Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2013 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 190 complaints filed for the 2013 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Exterior Lighting (7) Seat Belts (2) Structure (9) Vehicle Speed Control (18)
Electrical System (30) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Seats (10) Suspension (5) Visibility (20)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (8) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (90) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (5) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Power Train (28) Steering (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

2/13/2017 - FLAGSTAFF, AZ
WHILE TRAVELING AT 75 MPH ON THE FREEWAY. THE COMPRESSION WENT TO ZERO AND THE VEHICLE STALLED IN A DANGEROUS LOCATION NEXT TO A GUARDRAIL. THE ENGINE OIL FLOWED OUT OF THE ENGINE AND THERE WAS DARK SMOKE BILLOWING OUT OF THE EXHAUST. THE KIA WAS TOWED HOME AT MY EXPENSE. THE VEHICLE HAD SERVICE THROUGH ITS' ENTIRE WARRANTY PERIOD WITH KIA DEALERSHIP. THEY MADE MAJOR REPAIRS AS WELL AS OIL CHANGES FOR COMPLIANCE WITH WARRANTY. THE VEHICLE IS OUT OF WARRANTY BY 20K. KIA WILL NOT COVER THE ENGINE REPLACEMENT WHICH IS NEEDED. THIS IS THE SAME PATTERN OF MECHANICAL FAILURE REGARDING ENGINE OIL PROBLEMS LEADING TO CATASTROPHIC ENGINE FAILURE AND COSTLY REPAIRS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/9/2017 - RACINE, WI
CAR AT 72,000 MILES. AIRBAG LIGHT ILLUMINATES CONSTANTLY. DEALER INDICATES PROBLEM WITH PASSENGER OCCUPANCY SENSOR. ODDLY, THE OTHER LIGHT ABOVE THE CONSOLE THAT INDICATES PASSENGER AIRBAG ON/OFF CORRECTLY SHOWN OFF WHEN NO ONE IS SEATED IN PASSENGER SEAT, AND ON WHEN A PASSENGER IS SEATED. RESEARCH FROM VARIOUS ONLINE SOURCES IS INCONCLUSIVE IF THE AIRBAG WILL DEPLOY IN AN ACCIDENT GIVEN THE CURRENT ERROR CODES OF B1674 AND B1767. EXPENSE TO REPAIR IS EXCESSIVE, IN MY OPINION, AT A COST OF $1,800 FOR THE PASSENGER OCCUPANCY SENSOR (ROUGHLY 1/5 THE VALUE OF THE CAR).

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: HEADLIGHTS

1/25/2017 - TALLAHASSEE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE HEADLIGHTS FAILED WITHOUT WARNING WHILE DRIVING 60 MPH. THE CONTACT INSPECTED THE VEHICLE AND DISCOVERED THAT THE HEADLIGHT COVERS MELTED. THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO LOCATE A FAILURE CODE, BUT DETERMINED THAT THE HEADLIGHT ASSEMBLY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 95,000.

View Details

SEATS

1/20/2017 - EARL PARK, IN
REAR SEAT LATCH BROKE IN RECLINED POSITION ,HAS BEEN HARD TO OPERATE SINCE PURCHASED.IN DRIVEWAY WHEN INCIDENT OCCURED

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

1/20/2017 - EGG HARBOR TOWNSHIP, NJ
UPON NOTICING A HEADLIGHT OUT AND THE CAR PARKED AND OFF IN MY DRIVEWAY, I WENT TO CHANGE THE BULB AND NOTED THAT THE WIRE TO THE LAMP HAD MELTED AND STARTED TO MELT THE LAMP ITSELF. I HAD THE OTHER HEADLIGHT ON THIS SAME CAR DO THE SAME THING. THE FIRST TIME THE HEADLAMP ASSEMBLY HAD TO BE REPLACED THE CAR HAD APPROXIMATELY 45,000 MILES ON IT AND WAS ABOUT 2 YEARS OLD.

View Details

ENGINE

1/17/2017 - PEACHTREE CITY, GA
BOUGHT THE VEHICLE NEW, HAVE HAD NO ISSUES UNTIL ABOUT A MONTH AGO. IT STARTED BURNING OIL AT AN EXCESSIVE RATE. TOOK IT TO DEALER AND WERE TOLD THAT WE HAD NOT MAINTAINED PROPERLY AND THAT REPAIR/REPLACEMENT OF ENGINE WOULD NOT BE UNDER WARRANTY. CAR HAS 71000 MILES, OWNERS MANUAL SAYS TO CHANGE OIL EVERY 7500 MILES OR 12 MONTHS, WE HAVE RECORDS FOR 8 OIL CHANGES, KIA SAYS WE NEED TO SHOW 14, THAT WOULD BE AN OIL CHANGE EVERY 5000 MILES WHICH IS NOT WHAT MANUAL SAYS. WE HAVE BEEN TOLD THAT THERE WAS A RECALL FOR THE SAME ENGINE IN ANOTHER KIA VEHICLE, BUT NOT FOR THIS ONE. MANY COMPLAINTS FOR OIL RELATED ISSUES ON THIS CAR FOR 2011-2014. WE HAVE ALSO CONTACTED THE KIA CONSUMER AFFAIRS CENTER. WE ARE STILL DRIVING VEHICLE, BUT CHECK OIL BEFORE WE GO ANYWHERE. DEALER WANTS US TO PAY $350-$400 TO COMPLETELY TEAR DOWN ENGINE TO TAKE PICTURES TO SEE IF KIA WILL COVER UNDER WARRANTY.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

1/17/2017 - TORRANCE, CA
MY CAR HAS 73,000 MILES AND KEPT WELL MAINTAINED. ONE DAY THE CAR WOULDN'T START. ENGINE KEPT TURNING OVER AND OVER. I WAS EVENTUALLY ABLE TO GET THE CAR STARTED BUT IT WOULD SHAKE, VIBRATE, AND HESITATE WHILE DRIVING. MY MECHANIC SAID THE PROBLEM IS HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP AND IT IS NOT COVER AFTER 60,000 MILES WARRANTY AND THE PART WILL COST OVER $850 WITHOUT THE LABOR. I NEVER HAD AN ISSUE WITH FUEL PUMP OR FUEL PUMP SYSTEM WITH A CAR THAT HAS UNDER 100,000 MILES ON IT. THIS IS DEFECT DESIGN FROM KIA AND THEY WILL NOT COVER FOR IT.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

1/14/2017 - APEX, NC
HEADLIGHTS AND TAILLIGHTS NEED TO BE REPLACED REGULARLY. MOST RECENTLY THE HEADLIGHT WOULD GO ON AND OFF. WHEN GOING TO REPLACE THE BULB THE LIGHT HARNESS AND BULB WERE MELTED TOGETHER.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/15/2016 - MAUMELLE, AR
I TOOK MY CAR TO DEALERSHIP BECAUSE AIRBAG LIGHT IS CONSTANTLY ON. THEY SAID IT WILL TAKE OVER $2100 TO FIX. AIRBAG MIGHT NOT DEPLOY DUE TO THIS DEFECT.

View Details

SEATS

11/6/2016 - ELGIN, IL
REAR SEAT LATCH MALFUNCTION. THE SEAT IS STUCK IN AN UPRIGHT POSITION. THE LATCH DOES NOT WORK AT ALL. VERY INCONVENIENT WHEN THE WHOLE FAMILY IS IN THE CAR. KIDS FORCED TO ENTER AND EXIT THROUGH TRUNK. ANNOYING!! APPOINTMENT AT DEALERSHIP NEXT WEEK. HOPEFULLY THEY WILL FIX IT FREE OF CHARGE BECAUSE CLEARLY ITS A DESIGN FLAW.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds