Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EDGE - 2013 FORD EDGE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 42 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD EDGE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD EDGE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD EDGE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Equipment (1) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Steering (5) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Electrical System (9) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (5) Structure (7) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Exterior Lighting (4) Seats (2) Unknown Or Other (3) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (7) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  ... 5
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/14/2014 - ANTIGUO CUSCATLAN, LA
I DID BUY A BRAND NEW 2013 FORD EDGE AND TODAY IT HAS REACH 16,000KM I HAVE A BIG PROBLEM AND THE DEALER DO NOT KNOW WHAT TO DO. WHEN I GO LIKE 80KM PER HOUR I GET AN EXHAUST SMELL IN THE CABIN. I BOUGHT MY EDGE IN EL SALVADOR FROM A DEALER AND IT-++S BEEN LIKE 6 TIMES THEY HAVE CHECKED IT AND NO SOLUTION FOR THE BAD SMELL. I HAVE TO ROLL DOWN THE WINDOWS BECAUSE I GET DIZZY AFTER A WHILE. I HAVE SPEND $40,000 FOR THIS VEHICLE AND WOULD LIKE A SOLUTION, PLEASEEEE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/4/2014 - WOLFE CITY, TX
AFTER CLOSING THE DOOR AND STARTING THE CAR, THE DRIVER DOOR AJAR WARNING LIGHT COMES ON. OPEN THE DOOR AND SHUT AGAIN, SOMETIMES IT GOES OF AND SOMETIMES IT DOES NOT. IT WILL SAY TO SHIFT TO PARK BUT THE DOOR IS NOT OPEN. SOMETIMES IT WILL START TO DO IT WHEN YOU COME TO A STOP LIGHT TOO.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/2/2014 - SMYRNA, DE
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD EDGE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HE ATTEMPTED TO HAVE HIS VEHICLE REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V002000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE) BUT WAS INFORMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED SINCE THE FAILURE WAS REPORTED IN JANUARY OF 2014, THERE SHOULD BE A REMEDY AVAILABLE BEFORE APRIL OF 2014. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER HAD EXCEEDED A REASONABLE TIME FOR REPAIR. THERE ARE NO FAILURES AT THIS TIME. RK

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/26/2014 - CHESTERFIELD , MO
DRIVING MY GRANDSON TO HIS BASKETBALL GAME LAST FRIDAY EVENING, DRIVING ON THE HWY AT 60 MPH, MY POWER STEERING COMPLETELY QUIT. I HAD TO DRAG THE CAR TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD WHERE IT TOTALLY SHUT DOWN. I HAD IT TOWED TO THE DEALER AND WAS TOLD THE POWER STEERING BELT BROKE AND WRAPPED AROUND THE CRANK SHAFT. I HAD NO WARNING AT ALL, NOTHING SHOWED ON THE DASH TO CHECK ENGINE OR SERVICE. VERY TERRIFYING EXPERIENCE, LUCKILY WE DIDN'T HAVE AN ACCIDENT WHILE TRYING TO GET IT OFF THE HWY.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/19/2014 - OMAHA, NE
DOOR AJAR WARNING SYSTEM FAILS REPEATEDLY CAUSING AUTO DOOR LOCKS TO UNLOCK ALL DOORS REPEATEDLY - THIS IS APPARENTLY A PROBLEM WITH FORD EDGE SINCE 2006 OR BEFORE - DOOR LOCKING SYSTEM FAILURE REPRESENTS A REAL CONSUMER HAZARD

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/18/2014 - REDFORD, MI
THE DRIVER'S DOOR AND RIGHT REAR DOOR SENSORS INTERMITTENTLY HAVE A "DOOR AJAR" WARNING, THOUGH EACH DOOR IS COMPLETELY SHUT. THE SENSOR IS INSIDE THE LATCH, AND HAS A VERY HIGH FAILURE RATE, BASED ON CURSORY INTERNET RESEARCH. THE WARNING CAN OCCUR WHILE DRIVING, IT ALERTS THE DRIVER TO PUT THE CAR IN PARK. FORD CATEGORIZES THE DOOR AJAR WARNING UNDER 'SAFETY' IN ITS EXTENDED WARRANTY PLANS, SO I WOULD CONCLUDE THAT NOT KNOWING WHETHER THE DOOR IS ACTUALLY AJAR OR NOT IS, IN FACT, A SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/18/2014 - REDFORD, MI
THE DRIVER'S DOOR AND RIGHT REAR DOOR SENSORS INTERMITTENTLY HAVE A "DOOR AJAR" WARNING, THOUGH EACH DOOR IS COMPLETELY SHUT. THE SENSOR IS INSIDE THE LATCH, AND HAS A VERY HIGH FAILURE RATE, BASED ON CURSORY INTERNET RESEARCH. THE WARNING CAN OCCUR WHILE DRIVING, IT ALERTS THE DRIVER TO PUT THE CAR IN PARK. FORD CATEGORIZES THE DOOR AJAR WARNING UNDER 'SAFETY' IN ITS EXTENDED WARRANTY PLANS, SO I WOULD CONCLUDE THAT NOT KNOWING WHETHER THE DOOR IS ACTUALLY AJAR OR NOT IS, IN FACT, A SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/6/2014 - LA QUINTA, CA
FOR ABOUT 3 DAYS THE MESSAGE KEPT COMING ON THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER AIRBAG WAS NOT WORKING. THE ON/OFF LIGHT SAID OFF ABOUT 98% OF THE TIME. AND A ICON LIGHT IN THE DASHBOARD WOULD OCCASIONALLY COME ON. THE MESSAGE SAID THE SENSOR WAS BLOCKED, BUT THERE WASN'T ANY CHANGE IN THE AREA AROUND THE SEAT. WENT TO SERVICE THE 2/19 AND THEY SAID THEY COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG. IT ACTUALLY TURNED BACK ON WHEN I DROVE IN TO DROP IT AT SERVICE, OF COURSE. BUT WE DID GO ABOUT 3 DAYS WITH NO AIRBAG FOR SOME REASON. JUST FELT I SHOULD REPORT THIS BEFORE IT BECOMES A PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/1/2014 - LELAND, MS
ARRIVING HOME THE EVENING OF FEBRUARY 15, 2014 MY TWO SONS (BOTH ADULTS) SMELLED SOMETHING BURNING WHEN WE GOT OUT OF THE CAR AT OUR HOUSE. UPON INSPECTION, THEY NOTICED THE RUBBER COVER OVER THE POSITIVE POST ON THE BATTERY HAD MELTED SLIGHTLY. I CALLED THE NEAREST FORD DEALER MONDAY MORNING (2/17/14) TO HAVE THEM CHECK IT OUT. THEY DISCOVERED THAT THE WRONG CIRCUIT BREAKER ASSEMBLY HAD BEEN INSTALLED ON THE BATTERY. AND TO MAKE MATTERS WORSE, THE FUSE WAS BY-PASSED WITH THE USE OF A LARGE PAPER CLIP. TALK ABOUT RIGGING SOMETHING UP!!! THIS PAPER CLIP HAD GOTTEN SO HOT IT EVEN BURNED A HOLE IN THE TOP OF THE BATTERY ABOUT THE SIZE OF A QUARTER. I HAVE A PHOTO. THIS WAS ONLY DISCOVERED WHEN THE NEW CIRCUIT BREAKER ASSEMBLY WAS ABOUT TO BE INSTALLED. IT WAS ALL HIDDEN BY THE RUBBER COVER. WE DID NOT THINK TO INSPECT THIS UPON PURCHASE IN JULY, 2013. IT WAS A BRAND NEW CAR! THIS WAS A TRAGEDY WAITING TO HAPPEN. FORTUNATELY IT DID NOT. BUT SOMEONE AT EITHER THE MANUFACTURER OR THE DEALERSHIP RIGGED THIS INSTEAD OF PUTTING THE PROPER PART ON IT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/24/2014 - BEDFORD , TX
I TOOK MY CAR INTO THE DON DAVIDSON FORD DEALERSHIP IN ARLINGTON TEXAS BECAUSE IT HAS BEEN BREAKING WEIRD, SMELLING FUNNY, SHAKING HARD & LOSING SPEED ON THE FREEWAY(ALL AT ONCE) WHICH IT DOES SPASTICALLY. THE SAID THEY CAN'T REPRODUCE THE PROBLEM SO THERE'S NOTHING WRONG & GAVE IT BACK TO ME ON FRIDAY. I WENT STRAIGHT TO THE MALL & IT DID IT AGAIN SO I TOOK IT BACK IMMEDIATELY. THEY KEPT IT FOR A FEW HOURS & TRIED TO GIVE IT BACK AGAIN, SAYING THAT I DROVE WITH THE EBRAKE ON (WHICH IT WASN'T). NOW I LEFT MY CAR THERE, THEY HAVEN'T DONE ANYTHING & I'M PAYING FOR A RENTAL FOR THE FOURTH DAY BECAUSE I'M AFRAID TO DRIVE MY OWN CAR. FORD CORPORATE OFFICE TOLD ME IT WAS MY DECISION TO DRIVE IT OR NOT & THEY CAN'T HELP. ON THE TRIP TO THE MALL I HEARD A LOUD NOISE WHEN I BRAKED & NOW THE ROTORS ARE MESSED UP TOO. I DON'T KNOW WHAT TO DO, I STILL OWE $34,000 ON MY 2013 FORD EDGE AND IT HAS BEEN RECALLED FOR BRAKE ISSUES BUT THEY WON'T HELP.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds