Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN SENTRA - 2012 NISSAN SENTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 104 complaints filed for the 2012 NISSAN SENTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 NISSAN SENTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 NISSAN SENTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (1) Steering (6) Unknown Or Other (10)
Electrical System (9) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seats (1) Structure (13) Vehicle Speed Control (14)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (4) Suspension (5) Visibility (11)
Engine (18) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (1) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Power Train (34)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

WHEELS

5/15/2018 - GILBERT, AZ
THUMPING NOISE FROM LEFT REAR SUSPENSION AT 30MPH ON CITY STREETS

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/15/2018 - GILBERT, AZ
THUMPING NOISE FROM LEFT REAR SUSPENSION AT 30MPH ON CITY STREETS

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/12/2018 - SAN RAFAEL, CA
2012 NISSAN SENTRA STARTED MALFUNCTIONING WITH BATTERY REPLACEMENT ON MARCH 25, 2015 AT HANLEES NISSAN IN DAVIS, CA, WHERE I HAD PURCHASED THE VEHICLE IN SEPT 2013 AND WHERE I HAD MOST SERVICE PERFORMED WHILE I OWNED THE VEHICLE. I COMMUTED 1.5 HOURS EACH WAY FOR A NEW JOB IN ROHNERT PARK AND I WAS BECOMING ILL. UNABLE TO LOCATE HOUSING IN THE AREA I WAS UNABLE TO KEEP THE JOB FOR MORE THAN 2 WEEKS. I SUSPECT FOUL PLAY WITH THE DAVIS SERVICE DEPARTMENT. CAR STARTED HAVING A LOUD CLICKING SOUND AT JUST LESS THAN 30MPH. DAVIS SERVICED CAR FOR TWO MORE YEARS. THEY CANNOT PROVIDE A DUPLICATE SALES CONTRACT SAYING IT IS LOST. DAVIS REFERRED ME TO KIM AT FAIRFIELD NISSAN AND SHE TOLD ME IT IS MISSING. THIS DIFFICULTY SHOULD NOT EXIST. I ASKED LIENHOLDER CRB AUTO/MECHANICS BANK TO PROVIDE A COPY AND I HAVE YET TO RECEIVE. I MADE MULTIPLE ATTEMPTS TO HAVE MY CAR ASSESSED AT NISSAN DAVIS, VACAVILLE, NORTH BAY NISSAN IN PETALUMA (REPLACED CATALYTIC CONVERTER 7-31-17 60, 000 MILES) PROBLEM NOT CORRECTED. VEHICLE NOW DEVELOPED EXTREMELY POOR GAS MILEAGE. I CONTINUED TO GET SICKER. I HAD BEEN ILLEGALLY EVICTED FROM MY RENTAL HOME AT 7172 YOLANO ROAD, DIXON, CA 95620 JUNE 3, 2017 WITH HARSH BULLYING AGAINST LAW IN CONCERT WITH THE SOLANO COUNTY SHERIFF'S (ONGOING INVESTIGATION) I HAD HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED TO DAVIS PRIOR TO LEAVING THAT ADDRESS. I TOLD THEM I GOT REALLY ILL WHEN DRIVING THE CAR. THEY REFUSED DIAGNOSTIC WORK AND RECOMMENDED CLEANING DETAIL OF CAR AT MY EXPENSE. DID POOR JOB AND HAD TO REPEAT. ONCE HOMELESS, I WAS IN THE CAR, RELOCATED TO MARIN COUNTY AND CONTINUED TO DETERIORATE IN HEALTH. (ER VISITS TO DOCUMENT). MILEAGE HAD BEEN 35-40 MPG DECREASED TO15-20 MPG. HAD VEHICLE TOWED TO SF NISSAN ON 10-3-17 AND THEY RESET ALL CODES, COULD FIND NOTHING WRONG. CAR IMPOUNDED IN DT SF ON 10-6-17; ROBBED OF IMPOUND $500 CASH AND BELONGINGS ON 10-10-17. PLEASE HELP.

View Details

STEERING

5/11/2018 - NORTH HOLLYWOOD, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 NISSAN SENTRA. WHILE STATIONARY AND WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE STEERING WHEEL MADE A SQUEAKY GRINDING NOISE AND SHOOK WHEN BEING TURNED LEFT OR RIGHT. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 86,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/8/2018 - WARRENTON, VA
TRANSMISSION CR REPORTED THE ISSUE YESTERDAY WITH THE SENTRA GOING INTO LIMP MODE AT ANY TIME WITHOUT WARNING DROPPING FROM 70 MPH TO 10 MPH. CODES P0744, P1722, P1788 TRANSMISSION CODES. P0744 MEANS YOU HAVE TO BUY A WHOLE NEW TORQUE CONVERTER SOLENOID UNIT AS YOU CANNOT JUST REPLACE THE SOLENOID. COST OF THE UNIT $1,116.00. THE P1788 CODE IS THE STEP MOTOR THAT IS INSIDE THE TRANSMISSION. AAMCO WILL NOT EVEN REBUILD THE CVT TRANSMISSION. THEY TOLD ME CHEAPER TO BUY ANOTHER TRANSMISSION THAN TO FIX THIS ONE. TIME NISSAN IS HELD ACCOUNTABLE FOR CUTTING CORNERS ON THEIR TRANSMISSIONS IN ORDER TO MAKE PROFIT. THEY ARE HELD ACCOUNTABLE FOR THE 2007 - 2010 CARS, TIME TO ADD 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 - ? SINCE CVT TRANSMISSIONS ARE JUNK. DAUGHTER SENTRA ONLY HAS 103,000 MILES ON IT AND WELL TAKEN CARE OF. FOR A CAR TO GO INTO LIMP MODE WITH NO WARNING IS WAITING FOR A FATAL CRASH. LUCKILY THIS DID NOT HAPPEN TO MY DAUGHTER. APPEARS THE EXTENDED WARRANTY NISSAN PLACED ON 2007 - 2010 MODELS EXPERIENCING THE SAME PROBLEMS MY DAUGHTER HAS WITH HER SENTRA. SHE GRADUATED COLLEGE AND NOW IS FACED WITH A 2000+ BILL FOR A REPAIR SINCE SHE CANNOT AFFORD A CAR PAYMENT YET. WHAT A WAY TO WELCOME SOMEONE TO THE REAL WORLD AFTER GRADUATING FROM COLLEGE 3 DAYS AGO.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/7/2018 - GILBERT, AZ
WHEN GOING HIGHWAY SPEEDS THE ACCELERATION DROPS AND WILL NOT COME BACK WITH THE PEDDLE TO THE FLOOR, WAS ALMOST REAR ENDED. AT A STOPLIGHT WHEN TAKING OFF THE CAR WOULD NOT ACCELERATE. THIS HAS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES. RESEARCHED AND FOUND THE ISSUE IS THE CVT TRANSMISSION. NISSAN HAS EXTENDED WARRANTY TO 10 YR 1200000 MILE ON THIS TRANSMISSION. I CALLED TO SCHEDULE AND WAS TOLD MY VIN IS NOT COVERED. WHY?

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/7/2018 - GILBERT, AZ
WHEN GOING HIGHWAY SPEEDS THE ACCELERATION DROPS AND WILL NOT COME BACK WITH THE PEDDLE TO THE FLOOR, WAS ALMOST REAR ENDED. AT A STOPLIGHT WHEN TAKING OFF THE CAR WOULD NOT ACCELERATE. THIS HAS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES. RESEARCHED AND FOUND THE ISSUE IS THE CVT TRANSMISSION. NISSAN HAS EXTENDED WARRANTY TO 10 YR 1200000 MILE ON THIS TRANSMISSION. I CALLED TO SCHEDULE AND WAS TOLD MY VIN IS NOT COVERED. WHY?

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/7/2018 - WARRENTON, VA
"CVT TRANSMISSION ISSUES" 2012 NISSAN SENTRA SR 2.0L WITH 103,000 MILES ON THE VEHICLE AND MAINTAINED ADEQUATELY SINCE GETTING THE VEHICLE IN 2013. FOR THE LAST SIX MONTHS, I HAVE BEEN EXPERIENCING MY VEHICLE LOSS OF ACCELERATION ON ONLY BEING ABLE TO GO 10 MPH MAX WHEN MY VEHICLE GOES INTO LIMP MODE. THIS HAPPENS TO ME ON THE INTERSTATE 64 WESTBOUND FROM RICHMOND, VA TO HARRISBURG, VA GOING UPHILL WHERE I WAS GOING 70 - 75 MPH WHEN THE VEHICLE LOSS ACCELERATION AND MY SPEED DROPPED DRAMATICALLY ALMOST CAUSING A WRECK. THIS IS DUE TO BEING IN THE LEFT LANE AND HAVING NOWHERE, I COULD PULL OFF THE INTERSTATE READILY AVAILABLE. TO ME, THIS IS A SIGNIFICANT SAFETY CONCERN AS THIS IS HAPPENING NOW AFTER BEING DRIVEN FOR 30 MINUTES TO AN HOUR. TOOK THE VEHICLE TO MIDAS WHERE I HAD THEM RUN A DIAGNOSTIC TEST ON THE CAR TO SEE IF THERE ARE ANY CODES ON THE CAR SINCE THERE IS "NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON." THE TECHNICIAN CAME BACK WITH THE FOLLOWING: 'TECH FOUND THAT THE CVT TRANSMISSION IS HAVING INTERNAL PROBLEMS-VEHICLE US NOT SAFE TO DRIVE. TECH FOUND CODE P1722 EST VEHICLE SPEED SIGNAL, P0744 AT TR SW FUNCTION, P1778 STEP MOTOR. ALSO, VEHICLE NEEDS FRONT STRUTS AND REAR SHOCKS - NO CONTROL OF STEERING WHEEL.+ IT APPEARS NISSAN HAS HAD PROBLEMS WITH THE CVT TRANSMISSION FROM THEIR 2007 - 2010 SENTRA AND ISSUED AN EXTENDED TEN YEAR - 120,000 MILES WARRANTY. NISSAN NEEDS TO EXTEND THE WARRANTY TO EVERY YEAR THAT NISSAN HAS USED THE CVT TRANSMISSION AS THEY ARE UNRELIABLE AND EVENTUALLY WILL CAUSE A FATAL ACCIDENT ON THE HIGHWAYS WITH THEIR TRANSMISSION GOING INTO LIMP MODE.WOULD LIKE MY VEHICLE ADDED TO THE CVT EXTENDED WARRANTY - 10 YEARS + 120,000 MILES SINCE MY VEHICLE IS EXPERIENCING THE SAME ISSUES AS THE 2007 - 2010 VEHICLES. OCCURRED ON INTERSTATE, HIGHWAY, AND CITY.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/7/2018 - WARRENTON, VA
"CVT TRANSMISSION ISSUES" 2012 NISSAN SENTRA SR 2.0L WITH 103,000 MILES ON THE VEHICLE AND MAINTAINED ADEQUATELY SINCE GETTING THE VEHICLE IN 2013. FOR THE LAST SIX MONTHS, I HAVE BEEN EXPERIENCING MY VEHICLE LOSS OF ACCELERATION ON ONLY BEING ABLE TO GO 10 MPH MAX WHEN MY VEHICLE GOES INTO LIMP MODE. THIS HAPPENS TO ME ON THE INTERSTATE 64 WESTBOUND FROM RICHMOND, VA TO HARRISBURG, VA GOING UPHILL WHERE I WAS GOING 70 - 75 MPH WHEN THE VEHICLE LOSS ACCELERATION AND MY SPEED DROPPED DRAMATICALLY ALMOST CAUSING A WRECK. THIS IS DUE TO BEING IN THE LEFT LANE AND HAVING NOWHERE, I COULD PULL OFF THE INTERSTATE READILY AVAILABLE. TO ME, THIS IS A SIGNIFICANT SAFETY CONCERN AS THIS IS HAPPENING NOW AFTER BEING DRIVEN FOR 30 MINUTES TO AN HOUR. TOOK THE VEHICLE TO MIDAS WHERE I HAD THEM RUN A DIAGNOSTIC TEST ON THE CAR TO SEE IF THERE ARE ANY CODES ON THE CAR SINCE THERE IS "NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON." THE TECHNICIAN CAME BACK WITH THE FOLLOWING: 'TECH FOUND THAT THE CVT TRANSMISSION IS HAVING INTERNAL PROBLEMS-VEHICLE US NOT SAFE TO DRIVE. TECH FOUND CODE P1722 EST VEHICLE SPEED SIGNAL, P0744 AT TR SW FUNCTION, P1778 STEP MOTOR. ALSO, VEHICLE NEEDS FRONT STRUTS AND REAR SHOCKS - NO CONTROL OF STEERING WHEEL.+ IT APPEARS NISSAN HAS HAD PROBLEMS WITH THE CVT TRANSMISSION FROM THEIR 2007 - 2010 SENTRA AND ISSUED AN EXTENDED TEN YEAR - 120,000 MILES WARRANTY. NISSAN NEEDS TO EXTEND THE WARRANTY TO EVERY YEAR THAT NISSAN HAS USED THE CVT TRANSMISSION AS THEY ARE UNRELIABLE AND EVENTUALLY WILL CAUSE A FATAL ACCIDENT ON THE HIGHWAYS WITH THEIR TRANSMISSION GOING INTO LIMP MODE.WOULD LIKE MY VEHICLE ADDED TO THE CVT EXTENDED WARRANTY - 10 YEARS + 120,000 MILES SINCE MY VEHICLE IS EXPERIENCING THE SAME ISSUES AS THE 2007 - 2010 VEHICLES. OCCURRED ON INTERSTATE, HIGHWAY, AND CITY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/7/2018 - WARRENTON, VA
"CVT TRANSMISSION ISSUES" 2012 NISSAN SENTRA SR 2.0L WITH 103,000 MILES ON THE VEHICLE AND MAINTAINED ADEQUATELY SINCE GETTING THE VEHICLE IN 2013. FOR THE LAST SIX MONTHS, I HAVE BEEN EXPERIENCING MY VEHICLE LOSS OF ACCELERATION ON ONLY BEING ABLE TO GO 10 MPH MAX WHEN MY VEHICLE GOES INTO LIMP MODE. THIS HAPPENS TO ME ON THE INTERSTATE 64 WESTBOUND FROM RICHMOND, VA TO HARRISBURG, VA GOING UPHILL WHERE I WAS GOING 70 - 75 MPH WHEN THE VEHICLE LOSS ACCELERATION AND MY SPEED DROPPED DRAMATICALLY ALMOST CAUSING A WRECK. THIS IS DUE TO BEING IN THE LEFT LANE AND HAVING NOWHERE I COULD PULL OFF THE INTERSTATE READILY AVAILABLE. TO ME, THIS IS A SIGNIFICANT SAFETY CONCERN AS THIS IS HAPPENING NOW AFTER BEING DRIVEN FOR 30 MINUTES TO AN HOUR. TOOK THE VEHICLE TO MIDAS WHERE I HAD THEM RUN A DIAGNOSTIC TEST ON THE CAR TO SEE IF THERE ARE ANY CODES ON THE CAR SINCE THERE IS "NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON." THE TECHNICIAN DROVE THE CAR FOR 30 MINUTES AND EXPERIENCED THE SAME ISSUE I'VE BEEN EXPERIENCING. THE VEHICLE WENT INTO LIMP MODE, AND HE HAD TO WAIT AN HOUR BEFORE THE CAR WOULD ACCELERATE AGAIN. THE TECHNICIAN CAME BACK WITH THE FOLLOWING: 'TECH FOUND THAT THE CVT TRANSMISSION IS HAVING INTERNAL PROBLEMS-VEHICLE US NOT SAFE TO DRIVE. TECH FOUND CODE P1722 EST VEHICLE SPEED SIGNAL, P0744 AT TR SW FUNCTION, P1778 STEP MOTOR. ALSO, VEHICLE NEEDS FRONT STRUTS AND REAR SHOCKS - NO CONTROL OF STEERING WHEEL. IT APPEARS NISSAN HAS HAD PROBLEMS WITH THE CVT TRANSMISSION FROM THEIR 2007 - 2010 SENTRA AND ISSUED AN EXTENDED TEN YEAR - 120,000 MILES WARRANTY. NISSAN NEEDS TO EXTEND THE WARRANTY TO EVERY YEAR THAT NISSAN HAS USED THE CVT TRANSMISSION AS THEY ARE UNRELIABLE AND EVENTUALLY WILL CAUSE A FATAL ACCIDENT ON THE HIGHWAYS WITH THEIR TRANSMISSION GOING INTO LIMP MODE. PLEASE LOOK INTO THIS MATTER FOR ALL NISSAN SENTRA 2011, 2012, ETC. THIS IS A PROBLEM.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds