Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2013 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 764 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (37) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (82) Steering (58) Unknown Or Other (53)
Electrical System (141) Exterior Lighting (8) Seat Belts (23) Structure (51) Vehicle Speed Control (41)
Electronic Stability Control (12) Fuel Propulsion System (54) Seats (5) Suspension (11) Visibility (7)
Engine (343) Fuel System Gasoline (18) Service Brakes (29) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (17)
Engine And Engine Cooling (13) Latches Locks Linkages (44) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (6)
Equipment (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 106
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: WIRING

12/8/2017 - MEMPHIS, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE WIRING WAS INSTALLED INCORRECTLY WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS MANUFACTURED. THE CONTACT WAS CONCERNED THAT THE FAILURE COULD CAUSE A FIRE OR THE VEHICLE TO BREAK DOWN. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE BRAIN BOX FAILED. HOMER SKELTON FORD OF MILLINGTON (9030 US-54, MILLINGTON, TN) WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

12/7/2017 - CROMWELL, MN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVER'S SEAT BELT FAILED TO RETRACT WHEN ATTEMPTED TO BE USED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO CLOQUET FORD (701 WASHINGTON AVE, CLOQUET, MN 55720, PHONE: (218) 879-4668) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE SEAT BELT AND MOTOR FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000.

View Details

ENGINE

12/6/2017 - CONVERSE, TX
(TESTING)TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED, THE HEATING SYSTEM FAILED TO TURN ON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT COOLANT WAS APPLIED TO THE VEHICLE, HOWEVER WAS EMPTY WEEKS LATER. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL DEALER, JORDAN FORD, LTD 13010 I-35, SAN ANTONIO TX 78233 WHERE THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 42,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. EC

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/2/2017 - CIRCLE PINES, MN
STRONG EXHAUST ODOR INSIDE OF VEHICLE CAUSING HEAD ACHES AND NAUSEA WITH LIGHT HEADEDNESS. DEALERSHIP SAIS THEY DON'T SMELL ANYTHING BUT ME AND MY PASSENGERS DEFINITLY DO.

View Details

ENGINE

12/1/2017 - LOMBARD, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE FROM A TRAFFIC LIGHT, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED AND THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL SMOKE ODOR COMING FROM THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO PACKEY WEBB FORD (1815 W OGDEN AVENUE, DOWNERS GROVE, IL 60515, (866) 496-6602) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE SEIZED DUE TO A DEFECTIVE WATER PUMP, WHICH CAUSED A MAJOR COOLANT LEAK. THE COOLANT LEAK CAUSED IRREPARABLE DAMAGE TO THE ENGINE. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE ENGINE WAS REPLACED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED EVERY TWO TO THREE MONTHS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 13,014.

View Details

ENGINE

11/28/2017 - LEXINGTON, KY
THIS VEHICLE HAS PRESENTED NUMEROUS ISSUES & MOST RECENTLY A CONTINUOUS COOLANT LEAK OR LOSS INTO THE ENGINE. DESPITE A WATER PUMP REPLACEMENT (COVERED) AND THAT IS THE SUPPOSED ISSUE BUT THEN, ENGINE LIGHT, SORRY A COOLANT BYPASS VALVE (NOT COVERED BUT SHOULD BE!) ON A 2013 FORD ESCAPE 1.6; HOW IS THIS NOT PART OF THE 2013 RECALL!?! I+M RESEARCHING OUR STATE LEMON LAWS SO THAT THIS CAN BE RESOLVED SINCE WE+VE HAD MORE LOST WAGES ON GETTING THIS INTO A DEALERSHIP THAN ANY VALUABLE TIME DRIVING THE VEHICLE. I BLAME THE MANUFACTURER PRIMARILY BUT THE TECHS AREN+T OUTSTANDING CONSIDERING THEY CAN+T PUT WIRES BACK INTO A SEMBLANCE OF ORDER. ALSO, HOW TOUGH IS IT TO CHANGE THE TIMING BELT WHEN REPLACING A WATER PUMP? I WOULD HAVE ASKED THEM TO, IF OFFERED, & IT+S COVERED+BUT SINCE THE RESPONSE LATER WAS +ITS ONLY A LITTLE WORN+ (WHAT DOES THAT MEAN?!) THEY DECIDED A $30 PART IS WORTH RISKING THE JOB THEY JUST FINISHED+HALFWAY OF COURSE. GUESS WHAT, IT STILL SMELLS LIKE COOLANT. FORD HAS HAD A DOZEN OR MORE RECALLS & WE LITERALLY CAN+T KEEP THIS VEHICLE OUT OF OUR SAVINGS OR ON THE ROAD. I+LL NEVER OWN A FORD AS LONG AS I CAN CHOOSE TO HAVE SOMETHING SAFE FOR MY FAMILY. FORD NAMED IT +ESCAPE+ FOR A REASON. TAKE MY ADVICE & GET OUT OF THESE PILES OF GARBAGE ASAP.

View Details

STEERING

11/28/2017 - KEIZER, OR
I DROVE MY 2013 ESCAPE SE THE EVENING OF 11-27-2017 AND NEEDED TO AVOID A COLLISION BY BRAKING AND DOING A VERY QUICK, SHARP TURN TO THE RIGHT. NO PROBLEM WITH FUNCTION AFTER THAT, FINISHED MY ERRAND AND RETURNED HOME, PARKED CAR IN GARAGE AS USUAL. NEXT AFTERNOON WHEN I STARTED THE CAR THERE WAS NO POWER STEERING, POSSIBLY NO MANUAL STEERING AT ALL. WHEEL WOULD NOT MOVE IN ANY GEAR, IN ANY DIRECTION, ANY MORE THAN WHEN CAR IS TURNED OFF. ONLY ADVICE FROM LOCAL DEALER IS TO HAVE IT TOWED IN AND THEY WILL LOOK AT IT. THIS WILL NOT BE POSSIBLE WITH NO MONEY AVAILABLE FOR MONTHS. THIS IS A WIDELY COMMENTED PROBLEM ON THIS VEHICLE. A VERY SIMILAR, IF NOT EXACT, RECALL WAS DONE ON 2011 AND OLDER YEARS OF THIS SAME VEHICLE. SINCE THIS IS A HIGH SAFETY ISSUE, WHY HASN'T A RECALL BEEN DONE ON THE 2013? MY FAIL HAPPENED OVERNIGHT, IN THE GARAGE, CAR PARKED AND TURNED OFF, BUT MANY SAY IT HAS HAPPENED WHILE CAR IS IN MOTION. PLEASE TELL ME WHAT I CAN DO TO HELP THIS SAFETY ISSUE BECOME A RECALL? I AM WILLING TO HELP, BUT DON'T KNOW HOW. WHAT CAN I DO TO HELP? MY GRANDKIDS COULD HAVE BEEN IN THE CAR DURING A WHILE-IN-MOTION FAIL, SO GLAD IT WAS PARKED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/25/2017 - WEST SALEM, WY
WHILE OPERATING VEHICLE AT 60 MPH REVOLUTIONS OF ENGINE SOARED TO 4000 RPM'S ROADWAY WAS LEVEL THEN DROPPED RPM'S DOID TO ABT 2000

View Details

ENGINE

11/25/2017 - LAFAYETTE, IN
A COUPLE DAYS AGO MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON WHEN I STARTED MY CAR AND I FOUND OUT MY PCV VALVE NEEDED REPLACED. I WAS READING ONLINE AND I SAW THAT THERE WAS A RECALL ON THE 2013 FORD ESCAPES BECAUSE OF COOLANT PROBLEMS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/25/2017 - LAFAYETTE, IN
A COUPLE DAYS AGO MY CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON WHEN I STARTED MY CAR AND I FOUND OUT MY PCV VALVE NEEDED REPLACED. I WAS READING ONLINE AND I SAW THAT THERE WAS A RECALL ON THE 2013 FORD ESCAPES BECAUSE OF COOLANT PROBLEMS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 106
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds