Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2013 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 228 complaints filed for the 2013 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (16) Exterior Lighting (12) Seat Belts (3) Structure (10) Vehicle Speed Control (18)
Electrical System (34) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Seats (13) Suspension (5) Visibility (20)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (9) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (111) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (8) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Power Train (31) Steering (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

8/11/2017 - FRANKLIN, TN
I RECEIVED NOTICE OF NHTSA RECALL 17V-224, KIA ENGINE SAFETY RECALL CAMPAIGN SC147 IN THE END OF MAY 2017. THE VEHICLE WAS DIAGNOSED AS NEEDING THE RECALL WORK ON APPROXIMATELY JUNE 10, 2017. IT IS NOW AUGUST 11, 2017 AND THE RECALL HAS NOT BEEN COMPLETED AND THE VEHICLE HAS SAT AS UNDRIVEABLE FOR 2 MONTHS. THIS IS AN UNACCEPTABLE AMOUNT OF TIME TO COMPLETE THE SAFETY RECALL.

View Details

ENGINE

8/7/2017 - ALBANY, OR
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 KIA SORENTO. WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS STARTED, BLACK SMOKE APPEARED UNDER THE HOOD AND THE MUFFLER THAT EMITTED THROUGH THE VENTS INSIDE THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT TURNED THE ENGINE OFF AND CALLED AN UNKNOWN LOCAL KIA DEALER LOCATED IN SALEM, OR WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED DUE TO THE REPAIR FEES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT SHE DID NOT CHANGE THE OIL WHEN NEEDED; THEREFORE, THEY WOULD NOT MAKE ANY REPAIRS. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

8/2/2017 - SAPULPA, OK
WE WERE DRIVING OUR 2013 KIA SORENTO ON THE TURNER TURNPIKE IN OKLAHOMA GOING STRAIGHT AT APPROXIMATELY 75MPH ON JULY 22, 2017 AND THE CAR ENGINE WENT OUT. WE HAD IT TOWED TO KIA AND THEY SAID THE LONG BLOCK WENT OUT AND THE ENGINE SEIZED UP AND WE NEED TO REPLACE WITH A NEW ENGINE. THE CAR HAS APPROXIMATELY 90K MILES ON IT.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/1/2017 - NEWARK, DE
AIR BAG LIGHT IS ON CODE B1361

View Details

ENGINE

7/27/2017 - SOUTH SAN FRANCISCO, CA
CAR HAS 45K MILES. TOTAL LOSS DUE TO ENGINE FIRE. OIL PAN FAILURE. CAUSE AND ORIGIN REPORT PENDING

View Details

ENGINE

7/19/2017 - HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA
WHEN BEGINNING A RIGHT-HAND TURN AFTER STOPPING FOR RED LIGHT, THE ENGINE QUIT AND IT TOOK TWO ATTEMPTS TO RESTART IT. THE CAR WAS FULLY WARMED-UP AND HAD 3/4 TANK OF GAS,THE WEATHER WAS ABOUT 82 DEGREES AND HUMID..

View Details

ENGINE

7/18/2017 - RANDALL, IA
ON JULY 11TH 2017, MY HUSBAND WAS DRIVING HOME FROM WORK IN HIS 2013 KIA SORENTO ON INTERSTATE 35 GOING 65 MPH WHEN HE HEARD A LOUD NOISE COMING FROM UNDER THE HOOD. HE CONTINUED TO DRIVE TO GET TO THE REST STOP WHICH HE DID NOT MAKE IT THE ENGINE JUST DIED , NO WARNING LIGHTS OR ANYTHING, SO HE HAD TO PULLED OFF TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND CALLED FOR A TOW TRUCK, THE KIA WAS TOWED TO THE NEAREST MECHANIC WHICH UPON EXAMINATION OF THE CAR DETERMINED THAT THE ENGINE SEIZED UP AND WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED, THEY COULD REPLACE IT FOR $5000-6000 SINCE THEY ARE A GM DEALER WE DECIDED TO HAVE IT TOWED TO A KIA DEALER WHO CAME TO THE SAME CONCLUSION AND WOULD CHARGE US $5875 FOR A USED ENGINE WITH 120,000 MILES ON IT WHICH IS MORE THAN OUR CAR HAS ON IT OR $7100 FOR A NEW ENGINE. WE HAVE A 2.4 LITER MPI WHICH IS NOT PART OF THE RECALL BUT SHOULD BE, THERE IS NO REASON A 4 YEAR OLD CAR WITH ROUTINE OIL CHANGES SHOULD BLOW AND ENGINE!

View Details

ENGINE

7/17/2017 - BAGALOUSA, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING 55 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. KIA OF SLIDELL, LOUISIANA WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND REPLACED THE MOTOR IN THE ENGINE, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED BY THE DEALER THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN A RECALL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 35,000.

View Details

ENGINE

7/17/2017 - RESACA, GA
THE ENGINE CAUGHT ON FIRE WHILE TRAVELING DOWN THE INTERSTATE

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/14/2017 - SOUTH HILL, VA
VEHICLE STALLS SUDDENLY WHILE DRIVING 72 MPH IN TRAFFIC, THRUSTS ME OVER STEERING WHEEL. I WAS ABLE TO GET IT TO RIGHT LANE. PUZZLED FOUND OUT TIRES ARE FINE. UPON RETURNED TO HWY, VEHICLE WILL NOT ACCELERATE OVER 60 MPH. TOWED CAR. MECHANICS RUNS CODE AND FIND NO INCIDENTS. THEY DRIVE CAR AND FIND NOTHING. TEN DAYS, LATER CAR MIMICS SAME BEHAVIORS. VERY DANGEROUS AS I AM IN TRAFFIC AND CARS ARE BEHIND ME. TOWS CAR AGAIN. MECHANIC RUNS CODE AND FIND NOTHING. THEY DECIDES IT IS SOLENOID IN TRANSMISSION. THEY RELEASE IT ME. I AM DAYS LATE PICKING IT UP. THEY CONTINUE TO TEST DRIVE IT. CAR MIMICS SAME PUZZLING BEHAVIORS HOURS BEFORE I PICK IT UP. I HAD SEVERAL INCIDENTS OF VEHICLE STALL IN HWY BEFORE IT WAS TOWED TO DEALERSHIP. THERE WAS NO SMOKING, NO SPILLING LIQUIDS, NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, NO SMELLS, THE CAR WOULD MAKE A "THUMP" NOISE AND STOP. THIS IS FRIGHTENING AND DANGEROUS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds