Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN SENTRA - 2012 NISSAN SENTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 84 complaints filed for the 2012 NISSAN SENTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 NISSAN SENTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 NISSAN SENTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (1) Steering (4) Unknown Or Other (7)
Electrical System (9) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seats (1) Structure (11) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (4) Suspension (3) Visibility (11)
Engine (14) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (1) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Power Train (25)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/2/2017 - JEWETT CITY, CT
CAR IS HESITANT, LOSING POWER AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. AFRAID OF GETTING REAR ENDED ON HIGHWAY!! SOMETIMES IT HAPPENS AT A STOP.

View Details

ENGINE

5/8/2017 - POCATELLO, ID
I HAVE OWNED THIS CAR FOR 2 YEARS. EVERY YEAR, AS IT STARTS TO WARM UP IN THE SPRING, THE SAME PROBLEM RECURS. I HAVE HAD IT TO SEVERAL REPAIR SHOPS, ONLY TO BE TOLD THAT IT CANNOT BE FIXED. AS I AM DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY, IT WILL SUDDENLY START TO DECELERATE, AND I MUST PULL OFF THE ROAD AND LET THE CAR SIT, TURNED OFF, FOR 20-40 MINUTES. LAST WEEK, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, AND WHEN I TOOK IT BACK TO THE DEALER, THEY WANT $3000 TO FIX THE CAR. THIS HAS BEEN A PROBLEM SINCE THE FIRST SUMMER AFTER I BOUGHT IT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/8/2017 - POCATELLO, ID
I HAVE OWNED THIS CAR FOR 2 YEARS. EVERY YEAR, AS IT STARTS TO WARM UP IN THE SPRING, THE SAME PROBLEM RECURS. I HAVE HAD IT TO SEVERAL REPAIR SHOPS, ONLY TO BE TOLD THAT IT CANNOT BE FIXED. AS I AM DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY, IT WILL SUDDENLY START TO DECELERATE, AND I MUST PULL OFF THE ROAD AND LET THE CAR SIT, TURNED OFF, FOR 20-40 MINUTES. LAST WEEK, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, AND WHEN I TOOK IT BACK TO THE DEALER, THEY WANT $3000 TO FIX THE CAR. THIS HAS BEEN A PROBLEM SINCE THE FIRST SUMMER AFTER I BOUGHT IT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/24/2017 - CARROLLTON, TX
AFTER DRIVING FOR 3+HOURS, THE CAR BEGINS TO DEACCELERATE AND YOU CANNOT GO ANY FASTER WHILE ON THE HIGHWAY; VERY UNSAFE. QUOTED OVER $3.5K TO FIX TRANSMISSION. CAR SHOULD LAST LONGER THAN 80K MILES! SCARED TO DRIVE IT NOW. AT ONE POINT, NISSAN COVERED THE TRANSMISSION FOR 10 YEARS OR 100,000 MILES--SHOULD DEFINITELY GO BACK TO THIS AS THE CVT IS NOT SAFE! CONTACTED NISSAN CONSUMER AFFAIRS TO NO AVAIL...

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/24/2017 - CARROLLTON, TX
AFTER DRIVING FOR 3+HOURS, THE CAR BEGINS TO DEACCELERATE AND YOU CANNOT GO ANY FASTER WHILE ON THE HIGHWAY; VERY UNSAFE. QUOTED OVER $3.5K TO FIX TRANSMISSION. CAR SHOULD LAST LONGER THAN 80K MILES! SCARED TO DRIVE IT NOW. AT ONE POINT, NISSAN COVERED THE TRANSMISSION FOR 10 YEARS OR 100,000 MILES--SHOULD DEFINITELY GO BACK TO THIS AS THE CVT IS NOT SAFE! CONTACTED NISSAN CONSUMER AFFAIRS TO NO AVAIL...

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/7/2017 - JEFFERSONVILLE, IN
VEHICLE STOPPED PULLING IN TRAFFIC ALMOST GOT REAR ENDED VERY UNSAFE NISSAN SAYS INTERNAL FAILURE COST TO REPAIR 3800 DOLLARS VEHICLE IS NOT REPAIRED SCARED TO DRIVE IT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/14/2017 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
AIR BAG LIGHT STAY ON AND IT WONT GO OFF.

View Details

ENGINE

2/26/2017 - SPRING HILL, TN
THE ISSUE FIRST STARTED LAST SUMMER. I HAD A CAR FULL OF 4 TEENAGERS AND WE WERE HEADING OUT OF TOWN AND THE ENGINE BEGAN A LOUD WHISTLE SOUNDS AND THEN THE GAS PEDAL QUIT WORKING - WE LIMPED OFF THE HIGHWAY AFTER ALMOST GETTING HIT AND GOT A TOW TRUCK AND RENTAL CAR. THE MECHANIC HAD US PAY FOR A WHOLE NEW MOTOR. WE THOUGHT THE ISSUE WAS FIXED. THEN A COUPLE MONTHS LATER I AGAIN HAD 4 TEENAGERS IN MY CAR HEADING OUT OF TOWN AND THE WHISTLE NOISE STARTED ABOUT AN HOUR INTO THE TRIP. THEN IT GOT LOUDER. THEN THE CAR WOULD DECELERATE GOING UPHILL. THEN, AS WE GOT TO THE NEXT EXIT, THE GAS PEDAL STOPPED WORKING COMPLETELY. WE AGAIN ALMOST DIED, BARELY MADE IT TO THE GAS STATION AND REALIZED THERE WAS AN AUTO ZONE NEXT DOOR. SO WE WENT AND HAD THE CODES READ AS THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT HAD JUST POPPED ON...WHEN I TURNED THE CAR BACK ON, EVERYTHING WORKED FINE BUT IT HAD SAT FOR 30 MINUTES. RESEARCH LED US TO THE CVT ISSUES WITH AN EXTENDED WARRANTY THAT HAD PASSED. WE TRIED A TRANSMISSION COOLING DEVICE AND DID NOT DRIVE THE CAR OVER AN HOUR. BUT THIS PAST WEEK I TRIED AGAIN WITH 2 TEENAGERS IN MY CAR...ONE HOUR IN TO A TRIP, IT HAPPENED AGAIN. THIS IS NOT OK FOR A CAR TRANSMISSION TO DECELERATE AND PUT MY CHILDREN AND MY LIFE AT RISK.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/10/2017 - ROANOKE, VA
PURCHASED A BRAND NEW 2012 NISSAN SENTRA 5 YEARS LATER MY TRANSMISSION GOES. THE NISSAN DEALER SAID IT WOULD BE $3,600 TO FIX!! THE CAR HAS 71,000 MILES AND THE WARRANTY ENDED AT 5/ 60,000. AFTER RESEARCHING, TRANSMISSION ISSUES HAVE BEEN DOCUMENTED IN OLDER MODELS BUT WAS SUPPOSED TO BE FIXED. COINCIDENTALLY MINE HAS THE SAME ISSUE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/2/2017 - ANDERSON, SC
DOOR LOCKS NOT RELIABLE OR SECURE. THEY WILL NOT CONSISTENTLY LOCK OR UNLOCK WITH THE KEY FOB. BATTERY HAS BEEN CHANGED IN BOTH KEYS AND ISSUE IS STILL OCCURING. ITEMS STOLEN FROM VEHICLE RECENTLY BECAUSE I THOUGHT IT WAS LOCKED AFTER HEARING HORN SOUND WHEN PRESSING LOCK BUTTON ON KEY FOB. CAR WAS PARKED IN A PUBLIC PARKING LOT. THIS COULD BE A POTENTIAL SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds