Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2013 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 291 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (19) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (33) Steering (12) Unknown Or Other (14)
Electrical System (55) Exterior Lighting (6) Seat Belts (7) Structure (19) Vehicle Speed Control (22)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (13) Seats (2) Suspension (4) Visibility (4)
Engine (149) Fuel System Gasoline (13) Service Brakes (15) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (5)
Equipment (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 33
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

3/26/2015 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THE CONTACT HEARD AN UNUSUAL NOISE OUTSIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS MANEUVERED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE CONTACT INSPECTED UNDERNEATH THE VEHICLE AND NOTICED THAT THE EXHAUST HEAT SHIELD COVER DETACHED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER AND WAS REPAIRED. THE DETAILS OF THE REPAIRS WERE UNAVAILABLE. IN ADDITION, THE TIMING PEG BOLT WAS MISSING FROM THE ENGINE AND CAUSED OIL LEAKAGE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 20,400.

View Details

ENGINE

3/25/2015 - HAUPPAUGE, NY
IN AUGUST 2014, JANUARY 2015, FEBRUARY 2015, AND MARCH 2015 MY VEHICLE WENT INTO "FAILSAFE" MODE DUE TO AN OVERHEATING ENGINE, AMONG OTHER PROBLEMS. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED EACH TIME TO THE FORD DEALER'S SERVICE CENTER WHERE THE LEASE ORIGINATED. FAILSAFE MODE CUTS POWER TO THE BRAIN OF THE VEHICLE WHICH SHUTS DOWN THE ENGINE TO "SAFELY" STOP THE VEHICLE SO THE CAR DOESN'T LIGHT ITSELF ON FIRE. THE CAR LITERALLY GOES FROM 60 TO 0 IN A MATTER OF MINUTES. ANY TIME THE VEHICLE HAS GONE INTO FAILSAFE MODE I HAVE BEEN TERRIFIED OF CAUSING AN ACCIDENT OR GETTING REARENDED. THE CAR HAS BEEN IN AND OUT OF THE FORD SERVICE CENTER AND PEP BOYS FOR REPETITIVE ENGINE ISSUES, COOLANT SYSTEM ISSUES, TRANSMISSION ISSUES, COMPUTER SYSTEM ISSUES, ETC. THERE ARE 9 RECALLS ON THE CAR THUS FAR, 8 OF THEM HAVE BEEN FIXED - THE AIRBAG RECALL DOES NOT APPLY TO MY VEHICLE BECAUSE THE AIRBAG LIGHT IS NOT ON. MY CAR HAS SPENT A TOTAL OF 28 DAYS IN THE SHOP SINCE IT WAS LEASED IN 2013 FOR REPEAT REPAIRS. I TRIED SEVERAL TIMES TO HAVE FORD BUY BACK THE REMAINDER OF THE LEASE BUT WAS DENIED BECAUSE THE ISSUES DID NOT TAKE PLACE WITHIN THE FIRST 18,000 MILES OF THE LEASE. I ALSO FILED FOR NEW YORK STATE LEMON LAW AND WAS DENIED FOR THE SAME REASON. I WAS FORCED TO ROLL THE REMAINING 9 PAYMENTS ($4,044) INTO A NEW LEASE FOR A 2015 FORD ESCAPE ON 3/9/15 BECAUSE THE 2013 ESCAPE WAS UNPREDICTABLE AND PROBLEMATIC - IT WAS NOT SAFE TO BE ON THE ROAD. THE ENGINE OVERHEATED APPROXIMATELY EVERY 6 DAYS FOR TWO MONTHS AND IT WAS DEEMED "UNREPAIRABLE" BY THE MECHANIC BUT CORPORATE STILL REFUSED TO BUY BACK THE LEASE. SPEAKING OF CORPORATE - I WAS TREATED TERRIBLY BY THE REGIONAL CUSTOMER SERVICE MANAGER. SHE SCREENED HER PHONE CALLS AND REFUSED TO CALL ME BACK UNLESS I ASKED FOR A SUPERVISOR. SHE SPOKE TO ME LIKE SHE WAS PUNISHING HER 5 YEAR OLD CHILD AND HER FAVORITE WORD WAS "NO."

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/19/2015 - DEARBORN, MI
MILEAGE ABOVE IS FROM INCIDENT IN 2/15, OCCURRED FIRST TIME AT OR ABOUT 9/14, AND OCCURRED AGAIN 3/15. ON EACH OCCASION THE CAR STOPPED ACCELERATING. ON THE 3/15 OCCASION I WAS TRAVELING ABOUT 45 MPH ON A 4 LANE ROAD....WHEN THIS OCCURS I AM ON THE GAS PEDAL....NOT THE BRAKE PEDAL AS I AM TRYING TO MOVE THE VEHICLE FORWARD. I WAS TERRIFIED TO BE STRUCK FROM BEHIND AND WATCHED AS TRAFFIC WAS COMING TOWARDS ME. EACH OCCURRENCE HAD A DIFFERENT REPAIR BECAUSE DIAGNOSTIC CODE WAS DIFFERENT. I DO NOT FEEL SAFE IN THIS VEHICLE. I HAVE CONTACTED FORD MOTOR COMPANY.....FOR THIS ISSUE AS WELL AS NUMEROUS OTHER ISSUES. I WANT TO FEEL SAFE AND NOT FEAR FUTURE PROBLEMS. I CAN PROVIDE MORE INFORMATION/AND OR COMPLAINTS BUT AS I AM NOT THAT KNOWLEDGABLE ABOUT CARS, I TRUST THAT YOU WILL SEE ALL ISSUES THROUGH MY VIN NUMBER PROVIDED. ONE QUESTION I HAVE IS ABOUT THE DIAGNOSTIC CODES AND THEIR ACCURACY?

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/16/2015 - CLEVELAND, OH
TOOK DELIVERY OF 2013 FORD ESCAPE AS NEW CAR CONSUMER PURCHASE IN AUGUST 2013. BATTERY HAS BEEN BIGGEST ISSUE TO DATE. I HAVE HAD DEAD BATTERY ON THREE SEPARATE OCCASIONS TO DATE, LATEST BEING THIS MORNING (MARCH 16, 2015). BATTERY GOES DEAD AFTER AS LITTLE AS 48 HOURS OF NON-USE. FORD DEALERS HAVE TESTED THE BATTERY TWICE DURING MAINTENANCE VISITS. THEY SAY THE BATTERY MEETS MINIMUM TEST STANDARDS. I CAN'T LEAVE THE CAR ANYWHERE FOR 2+ DAYS W/O DISCONNECTING BATTERY. GOOGLE SEARCH SUGGESTS THAT THIS IS NOT AN ISOLATED PROBLEM. THIS NEEDS INVESTIGATION. THANK YOU.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/1/2015 - CALDWELL, ID
ON DECEMBER 20, 2014 AT APPROXIMATELY 3:30 PM WE WERE DRIVING ON I15 - INTO SALT LAKE CITY - 19 MILES SOUTH OF I-80. PASSENGER MOON ROOF SHATTERED WITH A LOUD BANG! SOUNDED LIKE AN EXPLOSION. IT RAISED UP THE GLASS ON THE OUTSIDE OF THE CAR. THE TEMPERATURE WAS 41 DEGREES OUTSIDE & 71 DEGREES INSIDE CARE. MY HUSBAND & I WERE THE ONLY PEOPLE IN THE CAR. WE WERE IN 5-6 LANES OF TRAFFIC & DID NOT STOP UNTIL WE GOT OFF THE HIGHWAY. RAIN WAS COMING SO WE TOOK PICTURES WITH OUR CAMERA & I PHONE & TAPED UP THE ROOF OVER THE CRACKS & COVERED IT WITH A TARP. WE RETURNED TO BOISE AREA THE FOLLOWING DAY. WE PARKED IT IN OUR GARAGE UNTIL WE COULD DELIVER THE CAR TO LITHIA FORD IN BOISE ON 12/22/14. (WE PURCHASED IT FROM LITHIA FORD) THE SERVICE TECH SAID HE THOUGHT IT WOULD BE COVERED BY WARRANTY BUT WOULD HAVE TO CONTACT FORD & GET BACK WITH US. WE RESEARCHED THIS PROBLEM & SAW IN THE PAST THAT THIS HAS HAPPENED. FORD MADE THE DECISION, IT WAS SOMETHING WE DID & WE THEREFORE HAD TO TURN IT INTO OUR INSURANCE & WE HAD TO PAY THE DEDUCTIBLE. WE BELIEVE FORD SHOULD HAVE COVERED THIS DAMAGE, NOT OUR INSURANCE COMPANY.

View Details

EQUIPMENT ADAPTIVE

3/1/2015 - CALDWELL, ID
ON DECEMBER 20, 2014 AT APPROXIMATELY 3:30 PM WE WERE DRIVING ON I15 - INTO SALT LAKE CITY - 19 MILES SOUTH OF I-80. PASSENGER MOON ROOF SHATTERED WITH A LOUD BANG! SOUNDED LIKE AN EXPLOSION. IT RAISED UP THE GLASS ON THE OUTSIDE OF THE CAR. THE TEMPERATURE WAS 41 DEGREES OUTSIDE & 71 DEGREES INSIDE CARE. MY HUSBAND & I WERE THE ONLY PEOPLE IN THE CAR. WE WERE IN 5-6 LANES OF TRAFFIC & DID NOT STOP UNTIL WE GOT OFF THE HIGHWAY. RAIN WAS COMING SO WE TOOK PICTURES WITH OUR CAMERA & I PHONE & TAPED UP THE ROOF OVER THE CRACKS & COVERED IT WITH A TARP. WE RETURNED TO BOISE AREA THE FOLLOWING DAY. WE PARKED IT IN OUR GARAGE UNTIL WE COULD DELIVER THE CAR TO LITHIA FORD IN BOISE ON 12/22/14. (WE PURCHASED IT FROM LITHIA FORD) THE SERVICE TECH SAID HE THOUGHT IT WOULD BE COVERED BY WARRANTY BUT WOULD HAVE TO CONTACT FORD & GET BACK WITH US. WE RESEARCHED THIS PROBLEM & SAW IN THE PAST THAT THIS HAS HAPPENED. FORD MADE THE DECISION, IT WAS SOMETHING WE DID & WE THEREFORE HAD TO TURN IT INTO OUR INSURANCE & WE HAD TO PAY THE DEDUCTIBLE. WE BELIEVE FORD SHOULD HAVE COVERED THIS DAMAGE, NOT OUR INSURANCE COMPANY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/1/2015 - CALDWELL, ID
ON DECEMBER 20, 2014 AT APPROXIMATELY 3:30 PM WE WERE DRIVING ON I15 - INTO SALT LAKE CITY - 19 MILES SOUTH OF I-80. PASSENGER MOON ROOF SHATTERED WITH A LOUD BANG! SOUNDED LIKE AN EXPLOSION. IT RAISED UP THE GLASS ON THE OUTSIDE OF THE CAR. THE TEMPERATURE WAS 41 DEGREES OUTSIDE & 71 DEGREES INSIDE CARE. MY HUSBAND & I WERE THE ONLY PEOPLE IN THE CAR. WE WERE IN 5-6 LANES OF TRAFFIC & DID NOT STOP UNTIL WE GOT OFF THE HIGHWAY. RAIN WAS COMING SO WE TOOK PICTURES WITH OUR CAMERA & I PHONE & TAPED UP THE ROOF OVER THE CRACKS & COVERED IT WITH A TARP. WE RETURNED TO BOISE AREA THE FOLLOWING DAY. WE PARKED IT IN OUR GARAGE UNTIL WE COULD DELIVER THE CAR TO LITHIA FORD IN BOISE ON 12/22/14. (WE PURCHASED IT FROM LITHIA FORD) THE SERVICE TECH SAID HE THOUGHT IT WOULD BE COVERED BY WARRANTY BUT WOULD HAVE TO CONTACT FORD & GET BACK WITH US. WE RESEARCHED THIS PROBLEM & SAW IN THE PAST THAT THIS HAS HAPPENED. FORD MADE THE DECISION, IT WAS SOMETHING WE DID & WE THEREFORE HAD TO TURN IT INTO OUR INSURANCE & WE HAD TO PAY THE DEDUCTIBLE. WE BELIEVE FORD SHOULD HAVE COVERED THIS DAMAGE, NOT OUR INSURANCE COMPANY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/26/2015 - TEMPLE HILLS, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE CONTACT WAS UNSURE ABOUT WHAT PART NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED DUE TO THE PARTS NOT BEING AVAILABLE TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V597000 (AIR BAGS). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/25/2015 - GLADYS, VA
BACK IN AUG. 2014 I GOT A RECALL - 14S17 OCT. 2014 GOT A RECALL - 14S21 I HAVE BEEN CALLING OUR FORD DEALER EACH MONTH AND THEY STILL DON'T HAVE THE PARTS. SO I CONTINUE TO GET A CARD FROM FORD REMINDING ME OF THE RECALL AND TO CONTACT THE FORD DEALER TODAY. WELL THEN, WHY DON'T THE FORD DEALERS HAVE THE PARTS.

View Details

ENGINE

2/25/2015 - GLADYS, VA
BACK IN AUG. 2014 I GOT A RECALL - 14S17 OCT. 2014 GOT A RECALL - 14S21 I HAVE BEEN CALLING OUR FORD DEALER EACH MONTH AND THEY STILL DON'T HAVE THE PARTS. SO I CONTINUE TO GET A CARD FROM FORD REMINDING ME OF THE RECALL AND TO CONTACT THE FORD DEALER TODAY. WELL THEN, WHY DON'T THE FORD DEALERS HAVE THE PARTS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 33
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds