Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA CAMRY - 2013 TOYOTA CAMRY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 59 complaints filed for the 2013 TOYOTA CAMRY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 TOYOTA CAMRY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 TOYOTA CAMRY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (10) Equipment (1) Power Train (8) Steering (9) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electrical System (8) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (1) Structure (6) Visibility (3)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seats (3) Traction Control System (1) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (6) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes (4) Unknown Or Other (6) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/24/2014 - MONTICELLO, AR
WITHIN TWO OR THREE DAYS AFTER THE 10,000 MILE CHECK-UP(JULY 3,2014) MY WIFE AND I NOTICED A STAGNANT ODOR COMING FROM THE A/C VENTS ON FIRST START UP IN THE MORNING. A/C HAD BEEN SET ON RECYCLE AIR. WE SET THE A/C TO RUN WITH AIR FLOW ON VENT AND ODOR IS STILL THERE. A/C RAN FOR AWHILE AND ODOR WOULD GO AWAY. ODOR JUST GOT WORSE ON EVERY START UP. CARRIED TO TOYOTA SERVICE DEPARTMENT WHERE WE PURCHASED CAMRY AND LET THE SERVICE MANAGER SMELL THE ODOR COMING FROM THE A/C VENTS AT 8 AM JULY 20, 2014. HE SAID HE COULD SMELL IT. THE SERVICE DEPT. KEPT THE CAMRY JULY 20 AND 21. I TALKED WITH THE SERVICE MANAGER AROUND 3:20 PM ON THE 21. HE SAID TOYOTA TECH. DEPT. HAD SENT THEM A BULLETIN STATING TO CHANGE THE CABIN AIR FILTER WITH A CHARCOAL LINED CABIN AIR FILTER AND TO RUN THE A/C ON VENT FOR AWHILE BEFORE SHUTTING ENGINE DOWN SO A/C SYSTEM COULD DRAIN. JULY 24TH., SERVICE DEPT. INSTALLING CHARCOAL LINED CABIN AIR FILTER. SERVICE DEPT. SAID A/C SYSTEM WOULD HAVE TO DRY OUT WHEN ASKED ABOUT MOLD AND BACTERIA BUILD UP. THIS PROBLEM HAS NOT REALLY BEEN ADDRESSED BY SERVICE DEPT. EXCEPT FOR TURNING ON CAR HEATER TO DRY A/C SYSTEM OUT. ODOR DID NOT GO AWAY. MY WIFE DROVE CAMRY ON A TRIP JULY 12-14, 2014 WHERE SHE DROVE FOR SEVEN AND A HALF HOURS EACH WAY. SIX DAYS LATER SHE DEVELOPED A SEVERE SORE THROAT. SHE WENT TO OUR LOCAL DOCTOR ON JULY 23RD. HE GAVE HER A STEROID SHOT AND SAID IT COULD BE RELATED TO THE ABOVE PROBLEM BUT WAS NOT STREP THROAT. WE ARE WORRIED ABOUT THE BUILD UP OF MOLD AND BACTERIA.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/17/2014 - PLYMOUTH, MN
WHILE ON INCLINE TRANSMISSION IN DRIVE ENGINE RUNNING LET FOOT OFF BRAKE CAR ROLLS BACKWARDS UNTIL BRAKE IS APPLIED

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/8/2014 - SHELBY TOWNSHIP, MI
, I HAVE PERMANENT EAR DAMAGE AS A RESULT OF THE DEPLOYMENT OF AIR BAGS IN A 2012 TOYOTA CAMRY I WAS DRIVING. I WAS IN AN ACCIDENT AND WAS THE REASON FOR THE AIR BAG DEPLOYMENT. I INJURED MY EARS ON AUGUST 4, 2013 AS THE RESULT OF THE DEPLOYMENT OF THE AIR BAGS IN THE 2013 CAMRY AND MY HEARING HAS NOT IMPROVED. I WILL HAVE TO LIVE WITH A 20% HEARING LOSS FOR THE REST OF MY LIFE. I ALSO UNDERSTAND THE CAMRY WAS NOT THE FAULT OF MY ACCIDENT BUT I FEEL THE AIR BAGS ARE A CONTRIBUTING FACTOR FOR MY HEARING LOSS. ON AUGUST 4, 2013 AT 5:15 PM, I WAS ONE OF THREE CARS INVOLVED IN A CAR ACCIDENT ON HIGHWAY 10 AND CR 663 IN OKLAHOMA. I WAS VISITING FROM MICHIGAN WITH MY WIDOWED SISTER, SHE LIVES IN WYANDOTTE, OKLAHOMA AND WE WERE RETURNING TO HER HOME AFTER BUYING A DAIRY QUEEN. A CAR TRAVELING AT 65 MILES PER HOUR IN A WHITE KIA CAME ACROSS THE CENTER LINE AND SLAMMED INTO ME BETWEEN THE DRIVERSÆS SIDE FRONT WHEEL AND DOOR THAN SHE CONTINUED ON TO HIT A PICKUP TRUCK THAT WAS BEHIND ME HEAD ON. THE PICKUP TRUCK WAS HIT WITH SUCH A FORCE THAT IT OVER TURNED, PINNING THE DRIVER INSIDE.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/28/2014 - BALLWIN, MO
NEW VEHICLE AFTER A COLD START REFUSED TO ACCELERATE. IT HAD 2/3 TANK OF FUEL, BRAKES RELEASED,AND NO INTERFERENCE WITH THE GAS PEDDLE. VEHICLE WOULD NOT ACCELERATE PAST 15 MPH AND WOULD HESITATE AND STUMBLE TO THE POINT OF ENGINE STALL WHEN PRESSURE ON GAS PEDDLE INCREASED. ENGINE WARNING LIGHTS DID NOT INDICATE A PROBLEM. RESTARTED ENGINE SEVERAL TIMES ON THE WAY TO DEALER SERVICE SHOP. ABOUT TWO MILES FROM THE DEALER, THE PROBLEM SEEMED TO RESOLVE ITSELF. DEALER SERVICE COULD NOT REPLICATE PROBLEM AS OF THIS WRITING AND WILL REMAIN WITH THEM OVER THIS WEEKEND IN THE HOPE THAT THE SOURCE OF THE PROBLEM IS FOUND AND RESOLVED. THANKFULLY THE LACK OF ENGINE RESPONSE DEVELOPED WHILE DRIVING MY SUBDIVISION STREETS AND DID NOT CONTRIBUTE TO AND ACCIDENT. IT IS NOTED THAT THERE ARE SIMILAR COMPLAINTS FOR THIS PROBLEM ON 2013 CAMRY,S LISTED BY OWNERS ON THE INTERNET WITH NO NOTED RESOLUTION.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/26/2014 - FRESNO, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 TOYOTA CAMRY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN ATTEMPTING TO ENGAGE THE BRAKES, THE BRAKE PEDAL BECAME VERY HARD TO DEPRESS. AS RESULT, THE EMERGENCY BRAKE HAD TO BE APPLIED IN ORDER TO STOP THE VEHICLE. THE PROBLEM RECURRED INTERMITTENTLY SEVERAL TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO WAS NOT ABLE TO DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM. THE VEHICLE HAD NOT BEEN REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE PROBLEM. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 4,500.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/25/2014 - GLEN ELLYN, IL
I WAS DRIVING AROUND THE CHICAGOLAND SUBURB OF WHEATON WITH MY MOTHER ONE SATURDAY MORNING A FEW WEEKS AGO. I BEGAN APPLYING THE BRAKES AS YOU NORMALLY WOULD AS WE APPROACHED A RED LIGHT. AS WE DREW CLOSER TO THE STOPPED CAR IN FRONT OF US, I APPLIED THE BRAKES MORE TO COME TO A COMPLETE STOP. THE CAR WAS ROLLING AT ABOUT 15 MPH, BUT IT WAS NOT SLOWING AS I APPROACHED THE STOPPED CAR AHEAD. I PUT MY FOOT ALL THE WAY TO THE GROUND ATTEMPING TO APPLY THE BRAKES ENTIRELY TO COME TO A COMPLETE STOP. THE CAR WOULD NOT STOP! MY MOM BEGAN YELLING FOR ME TO STOP, AND I SCREAMED BACK THAT I WAS TRYING! I HAD MY FOOT ALL THE WAY DOWN, AND I WAS FRANTICALLY PUMPING THE BRAKE, BUT IT KEPT ROLLING, COMPLETELY UNRESPONSIVE TO THE BRAKE PEDAL. THE PEDAL FELT "MUSHY" AND WAS GOING ALL THE WAY TO THE GROUND ALL TOO EASILY. I BUMPED THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME, WHICH IS WHAT FINALLY BROUGHT ME TO A STOP. THE BUMP WAS LIGHT ENOUGH THAT THE DRIVER DIDN'T NOTICE, AND THERE WAS NOT ANY DAMAGE. HE LET IT GO, AND A REPORT WAS NOT FILED. I SLAMMED THE CAR INTO PARK AT THE LIGHT AND GOT OUT SO I COULD LOOK AROUND THE PEDALS TO SEE IF SOMETHING WAS JAMMED IN THERE THAT WOULD HAVE CAUSED THIS. THERE WAS NOT ANYTHING AROUND THE BRAKE PEDAL THAT SHOULD HAVE STOPPED IT FROM WORKING. IT WAS NOT A FLOOR MAT PROBLEM. I PUT THE CAR BACK IN DRIVE, AND IT CONTINUED ON NORMALLY, BRAKES NOW WORKING FINE. I TOOK IT STRAIGHT TO TOYOTA AND EXPLAINED THE INCIDENT (MY MOM SERVED AS A WITNESS), AND THEY RAN DIAGNOSTICS ON MY CAR. THEY SEEMED DISTURBINGLY UNFAZED BY THE STORY AS IF THEY GET THIS KIND OF COMPLAINT A LOT. OF COURSE, THEY FOUND NOTHING WRONG. THEY SAID THE 2013 CAMRY SE WAS FINE, AND THEY DIDN'T KNOW WHAT TO TELL ME. ALTHOUGH THE CAR HAS BEEN FINE SINCE, I AM TERRIFIED AT WHAT MIGHT HAPPEN WHEN I AM MOVING AT HIGHER SPEEDS ON THE HIGHWAY!! I LOVED THAT CAR, BUT NOW I AM SOMEWHAT AFRAID OF IT!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/25/2014 - GLEN ELLYN, IL
I WAS DRIVING AROUND THE CHICAGOLAND SUBURB OF WHEATON WITH MY MOTHER ONE SATURDAY MORNING A FEW WEEKS AGO. I BEGAN APPLYING THE BRAKES AS YOU NORMALLY WOULD AS WE APPROACHED A RED LIGHT. AS WE DREW CLOSER TO THE STOPPED CAR IN FRONT OF US, I APPLIED THE BRAKES MORE TO COME TO A COMPLETE STOP. THE CAR WAS ROLLING AT ABOUT 15 MPH, BUT IT WAS NOT SLOWING AS I APPROACHED THE STOPPED CAR AHEAD. I PUT MY FOOT ALL THE WAY TO THE GROUND ATTEMPING TO APPLY THE BRAKES ENTIRELY TO COME TO A COMPLETE STOP. THE CAR WOULD NOT STOP! MY MOM BEGAN YELLING FOR ME TO STOP, AND I SCREAMED BACK THAT I WAS TRYING! I HAD MY FOOT ALL THE WAY DOWN, AND I WAS FRANTICALLY PUMPING THE BRAKE, BUT IT KEPT ROLLING, COMPLETELY UNRESPONSIVE TO THE BRAKE PEDAL. THE PEDAL FELT "MUSHY" AND WAS GOING ALL THE WAY TO THE GROUND ALL TOO EASILY. I BUMPED THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME, WHICH IS WHAT FINALLY BROUGHT ME TO A STOP. THE BUMP WAS LIGHT ENOUGH THAT THE DRIVER DIDN'T NOTICE, AND THERE WAS NOT ANY DAMAGE. HE LET IT GO, AND A REPORT WAS NOT FILED. I SLAMMED THE CAR INTO PARK AT THE LIGHT AND GOT OUT SO I COULD LOOK AROUND THE PEDALS TO SEE IF SOMETHING WAS JAMMED IN THERE THAT WOULD HAVE CAUSED THIS. THERE WAS NOT ANYTHING AROUND THE BRAKE PEDAL THAT SHOULD HAVE STOPPED IT FROM WORKING. IT WAS NOT A FLOOR MAT PROBLEM. I PUT THE CAR BACK IN DRIVE, AND IT CONTINUED ON NORMALLY, BRAKES NOW WORKING FINE. I TOOK IT STRAIGHT TO TOYOTA AND EXPLAINED THE INCIDENT (MY MOM SERVED AS A WITNESS), AND THEY RAN DIAGNOSTICS ON MY CAR. THEY SEEMED DISTURBINGLY UNFAZED BY THE STORY AS IF THEY GET THIS KIND OF COMPLAINT A LOT. OF COURSE, THEY FOUND NOTHING WRONG. THEY SAID THE 2013 CAMRY SE WAS FINE, AND THEY DIDN'T KNOW WHAT TO TELL ME. ALTHOUGH THE CAR HAS BEEN FINE SINCE, I AM TERRIFIED AT WHAT MIGHT HAPPEN WHEN I AM MOVING AT HIGHER SPEEDS ON THE HIGHWAY!! I LOVED THAT CAR, BUT NOW I AM SOMEWHAT AFRAID OF IT!

View Details

STEERING

6/25/2014 - ELKRIDGE, MD
I PURCHASED BRAND NEW CAR FROM DARCARS LOCATED AT 12210 CHERRY HILL RD, SILVER SPRING, MD 20904 ON MAY 27TH, 2013. FIRST INCIDENT TOOK PLACE APPROXIMATELY LESS THAN 4,780 MILEAGES; I BEGAN HAVING TROUBLE WITH MY STEERING. DURING THIS INCIDENT, I WAS DRIVING ON I95-N NEAR EXIT 43 OF MARYLAND WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION SUDDENLY THE STEERING WAS LOCKED AND THE STEERING WARNING SIGN WITH THE BEEP NOISE FOR A SECOND CAME ON. I PANICKED I COULDN-++T NOT TURN THE STEERING AT ALL. LUCKILY, I TRIED VERY HARD AND WAS ABLE TO FORCE THE STEERING TO TURN A FRACTION OF A DEGREE ANGLE WHERE I WAS ABLE TO SAFELY PULL THE CAR ON THE SHOULDER WITHOUT HURTING ANYONE. AT THAT POINT I RESTARTED THE CAR AND THE STEERING WAS UNLOCKED. I TOOK MY CAR BACK TO THE DEALER FOR REPAIRS ON 07/15/2013 BUT, TO DATE, THE DEALER HAS BEEN UNABLE TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM. ATTACHED ARE COPIES OF THE REPAIR ORDERS THAT DOCUMENT THE DEALERSHIP'S ATTEMPTS TO REPAIR MY CAR. WHILE I WAS DRIVING THIS VEHICLE ON GUILDFORD ROA SECOND INCIDENT TOOK PLACE APPROXIMATELY 15000 MILES, WHEN MY BROTHER IN LAW WAS DRIVING THIS VEHICLE TO GEORGIA. AT APPROXIMATELY 12 A.M AT NIGHT AFTER REFUELING THE VEHICLE HE WAS HEADING BACK ON THE I95-S. THE SAME INCIDENT HAD OCCURRED. AT THAT POINT ONLY THING I SUGGESTED HIM TO RESTART THE CAR AND MOVE ON. AFTER THE SECOND INCIDENT I DID RECEIVED A LETTER FROM TOYOTA MANUFACTURE ABOUT THE RECALL ON HVAC ASSEMBLY CAUSING A LEAK WHICH CAN RUIN THE SENSOR CAUSING STEERING ISSUES, AIR BAG ISSUES AND ETC. THE CAR WAS TAKEN BACK TO A DEALER -++ANTWERPEN-+¥ LOCATED AT 12420 AUTO DRIVE, CLARKSVILLE, MD 21029 WHERE THE RECALL FIX WAS PERFORMED. HOWEVER, THE DEALER HAS BEEN UNABLE TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM AGAIN. THIRD INCIDENT TOOK PLACE APPROXIMATELY AT 31,500 MILES ON 06/14/2014 AT 1:45 PM ON THE GUILFORD ROAD, JESSUP, MD GOING TOWARD THE INTERSECTION OF RT-1 (AKA WASHINGTON BL

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/24/2014 - ELGIN, OR
MICE CRAWLING UP YOUR LEGS WHILE GOING FREEWAY SPEEDS ALMOST CAUSED ME TO CRASH WITH MY FAMILY TRYING TO GET AWAY FROM THEM. TOYOTA NEEDS TO DEAL WITH THE MOUSE PROBLEMS IN THEIR CAMRY'S AND FIGURE OUT A WAY OF KEEPING THEM OUT. I KNOW LIVES WILL BE LOST BECAUSE OF THIS MANUFACTURING PROBLEM THAT COULD BE PREVENTED. THEY ARE NESTING AND DYING IN THE VENTILATION SYSTEM AND THAT IS VERY UNHEALTHY BREATHING MOUSE DROPPINGS AND ROTTING MICE.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING: HEADLIGHTS

5/13/2014 - PALMYRA, VA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 TOYOTA CAMRY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT VISIBILITY WAS REDUCED DURING NIGHT DRIVING DUE TO DIM HEADLIGHTS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHO ADJUSTED THE HEADLIGHTS. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE FAILURE RECURRED AFTER THE REPAIR. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 1.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  ... 8
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds