Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN ALTIMA - 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 273 complaints filed for the 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (97) Equipment (4) Latches Locks Linkages (11) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (12)
Back Over Prevention (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (62) Steering (26) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (33) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (3) Structure (15) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Seats (5) Suspension (6) Visibility Wiper (7)
Engine (22) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (14) Tires (1) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 35
 
ComplaintDescription

VISIBILITY/WIPER

6/16/2017 - MAPLETON, UT
WHILE DRIVING APPROX 65 MPH, WAS STARTLED BY LARGE BOOMING CRASH FROM ROOF OF MY CAR. UPON PULLING OVER AND EXAMINING IT WAS APPARENT THAT THE SUNROOF HAD EXPLODED. THERE WAS NO EVIDENCE OF A ROCK OR OTHER OBJECT HITTING THE SUNROOF, AND NO OTHER AUTOMOBILE HAD BEEN IN CLOSE ENOUGH PROXIMITY TO FLIP UP A ROCK OR OTHER OBJECT. DEALER ACKNOWLEDGED THEY HAVE HAD A HANDFUL OF OTHER PEOPLE COME IN WITH UNEXPLAINED SHATTERING OF SUNROOFS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/5/2017 - SANDWICH, MA
PURCHASED 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA SL 11/5/2016 69,500 MILES FROM NISSAN DEALER BOURNE MA. CAR IN FOR D/S FRONT HEADLAMP ASSEMBLY REPLACEMENT AND TRANSMISSION REVVING RPM COMPLAINT ISSUE ON 11/10/2016 WHILE STILL UNDER 60-DAY/2500MI WARRANTY. PICKED UP VENICLE AND TOLD BY NISSAN SERVICE DEPT THAT "COULDNT FIND ANYTHING WRONG AND THAT IS JUST HOW THE CVT WORKS". ADDITIONALLY, THERE IS A REPROGRAMMING SERVICE BULLETIN ISSUED BY NISSAN ON DEC 6 2016 REGARDING CVT TRANSMISSION. I WAS NEVER NOTIFIED. ON MAY 12, 2017 77,800 TRANSMISSION FAILS COMPLETELY WHILE IN MOTION ON A RURAL STATE ROAD AT 40MPH, SAME SYMPTOMS AS 11/10/2016 COMPLAINT WITH NO CEL OR WARNING LIGHTS ON INTERIOR DASH 165 MILES FROM HOME. CALL DEALER AND ASK THEM WHAT THEY PLAN TO DO AND TOLD "THAT IS ON YOUR DIME SINCE YOU DID NOT PURCHASE EXTENDED WARRANTY." CALL CLOSEST NISSAN DEALER SERVICE DEPT AND TOLD THEY CANNOT EVEN DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM FOR 10 BUSINESS DAYS SO CAR IS TOWED TO GARAGE OF CONTRACTOR ASSIGNED BY NISSAN SECURITY PLUS PROTECTION PLAN J&J AUTO. J&J AUTO DIAGNOSES VEHICLE AS HAVING TOTAL VALVE BODY FAILURE USING COMPUTER CODES FROM VEHICLE AND REAFFIRMING DIAGNOSIS WITH NISSAN. I AUTHORIZE A NEW NISSAN TRANSMISSION TO BE ORDERED FOR VEHICLE. CONTACT NISSAN CUSTOMER SERVICE AND TOLD THEY WILL NOT REIMBURSE ME FOR COSTS OF TRANSMISSION REPLACEMENT AND "YOU NEED TO JUST LEAVE THE CAR AT A NISSAN SERVICE DEPT AND WE WILL LOOK INTO IT." REFUSE TO INTERVENE WITH SELLING DEALERSHIP OR MAKE A REFERRAL AND APPOINTMENT AT A DEALER SERVICE LOCATION TO HAVE CAR REPAIRED IN A TIMELY FASHION. THIS IS MONDAY MAY 14. TRANSMISSION IS REMOVED AND REPLACED AT J&J AUTO. PICK CAR UP ON MAY 26, 2016 FOLLOWING REPROGRAMMING AND FLASHING OF NEW TRANSMISSION AT NISSAN DEALER IN KEENE, NH.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/30/2017 - DELTONA, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA. WHILE AT A STOP SIGN, THE CONTACT LOOKED BOTH WAYS. UPON ACCELERATING, A TRUCK CRASHED INTO THE FRONT DRIVER'S SIDE OF THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE. THE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED WITH EXTREME FORCE FOR THE FRONT DRIVER AND PASSENGER SIDE. THE CURTAIN SIDE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE DRIVER'S LEFT EYE WAS DAMAGED, WHICH AFFECTED THE CORNEA, AND THE DRIVER ALSO SUSTAINED BRUISING ACROSS THE CHEST AND BACK PAINS. THE FRONT PASSENGER SUSTAINED BRUISING TO THE ARMS, CHEST, AND HIPS. THE DRIVER AND FRONT PASSENGER RECEIVED MEDICAL TREATMENT. THE INSURANCE COMPANY TOWED THE VEHICLE TO A YARD. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT INSPECTED TO DETERMINE THE AIR BAG ISSUE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS LATER NOTIFIED OF THE CRASH. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 46,000.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

5/29/2017 - BELCAMP, MD
WHILE DRIVING HOME LAST NIGHT APPROX 35 MPH MY HOOD FLEW OPEN AND UNLATCHED AND IMPAIRED MY WINDSHIELD SIGNIFICANTLY AND VISIBILITY DRIVING WAS EXTREMELY IMPACTED. AS IT WAS LATE IN THE EVENING THERE WAS NO TRAFFIC DIRECTLY IN FRONT OR BEHIND ME. I WAS STARTLED TO SAY THE LEAST. I WAS ABLE TO SAFELY NEGOTIATE TO SHOULDER OF ROAD AND ENGAGE HAZARD LIGHTS AND RESECURE THE HOOD. I WAS ON A CITY STREET AND MOVING STRAIGHT AND NOT TURNING THE VEHICLE. I WOULD HATE TO THINK A FAR WORSE OUTCOME IN HEAVY INTERSTATE TRAFFIC AT A HIGHER SPEED.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

5/29/2017 - BELCAMP, MD
WHILE DRIVING HOME LAST NIGHT APPROX 35 MPH MY HOOD FLEW OPEN AND UNLATCHED AND IMPAIRED MY WINDSHIELD SIGNIFICANTLY AND VISIBILITY DRIVING WAS EXTREMELY IMPACTED. AS IT WAS LATE IN THE EVENING THERE WAS NO TRAFFIC DIRECTLY IN FRONT OR BEHIND ME. I WAS STARTLED TO SAY THE LEAST. I WAS ABLE TO SAFELY NEGOTIATE TO SHOULDER OF ROAD AND ENGAGE HAZARD LIGHTS AND RESECURE THE HOOD. I WAS ON A CITY STREET AND MOVING STRAIGHT AND NOT TURNING THE VEHICLE. I WOULD HATE TO THINK A FAR WORSE OUTCOME IN HEAVY INTERSTATE TRAFFIC AT A HIGHER SPEED.

View Details

ENGINE

5/24/2017 - MARIANA DEL REY, CA
MY CAR SHUT DOWN MULTIPLE TIMES WHILE DRIVING IT TO WORK. I HAD TO GET IT TOWED TO NISSAN AND FIND A WAY TO WORK. NISSAN SAID THEY REPROGRAMMED THE CVT TRANSMISSION AND DIDNT BOTHER TO TELL ME THERE WAS A RECALL. WHEN I GOT IT BACK IT WAS WORSE THAN WHEN I TOOK IT IN THE FIRST TIME. IT IS UNPROFESSIONAL AND DANGEROUS FOR THEM NOT TO TELL ME ABOUT THE RECALL.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/24/2017 - MARIANA DEL REY, CA
MY CAR SHUT DOWN MULTIPLE TIMES WHILE DRIVING IT TO WORK. I HAD TO GET IT TOWED TO NISSAN AND FIND A WAY TO WORK. NISSAN SAID THEY REPROGRAMMED THE CVT TRANSMISSION AND DIDNT BOTHER TO TELL ME THERE WAS A RECALL. WHEN I GOT IT BACK IT WAS WORSE THAN WHEN I TOOK IT IN THE FIRST TIME. IT IS UNPROFESSIONAL AND DANGEROUS FOR THEM NOT TO TELL ME ABOUT THE RECALL.

View Details

ENGINE

5/11/2017 - AUSTIN, TX
VEHICLE IS A 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA 4 CYLINDER MOTOR. IT RECENTLY HAD THE TRANSMISSION RECALL, DISGUISED AS A "CAMPAIGN" PERFORMED. IT WAS A SOFTWARE UPDATE. SINCE THEN, THE CAR UPSHIFTS WHILE DECELERATING, CAUSING THE ENGINE TO STUMBLE & ALMOST STALL. IT IS SIMILAR TO THE TORQUE CONVERTER LOCKING UP & AFFECTING THE DRIVETRAIN. IF THE ENGINE STALLED, DRIVER WOULD LOSE CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE & MIGHT CRASH THE CAR. THE CAR IS IN MOTION WHEN IT HAPPENS ON A ROAD WHERE SPEEDS ARE ABOUT 50 MPH, WHICH IS ABOUT THE SPEED WE WERE DRIVING WHEN IT HAPPENED. IT HAS HAPPENED WHILE DRIVING STRAIGHT OR IN MILD TURNS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/11/2017 - AUSTIN, TX
VEHICLE IS A 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA 4 CYLINDER MOTOR. IT RECENTLY HAD THE TRANSMISSION RECALL, DISGUISED AS A "CAMPAIGN" PERFORMED. IT WAS A SOFTWARE UPDATE. SINCE THEN, THE CAR UPSHIFTS WHILE DECELERATING, CAUSING THE ENGINE TO STUMBLE & ALMOST STALL. IT IS SIMILAR TO THE TORQUE CONVERTER LOCKING UP & AFFECTING THE DRIVETRAIN. IF THE ENGINE STALLED, DRIVER WOULD LOSE CONTROL OF THE VEHICLE & MIGHT CRASH THE CAR. THE CAR IS IN MOTION WHEN IT HAPPENS ON A ROAD WHERE SPEEDS ARE ABOUT 50 MPH, WHICH IS ABOUT THE SPEED WE WERE DRIVING WHEN IT HAPPENED. IT HAS HAPPENED WHILE DRIVING STRAIGHT OR IN MILD TURNS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

4/28/2017 - LITHONIA, GA
MY CVT TRANSMISSION IS HAVING MAJOR ISSUES AT THIS TIME. MY VEHICLE IS AT 84,000 MILES. I WAS DRIVING HOME THROUGH TRAFFIC, ONCE I TRIED TO ACCELERATE THE VEHICLE WOULDN'T GO, THEN ALL OF A SUDDEN IT TOOK OFF FAST. AFTER CONTINUING TO DRIVE IT STARTED REVVING VERY LOUD UNTIL I STOPPED AND CUT IT OFF.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 35
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds