Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2013 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors Corporation

There are 96 complaints filed for the 2013 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (16) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seats (3) Suspension (4) Visibility (9)
Engine (52) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (4) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (4) Unknown Or Other (6) Wheels (1)
Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (16) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (12)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/16/2014 - ROCKWALL, TX
I WENT TO MY VEHICLE AND FOUND THE REAR WINDOW SHATTERED. THERE WERE NO POINTS OF ENTRY AND THE ENTIRE WINDOW WAS IN TACK, BUT SHATTERED. THERE WERE NO STRIKE MARKS OR BULLET HOLES. AS I WAS LOOKING AT IT, ALL OF THE GLASS STARTED FALLING OUT. THE VEHICLE WAS LEFT OUTSIDE OVERNIGHT IN FRONT OF MY HOUSE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/3/2014 - GROVE CITY , OH
WHILE DRIVING ON HIGHWAY #20 EAST IN QUEBEC CANADA THE FRONT PART OF THE PANORAMIC ROOF SHATTERED IN MILLIONS OF PIECES

View Details

STEERING

6/24/2014 - BRONX, NY
THE TRAFFIC LIGHT FOR MY DAUGHTER'S VEHICLE TURNED GREEN. SHE PROCEEDED INTO THE INTERSECTION. AND ENDED UP CRASHING INTO THE PASSENGER SIDE OF ANOTHER VEHICLE THAT RAN THR RED LIGHT. MY DAUGHTER'S VEHICLE SUSTAINED HEAVY DAMAGE TO THE ENTIRE FRONT END . HOWEVER THERE WAS NO AIRBAG DEPLOYMENT. WE ARE VERY CONCERNED DUE TO THE AMOUNT OF DAMAGE HDONE TO THE VEHICLE . AND WE WISH TO PUT IT ON REPORT SO THAT SOMEONE CAN INVESTIGATE IF THRRE MAY BE A DEFECT IN THE AIRBAG SYSTEM.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/24/2014 - BRONX, NY
THE TRAFFIC LIGHT FOR MY DAUGHTER'S VEHICLE TURNED GREEN. SHE PROCEEDED INTO THE INTERSECTION. AND ENDED UP CRASHING INTO THE PASSENGER SIDE OF ANOTHER VEHICLE THAT RAN THR RED LIGHT. MY DAUGHTER'S VEHICLE SUSTAINED HEAVY DAMAGE TO THE ENTIRE FRONT END . HOWEVER THERE WAS NO AIRBAG DEPLOYMENT. WE ARE VERY CONCERNED DUE TO THE AMOUNT OF DAMAGE HDONE TO THE VEHICLE . AND WE WISH TO PUT IT ON REPORT SO THAT SOMEONE CAN INVESTIGATE IF THRRE MAY BE A DEFECT IN THE AIRBAG SYSTEM.

View Details

SUSPENSION

6/24/2014 - BRONX, NY
THE TRAFFIC LIGHT FOR MY DAUGHTER'S VEHICLE TURNED GREEN. SHE PROCEEDED INTO THE INTERSECTION. AND ENDED UP CRASHING INTO THE PASSENGER SIDE OF ANOTHER VEHICLE THAT RAN THR RED LIGHT. MY DAUGHTER'S VEHICLE SUSTAINED HEAVY DAMAGE TO THE ENTIRE FRONT END . HOWEVER THERE WAS NO AIRBAG DEPLOYMENT. WE ARE VERY CONCERNED DUE TO THE AMOUNT OF DAMAGE HDONE TO THE VEHICLE . AND WE WISH TO PUT IT ON REPORT SO THAT SOMEONE CAN INVESTIGATE IF THRRE MAY BE A DEFECT IN THE AIRBAG SYSTEM.

View Details

ENGINE

6/24/2014 - DOWNERS GROVE, IL
WE BOUGHT THE VEHICLE NEW FROM KIA DEALER WITH 8000 MILE IN MARCH 2013 AND WE DID ALL THE MAINTENANCE AS PRESCRIBED . V6 3.6L 4X4 AFTER 14 MONTHS WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY AT 20 - 25 MPH, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY WOULD NOT ACCELERATE. AFTER TURNING THE VEHICLE OFF AND RESTARTING THE ENGINE THE VEHICLE OPERATED AS NORMAL. THIS HAPPENED 2 TIMES IN 4 DAYS IN SAME CIRCUMSTANCES. THE MIL CAME ON FRIDAY 20 JUNE AND STAY ON UNTIL SATURDAY 21 JUNE. IT HAPPENED AGAIN ON SUNDAY 22 JUNE AT ALMOST THE SAME SPEED. WE TAKE IT AT ONE CLOSE SHOP AND THEY READ THE CODES P2110; P2106; P0638 WHICH ARE POWER TRAIN RELATED AND THROTTLE ACTUATOR CONTROL RANGE /PERFORMANCE. THEY DIDNT ERASE THE CODES. I DONT KNOW THE REASON BUT ON MONDAY 23 JUNE THE MIL WENT OFF AGAIN. THE CAR IS FUNCTIONING NORMAL NOW BUT I DONT KNOW WHAT TO DO I WONDER IF THE CODES ARE STORED IN THE ECM. THIS SEEM TO BE VERRY DANGEROUS IT CAN HAPPEN ANYWHERE AND ANYTIME AND I WONDER WHY KIA DIDN'T MAKE A RECALL CAUSE I SEE A LOT A COMPLAINTS AS MINE. I WILL TAKE IT TO THE DEALER AND KEEP YOU INFORMED, I HOPE THEY WILL FIX IT UNDER WARANTY. ANYWAY THIS WILL BE MY LAST KIA!!!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/24/2014 - DOWNERS GROVE, IL
WE BOUGHT THE VEHICLE NEW FROM KIA DEALER WITH 8000 MILE IN MARCH 2013 AND WE DID ALL THE MAINTENANCE AS PRESCRIBED . V6 3.6L 4X4 AFTER 14 MONTHS WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY AT 20 - 25 MPH, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY WOULD NOT ACCELERATE. AFTER TURNING THE VEHICLE OFF AND RESTARTING THE ENGINE THE VEHICLE OPERATED AS NORMAL. THIS HAPPENED 2 TIMES IN 4 DAYS IN SAME CIRCUMSTANCES. THE MIL CAME ON FRIDAY 20 JUNE AND STAY ON UNTIL SATURDAY 21 JUNE. IT HAPPENED AGAIN ON SUNDAY 22 JUNE AT ALMOST THE SAME SPEED. WE TAKE IT AT ONE CLOSE SHOP AND THEY READ THE CODES P2110; P2106; P0638 WHICH ARE POWER TRAIN RELATED AND THROTTLE ACTUATOR CONTROL RANGE /PERFORMANCE. THEY DIDNT ERASE THE CODES. I DONT KNOW THE REASON BUT ON MONDAY 23 JUNE THE MIL WENT OFF AGAIN. THE CAR IS FUNCTIONING NORMAL NOW BUT I DONT KNOW WHAT TO DO I WONDER IF THE CODES ARE STORED IN THE ECM. THIS SEEM TO BE VERRY DANGEROUS IT CAN HAPPEN ANYWHERE AND ANYTIME AND I WONDER WHY KIA DIDN'T MAKE A RECALL CAUSE I SEE A LOT A COMPLAINTS AS MINE. I WILL TAKE IT TO THE DEALER AND KEEP YOU INFORMED, I HOPE THEY WILL FIX IT UNDER WARANTY. ANYWAY THIS WILL BE MY LAST KIA!!!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/17/2014 - MERIDIAN, ID
SUN ROOF GLASS AT REAR EXPLODED AT A STOP LIGHT. THE GLASS IS PUSHED UP AND SHATTERED AND THERE ARE NO OBJECTS FOUND THAT CAUSED THE GLASS TO BREAK. IT APPEARS TO BE A DEFECTIVE DESIGN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/13/2014 - SALEM, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 35 MPH, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY FAILED TO ACCELERATE. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT AFTER TURNING THE VEHICLE OFF AND RESTARTING THE ENGINE, THE VEHICLE OPERATED NORMALLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 34,000.

View Details

ENGINE

6/4/2014 - STRASBURG, VA
WE HAVE OWNED OUR KIA FOR 9 MONTHS, IT HAS BEEN IN THE SHOP AT LEAST 4 TIMES AND NOW ITS IN THE SHOP AGAIN. THE VEHICLE WILL COME TO A COMPLETE STOP WHEN GOING FULL SPEED, WE WERE GOING 45MPH FOR THE LAST INCIDENT AND THE KIA CAME TO A COMPLETE STOP OUT OF NO WHERE AND THE ENGINE SHUT WAS STILL ON BUT IDLE HIGH AND WOULD NOT GO ANYWHERE UNTIL YOU TURNED THE KIA OFF, WAITED FOR 15-20MINS FOR IT TO "REPROGRAM" AND THEN IT HAD ENOUGH POWER TO MOVE SLOWLY OUT OF THE ROAD. AFTER GETTING IT HOME MY HUSBAND CALLED THE DEALERSHIP THE FIRST TIME AND THEY HAD NO IDEA WHAT WAS WRONG SO THEY SENT US TO ANOTHER DEALERSHIP WHO SAID THEY COULDN'T FIND ANYTHING WRONG AT THE TIME BUT IF IT HAPPENS AGAIN TO BRING IT BACK, WELL 9 MONTHS LATER WE ARE STILL HAVING ISSUES AND ARE NOT ABLE TO DRIVE IT WITHOUT FEAR THAT IT WILL JUST RANDOMLY SHUT DOWN IN THE ROADWAY. THE ONE TIME IT DID IT WE WERE ON THE INTERSTATE, AS A PARENT MY KIDS CAN NOT RIDE IN A VEHICLE THAT KEEPS DOING THIS AND KIA WILL NOT FIX THE ISSUE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds