Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2013 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 430 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (31) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (46) Steering (20) Unknown Or Other (23)
Electrical System (83) Exterior Lighting (6) Seat Belts (18) Structure (28) Vehicle Speed Control (27)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel Propulsion System (25) Seats (3) Suspension (8) Visibility (5)
Engine (209) Fuel System Gasoline (16) Service Brakes (22) Tires (4) Visibility Wiper (8)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (5)
Equipment (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 49
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/29/2016 - KEARNY, NJ
WHILE DRIVING ON A HIGHWAY THE FROM OF THE BOTTOM HEAT SHIELD ON MY CAR JUST DROPPED AND STARTED SCRAPPING ON THE PAVEMENT. BY THE TIME I WAS ABLE TO PULL OVER THE SHIELD WAS PRETTY SCRAPED UP. IT APPEARED THAT WHATEVER WAS SUPPOSE TO HOLD IT UP, WAS NOT THERE. I KNOW THAT I DID NOT RUN OVER ANYTHING OR HAVE ANYTHING HIT THE UNDERSIDE OF MY CAR. THAT AFTERNOON I BROUGHT IT TO A FORD DEALERSHIP IN RUTHERFORD, NJ WHERE I WAS CHARGED $368.84 FOR REMOVE AND REPLACEMENT OF THE HEAT SHIELD. THIS ESCAPE IS GARAGE KEPT AND THERE SHOULD HAVE BEEN NO REASON FOR THIS HAPPENING.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/19/2016 - NOGALES, AZ
MY CAR IS A 2013 ESCAPE AND SINCE I TOOK IT TO SERVICE AND TO FIX ONE RECALL THAT WAS CAUSING MY CAR TO OVERHEAT AND SHUT OFF ENGINE 1.- (RECALL NO. 13S12) RISK OF LOCALIZED OVERHEATING OF THE ENGINECYLINDER HEAD THAT MAY LEAD TO OIL LEAK FILTERS. AND .SOME OTHER RECALLS, LIKE 2.- (RECALL NO. 13Y03 FUEL LINE JUMPER), 3.-(RECALL NO. 14SO4 REPROGRAM RESTRAINS CONTROL), AND 4.-(RECAL NO.14S03 EXTERIOR DOOR HANDLE) SINCE THAT DAY I¦VE CALLED MANY TIMES TO SERVICE MANAGER IVAN REGARDING THIS. MY CAR HAS BEEN MALFUNTIONING OVERHEATING IN THE FREEWAY, AND IN THE STREETS, MOST OF THE TIMES, EVEN WHEN IT WAS RIGHT OUT OF THE SERVICE, I WAS GOING ON A VACATION WITH MY FAMILY, WHERE I EVEN HAD D TO PAY TO REPLACE ENGINE COOLANT BYPASS VALVE, $330.18 DLLS BECAUSE MY CAR IS OVER 30,000 MILES BUT NOT YET 3 YEARS .AND AT THIS TIME THEY PERFORMED ANOTHER RECALL ????? YES... THIS WAS RECALL NO 14S21 RESTRAINTS CONTROL MODULE REPLACEMENT. AND NOW WHEN I GOT MY CAR OUT OF HORNE FORD NOGALES AZ. WHEN I TURN I HEAR A SOUND ON THE RIGHT SIDE OF MY TIRES OR BRAKES NEED A SOLUTION PLEASE HELP WHAT CAN I DO I NEED A SOLUTION THIS IS NOT FAIR

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/19/2016 - NOGALES, AZ
MY CAR IS A 2013 ESCAPE AND SINCE I TOOK IT TO SERVICE AND TO FIX ONE RECALL THAT WAS CAUSING MY CAR TO OVERHEAT AND SHUT OFF ENGINE 1.- (RECALL NO. 13S12) RISK OF LOCALIZED OVERHEATING OF THE ENGINECYLINDER HEAD THAT MAY LEAD TO OIL LEAK FILTERS. AND .SOME OTHER RECALLS, LIKE 2.- (RECALL NO. 13Y03 FUEL LINE JUMPER), 3.-(RECALL NO. 14SO4 REPROGRAM RESTRAINS CONTROL), AND 4.-(RECAL NO.14S03 EXTERIOR DOOR HANDLE) SINCE THAT DAY I¦VE CALLED MANY TIMES TO SERVICE MANAGER IVAN REGARDING THIS. MY CAR HAS BEEN MALFUNTIONING OVERHEATING IN THE FREEWAY, AND IN THE STREETS, MOST OF THE TIMES, EVEN WHEN IT WAS RIGHT OUT OF THE SERVICE, I WAS GOING ON A VACATION WITH MY FAMILY, WHERE I EVEN HAD D TO PAY TO REPLACE ENGINE COOLANT BYPASS VALVE, $330.18 DLLS BECAUSE MY CAR IS OVER 30,000 MILES BUT NOT YET 3 YEARS .AND AT THIS TIME THEY PERFORMED ANOTHER RECALL ????? YES... THIS WAS RECALL NO 14S21 RESTRAINTS CONTROL MODULE REPLACEMENT. AND NOW WHEN I GOT MY CAR OUT OF HORNE FORD NOGALES AZ. WHEN I TURN I HEAR A SOUND ON THE RIGHT SIDE OF MY TIRES OR BRAKES NEED A SOLUTION PLEASE HELP WHAT CAN I DO I NEED A SOLUTION THIS IS NOT FAIR

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

4/19/2016 - NOGALES, AZ
MY CAR IS A 2013 ESCAPE AND SINCE I TOOK IT TO SERVICE AND TO FIX ONE RECALL THAT WAS CAUSING MY CAR TO OVERHEAT AND SHUT OFF ENGINE 1.- (RECALL NO. 13S12) RISK OF LOCALIZED OVERHEATING OF THE ENGINECYLINDER HEAD THAT MAY LEAD TO OIL LEAK FILTERS. AND .SOME OTHER RECALLS, LIKE 2.- (RECALL NO. 13Y03 FUEL LINE JUMPER), 3.-(RECALL NO. 14SO4 REPROGRAM RESTRAINS CONTROL), AND 4.-(RECAL NO.14S03 EXTERIOR DOOR HANDLE) SINCE THAT DAY I¦VE CALLED MANY TIMES TO SERVICE MANAGER IVAN REGARDING THIS. MY CAR HAS BEEN MALFUNTIONING OVERHEATING IN THE FREEWAY, AND IN THE STREETS, MOST OF THE TIMES, EVEN WHEN IT WAS RIGHT OUT OF THE SERVICE, I WAS GOING ON A VACATION WITH MY FAMILY, WHERE I EVEN HAD D TO PAY TO REPLACE ENGINE COOLANT BYPASS VALVE, $330.18 DLLS BECAUSE MY CAR IS OVER 30,000 MILES BUT NOT YET 3 YEARS .AND AT THIS TIME THEY PERFORMED ANOTHER RECALL ????? YES... THIS WAS RECALL NO 14S21 RESTRAINTS CONTROL MODULE REPLACEMENT. AND NOW WHEN I GOT MY CAR OUT OF HORNE FORD NOGALES AZ. WHEN I TURN I HEAR A SOUND ON THE RIGHT SIDE OF MY TIRES OR BRAKES NEED A SOLUTION PLEASE HELP WHAT CAN I DO I NEED A SOLUTION THIS IS NOT FAIR

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/18/2016 - OKLAHOMA CITY, OK
SINCE AUGUST 2015-APRIL 14, 2016 I HAVE TAKEN MY VEHICLE TO THE FORD SERVICE DEPARTMENT FOUR TIMES DUE TO REDUCTION OF ENGINE POWER/ENGINE OVERHEATING WARNING. MY FORD WAS SUBJECT TO THE RECALL AND SERVICED IN AUG 2015. IN JANUARY 2016 AND TWICE IN APRIL 2016 I HAVE HAD THE SAME ISSUE WITH ENGINE REDUCTION/VEHICLE HEATING GAUGE IDLE ON HOT/THE VEHICLE SPUTTERS AND RIDES EXTREMELY HARD UNTIL YOU CAN COME TO A COMPLETE STOP. ALL INCIDENTS HAVE HAPPENED WHILE DRIVING IN TRAFFIC AND ONCE ON THE INTERSTATE. WHEN IT HAPPENED ON THE INTERSTATE I BARELY MADE IT TO THE SHOULDER AS I HAD TO TRY AND CROSS A LANE OF PASSING VEHICLES TO DO SO. I DO NOT FEEL THAT FORD HAS ADEQUATELY FOUND A FIX FOR THIS HUGE AND DANGEROUS PROBLEM AND I DO NOT KNOW IF A CONSUMER HAS TO BE KILLED FIRST FOR THEM TO LOOK AT IT AND SUGGEST A FIX THAT IS VIABLE TO THE PROBLEM. I AM FEARFUL TO EVEN DRIVE MY FORD DUE TO THE IS PROBLEM SINCE IT ONLY HAPPENS WHEN THE VEHICLE IS IN MOTION. I AM REQUESTING THAT YOU PLEASE REVIEW THIS FOR ALL OF THE CONSUMERS THAT FORD CONTINUES TO SELL THESE AUTOMOBILES TOO.

View Details

ENGINE

4/18/2016 - OKLAHOMA CITY, OK
SINCE AUGUST 2015-APRIL 14, 2016 I HAVE TAKEN MY VEHICLE TO THE FORD SERVICE DEPARTMENT FOUR TIMES DUE TO REDUCTION OF ENGINE POWER/ENGINE OVERHEATING WARNING. MY FORD WAS SUBJECT TO THE RECALL AND SERVICED IN AUG 2015. IN JANUARY 2016 AND TWICE IN APRIL 2016 I HAVE HAD THE SAME ISSUE WITH ENGINE REDUCTION/VEHICLE HEATING GAUGE IDLE ON HOT/THE VEHICLE SPUTTERS AND RIDES EXTREMELY HARD UNTIL YOU CAN COME TO A COMPLETE STOP. ALL INCIDENTS HAVE HAPPENED WHILE DRIVING IN TRAFFIC AND ONCE ON THE INTERSTATE. WHEN IT HAPPENED ON THE INTERSTATE I BARELY MADE IT TO THE SHOULDER AS I HAD TO TRY AND CROSS A LANE OF PASSING VEHICLES TO DO SO. I DO NOT FEEL THAT FORD HAS ADEQUATELY FOUND A FIX FOR THIS HUGE AND DANGEROUS PROBLEM AND I DO NOT KNOW IF A CONSUMER HAS TO BE KILLED FIRST FOR THEM TO LOOK AT IT AND SUGGEST A FIX THAT IS VIABLE TO THE PROBLEM. I AM FEARFUL TO EVEN DRIVE MY FORD DUE TO THE IS PROBLEM SINCE IT ONLY HAPPENS WHEN THE VEHICLE IS IN MOTION. I AM REQUESTING THAT YOU PLEASE REVIEW THIS FOR ALL OF THE CONSUMERS THAT FORD CONTINUES TO SELL THESE AUTOMOBILES TOO.

View Details

ENGINE

4/6/2016 - MAGNOLIA, TX
MY FORD ESCAPE 2013 STALLS WHILE DRIVING AT LOW SPEEDS, LIKE A PARKING LOT, AT A STOP SIGN. IT HAS DONE IT NOW 4 TIMES IN 2016. THE ENGINE JUST LOSES POWER AND STALLS. THE RED OIL LAMP AND BATTERY LAMP COME ON. NO SYSTEM CHECK MESSAGES SHOW. IT WILL START SOMETIMES AND STALL AGAIN IMMEDIATELY, SOMETIMES IT STARTS AND THEN IS OK FOR THE REMAINDER OF THE TRIP. THE FORD DEALER COULDN'T FIND THE PROBLEM WHEN THEY CHECKED IT RIGHT AFTER AN INCIDENT. OFFERED TO DRIVE IT TILL THEY FIND THE PROBLEM AND GIVE ME LOANER TILL THEN. ???

View Details

ENGINE

4/6/2016 - HOUSTON, TX
RECALL 14S17 SPECIFIED THAT A FAULTING WIRING HARNESS FOR THE MAP SENSOR COULD BE REPAIRED BY SPLICING THE WIRING HARNESS. I HAD THIS RECALL WORK PERFORMED ON MY VEHICLE IN OCTOBER 2014, BUT SINCE THEN THE SYMPTOMS WHICH LED TO THE ORIGINAL RECALL PERSISTED. MULTIPLE TIMES, THE VEHICLE HAS STALLED IN TRAFFIC ON A CITY STREET, OR FAILED TO RESPOND TO THROTTLE INPUTS WHILE MERGING ONTO A HIGHWAY. THESE ARE VERY DANGEROUS SITUATIONS. SINCE THEN, FORD MOTOR COMPANY HAS ISSUED A SERVICE BULLETIN ADVISING FULL REPLACEMENT OF THE SAME WIRING HARNESS (NOT JUST A SPLICE). THIS IS PERFORMED AT MY COST, NOT FMC'S. FULL REPLACEMENT SHOULD HAVE BEEN THE ORIGINAL SOLUTION TO THIS RECALL, AND A SECOND RECALL OR REVISION SHOULD BE ISSUED TO FORCE FORD TO PROVIDE A FULL SOLUTION RATHER THAN A HALF-MEASURE.

View Details

ENGINE

4/6/2016 - NORTH PLAINFIELD, NJ
AFTER DRIVING THE VEHICLE FOR 7 MINUTES AFTER I STARTED IT, THE CAR OVERHEATED ON THE HIGHWAY. I HAD TO PULL OVER IN A PARKING LOT AND SHUT OFF THE CAR. WHEN I ATTEMPTED TO OPEN THE TURN ON A CAR AFTER A LITTLE WHILE IT WOULD NOT ALLOW ME. THIS SAME PROBLEM HAD HAPPENED EXACTLY ON MARCH 16 AND THE DEALERSHIP SERVICE HAD REPLACED THE COOLANT STAND PIPE STANDPIPE. THEY SAID THERE IS NO RECALL ASSOCIATED WITH VIN YET IT IS THE SECOND TIME THIS HAPPENS.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

4/5/2016 - MANVEL, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V597000 (AIR BAGS, SEAT BELTS); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 49
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds