Auto Recalls for Consumers

FIAT 500 - 2013 FIAT 500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 74 complaints filed for the 2013 FIAT 500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FIAT 500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FIAT 500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (1) Suspension (1) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electrical System (6) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes (3) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (3) Unknown Or Other (5) Wheels (1)
Engine (9) Power Train (34) Structure (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/31/2017 - LANCASTER, MA
WIRING HARNESS BETWEEN THE CHASSIS AND THE TRUNK LID BREAKS. THERE ARE SEVERAL BROKEN WIRES. THIS IS CAUSING THE "CHECK LICENSE PLATE LIGHT" WARNING ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE LICENSE PLATE LIGHT IS OUT WHICH IS A TICKET-ABLE OFFENSE WITH SURCHARGE IN THE STATE OF MASSACHUSETTS WHERE THE CAR IS REGISTERED. THE EXPOSED WIRES COULD ALSO ARC AND CAUSE A FIRE.

View Details

ENGINE

7/21/2017 - PORTLAND, OR
I WAS DRIVING TO AN APPOINTMENT AND WAS SITTING AT A RED LIGHT WHEN MY FIAT BEGAN TO SHAKE. I TOOK IT TO THE FIAT DEALERSHIP AFTER MY APPOINTMENT ON JUNE 16, 2017. THE FOLLOWING TUESDAY THEY SAID I WAS MY SPARK PLUGS AND I APPROVED CHANGING THEM. WHEN THEY STARTED THE CAR AGAIN THEN THEY GOT A MESSAGE STATING NO COMPRESSION IN CAM 2. I AN THE ORIGINAL OWNER AND HAVE HAD THE CAR JUST UNDER 4 YEARS. I HAVE HAD ALL THE SCHEDULED MAINTENANCE DONE THERE AT THE DEALERSHIP. I HOWEVER HAVE 54K ON THE ENGINE SO I AM JUST OUTSIDE OF THE WARRANTY. I HAVE BEEN GOING THROUGH VARIOUS FIAT FORUMS AND SEE THAT THIS SEEMS TO BE AN ISSUE WITH CAM 2.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/21/2017 - PORTLAND, OR
I WAS DRIVING TO AN APPOINTMENT AND WAS SITTING AT A RED LIGHT WHEN MY FIAT BEGAN TO SHAKE. I TOOK IT TO THE FIAT DEALERSHIP AFTER MY APPOINTMENT ON JUNE 16, 2017. THE FOLLOWING TUESDAY THEY SAID I WAS MY SPARK PLUGS AND I APPROVED CHANGING THEM. WHEN THEY STARTED THE CAR AGAIN THEN THEY GOT A MESSAGE STATING NO COMPRESSION IN CAM 2. I AN THE ORIGINAL OWNER AND HAVE HAD THE CAR JUST UNDER 4 YEARS. I HAVE HAD ALL THE SCHEDULED MAINTENANCE DONE THERE AT THE DEALERSHIP. I HOWEVER HAVE 54K ON THE ENGINE SO I AM JUST OUTSIDE OF THE WARRANTY. I HAVE BEEN GOING THROUGH VARIOUS FIAT FORUMS AND SEE THAT THIS SEEMS TO BE AN ISSUE WITH CAM 2.

View Details

ENGINE

6/21/2017 - HOT SPRINGS, AR
COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER WHEN DRIVING , I FILED FOR LEMON LAW. I WON. NOW THEY ARE GOING TO SELL THIS CAR ON THE INTERNET AS A BUY BACK.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/21/2017 - HOT SPRINGS, AR
COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER WHEN DRIVING , I FILED FOR LEMON LAW. I WON. NOW THEY ARE GOING TO SELL THIS CAR ON THE INTERNET AS A BUY BACK.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/21/2017 - HOT SPRINGS, AR
COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER WHEN DRIVING , I FILED FOR LEMON LAW. I WON. NOW THEY ARE GOING TO SELL THIS CAR ON THE INTERNET AS A BUY BACK.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/21/2017 - NASHVILLE, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FIAT 500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE OIL PRESSURE AND SERVICE ENGINE WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS SERVICED BY AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V302000 (POWER TRAIN). THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER HAD NOT SUPPLIED THE REMEDY AND PARTS WITHIN A REASONABLE TIME FRAME. MONTHS AFTER WAITING FOR THE RECALL REPAIR PARTS, THE CLUTCH WAS NOT FUNCTIONING PROPERLY AND THERE WAS A STRONG VIBRATION COMING FROM THE PEDAL. THE MANUFACTURER HAD A DEALER (BOB FRENSLEY CHRYSLER JEEP RAM FIAT IN MADISON, TN) SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT FOR JULY 6, 2017. IN THE INTERIM, THE CONTACT COULD OBTAIN A RENTAL VEHICLE AND WOULD BE REIMBURSED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,000. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

ENGINE

6/21/2017 - NASHVILLE, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FIAT 500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE OIL PRESSURE AND SERVICE ENGINE WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS SERVICED BY AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V302000 (POWER TRAIN). THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER HAD NOT SUPPLIED THE REMEDY AND PARTS WITHIN A REASONABLE TIME FRAME. MONTHS AFTER WAITING FOR THE RECALL REPAIR PARTS, THE CLUTCH WAS NOT FUNCTIONING PROPERLY AND THERE WAS A STRONG VIBRATION COMING FROM THE PEDAL. THE MANUFACTURER HAD A DEALER (BOB FRENSLEY CHRYSLER JEEP RAM FIAT IN MADISON, TN) SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT FOR JULY 6, 2017. IN THE INTERIM, THE CONTACT COULD OBTAIN A RENTAL VEHICLE AND WOULD BE REIMBURSED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,000. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/21/2017 - AUSTIN, TX
I PARKED MY VEHICLE IN A PUBLIC LOT AND WHEN I RETURNED TO MY VEHICLE AND STARTED IT THE LIGHTS TURNED ON THEN SHUT OFF QUICKLY AND THE KEY WAS STUCK IN THE IGNITION. I JUMP STARTED THE VEHICLE WHICH SEEMED TO JUST CHARGE IT AND WAS ABLE TO GET THE KEY RELEASED AND THE POWER, LIGHTS AND WINDOWS ALL WORKING AGAIN BUT WHEN I TURNED TO START THE ENGINE IT DOES NOTHING BUT CLICK. I ALSO TRIED BOTH KEYS THAT I HAVE FOR THE VEHICLE AND THE POWER LOCK AND UNLOCK DOES NOT EVEN WORK.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/12/2017 - WATERBURY, VT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FIAT 500. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO DRIVE OUT OF A PARKING STRUCTURE, THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO SHIFT THE VEHICLE INTO GEAR. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE SHIFTER CABLE FRACTURED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V302000 (POWER TRAIN). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 85,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds