Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 38 complaints filed for the 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Engine (6) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Steering (2) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Communications (1) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Power Train (4) Structure (5) Visibility (2)
Electrical System (10) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (1) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (3)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes (6) Unknown Or Other (5) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/21/2014 - REDMOND, OR
I WAS TRAVELING IN MODERATE TRAFFIC A SAFE DISTANT BEHIND OTHER TRAFFIC WHEN THE RED LIGHT FOR COLLISON AVOIDENCE ON THE DASH CAME ON AND THE VEHICLE AUTOMATICALLY BRAKED. THIS HAS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES SINCE WHEN THERE WAS NO TRAFFIC IN FRONT OR ALONG SIDE OF MY VEHICLE. I ADVISED MY DEALER SERVICE TECHNICIAN ABOUT THE INCIDENTS, BUT RECEIVED NO EXPLANATION OF WHY IT WAS OCCURRING. THESE 3 OR 4 INCIDENTS HAVE OCCURRED DURING THE PERIOD OF DRIVING THE VEHICLE 12,000 MILES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/6/2014 - COLONIA, NJ
AT 7PM EST, AS I WAS COMING UP TO MAKE A RIGHT TURN I NOTICED THE SOUND OF MY RADIO SHUT OFF, IN A SPLIT SECOND I LOOKED AT THE DIGITAL DISPLAY AND ALL THE LIGHTS WERE OFF, THEN AS I WAS TURNING THE POWER STEERING SUDDENLY WAS OFF AND I HAD A HARD TIME TURNING THE WHEEL TO THE RIGHT, THE ENGINE COMPLETELY HAD SHUT DOWN, I THEN WAS PULLING OFF TO THE RIGHT SIDE INTO AN EMPTY SPACE FOR SAFETY WHEN MY VEHICLE STARTED ON ITS OWN WITHOUT ANY ATTEMPT TO TURN THE KEY IN THE IGNITION. I AM ABSOLUTELY TERRIFIED. THIS IS A BRAND NEW 4/2013 LEASE WITH ONLY APPROXIMATELY 7600 OR SO MILES NOTED. I AM DEEPLY CONCERNED FOR NOT ONLY MY SAFETY BUT THE SAFETY OF THE GENERAL PUBLIC.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/29/2014 - SAN DIEGO, CA
1ST OCCURRENCE - 7-22-14 -TRAVELING ON THE 8 WEST AT APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH THE "COLLISION AVOIDANCE" SYSTEM ACTIVATED, THE RED LIGHT ON THE DASH ACTIVATED AND IT DEACTIVATED THE CRUISE CONTROL, THERE WAS NOT A CAR WITHIN 200 YARDS. 2ND OCCURRENCE - 7-25-14 - TRAVELING EAST BOUND ON AERO DR. AT A SPEED OF 40 MPH, WITH NO CARS WITHIN 100 YARDS, THE COLLISION AVOIDANCE SYSTEM ACTIVATED, THE RED LIGHT ON THE DASH CAME ON AND IT FELT AS THOUGH THE BRAKES WERE ACTIVATED. 3RD OCCURRENCE - 7-28-14 - GOING TO WORK AT 6:00 AM TRAVELING NORTH BOUND ON MISSION VILLAGE DR. AT APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, COLLISION AVOIDANCE ACTIVATED, RED LIGHT ON THE DASH & BRAKING, NO CARS WERE IN SIGHT AT THAT TIME.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/29/2014 - SAN DIEGO, CA
1ST OCCURRENCE - 7-22-14 -TRAVELING ON THE 8 WEST AT APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH THE "COLLISION AVOIDANCE" SYSTEM ACTIVATED, THE RED LIGHT ON THE DASH ACTIVATED AND IT DEACTIVATED THE CRUISE CONTROL, THERE WAS NOT A CAR WITHIN 200 YARDS. 2ND OCCURRENCE - 7-25-14 - TRAVELING EAST BOUND ON AERO DR. AT A SPEED OF 40 MPH, WITH NO CARS WITHIN 100 YARDS, THE COLLISION AVOIDANCE SYSTEM ACTIVATED, THE RED LIGHT ON THE DASH CAME ON AND IT FELT AS THOUGH THE BRAKES WERE ACTIVATED. 3RD OCCURRENCE - 7-28-14 - GOING TO WORK AT 6:00 AM TRAVELING NORTH BOUND ON MISSION VILLAGE DR. AT APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, COLLISION AVOIDANCE ACTIVATED, RED LIGHT ON THE DASH & BRAKING, NO CARS WERE IN SIGHT AT THAT TIME.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/28/2014 - ROBBINSVILLE, NC
I WAS DRIVING ON A 2 LANE ROAD WITH HEAVY WOODS ON EACH SIDE AND A DEER RAN OUT OF THE WOODS IN FRONT OF ME. I HIT THE DEER WITH THE FRONT OF MY EQUINOX. I IMMEDIATELY SMELLED THE FUMES FROM THE AIR BAG BUT DID NOT SEE WHERE THE AIR BAD DEPLOYED. ONSTAR CAME ON AND ASKED IF I WAS OK, THAT THEY WERE ADVISED MY AIR BAG HAD DEPLOYED. THE IN DASH SENSOR IN MY CAR ALSO ALERTED THAT THE AIR BAG HAD BEEN DEPLOYED. MY STEERING WHEEL APPEARED NORMAL, BUT A SMALL GAP AROUND THE AIR BAG COVER. IT APPEARS THAT MY AIR BAG HAD ATTEMPTED TO DEPLOY BUT THE BAG ITSELF DID NOT INFLATE. THE DAMAGE WAS FILLED ON INSURANCE AND GM WAS NOTIFIED OF THE INCIDENT DUE TO THE FACT THAT MY AIR BAG DID NOT FUNCTION CORRECTLY. THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN TAKEN TO THE DEALERSHIP WHERE IT WAS PURCHASED TO HAVE THE AIR BAG & SENSORS REPLACED. GM DID OPEN A CLAIM WITH MY COMPLAINT AND SAID THAT IT WOULD BE 20 TO 30 DAYS FOR AN INVESTIGATION TO BE DONE.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

7/28/2014 - ROBBINSVILLE, NC
I WAS DRIVING ON A 2 LANE ROAD WITH HEAVY WOODS ON EACH SIDE AND A DEER RAN OUT OF THE WOODS IN FRONT OF ME. I HIT THE DEER WITH THE FRONT OF MY EQUINOX. I IMMEDIATELY SMELLED THE FUMES FROM THE AIR BAG BUT DID NOT SEE WHERE THE AIR BAD DEPLOYED. ONSTAR CAME ON AND ASKED IF I WAS OK, THAT THEY WERE ADVISED MY AIR BAG HAD DEPLOYED. THE IN DASH SENSOR IN MY CAR ALSO ALERTED THAT THE AIR BAG HAD BEEN DEPLOYED. MY STEERING WHEEL APPEARED NORMAL, BUT A SMALL GAP AROUND THE AIR BAG COVER. IT APPEARS THAT MY AIR BAG HAD ATTEMPTED TO DEPLOY BUT THE BAG ITSELF DID NOT INFLATE. THE DAMAGE WAS FILLED ON INSURANCE AND GM WAS NOTIFIED OF THE INCIDENT DUE TO THE FACT THAT MY AIR BAG DID NOT FUNCTION CORRECTLY. THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN TAKEN TO THE DEALERSHIP WHERE IT WAS PURCHASED TO HAVE THE AIR BAG & SENSORS REPLACED. GM DID OPEN A CLAIM WITH MY COMPLAINT AND SAID THAT IT WOULD BE 20 TO 30 DAYS FOR AN INVESTIGATION TO BE DONE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/28/2014 - ROBBINSVILLE, NC
I WAS DRIVING ON A 2 LANE ROAD WITH HEAVY WOODS ON EACH SIDE AND A DEER RAN OUT OF THE WOODS IN FRONT OF ME. I HIT THE DEER WITH THE FRONT OF MY EQUINOX. I IMMEDIATELY SMELLED THE FUMES FROM THE AIR BAG BUT DID NOT SEE WHERE THE AIR BAD DEPLOYED. ONSTAR CAME ON AND ASKED IF I WAS OK, THAT THEY WERE ADVISED MY AIR BAG HAD DEPLOYED. THE IN DASH SENSOR IN MY CAR ALSO ALERTED THAT THE AIR BAG HAD BEEN DEPLOYED. MY STEERING WHEEL APPEARED NORMAL, BUT A SMALL GAP AROUND THE AIR BAG COVER. IT APPEARS THAT MY AIR BAG HAD ATTEMPTED TO DEPLOY BUT THE BAG ITSELF DID NOT INFLATE. THE DAMAGE WAS FILLED ON INSURANCE AND GM WAS NOTIFIED OF THE INCIDENT DUE TO THE FACT THAT MY AIR BAG DID NOT FUNCTION CORRECTLY. THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN TAKEN TO THE DEALERSHIP WHERE IT WAS PURCHASED TO HAVE THE AIR BAG & SENSORS REPLACED. GM DID OPEN A CLAIM WITH MY COMPLAINT AND SAID THAT IT WOULD BE 20 TO 30 DAYS FOR AN INVESTIGATION TO BE DONE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/24/2014 - WASHINGTON, DC
BRAKES SQUEAL REALLY BAD WHEN BACKING UP BUT DEALERSHIP SAYS THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE BRAKES. WATER SEEMS TO BE LEAKING INTO THE CAR ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/24/2014 - WASHINGTON, DC
BRAKES SQUEAL REALLY BAD WHEN BACKING UP BUT DEALERSHIP SAYS THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE BRAKES. WATER SEEMS TO BE LEAKING INTO THE CAR ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/29/2014 - WASHINGTON, DC
BRAKES SQUEAL REALLY BAD WHEN BACKING UP BUT DEALERSHIP SAYS THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE BRAKES. WATER SEEMS TO BE LEAKING INTO THE CAR ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds