Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2013 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 171 complaints filed for the 2013 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (2) Structure (9) Vehicle Speed Control (18)
Electrical System (29) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Seats (8) Suspension (4) Visibility (20)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (8) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (81) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (7) Unknown Or Other (5) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Power Train (27)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

8/16/2016 - MASSAPEQUA, NY
WHILE DRIVING ON THE PARKWAY AT 55MPH THE ENGINE SHUT DOWN LEAVING ME WITHOUT POWER, THE BATTERY LIGHT AND ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. I WAS IN THE MIDDLE LANE WITH MY TWO SMALL CHILDREN IN THE BACKSEAT, NOT ONLY DID I NOT HAVE POWER TO THE ENGINE I DIDN'T HAVE POWER STEERING FOR THE VEHICLE SHUT COMPLETELY DOWN. I WAS ABLE TO PULL OFF THE ROAD TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, WHERE I TRIED TO RESTART THE CAR ONLY TO SMELL SOMETHING BURNING FROM THE ENGINE. THIS WAS THE SCAREST MOMENT FOR ME ALONE ON THE SIDE OF THE PARKWY WITH TWO SMALL CHILDREN AND TRAFFIC FLYING PAST US. MY CAR HAD TO BE TOWED TO THE DEALER AND IT IS THREE DAYS LATER AND THE CAR IS STILL NOT STARTING AND THEY CAN NOT FIGURE OUT WHY. MY CAR ONLY HAS 61,000 MILES.

View Details

ENGINE

8/3/2016 - SOUTH CHARLESTON, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 65 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ENGINE WARNING LIGHT REMAINED ILLUMINATED SHORTLY AFTER. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER AND IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THERE WAS NO OIL IN THE ENGINE AND THAT THE ENGINE HAD BLOWN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT OIL HAD BEEN DEPOSITED INTO THE VEHICLE RECENTLY BEFORE THE STALL OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 79,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/1/2016 - CINCINNATI, OH
TOOK MY VEHICLE - 2013 KIA SORENTO - TO HAVE A DIAGNOSIS TEST DONE AT A KIA DEALERSHIP ON WHY MY AIR BAG LIGHT IS ON BECAUSE I RECEIVED A LETTER ABOUT A CLOCK SPRING ASSEMBLY. THE DIAGNOSIS SAID CODE B1764 WHICH IS A PASSENGER OCS MAT DEF ECT AND WANTS TO CHARGE ME 2100.00 TO FIX. THIS VEHICLE IS ONLY 3 YEARS OLD AND I AM OVER THE 60,000 MILE WARRANTY. I DO MOSTLY HIGHWAY DRIVING ALONE IN THE VEHICLE AND ONLY 5% OF THE TIME SOMEONE IS IN THE PASSENGER SEAT. THIS TO ME SOUNDS LIKE A DEFECT AND SHOULD BE TAKEN CARE OF MY KIA. FROM WHAT I AM SEEING ON NHTSA WEB SITE THERE ARE MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE SAME ISSUE

View Details

SEATS

7/31/2016 - FORT WORTH, TX
THE SECOND ROW SEAT WILL NOT RELEASE.

View Details

ENGINE

7/29/2016 - ANTELOPE, CA
DURING ACCELERATION THE ENGINE RATTLES AND JERKS LOSING POWER UNTIL I TAKE MY FOOT OFF THE GAS PEDAL. ENGINE IS ATTEMPTING TO STALL.

View Details

ENGINE

7/28/2016 - NEWTOWN, CT
CAR STOPPED DEAD IN ROAD WHILE BEING DRIVEN ON CITY STREET.TAKEN TO KIA DEAL WHO REFUSED TO EVEN CONSIDER MANUFACTURING DEFAULT. UPON EXAMINATION DETERMINED THERE WAS METAL SHAVINGS IN OIL WHICH CAUSED ENGINE TO SEIZE. TO REPLACE ENGINE THEY WANT TO CHARGE $6800 FROM WHAT I HAVE RESEARCHED THIS HAS BEEN A MAJOR PROBLEM FOR HYUNDAI ENGINES PROMPTING A RECALL OF OVER 600,000. SAME ENGINE IS USED IN THIS KIA WHY HAS THERE NOT BEEN RECALL ON KIA'S WITH THIS ENINE?

View Details

ENGINE

7/27/2016 - NEWTOWN, CT
WHILE BEING DRIVEN ON CITY STREET TO STOP SIGH, ENGINE SHUT DOWN AND COULD NOT BE RESTARTED. ATTEMPT TO JUMPER DID NOT WORK.THIS WAS SECOND INCIDENCE OF THIS PROBLEM FIRST TIME ALTERNATOR REPLACED AND ENGINE THEN WORKED,FOR 2 WEEKS. CAR IS NOW AT KIA DEALER FOR EVALUATION. I S PROBLEM METAL SHAVINGS IN OIL CAUSING ENGINE TO FAIL ? COULD THIS BE SAME PROBLEM WITH HYUNDAI ENGINES THAT WERE RECALLED. SAME ENGINE ,SAME PLANT, SAME TIME FRAME. . .

View Details

SEATS

7/25/2016 - CYPRESS, TX
THE LEVER TO FOLD DOWN THE SECOND ROW SEAT HAS GOTTEN STUCK SINCE I GOT THE CAR. IT WAS SO HARD TO OPERATE SOMETIMES THAT NO MATTER HOW MUCH FORCE YOU USE THE SEAT BACK LEVER WILL NOT RELEASE. THE DEALER IS TELLING ME THE GEAR THAT HOLDS THE SEAT IN PLACE IS NOT WORKING. THEY SAY MANY KIA SORRENTOS HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM. NOW THE SEAT IS IN THE DOWN POSITION AND I CAN NOT GET IT BACK UP. THE DEALER TELLS ME IT WILL COST $350 TO HAVE THE LEVER REPLACED EVEN THOUGH IT HAS NEVER WORKED. THE MIDDLE SAFTEY BELT HAS NEVER WORKED EITHER. EVERY TIME I TAKE IT TO THE DEALER THEY SAY IT IS FIXED. WHEN I GET HOME IT DOESN'T WORK.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

7/22/2016 - AVON, CT
OUR 42 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER WAS DRIVING ON HIGHWAY.......... RT 84 IN NEWTOWN, CT........NO BRIDGES OR TRUCKS NEAR-BY..... 2 CHILDREN IN BACKSEAT......PANORAMIC SUNROOF.............. LOUD EXPLOSION AND SUNROOF SHATTERED OVER CHILDREN.

View Details

SEATS

7/16/2016 - YUBA CITY, CA
PASSENGER SIDE 2ND ROW SEAT WAS EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO FOLD DOWN SINCE THE FIRST DAY I BOUGHT IT. NOW IT IS STUCK AND WILL NOT FOLD DOWN AT ALL. THE LATCH SEEMS TO BE BROKEN. MY KIDS WERE STUCK IN THE 3RD ROW SEAT UNTIL I COULD REMOVE MY BABY'S CAR SEAT BASE TO LAY DOWN THE DRIVER SIDE 2ND ROW TO LET THEM CLIMB OUT. HAD I BEEN IN A HURRY TO GET THEM OUT IT WOULD HAVE BEEN IMPOSSIBLE TO DO SO.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds