Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ACCORD - 2013 HONDA ACCORD Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 181 complaints filed for the 2013 HONDA ACCORD

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HONDA ACCORD. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HONDA ACCORD, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Equipment (4) Power Train (28) Steering (22) Vehicle Speed Control (19)
Electrical System (30) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (6) Visibility (8)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Exterior Lighting (6) Seats (31) Suspension (1) Visibility Wiper (14)
Engine (30) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes (15) Tires (4) Wheels (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/16/2014 - PEWAUKEE, WI
WHILE DRIVING TO CHICAGO (2 HOURS AWAY) WITH MY WIFE AND 11 YEAR OLD MY MAINTENANCE MINDER LIGHT CAME ON TO TELL ME IT WAS TIME TO GET AN OIL CHANGE. SINCE IT WAS A SUNDAY I COULDN'T TAKE IT IN. I COULDN'T MAKE AN APPOINTMENT UNTIL 7/16 TO GET IN FOR AN OIL CHANGE. ON 7/16 I SAT IN MY CAR TO GO HOME, BUT MY DASH LIGHTS WERE ALL LIT UP. BRAKES, ELECTRIC STEERING, ABS, CHECK ENGINE, MY SPEEDOMETER WASN'T WORKING AND MANY MORE LIGHTS REMAINED ON. I CALLED THE DEALER AND THEY TOLD ME IT WAS SAFE TO DRIVE IT OVER TO THEM ALTHOUGH I HEARD A GRINDING SOUND, MY BRAKES WERE SOFT AND MY STEERING WHEEL WAS VERY STIFF. I WENT VERY SLOW SINCE MY SPEEDOMETER OR MILEAGE WASN'T WORKING AT ALL. THE NEXT MORNING MY DEALER CALLED AND CLAIMED THAT A RODENT WAS THE CULPRIT WHO CHEWED ON SOME MAIN WIRING HARNESS OF THE ENTIRE CAR. I FIND THIS HARD TO BELIEVE BECAUSE WHY DIDN'T IT HAPPEN AFTER THE OIL LIGHT CAME 2 DAYS BEFORE? WHY DIDN'T MY WIFE'S SUV GET AFFECTED BY THIS? THIS IS A HUGE QUALITY CONTROL ISSUE THAT HONDA NEEDS TO FIX. WHAT WOULD HAVE HAPPENED IF ALL OF THESE LIGHTS CAME ON WHILE I WAS DRIVING MY FAMILY ON THE HIGHWAY?

View Details

ENGINE

7/16/2014 - PEWAUKEE, WI
WHILE DRIVING TO CHICAGO (2 HOURS AWAY) WITH MY WIFE AND 11 YEAR OLD MY MAINTENANCE MINDER LIGHT CAME ON TO TELL ME IT WAS TIME TO GET AN OIL CHANGE. SINCE IT WAS A SUNDAY I COULDN'T TAKE IT IN. I COULDN'T MAKE AN APPOINTMENT UNTIL 7/16 TO GET IN FOR AN OIL CHANGE. ON 7/16 I SAT IN MY CAR TO GO HOME, BUT MY DASH LIGHTS WERE ALL LIT UP. BRAKES, ELECTRIC STEERING, ABS, CHECK ENGINE, MY SPEEDOMETER WASN'T WORKING AND MANY MORE LIGHTS REMAINED ON. I CALLED THE DEALER AND THEY TOLD ME IT WAS SAFE TO DRIVE IT OVER TO THEM ALTHOUGH I HEARD A GRINDING SOUND, MY BRAKES WERE SOFT AND MY STEERING WHEEL WAS VERY STIFF. I WENT VERY SLOW SINCE MY SPEEDOMETER OR MILEAGE WASN'T WORKING AT ALL. THE NEXT MORNING MY DEALER CALLED AND CLAIMED THAT A RODENT WAS THE CULPRIT WHO CHEWED ON SOME MAIN WIRING HARNESS OF THE ENTIRE CAR. I FIND THIS HARD TO BELIEVE BECAUSE WHY DIDN'T IT HAPPEN AFTER THE OIL LIGHT CAME 2 DAYS BEFORE? WHY DIDN'T MY WIFE'S SUV GET AFFECTED BY THIS? THIS IS A HUGE QUALITY CONTROL ISSUE THAT HONDA NEEDS TO FIX. WHAT WOULD HAVE HAPPENED IF ALL OF THESE LIGHTS CAME ON WHILE I WAS DRIVING MY FAMILY ON THE HIGHWAY?

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/16/2014 - PEWAUKEE, WI
WHILE DRIVING TO CHICAGO (2 HOURS AWAY) WITH MY WIFE AND 11 YEAR OLD MY MAINTENANCE MINDER LIGHT CAME ON TO TELL ME IT WAS TIME TO GET AN OIL CHANGE. SINCE IT WAS A SUNDAY I COULDN'T TAKE IT IN. I COULDN'T MAKE AN APPOINTMENT UNTIL 7/16 TO GET IN FOR AN OIL CHANGE. ON 7/16 I SAT IN MY CAR TO GO HOME, BUT MY DASH LIGHTS WERE ALL LIT UP. BRAKES, ELECTRIC STEERING, ABS, CHECK ENGINE, MY SPEEDOMETER WASN'T WORKING AND MANY MORE LIGHTS REMAINED ON. I CALLED THE DEALER AND THEY TOLD ME IT WAS SAFE TO DRIVE IT OVER TO THEM ALTHOUGH I HEARD A GRINDING SOUND, MY BRAKES WERE SOFT AND MY STEERING WHEEL WAS VERY STIFF. I WENT VERY SLOW SINCE MY SPEEDOMETER OR MILEAGE WASN'T WORKING AT ALL. THE NEXT MORNING MY DEALER CALLED AND CLAIMED THAT A RODENT WAS THE CULPRIT WHO CHEWED ON SOME MAIN WIRING HARNESS OF THE ENTIRE CAR. I FIND THIS HARD TO BELIEVE BECAUSE WHY DIDN'T IT HAPPEN AFTER THE OIL LIGHT CAME 2 DAYS BEFORE? WHY DIDN'T MY WIFE'S SUV GET AFFECTED BY THIS? THIS IS A HUGE QUALITY CONTROL ISSUE THAT HONDA NEEDS TO FIX. WHAT WOULD HAVE HAPPENED IF ALL OF THESE LIGHTS CAME ON WHILE I WAS DRIVING MY FAMILY ON THE HIGHWAY?

View Details

SEATS

7/14/2014 - ORLANDO, FL
THESE COMMENTS PERTAIN TO MY FRUITLESS SEARCH FOR A CAR WITHOUT HEAD RESTRAINTS THAT FORCE MY HEAD DOWN TO AN UNCOMFORTABLE, PAINFUL POSITION. AT 5 FT 10 IN I AM JUST 1/2 INCH OVER THE AVERAGE MALE HEIGHT IN THE U.S. THIS SITUATION, AFFECTING MANY MAKES, MODELS AND YEARS, IS CAUSING PEOPLE TO DEVELOP BACK PROBLEMS, AND IN SOME CASES REMOVE OR DISABLE SAFETY EQUIPMENT. INTERNET SEARCHES SHOW HUNDREDS OF THESE COMPLAINTS, AND EXAMPLES OF HOW TO REMEDY THE PROBLEM BY EITHER REMOVING OR TURNING AROUND HEAD RESTRAINTS. EVEN A DEALER SUGGESTED I DID THE LATTER, WHICH I WILL NOT DO. SINCE MANUFACTURERS ARE IGNORING THE ISSUE EXCEPT FOR TOP-OF-THE-LINE MODELS, THE NHTSA SHOULD INTERVENE TO FORCE A SOLUTION TO HELP CUSTOMERS RETAIN SAFETY FEATURES WHILE NOT INCURRING BACK INJURIES. THIS IS PART OF THE NARRATIVE I POSTED ON ONE OF MANY ON-LINE FORUMS ON THE SUBJECT: INTERESTED IN BUYING A 2013 HONDA ACCORD EX-L BUT I CAN'T STAND THE HEAD RESTRAINTS. I CAN'T DRIVE WITH MY HEAD LOOKING DOWN. I TESTED IT FOR 45 MINUTES AND ENDED UP WITH A BACK/NECK ACHE. I TRIED A 2012 ACCORD AND FOUND THE SAME PROBLEM. MY 2008 PILOT DOES NOT HAVE THE PROBLEM, AS A MATTER OF FACT, I TRIED A NEW PILOT AND IT WAS COMFORTABLE. CLEARLY, IT MEETS SAFETY STANDARDS WITHOUT COMPROMISING DRIVER COMFORT. I FOUND HUNDREDS OF COMPLAINTS ON-LINE ABOUT THE SAME ISSUE DATING BACK TO 2009. HERE'S ONE OF THOSE WEB SITES: HTTP://WWW.CARCOMPLAINTS.COM/HONDA/ACCORD/2013/ I CALLED HONDA CUSTOMER SERVICE AND THEY WERE NO HELP AT ALL. THREE TIMES THE LADY I SPOKE WITH REPEATED THE LITANY OF "SINCE 2009 ALL HONDA CARS....ETC" REFERRING TO NEW FEDERAL SAFETY REGULATIONS. NEVER MIND THAT THE PILOT DOES NOT SACRIFICE COMFORT FOR SAFETY. HOW CAN HONDA IGNORE SUCH A PROBLEM THAT MUST BE TURNING AWAY ACCORD BUYERS? HOW CAN HONDA IGNORE IT WHEN THEY HAVE THE SOLUTION IN ANOTHER ONE OF ITS MODELS (THE PILOT)?

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/14/2014 - BYRON, GA
WHEN ATTEMPTING TO GO INTO REVERSE AFTER THE CAR HAS SAT IN THE GARAGE OVERNIGHT IT DOES NOT WANT TO MOVE. THE RPM'S GO UP BUT NO MOVEMENT. HAVE TO PUT THE CAR IN PARK, TURN IT OFF AND RESTART THE PROCESS OVER AGAIN. WHEN IT DOES ENGAGE, IT WILL BEGIN MOVING VERY SLOWLY ALMOST LIKE THE TRANSMISSION IS SLIPPING. ONCE IT GETS FAR ENOUGH OUT OF THE GARAGE AND AM ABLE TO PUT IN DRIVE IT APPEARS TO WORK NORMAL FOR THE REST OF THE DAY. THIS HAS HAPPENED A NUMBER OF TIMES AFTER THE CAR HAS SAT OVERNIGHT.

View Details

STEERING

7/7/2014 - BOWIE, MD
MY POWER STEERING WENT OUT AND I HIT THE RIGHT SIDE OF MY CAR IN A PARKING GARAGE. THE POWER STEERING LIGHT CAME ON. MY HUSBAND BROUGHT THE CAR INTO THE SERVICE CENTER AT HONDA OF BOWIE. THE SERVICE FOLKS SAID IT WAS FIXED AFTER DOING A COMPUTER UPDATE. I BROUGHT IT BACK BECAUSE THE PROBLEM KEPT REOCCURRING. MY HUSBAND BROUGHT IT BACK IN AGAIN ON JULY 2, 2014 BECAUSE THE PROBLEM REOCCURRED SEVERAL TIMES SINCE THE LAST "FIX." THE SERVICE PERSONNEL DID ANOTHER COMPUTER RESET AND MY CAR HAS HAD THE SAME POWER STEERING PROBLEMS SINCE THEN. TODAY (MONDAY, JULY 7, 2014), THE POWER STEERING FAILED AGAIN AND STEERED THE CAR INTO ONCOMING TRAFFIC RESULTING IN ANOTHER NEAR MISS. I HAVE CALLED HONDA OF BOWIE TO GET A LOANER VEHICLE BUT THEY ARE OUT OF LOANER VEHICLES SO I NEED TO CONTINUE TO DRIVE THE CAR TO AND FROM WORK.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/26/2014 - EWA BEACH, HI
FALSE LOW TIRE PRESSURE INDICATION. HONDA ACCORD OWNED FOR 12 MONTHS, LESS THAN 12,000 MILES, I HAVE RECEIVED A LOW TIRE PRESSURE INDICATION FOR THE FOURTH TIME. THE PREVIOUS THREE TIMES, BEFORE TAKING MY ACCORD TO THE DEALERSHIP, I CHECKED THE TIRE PRESSURE. ALL FOUR TIRE PRESSURES ARE WITHIN RECOMMENDED SETTINGS. AFTER RECEIVING MY VEHICLE AFTER SERVICE, THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT REPORTS ALL FOUR TIRE PRESSURES ARE LOW. THE LAST TIME THE SERVICE MANAGER INDICATES THE TIRES NEED TO BE RE-INFLATED EVERY 2 - 3 THOUSAND MILES. CONTINUED FALSE INDICATIONS IS AS MUCH AS A SAFETY ISSUE AS THE INDICATOR NOT WORKING AT ALL.

View Details

STEERING

6/25/2014 - BROOKLYN, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HONDA ACCORD. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME DIFFICULT TO TURN AS THE POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER. THE TECHNCIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE RACK AND PINION FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 6,700.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/18/2014 - UPPER MARLBORO, MD
INITIALLY CAR DROVE FINE AND I DIDNÆT HAVE PROBLEMS. OVER THE LAST THREE MONTHS I STARTED EXPERIENCING HESITATION IN THE ACCELERATION. SOMETIMES WHILE TRYING TO ACCELERATE FROM A STANDSTILL POSITION I HAVE TO DEPRESS THE ACCELERATOR ALL THE WAY DOWN TO BOARD FOR SEVERAL SECONDS BEFORE THE CAR WOULD MOVE. THE HESITATION MAY LAST APPROX 5 TO 8 SECONDS & THEN JERKINGLY THE CAR WOULD GET INTO PROPER GEAR TO MOVE FORWARD. THE DEALERSHIP CHANGED A KIT ON IT A LEAST TWICE WHICH INITIALLY SEEMED TO HAVE CORRECTED THE PROBLEM BUT AFTER ABOUT A WEEK OR TWO THE SAME PROBLEM KEEPS RECURRING. ON JUNE 14TH, JUST BEFORE MERGING ON THE HIGHWAY, GOING AT ABOUT 40MPH & CAR SUDDENLY BEGAN A QUICK FORWARD JERKING MOTION & NOT GO ABOVE 40MPH. WHEN ACCELERATOR WAS RELEASED THE JERKING MOTION WOULD DECLINE AS SPEED DECLINED. THIS CONTINUED FOR ABOUT 10 MINUTES TO THE DEALERSHIP. AFTER SPEAKING WITH THE SERVICE ADVISOR WE WENT OUT ON THE ROAD BUT THE PROBLEM NEVER MANIFESTED ITSELF. THEYÆVE KEPT THE CAR TO TRY AND FIGURE OUT WHATÆS GOING ON. MEANWHILE I AM CAR-LESS. THE CAR IS NO OLDER THAN 16 MONTHS AND IÆVE BEEN BACK AND FORTH TO THE DEALER SEVERAL TIMES ALREADY SINCE APRIL AND THEY KEEP SAYING, ôITÆS NORMALö OR ôNOTHING HAPPENS WHEN THEY DRIVE OR HOOK IT UP TO THEIR COMPUTERSö OR ôWE CANÆT DIAGNOSE OR FIX A PROBLEM THAT ISNÆT HAPPENING WHEN WE DRIVE THE CARö. THE SUPERVISOR FURTHER STATED THAT EVEN IF SOMEONE FROM HONDA HEADQUARTERS CAME THEY WOULD SAY THE SAME THING IF NOTHING HAPPENED AND WOULD GIVE THE KEY BACK TO THEM BECAUSE THEY CANNOT FIX A PROBLEM THAT DOESNÆT MANIFEST. I AM NOT ALONE WITH THIS PROBLEM. HONDA NEED TO FIX IT. HONDA KNOWS THIS PROBLEM IS HAPPENING WITH THE INSERTION OF THE CVT TRANSMISSION ON THEIR 2013 ACCORD. WHAT ARE THEY DOING TO FIX IT? THIS IS MY VERY FIRST HONDA EXPERIENCE AND IÆM TOTALLY DISSATISFIEDà +

View Details

STEERING

6/9/2014 - BRAINGREE, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HONDA ACCORD. WHEN THE CONTACT STARTED THE VEHICLE, THE STEERING WHEEL AUTOMATICALLY ENGAGED AND TURNED IN A FULL CIRCLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER AND WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 12,500.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds