Auto Recalls for Consumers

FIAT 500 - 2013 FIAT 500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 71 complaints filed for the 2013 FIAT 500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FIAT 500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FIAT 500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (1) Suspension (1) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electrical System (5) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Service Brakes (3) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (3) Unknown Or Other (5) Wheels (1)
Engine (7) Power Train (32) Structure (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

6/21/2017 - NASHVILLE, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FIAT 500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE OIL PRESSURE AND SERVICE ENGINE WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS SERVICED BY AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V302000 (POWER TRAIN). THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER HAD NOT SUPPLIED THE REMEDY AND PARTS WITHIN A REASONABLE TIME FRAME. MONTHS AFTER WAITING FOR THE RECALL REPAIR PARTS, THE CLUTCH WAS NOT FUNCTIONING PROPERLY AND THERE WAS A STRONG VIBRATION COMING FROM THE PEDAL. THE MANUFACTURER HAD A DEALER (BOB FRENSLEY CHRYSLER JEEP RAM FIAT IN MADISON, TN) SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT FOR JULY 6, 2017. IN THE INTERIM, THE CONTACT COULD OBTAIN A RENTAL VEHICLE AND WOULD BE REIMBURSED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,000. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/21/2017 - NASHVILLE, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FIAT 500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE OIL PRESSURE AND SERVICE ENGINE WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS SERVICED BY AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V302000 (POWER TRAIN). THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER HAD NOT SUPPLIED THE REMEDY AND PARTS WITHIN A REASONABLE TIME FRAME. MONTHS AFTER WAITING FOR THE RECALL REPAIR PARTS, THE CLUTCH WAS NOT FUNCTIONING PROPERLY AND THERE WAS A STRONG VIBRATION COMING FROM THE PEDAL. THE MANUFACTURER HAD A DEALER (BOB FRENSLEY CHRYSLER JEEP RAM FIAT IN MADISON, TN) SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT FOR JULY 6, 2017. IN THE INTERIM, THE CONTACT COULD OBTAIN A RENTAL VEHICLE AND WOULD BE REIMBURSED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,000. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/21/2017 - AUSTIN, TX
I PARKED MY VEHICLE IN A PUBLIC LOT AND WHEN I RETURNED TO MY VEHICLE AND STARTED IT THE LIGHTS TURNED ON THEN SHUT OFF QUICKLY AND THE KEY WAS STUCK IN THE IGNITION. I JUMP STARTED THE VEHICLE WHICH SEEMED TO JUST CHARGE IT AND WAS ABLE TO GET THE KEY RELEASED AND THE POWER, LIGHTS AND WINDOWS ALL WORKING AGAIN BUT WHEN I TURNED TO START THE ENGINE IT DOES NOTHING BUT CLICK. I ALSO TRIED BOTH KEYS THAT I HAVE FOR THE VEHICLE AND THE POWER LOCK AND UNLOCK DOES NOT EVEN WORK.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/12/2017 - WATERBURY, VT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FIAT 500. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO DRIVE OUT OF A PARKING STRUCTURE, THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO SHIFT THE VEHICLE INTO GEAR. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE SHIFTER CABLE FRACTURED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V302000 (POWER TRAIN). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 85,000.

View Details

ENGINE

6/7/2017 - SHARPSVILLE, PA
I HAVE RECEIVED SEVERAL RECALLS ON MY CLUTCH. I TOOK IT TO MY DEALERSHIP AND THEY WERE MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE JANUARY 11TH, 2017 AND THEY STILL HAVE YET TO CONTACT ME. ALSO I HAVE AN OIL LEAK IN WHICH THEY SAID THEY FIXED. RIGHT AFTER I TOOK IT HOME OIL HAS BEEN FLOODING OUT OF IT AND SPRAYING ALL OVER MY CAR. THIS SHOULD NOT BE A PROBLEM GIVEN MY MILES AND YEAR OF MY CAR. I GOT ALL OF THE NECESSARY OIL CHANGES BUT HAVE NO PROOF SINCE MY HUSBAND DID THEM HIMSELF AND PAID CASH FOR THE ITEMS HE NEEDED. SO THE DEALERSHIP IS REFUSING TO WORK WITH ME AT ALL WITH THIS ISSUE EVEN THOUGH THEY MADE THE OIL LEAK WORSE THEN IT ORIGINALLY WAS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/7/2017 - SHARPSVILLE, PA
I HAVE RECEIVED SEVERAL RECALLS ON MY CLUTCH. I TOOK IT TO MY DEALERSHIP AND THEY WERE MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE JANUARY 11TH, 2017 AND THEY STILL HAVE YET TO CONTACT ME. ALSO I HAVE AN OIL LEAK IN WHICH THEY SAID THEY FIXED. RIGHT AFTER I TOOK IT HOME OIL HAS BEEN FLOODING OUT OF IT AND SPRAYING ALL OVER MY CAR. THIS SHOULD NOT BE A PROBLEM GIVEN MY MILES AND YEAR OF MY CAR. I GOT ALL OF THE NECESSARY OIL CHANGES BUT HAVE NO PROOF SINCE MY HUSBAND DID THEM HIMSELF AND PAID CASH FOR THE ITEMS HE NEEDED. SO THE DEALERSHIP IS REFUSING TO WORK WITH ME AT ALL WITH THIS ISSUE EVEN THOUGH THEY MADE THE OIL LEAK WORSE THEN IT ORIGINALLY WAS.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

5/3/2017 - LEXINGTON, NC
THE BUCKLING MECHANISM IS JAMMED ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE CAUSING ME NOT TO BE ABLE TO BUCKLE THE SEAT BELT IN MY CAR. THE CAR "THINKS" THERE IS ALREADY A SEAT BELT BUCKLED. I AM USING THE PASSENGER SIDE BUCKLE FOR THE DRIVER'S BELT AT THIS TIME. IF I HAVE A PASSENGER, BOTH OF US CANNOT BE BUCKLED IN.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/26/2017 - KIRKLAND, WA
WE HAD A SEVERE ACCIDENT ON INTERSTATE 405 WHERE A LARGE SUV HIT US FROM BEHIND AT SPEED AND PUSHED US INTO A STATIONARY TRUCK. BOTH THE REAR AND FRONT OF THE CAR WERE SEVERELY DAMAGED. WE WERE MODERATELY INJURED. WERE GIVEN FIRST AID BY PARAMEDICS AND WE CHOSE NOT TO GO TO EMERGENCY AND GO TO URGENT CARE INSTEAD.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/26/2017 - KIRKLAND, WA
WE HAD A SEVERE ACCIDENT ON INTERSTATE 405 WHERE A LARGE SUV HIT US FROM BEHIND AT SPEED AND PUSHED US INTO A STATIONARY TRUCK. BOTH THE REAR AND FRONT OF THE CAR WERE SEVERELY DAMAGED. WE WERE MODERATELY INJURED. WERE GIVEN FIRST AID BY PARAMEDICS AND WE CHOSE NOT TO GO TO EMERGENCY AND GO TO URGENT CARE INSTEAD.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/26/2017 - QUINCY, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FIAT 500. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO DOWNSHIFT TO EXIT THE HIGHWAY, BUT THE VEHICLE DID NOT ENGAGE IN GEAR. THE VEHICLE LOST ACCELERATION AND WAS RUNNING VERY SLOWLY. THE CONTACT PULLED OVER TO THE SHOULDER AND NOTICED A BURNING ODOR. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V302000 (POWER TRAIN); HOWEVER, THE CONTACT NEVER RECEIVED ANY COMMUNICATION FROM THE MANUFACTURER. THE VEHICLE HAD BEEN AT THE DEALER FOR FIVE WEEKS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 29,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds