Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SPARK - 2014 CHEVROLET SPARK Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 102 complaints filed for the 2014 CHEVROLET SPARK

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 CHEVROLET SPARK. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 CHEVROLET SPARK, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Equipment (1) Power Train (25) Steering (7) Unknown Or Other (10)
Electrical System (24) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Seat Belts (2) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (14)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Seats (2) Suspension (3) Visibility (3)
Engine (37) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (6) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/12/2019 - BELLINGHAM, WA
PURCHASED VEHICLE IN 2014 BRAND NEW. THE RADIO SCREEN SAID CHECK ANTENNA WHEN ON XM (WE HAD A FREE TRIAL BUT IT WOULDN+T WORK) SO WE TOOK IT TO DEALERSHIP FOR DIAGNOSIS, WHERE THEY SAID THERE WAS A CHAFED WIRE BEHIND RADIO. THEY REPAIRED BUT RADIO STILL DIDN+T WORK CORRECTLY, AND SO THEY REPLACED THE ENTIRE RADIO, THIS WAS IN 2015. NOW IT+S 2019, AND SOMETIMES THE CAR WON+T START, THE SIGNAL CHIMES WON+T MAKE SOUNDS AND THE RADIO WILL NOT TURN ON, RANDOM LIGHTS COME ON IN THE DASH - INCLUDING A FAILURE LIGHT ABOUT THE AIRBAGS, AND A BRAKE LIGHT WENT OUT AT THE SAME TIME. WE HAD THE KEY CHIME RECALL COMPLETED, BUT THIS ISSUE OCCURRED ANYWAY. WE REPLACED THE KEY FOB BATTERIES, THE CAR WOULD STILL NOT START RANDOMLY. WE TOOK IT IN TO THE DEALER AGAIN AND THEY SAID THE ISSUE WAS MOST LIKELY DUE TO A LOOSE BATTERY CABLE - IT WAS REPAIRED. NOW A MONTH LATER, THE RADIO AGAIN DOESN+T WORK AGAIN AND THE SOUNDS IN THE CAR (SIGNALS,ETC) DON+T WORK AGAIN, AND WE EXPECTED THE CAR NOT TO START AGAIN SINCE THOSE WERE THE SIGNS THAT OCCURRED BEFORE IT WOULDN+T START. WE TOOK IT BACK TO THE DEALER, THEY SAY THE RADIO DOESN+T WORK AND NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. THIS IS THE 2ND TIME THE RADIO HAS BEEN REPLACED IN 4 YEARS. ELECTRICAL ISSUES HAVE BEEN A PROBLEM SINCE THE DAY WE BOUGHT IT. . I STRONGLY BELIEVE THERE IS SOMETHING MAJORLY WRONG WITH THE ELECTRICAL MAKEUP OF THIS VEHICLE AND THAT THE RADIO NOT WORKING/ CAUSING OTHER PROBLEMS, IS JUST AN UNDERLYING ISSUE BEING CAUSED BY SOMETHING GREATER. PLEASE HELP.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/10/2019 - PARK FOREST, IL
TAKATA RECALL. MY +14 SPARK HAS GOTTEN THE COOLANT TANK REPLACED TWICE. ALSO MY RPMS ARE SHOOTING UP AND BACK DOWN ONCE I HIT 50MPH OR FASTER . ALSO MAKES A HIGH PITCHED NOISE WHEN THIS HAPPENS . IT+S CAUSING MY CAR TO JERK AT FASTER SPEEDS, ALSO MY CAR JERKS AT POINT OF ACCELERATION FROM 0MPH WHEN I+M MAKING TURNS. ALSO THE BATTERY IS CONTINUALLY BEING DRAINED AND IT+S NOT WORN OUT .

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

7/10/2019 - PARK FOREST, IL
TAKATA RECALL. MY +14 SPARK HAS GOTTEN THE COOLANT TANK REPLACED TWICE. ALSO MY RPMS ARE SHOOTING UP AND BACK DOWN ONCE I HIT 50MPH OR FASTER . ALSO MAKES A HIGH PITCHED NOISE WHEN THIS HAPPENS . IT+S CAUSING MY CAR TO JERK AT FASTER SPEEDS, ALSO MY CAR JERKS AT POINT OF ACCELERATION FROM 0MPH WHEN I+M MAKING TURNS. ALSO THE BATTERY IS CONTINUALLY BEING DRAINED AND IT+S NOT WORN OUT .

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/10/2019 - PARK FOREST, IL
TAKATA RECALL. MY +14 SPARK HAS GOTTEN THE COOLANT TANK REPLACED TWICE. ALSO MY RPMS ARE SHOOTING UP AND BACK DOWN ONCE I HIT 50MPH OR FASTER . ALSO MAKES A HIGH PITCHED NOISE WHEN THIS HAPPENS . IT+S CAUSING MY CAR TO JERK AT FASTER SPEEDS, ALSO MY CAR JERKS AT POINT OF ACCELERATION FROM 0MPH WHEN I+M MAKING TURNS. ALSO THE BATTERY IS CONTINUALLY BEING DRAINED AND IT+S NOT WORN OUT .

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/11/2019 - OAK PARK, MI
WHILE I WAS DRIVING THE CAR, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT STARTS COMES ON, AND THE CAR LOSES ITS ABILITY TO ACCELERATE PROPERLY AND SHAKES ALL OVER LIKE IT'S ABOUT TO FALL APART. THIS IS PARTICULARLY DANGEROUS WHEN I'M ON THE HIGHWAY AND THE CAR SUDDENLY FORCES ITSELF TO GO SLOWER AND WON'T ACCELERATE BEYOND 25-30 MPH

View Details

ENGINE

3/11/2019 - OAK PARK, MI
WHILE I WAS DRIVING THE CAR, THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT STARTS COMES ON, AND THE CAR LOSES ITS ABILITY TO ACCELERATE PROPERLY AND SHAKES ALL OVER LIKE IT'S ABOUT TO FALL APART. THIS IS PARTICULARLY DANGEROUS WHEN I'M ON THE HIGHWAY AND THE CAR SUDDENLY FORCES ITSELF TO GO SLOWER AND WON'T ACCELERATE BEYOND 25-30 MPH

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/31/2019 - ROWLETT, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 CHEVROLET SPARK. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE INSTRUMENT PANEL GAUGES FAILED TO OPERATE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO YOUNG CHEVROLET (9301 E R L THORNTON FWY, DALLAS, TX 75228, (469) 294-3000) WHERE THE POWER TRAIN CONTROL MODULE WAS CHANGED AND REFLASHED. THE DEALER ALSO INSTALLED A NEW AIR CONDITIONING CONTROL MODULE. A WEEK LATER, THE FAILURE RECURRED AND THE ELECTRICAL SYSTEM MALFUNCTIONED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER TO BE DIAGNOSED. THE MANUFACTURER DID NOT ASSIST SINCE THERE WAS NO RECALL. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100,000.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

12/5/2018 - ALGONQUIN, IL
SINCE I RECEIVED THE TRANSMISSION SAFETY RECALL AND TOOK MY VEHICLE IN, IT SEEMS LIKE THEY MADE MY VEHICLE WORSE. IT WORKED PERFECTLY BEFORE THE RECALL AND NOW IT SEEMS LIKE THE TRANSMISSION IS GOING OUT. ALSO SEEMS LIKE MY BRAKES LOCK WHILE I+M DRIVING AND IF I PRESS ON THE BRAKES THEY ENGAGE VERY BADLY. IT MAKES ME JUMP FORWARD.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

11/21/2018 - WILMINGTON, CA
CAR LOST POWER AND TOOK LONGER TO ACCELERATE THAN NORMAL WHILE I WAS DRIVING IT. MY CAR'S DASHBOARD SHOWED THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, REDUCED ENGINE POWER LIGHT AND A LOSS OF TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT. A CAR DIAGNOSTIC RECOMMENDED TO CHANGE THE THROTTLE POSITION SENSOR WHICH I HAVE DONE WITH NO SUCCESS. A DEALERSHIP DIAGNOSTIC SAID THERE WAS FAULTY WIRING WHICH WOULD COST $600 TO FIX. I HAVE NOT GONE THROUGH WITH THE REPAIRS AS OF YET. I HAVE MET AT LEAST 2 OTHER PEOPLE THAT HAVE THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

11/21/2018 - WILMINGTON, CA
CAR LOST POWER AND TOOK LONGER TO ACCELERATE THAN NORMAL WHILE I WAS DRIVING IT. MY CAR'S DASHBOARD SHOWED THE CHECK ENGINE LIGHT, REDUCED ENGINE POWER LIGHT AND A LOSS OF TRACTION CONTROL LIGHT. A CAR DIAGNOSTIC RECOMMENDED TO CHANGE THE THROTTLE POSITION SENSOR WHICH I HAVE DONE WITH NO SUCCESS. A DEALERSHIP DIAGNOSTIC SAID THERE WAS FAULTY WIRING WHICH WOULD COST $600 TO FIX. I HAVE NOT GONE THROUGH WITH THE REPAIRS AS OF YET. I HAVE MET AT LEAST 2 OTHER PEOPLE THAT HAVE THIS PROBLEM.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds