Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2013 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 181 complaints filed for the 2013 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (50) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Power Train (14) Steering (19) Vehicle Speed Control (19)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (12) Visibility (5)
Electrical System (18) Exterior Lighting (3) Seats (15) Suspension (6) Visibility Wiper (6)
Electronic Stability Control (6) Fuel Propulsion System (10) Service Brakes (18) Tires (11) Wheels (5)
Engine (13) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (17)

Pages:  
<<  12  13  14  15  16  17  18 
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/31/2013 - NEWARK, OH
MY 2013 HONDA CIVIC EXL THE ACCELERATOR FAILED TO RESPOND TO ACCELERATION .THE VEHICLE ERRONEOUSLY DECELERATED WHILE THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER . THE CAR WAS CHECKED OUT THEY COULDN T FIND THE FAULT. THE FAILURE STARTED @ 300 MILES. AND BEEN DOING THIS 12 TIMES THE MILEAGE IS NOW 7,500 MILES, I WANTED THE DEALER AND HONDA KNOW THAT THEY HAVE A PROBLEM . THE LAST TIME I WAS TURNING LEFT AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT AND ALMOST WAS HIT.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/31/2013 - NEWARK, OH
MY 2013 HONDA CIVIC EXL THE ACCELERATOR FAILED TO RESPOND TO ACCELERATION .THE VEHICLE ERRONEOUSLY DECELERATED WHILE THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER . THE CAR WAS CHECKED OUT THEY COULDN T FIND THE FAULT. THE FAILURE STARTED @ 300 MILES. AND BEEN DOING THIS 12 TIMES THE MILEAGE IS NOW 7,500 MILES, I WANTED THE DEALER AND HONDA KNOW THAT THEY HAVE A PROBLEM . THE LAST TIME I WAS TURNING LEFT AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT AND ALMOST WAS HIT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/31/2013 - NEWARK, OH
MY 2013 HONDA CIVIC EXL THE ACCELERATOR FAILED TO RESPOND TO ACCELERATION .THE VEHICLE ERRONEOUSLY DECELERATED WHILE THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER . THE CAR WAS CHECKED OUT THEY COULDN T FIND THE FAULT. THE FAILURE STARTED @ 300 MILES. AND BEEN DOING THIS 12 TIMES THE MILEAGE IS NOW 7,500 MILES, I WANTED THE DEALER AND HONDA KNOW THAT THEY HAVE A PROBLEM . THE LAST TIME I WAS TURNING LEFT AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT AND ALMOST WAS HIT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/30/2013 - WEST LINN, OR
I SET THE SPEED, USING THE CRUISE CONTROL, AT 65 MPH OR 70 MPH. UPON ENCOUNTERING A HILL THE CAR WILL SLOW DOWN TO AS MUCH AS 60 OR 65. EVENTUALLY THE CRUISE CONTROL WILL KICK IN AND THE AUTO-THROTTLE WILL ACCELERATE THE CAR QUICKLY TO 5 MPH BEYOND THE SET SPEED. IF IT WERE SET AT 65, THE CAR MIGHT ACCELERATE TO 70; SET AT 70 IT MIGHT GO TO 75. ADDITIONALLY, WHEN I HIT THE BRAKE TO DISENGAGE THE CRUISE CONTROL, IT MAY TAKE A COUPLE OF SECONDS FOR THE THROTTLE TO DISENGAGE. SEVERAL TIMES CARS HAVE PASSED ME WHEN THE CAR AUTOMATICALLY SLOWED GOING UP A HILL. AFTER PASSING ME, OTHER VEHICLES THOUGHT IT WAS SAFE TO PULL BACK INTO MY LANE, IN FRONT OF ME. IF THE CRUISE CONTROL KICKED IN AT SOME POINT IMMEDIATELY AFTER THEY PASSED, AND MY CAR STARTED RACING FORWARD, PUTTING LITTLE OR NO DISTANCE BETWEEN MYSELF AND THE CAR THAT JUST PASSED ME, THEN I HAD TO SWERVE TO AVOID AN ACCIDENT WITH THE CAR THAT JUST PASSED BECAUSE MY CAR WAS LUNGING FORWARD. UNKNOWN TO THE CAR THAT PASSED, IT WAS NO LONGER SAFE FOR THEM TO PULL BACK INTO THE RIGHT LANE (TWO LANES GOING SAME DIRECTION). UPON COMPLAINING TO TWO DEALERSHIPS, THEY STATED THAT WHAT I WAS SAYING JUST WASN'T TRUE, BUT THEY WERE UNWILLING TO TAKE A TEST DRIVE WITH ME TO CONFIRM MY EXPERIENCE. THEY NOTED THAT THEY HAD RECEIVED SEVERAL COMPLAINTS, BUT STATED THAT THE GAIN AND LOSS VARIANCE IN SPEED WAS NO MORE THAN 2 OR 3 MILES PER HOUR DUE TO THE DEFECTIVE CRUISE CONTROL. I BELIEVE HONDA IS WELL AWARE OF THIS DANGEROUS FEATURE, AND THAT THEY ARE DOING THEIR BEST TO SWEEP IT UNDER THE RUG. AS FAR AS I'M CONCERNED, THEY CAN FIX IT, OR TAKE THE CAR BACK. AT THIS POINT, I REALLY DON'T CARE. I DO NOT LIKE HAVING A CAR WITH A FEATURE I CAN NOT USE BECAUSE USING THE FEATURE CREATES TOO MUCH OF A ROAD HAZARD.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

10/29/2013 - SHERMAN, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HONDA CIVIC. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN THE SUN WOULD SHINE ON THE DASHBOARD, IT CAUSED AN ABNORMAL GLARE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INSPECTED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE ISSUE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 3000.

View Details

SEATS

10/26/2013 - PLEASANT GROVE, UT
THE HEAD RESTRAINTS ON THE 2013 HONDA CIVIC EX ARE ANGLED SO SHARPLY THAT THEY CAUSE NECK PAIN AND ARE A SEVERE DISTRACTION WHILE DRIVING. THE IMMEDIATE SOLUTION IS TO TURN THEM AROUND, WHICH RENDER THEM MUCH LESS EFFECTIVE, THUS CREATING A HUGE SAFETY ISSUE (BUT THAT'S WHAT JUST ABOUT EVERYONE I TALKED TO SUGGESTED AND/OR HAS ALREADY DONE.) THE OTHER SOLUTION IS TO HAVE THEM MODIFIED, WHICH IS ANOTHER SAFETY ISSUE. MY CALCULATION IS THAT THEY NEED TO BE TILTED BACK AT LEAST 15 DEGREES, BUT MOST LIKELY 20.

View Details

SEATS

10/23/2013 - BURLINGAME, CA
SEVERE MOTION SICKNESS WHEN DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE; THOUGHT IT WAS JUST A "SMALL CAR" PROBLEM BUT IT WAS PERSISTENT ALL THE WAY TO CHICAGO AND BACK TO SAN FRANCISCO. BASICALLY, A ROLLER COASTER RIDE AT INTERSTATE SPEEDS AND SUSPECT THAT IT IS A FAULTY SUSPENSION DESIGN. ENGINE (WOULD STALL AND THEN QUICKLY ACCELERATE PROBLEM) AND DRIVER WIPED OUT AFTER ABOUT EIGHT THOUSAND MILES. THE SEAT DESIGN IS EXTREMELY POOR AND CAUSES PINCHED NERVES FOR PASSENGER AND DRIVER. MAYBE THE CAR IS JUST GOOD FOR LOCAL SHORT DRIVES AND THE YOUNGER CROWD...WAS SUPPOSED TO GET MY OLD, TRADE-IN VEHICLE BACK BUT HONDA SERVICE RAN OFF WITH THE CAR AND I SOLD IT ON EBAY/PAYPAL BUT GOT ENTANGLED IN MORE FRAUD (VARIOUS LOAN FRAUDS BY HONDA AND THEN THE EBAY BUYER RAN A SCAM AND NEVER PAID FOR THE CAR ACCORDING TO PAYPAL). SO, THEN THE CAR GOT STOLEN BY THE SCAM LOAN COMPANY ASSOCIATED WITH HONDA...A TOTAL BAD EXPERIENCE AS WELL AS DEFECTIVE CAR DESIGN.

View Details

ENGINE

10/23/2013 - BURLINGAME, CA
SEVERE MOTION SICKNESS WHEN DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE; THOUGHT IT WAS JUST A "SMALL CAR" PROBLEM BUT IT WAS PERSISTENT ALL THE WAY TO CHICAGO AND BACK TO SAN FRANCISCO. BASICALLY, A ROLLER COASTER RIDE AT INTERSTATE SPEEDS AND SUSPECT THAT IT IS A FAULTY SUSPENSION DESIGN. ENGINE (WOULD STALL AND THEN QUICKLY ACCELERATE PROBLEM) AND DRIVER WIPED OUT AFTER ABOUT EIGHT THOUSAND MILES. THE SEAT DESIGN IS EXTREMELY POOR AND CAUSES PINCHED NERVES FOR PASSENGER AND DRIVER. MAYBE THE CAR IS JUST GOOD FOR LOCAL SHORT DRIVES AND THE YOUNGER CROWD...WAS SUPPOSED TO GET MY OLD, TRADE-IN VEHICLE BACK BUT HONDA SERVICE RAN OFF WITH THE CAR AND I SOLD IT ON EBAY/PAYPAL BUT GOT ENTANGLED IN MORE FRAUD (VARIOUS LOAN FRAUDS BY HONDA AND THEN THE EBAY BUYER RAN A SCAM AND NEVER PAID FOR THE CAR ACCORDING TO PAYPAL). SO, THEN THE CAR GOT STOLEN BY THE SCAM LOAN COMPANY ASSOCIATED WITH HONDA...A TOTAL BAD EXPERIENCE AS WELL AS DEFECTIVE CAR DESIGN.

View Details

SUSPENSION

10/23/2013 - BURLINGAME, CA
SEVERE MOTION SICKNESS WHEN DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE; THOUGHT IT WAS JUST A "SMALL CAR" PROBLEM BUT IT WAS PERSISTENT ALL THE WAY TO CHICAGO AND BACK TO SAN FRANCISCO. BASICALLY, A ROLLER COASTER RIDE AT INTERSTATE SPEEDS AND SUSPECT THAT IT IS A FAULTY SUSPENSION DESIGN. ENGINE (WOULD STALL AND THEN QUICKLY ACCELERATE PROBLEM) AND DRIVER WIPED OUT AFTER ABOUT EIGHT THOUSAND MILES. THE SEAT DESIGN IS EXTREMELY POOR AND CAUSES PINCHED NERVES FOR PASSENGER AND DRIVER. MAYBE THE CAR IS JUST GOOD FOR LOCAL SHORT DRIVES AND THE YOUNGER CROWD...WAS SUPPOSED TO GET MY OLD, TRADE-IN VEHICLE BACK BUT HONDA SERVICE RAN OFF WITH THE CAR AND I SOLD IT ON EBAY/PAYPAL BUT GOT ENTANGLED IN MORE FRAUD (VARIOUS LOAN FRAUDS BY HONDA AND THEN THE EBAY BUYER RAN A SCAM AND NEVER PAID FOR THE CAR ACCORDING TO PAYPAL). SO, THEN THE CAR GOT STOLEN BY THE SCAM LOAN COMPANY ASSOCIATED WITH HONDA...A TOTAL BAD EXPERIENCE AS WELL AS DEFECTIVE CAR DESIGN.

View Details

TIRES

10/1/2013 - RICHMOND HILL, GA
I PURCHASED A 2013 HONDA CIVIC EX EQUIPPED WITH CONTINENTAL CONTI PRO CONTACT TIRES SIZE 205/55R16 H . I IMMEDIATELY BEGAN HAVING PROBLEMS WITH A TIRE LOOSING NITROGEN PRESSURE AND SETTING OFF THE TPMS. I RETURNED THE CAR TO MY HONDA DEALER WHO COULD NOT FIND ANY EXPLANATION WHY THE TIRE WAS LOOSING PRESSURE. A MONTH LATER WITH ONLY 1500 MILES ON THE CAR AND TIRES, THE SAME TIRE SIDEWALL BLEW OUT WITH JUST NORMAL DRIVING. CONTINENTAL TIRE WILL NOT WARRANTY ANY SIDEWALL PROBLEM AS THEY FALSELY QUALIFY ALL SIDEWALL PROBLEMS AS ROAD HAZARD. NOW I AM CONCERNED THAT THESE TIRES ARE UNSAFE TO DRIVE. I HAVE NEVER HAD A TIRE OF ANY BRAND JUST BLOW OUT A SIDEWALL, LET ALONE A BRAND NEW TIRE.

View Details
Pages:  <<  12  13  14  15  16  17  18 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds