Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2013 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 195 complaints filed for the 2013 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (14) Exterior Lighting (8) Seat Belts (2) Structure (9) Vehicle Speed Control (18)
Electrical System (31) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Seats (11) Suspension (5) Visibility (20)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (8) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (92) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (5) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Power Train (29) Steering (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
 
ComplaintDescription

SEATS

3/17/2017 - BEREA, OH
I HAVE HAD THE SECOND PASSENGER SIDE REAR SEAT LATCH REPAIRED 3X ALREADY. IT IS GOING IN FOR 4TH TIME NEXT WEEK.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/6/2017 - NOTASULGA, AL
THE ELECTRICAL WIRE TO THE LIGHTS BURNED AS WELL AS THE CONNECTOR THE BATTERY WILL NOT STAY CHARGED NOTHING IS ON AT THE TIME THE AIRBAG LIGHT STAYS ON CONTINUOUSLY THE CAR IS UNSAFE AND NEEDS TO BE CHANGED. THE DOORS RANDOMLY LOCK BATTERY WILL NOT HOLD A CHARGE AND THERE'S A SHORT SOMEWHERE IN THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM IS IT A HAZARD TO DRIVE

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/6/2017 - NOTASULGA, AL
THE ELECTRICAL WIRE TO THE LIGHTS BURNED AS WELL AS THE CONNECTOR THE BATTERY WILL NOT STAY CHARGED NOTHING IS ON AT THE TIME THE AIRBAG LIGHT STAYS ON CONTINUOUSLY THE CAR IS UNSAFE AND NEEDS TO BE CHANGED. THE DOORS RANDOMLY LOCK BATTERY WILL NOT HOLD A CHARGE AND THERE'S A SHORT SOMEWHERE IN THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM IS IT A HAZARD TO DRIVE

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/6/2017 - NOTASULGA, AL
THE ELECTRICAL WIRE TO THE LIGHTS BURNED AS WELL AS THE CONNECTOR THE BATTERY WILL NOT STAY CHARGED NOTHING IS ON AT THE TIME THE AIRBAG LIGHT STAYS ON CONTINUOUSLY THE CAR IS UNSAFE AND NEEDS TO BE CHANGED. THE DOORS RANDOMLY LOCK BATTERY WILL NOT HOLD A CHARGE AND THERE'S A SHORT SOMEWHERE IN THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM IS IT A HAZARD TO DRIVE

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/3/2017 - GREENVILLE JCT, ME
THE CAR WAS BEING DRIVEN AND CAUGHT FIRE ON RURAL ROADS ABOUT 50MPH.THE DOG AND MY SIGNIFICANT OTHER WERE ABLE TO GET OUT OF THE VEHICLE AND MY S.O.'S QUICK THINKING...SNOW IN THE ENGINE HELPED EXTINGUISH THE FLAMES. A GAME WARDEN ARRIVED AND THE CAR WAS TOWED TO A KIA DEALERSHIP WHO REPLACED THE ENTIRE ENGINE FREE OF COST.

View Details

ENGINE

3/3/2017 - GREENVILLE JCT, ME
THE CAR WAS BEING DRIVEN AND CAUGHT FIRE ON RURAL ROADS ABOUT 50MPH.THE DOG AND MY SIGNIFICANT OTHER WERE ABLE TO GET OUT OF THE VEHICLE AND MY S.O.'S QUICK THINKING...SNOW IN THE ENGINE HELPED EXTINGUISH THE FLAMES. A GAME WARDEN ARRIVED AND THE CAR WAS TOWED TO A KIA DEALERSHIP WHO REPLACED THE ENTIRE ENGINE FREE OF COST.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/25/2017 - ROLLA, MO
THE AIRBAG SENSOR LIGHT CAME ON IN SEPT 2016. THE DEALERSHIP STATED THAT IT WAS THE PASSENGER SEAT SENSOR THAT HAD GONE BAD. THEY STATED THAT IT COULD KEEP THE PASSENGER AIRBAG FROM DEPLOYING OR CAUSE IT TO DEPLOY WITHOUT WARNING. EVEN THOUGH THIS WAS A SAFETY ISSUE IT WAS NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY. THEY STATED THAT I COULD HAVE DONE SOMETHING TO CAUSE THE SENSOR TO GO BAD INSIDE THE SEAT! THE PART W/ LABOR COST OVER $1500 TO REPLACE. NOW 5 MONTHS LATE (FEB 2017) I AM HAVING THE SAME ISSUE AGAIN.

View Details

ENGINE

2/21/2017 - RIDGEFIELD, NJ
MY CAR IS 2013 KIA SORENTO. I BOUGHT THIS CAR JAN, 2014. MY FAMILY EXPERIENCED ENGINE STALL 4 TIMES SO FAR. LAST ONE WAS YESTERDAY. MY WIFE DROVE AT DOWN HILL AND STOP TO MAKE RIGHT TURN. THAT MOMENT, ENGINE STOPPED. SHE SAID BREAK WORK PROPERLY. SO, ENGINE SEEMS STOP AFTER CAR FULLY STOPPED. BUT MY WIFE DIDN'T RECOGNIZED STOPPED ENGINE. WHEN SHE RELEASED BREAKS. CAR WENT DOWN TO MAIN ROAD. SHE PUSHED ACCEL BUT CAR DIDN'T GO AHEAD. IF THERE WERE ANY CAR COMING. SHE COULDN'T AVOID HORRIBLE ACCIDENT. THAN, SHE PUT ON PARKING AND START ENGINE AGAIN. I HAVE RECEIVED 1 TIME ENGINE MODULE RECALL SERVICE. AFTER THAT, ENGINE STALLED 2 TIMES. THIS IS OVER 30K CAR. BUT NEVER RELIABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

2/13/2017 - FLAGSTAFF, AZ
WHILE TRAVELING AT 75 MPH ON THE FREEWAY. THE COMPRESSION WENT TO ZERO AND THE VEHICLE STALLED IN A DANGEROUS LOCATION NEXT TO A GUARDRAIL. THE ENGINE OIL FLOWED OUT OF THE ENGINE AND THERE WAS DARK SMOKE BILLOWING OUT OF THE EXHAUST. THE KIA WAS TOWED HOME AT MY EXPENSE. THE VEHICLE HAD SERVICE THROUGH ITS' ENTIRE WARRANTY PERIOD WITH KIA DEALERSHIP. THEY MADE MAJOR REPAIRS AS WELL AS OIL CHANGES FOR COMPLIANCE WITH WARRANTY. THE VEHICLE IS OUT OF WARRANTY BY 20K. KIA WILL NOT COVER THE ENGINE REPLACEMENT WHICH IS NEEDED. THIS IS THE SAME PATTERN OF MECHANICAL FAILURE REGARDING ENGINE OIL PROBLEMS LEADING TO CATASTROPHIC ENGINE FAILURE AND COSTLY REPAIRS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/9/2017 - RACINE, WI
CAR AT 72,000 MILES. AIRBAG LIGHT ILLUMINATES CONSTANTLY. DEALER INDICATES PROBLEM WITH PASSENGER OCCUPANCY SENSOR. ODDLY, THE OTHER LIGHT ABOVE THE CONSOLE THAT INDICATES PASSENGER AIRBAG ON/OFF CORRECTLY SHOWN OFF WHEN NO ONE IS SEATED IN PASSENGER SEAT, AND ON WHEN A PASSENGER IS SEATED. RESEARCH FROM VARIOUS ONLINE SOURCES IS INCONCLUSIVE IF THE AIRBAG WILL DEPLOY IN AN ACCIDENT GIVEN THE CURRENT ERROR CODES OF B1674 AND B1767. EXPENSE TO REPAIR IS EXCESSIVE, IN MY OPINION, AT A COST OF $1,800 FOR THE PASSENGER OCCUPANCY SENSOR (ROUGHLY 1/5 THE VALUE OF THE CAR).

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 28
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds