Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2013 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 247 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (27) Steering (8) Unknown Or Other (12)
Electrical System (47) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (4) Structure (16) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Seats (2) Suspension (4) Visibility (3)
Engine (129) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Service Brakes (14) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (3)
Equipment (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/23/2014 - SCITUATE, MA
THE FORD ESCAPE 2010 WAS PARKED, THE TAILGATE WAS OPENED TO PUT IN A BABY CARRIAGE, THE TAILGATE WAS PULLED DOWN TO CLOSE AS USUAL, AND THE GLASS EXPLODED AND SHATTERED, INSIDE AND OUTSIDE THE VEHICLE. THERE WAS NO WARNING, AND NO PREVIOUS INCIDENT WITH THE GLASS OR THE TAILGATE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/14/2014 - CICERO, IL
I OWN A FORD ESCAPE SE 2013, THIS LAST WEEKEND (10/13/2014) MY WIFE WAS GETTING OFF THE CAR WHEN SUDDENLY THE DOOR WAS PUSHED OUT BY THE WIND, HER FINGER WAS INJURED WITH A SMALL EDGE CORNER RIGHT AT THE FAR END OF THE PASSENGER DOOR, A LITTLE METAL EXPOSED. I GOT PICTURES OF THE THING AND THE FINGER. SO BE REALLY CAREFUL SPECIALLY IF YOUR KIDS ARE AT THE SAME HEIGHT AS THE SHARP POINT ON THE DOOR; THEY CAN GET INJURED ON THE FACE!!

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/14/2014 - CICERO, IL
I OWN A FORD ESCAPE SE 2013, THIS LAST WEEKEND (10/13/2014) MY WIFE WAS GETTING OFF THE CAR WHEN SUDDENLY THE DOOR WAS PUSHED OUT BY THE WIND, HER FINGER WAS INJURED WITH A SMALL EDGE CORNER RIGHT AT THE FAR END OF THE PASSENGER DOOR, A LITTLE METAL EXPOSED. I GOT PICTURES OF THE THING AND THE FINGER. SO BE REALLY CAREFUL SPECIALLY IF YOUR KIDS ARE AT THE SAME HEIGHT AS THE SHARP POINT ON THE DOOR; THEY CAN GET INJURED ON THE FACE!!

View Details

ENGINE

10/14/2014 - BEAVER CREEK, OH
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVING ROUGH, WAS NOT SHIFTING PROPERLY IN AND OUT OF GEARS AND THE RPMS RACED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE AUTHORIZED DEALER WHO ON THE FIRST APPOINTMENT WAS NOT ABLE TO REPLICATE NOR DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT CONTINUED TO EXPERIENCING THE VEHICLE JERKING VIOLENTLY UPON CHANGING GEARS AND DOWN SHIFTING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK FOR A SECOND APPOINTMENT, THE AUTHORIZED DEALER RESET THE COMPUTER AND THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK A THIRD TIME AND THE AUTHORIZED DEALER REPAIRED THE THROTTLE BODY, THE MOTOR, THE ASSEMBLY CONTROL, THE ASSEMBLY TRANSMISSION AND THE GASKET. THE REPAIRS DID NOT REMEDY THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT WHILE TRAVELING 45 MPH DOWN A HIL TO SWITCH FROM THE RIGHT LANE OVER TO THE LEFT TURNING LANE, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND THE CONTACT WAS HIT BY ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED MINOR INJURIES AND DID NOT SEEK MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE PASSENGER DID NOT SUSTAIN ANY INJURIES. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 14V495000 (ENGINE) AND SCHEDULED THE RECALL REPAIR BUT THE CRASH OCCURED BEFORE THE CONTACT COULD MAKE IT TO THE APPOINTMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE AUTHORIZED DEALER FOR FURTHER INSPECTION, DIAGNOSIS AND THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 25,000. DYD

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/14/2014 - BEAVER CREEK, OH
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVING ROUGH, WAS NOT SHIFTING PROPERLY IN AND OUT OF GEARS AND THE RPMS RACED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE AUTHORIZED DEALER WHO ON THE FIRST APPOINTMENT WAS NOT ABLE TO REPLICATE NOR DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT CONTINUED TO EXPERIENCING THE VEHICLE JERKING VIOLENTLY UPON CHANGING GEARS AND DOWN SHIFTING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK FOR A SECOND APPOINTMENT, THE AUTHORIZED DEALER RESET THE COMPUTER AND THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK A THIRD TIME AND THE AUTHORIZED DEALER REPAIRED THE THROTTLE BODY, THE MOTOR, THE ASSEMBLY CONTROL, THE ASSEMBLY TRANSMISSION AND THE GASKET. THE REPAIRS DID NOT REMEDY THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT WHILE TRAVELING 45 MPH DOWN A HIL TO SWITCH FROM THE RIGHT LANE OVER TO THE LEFT TURNING LANE, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND THE CONTACT WAS HIT BY ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED MINOR INJURIES AND DID NOT SEEK MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE PASSENGER DID NOT SUSTAIN ANY INJURIES. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 14V495000 (ENGINE) AND SCHEDULED THE RECALL REPAIR BUT THE CRASH OCCURED BEFORE THE CONTACT COULD MAKE IT TO THE APPOINTMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE AUTHORIZED DEALER FOR FURTHER INSPECTION, DIAGNOSIS AND THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 25,000. DYD

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/14/2014 - BEAVER CREEK, OH
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVING ROUGH, WAS NOT SHIFTING PROPERLY IN AND OUT OF GEARS AND THE RPMS RACED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE AUTHORIZED DEALER WHO ON THE FIRST APPOINTMENT WAS NOT ABLE TO REPLICATE NOR DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT CONTINUED TO EXPERIENCING THE VEHICLE JERKING VIOLENTLY UPON CHANGING GEARS AND DOWN SHIFTING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK FOR A SECOND APPOINTMENT, THE AUTHORIZED DEALER RESET THE COMPUTER AND THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK A THIRD TIME AND THE AUTHORIZED DEALER REPAIRED THE THROTTLE BODY, THE MOTOR, THE ASSEMBLY CONTROL, THE ASSEMBLY TRANSMISSION AND THE GASKET. THE REPAIRS DID NOT REMEDY THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT WHILE TRAVELING 45 MPH DOWN A HIL TO SWITCH FROM THE RIGHT LANE OVER TO THE LEFT TURNING LANE, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND THE CONTACT WAS HIT BY ANOTHER VEHICLE. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED MINOR INJURIES AND DID NOT SEEK MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE PASSENGER DID NOT SUSTAIN ANY INJURIES. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 14V495000 (ENGINE) AND SCHEDULED THE RECALL REPAIR BUT THE CRASH OCCURED BEFORE THE CONTACT COULD MAKE IT TO THE APPOINTMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE AUTHORIZED DEALER FOR FURTHER INSPECTION, DIAGNOSIS AND THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 25,000. DYD

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/10/2014 - COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
MY 2013 FORD ESCAPE KEEPS SHUTTING OFF WHILE IN MOTION AND ALSO WHEN STOPPED AT A STOP SIGN OR STOP LIGHT. HAS HAPPENED SEVERAL TIMES AND STARTED SOMETIME IN JUNE, 2014. HAPPENS REGARDLESS OF HOW SLOW OR FAST I AM MOVING IN THE VEHICLE. TOOK VEHICLE INTO MY LOCAL SERVICE DEPARTMENT FOR A SCHEDULED CHECK UP AND MENTIONED THE ISSUE AND THEY COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG. THE PROBLEM CONTINUED. CALLED FORD CORPORATE IN SEPTEMBER AND LOGGED A FORMAL COMPLAINT. THEY SAID THERE WAS NOTHING THAT COULD BE DONE UNTIL PARTS BECAME AVAILABLE. THEY COULD NOT SEND APPROPRIATE PARTS UNTIL THEY COULD FIGURE OUT WHAT IS GOING WRONG. THEN THEY SAID A RECALL WOULD BE ISSUED THE END OF SEPTEMBER AND PARTS WOULD BE AVAILABLE FOR FIXES THEN. CALLED LOCAL FORD SERVICE ON 10/10/2014 AND THEY CLAIM PARTS STILL HAVE NOT COME AND COULD BE ANOTHER WEEK. THIS SAME ISSUE SEEMS TO BE HAPPENING TO OTHER 2013 MODELS AROUND THE COUNTRY. FORD HAS BEEN VERY SLOW ABOUT ACKNOWLEDGING BUT WHEN PRESSED THEY SEEM TO GIVE PARTIAL ACKNOWLEDGMENT BUT STILL NO PROMISES. THIS IS A DANGEROUS ISSUE FOR DRIVERS. CAN SOMETHING BE DONE? IS FORD GOING TO BE ALLOWED TO LET THIS GO ON UNTIL SOMEONE HAS A SERIOUS ACCIDENT OR DIES?

View Details

STEERING

10/7/2014 - GRANADA HILLS, CA
THERE WAS A SUDDEN LOSS OF STEERING CONTROL AND A VERY LARGE INCREASE IN STEERING EFFORT AS IF THE CAR HAD BEEN TURNED OFF AND THERE WAS NO POWER STEERING BOOST. IT BECAME EXCEEDINGLY DIFFICULT TO TURN THE WHEEL AND CONTROL THE VEHICLE. I MANAGED TO SLOW DOWN AND MAKE MY WAY TO THE SHOULDER WHERE I TURNED OFF THE CAR AND RESTARTED IT, WHICH CLEARED THE PROBLEM. THIS HAS NOW HAPPENED THREE DIFFERENT TIMES IN A SIMILAR MANNER. FORD SERVICE HAS INDICATED THAT CAN FIND NOTHING WRONG... THIS IS EXTREMELY SERIOUS AND UNDER SOME CIRCUMSTANCES, THE LOSS OF CONTROL COULD CAUSE AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

SEATS

10/5/2014 - LOGANVILLE, GA
I AM NOR SURE IF THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE, BUT THIS VEHICLE HAS 3 MEMORY SEAT SETTINGS. THE PROBLEM IS IT CONTINUALLY LOOSES THE MEMORY SETTINGS. I AM CONCERNED BECAUSE I HAVE BROUGHT IT TO FORD SEVERAL TIMES AND THEY CAN'T FIND A PROBLEM. I AM NOT SURE IF THIS THING CAN RESET, MOVE OR DO SOMETHING ELSE AS I AM DRIVING. MY VEHICLE IS JUST NOW OUT OF WARRANTY, BUT THIS PROBLEM STARTED SEVERAL MONTHS AGO AND HAS BEEN BROUGHT TO FORD'S ATTENTION WHILE STILL IN WARRANTY. TO CLARIFY, I AM A BIG FORD FAN, I LOVE THIS VEHICLE AND THE FORD DEALERSHIP I FREQUENT IS VERY PROFESSIONAL AND TREATS ME WITH THE UTMOST RESPECT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/4/2014 - CARY, NC
NUMEROUS FAULTS WITH RADIO AND SYNC SYSTEM. THE RADIO WILL COME ON BY ITSELF AND WILL NOT SHUT OFF. THIS USUALLY OCCURS WHEN A CELL PHONE IS IN USE AND CONNECTS OR DISCONNECTS VIA BLUETOOTH WHEN THE CAR IS STARTED OR TURNED OFF. THE RADIO WILL NOT TURN OFF EVEN AFTER THE ENGINE IS TURNED OFF AND THE DOORS ARE OPENED, AND REMAIN ON EVEN IF I LOCK THE CAR. I WENT INSIDE A STORE NOT HAVING LEFT ANY RADIO ON OR ANYTHING, CAME OUT AND HE BATTERY WAS DEAD. I GOT A JUMP START AND THE RADIO CAME ON WHEN THE CAR STARTED FROM BEING JUMPED. EVIDENTLY SYNC TURNED ON THE RADIO. THIS HAS CAUSED ME TO BE LEFT WITH A DEAD BATTERY ON TWO OCCASIONS. I AM TAKING IT TO THE DEALER ON MONDAY, THIS IS A SATURDAY EVENING.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds