Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2013 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 662 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (36) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (67) Steering (42) Unknown Or Other (41)
Electrical System (129) Exterior Lighting (8) Seat Belts (22) Structure (47) Vehicle Speed Control (35)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Fuel Propulsion System (42) Seats (4) Suspension (10) Visibility (5)
Engine (301) Fuel System Gasoline (18) Service Brakes (25) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (14)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Latches Locks Linkages (40) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (6)
Equipment (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 92
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/14/2017 - TAMPA, FL
2013 FORD ESCAPE SE 1.6 L 4CYL I HOPE THERE IS AN INVESTIGATION THAT IS ON GOING. MY FORD IS OVER HEATING AND SOMETIMES IT WONT START BECAUSE OF A SOFTWARE FIX THAT WAS SUPPOSED TO FIX THE PROBLEM. TURNS OUT IT DELAYS THE INEVITABLE. MY CAR IS NOW AT THE FORD DEALER FOR THE SECOND TIME. TO MAKE THINGS WORSE, I WOKE UP ONE DAY AND MY POWER STEERING DIDNT WORK. I GO TO WORK WITH NO POWER STEERING AND WHEN I START IT AGAIN IT WORKS, VERY WEIRD. ALL IN ALL, I DO NOT THINK FORD DID ENOUGH. THE COOLANT SYSTEM OR THE ENGINE NEEDS TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

ENGINE

6/14/2017 - TAMPA, FL
2013 FORD ESCAPE SE 1.6 L 4CYL I HOPE THERE IS AN INVESTIGATION THAT IS ON GOING. MY FORD IS OVER HEATING AND SOMETIMES IT WONT START BECAUSE OF A SOFTWARE FIX THAT WAS SUPPOSED TO FIX THE PROBLEM. TURNS OUT IT DELAYS THE INEVITABLE. MY CAR IS NOW AT THE FORD DEALER FOR THE SECOND TIME. TO MAKE THINGS WORSE, I WOKE UP ONE DAY AND MY POWER STEERING DIDNT WORK. I GO TO WORK WITH NO POWER STEERING AND WHEN I START IT AGAIN IT WORKS, VERY WEIRD. ALL IN ALL, I DO NOT THINK FORD DID ENOUGH. THE COOLANT SYSTEM OR THE ENGINE NEEDS TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/13/2017 - CADDO MILL, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE CONTACT SMELLED AN ABNORMAL BURNING ODOR AND SAW GREY SMOKE COMING FROM THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT WAS ALERTED BY ANOTHER MOTORIST THAT THE VEHICLE WAS BURNING. AFTER PULLING OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, THE OTHER VEHICLE'S DRIVER ASSISTED IN INSPECTING THE VEHICLE AND NOTICED FLAMES UNDER THE HOOD. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS NOTIFIED AND EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO SPROUSE AUTO, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THEY WOULD RECEIVE A CALL BACK AFTER 15 DAYS. THE MANUFACTURER RECOMMENDED THAT THE CONTACT'S INSURANCE COMPANY INSPECT THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT DID NOT RECEIVE A NOTICE, BUT WAS INFORMED ON 6/13/16 THAT THEY WERE INVOLVED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V584000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 95,000.

View Details

ENGINE

6/9/2017 - ST. PETERSBURG, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE SHOOK AND SUDDENLY STALLED. THE CONTACT HAD TO PLACE THE VEHICLE IN NEUTRAL AND RESTART THE VEHICLE BEFORE THE GEAR COULD BE SWITCHED TO DRIVE ONCE THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER (AUTO NATION) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED, BUT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE IDENTIFIED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 64,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/6/2017 - GOOSE CREEK, SC
ANTIFREEZE NEEDS TO BE ADDED EVERY COUPLE WEEKS. NO SIGN OF LEAKAGE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/6/2017 - O'FALLON, MO
RECALL 16V-643 RECEIVED RECALL NOTICE. WHEN I TRIED TO MAKE AN APT FOR REPAIRS TOLD CALL BACK IN A MONTH? I TRANSPORT CHILDREN AND WHY WHEN I RECEIVE A LETTER TELLING ME TO CALL THEY DO NOT HAVE THE PARTS? I OWN TWO 2013 ESCAPES. TOTALLY UNPREPARED FOR THIS RECALL.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/5/2017 - KERNERSVILLE, NC
CATASTROPHIC LOSS OF BRAKING AT 65 MPH ON HIGHWAY WITHOUT WARNING. SATURDAY EVENING APRIL, 29, 2017 ON I-85 SOUTHBOUND WHILE SLOWING FROM 65 MPH TO EXIT AT SOUTH HILL, VA DRIVER (DAUGHTER) APPLIED BRAKES AND HAD NO POWER ASSIST. THIS PRODUCED A PEDAL THAT WAS STIFF AND HER ENTIRE BODY WEIGHT HAD TO BE USED TO CAUSE ANY SLOWING. THE VEHICLE WAS STOPPED USING THE GRADE OF THE RAMP AND E BRAKE. THE VEHICLE HAD NO WARNING LIGHTS OR INDICATIONS OF FAILURE. AFTER TOWING IT HOME SUNDAY APRIL 30TH IT WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALERSHIP. THEY DIAGNOSED A VACUUM PUMP FAILURE. THE VACUUM PUMP BEING SOLELY RESPONSIBLE FOR THE BRAKING SYSTEM CAUSES IMMEDIATE LOSS OF BRAKING ON FAILURE. THE FAILURE WAS CAUSED BY CONDITIONS SIMILAR TO THOSE PRESENT IN THE BELT DRIVEN VACUUM PUMP ON 2011-2012 FORD F-150 ECOBOOST. SEVERAL DAYS LATER WHEN THE DEALERSHIP ATTEMPTED TO FIX THE VACUUM PUMP THEY FOUND THAT THE FAILURE CAUSED THE CAM CORE COUPLER TO SHEAR. THIS ALLOWED METAL SHARDS INTO THE OIL WHICH THEN CARRIED THEM TO THE ENGINE AND TURBO DAMAGING BOTH. THE DEALERSHIP CAME BACK WITH AN ESTIMATE OF $6000 FOR JUST THE REPAIRS WITH A NEW ENGINE, HOWEVER THEY INFORMED US THAT THE TURBO NEEDED TO BE REPLACED AS WELL DUE TO THE DAMAGE. WORKERS AT THE DEALERSHIP REPORTED THAT THE COST TO FIX THE CAR FAR OUTSTRIPPED THE RESIDUAL VALUE. MILEAGE FAILURE WAS 60,921. DUE TO THE 921 MILES FORD HAS THUS FAR REFUSED TO CONSIDER ANY RECONCILIATION. AFTER EXTENSIVE RESEARCH WE HAVE FOUND THAT THIS FAILURE IS COMMON AMONG ECOBOOST ENGINES AND MAY BE MORE PREVALENT THAN IMMEDIATELY EVIDENT. A BRAKING FAILURE OF THIS MAGNITUDE COULD EASILY CAUSE SERIOUS INJURIES OR FATALITIES. IN THE CASE OF MOST WRECKS INVOLVING PRIVATELY OWNED VEHICLES THOROUGH INVESTIGATION OF CAUSE IS UNCOMMON. IF THE OCCUPANTS WERE UNABLE TO RECALL OR COMMUNICATE THE CAUSE OF THE WRECK DUE TO INJURY OR DEATH IT WOULD GO UNREPORTED.

View Details

ENGINE

6/5/2017 - KERNERSVILLE, NC
CATASTROPHIC LOSS OF BRAKING AT 65 MPH ON HIGHWAY WITHOUT WARNING. SATURDAY EVENING APRIL, 29, 2017 ON I-85 SOUTHBOUND WHILE SLOWING FROM 65 MPH TO EXIT AT SOUTH HILL, VA DRIVER (DAUGHTER) APPLIED BRAKES AND HAD NO POWER ASSIST. THIS PRODUCED A PEDAL THAT WAS STIFF AND HER ENTIRE BODY WEIGHT HAD TO BE USED TO CAUSE ANY SLOWING. THE VEHICLE WAS STOPPED USING THE GRADE OF THE RAMP AND E BRAKE. THE VEHICLE HAD NO WARNING LIGHTS OR INDICATIONS OF FAILURE. AFTER TOWING IT HOME SUNDAY APRIL 30TH IT WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALERSHIP. THEY DIAGNOSED A VACUUM PUMP FAILURE. THE VACUUM PUMP BEING SOLELY RESPONSIBLE FOR THE BRAKING SYSTEM CAUSES IMMEDIATE LOSS OF BRAKING ON FAILURE. THE FAILURE WAS CAUSED BY CONDITIONS SIMILAR TO THOSE PRESENT IN THE BELT DRIVEN VACUUM PUMP ON 2011-2012 FORD F-150 ECOBOOST. SEVERAL DAYS LATER WHEN THE DEALERSHIP ATTEMPTED TO FIX THE VACUUM PUMP THEY FOUND THAT THE FAILURE CAUSED THE CAM CORE COUPLER TO SHEAR. THIS ALLOWED METAL SHARDS INTO THE OIL WHICH THEN CARRIED THEM TO THE ENGINE AND TURBO DAMAGING BOTH. THE DEALERSHIP CAME BACK WITH AN ESTIMATE OF $6000 FOR JUST THE REPAIRS WITH A NEW ENGINE, HOWEVER THEY INFORMED US THAT THE TURBO NEEDED TO BE REPLACED AS WELL DUE TO THE DAMAGE. WORKERS AT THE DEALERSHIP REPORTED THAT THE COST TO FIX THE CAR FAR OUTSTRIPPED THE RESIDUAL VALUE. MILEAGE FAILURE WAS 60,921. DUE TO THE 921 MILES FORD HAS THUS FAR REFUSED TO CONSIDER ANY RECONCILIATION. AFTER EXTENSIVE RESEARCH WE HAVE FOUND THAT THIS FAILURE IS COMMON AMONG ECOBOOST ENGINES AND MAY BE MORE PREVALENT THAN IMMEDIATELY EVIDENT. A BRAKING FAILURE OF THIS MAGNITUDE COULD EASILY CAUSE SERIOUS INJURIES OR FATALITIES. IN THE CASE OF MOST WRECKS INVOLVING PRIVATELY OWNED VEHICLES THOROUGH INVESTIGATION OF CAUSE IS UNCOMMON. IF THE OCCUPANTS WERE UNABLE TO RECALL OR COMMUNICATE THE CAUSE OF THE WRECK DUE TO INJURY OR DEATH IT WOULD GO UNREPORTED.

View Details

STEERING

6/2/2017 - PRINCETON, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. UPON STARTING THE VEHICLE, THERE WAS NO POWER STEERING ABILITY UNTIL SEVERAL MINUTES LATER AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS WARMED UP. THE FAILURE OCCURRED DURING THE WINTER MONTHS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FAILURE RECURRED AND THE POWER STEERING ASSIST WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO PADUCAH FORD LINCOLN, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED DUE TO THE DIAGNOSTIC FEE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND REFERRED THE CONTACT TO NHTSA SINCE THERE WAS NO RECALL. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

ENGINE

6/1/2017 - GUAYNABO, PR
ENGINE COOLANT LEAKS, ENGINE FAILURE, NOT CORRECTED BY DEALER

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 92
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds