Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ACCORD - 2013 HONDA ACCORD Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 370 complaints filed for the 2013 HONDA ACCORD

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HONDA ACCORD. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HONDA ACCORD, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (17) Equipment (5) Power Train (46) Steering (108) Vehicle Speed Control (29)
Electrical System (57) Equipment Adaptive (4) Seat Belts (3) Structure (13) Visibility (10)
Electronic Stability Control (11) Exterior Lighting (8) Seats (41) Suspension (4) Visibility Wiper (16)
Engine (47) Fuel Propulsion System (10) Service Brakes (23) Tires (7) Wheels (8)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Fuel System Gasoline (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (18)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 49
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

1/28/2016 - SAN LEANDRO, CA
I GOT IN MY CAR IN THE MORNING IN THE GARAGE, STEPPED ON THE BRAKE TO START THE ENGINE AND IT WOULDN'T START BUT THE CAR POWER WAS ON. I ENDED UP HAVING TO CALL AAA TO TOW THE CAR TO HONDA. AAA WAS ABLE TO JUMP THE CAR AND I DROVE IT TO SAN LEANDRO HONDA. THEY COULDN'T FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH THE CAR. I LOOKED ON LINE AND SAW YOU TUBE VIDEOS WITH OTHER PEOPLE WHO HAD HONDA'S AND THE SAME THING HAPPENED TO THEM.

View Details

SEATS

1/27/2016 - HOUSTON, TX
THE HEAD RESTRAINT CAUSES SERIOUS NECK PAIN. THE SEAT DESIGN IS IMPROPER AND DOES NOT ALLOW FOR COMFORTABLE SEATING. MY LEGS GO NUMB WHICH CAN LEAD TO INVALID RESPONSE IN BRAKING. STIFF NECK PAIN CAN CAUSE ME TO MISS BLIND SPOTS OR HAVE REACTION TIME NECCESSARY TO AVOID DANGEROUS COLLISIONS. THESE SEATS HAVE NOT BEEN CORRECTED AND SHOULD BE REPLACED IMMEDIATELY. MULTIPLE POSITIONS DO NOT HELP. DRIVING FOR EXTENDED AMOUNT OF TIME CAUSE NECK TO LEG PAIN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/19/2016 - REYNOLDSBURG, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HONDA ACCORD. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED A COMPLETE LOSS OF POWER. THE FAILURE OCCURRED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE VEHICLE NEEDED A NEW BATTERY. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 45,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/16/2016 - FORT COLLINS, CO
IN NOVEMBER 2015 AND AGAIN IN JANUARY 2016 I WAS SLOWING DOWN TO MOVE INTO A PARKING SPACE (ONCE IN A PARKING LOT AND ANOTHER ON A SIDE STREET) WHEN MY CAR HAD A SUDDEN JOLT OF POWER. FORTUNATELY, BECAUSE I WAS GOING AT A SLOWER SPEED I WAS ABLE TO IMMEDIATELY HIT THE BRAKE AND COME TO A STOP, BUT BOTH TIMES IT WAS WITHIN INCHES OF HITTING THE VEHICLE IN FRONT OF ME. THE JOLT WAS SUDDEN AND IS NOT THE SAME SURGE OF POWER ONE FEELS IF YOU STEP HEAVY ON THE GAS PEDAL.

View Details

STEERING

1/15/2016 - ALBANY, NY
WHILE DRIVING ON A CITY STREET AT 30 MPH EXPERIENCED LOSS OF POWER STEERING AND EPS WARNING LIGHT SIMULTANEOUSLY CAME ON. TURNED VEHICLE OFF AND RESTARTED AS MANUAL INSTRUCTED; WARNING LIGHT WENT OUT AND POWER STEERING APPEARED OK. LATER THE SAME DAY WHILE DRIVING ON A CITY STREET AT 30 MPH THE EPS WARNING LIGHT CAME ON AND VEHICLE WAS ONCE AGAIN VERY DIFFICULT TO STEER DUE TO LOSS OF POWER STEERING. THE NEXT DAY LIGHT WAS STILL ON AND POWER STEERING DID NOT WORK. VEHICLE HAD TO BE REPAIRED. DEALER STATED IT NEEDED A "SOFTWARE UPDATE" AND THEY FOUND A "LOOSE PIN FIT AT EPS CONTROL UNIT".

View Details

ENGINE

1/7/2016 - GAITHERSBURG, MD
MY ACCORD HESITATES WHEN PUT TO D FROM A STOP OR ACCELERATING FROM STOP, LOW RPM OR ZERO SPORADICALLY EVEN WHILE LEAVING MY DRIVEWAY. IT USUALLY HAPPENS FROM PARK TO DRIVE OR REVERSE TO DRIVE. IT HAS STALLED WHILE LEAVING A STOP SIGN OR AN INTERSECTION ON THE STREET, SHOULD BE CONSIDERED A SAFETY ISSUE BECAUSE IT COULD CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. I'VE BEEN TOLD BY THE DEALER THAT IS A HONDA ISSUE AND TO BASICALLY LIVE WITH THE PROBLEM. I'VE BEEN HAVE THIS ISSUE SINCE I BOUGHT THE CAR IN NOVEMBER 2015.

View Details

STEERING

1/4/2016 - SOUTH DENNIS, MA
THE POWER STEERING FAILED AT 62K MILES WITH NO EARLIER INDICATIONS/WARNINGS THERE WAS AN ISSUE. I COULD NOT MOVE THE STEERING WHEEL AND HAD TO HAVE IT TOWED AT MY EXPENSE TO A HONDA DEALER. FORTUNATELY, THIS OCCURRED IN MY DRIVEWAY WITHOUT MY CHILDREN IN THE VEHICLE. THE REPAIR TOOK ONE WEEK (HAD TO ORDER PARTS, HOLIDAY, STAFFING SHORTAGE) AND WAS COVERED UNDER AN EXTENDED WARRANTY THROUGH HONDA DUE TO A KNOWN ISSUE AT A COST OF APPROXIMATELY $1,500. THE PURPOSE OF THIS COMPLAINT IS FOR AWARENESS. 2013 HONDA ACCORD OWNERS SHOULD BE AWARE OF THIS POTENTIALLY DANGEROUS ISSUE.

View Details

ENGINE

12/30/2015 - FORT WAYNE, IN
ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS OVER THE LAST SIX WEEKS WHEN TURNING LEFT, THE CAR WILL STALL FOR A SECOND OR SO LOSING ALL POWER. IT THEN WILL SUDDENLY ACCELERATE. I HAVE NEARLY BEEN HIT WHEN TURNING ONTO A ROAD BY ON COMING TRAFFIC WHEN I SHOULD HAVE HAD PLENTY OF TIME TO GET OUT OF THE WAY. THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE! THE DEALER HAD THE CAR FOR THREE DAYS. THE SERVICE REP DROVE IT HOME. THE MECHANIC DROVE IT. THEY COULD NOT REPRODUCE THE PROBLEM. THE DAY I GOT THE CAR BACK IT AGAIN STALLED OR LUGGED. MOST OF THE TIME IT STALLS WHEN TURNING LEFT BUT IT HAS FAILED IN REVERSE AND WHEN LEAVING A STOP LITE. THE SERVICE MANAGER SAID HE WOULD CALL HONDA ENGINEERING TO SEE WHAT PROBLEMS THEY MIGHT BE AWARE OF. THAT WAS A WEEK AGO AND I'VE NOT HEARD BACK. THE PROBLEM DOES NOT HAPPEN IF YOU ARE OVER 20 MPH. THIS IS A 6 CYLINDER HONDA. THE PROBLEM HAPPENS WITH ECCO OFF OR ON. I PURCHASED THE CAR CERTIFIED USED 10/2015 FROM A HONDA DEALER. IT HAS 18,000 MILES. I AM AN EXPERIENCED DRIVER OF HONDA'S FOR THE LAST 25 YEARS.

View Details

STEERING

12/22/2015 - FRISCO, TX
ELECTRIC POWER STEERING STOPPED FUNCTIONING AFTER 2ND START UP OF THE DAY SEVERAL HOURS LATER. AMBER LIGHT ON DASH, NO STEERING. CANNOT MOVE STEERING WHEEL AT ALL. SHUTTING OFF AND TURNING BACK ON DOESN'T HELP RESOLVE ISSUE AS PER SOME COMPLAINTS. APPEARS TO BE RELATED TO HONDA TSB #15-055 AND 15-056.

View Details

STEERING

12/18/2015 - MISSOULA, MT
HONDA HAS NOTIFIED OF AN ELECTRONIC POWER STEERING TORQUE SENSOR DEFECT WHICH COULD CAUSE LOSS OF POWER STEERING. THEY PROVIDED A SOFTWARE UPDATE WHICH ONLY RETAINS PARTIAL STEERING CONTROL AND THAT THE VEHICLE WOULD STILL BE DISABLED, I WOULD BE STRANDED AND WOULD HAVE TO BE TOWED. I HAVE REQUESTED A REPLACEMENT OF THE ELECTRONIC POWER STEERING ASSEMBLY TO PREVENT MY HAVING AN ACCIDENT. THEY ACKNOWLEDGE THE SAFETY DEFECT BUT ARE ONLY WILLING TO REPLACE THE DEFECTIVE PARTS IF THERE IS A FAILURE. AFTER DISCUSSIONS, THEY OFFERED TO PAY HALF OF THE COST (APPROX. $500) BUT I CAN'T AFFORD $500. I WOULD LIKE ASSISTANCE IN CORRECTING THIS SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 49
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds