Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2013 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 249 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (27) Steering (8) Unknown Or Other (11)
Electrical System (48) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (4) Structure (16) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Seats (2) Suspension (4) Visibility (3)
Engine (130) Fuel System Gasoline (12) Service Brakes (14) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (8)
Engine And Engine Cooling (6) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (3)
Equipment (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/4/2014 - HOMER CITY, PA
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE CRUISE CONTROL FAILED TO ENGAGE AND DISENGAGE INTERMITTENTLY. THE CONTACT EXPERIENCED AN ELECTRICAL SHORT WITH THE RADIO SHORTING OUT AS WELL. THE VEHICLE STALLED MULTIPLE TIMES AND THE CONTACT HAD TO MAKE SEVERAL ATTEMPTS TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHO REPLACED THE WIRING HARNESS AND THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS IDLING ROUGH, THE CRUISE CONTROL WAS ENGAGED AND WAS STUCK MULTIPLE TIMES CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO ACCELERATE WHILE ATTEMPTING TO DISENGAGE THE CRUISE CONTROL FEATURE. THE VEHICLE ALSO STALLED MORE THAN FIVE TIMES AND THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE AND WAS PARKED AT THE CONTACTS RESIDENCE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED BY THE DEALER TO THE AUTHORIZED DEALER FOR FURTHER INSPECTION, DIAGNOSIS AND REPAIR. THE CONTACT WAS WAITING FOR A RESPONSE FROM THE AUTHORIZED DEALER WHO WAS CHECKING FOR APPROVAL FROM THE MANUFACTURER TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE SEVERAL TIMES. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 35,000. DYD

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/4/2014 - HOMER CITY, PA
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE CRUISE CONTROL FAILED TO ENGAGE AND DISENGAGE INTERMITTENTLY. THE CONTACT EXPERIENCED AN ELECTRICAL SHORT WITH THE RADIO SHORTING OUT AS WELL. THE VEHICLE STALLED MULTIPLE TIMES AND THE CONTACT HAD TO MAKE SEVERAL ATTEMPTS TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHO REPLACED THE WIRING HARNESS AND THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS IDLING ROUGH, THE CRUISE CONTROL WAS ENGAGED AND WAS STUCK MULTIPLE TIMES CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO ACCELERATE WHILE ATTEMPTING TO DISENGAGE THE CRUISE CONTROL FEATURE. THE VEHICLE ALSO STALLED MORE THAN FIVE TIMES AND THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE AND WAS PARKED AT THE CONTACTS RESIDENCE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED BY THE DEALER TO THE AUTHORIZED DEALER FOR FURTHER INSPECTION, DIAGNOSIS AND REPAIR. THE CONTACT WAS WAITING FOR A RESPONSE FROM THE AUTHORIZED DEALER WHO WAS CHECKING FOR APPROVAL FROM THE MANUFACTURER TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE SEVERAL TIMES. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 35,000. DYD

View Details

ENGINE

9/4/2014 - HOMER CITY, PA
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE CRUISE CONTROL FAILED TO ENGAGE AND DISENGAGE INTERMITTENTLY. THE CONTACT EXPERIENCED AN ELECTRICAL SHORT WITH THE RADIO SHORTING OUT AS WELL. THE VEHICLE STALLED MULTIPLE TIMES AND THE CONTACT HAD TO MAKE SEVERAL ATTEMPTS TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHO REPLACED THE WIRING HARNESS AND THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS IDLING ROUGH, THE CRUISE CONTROL WAS ENGAGED AND WAS STUCK MULTIPLE TIMES CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO ACCELERATE WHILE ATTEMPTING TO DISENGAGE THE CRUISE CONTROL FEATURE. THE VEHICLE ALSO STALLED MORE THAN FIVE TIMES AND THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE AND WAS PARKED AT THE CONTACTS RESIDENCE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED BY THE DEALER TO THE AUTHORIZED DEALER FOR FURTHER INSPECTION, DIAGNOSIS AND REPAIR. THE CONTACT WAS WAITING FOR A RESPONSE FROM THE AUTHORIZED DEALER WHO WAS CHECKING FOR APPROVAL FROM THE MANUFACTURER TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE SEVERAL TIMES. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 35,000. DYD

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/25/2014 - BELLINGHAM, WA
WHILE TRAVELING DOWN A HIGHWAY AT APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH, OUR VEHICLE SUDDENLY LOST POWER, RED LIGHTS CAME ON THE DASHBOARD, VEHICLE CONTINUED RUNNING BUT GAS PEDAL DID NOT RESPOND. COASTED TO A STOP ALONG SHOULDER, TURNED VEHICLE OFF, WAITED A COUPLE OF MINUTES, RESTARTED WITHOUT INCIDENT. 12 VOLT PLUGS REMAINED OFF. CALLED FORD DEALERSHIP TODAY. THEY SAY THIS ISSUE WILL BE COVERED IN ANOTHER RECALL FROM FORD, HAS TO DO WITH THE ELECTRICAL WIRING HARNESS WHICH SHORTS OUT, HOWEVER REPLACEMENT PART NOT AVAILABLE AT THIS TIME. HAD WE BEEN ON THE FREEWAY IN SEATTLE AS WE WERE EARLIER IN THE DAY, THIS WOULD HAVE CAUSED A REAR END ACCIDENT FOR SURE. WE FEEL FORD HAS LEFT US WITH AN UNDEPENDABLE VEHICLE, SEVERAL RECALLS ALREADY AND NOW THIS VERY SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE. WE NO LONGER FEEL WE CAN TRAVEL SAFELY IN THIS VEHICLE EVEN AFTER THIS NEXT RECALL IS REPAIRED. QUALITY CONTROL IS DEFINITELY ABSENT, WHO KNOWS WHAT ELSE WILL BE RECALLED AT THIS RATE.

View Details

ENGINE

8/25/2014 - BELLINGHAM, WA
WHILE TRAVELING DOWN A HIGHWAY AT APPROXIMATELY 50 MPH, OUR VEHICLE SUDDENLY LOST POWER, RED LIGHTS CAME ON THE DASHBOARD, VEHICLE CONTINUED RUNNING BUT GAS PEDAL DID NOT RESPOND. COASTED TO A STOP ALONG SHOULDER, TURNED VEHICLE OFF, WAITED A COUPLE OF MINUTES, RESTARTED WITHOUT INCIDENT. 12 VOLT PLUGS REMAINED OFF. CALLED FORD DEALERSHIP TODAY. THEY SAY THIS ISSUE WILL BE COVERED IN ANOTHER RECALL FROM FORD, HAS TO DO WITH THE ELECTRICAL WIRING HARNESS WHICH SHORTS OUT, HOWEVER REPLACEMENT PART NOT AVAILABLE AT THIS TIME. HAD WE BEEN ON THE FREEWAY IN SEATTLE AS WE WERE EARLIER IN THE DAY, THIS WOULD HAVE CAUSED A REAR END ACCIDENT FOR SURE. WE FEEL FORD HAS LEFT US WITH AN UNDEPENDABLE VEHICLE, SEVERAL RECALLS ALREADY AND NOW THIS VERY SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE. WE NO LONGER FEEL WE CAN TRAVEL SAFELY IN THIS VEHICLE EVEN AFTER THIS NEXT RECALL IS REPAIRED. QUALITY CONTROL IS DEFINITELY ABSENT, WHO KNOWS WHAT ELSE WILL BE RECALLED AT THIS RATE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/25/2014 - CELINA, TX
VEHICLE LOSES POWER (CHECK ENGINE, SERVICE ENGINE, AND BATTERY LIGHTS ILLUMINATED) WHILE DRIVING. BATTERY HAS BEEN CHANGED OUT BY THE DEALERSHIP, BUT THE PROBLEM CONTINUES ON A DAILY BASIS. SOMETIMES THE VEHICLE RESTARTS, BUT THE MAJORITY OF THE TIME, I HAVE TO GET THE VEHICLE JUMPED OFF. I HAVE LOST POWER ON THE HIGHWAY AS WELL ON BUSY URBAN STREETS. THE DEALERSHIP REFUSES TO ACKNOWLEDGE THAT THERE IS A SERIOUS ISSUE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM: WIRING

8/21/2014 - TRINADA, CO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE COULD BE RESTARTED. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE WIRING SPLICE KIT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 24,000.

View Details

ENGINE

8/19/2014 - DALLAS, TX
THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON INTERMITTENTLY, AND STAYS ON FOR ABOUT 48 HOURS. WHEN I HAVE TAKEN IT TO THE DEALERSHIP THEY CANNOT FIND OUT WHY THE LIGHT IS COMING ON BECAUSE THE CODE IS NO LONGER VISIBLE. THE CAR IDLES ROUGH AND CUTS OFF WHEN THE CAR IS WARM AND I'M STOPPED IN TRAFFIC, AT A RED LIGHT FOR EXAMPLE. IT IS VERY DANGEROUS TO HAVE MY CAR CUT OFF IN INNER-CITY TRAFFIC. IT ALSO OCCURRED ONCE WHEN I WAS TRYING TO START THE CAR AFTER BEING OFF FOR ABOUT 20 MINUTES. I HAD TO START IT 3 TIMES IN ORDER FOR IT TO STAY ON. EACH TIME, IT IDLED VERY ROUGHLY AND CUT OFF WITHIN A FEW SECONDS.

View Details

ENGINE

8/19/2014 - DIMMITT, TX
AS I AM DRIVING ALONG, MY CAR STARTS TO JUMP & SPUTTER & DIES. INFORMATION LIGHT COMES ON WITH "ENGINE FAULT, SERVICE IMMEDIATELY." I TAKE THE CAR IN TO THE FORD DEALER & HE TELLS ME THERE IS NOT A CODE SHOWING UP SO THEY CAN'T DO ANYTHING. I HAVE HAD MY ESCAPE TO THE FORD HOUSE 4 TIMES FOR THE EXACT SAME THING & EVERYTIME, NO CODE SHOWS UP. WHAT THE HECK? IF THE ENGINE DIES & IT TELLS YOU ENGINE FAULT SERVICE IMMEDIATELY HOW CAN THERE NOT BE A CODE SHOW UP? WE WERE ON VACATION THIS WEEKEND AND IT DIES 4 TIMES WHILE WE ARE GONE. I WAS NEARLY REAR-ENDED SEVERAL TIMES BECAUSE IT IS NEVER AT THE SAME RATE OF SPEED! SOMETIMES I AM SITTING AT A RED LIGHT, SOMETIMES I AM DRIVING IN TOWN AT 30 MPH, SOMETIMES I AM ON THE INTERSTATE AT 75 MPH. THIS IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS FOR ONE THING I COULD BE HIT FROM BEHIND & INJURED ALONG WITH MY FAMILY & GRANDSON, FOR ANOTHER THING WHEN IT DIES, I LOSE MY STEERING & MY BRAKES. NOT GOOD WHEN YOU ARE IN HILL COUNTRY EITHER. I AM TIRED OF FORD NOT DOING ANYTHING ABOUT THIS! I GUESS THEY ARE GOING TO WAIT UNTIL PEOPLE GET KILLED BEFORE THEY FINALLY DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT! SAVING MONEY TO TRADE VEHICLES BEFORE SOMETHING HAPPENS TO MY FAMILY! I ONLY HAVE 21,000 MILES ON THIS VEHICLE AND I THINK IT IS A TOTAL OF 8 TIMES THIS HAS HAPPENED IN THE 13 MONTHS I HAVE OWNED THIS VEHICLE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

8/11/2014 - BRENTWOOD, TN
VEHICLE TOWED TO FORD ON 7/3/14 FOR FUEL LEAK. ALSO TOLD FORD THAT FUEL RANGE CONSUMPTION GAUGE WAS NOT WORKING RIGHT. FORD WAS UNABLE TO VERIFY FUEL LEAK CONCERN BUT DID THE 13S12 OVERHEATING AND 14S03 HANDLE RECALLS. ON 7/19/14 LOW COOLANT LIGHT CAME ON. CALLED FORD AND THEY SAID THAT IT WAS AN AIR POCKET IN THE COOLANT SYSTEM AND TO ADD DISTILLED WATER AND DRIVE IT TO FORD. THE DEALERSHIP DRAINED THE COOLANT, ADDED COOLANT AND PRESSURIZED TO CHECK THE SYSTEM. EXPLAINED TO FORD THAT OUR DAUGHTER WAS TAKING THE CAR ON A 500 MILE ROAD TRIP THAT AFTERNOON. THEY REASSURED US IT WAS FIXED AND THAT SHE WOULD NOT HAVE AN ISSUE, BUT IF SHE DID, SIMPLY ADD DISTILLED WATER AGAIN TO RESOLVE. LATER ON 7/19/14, AFTER DRIVING 150 MILES OF THE TRIP, THE TEMPERATURE GAUGE RAPIDLY JUMPED FROM NORMAL TO HOT AND THE ENGINE OVERHEATED. ROADSIDE ASSIST. TOWED TO THE CLOSEST FORD DEALERSHIP. THIS NEW DEALERSHIP SAID THE VEHICLE HAD SO MANY PROBLEMS THAT THEY WERE GOING TO HAVE SOMEONE FROM FORD TO COME LOOK AT IT. THE NEW DEALERSHIP FAXED US THE LIST OF WHAT WAS WRONG WITH OUR VEHICLE: LEAKING WATER PUMP, LEAKING TURBO COOLANT TUBE, TURBO COOLANT BANJO BOLT LOOSE, HOSE CLAMP ON TURBO COOLANT TUBE NOT RELEASED, COOLANT STAND PIPE NOT BOLTED, ENGINE HARNESS TAPED BUT NOT SECURED TO ENGINE COVER, COOLANT STAND PIPE HARNESS NOT PROPERLY SECURED, BATTERY CABLE REROUTING NOT PERFORMED, FOAM PROTECTION NOT APPLIED TO COOLANT LEVEL MODULE, ACTIVE GRILL SHUTTERS NOT REMOVED AT ALL, THERMOSTAT HOUSING BOLTS LOOSE, CV BOOT RIPPED, BOLTS ON OIL DEFLECTOR NOT TIGHT TO SPECS. FORD SAYS THEY REPAIRED THE VEHICLE BUT WE TOLD THEM WE COULD NOT RISK OUR LIVES ANY MORE WITH THIS DEFECTIVE VEHICLE. ON 7/29/14 WE EXPLAINED EVERYTHING TO FORD, SENT THEM THE LIST, GOT A CASE NUMBER AND REQUESTED THAT FORD BUY BACK THE VEHICLE. ON 8/8/14 FORD DENIED OUR REQUEST. WE ARE TOO SCARED TO PICK UP THE VEHICLE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds