Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2013 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 212 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (24) Steering (6) Unknown Or Other (8)
Electrical System (36) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (4) Structure (14) Vehicle Speed Control (17)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (10) Seats (1) Suspension (4) Visibility (3)
Engine (112) Fuel System Gasoline (8) Service Brakes (13) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (3)
Equipment (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/22/2014 - BLUE SPRINGS, MO
SINCE JULY 1,2014 MY 2013 FORD ESCAPE HAS STALLED 3 ADDITIONAL TIMES FOR A TOTAL OF 4 TIMES. TWICE IN TWO DAYS. THE FIRST TWO WHILE STANDING STILL AT A LIGHT, THE LAST 2 WHILE SLOWING DOWN TO MAKE A TURN, 2ND TIME 07-08-2014, 3RD 07-20-2014 AND 4TH TODAY 07-22-2014. THE CAR WAS TAKEN TO BLUE SPRINGS FORD IN BLUE SPRINGS MO ON MONDAY 07-14-2014 WAS INFORMED THE PART HAD TO BE ORDERED AND WOULD BE IN ABOUT 7 TO 10 DAYS BUT WASN'T INFORMED WHAT WAS WRONG WITH MY CAR. CALLED BLUE SPRINGS FORD TODAY 07-22-2014 WAS INFORMED THE PART NEEDED IS A O2 SENOR AND IS ON BACK ORDER. I'M AFRAID THE CAR IS GOING TO STALL WHILE IN MOTION AND GET REAR ENDED. I WAS INFORMED BY THE SERVICE MANAGER IT WONT STALL WHILE MOVING BUT THE 3RD AND 4TH TIME IT DID WHILE SLOWING DOWN INSTEAD OF AT A FULL STOP LIKE THE FIRST AND 2ND TIME. I USE I -70 TO GET BACK AND FORTH TO WORK INCLUDING RUNNING ERRANDS. THIS IS BECOMING A SAFETY ISSUE AND THE 2013 FORD ESCAPE NEEDS TO BE RECALLED FOR THE REPLACEMENT OF THE O2 SENOR. I'M NOT TOO HAPPY NOT KNOWING HOW LONG ITS GOING TO BE TO GET THE PART IN TO GET MY CAR REPAIRED. THIS IS AN ACCIDENT WAITING TO HAPPEN.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/22/2014 - LONG BEACH, CA
MAY 26, 2014 BEGAN A FORD RECALL OF "CERTAIN MODELS" 2013 ESCAPE FOR RESTRAINT CONTROL MODULE DEFECT-IT REQUIRED REPLACEMENT OF THE RCM (FORD #14S04, NHTSA #14V237000). I DID NOT RECEIVE A NOTIFICATION. APPARENTLY I DON'T OWN THE "CERTAIN MODEL". JULY 19, 2014 THE "AIR BAG SYSTEM WARNING LIGHT" ILLUMINATED AND STAYED ON. JULY 22 DEALERSHIP SAYS RCM NEEDS REPLACEMENT. IS DEFECT NOT ONLY IN THE "CERTAIN MODELS" CLAIMED IN MAY RECALL? LUCKILY, ALTHO PAST THE 36,000 MILE BASIC WARRANTY AND THAT IT WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE MAY RECALL FOR THIS PROBLEM, IT IS COVERED BY A "RESTRAINT WARRANTY". PHEW...BUT, THEY CAN'T FIND THE PART ANYWHERE IN THE COUNTRY. FORD SAYS MAYBE THEY CAN SHIP ONE BY EARLY TO MID AUGUST. MY CAR IS UNSAFE AND STAYS AT THE DEALERSHIP UNTIL THE PART IS RECEIVED. LUCKILY THE DEALERSHIP WILL PROVIDE ME A LOANER AT NO CHARGE. BOTTOM LINE: REALLY FORD?? SERIOUSLY?? YOU RECALL A PROBLEM AND INVOLVE ONLY CERTAIN CARS BUT IT IS APPARENTLY A PROBLEM IN OTHER...VERSIONS OF THE MODEL? I WISH I HAD READ THIS INFORMATION BEFORE I BOUGHT; I WOULD NOT HAVE BOUGHT THE ESCAPE. I AM PETRIFIED THE ENGINE STALLING, FIRES ETC.SEEN NUMEROUS TIMES IN THE COMPLAINTS ON THIS SITE WILL AT SOME POINT OCCUR. ONCE REPAIRED I'M TRADING IT. 2013 ESCAPE=10 RECALLS, 39 SERVICE BULLETINS, 210 COMPLAINTS. 2013 NISSAN ROGUE= 0 RECALLS, 8 BULLETINS, 24 COMPLAINTS. HONDA CRV=1 RECALL, 9 BULLETINS, 76 COMPLAINTS. YOU DO THE MATH. DON'T JUDGE A BOOK BY ITS COVER; THE ESCAPE IS VERY STYLISH BUT INSIDE HIDES TOO MANY PROBLEMS FROM NUISANCE TO SAFETY HAZARDS. NOT WORTH IT. TOO ADD TO THE CARTOON, THE LIFT GATE HANDLE BROKE-AWAY FROM THE BODY AT 36,086 MILES. HAHAHA, COST ME $50 TO FIX (SEE SERVICE BULLETIN # TSB-14-0012). ONE DAY EARLIER IT WOULD HAVE BEEN A WARRANTY REPAIR. WHAT A JOKE. THANKFULLY AT LEAST I SEEM TO HAVE FOUND A GREAT DEALERSHIP & SERVICE DEPARTMENT.

View Details

ENGINE

7/18/2014 - NEVADA CITY, CA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING AT 25 MPH THE ENGINE STALLED,AND THE WARNING ENGINE FAILURE WAS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT COULD NOT RESTART THE VEHICLE AND HAD IT TOWED TO THE DEALERS WHO REPLACED TIRE WIRING FOR MAP RETURN SIGNAL AND THE TCBP RETURN. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT FIVE MONTHS LATER THE ENGINE FAILURE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE ENGINE STALLED GOING UP HILL AT 40 MPH AND THE VEHICLE ROLLED BACK DOWN. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED AGAIN AND WAS DIAGNOSED AS LOSS COMMUNICATION WITH FPCM AND AND THE MECHANIC REPLACED THE FCPM. THE VEHICLE HAD BEEN REPAIRED AND THE MANUFACTURER HAD NOT BEEN NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 18,000. AN

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/18/2014 - SAINT LOUIS, MO
FOOT SLIPS OFF BRAKE PEDAL..ACCELERATER PEDAL AND BRAKE PEDAL ARE TO CLOSE TOGETHER.BRAKE PEDAL NEEDS TO BE WIDER TO ACCOMMODATE LARGER SHOE SIZES,MINE ARE SIZE 13.. IN RAINY CONDITIONS FOOT SLIDES OFF BRAKE PEDAL FREQUENTLY. BAD DESIGN FROM FORD...HOPE I DON`T HAVE AN ACCIDENT BEFORE THIS CONDITION IS CORRECTED.

View Details

ENGINE

7/17/2014 - STATE COLLEGE, PA
ON 5/31/14, UPON STARTING VEHICLE (2.0 L, SEL), VEHICLE RUNNING ROUGH, SPUTTERING, LURCHING WHEN ACCELERATOR WAS DEPRESSED, ETC. MESSAGE ON DASH SCREEN STATED "ENGINE FAULT - SERVICE NOW". DROVE CAR APPROXIMATELY 8 MILES TO A FORD DEALER I WAS NOT FAMILIAR WITH. TURNED CAR OFF BUT THEN DECIDED TO MOVE CAR. STARTED CAR, ALL ISSUES DISAPPEARED, SO I LEFT AND DROVE CAR 35 MILES TO MY HOME WITH NO ISSUES. DROVE CAR UNTIL 6/20/14 WHEN EXACT SYMPTOMS HAPPENED AGAIN. DROVE CAR WITH SYMPTOMS OCCURRING TO LOCAL FORD DEALER. MECHANIC SUSPECTED COOING SYSTEM PROBLEM, TURNED OFF ENGINE WITHOUT HOOKING UP TO COMPUTER FOR DIAGNOSIS. MINUTES LATER, MECHANIC DECIDED PROBLEM WAS NOT COOLING SYSTEM RELATED SINCE ESCAPE WAS A 2.0 L (COOLING SYSTEM PROBLEMS APPARENTLY OCCUR WITH 1.6 L MODELS), BUT WAS INSTEAD THE MAP SENSOR WHICH WAS REPLACED ON 6/26/14. NEXT DAY (6/27/14) AFTER MAP SENSOR REPLACEMENT, SAME EXACT ISSUES. NO TIME TO TAKE TO A DEALER, SO I SHUT IT OFF AND RESTARTED IT AND ALL SYMPTOMS DISAPPEARED. DROVE REGULARLY UNTIL 7/16/14, WHEN EXACT SYMPTOMS OCCURRED AGAIN. DROVE DIRECTLY TO LOCAL FORD DEALER, LEFT IT RUNNING. THEY HOOKED UP THE DIAGNOSTIC COMPUTER WHILE RUNNING WHICH SHOWED ERROR CODE RELATED TO MAP SENSOR AGAIN. EXPLAINED TO MECHANIC THAT MY RESEARCH HAS INDICATED THAT TSB 13-12-12 MIGHT ADDRESS THE PROBLEM WHICH IS RELATED TO WIRING IN THE "SIGNAL RETURN SPLICES." HE AGREED. MADE APPOINTMENT FOR NEXT DAY, 7/17/14. UPON STARTING ON 7/17/14, SAME SYMPTOMS. TURNED OFF, RESTARTED, SYMPTOMS CLEARED AND I DROVE IT WITH NO ISSUES TO MY LOCAL FORD DEALER. LOCAL DEALER CALLED AND SAID THEY LOOKED AT THE WIRE SPLICES, MADE SOME "ADJUSTMENTS" (NO NEW PARTS) AND THAT VEHICLE IS READY FOR PICK UP. IF THIS OCCURS AGAIN, WHICH I BELIEVE IT WILL, I WILL ASK FOR WIRE HARNESS REPLACEMENT TO THE SIGNAL RETURN(S). DANGEROUS, WELL-DOCUMENTED PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/17/2014 - STATE COLLEGE, PA
ON 5/31/14, UPON STARTING VEHICLE (2.0 L, SEL), VEHICLE RUNNING ROUGH, SPUTTERING, LURCHING WHEN ACCELERATOR WAS DEPRESSED, ETC. MESSAGE ON DASH SCREEN STATED "ENGINE FAULT - SERVICE NOW". DROVE CAR APPROXIMATELY 8 MILES TO A FORD DEALER I WAS NOT FAMILIAR WITH. TURNED CAR OFF BUT THEN DECIDED TO MOVE CAR. STARTED CAR, ALL ISSUES DISAPPEARED, SO I LEFT AND DROVE CAR 35 MILES TO MY HOME WITH NO ISSUES. DROVE CAR UNTIL 6/20/14 WHEN EXACT SYMPTOMS HAPPENED AGAIN. DROVE CAR WITH SYMPTOMS OCCURRING TO LOCAL FORD DEALER. MECHANIC SUSPECTED COOING SYSTEM PROBLEM, TURNED OFF ENGINE WITHOUT HOOKING UP TO COMPUTER FOR DIAGNOSIS. MINUTES LATER, MECHANIC DECIDED PROBLEM WAS NOT COOLING SYSTEM RELATED SINCE ESCAPE WAS A 2.0 L (COOLING SYSTEM PROBLEMS APPARENTLY OCCUR WITH 1.6 L MODELS), BUT WAS INSTEAD THE MAP SENSOR WHICH WAS REPLACED ON 6/26/14. NEXT DAY (6/27/14) AFTER MAP SENSOR REPLACEMENT, SAME EXACT ISSUES. NO TIME TO TAKE TO A DEALER, SO I SHUT IT OFF AND RESTARTED IT AND ALL SYMPTOMS DISAPPEARED. DROVE REGULARLY UNTIL 7/16/14, WHEN EXACT SYMPTOMS OCCURRED AGAIN. DROVE DIRECTLY TO LOCAL FORD DEALER, LEFT IT RUNNING. THEY HOOKED UP THE DIAGNOSTIC COMPUTER WHILE RUNNING WHICH SHOWED ERROR CODE RELATED TO MAP SENSOR AGAIN. EXPLAINED TO MECHANIC THAT MY RESEARCH HAS INDICATED THAT TSB 13-12-12 MIGHT ADDRESS THE PROBLEM WHICH IS RELATED TO WIRING IN THE "SIGNAL RETURN SPLICES." HE AGREED. MADE APPOINTMENT FOR NEXT DAY, 7/17/14. UPON STARTING ON 7/17/14, SAME SYMPTOMS. TURNED OFF, RESTARTED, SYMPTOMS CLEARED AND I DROVE IT WITH NO ISSUES TO MY LOCAL FORD DEALER. LOCAL DEALER CALLED AND SAID THEY LOOKED AT THE WIRE SPLICES, MADE SOME "ADJUSTMENTS" (NO NEW PARTS) AND THAT VEHICLE IS READY FOR PICK UP. IF THIS OCCURS AGAIN, WHICH I BELIEVE IT WILL, I WILL ASK FOR WIRE HARNESS REPLACEMENT TO THE SIGNAL RETURN(S). DANGEROUS, WELL-DOCUMENTED PROBLEM.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/17/2014 - STATE COLLEGE, PA
ON 5/31/14, UPON STARTING VEHICLE (2.0 L, SEL), VEHICLE RUNNING ROUGH, SPUTTERING, LURCHING WHEN ACCELERATOR WAS DEPRESSED, ETC. MESSAGE ON DASH SCREEN STATED "ENGINE FAULT - SERVICE NOW". DROVE CAR APPROXIMATELY 8 MILES TO A FORD DEALER I WAS NOT FAMILIAR WITH. TURNED CAR OFF BUT THEN DECIDED TO MOVE CAR. STARTED CAR, ALL ISSUES DISAPPEARED, SO I LEFT AND DROVE CAR 35 MILES TO MY HOME WITH NO ISSUES. DROVE CAR UNTIL 6/20/14 WHEN EXACT SYMPTOMS HAPPENED AGAIN. DROVE CAR WITH SYMPTOMS OCCURRING TO LOCAL FORD DEALER. MECHANIC SUSPECTED COOING SYSTEM PROBLEM, TURNED OFF ENGINE WITHOUT HOOKING UP TO COMPUTER FOR DIAGNOSIS. MINUTES LATER, MECHANIC DECIDED PROBLEM WAS NOT COOLING SYSTEM RELATED SINCE ESCAPE WAS A 2.0 L (COOLING SYSTEM PROBLEMS APPARENTLY OCCUR WITH 1.6 L MODELS), BUT WAS INSTEAD THE MAP SENSOR WHICH WAS REPLACED ON 6/26/14. NEXT DAY (6/27/14) AFTER MAP SENSOR REPLACEMENT, SAME EXACT ISSUES. NO TIME TO TAKE TO A DEALER, SO I SHUT IT OFF AND RESTARTED IT AND ALL SYMPTOMS DISAPPEARED. DROVE REGULARLY UNTIL 7/16/14, WHEN EXACT SYMPTOMS OCCURRED AGAIN. DROVE DIRECTLY TO LOCAL FORD DEALER, LEFT IT RUNNING. THEY HOOKED UP THE DIAGNOSTIC COMPUTER WHILE RUNNING WHICH SHOWED ERROR CODE RELATED TO MAP SENSOR AGAIN. EXPLAINED TO MECHANIC THAT MY RESEARCH HAS INDICATED THAT TSB 13-12-12 MIGHT ADDRESS THE PROBLEM WHICH IS RELATED TO WIRING IN THE "SIGNAL RETURN SPLICES." HE AGREED. MADE APPOINTMENT FOR NEXT DAY, 7/17/14. UPON STARTING ON 7/17/14, SAME SYMPTOMS. TURNED OFF, RESTARTED, SYMPTOMS CLEARED AND I DROVE IT WITH NO ISSUES TO MY LOCAL FORD DEALER. LOCAL DEALER CALLED AND SAID THEY LOOKED AT THE WIRE SPLICES, MADE SOME "ADJUSTMENTS" (NO NEW PARTS) AND THAT VEHICLE IS READY FOR PICK UP. IF THIS OCCURS AGAIN, WHICH I BELIEVE IT WILL, I WILL ASK FOR WIRE HARNESS REPLACEMENT TO THE SIGNAL RETURN(S). DANGEROUS, WELL-DOCUMENTED PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE

7/17/2014 - CARTERET , NJ
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT BACK IN JUNE SHE WAS DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 25MPH WHEN SHE WAS ATTEMPTING TO MAKING A RIGHT TURN AND HER VEHICLE SHUT COMPLETELY OFF, WITH WARNING. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HER VEHICLE FELT LIKE IT WAS STALLING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO (BELL FORD) DEALERS FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE DEALER STATED THEY WERE UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE PROBLEM. THE MANUFACTURE WAS MADE AWARE OF THE PROBLEM AND PROVIDED WITH CONTACT WAS A CASE NUMBER. THE APPROXIMATE MILEAGE WAS 9,300.LNC

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/17/2014 - CARTERET , NJ
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT BACK IN JUNE SHE WAS DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 25MPH WHEN SHE WAS ATTEMPTING TO MAKING A RIGHT TURN AND HER VEHICLE SHUT COMPLETELY OFF, WITH WARNING. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HER VEHICLE FELT LIKE IT WAS STALLING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO (BELL FORD) DEALERS FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE DEALER STATED THEY WERE UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE PROBLEM. THE MANUFACTURE WAS MADE AWARE OF THE PROBLEM AND PROVIDED WITH CONTACT WAS A CASE NUMBER. THE APPROXIMATE MILEAGE WAS 9,300.LNC

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/13/2014 - CANTON, MI
AFTER OWNING THIS VEHICLE FOR ONE MONTH, THE TRANSMISSION HAD TO BE COMPLETELY REPLACED. ABOUT A MONTH AFTER THE NEW TRANSMISSION WAS PLACED, I STARTED HAVING PROBLEMS WITH THE CAR NOT WANTING TO ACCELERATE. I WOULD BE MERGING ONTO THE FREEWAY OR PULLING INTO TRAFFIC AND THE CAR WOULD NOT ACCELERATE. THE RPM'S WOULD GO WAY UP, BUT THE CAR WOULD NOT MOVE. I AM FEARFUL ANYTIME I DRIVE THIS CAR THAT IT MAY NOT ACCELERATE WHEN I NEED IT TO AND I'LL END UP IN A VEHICLE ACCIDENT. I HAVE HAD MY ESCAPE INTO THE DEALERSHIP 5 TIMES FOR THIS SAME ISSUE. THE LAST TIME I HAD IT IN, FORD PUT IN A FLIGHT SIMULATOR. AFTER FORD EVALUATED THE SIMULATOR FINDINGS, FORD ENGINEERS SAID THIS WAS "NORMAL"; THEY WILL NO LONGER EVALUATE THE ISSUE. I AM TRULY SCARED IN THIS VEHICLE AND I'VE ONLY OWNED IT FOR ONE YEAR!!! HELP!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds