Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ACCORD - 2013 HONDA ACCORD Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 519 complaints filed for the 2013 HONDA ACCORD

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HONDA ACCORD. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HONDA ACCORD, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (23) Equipment (6) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (35)
Electrical System (117) Equipment Adaptive (4) Power Train (54) Steering (145) Vehicle Speed Control (30)
Electronic Stability Control (15) Exterior Lighting (10) Seat Belts (3) Structure (17) Visibility (12)
Engine (84) Fuel Propulsion System (13) Seats (43) Suspension (6) Visibility Wiper (16)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Fuel System Gasoline (6) Service Brakes (26) Tires (9) Wheels (13)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 69
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

8/10/2017 - LINDENHURST, NY
WHILE DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY THE POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHT (ITS A LITTLE ORANGE STEERING WHEEL WITH AN ! NEXT TO IT) COMES ON AND THE WHEEL BECOMES VERY HARD TO TURN. THE CAR ALSO FEEL UNSTABLE AS IF I WERE DRIVING OVER A BRIDGE IN HIGH WIND. THIS HAS HAPPEND TWICE SO FAR IN THE LAST TWO DAYS. BOTH TIMES WERE AT NIGHT ON THE HIGHWAY ABOUT 20 MINUTES INTO A 45 MIN COMMUTE. LUCKILY FOR ME IT WAS LATE AT NIGHT SO I WAS ABLE TO PULL OVER WITHOUT INCIDENT. TURNING OFF THE CAR AND RESTARTING IT AFTER A MINUTE TEMPORARILY FIXED THE PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/10/2017 - SHIPPENSBURG, PA
INTERMITTENT STARTING ISSUES, PUSH START BUTTON, CAR MAKES GRINDING NOISES AND CLICKING, BRAKE THEN LOCKS DOWN TO THE FLOOR. AFTER REPEATED ATTEMPTS TO PUSH BUTTON, CAR WILL EVENTUALLY START..THIS IS AN INTERMITTENT PROBLEM, HAS OCCURED AT LEAST 6 TIMES IN PAST 4 MONTHS. DOES NOT HAPPEN ALL THE TIME. HAVE HAD CAR TO HONDA DEALER FOR DIAGNOSTIC, THEY CANNOT FIND PROBLEM BUT STATE THERE HAS BEEN MULTIPLE COMPLAINTS FROM OTHER HONDA CONSUMERS. THIS ISSUE HAS NO CERTAIN TIME OF HAPPENING, HAS OCCURED ON A COLD AND WARM START. I NEVER KNOW WHEN CAR WILL START OR NOT. TAKING CAR BACK TO HONDA SERVICE NEXT WEEK TO TRY TO DIAGNOSE AGAIN.

View Details

ENGINE

8/3/2017 - SANTEE, CA
VEHICLE IS 2013 AND I HAVE REPLACED THE STARTED AND BATTERY 4 TIMES DUE TO ENGINE FAILURE, IT TURN ON AND IMMEDIATLY DIES OFF, MY CAR HAS BEEN TOWED 6 TIMES OR MORE SINCE I BOUGHT, I HAVE DONE ALL THE MAINTENANCE ALL THE TIME AND COMPUTER NEVER IDENTIFIES THIS PROBLEM. I AM SO TIRED OF THIS TRASH CAR, I STILLOWE ON IT OR ELSE I WOULD JUST PARK IT ON THE FRONT LOT OF A DEALER AND PUT A BIG SIGN SAYING DO NOT BUY HONDA ACCORDS, MANY PROBLEMS ALWAYS. LASTLY, I ASKED THE DRIVER FOR THE TOW TRUCK WHICH KIND OF CARS HE TOWS THE MOST DUE TO ENGINE FAILURE AND HE SAID, LAUGHING "HONDAS"...FIRST TIME IT FAIL TO START WAS AT 54K MILES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/3/2017 - SANTEE, CA
VEHICLE IS 2013 AND I HAVE REPLACED THE STARTED AND BATTERY 4 TIMES DUE TO ENGINE FAILURE, IT TURN ON AND IMMEDIATLY DIES OFF, MY CAR HAS BEEN TOWED 6 TIMES OR MORE SINCE I BOUGHT, I HAVE DONE ALL THE MAINTENANCE ALL THE TIME AND COMPUTER NEVER IDENTIFIES THIS PROBLEM. I AM SO TIRED OF THIS TRASH CAR, I STILLOWE ON IT OR ELSE I WOULD JUST PARK IT ON THE FRONT LOT OF A DEALER AND PUT A BIG SIGN SAYING DO NOT BUY HONDA ACCORDS, MANY PROBLEMS ALWAYS. LASTLY, I ASKED THE DRIVER FOR THE TOW TRUCK WHICH KIND OF CARS HE TOWS THE MOST DUE TO ENGINE FAILURE AND HE SAID, LAUGHING "HONDAS"...FIRST TIME IT FAIL TO START WAS AT 54K MILES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/2/2017 - TUCSON, AZ
WHILE DRIVING WITH THE AC FOR 15 MINUTES; A LITTLE SMOKE STARTS TO COME OUT OF THE CENTER CONSOLES TWO VENTS. THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING FOR THE LAST 2 WEEKS EVERY TIME WE DRIVE FOR OVER 15 MINUTES. THE SMOKE LAST FOR UP TO 30 SECONDS THEN STOPS. ONCE IT IS DONE, A SLIGHT ODOR OF BURNED ELECTRICAL CAN BE NOTICED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/31/2017 - GENEVA, IL
THE I4 ENGINE WILL NOT START INTERMITTENTLY. THE BATTERY IS NEW AND FULLY CHARGED. MANY TIMES, I GET IT STARTED BY STRAIGHTENING THE STEERING WHEEL. THE CAR IS 4 YEARS OLD WITH 51K MILES SO OUTSIDE OF WARRANTY. THE DEALER WANTS A DIAGNOSTIC FEE TO TEST OTHER COMPONENTS. THIS IS POTENTIALLY DANGEROUS TO CONSUMERS FOR THE ELECTRICAL COMPONENT BUT ALSO A CONSUMER HAZARD IN TERMS OF SAFETY NOT TO MENTION T REPUTATIONAL RISK TO HONDA.

View Details

STEERING

7/19/2017 - RICHMOND, TX
I WAS IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD AND THE STEERING LOCKED, THIS HAS HAPPENED TWICE ON 07/18/2017 AND 04/20/2017. I THANK GOD FOR MY LIFE

View Details

STEERING

7/18/2017 - CHARLOTTE, NC
THIS IS AN UPDATE ON WHAT I EXPERIENCE WITH MY 2013 HONDA ACCORD 7/4/2017. ON THIS DAY WHICH WAS INDEPENDENCE DAY MY EPS LOCKED UP WHILE LEAVING SOUTH CAROLINA HEADED BACK TO NORTH CAROLINE. I HAD TO HAVE MY CAR TOWED TO THE NEAREST HONDA DEALERSHIP TO EXAM THE CAR TO SEE WHY THE SYSTEM LOCKED UP. AS I RESEARCHED THE ISSUE I NOTICE SEVERAL ISSUE WITH THE EPS SYSTEM IN THIS YEAR MODEL. I READ THAT AN EXTENDED WARRANTY WAS GIVEN ON THE TORQUE SENSOR 5 YEAR. AS HONDA DIAGNOSED THE VEHICLE THEY DID THE UPDATE AND REPLACED THE TORQUE SENSOR, BUT THE PART THAT WOULD ALLOW THE SYSTEM TO WORK WAS NOT COVERED UNDER THE EXTENDED WARRANTY AND THAT WAS THE CONTROL UNIT. I LOCATED ANOTHER ARTICLE AN IT ALSO HAD THAT HONDA WAS AWARE OF THIS ISSUE AS WELL, BUT EXTENDED THIS WARRANTY TO ONLY THE FIT AND CIVIC NOT THE ACCORDS. I WILL BE WRITING A LETTER TO THE CORPORATE OFFICE REGARDING THIS ISSUE AS WELL. I'M NOT SURE WHY THEY WOULD ONLY EXTEND IT TO THOSE TWO CARS WHEN ACCORD ARE THE NUMBER #1 SELLER. THIS WAS MY SECOND HONDA CAR AND OVER ALL MY FAMILY HAVE PURCHASED 4 HONDA CARS. THE COST FOR THE CONTROL UNIT WAS ALMOST $600.00 WHICH I REFUSED TO PAY AND HONDA SERVICE BROUGHT THE BALANCE TO $500.00 EVEN AS IF THEY WAS DOING ME A FAVOR. THE SERVICE MEMBER AND SERVICE WAS TERRIBLE AND RIGHT NOW AS A OWNER I'M NOT A SATISFIED CLIENT. IF EPS IS A KNOWN ISSUE WHY WAS THE ENTIRE SYSTEM EXTENDED UNDER WARRANTY. YOU KNOW WHY IT WASN'T EXTENDED BECAUSE THEY WANT THE CUSTOMER TO PAY FOR SOMETHING AT THE END OF THE DAY. I KNOW WE ALL LOOK FOR NEW IMPROVE WAYS TO MAKE TECHNOLOGY BETTER, BUT MAKING AN ELECTRIC POWER STEERING WAS NOT A BRIGHT IDEA IN MY OPTION. LUCKILY I WAS NOT DRIVING ON A HIGHWAY DOING 70 MILES AN HOUR AND THE STEERING LOCKED UP IT COULD HAVE BEEN FATAL FOR ME OR SOMEONE ELSE. TODAY I THINK MY OPTION ON PURCHASING A VEHICLE WITH HONDA WILL BE LAST ON THE LIST.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/13/2017 - CYPRESS, TX
VEHICLE HAS HAD TO BE TOWED TWICE IN THE PAST FOUR MONTHS DUE TO FAILURE TO START, ONLY CLICKING SOUND. BEFORE COMPLETELY UNABLE TO START, I WOULD HAVE TO TRY 3 OR MORE TIMES FOR IT TO START. FIRST TIME I CHANGED THE BATTERY AN VEHICLE WAS OK FOR A WHILE BUT THEN STARTED FAILING TO START INTERMITTENTLY AND WOULD ONLY START AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS. I DO NOT MIND REPLACING THE STARTER BUT IT BOTHERS ME BECAUSE THE VEHICLE IS ONLY 3-4 YEAR OLD AND BELIEVE REPLACING THE STARTER MAY NOT FIX THE PROBLEM IN THE LONG RUN AS IT WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED WITH THE SAME STARTERS THAT ARE FAILING. PLEASE HELP. THANKS.

View Details

ENGINE

7/11/2017 - MICANOPY, FL
MY CARE IS CONSUMING TOO MUCH OIL. OIL LIGHT WARNING DOES NOT COME ON.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 69
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds