Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2013 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 295 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (20) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (33) Steering (12) Unknown Or Other (13)
Electrical System (57) Exterior Lighting (6) Seat Belts (7) Structure (20) Vehicle Speed Control (23)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (13) Seats (3) Suspension (4) Visibility (4)
Engine (152) Fuel System Gasoline (15) Service Brakes (15) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (5)
Equipment (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE

4/20/2015 - PARMA, OH
2013 FORD ESCAPE. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE POOR MILEAGE ISSUES. THE CONSUMER WAS INFORMED TO WAIT UNTIL THE VEHICLE REACHED 8-10,000 MILES AND IT WOULD IMPROVE.

View Details

ENGINE

4/14/2015 - PLAINFIELD, IL
ON APRIL 18,2014 CAR WAS IN A FORD DEALERSHIP BECAUSE I HEARD A RATTLE COMING FROM UNDERNEATH THE CAR A DAY OR TWO BEFORE. I NOTICED THE HEAT SHIELD WAS FALLING OFF AND TEARING AWAY FROM A BOLT. THE DEALERSHIP AT THAT TIME STATED I MUST HAVE DRIVEN OVER SOMETHING TO CAUSE IT TO COME OFF. THEY CHARGED ME FOR THE REPAIR. NOW IT IS APRIL 14,2015 AND THE SAME PROBLEM IS HAPPENING ALL OVER AGAIN. SAME NOISE AND TEARING AWAY FROM BOLT AGAIN.. I HAVE CONTACTED FORD CUSTOMER SERVICE AGAIN TO OPEN ANOTHER CASE ABOUT THIS SAME ISSSUE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/11/2015 - TAMPA, FL
AT START-UP, THERE WAS AN ERROR MESSAGE ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL ABOUT AN ENGINE FAULT INSTRUCTING ME TO SEEK SERVICE IMMEDIATELY. AS IT WAS AFTER 6 PM, AND THE DEALER SERVICE SHOP WAS CLOSED, I DRIVE HOME. THE ENGINE WAS "SPUTTERING" AS IF IT WAS GOING TO STALL. THE CAR HAD MINIMAL POWER AND DIDN'T ACHIEVE A SPEED OVER ABOUT 25 MPH. I RAN A VEHICLE HEALTH REPORT, WHICH INDICATED A PROBLEM IN THE ENGINE, TRANSMISSION, OR POWERTRAIN; IT INSTRUCTED ME TO HAVE THE CAR SERVICED. THE NEXT MORNING, THERE WERE NO PROBLEMS. AT THE DEALER THE FOLLOWING DAY, NO PROBLEM CODES CAME UP, AND THE DEALER WOULDN'T REPLACE THE ETB SINCE THERE ISN'T A RECALL. I BELIEVE, HOWEVER, THAT THE PROBLEM IS THE ETB AND THAT I'M BEING PLACED IN AN UNNECESSARILY DANGEROUS SITUATION WHEN THE ETB CAN FAIL UNEXPECTEDLY. PLEASE ISSUE A RECALL!

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/11/2015 - TAMPA, FL
AT START-UP, THERE WAS AN ERROR MESSAGE ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL ABOUT AN ENGINE FAULT INSTRUCTING ME TO SEEK SERVICE IMMEDIATELY. AS IT WAS AFTER 6 PM, AND THE DEALER SERVICE SHOP WAS CLOSED, I DRIVE HOME. THE ENGINE WAS "SPUTTERING" AS IF IT WAS GOING TO STALL. THE CAR HAD MINIMAL POWER AND DIDN'T ACHIEVE A SPEED OVER ABOUT 25 MPH. I RAN A VEHICLE HEALTH REPORT, WHICH INDICATED A PROBLEM IN THE ENGINE, TRANSMISSION, OR POWERTRAIN; IT INSTRUCTED ME TO HAVE THE CAR SERVICED. THE NEXT MORNING, THERE WERE NO PROBLEMS. AT THE DEALER THE FOLLOWING DAY, NO PROBLEM CODES CAME UP, AND THE DEALER WOULDN'T REPLACE THE ETB SINCE THERE ISN'T A RECALL. I BELIEVE, HOWEVER, THAT THE PROBLEM IS THE ETB AND THAT I'M BEING PLACED IN AN UNNECESSARILY DANGEROUS SITUATION WHEN THE ETB CAN FAIL UNEXPECTEDLY. PLEASE ISSUE A RECALL!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/11/2015 - TAMPA, FL
AT START-UP, THERE WAS AN ERROR MESSAGE ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL ABOUT AN ENGINE FAULT INSTRUCTING ME TO SEEK SERVICE IMMEDIATELY. AS IT WAS AFTER 6 PM, AND THE DEALER SERVICE SHOP WAS CLOSED, I DRIVE HOME. THE ENGINE WAS "SPUTTERING" AS IF IT WAS GOING TO STALL. THE CAR HAD MINIMAL POWER AND DIDN'T ACHIEVE A SPEED OVER ABOUT 25 MPH. I RAN A VEHICLE HEALTH REPORT, WHICH INDICATED A PROBLEM IN THE ENGINE, TRANSMISSION, OR POWERTRAIN; IT INSTRUCTED ME TO HAVE THE CAR SERVICED. THE NEXT MORNING, THERE WERE NO PROBLEMS. AT THE DEALER THE FOLLOWING DAY, NO PROBLEM CODES CAME UP, AND THE DEALER WOULDN'T REPLACE THE ETB SINCE THERE ISN'T A RECALL. I BELIEVE, HOWEVER, THAT THE PROBLEM IS THE ETB AND THAT I'M BEING PLACED IN AN UNNECESSARILY DANGEROUS SITUATION WHEN THE ETB CAN FAIL UNEXPECTEDLY. PLEASE ISSUE A RECALL!

View Details

ENGINE

4/3/2015 - ARLINGTON HEIGHTS, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED AND THE ENGINE FAILURE LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER EIGHTS TIMES; HOWEVER, THE REMEDY FAILED TO THE REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE LAST TWO TIMES THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, THE WIRES TO THE POWER TRAIN CONTROL MODULE WERE SPLICED BUT THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE CONTACT FOUND NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V495000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM), BUT THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 14,520.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/3/2015 - ARLINGTON HEIGHTS, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED AND THE ENGINE FAILURE LIGHT ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER EIGHTS TIMES; HOWEVER, THE REMEDY FAILED TO THE REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE LAST TWO TIMES THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER, THE WIRES TO THE POWER TRAIN CONTROL MODULE WERE SPLICED BUT THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE CONTACT FOUND NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V495000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM), BUT THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 14,520.

View Details

ENGINE

3/26/2015 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THE CONTACT HEARD AN UNUSUAL NOISE OUTSIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS MANEUVERED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE CONTACT INSPECTED UNDERNEATH THE VEHICLE AND NOTICED THAT THE EXHAUST HEAT SHIELD COVER DETACHED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND WAS REPAIRED. THE DETAILS OF THE REPAIRS WERE UNAVAILABLE. IN ADDITION, THE TIMING PEG BOLT WAS MISSING FROM THE ENGINE AND CAUSED OIL LEAKAGE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 20,400.

View Details

ENGINE

3/25/2015 - HAUPPAUGE, NY
IN AUGUST 2014, JANUARY 2015, FEBRUARY 2015, AND MARCH 2015 MY VEHICLE WENT INTO "FAILSAFE" MODE DUE TO AN OVERHEATING ENGINE, AMONG OTHER PROBLEMS. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED EACH TIME TO THE FORD DEALER'S SERVICE CENTER WHERE THE LEASE ORIGINATED. FAILSAFE MODE CUTS POWER TO THE BRAIN OF THE VEHICLE WHICH SHUTS DOWN THE ENGINE TO "SAFELY" STOP THE VEHICLE SO THE CAR DOESN'T LIGHT ITSELF ON FIRE. THE CAR LITERALLY GOES FROM 60 TO 0 IN A MATTER OF MINUTES. ANY TIME THE VEHICLE HAS GONE INTO FAILSAFE MODE I HAVE BEEN TERRIFIED OF CAUSING AN ACCIDENT OR GETTING REARENDED. THE CAR HAS BEEN IN AND OUT OF THE FORD SERVICE CENTER AND PEP BOYS FOR REPETITIVE ENGINE ISSUES, COOLANT SYSTEM ISSUES, TRANSMISSION ISSUES, COMPUTER SYSTEM ISSUES, ETC. THERE ARE 9 RECALLS ON THE CAR THUS FAR, 8 OF THEM HAVE BEEN FIXED - THE AIRBAG RECALL DOES NOT APPLY TO MY VEHICLE BECAUSE THE AIRBAG LIGHT IS NOT ON. MY CAR HAS SPENT A TOTAL OF 28 DAYS IN THE SHOP SINCE IT WAS LEASED IN 2013 FOR REPEAT REPAIRS. I TRIED SEVERAL TIMES TO HAVE FORD BUY BACK THE REMAINDER OF THE LEASE BUT WAS DENIED BECAUSE THE ISSUES DID NOT TAKE PLACE WITHIN THE FIRST 18,000 MILES OF THE LEASE. I ALSO FILED FOR NEW YORK STATE LEMON LAW AND WAS DENIED FOR THE SAME REASON. I WAS FORCED TO ROLL THE REMAINING 9 PAYMENTS ($4,044) INTO A NEW LEASE FOR A 2015 FORD ESCAPE ON 3/9/15 BECAUSE THE 2013 ESCAPE WAS UNPREDICTABLE AND PROBLEMATIC - IT WAS NOT SAFE TO BE ON THE ROAD. THE ENGINE OVERHEATED APPROXIMATELY EVERY 6 DAYS FOR TWO MONTHS AND IT WAS DEEMED "UNREPAIRABLE" BY THE MECHANIC BUT CORPORATE STILL REFUSED TO BUY BACK THE LEASE. SPEAKING OF CORPORATE - I WAS TREATED TERRIBLY BY THE REGIONAL CUSTOMER SERVICE MANAGER. SHE SCREENED HER PHONE CALLS AND REFUSED TO CALL ME BACK UNLESS I ASKED FOR A SUPERVISOR. SHE SPOKE TO ME LIKE SHE WAS PUNISHING HER 5 YEAR OLD CHILD AND HER FAVORITE WORD WAS "NO."

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/19/2015 - DEARBORN, MI
MILEAGE ABOVE IS FROM INCIDENT IN 2/15, OCCURRED FIRST TIME AT OR ABOUT 9/14, AND OCCURRED AGAIN 3/15. ON EACH OCCASION THE CAR STOPPED ACCELERATING. ON THE 3/15 OCCASION I WAS TRAVELING ABOUT 45 MPH ON A 4 LANE ROAD....WHEN THIS OCCURS I AM ON THE GAS PEDAL....NOT THE BRAKE PEDAL AS I AM TRYING TO MOVE THE VEHICLE FORWARD. I WAS TERRIFIED TO BE STRUCK FROM BEHIND AND WATCHED AS TRAFFIC WAS COMING TOWARDS ME. EACH OCCURRENCE HAD A DIFFERENT REPAIR BECAUSE DIAGNOSTIC CODE WAS DIFFERENT. I DO NOT FEEL SAFE IN THIS VEHICLE. I HAVE CONTACTED FORD MOTOR COMPANY.....FOR THIS ISSUE AS WELL AS NUMEROUS OTHER ISSUES. I WANT TO FEEL SAFE AND NOT FEAR FUTURE PROBLEMS. I CAN PROVIDE MORE INFORMATION/AND OR COMPLAINTS BUT AS I AM NOT THAT KNOWLEDGABLE ABOUT CARS, I TRUST THAT YOU WILL SEE ALL ISSUES THROUGH MY VIN NUMBER PROVIDED. ONE QUESTION I HAVE IS ABOUT THE DIAGNOSTIC CODES AND THEIR ACCURACY?

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds