Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ACCORD - 2013 HONDA ACCORD Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 237 complaints filed for the 2013 HONDA ACCORD

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HONDA ACCORD. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HONDA ACCORD, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Equipment (5) Power Train (39) Steering (43) Vehicle Speed Control (24)
Electrical System (39) Equipment Adaptive (4) Seat Belts (2) Structure (8) Visibility (9)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Exterior Lighting (6) Seats (35) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (14)
Engine (33) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Service Brakes (17) Tires (5) Wheels (5)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

12/15/2014 - AMAWALK, NY
SO SCARY WHEN ALL OF A SUDDEN YOU CAN'T MOVE THE STEERING WHEEL OF YOUR CAR. I COULDN'T GET THE CAR STEERING TO MOVE, IT WAS WORSE THAN DRIVING A MAC TRUCK. I HAD A REAL HARD TIME GETTING AROUND CORNERS BUT WHAT DO YOU DO WHEN YOU HAVE THIS HAPPEN AT NIGHT WITH NO ONE AROUND BUT DRIVE IT TO A SAFE PLACE.

View Details

STEERING

12/15/2014 - LOVELAND, OH
I TURNED MY VEHICLE ON AND HAD NO POWER STEERING. THE POWER STEERING LIGHT WAS ON, INDICATING THAT THERE WAS A PROBLEM. I WAS ABLE TO DRIVE IT TO THE DEALER WHERE THEY TOLD ME THE POWER STEERING TORQUE HAD GONE BAD. TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE, I WOULD NEED TO HAVE THE POWER STEERING RACK REPLACED - OVER $2K! ALTHOUGH MY VEHICLE IS LESS THAN 2 YEARS OLD, I HAVE PASSED THE 35K MILE WARRANTY. THIS IS A PRETTY PAINFUL BILL TO BE FORCED TO PAY WITH SUCH A NEW CAR!! WHY IS THIS NOT RECALLED IF SO MANY ARE HAVING ISSUES WITH THIS?!!

View Details

WHEELS

12/10/2014 - TEMPLE HILLS, MD
DRIVING ON A BUSY S.E. STREET IN WASHINGTON DC, DRIVING ABOUT 20 TO 30 MPH., HEARD A NOISE THAT SOUNDED LIKE A TIRE BLOWING OUT OR SOME OTHER TYPE OF NOISE EMANATING FROM UNDERNEATH THE CAR. I TRIED TO PRESS THE BRAKE, BUT INSTEAD THE CAR ACCELERATED AND WOULD NOT STOP. IT SPED UP AT LEAST ANOTHER 15 TO 20 MORE MPH, AND AGAIN, WOULD NOT STOP. THERE WERE VEHICLES IN THE BACK, SO I COULD NOT USE THE EMERGENCY BRAKE OR SHUT THE CAR OFF. THERE WERE ALSO VEHICLES ON THE SIDE AND IN FRONT OF MY VEHICLE. I HAD TO MAKE A DECISION ON HOW TO SLOW THE CAR DOWN WITHOUT HITTING ANY PEDESTRIANS OR ANY OTHER VEHICLES. DECIDED TO TRY AND STOP THE CAR BY HITTING SOMETHING STATIONARY AND RAN INTO A SET OF STEPS THAT BELONGED TO AN OFFICE BUILDING. AIRBAGS DEPLOYED AND TWO PASSERSBY STOPPED TO ASSIST ME AND MY PASSENGER OUT OF THE CAR. WE WERE BOTH TRANSPORTED BY AMBULANCE TO A HOSPITAL WITH SUBSTANTIAL INJURIES TO THE CHEST, RIB, NECK AND BACK FOR MYSELF AND THE PASSENGER.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/10/2014 - TEMPLE HILLS, MD
DRIVING ON A BUSY S.E. STREET IN WASHINGTON DC, DRIVING ABOUT 20 TO 30 MPH., HEARD A NOISE THAT SOUNDED LIKE A TIRE BLOWING OUT OR SOME OTHER TYPE OF NOISE EMANATING FROM UNDERNEATH THE CAR. I TRIED TO PRESS THE BRAKE, BUT INSTEAD THE CAR ACCELERATED AND WOULD NOT STOP. IT SPED UP AT LEAST ANOTHER 15 TO 20 MORE MPH, AND AGAIN, WOULD NOT STOP. THERE WERE VEHICLES IN THE BACK, SO I COULD NOT USE THE EMERGENCY BRAKE OR SHUT THE CAR OFF. THERE WERE ALSO VEHICLES ON THE SIDE AND IN FRONT OF MY VEHICLE. I HAD TO MAKE A DECISION ON HOW TO SLOW THE CAR DOWN WITHOUT HITTING ANY PEDESTRIANS OR ANY OTHER VEHICLES. DECIDED TO TRY AND STOP THE CAR BY HITTING SOMETHING STATIONARY AND RAN INTO A SET OF STEPS THAT BELONGED TO AN OFFICE BUILDING. AIRBAGS DEPLOYED AND TWO PASSERSBY STOPPED TO ASSIST ME AND MY PASSENGER OUT OF THE CAR. WE WERE BOTH TRANSPORTED BY AMBULANCE TO A HOSPITAL WITH SUBSTANTIAL INJURIES TO THE CHEST, RIB, NECK AND BACK FOR MYSELF AND THE PASSENGER.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

12/10/2014 - TEMPLE HILLS, MD
DRIVING ON A BUSY S.E. STREET IN WASHINGTON DC, DRIVING ABOUT 20 TO 30 MPH., HEARD A NOISE THAT SOUNDED LIKE A TIRE BLOWING OUT OR SOME OTHER TYPE OF NOISE EMANATING FROM UNDERNEATH THE CAR. I TRIED TO PRESS THE BRAKE, BUT INSTEAD THE CAR ACCELERATED AND WOULD NOT STOP. IT SPED UP AT LEAST ANOTHER 15 TO 20 MORE MPH, AND AGAIN, WOULD NOT STOP. THERE WERE VEHICLES IN THE BACK, SO I COULD NOT USE THE EMERGENCY BRAKE OR SHUT THE CAR OFF. THERE WERE ALSO VEHICLES ON THE SIDE AND IN FRONT OF MY VEHICLE. I HAD TO MAKE A DECISION ON HOW TO SLOW THE CAR DOWN WITHOUT HITTING ANY PEDESTRIANS OR ANY OTHER VEHICLES. DECIDED TO TRY AND STOP THE CAR BY HITTING SOMETHING STATIONARY AND RAN INTO A SET OF STEPS THAT BELONGED TO AN OFFICE BUILDING. AIRBAGS DEPLOYED AND TWO PASSERSBY STOPPED TO ASSIST ME AND MY PASSENGER OUT OF THE CAR. WE WERE BOTH TRANSPORTED BY AMBULANCE TO A HOSPITAL WITH SUBSTANTIAL INJURIES TO THE CHEST, RIB, NECK AND BACK FOR MYSELF AND THE PASSENGER.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

12/9/2014 - HOMEWOOD, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HONDA ACCORD. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 20 MPH, THERE WAS A FUEL ODOR INSIDE THE VEHICLE. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND STATED THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V297000 (FUEL SYSTEM, GASOLINE). THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 8,500.

View Details

STEERING

12/6/2014 - COLCHESTER, VT
ON 11/22/14 I WAS DRIVING ON A SMALL RESIDENTIAL STREET GOING UNDER 15MPH APPROXIMATELY 5 FEET FROM THE TURN I WAS GOING TO BE MAKING. A RIGHT HAND TURN. I HEARD A BANG AND MY STEERING COMPLETELY LOCKED UP. I HIT THE CURB CAUSING MY RIGHT FRONT PASSENGER TIRE TO BLOW. THE STEERING WAS COMPLETELY LOCKED UP AND THE VSA LIGHT WAS ON. I FOLLOWED THE INSTRUCTIONS IN THE OWNERS MANUAL AND TURNED THE CAR OFF AND THEN ON AGAIN WHICH SHUT THE VSA LIGHT OFF AND THE TOW TRUCK DRIVER WAS ABLE TO TURN THE WHEEL SLIGHTLY BUT MADE A TERRIBLE CLUNKING NOISE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP WHERE IT WAS DETERMINED THE STEERING RACK WAS BROKEN. NOW I AM 2 WEEKS INTO THIS THE DEALERSHIP IS STRUGGLING TO GET THE CAR FIXED, HONDA HAS NOT YET RETURNED MY CALL SO NOT SURE THEY WILL WARRANTY THE CAR, I'M PAYING FOR INSURANCE ON A RENTAL AND WONDER IF MY HONDA IS EVEN A SAFE CAR TO DRIVE AT THIS POINT. WHY ISN'T ANYTHING BEING DONE? IS THIS GOING TO TAKE SOMEONE DYING BEFORE IT'S DEALT WITH?

View Details

STEERING

12/4/2014 - ROCK HILL, SC
LOW VOLUME...CLICKING/RUBBING NOISE WHEN MAKING TURNS. HONDA KNOWS OF PROBLEM.. SAID THERE IS NO FIX AND IT IS A CHARACTERISTIC OF THIS CAR. THEIR WORDS NOT MINE .... SAFETY ISSUE?

View Details

STEERING

11/29/2014 - HILTON HEAD ISLAND, SC
WE HAD JUST PULLED OFF OF A MAJOR HIGHWAY IN BLUFFTON SOUTH CAROLINA. STOPPED AT GUARD HOUSE AND PROCEEDED APPROX. 1/2 MILE TO STOP SIGN WHEN WE TRIED TO TURN LEFT WITHOUT WARNING THE (EPS) POWER STEERING STOPPED WORKING. WE DID NOT GET A WARNING LIGHT UNTIL AFTER THE STEERING STOPPED WORKING. YOU COULD NOT CONTROL THE STEERING, BUT LUCKY FOR US WE WERE TURNING INTO A PARKING AREA AND STOPPED THE CAR. WE GOT OUT THE OWNERS MANUAL AND TURNED THE CAR OFF AS SUGGESTED, WE RESTARTED THE CAR AND THE STEERING WAS STILL OUT AND THE WARNING LIGHT CAME ON. WE HAD THE CAR TOWED TO THE CLOSEST HONDA DEALER. THIS IS THE SECOND TIME WE HAD THIS HAPPEN. THE FIRST TIME WAS IN AUGUST, 2014. THE FIRST TIME THE SYSTEM DID RESET AFTER WE TURNED THE CAR OFF AND RESTARTED IT.

View Details

STEERING

11/28/2014 - HIALEAH, FL
WHILE DRIVING THE STEERING SYSTEM TURN OFF AND THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME HARD TO TURN.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds