Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 246 complaints filed for the 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (13) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (12)
Communications (1) Equipment (1) Power Train (18) Steering (9) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (34) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (5) Structure (7) Visibility (15)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Forward Collision Avoidance (1) Seats (2) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (117)
Engine (37) Fuel Propulsion System (10) Service Brakes (7) Tires (4) Wheels (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 31
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

11/28/2017 - CHEEKTOWAGA, NY
THE CAR DIDN'T START AFTER PARKING FOR FOOD PICKUP, WE NOTICED THAT AFTER GETTING A BOOST, THE 'ENGINE LIGHT' WAS LIT, IT STAYED ON. THIS HAPPENED TWICE AGAIN, BUT WE USED OUR INSURANCE ROAD SIDE ASSISTANCE, AGAIN THE 'ENGINE LIGHT' REMAINED LIT. THIS HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES, WHEREAS WE PURCHASED A BATTERY CHARGER. DURING DRIVE/ WAITING AT MULTIPLE RED LIGHTS, AND BACKING OUT OF PARKING SPACES, THE CAR STALLS- TO THE POINT WE PUT IT 'N', AFTER EXPERIENCING STALLS WHEN PLACED IN 'P'. THE OIL CAN BE LOW, BUT NO INDICATOR ON THE PANEL, BUT THE PANEL READS CHECK ELECTRICAL SYSTEM, SO WE TOOK IT TO A SHOP AND INFORMED IT WAS THE BATTERY, SEEKING ANOTHER OPINION, WE WERE TOLD IT WASN'T THE BATTERY, BUT ANOTHER PART OF THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM. UPON TRYING TO HAVE THE CAR INSPECTED, WE WERE TURNED DOWN DUE TO THE 'ENGINE LIGHT'. WE WENT TO A REPUTABLE CAR PART DEALER, AND INFORMED IT WAS THE TIMING CHAIN, TIMING SENSOR, ALONG WITH (2) TWO OTHER CODES. THE BATTERY IS HID UNDER A HOUSING/ COVER, WHICH MADE IT HARD TO GET A BOOST, WHEN THE RECOMMENDED CHARGING PROCEDURE DIDN'T WORK. THIS IS VERY FRUSTRATING, AND RESEARCH LEADS US TO UNDERSTAND, THAT A COSTLY REPAIR IS AHEAD. PLUS, OUR RESEARCH OF THE EXPERIENCED PROBLEMS, SHOWS THAT THEY OCCURRED IN EARLIER MODELS. THE (2013)VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED FROM A NATIONAL CAR RENTAL AGENCY, NOV 2015, IS IT POSSIBLE THAT THIS VEHICLE WAS DEFECTIVE AT PURCHASE TIME, WITH UNRESOLVED ISSUES AS EARLIER MODELS? ADDITIONALLY, THE CAR HAS VEERED/ JERKED TO EITHER SIDE, FROM STOP TO GO, AND WHILE DRIVING, WITHOUT US TURNING THE WHEEL. THANK THE LORD THE LATTER, OCCURRED AT LOW SPEEDS, AND DRY PAVEMENT. THE 'WHEN DID THIS HAPPEN' DATE IS THE LATEST DATE, NOT THE ONLY DATE.

View Details

STEERING

11/28/2017 - CHEEKTOWAGA, NY
THE CAR DIDN'T START AFTER PARKING FOR FOOD PICKUP, WE NOTICED THAT AFTER GETTING A BOOST, THE 'ENGINE LIGHT' WAS LIT, IT STAYED ON. THIS HAPPENED TWICE AGAIN, BUT WE USED OUR INSURANCE ROAD SIDE ASSISTANCE, AGAIN THE 'ENGINE LIGHT' REMAINED LIT. THIS HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES, WHEREAS WE PURCHASED A BATTERY CHARGER. DURING DRIVE/ WAITING AT MULTIPLE RED LIGHTS, AND BACKING OUT OF PARKING SPACES, THE CAR STALLS- TO THE POINT WE PUT IT 'N', AFTER EXPERIENCING STALLS WHEN PLACED IN 'P'. THE OIL CAN BE LOW, BUT NO INDICATOR ON THE PANEL, BUT THE PANEL READS CHECK ELECTRICAL SYSTEM, SO WE TOOK IT TO A SHOP AND INFORMED IT WAS THE BATTERY, SEEKING ANOTHER OPINION, WE WERE TOLD IT WASN'T THE BATTERY, BUT ANOTHER PART OF THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM. UPON TRYING TO HAVE THE CAR INSPECTED, WE WERE TURNED DOWN DUE TO THE 'ENGINE LIGHT'. WE WENT TO A REPUTABLE CAR PART DEALER, AND INFORMED IT WAS THE TIMING CHAIN, TIMING SENSOR, ALONG WITH (2) TWO OTHER CODES. THE BATTERY IS HID UNDER A HOUSING/ COVER, WHICH MADE IT HARD TO GET A BOOST, WHEN THE RECOMMENDED CHARGING PROCEDURE DIDN'T WORK. THIS IS VERY FRUSTRATING, AND RESEARCH LEADS US TO UNDERSTAND, THAT A COSTLY REPAIR IS AHEAD. PLUS, OUR RESEARCH OF THE EXPERIENCED PROBLEMS, SHOWS THAT THEY OCCURRED IN EARLIER MODELS. THE (2013)VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED FROM A NATIONAL CAR RENTAL AGENCY, NOV 2015, IS IT POSSIBLE THAT THIS VEHICLE WAS DEFECTIVE AT PURCHASE TIME, WITH UNRESOLVED ISSUES AS EARLIER MODELS? ADDITIONALLY, THE CAR HAS VEERED/ JERKED TO EITHER SIDE, FROM STOP TO GO, AND WHILE DRIVING, WITHOUT US TURNING THE WHEEL. THANK THE LORD THE LATTER, OCCURRED AT LOW SPEEDS, AND DRY PAVEMENT. THE 'WHEN DID THIS HAPPEN' DATE IS THE LATEST DATE, NOT THE ONLY DATE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/28/2017 - CHEEKTOWAGA, NY
THE CAR DIDN'T START AFTER PARKING FOR FOOD PICKUP, WE NOTICED THAT AFTER GETTING A BOOST, THE 'ENGINE LIGHT' WAS LIT, IT STAYED ON. THIS HAPPENED TWICE AGAIN, BUT WE USED OUR INSURANCE ROAD SIDE ASSISTANCE, AGAIN THE 'ENGINE LIGHT' REMAINED LIT. THIS HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES, WHEREAS WE PURCHASED A BATTERY CHARGER. DURING DRIVE/ WAITING AT MULTIPLE RED LIGHTS, AND BACKING OUT OF PARKING SPACES, THE CAR STALLS- TO THE POINT WE PUT IT 'N', AFTER EXPERIENCING STALLS WHEN PLACED IN 'P'. THE OIL CAN BE LOW, BUT NO INDICATOR ON THE PANEL, BUT THE PANEL READS CHECK ELECTRICAL SYSTEM, SO WE TOOK IT TO A SHOP AND INFORMED IT WAS THE BATTERY, SEEKING ANOTHER OPINION, WE WERE TOLD IT WASN'T THE BATTERY, BUT ANOTHER PART OF THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM. UPON TRYING TO HAVE THE CAR INSPECTED, WE WERE TURNED DOWN DUE TO THE 'ENGINE LIGHT'. WE WENT TO A REPUTABLE CAR PART DEALER, AND INFORMED IT WAS THE TIMING CHAIN, TIMING SENSOR, ALONG WITH (2) TWO OTHER CODES. THE BATTERY IS HID UNDER A HOUSING/ COVER, WHICH MADE IT HARD TO GET A BOOST, WHEN THE RECOMMENDED CHARGING PROCEDURE DIDN'T WORK. THIS IS VERY FRUSTRATING, AND RESEARCH LEADS US TO UNDERSTAND, THAT A COSTLY REPAIR IS AHEAD. PLUS, OUR RESEARCH OF THE EXPERIENCED PROBLEMS, SHOWS THAT THEY OCCURRED IN EARLIER MODELS. THE (2013)VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED FROM A NATIONAL CAR RENTAL AGENCY, NOV 2015, IS IT POSSIBLE THAT THIS VEHICLE WAS DEFECTIVE AT PURCHASE TIME, WITH UNRESOLVED ISSUES AS EARLIER MODELS? ADDITIONALLY, THE CAR HAS VEERED/ JERKED TO EITHER SIDE, FROM STOP TO GO, AND WHILE DRIVING, WITHOUT US TURNING THE WHEEL. THANK THE LORD THE LATTER, OCCURRED AT LOW SPEEDS, AND DRY PAVEMENT. THE 'WHEN DID THIS HAPPEN' DATE IS THE LATEST DATE, NOT THE ONLY DATE.

View Details

ENGINE

11/21/2017 - ARNOLD, MO
I BOUGHT MY EQUINOX USED IN 2014...I HAVE BEEN GOING THRU EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION...1 QUART EVERY 1000 MILES...AND NO LIGHTS TO INDICATE LOW OIL...IT HAS AN EXTREMELY ROUGH IDLE...AND WILL DIE AT STOP LIGHTS...THIS IS A NIGHTMARE FOR A SINGLE PARENT...I HAVE TAKEN THIS IN TO MANY SERVICE REPAIR FACILITIES...ONLY TO BE TOLD THERE IS NOTHING WRONG...SO UPON DOING RESEARCH...I'M FINDING A MAJORITY AMOUNT OF VEHICLES ARE EXPERIENCING THIS...AND NOTHING IS BEING DONE...I'VE PURCHASED NOTHING BUT CHEVROLET PRODUCTS SINCE I HAVE BEEN OLD ENOUGH TO BUY MY OWN VEHICLES...I WOULD JUST LIKE A DEPENDABLE VEHICLE THAT I PAID GOOD MONEY FOR...NOT ONE I HAVE TO KEEP SINKING MONEY INTO...THIS HAD BEEN GOING ON SINCE NOVEMBER 2016...

View Details

TIRES: PRESSURE MONITORING AND REGULATING SYSTEMS

11/17/2017 - NEWARK, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE COLLISION AVOIDANCE SYSTEM INDEPENDENTLY APPLIED, BUT THERE WAS NO VEHICLE OR OBJECT IN THE PATH OF THE SENSOR. THE COLLISION WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE TIRE PRESSURE WARNING INDICATOR DID NOT DISPLAY THE CORRECT TIRE INFORMATION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO MCHUGH CHRYSLER DODGE JEEP RAM (3420 MAPLE AVE, ZANESVILLE, OH), BUT THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 80,000.

View Details

FORWARD COLLISION AVOIDANCE

11/17/2017 - NEWARK, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE COLLISION AVOIDANCE SYSTEM INDEPENDENTLY APPLIED, BUT THERE WAS NO VEHICLE OR OBJECT IN THE PATH OF THE SENSOR. THE COLLISION WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE TIRE PRESSURE WARNING INDICATOR DID NOT DISPLAY THE CORRECT TIRE INFORMATION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO MCHUGH CHRYSLER DODGE JEEP RAM (3420 MAPLE AVE, ZANESVILLE, OH), BUT THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 80,000.

View Details

ENGINE

11/7/2017 - OLMSTED TWP, OH
EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION, WENT TO THE DEALERSHIP AFTER SPEAKING WITH A CHEVY OWNER WHO HAD THE SAME ISSUE AND HAD HIS ENGINE COMPLETELY REBUILD BY GM. I WAS OVER THE 100,000 MILE POWER TRAIN WARRANTY BY 1000 MILES BY THE TIME I LEARNED OF THE ISSUE. I SPECIFICALLY TOLD THE LADY AT THE DEALERSHIP THAT I WAS OVER 100K MILES AND SHE SAID IT WOULDN'T BE A PROBLEM. THE GM DEALERSHIP SAID THEY COULDN'T HELP ME WITH OIL CONSUMPTION MONITORING TEST AND THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO ONCE I GOT THERE.THE 2012 EQUINOX JUST RECEIVED AN EXTENDED WARRANTY FOR 7.5 YEARS OR 120K TO HAVE THE CONSUMPTION TEST AND ENGINE REPAIRS DONE. I NOW HAVE 119K ON MY VEHICLE AND HAVE HAD THE ISSUE WITH THE ENGINE AND OIL CONSUMPTION SINCE AROUND 80K. GM PUT A BAD ENGINE IN THIS VEHICLE AND THEY KNOW IT BUT WILL DO NOTHING TO FIX IT. I HAVE OWNED CHEVY'S FOR OVER 15 YEARS AND HAVE NEVER HAD ANY SIGNIFICANT PROBLEMS. GM NEEDS TO DO RIGHT BY THEIR LOYAL CUSTOMERS. IF THE ENGINE IS BAD RECALL IT BECAUSE I KNOW SEVERAL OWNERS IN THE SAME POSITION AS ME AND WE ARE LOOKING TO TAKE OUR BUSINESS ELSEWHERE IN THE FUTURE. I HAVE ALWAYS BEEN A CHEVY "AMERICAN" MAN BUT YOU HAVE BEEN PRODUCING A CHEAP PRODUCT AND INCREASING THE COST. FIX YOUR MISTAKE AND TAKE OWNERSHIP OF THE PROBLEM AND YOU WILL RETAIN YOUR CUSTOMERS OR GOUGE HARDWORKING PEOPLE OVER AN ISSUE YOU KNOW IS YOUR FAULT AND LOSE THEM.

View Details

ENGINE

10/20/2017 - EDMONDS, WA
EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION SIMILAR TO PREVIOUS YEARS HAS BEEN OCCURRING IN OUR VEHICLE. NO WARNING ON LOW OIL LEVELS. LESS THAN THREE THOUSAND MILE SINCE OIL CHANGE AND ALREADY DOWN 3 QUARTS WITH NO WARNING,

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

10/20/2017 - RICHMOND, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE WIPER FLUID WOULD NOT EXPEL FROM THE VEHICLE WHEN OPERATED. THE CONTACT STATED THEY HAVE REFILLED THE FLUID TWICE. THE WIPER FLUID WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT STATED THE VEHICLE OPERATED AS INTENDED UNTIL NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V582000 (VISIBILITY) WAS COMPLETED AT HALEY BUICK GMC LOCATED AT 9831 MIDLOTHIAN TURNPIKE, RICHMOND, VA. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 40,000.

View Details

ENGINE

10/19/2017 - DETROIT, MI
EXTREMELY ROUGH IDLE AND VEHICLE STALLS AT RED LIGHTS. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT STAYS ON. EXCESSIVE ENGINE OIL CONSUMPTION. OIL IS GONE IN BETWEEN RECOMMENDED OIL CHANGES; DIP STICK DOESN'T REGISTER OIL.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 31
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds