Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2013 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 729 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (36) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (78) Steering (54) Unknown Or Other (48)
Electrical System (135) Exterior Lighting (8) Seat Belts (22) Structure (50) Vehicle Speed Control (39)
Electronic Stability Control (10) Fuel Propulsion System (51) Seats (5) Suspension (11) Visibility (7)
Engine (324) Fuel System Gasoline (18) Service Brakes (28) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (16)
Engine And Engine Cooling (13) Latches Locks Linkages (43) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (6)
Equipment (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 81
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY: HATCHBACK/LIFTGATE

10/13/2017 - CORAL SPRINGS, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS OPERATED ON THE HIGHWAY, THE STEERING COLUMN SEIZED. IN ADDITION, THE LIFTGATE OPENED INDEPENDENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND DRIVEN TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE. THE STEERING ASSIST FAULT WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AUTONATION FORD MIAMI (16800 NW 57TH AVE, HIALEAH, FL) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ELECTRIC POWER STEERING AND RACK AND PINION WERE DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND PROVIDED CASE NUMBER: CAS 13322662. NO FURTHER ASSISTANCE WAS OFFERED. THE MANUFACTURER REFERRED THE CONTACT TO NHTSA DUE TO THEM STATING THAT THE FEDERAL AGENCY WAS RESPONSIBLE FOR ADDING RECALLS. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATLEY 63,606.

View Details

STEERING

10/13/2017 - CORAL SPRINGS, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS OPERATED ON THE HIGHWAY, THE STEERING COLUMN SEIZED. IN ADDITION, THE LIFTGATE OPENED INDEPENDENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS PULLED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND DRIVEN TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE. THE STEERING ASSIST FAULT WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AUTONATION FORD MIAMI (16800 NW 57TH AVE, HIALEAH, FL) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ELECTRIC POWER STEERING AND RACK AND PINION WERE DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND PROVIDED CASE NUMBER: CAS 13322662. NO FURTHER ASSISTANCE WAS OFFERED. THE MANUFACTURER REFERRED THE CONTACT TO NHTSA DUE TO THEM STATING THAT THE FEDERAL AGENCY WAS RESPONSIBLE FOR ADDING RECALLS. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATLEY 63,606.

View Details

ENGINE

10/10/2017 - THE WOODLANDS, TX
I WAS DRIVING ON A FREEWAY AT 65MPH AND THE ENGINE CUTS OUT TO AN IDLE. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. I ALMOST GOT REAR ENDED GETTING THE CAR OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD SINCE IT LOST ALL POWER. AFTER PULLING OVER I WAS ABLE TO START THE CAR AS THE LIGHT WENT OUT. THIS HAPPENED 3 MORE TIMES WHERE THE CAR WOULD CUT OUT TO A ROUGH IDLE, THESE OCCURRED WHILE I WAS ON CITY STREETS BUT ALMOST CAUSED 1 ACCIDENT AS IT CUT OUT. AFTER SHUTTING THE CAR OFF IT WOULD RESTART WITH NO ISSUE. THIS LAST TIME THE CAR HAD TO BE TOWED TO PLANET FORD TO BE REPAIRED. THEY SAID IT WAS A THROTTLE BODY ISSUE AND IT COST ME OVER 700 FOR THE REPAIR EVEN THOUGH IT IS STILL UNDER THE POWERTRAIN WARRANTY. I DO NOT SEE WHY THIS HAS NOT BEEN RECALLED DUE TO THE CAR BEING UNSAFE TO DRIVE AND I DO NOT KNOW WHY THE REPLACEMENT OF THE PART ALONE WILL NOT CAUSE FURTHER STALLS OF THIS VEHICLE. I HAVE FOUND OTHER PEOPLE WITH THE SAME ISSUE WHERE THE CAR GOES INTO "LIMP HOME" MODE. I AM CURRENTLY HAVING THE CAR REPAIRED OR I WOULD BE ABLE TO ATTACH THE INVOICE FOR THE THROTTLE BODY REPAIR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/10/2017 - THE WOODLANDS, TX
I WAS DRIVING ON A FREEWAY AT 65MPH AND THE ENGINE CUTS OUT TO AN IDLE. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. I ALMOST GOT REAR ENDED GETTING THE CAR OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD SINCE IT LOST ALL POWER. AFTER PULLING OVER I WAS ABLE TO START THE CAR AS THE LIGHT WENT OUT. THIS HAPPENED 3 MORE TIMES WHERE THE CAR WOULD CUT OUT TO A ROUGH IDLE, THESE OCCURRED WHILE I WAS ON CITY STREETS BUT ALMOST CAUSED 1 ACCIDENT AS IT CUT OUT. AFTER SHUTTING THE CAR OFF IT WOULD RESTART WITH NO ISSUE. THIS LAST TIME THE CAR HAD TO BE TOWED TO PLANET FORD TO BE REPAIRED. THEY SAID IT WAS A THROTTLE BODY ISSUE AND IT COST ME OVER 700 FOR THE REPAIR EVEN THOUGH IT IS STILL UNDER THE POWERTRAIN WARRANTY. I DO NOT SEE WHY THIS HAS NOT BEEN RECALLED DUE TO THE CAR BEING UNSAFE TO DRIVE AND I DO NOT KNOW WHY THE REPLACEMENT OF THE PART ALONE WILL NOT CAUSE FURTHER STALLS OF THIS VEHICLE. I HAVE FOUND OTHER PEOPLE WITH THE SAME ISSUE WHERE THE CAR GOES INTO "LIMP HOME" MODE. I AM CURRENTLY HAVING THE CAR REPAIRED OR I WOULD BE ABLE TO ATTACH THE INVOICE FOR THE THROTTLE BODY REPAIR.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/10/2017 - THE WOODLANDS, TX
I WAS DRIVING ON A FREEWAY AT 65MPH AND THE ENGINE CUTS OUT TO AN IDLE. THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. I ALMOST GOT REAR ENDED GETTING THE CAR OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD SINCE IT LOST ALL POWER. AFTER PULLING OVER I WAS ABLE TO START THE CAR AS THE LIGHT WENT OUT. THIS HAPPENED 3 MORE TIMES WHERE THE CAR WOULD CUT OUT TO A ROUGH IDLE, THESE OCCURRED WHILE I WAS ON CITY STREETS BUT ALMOST CAUSED 1 ACCIDENT AS IT CUT OUT. AFTER SHUTTING THE CAR OFF IT WOULD RESTART WITH NO ISSUE. THIS LAST TIME THE CAR HAD TO BE TOWED TO PLANET FORD TO BE REPAIRED. THEY SAID IT WAS A THROTTLE BODY ISSUE AND IT COST ME OVER 700 FOR THE REPAIR EVEN THOUGH IT IS STILL UNDER THE POWERTRAIN WARRANTY. I DO NOT SEE WHY THIS HAS NOT BEEN RECALLED DUE TO THE CAR BEING UNSAFE TO DRIVE AND I DO NOT KNOW WHY THE REPLACEMENT OF THE PART ALONE WILL NOT CAUSE FURTHER STALLS OF THIS VEHICLE. I HAVE FOUND OTHER PEOPLE WITH THE SAME ISSUE WHERE THE CAR GOES INTO "LIMP HOME" MODE. I AM CURRENTLY HAVING THE CAR REPAIRED OR I WOULD BE ABLE TO ATTACH THE INVOICE FOR THE THROTTLE BODY REPAIR.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/6/2017 - FLORENCE, AL
I WAS GOING DOWN THE ROAD, MY BATTERY LIGHT CAME ON THEN MY ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON THEN IT STARTED BEEPING AND SAID MY ENGINE WAS OVER HEATING. GOT PULLED OVER AND HAD TO GET IT TOWED. CAR WOULD START BUT WOULD NOT MOVE. MECHANIC TOLD ME THE WATER PUMP LOCKED UP AND BROKE A BELT. I HAVE READ NUMEROUS COMMENTS OF PEOPLE THAT THIS HAS HAPPENED TO. THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL ON THIS

View Details

ENGINE

10/6/2017 - FLORENCE, AL
I WAS GOING DOWN THE ROAD, MY BATTERY LIGHT CAME ON THEN MY ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON THEN IT STARTED BEEPING AND SAID MY ENGINE WAS OVER HEATING. GOT PULLED OVER AND HAD TO GET IT TOWED. CAR WOULD START BUT WOULD NOT MOVE. MECHANIC TOLD ME THE WATER PUMP LOCKED UP AND BROKE A BELT. I HAVE READ NUMEROUS COMMENTS OF PEOPLE THAT THIS HAS HAPPENED TO. THERE SHOULD BE A RECALL ON THIS

View Details

ENGINE

10/4/2017 - RUNNING SPRINGS, CA
CAR CONTINUOUSLY OVERHEATS. HAVE HAD IT TO 2 DIFFERENT MECHANICS THEY CANNOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG. NO LEAKS, NO BAD HOSES. HAD PAID ABOUT 500.00 TO CITRUS FORD OF ONTARIO FOR A CROSSOVER VALVE TO STOP THE OVER HEATING. NOT YET CORRECTED. OVER HEATED TODAY 10/4/17 WHILE MOVING ABOUT A HALF MILE FROM WHERE I LEFT IN A MATTER OF 5 MINUTES. I READ OF A RECALL ON THE SAME MODEL OF HAVING COOLING ISSUES BUT MY VIN EVIDENTLY DOESN'T FALL WITHIN THE PARAMETERS. OTHERWISE UNKNOWN REASON WHY IT IS OVER HEATING

View Details

ENGINE

10/3/2017 - LAKE, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED. NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT COASTED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE CONTACT CALLED THE DEALER WHERE THE VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED FROM ALBION MOTORS FORD LOCATED IN ALBION MICHIGAN AND WAS ADVISED TO BRING THE VEHICLE IN TO THE NEAREST FORD DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER LA FONTAINE FORD IN GLADWIN MICHIGAN THAT DETERMINED THAT THE VEHICLE HAD EXPERIENCED AN ENGINE FAILURE AND NEEDED A NEW ENGINE. THE MANUFACTURER SENT AN INVESTIGATOR FROM HEADQUARTERS, WHO EVALUATED THE VEHICLE AND DIAGNOSED THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE AS A FRACTURED SERPENTINE VALVE AND GOT CUT BETWEEN CRANK CASE AND MOTOR CAUSING FOR THE ENGINE TO SEIZED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND CASE WAS FILED NUMBER: CAS13226467. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 83,000.

View Details

ENGINE

10/3/2017 - PIEDMONT, SC
2013 ESCAPE DEVELOPED COOLANT LEAK. I SAW ONLINE WHERE THIS PROBLEM WAS A RECALL. WHEN I TOOK IT IN TO THE DEALERSHIP THEY INFORMED ME THAT EVEN THOUGH MINE HAS THE SAME PROBLEM MY VIN# IS NOT INCLUDED IN THIS RECALL! IF FORD MOTOR COMPANY KNOWS THEY HAVE THIS PROBLEM WITH THIS VEHICLE WHY ARE THEY NOT ALL COVERED? HOW MANY HAVE TO CATCH FIRE? ALSO, THEY ALSO TELL ME I HAVE AN OIL LEAK IN THE TURBO. I HAVE NEVER SEEN ANY EVIDENCE OF AN OIL LEAK IN THIS VEHICLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 81
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds