Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ACCORD - 2013 HONDA ACCORD Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 200 complaints filed for the 2013 HONDA ACCORD

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HONDA ACCORD. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HONDA ACCORD, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Equipment (4) Power Train (34) Steering (28) Vehicle Speed Control (21)
Electrical System (33) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (7) Visibility (8)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Exterior Lighting (6) Seats (32) Suspension (1) Visibility Wiper (14)
Engine (30) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes (16) Tires (4) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/16/2014 - LANCASTER, MA
THE SEAT/HEADREST IS THE MAIN ISSUE. IT PUSHES MY HEAD TO FAR FORWARD AND MAKES IT VERY COMFORTABLE TO DRIVE. THE LONG-TERM SAFETY ISSUE IS THAT SO MANY PEOPLE ARE COMPLAINING ABOUT THE SEATS/HEADRESTS THAT MANY ARE MODIFYING/REMOVING THE HEADREST TO AVOID PAIN/DISCOMFORT WHICH WILL CREATE AN UNSAFE RESTRAINT SYSTEM.

View Details

SEATS

9/16/2014 - LANCASTER, MA
THE SEAT/HEADREST IS THE MAIN ISSUE. IT PUSHES MY HEAD TO FAR FORWARD AND MAKES IT VERY COMFORTABLE TO DRIVE. THE LONG-TERM SAFETY ISSUE IS THAT SO MANY PEOPLE ARE COMPLAINING ABOUT THE SEATS/HEADRESTS THAT MANY ARE MODIFYING/REMOVING THE HEADREST TO AVOID PAIN/DISCOMFORT WHICH WILL CREATE AN UNSAFE RESTRAINT SYSTEM.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/11/2014 - RALEIGH, NC
BEFORE MY CAR WAS A YEAR OLD, MY BRAKES STARTED SPORADIC SQUEAKING. ON THE FIRST VISIT, I WAS TOLD A MANUFACTURING PROBLEM. ON THE SECOND VISIT, I WAS TOLD THE NEXT STEP WAS CUTTING INTO ROTORS. ON THE THIRD VISIT, I WAS TOLD MY ROTORS WERE RESURFACED. THE FOLLOWING DAY, AFTER THE THIRD VISIT, MY BREAKS CONTINUED TO MAKE NOISE. I REACHED OUT TO CORPORATE, WHO ADVISED I HAD TO GO THRU OTHER CHANNELS (BACK AT THE DEALERSHIP) BEFORE I CAN FILE A COMPLAINT WITH THEM. I AM GETTING FRUSTRATED DUE TO MULTIPLE VISITS TO THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT AND MY ISSUE IS NOT GETTING FIXED. I SHOULD NOT HAVE TO DRIVE AROUND IN A BRAND NEW CAR AND MY BRAKES ARE SQUEAKING. I AM PAYING TOO MUCH MONEY FOR THIS PROBLEM; IN WHICH THE SERVICE DEPT/ DEALERSHIP IS GIVING ME THE RUNAROUND.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/4/2014 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
THE VEHICLE STEERING SIMPLY 'SHUT-DOWN', OR LOCKED-UP OUT OF NOWHERE. IT APPEARS THE POWER STEERING SYSTEM SIMPLY FAILED. I WAS ONLY ABLE TO REGAIN CONTROL OF THE STEERING BY BRINGING THE VEHICLE TO A FULL STOP IN ORDER TO TURN IT OFF AND THEN RESTART IT... AS THOUGH I WERE REBOOTING A CRASHED COMPUTER! THE ISSUE REPEATED ITSELF THREE TIMES THE NEXT DAY, ONCE WHILE DRIVING AT FULL SPEED ON A PUBLIC STREET. WE RESOLVED TO STOP DRIVING IT, BUT BY REFLEX I TOOK IT OUT THE THIRD CONSECUTIVE DAY ONLY TO HAVE THE ISSUE RECUR TWICE, THANKFULLY NONE OF THESE FAILURES OCCURRED WHILE WE WERE EXECUTING A TURN, OTHERWISE WE MAY HAVE CRASHED INTO SOMETHING OR SOMEONE, AS SOME OF THE OTHER COMPLAINTS DESCRIBE. I HAVE NOW PUT THE VEHICLE INTO STORAGE UNTIL HONDA ADDRESSES THE ISSUE DEFINITIVELY, AS OTHERS DESCRIBE DEALERSHIP DIAGNOSES ACROSS THE BOARD, WITH VIRTUALLY ALL ADMITTING THE ISSUE WAS UNRESOLVED, EVEN AFTER REPAIR OR REPLACEMENT OF THE DIAGNOSED COMPONENT(S). WHETHER I SIMPLY HAVE A LEMON, OR THIS IS A RECALL ISSUE IN THE MAKING, I DO NOT YET KNOW, BUT WHAT I DO KNOW IS THAT THIS APPEARS TO BE A VERY SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE RENDERING THE VEHICLE TOO DANGEROUS TO DRIVE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

9/4/2014 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
THE VEHICLE STEERING SIMPLY 'SHUT-DOWN', OR LOCKED-UP OUT OF NOWHERE. IT APPEARS THE POWER STEERING SYSTEM SIMPLY FAILED. I WAS ONLY ABLE TO REGAIN CONTROL OF THE STEERING BY BRINGING THE VEHICLE TO A FULL STOP IN ORDER TO TURN IT OFF AND THEN RESTART IT... AS THOUGH I WERE REBOOTING A CRASHED COMPUTER! THE ISSUE REPEATED ITSELF THREE TIMES THE NEXT DAY, ONCE WHILE DRIVING AT FULL SPEED ON A PUBLIC STREET. WE RESOLVED TO STOP DRIVING IT, BUT BY REFLEX I TOOK IT OUT THE THIRD CONSECUTIVE DAY ONLY TO HAVE THE ISSUE RECUR TWICE, THANKFULLY NONE OF THESE FAILURES OCCURRED WHILE WE WERE EXECUTING A TURN, OTHERWISE WE MAY HAVE CRASHED INTO SOMETHING OR SOMEONE, AS SOME OF THE OTHER COMPLAINTS DESCRIBE. I HAVE NOW PUT THE VEHICLE INTO STORAGE UNTIL HONDA ADDRESSES THE ISSUE DEFINITIVELY, AS OTHERS DESCRIBE DEALERSHIP DIAGNOSES ACROSS THE BOARD, WITH VIRTUALLY ALL ADMITTING THE ISSUE WAS UNRESOLVED, EVEN AFTER REPAIR OR REPLACEMENT OF THE DIAGNOSED COMPONENT(S). WHETHER I SIMPLY HAVE A LEMON, OR THIS IS A RECALL ISSUE IN THE MAKING, I DO NOT YET KNOW, BUT WHAT I DO KNOW IS THAT THIS APPEARS TO BE A VERY SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE RENDERING THE VEHICLE TOO DANGEROUS TO DRIVE.

View Details

STEERING

9/4/2014 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
THE VEHICLE STEERING SIMPLY 'SHUT-DOWN', OR LOCKED-UP OUT OF NOWHERE. IT APPEARS THE POWER STEERING SYSTEM SIMPLY FAILED. I WAS ONLY ABLE TO REGAIN CONTROL OF THE STEERING BY BRINGING THE VEHICLE TO A FULL STOP IN ORDER TO TURN IT OFF AND THEN RESTART IT... AS THOUGH I WERE REBOOTING A CRASHED COMPUTER! THE ISSUE REPEATED ITSELF THREE TIMES THE NEXT DAY, ONCE WHILE DRIVING AT FULL SPEED ON A PUBLIC STREET. WE RESOLVED TO STOP DRIVING IT, BUT BY REFLEX I TOOK IT OUT THE THIRD CONSECUTIVE DAY ONLY TO HAVE THE ISSUE RECUR TWICE, THANKFULLY NONE OF THESE FAILURES OCCURRED WHILE WE WERE EXECUTING A TURN, OTHERWISE WE MAY HAVE CRASHED INTO SOMETHING OR SOMEONE, AS SOME OF THE OTHER COMPLAINTS DESCRIBE. I HAVE NOW PUT THE VEHICLE INTO STORAGE UNTIL HONDA ADDRESSES THE ISSUE DEFINITIVELY, AS OTHERS DESCRIBE DEALERSHIP DIAGNOSES ACROSS THE BOARD, WITH VIRTUALLY ALL ADMITTING THE ISSUE WAS UNRESOLVED, EVEN AFTER REPAIR OR REPLACEMENT OF THE DIAGNOSED COMPONENT(S). WHETHER I SIMPLY HAVE A LEMON, OR THIS IS A RECALL ISSUE IN THE MAKING, I DO NOT YET KNOW, BUT WHAT I DO KNOW IS THAT THIS APPEARS TO BE A VERY SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE RENDERING THE VEHICLE TOO DANGEROUS TO DRIVE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/1/2014 - GLENDALE, CA
IT'S BEEN OVER 2 MOTHS AND 5 VISIT TO DEALER STILL GOT SAME PROBLEM CAR IS HONDA ACCORD 2013 AND IT'S SMART START CAR WON'T START SOMETIMES IT TAKES 20 MIN 40-50 TRY TO START THE CAR LOST OF SAME YEAR HONDA OWNERS ARE HAVING SAME EXACT PROBLEM YOU CAN SEE IT IN GOOGLE SEARCH OR YOUTUBE DEALER ALWAYS TOLD US THE CAR GOT NO PROBLEM BUT WERE HAVING SAME PROBLEM 2-3 TIMES A DAY WE GET STUCK EVERY WHERE WE GO SINCE CAR DOES NOT START

View Details

STEERING

8/30/2014 - GREENWELL SPRINGS, LA
WHILE DRIVING ON HIGHWAY AT 50 MPH, THE POWER STEERING FAILED AND THE STEERING LIGHT CAME ON. LUCKILY, I WAS ABLE TO SLOW THE CAR DOWN AND GET OFF OF THE HIGHWAY. I PULLED INTO A NEIGHBORHOOD AND PUT THE CAR IN PARK. AFTER SEVERAL MINUTES, I PUT THE CAR BACK IN GEAR AND THE POWER STEERING WAS STILL OUT, BUT I WAS ABLE TO MAKE IT HOME. THE NEXT DAY, I STARTED THE CAR AND THE POWER STEERING WAS WORKING. THE STEER WHEEL HAS JERKED TO THE LEFT/RIGHT ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS, BUT THIS WAS THE FIRST TIME THAT THE POWER STEERING WHEN COMPLETELY OUT. I'VE BROUGHT THE CAR TO THE DEALER AND AM WAITING FOR AN EXPLANATION.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/29/2014 - SNOQUALMIE, WA
WHEN THE CAR IS COLD, OCCASIONALLY THE 2013 ACCORD CVT HAS A LOT OF DIFFICULTY MOVING IN DRIVE OR REVERSE. WHEN THE VEHICLE IS ACTING UP, I HAVE TO PUSH THE THROTTLE OVER HALF WAY DOWN TO BACK THE CAR OUT OF THE DRIVEWAY. DEPENDING ON HOW COLD AND HOW LONG THE CAR HAS BEEN SITTING, THIS MAY CONTINUE AS I DRIVE DOWN THE ROAD. I CAN PUSH THE THROTTLE HALF WAY OR ALMOST ALL THE WAY DOWN AND THE VEHICLE BARELY MOVES. SOMETIMES IF I ROCK IT BETWEEN DRIVE AND REVERSE IT WILL OPERATE NORMALLY. THE PROBLEM RESOLVES AFTER A FEW MINUTES, BUT THE CAR IS VERY UNPREDICTABLE TO DRIVE AS IT REQUIRES SO MUCH THROTTLE TO MOVE AT A SLOW SPEED.

View Details

STEERING

8/24/2014 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
2013 HONDA ACCORD (20K MILES) ISSUE: DEFECTIVE RACK-N-PINION I ATTEMPTED TO PUT MY ACCORD IN REVERSE AND REALIZED THAT I WASN'T ABLE TO STEER OUT OF THE DRIVEWAY. IT APPEARED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED UP OR SOMETHING WAS HOLDING ME FROM BACKING UP. I ALSO NOTICED AN ORANGE STEERING WHEEL INDICATOR ON MY DASH. (PLEASE KEEP IN MIND THAT MY VEHICLE IS IN GREAT CONDITION. I'VE HAVE IT FOR OVER A YEAR AND I HAVE NEVER HAD THIS HAPPEN). I ATTEMPTED TO START MY CAR A SECOND TIME. THIS TIME IT TURNED ON JUST AS BEFORE AND THE ORANGE INDICATOR LIGHT TURNED OFF. I FELT IT MAY HAVE JUST BEEN A FLUKE AND I BEGAN DRIVING DOWN THE STREET. HOWEVER, NOT EVEN HALF-A-MILE DOWN FROM MY PARENTSÆ HOUSE MY ACCORD STEERING WHEEL LOCKED UP AGAIN! THIS TIME IT HAPPENED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD WHILE I WAS DRIVING AND WHILE OTHER VEHICLES WERE DRIVING ON THE OPPOSITE SIDE OF THE ROAD. I COULD NOT MANEUVER MY VEHICLE OFF THE ROAD. I JUST BARELY MANAGED TO ANGLE THE FRONT PART OF MY VEHICLE TO THE EDGE OF A CURB WHILE THE SECOND HALF OF THE CAR WAS STILL IN THE STREET. DEALERSHIP INFORMED ME THAT IT WAS A DEFECTIVE ELECTRIC RACK-N-PINION WHICH CAUSED MY STEERING WHEEL TO LOCK UP. I ASKED HIM IF THIS WAS A RECALL, OR VEHICLE MALFUNCTION AND HE COULDN'T COMPLETELY 100% PROVIDE ME WITH AN EXPLANATION. HE DID INFORM ME THAT ITÆS GOING TO BE A $1,200 PART TO BE SERVICED AND THAT I WILL PROBABLY BE WITHOUT MY OWN ACCORD FOR ABOUT A WEEK. I STRONGLY FEEL THAT THE HONDA CORP SHOULD BE AWARE OF THIS ISSUE, SO I CONTACTED HONDA VIA TWITTER. I FELT COMPLETELY BRUSHED OFF AND THE REP, HE SAID WELL SORRY TO HEAR THAT SIR BUT THEY ARE REPAIRING THE ISSUE SIR. THIS WAS MY SECOND AND LAST HONDA THAT I WOULD PURCHASE. I KNOW I'M NOT THE ONLY ONE WITH THIS ISSUE. HONDA SHOULD DEFINITELY LOOK INTO IT. THE REP TOLD ME THAT THEY HAVEN'T HAD THIS ISSUE PREVIOUSLY-DOUBT IT!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds