Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA AVALON - 2013 TOYOTA AVALON Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 52 complaints filed for the 2013 TOYOTA AVALON

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 TOYOTA AVALON. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 TOYOTA AVALON, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (5) Structure (16) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Electrical System (5) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (4) Tires (2) Visibility (8)
Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Steering (2) Unknown Or Other (5) Visibility Wiper (7)
Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/4/2015 - ATHENS, TN
I'M NOT SURE IF THE FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM IS AT FAULT; HOWEVER, FOLLOWING IS THE PROBLEM I HAVE EXPERIENCED NUMEROUS TIMES. WHEN I TELL TOYOTA SERVICE PEOPLE ABOUT IT, THEY DON'T SEEM CONCERNED. WHEN MAKING A SLOW TURN (USUALLY LEFT TURN), IT APPEARS THAT I AM ABOUT TO STALL - SEEMS LIKE THERE IS NOT ENOUGH GAS GETTING TO SYSTEM - OR PERHAPS IT IS A TRANSMISSION PROBLEM (GEARED DOWN TOO LOW). I AM A WOMAN, SO I DON'T KNOW WHAT THE PROBLEM IS. HOWEVER, I HAVE BEEN SCARED NUMEROUS TIMES. WHEN THIS HAPPENS, I PRESS THE ACCELERATOR HARDER AND I AM ALWAYS AFRAID THE CAR IS GOING TO LURCH FORWARD TOO FAST.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/4/2015 - ATHENS, TN
I'M NOT SURE IF THE FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM IS AT FAULT; HOWEVER, FOLLOWING IS THE PROBLEM I HAVE EXPERIENCED NUMEROUS TIMES. WHEN I TELL TOYOTA SERVICE PEOPLE ABOUT IT, THEY DON'T SEEM CONCERNED. WHEN MAKING A SLOW TURN (USUALLY LEFT TURN), IT APPEARS THAT I AM ABOUT TO STALL - SEEMS LIKE THERE IS NOT ENOUGH GAS GETTING TO SYSTEM - OR PERHAPS IT IS A TRANSMISSION PROBLEM (GEARED DOWN TOO LOW). I AM A WOMAN, SO I DON'T KNOW WHAT THE PROBLEM IS. HOWEVER, I HAVE BEEN SCARED NUMEROUS TIMES. WHEN THIS HAPPENS, I PRESS THE ACCELERATOR HARDER AND I AM ALWAYS AFRAID THE CAR IS GOING TO LURCH FORWARD TOO FAST.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

4/22/2015 - BROOKLYN, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 TOYOTA AVALON. WHILE REVERSING INTO A PARKING SPACE, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED INDEPENDENTLY AND CRASHED INTO THE VEHICLE BEHIND IT. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED AND IT WAS UNKNOWN IF ANY INJURIES WERE SUSTAINED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT BODY SHOP. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 14,400.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/22/2015 - MERIDIAN, MS
THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A LOCAL DEALERSHIP FOR THE REQUIRED 10,000 MILE WARRANTY MAINTENANCE. AT THIS TIME, I SHOWED THE DEALERSHIP WHERE WATER MARKS HAD APPEARED IN ALL FOUR UPPER CORNERS OF THE INSIDE CLOTH LINERS BESIDE THE FRONT AND REAR WINDSHIELDS. I WAS TOLD THE SUNROOF HAD TUBES THAT OCCASIONALLY CLOGGED AND THEY WOULD CLEAR THE TUBES AND CLEAN THE INSIDE CLOTH. OVER THE PAST FEW MONTHS OUR AREA EXPERIENCED A TREMENDOUS AMOUNT OF RAIN. WHEN THE CAR WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR THE 15,000 MILE WARRANTY MAINTENANCE, I SHOWED THE DEALERSHIP WHERE WATER MARKS APPEARED TO HAVE WORSENED IN THE SAME AREAS. THE DEALERSHIP EXPLAINED THAT THERE WERE NO CLOGS IN THE SUNROOF TUBING AND THEY HAD ATTEMPTED TO RECREATE THE WATER LEAKAGE BY RUNNING WATER OVER THE CAR FOR ONE HOUR. THEY COULD NOT EXPLAIN WHY THE WATER MARKS KEPT REAPPEARING AND DID NOT KNOW IF ANYONE CALLED TOYOTA. A REPRESENTATIVE FROM THE DEALERSHIP EXPLAINED THAT THEY COULD NOT DO ANYTHING ELSE TO CORRECT THE ISSUE BECAUSE THERE WERE NO "RECALLS" PERTAINING TO THIS ISSUE. I PERFORMED A GOOGLE SEARCH AND DISCOVERED A BLOG WHERE MANY PEOPLE HAVE EXPERIENCED THIS PROBLEM AND ONE PERSON EVEN HAD TO HAVE THE HEADLINERS AND CLOTH REPLACED DUE TO WATER DAMAGE. THE REPRESENTATIVE SAID THERE WAS NOTHING ELSE THEY COULD DO BUT I COULD REPORT THIS TO THE NHTSA IF I FELT THE NEED TO SEEK REPAIRS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/13/2015 - LIVE OAK , TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 TOYOTA AVALON. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30-35 MPH, THE CONTACT PASSED OUT BEHIND THE WHEEL. THE VEHICLE VEERED OFF INTO A DITCH AND CRASHED INTO A CONCRETE POLE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED A FRACTURED BACK THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO A COLLISION CENTER BUT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DETERMINED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 1,000. UPDATED 03/24/15

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/8/2014 - MONTICELLO, MN
I PURCHASED THE USED VEHICLE FROM CORWIN TOYOTA IN FARGO, ND. AFTER PURCHASING THE VEHICLE I RETURNED THREE TIMES FOR REPAIRS. WHEN I BROUGHT THE VEHICLE IN FOR SERVICE THE THIRD TIME IN SIX WEEKS I FOUND OUT THAT TWO RECALLS WOULD ALSO BE TAKEN CARE OF. I WENT ON LINE TO FIND OUT WHAT THE RECALLS WERE FOR. ONE OF THEM WAS NHTSA RECALL ID 13V442. THIS RECALL IS ABOUT A DRAIN HOSE CLOGGING THAT COULD ULTIMATELY CAUSE THE AIR BAGS TO ACTIVATE DUE TO THE MALFUNCTION OR TO POSSIBLY NOT ACTIVATE IN AN ACCIDENT. THE RESULT COULD BE SERIOUS INJURIES OR DEATH TO THE OCCUPANTS OF THE CAR. THIS RECALL WAS INITIATED IN THE SUMMER OF 2013. THE DEALER(CORWIN) TOOK THIS CAR IN ON TRADE IN OCTOBER OF 2014 AND THEN SOLD IT TO ME. WHY WOULD THEY SELL A CAR WITH A KNOWN RECALL WITHOUT FIXING IT. ESPECIALLY ONE THAT COULD CAUSE SERIOUS INJURY/DEATH? WHY IS THIS ALLOWED?

View Details

TIRES: PRESSURE MONITORING AND REGULATING SYSTEMS

12/3/2014 - NEWPORT RICHEY, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 TOYOTA AVALON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE TIRE PRESSURE SENSOR LIGHT WAS CONTINUOUSLY ILLUMINATED AFTER THE TIRES WERE INFLATED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE TIRES WERE ROTATED BUT THE PROBLEM PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 18,500.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/9/2014 - ATLANTIC HIGHLANDS, NJ
THE MAIN ISSUE WITH THIS VEHICLE IS THE HEADLINER COMING DOWN, IT HAS BEEN TO 2 DIFFERENT TOYOTA DEALERS FOR REPAIR, AND TO DATE IT IS STILL NOT CORRECTED. I WAS TOLD BY THE LAST DEALERSHIP, THAT THEY CAN NOT FIX IT ANYMORE, IT IS TAKING AWAY FROM THERE MAN HOURS. THIS ISSUE HAS BEEN FILED IN A COURT SETTING, AWAITING A COURT DATE. THIS ISSUE IS GOING TO CAUSE HARM TO SOMEONE SOON, AND TOYOTA IS AWARE OF THIS ISSUE

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/8/2014 - BARTLETT, TN
PER THE TOYOTA SERVICE DEPARTMENT, THE DRAIN HOSE FOR THE AIR CONDITIONING CONDENSER IN MY 2013 TOYOTA AVALON MAY BECOME CLOGGED CAUSING WATER TO ACCUMULATE AT THE BOTTOM OF THE AIR CONDITIONING CONDENSER UNIT HOUSING. THE ACCUMULATED WATER MAY THEN LEAK THROUGH A SEAM IN THE HOUSING ONTO THE AIR BAG CONTROL MODULE POTENTIALLY RESULTING IN A SHORT CIRCUIT OF THE MODULE. THEY SAY TOYOTA WILL NOT FIX THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

STEERING

9/1/2014 - HERKIMER, NY
WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE AT APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH ON A CLEAR SUNNY DAY THE WINDSHIELD WIPERS TURNED ON AND BEGAN TO OPERATE AT FULL SPEED AND WOULD NOT RESPOND AT ATTEMPTS TO STOP THEM. THE HORN STARTED GOING OFF WITH ALARM NOISES IN THE VEHICLE. THE SMELL OF AN ELECTRICAL ODOR AND WHITE SMOKE BEGAN TO ENTER THE CABIN THROUGH THE DASH. ATTEMPTS TO PULL THE VEHICLE OVER WERE PREVENTED AS THE STEERING WHEEL LOCKED. THE BRAKES WOULD NOT RESPOND OR WORK DESPITE STEPPING ON THEM WITH BOTH FEET AND ATTEMPTING TO PUMP THEM. THE VEHICLE WAS STILL TRAVELING ON THE ROAD AND DOWN A HILL WITH NO ELECTRICAL, STEERING, OR POWER FUNCTION OF THE VEHICLE. AS THE VEHICLE SLOWED THE PASSENGER JUMPED OUT. FIRE BEGAN TO COME THROUGH THE DASH AND UPON THE DRIVER OPENING HIS DOOR FIRE ALSO CAME INTO THE CABIN FROM BENEATH THE VEHICLE. THE DRIVER JUMPED OUT JUST BEFORE THE VEHICLE CAREENED DOWN AN EMBANKMENT AND EXPLODED 3 TIMES.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds