Auto Recalls for Consumers

FIAT 500 - 2013 FIAT 500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by FIAT MOTORS OF N.A., INC.

There are 15 complaints filed for the 2013 FIAT 500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FIAT 500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FIAT 500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Engine (2) Power Train (1) Structure (1) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electrical System (1) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Steering (1) Tires (4) Visibility Wiper (1)

Pages:  1 
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

10/27/2014 - SOPHIA , NC
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FIAT 500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED WHILE TURNING THE FAILURE OCCURRED NUMEROUS. THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL LIGHT ILLUMINATED AFTER THE FAILURE OCCURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE SEVERAL TIMES. THE DEALER PERFORMED A DIAGNOSTIC WHICH WAS UNABLE TO LOCATE A FAILURE HOWEVER THE DEALER REPROGRAMMED THE COMPUTER AND THE FAILURE WAS NOT CORRECTED. THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO STALL WHILE TURNING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 39,000. LI

View Details

ENGINE

10/27/2014 - SOPHIA , NC
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FIAT 500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED WHILE TURNING THE FAILURE OCCURRED NUMEROUS. THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL LIGHT ILLUMINATED AFTER THE FAILURE OCCURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE SEVERAL TIMES. THE DEALER PERFORMED A DIAGNOSTIC WHICH WAS UNABLE TO LOCATE A FAILURE HOWEVER THE DEALER REPROGRAMMED THE COMPUTER AND THE FAILURE WAS NOT CORRECTED. THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO STALL WHILE TURNING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 39,000. LI

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

10/8/2014 - HOUSTON, TX
WIPER FLUID RESERVOIR LEAKING AND CAN NOT HOLD FLUID FOR WIPER. WENT TO DEALERSHIP UNDER WARRANTY BUT NO PARTS TO REPLACE AND NO ETA OF PARTS. CONTACTED THE FIAT USA ABOUT PARTS AND WAS TOLD NO PARTS AVAILABLE AND WILL NOT GIVE ANY ETA ON PARTS. I HAVE BEEN DRIVING IN HOUSTON IN RAINY SEASON AND CAN NOT CLEAR WINDSHIELD WITH WIPER FLUID WHEN DRIVING. WHEN CALLING THE FIAT USA, SERVICE REP CAN NOT HELP AND WILL NOT PROVIDE ANY UPPER LEVEL MANAGEMENT CONTACT TO ADDRESS THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

TIRES

9/4/2014 - PHOENIX, AZ
PROBLEM WITH LOW TIRE PRESSURE; OCCURS IN MULTIPLE TIRES, NOT JUST SAME ONE, OCCURS ABOUT EVERY OTHER WEEK. MOST RECENT INCIDENT OCCURRED 8/25/14, DEALER HAS CHECKED AND STATES NO PROBLEM/LEAKS FOUND. WAS AT DEALER FOR SERVICE ON 8/29/14 NO PROBLEMS IDENTIFIED THEY FILLED AIR IN ALL TIRES TO MFG. RECOMMENDED PRESSURE - 5 DAYS LATER ON 9/3/14 HAD A LOW PSI OF 24 ON RIGHT REAR TIRE. HAVE COMPLAINED TO DEALER SERVICE DEPARTMENT AND HAVE A FOLLOW UP SERVICE APPOINTMENT ON 9/8/14.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/6/2014 - LANCASTER, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FIAT 500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH ON THE HIGHWAY, THERE WAS A ROCK OR METAL PIECE THAT HIT THE FUEL TANK. THE FUEL FROM THE GAS TANK LEAKED OUT OF THE TANK AND ONTO THE ROAD. THE VEHICLE WAS PULLED OVER TO THE RIGHT. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A LOCAL DEALERSHIP. THE DIAGNOSIS ON THE VEHICLE WAS A FAULTY FUEL TANK. THERE WERE NO REPAIRS COMPLETED ON THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 22,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/20/2014 - COLUMBUS, OH
MY 2013 FIAT 500 WAS HIT ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE OF THE CAR. THE AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY AND I BROKE MY ARM AND HAD A HEAD INJURY... UPDATED 08-20-14 --UPDATED 08-26-14 UPDATED 09/2/2014

View Details

STEERING

6/24/2014 - KIRKSVILLE, MO
CENTER EMBLEM KEEPS COMING OUT OF THE MIDDLE OF THE STEERING WHEEL REVEALING THE AIRBAG BEHIND IT. I KEEP "POPPING" IT BACK IN PLACE, BUT IT DOES NOT STAY. THE NEAREST DEALER FOR REPAIRS IS 90 MILES AWAY. I SCHEDULED A TIME FOR THEM TO LOOK AT IT, BUT NOW HAVE TO BRING IT IN AGAIN SO THEY CAN KEEP IT LONGER TO DETERMINE IF IT JUST NEEDS THAT PIECE REPAIRED OR IF I NEED A WHOLE NEW STEERING WHEEL. I CAN ONLY HOPE THE AIRBAG DOES NOT DEPLOY FROM BEHIND THIS LOOSE PIECE AS IT IS CLEARLY NOT ATTACHED TO ANYTHING.

View Details

TIRES

4/22/2014 - WAYNE, MI
HAD TO REPLACE THE OEM TIRES ON MY 2013 FIAT 500 @ 5000 MI BECAUSE OF SIDEWALL BULGE,. TIRE SIZE IS 185 55 15 FIRESTONE FIREHAWK GT. NO LETTERS AFTER GT,FIRESTONE STORE TOLD ME ITS A ROAD HAZARD PROBLEM. I LOOKED ON THE WEB FOR FIAT TIRE PROBLEMS,OTHERS ARE HAVING SAME PROBLEM BUT SEEMS TO ONLY BE CARS WITH FIRESTONES.SO I BELIEVE THERE IS A PROBLEM,NONE OF MY 5 OTHER CARS,WHICH GO THE SAME PLACES HAVE A TIRE PROBLEM. I JUST TRIED TO CALL IN TO VSH HOTLINE AND GOT TREATED LIKE AN IDIOT. I'VE BEEN A MECHANIC FOR OVER 30 YEARS,I MAY HAVE SOME INSIGHT OF WHAT IS NORMAL TIRE PERFORMANCE.

View Details

TIRES

4/15/2014 - MOUNDSVILLE, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FIAT 500 SPORT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH, THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE TIRE EXPERIENCED A BLOW OUT. THE CONTACT ALSO INDICATED THAT THE SAME DEFECT OCCURRED WITH THE DRIVERS SIDE FRONT TIRE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60.

View Details

ENGINE

3/25/2014 - NEW YORK, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FIAT 500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH, THE VEHICLE WOULD INDEPENDENTLY DECELERATE. THE CONTACT SHUT OFF THE VEHICLE AND WHEN RESTARTED, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, WHO COULD NOT DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS SERVICED FOUR TIMES FOR THE RECURRING FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 4,600.

View Details
Pages:  1 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds