Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EDGE - 2013 FORD EDGE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 146 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD EDGE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD EDGE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD EDGE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (6) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Electrical System (67) Equipment Adaptive (4) Power Train (8) Structure (18) Visibility (3)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Exterior Lighting (15) Seats (2) Suspension (1) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (20) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (8) Unknown Or Other (26) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Fuel System Gasoline (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/23/2015 - HAWTHORN WOODS , IL
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD EDGE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIES SPEED, THE DRIVER DOOR AUTO UNLOCKED AND THE INTERIOR LIGHTS AUTO CAME ON. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000.LB

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

1/22/2015 - AMARILLO, TX
THE SYSTEM IS SHOWING A "DOOR AJAR" ALARM, DRIVERS FRONT DOOR. INITIALLY I THOUGHT IT WAS JUST BECAUSE I DID NOT CLOSE THE DOOR ENOUGH SO I OPENED IT AND PULLED HARDER AND THE ALARM WENT AWAY. WE DROVE THE CAR FOR A FEW DAYS AND ONE MORNING WHEN IT WAS COLD I CLOSED THE DOOR AND THE ALARM POSTED AGAIN AFTER OPENING AND CLOSING THE DOOR SEVERAL TIMES THE ALARM WENT AWAY. WE DROVE THE CAR A FEW MORE DAYS AND THE ALARM WAS POSTING 50 % OF THE TIME. AROUND DECEMBER THE ALARM BEGAN POSTING MOST OF THE TIME, NOW IT POST 100% OF THE TIME EVEN ON THE WARM DAYS. THERE ARE AT LEAST THREE ISSUES WHEN THE ALARM IS ON. 1.THE DOME LIGHTS STAY ON AFTER THE CAR IS TURNED OFF FOR AROUND 20 MINUTES, I'M SURE THIS IS NOT GOOD ON THE BATTERY. 2.THE DOME LIGHTS DO NOT GO OFF WHILE IN REVERSE, THEY ONLY GO OFF AFTER YOU ARE IN DRIVE AND MOVE FORWARD FOR QUITE A FEW FEET. THIS MAKES IT DIFFICULT TO SEE OUT OF THE WINDOWS AFTER DARK. 3.THE DOORS DO NOT LOCK AFTER STARTING THE ENGINE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/22/2015 - AMARILLO, TX
THE SYSTEM IS SHOWING A "DOOR AJAR" ALARM, DRIVERS FRONT DOOR. INITIALLY I THOUGHT IT WAS JUST BECAUSE I DID NOT CLOSE THE DOOR ENOUGH SO I OPENED IT AND PULLED HARDER AND THE ALARM WENT AWAY. WE DROVE THE CAR FOR A FEW DAYS AND ONE MORNING WHEN IT WAS COLD I CLOSED THE DOOR AND THE ALARM POSTED AGAIN AFTER OPENING AND CLOSING THE DOOR SEVERAL TIMES THE ALARM WENT AWAY. WE DROVE THE CAR A FEW MORE DAYS AND THE ALARM WAS POSTING 50 % OF THE TIME. AROUND DECEMBER THE ALARM BEGAN POSTING MOST OF THE TIME, NOW IT POST 100% OF THE TIME EVEN ON THE WARM DAYS. THERE ARE AT LEAST THREE ISSUES WHEN THE ALARM IS ON. 1.THE DOME LIGHTS STAY ON AFTER THE CAR IS TURNED OFF FOR AROUND 20 MINUTES, I'M SURE THIS IS NOT GOOD ON THE BATTERY. 2.THE DOME LIGHTS DO NOT GO OFF WHILE IN REVERSE, THEY ONLY GO OFF AFTER YOU ARE IN DRIVE AND MOVE FORWARD FOR QUITE A FEW FEET. THIS MAKES IT DIFFICULT TO SEE OUT OF THE WINDOWS AFTER DARK. 3.THE DOORS DO NOT LOCK AFTER STARTING THE ENGINE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/21/2015 - GRASSFLAT, PA
THE PASSENGER SIDE DOOR AJAR LIGHT STAYS ON AND THE INTERIOR LIGHTS EVEN WHEN THE DOOR IS SHUT. I HAVE TO SLAM THE DOOR HARD 4-5 TIMES TO GET IT TO GO OFF. WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD THE LIGHT WILL COME ON AND THE ALERT TO "SHIFT TO PARK". I TOOK IT TO A FORD DEALER WHO CHARGED ME $80 TO SAY THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG. I CAME HOME, KNOWING THIS WASN'T RIGHT AND FOUND NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS ONLINE ABOUT THE SAME ISSUE. FORD NEEDS TO PLACE A RECALL ON THIS.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/21/2015 - GRASSFLAT, PA
THE PASSENGER SIDE DOOR AJAR LIGHT STAYS ON AND THE INTERIOR LIGHTS EVEN WHEN THE DOOR IS SHUT. I HAVE TO SLAM THE DOOR HARD 4-5 TIMES TO GET IT TO GO OFF. WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD THE LIGHT WILL COME ON AND THE ALERT TO "SHIFT TO PARK". I TOOK IT TO A FORD DEALER WHO CHARGED ME $80 TO SAY THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG. I CAME HOME, KNOWING THIS WASN'T RIGHT AND FOUND NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS ONLINE ABOUT THE SAME ISSUE. FORD NEEDS TO PLACE A RECALL ON THIS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/19/2015 - MACUNGIE, PA
THE DRIVER SIDE DOOR KEEPS READING DOOR AJAR EVEN THO THE DOOR IS CLOSED. IT HAPPENS NOT ONLY WHEN THE CAR IS OFF AND WE GO TO LOCK IT, BUT WHILE WE ARE DRIVING AS WELL. IN THE MIDDLE OF DRIVING THE CAR WILL BEGIN TO MAKE ALERT SOUNDS, THE LIGHTS WILL COME ON, AND IT WILL ALERT US TO PUT THE CAR INTO PARK. WHEN WE DO PARK AND GO TO LOCK THE CAR, THE DOME LIGHTS STAY ON UNTIL THE TIMER SHUTS THEM OFF BECAUSE IT IS STILL REGISTERING THE DOOR AS AJAR. MY MAIN CONCERN WITH THIS PROBLEM IS THAT WE HAVE A NEWBORN AND THE SAFETY ISSUES WITH DRIVING THIS VEHICLE WHILE ALERTS ARE GOING OFF IS VERY TROUBLESOME. I HAVE SET AN APPOINTMENT UP WITH THE FORD DEALERSHIP TO LOOK AT THE DOOR, BUT AFTER REVIEWING THE GROSS NUMBER OF COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS SAME ISSUE, IT IS MIND BLOWING TO ME THAT FORD HAS NOT STEPPED UP AND ADDRESSED THIS ISSUE YET. HOW ARE YOU SUPPOSE TO FEEL COMFORTABLE DRIVING IF THE CAR IS CONSTANTLY ALERTING AND TELLING YOU THAT YOUR DRIVER DOOR IS OPEN?

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/17/2015 - ISSAQUAH, WA
THE SYSTEM IS SHOWING A "DOOR AJAR" ALARM, DRIVERS FRONT DOOR. INITIALLY I THOUGHT IT WAS JUST BECAUSE I DID NOT CLOSE THE DOOR ENOUGH SO I JUST OPENED IT, AND PULLED A LITTLE HARDER AND THE ALARM WENT AWAY. I DROVE THE CAR FOR A FEW DAYS AND ONE MORNING WHEN IT WAS FROSTY I CLOSED THE DOOR AND THE "DOOR AJAR" ALARM POSTED AGAIN. I OPENED THE DOOR AND CLOSED IT SEVERAL TIMES AND THE ALARM WENT AWAY. FROM THIS I THOUGHT THE STRIKER NEEDED TO BE ADJUSTED, I THOUGHT, "HOW IS IT POSSIBLE THAT THE DOOR SWITCH COULD HAVE FAILED ON A VEHICLE THAT IS ONLY 1.5 YEARS OLD?". I DROVE THE CAR FOR A FEW MORE DAYS AND AT THIS POINT THE ALARM WAS POSTING ABOUT 50% OF THE TIME. AROUND THE BEGINNING OF DECEMBER THE ALARM BEGAN POSTING ALL THE TIME. NOW, IT POSTS NEARLY 95% OF THE TIME WITH ONLY A FEW TIMES WHERE IT DOES NOT. THE ISSUE WITH THIS ALARM IS TWOFOLD: 1) IT KEEPS THE DOME LIGHTS ON BECAUSE THE SYSTEM DOES NOT SEE THAT THE DOOR IS CLOSED WHEN YOU GET OUT OF THE CAR AND LOCK IT, THUS THE TIMER MUST TIME OUT (AROUND 20 MINUTES) AND THE LIGHTS TURN OFF. 2) THIS PREVENTS THE DOORS FROM BEING LOCKED WHILE DRIVING. THE LAST ONE IS THE ONE THAT I HAVE A PROBLEM WITH BECAUSE THIS, TO ME, IS A SAFETY CONCERN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/14/2015 - ROSEMOUNT , MN
THE DOOR AJAR SENSOR WENT ON. WHEN THAT GOES ON WHEN BACKING UP YOU CAN'T SEE BECAUSE THE DOME LIGHTS STAYS ON CAUSING A DANGEROUS SITUATION. IT CREATES A GLARE MAKING IT HARD TO SEE WHAT IS BEHIND YOU. THE DOME LIGHT WILL FINALLY SHUT OFF WHEN YOU GO FORWARD WHEN A CERTAIN SPEED IS MEET. ALSO WHEN THE DOME LIGHT IS ON BECAUSE OF THE SENSOR IT WILL NOT LOCK THE DOOR. THIS SENSOR ON MY CAR WAS CLEANED ON 7/31/14 BY A FORD DEALER. THIS ONLY LASTED ABOUT SIX MONTH AND I JUST HAD IT THE DOOR LATCH REPLACED ON 1/13/15 BECAUSE OF THE SAME PROBLEM. RECENTLY I WAS STUCK IN TRAFFIC BECAUSE A SNOW STORM IN WHICH IT TOOK ME 2-1/2 HOURS TO GET HOME. MY TYPICAL COMMUTE HOME IS 45 MINUTES. WHILE I WAS IN TRAFFIC 5:00 PM ON 1/8/15 THE DOOR AJAR SENSOR CAME ON. THE TRAFFIC WAS MOVING SLOW, MY DOME LIGHT CAME ON AND STAYED ON FOR OVER AN HOUR WHICH CREATING A GLARE WHILE DRIVING. IT WOULD NEVER SHUT OFF BECAUSE I NEVER REACHED THE FORWARD SPEED FAST ENOUGH TO TURN IT OFF, ALSO EVERY TIME I LET MY FOOT OFF THE BREAK A BELL WOULD SOUND. I HAVE SPOKEN TO OUR LOCAL FORD DEALER AND THEY SAID THEY CAN'T DO ANYTHING ABOUT THIS UNTIL FORD ISSUES A RECALL. IT IS DOCUMENTED ALL OVER THE INTERNET THAT THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH FORD EDGES. I FEEL THAT WITH THE GLARE CAUSED BY THE DOME LIGHT STAYING ON CREATES A HAZARD TO BOTH ME AND MY FAMILY AND FORD SHOULD HAVE THE RESPONSIBILITY TO DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS.

View Details

WHEELS

1/12/2015 - BOX ELDER, SD
THREE OF THE FOUR WHEELS HAVE THE CHROME-PLATING PEELING AWAY. VERY SHARP EDGES WHERE PEELING. SOME WHEELS WORSE THAN ANOTHER.

View Details

ENGINE

1/8/2015 - FOLSOM, CA
AT LEAST FIVE SEPARATE TIMES, WHILE DRIVING AT HIGH RATES OF SPEED, MY 2013 FORD EDGE WILL BEGIN TO HESITATE AND SHUDDER. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT BEGINS TO FLASH AND THEN THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY LOSES POWER. I CAN BARELY KEEP THE VEHICLE GOING AT ABOUT 20 MILES AN HOUR. I CAN GENERALLY COAST TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD OR FREEWAY. I HAVE TO TURN OFF THE VEHICLE AND LET IT SIT FOR SEVERAL MINUTES BEFORE I CAN TURN IT BACK ON AND RESTORE POWER TO DRIVE IT. IT IS STILL UNDER WARRANTY. I HAVE HAD THE VEHICLE INTO THE FORD DEALER SERVICE THREE TIMES FOR THIS PROBLEM. THEY CANNOT DIAGNOSE AND REPLICATE THE PROBLEM. DESPITE THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT BEING ON, THE COMPUTER IS THROWING NO ERROR MESSAGES. THIS IS A VERY UNSAFE AND SCARY SITUATION. I REFUSE TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE AGAIN. TO DO SO WOULD PUT MYSELF IN DANGER, MY PASSENGERS AND OTHER DRIVERS IN DANGER. I HAVE APPLIED TO FORD MOTOR COMPANY FOR A BUY BACK UNDER THEIR "REACQUISITION PROGRAM" BUT WAS TOLD ON JANUARY 8, 2015 THAT THE VEHICLE DOES NOT QUALIFY UNDER CALIFORNIA LEMON LAW. I WAS GIVEN NO EXPLANATION OR OPPORTUNITY TO DISCUSS THIS DECISION WITH FORD. MY PROBLEM SOUNDS VERY SIMILAR TO WHAT IS DESCRIBED IN THIS ARTICLE, ALTHOUGH MY EDGE IS A 4-CYLINDER WITH AN ECO-BOOST ENGINE. HTTP://WWW.THECARCONNECTION.COM/NEWS/1084213_FORD-OWNERS-FILE-LAWSUIT-CLAIM-ECOBOOST-ENGINE-LOSES-POWER-DURING-ACCELERATION

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 20
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds