Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD EDGE - 2013 FORD EDGE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1332 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD EDGE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD EDGE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD EDGE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Equipment (2) Interior Lighting (3) Service Brakes (69) Unknown Or Other (275)
Electrical System (696) Equipment Adaptive (6) Latches Locks Linkages (59) Steering (21) Vehicle Speed Control (33)
Electronic Stability Control (41) Exterior Lighting (160) Power Train (57) Structure (255) Visibility (7)
Engine (84) Fuel Propulsion System (34) Seat Belts (1) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (16)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Seats (3) Tires (2) Wheels (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 185
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/9/2017 - LAKEVILLE, MN
WHEN PUTTING VEHICLE IN PARK AND SHUTTING OFF VEHICLE YELLOW WARNING LIGHT IN DASH APPEARS "SHIFT TO PARK" ACCOMPANIED WITH A WARNING NOISE

View Details

STEERING

11/28/2017 - AUBURN, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD EDGE. WHILE DRIVING 20 MPH, THE CONTACT HEARD A NOISE COMING FROM THE HALF SHAFT AND LOST CONTROL OF THE STEERING WHEEL. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC AND WAS INFORMED THAT THE HALF SHAFT SEPARATED FROM THE LINK SHAFT, CAUSING THE STEERING WHEEL TO LOCK. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER AND THE DEALER WERE NOT CONTACTED IN REGARDS TO THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 52,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/20/2017 - HINCKLEY, OH
WHEN THE WINDSHIELD WIPER SPEED CONTROL IS TURNED OFF, THE WIPER CONTINUES TO RUN. HAVE NOT FOUND A WAY TO MAKE IT STOP. SEARCHING DATABASES ONLINE, REVEALS A PROBLEM THAT IS QUITE COMMON. THIS PRODUCT SHOULD BE RECALLED AND REPLACED BY THE MANUFACTURER DUE TO EARLY FAILURE AND A LARGE NUMBER OF COMPLAINTS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/20/2017 - MACON, GA
THE DRIVES DOOR AJAR LIGHT STAYS ON. YOU DO NOT KNOW IF YOUR DOOR IS CLOSED OR NOT. EVERYONE WITH THIS PROBLEM WILL EVENTUALLY IGNORE THIS LIGHT EVEN WHEN THERE DOOR MAY BE OPEN. IT IS OBVIUS THE SAFETY PROBLEMS THIS COULD CAUSE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/18/2017 - IRVINE, KY
MOTOR DIES WHILE DRIVING . TURN OFF KEY WILL START BACK , MOTOR WILL DIE ON CITY STREET AND ON HIGHWAY AT ANY SPEED CAN NOT FIND OUT WHY

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/15/2017 - ALLISON PARK, PA
I SMELL CARBON MONOXIDE INSIDE THE TRUCK. IT SMELLS WHEN CAR IS RUNNING AND I'M COMING TO A STOP OR DRIVING SLOWLY OR PULLING INTO THE GARAGE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/15/2017 - MANILA, AR
STARTING IN FEBRUARY 2017, THE 'DRIVER DOOR AJAR' WARNING INDICATOR WOULD NOT TURN OFF WHEN THE DRIVER DOOR WAS CLOSED. THE VEHICLE HAD ABOUT 90,000MILES. NONE OF THE THREE PASSENGER DOORS OR THE TAILGATE HAVE THIS SAME ISSUE. AT FIRST THE PROBLEM WAS INTERMITTENT. I TRIED TO LUBRICATE THE LATCH WITH SILICON SPRAY AND THE PROBLEM WOULD GO AWAY FOR A WEEK, THEN COME BACK. IT PROGRESSIVELY GOT WORSE UNTIL JUNE OF 2017, WHEN THE PROBLEM WOULD NOT GO AWAY AT ALL. SLAMMING THE DOOR SHUT REPEATEDLY DID NOT WORK, THE DRIVER DOOR AJAR WARNING STAYED ON. BECAUSE OF THIS ISSUE, IT+S HARD TO TELL IF THE DOOR IS REALLY CLOSED OR NOT. IF THE DOOR IS NOT LATCHED PROPERLY, IT WOULD BE A SEVERE SAFETY CONCERN. IN ADDITION, THE DOORS NO LONGER LOCK, NEITHER AUTOMATICALLY NOR USING THE LOCK SWITCH WHICH ALSO PRESENTS A SAFETY CONCERN. ANOTHER RESULT OF THIS PROBLEM IS THE INTERIOR LIGHTS DO NOT GO OUT WHEN THE CAR IS OFF AND THE DOOR CLOSED WHICH HAS DRAINED THE BATTERY ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. PLEASE LOOK INTO THIS ISSUE AS A MAJOR SAFETY CONCERN, ESPECIALLY IN VIEW OF THE DOORS NOT LOCKING WHEN THE VEHICLE IS IN MOTION AND THE UNCERTAINTY AS TO WHETHER OR NOT THE DOOR IS ACTUALLY CLOSED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/15/2017 - GREENWOOD, DE
DOOR AJAR WARNING. THE CAR DOES NOT RECOGNIZE WHEN YOU SHUT THE DOOR. WHEN YOU START THE CAR THE INTERIOR LIGHTS STAY ON AND THE WARNING LIGHT FOR DOOR AJAR STAYS ILLUMINATED. ALSO, THE ERROR CODE SHIFT TO PARK DINGS EVERYTIME YOU TAKE OFF FROM A STOP. THE DOORS DO NOT LOCK WHILE THE CAR IS RUNNING AND IN MOTION. IF YOU ATTEMPT TO LOCK THE DOORS MANUALLY THEY IMMEDIATELY UNLOCK. WHEN THE CAR IS TURNED OFF AND LOCKED FROM THE FOB THE EXTERIOR LIGHTS STAY ILLUMINATED FOR AN EXTENDED AMOUNT OF TIME. THIS IS VERY DRAINING ON THE BATTERY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/14/2017 - ANDERSON, SC
THE DOOR LATCHES USED ON THE 2013 EDGE (AND OTHER MODELS) CONTAINS THE SENSOR THAT DETECTS THE DOOR BEING CLOSED. IN MY INSTANCE, THE ISSUE IS WITH THE DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR. WHEN THE SWITCH DOES NOT DETECT THAT THE DOOR IS CLOSED, THE DOME LIGHTS WILL NOT TURN OFF UNTIL THE VEHICLE ACHIEVES A CERTAIN SPEED AND THE DOORS CANNOT BE LOCKED WHILE THE CAR IS STARTED. AT NIGHT, THE DOME LIGHTS STAYING ON HINDERS VISION AND POSES POSSIBLE INJURY AND DAMAGE TO ANY PEDESTRIANS OR OBJECTS THAT MAY BE IN THE WAY OF THE CAR WITH THIS ISSUE. I HAVE ALMOST HIT A TREE LEAVING MY DRIVEWAY SINCE I COULD NOT EVEN SEE THE DRIVEWAY. I FEAR HITTING PEDESTRIANS IN MY NEIGHBORHOOD WHILE ON THE WAY TO WORK, SINCE I LEAVE BEFORE SUNRISE. AS FOR THE DOORS NOT LOCKING WHILE THE CAR IS STARTED, THIS COULD POSE A SAFETY ISSUE TO THE OCCUPANTS OF THE VEHICLE ALLOWING FOR ACCESS TO BE EASILY OBTAINED TO THE INTERIOR IN THE INSTANCE OF CARJACKING, ETC.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/13/2017 - NAPA, CA
MY WIFE COMPLAINED OF THE SMELL OF ROTTEN EGGS AND A SEVERE HEADACHE WHILE DRIVING WITH THE CLIMATE CONTROL ON, WHEN SHE SHUT IT OFF AND OPENED THE WINDOWS IT DISSIPATED. THIS IS A CONDITION COMMON TO BREATHING CARBON MONOXIDE, I'M A RETIRED, UNION TRAINED, HEATING AND COOLING SPECIALIST. WE TOOK THE VEHICLE TO OUR LOCAL FORD DEALERSHIP AND AFTER THEY LOOKED AT IT THEY CLAIMED WE WOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR A $2000+ REPAIR RELATED TO FORD SERVICE BULLETIN TSB 14-0201 (EXHAUST SULFUR ODOR AFTER HARD ACCELERATION - CLIMATE CONTROL IN RECIRCULATION MODE ONLY). THE ABOVE IS A FALSE STATEMENT SINCE IT OCCURS IN ANY, CLIMATE CONTROL, MODE. THIS BULLETIN COVERS HOW TO REMOVE THE EXHAUST AND CLEAN AREAS OF THE UNDERCARRIAGE WHERE SEAM SEALER AND EXPANDABLE FOAM IS TO BE APPLIED. THIS IS FORDS RESPONSIBILITY SINCE IT IS A DEFECT IN SOME (2011-2014 EDGE, 2011-2015 MKX) OF THERE PRODUCT LINE. THE DATE BELOW IS NOT EXACT SINCE IT IS A REOCCURRING PROBLEM. PLEASE HELP ASAP!!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 185
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds