Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN QUEST - 2012 NISSAN QUEST Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 45 complaints filed for the 2012 NISSAN QUEST

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 NISSAN QUEST. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 NISSAN QUEST, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (1) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (11) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Service Brakes (1) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (6) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Steering (1) Unknown Or Other (5) Wheels (4)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Power Train (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/25/2017 - CONNER, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 NISSAN QUEST. WHILE AT A STOP LIGHT, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING ON A DECLINE. ONCE THE CONTACT REACHED THE BOTTOM OF THE DECLINE, SHE WAS ABLE TO SHIFT THE VEHICLE INTO NEUTRAL AND DRIVE NORMALLY. THE FAILURE RECURRED THREE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V076000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM, FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/15/2017 - PACIFICA, CA
VAN HAS HAD ISSUES SLIPPING ON HILLS AFTER STOP WITH GEARS GRINDING AND JERKING. BROUGHT IN TO DEALERSHIP AND THEY COULD NOT REPLICATE. I MENTIONED I THOUGHT IT MIGHT BE TRANSMISSION AND HOW WE CAN DO PREVENTIVE MAINTENANCE. THEY RECOMMENDED FLUSHING TRANSMISSION FLUID FOR $125 WHICH I DID. LESS THAN MONTH LATER, SLIPPING STILL OCCURRED ON HILLS AFTER STOPS. ON WAY HOME THIS PAST SATURDAY, I WAS GOING ABOUT 30-40 MPH WHEN THERE WAS A STOP LIGHT ON A SLIGHT INCLINE. I SLOWED DOWN TO ABOUT 5-10MPH WHEN THE LIGHT TURNED GREEN. I THEN PRESSED THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL AND THE GEAR GRINDED AND I HAD NO POWER. AS I PRESSED THE GAS NO POWER WAS COMING TO VAN AND I HAD TO PULL OVER. I HAD TO TURN OFF THE VEHICLE AND WAIT A MINUTE OR SO AND AFTER STARTING THE CAR, THE VEHICLE SEEMED NORMAL AGAIN. I NOTICED THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ALSO WAS NOW ON. BROUGHT THE VAN IN TO DEALERSHIP AND AFTER DOING A DRIVE TEST AND REPLICATING ON A HILL, THEY CONFIRMED THE SLIPPING. THEY ALSO DID A DIAGNOSTIC AND CONFIRMED TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED TO TUNE OF $4100. LOOKING UP THIS CASE THERE APPEARS TO BE NUMEROUS PROBLEMS WITH NISSAN CVT TRANSMISSIONS. NISSAN ALSO PROVIDED AN EXTENDED WARRANTY FOR PRIOR VAN MODELS FROM 2003-2010 TO 100K MILES. MY VEHICLE IS A 2012 NISSAN QUEST WITH 81K MILES. WITH ALL THE NISSANS HAVING CVT TRANSMISSION ISSUES, IT APPEARS THERE IS A PERVASIVE ISSUE THAT NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED BY NISSAN.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/11/2017 - THORNVILLE, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 NISSAN QUEST. WHEN THE FUEL TANK REACHED A QUARTER TANK AND THE VEHICLE WAS IN A DECLINE, THE VEHICLE SHUT DOWN. THE VEHICLE WAS COASTED TO THE BOTTOM OF THE DECLINE FROM WHERE THE CONTACT PROCEEDED TO PURCHASE FUEL AND FILLED THE TANK ABOVE A QUARTER OF THE TANK. THE DEALER WAS CONTACTED (COUGHLIN AUTOMOTIVE IN NEWARK, OHIO) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT ONE OF THE FUEL SENSORS WAS FAULTY AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND DID NOT ASSIST. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 70,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/17/2017 - YONKERS, NY
JERKING MOTION: SUDDEN TWITCHING AND OSCILLATING MOTION OF ACCELERATION AND DECELERATION. AFTER DRIVING NORMALLY FOR ABOUT 10~30 MINTS, IT HAPPENS AT ABOUT 2000 RPM ~ 2500 RMP ON UPHILL (WITH ACCELERATOR GENTRY PRESSED DOWN). IT STOPES WHEN I RELEASE THE ACCELERATOR, WHEN THE ENGINE COMES DOWN TO BELOW 2000 RPM. HTTPS://YOUTU.BE/7VCLGUAUMOE

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

5/23/2017 - ADAIR VILLIAGE, OR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 NISSAN QUEST. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE SLIDING DOOR FRACTURED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE RAIL UPPER ASSEMBLY FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT AN INVESTIGATOR WOULD BE ASSIGNED TO THE CASE. THE MANUFACTURER INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE FAILURE WAS NOT A SAFETY DEFECT AND WOULD NOT BE COVERED BY THE MANUFACTURER. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 92,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/25/2017 - PLAINSBORO, NJ
DASH CRACK ON THE PASSENGER SIDE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/20/2017 - AUSTINTOWN, OH
BROKEN DRIVER SIDE DOOR LOCK ACCUATOR CAUSED THE DOOR TO NOT OPEN. THE MECHANICAL DOOR LOCK SYSTEM MALFUNCTIONED RESULTING IN A DOOR THAT IS LOCKED AND WILL NOT UNLOCK TO OPEN. THIS IS A SAFETY HAZARD THAT WILL PREVENT SAFE EXIT IN THE EVENT OF AN EMERGENCY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/17/2016 - READING, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 NISSAN QUEST. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE CVT FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 71,000. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

7/11/2016 - DONALSONVILLE, GA
THOUGH MY VEHICLE WAS NOT SUBJECT TO A RECALL I HAD THE SAME ISSUE AS THE OTHER VEHICLES THAT HAD BEEN RECALLED. WITH 40 MILES LEFT TO GO, ACCORDING TO MY GAUGE, MY VEHICLE STALLED IN TRAFFIC, ON TWO DIFFERENT OCCASIONS, WHILE TURNING LEFT INTO GAS STATIONS. WHEN I PRESENTED THIS ISSUE TO A DEALER AND TO NISSAN AMERICA I WAS TOLD MY VEHICLE WAS NOT SUBJECT TO A RECALL, EVEN THOUGH IT WAS FOR THE SAME PROBLEM AND REQUIRED THE SAME REPAIR AS THE RECALLED VEHICLES. I WAS CHARGED OVER $300 FOR REPROGRAMMING MY COMPUTER.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/11/2016 - DONALSONVILLE, GA
THOUGH MY VEHICLE WAS NOT SUBJECT TO A RECALL I HAD THE SAME ISSUE AS THE OTHER VEHICLES THAT HAD BEEN RECALLED. WITH 40 MILES LEFT TO GO, ACCORDING TO MY GAUGE, MY VEHICLE STALLED IN TRAFFIC, ON TWO DIFFERENT OCCASIONS, WHILE TURNING LEFT INTO GAS STATIONS. WHEN I PRESENTED THIS ISSUE TO A DEALER AND TO NISSAN AMERICA I WAS TOLD MY VEHICLE WAS NOT SUBJECT TO A RECALL, EVEN THOUGH IT WAS FOR THE SAME PROBLEM AND REQUIRED THE SAME REPAIR AS THE RECALLED VEHICLES. I WAS CHARGED OVER $300 FOR REPROGRAMMING MY COMPUTER.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds