Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2013 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 282 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (17) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (33) Steering (11) Unknown Or Other (11)
Electrical System (55) Exterior Lighting (6) Seat Belts (6) Structure (19) Vehicle Speed Control (22)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (12) Seats (2) Suspension (4) Visibility (4)
Engine (145) Fuel System Gasoline (13) Service Brakes (15) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (5)
Equipment (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 40
 
ComplaintDescription

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/4/2015 - CAPE CORAL, FL
VEHICLE INFO CENTRE INDICATED A BRAKE LIGHT MALFUNCTION. ALL 3 BRAKE LIGHTS WERE INOPERATIVE. PERSONALLY CHECKED FUSE WHICH WAS NOT BLOWN AND CONTACTED SAM GALLOWAY FORD IN FORT MYERS FOR SERVICE APPOINTMENT. WAS TOLD ONLY A BULB WAS BURNT & THAT ALL BULBS WERE NON-FUNCTIONAL BECAUSE OF "XMAS TREE EFFECT". I FIND IT UNSAFE FOR A VEHICLE TO LOOSE ALL BRAKE-LIGHT FUNCTIONALITY BECAUSE 1 BULB IN THE CIRCUIT EXPIRES. THIS IS EXCEPTIONALLY DANGEROUS WHEN DRIVING AT NIGHT; WHICH IS WHAT HAPPENED HERE. I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW IF THIS IS A FACTUAL SITUATION WITH THIS VEHICLE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/1/2015 - CALDWELL, ID
ON DECEMBER 20, 2014 AT APPROXIMATELY 3:30 PM WE WERE DRIVING ON I15 - INTO SALT LAKE CITY - 19 MILES SOUTH OF I-80. PASSENGER MOON ROOF SHATTERED WITH A LOUD BANG! SOUNDED LIKE AN EXPLOSION. IT RAISED UP THE GLASS ON THE OUTSIDE OF THE CAR. THE TEMPERATURE WAS 41 DEGREES OUTSIDE & 71 DEGREES INSIDE CARE. MY HUSBAND & I WERE THE ONLY PEOPLE IN THE CAR. WE WERE IN 5-6 LANES OF TRAFFIC & DID NOT STOP UNTIL WE GOT OFF THE HIGHWAY. RAIN WAS COMING SO WE TOOK PICTURES WITH OUR CAMERA & I PHONE & TAPED UP THE ROOF OVER THE CRACKS & COVERED IT WITH A TARP. WE RETURNED TO BOISE AREA THE FOLLOWING DAY. WE PARKED IT IN OUR GARAGE UNTIL WE COULD DELIVER THE CAR TO LITHIA FORD IN BOISE ON 12/22/14. (WE PURCHASED IT FROM LITHIA FORD) THE SERVICE TECH SAID HE THOUGHT IT WOULD BE COVERED BY WARRANTY BUT WOULD HAVE TO CONTACT FORD & GET BACK WITH US. WE RESEARCHED THIS PROBLEM & SAW IN THE PAST THAT THIS HAS HAPPENED. FORD MADE THE DECISION, IT WAS SOMETHING WE DID & WE THEREFORE HAD TO TURN IT INTO OUR INSURANCE & WE HAD TO PAY THE DEDUCTIBLE. WE BELIEVE FORD SHOULD HAVE COVERED THIS DAMAGE, NOT OUR INSURANCE COMPANY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/1/2015 - CALDWELL, ID
ON DECEMBER 20, 2014 AT APPROXIMATELY 3:30 PM WE WERE DRIVING ON I15 - INTO SALT LAKE CITY - 19 MILES SOUTH OF I-80. PASSENGER MOON ROOF SHATTERED WITH A LOUD BANG! SOUNDED LIKE AN EXPLOSION. IT RAISED UP THE GLASS ON THE OUTSIDE OF THE CAR. THE TEMPERATURE WAS 41 DEGREES OUTSIDE & 71 DEGREES INSIDE CARE. MY HUSBAND & I WERE THE ONLY PEOPLE IN THE CAR. WE WERE IN 5-6 LANES OF TRAFFIC & DID NOT STOP UNTIL WE GOT OFF THE HIGHWAY. RAIN WAS COMING SO WE TOOK PICTURES WITH OUR CAMERA & I PHONE & TAPED UP THE ROOF OVER THE CRACKS & COVERED IT WITH A TARP. WE RETURNED TO BOISE AREA THE FOLLOWING DAY. WE PARKED IT IN OUR GARAGE UNTIL WE COULD DELIVER THE CAR TO LITHIA FORD IN BOISE ON 12/22/14. (WE PURCHASED IT FROM LITHIA FORD) THE SERVICE TECH SAID HE THOUGHT IT WOULD BE COVERED BY WARRANTY BUT WOULD HAVE TO CONTACT FORD & GET BACK WITH US. WE RESEARCHED THIS PROBLEM & SAW IN THE PAST THAT THIS HAS HAPPENED. FORD MADE THE DECISION, IT WAS SOMETHING WE DID & WE THEREFORE HAD TO TURN IT INTO OUR INSURANCE & WE HAD TO PAY THE DEDUCTIBLE. WE BELIEVE FORD SHOULD HAVE COVERED THIS DAMAGE, NOT OUR INSURANCE COMPANY.

View Details

EQUIPMENT ADAPTIVE

3/1/2015 - CALDWELL, ID
ON DECEMBER 20, 2014 AT APPROXIMATELY 3:30 PM WE WERE DRIVING ON I15 - INTO SALT LAKE CITY - 19 MILES SOUTH OF I-80. PASSENGER MOON ROOF SHATTERED WITH A LOUD BANG! SOUNDED LIKE AN EXPLOSION. IT RAISED UP THE GLASS ON THE OUTSIDE OF THE CAR. THE TEMPERATURE WAS 41 DEGREES OUTSIDE & 71 DEGREES INSIDE CARE. MY HUSBAND & I WERE THE ONLY PEOPLE IN THE CAR. WE WERE IN 5-6 LANES OF TRAFFIC & DID NOT STOP UNTIL WE GOT OFF THE HIGHWAY. RAIN WAS COMING SO WE TOOK PICTURES WITH OUR CAMERA & I PHONE & TAPED UP THE ROOF OVER THE CRACKS & COVERED IT WITH A TARP. WE RETURNED TO BOISE AREA THE FOLLOWING DAY. WE PARKED IT IN OUR GARAGE UNTIL WE COULD DELIVER THE CAR TO LITHIA FORD IN BOISE ON 12/22/14. (WE PURCHASED IT FROM LITHIA FORD) THE SERVICE TECH SAID HE THOUGHT IT WOULD BE COVERED BY WARRANTY BUT WOULD HAVE TO CONTACT FORD & GET BACK WITH US. WE RESEARCHED THIS PROBLEM & SAW IN THE PAST THAT THIS HAS HAPPENED. FORD MADE THE DECISION, IT WAS SOMETHING WE DID & WE THEREFORE HAD TO TURN IT INTO OUR INSURANCE & WE HAD TO PAY THE DEDUCTIBLE. WE BELIEVE FORD SHOULD HAVE COVERED THIS DAMAGE, NOT OUR INSURANCE COMPANY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/26/2015 - TEMPLE HILLS, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE CONTACT WAS UNSURE ABOUT WHAT PART NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED DUE TO THE PARTS NOT BEING AVAILABLE TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V597000 (AIR BAGS). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/25/2015 - GLADYS, VA
BACK IN AUG. 2014 I GOT A RECALL - 14S17 OCT. 2014 GOT A RECALL - 14S21 I HAVE BEEN CALLING OUR FORD DEALER EACH MONTH AND THEY STILL DON'T HAVE THE PARTS. SO I CONTINUE TO GET A CARD FROM FORD REMINDING ME OF THE RECALL AND TO CONTACT THE FORD DEALER TODAY. WELL THEN, WHY DON'T THE FORD DEALERS HAVE THE PARTS.

View Details

ENGINE

2/25/2015 - GLADYS, VA
BACK IN AUG. 2014 I GOT A RECALL - 14S17 OCT. 2014 GOT A RECALL - 14S21 I HAVE BEEN CALLING OUR FORD DEALER EACH MONTH AND THEY STILL DON'T HAVE THE PARTS. SO I CONTINUE TO GET A CARD FROM FORD REMINDING ME OF THE RECALL AND TO CONTACT THE FORD DEALER TODAY. WELL THEN, WHY DON'T THE FORD DEALERS HAVE THE PARTS.

View Details

ENGINE

2/23/2015 - SHELBYVILLE, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE VEHICLE RESTARTED AFTER NUMEROUS ATTEMPTS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V495000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 54,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/23/2015 - SHELBYVILLE, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE VEHICLE RESTARTED AFTER NUMEROUS ATTEMPTS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V495000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 54,000.

View Details

ENGINE

2/20/2015 - PITTSBURGH, PA
RECALL REPAIR DONE IN AUGUST 2014 FOR WELL PUBLICIZED LOCALIZED OVERHEATING OF CYLINDER HEAD ISSUE. HAVE HAD TWO INSTANCES OF OVERHEATING SINCE... THE LAST INCIDENT OCCURED ON 2/19. THE VEHICLE WENT TO LOW POWER MODE AND INSTRUCTED MY WIFE TO PULL OVER IMMEDIATELY AND STOP ENGINE... SHE DID.... AFTER SITTING FOR APPROX 10 MINUTES SHE RESTARTED THE ENGINE AND TEMPERATURES RETURNED TO NORMAL HOWEVER THE ENGINE LIGHT IS NOW ON AND I WILL BE TAKING THE VEHICLE FOR REPAIRS AGAIN ON MONDAY. I AM VERY CONCERNED ABOUT THE RELIABILITY OF THIS VEHICLE AND SPECIFICALLY THIS ENGINE OPTION. I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT DAMAGE WAS CAUSED BY THIS LASTEST INCIDENT... I'M SURE THERE WILL BE SOME RESIDUAL LONGEVITY IMPACTS IF I KEEP THE VEHICLE. I PREDICT THAT THIS ENGINE WILL CONTINUE TO HAVE ISSUES.. BOTH INCIDENTS DID OCCUR DURING EXTREME COLD (BELOW ZERO) SO IT SEEMS TO BE COOLING SYSTEM RELATED... WHICH WAS THE BASIS OF THE ORIGINAL RECALL.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 40
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds