Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA AVALON - 2013 TOYOTA AVALON Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 59 complaints filed for the 2013 TOYOTA AVALON

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 TOYOTA AVALON. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 TOYOTA AVALON, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (4) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (7) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (1) Steering (2) Vehicle Speed Control (7)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (1) Structure (18) Visibility (8)
Engine (1) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Seats (5) Tires (3) Visibility Wiper (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/4/2016 - TULSA, OK
CARBON MONOXIDE (CO) HAS BEEN MEASURED IN THE CABIN OF THE CAR WHILE DRIVING, WHEN THE ENGINE IS UNDER LOAD. ALSO, THE SMELL OF ENGINE COMBUSTION FUMES IS INCLUDED WITH THE CO. TOYOTA HAS DETERMINED THAT IT IS NOT A "REPAIRABLE CONDITION". TECHNICAL REPAIR MANUALS DO NOT LIST THE CONDITION, THEREFORE NO REPAIR HAS BEEN MADE. TOYOTA HAS NOT HONORED ITS WARRANTY. I HAVE INCURRED A FINANCIAL LOSS. TO DATE, TOYOTA HAS NOT PROVIDED A SOLUTION TO THIS SAFETY PROBLEM. A LETTER WITH DETAILS HAS BEEN SENT TO NHTSA, DATED 1/26/2016.

View Details

TIRES

12/28/2015 - WILLIAMSTOWN, NJ
SIDEWALL OF TIRE SHOWED A BUBBLE AFTER 24,000 MILES ON A 2013 TOYOTA AVALON DISCOVERED BY DEALER ON ROUTINE MAINTENANCE. CONTACTED MICHELIN AND THEY SENT ME TO A DEALER THAT BUMPED UP THE PRICE $25 OVER THE PRICE THE DEALER QUOTED AND ONLY OFFERED 20% CREDIT. I BELIEVE THE SIDEWALL IS A MANUFACTURING DEFECT. I HAVE PHOTOS THAT I CAN SEND. THESE TIRES ARE A DANGER TO THE REINING PUBLIC AND NEED TO BE RECALLED BEFORE DEATH OR A SERIOUS INJURY RESULTS FROM THE SIDEWALL.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/23/2015 - GAITHERSBURG, MD
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 TOYOTA AVALON. THE CONTACT RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V728000 (FORWARD COLLISION AVOIDANCE) HOWEVER, THE PART TO DO THE REPAIR WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE MANUFACTURER EXCEEDED A REASONABLE AMOUNT OF TIME FOR THE RECALL REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE CONTACT HAD NOT EXPERIENCED A FAILURE. PARTS DISTRIBUTION DISCONNECT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/23/2015 - RICHMOND HILL, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 TOYOTA AVALON. WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 45 MPH, THE VEHICLE SHOOK VIOLENTLY. THE FAILURE RECURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE THE FAILURE WAS UNDETERMINED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT A TECHNICIAN UPGRADED THE FUEL; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE AND VIN WERE UNKNOWN.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

11/20/2015 - JACKSBORO, TN
ROAD NOISE VERY LOUD AND DISTRACTING. AFTER SOME INVESTIGATING ON MY OWN I FOUND THE PROBLEM WAS COMING FROM THE LEFT AND RIGHT OUTSIDE MIRRORS. TOOK TO DEALER AND THEY FOUND NO ISSUES.SO I CAME BACK HOME AND DID SOME RESEARCH ON INTERNET AND FOUND OTHERS HAVING SAME COMPLAINT. THE MIRROR HOUSINGS WERE CHANGED ON MODELS AFTER 8/2013 (HAD RIBS ADD TO HOUSING) RETURN TO DEALER AND THEY CHANGED TO THE NEWER HOUSINGS AND THE NOISE WENT AWAY.

View Details

ENGINE

10/9/2015 - BESSEMER, AL
MY 2013 TOYOTA AVALON WIRING HARNESS WAS CHEWED ON BY A RODENT . IT CAUSED PROBLEMS WITH THE RUNNING OF THE VEHICLE , THE TRACTION CONTROL , THE CRUISE CONTROL AND WAS OPERATING ON 5 CYLINDERS . THE DEALERS REPAIR SHOP SAID THAT A RODENT EAT THROUGH THE WIRES AND TOYOTA WOULD NOT WARRANTY THIS PROBLEM . THE CAR WAS PARKED IN MY DRIVEWAY NEXT TO ANOTHER TOYOTA PRODUCT THAT IS A 2006 AND HAS NEVER BEEN CHEWED . I HAVE DRIVEN TOYOTA'S SINCE 1988 AND HAVE NEVER HAD THIS TO HAPPEN . I THINK TOYOTA SHOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE DAMAGE IF THEY ARE PUTTING ANY TYPE EDIBLE PRODUCT IN THE VEHICLES THEY PRODUCE .

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/9/2015 - BESSEMER, AL
MY 2013 TOYOTA AVALON WIRING HARNESS WAS CHEWED ON BY A RODENT . IT CAUSED PROBLEMS WITH THE RUNNING OF THE VEHICLE , THE TRACTION CONTROL , THE CRUISE CONTROL AND WAS OPERATING ON 5 CYLINDERS . THE DEALERS REPAIR SHOP SAID THAT A RODENT EAT THROUGH THE WIRES AND TOYOTA WOULD NOT WARRANTY THIS PROBLEM . THE CAR WAS PARKED IN MY DRIVEWAY NEXT TO ANOTHER TOYOTA PRODUCT THAT IS A 2006 AND HAS NEVER BEEN CHEWED . I HAVE DRIVEN TOYOTA'S SINCE 1988 AND HAVE NEVER HAD THIS TO HAPPEN . I THINK TOYOTA SHOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE DAMAGE IF THEY ARE PUTTING ANY TYPE EDIBLE PRODUCT IN THE VEHICLES THEY PRODUCE .

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

10/9/2015 - BESSEMER, AL
MY 2013 TOYOTA AVALON WIRING HARNESS WAS CHEWED ON BY A RODENT . IT CAUSED PROBLEMS WITH THE RUNNING OF THE VEHICLE , THE TRACTION CONTROL , THE CRUISE CONTROL AND WAS OPERATING ON 5 CYLINDERS . THE DEALERS REPAIR SHOP SAID THAT A RODENT EAT THROUGH THE WIRES AND TOYOTA WOULD NOT WARRANTY THIS PROBLEM . THE CAR WAS PARKED IN MY DRIVEWAY NEXT TO ANOTHER TOYOTA PRODUCT THAT IS A 2006 AND HAS NEVER BEEN CHEWED . I HAVE DRIVEN TOYOTA'S SINCE 1988 AND HAVE NEVER HAD THIS TO HAPPEN . I THINK TOYOTA SHOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR THE DAMAGE IF THEY ARE PUTTING ANY TYPE EDIBLE PRODUCT IN THE VEHICLES THEY PRODUCE .

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/12/2015 - STUART, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 TOYOTA AVALON. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING AT VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE MIRRORS CAUSED A GLARE ONTO THE DASHBOARD IMPAIRING THE CONTACT+S VISION. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT WAS UNABLE TO VIEW THE ROAD. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON NUMEROUS OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

5/4/2015 - ATHENS, TN
I'M NOT SURE IF THE FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM IS AT FAULT; HOWEVER, FOLLOWING IS THE PROBLEM I HAVE EXPERIENCED NUMEROUS TIMES. WHEN I TELL TOYOTA SERVICE PEOPLE ABOUT IT, THEY DON'T SEEM CONCERNED. WHEN MAKING A SLOW TURN (USUALLY LEFT TURN), IT APPEARS THAT I AM ABOUT TO STALL - SEEMS LIKE THERE IS NOT ENOUGH GAS GETTING TO SYSTEM - OR PERHAPS IT IS A TRANSMISSION PROBLEM (GEARED DOWN TOO LOW). I AM A WOMAN, SO I DON'T KNOW WHAT THE PROBLEM IS. HOWEVER, I HAVE BEEN SCARED NUMEROUS TIMES. WHEN THIS HAPPENS, I PRESS THE ACCELERATOR HARDER AND I AM ALWAYS AFRAID THE CAR IS GOING TO LURCH FORWARD TOO FAST.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds