Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN SENTRA - 2012 NISSAN SENTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 49 complaints filed for the 2012 NISSAN SENTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 NISSAN SENTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 NISSAN SENTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seat Belts (1) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (6) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (1) Structure (11) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Engine (9) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (3) Suspension (3) Visibility (9)
Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (12) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (1) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

4/17/2015 - SANTA ROSA , CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 NISSSAN SENTRA. WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE TRANSMISSION FAILED WHILE ACCELERATING. THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 63,383.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/1/2015 - LAWRENCEVILLE, GA
I PURCHASE USED CAR FROM 2012 I NEVER EXPECT TO HAVE ANY CAR PROBLEM FOR AT LEAST 4 YRS, BUT THAT WAS NOT MY CASE IN 5 MONTH OF HAVING THE CAR IT STARTED TO GIVE ME PROBLEMS. THE FIST PROBLEM IS THAT I HAD A LEAKING THAT WAS COMING FROM THE SUN ROOF AND THE TOP LIGHT. I WAS TOLD THAT THE WAY IS MADE IT HAD TO DRAIN TUBE AND THEY GET CLOG. I WAS ALSO TOLD NOT TO PARK MY CAR UNDER TREE. UH THAT'S IS KIND OF HARD THERE'S A LOT TREES IN THE COUNTRY. I HAD TO CHANGE THE BATTERY IN ABOUT 3 MONTHS. THE CAR WHEN I TURN IT OFF THE MOTOR WAS STILL RUNNING. FEW DAY AFTER THE MY CAR WOULD NOT START NOT EVEN MANUALLY. I TOLD THAT THE IGNITION WAS NOT WORKING AND THE ANTI THEFT SYSTEM LOCK THEREFORE I WAS NOT ABLE TO TURN THE CAR ON. I ALSO SAW THAT THE METAL THAT IS UNDER THE STERING WHEEL WAS RUSTY FROM THE LEAK. I RESEARCH THE RECALLS, BUT WAS NOT ABLE TO FIND ANY ON THIS YEAR. HOWEVER I FOUND THE PREVIOUS YEAR HAD A RECALL AND WAS THE SAME ISSUES I'M HAVING.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/1/2015 - LAWRENCEVILLE, GA
I PURCHASE USED CAR FROM 2012 I NEVER EXPECT TO HAVE ANY CAR PROBLEM FOR AT LEAST 4 YRS, BUT THAT WAS NOT MY CASE IN 5 MONTH OF HAVING THE CAR IT STARTED TO GIVE ME PROBLEMS. THE FIST PROBLEM IS THAT I HAD A LEAKING THAT WAS COMING FROM THE SUN ROOF AND THE TOP LIGHT. I WAS TOLD THAT THE WAY IS MADE IT HAD TO DRAIN TUBE AND THEY GET CLOG. I WAS ALSO TOLD NOT TO PARK MY CAR UNDER TREE. UH THAT'S IS KIND OF HARD THERE'S A LOT TREES IN THE COUNTRY. I HAD TO CHANGE THE BATTERY IN ABOUT 3 MONTHS. THE CAR WHEN I TURN IT OFF THE MOTOR WAS STILL RUNNING. FEW DAY AFTER THE MY CAR WOULD NOT START NOT EVEN MANUALLY. I TOLD THAT THE IGNITION WAS NOT WORKING AND THE ANTI THEFT SYSTEM LOCK THEREFORE I WAS NOT ABLE TO TURN THE CAR ON. I ALSO SAW THAT THE METAL THAT IS UNDER THE STERING WHEEL WAS RUSTY FROM THE LEAK. I RESEARCH THE RECALLS, BUT WAS NOT ABLE TO FIND ANY ON THIS YEAR. HOWEVER I FOUND THE PREVIOUS YEAR HAD A RECALL AND WAS THE SAME ISSUES I'M HAVING.

View Details

ENGINE

4/1/2015 - LAWRENCEVILLE, GA
I PURCHASE USED CAR FROM 2012 I NEVER EXPECT TO HAVE ANY CAR PROBLEM FOR AT LEAST 4 YRS, BUT THAT WAS NOT MY CASE IN 5 MONTH OF HAVING THE CAR IT STARTED TO GIVE ME PROBLEMS. THE FIST PROBLEM IS THAT I HAD A LEAKING THAT WAS COMING FROM THE SUN ROOF AND THE TOP LIGHT. I WAS TOLD THAT THE WAY IS MADE IT HAD TO DRAIN TUBE AND THEY GET CLOG. I WAS ALSO TOLD NOT TO PARK MY CAR UNDER TREE. UH THAT'S IS KIND OF HARD THERE'S A LOT TREES IN THE COUNTRY. I HAD TO CHANGE THE BATTERY IN ABOUT 3 MONTHS. THE CAR WHEN I TURN IT OFF THE MOTOR WAS STILL RUNNING. FEW DAY AFTER THE MY CAR WOULD NOT START NOT EVEN MANUALLY. I TOLD THAT THE IGNITION WAS NOT WORKING AND THE ANTI THEFT SYSTEM LOCK THEREFORE I WAS NOT ABLE TO TURN THE CAR ON. I ALSO SAW THAT THE METAL THAT IS UNDER THE STERING WHEEL WAS RUSTY FROM THE LEAK. I RESEARCH THE RECALLS, BUT WAS NOT ABLE TO FIND ANY ON THIS YEAR. HOWEVER I FOUND THE PREVIOUS YEAR HAD A RECALL AND WAS THE SAME ISSUES I'M HAVING.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/22/2015 - HERMON , ME
AFTER GOING TO THE BANK WE STOPPED FOR BREAKFAST.....IT WAS ABOUT 40 DEGREES AND LIGHT SNOW WAS FALLING.....WHILE EATING OUR SUN ROOF EXPLODED......IT HAD A CONE SHAPE UPWARDS AND GLASS WAS ALL AROUND ON THE ROOF AND HOOD OF THE VEH. ....VEH WAS PARKED LUCKY FOR US...... BUT IT SOUNDED LIKE A GUN SHOT AND GLASS WENT FLYIG.....

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

2/17/2015 - HARRISONBURG, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 NISSAN SENTRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE LOCK MECHANISM FAILED TO WORK IN ALL FOUR DOORS. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE KEY FOB WAS REPLACED TWICE. THE DOORS WOULD NOT OPEN FROM INSIDE THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT HAD TO ENTER THE VEHICLE MANUALLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO STATED THAT THE LOCK MECHANISM NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/17/2015 - HARRISONBURG, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 NISSAN SENTRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE LOCK MECHANISM FAILED TO WORK IN ALL FOUR DOORS. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE KEY FOB WAS REPLACED TWICE. THE DOORS WOULD NOT OPEN FROM INSIDE THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT HAD TO ENTER THE VEHICLE MANUALLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO STATED THAT THE LOCK MECHANISM NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/11/2015 - WARNER ROBINS, GA
IN THE FIRST INCIDENT, I CAME OUT FROM SEEING A MOVIE AND I COULD NOT GET MY CAR OUT OF PARK. A FRIEND CAME TO TRY TO HELP AND GOT IT INTO NEUTRAL BUT IT WOULD NOT SHIFT ANY FURTHER. THE PROBLEM TURNED OUT TO BE THE KEY RELEASE CABLE. I HAD A PROBLEM AGAIN IN EARLY NOVEMBER AT APPROX 36,500 MILES. THIS TIME THE KEY WOULD NOT COME OUT OF THE IGNITION. SAME KEY RELEASE CABLE WAS THE PROBLEM. EVEN NOW THE CAR STILL MAKES A CLUNKING NOISE UNDER THE DRIVER'S SEAT AND THE KEY SEEMS TO SCRAPE AS IT COMES OUT OF THE IGNITION. SOMETIMES I PULL THE KEY OUT (AND THERE IS THE SCRAPING NOISE) AND THE DOORS DO NOT UNLOCK.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

1/2/2015 - ISSAQUAH, WA
CONDENSATE COLLECTED IN HEAD LAMPS AND TURNING SIGNALS CAUSING LIGHT BULBS GO-OUT WHILE DRIVING/STANDING. SINCE CAR HAS 72K MILES WARRANTY NOT COVERED THIS ISSUES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/6/2014 - FROSTBURG, MD
SINCE PURCHASING THE CAR NEW IN 2012 UPON ACCELERATING AFTER FIRST STARTING AND GOING ABOUT HALF A MILE CAR MAKES A CLUNKING NOISE. DOES THIS ALL THE TIME AFTER FIRST STARTING AND TAKING OFF AND CAN BE FELT UNDER THE DRIVER'S SIDE FLOORBOARD WHEN IT HAPPENS. THE DEALERSHIP TOOK IT FOR A TEST RIDE AND SAID IT IS NORMAL IN SENTRA MODELS, BUT THEY NEVER CHECKED THE BUSHINGS TO DIAGNOSE THE SOURCE OF THE PROBLEM. IT COULD BE IN THE SUSPENSION, TRANSMISSION, OR THE DRIVE TRAIN.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds