Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2013 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 158 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (20) Steering (1) Unknown Or Other (6)
Electrical System (27) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (4) Structure (11) Vehicle Speed Control (16)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Seats (1) Suspension (3) Visibility (3)
Engine (81) Fuel System Gasoline (7) Service Brakes (11) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3) Latches Locks Linkages (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (3)
Equipment (1)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/27/2014 - ATLANTA, GA
THE LEFT LIGHT WENT OUT. WENT TO DEALER TO GET THE LIGHT BULB CHANGED. AFTER AN HOUR, THEY UPDATED ME THAT "SOME" ELECTRICAL FAILURE OCCURRED AND THAT IT COULD TAKE "HOURS" TO FIX. IT FOR SURE IS COVERED UNDER WARRANTY, BUT NOW I AM SKEPTICAL TO DRIVE THIS CAR. AND THIS CAR IS NEW, AND UNDER 3 MONTHS OLD WITH ABOUT 3500 MILES. INCIDENT OCCURRED ON FRIDAY EVENING. TOOK TO DEALER ON SATURDAY MORNING. WAS TOLD THEY WERE OUT OF BULB, AND TO WAIT UNTIL TUESDAY. TOOK TO ANOTHER DEALERSHIP. THEY WERE KIND ENOUGH TO GET THE NEEDED PART (BULB) BY MONDAY. TOOK TO THEM ON MONDAY. THEY PUT IN THE BULB. THEN REALIZED POWER WASN'T REACHING THE BULB POINT. SO HAD ME GET IT BACK IN ON TUESDAY. CHECKED ON TUESDAY, TO FIND OUT IT WAS THE BCM (BODY CONTROL MODULE) THAT WAS OUT. SO HAD TO WAIT ANOTHER WHILE THEY GOT THE PART. FINALLY GOT THE VEHICLE DELIVERED ON WEDNESDAY EVENING.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

1/27/2014 - ATLANTA, GA
THE LEFT LIGHT WENT OUT. WENT TO DEALER TO GET THE LIGHT BULB CHANGED. AFTER AN HOUR, THEY UPDATED ME THAT "SOME" ELECTRICAL FAILURE OCCURRED AND THAT IT COULD TAKE "HOURS" TO FIX. IT FOR SURE IS COVERED UNDER WARRANTY, BUT NOW I AM SKEPTICAL TO DRIVE THIS CAR. AND THIS CAR IS NEW, AND UNDER 3 MONTHS OLD WITH ABOUT 3500 MILES. INCIDENT OCCURRED ON FRIDAY EVENING. TOOK TO DEALER ON SATURDAY MORNING. WAS TOLD THEY WERE OUT OF BULB, AND TO WAIT UNTIL TUESDAY. TOOK TO ANOTHER DEALERSHIP. THEY WERE KIND ENOUGH TO GET THE NEEDED PART (BULB) BY MONDAY. TOOK TO THEM ON MONDAY. THEY PUT IN THE BULB. THEN REALIZED POWER WASN'T REACHING THE BULB POINT. SO HAD ME GET IT BACK IN ON TUESDAY. CHECKED ON TUESDAY, TO FIND OUT IT WAS THE BCM (BODY CONTROL MODULE) THAT WAS OUT. SO HAD TO WAIT ANOTHER WHILE THEY GOT THE PART. FINALLY GOT THE VEHICLE DELIVERED ON WEDNESDAY EVENING.

View Details

ENGINE

1/27/2014 - ASHLAND CITY, TN
I PURCHASED MY 2013 FORD ESCAPE IN SEPT 2012. SINCE THAT TIME THE VEHICLE HAS BEEN RECALLED 5 TIMES FOR FIRE HAZARDS. I HAVE TAKEN IT IN TWICE FOR THE SMELL OF ANTIFREEZE AND A CHECK ENGINE LIGHT. I WAS TOLD THE SMELL WAS MY AIR FRESHENER, I THEN TOOK IT BACK A SECOND TIME WITH THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON AND HAS A SENSOR REPLACED THAT I WAS TOLD WOULD BE THE REASON I WAS SMELLING ANTIFREEZE. IT HAS BEEN RECALLED SEVERAL TIMES FOR FIRE HAZARDS THAT ARE VERY SIMILAR TO THE CURRENT RECALL. I AM VERY CONCERNED ABOUT THE MULTITUDE OF RECALLS FOR FIRE HAZARDS ON THIS CAR. I DRIVE A LOT OF MILES AS I AM A HOME HEALTH CARE NURSE AND ARE FREQUENTLY IN VERY RURAL AREAS. MY CONCERN IS THIS,1. HOW CAN I TRUST THAT MY VEHICLE WILL SAFELY GET ME TO MY TWO JOBS. 2. THE NUMBER OF RECALLS FOR FIRE HAZARDS LETS ME KNOW THAT THEY HAVE NOT PROPERLY FIXED MY CAR IN THE PAST RECALLS. 3. I AM A MOTHER OF A CHILD THAT IS VERY INVOLVED IN SPORTS THAT REQUIRES ME TO TRANSPORT MANY TEENAGERS TO MULTIPLE MEETS, SOME MANY MILES FROM HOME. I HAVE TALKED TO FORD MOTOR COMPANY WITH MY CONCERNS AND THEY HAVE ONLY TOLD ME THAT THERE IS NOTHING I CAN DO ABOUT THIS. THEY HAVE NO SOLUTION TO THIS AND STATED THAT I COULD NOT FILE LEMON LAW BECAUSE IN TN IT HAS TO BE IN THE SHOP FOR MORE THAT 30 DAYS. I ASKED IF THEY WOULD REPLACE IT WITH A .2.0 LITER CAR AS THEY HAVE NOT HAD THE RECALLS THAT MY CURRENT 1.6L HAS BUT I WAS LAUGHED AT. I AM VERY CONCERNED ABOUT MY AND MY FAMILIES SAFETY.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

1/24/2014 - YUKON, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 50 MPH AND APPLYING THE BRAKES, THE BRAKES FAILED. THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO A CONCRETE LANE DIVIDER AND WENT AIRBORNE. THE VEHICLE CROSSED OVER FOUR LANES OF TRAFFIC BEFORE COASTING TO A STOP. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED A FRACTURED LUMBAR SPINE AND INJURIES TO THE LEFT ELBOW. THE FRONT PASSENGER SUFFERED A HEAD INJURY, FRACTURES TO THE LUMBAR AND THORACIC SPINE AREAS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER+S SIDE SEAT ALSO FAILED UPON IMPACT. BOTH OF THE INJURED OCCUPANTS WERE TRANSPORTED TO THE HOSPITAL FROM THE CRASH SITE. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NEITHER DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 11,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

1/24/2014 - YUKON, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 50 MPH AND APPLYING THE BRAKES, THE BRAKES FAILED. THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO A CONCRETE LANE DIVIDER AND WENT AIRBORNE. THE VEHICLE CROSSED OVER FOUR LANES OF TRAFFIC BEFORE COASTING TO A STOP. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED A FRACTURED LUMBAR SPINE AND INJURIES TO THE LEFT ELBOW. THE FRONT PASSENGER SUFFERED A HEAD INJURY, FRACTURES TO THE LUMBAR AND THORACIC SPINE AREAS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FRONT PASSENGER+S SIDE SEAT ALSO FAILED UPON IMPACT. BOTH OF THE INJURED OCCUPANTS WERE TRANSPORTED TO THE HOSPITAL FROM THE CRASH SITE. A POLICE REPORT WAS NOT FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NEITHER DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 11,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/23/2014 - MINNEAPOLIS, MN
FORD ESCAPE HAD STARTED TO STALL AND QUIT SUDDENLY WHEN SLOWING OR AT A SPEED BELOW 40MPH. THERE HAVE BEEN 10 OCCURRENCES. ABOUT HALF OF THE TIME, THE ENTIRE DASH BECOMES BLACK AND IT IS SOME TIME (LONGEST BEING 4 MINUTES) BEFORE THE DASH IS LIT UP AGAIN. DURING THIS TIME, I AM UNABLE TO GET ANY RESPONSE FROM THE CAR AT ALL. THE OTHER TIMES I AM ABLE TO GET THE CAR TO RESTART AFTER ABOUT 15-30 SECONDS. THE OCCURRENCES HAVE BEEN IN HIGH TRAFFIC SITUATIONS, AFTER DARK AND IN SUB ZERO WEATHER. I AM A SINGLE PARENT AND PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE FOR PEACE OF MIND AND SAFETY OF MYSELF AND MY CHILDREN. I AM NOW AFRAID TO DRIVE THE CAR FOR FEAR OF BEING HIT OR REAR-ENDED. OTHERS HAVE ATTEMPTED TO ASSIST ME AND I FEAR THEY ARE ALSO IN GREAT DANGER AS WELL. THE DEALER CLAIMS THAT THE CAR DOES NOT THROW A CODE. IT SUGGESTS TO ME (I AM NOT AN ENGINEER OR A SPECIALIST TO MAKE THIS EVALUATION) THAT THE COMPUTER MAY HAVE REBOOTED ITSELF. AFTER THE FIRST FEW OCCURRENCES, THE DEALER HAD THIS CAR FOR 5 DAYS AND IT DID NOT STALL FOR THEM. I WAS TOLD THAT I HAD TO TAKE THE CAR BECAUSE THEY CANNOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH IT. AFTER THE OCCURRENCES THIS PAST WEEKEND, I SPOKE WITH A SERVICE ADVISOR WHO DID SOME CHECKING TO SEE IF THERE WERE ANY NEW DATA ON THIS ISSUE. THERE WAS NOT. I AM TOLD THAT UNLESS THEY CAN PULL A CODE AND FIND SOMETHING TO FIX, THAT I AM TO KEEP THE CAR. THEY WILL NOT LET ME OUT OF MY LEASE UNLESS I PAY THE THE BALANCE OF MY LEASE PAYMENTS. AFTER READING THE MANY ENTRIES HERE, I AM ADDING MINE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/30/2013 - BARNEGAT, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS A STRONG GASOLINE ODOR FROM INSIDE AND OUTSIDE OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN COULD NOT DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 8,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

12/23/2013 - BURLINGTON FLATS, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT SHE WAS STOPPED AT A LIGHT WHEN THE ENGINE RPM'S STARTED TO INCREASE AND THE VEHICLE ERRONEOUSLY ACCELERATED INTO TRAFFIC BEFORE STALLING. THE VEHICLE WAS DIAGNOSED AT THE DEALER AND THE TORQUE CONVERTER WAS REPLACED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS WOULD INTERMITTENTLY FAIL WHILE BEING UTILIZED IN INCLEMENT WEATHER. THE VEHICLE WAS DIAGNOSED AT THE DEALER BUT THE FAILURE WAS UNABLE TO BE DUPLICATED. NO REPAIRS WERE PERFORMED TO THE WIPERS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED IN REFERENCE TO THE DEFECTS. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 23,850.

View Details

STRUCTURE

12/20/2013 - THE COLONY, TX
THE HEAT SHIELD ON THE UNDERCARRIAGE OF THE CAR IS VERY CHEAPLY MADE AND IS FALLING APART. IT IS BASICALLY FIBERGLASS INSULATION COVERED WITH SHINY ALUMINUM FOIL. IT IS VERY FLIMSY AND EXPOSED TO THE ELEMENTS. THE SHIELDING HAS COME LOOSE AND THE MORE I DRIVE, THE MORE THE WIND PULLS IT AND TEARS IT FROM THE CAR. IT IS NOW HANGING DOWN FROM THE UNDERCARRIAGE AND ALMOST TOUCHING THE GROUND, LAYING OVER THE EXHAUST AND DIRECTLY TOUCHING IT. THIS SEEMS TO BE A VERY HAZARDOUS SITUATION. IT SEEMS TO BE A VERY POOR DESIGN TO HAVE SOMETHING THAT IS SO DELICATE AND FLIMSY TO BE DIRECTLY EXPOSED JUST INCHES FROM THE GROUND ON THE UNDERCARRIAGE WHERE ANY SORT OF ROAD DEBRIS COULD EASILY DAMAGE IT AND CAUSE IT COME INTO DIRECT CONTACT WITH A HOT EXHAUST PIPE. I'M SURE ONCE IT CATCHES ON SOMETHING IT WOULD BE EASILY RIPPED FREE OF THE VEHICLE AND LEAVE ABSOLUTELY NO HEAT SHIELDING BETWEEN THE EXHAUST AND THE FLOORBOARD.

View Details

ENGINE

12/20/2013 - THE COLONY, TX
THE HEAT SHIELD ON THE UNDERCARRIAGE OF THE CAR IS VERY CHEAPLY MADE AND IS FALLING APART. IT IS BASICALLY FIBERGLASS INSULATION COVERED WITH SHINY ALUMINUM FOIL. IT IS VERY FLIMSY AND EXPOSED TO THE ELEMENTS. THE SHIELDING HAS COME LOOSE AND THE MORE I DRIVE, THE MORE THE WIND PULLS IT AND TEARS IT FROM THE CAR. IT IS NOW HANGING DOWN FROM THE UNDERCARRIAGE AND ALMOST TOUCHING THE GROUND, LAYING OVER THE EXHAUST AND DIRECTLY TOUCHING IT. THIS SEEMS TO BE A VERY HAZARDOUS SITUATION. IT SEEMS TO BE A VERY POOR DESIGN TO HAVE SOMETHING THAT IS SO DELICATE AND FLIMSY TO BE DIRECTLY EXPOSED JUST INCHES FROM THE GROUND ON THE UNDERCARRIAGE WHERE ANY SORT OF ROAD DEBRIS COULD EASILY DAMAGE IT AND CAUSE IT COME INTO DIRECT CONTACT WITH A HOT EXHAUST PIPE. I'M SURE ONCE IT CATCHES ON SOMETHING IT WOULD BE EASILY RIPPED FREE OF THE VEHICLE AND LEAVE ABSOLUTELY NO HEAT SHIELDING BETWEEN THE EXHAUST AND THE FLOORBOARD.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds