Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2013 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 452 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (32) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (50) Steering (20) Unknown Or Other (24)
Electrical System (93) Exterior Lighting (8) Seat Belts (18) Structure (29) Vehicle Speed Control (30)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Fuel Propulsion System (26) Seats (3) Suspension (8) Visibility (5)
Engine (217) Fuel System Gasoline (16) Service Brakes (22) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (8)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Latches Locks Linkages (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (5)
Equipment (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 65
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/23/2016 - EL CENTRO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE OVERHEATED AND LOST POWER. THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, BUT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE. THE SERVICE ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE WIRES IN THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT WAS AWARE OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 15V813000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) AND 14V495000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM), BUT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 78,000.

View Details

ENGINE

6/23/2016 - EL CENTRO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE OVERHEATED AND LOST POWER. THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, BUT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE. THE SERVICE ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE WIRES IN THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT WAS AWARE OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBERS: 15V813000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM) AND 14V495000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM), BUT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 78,000.

View Details

ENGINE

6/22/2016 - TURNER, ME
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE SURGED WHILE DRIVING AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT INCORRECT SIGNALS WERE BEING PROVIDED TO THE PCM DUE TO INSUFFICIENT COMPRESSION IN THE WIRING HARNESS SPLICED INTO THE MANIFOLD ABSOLUTE PRESSURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V813000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM), BUT THE VIN WAS NOT PROVIDED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 112,000.

View Details

ENGINE

6/22/2016 - WOXALL, PA
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. IN ADDITION, AN ABNORMAL NOISE EMITTED FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER, BUT THE FAILURE WAS UNDETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 48,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/20/2016 - NEW MILFORD, CT
MY 2013 FORD ESCAPE'S INFORMATION DISPLAY WITH ALL REQUIRED INFORMATION AND ODOMETER READING HAS GONE BLANK ALL OF A SUDDEN. THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY AT THE TIME. I ADDRESSED THIS ISSUE TO FORD AND THE FORD DEALER, BUT THEY DON'T CARE TO HELP ME AND ASKING ME TO PAY TOO MUCH AMOUNT TO REPLACE IT. HOW CAN I PAY TOO MUCH AMOUNT FOR REPLACING THIS IF ITS THERE MANUFACTURING DEFECT. I KNOW AS PER FEDERAL LAW THIS IS MUST AND THE SCREEN CANNOT HAPPEN ON THIS CASE TO ANY VEHICLE. ITS DEFINITELY A MUCH NEEDED THING AND ITS NOT A FAULT FROM THE USER. THEY SAID THERE IS NO RECALL FOR INFORMATION CLUSTER. WHEN I SEARCHED , I FOUND MANY RECALLS (15C03 RECALL) WHICH THEY SAID MY CAR CANNOT BE INCLUDED SINCE IT IS 2013 MODEL. PLEASE HELP ME. THIS IS REALLY A SAFETY ISSUE. I AM SCHEDULED BY COLONIAL FORD, DANBURY ON 6/27/16 TO CHECK THE PROBLEM AND I HAVE END UP PAYING TOO MUCH MONEY. PLEASE CONSIDER THIS COMPLAINT AND PLEASE TAKE ACTIONS AS SOON AS POSSIBLE. THANK YOU

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

6/20/2016 - NEW MILFORD, CT
MY 2013 FORD ESCAPE'S INFORMATION DISPLAY WITH ALL REQUIRED INFORMATION AND ODOMETER READING HAS GONE BLANK ALL OF A SUDDEN. THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY AT THE TIME. I ADDRESSED THIS ISSUE TO FORD AND THE FORD DEALER, BUT THEY DON'T CARE TO HELP ME AND ASKING ME TO PAY TOO MUCH AMOUNT TO REPLACE IT. HOW CAN I PAY TOO MUCH AMOUNT FOR REPLACING THIS IF ITS THERE MANUFACTURING DEFECT. I KNOW AS PER FEDERAL LAW THIS IS MUST AND THE SCREEN CANNOT HAPPEN ON THIS CASE TO ANY VEHICLE. ITS DEFINITELY A MUCH NEEDED THING AND ITS NOT A FAULT FROM THE USER. THEY SAID THERE IS NO RECALL FOR INFORMATION CLUSTER. WHEN I SEARCHED , I FOUND MANY RECALLS (15C03 RECALL) WHICH THEY SAID MY CAR CANNOT BE INCLUDED SINCE IT IS 2013 MODEL. PLEASE HELP ME. THIS IS REALLY A SAFETY ISSUE. I AM SCHEDULED BY COLONIAL FORD, DANBURY ON 6/27/16 TO CHECK THE PROBLEM AND I HAVE END UP PAYING TOO MUCH MONEY. PLEASE CONSIDER THIS COMPLAINT AND PLEASE TAKE ACTIONS AS SOON AS POSSIBLE. THANK YOU

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/20/2016 - NEW MILFORD, CT
MY 2013 FORD ESCAPE'S INFORMATION DISPLAY WITH ALL REQUIRED INFORMATION AND ODOMETER READING HAS GONE BLANK ALL OF A SUDDEN. THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY AT THE TIME. I ADDRESSED THIS ISSUE TO FORD AND THE FORD DEALER, BUT THEY DON'T CARE TO HELP ME AND ASKING ME TO PAY TOO MUCH AMOUNT TO REPLACE IT. HOW CAN I PAY TOO MUCH AMOUNT FOR REPLACING THIS IF ITS THERE MANUFACTURING DEFECT. I KNOW AS PER FEDERAL LAW THIS IS MUST AND THE SCREEN CANNOT HAPPEN ON THIS CASE TO ANY VEHICLE. ITS DEFINITELY A MUCH NEEDED THING AND ITS NOT A FAULT FROM THE USER. THEY SAID THERE IS NO RECALL FOR INFORMATION CLUSTER. WHEN I SEARCHED , I FOUND MANY RECALLS (15C03 RECALL) WHICH THEY SAID MY CAR CANNOT BE INCLUDED SINCE IT IS 2013 MODEL. PLEASE HELP ME. THIS IS REALLY A SAFETY ISSUE. I AM SCHEDULED BY COLONIAL FORD, DANBURY ON 6/27/16 TO CHECK THE PROBLEM AND I HAVE END UP PAYING TOO MUCH MONEY. PLEASE CONSIDER THIS COMPLAINT AND PLEASE TAKE ACTIONS AS SOON AS POSSIBLE. THANK YOU

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/20/2016 - PHOENIX, AZ
THE LATCH SYSTEMS ON BOTH REAR DOORS HAVE BROKEN CAUSING THEM TO FLY OPEN. THE DRIVER'S SIDE REAR DOOR BROKE IN JANUARY OF 2016 UPON OPENING IN THE GARAGE, THE CAR WAS STATIONARY. THE SECOND REAR DOOR BROKE 6 MONTHS LATER, IN JUNE OF 2016, ALSO WHEN THE CAR WAS STATIONARY. IN BOTH CASES A PASSENGER HAD TO HOLD THE DOORS CLOSED ON THE INSIDE TO BE ABLE TO GET THEM TO THE DEALERSHIP WITHOUT THEM FLYING OPEN WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE STREET. EACH DOOR COST OVER $300 TO REPAIR.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

6/19/2016 - NEW MILFORD, CT
AFTER STARTING MY 2014 FORD ESCAPE, THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER INFORMATION DISPLAY WITH SYSTEM WARNINGS AND ONLY ODOMETER DISPLAY WENT BLANK. TECHNICIANS CHECKED FOR A BAD FUSE, BUT NONE FOUND. ALSO, FOUND THAT THERE IS A RECALL (15C03 - REPROGRAM INSTRUMENT PANEL CLUSTER) ISSUED AGAINST 2014 FORD ESCAPE FOR THE SAME ISSUE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/19/2016 - NEW MILFORD, CT
AFTER STARTING MY 2014 FORD ESCAPE, THE INSTRUMENT CLUSTER INFORMATION DISPLAY WITH SYSTEM WARNINGS AND ONLY ODOMETER DISPLAY WENT BLANK. TECHNICIANS CHECKED FOR A BAD FUSE, BUT NONE FOUND. ALSO, FOUND THAT THERE IS A RECALL (15C03 - REPROGRAM INSTRUMENT PANEL CLUSTER) ISSUED AGAINST 2014 FORD ESCAPE FOR THE SAME ISSUE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 65
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds