Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2013 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 157 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (20) Steering (1) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electrical System (27) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (4) Structure (11) Vehicle Speed Control (16)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Seats (1) Suspension (3) Visibility (3)
Engine (80) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Service Brakes (11) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (3)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/14/2014 - CHERRY HILL, NJ
I PURCHASED THE CAR IN NOVEMBER 2012, I HAD THE CAR FOR 2 DAYS BEFORE IT WAS RECALLED AND SAT AT THE DEALERSHIP FOR 17 DAYS. I HAVE HAD 2 MORE RECALLS FOR THE SAME ISSUE (FIRE FROM FUEL SYSTEM) AND NOW HAVING A RECENT RECALL THAT STATES I SHOULD NOT DRIVE THE CAR- I WAS TOLD BY THE DEALERSHIP THAT THEY CAN NOT FIX MY CAR FOR 3 WEEKS.

View Details

ENGINE

4/11/2014 - WYNTOTE, PA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH, SMALL FLAMES IGNITED FROM UNDER THE HOOD. THE VEHICLE WAS MANEUVERED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD TO COOL DOWN. THERE WAS A RECALL UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER 13V583000 (ENGINE). THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHO REPAIRED THE VEHICLE. HOWEVER THE FAILURE HAS CONTINUED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE DEFECT. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN. RG

View Details

ENGINE

4/10/2014 - CHARLES CITY, IA
I WAS ~350 MILES FROM HOME IN N. MINNESOTA ON 2/7/2013 AND WAS ACCELERATING FROM ~30 MPH TO 55 MPH WHEN THE VEHICLE STARTED TO SHAKE VIOLENTLY AND LOOSE POWER. A DEFAULT MESSAGE APPEARED ON DRIVER'S -++INFORMATION DISPLAY-+¥ FOLLOWED BY AN OK MESSAGE. THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO SHAKE AND WOULD NOT ACCELERATE PAST ~5MPH. I PULLED INTO A LOCAL BUSINESS PARKING LOT AND TURNED OFF THE ENGINE. I THEN ADDED A BOTTLE OF GAS LINE ANTIFREEZE BELIEVING THERE WAS A FUEL PROBLEM SINCE THE OUTDOOR TEMPERATURE WAS EXTREMELY COLD (-20-¦ F TO -++ 30-¦F) AND I HAD REFUEL ~75 MILES BEFORE. AFTER THE ADDITION OF A BOTTLE OF FUEL LINE ANTIFREEZE I IMMEDIATELY STARTED THE ENGINE. I PROCEEDED TO THE LOCAL FORD DEALER TO HAVE THE VEHICLE CHECKED OUT. THE TECHNICIAN COULD NOT FIND AN ERROR CODE. THE VEHICLE PREFORMED NORMALLY UNTIL THE PROBLEM REAPPEARED MARCH 30TH AT ~ 19,500 MILES (AGAIN IN N. MN). A DEFAULT MESSAGE RE-APPEARED ON DRIVER-++S -++INFORMATION DISPLAY-+¥ FOLLOWED BY AN OK MESSAGE. AFTER PULLING OVER ON THE SHOULDER OF THE ROAD, I SHUT OFF THE ENGINE AND IMMEDIATELY RESTARTED IT. THE ENGINE HAS PERFORMED AS NORMAL SINCE THE SECOND INCIDENT. AFTER RETURN TO MY HOME I REPORTED THE PROBLEM TO THE LOCAL FORD DEALERSHIP. THE DEALER MAINTENANCE DEPARTMENT CONSULTED WITH FORD MOTOR COMPANY FOR A SERVICE RECOMMENDATION. THE VEHICLE WAS SERVICED ON 3/9/2014 PER FORD-++S RECOMMENDATION AT ~ 20,000. AGAIN THERE WAS NO ERROR MESSAGE STORED ON THE VEHICLES COMPUTER.

View Details

ENGINE

4/9/2014 - WICHITA, KS
MY 2013 FORD ESCAPE HAS HAD A ISSUE OF STALLING WHILE AT INTERCETIONS OR DRIVING AT SLOW SPEEDS THE RADIO AND AC IS STILL WORKING BUT THE ENGINE IS DEAD IF YOU ARE NOT PAYING ATTENTION YOU COULD ROLL OUT INTO AND INTERCEPTION AND YOU CAR BE DEAD AND YOU HAVE TO PUT IT IN PARK TO RESTART IT THIS HAS HAPPENED MANY TIMES TO MY WIFE SHE HAS ALMOST GOT HIT MULTIPLE TIMES WITH THE LAST ONE BEING A SEMI TRUCK EVERYTIME I TAKE IT TO FOR THEY TELL ME THEY CANT FIND IN FAULT CODES THEY DON'T KNOW WHAT TO FIX SO THEY JUST TELL ME TO GO WITH IT I HAVE FILED AN OFFICIAL COMPLAINT WITH FORD CORP. OFFICE STILL WITH NO RESULTS BASICALLY WHAT THEY ARE SAYING IS IF THEY CANT FIND A CODE THEY CANT FIX ANYTHING SO AM I JUST SUPPOSED TO LET MY WIFE DRIVE A UNSAFE CAR AND GET HER AND MY SON KILLED AND IF YOU LOOK ONLINE THERE HAS BEEN THOUSANDS OF PEOPLE SAYING THE SAME COMPLAINT AND FORD TELLING THEM THE SAME THING SO SOMETHING IS WRONG WE NEED HELP.

View Details

ENGINE

4/8/2014 - BRANFORD, CT
TL û THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HE ATTEMPTED TO HAVE THE VEHICLE REPAIRED FOR UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V583000. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HE WAS MADE AWARE THAT PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE AS A RESULT REPAIRS WERE UNABLE TO BE PERFORMED FOR THE RECALL. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER HAD EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIRS. THE CONTACT HAS EXPERIENCED THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLES CURRENT AND FAILURE MILEAGE IS 6,350. ML

View Details

ENGINE

4/2/2014 - TROUTMAN, NC
VEHICLE STALLS FOR NO REASON WHEN COMING TO A STOP. VEHICLE IDLES ROUGH AND STALLS. SERVICE ENGINE NOW WARNING COMES ON. NHTSA NEEDS TO ADDRESS THIS PROBLEM NOW. LOOK AT ALL THE OTHER COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS SAME VEHICLE ON THE WEB SIT. SOMEONE IS GONG TO GET KILLED OR INJURED BECAUSE FORD CAN NOT OR WILL NOT ADDRESS THE PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE

4/1/2014 - BELOIT, WI
WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER TO BE INSPECTED UNDER NHTSA RECALL 13V583 WHEN THE ENGINE REACHED 3000 RPM'S HUGE VOLUMES OF BLUE SMOKE CAME OUT OF EXHAUST SYSTEM. WHILE AT THE DEALER THE DEALER PERFORMED THE RECALL INSPECTION AND RELATED TESTS, WHICH RESULTED IN REPLACEMENT OF THE WATER PUMP AND IN THE DEALERS WORDS "ALL COOLANT SYSTEM AND RELATED MODIFICATIONS PER EXTENSIVE RECALL" FORD RECALL 13S12C AND 13S12D. THE DEALER WOULD NOT CONFIRM THAT THE RECALL HAD BEEN REPAIRED OR ELIMINATED FOR THIS VEHICLE AFTER THESE REPAIRS WERE COMPLETED. MOST OF THE PARTS LISTED TO ADDRESS THE RECALL MAKE SENSE EXCEPT THE REPLACEMENT OF THE OIL DIPSTICK. THE DEALER ALSO ADDRESSED THE BLUE SMOKE ISSUE AND IN THE DEALERS WORDS "FOUND EXCESSIVE OIL IN THE TURBO AND EXCESSIVE PLAY IN THE TURBINE WHEEL". THIS RESULTED IN THE REPLACEMENT OF THE TURBO. PLEASE NOTE THAT THIS ENGINE IS THE TROUBLED 2013 1.6 LITER ECOBOOST ENGINE. THE PARTS THAT FAILED AND WERE REPLACED SHOULD NOT HAVE FAILED ON AN ENGINE WITH ONLY 8449 MILES ON IT. THE VEHICLE WAS IN THE SHOP FROM MARCH 18TH UNTIL APRIL 1ST TO GET REPAIRED. ALSO UNDERSTAND THAT WE DO NOT HAVE AN ISSUE WITH THE DEALER, WE FEEL THEY HAVE DONE WHAT THEY CAN TO RESOLVE THESE DEFECTS IN THIS ENGINE. WE ARE CONCERNED THAT NHTSA HAS NOT DONE ENOUGH TO GET THIS TROUBLED ENGINE OFF THE STREETS AND WE ARE ALSO CONCERNED THAT THERE STILL HAS NOT BEEN FULL DISCLOSURE FROM FORD OF WHAT IS WRONG WITH THIS ENGINE THAT IS CAUSING MULTIPLE RECALLS.

View Details

ENGINE

3/30/2014 - SAN FRANCISCO, CA
I WAS DRIVING SLOWLY IN A PARKING LOT, COASTING, WHEN THE ENGINE DIED. I WAS ABLE TO RESTART IT AFTER PUTTING IT INTO PARK. THE ISSUE HAS HAPPENED TWICE MORE, ONCE ON THE HIGHWAY, ONCE ON A CITY STREET. BOTH TIMES HAPPENED WHEN THE CAR WAS COASTING. I WAS LUCKY TO HAVE BEEN ABLE TO PULL OVER SAFELY AND RESTART THE CAR. SEPARATELY, I HAVE EXPERIENCED THE ROUGH ENGINE START SO MANY OTHERS ON THIS WEBSITE HAVE COMPLAINED ABOUT. THE SEQUENCE IS YOU TURN ON THE ENGINE, IT IDLES ROUGHLY, CAN'T ACCELERATE AWAY FROM THE CURB, AND JERKS FORWARD WHEN YOU TRY. YOU HAVE TO SHUT DOWN THE ENGINE, LET IT CALM ITSELF DOWN AND RESTART. SOMETIMES IT'S FINE, SOMETIMES YOU HAVE TO REPEAT. I MENTIONED IT WHEN WE TOOK IT IN FOR ITS FIRST SERVICE, BUT FORD DIDN'T FIND ANYTHING WRONG. I'M SHOCKED THAT NEITHER FORD NOR THE GOVERNMENT HAS DONE ANYTHING, DESPITE DOZENS OF COMPLAINTS OF EXACTLY THE SAME ISSUE. THAT IS NOT A STATISTICAL FLUKE, IT IS DEFECTIVE VEHICLE AND I HOPE NEITHER FORD NOR THIS AGENCY SCREW UP AGAIN THE WAY GM AND THIS AGENCY DID WITH THE IGNITION ISSUE.

View Details

ENGINE

3/27/2014 - PALO ALTO, CA
WHEN I TRIED AGAIN TO START UP MY CAR TODAY, THE POWERTRAIN WAS PRODUCING SMOKE. FORD AGREED TO BUYBACK MY CAR IN MID DECEMBER 2013 BUT THEY HAVE STILL NOT BEEN FOLLOWING THROUGH ON THEIR WRITTEN CONTRACT. I HAVE CONTACTED FORD'S RAV DEPT ALONG WITH EMAILING FORD'S TIER1 CUSTOMER SUPPORT EVERYTIME MY CAR HAS CAUGHT ON FIRE. I HAVE ALSO LET THE DEALER KNOW OF MY ISSUES. I HAVE TWEETED TO @FORD, @FORDSERVICE, @FORDESCAPE ABOUT MY CAR. THEY ARE AWARE MY CAR'S OVERHEATING AND TRANSMISSION ISSUES. NO ONE FROM FORD HAS OFFERED TO PUT ME IN A LOANER CAR WHILE THEY TRY TO REISSUE MY 'LOST' BUYBACK CHECK. THEY'D RATHER ME DRIVE AROUND A CAR THAT CATCHES ON FIRE. I SUSPECT THEY ARE TRYING TO HIT A QUARTERLY GOAL AND ARE STALLING TO Q2. I PAID CASH FOR MY CAR SO I'M SURE MY BUYBACK IS IMPACTING THEIR BUDGETING. THE SMOKE FROM THE POWERTRAIN TRIGGERED MY ASTHMA.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/27/2014 - PALO ALTO, CA
WHEN I TRIED AGAIN TO START UP MY CAR TODAY, THE POWERTRAIN WAS PRODUCING SMOKE. FORD AGREED TO BUYBACK MY CAR IN MID DECEMBER 2013 BUT THEY HAVE STILL NOT BEEN FOLLOWING THROUGH ON THEIR WRITTEN CONTRACT. I HAVE CONTACTED FORD'S RAV DEPT ALONG WITH EMAILING FORD'S TIER1 CUSTOMER SUPPORT EVERYTIME MY CAR HAS CAUGHT ON FIRE. I HAVE ALSO LET THE DEALER KNOW OF MY ISSUES. I HAVE TWEETED TO @FORD, @FORDSERVICE, @FORDESCAPE ABOUT MY CAR. THEY ARE AWARE MY CAR'S OVERHEATING AND TRANSMISSION ISSUES. NO ONE FROM FORD HAS OFFERED TO PUT ME IN A LOANER CAR WHILE THEY TRY TO REISSUE MY 'LOST' BUYBACK CHECK. THEY'D RATHER ME DRIVE AROUND A CAR THAT CATCHES ON FIRE. I SUSPECT THEY ARE TRYING TO HIT A QUARTERLY GOAL AND ARE STALLING TO Q2. I PAID CASH FOR MY CAR SO I'M SURE MY BUYBACK IS IMPACTING THEIR BUDGETING. THE SMOKE FROM THE POWERTRAIN TRIGGERED MY ASTHMA.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds