Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 99 complaints filed for the 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Seat Belts (3) Steering (3) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (2) Structure (6) Visibility (3)
Electrical System (27) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes (7) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (22)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (9) Wheels (2)
Engine (19) Power Train (12)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

8/19/2016 - NICEVILLE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ENGINE FAILED SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO STATED THAT THE CAMSHAFT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CAMSHAFT WAS REPLACED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE WAS NOT CORRECTED AND THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO STALL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 64,823.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

8/18/2016 - DALLAS, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTIFICATION FOR THE VISIBILITY/WIPER; HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER WAS UNKNOWN. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/8/2016 - ANDOVER, MA
VEHICLE SHUTS OFF WHILE IN DRIVE , LOOSING ALL POWER TO THROTTLE , POWER STEERING AND ALL OTHER COMPONENTS OF VEHICLE. THIS HAS BEGUN HAPPENING OVER THE LAST THREE DAYS AFTER HAVING THE VEHICLE FOR ONLY THREE MONTHS. THE VEHICLE CURRENTLY HAS 39,000 MILES ON IT . TODAY WHILE TRAVELING 70 MPH ON THE HIGHWAY THE CAR SHUT OFF CAUSING ME TO HAVE TO FIGHT THE CARS STEERING TO SAFELY BRING IT TO A COMPLETE STOP IN THE BREAKDOWN LANE. I HAD TO PUT THE CAR INTO PARK REMOVE THE KEY FROM THE IGNITION AND THEN RE INSERT KEY AND RE START THE VEHICLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/8/2016 - ANDOVER, MA
VEHICLE SHUTS OFF WHILE IN DRIVE , LOOSING ALL POWER TO THROTTLE , POWER STEERING AND ALL OTHER COMPONENTS OF VEHICLE. THIS HAS BEGUN HAPPENING OVER THE LAST THREE DAYS AFTER HAVING THE VEHICLE FOR ONLY THREE MONTHS. THE VEHICLE CURRENTLY HAS 39,000 MILES ON IT . TODAY WHILE TRAVELING 70 MPH ON THE HIGHWAY THE CAR SHUT OFF CAUSING ME TO HAVE TO FIGHT THE CARS STEERING TO SAFELY BRING IT TO A COMPLETE STOP IN THE BREAKDOWN LANE. I HAD TO PUT THE CAR INTO PARK REMOVE THE KEY FROM THE IGNITION AND THEN RE INSERT KEY AND RE START THE VEHICLE.

View Details

ENGINE

8/8/2016 - ANDOVER, MA
VEHICLE SHUTS OFF WHILE IN DRIVE , LOOSING ALL POWER TO THROTTLE , POWER STEERING AND ALL OTHER COMPONENTS OF VEHICLE. THIS HAS BEGUN HAPPENING OVER THE LAST THREE DAYS AFTER HAVING THE VEHICLE FOR ONLY THREE MONTHS. THE VEHICLE CURRENTLY HAS 39,000 MILES ON IT . TODAY WHILE TRAVELING 70 MPH ON THE HIGHWAY THE CAR SHUT OFF CAUSING ME TO HAVE TO FIGHT THE CARS STEERING TO SAFELY BRING IT TO A COMPLETE STOP IN THE BREAKDOWN LANE. I HAD TO PUT THE CAR INTO PARK REMOVE THE KEY FROM THE IGNITION AND THEN RE INSERT KEY AND RE START THE VEHICLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/8/2016 - TALLAHASSEE, FL
I HAVE EXPERIENCED YEARS LONG RADIO UNIT COMPLICATIONS WITH MY CHEVY EQUINOX (2013) SINCE PURCHASED BRAND-NEW IN SEPTEMBER OF 2013. I HAVE PATIENTLY DONE EVERYTHING I HAVE BEEN INSTRUCTED TO DO (BROUGHT IT IN-AND-OUT FOR SERVICE/REPAIRS, REPORTED IT TO GM, TALKED WITH SERVICE MANAGERS, HAD A TECHNICIAN BROUGHT IN, YOU NAME IT...). THE RADIO UNIT/ELECTRICAL SYSTEM KEEPS FAILING, SO TO SAY. THE RADIO SCREEN WILL BLACK OUT WHILE DRIVING, THE SCREEN WILL GO FUZZY LIKE AN OLD TUBE-TV, THE VOLUME WILL NOT ABLE TO BE TURNED UP OR DOWN FROM STEERING WHEEL OR RADIO UNIT, THE BACK-UP CAMERA SCREEN CUTS OUT WHILE BACKING UP OR STAYS IN BACKUP MOVE WHILE DRIVING FORWARD, AND THE LIST GOES ON. THE INTERRUPTIONS ARE DANGEROUS AND DISTRACTING, TO SAY THE LEAST. HERE I AM ALMOST THREE YEARS INTO IT (THE PROBLEMS STARTED SHORTLY AFTER PURCHASING THE VEHICLE) TWO DRAINED BATTERIES, TONS OF SERVICE VISITS, A NEW RADIO UNIT, AND COUNTLESS HOURS WASTED WITH NOTHING TO SHOW BUT CONTINUED INTERRUPTION IN THE FUNCTION OF MY CAR RADIO UNIT. I EVEN BEGAN CATCHING THE INTERRUPTIONS ON VIDEO ON MY PHONE AND PROVIDING THEM TO THE SERVICE MANAGER. THEY HAVE AMPLE EVIDENCE OF THE PROBLEMS REPORTED (ALTHOUGH THEY CAN+T DUPLICATE IT SO THEY SAY THERE IS NOTHING THAT CAN BE DONE).

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

8/4/2016 - YOUNGSVILLE, NC
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE EXPRESSWAY AT 60MPH IN POURING RAIN. I HEARD A LOUD BAM UNDER MY HOOD AND THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS ALMOST FLEW OFF THE CAR. THEY WERE HANGING OFF ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE. I WAS NOT FAR FROM AN OVERPASS SO DROVE ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD TO IT TO WAIT FOR IT SLOW DOWN BUT ENDED UP HAVING TO DRIVE TO THE NEAREST ADVANCE AUTO IN HOPES OF REPAIR. THIS WAS SO DANGEROUS. I WAS ON A 70MPH EXPRESSWAY DURING EVENING RUSH HOUR IN POURING RAIN. I HAD MY SON WITH ME. WE COULD HAVE BEEN KILLED. WINDSHIELD WIPERS SERVE A VERY IMPORTANT PURPOSE AND SHOULD NEVER BE INSTALLED WITH PLASTIC. SOMETHING SHOULD BE DONE BEFORE SOMEONE IS KILLED. THIS SEEMS TO BE AN EPIDEMIC WITH THE YEAR, MAKE & MODEL OF THE VEHICLE HAPPENING ON MANY OF THEM AT THE SAME TIME. PLEASE DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/1/2016 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
I WAS INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT AND WAS HIT TWICE FROM BEHIND. THE CHEMICAL FROM THE SIDE AIRBAG WAS RELEASED BUT THE AIRBAG DID NOT DEPLOY. THE CHEMICAL WAS A FINE MIST OR LIGHT SMOKE. THE SEAT BELT LOCKED THE FIRST TIME I WAS HIT. I AM NOT SURE WHEN THE AIRBAG MIST OCCURRED (? WITH THE FIRST OR SECOND HIT) THEY HAPPENED WITHIN SECONDS OF EACH OTHER. A "SERVICE AIRBAG" WARNING LIGHT IS NOW ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE IS GOING IN FOR REPAIRS AS A RESULT OF THE CRASH AND THIS WILL BE ADDRESSED. I JUST WANTED TO REPORT THIS. I HAVE ALSO NOTIFIED CHEVROLET DIRECTLY.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

7/28/2016 - LANDING, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, A LOUD ABNORMAL TICKING SOUND EMITTED FROM THE VEHICLE WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THERE WAS NO OIL IN THE VEHICLE. THE TECHNICIAN PERFORMED AN OIL CHANGE AND COMPRESSION TEST EVERY 1,000 MILES. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE PISTON IN THE ENGINE FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS BURNING OIL RAPIDLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. ON ANOTHER OCCASION, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO SHIFT GEARS PROPERLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE TRANSMISSION WAS REPAIRED WITH UNKNOWN PARTS. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS FAILED TO OPERATE INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 33,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/28/2016 - LANDING, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, A LOUD ABNORMAL TICKING SOUND EMITTED FROM THE VEHICLE WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THERE WAS NO OIL IN THE VEHICLE. THE TECHNICIAN PERFORMED AN OIL CHANGE AND COMPRESSION TEST EVERY 1,000 MILES. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE PISTON IN THE ENGINE FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS BURNING OIL RAPIDLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. ON ANOTHER OCCASION, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO SHIFT GEARS PROPERLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE TRANSMISSION WAS REPAIRED WITH UNKNOWN PARTS. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS FAILED TO OPERATE INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 33,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds