Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2013 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 563 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (33) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (60) Steering (36) Unknown Or Other (30)
Electrical System (117) Exterior Lighting (8) Seat Belts (20) Structure (39) Vehicle Speed Control (35)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Fuel Propulsion System (32) Seats (4) Suspension (9) Visibility (5)
Engine (256) Fuel System Gasoline (17) Service Brakes (24) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (13)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Latches Locks Linkages (22) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (6)
Equipment (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 64
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/7/2016 - KANSAS CITY, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. AFTER THE IGNITION WAS TURNED TO THE OFF POSITION, THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO OPERATE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE TURNED ITSELF OFF AND ON INDEPENDENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V436000 (ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 68,000.

View Details

STEERING

12/7/2016 - ELKTON, ME
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE STALLED, THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED, AND THE VEHICLE WAS UNABLE TO SHIFT INTO NEUTRAL. THE ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE VEHICLE HAD A GASKET ISSUE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER AGAIN WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT IT NEEDED COOLANT. THE FAILURE RECURRED AND THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER AGAIN. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 100,000.

View Details

ENGINE

12/7/2016 - ELKTON, ME
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE STALLED, THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED, AND THE VEHICLE WAS UNABLE TO SHIFT INTO NEUTRAL. THE ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE VEHICLE HAD A GASKET ISSUE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER AGAIN WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT IT NEEDED COOLANT. THE FAILURE RECURRED AND THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER AGAIN. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 100,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/7/2016 - ELKTON, ME
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE STALLED, THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED, AND THE VEHICLE WAS UNABLE TO SHIFT INTO NEUTRAL. THE ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE VEHICLE HAD A GASKET ISSUE. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER AGAIN WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT IT NEEDED COOLANT. THE FAILURE RECURRED AND THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER AGAIN. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 100,000.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

12/7/2016 - AUSTELL, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V643000 (LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/3/2016 - NAPLES, FL
I HAVE HAD SEVERAL PROBLEMS WITH THIS VEHICLE ASIDE FROM THE OFFICIAL RECALLS ISSUED ON MY SPECIFIC CAR. STARTED LOSING COOLANT. WOULD STALL AFTER STARTING AND SLUGGISH DURING ACCELERATION. TOOK TO DEALERSHIP WERE I WAS TOLD I NEEDED A NEW FUEL PRESSURE SENSOR AND BATTERY. (NO MENTION OF COOLANT LEAK UNTIL I PUSHED FURTHER) NEW PARTS COST ME NEARLY $600 AND I WAS THEN TOLD THAT I NEEDED A NEW CYLINDER HEAD (THAT WAS CAUSING COOLANT LEAK). PRICE FOR NEW CYLINDER HEAD UPWARDS OF $3000 (OUT OF WARRANTY BY 4000 MILES). I TOOK THE CAR FROM THE DEALERSHIP WITHOUT CYLINDER HEAD REPAIR. STILL STALLING AFTER STARTED AND SLUGGISH DURING ACCELERATION EVEN THO FUEL PRESSURE SENSOR WAS SUPPOSED TO BE THE PROBLEM. A FEW WEEKS LATER THE CAR STARTED TO SMELL LIKE GAS WHILE I WAS DRIVING. DISCOVERED A CRACKED FUEL LINE SPRAYING INTO ENGINE COMPARTMENT. CALLED FORD BECAUSE THIS ISSUE IS PART OF A RECALL. THEY INFORMED ME THAT IT WAS NOT FOR MY VEHICLE BUT IF THEY DECIDED TO INCLUDE IT LATER I WOULD BE REIMBURSED FOR THE REPAIR. LASTLY, I WAS DRIVING THE CAR WHEN I HEARD AN ODD METAL ON METAL TYPE OF NOISE. I STOPPED AT A LIGHT AND THE CAR SHUT OFF. NO WARNING LIGHTS ON THE DASH TO TELL ME WHAT MIGHT BE THE PROBLEM. PUSHED THE CAR INTO A PARKING AND DISCOVERED THAT IT HAD A BLOWN HEAD GASKET AND OIL IN THE WATER AND A DIFFERENT PART OF GAS LINE HAD CRACKED SPRAYING FUEL INTO THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT AGAIN. THIS CAR NEVER ONCE OVERHEATED SO THERE IS NO REASON IT SHOULD HAVE A BLOWN HEAD GASKET. SO NOW THE CAR IS NOT QUITE 4 YEARS OLD AND NOT DRIVABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

12/3/2016 - NAPLES, FL
I HAVE HAD SEVERAL PROBLEMS WITH THIS VEHICLE ASIDE FROM THE OFFICIAL RECALLS ISSUED ON MY SPECIFIC CAR. STARTED LOSING COOLANT. WOULD STALL AFTER STARTING AND SLUGGISH DURING ACCELERATION. TOOK TO DEALERSHIP WERE I WAS TOLD I NEEDED A NEW FUEL PRESSURE SENSOR AND BATTERY. (NO MENTION OF COOLANT LEAK UNTIL I PUSHED FURTHER) NEW PARTS COST ME NEARLY $600 AND I WAS THEN TOLD THAT I NEEDED A NEW CYLINDER HEAD (THAT WAS CAUSING COOLANT LEAK). PRICE FOR NEW CYLINDER HEAD UPWARDS OF $3000 (OUT OF WARRANTY BY 4000 MILES). I TOOK THE CAR FROM THE DEALERSHIP WITHOUT CYLINDER HEAD REPAIR. STILL STALLING AFTER STARTED AND SLUGGISH DURING ACCELERATION EVEN THO FUEL PRESSURE SENSOR WAS SUPPOSED TO BE THE PROBLEM. A FEW WEEKS LATER THE CAR STARTED TO SMELL LIKE GAS WHILE I WAS DRIVING. DISCOVERED A CRACKED FUEL LINE SPRAYING INTO ENGINE COMPARTMENT. CALLED FORD BECAUSE THIS ISSUE IS PART OF A RECALL. THEY INFORMED ME THAT IT WAS NOT FOR MY VEHICLE BUT IF THEY DECIDED TO INCLUDE IT LATER I WOULD BE REIMBURSED FOR THE REPAIR. LASTLY, I WAS DRIVING THE CAR WHEN I HEARD AN ODD METAL ON METAL TYPE OF NOISE. I STOPPED AT A LIGHT AND THE CAR SHUT OFF. NO WARNING LIGHTS ON THE DASH TO TELL ME WHAT MIGHT BE THE PROBLEM. PUSHED THE CAR INTO A PARKING AND DISCOVERED THAT IT HAD A BLOWN HEAD GASKET AND OIL IN THE WATER AND A DIFFERENT PART OF GAS LINE HAD CRACKED SPRAYING FUEL INTO THE ENGINE COMPARTMENT AGAIN. THIS CAR NEVER ONCE OVERHEATED SO THERE IS NO REASON IT SHOULD HAVE A BLOWN HEAD GASKET. SO NOW THE CAR IS NOT QUITE 4 YEARS OLD AND NOT DRIVABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/30/2016 - KANSAS CITY, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. ONCE THE VEHICLE WAS SHIFTED INTO GEAR, THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED A COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 84,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/30/2016 - KANSAS CITY, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. ONCE THE VEHICLE WAS SHIFTED INTO GEAR, THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED A COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER, BUT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 84,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

11/28/2016 - CONOVER, NC
VEHICLE STALLS OUT WHEN ACCELERATING AFTER STARTING AND ALSO WHEN ACCELERATING IN HIGHWAY DRIVING. RECENTLY IN HEAVY TRAFFIC. BARELY AVOIDED ACCIDENT. HAVE TO SHUT OFF AND RESTART. LOCAL DEALER IS SERVICING FUEL SYSTEM AT THIS TIME.THE SERVICE REP STATED THAT IT COULD BE A FUEL SENSOR. RESEARCHED ONLINE AND FOUND SAME/SIMILAR PROBLEMS WITH THIS MAKE, MODEL AND YEAR. VEHICLE JUST SERVICED ON 11/21/2016. ODOMETER 67,762..

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 64
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds