Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN ALTIMA - 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 74 complaints filed for the 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (24) Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (5)
Electrical System (9) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (17) Steering (12) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (1) Structure (2) Visibility (1)
Engine (5) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Service Brakes (7) Suspension (2) Visibility Wiper (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/27/2014 - POUGHKEEPSIE, NY
THE VEHICLE HAS A PUSH BUTTON START/STOP. WHEN THE CAR IS TURNED OFF THE VEHICLE CAN BE LEFT IN GEAR AND THE AUDIBLE WARNING INDICATORS ARE CONFUSING AND INCONSISTENT. AS I WAS WALKING AWAY FROM THE CAR IT WOULD NOT REMOTE LOCK. I LOOKED BACK AND IT WAS ROLLING ACROSS THE PARKING LOT. ANY NUMBER OF TIMES I HAVE LEFT IT IN NEUTRAL BY MISTAKE. THE AUDIBLE WARNING SYSTEM IS TERRIBLE, INCONSISTENT AND THIS IS DANGEROUS. I CALLED THE DEALER AND WAS TOLD THERE IS NO FIX AND YOU HAVE TO PUT THE CAR IN NEUTRAL AND NISSAN SAID THEY DON'T ACCEPT REDESIGN SUGGESTIONS OVER THE PHONE. I HAD TO JUMP IN THE CAR WITH A BAD BACK AND HIP TO STOP IT AS IT ROLLED ACROSS THE PARKING LOT. VERY DANGEROUS. AUDIBLE DOOR OPEN AND LIGHTS ON WARNINGS ARE INCONSISTENT AS IS THE KEY RECOGNITION SYSTEM. I WOULD NOT HAVE BOUGHT THIS CAR IF I KNEW IT HAD SUCH A DANGEROUS FLAW AND BAD ELECTRONICS. MY PHONE MESSAGE HAS NOT BEEN RETURNED. 914-475-8037 DAVID MORGENSTERN

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/25/2014 - ORLANDO, FL
THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE BRAKES WERE MAKING GRINDING AND SQUEALING NOISES. THE REAR CALIBER ON THE CAR WAS STUCK AND WAS GRINDING AWAY AT THE BREAK PADS. THE ROTOR AND THE BREAK PADS ON THE CAR WERE RUINED. WHAT IS UPSETTING ABOUT THE SITUATION IS THAT THE CAR HAS 4300 MILES.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

10/25/2014 - ORLANDO, FL
THE REAR PASSENGER SIDE BRAKES WERE MAKING GRINDING AND SQUEALING NOISES. THE REAR CALIBER ON THE CAR WAS STUCK AND WAS GRINDING AWAY AT THE BREAK PADS. THE ROTOR AND THE BREAK PADS ON THE CAR WERE RUINED. WHAT IS UPSETTING ABOUT THE SITUATION IS THAT THE CAR HAS 4300 MILES.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/24/2014 - OREGON , WI
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT WAS OCCUPIED, THE AIR BAG INDICATED THAT THE AIR BAG SYSTEM WAS DEACTIVATED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE AIR BAG SYSTEM RESUMED NORMAL FUNCTION AFTER FIFTEEN MINUTES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER SEVERAL TIMES. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. HOWEVER, THEY STATED THAT THERE WAS NOT A FIX FOR THE FRONT PASSENGER AIR BAG DEACTIVATION FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 8,300. PAM

View Details

EQUIPMENT ADAPTIVE

10/24/2014 - EADS, TN
BLIND SPOT SENSORS ARE GOING OFF WHEN RAINING! WE HAD THIS CHECKED OUT BY THE DEALER TWICE AND NOTHING WAS DONE. ON SECOND VISIT I WAS TOLD THIS WAS GOING TO HAPPEN DURING INCLIMATE WEATHER AS IT IS NORMAL. THERE WERE SEVERAL OTHER COMPLAINTS AS WELL I LET HIM KNOW THIS WAS UNACCEPTABLE. THERE WAS NO MENTION OF THIS IN THE AUTO MANUALS NOR FROM THE SALES STAFF. I PURCHASED THE EXTRA SAFETY FEATURES TO KEEP MY FAMILY SAFE. THESE FEATURES ARE NEEDED ESPECIALLY DURING INCLIMATE WEATHER. WE HAVE NO CONFIDENCE IN OUR EQUIPMENT'S SAFETY FEATURES AS THEY ARE MISLEADING.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

10/11/2014 - SAN DIEGO, CA
I PURCHASED A BRAND NEW 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA S ON 7/20/14. ON 9/17/14 MY CEL BEGAN FLASHING, CAR SHAKING & LOSING POWER AS I WAS DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY (WHICH IS UNDER CONSTRUCTION WITH NO SHOULDERS TO PULL OVER ON). BROUGHT CAR TO SERVICE DEPARTMENT AND THEY TRIED TO FIRST TELL ME THEY COULDN'T FIND ANY ISSUE. I FORCED THEM TO CONTINUE TESTING & IT HAPPENED AGAIN & THEY WERE ABLE TO PULL 2 ERROR CODES (MISFIRE & MULTIPLE MISFIRE). AFTER A WEEK OF DRIVING MY CAR AND TESTING, THEY COULD NOT FIGURE OUT HOW TO FIX IT. I OPENED A CASE AT THAT TIME TO REQUEST A BUY BACK OR REPLACEMENT OF THIS VEHICLE AS IT IS CLEAR THAT SOMETHING WAS DONE WRONG ON THE ASSEMBLY LINE & SAFETY OF VEHICLE HAS BEEN COMPROMISED. ON 9/26/14, THE DEALERSHIP CALLED AND TOLD ME TO PICK UP MY CAR AS THEY "THINK THEY FIXED THE PROBLEM." I PICKED UP THE CAR, DROVE 5 MILES & ISSUES HAPPENED AGAIN & I NOTICED IT WAS CONSUMING LARGE AMOUNTS OF GASOLINE. BROUGHT IT BACK TO DEALERSHIP & TOLD THEM THAT IT WAS NOT FIXED & IT IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE THIS VEHICLE. ON 9/29/14, NISSAN CORPORATE SENT AN ENGINEER TO PICK UP MY CAR TO TEST THE ISSUES & AFTER DRIVING IT, THE ENGINEER SAID THAT ALL 4 COILS NEEDED TO BE CHANGED. COILS WERE SWAPPED OUT & I PICKED UP THE CAR 10/2/14 AGAINST MY WILL. FULL TANK WHEN I PICKED UP THE CAR STATING I'D RECEIVE 540 MILES (NORMAL FOR AN ALTIMA) & 2 DAYS LATER, IT DROPPED ALL OF A SUDDEN BY 100 MILES FOR NO REASON. I ONLY RECEIVED 400 MILES TO FULL TANK & THE MAJORITY OF MY DRIVING IS HIGHWAY MILES. IT IS STILL CONSUMING GASOLINE & IS IDLING ROUGHER. I AM NOW 3 WEEKS IN, 2 SEPARATE ISSUES & MY CAR STILL IS NOT WORKING. IF MY CAR HAS ISSUES 52 DAYS IN AND ONLY 3K MILES, I CAN ONLY IMAGINE WHAT ELSE IS GOING TO HAPPEN. I COMMUTE AND DRIVE WITH SMALL CHILDREN & IT IS NOT SAFE. IT IS CLEAR THAT THERE IS SOMETHING WRONG WITH MY CAR.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

10/11/2014 - SAN DIEGO, CA
I PURCHASED A BRAND NEW 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA S ON 7/20/14. ON 9/17/14 MY CEL BEGAN FLASHING, CAR SHAKING & LOSING POWER AS I WAS DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY (WHICH IS UNDER CONSTRUCTION WITH NO SHOULDERS TO PULL OVER ON). BROUGHT CAR TO SERVICE DEPARTMENT AND THEY TRIED TO FIRST TELL ME THEY COULDN'T FIND ANY ISSUE. I FORCED THEM TO CONTINUE TESTING & IT HAPPENED AGAIN & THEY WERE ABLE TO PULL 2 ERROR CODES (MISFIRE & MULTIPLE MISFIRE). AFTER A WEEK OF DRIVING MY CAR AND TESTING, THEY COULD NOT FIGURE OUT HOW TO FIX IT. I OPENED A CASE AT THAT TIME TO REQUEST A BUY BACK OR REPLACEMENT OF THIS VEHICLE AS IT IS CLEAR THAT SOMETHING WAS DONE WRONG ON THE ASSEMBLY LINE & SAFETY OF VEHICLE HAS BEEN COMPROMISED. ON 9/26/14, THE DEALERSHIP CALLED AND TOLD ME TO PICK UP MY CAR AS THEY "THINK THEY FIXED THE PROBLEM." I PICKED UP THE CAR, DROVE 5 MILES & ISSUES HAPPENED AGAIN & I NOTICED IT WAS CONSUMING LARGE AMOUNTS OF GASOLINE. BROUGHT IT BACK TO DEALERSHIP & TOLD THEM THAT IT WAS NOT FIXED & IT IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE THIS VEHICLE. ON 9/29/14, NISSAN CORPORATE SENT AN ENGINEER TO PICK UP MY CAR TO TEST THE ISSUES & AFTER DRIVING IT, THE ENGINEER SAID THAT ALL 4 COILS NEEDED TO BE CHANGED. COILS WERE SWAPPED OUT & I PICKED UP THE CAR 10/2/14 AGAINST MY WILL. FULL TANK WHEN I PICKED UP THE CAR STATING I'D RECEIVE 540 MILES (NORMAL FOR AN ALTIMA) & 2 DAYS LATER, IT DROPPED ALL OF A SUDDEN BY 100 MILES FOR NO REASON. I ONLY RECEIVED 400 MILES TO FULL TANK & THE MAJORITY OF MY DRIVING IS HIGHWAY MILES. IT IS STILL CONSUMING GASOLINE & IS IDLING ROUGHER. I AM NOW 3 WEEKS IN, 2 SEPARATE ISSUES & MY CAR STILL IS NOT WORKING. IF MY CAR HAS ISSUES 52 DAYS IN AND ONLY 3K MILES, I CAN ONLY IMAGINE WHAT ELSE IS GOING TO HAPPEN. I COMMUTE AND DRIVE WITH SMALL CHILDREN & IT IS NOT SAFE. IT IS CLEAR THAT THERE IS SOMETHING WRONG WITH MY CAR.

View Details

ENGINE

10/11/2014 - SAN DIEGO, CA
I PURCHASED A BRAND NEW 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA S ON 7/20/14. ON 9/17/14 MY CEL BEGAN FLASHING, CAR SHAKING & LOSING POWER AS I WAS DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY (WHICH IS UNDER CONSTRUCTION WITH NO SHOULDERS TO PULL OVER ON). BROUGHT CAR TO SERVICE DEPARTMENT AND THEY TRIED TO FIRST TELL ME THEY COULDN'T FIND ANY ISSUE. I FORCED THEM TO CONTINUE TESTING & IT HAPPENED AGAIN & THEY WERE ABLE TO PULL 2 ERROR CODES (MISFIRE & MULTIPLE MISFIRE). AFTER A WEEK OF DRIVING MY CAR AND TESTING, THEY COULD NOT FIGURE OUT HOW TO FIX IT. I OPENED A CASE AT THAT TIME TO REQUEST A BUY BACK OR REPLACEMENT OF THIS VEHICLE AS IT IS CLEAR THAT SOMETHING WAS DONE WRONG ON THE ASSEMBLY LINE & SAFETY OF VEHICLE HAS BEEN COMPROMISED. ON 9/26/14, THE DEALERSHIP CALLED AND TOLD ME TO PICK UP MY CAR AS THEY "THINK THEY FIXED THE PROBLEM." I PICKED UP THE CAR, DROVE 5 MILES & ISSUES HAPPENED AGAIN & I NOTICED IT WAS CONSUMING LARGE AMOUNTS OF GASOLINE. BROUGHT IT BACK TO DEALERSHIP & TOLD THEM THAT IT WAS NOT FIXED & IT IS NOT SAFE TO DRIVE THIS VEHICLE. ON 9/29/14, NISSAN CORPORATE SENT AN ENGINEER TO PICK UP MY CAR TO TEST THE ISSUES & AFTER DRIVING IT, THE ENGINEER SAID THAT ALL 4 COILS NEEDED TO BE CHANGED. COILS WERE SWAPPED OUT & I PICKED UP THE CAR 10/2/14 AGAINST MY WILL. FULL TANK WHEN I PICKED UP THE CAR STATING I'D RECEIVE 540 MILES (NORMAL FOR AN ALTIMA) & 2 DAYS LATER, IT DROPPED ALL OF A SUDDEN BY 100 MILES FOR NO REASON. I ONLY RECEIVED 400 MILES TO FULL TANK & THE MAJORITY OF MY DRIVING IS HIGHWAY MILES. IT IS STILL CONSUMING GASOLINE & IS IDLING ROUGHER. I AM NOW 3 WEEKS IN, 2 SEPARATE ISSUES & MY CAR STILL IS NOT WORKING. IF MY CAR HAS ISSUES 52 DAYS IN AND ONLY 3K MILES, I CAN ONLY IMAGINE WHAT ELSE IS GOING TO HAPPEN. I COMMUTE AND DRIVE WITH SMALL CHILDREN & IT IS NOT SAFE. IT IS CLEAR THAT THERE IS SOMETHING WRONG WITH MY CAR.

View Details

AIR BAGS

10/6/2014 - MOREHEAD CITY, NC
I WAS TRAVELLING EAST ON HIGHWAY 70 IN NC IN A 2014 WHITE NISSAN ALTIMA ON A FOUR LANE HIGHWAY UNDER RAINY CONDITIONS. A HYUNDAI WAS TRAVELLING WEST ON HWY 70, HYDROPLANED, CROSSED THE MEDIAN AND HIT ME HEAD ON CAUSING HER CAR TO SPIN AND HER PASSENGER SIDE THEN STRUCK MY DRIVER'S SIDE. MY STEERING WHEEL AIRBAG DEPLOYED BUT THE DRIVER'S SIDE AIRBAGS DID NOT DEPLOY. THE SECOND IMPACT DAMAGED MY NISSAN'S DRIVER SIDE DOOR TO THE POINT IT HAD TO BE FORCED OPEN. THE HYUNDAI'S PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAGS DEPLOYED IN BOTH THE FRONT AND BACK SEATS WHICH IS THE SIDE THAT STRUCK MY DRIVER'S SIDE. MY 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA WAS DAMAGED BEYOND REPAIR AND TOTALED BY THE INSURANCE COMPANY. I SUSTAINED MULTIPLE INJURIES WITH THE MAJORITY BEING ON MY LEFT SIDE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/2/2014 - STATEN ISLAND, NY
ENTERED VEHICLE FOB NOT RECOGNIZE SYSTEM LOCKED ME IN, COULDN'T GET OUT, PANICKED FOR A FEW SECONDS, HAD TO USE THE REMOTELESS KEY TO GET OUT. TOOK DEALERSHIP SEVERAL DAYS BEFORE THEY TOWED MY CAR.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  ... 10
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds