Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 55 complaints filed for the 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Power Train (6) Steering (3) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (5) Visibility (3)
Electrical System (16) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes (7) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (4)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (4) Wheels (1)
Engine (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/28/2015 - ISHPEMING, MI
THE VEHICLE WAS STOPPED. ALL FOUR PASSENGER DOORS WOULD NOT OPEN AND THE OCCUPANTS WERE TRAPPED INSIDE THE VEHICLE. THE OCCUPANTS ATTEMPTED TO OPEN THE DOORS BY RELEASING THE DOOR LOCKS (THE DOOR LOCK BUTTONS POPPED UP) AND BY USING THE DOOR HANDLES WITHOUT SUCCESS. THE OCCUPANTS WERE ABLE TO ROLL DOWN THE WINDOWS AND TRIED THE EXTERNAL DOOR HANDLES WITHOUT SUCCESS. THE OCCUPANTS CONTACTED ONSTAR FOR ASSISTANCE. ONSTAR WAS UNABLE TO RELEASE THE DOOR LOCKS. ONSTAR INVOLVED EMERGENCY ONSTAR ASSISTANCE OVER THE TELEPHONE, WITHOUT SUCCESS. THE OCCUPANTS REMAINED TRAPPED INSIDE THE VEHICLE. ONSTAR INSTRUCTED THE DRIVER TO DRIVE TO THE NEAREST CHEVROLET DEALER FOR ASSISTANCE. WHILE ENROUTE TO THE DEALERSHIP, ON THE HIGHWAY TRAVELING 65-70 MPH, THE REAR, DRIVER-SIDE DOOR RELEASED AND OPENED, RESULTING IN THE LIGHTING OF THE DOME LIGHTS AND THE "DOOR AJAR" INDICATOR ON THE DASH. THERE WERE OCCUPANTS IN THE BACK SEAT OF THE VEHICLE AT THE TIME, ON THE DRIVER-SIDE. ONCE ARRIVING AT THE DEALERSHIP, THE VEHICLE WAS PLACED IN PARK. THE FRONT-PASSENGER DOOR OPENED. THE REAR, DRIVER-SIDE DOOR OPENED. HOWEVER, THE FRONT, DRIVER-SIDE DOOR DID NOT OPEN AND REMAINED LATCH AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS. EVENTUALLY, THE DRIVER DOOR OPENED AND ALL OCCUPANTS VACATED THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TURNED OVER TO THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/14/2015 - MANAWA, WI
TRANSMISSION DOES NOT UPSHIFT WHEN ACCELERATING...ALWAYS AND EVERYDAY (V6 ENGINE MODELS) CADILLAC HAS ISSUED A RECALL # 14132 FOR THE SAME POWERTRAIN IN THE 2013 CADILLAC SRX! CHEVROLET SHOULD DO THE SAME!

View Details

SEAT BELTS

4/11/2015 - CARO, MI
WAS DRIVING TO WORK AND A HERD OF DEER JUMPED OUT IN FRONT OF ME I HIT ONE NEAR THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE AND MY SEAT BELT LOCKED UP AND A FUNNY SMELL CAME OVER THE INSIDE OF MY CAR. THE SERVICE AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON AND HASN'T SHUT OFF MY 4WAYS TURNED ON AUTOMATICALLY BUT THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. I THINK THAT SINCE THIS CAR IS LESS THAN 2 YEARS OLD AND I PURCHASED IT TO MAKE ME FEEL SAFE THAT A FAULTY AIRBAG DEPLOYMENT IS RIDICULOUS AND I SHOULD BE ABLE TO TRADE THIS CAR IN. I DON'T FEEL SAFE DRIVING WITH A TIGHT SEAT BELT AND MY AIR BAG LIGHT ON. I CAN'T BELIEVE HOW MANY PEOPLE HAVE HAD ISSUES WITH THIS. THE MONEY I AM SPENDING TO BUY THIS CAR IS OUTRAGEOUS AS IT IS THEN FOR THIS TO HAPPEN AND IT NOT WORK THE WAY IT IS INTENDED TO I WOULD LIKE TO BE REIMBURSED IN SOME WAY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/11/2015 - CARO, MI
WAS DRIVING TO WORK AND A HERD OF DEER JUMPED OUT IN FRONT OF ME I HIT ONE NEAR THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE AND MY SEAT BELT LOCKED UP AND A FUNNY SMELL CAME OVER THE INSIDE OF MY CAR. THE SERVICE AIR BAG LIGHT CAME ON AND HASN'T SHUT OFF MY 4WAYS TURNED ON AUTOMATICALLY BUT THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. I THINK THAT SINCE THIS CAR IS LESS THAN 2 YEARS OLD AND I PURCHASED IT TO MAKE ME FEEL SAFE THAT A FAULTY AIRBAG DEPLOYMENT IS RIDICULOUS AND I SHOULD BE ABLE TO TRADE THIS CAR IN. I DON'T FEEL SAFE DRIVING WITH A TIGHT SEAT BELT AND MY AIR BAG LIGHT ON. I CAN'T BELIEVE HOW MANY PEOPLE HAVE HAD ISSUES WITH THIS. THE MONEY I AM SPENDING TO BUY THIS CAR IS OUTRAGEOUS AS IT IS THEN FOR THIS TO HAPPEN AND IT NOT WORK THE WAY IT IS INTENDED TO I WOULD LIKE TO BE REIMBURSED IN SOME WAY.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

4/9/2015 - PHILA, PA
AFTER PULLING OUT OF PARKING SPACE/TURNED RADIO ON. THE WHOLE DASHBOARD WENT OUT AND CAME BACK ON SEVERAL TIMES.LATER THAT EVENING WHEN I GOT IN CAR KEY WOULD NOT RELEASE. AFTER SEVERAL TRIES CAR STARTED AND AS I STARTED TO DRIVE DASHBOARD AND RADIO BLINKED ON AND OFF. HEARD A LOUD NOISE AS I WAS DRIVING. LIGHTS AND RADIO CAME BACK ON AND PROCEEDED TO BLINK. CAR MAKING NOISE OFF AND ON.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/9/2015 - PHILA, PA
AFTER PULLING OUT OF PARKING SPACE/TURNED RADIO ON. THE WHOLE DASHBOARD WENT OUT AND CAME BACK ON SEVERAL TIMES.LATER THAT EVENING WHEN I GOT IN CAR KEY WOULD NOT RELEASE. AFTER SEVERAL TRIES CAR STARTED AND AS I STARTED TO DRIVE DASHBOARD AND RADIO BLINKED ON AND OFF. HEARD A LOUD NOISE AS I WAS DRIVING. LIGHTS AND RADIO CAME BACK ON AND PROCEEDED TO BLINK. CAR MAKING NOISE OFF AND ON.

View Details

ENGINE

4/3/2015 - INVERNESS, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, AN ABNORMAL SOUND EMITTED FROM UNDER THE HOOD OF THE VEHICLE WITHOUT WARNING. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 9,200.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/16/2015 - SWARTZ CREEK, MI
SECOND TIME MY THROTTLE SENSOR HAS FAILED DUE TO COLD TEMPERATURES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/16/2015 - SWARTZ CREEK, MI
SECOND TIME MY THROTTLE SENSOR HAS FAILED DUE TO COLD TEMPERATURES.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/8/2015 - STATEN ISLAND, NY
I OWN A 2013 CHEVY EQUINOX WITH 7309 MILES .BOUGHT THE CAR DECEMBER 18 2012 WHEN I INSERTED THE KEY INTO THE IGNITION AND TRIED TO START THE CAR IT MADE CLICKING SOUNDS STARTED AND ABRUPTLY SHUT OFF. TRIED AGAIN CAR STARTED WITH THE ENGINE RUNNING AT HIGH SPEED. NOW WHEN YOU TRY TO DIE E THE CAR IT IS SPEEDING UP.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds