Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 - 2014 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 756 complaints filed for the 2014 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (29) Equipment (6) Seat Belts (22) Structure (42) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Electrical System (150) Exterior Lighting (25) Seats (26) Suspension (29) Visibility (11)
Electronic Stability Control (107) Fuel Propulsion System (10) Service Brakes (145) Tires (7) Visibility Wiper (16)
Engine (92) Fuel System Gasoline (2) Service Brakes Hydraulic (2) Unknown Or Other (110) Wheels (14)
Engine And Engine Cooling (7) Power Train (66) Steering (208)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 113
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

7/19/2019 - STILLWATER, OK
TL THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE AIR CONDITIONER WAS BLOWING HOT AIR. THE CONTACT CALLED WILSON CHEVROLET (LOCATED AT 4850 W 6TH AVE, STILLWATER, OK 74074, (405) 334-5134) AND INFORMED THE DEALER ABOUT A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT. THE DEALER DID NOT ASSIST. THE VEHICLE WAS LATER TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHERE THE TECHNICIAN INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THERE MUST BE A LEAK BECAUSE THE FREON CONTAINER WAS ALMOST EMPTY. THE MECHANIC ADDED ALMOST A POUND OF FREON TO THE CONTAINER. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THREE TO FOUR DAYS LATER, THE FREON CONTAINER WAS EMPTY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO A DEALER AND WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 54,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/16/2019 - ST PETERS, MO
MY TRANSMISSION WENT OUT. I WAS DRIVING DOWN THE HIGHWAY AND I COULD FEEL IT SLIPPING. I MANAGED DO MAKE IT TO MY STREET AND IT LOCKED UP AND SKIDDED TO A HALT AS IF WAS THROWN INTO PARK EVEN THOUGH IT WAS IN DRIVE. REVERS WOULD NOT ENGAGE NOR WOULD DRIVE. THE TRUCK WOULD ROLL IN NEUTRAL. THE TRUCK IS ONLY A 2014 AND HAS 130000 MILES. MOST HWY MILES. IT IS CURRENTLY IN SHOP JAVING TRANSMISSION REBUILT. THIS EVENT HAPPENED YESTERDAY MORNING JULY 15TH 2019.

View Details

ENGINE

7/16/2019 - DEL CITY, OK
TURNED A CORNER WHILE BRAKING, THE ENGINE DIED, "SERVICE STABILITRAC SOON" ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL; DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD PULLING A LIGHT WEIGHT BOAT TRAILER, THE ENGINE DIED BUT CAME BACK ON IMMEDIATELY AND THE "SERVICE STABILITRAC" ILLUMINATED; PULLED INTO A PARKING LOT AND AS I TURNED ABOUT HALFWAY THROUGH THE TURN THE ENGINE DIED AND "SERVICE STABILITRAC SOON" ILLUMINATED. I TOOK TO THE TRUCK TO THE CHEVROLET DEALER AND THEY DIAGNOSED THE POSITIVE BATTERY TERMINAL WAS LOOSE AND THE POSITIVE CABLE HAD TOO MUCH RESISTANCE - $507.00 LATER AND APPROXIMATELY 10,000 MILES LATER REARED IT'S UGLY HEAD AGAIN. COMING BACK FROM A MORNING DRIVE TO THE LAKE AND THE 'SERVICE STABILITRAC' LIGHT ILLUMINATED BUT THE TRUCK DIDN'T DIE, A LITTLE FURTHER DOWN THE ROAD IT DID THE SAME THING AND DIED BUT STARTED RIGHT BACK UP ON ITS OWN WHILE DRIVING, STARTED TO BACK INTO MY DRIVEWAY AND IT DIED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD, TURNED THE IGNITION OFF AND ATTEMPTED TO START IT TWO OR THREE MORE TIMES, NOTHING!!! IT'S LIKE THERE WAS NO BATTERY INSTALLED. EVERY TIME THIS HAPPENS I LOSE STEERING, THE BRAKES SEEM TO FADE BUT I AM ABLE TO STOP ON THE SLOW TURNS LIKE INTO THE PARKING LOT. IN ALL INSTANCES THE VEHICLE WAS MOVING. ONE TIME I NOTICED AN INCREASE IN THE A/C SPEED WITHIN THE CAB AND THE 'SERVICE STABILITRAC' ILLUMINATED BUT AS SOON AS I TURNED ABOUT HALF WAY INTO A PARKING AREA, IT DIED, BUT CONTINUED TO PICK BACK UP ON THE ENGINE RUNNING. THE LOCAL DEALER HAD ALSO PERFOMED SOME SERVICE BULLETIN REGARDING THE CAMPAIGN FOR 'LOSS OF STEERING ASSIST' AT 19,340 MILES. THE VEHICLE CURRENTLY HAS 42,000 MILES..... THE DATE "WHEN DID THIS HAPPEN" WAS TODAY 7/16/2019 BUT THE OTHER TIMES WERE VARIOUS BEFORE THIS DATE.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

7/16/2019 - DEL CITY, OK
TURNED A CORNER WHILE BRAKING, THE ENGINE DIED, "SERVICE STABILITRAC SOON" ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL; DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD PULLING A LIGHT WEIGHT BOAT TRAILER, THE ENGINE DIED BUT CAME BACK ON IMMEDIATELY AND THE "SERVICE STABILITRAC" ILLUMINATED; PULLED INTO A PARKING LOT AND AS I TURNED ABOUT HALFWAY THROUGH THE TURN THE ENGINE DIED AND "SERVICE STABILITRAC SOON" ILLUMINATED. I TOOK TO THE TRUCK TO THE CHEVROLET DEALER AND THEY DIAGNOSED THE POSITIVE BATTERY TERMINAL WAS LOOSE AND THE POSITIVE CABLE HAD TOO MUCH RESISTANCE - $507.00 LATER AND APPROXIMATELY 10,000 MILES LATER REARED IT'S UGLY HEAD AGAIN. COMING BACK FROM A MORNING DRIVE TO THE LAKE AND THE 'SERVICE STABILITRAC' LIGHT ILLUMINATED BUT THE TRUCK DIDN'T DIE, A LITTLE FURTHER DOWN THE ROAD IT DID THE SAME THING AND DIED BUT STARTED RIGHT BACK UP ON ITS OWN WHILE DRIVING, STARTED TO BACK INTO MY DRIVEWAY AND IT DIED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD, TURNED THE IGNITION OFF AND ATTEMPTED TO START IT TWO OR THREE MORE TIMES, NOTHING!!! IT'S LIKE THERE WAS NO BATTERY INSTALLED. EVERY TIME THIS HAPPENS I LOSE STEERING, THE BRAKES SEEM TO FADE BUT I AM ABLE TO STOP ON THE SLOW TURNS LIKE INTO THE PARKING LOT. IN ALL INSTANCES THE VEHICLE WAS MOVING. ONE TIME I NOTICED AN INCREASE IN THE A/C SPEED WITHIN THE CAB AND THE 'SERVICE STABILITRAC' ILLUMINATED BUT AS SOON AS I TURNED ABOUT HALF WAY INTO A PARKING AREA, IT DIED, BUT CONTINUED TO PICK BACK UP ON THE ENGINE RUNNING. THE LOCAL DEALER HAD ALSO PERFOMED SOME SERVICE BULLETIN REGARDING THE CAMPAIGN FOR 'LOSS OF STEERING ASSIST' AT 19,340 MILES. THE VEHICLE CURRENTLY HAS 42,000 MILES..... THE DATE "WHEN DID THIS HAPPEN" WAS TODAY 7/16/2019 BUT THE OTHER TIMES WERE VARIOUS BEFORE THIS DATE.

View Details

STEERING

7/16/2019 - DEL CITY, OK
TURNED A CORNER WHILE BRAKING, THE ENGINE DIED, "SERVICE STABILITRAC SOON" ILLUMINATED ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL; DRIVING DOWN THE ROAD PULLING A LIGHT WEIGHT BOAT TRAILER, THE ENGINE DIED BUT CAME BACK ON IMMEDIATELY AND THE "SERVICE STABILITRAC" ILLUMINATED; PULLED INTO A PARKING LOT AND AS I TURNED ABOUT HALFWAY THROUGH THE TURN THE ENGINE DIED AND "SERVICE STABILITRAC SOON" ILLUMINATED. I TOOK TO THE TRUCK TO THE CHEVROLET DEALER AND THEY DIAGNOSED THE POSITIVE BATTERY TERMINAL WAS LOOSE AND THE POSITIVE CABLE HAD TOO MUCH RESISTANCE - $507.00 LATER AND APPROXIMATELY 10,000 MILES LATER REARED IT'S UGLY HEAD AGAIN. COMING BACK FROM A MORNING DRIVE TO THE LAKE AND THE 'SERVICE STABILITRAC' LIGHT ILLUMINATED BUT THE TRUCK DIDN'T DIE, A LITTLE FURTHER DOWN THE ROAD IT DID THE SAME THING AND DIED BUT STARTED RIGHT BACK UP ON ITS OWN WHILE DRIVING, STARTED TO BACK INTO MY DRIVEWAY AND IT DIED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE ROAD, TURNED THE IGNITION OFF AND ATTEMPTED TO START IT TWO OR THREE MORE TIMES, NOTHING!!! IT'S LIKE THERE WAS NO BATTERY INSTALLED. EVERY TIME THIS HAPPENS I LOSE STEERING, THE BRAKES SEEM TO FADE BUT I AM ABLE TO STOP ON THE SLOW TURNS LIKE INTO THE PARKING LOT. IN ALL INSTANCES THE VEHICLE WAS MOVING. ONE TIME I NOTICED AN INCREASE IN THE A/C SPEED WITHIN THE CAB AND THE 'SERVICE STABILITRAC' ILLUMINATED BUT AS SOON AS I TURNED ABOUT HALF WAY INTO A PARKING AREA, IT DIED, BUT CONTINUED TO PICK BACK UP ON THE ENGINE RUNNING. THE LOCAL DEALER HAD ALSO PERFOMED SOME SERVICE BULLETIN REGARDING THE CAMPAIGN FOR 'LOSS OF STEERING ASSIST' AT 19,340 MILES. THE VEHICLE CURRENTLY HAS 42,000 MILES..... THE DATE "WHEN DID THIS HAPPEN" WAS TODAY 7/16/2019 BUT THE OTHER TIMES WERE VARIOUS BEFORE THIS DATE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/15/2019 - SAN DIEGO, CA
WE STARTED HAVING A PROBLEM WITH OUR AIR CONDITION FOR 3 MONTHS NOW, IT JUST BLOWS WARM AIR. WE TRIED TAKING IT TO THE DEALER BUT WAS TOLD THAT IT WAS NOT COVERED WITH THE WARRANTY. WE FOUND OUT THAT THERE WAS A LEAK IN THE CONDENSER. I'VE FOUND OUT THAT THERE WAS SO MUCH PEOPLE COMPLAINING WITH THE SAME ISSUE & WITH THE SAME VEHICLE. WHETHER THE CAR WAS RUNNING OR STATIONARY OR IN WHICH ROAD IT WAS GOING THE AIR CONDITIONER DOES NOT WORK AT ALL IT WAS JUST BLOWING HOT AIR.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

7/11/2019 - SUNBURY, PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 CHEVROLET SILVERADO 1500. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 3 MPH, THE DRIVER DEPRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL; HOWEVER, THE VEHICLE DID NOT STOP IMMEDIATELY. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER AND DEALER (BLAISE ALEXANDER CHEVROLET, 800 MARKET ST, SUNBURY, PA) WERE NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE, BUT NO ASSISTANCE WAS OFFERED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 115,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/10/2019 - FOUR OAKS, NC
I BOUGHT THIS 2014 SILVERADO NEW. THE HEADLIGHTS ARE FOGGING UP ON THE INSIDE WHICH MAKES IT UNSAFE TO DRIVE AT NIGHT. ALSO , THE STEERING WHEEL IS COMING APART AROUND THE AIR BAG , WHICH MAY GET IN THE WAY OF ME SAFELY STEERING IT OR MIGHT CAUSE THE AIR BAGS TO DEPLOY.THIS VEHICLE IS STORED IN A CLIMATE CONTROLLED ENVIROMENT EVERY DAY. IT DOES NOT SIT OUTSIDE, SO THE SUN HAD NOTHING TO DO WITH THIS. I CONTACTED GM AND THEY SAID THEY WOULD'NT HELP ME. PLEASE HELP AS THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE NOT BEING ABLE TO SEE AT NIGHT. THANKS. THIS VEHICLE ONLY HAS 26000 MILES ON IT. I OWN SEVERAL GM VEHICLES , BUT THIS IS THE ONLY ONE I HAVE HAD TROUBLE WITH.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/10/2019 - FOUR OAKS, NC
I BOUGHT THIS 2014 SILVERADO NEW. THE HEADLIGHTS ARE FOGGING UP ON THE INSIDE WHICH MAKES IT UNSAFE TO DRIVE AT NIGHT. ALSO , THE STEERING WHEEL IS COMING APART AROUND THE AIR BAG , WHICH MAY GET IN THE WAY OF ME SAFELY STEERING IT OR MIGHT CAUSE THE AIR BAGS TO DEPLOY.THIS VEHICLE IS STORED IN A CLIMATE CONTROLLED ENVIROMENT EVERY DAY. IT DOES NOT SIT OUTSIDE, SO THE SUN HAD NOTHING TO DO WITH THIS. I CONTACTED GM AND THEY SAID THEY WOULD'NT HELP ME. PLEASE HELP AS THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE NOT BEING ABLE TO SEE AT NIGHT. THANKS. THIS VEHICLE ONLY HAS 26000 MILES ON IT. I OWN SEVERAL GM VEHICLES , BUT THIS IS THE ONLY ONE I HAVE HAD TROUBLE WITH.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/9/2019 - EFFORT, PA
COMPRESSOR FOR AIR CONDITIONING SEIZED UP AND CAUSED THE BELT TO BRAKE THE CONDENSER WAS ALSO HEAVILY LEAKING. FIRST COMMENT OUT OF THE SERVICE MANAGERS MOUTH WAS THIS IS A VERY COMMON PROBLEM WITH SILVERADOS AND SIERRAS. DON+T KNOW WHY THE SUV WERE RECALLED AND THE TRUCKS WERE NOT. WITH ONLY 30000 MILES IT IS VERY UNACCEPTABLE

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 113
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds