Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2013 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 172 complaints filed for the 2013 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (46) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Power Train (14) Steering (18) Vehicle Speed Control (17)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (10) Visibility (5)
Electrical System (17) Exterior Lighting (3) Seats (14) Suspension (6) Visibility Wiper (6)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel Propulsion System (10) Service Brakes (18) Tires (11) Wheels (5)
Engine (14) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (15)

Pages:  
<<  12  13  14  15  16  17  18 
 
ComplaintDescription

SEATS

10/26/2013 - PLEASANT GROVE, UT
THE HEAD RESTRAINTS ON THE 2013 HONDA CIVIC EX ARE ANGLED SO SHARPLY THAT THEY CAUSE NECK PAIN AND ARE A SEVERE DISTRACTION WHILE DRIVING. THE IMMEDIATE SOLUTION IS TO TURN THEM AROUND, WHICH RENDER THEM MUCH LESS EFFECTIVE, THUS CREATING A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE (BUT THAT'S WHAT JUST ABOUT EVERYONE I TALKED TO SUGGESTED AND/OR HAS ALREADY DONE.) THE OTHER SOLUTION IS TO HAVE THEM MODIFIED, WHICH IS ANOTHER SAFETY ISSUE. MY CALCULATION IS THAT THEY NEED TO BE TILTED BACK AT LEAST 15 DEGREES, BUT MOST LIKELY 20.

View Details

SEATS

10/23/2013 - BURLINGAME, CA
SEVERE MOTION SICKNESS WHEN DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE; THOUGHT IT WAS JUST A "SMALL CAR" PROBLEM BUT IT WAS PERSISTENT ALL THE WAY TO CHICAGO AND BACK TO SAN FRANCISCO. BASICALLY, A ROLLER COASTER RIDE AT INTERSTATE SPEEDS AND SUSPECT THAT IT IS A FAULTY SUSPENSION DESIGN. ENGINE (WOULD STALL AND THEN QUICKLY ACCELERATE PROBLEM) AND DRIVER WIPED OUT AFTER ABOUT EIGHT THOUSAND MILES. THE SEAT DESIGN IS EXTREMELY POOR AND CAUSES PINCHED NERVES FOR PASSENGER AND DRIVER. MAYBE THE CAR IS JUST GOOD FOR LOCAL SHORT DRIVES AND THE YOUNGER CROWD...WAS SUPPOSED TO GET MY OLD, TRADE-IN VEHICLE BACK BUT HONDA SERVICE RAN OFF WITH THE CAR AND I SOLD IT ON EBAY/PAYPAL BUT GOT ENTANGLED IN MORE FRAUD (VARIOUS LOAN FRAUDS BY HONDA AND THEN THE EBAY BUYER RAN A SCAM AND NEVER PAID FOR THE CAR ACCORDING TO PAYPAL). SO, THEN THE CAR GOT STOLEN BY THE SCAM LOAN COMPANY ASSOCIATED WITH HONDA...A TOTAL BAD EXPERIENCE AS WELL AS DEFECTIVE CAR DESIGN.

View Details

ENGINE

10/23/2013 - BURLINGAME, CA
SEVERE MOTION SICKNESS WHEN DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE; THOUGHT IT WAS JUST A "SMALL CAR" PROBLEM BUT IT WAS PERSISTENT ALL THE WAY TO CHICAGO AND BACK TO SAN FRANCISCO. BASICALLY, A ROLLER COASTER RIDE AT INTERSTATE SPEEDS AND SUSPECT THAT IT IS A FAULTY SUSPENSION DESIGN. ENGINE (WOULD STALL AND THEN QUICKLY ACCELERATE PROBLEM) AND DRIVER WIPED OUT AFTER ABOUT EIGHT THOUSAND MILES. THE SEAT DESIGN IS EXTREMELY POOR AND CAUSES PINCHED NERVES FOR PASSENGER AND DRIVER. MAYBE THE CAR IS JUST GOOD FOR LOCAL SHORT DRIVES AND THE YOUNGER CROWD...WAS SUPPOSED TO GET MY OLD, TRADE-IN VEHICLE BACK BUT HONDA SERVICE RAN OFF WITH THE CAR AND I SOLD IT ON EBAY/PAYPAL BUT GOT ENTANGLED IN MORE FRAUD (VARIOUS LOAN FRAUDS BY HONDA AND THEN THE EBAY BUYER RAN A SCAM AND NEVER PAID FOR THE CAR ACCORDING TO PAYPAL). SO, THEN THE CAR GOT STOLEN BY THE SCAM LOAN COMPANY ASSOCIATED WITH HONDA...A TOTAL BAD EXPERIENCE AS WELL AS DEFECTIVE CAR DESIGN.

View Details

SUSPENSION

10/23/2013 - BURLINGAME, CA
SEVERE MOTION SICKNESS WHEN DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE; THOUGHT IT WAS JUST A "SMALL CAR" PROBLEM BUT IT WAS PERSISTENT ALL THE WAY TO CHICAGO AND BACK TO SAN FRANCISCO. BASICALLY, A ROLLER COASTER RIDE AT INTERSTATE SPEEDS AND SUSPECT THAT IT IS A FAULTY SUSPENSION DESIGN. ENGINE (WOULD STALL AND THEN QUICKLY ACCELERATE PROBLEM) AND DRIVER WIPED OUT AFTER ABOUT EIGHT THOUSAND MILES. THE SEAT DESIGN IS EXTREMELY POOR AND CAUSES PINCHED NERVES FOR PASSENGER AND DRIVER. MAYBE THE CAR IS JUST GOOD FOR LOCAL SHORT DRIVES AND THE YOUNGER CROWD...WAS SUPPOSED TO GET MY OLD, TRADE-IN VEHICLE BACK BUT HONDA SERVICE RAN OFF WITH THE CAR AND I SOLD IT ON EBAY/PAYPAL BUT GOT ENTANGLED IN MORE FRAUD (VARIOUS LOAN FRAUDS BY HONDA AND THEN THE EBAY BUYER RAN A SCAM AND NEVER PAID FOR THE CAR ACCORDING TO PAYPAL). SO, THEN THE CAR GOT STOLEN BY THE SCAM LOAN COMPANY ASSOCIATED WITH HONDA...A TOTAL BAD EXPERIENCE AS WELL AS DEFECTIVE CAR DESIGN.

View Details

TIRES

10/1/2013 - RICHMOND HILL, GA
I PURCHASED A 2013 HONDA CIVIC EX EQUIPPED WITH CONTINENTAL CONTI PRO CONTACT TIRES SIZE 205/55R16 H . I IMMEDIATELY BEGAN HAVING PROBLEMS WITH A TIRE LOOSING NITROGEN PRESSURE AND SETTING OFF THE TPMS. I RETURNED THE CAR TO MY HONDA DEALER WHO COULD NOT FIND ANY EXPLANATION WHY THE TIRE WAS LOOSING PRESSURE. A MONTH LATER WITH ONLY 1500 MILES ON THE CAR AND TIRES, THE SAME TIRE SIDEWALL BLEW OUT WITH JUST NORMAL DRIVING. CONTINENTAL TIRE WILL NOT WARRANTY ANY SIDEWALL PROBLEM AS THEY FALSELY QUALIFY ALL SIDEWALL PROBLEMS AS ROAD HAZARD. NOW I AM CONCERNED THAT THESE TIRES ARE UNSAFE TO DRIVE. I HAVE NEVER HAD A TIRE OF ANY BRAND JUST BLOW OUT A SIDEWALL, LET ALONE A BRAND NEW TIRE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/21/2013 - LOS ANGELES, CA
PURCHASED A 2013 HONDA CIVIC ON 08/31/13. ON 09/02/13 CAR HAD TO BE TOWED BACK TO CULVER CITY DEALERSHIP. WHILE PULLING AWAY FROM CURB WHEEL FELT HEAVY AND THE CONSOLE LIT UP WITH RED, ORGAN AND YELLOW LIGHTS, INDICATING THAT THE POWER STEERING AND BREAKS NEEDED TO BE CHECKED AND LOW OIL PRESSURE. MY SON AND I WERE GOING DOWN HILL AND PICKING UP SPEED WITH NO POWER STEERING OR BREAKS. HE CONTINUED TO PUMP THE BREAKS BUT THERE WAS NO RESPONSE, HE FINALLY PULLED THE EMERGENCY BREAK AND TURNED THE WHEEL EXTREMELY HARD INTO THE CURB. CAME THREE FEET FROM HITTING A PARKED BMW.

View Details

STEERING

9/21/2013 - LOS ANGELES, CA
PURCHASED A 2013 HONDA CIVIC ON 08/31/13. ON 09/02/13 CAR HAD TO BE TOWED BACK TO CULVER CITY DEALERSHIP. WHILE PULLING AWAY FROM CURB WHEEL FELT HEAVY AND THE CONSOLE LIT UP WITH RED, ORGAN AND YELLOW LIGHTS, INDICATING THAT THE POWER STEERING AND BREAKS NEEDED TO BE CHECKED AND LOW OIL PRESSURE. MY SON AND I WERE GOING DOWN HILL AND PICKING UP SPEED WITH NO POWER STEERING OR BREAKS. HE CONTINUED TO PUMP THE BREAKS BUT THERE WAS NO RESPONSE, HE FINALLY PULLED THE EMERGENCY BREAK AND TURNED THE WHEEL EXTREMELY HARD INTO THE CURB. CAME THREE FEET FROM HITTING A PARKED BMW.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/9/2013 - SOMERVILLE, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HONDA CIVIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE ACCELERATOR FAILED TO RESPOND TO ACCELERATION ATTEMPTS. THE CONTACT ALSO MENTIONED THAT THE VEHICLE ERRONEOUSLY DECELERATED WHILE THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 4,000. THE CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 5,200. RETURNED BY USPS ON 11-14-2013, SECONG ATTEMPT ON 11-14-2013 FAILED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/8/2013 - SHERMAN OAKS, CA
VEHICLE REAR-ENDED A STOPPED VEHICLE AND SIGNIFICANT PROPERTY DAMAGE OCCURRED TO VEHICLE'S FRONT END. BUT DRIVER, WEARING SEAT BELT, WAS THROWN FORWARD BECAUSE AIR BAG DID NOT OPEN.

View Details

STEERING

7/24/2013 - ALEXANDRIA, VA
I WAS DRIVING AT 30 MPH AND WANTED TO TURN LEFT WHEN THE STEERING WHEEL GOT STIFF , THE NOTICE ON THE DASH BOARD SAID: "CHECK THE POWER STEERING SYSTEM"AND I COULD NOT CONTROL THE WHEEL. I PANICKED AND TRIED HARD TO TURN THE WHEEL. I WAS ABLE TO TURN LEFT WITH A LOT OF DIFFICULTY AND I STOPPED THE CAR. I WAS TRULY TERRIFIED BY THIS INCIDENT AND HAD THE CAR TOWED TO THE DEALER. THE MECHANIC TOLD ME THAT THEY FOUND A CODE 71-01 MOTOR ANGLE SENSOR AND HE PERFORMED AN UPDATE. HE SAID THAT NOW IT WOULD BE FINE. I PICKED UP MY CAR THE NEXT DAY AND PARKED IT AT HOME. ON SUNDAY, JULY 21, I WAS DRIVING TO THE STORE AND THE SAME EXACT PROBLEM OCCURRED AGAIN. ONE MORE TIME I HAD IT TOWED TO THE DEALER. NOW, THEY SAY THAT THE ELECTRONIC CONNECTION WAS FAULTY. I AM NOT SURE IF THAT WILL RESOLVE THE ISSUE PERMANENTLY. I AM TERRIFIED TO DRIVE THIS CAR. ONE CAN BE KILLED EASILY. THIS IS A SERIOUS SECURITY ISSUE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  12  13  14  15  16  17  18 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds