Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2013 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 648 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (36) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (66) Steering (41) Unknown Or Other (40)
Electrical System (128) Exterior Lighting (8) Seat Belts (22) Structure (46) Vehicle Speed Control (35)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Fuel Propulsion System (41) Seats (4) Suspension (10) Visibility (5)
Engine (294) Fuel System Gasoline (18) Service Brakes (24) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (14)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Latches Locks Linkages (37) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (6)
Equipment (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 91
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

5/19/2017 - NEW YORK, NY
INTERMITTENT CHECK ENGINE LIGHT (HAPPENS WHEN IN PARK OR WHEN DRIVING). HOOKED UP TO CODE READER AND GOT P026B7; FOUND ONLINE THAT THE THE ENGINE COOLANT BYPASS VALVE IS DEFECTIVE, BUT NOT RECALLED (TSB 13-02-15). DEALER CONFIRMS CODE AND THAT ENGINE COOLANT BYPASS VALVE IS DEFECTIVE AND SHOULD BE REPLACED BUT REFERENCED TSB 16-0052. DESPITE THE PART BEING SO DEFECTIVE IT HAS BEEN DISCONTINUED, REDESIGNED, AND REPLACED THE DEALER CLAIMS IT ISN'T COVERED UNDER ANY FORM OF WARRANTY.

View Details

ENGINE

5/19/2017 - ROCHESTER, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING AT UNKNOWN SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE OVERHEATED AND STALLED AND THE ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 70,000.

View Details

ENGINE

5/18/2017 - SCRANTON, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND THE INSTRUMENT PANEL INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS UNABLE TO RESTART AND WAS TOWED TO A DEALER. ON DIFFERENT OCCASIONS, THE CONTACT SMELLED AN ABNORMAL FUEL ODOR COMING FROM THE VENTILATION. THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE FAILURE, BUT NOTICED THAT COOLANT WAS MISSING. THE CONTACT CONTINUED TO REFILL THE COOLANT IN THE VEHICLE, BUT IT CONTINUED TO DEPLETE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND OPENED CASE NUMBER: CAS12347863. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 86,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/18/2017 - SCRANTON, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND THE INSTRUMENT PANEL INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS UNABLE TO RESTART AND WAS TOWED TO A DEALER. ON DIFFERENT OCCASIONS, THE CONTACT SMELLED AN ABNORMAL FUEL ODOR COMING FROM THE VENTILATION. THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO DUPLICATE THE FAILURE, BUT NOTICED THAT COOLANT WAS MISSING. THE CONTACT CONTINUED TO REFILL THE COOLANT IN THE VEHICLE, BUT IT CONTINUED TO DEPLETE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND OPENED CASE NUMBER: CAS12347863. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 86,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/16/2017 - JACKSBORO, TN
VEHICLE POWERS DOWN, LEAKS COOLANT , HAS ROUGH RIDE, VIBRATES AND HAS COMPLETELY SHUT DOWN ATLEAST TWICE REQUIRING A TOW. ENGINE HAS HOT SMELL TO IT, AS IF IT IS COMING FROM HOT COOLANT . FORD SAYS "CAN'T FIND A LEAK." THEY REPLACED A PART ON IT, HOWEVER I CAN NOT RECALL WHAT IT WAS BECAUSE THEY WERE ONLY GUESSING THEMSELVES AS FAR AS LOW COOLANT. HOWEVER IT DID NOT FIX IT ANYWAY. I HAVE CALLED FORD MANY TIMES, BUT THEY SHOW NO RECALLS TO ANY OF THE PROBLEMS I HAVE MENTIONED. I AM A SINGLE MOM & NURSE, I NEED A RELIABLE VEHICLE. IT IS SO DEPRESSING TO MAKE PAYMENTS ON VEHICLE. BY THE WAY I HAVE NO WARRANTY. THE ISSUES OCCUR AT ANY TIME ON ANY ROADS.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/16/2017 - JACKSBORO, TN
VEHICLE POWERS DOWN, LEAKS COOLANT , HAS ROUGH RIDE, VIBRATES AND HAS COMPLETELY SHUT DOWN ATLEAST TWICE REQUIRING A TOW. ENGINE HAS HOT SMELL TO IT, AS IF IT IS COMING FROM HOT COOLANT . FORD SAYS "CAN'T FIND A LEAK." THEY REPLACED A PART ON IT, HOWEVER I CAN NOT RECALL WHAT IT WAS BECAUSE THEY WERE ONLY GUESSING THEMSELVES AS FAR AS LOW COOLANT. HOWEVER IT DID NOT FIX IT ANYWAY. I HAVE CALLED FORD MANY TIMES, BUT THEY SHOW NO RECALLS TO ANY OF THE PROBLEMS I HAVE MENTIONED. I AM A SINGLE MOM & NURSE, I NEED A RELIABLE VEHICLE. IT IS SO DEPRESSING TO MAKE PAYMENTS ON VEHICLE. BY THE WAY I HAVE NO WARRANTY. THE ISSUES OCCUR AT ANY TIME ON ANY ROADS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/16/2017 - JACKSBORO, TN
VEHICLE POWERS DOWN, LEAKS COOLANT , HAS ROUGH RIDE, VIBRATES AND HAS COMPLETELY SHUT DOWN ATLEAST TWICE REQUIRING A TOW. ENGINE HAS HOT SMELL TO IT, AS IF IT IS COMING FROM HOT COOLANT . FORD SAYS "CAN'T FIND A LEAK." THEY REPLACED A PART ON IT, HOWEVER I CAN NOT RECALL WHAT IT WAS BECAUSE THEY WERE ONLY GUESSING THEMSELVES AS FAR AS LOW COOLANT. HOWEVER IT DID NOT FIX IT ANYWAY. I HAVE CALLED FORD MANY TIMES, BUT THEY SHOW NO RECALLS TO ANY OF THE PROBLEMS I HAVE MENTIONED. I AM A SINGLE MOM & NURSE, I NEED A RELIABLE VEHICLE. IT IS SO DEPRESSING TO MAKE PAYMENTS ON VEHICLE. BY THE WAY I HAVE NO WARRANTY. THE ISSUES OCCUR AT ANY TIME ON ANY ROADS.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

5/16/2017 - DASSEL, MN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V643000 (LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES) HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE DOOR FAILED TO LOCK. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

5/15/2017 - ST CHARLES, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V643000 (LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES); HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE DEALER CONFIRMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE FOR THE RECALL REMEDY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/14/2017 - ASHEVILLE, NC
VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN AWAY FROM A MECHANICS SHOP FOR A FLY WHEEL REPAIR. AFTER APPROX. + MILE OF DRIVING, THE TEMPERATURE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED WITHOUT THE GAUGE SHOWING A HIGH TEMPERATURE. I STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT. WHEN THE LIGHT TURNED GREEN, NO MATTER HOW I PRESSED ON THE ACCELERATOR, THE CAR WOULD NOT ACCELERATE OVER 5 MILES AN HOUR. I HAD TO NAVIGATE ACROSS 3 LANES OF TRAFFIC TO GET TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. IT DROVE FOR LESS THAN 50 FT THEN THE ENGINE COMPLETELY SHUT OFF FORCING ME TO PUSH THE CAR INTO A PARKING LOT. MECHANICS CAME, LOOKED OVER THE CAR THEN IT STARTED NORMALLY. THEY DROVE IT BACK TO THE SHOP AND HOOKED IT TO A COMPUTER BUT NO CODES WERE THROWN. WE COULD NOT RECREATE THE ISSUE. WE DECIDED TO FILE A COMPLAINT BECAUSE OF OUR CONCERN OVER ALL THE BLOGS FOUND ONLINE REFERENCING THE SAME ISSUE. THIS COULD POTENTIALLY BE VERY HAZARDOUS IF IT HAPPENS ON A HIGHWAY WHICH COULD RESULT IN BODILY INJURY. THIS COMES AFTER THIS VEHICLE HAS BEEN IN THE SHOP FOR OVER 4 MONTHS IN THE 8 MONTHS WE HAVE OWNED IT FOR MANY ISSUES INCLUDING TRANSMISSION, TRANSMISSION BRACKET, TRANSMISSION PLUG FAILURE, WIPER MOTOR, FLY WHEEL AND A SENSOR ISSUE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 91
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds