Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2013 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 239 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (26) Steering (7) Unknown Or Other (10)
Electrical System (46) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (4) Structure (14) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (11) Seats (1) Suspension (4) Visibility (3)
Engine (127) Fuel System Gasoline (10) Service Brakes (14) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (5) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (4) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (3)
Equipment (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

8/4/2014 - CANTON, MI
IN ORDER TO PARK IN THE SINGLE BAY OF OUR THREE CAR SIDE ENTRY ATTACHED GARAGE, YOU HAVE TO PULL UP TO THE POST BETWEEN THE DOUBLE AND SINGLE BAYS, BACK UP AND PULL FORWARD. AFTER PULLING TO ABOUT ONE FOOT FROM THE GARAGE SUPPORT POST AND BRINGING THE VEHICLE TO A COMPLETE STOP, I ATTEMPTED TO SHIFT FROM DRIVE TO REVERSE. THE ESCAPE SUDDENLY ACCELERATED INTO THE POST AND OUR EXPEDITION PARKED IN THE RIGHT HAND SIDE OF THE DOUBLE BAY. IT FELT LIKE I HAD BEEN SLAMMED INTO FROM BEHIND. WITH THE ENGINE RACING I WAS ABLE TO USE THE START/STOP BUTTON TO STOP THE ENGINE. THE POST WAS DRIVEN OVER THREE FEET INTO THE GARAGE AND THE EXPEDITION WAS HIT WITH SO MUCH FORCE THAT IT JUMPED ABOUT AN INCH ONTO THE CEMENT CURB IN FRONT OF THE GARAGE. HITTING THE EXPEDITION PREVENTED THE GARAGE POST (WOOD AND BRICK) FROM TOTALLY COLLAPSING. THE ESCAPE HAS THE 1.6L ECO-BOOST ENGINE AND WAS PURCHASED IN OCT. 2012. IT HAS BEEN DRIVEN ONLY 5,904 MILES. AT 5,672 MILES THE DEALERSHIP HAD THE VEHICLE FOR THREE DAYS FOR THREE RECALLS 13S12, 14S04 AND 14S03.

View Details

ENGINE

8/3/2014 - MELBOURNE, FL
THE ENGINE HAD BEEN IDLEING A LITTLE ROUGH AND STALLED AT A STOP LIGHT. IT RESTARTED AND THEN IT WOULD IDLE ROUGH AND LIKE IT WAS GOING TO STALL AGAIN. IT HAS STALLED A TOTAL OF 3 TIMES IN THE LAST 3 DAYS AND IS IDLEING ROUGH. FORD DEALER SERVICE DEPT. NOT OPEN TO GET LOOKED AT. THIS IS OUT OF THE BLUE AND WHEN I RAN AN ENGINE DIAGNOSTIC IT CAME BACK NORMAL. I DONT TRUST THIS CAR NOW AND AM IN THE PROCESS OF TRYING TO TRADE IT FOR A NEW TOYOTA, BUT I AM NOT SURE I WILL BE ABLE TO GET RID OF THIS VEHICLE. I SEE FORD HAS HAD SEVERAL ISSUES WITH THIS AND SO FAR THEY CANT FIND ANYTHING WRONG.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/3/2014 - MELBOURNE, FL
THE ENGINE HAD BEEN IDLEING A LITTLE ROUGH AND STALLED AT A STOP LIGHT. IT RESTARTED AND THEN IT WOULD IDLE ROUGH AND LIKE IT WAS GOING TO STALL AGAIN. IT HAS STALLED A TOTAL OF 3 TIMES IN THE LAST 3 DAYS AND IS IDLEING ROUGH. FORD DEALER SERVICE DEPT. NOT OPEN TO GET LOOKED AT. THIS IS OUT OF THE BLUE AND WHEN I RAN AN ENGINE DIAGNOSTIC IT CAME BACK NORMAL. I DONT TRUST THIS CAR NOW AND AM IN THE PROCESS OF TRYING TO TRADE IT FOR A NEW TOYOTA, BUT I AM NOT SURE I WILL BE ABLE TO GET RID OF THIS VEHICLE. I SEE FORD HAS HAD SEVERAL ISSUES WITH THIS AND SO FAR THEY CANT FIND ANYTHING WRONG.

View Details

ENGINE

8/1/2014 - PALM BEACH GARDEN, FL
I HAVE MEDICAL CONDITION IN FLORIDA.MY CAR IS REGISTRATION IN CALIFORNIA.MY MEDICAL CONDITION IN NOT REDY ,NADER FEW MONTH.I WANT FIX MY RECALL IN FLORIDA.PLEASE SEND MY DEALER ADDRESS IN FLORIDA 33418. PLEASSE HELP MY! THANK YOU!

View Details

ENGINE

7/31/2014 - AURORA, CO
I HAVE THE 2013 FORD ESCAPE 2.0 WITH ECO-BOOST. SUDDENLY IT BEGAN STALLING WHEN I WAS IN PARK, IT HAS GRADUALLY BEGAN STALLING WHEN I AM IN DRIVE BUT AT A STOP. LUCKILY IT HAS NOT HAPPENED WHILE I WAS IN MOTION. THE ENGINE LIGHT COMES ON ALONG WITH SERVICE NOW INDICATOR AND OTHER DASH ICONS. I PUT THE VEHICLE IN PARK AND RESTART WITH NO PROBLEM. ALL ICON'S DISAPPEAR AND THE VEHICLE GOES BACK TO RUNNING NORMAL. I HAVE NOTICED IT IS IDLING ROUGHLY AND A BIT HIGHER THAN NORMAL ABOUT 900 RPM. IT CONSTANTLY IDLES AS IF IT IS GOING TO STALL ALTHOUGH STALLING DOES NOT ALWAYS OCCUR.

View Details

ENGINE

7/29/2014 - BRIDGETON , NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V583000 (ENGINE); HOWEVER, THE PART FOR THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: PEDALS AND LINKAGES

7/28/2014 - CHESTER, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED COMING TO A STOP SUDDENLY THE CONTACT FOOT SLIPPED OFF OF THE BRAKE PEDAL CAUSING HIM TO MOVE FORWARD. THE CONTACT FELT THE PEDAL WAS TOO SMALL. THE BOTH DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 6,800. UPDATED 8/28/14 UPDATED 09/17/2014

View Details

ENGINE

7/25/2014 - YUBA CITY, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE OVERHEATED AND STALLED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS TURNED OFF, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE COMING FROM THE REAR END OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE POPPED OFF COOLANT HOSE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 31,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/22/2014 - BLUE SPRINGS, MO
SINCE JULY 1,2014 MY 2013 FORD ESCAPE HAS STALLED 3 ADDITIONAL TIMES FOR A TOTAL OF 4 TIMES. TWICE IN TWO DAYS. THE FIRST TWO WHILE STANDING STILL AT A LIGHT, THE LAST 2 WHILE SLOWING DOWN TO MAKE A TURN, 2ND TIME 07-08-2014, 3RD 07-20-2014 AND 4TH TODAY 07-22-2014. THE CAR WAS TAKEN TO BLUE SPRINGS FORD IN BLUE SPRINGS MO ON MONDAY 07-14-2014 WAS INFORMED THE PART HAD TO BE ORDERED AND WOULD BE IN ABOUT 7 TO 10 DAYS BUT WASN'T INFORMED WHAT WAS WRONG WITH MY CAR. CALLED BLUE SPRINGS FORD TODAY 07-22-2014 WAS INFORMED THE PART NEEDED IS A O2 SENOR AND IS ON BACK ORDER. I'M AFRAID THE CAR IS GOING TO STALL WHILE IN MOTION AND GET REAR ENDED. I WAS INFORMED BY THE SERVICE MANAGER IT WONT STALL WHILE MOVING BUT THE 3RD AND 4TH TIME IT DID WHILE SLOWING DOWN INSTEAD OF AT A FULL STOP LIKE THE FIRST AND 2ND TIME. I USE I -70 TO GET BACK AND FORTH TO WORK INCLUDING RUNNING ERRANDS. THIS IS BECOMING A SAFETY ISSUE AND THE 2013 FORD ESCAPE NEEDS TO BE RECALLED FOR THE REPLACEMENT OF THE O2 SENOR. I'M NOT TOO HAPPY NOT KNOWING HOW LONG ITS GOING TO BE TO GET THE PART IN TO GET MY CAR REPAIRED. THIS IS AN ACCIDENT WAITING TO HAPPEN.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/22/2014 - LONG BEACH, CA
MAY 26, 2014 BEGAN A FORD RECALL OF "CERTAIN MODELS" 2013 ESCAPE FOR RESTRAINT CONTROL MODULE DEFECT-IT REQUIRED REPLACEMENT OF THE RCM (FORD #14S04, NHTSA #14V237000). I DID NOT RECEIVE A NOTIFICATION. APPARENTLY I DON'T OWN THE "CERTAIN MODEL". JULY 19, 2014 THE "AIR BAG SYSTEM WARNING LIGHT" ILLUMINATED AND STAYED ON. JULY 22 DEALERSHIP SAYS RCM NEEDS REPLACEMENT. IS DEFECT NOT ONLY IN THE "CERTAIN MODELS" CLAIMED IN MAY RECALL? LUCKILY, ALTHO PAST THE 36,000 MILE BASIC WARRANTY AND THAT IT WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE MAY RECALL FOR THIS PROBLEM, IT IS COVERED BY A "RESTRAINT WARRANTY". PHEW...BUT, THEY CAN'T FIND THE PART ANYWHERE IN THE COUNTRY. FORD SAYS MAYBE THEY CAN SHIP ONE BY EARLY TO MID AUGUST. MY CAR IS UNSAFE AND STAYS AT THE DEALERSHIP UNTIL THE PART IS RECEIVED. LUCKILY THE DEALERSHIP WILL PROVIDE ME A LOANER AT NO CHARGE. BOTTOM LINE: REALLY FORD?? SERIOUSLY?? YOU RECALL A PROBLEM AND INVOLVE ONLY CERTAIN CARS BUT IT IS APPARENTLY A PROBLEM IN OTHER...VERSIONS OF THE MODEL? I WISH I HAD READ THIS INFORMATION BEFORE I BOUGHT; I WOULD NOT HAVE BOUGHT THE ESCAPE. I AM PETRIFIED THE ENGINE STALLING, FIRES ETC.SEEN NUMEROUS TIMES IN THE COMPLAINTS ON THIS SITE WILL AT SOME POINT OCCUR. ONCE REPAIRED I'M TRADING IT. 2013 ESCAPE=10 RECALLS, 39 SERVICE BULLETINS, 210 COMPLAINTS. 2013 NISSAN ROGUE= 0 RECALLS, 8 BULLETINS, 24 COMPLAINTS. HONDA CRV=1 RECALL, 9 BULLETINS, 76 COMPLAINTS. YOU DO THE MATH. DON'T JUDGE A BOOK BY ITS COVER; THE ESCAPE IS VERY STYLISH BUT INSIDE HIDES TOO MANY PROBLEMS FROM NUISANCE TO SAFETY HAZARDS. NOT WORTH IT. TOO ADD TO THE CARTOON, THE LIFT GATE HANDLE BROKE-AWAY FROM THE BODY AT 36,086 MILES. HAHAHA, COST ME $50 TO FIX (SEE SERVICE BULLETIN # TSB-14-0012). ONE DAY EARLIER IT WOULD HAVE BEEN A WARRANTY REPAIR. WHAT A JOKE. THANKFULLY AT LEAST I SEEM TO HAVE FOUND A GREAT DEALERSHIP & SERVICE DEPARTMENT.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds