Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA CAMRY - 2013 TOYOTA CAMRY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 145 complaints filed for the 2013 TOYOTA CAMRY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 TOYOTA CAMRY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 TOYOTA CAMRY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (25) Equipment (2) Seat Belts (2) Suspension (3) Vehicle Speed Control (24)
Electrical System (18) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (3) Tires (1) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes (12) Traction Control System (1) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (14) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Steering (18) Unknown Or Other (15) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Power Train (33) Structure (17)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

12/2/2017 - WINDHAM, ME
THE POWER DOOR LOCKS HAVE STOPPED WORKING EXCEPT FOR THE PASSENGER REAL DOOR.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/27/2017 - EDMOND, OK
I WAS HIT IN THE LEFT FRONT CORNER OF MY CAR AND THEN TEARING OFF THE FRONT OF THE VEHICLE. AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY AND A SUFFER FROM A FRACTURED STERNUM, AND SEVERELY BRUISED RIGHT HAND AND LEFT KNEE.I HAVE BEEN TOLD THAT HAD MY AIRBAGS DEPLOYED I WOULD NOT HAVE SUFFERED A BROKEN STERNUM. I WAS HEADING SOUTH GOING LESS THAN 10 MPH MAYBE LESS THAN 5 MPH AS I ENTERED THE INTERSECTION OF 150 TH AND N WESTERN AVE IN OKLAHOMA CITY OK. THE VEHICLE THAT HIT ME WAS TRAVELING NORTH AND TURNING WEST ONTO 150TH AND HIT ME. THEY WERE GIVEN A CITATION FOR THE ACCIDENT.CONFIRMATION # 11048674

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/27/2017 - EDMOND, OK
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2013 TOYOTA CAMRY. WHILE DRIVING 10 MPH, AN ONCOMING VEHICLE CRASHED INTO THE SIDE OF THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT WAS TRANSPORTED BY AMBULANCE TO THE HOSPITAL. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED A FRACTURED STERNUM AND A BRUISED RIGHT HAND. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO AN INDEPENDENT FACILITY. BOB HOWARD TOYOTA (12929 N KELLEY AVE, OKLAHOMA CITY, OK 73131, (405) 936-8600) WAS CONTACTED AND AN INQUIRY WAS MADE AS TO WHY THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO PROVIDE ANY INFORMATION. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 45,000. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/17/2017 - NISKAYUNA, NY
CAR HAS BEEN IN SERVICE FOR 4+ YEARS SINCE NEW, AND REGISTERED ABOUT 90K MILES. DURING THE RECENT ROUTINE OIL CHANGE, THE GAS CHARGED HOOD LIFT SUPPORT FAILED WHILE THE HOOD IS UP, AND THE HOOD CAME CRASHING DOWN. WHEN THE HOOD WAS OPENED, IT STAYED UP, NO SIGNS OF PROBLEM. THE FAILURE HAPPENED WELL INTO OIL CHANGE, WHEN I WAS UNDER THE CAR, AND THERE WAS NOTHING IN THE ENGINE BAY. SO I WAS LUCKY, EXTREMELY. NO BODILY DAMAGE NOR PROPERTY DAMAGE. I THEN ASSESSED THE SITUATION, DUE TO THE WAY THE STRUTS ARE PLACED, WHEN THE STRUTS FAILED, THE HOOD WOULD HAVE A FREE FALL FROM GREATER THAN 45-DEG ANGLE, WHICH WOULD GENERATE A SIGNIFICANT AMOUNT OF FORCE GIVEN THE WEIGHT OF THE HOOD. THIS CAN EASILY CAUSE BODILY AND PROPERTY DAMAGE IF THE PERSON WORKING THE CAR IS CAUGHT BETWEEN THE OPENED HOOD AND THE FRONT FRAME OF THE CAR. A FAIL-SAFE MEASURE SHOULD BE ADDED TO THE CAR TO AVOID INJURY.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/15/2017 - GLENDALE, CA
WHEN I SPEED UP 10 TO 20 MILES THERE IS A SLIGHT KICK AND THE CAR FEELS SHAKY. THE MILEAGE IS ONLY 66 K + MILES. IN THE CITY OR HIGHWAY WHEN SPEEDING UP THIS HAPPENS.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

9/16/2017 - PROSPECT PARK, PA
I WAS VISITING SOMEONE AT A HOSPITAL. I ENTERED THE PARKING GARAGE AND PROCEEDED TO THE 2ND FLOOR. I BEGAN TO ENTER A PARKING SPACE SLOWLY WITH MY FOOT ON THE BRAKE PEDAL, WHEN THE CAR ACCELERATED AT A HIGH RATE OF SPEED ALL BY ITSELF FORWARD,SLAMMING INTO THE BARING WALL IN FRONT OF ME. AFTER CRASHING INTO THE WALL, THE ENGINE IS STILL GOING LOUDLY, (REVVING) AND THE TIRES ARE SPINNING. I WAS PUSHING ON THE BRAKE PEDAL SO HARD TO TRY AND GET THE CAR TO STOP, OR SHUT DOWN, THAT I BROKE 2 BONES IN MY FOOT. THE AIRBAGS WENT OFF, INJURING MY CHEST. I FINALLY GOT THE CAR TO STOP, BY THROWING IT IN PARK.

View Details

ENGINE

9/6/2017 - APEX, NC
UNEXPECTED ACCELERATION ON JANUARY 30, 2017, AT 7:50 AM, MY CAR EXPERIENCED UA IN MY OFFICE PARKING LOT AT 4917 WATERS EDGE DRIVE, RALEIGH, NC 27606 WHILE BACKING INTO A PARKING SPACE. MY CAR INCREASED SPEED, KNOCKING DOWN A WOODEN RETAINING WALL AND ATTEMPTING TO CLIMB A HILL. I THEN AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS WAS ABLE TO PLACED THE CAR IN DRIVE ONLY TO HAVE IT SHOOT ACROSS THE PARKING LOT, T-BONING A CAR ENTERING AND KNOCKING IT ON THE SIDEWALK WHILE I CONTINUED ONTO THE YARD. I WAS FINALLY ABLE TO PLACED CAR IN DRIVE AND THE MOTOR CONTINUED TO REV UNTIL AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS WAS ABLE TO SHUT IT DOWN. OF NOTE, NONE OF MY CAR'S AIRBAGS DEPLOYED. HOWEVER, THE OTHER VEHICLE'S BOTH SIDE PASSENGER AIR BAGS DEPLOYED. I WENT ON LINE AND REPORTED MY PROBLEM TO TOYOTA WITH PICTURES AND POLICE REPORT THE NEXT DAY. THEY ASKED FOR A WRITTEN CONSENT TO ALLOW THEM TO GET THE DATA RECORDER. AFTER NUMEROUS CALLS TO FOLLOW-UP, ON MAY 12 I RECEIVED A RESPONSE THAT WHEN THEY DROVE THE VEHICLE EVERYTHING WAS FINE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/6/2017 - APEX, NC
UNEXPECTED ACCELERATION ON JANUARY 30, 2017, AT 7:50 AM, MY CAR EXPERIENCED UA IN MY OFFICE PARKING LOT AT 4917 WATERS EDGE DRIVE, RALEIGH, NC 27606 WHILE BACKING INTO A PARKING SPACE. MY CAR INCREASED SPEED, KNOCKING DOWN A WOODEN RETAINING WALL AND ATTEMPTING TO CLIMB A HILL. I THEN AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS WAS ABLE TO PLACED THE CAR IN DRIVE ONLY TO HAVE IT SHOOT ACROSS THE PARKING LOT, T-BONING A CAR ENTERING AND KNOCKING IT ON THE SIDEWALK WHILE I CONTINUED ONTO THE YARD. I WAS FINALLY ABLE TO PLACED CAR IN DRIVE AND THE MOTOR CONTINUED TO REV UNTIL AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS WAS ABLE TO SHUT IT DOWN. OF NOTE, NONE OF MY CAR'S AIRBAGS DEPLOYED. HOWEVER, THE OTHER VEHICLE'S BOTH SIDE PASSENGER AIR BAGS DEPLOYED. I WENT ON LINE AND REPORTED MY PROBLEM TO TOYOTA WITH PICTURES AND POLICE REPORT THE NEXT DAY. THEY ASKED FOR A WRITTEN CONSENT TO ALLOW THEM TO GET THE DATA RECORDER. AFTER NUMEROUS CALLS TO FOLLOW-UP, ON MAY 12 I RECEIVED A RESPONSE THAT WHEN THEY DROVE THE VEHICLE EVERYTHING WAS FINE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/6/2017 - APEX, NC
UNEXPECTED ACCELERATION ON JANUARY 30, 2017, AT 7:50 AM, MY CAR EXPERIENCED UA IN MY OFFICE PARKING LOT AT 4917 WATERS EDGE DRIVE, RALEIGH, NC 27606 WHILE BACKING INTO A PARKING SPACE. MY CAR INCREASED SPEED, KNOCKING DOWN A WOODEN RETAINING WALL AND ATTEMPTING TO CLIMB A HILL. I THEN AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS WAS ABLE TO PLACED THE CAR IN DRIVE ONLY TO HAVE IT SHOOT ACROSS THE PARKING LOT, T-BONING A CAR ENTERING AND KNOCKING IT ON THE SIDEWALK WHILE I CONTINUED ONTO THE YARD. I WAS FINALLY ABLE TO PLACED CAR IN DRIVE AND THE MOTOR CONTINUED TO REV UNTIL AFTER SEVERAL ATTEMPTS WAS ABLE TO SHUT IT DOWN. OF NOTE, NONE OF MY CAR'S AIRBAGS DEPLOYED. HOWEVER, THE OTHER VEHICLE'S BOTH SIDE PASSENGER AIR BAGS DEPLOYED. I WENT ON LINE AND REPORTED MY PROBLEM TO TOYOTA WITH PICTURES AND POLICE REPORT THE NEXT DAY. THEY ASKED FOR A WRITTEN CONSENT TO ALLOW THEM TO GET THE DATA RECORDER. AFTER NUMEROUS CALLS TO FOLLOW-UP, ON MAY 12 I RECEIVED A RESPONSE THAT WHEN THEY DROVE THE VEHICLE EVERYTHING WAS FINE.

View Details

TIRES

8/27/2017 - JACKSONVILLE, NC
HELLO, I PURCHASED THE PIRELLI 215/55 R17 94 V P4FS+ ON SEPTEMBER 11, 2016. ON AUGUST 27, 2017, THE TIRE POPS WHILE DRIVING. THE WERE NO OBJECTS IN THE TIRE TO HAVE CAUSED THE TIRE TO POP. I PURCHASED THESE TWO TIRES LAST YEAR BECAUSE THE TIRES THAT I HAD PURCHASED A YEAR EARLIER WORE OUT.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 21
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds