Auto Recalls for Consumers

FIAT 500 - 2013 FIAT 500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 76 complaints filed for the 2013 FIAT 500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FIAT 500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FIAT 500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (1) Suspension (1) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electrical System (6) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes (3) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (3) Unknown Or Other (5) Wheels (1)
Engine (10) Power Train (35) Structure (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

9/19/2017 - VICTORVILLE, CA
MY 2013 FIAT POP WAS CALLED IN FOR A RECALL ON THE CLUTCH PLATE AND SPRING. DESERT FIAT OF VICTORVILLE MADE THE REPAIR AND I DROVE IT UNTIL JUNE 6,WHEN THE CLUTCH FAILED AND I HAD IT TOWED TO THEIR SERVICE CENTER. THEY HAD MY CAR FROM JUNE 6 UNTIL JULY 7. WHEN I SPOKE WITH FCA (888-242-6342 FILE #[XXX])THEY TOLD ME I HAD TO AUTHORIZE THE SERVICE AND THEY WOULD HELP IF THE REPAIR WAS NOT COVER UNDER THE RECALL. THE REPAIR IS 1748.00 AND THEY ARE HOLDING MY CAR HOSTAGE AND WILL NOT NEGOTIATE WITH ME AS THEY SAID THEY WOULD. THEY HAVE THREATEN TO PUT A LIEN ON MY CAR. I HAVE CONTACTED THE BUREAU OF AUTOMOTIVE REPAIR ([XXX])AND THEY HAVE FOUND 3 VIOLATIONS . I AM TRYING TO GET MY CAR BACK IS THERE ANYTHING THAT CAN BE DONE. INFORMATION REDACTED PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

ENGINE

9/4/2017 - HARVEST, AL
ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND IT REVEALED A EVAP LEAK WHICH HAS HAPPENED BEFORE AND MECHANIC FOUND NO LEAK AND SAID IT MUST HAVE BEEN GAS CAP. A COUPLE MONTHS LATER LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN FOR THE SAME EVAP LEAK CODE. BUT THEN THE CAR BEGAN TO SHUDDER WHILE COMING TO STOP AND RAN ODD. TOOK IT TO FIAT DEALERSHIP. TURNS OUT THERE WERE THREE CODES OR MORE WHICH CANNOT BE READ UNLESS AT DEALERSHIP. SURPRISE SURPRISE. TOTAL REPAIR COSTS WERE 2500 AND I HAD NO IDEA MY CAR WAS MESSED UP CAUSE ENGINE LIGHT DID NOT INDICATE ISSUES. KEPT SAYING EVAP WHEN I HAD AN OIL PRESSURE SENSOR MESSED UP. GASKETS LEAKING AND A BLOWN VALVE ACTUATOR ASSEMBLY. CAR HAS LESS THAN 45K AND IS WELL MAINTAINED AND DRIVEN. VERY UPSET AT THE LOST OF INCOME. IT HURTS. IT'S A LOT OF MONEY FOR NO REASON. DISAPPOINTED IN AMERICAN BUILT CARS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/31/2017 - LANCASTER, MA
WIRING HARNESS BETWEEN THE CHASSIS AND THE TRUNK LID BREAKS. THERE ARE SEVERAL BROKEN WIRES. THIS IS CAUSING THE "CHECK LICENSE PLATE LIGHT" WARNING ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE LICENSE PLATE LIGHT IS OUT WHICH IS A TICKET-ABLE OFFENSE WITH SURCHARGE IN THE STATE OF MASSACHUSETTS WHERE THE CAR IS REGISTERED. THE EXPOSED WIRES COULD ALSO ARC AND CAUSE A FIRE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/21/2017 - PORTLAND, OR
I WAS DRIVING TO AN APPOINTMENT AND WAS SITTING AT A RED LIGHT WHEN MY FIAT BEGAN TO SHAKE. I TOOK IT TO THE FIAT DEALERSHIP AFTER MY APPOINTMENT ON JUNE 16, 2017. THE FOLLOWING TUESDAY THEY SAID I WAS MY SPARK PLUGS AND I APPROVED CHANGING THEM. WHEN THEY STARTED THE CAR AGAIN THEN THEY GOT A MESSAGE STATING NO COMPRESSION IN CAM 2. I AN THE ORIGINAL OWNER AND HAVE HAD THE CAR JUST UNDER 4 YEARS. I HAVE HAD ALL THE SCHEDULED MAINTENANCE DONE THERE AT THE DEALERSHIP. I HOWEVER HAVE 54K ON THE ENGINE SO I AM JUST OUTSIDE OF THE WARRANTY. I HAVE BEEN GOING THROUGH VARIOUS FIAT FORUMS AND SEE THAT THIS SEEMS TO BE AN ISSUE WITH CAM 2.

View Details

ENGINE

7/21/2017 - PORTLAND, OR
I WAS DRIVING TO AN APPOINTMENT AND WAS SITTING AT A RED LIGHT WHEN MY FIAT BEGAN TO SHAKE. I TOOK IT TO THE FIAT DEALERSHIP AFTER MY APPOINTMENT ON JUNE 16, 2017. THE FOLLOWING TUESDAY THEY SAID I WAS MY SPARK PLUGS AND I APPROVED CHANGING THEM. WHEN THEY STARTED THE CAR AGAIN THEN THEY GOT A MESSAGE STATING NO COMPRESSION IN CAM 2. I AN THE ORIGINAL OWNER AND HAVE HAD THE CAR JUST UNDER 4 YEARS. I HAVE HAD ALL THE SCHEDULED MAINTENANCE DONE THERE AT THE DEALERSHIP. I HOWEVER HAVE 54K ON THE ENGINE SO I AM JUST OUTSIDE OF THE WARRANTY. I HAVE BEEN GOING THROUGH VARIOUS FIAT FORUMS AND SEE THAT THIS SEEMS TO BE AN ISSUE WITH CAM 2.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/21/2017 - HOT SPRINGS, AR
COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER WHEN DRIVING , I FILED FOR LEMON LAW. I WON. NOW THEY ARE GOING TO SELL THIS CAR ON THE INTERNET AS A BUY BACK.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/21/2017 - HOT SPRINGS, AR
COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER WHEN DRIVING , I FILED FOR LEMON LAW. I WON. NOW THEY ARE GOING TO SELL THIS CAR ON THE INTERNET AS A BUY BACK.

View Details

ENGINE

6/21/2017 - HOT SPRINGS, AR
COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER WHEN DRIVING , I FILED FOR LEMON LAW. I WON. NOW THEY ARE GOING TO SELL THIS CAR ON THE INTERNET AS A BUY BACK.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/21/2017 - NASHVILLE, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FIAT 500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE OIL PRESSURE AND SERVICE ENGINE WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS SERVICED BY AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V302000 (POWER TRAIN). THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER HAD NOT SUPPLIED THE REMEDY AND PARTS WITHIN A REASONABLE TIME FRAME. MONTHS AFTER WAITING FOR THE RECALL REPAIR PARTS, THE CLUTCH WAS NOT FUNCTIONING PROPERLY AND THERE WAS A STRONG VIBRATION COMING FROM THE PEDAL. THE MANUFACTURER HAD A DEALER (BOB FRENSLEY CHRYSLER JEEP RAM FIAT IN MADISON, TN) SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT FOR JULY 6, 2017. IN THE INTERIM, THE CONTACT COULD OBTAIN A RENTAL VEHICLE AND WOULD BE REIMBURSED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,000. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

ENGINE

6/21/2017 - NASHVILLE, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FIAT 500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE OIL PRESSURE AND SERVICE ENGINE WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS SERVICED BY AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V302000 (POWER TRAIN). THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER HAD NOT SUPPLIED THE REMEDY AND PARTS WITHIN A REASONABLE TIME FRAME. MONTHS AFTER WAITING FOR THE RECALL REPAIR PARTS, THE CLUTCH WAS NOT FUNCTIONING PROPERLY AND THERE WAS A STRONG VIBRATION COMING FROM THE PEDAL. THE MANUFACTURER HAD A DEALER (BOB FRENSLEY CHRYSLER JEEP RAM FIAT IN MADISON, TN) SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT FOR JULY 6, 2017. IN THE INTERIM, THE CONTACT COULD OBTAIN A RENTAL VEHICLE AND WOULD BE REIMBURSED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,000. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds