Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2013 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 147 complaints filed for the 2013 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (24) Structure (8) Vehicle Speed Control (15)
Electrical System (29) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (1) Suspension (4) Visibility (19)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seats (5) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine (68) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (7) Unknown Or Other (4) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

2/10/2016 - MORGAN HILL, CA
DEAR NHTSA, I WRITING TO INFORM YOU OF A FAILURE TO THE AIRBAG SYSTEM OF MY 2013 KIA SORENTO. THE INITIAL SYMPTOM OF THE FAILURE WAS AN INTERMITTENT RED AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT THAT WOULD APPEAR ON THE DRIVER'S INSTRUMENT PANEL WHILE DRIVING. WITHIN A WEEK, THE WARNING LIGHT WAS ACTIVATED ALL THE TIME WHILE DRIVING, INDICATING THE AIRBAG SYSTEM WAS NOT FUNCTIONAL. THE KIA DEALER RETRIEVED ERROR CODES B1763 AND B1764 DURING THEIR INSPECTION. THEY DIAGNOSED THE FAILURE TO BE THE "ELECTRIC FIELD OCCUPANT CLASSIFICATION SENSOR" WHICH IS LOCATED IN THE FRONT-PASSENGER SEAT CUSHION. THE SENSOR IS NOT SOLD INDIVIDUALLY, BUT ONLY AS PART OF THE ENTIRE LOWER SEAT ASSEMBLY. THE DEALER QUOTED OVER $1,600 AS THE RETAIL PURCHASE PRICE. THIS INCLUDED THE SEAT COVER, CUSHION, ADJUSTABLE SEAT RAILS, AND THE ONE PART I NEEDED, THE ELECTRIC FIELD OCCUPANT CLASSIFICATION SENSOR. THE ASSEMBLY PART NUMBER WAS 88200-1U210SAL AFTER TEARING DOWN MY OLD SEAT ASSEMBLY I FOUND THE FOLLOWING PART NUMBERS ON THE FAILED ELECTRIC FIELD OCCUPANT CLASSIFICATION SENSOR. KIA: 88950-1U500 AUTOLIV: 611166600C IEE: 31-004117-28-10 BODYSENSE: 31-723107-15-00 MAT TEST S/N: 0400640222 THANK YOU FOR LOOKING INTO THIS FAILURE.

View Details

VISIBILITY: SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

1/26/2016 - APPOLO BEACH, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH, THE PANORAMIC SUN ROOF FRACTURED AND EXPLODED OUTWARD. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER TO BE INSPECTED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 37,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/25/2016 - UTICA, OH
VEHICLE WILL NOT START AFTER SITTING OVERNIGHT. REPLACED BATTERY & AFTER APROX 1 MONTH ISSUE HAS OCCURRED AGAIN. NO ONE HAS BEEN ABLE TO DIAGNOSE THE ISSUE, THE ONLY ANSWER I GET IS TO REPLACE THE BATTERY (WHICH I DID). THE MOST RECENT OCCURRENCE WAS JAN 2016 & I HAVE KEPT BATTERY ON A SLOW DRIP CHARGER AS I CANNOT WAIT ON JUMP/TOW DAILY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/13/2016 - KNOXVILLE, TN
AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT CAME ON MONDAY (JANUARY 11, 2016) MORNING UPON STARTING THE VEHICLE. IT DID NOT TURN OFF. IT REMAINS ON AT ALL TIMES INDICATING THAT THERE IS A PROBLEM WITH THE AIRBAGS IN THE VEHICLE. TURNING THE VEHICLE OFF DOES NOT RESET HE PROBLEM AS IT STILL PERSIST. THE AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT REMAINS ON IF VEHICLE IS IN PARK OR DRIVE OR ANY GEAR. ALSO THE AIRBAG LIGHT REMAINS ON AT ALL SPEEDS FROM STANDING TO 65MPH. AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT REMAINS ON AT THE TIME OF FILING THIS COMPLAINT WEDNESDAY JANUARY 13 2016 APPROXIMATELY 9:00AM EST I HAVE BEEN IN TOUCH WITH PARKSIDE KIA OF KNOXVILLE TN AND HAVE A SCHEDULE APPOINTMENT TO HAVE THIS INVESTIGATED ON THURSDAY JANUARY 14, 2016. I HAVE HAD TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE SINCE THIS ISSUE AROSE AND AM EXTREMELY CONCERNED AS THERE IS NO WAY FOR ME TO KNOW IF IN FACT THE AIRBAGS WILL WORK IF I AM IN AN ACCIDENT. THIS IS VERY SERIOUS TO ME AS I HAVE 4 CHILDREN ONE OF WHOM HAS A LOT OF MEDICAL NEEDS, A WIFE AND A NURSE WHO ARE OFTEN TIMES IN THE VEHICLE WITH ME. I STRONGLY URGE AN INVESTIGATION IN TO THIS BEFORE SOME ONE IS SERIOUSLY INJURED OR WORSE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/30/2015 - TAYLORS, SC
FRONT WHEEL, 4 CYLINDER ENGINE GROSSLY UNDER POWERED. MAKING A LEFT OR RIGHT TURN FROM STOP, THE ENGINE HESITATED ALMOST TO THE POINT OF STALLING. THIS IS A POTENTIAL HEAD-ON COLLISION EVEN ON A MODERATELY BUSY ROAD. KIA DEALER CLAIMS NO DEFECT IN VEHICLE.

View Details

ENGINE

12/22/2015 - EAST NORTHPORT, NY
STOPPED FOR A RED LIGHT IN A RESIDENTIAL NEIGHBORHOOD. WHEN TRAFFIC LIGHT TURNED GREEN REALIZED THE CAR HAD STALLED OUT. WAS IN " DRIVE " AND WAS NOT LOW ON GAS. PUT FLASHERS ON AND SHUT OFF CAR. WAS ABLE TO RESTART CAR AND DROVE HOME. CALLED KIA IN SMITHTOWN WHERE CAR WAS PURCHASED AND WAS TOLD IF I BROUGHT IN CAR AND IT DIDN'T STALL WHILE IN THEIR CARE THE TECHS WOULDN'T BE ABLE TO TELL ME WHY IT HAPPENED.

View Details

ENGINE

12/22/2015 - EAST NORTHPORT, NY
STOPPED FOR A RED LIGHT IN A RESIDENTIAL NEIGHBORHOOD. WHEN TRAFFIC LIGHT TURNED GREEN REALIZED THE CAR HAD STALLED OUT. WAS IN " DRIVE " AND WAS NOT LOW ON GAS. PUT FLASHERS ON AND SHUT OFF CAR. WAS ABLE TO RESTART CAR AND DROVE HOME. CALLED KIA IN SMITHTOWN WHERE CAR WAS PURCHASED AND WAS TOLD IF I BROUGHT IN CAR AND IT DIDN'T STALL WHILE IN THEIR CARE THE TECHS WOULDN'T BE ABLE TO TELL ME WHY IT HAPPENED.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

12/20/2015 - LINCOLN, TX
I BOUGHT A 2013 KIA SORENTO LAST NIGHT SATURDAY 12/19/2015 AND THE PAPERWORK DID NOT GET COMPLETE UNTIL AFTER 10:30PM. THE SALESMAN STATED THAT ALL COMPONENTS HAD BEEN CHECKED AND THAT ALL WAS GOOD. I LIVE A HOUR AWAY FROM THE DEALERSHIP AND WHEN I WAS ON 290 HEADING EAST AT ABOUT 70 MPH, WHEN I NOTICED THAT MY DASH AND RADIO PANEL LIGHTS START FLICKERING, MY MOTOR FELT LIKE IT IDLED DOWN A LITTLE BUT THEN IT WAS OK, BUT THEN IT HAPPENED AGAIN AND ALL THE LIGHTS IN THE RADIO AREA, STEERING WHEEL AND SPEEDOMETER AREA TURNED OFF AND IT LOST A LITTLE POWER BUT THEN THEY ALL CAME BACK ON AND I MADE IT HOME, THEN ON 12/20/15 I WAS DRIVING INTO TOWN AND AFTER ABOUT 10 MILES AT 75 MPH MY INSIDE LIGHTS STARTED FLASHING AGAIN, AND THEN WENT TOTALLY DARK. I DIDN'T LOSE ANY POWER THIS TIME BUT I'M STARTING TO FEEL PRETTY RIPPED OFF. I ALSO NOTICED TODAY THAT WHILE DRIVING ON HWY THAT WHEN YOU COME UP TO A CURVE TO THE RIGHT, THE VEHICLE JERKS TO FAR AND I ENDED UP IN THE OTHER LANE. THANK GOD THAT NO CAR WAS THERE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/20/2015 - LINCOLN, TX
I BOUGHT A 2013 KIA SORENTO LAST NIGHT SATURDAY 12/19/2015 AND THE PAPERWORK DID NOT GET COMPLETE UNTIL AFTER 10:30PM. THE SALESMAN STATED THAT ALL COMPONENTS HAD BEEN CHECKED AND THAT ALL WAS GOOD. I LIVE A HOUR AWAY FROM THE DEALERSHIP AND WHEN I WAS ON 290 HEADING EAST AT ABOUT 70 MPH, WHEN I NOTICED THAT MY DASH AND RADIO PANEL LIGHTS START FLICKERING, MY MOTOR FELT LIKE IT IDLED DOWN A LITTLE BUT THEN IT WAS OK, BUT THEN IT HAPPENED AGAIN AND ALL THE LIGHTS IN THE RADIO AREA, STEERING WHEEL AND SPEEDOMETER AREA TURNED OFF AND IT LOST A LITTLE POWER BUT THEN THEY ALL CAME BACK ON AND I MADE IT HOME, THEN ON 12/20/15 I WAS DRIVING INTO TOWN AND AFTER ABOUT 10 MILES AT 75 MPH MY INSIDE LIGHTS STARTED FLASHING AGAIN, AND THEN WENT TOTALLY DARK. I DIDN'T LOSE ANY POWER THIS TIME BUT I'M STARTING TO FEEL PRETTY RIPPED OFF. I ALSO NOTICED TODAY THAT WHILE DRIVING ON HWY THAT WHEN YOU COME UP TO A CURVE TO THE RIGHT, THE VEHICLE JERKS TO FAR AND I ENDED UP IN THE OTHER LANE. THANK GOD THAT NO CAR WAS THERE.

View Details

STEERING

12/20/2015 - LINCOLN, TX
I BOUGHT A 2013 KIA SORENTO LAST NIGHT SATURDAY 12/19/2015 AND THE PAPERWORK DID NOT GET COMPLETE UNTIL AFTER 10:30PM. THE SALESMAN STATED THAT ALL COMPONENTS HAD BEEN CHECKED AND THAT ALL WAS GOOD. I LIVE A HOUR AWAY FROM THE DEALERSHIP AND WHEN I WAS ON 290 HEADING EAST AT ABOUT 70 MPH, WHEN I NOTICED THAT MY DASH AND RADIO PANEL LIGHTS START FLICKERING, MY MOTOR FELT LIKE IT IDLED DOWN A LITTLE BUT THEN IT WAS OK, BUT THEN IT HAPPENED AGAIN AND ALL THE LIGHTS IN THE RADIO AREA, STEERING WHEEL AND SPEEDOMETER AREA TURNED OFF AND IT LOST A LITTLE POWER BUT THEN THEY ALL CAME BACK ON AND I MADE IT HOME, THEN ON 12/20/15 I WAS DRIVING INTO TOWN AND AFTER ABOUT 10 MILES AT 75 MPH MY INSIDE LIGHTS STARTED FLASHING AGAIN, AND THEN WENT TOTALLY DARK. I DIDN'T LOSE ANY POWER THIS TIME BUT I'M STARTING TO FEEL PRETTY RIPPED OFF. I ALSO NOTICED TODAY THAT WHILE DRIVING ON HWY THAT WHEN YOU COME UP TO A CURVE TO THE RIGHT, THE VEHICLE JERKS TO FAR AND I ENDED UP IN THE OTHER LANE. THANK GOD THAT NO CAR WAS THERE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds