Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA CAMRY - 2013 TOYOTA CAMRY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 155 complaints filed for the 2013 TOYOTA CAMRY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 TOYOTA CAMRY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 TOYOTA CAMRY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (25) Equipment (2) Seat Belts (2) Suspension (4) Vehicle Speed Control (24)
Electrical System (20) Exterior Lighting (3) Seats (3) Tires (1) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Service Brakes (13) Traction Control System (1) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (15) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Steering (19) Unknown Or Other (17) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Power Train (34) Structure (17)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

5/14/2018 - HOLTVILLE, CA
THE STEERING WHEEL GETS HARD TO MOVE AND APPEARS THAT THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM TURNS OFF WHILE DRIVING, YET CAR CONTINUES GOING. BUT WHEN THIS HAPPENS, STEERING WHEEL IS HARD TO MOVE AND RADIO, A.C. GOES OFF WHILE EVERYTHING ELSE IS ON MOTION AND MAINLY WHILE TURNING, IT HAS HAPPENED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE FIRST TIMES ABOUT 2 YEARS AGO, BUT NEVER AGAIN, THEN IT STARTED HAPPENING AGAIN THIS LAST 2 WEEKS. HOWEVER, YESTERDAY IT HAPPENED MORE THAN 10 TIMES IN 1 HOUR, VERY SCARY. MY HUSBAND TOOK IT YO THE DEALER LAS WEEK AND WAS TOLD THERE IS NO RECALL YET, ON THE INTERNET WE FOUND HUNDREDS OF CARS CAMRY REPORTED WITH SAME PROBLEM. IS SCARY.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/14/2018 - HYATTSVILLE, MD
SHUDDERING WHEN HITTING 2ND GEAR.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

4/30/2018 - ARLINGTON, TX
CAR SEEMS TO HAVE SLIGHT FUEL FEED PROBLEM - YOU CAN FEEL THE CAR SLIGHTLY HESITATING SOMETIMES WHEN JUST DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD. EVERY ONCE IN A WHILE, WHEN PULLING OUT ONTO BUSY BOULEVARD, AFTER YOU HAVE PULLED HALF WAY OUT IN THE ROAD, THE CAR WILL NOT GO, EVEN THO YOU ARE STEPPING ON THE GAS. THIS IS VERY SCARY, BECAUSE THE OTHER CARS ARE COMING AT YOU, AND THEY ARE EXPECTING YOU TO MOVE ON OUT OF THE WAY. THE PROBLEM IS INTERMITTENT: IT SEEMS TO HAPPEN MOSTLY AFTER THE CAR HAS BEEN DRIVEN A LITTLE BIT, LIKE GOING TO THE STORE, THEN CAR SITS FOR AWHILE, THEN YOU GET BACK IN AND DRIVE, AND THAT IS WHEN IT HAPPENS.

View Details

ENGINE

4/30/2018 - ARLINGTON, TX
CAR SEEMS TO HAVE SLIGHT FUEL FEED PROBLEM - YOU CAN FEEL THE CAR SLIGHTLY HESITATING SOMETIMES WHEN JUST DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD. EVERY ONCE IN A WHILE, WHEN PULLING OUT ONTO BUSY BOULEVARD, AFTER YOU HAVE PULLED HALF WAY OUT IN THE ROAD, THE CAR WILL NOT GO, EVEN THO YOU ARE STEPPING ON THE GAS. THIS IS VERY SCARY, BECAUSE THE OTHER CARS ARE COMING AT YOU, AND THEY ARE EXPECTING YOU TO MOVE ON OUT OF THE WAY. THE PROBLEM IS INTERMITTENT: IT SEEMS TO HAPPEN MOSTLY AFTER THE CAR HAS BEEN DRIVEN A LITTLE BIT, LIKE GOING TO THE STORE, THEN CAR SITS FOR AWHILE, THEN YOU GET BACK IN AND DRIVE, AND THAT IS WHEN IT HAPPENS.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

4/29/2018 - ONAMIA, MN
MY WIFE DROVE MY 2013 TOYOTA CAMRY SE DOWN TO THE TWIN CITIES FOR A BRIDAL SHOWER ON SATURDAY AFTERNOON, APRIL 28, 2018. SHE HAD JUST GOTTEN ON TO I-494, DRIVING AT HIGHWAY SPEED, WHEN SHE HEARD WHAT SOUNDED LIKE A GUN SHOT. THE VISOR WAS OPEN, AND THE SUN ROOF WAS CLOSED, AND SHARDS OF TEMPERED GLASS RAINED IN ON HER. SHE WASN'T NEAR AN OVERPASS, OR NEAR ANY TRUCKS. NOR WAS SHE HIT BY ANY FLYING ROCK. SHE PULLED IN TO A GAS STATION, WHERE A NICE GENTLEMAN HELPED HER, BY SCOOPING OUT BROKEN GLASS, AND PUTTING A PIECE OF CARDBOARD INTO THE OPENING. AS SOON AS SHE TEXTED ME ABOUT IT, I GOOGLED "EXPLODING SUN ROOF," AND FOUND THAT THIS IS A PROBLEM THAT SEEMS TO OCCUR WITH A LOT MORE FREQUENCY, ESPECIALLY IN THE PAST FIVE YEARS. I'M JUST THANKFUL THAT SHE WASN'T INJURED IN ANY WAY, AND THAT SHE DIDN'T LOSE CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE. SHE SAYS IT WAS A VERY SCARY EXPERIENCE. SINCE THIS HAPPENED ON A SATURDAY, I'M NOT SURE IF THIS IS AN INSURANCE MATTER, OR IF THE DEALERSHIP WILL COVER THIS UNDER WARRANTY.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/13/2018 - PUNTA GORDA, FL
APRIL 13, 2018 MY 2013 TOYOTA CAMRY ENTIRE OVERHEAD CENTER ROOF CONSOLE BOX ASSEMBLY HAD TO BE REPLACED. THIS WAS REQUIRED DUE TO EXCESSIVE HEAT EXPOSURE CAUSING WARPING, CRACKING AND MELTING OF THE SMALL GREY PLASTIC FACING THAT HOUSES THE SMALL BLACK BUTTONS: 3 GARAGE DOOR BUTTONS, TWO INTERIOR INSIDE LIGHT BUTTONS FLANKED BY THE OPEN / CLOSE AND UP / DOWN BUTTONS. THIS WAS NEVER A PROBLEM IN ANY EXTREME WEATHER CONDITIONS SINCE IT WAS PURCHASED AS A NEW CAR UNTIL APRIL 10, 2018. THE ISSUE OCCURRED DURING HOT WHETHER WHERE THE CAR WAS PARKED IN AN OPEN RESIDENTIAL LOT WITH AND WITHOUT A SUN SCREEN VISOR. THE TOYOTA DEALER INSPECTED THE ASSEMBLY AND STATED THAT IT WAS NOT ABLE TO DETECT AN ELECTRICAL MALFUNCTION. THE DEALER SAID THIS SAME ISSUE OCCURRED IN 2 TO 3 OTHER TOYOTA CAMRYS AT THAT DEALERSHIP WHERE THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO ESTABLISH AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM. MY CONCERN IS / WAS THAT THE HEAT WAS SO INTENSE THAT THE PLASTIC FRAMING ABOUT 3+ BY 5+ WAS ACTUALLY MALLEABLE TO THE POINT THAT I COULD STRAIGHTEN OUT THE DEFORMED PIECES AND PUSH THE FRAME BACK INTO POSITION TO HOLD IN PLACE UNTIL THE NEXT TIME IT OVERHEATED AND FEEL OUT OF PLACE. THE CAR IS NOT UNDER EXTENDED WARRANT. BUT THE SAFETY CONCERN IS ABOUT SOME UNKNOWN CAUSE OF OVERHEATING THAT APPEARS TO BE FAR MORE THAN HOT WEATHER CONDITIONS. THE 2013 TOYOTA CAMRY ENTIRE OVERHEAD CENTER ROOF CONSOLE BOX ASSEMBLY PART NO. IS 63650-06432-B0. I PAID $223.90 FOR THE PART AND INSTALLATION OF THE FULL ASSEMBLY. NO WARRANTY OR GUARANTY IS OFFERED BY TOYOTA ON THE NEW INSTALLATION SHOULD THIS REOCCUR ANY TIME SOON. THE DEALER INDICATED THAT THERE ARE / HAVE BEEN RECALLS FOR THE SAME ISSUE ON TOYOTA FORERUNNERS BUT NOT ON 2013 CAMRYS. I BELIEVE THAT A POTENTIAL ELECTRICAL RECALL SHOULD BE INVESTIGATED FOR SAFETY REASONS. SEE 5 ATTACHMENTS

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

4/13/2018 - PUNTA GORDA, FL
APRIL 13, 2018 MY 2013 TOYOTA CAMRY ENTIRE OVERHEAD CENTER ROOF CONSOLE BOX ASSEMBLY HAD TO BE REPLACED. THIS WAS REQUIRED DUE TO EXCESSIVE HEAT EXPOSURE CAUSING WARPING, CRACKING AND MELTING OF THE SMALL GREY PLASTIC FACING THAT HOUSES THE SMALL BLACK BUTTONS: 3 GARAGE DOOR BUTTONS, TWO INTERIOR INSIDE LIGHT BUTTONS FLANKED BY THE OPEN / CLOSE AND UP / DOWN BUTTONS. THIS WAS NEVER A PROBLEM IN ANY EXTREME WEATHER CONDITIONS SINCE IT WAS PURCHASED AS A NEW CAR UNTIL APRIL 10, 2018. THE ISSUE OCCURRED DURING HOT WHETHER WHERE THE CAR WAS PARKED IN AN OPEN RESIDENTIAL LOT WITH AND WITHOUT A SUN SCREEN VISOR. THE TOYOTA DEALER INSPECTED THE ASSEMBLY AND STATED THAT IT WAS NOT ABLE TO DETECT AN ELECTRICAL MALFUNCTION. THE DEALER SAID THIS SAME ISSUE OCCURRED IN 2 TO 3 OTHER TOYOTA CAMRYS AT THAT DEALERSHIP WHERE THE DEALER WAS UNABLE TO ESTABLISH AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM. MY CONCERN IS / WAS THAT THE HEAT WAS SO INTENSE THAT THE PLASTIC FRAMING ABOUT 3+ BY 5+ WAS ACTUALLY MALLEABLE TO THE POINT THAT I COULD STRAIGHTEN OUT THE DEFORMED PIECES AND PUSH THE FRAME BACK INTO POSITION TO HOLD IN PLACE UNTIL THE NEXT TIME IT OVERHEATED AND FEEL OUT OF PLACE. THE CAR IS NOT UNDER EXTENDED WARRANT. BUT THE SAFETY CONCERN IS ABOUT SOME UNKNOWN CAUSE OF OVERHEATING THAT APPEARS TO BE FAR MORE THAN HOT WEATHER CONDITIONS. THE 2013 TOYOTA CAMRY ENTIRE OVERHEAD CENTER ROOF CONSOLE BOX ASSEMBLY PART NO. IS 63650-06432-B0. I PAID $223.90 FOR THE PART AND INSTALLATION OF THE FULL ASSEMBLY. NO WARRANTY OR GUARANTY IS OFFERED BY TOYOTA ON THE NEW INSTALLATION SHOULD THIS REOCCUR ANY TIME SOON. THE DEALER INDICATED THAT THERE ARE / HAVE BEEN RECALLS FOR THE SAME ISSUE ON TOYOTA FORERUNNERS BUT NOT ON 2013 CAMRYS. I BELIEVE THAT A POTENTIAL ELECTRICAL RECALL SHOULD BE INVESTIGATED FOR SAFETY REASONS. SEE 5 ATTACHMENTS

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

4/12/2018 - FARMERS BRANCH, TX
THE ELECTRICAL LOCKS HAVE NOT WORKED PROPERLY IN THE LAST YEAR. IT HAS BEEN A CONSISTENT ISSUE. IT STARTED WITH ONE LOCK AND THEN ANOTHER ONE HAD ISSUES UNTIL ALL FOUR DO NOT PROPERLY LOCK. THERE IS NO REASON WHY THIS SHOULD HAVE OCCURRED WHEN THE CAR WAS LESS THAN 4 YEARS OLD. THERE WAS A RECALL IN 2014 BUT I DID NOT RECEIVE A NOTICE ABOUT ISSUES WITH THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM. MOSTLY LIKELY BECAUSE THE RECALL CAMPAIGN DID NOT INCLUDE ALL CARS THAT WERE AFFECTED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/22/2018 - ST PAUL, MN
SHUDDER WHILE DRIVING UNDER LIGHT THROTTLE BETWEEN APPROXIMATELY 25-50 MPH. WHEN CAR IS STATIONARY IT HAS A LOW SHAKE

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

2/11/2018 - PRONCETON, NJ
WHILE DRIVING I SUDDENLY STARTED TO HEAR GRINDING ON THE FRONT ON BRAKING. IMMEDIATELY I ASSUMED ISSUES WITH BREAK PADS BUT PREVIOUS TO THIS THERE WAS NO WARNING OF ANY KIND FORM THE CAR SENSORS OR FROM A PREVIOUS SERVICE. FORTUNATELY I WAS CLOSE TO HOME AND A REPAIR SHOP. ASSUMING WORN BREAK PADS, I HAD ALL PADS REPLACED ON INSPECTING THE PADS IT WAS CLEAR THAT THERE WAS SOME QUALITY ISSUE TO ONE SET OF FRONT PADS AS ALL OTHER PADS WERE OF SAFE. IT SEEMS THAT THE PAD UNDER QUESTION BROKE APART WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS IN MOTION. I BELIEVE THIS IS PRODUCT QUALITY ISSUE. I HAVE RETAIN ALL THE PADS FOR INSPECTION OF REQUIRED.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 22
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds