Auto Recalls for Consumers

TESLA MODEL S - 2013 TESLA MODEL S Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Tesla Motors, Inc.

There are 69 complaints filed for the 2013 TESLA MODEL S

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 TESLA MODEL S. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 TESLA MODEL S, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Exterior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (6) Suspension (28) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (20) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Steering (6) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (4) Power Train (2) Structure (5) Unknown Or Other (5) Wheels (2)
Equipment (2) Seats (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/14/2017 - FREMONT, CA
MY CAR WENT OVER A POTHOLE ON 101 S JUST SHORT OF WOODSIDE RD. EXIT. I HEARD A LOUD THUD AND MY CAR WENT OUT OF CONTROL AND VEERED INTO THE LANES NEXT TO ME AS I TRIED TO CONTROL IT. AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS TO STOP IT, IT FINALLY CAME TO A STOP. THE REAR, RIGHT TIRE BURST AND THE WHEEL IMPACTED BADLY. REAR SUSPENSION BROKEN AND THE 'QUARTER AND ROCKER PANEL' BROKEN.

View Details

WHEELS

1/14/2017 - FREMONT, CA
MY CAR WENT OVER A POTHOLE ON 101 S JUST SHORT OF WOODSIDE RD. EXIT. I HEARD A LOUD THUD AND MY CAR WENT OUT OF CONTROL AND VEERED INTO THE LANES NEXT TO ME AS I TRIED TO CONTROL IT. AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS TO STOP IT, IT FINALLY CAME TO A STOP. THE REAR, RIGHT TIRE BURST AND THE WHEEL IMPACTED BADLY. REAR SUSPENSION BROKEN AND THE 'QUARTER AND ROCKER PANEL' BROKEN.

View Details

SUSPENSION

1/14/2017 - FREMONT, CA
MY CAR WENT OVER A POTHOLE ON 101 S JUST SHORT OF WOODSIDE RD. EXIT. I HEARD A LOUD THUD AND MY CAR WENT OUT OF CONTROL AND VEERED INTO THE LANES NEXT TO ME AS I TRIED TO CONTROL IT. AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS TO STOP IT, IT FINALLY CAME TO A STOP. THE REAR, RIGHT TIRE BURST AND THE WHEEL IMPACTED BADLY. REAR SUSPENSION BROKEN AND THE 'QUARTER AND ROCKER PANEL' BROKEN.

View Details

SUSPENSION

12/29/2016 - BEVERLEY HILLS, CA
HERE IS A TESLA IN THE JUNKYARD. HTTPS://M.IAAI.COM/VEHICLEDETENC.ASPX?AUCTIONID=0&ITEMID=23837634&ROWID=31&PAGESOURCE=VEHICLERESULTS THE BACK RH WHEEL ASSEMBLY HAS TORN OFF AND EXITED THROUGH THE REAR OF THE CAR TEARING OFF THE BACK BUMPER. THE CAR HAS THEN HAD A MAJOR COLLISION. IT IS MOST UNLIKELY THAT IT IS A MERE COINCIDENCE THE BACK WHEEL HAS FALLEN OFF. THE ALLOY SUSPENSION COMPONENTS ARE MUCH TOO FRAGILE AND HAVE FAILED MANY TIMES ON THESE VEHICLES. PLEASE INVESTIGATE. NOTE: I AM NOT THE OWNER OF THE VEHICLE JUST A CONCERNED CITIZEN. DATE OF ACCIDENT AND INJURY DETAILS ARE AN APPROXIMATION

View Details

SUSPENSION

12/28/2016 - BEVERLEY HILLS, CA
HERE IS A TESLA IN THE JUNKYARD. HTTPS://WWW.COPART.COM/LOT/44749556/PHOTOS?RESULTINDEX=12&TOTALRECORDS=21&BACKTO=%2FLOTSEARCHRESULTS%2F%3FFREE%3DTRUE&QUERY=TESLA&QUERY=TESLA&DISPLAYSTR=SEARCH%20RESULTS&VIEWEDLOT=44749556 THE SUSPENSION HAS COLLAPSED ON ALL 4 WHEELS AND THE WHEELS ARE JAMMED UP IN THE WHEEL WELLS WHICH HAS CAUSED DAMAGE TO THE BODYWORK AND PRESUMABLY A VERY RAPID DECELERATION OF THE CAR. THERE IS NO IMPACT DAMAGE. THERE HAV BEEN MANY REPORTS OF SIMILAR INCIDENTS AND REPORTS THAT THE CAR LACKS ANY FORM OF LIMIT STOPS IF SHOULD THERE BE A LEAK IN THE AIR SUSPENSION SYSTEM. THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG HAS DEPLOYED BUT NOT THE DRIVERS SIDE. IT IS REASONABLE TO ASSUME THAT THERE WAS A DRIVER IN THE CAR AT THE TIME SINCE THIS CAR PREDATES THE AUTOPILOT SYSTEM! PLEASE NOTE THAT I AM NOT THE OWNER AND THAT THIS REPORT IS BASED ENTIRELY ON MY OBSERVATIONS AND ANALYSIS OF THE PHOTOGRAPHS OF THE DAMAGED CAR. DATE OF INCIDENT IS AN APPROXIMATION.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/28/2016 - BEVERLEY HILLS, CA
HERE IS A TESLA IN THE JUNKYARD. HTTPS://WWW.COPART.COM/LOT/44749556/PHOTOS?RESULTINDEX=12&TOTALRECORDS=21&BACKTO=%2FLOTSEARCHRESULTS%2F%3FFREE%3DTRUE&QUERY=TESLA&QUERY=TESLA&DISPLAYSTR=SEARCH%20RESULTS&VIEWEDLOT=44749556 THE SUSPENSION HAS COLLAPSED ON ALL 4 WHEELS AND THE WHEELS ARE JAMMED UP IN THE WHEEL WELLS WHICH HAS CAUSED DAMAGE TO THE BODYWORK AND PRESUMABLY A VERY RAPID DECELERATION OF THE CAR. THERE IS NO IMPACT DAMAGE. THERE HAV BEEN MANY REPORTS OF SIMILAR INCIDENTS AND REPORTS THAT THE CAR LACKS ANY FORM OF LIMIT STOPS IF SHOULD THERE BE A LEAK IN THE AIR SUSPENSION SYSTEM. THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG HAS DEPLOYED BUT NOT THE DRIVERS SIDE. IT IS REASONABLE TO ASSUME THAT THERE WAS A DRIVER IN THE CAR AT THE TIME SINCE THIS CAR PREDATES THE AUTOPILOT SYSTEM! PLEASE NOTE THAT I AM NOT THE OWNER AND THAT THIS REPORT IS BASED ENTIRELY ON MY OBSERVATIONS AND ANALYSIS OF THE PHOTOGRAPHS OF THE DAMAGED CAR. DATE OF INCIDENT IS AN APPROXIMATION.

View Details

SUSPENSION

12/28/2016 - BEVERLEY HILLS, CA
HERE IS A TESLA IN THE SALVAGE YARD. HTTPS://M.IAAI.COM/VEHICLEDETENC.ASPX?AUCTIONID=0&ITEMID=23880040&ROWID=38&PAGESOURCE=VEHICLERESULTS THE FRONT WHEEL IS LEANING OUTWARDS AT AN EXTREME ANGLE. THE TIP OF THE STEERING KNUCKLE HAS SNAPPED OFF. THE WHEEL AND TIRE ARE UNDAMAGED AND IT IS UNLIKELY THAT THE FRONT OF THE CAR HAS HAD A HARD ENOUGH IMPACT THAT WOULD ACCOUNT FOR THE SNAPPED KNUCKLE. THIS CAST ALUMINUM KNUCKLE HAS SNAPPED IN A SIMILAR WAY IN MANY OTHER INCIDENTS THAT HAVE BEEN REPORTED TO NHTSA. LATER MODEL TESLAS HAVE A REDESIGNED KNUCKLE THAT IS MORE STURDY BUT EVEN THAT ONE HAS HAD INCIDENTS IN WHICH THE TIP HAS BROKEN OFF OR THE BALL JOINT HAS POPPED APART. THE CAST ALUMINUM PARTS OF THE SUSPENSION APPEAR TO BE TOO WEAK TO COPE WITH THE FORCES THAT MAY BE APPLIED DURING HARD BRAKING AND CORNERING. PLEASE NOTE THAT I AM NOT THE OWNER OF THE VEHICLE BUT THAT I AM A CONCERNED CITIZEN TRYING TO PROTECT THE LIVES OF TESLA OWNERS AND THOSE WHO SHARE THE ROADS WITH THEM.

View Details

SUSPENSION

12/19/2016 - BEVERLEY HILLS, CA
HERE IS ANOTHER TESLA IN THE JUNKYARD HTTPS://M.IAAI.COM/VEHICLEDETENC.ASPX?AUCTIONID=0&ITEMID=23837634&ROWID=30&PAGESOURCE=VEHICLERESULTS IT HAS BEEN IN A MAJOR FRONT END COLLISION. ALMOST CERTAINLY CAUSE BY THE BACK WHEEL FALLING OFF! PLEASE INVESTIGATE THIS. EVERY TESLA ON THE ROAD IS IN DANGER OF HAVING A WHEEL SNAP-OFF AT ANY INSTANT. PLEASE NOTE THAT INJURY REPORT IS JUST AN ESTIMATE BASED ON THE SEVERITY OF DAMAGE. DATE OF CRASH IS AN APPROXIMATION.

View Details

SUSPENSION

11/29/2016 - BEVERLEY HILLS, CA
HERE IS A TESLA MODEL S IN THE SALVAGE YARD HTTPS://WWW.COPART.COM/LOT/42150556/PHOTOS?RESULTINDEX=18&TOTALRECORDS=20&BACKTO=%2FLOTSEARCHRESULTS%2F%3FFREE%3DTRUE&QUERY=TESLA&QUERY=TESLA&DISPLAYSTR=SEARCH%20RESULTS&VIEWEDLOT=42150556 THERE IS ZERO DAMAGE TO THE BODYWORK AND IT DOES NOT APPEAR TO HAVE BEEN IN A CRASH. THE BACK SUSPENSION HAS SIMPLY FALLEN TO BITS. THESE ARE NOT ISOLATED INCIDENTS, THEY ARE PART OF A PATTERN OF FAILURE CAUSED BY WEAKNESS IN THE SUPENSION COMPONENTS. PLEASE TAKE URGENT ACTION TO PREVENT FURTHER LOSS OF LIFE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

11/28/2016 - BEVERLEY HILLS, CA
HERE IS A STORY ABOUT A TESLA OWNER WHO CLAIMS THE CAR SAVED HIS LIFE. HTTP://INSIDEEVS.COM/TESLA-MODEL-S-GETS-WRECKED-OWNER-SAYS-VEHICLE-SAVED-HIS-LIFE-IMAGES-OWNER-TESTIMONIAL/ LOOK AT THE PHOTOGRAPHS. THE FRONT SUSPENSION HAS COLLAPSED AND THE TREAD OF THE TIRE HAS BEEN WORN AWAY. THE COLLISION WITH THE HYUNDAI WAS A SECONDARY EFFECT OF THE TESLA SUSPENSION COLLAPSING AND CAUSING LOSS OF CONTROL. TESLA SPINS THESE STORIES AND MAKES THE OWNERS SIGN NON DISCLOSURE AGREEMENTS. THIS IS NO ACCIDENT. IT IS A DELIBERATE COVER UP.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds