Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA RAV4 - 2012 TOYOTA RAV4 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 210 complaints filed for the 2012 TOYOTA RAV4

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2012 TOYOTA RAV4. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2012 TOYOTA RAV4, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (18) Equipment (1) Seat Belts (28) Structure (11) Vehicle Speed Control (43)
Electrical System (24) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seats (3) Suspension (4) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Exterior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (27) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (46)
Engine (17) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Power Train (14) Steering (7) Unknown Or Other (16)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/11/2019 - ST PETERSBURG, FL
PURCHASE NEW OFF LOT. VEHICLE BARELY USED. 2012 ONLY HAS SLIGHTLY OVER 26,000 ORIGINAL MILES. KEPT COVERED WHEN NOT IN USE. PAINT IS JUST POPPING ON IN SEVERAL LOCATIONS RIGHT DOWN TO THE PRIMER LAYER. STARTED NEAR BACK WINDOW, THEN WHEEL WELL AREA, ROOF SPOTS. WE HAVE PUT TOUCH UP PAINT ON THE BACK WINDOW THINKING WE COULD SLOW THE PROCESS BUT IT KEEPS GETTING BIGGER. NO ONE SEEMS TO HAVE AN ANSWER OTHER THAN THERE ARE A LOT OF COMPLAINTS FOR THE SAME ISSUE. ALL WILLING TO GIVE ESTIMATES FOR ME TO PAY FOR IT. OBVIOUSLY IT IS A PROBLEM THAT TOYOTA SHOULD BE PAYING FOR!!!!! THIS VEHICLE WAS TO BE MY LAST ONE AT MY AGE. I NEED ANSWERS

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

7/7/2019 - BURNETTSVILLE, IN
2012 RAV4 - FOR NO APPARENT REASON MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, TRAC OFF LIGHT AND 4X4 LIGHT HAVE BEEN COMING ON FOR A FEW DAYS, THEN OFF, THEN ON, ETC. WE GOT A CODE OF P0607, BUT THE CAR IS SHOWING NO SYMPTOMS ASSOCIATED WITH THAT CODE ERROR. THE VEHICLE IS DRIVING FINE. I HAVE CHECKED THE BATTERY CONNECTION AND THE GAS CAP. BASED ON A LARGE NUMBER OF ONLINE COMPLAINTS, I WOULD ASK THAT NHTSA SERIOUSLY LOOK INTO THIS ISSUE AND STRONGLY CONSIDER A RECALL THAT WILL ACTUALLY FIX THE PROBLEM FOR OWNERS. THERE HAVE BEEN A NUMBER WHO HAVE TAKEN THE VEHICLE IN FOR REPAIR, ONLY TO HAVE THE LIGHTS BACK ON A FEW DAYS LATER. PLEASE HOLD TOYOTA ACCOUNTABLE FOR THIS.

View Details

ENGINE

7/7/2019 - BURNETTSVILLE, IN
2012 RAV4 - FOR NO APPARENT REASON MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, TRAC OFF LIGHT AND 4X4 LIGHT HAVE BEEN COMING ON FOR A FEW DAYS, THEN OFF, THEN ON, ETC. WE GOT A CODE OF P0607, BUT THE CAR IS SHOWING NO SYMPTOMS ASSOCIATED WITH THAT CODE ERROR. THE VEHICLE IS DRIVING FINE. I HAVE CHECKED THE BATTERY CONNECTION AND THE GAS CAP. BASED ON A LARGE NUMBER OF ONLINE COMPLAINTS, I WOULD ASK THAT NHTSA SERIOUSLY LOOK INTO THIS ISSUE AND STRONGLY CONSIDER A RECALL THAT WILL ACTUALLY FIX THE PROBLEM FOR OWNERS. THERE HAVE BEEN A NUMBER WHO HAVE TAKEN THE VEHICLE IN FOR REPAIR, ONLY TO HAVE THE LIGHTS BACK ON A FEW DAYS LATER. PLEASE HOLD TOYOTA ACCOUNTABLE FOR THIS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/7/2019 - BURNETTSVILLE, IN
2012 RAV4 - FOR NO APPARENT REASON MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, TRAC OFF LIGHT AND 4X4 LIGHT HAVE BEEN COMING ON FOR A FEW DAYS, THEN OFF, THEN ON, ETC. WE GOT A CODE OF P0607, BUT THE CAR IS SHOWING NO SYMPTOMS ASSOCIATED WITH THAT CODE ERROR. THE VEHICLE IS DRIVING FINE. I HAVE CHECKED THE BATTERY CONNECTION AND THE GAS CAP. BASED ON A LARGE NUMBER OF ONLINE COMPLAINTS, I WOULD ASK THAT NHTSA SERIOUSLY LOOK INTO THIS ISSUE AND STRONGLY CONSIDER A RECALL THAT WILL ACTUALLY FIX THE PROBLEM FOR OWNERS. THERE HAVE BEEN A NUMBER WHO HAVE TAKEN THE VEHICLE IN FOR REPAIR, ONLY TO HAVE THE LIGHTS BACK ON A FEW DAYS LATER. PLEASE HOLD TOYOTA ACCOUNTABLE FOR THIS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/3/2019 - HENDERSONVILLE, TN
MY 2012 TOYOTA RAV4 DRIVER SIDE VISOR STARTED FALLING DOWN ABOUT 6 MONTHS AGO, LATER WOULD FALL DOWN AND WOULDN+T GO BACK UP AND STAY. THEN IS WAS VERY LOOSE. I WOULD MOVE IT TO THE SIDE BECAUSE I COULDN+T SEE TO DRIVE. THIS LAST TIME I TRIED TO MOVE IT TO THE SIDE IT COMPLETELY FELL OFF. MY PASSENGER SIDE IS DOING IT AS WELL AND MAKING IT HARD FOR THE PASSENGERS TO SEE AND EVEN MYSELF BECAUSE IT+S CONSTANTLY BLOCKING MY VIEW OF THAT SIDE. I+M VERY AGGRAVATED BECAUSE I CALLED CUSTOMER CARE AND THEY WILL NOT DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS SAFETY HAZARD. I+M VERY DISAPPOINTED IN TOYOTA! MY VEHICLE WASN+T CHEAP BUT APPARENTLY THE PARTS THEY PUT IN THEM ARE. I AM INCLUDING THE FIRST PICTURE OF ME AT A 4WAY RED LIGHT TO SHOW MY VIEW DRIVING AND AT A RED LIGHT, I CAN+T SEE AND HAVE TO BEND DOWN TO DO SO. ALSO THE LIGHT NO LONGER WORKS ON THE DRIVER SIDE MIRROR BECAUSE OF THIS DEFECT. I ALSO INCLUDED PICTURES OF THE FABRIC BUBBLING OFF. MY VEHICLE WAS GARBAGE KEPT FOR 6 YEARS AND FOR THE LAST YEAR OR SO IT+S BEEN OUTSIDE. ALSO, MY WIPERS POP AND GET STUCK WHEN TRYING TO USE THEM. EVEN IF IT+S RAINING OR JUST CLEANING MY WINDSHIELD OFF. THEY WILL GO AND THEN IT+S LIKE IT CAN+T AND GETS STUCK BUT IT LITERALLY WILL MAKE A POP SOUND AND BOUNCE WHEN TRYING TO USE THEM. IT SOUNDS RIDICULOUS AND EVERYONE COMPLAINS ABOUT THEM WHEN RIDING WITH ME. I+M SO FRUSTRATED WITH IT. THEY HAVE DONE IT THE WHOLE TIME I+VE OWNED IT AND I+M THE ONLY OWNER OF IT.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

7/3/2019 - HENDERSONVILLE, TN
MY 2012 TOYOTA RAV4 DRIVER SIDE VISOR STARTED FALLING DOWN ABOUT 6 MONTHS AGO, LATER WOULD FALL DOWN AND WOULDN+T GO BACK UP AND STAY. THEN IS WAS VERY LOOSE. I WOULD MOVE IT TO THE SIDE BECAUSE I COULDN+T SEE TO DRIVE. THIS LAST TIME I TRIED TO MOVE IT TO THE SIDE IT COMPLETELY FELL OFF. MY PASSENGER SIDE IS DOING IT AS WELL AND MAKING IT HARD FOR THE PASSENGERS TO SEE AND EVEN MYSELF BECAUSE IT+S CONSTANTLY BLOCKING MY VIEW OF THAT SIDE. I+M VERY AGGRAVATED BECAUSE I CALLED CUSTOMER CARE AND THEY WILL NOT DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS SAFETY HAZARD. I+M VERY DISAPPOINTED IN TOYOTA! MY VEHICLE WASN+T CHEAP BUT APPARENTLY THE PARTS THEY PUT IN THEM ARE. I AM INCLUDING THE FIRST PICTURE OF ME AT A 4WAY RED LIGHT TO SHOW MY VIEW DRIVING AND AT A RED LIGHT, I CAN+T SEE AND HAVE TO BEND DOWN TO DO SO. ALSO THE LIGHT NO LONGER WORKS ON THE DRIVER SIDE MIRROR BECAUSE OF THIS DEFECT. I ALSO INCLUDED PICTURES OF THE FABRIC BUBBLING OFF. MY VEHICLE WAS GARBAGE KEPT FOR 6 YEARS AND FOR THE LAST YEAR OR SO IT+S BEEN OUTSIDE. ALSO, MY WIPERS POP AND GET STUCK WHEN TRYING TO USE THEM. EVEN IF IT+S RAINING OR JUST CLEANING MY WINDSHIELD OFF. THEY WILL GO AND THEN IT+S LIKE IT CAN+T AND GETS STUCK BUT IT LITERALLY WILL MAKE A POP SOUND AND BOUNCE WHEN TRYING TO USE THEM. IT SOUNDS RIDICULOUS AND EVERYONE COMPLAINS ABOUT THEM WHEN RIDING WITH ME. I+M SO FRUSTRATED WITH IT. THEY HAVE DONE IT THE WHOLE TIME I+VE OWNED IT AND I+M THE ONLY OWNER OF IT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/21/2019 - PATCHOGUE, NY
FOUR-WHEEL DRIVE, TRACTION STABILITY, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ALL WENT ON AND WILL NOT SHUT OFF. DRIVING IN 4-WHEEL DRIVE PUT STRAIN ON ENGINE. PLUS THERE ARE MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS SITUATION. $545 FOR SERVICE IS COST FOR COMMON TO THIS CAR ISSUE. SEE FORUM LINK: HTTPS://WWW.GOOGLE.COM/AMP/S/WWW.RAV4WORLD.COM/FORUMS/96-4-3-GENERAL/196945-4WD-STUCK.HTML%3FAMP=1

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

5/21/2019 - PATCHOGUE, NY
FOUR-WHEEL DRIVE, TRACTION STABILITY, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ALL WENT ON AND WILL NOT SHUT OFF. DRIVING IN 4-WHEEL DRIVE PUT STRAIN ON ENGINE. PLUS THERE ARE MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS SITUATION. $545 FOR SERVICE IS COST FOR COMMON TO THIS CAR ISSUE. SEE FORUM LINK: HTTPS://WWW.GOOGLE.COM/AMP/S/WWW.RAV4WORLD.COM/FORUMS/96-4-3-GENERAL/196945-4WD-STUCK.HTML%3FAMP=1

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/21/2019 - PATCHOGUE, NY
FOUR-WHEEL DRIVE, TRACTION STABILITY, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ALL WENT ON AND WILL NOT SHUT OFF. DRIVING IN 4-WHEEL DRIVE PUT STRAIN ON ENGINE. PLUS THERE ARE MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS SITUATION. $545 FOR SERVICE IS COST FOR COMMON TO THIS CAR ISSUE. SEE FORUM LINK: HTTPS://WWW.GOOGLE.COM/AMP/S/WWW.RAV4WORLD.COM/FORUMS/96-4-3-GENERAL/196945-4WD-STUCK.HTML%3FAMP=1

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

4/3/2019 - FAYETTE CITY, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2012 TOYOTA RAV4. WHILE OPERATING THE VEHICLE, THE DRIVER'S SIDE SUN VISOR WOULD NOT REMAIN SECURED AND FELL DOWN, WHICH WAS A VISIBILITY HAZARD FOR THE DRIVER. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO MIKE KELLY TOYOTA (1 MARY JANE WOOD DR, UNION TOWN, PA) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE VISOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 98,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds