Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2013 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors Corporation

There are 79 complaints filed for the 2013 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (12) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Seats (3) Suspension (3) Visibility (6)
Engine (42) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (3) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (6) Wheels (1)
Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (12) Structure (5) Vehicle Speed Control (8)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/3/2014 - SIMI VALLEY, CA
WHILE DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY IN LIGHT TRAFFIC AT SPEEDS AROUND 40MPH THE VEHICLE SHUT OFF COMPLETELY. I HAD TO COAST TO THE SHOULDER, PUT THE VEHICLE IN PARK AND RESTART. THE VEHICLE RESTARTED COMPLETELY FINE. THIS INCIDENT HAS HAPPENED 3 TIMES IN THE LAST 6 MONTHS. THE VEHICLE IS CURRENTLY AT A KIA DEALERSHIP AND THEY ARE NOT FINDING ANYTHING WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/3/2014 - SIMI VALLEY, CA
WHILE DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY IN LIGHT TRAFFIC AT SPEEDS AROUND 40MPH THE VEHICLE SHUT OFF COMPLETELY. I HAD TO COAST TO THE SHOULDER, PUT THE VEHICLE IN PARK AND RESTART. THE VEHICLE RESTARTED COMPLETELY FINE. THIS INCIDENT HAS HAPPENED 3 TIMES IN THE LAST 6 MONTHS. THE VEHICLE IS CURRENTLY AT A KIA DEALERSHIP AND THEY ARE NOT FINDING ANYTHING WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/3/2014 - SIMI VALLEY, CA
WHILE DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY IN LIGHT TRAFFIC AT SPEEDS AROUND 40MPH THE VEHICLE SHUT OFF COMPLETELY. I HAD TO COAST TO THE SHOULDER, PUT THE VEHICLE IN PARK AND RESTART. THE VEHICLE RESTARTED COMPLETELY FINE. THIS INCIDENT HAS HAPPENED 3 TIMES IN THE LAST 6 MONTHS. THE VEHICLE IS CURRENTLY AT A KIA DEALERSHIP AND THEY ARE NOT FINDING ANYTHING WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE.

View Details

ENGINE

4/1/2014 - BUFORD, GA
I HAVE A 2013 KIA SORENTO THAT HAS LOST POWER NUMEROUS (10-15) TIMES. IT HAS OCCURRED IN MULTIPLE SETTINGS, AT LIGHTS, DRIVING DOWN THE STREET, BUT MOSTLY WHILE DRIVING DOWN A VERY BUSY INTERSTATE AT 65-70 MILES AN HOUR. THIS CAR IS GOING TO GET ME, ONE OF MY GRANDBABIES OR SOMEONE ELSE KILLED! ONCE I TURN ON MY HAZZARDS AND GET THE CAR OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD/MEDIAN, TURN IT OFF AND BACK ON IT STARTS AND CONTINUES ON DOWN THE ROAD WITH THE ENGINE LIGHT ON. THE FIRST TIME I TOOK IT IN THEY TOLD ME THE SEAL ON THE GAS TANK WAS BAD AND THEY REPLACED IT. THE SECOND TIME I TOOK IT IN THEY TOLD ME THE COMPUTER COULDN'T FIND ANYTHING WRONG. I'M TAKING IT IN FIRST THING TOMORROW MORNING AS IT HAPPENED ON THE INTERSTATE AGAIN THIS MORNING, WONDER WHAT THEY'LL TELL ME THIS TIME?! I SHOULD HAVE STUCK WITH MY 9 YEAR OLD CHEVROLET, NEVER HAD A SINGLE PROBLEM. PLEASE, PLEASE INVESTIGATE THIS PROBLEM AND FORCE AND FIND A FIX" BEFORE" PEOPLE ARE KILLED!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/29/2014 - MEDON, TN
DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD AND A LOUD POP OCCURRED AND THE REAR SUNROOF HAD SHATTERED. NO OTHER CARS OR PEOPLE WERE AROUND. STOPPED AND CHECKED THE GROUND WHERE IT HAPPENED AND FOUND NO OBJECTS THAT WOULD HAVE CAUSED SUNROOF TO SHATTER. SUNROOF APPEARS TO HAVE SHATTERED WITHOUT EXTERNAL CONTACT OF ANY KIND.

View Details

ENGINE

3/27/2014 - DOWENY, CA
ENGINE STALLED A TOTAL OF 8 TIMES WHILE IN MOTION SINCE 6/13/12, THE DATE OF PURCHASE OF THIS NEW CAR. THIS CAR HAD BEEN TAKEN INTO THE DEALER MULTIPLE TIMES. KIA HAS SAID IT CANNOT DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE

3/24/2014 - JACKSON, MO
I HAVE OWNED THIS CAR FOR 1 WEEK AND WHILE DRIVING IN THE MIDDLE OF TRAFFIC AT ABOUT 35 MPH IT COMPLETELY SHUT OFF! I ALMOST CAUSED A MAJOR ACCIDENT!

View Details

ENGINE

3/23/2014 - GLEDALE, CA
WE HAVE 2013 KIA SORENTO, IT IS BEEN FEW MONTHS WE HAVE THIS PROBLEM OF SHUTTING ENGINE DOWN WHEN DRIVING IN SLOW SPEED AROUND 35 TO 40 MILES SOMETIME LESS AND SOMETIME STOPPING AT TRAFFIC LIGHT OR STOP SIGN, ALSO WE NOTICED IF WE GO OVER THE STREET BUMPS OR DOWN HILL LIKE ENTERING UNDERGROUND PARKING. BEEN IN DEALER TOO MANY TIMES, BEEN CONTACT BY CORPORATE OFFICE; EVERY TIME WE TOOK THE CAR TO THE DEALER THEIR ANSWER WAS, WE DROVE WE COULD NOT FIND ANY PROBLEM AND WE HAVE TO TAKE THE CAR BACK, BECAUSE THEY ARE DRIVING IN HWY WITH 70 OR HIGHER SPEED. FEW MONTHS BACK DEALER CALLED AND INFORMED US WE HAVE RECALL BY KIA AND IT IS RELATED TO YOUR PROBLEM, THEY FLUSH THE SOFTWARE AND LOAD NEW. CAR WAS RUNNING FINE UNTIL FEW DAYS AGO SHUTS DOWN TWO TIMES IN THREE DAYS IN MALLS PUBLIC PARKING PLACE AND ONCE AT STOP SIGN AND BOTH TIMES CAUSE PROBLEM FOR OTHER CARS. WE TOOK THE CAR BACK TO KIA DEALER AND THEY CALLED US BACK AGAIN WITH NO RESULT. I LEFT THE CAR AT DEALER AND NOT GOING TO GET IT BACK UNTIL THEY RESOLVE THIS ISSUE OR GIVE US OUR DOWN PAYMENT BACK. THIS IS NOT SAFE FOR MY SELF AND MY FAMILY AND OTHER DRIVERS AND THEIR FAMILY BUT I GUESS KIA CORP DOESN'T CARE AND JUST WANTS TO MAKE MONEY.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/17/2014 - BELOIT, OH
DRIVING DOWN ROUTE 62 IN ALLIANCE OHIO 44601 ONLY GOING ABOUT 30 35 MPH IT SOUNDED LIKE A GUN SHOT AND LOOK BACK AND SEEN THE PANORAMIC WINDOW WAS SHATTERD NO SIGNS OF ANYTHING HITTING IT LIGHT TRAFFIC

View Details

ENGINE

3/14/2014 - SCHAUMBURG, IL
ENGINE DIES OUT UNEXPECTEDLY. DRIVING AT LOW SPEEDS THE CAR WILL SHUT OFF. THIS HAS HAPPENED AT LEAST 3 TIMES. ONCE WAS IN A PARKING LOT. I WAS DRIVING SLOWLY AND ALLOWING PEDESTRIANS TO CROSS IN FRONT OF ME. AS I STOPPED FOR A PERSON THE ENGINE COMPLETELY SHUT OFF. I HAD TO PUT IT INTO NEUTRAL AND RESTART IN ORDER TO MOVE. SEEMED FINE AFTER THAT. SECOND TIME WAS IN STOP AND GO TRAFFIC. CRAWLING ALONG AND STOPPING. AS I SLOWLY MOVED FORWARD CAR DIED. AGAIN HAD TO THROW IT INTO NEUTRAL AND RESTART IT. THIRD TIME WAS STOPPED AT A STOP SIGN. STARTED TO TURN RIGHT FROM STOP SIGN AND CAR DIED. AGAIN HAD TO RESTART. THIS IS A DANGEROUS PROBLEM. IF I WAS STOPPED THEN PULLED INTO FAST ONCOMING TRAFFIC AND IT DIED I COULD BE HIT. THE DEALERSHIP CANNOT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM THEREFORE CANNOT FIX IT. I HAVE SEEN MULTIPLE COMPLAINTS ONLINE ABOUT THIS. KIA NEEDS TO DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE ISSUE BEFORE SOMEONE IS KILLED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds