Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SPORTAGE - 2012 KIA SPORTAGE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 67 complaints filed for the 2012 KIA SPORTAGE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 KIA SPORTAGE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 KIA SPORTAGE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Engine (46) Seat Belts (1) Structure (2) Visibility (4)
Electrical System (5) Exterior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (6) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Power Train (3) Steering (4) Vehicle Speed Control (1) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

12/26/2017 - BONNEY LAKE, WA
WAS DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD AT ABOUT 20-25 MPH WHEN THE ENGINE DIED WITHOUT WARNING. AFTER HAVING IT TOWED TO A LOCAL SHOP, THEY DETERMINED THERE WAS AN INTERNAL "CATASTROPHIC" ENGINE FAILURE. HAD THE CAR TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS PURCHASED, LEE JOHNSON KIA IN KIRKLAND, WA. THEY CONFIRMED THE FIRST DIAGNOSIS OF CATASTROPHIC ENGINE FAILURE. IT APPEARS THE ENGINE STARVED ITSELF OF OIL AND EXACTLY MATCHES ALL OF THE SYMPTOMS DESCRIBED IN THE CURRENT KIA "THETA II" ENGINE RECALL CAMPAIGN. THE DEALER AGREES THAT IT SHOULD BE COVERED UNDER THE RECALL BUT KIA REFUSES TO COVER IT. WE HAVE BEEN WITHOUT THIS VEHICLE SINCE LATE MAY 2017. IT HAS BEEN SITTING AT THE DEALER EVER SINCE. KIA'S REASONING FOR NOT COVERING THE ENGINE REPLACEMENT WAS THAT THE ENGINE DID NOT ORIGINATE FROM THE ASSEMBLY FACTORY OUTLINED IN THE RECALL. HOWEVER, JUST AS KIA ASSUMED THE PREVIOUS HYUNDAI RECALL DIDN'T IMPACT THEM (AS NOTED IN YOUR CURRENTLY OPEN INVESTIGATION), I BELIEVE THEY CONTINUE TO UNDERESTIMATE THE BROADER IMPACT OF THIS MANUFACTURING DEFECT ACROSS ALL OF THEIR ASSEMBLY FACTORIES. THIS LEAVES CUSTOMERS LIKE ME TO FOOT THE BILL AND REPLACE THE DEFECTIVE ENGINE WITH A USED, ALSO LIKELY DEFECTIVE ENGINE, TO THE COST OF ~$7,000. THIS IS UNACCEPTABLE AND UNSAFE. WE COUNT OUR BLESSING THIS DIDN'T HAPPEN WHILE ON THE FREEWAY, AS THE OUTCOME COULD HAVE BEEN DEADLY.

View Details

ENGINE

12/18/2017 - PENDLETON, OR
AS I PULLED OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY AND BEGAN ACCELERATING, MY CAR BEGAN MAKING A LOUD KNOCKING NOISE IN THE FRONT END. AFTER PULLING OVER AND VERIFYING THE NOISE WAS COMING FROM THE MOTOR, I TOOK THE CAR TO MY MECHANIC. HE PULLED THE OIL FILTER AND CUT IT OPEN. CONFIRMING THERE WERE METAL SHAVINGS IN THE OIL FILTER. AFTER CALLING OUR LOCAL KIA DEALERSHIP, THEY CONFIRMED THERE WAS A RECALL FOR THE 2012 KIA SPORTAGES, BUT CONTINUED TO TELL ME MY VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN SAID RECALL. (I PURCHASE MY CAR USED, AFTER A ONE YEAR LEASE, SO THE WARRANTY WAS VOID FOR ME.) I AM CONFUSED AS TO WHY MY ISSUE WAS "VERIFIED" TO BE THE SAME ISSUE AS THE RECALL, BUT MY ENGINE (2.4 L VS. 2.0 L) WAS NOT INCLUDED?!?!?! SOMETHING IS NOT RIGHT. NOW I AM STUCK WITH MONEY REMAINING ON MY LOAN AND A VERY LARGE PAPERWEIGHT. (APPROXIMATE MILEAGE AT THE TIME OF ISSUE 79,000)

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/9/2017 - HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA
ENGINE SEIZED. MOVES WHILE IN PARK MOVES FORWARD IN REVERSE. DRIVING ENGINE STALLED PULLED OVER CAR DIED. THEN WOULD NOT ENGAGE BUT STILL MOVED AS DESCRIBED. HAD HAPPENED A FEW MONTHS AGO AFTER TRANSMISSION REPLACE. THEN THE IGNITER SWITCH NEEDED REPLACEMENT.

View Details

ENGINE

12/9/2017 - HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA
ENGINE SEIZED. MOVES WHILE IN PARK MOVES FORWARD IN REVERSE. DRIVING ENGINE STALLED PULLED OVER CAR DIED. THEN WOULD NOT ENGAGE BUT STILL MOVED AS DESCRIBED. HAD HAPPENED A FEW MONTHS AGO AFTER TRANSMISSION REPLACE. THEN THE IGNITER SWITCH NEEDED REPLACEMENT.

View Details

ENGINE

12/5/2017 - BURNABY, BC, CANADA, WA
VEHICLE IS EQUIPPED WITH 2.4L MPI ENGINE, 140,000 KILOMETERS, METICULOUSLY MAINTAINED WITH REGULAR OIL CHANGES WITH PREMIUM SYNTHETIC OIL AND FILTERS, SPARK PLUG CHANGE, ETC. ENGINE ALWAYS MADE SOME LIGHT KNOCKING SOUND BUT ASSUMED IT WAS THE INJECTORS, NO LIGHTS OR ERRORS EVER CAME ON AND SERVICE TECHS NEVER SAID ANYTHING AND FORUMS MENTIONED NOISY INJECTORS SO ASSUMED IT WAS NORMAL. A FEW DAYS AGO I WAS ON MY HOME ASCENDING A REGULAR HILL IN THE RESIDENTIAL AREA WHEN AN UNUSUALLY LOUD KNOCKING NOISE BEGAN AND ENGINE BEGAN TO STRUGGLE. IT WAS LATE AT NIGHT, AND 5 MINUTES AWAY FROM HOME SO I WAS HOPING I COULD AT LEAST MAKE IT HOME TO BED AND GET IT TOWED TO THE SHOP IN THE MORNING BUT AS I APPROACHED THE TOP OF THE HILL THE ENGINE COMPLETELY SHUT DOWN CAUSING ABRUPT DECELERATION AND THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO ROLL BACK DOWN IN REVERSE QUITE RAPIDLY AND WAS VERY DIFFICULT TO SLOW IT TO A SAFE STOP SINCE THE BRAKES STIFFEN UP WITHOUT VACUUM FROM THE RUNNING ENGINE ON TOP OF BEING STARTLED FROM THE EVENT AND SLIGHTLY PANICKING FROM THE SURPRISE. LUCKILY ENOUGH IT WAS AT NIGHT AND THERE WAS NO TRAFFIC OR PEDESTRIANS BEHIND OR NEAR ME BUT STILL WAS FRIGHTENING ENOUGH. I WAS ABLE TO BARELY CONTROL THE SPEED OF THE CAR DOWN THE HILL IN REVERSE WITH NO POWER STEERING AND BRAKES STIFFENED UP AND THE EMERGENCY BRAKE WAS NOT STRONG ENOUGH AT THAT INCLINE. I WAS ABLE TO MOVE THE CAR OFF THE MAIN STREET TO A SIDE STREET AND ATTEMPTED TO START THE VEHICLE SEVERAL TIMES HOPING IT WAS EITHER A FUEL PROBLEM OR ELECTRICAL. WITH NO AVAIL, I CALLED TOW COMPANY, WAITED FOR AN HOUR IN THE COLD AT MIDNIGHT, NOTHING WORKED, JUST CLICKING, TOWED IT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND TOOK A CAB HOME. GOT NEWS FROM DEALER THAT ENGINE WAS INFACT SEIZED AND QUOTE TO REPLACE ENGINE IS $8500 PLUS LABOR.

View Details

ENGINE

11/30/2017 - VENTURA, CA
CAR IS A 2012 KIA SPORTAGE. 82,000 MILES 5 YRS OLD. FIRST INSTANCE. CAR WAS MOVING AROUND 2 MPH THROUGH DRIVE THRU WHEN THE CAR STALLED. ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AT THAT TIME. WAS ABLE TO RESTART. TOOK TO DEALERSHIP. SAID THE ENGINE WAS DIRTY BUT COULD NOT FIND PROBLEM. 1 WEEK LATER WHILE EXITING FREEWAY AROUND 20MPH. CAR SHUT OFF WHILE STILL IN MOTION BUT COMING TO A STOP. AGAIN ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. CAR TURNED OVER WAS ABLE TO RESTART. HAPPENED AGAIN WHILE APPROACHING STOP. SHUT DOWN BEFORE COMING TO COMPLETE STOP. HAD CAR TOWED TO DEALERSHIP. FOUND SLUGE BUILD UP AND METAL SHAVINGS IN ENGINE. DEALERSHIP NOW STATING COMPLETE ENGINE FAILURE. HAVE EXTENDED WARRANTY AND WILL NOT COVER ENGINE DUE TO "MAINTENCE" ISSUE. WILL COVER REPLACEMENT PARTS ONLY. MECHANIC STATED ISSUE WILL MOST LIKELY NOT BE RESOLVED WITH PART REPLACEMENT WANTS OIL CHANGE RECORDS.

View Details

ENGINE

11/28/2017 - RACINE, WI
LEFT WORK AND ONTO HIGHWAY IN RUSH HOUR DOING AROUND 20 MPH. WITHIN A MILE OF WORK, OIL LIGHT CAME ON AND THE ENGINE SEIZED. HAD TO PUSH CAR OFF ROAD IN LARGE CITY CONSTRUCTION ZONE OF ONLY TWO LANES WITH NO SHOULDER LANES AVAILABLE. THE VEHICLE HAD GOTTEN REGULAR AND PROPER OIL CHANGES USING SYNTHETIC OIL. AFTER THE EVENT, CHECKING THE OIL, THERE WAS OIL STILL ON THE DIPSTICK. THIS IS A VEHICLE THAT HAS BEEN INVOLVED IN A RECENT RECALL, AND YET, FOR SOME REASON THE CLAIM IS MY CAR/ENGINE IS NOT INVOLVED. I SEE MANY OTHERS REPORTING THE SAME THING WITH KIA ENGINES FROM THIS TIMEFRAME BEING GIVEN A SIMILAR SONG AND DANCE. THE ORIGINAL RECALL WAS EXPANDED. I WOULD SAY IT SHOULD BE EXPANDED AGAIN. I WAS FORTUNATE WITH IT BEING RUSH HOUR THAT I WAS NOT GOING FULL HIGHWAY SPEED. THE ENGINE HAD 150,000 MILES ON IT, BUT IT WAS DUE TO AVERAGING ALMOST 27,000 A YEAR IN MOSTLY HIGHWAY MILES.

View Details

ENGINE

11/22/2017 - TUCSON, AZ
2012 KIA SPORTAGE (APPROX 55K MILES, VIN NOT COVERED BY THE RECALL - MANUFACTURER WARRANTY EXPIRED IN JANUARY). DRIVING ACROSS COUNTRY FOR THANKSGIVING. WE LEFT TUCSON, AZ LAST THURSDAY NIGHT (11/16). FRIDAY AFTERNOON WE STARTED HEARING A RATTLING SOUND COMING FROM THE ENGINE. AS I ACCELERATED, THE RATTLING BECAME FASTER AND WORSE. ABOUT 1 TO 2 MILES LATER, THE CARS JUST STOPPED RUNNING. WE WERE STRANDED 50 MILES WEST OF ODESSA TX FOR ABOUT 2 HOURS. $400 TOW TRUCK RIDE TO THE KIA DEALERSHIP IN ODESSA. WE GOT THERE ABOUT 30 MINUTES BEFORE THEY CLOSED AND WERE TOLD THE CAR LIKELY WOULD NEED A ENGINE REPLACEMENT, BUT THEY COULDN'T CHECK IT OUT UNTIL MONDAY. WE DECIDED TO RENT A CAR AND FORGE AHEAD TO NORTH CAROLINA LEAVING OUR SPORTAGE IN TEXAS. I CALLED ON MONDAY, AND WAS THE TOLD THE ENGINE WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. I ASKED ABOUT THE OIL, AND WAS TOLD THE OIL WAS "FULL AND CLEAN". THEY WERE GOING TO TRY TO FIND A REASONABLY PRICED USED ENGINE FOR US. AFTER LEARNING OF THE ENGINE RECALL, I CALLED KIA ON TUESDAY MORNING (800-333-4KIA) AND WAS TOLD OUR CAR WASN'T AFFECTED BY THE RECALL, BUT IF THE CAR WAS DIAGNOSED AT THE DEALERSHIP A "TECH-LINE" WOULD BE GENERATED AND KIA COULD LOOK AT THE CASE AND POSSIBLY HELP OUT ON A CASE-BY-CASE BASIS. I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP BACK AND THEY TOLD ME THEY DON'T START A "TECH-LINE" IF THE CAR IS NO LONGER COVERED BY WARRANTY, BUT THEY WOULD CHECK WITH HIS REGIONAL MANAGER AND GET BACK TO ME. I HAVEN'T HEARD FROM THEM TODAY. ANYWAY... SORRY FOR THE NOVEL. BASED ON OTHER STORIES, AND NEWS ARTICLES I'VE READ, I BELIEVE THIS ENGINE HAS THE SAME KIND OF DEFECTS THE OTHERS HAVE HAD. ANY HELP WOULD BE APPRECIATED. THANKS!

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/22/2017 - WYOMING, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA SPORTAGE. WHILE THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, THE VEHICLE INADVERTENTLY ACCELERATED AT A RAPID SPEED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO FOX KIA (4141 28TH ST SE, GRAND RAPIDS, MI 49512 (616) 524-4008), BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND CONFIRMED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL ASSOCIATED WITH THE VIN. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 69,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/27/2017 - SAINT PAUL, MN
AIR QUALITY. CAR CONSISTENTLY SMELLS LIKE MOLD AND MILDEW IN THE AIR VENTS DESPITE FREQUENT CHANGING OF FILTERS AND TREATMENT FOR MOLD AND MILDEW. CONDENSATION DOESN'T EVAPORATE AND MILDEW FORMS CREATING AN INDOOR AIR QUALITY ISSUE IN THE CAR. HAPPENS FREQUENTLY AND MAKES THE CAR UNDRIVEABLE FOR ANYONE WITH MOLD AND MILDEW ALLERGIES

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds