Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA AVALON - 2013 TOYOTA AVALON Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 45 complaints filed for the 2013 TOYOTA AVALON

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 TOYOTA AVALON. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 TOYOTA AVALON, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (5) Structure (15) Vehicle Speed Control (6)
Electrical System (5) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (4) Tires (1) Visibility (7)
Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (1) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (4) Visibility Wiper (7)
Exterior Lighting (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/8/2014 - BARTLETT, TN
PER THE TOYOTA SERVICE DEPARTMENT, THE DRAIN HOSE FOR THE AIR CONDITIONING CONDENSER IN MY 2013 TOYOTA AVALON MAY BECOME CLOGGED CAUSING WATER TO ACCUMULATE AT THE BOTTOM OF THE AIR CONDITIONING CONDENSER UNIT HOUSING. THE ACCUMULATED WATER MAY THEN LEAK THROUGH A SEAM IN THE HOUSING ONTO THE AIR BAG CONTROL MODULE POTENTIALLY RESULTING IN A SHORT CIRCUIT OF THE MODULE. THEY SAY TOYOTA WILL NOT FIX THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/1/2014 - HERKIMER, NY
WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE AT APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH ON A CLEAR SUNNY DAY THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS TURNED ON AND BEGAN TO OPERATE AT FULL SPEED AND WOULD NOT RESPOND AT ATTEMPTS TO STOP THEM. THE HORN STARTED GOING OFF WITH ALARM NOISES IN THE VEHICLE. THE SMELL OF AN ELECTRICAL ODOR AND WHITE SMOKE BEGAN TO ENTER THE CABIN THROUGH THE DASH. ATTEMPTS TO PULL THE VEHICLE OVER WERE PREVENTED AS THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED. THE BRAKES WOULD NOT RESPOND OR WORK DESPITE STEPPING ON THEM WITH BOTH FEET AND ATTEMPTING TO PUMP THEM. THE VEHICLE WAS STILL TRAVELING ON THE ROAD AND DOWN A HILL WITH NO ELECTRICAL, STEERING, OR POWER FUNCTION OF THE VEHICLE. AS THE VEHICLE SLOWED THE PASSENGER JUMPED OUT. FIRE BEGAN TO COME THROUGH THE DASH AND UPON THE DRIVER OPENING HIS DOOR FIRE ALSO CAME INTO THE CABIN FROM BENEATH THE VEHICLE. THE DRIVER JUMPED OUT JUST BEFORE THE VEHICLE CAREENED DOWN AN EMBANKMENT AND EXPLODED 3 TIMES.

View Details

STEERING

9/1/2014 - HERKIMER, NY
WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE AT APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH ON A CLEAR SUNNY DAY THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS TURNED ON AND BEGAN TO OPERATE AT FULL SPEED AND WOULD NOT RESPOND AT ATTEMPTS TO STOP THEM. THE HORN STARTED GOING OFF WITH ALARM NOISES IN THE VEHICLE. THE SMELL OF AN ELECTRICAL ODOR AND WHITE SMOKE BEGAN TO ENTER THE CABIN THROUGH THE DASH. ATTEMPTS TO PULL THE VEHICLE OVER WERE PREVENTED AS THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED. THE BRAKES WOULD NOT RESPOND OR WORK DESPITE STEPPING ON THEM WITH BOTH FEET AND ATTEMPTING TO PUMP THEM. THE VEHICLE WAS STILL TRAVELING ON THE ROAD AND DOWN A HILL WITH NO ELECTRICAL, STEERING, OR POWER FUNCTION OF THE VEHICLE. AS THE VEHICLE SLOWED THE PASSENGER JUMPED OUT. FIRE BEGAN TO COME THROUGH THE DASH AND UPON THE DRIVER OPENING HIS DOOR FIRE ALSO CAME INTO THE CABIN FROM BENEATH THE VEHICLE. THE DRIVER JUMPED OUT JUST BEFORE THE VEHICLE CAREENED DOWN AN EMBANKMENT AND EXPLODED 3 TIMES.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

9/1/2014 - HERKIMER, NY
WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE AT APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH ON A CLEAR SUNNY DAY THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS TURNED ON AND BEGAN TO OPERATE AT FULL SPEED AND WOULD NOT RESPOND AT ATTEMPTS TO STOP THEM. THE HORN STARTED GOING OFF WITH ALARM NOISES IN THE VEHICLE. THE SMELL OF AN ELECTRICAL ODOR AND WHITE SMOKE BEGAN TO ENTER THE CABIN THROUGH THE DASH. ATTEMPTS TO PULL THE VEHICLE OVER WERE PREVENTED AS THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED. THE BRAKES WOULD NOT RESPOND OR WORK DESPITE STEPPING ON THEM WITH BOTH FEET AND ATTEMPTING TO PUMP THEM. THE VEHICLE WAS STILL TRAVELING ON THE ROAD AND DOWN A HILL WITH NO ELECTRICAL, STEERING, OR POWER FUNCTION OF THE VEHICLE. AS THE VEHICLE SLOWED THE PASSENGER JUMPED OUT. FIRE BEGAN TO COME THROUGH THE DASH AND UPON THE DRIVER OPENING HIS DOOR FIRE ALSO CAME INTO THE CABIN FROM BENEATH THE VEHICLE. THE DRIVER JUMPED OUT JUST BEFORE THE VEHICLE CAREENED DOWN AN EMBANKMENT AND EXPLODED 3 TIMES.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/30/2014 - MARLBOROUGH, CT
RECEIVED RECALL NOTICE FROM TOYOTA, MARCH 2014 REGARDING INTERNAL SHORT CIRCUITING OF THE INTEGRATED CIRCUITS ON THE ELECTRONIC CONTROL MODULE. CONTACT TOYOTA SEPT 2014 REGARDING WHEN THIS WOULD BE FIXED. THE CUSTOMER SUPPORT REPRESENTATIVE DID NOT KNOW. I BELIEVE TOYOTA HAS FAILED TO REMEDY THIS DEFECT WITHIN A REASONABLE TIME, THAT BEING 7 MONTHS FROM MARCH TO SEPTEMBER. I AM FILLING A VEHICULAR SAFETY COMPLAINT THAT TOYOTA HAS NOT ADDRESSED THE RECALL IN A TIMELY MANNER WHICH COULD CAUSE INADVERTENT DEPLOYMENT OF THE AIR BAGS OR SEAT BELT PRETENSIONERS CAUSING INJURY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/30/2014 - MARLBOROUGH, CT
RECEIVED RECALL NOTICE FROM TOYOTA, MARCH 2014 REGARDING INTERNAL SHORT CIRCUITING OF THE INTEGRATED CIRCUITS ON THE ELECTRONIC CONTROL MODULE. CONTACT TOYOTA SEPT 2014 REGARDING WHEN THIS WOULD BE FIXED. THE CUSTOMER SUPPORT REPRESENTATIVE DID NOT KNOW. I BELIEVE TOYOTA HAS FAILED TO REMEDY THIS DEFECT WITHIN A REASONABLE TIME, THAT BEING 7 MONTHS FROM MARCH TO SEPTEMBER. I AM FILLING A VEHICULAR SAFETY COMPLAINT THAT TOYOTA HAS NOT ADDRESSED THE RECALL IN A TIMELY MANNER WHICH COULD CAUSE INADVERTENT DEPLOYMENT OF THE AIR BAGS OR SEAT BELT PRETENSIONERS CAUSING INJURY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/19/2014 - PUNTA GORDA, FL
I AM WRITING ABOUT MY 2013 TOYOTA AVALON, THERE IS ONE REALLY BAD DESIGN FLAW!!! THE ACCENT CHROME AROUND THE CONTROLS AND AIR CONDITIONER VENTS REFLECT THE SUNLIGHT INTO THE EYES OF THE DRIVER AND FRONT PASSENGER, AND IT IS BLINDING. THE BLINDING REFLECTION MAY CAUSE ACCIDENTS AND/OR DIRECT INJURY TO THE EYES SUCH AS RETINA, CORNEA DAMAGE AS WELL AS ANY OTHER EYE DAMAGE AS A RESULT OF BRIGHT SUNLIGHT. I HAVE TRIED THE DARKEST/PROTECTIVE EYEWEAR THAT I CAN PURCHASE BUT THE REFLECTION STILL COMES THROUGH BLINDING. I HAVE ALSO HAD THE DARKEST WINDOW TENT ALLOWED BY LAW INSTALLED (PURCHASED AT THE DEALERSHIP). I HAVE CONTACTED THE DEALERSHIP AND TOYOTA DIRECTLY BUT HAVE HAD NO OFFER FOR A SOLUTION. THIS IS A SIMPLE TO FIX WITH A REPLACEMENT PIECE OF DASH CHROME IN A NON-REFLECTIVE COLOR SUCH AS A FLAT BLACK, WOOD-GRAIN, OR BRUSHED METAL COLOR. A CUSTOM DESIGNED DASH AREA SHADE SHOULD ALSO OFFER A SOLUTION. I HAVE VERIFIED THAT THERE HAVE BEEN MANY OTHER COMPLAINTS THROUGH AN INTERNET SEARCH.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

8/19/2014 - PUNTA GORDA, FL
I AM WRITING ABOUT MY 2013 TOYOTA AVALON, THERE IS ONE REALLY BAD DESIGN FLAW!!! THE ACCENT CHROME AROUND THE CONTROLS AND AIR CONDITIONER VENTS REFLECT THE SUNLIGHT INTO THE EYES OF THE DRIVER AND FRONT PASSENGER, AND IT IS BLINDING. THE BLINDING REFLECTION MAY CAUSE ACCIDENTS AND/OR DIRECT INJURY TO THE EYES SUCH AS RETINA, CORNEA DAMAGE AS WELL AS ANY OTHER EYE DAMAGE AS A RESULT OF BRIGHT SUNLIGHT. I HAVE TRIED THE DARKEST/PROTECTIVE EYEWEAR THAT I CAN PURCHASE BUT THE REFLECTION STILL COMES THROUGH BLINDING. I HAVE ALSO HAD THE DARKEST WINDOW TENT ALLOWED BY LAW INSTALLED (PURCHASED AT THE DEALERSHIP). I HAVE CONTACTED THE DEALERSHIP AND TOYOTA DIRECTLY BUT HAVE HAD NO OFFER FOR A SOLUTION. THIS IS A SIMPLE TO FIX WITH A REPLACEMENT PIECE OF DASH CHROME IN A NON-REFLECTIVE COLOR SUCH AS A FLAT BLACK, WOOD-GRAIN, OR BRUSHED METAL COLOR. A CUSTOM DESIGNED DASH AREA SHADE SHOULD ALSO OFFER A SOLUTION. I HAVE VERIFIED THAT THERE HAVE BEEN MANY OTHER COMPLAINTS THROUGH AN INTERNET SEARCH.

View Details

SEATS

7/21/2014 - CHESTERFIELD, VA
THE DRIVER'S SIDE SEAT BACK PANEL FELL OFF.

View Details

TIRES

6/6/2014 - LAFAYETTE, LA
WE WERE DRIVING OUR 2013 TOYOTA AVALON ON I-10 IN HEAVY TRAFFIC. AFTER STOPPING FOR GAS, WE REENTERED THE HIGHWAY AND THE LOW TIRE PRESSURE LIGHT CAME ON. BEFORE WE COULD PULL OVER, THE RIGHT FRONT TIRE BLEW OUT; THE ENTIRE INTERIOR SIDEWALL SEPARATED. WE HAD NOT HIT ANY POTHOLE OR ANY OTHER OBJECT. THANKFULLY, MY HUSBAND WAS ABLE TO MAINTAIN CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE AND DIDN'T SWERVE INTO THE 18 WHEELER NEXT TO US. THE MECHANIC INFORMED US THAT THE BRIDGESTONE TIRES TOYOTA HAD PLACED ON THE VEHICLE HAD BEEN DOWNGRADED FROM A 40K MILE TIRE TO A 0 MILE TIRE. THE VEHICLE HAD ONLY 15,143 MILES ON IT AND WAS LESS THAN A YEAR OLD. A SECOND TIRE (LEFT REAR TIRE) WAS ALSO TOO DANGEROUS TO CONTINUE TO USE (AS IT LOOKED LIKE THE INTERIOR SIDEWALL ON THAT ONE WAS ALSO ABOUT TO SEPARATE) SO WE HAD TO REPLACE THAT TIRE AS WELL THAT DAY. WE WILL BE REPLACING THE OTHER TWO NOW AND WILL NEVER AGAIN BUY ANY BRIDGESTONE OR FIRESTONE PRODUCT. THE ABSOLUTELY SUBSTANDARD QUALITY OF THEIR PRODUCTS PLACED THE LIVES OF OUR ENTIRE FAMILY AT RISK. MY DAUGHTERS OFTEN DRIVE THIS VEHICLE AND ONE OF THEM WILL BE TAKING IT TO COLLEGE IN THE FALL. I WOULD HATE TO THINK OF WHAT WOULD HAVE HAPPENED IF ONE OF OUR KIDS HAD BEEN BEHIND THE WHEEL WHEN THIS TIRE BLEW OUT WITHOUT WARNING. IT IS INEXCUSABLE THAT BRIDGESTONE WOULD PUT OUT SUCH POOR QUALITY PRODUCTS, REPRESENTING THEM TO BE A 40K MILE TIRE, THEN DOWNGRADE THE MILEAGE ON THE TIRES WITHOUT NOTIFYING OWNERS AND GET AWAY WITH THAT TYPE OF ACTIVITY. WE ALWAYS MAINTAIN OUR VEHICLES AND THE TIRES WERE ROTATED AND VEHICLE ALIGNMENT CHECKED ALL PER NORMAL SCHEDULED MAINTENANCE. TIRES ARE BRIDGESTONE TURANZA EL 400, P225/45R18 91V M+S, DOT OBRR PM1 0313

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds