Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD ESCAPE - 2013 FORD ESCAPE Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 402 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD ESCAPE. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD ESCAPE, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (29) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (45) Steering (19) Unknown Or Other (19)
Electrical System (74) Exterior Lighting (6) Seat Belts (17) Structure (28) Vehicle Speed Control (27)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (22) Seats (3) Suspension (7) Visibility (4)
Engine (196) Fuel System Gasoline (16) Service Brakes (19) Tires (4) Visibility Wiper (8)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Latches Locks Linkages (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (5)
Equipment (2)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 46
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

12/3/2015 - SOUTH SAN FRANCISCO, CA
ESCAPE 2013 AWD 77,000 MILES. INTERNAL MECHANICAL PROBLEMS AFFECTING THE DIFFERENTIAL. THE TRANSMISSION FLUID IS BURN'T. THE TRANSMISSIONS SLIPS IN EVERY GEAR, EVENTUALLY PUTTING ITSELF IN TO NEUTRAL. A WELL ESTABLISHED, LOCAL AAA RECOMMENDED TRANSMISSION SHOP OWNER STATES ONLY ONE OPTION; REPLACING THE TRANSMISSION AT A COST OF $4,800. FURTHER, STATED THE PROBLEM WAS SOMETHING THAT HAD BEEN BUILDING UP FOR QUIET SOME TIME AND THAT IT'S SOME SORT OF DEFECT. WORST CASE SCENARIO, TRANSMISSIONS FAILS DUE TO DEFECT CAUSING AN ACCIDENT. IT HAS HAD 2 MAJOR REPAIRS SINCE I PURCHASED IT NEW FROM THE DEALERSHIP IN 2013 TOTALLING OVER $2,500. $2,500 + $4,800 = $7,300 FOR A VEHICLE ONLY 2 YEARS OLD. THIS MODEL NEEDS TO THOROUGHLY INVESTIGATED BEFORE SOMEONE GETS HURT OR POSSIBLY KILLED.

View Details

ENGINE

12/3/2015 - SUFFOLK, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 40 MPH, THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE COOLANT BYPASS VALVE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V431000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 20,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/3/2015 - SMITHTOWN, NY
FOR A FEW MONTHS LOW COOLANT LIGHT WOULD COME ON AND I WOULD FILL IT. THEN CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. BEFORE I COULD HAVE IT CHECKED OUT, I WAS DRIVING FOR ONLY FIVE MINUTES AND A RED INDICATOR LIGHT CAME ON AND THE CAR SLOWED DOWN. IT READ, HIGH ENGINE TEMPERATURE, STOP SAFELY. MANAGED TO GET CAR HOME AND CHECKED THE LEVEL OF COOLANT/ANTIFREEZE. IT WAS WELL BELOW THE MIN LEVEL. FILLED IT UP AND THE FLUID LEAKED OUT RIGHT AWAY. TOOK IT TO FORD DEALER FOR SERVICE. IT WAS A FAULTY COOLANT DIVERTER VALVE THAT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. FORD TOLD ME THAT IT WAS NOT COVERED UNDER THE POWERTRAIN WARRANTY WHICH WAS A LITTLE CONFUSING TO ME. ALSO, I KNOW THERE WERE MANY RECALLS ON THIS VEHICLE THAT WERE TAKEN CARE OF. ONE INVOLVING COOLING SYSTEM. NOT SURE IF THIS PROBLEM I JUST HAD WAS RELATED TO A PREVIOUS RECALL.

View Details

ENGINE

12/2/2015 - SAN BORN, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING, THE ENGINE EMITTED SMOKE AND THE VEHICLE STALLED. THE CONTACT OPENED THE HOOD AND DISCOVERED THAT FLAMES WERE RELEASING FROM THE ENGINE. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO EXTINGUISH THE FIRE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER. THE DEALER INSPECTED THE VEHICLE AND DISCOVERED THAT THE ENGINE OIL LEAKED CAUSING THE ENGINE TO CATCH ON FIRE. THE MANUFACTURER ADVISED THAT DEALER SOLD THE VEHICLE WITHOUT HAVING NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 12V431000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING) PERFORMED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 35,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/2/2015 - WEST HARTFORD, CT
WE HAVE A 2013 CPO FORD TITANIUM WITH 30,000 MILES ON IT, AND IT RECENTLY STARTED TO HAVE PROBLEMS WITH IT LOOSING POWER WHILE TRYING TO EXCELLERATE. MOST OF THE TIME IT IS FROM A STOPLIGHT OR SIGN, BUT ON OCCASION WHILE GETTING ON THE HIGHWAY. THE ENGINE STARTS TO STUMBLE, AND WON'T GET UP TO SPEED. THE "SERVICE ENGINE NOW" LIGHT COMES ON, AND WE HAVE TO LIMP TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. WHEN PUTTING IT IN NEUTRAL, THE ENGINE REVS UP TO 3000 RPMS BEFORE WE TURN IT OFF. AFTER LETTING THE COMPUTER "REBOOT " , THE ENGINE IS OK AND THE "SERVICE ENGINE" LIGHT GOES OFF. THIS HAS HAPPENED TO US AT LEAST SIX TIMES IN THE LAST TWO MONTHS. TWICE WE HAVE HAD IT TO CREST LINCOLN (PURCHASED FROM) IN WOODBURY, CT., AND ONCE TO AN INDEPENDENT TECHNICIAN WITH NEITHER OF THEM ABLE TO GET A FAULT CODE FROM THE COMPUTER MEMORY. IT IS COMPLETELY VOID OF ANY FAULT CODES! MY NEPHEW HAS THE SAME CAR FROM ANOTHER DEALER, AND THEY ARE HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM! IT PUTS US IN DANGEROUS SITUATIONS. EVERY TIME WE PULL AWAY FROM A STOP SIGN, WE HOPE THERE IS NOT A DUMP TRUCK GOING TO RUN US OVER! THE NHTSA NEEDS TO LOOK INTO THIS SAFETY ISSUE!

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

11/30/2015 - EAST RIDGE, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH, THE LOW COOLANT LIGHT ILLUMINATED, THE TEMPERATURE STARTED RUNNING HOT, AND THE SERVICE ENGINE LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THERMOSTAT AND HOSES NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 71,000.

View Details

ENGINE

11/23/2015 - LIGONIER, PA
ON 10-25-15, I WAS DRIVING A FEW MILES FROM MY HOME WHEN A LIGHT CAME ON STATING "HIGH ENGINE TEMPERATURE, PULL OVER SAFELY." WITHIN 30 SECONDS OF PULLING OVER, THE FLAMES CAME OUT FRM UNDER THE HOOD NEAR THE WINDSHIELD. WITHIN 5 MINUTES MY VEHICLE WAS FULLY ENGULFED INSIDE AND COMPLETELY DESTROYED. I CONTATED THE DEALERSHIP WHO INFORMED ME OF A RECALL THAT OIL COULD LEAK ONTO THE ENGINE AND START A FIRE. I WAS NEVER NOTIFIED. I WAS GIVEN A NUMBER FOR FORD CUSTOMER RELATIONS. I NOTIFIED THEM OF WHAT HAPPENDED AND WAS TOLD THEY TURNED MY CASE OVER TO THEIR LEGAL COUNSEL AND I WOULD RECIEVE A WRITTEN RESPONSE FROM FORD IN 15 BUSINESS DAYS. IHAVE STILL NOT RECIEVED A LETTER AND I WAS TOLD I JUST HAVE TO WAIT FOR THE LETTER.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/20/2015 - NILES, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD ESCAPE. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THE IGNITION KEY INDEPENDENTLY MOVED INTO THE OFF POSITION AND THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE FAILED TO RESTART AND WAS TOWED TO THE CONTACT'S RESIDENCE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 111,000.

View Details

STEERING

11/17/2015 - GAINESVILLE, FL
ON 10-10-2015, OUR 2013 FORD ESCAPE 4WD STARTED DISPLAYING AN ABS ERROR CODE, ALONG WITH A TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM ERROR AND A "HILL START ASSIST NOT AVAILABLE" ERROR MESSAGE, SIMULTANEOUSLY. THE ABS BRAKES WOULD ENGAGE AT LOW TRAVEL SPEED. WE TOOK IT TO THE DEALER, WHO DETERMINED THAT A REAR WHEEL SENSOR HAD FAILED. THEY KEPT THE CAR FOR TWO WEEKS AND RETURNED IT ON 10-21-2015. IT HAD 24,273 MILES ON IT. NOW, 3 WEEKS LATER, ON 10-16-2015, THE VERY SAME PROBLEM HAS REOCCURRED, WITH THE DASH LIGHTS DISPLAYING FOR THE ABS SYSTEM FAILURE, THE TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM FAILURE AND THE "HILL START ASSIST NOT AVAILABLE". THE ABS SYSTEM ENGAGES AT LOW SPEEDS CAUSING THE BRAKES TO GRAB, RENDERING THE CAR UNSAFE TO DRIVE. THIS CAR IS A 'LEMON' IN OUR OPINION, AS IT HAS HAD 5 MAJOR BREAKDOWNS, INCLUDING A MAJOR ENGINE PROBLEM AT 720 MILES, A FAILURE OF THE AIR BAG CONTROLLER, TWO PROBLEMS WITH THE ABS SYSTEM, AS DOCUMENTED HEREIN, AND TWO RECALLS RELATED TO THE ENGINE POTENTIALLY CATCHING ON FIRE DUE TO A FUEL LEAK (A RECALL, FOLLOWED BY A RECALL TO FIX THE RECALL). I SINCERELY BELIEVE THAT THIS VEHICLE IS DANGEROUS AND HAVE ASKED THE FORD MOTOR COMPANY TO BUY BACK THIS VEHICLE SEVERAL TIMES, BUT THEY HAVE REFUSED TO DO SO. I FEAR THAT MY WIFE AND I ARE NOT SAFE WHILE DRIVING THIS CAR DUE TO THE HIGH NUMBER OF DEFECTS ON THIS ONE PARTICULAR VEHICLE. I AM REPORTING THIS ABS/TRACTION CONTROL PROBLEM SINCE IT HAS NOW HAPPENED TWICE, AS I BELIEVE IT LIKELY IMPACTS OTHER FORD ESCAPES MADE AT THE SAME TIME, AND LIKELY INDICATES A BAD BATCH OF WHEEL SENSORS THAT ARE FAILING PREMATURELY IN THE FIELD. SINCE THE FAILURE OF THE WHEEL SENSOR DISABLES THE ABS AND TCS SYSTEMS, THIS IS A DANGEROUS DEFECT, AS IT CAN HAPPEN COMPLETELY AT RANDOM. MY WIFE WAS 100 MILES FROM HOME LAST TIME AND HAD TO DRIVE BACK WITH THE ABS & TCS NOT FUNCTIONING.) THIS CAR IS "UNSAFE AT ANY SPEED"!

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

11/17/2015 - GAINESVILLE, FL
ON 10-10-2015, OUR 2013 FORD ESCAPE 4WD STARTED DISPLAYING AN ABS ERROR CODE, ALONG WITH A TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM ERROR AND A "HILL START ASSIST NOT AVAILABLE" ERROR MESSAGE, SIMULTANEOUSLY. THE ABS BRAKES WOULD ENGAGE AT LOW TRAVEL SPEED. WE TOOK IT TO THE DEALER, WHO DETERMINED THAT A REAR WHEEL SENSOR HAD FAILED. THEY KEPT THE CAR FOR TWO WEEKS AND RETURNED IT ON 10-21-2015. IT HAD 24,273 MILES ON IT. NOW, 3 WEEKS LATER, ON 10-16-2015, THE VERY SAME PROBLEM HAS REOCCURRED, WITH THE DASH LIGHTS DISPLAYING FOR THE ABS SYSTEM FAILURE, THE TRACTION CONTROL SYSTEM FAILURE AND THE "HILL START ASSIST NOT AVAILABLE". THE ABS SYSTEM ENGAGES AT LOW SPEEDS CAUSING THE BRAKES TO GRAB, RENDERING THE CAR UNSAFE TO DRIVE. THIS CAR IS A 'LEMON' IN OUR OPINION, AS IT HAS HAD 5 MAJOR BREAKDOWNS, INCLUDING A MAJOR ENGINE PROBLEM AT 720 MILES, A FAILURE OF THE AIR BAG CONTROLLER, TWO PROBLEMS WITH THE ABS SYSTEM, AS DOCUMENTED HEREIN, AND TWO RECALLS RELATED TO THE ENGINE POTENTIALLY CATCHING ON FIRE DUE TO A FUEL LEAK (A RECALL, FOLLOWED BY A RECALL TO FIX THE RECALL). I SINCERELY BELIEVE THAT THIS VEHICLE IS DANGEROUS AND HAVE ASKED THE FORD MOTOR COMPANY TO BUY BACK THIS VEHICLE SEVERAL TIMES, BUT THEY HAVE REFUSED TO DO SO. I FEAR THAT MY WIFE AND I ARE NOT SAFE WHILE DRIVING THIS CAR DUE TO THE HIGH NUMBER OF DEFECTS ON THIS ONE PARTICULAR VEHICLE. I AM REPORTING THIS ABS/TRACTION CONTROL PROBLEM SINCE IT HAS NOW HAPPENED TWICE, AS I BELIEVE IT LIKELY IMPACTS OTHER FORD ESCAPES MADE AT THE SAME TIME, AND LIKELY INDICATES A BAD BATCH OF WHEEL SENSORS THAT ARE FAILING PREMATURELY IN THE FIELD. SINCE THE FAILURE OF THE WHEEL SENSOR DISABLES THE ABS AND TCS SYSTEMS, THIS IS A DANGEROUS DEFECT, AS IT CAN HAPPEN COMPLETELY AT RANDOM. MY WIFE WAS 100 MILES FROM HOME LAST TIME AND HAD TO DRIVE BACK WITH THE ABS & TCS NOT FUNCTIONING.) THIS CAR IS "UNSAFE AT ANY SPEED"!

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 46
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds