Auto Recalls for Consumers

FIAT 500 - 2013 FIAT 500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by FIAT MOTORS OF N.A., INC.

There are 8 complaints filed for the 2013 FIAT 500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FIAT 500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FIAT 500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Engine (1) Tires (1) Unknown Or Other (1) Vehicle Speed Control (4)


 
ComplaintDescription

TIRES

4/15/2014 - MOUNDSVILLE, WV
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FIAT SPORT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH THE FRONT RIGHT PASSENGER SIDE TIRE EXPERIENCED A BLOW OUT. THE CONTACT ALSO INDICATED THAT THE SAME DEFECT OCCURRED WITH THE DRIVERS SIDE FRONT TIRE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60. JFT

View Details

ENGINE

3/25/2014 - NEW YORK, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FIAT 500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH, THE VEHICLE WOULD INDEPENDENTLY DECELERATE. THE CONTACT SHUT OFF THE VEHICLE AND WHEN RESTARTED, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, WHO COULD NOT DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS SERVICED FOUR TIMES FOR THE RECURRING FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 4,600.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/17/2014 - LOS ANGELES, CA , CA
I PURCHASED MY FIRST CAR 2013 FIAT, I AM A STUDENT AND I DRIVE ABOUT 1.20 HRS TO MY UNIVERSITY FROM HOME. ON 3/17/14 I WAS DRIVING TO SCHOOL THAT I HAD A FLAT TIRE .I FOUND OUT THIS CAR IT DOES NOT COME WITH SPARE TIRE JACK AND TOOLS, THERE IS A SMALL AIR PUMP UNDER THE SEAT THAT YOU HAVE TO REOMVE IT AND PLUG IT IN TO THE OUTLET AND PUT AIR IN TO THE TIRE, I TRIED TO PUT AIR INTO THE TIRE BUT THE PUMP DID NOT WORK. I CALLED FIAT THEY TOLD ME THE PUMP IS GOOD ONLY WHEN YOU HAVE LOW AIR IN THE TIRE BUT IF YOU HAVE A FLAT YOU HAVE TO TAKE IT TO THE DEALER TO CHANGE THE TIRE OR FIX IT I CALLED MY FATHER TO COME AND HELP ME BECAUSE I WAS STRANDED AND FRIGHTENED AND LATE FOR MY SCHOOL AND NO SPARE TIRE CAN YOU IMAGINE THIS ACCIDENT HAPPENED IN THE MIDDLE NO WERE OR I HAVE TO TAKE SOMEBODY TO THE HOSPITAL EMERGENCY OR....A YOUNG GIRL WITH OUT NO SPARE TIRE WHAT WOULD HAPPENED TO ME OR ANY OTHER FIAT OWNERS. MY FATHER CAME AND CHECK THE TIRE ALL OVER AND TOOK PICTURES OF IT THERE WAS NO SIGN OF NO NAILS INTO THE TIRES. HE CALLED FIAT ROAD SIDE ASSISTANT THEY TOLD HIM YOU HAVE TO WAIT FOR 90 MINUTES FOR TOW SERVICE AND WHEN HE COMPLAINT TO THEM FOR LONG HOUR WAIT THEY TOLD MY FATHER YOU CAN PAY FROM YOUR POCKET AND DEAL WITH IT..!! . I THINK THE SPARE TIRE AND JACK & TOOLS ARE NECESSITY AND A SAFETY ISSUE FOR A VEHICLE AND THEY MUST HAVE IT IN THE CAR IN CASE YOU ARE FAR AWAY AND NO ACCESS TO ANY DEALER ARROUND YOU AND YOUR LIFE SAFETY ISSUE. MY FATHER ASK THE FIAT OVER THE PHONE WHY THE VEHICLE DOES NOT HAVE SPARE TIRE PACKAGE THEY TOLD HIM YOU SHOULD ASK THE DEALER AT THE TIME OF THE SALE TO SELL IT TO YOU..??? ALL THE CARS MANDATORY BY LAW MUST HAVE SAFETY FEATURES FOR THE CONSUMERS ONE OF THEM IS SPARE TIRE PACKAGE. AT THIS TIME I WOULD LIKE TO FILE A FORMAL COMPLAINT AGAINST FIAT AND FIAT DEALERS FOR SELLING UNSAFE VEHIVLE TO THE CONSUMER.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/6/2014 - LEXINGTON, KY
WHILE ACCELERATING THE SPEEDOMETER WOULD NOT READ ANY HIGHER THAN 20 MPH, EVEN WHEN GOING SPEEDS WELL OVER 20 MPH ON THE INTERSTATE. COMING TO A COMPLETE STOP THE SPEEDOMETER WOULD READ AT 0, HOWEVER ONCE ACCELERATING OR DECELERATING FROM OVER 20 MPH WOULD NOT BE REGISTERED. THE CAR WAS TURNED ON AND OFF SEVERAL TIMES, AND SHIFTED THROUGH ALL THE GEARS, STILL NO FIX.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/15/2014 - LELAND, NC
THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL (ETC) LIGHT CAME ON AFTER SLOWING DOWN AND THEN HAVING TO ACCELERATE FAST TO AVOID AN ONCOMING CAR AT AN INTERSECTION CROSSING. AT THE SAME TIME THE CAR LOST SPEED AND ACCELERATION. WE CONSULTED THE MANUAL IMMEDIATELY AND DID WHAT IT SAID, THAT IS TO RESTART THE CAR. WE DID THIS AND THE LIGHT WENT OFF. TO DO THIS WE HAD TO PULL OFF THE INTERSTATE AND PARK AND THEN GET BACK ON. WHEN GETTING BACK ON I HAD TO SLOW DOWN AND AGAIN ACCELERATE QUICKLY AGAIN TO PROPERLY MERGE WITH ONCOMING TRAFFIC ON THE 4 LANE WE WERE TRAVELING. THE ECT LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN AND WE AGAIN STOPPED AND RESTARTED THE CAR AND THE ECT LIGHT WENT OUT. ABOUT 4 MILES LATER AT AN INTERSECTION I SLOWED THEN ACCELERATED AFTER MAKING A RIGHT HAND TURN (THE LIGHT WAS GREEN).THE ECT LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN AND THIS TIME I IMMEDIATELY LOST POWER AND ACCELERATION AND COULD NOT GET THE CAR ABOVE ABOUT 40 TO 45 MILES AN HOUR.WE HAPPENED TO BE TRAVELING TO THE CAR DEALERSHIP ON ANOTHER MATTER (PHONE PAIRING) AND WE WERE ONLY A HALF A MILE FROM THE DEALERSHIP SO WE TOOK IT IN TO HAVE THEM LOOK AT IT. THEY GAVE US THE SAME MAKE AND MODEL AS A LOANER.WE WENT A FEW MILES THE ECT LIGHT CAME ON IN THIS CAR (FIAT 500) SO WE WENT BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP TO SEE WHAT MIGHT BE CAUSING THIS IN TWO CARS.TTHE SERVICE TECHNICIAN FOUND THAT I HAD TOUCHED OR PRESSED THE BRAKE PEDDLE AND THE ACCELERATOR AT THE SAME TIME AND THIS CAUSES THE ECT SYSTEM TO ACTIVATE AN ECT LIGHT TO COME ON. HOWEVER, IT APPEARS THAT IF YOU EVEN TOUCH THE BRAKE FOR EVEN A SECOND WHILE THE ACCELERATOR IS ENGAGED OR ESPECIALLY IF IT IS TRYING TO INCREASE SPEED TO THE TIRES THE ECT WILL ENGAGE AND LIGHT WILL COME ON AND TO RESET YOU HAVE TO IMMEDIATELY STOP THE CAR TURN IT OFF SO THE SYSTEM WILL RESET. THIS WHOLE EXPERIENCE TO ME WOULD INDICATE A SAFETY PROBLEM OR A DESIGN DEFECT. SIMILAR PROBLEMS SEEN ON INTERNET WITH THE ECT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/30/2013 - HARRISONVILLE, MO
EXPERIENCED REPEATED FAILURE OF THE AIR BAG SAFETY SYSTEM. VEHICLE HAS BEEN IN FOR REPAIR FOUR TIMES AND FAILURE REOCCURED AT BETWEEN 1 AND 80 MILES DISABELING THE AIR BAG SAFETY SYSTEM.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/5/2013 - ALEXANDRIA, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FIAT 500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE DECELERATED INDEPENDENTLY AND INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER FOR DIAGNOSIS BUT THEY WERE UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 10,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

5/28/2013 - PRAIRIE DU SAC, WI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FIAT 500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THE CRUISE CONTROL FAILED AND THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER BUT THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DUPLICATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 17.

View Details
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds