Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 83 complaints filed for the 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Seat Belts (2) Steering (3) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (1) Structure (5) Visibility (3)
Electrical System (24) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes (7) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (16)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (7) Wheels (2)
Engine (14) Power Train (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

5/25/2016 - EASLEY, SC
THIS JUST STARTED 2 DAYS AGO AT 51K MILES. THE VEHICLE WILL DIE AT A SLOW SPEED OR AT IDLE. IT HAS HAPPENED ANYWHERE FROM THE DRIVE-THRU TO THE MIDDLE OF THE INTERSTATE IN TRAFFIC.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

5/16/2016 - CLEARFIELD, PA
TRAVELING ON INTERSTATE 80. DOWNPOUR STARTED - WIPERS WERE ON AND SUDDENLY STOPPED IN UP POSITION. BACK WIPERS WERE FINE. TRIED TO TURN OFF, TURN UP SPEED AND TURN DOWN SPEED - NO LUCK. BLINDING RAIN SURROUNDED BY TRACTOR TRAILERS IS NOT THE PLACE I WANT TO EVER BE AGAIN WHEN THIS HAPPENS. THE WIPER MOTOR CONTINUES TO RUN - I'VE NEVER HEARD OF THIS HAPPENING TO ANYONE BEFORE!

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

5/4/2016 - HOMESTEAD, FL
THE INCIDENT OCCURRED WHILE DRIVING ON THE FL TURNPIKE AT MIDNIGHT IN A TORRENTIAL DOWN POUR. THE WIPERS WERE ON & THEN THEY JUST STOPPED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE WINDSHIELD! VERY SCARY NEARLY DROVE OFF THE OVERPASS. WHEN YOU TURN THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS OFF AND ON YOU CAN HEAR THE MOTOR RUNNING BUT THE WIPERS JUST FALL FLAT. TURNS OUT IT'S A PLASTIC PIECE IN THE LINKAGE THAT FAILS. DEALERSHIP WANTS $350 TO REPAIR. WHEN I CALLED CHEVROLET THEY SAID THIS WAS NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY. I BOUGHT THE VEHICLE YEAR AND A HALF AGO 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX GM CERTIFIED USED VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE HAS 57,000 MILES ON IT.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

5/1/2016 - TOMS RIVER, NJ
I HAVE A NEWLY PURCHASED 2013 EQUINOX WHICH MY WIFE DRIVES AND THE WIPERS BROKE ON IT WHILE DRIVING ON THE NJ PARKWAY IN THE MIDDLE OF A RAINSTORM AND WAS LUCKY SHE DID NOT GET INTO A SERIOUS ACCIDENT WITH OUR DAUGHTER. APPARENTLY THIS PROBLEM EXISTS ON MANY OTHER EQUINOX'S AROUND THE SAME AGE WITH A SIMPLE GOOGLE SEARCH. I SEE THIS AS A SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE BEING IT HAPPENED WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY WHEN MY WIFE PUT HER WIPERS ON HIGH SINCE IT WAS RAINING SO HARD AND SCARED TO DEATH WHEN IT HAPPENED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/23/2016 - CANAL WINCHESTER, OH
IN THE NORMAL COURSE OF STREET DRIVING, "SERVICE AIRBAG" WITH SCREWDRIVER ICON APPEARS AND DISSAPEARS. MECHANICS CANNOT IDENTIFY PROBLEM. WHILE DRIVING IN THE RAIN, WIPERS STOPPED. MOTOR CONTINUED RUNNING. WINDSHIELD WIPERS TRANSMISSION BROKEN. DASHBOARD LIGHTS RANDOMLY DIM AND BRIGHTEN.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/23/2016 - CANAL WINCHESTER, OH
IN THE NORMAL COURSE OF STREET DRIVING, "SERVICE AIRBAG" WITH SCREWDRIVER ICON APPEARS AND DISSAPEARS. MECHANICS CANNOT IDENTIFY PROBLEM. WHILE DRIVING IN THE RAIN, WIPERS STOPPED. MOTOR CONTINUED RUNNING. WINDSHIELD WIPERS TRANSMISSION BROKEN. DASHBOARD LIGHTS RANDOMLY DIM AND BRIGHTEN.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

4/23/2016 - CANAL WINCHESTER, OH
IN THE NORMAL COURSE OF STREET DRIVING, "SERVICE AIRBAG" WITH SCREWDRIVER ICON APPEARS AND DISSAPEARS. MECHANICS CANNOT IDENTIFY PROBLEM. WHILE DRIVING IN THE RAIN, WIPERS STOPPED. MOTOR CONTINUED RUNNING. WINDSHIELD WIPERS TRANSMISSION BROKEN. DASHBOARD LIGHTS RANDOMLY DIM AND BRIGHTEN.

View Details

ENGINE

4/12/2016 - COLUMBUS, TX
16 DAYS AFTER AN OIL CHANGE, DRIVING ON FREEWAY FEEDER ROAD, ENGINE STARTED KNOCKING AN HAD NOTICEABLE POWER LOSS, ENGINE HAS STARTED BURNING 3+ QUARTS OF OIL A WEEK. I AM CONCERNED IT COULD CAUSE THE ENGINE TO SEIZE WHILE DRIVING. ALL OIL CHANGES WERE DONE ON SCHEDULE AT THE DEALERSHIP.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

4/4/2016 - PROSPECT, CT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE DRIVING DURING INCLEMENT WEATHER, THE WIPERS FAILED TO WORK. THE CONTACT HAD TO PULL THE VEHICLE OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD DUE TO THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE OWNER WAS ABLE TO REPLACE THE BUSHINGS ASSOCIATED WITH THE WIPER TRANSMISSION THAT CONNECTED TO THE MOTOR. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 43,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

3/25/2016 - CENTREVILLE, MD
I WENT OUT TO START MY CAR MONDAY MORNING MARCH 21,2016. I TURNED ON THE WIPERS TO BECAUSE MY WINDOWS WAS FOGGY..AS I WAITED FOR THE WINDOWS TO CLEAR ..I NOTICED THAT MY WIPERS WOULD NOT COME ON. I TRYED ALL SETTING FROM LOW-HIGH AND EVEN MIST SETTING. THEY STILL WOULD NOT WORK. I GOT OUT OF MY CAR AND HEARD A WHINING NOISE LIKE THE MOTOR WAS RUNNING IN WIPER BLADE.I THEN TRIED THE WIPERS AGAIN AND THEY WOULDN'T MOVE...I GOT A ESTIMATE FROM THE DEALERSHIP WHERE I GOT MY CAR FROM...THEY TOLD ME IT WOULD COST $202 TO FIX.. THEY TOLD ME IT WAS THE WIPER TRANSMISSION LINKAGE THAT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED.THIS WIPER ISSUE DEFINITELY NEEDS TO BE A RECALL..IS A SAFETY HAZARD...I'M GLAD I WAS AT HOME AND MY CAR WAS SITTING STILL AND IT WASN'T RAINING..BUT IF IT HAD BEEN RAINING THAT WOULD HAVE A BEEN A MAJOR SAFETY HAZARD..A RECALL DEFINITELY NEEDS TO BE CALLED IMMEDIATELY..

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds