Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN SENTRA - 2012 NISSAN SENTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 62 complaints filed for the 2012 NISSAN SENTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 NISSAN SENTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 NISSAN SENTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seat Belts (1) Steering (3) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electrical System (6) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (1) Structure (11) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Engine (10) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (4) Suspension (3) Visibility (10)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Power Train (15) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Tires (1) Wheels (2)
Exterior Lighting (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/27/2016 - COLUMBIA, SC
TAKATA RECALL: I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY WHEN THE "CHECK ENGINE" SERVICE LIGHT CAME ON, AND MY CAR IMMEDIATELY WENT FROM 60PMH TO 20MPH IN A MATTER OF MINUTES. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP THAT SAME DAY (3 WEEKS AGO). AFTER A DIAGNOSTIC WAS TESTED, THE THROTTLE PEDAL POSITION SENSOR NEEDS TO BE REPLACED, AND IS ON BACKORDER. WHEN I ASKED WHAT THAT MEANT, THEY INFORMED ME THAT THE PART IS NOT AVAILABLE. THE DEALERSHIP REACHED OUT TO CORPORATE (AFTER HAVING MY CAR FOR 2 WEEKS) AND COME TO FIND OUT THERE ARE 300 OTHER CASES DEALING WITH THIS SAME PART.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/13/2015 - TRACY, CA
I WAS DRIVING THROUGH TOWN AND WAS AT A STOP LIGHT WHEN MY CAR WOULD NOT ACCELERATE AT ALL. NO WARNING SIGNS. NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT. IT JUST WOULDN'T GO. TOOK MY CAR TO THE NISSAN DEALER AND WAS ADVISED THE TRANSMISSION HAS TO BE REPLACED. NISSAN REFUSES TO ASSIST WITH ANY OF THE COST. IT'S AN AUTOMATIC CVT TRANSMISSION.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/13/2015 - CERRITOS, CA
I WAS DROPPING OFF MY PASSENGER, I WAS IN DRIVE AND HAD MY FOOT ON THE BRAKE, SO THE CAR WAS NOT MOVING, AND HE CLOSED THE DOOR, MAYBE SLAMMED A LITTLE AS HE WAS IN A HURRY TO GET OUT OF THE CAR, AND THEN THE AIR BAGS ON THE ROOF OF THE PASSENGER SIDE DEPLOYED, ALONG WITH THE AIR BAGS TO THE PASSENGER SEAT. I WAS IN SHOCK SINCE I KNOW I'VE SLAMMED MY CAR DOOR BEFORE AND THAT HAS NEVER HAPPENED. LUCKILY NOBODY WAS INJURED AND THERE ARE NO DAMAGES TO MY CAR.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/25/2015 - KENT, WA
I PURCHASED MY SENTRA NEW IN MARCH 2012. AT THAT TIME, MY GAS MILEAGE WAS NORMAL, AND AS ADVERTISED. WITHIN THE YEAR, I WENT FROM 30MPG AVERAGE TO 27. EVERY YEAR SINCE THEN, IT HAS GRADUALLY GOTTEN WORSE, AND I AM NOW DOWN TO 23MPG, REGARDLESS OF THE TYPE OR GRADE OF GAS I USE. IT'S ACTUALLY WORSE WITH PREMIUM GAS. I HAVE DONE ALL MAINTENANCE ON THE CAR ON TIME, REGULAR OIL CHANGES, ETC. I'VE COMPLAINED TO THE DEALERSHIP MULTIPLE TIMES, AND THEY CLAIM TO FIND NO PROBLEMS WITH IT.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

9/14/2015 - BOLDER, CO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 NISSAN SENTRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 85 MPH, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO SHIFT AND THE SPEED INDEPENDENTLY DECREASED TO 70 MPH WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS RESTARTED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE RECURRED EACH TIME THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN A LONG DISTANCE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE VEHICLE NEEDED A CVT COOLER INSTALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/12/2015 - BOULDER, CO
I HAVE HAD MY CAR FOR JUST OVER 2 YEARS. I BOUGHT IT USED FOR BUSINESS TRIPS MOSTLY. I DROVE IT FOR THE FIRST TIME ON A LONG DISTANCE BUSINESS TRIP AND 3 HOURS INTO TRIP IT STOPPED ACCELERATING OVER 70 MILES AN HOUR. THIS CONTINUEED THE ENTIRE WAY TO MY FINAL DESTINATION. NO LIGHTS CAME ON, NO SOUNDS OR SMELLS EITHER. ONCE I WAS IN TOWN DRIVING ON NORMAL ROADS IT WAS FINE AGAIN. THEN I DROVE IT BACK HOME, SAME THING HAPPENED BUT MORE EXTREME. I TOOK IT TO THE NISSAN DEALERSHIP IN BOULDER COLORADO. IN DOING SO I FOUND OUT THAT ALL NISSANS HAD A WARRENTY RECALL TO PUT IN A CVT COOLER PART. A FEATURE THAT ALL NISSANS NEED TO INSURE THE POSSIBILTY OF LONG DISTANCE TRAVEL WITHOUT THE TRANSMISSION OVER HEATING AND NOT ACCELERATING PROPERLY. THE DEALERSHIP THEN INFORMED ME THAT IT WOULD HAVE BEEN COVERED IF I HAD BROUGHT IT IN BEFORE IT WAS OVER 60,000 MILES. NOW THAT IT IS HOWEVR, IT IS MY RESPONSIBILITY TO PAY OVER $800 FOR A PART MY CAR SHOULD HAVE COME WITH. I CALLED NISSAN NOTH AMERICA TO FIND RESALUTION, THEY CLOSED THE CASE AND WILL NOT HELP ME. I FIND THIS EXTREMELY UNEXCEPTABLE AND DANGEROUS. AS A SINGLE 31 YR OLD WOMAN, I COULD HAVE BEEN STRANDED IN CORN FIELDS IN THE MIDDLE OF KANSAS IN THE DARK HAD MY TRANSMISSION FAILED UNEXPECTEDLY. I PURCHASED THIS CAR AT 40,000 MILES TWO YRS AGO, IT SHOULD HAVE HAD THAT PART PUT IN BEFORE IT LEFT THE LOT. I WILL NOT ACCEPT THIS AND AM HOPING TO FIND SOME SUPPORT IN GETTING NISSAN TO COVER PARTS AND LABOR FOR THIS ISSUE. PLEASE LET ME KNOW YOUR THOUGHTS AND HOW I SHOULD PROCEED FROM HERE. THANK YOU.

View Details

ENGINE

9/12/2015 - BOULDER, CO
I HAVE HAD MY CAR FOR JUST OVER 2 YEARS. I BOUGHT IT USED FOR BUSINESS TRIPS MOSTLY. I DROVE IT FOR THE FIRST TIME ON A LONG DISTANCE BUSINESS TRIP AND 3 HOURS INTO TRIP IT STOPPED ACCELERATING OVER 70 MILES AN HOUR. THIS CONTINUEED THE ENTIRE WAY TO MY FINAL DESTINATION. NO LIGHTS CAME ON, NO SOUNDS OR SMELLS EITHER. ONCE I WAS IN TOWN DRIVING ON NORMAL ROADS IT WAS FINE AGAIN. THEN I DROVE IT BACK HOME, SAME THING HAPPENED BUT MORE EXTREME. I TOOK IT TO THE NISSAN DEALERSHIP IN BOULDER COLORADO. IN DOING SO I FOUND OUT THAT ALL NISSANS HAD A WARRENTY RECALL TO PUT IN A CVT COOLER PART. A FEATURE THAT ALL NISSANS NEED TO INSURE THE POSSIBILTY OF LONG DISTANCE TRAVEL WITHOUT THE TRANSMISSION OVER HEATING AND NOT ACCELERATING PROPERLY. THE DEALERSHIP THEN INFORMED ME THAT IT WOULD HAVE BEEN COVERED IF I HAD BROUGHT IT IN BEFORE IT WAS OVER 60,000 MILES. NOW THAT IT IS HOWEVR, IT IS MY RESPONSIBILITY TO PAY OVER $800 FOR A PART MY CAR SHOULD HAVE COME WITH. I CALLED NISSAN NOTH AMERICA TO FIND RESALUTION, THEY CLOSED THE CASE AND WILL NOT HELP ME. I FIND THIS EXTREMELY UNEXCEPTABLE AND DANGEROUS. AS A SINGLE 31 YR OLD WOMAN, I COULD HAVE BEEN STRANDED IN CORN FIELDS IN THE MIDDLE OF KANSAS IN THE DARK HAD MY TRANSMISSION FAILED UNEXPECTEDLY. I PURCHASED THIS CAR AT 40,000 MILES TWO YRS AGO, IT SHOULD HAVE HAD THAT PART PUT IN BEFORE IT LEFT THE LOT. I WILL NOT ACCEPT THIS AND AM HOPING TO FIND SOME SUPPORT IN GETTING NISSAN TO COVER PARTS AND LABOR FOR THIS ISSUE. PLEASE LET ME KNOW YOUR THOUGHTS AND HOW I SHOULD PROCEED FROM HERE. THANK YOU.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/12/2015 - BOULDER, CO
I HAVE HAD MY CAR FOR JUST OVER 2 YEARS. I BOUGHT IT USED FOR BUSINESS TRIPS MOSTLY. I DROVE IT FOR THE FIRST TIME ON A LONG DISTANCE BUSINESS TRIP AND 3 HOURS INTO TRIP IT STOPPED ACCELERATING OVER 70 MILES AN HOUR. THIS CONTINUEED THE ENTIRE WAY TO MY FINAL DESTINATION. NO LIGHTS CAME ON, NO SOUNDS OR SMELLS EITHER. ONCE I WAS IN TOWN DRIVING ON NORMAL ROADS IT WAS FINE AGAIN. THEN I DROVE IT BACK HOME, SAME THING HAPPENED BUT MORE EXTREME. I TOOK IT TO THE NISSAN DEALERSHIP IN BOULDER COLORADO. IN DOING SO I FOUND OUT THAT ALL NISSANS HAD A WARRENTY RECALL TO PUT IN A CVT COOLER PART. A FEATURE THAT ALL NISSANS NEED TO INSURE THE POSSIBILTY OF LONG DISTANCE TRAVEL WITHOUT THE TRANSMISSION OVER HEATING AND NOT ACCELERATING PROPERLY. THE DEALERSHIP THEN INFORMED ME THAT IT WOULD HAVE BEEN COVERED IF I HAD BROUGHT IT IN BEFORE IT WAS OVER 60,000 MILES. NOW THAT IT IS HOWEVR, IT IS MY RESPONSIBILITY TO PAY OVER $800 FOR A PART MY CAR SHOULD HAVE COME WITH. I CALLED NISSAN NOTH AMERICA TO FIND RESALUTION, THEY CLOSED THE CASE AND WILL NOT HELP ME. I FIND THIS EXTREMELY UNEXCEPTABLE AND DANGEROUS. AS A SINGLE 31 YR OLD WOMAN, I COULD HAVE BEEN STRANDED IN CORN FIELDS IN THE MIDDLE OF KANSAS IN THE DARK HAD MY TRANSMISSION FAILED UNEXPECTEDLY. I PURCHASED THIS CAR AT 40,000 MILES TWO YRS AGO, IT SHOULD HAVE HAD THAT PART PUT IN BEFORE IT LEFT THE LOT. I WILL NOT ACCEPT THIS AND AM HOPING TO FIND SOME SUPPORT IN GETTING NISSAN TO COVER PARTS AND LABOR FOR THIS ISSUE. PLEASE LET ME KNOW YOUR THOUGHTS AND HOW I SHOULD PROCEED FROM HERE. THANK YOU.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/27/2015 - DOWELL, MD
WHEN COMING TO A COMPLETE STOP AND ACCELARATING LESS THAN 1/4 MILE AFTER STOPPING THE VEHICLE LOST POWER AND I HAD TO QUICKLY PULL TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. I TURNED THE VEHICLE OFF AFTER STOPPING AND TRIED TO START AGAIN, AND IT JUST TURNED OVER BUT WOULDN'T STAY STARTED. AFTER ABOUT 3 MINUTES I TURNED THE AC OFF AND TRIED TO START THE VEHICLE AGAIN AND IT STARTED. NOW I AM AFRAID THAT THIS WILL HAPPEN AGAIN AND I HAVE LOST CONFIDENCE IN IT'S SAFETY. MY USED CAR WARRANTY HAS EXPIRED AND I AM NOT ABLE TO HAVE THE CAR CHECKED. IT'S BEEN ABOUT A WEEK NOW AND I HAVE NOT HAD IT HAPPEN AGAIN. HOWEVER, NOW THE LOW TIRE PRESSURE LIGHT HAS COME ON AND I WILL HAVE TO HAVE THAT CHECKED. I HEARD THAT THESE PROBLEMS HAS HAPPENED OTHER 2012 NISSAN SENTRAS, BUT THERE IS NO RECALLED AS OF YET.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/14/2015 - FAYETVILLE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 NISSAN SENTRA. WHILE DRIVING AT 45 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 68,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds