WERE OFF. THE ENGINE WOULD NOT START UP AGAIN, AND I HAD TO HAVE THE VEHICLE TOWED HOME. THIS IS THE 3RD TIME THIS VEHICLE HAS DONE THIS, AND KIA REFUSES TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/17/2014 - BOCA RATON, FL
I WAS EXITING THE HIGHWAY ONTO A MEDIAN DIVIDED STREET THAT RUNS EAST/WEST. I WAS STOPPED AT THE LIGHT, IN A DOUBLE TURN LANE, ONCE THE LIGHT TURNED GREEN I PROCEEDED TO TURN WEST GOING ABOUT 5 MPH, IMMEDIATELY I WAS HIT BY A WOMAN TO THE LEFT OF ME IN THE PARALLEL TURN LANE IN MY FRONT DRIVER SIDE QUARTER PANEL. HER CAR HIT AT NEARLY A 90 DEGREE ANGLE WITH ENOUGH IMPACT TO ROCK THE SPORTAGE, IT BUCKLED THE HOOD AND KNOCKED OFF SEVERAL OF THE GRILL PANELS. NOT UNTIL I MOVED THE CAR AND EXITED DID I REALIZE THAT THERE WAS A THIRD CAR INVOLVED THAT IMPACTED THE CAR THAT HIT ME DRIVING HER INTO MY CAR WITH ENOUGH FORCE THAT HER WINDOWS SHATTER AND BENT HER FRONT WHEEL IN. HER AIRBAGS EMPLOYED IN HER VM JETTA CONVERTIBLE, IN ADDITION, TO THE ROLL BARS DEPLOYING. I AM CONCERNED THAT NONE OF MY FRONT AND/OR SIDE AIRBAGS DEPLOYED DURING THE CRASH. MY PASSENGER AND MYSELF SUSTAINED BRUISING FROM THE IMPACT AND SEAT BELT RESTRAINT. WHY DIDN'T THE BAGS DEPLOY? IT WOULD APPEAR THEY ARE DEFECTIVE?

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/13/2014 - INDPLS, IN
I WAS PULLING OUT INTO TRAFFIC AND DID NOT SEE A CAR DUE THEIR HEADLIGHTS WERE NOT ON. WE HIT AND NONE OF MY AIR BACK DEPLOYED THE WHOLE FRONT OF MY CAR WAS SMASHED AND I HIT MY HEAD ON THE DORR JAM AND MY VEHICLE HAS SIDE AIR BAGS ALSO. I HAVE CONTACTED KIA AND INTIALLY GOT A CASE # AND STUFF. THE CASE # IS K2661337. I DID RECEIVED ONE MES FROM THEM REQUESTION STUFF BUT THEY DID NOT LEAVE ANY KINDOF RETURN # OR ANY FAX # OR EMAIL FOR ME TO SEND THE REQUESTED INFORMATION BACK TOO. I HAVE CALLED KIA APPROX. THREE TIMES A WK WITH NO ANSWERS OR RETURN CALLS TODAY I CALLED AND WAS ABLE TO GET A FAX #. I WAS PREFECTLY HEALTHLY PRIOR TO MY WRECK NOW I HAVE TO TAKE PAIN MEDS TO MAKE IT THROUGH THE DAY AND I CAN NOT DO HOUSE WORK OR PICK UP MY TOW YEAR OLD. SOMEONE SHOULD LOOK INTO WHY THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/11/2014 - ALBRIGHTSVILLE, PA
DRIVING TO WORK IN JULY 2013 I HEARD A LOUD POP SOUND AND LOOKED AROUND AND NOTICED NOTHING OUT OF THE ORDINARY ABOUT 10 SECONDS LATER MY PANORAMIC SUNROOF SHATTERED. I THOUGHT MAYBE SOMETHING WAS KICKED UP FROM A TRUCK IN FRONT OF ME AND HIT THE ROOF SO I FILED A CLAIM WITH MY INSURANCE COMANY. LUCKLY IT WAS TAKEN CARE OF. NOW ITS MARCH 2014 AND I HAD THE SAME THINK HAPPEN, I HEARD A LOUD POP LOOKED AROUND AND SAW NOTHING UNTIL THE NEXT DAY. MY WINDSHIELD WAS CRACKED AND THE PANEL OF GLASS BETWEEN THE WINDSHIELD AND THE PANORAMIC SUNROOF SHATTERED. I TOO CALLED THE DEALER AND THEY TOLD ME TO CALL MY INSURANCE COMPANY THAT THIS WAS NOT THEIR PROBLEM. TWICE IS ONE YEAR...I THINK THIS IS A MANUFACTURING DEFECT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/14/2013 - HUDSON, WI
I SWERVED TO HIT A DEER, HIT THE DEER THEN WENT IN TO THE DITCH AND DROVE HEAD ON INTO A TREE. THE AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY, AND I AM WONDERING WHY.

View Details

VISIBILITY: GLASS, SIDE/REAR

1/31/2013 - METAIRIE, LA
I WAS WAITING AT A STOP LIGHT WHEN I HEARD A HUGE POP SOUND ALMOST LIKE A FIRECRACKER AND WHEN I TURNED AROUND TO SEE WHAT IT WAS MY ENTIRE BACK WINDOW WAS COMPLETELY SHATTERED. THERE WAS NO ROCK OR ANY OBJECT LIKE THAT TO BE FOUND ANYWHERE SO I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT CAUSED IT, MAYBE PRESSURE OR AN AIR BUBBLE? IT SEEMED LIKE A DEFAULT IN THE WINDOW TO ME BUT OF COURSE IT'S NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY.

View Details

ENGINE

11/20/2012 - FARMINGTON HILLS, MI
I PULLED A TRAILER FOR THE FIRST TIME ON THIS DATE. THE TRUCK ONLY MADE IT 10 MILES, AND LOST ALL POWER, AND I BARELY MADE IT OFF OF THE FREEWAY. BROUGHT IT TO THE DEALER, AND THEY FOUND THE SPARK PLUGS BLEW APART. ALL THEY DID WAS CHANGE THE SPARK PLUGS AND SENT ME ON MY WAY. ON JULY 13TH, I TOWED MY CAMPER, WHICH WAS LIGHTER THAN THE LAST TRAILER I PULLED. THIS TIME, ABOUT 6 MILES INTO THE TRIP, THE ENGINE COMPLETELY LET GO ON THE HIGHWAY. I HAD TO GET ACROSS 4 LANES OF TRAFFIC WITH NO POWER AND A CAMPER IN-TOW. WAITED AT THE SIDE OF THE ROAD FOR AN HOUR AND A HALF BEFORE KIA SENT A TOW VEHICLE. DISCOVERED ALL 4 SPARK PLUGS WERE DESTROYED, AND A HOLE IN CYLINDER 3. KIA WILL NOT WARRANTY IT, BLAMING THE ENGINE FAILURE ON THE CAMPER NOT HAVING TRAILER BRAKES(COMPLETELY ABSURD). THE FIRST FAILURE IN JUNE, THE TRAILER WEIGHED 500LBS MORE, AND HAD TRAILER BRAKES. KIA DOES NOT WANT TO ADMIT FAULT FOR THIS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS FAULT IN THEIR ENGINE. THE VEHICLE IS RATED FOR 2,000LBS TOWING CAPACITY, AND BOTH TRAILERS WERE WELL UNDER THE LIMIT. MY CAMPER IS ONLY 1,155LBS. COMPLETE ENGINE FAILURE ON THE HIGHWAY PUT ME AND MY ENTIRE FAMILY IN DANGER TWICE. THIS IS UN-ACCEPTABLE. THIS WAS A LOADED SX AWD.(TURBOCHARGED).

View Details
Pages:  1 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds