Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN ALTIMA - 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 221 complaints filed for the 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (82) Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (10) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (10)
Back Over Prevention (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (44) Steering (24) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (30) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (3) Structure (12) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Seats (5) Suspension (6) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (17) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (13) Tires (1) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
 
ComplaintDescription

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/17/2016 - COAL CITY, IN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE ENGINE UNDERCOVER SEPARATED WHILE DRIVING 70 MPH. THE CONTACT HEARD A NOISE UNDER THE VEHICLE PRIOR TO THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED MECHANIC WHO STATED THAT THE BOLTS USED TO SECURE THE ENGINE COVER WERE MADE OF DEFECTIVE PLASTIC, WHICH FAILED TO SECURE THE COVER. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED. THE ENGINE UNDERCOVER WAS NOT REPLACED. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 50,000.

View Details

STEERING

8/16/2016 - NAPA, CA
MY CAR HAS APPROXIMATELY 43,000 MILES.I'M HAVING A HARD TIME KEEPING THE CAR IN MY LANE OF TRAFFIC. THE CAR WAS PULLING HARD TO THE LEFT, REQUIRING ME TO STEER TO THE RIGHT .. CAR NEEDS TO BE CONSTANTLY CORRECTED TO STAY INSIDE THE LANE EVEN WHEN DRIVING STRAIGH. IF YOU ARE IN A CROSSWIND OR BEHIND A TRUCK, THE VEHICLE DRIFTS HORRIBLY TOO. YOU MUST HAVE A GOOD HANDLE ON THE STEERING WHEEL TO KEEP CORRECTING TO STAY IN YOUR LANE! I TOOK MY CAR TO DO AN ALIGNMENT TWO TIMES AND STILL THE SAME I CHANGE TIRES AND RIMS DID NOT FIX THE PROBLEM THERE IS ALOT OF COMPLAINS ON THE INTERNET WITH THE SAME PROBLEM.

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/14/2016 - PLANO, TX
THERE WAS RECALL ON THIS VEHICLE NHTSA RECALL 16V-244. IT WAS ABOUT THE OCS. VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO CREST NISSAN OF FRISCO 6600 STATE HWY 121, FRISCO, TX 75034 ON 14 JUNE 2016. ACCORDING TO THE INVOICE GIVEN TO ME BY THE DEALER THE OCS UNIT WAS REPROGRAMMED. ON 9 AUG 16 I TOOK THE VEHICLE BACK TO THE SAME DEALER BECAUSE THE SUPPLEMENTAL AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT REMAINS ON CONTINUOUSLY. BUT THE CUSTOMER SERVICE AGENT AT CREST NISSAN OF FRISCO TOLD ME THAT THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH IT, THIS LIGHT IS SUPPOSED TO STAY ON UNLESS THE PASSENGER SEAT IS OCCUPIED BY AN ADULT . OWNER'S MANUAL ON PAGE 1-57 CLEARLY MENTIONS THAT " IF THE SUPPLEMENTAL AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT REMAINS ON AFTER APPROXIMATELY 7 SECONDS, UNDER THIS CONDITION, THE FRONT AIR BAG, SIDE AIR BAG AND CURTAIN AIR BAG OR PRETENSIONER SYSTEMS MAY NOT OPERATE PROPERLY". THE DEALER HAS NOT ONLY FAILED TO RECTIFY THE PROBLEM BUT ALSO LIED TO ME ABOUT THIS TECHNICAL AND A POTENTIALLY HAZARDOUS PROBLEM. IT COULD MEAN THAT THE FRONT AIR BAG, SIDE AIR BAG, CURTAIN AIR BAG AND/OR PRETENSIONER SYSTEMS WILL NOT OPERATE IN AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

8/13/2016 - FORT MYERS, FL
I PARKED THE CAR ON A SLIGHT INCLINE, PLACED THE SHIFTER IN PARK AND STEPPED ON THE EMERGENCY BRAKE. I EXITED THE VEHICLE, LEFT THE DRIVER DOOR OPEN. I OPENED THE LEFT REAR DOOR, REMOVED MY DOG AND CLOSED THE DOOR. I LOOKED UP JUST IN TIME AS I WAS STRUCK BY THE OPEN FRONT DOOR OF MY CAR, KNOCKED TO THE GROUND AND IT ROLLED OVER MY LEG. IT ROLLED FOR APPROXIMATELY 30 FEET AND STRUCK A TREE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/13/2016 - FORT MYERS, FL
I PARKED THE CAR ON A SLIGHT INCLINE, PLACED THE SHIFTER IN PARK AND STEPPED ON THE EMERGENCY BRAKE. I EXITED THE VEHICLE, LEFT THE DRIVER DOOR OPEN. I OPENED THE LEFT REAR DOOR, REMOVED MY DOG AND CLOSED THE DOOR. I LOOKED UP JUST IN TIME AS I WAS STRUCK BY THE OPEN FRONT DOOR OF MY CAR, KNOCKED TO THE GROUND AND IT ROLLED OVER MY LEG. IT ROLLED FOR APPROXIMATELY 30 FEET AND STRUCK A TREE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

8/11/2016 - CHICAGO, IL
HOOD RELEASED AND BLEW BACK INTO THE WINDSHIELD AT 30 MPH.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

8/10/2016 - BOCA RATON, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA. WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO ACCELERATE WHEN THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. ALSO, THE VEHICLE HESITATED AND TOOK APPROXIMATELY FIVE SECONDS TO INCREASE IN SPEED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WERE IT WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 25,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/6/2016 - GIRARD, IL
I RAN LOW ON WINDSHIELD WASHER FLUID AND A LIGHT CAN ON NOTIFYING ME. THE NEXT DAY I NOTICED THAT THE LANE DETECTION SYSTEM AND THE CAR IN YOUR BLIND SPOT INDICATOR WAS NO WORKING. CAUSING A SAFETY CONCERN. COME TO FIND OUT. WHEN YOU RUN LOW ON WIPER FLUID, IT DEACTIVATES THESE SAFETY FEATURES. I THINK THIS IS CRAZY AND DANGEROUS. PUT IN WIPER FLUID AND IT CORRECTED THE PROBLEM. WOW!!!

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/6/2016 - GIRARD, IL
I RAN LOW ON WINDSHIELD WASHER FLUID AND A LIGHT CAN ON NOTIFYING ME. THE NEXT DAY I NOTICED THAT THE LANE DETECTION SYSTEM AND THE CAR IN YOUR BLIND SPOT INDICATOR WAS NO WORKING. CAUSING A SAFETY CONCERN. COME TO FIND OUT. WHEN YOU RUN LOW ON WIPER FLUID, IT DEACTIVATES THESE SAFETY FEATURES. I THINK THIS IS CRAZY AND DANGEROUS. PUT IN WIPER FLUID AND IT CORRECTED THE PROBLEM. WOW!!!

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

8/6/2016 - GIRARD, IL
I RAN LOW ON WINDSHIELD WASHER FLUID AND A LIGHT CAN ON NOTIFYING ME. THE NEXT DAY I NOTICED THAT THE LANE DETECTION SYSTEM AND THE CAR IN YOUR BLIND SPOT INDICATOR WAS NO WORKING. CAUSING A SAFETY CONCERN. COME TO FIND OUT. WHEN YOU RUN LOW ON WIPER FLUID, IT DEACTIVATES THESE SAFETY FEATURES. I THINK THIS IS CRAZY AND DANGEROUS. PUT IN WIPER FLUID AND IT CORRECTED THE PROBLEM. WOW!!!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 29
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds