Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2013 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 258 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (29) Steering (9) Unknown Or Other (11)
Electrical System (51) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (5) Structure (16) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (10) Seats (2) Suspension (4) Visibility (4)
Engine (135) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Service Brakes (14) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (3)
Equipment (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

10/7/2014 - GRANADA HILLS, CA
THERE WAS A SUDDEN LOSS OF STEERING CONTROL AND A VERY LARGE INCREASE IN STEERING EFFORT AS IF THE CAR HAD BEEN TURNED OFF AND THERE WAS NO POWER STEERING BOOST. IT BECAME EXCEEDINGLY DIFFICULT TO TURN THE WHEEL AND CONTROL THE VEHICLE. I MANAGED TO SLOW DOWN AND MAKE MY WAY TO THE SHOULDER WHERE I TURNED OFF THE CAR AND RESTARTED IT, WHICH CLEARED THE PROBLEM. THIS HAS NOW HAPPENED THREE DIFFERENT TIMES IN A SIMILAR MANNER. FORD SERVICE HAS INDICATED THAT CAN FIND NOTHING WRONG... THIS IS EXTREMELY SERIOUS AND UNDER SOME CIRCUMSTANCES, THE LOSS OF CONTROL COULD CAUSE AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

SEATS

10/5/2014 - LOGANVILLE, GA
I AM NOR SURE IF THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE, BUT THIS VEHICLE HAS 3 MEMORY SEAT SETTINGS. THE PROBLEM IS IT CONTINUALLY LOOSES THE MEMORY SETTINGS. I AM CONCERNED BECAUSE I HAVE BROUGHT IT TO FORD SEVERAL TIMES AND THEY CAN'T FIND A PROBLEM. I AM NOT SURE IF THIS THING CAN RESET, MOVE OR DO SOMETHING ELSE AS I AM DRIVING. MY VEHICLE IS JUST NOW OUT OF WARRANTY, BUT THIS PROBLEM STARTED SEVERAL MONTHS AGO AND HAS BEEN BROUGHT TO FORD'S ATTENTION WHILE STILL IN WARRANTY. TO CLARIFY, I AM A BIG FORD FAN, I LOVE THIS VEHICLE AND THE FORD DEALERSHIP I FREQUENT IS VERY PROFESSIONAL AND TREATS ME WITH THE UTMOST RESPECT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/4/2014 - CARY, NC
NUMEROUS FAULTS WITH RADIO AND SYNC SYSTEM. THE RADIO WILL COME ON BY ITSELF AND WILL NOT SHUT OFF. THIS USUALLY OCCURS WHEN A CELL PHONE IS IN USE AND CONNECTS OR DISCONNECTS VIA BLUETOOTH WHEN THE CAR IS STARTED OR TURNED OFF. THE RADIO WILL NOT TURN OFF EVEN AFTER THE ENGINE IS TURNED OFF AND THE DOORS ARE OPENED, AND REMAIN ON EVEN IF I LOCK THE CAR. I WENT INSIDE A STORE NOT HAVING LEFT ANY RADIO ON OR ANYTHING, CAME OUT AND HE BATTERY WAS DEAD. I GOT A JUMP START AND THE RADIO CAME ON WHEN THE CAR STARTED FROM BEING JUMPED. EVIDENTLY SYNC TURNED ON THE RADIO. THIS HAS CAUSED ME TO BE LEFT WITH A DEAD BATTERY ON TWO OCCASIONS. I AM TAKING IT TO THE DEALER ON MONDAY, THIS IS A SATURDAY EVENING.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING: EXHAUST SYSTEM: EMISSION CONTROL: CATALYTIC CONVERTOR

10/1/2014 - TOLEDO, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS HAVING REGULAR MAINTENANCE PERFORMED, THE TECHNICIAN NOTIFIED THE CONTACT THAT THE HEAT SHIELD THAT GUARDED THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER DETACHED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT HE WAS CONCERNED THAT THE VEHICLE MAY CATCH ON FIRE DUE TO THE FAILURE. AS A RESULT, THE PRIVATE MECHANIC STATED THAT THE HEAT SHIELD NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 24,800. UPDATED 11/20/14

View Details

ENGINE

9/29/2014 - LAKEVILLE, MN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND THE SERVICE ENGINE AND ENGINE MALFUNCTION WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

9/25/2014 - SALINE, MI
I HAD A TIRE REPAIR FOR A NAIL IN AUG AT THE DEALERSHIP. SEPT 20TH RAN OVER A ROCK~ 8-10 IN ON THE DIRT ROAD AND SUSTAINED A FLAT TIRE. I HAD THE CAR TOED. SPARE APPLIED, BOUGHT 2 NEW FRONT TIRES AND WAS TOLD THAT THE LEFT REAR SHOCK WAS TOTALLY TORN OFF NEAR THE TOP, THIS WORK WAS DONE AT BELLE TIRE WHO ADVISED ME TO TAKE TO THE DEALERSHIP AS IT APPEARED TO HAVE FROZEN UP TO HAVE CAUSED THAT MUCH DAMAGE AND SHOULD BE UNDER MY WARRANTY. ALSO, I HAD NOT BEEN IN ANY ACCIDENTS. FORD TOLD ME THAT THE TECHNICIAN DID NOT FEEL THAT IT WAS DEFECTIVE. READING THAT THERE HAVE BEEN PROBLEMS WITH REAR SUSPENSION MOUNTS I QUESTION WHETHER THE MOUNT PROBLEM COULD HAVE CONTRIBUTED TO THE SHOCK BRAKING.

View Details

ENGINE

9/23/2014 - HAMLTON, NJ
FOLLOWING SERVICE PERFORMED FOR RECALLS FOR POSSIBLE COOLANT LEAK / ENGINE FIRE, ENGINE FAULT CODES FOR LOW COOLANT BEGAN TO DISPLAY. VISUAL CONFIRMATION OF LOW COOLANT IN RESERVOIR. ADDED COOLANT TO PROPER LEVEL SEVERAL TIMES AT WEEKLY INTERVALS WHILE DRIVING APPROX. 200 MILES PER WEEK. LOSS OF COOLANT WAS NOT AN ISSUE UNTIL THE RECALL SERVICING WAS DONE. THREE OR FOUR SERVICE VISIT ATTEMPTS TO FULLY DIAGNOSE AND RESOLVE HAVE RESULTED A REPLACED WATER PUMP (THAT LEAKED DURING PRESSURE TEST). THIS MOST RECENT LOW COOLANT ENGINE FAULT MESSAGE OCCURRED AFTER FOUR WEEKS POST-NEW WATER PUMP. I AM RETURNING FOR ANOTHER SERVICE VISIT IN AN ATTEMPT TO FULLY AND FINALLY RESOLVE THE ISSUE.

View Details

ENGINE

9/16/2014 - EDGEWATER, FL
ON 7/30/214 THE VEHICLE HESITATED AND THE ENGINE STALLED AT A STOP SIGN. I WAS ON A TRIP TO PENNSYLVANIA ON 8/19/2014 TAKEN TO MULLINAX FORD, 2317 S.R. 44, NEW SMYRNA BEACH, FL 32168 (866) 511-8666. NO CODES AND THEY COULD NOT DUPLICATE MALFUNCTION. AFTER A FEW DAYS CAR WAS RETURNED TO ME. ON 9/7/2014 THE VEHICLE HESITATED AND THE ENGINE STALLED AT A STOP SIGN. ENGINE RESTARTED NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT(MIL). ON 9/15/2014 THE VEHICLE HESITATED AND THE ENGINE STALLED AT A STOP SIGN. ENGINE RESTARTED NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT(MIL). ON 9/16/2014, TODAY, TAKEN TO MULLINAX FORD, 2317 S.R. 44, NEW SMYRNA BEACH, FL 32168 (866) 511-8666. CURRENTLY IN SHOP. CONTACTED FORD MOTOR COMPANY 9/16/2014, TODAY, THEY CREATED A CASE NUMBER CAS5224925W6D5Y7. STATED THAT FORD RECALL 14S17 WAS NOT APPLICABLE SINCE MY VIN INDICATES 4/19/2013 BUILD DATE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/15/2014 - THREE BRIDGES, NJ
ENGINE FAULT SERVICE NOW MESSAGE DISPLAYS ON INFORMATION CENTER. DEALER SAYS TO TURN OFF CAR, OPEN DOOR, CLOSE DOOR, COUNT TO 10, TURN CAR BACK ON AND MESSAGE IS GONE. MESSAGE REPEATED 2 DAYS LATER.

View Details

STRUCTURE: FRAME AND MEMBERS

9/11/2014 - AUBURN, ME
CPSC: I1490148A. 2003 FORD ESCAPE. CONSUMER STATED THAT THE CAR HAS A FAILURE OF THE FORWARD SUBFRAME ASSEMBLY THAT CARRIES THE WHEEL JOINTS AND STEERING ARMS. THE CONSUMER STATED THE RECALL WAS INTENDED TO INSTALL A CROSS-BRACE ON THE CONTROL ARM ATTACHMENT SO THAT IF THE SUBFRAME FAILED, THERE WOULD BE LESS OF A TENDENCY FOR MAJOR STEERING FAILURE. THE CONSUMER HAD THE BRACE INSTALLED IN JUNE 2014. ON SEPTEMBER 6, 2014, THE SUB FRAME FAILED WHILE HE WAS TURNING A CORNER AND HE WAS UNABLE TO STEER THE VEHICLE. FORTUNATELY, HE WAS ONLY GOING ABOUT 5-10 MPH. THE CONSUMER REFERENCED RECALL # 14V165000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds