Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2013 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 120 complaints filed for the 2013 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (22) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (13)
Electrical System (21) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (1) Suspension (4) Visibility (15)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seats (3) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (63) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (5) Unknown Or Other (4) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (6)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
 
ComplaintDescription

SEAT BELTS

3/10/2015 - WESTLAND, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 KIA SORENTO. WHILE TURNING INTO A PARKING LOT DURING INCLEMENT WEATHER CONDITIONS, THE CONTACT LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE AND CRASHED INTO A METAL POLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVER SIDE SEAT BELT FAILED TO RETRACT. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED A CRACKED STERNUM, NECK AND BACK PAINS THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE PASSENGER SUSTAINED A BACK INJURY THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT FOUR ADDITIONAL PASSENGERS SUSTAINED MINOR ABRASIONS THAT DID NOT REQUIRE MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN IMPOUND LOT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 48,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/10/2015 - WESTLAND, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 KIA SORENTO. WHILE TURNING INTO A PARKING LOT DURING INCLEMENT WEATHER CONDITIONS, THE CONTACT LOST CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE AND CRASHED INTO A METAL POLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVER SIDE SEAT BELT FAILED TO RETRACT. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED A CRACKED STERNUM, NECK AND BACK PAINS THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE PASSENGER SUSTAINED A BACK INJURY THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT FOUR ADDITIONAL PASSENGERS SUSTAINED MINOR ABRASIONS THAT DID NOT REQUIRE MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN IMPOUND LOT. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 48,000.

View Details

WHEELS

2/11/2015 - LEXINGTON , KY
ALL 4 TIRES (KUMHO SOLUS KL21 P235/65R17 103T M+S) ON MY 2103 KIA SORENTO ARE SHOWING SIGNS OF CRACKING IN THE SIDEWALL. THE TREAD DEPTH ON THE TIRES IS STILL GOOD. THE CRACKING IS VERY CONCERNING.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

1/9/2015 - LOGANVILLE, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE INTERIOR LIGHTS FAILED TO TURN OFF. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS OPERATING AS DESIGNED. THE FAILURE RECURRED AND THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE SOFTWARE NEEDED TO BE UPDATED. ADDITIONALLY, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE BATTERY WAS REPLACED HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 12,000.

View Details

ENGINE

1/9/2015 - LOGANVILLE, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE INTERIOR LIGHTS FAILED TO TURN OFF. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS OPERATING AS DESIGNED. THE FAILURE RECURRED AND THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE SOFTWARE NEEDED TO BE UPDATED. ADDITIONALLY, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO START WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE BATTERY WAS REPLACED HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 12,000.

View Details

EQUIPMENT ADAPTIVE

12/31/2014 - FAIR LAWN, NJ
SUN ROOF IS ACTUALLY BUCKLING. WITH THE INFORMATION LISTED ABOUT THE SUNROOF RECALL WE ARE NERVOUS THIS MIGHT IMPACT THIS. I AM 7 MONTHS PREGNANT AND AFRAID TO DRIVE MY CAR.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

12/27/2014 - CHARLES TOWN, WV
WHILE DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEED MY WIFE WITH 7 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER IN CAR HAD ALL THE DASH LIGHTS AND INTERIOR LIGHTS ILLUMINATE AND THE CAR BECAME SLUGGISH AND WAS HARD TO DRIVE. I ADVISED HE VIA MOBILE PHONE TO IMMEDIATELY PULL OVER AND TURN THE CAR OFF. I TOLD HE TO WAIT A MINUTE AND TRY TO RESTART IT AND SEE WHAT HAPPENS. ALL DASH LIGHTS LIT UP AGAIN AND THE CAR MADE A CLICK, CLICK, CLICK SOUND OVER AND OVER AGAIN. SHE TRIED THIS 5 TIMES AND SHE HAD THE CAR TOWED TO THE DEALER. THE DEALER REPLACED THE ALTERNATOR FOR $946.14 ON 12/23/2014 AT DULLES KIA IN LEESBURG, VA.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/27/2014 - CHARLES TOWN, WV
WHILE DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEED MY WIFE WITH 7 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER IN CAR HAD ALL THE DASH LIGHTS AND INTERIOR LIGHTS ILLUMINATE AND THE CAR BECAME SLUGGISH AND WAS HARD TO DRIVE. I ADVISED HE VIA MOBILE PHONE TO IMMEDIATELY PULL OVER AND TURN THE CAR OFF. I TOLD HE TO WAIT A MINUTE AND TRY TO RESTART IT AND SEE WHAT HAPPENS. ALL DASH LIGHTS LIT UP AGAIN AND THE CAR MADE A CLICK, CLICK, CLICK SOUND OVER AND OVER AGAIN. SHE TRIED THIS 5 TIMES AND SHE HAD THE CAR TOWED TO THE DEALER. THE DEALER REPLACED THE ALTERNATOR FOR $946.14 ON 12/23/2014 AT DULLES KIA IN LEESBURG, VA.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/27/2014 - CHARLES TOWN, WV
WHILE DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEED MY WIFE WITH 7 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER IN CAR HAD ALL THE DASH LIGHTS AND INTERIOR LIGHTS ILLUMINATE AND THE CAR BECAME SLUGGISH AND WAS HARD TO DRIVE. I ADVISED HE VIA MOBILE PHONE TO IMMEDIATELY PULL OVER AND TURN THE CAR OFF. I TOLD HE TO WAIT A MINUTE AND TRY TO RESTART IT AND SEE WHAT HAPPENS. ALL DASH LIGHTS LIT UP AGAIN AND THE CAR MADE A CLICK, CLICK, CLICK SOUND OVER AND OVER AGAIN. SHE TRIED THIS 5 TIMES AND SHE HAD THE CAR TOWED TO THE DEALER. THE DEALER REPLACED THE ALTERNATOR FOR $946.14 ON 12/23/2014 AT DULLES KIA IN LEESBURG, VA.

View Details

ENGINE

12/24/2014 - BROCKTON , MA
PURCHASED 2013 KIA SORENTO BRAND NEW ON 6/11/12, CAR WAS SHAKY AND IDLED ROUGHLY ON & OFF DURING THE FIRST YEAR, SEEMS TO HAVE RESOLVED ITSELF. ON 12/22/14 WHILE DRIVING 35 MPH ON SECONDARY ROAD ENGINE BEGAN TO MAKE A TICKING SOUND. PARKED VEHICLE AND HAD IT TOWED THE FOLLOWING DAY ON 12/23/14 TO KIA DEALERSHIP, THEY CALLED ME THAT AFTERNOON AND TOLD ME IT WAS THE OIL CONTROL VALVE AND IT WAS ORDERED AND REQUESTED FOR OVERNIGHT AND CAR WOULD BE DONE ON 12/24/14. I CALLED DEALER ON 12/24/14 @ 11:03AM AND PART WASN'T IN YET WAS TOLD THAT I'D BE CALLED WHEN PART ARRIVED. RECEIVED CALL FROM DEALER AT 2PM THAT PART HAD ARRIVED AND BEEN INSTALLED BY TECH BUT THAT ENGINE WAS STILL MAKING TICKING NOISE, SO NOT FIXED. WAS TOLD THAT THEY WOULD HAVE TO START OVER AGAIN ON FRIDAY 12/26/14 WITH REQUEST TO KIA WARRANTY SERVICE FOR APPROVAL FOR "ENGINE TEAR DOWN", WHICH I WILL ALSO HAVE TO AUTHORIZED AND AGREE TO PAY $400.00 FOR (WAIVED IF ALL REPAIRS ARE COVERED BY WARRANTY). THIS VEHICLE ONLY HAS 53000 MILES ON IT AND HAS BEEN DRIVEN FOR 30 MONTHS, ALL REGULAR MAINTENANCE SCHEDULES FOLLOWED AND THERE SHOULD NO WAY BE AN INTERNAL ENGINE PROBLEM ON A PROPERLY BUILT ENGINE. KIA HAS SOME SERIOUS ISSUES WITH THE ENGINE IN THIS CAR AND SHOULD HAVE RECALLED THE ENTIRE LINE OF 2013 SORENTO'S AND CORRECTED THE PROBLEM. I WAS TOLD BY THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT AT THE DEALER THAT " WE MAY BE LOOKING AT A NEW ENGINE". I HOPE NOT, EVEN THOUGH I COULD HAVE A ALMOST 3 YEAR OLD CAR WITH NO MILEAGE I DON'T WANT ONE, IF THE FIRST ENGINE HAS THIS SERIOUS PROBLEM WHAT WOULD THE SECOND ENGINE HAVE. I AM GOING TO DO EVERYTHING IN MY POWER TO HOLD KIA RESPONSIBLE AND MAKE THEM COVER UNDER WARRANTY.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 18
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds