Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2013 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 176 complaints filed for the 2013 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (2) Structure (9) Vehicle Speed Control (18)
Electrical System (29) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Seats (8) Suspension (4) Visibility (20)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (8) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (6)
Engine (85) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (7) Unknown Or Other (5) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Power Train (27)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

9/21/2016 - ST.JAMES, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 40 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 101,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

9/15/2016 - SANTA CLARITA, CA
SUNROOF EXPLODED. IT JUST SHATTERED, PERFECT DRIVING CONDITIONS, NO DEBRIS, NO ACCIDENT, DRIVING AT 55 MPH ON A HIGHWAY WITHOUT ANY OTHER VEHICLES AROUND OR BRIDGES. ROAD WAS FLAT, EVEN AND NO DEBRIS.

View Details

ENGINE

9/14/2016 - FORT RILEY, KS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH, THE VEHICLE MADE A KNOCKING NOISE. THE CONTACT PULLED OVER, TURNED OFF, AND RESTARTED THE VEHICLE. AFTER RESTARTING THE VEHICLE, THE CHECK ENGINE INDICATOR ILLUMINATED AND THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT ACCELERATE PAST 40 MPH. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND DIAGNOSED THAT THERE WAS METAL SHAVINGS IN THE ENGINE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 68,000.

View Details

ENGINE

9/8/2016 - SAINT AUGUSTINE, FL
ON TUESDAY, AUGUST 30TH, 2016, MY HUSBAND WAS DRIVING IN OUR 2013 KIA SORENTO WITH OUR TWO TODDLERS WHEN THE CAR JUST STOPPED RUNNING WITH NO WARNING WHATSOEVER. HE WAS GOING APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH DRIVING STRAIGHT WHEN THE FAILURE OCCURRED. WE LOST ALL POWER INCLUDING POWER STEERING SO IT TOOK ALL HE HAD TO COAST AND PULL OVER SAFELY. HE CALLED KIA WHO GOT A TOW TRUCK EN ROUTE TO TOW THE VEHICLE TO OUR DEALERSHIP. MY DAD HAD TO COME BY TO PICK UP MY FRIGHTENED GIRLS WHILE MY HUSBAND WAITED WITH THE VEHICLE (IT TOOK TWO HOURS). WE HAVE NEVER HAD ANY MAJOR ISSUES BEFORE WITH THIS VEHICLE AND FAITHFULLY HAD IT MAINTAINED THROUGH THE DEALERSHIP. THE NEXT DAY, THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT GAVE US NEWS WE WERE NOT EXPECTING; THE ENGINE WAS BLOWN AS WE BROKE A CRANKSHAFT. THIS VEHICLE ONLY HAS 36,000 MILES ON IT!! LUCKILY THIS IS COVERED UNDER THE WARRANTY SINCE THEY VERIFIED THAT IT WAS PROPERLY MAINTAINED BY THEM. FAST FORWARD A WEEK AND WE GET THE CALL TONIGHT THAT KIA HAS YET TO RELEASE A NEW ENGINE TO BE INSTALLED AND THEY HAVE NO TIME FRAME.

View Details

ENGINE

9/7/2016 - SANFORD, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED NOR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 74,000.

View Details

ENGINE

8/16/2016 - MASSAPEQUA, NY
WHILE DRIVING ON THE PARKWAY AT 55MPH THE ENGINE SHUT DOWN LEAVING ME WITHOUT POWER, THE BATTERY LIGHT AND ENGINE LIGHT CAME ON. I WAS IN THE MIDDLE LANE WITH MY TWO SMALL CHILDREN IN THE BACKSEAT, NOT ONLY DID I NOT HAVE POWER TO THE ENGINE I DIDN'T HAVE POWER STEERING FOR THE VEHICLE SHUT COMPLETELY DOWN. I WAS ABLE TO PULL OFF THE ROAD TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD, WHERE I TRIED TO RESTART THE CAR ONLY TO SMELL SOMETHING BURNING FROM THE ENGINE. THIS WAS THE SCAREST MOMENT FOR ME ALONE ON THE SIDE OF THE PARKWY WITH TWO SMALL CHILDREN AND TRAFFIC FLYING PAST US. MY CAR HAD TO BE TOWED TO THE DEALER AND IT IS THREE DAYS LATER AND THE CAR IS STILL NOT STARTING AND THEY CAN NOT FIGURE OUT WHY. MY CAR ONLY HAS 61,000 MILES.

View Details

ENGINE

8/3/2016 - SOUTH CHARLESTON, WV
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT 65 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ENGINE WARNING LIGHT REMAINED ILLUMINATED SHORTLY AFTER. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A DEALER AND IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THERE WAS NO OIL IN THE ENGINE AND THAT THE ENGINE HAD BLOWN. THE CONTACT STATED THAT OIL HAD BEEN DEPOSITED INTO THE VEHICLE RECENTLY BEFORE THE STALL OF THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 79,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/1/2016 - CINCINNATI, OH
TOOK MY VEHICLE - 2013 KIA SORENTO - TO HAVE A DIAGNOSIS TEST DONE AT A KIA DEALERSHIP ON WHY MY AIR BAG LIGHT IS ON BECAUSE I RECEIVED A LETTER ABOUT A CLOCK SPRING ASSEMBLY. THE DIAGNOSIS SAID CODE B1764 WHICH IS A PASSENGER OCS MAT DEF ECT AND WANTS TO CHARGE ME 2100.00 TO FIX. THIS VEHICLE IS ONLY 3 YEARS OLD AND I AM OVER THE 60,000 MILE WARRANTY. I DO MOSTLY HIGHWAY DRIVING ALONE IN THE VEHICLE AND ONLY 5% OF THE TIME SOMEONE IS IN THE PASSENGER SEAT. THIS TO ME SOUNDS LIKE A DEFECT AND SHOULD BE TAKEN CARE OF MY KIA. FROM WHAT I AM SEEING ON NHTSA WEB SITE THERE ARE MANY COMPLAINTS ABOUT THE SAME ISSUE

View Details

SEATS

7/31/2016 - FORT WORTH, TX
THE SECOND ROW SEAT WILL NOT RELEASE.

View Details

ENGINE

7/29/2016 - ANTELOPE, CA
DURING ACCELERATION THE ENGINE RATTLES AND JERKS LOSING POWER UNTIL I TAKE MY FOOT OFF THE GAS PEDAL. ENGINE IS ATTEMPTING TO STALL.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 26
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds