Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 238 complaints filed for the 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (13) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Power Train (18) Steering (8) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Communications (1) Equipment (1) Seat Belts (5) Structure (7) Visibility (15)
Electrical System (32) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (2) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (115)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel Propulsion System (10) Service Brakes (7) Tires (3) Wheels (4)
Engine (32) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (12)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

10/13/2017 - YPSILANTI, MI
GM IS AWARE OF AN OIL CONSUMPTION ISSUE ON 2010MY+ CHEVY EQUINOX AND GMC TERRAIN WITH THE 2.4L ECOTEC ENGINE. THEY HAVE SO FAR ISSUED SERVICE BULLETINS FOR 2010-2012MY TO REPLACE THE PISTON RINGS AND TIMING CHAIN BECAUSE IN THIS SITUATION, THE TIMING CHAIN CAN STRETCH CAUSING IT TO SKIP SEVERAL TEETH AND CAUSE ENGINE DAMAGE. I COMPLAINED ABOUT EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION (1 QUART EVERY ~1000 MILES) TO THE DEALER. THE DEALER IS INSTRUCTED TO DO AN OIL CONSUMPTION TEST BY GM. 200 MILES AFTER WE BEGAN THIS OIL CONSUMPTION TEST, I STARTED THE CAR ONE MORNING AND THERE WERE LOUD SOUNDS COMING FROM THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. I CALLED FOR A TOW TO THE DEALER AND THEY SAID THE ENGINE WAS SEVERELY DAMAGED AND A NEW ENGINE IS RECOMMENDED. GM DOESN'T WANT TO TAKE OWNERSHIP FOR THIS KNOWN ISSUE. BULLETIN SB-10058791-5041

View Details

ENGINE

10/10/2017 - LITTLETON, CO
THE ENGINE OF MY CHEVROLET EQUINOX HAS BEEN BURNING OFF WAY TOO MUCH OIL. I HAVE SEEN ONLINE THAT THIS IS AN ISSUE WITH MANY EQUINOXS. AFTER TAKING IT INTO THE DEALERSHIP, I WAS TOLD THAT THE PISTON RINGS ARE NOT SEALING, AND THUS LETTING MORE OIL THROUGH TO BE BURNED. THE ESTIMATED COST FOR REPAIR IS 3300 DOLLARS. CONSIDERING IT IS AN ENGINE FAILURE, GM SHOULD BE ON THE LINE FOR THAT COST. IT IS ALSO DANGEROUS, AS NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON WHEN MY OIL WAS DRAMATICALLY LOW LONG BEFORE I WAS DUE FOR AN OIL CHANGE. OVERALL A DANGEROUS FACTOR.

View Details

STEERING

10/6/2017 - RISING SUN, MD
FLAT TOW THIS CAR BEHIND MOTOR HOME. YESTERDAY WHILE MAKING A LEFT TURN FROM STOP AT A REDLIGHT THE CAR STEERING BEGAN TO PULSATE FROM LEFT TO RIGHT SHAKING THE CAR AND MOTOR HOME. STOPPED IMMEDIATELY IN TRAFFIC. AFTER ACCELERATING FROM STOP THE CAR WAS NORMAL. FIRST TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED SINCE TOWING ABOUT 10000 MILES OVER THE PAST YEAR AND A HALF. VERY UPSETTING AND I FEEL DANGEROUS EVENT. DID NOT NOTICE POTHOLES OR ROUGHNESS OF THE STREET WHERE IT HAPPENED.

View Details

WHEELS

10/4/2017 - GURNEE, IL
LUG NUTS HAVE RUSTED THROUGH AND ARE CRACKED. 70,000 MILES ON VEHICLE, AND HAVE HAD TIRES ROTATED AT DEALERSHIP AT APPROPRIATE INTERVALS.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

10/2/2017 - MECHANICS FALLS, ME
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH, THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE SEAT BELT SUDDENLY RETRACTED, LEAVING THE PASSENGER UNSECURED IN THE SEAT. UPON INSPECTION, IT WAS DISCOVERED THAT THE SEAT BELT CLIP THAT MOUNTED TO THE FLOOR HAD SEPARATED DUE TO FAULTY STITCHING. THE CONTACT ALSO DISCOVERED THAT THE SAME FAILURE OCCURRED WITH THE REAR MIDDLE SEAT BELT. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER AND LOCAL DEALER WERE NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 92,000.

View Details

WHEELS

9/28/2017 - OLIVIA, MN
I HAVE A 2013 CHEVY EQUINOX WITH MICHELIN LATITUDE TOUR TIRES 235/55R18 99T M+S DOT M33J 007X 1810. THE VEHICLE HAS LESS THAN 42,000 MILES ON IT. THE TIRE TREAD ON ALL FOUR TIRES IS PEELING AWAY FROM THE SIDEWALL, EXACTLY WHAT IS OCCURRING WITH THE OTHER SIZES OF LATITUDE TOUR TIRES THAT HAVE BEEN RECALLED. THE TIRE THAT I HAVE SHOULD ALSO BE RECALLED BECAUSE I AM HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM AS THE OTHER RECALLED TIRES AND HAVE TO REPLACE ALL FOUR TIRES IMMEDIATELY, NOT BECAUSE THE TREAD IS WEARING OUT, BUT BECAUSE THEY ARE IN DANGER OF BLOWING OUT DUE TO THE TREAD/SIDEWALL SEPARATION, WHICH IS A MANUFACTURER DEFECT.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

9/25/2017 - RENTON, WA
I WAS DRIVING HOME IN THE RAIN AND THE PASSENGER SIDE WINDSHIELD WIPER STOPPED WORKING SUDDENLY. I WAS TOLD BY A MECHANIC FRIEND THAT IT WAS THE MOTOR THAT WENT OUT AND NEEDS TO BE REPLACED.WIPER MOTORS ARE SUPPOSED TO LAST THE LIFE OF THE CAR. THIS IS ONLY A FOUR YEAR OLD CAR & IT HAS BEEN EXTREMELY WELL MAINTAINED. I'VE OWNED SEVERAL CARS IN MY LIFETIME THAT WERE DECADES OLD OR MORE AND NONE OF THEM EVER EXPERIENCED THIS ISSUE. THERE IS IN FACT A RECALL ON CERTAIN 2013 EQUINOXES AND GMCS FOR THIS EXACT PROBLEM, YET MY SPECIFIC VEHICLE ISN'T INCLUDED FOR SOME REASON. I'M EXTREMELY UPSET, CHEVROLET CLEARLY MANUFACTURED FAULTY WIPERS, FOR THIS IS NOT NORMAL WEAR AND TEAR FOR A 2013 VEHICLE, YET THEY REFUSE TO TAKE RESPONSIBILITY. I LIVE IN SEATTLE WHERE IT RAINS ALMOST EVERY DAY, SO WIPERS ARE A MUST. I WAS EXTREMELY LUCKY IT WAS THE PASSENGER WIPER AND NOT THE DRIVER'S SIDE WIPER THAT FAILED. I COULD HAVE CRASHED AND GOTTEN SERIOUSLY INJURED OR KILLED. EVEN AFTER I PAY CHEVY FOR THE REPAIR, IS MY DRIVER'S SIDE WIPER STILL AT RISK FOR FAILING? ARE THEY JUST GOING TO REPLACE THE FAULTY PART WITH ANOTHER ONE OF THEIR FAULTY WIPER MOTORS & THEN THE CYCLE REPEATS & I'M BACK EVERY FOUR YEARS FOR THE SAME ISSUE? THIS IS ABSOLUTELY RIDICULOUS.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

9/14/2017 - PEMBROKE PINES, FL
2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO MALFUNCTIONING BALL JOINTS IN WINDSHIELD WIPERS. THE CONSUMER WAS INFORMED THAT THE PARTS NECESSARY TO COMPLETE THE RECALL WERE UNAVAILABLE DESPITE THE RECALL NOTICE STATING THEY WERE AVAILABLE. UPDATED 09/14/2017

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

9/12/2017 - WHITMAN, MA
PURCHASED THE VEHICLE OCTOBER 2016. RADIO/BLUETOOTH SYSTEM STOPPED WORKING 1 WEEK AFTER PURCHASE. WAITED 4 MONTHS FOR NEW RADIO TO COME WAS REPLACED FEBRUARY 2017 AND THE RADIO WENT AGAIN 2017 AND HAVE TO WAIT TO HEAR ABOUT REPAIR.

View Details

ENGINE

9/5/2017 - CHANNAHON, IL
THE ENGINE BURNS ABOUT A QUART OF OIL PER 1000 MILES. WE HAD A DEALER LOOK INTO IT, INCLUDING A DIP TEST EVERY 500 MILES. THEY FOUND THAT IT IS INDEED BURNING OIL, AND SAID DUE TO LOW TENSION RINGS AND SHORT SKIRT PISTON, THIS WAS NORMAL. I'M NO MECHANIC, BUT 3 QUARTS OF OIL PER NORMAL OIL CHANGE INTERVALS SEEMS REALLY EXCESSIVE. IT'S BEEN LIKE THIS PRETTY MUCH SINCE WE BOUGHT IT NEW. I GUESS IT COULD BE SAFETY RELATED BECAUSE SEVERE OIL CONSUMPTION COULD CAUSE A FIRE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds