Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ACCORD - 2013 HONDA ACCORD Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 204 complaints filed for the 2013 HONDA ACCORD

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HONDA ACCORD. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HONDA ACCORD, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Equipment (4) Power Train (35) Steering (30) Vehicle Speed Control (21)
Electrical System (34) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (7) Visibility (8)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Exterior Lighting (6) Seats (32) Suspension (1) Visibility Wiper (14)
Engine (31) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes (16) Tires (4) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

9/29/2014 - GREENVILLE, SC
WHILE DRIVING DOWN FARRIS RD AT ~40 MPH THE EPS LIGHT CAME ON AND THE POWER STEERING FAILED. THIS HAPPENED ON THE WAY BACK FROM MY PREGNANT WIFE'S DOCTOR APPOINTMENT. WE PULLED OVER TO THE NEAREST EMPTY PARKING LOT AND READ THE MANUAL. WE HADN'T BEEN DOING ANY OF THE THINGS THE MANUAL SAID WOULD CAUSE THIS. OVER THE NEXT 10 MILES THIS HAPPENED 3 MORE TIMES. ONCE WHILE SITTING STILL IN A DRIVE THROUGH LINE. WE CALLED OUR HONDA DEALERSHIP AND THE OFFERED TO LET US SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT AND RECEIVE A SHUTTLERIDE HOME. MY WIFE GOT US SLIGHTLY BETTER SERVICE WITH A FACEBOOK POST AND THEY OFFERED TO LOOK AT OUR CAR THAT DAY AND COMPED US A RENTAL CAR UNDER WARRANTY. SEVERAL HOURS LATER WE RECEIVED A CALL THAT AFTER SPEAKING WITH THEIR TECH SUPPORT THEY WILL NEED TO REPLACE THE RACK.

View Details

STEERING

9/27/2014 - WESTON, FL
WHILE DRIVING HOME ON THE HIGHWAY POWER STEERING SUDDENLY FROZE,AND LIGHT CAME ON . WAS ABLE WITH GREAT FORCE, TO MAKE IT HOME. VERY FRIGHTENING EXPERIENCE! THIS HAS HAPPENED SEVERAL MORE TIMES AT SLOWER SPEEDS . THE DEALER WAS NOT ABLE TO FIND A PROBLEM. LUCKILY NO ACCIDENT BUT I FEEL UNSAFE DRIVING WITH THIS INTERMITTENT YET SCARY SITUATION.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/27/2014 - FLOWER MOUND, TX
HONDA'S REPLY TO MY COMPLAINT BELOW / $250 GIFT CARD WAS AN ABSOLUTE "SLAP IN THE FACE" TO ME AS A SO CALLED "APPRECIATION FOR MY HONDA LOYALTY" AND NOT RECOGNIZING THIS ENGINEERING DEFECT! I'M NOW EVEN MORE DISGUSTED WITH HONDA AND I PLAN TO DO EVERYTHING IN MY POWER TO WARN OTHERS. I'VE RECENTLY READ WHERE A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT WAS RECENTLY SETTLED FOR A SIMILAR PROBLEM W/HONDA CIVICS, ODYSSEUS & AN ACURA MODEL. HONDA RECOGNIZED / ADMITTED TO THIS SIMILAR DESIGN FLAW ONLY AFTER THEY WERE FORCED TO DO SO. ABSOLUTELY SHAMEFUL!!! EXERTS FROM MY 8/25 LETTER TO HONDA BELOW; DEAR SIRS, I WANTED TO MAKE YOU AWARE OF AN OCCURRENCE I JUST EXPERIENCED WITH MY 2013 HONDA ACCORD I JUST PURCHASED (6/10/2014). MY AIR CONDITIONER STOPPED COOLING ON FRI, 8/22/2014 AFTER LEAVING WORK. AFTER I RETURNED HOME FROM A SWELTERING 45 MILE COMMUTE, I IMMEDIATELY NOTIFIED THE LOCAL DEALERSHIP AND SCHEDULED AN APPOINTMENT ON SAT, 8/23. AS MY 2013 CERTIFIED HONDA ACCORD WAS STILL UNDER WARRANTY (I PURCHASED 74 DAYS EARLY), I WAS SURE THE PROBLEM WOULD BE COVERED @NO COST TO ME. I HAD EVEN PURCHASED HONDA'++S EXTENDED WARRANTY ON 6/10 EVEN THOUGH IVE NEVER EXPERIENCED REPAIR PROBLEMS WITH MY PURCHASES IN THE PAST. I WAS TOLD ++ROAD DEBRIS¥ HAD DAMAGED THE CONDENSER DUE TO ITS LACK OF PROTECTION, ALL OF THE FREON LEAKED OUT, THE CONDENSER WOULD HAVE TO BE REPLACED AND IT WOULD NOT BE COVERED UNDER WARRANTY. THE CONDENSER COST WAS $168.00 WHILE WITH INSTALLATION COST WAS $400.99! AFTER ALL OF MY RESEARCH ONLINE IT APPEARS THIS IS A ++WIDE-SPREAD DESIGN PROBLEM AND HONDA IS ACTUALLY MAKING MONEY OFF OF THE DEFECT BY CHARGING OUTRAGEOUS SERVICE FEES TO FIX THE PROBLEM. IT DISGUSTS ME TO THINK THIS COULD HAPPEN AGAIN AND AGAIN!

View Details

ENGINE

9/21/2014 - WEST MELBOURNE, FL
UPON ACCELERATION FROM A STOP OR A SPEED UNDER 15 MPH, THE CAR OCCASIONALLY HESITATES FOR 2-4 SECONDS. NEARLY HAVE GOTTEN T-BONED SEVERAL TIMES WHEN MAKING A LEFT TURN WELL IN FRONT OF APPROACHING TRAFFIC. HAVE BEEN TO DEALER THREE TIMES. THEY INSTALLED A HARDWARE/SOFTWARE TO THE CVT TO NO AVAIL, BUT HAVE BEEN UNABLE TO DUPLICATE, AS IT TYPICALLY HAPPENS ABOUT ONCE A WEEK. THIS IS DEFINITELY A SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/21/2014 - WEST MELBOURNE, FL
UPON ACCELERATION FROM A STOP OR A SPEED UNDER 15 MPH, THE CAR OCCASIONALLY HESITATES FOR 2-4 SECONDS. NEARLY HAVE GOTTEN T-BONED SEVERAL TIMES WHEN MAKING A LEFT TURN WELL IN FRONT OF APPROACHING TRAFFIC. HAVE BEEN TO DEALER THREE TIMES. THEY INSTALLED A HARDWARE/SOFTWARE TO THE CVT TO NO AVAIL, BUT HAVE BEEN UNABLE TO DUPLICATE, AS IT TYPICALLY HAPPENS ABOUT ONCE A WEEK. THIS IS DEFINITELY A SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

SEATS

9/16/2014 - LANCASTER, MA
THE SEAT/HEADREST IS THE MAIN ISSUE. IT PUSHES MY HEAD TO FAR FORWARD AND MAKES IT VERY COMFORTABLE TO DRIVE. THE LONG-TERM SAFETY ISSUE IS THAT SO MANY PEOPLE ARE COMPLAINING ABOUT THE SEATS/HEADRESTS THAT MANY ARE MODIFYING/REMOVING THE HEADREST TO AVOID PAIN/DISCOMFORT WHICH WILL CREATE AN UNSAFE RESTRAINT SYSTEM.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/16/2014 - LANCASTER, MA
THE SEAT/HEADREST IS THE MAIN ISSUE. IT PUSHES MY HEAD TO FAR FORWARD AND MAKES IT VERY COMFORTABLE TO DRIVE. THE LONG-TERM SAFETY ISSUE IS THAT SO MANY PEOPLE ARE COMPLAINING ABOUT THE SEATS/HEADRESTS THAT MANY ARE MODIFYING/REMOVING THE HEADREST TO AVOID PAIN/DISCOMFORT WHICH WILL CREATE AN UNSAFE RESTRAINT SYSTEM.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/11/2014 - RALEIGH, NC
BEFORE MY CAR WAS A YEAR OLD, MY BRAKES STARTED SPORADIC SQUEAKING. ON THE FIRST VISIT, I WAS TOLD A MANUFACTURING PROBLEM. ON THE SECOND VISIT, I WAS TOLD THE NEXT STEP WAS CUTTING INTO ROTORS. ON THE THIRD VISIT, I WAS TOLD MY ROTORS WERE RESURFACED. THE FOLLOWING DAY, AFTER THE THIRD VISIT, MY BREAKS CONTINUED TO MAKE NOISE. I REACHED OUT TO CORPORATE, WHO ADVISED I HAD TO GO THRU OTHER CHANNELS (BACK AT THE DEALERSHIP) BEFORE I CAN FILE A COMPLAINT WITH THEM. I AM GETTING FRUSTRATED DUE TO MULTIPLE VISITS TO THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT AND MY ISSUE IS NOT GETTING FIXED. I SHOULD NOT HAVE TO DRIVE AROUND IN A BRAND NEW CAR AND MY BRAKES ARE SQUEAKING. I AM PAYING TOO MUCH MONEY FOR THIS PROBLEM; IN WHICH THE SERVICE DEPT/ DEALERSHIP IS GIVING ME THE RUNAROUND.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

9/4/2014 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
THE VEHICLE STEERING SIMPLY 'SHUT-DOWN', OR LOCKED-UP OUT OF NOWHERE. IT APPEARS THE POWER STEERING SYSTEM SIMPLY FAILED. I WAS ONLY ABLE TO REGAIN CONTROL OF THE STEERING BY BRINGING THE VEHICLE TO A FULL STOP IN ORDER TO TURN IT OFF AND THEN RESTART IT... AS THOUGH I WERE REBOOTING A CRASHED COMPUTER! THE ISSUE REPEATED ITSELF THREE TIMES THE NEXT DAY, ONCE WHILE DRIVING AT FULL SPEED ON A PUBLIC STREET. WE RESOLVED TO STOP DRIVING IT, BUT BY REFLEX I TOOK IT OUT THE THIRD CONSECUTIVE DAY ONLY TO HAVE THE ISSUE RECUR TWICE, THANKFULLY NONE OF THESE FAILURES OCCURRED WHILE WE WERE EXECUTING A TURN, OTHERWISE WE MAY HAVE CRASHED INTO SOMETHING OR SOMEONE, AS SOME OF THE OTHER COMPLAINTS DESCRIBE. I HAVE NOW PUT THE VEHICLE INTO STORAGE UNTIL HONDA ADDRESSES THE ISSUE DEFINITIVELY, AS OTHERS DESCRIBE DEALERSHIP DIAGNOSES ACROSS THE BOARD, WITH VIRTUALLY ALL ADMITTING THE ISSUE WAS UNRESOLVED, EVEN AFTER REPAIR OR REPLACEMENT OF THE DIAGNOSED COMPONENT(S). WHETHER I SIMPLY HAVE A LEMON, OR THIS IS A RECALL ISSUE IN THE MAKING, I DO NOT YET KNOW, BUT WHAT I DO KNOW IS THAT THIS APPEARS TO BE A VERY SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE RENDERING THE VEHICLE TOO DANGEROUS TO DRIVE.

View Details

STEERING

9/4/2014 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
THE VEHICLE STEERING SIMPLY 'SHUT-DOWN', OR LOCKED-UP OUT OF NOWHERE. IT APPEARS THE POWER STEERING SYSTEM SIMPLY FAILED. I WAS ONLY ABLE TO REGAIN CONTROL OF THE STEERING BY BRINGING THE VEHICLE TO A FULL STOP IN ORDER TO TURN IT OFF AND THEN RESTART IT... AS THOUGH I WERE REBOOTING A CRASHED COMPUTER! THE ISSUE REPEATED ITSELF THREE TIMES THE NEXT DAY, ONCE WHILE DRIVING AT FULL SPEED ON A PUBLIC STREET. WE RESOLVED TO STOP DRIVING IT, BUT BY REFLEX I TOOK IT OUT THE THIRD CONSECUTIVE DAY ONLY TO HAVE THE ISSUE RECUR TWICE, THANKFULLY NONE OF THESE FAILURES OCCURRED WHILE WE WERE EXECUTING A TURN, OTHERWISE WE MAY HAVE CRASHED INTO SOMETHING OR SOMEONE, AS SOME OF THE OTHER COMPLAINTS DESCRIBE. I HAVE NOW PUT THE VEHICLE INTO STORAGE UNTIL HONDA ADDRESSES THE ISSUE DEFINITIVELY, AS OTHERS DESCRIBE DEALERSHIP DIAGNOSES ACROSS THE BOARD, WITH VIRTUALLY ALL ADMITTING THE ISSUE WAS UNRESOLVED, EVEN AFTER REPAIR OR REPLACEMENT OF THE DIAGNOSED COMPONENT(S). WHETHER I SIMPLY HAVE A LEMON, OR THIS IS A RECALL ISSUE IN THE MAKING, I DO NOT YET KNOW, BUT WHAT I DO KNOW IS THAT THIS APPEARS TO BE A VERY SERIOUS SAFETY ISSUE RENDERING THE VEHICLE TOO DANGEROUS TO DRIVE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds