Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 297 complaints filed for the 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (17)
Communications (1) Equipment (1) Power Train (25) Steering (11) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electrical System (36) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (5) Structure (7) Visibility (15)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Forward Collision Avoidance (1) Seats (2) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (119)
Engine (72) Fuel Propulsion System (12) Service Brakes (7) Tires (4) Wheels (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 38
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/4/2018 - WESTLAKE, OH
THE INFOTAINMENT RADIO SYSTEM FAILED. THIS CONTROLS NOT ONLY THE RADIO BUT THE BACKUP CAMERA AND THE HANDS FREE CALLING. BEEN GOOGLING AND IT APPEARS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM THAT IS NOT BEING RESOLVED. I CALLED GM AND THEY PUT ME WITH GM INFOTAINMENT TEAM AND THEY ACKNOWLEDGED THAT THERE IS A PROBLEM BUT IT IS NOT A RECALL ITEM AT THIS TIME. NOTHING IS BEING DONE AND THE REPAIRS ARE $1200.00

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/4/2018 - WESTLAKE, OH
THE INFOTAINMENT RADIO SYSTEM FAILED. THIS CONTROLS NOT ONLY THE RADIO BUT THE BACKUP CAMERA AND THE HANDS FREE CALLING. BEEN GOOGLING AND IT APPEARS TO BE A COMMON PROBLEM THAT IS NOT BEING RESOLVED. I CALLED GM AND THEY PUT ME WITH GM INFOTAINMENT TEAM AND THEY ACKNOWLEDGED THAT THERE IS A PROBLEM BUT IT IS NOT A RECALL ITEM AT THIS TIME. NOTHING IS BEING DONE AND THE REPAIRS ARE $1200.00

View Details

ENGINE

5/16/2018 - RALEIGH, NC
THE VEHICLE USES AN EXCESSIVE AMOUNT OF OIL WHICH HAS RUINED THE PISTONS AND CYLINDERS. IT IS ONLY A MATTER OF TIME BEFORE THE ENGINE DIES WHILE DRIVING. IT HAS HAD PROBLEMS WITH STALLING OUT WHILE IDLE OR STARTING TO GO DUE TO THIS ISSUE AS WELL AS ROUGH IDLING. IT IS THE SAME ISSUE THE 2011 AND 2012 MODELS HAD AND THEY RECEIVED A REPLACEMENT/RECALL.

View Details

ENGINE

5/12/2018 - FRIEND, NE
WHILE DRIVING TO WORK (APPROX. 50 MILES) THE ENGINE JUST STOPPED WHILE MAKING A LEFT TURN ACROSS TRAFFIC LEAVING ME IN A POSITION OF HAVING TO PUSH IT OUT OF TRAFFIC ON A MAJOR STREET TO HELP AVOID CAUSING AN ACCIDENT/ROAD CLOSURE DELAY. JUST THANKFUL THIS DID NOT HAPPEN EARLIER IN THE COMMUTE ON THE INTERSTATE! AFTER HAVING IT TOWED AND SPEAKING WITH 6 MECHANICS AND 3 DEALERSHIPS, WE WERE TOLD BY EVERY ONE OF THEM THAT THESE ENGINES ARE KNOWN FOR THIS PROBLEM AND REBUILT ENGINES ARE SO BACKORDERED BECAUSE OF THIS PROBLEM, THAT WE WERE LOOKING AT LEAST 4-6 WEEKS MINIMUM TO TRY AND REPLACE IT AT A COST OF $7600 OUT OF POCKET AND STILL HAVE 2 YEARS TO PAY THE CAR OFF BEFORE THIS EVEN HAPPENED AND THERE WAS NO RECALL OR GM ASSSTANCE WITH THIS REPAIR...UNBELIEVABLE! IF THIS WOULD HAVE HAPPENED ON THE INTERSTATE OR HIGHWAY, IT HAD POTENTIAL FOR A MAJOR ACCIDENT, BECAUSE ONCE THE CAR SHUT OFF, THE POWER STEERING AND EVERYTHING ALSO WENT AS WELL!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/7/2018 - WESTERVILLE, OH
EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION. GM COVERED REPAIRS FOR 2010-2012 MODELS BUT NOT 2013 DESPITE CONTINUED PROBLEMS AND COMPLAINTS. WENT THROUGH GM PROCESS FOR OIL CONSUMPTION TESTING AND VERIFIED THIS IS AN ISSUE IN THIS VEHICLE YET THEY REFUSE TO OFFER ANY KIND OF ASSISTANCE FOR REPAIRS. PROBLEM BEGAN JANUARY OF 2018, LESS THAN 3 MONTHS OUT OF WARRANTY AND ONLY 630000 MILES. WHEN TAKEN TO HAVE SERVICED WAS TOLD 3.5 QUARTS LOW IN OIL YET NO LOW OIL INDICATOR LIGHT EVER CAME ON AND CAM SENSORS HAD TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

ENGINE

5/5/2018 - ARLINGTON, TX
I HAD MY VEHICLE OIL CHANGE ON APRIL 8, 2018 ,AS OF APRIL 30, 2018 THERE WAS NO OIL IN THE ENGINE NO OIL ON THE GROUND MY SENSOR INSIDE THE VEHICLE STATED I HAD OVER 50% OF OIL LEFT COULD NOT GET OVER 35 MPH THE CAR WAS SHAKING IMMENSELY AND RATTLING AS WELL WHEN YOU STARTED THE CAR IT SOUNDED LIKE IT WAS GOING TO EXPLODE. I COULD NOT GET ON THE HIGHWAY I HAD TO STAY IN THE BACK ROADS

View Details

STEERING

5/5/2018 - ARLINGTON, TX
I HAD MY VEHICLE OIL CHANGE ON APRIL 8, 2018 ,AS OF APRIL 30, 2018 THERE WAS NO OIL IN THE ENGINE NO OIL ON THE GROUND MY SENSOR INSIDE THE VEHICLE STATED I HAD OVER 50% OF OIL LEFT COULD NOT GET OVER 35 MPH THE CAR WAS SHAKING IMMENSELY AND RATTLING AS WELL WHEN YOU STARTED THE CAR IT SOUNDED LIKE IT WAS GOING TO EXPLODE. I COULD NOT GET ON THE HIGHWAY I HAD TO STAY IN THE BACK ROADS

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/5/2018 - ARLINGTON, TX
I HAD MY VEHICLE OIL CHANGE ON APRIL 8, 2018 ,AS OF APRIL 30, 2018 THERE WAS NO OIL IN THE ENGINE NO OIL ON THE GROUND MY SENSOR INSIDE THE VEHICLE STATED I HAD OVER 50% OF OIL LEFT COULD NOT GET OVER 35 MPH THE CAR WAS SHAKING IMMENSELY AND RATTLING AS WELL WHEN YOU STARTED THE CAR IT SOUNDED LIKE IT WAS GOING TO EXPLODE. I COULD NOT GET ON THE HIGHWAY I HAD TO STAY IN THE BACK ROADS

View Details

ENGINE

5/4/2018 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
BURNS THROUGH OIL! I AM CONSTANTLY HAVING TO KEEP AN EYE ON THE OIL LEVEL WAY BEFORE IT IS DUE FOR AN OIL CHANGE. ALSO, DIES IF YOU ARE SLOWLY TAKING OFF. I WAS TOLD DUE TO OIL ISSUE THIS IS THE RESULT. WHY IS THERE NOT A RECALL ON OIL ISSUES. I HAVE SEEN TO MANY COMPLAINTS NOT TO LOOK INTO IT MORE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/4/2018 - BASOM, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE SERVICE ENGINE AND STABILITY WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. WHILE DRIVING AT UNKNOWN SPEEDS, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, BUT FAILED TO RESPOND. THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL TRAVELED TO THE FLOORBOARD AND THE VEHICLE LOST POWER. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THERE WAS CARBON BUILD UP WITHIN THE AIR PORT AND EXHAUST MANIFOLD, AND A HIGHER GRADE OF FUEL WAS NEEDED. THE LOCAL DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND OPENED CASE NUMBER: 8-4115305233. THE CONTACT WAS REFERRED TO NHTSA. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 114,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 38
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds