Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ACCORD - 2013 HONDA ACCORD Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 185 complaints filed for the 2013 HONDA ACCORD

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HONDA ACCORD. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HONDA ACCORD, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Equipment (4) Power Train (31) Steering (22) Vehicle Speed Control (19)
Electrical System (30) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (6) Visibility (8)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Exterior Lighting (6) Seats (31) Suspension (1) Visibility Wiper (14)
Engine (30) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes (15) Tires (4) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/1/2014 - AUBURN, WA
PEBBLE DAMAGE TO AIR CONDITIONER CONDENSER CAUSING LOSE OF REFRIGERANT. AIR CONDITION SYSTEM NO LONGER FUNCTIONS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/29/2014 - PLAINFIELD, IL
FIRST INCIDENT WAS APPROX IN AUG, 2013. DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY ACCELERATING AT 36-40 MPH, CAR STARTING SHUDDERING AND LUNGING FORWARD, LOUD NOISE COMING FROM CAR AND IT WOULDN'T ACCELERATE. SLOWING DOWN DIDN'T HELP- IT MADE IT SHUDDER MORE. PULLED OFF ROAD THINKING, MAYBE A FLAT TIRE? I STOPPED THE CAR CHECKED AND NOTHING.I WAS SHAKEN UP BECAUSE THE CAR WAS JERKING AND SHUDDERING AND YOU COULDN'T CONTROL IT.I LET IT SIT, WHILE DRIVING HOME, IT HAD DIFFICULTY ACCELERATING TO THE SPEED LIMIT OF 50. IT THEN SHUDDERED AS THE CAR SLOWED DOWN WHEN YOU TOOK YOUR FOOT OFF THE GAS, LET IT COAST TO A STOP W/O APPLYING THE BRAKES. TRYING TO ACCELERATE, IT WAS VERY SLUGGISH, THEN IT KICKED IN AND TOOK OFF. AS IF THE A/C WAS ON, STRAINING THE ENGINE. I CALLED THE DEALER AND OF COURSE, COULDN'T DUPLICATE IT. THEY INSISTED NOTHING WAS WRONG AND IT WAS JUST SOME ODD INCIDENT. I KNOW WHAT THE CAR DID. I DROVE IT FOR ALMOST A YEAR, EXPERIENCING THIS OFF AND ON BUT NOT TO THAT DEGREE THE FIRST TIME, WITH THE SHUDDERING WHEN YOU SLOWED DOWN AND THE LACK OF ACCELERATION AND THEN THE "KICK IN"... IT GOT PRETTY BAD IN THE MID PART OF JULY, 2014. THIS WAS HAPPENING MORE FREQUENTLY. THE LACK OF ACCELERATION - BIG PROBLEM WITH EXPRESSWAY DRIVING. TOOK IT TO THE DEALER, THEY INDICATED A SERVICE BULLETIN HAD BEEN ISSUED. THEY ORDERED A KIT (VALVE?) AND REPLACED THE HARDWARE AND ADJUSTED THE SOFTWARE PER THE RECOMMENDATION OF HONDA.IT SEEMED TO BE FIXED, FOR FIVE DAYS. IT STARTED LOSING ACCELERATION ON THE HIGHWAY, I COULD BARELY GET TO 70 MPH IN VERY HEAVY TRAFFIC. DANGEROUS! I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER AGAIN 10 DAYS LATER AND TOLD THEM IT WASN'T FIXED. THE HEAD SERVICE TECH DROVE IT, WONT DUPLICATE. THEY ARE TRYING TO TROUBLESHOOT. I'M CONCERNED THAT DRIVING THIS VEHICLE FOR A YEAR WITH THIS PROBLEM HAS CAUSED PERMANENT DAMAGE TO THE TRANSMISSION. I NOTIFIED AMERICAN HONDA.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/29/2014 - VERNON HILLS, IL
WHEN CAR HAS BEEN SITTING FOR A LONG PERIOD (OVERNIGHT OR DURING THE DAY WHILE AT WORK) THE CVT TRANSMISSION INITIALLY DOES NOT ENGAGE. THE TACHOMETER SHOWS INCREASED ENGINE REVS BUT THE CAR BARELY MOVES. AFTER ~ 30 SECONDS TRANSMISSION STARTS TO WORK NORMALLY. THIS HAPPENS INTERMITTENTLY (~ 3 - 4 TIMES PER MONTH). DEALER COULD NOT REPRODUCE PROBLEM (NOT SURPRISING GIVEN FREQUENCY OF OCCURRENCE) AND CLAIMS THERE IS NO PROBLEM WHATSOEVER. I'M CONCERNED ABOUT THE RELIABILITY OF THE TRANSMISSION AND WHETHER THIS PROBLEM WILL MANIFEST ITSELF IN A MORE DANGEROUS SITUATION.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/28/2014 - CHARLOTTE, NC
PROBLEM BEGAN ALMOST IMMEDIATELY AFTER PURCHASING MY NEW ACCORD EX V-6 COUPE. ESPECIALLY WHEN DRIVING THE VEHICLE IN THE MORNING (E.G. HAVEN'T DRIVEN SINCE THE PRIOR AFTERNOON/EVENING), THE VEHICLE WILL STUTTER WHEN TRANSITIONING FROM FIRST TO SECOND GEAR. THIS IS PARTICULARLY EVIDENT WHEN ACCELERATING AFTER STOPPING AT A STOP SIGN/STOPLIGHT. I REPORTED THIS ISSUE TO MY LOCAL DEALER AND WAS TOLD IT WAS A "KNOWN ISSUE".

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/16/2014 - PEWAUKEE, WI
WHILE DRIVING TO CHICAGO (2 HOURS AWAY) WITH MY WIFE AND 11 YEAR OLD MY MAINTENANCE MINDER LIGHT CAME ON TO TELL ME IT WAS TIME TO GET AN OIL CHANGE. SINCE IT WAS A SUNDAY I COULDN'T TAKE IT IN. I COULDN'T MAKE AN APPOINTMENT UNTIL 7/16 TO GET IN FOR AN OIL CHANGE. ON 7/16 I SAT IN MY CAR TO GO HOME, BUT MY DASH LIGHTS WERE ALL LIT UP. BRAKES, ELECTRIC STEERING, ABS, CHECK ENGINE, MY SPEEDOMETER WASN'T WORKING AND MANY MORE LIGHTS REMAINED ON. I CALLED THE DEALER AND THEY TOLD ME IT WAS SAFE TO DRIVE IT OVER TO THEM ALTHOUGH I HEARD A GRINDING SOUND, MY BRAKES WERE SOFT AND MY STEERING WHEEL WAS VERY STIFF. I WENT VERY SLOW SINCE MY SPEEDOMETER OR MILEAGE WASN'T WORKING AT ALL. THE NEXT MORNING MY DEALER CALLED AND CLAIMED THAT A RODENT WAS THE CULPRIT WHO CHEWED ON SOME MAIN WIRING HARNESS OF THE ENTIRE CAR. I FIND THIS HARD TO BELIEVE BECAUSE WHY DIDN'T IT HAPPEN AFTER THE OIL LIGHT CAME 2 DAYS BEFORE? WHY DIDN'T MY WIFE'S SUV GET AFFECTED BY THIS? THIS IS A HUGE QUALITY CONTROL ISSUE THAT HONDA NEEDS TO FIX. WHAT WOULD HAVE HAPPENED IF ALL OF THESE LIGHTS CAME ON WHILE I WAS DRIVING MY FAMILY ON THE HIGHWAY?

View Details

ENGINE

7/16/2014 - PEWAUKEE, WI
WHILE DRIVING TO CHICAGO (2 HOURS AWAY) WITH MY WIFE AND 11 YEAR OLD MY MAINTENANCE MINDER LIGHT CAME ON TO TELL ME IT WAS TIME TO GET AN OIL CHANGE. SINCE IT WAS A SUNDAY I COULDN'T TAKE IT IN. I COULDN'T MAKE AN APPOINTMENT UNTIL 7/16 TO GET IN FOR AN OIL CHANGE. ON 7/16 I SAT IN MY CAR TO GO HOME, BUT MY DASH LIGHTS WERE ALL LIT UP. BRAKES, ELECTRIC STEERING, ABS, CHECK ENGINE, MY SPEEDOMETER WASN'T WORKING AND MANY MORE LIGHTS REMAINED ON. I CALLED THE DEALER AND THEY TOLD ME IT WAS SAFE TO DRIVE IT OVER TO THEM ALTHOUGH I HEARD A GRINDING SOUND, MY BRAKES WERE SOFT AND MY STEERING WHEEL WAS VERY STIFF. I WENT VERY SLOW SINCE MY SPEEDOMETER OR MILEAGE WASN'T WORKING AT ALL. THE NEXT MORNING MY DEALER CALLED AND CLAIMED THAT A RODENT WAS THE CULPRIT WHO CHEWED ON SOME MAIN WIRING HARNESS OF THE ENTIRE CAR. I FIND THIS HARD TO BELIEVE BECAUSE WHY DIDN'T IT HAPPEN AFTER THE OIL LIGHT CAME 2 DAYS BEFORE? WHY DIDN'T MY WIFE'S SUV GET AFFECTED BY THIS? THIS IS A HUGE QUALITY CONTROL ISSUE THAT HONDA NEEDS TO FIX. WHAT WOULD HAVE HAPPENED IF ALL OF THESE LIGHTS CAME ON WHILE I WAS DRIVING MY FAMILY ON THE HIGHWAY?

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/16/2014 - PEWAUKEE, WI
WHILE DRIVING TO CHICAGO (2 HOURS AWAY) WITH MY WIFE AND 11 YEAR OLD MY MAINTENANCE MINDER LIGHT CAME ON TO TELL ME IT WAS TIME TO GET AN OIL CHANGE. SINCE IT WAS A SUNDAY I COULDN'T TAKE IT IN. I COULDN'T MAKE AN APPOINTMENT UNTIL 7/16 TO GET IN FOR AN OIL CHANGE. ON 7/16 I SAT IN MY CAR TO GO HOME, BUT MY DASH LIGHTS WERE ALL LIT UP. BRAKES, ELECTRIC STEERING, ABS, CHECK ENGINE, MY SPEEDOMETER WASN'T WORKING AND MANY MORE LIGHTS REMAINED ON. I CALLED THE DEALER AND THEY TOLD ME IT WAS SAFE TO DRIVE IT OVER TO THEM ALTHOUGH I HEARD A GRINDING SOUND, MY BRAKES WERE SOFT AND MY STEERING WHEEL WAS VERY STIFF. I WENT VERY SLOW SINCE MY SPEEDOMETER OR MILEAGE WASN'T WORKING AT ALL. THE NEXT MORNING MY DEALER CALLED AND CLAIMED THAT A RODENT WAS THE CULPRIT WHO CHEWED ON SOME MAIN WIRING HARNESS OF THE ENTIRE CAR. I FIND THIS HARD TO BELIEVE BECAUSE WHY DIDN'T IT HAPPEN AFTER THE OIL LIGHT CAME 2 DAYS BEFORE? WHY DIDN'T MY WIFE'S SUV GET AFFECTED BY THIS? THIS IS A HUGE QUALITY CONTROL ISSUE THAT HONDA NEEDS TO FIX. WHAT WOULD HAVE HAPPENED IF ALL OF THESE LIGHTS CAME ON WHILE I WAS DRIVING MY FAMILY ON THE HIGHWAY?

View Details

SEATS

7/14/2014 - ORLANDO, FL
THESE COMMENTS PERTAIN TO MY FRUITLESS SEARCH FOR A CAR WITHOUT HEAD RESTRAINTS THAT FORCE MY HEAD DOWN TO AN UNCOMFORTABLE, PAINFUL POSITION. AT 5 FT 10 IN I AM JUST 1/2 INCH OVER THE AVERAGE MALE HEIGHT IN THE U.S. THIS SITUATION, AFFECTING MANY MAKES, MODELS AND YEARS, IS CAUSING PEOPLE TO DEVELOP BACK PROBLEMS, AND IN SOME CASES REMOVE OR DISABLE SAFETY EQUIPMENT. INTERNET SEARCHES SHOW HUNDREDS OF THESE COMPLAINTS, AND EXAMPLES OF HOW TO REMEDY THE PROBLEM BY EITHER REMOVING OR TURNING AROUND HEAD RESTRAINTS. EVEN A DEALER SUGGESTED I DID THE LATTER, WHICH I WILL NOT DO. SINCE MANUFACTURERS ARE IGNORING THE ISSUE EXCEPT FOR TOP-OF-THE-LINE MODELS, THE NHTSA SHOULD INTERVENE TO FORCE A SOLUTION TO HELP CUSTOMERS RETAIN SAFETY FEATURES WHILE NOT INCURRING BACK INJURIES. THIS IS PART OF THE NARRATIVE I POSTED ON ONE OF MANY ON-LINE FORUMS ON THE SUBJECT: INTERESTED IN BUYING A 2013 HONDA ACCORD EX-L BUT I CAN'T STAND THE HEAD RESTRAINTS. I CAN'T DRIVE WITH MY HEAD LOOKING DOWN. I TESTED IT FOR 45 MINUTES AND ENDED UP WITH A BACK/NECK ACHE. I TRIED A 2012 ACCORD AND FOUND THE SAME PROBLEM. MY 2008 PILOT DOES NOT HAVE THE PROBLEM, AS A MATTER OF FACT, I TRIED A NEW PILOT AND IT WAS COMFORTABLE. CLEARLY, IT MEETS SAFETY STANDARDS WITHOUT COMPROMISING DRIVER COMFORT. I FOUND HUNDREDS OF COMPLAINTS ON-LINE ABOUT THE SAME ISSUE DATING BACK TO 2009. HERE'S ONE OF THOSE WEB SITES: HTTP://WWW.CARCOMPLAINTS.COM/HONDA/ACCORD/2013/ I CALLED HONDA CUSTOMER SERVICE AND THEY WERE NO HELP AT ALL. THREE TIMES THE LADY I SPOKE WITH REPEATED THE LITANY OF "SINCE 2009 ALL HONDA CARS....ETC" REFERRING TO NEW FEDERAL SAFETY REGULATIONS. NEVER MIND THAT THE PILOT DOES NOT SACRIFICE COMFORT FOR SAFETY. HOW CAN HONDA IGNORE SUCH A PROBLEM THAT MUST BE TURNING AWAY ACCORD BUYERS? HOW CAN HONDA IGNORE IT WHEN THEY HAVE THE SOLUTION IN ANOTHER ONE OF ITS MODELS (THE PILOT)?

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/14/2014 - BYRON, GA
WHEN ATTEMPTING TO GO INTO REVERSE AFTER THE CAR HAS SAT IN THE GARAGE OVERNIGHT IT DOES NOT WANT TO MOVE. THE RPM'S GO UP BUT NO MOVEMENT. HAVE TO PUT THE CAR IN PARK, TURN IT OFF AND RESTART THE PROCESS OVER AGAIN. WHEN IT DOES ENGAGE, IT WILL BEGIN MOVING VERY SLOWLY ALMOST LIKE THE TRANSMISSION IS SLIPPING. ONCE IT GETS FAR ENOUGH OUT OF THE GARAGE AND AM ABLE TO PUT IN DRIVE IT APPEARS TO WORK NORMAL FOR THE REST OF THE DAY. THIS HAS HAPPENED A NUMBER OF TIMES AFTER THE CAR HAS SAT OVERNIGHT.

View Details

STEERING

7/7/2014 - BOWIE, MD
MY POWER STEERING WENT OUT AND I HIT THE RIGHT SIDE OF MY CAR IN A PARKING GARAGE. THE POWER STEERING LIGHT CAME ON. MY HUSBAND BROUGHT THE CAR INTO THE SERVICE CENTER AT HONDA OF BOWIE. THE SERVICE FOLKS SAID IT WAS FIXED AFTER DOING A COMPUTER UPDATE. I BROUGHT IT BACK BECAUSE THE PROBLEM KEPT REOCCURRING. MY HUSBAND BROUGHT IT BACK IN AGAIN ON JULY 2, 2014 BECAUSE THE PROBLEM REOCCURRED SEVERAL TIMES SINCE THE LAST "FIX." THE SERVICE PERSONNEL DID ANOTHER COMPUTER RESET AND MY CAR HAS HAD THE SAME POWER STEERING PROBLEMS SINCE THEN. TODAY (MONDAY, JULY 7, 2014), THE POWER STEERING FAILED AGAIN AND STEERED THE CAR INTO ONCOMING TRAFFIC RESULTING IN ANOTHER NEAR MISS. I HAVE CALLED HONDA OF BOWIE TO GET A LOANER VEHICLE BUT THEY ARE OUT OF LOANER VEHICLES SO I NEED TO CONTINUE TO DRIVE THE CAR TO AND FROM WORK.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds