Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2013 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 605 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (36) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (63) Steering (38) Unknown Or Other (35)
Electrical System (124) Exterior Lighting (8) Seat Belts (22) Structure (45) Vehicle Speed Control (35)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Fuel Propulsion System (35) Seats (4) Suspension (9) Visibility (5)
Engine (275) Fuel System Gasoline (18) Service Brakes (24) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (13)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Latches Locks Linkages (29) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (6)
Equipment (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 69
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/28/2017 - DAYTON, NV
DRIVING MY 2013 FORD ESCAPE SEL WITH ONLY 52000 MILES ON IT HOME FROM SHOPPING IN RENO, NEVADA. I WAS IN WASHOE VALLEY, NV WHEN I THOUGH THE HIGH WINDS WERE KEEPING MY CAR FROM SPEEDING UP, WHEN I COULD NOT ACCELERATE I PULLED TO THE SLOW LANE AND THEN ONTO THE SHOULDER. I PUT THE CAR IN PARK AND LOOK AT MY DASH TO SEE IF I WAS OVERHEATING OR ANY OTHER ISSUES WERE APPARENT. MY DASH SHOWED NOTHING WRONG AT ALL. NO LIGHTS OR WARNINGS OF ANY KIND. THE GAGES WERE ALL RUNNING NORMAL. I PUT MY CAR IN PARK AND WITHIN A SECOND OR TWO A LARGE VERY BLACK BILLOW OF SMOKE CAME UP BACK PART OF THE ENGINE NEAREST TO HE DRIVERS SIDE WINDOW. THEN SECOND LATER LARGER FIRE FLAMES CAME RIGHT BEHIND IT THAT WENT OVER THE TOP OF MY CAR. MY CAR WENT UP IN FLAMES IN JUST MOMENTS. I HAD TO JUMP FROM THE BURNING CAR TO SAFELY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/25/2017 - FREDERICK, CO
THE CARS ENGINE STALLS AND DIES AFTER PULLING OUT OF PARKING LOT OR DRIVEWAY WHILE TURNING ON INTERSECTION OR JUST TURNED FROM A CURB. IT STARTS TO SLOW DOWN AND DOESN'T RESPOND TO STEPPING ON GAS. THEN THE DASHBOARD LIGHT INDICATORS TURN ON- BATTERY, CHECK ENGINE, OIL, ETC. I HAD TO PUT THE CARK ON PARK, THEN TURN THE ENGINE OFF. RESTART IT, CRANKS A BIT BEFORE GOING TO FULL START. CHANGED TO DRIVE TRANSMISSION, THEN STEPPED ON THE GAS. IT STARTED GOING THEN ONLY A FEW FEET LATER, THE WHOLE CYCLE STARTS AGAIN. IN A COUPLE OF INSTANCES, ITHA--ENED 4 TYPES BEFORE I WAS ABLE TO DRIVE NORMALLY. THESES HAPPENED A COUPLE OF TIMES DRIVING OUT OF SHOPPING COMPLEX, ONCE JUST AFTER I PULLED OUT OF MY DRIVEWAY AND 2 HOUSES DOWN. ANOTHER TIME WHEN I WAS PULLING OUT OF A HOSPITAL. IT HAPPENED 3 TIMES BEFORE I CAN EVEN REACH THE HIGHWAY, 3 CURB TURNS FROM MY PARKING SPOT. ANOTHER INSTANCE STALLED 4 TIMES WHEN IM LEAVING THE PARKING AREA OF OUR REC CENTER INTO THE STREET.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/23/2017 - SOUTH SAN FRANCISCO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE RECALL NOTICE FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V643000(STUCTURE) WAS RECEIVED IN SEPTEMBER OF 2016. AFTER CONTACTING THE DEALER AND THE MANUFACTURER ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS, THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE PARTS NEEDED FOR THE RECALL REMEDY WERE STILL NOT AVAILABLE AND NO ESTIMATED TIME FOR RECEIVING THE PARTS COULD BE PROVIDED. THE VIN WAS INVALID. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

2/22/2017 - CHARLOTTE AMALIE, VI
I EXPERIENCED DOOR LATCH RECALL ISSUE AFTER HOURS ON FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 17TH WHILE DRIVING! I CALLED THE COMPANY ON SATURDAY MORNING AND WAS TOLD THAT THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT WAS NOT OPEN. ON MONDAY I CONTACTED THEM AGAIN SEVERAL TIMES TO BE TOLD BY THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT THAT THE COMPUTER SYSTEM WAS DOWN. I EVEN WENT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND GOT NO HELP, BEING TOLD THAT THE REPLACEMENT PARTS WERE NOT EXPECTED UNTIL 2ND QUARTER OF THE YEAR. WHAT? MY DOOR IS BROKEN NOW!!! I EVEN ASKED IF THEY COULD REPLACE IT WITH A DEFECTIVE PART IF THEY HAD ANY ON-HAND SO THAT MY CAR COULD BE DRIVABLE. UP TO NOW I HAVE GOTTEN NO RESPONSE BECAUSE THEIR SYSTEM WAS DOWN. CALLED A PERSONAL CONTACT ON TUESDAY AFTERNOON AND WAS ASKED TO CALL BACK ON WEDNESDAY MORNING. I DID. I WAS ASKED IF I RECEIVED A LETTER, TO WHICH I REPLIED NO, BUT I DO HAVE THE PROBLEM AND DO I NEED TO HAVE A LETTER TO GET THE OBVIOUSLY DEFECTIVE PART REPLACED? I SHARED MY VIN NUMBER AS REQUESTED AND AM STILL AWAITING FEEDBACK ON THIS. THIS IS ABSOLUTELY UNACCEPTABLE BUSINESS PRACTICE. I STARTED LOOKING INTO PURCHASING THE PART, BUT THAT SHOULD NOT BE NECESSARY.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

2/21/2017 - COLORADO SPRINGS, CO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V643000 (LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES); HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/16/2017 - LACEY, WA
I WAS DRIVING BACK FROM SEATTLE TO OLYMPIA ON FEB 8, 2017. IT WAS AROUND 40 DEGREES AND RAINY ON AND OFF ALL DAY. AS I WAS MAKING IT INTO TACOMA, I SUDDENLY HEARD A HUGE BOOM, LIKE AN EXPLOSION OR SHOT GUN SOUND WHICH MADE ME PANIC. THEN ALL OF A SUDDEN I WAS COVERED IN GLASS. I LOOKED AROUND TRYING TO FIGURE OUT WHAT HAD HAPPENED WHILE STILL ON THE HIGHWAY TRAVELLING 55 MPH. THERE WERE AND ON RAMP AND OFF RAMP NEAR BY SO CARS ARE PASSING ME; MAKING IT DIFFICULT TO EXIT. I WAS TERRIFIED OF GETTING HIT. I LOOKED UP AND SAW IT WAS THE SUNROOF MISSING A WHOLE BUNCH OF CLASS. SO MY FIRST INSTINCT WAS CLOSING THE COVER TO PROTECT MY DAUGHTER IN THE BACKSEAT. THE MOMENT I GOT IT CLOSED, MORE GLASS FLEW DOWN AND HIT THE COVER. I SIGHED IN RELIEF. EVENTUALLY I GOT OFF THE HIGHWAY AND PARKED. I INSTANTLY RAN BACK TO MY DAUGHTER (8 MONTHS OLD) TO SEE IF SHE WAS OK AND SHE ONLY HAD A TINY SCRATCH. I HAD A BUNCH OF SCRATCHES ALL OVER MY HANDS. I THEN TOOK A PICTURE OF THE DAMAGE AND IN A PANIC CALLED MY HUSBAND WHO ADVISED ME TO GO TO THE FORD DEALERSHIP IN OLYMPIA. I WAITED FOR ABOUT 1/2 HOUR TO SETTLE DOWN BUT WAS STILL IN SHOCK THE WHOLE DRIVE. FORD WOULDN'T HELP ME SINCE I WAS OUT OF THE WARRANTY PERIOD AND WAS SENT TO THEIR GLASS PEOPLE. I FILED A CLAIM WITH MY INSURANCE AND THE VEHICLE WAS EVENTUALLY FIXED.

View Details

ENGINE

2/16/2017 - ROHNERT PARK, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE LOW COOLANT AND CHECK ENGINE INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE COOLANT WAS LEAKING INTO THE ENGINE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 90,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

2/15/2017 - ALEXANDER CITY, AL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED RANDOMLY SEVERAL TIMES WHILE IN MOTION. WHILE MAKING A TURN, THE FAILURE PROGRESSED. THE VEHICLE WAS TESTED FOR THE DTC BY AN INDEPENDENT SOURCE. IN ADDITION, AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC DIAGNOSED THAT THE FUEL LINE PRESSURE SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER EXCLUDED THE VEHICLE FROM A MANUFACTURER RECALL WITH NO SOLUTION OTHER THAN TO HAVE A DEALER DIAGNOSE THE VEHICLE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 36,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/15/2017 - LEONARDTOWN, MD
VEHICLE WAS IN DRIVE AND SUDDENLY LOST POWER. THE ACCELERATOR WAS PRESSED BUT THE VEHICLE STOPPED DRIVING FORWARD EVEN THOUGH THE ENGINE WAS RUNNING. THE ENGINE DID NOT REV. THE DASH LIGHT INDICATING THE TRANSMISSION DISAPPEARED. THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY JUMPED INTO GEAR SO HARD I SUFFERED WHIPLASH. IT DID THIS SEVERAL TIMES AS I ATTEMPTED TO GET CLEAR OF HEAVY TRAFFIC. I LITERALLY THOUGHT I HAD BEEN REAR ENDED AT ONE POINT AS THE CAR JOLTED SO HARD. AFTER GETTING OUT OF THE ROADWAY, THE TRANSMISSION FAILURE SERVICE NOW LIGHT CAME ON. THIS IS CONSISTANT WITH THE PCM WIRING HARNESS RECALL DONE ON OTHER 2013 ESCAPES BUT WAS NOT COVERED FOR MY PARTICULAR VEHICLE. THE JOLTS TO THE VEHICLE KICKING IN GEAR DESTROYED THE TRANSMISSION. I WAS IN MOTION AT THE TIME, IN BUMPER TO BUMPER TRAFFIC. I WAS LUCKY NOT TO STRIKE OR BE HIT BY ANOTHER VEHICLE. I HAVE CONTACTED FORD BUT THEY STATE MY CAR WAS NOT COVERED UNDER THAT RECALL AND THAT THEY WILL NOT HELP ME.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

2/15/2017 - LEONARDTOWN, MD
VEHICLE WAS IN DRIVE AND SUDDENLY LOST POWER. THE ACCELERATOR WAS PRESSED BUT THE VEHICLE STOPPED DRIVING FORWARD EVEN THOUGH THE ENGINE WAS RUNNING. THE ENGINE DID NOT REV. THE DASH LIGHT INDICATING THE TRANSMISSION DISAPPEARED. THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY JUMPED INTO GEAR SO HARD I SUFFERED WHIPLASH. IT DID THIS SEVERAL TIMES AS I ATTEMPTED TO GET CLEAR OF HEAVY TRAFFIC. I LITERALLY THOUGHT I HAD BEEN REAR ENDED AT ONE POINT AS THE CAR JOLTED SO HARD. AFTER GETTING OUT OF THE ROADWAY, THE TRANSMISSION FAILURE SERVICE NOW LIGHT CAME ON. THIS IS CONSISTANT WITH THE PCM WIRING HARNESS RECALL DONE ON OTHER 2013 ESCAPES BUT WAS NOT COVERED FOR MY PARTICULAR VEHICLE. THE JOLTS TO THE VEHICLE KICKING IN GEAR DESTROYED THE TRANSMISSION. I WAS IN MOTION AT THE TIME, IN BUMPER TO BUMPER TRAFFIC. I WAS LUCKY NOT TO STRIKE OR BE HIT BY ANOTHER VEHICLE. I HAVE CONTACTED FORD BUT THEY STATE MY CAR WAS NOT COVERED UNDER THAT RECALL AND THAT THEY WILL NOT HELP ME.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 69
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds