Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2013 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 478 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (32) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (52) Steering (23) Unknown Or Other (25)
Electrical System (100) Exterior Lighting (8) Seat Belts (19) Structure (32) Vehicle Speed Control (30)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Fuel Propulsion System (26) Seats (3) Suspension (8) Visibility (5)
Engine (226) Fuel System Gasoline (16) Service Brakes (24) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (9)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Latches Locks Linkages (8) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (5)
Equipment (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 68
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

8/19/2016 - YONKERS, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING, THE MESSAGE "VEHICLE OVER HEATING" WAS DISPLAYED BEFORE THE ENGINE SUDDENLY STALLED. THE CONTACT ALSO INDICATED THAT SMOKE WAS PRESENT COMING FROM UNDER THE HOOD DUE TO OIL LEAKING UNTO THE ENGINE. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 85,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/18/2016 - MISSION VIEJO, CA
TODAY I HURT A POP SOUND AND L LOOKED UNDER MY CAR AND SAW SOMETHING HANGING. MY LOCAL CHEVRON STATION MECHANIC SAID IT WAS MY "HEAT SHIELD". IT HAD RIPPED TO SHREDS. LAST NOV. AT SANTA MARGARITA FORD I HAD MAJOR TRANSMISSION WORK DONE ON MY 2013 ESCAPE. MY MECHANIC DOESN'T THINK THE HEAT SHIELD WAS PUT BACK ON CORRECTLY. SAME DEALERSHIP WANTS TO CHARGE ME OVER $400 TO REPLACE IT. NO WAY!

View Details

STEERING

8/17/2016 - BROCKTON, MA
ON 8/16/2016, IN A DRIVEWAY ON A BUSY STREET, I STARTED THE VEHICLE AND SAW "STEERING ASSIST FAULT - SERVICE REQUIRED" ON DISPLAY. THE CAR HAD LOST POWER STEERING. TURNING OFF AND RESTARTING CAR DID NOT HELP.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/17/2016 - PHOENIX, AZ
DOOR LATCHES BROKE ON 3 SEPARATE OCCASIONS. 04/17/14, 04/02/15, AND 10/31/15. FIRST ONE HAPPENED WHEN I OPENED THE REAR DRIVER SIDE DOOR AND THEN CLOSED IT. IT WAS LIKE METAL HITTING METAL, NO WAY TO CLOSE AND LATCH DOOR. SECOND TIME CLOSED AND LOCKED DOOR, WHEN I CAME OUT OF GROCERY STORE, DRIVER DOOR WAS OPEN ABOUT 1/2 INCH. TRIED TO CLOSE DOOR BUT IT WAS AGAIN METAL HITTING METAL. HAD TO DRIVE HOME HOLDING DOOR SHUT AND DRIVE WITH ONE HAND,RIGHT TURNS ESPECIALLY DANGEROUS. THIRD INCIDENT PASSENGER REAR DOOR, OPENED DOOR, WHEN CLOSING IT, IT WAS METAL HITTING METAL AGAIN. ALL THREE TIMES I HAD MY 2 SMALL GRANDCHILDREN IN CAR SEATS IN THE BACK. THIS IS A LIFE THREATENING SITUATION THAT NEEDS IMMEDIATE ATTENTION FROM FORD TO CORRECT THESE DOOR LATCHES. BESIDES THE DANGER IT IS AN EXPENSIVE FIX. IT HAS COST ME ALMOST $900.00 FOR THESE REPAIRS. FORD NEEDS TO FIX THIS BEFORE SOME ONE IS SERIOUSLY INJURED OR KILLED. THE ONLY ONE LEFT TO BREAK IS THE FRONT PASSENGER DOOR. THIS IS A BIG CONCERN FOR ME!

View Details

STEERING

8/17/2016 - GAINESVILLE, GA
POWER STEERING FAILS WITHOUT WARNING AND DISPLAYS THE FAULT MESSAGE "STEERING ASSIST FAULT: SERVICE REQUIRED". FAILURE MAKES STEERING VERY DIFFICULT AND CAN RESULT IN LOSS OF CONTROL. DEALERSHIP IDENTIFIED THE CAUSE AS A INTERNAL FAILURE OF THE PSCM (POWER STEERING CONTROL MODULE) AND REPLACED THE PSCM AND RACK AND PINION ASSEMBLY TO REPAIR. PLEASE NOTE THAT EARLIER MODEL YEAR FORD ESCAPES HAVE A SIMILAR PROBLEM AND HAVE BEEN RECALLED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V284000 AND FORD RECALL NUMBER 14S05. AS THIS ISSUE IS IDENTICAL TO THE PRIOR RECALL, I STRONGLY SUGGEST ADDING THE 2013 MODEL YEAR FORD ESCAPE VEHICLES TO THE RECALL. THE MOST COMMON TIME FOR THE POWER STEERING TO FAIL WAS RIGHT AFTER STARTUP AND MANEUVERING OUT OF A PARKING SPOT ON A CITY STREET OR GARAGE. AT THIS LOW SPEED MANUAL STEERING IS DIFFICULT AND AGGRESSIVE BRAKING IS REQUIRED TO AVOID AN ACCIDENT ONCE THE INABILITY TO SETTER IS APPARENT TO THE DRIVER. ONCE THE STEERING FAILS AND THE FAULT MESSAGE APPEARS, IT COULD BE OCCASIONALLY RESET BY SHUTTING DOWN THE ENGINE AND RESTARTING THE CAR. TURNING OFF A CAR ON A PUBLIC ROAD TO REGAIN STEERING CONTROL IS UNDESIRABLE AND UNSAFE. I SPOKE WITH BOTH FORD CUSTOMER SERVICE AND THE FORD DEALERSHIP AND BOTH CLAIMED THAT THERE ARE NO TSBS OR RECALLS DESCRIBING THE LOSS OF POWER STEERING FOR THE 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE REPAIR INVOICE (ATTACHED) SHOWS THAT THE DEALERSHIP VERIFIED THE FAILURE OF THE POWER STEERING CONTROL MODULE (AS IN PRIOR RECALLS OF EARLIER MODEL YEARS) AND THE NEED TO REPLACE THE PSCM AND ENTIRE PSCM/RACK AND PINION ASSEMBLY. THE MILEAGE AT THE TIME OF REPAIR WAS 45281. THE FAULT OCCURRED INTERMITTENTLY AT EARLIER MILEAGES AND BECAME MORE FREQUENT WITH INCREASING MILEAGE UP UNTIL THE TIME OF REPAIR TO TO SAFETY CONCERNS.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

8/15/2016 - NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR PASSENGER DOOR FAILED TO REMAIN CLOSED AND OPENED INDEPENDENTLY WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE DOOR LOCK FAILED. THE LOCK WAS REPLACED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V239000 (STRUCTURE). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 7,450.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

8/15/2016 - NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR PASSENGER DOOR FAILED TO REMAIN CLOSED AND OPENED INDEPENDENTLY WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE DOOR LOCK FAILED. THE LOCK WAS REPLACED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V239000 (STRUCTURE). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 7,450.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/13/2016 - CASA GRANDE, AZ
THE REAR DOOR WILL NOT LATCH SHUT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/10/2016 - NEWPORT BEACH, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED AND FAILED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO SLOW THE VEHICLE DOWN WITH THE EMERGENCY BRAKE AND DOWNSHIFTING BY MANUALLY SHIFTING GEARS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE CORE COUPLER IN THE CAMSHAFT, WHICH OPERATED THE BRAKE BOOSTER, FRACTURED INSIDE THE CAMSHAFT. AS A RESULT, THE POWER ASSIST FEATURE IN THE BRAKING SYSTEM DISENGAGED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 59,789.

View Details

ENGINE

8/9/2016 - CINCINNATI, OH
MY CAR STARTED LEAKING COOLANT, WAS USING ABOUT 1 GALLON A MONTH, TOOK TO DEALER 3 TIMES BEFORE THEY DETERMINED IT WAS LEAKING COOLANT AROUND THE 3RD CYLINDER HEAD. MOTOR DETERMINED TO BE BAD. LIKELY CRACKED HEAD OR BAD HEAD GASKET. OPTIONS WERE TO TEAR DOWN THE MOTOR, FIND AND FIX ISSUE AT $7500, OR JUST REPLACE MOTOR FOR $5500. OPTING TO GET NEW MOTOR DESPITE CAR ONLY BEING 4 YEARS OLD.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 68
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds