Auto Recalls for Consumers

TESLA MODEL S - 2013 TESLA MODEL S Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Tesla Motors, Inc.

There are 43 complaints filed for the 2013 TESLA MODEL S

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 TESLA MODEL S. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 TESLA MODEL S, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Exterior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (4) Suspension (7) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (19) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Steering (3) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (4) Power Train (2) Structure (4) Unknown Or Other (3) Wheels (1)
Equipment (2) Seats (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

5/21/2016 - BEVERLEY HILLS, CA
THIS MODEL S HAS JUST ARRIVED AT THE WRECKER'S YARD. HTTPS://M.IAAI.COM/VEHICLEDETENC.ASPX?AUCTIONID=0&ITEMID=22105984&ROWID=32&PAGESOURCE=VEHICLERESULTS# ONCE AGAIN THE REAR SUSPENSION HAS BEEN WRENCHED OFF THE CAR WITHOUT ANY SIGN OF COLLISION DAMAGE THAT WOULD HAVE CAUSED THE FAILURE. THE MOTOR HAS PLENTY OF TORQUE TO WRENCH OFF THE SUSPENSION. THERE IS A CLEAR PATTERN OF FAILURE. PLEASE INVESTIGATE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/19/2016 - BEVERLEY HILLS, CA
HERE IS YET ANOTHER TESLA MODEL S FOR SALE AS A SALVAGE WRECK. HTTPS://M.IAAI.COM/VEHICLEDETENC.ASPX?AUCTIONID=0&ITEMID=22060456&ROWID=28&PAGESOURCE=VEHICLERESULTS# THE LH REAR WHEEL AND SUSPENSION HAVE TORN OUTWARDS THROUGH THE BODYWORK. THE RH WHEEL IS TILTED OVER AT AN ANGLE. THERE IS NO IMPACT DAMAGE THAT WOULD HAVE CAUSED THIS. THERE HAVE BEEN DOZENS OF SIMILAR INCIDENTS. HTTPS://WWW.FLICKR.COM/PHOTOS/136377865@N05/SETS/72157658490111523/ OWNERS ARE BEING ASKED TO SIGN NDA,S IN EXCHANGE FOR GOODWILL PAYMENTS. THE WORDING OF THE NDA CAN BE INTERPRETED TO MEAN THAT THEY SHOULD NOT EVEN REPORT THE INCIDENT TO NHTSA PLEASE INVESTIGATE THIS MATTER.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/9/2016 - BEVERLY HILLS, CA
HERE IS ANOTHER TESLA WITH A COLLAPSED FRONT SUSPENSION. HTTP://WWW.COPART.COM/US/EN/LOT/21054696?SEARCHID=632075351 THE CAR HAS NOT BEEN INVOLVED IN A COLLISION, THE FRONT SUSPENSION HAS SIMPLY FALLEN APART. THE FRONT WHEEL IS SLICED NEARLY IN HALF BY A BROKEN SUSPENSION COMPONENT. THIS TYPE OF FAILURE CAN BE SEEN IN MANY ACCIDENTS INVOLVING TESLAS. PLEASE LOOK AT THE PATTERN HERE. THE ALLOY SUSPENSION LINKS ARE WEAK. THE STEERING-KNUCKLE HAS BEEN REDESIGNED AND MADE STRONGER FROM 2015 ONWARDS BUT NOTHING HAS BEEN DONE ABOUT THE OLDER MODEL CARS. EVEN THE NEW AND STRONGER SUSPENSIONS ARE STILL SNAPPING OFF THE CARS. CUSTOMERS ARE BEING FORCED TO SIGN NON DISCLOSURE AGREEMENTS IN EXCHANGE FOR GOODWILL PAYMENTS. PLEASE INVESTIGATE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/2/2016 - BEVERLEY HILLS, CA
YOU HAVE A COMPLAINT LISTED FOR A SNAPPED FRONT SUSPENSION ( REF # 10862066) THERE IS A DISCUSSION THREAD HERE HTTPS://TESLAMOTORSCLUB.COM/TMC/THREADS/SUSPENSION-PROBLEM-ON-MODEL-S.69204/ WHICH SHOWS A TOP BALL JOINT THAT HAS BEEN CORRODED SO BADLY THAT IT HAS POPPED OUT OF THE SOCKET. POSTERS ARE SAYING THAT SIMILAR CASES HAVE HAPPENED IN NORWAY AND OTHER PLACES THAT USE SALT ON THE ROADS. THE DESIGN OF THE MODEL S ALLOWS ROAD DIRT TO BE THROWN ON TO THE SUSPENSION PARTS. IN THE THREAD THERE ARE PHOTOGRAPHS OF TESLAS WITH HEAVY CORROSION. IT IS LIKELY THAT GALVANIC CORROSION IS OCCURRING. ALUMINIUM AND STEEL COMPONENTS ARE IN DIRECT CONTACT WHICH WILL CAUSE CORROSION IN WET AND SALTY CONDITIONS. IN NORTHERN USA,CANADA, NORWAY AND MANY OTHER COUNTRIES SALT IS USED ON THE ROADS. THIS FAULT WAS NOT PICKED UP UNTIL IT ACTUALLY FELL APART AND THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT FOUND THAT BALL JOINTS ON BOTH SIDES OF THE CAR NEEDED REPLACING. THIS IS A DANGER TO OWNERS AND TO OTHER ROAD USERS. PLEASE INVESTIGATE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/28/2016 - CONNELLSVILLE, PA
MY FRONT WHEEL HUB ASSEMBLY CAME LOOSE FROM THE UPPER CONTROL ARM CAUSING A LOSE OF STEERING.

View Details

STEERING

4/28/2016 - CONNELLSVILLE, PA
MY FRONT WHEEL HUB ASSEMBLY CAME LOOSE FROM THE UPPER CONTROL ARM CAUSING A LOSE OF STEERING.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/19/2016 - SHINGLE SPRINGS, CA
ON 4/15 2016 MY WIFE WAS DRIVING THE CAR ON A ONE LANE ROAD AND THE "POWER PLANT" FAILED (PER THE TESLA SERVICE INVOICE) AND THE CAR IMMEDIATELY LOST ALL POWER. THE CARE WAS TOWED TO THE SERVICE CENTER IN ROCKLIN CALIFORNIA. THERE TEST RESULTS STATES "CONFIRMED REAR DRIVE UNIT WILL NEED REPLACEMENT DUE TO INTERNAL FAILURE" A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION FOR THE DRIVE WHEN IT HAPPENS AT SPEED IN TRAFFIC.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

4/13/2016 - AUBURN, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 TESLA MODEL S. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR WINDOWS IN THE VEHICLE BECAME INOPERABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE WINDOW REGULATOR FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED DUE TO THE PARTS NOT BEING SOLD. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 18,000.

View Details

ENGINE

3/2/2016 - PLEASANTON, CA
SLOWLY PULLING INTO A PARKING SPOT AT A STRIP MALL, I RELEASED MY FOOT OFF OF THE GAS, LIGHTLY TAPPED BRAKE AND THE CAR "UNINTENTIONALLY ACCELERATED" INTO A PALM TREE IN FRONT OF A BRICK PILLAR AT A STRIP MALL. I BACKED OUT TO ASSESS THE DAMAGE. HUSBAND WAS WITNESS IN DRIVER'S SEAT. THIS IS THE 2ND TIME THIS HAPPENED TO ME, (LAST YEAR AT A GROCERY STORE PARKING LOT) ALTHO THE FIRST TIME NO DAMAGE WAS DONE AND NO REPORTS WERE FILED. POOR DECISION IN HINDSIGHT! SINCE NO PERSON WAS INJURED, THE POLICE DEPT WOULD NOT TAKE A REPORT. INSURANCE WAS CALLED AS WELL AS TESLA. TESLA TOOK 6 DAYS TO PULL LOGS AND ASSURED US IT WAS BEING TAKEN SERIOUSLY AND ESCALATED TO MANAGEMENT. WE RECEIVED A CALL YESTERDAY FROM TOSHA AT TESLA, RELAYING THAT THEY DETERMINED THAT T WAS DRIVER ERROR AND LOG REPORTS SHOW THAT AS THE CAR WAS PULLING INTO THE SPOT, IT WAS ON A 3 ON A SCALE OF 100 AND THEN IT ACCELERATED 87% AND THE BRAKE WAS APPLIED. DOES NOT MAKE LOGICAL SENSE THAT THE CAR COULD ACCELERATE 87% IN A MATTER OF 2 FEET! I AM 150% SURE I DID NOT HIT THE ACCELERATOR. I AM 47, NOT A 90 YR OLD WOMAN WHO MAY HAVE PEDAL CONFUSION. THIS HAS NEVER HAPPENED WITH ANY OF OUR OTHER NON-TESLA CARS NOR IN MY 40+ YEARS OF DRIVING CARS OR MOTORCYCLES. THEIR RESPONSE IS SUSPECT AND WE ARE QUITE FRANKLY FEARFUL TO DRIVE THE CAR SAFELY. THIS STIP MALL HAS LOTS OF PEOPLE THAT WALK BY, ESP ELDERLY AND THE FACT THAT NO ONE OR THE PILLAR WAS HIT IS A BLESSING. AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. I WILL BE ASKING TESLA FOR A WRITTEN REPORT OF THEIR FINDINGS BUT NOT CONFIDENT IT WILL BE PROVIDED. WE PLAN TO SEEK COUNSEL AS WELL ESP SINCE THIS IS CONSIDERED AN "AT FAULT ACCIDENT".

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/2/2016 - PLEASANTON, CA
SLOWLY PULLING INTO A PARKING SPOT AT A STRIP MALL, I RELEASED MY FOOT OFF OF THE GAS, LIGHTLY TAPPED BRAKE AND THE CAR "UNINTENTIONALLY ACCELERATED" INTO A PALM TREE IN FRONT OF A BRICK PILLAR AT A STRIP MALL. I BACKED OUT TO ASSESS THE DAMAGE. HUSBAND WAS WITNESS IN DRIVER'S SEAT. THIS IS THE 2ND TIME THIS HAPPENED TO ME, (LAST YEAR AT A GROCERY STORE PARKING LOT) ALTHO THE FIRST TIME NO DAMAGE WAS DONE AND NO REPORTS WERE FILED. POOR DECISION IN HINDSIGHT! SINCE NO PERSON WAS INJURED, THE POLICE DEPT WOULD NOT TAKE A REPORT. INSURANCE WAS CALLED AS WELL AS TESLA. TESLA TOOK 6 DAYS TO PULL LOGS AND ASSURED US IT WAS BEING TAKEN SERIOUSLY AND ESCALATED TO MANAGEMENT. WE RECEIVED A CALL YESTERDAY FROM TOSHA AT TESLA, RELAYING THAT THEY DETERMINED THAT T WAS DRIVER ERROR AND LOG REPORTS SHOW THAT AS THE CAR WAS PULLING INTO THE SPOT, IT WAS ON A 3 ON A SCALE OF 100 AND THEN IT ACCELERATED 87% AND THE BRAKE WAS APPLIED. DOES NOT MAKE LOGICAL SENSE THAT THE CAR COULD ACCELERATE 87% IN A MATTER OF 2 FEET! I AM 150% SURE I DID NOT HIT THE ACCELERATOR. I AM 47, NOT A 90 YR OLD WOMAN WHO MAY HAVE PEDAL CONFUSION. THIS HAS NEVER HAPPENED WITH ANY OF OUR OTHER NON-TESLA CARS NOR IN MY 40+ YEARS OF DRIVING CARS OR MOTORCYCLES. THEIR RESPONSE IS SUSPECT AND WE ARE QUITE FRANKLY FEARFUL TO DRIVE THE CAR SAFELY. THIS STIP MALL HAS LOTS OF PEOPLE THAT WALK BY, ESP ELDERLY AND THE FACT THAT NO ONE OR THE PILLAR WAS HIT IS A BLESSING. AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. I WILL BE ASKING TESLA FOR A WRITTEN REPORT OF THEIR FINDINGS BUT NOT CONFIDENT IT WILL BE PROVIDED. WE PLAN TO SEEK COUNSEL AS WELL ESP SINCE THIS IS CONSIDERED AN "AT FAULT ACCIDENT".

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds