Auto Recalls for Consumers

TESLA MODEL S - 2013 TESLA MODEL S Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Tesla, Inc.

There are 107 complaints filed for the 2013 TESLA MODEL S

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 TESLA MODEL S. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 TESLA MODEL S, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (3) Suspension (53) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (21) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Service Brakes (10) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (4) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (8) Unknown Or Other (10) Wheels (2)
Equipment (2) Power Train (3) Structure (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

3/31/2018 - BEVERLEY HILLS, CA
HERE IS YET ANOTHER TESLA IN THE JUNKYARD: HTTPS://WWW.COPART.COM/LOT/28761918/PHOTOS THE BACK WHEEL IS WHOMPY. HOW MANY MORE EXAMPLES DO YOU NEED BEFORE YOU AGREE WITH ME THAT THESE CARS ARE TOO DANGEROUS TO BE ALLOWED TO REMAIN ON THE ROADS? PLEASE TAKE IMMEDIATE ACTION. THANK YOU. ENDANGERED CITIZEN.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/30/2018 - SAN RAMON, CA
SUDDEN UNINTENDED ACCELERATION TESLA. I DROVE MY TESLA FROM WORK, DRIVING OVER 35MILES DURING RUSH HOUR OF THE BAY AREA. WHEN I ENTERED MY SUBDIVISION, I WAS DRIVING AT 10 MPH, PULLED INTO MY DRIVEWAY MADE 90 DEGREES TURN AT 5 MPH, APPLIED THE BRAKES. INSTEAD OF STOPPING, CAR SPED UP AT EXTREMELY HIGH ACCELERATION. IT DROVE THROUGH THE GARAGE DOOR, HIT MASERATI PARKED IN THE GARAGE, AND A MOTORCYCLE PARKED NEXT TO IT. THE MASERATI TRUNK WAS PUSHED IN APPROX 3 FEET, IT SLID SIDEWAYS, HIT THE PILLAR, SMASHING DRIVER DOOR AND WINDOW, SLID TO THE FRONT AND HIT THE MOTORBIKE PARKED NEXT TO IT. IT COMPLETELY SMASHED THE REAR TRUCK, FRONT AND SIDE OF THE MASERATI. IT SMASHED THE FRONT END OF THE MOTORCYCLE. THERE WERE FLUIDS FRONT TESLA, MASERATI, AND BIKE ALL OVER THE GARAGE. THE BATTERY IN MASERATI EXPLODED LEAKING ACID ALL OVER THE GARAGE. WE THOUGHT THE FUEL TANK IN MASERATI BROKE. WE HAD TO CALL 911, DOZENS OF PERSONNEL SHOWED UP INCLUDING SEVERAL FIRE TRUCKS, POLICE CARS, AMBULANCE, HAZMAT AMONG OTHERS. THEY SPEND OVER THREE HOURS CONTROLLING THE SITUATION. THEY HAD TO CUT THE GARAGE DOOR TO PULL OUT THE MASERATI AND TESLA. IT WAS TOWED TO A STORAGE FACILITY NEARBY. MASERATI WAS DECLARED A TOTAL LOSS. I WAS COMPLETELY SHAKEN AND HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO SLEEP AT ALL FOR LAST THREE DAYS. WHAT IF MY KIDS HAD BEEN PLAYING IN THE DRIVEWAY OR IN FRONT OF THE HOUSE. AFTER DOING SOME RESEARCH I FOUND THIS IS NOT A RANDOM INSTANCE. THERE ARE DOZENS IF NOT HUNDREDS OF SIMILAR INCIDENTS WHEREIN, WHEN A DRIVER MAKES A SHARP TURN INTO A DRIVEWAY OR GARAGE AND APPLIES THE BRAKE, RATHER THAN SLOWING DOWN CAR JUST DECIDES TO SPEED UP LIKE A BULLET AND GOES THROUGH THE WALLS OR WHATEVER COMES ITS WAY. I HAVE STOPPED DRIVING FOR FORESEEABLE FUTURE, I AM NOT GOING TO PUT MY STEP IN ANOTHER TESLA FOR MY SAFETY AND SAFETY OF OTHERS. STAY AWAY FROM THIS UNPROVEN TECHNOLOGY FOR YOUR/OTHERS

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/30/2018 - SAN RAMON, CA
SUDDEN UNINTENDED ACCELERATION TESLA. I DROVE MY TESLA FROM WORK, DRIVING OVER 35MILES DURING RUSH HOUR OF THE BAY AREA. WHEN I ENTERED MY SUBDIVISION, I WAS DRIVING AT 10 MPH, PULLED INTO MY DRIVEWAY MADE 90 DEGREES TURN AT 5 MPH, APPLIED THE BRAKES. INSTEAD OF STOPPING, CAR SPED UP AT EXTREMELY HIGH ACCELERATION. IT DROVE THROUGH THE GARAGE DOOR, HIT MASERATI PARKED IN THE GARAGE, AND A MOTORCYCLE PARKED NEXT TO IT. THE MASERATI TRUNK WAS PUSHED IN APPROX 3 FEET, IT SLID SIDEWAYS, HIT THE PILLAR, SMASHING DRIVER DOOR AND WINDOW, SLID TO THE FRONT AND HIT THE MOTORBIKE PARKED NEXT TO IT. IT COMPLETELY SMASHED THE REAR TRUCK, FRONT AND SIDE OF THE MASERATI. IT SMASHED THE FRONT END OF THE MOTORCYCLE. THERE WERE FLUIDS FRONT TESLA, MASERATI, AND BIKE ALL OVER THE GARAGE. THE BATTERY IN MASERATI EXPLODED LEAKING ACID ALL OVER THE GARAGE. WE THOUGHT THE FUEL TANK IN MASERATI BROKE. WE HAD TO CALL 911, DOZENS OF PERSONNEL SHOWED UP INCLUDING SEVERAL FIRE TRUCKS, POLICE CARS, AMBULANCE, HAZMAT AMONG OTHERS. THEY SPEND OVER THREE HOURS CONTROLLING THE SITUATION. THEY HAD TO CUT THE GARAGE DOOR TO PULL OUT THE MASERATI AND TESLA. IT WAS TOWED TO A STORAGE FACILITY NEARBY. MASERATI WAS DECLARED A TOTAL LOSS. I WAS COMPLETELY SHAKEN AND HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO SLEEP AT ALL FOR LAST THREE DAYS. WHAT IF MY KIDS HAD BEEN PLAYING IN THE DRIVEWAY OR IN FRONT OF THE HOUSE. AFTER DOING SOME RESEARCH I FOUND THIS IS NOT A RANDOM INSTANCE. THERE ARE DOZENS IF NOT HUNDREDS OF SIMILAR INCIDENTS WHEREIN, WHEN A DRIVER MAKES A SHARP TURN INTO A DRIVEWAY OR GARAGE AND APPLIES THE BRAKE, RATHER THAN SLOWING DOWN CAR JUST DECIDES TO SPEED UP LIKE A BULLET AND GOES THROUGH THE WALLS OR WHATEVER COMES ITS WAY. I HAVE STOPPED DRIVING FOR FORESEEABLE FUTURE, I AM NOT GOING TO PUT MY STEP IN ANOTHER TESLA FOR MY SAFETY AND SAFETY OF OTHERS. STAY AWAY FROM THIS UNPROVEN TECHNOLOGY FOR YOUR/OTHERS

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/30/2018 - SAN RAMON, CA
SUDDEN UNINTENDED ACCELERATION TESLA. I DROVE MY TESLA FROM WORK, DRIVING OVER 35MILES DURING RUSH HOUR OF THE BAY AREA. WHEN I ENTERED MY SUBDIVISION, I WAS DRIVING AT 10 MPH, PULLED INTO MY DRIVEWAY MADE 90 DEGREES TURN AT 5 MPH, APPLIED THE BRAKES. INSTEAD OF STOPPING, CAR SPED UP AT EXTREMELY HIGH ACCELERATION. IT DROVE THROUGH THE GARAGE DOOR, HIT MASERATI PARKED IN THE GARAGE, AND A MOTORCYCLE PARKED NEXT TO IT. THE MASERATI TRUNK WAS PUSHED IN APPROX 3 FEET, IT SLID SIDEWAYS, HIT THE PILLAR, SMASHING DRIVER DOOR AND WINDOW, SLID TO THE FRONT AND HIT THE MOTORBIKE PARKED NEXT TO IT. IT COMPLETELY SMASHED THE REAR TRUCK, FRONT AND SIDE OF THE MASERATI. IT SMASHED THE FRONT END OF THE MOTORCYCLE. THERE WERE FLUIDS FRONT TESLA, MASERATI, AND BIKE ALL OVER THE GARAGE. THE BATTERY IN MASERATI EXPLODED LEAKING ACID ALL OVER THE GARAGE. WE THOUGHT THE FUEL TANK IN MASERATI BROKE. WE HAD TO CALL 911, DOZENS OF PERSONNEL SHOWED UP INCLUDING SEVERAL FIRE TRUCKS, POLICE CARS, AMBULANCE, HAZMAT AMONG OTHERS. THEY SPEND OVER THREE HOURS CONTROLLING THE SITUATION. THEY HAD TO CUT THE GARAGE DOOR TO PULL OUT THE MASERATI AND TESLA. IT WAS TOWED TO A STORAGE FACILITY NEARBY. MASERATI WAS DECLARED A TOTAL LOSS. I WAS COMPLETELY SHAKEN AND HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO SLEEP AT ALL FOR LAST THREE DAYS. WHAT IF MY KIDS HAD BEEN PLAYING IN THE DRIVEWAY OR IN FRONT OF THE HOUSE. AFTER DOING SOME RESEARCH I FOUND THIS IS NOT A RANDOM INSTANCE. THERE ARE DOZENS IF NOT HUNDREDS OF SIMILAR INCIDENTS WHEREIN, WHEN A DRIVER MAKES A SHARP TURN INTO A DRIVEWAY OR GARAGE AND APPLIES THE BRAKE, RATHER THAN SLOWING DOWN CAR JUST DECIDES TO SPEED UP LIKE A BULLET AND GOES THROUGH THE WALLS OR WHATEVER COMES ITS WAY. I HAVE STOPPED DRIVING FOR FORESEEABLE FUTURE, I AM NOT GOING TO PUT MY STEP IN ANOTHER TESLA FOR MY SAFETY AND SAFETY OF OTHERS. STAY AWAY FROM THIS UNPROVEN TECHNOLOGY FOR YOUR/OTHERS

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/28/2018 - BEVERLEY HILLS, CA
HERE IS ANOTHER TESLA IN THE JUNKYARD: HTTPS://WWW.COPART.COM/LOT/48517337 THE BACK WHEEL HAS FALLEN OFF FOR NO GOOD REASON. TESLA USES CAST ALUMINUM FOR THE SUSPENSION PARTS. THESE PARTS HAVE VERY LITTLE MARGIN OF SAFETY EVEN WHEN BRAND NEW. AFTER A FEW YEARS AND WITH THE EFFECTS OF FATIGUE AND CORROSION THESE PARTS BECOME EVEN MORE FRAGILE. OWNERS ARE UNDER THE MISTAKEN BELIEF THAT THESE CARS ARE VERY SAFE AND REQUIRE VERY LITTLE MAINTENANCE. AS THE FLEET OF TESLAS AGES THE RISK OF FAILURE BECOMES EVEN GREATER THAN IT IS ALREADY. MANY COUNTRIES IN WHICH THE TESLA IS SOLD DO NOT REQUIRE SAFETY INSPECTIONS FOR THE FIRST FEW YEARS. SOME COUNTRIES REQUIRE NO ANNUAL SAFETY INSPECTIONS AT ALL. THIS IS A TICKING TIME BOMB. PLEASE INVESTIGATE BEFORE MORE LIVES ARE LOST. THANK YOU. CONCERNED CITIZEN.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/26/2018 - MCMINNVILLE, OR
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2013 TESLA MODEL S. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE STATIONARY WITH THE BRAKE PEDAL DEPRESSED, THE VEHICLE INDEPENDENTLY ACCELERATED RAPIDLY WITHOUT WARNING AND CRASHED INTO A WALL. THE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THERE WERE NO INJURIES SUSTAINED BY THE CONTACT. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED AND DEEMED DESTROYED. A DEALER WAS NOT CONTACTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 40,000.

View Details

SUSPENSION

3/16/2018 - BEVERLEY HILLS, CA
TESLA.... JUNKYARD... HTTPS://WWW.COPART.COM/LOT/27986168 THE USUAL - SUSPENSION FELL TO BITS, WHEEL FELL OFF. PLEASE INVESTIGATE IF YOU CAN SPARE THE TIME. THANK YOU. ANNOYING CITIZEN.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/18/2018 - HURST, TX
TORKLIFT CENTRAL SELLS AN "ECOHITCH" FOR THE TESLA MODEL S. UNFORTUNATELY, THEY FAILED TO ACCOUNT FOR THE ALUMINUM BODY--AND THEIR HITCH IS MADE OF STEEL. GALVANIC CORROSION IS POWERFUL AND DESTROYS THE STRENGTH OF THE BODY. THE POST BELOW SHOWS THE DAMAGE DONE BY AN ECOHITCH IN UNDER 3 YEARS: HTTPS://FORUMS.TESLARATI.COM/THREADS/TESLA-MODEL-S-HITCH-BY-TORKLIFT-3-YEAR-UPDATE-EATEN-ALIVE.5227/#POST-11321 TORKLIFT CENTRAL'S LATER REPLY, DATED DEC 19, 2017, IS A MAJOR PROBLEM. THEY ACKNOWLEDGE THE PROBLEM, CLAIM THAT OTHER TESLAS HAVE CORROSION PROBLEMS, AND THAT THIS IS, BASICALLY, NOT A BIG DEAL. WORSE, THEY ALSO WROTE THIS: "THIS WEEK WE WILL HAVE A SIMPLE KIT AND INSTALLATION INSTRUCTIONS FOR INSULATION PADS - SIMILAR TO WHAT YOU HAVE INSTALLED ON YOUR TESLA MODEL S. WE ARE GOING TO INCLUDE THIS KIT IN ALL TESLA KITS MOVING FORWARD, AS WELL AS CONTACT CUSTOMERS WHO HAVE RECENTLY PURCHASED." NOTE THE KEY WORDS, "MOVING FORWARD" AND "RECENTLY." THIS IS A GROSS VIOLATION OF THEIR OBLIGATION TO INITIATE A FULL RECALL OF EVERY UNIT THEY HAVE SHIPPED, IN ADDITION TO ENSURING AN INSPECTION OF EVERY TESLA BODY TO WHICH THEIR ECOHITCH WAS ATTACHED. I REQUEST THAT YOUR ODI IMMEDIATELY CONTACT THE FIRM AND ADVISE THEM OF THEIR OBLIGATIONS UNDER FMVSS (AND OTHER REGULATIONS/LAWS) TO BOTH RECALL THE PRODUCT, AND SECURE THE INSPECTIONS ASAP. TESLA AND COLLISION REPAIR ASSOCIATIONS SHOULD ALSO BE INFORMED AS THEY ARE LIKELY TO BE IN A POSITION TO BOTH REGULARLY SEE AND INSPECT AFFECTED CARS IN A FAR MORE EXPEDIENT MANNER THAN THE MANUFACTURER OF THE ECOHITCH. IN CLOSING, SOMEONE WAS RECOMMENDING A SIMILAR HITCH FOR A MODEL X. MY INPUT IS TOO LENGTHY TO POST HERE, BUT SINCE MANY TESLAS HAVE A 3RD ROW SEATING FOR CHILDREN, THIS IS A LIFE CRITICAL RECALL. HTTPS://TESLAMOTORSCLUB.COM/TMC/THREADS/TOW-PACKAGE-PSYCH.108885/ THANK YOU.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/26/2018 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
DRIVER STOPPED CAR WHILE PULLING INTO GARAGE WITH REAR WHEELS ON DRIVEWAY SLOPING DOWN AND AWAY FROM GARAGE AND FRONT WHEELS JUST INSIDE GARAGE. VEHICLE CREEP MODE IN OFF POSITION. CAR AT REST. BRAKE RELEASED, AND VEHICLE BEGAN ROLLING BACKWARD DUE TO GRAVITY. ACCELERATOR APPLIED, AND NO INITIAL RESPONSE, CAR CONTINUED TO ACCELERATE BACKWARD ROLL SPEED, SO PEDAL DEPRESSED FURTHER (TESLA VEHICLE LOGS SHOW 25-50% PEDAL TRAVEL AT THIS POINT), AT WHICH TIME DRIVE UNIT QUICKLY ENGAGED AT 25-50% OF FULL ACCELERATION RESULTING IN A SUDDEN UNINTENTIONAL FORWARD ACCELERATION. DRIVER CAUGHT BY SURPRISE AND ATTEMPTED BRAKING. UNFORTUNATELY, VEHICLE IMPACTED FREEZER UNIT IN GARAGE DESTROYING THE FREEZER AND CAUSING SIGNIFICANT VEHICLE STRUCTURAL DAMAGE. THIS SET OF OPERATING PARAMETERS WAS REPRODUCIBLE AND RELIABLY RESULTED IN A SHORT, BUT NOTABLE, DELAY IN PEDAL RESPONSE WHEN ROLLING BACKWARD, RESULTING IN FURTHER PEDAL DEPRESSION, THEN FOLLOWED BY A SUDDEN ACCELERATION FORWARD, WHICH WAS SHORT, BUT, WITH THE POTENTIAL TO BE SIGNIFICANT WHEN COLLISION HAZARDS EXIST NEARBY. THE VEHICLE OPERATING MANUAL CONTAINS NO WARNING REGARDING THIS SITUATION. TESLA WAS MADE AWARE AND WOULD ONLY COMMENT THAT THE VEHICLE DID NOT MALFUNCTION. WHILE THAT MAY BE THE CASE, THE VEHICLE DESIGN SETS UP DRIVERS FOR ACCIDENTS THAT MIGHT RESULT IN INJURY AND PROPERTY DAMAGE WHEN DRIVERS ARE NOT WARNED OF THE VEHICLE'S RESPONSE IN THIS UNIQUE OPERATING CIRCUMSTANCE. AT THE VERY LEAST, IT SEEMS, TESLA SHOULD INCLUDE A WARNING TO DRIVERS ABOUT THIS SITUATION SO THAT DRIVERS MIGHT BE READY FOR SUDDEN ACCELERATIONS IN SUCH INSTANCES, OR DRIVERS MIGHT SIMPLY SELECT CREEP MODE ON IN SUCH SITUATIONS, WHICH WOULD PREVENT THE SUDDEN ACCELERATION.

View Details

SUSPENSION

12/12/2017 - BEVERLY HILLS, CA
HERE IS A TESLA IN THE JUNKYARD: HTTPS://WWW.IAAI.COM/VEHICLE?ITEMID=26868872&ROWNUMBER=18&LOADRECENT=TRUE THE FRONT AND BACK WHEELS ON THE LH SIDE HAVE SIMPLY FALLEN OFF AND THE SUSPENSION PARTS HAVE SNAPPED. THE SUSPENSION HAS COLLAPSED ON ALL SIDES OF THE CAR PROBABLY DUE TO AN AIR LEAK IN THE SUSPENSION LINES OR A GLITCH IN THE SOFTWARE. THE RATE AT WHICH WHEELS ARE FALLING OF TESLAS IS SIMPLY RIDICULOUS. PLEASE DEMAND A RECALL. THANK YOU. CONCERNED CITIZEN.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds