Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SPORTAGE - 2012 KIA SPORTAGE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 34 complaints filed for the 2012 KIA SPORTAGE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 KIA SPORTAGE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 KIA SPORTAGE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Exterior Lighting (1) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (3) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electrical System (2) Power Train (2) Structure (2) Visibility (4) Wheels (1)
Engine (20) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  ... 4
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

5/9/2017 - EARLTON, NY
WHILE DRIVING MY 2012 KIA SPORTAGE ABOUT 30 MPH ON A COUNTY ROAD, THERE WAS A LOUD KNOCKING FROM THE ENGINE, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND THE CAR STALLED. IT HAS BEEN DIAGNOSED AS A CRANK BEARING ISSUE. THERE IS A RECALL ON 2012 KIA SPORTAGE ALONG WITH OTHER KIAS AND HYUNDAI. THE RECALL IS FOR 2.4 LITER ENGINES IN THE OPTIMA AND THE SORRENTO BUT ONLY FOR THE 2.0 IN THE SPORTAGE. WHY IS THIS? I HAVE A 2.4 LITER ENGINE AND THERE ARE OBVIOUSLY ISSUES WHICH LED TO THE RECALL BUT IT WON'T BE COVERED. THE SAME SAFETY ISSUE THAT IS IN THE 2.0 IS IN THE 2.4 AND IT NEEDS TO RECALLED IN THE SPORTAGE JUST LIKE IT IS IN THE OTHER 2 MODELS.

View Details

ENGINE

4/30/2017 - KINGSTON, PA
MY PARTNER WAS DRIVING 50 MPH TO WORK ON A LOCAL HIGHWAY WHEN SUDDENLY THE VEHICLE LOST POWER. NO INDICATOR LIGHTS HAD COME ON. THERE WAS ONLY A SLIGHT TAPPING SOUND FROM UNDER THE HOOD. SHE WAS ABLE TO DRIFT THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OFF THE ROAD. WHEN SHE TRIED TO RESTART THE VEHICLE IT WOULD NOT START. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS PURCHASED AND A DIAGNOSTIC TEST REVEALED A CEASED UP ENGINE. THE VEHICLE HAD PERIODICAL OIL CHANGES AS REQUIRED TO KEEP A VEHICLE IN GOOD RUNNING ORDER AND AT THE TIME HAD OIL IN IT. AT NO TIME WAS THERE ANY LEAKS OR DRIPS OR SIGNS ON PAVEMENT WHERE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED OF ANY OIL LEAKAGE. WE WERE TOLD THE ENGINE WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

ENGINE

4/28/2017 - HACKETTSTOWN, NJ
OVER THE LAST SIX MONTHS OR SO, MY KIA SPORTAGE SUV HAVE BEEN STALLING PERIODICALLY WITHOUT WARNING. I NEVER KNOW WHEN IT IS GOING TO HAPPEN. I CAN BE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT 65 MPH OR 25 MPH AND IT WILL STALL. IT HAS HAPPENED ON SUNNY DAYS AS WELL AS RAINY DAYS. I'VE CONTACTED GATEWAY KIA IN DENVILLE NJ MANY TIMES COMPLAINING ABOUT THIS ISSUE TO NO AVAIL. THE SERVICE MANAGER JOE TOLD ME TO TRY USING SUNOCO PREMIUM GAS TO NO AVAIL. I ALSO HAD THE MANIFOLD CHANGED BUT THE STALLING STILL HAPPENS. I'VE CONTACTED KIA CORPORATION AND WAS TOLD BY BRUCE HARTD SINCE MY CAR HAS OVER 187,000 MILES (MOSTLY HIGHWAY MILES) AND SINCE THE DEALERSHIP HAVEN'T BEEN ABLE TO REPRODUCE THE STALLING THERE IS NOTHING KIA CAN DO. I WAS TOLD BY KIA CORPORATION THAT MY CAR IS NOT PART OF THEIR ENGINE STALLING RECALL TO BE ANNOUNCED MAY 19TH. I THINK IT SHOULD BE INCLUDED BECAUSE MY CAR ENGINE IS ALSO STALLING MAKING IT VERY DANGEROUS FOR ME TO USE IT BUT IT IS THE ONLY FORM OF TRANSPORTATION I HAVE TO GET BACK AND FORTH TO WORK. PLEASE HELP!

View Details

ENGINE

4/27/2017 - EARLTON, NY
WHILE DRIVING MY 2012 KIA SPORTAGE AT 30MPH ON A CITY STREET THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND I HEARD A KNOCKING IN THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. I WAS CLOSE TO MY WORK SITE SO I CONTINUED TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE, AS I TURNED INTO THE PARKING LOT THE ENGINE STALLED. WHEN I RESTARTED THE ENGINE THE KNOCKING NOISE WAS MUCH WORSE AND GREW LOADER AS I APPLIED GAS. I TURNED OF THE CAR AND HAD IT TOWED TO MY MECHANIC. MY MECHANICALLED LISTEED TO THE ENGINE AND SAID THAT IT SOUNDED LIKE IT "THREW A BEARING". UPON LOKKING ONLINE FOR INFORMATION I SAW THAT THERE WAS AN UPCOMING RECALL ON MY CAR FOR THIS VERY THING. I CALLED THE 2 DEALERS IN MY AREA, ALBANY NY, AND WAS TOLD THAT THEY CAN'T DO ANYTHING UNTIL THE RECALL COMES OUT IN THE END OF MAY. I CALLED THE 800 NUMBER FOR KIA AND WAS TOLD THE SAME THING, I ASKED IF THEY COULD CHECK TO SEE IF MY VEHICLE WOULD BE PART OF THE RECAL AND THEY SAID THAT THEY COULD NOT. THEY TOLD ME TO WAIT TO SEE IF I GOT A LETTER AFTER MAY 19. I TOLD THEM I COULD NOT GO FOR A MONTH WITHOUT MY CAR AND THEY SAID AGAIN THERE WAS NOTHING THEY CAN DO UNTIL THE RECALL COMES OUT. THIS IS RIDICULOUS, IF THE RECALL IS COMING AND THEY KNOW THERE IS AN ISSUE WITH THE CAR WHY WOULD I BE FORCE TO WAIT A MONTH WITHOUT MY CAR?

View Details

ENGINE

4/25/2017 - EAGLE, WI
MY ENGINE SEIZED UP AT 79,000 MILES DESPITE THE STANDARD MAINTENANCE. I WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK 25-50 MPH CONSISTING OF 5 STOPLIGHTS AND 18 MILES OF DRIVING. I WAS NOTICING A LACK OF POWER BUT OTHERWISE NO ISSUES. I FILLED UP THE GAS TANK IN HOPES OF DRIVING IT IN TO GET SERVICED. I STARTED THE CAR BACK UP AT THE GAS STATION AND THE ENGINE LIGHT TURNED ON. I DROVE APPROXIMATELY .5 MILES AND THE CAR STALLED NEVER TO START AGAIN. I GOT A TOW TO RUSS DARROW KIA AND THEY TOLD ME MY ENGINE WAS COMPLETELY SHOT. I THEN HAD TO GET MY ENGINE REPLACED.

View Details

ENGINE

4/22/2017 - CANAL WINCHESTER, OH
BEGIN TO HEAR FLUTTERING SOUND WHILE DRIVING ON SECONDARY AND MAIN ROADS. THE SOUND BEGIN TO GRADUALLY GET LOUDER OVER THE COARSE OF FEW DAYS. PUT THE VEHICLE IN THE SHOP TO GET A DIAGNOSTIC. THE RESULTS CAME BACK ENGINE FAILURE DUE TO ENGINE OIL RESTRICTION. RECEIVE 2 OPINIONS FROM MECHANIC SHOPS BOTH PLACES RESULTS CAME BACK THE SAME. WHEN THE RPMS WAS REVVED UP YOU COULD HEAR A LOUD KNOCKING SOUND, ALONG WITH DRIVING THE VEHICLE IN MOTION WOULD STALL , AND THE ENGINE LIGHT WOULD FLICKER ON AND OFF.

View Details

ENGINE

4/10/2017 - SAINT CHARLES, MO
OXYGEN SENSOR AND CATALYTIC CONVERTER FAILED AFTER FIVE YEARS.

View Details

ENGINE

12/30/2016 - JACKSONVILLE, NC
WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY, WE HEARD A THUMP FROM OUR 2012 KIA SPORTAGE. WHEN WE GOT HOME, MY HUSBAND CHECKED THE ENGINE AND HE FOUND WE HAD NO OIL. WE NEVER HAD A CHECK ENGINE OR OIL LIGHT COME ON AND NEVER HAD AN OIL SPOT UNDER OUR CAR. WE TOOK IT TO OUR KIA DEALER AND WAS TOLD IT NEEDED A NEW ENGINE. AFTER READING OTHER COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE SAME ISSUE, I REALIZE WE WERE VERY LUCKY WE WERE ABLE TO MAKE IT HOME WITH OUR CAR THAT NIGHT. OUR KIA HAD LESS THAN 35,000 MILES ON IT AND WE CHANGED THE OIL REGULARLY , SO WE JUST KNEW IT WOULD BE UNDER WARRANTY. HOWEVER, BECAUSE MY HUSBAND DID SOME OF THE OIL CHANGES HIMSELF, THEY WOULD NOT HONOR THE WARRANTY- HE DIDN'T HAVE ALL OF THE RECEIPTS FOR THE OIL AND FILTERS SINCE 2012. THE RECEIPTS WE COULD PROVIDE FROM BUSINESSES THAT DID OIL CHANGES AND SOME COPIES OF RECEIPTS MY HUSBAND COULD GET FROM THE AUTO PARTS STORES SHOWED THAT THE OIL WAS CHANGED OFTEN, BUT WE DIDN'T HAVE ALL THE RECEIPTS. REGARDLESS, A VEHICLE WITH LESS THAN 35,000 MILES, WITH PROOF OF SEVERAL OIL CHANGES, NOT EVER HAVING A CHECK ENGINE OR OIL LIGHT COME ON, AND NO OIL SPOTS WHERE IT'S PARKED EVERY DAY- SHOULD NOT RUN OUT OF OIL AND NEED A NEW ENGINE. I KNEW THIS HAD TO BE A DEFECT WITH KIA ENGINES AND AFTER READING MANY COMPLAINTS FROM OTHER KIA OWNERS, IT'S OBVIOUSLY A KNOWN AND DANGEROUS DEFECT AND NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED.

View Details

ENGINE

12/23/2016 - DOYLESTOWN, PA
OUR 2012 KIA SPORTAGE BROKE DOWN OVER A MONTH AGO AFTER MY WIFE AND DAUGHTER HAD JUST GOT OFF THE PA TURNPIKE, THEY HAD STOPPED AT A MALL AN HOUR FROM HOME AFTER TRAVELING ALL DAY. WHEN THEY RETURNED TO THE CAR FROM SHOPPING, IT WOULDN'T START. IT WAS TOWED TO GATEWAY KIA OF WARRINGTON AT THE ADVICE OF KIA CORPORATION OF AMERICA, BECAUSE THAT WAS THE CLOSEST DEALERSHIP. AFTER SITTING THERE FOR ALMOST FIVE DAYS AND NO CALL FROM THEM, AND MULTIPLE INQUIRIES BY US, THEY FINALLY TOLD US THAT IT WAS ENGINE FAILURE. THEY RAN BASIC DIAGNOSTIC TESTS AND NEVER WENT ANY FURTHER AS FAR AS LOOKING INTO THE ENGINE. BECAUSE WE WERE THE SECOND OWNER OFF A ONE YEAR LEASE, WE WEREN'T ELIGIBLE FOR THE ORIGINAL 10 YEAR/100,000 WARRANTY. OUR WARRANTY WAS NOW 5 YEARS/ 50,000 MILES. OUR CAR HAS 70,0000 MILES. SO NOT COVERED WE HAVE BEEN TOLD. WE KEPT GOOD CARE OF THIS CAR WITH REGULAR OIL CHANGES AND STATE INSPECTIONS. AFTER BEING TOLD THAT WE WERE NOT GOING TO BE COVERED, WE STARTED RESEARCHING THIS PROBLEM. SOON AFTER WE FOUND A LAW FIRM THAT WAS HEADING A CLASS ACTION SUIT AGAINST KIA. THE LAWSUIT ALLEGED THAT KIA HAS AN ONGOING PROBLEM WITH SOME OF THEIR ENGINE, WHICH INCLUDES OUR VEHICLE AND ENGINE. WE WERE ALSO NOTIFIED THAT THE LAW FIRM HAD CEASED TO PURSUE THE SUIT BECAUSE KIA HAD AGREED TO FIX THE ENGINES FOR THE VEHICLES INCLUDED IN THE SUIT. KIA HAS DENIED TO COVER OUR CAR UNDER THIS SPECIAL EXTENDED WARRANTY WHICH WOULD INCLUDE 10 YEARS/120,000 MILES NOW. WE HAVE BEEN PASSED AROUND AND DENIED ALL THE UP TO THE CORPORATE OFFICES "ESCALATION OFFICE", WHICH HAS ULTIMATELY TOLD US THAT WE HAVE BEEN DENIED AND HAVE REACHED THE HIGHEST OFFICE AVAILABLE FOR COMPLAINT/APPEALS AND THERE IS NOTHING THAT WE DO ANY LONGER. WE STILL OWE ALMOST $10,000 ON THIS CAR, WHICH WILL BE A TOTAL LOSS IF IT ISN'T FIXED UNDER EXTENDED WARRANTY OR BY US AT A COST OF ALMOST $5000.

View Details

ENGINE

11/3/2016 - PERKASIE, PA
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD AT 45 MPH PROBABLY A FEW HUNDRED YARDS FROM GETTING ON THE HIGHWAY WHEN BLACK SMOKE CAME OUT OF THE EXHAUST OF MY SPORTAGE AND IT COMPLETELY WENT DEAD. LUCKILY, I HAD A PLACE TO STOP JUST TO THE LEFT OF THE HIGHWAY ENTRANCE. I CAN'T IMAGINE WHAT COULD HAVE HAPPENED HAD THIS OCCURRED AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. I LEARNED FROM THE DEALER THAT THIS IS ACTUALLY A KNOWN PROBLEM WITH THE KIA THETA ENGINES. THE BEARINGS AND RODS IN MY ENGINE WERE APPARENTLY SHREDDED AND THE ENGINE SEIZED. WHILE THE DEALER IS PAYING FOR THE DAMAGE UNDER WARRANTY, THE CAR WILL BE RETURNED TO ORIGINAL STATE MEANING THE ENGINE AND THE CAR WILL BE EXTREMELY DANGEROUS. IF WHAT HAPPENED TO ME HAPPENS TO ANYONE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY, IT'S VERY EASY TO IMAGINE THE POSSIBILITY OF A FATAL CRASH. THESE ENGINES NEED TO BE RECALLED AND HAVE A PROPER FIX IN PLACE BEFORE SOMEONE DIES. I'VE NOW READ HUNDREDS OF COMPLAINTS SIMILAR TO MINE ON THE INTERNET SO ACTION NEEDS TO BE TAKEN BEYOND THE CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT THAT WAS FILED IN JUNE FOR THIS VERY SAME ISSUE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  ... 4
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds