Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2013 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 153 complaints filed for the 2013 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (2) Structure (8) Vehicle Speed Control (17)
Electrical System (29) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Seats (5) Suspension (4) Visibility (20)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (8) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine (71) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (7) Unknown Or Other (5) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Power Train (25)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
 
ComplaintDescription

SEAT BELTS

3/28/2016 - WESTLAND, MI
I'VE HAD MY 2013 KIA SORENTO FOR JUST OVER 3 YEARS. I WAS IN A ONE CAR ACCIDENT AND MY SEATBELT DIDN'T RETRACT AND MY AIRBAG DIDN'T DEPLOY. I BROKE MY STERNUM AND HAVE BACK PROBLEMS. THE PROBLEMS I'VE HAD WITH MY SORENTO ARE REPLACING HEADLIGHTS, I HAD TO GET A NEW BATTERY AND BRAKES AFTER ONE YEAR. MY AIRBAG LIGHT DOESN'T GO OFF RIGHT AWAY. BEFORE MY ACCIDENT IT WAS IN THE SHOP BECAUSE MY AIRBAG LIGHT STAYED ON. NOW I HAVE NO POWER ALL MY LIGHTS STOPPED WORKING. WHEN I PUT THE TRUCK IN DRIVE AND TURN IT OFF, I CAN'T TAKE THE KEY OUT I HAVE TO PUT IT BACK IN PARK AGAIN. MY SORENTO WAS SHAKING AND MAKING NOISE WHEN THE LIGJTS STOPPED WORKING. I HAVE NO TEMP GAGE AT ALL.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/28/2016 - WESTLAND, MI
I'VE HAD MY 2013 KIA SORENTO FOR JUST OVER 3 YEARS. I WAS IN A ONE CAR ACCIDENT AND MY SEATBELT DIDN'T RETRACT AND MY AIRBAG DIDN'T DEPLOY. I BROKE MY STERNUM AND HAVE BACK PROBLEMS. THE PROBLEMS I'VE HAD WITH MY SORENTO ARE REPLACING HEADLIGHTS, I HAD TO GET A NEW BATTERY AND BRAKES AFTER ONE YEAR. MY AIRBAG LIGHT DOESN'T GO OFF RIGHT AWAY. BEFORE MY ACCIDENT IT WAS IN THE SHOP BECAUSE MY AIRBAG LIGHT STAYED ON. NOW I HAVE NO POWER ALL MY LIGHTS STOPPED WORKING. WHEN I PUT THE TRUCK IN DRIVE AND TURN IT OFF, I CAN'T TAKE THE KEY OUT I HAVE TO PUT IT BACK IN PARK AGAIN. MY SORENTO WAS SHAKING AND MAKING NOISE WHEN THE LIGJTS STOPPED WORKING. I HAVE NO TEMP GAGE AT ALL.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/28/2016 - WESTLAND, MI
I'VE HAD MY 2013 KIA SORENTO FOR JUST OVER 3 YEARS. I WAS IN A ONE CAR ACCIDENT AND MY SEATBELT DIDN'T RETRACT AND MY AIRBAG DIDN'T DEPLOY. I BROKE MY STERNUM AND HAVE BACK PROBLEMS. THE PROBLEMS I'VE HAD WITH MY SORENTO ARE REPLACING HEADLIGHTS, I HAD TO GET A NEW BATTERY AND BRAKES AFTER ONE YEAR. MY AIRBAG LIGHT DOESN'T GO OFF RIGHT AWAY. BEFORE MY ACCIDENT IT WAS IN THE SHOP BECAUSE MY AIRBAG LIGHT STAYED ON. NOW I HAVE NO POWER ALL MY LIGHTS STOPPED WORKING. WHEN I PUT THE TRUCK IN DRIVE AND TURN IT OFF, I CAN'T TAKE THE KEY OUT I HAVE TO PUT IT BACK IN PARK AGAIN. MY SORENTO WAS SHAKING AND MAKING NOISE WHEN THE LIGJTS STOPPED WORKING. I HAVE NO TEMP GAGE AT ALL.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/22/2016 - RADFORD, VA
MY WAS REMOVING GROCERIES FROM HER NEW KIA WHEN IT STARTED TO ROLL AWAY WHILE THE CAR WAS IN PARK. WE CHECK KIA DEALER WE WERE ALL WAS ON WITH THE CAR THE PROBLEM HAD TO BE DIVER ERROR. THEN ON OR ABOUT NOVEMBER 20, 2015 WE RECEIVED A RECALLED FOR A TRANSMISSION PROBLEM THAT ALLOW THE KIA TO SLIDE OUT OF PARK AND INTO REVERSE WITH THE BREAK PEDAL BEING DEPRESSED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/16/2016 - RELIANCE, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE POWER TRAIN CONTROL MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE PERSISTED AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED SIX TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 39,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/16/2016 - RELIANCE, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE POWER TRAIN CONTROL MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE PERSISTED AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED SIX TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 39,000.

View Details

ENGINE

3/16/2016 - RELIANCE, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE POWER TRAIN CONTROL MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE PERSISTED AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED SIX TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 39,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/8/2016 - PALM COAST, FL
MY AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT INDICATOR HAS ILLUMINATED. WHEN RESEARCHING THE PROBLEM ONLINE, IT CAME TO MY ATTENTION THAT THIS IS A VERY COMMON PROBLEM THAT MOSTLY OCCURS IN VEHICLES THAT, LIKE MINE, HAVE JUST SURPASSED THE WARRANTY PERIOD. IF HUNDREDS OF CAR OWNERS HAVE EXPERIENCED THIS SAME SAFETY ISSUE, WHY IS IT NOT A PROBLEM COVERED UNDER A RECALL?

View Details

ENGINE

3/1/2016 - MISHAWAKA, IN
I PURCHASED THE KIA SORENTO NEW JUNE 2013. I HAD MY FIRST OIL CHANGE AT THE DEALER AT ABOUT 5700 MILES ON OR ABOUT NOVEMBER 2013. THE DEALER TOLD US THAT KIA HAD THE BEST WARRANTY AND ONLY SUGGESTED OIL CHANGES AT 7500-10,000 MILE INTERVALS. I PURCHASED THE OIL AND MY FATHER CHANGED THE OIL 2 MORE TIMES ONCE IN JULY 2014 AND AGAIN SEPTEMBER 2015. THIS VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED FOR MY WIFE WHO GAVE BIRTH TO OUR SON THREE DAYS AFTER PURCHASING THE VEHICLE. IT WAS NOT DRIVEN OFTEN BECAUSE SHE DID NOT RETURN TO WORK UNTIL OCTOBER 2013. AS A TEACHER SHE ONLY WORKED UNTIL MAY 2014 AND DID NOT RETURN TO WORK UNTIL SEPTEMBER 2015. SHE WORKED LESS THAN 10 MILES FROM HOME THEREFORE OUR MILEAGE WAS LOW. AROUND DECEMBER 9, 2015 MY WIFE SAID THE CAR WAS +ACTING FUNNY+. I TOLD HER TO COME HOME AND I WOULD HAVE MY DAD LOOK AT IT. WHEN SHE CAME HOME THE CAR APPEARED FINE NO LIGHTS, NO WARNINGS, NO SOUNDS THAT WASN+T NORMAL. THE NEXT DAY WE WERE DRIVING AND THE CAR IT JUST STOPPED ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. AGAIN NO WARNING LIGHTS, OR ENGINE LIGHT NO LOW OIL LIGHT... NOTHING. WE HAD IT TOWED TO THE DEALERSHIP. THE DEALER TOOK SEVERAL DAYS TO TELL US THAT THE ENGINE WAS BLOWN BECAUSE WE DIDN+T CHANGE THE OIL ENOUGH. WE WERE NOT DUE FOR ANOTHER OIL CHANGE FOR 5000 MILES. AFTER A MONTH OF WAITING KIA TOLD ME THEY WERE NOT FIXING UNDER WARRANTY. I HAVE SPOKE TO MANY PEOPLE, DEALERSHIPS, JUNK YARDS, MECHANICS... ALL SAY AFTER ONLY 30000 ON THE CAR NO WAY IT SHOULD HAVE THAT MUCH ENGINE SLUDGE TO BLOW THE ENGINE EVEN IF IT WAS NEVER CHANGED. THIS APPEARS TO BE A MAJOR ISSUE WITH KIA AND HYUNDAI. FACT: KIA HAS HAD A PREVIOUS CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT FOR THE 2004-2009 KIA SORENTO DUE TO ENGINE ISSUES. FACT: TOYOTA HAD PREVIOUS CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT FOR THEIR ENGINE SLUDGE ISSUES. (LOST THE CASE AND IS REPAIRING THE ENGINES) FACT: HYUNDAI SONATA HAS KNOWN ISSUES - KIA AND HYUNDAI SAME COMPANY!!!!

View Details

ENGINE

2/25/2016 - GRANGER, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE VEHICLE LOST ACCELERATION. THE CONTACT MANEUVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND WAITED APPROXIMATELY TEN MINUTES. THE VEHICLE WAS TURNED OFF AND THE CONTACT WAITED APPROXIMATELY THIRTY MORE MINUTES. THE VEHICLE RESTARTED NORMALLY, BUT COULD NOT EXCEED 40 MPH. THE CONTACT DROVE THE VEHICLE TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE ACTUATOR CONTROL FAILED AND NEEDED REPLACEMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 42,800.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds