Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2013 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 438 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (32) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (49) Steering (20) Unknown Or Other (21)
Electrical System (88) Exterior Lighting (6) Seat Belts (18) Structure (28) Vehicle Speed Control (30)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Fuel Propulsion System (26) Seats (3) Suspension (8) Visibility (5)
Engine (212) Fuel System Gasoline (16) Service Brakes (22) Tires (4) Visibility Wiper (8)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (5)
Equipment (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 51
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

4/6/2016 - MAGNOLIA, TX
MY FORD ESCAPE 2013 STALLS WHILE DRIVING AT LOW SPEEDS, LIKE A PARKING LOT, AT A STOP SIGN. IT HAS DONE IT NOW 4 TIMES IN 2016. THE ENGINE JUST LOSES POWER AND STALLS. THE RED OIL LAMP AND BATTERY LAMP COME ON. NO SYSTEM CHECK MESSAGES SHOW. IT WILL START SOMETIMES AND STALL AGAIN IMMEDIATELY, SOMETIMES IT STARTS AND THEN IS OK FOR THE REMAINDER OF THE TRIP. THE FORD DEALER COULDN'T FIND THE PROBLEM WHEN THEY CHECKED IT RIGHT AFTER AN INCIDENT. OFFERED TO DRIVE IT TILL THEY FIND THE PROBLEM AND GIVE ME LOANER TILL THEN. ???

View Details

ENGINE

4/6/2016 - HOUSTON, TX
RECALL 14S17 SPECIFIED THAT A FAULTING WIRING HARNESS FOR THE MAP SENSOR COULD BE REPAIRED BY SPLICING THE WIRING HARNESS. I HAD THIS RECALL WORK PERFORMED ON MY VEHICLE IN OCTOBER 2014, BUT SINCE THEN THE SYMPTOMS WHICH LED TO THE ORIGINAL RECALL PERSISTED. MULTIPLE TIMES, THE VEHICLE HAS STALLED IN TRAFFIC ON A CITY STREET, OR FAILED TO RESPOND TO THROTTLE INPUTS WHILE MERGING ONTO A HIGHWAY. THESE ARE VERY DANGEROUS SITUATIONS. SINCE THEN, FORD MOTOR COMPANY HAS ISSUED A SERVICE BULLETIN ADVISING FULL REPLACEMENT OF THE SAME WIRING HARNESS (NOT JUST A SPLICE). THIS IS PERFORMED AT MY COST, NOT FMC'S. FULL REPLACEMENT SHOULD HAVE BEEN THE ORIGINAL SOLUTION TO THIS RECALL, AND A SECOND RECALL OR REVISION SHOULD BE ISSUED TO FORCE FORD TO PROVIDE A FULL SOLUTION RATHER THAN A HALF-MEASURE.

View Details

ENGINE

4/6/2016 - NORTH PLAINFIELD, NJ
AFTER DRIVING THE VEHICLE FOR 7 MINUTES AFTER I STARTED IT, THE CAR OVERHEATED ON THE HIGHWAY. I HAD TO PULL OVER IN A PARKING LOT AND SHUT OFF THE CAR. WHEN I ATTEMPTED TO OPEN THE TURN ON A CAR AFTER A LITTLE WHILE IT WOULD NOT ALLOW ME. THIS SAME PROBLEM HAD HAPPENED EXACTLY ON MARCH 16 AND THE DEALERSHIP SERVICE HAD REPLACED THE COOLANT STAND PIPE STANDPIPE. THEY SAID THERE IS NO RECALL ASSOCIATED WITH VIN YET IT IS THE SECOND TIME THIS HAPPENS.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

4/5/2016 - MANVEL, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V597000 (AIR BAGS, SEAT BELTS); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/5/2016 - MANVEL, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V597000 (AIR BAGS, SEAT BELTS); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

4/4/2016 - ROANOKE, VA
WHILE DESCENDING A HILL, THE ENGINE STARTED TO REV UP TO 4000 RPMS AND BACK TO NORMAL, TACHOMETER WAS ALSO SHOWING REVS, MY WIFE HAD TO HOLD HER FOOT ON THE BRAKE DURING THIS TIME. SHE STOPPED THE CAR AND SHIFTED TO NEUTRAL AND SHIFTED BACK TO DRIVE AND CAR HAD NO FURTHER INCIDENTS.

View Details

ENGINE

4/1/2016 - TULSA, OK
MY CAR WAS EFFECTED BY RECALL 13S12. THIS RECALL HAS A NUMBER OF DIFFERENT ISSUES DEALING WITH ENGINE COOLANT AND CRACKS IN ENGINE CYLINDERS. I TOOK MY VEHICLE IN TO HAVE THE RECALLS FIXED ON IT. 5 MONTHS LATER, MY ENGINE STILL HAS THE LOCALIZED OVERHEATING, ANTIFREEZE LEAKS AND ENGINE CRACKS. THE ENTIRE ENGINE IS RUINED. THE DEALERSHIP SOLD ME A CAR THAT WAS COMPLETELY UNSAFE FOR MY CHILDREN AND I. THIS RECALL IS SAID TO CAUSE ENGINE COMPARTMENT FIRES. EVEN AFTER THEY INITIALLY FIXED THE RECALLS, THE VEHICLE STILL WILL OVERHEAT AND CAUSE FIRES! ADDITIONALLY - RUINING THE VEHICLE ENGINE. FORD WILL NOT REPAIR, REPLACE OR REFUND BECAUSE THEY SAID THEY ALREADY CLOSED THE RECALL OUT - EVEN THOUGH THE RECALL WAS SUPPOSED TO BE FIXED.

View Details

ENGINE

3/31/2016 - TULSA, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE. THE MESSAGE BOARD INDICATOR REQUESTED FOR THE VEHICLE TO BE STOPPED. FOUR MONTHS PRIOR, THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED FOR THE SAME FAILURE UNDER A MANUFACTURER RECALL. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT FRACTURES ON THE CYLINDER CAUSED ANTIFREEZE TO LEAK INTO THE COMBUSTION CHAMBER AND DAMAGE THE ENGINE. THE ENGINE HAD TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 109,000.

View Details

ENGINE

3/25/2016 - CENTRAL FALLS, RI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ENGINE WAS DEFECTIVE AND THE ENGINE LIGHT REMAINED ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING, WHICH LOCATED A FAILURE CODE AT THE COOLANT SYSTEM. WHEN THE ENGINE WAS STARTED, SMOKE AND A BURNING ODOR WAS DETECTED FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/25/2016 - CENTRAL FALLS, RI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ENGINE WAS DEFECTIVE AND THE ENGINE LIGHT REMAINED ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSTIC TESTING, WHICH LOCATED A FAILURE CODE AT THE COOLANT SYSTEM. WHEN THE ENGINE WAS STARTED, SMOKE AND A BURNING ODOR WAS DETECTED FROM THE REAR OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 60,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 51
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds