Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN ALTIMA - 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 192 complaints filed for the 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (70) Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (8) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (8)
Electrical System (26) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (38) Steering (23) Vehicle Speed Control (9)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (3) Structure (9) Visibility (4)
Engine (15) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Seats (3) Suspension (6) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (12) Tires (1) Wheels (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
 
ComplaintDescription

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

5/19/2016 - CASTLETON, NY
2014 NISSAN ALTIMA. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO AIRBAG LIGHT STAYS ON WHILE TRAVELING AND DEALERSHIPS REFUSAL TO REPAIR/REPLACE HOOD LATCH ASSEMBLY THAT'S STATED IN RECALL NOTICE 16V-029. THE DEALER CLAIMED THE HOOD LATCH HAD ALREADY BEEN REPLACED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/19/2016 - CASTLETON, NY
2014 NISSAN ALTIMA. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO AIRBAG LIGHT STAYS ON WHILE TRAVELING AND DEALERSHIPS REFUSAL TO REPAIR/REPLACE HOOD LATCH ASSEMBLY THAT'S STATED IN RECALL NOTICE 16V-029. THE DEALER CLAIMED THE HOOD LATCH HAD ALREADY BEEN REPLACED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/18/2016 - RISING FAWN, GA
TWO COMPLAINTS: ONE: THE AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL INTERMITTENTLY AND RANDOMLY COMES ON WHILE DRIVING. WHEN TAKEN TO THE DEALER, THEY SAID THE PLUG UNDER THE DRIVERS SEAT WAS LOOSE. THEY "FIXED IT". THIS PROBLEM HAS OCCURRED 3 TIMES SINCE I BOUGHT THE CAR NEW AND IS CURRENTLY DOING IT AGAIN, BUT IT IS NOW OUT OF WARRANTY BECAUSE OF MILEAGE AND THEY ARE GOING TO CHARGE ME TO FIX A PROBLEM THAT SHOULD NEVER HAPPEN, YET HAS REOCCURRED REGULARLY SINCE NEW. TWO: WHEN DEPRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL AND NEAR A COMPLETE STOP, THE PEDAL BECOMES "SOFT" FOR ABOUT A HALF SECOND, THE CAR STOPS DECELERATING FOR THAT HALF SECOND THEN CONTINUES TO STOP NORMALLY, THEREAFTER. EACH TIME I MENTION THIS AT A SERVICE INTERVAL AT THE DEALER, THEY SAY THEY WILL LOOK INTO IT. NOTHING IS NOTED ON MY INVOICE AND NOTHING IS MENTIONED WHEN THE CAR IS PICKED UP. IT IS UNSETTLING AND IT CAUSES THE CAR TO STOP SEVERAL FEET FURTHER THAN IF THIS DIDN'T HAPPEN.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/18/2016 - RISING FAWN, GA
TWO COMPLAINTS: ONE: THE AIRBAG WARNING LIGHT ON THE INSTRUMENT PANEL INTERMITTENTLY AND RANDOMLY COMES ON WHILE DRIVING. WHEN TAKEN TO THE DEALER, THEY SAID THE PLUG UNDER THE DRIVERS SEAT WAS LOOSE. THEY "FIXED IT". THIS PROBLEM HAS OCCURRED 3 TIMES SINCE I BOUGHT THE CAR NEW AND IS CURRENTLY DOING IT AGAIN, BUT IT IS NOW OUT OF WARRANTY BECAUSE OF MILEAGE AND THEY ARE GOING TO CHARGE ME TO FIX A PROBLEM THAT SHOULD NEVER HAPPEN, YET HAS REOCCURRED REGULARLY SINCE NEW. TWO: WHEN DEPRESSING THE BRAKE PEDAL AND NEAR A COMPLETE STOP, THE PEDAL BECOMES "SOFT" FOR ABOUT A HALF SECOND, THE CAR STOPS DECELERATING FOR THAT HALF SECOND THEN CONTINUES TO STOP NORMALLY, THEREAFTER. EACH TIME I MENTION THIS AT A SERVICE INTERVAL AT THE DEALER, THEY SAY THEY WILL LOOK INTO IT. NOTHING IS NOTED ON MY INVOICE AND NOTHING IS MENTIONED WHEN THE CAR IS PICKED UP. IT IS UNSETTLING AND IT CAUSES THE CAR TO STOP SEVERAL FEET FURTHER THAN IF THIS DIDN'T HAPPEN.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/17/2016 - CASPER, WY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THE BRAKES BEGAN TO SQUEAK AND THE VEHICLE WAS OUT OF ALIGNMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V029000 (LATCHES, LOCKS, LINKAGES). THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE VIN WAS INVALID. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 16,000.

View Details

WHEELS

5/17/2016 - CASPER, WY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THE BRAKES BEGAN TO SQUEAK AND THE VEHICLE WAS OUT OF ALIGNMENT. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED UNDER NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 16V029000 (LATCHES, LOCKS, LINKAGES). THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE VIN WAS INVALID. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 16,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/9/2016 - WESTMINSTER, MD
FIRST THIS CAR ONLY HAS 11,000 MILES ON. WE GOT THE BATTERY CHANGE ON IT LAST YEAR. BUT SOME REASON THE BATTERY KEEPS ON DYING ON US. SATURDAY MAY 7TH THE CAR WAS WORKING FINE AND WE STOP TO GO FOOD SHOPPING COME BACK OUT AND THE CAR WOULD NOT START. WE HAD THIS CHECK OUT LAST YEAR AND THEY SAID NOTHING WAS WRONG WITH THE CAR. BUT THERE IS SOMETHING GOING WITH THIS CAR TO ACT UP THIS WAY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/5/2016 - COLUMBUS, OH
RE RECALL 14V-138. TOOK VEHICLE IN ON 6-19-2014. REPROGRAM OF PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG SENSOR WAS PERFORMED BY DEALERSHIP SERVICE DEPT. DID NOT FIX. SENSOR DEACTIVATION LIGHT COMING ON AGAIN. WHY IS DEACTIVATION EVEN A FEATURE? NEEDS REMOVED/REPLACED SO THAT AIR BAG WILL DEPLOY IN COLLISION WHETHER SEAT IS OCCUPIED OR EMPTY!

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

5/5/2016 - ELK GROVE, CA
CRACKED 2013 NISSAN ALTIMA WINDSHIELD. PARKED IN DRIVEWAY UNDER A CARPORT.CRACK STARTED FROM WHERE THE HOOD MEETS MIDDLE WINDSHIELD. FOUND NUMEROUS COMPLAINTS OF SPONTANEOUS CRACKING OF WINDSHIELDS. POSSIBLE ENGINEERING/MATERIALS DEFECT. EXAMPLES: SOME AT LEAST 50 COMPLAINTS. HTTP://WWW.TOPIX.COM/FORUM/AUTOS/NISSAN-ALTIMA/T47V5H1TB7K... (FIVE PAGES) HTTP://WWW.NISSANCLUB.COM/FORUMS/2013 -NISSAN-ALTIMA-DISCUSSION-2... HTTP:://WWW.CARCOMPLAINTS.COM/NISSAN/ALTIMA/2013/WINDOWS_WINDSHIELD/WINDSHIELD_CRACKED.SHTML SUCH AS: "DEAR NHTSA, PLEASE INVESTIGATE IF THE WINDSHIELD ON 2013 NISSAN ALTIMA ARE DEFECTIVE IN NATURE. OUR BRAND NEW ALTIMA WHICH HAS LESS THAN 2 YEARS OLD SUFFERED A CRACK WINDSHIELD, THAT APPEARED OUT OF NOWHERE. "

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/2/2016 - FREDERICK, MD
I EXPERIENCED A GRINDING, SHAKING NOISE AT 2.0 RPM. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN IN FOR SERVICE AND I WAS INFORMED THAT THE TRANSMISSION HAD TO BE REPLACED. THE TRANSMISSION WAS REPLACED AND THAT WAS WHEN ALL OF MY TROUBLES BEGAN. THE VEHICLE WOULD HESITATE AND JERK WHILE DRIVING AT LOW SPEEDS. THERE WAS NOW A VIBRATION AT 1.5 RPM. I TOOK THE VEHICLE BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP AND WAS ADVISED THAT A BELT WAS LOOSE. THE VEHICLE WAS RETURNED TO ME AND IT STILL WAS NOT DRIVING SMOOTHLY AND NOW THE ENTIRE GEAR CONSOLE WAS LOOSE. THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT MOVE FROM EITHER DRIVE OR REVERSE UPON STARTING, EVEN WHEN THE GEAR SHIFT WAS MOVED. IT WOULD TAKE TWO TRIES EACH TIME TO GET THE CAR TO MOVE FROM PARK. THE VEHICLE WENT BACK INTO THE DEALERSHIP WHERE THE GEAR CONSOLE WAS ADJUSTED. HOWEVER, THE DEALERSHIP COULD NOT REPLICATE THE ISSUE - VEHICLE NOT MOVING WHEN GEAR PLACED IN REVERSE OR DRIVE. THIS WEEKEND (4/30/16) I DROVE THE VEHICLE IN VIRGINIA AND HAD TO NAVIGATE SEVERAL HIGH ELEVATIONS WHILE ON THE I-81 HIGHWAY. THE CAR WAS SLUGGISH AT BEST, DRAGGING AND THE GEARS WOULD NOT CHANGE. THE CAR WAS RACING LOUDLY TRYING TO KEEP UP WITH THE SPEED, RPM WAS UP AT 3.5 AND THE CAR WAS AT 50 MLES; SPEED LIMIT WAS 70. ONCE I CLEARED THE HILL THE RPMS LEVELED OUT TO 1.5 AND THE CAR HELD THE 70 MPH SPEED. NOTE THE VEHICLE WAS NOT PERFORMING THIS WAY BEFORE THE "NEW TRANSMISSION" WAS INSTALLED. I DID HAVE THE GRINDING AND RACING NOISE AT 2.0 RPM, BUT NO HESITATION, JERKING OR ANY DIFFICULTIES IN HIGHER ELEVATIONS. THAT LEADS ME TO CONCLUDE THAT THERE IS SOMETHING ELSE WRONG WITH THIS VEHICLE OTHER THAN THE TRANSMISSION. I HAVE ALSO LODGED A COMPLAINT WITH NISSAN CONSUMER AFFAIRS WHOM I AM AWAITING A RESPONSE FROM ON MY COMPLAINT. THE VEHICLE NOW HAS 18,694 MILES AND WAS PURCHASED IN AUGUST OF 2014.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 25
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds