Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EDGE - 2013 FORD EDGE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 467 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD EDGE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD EDGE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD EDGE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (5) Equipment (1) Interior Lighting (2) Steering (11) Vehicle Speed Control (17)
Electrical System (256) Equipment Adaptive (6) Latches Locks Linkages (15) Structure (80) Visibility (6)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Exterior Lighting (57) Power Train (21) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (38) Fuel Propulsion System (12) Seats (2) Unknown Or Other (100) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (15)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 66
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/4/2016 - BRONSON, MI
MY DOOR SENSOR ON THE DRIVER SIDE PASSENGER DOOR LIGHT STAYS ON WHEN THE DOOR IS COMPLETELY SHUT. SO THE DOME LIGHT STAYS ON. ALSO WHEN YOU ARE DRIVIING THE DOORS DON'T LOCK. I JUST PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE THIS PAST OCTOBER. IT WAS GOOD FOR ABOUT 2 WEEKS THEN THE DOOR SENSOR STARTED GOING ON AND OFF. NOW IT IS STAYING ON ALL THE TIME.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/3/2016 - HOLT, MI
WITH ALL DOORS CLOSED SECURELY, THE DOOR AJAR WARNING SOUNDS. IT SEEMS TO BE ONLY THE DRIVERS DOOR AT THIS TIME. WHEN THE DOOR AJAR WARNING IS ACTIVE, THE DOME LIGHTS STAY ON, THE DOORS WILL NOT LOCK, AND THERE IS A PERSISTENT CHIME THAT SOUNDS. THIS HAPPENS WHEN IN PARK, IN DRIVE, AND WHILE TRAVELLING DOWN THE ROAD. CAR HAS BEEN TO DEALER FOR THIS, ONCE DURING WARRANTY, AND RECENTLY WHILE OUT OF WARRANTY. DEALER WANTS $433.14 TO REPAIR, EVEN THOUGH THIS IS A KNOWN ISSUE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/3/2016 - LANGDON, ND
2013 FORD EDGE LIMITED AWD 2 WEEKS BEFORE THANKSGIVING..THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED IN OUR GARAGE A FEW MINUTES AFTER MY WIFE GOT HOME FROM A 16 MILE ROUND TRIP TO TOWN. I HEARD A HIGH PITCH NOISE FROM THE ENGINE, PERFORMED A VISUAL INSPECTION AND SAW NO PROBLEMS. ASSUMED IT WAS NORMAL AND THAT IT WOULD TURN OFF ON ITS OWN. MOST NEW VEHICLES HAVE A FUNCTION TO TURN OFF ANY DEVICE BEFORE IT DRAINS THE BATTERY. THE NEXT DAY WE WENT TO START THE VEHICLE AND IT WAS COMPLETELY DEAD. JUMPED IT AND MY WIFE TOOK TO WORK. WORKED FINE THE REST OF THE DAY. SHE GOT HOME AND I HEARD THE NOISE AGAIN. CHECKED IT WITH BATTERY TESTER AND HAD A LOAD ON THE VEHICLE AND BATTERY WAS ALREADY DOWN TO 75%. TOOK TO LOCAL MECHANIC AND HE DIAGNOSED AS MECHANISM IN TRANSMISSION STAYING ON AND RECOMMENDED DEALER REPAIR. DEALER MISDIAGNOSED IT AS AFTERMARKET AUTOSTART 2 TIMES AND CHARGED ME TO REPLACE THE BATTERY THE SECOND TIME. FINALLY ON THE 4TH TRIP TO THE DEALER, THE MALFUNCTION HAPPENED WHILE THEY HAD THE VEHICLE. DEALER REPLACED MECHANISM IN TRANSMISSION, THIS DID NOT SOLVE PROBLEM. DEALER ORDERED DRIVE TRAIN COMPUTER(WAITED OVER A MONTH FOR PART), THIS HAS NOT FIXED THE PROBLEM. IT IS NOW THE FIRST WEEK OF FEBRUARY(ALMOST 3MNTHS LATER) AND THE VEHICLE IS STILL AT THE DEALER AND THEY CANNOT FIND WHAT IS WRONG WITH IT. SOMEONE PLEASE HELP!!!!!!!!!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/2/2016 - FERNDALE, WA
THE "DOOR ADJAR" LIGHT AND WARNING SOUNDS COME ON OUR FORD EDGE WHEN THE VEHICLE IS STARTED AND IT TELLS US TO SHIFT THE GEAR SHIFTER INTO PARK. NONE OF THE DOORS ARE OPEN. THIS HAS BECOME A PROBLEM EVERY TIME THE VEHICLE IS USED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/2/2016 - FILION, MI
CENTER DASH DISPLAY -- SEVERAL TRIPS TO THE DEALER WITH ADJUSTMENT TO THE GEAR SHIFT LEVER HAS NOT CORRECTED THE PROBLEM. THE DEALERS SAYS THAT THE GEAR SHIFT PARKING CONTACT IS NOT SIGNALING THE DASH DISPLAY. IF THE CAR IS LEFT FOR SEVERAL DAYS, THE DISPLAY PROBLEM CREATES A DEAD BATTERY. THIS CONDITION EXISTS WHEN THE IGNITION IS OFF, KEYS ARE REMOVED, ALL DOORS ARE SHUT AND THE VEHICLE IS IN PARK. THIS ISSUE HAS EXISTED FROM 2014 THROUGH FEB. 2, 2016 AND IS ONGOING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/2/2016 - FILION, MI
UPON STARTING THE ENGINE, WE HAVE HAD SPORADIC DRIVER'S DOOR AJAR INDICATIONS WITH DASH ALARM & INTERIOR LIGHTING AFFECTED. THIS HAS PLAGUED US FROM 2500 MILES TO THE PRESENT (FEBRUARY 2016 @ 36,000 MILES). FIRST INCIDENT OCCURRED SHORTLY AFTER PURCHASE OF VEHICLE ON APRIL 1, 2013. SEVERAL TRIPS TO THE DEALER W/DOOR ADJUSTMENTS & "BURNING OF THE CONTACTS" HAS NOT SOLVED THE INTERMITTENT PROBLEM THAT COMES BACK SOMETIMES FOR SEVERAL DAYS AT A TIME. WE ALWAYS CHECK THE DOOR TO MAKE SURE THAT IT IS SHUT & CONTINUE TO DRIVE THE CAR W/WARNING AND INTERIOR LIGHTS ON. AT NIGHT THIS ISSUE CREATES AN UNSAFE DRIVING CONDITION. I FEEL THIS IS A RECALL ISSUE BECAUSE OF THE SAFETY NATURE OF THIS PROBLEM. THE DEALER HAS BEEN VERY ELUSIVE, NOT SUPPLYING PAPERWORK CONCERNING THIS ISSUE. MAYBE FORD IS PLAYING DODGE BALL ON THIS, BUT THEY ARE ONLY MAKING ENEMIES OF THEIR CUSTOMERS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/1/2016 - UNION CITY, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD EDGE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR WAS CLOSED, THE DOOR AJAR WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED CONTINUOUSLY. IN ADDITION, THE INTERIOR DOME LIGHT REMAINED ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 28,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/28/2016 - MILFORD, CT
A DOOR OPEN WARNING INDICATION COMES UP AND RESULTS IN DOME LIGHTS ALSO STAYING ON EVEN WHEN THE DRIVER'S DOOR IS PROPERLY CLOSED. REQUIRES YOU TO SLAM THE DOOR SEVERAL TIMES TO GET THIS WARNING TO COME OFF. APPARENTLY THIS IS A COMMON ISSUE WITH FORD EDGE VEHICLES YET FORD HAS YET TO ISSUE A RECALL FOR THIS SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/27/2016 - OAKHURSTOAKHURST, CA
FORD EDGE 2013 DOOR AJAR LIGHT STAYS ON DASHBOARD ..AND INSIDE CAR LIGHTS STAY ON IT MAKES IT REALLY HARD TO DRIVE AT NIGHT !! I TALK TO OTHER FRIENDS THAT OWN SAME TYPE OF CAR AND HAVE SAME PROBLEM ....WHILE IM DRIVING IT KEEPS TELLING TO PARK AND CLOSE THE DOOR EVEN DOUGH ITS CLOSE ITS FRUSTATING ..I ONLY HAD MY CAR FOR A FE MONTHS ONLY AND IM STRESSING OUT...

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/27/2016 - ARLINGTON, TX
DOOR AJAR INDICATION DOES NOT GO OUT WHEN DOOR IS CLOSED. THE INTERIOR LIGHT WILL NOT GO OUT AND THE DOORS WILL NOT LOCK.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 66
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds