Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2013 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 464 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (32) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (51) Steering (20) Unknown Or Other (23)
Electrical System (99) Exterior Lighting (8) Seat Belts (18) Structure (30) Vehicle Speed Control (30)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Fuel Propulsion System (26) Seats (3) Suspension (8) Visibility (5)
Engine (223) Fuel System Gasoline (16) Service Brakes (23) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (8)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Latches Locks Linkages (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (5)
Equipment (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 53
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/21/2016 - AUSTIN, TX
A WARNING INDICATOR WILL APPEAR ON THE DASH STATING "ENGINE MALFUNCTION SERVICE NOW". THE CAR SHUDDERS, JERKS, HESITATES AND CAN STALL WHEN THE THROTTLE IS PUSHED. PULLING OVER, POWERING THE CAR DOWN, AND TURNING IT BACK ON SEEMS TO TEMPORARILY RESOLVE IT. ISSUE MAY BE ASSOCIATED WITH HIGH TEMPERATURES SINCE THIS WAS SERVICED IN AUGUST OF 2016. AFTER 5 TRIPS TO THE DEALER WITH REPAIRS RELATED TO THE WIRING HARNESS, I WAS TOLD IT WAS RESOLVED. THE PROBLEM HAS RECURRED STARTING IN JUNE OF THIS YEAR. WENT TO THE FORD DEALER AGAIN AND THEY FAILED TO DIAGNOSE. DROVE IT TO THE DEALER IN FAILURE MODE WITH WARNING DISPLAYED TO PROVE THERE IS AN ISSUE. THIS HAPPENS WHEN IN MOTION. I HAVE VIDEO OF THE ERROR DISPLAY.

View Details

ENGINE

7/21/2016 - AUSTIN, TX
A WARNING INDICATOR WILL APPEAR ON THE DASH STATING "ENGINE MALFUNCTION SERVICE NOW". THE CAR SHUDDERS, JERKS, HESITATES AND CAN STALL WHEN THE THROTTLE IS PUSHED. PULLING OVER, POWERING THE CAR DOWN, AND TURNING IT BACK ON SEEMS TO TEMPORARILY RESOLVE IT. ISSUE MAY BE ASSOCIATED WITH HIGH TEMPERATURES SINCE THIS WAS SERVICED IN AUGUST OF 2016. AFTER 5 TRIPS TO THE DEALER WITH REPAIRS RELATED TO THE WIRING HARNESS, I WAS TOLD IT WAS RESOLVED. THE PROBLEM HAS RECURRED STARTING IN JUNE OF THIS YEAR. WENT TO THE FORD DEALER AGAIN AND THEY FAILED TO DIAGNOSE. DROVE IT TO THE DEALER IN FAILURE MODE WITH WARNING DISPLAYED TO PROVE THERE IS AN ISSUE. THIS HAPPENS WHEN IN MOTION. I HAVE VIDEO OF THE ERROR DISPLAY.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: DOORS: LATCH

7/18/2016 - HOLIDAY, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 5 MPH, THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE DOOR FLEW OPEN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE LATCH FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 67,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/11/2016 - CUMBRLAND, RI
VEHICLE SHUT OFF WHILE GETTING ON THE HIGHWAY TRAVELING AT ABOUT 25 MPH. IT WOULD NOT RESTART, HAD TO BE TOWED TO NEAREST FORD DEALER. FAILURE WAS DUE TO ELECTRICAL HARNESS SHORTING WIRE. THERE ARE A COUPLE OF RECALLS FOR THIS SAME ISSUE ON ESCAPES BUT I AM TOLD MY VEHICLE ISN'T ONE OF THE RECALLS, DESPITE BEING THE SAME PROBLEM

View Details

ENGINE

7/1/2016 - CINCINNATI, OH
THE CAR WOULD OCCASIONALLY LOOSE POWER. IT WOULD STALL OUT SOON AFTER STARTING THE CAR AND PUTTING THE CAR IN DRIVE. I THOUGHT PERHAPS I WAS ACCELERATING TOO SOON AFTER STARTING THE CAR. I WOULD START THE CAR THEN WAIT A FEW SECONDS. THE CAR STILL STALLED WHILE IN MOTION. SEVERAL TIMES I HAD TO STEER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD TO RESTART THE CAR. I'M LUCKY NO ONE WAS CLOSE BEHIND ME. THE LAST TIME IT STALLED, I WAS ON A BUSY CITY STREET. I HAD JUST PICKED MY SON UP FROM SUMMER CAMP. THE CAR STALLED AS I MERGED INTO TRAFFIC AFTER LEAVING THE PARKING LOT. THE CAR STOPPED RUNNING WITH NO WARNING. THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON AND STAYED ON. THE DEALERSHIP SAYS ITS THE SCENSOR THAT IS NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY. MY CAR HAS BEEN IN THE SHOP FOR 8 DAYS NOW AND I STILL DON'T HAVE IT BACK. IT SEEMS LIKE MORE THAN JUST A SCENSOR ISSUE TO HAVE IT THAT LONG. I AM IN A RENTAL VEHICLE UNTIL REPAIRS ARE COMPLETE. THIS HAS BEEN COSTLY EVEN THOUGH I WAS GIVEN A DISCOUNT BY THE DEALERSHIP ON CAR RENTAL. I HAD NO CHOICE TO RENT A CAR. I WAS ATTENDING A FAMILY REUNION OUT OF TOWN JUNE 23RD THRU JUNE 26TH. I COULDN'T RISK DRIVING MY CAR PUTTING MY FAMILY AND MYSELF IN DANGER ON THE HIGHWAY..

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/30/2016 - PITTSBURGH, PA
I WAS DRIVING OUT OF A MOUNTAINOUS ROAD AND ALL OF A SUDDEN, NO WARNING LIGHTS, NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHTS, NOTHING, THE POWER BRAKES WENT. I WAS ABLE TO STOP BY USING THE HYDRAULIC SYSTEM WITH BOTH FEET TROMPING DOWN ON THE BRAKE PEDAL. I HAVE TAKEN MY CAR TO THE FORD DEALER AND THEY SAID THAT IT WAS THE VACUUM POWER ASSIST CONTRAPTION THAT WAS DEFECTIVE. I HAVEN'T GOTTEN MY CAR BACK (9 DAYS NOW) BECAUSE THEY ARE SAYING THAT THE ENGINE DOES NOT FUNCTION PROPERLY NOW AND THAT IS ISN'T THE 'FAULT' OF THE VACUUM POWER ASSIST DEVICE MALFUNCTIONING.

View Details

ENGINE

6/28/2016 - TOTOWA, NJ
PURCHASED USED 2013 FORD ESCAPE VEHICLE WITH APPROXIMATELY 33K MILES IN OCTOBER OF 2014. PURCHASED EXTENDED WARRANTY AS WARRANTY WAS DUE TO EXPIRE AT 36K MILES. A WEEK OR TWO AFTER PURCHASE, CAR STALLED. IN THE SHOP IT WENT. SEVERAL MONTHS LATER CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. IN THE SHOP IT WENT AGAIN. MULTIPLE TIMES LATER CAR HAS BEEN IN THE SHOP AGAIN FOR SAME "CHECK ENGINE LIGHT" FOR 2-3 WEEKS AT A TIME; TRANSMISSION REPLACED TWICE. THE CAR WAS BACK IN SHOP AGAIN LAST WEEK FOR SAME ISSUE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT THIS TIME DEALER CLAIMS PURGE VALVE ISSUE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/28/2016 - TOTOWA, NJ
PURCHASED USED 2013 FORD ESCAPE VEHICLE WITH APPROXIMATELY 33K MILES IN OCTOBER OF 2014. PURCHASED EXTENDED WARRANTY AS WARRANTY WAS DUE TO EXPIRE AT 36K MILES. A WEEK OR TWO AFTER PURCHASE, CAR STALLED. IN THE SHOP IT WENT. SEVERAL MONTHS LATER CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. IN THE SHOP IT WENT AGAIN. MULTIPLE TIMES LATER CAR HAS BEEN IN THE SHOP AGAIN FOR SAME "CHECK ENGINE LIGHT" FOR 2-3 WEEKS AT A TIME; TRANSMISSION REPLACED TWICE. THE CAR WAS BACK IN SHOP AGAIN LAST WEEK FOR SAME ISSUE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT THIS TIME DEALER CLAIMS PURGE VALVE ISSUE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/28/2016 - TOTOWA, NJ
PURCHASED USED 2013 FORD ESCAPE VEHICLE WITH APPROXIMATELY 33K MILES IN OCTOBER OF 2014. PURCHASED EXTENDED WARRANTY AS WARRANTY WAS DUE TO EXPIRE AT 36K MILES. A WEEK OR TWO AFTER PURCHASE, CAR STALLED. IN THE SHOP IT WENT. SEVERAL MONTHS LATER CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. IN THE SHOP IT WENT AGAIN. MULTIPLE TIMES LATER CAR HAS BEEN IN THE SHOP AGAIN FOR SAME "CHECK ENGINE LIGHT" FOR 2-3 WEEKS AT A TIME; TRANSMISSION REPLACED TWICE. THE CAR WAS BACK IN SHOP AGAIN LAST WEEK FOR SAME ISSUE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT THIS TIME DEALER CLAIMS PURGE VALVE ISSUE.

View Details

ENGINE

6/27/2016 - VICKSBURG, MS
TAKATA RECALL. THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND SHUT OFF WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT COASTED THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND RESTARTED IT, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE BODY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN A RECALL; HOWEVER, THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V597000 (AIR BAGS, SEAT BELTS). THE FAILURE WAS NOT REMEDIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 55,000. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 53
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds