Auto Recalls for Consumers

FIAT 500 - 2013 FIAT 500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 20 complaints filed for the 2013 FIAT 500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FIAT 500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FIAT 500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Steering (2) Tires (4) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electrical System (2) Power Train (1) Structure (4) Unknown Or Other (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (2) Service Brakes (1)

Pages:  1  
2  ... 2
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/5/2015 - ROCHESTER, MI
MY 2013 FIAT ABARTH WAS REAR ENDED. I WAS STOPPED. THE OTHER DRIVER, IN A GRAND CHEROKEE, REAR ENDED ME. HIS SPEED WAS APPROXIMATELY 20-30 MPH. I WAS KNOCKED UNCONSCIOUS BRIEFLY & HAD SEVERE HEAD PAIN. I AM STILL UNDERGOING TREATMENT. NONE OF MY CARS SAFETY FEATURES WORKED, INCLUDING THE FUEL PUMP SHUT OFF. I BELIEVE THE SEAT HIT ME IN THE HEAD. THE ABARTH HAS UNIQUE, HIGH BACKED SEATS WITH A FIXED / INTEGRATED HEAD REST WITH A HARD, PLASTIC INSERT. MY SEATBELTS FAILED TO TIGHTEN AND THE FUEL PUMP FAILED TO SHUT OFF. I WORKED FOR CHRYSLER FIAT AT THE TIME AND DID TELL PEOPLE IN ENGINEERING ABOUT THE CONCERN. I SUFFERED A CONCUSSION & NOW HAVE CONSTANT, DAILY HEADACHES AND MIGRAINES.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/5/2015 - ROCHESTER, MI
MY 2013 FIAT ABARTH WAS REAR ENDED. I WAS STOPPED. THE OTHER DRIVER, IN A GRAND CHEROKEE, REAR ENDED ME. HIS SPEED WAS APPROXIMATELY 20-30 MPH. I WAS KNOCKED UNCONSCIOUS BRIEFLY & HAD SEVERE HEAD PAIN. I AM STILL UNDERGOING TREATMENT. NONE OF MY CARS SAFETY FEATURES WORKED, INCLUDING THE FUEL PUMP SHUT OFF. I BELIEVE THE SEAT HIT ME IN THE HEAD. THE ABARTH HAS UNIQUE, HIGH BACKED SEATS WITH A FIXED / INTEGRATED HEAD REST WITH A HARD, PLASTIC INSERT. MY SEATBELTS FAILED TO TIGHTEN AND THE FUEL PUMP FAILED TO SHUT OFF. I WORKED FOR CHRYSLER FIAT AT THE TIME AND DID TELL PEOPLE IN ENGINEERING ABOUT THE CONCERN. I SUFFERED A CONCUSSION & NOW HAVE CONSTANT, DAILY HEADACHES AND MIGRAINES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/19/2015 - SPIRIT LAKE , ID
TECH FOUND TRANSMISSION LEAKING AND SEALED WITH EPOXY. SECOND LEAK WAS UNAWARE A REPAIR HAD BEEN MADE UNTIL I RETURNED CAR TO DEALER FOR A LEAK FOUND MY OIL CAN HENRY'S

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/19/2015 - SPIRIT LAKE , ID
AT LOW SPEEDS 20 MPH AND BELOW YOU COULD HEAR A GRINDING NOISE THAT SOUNDED MUCH LIKE BAD BRAKES BEARINGS. SECOND TIME WE SUGGESTED THIS PROBLEM. FIRST TIME THE TECH SAID HE COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE NOISE. THIS TIME THEY FOUND BOTH OF THE REAR BEARING HAD BEEN COMPLETELY EATEN AWAY BY BRAKE DUST INSIDE THE BEARING ASSEMBLY.

View Details

STEERING

5/19/2015 - SPIRIT LAKE , ID
AT LOW SPEEDS 20 MPH AND BELOW YOU COULD HEAR A GRINDING NOISE THAT SOUNDED MUCH LIKE BAD BRAKES BEARINGS. SECOND TIME WE SUGGESTED THIS PROBLEM. FIRST TIME THE TECH SAID HE COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE NOISE. THIS TIME THEY FOUND BOTH OF THE REAR BEARING HAD BEEN COMPLETELY EATEN AWAY BY BRAKE DUST INSIDE THE BEARING ASSEMBLY.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/21/2015 - ELMWOOD PARK, IL
EXPRESSWAY DRIVING AT 55MPH WHEN TRAFFIC CAME TO AN ABRUPT HALT. HARD BREAKING TRANSPIRED, ATTEMPT AT EVASION, RESULTING IN A FRONT IMPACT INTO THE REAR OF ANOTHER VEHICLE, AND THEN A REBOUND IMPACT INTO A RETAINMENT WALL ON THE DRIVERS SIDE. NONE OF THE 7 AIRBAGS DEPLOYED...UPDATED 05/07/15

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/21/2014 - CALLICOON, NY
THE TIRES ON THIS FIAT ARE PERRELLI NERO ZERO . ALL FOUR ARE VERY CHOPPY AND BADLY WORN. THEY WERE ROTATED AT 5,000 MILES. THE ROAD NOISE IS SO LOUD IT OVERPOWERS THE FACTORY RUMBLING OF THE FLOW THROUGH EXHAUST SYSTEM. THE TIRES AFFECT THE HANDLING AS I GET VIBRATIONS AND THE CAR DARTS FROM SIDE TO SIDE ON UNEVEN ROAD SURVACES.

View Details

ENGINE

10/27/2014 - SOPHIA , NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FIAT 500. WHILE TURNING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS WHERE THE FAILURE WAS UNDETERMINED. THE TECHNICIAN RECOMMENDED THAT THE COMPUTER BE REPROGRAMMED. THE REPAIR FAILED TO REMEDY THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 39,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/27/2014 - SOPHIA , NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FIAT 500. WHILE TURNING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE CONTROL WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS WHERE THE FAILURE WAS UNDETERMINED. THE TECHNICIAN RECOMMENDED THAT THE COMPUTER BE REPROGRAMMED. THE REPAIR FAILED TO REMEDY THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 39,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

10/8/2014 - HOUSTON, TX
WIPER FLUID RESERVOIR LEAKING AND CAN NOT HOLD FLUID FOR WIPER. WENT TO DEALERSHIP UNDER WARRANTY BUT NO PARTS TO REPLACE AND NO ETA OF PARTS. CONTACTED THE FIAT USA ABOUT PARTS AND WAS TOLD NO PARTS AVAILABLE AND WILL NOT GIVE ANY ETA ON PARTS. I HAVE BEEN DRIVING IN HOUSTON IN RAINY SEASON AND CAN NOT CLEAR WINDSHIELD WITH WIPER FLUID WHEN DRIVING. WHEN CALLING THE FIAT USA, SERVICE REP CAN NOT HELP AND WILL NOT PROVIDE ANY UPPER LEVEL MANAGEMENT CONTACT TO ADDRESS THIS PROBLEM.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  ... 2
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds