Auto Recalls for Consumers

FIAT 500 - 2013 FIAT 500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 25 complaints filed for the 2013 FIAT 500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FIAT 500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FIAT 500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Steering (3) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electrical System (2) Power Train (3) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (4) Wheels (1)
Engine (3) Service Brakes (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  ... 3
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

3/22/2016 - HOLLYWOOD, FL
AT 25,000 MILES I HAD AN OIL CHANGE AND TIRE ROTATION. AFTER THAT, I NOTICED UNSAFE FEELING ON MY STEERING ON HIGH SPEED (OVER 75MPH) THAT I NEVER FELT BEFORE THE SERVICE. IT JUST DIDN'T FEEL STEADY. BROUGHT THE CAR BACK IN THEN THEY REPLACED AN INTERNAL SHAFT BUT DIDN'T HELP. BROUGHT BACK IN TWICE MORE AND THEY TEST DROVE IT AND CHECKED EVERYTHING (SO THEY SAID) BUT NOTHING WAS FOUND. I WAS TOLD THAT THE TIRES WERE GETTING OLD AND TO JUST GET USED TO IT AND NOT TO DRIVE SO FAST. BUT ON INTERSTATES, SOMETIMES YOU HAVE TO GO WITH THE FLOW AND THAT FLOW CAN BE THAT HIGH SPEED. I TALKED TO TWO SERVICE PERSONNEL BUT THEY SEEMED LIKE THAT THEY DIDN'T UNDERSTAND MY CONCERN NOR CARE ABOUT IT. I POSTED MY CONCERN ON FIAT USA FACEBOOK PAGE AND SOMEONE FROM THE FIAT HEADQUARTERS CONTACTED ME WHICH WAS NICE BUT NOT MUCH HELP BECAUSE MY DEALERSHIP DIDN'T WANT TO DEAL WITH THEM. I WAS EVEN SUGGESTED BY A PERSON FROM THE HEADQUARTERS TO CHANGE THE DEALERSHIP. THE BOTTOM LINE IS THAT I WILL HAVE TO BUY NEW TIRES ABOUT 6,000 MILES FROM NOW BUT THIS KIND OF THING NEVER HAD HAPPENED TO ANY OF MY PREVIOUS CARS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/13/2016 - PLAINFIELD, CT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FIAT 500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, WHILE DEPRESSING THE CLUTCH TO SLOW DOWN, THE CONTACT HEARD AN ABNORMAL SOUND AND THE GEAR FAILED TO SHIFT WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT MANEUVERED THE VEHICLE TO A PARKING AREA. THE DEALER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE BUT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 59,000. ...UPDATED 02/19/16

View Details

WHEELS

9/26/2015 - AUSTIN, TX
I HAD TO HAVE MY FRONT TWO TIRES REPLACED ON MY 2012 FIAT 500 ABARTH IN MAY 2015 AFTER ONLY 17 MONTHS OF OWNERSHIP (BOUGHT IT NEW AT THE END OF 2013) AND 12,666 MILES, AND WAS TOLD THEY WERE NOT COVERED BY ANY WARRANTY. THESE WERE THE PERELLI 205/40R17XL BSW 3 SEASON TIRES. THE WEAR WAS SO BAD THEY WOULD NOT PASS INSPECTION. I PREVIOUSLY OWNED A 2012 FIAT 500 SPORT WITH PERELLI'S AND HAD IT FOR 17 MONTHS, BUT PUT 30,105 MILES ON IT, AND ONLY HAD TO REPLACE TWO TIRES BECAUSE ONE GOT A NAIL IN IT. I KNOW ROTATING THE TIRES WHEN RECOMMENDED IS IMPORTANT. I HAVE HAD MY RECOMMENDED SERVICES FOR BOTH CARS AS THE DEALERSHIP HAS RECOMMENDED.

View Details

ENGINE

7/30/2015 - EL PASO, TX
I TOOK MY VEHICLE IN FOR A TAPPING SOUND COMING FROM THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. THE AFTERNOON AFTER I DROPPED OFF MY CAR I RECEIVED A CALL FROM THE SERVICE ADVISER TELLING ME THAT THE NOISE WAS COMING FROM AN INTERIOR COMPONENT OF MY ENGINE AND THAT THE ENGINE WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED. THE ENGINE DID NOT COME IN UNTIL JULY 20, 2015. WITHIN A DAY OR TWO I RECEIVED ANOTHER CALL FROM THE SERVICE ADVISER TELLING ME THAT THE CLUTCH PRESSURE PLATE WAS WORN DOWN TO THE METAL AND THAT IT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. HE WENT ON TO SAY THAT THIS PARTICULAR PART WAS NOT COVERED UNDER THE MANUFACTURERS WARRANTY AND I WOULD NOW INCUR AN OUT OF POCKET EXPENSE. AT FIFTY THREE YEARS OF AGE I HAVE HAD SEVERAL VEHICLES WITH MANUAL TRANSMISSIONS AND NEVER HAVE HAD PROBLEMS WITH MY CLUTCH LET ALONE WITH THE PRESSURE PLATE. SOON AFTER I RESEARCHED SEVERAL VEHICLE REVIEW WEB SITES TO LEARN THAT THERE ARE A NUMBER OF COMPLAINTS WITH THE CLUTCH PRESSURE PLATE VEHICLES WITH MILEAGE FROM 11K TO 25 K.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/2/2015 - SAINT CHARLES, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FIAT 500. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THERE WAS A LOUD SCREECHING NOISE COMING FROM THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BRAKE PEDAL HAD TO BE LIGHTLY DEPRESSED AND THE STEERING WHEEL HAD TO BE TURNED IN ORDER FOR THE NOISE TO SUBSIDE. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DUPLICATED. A WEEK LATER, THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FRONT STRUT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER AGAIN WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE REAR BRAKES FAILED AND THE CALIPER SEIZED, WHICH CAUSED THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE ROTOR TO ABNORMALLY DETERIORATE. THE ROTOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. A FEW MONTHS LATER, WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE CLUTCH COULD NOT BE DEPRESSED AND THE VEHICLE COULD NOT SHIFT. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE CLUTCH FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 3,171.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/2/2015 - SAINT CHARLES, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FIAT 500. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THERE WAS A LOUD SCREECHING NOISE COMING FROM THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE BRAKE PEDAL HAD TO BE LIGHTLY DEPRESSED AND THE STEERING WHEEL HAD TO BE TURNED IN ORDER FOR THE NOISE TO SUBSIDE. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, BUT THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DUPLICATED. A WEEK LATER, THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FRONT STRUT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER AGAIN WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE REAR BRAKES FAILED AND THE CALIPER SEIZED, WHICH CAUSED THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE ROTOR TO ABNORMALLY DETERIORATE. THE ROTOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. A FEW MONTHS LATER, WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE CLUTCH COULD NOT BE DEPRESSED AND THE VEHICLE COULD NOT SHIFT. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE CLUTCH FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 3,171.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/5/2015 - ROCHESTER, MI
MY 2013 FIAT ABARTH WAS REAR ENDED. I WAS STOPPED. THE OTHER DRIVER, IN A GRAND CHEROKEE, REAR ENDED ME. HIS SPEED WAS APPROXIMATELY 20-30 MPH. I WAS KNOCKED UNCONSCIOUS BRIEFLY & HAD SEVERE HEAD PAIN. I AM STILL UNDERGOING TREATMENT. NONE OF MY CARS SAFETY FEATURES WORKED, INCLUDING THE FUEL PUMP SHUT OFF. I BELIEVE THE SEAT HIT ME IN THE HEAD. THE ABARTH HAS UNIQUE, HIGH BACKED SEATS WITH A FIXED / INTEGRATED HEAD REST WITH A HARD, PLASTIC INSERT. MY SEATBELTS FAILED TO TIGHTEN AND THE FUEL PUMP FAILED TO SHUT OFF. I WORKED FOR CHRYSLER FIAT AT THE TIME AND DID TELL PEOPLE IN ENGINEERING ABOUT THE CONCERN. I SUFFERED A CONCUSSION & NOW HAVE CONSTANT, DAILY HEADACHES AND MIGRAINES.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/5/2015 - ROCHESTER, MI
MY 2013 FIAT ABARTH WAS REAR ENDED. I WAS STOPPED. THE OTHER DRIVER, IN A GRAND CHEROKEE, REAR ENDED ME. HIS SPEED WAS APPROXIMATELY 20-30 MPH. I WAS KNOCKED UNCONSCIOUS BRIEFLY & HAD SEVERE HEAD PAIN. I AM STILL UNDERGOING TREATMENT. NONE OF MY CARS SAFETY FEATURES WORKED, INCLUDING THE FUEL PUMP SHUT OFF. I BELIEVE THE SEAT HIT ME IN THE HEAD. THE ABARTH HAS UNIQUE, HIGH BACKED SEATS WITH A FIXED / INTEGRATED HEAD REST WITH A HARD, PLASTIC INSERT. MY SEATBELTS FAILED TO TIGHTEN AND THE FUEL PUMP FAILED TO SHUT OFF. I WORKED FOR CHRYSLER FIAT AT THE TIME AND DID TELL PEOPLE IN ENGINEERING ABOUT THE CONCERN. I SUFFERED A CONCUSSION & NOW HAVE CONSTANT, DAILY HEADACHES AND MIGRAINES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/19/2015 - SPIRIT LAKE , ID
TECH FOUND TRANSMISSION LEAKING AND SEALED WITH EPOXY. SECOND LEAK WAS UNAWARE A REPAIR HAD BEEN MADE UNTIL I RETURNED CAR TO DEALER FOR A LEAK FOUND MY OIL CAN HENRY'S

View Details

STEERING

5/19/2015 - SPIRIT LAKE , ID
AT LOW SPEEDS 20 MPH AND BELOW YOU COULD HEAR A GRINDING NOISE THAT SOUNDED MUCH LIKE BAD BRAKES BEARINGS. SECOND TIME WE SUGGESTED THIS PROBLEM. FIRST TIME THE TECH SAID HE COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE NOISE. THIS TIME THEY FOUND BOTH OF THE REAR BEARING HAD BEEN COMPLETELY EATEN AWAY BY BRAKE DUST INSIDE THE BEARING ASSEMBLY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  ... 3
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds