Auto Recalls for Consumers

BUICK VERANO - 2013 BUICK VERANO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 39 complaints filed for the 2013 BUICK VERANO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 BUICK VERANO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 BUICK VERANO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Electronic Stability Control (2) Power Train (3) Structure (3) Unknown Or Other (4)
Communications (1) Engine (11) Seat Belts (2) Suspension (1) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electrical System (5) Equipment Adaptive (1) Steering (7) Tires (5) Wheels (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  ... 5
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE

9/14/2015 - WESTMINSTER, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 BUICK VERANO. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH AND ATTEMPTING TO ADJUST THE AIR CONDITIONER, THE PUSH BUTTON START SWITCH WAS DEPRESSED UNINTENTIONALLY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TWO FUNCTION BUTTONS WERE TOO CLOSE TO EACH OTHER AND COULD RESULT IN A CRASH. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 11,200.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/31/2015 - COHOCTON, NY
THE HEAT/AIR SYSTEM IS NOT WORKING CORRECTLY. I BELIEVE THIS IS A SAFETY HAZARD BECAUSE IN THE WINTER MONTHS, IF I WERE TO GET CAUGHT IN MY CAR FOR SOME REASON, I WOULD HAVE NO HEAT TO KEEP ME WARM AND IT CAN GET VERY COLD HERE IN NYS. I WILL HAVE IT FIXED MYSELF, BUT IT SHOULDN'T BE SOMETHING I SHOULD HAVE TO DEAL WITH. IF I GOT CAUGHT IN A TRAFFIC JAM ON ONE OF THE HOT DAYS, I WOULDN'T BE ABLE TO USE THE AIR CONDITIONING. SOMETIMES IT WORKS AND SOMETIMES IS DOESN'T. THERE HAS BEEN SOMETHING WRONG SINCE I FIRST PURCHASED IT, BUT I NEVER BROUGHT IT IN. WHEN I PUT THE DEFOGGER ON, IT WOULD BLOW COLD AIR NO MATTER HOW HIGH I HAD THE HEAT. NOW, IT DOESN'T EVEN BLOW MOST OF THE TIME. I HAVE NO AIR AND NO HEAT IN THE VEHICLE AT ALL MOST OF THE TIME. WHEN IT DOES WORK IT IS VERY LOUD.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/3/2015 - MACCLENNY, FL
A/C WOULD NOT ENGAGE, BLEW ONLY HOT AIR (HOTTER THAN OUTSIDE AIR), FOR ABOUT 15 MINUTES. WHILE PARKED I SWITCHED SYSTEM ON/OFF SEVERAL TIME, ADJUSTED TEMPRATURE CONTROL UP/DOWN, AND RESTARTED THE VEHICLE SEVERAL TIME TO NO AVAIL. A/C ENGAGED AFTER DRIVING A COUPLE MILES (~FIVE MINUTES). THE OUTSIDE TEMPRATURE WAS 95DEG AND THE CAR HAD BEEN PARKED FOR SEVERAL DAYS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/3/2015 - MACCLENNY, FL
REVERSE LOOKING CAMERA WENT BLACK WHILE BACKING UP. THE OUTSIDE TEMPRATURE WAS 95DEG AND THE CAR HAD BEEN PARKED FOR SEVERAL DAYS.

View Details

WHEELS

7/17/2015 - ROCKY RIVER, OH
BOUGHT TRADE IN FROM CENTRAL CADILLAC IN CLEVELAND, OHIO. YES, TWO YEAR OLD CAR WITH 6500 MILES? CONTINENTAL TIRE BLEW OUT, REAR PASSENGER SIDE COST $220.00 FOR REPLACEMENT TIRE. HAD PLANNED TO TAKE CAR ON VACATION BUT AFTER ALL LISTED COMPLAINTS I AM EXTREMELY CONCERNED FOR PASSENGER SAFETY WITH THESE TIRES. I AM A RETIRED LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICER SO PLEASE BEWARE!

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/29/2015 - SANBORN, NY
I TURNED MY CAR ON, AND GOT A LIST OF "SERVICE NOW" INDICATORS,INCLUDING SERVICE AIRBAG. I HAD NO GAUGES, SPEEDOMETER, RADIO. I BROUGHT MY CAR TO THE DEALER 6/29/2015, A REAR SIDE SENSOR HAD GOTTEN WET AND SHORTED OUT A FUSE. THIS IS A KNOWN MANUFACTURING SAFETY DEFECT, BUT SINCE I'M 3000 MILES PAST WARRANTY THEY ARE GOING TO CHARGE ME $1300.00 TO REPAIR.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

6/29/2015 - SANBORN, NY
I TURNED MY CAR ON, AND GOT A LIST OF "SERVICE NOW" INDICATORS,INCLUDING SERVICE AIRBAG. I HAD NO GAUGES, SPEEDOMETER, RADIO. I BROUGHT MY CAR TO THE DEALER 6/29/2015, A REAR SIDE SENSOR HAD GOTTEN WET AND SHORTED OUT A FUSE. THIS IS A KNOWN MANUFACTURING SAFETY DEFECT, BUT SINCE I'M 3000 MILES PAST WARRANTY THEY ARE GOING TO CHARGE ME $1300.00 TO REPAIR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/18/2015 - MURRAY, UT
2013 BUICK VERANO, VIN [XXX]. ORIGINALLY PURCHASED IN MINNESOTA. HAVE HAD MULTIPLE PROBLEMS. FIRST, CAR WAS "HARD-SHIFTING" LIKE IT WAS HAVING A REALLY HARD TIME LOCATING THE NEXT GEAR TO SHIFT INTO. THE HARD SHIFT OCCURS BETWEEN 15-25 MPH, AND AGAIN BETWEEN 50-60 MPH. IT IS CAUSING THE CAR TO ACCELERATE AND ACT VERY SLUGGISHLY. HAVE NOT HAD A SINGLE PROBLEM WITH THIS CAR UNTIL A LONG ROAD TRIP RELOCATING TO UTAH IN MARCH 2015 THAT LED UP TO ALL THESE NEW PROBLEMS. DEALER SAYS DIAGNOSTIC SHOWS NOTHING WRONG, BUT WHEN TEST DRIVING, CAN FEEL AND HEAR THE HARD SHIFT. ATTEMPTED TO FIX. PROBLEMS WENT AWAY FOR 2 MONTHS AND THEN RETURNED IN LATE MAY / EARLY JUNE 2015. SECOND, WHEN A/C IS ON FULL BLAST INSIDE CAR AND WE USE REMOTE START TO START THE CAR, THE CAR IDLES FINE FOR 10 SECONDS. THEN AS SOON AS THE A/C SYSTEM KICKS ON IN THE CAR, THE ENGINE REV'S UP FROM 800 RPM'S (NORMAL IDLE) TO ABOUT 1,500 RPM'S AND THE ENGINE IS VERY LOUD. THE DEALER STATES "DIAGNOSTIC COMPUTER SAYS NOTHING IS WRONG." WE CAN HEAR HOW LOUD IT IS, AND THOSE ARE THE COOLING FANS, BUT IT'S SUPPOSED TO COME BACK DOWN TO NORMAL IDLE AFTER A FEW MINUTES. WE CAN HAVE THE CAR IDLING FOR 10+ MINUTES AND IT DOES NOT REDUCE IN NOISE VOLUME OR RPM LEVEL. IT CONTINUES TO IDLE VERY HIGH RPM'S AND DOES NOT SOUND LIKE ANY OTHER BUICK ON THE GM DEALERSHIP LOT. DEALER MECHANIC'S CAN HEAR THERE IS A PROBLEM BUT REFUSE TO FIX IT BECAUSE THEIR STUPID COMPUTERS DON'T SAY ANYTHING IS WRONG. SO NOW WE ARE EXPERIENCING 2 ISSUES - THE LOUD REV RPM NOISE IN IDLE WHICH IS MAKING THE ENGINE VERY LABORED SOUNDING, AND THE HARD-SHIFTING PROBLEM THAT STILL HASN'T GONE AWAY. THERE HAS TO BE SOMETHING WRONG WITH THIS VEHICLE'S TRANSMISSION, POWER TRAIN, OR COOLING SYSTEM BUT OF COURSE GM WON'T FIX IT OR RECALL IT. I CAN'T EVEN FIND A RECALL LIST NEWER THAN 12/31/14.

View Details

ENGINE

6/18/2015 - MURRAY, UT
2013 BUICK VERANO, VIN [XXX]. ORIGINALLY PURCHASED IN MINNESOTA. HAVE HAD MULTIPLE PROBLEMS. FIRST, CAR WAS "HARD-SHIFTING" LIKE IT WAS HAVING A REALLY HARD TIME LOCATING THE NEXT GEAR TO SHIFT INTO. THE HARD SHIFT OCCURS BETWEEN 15-25 MPH, AND AGAIN BETWEEN 50-60 MPH. IT IS CAUSING THE CAR TO ACCELERATE AND ACT VERY SLUGGISHLY. HAVE NOT HAD A SINGLE PROBLEM WITH THIS CAR UNTIL A LONG ROAD TRIP RELOCATING TO UTAH IN MARCH 2015 THAT LED UP TO ALL THESE NEW PROBLEMS. DEALER SAYS DIAGNOSTIC SHOWS NOTHING WRONG, BUT WHEN TEST DRIVING, CAN FEEL AND HEAR THE HARD SHIFT. ATTEMPTED TO FIX. PROBLEMS WENT AWAY FOR 2 MONTHS AND THEN RETURNED IN LATE MAY / EARLY JUNE 2015. SECOND, WHEN A/C IS ON FULL BLAST INSIDE CAR AND WE USE REMOTE START TO START THE CAR, THE CAR IDLES FINE FOR 10 SECONDS. THEN AS SOON AS THE A/C SYSTEM KICKS ON IN THE CAR, THE ENGINE REV'S UP FROM 800 RPM'S (NORMAL IDLE) TO ABOUT 1,500 RPM'S AND THE ENGINE IS VERY LOUD. THE DEALER STATES "DIAGNOSTIC COMPUTER SAYS NOTHING IS WRONG." WE CAN HEAR HOW LOUD IT IS, AND THOSE ARE THE COOLING FANS, BUT IT'S SUPPOSED TO COME BACK DOWN TO NORMAL IDLE AFTER A FEW MINUTES. WE CAN HAVE THE CAR IDLING FOR 10+ MINUTES AND IT DOES NOT REDUCE IN NOISE VOLUME OR RPM LEVEL. IT CONTINUES TO IDLE VERY HIGH RPM'S AND DOES NOT SOUND LIKE ANY OTHER BUICK ON THE GM DEALERSHIP LOT. DEALER MECHANIC'S CAN HEAR THERE IS A PROBLEM BUT REFUSE TO FIX IT BECAUSE THEIR STUPID COMPUTERS DON'T SAY ANYTHING IS WRONG. SO NOW WE ARE EXPERIENCING 2 ISSUES - THE LOUD REV RPM NOISE IN IDLE WHICH IS MAKING THE ENGINE VERY LABORED SOUNDING, AND THE HARD-SHIFTING PROBLEM THAT STILL HASN'T GONE AWAY. THERE HAS TO BE SOMETHING WRONG WITH THIS VEHICLE'S TRANSMISSION, POWER TRAIN, OR COOLING SYSTEM BUT OF COURSE GM WON'T FIX IT OR RECALL IT. I CAN'T EVEN FIND A RECALL LIST NEWER THAN 12/31/14.

View Details

ENGINE

5/10/2015 - KENDALLVILLE, IN
STEERING)- THE STEERING WHEEL SEEMS TO "STICK" AT SPEEDS FROM 40 MPH AND UPWARDS TO 80 MPH. STEERING SEEMS TO HAVE FLUID, NON-CATCHING MOTION WHILE DRIVING SHORT DISTANCES, HOWEVER, AFTER DRIVING LONG DISTANCES, OR MORE OFTEN THAN USUAL THROUGHOUT THE DAY, THE WHEEL SEEMS TO STICK, AND TAKES MORE EFFORT THAN USUAL TO STEER IN THE INTENDED DIRECTION. VEHICLE STAYS STRAIGHT FOR AWHILE, BUT VEERS OFF LIKE NORMAL, BUT TO STEER VEHICLE TO REMAIN IN LANE IS WHEN THE STICKING OCCURS MOSTLY. ISSUE MAY INTERTWINE WITH NEXT INCIDENT INVOLVING THE FRONT RIGHT AXLE SEAL. OTHER)- 5/19/2014, MILEAGE 25727 - TOOK VEHICLE TO A DEALERSHIP WHO STATED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER AXLE SEAL IS LEAKING AND RECOMMENDED TAKING TO NEAREST GM DEALERSHIP FOR WARRANTY REPAIR. GM DEALERSHIP STATED THAT THE AXLE SEAL WASN'T LEAKING, BUT WAS JUST "WET." RETURNED TO FIRST DEALERSHIP A FEW MONTHS LATER WHO STATED THE SAME AXLE SEAL LEAKING ISSUE, GM DEALERSHIP STATED THE AXLE SEAL WAS WET. I FEAR THAT THE FAILURE TO ACKNOWLEDGE, AND REPAIR, THE LEAKING AXLE SEAL COULD BE A RESULT OF THE STEERING WHEEL STICKING. FAILURE TO REPAIR COULD ALSO LEAD TO PART MALFUNCTION/FAILURE WHICH COULD LEAD TO VEHICLE CRASHING. ENGINE) - ENGINE SEEMS TO ALWAYS RUN LOUD, LIKE THE FAN IS ON HIGH FOR CLIMATE CONTROL, EVEN WHEN CLIMATE CONTROL IS OFF. GM DEALERSHIP STATED IT WAS A FAN TO COOL THE ENGINE DOWN, AND RUNS WHEN CAR IS DRIVEN FOR A LONG PERIOD OF TIME. I HEAR IT ALL THE TIME, AND THE VEHICLE SEEMS TO BE HOTTER THAN WHAT WOULD BE EXPECTED TO BE COMING FROM THAT AREA. UNCOMFORTABLE HEAT IS HOW I WOULD DESCRIBE IT. ENGINE ALWAYS RUNS LOUD CURRENTLY AT 48,000 MILES, REGARDLESS OF DRIVING PERIOD. FIRE DANGER COULD BE A RISK.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds