Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA CAMRY - 2013 TOYOTA CAMRY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 115 complaints filed for the 2013 TOYOTA CAMRY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 TOYOTA CAMRY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 TOYOTA CAMRY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (17) Equipment (2) Seat Belts (2) Structure (15) Vehicle Speed Control (18)
Electrical System (12) Exterior Lighting (2) Seats (3) Suspension (3) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes (11) Traction Control System (1) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (12) Fuel System Gasoline (4) Steering (17) Unknown Or Other (10) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (4) Power Train (26)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/24/2016 - POWAY, CA
BOUGHT THIS USED TOYOTA CAMRY SE 2013 YESTERDAY WITH ONLY 30,000 MILES ON IT. RIGHT AWAY, I HEARD CREAKING NOISE COMING FROM THE CENTER OF THE DASHBOARD AND BY THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE. IT'S NOT VERY LOUD BUT CAN BE HEARD AND VERY ANNOYING. IT'S AUDIBLE WHEN CAR IS IN MOTION ESPECIALLY WHEN STEPPING ON THE GAS, BRAKES AND WHEN TURNING. NOT NORMAL FOR A 3 YEAR OLD TO HAVE THIS INTERMITTENT AND ANNOYING CREAKING SOUND. I IMMEDIATELY RESEARCHED ON IT AND TO MY SHOCK, THERE'S A LOT OF BLOGS AND POSTED VIDEOS ON THIS SAME EXACT ISSUE OF CREAKING SOUND BY THE DASHBOARD AND FRONT PASSENGER SEAT FOR MOST VEHICLES OF TOYOTA REGARDLESS OF MODEL AND DOMINANT ON THOSE MANUFACTURED SINCE 2013. TOYOTA SHOULD HAVE A FIX ON THIS SINCE THIS IS A THREE YEAR OLD ISSUE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/24/2016 - POWAY, CA
BOUGHT THIS USED TOYOTA CAMRY SE 2013 YESTERDAY WITH ONLY 30,000 MILES ON IT. RIGHT AWAY, I HEARD CREAKING NOISE COMING FROM THE CENTER OF THE DASHBOARD AND BY THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE. IT'S NOT VERY LOUD BUT CAN BE HEARD AND VERY ANNOYING. IT'S AUDIBLE WHEN CAR IS IN MOTION ESPECIALLY WHEN STEPPING ON THE GAS, BRAKES AND WHEN TURNING. NOT NORMAL FOR A 3 YEAR OLD TO HAVE THIS INTERMITTENT AND ANNOYING CREAKING SOUND. I IMMEDIATELY RESEARCHED ON IT AND TO MY SHOCK, THERE'S A LOT OF BLOGS AND POSTED VIDEOS ON THIS SAME EXACT ISSUE OF CREAKING SOUND BY THE DASHBOARD AND FRONT PASSENGER SEAT FOR MOST VEHICLES OF TOYOTA REGARDLESS OF MODEL AND DOMINANT ON THOSE MANUFACTURED SINCE 2013. TOYOTA SHOULD HAVE A FIX ON THIS SINCE THIS IS A THREE YEAR OLD ISSUE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/23/2016 - LAS VEGAS, NV
PURCHASED CAR IN APRIL WITH 14,000 MILES. VEHICLE HESITATES AT RANDOM TIMES - THIS IS ESPECIALLY DANGEROUS WHEN MAKING A LEFT TURN AT A BUSY INTERSECTION. ONE TIME I WAS THE 3RD CAR BACK AT BUSY INTERSECTION WITH NO LEFT TURN ARROW. WHEN IT WAS MY TURN TO GO THE CAR WOULD BARELY MOVE. I WAS FORTUNATE THAT ALL THE CARS IN THE OTHER DIRECTION WAITED UNTIL I CLEARED THE INTERSECTION BEFORE GOING. WHEN THE TRAFFIC LIGHT CHANGES FROM GREEN TO RED, YOU ARE IN DANGER OF BEING HIT BY ANOTHER CAR BECAUSE YOU'RE STILL IN THE MIDDLE OF THE INTERSECTION. I CALLED THE DEALER SERVICE DEPART AND WAS TOLD BECAUSE THE PROBLEM IS RANDOM ALL THEY COULD DO WAS HAVE A TECH GO ON A RIDE ALONG AND SEE IF IT HAPPENED. I TEST DROVE THE CAR 3 TIMES BEFORE BUYING IT. I WAS NOT AWARE OF THIS PROBLEM OR I WOULD NOT HAVE BOUGHT THIS CAR. MY PREVIOUS CAR WAS A 2003 CAMRY AND I NEVER HAD ONE MINUTE OF TROUBLE WITH IT. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION - SOMEONE COULD BE KILLED OR VERY BADLY INJURED - AND NEEDS TO BE INVESTIGATED ASAP.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

6/17/2016 - MOBILE, AL
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2013 TOYOTA CAMRY. WHILE DRIVING AT A LOW SPEED, THE VEHICLE INDEPENDENTLY ACCELERATED. IN ADDITION, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AND THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, BUT FAILED TO RESPOND. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO A POLE. THE CONTACT WAS UNSURE IF THE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE LEGS, BACK, AND LEFT ARM THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED AND DEEMED DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN AND FAILURE MILEAGE WERE UNKNOWN.

View Details

STEERING

6/17/2016 - MOBILE, AL
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2013 TOYOTA CAMRY. WHILE DRIVING AT A LOW SPEED, THE VEHICLE INDEPENDENTLY ACCELERATED. IN ADDITION, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AND THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, BUT FAILED TO RESPOND. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO A POLE. THE CONTACT WAS UNSURE IF THE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE LEGS, BACK, AND LEFT ARM THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED AND DEEMED DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN AND FAILURE MILEAGE WERE UNKNOWN.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/17/2016 - MOBILE, AL
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2013 TOYOTA CAMRY. WHILE DRIVING AT A LOW SPEED, THE VEHICLE INDEPENDENTLY ACCELERATED. IN ADDITION, THE STEERING WHEEL SEIZED AND THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED, BUT FAILED TO RESPOND. AS A RESULT, THE CONTACT CRASHED INTO A POLE. THE CONTACT WAS UNSURE IF THE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED INJURIES TO THE LEGS, BACK, AND LEFT ARM THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED AND DEEMED DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN AND FAILURE MILEAGE WERE UNKNOWN.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/4/2016 - VALLEY, AL
WHEN I AM DRIVING WHILE USING MY CRUISE CONTROL I'VE NOTICE THE CAR WOULD SPEED UP OR SLOW DOWN ON IT"S OWN. IT HAPPENS VERY OFTEN. SO I JUST QUIT USING MY CRUISE CONTROL FOR FEAR OF SOMETHING WORSE HAPPENING.THIS HAS BEEN GOING ON EVER SINCE I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/17/2016 - LOGANVILLE, GA
WHEN ACCELERATING FROM A STOP THE VEHICLE WILL SOMETIMES MOVE ABOUT 10 FEET AND THEN HESITATE FOR ABOUT 1 TO 2 SECONDS. IT WILL THEN ACCELERATE NORMALLY. THIS HAPPENS ALL THE TIME. THE INTERMITTENT HESITATION IS VERY DANGEROUS WHEN TRYING TO CROSS A BUSY INTERSECTION WHEN THE CROSS TRAFFIC IS UNCONTROLLED. THIS CONDITION IS DANGEROUS AND NOT NORMAL. THIS IS MY FAMILY CAR AND I USE IT TRANSPORT MY TWIN 9 YEAR OLD DAUGHTER AND SCARED THIS CONDITION IS GOING TO CAUSE AN ACCIDENT AS IT HAS ALREADY ALMOST HAS AS I WAS CROSSING AN INTERSECTION IT STALLED AND I WAS ALMOST HIT BY ONCOMING CARS. I LOVE THE CAR BUT I AM SCARED FOR MY FAMILY'S LIFE WHEN USING THE CAR. IT HAPPENS EVERY TIME I DRIVE THE VEHICLE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/6/2016 - AUSTELL, GA
PURCHASED NEW CAMRY IN JUNE 2013 AND WHEN THE AC IS ON THERE IS A MOLD AND MILDEW SMELL THAT COMES FROM THE UNIT. SOMETIMES IT MAKES ME COUGH AND IT IRIRATES MY EYES. THE DEALERSHIP SAID TOYOTA KNOWS ABOUT THE PROBLEM BUT HAS NOT FOUND A FIX FOR IT SO THEY WILL SIMPLY DEODORIZE THE SYSTEM EVER NOW AND THEN. LAST DEODORIZING WAS AUGUSTAUGUST 2014 BUT TODAY THE DEALERSHIP SAID THEY DON'T KNOW WHAT I'M TALKING ABOUT. THE SMELL IS HORRIBLE EVERYTIME THE CAR IS STARTED AND THE AC IS ON THEN AFTER A WHILE THE SMELLS DECREASES. I READ THERE IS A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT FOR THIS SO TOYOTA DEFINITELY KNOWS ABOUT THIS EMBARRASSING ODOR.

View Details

STEERING

3/18/2016 - SAN ANTONIO, TX
WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE EITHER ON A CITY STREET OR HIGHWAY OR TURNING THE VEHICLE COMES TO A COMPLETE STOP. NOTHING WORKS, CAR WONT START , KEY WILL NOT MOVE, GEAR IS STUCK. THIS HAS HAPPEN THREE TIMES WITHIN A YEAR. THE DEALER HAS CHECK IT OUT BUT HAS NO ANSWER TO WHY IT HAPPENS. MY AIR-CONDITION FOGS UP THE WINDOW, AS SO DOES THE HEATER MAKING THE VISIBILITY DIFFICULT. THERE WAS ALSO A STRONG ODOR OF GAS WHEN YOU MAKE A TURN. ALL MY COMPLAINTS HAVE BEEN REPORTED BUT NOTHING DONE. MY FEAR IS A MAJOR ACCIDENT WILL BE CAUSE BECAUSE OF THIS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds