Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 210 complaints filed for the 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Seat Belts (3) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (2) Suspension (2) Visibility (13)
Electrical System (30) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Service Brakes (7) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (105)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (12) Wheels (2)
Engine (27) Power Train (16) Steering (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY/WIPER

4/18/2017 - DERRY, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V582000 (VISIBILITY) AND THE PART HAD NOT BEEN SUPPLIED IN A REASONABLE TIME FRAME TO RECEIVE THE RECALL REPAIR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING DURING INCLEMENT WEATHER, THE WIPERS FAILED TO FUNCTION. THE CONTACT HAD TO VIEW OUT OF THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE WINDOW DUE TO THE FAILURE THAT IMPACTED THE CONTACTS VISIBILITY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THE TRANSMISSION WIPER MOTOR WAS REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND THE CONTACT WAS CHECKING TO DETERMINE WHEN THE PART MAY BE SUPPLIED TO THE DEALER TO RECEIVE THE RECALL REPAIR. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 72,502. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

4/17/2017 - HOWELL, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V582000 (VISIBILITY); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE RECALL REPAIR WAS NOT YET AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/15/2017 - WYLIE, TX
VEHICLE STOPPED TWICE TRYING TO PULL INTO MY DRIVEWAY.

View Details

ENGINE

4/6/2017 - PICKENS, SC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, A RATTLING NOISE COULD BE HEARD COMING FROM THE ENGINE. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED WITH A CLOG POSITIVE CRANK CASE VENTILATION AND THE OIL SEALS, MANIFOLD, AND PCV VALVE NEEDED REPLACEMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

ENGINE

4/3/2017 - OLIVE BRANCH, MS
USING WAY TO MUCH OIL. VERY DISAPPOINTED. I BUY A CAR TO KEEP LONG TERM. PRETTY OBVIOUS THIS PROBLEM WAS WELL KNOWN BY AUTOMAKER. I WAS NEVER NOTIFIED. WILL NEVER BUY A GM AGAIN!!!!

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

3/30/2017 - NEW IBERIA, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTIFICATION FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V582000 (VISIBILITY) AND STATED THAT THE PART NEEDED WAS UNAVAILABLE TO PERFORM THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

3/29/2017 - POWELL, OH
WIPERS BECAME INOPERATIVE WHILE DRIVING IN A RAIN STORM. TOOK THE VEHICLE TO PHILLIPS CHEVROLET WHO ADVISED THE PROBLEM WAS THE WIPER TRANSMISSION WHEREBY ONE OF THE ARMS BROKE OFF AND CAUSED THE ASSEMBLY TO STOP WORKING. THE CHARGE WAS $420.02 TO REPLACE THE WIPER ASSEMBLY. THE DEALER ADVISED THE MOTOR FOR THE WIPER NEEDED TO BE REPLACED WHENEVER THE TRANSMISSION GETS REPLACED. AFTERWARD, I RECEIVED NOTICE FROM A FELLOW EQUINOX OWNER WHO ADVISED THE WIPER PROBLEM IS WELL KNOWN, AND THE ISSUE IS UNDER A RECALL UNDER GENERAL MOTORS #25302. IF IT IS A RECALL, WHY THEN WAS I CHARGED $420 BY THE CHEVROLET DEALER???

View Details

ENGINE

3/27/2017 - CEDAR, MN
2.4L ECO TECH ENGINES HAVE A DESIGN FLAW WHICH IS DESCRIBED IN SERVICE BULLETIN NO.: 14882 AND APPARENTLY THIS BULLETIN WAS ONLY SENT TO SOME OWNERS BUT NOT ALL OWNERS AND THE ISSUE IS THE PCV ORFICE GETS PLUGGED WITH ICE IN THE WINTER CAUSING PRESSURE TO BUILD IN THE ENGINE WHICH IN TURN CAUSES THE REAR MAIN SEAL TO FAIL ON THE ENGINE. EVEN THOUGH MY EQUINOX HAD THIS 2.4L ECOTECH ENGINE AND I DID ALL THE REQUIRED MAINTENANCE AS REQUIRED GM FAILED TO SEND ME THIS NOTICE (WHICH THEY TOLD ME THAT DID NOT SEND IT TO ME SINCE I DID NOT HAVE AN ECO TECH WHICH I DID) BUT THEY ALSO EXTENDED THE WARRANTY TO FIX IT UNTIL 10 YEARS OR 120,000 MILES AND MINE FAILED AT 4 YEARS AND 125,000 SO OF COURSE THEY HAVE REFUSED TO FIX OR REIMBURSE ME FOR MY OUT OF POCKET COSTS FOR SOMETHING THAT COULD HAVE BEEN PREVENTED IF I WOULD HAVE BEEN TOLD ABOUT IT. ALSO MY TRUCK JUST LOST POWER AS I WAS DRIVING AND THIS COULD HAVE CAUSE A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE IF I HAD BEEN ON A BUSY FREEWAY AT THE TIME. I WAS DRIVING ON A COUNTY ROAD AT THE TIME JUST BEFORE ENTERING A FREEWAY WHEN THIS FAILURE HAPPENED. IF I WOULD HAVE BEEN SENT THE SERVICE BULLETIN I COULD HAVE PREVENTED A TOTAL ENGINE FAILURE BY HAVING THE ISSUE LOOKED AT AND DEALT WITH PRIOR TO THIS INCIDENT .

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

3/27/2017 - ABEINGDON, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH IN THE RAIN, THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS FAILED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT HAD TO PULL THE VEHICLE OFF THE ROAD UNTIL THE RAIN STOPPED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V582000 (VISIBILITY); HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 90,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

3/26/2017 - COPPELL, TX
ENGINE STALLS AT LOW RPM. OVER THE LAST FEW MONTHS AT RANDOM TIMES FROM REVERSE / BACKING UP THE ENGINE WOULD STALL. THE ENGINE HAS STALLED AT RED LIGHTS WHEN STAKING OFF AT LOW RPMS, CAUSING PEOPLE BEHIND ME TO STOP SUDDENLY WHILE I HAVE TO PUT THE CAR IN PARK AND START THE ENGINE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds