Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN ALTIMA - 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 231 complaints filed for the 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (86) Equipment (2) Latches Locks Linkages (10) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (9)
Back Over Prevention (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (48) Steering (24) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (32) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (3) Structure (12) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (7) Seats (5) Suspension (6) Visibility Wiper (4)
Engine (18) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (13) Tires (1) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

9/19/2016 - BAYTOWN, TX
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA. WHILE DRIVING AT ANY SPEED, BOTH SIDES OF THE CONTACT'S VEHICLE WERE STRUCK WHEN ANOTHER VEHICLE RAN A STOP SIGN. THE AIR BAGS FAILED TO DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THERE WERE TWO INJURIES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED AND TOWED. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 35,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/16/2016 - MALONE, WI
RANDOMLY THIS OCCURS, WHEN SITTING IN THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT THE AIR BAG SIGN FOR THAT SEAT WILL SAY OFF. ON OUR LAST TRIP WE LEFT A STOP AND ENTERED THE HIGHWAY BUT THE LIGHT STAYED ON INDICATING THE AIR BAG WAS NOT ACTIVATED. WE HAD TO DRIVE LIKE THAT UNTIL WE COULD SAFELY STOP. WE THEN TURNED OFF THE IGNITION AND STARTED THE CAR AGAIN, AND THIS TIME THE AIR BAG OFF LIGHT DID NOT STAY LIT. WE HAVE HAD THE VEHICLE AT THE DEALER 6 TIMES FOR THIS PROBLEM. BECAUSE THEY CAN NOT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM WHEN THE CAR IS THERE THE ONLY THING THEY SAY THEY CAN DO IS A ZERO POINT RESET ON OCS SYSTEM. THAT HAS NOT STOPPED THIS ISSUE FROM REOCCURRING. WE HAVE PHONED BERGSTROM OF OSHKOSH 5 DAYS THIS WEEK, THEY DO NOT RETURN OUR CALL. THE LAST DIAGNOSIS STATES ELECTRICAL, HOWEVER, TONY THE SERVICE ADVISOR TOLD US THE LAST TIME WE WERE THEIR THAT THEY DON'T WANT TO THROW MONEY AT THE CAR IT COULD BE A SENSOR, ELECTRICAL, THE AIR BAG SYSTEM OR THE SEAT. BECAUSE THEY CANNOT REPLICATE THE PROBLEM WHEN WE ARE THERE THEY DO NOT KNOW WHAT TO FIX, SO CHOOSE TO DO NOTHING. THE RECALL ON THE CAR WAS DONE 5/26/16. HOWEVER WE CONTINUE TO HAVE THIS PROBLEM. THE SERVICE ADVISOR HAS REPEATEDLY SAID IT IS BECAUSE THE PASSENGER IS NOT SITTING ON THE SEAT CORRECTLY, HOWEVER THE LAST TIME IT OCCURRED THE PASSENGER WAS SITTING IN THE SAME POSITION WHEN THE AIR BAG WAS OFF AS SHE WAS WHEN THE IGNITION WAS TURNED OFF AND RESTARTED CORRECTING THE PROBLEM. OUR WARRANTY WILL RUN OUT SOON. WE PHONED NISSAN AND THEY WILL ONLY GO BY WHAT THERE AUTO TECH AT BERGSTROM TELLS THEM, SO NO HELP THERE EITHER. I HAVE COPIES OF INVOICES FROM WHEN THE CAR WAS TAKEN IN FOR THIS PROBLEM.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/15/2016 - DALLAS, TX
HAD PROBLEMS SHIFTING CAR INTO GEAR (FROM REVERSE TO DRIVE) AND MY VEHICLE HAS HORRIBLE ACCELERATION. ONCE IT WAS GOING IT WOULD GO, BUT STOP TO STARTING WAS VERY DANGEROUS AND I HAVE AN INFANT! MY CAR HAS BEEN IN THE SHOP FOR 2 WEEKS A MECHANIC AND NOW DEALERSHIP AND I AM STILL NOT IN MY VEHICLE! NISSAN NEEDS TO INFORM CONSUMERS OF FAULTY CVT TRANSMISSIONS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/15/2016 - FAYETTE, MS
1) WINDSHIELD CRACKED IN THE SAME PLACE AS SEVERAL OTHER 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA SL CARS. 2) 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA SL NAVIGATION FREEZING UP. SOMETIMES IT DOESN'T WORK AT ALL. LIGHTS ON SYSTEM ARE FLICKERING ON AND OFF. CAR HAS BEEN IN THE SHOP SEVERAL TIMES, BUT NO FIX. 3) 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA SL BACK AND TOP SPEAKERS HAVE STOPPED WORKING. 4) 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA SL PASSENGER AIRBAG LIGHT STAYS ON AFTER A RECALL WAS COMPLETED. IF YOU NEED ANY OTHER INFORMATION, EMAIL ME.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

9/15/2016 - FAYETTE, MS
1) WINDSHIELD CRACKED IN THE SAME PLACE AS SEVERAL OTHER 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA SL CARS. 2) 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA SL NAVIGATION FREEZING UP. SOMETIMES IT DOESN'T WORK AT ALL. LIGHTS ON SYSTEM ARE FLICKERING ON AND OFF. CAR HAS BEEN IN THE SHOP SEVERAL TIMES, BUT NO FIX. 3) 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA SL BACK AND TOP SPEAKERS HAVE STOPPED WORKING. 4) 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA SL PASSENGER AIRBAG LIGHT STAYS ON AFTER A RECALL WAS COMPLETED. IF YOU NEED ANY OTHER INFORMATION, EMAIL ME.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/14/2016 - SEVIERVILLE, TN
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO PARK AT 3 MPH, THE VEHICLE SHUT OFF WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT SHIFTED INTO PARK AND RESTARTED THE VEHICLE. THE VEHICLE STARTED, BUT QUICKLY SHUT OFF. THE VEHICLE STARTED NORMALLY THE THIRD TIME; HOWEVER, IT SHUT OFF AGAIN WHEN APPROACHING A STOP AT LOW SPEED. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO THE DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE TRANSMISSION FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED FIVE MORE TIMES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 63,417.

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/13/2016 - NORTON, OH
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS INVOLVED IN A CRASH. THE CONTACT DID NOT RECALL THE DETAILS OF THE CRASH. THE AIR BAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE DRIVER SUSTAINED NECK INJURIES THAT REQUIRED MEDICAL ATTENTION. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED AND DESTROYED. THE VIN WAS INVALID. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS UNKNOWN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/11/2016 - FAIRBURN, GA
WHILE DRIVING VEHICLE WITH MY TODDLER IN CAR, I CAME TO STOP LIGHT, THE CAR SHUTTERED FORWARD AND THEN SHUT OFF. RESTARTED CAR AND WHEN PLACED IN GEAR, CAR IMMEDIATELY SHUT OFF AGAIN. WAITED FOR 25 SECONDS AND RESTARTED CAR TO DRIVE HOME. NEXT DAY, CAR CONTINUED SAME BEHAVIOR MORE OFTEN HOWEVER IT TOOK LONGER AND LONGER TO GET THE CAR TO REMAIN ON AND I HAD TO PUT CAR IN NEUTRAL EVERY TIME I STOPPED. TOOK CAR TO DEALER AND THE CAR WOULD NOT PRODUCE ANY DIAGNOSTIC CODES. THE CAR SHUT OFF WHEN THE TECH ATTEMPTED TO GET ON THE HIGHWAY ON THE FIRST TEST DRIVE. THEY ALLOWED THE CAR TO COOL AND ATTEMPTED A SECOND TEST DRIVE BUT WERE UNABLE TO GET OUT OF THE PARKING LOT. THE CAR HAS APPROXIMATELY 48,900 MILES, PURCHASED WITH BRAND NEW IN 2014 AND I WAS TOLD THAT THE TRANSMISSION NEEDS TO BE REPLACED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/9/2016 - LEWISTON, NC
I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE BRAND NEW FROM THE DEALERSHIP ON 12/31/13. THIS VEHICLE IS 2 YEARS OLD AND HAS APPROXIMATELY 75,000 MILES ON IT. IT HAS HAD A MINIMUM OF 2 RECALLS ON IT SINCE I HAD IT. I WOULD DRIVE THE CAR NEARLY ALL DAY (NO MORE THAN 50 MILES PER DAY) AND SUDDENLY ONCE I APPROACHED A STOP SIGN AT A VERY BUSY INTERSECTION AND WAS ABOUT TO CROSS IT, THE CAR ENGINE SHUT DOWN. I COULD HEAR THE RADIO. NOTE: MY TODDLER CHILD WAS WITH ME. I ATTEMPTED TO START THE VEHICLE SEVERAL TIMES BUT AS SOON AS I PUT IT IN THE DRIVE GEAR, IT WOULD SHUT OFF AGAIN. I HAD TO SIT TO THE STOP SIGN WITH TRAFFIC APPROACHING FOR NEARLY 10 MINUTES BEFORE THE CAR WOULD ALLOW ME TO START AND PUT IT IN GEAR TO DRIVE IT HOME. WHEN I TOOK IT TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TEST, THEY COULD NOT GIVE ME A FULL DIAGNOSIS AS THEY STATED THAT THE VEHICLE HAD TO BE COOLED. I HAD NO WAY HOME AS I LIVE OUTSIDE OF THE DEALERSHIP'S SHUTTLE RADIUS AND WAS OFFERED A RENTAL CAR BUT I HAD TO PAY FOR IT. I HAD NO CHOICE BUT TO TRUST THAT I WOULD MAKE IT BACK HOME WITH IT. I DID MAKE IT HOME BUT IT SHUT OFF IN THE YARD. I HAD IT TOWED A FEW DAYS LATER TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR FURTHER TESTING AND IT WAS REVEALED TO ME THAT THE TRANSMISSION HAD TO BE REPLACED. I AM BOTHERED BY THIS BECAUSE THIS IS A BRAND NEW VEHICLE WITH LESS THAN 100,000 MILES AND IS 2 YEARS OLD. ALSO, THIS COULD HAVE BEEN A SAFETY HAZARD FOR ME AND MY CHILD AS IT COULD HAVE SHUT DOWN IN THE MIDDLE OF THE INTERSECTION IN WHICH WE WERE CROSSING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/9/2016 - GREENVILLE, RI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 30 MPH, THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS ABLE TO BE RESTARTED. THE DEALER DIAGNOSED THAT THE SENSOR FOR THE CAMSHAFT FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 70,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 30
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds