Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 34 complaints filed for the 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Engine (6) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (10) Exterior Lighting (2) Power Train (4) Structure (4) Visibility Wiper (3)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes (4) Tires (3) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  ... 5
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

6/29/2014 - WASHINGTON, DC
BRAKES SQUEAL REALLY BAD WHEN BACKING UP BUT DEALERSHIP SAYS THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE BRAKES. WATER SEEMS TO BE LEAKING INTO THE CAR ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/29/2014 - WASHINGTON, DC
BRAKES SQUEAL REALLY BAD WHEN BACKING UP BUT DEALERSHIP SAYS THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE BRAKES. WATER SEEMS TO BE LEAKING INTO THE CAR ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE.

View Details

ENGINE

5/31/2014 - MASON, OH
I WAS DRIVING ON I-71N AROUND 3:30 ON MY WAY HOME DURING THE SPEED LIMIT OF 65 WHEN ALL OF A SUDDEN THE DISPLAY SHOW AN ENGINE LIGHT AND A MESSAGE SAYING REDUCING POWER MODE AND THE SPEED DROP TO 20 EVEN THOUGH I HAND MY FOOT ON THE GAS ALL THE WAY TO THE FLOOR. LUCKILY I HAD JUST MOVE LANE FROM IN FRONT OF A 18 WHEELER AND WAS ABLE TO PULL OVER STILL IN DANGER BECAUSE THE LANE I MOVED TO STILL HAD TRAFFIC COMING. I TURN THE CAR OFF SINCE IT WOULD NOT GO AND SIT FOR ABOUT 5 MINUTES. I STARTED IT UP AND WAS ABLE TO MAKE IT TO THE DEALER SERVICE. THEY FOUND THAT FOLLOWING CODE P2101, P2119. THEY PERFORM DIAGNOSTIC TEST ALL WIRING TO THROTTLE POSITION SENSOR TEST OK REPLACE THROTTLE BODY ASSEMBLY AND RECHECK FAULTS, PASSED. WHAT THEY TOLD ME IS THAT THE SENSOR DID NOT KNOW I WAS GIVING THE ENGINE GAS SO IT REDUCE THE ENGINE SPEED. THIS IS SCARY TO KNOW IT COULD HAPPEN AND I COULD HAVE BEEN INJURED OR EVEN KILL. I WAS LUCKY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/26/2014 - LAKEWOOD, NJ
I WAS DOING APPROX. 25 MPH AND WENT TO PRESS DOWN ON THE ACCERALATOR THE VEHICLE HESITATED THEN TOOK OFF VERY FAST AND RAPID SCARED MY WIFE AND I ALMOST HIT THE VEHICLE THAT I WAS TRYING TO PASS THE VEHICLE NOW SITS IN MY GARAGE AND WILL NOT DRIVE THE VEHICLE VERY AFRAID EITHER MYSELF OR SOMEONE ELSE IS GOING TO GET KILLED, THIS IS NOT THE FIRST TIME DURING THE WEEK OF 5-22-2014 IT HAPPENED

View Details

ENGINE

5/26/2014 - LAKEWOOD, NJ
I WAS DOING APPROX. 25 MPH AND WENT TO PRESS DOWN ON THE ACCERALATOR THE VEHICLE HESITATED THEN TOOK OFF VERY FAST AND RAPID SCARED MY WIFE AND I ALMOST HIT THE VEHICLE THAT I WAS TRYING TO PASS THE VEHICLE NOW SITS IN MY GARAGE AND WILL NOT DRIVE THE VEHICLE VERY AFRAID EITHER MYSELF OR SOMEONE ELSE IS GOING TO GET KILLED, THIS IS NOT THE FIRST TIME DURING THE WEEK OF 5-22-2014 IT HAPPENED

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/26/2014 - LAKEWOOD, NJ
I WAS DOING APPROX. 25 MPH AND WENT TO PRESS DOWN ON THE ACCERALATOR THE VEHICLE HESITATED THEN TOOK OFF VERY FAST AND RAPID SCARED MY WIFE AND I ALMOST HIT THE VEHICLE THAT I WAS TRYING TO PASS THE VEHICLE NOW SITS IN MY GARAGE AND WILL NOT DRIVE THE VEHICLE VERY AFRAID EITHER MYSELF OR SOMEONE ELSE IS GOING TO GET KILLED, THIS IS NOT THE FIRST TIME DURING THE WEEK OF 5-22-2014 IT HAPPENED

View Details

STEERING

5/20/2014 - HOUSTON , TX
WHILE DRIVING ON THE ROAD AT 40 MPH AND MAKING A QUICK TURN, MY STEERING WHEEL LOCKED AND FROZE FOR A MINUTE IN A 3 WAY INTERSECTION. STEERING WHEEL WILL NOT TURN AND AFTER A MINUTE IT RESETED AGAIN. THEN CONTINUING DRIVING PRESSING THE BRAKES WITH LOCK THE STEERING WHEEL AND FELT FUNNY. TOOK IT IMMEDIATELY TO THE DEALER TO ADDRESS SITUATION. PRETTY SCARY SITUATION HERE AND A SAFETY CONCERN FOR SURE. WITH ONLY 25K MILES WITH 3 MAYOR ISSUES POSTED HERE, I'M GETTING RID OF THIS VEHICLE AND TAKE A LOSS....VERY VERY DISAPPOINTED WITH GM BUT BEFORE THAT I WILL WRITE A BIG LETTER TO GM CEO ABOUT THE SAFETY OF THIS VEHICLE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/19/2014 - CALAIS, VT
I PULLED INTO MY DRIVEWAY AND PUT THE CAR IN PARK. I NOTICED A SMALL PUFF OF WHITE SMOKE FROM THE HOOD IN ONE SPECIFIC PLACE. PRIOR TO THIS, THERE WAS NOT A CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, THERE WAS NOT A MESSGAE WARNING OF REDUCED ENGINE POWER. THE CAR WAS INSPECTED AT A CERTIFIED GM DEALERSHIP ON 4/16/2014. NOTHING WAS NOTED ON THE DIAGNOSTIC FORM TO FIX OR REPLACE. IT WAS COMPLETED AT THE DEARLERSHIP THAT WE PURCHASED THE CAR AT. I QUICKLY GOT OUT OF MY CAR AND BEGIN TO GET MY THREE YEAR OLD OUT OF HIS CARSEAT. I LOOKED AT THE HOOD AND THERE WAS SO MUCH BLACK SMOKE POURING OUT OF THE HOOD I COULD NOT SEE OUR SHED OR ANYTHING IN FRONT OF ME. I YELLED TO THE OTHER TWO CHILDREN (BOTH 6), TO GET OUT OF THEIR CARSEATS AND RUN INTO THE WOODS. I UNBUCKLED ONE CHILD AND THE OTHER CHILD SLIPPED OUT OF HER BUCKLE. THEY RAN TO A SAFE SPOT. I RAN INTO THE HOUSE CALLED 911 AND GOT OUR FIRE EXTINGUISHER. CAME OUTSUDE AND THERE WAS BLACK SMOKE FILLING THE SKY AND POURING OUT OF THE HOOD IN NUMEROUS PLACES. I USED THE FIRE EXTINGUISHER WHICH DID NOT HELP. I GOT THE GARDEN HOSE AND TRIED TO USE THAT, BUT WAS GETTING TOO DANGEROUS. SO I WAITED FOR THE FIRE DEPARTMENT TO ARRIVE. AT THIS TIME THERE WAS FLAMES COMING FROM THE BOTTOM AND TOP OF THE CAR AND THE CAR WAS MAKING LOUD CRACKING AND EXPLODING NOISES. THERE WAS SO MUCH SMOKE I COULD NOT SEE THE HOUSE WHICH WAS CLOSE BY. THE WINDOWS EXPLODED AND THE PASSANGER AIRBAG WENT OFF. THE THREE CHILDREN COUNTINUED TO BE 500 FEET INTO THE WOODS AND I FRANTICALLY WAS RUNNING AROUND (37 WEEK PREGNANT).THE SHED CAUGHT ON FIRE. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT ARRIVED AND EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE. THE TWO FRONT TIRES WERE COMPLETLY MELTED AND RUINED OUR DRIVEWAY.

View Details

WHEELS

5/19/2014 - CALAIS, VT
I PULLED INTO MY DRIVEWAY AND PUT THE CAR IN PARK. I NOTICED A SMALL PUFF OF WHITE SMOKE FROM THE HOOD IN ONE SPECIFIC PLACE. PRIOR TO THIS, THERE WAS NOT A CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, THERE WAS NOT A MESSGAE WARNING OF REDUCED ENGINE POWER. THE CAR WAS INSPECTED AT A CERTIFIED GM DEALERSHIP ON 4/16/2014. NOTHING WAS NOTED ON THE DIAGNOSTIC FORM TO FIX OR REPLACE. IT WAS COMPLETED AT THE DEARLERSHIP THAT WE PURCHASED THE CAR AT. I QUICKLY GOT OUT OF MY CAR AND BEGIN TO GET MY THREE YEAR OLD OUT OF HIS CARSEAT. I LOOKED AT THE HOOD AND THERE WAS SO MUCH BLACK SMOKE POURING OUT OF THE HOOD I COULD NOT SEE OUR SHED OR ANYTHING IN FRONT OF ME. I YELLED TO THE OTHER TWO CHILDREN (BOTH 6), TO GET OUT OF THEIR CARSEATS AND RUN INTO THE WOODS. I UNBUCKLED ONE CHILD AND THE OTHER CHILD SLIPPED OUT OF HER BUCKLE. THEY RAN TO A SAFE SPOT. I RAN INTO THE HOUSE CALLED 911 AND GOT OUR FIRE EXTINGUISHER. CAME OUTSUDE AND THERE WAS BLACK SMOKE FILLING THE SKY AND POURING OUT OF THE HOOD IN NUMEROUS PLACES. I USED THE FIRE EXTINGUISHER WHICH DID NOT HELP. I GOT THE GARDEN HOSE AND TRIED TO USE THAT, BUT WAS GETTING TOO DANGEROUS. SO I WAITED FOR THE FIRE DEPARTMENT TO ARRIVE. AT THIS TIME THERE WAS FLAMES COMING FROM THE BOTTOM AND TOP OF THE CAR AND THE CAR WAS MAKING LOUD CRACKING AND EXPLODING NOISES. THERE WAS SO MUCH SMOKE I COULD NOT SEE THE HOUSE WHICH WAS CLOSE BY. THE WINDOWS EXPLODED AND THE PASSANGER AIRBAG WENT OFF. THE THREE CHILDREN COUNTINUED TO BE 500 FEET INTO THE WOODS AND I FRANTICALLY WAS RUNNING AROUND (37 WEEK PREGNANT).THE SHED CAUGHT ON FIRE. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT ARRIVED AND EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE. THE TWO FRONT TIRES WERE COMPLETLY MELTED AND RUINED OUR DRIVEWAY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/16/2014 - MANAWA, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION CONTROL MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPROGRAMMED BUT THERE WAS NO PROGRAMMING INFORMATION AVAILABLE TO REMEDY THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 200.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds