Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 285 complaints filed for the 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (14)
Communications (1) Equipment (1) Power Train (23) Steering (10) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Electrical System (35) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (5) Structure (7) Visibility (15)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Forward Collision Avoidance (1) Seats (2) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (119)
Engine (64) Fuel Propulsion System (11) Service Brakes (7) Tires (4) Wheels (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 36
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

4/1/2018 - OZARK, MO
ENGINE IS USING 3 QUARTS OF OIL EVERY 1000 MILES. WHEN LOW ON OIL THE CAR DIES DUE TO THE TIMING BEING OFF. I HAVE 107,000 MILES ON THE CAR. IT STARTED AT 92,000 MILES. NO ENGINE OIL LIGHT HAS COME ON TO NOTIFY ME OF LOW OIL ISSUES. IT HAS DIED ON ME AT STOP LIGHTS IN HEAVY CITY TRAFFIC AND AT LOW IDLE SPEEDS. CHEVY IS AWARE OF THE PROBLEM WITH 2011 AND 2012 ENGINES AND IS WORKING ONE ON ONE TO FIX THE ISSUE AT NO COST. 2013 OWNERS ARE OFFERED A PORTION PAID ON THE CUSTOMER LOYALTY PROGRAM TO FIX THE CARS. THIS IS A VERY SERIOUS ISSUE. THE CAR IS NOT SAFE ON THE ROAD DUE TO THE POSSIBILITY OF THE ENGINE DYING WHILE DRIVING. I TOOK THIS CAR TO CHEVY DEALERSHIPS MANY TIMES TO HAVE THE OIL CHANGED. NEVER WAS INFORMED THAT MY OIL LEVEL WAS VERY LOW. THE RINGS AND PISTONS ARE SHOT THEY ARE KEEPING THIS PROBLEM QUIET AND IT'S GOING TO CAUSE SERIOUS INJURY IS NOT ADDRESSED.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

3/28/2018 - PORT CHESTER, NY
TL THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE WINDSHIELD WIPER ON THE PASSENGER SIDE MALFUNCTIONED, WHICH MADE IT DIFFICULT TO SEE THE ROAD. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT ALMOST CRASHED INTO ANOTHER VEHICLE WHEN TRYING TO CHANGE LANES. THE CONTACT HAD TO PULL THE VEHICLE OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD TO CHECK THE WIPER. THE CONTACT CALLED BICAL CHEVROLET OF VALLEY STREAM (709 W MERRICK RD, VALLEY STREAM, NY 11580, (516) 285-6500), BUT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THEY WOULD BE SENDING A CASE NUMBER, WHICH HAD NOT BEEN RECEIVED YET. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 44,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/17/2018 - ROMEO, MI
VEHICLE HAS BEEN EXPERIENCING STALLING CONDITIONS IN WET WEATHER, DEALER REPLACED A CAM POSITION SENSOR. TODAY AFTER TAKING THE CAR THROUGH A CAR WASH UPON STARTING THE ENGINE IT WENT INTO WIDE OPEN THROTTLE CONDITION, OVER 6000 RPM. AT FIRST I WAS STANDING ON THE BRAKES TO KEEP THE VEHICLE FROM ACCELERATING OUT OF CONTROL. AFTER 10 MINUTES THE IDLE DROPPED TO NORMAL AND WAS ABLE TO GET THE CAR HOME.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/16/2018 - SABINA, OH
JUST PURCHASED VEHICLE AMD TRANDMISSION IS SLIPPING IN 3RD THRU 5TH. NO WARRANTY SEEMS LIKE THIS HAPPENS IN ALOT OF EQUINOX. THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY CONCERN IN WHICH GM IS NOT TAKING SERIOUS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/10/2018 - WHEELING, WV
"TAKATA RECALL" MY AIRBAG LIGHT CAME ON FOR NO REASON, IT COST ME 105.00 AT STAFFILINO CHEVROLET FOR THEM TO TELL ME I HAVE AN INTERNAL SHORT IN THE PASSENGER PRESENCE MODULE AND IT WILL COST ME 656.00 TO HAVE IT FIXED. I SAW WHERE THE TAKATA RECALL WILL NOT BE COMPLETE UNTIL 2019. THIS DOES NOT HELP NOW AND I WOULD LIKE TO BE ADDED TO THE RECALL NOW. THE VEHICLE HAS NEVER BEEN WRECKED AND THIS LIGHT CAME ON OUT OF NOWHERE

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

3/9/2018 - MUSTANG, OK
I HAVE TAKEN MY CAR TO CHEVROLET MULTIPLE TIMES BECAUSE IT CUTS OUT WHEN IDLING AND SOMETIMES DRIVING. THE DEALERSHIP I PURCHASED IT FROM TOLD ME AROUND 40000 MILES THAT SOMETIMES +YOU JUST GET A BAD APPLE.+ THEY REPLACED MY MOTOR UNDER WARRANTY ABOUT 20,000 MILES AGO WITH A BRAND NEW MOTOR AND NOW MY CAR IS DOING THE EXACT SAME THING. I CONTACTED CUSTOMER CARE AT CHEVROLET AND THEY TOLD ME TO TAKE IT TO THE CLOSEST DEALER TO GET A DIAGNOSTIC TEST RUN AT MY EXPENSE BECAUSE MY WARRANTY IS OUT... MIND YOU I HAVE BEEN DEALING WITH THE SAME ISSUE SINCE I BOUGHT MY CAR... AND WHEN I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP, THEY TOLD ME THAT THEY COULDN+T SERVICE MY VEHICLE BECAUSE I DIDN+T HAVE THE WARRANTY WORK DONE AT THAT LOCATION. I CAN+T EVEN DRIVE MY CAR BECAUSE WE+VE ALMOST BEEN REAR ENDED MULTIPLE TIMES AND I HAVE VERY SMALL CHILDREN. I CAN+T DRIVE ALL THE WAY BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP THAT REPLACED IT WHEN I AM THE ONE PAYING FOR THE DIAGNOSTIC EXAM ANYWAY....SO I KEEP GETTING CONFLICTING RESPONSES FROM CHEVY AND THEIR DEALERSHIPS. I HAVE GOTTEN THE RUN AROUND SINCE I BOUGHT MY CAR BRAND NEW OFF THE LOT. I JUST ALMOST HAVE IT PAID OFF AND CAN+T AFFORD FOR THEM TO KEEP SCREWING ME AROUND, NOR CAN I AFFORD A NEW CAR. MY CAR LOSES THE ENGINE BUT ALL BATTERY FUNCTIONS WORK. IT HAPPENS WHILE IDLING, DRIVING SLOWLY AND EVEN ON THE HIGHWAY! IT+S SO DANGEROUS AND MANY PEOPLE COMPLAIN ABOUT THE SAME ISSUES WITH THE SAME CAR IF RESEARCHED ONLINE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/9/2018 - MUSTANG, OK
I HAVE TAKEN MY CAR TO CHEVROLET MULTIPLE TIMES BECAUSE IT CUTS OUT WHEN IDLING AND SOMETIMES DRIVING. THE DEALERSHIP I PURCHASED IT FROM TOLD ME AROUND 40000 MILES THAT SOMETIMES +YOU JUST GET A BAD APPLE.+ THEY REPLACED MY MOTOR UNDER WARRANTY ABOUT 20,000 MILES AGO WITH A BRAND NEW MOTOR AND NOW MY CAR IS DOING THE EXACT SAME THING. I CONTACTED CUSTOMER CARE AT CHEVROLET AND THEY TOLD ME TO TAKE IT TO THE CLOSEST DEALER TO GET A DIAGNOSTIC TEST RUN AT MY EXPENSE BECAUSE MY WARRANTY IS OUT... MIND YOU I HAVE BEEN DEALING WITH THE SAME ISSUE SINCE I BOUGHT MY CAR... AND WHEN I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP, THEY TOLD ME THAT THEY COULDN+T SERVICE MY VEHICLE BECAUSE I DIDN+T HAVE THE WARRANTY WORK DONE AT THAT LOCATION. I CAN+T EVEN DRIVE MY CAR BECAUSE WE+VE ALMOST BEEN REAR ENDED MULTIPLE TIMES AND I HAVE VERY SMALL CHILDREN. I CAN+T DRIVE ALL THE WAY BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP THAT REPLACED IT WHEN I AM THE ONE PAYING FOR THE DIAGNOSTIC EXAM ANYWAY....SO I KEEP GETTING CONFLICTING RESPONSES FROM CHEVY AND THEIR DEALERSHIPS. I HAVE GOTTEN THE RUN AROUND SINCE I BOUGHT MY CAR BRAND NEW OFF THE LOT. I JUST ALMOST HAVE IT PAID OFF AND CAN+T AFFORD FOR THEM TO KEEP SCREWING ME AROUND, NOR CAN I AFFORD A NEW CAR. MY CAR LOSES THE ENGINE BUT ALL BATTERY FUNCTIONS WORK. IT HAPPENS WHILE IDLING, DRIVING SLOWLY AND EVEN ON THE HIGHWAY! IT+S SO DANGEROUS AND MANY PEOPLE COMPLAIN ABOUT THE SAME ISSUES WITH THE SAME CAR IF RESEARCHED ONLINE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/9/2018 - MUSTANG, OK
I HAVE TAKEN MY CAR TO CHEVROLET MULTIPLE TIMES BECAUSE IT CUTS OUT WHEN IDLING AND SOMETIMES DRIVING. THE DEALERSHIP I PURCHASED IT FROM TOLD ME AROUND 40000 MILES THAT SOMETIMES +YOU JUST GET A BAD APPLE.+ THEY REPLACED MY MOTOR UNDER WARRANTY ABOUT 20,000 MILES AGO WITH A BRAND NEW MOTOR AND NOW MY CAR IS DOING THE EXACT SAME THING. I CONTACTED CUSTOMER CARE AT CHEVROLET AND THEY TOLD ME TO TAKE IT TO THE CLOSEST DEALER TO GET A DIAGNOSTIC TEST RUN AT MY EXPENSE BECAUSE MY WARRANTY IS OUT... MIND YOU I HAVE BEEN DEALING WITH THE SAME ISSUE SINCE I BOUGHT MY CAR... AND WHEN I CALLED THE DEALERSHIP, THEY TOLD ME THAT THEY COULDN+T SERVICE MY VEHICLE BECAUSE I DIDN+T HAVE THE WARRANTY WORK DONE AT THAT LOCATION. I CAN+T EVEN DRIVE MY CAR BECAUSE WE+VE ALMOST BEEN REAR ENDED MULTIPLE TIMES AND I HAVE VERY SMALL CHILDREN. I CAN+T DRIVE ALL THE WAY BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP THAT REPLACED IT WHEN I AM THE ONE PAYING FOR THE DIAGNOSTIC EXAM ANYWAY....SO I KEEP GETTING CONFLICTING RESPONSES FROM CHEVY AND THEIR DEALERSHIPS. I HAVE GOTTEN THE RUN AROUND SINCE I BOUGHT MY CAR BRAND NEW OFF THE LOT. I JUST ALMOST HAVE IT PAID OFF AND CAN+T AFFORD FOR THEM TO KEEP SCREWING ME AROUND, NOR CAN I AFFORD A NEW CAR. MY CAR LOSES THE ENGINE BUT ALL BATTERY FUNCTIONS WORK. IT HAPPENS WHILE IDLING, DRIVING SLOWLY AND EVEN ON THE HIGHWAY! IT+S SO DANGEROUS AND MANY PEOPLE COMPLAIN ABOUT THE SAME ISSUES WITH THE SAME CAR IF RESEARCHED ONLINE.

View Details

ENGINE

2/26/2018 - ACKERMAN, MS
OIL CONSUMPTION TIMING CHAIN

View Details

ENGINE

2/26/2018 - YORK, NE
I WAS DRIVING MY EQUINOX ON MY WAY HOME FROM WORK, A 30 MINUTE COMMUTE. MY ENGINE STARTED MAKING SOME TICKING NOISES WHEN I WAS 5 MINUTES FROM HOME. I MADE IT ABOUT ANOTHER MILE AND MY ENGINE STARTED CLANKING, I TRIED TO PULL OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AS MY ENGINE SHUT OFF. IT WAS BITTERLY COLD AND I HAD TO PICK UP MY GIRLS FROM DAYCARE, SO I HAD THE VEHICLE TOWED TO THE NEAREST MECHANIC AND FOUND A RIDE. TURNS OUT, MY ENGINE HAD A HGH OIL CONSUMPTION PROBLEM DUE TO PLUGGED PCV/INTAKE SYSTEM CAUSED ENGINE TO RUN DRY OF OIL DURING OPERATION. NO ENGINE PRESSURE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. NO OTHER WARNING SIGNS. THE ENGINE WAS DAMAGED AT REAR CRANKCASE SEAL/REAR MAIN. IT HAD 97,000 MILES AT THE TIME OF THE INCIDENT. I HAVE BEEN TOLD THIS IS COMMON IN SOME GMC/CHEVY VEHICLES, HOWEVER MY VIN ISN'T SPECIFICALLY COVERED. I HAVE TRIED TO TALK TO CHEVY REGARDING MY COMPLAINT, HOWEVER THEY ARE OF NO HELP. I'M AWARE OF SPECIAL COVERAGE ADJUSTMENTS DUE TO THIS SAME ISSUE (#14882, DOCUMENT ID 4098165), BUT WITHOUT MY VIN BEING INCLUDED, I AM GETTING NO ASSISTANCE FROM CHEVY REGARDING A KNOWN ISSUE IN SOME OF THEIR EQUNIOXES. PLEASE HELP. THIS IS A SERIOUS PROBLEM EFFECTING THEIR ENGINES, AND WITHOUT A WARNING LIGHT TELLING OF THE OIL PRESSURE/LEVEL PROBLEM. THERE'S A CHANCE MANY MORE DRIVERS WILL BE LEFT STRANDED AT THE SIDE OF THE ROAD.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 36
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds