Auto Recalls for Consumers

KIA SORENTO - 2013 KIA SORENTO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Kia Motors America

There are 182 complaints filed for the 2013 KIA SORENTO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 KIA SORENTO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 KIA SORENTO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (11) Exterior Lighting (4) Seat Belts (2) Structure (9) Vehicle Speed Control (18)
Electrical System (30) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Seats (9) Suspension (5) Visibility (20)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes (8) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (88) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (5) Wheels (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Power Train (28) Steering (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

11/15/2016 - MAUMELLE, AR
I TOOK MY CAR TO DEALERSHIP BECAUSE AIRBAG LIGHT IS CONSTANTLY ON. THEY SAID IT WILL TAKE OVER $2100 TO FIX. AIRBAG MIGHT NOT DEPLOY DUE TO THIS DEFECT.

View Details

SEATS

11/6/2016 - ELGIN, IL
REAR SEAT LATCH MALFUNCTION. THE SEAT IS STUCK IN AN UPRIGHT POSITION. THE LATCH DOES NOT WORK AT ALL. VERY INCONVENIENT WHEN THE WHOLE FAMILY IS IN THE CAR. KIDS FORCED TO ENTER AND EXIT THROUGH TRUNK. ANNOYING!! APPOINTMENT AT DEALERSHIP NEXT WEEK. HOPEFULLY THEY WILL FIX IT FREE OF CHARGE BECAUSE CLEARLY ITS A DESIGN FLAW.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

10/17/2016 - MESQUITE, TX
DRIVING DOWN I-20 WEST (1.5 MILES FROM I-45 SOUTH EXIT) AT 70MPH ON A CLEAR DAY, ON OPEN ROAD WITH MINIMAL TRAFFIC (NO OVERPASSES, NO VEHICLES DIRECTLY IN FRONT OF ME, ETC.). MY CHILDREN AND I HEARD AN EXPLOSION AND I LOOKED IN MY REVIEW MIRROR TO SEE GLASS POURING OFF OF MY BACK WINDOW. MY SUNROOF HAD EXPLODED FOR NO APPARENT REASON. I CALLED KIA CUSTOMER ASSISTANCE & RECEIVED A CASE NUMBER AND WAS TOLD "DO NOT MAKE REPAIRS UNTIL YOU ARE CONTACTED BY A REPRESENTATIVE". I RECEIVED A MSG FROM MY "CASE WORKER" AND HAVE ATTEMPTED TO RETURN HER CALL EVERY DAY BY LEAVING MESSAGES AND CALLING MULTIPLE TIMES WITH NO SUCCESS. I EVEN CALLED 15 TIMES IN ONE DAY (EVERY 20-30 MINS) WITH NO ANSWERED CALLS AND NO RETURNED CALLS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/13/2016 - NEW ORLEANS, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ABS WARNING INDICATOR AND TWO OTHER WARNING INDICATORS RANDOMLY FLASHED. IN ADDITION, THERE WAS AN ABNORMALLY LOUD KNOCKING NOISE THAT OCCURRED RANDOMLY. THE DEALER REPLACED THE TWO REAR WHEEL HUB ASSEMBLIES, BUT WAS UNABLE TO REPLICATE AND DIAGNOSE THE ENGINE ASSEMBLY FAILURE. THE DEALER KEPT THE VEHICLE FOR A DAY AND TEST DROVE THE VEHICLE, BUT PROVIDED NO SOLUTION. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER WAS AWARE AND THERE WERE SEVERAL TSB ALERTS. THE MANUFACTURER HAD NOT PROVIDED A REPAIR SOLUTION. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,178.

View Details

SUSPENSION: FRONT: HUB

10/13/2016 - NEW ORLEANS, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ABS WARNING INDICATOR AND TWO OTHER WARNING INDICATORS RANDOMLY FLASHED. IN ADDITION, THERE WAS AN ABNORMALLY LOUD KNOCKING NOISE THAT OCCURRED RANDOMLY. THE DEALER REPLACED THE TWO REAR WHEEL HUB ASSEMBLIES, BUT WAS UNABLE TO REPLICATE AND DIAGNOSE THE ENGINE ASSEMBLY FAILURE. THE DEALER KEPT THE VEHICLE FOR A DAY AND TEST DROVE THE VEHICLE, BUT PROVIDED NO SOLUTION. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER WAS AWARE AND THERE WERE SEVERAL TSB ALERTS. THE MANUFACTURER HAD NOT PROVIDED A REPAIR SOLUTION. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,178.

View Details

ENGINE

10/13/2016 - NEW ORLEANS, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ABS WARNING INDICATOR AND TWO OTHER WARNING INDICATORS RANDOMLY FLASHED. IN ADDITION, THERE WAS AN ABNORMALLY LOUD KNOCKING NOISE THAT OCCURRED RANDOMLY. THE DEALER REPLACED THE TWO REAR WHEEL HUB ASSEMBLIES, BUT WAS UNABLE TO REPLICATE AND DIAGNOSE THE ENGINE ASSEMBLY FAILURE. THE DEALER KEPT THE VEHICLE FOR A DAY AND TEST DROVE THE VEHICLE, BUT PROVIDED NO SOLUTION. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER WAS AWARE AND THERE WERE SEVERAL TSB ALERTS. THE MANUFACTURER HAD NOT PROVIDED A REPAIR SOLUTION. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,178.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: ANTILOCK: ABS WARNING LIGHT

10/13/2016 - NEW ORLEANS, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 KIA SORENTO. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ABS WARNING INDICATOR AND TWO OTHER WARNING INDICATORS RANDOMLY FLASHED. IN ADDITION, THERE WAS AN ABNORMALLY LOUD KNOCKING NOISE THAT OCCURRED RANDOMLY. THE DEALER REPLACED THE TWO REAR WHEEL HUB ASSEMBLIES, BUT WAS UNABLE TO REPLICATE AND DIAGNOSE THE ENGINE ASSEMBLY FAILURE. THE DEALER KEPT THE VEHICLE FOR A DAY AND TEST DROVE THE VEHICLE, BUT PROVIDED NO SOLUTION. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER WAS AWARE AND THERE WERE SEVERAL TSB ALERTS. THE MANUFACTURER HAD NOT PROVIDED A REPAIR SOLUTION. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,178.

View Details

ENGINE

10/3/2016 - ST. LOUIS, MO
I WAS TRAVELLING ABOUT 30 MPH ON A CITY STREET WHEN THE GASOLINE PEDAL WOULD NOT WORK. I PRESSED THE GAS PEDAL AND NOTHING WOULD HAPPEN. ABOUT 5 SECONDS LATER A FEW LIGHTS ON THE DASHBOARD LIT UP AND THEN THE ENTIRE ENGINE SHUT DOWN. I COASTED TO THE CURB IN A NO PARKING ZONE. I TRIED TO RESTART THE CAR BUT IT WOULD NOT "TURN OVER." APPROXIMATELY 5 MINUTES LATER THE CAR STARTED AND I DROVE APPROXIMATELY ONE MINUTE WHEN EVERYTHING HAPPENED EXACTLY THE SAME WAY AGAIN. I CALLED THE KIA ROADSIDE ASSIST AND THEY TOWED THE CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP. I AM AWAITING AN ANSWER FROM THE DEALERSHIP. MY WIFE ALSO WAS DRIVING ON THE HIGHWAY 2 TIMES IN THE PAST AT APPROXIMATELY 70 MPH WHEN THE VEHICLE WOULD SLOW DOWN IN A FAST MANNER BY ABOUT 20 MPH. SHE COULD THEN SPEED UP AGAIN. THE DEALERSHIP COULD NOT FIND AN ANSWER FOR THAT PROBLEM.

View Details

ENGINE

9/25/2016 - CHULUOTA, FL
IN LATE JUNE MY ENGINE STARTED S KNOCKING NOISE WHILE I WAS DRIVING AND ALL OF THE SUDDEN THE CAR STALLED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE STREET. I TRIED TURNING IT ON AND THE ENGINE JUST KEPT MAKING THE KNOCKING NOISE. I HAD MY CAR TOWED TO A MECHANIC AND HE LET ME KNOW THAT MY ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. IN SEPTEMBER, I RECEIVED A LETTER FROM KIA DATED AUGUST 29,2016, STATING THAT THEY WERE EXTENDING MY WARRANTY ON MY VEHICLE BECAUSE OF THE EXACT ISSUE I HAD WITH MY ENGINE IN JUNE. AT THIS POINT, I HAVE ALREADY PAID FOR MY VEHCLE TO BE FIXED, BUT IT'S STILL NOT RIGHT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/25/2016 - CHULUOTA, FL
IN LATE JUNE MY ENGINE STARTED S KNOCKING NOISE WHILE I WAS DRIVING AND ALL OF THE SUDDEN THE CAR STALLED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE STREET. I TRIED TURNING IT ON AND THE ENGINE JUST KEPT MAKING THE KNOCKING NOISE. I HAD MY CAR TOWED TO A MECHANIC AND HE LET ME KNOW THAT MY ENGINE NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. IN SEPTEMBER, I RECEIVED A LETTER FROM KIA DATED AUGUST 29,2016, STATING THAT THEY WERE EXTENDING MY WARRANTY ON MY VEHICLE BECAUSE OF THE EXACT ISSUE I HAD WITH MY ENGINE IN JUNE. AT THIS POINT, I HAVE ALREADY PAID FOR MY VEHCLE TO BE FIXED, BUT IT'S STILL NOT RIGHT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 27
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds