Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2013 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 835 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (37) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (86) Steering (64) Unknown Or Other (57)
Electrical System (150) Exterior Lighting (8) Seat Belts (25) Structure (54) Vehicle Speed Control (44)
Electronic Stability Control (13) Fuel Propulsion System (60) Seats (5) Suspension (12) Visibility (7)
Engine (383) Fuel System Gasoline (19) Service Brakes (29) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (18)
Engine And Engine Cooling (16) Latches Locks Linkages (46) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (9)
Equipment (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 91
 
ComplaintDescription

WHEELS

2/14/2018 - OAKMONT, PA
MY CAR WAS RECENTLY INSPECTED AND IT REQUIRED ALL NEW LUG NUTS GO GET THE TIRES OFF TO CHECK THE BRAKES. I HAVE NEVER HEARD OF LUG NUTS RUSTING AND HAVING TO BE REPLACED. I HAVE FOUND OUT THAT SEVERAL FORDS HAVE HAD TO HAVE THEM REPLACED. I HAD A FLAT TIRE LAST FALL. WHEN AAA CAME, THEY COULD NOT GET THE LUG NUTS OFF THE WHEEL. THEY HAD TO POUND IT OFF SO I COULD GET A TIRE ON IT. THIS DOES NOT SOUND FAIR TO HAVE TO PAY $133.00 FOR 20 NEW LUG NUTS - IT SOUNDS LIKE A DEFECT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/14/2018 - ORLANDO, FL
MY CAR WILL SUDDENLY LOSE ACCELERATION WHILE DRIVING. THE ENGINE DOES NOT SHUT OFF, SIMPLY THE GAS PEDAL DOES NOT WORK, EVEN IN NEUTRAL. I DRIFT TO SIDE OF ROAD, RESTART THE CAR AND IT IS OK. REVERSE WORKS FINE WHEN THIS HAPPENS.

View Details

ENGINE

2/13/2018 - DILLSBURG, PA
VEHICLES LOW COOLANT LIGHT CAME ON THE VEHICLE 12/26/17. VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN A NON-FORD MECHANIC AND ON 12/27 THE WATER PUMP, COOLANT BYPASS VALVES, AND GASKETS AND SEALS WERE REPLACED DUE TO A LEAK. ONE MONTH LATER, WHILE DRIVING, THE VEHICLE HAD THE WARNING COME ON FOR OVERHEATING AND THE VEHICLE BEGAN TO REDUCE SPEED. WE WERE ABLE TO GET THE VEHICLE HOME, CHECKED THE COOLANT RESERVOIR AND IT WAS LOW. I FILLED THE VEHICLE WITH COOLANT AND RETURNED TO THE MECHANIC. THIS TIME THEY FOUND A LEAK IN A HEATER CORE HOSE AND THAT WAS REPLACED. ON 2/10/18, THE WARNING LIGHT FOR LOW COOLANT CAME ON AGAIN. THE COOLANT LEVEL WAS BELOW THE MINIMUM LINE. VEHICLE WAS RETURNED TO THE MECHANIC AND THEY COULD FIND NO VISIBLE LEAKS. THEY LET THE CAR RUN FOR 15 MINUTES AND FOUND THAT THE FREEZE OUT PLUGS ON THE HEADS WERE DAMP; NO REPAIRS WERE MADE AND THEY SAID TO CONTACT FORD. I CALLED FORD ON 2/13/18 ABOUT THE ISSUES, SINCE NUMEROUS OTHER 2013 ESCAPES WERE INVOLVED IN RECALLS AND THEY SAID YOUR VEHICLE ISN+T APART OF THAT RECALL AND IT+S OUT OF WARRANTY, TO BAD. THE ISSUE HASN+T BEEN RESOLVED. IN THE PAST 2 MONTHS I+VE BEEN FILLING THE COOLANT EVERY OTHER WEEK. THE VEHICLE ONLY HAD 61,960 MILES WHEN THIS STARTED TO OCCUR.

View Details

FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE: STORAGE: TANK ASSEMBLY: FILLER PIPE AND CAP

2/13/2018 - RICHLAND CENTER, WI
2013 FORD ESCAPE. CONSUMER WRITES SEEKING REIMBURSEMENT FOR VEHICLE REPAIRS.

View Details

ENGINE

2/8/2018 - LENOIR CITY, TN
CAR BATTERY OR ALTERNATOR LIGHT CAME ON RED LIGHT IN BOTTOM RIGHT OF CONSOLE, THEN IMMEDIATELY EXCLAMATION POINT CAME ON WITH MESSAGE ENGINE OVERHEATING STOP SAFELY. WHEN I HAD ONLY DRIVEN 1 1/2 ON A CITY STREET. THE MESSAGE CAME ON WHEN I SLOWED DOWN TO STOP AT A STOP LIGHT. I PULLED INTO A PARKING LOT AND AS SOON AS I SLOWED DOWN TO STOP STEERING WHEEL LOCKED AND IT TURNED OFF. EVEN 3 HOURS OF SITTING WHEN I TURN THE KEY TO ACCESSORY OVERHEAT LIGHT AND MESSAGE APPEARED AS WELL AS WHEN THE TOW TRUCK DROPPED IT OFF AT THE FORD DEALERSHIP. THERE IS A RECALL ON 2013 FORD ESCAPE 1.6 SE FOR THIS PROBLEM BUT THEY TELL ME MINE ISN'T PART OF THE RECALL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/6/2018 - ERIE, PA
1. ENGINE STANDPIPE FAULTY, WHICH CAUSES THE FORD ESCAPE SEL TO GO INTO CRAWL MODE AND THEN YOU HAVE TO STOP AND LEAVES YOU STRANDED. THE DASHBOARD ENGINE THERMOMETER READS FULLY HOT. THIS HAPPENED IN MOTION ON MY WAY TO WORK DURING WINTER IN ERIE PA, THE SNOW HEADQUARTERS. 2. BATTERY GOES DEAD INTERMITTENTLY AND LEAVES YOU STRANDED.

View Details

ENGINE

2/6/2018 - ERIE, PA
1. ENGINE STANDPIPE FAULTY, WHICH CAUSES THE FORD ESCAPE SEL TO GO INTO CRAWL MODE AND THEN YOU HAVE TO STOP AND LEAVES YOU STRANDED. THE DASHBOARD ENGINE THERMOMETER READS FULLY HOT. THIS HAPPENED IN MOTION ON MY WAY TO WORK DURING WINTER IN ERIE PA, THE SNOW HEADQUARTERS. 2. BATTERY GOES DEAD INTERMITTENTLY AND LEAVES YOU STRANDED.

View Details

WHEELS

2/3/2018 - HOOVER, AL
WE HAD A FLAT TIRE HOWEVER WHEN GOING TO CHANGE IT THE LUG WRENCH THAT WAS SUPPLIED WITH THE CAR WOULD NOT FIT ON THE LIG NUTS. CALLED THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY TOLD US IT WAS A 19MM WHICH WE PURCHASED AND THEAT DIDN+T WORK. WE THEN PURCHASED A 3/4+ SOCKET WHICH WOULDN+T WORK EITHER AND HAD TO BE DRIVEN ON WITH A HAMMER TO TURN THE LUGS AND IT DEFORMED THE LIGS TO A POIBT THEY WILL HAVE TO BE REPLACED. MY 20 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER WAS PUT IN A POSITION WHERE SHE COULDN+T MAKE A SIMPLE TIRE CHAMGE WITH HER BOYFRIENDS HELP. I SPEND MONEY AND SEVERAL HOURS (3 PLUS ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE WHO COULD NOT GET THE LUG NUTS LOOSE. MY DAUGHTER WAS PUT IN DANGER BY POORLY DESIGNED EQUIPMENT AND I HAVE SPENT $50.00 AND SEVERAL HOURS ON A PROBLEM THAT SHOULD AHVE TAKEN 20 MINUTES HAD THE EQUIPMENT AND LUG NUTS HAD BEEN PROPERLY DESIGNED. I KNOW THAT THIS PROBLEM EXISTS ON SEVERAL FORD VEHICLES AND SHOULD BE ADRESSED BY THE MANUFACTURER WITH LUG NUTS MADE OF AN APPROPRIATE ALLOY, AND A LUG WRENCH THAT WILL ACTUALLY REMOVE THE NITS IN AN EMERGENCY. IF SOMETHING HAD HAPPENED TO MY DAUGHTER BECAUSE SHE WAS EXPOSED FOR LONGER THAN SHPULD BE REWUIRED FORD WOULD HAVE HAD A LAWSUIT IN ABOUT TEN MINUTES...

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/3/2018 - NORFOLK, VA
FOR THE LAST TEN MONTHS OR SO, MY VEHICLE HAS BEEN STALLING WHEN PULLING OUT AFTER STARTING (IN BOTH HOT AND COLD ENGINE SITUATIONS); ALMOST ALWAYS INTO TRAFFIC. IT OCCURS AS SERIES OF 3 OR 4 CONSECUTIVE STALLS - HAS ALWAYS RESTARTED. THIS RANDOM STALLING HAS AND CONTINUES TO TAKE PLACE 3 - 6 TIMES A MONTH. THE CLOSEST CALL I EXPERIENCED WAS IN A LARGE ACTIVE PARKING LOT. I DO BELIEVE THIS HAS OFTEN OCCURRED TURNING OUT OF DRIVEWAYS AND PARKING LOTS. I HAVE ADDRESSED THIS WITH THE SAME FORD SERVICE DEPARTMENT ON AT LEAST FOUR OCCASIONS, ONCE HAVING IT TAKEN OVER NIGHT TO INVESTIGATE. ON ALL OCCASIONS, THE RESPONSE HAS BEEN "FAILURE TO REPRODUCE" THE PROBLEM. THE ON BOARD DIAGNOSTICS HAVE BEEN OF NO USE. AS I UNDERSTAND, 2013 (AMONG OTHER) ESCAPES HAVE BEEN RECALLED FOR THIS EXACT ISSUE BUT MY VIN IS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THREE DIFFERENT DRIVERS HAVE EXPERIENCED THESE STALLING EVENTS IN MY VEHICLE. WHAT DO I HAVE TO DO??

View Details

ENGINE

2/1/2018 - SAN DIEGO, CA
TAKATA RECALL. THE COMPUTER SYSTEM HAS RUN IRREGULARLY SINCE PURCHASE. THE VEHICLE STALLS WHEN BEING DRIVEN AFTER THE FIRST 10 MILES OR SO ON CITY STREETS. HAVE TO PULL TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, TURN KEY OFF, RESTART ENGINE... MAY REQUIRE SEVERAL TIMES BEFORE THE VEHICLE CAN PROCEED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 91
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds