Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN SENTRA - 2012 NISSAN SENTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 72 complaints filed for the 2012 NISSAN SENTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 NISSAN SENTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 NISSAN SENTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (1) Steering (4) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electrical System (8) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seats (1) Structure (11) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (4) Suspension (3) Visibility (11)
Engine (11) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (1) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Power Train (21)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

7/21/2016 - ARLINGTON, TX
THE GEAR ON MY CAR WOULD NOT SHIFT INTO "PARK" WHEN I PARKED IN A PARKING SPOT AFTER DRIVING AROUND THE CITY FOR 20 MINUTES. I SHIFTED THE GEAR INTO NEUTRAL THEN TRIED AGAIN BUT IT STILL WOULDN'T WORK. AFTER STRUGGLING FOR 7 MINUTES, I REVERSED OUT OF THE SPOT THEN DROVE THE CAR AROUND THE PARKING LOT AND ATTEMPTED TO PARK THE CAR AGAIN BUT THE GEAR STILL WOULDN'T SHIFT INTO PARK. AFTER STRUGGLING AND GROWING CONCERNED AND FRUSTRATED 5 MINUTES LATER, I REPEATED THE PROCESS BUT THE CAR STILL WOULDN'T SHIFT INTO PARK. TEN MINUTES LATER THE GEAR FINALLY SHIFTED INTO PARK WHEN I PARKED THE CAR AGAIN. THE KEY CANNOT BE REMOVED FROM THE IGNITION OF A 2012 NISSAN SENTRA UNLESS THE CAR IS IN "PARK" AND TURNED OFF.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/21/2016 - ARLINGTON, TX
ABOUT HALF-WAY THROUGH A HIGHWAY ROAD TRIP FROM DALLAS TO HOUSTON, MY VEHICLE BEGAN AUTOMATICALLY DECELERATING FROM 85MPH TO 70MPH ALTHOUGH MY FOOT PRESSED HARD ON THE ACCELERATOR. I ACTIVATED CRUISE CONTROL AT 70MPH, BUT THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO DECELERATE ALTHOUGH CRUISE CONTROL WAS ACTIVATED AND DISPLAYED BENEATH THE SPEEDOMETER. WHEN THE CAR'S SPEED DROPPED FROM 70MPH TO 60MPH ON THE HIGHWAY, I TOOK THE NEAREST EXIT IN CENTERVILLE, TEXAS AND STOPPED AT THE GAS STATION TO TURN MY CAR OFF THEN ON AGAIN. THE CAR CONTINUED TO DECELERATE, REACHING ONLY 45MPH AS I ENTERED THE BUSY HIGHWAY YET AGAIN. AFTER 15 MINUTES, THE CAR BEGAN ACCELERATING TO 60MPH. AFTER STRUGGLING WITH THE CAR'S SPEED FOR ABOUT 30 MINUTES, EVERYTHING RETURNED TO NORMAL AND THE CAR BEGAN ACCELERATING TO 85MPH ONCE AGAIN.

View Details

ENGINE

7/21/2016 - ARLINGTON, TX
ABOUT HALF-WAY THROUGH A HIGHWAY ROAD TRIP FROM DALLAS TO HOUSTON, MY VEHICLE BEGAN AUTOMATICALLY DECELERATING FROM 85MPH TO 70MPH ALTHOUGH MY FOOT PRESSED HARD ON THE ACCELERATOR. I ACTIVATED CRUISE CONTROL AT 70MPH, BUT THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO DECELERATE ALTHOUGH CRUISE CONTROL WAS ACTIVATED AND DISPLAYED BENEATH THE SPEEDOMETER. WHEN THE CAR'S SPEED DROPPED FROM 70MPH TO 60MPH ON THE HIGHWAY, I TOOK THE NEAREST EXIT IN CENTERVILLE, TEXAS AND STOPPED AT THE GAS STATION TO TURN MY CAR OFF THEN ON AGAIN. THE CAR CONTINUED TO DECELERATE, REACHING ONLY 45MPH AS I ENTERED THE BUSY HIGHWAY YET AGAIN. AFTER 15 MINUTES, THE CAR BEGAN ACCELERATING TO 60MPH. AFTER STRUGGLING WITH THE CAR'S SPEED FOR ABOUT 30 MINUTES, EVERYTHING RETURNED TO NORMAL AND THE CAR BEGAN ACCELERATING TO 85MPH ONCE AGAIN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/1/2016 - COLUMBIA, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 NISSAN SENTRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE KEY LESS IGNITION FAILED AND THE SWITCH HAD TO BE ENGAGED SEVERAL TIMES SEVERAL TIMES IN ORDER TO HAVE THE ENGINE STARTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 68,000.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

5/19/2016 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
I'VE HAD THE CAR FOR A WHILE, ABOUT 4 MONTHS AGO THE OIL LIGHT CAM ON I FIGURED IT JUST MEANT I WAS RUNNING LOW, I'VE NEVER BEEN IN ACCIDENT BUT SOME HOW MY OIL LINE IS LEAKING

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/19/2016 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
I'VE HAD THE CAR FOR A WHILE, ABOUT 4 MONTHS AGO THE OIL LIGHT CAM ON I FIGURED IT JUST MEANT I WAS RUNNING LOW, I'VE NEVER BEEN IN ACCIDENT BUT SOME HOW MY OIL LINE IS LEAKING

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/15/2016 - LANCASTER, CA
ON MAY THE 12TH 2016 I WAS IN THE NISSAN WITH MY MOTHER AND SISTER ON OUR WAY TO HEMET CALIFORNIA FROM OUR HOME IN LANCASTER. ON HIGHWAY 138 I BEGAN TO HEAR A WEIRD NOISE COMING FROM THE ENGINE. I ALSO NOTICED THAT I WAS NOT GOING AS FAST AS I SHOULD HAVE BEEN UP A HILL. I PULLED OVER, TURNED THE CAR OFF AND LOOKED UNDER THE HOOD. I CHECKED THE OIL, WATER, AND IT ALL LOOKED FINE. I WENT BACK IN THE CAR AND CONTINUED MY ROUTE. I GOT ON THE 10 FREEWAY AND EVERYTHING WAS GOOD. NO TRAFFIC AND I'M DRIVING 55 MILES AN HOUR. I PUSH THE GAS PEDAL TO GO FASTER AND NOTHING HAPPENED. THAT IS WHEN I SAW THAT THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS ON. THE CAR HAD STARTED TO SLOW DOWN. I PUSHED THE GAS PEDAL A FEW MORE TIMES AND WHEN NOTHING HAPPENED I STARTED TO PANIC. I GET OVER TO GET OFF OF THE FREEWAY AND NOW MY SPEED IS ABOUT 40MPH. CARS ARE MERGING ON THE FREEWAY BEHIND ME GOING AT LEAST 60. I WAS SO AFRAID THEY WERE GOING TO HIT ME. I SAFELY GOT OFF OF THE FREEWAY AT NORTH UNIVERSITY ST IN REDLANDS CA. I STOPPED THE CAR ON LYTLE ST. I TURNED OFF THE ENGINE AND OPENED THE HOOD AND IT WAS HOT AND SMOKING. I SAT THERE FOR 30 MINUTES WITH MY FAMILY CALLING DRIVETIME AND AEVEREX THE WARRENTY PROVIDER. I WAS SO SCARED AND CONFUSED. AEVEREX TOLD ME THAT THEY WORK WITH PEP BOYS AND I MAY BE COVERED ON GETTING IT FIXED. WITH ONE PEP BOYS BEING JUST 7 MINUTES AWAY. I STARTED THE CAR AND DROVE THERE WITH THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT STILL ON. I DIDN'T NOT LEAVE MY KEY WITH PEP BOYS ON THAT DAY BECAUSE I WAS CONFUSED ON THE WAY AEVEREX WORKED. PEP BOYS OF REDLANDS RECEIVED MY KEY ON 5/14/2016 AND I GOT A CALL LATER THAT DAY FROM STEVE WHO HELPED ME SAYING THAT THE CAR NEEDS A NEW TRANSMISSION. I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW HOW DRIVETIME COMPLETELY MISSED THAT THIS CAR NEEDED A NEW TRANSMISSION. I ONLY HAD IT FOR 6 DAYS!!!!!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/7/2016 - LAS VEGAS, NV
AT 50K MILES AFTER FOUR HOURS DRIVING AT 70MPH THE CAR LOST POWER, RPM NOT MOVING AT ALL WHEN ACCELERATING. AT 67K MILES, THE CAR LOST POWER AGAIN AFTER DRIVING 3 HOURS, GOT CODE P0744 FROM SCANNER. CAR WOULD ONLY 50-60 MPH.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/24/2016 - ALBUQUERQUE, NM
CAR LEFT RUNNING IN PARKING LOT AFTER GETTING OUT. MY PROBLEM IS DIFFERENT FROM MANY BUT THERE ARE STILL MANY LIKE ME. THE CAR RUNS SO QUIETLY, WHICH IS A PLUS, BUT IN MY CASE IT HAS HAPPENED THAT I LEAVE MY CAR AND IT IS STILL RUNNING AND I DON'T KNOW IT. I HAVE A SEVERE HEARING LOSS AND DEPEND ON VISUAL CLUES. I WISH THERE WERE SOME WAY TO PUT A LIGHT SOMEWHERE TO ALERT ME. I WORRY THAT THE NEXT TIME I WILL LEAVE THE CAR IN MY GARAGE STILL RUNNING AND THEN NEVER WAKE UP THE NEXT MORNING FROM CO POISONING. I AM AN OLDER PERSON AND PRONE TO FORGETTING TO CHECK EVERYTHING BEFORE LEAVING THE CAR. WHAT CAN BE DONE? THIS IS SERIOUS! THIS HAS HAPPENED TWO TIMES IN THE PAST 6 MONTHS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/4/2016 - PLANO, TX
BOUGHT THE CAR CERTIFIED USED FROM A NISSAN DEALERSHIP W/ ROUGHLY 55K MILES ON IT, CVT TRANSMISSION FAILS, HAVE IT REPLACED. THE NEW CVT TRANSMISSION FAILS AGAIN WITH ROUGHLY 55K MILES ON. NISSAN REFUSES TO OFFER ANY ASSISTANCE TO HELP WITH REPLACING A CVT TRANSMISSION THAT YET AGAIN HAS FAILED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds