Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2013 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 213 complaints filed for the 2013 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (15) Exterior Lighting (12) Seat Belts (3) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (18)
Electrical System (34) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Seats (13) Suspension (5) Visibility (20)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (9) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (99) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (7) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Power Train (30) Steering (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 31
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

6/23/2017 - AMARILLO, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V224000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING); HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO PETE KIA WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION FAILED. THE DEALER REFUSED TO PERFORM THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 112,000. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/23/2017 - AMARILLO, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V224000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING); HOWEVER, THE PARTS TO DO THE REPAIR WERE UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO PETE KIA WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION FAILED. THE DEALER REFUSED TO PERFORM THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 112,000. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

ENGINE

6/21/2017 - ARVADA, CO
MY 2013 KIA SORENTO SHOULD BECOME A PART OF THE RECALL THAT IS CURRENTLY INVOLVING KIA MOTORS. WE CHANGED OUR OIL AND NOTICED IT TO BE WHAT MY HUSBAND CALLED A BIT LUMPY. TOOK OUR CAR INTO THE LOCAL GARAGE AND THEY TOLD US THERE WAS A LEAK ON THE TOP OF THE MOTOR. WE PLANNED ON FIXING THIS THE FOLLOWING PAYDAY, BUT INSTEAD LEFT THE DEALERSHIP TO A HIGH PITCHED SQUEAL AND THAT WAS IT THE CAR NEVER MOVED AGAIN. THE RODS WERE SHOT AND CAUSED MOTOR TO SEIZE. OUR LOCAL GARAGE, BENDING WRENCHES BELIEVES THERE IS EVIDENCE TO SUPPORT OUR CLAIM. WE HAVE PAID FOR A NEW ENGINE TO BE PLACED IN VEHICLE AND ARE HOPING TO BECOME A PART OF THIS RECALL AND BE REIMBURSED FOR THIS MANUFACTURER DEFECT. WE HAVE ALL PAPERWORK FROM GARAGE AND ALSO KEPT THE OIL THAT HAD BEEN CHANGED FROM THE KIA SHOWING THAT THERE IS PROBABLY LITTLE FLEKS OF THE METAL FROM THE RODS IN THIS OIL WHICH CAUSED IT TO BECOME LUMPY. NOT SURE WHERE ELSE TO TURN FOR HELP WITH THIS CLAIM.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/19/2017 - APO, AE
THE VEHICLE HAS A RECALL THAT I WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF. I AM STATIONED OVERSEAS WITH THE US ARMY. HOW DO I VERFIY IF THE DEFINCIENCY WAS CORRECTED PRIOR TO BUYING THE VEHICLE.

View Details

STEERING

6/14/2017 - BALLWIN, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 10 MPH, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER SUDDENLY WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO APPLY THE BRAKES, BUT THEY FAILED TO RESPOND. THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO STEER THE VEHICLE TO THE SHOULDER, BUT THE STEERING FAILED. THE VEHICLE CAME TO A STOP AND WAS ABLE TO BE RESTARTED AFTER THE SECOND ATTEMPT. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER (KIA WEST COUNTY), BUT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 88,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/14/2017 - BALLWIN, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 10 MPH, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER SUDDENLY WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO APPLY THE BRAKES, BUT THEY FAILED TO RESPOND. THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO STEER THE VEHICLE TO THE SHOULDER, BUT THE STEERING FAILED. THE VEHICLE CAME TO A STOP AND WAS ABLE TO BE RESTARTED AFTER THE SECOND ATTEMPT. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER (KIA WEST COUNTY), BUT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 88,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/14/2017 - BALLWIN, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 10 MPH, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER SUDDENLY WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO APPLY THE BRAKES, BUT THEY FAILED TO RESPOND. THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO STEER THE VEHICLE TO THE SHOULDER, BUT THE STEERING FAILED. THE VEHICLE CAME TO A STOP AND WAS ABLE TO BE RESTARTED AFTER THE SECOND ATTEMPT. THE CONTACT TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER (KIA WEST COUNTY), BUT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 88,000.

View Details

ENGINE

6/14/2017 - ALBION, MI
KIA SORENTO 2013 88K MILES, GOING DOWN HIGHWAY, LOSS OF POWER, LIGHT CLUNKING NOISE. COASTED TO STOP. TOWED TO A SHOP. THEY SAID TIMING CHAIN NOT LUBRICATED, BROKE AND DESTROYED CYLINDER HEAD. CAN'T GET REPLACEMENT MOTOR BECAUSE OF A FREEZE ON SELLING THESE MOTORS.

View Details

ENGINE

6/8/2017 - JACKSON, MI
KIA RECALL: WHILE DRIVING AT 60 MPH ON A TWO LANE HIGHWAY, THE ENGINE SEIZED UP ON MY 2013 KIA SORENTO WITH 78000 MILES ON IT. THE COMPANY THAT REBUILT THE ENGINE SAID IT WAS DUE TO A LOSS OF OIL PRESSURE. HOWEVER THE OIL WAS FULL AND CLEAN AND WAS 1000 MILES BELOW ITS NEXT SCHEDULED OIL CHANGE. THE ENGINE DID NOT MAKE ANY NOISES PRIOR TO THE FAILURE. KIA STATES THAT THE VIN # ON MY SORENTO IS NOT PART OF THE RECENT RECALL ON THEIR ENGINES THAT ARE FAILING IN THIS SAME MANNER. I HAD THE ENGINE REBUILT (AT A VERY HEFTY PRICE) AND AM LOOKING FOR REIMBURSEMENT.

View Details

ENGINE

5/11/2017 - LA PORTE, TX
THE VEHICLE HAS 38000 MILES ON IT AND ALREADY NEEDS A NEW ENGINE. KIA WILL NOT REPLACE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 31
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds