Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET EQUINOX - 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 228 complaints filed for the 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (13) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Power Train (18) Steering (7) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Communications (1) Equipment (1) Seat Belts (4) Structure (7) Visibility (13)
Electrical System (32) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (2) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (113)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel Propulsion System (10) Service Brakes (7) Tires (3) Wheels (2)
Engine (29) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (12)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

8/11/2017 - CHILLICOTHE, OH
MY CAR ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON LAST WEEK AFTER I HAD PICKED IT UP FROM CHEVY DEALERSHIP AFTER THEY HAD REPAIRED MY VEHICLE. SINCE THE LIGHT HAS BEEN ON I AM UNABLE TO USE MY REMOTE START. MY ENGINE SEEMS LIKE IT WANTS TO CUT OUT. MY CAR DOES NOT RUN PROPERLY.

View Details

ENGINE

8/7/2017 - EVANSVILLE, IN
STARTED BURNING OIL TOO QUICKLY WHICH RUINED THE ENGINE. WE WERE USING THE UPPER GRADE OIL AND HAVING TO CHANGE IT BEFORE 3000 MILES DUE TO CAR SHAKING. WE HAD TO GET A NEW ENGINE . CAR COMPLETELY SHUT DOWN IN MOTION ON A COUNTRY ROAD

View Details

EQUIPMENT: AIR CONDITIONER

8/2/2017 - LIVE OAK, FL
S10 APPROPRIATE HANDLING COPY OF A LETTER TO GENERAL MOTORS CHAIRMAN AND CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER MARY T BARA EXPRESSING DISSATISFACTION WITH HIS CURRENT CHEVROLET VEHICLES. THE CONSUMER STATED THE AIR CONDITIONER EVAPORATOR FAILED AT 54,356 MILES. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

7/21/2017 - LAWRENCE, PA
WHILE DRIVING BOTH WINDSHIELD WIPERS BECAME INOPERATIVE LOWERING THE VISIBILITY TO ZERO. WITHOUT WIPERS I COULD NOT SAFELY DRIVE AND HAD THIS DEFECT REPAIRED IMMEDIATELY. SIMILAR TO OTHER COMPLAINTS, CHEVROLET DENIED REIMBURSEMENT FOR AN ALREADY PAID REPAIR.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/20/2017 - COLUMBIA, TN
SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON FREQUENTLY. CAR RUNS VERY ROUGH. STALLS. TOOK TO DEALER. REPORT RECEIVED: IN AMBIENT TEMPERATURES 100 F DEGREES OR HIGHER, DTCS P2635 AND/OR P108B MAY SET. THE VEHICLE MAY ALSO EXHIBIT A HESITATION OR STALLING CONDITION. CAUSE: EXCESSIVELY HOT AND SUSTAINED AMBIENT TEMPS OVER 100 F DEGREES CAUSING VAPORT BUILDUP IN FUEL FEED LINE. ADVISED TO USE GREATER THAN 91 OCTANE FUEL, KEEP IN COVERED GARAGE. THERE IS NO FIX! WHAT HAS HAPPENED TO US: WHILE DRIVING ON INTERSTATE, WHEN TRYING TO ACCELERATE, CAR BOGS DOWN AND WILL NOT ACCELERATE, SLOWING WHILE IN HEAVY TRAFFIC. ON WAY HOME, 96 DEGREE DAY, TWO BABIES IN CAR WITH GROCERIES, STOPPED AT A LIGHT ON HEAVILY TRAVELED, TWO LANE ROAD, CAR STALLS OUT AND WILL NOT RESTART FOR SEVERAL MINUTES. WHILE COMING OFF THE INTERSTATE THIS MORNING, THE CAR ALMOST STALLED AGAIN. IF CAR WILL STALL WHILE IDLING OR ACCELERATING, THIS COULD EASILY CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. TO BE TOLD THERE IS NO FIX FOR THIS PROBLEM IS EXTREMELY CONCERNING.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/15/2017 - HAMMOND, LA
CAR STALLS AND LOSES POWER WHILE DRIVING LOSING STEERAGE AND CONTROLL OF THE VEHICLE

View Details

STEERING

7/14/2017 - LAKE PLACID, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 CHEVROLET EQUINOX. WHILE DRIVING LOW SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED A SEVERE WOBBLE WHILE BEING FLAT TOWED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CHANDLER CHEVROLET DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE VEHICLE HAD NO SAFETY ISSUES. AFTER THE FAILURE, THE BLUE LOX MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND INDICATED THAT THE FAILURE WAS INHERENT TO THE VEHICLE'S ELECTRONIC POWER STEERING. THE GMC MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND TRANSFERRED THE CONTACT TO NHTSA WITHOUT THE CONTACT'S KNOWLEDGE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 44,833.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/11/2017 - CANTON, MS
6 MONTHS AFTER PURCHASE CAR BEGAN STALLING. VEHICLE ALWAYS WAS LOW ON OIL, EVEN WITH PROPER MAINTENANCE. LOSS OF ACCELERATION SPEED AND STALLING BECAME USUAL. FINALLY AFTER FILLING THE TANK IT STALLED AND WOULD NOT START SO WE HAD IT TOWED. TIMING CHAIN WAS THE REASON GIVEN SO $3600 LATER I FIGURED IT WAS FIXED. NOT THE CASE. OIL WAS STILL HAVING TO BE ADDED AND 1.5 YEARS LATER WHILE DRIVING, THE MOTOR HAS BLOWN. WE STILL OWE 9K ON A CAR THAT IS INOPERABLE AND ALSO USAA REQUIRES US TO KEEP OUR INSURANCE. I

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/11/2017 - CANTON, MS
6 MONTHS AFTER PURCHASE CAR BEGAN STALLING. VEHICLE ALWAYS WAS LOW ON OIL, EVEN WITH PROPER MAINTENANCE. LOSS OF ACCELERATION SPEED AND STALLING BECAME USUAL. FINALLY AFTER FILLING THE TANK IT STALLED AND WOULD NOT START SO WE HAD IT TOWED. TIMING CHAIN WAS THE REASON GIVEN SO $3600 LATER I FIGURED IT WAS FIXED. NOT THE CASE. OIL WAS STILL HAVING TO BE ADDED AND 1.5 YEARS LATER WHILE DRIVING, THE MOTOR HAS BLOWN. WE STILL OWE 9K ON A CAR THAT IS INOPERABLE AND ALSO USAA REQUIRES US TO KEEP OUR INSURANCE. I

View Details

ENGINE

7/11/2017 - CANTON, MS
6 MONTHS AFTER PURCHASE CAR BEGAN STALLING. VEHICLE ALWAYS WAS LOW ON OIL, EVEN WITH PROPER MAINTENANCE. LOSS OF ACCELERATION SPEED AND STALLING BECAME USUAL. FINALLY AFTER FILLING THE TANK IT STALLED AND WOULD NOT START SO WE HAD IT TOWED. TIMING CHAIN WAS THE REASON GIVEN SO $3600 LATER I FIGURED IT WAS FIXED. NOT THE CASE. OIL WAS STILL HAVING TO BE ADDED AND 1.5 YEARS LATER WHILE DRIVING, THE MOTOR HAS BLOWN. WE STILL OWE 9K ON A CAR THAT IS INOPERABLE AND ALSO USAA REQUIRES US TO KEEP OUR INSURANCE. I

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds