Auto Recalls for Consumers

TESLA MODEL S - 2013 TESLA MODEL S Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Tesla Motors, Inc.

There are 57 complaints filed for the 2013 TESLA MODEL S

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 TESLA MODEL S. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 TESLA MODEL S, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Exterior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (6) Suspension (16) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (19) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Steering (4) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (4) Power Train (2) Structure (4) Unknown Or Other (4) Wheels (1)
Equipment (2) Seats (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

8/20/2016 - BEVERLEY HILLS, CA
HERE IS A FORUM POST IN WHICH AN OWNER OF A TESLA CERTIFIED PRE OWNED CAR REPORTS THAT HE HAD 4 SEIZED BRAKE CALIPER PISTONS. HTTPS://TESLAMOTORSCLUB.COM/TMC/THREADS/4-BENT-WHEELS.75765/ CUBLDR97, THURSDAY AT 6:53 PM I PURCHASED A CPO 2013 MODEL S85 IN FEB OF THIS YEAR. LOVE THE CAR, BUT THE CAR SEEMED TO HAVE A WHEEL OUT OF BALANCE OR SOMETHING THAT CAUSED THE CAR TO VIBRATE AND SHUDDER A BIT AT 80MPH... 19 INCH WHEELS SWITCHED OUT THE BRAND NEW TIRES FOR WINTER TIRES, SEEMED BETTER BUT STILL SHUDDERED. WINTER TIRES WERE ON FOR ABOUT 4000 MILES, HAD REALLY UNEVEN WEAR, THEN PUT THE REGULAR TIRES BACK ON AND HAD AN ALIGNMENT DONE, CAR STILL SHUDDERS, HAD WHEELS BALANCED AGAIN, NO REAL IMPROVEMENT. FINALLY GOT THE CAR LOOKED AT TODAY FOR THE SHUDDER, AND SQUEAKY SUSPENSION. HERE IS WHAT I GOT IN AN EMAIL... "THE TECHNICIANS ARE WORKING ON YOUR CAR. THE CAR IS NEED OF ALL 4 WHEELS. THEY ARE SIGNIFICANTLY BENT AND A COUPLE OF THEM IN MORE THAN ONE SPOT ON THE SAME WHEEL. THE TECHNICIAN ALSO NOTICED ALL 4 CALIPER PISTONS ARE SEIZED AND THE SWAY BAR LINK HAS EXCESSIVE PLAY." THIS SHOULD HAVE BEEN PICKED UP BY TESLA MECHANICS BEFORE THE CAR WAS SOLD THERE ARE REPORTS BY OWNERS ON OTHER THREADS REPORTING PREMATURE RUSTING OF BRAKE PARTS. EXAMPLE: HTTPS://TESLAMOTORSCLUB.COM/TMC/THREADS/OUCH-FIRST-HUGE-REPAIR-BILL.70396/ IT IS OF CONCERN THAT THESE FAULTS ARE NOT BEING DETECTED BY TESLA SERVICE AND THAT IN MOST JURISDICTIONS THE TESLA FLEET IS STILL TOO YOUNG TO REQUIRE ANNUAL SAFETY INSPECTIONS. PERHAPS THIS IS A FACTOR CAUSING THE VERY LARGE NUMBER OF SALVAGE TESLAS SHOWING UP THAT HAVE HEAVY FRONT END DAMAGE PLEASE INVESTIGATE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

8/19/2016 - BEVERLEY HILLS, CA
HERE IS AN AUCTION LISTING OF A TESLA THAT HAS CAUGHT FIRE. HTTP://SALVAGE-BID.COM/RESULT.PHP?VIN=5YJSA1CP8DFP12932 THE PJHOTOGRAPHS SHOW THAT THE LH TOP BALL-JOINT HAS PULLED OUT FROM THE STEERING KNUCKLE. THIS IS NOT THE RESULT OF THE FIRE BECAUSE THOSE PARTS ARE SOLID METAL AND NEITHER THE STEERING KNUCKLE NOR THE WISHBONE HAVE MELTED. THE SUSPENSION FAILURE IS CONSISTENT WITH THE PATTERN OF SIMILAR FAILURES THAT APPEAR TO HAVE BEEN THE CAUSE OF CRASHES. PLEASE INVESTIGATE THIS RECURRING FAILURE

View Details

SUSPENSION

8/15/2016 - BEVERLEY HILLS, CA
I HAVE SUPPLIED NHTSA WITH DETAILS OF MANY TESLAS WITH BROKEN SUSPENSIONS. THIS LATEST ONE THAT HAS JUST ARRIVED IN THE WRECKING YARD IS A PRIME EXAMPLE. HTTPS://M.IAAI.COM/VEHICLEDETENC.ASPX?AUCTIONID=21270046&ITEMID=22443933&ROWID=7&PAGESOURCE=VEHICLERESULTS PLEASE LOOK AT THE PHOTOGRAPHS AND SEE IF YOU AGREE THAT THERE IS A REAL PROBLEM WITH THE DESIGN AND MANUFACTURE OF THESE CARS. TWO OF THE WHEELS AND TIRES HAVE BEEN BADLY DAMAGED WHILST THE CAR WAS IN MOTION. IT APPEARS THAT THE AIR SUSPENSION HAS FAILED CAUSING ALL WHEELS TO JAM UP INTO THE WHEEL WELLS. OWNERS HAVE REPORTED THAT THE CAR DOES NOT HAVE LIMIT STOPS AND THIS IS WHY A SIMPLE AIR LEAK CAN RESULT IN DISASTER. HTTPS://FORUMS.TESLA.COM/EN_AU/FORUM/FORUMS/AIR-SUSPENSION-FAILURE-VERY-UNPLEASANT-RESULTS

View Details

SUSPENSION

8/10/2016 - BEVERLEY HILLS, CA
HERE IS A REPORT OF A TESLA CRASH AT AN INTERSECTION. HTTP://INSIDEEVS.COM/TESLA-MODEL-S-GETS-WRECKED-OWNER-SAYS-VEHICLE-SAVED-HIS-LIFE-IMAGES-OWNER-TESTIMONIAL/ THE REPORT BLAMES THE OTHER DRIVER AND CREDITS THE TESLA WITH SAVING THE OWNER FROM INJURY. THE CLAIM THAT THE HYUNDAI HIT THE TESLA AND THEN REBOUNDED AND HIT THE TESLA ONCE MORE IS QUITE UNUSUAL. THE PHOTOGRAPHS ARE HIGH RESOLUTION AND IF THEY ARE BLOWN UP AND EXAMINED CLOSE UP YOU CAN SEETHE THAT TIP OF THE STEERING KNUCKLE IS BROKEN OFF (CLOSE UP PHOTOGRAPH OF THE ACTUAL PART -WHICH WAS PURCHASED BY A REBUILDER- HERE: HTTPS://WWW.FLICKR.COM/PHOTOS/136377865@N05/22799472895/IN/ALBUM-72157658490111523/ I THINK IT IS POSSIBLE THAT SUSPENSION FAILURES ARE CAUSING MANY CRASHES. THE DATE OF THE INCIDENT IS AN ESTIMATE. THE OWNER SAYS THAT TESLA HAVE BEEN VERY HELPFUL. "?TESLA CALLED MY HOME SHORTLY AFTERWARDS SAYING THAT THEY RECEIVED MULTIPLE ALARMS FROM THE CAR AND WANTED TO MAKE SURE I WAS OK. THEY PICKED UP MY CAR FREE OF CHARGE AND TRANSPORTED IT 50 MILES TO THE NEAREST SERVICE CENTER. THEY ARE ALSO ARRANGING A LOANER MODEL S. CAN I ASK FOR MORE? PLEASE NOTE THAT I AM NOT THE OWNER JUST A CONCERNED CITIZEN PLEASE INCLUDE THIS CRASH IN ANY INQUIRY INTO THE TESLA SUSPENSION ISSUE.

View Details

STEERING

8/10/2016 - BEVERLEY HILLS, CA
HERE IS A REPORT OF A TESLA CRASH AT AN INTERSECTION. HTTP://INSIDEEVS.COM/TESLA-MODEL-S-GETS-WRECKED-OWNER-SAYS-VEHICLE-SAVED-HIS-LIFE-IMAGES-OWNER-TESTIMONIAL/ THE REPORT BLAMES THE OTHER DRIVER AND CREDITS THE TESLA WITH SAVING THE OWNER FROM INJURY. THE CLAIM THAT THE HYUNDAI HIT THE TESLA AND THEN REBOUNDED AND HIT THE TESLA ONCE MORE IS QUITE UNUSUAL. THE PHOTOGRAPHS ARE HIGH RESOLUTION AND IF THEY ARE BLOWN UP AND EXAMINED CLOSE UP YOU CAN SEETHE THAT TIP OF THE STEERING KNUCKLE IS BROKEN OFF (CLOSE UP PHOTOGRAPH OF THE ACTUAL PART -WHICH WAS PURCHASED BY A REBUILDER- HERE: HTTPS://WWW.FLICKR.COM/PHOTOS/136377865@N05/22799472895/IN/ALBUM-72157658490111523/ I THINK IT IS POSSIBLE THAT SUSPENSION FAILURES ARE CAUSING MANY CRASHES. THE DATE OF THE INCIDENT IS AN ESTIMATE. THE OWNER SAYS THAT TESLA HAVE BEEN VERY HELPFUL. "?TESLA CALLED MY HOME SHORTLY AFTERWARDS SAYING THAT THEY RECEIVED MULTIPLE ALARMS FROM THE CAR AND WANTED TO MAKE SURE I WAS OK. THEY PICKED UP MY CAR FREE OF CHARGE AND TRANSPORTED IT 50 MILES TO THE NEAREST SERVICE CENTER. THEY ARE ALSO ARRANGING A LOANER MODEL S. CAN I ASK FOR MORE? PLEASE NOTE THAT I AM NOT THE OWNER JUST A CONCERNED CITIZEN PLEASE INCLUDE THIS CRASH IN ANY INQUIRY INTO THE TESLA SUSPENSION ISSUE.

View Details

SEATS

8/10/2016 - BEVERLEY HILLS, CA
HERE IS A SALVAGE CAR THAT HAS HAD A SEVERE REAR END IMPACT. HTTP://WWW.COPART.COM/US/LOT/29148486?SEARCHID=342174653 IT APPEARS THAT THE DRIVERS SEAT-BACK HAS COLLAPSED. THIS IS NOT GOOD. "IT IS ESTIMATED THAT APPROXIMATELY 50,000 REAR IMPACT INJURIES OCCUR PER YEAR IN THE US ALONE. ELEVEN HUNDRED OF THESE ARE FATAL. ANOTHER 1,600 ARE LIFE THREATENING INJURIES SUCH AS BRAIN DAMAGE, BURNS AND PARALYSIS. THE PROBLEM OCCURS WHEN A VEHICLE IS STRUCK FROM THE REAR AT MODERATE SPEEDS, OFTEN BETWEEN 25 AND 32 KILOMETRES PER HOUR, CAUSING THE SEAT BACK TO COLLAPSE IN FRONT BUCKET AND SPLIT BACK SEATS. THE RESULT CREATES AN AVENUE WHICH MAY ALLOW OCCUPANTS TO BE EJECTED EVEN THOUGH THEY ARE USING SEAT BELT RESTRAINTS. WHEN A SEAT BACK COLLAPSES, CURRENT SEAT BELT SYSTEMS ARE RENDERED VIRTUALLY USELESS. THIS ALLOWS THE OCCUPANT TO SLIDE REARWARD UNDER THE SEAT BELT THEN THEY ARE EITHER EJECTED FROM THE VEHICLE OR FORCED HEAD FIRST INTO THE REAR SEAT BACK, EXPOSING THEM TO POSSIBLE HEAD OR SPINAL INJURY" CAN YOU PLEASE INVESTIGATE WHETHER THERE IS A WEAKNESS IN THE SEAT-BACK WHICH IS PLACING DRIVERS AT RISK OF DEATH OR INJURY.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/12/2016 - BEVERLEY HILLS, CA
HERE IS ANOTHER CRASHED TESLA IN THE JUNK-YARD. HTTP://WWW.COPART.COM/US/LOT/26133286/PHOTOS?SEARCHID=978872155 THE FRONT WHEEL HAS COME OFF AND IT HAS THE USUAL CHARACTERISTICS OF A GROOVE WORN IN THE TREAD AND THE TIRE PARTLY PEELED OFF THE RIM. THIS IS (IMHO) MOST LIKELY TO HAVE OCCURRED WHILE THE CAR WAS IN MOTION AND BEFORE THE MAIN IMPACT. IT IS LIKELY THAT THIS WAS THE CAUSE OF THE CRASH AND NOT MERELY THE RESULT OF THE CRASH. THERE SEEM TO BE FAR TOO MANY SIMILAR CASES OF SUSPENSION FAILURE. PLEASE INVESTIGATE. PLEASE NOT THAT I AM NOT THE OWNER, JUST A CONCERNED CITIZEN. THE REPORTS OF NUMBER OF PERSONS INJURED ARE ONLY AN ESTIMATE BASED ON THE SEVERITY OF THE CRASH.

View Details

SEATS

6/23/2016 - SARATOGA, CA
THE VENTILATION IN THE 3RD ROW OF 1ST GENERATION OF MODEL S IS AWFUL. KIDS DONT LIKE TO SIT SIMPLY BECAUSE IT'S TOO HOT AND UNACCEPTABLE EVEN WITH FULL A/C ON. TESLA ACKNOWLEDGED THIS VERBALLY BUT WONT DO ANYTHING TO FIX IT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/23/2016 - SARATOGA, CA
PANORAMIC ROOF HAS CRACK ON MY FIRST GENERATION 2013 TESLA MODEL S, WHICH TESLA CLAIMS TO BE DUE TO IMPACT WITH SOMETHING FROM OUTSIDE AND MY CAR IS SAFE IN GARAGE WITH NOTHING OVER IT WHEN THIS HAPPENED. I WONDERED HOW CAN THIS BE POSSIBLE ON A CAR WITH 5-STAR SAFETY RATING THAT ROOF CRACKS AND IT'S NOT COVERED PART OF THE VEHICLE WARRANTY PROGRAM.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/13/2016 - KANKAKEE, IL
COMPLETE BRAKE FAILURE. ERROR MESSAGES CAME UP ON MY SCREEN. I WAS DRIVING INSIDE OF MY COMPANIES PARKING LOT AT 5MPH. WHEN I TRIED TO DRIVE THE CAR TO THE DEALER TO GET CHECKED OUT THE CAR STOPPED IT SELF. IT REQUIRED TESLA TO SEND AN UPDATE TO MY CAR TO HAVE IT BE ABLE TO GET TO THE DEALER. THIS HAPPENED WITH 42K MILES ON THE CAR.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds