Auto Recalls for Consumers

FIAT 500 - 2013 FIAT 500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 62 complaints filed for the 2013 FIAT 500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FIAT 500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FIAT 500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Exterior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (3) Suspension (1) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electrical System (3) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Steering (3) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Structure (5) Unknown Or Other (2) Wheels (1)
Engine (5) Power Train (29)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

3/2/2017 - SARASOTA, FL
WHEN I FIRST BOUGHT MY CAR I HAD ISSUES WITH A TAIL LIGHT GOING OUT WITHIN THE FIRST 6 MONTHS. THEN A HEADLIGHT 2 MONTHS AFTER THAT THEN 12 MONTHS A TAILLIGHT THEN ANOTHER TAILLIGHT AND HEADLIGHT WELL YOU SEE WHAT I MEAN THEN THEY RECALLED A CLUCH ON MY CAR BUT THEY DIDNT HAVE A REPLACEMNT PART YET AND THEY NEVER CONTACTED ME ABOUT THE RECALL I ASSUME IT WAS THIS ORGANIZATION BUT WHEN I WAS DRIVING AT NIGHT THE CLUCH JUST DROPPED OUT FROM UNDER MY FOOT AND ALMOST CAUSE ME TO CRASH WHEN I RECOVERED AND HAD TO STOPO BECAUSE OF A RED LIGHT I THROUGH ON MY EMERGANCIES AND ANOTHER TAIL LIGHT WENT OUT BUT THIS TIME I WAS ALMOST REAR ENDED BECAUSE THEY THOUGHT I WAS SWITHCHING LANES I NEVER RECIEVED A WARNING LIGHT THAT MY TAILLIGHT WAS OUT NOW I HAVE HAD MY TAIL LIGHT GO OUT AGAIN AND A HEADLIGHT WITHIN A MONTH OF EACH OTHER AND STILL NO WARNING SIGN ALSO NOW THE BATTERY IS GOING OUT ON ME SOMETHIMES I CAN START THE SOMETIMES I CANT BUT NO WARNING SIGN UNLESS ITS NOT GOING TO TURN OVER AT ALL THEN I GET ALL THE BELLS GOING OFF FOR THAT WHEN THEY WERE REPAIRING THE CLUCH I ASKED ABOUT MY WARRENTY AND THEY SAID IT ALREADY RAN OUT BUT THAT WASNT TRUE I WAS CLOSE BUT I HAVE RUST PINHOLES COMING FROM UNDER THE PAINT ALL OVER MY WHITE CAR.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/2/2017 - SARASOTA, FL
WHEN I FIRST BOUGHT MY CAR I HAD ISSUES WITH A TAIL LIGHT GOING OUT WITHIN THE FIRST 6 MONTHS. THEN A HEADLIGHT 2 MONTHS AFTER THAT THEN 12 MONTHS A TAILLIGHT THEN ANOTHER TAILLIGHT AND HEADLIGHT WELL YOU SEE WHAT I MEAN THEN THEY RECALLED A CLUCH ON MY CAR BUT THEY DIDNT HAVE A REPLACEMNT PART YET AND THEY NEVER CONTACTED ME ABOUT THE RECALL I ASSUME IT WAS THIS ORGANIZATION BUT WHEN I WAS DRIVING AT NIGHT THE CLUCH JUST DROPPED OUT FROM UNDER MY FOOT AND ALMOST CAUSE ME TO CRASH WHEN I RECOVERED AND HAD TO STOPO BECAUSE OF A RED LIGHT I THROUGH ON MY EMERGANCIES AND ANOTHER TAIL LIGHT WENT OUT BUT THIS TIME I WAS ALMOST REAR ENDED BECAUSE THEY THOUGHT I WAS SWITHCHING LANES I NEVER RECIEVED A WARNING LIGHT THAT MY TAILLIGHT WAS OUT NOW I HAVE HAD MY TAIL LIGHT GO OUT AGAIN AND A HEADLIGHT WITHIN A MONTH OF EACH OTHER AND STILL NO WARNING SIGN ALSO NOW THE BATTERY IS GOING OUT ON ME SOMETHIMES I CAN START THE SOMETIMES I CANT BUT NO WARNING SIGN UNLESS ITS NOT GOING TO TURN OVER AT ALL THEN I GET ALL THE BELLS GOING OFF FOR THAT WHEN THEY WERE REPAIRING THE CLUCH I ASKED ABOUT MY WARRENTY AND THEY SAID IT ALREADY RAN OUT BUT THAT WASNT TRUE I WAS CLOSE BUT I HAVE RUST PINHOLES COMING FROM UNDER THE PAINT ALL OVER MY WHITE CAR.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/2/2017 - SARASOTA, FL
WHEN I FIRST BOUGHT MY CAR I HAD ISSUES WITH A TAIL LIGHT GOING OUT WITHIN THE FIRST 6 MONTHS. THEN A HEADLIGHT 2 MONTHS AFTER THAT THEN 12 MONTHS A TAILLIGHT THEN ANOTHER TAILLIGHT AND HEADLIGHT WELL YOU SEE WHAT I MEAN THEN THEY RECALLED A CLUCH ON MY CAR BUT THEY DIDNT HAVE A REPLACEMNT PART YET AND THEY NEVER CONTACTED ME ABOUT THE RECALL I ASSUME IT WAS THIS ORGANIZATION BUT WHEN I WAS DRIVING AT NIGHT THE CLUCH JUST DROPPED OUT FROM UNDER MY FOOT AND ALMOST CAUSE ME TO CRASH WHEN I RECOVERED AND HAD TO STOPO BECAUSE OF A RED LIGHT I THROUGH ON MY EMERGANCIES AND ANOTHER TAIL LIGHT WENT OUT BUT THIS TIME I WAS ALMOST REAR ENDED BECAUSE THEY THOUGHT I WAS SWITHCHING LANES I NEVER RECIEVED A WARNING LIGHT THAT MY TAILLIGHT WAS OUT NOW I HAVE HAD MY TAIL LIGHT GO OUT AGAIN AND A HEADLIGHT WITHIN A MONTH OF EACH OTHER AND STILL NO WARNING SIGN ALSO NOW THE BATTERY IS GOING OUT ON ME SOMETHIMES I CAN START THE SOMETIMES I CANT BUT NO WARNING SIGN UNLESS ITS NOT GOING TO TURN OVER AT ALL THEN I GET ALL THE BELLS GOING OFF FOR THAT WHEN THEY WERE REPAIRING THE CLUCH I ASKED ABOUT MY WARRENTY AND THEY SAID IT ALREADY RAN OUT BUT THAT WASNT TRUE I WAS CLOSE BUT I HAVE RUST PINHOLES COMING FROM UNDER THE PAINT ALL OVER MY WHITE CAR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/17/2017 - ST PETERSBURG, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FIAT 500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V302000 (POWER TRAIN); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/10/2017 - LINCOLN, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FIAT 500 SPORT HATCHBACK. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V302000 (POWER TRAIN); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/18/2017 - ANN ARBOR, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FIAT 500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V302000 (POWER TRAIN) HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/18/2017 - JEFFERSON, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FIAT 500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V302000 (POWER TRAIN), THE DEALER HAD SCHEDULED TWO APPOINTMENTS AND WHEN THE CONTACT ARRIVED THE PART WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE DEALER THEN ADVISED THE CONTACT TO CALL BACK 30 DAYS LATER TO DETERMINE IF THE PART WAS AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT. .....UPDATED 03/08/17

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/29/2016 - GUNTERSVILLE, AL
2013 FIAT 500. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO REPLACEMENT PARTS NOT AVAILABLE TO REPAIR RECALL NOTICE 16V-302. THE DEALER INFORMED THE CONSUMER, THE PEDAL ASSEMBLY WAS AVAILABLE. HOWEVER, THE CLUTCH WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE DEALER STATED THEY WOULD NOT BE PERFORMING ANY RECALLS, UNTIL THE BEGINNING OF THE NEW YEAR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/28/2016 - FONTANA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FIAT 500. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V302000 (POWER TRAIN) AND STATED THAT THE PART WAS NOT AVAILABLE WITHIN A REASONABLE TIME FRAME TO SCHEDULE THE RECALL REPAIR. THE TWO DEALERS CONTACTED DID NOT GIVE A SPECIFIC DATE FOR WHEN THE PART WOULD BECOME AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER COULD NOT PROVIDE AN ESTIMATED DATE FOR WHEN THE VEHICLE WOULD RECEIVE THE RECALL REPAIR. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/28/2016 - HANOVER, PA
THE FIAT HAS CONTINUOUS DIFFICULTY SHIFTING GEARS. MANY TIMES IT WON'T SHIFT OUT OF 2ND OR 3RD GEAR AT ALL EVEN WHEN GOING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. THE RPM STAYS AT 3-4 WHEN THIS HAPPENS. IT IS ALSO DIFFICULT TO ACCELERATE WITHOUT FEELING LIKE THE CAR IS GOING TO EXPLODE. IN MID-NOVEMBER I WAS LOOKING ONLINE AS TO A POSSIBLE PROBLEM AND FOUND A RECALL "S34" THAT BEGAN ON 11/10/16 WHERE IT IS DESCRIBED AS "THE CLUTCH DIAPHRAGM SPRING CAN FRACTURE & FAIL, CAUSING AN INABILITY TO SWITCH GEARS". THE REMEDY WAS TO INSTALL A CLUTCH PEDAL LIMITER & CLUTCH PEDAL SWITCH. THE DEALER SAID THAT THERE WAS NO REMEDY AT THIS TIME. I WENT ON THIS WEBSITE AGAIN AND NOW THERE IS NO RECALLS LISTED? CALLED SEVERAL PEOPLE INCLUDING THE FCA RECALL LINE AND THERE ISN'T A RECALL FOR THIS CAR. WHEN I CHECKED ONLINE BEFORE I SAW MANY COMMENTS AND COMPLAINTS ABOUT NOT BEING ABLE TO GET THE RECALL S34 PART, SO A SOLUTION WAS NEVER REACHED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds