Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2013 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 274 complaints filed for the 2013 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (23) Exterior Lighting (14) Seat Belts (3) Structure (11) Vehicle Speed Control (19)
Electrical System (37) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Seats (13) Suspension (6) Visibility (21)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (11) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (143) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (8) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Power Train (34) Steering (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 38
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

4/2/2018 - SAN BERNARDINO, CA
MY SORENTO OVERHEATED AND I STOPPED THE SORENTO RIGHT AWAY . I TOWED IT TO MY KIA DEALER AND THEY TOLD ME I NEEDED A NEW ENGINE BECAUSE THE HEAD GASKETS WERE BLOWN. I DON+T UNDERSTAND HOW MY 2013 SORENTO THAT I PURCHASED NEW ALREADY NEEDED A NEW ENGINE. I HAD TAKEN IT TO TWO KIA DEALERS AND THEY WERE RUDE ABOUT THE ENTIRE SITUATION AND BLAMED ME FOR THE DAMAGE OF THE VEHICLE. THIS HAPPENED MARCH OF 2017 AND I AM NOW READING THE RECALLS FOR THE SORENTO AND THERE ARE RECALLS FOR THE ENGINE SEIZING BUT I DON+T UNDERSTAND WHY MY SORENTO ISN+T ONE OF THE CARS BEING RECALLED IF MY CAR JUST SEIZED UP OUT OF NOWHERE AND A MONTH PRIO TO THE INCIDENT I HAD AN OIL CHANGE AND EVERYTHING WAS FINE .

View Details

ENGINE

3/22/2018 - PEMBROKE PINES, FL
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

View Details

VISIBILITY: SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

3/20/2018 - BLACKLICK, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING 67 MPH WITH THE SUN ROOF CLOSED, THE SUN ROOF FRACTURED. GLASS AND DEBRIS FELL INTO THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT WAS NOT INJURED. RICART KIA (4255 S HAMILTON RD #210, GROVEPORT, OH 43125, (614) 836-6503) WAS NOTIFIED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 92,000.

View Details

ENGINE

3/15/2018 - NORTH PORT, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING UNKNOWN SPEEDS, THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL DEALER (SUNSET KIA OF VENICE, 1179 US HIGHWAY 41 BYP S, VENICE, FL 34285) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CHECK ENGINE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AGAIN. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE SAME DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY PART WAS INSTALLED INCORRECTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CHECK ENGINE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AGAIN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO KIA OF VENICE (1179 US HIGHWAY 41 BYP S, VENICE, FL 34285) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE POWER CONTROL MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, THE FAILURE RECURRED, AND THE CHECK ENGINE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO SUNSET KIA OF VENICE WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE O2 SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED AND THE CHECK ENGINE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO SUNSET KIA OF VENICE WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, THE FAILURE RECURRED, AND THE CHECK ENGINE INDICATOR FLASHED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO SUNSET KIA OF VENICE WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THERE WERE METAL SHAVINGS IN THE ENGINE AND THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND OPENED CASE NUMBER: 13658651. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 48,899.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/15/2018 - NORTH PORT, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING UNKNOWN SPEEDS, THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL DEALER (SUNSET KIA OF VENICE, 1179 US HIGHWAY 41 BYP S, VENICE, FL 34285) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CHECK ENGINE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AGAIN. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE SAME DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY PART WAS INSTALLED INCORRECTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CHECK ENGINE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AGAIN. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO KIA OF VENICE (1179 US HIGHWAY 41 BYP S, VENICE, FL 34285) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE POWER CONTROL MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, THE FAILURE RECURRED, AND THE CHECK ENGINE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO SUNSET KIA OF VENICE WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE O2 SENSOR NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED AND THE CHECK ENGINE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO SUNSET KIA OF VENICE WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, THE FAILURE RECURRED, AND THE CHECK ENGINE INDICATOR FLASHED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO SUNSET KIA OF VENICE WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THERE WERE METAL SHAVINGS IN THE ENGINE AND THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED AND OPENED CASE NUMBER: 13658651. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 48,899.

View Details

ENGINE

3/15/2018 - ALLEN, TX
MY CAR HAS WORKED FINE UP UNTIL THE VERY MOMENT THIS OCCURRED. I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT 60 MPH WHEN IT STARTED MAKING CLICKING NOISES. IT BECAME VERY HARD AND HEAVY TO DRIVE. NOT MORE THAN 15 MILES LATER I WAS ABLE TO EXIT AND THE MOMENT I TURNED RIGHT THE ENGINE BEGAN TO SHAKE, THE POWER STEERING NO LONGER WORKED, AND THE CAR SHUT OFF. THANK GOODNESS I WAS ABLE TO GLIDE INTO A PARKING LOT OR A MAJOR ACCIDENT AND INJURIES COULD HAVE OCCURRED. THERE ARE METAL SHAVINGS IN MY OIL AND THE BEARING COMPLETELY FELL OUT OF MY CAR. I WENT BACK TO PICK UP ALL THE PIECES (SEE PICTURE ATTACHED) NO ENGINE LIGHT HAS EVER COME ON. I HAVE NEVER MISSED AN OIL CHANGE. THIS CAR IS ONLY 6 YEARS OLD WITH 67,000 MILES ON IT. KIA IS CLAIMING MY CAR IS NOT ONE THAT IS IN THE ENGINE RECALL.

View Details

ENGINE

3/13/2018 - GOODYEAR, AZ
ENGINE ON VEHICLE LOCKED UP WHILE DRIVING ON THE INTERSTATE DOING 75 MPH WITH NO WORRIES OR INDICATION THAT SOMETHING WAS WRONG

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/5/2018 - HOUSTON, TX
SRS

View Details

ENGINE

2/28/2018 - CAPE CORAL, FL
THE NHTSA.DOT.GOV SITE SAYS THERE ARE ZERO RECALLS FOR MY CAR. THIS IS NOT TRUE. MY CAR HAD AN ENGINE RECALL IN JUNE OF 2017 WHICH HAS NOT BEEN SATISFIED. THEY NOW SAY THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH MY ENGINE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/26/2018 - APEX, NC
INTERNAL SHORT IN THE OCS MAT SENSOR LOCATED IN MY PASSENGER SEAT WHERE THERE IS RARELY ANYONE SITTING. THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY ISSUE THAT DISABLES MY ENTIRE AIRBAG SYSTEM. IT'S A $2100 REPAIR THAT SEEMS TO BE A RECURRING ISSUE FOR KIA.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 38
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds