Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI ACCENT - 2013 HYUNDAI ACCENT Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 22 complaints filed for the 2013 HYUNDAI ACCENT

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HYUNDAI ACCENT. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HYUNDAI ACCENT, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (1) Suspension (3) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (3) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (4) Power Train (5) Structure (2) Unknown Or Other (1) Wheels (1)
Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  ... 3
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/24/2014 - KNOXVILLE, TN
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI ACCENT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT SHORTLY AFTER STOPPING THE VEHICLE AND SWITCHING THE TRANSMISSION TO THE PARK POSITION THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY ACCELERATED AND CRASHED INTO THE REAR OF A PARKED VEHICLE. THE CONTACT INDICATED THE DURING THE INCIDENT THE FUEL PEDAL ERRONEOUSLY WENT TO THE FLOOR AND WHILE PRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL THE VEHICLE COULD NOT BE STOPPED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT DURING THE CRASH THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUFFERED INJURIES TO BOTH KNEES AND TO THE NECK DURING THE CRASH. NO POLICE REPORT WAS TAKEN. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNAVAILABLE. JFT

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/24/2014 - KNOXVILLE, TN
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI ACCENT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT SHORTLY AFTER STOPPING THE VEHICLE AND SWITCHING THE TRANSMISSION TO THE PARK POSITION THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY ACCELERATED AND CRASHED INTO THE REAR OF A PARKED VEHICLE. THE CONTACT INDICATED THE DURING THE INCIDENT THE FUEL PEDAL ERRONEOUSLY WENT TO THE FLOOR AND WHILE PRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL THE VEHICLE COULD NOT BE STOPPED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT DURING THE CRASH THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUFFERED INJURIES TO BOTH KNEES AND TO THE NECK DURING THE CRASH. NO POLICE REPORT WAS TAKEN. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNAVAILABLE. JFT

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/17/2014 - TUCKERTON, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI ACCENT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE CLUTCH WAS DEPRESSED INADVERTENTLY WHICH CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO CRASH INTO A CEMENT POLE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND THE CONTACT SUSTAINED LACERATIONS TO THE FOREHEAD AND KNEE WHICH REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 18,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/24/2014 - KNOXVILLE, TN
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE STREET TO MY SISTER HOUSE, WHEN I GOT TO HER HOUSE I PULLED UP BEHIND HER CAR APPROXIMATELY 10 TO 15 FT. ON THE CURB AND ON THE STREET, I STOPPED THE CAR, PUT IN IN PARK WHILE STILL RUNNING, WHEN I TOUCHED THE SWITCH TO TURN THE CAR OFF, THE GAS PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR AND THE CAR RAN INTO THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME NOT EJECTING THE SEAT BELT.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

7/24/2014 - KNOXVILLE, TN
I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE STREET TO MY SISTER HOUSE, WHEN I GOT TO HER HOUSE I PULLED UP BEHIND HER CAR APPROXIMATELY 10 TO 15 FT. ON THE CURB AND ON THE STREET, I STOPPED THE CAR, PUT IN IN PARK WHILE STILL RUNNING, WHEN I TOUCHED THE SWITCH TO TURN THE CAR OFF, THE GAS PEDAL WENT TO THE FLOOR AND THE CAR RAN INTO THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME NOT EJECTING THE SEAT BELT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/3/2014 - VINEMONT, AL
WAS DRIVING DOWN THE INTERSTATE AND WENT TO GET OFF ON AN EXIT AND PRESSED THE BRAKE TO SLOW DOWN AND PRESSED THE CLUTCH IN TO START GEARING DOWN AND AS SOON AS I PRESSED THE CLUTCH SOMETHING BROKE IN THE CLUTCH AND IT WOULD NOT ENGAGE ANYMORE. I COASTED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE OFF RAMP AND CUT THE CAR OFF. ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE CAME OUT AND TOWED MY CAR TO HYUNDAI OF DECATUR. MY CAR SAT FOR THREE DAYS BEFORE THEY WOULD EVEN PULL IT IN. WHEN THEY FINALLY DID, THEY DIDN'T EVEN GET PERMISSION FROM THE OWNER TO TEAR THE ENGINE DOWN. ALL HE DID WAS TAKE OFF THE VALVE COVER AND AUTOMATICALLY TRIED TO BLAME THE ENGINE BEING LOCKED UP ON IT HAVING LOW OIL WHICH IT DID NOT CONSIDERING IT HAD AN OIL CHANGE ON THE 20TH OF JUNE AND THE CAR BROKE DOWN ON THE 29TH. THE MECHANIC DID NOT EVEN LOOK AT WHERE THE PROBLEM ORIGINATED. OH, AND NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT OR LOW OIL LIGHT CAME ON SO THAT TELLS ME THAT IT HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH THE OIL. IT TELLS ME THAT THERE WAS FAULTY PARTS IN THE CLUTCH AND NOW THEY ARE TRYING EVERY WAY THEY POSSIBLY CAN TO GET OUT OF REPAIRING MY CAR UNDER THE WARRANTY. SO IF YOU COULD PLEASE DO ALL YOU CAN TO GET THIS OUT THERE THAT HYUNDAI OF DECATUR ARE HATEFUL AND TREAT THEIR CUSTOMERS LIKE TRASH AND DON'T ABIDE BY THEIR WARRANTIES. I ADVISE ANYONE TO NEVER PURCHASE A CAR FROM THEM EVER.

View Details

ENGINE

7/3/2014 - VINEMONT, AL
WAS DRIVING DOWN THE INTERSTATE AND WENT TO GET OFF ON AN EXIT AND PRESSED THE BRAKE TO SLOW DOWN AND PRESSED THE CLUTCH IN TO START GEARING DOWN AND AS SOON AS I PRESSED THE CLUTCH SOMETHING BROKE IN THE CLUTCH AND IT WOULD NOT ENGAGE ANYMORE. I COASTED OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE OFF RAMP AND CUT THE CAR OFF. ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE CAME OUT AND TOWED MY CAR TO HYUNDAI OF DECATUR. MY CAR SAT FOR THREE DAYS BEFORE THEY WOULD EVEN PULL IT IN. WHEN THEY FINALLY DID, THEY DIDN'T EVEN GET PERMISSION FROM THE OWNER TO TEAR THE ENGINE DOWN. ALL HE DID WAS TAKE OFF THE VALVE COVER AND AUTOMATICALLY TRIED TO BLAME THE ENGINE BEING LOCKED UP ON IT HAVING LOW OIL WHICH IT DID NOT CONSIDERING IT HAD AN OIL CHANGE ON THE 20TH OF JUNE AND THE CAR BROKE DOWN ON THE 29TH. THE MECHANIC DID NOT EVEN LOOK AT WHERE THE PROBLEM ORIGINATED. OH, AND NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT OR LOW OIL LIGHT CAME ON SO THAT TELLS ME THAT IT HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH THE OIL. IT TELLS ME THAT THERE WAS FAULTY PARTS IN THE CLUTCH AND NOW THEY ARE TRYING EVERY WAY THEY POSSIBLY CAN TO GET OUT OF REPAIRING MY CAR UNDER THE WARRANTY. SO IF YOU COULD PLEASE DO ALL YOU CAN TO GET THIS OUT THERE THAT HYUNDAI OF DECATUR ARE HATEFUL AND TREAT THEIR CUSTOMERS LIKE TRASH AND DON'T ABIDE BY THEIR WARRANTIES. I ADVISE ANYONE TO NEVER PURCHASE A CAR FROM THEM EVER.

View Details

TIRES

6/12/2014 - NEW YORK, NY
I HAVE KUMHO SOLUS KH25 TIRES WITH SEVERAL BUBBLES IN (3) OF MY TIRES..MY CAR IS LESS THAN TWO YEARS OLD..WITH A LITTLE OVER 22,500 MILES.THE FIRST BUBBLE I NOTICE, WAS AT MY FIRST SCHEDULED SERVICE..THE DEALER KEEPS TELLING ME ..THAT BECAUSE I HAVE LOW PROFILE TIRES..I WILL BE SUBJECT TO GETTING BUBBLES IN THEM IF I HIT POTHOLES..I LIVE IN A CITY WHERE EVERY STREET HAS SOME KIND OF POTHOLE IN IT..I ALSO HAVE TWO OTHER CARS THAT I HAVE HAD MUCH LONGER THAN THIS ONE..RIDING THE SAME STREETS WITH" NO BUBBLES". SO IF I WANT TO KEEP THIS VEHICLE... I SHOULD EXPECT TO BE CHANGING TIRES ONCE OR TWICE A YEAR...THE LEFT FRONT TIRE HAS (3) BUBBLES, THE RIGHT FRONT TIRE HAS (2)BUBBLES, THE RIGHT REAR HAS (1)BUBBLE..I REALLY BELIEVE THAT SOMETHING IS WRONG WITH THE SIDE WALLS OF THESE TIRES...I EVEN CONTACTED KUMHO.. TO NO AVAIL..I AM WORRIED ABOUT THE SAFETY OF MY FAMILY AND MYSELF...IHAVE BEEN DRIVING FOR OVER 40 YEARS AND NEVER HAD PROBLEMS WITH ANY OF MY TIRES LIKE THIS... EVER!! IT WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED IF SOMEONE COULD LOOK INTO THIS MATTER ASAP...

View Details

SEAT BELTS

5/5/2014 - LOS ANGELES, CA
THE DRIVER SIDE SEAT BELT ON MY 2013 ACCENT IS DEFECTIVE. ALTHOUGH THE DEALER AND THE MANUFACTURE AGREE THE CAR IS UNDER WARRANTY BOTH STATE I MUST PAY $110.00 FOR THE REPAIR. THIS CAR IS UNSAFE TO DRIVE.

View Details

STEERING

4/22/2014 - CHICOPEE, MA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI ACCENT. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE TRAVELING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE VEERED TO THE LEFT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A PRIVATE MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS FOUND THAT THE DRIVER FRONT WHEEL BEARING NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  ... 3
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds