Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 89 complaints filed for the 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Seat Belts (2) Steering (3) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (1) Structure (6) Visibility (3)
Electrical System (25) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes (7) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (19)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (8) Wheels (2)
Engine (16) Power Train (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY/WIPER

7/19/2016 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE DRIVING AT 50 MPH IN THE RAIN, THE FRONT WINDSHIELD WIPERS SEIZED. THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THERE WAS A FRACTURED LINKAGE ASSOCIATED WITH THE FRONT WINDSHIELD WIPERS THAT NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 42,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/17/2016 - PINGREE GROVE, IL
FIRE STARTED WHILE CAR WAS SITTING IN DRIVEWAY. FIRE DEPARTMENT SAID IT WAS A ELECTRICAL FIRE THAT STARTED NEAR THE FUSE BOX. FIRE BURNED THROUGH FIREWALL AND CONTINUED UP THE CEILING CONSOLE. THIS CAR IS USUALLY PARKED IN MY GARAGE, WITH MY BEDROOM RIGHT ABOVE. FIRE STARTED AROUND 12:30AM.

View Details

ENGINE

7/17/2016 - PINGREE GROVE, IL
FIRE STARTED WHILE CAR WAS SITTING IN DRIVEWAY. FIRE DEPARTMENT SAID IT WAS A ELECTRICAL FIRE THAT STARTED NEAR THE FUSE BOX. FIRE BURNED THROUGH FIREWALL AND CONTINUED UP THE CEILING CONSOLE. THIS CAR IS USUALLY PARKED IN MY GARAGE, WITH MY BEDROOM RIGHT ABOVE. FIRE STARTED AROUND 12:30AM.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/17/2016 - PINGREE GROVE, IL
FIRE STARTED WHILE CAR WAS SITTING IN DRIVEWAY. FIRE DEPARTMENT SAID IT WAS A ELECTRICAL FIRE THAT STARTED NEAR THE FUSE BOX. FIRE BURNED THROUGH FIREWALL AND CONTINUED UP THE CEILING CONSOLE. THIS CAR IS USUALLY PARKED IN MY GARAGE, WITH MY BEDROOM RIGHT ABOVE. FIRE STARTED AROUND 12:30AM.

View Details

ENGINE

7/13/2016 - DEPEW, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. THE CONTACT STATED THAT OIL LEVELS IN THE VEHICLE DECREASED SIGNIFICANTLY DAILY WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE ENGINE PISTON FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. IT WAS UNKNOWN IF THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

7/1/2016 - SIDNEY, OH
I WAS DRIVING ON AN INTERSTATE HIGHWAY IN A HARD RAIN AT APPROXIMATELY 70 MILES PER HOUR WHEN MY WIPERS STUCK TO THE LEFT. I HAD A VERY DIFFICULT TIME SEEING WHERE TO GO. I WAS NEXT TO A SEMI TRUCK AND WAS BEING FOLLOWED BY ANOTHER SEMI TRUCK. I EVENTUALLY SLOWED DOWN AND GOT OFF ON THE BERM. WHEN THE RAIN LET UP I WENT TO THE DEALERS AND HAD THE WIPER TRANSMISSION ASSEMBLY REPAIRED FOR ABOUT $300.00. THIS IS A VERY HAZARDOUS MALFUNCTION, AND I CAN SEE THAT IT HAS HAPPENED TO OTHERS AS WELL. IT ALSO HAPPENED TO MY 2010 EQUINOX WHICH WAS REPAIRED UNDER WARRANTY IN 2012. MY MILEAGE WAS 51861. I AM AFRAID SOMEONE IS GOING TO GET SEVERELY HURT , OR KILLED BECAUSE OF THIS FAULT.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

6/8/2016 - CENTEREACH, NY
I WAS DRIVING ON I-495 IN MA ON A RAINY SUNDAY AFTERNOON. WHEN MY FRONT WINDSHIELD WIPERS STOPPED TO MY LEFT ON THE WINDSHIELD. I COULD HEAR THE MOTOR TRYING TO MOVE THE WIPERS TO NO AVAIL. I PULLED OVER TO THE SHOULDER, SHUT OFF THE ENGINE AND MOVED THE WIPERS INTO THE DOWN POSITION. WHEN I RE-ENTERED MY VEHICLE, I TURNED ON THE ENGINE AND THEN TURNED ON THE WIPERS. NO GOOD. IN BETWEEN RAIN STORMS I DROVE TO A REST STOP ON I-90 (MASSACHUSETTS TURNPIKE) IN MA WHERE I REMAINED FOR 2 HOURS DURING HEAVY DOWNPOURS. I CALLED AAA BUT THEY REFERRED ME TO STATE TROOPERS SINCE AAA IS NOT ALLOWED ON THE TURNPIKE. INSTEAD OF BOTHERING THE TROOPERS, I DROVE AS FAR AS I COULD IN BETWEEN RAIN STORMS WHICH GOT ME TO CT, WHERE I STAYED OVERNIGHT AT A HOTEL. MY HOME IS IN ANOTHER STATE. WHEN I FINALLY GOT TO THE CHEVY DEALERSHIP, THEY HAD TO KEEP THE VEHICLE OVERNIGHT. IT TURNED OUT TO BE THE WIPER TRANSMISSION CONKED OUT. IT WAS COVERED BY MY EXTENDED WARRANTY, HOWEVER, I WONDER WHY THERE HAS BEEN NO BULLETINS OR RECALLS FOR THIS ISSUE. DURING INTERNET SEARCHES INCLUDING ON THIS WEBSITE, I FOUND MULTIPLE INCIDENCES OF THIS TYPE. SAFETY IS AT STAKE AND THIS SHOULD BE ADDRESSED ACCORDINGLY BY THE VEHICLE MAKER/WIPER TRANSMISSION MANUFACTURER. I AM BLESSED TO BE SAFE BUT SOMEDAY SOMEONE WON'T BE... PLEASE ADDRESS THE SITUATION BEFORE SOMEDAY ARRIVES. THANK YOU.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/7/2016 - WASHINGTON, DC
MY ENGINE CUT OFF TWICE WHILE DRIVING IN A HIGH TRAFFIC AREA. THIS IS EXTREMELY SCARY AND CERTAINLY SHOULD NOT BE HAPPENING TO A CAR WITH LESS THAN 50K MILES ON IT. I BOUGHT THE TRUCK TO HAVE PIECE OF MIND ONLY TO FIND OUT THIS IS A COMMON COMPLAINT WITH THIS MODEL. IT NEEDS TO BE RECALLED.

View Details

ENGINE

5/25/2016 - EASLEY, SC
THIS JUST STARTED 2 DAYS AGO AT 51K MILES. THE VEHICLE WILL DIE AT A SLOW SPEED OR AT IDLE. IT HAS HAPPENED ANYWHERE FROM THE DRIVE-THRU TO THE MIDDLE OF THE INTERSTATE IN TRAFFIC.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

5/16/2016 - CLEARFIELD, PA
TRAVELING ON INTERSTATE 80. DOWNPOUR STARTED - WIPERS WERE ON AND SUDDENLY STOPPED IN UP POSITION. BACK WIPERS WERE FINE. TRIED TO TURN OFF, TURN UP SPEED AND TURN DOWN SPEED - NO LUCK. BLINDING RAIN SURROUNDED BY TRACTOR TRAILERS IS NOT THE PLACE I WANT TO EVER BE AGAIN WHEN THIS HAPPENS. THE WIPER MOTOR CONTINUES TO RUN - I'VE NEVER HEARD OF THIS HAPPENING TO ANYONE BEFORE!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds