Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA CIVIC - 2013 HONDA CIVIC Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 160 complaints filed for the 2013 HONDA CIVIC

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HONDA CIVIC. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HONDA CIVIC, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (38) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Power Train (14) Steering (16) Vehicle Speed Control (17)
Communications (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (9) Visibility (5)
Electrical System (14) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (14) Suspension (6) Visibility Wiper (6)
Electronic Stability Control (5) Fuel Propulsion System (10) Service Brakes (17) Tires (11) Wheels (5)
Engine (14) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (13)

Pages:  
<<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/22/2017 - TUCSON, AZ
FOR THE SECOND TIME IN AS MANY MONTHS, I HAVE BEEN DRIVING MY CAR WHEN SUDDENLY THE VSA WARMING LIGHT HAS COME ON, FOLLOWED BY THE TRANSMISSION FLUID WARNING LIGHT. THE FIRST TIME THIS OCCURRED, I PULLED INTO THE PARKING LOT OF MY APARTMENT COMPLEX AND CHECKED THE OWNERS MANUAL FOR MY CIVIC FOR ANY INFORMATION. IT SUGGESTED THAT I WAIT SEVERAL MINUTES AND THE RESTART THE CAR. I WAITED FOR 10 MINUTES AND RESTARTED MY CAR. BOTH LIGHTS HAD GONE OUT AND I WAS ABLE TO GET TO THE LOCAL CARMAX DEALER, WHERE I'D PURCHASED THIS CAR. THE SERVICE CENTER COULD NOT LOOK AT MY CAR THEN, BUT THE TECHNICIAN SET AN APPOINTMENT FOR ME FOR THE NEXT MONDAY AND REASSURED ME THAT I WOULD "PROBABLY" BE FINE UNTIL THEN. WHEN THAT DAY CAME I WAS TOLD THAT THE CAR WOULD NEED TO BE LOOKED AT BY AN AUTHORIZED HONDA DEALER, AUTONATION HONDA, BUT THAT CARMAX WOULD COVER THE COST BECAUSE THE CAR WAS STILL UNDER THEIR LIMITED WARRANTY. DAYS LATER, I TOOK THE CAR TO AUTONATION AND THEY UPDATED THE VEHICLE'S SOFTWARE FOR THE VSA. TODAY, OCTOBER 22, 2017, I WAS DRIVING TO VISIT FAMILY WHEN THE VSA LIGHT CAME ON AGAIN, IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWED BY THE TRANSMISSION FLUID WARNING LIGHT. ONCE AGAIN, I PULLED OVER AS SOON AS POSSIBLE AND TURNED OFF THE CAR FOR 10 MINUTES. DURING THAT TIME I CALLED AND LEFT MESSAGES FOR BOTH MY CARMAX AND AUTONATION CONTACTS AND TOLD THEM WHAT HAD HAPPENED. WHEN I STARTED THE CAR AGAIN, BOTH LIGHTS WERE OFF. I HAVE BEEN LOOKING TO SEE IF THERE HAVE BEEN OTHERS HAVING THE SAME PROBLEM AND HAVE FOUND MANY PEOPLE WHO SHARE THE SAME PROBLEM. HONDA APPEARS TO HAVE IGNORED THIS ISSUE IN LATER MODEL CARS AND I FEEL THIS IS SEVERELY DANGEROUS!

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

10/12/2017 - LAKELAND, FL
IT WAS FINE WHEN I PARKED IT IN THE GARAGE THE NIGHT BEFORE BUT THE NEXT MORNING NONE OF THE FOLLOWING WERE WORKING AND THE DEALER HAS NO IDEA WHAT'S WRONG (THEY WANT TO TRY REPLACING WHOLE CONSOLE FOR $700 AND IF/WHEN THAT DOESN'T WORK TRY REPLACING SOMETHING ELSE FOR $$$): - DASH (AND GEAR SHIFT, ETC.) DOESN'T LIGHT UP WHEN DRIVING AT NIGHT - WINDSHIELD DEFOGGERS - SPEEDOMETER (READS "0" WHETHER IN MOTION OR STOPPED) - ODOMETER - WARNING INDICATORS (OVERHEAT, TIRE PRESSURE, ETC. EXCEPT "BRAKE" WHICH STILL WORKS, AND THE LITTLE GAS ICON ON THE LEFT CONTINUOUSLY BLINKS WHETHER FULL TANK OR NOT) - GAS GAUGE - GAS MILEAGE - TACHOMETER (A PHYSICAL METER) - AIR CONDITIONER - OIL LIFE LEFT - CRUISE CONTROL - "ECON" MODE BUTTON DOESN'T WORK - NOT SURE IF AIR BAGS WORK - I MAY FIND OUT SOMEDAY - RADIO WORKS/DISPLAYS FINE I AM NOT SURE OF THE EXACT DATE WHEN THIS HAPPENED, BUT IT WAS SOMETIME IN AUGUST 2017.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/12/2017 - LAKELAND, FL
IT WAS FINE WHEN I PARKED IT IN THE GARAGE THE NIGHT BEFORE BUT THE NEXT MORNING NONE OF THE FOLLOWING WERE WORKING AND THE DEALER HAS NO IDEA WHAT'S WRONG (THEY WANT TO TRY REPLACING WHOLE CONSOLE FOR $700 AND IF/WHEN THAT DOESN'T WORK TRY REPLACING SOMETHING ELSE FOR $$$): - DASH (AND GEAR SHIFT, ETC.) DOESN'T LIGHT UP WHEN DRIVING AT NIGHT - WINDSHIELD DEFOGGERS - SPEEDOMETER (READS "0" WHETHER IN MOTION OR STOPPED) - ODOMETER - WARNING INDICATORS (OVERHEAT, TIRE PRESSURE, ETC. EXCEPT "BRAKE" WHICH STILL WORKS, AND THE LITTLE GAS ICON ON THE LEFT CONTINUOUSLY BLINKS WHETHER FULL TANK OR NOT) - GAS GAUGE - GAS MILEAGE - TACHOMETER (A PHYSICAL METER) - AIR CONDITIONER - OIL LIFE LEFT - CRUISE CONTROL - "ECON" MODE BUTTON DOESN'T WORK - NOT SURE IF AIR BAGS WORK - I MAY FIND OUT SOMEDAY - RADIO WORKS/DISPLAYS FINE I AM NOT SURE OF THE EXACT DATE WHEN THIS HAPPENED, BUT IT WAS SOMETIME IN AUGUST 2017.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/12/2017 - LAKELAND, FL
IT WAS FINE WHEN I PARKED IT IN THE GARAGE THE NIGHT BEFORE BUT THE NEXT MORNING NONE OF THE FOLLOWING WERE WORKING AND THE DEALER HAS NO IDEA WHAT'S WRONG (THEY WANT TO TRY REPLACING WHOLE CONSOLE FOR $700 AND IF/WHEN THAT DOESN'T WORK TRY REPLACING SOMETHING ELSE FOR $$$): - DASH (AND GEAR SHIFT, ETC.) DOESN'T LIGHT UP WHEN DRIVING AT NIGHT - WINDSHIELD DEFOGGERS - SPEEDOMETER (READS "0" WHETHER IN MOTION OR STOPPED) - ODOMETER - WARNING INDICATORS (OVERHEAT, TIRE PRESSURE, ETC. EXCEPT "BRAKE" WHICH STILL WORKS, AND THE LITTLE GAS ICON ON THE LEFT CONTINUOUSLY BLINKS WHETHER FULL TANK OR NOT) - GAS GAUGE - GAS MILEAGE - TACHOMETER (A PHYSICAL METER) - AIR CONDITIONER - OIL LIFE LEFT - CRUISE CONTROL - "ECON" MODE BUTTON DOESN'T WORK - NOT SURE IF AIR BAGS WORK - I MAY FIND OUT SOMEDAY - RADIO WORKS/DISPLAYS FINE I AM NOT SURE OF THE EXACT DATE WHEN THIS HAPPENED, BUT IT WAS SOMETIME IN AUGUST 2017.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/9/2017 - MARIETTA, GA
THE AIR CONDITIONER MOTOR AND RESISTOR IN MY CAR HAVE BEEN REPLACED 5 TIMES NOW. EVERY FOUR MONTHS, THE AIR CONDITIONER MAKES SOUNDS, FLUCTUATES IN POWER, AND THEN FINALLY STOPS WORKING ALTOGTHER. THE LIGHTS ON THE DASH STILL WORK, BUT THE AIR STOPS BLOWING. ONCE MOTOR AND RESISTOR ARE REPLACED, IT WORKS FINE AGAIN - BUT ONLY FOR A FEW MONTHS. ALL NEW PARTS HAVE BEEN ORDERED DIRECTLY THROUGH HONDA. THE DEFROSTER AND HEAT WILL NOT WORK EITHER WHEN THIS PART GOES BAD, WHICH IS DANGEROUS IF DRIVING IN THE RAIN OR IN THE COLD.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/9/2017 - MARIETTA, GA
THE AIR CONDITIONER MOTOR AND RESISTOR IN MY CAR HAVE BEEN REPLACED 5 TIMES NOW. EVERY FOUR MONTHS, THE AIR CONDITIONER MAKES SOUNDS, FLUCTUATES IN POWER, AND THEN FINALLY STOPS WORKING ALTOGTHER. THE LIGHTS ON THE DASH STILL WORK, BUT THE AIR STOPS BLOWING. ONCE MOTOR AND RESISTOR ARE REPLACED, IT WORKS FINE AGAIN - BUT ONLY FOR A FEW MONTHS. ALL NEW PARTS HAVE BEEN ORDERED DIRECTLY THROUGH HONDA. THE DEFROSTER AND HEAT WILL NOT WORK EITHER WHEN THIS PART GOES BAD, WHICH IS DANGEROUS IF DRIVING IN THE RAIN OR IN THE COLD.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/19/2017 - SAN JOSE, CA
ON 7/18/17, AT AROUND 8PM ON HIGHWAY 280 SB BY LAWRENCE EXPWY IN SANTA CLARA, CA, I WAS DRIVING HOME WHEN I HEARD A HUGE BANG. I HAD TO PULL OVER TO REALIZE MY SUNROOF HAD SHATTERED. THERE WAS NO ROCK OR ANY OTHER PIECE OF MATERIAL IN SIGHT. I BELIEVE THAT THE GLASS EXPLODED BECAUSE OF THE HEAT SINCE IT HAS BEEN HOT AND I RARELY OPEN MY MOONROOF. HAD MY MOONROOF BEEN OPENED, I WOULD HAVE BEEN HIT BY GLASS AND INJURED, POSSIBLY CRASHED. YOU CAN SEE THAT THE HOLE IS QUITE BIG, ABOUT 10 INCHES IN DIAMETER, AND THE WHOLE SECTION SEEMS TO BE INCLINED UPWARDS, MAKING ME BELIEVE THAT IT EXPLODED ON IT'S OWN FROM HEAT PRESSURE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/26/2017 - 29 PALMS, CA
DRIVING SOUTH THROUGH SALT LAKE CITY FREEWAY, THE CAB FILLED WITH NOXIOUS RAW GAS FUMES, NO WARNING LAMPS ON THE DASH. PULLED OFF THE FREEWAY AND INSPECTED ENGINE, TRUNK, INTERIOR AND UNDER THE CAR FOR A GAS LEAK AND FOUND NOTHING. CONTINUED ON OUR WAY AND RETURNED TO CALIFORNIA, HEADING FOR 29 PALMS VIA KELSO, CALIF. WHEN WE GOT FUMES AGAIN ONLY HEAVIER, COMBINED WITH TIGHTEN FUEL CAP WARNING SCREEN ON DASH. AGAIN INSPECTED CAR, REINSTALLED FUEL CAP SEVERAL TIMES. NO LEAKS DETECTED, AIRED OUT CAR AND GOT THE SAME CONDITION EVERY TIME WE GAINED SIGNIFICANT ALTITUDE. THE NEXT DAY WE REPLACED THE FUEL CAP AND SO FAR NO FLAMMABLE FUMES. THANK GOD NEITHER OF US SMOKE.

View Details

ENGINE

5/15/2017 - MADISON, MS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HONDA CIVIC. ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS, WHILE THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL TOOK THREE TO FOUR SECONDS TO ACCELERATE AND THEN STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS FUNCTIONING AS DESIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 27,000. UPDATED 07/13/17

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/14/2017 - HICKSVILLE, NY
I HAVE A 2013 HONDA CIVIC. I BOUGHT IS A CERTIFIED PRE-OWNED FROM BROADWAY HONDA, GREENVILLE, SC. IT WENT WELL FOR A YEAR THOUGHT THE ONE YEAR WARRANTY WITH ZERO PROBLEMS. BUT ONCE THE WARRANTY WAS OVER PROBLEMS STARTED TO SHOW UP EVERY OTHER MONTH. DURING THE HARSH WINTER OF MARCH ONE DAY THE BATTERY WENT DEAD AT A WALMART PARKING. I CALLED MY FRIEND AND JUMP STARTED IT AND IT WAS FINE. NEXT DAY I WENT TO THE HONDA SERVICE AND DID A DIAGNOSTIC. THEY SAID THE BATTERY IS ONLY 30%. IN 4 YEARS WITH 53K MILES THE BATTERY WENT BAD AND I REPLACED IT. AND DID A OIL CHANGE AND NYS INSPECTION. 15 DAYS WENT WELL. SUDDENLY ONE DAY MY AIR BAG INDICATOR STARTED TO BLINK WITH A MESSAGE "CHECK AIR BAG SYSTEM" ON THE SCREEN. I TOOK IT TO A FRIEND'S GARAGE AND HE SUSPECTED IT WAS A PASSENGER SIDE SEAT SENSOR THAT HAS AN ERROR. VERY TROUBLED I WENT TO HONDA SERVICE AGAIN. THEY CHARGED $130 JUST FOR SCANNING AND DIAGNOSTICS. THEY CAME BACK SAID THE PASSENGER SEAT AIRBAG SENSOR WENT BAD. I ASKED THEM HOW CAN SOMETHING LIKE A SENSOR GO BAD. BELIEVE ME I ONLY USE MY CAR TO GO TO OFFICE AND ERRANDS. MY WIFE SITS AT THE BACK WITH MY BABY(INFANT). VERY RARELY THE SEAT IS USED. I ASKED THEM HOW MUCH WOULD IT COST AND THEY SAID IT WILL COST ANOTHER $880 DOLLARS TO REPLACE THE SENSOR. I ALSO WANT HONDA TO KNOW THE PROBLEM AS ONE CAN'T PAY SO MUCH TO REPLACE ONE SENSOR.

View Details
Pages:  <<  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds