Auto Recalls for Consumers

HYUNDAI ELANTRA - 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Hyundai Motor America

There are 598 complaints filed for the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (63) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (33) Steering (104) Unknown Or Other (42)
Electrical System (73) Exterior Lighting (41) Seat Belts (7) Structure (31) Vehicle Speed Control (31)
Electronic Stability Control (36) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Seats (1) Suspension (83) Visibility (24)
Engine (96) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (81) Tires (52) Visibility Wiper (12)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (3) Traction Control System (2) Wheels (63)
Equipment (1) Parking Brake (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 89
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

11/8/2018 - VACAVILLE, CA
IN NOVEMBER OF 2016 NOTICE CAR BEGAN TO HESITATE AND COMING HOME FROM A DRIVE THE VEHICLE DIED IN FRONT OF HOUSE. TOOK TO HYUNDAI VACAVILLE AND THEY STATED IT WAS A COMPUTER PROBLEM. UPDATE APPLIED, DROVE HOME AND NOTICED TICKING FROM ENGINE. DROVE TO WORK AND NOTICED LOWER GAS MILEAGE AND CONTINUED TICKING. I TOOK THE CAR BACK TO THE DEALER WHO SAID THIS TIME IT WAS THE FUEL INJECTORS AND TO PUT IN CLEANER. DROVE HOME AND THEN TO WORK AND NOTICED TICKING GETTING LOUDER. TOOK THE CAR BACK TO DEALER AND THIS TIME I WAS TOLD THAT THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. UNFORTUNATELY, I WAS OUT OF WARRANTY AND HAD TO PAY FOR IT OUT OF POCKET WITH A RE MANUFACTURED FACTORY ENGINE WHICH WAS INSTALLED AROUND 12/23/2016. SINCE THEN STILL NOTICE A TICKING WITH NEW ENGINE AFTER PUTTING ABOUT 40,000 MILES ON IT AND CONCERNED THAT I WAS PROVIDED WITH A BAD ENGINE AGAIN. I KEEP UP WITH MAINTENANCE AS I DID WITH THE FIRST ENGINE WITH OIL CHANGES EVERY 3,000 MILES INSTEAD OF THE THE RECOMMENDED 7,500. I HAVE NOTICED MANY OTHER COMPLAINTS OF OWNERS OF MODEL YEAR 2013 WITH SIMILAR ISSUES. THE FAILURE WITH THE FIRST ENGINE WAS AT 127, 565 WHICH I BELIEVE SHOULD STILL NOT HAVE HAPPENED AS I HAVE A 2010 ACCENT WITH 180,000 AND NO PROBLEMS, AND HAD SEVERAL OTHER VEHICLES THAT WENT BEYOND 200,000 WITH NO ISSUES. I NOTICED THE TICKING NOISE BACK THEN TO BE PRONOUNCED WHEN ACCELERATING UP HILL AND WITH CURRENT ENGINE USUALLY HAVE TO WARM IT UP SO THAT WHEN I DRIVE I DO NOT HEAR ANY TICKING.

View Details

STEERING

11/1/2018 - ST PETE BEACH, FL
THERE IS A CLUNKING NOISE AT THE 11:00 AND 1:00 POINTS OF THE STEERING WHEEL. THIS OCCURS IN MOTION AS WELL AS WHILE THE VEHICLE IS STATIONARY. RESEARCH SHOWS THAT THE COUPLER IN THE STEERING WHEEL IS DETERIORATING AND CAUSING THE PROBLEM, REQUIRING REPLACEMENT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/30/2018 - ROCKFORD, IL
I AM HAVING A PROBLEM WITH UNINTENTIONAL ACCELERATION ON MY 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. I HAVE BEEN IN 2 NEAR ACCIDENTS IN THIS CAR SINCE I BOUGHT IT IN JULY OF 2018. MY REGULAR MECHANIC THOUGHT IT WAS A CAR MAT PROBLEM AND REMOVED THE MAT. THIS WAS AFTER MY CAR ACCELERATED SO HIGH THAT I JUMPED THE CURB AND LANDED IN THE YARD. IT DIDN'T STOP UNTIL I PUT IT IN PARK. I HAVE WITNESSES WHO SAW THIS HAPPEN. I DROVE THE CAR FOR 2 MORE WEEKS WITHOUT THE CAR MAT AND IT HAPPENED AGAIN. THIS TIME WITH MY NIECE IN THE CAR. IT DID NOT STOP UNTIL I PUT IT IN PARK. I TOOK IT TO MY LOCAL HYUNDAI DEALERSHIP BUT THEY DO NOT TAKE THE CAR OUT DRIVING ENOUGH TO DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM AND THEY WANT ME TO PICK UP THE CAR. I AM TERRIFIED TO DRIVE THIS CAR. I HAVE RESEARCHED THIS PROBLEM AND FIND THAT IT IS A COMMON PROBLEM WITH HYUNDAI VEHICLES. WHEN IS SOMEBODY GOING TO DO SOMETHING ABOUT THIS? THE FIRST TIME IT HAPPENED I WAS PULLING INTO MY PARKING SPOT IN MY APARTMENT BUILDING. THE SECOND TIME I WAS DRIVING AND TRIED TO STOP AT A RED LIGHT WHEN IT HAPPENED. HYUNDAI DOESN'T GIVE A DAMN. THEY THINK THAT AFTER DRIVING FOR OVER 40 YEARS, I AM SUDDENLY GETTING MY PEDALS MIXED UP!!!!! TELL THAT TO ELIZ LUSHAJ WHO HAD THE SAME PROBLEM. PLEASE HELP!!!!!!!!!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/28/2018 - WOONSOCKET, RI
MY CAR WAS PARKED ON THE SIDE OF MY DRIVEWAY AND ON MONDAY MORNING, I PUT MY KEY IN THE IGNITION AND THE CAR CRANKED BUT DID NOT WANT TO TURN OVER. THE NIGHT BEFORE, MY CAR WAS RUNNING FINE. I'M LUCKY THAT IT HAPPENED AT HOME AND NOT STRANDED ELSEWHERE. I CHANGED THE SPARK PLUGS AND CHECKED THE FUSES AND SENSORS AND STILL IT DID NOT WORK. AFTER READING OTHER FORUMS, THERE WERE ALOT OF PEOPLE WHO WERE HAVING THE SAME ISSUE. A MECHANIC TOLD ME THAT I SHOULD CHANGE THE IGNITION SWITCH. I WENT TO HYUNDAI PARTS TO BUY ONE AND THE GUY WHO WORKS THERE TOLD ME THAT THE SWITCH IS A KNOWN ISSUE AND IS MADE OF PLASTIC THAT CAN EASILY CAUSE CRACKS OR CONDENSATION WHERE WATER CAN GO INSIDE. IN ADDITION, HE MENTIONED HYUNDAI KNEW ABOUT THIS AND MADE AN UPDATED PART WHICH IS MADE OF METAL. KNOWING THAT THIS WAS FAULTY AND HYUNDAI HAD HID THE INFORMATION, THE IGNITION SWITCH SHOULD HAVE BEEN RECALLED AND REPLACED FREE OF CHARGE.

View Details

WHEELS

10/26/2018 - LAS VEGAS, NV
I BOUGHT MY 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA USED WITH OVER $60,000 MILES ALREADY DRIVEN. I RECEIVED A RECALL LETTER FOR MY CAR AND TOOK IT TO THE HYUNDAI DEALER WHO WAS SUPPOSED TO FIX A SAFETY ISSUE WITH THE BRAKE SYSTEM. WHEN I GOT MY CAR BACK AFTER THE +FREE REPAIR+ I NOTICED A CLICKING SOUND COMING FROM THE LEFT WHEEL OR PASSENGER SIDE WHEEL. I TOLD THE DEALER WHO SAID I DON+T HAVE EXTENDED MAINTENANCE COVERAGE ON IT UNLESS I PURCHASE ONE WHICH I WAS QUOTED ANOTHER $300 PLUS A MONTH ON TO COVER REPAIRS. I AM PAYING $238.22 A MONTH ON TIME SINCE JUNE 2017 AND INSURANCE. DO I HAVE TO SPEND MORE THAN MY BUDGET FOR A CAR SOLD TO ME WITH THE PROMISE IT HAD NO PROBLEMS? I DON+T THINK IT+S RIGHT THAT I HAVE TAKEN OVER SOMEONE+S USED CAR THAT OBVIOUSLY I AM EXPECTED TO PAY FOR DOUBLE BECAUSE OF THE ISSUES THE CAR HAD AND WAS NOT DISCLOSED TO ME WHEN I BOUGHT IT. THE CLICKING SOUND ON THE WHEEL IS LOUD WHEN I AM DRIVING SLOWLY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/26/2018 - LAS VEGAS, NV
I BOUGHT MY 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA USED WITH OVER $60,000 MILES ALREADY DRIVEN. I RECEIVED A RECALL LETTER FOR MY CAR AND TOOK IT TO THE HYUNDAI DEALER WHO WAS SUPPOSED TO FIX A SAFETY ISSUE WITH THE BRAKE SYSTEM. WHEN I GOT MY CAR BACK AFTER THE +FREE REPAIR+ I NOTICED A CLICKING SOUND COMING FROM THE LEFT WHEEL OR PASSENGER SIDE WHEEL. I TOLD THE DEALER WHO SAID I DON+T HAVE EXTENDED MAINTENANCE COVERAGE ON IT UNLESS I PURCHASE ONE WHICH I WAS QUOTED ANOTHER $300 PLUS A MONTH ON TO COVER REPAIRS. I AM PAYING $238.22 A MONTH ON TIME SINCE JUNE 2017 AND INSURANCE. DO I HAVE TO SPEND MORE THAN MY BUDGET FOR A CAR SOLD TO ME WITH THE PROMISE IT HAD NO PROBLEMS? I DON+T THINK IT+S RIGHT THAT I HAVE TAKEN OVER SOMEONE+S USED CAR THAT OBVIOUSLY I AM EXPECTED TO PAY FOR DOUBLE BECAUSE OF THE ISSUES THE CAR HAD AND WAS NOT DISCLOSED TO ME WHEN I BOUGHT IT. THE CLICKING SOUND ON THE WHEEL IS LOUD WHEN I AM DRIVING SLOWLY.

View Details

STEERING

10/26/2018 - SEMINOLE, FL
MY STEERING COUPLER HAS DETERIORATED TO THE POINT WHERE IT IS UNSAFE TO DRIVE MY VEHICLE. I HAVE SEEN MANY OTHER REPORTS OF THE SAME PROBLEM ONLINE

View Details

STEERING

10/19/2018 - MARINA DEL REY, CA
ELECTRONIC STABILITY LIGHT CAME ON, AND SLOWED THE VEHICLE AT RANDOM MOMENTS. AFTER TWO DAYS, STEERING BEGAN MAKING A "POP" SOUND WHEN TURNING LEFT OR RIGHT. BROUGHT TO DEALER AND CONFIRMED THE ISSUE IS WITH THE RACK AND PINION. CAR HAS 40K MILES AND IS ONLY 5 YEARS OLD. NO ACCIDENTS AND USED ONLY TO COMMUTE <10 MILES TO AND FROM WORK. THIS IS CONSIDERED OUTSIDE OF HYUNDAI'S 5 YEAR WARRANTY (EVEN THOUGH I AM WITHIN THE MILEAGE CONSIDERATION) SO IS NOT COVERED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/18/2018 - DU QUOIN, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER TO BE DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 85,000.

View Details

ENGINE

10/18/2018 - DU QUOIN, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 HYUNDAI ELANTRA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER TO BE DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 85,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 89
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds