Auto Recalls for Consumers

FIAT 500 - 2013 FIAT 500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 43 complaints filed for the 2013 FIAT 500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FIAT 500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FIAT 500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (15) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electrical System (3) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (3) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (4) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (3) Unknown Or Other (1) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  ... 5
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

9/16/2016 - DANIELSVILLE, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FIAT 500. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER AND SWITCHED OUT OF GEAR WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT ACCELERATE BEYOND 15 MPH ON THE HIGHWAY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 55,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/16/2016 - DANIELSVILLE, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FIAT 500. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER AND SWITCHED OUT OF GEAR WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT ACCELERATE BEYOND 15 MPH ON THE HIGHWAY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 55,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/14/2016 - SHORELINE, WA
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2013 FIAT 500. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED BY THE CURB IN FRONT OF THE HOUSE, ANOTHER VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE AND CAUSED IT TO EXPLODE. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED AND TOWED TO A TOW YARD. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V302000 (POWER TRAIN); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 22,000. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/5/2016 - BATON ROUGE, LA
THE HEADLIGHTS AND TAILLIGHTS WILL NOT WORK. THE BULBS "BURN OUT" AS SOON AS THEY ARE REPLACED. THIS ISSUE HAS BEEN ONGOING SINCE THE CAR WAS PURCHASED, THE MANUFACTURER SIMPLY REPLACED THEM WHILE UNDER WARRANTY - NOW THAT THE VEHICLE IS NO LONGER UNDER WARRANTY AND THEIR DEALERSHIPS ARE CLOSED IN THE STATE THEY WISH TO HAVE ME TAKE THE CAR OUT OF STATE, PAY FOR A RENTAL WHILE THEY ATTEMPT TO DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM. I HAVE GIVEN THEM 5 OPPORTUNITIES PRIOR TO THIS TIME TO DO SO AND EACH TIME WAS TOLD IT WAS "BAD BULBS". I CANNOT GET THE VEHICLE INSPECTED AND THERE IS ALSO A RECALL THAT I CANNOT GET SERVICED DUE TO THEIR OTHER FACILITIES BEING UNEQUIPPED TO SERVICE THIS PRODUCT. THERE ARE OTHER ELECTRICAL PROBLEMS THAT HAVE PLAGUED THE VEHICLE AND STILL ARE, BUT WILL NOT CAUSE A SAFETY INSPECTION FAILURE. THESE TOO HAVE BEEN SUPPOSEDLY REPAIRED IN THE PAST ONLY TO REOCCUR. I AM SEEKING YOUR ASSISTANCE AS I HAVE RECEIVED NO RESOLUTION FROM THE MANUFACTURER AND DO NOT HAVE THE MEANS TO PAY FOR A RENTAL CAR OF UNKNOWN DURATION FOR THEM TO ATTEMPT TO DIAGNOSE THIS FOR THE 6TH TIME. ANY HELP I CAN GET IS APPRECIATED. THERE HAVE BEEN MULTIPLE OCCURRENCES SINCE 2013.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/25/2016 - TELFORD, PA
I WAS DRIVING ON A 45 MPH ROAD WHEN SUDDENLY THE CLUTCH PEDDLE FELL TO THE FLOOR, BECAME EXTREMELY STIFF AND BECAME UNRESPONSIVE. THE GEAR SHIFTER STAYED STUCK IN SECOND GEAR AND COULD NOT MOVE. THIS WAS A NARROW, WINDY ROAD WITH NO SHOULDER AND SIGNIFICANT ELEVATION CHANGES RUNNING THROUGH A DENSELY WOODED AREA OF PENNSYLVANIA. THERE WAS NO WHERE TO PULL OVER AND OTHER CARS ON THE ROAD. THERE IS CURRENTLY A RECALL FOR THIS CLUTCH BUT THE PARTS HAVE NOT YET BEEN MANUFACTURED. I HAVE ALREADY HAD THE CLUTCH REPLACED ONCE, SO THIS NEW CLUTCH ALSO SUDDENLY FAILED WITHOUT WARNING AND WITH NO SIGNS OF THE USUAL CLUTCH WEAR AND FATIGUE. JUST SUDDEN CLUTCH FAILURE WHILE DRIVING. THE CAR HAS59000 MILES ON IT AND IS ONLY3 YEARS OLD. FIAT EXPECTS ME TO PAY IN FULL TO HAVE THE SAME DEFECTIVE CLUTCH PARTS INSTALLED A THIRD TIME. I CAN THEN APPLY FOR REIMBURSEMENT FOR THESE KNOWN DEFECTIVE PARTS. I WILL THEN HAVE TO BRING THE CAR BACK FOR A FOURTH CLUTCH WHEN THE NEW PARTS ARE AVAILABLE UNDER TYRE RECALL.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/24/2016 - ALBANY, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FIAT 500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V302000 (POWER TRAIN); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/23/2016 - LAS VEGAS, NV
RECEIVED RECALL NOTICE IN JUNE, 2 MONTHS LATER AND THE DEALERSHIP IS STILL TELLING ME THAT FIAT HASN'T SENT THEM THE PARTS AND THERE'S NOTHING THEY CAN DO. THE RECALL IS RELATED TO THE CLUTCH GOING OUT. THE RECALL NOTICE NOTED THAT THIS CAN CAUSE AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/16/2016 - LAWRENCEVILLE, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FIAT 500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V302000 (POWER TRAIN); HOWEVER, THE PARTS FOR THE RECALL REPAIR WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/9/2016 - NAPLES, FL
AFTER CONTACTING CHRYSLER CORP I AM BEING TOLD THAT THERE ARE NO PARTS FOR MY RECALL AND THAT I SHOULD MAKE THE REPAIR ON MY OWN UTILIZING THE SAME DEFECTIVE PARTS THAT ARE ON RECALL!!! I ALREADY HAD AN ACCIDENT ON 7/29 WHEN THE CAR STALLED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE STREET AND WHEN I ATTEMPTED TO PUSH IT OUT OF HARMS WAY I FELL HARD ON THE CONCRETE. TO PUT IN AT MY COST THE SAME DEFECTIVE PARTS IS PUTTING MY LIFE IN DANGER.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/5/2016 - NAPLES, FL
FIAT 500 STICK SHIFT RECALL I HAVE CONTACTED CHRYSLER CORPORATE TO INQUIRE ABOUT MY RECALL AND THEY ARE STATING THAT THEY HAVE NO PARTS. IF I WOULD LIKE TO PAY FOR THE REPAIR I COULD THEN I COULD "BATTLE IT OUT" WITH CHRYSLER FOR REIMBURSEMENT. I NEVER RECEIVED A RECALL LETTER. I ONLY FOUND OUT WHEN I CONTACTED THE DEALER. I WAS DRIVING MY CAR WHEN THE STICK SEIZED UP AND I COULDNT SHIFT MY CAR AND IT LEFT ME STRANDED IN THE STREET. I PUSHED MY CAR OUT OF HARMS WAY AND I ENDED UP FALLING ON THE STREET WHEN I LOST CONTROL OF THE CAR PUSHING IT. 2 POLICE OFFICERS CAME TO MY AID. I CONTACTED THE DEALER AND THEY HAD IT TOWED. THEN I WAS ADVISED THAT THERE WERE NO PARTS AVAILABLE/. I HAVE CALLED CHRYSLER CORPORATION BUT NO ONE WILL ADDRESS MY COMPLAINT. I AM WITHOUT A CAR, A RENTAL NOTHING. I WAS ADVISED 3 TIMES THAT A FIAT MANAGER FROM CORPORATE WOULD CALL ME. THEY HAVE NOT. NO ONE WANTS TO ASSIST ME.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds