Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN ALTIMA - 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 108 complaints filed for the 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (38) Equipment (1) Power Train (20) Steering (16) Unknown Or Other (7)
Electrical System (12) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (1) Structure (3) Vehicle Speed Control (3)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Exterior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (8) Suspension (3) Visibility (1)
Engine (9) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Fuel System Gasoline (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

3/23/2015 - HOUSTON, TX
HELLO, I HAVE TAKEN MY BRAND NEW NISSAN ALTIMA 2014 4 TIMES TO THE DEALERSHIP FOR THE PROBLEM NISSAN HAS BEEN HAVING. WHEN THERE IS SOMEONE OVER THE WEIGHT LIMIT SITTING IN THE PASSENGER SIDE THE AIR BAG LIGHT THAT INDICATES IF ITS ON OR OFF DOES NOT COME OFF. STATING THAT THE AIRBAG IS OFF EVEN THOUGH SOMEONE IS SITTING IN HE PASSENGER SIDE WITH THE WEIGHT REQUIREMENT. IT ALL STARTED ON 11/10/14 AND WAS TOLD NOTHING WAS WRONG, TOOK IT AGAIN ON 1/14/15 AND THEY SAID THEY FOUND A CODE ( B00A0-00) INDICATING THE AIRBAG WOULD TURN OFF. THEY TOLD ME THEY FIXED THE PROBLEM BY REPLACING THE SENSOR AND CONTROL UNIT AND PERFORMED ZERO POINT RESET. THE PROBLEM CAME BACK AGAIN ON 2/3/15 AND WAS TOLD THAT THERE IS NOTHING WRONG AND THAT IF IT HAPPENS JUST PULL OVER AND TURN OFF THE CAR UNTIL THE LIGHTS TURN OFF AND DOES NOT COME BACK ON. TOOK IT AGAIN FOR THE SAME PROBLEM IN MARCH AND WAS TOLD THAT THEY COULD NOT DO NOTHING EVEN THOUGH THEY KNEW IT WAS NOT WORKING AS INTENDED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/23/2015 - MELBOURNE, FL
WE WERE ONE OF THE 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA'S THAT WAS EXPERIENCING THE PASSENGER AIR BAG ISSUE: EVEN THOUGH A FULL-SIZED ADULT WAS SITTING IN THE SEAT, THE "AIR-BAG OFF" WOULD BE ILLUMINATED. IT WAS BROUGHT IN UNDER THE RECALL IN ROUGHLY OCTOBER OF 2014. AFTER GETTING THE CAR BACK, WE IMMEDIATELY NOTICED THAT THE LIGHT WAS STILL COMING ON WHEN A PASSENGER WAS PRESENT. WE WERE TOLD THAT IT COULD BE DUE TO HUMIDITY, AS WE LIVE IN FLORIDA. BUT EVEN DURING THE WINTER MONTHS IT STILL READ THAT THE AIR BAG WAS OFF. THIS IS CONCERNING IF IT IS A SAFETY ISSUE AND NISSAN IS NOT PROPERLY FIXING THE ISSUE. I HEARD RECENTLY ON THE NEWS THAT MORE COMPLAINTS ARE COMING FORWARD AND I WANTED TO MAKE SURE MY VOICE WAS HEARD. THANK YOU.

View Details

ENGINE

3/19/2015 - SACRAMENTO, CA
SINCE I LEASED MY CAR IN MAY2014 I FORGOT TO TURN THE ENGINE OFF 4 TIMES . TWICE IT RAN ALL NIGHT IN MY GARAGE BUT FORTUNATELY THE GAS FUMES DID NOT ENTER MY HOUSE WHILE I WAS SLEEPING. I BELIEVE ITS BECAUSE I'M NOT USE TO THE KEYLESS IGNITION SYSTEM. AT FIRST I THOUGHT I MISTAKENLY STARTED THE ENGINE WITH THE REMOTE START CAPABILITY WHILE THE KEY WAS IN MY POCKET. I REPORTED THE PROBLEM TO THE CAR DEALER AND AT MY REQUEST THEY DISENGAGED THE REMOTE START FEATURE ON THE VEHICLE, RECENTLY THE CAR WAS LEFT RUNNING ALL NIGHT FOR THE SECOND TIME SO I APPARENTLY FORGOT TO TURN IT OFF, I AM ELDERLY AND HARD OF HEARING AND CAN HARDLY HEAR THE ENGINE RUNNING, I WEAR A HEARING AID. IT RUNS VERY QUIETLY. ONCE I LOANED MY DAUGHTER THE CAR AND SHE ENCOUNTERED THE SAME PROBLEM OF NOT TURNING OFF THE ENGINE, I LEARN FROM INTERNET POST THAT COUNTLESS REPORTS HAVE BEEN MADE AND SEVERAL DEATHS BY CARBON MONOXIDE ENTERING HOMES HAVE OCCURRED DUE TO THIS PROBLEM, I UNDERSTAND THE KEYLESS IGNITION SYSTEM HAS BEEN AROUND FOR MANY YEARS AND IS INSTALLED IN MANY DIFFERENT VEHICLES, I WAS NOT AWARE OF IT UNTIL I GOT MY CAR. I FEEL A SAFETY RECALL SHOULD BE ISSUED TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM BEFORE MORE PEOPLE GET KILLED, THE PUBLIC SHOULD BE MADE AWARE OF IT WITHOUT FURTHER DELAY SINCE COUNTLESS REPORTS HAVE ALREADY BEEN MADE. PLEASE ACKNOWLEDGE RECEIPT OF MY REPORT. THANK YOU.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/18/2015 - LAKE WORTH, FL
BRAKES MAKE A LOUD NOISE WHEN PRESSED. DEALERSHIP REPLACED ROTOR BRAKE, CALIPER ASSY - REAR RH, W/O PADS OR SHIMS, PAD KIT - DISC BR, BRAKE FLUID, HARDWARE KIT - REAR DISC BRAKE PAD

View Details

STEERING

3/10/2015 - TIGARD, OR
DRIVING AT SPEEDS HIGHER THAN 50MPH CONSTANT STEER CORRECTIONS NEED TO BE DONE IN ORDER TO KEEP THE CAR SAFELY BETWEEN LANES. THE CAR MOVES LEFT AND RIGHT AND CANNOT KEEP A STRAIGHT LINE WITHOUT CONSTANTLY NEEDING TO CORRECT THE STEERING. THIS IS ON CALM WEATHER TODAY 3/10/2015, OUTSIDE TEMPERATURE 49 DEGREES, WIND SPEED 2 MPH FOR WOODBURN, OR AREA ACCORDING TO WEATHER.COM. EVEN IF THERE IS NO WIND, THE CAR FEELS LIKE THERE ARE CROSS WINDS. THIS CAN BE A VERY DANGEROUS PROBLEM AND COMPLAINS FROM OTHER OWNERS ARE ALL OVER THE INTERNET INCLUDING AT THE DEALER'S SERVICE CENTERS. I AM WORRIED ABOUT HIGHER WIND SPEEDS AND HOW DANGEROUS THAT CAN BE WITH A CAR THAT CANNOT KEEP A STRAIGHT LINE DUE TO THE FACT THAT IT HAS A ELECTRIC STEERING ASSIST THAT DOESN'T FEEL LIKE IT IS SPEED SENSITIVE. IT IS DANGEROUS AS UNEXPECTED LANE SWERVING CAN CAUSE MAJOR ACCIDENTS AT HIGHER SPEEDS. SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE TO CORRECT THE STEERING ASSIST AND OFFER A MORE SMOOTHER RIDE AND A BETTER HANDLING EXPERIENCE ON HIGHWAYS. THE DEALER SERVICE CENTERS CAN'T DO ANYTHING TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM AND ARE TELLING YOU TO DEAL WITH IT AND LEARN HOW TO DRIVE THE CAR.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/6/2015 - ROANOKE, VA
THIS IS AN ONGOING PROBLEM. THE INFORMATION PROVIDED ABOVE IS APPROXIMATE AS I DIDN'T KNOW IT WAS AN ISSUE UNTIL A RECALL FROM MY NISSAN DEALER ON APRIL 22' 2014. SINCE THEN I HAVE HAD IT BACK TO THE DEALER TWO MORE TIMES FOR THE SAME INCIDENT ONLY TO BE TOLD IT COULD NOT BE FIXED, BUT THEY GAVE ME A PROCEDURE TO GET AROUND THE ISSUE. THE ISSUE INVOLVES THE AIR BAG LIGHT ON THE PASSENGERS SIDE STAYING LIT EVEN WHEN THERE IS AN ADULT IN THE SEAT. THE LIGHT ON MEANS THE PASSENGERS AIR BAG IS DISABLED. I AM TOLD TO CHECK LIGHT WHILE THE CAR IN ON AND IN PARK AND IF ON, HAVE THE PASSENGER STAY PERFECTLY STILL FOR ABOUT EIGHT SECONDS, UNTIL THE LIGHT GOES OUT. SOMETIMES THIS WORKS, SOMETIMES IT DOESN'T. OCCASIONALLY I HAVE TO SHUT OFF THE ENGINE AND RESTART IN ORDER FOR THIS TO WORK. MOST TIMES, I FORGET TO CHECK THE LIGHT ONLY TO NOTICE IT ON WHILE DRIVING. THIS IS NOT ACCEPTABLE. I WORRY ABOUT NOT NOTICING AND HAVING A FRONT END ACCIDENT. SURELY IN THIS DAY AND AGE NISSAN ENGINEERS CAN FIND A FIX.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/5/2015 - NORTH BRUNSWICK, NJ
TL CONTACT OWNS A 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT AFTER BEING IDLE, THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED BUT FAILED TO RESPOND. THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED AGAIN AND THE VEHICLE OVER ACCELERATED. THE FAILURE RECURRED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 30,000.

View Details

ENGINE

2/25/2015 - BUCKEYE, AZ
PULLING INTO A PARKING LOT WITH BRAKE ON THE CAR ACCELERATED BY ITSELF AND JUMPED THE CURB. WHEN THE BACK TIRES BOUNCED OVER THE CURB THE CAR STOPPED ACCELERATING.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/23/2015 - SCHENEVUS, NY
WHILE TRAVELING AT 65 MPH ON THE HIGHWAY, THE RPMS BEGAN JUMPING. IT WAS ACTING LIKE THE TRANSMISSION WAS SLIPPING. THEN AFTER STOPPING, THE TRANSMISSION TOOK SEVERAL SECONDS TO GO INTO GEAR. A SHORT TIME LATER, THE CAR WOULD NOT ACCELERATE OVER 60MPH. TOOK TO THE DEALER AND THEY SAID THE TRANSMISSION FAILED AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE CAR HAD UNDER 20,000 MILES ON IT. I HAVE READ THAT THIS IS A VERY COMMON PROBLEM WITH NISSAN CVT TRANSMISSIONS AND SOME OWNERS HAVE HAD THEIR TRANSMISSIONS REPLACED 5 TIMES.

View Details

EQUIPMENT: ELECTRICAL: NAVIGATIONAL SYSTEM(GLOBAL POSITIONING SYSTEM)

2/18/2015 - LITHIA, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE NAVIGATION SCREEN FAILED TO RESPOND WHILE NAVIGATING. THE FAILURE OCCURRED ON SEVERAL OCCASIONS. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE HEAD UNIT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED BUT THE FAILURE PERSISTED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 100.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 14
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds