Auto Recalls for Consumers

FIAT 500 - 2013 FIAT 500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 31 complaints filed for the 2013 FIAT 500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FIAT 500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FIAT 500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (6) Structure (4) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electrical System (2) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (3) Tires (5) Wheels (1)
Engine (3) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (3) Vehicle Speed Control (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  ... 3
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

7/12/2016 - VASHON, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FIAT 500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO SHIFT IN AND OUT OF GEAR. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V302000 (POWER TRAIN); HOWEVER, THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE PART WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 44,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/7/2016 - BURLINGAME, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FIAT 500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE RECALL NOTICE FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V302000 (POWER TRAIN) WAS RECEIVED. AFTER CONTACTING THE DEALER AND THE MANUFACTURER ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS, THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE PARTS NEEDED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE WERE NOT AVAILABLE AND NO ESTIMATED TIME FOR RECEIVING THE PARTS COULD BE GIVEN. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/24/2016 - STANTON, CA
THE MANUAL SHIFTER IS VERY DIFFICULT TO ENGAGE IN REVERSE, 1ST AND SECOND GEAR. I WAS TOLD BY FIAT THAT THE REVERSE GEAR IS A QUIRK OF THE CAR AND THERE IS NO SOLUTION. THIS 1 &2 SHIFTING PROBLEM IS INTERMITTENT AND HAPPENS WHILE DRIVING IN TRAFFIC FROM A COMPLETE STOP. THE DEALERSHIP STATED THE GEARS WERE DIFFICULT DUE TO THE CLUTCH AND NEEDED REPLACEMENT. MY CAR HAS 12,400 MILES AND THE CLUTCH WAS NOT COVERED AND I PAID FOR THE REPLACEMENT. I WAS SHOCKED THAT MY CLUTCH NEEDED REPLACEMENT AT 12,000 MILES! I CONTACTED THE MANUFACTURE ABOUT THE DEFECT, BUT FIAT AGREED THAT I HAD TO PAY FOR THE REPLACEMENT OF THE CLUTCH. AFTER THE REPAIR, THE CAR HAS THE SAME PROBLEM WITH THE GEARS. I DON'T BELIEVE THAT CLUTCH NEEDED REPLACEMENT, THE CAR HAS A DEFECT.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

6/6/2016 - AVA, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FIAT 500. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE HEADLIGHTS BURNED OUT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 82,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/30/2016 - WALTHAM, MA
I OWNED THE SECOND FIAT 500 THOUGHT THE BRAKE'S ISSUE WOULD GO AWAY WHEN DRIVING IN THE WINTER TIME. BRAKES WOULD NOT STOP THE CAR AND EVEN YOU PRESSED IT ALL THE WAY DOWN. I HEARD FROM A FRIEND WHO LOST CONTROL OF HER FIAT'S BRAKE THIS LAST WINTER IN BOSTON, MA AND WOULD LIKE TO KNOW IT'S SOMETHING WRONG WITH MY VEHICLES AS WELL BEFORE THE WINTER THIS YEAR.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: HATCHBACK/LIFTGATE: LOCK

5/23/2016 - BRIDGEVILLE, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FIAT 500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE LIFTGATE LATCH MALFUNCTIONED AND THE HATCHBACK COULD NOT BE OPENED. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details

STEERING

3/22/2016 - HOLLYWOOD, FL
AT 25,000 MILES I HAD AN OIL CHANGE AND TIRE ROTATION. AFTER THAT, I NOTICED UNSAFE FEELING ON MY STEERING ON HIGH SPEED (OVER 75MPH) THAT I NEVER FELT BEFORE THE SERVICE. IT JUST DIDN'T FEEL STEADY. BROUGHT THE CAR BACK IN THEN THEY REPLACED AN INTERNAL SHAFT BUT DIDN'T HELP. BROUGHT BACK IN TWICE MORE AND THEY TEST DROVE IT AND CHECKED EVERYTHING (SO THEY SAID) BUT NOTHING WAS FOUND. I WAS TOLD THAT THE TIRES WERE GETTING OLD AND TO JUST GET USED TO IT AND NOT TO DRIVE SO FAST. BUT ON INTERSTATES, SOMETIMES YOU HAVE TO GO WITH THE FLOW AND THAT FLOW CAN BE THAT HIGH SPEED. I TALKED TO TWO SERVICE PERSONNEL BUT THEY SEEMED LIKE THAT THEY DIDN'T UNDERSTAND MY CONCERN NOR CARE ABOUT IT. I POSTED MY CONCERN ON FIAT USA FACEBOOK PAGE AND SOMEONE FROM THE FIAT HEADQUARTERS CONTACTED ME WHICH WAS NICE BUT NOT MUCH HELP BECAUSE MY DEALERSHIP DIDN'T WANT TO DEAL WITH THEM. I WAS EVEN SUGGESTED BY A PERSON FROM THE HEADQUARTERS TO CHANGE THE DEALERSHIP. THE BOTTOM LINE IS THAT I WILL HAVE TO BUY NEW TIRES ABOUT 6,000 MILES FROM NOW BUT THIS KIND OF THING NEVER HAD HAPPENED TO ANY OF MY PREVIOUS CARS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/13/2016 - PLAINFIELD, CT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FIAT 500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, WHILE DEPRESSING THE CLUTCH TO SLOW DOWN, THE CONTACT HEARD AN ABNORMAL SOUND AND THE GEAR FAILED TO SHIFT WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT MANEUVERED THE VEHICLE TO A PARKING AREA. THE DEALER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE BUT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 59,000. ...UPDATED 02/19/16

View Details

WHEELS

9/26/2015 - AUSTIN, TX
I HAD TO HAVE MY FRONT TWO TIRES REPLACED ON MY 2012 FIAT 500 ABARTH IN MAY 2015 AFTER ONLY 17 MONTHS OF OWNERSHIP (BOUGHT IT NEW AT THE END OF 2013) AND 12,666 MILES, AND WAS TOLD THEY WERE NOT COVERED BY ANY WARRANTY. THESE WERE THE PERELLI 205/40R17XL BSW 3 SEASON TIRES. THE WEAR WAS SO BAD THEY WOULD NOT PASS INSPECTION. I PREVIOUSLY OWNED A 2012 FIAT 500 SPORT WITH PERELLI'S AND HAD IT FOR 17 MONTHS, BUT PUT 30,105 MILES ON IT, AND ONLY HAD TO REPLACE TWO TIRES BECAUSE ONE GOT A NAIL IN IT. I KNOW ROTATING THE TIRES WHEN RECOMMENDED IS IMPORTANT. I HAVE HAD MY RECOMMENDED SERVICES FOR BOTH CARS AS THE DEALERSHIP HAS RECOMMENDED.

View Details

ENGINE

7/30/2015 - EL PASO, TX
I TOOK MY VEHICLE IN FOR A TAPPING SOUND COMING FROM THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT. THE AFTERNOON AFTER I DROPPED OFF MY CAR I RECEIVED A CALL FROM THE SERVICE ADVISER TELLING ME THAT THE NOISE WAS COMING FROM AN INTERIOR COMPONENT OF MY ENGINE AND THAT THE ENGINE WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED. THE ENGINE DID NOT COME IN UNTIL JULY 20, 2015. WITHIN A DAY OR TWO I RECEIVED ANOTHER CALL FROM THE SERVICE ADVISER TELLING ME THAT THE CLUTCH PRESSURE PLATE WAS WORN DOWN TO THE METAL AND THAT IT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. HE WENT ON TO SAY THAT THIS PARTICULAR PART WAS NOT COVERED UNDER THE MANUFACTURERS WARRANTY AND I WOULD NOW INCUR AN OUT OF POCKET EXPENSE. AT FIFTY THREE YEARS OF AGE I HAVE HAD SEVERAL VEHICLES WITH MANUAL TRANSMISSIONS AND NEVER HAVE HAD PROBLEMS WITH MY CLUTCH LET ALONE WITH THE PRESSURE PLATE. SOON AFTER I RESEARCHED SEVERAL VEHICLE REVIEW WEB SITES TO LEARN THAT THERE ARE A NUMBER OF COMPLAINTS WITH THE CLUTCH PRESSURE PLATE VEHICLES WITH MILEAGE FROM 11K TO 25 K.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  ... 3
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds