Auto Recalls for Consumers

FIAT 500 - 2013 FIAT 500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 83 complaints filed for the 2013 FIAT 500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FIAT 500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FIAT 500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (2) Suspension (2) Visibility (1)
Electrical System (9) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes (3) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (4) Unknown Or Other (6) Wheels (1)
Engine (12) Power Train (35) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

3/1/2018 - WATERVILLE, ME
WHEN I TURN MY STEERING WHEEL TO THE LEFT OR RIGHT I HEAR A CLICKING NOISE UNDER THE DRIVERS SIDE FLOOR MAT. IT ALSO MAKES A SNAPPING NOISE. I HAD A MECHANIC PUT MY CAR ON THE LIFT AND BOTH LEFT AND RIGHT RUBBER STRUT MOUNTS APPEAR TO BE QUITE LOOSE. THE CAR ONLY HAS 50K MILES ON IT. I HEAR THE POPPING AND SNAPPING NOISE AT SPEEDS LESS THAN 20 MPH AND WHEN GOING FORWARD OR BACKING UP. I NOW HAVE GREASE KICKING UP FROM THE DRIVERS SIDE.

View Details

STEERING

3/1/2018 - WATERVILLE, ME
WHEN I TURN MY STEERING WHEEL TO THE LEFT OR RIGHT I HEAR A CLICKING NOISE UNDER THE DRIVERS SIDE FLOOR MAT. IT ALSO MAKES A SNAPPING NOISE. I HAD A MECHANIC PUT MY CAR ON THE LIFT AND BOTH LEFT AND RIGHT RUBBER STRUT MOUNTS APPEAR TO BE QUITE LOOSE. THE CAR ONLY HAS 50K MILES ON IT. I HEAR THE POPPING AND SNAPPING NOISE AT SPEEDS LESS THAN 20 MPH AND WHEN GOING FORWARD OR BACKING UP. I NOW HAVE GREASE KICKING UP FROM THE DRIVERS SIDE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/1/2018 - WATERVILLE, ME
WHEN I TURN MY STEERING WHEEL TO THE LEFT OR RIGHT I HEAR A CLICKING NOISE UNDER THE DRIVERS SIDE FLOOR MAT. IT ALSO MAKES A SNAPPING NOISE. I HAD A MECHANIC PUT MY CAR ON THE LIFT AND BOTH LEFT AND RIGHT RUBBER STRUT MOUNTS APPEAR TO BE QUITE LOOSE. THE CAR ONLY HAS 50K MILES ON IT. I HEAR THE POPPING AND SNAPPING NOISE AT SPEEDS LESS THAN 20 MPH AND WHEN GOING FORWARD OR BACKING UP. I NOW HAVE GREASE KICKING UP FROM THE DRIVERS SIDE.

View Details

ENGINE

1/27/2018 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
ABOUT A MONTH AGO, MY WIFE WAS DRIVING TO/FROM WORK AND NOTICED A "CHECK ENGINE" LIGHT COME ON. WE IMMEDIATELY SCHEDULED AN APPOINTMENT WITH OUR LOCAL STUDIO AND CONTINUED TO DRIVE THE CAR AS NORMAL. AT THIS POINT, NOTHING WAS GOING ON WITH THE CAR, EXCEPT THAT THE LIGHT CAME ON. A DAY OR TWO LATER, THE LIGHT WENT OFF, AND THE CAR CONTINUED TO ACT NORMAL. WE ENDED UP CANCELING THE APPOINTMENT, GUESSING THAT THERE WAS A GLITCH WITH THE COMPUTER. THE VERY NEXT MORNING, MY WIFE STARTED THE CAR TO FIND THE ENGINE SHAKING AND THE EXHAUST MAKING A STRANGE SOUND, SO SHE SHUT THE ENGINE OFF AND WE HAD THE CAR TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP. A COUPLE OF DAYS LATER, I GOT A CALL FROM THE STUDIO EXPLAINING THAT THE CAR WAS VERY LOW ON OIL AND THAT IT APPEARS THE CAR'S BEEN CONSUMING OIL AT AN ACCELERATED RATE. HE SAID THEY PERFORMED AN OIL CHANGE AND THAT, PER FIAT'S PROTOCOL, THEY'D PERFORM AN OIL CONSUMPTION TEST BY LETTING US DRIVE THE CAR FOR 750 MILES AND THEN WE'D HAVE TO BRING THE CAR BACK TO LET THEM CHECK EVERYTHING OUT. I WENT TO PICK UP THE CAR ONLY TO FIND THE SAME ISSUE THAT MY WIFE HAD DESCRIBED (ENGINE SHAKING, EXHAUST MAKING NOISE). IT WAS LATE AND THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT WAS CLOSED, SO I LEFT THE KEY WITH THE RECEPTIONIST AND EXPLAINED THAT THE CAR WAS IN THE SAME CONDITION AS WHEN WE HAD IT TOWED AND THAT I'D LIKE THEM TO FIND OUT WHAT'S GOING ON. A FEW DAYS LATER, THE STUDIO CALLED TO EXPLAIN THAT THE ENGINE'S OIL PRESSURE WAS SHOT AND THAT THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. CYLINDER 3'S OIL VALVE WAS STUCK AND THE CYLINDER WAS MIS-FIRING. THE STUDIO RECOMMENDED REPLACED THE ENGINE AS OPPOSED TO INVESTIGATING WHAT FAILED, SINCE THE INVESTIGATION COULD TAKE HOURS AND COST MORE THAN AN ENGINE REPLACEMENT. THIS IS MY SECOND FIAT; THE FIRST EXPERIENCED THE CLUTCH RECALL THAT I HAD PREVIOUSLY REPORT TO NHTSA AND THANKS TO MINE AND OTHERS REPORTS, A RECALL WAS ISSUED.

View Details

ENGINE

1/25/2018 - NOVATO, CA
CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, TRANSMISSION LIGHT COME ON INTERMITTENTLY. AMBIENT TEMP SENSOR RECORDS CRAZY TEMPS AS LOW AS NEGATIVE 40 F. PLASTIC CASING AROUND PASSENGER SIDE VIEW MIRROR MELTED WHICH IS WHERE AMBIENT TEMP SENSOR IS LOCATED AND COULD BE FIRE HAZARD. DEALER HAS CHANGED AMBIENT SENSOR BUT WARNINGS AND WILD TEMPS STILL OCCURRING. INCIDENTS OCCUR AS SOON AS CAR IS TURNED ON AND STAY ON FOR VARIOUS AMOUNTS OF TIME

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/25/2018 - NOVATO, CA
CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, TRANSMISSION LIGHT COME ON INTERMITTENTLY. AMBIENT TEMP SENSOR RECORDS CRAZY TEMPS AS LOW AS NEGATIVE 40 F. PLASTIC CASING AROUND PASSENGER SIDE VIEW MIRROR MELTED WHICH IS WHERE AMBIENT TEMP SENSOR IS LOCATED AND COULD BE FIRE HAZARD. DEALER HAS CHANGED AMBIENT SENSOR BUT WARNINGS AND WILD TEMPS STILL OCCURRING. INCIDENTS OCCUR AS SOON AS CAR IS TURNED ON AND STAY ON FOR VARIOUS AMOUNTS OF TIME

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/25/2018 - NOVATO, CA
CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, TRANSMISSION LIGHT COME ON INTERMITTENTLY. AMBIENT TEMP SENSOR RECORDS CRAZY TEMPS AS LOW AS NEGATIVE 40 F. PLASTIC CASING AROUND PASSENGER SIDE VIEW MIRROR MELTED WHICH IS WHERE AMBIENT TEMP SENSOR IS LOCATED AND COULD BE FIRE HAZARD. DEALER HAS CHANGED AMBIENT SENSOR BUT WARNINGS AND WILD TEMPS STILL OCCURRING. INCIDENTS OCCUR AS SOON AS CAR IS TURNED ON AND STAY ON FOR VARIOUS AMOUNTS OF TIME

View Details

SEAT BELTS

12/14/2017 - OAKLAND, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FIAT 500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVER'S SEAT SEAT BELT DID NOT RETRACT. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO MCKEVITT CHRYSLER DODGE JEEP RAM (700 SHATTUCK AVE #100, BERKELEY, CA 94705, (510) 848-2206). THE DEALER STATED THAT THE VEHICLE COULD BE REPAIRED FOR $400 AND THAT THE SEAT BELT WOULD RETRACT IN THE EVENT OF A CRASH. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED. CHRYSLER STATED THAT THEY WOULD OPEN A TICKET AND ADVISED THE CONTACT TO FILE A VEHICLE SAFETY COMPLAINT. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 44,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY: SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

12/12/2017 - NEW YORK, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FIAT 500. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE SUN ROOF SHATTERED ABRUPTLY. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED BEFORE OR AFTER THE FAILURE. THE ALFA ROMEO OF MANHATTAN DEALER (629 W 54TH ST, NEW YORK, NY) WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 36,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/3/2017 - LANCASTER, MA
WIRING BETWEEN BODY AND TRUNK LID BREAKS DUE TO POOR DESIGN AND SHIELDING NOT PROTECTING THE WIRES.. 4 WIRES BROKEN CAUSING THE LICENSE PLATE LIGHT TO NOT BE LIT. THIS IS A TICKETABLE OFFENSE IN MASSACHUSETTS AND RESULTS IN A SURCHARGE ON THE DRIVERS LICENSE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds