Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2013 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 250 complaints filed for the 2013 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (18) Exterior Lighting (12) Seat Belts (3) Structure (11) Vehicle Speed Control (18)
Electrical System (36) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Seats (13) Suspension (6) Visibility (20)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (11) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (127) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (8) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Power Train (33) Steering (9)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 35
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

12/9/2017 - CLAREMONT, CA
VEHICLE EXPERIENCED MECHANICAL ENGINE FAILURE AND IMMEDIATE REDUCTION IN POWER WHILE DRIVING AROUND 30 MPH UP HILL. FAILURE AT A HIGHER SPEED OF TRAVEL, COULD HAVE RESULTED IN SIGNIFICANT DANGER TO OCCUPANTS. THIS VEHICLE WAS EQUIPPED WITH THE 2.4L MPI ENGINE, WHICH FAILED IN A WAY CONSISTENT WITH THE RECALLED FAILURE OF THE 2.4L GDI VERSION. BELIEVE KIA IS UNDER-REPRESENTING THE SCOPE OF ENGINE PROBLEMS IN THE CURRENT RECALL CAMPAIGN. THE ENGINES ARE FAILING IN THE REGION OF CONNECTION ROD BEARINGS AND LOWER BLOCK, WHILE THE MAIN DIFFERENCE BETWEEN THE MPI AND GDI VERSIONS OF THE ENGINE ARE IN THE UPPER PORTION OF THE ENGINE INVOLVING FUEL INJECTION. BELIEVE THE MPI VERSION SHOULD BE INVESTIGATED FOR CONTAINING IDENTICAL OR VERY SIMILAR FAILURE MODES AND MANUFACTURING DEFECTS, AS THEY ARE INDEED THE SAME ENGINE FAMILY WITH MANY SHARED COMPONENTS.

View Details

ENGINE

12/2/2017 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
I HAVE A 2013 KIA SORENTO WITH 103000 MILES AND I'M THE 2ND OWNER, I THINK, AND HAVE HAD IT FOR 7 MONTHS. CHANGED THE OIL REGULARLY AND NO ENGINE OR WARNING LIGHTS WERE ON. I WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY AT 75 MPH AND THE ENGINE STALLED. I WAS ABLE TO PULL OVER SAFELY. STARTED THE SORENTO AGAIN AND THE ENGINE WAS MAKING A LOUD NOISE. HAD TO HAVE IT TOWED 40 MILES TO MECHANIC WHO SAID THE ROD BEARING WAS THE BLAME AND THE DEBRIS FROM THAT CAUSED EXTENSIVE DAMAGE TO THE VEHICLE. CONTACTED KIA 3 TIMES AND SPOKE TO SUPERVISORS, BUT THEY SAID MY ENGINE / VIN # WAS NOT COVERED UNDER THE RECALL AND THAT IT WAS UP TO ME TO GET FIXED. $7000.00 !!

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/2/2017 - BRADENTON,, FL
I HAVE REPEATEDLY CONTACTED KIA CORPORATE AND THE DEALERSHIP REGARDING AN AXLE ISSUE. IT IS THE SAME EXACT ISSUE THAT NHSTA HAS ISSUED A RECALL NOTICE FOR 2014 MODEL VEHICLES. MY AXLE IS IN JEOPARDY OF FRACTURING - COMPANY WILL NOT REPAIR THE ISSUE BECAUSE THEY SAY 2013S AREN'T COVERED. SUMMARY: KIA MOTORS CORP. IS RECALLING CERTAIN MODEL YEAR 2014 FRONT WHEEL DRIVE SORENTO VEHICLES MANUFACTURED JANUARY 7, 2013, THROUGH MARCH 12, 2013; AND EQUIPPED WITH 2.4 LITER ENGINES. DUE TO A MANUFACTURING ISSUE, THE RIGHT FRONT AXLE SHAFT MAY FRACTURE.

View Details

STEERING

12/2/2017 - BRADENTON,, FL
I HAVE REPEATEDLY CONTACTED KIA CORPORATE AND THE DEALERSHIP REGARDING AN AXLE ISSUE. IT IS THE SAME EXACT ISSUE THAT NHSTA HAS ISSUED A RECALL NOTICE FOR 2014 MODEL VEHICLES. MY AXLE IS IN JEOPARDY OF FRACTURING - COMPANY WILL NOT REPAIR THE ISSUE BECAUSE THEY SAY 2013S AREN'T COVERED. SUMMARY: KIA MOTORS CORP. IS RECALLING CERTAIN MODEL YEAR 2014 FRONT WHEEL DRIVE SORENTO VEHICLES MANUFACTURED JANUARY 7, 2013, THROUGH MARCH 12, 2013; AND EQUIPPED WITH 2.4 LITER ENGINES. DUE TO A MANUFACTURING ISSUE, THE RIGHT FRONT AXLE SHAFT MAY FRACTURE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

12/2/2017 - BRADENTON,, FL
I HAVE REPEATEDLY CONTACTED KIA CORPORATE AND THE DEALERSHIP REGARDING AN AXLE ISSUE. IT IS THE SAME EXACT ISSUE THAT NHSTA HAS ISSUED A RECALL NOTICE FOR 2014 MODEL VEHICLES. MY AXLE IS IN JEOPARDY OF FRACTURING - COMPANY WILL NOT REPAIR THE ISSUE BECAUSE THEY SAY 2013S AREN'T COVERED. SUMMARY: KIA MOTORS CORP. IS RECALLING CERTAIN MODEL YEAR 2014 FRONT WHEEL DRIVE SORENTO VEHICLES MANUFACTURED JANUARY 7, 2013, THROUGH MARCH 12, 2013; AND EQUIPPED WITH 2.4 LITER ENGINES. DUE TO A MANUFACTURING ISSUE, THE RIGHT FRONT AXLE SHAFT MAY FRACTURE.

View Details

ENGINE

11/22/2017 - EAST LIVERPOOL, OH
MY CAR IS USING OIL TOOK IT TO KIA DEALER AND THEY SAID IT HAD 5 RECALLS ON IT AFTER THEY HAD THE SAID TO DRIVE IT FOR 500 MILES IF IT STILL USES OIL CALL THEM BACK I DID AND THEY SAID THEIR WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO FOR ME I EVEN BOUGHT EXTRA IMANI TAN EVEN INSURANCE THAT THEY SAY WILL NOT COVER THE MOTOR THEY WANT ME PAY 1000 DOLLARS FOR THEM TO TEAR IT DOWN TO SEE IF IT IS MY FAULT OR THEIR AND UP BACK TOGETHER WITH THE SAME USE PARTS I DID NOT GET ANY NOTICES FOR ANY OF THEY RECALLS THEY FIXED

View Details

ENGINE

11/7/2017 - NEW ORLEANS, LA
2013 KIA SORENTO. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO ENGINE SAFETY RECALL ISSUED. THE CONSUMER STATED KNOCKING NOISE COULD BE HEARD FROM THE ENGINE. THE DEALER COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE CONSUMER STATED THE DEALER REFUSED TO REPAIR THE ENGINE UNDER THE RECALL. UPDATED 11/07/2017

View Details

ENGINE

10/30/2017 - LIVERMORE, CA
ON OCTOBER 6TH, I WAS COMMUTING HOME FROM WORK AND MY VEHICLE STARTED MAKING NOISE UPON ACCELERATION THAT SOUNDED LIKE SOMETHING WAS LOOSE. ONCE I ARRIVED AT MY HOUSE, I NOTICED A KNOCKING SOUND AS I PUT MY VEHICLE IN PARK. OUT NEAREST KIA SERVICE DEPARTMENT IS NOT OPEN ON SATURDAYS SO I TOOK IT TO A NEARBY MECHANIC. THEY DETERMINED THERE WAS A BEARING ISSUE AND I WOULD HAVE TO REPLACE THE ENGINE. THEY HAD A DIFFICULT TIME GIVING ME A COMPLETE ESTIMATE BECAUSE THEY HAD TROUBLE FINDING ALL PARTS NEEDED. I CONTACTED KIA ON MONDAY AND ASKED IF THEY COULD HELP ME AS I WAS JUST A BIT OVER THE 100,000 WARRANTY. THEY SUGGESTED I CALL KIA AND SPEAK TO A CUSTOMER SERVICE REP AND OPEN A CASE WITH THEM. I OPENED A CASE AND THEY SUGGESTED I BRING MY CAR INTO KIA FOR A DIAGNOSTIC. I BROUGHT IT IN ON TUESDAY AND THEY CONFIRMED THERE WAS A BEARING ISSUE AND THE ENGINE WOULD NEED TO BE REPLACED. I WAS QUOTED $7,700 BEFORE TAX FOR A RE-MANUFACTURED ENGINE AND OVER $12,000 FOR A FULLY ASSEMBLED ENGINE. MY REQUEST FOR KIA TO ASSIST ME WITH THIS REPAIR WAS PUT IN, I FORWARDED MY MAINTENANCE RECORDS TO THE DEALERSHIP AND THEY SENT THAT ALONG WITH SOME PHOTOS THE DISTRICT PARTS AND SERVICE MANAGER REQUESTED OF MY ENGINE. I DID NOT HEAR BACK FROM KIA EVEN AFTER ATTEMPTING TO FOLLOW UP DAILY UNTIL OCTOBER 25 AFTER I REQUESTED MY CASE BE ESCALATED. I INQUIRED WITH MY CASE MANAGER, CUSTOMER SERVICE REPS, AND THE SERVICE MANAGER AT THE DEALERSHIP ABOUT WHAT ACTUALLY WENT WRONG WITH MY ENGINE AND HOW THIS SITUATION IS UNLIKE THE MOST RECENT RECALL ON MY SAME YEAR MAKE AND MODEL ENGINES-ONLY THOSE WERE GDI. I CONFIRMED THAT IT WAS A ROD BEARING THAT CAUSED METAL SHAVINGS TO BE FOND IN MY ENGINE. BASED ON MY RESEARCH OF THE RECENT RECALL, THIS IS EXACTLY WHAT THE ISSUE WAS. I'M NOT SIRE WHY WITH SO MANY SIMILAR COMPLAINTS, OTHER ENGINES WERE NOT CONSIDERED IN THE RECALL.

View Details

ENGINE

10/25/2017 - KINGSLAND, GA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE CONTACT HEARD A RATTLING NOISE UNDER THE HOOD. THE NOISE BECAME EXTREMELY LOUD WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE CONTACT NOTICED THE RATTLING NOISE COMING FROM THE ENGINE AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE TAKEN APART. ADDITIONALLY, THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MECHANIC RECOMMENDED THAT THE ENGINE BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 17V224000 (ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND PROVIDED CASE NUMBER: 12519740, BUT DID NOT OFFER ANY FURTHER ASSISTANCE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 84,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/11/2017 - PORTLAND, OR
WAS TOLD BY THE DEALER THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE FRONT SEAT SENSOR NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. AFTER RESEARCHING IT TURNS OUT THERE ARE MULTIPLE PEOPLE HAVING THE SAME ISSUE WITH THIS MODEL AND VARIOUS YEARS. THE AIRBAGS WILL NOT DEPLOY UNLESS IT IS FIXED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 35
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds