Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SPORTAGE - 2012 KIA SPORTAGE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 59 complaints filed for the 2012 KIA SPORTAGE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 KIA SPORTAGE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 KIA SPORTAGE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Engine (39) Seat Belts (1) Structure (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electrical System (4) Exterior Lighting (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (6) Wheels (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Power Train (3) Steering (4) Visibility (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/27/2017 - SAINT PAUL, MN
AIR QUALITY. CAR CONSISTENTLY SMELLS LIKE MOLD AND MILDEW IN THE AIR VENTS DESPITE FREQUENT CHANGING OF FILTERS AND TREATMENT FOR MOLD AND MILDEW. CONDENSATION DOESN'T EVAPORATE AND MILDEW FORMS CREATING AN INDOOR AIR QUALITY ISSUE IN THE CAR. HAPPENS FREQUENTLY AND MAKES THE CAR UNDRIVEABLE FOR ANYONE WITH MOLD AND MILDEW ALLERGIES

View Details

ENGINE

10/18/2017 - BERWYN, IL
MY DAUGHTER WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AND THE CAR JUST STOPPED, NO WARNING, NOTHING. LUCKILY WAS ABLE TO GET TO SIDE OF ROAD, TOWED AND MECHANIC SAID THE ENGINE IS COMPLETELY BLOWN/SEIZED. WON'T START, STILL AT MECHANICS IN ANOTHER STATE. NO WARNINGS OR PRIOR ISSUES. CONSISTENT W/OIL CHANGES AND UPKEEP

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/21/2017 - AVONDALE, AZ
DOOR WILL NOT LOCK COMPLETELY WHEN CAR IS SITTING IN THE SUN AND ITS HOT OUTSIDE. DRIVER WINDOW WILL NOT ROLL DOWN WHEN ITS HOT OUTSIDE, TRUNK HATCH WILL NOT OPEN/UNLOCK WHEN HOT OUT SIDE. ALARM DOESNT WORK WHEN HOT OUTSIDE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/21/2017 - AVONDALE, AZ
DOOR WILL NOT LOCK COMPLETELY WHEN CAR IS SITTING IN THE SUN AND ITS HOT OUTSIDE. DRIVER WINDOW WILL NOT ROLL DOWN WHEN ITS HOT OUTSIDE, TRUNK HATCH WILL NOT OPEN/UNLOCK WHEN HOT OUT SIDE. ALARM DOESNT WORK WHEN HOT OUTSIDE.

View Details

ENGINE

9/20/2017 - COLLIERVILLE, TN
THE ENGINE SEIZED UP WHILE DRIVING ON LOCAL STREET. KIA STATES THAT MY ENGINE (2.4L) WAS NOT PART OF RECALL. WHILE THIS ENGINE WAS UNIQUE TO THE SPORTAGE IN 2012 IT IS THE SAME 2.4L THAT THEY RECALLED IN OTHER VEHICLES. NOT EXPLANATION GIVEN FOR DENIAL. IT TOOK KIA ALMOST 3 MONTHS TO TELL ME THAT IT WAS NOT COVERED WHICH ALSO RAISED SOME CONCERNS.

View Details

ENGINE

9/12/2017 - WILMINGTON, DE
INTAKE MANIFOLD RUNNER CONTROL WENT OUT RIGHT AFTER WARRANTY. I ORIGINALLY HAD THIS ISSUE IN 2014 AT APPROXIMATELY 38K MILES- WHEN IT WOULD HAVE BEEN COVERED UNDER WARRANTY. IN 2014 THE FLAP WAS STUCK OPEN, THEY CLOSED THE FLAP, CLEARED THE CODE AND IT DIDN+T BECOME A PROBLEM AGAIN UNTIL 2017- RIGHT AFTER THE WARRANTY EXPIRED. BOTH TIMES I HAD THIS ISSUE, I WAS DRIVING DOWN RESIDENTIAL STREETS, SO UNDER 25 MPH. BOTH TIMES THE ENGINE SOUNDED SO HORRIBLE, I WAS AFRAID THE ENGINE WAS GOING TO BLOW UP. MY QUESTION IS HOW DID THE VEHICLES COMPUTER NOT DETECT THIS AS AN ISSUE FOR 3 YEARS FOLLOWING THE INITIAL CODE AND HOW MUCH ENGINE DAMAGE DID THIS CAUSE? THE ENGINE TAPPING NOISE HAS CONTINUOUSLY GOTTEN WORSE, EVEN AFTER I HAD THE PART REPLACED. IT+S SO NOISY IN PARK, NOT TO MENTION HOW LOUD THE SOUND IS DURING ACCELERATION. THEY ARE CURRENTLY ONLY RECALLING THE ENGINES ON THE 2012 SPORTAGE TURBO BUT I CAN TELL YOU THERE IS SOMETHING WRONG WITH MY CAR. THIS RECALL IS EITHER NOT BEING THOROUGH WITH THIS RECALL OR ITS INTENTIONAL TO MINIMIZE THE COMPANIES LOSS ON THIS RECALL.

View Details

STEERING

9/12/2017 - WILMINGTON, DE
RATTLING NOISE FROM STEERING COLUMN THAT IS CONTINUOUSLY GETTING WORSE. VIBRATION FROM WHEEL WHILE BRAKING INTERMITTENTLY. THIS MORE OFTEN OCCURS WHILE MAKING TURNS. EVERY TIME THE WHEEL IS TURNED LEFT, THERE IS A CLICKING NOISE BUT NOT WHEN IT'S TURNED TO THE RIGHT. I WAS ORIGINALLY TOLD IT WAS THE VISCOUS COUPLING, THEN I WAS TOLD IT MAY BE THE ENTIRE STEERING COLUMN. WHY DOES A 5 YEAR OLD VEHICLE NEED A NEW STEERING COLUMN. ALSO, THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON SINCE I GOT THE CAR AND HAS JUST CONTINUOUSLY GOTTEN WORSE. I TOOK IT TO ANOTHER MECHANIC SINCE KIA HAS MISDIAGNOSED THE ISSUE SEVERAL TIMES. HE AGREES ITS IN THE STEERING COLUMN BUT THE ENTIRE DASH HAS TO BE PULLED APART TO PINPOINT THE EXACT PIECE WITHIN THE STEERING COLUMN. PLEASE SEE THE ATTACHED EMAIL FROM KIA.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

9/12/2017 - WILMINGTON, DE
RATTLING NOISE FROM STEERING COLUMN THAT IS CONTINUOUSLY GETTING WORSE. VIBRATION FROM WHEEL WHILE BRAKING INTERMITTENTLY. THIS MORE OFTEN OCCURS WHILE MAKING TURNS. EVERY TIME THE WHEEL IS TURNED LEFT, THERE IS A CLICKING NOISE BUT NOT WHEN IT'S TURNED TO THE RIGHT. I WAS ORIGINALLY TOLD IT WAS THE VISCOUS COUPLING, THEN I WAS TOLD IT MAY BE THE ENTIRE STEERING COLUMN. WHY DOES A 5 YEAR OLD VEHICLE NEED A NEW STEERING COLUMN. ALSO, THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON SINCE I GOT THE CAR AND HAS JUST CONTINUOUSLY GOTTEN WORSE. I TOOK IT TO ANOTHER MECHANIC SINCE KIA HAS MISDIAGNOSED THE ISSUE SEVERAL TIMES. HE AGREES ITS IN THE STEERING COLUMN BUT THE ENTIRE DASH HAS TO BE PULLED APART TO PINPOINT THE EXACT PIECE WITHIN THE STEERING COLUMN. PLEASE SEE THE ATTACHED EMAIL FROM KIA.

View Details

STEERING

8/23/2017 - WILMINGTON, DE
RATTLING NOISE COMING FROM STEERING COLUMN FOR A WHILE AND HAS CONSTANTLY GOTTEN WORSE. TOOK IT TO A KIA OF CHERRYHILL FIRST THEY TOLD THE NOISE WAS COMING FROM SOMETHING IN THE DOOR, THEN THEY GUY AT THE SERVICE DESK TOOK A RIDE WITH ME, I POINTED THE NOISE OUT & HE TOLD ME IT WAS A VISCOUS COUPLING, THE FOLLOWING WEEK I REQUESTED HE EMAIL ME THE QUOTE & HE RESPONDED THAT MY PARTICULAR VEHICLE DOESN'T EVEN HAVE THAT PART & IT'S PROBABLY THE STEERING COLUMN. I DECIDED TO TAKE IT TO ANOTHER MECHANIC & HE CONFIRMS THE RATTLING NOISE IS COMING B FROM THE STEERING COLUMN. THEY LOOKED UP THE RECALLS & THERE WERE OTHER RECALLS FOR THIS ISSUE BUT MY VIN # WAS NOT ON THERE. I BELIEVE KIA WAS NOT THOROUGH WITH THE INITIAL RECALL.

View Details

ENGINE

8/10/2017 - CEDAR RAPIDS, IA
I WAS TRAVELING NORTH ON A CITY STREET, CAME TO A STOP OF A LIGHT AND NOTICED THE KIA WAS SHACKING. I TURNED OFF THE RADIO AND AIR CONDITIONING AND ROLLED DOWN THE WINDOWS. THE ENGINE WAS KNOCKING VERY LOAD SO I PULLED OFF THE CITY STREET INTO A NEARBY PARKING LOT. THE NOISE WAS LOUD SO I STARTED HOME I MADE IT A FEW MILES TO MY SON'S HOUSE AND HAD HIM LOOK AT IT. HE SAID THERE WAS METAL IN THE OIL AND HE GUESSED THE ENGINE HAD GONE. I LEFT IT THERE AND CALLED MCGRATH THURSDAY JULY 20TH TO LET THEM KNOW WHERE IT WAS AND WHAT HAD HAPPENED. THEY TOWED IT TO THEIR SHOP AND LATER DROVE IT TO THE KIA SHOP NORTH OF TOWN. THEY CALLED A FEW DAYS LATER TO LET ME KNOW THAT I NEEDED A NEW ENGINE AND THAT WOULD COST $7,300.00

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds