Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ACCORD - 2013 HONDA ACCORD Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 390 complaints filed for the 2013 HONDA ACCORD

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HONDA ACCORD. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HONDA ACCORD, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (17) Equipment (5) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (18)
Electrical System (68) Equipment Adaptive (4) Power Train (50) Steering (111) Vehicle Speed Control (30)
Electronic Stability Control (11) Exterior Lighting (8) Seat Belts (3) Structure (15) Visibility (12)
Engine (52) Fuel Propulsion System (11) Seats (41) Suspension (5) Visibility Wiper (16)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes (23) Tires (7) Wheels (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 52
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/22/2016 - ACCOKEEK, MD
MY FAMILY AND I WERE STRANDED DUE TO OUR 2013 HONDA ACCORD NOT STARTING. WE JUST CAME OUT OF THE MOVIES AND THE CAR WAS STATIONARY IN THE PARKING LOT. I TURNED THE KEY AND IT WOULD JUST CLICK. I HAD TO PAY FOR TOWING AND OVER $800 TO HAVE THE STARTER REPLACED AT THE HONDA DEALER. IT WOULD HAVE BEEN MORE, BUT I CALLED ANOTHER DEALER AND THEY PRICE MATCHED THE STARTER. I DRIVE A LOT OF MILE TO WORK SO I HAVE OVER 60K MILES IN 2 YEARS. AFTER DOING A LITTLE RESEARCH I FOUND THAT THIS PROBLEM IS HAPPENING TO A LOT OF PEOPLE. THE PROBLEM CAN BE SEEN ON FORUMS AND YOUTUBE VIDEOS. THIS PROBLEM SEEMS TO AFFECTS NEW CARS, BASE MODELS, PUSH BUTTONS, V6'S ETC. I THINK THE STARTER SHOULD BE RECALLED BECAUSE MANY PEOPLE ARE BEING FORCED TO REPLACE STARTERS THAT THE DEALER SEEMED TO KNOW WAS BAD.

View Details

ENGINE

4/22/2016 - ACCOKEEK, MD
MY FAMILY AND I WERE STRANDED DUE TO OUR 2013 HONDA ACCORD NOT STARTING. WE JUST CAME OUT OF THE MOVIES AND THE CAR WAS STATIONARY IN THE PARKING LOT. I TURNED THE KEY AND IT WOULD JUST CLICK. I HAD TO PAY FOR TOWING AND OVER $800 TO HAVE THE STARTER REPLACED AT THE HONDA DEALER. IT WOULD HAVE BEEN MORE, BUT I CALLED ANOTHER DEALER AND THEY PRICE MATCHED THE STARTER. I DRIVE A LOT OF MILE TO WORK SO I HAVE OVER 60K MILES IN 2 YEARS. AFTER DOING A LITTLE RESEARCH I FOUND THAT THIS PROBLEM IS HAPPENING TO A LOT OF PEOPLE. THE PROBLEM CAN BE SEEN ON FORUMS AND YOUTUBE VIDEOS. THIS PROBLEM SEEMS TO AFFECTS NEW CARS, BASE MODELS, PUSH BUTTONS, V6'S ETC. I THINK THE STARTER SHOULD BE RECALLED BECAUSE MANY PEOPLE ARE BEING FORCED TO REPLACE STARTERS THAT THE DEALER SEEMED TO KNOW WAS BAD.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/20/2016 - TUCSON, AZ
MY 2013 ACCORD IS HAVING PROBLEMS WITH THE PUSH START BUTTON. THREE SEPARATE TIMES IN ONE WEEK OUR CAR HAD TROUBLE STARTING. IT WOULD MAKE A SOUND OF HESITATION BEFORE STARTING FOR 3-5 SECONDS. WE HAD THE BATTERY REPLACED THIS PAST WINTER. WE TOOK THE CAR TO OUR LOCAL HONDA DEALER FOR A CHECK ON THE ELECTRICAL AND STARTING SYSTEMS. THEY COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG. WE MIGHT HAVE TO WAIT FOR THE CAR TO NOT START IN ORDER FOR HONDA TO FIND OUT WHAT IS WRONG.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL: ACCELERATOR PEDAL

4/18/2016 - LA MESA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HONDA ACCORD. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE FROM A STOP, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL BECAME STUCK AND THE VEHICLE CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO STOP THE FAILURE BY PULLING ON THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL BY HAND. THE FAILURE RECURRED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 82,000.

View Details

STEERING

4/15/2016 - COLFAX, LA
I WAS ON A ROAD TRIP. MY CAR STARTED PULLING TO THE LEFT. THEN IT BECAME EXTREMELY HARD TO TURN THE WHEEL TO THE RIGHT. I PULLED INTO A FAST FOOD PARKING LOT, AND WHEN I TURNED LOOSE OF THE WHEEL, IT SPUN TO THE LEFT. I CONTINUED TO MY DESTINATION WITH BOTH HANDS TIGHT ON THE WHEEL, SCARED TO EVEN CHANGE LANES. I HAD CALLED AHEAD FOR AN APPOINTMENT WITH A WHEEL ALIGNMENT SHOP. WHEN I GOT THERE, THEY PUT THE CAR ON A HYDRAULIC LIFT, UP SEVERAL FEET IN THE AIR, TURNED THE KEY ON, AND TURNED THE STEERING WHEEL. THE WHEEL AND THE TIRES WERE SPINNING TO THE LEFT. THEY HAD NO IDEA WHAT WAS WRONG. I CALLED THE LOCAL HONDA DEALERSHIP. I WAS TOLD THERE THAT THEY HAD NO IDEA, AND HAD TO CALL HONDA. THEY DETERMINED THE ELECTRONIC POWER STEERING WAS FAULTY, AND HAD TO REPLACE THE POWER STEERING GEAR ASSEMBLY. EVEN THOUGH THE CAR WAS OUT OF WARRANTY (I HAD 37,000 MILES ON IT), HONDA PAID FOR ALL BUT $182 OF THE COST. I WAS TOLD IT WOULD HAVE BEEN A $2,100 REPAIR.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/14/2016 - MCCALLA, AL
KEYLESS FOB HAS TWO TIMES OPENED ALL FOUR WINDOWS AND SUN ROOF WHILE IN MY PANTS POCKET A COUPLE OF INCHES. THE LAST TIME ON APRIL 11, 2016 IT RAINED TWO INCHES AND THE CAR WAS LEFT IN THE RAIN. THE FOLLOWING MORNING THE CAR WOULD NOT START . THE LIGHTS ON THE DASH WERE FLICKERING LIKE CRAZY. YOU CAN NOT TELL THE SUN ROOF IS OPEN BECAUSE THE SLIDING COVER IS CLOSED. I THINK HONDA SHOULD REMOVE THIS FEATURE THAT ALLOWS YOU TO OPEN THE SUNROOF FROM PRESSING A BUTTON FROM YOUR FOB. THIS COST ME A LOT OF MONEY AND I DIDN'T EVEN KNOW THE SUN ROOF WAS LEFT OPEN.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/12/2016 - DACULA, GA
STARTER WENT OFF. CAR WAS NOT STARTING IMMEDIATELY. IT WAS TAKING LONG TIME TO START AFTER TRIED SEVERAL TIME. MECHANIC REPLACED THE NEW STARTER COST $750.00 LABOR AND PARTS.

View Details

STEERING

4/11/2016 - WINTER HAVEN, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HONDA ACCORD. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 70 MPH, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE STEERING BOX FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 38,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

4/6/2016 - MAPLEVILLE, RI
CHECK ENGINE LIGHT KEEPS GOING ON SINCE THE CAR HIT EXACTLY 60,000 MILES. CODE SAID IT IS RELATED TO THE FUEL SYSTEM. CHANGED THE SENSOR; LIGHT WAS OFF AND NOW BACK ON. CONTINUOUSLY OCCURS WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE ON THE HIGHWAY OR CITY STREETS. ALL GAUGES ARE FINE AND CAR IS MAINTAINING GAS MILEAGE. COULD IT BE THAT THE O-RING AND FUEL TANK ARE ONLY SLIGHTLY BETTER THAN THAT ON THE ORIGINAL 2013 HONDA ACCORDS (BUILT WITH FAULTY FUEL TANKS) CAUSING THE O RING TO WEAR OUT? HOW CAN THIS BE CHECKED. ALSO JUST WANT TO NOTE THAT MY WIFE HAD A 2009 PILOT THAT KEPT NEEDED SPARK PLUGS AND HAD EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION--SHE GOT RID OF THE CAR BECAUSE SHE KEPT ARGUING THAT SOMETHING WAS WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE WITH THE HONDA DEALERSHIP--HONDA ADMITTED TO THE PROBLEM AND EXTENDED THE POWERTRAIN WARRANTY RIGHT AFTER SHE GOT RID OF THE CAR.

View Details

STEERING

4/2/2016 - NAPLES, FL
WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE ON CITY STREETS, THE POWER STEERING FAILS, MAKING IT VERY DIFFICULT TO STEER THE VEHICLE AND REQUIRES A GREAT AMOUNT OF EFFORT TO CONTROL THE STEERING. A POWER STEERING MESSAGE APPEARS ON THE DASHBOARD. AFTER STOPPING THE VEHICLE AND SHUTTING IT DOWN, THEN RESTARTING IT, SEEMS TO TENTATIVELY CORRECT IT.THIS HAS HAPPENED THREE TIMES IN THREE DAYS. I AM VERY CONCERNED WITH OUR SAFETY IN DRIVING THIS CAR!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 52
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds