Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SPARK - 2013 CHEVROLET SPARK Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 122 complaints filed for the 2013 CHEVROLET SPARK

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 CHEVROLET SPARK. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 CHEVROLET SPARK, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (7) Steering (4) Unknown Or Other (14)
Electrical System (28) Exterior Lighting (8) Power Train (29) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Seat Belts (1) Suspension (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (50) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (9) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (8) Interior Lighting (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/30/2019 - HALEYVILLE, AL
VEHICLE IS IN MOTION AND IT JUST DIES RANDOMLY

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/8/2019 - BOLINGBROOK, IL
LATELY I HAVE BEEN HAVING ISSUES WHERE THE HOOD LATCH STAYS IN THE OPEN POSITION. ACCORDING TO A VIN CHECK THIS SUPPOSED TO BE REPLACED AND THE LOCAL DEALERSHIP SAID IT WAS ACCORDING TO THE GM DATABASE, BUT I DON'T THINK IT EVER WAS REPLACED. THE DEALERSHIP WANTS TO CHARGE ME TO FIX SOMETHING THAT GM NEVER REPAIRED IN THE RECALL.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/29/2019 - NEWNAN, GA
AFTER START UP THE ENGINE LIGHT IS FLASHING AND THE TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT IS ON. THIS IS FOLLOWED BY A CLUNK. AFTER A MIN OR SO HAS PASSED THE LIGHTS GO AWAY. IF YOU GO IN REVERSE AFTER THIS HAS OCCURRED, SWITCHING THE GEARS, THERE WILL BE A CLUNK. AS YOU CHANGE THE GEARS TO DRIVE THE CAR WILL NO GO MORE THAN A CERTAIN MILE PER HOUR. AROUND 20.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/27/2018 - IRVINE, CA
TRANSMISSION WOULD NOT GO INTO REVERSE AND IN DRIVE STALLED UNSAFE TO DRIVE 140,000 MILES HAD TO CHANGE TRANSMISSION ALL FREEWAY MILES UNSAFE. IF GOING FROM A STOP GIVE IT GAS AND TRANSMISSION WOULD ALL OF SUDDEN JUST GO AND WOULD ALMOST HIT CAR IN FRONT OF YOU.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

12/21/2018 - BUFFALO, MN
ABOUT A MONTH AGO MY CAR, WHILE DRIVING, STARTED ACTING UP. MY ODOMETER WOULD FLUCTUATE AND NOT GIVE ME MY SPEED, MY LOWER TIRE PRESSURE CAME ON, MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, POWER STEERING WOULD GO IN AND OUT, AND ACCELERATION WOULD FLUCTUATE. I BROUGHT IT IN TO BE LOOKED AT, AFTER 3 DAYS OF HEARING NOTHING I CALLED AND THEY TOLD ME SOMETHING WAS WRONG WITH THE ONSTAR MODULE. AFTER 4 DAYS OF HAVING MY CAR BACK, SAME PROBLEMS. BROUGHT IT BACK IN, THEY CALLED AN ENGINEER IN SINCE THEY HAD NO IDEA WHAT WAS GOING ON AND A WEEK LATER I GOT MY CAR BACK. 4 DAYS LATER I AGAIN HAD TO BRING IT IN FOR THE SAME STUFF AND AFTER 9 DAYS OF PLAYING PHONE TAG THEN GAVE IT BACK. I HAVE HAD MY CAR BACK FOR 2 WEEKS WITHOUT ANY PROBLEMS, TODAY WHILE 35 MILES AWAY FROM HOME EVERY SINGLE LIGHT WAS FLASHING ON THE DASH BOARD. MY ODOMETER DIDNT WORK AT ALL AND I COULD ONLY GO 30 MILES PER HOUR. I STOPPED MY CAR, SHUT IT OFF AND TURNED IT BACK ON AND NOTHING CHANGED. THE NEWEST ORDEAL IS MY BREAK LIGHT WILL TURN ON AND BEEP AT ME ANYWHERE FROM 3 SECONDS TO 5 MINUTES. WITH IT BEING THE HOLIDAYS AND HAVING TO WORK ALL WEEK I SEE NO POINT IN BRINGING MY CAR IN FOR NOTHING TO BE FIXED FOR A 4TH TIME AND BEING WITHOUT A CAR BECAUSE I'M ONLY 20 FOR WHO KNOWS HOW LONG WHEN I HAVE A JOB TO GET TO THAT'S ONLY 5 MINUTES AWAY. I'M AM SO BEYOND IRRITATED AND WANT TO THROW THIS CAR INTO A TRASH CAN.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/21/2018 - BUFFALO, MN
ABOUT A MONTH AGO MY CAR, WHILE DRIVING, STARTED ACTING UP. MY ODOMETER WOULD FLUCTUATE AND NOT GIVE ME MY SPEED, MY LOWER TIRE PRESSURE CAME ON, MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, POWER STEERING WOULD GO IN AND OUT, AND ACCELERATION WOULD FLUCTUATE. I BROUGHT IT IN TO BE LOOKED AT, AFTER 3 DAYS OF HEARING NOTHING I CALLED AND THEY TOLD ME SOMETHING WAS WRONG WITH THE ONSTAR MODULE. AFTER 4 DAYS OF HAVING MY CAR BACK, SAME PROBLEMS. BROUGHT IT BACK IN, THEY CALLED AN ENGINEER IN SINCE THEY HAD NO IDEA WHAT WAS GOING ON AND A WEEK LATER I GOT MY CAR BACK. 4 DAYS LATER I AGAIN HAD TO BRING IT IN FOR THE SAME STUFF AND AFTER 9 DAYS OF PLAYING PHONE TAG THEN GAVE IT BACK. I HAVE HAD MY CAR BACK FOR 2 WEEKS WITHOUT ANY PROBLEMS, TODAY WHILE 35 MILES AWAY FROM HOME EVERY SINGLE LIGHT WAS FLASHING ON THE DASH BOARD. MY ODOMETER DIDNT WORK AT ALL AND I COULD ONLY GO 30 MILES PER HOUR. I STOPPED MY CAR, SHUT IT OFF AND TURNED IT BACK ON AND NOTHING CHANGED. THE NEWEST ORDEAL IS MY BREAK LIGHT WILL TURN ON AND BEEP AT ME ANYWHERE FROM 3 SECONDS TO 5 MINUTES. WITH IT BEING THE HOLIDAYS AND HAVING TO WORK ALL WEEK I SEE NO POINT IN BRINGING MY CAR IN FOR NOTHING TO BE FIXED FOR A 4TH TIME AND BEING WITHOUT A CAR BECAUSE I'M ONLY 20 FOR WHO KNOWS HOW LONG WHEN I HAVE A JOB TO GET TO THAT'S ONLY 5 MINUTES AWAY. I'M AM SO BEYOND IRRITATED AND WANT TO THROW THIS CAR INTO A TRASH CAN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/21/2018 - BUFFALO, MN
ABOUT A MONTH AGO MY CAR, WHILE DRIVING, STARTED ACTING UP. MY ODOMETER WOULD FLUCTUATE AND NOT GIVE ME MY SPEED, MY LOWER TIRE PRESSURE CAME ON, MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, POWER STEERING WOULD GO IN AND OUT, AND ACCELERATION WOULD FLUCTUATE. I BROUGHT IT IN TO BE LOOKED AT, AFTER 3 DAYS OF HEARING NOTHING I CALLED AND THEY TOLD ME SOMETHING WAS WRONG WITH THE ONSTAR MODULE. AFTER 4 DAYS OF HAVING MY CAR BACK, SAME PROBLEMS. BROUGHT IT BACK IN, THEY CALLED AN ENGINEER IN SINCE THEY HAD NO IDEA WHAT WAS GOING ON AND A WEEK LATER I GOT MY CAR BACK. 4 DAYS LATER I AGAIN HAD TO BRING IT IN FOR THE SAME STUFF AND AFTER 9 DAYS OF PLAYING PHONE TAG THEN GAVE IT BACK. I HAVE HAD MY CAR BACK FOR 2 WEEKS WITHOUT ANY PROBLEMS, TODAY WHILE 35 MILES AWAY FROM HOME EVERY SINGLE LIGHT WAS FLASHING ON THE DASH BOARD. MY ODOMETER DIDNT WORK AT ALL AND I COULD ONLY GO 30 MILES PER HOUR. I STOPPED MY CAR, SHUT IT OFF AND TURNED IT BACK ON AND NOTHING CHANGED. THE NEWEST ORDEAL IS MY BREAK LIGHT WILL TURN ON AND BEEP AT ME ANYWHERE FROM 3 SECONDS TO 5 MINUTES. WITH IT BEING THE HOLIDAYS AND HAVING TO WORK ALL WEEK I SEE NO POINT IN BRINGING MY CAR IN FOR NOTHING TO BE FIXED FOR A 4TH TIME AND BEING WITHOUT A CAR BECAUSE I'M ONLY 20 FOR WHO KNOWS HOW LONG WHEN I HAVE A JOB TO GET TO THAT'S ONLY 5 MINUTES AWAY. I'M AM SO BEYOND IRRITATED AND WANT TO THROW THIS CAR INTO A TRASH CAN.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/14/2018 - BURLESON, TX
AFTER SETTING THE "CHILD PROTECTION" ON BOTH REAR DOORS BECAUSE OF MY NEW GRANDBABY I NO LONGER NEEDED IT SINCE HE WAS NO LONGER A BABY I DECIDED TO TAKE "CHILD PROTECTION" OFF. DOORS STILL WOULD NOT OPEN FROM INSIDE. LEFT DOOR OUTSIDE HANDLE BROKE AS WELL SO IT COULD NOT OPEN AT ALL. HAVING EXTENDED WARRANTY I TOOK IT TO DEALERSHIP WHICH WAS TIME FOR OIL CHANGE AND NEEDING OTHER PROBLEMS REPAIRED AS WELL. LEFT DOOR REPAIRS WERE"HANDLE SEPARATED"AND "REPLACED OUTSIDE HANDLE" WHICH WARRANTY COVERED. RIGHT DOOR WAS DECLINED COVERAGE BECAUSE IT WAS "THE CLIP FOR INSIDE CABLE TO HANDLE HAD SEPARATED". COULDN'T UNDERSTAND WHAT THE DIFFERENCE WAS? CLIP VS HANDLE?? SERVICE CONSULTANT WAS PUZZLED AS WELL? NEEDLESS TO SAY DOOR STILL ONLY OPENS FROM OUTSIDE. HAVING MANUAL LOCKS FIGURED I WOULDN'T HAVE ANY PROBLEMS IN FUTURE. NEVER FIGURED A "MANUAL CHILD PROTECTOR" WOULD CAUSE ANY PROBLEMS. DUE TO LACK OF FUNDS DOOR STILL IS UNREPAIRED. I KNOW THAT IN SOME INCIDENTS IT ONLY TAKES ONE SPLIT SECOND BETWEEN LIFE AND DEATH. GOD FORBID SOMEONE LOOSES THERE LIFE BECAUSE OF A SPLIT SECOND TOO LATE. MAYBE YOU COULD EXPLAIN THE DIFFERENCE AND IF OTHERS ARE HAVING ANY PROBLEMS AS WELL.

View Details

ENGINE

10/3/2018 - MIDDLEBURG, FL
MY ENGINE STARTED SHAKING WITH THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT FLASHING AND TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT ON. THE CAR WOULDN'T LET ME GET OUT OF GEAR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/2/2018 - ARCADIA, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 CHEVROLET SPARK. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DOOR LOCKS WOULD INDEPENDENTLY OPEN AND CLOSE WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT ALSO MENTIONED THAT THE ALARM SYSTEM WAS FAILING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO PLATTNER'S ARCADIA CHEVROLET BUICK (210 S BREVARD AVE, ARCADIA, FL 34266, (863) 869-2228), BUT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURES COULD NOT BE DETERMINED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE AND VIN WERE NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds