Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2013 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 162 complaints filed for the 2013 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (2) Structure (9) Vehicle Speed Control (18)
Electrical System (29) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Seats (6) Suspension (4) Visibility (20)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (8) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine (76) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (7) Unknown Or Other (5) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Power Train (27)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
 
ComplaintDescription

SEATS

7/16/2016 - YUBA CITY, CA
PASSENGER SIDE 2ND ROW SEAT WAS EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO FOLD DOWN SINCE THE FIRST DAY I BOUGHT IT. NOW IT IS STUCK AND WILL NOT FOLD DOWN AT ALL. THE LATCH SEEMS TO BE BROKEN. MY KIDS WERE STUCK IN THE 3RD ROW SEAT UNTIL I COULD REMOVE MY BABY'S CAR SEAT BASE TO LAY DOWN THE DRIVER SIDE 2ND ROW TO LET THEM CLIMB OUT. HAD I BEEN IN A HURRY TO GET THEM OUT IT WOULD HAVE BEEN IMPOSSIBLE TO DO SO.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

7/14/2016 - FLOWOOD, MS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR DRIVER SIDE DOOR HANDLE FRACTURED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 35,000.

View Details

ENGINE

7/12/2016 - HASTINGS, MN
IN THE PAST YEAR MY VEHICLE HAS LOST COMPLETE POWER WHILE DRIVING TWICE. I WAS ABLE TO GET THE CAR OFF TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD AND RESTART IT. BUT SCARES ME TO THINK THIS COULD HAPPEN WHILE DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY. IT'S NOT EASY WHEN YOU HAVE NO POWER TO STEER THE VEHICLE OFF TO THE SIDE. BOTH TIMES I WAS GOING APPROXIMATELY 40 MPH.

View Details

ENGINE

6/20/2016 - MATTAPAN, MA
BOUGHT MY KIA ON 6/17/2016 AND TODAY 3 DAYS LATER I AM DRIVING THE CAR AND IT STARTS POWERING DOWN WHILE I AM AT 70MPH. SCARY TO SAY THE LEAST. THERE IS ALSO A JERKING FORWARD MOVEMENT THAT I GET, BUT TODAY WAS THE SCARIEST, THE CAR ACTUALLY STOPPED WITH NO POWER WHILE DRIVING. I HAD TO PULL ASIDE AND RESTART THE CAR. WHAT THE HELL IS THIS. M DAUGHTER COULD HAVE BEEN IN THE CAR. THIS IS CRAZY A 2013 CAR SHUTTING DOWN IN THE MIDDLE ON THE ROAD. TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/20/2016 - MATTAPAN, MA
BOUGHT MY KIA ON 6/17/2016 AND TODAY 3 DAYS LATER I AM DRIVING THE CAR AND IT STARTS POWERING DOWN WHILE I AM AT 70MPH. SCARY TO SAY THE LEAST. THERE IS ALSO A JERKING FORWARD MOVEMENT THAT I GET, BUT TODAY WAS THE SCARIEST, THE CAR ACTUALLY STOPPED WITH NO POWER WHILE DRIVING. I HAD TO PULL ASIDE AND RESTART THE CAR. WHAT THE HELL IS THIS. M DAUGHTER COULD HAVE BEEN IN THE CAR. THIS IS CRAZY A 2013 CAR SHUTTING DOWN IN THE MIDDLE ON THE ROAD. TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/20/2016 - MATTAPAN, MA
BOUGHT MY KIA ON 6/17/2016 AND TODAY 3 DAYS LATER I AM DRIVING THE CAR AND IT STARTS POWERING DOWN WHILE I AM AT 70MPH. SCARY TO SAY THE LEAST. THERE IS ALSO A JERKING FORWARD MOVEMENT THAT I GET, BUT TODAY WAS THE SCARIEST, THE CAR ACTUALLY STOPPED WITH NO POWER WHILE DRIVING. I HAD TO PULL ASIDE AND RESTART THE CAR. WHAT THE HELL IS THIS. M DAUGHTER COULD HAVE BEEN IN THE CAR. THIS IS CRAZY A 2013 CAR SHUTTING DOWN IN THE MIDDLE ON THE ROAD. TOTALLY UNACCEPTABLE.

View Details

ENGINE

6/17/2016 - SOUTH HILL, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING 20 MPH, THE VEHICLE MADE AN ABNORMAL NOISE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 87,500. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/15/2016 - LAKE ELSINORE, CA
THIS VEHICLE HAS LESS THAT 67,000 MILES ON IT AND WE HAVE BEEN INFORMED THAT THE FRONT RIGHT AXLE NEEDS TO BE REPLACED BECAUSE IT IS BAD. I LOOKED UP RECALLS ON THIS VEHICLE AND FOUND THAT THE 2014 VERSION HAS A RECALL FOR THIS VERY REASON. WE ALSO HAVE ISSUES WHERE THE "GAS FULL" SENSOR CLICKS REPEATEDLY WHEN PUMPING THE GAS, EVEN AFTER JUST STARTING TO FILL A TANK LESS THAN 1/4 OF THE WAY FULL. PLEASE INVESTIGATE.

View Details

ENGINE

6/14/2016 - PORT ST. LUCIE, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL SOUND FOLLOWED BY A LOUD METAL NOISE COMING FROM UNDER THE VEHICLE. THE CONTACT NOTICED SMOKE UNDER THE HOOD OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS MANEUVERED TO THE SHOULDER OF THE ROAD WHERE THE CONTACT NOTICED OIL DRIPPING UNDER THE VEHICLE AND THE ENGINE WAS HOT. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE ENGINE FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 55,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/25/2016 - WINSTON-SALEM, NC
CAR WAS PARKED. WENT TO START IT UP TO AND CAR WOULDN'T START. ENGINE KEPT TURNING OVER AND OVER. FIRST FEW TIMES THIS HAPPENED, I WAS EVENTUALLY ABLE TO GET THE CAR STARTED BUT IT WOULD SHAKE, VIBRATE, AND HESITATE WHILE DRIVING. EVENTUALLY, I WENT TO START THE CAR FROM PARK AND IT WOULDN'T START. I WAS ABLE TO GET IT STARTED BY JUMPING IT, BUT THE VIBRATIONS, SHAKING, AND HESITATION CONTINUED. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD THE PROBLEM OF WERE THE RESULT OF LOW FUEL DUE TO A FAILURE WITH THE HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP. WHILE DRIVING HOME ON THE HIGHWAY, THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED A SUDDEN LOSS OF SPEED (I.E. 65 MPH TO 20 MPH) AND SIGNIFICANT DECREASE IN POWER, WHICH IS VERY DANGEROUS. CAR HAS 71,000 MILES ON IT. ALL ROUTINE SERVICES HAVE BEEN PERFORMED ON THE CAR AT THE DEALERSHIP AND OIL HAS BEEN CHANGED ROUTINELY AS SPECIFIED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 24
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds