Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN ALTIMA - 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 101 complaints filed for the 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (35) Equipment (1) Power Train (20) Steering (15) Unknown Or Other (7)
Electrical System (12) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (1) Structure (2) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Exterior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (7) Suspension (3) Visibility (1)
Engine (8) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Fuel System Gasoline (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

2/25/2015 - BUCKEYE, AZ
PULLING INTO A PARKING LOT WITH BRAKE ON THE CAR ACCELERATED BY ITSELF AND JUMPED THE CURB. WHEN THE BACK TIRES BOUNCED OVER THE CURB THE CAR STOPPED ACCELERATING.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/23/2015 - SCHENEVUS, NY
WHILE TRAVELING AT 65 MPH ON THE HIGHWAY, THE RPMS BEGAN JUMPING. IT WAS ACTING LIKE THE TRANSMISSION WAS SLIPPING. THEN AFTER STOPPING, THE TRANSMISSION TOOK SEVERAL SECONDS TO GO INTO GEAR. A SHORT TIME LATER, THE CAR WOULD NOT ACCELERATE OVER 60MPH. TOOK TO THE DEALER AND THEY SAID THE TRANSMISSION FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CAR HAD UNDER 20,000 MILES ON IT. I HAVE READ THAT THIS IS A VERY COMMON PROBLEM WITH NISSAN CVT TRANSMISSIONS AND SOME OWNERS HAVE HAD THEIR TRANSMISSIONS REPLACED 5 TIMES.

View Details

EQUIPMENT: ELECTRICAL: NAVIGATIONAL SYSTEM(GLOBAL POSITIONING SYSTEM)

2/18/2015 - LITHIA, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE NAVIGATION SCREEN FAILED TO RESPOND WHILE NAVIGATING. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE HEAD UNIT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100.

View Details

AIR BAGS

2/12/2015 - PECULIAR, MO
THE FIRST INCIDENCE WAS IN OCTOBER, 2014; MY WIFE WAS SEATED IN FRONT PASSENGER SEAT WHILE THE CAR WAS IN MOTION, WHEN THE PASSENGER AIR BAG OFF LIGHT LIT UP INDICATING THE AIR BAG SYSTEM FOR FRONT PASSENGER WAS TURNED OFF. SINCE SHE WAS SEATED NORMALLY WITH FULL WEIGHT ON THE SEAT..WE WERE LED TO BELIEVE THE AIR BAG SYSTEM WAS NOT FUNCTIONING PROPERLY. THE ONLY WAY TO GET THE SYSTEM FUNCTIONING IS TO PULL OVER AND RESTART THE CAR. THE CAR WAS IMMEDIATELY TAKEN TO THE DEALERSHIP FOLLOWING THAT INCIDENCE. THE SERVICE ADVISOR, AT THAT TIME, CONFIRMED THAT MY CAR WAS NOT PART OF THE RECALLED AIR BAGS, HOWEVER, THEY REPROGRAMMED THE COMPUTER AND TOLD ME TO WATCH FOR ANY OTHER INSTANCES. THE MOST RECENT INCIDENT WAS ON 2/8/15, WITH THE SAME CONDITIONS. I QUICKLY SCHEDULED A SERVICE APPT FOR 2/12/15 & REFUSED TO LET ANYONE IN THE FRONT SEAT. WHILE AT THE DEALERSHIP ON 2/12/15, THE NISSAN SERVICE ADVISOR DISCUSSED WITH ME A TSB, WHICH SAID THAT "OCCUPANTS WHO ARE PROPERLY SEATED AND CORRECTLY USING THE SEAT BELT, SHOULD NOT CAUSE THE PASSENGER AIR BAG TO BE AUTOMATICALLY TURNED OFF." HE THEN HAD THE CARE INSPECTED BY A SERVICE TECH. FOLLOWING THE INSPECTION, THE SERVICE ADVISOR CAME TO ME AND NOTED THAT THE SYSTEM WAS NOT SHOWING ANY TROUBLE CODES. THEY TOLD ME THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO AND TO LET THEM KNOW IF I HAD ANYMORE TROUBLE. AT THIS POINT I REFUSED TO TAKE THE CAR OFF THEIR LOT UNTIL IT WAS FIXED - I DID NOT FEEL THAT MY FAMILY SHOULD BE SUBJECTED TO A POSSIBLE FAILURE OF THE AIR BAG SYSTEM, INJURY, OR DEATH. IT APPEARED TO ME THAT THOSE OUTCOMES WERE 100% AVOIDABLE. AFTER A FEW CONVERSATIONS INCL THE SERVICE MANAGER, I WAS PROVIDED WITH A DEALER LOANER VEHICLE AND WAS TOLD THEY WOULD RESEARCH THE SITUATION. I HAVE ELEVATED THIS TO NISSAN'S CONSUMER AFFAIR SPECIALIST VIA THE 1 800 NISSAN 1, CALL CENTER. I HOPE A SOLUTION IS FOUND QUICKLY.

View Details

STEERING

2/2/2015 - ROCKY MOUNT, NC
I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE AND RIGHT AWAY I NOTICED THAT THE STEERING WAS NOT RIGHT. THE CAR EITHER GOES LEFT OR RIGHT WILL NOT STAY STRAIGHT. THIS IS A VERY DANGEROUS SITUATION BECAUSE YOU CAN NOT TAKE YOUR EYES OFF THE ROAD FOR A SECOND. THIS IS THE WORST DRIVING CAR I HAVE EVER DRIVEN. THE DEALERSHIP SAYS IT IS JUST THE NEW STEERING SYSTEM AND YOU HAVE TO GET USE TO IT. THIS IS A REAL PROBLEM AND NEEDS TO BE FIXED. THIS WILL CAUSE ACCIDENTS. HOPEFULLY NISSAN RECOGNIZES THIS QUICKLY AND COMES UP WITH A FIX. I WILL NOT BUY ANOTHER NISSAN PRODUCT. I AVOID DRIVING THE CAR WHEN POSSIBLE.

View Details

TIRES

2/2/2015 - ANTIOCH, CA
NEW 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA CAME EQUIPPED WITH HANKOOK OPTIMA H426 P215/60R16 94T TIRES. TIRE BLEW ON FREEWAY GOING 55MPH WITH LESS THAN 16,000 MILES. DEALERSHIP THUS FAR CLAIMING IT IS A TIRE MANUFACTURING ISSUE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/1/2015 - SCARBOROUGH, ME
32 JONES CREEK DRIVE SCARBOROUGH, MAINE 04074 JANUARY 31, 2015 DEAR SIR: I BOUGHT MY NISSAN, 2014 ALTIMA, IN MAY 2014. I HAVE SCIATIC NERVE PAIN THAT ORIGINATES FROM MY LOWER BACK AND RUNS DOWN MY LEGS SOMETIMES CAUSING ME TO FIDGET IN MY SEAT WHILE DRIVING. ON FOUR SEPARATE OCCASIONS, WHILE TRYING TO GET COMFORTABLE IN THE DRIVER SEAT, THE OUTSIDE OF MY KNEE HAS INADVERTENTLY COME IN CONTACT WITH THE OVERDRIVE OFF SWITCH LOCATED ON THE INSIDE POTION OF THE SHIFT HANDLE ON THE CENTER CONSOLE. WHEN THE OVERDRIVE OFF BUTTON IS ENGAGED, I EXPERIENCE A SUDDEN LOSS IN POWER AND THE ENGINE SEEMS TO CONVULSE AND SHUDDER. I IMMEDIATELY PULL OVER, USUALLY IN HEAVY TRAFFIC, TO TRY TO GET OUT OF THIS MODE. LUCKILY, THIS HAS NOT HAPPENED TO ME WHILE I WAS ON THE HIGHWAY, BUT RATHER AT ABOUT 35 MPH IN HEAVY TRAFFIC CONDITIONS. I FIND IT TO BE AN EXTREMELY DANGEROUS SITUATION WHICH LUCKILY HAS NOT LED TO ANY TRAFFIC ACCIDENTS. I SEE ABSOLUTELY NO NEED OR ANY SITUATION WHERE I WOULD EVER USE THIS SYSTEM AND THEREFORE SEE NO REASON TO EQUIP THE CAR WITH THIS FEATURE. EVERY TIME I DO THIS, I FEEL I AM DOING DAMAGE TO THE ENGINE OR PERHAPS LEADING TO SOME HUGE EXPENSIVE REPAIR BILL DOWN THE ROAD. AT THE VERY LEAST, THE BUTTON SHOULD HAVE BEEN PLACED IN A POSITION WHERE IT CANNOT BE INADVERTENTLY PUSHED. IT SHOULD HAVE BEEN PLACED IN A SPOT WHERE YOU WOULD HAVE TO INTENTIONALLY ACCESS IT. I FIND IT TO BE A SAFETY HAZARD AND A CONCERN FOR DOING EXPENSIVE DAMAGE TO THE VEHICLE. SINCERELY, THOMAS N. KEAHON

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/28/2015 - PASADENA, CA
THE "PASSENGER AIR BAG" LIGHT SPORADICALLY COMES ON WHEN SOMEONE IS SITTING IN THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT. THIS HAS HAPPENED MORE THAN ONCE AND BECAME MORE OBVIOUS AFTER AN AIRBAG RECALL SOMETIME LAST YEAR. IT WILL COME ON WHILE DRIVING AND THEN TURN ITSELF OFF AGAIN AFTER 5MIN OR SO. I HAVE RESEARCHED THIS, AND FOUND OTHER NISSAN DRIVERS WITH THE SAME VEHICLE, OR OTHER MODELS REPORT THIS SAME ISSUE. NOT SURE IF THOSE REPORTING IT ALSO DID THE RECALL OR NOT, BUT IT IS AN OBVIOUS ONGOING PROBLEM.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

1/22/2015 - PLANO, IL
DRIVING IN MIDDLE LANE ON EXPRESSWAY IN CHICAGO, WHEN SLOWING DOWN FOR TRAFFIC ACCIDENT AGAIN I THOUGHT I WAS HIT FROM BEHIND BECAUSE MY CAR JUMPED. AS I CAME TO A COMPLETE STOP, CAR JUMPED AGAIN AND THEN DIED. TOWED TO THE DEALER, WAS FIRST TOLD IT WAS AN ECM DEFECT AND WOULD REPLACE UNDER WARRANTY. THEN RECEIVED A CALL THAT SOME OTHER ERRORS CAME UP REGARDING MY TRANSMISSION. THEY ARE GOING TO REPLACE MY TRANSMISSION BASED OFF THE ERROR BUT WILL HAVE TO PAY THE DEDUCTABLE. THE ISSUE OF THE CAR JUMPING HAD BEEN HAPPING PRIOR AND THEY COULD NOT REPLICATE THE PROBLEM. HAD THEY NOT FOUND THE OTHER ERRORS I WOULD HAVE PICKED UP THE CAR THINKING IT WAS FIXED AND THIS COULD HAVE HAPPENED AGAIN WHILE DRIVING 60MPH ON THE EXPRESSWAY AND POSSIBLE SERIOUS CONSEQUENCES FROM IT! I HAVE READY MANY REVIEWS ABOUT THE TRANSMISSION THEY HAVE A PROBLEM AND THEY DON'T WANT TO RECALL FOR IT!

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/21/2015 - CHESTER , PA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHEN ATTEMPTING TO START THE VEHICLE, THE VEHICLE FAILED TO RECOGNIZE THE KEY AND DISPLAYED KEY INVALID. THE FAILURE RECURRED MULTIPLE TIMES. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 5,000.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 13
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds