Auto Recalls for Consumers

TESLA MODEL S - 2013 TESLA MODEL S Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Tesla Motors, Inc.

There are 92 complaints filed for the 2013 TESLA MODEL S

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 TESLA MODEL S. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 TESLA MODEL S, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (3) Suspension (45) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electrical System (21) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Service Brakes (9) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (4) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Steering (8) Unknown Or Other (6) Wheels (2)
Equipment (2) Power Train (2) Structure (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

9/4/2017 - BEVERLY HILLS, CA
HERE IS ANOTHER TESLA IN THE JUNKYARD: HTTPS://WWW.COPART.COM/LOT/35967857/PHOTOS THE CAR IS COMPLETELY UNDAMAGED APART FROM THE LH REAR WHEEL WHICH IS SKEWED OVER AT A CRAZY ANGLE. NO AIR-BAGS HAVE DEPLOYED. THERE IS NO IMPACT DAMAGE. THE TIRE AND WHEEL ARE UNDAMAGED. THIS CAN NOT BE THE RESULT OF A COLLISION. IT IS SIMPLY A CASE OF WHOMPY WHEELS DUE TO WEAK AND UNSAFE SUSPENSION. PLEASE RECALL THESE CARS BEFORE MORE LIVES ARE LOST. CONCERNED CITIZEN ETC.

View Details

SUSPENSION

8/17/2017 - BEVERLY HILLS, CA
HERE IS A FRESH REPORT OF A TESLA SUSPENSION FAILURE: HTTPS://TESLAMOTORSCLUB.COM/TMC/THREADS/TESLA-UPPER-CONTROL-ARM-CRACKED.96329/#POST-2257474 SNIP:IT ALL TOOK PLACE YESTERDAY WHEN MY WIFE WERE DRIVING TO VISIT ONE OF HER COLLEAGUE. WHILE TURNING INTO A LEFT TURN AT A RELATIVELY LOW SPEED SHE HEARD A LOUD BANG. SHE DID NOT THINK OF MUCH BUT IMMEDIATELY SHE NOTICE THAT HER BRAKE WERE COMPLETELY GONE AND THE DASH HAD MALFUNCTION WARNING ALL OVER THE PLACE. SHE HAD TO STRUGGLE TO PULL THE CAR TO SAFETY BUT WAS HITTING MANY OF THE SAFETY BUMP ON THE GROUND. WITHIN MINUTES THE CAMPUS POLICE PULL UP AND ASK HER WHAT HAPPEN. SHE GOT OUT OF THE CAR NOTICE THE OUR 2013 MODEL S P85 WAS SITTING ON THE GROUND WITH ONE OF THE WHEEL COMPLETELY BEND. IT LOOKS LIKE AS IF THE AXLE HAD GAVE AWAY. *** TO ME IT IS OBVIOUS THAT THIS IS NOT AN WEAR AND TEAR. IT IS AN MANUFACTURER PART DEFECT. AND AFTER READING ON MANY FORM IT SEEM THAT THE SUSPENSION WAS A BIG PROBLEM ON THE EARLY PRODUCTION TESLA MODEL S. I HAVE BEEN IN MERCEDES FOR YEARS AND MY PREVIOUS S CLASS WERE AT 125,000 MILES. I HAVE NOT SEEN ANYTHING LIKE THIS. CURRENTLY THEY ARE STILL REFUSING TO COVER THE REPAIR. LUCKILY ENOUGH MY WIFE WAS DRIVING LOCALLY NOT ON THE FREEWAY. I CAN'T IMAGINE WHAT A CATASTROPHIC ACCIDENT IT WILL BE IF SHE WERE TRAVEL AT A HIGH SPEED. *** IF NHTSA CONTINUES TO IGNORE THESE FAILURES THERE WILL BE CONSEQUENCES. PLEASE NOTE: I AM NOT A TESLA OWNER. I AM CONTINUING TO FILE THESE REPORTS IN THE PUBLIC INTEREST BECAUSE YOU CAN SEE BY READING THE THREAD THAT OWNERS COME UNDER PRESSURE FROM TESLA SUPPORTERS TO KEEP THESE FAILURES A SECRET. THE PRO-TESLA FORUMS FREQUENTLY CENSOR, DELETE, OR BURY SUCH COMPLAINTS. I HAVE USED A DUMMY US ADDRESS TO COMPLY WITH WEBSITE REQUIREMENTS. MY GENUINE CONTACT DETAILS HAVE BEEN SUPPLIED TO NHTSA.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/31/2017 - BEVERLY HILLS, CA
HERE IS A TESLA IN THE JUNKYARD: HTTPS://WWW.IAAI.COM/VEHICLE?ITEMID=25626248&ROWNUMBER=65&LOADRECENT=TRUE&ISNEXT=TRUE IT HAS BEEN COMPLETELY BURNED OUT. THE AIRBAGS HAVE NOT BEEN DEPLOYED. THE FRONT LH WHEEL IS PUSHED BACK IN THE WHEEL WELL AND THAT COULD HAVE CAUSED THE FIRE BY MAKING THE COOLANT LEAK OUT. IF THE BATTERY PACK IS HOT FROM RECENT CHARGING OR FROM HARD DRIVING IT IS HIGHLY LIKELY TO CATCH FIRE IF COOLANT IS LOST. TESLAS SEEM TO CATCH FIRE MORE OFTEN THAN ANY OTHER ELECTRIC VEHICLE. PLEASE INVESTIGATE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/31/2017 - BEVERLY HILLS, CA
HERE IS A TESLA IN THE JUNKYARD: HTTPS://WWW.IAAI.COM/VEHICLE?ITEMID=25626248&ROWNUMBER=65&LOADRECENT=TRUE&ISNEXT=TRUE IT HAS BEEN COMPLETELY BURNED OUT. THE AIRBAGS HAVE NOT BEEN DEPLOYED. THE FRONT LH WHEEL IS PUSHED BACK IN THE WHEEL WELL AND THAT COULD HAVE CAUSED THE FIRE BY MAKING THE COOLANT LEAK OUT. IF THE BATTERY PACK IS HOT FROM RECENT CHARGING OR FROM HARD DRIVING IT IS HIGHLY LIKELY TO CATCH FIRE IF COOLANT IS LOST. TESLAS SEEM TO CATCH FIRE MORE OFTEN THAN ANY OTHER ELECTRIC VEHICLE. PLEASE INVESTIGATE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/30/2017 - BEVERLEY HILLS, CA
HERE IS A TESLA IN THE JUNKYARD: HTTPS://WWW.SALVAGERESELLER.COM/CARS-FOR-SALE/30827127-2013-TESLA-MODEL-S-JACKSONVILLE-FL IT HAS NOT BEEN IN A CRASH. THERE IS NO COLLISION DAMAGE AND THE AIR-BAGS HAVE NOT DEPLOYED. THE SUSPENSION HAS COLLAPSED ON BOTH SIDES OF THE CAR CAUSING THE WHEELS TO JAM UP IN THE WHEEL WELLS. THIS SAME FAILURE IS OCCURRING REPEATEDLY. IT SEEMS THAT THE DESIGN IS LACKING A BUMP STOP AND THAT A SIMPLE AIR LEAK IN THE SUSPENSION CAN RESULT IN CATASTROPHIC FAILURE. PLEASE INVESTIGATE.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

7/18/2017 - WATSONVILLE, CA
CPSC: I OWN A TESLA MODEL S MADE IN NOVEMBER 2013. ALL 4 DOOR HANDLES ARE BROKEN OR MALFUNCTIONING. AFTER THE FIRST ONE WENT OUT, I TOOK IT TO TESLA AND THEY SAID IT WAS OUT OF WARRANTY AND WOULD COST $1,200.00 AND REQUIRE REPLACEMENT. AFTER TALKING TO SEVERAL OTHER TESLA OWNERS OWNERS AND DOING SOME RESEARCH, I HAVE DISCOVERED THAT IT'S MORE UNCOMMON THAT THEY DON'T BREAK THAN THAT THEY DO. THE ACTUAL COST TO REPAIR THEM WOULD BE MUCH LOWER, BUT THEY DON'T OFFER THAT. THE REAR PASSENGER DOOR ON MY CAR IN FACT SPONTANEOUSLY OPENS ITSELF. THIS USUALLY OCCURS WHEN PRESSING THE BUTTON THAT ENGAGES THE PARK BREAK. IT SEEMS CLEAR TO ME THAT THE PRODUCT IS DEFECTIVE. UPDATED 07/19/2017

View Details

SUSPENSION

7/9/2017 - BEVERLY HILLS, CA
HERE IS A TESLA IN THE JUNKYARD. HTTPS://WWW.SALVAGERESELLER.COM/CARS-FOR-SALE/MAKE/TESLA/PAGE/25 IT HAS NOT BEEN IN A CRASH, NO AIRBAGS ARE DEPLOYED AND THERE IS NO IMPACT DAMAGE. THE FRONT LH SUSPENSION UPPER BALL JOINT HAS SIMPLY POPPED APART CAUSING THE WHEEL THE SKEW OVER AND GO TOTALLY WHOMPY. THIS SAME FAILURE HAS OCCURRED REPEATEDLY IN THESE TESLAS. THE BALL JOINTS SEEM TO BE UNDERSIZED FOR A CAR OF THIS WEIGHT AND PERFORMANCE. PLEASE TAKE IMMEDIATE ACTION TO PREVENT INNOCENT LIVES BEING LOST. CONCERNED CITIZEN. (DATE OF INCIDENT IS AN APPROXIMATION)

View Details

SUSPENSION

6/11/2017 - BEVERLEY HILLS, CA
HERE IS A TESLA FORUM DISCUSSION REGARDING BROKEN SUSPENSIONS IN THE MODEL S: HTTPS://TESLAMOTORSCLUB.COM/TMC/THREADS/MODEL-S-AXLE-ISSUES.92069/PAGE-2#POST-2142321 PROMPTED BY THIS DISCUSSION THE OWNER OF A 2013 MODEL S HAS INSPECTED HIS OWN SUSPENSION AND HAS POSTED A PHOTOGRAPH WHICH IS ATTACHED. THE LOWER SUSPENSION ARM BOLT HAS SNAPPED OFF. THE RIM OF THE WHEEL HAS BEEN GOUGED. THE SUSPENSION ARM IS RUBBING AGAINST THE TIRE AND FRAGMENTS OF RUBBER ARE SPREAD ALL OVER THE SUSPENSION. THIS IS OBVIOUSLY HIGHLY DANGEROUS. JUST ONE SUCH EVENT SHOULD BE JUSTIFICATION FOR AN IMMEDIATE RECALL. YOU HAVE DOZENS OF SIMILAR FAILURES ON RECORD. PLEASE INVESTIGATE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/7/2017 - BEVERLY HILLS, CA
IN 2014 A TESLA CAUGHT FIRE IN A TORONTO GARAGE. THIS CASE WAS INCLUDED IN THE NHTSA INVESTIGATION INTO THE ISSUE OF FIRES IN TESLAS. TESLA HAS CLAIMED THAT THE BATTERY OF THE CAR WAS NOT INVOLVED IN THE FIRE AND THAT THE FIRE WAS PROBABLY CAUSED BY FAULTY HOUSE WIRING. HTTP://WWW.AUTOFOCUS.CA/NEWS-EVENTS/NEWS/TESLA-INVESTIGATES-CAUSE-OF-TORONTO-GARAGE-FIRE SNIP: +IN THIS PARTICULAR CASE, WE DON+T YET KNOW THE PRECISE CAUSE, BUT HAVE DEFINITIVELY DETERMINED THAT IT DID NOT ORIGINATE IN THE BATTERY, THE CHARGING SYSTEM, THE ADAPTER OR THE ELECTRICAL RECEPTACLE, AS THESE COMPONENTS WERE UNTOUCHED BY THE FIRE,+ SAID A TESLA SPOKESPERSON. A VIDEO HAS NOW SHOWED UP IN WHICH THE PURCHASER OF THAT CAR SHOWS THE STATE OF THE INTERIOR. THERE IS NO DOUBT WHATSOEVER THAT THE BATTERY DID IGNITE: HTTPS://WWW.YOUTUBE.COM/WATCH?V=SRMQBRB_LMM IT APPEARS T HAT TESLA HAS BEEN TELLING LIES AND DELIBERATELY COVERING UP THE ISSUE OF FIRES. THERE HAVE BEEN MANY MORE FIRES SINCE THAT THAT ONE. I HAVE COMPILED A SUMMARY OF SOME SUSPICIOUS TESLA FIRES: HTTP://TESLABEARS.CLUB/T/GREAT-BALLS-OF-FIRE WHILST THAT COLLECTION DOES CONTAIN SOME HUMOROUS POSTS I CAN ASSURE YOU THAT I AM ENTIRELY SERIOUS ABOUT THIS SAFETY ISSUE. I REQUEST THAT YOU REOPEN THE FIRE INVESTIGATION.

View Details

SUSPENSION

4/28/2017 - BEVERLY HILLS, CA
HERE IS A TESLA IN THE SALVAGE YARD: HTTPS://WWW.IAAI.COM/VEHICLE?ITEMID=24305455&ROWNUMBER=18&LOADRECENT=TRUE THE FRONT RH WHEEL IS RAMMED BACK IN THE WELL AND HAS PUSHED HARD UP AGAINST THE HV CONTROLLER. THERE DOES NOT APPEAR TO BE ANY SIGNIFICANT DAMAGE FORWARD OF THE WHEEL THAT WOULD HAVE BEEN THE REASON FOR THE WHEEL BEING PUSHED BACK. THE AIRBAGS HAVE NOT DEPLOYED WHICH SUGGESTS THAT THERE WAS COLLISION. THESE REPEATED FAILURES SEEM TO BE CAUSED BY WEAK SUSPENSION COMPONENTS THAT ARE UNABLE TO SAFELY COPE WITH THE FORCES IN THIS HEAVY AND POWERFUL VEHICLE. PLEASE INVESTIGATE THE REASON FOR SO MANY SIMILAR WRECKS SHOWING UP IN THE JUNKYARDS. TESLA OWNERS ARE UNLIKE THE OWNERS OF MAINSTREAM CARS. THEY ARE VERY LIKELY TO HOLD SHARES IN TESLA AND ARE ALSO PASSIONATE SUPPORTERS OF THE TESLA "VISION". THEY ARE ALSO VERY DEPENDENT UPON MAINTAINING FRIENDLY RELATIONS WITH THE COMPANY SINCE IT HOLDS A MONOPOLY ON SERVICE AND SPARES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 12
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds