Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SPORTAGE - 2012 KIA SPORTAGE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 15 complaints filed for the 2012 KIA SPORTAGE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 KIA SPORTAGE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 KIA SPORTAGE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Exterior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Structure (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (4) Power Train (1) Steering (2) Visibility (4) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  ... 2
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

6/14/2014 - CHINO, CA
WHILE DRIVING ON FREEWAY AT 70 MPH CAR ENGINE SLOWED TO 40 WITHOUT WARNING THEN DOWN TO 20, ALMOST CAUSING MULTIPLE CARS TO CRASH INTO ME. MANAGED TO DRIVE CAR DIRECTLY TO KIA DEALER WHILE GOING FROM DRIVING FINE, TO SLOWING TO 20 MPH TO SHAKING WHEN AT A STOP LIGHT WHEN I DROPPED OFF CAR TO DEALER THEY COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG. SAYS I HAVE TO PICK BACK UP. PRIOR TO THIS, WHILE ON FREEWAY ENGINE WOULD WIND AND REV RPM WITHOUT MOVING OR ACCELERATING. HAD KIA COMPUTER HOOKED UP FOR WEEKS AND IT DID NOT RECORD ANYTHING. I HAVE HAD IT IN NUMEROUS TIMES AND THEY CANNOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG. VERY DISAPPOINTED WITH MY CHOICE IN KIA

View Details

ENGINE

4/9/2014 - OMAHA, NE
DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE, THE ENGINE OF THE CAR GAVE OUT. I WAS GIVEN ZERO WARNING BEFORE THE ENGINE COMPLETELY DIED AND I WAS FORCED TO PULL MY CAR OFF TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. I WAS LUCKY THAT THE CAR BEHIND ME DID NOT HIT ME. THE CAR IS ONLY 2 YEARS OLD WITH ABOUT 30,000 MILES AND THIS SHOULD NOT HAVE HAPPENED. IT PUT MY LIFE AND THAT OF MY 11 MONTH OLD SON AT RISK. THE PUBLIC NEEDS TO BE AWARE OF THIS ISSUE! NO ONE SHOULD HAVE TO WORRY ABOUT BEING IN A FATAL ACCIDENT DUE TO KIA'S FAULTY PARTS.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/24/2014 - FARMINGTON HILLS, MI
AT APPROXIMATELY 5:30AM, I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE FREEWAY. MY KIA SPORTAGE SUDDENLY MADE A LOUD BANG, AND THE ENGINE STALLED. IT ALSO SHUT OFF THE HEADLIGHTS, AND DISABLED THE POWER STEERING, WHILE ON A CURVE, GOING 70MPH. THE POWER ASSISTED BRAKES WERE ALSO NOT WORKING, BECAUSE THE ENGINE SHUT DOWN. I MANAGED TO PULL THE VEHICLE OVER WITHOUT INCIDENT, BUT WAS ALMOST HIT BY SEVERAL VEHICLES THAT COULD NO LONGER SEE ME, BECAUSE MY LIGHTS WERE OFF. THE ENGINE WOULD NOT START UP AGAIN, AND I HAD TO HAVE THE VEHICLE TOWED HOME. THIS IS THE 3RD TIME THIS VEHICLE HAS DONE THIS, AND KIA REFUSES TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE.

View Details

ENGINE

3/24/2014 - FARMINGTON HILLS, MI
AT APPROXIMATELY 5:30AM, I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE FREEWAY. MY KIA SPORTAGE SUDDENLY MADE A LOUD BANG, AND THE ENGINE STALLED. IT ALSO SHUT OFF THE HEADLIGHTS, AND DISABLED THE POWER STEERING, WHILE ON A CURVE, GOING 70MPH. THE POWER ASSISTED BRAKES WERE ALSO NOT WORKING, BECAUSE THE ENGINE SHUT DOWN. I MANAGED TO PULL THE VEHICLE OVER WITHOUT INCIDENT, BUT WAS ALMOST HIT BY SEVERAL VEHICLES THAT COULD NO LONGER SEE ME, BECAUSE MY LIGHTS WERE OFF. THE ENGINE WOULD NOT START UP AGAIN, AND I HAD TO HAVE THE VEHICLE TOWED HOME. THIS IS THE 3RD TIME THIS VEHICLE HAS DONE THIS, AND KIA REFUSES TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE.

View Details

STEERING

3/24/2014 - FARMINGTON HILLS, MI
AT APPROXIMATELY 5:30AM, I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE FREEWAY. MY KIA SPORTAGE SUDDENLY MADE A LOUD BANG, AND THE ENGINE STALLED. IT ALSO SHUT OFF THE HEADLIGHTS, AND DISABLED THE POWER STEERING, WHILE ON A CURVE, GOING 70MPH. THE POWER ASSISTED BRAKES WERE ALSO NOT WORKING, BECAUSE THE ENGINE SHUT DOWN. I MANAGED TO PULL THE VEHICLE OVER WITHOUT INCIDENT, BUT WAS ALMOST HIT BY SEVERAL VEHICLES THAT COULD NO LONGER SEE ME, BECAUSE MY LIGHTS WERE OFF. THE ENGINE WOULD NOT START UP AGAIN, AND I HAD TO HAVE THE VEHICLE TOWED HOME. THIS IS THE 3RD TIME THIS VEHICLE HAS DONE THIS, AND KIA REFUSES TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/17/2014 - BOCA RATON, FL
I WAS EXITING THE HIGHWAY ONTO A MEDIAN DIVIDED STREET THAT RUNS EAST/WEST. I WAS STOPPED AT THE LIGHT, IN A DOUBLE TURN LANE, ONCE THE LIGHT TURNED GREEN I PROCEEDED TO TURN WEST GOING ABOUT 5 MPH, IMMEDIATELY I WAS HIT BY A WOMAN TO THE LEFT OF ME IN THE PARALLEL TURN LANE IN MY FRONT DRIVER SIDE QUARTER PANEL. HER CAR HIT AT NEARLY A 90 DEGREE ANGLE WITH ENOUGH IMPACT TO ROCK THE SPORTAGE, IT BUCKLED THE HOOD AND KNOCKED OFF SEVERAL OF THE GRILL PANELS. NOT UNTIL I MOVED THE CAR AND EXITED DID I REALIZE THAT THERE WAS A THIRD CAR INVOLVED THAT IMPACTED THE CAR THAT HIT ME DRIVING HER INTO MY CAR WITH ENOUGH FORCE THAT HER WINDOWS SHATTER AND BENT HER FRONT WHEEL IN. HER AIRBAGS EMPLOYED IN HER VM JETTA CONVERTIBLE, IN ADDITION, TO THE ROLL BARS DEPLOYING. I AM CONCERNED THAT NONE OF MY FRONT AND/OR SIDE AIRBAGS DEPLOYED DURING THE CRASH. MY PASSENGER AND MYSELF SUSTAINED BRUISING FROM THE IMPACT AND SEAT BELT RESTRAINT. WHY DIDN'T THE BAGS DEPLOY? IT WOULD APPEAR THEY ARE DEFECTIVE?

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/13/2014 - INDPLS, IN
I WAS PULLING OUT INTO TRAFFIC AND DID NOT SEE A CAR DUE THEIR HEADLIGHTS WERE NOT ON. WE HIT AND NONE OF MY AIR BACK DEPLOYED THE WHOLE FRONT OF MY CAR WAS SMASHED AND I HIT MY HEAD ON THE DOOR JAM AND MY VEHICLE HAS SIDE AIR BAGS ALSO. I HAVE CONTACTED KIA AND INITIALLY GOT A CASE # AND STUFF. THE CASE # IS [XXX]. I DID RECEIVED ONE MESS FROM THEM REQUESTION STUFF BUT THEY DID NOT LEAVE ANY KINDOF RETURN # OR ANY FAX # OR EMAIL FOR ME TO SEND THE REQUESTED INFORMATION BACK TOO. I HAVE CALLED KIA APPROX. THREE TIMES A WK WITH NO ANSWERS OR RETURN CALLS TODAY I CALLED AND WAS ABLE TO GET A FAX #. I WAS PERFECTLY HEALTHY PRIOR TO MY WRECK NOW I HAVE TO TAKE PAIN MEDS TO MAKE IT THROUGH THE DAY AND I CAN NOT DO HOUSE WORK OR PICK UP MY TOW YEAR OLD. SOMEONE SHOULD LOOK INTO WHY THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

VISIBILITY: SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

3/11/2014 - ALBRIGHTSVILLE, PA
DRIVING TO WORK IN JULY 2013 I HEARD A LOUD POP SOUND AND LOOKED AROUND AND NOTICED NOTHING OUT OF THE ORDINARY ABOUT 10 SECONDS LATER MY PANORAMIC SUNROOF SHATTERED. I THOUGHT MAYBE SOMETHING WAS KICKED UP FROM A TRUCK IN FRONT OF ME AND HIT THE ROOF SO I FILED A CLAIM WITH MY INSURANCE COMPANY. LUCKILY IT WAS TAKEN CARE OF. NOW ITS MARCH 2014 AND I HAD THE SAME THINK HAPPEN, I HEARD A LOUD POP LOOKED AROUND AND SAW NOTHING UNTIL THE NEXT DAY. MY WINDSHIELD WAS CRACKED AND THE PANEL OF GLASS BETWEEN THE WINDSHIELD AND THE PANORAMIC SUNROOF SHATTERED. I TOO CALLED THE DEALER AND THEY TOLD ME TO CALL MY INSURANCE COMPANY THAT THIS WAS NOT THEIR PROBLEM. TWICE IS ONE YEAR...I THINK THIS IS A MANUFACTURING DEFECT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/14/2013 - HUDSON, WI
I SWERVED TO HIT A DEER, HIT THE DEER THEN WENT IN TO THE DITCH AND DROVE HEAD ON INTO A TREE. THE AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY, AND I AM WONDERING WHY.

View Details

VISIBILITY: GLASS, SIDE/REAR

1/31/2013 - METAIRIE, LA
I WAS WAITING AT A STOP LIGHT WHEN I HEARD A HUGE POP SOUND ALMOST LIKE A FIRECRACKER AND WHEN I TURNED AROUND TO SEE WHAT IT WAS MY ENTIRE BACK WINDOW WAS COMPLETELY SHATTERED. THERE WAS NO ROCK OR ANY OBJECT LIKE THAT TO BE FOUND ANYWHERE SO I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT CAUSED IT, MAYBE PRESSURE OR AN AIR BUBBLE? IT SEEMED LIKE A DEFAULT IN THE WINDOW TO ME BUT OF COURSE IT'S NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  ... 2
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds