Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2013 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 109 complaints filed for the 2013 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (1) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (18) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (14)
Electrical System (19) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seats (3) Suspension (4) Visibility (11)
Engine (60) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (5) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (6) Unknown Or Other (5) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

10/19/2014 - SEWICKLEY, PA
THIS HAS NOW HAPPENED ABOUT TEN TIMES AND SEEMS TO BE A VERY SERIOUS FLAW IN THE TRANSMISSION AND/OR POWERTRAIN. I'LL BE IN PARK AND SHIFT THE CAR INTO REVERSE OR DRIVE AND WHEN I LET UP ON THE BRAKE TO IDLE AND PROCEED SLOWLY THERE IS A LOUD BANG/CLUNK (ALMOST AS IF SOMETHING INTERNAL OR EXTERNAL IS SLAMMING THE CAR WITH A RAMMING ROD) AND THE CAR LURCHES UNTIL I BRAKE. THIS IS VERY WORRISOME AS I FEEL THAT IT CAN INJURY PEDESTRIANS NEARBY OR EVEN THE OCCUPANTS OF THE VEHICLE IF THE CAR LOSES CONTROL. ALSO, I DON'T THINK THIS CAN BE GOOD FOR THE AUTOMATIC TRANSMISSION OR POWERTRAIN. SINCE THIS HAPPENS SPORADICALLY, THE DEALERS SAY THEY CANNOT REPRODUCE IT AND DENY A PROBLEM. PLEASE ADVISE AS TO WHAT RECOURSE I MIGHT HAVE. THANK YOU.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/17/2014 - MERRIMACK, NH
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. THE CONTACT ALSO INDICATED THAT THE CHECK ENGINE SENSOR ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER WHO DIAGNOSED THAT THE COMPUTER SOFTWARE NEEDED TO BE UPDATED. THE AUTHORIZED DEALER UPDATED THE SOFTWARE AND THE CONTACT CONTINUED TO EXPERIENCE THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE TRAVELING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE VEHICLE HESITATED, THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO PULL THE VEHICLE OVER AND IT STALLED WITH THE SERVICE ENGINE SENSOR ILLUMIANTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE AUTHORIZED DEALER FOR FURTHER INSPECTION, DIAGNOSIS AND REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 15,000. DYD

View Details

ENGINE

10/17/2014 - FOLSOM, CA
ENGINE SIMPLY STOPPED WHILE DRIVING RESULTING IN LOSS OF BRAKING AND STEERING CONTROL. ALL INDICATOR LIGHTS ON DASHBOARD CAME ON WHEN THE ENGINE SHUT OFF. COASTED TO A STOP, PUT TRANSMISSION IN PARK AND WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE ENGINE. TOOK THE CAR TO KIA DEALER WHO SAID IT NEEDED A SOFTWARE UPDATE WHICH WAS PERFORMED. THE SAME PROBLEM OF THE ENGINE SHUTTING OFF HAPPENED THE VERY NEXT DAY. TAKING THE CAR BACK TO THE DEALER TODAY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/17/2014 - FOLSOM, CA
ENGINE SIMPLY STOPPED WHILE DRIVING RESULTING IN LOSS OF BRAKING AND STEERING CONTROL. ALL INDICATOR LIGHTS ON DASHBOARD CAME ON WHEN THE ENGINE SHUT OFF. COASTED TO A STOP, PUT TRANSMISSION IN PARK AND WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE ENGINE. TOOK THE CAR TO KIA DEALER WHO SAID IT NEEDED A SOFTWARE UPDATE WHICH WAS PERFORMED. THE SAME PROBLEM OF THE ENGINE SHUTTING OFF HAPPENED THE VERY NEXT DAY. TAKING THE CAR BACK TO THE DEALER TODAY.

View Details

STEERING

10/17/2014 - FOLSOM, CA
ENGINE SIMPLY STOPPED WHILE DRIVING RESULTING IN LOSS OF BRAKING AND STEERING CONTROL. ALL INDICATOR LIGHTS ON DASHBOARD CAME ON WHEN THE ENGINE SHUT OFF. COASTED TO A STOP, PUT TRANSMISSION IN PARK AND WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE ENGINE. TOOK THE CAR TO KIA DEALER WHO SAID IT NEEDED A SOFTWARE UPDATE WHICH WAS PERFORMED. THE SAME PROBLEM OF THE ENGINE SHUTTING OFF HAPPENED THE VERY NEXT DAY. TAKING THE CAR BACK TO THE DEALER TODAY.

View Details

ENGINE

10/16/2014 - GREENSBORO, NC
2014 KIA SORENTO LX LOSS OF ACCELERATOR CONTROL. I HAD JUST EXITED A 55MPH BOULEVARD ONTO A 35MPH RESIDENTIAL STREET. AS I ACCELERATED TO THE POSTED SPEED THERE WAS A ôPOPö, THE CAR LURCHED, AND THE ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. THE ENGINE WAS STILL RUNNING BUT THERE WAS NO RESPONSE FROM PRESSING THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL. I CUT OFF THE ENGINE, WAITED A MINUTE AND RESTARTED IT. THE ENGINE, TRANSMISSION AND ELECTRICAL ALL SEEMED TO BE FINE BUT THE ACCELERATOR WAS NON-RESPONSIVE. SURPRISINGLY THE ENGINE IDLE SPEED WAS SUFFICIENT TO PUSH THE CAR ALONG ON MODERATELY HILLY ROADS. I MANAGED TO GET THE CAR TO THE KIA DEALER, WHERE I PURCHASED IT, AND LEFT IT WITH THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT. AFTER I GOT HOME I DID A GOOGLE SEARCH FOR ôKIA SORENTO ACCELERATIONö AND FOUND MULTIPLE REPORTS OF ACCELERATOR PROBLEMS WITH 2012 THROUGH 2014 KIA SORENTOS. HTTP://WWW.KIA-FORUMS.COM/2011-2013-XM-SORENTO-FORUM/76454-2012-SORENTO-DISCONNECTED-ACCELERATOR.HTML HTTP://WWW.CARCOMPLAINTS.COM/KIA/SORENTO/2013/ENGINE/DIED_WHILE_DRIVING.SHTML AFTER REVIEWING THE VARIOUS POSTS I BELIEVE THAT THE COMPUTER SOFTWARE UPGRADE THAT THE SERVICE DEPARTMENTS ARE LOADING ARE NOT GOING TO RESOLVE THE ISSUE, OTHERWISE KIA WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN HAVING THIS ISSUE FOR SEVERAL YEARS. I BELIEVE THE ACTUAL ISSUE IS A FAULTY PART THAT HAS NOT BEEN REPLACED OR REDESIGNED. IF THAT IS THE CASE THEN I WILL HAVE THIS ISSUE AGAIN SOMETIME IN THE FUTURE. THE TECH REPORTED THAT THEY FOUND 3 SERVICE CODES. THEY CLEARED THE CODES, CHECKED THE COMPUTER SOFTWARE AND ôFOUND OLD VERSIONö. THEY REPORTED THAT THEY UPDATED THE SOFTWARE AND PERFORMED A THROTTLE CLEANING. THEY TEST DROVE THE CAR TWICE AND THE ENGINE LIGHT DID NOT TURN BACK ON (NO CODES).

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

9/26/2014 - SPANAWAY, WA
ENGINE WENT TO IDLE AT A TRAFFIC LIGHT AND WOULD NOT RESPOND WHEN LIGHT CHANGED TO GREEN, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. I IDLED TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD , SHUT OFF ENGINE AND RESTARTED IT. IT SEEMED TO BE OK BUT CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS STILL ON. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WENT OUT THE NEXT DAY . I TOOK IT TO DEALER FOR REPAIRS ( A WEEK LATER WAS THE SOONEST THEY COULD GET ME IN) THEY DID AN SOFTWARE UPDATE AND CLEANED THE ETC MOTOR PER "TECHNICAL SERVICE BULLETIN #133 REV. 11/27/2013" I'M KEEPING MY FINGERS CROSSED THAT THIS FIXED THE PROBLEM

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/19/2014 - OCOEE, FL
MY AIRBAGS DIDN'T DEPLOY WHEN I HIT A PERSON IN THE REAR AFTER SEVERELY DAMAGED FRONT END OF MY VEHICLE AND PARTS BEING SHOVED INTO THE MOTOR AND THE MOTOR RECEIVED A CRACK IN THE BLOCK

View Details

ENGINE

9/19/2014 - OCOEE, FL
MY AIRBAGS DIDN'T DEPLOY WHEN I HIT A PERSON IN THE REAR AFTER SEVERELY DAMAGED FRONT END OF MY VEHICLE AND PARTS BEING SHOVED INTO THE MOTOR AND THE MOTOR RECEIVED A CRACK IN THE BLOCK

View Details

STEERING

9/19/2014 - OCOEE, FL
MY AIRBAGS DIDN'T DEPLOY WHEN I HIT A PERSON IN THE REAR AFTER SEVERELY DAMAGED FRONT END OF MY VEHICLE AND PARTS BEING SHOVED INTO THE MOTOR AND THE MOTOR RECEIVED A CRACK IN THE BLOCK

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds