Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2013 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 243 complaints filed for the 2013 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (18) Exterior Lighting (12) Seat Belts (3) Structure (11) Vehicle Speed Control (18)
Electrical System (36) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Seats (13) Suspension (5) Visibility (20)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (11) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (121) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (8) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Power Train (32) Steering (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

10/11/2017 - PORTLAND, OR
WAS TOLD BY THE DEALER THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE FRONT SEAT SENSOR NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. AFTER RESEARCHING IT TURNS OUT THERE ARE MULTIPLE PEOPLE HAVING THE SAME ISSUE WITH THIS MODEL AND VARIOUS YEARS. THE AIRBAGS WILL NOT DEPLOY UNLESS IT IS FIXED.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/10/2017 - WEST PALM BEACH, FL
WHEN BRAKING THERE IS A LOUD GROANING SOUND, VERY UNUSUAL FOR BRAKES. THE BRAKES ARE NOT EXTREMELY WORN AND THE BRAKE FLUID IS FULL. ALSO, I HAD THE VEHICLE INSPECTED A COUPLE MONTHS AGO AND BRAKES WERE IN GOOD CONDITION

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/5/2017 - LINCOLN, NE
KIA REPLACED MY ENGINE TWICE, DUE TO OIL CONSUMPTION. A MONTH AFTER THE FIRST ENGINE REPLACEMENT, I HAD THE SAME PROBLEMS.. SMOKE COMING OUT OF EXHAUST, LOSS OF POWER, STALLING AND OIL CONSUMPTION. I WAS IN AND OUT OF KIA+S SERVICE DEPARTMENT. THEY TOLD ME NOTHING WAS WRONG! I MOVED FROM CO TO NE, MY HUSBAND AND I HAD TO ADD OIL EVERY 100 MILES, WITH SMOKE COMING OUT OF EXHAUST AND STALLING. LINCOLN NE KIA FOUND AN OIL LEAK AT THE EXHAUST MANIFOLD RIGHT AWAY! KIA INSTRUCTS THEN TO REPLACE MY ENGINE AGAIN! ONCE THEY REPLACED ENGINE, THEY STILL SAW THE LEAK AT THE EXHAUST MANIFOLD WITH RESULTED IN MORE GUESSING AND PARTS. THE DAY AFTER I PICKED IT UP, MY HUSBAND AND I WENT OUT TO DINNER AND MY SORENTO DIED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD. RIGHT AWAY CALLED AND GOT IT BACK IN. AT FIRST THEY COULD NOT DUPLICATE, HOWEVER AFTER TAKING IT 50 MILES, IT DIED 3 TIMES. THEY STILL CAN+T FIND ANYTHING, BUT FEEL IT MAY BE THE THROTTLE BODY. THEY PUT A USED ONE ON AND HAVE ME DRIVE IT A FEW WEEKS, IT DIDN+T DIE DURING THAT TIME, SO THEY ORDERED A NEW ONE AND INSTALLED. A MONTH LATER I DRIVE TO CO, I BREAK DOWN, IT+S TOWED BACK AND KIA CAN+T FIND ANYTHING. I DRIVE IT AND IT DIES 1/2 DOZEN MORE TIMES, EACH TIME I TAKE IT RIGHT IN, BUT THE CODE HAS CLEARED AND THEY CAN+T FIND ANYTHING! FINALLY, IT DOES AND THE LIGHT STAYS ON, IT SHOWS IT+S THE MAP SENSOR. KIA HAS A SPECIALIST COME OUT TO INSTALL THAT AND INSPECT MY CAR. THEY SAY IT+S FIXED AND SAFE. I DRIVE TO CO ON 9/22/17, 2 MONTHS LATER AND MY ENGINE CATCHES ON FIRE. I LOSS MY BRAKES, CAN+T PUT IT IN PARK AND EMERGENCY BRAKE WON+T WORK. FLAMES ARE EVERYWHERE, SMOKE FILLING MY CAR. I JUMP OUT OF MY BURNING, MOVING CAR AND SECONDS LATER THE WHOLE THING ENGULFS IN FLAMES! MOST HORRIFIC, AWFUL THING EVER! I WAS LUCKY ENOUGH TO HAVE MINOR INJURIES. MY MENTAL AND EMOTIONAL STATE ARE A MESS! KIA WON+T DO ANYTHING!

View Details

ENGINE

10/5/2017 - LINCOLN, NE
KIA REPLACED MY ENGINE TWICE, DUE TO OIL CONSUMPTION. A MONTH AFTER THE FIRST ENGINE REPLACEMENT, I HAD THE SAME PROBLEMS.. SMOKE COMING OUT OF EXHAUST, LOSS OF POWER, STALLING AND OIL CONSUMPTION. I WAS IN AND OUT OF KIA+S SERVICE DEPARTMENT. THEY TOLD ME NOTHING WAS WRONG! I MOVED FROM CO TO NE, MY HUSBAND AND I HAD TO ADD OIL EVERY 100 MILES, WITH SMOKE COMING OUT OF EXHAUST AND STALLING. LINCOLN NE KIA FOUND AN OIL LEAK AT THE EXHAUST MANIFOLD RIGHT AWAY! KIA INSTRUCTS THEN TO REPLACE MY ENGINE AGAIN! ONCE THEY REPLACED ENGINE, THEY STILL SAW THE LEAK AT THE EXHAUST MANIFOLD WITH RESULTED IN MORE GUESSING AND PARTS. THE DAY AFTER I PICKED IT UP, MY HUSBAND AND I WENT OUT TO DINNER AND MY SORENTO DIED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD. RIGHT AWAY CALLED AND GOT IT BACK IN. AT FIRST THEY COULD NOT DUPLICATE, HOWEVER AFTER TAKING IT 50 MILES, IT DIED 3 TIMES. THEY STILL CAN+T FIND ANYTHING, BUT FEEL IT MAY BE THE THROTTLE BODY. THEY PUT A USED ONE ON AND HAVE ME DRIVE IT A FEW WEEKS, IT DIDN+T DIE DURING THAT TIME, SO THEY ORDERED A NEW ONE AND INSTALLED. A MONTH LATER I DRIVE TO CO, I BREAK DOWN, IT+S TOWED BACK AND KIA CAN+T FIND ANYTHING. I DRIVE IT AND IT DIES 1/2 DOZEN MORE TIMES, EACH TIME I TAKE IT RIGHT IN, BUT THE CODE HAS CLEARED AND THEY CAN+T FIND ANYTHING! FINALLY, IT DOES AND THE LIGHT STAYS ON, IT SHOWS IT+S THE MAP SENSOR. KIA HAS A SPECIALIST COME OUT TO INSTALL THAT AND INSPECT MY CAR. THEY SAY IT+S FIXED AND SAFE. I DRIVE TO CO ON 9/22/17, 2 MONTHS LATER AND MY ENGINE CATCHES ON FIRE. I LOSS MY BRAKES, CAN+T PUT IT IN PARK AND EMERGENCY BRAKE WON+T WORK. FLAMES ARE EVERYWHERE, SMOKE FILLING MY CAR. I JUMP OUT OF MY BURNING, MOVING CAR AND SECONDS LATER THE WHOLE THING ENGULFS IN FLAMES! MOST HORRIFIC, AWFUL THING EVER! I WAS LUCKY ENOUGH TO HAVE MINOR INJURIES. MY MENTAL AND EMOTIONAL STATE ARE A MESS! KIA WON+T DO ANYTHING!

View Details

ENGINE

10/2/2017 - RANDALL, IA
2013 KIA SORENTO. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO ENGINE FAILURE WHILE DRIVING. THE CONSUMER STATED THE MANUFACTURER SHOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR HAVING THE ENGINE REPLACED. THE ENGINE IN THE VEHICLE WAS NO LONGER IN PRODUCTION. UPDATED 10/02/2017

View Details

ENGINE

10/2/2017 - SURPRISE, AZ
I EXPERIENCE A LOUD KNOCKING IN MY ENGINE, UPON BRINGING TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR FURTHER INSPECTION, THE ENGINE IS BELIEVED THAT THE ROD BEARINGS FAILED AND THE ENGINE HAS METAL DEBRI INSODE OF ENGINE. CAUSING THE ENGINE TO BE COMPLETELY UNUSABLE AND POSSIBLY OTHER ENGINE DAMAGE BECAUSE OF THIS. NOT TO MENTION THE SENSORS ON THE CAR NEVER CAME ON TO WARN ME OF ANY POSSIBLE PROBLEMS THAT MIGHT BE HAPPENING. THE CAR IS STILL BEING OWED ON AND IN UNDRIVABLE CONDITION. IT HAS BEEN SINCE PARKED, EXCEPT WHEN TOWED ( FULL BED TOW) TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR INSPECTION AND THAN TOWED BACK TO MY RESIDENCE. THE ESTIMATED COST KIA OFFERED WAS OVER $9,000 FOR PARTS AND LABOR WITH ONLY A 12,000 MILE/ 1 YEAR WARRANTY WHEN THE ORIGINAL ENGINE WARRANTY IS 100.000 MI WARRANTY. THE MAINTENCE HAS BEEN KEPT UP ON DURING THE LIFE OF THE VWHICLE AND NO KNOWN NEGLIGENCE WAS DONE TO CAUSE THIS PROBLEM. THE PROBLEM WAS IDENTIFIED WHEN MY HUSBAND WAS DRIVING AND THE CAR STALLED OUT 3 TIMES WHILE PICKING UP OUR KIDS FROM SCHOOL. WHEN HE ARRIVED HOME IT HAD LOUND KNOCKING NOISES COMING FROM ENGINE , SO WE ARRANGED FOR THE DEALER TO INSPECT THE ISSUE. THEY INFORMED ME IT WAS OVER THEIR WARRANTY BECAUSE OF THE MILEAGE AND WOULDNT COVER THE DAMAGE. I HAVE SINCE FOUND OUT OTHER OWNERS WITH SIMILAR PROBLEMS AS MY KIA HAPPENING TO THEM AS WELL AS THE LAWSUIT THAT KIA /HYUNDAI PAID OUT FOR REPAIRS IN THE CASE GREG WALLIS VS. KIA MOTORS CASE #8:16-CV-01033 (US DISTRICT COURT FOR THE CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA. WITH THEM AGREEING TO PAY ALL REPAIRS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/30/2017 - FONTANA, CA
MY 2013 SORRENTO HAS STALLED 2 TIMES IN THE LAST 2 WEEKSON THE FREEWAY. WHEN BRINGING IT TO THE DEALER THERE ARE NO EBNGINE CODES. I SEE THAT FROM 2011 TO 2013 THERE HAS BEEN A PCM UPDATE FOR THIS ISSUE SC106. AND DEALER STATES MY VIN IS NOT ON THE LIST EVEN THO IT FALLS INTO THE YEAR CATAGORY. I WILL CONTINUE TO GO TO THE DEALER.THIS IS UNSAFE WHEN YOU LOSE BRAKES AND STEERING WHILE ON THE FREEWAY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/30/2017 - FONTANA, CA
MY 2013 SORRENTO HAS STALLED 2 TIMES IN THE LAST 2 WEEKSON THE FREEWAY. WHEN BRINGING IT TO THE DEALER THERE ARE NO EBNGINE CODES. I SEE THAT FROM 2011 TO 2013 THERE HAS BEEN A PCM UPDATE FOR THIS ISSUE SC106. AND DEALER STATES MY VIN IS NOT ON THE LIST EVEN THO IT FALLS INTO THE YEAR CATAGORY. I WILL CONTINUE TO GO TO THE DEALER.THIS IS UNSAFE WHEN YOU LOSE BRAKES AND STEERING WHILE ON THE FREEWAY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/23/2017 - IRWIN, ID
DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD ON A SUMMER ROAD TRIP, THE AIRBAG LIGHT ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL ILLUMINATED AND REMAINED LIT. THE VEHICLE HAD JUST REACHED 100,000 MILES AND IS ONLY THREE YEARS OLD. AT THE END OF THE TRIP, THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN INTO THE DEALER. THEY RAN A DIAGNOSTIC AND PULLED A CODE RELATING TO THE PASSENGER AIRBAG SENSOR MAT. THEY INSPECTED ALL THE CONNECTIONS AND DETERMINED THAT A CONNECTION MUST HAVE COME LOOSE AND RESET THE AIRBAG LIGHT. LESS THAN A WEEK LATER, THE AIRBAG LIGHT ONCE AGAIN ILLUMINATED AND REMAINED LIT. IT WAS TAKEN INTO THE DEALER AGAIN AND THIS TIME A THOROUGH INSPECTION WAS PERFORMED AND THE DEFECT WAS SAID TO BE WITH THE AIRBAG SENSOR MAT AND THAT IT WAS NOT COVERED UNDER RECALL, AND THAT THE VEHICLE WAS PAST THE 60,000 MILE ELECTRICAL WARRANTY. THE ONLY OPTION FOR REPLACEMENT WAS TO PURCHASE A BRAND NEW SEAT, WITH SENSOR, AT THE COST OF THE OWNER, FOR $2200. THIS DEFECT IS COSTLY TO THE OWNER, ESPECIALLY ON A "LIKE-NEW" VEHICLE, AND IS A MAJOR SAFETY CONCERN SINCE THIS DEFECT PREVENTS THE DEPLOYMENT OF THE PASSENGER AIRBAG IN THE CASE OF AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

ENGINE

9/22/2017 - SURPRISE, AZ
MY ENGINE HAS NO LEAKS OF OIL YET RAN OUT OF ALL BUT 1 QT, AND CAUSED MY TO GET SPUN BEARINGS, AND NOW ENGINE IS RUINED. THIS IS LESS THAN A 4 YEAR OLD CAR AND NO INDICATOR LIGHTS EVER CAME ON SAYING I WAS LOW ON ANYTHING. ALSO JUST HAD MAJOR FLUIDS ALL CHANGED IN CAR LESS THAN 6 MONTHS AGO. IT IS OVER THE 100,000 WARRANTY SO NOW I HAVE TO GET A NEW ENGINE. LOOKING TO SEE IF THIS IS AN ISSUE WITH ANY OTHER OWNERS. THE ENGINE IS THE V6 ENGINE, THE SMALLER ENGINE WAS RECALLED FOR SIMILAR ISSUES, YET MINE WASNT IN THE RECALL.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds