Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2013 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 1427 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (18) Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (42) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (116)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (2) Power Train (737) Steering (189) Vehicle Speed Control (90)
Electrical System (199) Exterior Lighting (10) Seat Belts (16) Structure (76) Visibility (5)
Electronic Stability Control (23) Fuel Propulsion System (133) Seats (4) Suspension (12) Visibility Wiper (16)
Engine (238) Fuel System Gasoline (16) Service Brakes (17) Tires (8) Wheels (9)
Engine And Engine Cooling (11) Fuel System Other (1) Service Brakes Electric (1) Traction Control System (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 199
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

7/21/2019 - MOUNT AIRY, NC
WHILE DRIVING AT CITY SPEED IN ELKIN, NC, THE TRANSMISSION FAULT LIGHT CAME ON AND THE VEHICLE STOPPED. HERE I AM STRANDED IN TRAFFIC. NOT THE SAFEST POSITION TO BE IN. I SHUT THE VEHICLE DOWN AND RESTARTED IT IN THE HOPES THAT THIS MIGHT REBOOT THE FAULT AND SOLVE THE PROBLEM OR AT LEAST LET ME GET TO A DEALERSHIP. THE TRANSMISSION FAULT LIGHT WAS STILL ACTIVE BUT I WAS ABLE TO MOVE ONLY IN FIRST GEAR. THE TRANSMISSION WOULD NOT SHIFT. I WAS ABLE TO GET TO THE FORD DEALERSHIP IN ELKIN, NC WHERE THEY WERE ABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM. THE TRANSMISSION MODULE OF THIS WONDERFUL DPS6 TRANSMISSION HAD FAILED. THEY HAD A TRANSMISSION MODULE IN STOCK SO A REPAIR WAS MADE. I DREAD EVERY TIME I HAVE TO GET INTO THIS VEHICLE. I WORRY IF I AM GOING TO GET TO MY DESTINATION SAFELY. I WORRY IF I AM GOING TO GET HOME SAFELY. FORD IS MAKING EVERY DELAY POSSIBLE TO SLOW DOWN THE LEGAL PROCESS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/21/2019 - TOWSON, MD
MY KEY IS STUCK IN THE IGNITION AND WILL NOT RELEASE ON MY 2016 GMC ACADIA. THE BATTERY HAD TO BE REPLACED BECAUSE IT WAS COMPLETELY DRAINING MY ELECTRICAL SYSTEM. IT HAS BEEN DETERMINED THAT MY CAR IS NOT RECOGNIZING IT IS IN PARK TO RELEASE THE KEY. THE FLOOR SHIFTER NEEDS TO BE REPLACED ACCORDING TO MY GMC DEALERSHIP. THIS IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS AS THE CAR COULD DRIFT AT ANY TIME, NOT TO MENTION THE STRAIN ON THE BATTERY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/21/2019 - TOWSON, MD
MY KEY IS STUCK IN THE IGNITION AND WILL NOT RELEASE ON MY 2016 GMC ACADIA. THE BATTERY HAD TO BE REPLACED BECAUSE IT WAS COMPLETELY DRAINING MY ELECTRICAL SYSTEM. IT HAS BEEN DETERMINED THAT MY CAR IS NOT RECOGNIZING IT IS IN PARK TO RELEASE THE KEY. THE FLOOR SHIFTER NEEDS TO BE REPLACED ACCORDING TO MY GMC DEALERSHIP. THIS IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS AS THE CAR COULD DRIFT AT ANY TIME, NOT TO MENTION THE STRAIN ON THE BATTERY.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/21/2019 - GREENVILLE, NC
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD AND, LOST POWER AND IT STARTED SLOWING DOWN. I GOT IN THE RIGHT LANE AND COASTED TO SIDE OF ROAD. I CUT ENGINE OFF AND THAT WAS IT. I TRIED TO RE START AND IT JUST KEPT TURNING OVER. IT IT ONLY HAVE 61,522 MILES ON IT. MANCANIC CAME OUT AND SAID IT'S THE FUEL PUMP.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/18/2019 - ROSEVILLE, CA
CONCERN ABOUT MY SAFETY DUE TO THE LATEST REPORT: FORD KNEW FOCUS, FIESTA MODELS HAD FLAWED TRANSMISSION, SOLD THEM ANYWAY. MY CAR IS A USED FORD FOCUS 2013. TWO WEEKS AFTER I BOUGHT IT, I HAD PROBLEMS WITH THE TRANSMISSION. FORD FIX IT, BUT NOW I WONDER IF IT IS SAFE FOR ME TO DRIVE THIS CAR?

View Details

ENGINE

7/18/2019 - WILLIS, TX
DPS6 TRANSMISSION SHUDDER AND SLIPPING ISSUE. VEHICLE HAS BEEN SERVICED UNDER MULTIPLE OWNERS AND HAD THE CLUTCHES REPLACED AS WELL AS THE SOFTWARE RE-FLASHED. FORD DEALER STATED THEY ARE AWARE OF THE ISSUE TOLD ME THEY WOULD GET IT FIXED UNDER THE EXTENDED WARRANTY OFFERED BY FORD. I WAS CHARGED FOR A RE-FLASH I WAS NEVER CALLED TO AUTHORIZED, THAT HAS NOT FIXED THE SHUDDERING ISSUE. I WAS ALMOST IN AN ACCIDENT WHEN THE CARD DECIDED TO NOT SHIFT GOING THROUGH A STOP LIGHT AND THE VEHICLE BEHIND ME ALMOST REAR ENDED ME. I CONTACTED FORD AND THE SERVICE MANAGER STATED "YOU NEED TO DRIVE IT MORE AGGRESSIVELY". FORD OPENED A CASE TO REVIEW THE POOR SERVICE AND THEY HAVE NEVER CONTACTED ME AGAIN.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/18/2019 - WILLIS, TX
DPS6 TRANSMISSION SHUDDER AND SLIPPING ISSUE. VEHICLE HAS BEEN SERVICED UNDER MULTIPLE OWNERS AND HAD THE CLUTCHES REPLACED AS WELL AS THE SOFTWARE RE-FLASHED. FORD DEALER STATED THEY ARE AWARE OF THE ISSUE TOLD ME THEY WOULD GET IT FIXED UNDER THE EXTENDED WARRANTY OFFERED BY FORD. I WAS CHARGED FOR A RE-FLASH I WAS NEVER CALLED TO AUTHORIZED, THAT HAS NOT FIXED THE SHUDDERING ISSUE. I WAS ALMOST IN AN ACCIDENT WHEN THE CARD DECIDED TO NOT SHIFT GOING THROUGH A STOP LIGHT AND THE VEHICLE BEHIND ME ALMOST REAR ENDED ME. I CONTACTED FORD AND THE SERVICE MANAGER STATED "YOU NEED TO DRIVE IT MORE AGGRESSIVELY". FORD OPENED A CASE TO REVIEW THE POOR SERVICE AND THEY HAVE NEVER CONTACTED ME AGAIN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/18/2019 - WILLIS, TX
DPS6 TRANSMISSION SHUDDER AND SLIPPING ISSUE. VEHICLE HAS BEEN SERVICED UNDER MULTIPLE OWNERS AND HAD THE CLUTCHES REPLACED AS WELL AS THE SOFTWARE RE-FLASHED. FORD DEALER STATED THEY ARE AWARE OF THE ISSUE TOLD ME THEY WOULD GET IT FIXED UNDER THE EXTENDED WARRANTY OFFERED BY FORD. I WAS CHARGED FOR A RE-FLASH I WAS NEVER CALLED TO AUTHORIZED, THAT HAS NOT FIXED THE SHUDDERING ISSUE. I WAS ALMOST IN AN ACCIDENT WHEN THE CARD DECIDED TO NOT SHIFT GOING THROUGH A STOP LIGHT AND THE VEHICLE BEHIND ME ALMOST REAR ENDED ME. I CONTACTED FORD AND THE SERVICE MANAGER STATED "YOU NEED TO DRIVE IT MORE AGGRESSIVELY". FORD OPENED A CASE TO REVIEW THE POOR SERVICE AND THEY HAVE NEVER CONTACTED ME AGAIN.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/18/2019 - MIDDLETOWN, OH
I BOUGHT MY FORD FOCUS HATCHBACK SE STARTING AT 24K MILES. AT AROUND 50K I BEGAN HAVING TRANSMISSION TROUBLES. THE STUTTERING, WHILE ACCELERATING OR COMING TO A STOP, WAS (AND STILL IS) HORRIBLE. I HAVE TAKEN THIS VEHICLE IN ON TWO SEPARATE OCCASIONS TO GET THE TRANSMISSION +FIXED+, TO NO AVAIL. I+M STILL DEALING WITH THESE PROBLEMS 80K MILES LATER. THE FIRST TWO WINTERS THAT I HAD OWNED THE VEHICLE MY DOOR LOCKS WOULD NOT ENGAGE, IN DRY, 40 DEGREE TEMPERATURES. SO I WOULD HAVE TO DRIVE AND HOLD MY DOOR CLOSED UNTIL THE CAR HEATED UP AND THE LOCKS ENGAGED. I TRIED WD-40 AND SPRAYS MEANT SPECIFICALLY TO UNFREEZE LOCKS. NEITHER WORKED. AND THE LOCKS WOULD OCCASIONALLY DISENGAGE WHILE DRIVING MY MORNING COMMUTE ON THE HIGHWAY. NO RECALL UNTIL TWO YEARS LATER, AFTER COMPLAINING COUNTLESS TIMES. BUT BACK TO THE TRANSMISSION, I WAS DRIVING HOME AFTER A LONG DAY AT WORK AND ENDED UP STUCK IN CINCINNATI, OH. A MESSAGE POPPED UP ON MY DASH READING +TRANSMISSION FAULT+ ADVISING ME TO TAKE MY CAR TO A DEALER. TURNING OFF THE ENGINE DIDN+T HELP, AND I COULDN+T DRIVE OVER 20 MILES PER HOUR BECAUSE THE CAR WOULDN+T SHIFT OVER 1ST OR 2ND GEAR. LUCKILY I+M AN EXPERIENCED DRIVER AND WAS ABLE TO DODGE MULTIPLE CARS THAT ALMOST SLAMMED INTO ME ON THE STREET, DUE TO MY SUDDEN BRAKING. WHEN CONTACTING FORD IT TOOK THEM 5 HOURS OF GOING BACK AND FORTH BETWEEN DEALERS TO FINALLY SEND ME A TOW TRUCK. I GET THE CAR BACK, SAME PROBLEMS. OVER AND OVER. A MECHANIC AT THE DEALERSHIP TOLD ME THAT THEY DON+T ACTUALLY HAVE A FIX FOR THE PROBLEM (WHICH IT+S BECOMING EVER MORE CLEAR THAT THEY STILL DON+T, NOR WILL THEY EVER). FORD+S COMPENSATION FOR THIS PROBLEM WAS A TERRIBLE DEAL. OFFERING A REPLACEMENT TRANSMISSION WITH THE EXACT SAME TRANS THAT GAVE ME PROBLEMS I+M THE FIRST PLACE. I+M GLAD TO SEE THE GOVERNMENT IS GETTING INVOLVED AND HOPE TO SEE RESOLVE SOON.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/18/2019 - MIDDLETOWN, OH
I BOUGHT MY FORD FOCUS HATCHBACK SE STARTING AT 24K MILES. AT AROUND 50K I BEGAN HAVING TRANSMISSION TROUBLES. THE STUTTERING, WHILE ACCELERATING OR COMING TO A STOP, WAS (AND STILL IS) HORRIBLE. I HAVE TAKEN THIS VEHICLE IN ON TWO SEPARATE OCCASIONS TO GET THE TRANSMISSION +FIXED+, TO NO AVAIL. I+M STILL DEALING WITH THESE PROBLEMS 80K MILES LATER. THE FIRST TWO WINTERS THAT I HAD OWNED THE VEHICLE MY DOOR LOCKS WOULD NOT ENGAGE, IN DRY, 40 DEGREE TEMPERATURES. SO I WOULD HAVE TO DRIVE AND HOLD MY DOOR CLOSED UNTIL THE CAR HEATED UP AND THE LOCKS ENGAGED. I TRIED WD-40 AND SPRAYS MEANT SPECIFICALLY TO UNFREEZE LOCKS. NEITHER WORKED. AND THE LOCKS WOULD OCCASIONALLY DISENGAGE WHILE DRIVING MY MORNING COMMUTE ON THE HIGHWAY. NO RECALL UNTIL TWO YEARS LATER, AFTER COMPLAINING COUNTLESS TIMES. BUT BACK TO THE TRANSMISSION, I WAS DRIVING HOME AFTER A LONG DAY AT WORK AND ENDED UP STUCK IN CINCINNATI, OH. A MESSAGE POPPED UP ON MY DASH READING +TRANSMISSION FAULT+ ADVISING ME TO TAKE MY CAR TO A DEALER. TURNING OFF THE ENGINE DIDN+T HELP, AND I COULDN+T DRIVE OVER 20 MILES PER HOUR BECAUSE THE CAR WOULDN+T SHIFT OVER 1ST OR 2ND GEAR. LUCKILY I+M AN EXPERIENCED DRIVER AND WAS ABLE TO DODGE MULTIPLE CARS THAT ALMOST SLAMMED INTO ME ON THE STREET, DUE TO MY SUDDEN BRAKING. WHEN CONTACTING FORD IT TOOK THEM 5 HOURS OF GOING BACK AND FORTH BETWEEN DEALERS TO FINALLY SEND ME A TOW TRUCK. I GET THE CAR BACK, SAME PROBLEMS. OVER AND OVER. A MECHANIC AT THE DEALERSHIP TOLD ME THAT THEY DON+T ACTUALLY HAVE A FIX FOR THE PROBLEM (WHICH IT+S BECOMING EVER MORE CLEAR THAT THEY STILL DON+T, NOR WILL THEY EVER). FORD+S COMPENSATION FOR THIS PROBLEM WAS A TERRIBLE DEAL. OFFERING A REPLACEMENT TRANSMISSION WITH THE EXACT SAME TRANS THAT GAVE ME PROBLEMS I+M THE FIRST PLACE. I+M GLAD TO SEE THE GOVERNMENT IS GETTING INVOLVED AND HOPE TO SEE RESOLVE SOON.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 199
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds