Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ACCORD - 2013 HONDA ACCORD Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 251 complaints filed for the 2013 HONDA ACCORD

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HONDA ACCORD. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HONDA ACCORD, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Equipment (5) Power Train (42) Steering (48) Vehicle Speed Control (24)
Electrical System (40) Equipment Adaptive (4) Seat Belts (2) Structure (8) Visibility (9)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Exterior Lighting (6) Seats (36) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (14)
Engine (34) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Service Brakes (17) Tires (7) Wheels (6)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (11)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/7/2015 - EASTHAMPTON, MA
TRUNK OPENS ON IT OWN. HAVE TALKED TO OTHER ACCORD SPORT OWNERS WHO HAS HAD THE SAME PROBLEM. MY 2ND ACCORD SPORT PURCHASE AND IT ALSO DOES THE SAMETHING. VERY UPSET, I LEAVE VALUABLES IN THE TRUNK LOCKED AND I WILL COME BACK TO THE CAR WITH THE TRUNK OPEN AT RANDOM TIMES.

View Details

TIRES

2/4/2015 - WEST HILLS, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HONDA ACCORD. THE VEHICLE WAS EQUIPPED WITH CONTINENTAL CONTI PRO CONTACT TIRES, SIZE 195/65R15. WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE TIRE THREAD SEPARATED FROM THE SIDEWALL AND A BLACK POWDER SUBSTANCE EMITTED. THE TIRE WAS NOT REPLACED. THE APPROXIMATE TIRE AND VEHICLE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 14,500.

View Details

STEERING

1/30/2015 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
I WAS SITTING AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT AND THE POWER STEERING QUIT WHILE THE CAR WAS STATIONARY. TEN MINUTES LATER THE POWER STEERING QUIT WHILE I WAS MAKING A RIGHT HAND TURN FROM A TRAFFIC LIGHT. IN BOTH CASES THE STEERING RE-SET ITSELF AFTER TURNING THE VEHICLE OFF THEN STARTING IT BACK UP.

View Details

SEATS

1/23/2015 - LAS VEGAS, NV
THE HEADREST OF THIS VEHICLE IS SO POORLY DESIGNED THAT AFTER AN HOUR OF SO OF HIGHWAY DRIVING MY NECK AND SHOULDERS BECAME STIFF AND UNCOMFORTABLE. THE ONLY SOLUTION WAS TO REMOVE THE HEADREST. I FELT THIS WAS A SAFETY HAZARD, SO I REINSTALLED THE HEADREST. SHORTLY THEREAFTER MY NECK AND SHOULDER STIFFNESS RETURNED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/21/2015 - ORLANDO, FL
2013 HONDA ACCORD SPORT HAS HAD ITS TRUNK OPEN BY ITSELF ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS. THE TRUNK HAS NEVER OPENED ON IT OWN WHILE IN MOTION BUT WHEN IT IS PARKED. IT IS ONLY DISCOVERED WHEN I WALK BACK TO THE CAR AND SEE THE TRUNK CRACKED OPEN. THIS IS A SECURITY/SAFETY BREACH IN MY CASE AS I SOMETIMES WILL KEEP FIREARMS IN THE SECURITY OF THE TRUNK LEADING TO THE POTENTIAL OF STOLEN FIREARMS FROM AN OPEN TRUNK. I HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE TRUNK RANDOMLY OPENING. THIS HAS HAPPENED TO ME AT LEAST 3 TIMES THROUGHOUT THE OWNERSHIP OF THE CAR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/21/2015 - LOUISA, VA
FOR OVER A WEEK MY 2013 HONDA SPORT HAD DIFFICULTY STARTING. I WAS THINKING THIS WAS DUE TO THE COLD WEATHER AND IN SPEAKING WITH MY COUSIN WHO HAS SAME VEHICLE HE SAID HIS DID THE SAME AND IT WAS THE NEW TECHNOLOGY WITH THE CVT. SO I FELT OK UNTIL WEDNESDAY JANUARY 14TH I WENT TO LEAVE WORK AND MY CAR WOULD NOT TURN OVER. I HAD 2 PEOPLE TRY AND JUMP ME NOTHING. I HAD TO HAVE MY CAR TOWED TO BROWN'S HONDA IN CHARLOTTESVILLE, VA. THE NEXT DAY I GOT A CALL SAYING THAT MY STARTER HAD GONE AND I WOULD HAVE TO PAY $879 TO REPLACE IT. THE PART ALONE WAS $430 GIVE OR TAKE. I DID NOT HAVE THAT KINDA OF MONEY FOR I HAD TO HAVE MY CAR TOWED TO A LOCAL DEALERSHIP IN MY TOWN AND THE GUY FOUND USED PART OF A 2013 HONDA THAT HAD BEEN IN AN ACCIDENT. TOOK HIM ALL OF AN HOUR TO PUT IT ON. CHARGED $50 FOR LABOR AND PART WAS HAVE THE PRICE. HE SHOWED ME THAT PART THAT HE RETURNED TO ME AND SAID IT WAS DEFECTED. HE EVEN WROTE A LETTER TO HONDA ON MY BEHALF AS WELL. THIS IS JUST RIDICULOUS MY CAR HAS YET TO EVEN SEE IT'S 3RD BIRTHDAY! ALSO MY BACKUP CAMERA TENDS TO GO OUT AS WELL. LIKE WHEN A TV MESSES UP AND GETS STATIC.

View Details

STEERING

1/17/2015 - SUPPLY, NC
2013 HONDA ACCORD: I WAS DRIVING ABOUT 35 MPH AND SUDDENLY I FELT THE STEERING WHEEL GET STIFF AND IMMEDIATELY THE INDICATOR LIGHT CAME ON THE DASHBOARD INDICATING MY ELECTRONIC POWER STEERING SYSTEM HAD AN ISSUE. I SLOWED DOWN PROMPTLY IN THE ROAD (NO ONE WAS BEHIND ME) AND IT TOOK ALL I HAD TO TURN THE WHEEL TO GET IT OFF THE ROAD. I TURNED THE CAR OFF FOR A MOMENT JUST AS THE HONDA MANUAL INSTRUCTED AND WHEN I TURNED THE CAR BACK ON, NOTHING HAD CHANGED, STILL LIGHT ON THE DASH AND NO POSSIBLE WAY OF ME TURNING THAT WHEEL. I CALLED AAA AND THE DRIVER OF AAA CAN VOUCH FOR THIS BECAUSE IT WAS STILL IN THE SAME CONDITION WHEN HE PICKED IT UP. THIS WAS WEDNESDAY EVENING, DECEMBER 23 THAT IT WAS TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP. ON FRIDAY MORNING, AFTER DEALER WAS CLOSED CHRISTMAS EVE AND CHRISTMAS DAY, THEY CALLED ME SAYING NOTHING WAS WRONG WITH MY CAR-+ªI SAID REALLY!!! I EXPLAINED TO THEM AGAIN AND THEY RAN A TEST AND IT SAID IT NEEDED SOFTWARE UPDATES AND/OR ELECTRONIC POWER STEERING RACK. BUT HONDA REQUIRES THE UPDATES TO BE INSTALLED FIRST AND THERE IS A CHARGE FOR THAT ACCORDING TO THE DEALERSHIP. SO I SAID DO WHAT YOU HAVE TO DO. (WHICH I THINK IS ABSURD, MICROSOFT DOESN-++T CHARGE ME MONEY FOR UPDATES) WITH IT BEING OVER THE CHRISTMAS HOLIDAY, I HAD TO WAIT UNTIL MONDAY FOR HONDA TO BE CONTACTED (PER DEALERSHIP HONDA WAS CLOSED) SO I WENT 6 DAYS WITH NO CAR. MONDAY CAME AROUND AND HONDA APPROVED THE DEALERSHIP TO DO DIAGNOSTIC TESTING ON THE CAR AND WITH THE SAFETY CONCERN THEY WENT AHEAD AND REPLACED THE ELECTRONIC STEERING RACK. I HOPE THIS HAS FIXED THE PROBLEM. THERE IS NOTHING IN THE WORLD THAT BOTHERS ME MORE THAN DRIVING A CAR DOWN THE ROAD AND I LOSE CONTROL OF STEERING.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/14/2015 - MCDONOUGH, GA
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY AT ABOUT 11 PM AND THE SUNROOF GLASS JUST EXPLODED. NOTHING HIT THE CAR AND LUCKILY THE VISOR WAS CLOSED OR I WOULD HAVE CRASHED. THIS IS A HAZARD AND HAS HAPPENED IN OTHER HONDA ACCORDS. THE DEALER OFFERED NO RECOURSE.

View Details

STEERING

1/14/2015 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
WHILE DRIVING STRAIGHT I LOST POWER STEERING. AFTER PULLING OFF ROAD I SHUT THE CAR OFF AND RESTARTED IT AND THE STEERING RE-SET ITSELF.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/9/2015 - BEAUMONT, TX
I HAVE BEEN EXPERIENCING PROBLEMS WITH THIS 2013 SINCE PURCHASE. BROUGHT IT IN TO MIKE SMITH HONDA ON VARIOUS OCCASSIONS FOR PROBLEMS SUCH, AS THE CAR WILL NOT ACELERATE AT TIMES, THE BRAKES SOMETHING IS WRONG (MAKES A NOISE) CAR HAS A SUCTION TO IT,BARELY ACCERATES WHEN LEAVING A RED LIGHT OR STOP SIGN, ONE TIME IT ACCERATED TO MUCH AND I LIKE TO HIT THE WALL OF MY GARAGE. FCW LIGHTS SOMES ON SOME TIME FOR NOTHING,, NOISE FROM BEHIND AND UNDER THE VEHICLE WHEN DRIVING UP AND ABOUT TO PUT IN PARK. AND SOME TIMES WHEN BACKING UP. THE FCW DEFAULTS. OVERALL THIS IS NOT A GOOD RUNNING OR PERFORMANCE CAR. EVERYTIME YOU BRING IT TO THE SHOP THE SERVICEMEN SAID I SORRY BUT THAT IS NORMAL WHEN THEY CAN NOT FIX OR KNOW HOW TO FIX SOMETHING IT IS EASY FOR THEM TO SAY I SORRY THAT IS NORMAL OR YOU GOT TO BRING IT TO THE SHOP WHEN IT IS ACTING UP AT THE TIME. I TOLD THEM THAT IS HARD TO DO IT MAY NOT BE DOING IT WHEN IT IS THERE AT THAT TIME. BUT I THOUGHT THAT WHAT THE MACHINES WERE FOR TO FIND THE PROBLEMS. THE APEARANCE IS GOOD BUT THE PERFORMANCE IS BAD. HAD THE CAR SEAL FOR BUGS PAID OVER 700.00 THEY DID NOT DO A GOOD JOB OR DID NOT DO WHAT THEY WERE PAID FOR AT ALL. BUGS ARE HARD TO COME OFF OF THE VEHICLE.MAY BE OTHER PROBLEMS BUT THIS IS A FEW THAT COMES TO MIND AT THIS TIME. THE BIGGEST THING IS THE BRAKES AND THE ACCELATION AND SUCTION OF THE VEHICLE

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds