Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2013 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 155 complaints filed for the 2013 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (2) Structure (8) Vehicle Speed Control (17)
Electrical System (29) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Seats (5) Suspension (4) Visibility (20)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (8) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine (72) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (7) Unknown Or Other (5) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Power Train (25)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/25/2016 - WINSTON-SALEM, NC
CAR WAS PARKED. WENT TO START IT UP TO AND CAR WOULDN'T START. ENGINE KEPT TURNING OVER AND OVER. FIRST FEW TIMES THIS HAPPENED, I WAS EVENTUALLY ABLE TO GET THE CAR STARTED BUT IT WOULD SHAKE, VIBRATE, AND HESITATE WHILE DRIVING. EVENTUALLY, I WENT TO START THE CAR FROM PARK AND IT WOULDN'T START. I WAS ABLE TO GET IT STARTED BY JUMPING IT, BUT THE VIBRATIONS, SHAKING, AND HESITATION CONTINUED. I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD THE PROBLEM OF WERE THE RESULT OF LOW FUEL DUE TO A FAILURE WITH THE HIGH PRESSURE FUEL PUMP. WHILE DRIVING HOME ON THE HIGHWAY, THE VEHICLE EXPERIENCED A SUDDEN LOSS OF SPEED (I.E. 65 MPH TO 20 MPH) AND SIGNIFICANT DECREASE IN POWER, WHICH IS VERY DANGEROUS. CAR HAS 71,000 MILES ON IT. ALL ROUTINE SERVICES HAVE BEEN PERFORMED ON THE CAR AT THE DEALERSHIP AND OIL HAS BEEN CHANGED ROUTINELY AS SPECIFIED.

View Details

ENGINE

4/25/2016 - JOHNSTOWN, PA
I PURCHASED MY KIA NEW IN 2012. PERFORMED REGULAR MAINTENANCE. IT SHUT DOWN WHILE DRIVING AND SMOKE POURED FROM THE ENGINE. THE DEALER SAID THE BLOCK WAS CRACKED IN TWO PLACES AND THERE WAS CATASTROPHIC ENGINE FAILURE. IT HAS JUST OVER 100,000 MILES. I HAVE A VAN THAT HAS 270,000 MILES AND NEVER HAD A PROBLEM WITH THE ENGINE. THEY TOLD ME THERE WAS METAL SHAVINGS IN THE OIL. WHEN I FOUND A GARAGE TO REPLACE IT FOR $1,000 LESS, THAT MECHANIC TOLD ME HE JUST REPLACED AN ENGINE IN A 2013 KIA SORENTO THAT ONLY HAD 30K MILES ON IT. KIA DENIED THEIR WARRANTY. I BELIEVE KIA IS A COMPLETE RIP OFF. I HOPE I CAN GET THIS TRADED IN BEFORE THIS USED ENGINE DOES THE SAME THING. I WILL NEVER EVER BUY ANOTHER KIA.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/28/2016 - WESTLAND, MI
I'VE HAD MY 2013 KIA SORENTO FOR JUST OVER 3 YEARS. I WAS IN A ONE CAR ACCIDENT AND MY SEATBELT DIDN'T RETRACT AND MY AIRBAG DIDN'T DEPLOY. I BROKE MY STERNUM AND HAVE BACK PROBLEMS. THE PROBLEMS I'VE HAD WITH MY SORENTO ARE REPLACING HEADLIGHTS, I HAD TO GET A NEW BATTERY AND BRAKES AFTER ONE YEAR. MY AIRBAG LIGHT DOESN'T GO OFF RIGHT AWAY. BEFORE MY ACCIDENT IT WAS IN THE SHOP BECAUSE MY AIRBAG LIGHT STAYED ON. NOW I HAVE NO POWER ALL MY LIGHTS STOPPED WORKING. WHEN I PUT THE TRUCK IN DRIVE AND TURN IT OFF, I CAN'T TAKE THE KEY OUT I HAVE TO PUT IT BACK IN PARK AGAIN. MY SORENTO WAS SHAKING AND MAKING NOISE WHEN THE LIGJTS STOPPED WORKING. I HAVE NO TEMP GAGE AT ALL.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

3/28/2016 - WESTLAND, MI
I'VE HAD MY 2013 KIA SORENTO FOR JUST OVER 3 YEARS. I WAS IN A ONE CAR ACCIDENT AND MY SEATBELT DIDN'T RETRACT AND MY AIRBAG DIDN'T DEPLOY. I BROKE MY STERNUM AND HAVE BACK PROBLEMS. THE PROBLEMS I'VE HAD WITH MY SORENTO ARE REPLACING HEADLIGHTS, I HAD TO GET A NEW BATTERY AND BRAKES AFTER ONE YEAR. MY AIRBAG LIGHT DOESN'T GO OFF RIGHT AWAY. BEFORE MY ACCIDENT IT WAS IN THE SHOP BECAUSE MY AIRBAG LIGHT STAYED ON. NOW I HAVE NO POWER ALL MY LIGHTS STOPPED WORKING. WHEN I PUT THE TRUCK IN DRIVE AND TURN IT OFF, I CAN'T TAKE THE KEY OUT I HAVE TO PUT IT BACK IN PARK AGAIN. MY SORENTO WAS SHAKING AND MAKING NOISE WHEN THE LIGJTS STOPPED WORKING. I HAVE NO TEMP GAGE AT ALL.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/28/2016 - WESTLAND, MI
I'VE HAD MY 2013 KIA SORENTO FOR JUST OVER 3 YEARS. I WAS IN A ONE CAR ACCIDENT AND MY SEATBELT DIDN'T RETRACT AND MY AIRBAG DIDN'T DEPLOY. I BROKE MY STERNUM AND HAVE BACK PROBLEMS. THE PROBLEMS I'VE HAD WITH MY SORENTO ARE REPLACING HEADLIGHTS, I HAD TO GET A NEW BATTERY AND BRAKES AFTER ONE YEAR. MY AIRBAG LIGHT DOESN'T GO OFF RIGHT AWAY. BEFORE MY ACCIDENT IT WAS IN THE SHOP BECAUSE MY AIRBAG LIGHT STAYED ON. NOW I HAVE NO POWER ALL MY LIGHTS STOPPED WORKING. WHEN I PUT THE TRUCK IN DRIVE AND TURN IT OFF, I CAN'T TAKE THE KEY OUT I HAVE TO PUT IT BACK IN PARK AGAIN. MY SORENTO WAS SHAKING AND MAKING NOISE WHEN THE LIGJTS STOPPED WORKING. I HAVE NO TEMP GAGE AT ALL.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/22/2016 - RADFORD, VA
MY WAS REMOVING GROCERIES FROM HER NEW KIA WHEN IT STARTED TO ROLL AWAY WHILE THE CAR WAS IN PARK. WE CHECK KIA DEALER WE WERE ALL WAS ON WITH THE CAR THE PROBLEM HAD TO BE DIVER ERROR. THEN ON OR ABOUT NOVEMBER 20, 2015 WE RECEIVED A RECALLED FOR A TRANSMISSION PROBLEM THAT ALLOW THE KIA TO SLIDE OUT OF PARK AND INTO REVERSE WITH THE BREAK PEDAL BEING DEPRESSED.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/16/2016 - RELIANCE, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE POWER TRAIN CONTROL MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE PERSISTED AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED SIX TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 39,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/16/2016 - RELIANCE, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE POWER TRAIN CONTROL MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE PERSISTED AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED SIX TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 39,000.

View Details

ENGINE

3/16/2016 - RELIANCE, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 KIA SORENTO. WHILE DRIVING AT AN UNKNOWN SPEED, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO RESTART. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE POWER TRAIN CONTROL MODULE NEEDED TO BE REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE PERSISTED AND THE CHECK ENGINE WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED SIX TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE THROTTLE BODY NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 39,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/8/2016 - PALM COAST, FL
MY AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT INDICATOR HAS ILLUMINATED. WHEN RESEARCHING THE PROBLEM ONLINE, IT CAME TO MY ATTENTION THAT THIS IS A VERY COMMON PROBLEM THAT MOSTLY OCCURS IN VEHICLES THAT, LIKE MINE, HAVE JUST SURPASSED THE WARRANTY PERIOD. IF HUNDREDS OF CAR OWNERS HAVE EXPERIENCED THIS SAME SAFETY ISSUE, WHY IS IT NOT A PROBLEM COVERED UNDER A RECALL?

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds