Auto Recalls for Consumers

BUICK VERANO - 2013 BUICK VERANO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 40 complaints filed for the 2013 BUICK VERANO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 BUICK VERANO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 BUICK VERANO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Electronic Stability Control (2) Power Train (3) Structure (3) Unknown Or Other (4)
Communications (1) Engine (12) Seat Belts (2) Suspension (1) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electrical System (5) Equipment Adaptive (1) Steering (7) Tires (6) Wheels (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  ... 5
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/11/2016 - BAY VILLAGE, OH
THE CAR ONLY HAS 20,000 MILES ON IT. I WENT TO THE GROCERY AND DRUG STORE WHICH IS ONLY 4 MILES FROM MY HOME. I PULLED INTO THE GARAGE AND NOTICED THE FAN WAS RUNNING (ENGINE FAN) HARD. BUT ASSUMED IT WAS NORMAL FOR ANY CAR TO COOL DOWN THE ENGINE. I WENT IN THE HOUSE AND THE FAN HAD STOPPED ON THE CAR. I HAD TO GO BACK INTO THE GARAGE ABOUT 10 MINUTES LATER AND THE CAR FAN WAS ON AGAIN! A BLOWING FULL BLAST. I OPENED THE DOOR OF THE CAR, LOOKED AT THE DASH, SAW MY FAN FOR THE AIR IN THE CAR WAS AT THE HIGHEST LEVEL, TURNED THAT DOWN BUT THE CAR FAN OUTSIDE CONTINUED TO RUN. I RAN INTO THE HOUSE, GOT MY KEYS AND LOCKED THE CAR WHICH TURNED OFF THE ENGINE FAN. MY CONCERN IS THAT IF THIS HAPPENED AND CONTINUED TO RUN, MY HOUSE IS AN ATTACHED GARAGE, IT COULD EASILY HAVE STARTED A FIRE. I HAVE CALLED GM AND I AM WAITING ON A CALL BACK BUT I CONCERNED NOT ONLY FOR MY WELFARE BUT EVERYONE. I HAVE NEVER SEEN A CAR DO THIS. I DO NOT HAVE ON STAR NOR SIRRUS ACTIVATED SO IT ISN'T LIKE SOMEONE COULD HAVE DONE SOMETHING REMOTELY.

View Details

ENGINE

3/11/2016 - BAY VILLAGE, OH
THE CAR ONLY HAS 20,000 MILES ON IT. I WENT TO THE GROCERY AND DRUG STORE WHICH IS ONLY 4 MILES FROM MY HOME. I PULLED INTO THE GARAGE AND NOTICED THE FAN WAS RUNNING (ENGINE FAN) HARD. BUT ASSUMED IT WAS NORMAL FOR ANY CAR TO COOL DOWN THE ENGINE. I WENT IN THE HOUSE AND THE FAN HAD STOPPED ON THE CAR. I HAD TO GO BACK INTO THE GARAGE ABOUT 10 MINUTES LATER AND THE CAR FAN WAS ON AGAIN! A BLOWING FULL BLAST. I OPENED THE DOOR OF THE CAR, LOOKED AT THE DASH, SAW MY FAN FOR THE AIR IN THE CAR WAS AT THE HIGHEST LEVEL, TURNED THAT DOWN BUT THE CAR FAN OUTSIDE CONTINUED TO RUN. I RAN INTO THE HOUSE, GOT MY KEYS AND LOCKED THE CAR WHICH TURNED OFF THE ENGINE FAN. MY CONCERN IS THAT IF THIS HAPPENED AND CONTINUED TO RUN, MY HOUSE IS AN ATTACHED GARAGE, IT COULD EASILY HAVE STARTED A FIRE. I HAVE CALLED GM AND I AM WAITING ON A CALL BACK BUT I CONCERNED NOT ONLY FOR MY WELFARE BUT EVERYONE. I HAVE NEVER SEEN A CAR DO THIS. I DO NOT HAVE ON STAR NOR SIRRUS ACTIVATED SO IT ISN'T LIKE SOMEONE COULD HAVE DONE SOMETHING REMOTELY.

View Details

STRUCTURE

9/14/2015 - WESTMINSTER, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 BUICK VERANO. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH AND ATTEMPTING TO ADJUST THE AIR CONDITIONER, THE PUSH BUTTON START SWITCH WAS DEPRESSED UNINTENTIONALLY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TWO FUNCTION BUTTONS WERE TOO CLOSE TO EACH OTHER AND COULD RESULT IN A CRASH. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 11,200.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/31/2015 - COHOCTON, NY
THE HEAT/AIR SYSTEM IS NOT WORKING CORRECTLY. I BELIEVE THIS IS A SAFETY HAZARD BECAUSE IN THE WINTER MONTHS, IF I WERE TO GET CAUGHT IN MY CAR FOR SOME REASON, I WOULD HAVE NO HEAT TO KEEP ME WARM AND IT CAN GET VERY COLD HERE IN NYS. I WILL HAVE IT FIXED MYSELF, BUT IT SHOULDN'T BE SOMETHING I SHOULD HAVE TO DEAL WITH. IF I GOT CAUGHT IN A TRAFFIC JAM ON ONE OF THE HOT DAYS, I WOULDN'T BE ABLE TO USE THE AIR CONDITIONING. SOMETIMES IT WORKS AND SOMETIMES IS DOESN'T. THERE HAS BEEN SOMETHING WRONG SINCE I FIRST PURCHASED IT, BUT I NEVER BROUGHT IT IN. WHEN I PUT THE DEFOGGER ON, IT WOULD BLOW COLD AIR NO MATTER HOW HIGH I HAD THE HEAT. NOW, IT DOESN'T EVEN BLOW MOST OF THE TIME. I HAVE NO AIR AND NO HEAT IN THE VEHICLE AT ALL MOST OF THE TIME. WHEN IT DOES WORK IT IS VERY LOUD.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/3/2015 - MACCLENNY, FL
A/C WOULD NOT ENGAGE, BLEW ONLY HOT AIR (HOTTER THAN OUTSIDE AIR), FOR ABOUT 15 MINUTES. WHILE PARKED I SWITCHED SYSTEM ON/OFF SEVERAL TIME, ADJUSTED TEMPRATURE CONTROL UP/DOWN, AND RESTARTED THE VEHICLE SEVERAL TIME TO NO AVAIL. A/C ENGAGED AFTER DRIVING A COUPLE MILES (~FIVE MINUTES). THE OUTSIDE TEMPRATURE WAS 95DEG AND THE CAR HAD BEEN PARKED FOR SEVERAL DAYS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/3/2015 - MACCLENNY, FL
REVERSE LOOKING CAMERA WENT BLACK WHILE BACKING UP. THE OUTSIDE TEMPRATURE WAS 95DEG AND THE CAR HAD BEEN PARKED FOR SEVERAL DAYS.

View Details

WHEELS

7/17/2015 - ROCKY RIVER, OH
BOUGHT TRADE IN FROM CENTRAL CADILLAC IN CLEVELAND, OHIO. YES, TWO YEAR OLD CAR WITH 6500 MILES? CONTINENTAL TIRE BLEW OUT, REAR PASSENGER SIDE COST $220.00 FOR REPLACEMENT TIRE. HAD PLANNED TO TAKE CAR ON VACATION BUT AFTER ALL LISTED COMPLAINTS I AM EXTREMELY CONCERNED FOR PASSENGER SAFETY WITH THESE TIRES. I AM A RETIRED LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICER SO PLEASE BEWARE!

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

6/29/2015 - SANBORN, NY
I TURNED MY CAR ON, AND GOT A LIST OF "SERVICE NOW" INDICATORS,INCLUDING SERVICE AIRBAG. I HAD NO GAUGES, SPEEDOMETER, RADIO. I BROUGHT MY CAR TO THE DEALER 6/29/2015, A REAR SIDE SENSOR HAD GOTTEN WET AND SHORTED OUT A FUSE. THIS IS A KNOWN MANUFACTURING SAFETY DEFECT, BUT SINCE I'M 3000 MILES PAST WARRANTY THEY ARE GOING TO CHARGE ME $1300.00 TO REPAIR.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/29/2015 - SANBORN, NY
I TURNED MY CAR ON, AND GOT A LIST OF "SERVICE NOW" INDICATORS,INCLUDING SERVICE AIRBAG. I HAD NO GAUGES, SPEEDOMETER, RADIO. I BROUGHT MY CAR TO THE DEALER 6/29/2015, A REAR SIDE SENSOR HAD GOTTEN WET AND SHORTED OUT A FUSE. THIS IS A KNOWN MANUFACTURING SAFETY DEFECT, BUT SINCE I'M 3000 MILES PAST WARRANTY THEY ARE GOING TO CHARGE ME $1300.00 TO REPAIR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/18/2015 - MURRAY, UT
2013 BUICK VERANO, VIN [XXX]. ORIGINALLY PURCHASED IN MINNESOTA. HAVE HAD MULTIPLE PROBLEMS. FIRST, CAR WAS "HARD-SHIFTING" LIKE IT WAS HAVING A REALLY HARD TIME LOCATING THE NEXT GEAR TO SHIFT INTO. THE HARD SHIFT OCCURS BETWEEN 15-25 MPH, AND AGAIN BETWEEN 50-60 MPH. IT IS CAUSING THE CAR TO ACCELERATE AND ACT VERY SLUGGISHLY. HAVE NOT HAD A SINGLE PROBLEM WITH THIS CAR UNTIL A LONG ROAD TRIP RELOCATING TO UTAH IN MARCH 2015 THAT LED UP TO ALL THESE NEW PROBLEMS. DEALER SAYS DIAGNOSTIC SHOWS NOTHING WRONG, BUT WHEN TEST DRIVING, CAN FEEL AND HEAR THE HARD SHIFT. ATTEMPTED TO FIX. PROBLEMS WENT AWAY FOR 2 MONTHS AND THEN RETURNED IN LATE MAY / EARLY JUNE 2015. SECOND, WHEN A/C IS ON FULL BLAST INSIDE CAR AND WE USE REMOTE START TO START THE CAR, THE CAR IDLES FINE FOR 10 SECONDS. THEN AS SOON AS THE A/C SYSTEM KICKS ON IN THE CAR, THE ENGINE REV'S UP FROM 800 RPM'S (NORMAL IDLE) TO ABOUT 1,500 RPM'S AND THE ENGINE IS VERY LOUD. THE DEALER STATES "DIAGNOSTIC COMPUTER SAYS NOTHING IS WRONG." WE CAN HEAR HOW LOUD IT IS, AND THOSE ARE THE COOLING FANS, BUT IT'S SUPPOSED TO COME BACK DOWN TO NORMAL IDLE AFTER A FEW MINUTES. WE CAN HAVE THE CAR IDLING FOR 10+ MINUTES AND IT DOES NOT REDUCE IN NOISE VOLUME OR RPM LEVEL. IT CONTINUES TO IDLE VERY HIGH RPM'S AND DOES NOT SOUND LIKE ANY OTHER BUICK ON THE GM DEALERSHIP LOT. DEALER MECHANIC'S CAN HEAR THERE IS A PROBLEM BUT REFUSE TO FIX IT BECAUSE THEIR STUPID COMPUTERS DON'T SAY ANYTHING IS WRONG. SO NOW WE ARE EXPERIENCING 2 ISSUES - THE LOUD REV RPM NOISE IN IDLE WHICH IS MAKING THE ENGINE VERY LABORED SOUNDING, AND THE HARD-SHIFTING PROBLEM THAT STILL HASN'T GONE AWAY. THERE HAS TO BE SOMETHING WRONG WITH THIS VEHICLE'S TRANSMISSION, POWER TRAIN, OR COOLING SYSTEM BUT OF COURSE GM WON'T FIX IT OR RECALL IT. I CAN'T EVEN FIND A RECALL LIST NEWER THAN 12/31/14.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds