Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA CAMRY - 2013 TOYOTA CAMRY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 71 complaints filed for the 2013 TOYOTA CAMRY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2013 TOYOTA CAMRY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2013 TOYOTA CAMRY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (12) Equipment (1) Power Train (11) Steering (13) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (8) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (1) Structure (8) Visibility (3)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seats (3) Traction Control System (1) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (7) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (5) Unknown Or Other (8) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

12/5/2014 - DOUGLASVILLE, GA
MY NEPHEW WAS DRIVING MY CAR (2013 CAMRY) ON I-85 NORTHBOUND IN AUBURN ALABAMA. HE SAID HE WAS GOING 60 OR 65 MPH. THE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED WITHOUT ANY TYPE OF IMPACT. THERE WAS A RECALL ON MY AIR BAGS AND IT WAS REPAIRED JULY 10, 2014 BY TOYOTA. THE AIR BAGS STILLED DEPLOYED ON OCT. 27, 2014, ALL AIR BAGS DEPLOYED EXCEPT FOR THE PASSAGE BAG. MY NEPHEW WAS THE ONLY PERSON IN THE CAR. MY CASE NUMBER WITH TOYOTA IS #1410281406. THANK YOU MELINDA BROTHERS 404-254-8308

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/19/2014 - ROHNERT PARK, CA
I WAS INVOLVED IN A HEAD ON COLLISION ON 10/19/14. THE ADVERSE DRIVER TURNED LEFT IN FRONT OF ME AND HIT THE FRONT OF MY 2013 TOYOTA CAMRY, PUSHING THE CAR UP OVER THE CURB. THE STEERING WHEEL AIRBAG DEPLOYED AS DID THE AIRBAG FROM UNDER THE DASH. THE DEPLOYMENT OF THE LOWER AIRBAG CAUSED A LARGE HEMATOMA ON MY RIGHT SHIN, AND AN OPEN LACERATION/BURN AND HEMATOMA ON MY LEFT SHIN WHICH BECAME INFECTED. THE WOUNDS ARE DOCUMENTED IN THE AMBULANCE REPORT, HOSPITAL REPORT AND REPORT FROM MY TREATING PHYSICIAN WHO PRESCRIBED MEDICATIONS TO REDUCE THE INFECTION. THE CAR WAS SUBSEQUENTLY ASSESSED A TOTAL LOSS AND SOLD TO MY INSURANCE COMPANY. I RETAIN PHOTOGRAPHS OF THE DAMAGED VEHICLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/14/2014 - CHICKASHA, OK
WHEN ACCELERATING FROM A STOP THE VEHICLE WILL SOMETIMES MOVE ABOUT 10 FEET AND THEN HESITATE FOR ABOUT 1 TO 2 SECONDS. IT WILL THEN ACCELERATE NORMALLY. ONE TIME THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED TO ABOUT 20 MPH AND THEN THE ENGINE RPM RETURNED TO IDLE. THE ACCELERATOR WAS PUSHED TO THE FLOOR AND THE RPM REMAINED AT IDLE. THE ACCELERATOR WAS RELEASED AND PUSHED DOWN AGAIN. THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED NORMALLY. THIS HAPPENED ONLY ONE TIME. THE INTERMITTENT HESITATION IS VERY DANGEROUS WHEN TRYING TO CROSS A BUSY INTERSECTION WHEN THE CROSS TRAFFIC IS UNCONTROLLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR THE PROBLEM. THE TECHNICIAN COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE CONDITION. THE U760E TORQUE CONVERTER SHUDDER RECALL UPGRADE WAS PERFORMED. THIS DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. THE SERVICE ADVISOR SAID THAT THE TECHNICIAN SAID THAT SOME TRANSMISSION HESITATION WAS NORMAL. THE SERVICE ADVISOR ALSO SAID THERE HAD BEEN OTHER COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS CONDITION. THERE ARE ALSO COMPLAINTS ON THE ONLINE AUTOMOBILE FORUMS. THIS CONDITION IS DANGEROUS AND NOT NORMAL.

View Details

ENGINE

11/14/2014 - CHICKASHA, OK
WHEN ACCELERATING FROM A STOP THE VEHICLE WILL SOMETIMES MOVE ABOUT 10 FEET AND THEN HESITATE FOR ABOUT 1 TO 2 SECONDS. IT WILL THEN ACCELERATE NORMALLY. ONE TIME THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED TO ABOUT 20 MPH AND THEN THE ENGINE RPM RETURNED TO IDLE. THE ACCELERATOR WAS PUSHED TO THE FLOOR AND THE RPM REMAINED AT IDLE. THE ACCELERATOR WAS RELEASED AND PUSHED DOWN AGAIN. THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED NORMALLY. THIS HAPPENED ONLY ONE TIME. THE INTERMITTENT HESITATION IS VERY DANGEROUS WHEN TRYING TO CROSS A BUSY INTERSECTION WHEN THE CROSS TRAFFIC IS UNCONTROLLED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR THE PROBLEM. THE TECHNICIAN COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE CONDITION. THE U760E TORQUE CONVERTER SHUDDER RECALL UPGRADE WAS PERFORMED. THIS DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM. THE SERVICE ADVISOR SAID THAT THE TECHNICIAN SAID THAT SOME TRANSMISSION HESITATION WAS NORMAL. THE SERVICE ADVISOR ALSO SAID THERE HAD BEEN OTHER COMPLAINTS ABOUT THIS CONDITION. THERE ARE ALSO COMPLAINTS ON THE ONLINE AUTOMOBILE FORUMS. THIS CONDITION IS DANGEROUS AND NOT NORMAL.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/25/2014 - BURBANK, CA
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 TOYOTA CAMRY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE REVERSING, THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED BUT THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO CRASH INTO A CEMENT WALL. IN ADDITION, AFTER CRASHING INTO THE CEMENT WALL, THE CONTACT ATTEMPTED TO MOVE THE VEHICLE FORWARD AND THE VEHICLE OVER ACCELERATED CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO CRASH INTO ANOTHER WALL. THE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED ON THE SECOND IMPACT. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT SUSTAINED BRUISING AND THE REAR PASSENGER SUSTAINED BRUISING WHICH BOTH DID NOT REQUIRE MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 20,000. DJR

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/2/2014 - FOLSOM, CA
I HEARD THIS PERSISTENT MODERATELY LOUD KNOCKING NOISE, WHICH SOUNDED LIKED IT WAS ACTUALLY COMING FROM THE FRONT LEFT(?) WHEEL AREA. AS SOON AS YOU START DRIVING, THE KNOCKING SOUND OCCURS, STOPS, AND STOPS AGAIN. IT IS MOST PERSISTENT WHILE DRIVING OVER UNEVEN STREET PAVEMENT.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

10/2/2014 - FOLSOM, CA
I HEARD THIS PERSISTENT MODERATELY LOUD KNOCKING NOISE, WHICH SOUNDED LIKED IT WAS ACTUALLY COMING FROM THE FRONT LEFT(?) WHEEL AREA. AS SOON AS YOU START DRIVING, THE KNOCKING SOUND OCCURS, STOPS, AND STOPS AGAIN. IT IS MOST PERSISTENT WHILE DRIVING OVER UNEVEN STREET PAVEMENT.

View Details

STEERING

9/30/2014 - VICKSBURG, MS
I WOULD LIKE TO STATE THAT MY CAR REQUIRES CONSTANT STEERING. IT WILL NOT CONTINUE IN A STRAIGHT LINE. IT WILL ALWAYS DRIFT IN THE APPOSITE DIRECTION OF THE LAST CORRECTION. TO DATE I HAVE 11,400 MILES ON THE CAR.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/15/2014 - CENTREVILLE, VA
DURING A PANIC STOP ON DRY PAVEMENT, AFTER THE ABS BRAKES PULSED THREE TIMES, AT LEAST THE TWO FRONT BRAKES LOCKED UP CAUSING THE CAR TO SKID. I COULD NOT TELL IF THE REAR BRAKES LOCKED UP. WROTE TOYOTA CUSTOMER SERVICE ABOUT THE ISSUE. THE CASE NUMBER IS 1409112221. MY BRAKES WERE INSPECTED BY MY LOCAL TOYOTA DEALER WHO REPORTED TO ME THAT DURING A HEALTH CHECK OF THE BRAKING SYSTEM THEY FOUND NOTHING WRONG. THE MECHANIC AND SERVICE MANAGER STATED TO ME THAT DURING HARD STOPS THE ABS BRAKES MAY LOCK UP. I THOUGHT ABS STOOD FOR ANTI LOCK BRAKING SYSTEM.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

9/12/2014 - ROSEVILLE, MN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2013 TOYOTA CAMRY. AFTER READING A PUBLICATION, THE CONTACT REALIZED THAT THE VEHICLE HAD A DEFECTIVE FRONT END STRUCTURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 2,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds