Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA CAMRY - 2013 TOYOTA CAMRY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 77 complaints filed for the 2013 TOYOTA CAMRY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 TOYOTA CAMRY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 TOYOTA CAMRY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Power Train (12) Steering (13) Vehicle Speed Control (13)
Electrical System (8) Equipment (1) Seat Belts (1) Structure (10) Visibility (3)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (3) Traction Control System (1) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (8) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Service Brakes (6) Unknown Or Other (7) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

2/24/2015 - NEW LENOX, IL
STEPPED ON THE BRAKE PEDAL DURING PARKING ACCELERATOR GOT ACTIVATED BY THE BRAKE PETAL.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! SCARRY, OUR SECOND CAR 2005 BUICK LA CROSE HAS NOT THAT PROBLEM!

View Details

ENGINE

2/5/2015 - RIVERSIDE, CA
WHEN ACCELERATING FROM A STOP THE VEHICLE WILL SOMETIMES MOVE ABOUT 10 FEET AND THEN HESITATE FOR ABOUT 1 TO 2 SECONDS. IT WILL THEN ACCELERATE NORMALLY. ONE TIME THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED TO ABOUT 20 MPH AND THEN THE ENGINE RPM RETURNED TO IDLE. THE ACCELERATOR WAS PUSHED TO THE FLOOR AND THE RPM REMAINED AT IDLE. THE ACCELERATOR WAS RELEASED AND PUSHED DOWN AGAIN. THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED NORMALLY. THIS HAPPENED ONLY ONE TIME. THE INTERMITTENT HESITATION IS VERY DANGEROUS WHEN TRYING TO CROSS A BUSY INTERSECTION WHEN THE CROSS TRAFFIC IS UNCONTROLLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR THE PROBLEM. THE TECHNICIAN COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE CONDITION. THE U760E TORQUE CONVERTER SHUDDER RECALL UPGRADE WAS PERFORMED. THIS DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. THE SERVICE ADVISOR SAID THAT THE TECHNICIAN SAID THAT SOME TRANSMISSION HESITATION WAS NORMAL. THE SERVICE ADVISOR ALSO SAID THERE HAD BEEN OTHER COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS CONDITION. THERE ARE ALSO COMPLAINTS ON THE ONLINE AUTOMOBILE FORUMS. THIS CONDITION IS DANGEROUS AND NOT NORMAL

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/5/2015 - RIVERSIDE, CA
WHEN ACCELERATING FROM A STOP THE VEHICLE WILL SOMETIMES MOVE ABOUT 10 FEET AND THEN HESITATE FOR ABOUT 1 TO 2 SECONDS. IT WILL THEN ACCELERATE NORMALLY. ONE TIME THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED TO ABOUT 20 MPH AND THEN THE ENGINE RPM RETURNED TO IDLE. THE ACCELERATOR WAS PUSHED TO THE FLOOR AND THE RPM REMAINED AT IDLE. THE ACCELERATOR WAS RELEASED AND PUSHED DOWN AGAIN. THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED NORMALLY. THIS HAPPENED ONLY ONE TIME. THE INTERMITTENT HESITATION IS VERY DANGEROUS WHEN TRYING TO CROSS A BUSY INTERSECTION WHEN THE CROSS TRAFFIC IS UNCONTROLLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR THE PROBLEM. THE TECHNICIAN COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE CONDITION. THE U760E TORQUE CONVERTER SHUDDER RECALL UPGRADE WAS PERFORMED. THIS DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. THE SERVICE ADVISOR SAID THAT THE TECHNICIAN SAID THAT SOME TRANSMISSION HESITATION WAS NORMAL. THE SERVICE ADVISOR ALSO SAID THERE HAD BEEN OTHER COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS CONDITION. THERE ARE ALSO COMPLAINTS ON THE ONLINE AUTOMOBILE FORUMS. THIS CONDITION IS DANGEROUS AND NOT NORMAL

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

2/4/2015 - LOUISVILLE, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 TOYOTA CAMRY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE IN A PARKING LOT, THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED INDEPENDENTLY. ONCE THE BRAKES WERE DEPRESSED, THE VEHICLE RESUMED NORMAL ACCELERATION. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 10,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

1/29/2015 - HERMON , ME
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 TOYOTA CAMRY. WHILE DRIVING AT APPROXIMATELY 25 MPH, THE VEHICLE SHOOK. THE CONTACT NOTICED THAT SNOW ACCUMULATED INSIDE ALL FOUR WHEEL WELLS AND TURNED INTO ICE. THE FAILURE OCCURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THERE WHERE CHUNKS OF ICE INSIDE OF THE WHEEL WELLS THAT NEEDED TO BE REMOVED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 10,000.

View Details

ENGINE AND ENGINE COOLING

1/25/2015 - TRAVERSE CITY, MI
THIS INCIDENT OCCURRED ON OCTOBER 14, 2014 AT APPROXIMATELY 2PM. I WAS LEAVING MY DENTIST'S PARKING LOT. I BACKED OUT OF MY PARKING SPOT, STOPPED AND WITH MY FOOT ON THE BRAKE TO SHIFT INTO DRIVE, THE CAR SHOT BACKWARD AT A VERY HIGH RATE OF SPEED. TO AVOID HITTING THE BUILDING I TURNED THE WHEEL SHARPLY, BUT COULD NOT AVOID HITTING A PARKED CAR. DAMAGE TO MY VEHICLE WAS ALMOST $3000. I REPORTED THE INCIDENT TO TOYOTA AND THEY DID AN INSPECTION ON MY VEHICLE AND SAID THEY FOUND NOTHING WRONG SO I MUST TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE ACCIDENT.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

1/25/2015 - TRAVERSE CITY, MI
THIS INCIDENT OCCURRED ON OCTOBER 14, 2014 AT APPROXIMATELY 2PM. I WAS LEAVING MY DENTIST'S PARKING LOT. I BACKED OUT OF MY PARKING SPOT, STOPPED AND WITH MY FOOT ON THE BRAKE TO SHIFT INTO DRIVE, THE CAR SHOT BACKWARD AT A VERY HIGH RATE OF SPEED. TO AVOID HITTING THE BUILDING I TURNED THE WHEEL SHARPLY, BUT COULD NOT AVOID HITTING A PARKED CAR. DAMAGE TO MY VEHICLE WAS ALMOST $3000. I REPORTED THE INCIDENT TO TOYOTA AND THEY DID AN INSPECTION ON MY VEHICLE AND SAID THEY FOUND NOTHING WRONG SO I MUST TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE ACCIDENT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

1/5/2015 - MARYVILLE, TN
ANYTIME DURING WARM WEATHER WHEN THE AIR CONDITIONER HAS BEEN/IS BEING USED THERE IS A DISGUSTING FOUL MILDEW ODOR IMMEDIATELY UPON STARTING THE VEHICLE. THE ODOR IS NAUSEATING AND CAUSES HEADACHES. EVERY TIME THE CAR IS DRIVEN, I HAVE TO TURN ON THE HEAT AND PUT ALL THE WINDOWS DOWN FOR ABOUT 5-10 MINUTES TO GET RID OF THE ODOR. APPARENTLY THERE IS AN ISSUE WITH CONDENSATION FROM THE AC NOT DRAINING PROPERLY. I HAVE BEEN ABLE TO FIND SEVERAL SIMILAR COMPLAINTS ONLINE. SOME DEALERSHIPS CLAIM THEY HAVE NEVER HEARD OF THIS ISSUE, WHILE OTHERS ADMIT THAT THEY ARE AWARE OF IT BUT THAT TOYOTA HAS NO "FIX" FOR IT. BREATHING IN MOLD IS A SAFETY CONCERN. THIS DOES NOT OCCUR IN THE WINTER WHEN AC IS NOT USED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

12/5/2014 - DOUGLASVILLE, GA
MY NEPHEW WAS DRIVING MY CAR (2013 CAMRY) ON I-85 NORTHBOUND IN AUBURN ALABAMA. HE SAID HE WAS GOING 60 OR 65 MPH. THE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED WITHOUT ANY TYPE OF IMPACT. THERE WAS A RECALL ON MY AIR BAGS AND IT WAS REPAIRED JULY 10, 2014 BY TOYOTA. THE AIR BAGS STILLED DEPLOYED ON OCT. 27, 2014, ALL AIR BAGS DEPLOYED EXCEPT FOR THE PASSAGE BAG. MY NEPHEW WAS THE ONLY PERSON IN THE CAR. MY CASE NUMBER WITH TOYOTA IS #1410281406. THANK YOU MELINDA BROTHERS 404-254-8308

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/19/2014 - ROHNERT PARK, CA
I WAS INVOLVED IN A HEAD ON COLLISION ON 10/19/14. THE ADVERSE DRIVER TURNED LEFT IN FRONT OF ME AND HIT THE FRONT OF MY 2013 TOYOTA CAMRY, PUSHING THE CAR UP OVER THE CURB. THE STEERING WHEEL AIRBAG DEPLOYED AS DID THE AIRBAG FROM UNDER THE DASH. THE DEPLOYMENT OF THE LOWER AIRBAG CAUSED A LARGE HEMATOMA ON MY RIGHT SHIN, AND AN OPEN LACERATION/BURN AND HEMATOMA ON MY LEFT SHIN WHICH BECAME INFECTED. THE WOUNDS ARE DOCUMENTED IN THE AMBULANCE REPORT, HOSPITAL REPORT AND REPORT FROM MY TREATING PHYSICIAN WHO PRESCRIBED MEDICATIONS TO REDUCE THE INFECTION. THE CAR WAS SUBSEQUENTLY ASSESSED A TOTAL LOSS AND SOLD TO MY INSURANCE COMPANY. I RETAIN PHOTOGRAPHS OF THE DAMAGED VEHICLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds