Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2013 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 319 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (24) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (35) Steering (14) Unknown Or Other (14)
Electrical System (63) Exterior Lighting (6) Seat Belts (10) Structure (22) Vehicle Speed Control (24)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (15) Seats (3) Suspension (4) Visibility (4)
Engine (164) Fuel System Gasoline (15) Service Brakes (15) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (5)
Equipment (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 37
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/19/2015 - CLIFFSIDE PARK , NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING AT 3 MPH, THE HORN AND EMERGENCY FLASHER INDEPENDENTLY ACTIVATED AND THE VEHICLE STALLED. IN ADDITION, POST CRASH WAS DISPLAYED ACROSS THE MESSAGE BOARD. THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER WHO WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSE OR REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 46,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/18/2015 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
WHEN STARTING, CAR SHOWS "ENGINE FAULT, SERVICE NOW" LIGHT. TOOK TO DEALERSHIP THREE TIMES, HAS NOT BEEN RESOLVED. RECENTLY, WHEN BRAKING FOR A STOP LIGHT, ENGINE FAULT REAPPEARED AND LOST ALL POWER TO THE TRANSMISSION. HUGE SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

ENGINE

6/18/2015 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
WHEN STARTING, CAR SHOWS "ENGINE FAULT, SERVICE NOW" LIGHT. TOOK TO DEALERSHIP THREE TIMES, HAS NOT BEEN RESOLVED. RECENTLY, WHEN BRAKING FOR A STOP LIGHT, ENGINE FAULT REAPPEARED AND LOST ALL POWER TO THE TRANSMISSION. HUGE SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/18/2015 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
WHEN STARTING, CAR SHOWS "ENGINE FAULT, SERVICE NOW" LIGHT. TOOK TO DEALERSHIP THREE TIMES, HAS NOT BEEN RESOLVED. RECENTLY, WHEN BRAKING FOR A STOP LIGHT, ENGINE FAULT REAPPEARED AND LOST ALL POWER TO THE TRANSMISSION. HUGE SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

ENGINE

6/18/2015 - GRAND BLANC, MI
ON THE COMMUTE TO WORK, THE VEHICLE WAS ON THE EXPRESSWAY GOING THE ALLOWED SPEED LIMIT OF 70 MILES PER HOUR, SUDDENLY THE DASHBOARD SENSOR LIGHT INDICATED TO "CHECK TRANSMISSION," THE VEHICLE IMMEDIATELY STALLED ON THE EXPRESSWAY. THIS VEHICLE HAS HAD MULTIPLE RECALLS DUE TO WIRING AND STALLING SINCE IT WAS PURCHASED NEW IN 2013. VEHICLE HAS BEEN TAKEN IN TO REPAIR RECALLS EVERY TIME LETTER WAS RECEIVED AND ABOVE STATED INCIDENT STILL OCCURRED, DESPITE VERY DILIGENT MAINTENNANCE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/11/2015 - NEWPORT NEWS, VA
THE FORD ESCAPE IS EQUIPPED WITH AN INTELLIGENT KEY SYSTEM. THIS KEY ALLOWS THE DRIVER TO UNLOCK THE CAR BY SIMPLY TOUCHING THE DOOR HANDLE. THE SYSTEM ALSO INCLUDES A FEATURE THAT PREVENTS THE DOORS FROM LOCKING OR UNLOCKS THE DOORS IMMEDIATELY IF KEYS ARE LEFT INSIDE THE CAR WITHOUT A DRIVER OR PASSENGER PRESENT. THIS OSTENSIBLY MAKES IT IMPOSSIBLE FOR A DRIVER TO LOCK THEIR KEYS INSIDE THE CAR. THE CAR ALSO INCLUDES A AUTO-LOCKING FEATURE THAT IS SUPPOSED TO LOCK ALL DOORS ONLY WHEN THE CAR IS IN DRIVE AND BEGINS MOVING ABOVE 5 MPH. ON THREE OCCASIONS, INCLUDING TODAY (6/11/2015) THIS SYSTEM HAS MALFUNCTIONED TO SUCH A DEGREE THAT ITS BEHAVIOR WAS THE EXACT OPPOSITE OF ITS INTENDED DESIGN AND IT BECAME A SAFETY HAZARD. EACH OCCASION HAS INVOLVED MY WIFE, WHO NATURALLY CARRIES THE KEYS IN HER PURSE OR BRIEFCASE. SHE HAS GOTTEN OUT OF THE CAR AND CLOSED THE DOOR WITHOUT LOCKING THE CAR MANUALLY. HER KEYS REMAINED IN HER BAG ON THE PASSENGER FLOORBOARD OR SEAT, WHILE SHE WALKED AROUND THE CAR TO RETRIEVE THEM OR TO GO TO RETRIEVE OUR SON OUT OF HIS CAR SEAT IN THE BACK. ON THESE OCCASIONS THE CAR HAS LOCKED ITSELF WITH THE KEYS INSIDE AS SOON AS SHE CLOSED HER DOOR AND SHE WAS NOT ABLE TO GET INTO THE CAR. THERE ARE TWO MAJOR FAILINGS OCCURRING. THE CARS SYSTEM IS SUPPOSED TO PREVENT THE LOCKING OF THE DOORS OR IMMEDIATELY UNLOCK THEM IF THE CAR IS PARKED AND IT FAILS TO DETECT A DRIVER IN THE SEAT. THE CAR HAS NO FUNCTIONALITY THAT AUTO LOCKS THE CAR WHEN IT IS OFF AND STATIONARY, YET IT IS DOING THIS. IF YOU GET OUT OF THE CAR WITHOUT THE KEYS AND CLOSE THE DOOR, IT WILL LOCK ITSELF. THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE BECAUSE IT HAS RESULTED IN MY SON GETTING LOCKED IN THE CAR IN THE HEAT. I WAS NEARBY, AND ABLE TO COME UNLOCK THE CAR, OTHERWISE WE WOULD HAVE HAD TO SMASH A WINDOW. FORD DEALERSHIPS HAVE BEEN UNABLE TO REPLICATE THIS INTERMITTENT PROBLEM

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: FOUNDATION COMPONENTS: DISC: ROTOR

6/9/2015 - BEAVER , PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR ROTORS WERE DETERIORATING PREMATURELY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE REAR ROTORS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 19,500.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/9/2015 - MORTON GROVE, IL
WHILE TRAVELING DOWN THE HIGHWAY IN PLOVER WISCONSIN, SMOKE BEGAN TO POUR INTO THE VEHICLE VIA THE FRONT VENTS. I LOOKED FORWARD AND SAW MASSIVE FLAMES COMING FROM UNDER MY HOOD. I QUICKLY PULLED OVER, SHUT THE VEHICLE OFF AND RAN. I CALL 911, WHERE IT TOOK 15 FIREMEN AND 500 GAL OF WATER TO PUT OUT THE 10FT FLAMES (SEE FIRE REPORT). THE ENTIRE FRONT END OF MY CAR HAS BEEN DESTROYED ALONG WITH ALL THE CONTENTS. THE FIRE BROKE THROUGH THE FIREWALL AND MELTED UNDERNEATH THE DASHBOARD. FRONT TIRES EXPLODED

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/9/2015 - MORTON GROVE, IL
WHILE TRAVELING DOWN THE HIGHWAY IN PLOVER WISCONSIN, SMOKE BEGAN TO POUR INTO THE VEHICLE VIA THE FRONT VENTS. I LOOKED FORWARD AND SAW MASSIVE FLAMES COMING FROM UNDER MY HOOD. I QUICKLY PULLED OVER, SHUT THE VEHICLE OFF AND RAN. I CALL 911, WHERE IT TOOK 15 FIREMEN AND 500 GAL OF WATER TO PUT OUT THE 10FT FLAMES (SEE FIRE REPORT). THE ENTIRE FRONT END OF MY CAR HAS BEEN DESTROYED ALONG WITH ALL THE CONTENTS. THE FIRE BROKE THROUGH THE FIREWALL AND MELTED UNDERNEATH THE DASHBOARD. FRONT TIRES EXPLODED

View Details

ENGINE

6/9/2015 - MORTON GROVE, IL
WHILE TRAVELING DOWN THE HIGHWAY IN PLOVER WISCONSIN, SMOKE BEGAN TO POUR INTO THE VEHICLE VIA THE FRONT VENTS. I LOOKED FORWARD AND SAW MASSIVE FLAMES COMING FROM UNDER MY HOOD. I QUICKLY PULLED OVER, SHUT THE VEHICLE OFF AND RAN. I CALL 911, WHERE IT TOOK 15 FIREMEN AND 500 GAL OF WATER TO PUT OUT THE 10FT FLAMES (SEE FIRE REPORT). THE ENTIRE FRONT END OF MY CAR HAS BEEN DESTROYED ALONG WITH ALL THE CONTENTS. THE FIRE BROKE THROUGH THE FIREWALL AND MELTED UNDERNEATH THE DASHBOARD. FRONT TIRES EXPLODED

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 37
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds