Auto Recalls for Consumers

DODGE GRAND CARAVAN - 2014 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Chrysler (FCA US LLC)

There are 176 complaints filed for the 2014 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (18) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seats (7) Suspension (1) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (2) Service Brakes (7) Tires (4) Visibility (6)
Electrical System (88) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Steering (5) Traction Control System (1) Visibility Wiper (5)
Electronic Stability Control (8) Power Train (8) Structure (5) Unknown Or Other (12) Wheels (5)
Engine (41) Seat Belts (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

7/15/2019 - LAS VEGAS, NV
DRIVERS SIDE TIE ROD SNAPPED AT THREAD AREA OF THE TIE ROD

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/13/2019 - PACIFICA, CA
MY SONS AND I WERE INVOLVED IN A HIT & RUN INJURY CAR ACCIDENT. WE WERE REAR-ENDED ON THE FREEWAY IN HEAVY TRAFFIC. I WAS GOING ABOUT 5 MPH AND DRIVER BEHIND ME PLOWED INTO US AT ABOUT 30 MPH! INSTANTLY ME AND MY YOUNGER SON BOTH SAID WE HIT OUR HEADS. OUR HEADS HURT BESIDES BEING THRUST BY THE IMPACT. MY SON KEPT POINTING AT SOMETHING ASKING ME TO LOOK WHEN I WAS TRYING TO CALL 9-1-1 FOR HELP AND THE OTHER DRIVER WAS TRYING TO TALK TO ME UNSAFELY IN THE HIGHWAY! MY SON TOLD ME TO LOOK AT OUR HEADRESTS. BOTH FRONT SEAT HEADRESTS HAD DEPLOYED AND STRUCK US IN THE BACK OF OUR HEADS ON IMPACT! WE COULD NOT BELIEVE IT. AS MY YOUNGER SON SAID, WE SUFFERED ENOUGH WITH NECK, SHOULDER, BACK AND STOMACH PAINS FROM BEING THRUST IN THIS CAR ACCIDENT BUT TO BE PUNCHED IN THE BACK OF OUR HEADS ON TOP OF THAT?? IT REALLY HURT US AND WE WERE MOVING AT THE TIME OF IMPACT. FORTUNATELY WE WERE CHECKED ON SCENE MEDICALLY BY THE PARAMEDICS. EVEN THE HIGHWAY PATROL OFFICER HAD NEVER SEEN ANYTHING LIKE THE HEADRESTS DISLODGED, NEITHER HAD THE PARAMEDICS. I LOOKED ON LINE AND FOUND A LITIGATION AGAINST A MAJOR CAR MANUFACTURER AND FOUND OUT THIS MAY BE AN EXTREMELY UNSAFE DEFECT ON OUR 2014 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN. WE CAN'T EVEN PUT BACK THE HEADRESTS IN PLACE ON EITHER FRONT SEAT HEADREST. THIS WAS VERY SCARY FOR BOTH OF US, HAVING OUR HEADS HURT SO MUCH UPON IMPACT. YET WE DIDN'T GO FORWARD INTO THE STEERING WHEEL OR DASHBOARD, RATHER WE GOT CLOCKED, PUNCHED IN THE BACK OF OUR HEADS BY THE HEADREST SUPPOSEDLY THERE TO HELP CURTAIL WHIPLASH. EXTREME LIES BY THE CAR MANUFACTURERS AND A TOTAL SAFETY HAZARD. THEY NEED TO BE HELD RESPONSIBLE FOR CAUSING THIS MUCH DURESS AND INJURY TO ALL THESE CUSTOMERS WHO TRUST THESE MAJOR CAR COMPANIES TO KEEP US AND OUR LOVED ONES SAFE, NOT INTENTIONALLY INJURE THEM.

View Details

ENGINE

7/11/2019 - ASHLEY, MI
VAN STALLED A FEW TIMES, OUT OF THE BLUE, WHILE DRIVING AT A LOW SPEED DUE TO CONSTRUCTION. NEVER HAD PREVIOUS PROBLEM. STALLED IN ROAD WHILE TRYING TO MAKE A LEFT TURN INTO GAS STATION. GOT VAN RUNNING AND ATTEMPTED TO TURN, MOTOR DIED DOWN TO BARELY A CRAWL AND WAS ABOUT TO STALL AS A SEMI TRUCK APPROACHED US. GAS PEDAL TO THE FLOOR, TIRES SQUEALING BARELY GOT OUT OF THE TRUCKS WAY. ENGINE STALLED AGAIN, COASTED INTO STATION BUT BLOCKING DRIVE. COULD NOT START AGAIN, HAD TO PUSH OUT OF THE WAY. IT TURNED OUT TO BE THE #2 CYLINDER WHICH IS THE SAME ISSUES THE 2011-2013'S GRAND CARAVANS HAD A SAFETY BULLETIN 09-002-14 PUT OUT FOR IN 2014. I HAVE ATTACHED A COPY OF MY REPAIR BILL.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

6/22/2019 - PHILADELPHIA, PA
DROVE VAN FROM 9AM TILL 11AM ALL DOORS FUNCTIONED WELL. PARKED AT HOME. LOCKED CAR. AT 1PM WENT TO STORE IN VAN SHOPPED AND FOUND THAT DRIVER SIDE PASSENGER DOOR WOULD NOT OPEN FROM INSIDE OR OUTSIDE AFTER UNLOCKED.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/3/2019 - ODESSA, FL
DRIVER SIDE WINDOW/LOCK CONTROL NOT WORKING. A/C FAN GOING ON AND OFF

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/3/2019 - ODESSA, GA
DRIVER SIDE WINDOW FELL DOWN INSIDE DOOR AND SHATTERED.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/27/2019 - MARTINSVILLE, IN
THE A/C AND HEAT WORKS ONLY OUT OF THE DRIVER'S SIDE. THE HEAT ONLY WORKS OUT OF THE PASSENGER SIDES. THIS IS A WIDELY COMMON PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/16/2019 - HAMPTON, VA
MY 2 FRONT WINDOWS COMPLETELY STOPPED WORKING. THE OTHER WINDOWS STILL ROLL UP AND DOWN. I HEAR A CLICKING SOUND ON THE PASSENGER SIDE LIKE THE WINDOW WANTS TO WORK THE DRIVER SIDE IN HEAR NOTHING AT ALL.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/12/2019 - POWAY, CA
MY WIFE WAS DRIVING OUR 2014 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN HOME FROM THE STORE IN MAY 2019 WHEN THE ENGINE STALLED AND SHUT OFF IN AN INTERSECTION. THANKFULLY SOMEONE STOPPED TO HELP PUSH THE VAN OUT OF THE INTERSECTION. WE WERE ABLE TO GET THE VAN TOWED TO OUR LOCAL DEALER/SERVICE. DIAGNOSTICS INDICATED AN ENGINE MISFIRE AND SERVICE TECHNICIAN FOUND LOW COMPRESSION IN CYLINDER #3. FURTHER TROUBLESHOOTING DETERMINED THE PROBLEM WAS A VALVE FAILURE AND THE DEALER REPAIRS COST US OVER $2,700. UNFORTUNATELY, OUR 5YR/50,000MI LIMITED POWERTRAIN WARRANTY EXPIRED IN APRIL...EIGHT DAYS BEFORE THE ENGINE FAILURE! WE PREVIOUSLY ENJOYED OWNING A CHRYSLER TOWN & COUNTRY AND HAVE BEEN HAPPY WITH THE PERFORMANCE AND UTILITY OF THE GRAND CARAVAN, BUT THE ENGINE FAILURE SEEMS TO BE THE SAME ISSUE AS OTHER OWNERS HAVE EXPERIENCED ON PREVIOUS MODEL YEARS. APPARENTLY THE POWERTRAIN WARRANTY WAS EXTENDED FOR 2011-2013 MODEL YEARS, BUT NOT 2014. THIS IS AN ISSUE THAT NEEDS TO BE RESOLVED BY FCA US BEFORE IT BECOMES A SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details

ENGINE

5/12/2019 - POWAY, CA
MY WIFE WAS DRIVING OUR 2014 DODGE GRAND CARAVAN HOME FROM THE STORE IN MAY 2019 WHEN THE ENGINE STALLED AND SHUT OFF IN AN INTERSECTION. THANKFULLY SOMEONE STOPPED TO HELP PUSH THE VAN OUT OF THE INTERSECTION. WE WERE ABLE TO GET THE VAN TOWED TO OUR LOCAL DEALER/SERVICE. DIAGNOSTICS INDICATED AN ENGINE MISFIRE AND SERVICE TECHNICIAN FOUND LOW COMPRESSION IN CYLINDER #3. FURTHER TROUBLESHOOTING DETERMINED THE PROBLEM WAS A VALVE FAILURE AND THE DEALER REPAIRS COST US OVER $2,700. UNFORTUNATELY, OUR 5YR/50,000MI LIMITED POWERTRAIN WARRANTY EXPIRED IN APRIL...EIGHT DAYS BEFORE THE ENGINE FAILURE! WE PREVIOUSLY ENJOYED OWNING A CHRYSLER TOWN & COUNTRY AND HAVE BEEN HAPPY WITH THE PERFORMANCE AND UTILITY OF THE GRAND CARAVAN, BUT THE ENGINE FAILURE SEEMS TO BE THE SAME ISSUE AS OTHER OWNERS HAVE EXPERIENCED ON PREVIOUS MODEL YEARS. APPARENTLY THE POWERTRAIN WARRANTY WAS EXTENDED FOR 2011-2013 MODEL YEARS, BUT NOT 2014. THIS IS AN ISSUE THAT NEEDS TO BE RESOLVED BY FCA US BEFORE IT BECOMES A SAFETY ISSUE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 23
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds