Auto Recalls for Consumers

FIAT 500 - 2013 FIAT 500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 40 complaints filed for the 2013 FIAT 500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FIAT 500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FIAT 500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (14) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electrical System (2) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (3) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (3) Unknown Or Other (1) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  ... 4
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

8/25/2016 - TELFORD, PA
I WAS DRIVING ON A 45 MPH ROAD WHEN SUDDENLY THE CLUTCH PEDDLE FELL TO THE FLOOR, BECAME EXTREMELY STIFF AND BECAME UNRESPONSIVE. THE GEAR SHIFTER STAYED STUCK IN SECOND GEAR AND COULD NOT MOVE. THIS WAS A NARROW, WINDY ROAD WITH NO SHOULDER AND SIGNIFICANT ELEVATION CHANGES RUNNING THROUGH A DENSELY WOODED AREA OF PENNSYLVANIA. THERE WAS NO WHERE TO PULL OVER AND OTHER CARS ON THE ROAD. THERE IS CURRENTLY A RECALL FOR THIS CLUTCH BUT THE PARTS HAVE NOT YET BEEN MANUFACTURED. I HAVE ALREADY HAD THE CLUTCH REPLACED ONCE, SO THIS NEW CLUTCH ALSO SUDDENLY FAILED WITHOUT WARNING AND WITH NO SIGNS OF THE USUAL CLUTCH WEAR AND FATIGUE. JUST SUDDEN CLUTCH FAILURE WHILE DRIVING. THE CAR HAS59000 MILES ON IT AND IS ONLY3 YEARS OLD. FIAT EXPECTS ME TO PAY IN FULL TO HAVE THE SAME DEFECTIVE CLUTCH PARTS INSTALLED A THIRD TIME. I CAN THEN APPLY FOR REIMBURSEMENT FOR THESE KNOWN DEFECTIVE PARTS. I WILL THEN HAVE TO BRING THE CAR BACK FOR A FOURTH CLUTCH WHEN THE NEW PARTS ARE AVAILABLE UNDER TYRE RECALL.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/24/2016 - ALBANY, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FIAT 500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V302000 (POWER TRAIN); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/23/2016 - LAS VEGAS, NV
RECEIVED RECALL NOTICE IN JUNE, 2 MONTHS LATER AND THE DEALERSHIP IS STILL TELLING ME THAT FIAT HASN'T SENT THEM THE PARTS AND THERE'S NOTHING THEY CAN DO. THE RECALL IS RELATED TO THE CLUTCH GOING OUT. THE RECALL NOTICE NOTED THAT THIS CAN CAUSE AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/16/2016 - LAWRENCEVILLE, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FIAT 500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V302000 (POWER TRAIN); HOWEVER, THE PARTS FOR THE RECALL REPAIR WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/9/2016 - NAPLES, FL
AFTER CONTACTING CHRYSLER CORP I AM BEING TOLD THAT THERE ARE NO PARTS FOR MY RECALL AND THAT I SHOULD MAKE THE REPAIR ON MY OWN UTILIZING THE SAME DEFECTIVE PARTS THAT ARE ON RECALL!!! I ALREADY HAD AN ACCIDENT ON 7/29 WHEN THE CAR STALLED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE STREET AND WHEN I ATTEMPTED TO PUSH IT OUT OF HARMS WAY I FELL HARD ON THE CONCRETE. TO PUT IN AT MY COST THE SAME DEFECTIVE PARTS IS PUTTING MY LIFE IN DANGER.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/5/2016 - NAPLES, FL
FIAT 500 STICK SHIFT RECALL I HAVE CONTACTED CHRYSLER CORPORATE TO INQUIRE ABOUT MY RECALL AND THEY ARE STATING THAT THEY HAVE NO PARTS. IF I WOULD LIKE TO PAY FOR THE REPAIR I COULD THEN I COULD "BATTLE IT OUT" WITH CHRYSLER FOR REIMBURSEMENT. I NEVER RECEIVED A RECALL LETTER. I ONLY FOUND OUT WHEN I CONTACTED THE DEALER. I WAS DRIVING MY CAR WHEN THE STICK SEIZED UP AND I COULDNT SHIFT MY CAR AND IT LEFT ME STRANDED IN THE STREET. I PUSHED MY CAR OUT OF HARMS WAY AND I ENDED UP FALLING ON THE STREET WHEN I LOST CONTROL OF THE CAR PUSHING IT. 2 POLICE OFFICERS CAME TO MY AID. I CONTACTED THE DEALER AND THEY HAD IT TOWED. THEN I WAS ADVISED THAT THERE WERE NO PARTS AVAILABLE/. I HAVE CALLED CHRYSLER CORPORATION BUT NO ONE WILL ADDRESS MY COMPLAINT. I AM WITHOUT A CAR, A RENTAL NOTHING. I WAS ADVISED 3 TIMES THAT A FIAT MANAGER FROM CORPORATE WOULD CALL ME. THEY HAVE NOT. NO ONE WANTS TO ASSIST ME.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/3/2016 - SPOKANE, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FIAT 500. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE PULLED TO THE LEFT AND RIGHT. THE SHIFTER GEAR FAILED TO SHIFT. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V302000 (POWER TRAIN) AND STATED THAT THE PART NEEDED FOR THE REPAIR WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 13,000. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/2/2016 - CHATTANOOGA, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FIAT 500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V302000 (POWER TRAIN); HOWEVER, THE PART NEEDED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/26/2016 - BURBANK, CA
I RECEIVED A NOTICE FROM FCA US LLC REGARDING MY VEHICLE'S SAFETY RECALL (S34 / NHTSA 16V-302) ABOUT A MONTH A HALF NOW. EVERY TIME I TRY TO REACH FIAT OR THE FCA RECALL ASSISTANCE CENTER, THEY KEEP TELLING ME THAT THE PART HAS NOT BEEN RECEIVED. PER THE FCA'S NOTICE IT INDICATES THE FOLLOWING "THE INABILITY TO DISENGAGE THE CLUTCH, SHIFT GEARS AND/OR LOSS OF MOTIVE POWER COULD CAUSE A CRASH WITHOUT WARNING". IT'S BEEN OVER A MONTH THAT I GET IN MY CAR WONDERING WHAT IS GOING TO HAPPEN --WILL I CRASH, GET HURT OR EVEN DIE DUE TO THIS?!!? YET NO ONE IS HELPING AND I KEEP GETTING THE RUN-AROUND. HOW LONG DOES IT TAKE TO GET THE PART IN QUESTION? THIS IS UNACCEPTABLE AS WE TRUST THE CARS WE BUY TO BE SAFE!!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/12/2016 - VASHON, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FIAT 500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO SHIFT IN AND OUT OF GEAR. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V302000 (POWER TRAIN); HOWEVER, THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE PART WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 44,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  ... 4
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds