Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA AVALON - 2013 TOYOTA AVALON Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 77 complaints filed for the 2013 TOYOTA AVALON

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 TOYOTA AVALON. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 TOYOTA AVALON, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Equipment Adaptive (1) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (5) Unknown Or Other (8)
Electrical System (8) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (1) Steering (2) Vehicle Speed Control (13)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Forward Collision Avoidance (6) Seat Belts (1) Structure (21) Visibility (9)
Engine (2) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seats (5) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/20/2016 - CHECOTAH, OK
WHILE DRIVING WESTBOUND ON THE MUSKOGEE TURNPIKE (HWY 351), AT MILE MARKER 20, THE CRUISE CONTROL SHUT OFF, VEHICLE STABILITY ICON CAME ON, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT BEGAN FLASHING. THE CAR ALSO LOST POWER AND RAN ROUGH. PULLED OVER, SHUT OFF VEHICLE. AFTER RESTARTING, THE CAR RAN FINE. THIS HAS HAPPENED TWICE, OCTOBER 3RD AND OCTOBER 17TH IN 2016. THIS VEHICLE IS EQUIPPED WITH A KEYLESS REMOTE. ADDITIONALLY, THIS HAPPENED NEXT TO A CELL PHONE TOWER ON THE NORTH SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY. IT DOES NOT OCCUR WHILE TRAVELING THE OPPOSITE DIRECTION ON THE HIGHWAY.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

10/20/2016 - CHECOTAH, OK
WHILE DRIVING WESTBOUND ON THE MUSKOGEE TURNPIKE (HWY 351), AT MILE MARKER 20, THE CRUISE CONTROL SHUT OFF, VEHICLE STABILITY ICON CAME ON, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT BEGAN FLASHING. THE CAR ALSO LOST POWER AND RAN ROUGH. PULLED OVER, SHUT OFF VEHICLE. AFTER RESTARTING, THE CAR RAN FINE. THIS HAS HAPPENED TWICE, OCTOBER 3RD AND OCTOBER 17TH IN 2016. THIS VEHICLE IS EQUIPPED WITH A KEYLESS REMOTE. ADDITIONALLY, THIS HAPPENED NEXT TO A CELL PHONE TOWER ON THE NORTH SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY. IT DOES NOT OCCUR WHILE TRAVELING THE OPPOSITE DIRECTION ON THE HIGHWAY.

View Details

ENGINE

10/20/2016 - CHECOTAH, OK
WHILE DRIVING WESTBOUND ON THE MUSKOGEE TURNPIKE (HWY 351), AT MILE MARKER 20, THE CRUISE CONTROL SHUT OFF, VEHICLE STABILITY ICON CAME ON, CHECK ENGINE LIGHT BEGAN FLASHING. THE CAR ALSO LOST POWER AND RAN ROUGH. PULLED OVER, SHUT OFF VEHICLE. AFTER RESTARTING, THE CAR RAN FINE. THIS HAS HAPPENED TWICE, OCTOBER 3RD AND OCTOBER 17TH IN 2016. THIS VEHICLE IS EQUIPPED WITH A KEYLESS REMOTE. ADDITIONALLY, THIS HAPPENED NEXT TO A CELL PHONE TOWER ON THE NORTH SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY. IT DOES NOT OCCUR WHILE TRAVELING THE OPPOSITE DIRECTION ON THE HIGHWAY.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/12/2016 - AMES, IA
DYNAMIC CRUISE CONTROL TURN ITSELF OFF OR APPLIES BRAKES THIS HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES ON TANGENT SECTIONS WITH NO VEHICLES IN FRONT - HIGHWAY SPEED (70 MPH). THERE IS A SERIES OF BEEPS AND THE CAR SLOWS GRADUALLY OR ABRUPTLY. DASHBOARD INDICATOR SHOWS THERE IS A VEHICLE IN FRONT BUT NO VEHICLE IS PRESENT - FALSE POSITIVE. TOOK VEHICLE TO TOYOTA DEALER AND HE STATED THAT WHEN PCS WAS DISABLED IT WOULD REMEDY THE PROBLEM. IT DID NOT. RETURNED TO TOYOTA DEALER - HE CHECKED WITH TOYOTA CORPORATE AND THEY HAVE NO RECORD OF ANY PROBLEMS LIKE THIS. PROBLEM NORMALLY OCCURS ON LONGER TRIPS AFTER DRIVING 2-3 HOURS. DYNAMIC CRUISE CANNOT BE RESET FOR AN HOUR OR TWO. YOU MUST EITHER DRIVE MANUALLY OR USE NORMAL CRUISE CONTROL MODE FOR AN HOUR OR TWO AND THEN YOU CAN RETURN TO DYNAMIC CRUISE CONTROL. ERROR HAS NOW OCCURED AT LEAST 6 TIMES SINCE PCS HAS BEEN DISABLED AND 3X BEFORE IT WAS DISABLED. DATE BELOW IS THE LATEST OCCURENCE.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/9/2016 - MCHENRY, IL
IN 2013 I BOUGHT A TOYOTA AVALON LIMITED SEDAN. BEFORE THE FACTORY WARRANTY WAS EXPIRED, A CLIP HOLDING THE DRIVERS FLOOR MAT IN PLACE BROKE. I TOOK IT INTO THE DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD IT WAS NOT COVERED AND THE REASON IT WAS NOT IS BECAUSE 'I AM GETTING IN AND OUT OF MY CAR THE WRONG WAY' THEY PUT THE CLIP BACK IN BUT DID NOT REPAIR THE UNDERLYING CARPET ISSUE. I ASKED FOR THEM TO SHOW ME A WRITTEN MANUAL OR TO AT LEAST DEMONSTRATE WHAT IT IS I WAS DOING WRONG AND I ALSO ASKED IF THEY WERE WATCHING ME GET IN AND OUT OF MY CAR FOR THEM TO HAVE THIS INFORMATION. THEY WERE UNABLE TO ANSWER ANY OF THESE QUESTIONS BUT STILL REFUSED TO FIX THE ISSUE. FLASH FORWARD AND I GET A PRE-COLLISION SYSTEM RECALL. TOYOTA HAS NO SOLUTION SO THEY TURN OFF THE ENTIRE SYSTEM. NOW I HAVE NO COLLISION MITIGATION WHEN THE FLOOR MAT CLIP COMES LOSE AGAIN. THE MAT IS UNDER THE BREAK PEDAL AND I CANNOT FULLY DEPRESS THE BRAKE PEDAL. THE PRE-COLLISION SYSTEM IS TURNED OFF SO NO HELP THERE. I MANAGED TO REACH DOWN AND PULL THE FLOOR MAT OUT FROM UNDER THE BRAKE PEDAL AND STOP INCHED AWAY FROM ANOTHER VEHICLE. I FEEL THAT TOYOTA HAS NEEDLESSLY PUT MY WELFARE AT RISK AND TRIED TO BLAME ME, AND THE WAY I INGRESS AND EGRESS THE VEHICLE, ADDITIONALLY IT HAS BEEN NEARLY A YEAR SINCE THEY TURNED OFF MY PRE-COLLISION SYSTEM. I PAID $4000 IN UPGRADE FEES TO GET THAT SYSTEM.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/5/2016 - DESTIN, FL
PCS RECALL NOV 2015. VEHICLE TAKEN IN AND TEMPORARY BYPASS MADE (5 FEB 2016). RECEIVED WORD IN JUNE THAT A FIX WAS AVAILABLE. WAS TOLD PARTS NOT AVAILABLE. IT IS AUG AND PARTS STILL NOT AVAILABLE. SINCE THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE I WAS TOLD NOT TO TAKE LONG TRIPS UNTIL IT IS FIXED. UNACCEPTABLE

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/6/2016 - HAVERTOWN, PA
DRIVING FROM PA TO NC.ON RT13 IN SEAFORD, DE, DRIVING SPEED LIMIT HEARD LOUD BANG. SUNROOF EXPLODED & CRACKED FROM INSIDE.DROVE TO 1ST AUTO GARAGE, THEY SAID WE WERE 2ND TOYOTA THIS WEEK WITH CRACKED SUNROOF. THEY GAVE US A ROLL OF DUCT TAPE, TO GET US THROUGH THE MONSOON. TOYOTA CORP RECOMMENDED GOING TO DEALER FOR EVALUATION AS TO HOW THIS HAPPENED. HAVE TO WAIT 2 DAYS FOR APPOINTMENT. MY OLD AVALON HAS MADE MANY LONG TRIPS WITHOUT ANY PROBLEM. THIS NEW CAR HAS DEFINITELY NOT BEEN MADE WELL. I AM VERY DISAPPOINTED.

View Details

STRUCTURE

6/24/2016 - MCHENRY, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 TOYOTA AVALON. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 15 MPH AND ATTEMPTING TO SLOW DOWN, THE FLOORMAT BECAME STUCK UNDER THE BRAKE PEDAL AND PREVENTED IT FROM BEING DEPRESSED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED FOR THE SAME FAILURE IN 2014 AND THE REMEDY WAS TO ADD TWO CLIPS TO THE FLOORMAT. ONE OF THE CLIPS WAS FRACTURED DURING THE RECENT FAILURE. THE DEALER STATED THAT THERE WAS NO RECALL FOR THE FAILURE AND THE CARPET SHOULD BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER REFUSED TO REPLACE THE CARPET. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 45,454.

View Details

FORWARD COLLISION AVOIDANCE

5/25/2016 - TWINSBURG, OH
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 TOYOTA AVALON. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V728000 (FORWARD COLLISION AVOIDANCE) AND STATED THAT THE PART FOR THE REPAIR WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PART DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

FORWARD COLLISION AVOIDANCE

5/16/2016 - ST JOHN, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 TOYOTA AVALON. THE CONTACT RECEIVED A RECALL NOTIFICATION FOR NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V728000 (FORWARD COLLISION AVOIDANCE); HOWEVER, THE PARTS NEEDED WERE NOT AVAILABLE. THE CONTACT BELIEVED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME TO PROVIDE THE RECALL REPAIR. THE DEALER INSPECTED THE VEHICLE AND PERFORMED THE TEMPORARY REMEDY. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE DELAY. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds