Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 85 complaints filed for the 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Seat Belts (2) Steering (3) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (1) Structure (5) Visibility (3)
Electrical System (24) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes (7) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (17)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (8) Wheels (2)
Engine (14) Power Train (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY/WIPER

6/8/2016 - CENTEREACH, NY
I WAS DRIVING ON I-495 IN MA ON A RAINY SUNDAY AFTERNOON. WHEN MY FRONT WINDSHIELD WIPERS STOPPED TO MY LEFT ON THE WINDSHIELD. I COULD HEAR THE MOTOR TRYING TO MOVE THE WIPERS TO NO AVAIL. I PULLED OVER TO THE SHOULDER, SHUT OFF THE ENGINE AND MOVED THE WIPERS INTO THE DOWN POSITION. WHEN I RE-ENTERED MY VEHICLE, I TURNED ON THE ENGINE AND THEN TURNED ON THE WIPERS. NO GOOD. IN BETWEEN RAIN STORMS I DROVE TO A REST STOP ON I-90 (MASSACHUSETTS TURNPIKE) IN MA WHERE I REMAINED FOR 2 HOURS DURING HEAVY DOWNPOURS. I CALLED AAA BUT THEY REFERRED ME TO STATE TROOPERS SINCE AAA IS NOT ALLOWED ON THE TURNPIKE. INSTEAD OF BOTHERING THE TROOPERS, I DROVE AS FAR AS I COULD IN BETWEEN RAIN STORMS WHICH GOT ME TO CT, WHERE I STAYED OVERNIGHT AT A HOTEL. MY HOME IS IN ANOTHER STATE. WHEN I FINALLY GOT TO THE CHEVY DEALERSHIP, THEY HAD TO KEEP THE VEHICLE OVERNIGHT. IT TURNED OUT TO BE THE WIPER TRANSMISSION CONKED OUT. IT WAS COVERED BY MY EXTENDED WARRANTY, HOWEVER, I WONDER WHY THERE HAS BEEN NO BULLETINS OR RECALLS FOR THIS ISSUE. DURING INTERNET SEARCHES INCLUDING ON THIS WEBSITE, I FOUND MULTIPLE INCIDENCES OF THIS TYPE. SAFETY IS AT STAKE AND THIS SHOULD BE ADDRESSED ACCORDINGLY BY THE VEHICLE MAKER/WIPER TRANSMISSION MANUFACTURER. I AM BLESSED TO BE SAFE BUT SOMEDAY SOMEONE WON'T BE... PLEASE ADDRESS THE SITUATION BEFORE SOMEDAY ARRIVES. THANK YOU.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/7/2016 - WASHINGTON, DC
MY ENGINE CUT OFF TWICE WHILE DRIVING IN A HIGH TRAFFIC AREA. THIS IS EXTREMELY SCARY AND CERTAINLY SHOULD NOT BE HAPPENING TO A CAR WITH LESS THAN 50K MILES ON IT. I BOUGHT THE TRUCK TO HAVE PIECE OF MIND ONLY TO FIND OUT THIS IS A COMMON COMPLAINT WITH THIS MODEL. IT NEEDS TO BE RECALLED.

View Details

ENGINE

5/25/2016 - EASLEY, SC
THIS JUST STARTED 2 DAYS AGO AT 51K MILES. THE VEHICLE WILL DIE AT A SLOW SPEED OR AT IDLE. IT HAS HAPPENED ANYWHERE FROM THE DRIVE-THRU TO THE MIDDLE OF THE INTERSTATE IN TRAFFIC.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

5/16/2016 - CLEARFIELD, PA
TRAVELING ON INTERSTATE 80. DOWNPOUR STARTED - WIPERS WERE ON AND SUDDENLY STOPPED IN UP POSITION. BACK WIPERS WERE FINE. TRIED TO TURN OFF, TURN UP SPEED AND TURN DOWN SPEED - NO LUCK. BLINDING RAIN SURROUNDED BY TRACTOR TRAILERS IS NOT THE PLACE I WANT TO EVER BE AGAIN WHEN THIS HAPPENS. THE WIPER MOTOR CONTINUES TO RUN - I'VE NEVER HEARD OF THIS HAPPENING TO ANYONE BEFORE!

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

5/4/2016 - HOMESTEAD, FL
THE INCIDENT OCCURRED WHILE DRIVING ON THE FL TURNPIKE AT MIDNIGHT IN A TORRENTIAL DOWN POUR. THE WIPERS WERE ON & THEN THEY JUST STOPPED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE WINDSHIELD! VERY SCARY NEARLY DROVE OFF THE OVERPASS. WHEN YOU TURN THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS OFF AND ON YOU CAN HEAR THE MOTOR RUNNING BUT THE WIPERS JUST FALL FLAT. TURNS OUT IT'S A PLASTIC PIECE IN THE LINKAGE THAT FAILS. DEALERSHIP WANTS $350 TO REPAIR. WHEN I CALLED CHEVROLET THEY SAID THIS WAS NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY. I BOUGHT THE VEHICLE YEAR AND A HALF AGO 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX GM CERTIFIED USED VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE HAS 57,000 MILES ON IT.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

5/1/2016 - TOMS RIVER, NJ
I HAVE A NEWLY PURCHASED 2013 EQUINOX WHICH MY WIFE DRIVES AND THE WIPERS BROKE ON IT WHILE DRIVING ON THE NJ PARKWAY IN THE MIDDLE OF A RAINSTORM AND WAS LUCKY SHE DID NOT GET INTO A SERIOUS ACCIDENT WITH OUR DAUGHTER. APPARENTLY THIS PROBLEM EXISTS ON MANY OTHER EQUINOX'S AROUND THE SAME AGE WITH A SIMPLE GOOGLE SEARCH. I SEE THIS AS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE BEING IT HAPPENED WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY WHEN MY WIFE PUT HER WIPERS ON HIGH SINCE IT WAS RAINING SO HARD AND SCARED TO DEATH WHEN IT HAPPENED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/23/2016 - CANAL WINCHESTER, OH
IN THE NORMAL COURSE OF STREET DRIVING, "SERVICE AIRBAG" WITH SCREWDRIVER ICON APPEARS AND DISSAPEARS. MECHANICS CANNOT IDENTIFY PROBLEM. WHILE DRIVING IN THE RAIN, WIPERS STOPPED. MOTOR CONTINUED RUNNING. WINDSHIELD WIPERS TRANSMISSION BROKEN. DASHBOARD LIGHTS RANDOMLY DIM AND BRIGHTEN.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

4/23/2016 - CANAL WINCHESTER, OH
IN THE NORMAL COURSE OF STREET DRIVING, "SERVICE AIRBAG" WITH SCREWDRIVER ICON APPEARS AND DISSAPEARS. MECHANICS CANNOT IDENTIFY PROBLEM. WHILE DRIVING IN THE RAIN, WIPERS STOPPED. MOTOR CONTINUED RUNNING. WINDSHIELD WIPERS TRANSMISSION BROKEN. DASHBOARD LIGHTS RANDOMLY DIM AND BRIGHTEN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/23/2016 - CANAL WINCHESTER, OH
IN THE NORMAL COURSE OF STREET DRIVING, "SERVICE AIRBAG" WITH SCREWDRIVER ICON APPEARS AND DISSAPEARS. MECHANICS CANNOT IDENTIFY PROBLEM. WHILE DRIVING IN THE RAIN, WIPERS STOPPED. MOTOR CONTINUED RUNNING. WINDSHIELD WIPERS TRANSMISSION BROKEN. DASHBOARD LIGHTS RANDOMLY DIM AND BRIGHTEN.

View Details

ENGINE

4/12/2016 - COLUMBUS, TX
16 DAYS AFTER AN OIL CHANGE, DRIVING ON FREEWAY FEEDER ROAD, ENGINE STARTED KNOCKING AN HAD NOTICEABLE POWER LOSS, ENGINE HAS STARTED BURNING 3+ QUARTS OF OIL A WEEK. I AM CONCERNED IT COULD CAUSE THE ENGINE TO SEIZE WHILE DRIVING. ALL OIL CHANGES WERE DONE ON SCHEDULE AT THE DEALERSHIP.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds