Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2013 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 587 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (34) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (62) Steering (38) Unknown Or Other (35)
Electrical System (122) Exterior Lighting (8) Seat Belts (21) Structure (39) Vehicle Speed Control (35)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Fuel Propulsion System (33) Seats (4) Suspension (9) Visibility (5)
Engine (265) Fuel System Gasoline (18) Service Brakes (24) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (13)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Latches Locks Linkages (25) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (6)
Equipment (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 82
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/16/2017 - LACEY, WA
I WAS DRIVING BACK FROM SEATTLE TO OLYMPIA ON FEB 8, 2017. IT WAS AROUND 40 DEGREES AND RAINY ON AND OFF ALL DAY. AS I WAS MAKING IT INTO TACOMA, I SUDDENLY HEARD A HUGE BOOM, LIKE AN EXPLOSION OR SHOT GUN SOUND WHICH MADE ME PANIC. THEN ALL OF A SUDDEN I WAS COVERED IN GLASS. I LOOKED AROUND TRYING TO FIGURE OUT WHAT HAD HAPPENED WHILE STILL ON THE HIGHWAY TRAVELLING 55 MPH. THERE WERE AND ON RAMP AND OFF RAMP NEAR BY SO CARS ARE PASSING ME; MAKING IT DIFFICULT TO EXIT. I WAS TERRIFIED OF GETTING HIT. I LOOKED UP AND SAW IT WAS THE SUNROOF MISSING A WHOLE BUNCH OF CLASS. SO MY FIRST INSTINCT WAS CLOSING THE COVER TO PROTECT MY DAUGHTER IN THE BACKSEAT. THE MOMENT I GOT IT CLOSED, MORE GLASS FLEW DOWN AND HIT THE COVER. I SIGHED IN RELIEF. EVENTUALLY I GOT OFF THE HIGHWAY AND PARKED. I INSTANTLY RAN BACK TO MY DAUGHTER (8 MONTHS OLD) TO SEE IF SHE WAS OK AND SHE ONLY HAD A TINY SCRATCH. I HAD A BUNCH OF SCRATCHES ALL OVER MY HANDS. I THEN TOOK A PICTURE OF THE DAMAGE AND IN A PANIC CALLED MY HUSBAND WHO ADVISED ME TO GO TO THE FORD DEALERSHIP IN OLYMPIA. I WAITED FOR ABOUT 1/2 HOUR TO SETTLE DOWN BUT WAS STILL IN SHOCK THE WHOLE DRIVE. FORD WOULDN'T HELP ME SINCE I WAS OUT OF THE WARRANTY PERIOD AND WAS SENT TO THEIR GLASS PEOPLE. I FILED A CLAIM WITH MY INSURANCE AND THE VEHICLE WAS EVENTUALLY FIXED.

View Details

ENGINE

2/16/2017 - ROHNERT PARK, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE LOW COOLANT AND CHECK ENGINE INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE COOLANT WAS LEAKING INTO THE ENGINE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/15/2017 - ALEXANDER CITY, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED RANDOMLY SEVERAL TIMES WHILE IN MOTION. WHILE MAKING A TURN, THE FAILURE PROGRESSED. THE VEHICLE WAS TESTED FOR THE DTC BY AN INDEPENDENT SOURCE. IN ADDITION, AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL LINE PRESSURE SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER EXCLUDED THE VEHICLE FROM A MANUFACTURER RECALL WITH NO SOLUTION OTHER THAN TO HAVE A DEALER DIAGNOSE THE VEHICLE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 36,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/15/2017 - LEONARDTOWN, MD
VEHICLE WAS IN DRIVE AND SUDDENLY LOST POWER. THE ACCELERATOR WAS PRESSED BUT THE VEHICLE STOPPED DRIVING FORWARD EVEN THOUGH THE ENGINE WAS RUNNING. THE ENGINE DID NOT REV. THE DASH LIGHT INDICATING THE TRANSMISSION DISAPPEARED. THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY JUMPED INTO GEAR SO HARD I SUFFERED WHIPLASH. IT DID THIS SEVERAL TIMES AS I ATTEMPTED TO GET CLEAR OF HEAVY TRAFFIC. I LITERALLY THOUGHT I HAD BEEN REAR ENDED AT ONE POINT AS THE CAR JOLTED SO HARD. AFTER GETTING OUT OF THE ROADWAY, THE TRANSMISSION FAILURE SERVICE NOW LIGHT CAME ON. THIS IS CONSISTANT WITH THE PCM WIRING HARNESS RECALL DONE ON OTHER 2013 ESCAPES BUT WAS NOT COVERED FOR MY PARTICULAR VEHICLE. THE JOLTS TO THE VEHICLE KICKING IN GEAR DESTROYED THE TRANSMISSION. I WAS IN MOTION AT THE TIME, IN BUMPER TO BUMPER TRAFFIC. I WAS LUCKY NOT TO STRIKE OR BE HIT BY ANOTHER VEHICLE. I HAVE CONTACTED FORD BUT THEY STATE MY CAR WAS NOT COVERED UNDER THAT RECALL AND THAT THEY WILL NOT HELP ME.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/15/2017 - LEONARDTOWN, MD
VEHICLE WAS IN DRIVE AND SUDDENLY LOST POWER. THE ACCELERATOR WAS PRESSED BUT THE VEHICLE STOPPED DRIVING FORWARD EVEN THOUGH THE ENGINE WAS RUNNING. THE ENGINE DID NOT REV. THE DASH LIGHT INDICATING THE TRANSMISSION DISAPPEARED. THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY JUMPED INTO GEAR SO HARD I SUFFERED WHIPLASH. IT DID THIS SEVERAL TIMES AS I ATTEMPTED TO GET CLEAR OF HEAVY TRAFFIC. I LITERALLY THOUGHT I HAD BEEN REAR ENDED AT ONE POINT AS THE CAR JOLTED SO HARD. AFTER GETTING OUT OF THE ROADWAY, THE TRANSMISSION FAILURE SERVICE NOW LIGHT CAME ON. THIS IS CONSISTANT WITH THE PCM WIRING HARNESS RECALL DONE ON OTHER 2013 ESCAPES BUT WAS NOT COVERED FOR MY PARTICULAR VEHICLE. THE JOLTS TO THE VEHICLE KICKING IN GEAR DESTROYED THE TRANSMISSION. I WAS IN MOTION AT THE TIME, IN BUMPER TO BUMPER TRAFFIC. I WAS LUCKY NOT TO STRIKE OR BE HIT BY ANOTHER VEHICLE. I HAVE CONTACTED FORD BUT THEY STATE MY CAR WAS NOT COVERED UNDER THAT RECALL AND THAT THEY WILL NOT HELP ME.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/15/2017 - LEONARDTOWN, MD
VEHICLE WAS IN DRIVE AND SUDDENLY LOST POWER. THE ACCELERATOR WAS PRESSED BUT THE VEHICLE STOPPED DRIVING FORWARD EVEN THOUGH THE ENGINE WAS RUNNING. THE ENGINE DID NOT REV. THE DASH LIGHT INDICATING THE TRANSMISSION DISAPPEARED. THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY JUMPED INTO GEAR SO HARD I SUFFERED WHIPLASH. IT DID THIS SEVERAL TIMES AS I ATTEMPTED TO GET CLEAR OF HEAVY TRAFFIC. I LITERALLY THOUGHT I HAD BEEN REAR ENDED AT ONE POINT AS THE CAR JOLTED SO HARD. AFTER GETTING OUT OF THE ROADWAY, THE TRANSMISSION FAILURE SERVICE NOW LIGHT CAME ON. THIS IS CONSISTANT WITH THE PCM WIRING HARNESS RECALL DONE ON OTHER 2013 ESCAPES BUT WAS NOT COVERED FOR MY PARTICULAR VEHICLE. THE JOLTS TO THE VEHICLE KICKING IN GEAR DESTROYED THE TRANSMISSION. I WAS IN MOTION AT THE TIME, IN BUMPER TO BUMPER TRAFFIC. I WAS LUCKY NOT TO STRIKE OR BE HIT BY ANOTHER VEHICLE. I HAVE CONTACTED FORD BUT THEY STATE MY CAR WAS NOT COVERED UNDER THAT RECALL AND THAT THEY WILL NOT HELP ME.

View Details

ENGINE

2/15/2017 - SOUTHGATE, MI
ON FOUR DIFFERENT OCCASIONS, THE VEHICLE WAS BEING DRIVEN BY ACCELERATING FROM A STOP. SECONDS AFTER BEGINNING TO ACCELERATE, THE ENGINE APPEARED TO STALL. ALL IP LIGHTS WENT OUT AND ENGINE LOST POWER. MOMENTS AFTER THIS POWER LOSS, ALL LIGHTS CAME BACK ON AND VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO BE DRIVEN NORMALLY. THIS VEHICLE HAS HAD AN EXTENSIVE REPAIR/RECALL CAMPAIGN HISTORY. THIS WAS REPORTED DURING A SERVICE VISIT AND NO PROBLEM WAS FOUND. THE PROBLEM OCCURED THREE MORE TIMES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/15/2017 - SOUTHGATE, MI
ON FOUR DIFFERENT OCCASIONS, THE VEHICLE WAS BEING DRIVEN BY ACCELERATING FROM A STOP. SECONDS AFTER BEGINNING TO ACCELERATE, THE ENGINE APPEARED TO STALL. ALL IP LIGHTS WENT OUT AND ENGINE LOST POWER. MOMENTS AFTER THIS POWER LOSS, ALL LIGHTS CAME BACK ON AND VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO BE DRIVEN NORMALLY. THIS VEHICLE HAS HAD AN EXTENSIVE REPAIR/RECALL CAMPAIGN HISTORY. THIS WAS REPORTED DURING A SERVICE VISIT AND NO PROBLEM WAS FOUND. THE PROBLEM OCCURED THREE MORE TIMES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/13/2017 - ELMA, NY
MY CAR HAS AN OPEN RECALL FOR THE DOOR LATCH NOT LATCHING PROPERLY AND I WAS WONDERING SINCE THE RECALL WAS NEVER REMEDIED IF IT COULD PERTAIN TO THE BATTERY DRAINING WHILE MY VEHICLE WAS SIMPLY PARKED IN MY DRIVEWAY. I HAD TO JUMP START MY VEHICLE AND I AM HOPING THAT THIS ISNT GOING TO BE A REOCCURING THING.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/12/2017 - LOUISVILLE, MS
WHILE DRIVING MY VECHICLE WILL STALL GO DEAD ALSO WHEN I START IT IT'S LIKE NOT GETTING GAS WHEN I'M DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD IT JUST STALLS IN THE MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC FOR IT TO BE A 2013 I'VE HAD LOTS OF ISSUES / RECALLS ON WHAT WAS A NEW VECHICLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 82
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds