Auto Recalls for Consumers

BMW X3 - 2014 BMW X3 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 25 complaints filed for the 2014 BMW X3

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 BMW X3. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 BMW X3, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Engine (1) Service Brakes (6) Structure (1) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (6) Exterior Lighting (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (1) Wheels (1)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Power Train (2) Steering (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  ... 3
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

11/10/2018 - WASILLA, AK
VEHICLE INTERMITTENTLY LOST POWER IN MOTION ON A HIGHWAY CAUSING THE SPEED TO DROP AT TIMES FROM 55 TO 45 UNTIL SLOWING DOWN TO A STOP AND INTERMITTENTLY CAUSED RANDOM ALERTS TO COME ON SUCH AS "DOOR OPEN" WHEN DRIVING WHEN DOOR WAS LOCKED/NOT OPENED OR POWERTRAIN ALERT OR CHASSIS STABILIZER ALERT. THIS HAPPENED PRIOR TO HID INSTALLS BUT OCCURRED MORE FREQUENTLY WITH HID INSTALLMENT. DEALERSHIP DISCOVERED THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL MODULE WAS FAULTY. VERY UNSAFE. APPARENTLY THE EXTRA VOLTAGE FROM THE LIGHTS WAS THE REASON FOR THE INCREASED DURATION FOR THIS FAULTY ISSUE. MULTIPLE REPORTS OF THIS ON FORUMS. CAR IS ONLY AT 46K.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/10/2018 - WASILLA, AK
VEHICLE INTERMITTENTLY LOST POWER IN MOTION ON A HIGHWAY CAUSING THE SPEED TO DROP AT TIMES FROM 55 TO 45 UNTIL SLOWING DOWN TO A STOP AND INTERMITTENTLY CAUSED RANDOM ALERTS TO COME ON SUCH AS "DOOR OPEN" WHEN DRIVING WHEN DOOR WAS LOCKED/NOT OPENED OR POWERTRAIN ALERT OR CHASSIS STABILIZER ALERT. THIS HAPPENED PRIOR TO HID INSTALLS BUT OCCURRED MORE FREQUENTLY WITH HID INSTALLMENT. DEALERSHIP DISCOVERED THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL MODULE WAS FAULTY. VERY UNSAFE. APPARENTLY THE EXTRA VOLTAGE FROM THE LIGHTS WAS THE REASON FOR THE INCREASED DURATION FOR THIS FAULTY ISSUE. MULTIPLE REPORTS OF THIS ON FORUMS. CAR IS ONLY AT 46K.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/10/2018 - WASILLA, AK
VEHICLE INTERMITTENTLY LOST POWER IN MOTION ON A HIGHWAY CAUSING THE SPEED TO DROP AT TIMES FROM 55 TO 45 UNTIL SLOWING DOWN TO A STOP AND INTERMITTENTLY CAUSED RANDOM ALERTS TO COME ON SUCH AS "DOOR OPEN" WHEN DRIVING WHEN DOOR WAS LOCKED/NOT OPENED OR POWERTRAIN ALERT OR CHASSIS STABILIZER ALERT. THIS HAPPENED PRIOR TO HID INSTALLS BUT OCCURRED MORE FREQUENTLY WITH HID INSTALLMENT. DEALERSHIP DISCOVERED THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL MODULE WAS FAULTY. VERY UNSAFE. APPARENTLY THE EXTRA VOLTAGE FROM THE LIGHTS WAS THE REASON FOR THE INCREASED DURATION FOR THIS FAULTY ISSUE. MULTIPLE REPORTS OF THIS ON FORUMS. CAR IS ONLY AT 46K.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/9/2018 - COLMBUS, OH
TAIL LIGHT FAILURE DUE TO A MANUFACTURING DEFECT. LED DRIVER BOARDS ARE FAILING DUE TO BAD SOLDER CONNECTIONS, COMPONENTS DO NOT FAIL BUT THE ASSEMBLY DOES. I BELIEVE THE DEFECTIVE SOLDER JOINTS ARE PROBABLY DUE TO CONTAMINATION ON THE BARE CIRCUIT BOARD. I'VE REPAIRED MINE (ALBEIT PROBABLY ONLY TEMPORARILY DUE TO THE CONTAMINATION). THE FAILED JOINT ON MY ASSEMBLY WAS EXACTLY THE SAME ONE IDENTIFIED IN THIS YOUTUBE VIDEO I FOUND AT HTTPS://WWW.YOUTUBE.COM/WATCH?V=JDPBM6CP_YO IT'S APPARENTLY A VERY COMMON PROBLEM, SO MUCH SO THAT THERE ARE MULTIPLE SOURCES FOR REPLACEMENT MODULES COMMON ON THE INTERNET (DO A SEARCH ON B003809.2 AND YOU'LL SEE WHAT I MEAN), EVEN THOUGH THE MODULES ARE "NOT REPLACEABLE," ACCORDING TO BMW. BMW CHARGES HUNDREDS OF DOLLARS TO REPLACE THE WHOLE TAIL LIGHT ASSEMBLY EVEN THOUGH IT IS OBVIOUSLY A MANUFACTURING DEFECT, NOT A WEAR OUT PROBLEM. FAILURE OF THE LED DRIVE DISABLES THE TAIL LIGHT ASSEMBLY WHICH IS CLEARLY A SAFETY ISSUE. THE PREPONDERANCE OF PREMATURE FAILURES DUE TO A MANUFACTURING DEFECT NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED BY THE MANUFACTURER BUT THEY ARE NOT DOING ANYTHING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/24/2018 - TAMPA, FL
GEAR SHIFT PARKING HAZARD ROLL BACK OR SAFETY WHEN PARKING

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

10/24/2018 - TAMPA FL, FL
AS AN ELECTRICAL VEHICLE I RAN OUT OF GAS AND WAS NOT ABLE TO PUT MY VEHICLE IN MANUAL NEUTRAL AND THE VEHICLE AUTOMATICALLY WENT INTO PARK WHICH IF A LOT OF ONCOMING TRAFFIC WAS COMING I WOULD HAVE BEEN HIT. SAFETY HAZARD FOR NOT GEAR SHIFT TO PRESS FOR PARKING

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/24/2018 - TAMPA FL, FL
AS AN ELECTRICAL VEHICLE I RAN OUT OF GAS AND WAS NOT ABLE TO PUT MY VEHICLE IN MANUAL NEUTRAL AND THE VEHICLE AUTOMATICALLY WENT INTO PARK WHICH IF A LOT OF ONCOMING TRAFFIC WAS COMING I WOULD HAVE BEEN HIT. SAFETY HAZARD FOR NOT GEAR SHIFT TO PRESS FOR PARKING

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

10/18/2018 - CUMMING, GA
REAR BRAKE LIGHT CONTINUE TO GO OUT INTERMITTENTLY. VEHICLE SOMETIMES DISPLAYS THE WARNING MESSAGE ON THE DASH ONLY A PORTION OF THE TIME. WHEN THE LIGHT DOES COME ON, IT IS ABOUT 5-10 MINUTES AFTER STARTING THE CAR AND DRIVING IT A FEW MILES. TOOK MY X3 TO A SERVICE CENTER IN ATLANTA WHERE I WAS TOLD THEY COULDN+T FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH THE BRAKE LIGHTS. WARNING LIGHT RETURNED 48 HOURS LATER. AFTER SOME RESEARCH, IT SEEMS LIKE MY 2014 X3 IS NOT THE ONLY ONE WITH THIS ISSUE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/4/2018 - ELK GROVE, CA
DRIVING ON 3 LANE ROAD TRAVELING APPROX 20-30 MILES PER HR CARS AHEAD OF ME STOPPED AND I APPLIED THE BREAKS AND NOTHING HAPPENED, CAR KEPT GOING AND I HIT THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME. SEEMED LIKE THE CAR DIDN'T EVEN SLOW DOWN.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

9/28/2018 - PLEASANTON, CA
TAIL LIGHT STOPPED FUNCTIONING . BASED ON RESEARCH ON INTERNET , IT SEEMS, ITS DUE TO FAULTY LIGHT CONTROLLER. THIS SEEMS TO BE COMMON PROBLEM . THIS IS REAL SAFETY ISSUE AS IT CAN HAPPEN ANYTIME, I AM PROVIDING ONE OF THE LINKS FOR REFERENCE : HTTP://WWW.CARPROBLEMZOO.COM/BMW/X3/TAIL-LIGHT-SWITCH-PROBLEMS.PHP

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  ... 3
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds