Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2013 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 319 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (24) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (35) Steering (14) Unknown Or Other (14)
Electrical System (63) Exterior Lighting (6) Seat Belts (10) Structure (22) Vehicle Speed Control (24)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (15) Seats (3) Suspension (4) Visibility (4)
Engine (164) Fuel System Gasoline (15) Service Brakes (15) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Latches Locks Linkages (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (5)
Equipment (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 37
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

5/20/2015 - CANFIELD, OH
I GOT INTO MY VEHICLE ON APRIL 30, 2015, STARTED THE VEHICLE AND A WARNING MESSAGE CAME ON THE CONTROL PANEL-I DON'T RECALL THE EXACT VERBIAGE BUT IT WAS SOMETHING LIKE "IMMEDIATE MAINTENANCE REQUIRED-POWER ASSIST STEERING FAULT FAILURE". I TRIED TO TURN MY STEERING WHEEL, BUT IT WOULD NOT MOVE. I SHUT OFF THE VEHICLE, WENT BACK INTO THE BUILDING I HAD JUST LEFT. WHEN I CAME BACK OUT ABOUT 5 MINUTES LATER AND STARTED THE CAR THERE WAS NO WARNING LIGHT AND I COULD STEER THE VEHICLE. I LOOKED ONLINE THAT NIGHT AND SAW THERE ARE THOUSANDS OF FORD CUSTOMERS WITH 2008-2013 VEHICLES THAT HAVE/ARE EXPERIENCING THE SAME EXACT ISSUE. FORD STATED THEY ARE AWARE OF THE ISSUE BUT HAVE NOT YET ISSUED A RECALL. I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALERSHIP THE NEXT MORNING. I WAS TOLD THE STEERING BOX HAD FAILED. THE COST IS $1800. I CALLED FORD DIRECTLY AND LET THEM KNOW I FEEL I SHOULD HAVE NOT HAVE TO PAY FOR THE REPAIR, EVEN THOUGH MY VEHICLE IS OUT OF WARRANTY. I LET THEM KNOW I WOULD BE HAPPY TO PAY FOR ANY REPAIRS DUE TO NORMAL WEAR AND TEAR, BUT THIS ISSUE IS NOT NORMAL WEAR AND TEAR AND FORD IS AWARE OF A PROBLEM. FORD OFFERED TO PAY $600 OF THE $1800. THEY KEEP TELLING ME TO KEEP MY RECEIPT AND THEY WILL REIMBURSE ME THE REST, IF A RECALL IS ISSUED. I DRIVE 100 MILES PER DAY TO AND FROM WORK. IF MY STEERING HAD FROZEN 2 HOURS EARLIER ON THAT DAY, I QUITE POSSIBLY COULD HAVE BEEN KILLED. HOW DO YOU CONTROL AN SUV GOING 70 MPH WITHOUT ANY STEERING? THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS DEFAULT THAT I FEEL FORD IS NOT TAKING SERIOUSLY AND CHARGING THEIR CUSTOMERS TO FIX.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/18/2015 - ORANGE CITY, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LAMP FLASHED SEVERAL TIMES. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V597000 (AIR BAGS) AND STATED THAT THE PART WAS NOT AVAILABLE WITHIN A REASONABLE TIMEFRAME. THE DEALER DID NOT GIVE A SPECIFIC DATE FOR WHEN THE PART WOULD BECOME AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED AND COULD NOT PROVIDE AN ESTIMATED DATE FOR WHEN THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE WOULD RECEIVE THE RECALL REPAIR. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LAMP CONTINUED TO FLASH INTERMITTENTLY. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 5,000.

View Details

ENGINE

5/16/2015 - APO , AE
I AM STATIONED IN GERMANY WITH THE US MILITARY AND HAVE TAKEN MY FORD TO THE : FORDGARAGE, MERKURSTR.11 67663 KAISERSLAUTERN +49 0631 41 65 0 FOR ALL RECALLS AND SERVICES. MY PROBLEM/COMPLAINT: MY ENGINE/EMISSIONS LIGHT COMES ON AND STAYS ON( NO BLINKING) THREE(3) TIMES AND GOES OFF FOR THREE(3) AND CONTINUES AT EACH TIME I START MY VEHICLE. THE FORD SHOP SAID THAT ALL SYSTEM ARE NORMAL BUT THE LIGHT CONTINUES AND THEY CANNOT FIGURE OUT THE CAUSE. I NEED ASSISTANCE IT MAKES ME NERVOUS EVERY TIME I DRIVE.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

5/12/2015 - PALM COAST, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE RECALL NOTICE FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V597000 (AIR BAGS, SEAT BELTS) WAS RECEIVED IN OCTOBER OF 2014. AFTER CONTACTING THE DEALER ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS, THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE PARTS NEEDED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE WERE STILL NOT AVAILABLE AND NO ESTIMATED TIME FOR RECEIVING THE PARTS COULD BE GIVEN. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/12/2015 - PALM COAST, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE RECALL NOTICE FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V597000 (AIR BAGS, SEAT BELTS) WAS RECEIVED IN OCTOBER OF 2014. AFTER CONTACTING THE DEALER ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS, THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE PARTS NEEDED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE WERE STILL NOT AVAILABLE AND NO ESTIMATED TIME FOR RECEIVING THE PARTS COULD BE GIVEN. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/11/2015 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
TWICE THE PASSENGER INTERIOR DOOR FRAMES HAVE SEPARATED FROM THE DOOR AND BECAME CAUGHT ON ITEMS INSIDE THE VEHICLE SUCH AS THE SEAT ETC. THIS CAUSES THE DOOR TO BECOME STUCK AND UNABLE TO OPEN. BOTH TIMES IT TOOK WE WELL OVER 30 MINUTES TO DISLODGE THE FRAME AND REATTACH TO THE FRAME TO BE ABLE TO OPEN THE DOOR. BOTH TIMES, THE VEHICLE HAD BEEN JUST PARKED AND I WAS TRYING TO RETRIEVE MY INFANT DAUGHTER FROM THE BACK SEAT. I FEAR THAT IF I HAD BEEN IN AN ACCIDENT I WOULD NOT BE ABLE TO SAFELY RETRIEVE MY DAUGHTER FROM THE VEHICLE. IF THIS OCCURS WITH NO IMPACT, WHAT WOULD HAPPEN IN CASE OF AN IMPACT? WOULD ALL 4 DOORS BECOME LODGED?

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/11/2015 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
TWICE THE PASSENGER INTERIOR DOOR FRAMES HAVE SEPARATED FROM THE DOOR AND BECAME CAUGHT ON ITEMS INSIDE THE VEHICLE SUCH AS THE SEAT ETC. THIS CAUSES THE DOOR TO BECOME STUCK AND UNABLE TO OPEN. BOTH TIMES IT TOOK WE WELL OVER 30 MINUTES TO DISLODGE THE FRAME AND REATTACH TO THE FRAME TO BE ABLE TO OPEN THE DOOR. BOTH TIMES, THE VEHICLE HAD BEEN JUST PARKED AND I WAS TRYING TO RETRIEVE MY INFANT DAUGHTER FROM THE BACK SEAT. I FEAR THAT IF I HAD BEEN IN AN ACCIDENT I WOULD NOT BE ABLE TO SAFELY RETRIEVE MY DAUGHTER FROM THE VEHICLE. IF THIS OCCURS WITH NO IMPACT, WHAT WOULD HAPPEN IN CASE OF AN IMPACT? WOULD ALL 4 DOORS BECOME LODGED?

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/6/2015 - AVERY, TX
WENT IN FOR AN OIL CHANGE AND MY HUSBAND WAS ADVISED THAT THE HEAT SHIELD OVER THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER APPEARED TO BE DISINTEGRATING. THE TECHNICIAN SUGGESTED IT WOULD BE A FIRE HAZARD AND NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED ASAP. WE WENT TO IMMEDIATELY TO THE FORD DEALERSHIP AND THEY ATTEMPTED TO ASSERT WE HAD HIT SOMETHING. BASED ON POSITION OF SHIELD I'M NOT ENTIRELY SURE THAT'S POSSIBLE. WE HAD NOT HIT ANYTHING WITH THE CAR SO THE ASSERTION WAS JUST OFFENSIVE, THAT PLUS THE FACT THAT THERE IS ZERO OTHER DAMAGE TO THE VEHICLE. SO, WE HIT SOMETHING THAT WAS ABLE TO DAMAGE THE HEAT SHIELD IN THE UNDER BODY OF THE VEHICLE WITHOUT CAUSING ANY OTHER DAMAGE? RIGHT! THEN THEY SAID COULD BE 'WEATHER' CONDITIONS AS WE LIVE ON A GRAVEL ROAD. THIS APPEARS TO BE A CONSISTENT THEME FROM OTHER POSTINGS, ALTHOUGH IN THEIR CASE THEY WERE TOLD SNOW! MAYBE FORD DOESN'T MAKE VEHICLES TO BE USED IN OTHER THAN PRISTINE DRIVING CONDITIONS. WONDER WHERE I'D HAVE TO TRAVEL TO FIND THOSE? APPARENTLY, FORD ELECTED TO INSTALL A PART ABOVE THE CATALYTIC CONVERTER THAT DOESN'T APPEAR AS WELL CONSTRUCTED AS THE PANS I USE TO MAKE BAR-B-QUE ON MY GRILL; AND WHICH INCIDENTALLY DON'T APPEAR TO HOLD UP TO EITHER SNOW OR GRAVEL ROADS IF YOU BELIEVE THE EXCUSES OF THEIR SERVICE ADVISERS. OUR DEALERSHIP CHARGED $167 FOR THE HEAT SHIELD AND ANOTHER $109 TO INSTALL IT FOR A TOTAL BILL OF $290.09 AFTER TAXES. THE PART ITSELF APPEARS DESIGNED FOR FAILURE AND THEN ON TOP OF THAT WE WERE PRICE GOUGED WHEN THE FAILURE OCCURRED. THE ADVISER ACTUALLY GAVE ME THE PART TO SHOW ME AFTERWARDS. IT IS LITERALLY SHOCKING TO ME THAT SOMETHING THIS CHEAPLY MADE COULD BE INSTALLED IN THE UNDER BODY OF ANY VEHICLE. BAR-B-QUE PANS THAT I CAN BUY FOR 4 FOR $10 WOULD HAVE PROVIDED BETTER LONGEVITY. SHAME ON FORD AND THE DEALERSHIP THAT PRICE GOUGED TO TAKE ADVANTAGE OF FORD'S DESIGN FAILURE.

View Details

ENGINE

5/6/2015 - MEQUON, WI
DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY IN TRAFFIC DUE TO AN ACCIDENT ON THE SHOULDER, ABOUT 35 MPH. I WENT TO ACCELERATE AFTER PASSING THE ACCIDENT, I TOOK MY FOOT OFF THE GAS AROUND 60 MPH. THE RPM'S WERE BOUNCING UP AND DOWN, AND THE CAR CONTINUED TO ACCELERATED. I SLAMMED THE BRAKES AROUND 90 MPH. THE ENGINE CONTINUED TO REV AS I PULLED TO THE SHOULDER. A SHERRIF LEFT THE SCENE OF THE ACCIDENT I PASSED AFTER SEEING WHAT HAPPENED. THE SHERRIF ESCORTED ME OFF THE FREEWAY, AS MY CAR WOULD NOT GO OVER 40 WITHOUT REVING THE ENGINE. I WAS ESCORTED TO THE DEALER, WHO STATED THEY HAD NOT HEARD OF THIS HAPPENING BEFORE.

View Details

ENGINE

5/6/2015 - INDEPENDENCE, MO
BOUGHT A 2013 USED (CLEAN CAR FAX) FORD ESCAPE THURSDAY APRIL 8TH, 2015. ON SATURDAY APRIL 11TH, THE CAR ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON, SAID THE ENGINE WAS OVERHEATING AND PULL OVER SAFE. BEFORE WE WERE ABLE TO PULL OVER THE CAR WENT FROM FULL SPEED TO SAFE MODE WITH NO POWER TO MOVE THE CAR. WE DRIFTED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, WITHOUT GETTING HIT BY ANOTHER CAR (MIRACLE). WE HAD THE ESCAPE TOWED TO DICK SMITH FORD IN RAYTOWN, MO. THEY FLASHED THE PCM, AND SAID IT FIXED THE PROBLEM. I HAVE HAD THE ESCAPE BACK 3 WEEKS AND IT DID IT AGAIN SAME THING ON THE HIGHWAY AGAIN ON MAY 2ND. I WAS GOING 70MPH AND BARELY MADE IT TO THE SIDE; THE BACK OF MY CAR WAS IN THE RIGHT LANE OF THE HIGHWAY. THE ESCAPE SAID ENGINE OVERHEATED PULL OVER SAFE, WENT FROM 70MPH TO NOTHING IN LESS THAN 5 SECONDS. I WAS DODGING CARS TO PULL OVER, BUT I HAD NO POWER AND COULD NOT MOVE THE CAR. I CALL FOR ROADSIDE AND TOLD THEM IT WAS AN EMERGENCY, I WAS GOING TO BE HIT AND COULD BE KILLED IF I DID NOT GET HELP RIGHT AWAY. ONCE AGAIN WE HAD THE ESCAPE TOWED TO DICK SMITH FORD IN RAYTOWN, WERE IT IS STILL TO THIS DAY BEING LOOKED AT. THEY HAVE TO CALL TECH SUPPORT/ENGINEER TO FIND THE PROBLEM. I CALLED FORD CUSTOMER SERVICE MONDAY MORNING MAY 4TH. I WAS GIVEN A CASE NUMBER AND WAS TOLD A REGIONAL SERVICE MANAGER WOULD CALL ME. IT HAS BEEN TWO DAYS AND NO CALLS FROM FORD. I AM VERY UPSET AND ANGRY. THIS ESCAPE IS UNDER FULL FACTORY WARRANTY STILL, AND IT IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE. MY FAMILY COULD OF BEEN KILLED IN AN ACCIDENT BECAUSE OF THIS CAR. I NEED HELP DEALING WITH FORD OVER THIS ISSUE. THEY NEED TO MAKE THIS PUBLIC BEFORE SOMETHING HORRIBLE HAPPENS. I CAN'T TEMP FATE FOR A 3RD TIME.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 37
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds