Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2013 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 296 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (20) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (33) Steering (12) Unknown Or Other (13)
Electrical System (57) Exterior Lighting (6) Seat Belts (7) Structure (21) Vehicle Speed Control (23)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (13) Seats (3) Suspension (4) Visibility (4)
Engine (152) Fuel System Gasoline (15) Service Brakes (15) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (5)
Equipment (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

2/6/2015 - LEHIGH ACRES, FL
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V597000 (AIR BAGS , SEAT BELTS) HOWEVER, IT WAS INFORMED THAT THE PART WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/2/2015 - OPELIKA, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE WENT INTO POWER SAVING MODE. THE VEHICLE'S SPEED REDUCED AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE ENGINE WAS SHUT OFF THEN RESTARTED, AND THE VEHICLE RESUMED NORMAL OPERATION. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MAT SENSOR WAS REPLACED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 25,000.

View Details

ENGINE

2/2/2015 - OPELIKA, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE WENT INTO POWER SAVING MODE. THE VEHICLE'S SPEED REDUCED AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE ENGINE WAS SHUT OFF THEN RESTARTED, AND THE VEHICLE RESUMED NORMAL OPERATION. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE MAT SENSOR WAS REPLACED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 25,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/1/2015 - DECATUR, IL
THE CAR HAS HID HEADLIGHTS. THESE LIGHTS USE A "SHUTTER" TO CUT OFF THE LIGHT ON "LOW BEAM". THE "SHUTTER" IS STUCK AND DOES NOT RAISE TO OBSCURE THE LAMP IN "LOW BEAM" LEAVING THE LAMP ON "HIGH BEAM" WHENEVER THE HEADLAMPS ARE ON. OUR ESCAPE HAS THIS PROBLEM ON THE DRIVERS SIDE RESULTING IN MANY FLASHES FROM ONCOMING DRIVERS. THIS IS A CLEAR SAFETY PROBLEM AS IT IMPAIRS THE VISION OF ONCOMING TRAFFIC AND WE HAVE NO CONTROL OVER IT. FORD WILL NOT RECOGNIZE THIS AS A SAFETY ISSUE. THEY WILL ONLY REPAIR IT IF IT FALLS IN THE 3 YR. 36,000 MILE WARRANTY. I HAVE FOUND INCIDENTS ON THE INTERNET GOING CLEAR BACK TO 2005 ON FORD FOCUS CARS WITH SAME PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE

1/30/2015 - UPPER MARLBORO, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE OVERHEATED AND STALLED. ADDITIONALLY, THE ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 38,000.

View Details

ENGINE

1/9/2015 - GIG HARBPR, WA
THIS IS AN INTERMITTENT POWER LOSS ISSUE ON A 2013 FORD ESCAPE PURCHASED ON DECEMBER 31, 2013. WE HAVE HAD THE ISSUE SINCE THAT DATE. AT SPEEDS UNDER 35MPH AND ALWAYS WHILE MAKING A TURN, THE VEHICLE LOSES ALL POWER AND MUST BE COASTED TO A SAFE SPOT, STOPPED, PUT INTO PARK, AND THEN TURNING THE KEY TO RESTART. THIS ISSUE HAPPENS 1-4 TIMES A WEEK DURING DAILY USE. WE HAVE TAKEN IT TO THE DEALER SHIP 3 TIMES. THE FIRST TWO TIMES I NOTIFIED THEM OF THE ISSUE VERBALLY, BUT SINCE IT DID NOT HAPPEN DURING THEIR TEST DRIVES, NOTHING WAS DONE OR NOTED. THIS LAST TIME, THE ISSUE OCCURRED ON DECEMBER 24, 2014, WHILE MAKING A LEFT HAND TURN THROUGH A CITY INTERSECTION THAT ALSO PUT THE VEHICLE ON A SLIGHT INCLINE, THE POWER WAS LOST, AND WE COULD NOT COAST TO SAFETY TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. ANOTHER VEHICLE HAD TO LOCK ITS BRAKES TO AVOID A COLLISION. ON JAN 2, 2015 I TOOK THE VEHICLE BACK TO LAKEWOOD FORD IN LAKEWOOD, WA WHERE IT WAS PURCHASED. THEY HAD THE VEHICLE FROM JAN 2 - JAN 9 2015. THEY TEST DROVE IT A TOTAL OF 26 MILES. THEY DID NOT USE A "FLIGHT RECORDER" TO CAPTURE ANY DATA. THE VEHICLE IS STILL UNDER WARRANTY AND I WILL BE TAKING IT TO EVERY FORD DEALERSHIP I CAN FIND UNTIL ONE OF THEM ACKNOWLEDGES AND REPAIRS THE ISSUE. I WILL ALSO BE RECORDING VIDEO OF THE ISSUE. THE CAMERA WILL CAPTURE THE INSTRUMENTATION AND ROAD.

View Details

WHEELS

12/19/2014 - ST CHARLES, IL
MY 16 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER WAS DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH ON RESIDENTIAL STREET HAVING JUST COMPLETE A LEFT TURN WHEN HER FRONT LEFT FRONT TIRE BLEW OUT CAUSING HER TO LOSE CONTROL OF HE CAR AND HIT THE CURB. THE COLLISION WITH THE CURB RESULTED IN DAMAGE TO THE FRONT LEFT RIM.THE TREADS ON TIRES APPEARED TO BE IN GOOD SHAPE THE CAR HAD ONLY 28,856 MILES ON IT AND THE VEHICLE WAS ONLY A YEAR OLD. WE PLACED ALL THE TIRES AFTER READING SIMILAR STORIES ABOUT CONTINENTAL TIRES ON THE INTERNET. I HAVE BEEN DRIVING FOR 32 YEARS AND HAVE VERY EXPERIENCED ANYTHING CLOSE TO THIS ON RELATIVELY NEW CAR/ TIRES.

View Details

TIRES

12/19/2014 - ST CHARLES, IL
MY 16 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER WAS DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH ON RESIDENTIAL STREET HAVING JUST COMPLETE A LEFT TURN WHEN HER FRONT LEFT FRONT TIRE BLEW OUT CAUSING HER TO LOSE CONTROL OF HE CAR AND HIT THE CURB. THE COLLISION WITH THE CURB RESULTED IN DAMAGE TO THE FRONT LEFT RIM.THE TREADS ON TIRES APPEARED TO BE IN GOOD SHAPE THE CAR HAD ONLY 28,856 MILES ON IT AND THE VEHICLE WAS ONLY A YEAR OLD. WE PLACED ALL THE TIRES AFTER READING SIMILAR STORIES ABOUT CONTINENTAL TIRES ON THE INTERNET. I HAVE BEEN DRIVING FOR 32 YEARS AND HAVE VERY EXPERIENCED ANYTHING CLOSE TO THIS ON RELATIVELY NEW CAR/ TIRES.

View Details

STEERING

12/16/2014 - FARMINGTON, MI
AFTER RUNNING 15 MILES, VEHICLE WAS SHUT OFF 10 MINS, ON RESTART A CHIME SOUNDED AND THE INFORMATION CENTER INDICATED SERVICE STEERING ASSIST, ATTEMPTED TO TURN WHEEL AND HAD NO POWER STEERING. TURNED OFF AND RESTARTED CAR, INFORMATION CENTER WAS CLEAR, POWER STEERING WORKED FINE. LOSS OF POWER STEERING IS OF COURSE AN UNSAFE VEHICLE CONDITION. CONTACTED FORD DEALER THAT SOLD ME THE CAR USED, TO SEE IF THERE WAS A SOFTWARE UPDATE OF OTHER RELATED ISSUE, HE CHECKED AND SAID THERE WAS NONE AT THIS TIME FOR POWER STEERING. IT WOULD SEEM I HAVE NO RECOURSE, AND WOULD ONLY SPEND MONEY AT THE DEALER FOR NO TROUBLE FOUND. I PLAN TO CHECK FOR STORED CODES, AND CONTACT FORD CONSUMER COMPLAINTS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/16/2014 - ZIMMERMAN, MN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V597000 (AIR BAGS, SEAT BELTS) HOWEVER, THE PART WAS UNAVAILABLE TO PERFORM THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 21,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds