Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EDGE - 2013 FORD EDGE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1057 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD EDGE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD EDGE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD EDGE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Equipment (2) Interior Lighting (3) Service Brakes (39) Unknown Or Other (229)
Electrical System (570) Equipment Adaptive (6) Latches Locks Linkages (53) Steering (15) Vehicle Speed Control (25)
Electronic Stability Control (29) Exterior Lighting (141) Power Train (37) Structure (216) Visibility (7)
Engine (62) Fuel Propulsion System (28) Seat Belts (1) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (12)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Seats (2) Tires (1) Wheels (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 149
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/17/2017 - STATE COLLEGE, PA
MY DRIVER SIDE DOOR LATCH SEEMS TO BE FAILING. MY DOOR AJAR LIGHT COMES ONE WHEN THE DOOR IS CLOSED. I'M NOT SURE IF IT ACTUALLY IS OR NOT. IT HAS YET TO OPEN ON ITS ON, BUT UPON SOME RESEARCH IT APPEARS THIS COULD HAPPEN. WHEN THE DRIVER SIDE DOOR SAYS ITS AJAR THE DOORS WON'T LOCK. I'VE HAD TO OPEN AND CLOSE MY DOOR A DOZEN TIMES JUST TO GET THE INTERIOR LIGHTS TO SHUT OFF. THIS HAPPENS ON A DAILY BASIS. I'VE ALSO HAD THE GOOD FORTUNE OF GETTING IN THE CAR AND THE DOOR AJAR LIGHT DOESN'T COME ON. THEN I PUT THE CAR IN DRIVE, START MY WAY DOWN THE ROAD ONLY FOR THE DOOR AJAR LIGHT TO COME ON AND THE INTERIOR LIGHTS COME ON AS WELL. MORE OFTEN THAN NOT THOUGH, THE DOOR AJAR LIGHT COMES ON IMMEDIATELY. AGAIN, I'M NOT SURE IF IT'S SENSOR, OR IF THE DOOR LATCH IS MALFUNCTIONING. I'M NOT SURE IF THE DOOR IS EVEN LATCHED WHEN I'M DRIVING. I'VE LOOKED ONLINE AND THIS SEEMS TO BE A COSTLY ISSUE TO REPAIR. FORD SEEMS TO HAVE DONE A RECALL ON CERTAIN MAKES EXCEPT THE EDGE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/17/2017 - STATE COLLEGE, PA
MY DRIVER SIDE DOOR LATCH SEEMS TO BE FAILING. MY DOOR AJAR LIGHT COMES ONE WHEN THE DOOR IS CLOSED. I'M NOT SURE IF IT ACTUALLY IS OR NOT. IT HAS YET TO OPEN ON ITS ON, BUT UPON SOME RESEARCH IT APPEARS THIS COULD HAPPEN. WHEN THE DRIVER SIDE DOOR SAYS ITS AJAR THE DOORS WON'T LOCK. I'VE HAD TO OPEN AND CLOSE MY DOOR A DOZEN TIMES JUST TO GET THE INTERIOR LIGHTS TO SHUT OFF. THIS HAPPENS ON A DAILY BASIS. I'VE ALSO HAD THE GOOD FORTUNE OF GETTING IN THE CAR AND THE DOOR AJAR LIGHT DOESN'T COME ON. THEN I PUT THE CAR IN DRIVE, START MY WAY DOWN THE ROAD ONLY FOR THE DOOR AJAR LIGHT TO COME ON AND THE INTERIOR LIGHTS COME ON AS WELL. MORE OFTEN THAN NOT THOUGH, THE DOOR AJAR LIGHT COMES ON IMMEDIATELY. AGAIN, I'M NOT SURE IF IT'S SENSOR, OR IF THE DOOR LATCH IS MALFUNCTIONING. I'M NOT SURE IF THE DOOR IS EVEN LATCHED WHEN I'M DRIVING. I'VE LOOKED ONLINE AND THIS SEEMS TO BE A COSTLY ISSUE TO REPAIR. FORD SEEMS TO HAVE DONE A RECALL ON CERTAIN MAKES EXCEPT THE EDGE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/16/2017 - ANAHEIM, CA
VEHICLE DOES NOT LOCK CORRECTLY. THIS OCCURS DAILY AT RANDOM PLACES WHILE PARKED. LIGHTS STAY ON DRAINING THE BATTERY. ALARM GOES OFF RANDOMLY AT DAY OR NIGHT WAKING ME AND NEIGHBORS ALMOST EVERY NIGHT. IT IS 4 AM ALARM WENT OFF AND I JUST SPENT 30MIN TRYING TO FIX THE DOOR BECAUSE LIGHTS ARE STILL ON.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/15/2017 - MADRAS, OR
DOOR LATCH SENSER IS MALFUNCTIONING. WITH IT DOING THIS THE DOORS WILL NOT LOCK WHILE OPERATING THE CAR. LIGHTS STAY ON WHEN NOT IN USE. AND ALARM WILL GO OFF WHEN EVER IT DECIDES TO WHILE NOT IN USE. DUE TO CAR SENSING THE DOOR IS AJAR. THIS MAKES THE CAR AVAILABLE TO BE PLUNDERED BY BURGLARY. WHILE IT DRAINS THE BATTERY. THE LIGHTS WILL GO OFF EVENTUALLY. BUT DRIVER DOOR ( THE ONE CAUSING ISSUES) WILL NOT RESPOND KEYFOB. WHEN I USE SET OF KEYS NUMBER 2 ( MY SET) IT WON'T RESPOND TO THEM TILL I LOCK CAR AND REMOTE START SITTING INSIDE THE AUTOMOBILE. EVERY TIME YOU STOP THE CAR WILL SOUND AN ALARM AND TELL YOU TO SHIFT INTO PARK AND CLOSE DOOR, EVERYTIME!! EVEN WHEN YOU PHYSICALLY LOCK DOORS THE CAR WILL UNLOCK THEM. (POSABLY SO WE CAN GET CAR JACKED) IT IS A DESIGN FLAW. REPLACING THE MECHANISM ISN'T THE WHOLE ANSWER. I HAVE FRIENDS WHO HAVE DONE THAT ONLY TO HAVE THE SAME ISSUE POP UP IN SEVERAL MONTHS. THEN THEY ARE OUT ABOUT $600. PLEASE DEAL WITH THIS IT IS ON SEVERAL MAK S AND MODELS OF FORD. I LIKE THE COMPANY, BUT AM GETTING TIRED OF THE RUN AROUND. IT STARTED IN 11/01/16 TO CURRENT. SAD PART IS IT USE UP COME AND GO. NOT ANYMORE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/15/2017 - REILES ACRES, ND
A FEW THOUSAND MILES AGO I REPLACED THE DOOR LATCH ON THE DRIVERS DOOR DUE TO FAILURE, AND NOW THE LEFT REAR SENSOR HAS FAILED. THIS RESULTS IN CABIN LIGHTING SUDDENLY COMING ON, REFUSING TO GO OFF, AND LEAVING MY VEHICLE ILLUMINATED WHEN PARKED. WHEN FIRST OCCURRED, I PULLED OVER ON A BUSY HIGHWAY TO ASSURE MY DAUGHTER (IN THE REAR SEAT) WAS SAFE AND THE DOOR WOULDN'T FLY OPEN. RECOGNIZING IT NOW AS A SENSOR, AND THE SECOND ON THIS VEHICLE, I'M SHOCKED TO SEE THAT FORD STILL THINKS THIS IS OK AND SHOULD NOT BE ADDRESSED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/14/2017 - WESTFIELD, IN
CONTROL PANEL STATES DOORS AJAR AND LIGHTS WON'T TURN OFF OR DOORS WON'T LOCK. DOME LIGHT STAYS ON AND CREATES DANGEROUS CONDITIONS AT NIGHT WHEN TRYING TO BACK OUT OR WHILE DRIVING. LIGHTS WILL ALSO COME BACK ON WHEN STOPPED AT STOP LIGHT AND WON'T GO BACK OFF UNTIL A CERTAIN RATE OF SPEED HAS BEEN MET DUE TO THE SYSTEM THINKING THE DOOR IS AJAR WHEN IT'S NOT. DOORS WILL ALSO NOT LOCK WHEN CAR IS OFF AND DOME LIGHT STAYS ON DRAINING BATTERY TILL THE BATTERY IS DEAD SITTING IN PARKED POSITION. IT IS ALSO CLIMATE SENSITIVE AND IS WORSE ON COLD OR HUMID DAYS. BOTH THE DRIVER AND THE DRIVERS PASSENGER DOOR IS AFFECTED AND CREATES EXTREMELY DANGERS DRIVING CONDITIONS. THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR AT LEAST 6 MONTHS AND CONTINUES TO GET WORSE.

View Details

ENGINE

3/14/2017 - WESTFIELD, IN
CONTROL PANEL STATES DOORS AJAR AND LIGHTS WON'T TURN OFF OR DOORS WON'T LOCK. DOME LIGHT STAYS ON AND CREATES DANGEROUS CONDITIONS AT NIGHT WHEN TRYING TO BACK OUT OR WHILE DRIVING. LIGHTS WILL ALSO COME BACK ON WHEN STOPPED AT STOP LIGHT AND WON'T GO BACK OFF UNTIL A CERTAIN RATE OF SPEED HAS BEEN MET DUE TO THE SYSTEM THINKING THE DOOR IS AJAR WHEN IT'S NOT. DOORS WILL ALSO NOT LOCK WHEN CAR IS OFF AND DOME LIGHT STAYS ON DRAINING BATTERY TILL THE BATTERY IS DEAD SITTING IN PARKED POSITION. IT IS ALSO CLIMATE SENSITIVE AND IS WORSE ON COLD OR HUMID DAYS. BOTH THE DRIVER AND THE DRIVERS PASSENGER DOOR IS AFFECTED AND CREATES EXTREMELY DANGERS DRIVING CONDITIONS. THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR AT LEAST 6 MONTHS AND CONTINUES TO GET WORSE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/14/2017 - WESTFIELD, IN
CONTROL PANEL STATES DOORS AJAR AND LIGHTS WON'T TURN OFF OR DOORS WON'T LOCK. DOME LIGHT STAYS ON AND CREATES DANGEROUS CONDITIONS AT NIGHT WHEN TRYING TO BACK OUT OR WHILE DRIVING. LIGHTS WILL ALSO COME BACK ON WHEN STOPPED AT STOP LIGHT AND WON'T GO BACK OFF UNTIL A CERTAIN RATE OF SPEED HAS BEEN MET DUE TO THE SYSTEM THINKING THE DOOR IS AJAR WHEN IT'S NOT. DOORS WILL ALSO NOT LOCK WHEN CAR IS OFF AND DOME LIGHT STAYS ON DRAINING BATTERY TILL THE BATTERY IS DEAD SITTING IN PARKED POSITION. IT IS ALSO CLIMATE SENSITIVE AND IS WORSE ON COLD OR HUMID DAYS. BOTH THE DRIVER AND THE DRIVERS PASSENGER DOOR IS AFFECTED AND CREATES EXTREMELY DANGERS DRIVING CONDITIONS. THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON FOR AT LEAST 6 MONTHS AND CONTINUES TO GET WORSE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/14/2017 - SCOTTSDALE, AZ
DRIVER DOOR AJAR SENSOR IS CONTINUALLY ON AND REQUIRES STOPPING PUTTING IN PARK AND OPENING AND CLOSING DOOR MULTIPLE TIMES THIS IS AN ONGOING PROBLEM AND IS BEING ADDRESSED FOR OTHER FORD MODELS BUT NO THE EDGE PLEASE CONSIDER INCLUDING IT IN THE CURRENT RECALL 16S30. THIS OCCURS WHILE BOTH STATIONARY AND MOVING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/14/2017 - SHILOH, IL
DOOR AJAR LATCH/SENSOR CONTINUES TO STICK WHICH KEEPS THE DOOR AJAR LIGHT ON AND KEEPS THE INTERIOR LIGHTS AND PARK LIGHTS ON AFTER TURNING OFF CAR, CLOSING DOOR, AND LOCKING CAR. INTERIOR LIGHTS AND PARK LIGHTS ARE HARD TO NOTICE DURING DAYLIGHT HOURS AND THIS RESULTS IN DRAINING BATTERY WHICH LEAVES THE OWNER STRANDED. THIS HAPPENS REPEATEDLY!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 149
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds