Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2013 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 114 complaints filed for the 2013 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (21) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (13)
Electrical System (20) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seats (3) Suspension (4) Visibility (12)
Engine (61) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (5) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (6) Unknown Or Other (7) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

12/9/2014 - MILPITAS, CA
I BOUGHT THIS CAR BRAND NEW 2.5 YEARS AGO AND FOR ABOUT A YEAR OR MORE NOW I HAVE HAD AT LEAST 50 INCIDENCES OF MY CAR STALLING MOSTLY WHEN AT A STOP (EITHER STOP LIGHT OR STOP SIGN) BUT NOW IT'S EVEN STALLING WHEN I DECELERATE TO MAKE TURNS. THIS IS SO DANGEROUS AND I'M LUCKY I HAVEN'T BEEN IN AN ACCIDENT YET BECAUSE OF THE CAR STALLING OUT WHILE DRIVING. THE CAR FLIPS INTO "LIMP MODE" AND I'M UNABLE TO ACCELERATE. I'VE HAD MY CAR CHECKED OUT AT THE KIA DEALERSHIP/SERVICE CENTER MANY, MANY TIMES AND THEY SAY THEY DID SOME TYPE OF SYSTEMS LOGIC UPDATE AND THE CAR SHOULD BE OK, BUT SOMETIMES THE DAY OF OR DAY AFTER GETTING THE UPDATE, MY CAR WILL STALL AGAIN. THE SERVICE GUYS ALSO SAY THEY DON'T SEE ANY MESSAGE ON MY CAR COMPUTER SYSTEM THAT ANY STALLING HAS OCCURED. WHEN THIS HAPPENS, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT INTERMITTENTLY COMES ON.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/17/2014 - SPANAWAY, WA
WHEN LEAVING A STOP SIGN VEHICLE WENT TO IDLE AND WOULD NOT RESPOND TO GAS PEDDLE. AFTER SHUTTING OFF AND RESTARTING ENGINE LIGHT WAS ON AND CAR DROVE OK. TOOK CAR FOR SERVICE AND WAS TOLD THIS IS A COMMON PROBLEM. THEY DID A SOFTWARE UPDATE AND CLEANED MOTOR THAT CONTROLS THE THROTTLE. (THIS IS A "FLY BY WIRE" SYSTEM.)

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/3/2014 - DORAL, FL
THIS "GLITCH" HAPPENED TWICE IN ONE WEEK. FIRST, DRIVING OFF FROM A STOP LIGHT AT ABOUT 15-20 MPH THE CAR SEEMED TO BRAKE ITSELF FOR ABOUT A SECOND, LUNGED ME FORWARD AND 30 SECONDS LATER DIED. NO CHECK ENGINE LIGHT. CAR RESTARTED FINE AFTER 3RD TRY. THEN AGAIN I HAD LET GO OF THE ACCELERATOR AND WAS CRUISING BEFORE BRAKING AT A LIGHT, THE CAR DID THE SAME THING AT ABOUT 25-30 MPH BUT HARDER AND A LOUD CLUNK CAME FROM IT. EVEN THE TIRES SCREECHED WHEN IT "BRAKED" ITSELF FOR A SECOND. THIS SECOND TIME THE CAR DIED 2 SECONDS LATER WHEN I APPLIED THE BRAKES. TOOK IT STRAIGHT TO THE DEALER, THE CAR DIED AGAIN IN FRONT OF THEM WHEY THEY SWITCHED ON THE A/C TO CHECK IF IT WAS WORKING (COULD BE COINCIDENCE SINCE I WASN'T FOOLING AROUND WITH THE A/C THE FIRST TWO TIMES). THEY CALLED ME BACK ON SECOND DAY AND ASKED ME TO TAKE MY CAR BACK SINCE THEY COULD NOT REPLICATE THE PROBLEM AND THE COMPUTER HADN'T REGISTERED IT. I'VE USED IT EXCLUSIVELY ON HIGHWAYS FOR 2 DAYS NOW AND NO PROBLEM. I'VE DONE LESS THAN 10 MILES OF CITY DRIVING SINCE I GOT MY CAR BACK. I'VE HEARD OF OTHER PEOPLE GETTING AN UPGRADE FOR THE ECU AND SOLVING THE ISSUE, BUT THAT UPGRADE WAS ALREADY APPLIED OVER A YEAR AGO TO MINE AND ACCORDING TO THE DEALER, THERE IS NO NEWER VERSION.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/30/2014 - VICKSBURG, MS
I WAS TRAVELING ON I-20 AT ABOUT 70 MPH WHEN I HEARD AN EXPLOSION (FOR LACK OF A BETTER WORD) AND GLASS STARTED FLYING OF THE ROOF OF MY SORENTO. I WAS ABLE TO SAFELY NAVIGATE TO THE RIGHT LANE AND THEN TO THE SHOULDER OF THE INTERSTATE AND REALIZED THAT MY SUNROOF HAD SHATTERED. I WAS LUCKY THAT THE INNER PANEL WAS CLOSED AND ONLY A SMALL AMOUNT OF GLASS CAME THROUGH. UNTIL THEN (AND I HAVE BEEN DRIVING FOR 40 YEARS), I HAD NEVER HEARD OF A SUNROOF SHATTERING UNLESS THE VEHICLE WAS IN SOME KIND OF ACCIDENT.

View Details

VISIBILITY: SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

10/29/2014 - MICKLETON, NJ
2013 KIA SORENTO. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO SUNROOF SHATTERED INTO A MILLION LITTLE PIECES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

10/19/2014 - SEWICKLEY, PA
THIS HAS NOW HAPPENED ABOUT TEN TIMES AND SEEMS TO BE A VERY SERIOUS FLAW IN THE TRANSMISSION AND/OR POWERTRAIN. I'LL BE IN PARK AND SHIFT THE CAR INTO REVERSE OR DRIVE AND WHEN I LET UP ON THE BRAKE TO IDLE AND PROCEED SLOWLY THERE IS A LOUD BANG/CLUNK (ALMOST AS IF SOMETHING INTERNAL OR EXTERNAL IS SLAMMING THE CAR WITH A RAMMING ROD) AND THE CAR LURCHES UNTIL I BRAKE. THIS IS VERY WORRISOME AS I FEEL THAT IT CAN INJURY PEDESTRIANS NEARBY OR EVEN THE OCCUPANTS OF THE VEHICLE IF THE CAR LOSES CONTROL. ALSO, I DON'T THINK THIS CAN BE GOOD FOR THE AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION OR POWERTRAIN. SINCE THIS HAPPENS SPORADICALLY, THE DEALERS SAY THEY CANNOT REPRODUCE IT AND DENY A PROBLEM. PLEASE ADVISE AS TO WHAT RECOURSE I MIGHT HAVE. THANK YOU.

View Details

ENGINE

10/17/2014 - MERRIMACK, NH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED AND THE CHECK ENGINE SENSOR ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE FAILURE OCCURRED SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE COMPUTER SOFTWARE NEEDED TO BE UPDATED. THE SOFTWARE WAS UPDATED, BUT THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 15,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/17/2014 - MERRIMACK, NH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED AND THE CHECK ENGINE SENSOR ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE FAILURE OCCURRED SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER. THE TECHNICIAN DIAGNOSED THAT THE COMPUTER SOFTWARE NEEDED TO BE UPDATED. THE SOFTWARE WAS UPDATED, BUT THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 15,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/17/2014 - FOLSOM, CA
ENGINE SIMPLY STOPPED WHILE DRIVING RESULTING IN LOSS OF BRAKING AND STEERING CONTROL. ALL INDICATOR LIGHTS ON DASHBOARD CAME ON WHEN THE ENGINE SHUT OFF. COASTED TO A STOP, PUT TRANSMISSION IN PARK AND WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE ENGINE. TOOK THE CAR TO KIA DEALER WHO SAID IT NEEDED A SOFTWARE UPDATE WHICH WAS PERFORMED. THE SAME PROBLEM OF THE ENGINE SHUTTING OFF HAPPENED THE VERY NEXT DAY. TAKING THE CAR BACK TO THE DEALER TODAY.

View Details

STEERING

10/17/2014 - FOLSOM, CA
ENGINE SIMPLY STOPPED WHILE DRIVING RESULTING IN LOSS OF BRAKING AND STEERING CONTROL. ALL INDICATOR LIGHTS ON DASHBOARD CAME ON WHEN THE ENGINE SHUT OFF. COASTED TO A STOP, PUT TRANSMISSION IN PARK AND WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE ENGINE. TOOK THE CAR TO KIA DEALER WHO SAID IT NEEDED A SOFTWARE UPDATE WHICH WAS PERFORMED. THE SAME PROBLEM OF THE ENGINE SHUTTING OFF HAPPENED THE VERY NEXT DAY. TAKING THE CAR BACK TO THE DEALER TODAY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds