Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN SENTRA - 2012 NISSAN SENTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 40 complaints filed for the 2012 NISSAN SENTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 NISSAN SENTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 NISSAN SENTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (3) Structure (9) Unknown Or Other (4)
Electrical System (3) Power Train (11) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Suspension (3) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Engine (8) Seat Belts (1) Steering (2) Tires (1) Visibility (7)
Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seats (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/1/2014 - SCOTTSDALE, AZ
SPOUSE PARKED AND WAITING IN THE CAR AT AIRPORT ARRIVAL CURB AROUND 8:30PM. AS I WAS WALKING TOWARDS THE CAR, I HEARD A LOUD EXPLOSION, SOUNDED LIKE A GUNSHOT. THEN I NOTICED THE CAR SUNROOF PIECES SHATTERED ALL OVER. NO CARS PASSING BY. TEMP AROUND 90F. LUCKILY NO PASSENGERS CLOSE BY TO THE CAR. SPOUSE WAS IN SHOCK AND LUCKILY THE SUNROOF COVER WAS CLOSED. I COULD NOT FIND A CAUSE OTHER THAN SUSPECTING THIS IS A VEHICLE MANUFACTURING DEFECT. THE ONLY DAMAGE PART WAS SUNROOF ITSELF. THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE THAT DEEM A SAFETY RECALL OF SUNROOF REPLACEMENT. LUCKILY NO ONE WAS INJURED. REPORTED THE ISSUE TO NISSAN CONSUMER AFFAIR AND WAITING TO HEAR BACK FROM THEM.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/17/2014 - SAN LEANDRO, CA
WAS DRIVING ON FREEWAY, ACCELERATING TOWARD 70 MPH. ACCELERATOR DROPPED AWAY FROM UNDER MY FOOT, TACHOMETER "PEGGED" 5000 RPM. QUICK SCAN OF INSTRUMENT PANEL SHOWED CAR WAS NOW IN NEUTRAL, NOT DRIVE. MY HANDS WERE BOTH ON THE STEERING WHEEL; I DIDN'T TOUCH THE GEARSHIFT LEVER. THE CAR SHIFTED ON ITS OWN. THIS STARTED A SERIES OF PROBLEMS WITH THE TRANSMISSION THAT CONTINUE TO ESCALATE; TRANSMISSION WILL OVERRIDE BRAKING (CAUSED 2 ACCIDENTS 2 WEEKS APART); ON A 500-MILE (1-WAY) BUSINESS TRIP IN JULY, CAR WENT INTO FAIL-SAFE MODE 3 TIMES - LOSS OF POWER, ACCELERATOR NON-FUNCTIONAL. CAR TAKEN OFF THE ROAD BY NISSAN CORP, BUT NO REPAIRS DONE; AFTER 49 DAYS OUT OF SERVICE, CAR WAS RELEASED TO ME, CONTINUES TO EXHIBIT TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS. NOW THE STEERING IS EXTREMELY HARD TO OPERATE, AS IF THERE'S NO POWER STEERING IN THE CAR. WHEN TRANSMISSION OVERRIDES BRAKES, IT FEELS LIKE THE CAR IS BEING PUSHED, THEN CHOKES DOWN (NOSE OF CAR DIPS), THEN IS CATAPULTED IN THE SAME DIRECTION (D OR R); IN THIS SEQUENCE, BRAKES FULLY APPLIED WILL NOT STOP THE CAR. NISSAN'S ONLY RESPONSE IS TO SELF-PROTECT AGAINST A LAWSUIT; NO CONCERN FOR THE WELFARE OF SOMEONE DRIVING A CAR IN THIS CONDITION!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/17/2014 - SAN LEANDRO, CA
WAS DRIVING ON FREEWAY, ACCELERATING TOWARD 70 MPH. ACCELERATOR DROPPED AWAY FROM UNDER MY FOOT, TACHOMETER "PEGGED" 5000 RPM. QUICK SCAN OF INSTRUMENT PANEL SHOWED CAR WAS NOW IN NEUTRAL, NOT DRIVE. MY HANDS WERE BOTH ON THE STEERING WHEEL; I DIDN'T TOUCH THE GEARSHIFT LEVER. THE CAR SHIFTED ON ITS OWN. THIS STARTED A SERIES OF PROBLEMS WITH THE TRANSMISSION THAT CONTINUE TO ESCALATE; TRANSMISSION WILL OVERRIDE BRAKING (CAUSED 2 ACCIDENTS 2 WEEKS APART); ON A 500-MILE (1-WAY) BUSINESS TRIP IN JULY, CAR WENT INTO FAIL-SAFE MODE 3 TIMES - LOSS OF POWER, ACCELERATOR NON-FUNCTIONAL. CAR TAKEN OFF THE ROAD BY NISSAN CORP, BUT NO REPAIRS DONE; AFTER 49 DAYS OUT OF SERVICE, CAR WAS RELEASED TO ME, CONTINUES TO EXHIBIT TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS. NOW THE STEERING IS EXTREMELY HARD TO OPERATE, AS IF THERE'S NO POWER STEERING IN THE CAR. WHEN TRANSMISSION OVERRIDES BRAKES, IT FEELS LIKE THE CAR IS BEING PUSHED, THEN CHOKES DOWN (NOSE OF CAR DIPS), THEN IS CATAPULTED IN THE SAME DIRECTION (D OR R); IN THIS SEQUENCE, BRAKES FULLY APPLIED WILL NOT STOP THE CAR. NISSAN'S ONLY RESPONSE IS TO SELF-PROTECT AGAINST A LAWSUIT; NO CONCERN FOR THE WELFARE OF SOMEONE DRIVING A CAR IN THIS CONDITION!

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/17/2014 - SAN LEANDRO, CA
WAS DRIVING ON FREEWAY, ACCELERATING TOWARD 70 MPH. ACCELERATOR DROPPED AWAY FROM UNDER MY FOOT, TACHOMETER "PEGGED" 5000 RPM. QUICK SCAN OF INSTRUMENT PANEL SHOWED CAR WAS NOW IN NEUTRAL, NOT DRIVE. MY HANDS WERE BOTH ON THE STEERING WHEEL; I DIDN'T TOUCH THE GEARSHIFT LEVER. THE CAR SHIFTED ON ITS OWN. THIS STARTED A SERIES OF PROBLEMS WITH THE TRANSMISSION THAT CONTINUE TO ESCALATE; TRANSMISSION WILL OVERRIDE BRAKING (CAUSED 2 ACCIDENTS 2 WEEKS APART); ON A 500-MILE (1-WAY) BUSINESS TRIP IN JULY, CAR WENT INTO FAIL-SAFE MODE 3 TIMES - LOSS OF POWER, ACCELERATOR NON-FUNCTIONAL. CAR TAKEN OFF THE ROAD BY NISSAN CORP, BUT NO REPAIRS DONE; AFTER 49 DAYS OUT OF SERVICE, CAR WAS RELEASED TO ME, CONTINUES TO EXHIBIT TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS. NOW THE STEERING IS EXTREMELY HARD TO OPERATE, AS IF THERE'S NO POWER STEERING IN THE CAR. WHEN TRANSMISSION OVERRIDES BRAKES, IT FEELS LIKE THE CAR IS BEING PUSHED, THEN CHOKES DOWN (NOSE OF CAR DIPS), THEN IS CATAPULTED IN THE SAME DIRECTION (D OR R); IN THIS SEQUENCE, BRAKES FULLY APPLIED WILL NOT STOP THE CAR. NISSAN'S ONLY RESPONSE IS TO SELF-PROTECT AGAINST A LAWSUIT; NO CONCERN FOR THE WELFARE OF SOMEONE DRIVING A CAR IN THIS CONDITION!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/14/2014 - CHAPMANSBORO, TN
DAUGHTER DRIVING CAR ON INTERSTATE WHEN ENGINE DIED. WAS DRIVING IN LEFT LANE AND NARROWLY AVOIDED GETTING HIT WHEN MANEUVERING TO SHOULDER ON RIGHT. PROBLEM TURNED OUT TO BE DEFECTIVE MAF (MASS AIR FLOW) SENSOR. NO INDICATION OF TROUBLE (CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, ROUGH RUNNING, ETC) PRIOR TO ENGINE SHUTOFF. DO NOT UNDERSTAND WHY CAR WOULD NOT GO INTO DEFAULT (OPEN LOOP MODE) AT THIS POINT RATHER THAN JUST SHUTTING DOWN. VEHICLE WOULD NOT RESTART. THIS IS EVER BIT AS DANGEROUS AS GM'S IGNITION SWITCH PROBLEM CAUSING ENGINE SHUTDOWN. EXTREMELY DANGEROUS WHEN DRIVING AT INTERSTATE SPEEDS IN HEAVY TRAFFIC AND VEHICLE ENGINE JUST QUITS CAUSING LOSS OF POWER STEERING AND POWER BRAKES AND LITTLE TIME TO REACT TO GET OUT OF THE WAY OF OTHER TRAFFIC.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/3/2014 - SANTA ANA, CA
I WAS DRIVING MY NISSAN SENTRA AND WITHOUT WARNING THE TRANSMISSION FAILED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE STREET. IT FAILED AT 66,000 MILES AND THE WARRANTY EXPIRED AT 60,000 MILES I RECEIVED NO HELP FROM NISSAN OR THE DEALER THEY BOTH COULD CARE LESS ABOUT THE SITUATION IT WAS A AWFUL EXPERIENCE I BOUGHT THE CAR BECAUSE I THOUGHT IT WAS RELIABLE I WILL NEVER BUY NISSAN AGAIN IT HAS BEEN A BAD EXPERIENCE SO LONG NISSAN.

View Details

ENGINE

8/20/2014 - CEDAR RAPIDS, IA
2012 NISSAN SENTRA. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO INADEQUATE CABIN HEAT IN WINTER. THE CONSUMER STATED HE NOTICED THIS PAST WINTER, THE VEHICLE DID NOT HEAT UP TO NORMAL OPERATING TEMPERATURES ON A TIMELY BASIS WHEN THE OUTSIDE TEMPERATURE WAS ROUGHLY 15 DEGREES OR COLDER. INSTEAD, THE COOLANT TEMPERATURE GAUGE MOVED ABOUT 1/3 OF THE WAY AND JUST STAYED THERE FOR AN EXTENDED PERIOD OF 20 MINUTES OR MORE. AS A RESULT, THE HEATER PUT OUT ONLY MINIMALLY WARM AIR. EVENTUALLY, THE VEHICLE FULLY WARMED UP AND THE HEAT OUTPUT WAS NORMAL. THE DEALER WAS AWARE THERE WAS A PROBLEM, BUT WAS UNABLE TO CORRECT IT, AND THEY HAD NOT RECEIVED ANY TECHNICAL ADVICE OR ASSISTANCE FROM NISSAN. NISSAN INFORMED THE CONSUMER, THE CONDITION WAS IDENTIFIED IN OTHER SENTRA'S, BUT THAT WAS HOW THE ENGINE WAS DESIGNED, AND IT WOULD NOT BE CHANGED. UPDATED 09/10/14

View Details

VISIBILITY: DEFROSTER/DEFOGGER SYSTEM: WINDSHIELD: HEATER CORE

8/20/2014 - CEDAR RAPIDS, IA
2012 NISSAN SENTRA. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO INADEQUATE CABIN HEAT IN WINTER. THE CONSUMER STATED HE NOTICED THIS PAST WINTER, THE VEHICLE DID NOT HEAT UP TO NORMAL OPERATING TEMPERATURES ON A TIMELY BASIS WHEN THE OUTSIDE TEMPERATURE WAS ROUGHLY 15 DEGREES OR COLDER. INSTEAD, THE COOLANT TEMPERATURE GAUGE MOVED ABOUT 1/3 OF THE WAY AND JUST STAYED THERE FOR AN EXTENDED PERIOD OF 20 MINUTES OR MORE. AS A RESULT, THE HEATER PUT OUT ONLY MINIMALLY WARM AIR. EVENTUALLY, THE VEHICLE FULLY WARMED UP AND THE HEAT OUTPUT WAS NORMAL. THE DEALER WAS AWARE THERE WAS A PROBLEM, BUT WAS UNABLE TO CORRECT IT, AND THEY HAD NOT RECEIVED ANY TECHNICAL ADVICE OR ASSISTANCE FROM NISSAN. NISSAN INFORMED THE CONSUMER, THE CONDITION WAS IDENTIFIED IN OTHER SENTRA'S, BUT THAT WAS HOW THE ENGINE WAS DESIGNED, AND IT WOULD NOT BE CHANGED. UPDATED 09/10/14

View Details

ENGINE

8/6/2014 - SAN JACINTO, CA
VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED USED AND THE BATTERY DIED AFTER 3MOS AND 3000 MILES, DEALER REFUSED TO REPLACE. PURCHASE PRICE FOR NEW BATTERY IS $145.00 I FIND THIS CHARGE RIDICULOUS. THIS VEHICLE IS USED MAYBE EVERY OTHER DAY SINCE WE HAVE 2 CARS. THE DEALER SAID THE CAR STILL HAS 60,000 MILES WARRANTY. ON A CERTIFIED PRE OWNED VEHICLE I DO NOT EXCEPT HAVING TO PUT A NEW BATTERY IN THE CAR. I MUST ASK WHAT KIND OF INSPECTION DO YOU GUYS DO, AND SHOULD I EXPECT MORE THINGS TO GO WRONG WITH THIS CAR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/12/2014 - PALMDALE, CA
I BOUGHT A 2012 NISSAN SENTRA I KEPT UP WITH ALL THE WORK FOR THE CAR SO TO BE SURE NOTHING WOULD GO WRONG. ABOUT A YEAR THE CAR STARTED MAKING NOISE. I TOLD THE SERVICE DEPT. BUT THEY DID NOTHING ON 07-10-2012 THE SERVICE DEPT TOLD ME I NEEDED A NEW TRANSMISSION THE CAR IS ONLY TWO YEARS OLD. THE CAR BEGAN TO RUN REALLY BAD. I HAD TO GET ANOTHER CAR FOR FEAR THAT THIS MIGHT BLOW UP.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds