Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA CAMRY - 2013 TOYOTA CAMRY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by TOYOTA MOTOR CORPORATION

There are 46 complaints filed for the 2013 TOYOTA CAMRY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 TOYOTA CAMRY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 TOYOTA CAMRY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Equipment (1) Seat Belts (1) Structure (6) Visibility (3)
Electrical System (7) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (3) Traction Control System (1) Visibility Wiper (2)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Service Brakes (1) Unknown Or Other (6) Wheels (1)
Engine (6) Power Train (6) Steering (7) Vehicle Speed Control (7)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
 
ComplaintDescription

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/2/2014 - GLENDALE, AZ
TOYOTA HAS ANOTHER THROTTLE PROBLEM. I BOUGHT A 2103 CAMRY SE ON MARCH 30TH 2013 FROM LARRY MILLER TOYOTA AND IT EXHIBITS AN INTERMITTENT THROTTLE PROBLEM. WHEN I START FROM A STOP SOME TIMES IT SEEMS AS IF THE ENGINE DIES. IT DOES NOT AS THE ENGINE DOES NOT NEED TO BE RESTARTED. THE THROTTLE IS SIMPLY NON-RESPONSIVE. THE CAR MOVES AHEAD A LITTLE AND VIRTUALLY DIES. THIS CAN OCCUR GOING STRAIGHT AHEAD, TURNING RIGHT OR WORSE YET IN THE PROCESS OF MAKING A LEFT TURN. THIS IS VERY MUCH A SAFETY ISSUE WHEN EXECUTING A TURN WHEN IT APPEARS ONE HAS A BREAK IN TRAFFIC AND THE CAR BARELY MOVES. THE CAR HAS BEEN BACK TO THE DEALER AND THERE IS NO FAILURE CODE SO THEY SAY THEY CANNOT VERIFY THE PROBLEM AND THAT IT IS WORKING AS IT SHOULD. I WENT OUT FOR A SHORT RIDE WITH THE SHOP FOREMAN AND I COULD NOT REPLICATE THE PROBLEM. HE DID SAY THAT HE HAD 3 OR 4 OTHER VEHICLES WITH A SIMILAR PROBLEM. I DID LEAVE THE CAR WITH THEM FOR 2 DAYS AND THEY DROVE IT 54 MILES AND COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM. MY SUGGESTION TO THE DEALER AND TO TOYOTA IS TO DETERMINE WHAT IS MOST LIKELY TO CAUSE THIS PROBLEM AND REPLACE IT AND SEE IF THIS WILL FIX IT. THEY WILL NOT DO THIS. IT MUST BE A PROBLEM THEY CAN VERIFY ôFIND A FAILURE CODEö. I HAVE ASKED THEM TO REPLACE THE THROTTLE TRANSDUCER WHICH IS $250 IF REPLACING IT DOES NOT FIX THE PROBLEM I WOULD PAY FOR IT. THE LACK OF A FAILURE CODE JUST MEANS IT IS NOT A HARD PROBLEM AND FAILING IN A MANNER THEY ANTICIPATED WHEN THEY SET UP THERE FAILURE TROUBLE SHOOTING PROCEDURES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/2/2014 - GLENDALE, AZ
TOYOTA HAS ANOTHER THROTTLE PROBLEM. I BOUGHT A 2103 CAMRY SE ON MARCH 30TH 2013 FROM LARRY MILLER TOYOTA AND IT EXHIBITS AN INTERMITTENT THROTTLE PROBLEM. WHEN I START FROM A STOP SOME TIMES IT SEEMS AS IF THE ENGINE DIES. IT DOES NOT AS THE ENGINE DOES NOT NEED TO BE RESTARTED. THE THROTTLE IS SIMPLY NON-RESPONSIVE. THE CAR MOVES AHEAD A LITTLE AND VIRTUALLY DIES. THIS CAN OCCUR GOING STRAIGHT AHEAD, TURNING RIGHT OR WORSE YET IN THE PROCESS OF MAKING A LEFT TURN. THIS IS VERY MUCH A SAFETY ISSUE WHEN EXECUTING A TURN WHEN IT APPEARS ONE HAS A BREAK IN TRAFFIC AND THE CAR BARELY MOVES. THE CAR HAS BEEN BACK TO THE DEALER AND THERE IS NO FAILURE CODE SO THEY SAY THEY CANNOT VERIFY THE PROBLEM AND THAT IT IS WORKING AS IT SHOULD. I WENT OUT FOR A SHORT RIDE WITH THE SHOP FOREMAN AND I COULD NOT REPLICATE THE PROBLEM. HE DID SAY THAT HE HAD 3 OR 4 OTHER VEHICLES WITH A SIMILAR PROBLEM. I DID LEAVE THE CAR WITH THEM FOR 2 DAYS AND THEY DROVE IT 54 MILES AND COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM. MY SUGGESTION TO THE DEALER AND TO TOYOTA IS TO DETERMINE WHAT IS MOST LIKELY TO CAUSE THIS PROBLEM AND REPLACE IT AND SEE IF THIS WILL FIX IT. THEY WILL NOT DO THIS. IT MUST BE A PROBLEM THEY CAN VERIFY ôFIND A FAILURE CODEö. I HAVE ASKED THEM TO REPLACE THE THROTTLE TRANSDUCER WHICH IS $250 IF REPLACING IT DOES NOT FIX THE PROBLEM I WOULD PAY FOR IT. THE LACK OF A FAILURE CODE JUST MEANS IT IS NOT A HARD PROBLEM AND FAILING IN A MANNER THEY ANTICIPATED WHEN THEY SET UP THERE FAILURE TROUBLE SHOOTING PROCEDURES.

View Details

ENGINE

4/2/2014 - GLENDALE, AZ
TOYOTA HAS ANOTHER THROTTLE PROBLEM. I BOUGHT A 2103 CAMRY SE ON MARCH 30TH 2013 FROM LARRY MILLER TOYOTA AND IT EXHIBITS AN INTERMITTENT THROTTLE PROBLEM. WHEN I START FROM A STOP SOME TIMES IT SEEMS AS IF THE ENGINE DIES. IT DOES NOT AS THE ENGINE DOES NOT NEED TO BE RESTARTED. THE THROTTLE IS SIMPLY NON-RESPONSIVE. THE CAR MOVES AHEAD A LITTLE AND VIRTUALLY DIES. THIS CAN OCCUR GOING STRAIGHT AHEAD, TURNING RIGHT OR WORSE YET IN THE PROCESS OF MAKING A LEFT TURN. THIS IS VERY MUCH A SAFETY ISSUE WHEN EXECUTING A TURN WHEN IT APPEARS ONE HAS A BREAK IN TRAFFIC AND THE CAR BARELY MOVES. THE CAR HAS BEEN BACK TO THE DEALER AND THERE IS NO FAILURE CODE SO THEY SAY THEY CANNOT VERIFY THE PROBLEM AND THAT IT IS WORKING AS IT SHOULD. I WENT OUT FOR A SHORT RIDE WITH THE SHOP FOREMAN AND I COULD NOT REPLICATE THE PROBLEM. HE DID SAY THAT HE HAD 3 OR 4 OTHER VEHICLES WITH A SIMILAR PROBLEM. I DID LEAVE THE CAR WITH THEM FOR 2 DAYS AND THEY DROVE IT 54 MILES AND COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM. MY SUGGESTION TO THE DEALER AND TO TOYOTA IS TO DETERMINE WHAT IS MOST LIKELY TO CAUSE THIS PROBLEM AND REPLACE IT AND SEE IF THIS WILL FIX IT. THEY WILL NOT DO THIS. IT MUST BE A PROBLEM THEY CAN VERIFY ôFIND A FAILURE CODEö. I HAVE ASKED THEM TO REPLACE THE THROTTLE TRANSDUCER WHICH IS $250 IF REPLACING IT DOES NOT FIX THE PROBLEM I WOULD PAY FOR IT. THE LACK OF A FAILURE CODE JUST MEANS IT IS NOT A HARD PROBLEM AND FAILING IN A MANNER THEY ANTICIPATED WHEN THEY SET UP THERE FAILURE TROUBLE SHOOTING PROCEDURES.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/27/2014 - WESTWOOD, MA
I RECEIVED A SAFETY RECALL NOTICE AND WHEN I CONTACTED THE DEALER TO MAKE AN APPOINTMENT, THEY TOLD ME THAT THE BEST THEY COULD DO IS SCHEDULE IT ON MAY 24 (TODAY IS MARCH 27). TWO MONTHS SEEMS LIKE MUCH TOO LONG A WAIT FOR SOMETHING THAT COULD EFFECT THE AIRBAG. THE DEALER WAS BOCH TOYOTA IN NORWOOD, MA.

View Details

STEERING

3/21/2014 - DULUTH, GA
WHILE DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEED, THE CAR WANDERS LEFT OR RIGHT. KEEPING THE CAR STRAIGHT TAKES SIGNIFICANT EFFORT WITHOUT CONSTANTLY MAKE CORRECTION TO THE STEERING WHEELS. REPORTED TO DEALER, BUT DEALER SAID CANT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM. THIS IS A REAL SAFETY HAZARD.

View Details

ENGINE

3/21/2014 - MEADVILLE, PA
VEHICLE WAS PURCHASED NEW IN APRIL 2013. FOR AS LONG AS I HAVE OWNED THE CAR, THE ENGINE HAS HAD A LOUD WINEING NOISE WHEN DRIVING 10 -35 MPH, ALWAYS WHEN ACCELARATING. THE NOISE IS CONSIDERABLE AND NOTICABLE, SOUNDING LIKE A TRANSMISSION OR POSSIBLE ENGINE PROBLEM. BEING SKEPTICAL OF MY MYSELF, I HAVE DRIVEN 2 FRIEND'S CAMRYS WITH 4 CYLINDER ENGINES I HAVE ALSO DRIVEN A 2013 TOYOTA RAV4 WITH THE EXACT ENGINE AND 6 SPEED GEAR TRANSMISSION. NONE OF THESE MAKE THE LOUD WINEING NOISE MY ENGINE MAKES (1 A 2012 CAMRY AND THE OTHER A 2013 CAMRY MODEL AND 1 RAV4 2013 MODEL). I HAVE MENTIONED IT 3 TIMES ON 3 DIFFERENT SERVICE VISITS TO DEALER. EACH TIME THEY WRITE IT OFF AS TRANSMISSION GEAR SHIFTING WITH 6 SPEED AUTO TRANSMISSION. I DO NOT BUY THIS DUE TO EVERY CAR I HAVE DRIVEN THE ENGINE'S ARE QUIET AT THESE SPEEDS AND DO NOT MAKE THE HIGH WINEING NOISE MY CAR MAKES. MATTER OF FACT, THEY WERE CONSIDERABLY QUIET TO THE POINT YOU CANNOT EVEN HARDLY HEAR THE ENGINE. I KNOW THAT THIS IS NOT EXACTLY A SAFETY ISSUE BUT A GREAT CONCERN IN WHICH I AM BEING IGNORED. JUST WANTED TO SEE IF ANYONE ELSE HAS THIS ISSUE AS WELL. NOTE THAT I AM A AUTOMOTIVE GLASS PARTS SUPPLIER & ELECTRICAL ENGINEER AND I DO NOT IMAGINE THINGS.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/18/2014 - NEW ORLEANS, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 TOYOTA CAMRY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME ROUGH WHEN DRIVING OR WHEN ATTEMPTING A TURN IN EITHER DIRECTION. THERE WAS ALSO AN ABNORMAL NOISE FROM THE STEERING WHEEL WITH THE ILLUMINATION OF THE POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TIRES NEEDED TO BE INFLATED TO THE CORRECT PRESSURE. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT WAS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT WAS AT AS TOP SIGN WHEN ANOTHER VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE FRONT DRIVER+S SIDE OF THE CONTACT+S VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE DRIVER SUSTAINED NECK, BACK AND HEAD INJURIES AND A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 13V44200 (AIR BAGS , ELECTRICAL SYSTEM , EQUIPMENT) HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE AIR BAG RECALL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 3000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/18/2014 - NEW ORLEANS, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 TOYOTA CAMRY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE STEERING WHEEL BECAME ROUGH WHEN DRIVING OR WHEN ATTEMPTING A TURN IN EITHER DIRECTION. THERE WAS ALSO AN ABNORMAL NOISE FROM THE STEERING WHEEL WITH THE ILLUMINATION OF THE POWER STEERING WARNING LIGHT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TIRES NEEDED TO BE INFLATED TO THE CORRECT PRESSURE. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT WAS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT WAS AT AS TOP SIGN WHEN ANOTHER VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE FRONT DRIVER+S SIDE OF THE CONTACT+S VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE DRIVER SUSTAINED NECK, BACK AND HEAD INJURIES AND A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE CONTACT REFERENCED NHTSA CAMPAIGN ID NUMBER: 13V44200 (AIR BAGS , ELECTRICAL SYSTEM , EQUIPMENT) HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INCLUDED IN THE AIR BAG RECALL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 3000.

View Details

SEATS

3/12/2014 - DALLAS, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 TOYOTA CAMRY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE DRIVER'S SIDE FRONT SEAT INDEPENDENTLY ADJUSTED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS FOUND THAT THE TRACK HAD FAILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CONTACTED ABOUT THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 24,000.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

3/10/2014 - MARIGOLD, MS
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 TOYOTA CAMRY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING 40 MPH, A LOUD EXPLOSION WAS HEARD AS THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT THE SUNROOF HAD SHATTERED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER FOR INSPECTION WHERE THEY STATED THAT THEY COULD NOT DETERMINE THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 16,240. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  ... 7
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds