Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2013 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 662 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (36) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (67) Steering (42) Unknown Or Other (41)
Electrical System (129) Exterior Lighting (8) Seat Belts (22) Structure (47) Vehicle Speed Control (35)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Fuel Propulsion System (42) Seats (4) Suspension (10) Visibility (5)
Engine (301) Fuel System Gasoline (18) Service Brakes (25) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (14)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Latches Locks Linkages (40) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (6)
Equipment (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 74
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

5/16/2017 - JACKSBORO, TN
VEHICLE POWERS DOWN, LEAKS COOLANT , HAS ROUGH RIDE, VIBRATES AND HAS COMPLETELY SHUT DOWN ATLEAST TWICE REQUIRING A TOW. ENGINE HAS HOT SMELL TO IT, AS IF IT IS COMING FROM HOT COOLANT . FORD SAYS "CAN'T FIND A LEAK." THEY REPLACED A PART ON IT, HOWEVER I CAN NOT RECALL WHAT IT WAS BECAUSE THEY WERE ONLY GUESSING THEMSELVES AS FAR AS LOW COOLANT. HOWEVER IT DID NOT FIX IT ANYWAY. I HAVE CALLED FORD MANY TIMES, BUT THEY SHOW NO RECALLS TO ANY OF THE PROBLEMS I HAVE MENTIONED. I AM A SINGLE MOM & NURSE, I NEED A RELIABLE VEHICLE. IT IS SO DEPRESSING TO MAKE PAYMENTS ON VEHICLE. BY THE WAY I HAVE NO WARRANTY. THE ISSUES OCCUR AT ANY TIME ON ANY ROADS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/16/2017 - JACKSBORO, TN
VEHICLE POWERS DOWN, LEAKS COOLANT , HAS ROUGH RIDE, VIBRATES AND HAS COMPLETELY SHUT DOWN ATLEAST TWICE REQUIRING A TOW. ENGINE HAS HOT SMELL TO IT, AS IF IT IS COMING FROM HOT COOLANT . FORD SAYS "CAN'T FIND A LEAK." THEY REPLACED A PART ON IT, HOWEVER I CAN NOT RECALL WHAT IT WAS BECAUSE THEY WERE ONLY GUESSING THEMSELVES AS FAR AS LOW COOLANT. HOWEVER IT DID NOT FIX IT ANYWAY. I HAVE CALLED FORD MANY TIMES, BUT THEY SHOW NO RECALLS TO ANY OF THE PROBLEMS I HAVE MENTIONED. I AM A SINGLE MOM & NURSE, I NEED A RELIABLE VEHICLE. IT IS SO DEPRESSING TO MAKE PAYMENTS ON VEHICLE. BY THE WAY I HAVE NO WARRANTY. THE ISSUES OCCUR AT ANY TIME ON ANY ROADS.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

5/16/2017 - DASSEL, MN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V643000 (LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES) HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE DOOR FAILED TO LOCK. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

5/15/2017 - ST CHARLES, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V643000 (LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES); HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE DEALER CONFIRMED THAT THE PARTS WERE NOT AVAILABLE FOR THE RECALL REMEDY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/14/2017 - ASHEVILLE, NC
VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN AWAY FROM A MECHANICS SHOP FOR A FLY WHEEL REPAIR. AFTER APPROX. + MILE OF DRIVING, THE TEMPERATURE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED WITHOUT THE GAUGE SHOWING A HIGH TEMPERATURE. I STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT. WHEN THE LIGHT TURNED GREEN, NO MATTER HOW I PRESSED ON THE ACCELERATOR, THE CAR WOULD NOT ACCELERATE OVER 5 MILES AN HOUR. I HAD TO NAVIGATE ACROSS 3 LANES OF TRAFFIC TO GET TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. IT DROVE FOR LESS THAN 50 FT THEN THE ENGINE COMPLETELY SHUT OFF FORCING ME TO PUSH THE CAR INTO A PARKING LOT. MECHANICS CAME, LOOKED OVER THE CAR THEN IT STARTED NORMALLY. THEY DROVE IT BACK TO THE SHOP AND HOOKED IT TO A COMPUTER BUT NO CODES WERE THROWN. WE COULD NOT RECREATE THE ISSUE. WE DECIDED TO FILE A COMPLAINT BECAUSE OF OUR CONCERN OVER ALL THE BLOGS FOUND ONLINE REFERENCING THE SAME ISSUE. THIS COULD POTENTIALLY BE VERY HAZARDOUS IF IT HAPPENS ON A HIGHWAY WHICH COULD RESULT IN BODILY INJURY. THIS COMES AFTER THIS VEHICLE HAS BEEN IN THE SHOP FOR OVER 4 MONTHS IN THE 8 MONTHS WE HAVE OWNED IT FOR MANY ISSUES INCLUDING TRANSMISSION, TRANSMISSION BRACKET, TRANSMISSION PLUG FAILURE, WIPER MOTOR, FLY WHEEL AND A SENSOR ISSUE.

View Details

STEERING

5/10/2017 - ARLINGTON, VA
"STEERING ASSIST FAULT" ERROR OCCURRED WHILE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION. COMPLETE LOSS OF ELECTRONIC POWER STEERING. PULLED THE CAR OVER, RESTARTED THE VEHICLE, PROBLEM DID NOT RETURN. I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALERSHIP AS A PRECAUTION AND THEY REPRODUCED THE ISSUE. THEY TELL ME THAT SOMETHING CALLED ELECTRONIC STEERING GEAR, PART NO. CV6Z3504AGE MUST BE REPLACED. THE CAR IS NOT YET 4 YEARS OLD.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/7/2017 - MARIETTA, GA
I WAS DRIVING MY 2014 FORD ESCAPE AT NIGHT AND MY INSTRUMENT CLUSTER INFORMATION DISPLAY WITH SYSTEM WARNINGS AND ODOMETER DISPLAY STARTED BLINKING COLORS, THEN BLACK AND WHITE, AND ON AND OFF. IT HAS GONE BLACK SEVERAL TIMES AND THEN IT SEEM TO WORK FINE FOR A SHORT TIME, AND THEN IT WILL ALL OF A SUDDEN START AGAIN. THIS HAPPENS ON STREETS, HIGHWAYS, DAY AND NIGHT. THIS STARTED 3 WEEKS AGO. MY ODOMETER IS AROUND 50,000. I CHECKED ON LINE FOR RECALLS AND HAVE READ SEVERAL OTHER 2013 OWNERS FINDING THE SAME THING THAT I DID, THERE IS A RECALL FOR THIS ON THE 2014 MODELS (RECALL (15C03 - REPROGRAM INSTRUMENT PANEL CLUSTER) ISSUED AGAINST 2014 FORD ESCAPE FOR THE SAME ISSUE) BUT DOES NOT INCLUDE THE 2013 MODELS. PLEASE HELP.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

4/29/2017 - ST. JOSEPH, MO
THE DRIVER'S SIDE WIPER WILL RANDOMLY STICK IN THE UP POSITION. THIS CAUSES BOTH WIPERS TO STOP WORKING, MAKING IT DIFFICULT TO SEE. IT WILL EVENTUALLY START WORKING AGAIN. SOMETIMES ON IT'S OWN, OR SOMETIMES I ROLL DOWN THE WINDOW AND GIVE IT A PUSH. THIS DOES NOT ALWAYS WORK IMMEDIATELY, RESULTING IN A HAZARDOUS SITUATION. THEN THE SAME THING MAY HAPPEN AGAIN IN A MINUTE OR TWO, OR NOT AT ALL THAT DAY. I DON'T SEEM TO SEE ANY PATTERN IN WHAT MAKES IT STOP, HIGHWAY OR CITY, WIPERS ON INTERMITTENT OR NOT, IN THE RAIN, OR ONCE JUST TRYING TO WASH THE WINDOWS BY SQUIRTING THE FLUID. IT SEEMS COMPLETELY RANDOM.

View Details

ENGINE

4/28/2017 - FREDERICK, MD
OUR ESCAPE DEVELOPED A CRACKED CYLINDER HEAD THAT IS ALLOWING COOLANT TO LEAK INTO THE ENGINE. WE PURCHASED IT USED LESS THAN TWO YEARS AGO. AT THE TIME IT HAD 55K MILES AND NO ACTIVE RECALLS. CURRENTLY THERE IS 65K MILES ON THE ESCAPE. MULTIPLE RECALLS FOR THIS ENGINE HAS BEEN ISSUED MANY HAVE WHICH RESULTED IN A SIMILAR ENGINE PROBLEM. SUPPOSEDLY FORD HAS PERFORMED THE RECALL WORK THIS OUR CAR, BUT THIS PROBLEM HAS COME UP. THEY WANT US TO PAY FOR THE REPAIR WORK EVEN THOUGH IT SEEMS LIKELY THAT IT'S RELATED TO RECALL REPAIRS THAT WERE NOT CORRECTLY COMPLETED. THE RECALLS ASSOCIATED WITH THIS ENGINE ARE #13V583000, 12V551000, 12V431000. THE FIRST INVOLVES A CRACKED HEAD AND THE OTHER TWO INVOLVE LEAKING COOLANT (WE'VE LOST AN ENTIRE RESERVE TANK IN A SHORT PERIOD OF TIME). WHEN WE TOOK IT IN THE FIRST TIME TO HAVE IT CHECKED THEY PERFORMED A PRESSURE TEST AND COULD NOT LOCATE ANY COOLANT LEAKS AND TOLD US TO CONTINUE DRIVING IT UNTIL IT REGISTERED WITH LOW COOLANT AGAIN. THIS SECOND TIME WAS WHEN WE BROUGHT IT IN AND THEY TOLD US ABOUT THE CRACKED CYLINDER HEAD.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/28/2017 - MORGANTOWN, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING UNKNOWN SPEEDS, A FUEL ODOR ENTERED THE VEHICLE AND THE ENGINE SEIZED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL LINE WAS RUPTURED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 105,000.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 74
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds