Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 41 complaints filed for the 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Power Train (4) Steering (2) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (1) Structure (5) Visibility (2)
Electrical System (11) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes (7) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (3)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (6) Wheels (1)
Engine (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

10/12/2014 - BOZEMAN, MT
THE BRAKES FAILED TO STOP THE CAR ON A ROCKY OFF-ROAD MOUNTAIN PUBLIC ACCESS ROAD. THE ROAD CONSISTED OF A LOW GRADE INCLINE, AND THE ANTI-LOCK BRAKES FROZE AND CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO SKID AND THE BRAKES FROZE UP AND THE VEHICLE WAS GAINING MOMENTUM DANGEROUSLY FOR ABOUT 30 SECONDS UNTIL THE GRADE LEVELED. HOWEVER, I WAS FOUND MYSELF LOOKING FOR A PLACE TO RUN OFF THE ROAD TO STOP THE CAR BEFORE IT FINALLY STOPPED. I WAS LUCKY THERE WERE NO OTHER VEHICLES COMING TOWARD ME AROUND THE CURVES. I HAVE DRIVEN ROCKY MOUNTAIN ROADS MANY TIMES BEFORE, AND I ASSUMED THAT THIS VEHICLE WOULD BE SAFE TO DRIVE, BUT IT WAS NOT SUITABLE TO OFF-ROAD DRIVING. I WANT TO WARN OTHERS TO NOT TAKE THIS VEHICLE OFF ROAD, EVEN THOUGH IT LOOKS LIKE AND IS ASSUMED BY BUYERS AS A SAFE VEHICLE DRIVING IN ROCKY, OFF-ROAD CONDITIONS.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC

10/12/2014 - BOZEMAN, MT
THE BRAKES FAILED TO STOP THE CAR ON A ROCKY OFF-ROAD MOUNTAIN PUBLIC ACCESS ROAD. THE ROAD CONSISTED OF A LOW GRADE INCLINE, AND THE ANTI-LOCK BRAKES FROZE AND CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO SKID AND THE BRAKES FROZE UP AND THE VEHICLE WAS GAINING MOMENTUM DANGEROUSLY FOR ABOUT 30 SECONDS UNTIL THE GRADE LEVELED. HOWEVER, I WAS FOUND MYSELF LOOKING FOR A PLACE TO RUN OFF THE ROAD TO STOP THE CAR BEFORE IT FINALLY STOPPED. I WAS LUCKY THERE WERE NO OTHER VEHICLES COMING TOWARD ME AROUND THE CURVES. I HAVE DRIVEN ROCKY MOUNTAIN ROADS MANY TIMES BEFORE, AND I ASSUMED THAT THIS VEHICLE WOULD BE SAFE TO DRIVE, BUT IT WAS NOT SUITABLE TO OFF-ROAD DRIVING. I WANT TO WARN OTHERS TO NOT TAKE THIS VEHICLE OFF ROAD, EVEN THOUGH IT LOOKS LIKE AND IS ASSUMED BY BUYERS AS A SAFE VEHICLE DRIVING IN ROCKY, OFF-ROAD CONDITIONS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/4/2014 - POOLER, GA
I HAVE HAD MY CHEVY EQUINOX FOR A YEAR NOW AND I HAVE BEEN THE ONLY OWNER OF SAID VEHICLE. WHEN DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD DOES NOT MATTER THE SPEED THE COLLISION WARNING LIGHT WILL COME ON AND THE CAR DECIDES TO SLOW DOWN OR COME TO A STOP. I HAVE CHECKED AROUND THE CAR WHEN IT HAPPENS TO ENSURE NOTHING IS STUCK AROUND SENSORS HOWEVER NOTHING. I HAVE TAKEN IT TO THREE DIFFERENT DEALERS AND I AM TOLD THE SOMETHING "THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE CAR AND BRING IT IN WHEN IT HAPPENS AGAIN AND THAT THE VEHICLE IS NOT SUPPOSE TO STOP", THAT IS WHY I BROUGHT IT IN. I HAVE ALSO BEEN TOLD THERE ARE NO RECALLS. THEN THERE IS THE OTHER FACTOR THAT THE RADIO UPDATES OR SHUTS DOWN WHEN IT FEELS IT HAS WORKED TO HARD . I AM USUALLY IN MY VEHICLE FOR ABOUT 25- 30 MINS BOTH WAYS. THEN THERE IS THE TIRE PRESSURE GAUGE THAT THING WILL TELL SAY THE TIRES ARE ONE PRESSURE WHEN THEY ARE NOT I HAVE USED A TIRE GUAGE ELECTRIC AND MANUAL, THEY READ FINE BUT THE VEHICLE WILL COME UP WITH THE TIRES BEING OFF WHERE HALF THE VEHICLE IS HIGHER THAN THE OTHER OR ALL FOUR ARE OFF NEVERTHELESS ALL HAVE BEEN CHECKED AND VERIFIED BY A GAUGE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/4/2014 - CORYDON, IN
ME AND MY WIFE OWN A 2013 CHEVY EQUINOX. WE HAVE HAD THIS VEHICLE FOR ABOUT 18MONTHS AND PURCHASED THIS BRAND NEW. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE FOWARD COLLISION SENSOR ACTIVATED INDEPENDENTLY WITHOUT ANY OTHER VEHICLE WITHIN CLOSE PROXIMITY. MYSELF AND MY WIFE HAVE BOTH HAD THIS PROBLEM. IT HAPPENS TO HER ALL THE TIME SINCE SHE IS THE PRIMARY DRIVER. SHE HAS HAD THIS HAPPEN TO HER OVER 20 TIMES IN THE PAST 1.5 YRS. FORWARD COLLISION WARNING WILL GO OFF WITH NO VEHICLE IN FRONT OF HER AND THEN THE BRAKES WILL MOMENTARILY ENGAGE. I HAVE DROVE THE VEHICLE AND HAD THIS HAPPEN TWICE. I HAVE BEEN IN THE VEHICLE AS A PASSENGER ON (3) OCCASSIONS WHEN THIS HAPPENED. WE HAVE HAD THIS SUV FOR 18MONTHS AND SHE HAS TAKEN IT TO (2) DEALERSHIPS. BOTH STATED THEY HAVE NO IDEA WHAT IS CAUSING THIS AND TOLD US TO DE-ACTIVATE THE SYSTEM. WHY HAVE THIS SAFETY FEATURE AND YOU ARE TOLD TO TURN IT OFF BY DEALERSHIP BECAUSE THEY HAVE NO IDEA ON HOW TO FIX IT?? I DONT EVEN KNOW IF THEY HAVE CONTACTED CHEVROLET TO INQUIRE. DEALERSHIPS WE UTILIZED WERE JOHN JONES FROM CORYDON, IN AND COYLE CHEVROLET LOCATED IN CLARKSVILLE, IN. THIS IS A SAFETY FEATURE BUT HAS BECOME A SAFETY ISSUE. I HAVE DONE RESEARCH ONLINE AND HAVE FOUND COUNTLESS OTHER OWNERS THAT ARE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/4/2014 - CORYDON, IN
ME AND MY WIFE OWN A 2013 CHEVY EQUINOX. WE HAVE HAD THIS VEHICLE FOR ABOUT 18MONTHS AND PURCHASED THIS BRAND NEW. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE FOWARD COLLISION SENSOR ACTIVATED INDEPENDENTLY WITHOUT ANY OTHER VEHICLE WITHIN CLOSE PROXIMITY. MYSELF AND MY WIFE HAVE BOTH HAD THIS PROBLEM. IT HAPPENS TO HER ALL THE TIME SINCE SHE IS THE PRIMARY DRIVER. SHE HAS HAD THIS HAPPEN TO HER OVER 20 TIMES IN THE PAST 1.5 YRS. FORWARD COLLISION WARNING WILL GO OFF WITH NO VEHICLE IN FRONT OF HER AND THEN THE BRAKES WILL MOMENTARILY ENGAGE. I HAVE DROVE THE VEHICLE AND HAD THIS HAPPEN TWICE. I HAVE BEEN IN THE VEHICLE AS A PASSENGER ON (3) OCCASSIONS WHEN THIS HAPPENED. WE HAVE HAD THIS SUV FOR 18MONTHS AND SHE HAS TAKEN IT TO (2) DEALERSHIPS. BOTH STATED THEY HAVE NO IDEA WHAT IS CAUSING THIS AND TOLD US TO DE-ACTIVATE THE SYSTEM. WHY HAVE THIS SAFETY FEATURE AND YOU ARE TOLD TO TURN IT OFF BY DEALERSHIP BECAUSE THEY HAVE NO IDEA ON HOW TO FIX IT?? I DONT EVEN KNOW IF THEY HAVE CONTACTED CHEVROLET TO INQUIRE. DEALERSHIPS WE UTILIZED WERE JOHN JONES FROM CORYDON, IN AND COYLE CHEVROLET LOCATED IN CLARKSVILLE, IN. THIS IS A SAFETY FEATURE BUT HAS BECOME A SAFETY ISSUE. I HAVE DONE RESEARCH ONLINE AND HAVE FOUND COUNTLESS OTHER OWNERS THAT ARE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/21/2014 - REDMOND, OR
I WAS TRAVELING IN MODERATE TRAFFIC A SAFE DISTANT BEHIND OTHER TRAFFIC WHEN THE RED LIGHT FOR COLLISON AVOIDENCE ON THE DASH CAME ON AND THE VEHICLE AUTOMATICALLY BRAKED. THIS HAS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES SINCE WHEN THERE WAS NO TRAFFIC IN FRONT OR ALONG SIDE OF MY VEHICLE. I ADVISED MY DEALER SERVICE TECHNICIAN ABOUT THE INCIDENTS, BUT RECEIVED NO EXPLANATION OF WHY IT WAS OCCURRING. THESE 3 OR 4 INCIDENTS HAVE OCCURRED DURING THE PERIOD OF DRIVING THE VEHICLE 12,000 MILES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/6/2014 - COLONIA, NJ
AT 7PM EST, AS I WAS COMING UP TO MAKE A RIGHT TURN I NOTICED THE SOUND OF MY RADIO SHUT OFF, IN A SPLIT SECOND I LOOKED AT THE DIGITAL DISPLAY AND ALL THE LIGHTS WERE OFF, THEN AS I WAS TURNING THE POWER STEERING SUDDENLY WAS OFF AND I HAD A HARD TIME TURNING THE WHEEL TO THE RIGHT, THE ENGINE COMPLETELY HAD SHUT DOWN, I THEN WAS PULLING OFF TO THE RIGHT SIDE INTO AN EMPTY SPACE FOR SAFETY WHEN MY VEHICLE STARTED ON ITS OWN WITHOUT ANY ATTEMPT TO TURN THE KEY IN THE IGNITION. I AM ABSOLUTELY TERRIFIED. THIS IS A BRAND NEW 4/2013 LEASE WITH ONLY APPROXIMATELY 7600 OR SO MILES NOTED. I AM DEEPLY CONCERNED FOR NOT ONLY MY SAFETY BUT THE SAFETY OF THE GENERAL PUBLIC.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/29/2014 - SAN DIEGO, CA
1ST OCCURRENCE - 7-22-14 -TRAVELING ON THE 8 WEST AT APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH THE "COLLISION AVOIDANCE" SYSTEM ACTIVATED, THE RED LIGHT ON THE DASH ACTIVATED AND IT DEACTIVATED THE CRUISE CONTROL, THERE WAS NOT A CAR WITHIN 200 YARDS. 2ND OCCURRENCE - 7-25-14 - TRAVELING EAST BOUND ON AERO DR. AT A SPEED OF 40 MPH, WITH NO CARS WITHIN 100 YARDS, THE COLLISION AVOIDANCE SYSTEM ACTIVATED, THE RED LIGHT ON THE DASH CAME ON AND IT FELT AS THOUGH THE BRAKES WERE ACTIVATED. 3RD OCCURRENCE - 7-28-14 - GOING TO WORK AT 6:00 AM TRAVELING NORTH BOUND ON MISSION VILLAGE DR. AT APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, COLLISION AVOIDANCE ACTIVATED, RED LIGHT ON THE DASH & BRAKING, NO CARS WERE IN SIGHT AT THAT TIME.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/29/2014 - SAN DIEGO, CA
1ST OCCURRENCE - 7-22-14 -TRAVELING ON THE 8 WEST AT APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH THE "COLLISION AVOIDANCE" SYSTEM ACTIVATED, THE RED LIGHT ON THE DASH ACTIVATED AND IT DEACTIVATED THE CRUISE CONTROL, THERE WAS NOT A CAR WITHIN 200 YARDS. 2ND OCCURRENCE - 7-25-14 - TRAVELING EAST BOUND ON AERO DR. AT A SPEED OF 40 MPH, WITH NO CARS WITHIN 100 YARDS, THE COLLISION AVOIDANCE SYSTEM ACTIVATED, THE RED LIGHT ON THE DASH CAME ON AND IT FELT AS THOUGH THE BRAKES WERE ACTIVATED. 3RD OCCURRENCE - 7-28-14 - GOING TO WORK AT 6:00 AM TRAVELING NORTH BOUND ON MISSION VILLAGE DR. AT APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, COLLISION AVOIDANCE ACTIVATED, RED LIGHT ON THE DASH & BRAKING, NO CARS WERE IN SIGHT AT THAT TIME.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/28/2014 - ROBBINSVILLE, NC
I WAS DRIVING ON A 2 LANE ROAD WITH HEAVY WOODS ON EACH SIDE AND A DEER RAN OUT OF THE WOODS IN FRONT OF ME. I HIT THE DEER WITH THE FRONT OF MY EQUINOX. I IMMEDIATELY SMELLED THE FUMES FROM THE AIR BAG BUT DID NOT SEE WHERE THE AIR BAD DEPLOYED. ONSTAR CAME ON AND ASKED IF I WAS OK, THAT THEY WERE ADVISED MY AIR BAG HAD DEPLOYED. THE IN DASH SENSOR IN MY CAR ALSO ALERTED THAT THE AIR BAG HAD BEEN DEPLOYED. MY STEERING WHEEL APPEARED NORMAL, BUT A SMALL GAP AROUND THE AIR BAG COVER. IT APPEARS THAT MY AIR BAG HAD ATTEMPTED TO DEPLOY BUT THE BAG ITSELF DID NOT INFLATE. THE DAMAGE WAS FILLED ON INSURANCE AND GM WAS NOTIFIED OF THE INCIDENT DUE TO THE FACT THAT MY AIR BAG DID NOT FUNCTION CORRECTLY. THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN TAKEN TO THE DEALERSHIP WHERE IT WAS PURCHASED TO HAVE THE AIR BAG & SENSORS REPLACED. GM DID OPEN A CLAIM WITH MY COMPLAINT AND SAID THAT IT WOULD BE 20 TO 30 DAYS FOR AN INVESTIGATION TO BE DONE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds