Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN ALTIMA - 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 50 complaints filed for the 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (17) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (1) Steering (9) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electrical System (4) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes (6) Structure (1) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (3) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (4) Power Train (14)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

8/19/2014 - NASHVILLE, TN
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE FAILED TO SHIFT INTO 3RD GEAR. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO THE DEALER WHERE THE TECHNICIAN WAS UNABLE TO DIAGNOSIS A FAILURE. NO REPAIRS WERE MADE AND THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 300. SR

View Details

POWER TRAIN

8/18/2014 - COLUMBUS, OH
AS THE SPEED REDUCES BELOW 25 MPH, WHEN YOU LEAVE GAS PEDAL, EVEN ON A LEVEL ROAD, THE ENGINE RPM APPEARS TO FALL AT OR BELOW 1000 RPM AND THEN SHOOTS UP TO 1300 RPM. IT THEN STRUGGLES TO FIND THE CORRECT GEAR RATIO AND FLUCTUATES BETWEEN 1000-1500 RPM WITHOUT ANY INTERVENTION. THIS CREATES A JERKY BEHAVIOR AND ACCELERATION WHEN NONE INTENDED ESPECIALLY WHEN ONE INTENDS TO SLOW DOWN THE VEHICLE. THERE IS ALMOST ZERO ENGINE ASSIST FOR DECELERATION. INSTEAD OF DROPPING TO AROUND 1000 OR LOWER AND THEN STAYING STEADY THERE, IT DROPS AND JUMPS UP WHICH CREATES DANGEROUS DRIVING SITUATION ESPECIALLY IN RAIN AND SNOW. RPM APPEARED TO DROP AND THEN SHOOT TO STAY ABOVE 1000 RPM INSTEAD OF GRADUALLY DROPPING AND STAYING STEADY. TOOK TO THE DEALER AND HE REPRODUCED THE ISSUE. HOWEVER, OTHER ALTIMA IN INVENTORY SHOWED SIMILAR BEHAVIOR AND THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. NISSAN WAS CONTACTED AND WAS TOLD THIS IS A "FEATURE". THIS IS NOT RIGHT - IN FACT THERE HAVE BEEN SIMILAR REPORTS AS FAR BACK AS 2007 ALTIMAS - AND MUST BE CORRECTED. IT APPEARS THAT THEY FIXED AN ISSUE WITH STALLING VEHICLES IN 2013 ALTIMAS AND INTRODUCED NEW PROBLEM WHERE YOU HAVE TO HIT THE BRAKES MANY TIMES TO ACHIEVE STABLE IDLE SPEED OF 750 RPM. THIS IS WEARING MY BRAKES PREMATURELY AND IS A HAZARD IN RAIN AND SNOW WHEN THE VEHICLE ACCELERATES WITHOUT ANY INTERVENTION WHEN IT SHOULD REALLY DECELERATE. I CAN NOT OVERSTATE THE RISK WHEN ONE HAS TO DRIVE 10 MPH OR 20 MPH IN SNOW...

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/14/2014 - BOYNTON BEACH, FL
TL- THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE TRAVELING 50 MPH, THE VEHICLE WAS REAR ENDED BY ANOTHER VEHICLE CAUSING IT TO SPIN AROUND AND CRASHED INTO A BARRIER. THE AIR BAGS FAILED DEPLOY. A POLICE REPORT WAS FILED. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE DRIVER AND PASSENGER SUSTAINED BRUISES AND ABRASIONS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 5,000. PAM

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/14/2014 - ALMO, KY
TL-THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING VARIOUS SPEEDS, THE AIR BAG WARNING INDICATOR WAS ILLUMINATED. THE CONTACT MENTIONED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS PREVIOUSLY REPAIRED UNDER RECALL NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V138000 (AIR BAGS, ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT TAKEN TO DEALER. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 1,000. PAM

View Details

AIR BAGS

8/3/2014 - DOUGLAS, GA
VEHICLE WAS TRAVELLING AT APPROX 30MPH WHEN STRUCK IN THE FRONT KNOCKING IT OUT OF ITS INTENDED PATH INTO A FIXED OBJECT. NONE OF THE AIR BAGS DEPLOYED. THIS VEHICLE HAD PRIOR TO ACCIDENT BEEN RETURNED TO DEALERSHIP FOR A RECALL ON SOFT WEAR FOR PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/29/2014 - FLORENCE, KY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 60 MPH, THE AIR BAG WARNING LIGHT ILLUMINATED INTERMITTENTLY. THE FAILURE RECURRED THREE TIMES. THE CONTACT WAS UNCERTAIN IF THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V138000 (AIR BAGS, ELECTRICAL SYSTEM). THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNAVAILABLE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 2,700.

View Details

STEERING

7/24/2014 - LA PORTE, IN
OVER 65MPH THE CAR BECAME UNSTABLE AND CONSTANT STEERING INPUTS WERE NEEDED TO STAY IN MY LANE. CAR DIDN'T TRACK VERY WELL THRU CORNERS AND WAS VERY TIRING TO DRIVE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/21/2014 - MIAMI, FL
ON WEDNESDAY, JULY 15TH 2014 I WAS LEAVING MY COMMUNITY AND THERE WAS A SECTION ON THE WAY WHERE WATER ACCUMULATES AFTER IT RAINS. DURING MY DRIVE OUT THE COMMUNITY I NEEDED TO GO THROUGH THE PUDDLE OF WATER TO CONTINUE MY EXIT. AS I PASSED THROUGH THE PUDDLE,THE WATER RUSHED INSIDE THE CAR, ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE UNDER THE STEERING WHEEL. IT APPEARS THAT THE WATER RUSHED INTO THE CABIN THROUGH THE STEERING COLUMN.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/21/2014 - MIAMI, FL
ON WEDNESDAY, JULY 15TH 2014 I WAS LEAVING MY COMMUNITY AND THERE WAS A SECTION ON THE WAY WHERE WATER ACCUMULATES AFTER IT RAINS. DURING MY DRIVE OUT THE COMMUNITY I NEEDED TO GO THROUGH THE PUDDLE OF WATER TO CONTINUE MY EXIT. AS I PASSED THROUGH THE PUDDLE,THE WATER RUSHED INSIDE THE CAR, ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE UNDER THE STEERING WHEEL. IT APPEARS THAT THE WATER RUSHED INTO THE CABIN THROUGH THE STEERING COLUMN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/21/2014 - SPRINGBORO, OH
CAR WILL SHUDDER AT LOW SPEEDS (15-35 MPH) TOOK CAR IN TO DEALER, THEY UPDATED THE SOFTWARE BUT, THE TRANSMISSION "FAILED' THE DIAG TEST. A NEW TRANSMISSION WAS PUT IN THE CAR. THE CAR STILL WILL SHUTTER UNEXPECTEDLY MOSTLY AT LOW SPEEDS (HOWEVER A COUPLE OF TIMES HAVE BE DOCUMENTED BY ME AT HI-WAY SPEEDS) IN GENERAL, WHEN THE MOTOR RPMS ARE AROUND 1000 RPMS AND YOU GIVE IT A SLIGHT AMOUNT OF ACCELERATION, IT WILL GET IN TO THE TORQUE STALL SITUATION. SO, COMING TO STOP LIGHTS AND THEN NEEDING TO GO BEFORE COMING TO A COMPLETE STOP, OR TURNING ON SUBDIVISION WHERE SLOW SPEEDS ARE REQUIRED OR TURNING INTO A PARKING LOT OR PARKING SPACE. HAVE DOCUMENTED MANY MANY DATES WHERE THIS HAS HAPPENED. IT WAS BACK TO THE DEALER BUT, THE HAVE NOT HAD THE ISSUE HAPPEN TO THEM. I HAVE NOT LET MY TEENAGED DRIVERS DRIVE THE CARS AS I DO NOT FEEL IT IS SAFE FOR THEM TO DO SO. THIS SITUATION IS NOT SAFE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds