Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2013 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 263 complaints filed for the 2013 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (20) Exterior Lighting (13) Seat Belts (3) Structure (11) Vehicle Speed Control (18)
Electrical System (36) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Seats (13) Suspension (6) Visibility (20)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (11) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (137) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (8) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Power Train (34) Steering (10)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 36
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

2/18/2018 - LAGRANGE PARK, IL
CAR RECALLED DUE TO DEFECTIVE MANUFACTURING PROCESS LEAVING METAL SHAVINGS IN ENGINE. TOOK TO DEALER OCT 2017 AS DIRECTED. DEALER CHANGED OIL AND REPORTED NO PROBLEM. CAR WAS SERVICED REGULARLY AND RAN NO PROBLEM OCT 17 UNTIL FEB 15 2018. NO ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ACTIVATED EVER BUT ENGINE SEIZED WHILE DRIVING IN 4 LANE TRAFFIC DURING RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC. DANGEROUS PUSH CAR ACROSS MULTIPLE LANES WITH GOOD SAMARITAN HELP. CAR TOWED TO DEALER. AT MY EXPENSE. NO CAR NOW FOR 4 DAYS. DEALER (KIA BERWYN IL.) NOT RETURNING PHONE CALLS. DEALER EVIDENTLY DID NOT CHECK FOR METAL SHAVINGS IN SYSTEM AT TIME OF RECALL. CAR SEIZING AND SMOKING WHILE GOING 40 MPH WAS A MAJOR SAFETY HAZARD. DEALER SERVICE EMPLOYEE DID NOT MENTION THE SAFETY RECALL IN 2017 & FACT WE COMPLIED AS INSTRUCTED. HAVE BEEN READING BLOG POSTS REGARDING SIMILAR PROBLEMS NOT BEING HONORED BY KIA AND I NOW KNOW ABOUT THREATENED CLASS ACTION LAW SUIT. IF KIA WILL NOT RETURN MY CALLS & REPLACE ENGINE AT NO COST I WILL SEEK LEGAL REMEDY. PLEASE ADVISE. THANK YOU. JOHN NEIWEEM 847-609-6420

View Details

ENGINE

2/15/2018 - HOCKLEY, TX
THE ENGINE SEIZE WHILE DIVING AND IS NOT THE MODEL RECALL ON 17V224000

View Details

STEERING

2/14/2018 - LEOMINSTER, MA
WHEN SHARPLY TURNING RIGHT INTO A PARKING SPOT THERE IS LOUD KNOCK SEEMINGLY COMING FROM UNDER THE HOOD. I CHECKED THIS SITE FOR ANY RECALL NOTICES AND READ THE FOLLOWING RECALL: NHTSA RECALL NUMBER: 17V-224, RECALL DATE: MARCH 31, 2017, MANUFACTURER RECALL NUMBER: SC147 WHICH EFFECTS THIS SORT OF ISSUE. I HAVE NEVER RECEIVED ANY NOTICES FROM KIA INFORMING ME OF THIS SAFETY HAZARD OR AN OPPORTUNITY TO HAVE IT FIXED.

View Details

ENGINE

2/14/2018 - LEOMINSTER, MA
WHEN SHARPLY TURNING RIGHT INTO A PARKING SPOT THERE IS LOUD KNOCK SEEMINGLY COMING FROM UNDER THE HOOD. I CHECKED THIS SITE FOR ANY RECALL NOTICES AND READ THE FOLLOWING RECALL: NHTSA RECALL NUMBER: 17V-224, RECALL DATE: MARCH 31, 2017, MANUFACTURER RECALL NUMBER: SC147 WHICH EFFECTS THIS SORT OF ISSUE. I HAVE NEVER RECEIVED ANY NOTICES FROM KIA INFORMING ME OF THIS SAFETY HAZARD OR AN OPPORTUNITY TO HAVE IT FIXED.

View Details

ENGINE

2/8/2018 - BRADENTON, FL
TL THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC AND THEN TOWED TO SUNSET KIA OF BRADENTON (4770 14TH STREET WEST, (US41), BRADENTON, FL 34207, (941) 752-1000) TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE ENGINE FAILED DUE TO METAL SHAVINGS THAT WERE FOUND IN THE ENGINE UPON INSPECTION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V224000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED THAT A USED ENGINE WOULD BE PROVIDED FOR THE REPLACEMENT; HOWEVER, A LABOR CHARGE WOULD BE ASSESSED FOR THE REPAIR. THE CONTACT WAS PROVIDED CASE NUMBER: 12622086. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 75,000.

View Details

ENGINE

2/6/2018 - TAYLOR, TX
CAR HAS BEEN COMPLETELY FINE. DRIVING HOME ALL OF A SUDDEN I HEAR A LOUD NOISE AND FEEL VIBRATION. HAD A MECHANIC CHECK THE VEHICLE OUT AND THE ENGINE ROD IS MESSED UP. I NEED A NEW ENGINE. GOING 60MPH

View Details

ENGINE

2/1/2018 - SANFORD, ME
TL THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED AND THE OIL WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED IMMEDIATELY AFTERWARDS. THE CONTACT COASTED THE VEHICLE TO THE SHOULDER. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER (BILL DODGE KIA IN SACO, MAINE) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE SAME DEALER A MONTH PRIOR FOR AN ENGINE EVALUATION AS PER THE MANUFACTURER'S RECALL NOTIFICATION. DURING THAT TIME, THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE ENGINE WAS FINE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND CASE NUMBER: 112611205 WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE VIN WAS INVALID. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 78,000.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

1/28/2018 - CONWAY, AR
PASSENGER HEADLIGHT FAILED. TOOK TO DEALERSHIP. THEY STATE THE WIRING HARNESS IS "MELTED" AND "THERE'S NO REPAIR OR PIGTAIL REPLACEMENT, YOU HAVE TO REPLACE THE WHOLE ASSEMBLY." ENTIRE HEADLIGHT ASSEMBLIES FROM KIA ARE $600. THE VEHICLE JUST HIT 61K MILES. MANUFACTURER'S WARRANTY WOULDN'T COVER THIS ISSUE. SO I TOOK IT HOME AND TOOK IT APART. THERE IS VOLTAGE TO THE HEADLIGHT, AND THERE IS VOLTAGE TO THE HEADLIGHT PLUG. THE GROUND SIDE OF THE HEADLIGHT PLUG LOOKS OVERHEATED, THE PLASTIC MOLEX CONNECTOR IS BORED OUT AND SHOWS CORROSION. WHEN THE BULB IS PLUGGED IN, IT WORKS SOMETIMES. I HAVE TO MESS WITH IT. THIS IS OBVIOUSLY A DEFECT. I SEE LOTS OF OTHER COMPLAINTS.

View Details

ENGINE

1/23/2018 - BERWYN, IL
ENGINE FAILED AT 82,000.00 MILES. THIS IS THE 2.4L I-4 MPI ENGINE THAT IS NOT INCLUDED IN THE RECALL. VEHICLE IS AT DEALER AWAITING REPLACEMENT ENGINE. TECHNICIAN STATES THAT THE FAILED ENGINE PART IS IDENTICAL TO THE GDI THAT WHICH WAS RECALLED. IT HAS BEEN A MONTH AND DEALER CANNOT GIVE TIMETABLE ON THE REPAIR. JUST THAT THE ENGINE IS ON ORDER. COME ON KIA GET YOUR ACT TOGETHER ON THIS. BEFORE THIS INCIDENT THIS WAS THE BEST VEHICLE I HAVE EVER OWNED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/27/2017 - LIVERMORE, CA
AROUND 4:30AM (STILL DARK OUTSIDE) I WAS ON MY WAY TO WORK, MY ENGINE WAS MAKING KNOCKING SOUNDS AND I STARTED TO GET OFF ON AN EXIT, ALL OF THE SUDDEN IT SEEMED AS IF EVERY LIGHT ON THE DASHBOARD CAME ON, THE OIL CHANGE LIGHT AND SOME SIGNS I'VE NEVER SEEN BEFORE LIGHTED UP, THE CAR WENT DEAD AND CAME BACK ON INSTANTLY, THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED AND I COULD NO LONGER ACCELERATE ALMOST CAUSING A MAJOR CAR ACCIDENT. I TURNED MY HAZARDS ON AND REMAINED IN THE MIDDLE OF AN EXIT UNTIL HELP ARRIVED AND WAS ABLE TO PUT MY CAR IN NEUTRAL AND PUSH MY VEHICLE BUMPER TO BUMPER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 36
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds