Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2013 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 882 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (39) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (90) Steering (70) Unknown Or Other (62)
Electrical System (156) Exterior Lighting (9) Seat Belts (26) Structure (58) Vehicle Speed Control (46)
Electronic Stability Control (16) Fuel Propulsion System (63) Seats (5) Suspension (12) Visibility (7)
Engine (405) Fuel System Gasoline (19) Service Brakes (29) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (19)
Engine And Engine Cooling (16) Latches Locks Linkages (46) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (10)
Equipment (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 121
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/17/2018 - TAMPA, FL
WHILE DRIVING MY 2013 FORD ESCAPE (1.6L ENGINE) ON AN INTERSTATE, I WAS TRAVELING AT 80MPH ON CRUISE CONTROL. SUDDENLY THE CRUISE CONTROL WAS DEACTIVATED AND I FELT A JOLT. I THEN OBSERVED A MESSAGE ON THE DASH WHICH READ ENGINE OVERHEATING, STOP SAFELY. I THEN OBSERVED THE ENGINE LIGHT TO ILLUMINATE, THE COOLANT NEEDLE GO TO THE RED HOT LEVEL, AND I BEGAN TO LOOSE ACCELERATION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT OVERHEATING AND WAS LATER CONFIRMED AT A NEARBY CAR REPAIR. ONCE STOPPED AND ATTEMPT TO RESTART, LOSS OF STEERING HAD BEGUN. MILEAGE DURING INCIDENT WAS 80,200. AFTER TAKING IT TO FORD REGARDING NEWER RECALL MSGS, THEY ADVISED THE STEERING RACK WAS NOT COMMUNICATING WITH THEIR DIAGNOSTIC AND MUST BE THE REASON FOR THE REPAIR. REPAIR HAS NOT BEEN COMPLETED AFTER READING INCIDENTS AND COMPLAINTS REGARDING SIMILAR ISSUES/CONCERNS. I BELIEVE THIS TO BE ANOTHER RECALL ISSUE.

View Details

STEERING

5/17/2018 - TAMPA, FL
WHILE DRIVING MY 2013 FORD ESCAPE (1.6L ENGINE) ON AN INTERSTATE, I WAS TRAVELING AT 80MPH ON CRUISE CONTROL. SUDDENLY THE CRUISE CONTROL WAS DEACTIVATED AND I FELT A JOLT. I THEN OBSERVED A MESSAGE ON THE DASH WHICH READ ENGINE OVERHEATING, STOP SAFELY. I THEN OBSERVED THE ENGINE LIGHT TO ILLUMINATE, THE COOLANT NEEDLE GO TO THE RED HOT LEVEL, AND I BEGAN TO LOOSE ACCELERATION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT OVERHEATING AND WAS LATER CONFIRMED AT A NEARBY CAR REPAIR. ONCE STOPPED AND ATTEMPT TO RESTART, LOSS OF STEERING HAD BEGUN. MILEAGE DURING INCIDENT WAS 80,200. AFTER TAKING IT TO FORD REGARDING NEWER RECALL MSGS, THEY ADVISED THE STEERING RACK WAS NOT COMMUNICATING WITH THEIR DIAGNOSTIC AND MUST BE THE REASON FOR THE REPAIR. REPAIR HAS NOT BEEN COMPLETED AFTER READING INCIDENTS AND COMPLAINTS REGARDING SIMILAR ISSUES/CONCERNS. I BELIEVE THIS TO BE ANOTHER RECALL ISSUE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/16/2018 - N CHESTERFIELD, VA
PURCHASED NEW IN 2013 - 43,000 MILES CURRENTLY. FOUR EPISODES OF A JERKING MOTION BETWEEN SPEEDS OF 0 TO 45 IN 5 YEARS. I PURCHASED 5 YR AND 100,000 MILE WARRENTY. THE TIME RAN OUT 2 MONTHS AGO. THIS TRANSMISSION HAS A S FEATURE AND AS IT WOULD STOP THE JERKING WHEN IT WAS CUT OFF AND RESTARTED IT SEEMED TO BE A COMPUTER PROBLEM. IT HAPPENED ABOUT ONCE A YEAR AND ALWAYS "RESET" WHEN TURNED OFF. I WONDERED IF THERE WAS A SILENT RECALL OR OTHER PEOPLE WHO HAVE HAD THIS EXPERIENCE. I HAVE ALWAYS BEEN DRIVING WHEN THIS OCCURS AND IT IS RANDOM....LEAVING A STOP, OPEN ROAD STOP AND GO. I ACTUALLY CALLED FORD THE FIRST TIME IT HAPPENED AND THEY WERE SENDING A TOW TRUCK. THE VEHICLE HAD BEEN PARKED OVERNIGHT AND I THOUGHT TO TURN IT AROUND IN THE DRIVEWAY SO IT WOULD GO ON THE TRUCK FORWARD. DROVE DOWN STREET TO TURN AROUND AND NOTHING....CANCELLED THE TOW. NOTHING LIKE IT FOR ANOTHER YEAR??? I FEEL THIS MAY BE A PROBLEM WITH THE "S" (SPORT SHIFT) FEATURE. I HAVE NEVER USED THIS FEATURE AT ALL...AT AGE 75, I AM OVER THAT. MY VEHICLE HAS BEEN SERVICE TWICE A YEAR SINCE PURCHASE. THE MANUAL SAYS CHANGE TRANSMISSION FLUID AT 150,000 MILES. THE SUDDEN AND VIOLENT JERKING WHILE IN TRAFFIC IS TERRIFYING TO SAY THE LEAST AND ALTHOUGH THERE HAS NOT BEEN AN ACCIDENT, I AM CERTAINLY NERVOUS ABOUT THE FUNCTION OF THE VEHICLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/14/2018 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
ENGINE OVERHEATING. ON MAY 14, 2018 AT APPROXIMATELY 71102 MILES, MY VEHICLE WAS DIAGNOSED AS "OVERHEATING" DUE TO WATER PUMP FAILURE. THE WATER PUMP FAILED BECAUSE 2 OUT OF 4 BOLTS WERE NOT THERE. THIS RESULTED IN THE PULLEY BENDING AND SEVERAL OTHER ISSUES. IT WAS THE FIRST AND ONLY WARNING OF SUCH A PROBLEM. I HAVE OWNED THE CAR FOR LESS THAN 1 YEAR (PURCHASED USED). I WAS ALSO INFORMED THAT THE FRONT AXLE REQUIRES REPLACING (CLICKING NOISE). RESEARCHING THIS PROBLEM, I FOUND THAT SEVERAL OTHER 2013 FORD ESCAPE HAD SIMILAR ISSUES. MY QUESTION IS HOW FORD GOT AWAY WITH ONLY BEING RESPONSIBLE FOR REPAIRS ON LESS THAN 7000 VEHICLES.

View Details

ENGINE

5/11/2018 - OXNARD, CA
COOLANT LEAKS, WAS REPAIRED IN 2014 PER RECALL. COOLANT LEAK ISSUE KEEPS HAPPENING.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/9/2018 - LOUISVILLE, KY
STUTTERING WHEN IDLE, USUALLY AFTER FILLING THE TANK UP. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON. GIVING ERROR CODE P1450. I HAVE ALREADY HAD EVAP VENT SOLENOID FIXED TWICE IN JANUARY OF THIS YEAR(2018) LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN TODAY. SAME CODE

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/9/2018 - LAKEHURST, NJ
THIS HAPPENED 2X IN MY 2013 FORD ESCAPE. WHEN I PRESSED ON THE GAS PEDAL THERE WAS NO RESPONSE. LUCKILY I HAPPENED TO BE IN SAFE AREAS WHEN THIS HAPPENED. I HAD TO SHUT DOWN AND RESTART THE CAR IN ORDER TO DRIVE IT. I BROUGHT IT INTO THE DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD THE THROTTLE BODY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED FOR $1800. I COMMUTE 120 MILES A DAY - I CANNOT AFFORD TO BE IN AN UNSAFE CAR WITH MY CHILDREN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/7/2018 - HILLSVILLE, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE OPERATING THE VEHICLE, THE "ENGINE FAULT" MESSAGE SUDDENLY DISPLAYED AND THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO HESITATE, SHUTTER, AND VIBRATE BEFORE REDUCING SPEED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER (MAHWAH FORD ON FRANKLIN TURN PIKE, MAHWAH, NJ) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FAILURE WAS DUE TO INSUFFICIENT COMPRESSION IN THE ENGINE WIRING HARNESS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V813000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED THE SAME FAILURE LISTED IN THE RECALL. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 20,000.

View Details

ENGINE

5/7/2018 - HILLSVILLE, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE OPERATING THE VEHICLE, THE "ENGINE FAULT" MESSAGE SUDDENLY DISPLAYED AND THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO HESITATE, SHUTTER, AND VIBRATE BEFORE REDUCING SPEED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER (MAHWAH FORD ON FRANKLIN TURN PIKE, MAHWAH, NJ) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE FAILURE WAS DUE TO INSUFFICIENT COMPRESSION IN THE ENGINE WIRING HARNESS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V813000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED THE SAME FAILURE LISTED IN THE RECALL. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 20,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/4/2018 - REDWOOD CITY, CA
JUST BECAUSE THE VIN ON THIS SPECIFIC 2013 ESCAPE DOESN'T MATCH ALL THE RECALLS DOESN'T MEAN IT DOESN'T HAVE THE SAME ISSUES. I'VE ALREADY HAD TO HAVE THE WATER PUMP REPLACED AND THE TRANSMISSION REBUILT. THERE'S ELECTRICAL ISSUES, HVAC ISSUES, DOOR ISSUES, DELAYED ACCELERATION ISSUES, THE LIST GOES ON AND ON AND ON WITH THIS VEHICLE. I REACHED OUT TO FORD AND THEY OFFERED NO HELP. YOUR SYSTEM ONLY ALLOWS ME TO CHECK THREE PROBLEMS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 121
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds