Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN ALTIMA - 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 336 complaints filed for the 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (121) Equipment (4) Latches Locks Linkages (11) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (18)
Back Over Prevention (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (84) Steering (26) Vehicle Speed Control (12)
Electrical System (35) Exterior Lighting (6) Seat Belts (3) Structure (20) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Fuel Propulsion System (9) Seats (8) Suspension (6) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (26) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (16) Tires (1) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

2/14/2018 - AUBURNDALE, MA
MY VEHICLE STOPPED ON THE HIGHWAY IN A BUSY EVENING TRAFFIC. FOR 10 MINUTES I WAS NOT ABLE TO DO, BUT SIT IDLE. AFTER THAT CAR STARTED BUT IT WAS JUDDERING AND SHAKING EVERY TIME I USED TO STOP AT RED LIGHT OR STOP SIGN. THE VIBRATIONS WERE VERY VIOLENT AND SCARY. EVEN, IN NEUTRAL, CAR ENGINE REVS UP TO 2K-3K RPM WITHOUT ACCELERATING. NISSAN COMPANY AND DEALER ARE NOT HELPING AND PUTTING MY LIFE IN DANGER AS I COULD HAVE GOT HIT BY ANOTHER CAR/ TRAILER.

View Details

ENGINE

2/14/2018 - AUBURNDALE, MA
MY VEHICLE STOPPED ON THE HIGHWAY IN A BUSY EVENING TRAFFIC. FOR 10 MINUTES I WAS NOT ABLE TO DO, BUT SIT IDLE. AFTER THAT CAR STARTED BUT IT WAS JUDDERING AND SHAKING EVERY TIME I USED TO STOP AT RED LIGHT OR STOP SIGN. THE VIBRATIONS WERE VERY VIOLENT AND SCARY. EVEN, IN NEUTRAL, CAR ENGINE REVS UP TO 2K-3K RPM WITHOUT ACCELERATING. NISSAN COMPANY AND DEALER ARE NOT HELPING AND PUTTING MY LIFE IN DANGER AS I COULD HAVE GOT HIT BY ANOTHER CAR/ TRAILER.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/6/2018 - BRAWLEY, CA
BOUGHT A NEW NISSAN ALTIMA AND WE HAVE TRANSMISSION PROBLEMS WITH ONLY 74,196 MILES.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

2/4/2018 - LAKE CITY, FL
THE LOW BEAM ON MY ALTIMA 2014 SV 4CY. 2.5L, IS TOTALLY INADEQUATE. THERE IS MINIMAL VISIBILITY AT NIGHT WITH LOW BEAM, CREATING A VERY HAZARDOUS PROBLEM ON THE ROADWAY. THIS IS NOT A UNIQUE PROBLEM ON MY ALTIMA, IT IS A MAJOR PROBLEM ON MOST OF THE 2013, 2014, 2015, ETC. MODELS. THIS IS OBVIOUSLY A PRODUCTION PROBLEM WITH THE NISSAN ALTIMA. CHANGING BULBS TO A HIGHER QUALITY HAS NOT RESOLVED THE PROBLEM AND NISSAN DEALERSHIP HAS QUOTED APPROX. $1000.00 TO RECTIFY THE PROBLEM. THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE AND I AS WELL AS OTHERS THINK THE MANUFACTURER SHOULD RECALL AND ADDRESS THIS PROBLEM SINCE IT IS A SERIOUS SAFETY HAZARD..

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/2/2018 - BELLEVILLE, IL
TAKATA RECALL..... IT STATES WHEN YOU PUT THE VIN NUMBER IN THAT MY CAR WAS NOT IN THE RECALL. MY HUSBAND AND I ARE IN OUR LATE 70'S AND EARLY 80'S AND LOVE THE CAR, BUT ARE NOW AFRIAD TO DRIVE THE CAR BECAUSE OF THE AIRBAGS. CAN YOU PLEASE HAVE THESE AIRBAGS REPLACED FOR OUR SAFETY. I KNOW THESE TAKATA AIRBAGS HAVE ALREADY BEEN RECALLED, WHY WAS MY CAR NOT INCLUDED? NISSAN DEALER STATES THAT THERE IS NO, TAKATA AIRBAGS. FOR MY SAFETY AND THAT OF MY HUSBAND. I WOULD LIKE TO HAVE MY AIRBAGS REPLACED AND FREE FOR CHARGE, BECAUSE OF THE HASSLE THAT I'M GOING THROUGH.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/24/2018 - CHARLOTTE, NC
RECALL TO REPROGRAM CVT DONE 10/4/17 AT NISSAN. 12/6/17 VEHICLE BEGAN RAPIDLY DROPPING SPEED WHILE DRIVING ON HIGHWAY WITHOUT ME APPLYING BRAKES. VERY DANGEROUS SINCE THERE WERE NO BRAKE LIGHTS TO ALERT OTHER VEHICLES BEHIND ME TO DECREASE SPEED. TURNED HAZARDS ON & MADE IT TO SLOW LANE, THEN SHOULDER OF THE ROAD. IT WOULDN+T GO BACK INTO DRIVE FOR 15 MINS. ONCE I COULD IT DRIVE AGAIN, IT CONTINUED TO HAVE DECREASED SPEED. AT TRAFFIC LIGHT IT WOULDN+T ACCELERATE IN DRIVE & I HAD TO WAIT AWHILE BEFORE IT DID. DROVE TO MECHANIC FOR DIAGNOSIS & THEY SAID IT SHOULD BE TAKEN TO NISSAN. HAD TO BE DRUG ONTO A FLATBED TO BE TOWED A VERY SHORT DISTANCE SINCE IT WOULD NO LONGER SHIFT INTO DRIVE, REVERSE OR NEUTRAL. SERVICE ADVISOR AT EAST CHARLOTTE NISSAN SAID IT NEEDED NEW TRANSMISSION & GAVE A $4,200 QUOTE. HE SAID THIS WAS KNOWN ISSUE WITH CVT TRANSMISSION, MANY WITH LESS THAN 30,000 MILES BUT THOSE WERE STILL UNDER MANUFACTURER WARRANTY. HAD NEW NISSAN FACTORY REMANUFACTURED TRANSMISSION INSTALLED (THEY SAID IT HAD TO BE A CVT BECAUSE VEHICLE WON+T TAKE ANY OTHER TRANSMISSION) WHICH ALSO FAILED AFTER JUST ONE WEEK. THEY SHIPPED & INSTALLED ANOTHER ONE & IT HAS BEEN DOING OKAY FOR 2 WKS NOW. FORUMS SIGHT MANY DRIVERS WITH SIMILAR SYMPTOMS & DANGEROUS INCIDENTS WHILE DRIVING & SAY THE +NEW+ CVTS FAIL AGAIN WHICH HAPPENED TO ME. NISSAN SHOULD BE FORCED TO RECALL THIS DEFECTIVE TECHNOLOGY THAT+S DANGEROUS TO DRIVER SAFETY. NISSAN SHOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR COST OF THE RECALL AS OWNERS HAVE NO CHOICE BUT TO REPLACE TRANSMISSIONS, A HUGE REPAIR. IT COST ME $3,600 AND I WILL RETAIN MY COPIES. THEY KNOW THEY HAVE A PROBLEM WITH THE TECHNOLOGY, NOT JUST IN THE ALTIMA. THEY DON+T HAVE AN ALERT ON NHTSA WEBSITE TO WARN CONSUMERS AGAINST BUYING THEIR UNSAFE VEHICLES. THIS REQUEST IS TO PREVENT FATALITIES NOT THAT AN ACCIDENT OCCURRED IN MY CASE.

View Details

SEATS

1/23/2018 - WASHINGTON, DC
MY 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA "SL" BROKEN SEAT FRAME. THE SEAT STARTED ROCKING WHILE DRIVING. THINKING IT JUST NEEDED THE SEAT SCREWS TIGHTENED, I WAS LOOKING FOR THE SCREWS AND FOUND OUT IT WAS THE SEAT FRAME AND THIS IS NOT A UNIQUE PROBLEM BUT HAPPENS WITH NISSAN PRODUCTS. THE SEAT MAY BREAK CAUSING THE BACK SUPPORT TO UNEXPECTEDLY RECLINE WHILE DRIVING AND CAUSE AN ACCIDENT. I FOUND THIS ONLINE WHILE TRYING TO FIGURE OUT "HOW TO REPAIR NISSAN" HTTPS://YOUTU.BE/IMSVBJQGVKW .. THE PROBLEM IS NOT UNIQUE TO ALTIMA'S BUT MURANO'S AS WELL. THE ROCKING TAKES PLACE WHILE SITTING AND DRIVING. VERY NOTICEABLE WHEN BREAKING AND ACCELERATING. ALSO THIS CAR IS DANGEROUS BECAUSE OF THE DEFECTIVE SEAT, SEAT FRAME.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

1/18/2018 - BREAX BRIDGE, LA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE HEADLIGHTS BECAME VERY DIM OVER TIME, WHICH MADE IT EXTREMELY DIFFICULT TO SEE AT NIGHT. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO GILES NISSAN LAFAYETTE (6137 JOHNSTON ST, LAFAYETTE, LA 70503) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE PROJECTOR LENS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS ALSO CONTACTED AND WAS UNABLE TO PROVIDE ASSISTANCE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 150,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/5/2018 - SACRAMENTO, CA
A FEW MONTHS BACK I TOOK MY 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA, 4-CYLINDER TO THE NISSAN DEALERSHIP FOR A RECALL THAT WAS IN CONNECTION WITH RECALL WITH THE SOFTWARE OF THE TRANSMISSION OF SOME SORT. I DID NOT RECEIVE NOTICE BUT WAS ADVISED OF THIS RECALL WHEN I TOOK MY VEHICLE TO NISAAN TO GET SERVICES FOR AN OIL CHANGE. THE RECALL WAS COMPLETED. SINCE HAVING THE RECALL COMPLETE MY VEHICLE HAS BEEN HAVING TRANSMISSION ISSUES. AT TIMES I AM DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY AND THE CAR SHUDDERS AND LOSES POWER. I HAVE COME CLOSE TWICE TO AN AUTO COLLISION AS I AM SHIFTING LANES MY CAR COMPLETELY LOSES POWER AND DROPS SPEED WITHOUT MY CONTROL WITH HE RPM DROPPING DRASTICALLY BUT REGAINING WITHIN SECONDS. THE CAR JERKS AND SHUDDERS. I HAVE HAD ANOTHER FAMILY TEST AS WELL AND HAS SAID THAT THE CAR IS UNSAFE AND SOMETHING IS WRONG. I RESEARCHED AND SEE A MULTITUDE OF COMPLAINTS IDENTICAL TO MINE TO THIS PARTICULAR YEAR AND MODEL. I AM TAKING TO THE DEALER TO HAVE DIAGNOSTIC COMPLETE AND HAVE EXPLAINED THAT MY VEHICLE WAS FINE PRIOR TO THE SOFTWARE ADJUSTMENT WITH THE TRANSMISSION. I HAVE BEEN TOLD THAT THEY ARE NOT SURE IF THIS IS THE ISSUES AND POSSIBLY I WILL GET STUCK WITH PAYING WHATEVER REPAIRS. THIS IS COMPLETELY UNFAIR TO THE CONSUMER HAVING TO PAY OUT OF POCKET FOR A TRANSMISSION DEFECT THAT THOUSANDS OF NISSAN OWNERS ARE HAVING THE ISSUES AND NOTHING SEEMS TO BE DONE TO REMEDY THIS UNSAFE VEHICLE. I WOULD LIKE INVESTIGATION TO BE DONE ON THIS AND IN THE EVENT THAT WHILE I AM DRIVING THIS VEHICLE AND THIS OCCURS CAUSING AN ACCIDENT I WILL HOLD THE MANUFACTURER AT FAULT FOR ALLOWING THIS VEHICLE TO GO UN-REPAIRED FOR A FAULTY TRANSMISSION THAT THOUSANDS OF CONSUMERS ARE COMPLAINING ABOUT AS BEING A "LEMON OF A CAR" AND "UNSAFE." THE DATE THIS ISSUE LAST OCCURRED WITH ME DRIVING MY VEHICLE WAS AROUND 8:30A.M. ON JANUARY 5, 2018.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/3/2018 - BALTIMORE, MD
UNDER 50,000 MILES, CVT PROBLEM REQUIRING THE TRANSMISSION TO BE REPLACED

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 43
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds