Auto Recalls for Consumers

TESLA MODEL S - 2013 TESLA MODEL S Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Tesla Motors, Inc.

There are 39 complaints filed for the 2013 TESLA MODEL S

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 TESLA MODEL S. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 TESLA MODEL S, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Exterior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (4) Suspension (3) Vehicle Speed Control (5)
Electrical System (19) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Steering (3) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (4) Power Train (2) Structure (4) Unknown Or Other (3) Wheels (1)
Equipment (2) Seats (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  ... 5
 
ComplaintDescription

SUSPENSION

4/28/2016 - CONNELLSVILLE, PA
MY FRONT WHEEL HUB ASSEMBLY CAME LOOSE FROM THE UPPER CONTROL ARM CAUSING A LOSE OF STEERING.

View Details

STEERING

4/28/2016 - CONNELLSVILLE, PA
MY FRONT WHEEL HUB ASSEMBLY CAME LOOSE FROM THE UPPER CONTROL ARM CAUSING A LOSE OF STEERING.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/19/2016 - SHINGLE SPRINGS, CA
ON 4/15 2016 MY WIFE WAS DRIVING THE CAR ON A ONE LANE ROAD AND THE "POWER PLANT" FAILED (PER THE TESLA SERVICE INVOICE) AND THE CAR IMMEDIATELY LOST ALL POWER. THE CARE WAS TOWED TO THE SERVICE CENTER IN ROCKLIN CALIFORNIA. THERE TEST RESULTS STATES "CONFIRMED REAR DRIVE UNIT WILL NEED REPLACEMENT DUE TO INTERNAL FAILURE" A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION FOR THE DRIVE WHEN IT HAPPENS AT SPEED IN TRAFFIC.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

4/13/2016 - AUBURN, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 TESLA MODEL S. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR WINDOWS IN THE VEHICLE BECAME INOPERABLE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE WINDOW REGULATOR FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED DUE TO THE PARTS NOT BEING SOLD. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 18,000.

View Details

ENGINE

3/2/2016 - PLEASANTON, CA
SLOWLY PULLING INTO A PARKING SPOT AT A STRIP MALL, I RELEASED MY FOOT OFF OF THE GAS, LIGHTLY TAPPED BRAKE AND THE CAR "UNINTENTIONALLY ACCELERATED" INTO A PALM TREE IN FRONT OF A BRICK PILLAR AT A STRIP MALL. I BACKED OUT TO ASSESS THE DAMAGE. HUSBAND WAS WITNESS IN DRIVER'S SEAT. THIS IS THE 2ND TIME THIS HAPPENED TO ME, (LAST YEAR AT A GROCERY STORE PARKING LOT) ALTHO THE FIRST TIME NO DAMAGE WAS DONE AND NO REPORTS WERE FILED. POOR DECISION IN HINDSIGHT! SINCE NO PERSON WAS INJURED, THE POLICE DEPT WOULD NOT TAKE A REPORT. INSURANCE WAS CALLED AS WELL AS TESLA. TESLA TOOK 6 DAYS TO PULL LOGS AND ASSURED US IT WAS BEING TAKEN SERIOUSLY AND ESCALATED TO MANAGEMENT. WE RECEIVED A CALL YESTERDAY FROM TOSHA AT TESLA, RELAYING THAT THEY DETERMINED THAT T WAS DRIVER ERROR AND LOG REPORTS SHOW THAT AS THE CAR WAS PULLING INTO THE SPOT, IT WAS ON A 3 ON A SCALE OF 100 AND THEN IT ACCELERATED 87% AND THE BRAKE WAS APPLIED. DOES NOT MAKE LOGICAL SENSE THAT THE CAR COULD ACCELERATE 87% IN A MATTER OF 2 FEET! I AM 150% SURE I DID NOT HIT THE ACCELERATOR. I AM 47, NOT A 90 YR OLD WOMAN WHO MAY HAVE PEDAL CONFUSION. THIS HAS NEVER HAPPENED WITH ANY OF OUR OTHER NON-TESLA CARS NOR IN MY 40+ YEARS OF DRIVING CARS OR MOTORCYCLES. THEIR RESPONSE IS SUSPECT AND WE ARE QUITE FRANKLY FEARFUL TO DRIVE THE CAR SAFELY. THIS STIP MALL HAS LOTS OF PEOPLE THAT WALK BY, ESP ELDERLY AND THE FACT THAT NO ONE OR THE PILLAR WAS HIT IS A BLESSING. AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. I WILL BE ASKING TESLA FOR A WRITTEN REPORT OF THEIR FINDINGS BUT NOT CONFIDENT IT WILL BE PROVIDED. WE PLAN TO SEEK COUNSEL AS WELL ESP SINCE THIS IS CONSIDERED AN "AT FAULT ACCIDENT".

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/2/2016 - PLEASANTON, CA
SLOWLY PULLING INTO A PARKING SPOT AT A STRIP MALL, I RELEASED MY FOOT OFF OF THE GAS, LIGHTLY TAPPED BRAKE AND THE CAR "UNINTENTIONALLY ACCELERATED" INTO A PALM TREE IN FRONT OF A BRICK PILLAR AT A STRIP MALL. I BACKED OUT TO ASSESS THE DAMAGE. HUSBAND WAS WITNESS IN DRIVER'S SEAT. THIS IS THE 2ND TIME THIS HAPPENED TO ME, (LAST YEAR AT A GROCERY STORE PARKING LOT) ALTHO THE FIRST TIME NO DAMAGE WAS DONE AND NO REPORTS WERE FILED. POOR DECISION IN HINDSIGHT! SINCE NO PERSON WAS INJURED, THE POLICE DEPT WOULD NOT TAKE A REPORT. INSURANCE WAS CALLED AS WELL AS TESLA. TESLA TOOK 6 DAYS TO PULL LOGS AND ASSURED US IT WAS BEING TAKEN SERIOUSLY AND ESCALATED TO MANAGEMENT. WE RECEIVED A CALL YESTERDAY FROM TOSHA AT TESLA, RELAYING THAT THEY DETERMINED THAT T WAS DRIVER ERROR AND LOG REPORTS SHOW THAT AS THE CAR WAS PULLING INTO THE SPOT, IT WAS ON A 3 ON A SCALE OF 100 AND THEN IT ACCELERATED 87% AND THE BRAKE WAS APPLIED. DOES NOT MAKE LOGICAL SENSE THAT THE CAR COULD ACCELERATE 87% IN A MATTER OF 2 FEET! I AM 150% SURE I DID NOT HIT THE ACCELERATOR. I AM 47, NOT A 90 YR OLD WOMAN WHO MAY HAVE PEDAL CONFUSION. THIS HAS NEVER HAPPENED WITH ANY OF OUR OTHER NON-TESLA CARS NOR IN MY 40+ YEARS OF DRIVING CARS OR MOTORCYCLES. THEIR RESPONSE IS SUSPECT AND WE ARE QUITE FRANKLY FEARFUL TO DRIVE THE CAR SAFELY. THIS STIP MALL HAS LOTS OF PEOPLE THAT WALK BY, ESP ELDERLY AND THE FACT THAT NO ONE OR THE PILLAR WAS HIT IS A BLESSING. AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. I WILL BE ASKING TESLA FOR A WRITTEN REPORT OF THEIR FINDINGS BUT NOT CONFIDENT IT WILL BE PROVIDED. WE PLAN TO SEEK COUNSEL AS WELL ESP SINCE THIS IS CONSIDERED AN "AT FAULT ACCIDENT".

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

3/2/2016 - PLEASANTON, CA
SLOWLY PULLING INTO A PARKING SPOT AT A STRIP MALL, I RELEASED MY FOOT OFF OF THE GAS, LIGHTLY TAPPED BRAKE AND THE CAR "UNINTENTIONALLY ACCELERATED" INTO A PALM TREE IN FRONT OF A BRICK PILLAR AT A STRIP MALL. I BACKED OUT TO ASSESS THE DAMAGE. HUSBAND WAS WITNESS IN DRIVER'S SEAT. THIS IS THE 2ND TIME THIS HAPPENED TO ME, (LAST YEAR AT A GROCERY STORE PARKING LOT) ALTHO THE FIRST TIME NO DAMAGE WAS DONE AND NO REPORTS WERE FILED. POOR DECISION IN HINDSIGHT! SINCE NO PERSON WAS INJURED, THE POLICE DEPT WOULD NOT TAKE A REPORT. INSURANCE WAS CALLED AS WELL AS TESLA. TESLA TOOK 6 DAYS TO PULL LOGS AND ASSURED US IT WAS BEING TAKEN SERIOUSLY AND ESCALATED TO MANAGEMENT. WE RECEIVED A CALL YESTERDAY FROM TOSHA AT TESLA, RELAYING THAT THEY DETERMINED THAT T WAS DRIVER ERROR AND LOG REPORTS SHOW THAT AS THE CAR WAS PULLING INTO THE SPOT, IT WAS ON A 3 ON A SCALE OF 100 AND THEN IT ACCELERATED 87% AND THE BRAKE WAS APPLIED. DOES NOT MAKE LOGICAL SENSE THAT THE CAR COULD ACCELERATE 87% IN A MATTER OF 2 FEET! I AM 150% SURE I DID NOT HIT THE ACCELERATOR. I AM 47, NOT A 90 YR OLD WOMAN WHO MAY HAVE PEDAL CONFUSION. THIS HAS NEVER HAPPENED WITH ANY OF OUR OTHER NON-TESLA CARS NOR IN MY 40+ YEARS OF DRIVING CARS OR MOTORCYCLES. THEIR RESPONSE IS SUSPECT AND WE ARE QUITE FRANKLY FEARFUL TO DRIVE THE CAR SAFELY. THIS STIP MALL HAS LOTS OF PEOPLE THAT WALK BY, ESP ELDERLY AND THE FACT THAT NO ONE OR THE PILLAR WAS HIT IS A BLESSING. AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. I WILL BE ASKING TESLA FOR A WRITTEN REPORT OF THEIR FINDINGS BUT NOT CONFIDENT IT WILL BE PROVIDED. WE PLAN TO SEEK COUNSEL AS WELL ESP SINCE THIS IS CONSIDERED AN "AT FAULT ACCIDENT".

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/24/2015 - THOUSAND OAKS, CA
THIS ACCIDENT REPORT IS A PREVIOUS ACCIDENT INVOLVING THE SAME 2013 TESLA MODEL S 60 AS REPORTED IN THE NHTSA REPORT FILED ON AUGUST 24, 2015. ON ON MAY 7, 2013 WHILE DRIVING MY 2013 MODEL S 60, I PULLED INTO A PARKING SPACE IN THOUSAND OAKS, CALIFORNIA MAKING A LEFT TURN INTO THE SPOT. AS I PULLED IN, I LET MY FOOT OFF OF THE ACCELERATOR,AND APPLIED THE BREAK. THE CAR LURCHED FORWARD, JUMPING A PARKING BLOCK, THEN OVER A CURB, AND FINALLY INTO A CEMENT LIGHT POST. THE AIRBAGS DEPLOYED AND I WAS STUNNED. I IMMEDIATELY CALLED TESLA WHO SENT A QUALIFIED TESLA TOW TRUCK. IT TOOK TWO HOURS TO GET THE CAR ONTO A FLAT-BED TRUCK BECAUSE THE CAR LOST ALL POWER AND SHUT DOWN. IT HAD TO BE DRAGGED OVER TWO PARKING BLOCKS, SUSTAINING EVEN MORE DAMAGE. TESLA SENT THE CAR DIRECTLY TO THE BODY SHOP. I INSISTED THAT THEY RUN A DIAGNOSTIC TEST BECAUSE I WAS (AND STILL AM) CERTAIN THAT THE CAR ACCELERATED ON ITS OWN. THE VAN NUYS SERVICE CENTER REP SAID THAT THE CAR HAD TO BE REPAIRED FIRST BEFORE ANY DIAGNOSTIC TEST COULD BE RUN. AFTER THREE WEEKS I RECEIVED A LETTER FROM TESLA. THE ENGINEERS REPORTED TO ME THAT THE ACCELERATOR WAS DEPRESSED TO 48%, SECONDS BEFORE THE ACCIDENT AND 98.4% AT THE TIME OF IMPACT. I STILL BELIEVE THAT THE CAR ACCELERATED BY ITSELF. IT IS MY SINCERE HOPE THAT BY REPORTING THIS ACCIDENT (AND THE SUBSEQUENT ACCIDENT ON JULY 16, 2015) FURTHER INVESTIGATIONS CAN BE CONDUCTED BEFORE PEOPLE ARE SERIOUSLY INJURED OR WORSE. MY INSURANCE COMPANY (FARMERS) DOES NOT INTEND TO INVESTIGATE. IT IS LESS EXPENSIVE FOR THEM TO PAY FOR A REPLACEMENT VALUE THAN TO DETERMINE THE TRUE CAUSE OF THIS INCIDENT. FORTUNATELY, YOU AND YOUR AGENCY ASPIRE TO A HIGHER PURPOSE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/24/2015 - THOUSAND OAKS, CA
ON JULY 16, 2015 WHILE DRIVING MY 2013 MODEL S 60, I MADE A RIGHT HAND TURN INTO A PARKING SPACE IN SIMI VALLEY, CALIFORNIA. AS I PULLED INTO THE SPACE, I TOOK MY FOOT OFF OF THE ACCELERATOR AND APPLIED THE BREAKS. INSTEAD OF STOPPING, THE CAR LURCHED FORWARD OVER A CURB AND A BERM, STOPPING WHEN IT HIT A FIRE HYDRANT, PROPELLING IT OFF OF ITS BOLTS, GENERATING A HUGE GEYSER OF WATER. BECAUSE OF THE TREMENDOUS AMOUNT OF WATER GUSHING OVER MY CAR, I HAD NO VISIBILITY AND ELECTED TO STAY IN THE CAR WHILE ATTEMPTING TO DIAL 911. MOMENTS LATER, A MAN WHO HAD BEEN SITTING IN THE CAR NEXT TO THE SPACE WHERE I WAS ATTEMPTING TO PARK, OPENED THE BACK DOOR TO ASK ABOUT MY CONDITION. I THEN EXITED THE CAR. I WAS NOT INJURED AND THANK GOODNESS THE CAR HAD NOT HIT ANOTHER PERSON OR ANOTHER CAR. IT TOOK A TOW TRUCK ABOUT 15 MINUTES TO ARRIVE AT THE SCENE. ALL THE WHILE THE TORRENTIAL WATER SURGED AROUND, UNDER AND OVER MY CAR AND NOW FLOODED THE INTERIOR. ACCORDING TO TESLA, EITHER THE CAR SHORTED-OUT CAUSING ALL OF THE WINDOWS TO ROLL DOWN OR THERE IS A SAFETY FEATURE THAT CAUSES THE WINDOWS TO ROLL DOWN IF THE CAR PERCEIVES IT IS UNDER WATER. THE MAN WHO BRAVED THE FLOOD OF WATER FROM THE FIRE HYDRANT TO CHECK ON ME SAW THE ENTIRE ACCIDENT AS HE WAS SITTING IN HIS CAR. HE SAID THAT MY BREAK LIGHTS WERE ON AS MY CAR WENT OVER THE BERM. I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT CAUSED THE CAR TO ACCELERATE BY ITSELF AND I AM CERTAIN THAT MY FOOT WAS ON THE BRAKE PEDAL. THE NEXT DAY, I HEARD FROM BOTH MY INSURANCE COMPANY AND THE BODY SHOP THAT TESLA WANTED THE CAR AT THEIR SERVICE CENTER IN VAN NUYS. SEVERAL WEEKS AGO, THE CLAIMS ADJUSTER CALLED TO SAY THAT DUE TO THE HEAVY WATER DAMAGE, THE CAR HAS BEEN ôTOTALEDö. I AM WRITING THIS COMPLAINT ON THE NHTSA'S WEBSITE BECAUSE I BELIEVE THERE IS SOMETHING TERRIBLY WRONG WITH THIS PARTICULAR CAR. ALSO, SEE NHTSA REPORT OF PREVIOUS 2013 ACCIDENT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/18/2015 - RANCHO SANTA FE, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 TESLA MODEL S. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY ACCELERATED WITHOUT WARNING TO ITS MAXIMUM ACCELERATION RATE AND CRASHED INTO FIVE PARKED VEHICLES. THE DRIVER SIDE OF THE VEHICLE WAS DAMAGED AND THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THERE WERE NO INJURIES. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED AWAY BY AAA. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED BUT WAS UNABLE TO ADVISE THE CONTACT OF THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 9,021.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds