Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SPORTAGE - 2012 KIA SPORTAGE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 81 complaints filed for the 2012 KIA SPORTAGE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 KIA SPORTAGE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 KIA SPORTAGE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Engine (59) Seat Belts (1) Structure (2) Visibility (4)
Electrical System (6) Exterior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (6) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Power Train (3) Steering (4) Vehicle Speed Control (1) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

5/19/2018 - SEATTLE, WA
I WAS DRIVING THE VEHICLE ON AN INTERSTATE WHEN I SUDDENLY HEARD A POPPING SOUND AND THE BATTERY AND OIL LIGHTS CAME ON SIMULTANEOUSLY. THEN THE ENGINE SHUT OFF ENTIRELY. I WAS ABLE TO GLIDE TO THE END OF THE EXIT RAMP BEFORE THE CAR CAME TO A STOP AND I COULDN+T RESTART THE ENGINE.

View Details

ENGINE

5/17/2018 - MANTECA, CA
I WAS DRIVING IN THE MIDDLE OF A BUSY HIGHWAY WHEN MY CAR ALL THE SUDDEN LOST ALL POWER. I LUCKILY WAS ABLE TO GET TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE CAR HOWEVER WOULD TURN OVER. ELECTRIC WORKED BUT ENGINE MAKE LOUD NOISE. I HAD TO HAVE IT TOWED BACK HOME, 2 HOURS AWAY, TO HAVE A DEALERSHIP TAKE A LOOK AT IT. THE BEARING WORE FROM THE ENGINE COMPLETELY LOCKED UP THE ENGINE. FOUND OUT VEHICLE HAS RECALL ON SOME 2012 SPORTAGE BUT NOT MINE WILL COST $5000 TO FIX

View Details

ENGINE

5/7/2018 - ATHENS, GA
VEHICLE BEGAN TO SUDDENLY MAKE KNOCKING NOISES WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY. DRIVER WAS ABLE TO MAKE IT SHORT DISTANCE HOME BEFORE ENGINE COMPLETELY SEIZED. TOWED TO KIA DEALERSHIP WHO CONFIRMED THE ENGINE HAD SEIZED (PISTONS BECAME COMPLETELY STUCK AND UNABLE TO MOVE). SERVICE MANAGER SAID ONLY FIX IS TO REPLACE THE MOTOR,

View Details

ENGINE

5/7/2018 - BEAVER FALLS, PA
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD WHEN THE ENGINE SIEZED UP AND DIED ON ME. I WAS TRAVELING AT 60 MPH WHEN IT DIED ON ME AND LUCKILY THERE WAS A SHOULDER TO PULL OFF OF THE HIGHWAY SO THAT I COULD GET OUT OF HARMS WAY IN THE HEAVY TRAFFIC.

View Details

ENGINE

4/27/2018 - NAPLES, FL
I PURCHASED A 2012 KIA SPORTAGE FOR MY DAUGHTER FOUR MONTHS AGO. LAST WEEK SHE WAS DRIVING LATE AT NIGHT ON THE FREEWAY AND SHE HEARD A LOUD BANG, LOST POWER AND WAS ABLE TO COAST OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE CAR FILLED UP WITH SMOKE AS ALL THE OIL HAD DRAINED OUT AND THE HOT ENGINE WAS BURNING IT. I HAD TO HAVE IT TOWED TO THE NEAREST KIA DEALERSHIP. THEY DETERMINED THAT THE PISTON HAD GONE THROUGH THEN ENGINE BLOCK. THEY TOLD ME THAT I SHOULD HAVE TO ONLY PAY $119 DOLLARS TO PULL THE HEAD GASKET AND KIA SHOULD COVER THE COST OF A NEW ENGINE. AFTER PULLING THE GASKET THEY TOLD ME THE BLOWN ENGINE WAS NO FAULT OF KIA AND SINCE THE CAR HAD NOT BEEN SERVICED THERE THE DEALERSHIP WOULD NOT PAY TO FIX IT. AFTER MANY HOURS OF RESEARCH I LEARNED THAT THE SAME MODEL AND SAME YEAR THE ENGINES I HAVE HAS BEEN INVOLVED IN A RECALL. THE ONLY DIFFERENCE BETWEEN THE TWO ENGINES IS THEY COME OUT OF DIFFERENT MANUFACTURING FACILITIES. THIS MAKES ABSOLUTELY NO SENSE SINCE THE ENGINES ARE HAVING THE EXACT SAME ISSUES. I ABSOLUTELY DO NOT HAVE $6800 TO PAY FOR A USED ENGINE WHICH HAS MORE MILES ON IT THEN THE ONE THAT WAS BLOWN. NOT TO MENTION IT TAKES THE VALUE DOWN CONSIDERABLY. WE WOULD LIVE IN CONSTANT FEAR THAT THE ENGINE WOULD BLOW AGAIN PUTTING MY DAUGHTER IN DANGER. I HAVE GOTTEN ONE MESSAGE FROM THE ESCALATION DEPARTMENT. I HAVE TRIED TO CALL BACK REPEATEDLY, WITH NO RETURN CALL. THIS EXPERIENCE AND TREATMENT BY A COMPANY THAT SUPPOSEDLY PRIDES THEMSELVES ON THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE IS DEPLORABLE. UPDATE. I RECEIVED A CALL ON 4/16/2018 FROM A KIA CONSUMER COMPLAINT REPRESENTATIVE. WE TALKED EXTENSIVELY ABOUT THE SITUATION. HE ASSURED ME HE WOULD BE WORKING ON A SOLUTION AND TOLD ME HE WOULD CALL ME WITHIN 5 BUSINESS DAYS. AS OF 4/27/2018 STILL NO CALL. I WOULD HAVE CALLED HIM SOONER BUT I JUST GOT OUT OF SURGERY A FEW DAYS AGO.

View Details

ENGINE

4/16/2018 - BENTON, IL
CAR ENGINE SEIZED UP WHILE DRIVING IN TOWN . HAVE AUTO AT MECHANIC WHO HAS BROKE DOWN MOTOR SAID ENGINE BEARING WAS BAD , THE BEARING WAS SPUN CAUSING THE ENGINE TO SEIZE WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD

View Details

ENGINE

3/19/2018 - CHICAGO, IL
ENGINE FELL APART ON EXPRESSWAY GOING 70MPH

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/10/2018 - BUFFALO, NY
ALL GAUGES ON INSTRUMENT PANEL STOPPED WORKING.

View Details

ENGINE

3/6/2018 - SPANISH FORK, UT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 KIA SPORTAGE. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE ENGINE SEIZED WITHOUT WARNING. AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE SEIZED. DOUG SMITH KIA IN AMERICAN FORK, UTAH WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND REFERRED THE CONTACT TO THE DEALER. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 66,000.

View Details

ENGINE

3/3/2018 - BOYERTOWN, PA
CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. MECHANIC TESTED AND GOT CODE- P0017 WHICH IS UNKNOWN TROUBLE CODE. THE MECHANIC SAID THERE WAS A RECALL ON THIS MOTOR IN OTHER VEHICLES DUE TO ENGINE SEIZING UP WITH THIS CODE. TWO DAYS AFTER THAT THE CAR IS NOT DRIVEABLE. WHEN I WENT OUT TO START THE CAR IT TOOK AWHILE TO TURN OVER AND WON'T START. THE CAR HAS NEW BATTERY AND ALTERNATOR WAS TESTED AND IS GOOD. I WAS LUCKY AND WASN'T DRIVING WHEN ENGINE SEIZED UP. CAR ONLY HAS 104,000 MILES ON IT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds