Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2013 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 648 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (36) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (66) Steering (41) Unknown Or Other (40)
Electrical System (128) Exterior Lighting (8) Seat Belts (22) Structure (46) Vehicle Speed Control (35)
Electronic Stability Control (9) Fuel Propulsion System (41) Seats (4) Suspension (10) Visibility (5)
Engine (294) Fuel System Gasoline (18) Service Brakes (24) Tires (5) Visibility Wiper (14)
Engine And Engine Cooling (12) Latches Locks Linkages (37) Service Brakes Hydraulic (6) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (6)
Equipment (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 73
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

4/20/2017 - WICONISCO, PA
VEHICLE WAS IN DRIVE, THE ENGINE WAS MAKING A NOISE AND AFTER APPLYING THE BRAKE FOR A TURNING CAR IN FRONT OF ME, I WENT TO APPLY THE GAS AND IT WOULD NOT ACCELERATE. I PUT THE VEHICLE IN PARK, WHILE ON A STATE ROAD AND THEN MOVED THE GEAR SHIFT INTO DRIVE AND GOT IT TO A GARAGE ABOUT TWO BLOCKS AWAY FROM THE INCIDENT. SHUT THE VEHICLE OFF AND ONE OF THEIR MECHANICS TOOK IT FOR A DRIVE, CAME BACK AND SAID NOTHING WAS WRONG. SO I GOT IN THE CAR AND ABOUT 3 TO 4 MILES UP THE ROAD, IT STARTED ACTING UP AGAIN. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP THAT I PURCHASED IT FROM AND AFTER REPLACING A WATER PUMP, COOLANT LEVEL SENSOR AND AXLE SEAL, THEY TOLD ME IT WAS FIXED, SO I WENT TO PICK IT UP. AFTER I PAID $822.08 FOR THE BILL, I DROVE THE VEHICLE A BLOCK AND THE INCIDENT OCCURRED AGAIN, SO I DROVE IT BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP AND TOLD THEM THAT THEY DIDN'T FIX THE ORIGINAL PROBLEM THAT I BROUGHT IT IN FOR. THEY CONTACTED ME THAT IT IS SOMETHING IN THE TRANSMISSION, WHICH IS VERY EXPENSIVE. NOW I AM LEFT WITH A YEAR OF CAR PAYMENTS ON A VEHICLE THAT ISN'T DRIVABLE. IT DOESN'T APPEAR THAT FORD OR THE DEALERSHIP IS GOING TO STAND BEHIND A DEFECTIVE PRODUCT. THE VEHICLE HAS NEVER BEEN DRIVEN OFF ROAD OR ABUSED, ACTUALLY I HAVE TAKEN IT FAITHFULLY FOR ALL RECALL REPAIRS AND SERVICING NEEDS.

View Details

ENGINE

4/18/2017 - DOUGLAS, WY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING, SMOKE EMITTED FROM THE FRONT END OF THE VEHICLE AND THE TEMPERATURE GAUGE DISPLAYED THAT THE VEHICLE OVERHEATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT COOLANT HAD LEAKED INTO THE ENGINE CYLINDER AND CAUSED THE ENGINE TO FAIL. AS A RESULT, THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V209000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 67,000.

View Details

ENGINE

4/14/2017 - OMAHA, NE
AFTER SHORT DRIVES AND USUALLY A 15 MINUTE TO 30 MINUTE REST, THE CAR STARTS UP BUT AFTER SHORT DRIVES THE CAR BEGINS TO STALL OUT LIKE FUEL IS CUT OFF AND DIES AFTER DRIVING A VERY SHORT DISTANCE. PUTTING THE CAR IN NEUTRAL AND GIVING IT GAS DOES NOT STABILIZE THE CAR AND IT DIES. DOES DO THIS ALL THE TIME BUT IT HAS HAPPENED 7 OR 8 TIMES OVER A 2 MONTH PERIOD.. THE MECHANIC FINDS NOTHING WRONG AND NO SERVICE INFO FROM FORD

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/14/2017 - OMAHA, NE
AFTER SHORT DRIVES AND USUALLY A 15 MINUTE TO 30 MINUTE REST, THE CAR STARTS UP BUT AFTER SHORT DRIVES THE CAR BEGINS TO STALL OUT LIKE FUEL IS CUT OFF AND DIES AFTER DRIVING A VERY SHORT DISTANCE. PUTTING THE CAR IN NEUTRAL AND GIVING IT GAS DOES NOT STABILIZE THE CAR AND IT DIES. DOES DO THIS ALL THE TIME BUT IT HAS HAPPENED 7 OR 8 TIMES OVER A 2 MONTH PERIOD.. THE MECHANIC FINDS NOTHING WRONG AND NO SERVICE INFO FROM FORD

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: PEDALS AND LINKAGES

4/13/2017 - TAYLOR, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY, THE CONTACT'S FOOT BECAME STUCK BETWEEN THE BRAKE PEDAL AND THE CENTER CONSOLE. THE CONTACT REFERENCED MANUFACTURER RECALL NUMBER: 12S34, WHICH ORIGINALLY REMEDIED VEHICLES MANUFACTURED BETWEEN MARCH 8, 2012 AND JUNE 7, 2012; HOWEVER, THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 77,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

4/13/2017 - TAYLOR, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS STATIONARY, THE CONTACT'S FOOT BECAME STUCK BETWEEN THE BRAKE PEDAL AND THE CENTER CONSOLE. THE CONTACT REFERENCED MANUFACTURER RECALL NUMBER: 12S34, WHICH ORIGINALLY REMEDIED VEHICLES MANUFACTURED BETWEEN MARCH 8, 2012 AND JUNE 7, 2012; HOWEVER, THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 77,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/11/2017 - CHICAGO, IL
I TOOK MY VEHICLE IN TO TAKE THE EMISSION TEST AFTER IT DID NOT PASS THE FIRST ONE. I SPENT OVER SIX HUNDRED DOLLARS O HAVE THE CODES ADDRESSED AND FIXED SUPPOSEDLY. MY VEHICLE FAILED THE TEST AGAIN WITH ONE OF THE SAME CODES AS BEFORE AND ONE NEW ONE RELATING TO THE FUEL SYSTEM. CODES ( ) ( ). I AM VERY DISAPPOINTED, FRUSTRATED AND VERY, VERY CONCERNED. ESPECIALLY HAVING CONTINUAL ISSUES WITH THE FUEL SYSTEM, IT IS GETTING VERY EXPENSIVE FOR ME. I AM A SINGLE, DISABLED, ELDERLY FEMALE WHO CANNOT AFFORD TO KEEP TAKING MY VEHICLE TO THE SHOP TO BE SERVICED EVERY MONTH WHEN IT IS A 2013 AND SHOULDN'T HAVE SO MANY SERIOUS PROBLEMS. I GET MY OIL CHANGED AS SCHEDULED AS WELL AS BRAKES CHECKED AND TIRES REPLACED AS NEEDED. I REALLY AM IN NEED OF A RELIABLE VEHICLE BECAUSE I AM DISABLED AND I WAS SO SURE THAT THE FORD ESCAPE WAS THE ONE SINCE I HAD DRIVEN AN EXPEDITION FOR 10 YEARS WITH VERY LITTLE PROBLEMS. MY SOLUTION AT THIS POINT WOULD BE TO TRADE IT IN FOR SOMETHING ELSE, BUT I CANNOT AFFORD TO DO THAT AT THIS TIME. IF I FAIL THE EMISSION TEST AGAIN I WILL NOT BE ABLE TO DRIVE NOR DO I HAVE THE EXPENSES TO CONTINUE GETTING IT WORKED ON. WITH MY CONDITION, THIS IS GOING TO CAUSE ME MAJOR PROBLEMS. UNFORTUNATELY I DO REGRET CHOOSING A FORD. NOWHERE TO TURN

View Details

ENGINE

4/11/2017 - MACUNGIE, PA
CAR HAS BEEN LOSING COOLANT DURING THE PAST YEAR. I HAVE ADDED COOLANT WHENEVER LOW-LEVEL ALARM CAME ON, AND TAKEN TO MECHANIC MULTIPLE TIMES WITHOUT ANY LEAK BEING DISCOVERED. COOLANT NEEDS TO BE ADDED AT LEAST ONCE A MONTH. I NOTICED A RECALL ON 2014 1.6L FORD ESCAPES FOR THIS ISSUE, BUT THE SAME PROBLEM EXISTS WITH MY 2013 1.6L.

View Details

STEERING

4/10/2017 - PLANO, TX
POWER STEERING CONTROL MODULE FAILED, CAR WAS IN A PARKING LOT NOT MOVING. VEHICLE REFUSED TO START, ON A 4.5 YEAR OLD CAR WITH APPROXIMATELY 47K MILES. THIS WILL REQUIRE A REPLACEMENT COSTING $2,200 INCLUDING PARTS, LABOR AND TAX.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/10/2017 - ROSE HILL, KS
IF THE ENGINE IS HOT AND YOU ARE DOING A LOT OF STOPPING AND TUNING THE VEHICLE OFF THEN RESTATING IT, IT WILL STALL WHILE DRIVING. IT HAS HAPPENED 4 TIMES IN THE LAST WEEK. THANKFULLY I'VE ONLY BEEN GOING AT A SLOW SPEED. THE DATE OF WHEN IT HAPPENED WAS THE FIRST IMW.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 73
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds