Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2013 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 239 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (26) Steering (7) Unknown Or Other (10)
Electrical System (46) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (4) Structure (14) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (11) Seats (1) Suspension (4) Visibility (3)
Engine (127) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Service Brakes (14) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (3)
Equipment (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 33
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/29/2014 - LAKEVILLE, MN
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED AS THE SERVICE ENGINE AND ENGINE MALFUNCTION WARNING LIGHTS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE WITH THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000. SS

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/25/2014 - WINCHESTER, MA
MY 2013 FORD ESCAPE SE IS HAVING A CONTINUOUS PROBLEM WITH THE AIRBAG LIGHT. THE AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT WILL ILLUMINATE IN THE INSTRUMENT PANEL AND STAY ON WHILE I AM DRIVING. THIS HAPPENS INTERMITTENTLY AND IS DIFFICULT TO PREDICT. A VEHICLE HEALTH REPORT STATE THAT THERE IS A FAILURE IN THE OVERALL RESTRAINT SYSTEM THAT MUST BE FIXED IMMEDIATELY. STONEHAM FORD AND FORD CORPORATE HAS INDICATED THAT THEY WILL NOT ADDRESS THE PROBLEM UNLESS THE LIGHT IS ACTUALLY ON WHILE IT IS IN THE DEALERSHIP. I AM CURRENTLY CONSIDERING LEGAL OPTIONS RIGHT NOW FOR BREACH OF WARRANTY.

View Details

SUSPENSION

9/25/2014 - SALINE, MI
I HAD A TIRE REPAIR FOR A NAIL IN AUG AT THE DEALERSHIP. SEPT 20TH RAN OVER A ROCK~ 8-10 IN ON THE DIRT ROAD AND SUSTAINED A FLAT TIRE. I HAD THE CAR TOED. SPARE APPLIED, BOUGHT 2 NEW FRONT TIRES AND WAS TOLD THAT THE LEFT REAR SHOCK WAS TOTALLY TORN OFF NEAR THE TOP, THIS WORK WAS DONE AT BELLE TIRE WHO ADVISED ME TO TAKE TO THE DEALERSHIP AS IT APPEARED TO HAVE FROZEN UP TO HAVE CAUSED THAT MUCH DAMAGE AND SHOULD BE UNDER MY WARRANTY. ALSO, I HAD NOT BEEN IN ANY ACCIDENTS. FORD TOLD ME THAT THE TECHNICIAN DID NOT FEEL THAT IT WAS DEFECTIVE. READING THAT THERE HAVE BEEN PROBLEMS WITH REAR SUSPENSION MOUNTS I QUESTION WHETHER THE MOUNT PROBLEM COULD HAVE CONTRIBUTED TO THE SHOCK BRAKING.

View Details

ENGINE

9/23/2014 - HAMLTON, NJ
FOLLOWING SERVICE PERFORMED FOR RECALLS FOR POSSIBLE COOLANT LEAK / ENGINE FIRE, ENGINE FAULT CODES FOR LOW COOLANT BEGAN TO DISPLAY. VISUAL CONFIRMATION OF LOW COOLANT IN RESERVOIR. ADDED COOLANT TO PROPER LEVEL SEVERAL TIMES AT WEEKLY INTERVALS WHILE DRIVING APPROX. 200 MILES PER WEEK. LOSS OF COOLANT WAS NOT AN ISSUE UNTIL THE RECALL SERVICING WAS DONE. THREE OR FOUR SERVICE VISIT ATTEMPTS TO FULLY DIAGNOSE AND RESOLVE HAVE RESULTED A REPLACED WATER PUMP (THAT LEAKED DURING PRESSURE TEST). THIS MOST RECENT LOW COOLANT ENGINE FAULT MESSAGE OCCURRED AFTER FOUR WEEKS POST-NEW WATER PUMP. I AM RETURNING FOR ANOTHER SERVICE VISIT IN AN ATTEMPT TO FULLY AND FINALLY RESOLVE THE ISSUE.

View Details

ENGINE

9/16/2014 - EDGEWATER, FL
ON 7/30/214 THE VEHICLE HESITATED AND THE ENGINE STALLED AT A STOP SIGN. I WAS ON A TRIP TO PENNSYLVANIA ON 8/19/2014 TAKEN TO MULLINAX FORD, 2317 S.R. 44, NEW SMYRNA BEACH, FL 32168 (866) 511-8666. NO CODES AND THEY COULD NOT DUPLICATE MALFUNCTION. AFTER A FEW DAYS CAR WAS RETURNED TO ME. ON 9/7/2014 THE VEHICLE HESITATED AND THE ENGINE STALLED AT A STOP SIGN. ENGINE RESTARTED NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT(MIL). ON 9/15/2014 THE VEHICLE HESITATED AND THE ENGINE STALLED AT A STOP SIGN. ENGINE RESTARTED NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT(MIL). ON 9/16/2014, TODAY, TAKEN TO MULLINAX FORD, 2317 S.R. 44, NEW SMYRNA BEACH, FL 32168 (866) 511-8666. CURRENTLY IN SHOP. CONTACTED FORD MOTOR COMPANY 9/16/2014, TODAY, THEY CREATED A CASE NUMBER CAS5224925W6D5Y7. STATED THAT FORD RECALL 14S17 WAS NOT APPLICABLE SINCE MY VIN INDICATES 4/19/2013 BUILD DATE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/15/2014 - THREE BRIDGES, NJ
ENGINE FAULT SERVICE NOW MESSAGE DISPLAYS ON INFORMATION CENTER. DEALER SAYS TO TURN OFF CAR, OPEN DOOR, CLOSE DOOR, COUNT TO 10, TURN CAR BACK ON AND MESSAGE IS GONE. MESSAGE REPEATED 2 DAYS LATER.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/11/2014 - AUBURN, ME
CPSC: I1490148A. 2003 FORD ESCAPE. CONSUMER STATED THAT THE CAR HAS A FAILURE OF THE FORWARD SUBFRAME ASSEMBLY THAT CARRIES THE WHEEL JOINTS AND STEERING ARMS.

View Details

ENGINE

9/10/2014 - SPOKANY VALLEY, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 25 MPH AND ATTEMPTING TO MAKE A TURN, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON THREE OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 6,000.

View Details

ENGINE

9/5/2014 - KNOXVILLE, TN
WHILE DRIVING VEHICLE TURNS OFF/ENGINE DIES AT ANY SPEED WITHOUT WARNING. IT HAS HAPPEN 6 TIMES.

View Details

STEERING

9/5/2014 - KNOXVILLE, TN
WHILE DRIVING VEHICLE TURNS OFF/ENGINE DIES AT ANY SPEED WITHOUT WARNING. IT HAS HAPPEN 6 TIMES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 33
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds