Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD TAURUS - 2013 FORD TAURUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 26 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD TAURUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD TAURUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD TAURUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (6) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Service Brakes (2) Suspension (4) Visibility (1)
Engine (1) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Steering (3) Unknown Or Other (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Equipment (1) Power Train (1) Structure (1) Vehicle Speed Control (2) Wheels (2)
Exterior Lighting (3) Seat Belts (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  ... 3
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

11/18/2014 - CLINTON, TN
WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE STREET THE STEERING WHEEL ON THE CAR LOCKED UP AND WOULDN'T TURN. THE CAR GAVE A "SERVICE POWER STEERING" AND " STEERING ASSIST DEFAULT" AT THE TIME OF THE WHEEL LOCKING UP. THIS IS VERY DANGEROUS BECAUSE THE CAR JUST STOPS WHERE YOU ARE. IT WON'T TAKE GAS OR ANYTHING. THIS IS THE SECOND TIME THAT IT HAS HAPPENED IN THIS CAR. I TOOK THE CAR TO A FORD DEALER AND WAS TOLD THAT THE PROBLEM WAS A WEAK BATTERY. I DO NOT THINK THIS IS THE PROBLEM. I HAVE NOTICED OTHER FORD VEHICLES OF THE SAME YEAR WITH THIS PROBLEM. I THINK THIS IS A MAJOR PROBLEM AND NEEDS TO BE CORRECTED BEFORE SOMEONE IS HURT OR KILLED BY THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

STEERING

11/18/2014 - CLINTON, TN
WHILE DRIVING THE CAR AROUND A CURVE THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED UP. THE "SERVICE POWER STEERING" MESSAGE CAME UP. AS WELL AS THE " STEERING ASSIST DEFAULT". WHEN THIS HAPPENED I WAS TRAVELING AT APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH. I COULDN'T MOVE THE STEERING WHEEL AT ALL. I SLID OFF THE SIDE OF THE ROAD INTO THE DITCH. IT WAS LIKE THE WHEEL HAD COMPLETELY LOCKED UP. JUST SO HAPPEN THERE WERE NO CARS CLOSE BEHIND ON I WOULD HAVE BEEN HIT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/8/2014 - KENNEWICK, WA
RODENT CHEWED THROUGH WIRING HARNESS FOR O2 SENSOR. SAME THING HAPPENED TO ANOTHER FORD TAURUS 2013 AT MY WORK. FORD DEALER THAT MADE THE REPAIRS SAID THAT THEY ARE SEEING A SPATE OF THIS EXACT PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/19/2014 - KATY, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD TAURUS. WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH, THE SERVICE WRENCH WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE OR DECELERATE. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE VEHICLE HESITATED AS IF IT WOULD STALL. THE FAILURES OCCURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE ELECTRONIC THROTTLE BODY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 29,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

8/24/2014 - LEXINGTON, IL
PURCHASED 2013 FORD TAURUS LIMITED NEW FROM DEALER. A MONTH AFTER PURCHASE, NOTICED TERRIBLE VIBRATION IN VEHICLE AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. DEALERSHIP TRIED TO BLAME IT ON BAD TIRES, WHICH THEY REPLACED. DIDN'T SOLVE THE PROBLEM. SPOKE TO FORD CUTS SERVICE WITH NO RESOLUTION. DROVE 2 OTHER USED TAURUS' WITH SIMILAR RESULTS.

View Details

WHEELS

8/24/2014 - LEXINGTON, IL
PURCHASED 2013 FORD TAURUS LIMITED NEW FROM DEALER. A MONTH AFTER PURCHASE, NOTICED TERRIBLE VIBRATION IN VEHICLE AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. DEALERSHIP TRIED TO BLAME IT ON BAD TIRES, WHICH THEY REPLACED. DIDN'T SOLVE THE PROBLEM. SPOKE TO FORD CUTS SERVICE WITH NO RESOLUTION. DROVE 2 OTHER USED TAURUS' WITH SIMILAR RESULTS.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

6/5/2014 - EDWARDS, IL
HEADLIGHT SYSTEM IS POOR ON LOW BEAM. THERE IS A HORIZONTAL LINE MAKING DEFINITE DIVISION IN VISIBILITY THAT EXTENDS ACROSS THE COMPLETE HORIZONTAL LINE OF VISION. GOING TO HIGH BEAMS STOPS ELIMINATES IT. I NEARLY HAD AN ACCIDENT AS I CANNOT SEE WELL ON LOW BEAMS. THE SAME THING IS REPORTED BY MANY OWNERS OF THIS VEHICLE. I STOPPED AT THE DEALER, WE LOOKED AT IT, TRIED THE LIGHTS AND ALSO TRIED TO ADJUST THEM BUT THE LOW BEAMS JUST DO NOT HAVE A LIGHT PATTERN THAT ALLOWS THE DRIVER TO SEE AT A SAFE DISTANCE IN FRONT OF THE CAR AT NIGHT. THIS LOW BEAM HEADLIGHT SYSTEM JUST PLAIN STINKS FOR A CAR THAT HAD A MSRP OF $35K.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/9/2014 - WESTFIELD CENTER, OH
THE REAR DRIVER SIDE BRAKES HAVE BEEN ACTING UP AND WILL MAKE A LOUD CLUNK WHEN YOU GO TO STOP, THE TIRE AND BRAKES SMELL HOT, TOOK IT TO A MECHANIC ON SUNDAY SAID A CALIBER WAS RUSTED AND IT SHOULD BE UNDER WARRANTY CALLED DEALERSHIP TOOK IT IN TO LIBERTY FORD IN BRUNSWICK OHIO. THEY SAID IT WAS THE BRAKE PAD AND ROTOR DUE TO THE WEATHER WE HAVE IN OHIO THAT IT WAS RUSTED AND WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED AT 360. 00 FOR THE 2 PARTS PLUS LABOR, REALLY A 2013 YEAR CAR WITH UNDER 25,000 MILES ON IT.

View Details

WHEELS

4/5/2014 - WHIPPANY, NJ
WHILE DRIVING, THE WHEEL FELL OFF THE VEHICLE AND THE VEHICLE SWERVED. THIS OCCURRED AT A LOW SPEED (10MPH) UPON MORE CLOSELY INSPECTING THE VEHICLE, IT APPEARS THAT THE AXLE WAS BROKEN OFF OF THE VEHICLE. I HAVE A PHOTO OF THE BROKEN PIECE OF THE VEHICLE, AS WELL AS PHOTOS OF THE BROKEN SITUATION OF THE VEHICLE. THIS CAR WAS RENTED THROUGH BUDGET RENTAL CAR AGENCY, AND I DO NOT KNOW IF RESPONSIBILITY ALSO LIES WITH THE RENTAL CAR COMPANY AS WELL.

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/5/2014 - WHIPPANY, NJ
WHILE DRIVING, THE WHEEL FELL OFF THE VEHICLE AND THE VEHICLE SWERVED. THIS OCCURRED AT A LOW SPEED (10MPH) UPON MORE CLOSELY INSPECTING THE VEHICLE, IT APPEARS THAT THE AXLE WAS BROKEN OFF OF THE VEHICLE. I HAVE A PHOTO OF THE BROKEN PIECE OF THE VEHICLE, AS WELL AS PHOTOS OF THE BROKEN SITUATION OF THE VEHICLE. THIS CAR WAS RENTED THROUGH BUDGET RENTAL CAR AGENCY, AND I DO NOT KNOW IF RESPONSIBILITY ALSO LIES WITH THE RENTAL CAR COMPANY AS WELL.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  ... 3
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds