Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA AVALON - 2013 TOYOTA AVALON Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

There are 36 complaints filed for the 2013 TOYOTA AVALON

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 TOYOTA AVALON. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 TOYOTA AVALON, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (1) Steering (1) Visibility (7)
Electrical System (2) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (4) Structure (15) Visibility Wiper (5)
Equipment Adaptive (1) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (3) Vehicle Speed Control (5)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  ... 4
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

4/17/2014 - PALMETTO, FL
TRAVELING AT APPROXIMATELY 65MPH IN HEAVY TRAFFIC, SUDDEN BRAKING IN FRONT OF ME REQUIRED QUICK BRAKING. WHEN I PRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL, NO BRAKES ACTIVATED AND THE CAR ACTUALLY SEEMED TO INCREASE SPEED. I THEN APPLIED HEAVY PRESSURE ON THE PEDAL WHICH CAUSED THE TIRES TO SCREECH/SLIDE BEFORE THE ABS ACTIVATED. THE SUDDEN BRAKING INCIDENT CAUSED ME TO FEAR NOT ONLY BEING REAR ENDED, BUT ALSO, RAMMING THE VEHICLE IN FRONT OF ME. VERY UNSETTLING AND I NOW HAVE MUCH LESS CONFIDENCE IN TOYOTA'S TOP OF THE LINE SEDAN. I AM GOING TO LOCAL TOYOTA SERVICE DEPARTMENT TODAY AS THIS HAS HAPPENED AGAIN YESTERDAY, APRIL 16, 2014.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/19/2014 - TAYLORSVILLE, NC
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 TOYOTA AVALON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 65 MPH, THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT ACCELERATE PROPERLY. THE FAILURE WAS RECURRING. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 200,000.

View Details

STEERING

3/11/2014 - GREAT NECK, NY
2013 TOYOTA AVALON. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO STEERING WHEEL MALFUNCTION. THE CONSUMER STATED WHILE DRIVING, HE HEARD A STRANGE NOISE COMING FROM UNDER THE PASSENGER SEAT. AS HE MADE A TURN, THE STEERING WHEEL DID NOT RESPOND AND INSTEAD OF SNAPPING BACK INTO A 12 O'CLOCK POSITION, IT STAYED LOCKED INTO THE TURN. HE COULD NOT TURN THE WHEEL TO STRAIGHTEN OUT THE VEHICLE. AS HE LOOKED UP, HE SAW HE WAS ABOUT TO CRASH INTO AN ONCOMING VEHICLE. WITH NO TIME TO REACT, HE HIT THE ONCOMING VEHICLE, IN A FRONT END COLLISION. AT THE TIME OF THE CRASH, HE WAS ONLY GOING ABOUT 15 MPH. THE OTHER DRIVER SUSTAINED A NECK INJURY AND A BUMP ON THE TOP OF HIS HEAD, WHEN HE HIT THE ROOF ON IMPACT AND THE CONSUMER SUFFERED WHIPLASH. AFTER THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, THE CONSUMER HEARD THE SAME NOISE A BEFORE, RIGHT BEFORE THE ACCIDENT OCCURRED. TOYOTA CLAIMED THERE WAS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE VEHICLE. THE CONSUMER HAS SINCE TRADED THE VEHICLE. UPDATED 04/07/14

View Details

EQUIPMENT ADAPTIVE

3/6/2014 - LAS CRUCES, NM
BRAKES WERE APPLIED AUTOMATICALLY ALTHOUGH DRIVER WAS ACCELERATING. SUSPECT MALFUNCTION IN PRE-COLLISION SYSTEM (NO COLLISION WAS IMMINENT).

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/5/2014 - CALABAH, NC
TL - THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 TOYOTA AVALON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT HE RECEIVED A NOTICE FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V442000 (AIR BAGS , ELECTRICAL SYSTEM , EQUIPMENT) BUT WAS CONCERNED BECAUSE MANUFACTURER COULD NOT MAKE THE PARTS AVAILABLE WITHIN A REASONABLE TIME FRAME. THE DEALER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE HAS NOT EXPERIENCE THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/8/2014 - FORT LAUDERDALE, FL
I STOPPED AT TRAFFIC LIGHT AND HAD MY FOOT ON THE BRAKE BUT FELT THE CAR ACCELORATE AND START TO GO FORWARD. I PUT THE CAR IN NEUTRAL WITH MY FOOT STILL ON THE BRAKE. WHEN I TRIED TO RETURN TO DRIVE THE CAR JUMPED A FOOT.I STILL HAD MY FOOT PRESSED DOWN ON THE BRAKE. I WENT BACK TO NEUTRAL. BY THAT TIME THE LIGHT CHANGED AND I WENT TO DRIVE AND THE CAR WAS BACK TO NORMAL. THE CAR IS 7 MONTHS OLD AND THIS IS THE THIRD TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED.I WENT TO THE DEALER AND AFTER 4 HOURS I WAS TOLD THEY COULD FIND NOTHING WRONG WITH THE CAR.ONE OF THE MACHANICS SAID :IT'S FUNNYTOF ALL THE COMPLAINTS WE GET OF THIS NATURE WECANNOT FIND ANYTHING WRONG,EVEN OUR ENGINEERS CAN'T FIGURE IT OUT. THIS DISCONCERTING. WHILE NOT ADMITTING IT THEY SEEM AWARE OF THE PROBLEM MY WIFE IS AFRAID TO DRIVE THE CAR FOR GOOD REASON. CAN I PURSUE THE LEMON LAW?

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/30/2013 - ALTAMONTE SPRINGS, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 TOYOTA AVALON. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V442000 (AIR BAGS, ELECTRICAL SYSTEM , EQUIPMENT) AND THE PART NEEDED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO PROVIDE AN EXPECTED DATE FOR THE PART TO BECOME AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE PROBLEM. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/30/2013 - ALTAMONTE SPRINGS, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 TOYOTA AVALON. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 13V442000 (AIR BAGS, ELECTRICAL SYSTEM , EQUIPMENT) AND THE PART NEEDED TO REPAIR THE VEHICLE WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO PROVIDE AN EXPECTED DATE FOR THE PART TO BECOME AVAILABLE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE PROBLEM. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

12/26/2013 - PORTSMOUTH, NH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 TOYOTA AVALON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE REAR WINDOW WAS DISTORTED, CAUSING HIS VISIBILITY TO BE MINIMIZED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS COMPLIANT WITH STANDARDS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURE AND CURRENT MILEAGE WAS 7,000. UPDATED 03/05/14

View Details

STRUCTURE

11/21/2013 - SAINT JOHNS, FL
SUNLIGHT IS REFLECTED INTO THE EYES OF THE DRIVER AND FRONT SEAT PASSENGER FROM THE INTERIOR TRIM. THIS BRIGHT REFLECTION NOT ONLY MAKES IT DIFFICULT TO SEE AT TIMES, THE SUNLIGHT CAN CAUSE DAMAGE TO THE RETINA AND CORNEA. THE LIGHT COMES FROM MANY DIFFERENT PARTS OF THE CAR SO IT IS IMPOSSIBLE TO CONSTANTLY SHIELD WITH OUR HANDS WHILE DRIVING. WE KEEP THE SUNROOF CLOSED. IT DOES NOT MATTER IF THE SUN IS DIRECTLY OVERHEAD OR AT AN ANGLE BECAUSE THERE ARE SO MANY AREAS THAT REFLECT THE LIGHT. WE NOTICED THIS PROBLEM WITHIN THE FIRST WEEK OF PURCHASE. WE CONTACTED THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER. WHILE THEY INITIALLY SEEMED WILLING TO HELP, IT IS OBVIOUS FROM THEIR SILENCE, THAT THEY HOPE THE PROBLEM WILL GO AWAY. THERE ARE NUMEROUS CONDITIONS SUCH AS MACULAR DEGENERATION, CATARACTS, AND PTERYGIUM, CAUSED BY EXPOSURE TO BRIGHT SUNLIGHT IN THE EYES AND ARE CONCERNED ABOUT THE DAMAGE THAT COULD RESULT FROM THIS CONSTANT EXPOSURE. IT WOULD BE GREAT IF THE MANUFACTURER WOULD CORRECT THE DESIGN FLAW IN OUR CAR.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  ... 4
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds