Auto Recalls for Consumers

BMW X3 - 2014 BMW X3 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by BMW of North America, LLC

There are 29 complaints filed for the 2014 BMW X3

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 BMW X3. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 BMW X3, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (2) Engine (3) Service Brakes (6) Structure (1) Unknown Or Other (2)
Electrical System (7) Exterior Lighting (5) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (2) Wheels (1)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Power Train (2) Steering (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  ... 3
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

4/20/2019 - WEST SIMSBURY, CT
ENGINE BEGAN MAKING CLANKING NOISE WHILE DRIVING ON HIGHWAY AND RAPIDLY WORSENED. ENGINE STARTED LOSING PROPULSION POWER AND I PULLED OVER. CAR TOWED TO MECHANIC. OIL FILTER INSPECTED AND WAS COVERED IN METAL SHAVINGS. INFORMED THAT THE BMW N20 ENGINE CAN EXPERIENCE A PREMATURE TIMING CHAIN OR OIL PUMP DRIVE CHAIN FAILURE OUTSIDE OF THE LIMITED POWER TRAIN WARRANTY PERIOD AND UNANTICIPATED ENGINE TIMING CHAIN OR OIL PUMP DRIVE CHAIN FAILURE MAY RESULT IN EXTENSIVE ENGINE DAMAGE (APPLICABLE TO MY VEHICLE) AND COULD HAVE RESULTED IN SERIOUS SAFETY HAZARD WHILE DRIVING ON CONGESTED HIGHWAYS. MY ENGINE HAS BEEN DIAGNOSED AS FAILED AND REQUIRES A NEW ENGINE. MY VEHICLE HAD 76,000 MILES AT TIME OF FAILURE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/18/2019 - WORTH, IL
RECEIVED MULTIPLE ERROR MESSAGES "BATTERY DISCHARGING WHILE STOPPED" AND "INCREASED BATTERY DISCHARGE". I SMELLED BURNING PLASTIC. NEXT DAY I RECEIVED ERROR THE TPM HAS MALFUNCTIONED. I CONTACTED MY SERVICING DEALER AND EXPLAINED THE PROBLEM. HE STATED HE SEES THIS ALL THE TIME AND THE COST TO REPAIR IS $324 FOR A NEW RDC MODULE + ONE HOUR LABOR + TWO HOURS TO REPROGRAM. I REMOVED THE RDC MODULE AND FOUND EXTREME MOISTURE DAMAGE AND MELTED PLASTIC NEAR THE CONNECTOR IN THE MODULE. IN THE ATTACHED PHOTO, I ATTEMPTED TO CLEAN OFF CORROSION. AFTER MORE RESEARCH I FOUND A BMW TRAINING MANUAL DESCRIBING THE MODULE AND IT STATES THE MODULE IS WATER-PROOF.

View Details

ENGINE

11/26/2018 - PITTSBURGH, PA
DEAR NHTSA, THE OIL-FEED LINE FOR THE TURBO ON THE (N20) ENGINE OF THE 2014 BMW X3 WAS REPLACED DUE TO LEAKING OIL INTO THE ENGINE. THE CAR WAS BLOWING WHITE SMOKE WHEN IDLING OR DRIVING, INDICATIVE OF BURNING OIL. THIS BMW X3 HAS THE STANDARD, COMMON N20 ENGINE AND ONLY 37,000 MILES. UNFORTUNATELY THE REPAIR WAS DONE OUTSIDE THE STANDARD 4 YEAR WARRANTY PERIOD. YET THIS TURBO-OIL LINE FAILURE IS A WELL-KNOWN AND COMMON DEFECT. BMW HAS ISSUED "SERVICE BULLETINS" AND EXTENDED THE WARRANTY ON THE 2012 AND 2013 MODELS FOR THIS EXPRESS ISSUE. THE SERVICE BULLETIN IS ATTACHED. THEY ARE REFUSING TO COVER THE 2015 MODEL ALTHOUGH IT IS THE SAME ENGINE DEFECT. BY 2015 BMW HAD RE-ENGINEERED THE TURBO- OIL-LINE WITH A BETTER CHECK-VALVE. WOULD NHTSA OPEN AN INQUIRY ON THE 2014 MODEL N20 TURBO OIL-LINE DEFECT PLEASE? SINCERELY, AARON RATH PITTSBURGH

View Details

TIRES: PRESSURE MONITORING AND REGULATING SYSTEMS

11/20/2018 - EVERGREEN, CO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 BMW X3. WHEN THE OUTSIDE TEMPERATURE DROPPED, THE TIRE PRESSURE SENSOR GOES OFF AND THE WARNING SENSORS ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL. THE VEHICLE HAD TO BE STOPPED TO RESET THE PANEL, WHICH COULD DISTRACT THE CONTACT WHILE DRIVING. THE CONTACT LIVED AT A HIGH ALTITUDE THAT CAUSED THE SENSORS TO GO OFF. THE DEALER (SCHOMP BMW, 1190 PLUM VALLEY LN, HIGHLANDS RANCH, CO 80129, (303) 730-1300) WAS CALLED AND STATED THAT THEY WERE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE CONTACT INQUIRED IF THE TIRE SENSOR SYSTEM COULD BE DISASSEMBLED, BUT THE DEALER DID NOT RETURN HIS CALL. THE MANUFACTURER WAS CALLED AND PROVIDED A CASE NUMBER. THEY ALSO DID NOT RETURN THE CONTACT'S CALLS. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 14,000.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

11/10/2018 - WASILLA, AK
VEHICLE INTERMITTENTLY LOST POWER IN MOTION ON A HIGHWAY CAUSING THE SPEED TO DROP AT TIMES FROM 55 TO 45 UNTIL SLOWING DOWN TO A STOP AND INTERMITTENTLY CAUSED RANDOM ALERTS TO COME ON SUCH AS "DOOR OPEN" WHEN DRIVING WHEN DOOR WAS LOCKED/NOT OPENED OR POWERTRAIN ALERT OR CHASSIS STABILIZER ALERT. THIS HAPPENED PRIOR TO HID INSTALLS BUT OCCURRED MORE FREQUENTLY WITH HID INSTALLMENT. DEALERSHIP DISCOVERED THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL MODULE WAS FAULTY. VERY UNSAFE. APPARENTLY THE EXTRA VOLTAGE FROM THE LIGHTS WAS THE REASON FOR THE INCREASED DURATION FOR THIS FAULTY ISSUE. MULTIPLE REPORTS OF THIS ON FORUMS. CAR IS ONLY AT 46K.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

11/10/2018 - WASILLA, AK
VEHICLE INTERMITTENTLY LOST POWER IN MOTION ON A HIGHWAY CAUSING THE SPEED TO DROP AT TIMES FROM 55 TO 45 UNTIL SLOWING DOWN TO A STOP AND INTERMITTENTLY CAUSED RANDOM ALERTS TO COME ON SUCH AS "DOOR OPEN" WHEN DRIVING WHEN DOOR WAS LOCKED/NOT OPENED OR POWERTRAIN ALERT OR CHASSIS STABILIZER ALERT. THIS HAPPENED PRIOR TO HID INSTALLS BUT OCCURRED MORE FREQUENTLY WITH HID INSTALLMENT. DEALERSHIP DISCOVERED THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL MODULE WAS FAULTY. VERY UNSAFE. APPARENTLY THE EXTRA VOLTAGE FROM THE LIGHTS WAS THE REASON FOR THE INCREASED DURATION FOR THIS FAULTY ISSUE. MULTIPLE REPORTS OF THIS ON FORUMS. CAR IS ONLY AT 46K.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

11/10/2018 - WASILLA, AK
VEHICLE INTERMITTENTLY LOST POWER IN MOTION ON A HIGHWAY CAUSING THE SPEED TO DROP AT TIMES FROM 55 TO 45 UNTIL SLOWING DOWN TO A STOP AND INTERMITTENTLY CAUSED RANDOM ALERTS TO COME ON SUCH AS "DOOR OPEN" WHEN DRIVING WHEN DOOR WAS LOCKED/NOT OPENED OR POWERTRAIN ALERT OR CHASSIS STABILIZER ALERT. THIS HAPPENED PRIOR TO HID INSTALLS BUT OCCURRED MORE FREQUENTLY WITH HID INSTALLMENT. DEALERSHIP DISCOVERED THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL MODULE WAS FAULTY. VERY UNSAFE. APPARENTLY THE EXTRA VOLTAGE FROM THE LIGHTS WAS THE REASON FOR THE INCREASED DURATION FOR THIS FAULTY ISSUE. MULTIPLE REPORTS OF THIS ON FORUMS. CAR IS ONLY AT 46K.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/9/2018 - COLMBUS, OH
TAIL LIGHT FAILURE DUE TO A MANUFACTURING DEFECT. LED DRIVER BOARDS ARE FAILING DUE TO BAD SOLDER CONNECTIONS, COMPONENTS DO NOT FAIL BUT THE ASSEMBLY DOES. I BELIEVE THE DEFECTIVE SOLDER JOINTS ARE PROBABLY DUE TO CONTAMINATION ON THE BARE CIRCUIT BOARD. I'VE REPAIRED MINE (ALBEIT PROBABLY ONLY TEMPORARILY DUE TO THE CONTAMINATION). THE FAILED JOINT ON MY ASSEMBLY WAS EXACTLY THE SAME ONE IDENTIFIED IN THIS YOUTUBE VIDEO I FOUND AT HTTPS://WWW.YOUTUBE.COM/WATCH?V=JDPBM6CP_YO IT'S APPARENTLY A VERY COMMON PROBLEM, SO MUCH SO THAT THERE ARE MULTIPLE SOURCES FOR REPLACEMENT MODULES COMMON ON THE INTERNET (DO A SEARCH ON B003809.2 AND YOU'LL SEE WHAT I MEAN), EVEN THOUGH THE MODULES ARE "NOT REPLACEABLE," ACCORDING TO BMW. BMW CHARGES HUNDREDS OF DOLLARS TO REPLACE THE WHOLE TAIL LIGHT ASSEMBLY EVEN THOUGH IT IS OBVIOUSLY A MANUFACTURING DEFECT, NOT A WEAR OUT PROBLEM. FAILURE OF THE LED DRIVE DISABLES THE TAIL LIGHT ASSEMBLY WHICH IS CLEARLY A SAFETY ISSUE. THE PREPONDERANCE OF PREMATURE FAILURES DUE TO A MANUFACTURING DEFECT NEEDS TO BE ADDRESSED BY THE MANUFACTURER BUT THEY ARE NOT DOING ANYTHING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/24/2018 - TAMPA, FL
GEAR SHIFT PARKING HAZARD ROLL BACK OR SAFETY WHEN PARKING

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

10/24/2018 - TAMPA FL, FL
AS AN ELECTRICAL VEHICLE I RAN OUT OF GAS AND WAS NOT ABLE TO PUT MY VEHICLE IN MANUAL NEUTRAL AND THE VEHICLE AUTOMATICALLY WENT INTO PARK WHICH IF A LOT OF ONCOMING TRAFFIC WAS COMING I WOULD HAVE BEEN HIT. SAFETY HAZARD FOR NOT GEAR SHIFT TO PRESS FOR PARKING

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  ... 3
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds