Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2013 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 270 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (14) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (31) Steering (10) Unknown Or Other (11)
Electrical System (54) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (5) Structure (16) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (12) Seats (2) Suspension (4) Visibility (4)
Engine (139) Fuel System Gasoline (13) Service Brakes (14) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (4)
Equipment (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 38
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

1/9/2015 - GIG HARBPR, WA
THIS IS AN INTERMITTENT POWER LOSS ISSUE ON A 2013 FORD ESCAPE PURCHASED ON DECEMBER 31, 2013. WE HAVE HAD THE ISSUE SINCE THAT DATE. AT SPEEDS UNDER 35MPH AND ALWAYS WHILE MAKING A TURN, THE VEHICLE LOSES ALL POWER AND MUST BE COASTED TO A SAFE SPOT, STOPPED, PUT INTO PARK, AND THEN TURNING THE KEY TO RESTART. THIS ISSUE HAPPENS 1-4 TIMES A WEEK DURING DAILY USE. WE HAVE TAKEN IT TO THE DEALER SHIP 3 TIMES. THE FIRST TWO TIMES I NOTIFIED THEM OF THE ISSUE VERBALLY, BUT SINCE IT DID NOT HAPPEN DURING THEIR TEST DRIVES, NOTHING WAS DONE OR NOTED. THIS LAST TIME, THE ISSUE OCCURRED ON DECEMBER 24, 2014, WHILE MAKING A LEFT HAND TURN THROUGH A CITY INTERSECTION THAT ALSO PUT THE VEHICLE ON A SLIGHT INCLINE, THE POWER WAS LOST, AND WE COULD NOT COAST TO SAFETY TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. ANOTHER VEHICLE HAD TO LOCK ITS BRAKES TO AVOID A COLLISION. ON JAN 2, 2015 I TOOK THE VEHICLE BACK TO LAKEWOOD FORD IN LAKEWOOD, WA WHERE IT WAS PURCHASED. THEY HAD THE VEHICLE FROM JAN 2 - JAN 9 2015. THEY TEST DROVE IT A TOTAL OF 26 MILES. THEY DID NOT USE A "FLIGHT RECORDER" TO CAPTURE ANY DATA. THE VEHICLE IS STILL UNDER WARRANTY AND I WILL BE TAKING IT TO EVERY FORD DEALERSHIP I CAN FIND UNTIL ONE OF THEM ACKNOWLEDGES AND REPAIRS THE ISSUE. I WILL ALSO BE RECORDING VIDEO OF THE ISSUE. THE CAMERA WILL CAPTURE THE INSTRUMENTATION AND ROAD.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/2/2015 - BETHESDA, MD
CAR HAS BEEN GIVING US AN ERROR MESSAGE "ENGINE FAULT SERVICE NOW" SINCE WE BOUGHT THE VEHICLE. FORD HAS BEEN UNABLE TO REPAIR FOR THE LIFE OF THE VEHICLE. THE CAR HAS NO STARTED TO SHUT OFF IN TRAFFIC. THE INCIDENT ON 12/27 I WAS SLOWING DOWN IN HEAVY TRAFFIC AND THE VEHICLE SHUT OFF. CARS WHERE ABLE TO AVOID US AND WE WERE ABLE GET THE CAR RESTARTED BUT IT IS BECOMING A HAZARD TO NOT ONLY US BUT EVERYONE ON THE ROAD. TWO WEEKS PRIOR THE CAR SHUT OFF WHILE WE WERE AT A RED LIGHT. FORD HAS BEEN UNABLE TO FIX AND UNWILLING TO WORK WITH US ON THIS ISSUE. I HAVE SEEN COMMENTS ON LINE THAT OTHER PEOPLE HAVE FACED SIMILAR PROBLEMS WITH THE 2013 ESCAPE. WE JUST WANT THE SAFE WORKING CAR THAT WE THOUGHT WE PAID FOR. WE HAVE TRIED EVERYTHING AND BEEN VERY PATIENT BUT NOW IT IS A SAFETY HAZARD.

View Details

ENGINE

1/2/2015 - BETHESDA, MD
CAR HAS BEEN GIVING US AN ERROR MESSAGE "ENGINE FAULT SERVICE NOW" SINCE WE BOUGHT THE VEHICLE. FORD HAS BEEN UNABLE TO REPAIR FOR THE LIFE OF THE VEHICLE. THE CAR HAS NO STARTED TO SHUT OFF IN TRAFFIC. THE INCIDENT ON 12/27 I WAS SLOWING DOWN IN HEAVY TRAFFIC AND THE VEHICLE SHUT OFF. CARS WHERE ABLE TO AVOID US AND WE WERE ABLE GET THE CAR RESTARTED BUT IT IS BECOMING A HAZARD TO NOT ONLY US BUT EVERYONE ON THE ROAD. TWO WEEKS PRIOR THE CAR SHUT OFF WHILE WE WERE AT A RED LIGHT. FORD HAS BEEN UNABLE TO FIX AND UNWILLING TO WORK WITH US ON THIS ISSUE. I HAVE SEEN COMMENTS ON LINE THAT OTHER PEOPLE HAVE FACED SIMILAR PROBLEMS WITH THE 2013 ESCAPE. WE JUST WANT THE SAFE WORKING CAR THAT WE THOUGHT WE PAID FOR. WE HAVE TRIED EVERYTHING AND BEEN VERY PATIENT BUT NOW IT IS A SAFETY HAZARD.

View Details

ENGINE

12/29/2014 - MILAN, IL
JUST TURNED ON CAR AND WAS PULLING OUT OF THE DRIVEWAY. THE INFORMATION LIGHT CAME ON AND SAID IT WAS LOW ON COOLANT. I NOTICED A BURNING TYPE SMELL WHEN I GOT OUT OF THE CAR TO SEE HOW LOW THE COOLANT WAS. THIS CAR HAD BEEN RECALLED BEFORE FOR ENGINE COOLANT LEAKS AND OVERHEATING. I TOOK MY CAR IN TO GET THAT RECALL FIXED IN MAY 2014 AND NOW IT'S HAVING THAT PROBLEM AGAIN. I DON'T KNOW IF SOMETHING ELSE BROKE OR THAT THEY DIDN'T FIX IT RIGHT. I DIDN'T BUY THIS CAR BRAND NEW SO I COULD TAKE IT IN LIKE 5 TIMES FOR RECALLS. I ALSO CHECKED THE COOLANT LEVEL LAST WEEK AND IT WAS AT THE LEVEL IT SHOULD BE AT...SO IT MAY BE A FAST LEAK.

View Details

WHEELS

12/19/2014 - ST CHARLES, IL
MY 16 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER WAS DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH ON RESIDENTIAL STREET HAVING JUST COMPLETE A LEFT TURN WHEN HER FRONT LEFT FRONT TIRE BLEW OUT CAUSING HER TO LOSE CONTROL OF HE CAR AND HIT THE CURB. THE COLLISION WITH THE CURB RESULTED IN DAMAGE TO THE FRONT LEFT RIM.THE TREADS ON TIRES APPEARED TO BE IN GOOD SHAPE THE CAR HAD ONLY 28,856 MILES ON IT AND THE VEHICLE WAS ONLY A YEAR OLD. WE PLACED ALL THE TIRES AFTER READING SIMILAR STORIES ABOUT CONTINENTAL TIRES ON THE INTERNET. I HAVE BEEN DRIVING FOR 32 YEARS AND HAVE VERY EXPERIENCED ANYTHING CLOSE TO THIS ON RELATIVELY NEW CAR/ TIRES.

View Details

STEERING

12/16/2014 - FARMINGTON, MI
AFTER RUNNING 15 MILES, VEHICLE WAS SHUT OFF 10 MINS, ON RESTART A CHIME SOUNDED AND THE INFORMATION CENTER INDICATED SERVICE STEERING ASSIST, ATTEMPTED TO TURN WHEEL AND HAD NO POWER STEERING. TURNED OFF AND RESTARTED CAR, INFORMATION CENTER WAS CLEAR, POWER STEERING WORKED FINE. LOSS OF POWER STEERING IS OF COURSE AN UNSAFE VEHICLE CONDITION. CONTACTED FORD DEALER THAT SOLD ME THE CAR USED, TO SEE IF THERE WAS A SOFTWARE UPDATE OF OTHER RELATED ISSUE, HE CHECKED AND SAID THERE WAS NONE AT THIS TIME FOR POWER STEERING. IT WOULD SEEM I HAVE NO RECOURSE, AND WOULD ONLY SPEND MONEY AT THE DEALER FOR NO TROUBLE FOUND. I PLAN TO CHECK FOR STORED CODES, AND CONTACT FORD CONSUMER COMPLAINTS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/16/2014 - ZIMMERMAN, MN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V597000 (AIR BAGS, SEAT BELTS) HOWEVER, THE PART WAS UNAVAILABLE TO PERFORM THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 21,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/10/2014 - FRUIT COVE, FL
CHECK ENGINE LIGHT HAS BEEN ON SINCE THE BEGINNING OF 2014, ALWAYS FOR THE SAME CODE P0741. CAR DOES NOT DRIVE PROPERLY AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS AS THE TORQUE CONVERTER DOES NOT LOCK UP AS INTENDED. THIS IN TURN CAUSES MUCH LOWER FUEL ECOMONY THAN THE VEHICLE IS CAPABLE AND ADVERTISED TO GET. (23.5 HWY ACTUAL, SHOULD GET 29-30 MPG) CAR HAS BEEN IN TO FORD 5 TIMES AND THE PROBLEM HAS NOT BEEN RESOLVED. SENT FORD A LAST CHANCE LETTER PRIOR TO THE AST REPAIR ATTEMPT. THIS ATTEMPT WAS SCHEDULED BY FORD SO ONE OF THE ENGINEER EXPERTS COULD EVALUATE IT. AFTER THEY FED US A COMPLETE LINE OF HOGWASH ABOUT AN AIR BUBBLE IN THE COOLING SYSTEM, THEY TOLD US IT WAS FIXED. 70 MILES AFTER THIS VISIT, LIGHT IS BACK ON (SAME CODE) AND MPG IS STILL TERRIBLE. TO TOP IT OFF THE COOLANT IS LEAKING ON THE FLOOR IN GARAGE AND CAR RUNS ROUGHER AND HAS NEALY STALLED AT INTERSECTIONS MULTIPLE TIMES (WITH MY 2 YR OLD DUAGHTER IN THE CAR) CLEARLY THEY ARE INCAPABLE OF REPAIRING BUT INFORMED US THEY WILL DO NOTHING ELSE.

View Details

ENGINE

12/9/2014 - EASTON, PA
THE VEHICLE HAD BEEN TURNED IN TO BROWN DAUB FORD IN NAZARETH, PA WHERE IT WAS REPORTED TO HAVE DIED TWICE ON THE ROAD. THEY THEN REPORTED IT DIED ON THEM TWICE ALSO. THEY REPLACED THE ENGINE FUEL PUMP AS THIS IS THE ECOBOOST THERE ARE TWO PUMPS (ONE AT FUELTANK ONE AT ENGINE) AND RETURNED THE CAR. IT DROVE FOR 30 MINUTES AND DIED AGAIN IN AN INTERSECTION WHERE IT ALMOST CAUSED A SERIOUS ACCIDENT. THE DEALERSHIP WROTE UP THE COMPLAINT AS CAR WANTS TO STALL WHICH IS NOT WHAT WAS SAID. THEY WERE TOLD IT DIED AND WAS DANGEROUS, THEY RETURNED IT WITH THE SAME MILEAGE AS THEY TOOK IT IN SO IT WAS NOT TEST DRIVEN. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS PROBLEM AND WILL CAUSE A DEATH. THE NONE TURBO ENGINE HAS A RECALL FOR WIREHARNESS SPLICES NOT DONE PROPERLY AND THAT IS WHAT THIS SOUNDS LIKE. PLEASE LOOK INTO THIS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/9/2014 - EASTON, PA
THE VEHICLE HAD BEEN TURNED IN TO BROWN DAUB FORD IN NAZARETH, PA WHERE IT WAS REPORTED TO HAVE DIED TWICE ON THE ROAD. THEY THEN REPORTED IT DIED ON THEM TWICE ALSO. THEY REPLACED THE ENGINE FUEL PUMP AS THIS IS THE ECOBOOST THERE ARE TWO PUMPS (ONE AT FUELTANK ONE AT ENGINE) AND RETURNED THE CAR. IT DROVE FOR 30 MINUTES AND DIED AGAIN IN AN INTERSECTION WHERE IT ALMOST CAUSED A SERIOUS ACCIDENT. THE DEALERSHIP WROTE UP THE COMPLAINT AS CAR WANTS TO STALL WHICH IS NOT WHAT WAS SAID. THEY WERE TOLD IT DIED AND WAS DANGEROUS, THEY RETURNED IT WITH THE SAME MILEAGE AS THEY TOOK IT IN SO IT WAS NOT TEST DRIVEN. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS PROBLEM AND WILL CAUSE A DEATH. THE NONE TURBO ENGINE HAS A RECALL FOR WIREHARNESS SPLICES NOT DONE PROPERLY AND THAT IS WHAT THIS SOUNDS LIKE. PLEASE LOOK INTO THIS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 38
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds