Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ACCORD - 2013 HONDA ACCORD Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 195 complaints filed for the 2013 HONDA ACCORD

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HONDA ACCORD. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HONDA ACCORD, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Equipment (4) Power Train (34) Steering (26) Vehicle Speed Control (20)
Electrical System (31) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (7) Visibility (8)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Exterior Lighting (6) Seats (31) Suspension (1) Visibility Wiper (14)
Engine (30) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes (15) Tires (4) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

8/29/2014 - SNOQUALMIE, WA
WHEN THE CAR IS COLD, OCCASIONALLY THE 2013 ACCORD CVT HAS A LOT OF DIFFICULTY MOVING IN DRIVE OR REVERSE. WHEN THE VEHICLE IS ACTING UP, I HAVE TO PUSH THE THROTTLE OVER HALF WAY DOWN TO BACK THE CAR OUT OF THE DRIVEWAY. DEPENDING ON HOW COLD AND HOW LONG THE CAR HAS BEEN SITTING, THIS MAY CONTINUE AS I DRIVE DOWN THE ROAD. I CAN PUSH THE THROTTLE HALF WAY OR ALMOST ALL THE WAY DOWN AND THE VEHICLE BARELY MOVES. SOMETIMES IF I ROCK IT BETWEEN DRIVE AND REVERSE IT WILL OPERATE NORMALLY. THE PROBLEM RESOLVES AFTER A FEW MINUTES, BUT THE CAR IS VERY UNPREDICTABLE TO DRIVE AS IT REQUIRES SO MUCH THROTTLE TO MOVE AT A SLOW SPEED.

View Details

STEERING

8/24/2014 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
2013 HONDA ACCORD (20K MILES) ISSUE: DEFECTIVE RACK-N-PINION I ATTEMPTED TO PUT MY ACCORD IN REVERSE AND REALIZED THAT I WASN'T ABLE TO STEER OUT OF THE DRIVEWAY. IT APPEARED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED UP OR SOMETHING WAS HOLDING ME FROM BACKING UP. I ALSO NOTICED AN ORANGE STEERING WHEEL INDICATOR ON MY DASH. (PLEASE KEEP IN MIND THAT MY VEHICLE IS IN GREAT CONDITION. I'VE HAVE IT FOR OVER A YEAR AND I HAVE NEVER HAD THIS HAPPEN). I ATTEMPTED TO START MY CAR A SECOND TIME. THIS TIME IT TURNED ON JUST AS BEFORE AND THE ORANGE INDICATOR LIGHT TURNED OFF. I FELT IT MAY HAVE JUST BEEN A FLUKE AND I BEGAN DRIVING DOWN THE STREET. HOWEVER, NOT EVEN HALF-A-MILE DOWN FROM MY PARENTSÆ HOUSE MY ACCORD STEERING WHEEL LOCKED UP AGAIN! THIS TIME IT HAPPENED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD WHILE I WAS DRIVING AND WHILE OTHER VEHICLES WERE DRIVING ON THE OPPOSITE SIDE OF THE ROAD. I COULD NOT MANEUVER MY VEHICLE OFF THE ROAD. I JUST BARELY MANAGED TO ANGLE THE FRONT PART OF MY VEHICLE TO THE EDGE OF A CURB WHILE THE SECOND HALF OF THE CAR WAS STILL IN THE STREET. DEALERSHIP INFORMED ME THAT IT WAS A DEFECTIVE ELECTRIC RACK-N-PINION WHICH CAUSED MY STEERING WHEEL TO LOCK UP. I ASKED HIM IF THIS WAS A RECALL, OR VEHICLE MALFUNCTION AND HE COULDN'T COMPLETELY 100% PROVIDE ME WITH AN EXPLANATION. HE DID INFORM ME THAT ITÆS GOING TO BE A $1,200 PART TO BE SERVICED AND THAT I WILL PROBABLY BE WITHOUT MY OWN ACCORD FOR ABOUT A WEEK. I STRONGLY FEEL THAT THE HONDA CORP SHOULD BE AWARE OF THIS ISSUE, SO I CONTACTED HONDA VIA TWITTER. I FELT COMPLETELY BRUSHED OFF AND THE REP, HE SAID WELL SORRY TO HEAR THAT SIR BUT THEY ARE REPAIRING THE ISSUE SIR. THIS WAS MY SECOND AND LAST HONDA THAT I WOULD PURCHASE. I KNOW I'M NOT THE ONLY ONE WITH THIS ISSUE. HONDA SHOULD DEFINITELY LOOK INTO IT. THE REP TOLD ME THAT THEY HAVEN'T HAD THIS ISSUE PREVIOUSLY-DOUBT IT!

View Details

STEERING

8/24/2014 - SLIDELL, LA
ON JAN 24TH, 2013 I TOOK MY CAR TO THE HONDA DEALERSHIP FOR A PROBLEM WITH MY POWER STEERING. THE EPS (ELECTRIC POWER STEERING) SYSTEM INDICATOR CAME ON AND OFF SEVERAL TIMES AND LOST POWER STEERING DURING THOSE TIMES. THE PROBLEM HAS BEEN INTERMITTENT. THE HONDA DEALERSHIP TRIED TO FIX THE PROBLEM 3 TIMES. ON FEB 5TH, 2013 THE INTERMITTENT POWER STEERING PROBLEM SEEMED TO BE FIXED. THEN ON AUG 21ST, 2014 THE POWER STEER PROBLEM STARTED AGAIN. I RETURNED TO THE HONDA DEALERSHIP AND HONDA TRIED AGAIN TO FIX THE INTERMITTENT POWER STEERING PROBLEM. ON AUG 22ND, I DROVE MY HONDA ACCORD OUT OF THE DEALERSHIP AND HAD TO TURN AROUND AND BRING IT BACK BECAUSE THE CARS-++ EPS (ELECTRIC POWER STEERING) SYSTEM INDICATOR LIGHT CAME ON AND OFF AGAIN AND I LOST POWER STEERING DURING THAT TIME. I-++M NOW WAITING TO SEE IF THE INTERMITTENT POWER STEERING PROBLEM CAN BE FOUND AND FIXED. SINCE I BOUGHT MY CAR THE SMART ENTRY SYSTEM INDICATOR LIGHT HAS TURNED ON AND OFF INTERMITTENTLY WITHOUT AN ADVERSE EFFECT THAT I KNOW OF. I KNOW AN INTERMITTENT PROBLEM IS HARD DIAGNOSE AND FIX BUT I-++M STARTING HAVE LESS AND LESS CONFIDENCE IN HONDA THE COMPANY THAT MANUFACTURED MY CAR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/24/2014 - SLIDELL, LA
ON JAN 24TH, 2013 I TOOK MY CAR TO THE HONDA DEALERSHIP FOR A PROBLEM WITH MY POWER STEERING. THE EPS (ELECTRIC POWER STEERING) SYSTEM INDICATOR CAME ON AND OFF SEVERAL TIMES AND LOST POWER STEERING DURING THOSE TIMES. THE PROBLEM HAS BEEN INTERMITTENT. THE HONDA DEALERSHIP TRIED TO FIX THE PROBLEM 3 TIMES. ON FEB 5TH, 2013 THE INTERMITTENT POWER STEERING PROBLEM SEEMED TO BE FIXED. THEN ON AUG 21ST, 2014 THE POWER STEER PROBLEM STARTED AGAIN. I RETURNED TO THE HONDA DEALERSHIP AND HONDA TRIED AGAIN TO FIX THE INTERMITTENT POWER STEERING PROBLEM. ON AUG 22ND, I DROVE MY HONDA ACCORD OUT OF THE DEALERSHIP AND HAD TO TURN AROUND AND BRING IT BACK BECAUSE THE CARS-++ EPS (ELECTRIC POWER STEERING) SYSTEM INDICATOR LIGHT CAME ON AND OFF AGAIN AND I LOST POWER STEERING DURING THAT TIME. I-++M NOW WAITING TO SEE IF THE INTERMITTENT POWER STEERING PROBLEM CAN BE FOUND AND FIXED. SINCE I BOUGHT MY CAR THE SMART ENTRY SYSTEM INDICATOR LIGHT HAS TURNED ON AND OFF INTERMITTENTLY WITHOUT AN ADVERSE EFFECT THAT I KNOW OF. I KNOW AN INTERMITTENT PROBLEM IS HARD DIAGNOSE AND FIX BUT I-++M STARTING HAVE LESS AND LESS CONFIDENCE IN HONDA THE COMPANY THAT MANUFACTURED MY CAR.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/24/2014 - BATON ROUGE, LA
TRAVELED FROM BATON ROUGE TO DALLAS WITHA COLD AIR CONDITION AND ON THE WAY BACK HOME FROM DALLAS. ONCE I GOT TO OPELOUSAS NO COLD AIR, ONLY HEAT BLOWING FROM THE AC. RICHARDS HONDA DEALERSHIP IN BATON ROUGE CLAIMS THAT A ROCK STRUCK MY CONDENSOR, CAUSED THE LEAK AND THE ROAD DEBRIS IS NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY. MY CAR WILL BE A YEAR OLD FROM A NEW PURCHASE NEXT MONTH, I TRAVEL IN MY CAR EVERYDAY TO WORK AND NEVER HAD A PROBLEM WITH MY CAR IN NEARLY 30K MILES, UNTIL NOW. DEALER COST $530. HONDA SHOULD PROVIDE A PROTECTOR ON CONDENSORS TO KEEP THEIR RUPUTATION REGARDING A RELIABLE AUTOMOBILE, PAY 100% OF THE FEES OR AT LEAST 75% AS HONDA SHOULD RECTIFY THIS ONGOING PROBLEM BY OFFERING A PROTECTOR AT NO COST TO THE CUSTOMERS AND IMMEDIATELY REPAIRING THE CONDENSOR AT NO COST TO THE CUSTOMER WITHIN THEIR FIRST YEAR OF OWNERSHIP, MINIMUM. IT'S EXTREMELY HOT IN LOUISIANA AND I NEED MY AIR CONDITION TO WORK PROPERLY WHILE I TRAVEL TO WORK AND PAY MY MONTHLY NOTE ON TIME. I EXPECT THIS AC TO LAST MUCH LONGER THAN 11 MONTHS AND NEARLY 30,000 MILES.

View Details

STEERING

8/21/2014 - TYLER, TX
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HONDA ACCORD. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THE FAILURE WAS UNABLE TO BE DETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 20,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. DJR

View Details

STEERING

8/14/2014 - PAISLEY, FL
WHILE DRIVING AT APPROX. 25 MPH, SUDDENLY THE POWER STEERING COMPLETELY FAILED AND POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHT CAME ON. AS I WAS ONLY A COUPLE OF BLOCKS FROM HOME, I WAS ABLE TO HARD STEER IT HOME. SPOUSE TURNED ENGINE OFF, STARTED IT BACK UP AND POWER STEERING RESET. TOOK IT TO THE DEALER. DID DIAGNOSTIC AND DETERMINED : DIAGNOSE EPS SYSTEM PER ISIS. FOUND FAULTY TORQUE SENSOR. REPLACE COMPLETE POWER STEERING RACK AND PERFORM ALIGN. AFTER READING OTHER SIMILAR COMPLAINTS, I AM HOPEFUL THAT THIS WILL NOT HAPPEN AGAIN. IT IS EXTREMELY DANGEROUS WHEN THIS HAPPENS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/14/2014 - TORRANCE, CA
GOT HIT ON PASSENGER SIDE TBONED ON FRONT AND BACK DOORS AND NO DIPLOYMENT I TOOK THE CAR TO HONDA DEALER TO DO THE REPAIR THRU MY INSURANCE DEALER TELLS ME THE SIDE DOORS NEED TO BE REPLACED AND DAMAGE TO THE PILLAR AND NEEDED NEW HINGES. TWO DAYS LATER GO OVER A BUMP AND AIRBAGS DEPLOY. NOT WHEN IM HIT BUT OVER A BUMP THEY DEPLOY ON SAME SIDE THE WORK WAS DONE TO THE PILLAR AND DOORS.TWO DAYS LATER . DONT UNDERSTAND WHY DIPLOYMENT GOING OVER A BUMP BUT NOT WHEN I GOT HIT BY ANOTHER CAR TO THE PASSENGER SIDE PILLAR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/7/2014 - WASHINGTON, DC
AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION SLIPPED OUT OF GEAR AND INTO LOWER GEAR, CAUSE VERY HIGH ENGINE REVS AND SHARP DECELERATION. I WAS ABLE TO RE-ENGAGE TRANSMISSION AFTER SLOWING DOWN TO NEAR STOP, SHIFTING INTO NEUTRAL, AND THEN SHIFTING INTO 2ND. IT WAS A DANGEROUS SITUATION AS I WAS ON AN URBAN INTERSTATE HIGHWAY. FROM THEREAFTER, THIS WOULD RE-OCCUR PERIODICALLY AND GRADUALLY INCREASED IN FREQUENCY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/4/2014 - BASKING RIDGE, NJ
WHILE TURNING RIGHT TO PARK IN A RESIDENTIAL TOWNHOUSE PARKING SPACE, THE CAR ACCELERATED SUDDENLY AND HIT A TREE WHICH WAS VERY CLOSE BUT AT THE TOP OF A SLANTING HILL. IT FELT LIKE THE CAR WAS SLIPPING ON ICE BUT THERE WAS NO ICE. A PERSON OUTSIDE OF THE CAR HEARD A STRANGE NOISE. IT FELT LIKE THERE WAS NO ABILITY TO CONTROL THE CAR. I TRIED TO BACK UP, I FELT THE SAME SLIPPING SO I STOPPED AND LEFT THE CAR. THE SAME PERSON HEARD THE NOISE AGAIN WHEN I WAS BACKING UP. I AM AN EXPERIENCED DRIVER WITH A CLEAN DRIVING RECORD FOR OVER 20 YEARS AND HAVE NEVER EXPERIENCED THIS. IT WAS SUNDAY AFTERNOON AND THERE WERE NO WEATHER RELATED ISSUES. THIS WAS THE 3RD STOP OF THE DAY OVER A 1-2 HOUR PERIOD. THIS IS A QUIET STREET SO THERE WERE NO TRAFFIC ISSUES. THE CAR WAS LEAKING OIL SO IT WAS TOWED TO THE BODY SHOP.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds