Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 199 complaints filed for the 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Seat Belts (3) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (2) Suspension (2) Visibility (13)
Electrical System (30) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Service Brakes (7) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (100)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (12) Wheels (2)
Engine (23) Power Train (16) Steering (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY/WIPER

3/24/2017 - OXFORD, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V582000 (VISIBILITY) HOWEVER, THE PART FOR THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED ANY FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS REMEDY NOT YET AVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

3/20/2017 - TRENTON, OH
OIL CONSUMPTION ISSUE A QUART OF OIL HAS TO BE ADDED TO THE CAR ONCE A WEEK ACCORDING TO A CHEVROLET SERVICE BULLETIN, THE MOST COMMON CAUSE IS STUCK OIL CONTROL RINGS. GENERALLY THE STUCK OIL CONTROL RINGS ARE THE RESULT OF EXCESSIVE OIL ON THE CYLINDER WALLS AND THIS EXCESSIVE OIL CAN COME FROM THE PCV SYSTEM AND/OR THE AFM PRESSURE RELIEF VALVE IN THE OIL PAN.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

3/17/2017 - NEW BALTIMORE, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V582000 (VISIBILITY) HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/16/2017 - MCCORDSVILLE, IN
I JUST RECENTLY REPLACED MY ENGINE THAT BLEW UP. I WAS DRIVING HOME FROM A DOCTORS. APPT WHEN ALL OF A SUDDEN MY SUV WENT FROM DRIVING THE SPEED LIMIT TO BARELY MOVING. I HAD TO TURN IT ON AND OFF SEVERAL TIMES TO BE ABLE TO PARK IT IN A SAFE PLACE.I HAD IT TOWED TO A LOCAL DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD MY TRANSMISSION DIED. SO IN LESS THAN TWO MONTHS I HAVE HAD TO REPLACE BOTH MY ENGINE AND TRANSMISSION ONCE I HIT 100,000 MILES. THE VEHICLE RECEIVED ROUTINE MAINTENANCE AND THERE IS NO REASON FOR BOTH TO COMPLETELY DIE BACK TO BACK.

View Details

ENGINE

3/16/2017 - MCCORDSVILLE, IN
I HAD 100,000 MILES ON MY CHEVY EQUINOX AND IN DECEMBER WITH OUT WARNING THE ENGINE BLEW UP. I HAD RECENTLY HAD A OIL CHANGE BUT WAS TOLD THE ENGINE BARELY HAD ANY OIL. I HAD ARRIVED AT A DOCTORS OFFICE WAS THERE FOR A HOUR AND WHEN I WENT TO START MY CAR IT WAS COMPLETELY DEAD. I HAD TO REPLACE THE ENGINE.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

3/16/2017 - EAST NORTHPORT, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH IN INCLEMENT WEATHER, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS FAILED TO OPERATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC TO BE DIAGNOSED AND REPAIRED. THE CONTACT FELT THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V582000 (VISIBILITY). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

3/15/2017 - LA PLATA, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V582000 (VISIBILITY); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

3/15/2017 - NEW CASTLE, DE
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS BECAME INOPERATIVE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V582000 (VISIBILITY) HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

3/12/2017 - DOTHAN, AL
BEFORE RECALL ON WIPERS FOR CHEVY 2013 EQUINOX. HAD ISSUE WITH WIPES. FRONT WIPERS STOPPED WORKING DURING RAIN STORM WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION. TOOK VEHICLE INTO CARMAX DEALERSHIP WHERE VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED, MECHANICS FIXED ISSUE. ABOUT A MONTH LATER I RECIEVED LETTER ABOUT RECALL. SHORTLY AFTER WIPERS FAILED FOR A SECOND TIME AGAIN DURING RAIN STORM WHILE DRIVING. TOOK VEHICLE TO LOCAL CHEVY DEALERSHIP WHERE I WAS TOLD, THAT NO SOLUTION HAD BEEN APPROVED BY CHEVY AND THAT I WOULD HAVE TO PAY OUT OF POCKET FOR REPAIRS. ALSO IF THE REPAIRS THAT THEY SUGGESTED WERE NOT THE SAME AS THE ONE CHEVY APPROVES THEN I WOULD NOT BE REIMBURSED. I DECLINED REPAIRS, AND TRIED CONTACTING CHEVY CUSTOMER SERVICE. AFTER MANY PHONE CALLS, BETWEEN CHEVY, CARMAX, AND LOCAL DEALERSHIP, NOTHING HAS BEEN DONE. CHEVY HAS SAID THAT I HAVE VOIDED RECALL BY HAVING CARMAX MECHANICS WORK ON IT. CARMAX TELLING ME THAT ITS CHEVY RESPONSIBILITY. THERE IS STILL NO APPROVED FIX FOR THIS RECALL, AND I STILL HAVE TO USE VEHICLE WITHOUT WIPERS IN FEAR THAT ANY REPAIR OR FIX WILL EITHER VOID THE RECALL OR WOULD NOT BE REIMBURSED.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

3/10/2017 - ARLINGTON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V582000 (VISIBILITY); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE RECALL REPAIR WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds