Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2013 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 493 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (32) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (53) Steering (29) Unknown Or Other (26)
Electrical System (102) Exterior Lighting (8) Seat Belts (19) Structure (33) Vehicle Speed Control (30)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Fuel Propulsion System (27) Seats (3) Suspension (8) Visibility (5)
Engine (231) Fuel System Gasoline (16) Service Brakes (24) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (9)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Latches Locks Linkages (9) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (5)
Equipment (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 70
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

9/22/2016 - CINCINNATI, OH
I WAS DRIVING WHEN MY POWER STEERING WENT OUT. IT KEEPS SAYING "POWER STEERING ASSIST DEFAULT / SERVICE ENGINE NOW". MY DASHBOARD IS DEAD BUT IT'S STILL DRIVABLE.

View Details

STEERING

9/22/2016 - BANGOR, MI
I JUST BOUGHT THIS CAR OFF THE LOT ON SATURDAY 9/17/2016. ON TUESDAY EVENING OF THE 20TH MY FAMILY AND I WENT TO DINNER CAR RAN FINE NO WARNING SIGNALS. PARKED THE CAR WENT IN TO EAT AND CAME OUT STARTED THE CAR AND WENT TO DRIVE AND COULDN'T STEER I THEN NOTICED THE MESSAGE BEHIND THE STEERING WHEEL THAT READ STEERING ASSIST FAULT SERVICE NEEDED. I THEN SHUT THE CAR OFF AND TRIED TURNING IT BACK ON STILL SAME MESSAGE. WE LITERALLY DROVE HOME WITH NO STEERING WHICH IS BEYOND DANGEROUS. IT IS IN THE SHOP RIGHT NOW TRYING TO FIGURE OUT WHAT IS WRONG WITH IT. AT THIS POINT I AM SCARED TO EVEN DRIVE IT AGAIN.

View Details

STEERING

9/20/2016 - NAPERVILLE, IL
TURNED ON VEHICLE AND POWER STEERING FAULT MESSAGE CAME ON. HAD NO STEERING ASSISTANCE AND TURNING WHEEL EXTREMELY DIFFICULT. TURNED CAR ON/OFF AND IT WENT AWAY. IT DID IT AGAIN A FEW DAYS LATER BUT WHILE DRIVING RESIDENTIAL AT 25 MPH IN A NEIGHBORHOOD. STOPPED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD AND TURNED OFF/ON VEHICLE, FAULT WENT AWAY AND STEERING RETURNED. TOOK TO FORD FOR DIAGNOSTICS AND REPAIR. WAS TOLD NO FAULTS STORE IN THE POWER STEERING MODULE THEREFORE WARRANTY WILL NOT PAY FOR DIAGNOSTICS AND REPAIR. WAS TOLD IF IT HAPPENS AGAIN, DRIVE VEHICLE TO DEALER AND DO NOT TURN OFF. I TOLD THE DEALER THIS IS A SAFETY CONCERN AND THEY SHOULD NEVER RECOMMEND TO DRIVE A VEHICLE WITH NO POWER STEERING ASSISTANCE. THE DEALER REFUSED TO DO ANY FURTHER DIAGNOSTICS AND COULD NOT RECOMMEND SAFE FUTURE STEPS. REFUSING TO PAY FOR WARRANTY ON A SYSTEM WITH NO FAULTS THAT DOES NOT STORE FAULT CODES IS UNREASONABLE. THE CAR IS UNSAFE FOR MY WIFE TO OPERATE YET THEY TOOK NO STEPS TO CORRECT CONCERN. THE MODULE PROGRAMMING WAS UPDATED BUT ADVISOR DESCRIBED THE UPDATE AND IT DOES NOT ADDRESS MY ISSUE.

View Details

ENGINE

9/20/2016 - FORT SILL, OK
THE SAME THING DESCRIBED IN 13V583000 HAPPENED TO ME ON THE HIGHWAY. FORD IS HIDING BEHIND THE VIN AND SAYS BECAUSE IT IS OUT OF WARRANTY AND THE VIN IS NOT EFFECTED BY 13V583000 THAT THEY CANNOT REPAIR IT. I OWE 16000 ON THIS CAR.

View Details

STEERING

9/19/2016 - RED BLUFF, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE POWER STEERING FAILED WITHOUT WARNING. IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE EPS GEAR ASSEMBLY HAD AN INTERNAL FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE VIN WAS INVALID. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 51,000.

View Details

STEERING

9/13/2016 - CHICAGO, IL
2013 FORD ESCAPE LOST POWER STEERING TWICE ON 9/12/16 WITH THE "STEERING ASSIST FAULT" MESSAGE IN THE MIDDLE OF DRIVING. 1ST TIME HAPPENED 2 MINUTES AFTER START WHILE TURNING OUT OF THE DRIVEWAY. 2ND ONE HAPPENED 10 MINUTES AFTER START WHILE DRIVING. IF THIS HAPPENS DURING DRIVING IT IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS!! YOU LOSE CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. MY WIFE WOULD HAVE CRASHED FOR SURE. THEY SAY IT HAS A MANUAL REVERSION TO DRIVE WITHOUT POWER STEERING BUT IT IS NOT THE SAME. I HAVE DRIVEN CARS WITHOUT POWER STEERING AND THIS IS WAY HARDER. THE RACK AND PINION HAD PROBLEMS AND WAS REPLACED ON 8/5/15 AT 23972 MILES. IT HAS GONE OUT AGAIN ON 9/12/16 AT 38000 MILES. NOW FORD IS SAYING IT IS NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY EVEN THOUGH IT WAS REPLACED UNDER WARRANTY ONCE AND HAS NOT GONE OUT AGAIN IN 1 YEAR! THIS IS CLEARLY A FAULTY SYSTEM TO HAVE GONE OUT TWICE IN LESS THAN 3 YEARS AND 38000 MILES. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE FOR SURE AND I HAVE NO DOUBT WILL LEAD TO A RECALL OR LAWSUIT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/12/2016 - FAYETTEVILLE, GA
RECALL-DOORS OPEN WHILE VEHICLE IS MOVING

View Details

ENGINE

9/12/2016 - DECATUR, GA
MY 2013 FORD ESCAPE IS OVERHEATING AND IT CUT OFF ON ME WHILE IN MOTION ON THE EXPRESSWAY AND IT WOULDN'T NOR START .

View Details

ENGINE

9/6/2016 - GROVE CITY, OH
ENGINE FAULT SERVICE NOW LIGHT COMES ON FREQUENTLY. DEALERSHIP REPLACE MAP SENSOR. WORKED FOR ONE WEEK. CONTINUES TO HAPPEN WHICH CAUSES CAR TO HESITATE AND STALL. GARAGE SAYS I HAVE TO DRIVE IT THERE WHEN MESSAGE COMES ON WITHOUT SHUTTING IT OFF AS THE CODE CLEARS UPON SHUT DOWN. IMPOSSIBLE TO CONTINUE TO DRIVE A STALLING CAR ON THE FREEWAY TO THE GARAGE. NOW THE COMPUTER SCREEN ABOVE THE STEEING WHEEL WENT OUT. LESS THAN 40,000 MILES ON THE CAR. FAULT MESSAGE OCCURS WHEN STARTING THE CAR. CONTINUES TO HAPPEN.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/6/2016 - GROVE CITY, OH
ENGINE FAULT SERVICE NOW LIGHT COMES ON FREQUENTLY. DEALERSHIP REPLACE MAP SENSOR. WORKED FOR ONE WEEK. CONTINUES TO HAPPEN WHICH CAUSES CAR TO HESITATE AND STALL. GARAGE SAYS I HAVE TO DRIVE IT THERE WHEN MESSAGE COMES ON WITHOUT SHUTTING IT OFF AS THE CODE CLEARS UPON SHUT DOWN. IMPOSSIBLE TO CONTINUE TO DRIVE A STALLING CAR ON THE FREEWAY TO THE GARAGE. NOW THE COMPUTER SCREEN ABOVE THE STEEING WHEEL WENT OUT. LESS THAN 40,000 MILES ON THE CAR. FAULT MESSAGE OCCURS WHEN STARTING THE CAR. CONTINUES TO HAPPEN.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 70
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds