Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2013 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 439 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (32) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (49) Steering (20) Unknown Or Other (21)
Electrical System (88) Exterior Lighting (6) Seat Belts (18) Structure (28) Vehicle Speed Control (30)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Fuel Propulsion System (26) Seats (3) Suspension (8) Visibility (5)
Engine (213) Fuel System Gasoline (16) Service Brakes (22) Tires (4) Visibility Wiper (8)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (5)
Equipment (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 63
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

5/27/2016 - COLUMBUS, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE CONTACT NOTICED SMOKE COMING FROM THE VEHICLE AND THE ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE OIL LIGHT FLICKERED AND REMAINED ILLUMINATED AS WELL. THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO EMIT SMOKE FUMES FROM UNDER THE HOOD AND THE FRONT PASSENGER WHEEL WELL. THE CONTACT EXITED THE VEHICLE, LIFTED THE HOOD, AND NOTICED FLAMES. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE AND A FIRE INVESTIGATOR CAME TO VIEW THE SCENE. NEITHER A POLICE NOR A FIRE REPORT WERE FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THERE WERE INJURIES TO THE CONTACT'S RIGHT HAND, WHICH REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 84,500.

View Details

ENGINE

5/19/2016 - ROSEMOUNT, MN
INTERMITTENT CHECK ENGINE LIGHT (HAPPENS WHEN IN PARK OR WHEN DRIVING). HOOKED UP TO CODE READER AND GOT P026B7; FOUND ONLINE THAT THE THE ENGINE COOLANT BYPASS VALVE IS DEFECTIVE, BUT NOT RECALLED (TSB 13-02-15). DEALER CONFIRMS CODE AND THAT ENGINE COOLANT BYPASS VALVE IS DEFECTIVE AND SHOULD BE REPLACED BUT REFERENCED TSB 16-0052. DESPITE THE PART BEING SO DEFECTIVE IT HAS BEEN DISCONTINUED, REDESIGNED, AND REPLACED THE DEALER CLAIMS IT ISN'T COVERED UNDER ANY FORM OF WARRANTY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/19/2016 - ROSEMOUNT, MN
INTERMITTENT CHECK ENGINE LIGHT (HAPPENS WHEN IN PARK OR WHEN DRIVING). HOOKED UP TO CODE READER AND GOT P026B7; FOUND ONLINE THAT THE THE ENGINE COOLANT BYPASS VALVE IS DEFECTIVE, BUT NOT RECALLED (TSB 13-02-15). DEALER CONFIRMS CODE AND THAT ENGINE COOLANT BYPASS VALVE IS DEFECTIVE AND SHOULD BE REPLACED BUT REFERENCED TSB 16-0052. DESPITE THE PART BEING SO DEFECTIVE IT HAS BEEN DISCONTINUED, REDESIGNED, AND REPLACED THE DEALER CLAIMS IT ISN'T COVERED UNDER ANY FORM OF WARRANTY.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

5/17/2016 - TROY, OH
TAKATA RECALL.I KEEP GETTING AN ENGINE LIGHT ON AND I TOOK IT TO AUTO ZONE TO FIND OUT WHY. THEY SAID IT WAS A COOLANT BYPASS VALUE.I SEE WHERE THERE WAS A RECALL FOR THIS BUT WHEN I CALLED FORD THEY SAID IT WAS FIXED. THEY SAID TO KEEP MY RECEIPT AND IF THERE WAS ANOTHER RECALL FOR THIS PROBLEM I COULD SEND MY PAPER WORK IN AND I WOULD BE REIMBURSED. APPARENTLY THE PROBLEM WAS NOT FIXED. WHY SHOULD I HAVE TO PAY FOR SOMETHING THAT WAS RECALLED AND WAIT TO SEE IF THERE WILL BE ANOTHER RECALL TO GET PAID.WHY SHOULDN'T I BE ABLE TO TAKE IT IN AND GET IT FIXED AS A RECALL. MAYBE SOMETHING WASN'T DONE RIGHT.WHAT SHOULD I DO I'M POSITIVE THERE WILL NEVER BE ANOTHER RECALL AND HOW DO I TRULY KNOW THIS WAS FIXED IN THE FIRST PLACE. I JUST BOUGHT THE SUV IN AUG LAST YEAR THANK YOU FOR YOUR TIME

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/16/2016 - BEVERLY HILLS, MI
SINCE JANUARY 18, MY CAR HAS STALLED MANY TIME WHILE DRIVING, HAS BEEN TO THE DEALERSHIP SIX TIMES, NOT FIXED, ALWAYS UNABLE TO REPLICATE. IT HAS NOW BEEN THERE FOR A WEEK, TRYING TO REPLICATE THE STALLING. IT HAS STALLED WHILE DIVING OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY, ON SIDE STREETS, AND TWICE ON THE HIGHWAY. NO ENGINE LIGHTS GO ON, IT JUST STALLS. THE RADIATOR, THE MAP SENSOR AND NOW THE BATTERY HAVE BEEN REPLACED, STILL NO FIX. THE WATER PUMP WAS REPLACED AFTER A RECALL IN 2014 AFTER OVERHEATING AND COOLANT LEAKS.

View Details

ENGINE

5/16/2016 - BEVERLY HILLS, MI
SINCE JANUARY 18, MY CAR HAS STALLED MANY TIME WHILE DRIVING, HAS BEEN TO THE DEALERSHIP SIX TIMES, NOT FIXED, ALWAYS UNABLE TO REPLICATE. IT HAS NOW BEEN THERE FOR A WEEK, TRYING TO REPLICATE THE STALLING. IT HAS STALLED WHILE DIVING OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY, ON SIDE STREETS, AND TWICE ON THE HIGHWAY. NO ENGINE LIGHTS GO ON, IT JUST STALLS. THE RADIATOR, THE MAP SENSOR AND NOW THE BATTERY HAVE BEEN REPLACED, STILL NO FIX. THE WATER PUMP WAS REPLACED AFTER A RECALL IN 2014 AFTER OVERHEATING AND COOLANT LEAKS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/16/2016 - BEVERLY HILLS, MI
SINCE JANUARY 18, MY CAR HAS STALLED MANY TIME WHILE DRIVING, HAS BEEN TO THE DEALERSHIP SIX TIMES, NOT FIXED, ALWAYS UNABLE TO REPLICATE. IT HAS NOW BEEN THERE FOR A WEEK, TRYING TO REPLICATE THE STALLING. IT HAS STALLED WHILE DIVING OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY, ON SIDE STREETS, AND TWICE ON THE HIGHWAY. NO ENGINE LIGHTS GO ON, IT JUST STALLS. THE RADIATOR, THE MAP SENSOR AND NOW THE BATTERY HAVE BEEN REPLACED, STILL NO FIX. THE WATER PUMP WAS REPLACED AFTER A RECALL IN 2014 AFTER OVERHEATING AND COOLANT LEAKS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/10/2016 - TRUJILLO, KS
ON JANUARY 28, 2015 , WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE IN THE CITY OF TRUJILLO PERU . THE ENGINE STOPPED, THE WITNESSES OF THE ENGINE , OIL AND ALSO THE BATTERY SIGN LIT UP. SO I DECIDED TO TAKE THE VEHICLE TO THE AUTHORIZED FORD ,, WHERE FORD MECHANICS DETERMINED THAT THE ENGINE HAD NO OIL, INTERCOOLER AND DUCTS , SPARK BURNT WITH OIL RESIDUE WORKSHOP. THEN THE WORKSHOP ASKS ME TO AUTHORIZE DISASSEMBLE THE ENGINE TO REPAIR , THE VEHICLE HAD 12.583 KM LONG, AND IS WITHIN THE FACTORY WARRANTY THEN , ASK THE COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING OF THE CITY OF TRUJILLO TO CONDUCT AN OCULAR INSPECTION. TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE FAULT AND THE DETERMINATION OF THE SEVERITY OCCURRED IN THE VEHICLE , OF COURSE WITH THE CONSENT OF FORD PERU , FORD WHICH HE REFUSED TO PERFORM AN EXPERT .

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/10/2016 - TRUJILLO, KS
ON JANUARY 28, 2015 , WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE IN THE CITY OF TRUJILLO PERU . THE ENGINE STOPPED, THE WITNESSES OF THE ENGINE , OIL AND ALSO THE BATTERY SIGN LIT UP. SO I DECIDED TO TAKE THE VEHICLE TO THE AUTHORIZED FORD ,, WHERE FORD MECHANICS DETERMINED THAT THE ENGINE HAD NO OIL, INTERCOOLER AND DUCTS , SPARK BURNT WITH OIL RESIDUE WORKSHOP. THEN THE WORKSHOP ASKS ME TO AUTHORIZE DISASSEMBLE THE ENGINE TO REPAIR , THE VEHICLE HAD 12.583 KM LONG, AND IS WITHIN THE FACTORY WARRANTY THEN , ASK THE COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING OF THE CITY OF TRUJILLO TO CONDUCT AN OCULAR INSPECTION. TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE FAULT AND THE DETERMINATION OF THE SEVERITY OCCURRED IN THE VEHICLE , OF COURSE WITH THE CONSENT OF FORD PERU , FORD WHICH HE REFUSED TO PERFORM AN EXPERT .

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/10/2016 - TRUJILLO, KS
ON JANUARY 28, 2015 , WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE IN THE CITY OF TRUJILLO PERU . THE ENGINE STOPPED, THE WITNESSES OF THE ENGINE , OIL AND ALSO THE BATTERY SIGN LIT UP. SO I DECIDED TO TAKE THE VEHICLE TO THE AUTHORIZED FORD ,, WHERE FORD MECHANICS DETERMINED THAT THE ENGINE HAD NO OIL, INTERCOOLER AND DUCTS , SPARK BURNT WITH OIL RESIDUE WORKSHOP. THEN THE WORKSHOP ASKS ME TO AUTHORIZE DISASSEMBLE THE ENGINE TO REPAIR , THE VEHICLE HAD 12.583 KM LONG, AND IS WITHIN THE FACTORY WARRANTY THEN , ASK THE COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING OF THE CITY OF TRUJILLO TO CONDUCT AN OCULAR INSPECTION. TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE FAULT AND THE DETERMINATION OF THE SEVERITY OCCURRED IN THE VEHICLE , OF COURSE WITH THE CONSENT OF FORD PERU , FORD WHICH HE REFUSED TO PERFORM AN EXPERT .

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 63
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds