Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2013 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 464 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (32) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (51) Steering (20) Unknown Or Other (23)
Electrical System (99) Exterior Lighting (8) Seat Belts (18) Structure (30) Vehicle Speed Control (30)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Fuel Propulsion System (26) Seats (3) Suspension (8) Visibility (5)
Engine (223) Fuel System Gasoline (16) Service Brakes (23) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (8)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Latches Locks Linkages (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (5)
Equipment (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 66
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/21/2016 - AUSTIN, TX
A WARNING INDICATOR WILL APPEAR ON THE DASH STATING "ENGINE MALFUNCTION SERVICE NOW". THE CAR SHUDDERS, JERKS, HESITATES AND CAN STALL WHEN THE THROTTLE IS PUSHED. PULLING OVER, POWERING THE CAR DOWN, AND TURNING IT BACK ON SEEMS TO TEMPORARILY RESOLVE IT. ISSUE MAY BE ASSOCIATED WITH HIGH TEMPERATURES SINCE THIS WAS SERVICED IN AUGUST OF 2016. AFTER 5 TRIPS TO THE DEALER WITH REPAIRS RELATED TO THE WIRING HARNESS, I WAS TOLD IT WAS RESOLVED. THE PROBLEM HAS RECURRED STARTING IN JUNE OF THIS YEAR. WENT TO THE FORD DEALER AGAIN AND THEY FAILED TO DIAGNOSE. DROVE IT TO THE DEALER IN FAILURE MODE WITH WARNING DISPLAYED TO PROVE THERE IS AN ISSUE. THIS HAPPENS WHEN IN MOTION. I HAVE VIDEO OF THE ERROR DISPLAY.

View Details

ENGINE

7/21/2016 - AUSTIN, TX
A WARNING INDICATOR WILL APPEAR ON THE DASH STATING "ENGINE MALFUNCTION SERVICE NOW". THE CAR SHUDDERS, JERKS, HESITATES AND CAN STALL WHEN THE THROTTLE IS PUSHED. PULLING OVER, POWERING THE CAR DOWN, AND TURNING IT BACK ON SEEMS TO TEMPORARILY RESOLVE IT. ISSUE MAY BE ASSOCIATED WITH HIGH TEMPERATURES SINCE THIS WAS SERVICED IN AUGUST OF 2016. AFTER 5 TRIPS TO THE DEALER WITH REPAIRS RELATED TO THE WIRING HARNESS, I WAS TOLD IT WAS RESOLVED. THE PROBLEM HAS RECURRED STARTING IN JUNE OF THIS YEAR. WENT TO THE FORD DEALER AGAIN AND THEY FAILED TO DIAGNOSE. DROVE IT TO THE DEALER IN FAILURE MODE WITH WARNING DISPLAYED TO PROVE THERE IS AN ISSUE. THIS HAPPENS WHEN IN MOTION. I HAVE VIDEO OF THE ERROR DISPLAY.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

7/18/2016 - HOLIDAY, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH, THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE DOOR FLEW OPEN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE LATCH FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 67,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/13/2016 - OCONOMOC, WI
GOT THE SAME WIRING HARNESS PROBLEMS AS RECALL #15V81300 BUT IT SEEMS MY VEHICLE IS NOT INCLUDED. ARE THE DATES OF MANUFACTURE TOO RESTRICTED? DO I HAVE ONE OF THOSE IMPROPERLY MADE HARNESSES?

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/13/2016 - SAN ANGELO, TX
WHILE IN MOTION THE PASSENGER DOOR FLEW OPEN WHILE TURNING. THE LATCH INSIDE THE DOOR BROKE FOR NO APPARENT REASON. THERE HAVE BEEN MANY RECALLS OF OTHER FORD VEHICLES THAT HAVE HAD THE SAME PROBLEM. BUT ESCAPES HAVE NOT BEEN INCLUDED. WE ARE FORTUNATE THAT NO ONE FELL OUT OF THE VEHICLE WHILE TURNING THE CORNER. THE CAR WAS ON A CITY HIGHWAY TURNING ONTO ANOTHER CITY HIGHWAY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/11/2016 - CUMBRLAND, RI
VEHICLE SHUT OFF WHILE GETTING ON THE HIGHWAY TRAVELING AT ABOUT 25 MPH. IT WOULD NOT RESTART, HAD TO BE TOWED TO NEAREST FORD DEALER. FAILURE WAS DUE TO ELECTRICAL HARNESS SHORTING WIRE. THERE ARE A COUPLE OF RECALLS FOR THIS SAME ISSUE ON ESCAPES BUT I AM TOLD MY VEHICLE ISN'T ONE OF THE RECALLS, DESPITE BEING THE SAME PROBLEM

View Details

ENGINE

7/6/2016 - HUBBARD, OH
THIS ENGINE HAS BEEN STALLING. IT SEEMS TO STALL WHEN SLOWING FOR A TURN OR AN INTERSECTION. I SEEN THERE WAS A RECALL ISSUED FOR SOME ESCAPES WITH THE SAME YEAR AS MINE. WHY WERE NOT ALL ESCAPES RECALLED FOR THIS CONDITION?

View Details

ENGINE

7/1/2016 - CINCINNATI, OH
THE CAR WOULD OCCASIONALLY LOOSE POWER. IT WOULD STALL OUT SOON AFTER STARTING THE CAR AND PUTTING THE CAR IN DRIVE. I THOUGHT PERHAPS I WAS ACCELERATING TOO SOON AFTER STARTING THE CAR. I WOULD START THE CAR THEN WAIT A FEW SECONDS. THE CAR STILL STALLED WHILE IN MOTION. SEVERAL TIMES I HAD TO STEER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD TO RESTART THE CAR. I'M LUCKY NO ONE WAS CLOSE BEHIND ME. THE LAST TIME IT STALLED, I WAS ON A BUSY CITY STREET. I HAD JUST PICKED MY SON UP FROM SUMMER CAMP. THE CAR STALLED AS I MERGED INTO TRAFFIC AFTER LEAVING THE PARKING LOT. THE CAR STOPPED RUNNING WITH NO WARNING. THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND STAYED ON. THE DEALERSHIP SAYS ITS THE SCENSOR THAT IS NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY. MY CAR HAS BEEN IN THE SHOP FOR 8 DAYS NOW AND I STILL DON'T HAVE IT BACK. IT SEEMS LIKE MORE THAN JUST A SCENSOR ISSUE TO HAVE IT THAT LONG. I AM IN A RENTAL VEHICLE UNTIL REPAIRS ARE COMPLETE. THIS HAS BEEN COSTLY EVEN THOUGH I WAS GIVEN A DISCOUNT BY THE DEALERSHIP ON CAR RENTAL. I HAD NO CHOICE TO RENT A CAR. I WAS ATTENDING A FAMILY REUNION OUT OF TOWN JUNE 23RD THRU JUNE 26TH. I COULDN'T RISK DRIVING MY CAR PUTTING MY FAMILY AND MYSELF IN DANGER ON THE HIGHWAY..

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/30/2016 - PITTSBURGH, PA
I WAS DRIVING OUT OF A MOUNTAINOUS ROAD AND ALL OF A SUDDEN, NO WARNING LIGHTS, NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS, NOTHING, THE POWER BRAKES WENT. I WAS ABLE TO STOP BY USING THE HYDRAULIC SYSTEM WITH BOTH FEET TROMPING DOWN ON THE BRAKE PEDAL. I HAVE TAKEN MY CAR TO THE FORD DEALER AND THEY SAID THAT IT WAS THE VACUUM POWER ASSIST CONTRAPTION THAT WAS DEFECTIVE. I HAVEN'T GOTTEN MY CAR BACK (9 DAYS NOW) BECAUSE THEY ARE SAYING THAT THE ENGINE DOES NOT FUNCTION PROPERLY NOW AND THAT IS ISN'T THE 'FAULT' OF THE VACUUM POWER ASSIST DEVICE MALFUNCTIONING.

View Details

ENGINE

6/28/2016 - OCEAN PINES, MD
CAR CONTINUALLY STALLS. ERROR MESSAGE SAYS ENGINE FAULT SERVICE NOW. IT CAN HAPPEN COMING OUT OF THE DRIVE WAY OR DRIVING AT 50 MILES AN HOUR. DEALER SAYS NOTHING IS WRONG! THIS IS DANGEROUS! IT'S BEEN HAPPENING FOR OVER A YEAR NOW

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 66
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds