Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA AVALON - 2013 TOYOTA AVALON Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 41 complaints filed for the 2013 TOYOTA AVALON

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 TOYOTA AVALON. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 TOYOTA AVALON, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (5) Structure (15) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electrical System (3) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (4) Tires (1) Visibility (7)
Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (1) Steering (1) Unknown Or Other (2) Visibility Wiper (5)
Exterior Lighting (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  ... 5
 
ComplaintDescription

SEATS

7/21/2014 - CHESTERFIELD, VA
THE DRIVER'S SIDE SEAT BACK PANEL FELL OFF.

View Details

TIRES

6/6/2014 - LAFAYETTE, LA
WE WERE DRIVING OUR 2013 TOYOTA AVALON ON I-10 IN HEAVY TRAFFIC. AFTER STOPPING FOR GAS, WE REENTERED THE HIGHWAY AND THE LOW TIRE PRESSURE LIGHT CAME ON. BEFORE WE COULD PULL OVER, THE RIGHT FRONT TIRE BLEW OUT; THE ENTIRE INTERIOR SIDEWALL SEPARATED. WE HAD NOT HIT ANY POTHOLE OR ANY OTHER OBJECT. THANKFULLY, MY HUSBAND WAS ABLE TO MAINTAIN CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE AND DIDN'T SWERVE INTO THE 18 WHEELER NEXT TO US. THE MECHANIC INFORMED US THAT THE BRIDGESTONE TIRES TOYOTA HAD PLACED ON THE VEHICLE HAD BEEN DOWNGRADED FROM A 40K MILE TIRE TO A 0 MILE TIRE. THE VEHICLE HAD ONLY 15,143 MILES ON IT AND WAS LESS THAN A YEAR OLD. A SECOND TIRE (LEFT REAR TIRE) WAS ALSO TOO DANGEROUS TO CONTINUE TO USE (AS IT LOOKED LIKE THE INTERIOR SIDEWALL ON THAT ONE WAS ALSO ABOUT TO SEPARATE) SO WE HAD TO REPLACE THAT TIRE AS WELL THAT DAY. WE WILL BE REPLACING THE OTHER TWO NOW AND WILL NEVER AGAIN BUY ANY BRIDGESTONE OR FIRESTONE PRODUCT. THE ABSOLUTELY SUBSTANDARD QUALITY OF THEIR PRODUCTS PLACED THE LIVES OF OUR ENTIRE FAMILY AT RISK. MY DAUGHTERS OFTEN DRIVE THIS VEHICLE AND ONE OF THEM WILL BE TAKING IT TO COLLEGE IN THE FALL. I WOULD HATE TO THINK OF WHAT WOULD HAVE HAPPENED IF ONE OF OUR KIDS HAD BEEN BEHIND THE WHEEL WHEN THIS TIRE BLEW OUT WITHOUT WARNING. IT IS INEXCUSABLE THAT BRIDGESTONE WOULD PUT OUT SUCH POOR QUALITY PRODUCTS, REPRESENTING THEM TO BE A 40K MILE TIRE, THEN DOWNGRADE THE MILEAGE ON THE TIRES WITHOUT NOTIFYING OWNERS AND GET AWAY WITH THAT TYPE OF ACTIVITY. WE ALWAYS MAINTAIN OUR VEHICLES AND THE TIRES WERE ROTATED AND VEHICLE ALIGNMENT CHECKED ALL PER NORMAL SCHEDULED MAINTENANCE. TIRES ARE BRIDGESTONE TURANZA EL 400, P225/45R18 91V M+S, DOT OBRR PM1 0313

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/5/2014 - CHANDLER, TX
I PURCHASED A TOYOTA AVOLON LIMITED CERTIFIED BY THE DEALERSHIP TO BE SAFE WITH NO RECALLS OR APPLICABLE SSCS. ON MAY 16 2014. I WAS NOT INFORMED OF A OUTSTANDING SAFETY RECALL INVOLVING THE AIR CONTIONING UNIT HOUSING MAY LEAK ONTO THE AIR BAG CONTROL MODULE. I DID NOT FIND THIS OUT UNTIL MAY 21 2014 5 DAYS AFTER I BOUGHT THE CAR THE DEALERSHIP KNEW ABOUT THIS PROBLEM SINCE OCT 2013, AND STILL SOLD THE CAR, HAD I NOT CHECK THE VIN # WITH THE SAFETY BOARD I WOULD HAVE NEVER KNOWN, THEY SAY THE PROBLEM HAS BEEN REPAIRED ON MAY 21 2014. NEVER THE LESS THE DEALERSHIP FALSIFIED THE CERIFICATION AND COMMITTED FRAUD BY SELLING ME THIS CAR.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/4/2014 - WASHINGTON, DC
NOTICED SOME TIME A GO THE HEADLINER IS SAGGING AT THE BACK WINDOW. WAS AT DEALER FOR SERVICE AND TOLD THEM ABOUT IT. WAS TOLD THEY WOULD ORDER A NEW ONE. AFTER OBSERVING COMPLAINTS ON TNE NHTSA SITE I SEE THIS IS AN ONGOING ISSUE. WE'LL SEE IF THEY ORDER IT, HOPEFULLY TOYOTA RECTIFIES THIS BEFORE PEOPLE REALLY GET A CASE OF THE A__. MORE THAN THAT THOUGH, I HOPE THIS DOESN'T BECOME A REAL SAFETY HAZARD.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/22/2014 - DACULA, GA
I RECEIVED A RECALL NOTICE ON MY VEHICLE ON FEBRUARY 6, 2014 AND EVERY TIME I HAVE CALLED THE DEALERSHIP TO HAVE MY HVAC ASSEMBLY REPAIRED THEY TELL ME THAT THE PARTS ARE ON BACKORDER. I FEEL LIKE THEY ARE PUTTING ME AND MY SAFETY AT RISK BY NOT PRODUCING A FIX FOR THIS RECALL.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

4/17/2014 - PALMETTO, FL
TRAVELING AT APPROXIMATELY 65MPH IN HEAVY TRAFFIC, SUDDEN BRAKING IN FRONT OF ME REQUIRED QUICK BRAKING. WHEN I PRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL, NO BRAKES ACTIVATED AND THE CAR ACTUALLY SEEMED TO INCREASE SPEED. I THEN APPLIED HEAVY PRESSURE ON THE PEDAL WHICH CAUSED THE TIRES TO SCREECH/SLIDE BEFORE THE ABS ACTIVATED. THE SUDDEN BRAKING INCIDENT CAUSED ME TO FEAR NOT ONLY BEING REAR ENDED, BUT ALSO, RAMMING THE VEHICLE IN FRONT OF ME. VERY UNSETTLING AND I NOW HAVE MUCH LESS CONFIDENCE IN TOYOTA'S TOP OF THE LINE SEDAN. I AM GOING TO LOCAL TOYOTA SERVICE DEPARTMENT TODAY AS THIS HAS HAPPENED AGAIN YESTERDAY, APRIL 16, 2014.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/19/2014 - TAYLORSVILLE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 TOYOTA AVALON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT ACCELERATE PROPERLY. THE FAILURE WAS RECURRING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 200,000.

View Details

STEERING

3/11/2014 - GREAT NECK, NY
2013 TOYOTA AVALON. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO STEERING WHEEL MALFUNCTION. THE CONSUMER STATED WHILE DRIVING, HE HEARD A STRANGE NOISE COMING FROM UNDER THE PASSENGER SEAT. AS HE MADE A TURN, THE STEERING WHEEL DID NOT RESPOND AND INSTEAD OF SNAPPING BACK INTO A 12 O'CLOCK POSITION, IT STAYED LOCKED INTO THE TURN. HE COULD NOT TURN THE WHEEL TO STRAIGHTEN OUT THE VEHICLE. AS HE LOOKED UP, HE SAW HE WAS ABOUT TO CRASH INTO AN ONCOMING VEHICLE. WITH NO TIME TO REACT, HE HIT THE ONCOMING VEHICLE, IN A FRONT END COLLISION. AT THE TIME OF THE CRASH, HE WAS ONLY GOING ABOUT 15 MPH. THE OTHER DRIVER SUSTAINED A NECK INJURY AND A BUMP ON THE TOP OF HIS HEAD, WHEN HE HIT THE ROOF ON IMPACT AND THE CONSUMER SUFFERED WHIPLASH. AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, THE CONSUMER HEARD THE SAME NOISE A BEFORE, RIGHT BEFORE THE ACCIDENT OCCURRED. TOYOTA CLAIMED THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE. THE CONSUMER HAS SINCE TRADED THE VEHICLE. UPDATED 04/07/14

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/6/2014 - LAS CRUCES, NM
BRAKES WERE APPLIED AUTOMATICALLY ALTHOUGH DRIVER WAS ACCELERATING. SUSPECT MALFUNCTION IN PRE-COLLISION SYSTEM (NO COLLISION WAS IMMINENT).

View Details

EQUIPMENT ADAPTIVE

3/6/2014 - LAS CRUCES, NM
BRAKES WERE APPLIED AUTOMATICALLY ALTHOUGH DRIVER WAS ACCELERATING. SUSPECT MALFUNCTION IN PRE-COLLISION SYSTEM (NO COLLISION WAS IMMINENT).

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  ... 5
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds