Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD F-150 - 2013 FORD F-150 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1584 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD F-150

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD F-150. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD F-150, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (20) Equipment (1) Power Train (533) Steering (130) Unknown Or Other (100)
Child Seat (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seat Belts (4) Structure (35) Vehicle Speed Control (148)
Electrical System (195) Exterior Lighting (9) Seats (1) Suspension (13) Visibility (37)
Electronic Stability Control (22) Fuel Propulsion System (93) Service Brakes (206) Tires (8) Visibility Wiper (118)
Engine (350) Fuel System Gasoline (25) Service Brakes Hydraulic (5) Traction Control System (1) Wheels (24)
Engine And Engine Cooling (10) Latches Locks Linkages (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 209
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/18/2019 - JOHNSTOWN, CO
WHILE TRAVELING ON I70 IN COLORADO AND TOWING A TRAVEL TRAILER THE VEHICLE LOST ALL POWER. THE CAUSE OF THE PROBLEM WAS A THROTTLE BODY. I HAVE LEARNED THIS PROBLEM IS FAIRLY COMMON WITH THE ECOBOOST ENGINE AND HAS NOT BEEN COMPLETELY RESOLVED LEAVING THOSE DRIVING THESE VEHICLES IN DANGER.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/17/2019 - ONTARIO, CA
BRAKE MASTER CYLINDER FAILURE. THE MASTER CYLINDER HAS DEVELOPED A LEAK THAT CAUSED BRAKE FLUID TO DRAIN INTO THE BRAKE BOOSTER, THEN CAUSING THE ENGINE TO SUCK BRAKE FLUID INTO THE MOTOR. THE BRAKE PEDAL WENT STRAIGHT TO THE FLOOR. THIS COULD OF POTENTIALLY CAUSED AN ACCIDENT, OR EVEN A DEATH IF THE PROBLEM WAS NOT NOTICED SOONER. THE VEHICLE ALMOST LOST ALL BRAKING FORCE WHICH COULD OF KILLED SOMEONE. FORD IS DENYING TO FIX THE RECALL #16S24 FOR THE VEHICLE BECAUSE IT WAS NOT MANUFACTURED DURING THE YEARS OF THE RECALL. PROBLEM IS THE ISSUE THE VEHICLE HAS IS THE EXACT SAME ISSUE TAKEN CARE OF IN THE MENTIONED RECALL, FOR THE EXACT SAME MAKE AND MODEL TRUCK.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/16/2019 - AUSTIN, TX
I WAS DRIVING ON A HIGHWAY AT 55 MILES/H PULLING A TRAILER WITH A LIGHT LOAD. THE TRUCK SUDDENLY WENT FROM NORMAL ENGINE SOUND TO A LOUDER AND LOUDER SOUND AND IT SLOWED DOWN AS IF I WAS BEEN DRAGGED BACKWARD. THE ENGINE SOUND FELT LIKE THE TRUCK HAD DOWN SHIFTED FROM A HIGHER TO A LOWER GEAR AND WAS BRAKING ON ITS OWN WHILE I WAS TRYING TO COMPENSATE BY GIVING MORE GAS SO THAT I COULD PULLOVER SAFELY. WITHIN A MINUTE THE TRUCK STOPPED STILL, THERE WAS SMOKE AND FIRE THAT SPREAD RAPIDLY THROUGH THE CABINE AND ENGINE. WE NEARLY ESCAPED. I WAS UNABLE TO COMPLETELY CLEAR THE TRAILER OFF THE ROAD AS THE TRUCK HAD COMPLETELY STOPPED. THE TRUCK BURNED COMPLETELY. BEFORE REPORTING THIS INCIDENT I CALLED FORD, PROVIDED MY VIN NUMBER AND ASKED WHETHER THERE HAD BEEN ANY RECENT RECALLS ON MY F150. FORD CONFIRMED THAT A RECALL (# 19S07) THAT IMPACTED MY VIN WAS ISSUED IN FEB, 2019. HOWEVER, I DO NOT REMEMBER RECEIVING ANY NOTIFICATION FROM MY FORD DEALERSHIP.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/16/2019 - AUSTIN, TX
I WAS DRIVING ON A HIGHWAY AT 55 MILES/H PULLING A TRAILER WITH A LIGHT LOAD. THE TRUCK SUDDENLY WENT FROM NORMAL ENGINE SOUND TO A LOUDER AND LOUDER SOUND AND IT SLOWED DOWN AS IF I WAS BEEN DRAGGED BACKWARD. THE ENGINE SOUND FELT LIKE THE TRUCK HAD DOWN SHIFTED FROM A HIGHER TO A LOWER GEAR AND WAS BRAKING ON ITS OWN WHILE I WAS TRYING TO COMPENSATE BY GIVING MORE GAS SO THAT I COULD PULLOVER SAFELY. WITHIN A MINUTE THE TRUCK STOPPED STILL, THERE WAS SMOKE AND FIRE THAT SPREAD RAPIDLY THROUGH THE CABINE AND ENGINE. WE NEARLY ESCAPED. I WAS UNABLE TO COMPLETELY CLEAR THE TRAILER OFF THE ROAD AS THE TRUCK HAD COMPLETELY STOPPED. THE TRUCK BURNED COMPLETELY. BEFORE REPORTING THIS INCIDENT I CALLED FORD, PROVIDED MY VIN NUMBER AND ASKED WHETHER THERE HAD BEEN ANY RECENT RECALLS ON MY F150. FORD CONFIRMED THAT A RECALL (# 19S07) THAT IMPACTED MY VIN WAS ISSUED IN FEB, 2019. HOWEVER, I DO NOT REMEMBER RECEIVING ANY NOTIFICATION FROM MY FORD DEALERSHIP.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/16/2019 - AUSTIN, TX
I WAS DRIVING ON A HIGHWAY AT 55 MILES/H PULLING A TRAILER WITH A LIGHT LOAD. THE TRUCK SUDDENLY WENT FROM NORMAL ENGINE SOUND TO A LOUDER AND LOUDER SOUND AND IT SLOWED DOWN AS IF I WAS BEEN DRAGGED BACKWARD. THE ENGINE SOUND FELT LIKE THE TRUCK HAD DOWN SHIFTED FROM A HIGHER TO A LOWER GEAR AND WAS BRAKING ON ITS OWN WHILE I WAS TRYING TO COMPENSATE BY GIVING MORE GAS SO THAT I COULD PULLOVER SAFELY. WITHIN A MINUTE THE TRUCK STOPPED STILL, THERE WAS SMOKE AND FIRE THAT SPREAD RAPIDLY THROUGH THE CABINE AND ENGINE. WE NEARLY ESCAPED. I WAS UNABLE TO COMPLETELY CLEAR THE TRAILER OFF THE ROAD AS THE TRUCK HAD COMPLETELY STOPPED. THE TRUCK BURNED COMPLETELY. BEFORE REPORTING THIS INCIDENT I CALLED FORD, PROVIDED MY VIN NUMBER AND ASKED WHETHER THERE HAD BEEN ANY RECENT RECALLS ON MY F150. FORD CONFIRMED THAT A RECALL (# 19S07) THAT IMPACTED MY VIN WAS ISSUED IN FEB, 2019. HOWEVER, I DO NOT REMEMBER RECEIVING ANY NOTIFICATION FROM MY FORD DEALERSHIP.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/16/2019 - SAN FRANCISCO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING 50 MPH, THE VEHICLE DECELERATED TO 20 MPH AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT COASTED THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND POWERED OFF THE ENGINE. THE VEHICLE WAS RESTARTED, BUT THE FAILED RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS LATER TAKEN TO SERRAMONTE FORD (LOCATED AT 999 SERRAMONTE BLVD, COLMA, CA 94014, (855) 314-5418). THE CONTACT PRESENTED THE RECALL NOTIFICATION TO THE DEALER AND WAS INFORMED THAT THE TECHNICIAN WAS NOT AVAILABLE AND WOULD RETURN IN SIX MONTHS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 19V075000 (POWER TRAIN). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/16/2019 - SPOKANE, WA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F-150. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE TRANSMISSION SHIFTED ON ITS OWN AND THE VEHICLE JERKED SUDDENLY WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN TWO SEPARATE RECALLS AND SERVICED AT TWO DIFFERENT FORD DEALERS. THE FIRST DEALER (GUS JOHNSON FORD, 8300 E SPRAGUE AVE, SPOKANE VALLEY, WA 99212, (509) 924-1000) REPAIRED THE VEHICLE PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 19S070000 (POWER TRAIN). THE CONTACT WAS ASSURED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS REMEDIED. WEEKS LATER, THE CONTACT RECEIVED ANOTHER RECALL NOTICE, WHICH INDICATED THAT A RECALL REPAIR SHOULD NEVER HAVE BEEN PERFORMED AND THAT ANOTHER RECALL REMEDY NEEDED TO BE PERFORMED. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO WENDLE FORD (9000 N DIVISION ST, SPOKANE, WA 99218, 509-484-4800) TO BE REPAIRED PER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 19S190000 (POWER TRAIN). THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE ORIGINAL RECALL WOULD BE REMEDIED AND THE VEHICLE WOULD RETURN BACK TO ITS ORIGINAL STATE. THE CONTACT EXPERIENCED FAILURES WITH THE VEHICLE AFTER THE RECALL REPAIRS. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT HE WOULD HAVE TO PAY OUT OF POCKET FOR THE REPAIRS. THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO INFORM THE MANUFACTURER, BUT WAS UNSUCCESSFUL. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 78,000.

View Details

ENGINE

7/16/2019 - NORTHGLENN, CO
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD F-150. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE TOWING THE VEHICLE BEHIND HIS MOTORHOME DRIVING AT 60 MPH, HE NOTICED SMOKE WAS COMING FROM UNDERNEATH THE HOOD AND QUICKLY COASTED OVER TO THE EDGE OF THE INTERSTATE. THE CONTACT NOTICED THE GEAR SHIFTER SHIFTED INTO LOW MODE INDEPENDENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO O'MEARA FORD DEALER, (LOCATED AT 400 W 104TH AVE, NORTHGLENN, CO 80234, (303) 254-5260) AND WAS LEFT AT THE DEALER, THE CONTACT LATER RECEIVED A CALLED FROM THE DEALER AND WAS INFORMED THAT HE WAS THE ONE CAUSED THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HE WAS NOT AWARE IF THE DEALER COMPLETED A DIAGNOSTIC TESTING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 19V075000 (POWER TRAIN). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND PROVIDED A CASE NUMBER: 21905875-K3Z9M5. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 44,500. AW

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/15/2019 - BAKERSFIELD, CA
1. WHILE DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS (AROUND 70 MPH) THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY DOWN-SHIFTED INTO 2ND GEAR. THE REAR TIRES BRIEFLY LOCKED UP, BUT CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE WAS MANAGED. 2. WHILE DRIVING, BOTH IN TOWN AND ON THE HIGHWAY, THE VEHICLE WOULD DOWNSHIFT FROM 6TH GEAR TO 5TH. THE VEHICLE WOULD THEN NOT SHIFT BELOW 3RD GEAR WHEN BROUGHT TO A STOP. TURNING THE VEHICLE OFF AND ON AGAIN WOULD RESET THE PROBLEM. THE MAINTENANCE LIGHT AND AIRBAG LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE SPEEDOMETER WENT TO 0. THE ODOMETER AND OTHER DIGITAL READINGS IN THE CENTER CLUSTER ON THE DASH SHOWED ALL DASHES. AFTER SEVERAL OF THESE EVENTS, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ALSO ILLUMINATED. 3. AFTER ONE OF THE EVENTS DESCRIBED IN 2 ABOVE, THE VEHICLE WAS STOPPED, SHIFTED INTO REVERSE, AND THEN RETURNED TO DRIVE. THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT MOVE AND ACTED AS THOUGH IT WAS IN NEUTRAL. SHUTTING THE VEHICLE OFF AND ON AGAIN CORRECTED THE PROBLEM. THE LOCAL FORD DEALERSHIP IS AWARE OF THE PROBLEM AND HAS SCHEDULED AN APPOINTMENT FOR A DIAGNOSIS. FORD SAFETY RECALL NOTICE 19S07 WAS PERFORMED IN MARCH 2019. FORD SAFETY RECALL NOTICE 19S19 WAS PERFORMED IN JULY 2019, AFTER THE FIRST EVENT, BUT DID NOT CORRECT THE ISSUE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/15/2019 - BAKERSFIELD, CA
1. WHILE DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS (AROUND 70 MPH) THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY DOWN-SHIFTED INTO 2ND GEAR. THE REAR TIRES BRIEFLY LOCKED UP, BUT CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE WAS MANAGED. 2. WHILE DRIVING, BOTH IN TOWN AND ON THE HIGHWAY, THE VEHICLE WOULD DOWNSHIFT FROM 6TH GEAR TO 5TH. THE VEHICLE WOULD THEN NOT SHIFT BELOW 3RD GEAR WHEN BROUGHT TO A STOP. TURNING THE VEHICLE OFF AND ON AGAIN WOULD RESET THE PROBLEM. THE MAINTENANCE LIGHT AND AIRBAG LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE SPEEDOMETER WENT TO 0. THE ODOMETER AND OTHER DIGITAL READINGS IN THE CENTER CLUSTER ON THE DASH SHOWED ALL DASHES. AFTER SEVERAL OF THESE EVENTS, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ALSO ILLUMINATED. 3. AFTER ONE OF THE EVENTS DESCRIBED IN 2 ABOVE, THE VEHICLE WAS STOPPED, SHIFTED INTO REVERSE, AND THEN RETURNED TO DRIVE. THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT MOVE AND ACTED AS THOUGH IT WAS IN NEUTRAL. SHUTTING THE VEHICLE OFF AND ON AGAIN CORRECTED THE PROBLEM. THE LOCAL FORD DEALERSHIP IS AWARE OF THE PROBLEM AND HAS SCHEDULED AN APPOINTMENT FOR A DIAGNOSIS. FORD SAFETY RECALL NOTICE 19S07 WAS PERFORMED IN MARCH 2019. FORD SAFETY RECALL NOTICE 19S19 WAS PERFORMED IN JULY 2019, AFTER THE FIRST EVENT, BUT DID NOT CORRECT THE ISSUE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 209
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds