Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD TAURUS - 2013 FORD TAURUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 100 complaints filed for the 2013 FORD TAURUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 FORD TAURUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 FORD TAURUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Steering (17) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (15) Equipment (1) Power Train (11) Structure (6) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Exterior Lighting (5) Seat Belts (2) Suspension (4) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (15) Fuel Propulsion System (24) Service Brakes (2) Unknown Or Other (5) Wheels (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

1/6/2017 - IOWA CITY, IA
ON 5/31/2013 I PURCHASED A NEW 2013 FORD TAURUS SHO. TODAY, THE CAR HAS ABOUT 73,000 MILES ON IT. ABOUT THREE WEEKS AGO I BEGAN SMELLING A HOT SMELL, LIKE PLASTIC OR SULFUR, BUT COULD NOT PIN POINT IT. I WAS CONCERNED THAT MY CAR WAS GOING TO CATCH ON FIRE BECAUSE IT JUST DIDN'T SMELL RIGHT, BOTH INSIDE AND OUTSIDE THE CAR. I ONLY SMELLED IT AFTER THE CAR GOT WARMED UP AND WAS STATIONARY OR MOVING SLOW IN TOWN. AFTER I ACCELERATED THE SMELL WOULD GO AWAY, BUT WOULD COME BACK WHEN I SLOWED DOWN AND STOPPED. THEN I BEGAN TO NOTICE A COUPLE DROPS OF FLUID UNDERNEATH MY CAR. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP WHO TOLD ME I PROBABLY HAD SOME OIL ON THE ENGINE, WHICH WOULD GO AWAY WITH TIME. I HAD THE OIL CHANGED AND NEW TIRES PUT ON AND ASKED THEM TO CHECK A COUPLE ERROR CODES I HAD GOTTEN. THE SERVICE TECHNICIANS TOLD ME MY CAR WAS FINE AND I COULD DRIVE IT, INCLUDING TO CHICAGO FOR CHRISTMAS. THE SMELL PROBLEM CONTINUED AND THE LEAK PROGRESSIVELY GOT WORSE, SO I IMMEDIATELY TOOK IT BACK AGAIN. THEY NOW TELL ME THAT THE POWER TRANSFER UNIT HAS FAILED AND THE CAR HAS A TURBO DOWN PIPE LEAK. TO REPAIR, IT WILL COST ME OVER $2,000.00. I CONTACTED FORD TO SEE IF THEY COULD HELP ME. THEY TOLD ME THAT BECAUSE THE POWERTRAIN WARRANTY HAS EXPIRED, THEY WILL NOT HELP ME. I EXPLAINED THAT THIS CAR WOULD STILL BE UNDER WARRANTY AS OF MAY 31, 2017 AND THE POWERTRAIN SHOULD NOT FAIL AT 73,000 MILES, MOST OF WHICH WERE HIGHWAY MILES. FORD STILL WILL NOT PROVIDE ANY ASSISTANCE. IN SPEAKING WITH THE DEALERSHIP, THEY TOLD ME THIS IS AN ISSUE THAT HAS BEEN GOING ON. THEY'VE HAD 5 OTHER PTUS FAIL IN ABOUT SIX MONTHS. FORD DOCUMENTED THE CASE NUMBER AS 11420940. I AM GOING TO TAKE PICTURES AND SAVE ALL DOCUMENTS AND RECEIPTS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/26/2016 - FORSYTH, MO
WHILE DRIVING 75 MPH ON AN INTERSTATE, I LOST THE POWER STEERING AND WAS ABLE TO GET THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, A RED WARNING MESSAGE TO SERVICE POWER STEERING NOW CAME ON, AT THE SAME TIME TURN SIGNAL WOULD NOT WORK AND TRACTION CONTROL WARNING LIGHT CAME. SINCE IT WAS THE WEEKEND AND I WAS DRIVING HOME FOR CHRISTMAS I STILL DROVE THE CAR HOME. I NOW HAVE THE CAR AT DEALERSHIP, AND BEING TOLD NO RECALL ON THIS CAR. BUT THERE IS A RECALL ON OTHERS FOR SAME ISSUE. I DON'T HAVE THE COST YET BUT TRIED TO CALL FORD CUSTOMER SERVICE AND THEY ARE CLOSE FOR THE HOLIDAY. WAIT TO SEE WHATS NEXT. MILIAGE ON THE CAR WAS 60,070

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

12/26/2016 - FORSYTH, MO
WHILE DRIVING 75 MPH ON AN INTERSTATE, I LOST THE POWER STEERING AND WAS ABLE TO GET THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, A RED WARNING MESSAGE TO SERVICE POWER STEERING NOW CAME ON, AT THE SAME TIME TURN SIGNAL WOULD NOT WORK AND TRACTION CONTROL WARNING LIGHT CAME. SINCE IT WAS THE WEEKEND AND I WAS DRIVING HOME FOR CHRISTMAS I STILL DROVE THE CAR HOME. I NOW HAVE THE CAR AT DEALERSHIP, AND BEING TOLD NO RECALL ON THIS CAR. BUT THERE IS A RECALL ON OTHERS FOR SAME ISSUE. I DON'T HAVE THE COST YET BUT TRIED TO CALL FORD CUSTOMER SERVICE AND THEY ARE CLOSE FOR THE HOLIDAY. WAIT TO SEE WHATS NEXT. MILIAGE ON THE CAR WAS 60,070

View Details

STEERING

12/26/2016 - FORSYTH, MO
WHILE DRIVING 75 MPH ON AN INTERSTATE, I LOST THE POWER STEERING AND WAS ABLE TO GET THE VEHICLE TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, A RED WARNING MESSAGE TO SERVICE POWER STEERING NOW CAME ON, AT THE SAME TIME TURN SIGNAL WOULD NOT WORK AND TRACTION CONTROL WARNING LIGHT CAME. SINCE IT WAS THE WEEKEND AND I WAS DRIVING HOME FOR CHRISTMAS I STILL DROVE THE CAR HOME. I NOW HAVE THE CAR AT DEALERSHIP, AND BEING TOLD NO RECALL ON THIS CAR. BUT THERE IS A RECALL ON OTHERS FOR SAME ISSUE. I DON'T HAVE THE COST YET BUT TRIED TO CALL FORD CUSTOMER SERVICE AND THEY ARE CLOSE FOR THE HOLIDAY. WAIT TO SEE WHATS NEXT. MILIAGE ON THE CAR WAS 60,070

View Details

SEAT BELTS

12/22/2016 - BRENTWOOD, TN
THE DRIVERS SIDE SEAT BELT HAS SPOOLED ALL THE WAY OUT AND WILL NOT RETRACT ON 2013 FORD TAURUS. NEW PARTS ON THE WAY, BUT SHOULDN'T THE SEAT BELT ASSEMBLY LAST MORE THAN 4-5 YEARS?..UPDATED 01/04/17

View Details

ENGINE

12/21/2016 - CHANDLER, AZ
CAR STALLS AT RED LIGHTS/STOP SIGNS. EVEN WHEN PUT IN PARK AT A STOP. CAR WILL RESTART. NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT. NO WARNING.

View Details

STEERING

12/16/2016 - FRISCO, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD TAURUS. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 10 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AND THE POWER ASSIST WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. AS A RESULT, THE VEHICLE STRUCK THE CURB AND THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE TIRE BLEW OUT. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE POWER STEERING ASSIST VOLT NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 38,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/14/2016 - COLLINS, IA
CAR STALLED TRAVELING 75 MPH DOWN A BUSY INTERSTATE. INITIALLY FELT LIKE A TRANSMISSION ISSUE. AFTER GETTING THE CAR OFF THE ROAD IT CONTINUED TO RUN WITH A SPUTTER. IT WOULD NOT DRIVE WITHOUT DYING. CAR WAS TOWED TO NEAREST FORD DEALERSHIP FOR A REPAIR. POST INSPECTION THE 2013 TAURUS WAS DIAGNOSED WITH AN OPEN CIRCUIT IN THE FUEL PUMP CONTROL MODULE. FUEL PUMP CONTROL MODULE WAS REPLACED. VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL NUMBER 16V621000. PARTS WERE INEXPENSIVE, LABOR WAS NOT.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/12/2016 - GENEVA, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD TAURUS. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS PARKED IN THE DRIVEWAY, THE FUEL PUMP MODULE MALFUNCTIONED. THE VEHICLE WAS DIAGNOSED AS NEEDING A NEW FUEL PUMP. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE ISSUE RECURRED. THE CAR IS NOW GETTING A NEW FUEL PUMP MODULE. THIS IS THE EXACT NATURE OF THE MOST RECENT RECALL INVOLVING THIS CAR. OWNER STATES THEY ARE NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. THEY HAVE FILED A COMPLAINT WITH FORD. THEY SAY THE MORE PEOPLE WHO COMPLAIN THE MORE PEOPLE WITH THIS ISSUE, THE RECALL MAYBE EXPANDED. MILEAGE WAS 80,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/9/2016 - UPPER MARLBORO, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 FORD TAURUS. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE HAD A STRONG HESITATION WHEN APPROACHING A STOP OR WHILE MAKING A TURN. THE VEHICLE STALLED SEVERAL TIMES WITHOUT WARNING. IN ADDITION, THERE WAS AN EXTENSIVE AMOUNT OF DARK GRAY SMOKE FROM THE TAILPIPE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO WAS UNABLE TO REPLICATE AND DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT LATER RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V621000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE). THE MANUFACTURER WAS UNABLE TO PROVIDE A TIME FRAME AS TO WHEN THE PARTS WOULD BE SUPPLIED TO THE DEALER. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE. VIN TOOL CONFIRMS PARTS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds