Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 45 complaints filed for the 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Power Train (4) Steering (3) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (1) Structure (5) Visibility (3)
Electrical System (11) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes (7) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (3)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (6) Wheels (1)
Engine (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

12/20/2014 - SPOTSYLVANIA, VA
I WAS INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT THAT RESULTED IN DAMAGES OVER $14,000 TO THE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. I HAVE CONTACTED GM TWICE THIS WEEK AND HAVE NOT YET SPOKEN TO ANYONE IN THEIR PRODUCT ASSISTANCE DEPARTMENT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/18/2014 - MCGRATH, MN
CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON ,STABLETRAC LIGHT ON AND REDUCED ENGINE POWER MESSAGE STALLED AGAIN

View Details

STEERING

12/13/2014 - PITTSFORD, VT
RECEIVED NOTICE FROM GM SAYING THERE MAY BE A STEERING ISSUE DESCRIBED AS STEERING VERY HARD, BUT ONLY ON LONG TRIPS. GM SAID THEY WILL NOT REPAIR UNLESS THE STEERING HARD HAPPENS. SEEMS STRANGE THEY ARE GOING TO WAIT UNTIL IT DOES. THEY DID SAY THEY ARE EXTENDING THE WARRANTY TO 150.000 MILES FOR THIS ISSUE. I HAVE NOT EXPERIENCED THIS ISSUE.

View Details

ENGINE

10/16/2014 - CHICAGO, IL
QUESTION. I RECEIVED A LETTER IN THE MAIL REGARDING MY 2013 CHEVY EQUINOX WITH FLEX FUEL. THE LETTER STATES SOME 2013 EQUIONX VEHICLES EQUIPPED WITH THIS FEATURE MAY HAVE A CONDITION WHERE THE FLEXIBLE SENSOR MAY BECOME INOPERATIVE DURING NORMAL OPERATION DUE TO AN ELECTRICAL FAILURE CAUSED BY ROAD SALT AND OTHER ENVIRONMENTAL CONTAMINATS. THIS COULD CAUSE THE SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT TO ILLUMINATE AND REMOTE START WILL BE INOPERATIVE. WHY WOULDN'T THIS BE A RECALL ISSUE? IT EFFECTS THE ENGINE. TO ME THIS IS A WAY AROUND ANOTHER RECALL INCIDENT INVOLVING GENERAL MOTORS. HELP.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

10/12/2014 - BOZEMAN, MT
THE BRAKES FAILED TO STOP THE CAR ON A ROCKY OFF-ROAD MOUNTAIN PUBLIC ACCESS ROAD. THE ROAD CONSISTED OF A LOW GRADE INCLINE, AND THE ANTI-LOCK BRAKES FROZE AND CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO SKID AND THE BRAKES FROZE UP AND THE VEHICLE WAS GAINING MOMENTUM DANGEROUSLY FOR ABOUT 30 SECONDS UNTIL THE GRADE LEVELED. HOWEVER, I WAS FOUND MYSELF LOOKING FOR A PLACE TO RUN OFF THE ROAD TO STOP THE CAR BEFORE IT FINALLY STOPPED. I WAS LUCKY THERE WERE NO OTHER VEHICLES COMING TOWARD ME AROUND THE CURVES. I HAVE DRIVEN ROCKY MOUNTAIN ROADS MANY TIMES BEFORE, AND I ASSUMED THAT THIS VEHICLE WOULD BE SAFE TO DRIVE, BUT IT WAS NOT SUITABLE TO OFF-ROAD DRIVING. I WANT TO WARN OTHERS TO NOT TAKE THIS VEHICLE OFF ROAD, EVEN THOUGH IT LOOKS LIKE AND IS ASSUMED BY BUYERS AS A SAFE VEHICLE DRIVING IN ROCKY, OFF-ROAD CONDITIONS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

10/12/2014 - BOZEMAN, MT
THE BRAKES FAILED TO STOP THE CAR ON A ROCKY OFF-ROAD MOUNTAIN PUBLIC ACCESS ROAD. THE ROAD CONSISTED OF A LOW GRADE INCLINE, AND THE ANTI-LOCK BRAKES FROZE AND CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO SKID AND THE BRAKES FROZE UP AND THE VEHICLE WAS GAINING MOMENTUM DANGEROUSLY FOR ABOUT 30 SECONDS UNTIL THE GRADE LEVELED. HOWEVER, I WAS FOUND MYSELF LOOKING FOR A PLACE TO RUN OFF THE ROAD TO STOP THE CAR BEFORE IT FINALLY STOPPED. I WAS LUCKY THERE WERE NO OTHER VEHICLES COMING TOWARD ME AROUND THE CURVES. I HAVE DRIVEN ROCKY MOUNTAIN ROADS MANY TIMES BEFORE, AND I ASSUMED THAT THIS VEHICLE WOULD BE SAFE TO DRIVE, BUT IT WAS NOT SUITABLE TO OFF-ROAD DRIVING. I WANT TO WARN OTHERS TO NOT TAKE THIS VEHICLE OFF ROAD, EVEN THOUGH IT LOOKS LIKE AND IS ASSUMED BY BUYERS AS A SAFE VEHICLE DRIVING IN ROCKY, OFF-ROAD CONDITIONS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/4/2014 - POOLER, GA
I HAVE HAD MY CHEVY EQUINOX FOR A YEAR NOW AND I HAVE BEEN THE ONLY OWNER OF SAID VEHICLE. WHEN DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD DOES NOT MATTER THE SPEED THE COLLISION WARNING LIGHT WILL COME ON AND THE CAR DECIDES TO SLOW DOWN OR COME TO A STOP. I HAVE CHECKED AROUND THE CAR WHEN IT HAPPENS TO ENSURE NOTHING IS STUCK AROUND SENSORS HOWEVER NOTHING. I HAVE TAKEN IT TO THREE DIFFERENT DEALERS AND I AM TOLD THE SOMETHING "THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE CAR AND BRING IT IN WHEN IT HAPPENS AGAIN AND THAT THE VEHICLE IS NOT SUPPOSE TO STOP", THAT IS WHY I BROUGHT IT IN. I HAVE ALSO BEEN TOLD THERE ARE NO RECALLS. THEN THERE IS THE OTHER FACTOR THAT THE RADIO UPDATES OR SHUTS DOWN WHEN IT FEELS IT HAS WORKED TO HARD . I AM USUALLY IN MY VEHICLE FOR ABOUT 25- 30 MINS BOTH WAYS. THEN THERE IS THE TIRE PRESSURE GAUGE THAT THING WILL TELL SAY THE TIRES ARE ONE PRESSURE WHEN THEY ARE NOT I HAVE USED A TIRE GUAGE ELECTRIC AND MANUAL, THEY READ FINE BUT THE VEHICLE WILL COME UP WITH THE TIRES BEING OFF WHERE HALF THE VEHICLE IS HIGHER THAN THE OTHER OR ALL FOUR ARE OFF NEVERTHELESS ALL HAVE BEEN CHECKED AND VERIFIED BY A GAUGE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/4/2014 - CORYDON, IN
ME AND MY WIFE OWN A 2013 CHEVY EQUINOX. WE HAVE HAD THIS VEHICLE FOR ABOUT 18MONTHS AND PURCHASED THIS BRAND NEW. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE FOWARD COLLISION SENSOR ACTIVATED INDEPENDENTLY WITHOUT ANY OTHER VEHICLE WITHIN CLOSE PROXIMITY. MYSELF AND MY WIFE HAVE BOTH HAD THIS PROBLEM. IT HAPPENS TO HER ALL THE TIME SINCE SHE IS THE PRIMARY DRIVER. SHE HAS HAD THIS HAPPEN TO HER OVER 20 TIMES IN THE PAST 1.5 YRS. FORWARD COLLISION WARNING WILL GO OFF WITH NO VEHICLE IN FRONT OF HER AND THEN THE BRAKES WILL MOMENTARILY ENGAGE. I HAVE DROVE THE VEHICLE AND HAD THIS HAPPEN TWICE. I HAVE BEEN IN THE VEHICLE AS A PASSENGER ON (3) OCCASSIONS WHEN THIS HAPPENED. WE HAVE HAD THIS SUV FOR 18MONTHS AND SHE HAS TAKEN IT TO (2) DEALERSHIPS. BOTH STATED THEY HAVE NO IDEA WHAT IS CAUSING THIS AND TOLD US TO DE-ACTIVATE THE SYSTEM. WHY HAVE THIS SAFETY FEATURE AND YOU ARE TOLD TO TURN IT OFF BY DEALERSHIP BECAUSE THEY HAVE NO IDEA ON HOW TO FIX IT?? I DONT EVEN KNOW IF THEY HAVE CONTACTED CHEVROLET TO INQUIRE. DEALERSHIPS WE UTILIZED WERE JOHN JONES FROM CORYDON, IN AND COYLE CHEVROLET LOCATED IN CLARKSVILLE, IN. THIS IS A SAFETY FEATURE BUT HAS BECOME A SAFETY ISSUE. I HAVE DONE RESEARCH ONLINE AND HAVE FOUND COUNTLESS OTHER OWNERS THAT ARE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/4/2014 - CORYDON, IN
ME AND MY WIFE OWN A 2013 CHEVY EQUINOX. WE HAVE HAD THIS VEHICLE FOR ABOUT 18MONTHS AND PURCHASED THIS BRAND NEW. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE FOWARD COLLISION SENSOR ACTIVATED INDEPENDENTLY WITHOUT ANY OTHER VEHICLE WITHIN CLOSE PROXIMITY. MYSELF AND MY WIFE HAVE BOTH HAD THIS PROBLEM. IT HAPPENS TO HER ALL THE TIME SINCE SHE IS THE PRIMARY DRIVER. SHE HAS HAD THIS HAPPEN TO HER OVER 20 TIMES IN THE PAST 1.5 YRS. FORWARD COLLISION WARNING WILL GO OFF WITH NO VEHICLE IN FRONT OF HER AND THEN THE BRAKES WILL MOMENTARILY ENGAGE. I HAVE DROVE THE VEHICLE AND HAD THIS HAPPEN TWICE. I HAVE BEEN IN THE VEHICLE AS A PASSENGER ON (3) OCCASSIONS WHEN THIS HAPPENED. WE HAVE HAD THIS SUV FOR 18MONTHS AND SHE HAS TAKEN IT TO (2) DEALERSHIPS. BOTH STATED THEY HAVE NO IDEA WHAT IS CAUSING THIS AND TOLD US TO DE-ACTIVATE THE SYSTEM. WHY HAVE THIS SAFETY FEATURE AND YOU ARE TOLD TO TURN IT OFF BY DEALERSHIP BECAUSE THEY HAVE NO IDEA ON HOW TO FIX IT?? I DONT EVEN KNOW IF THEY HAVE CONTACTED CHEVROLET TO INQUIRE. DEALERSHIPS WE UTILIZED WERE JOHN JONES FROM CORYDON, IN AND COYLE CHEVROLET LOCATED IN CLARKSVILLE, IN. THIS IS A SAFETY FEATURE BUT HAS BECOME A SAFETY ISSUE. I HAVE DONE RESEARCH ONLINE AND HAVE FOUND COUNTLESS OTHER OWNERS THAT ARE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/21/2014 - REDMOND, OR
I WAS TRAVELING IN MODERATE TRAFFIC A SAFE DISTANT BEHIND OTHER TRAFFIC WHEN THE RED LIGHT FOR COLLISON AVOIDENCE ON THE DASH CAME ON AND THE VEHICLE AUTOMATICALLY BRAKED. THIS HAS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES SINCE WHEN THERE WAS NO TRAFFIC IN FRONT OR ALONG SIDE OF MY VEHICLE. I ADVISED MY DEALER SERVICE TECHNICIAN ABOUT THE INCIDENTS, BUT RECEIVED NO EXPLANATION OF WHY IT WAS OCCURRING. THESE 3 OR 4 INCIDENTS HAVE OCCURRED DURING THE PERIOD OF DRIVING THE VEHICLE 12,000 MILES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds