Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN ALTIMA - 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 249 complaints filed for the 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (92) Equipment (4) Latches Locks Linkages (11) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (11)
Back Over Prevention (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (50) Steering (24) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (33) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (3) Structure (14) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Seats (5) Suspension (6) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (19) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (13) Tires (1) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

1/8/2017 - SPRINGFIELD, MO
PREVIOUS COMPLAINTS TO MY DEALER REGARDING MY CAR IS THE 'STUTTERING OR JUTTING' OF MY VEHICLE WHILE DRIVING - AT TIMES ALMOST VIOLENTLY. THE CVT TRANSMISSION HAD BEEN REPLACED ONCE WITHIN THE FIRST 6 MONTHS OF OWNERSHIP. ON DECEMBER 29, 2016 WHILE TRAVELING FROM MO TO IL, WHILE ON I-44 TRAVELING APPROXIMATELY 75 MPH UPHILL WITH THE CRUISE CONTROL SET THE CAR SUDDENLY LOST POWER TO THE TRANSMISSION WOULD BE THE BEST WAY I WOULD DESCRIBE IT. THE CAR SUDDENLY STARTED REVVING TO OVER 6,000 RPMS, THE GAS PEDAL WOULD NOT REACT, IT WAS IF THE CAR WAS IN NEUTRAL AND THE GAS PEDAL WAS REVVING THE ENGINE. THE LOSS OF ABILITY TO CONTROL THE CARS SPEED WHILE GOING UPHILL ON THE EXPRESSWAY PUT US IN SERIOUS DANGER. WE WERE ABLE TO GET OVER TO THE SIDE OF THE ROAD. THE CAR WAS PUT INTO 'PARK' WE WAITED A COUPLE OF MINUTES BUT DUE TO OUR LOCATION ON THE EXPRESSWAY SHOULDER WE KNEW WE NEEDED TO GET INTO A BETTER SIGHT OF ONCOMING VEHICLES, IT SEEMED AS IF THEY DIDN'T SEE US UNTIL THEY WERE RIGHT NEAR US, MANY TRUCKS WERE UNABLE TO MOVE OVER ON SHORT NOTICE SO WHEN THEY PASTED US AT 70+ MILES THE ENTIRE CAR SHOOK. WHEN RESTARTING THE VEHICLE IT WOULD NOT ENGAGE INTO EITHER 'DRIVE' OR 'REVERSE'. ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE WAS CALLED, DUE TO HEAVY VOLUME THEY COULD NOT GET TO US FOR AT LEAST 1 1/2 HOURS, THEY DEEMED THE SITUATION DANGEROUS AND THE MISSOURI STATE HIGHWAY PATROL WAS CALLED. WHEN THEY ARRIVED APPROXIMATELY 1/2 HOUR LATER THE CAR WOULD GO INTO DRIVE, BUT WITH EXTREME JERKING AND CONSTANT REVVING OF THE ENGINE. SINCE THE CAR MOVED THEY ESCORTED US THE 1 1/2 MILE TO THE NEAREST EXIT OFF THE EXPRESSWAY, WHILE TRAVELING DOWNHILL, JUST COASTING THE CAR WOULD CONSTANTLY JERK AND THE ENGINE WAS REVVING. THE CAR WAS TOWED BACK THE 200 MILES TO OUR DEALERSHIP. THE CAR EXPERIENCED 'TRANSMISSION FAILURE' AND IS CURRENTLY HAVING THE TRANSMISSION REPLACED AGAIN.

View Details

AIR BAGS

1/4/2017 - CHICAGO, IL
I WORK IN CAR LEASING AND ACTUALLY THINK THE INFORMATION ON THIS WEBSITE'S DATABASE IS WRONG, JUST FLAGGING THIS ISSUE. THIS VIN AND MANY OTHERS FOR OTHER ALTIMAS SAYS NO REMEDY BUT WHEN YOU GO TO THE DEALERSHIP THEY ARE ABLE TO SOLVE RECALL R1609. OTHER ALTIMA VINS WITH THIS SAME RECALL ALSO HAVE A DIFFERENT STATUS SAYING THERE IS A SOLUTION.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: HOOD: LATCH

12/29/2016 - CHOCTAW, OK
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA. WHILE DRIVING 20 MPH, THE HOOD FLEW OPEN WITHOUT WARNING. IN ADDITION, THE HOOD PANEL WAS DAMAGED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE VEHICLE WAS INCLUDED IN NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 14V565000 (HOOD/LATCH). THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 39,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

12/27/2016 - GARNER, NC
HAVING ISSUES WITH THE CVT TRANSMISSION IN MY 2014 ALTIMA, THE SYMPTOMS ARE WHILE SITTING AT A STOP AND ENGINE IDLING AT A NORMAL RPM IN DRIVE THE CAR WILL AT RANDOM BEGIN TO LURCH FORWARD RPMS WILL FLUCTUATE AND AT TIMES ENGINE WILL DIE. AFTER THE ENGINE DIES AT TIMES RESTART IS DIFFICULT AND MAY TAKE TWO OF THREE ATTEMPTS BEFORE THE CAR (ENGINE/TRANSMISSION) WILL FUNCTION PROPERLY. I HAVE TAKEN IT TO THE DEALERSHIP HAVE BEEN TOLD THAT THEY CANNOT REPRODUCE THE ISSUE AND THEREFORE (THIS IS MY OPINION) THERE IS NO PROBLEM. WITH ONLY 10,000 MILES LEFT ON MY POWERTRAIN WARRANTY, I FEEL THAT NISSAN HAS PUT ME BETWEEN A ROCK AND A HARD PLACE, IT GOES WITHOUT SAYING THAT THIS IS MY FIRST AND LAST NISSAN.

View Details

ENGINE

12/18/2016 - BRONX, NY
ENGINE SHOULD'VE SHUT OFF OR GIVE WARNING SIGN THAT OIL FROM THE OIL FILLER CAME OUT ANDSPLATTERED ALL OVER ENGINE CAUSING A ENGINE FIRE WHICH COULD'VE INJURED OR KILLED SOMEONE THIS HAPPENED BECAUSE SOMEONE MUST'VE LEFT THE OIL FILLER CAP OFF OR DIDN'T TIGHTEN CAP,ALL MECHANICS TOLD ME THE CAR SHOULD'VE SHUT OFF OR WARNING LIGHT SHOULD'VE CAME ON. ALSO THE LOCATION OF OIL FILLER IS IN A BAD SPOT IT'S ON THE MIDDLE OF THE ENGINE WITH LOTS OF PLASTIC COVERS OVER ENGINE,MOST ENGINES THE OIL FILLER IS ON SIDE OF ENGINE SO OIL DOESN'T SPILL ON TOP OF ENGINE .THE ENGINE IS A 2.5 LITER ENGINE .THE ENGINE RUNS VERY HOT AND WITH ALL THE PLASTIC PARTS AND ANY OIL SPILLING IT CAN EASILY CATCH FIRE .I THINK NISSAN SHOULD INSTALL A OIL FILLER CAP SENSOR TO AVOID POTENTIAL ENGINE FIRES.CAR IS BEING REPAIRED NOW FROM INSURANCE CLAIM BUT NISSAN REFUSED TO REIMBURSE ANY FINCANCIAL OFFER OR A REPLACEMENT CAR,SINCE I BROUGHT THE CAR BRAND NEW 6 MONTHS AGO .I THINK SOMEONE SHOULD INVESTIGATE THIS,A SIMPLE FIX LIKE A OIL CAP SENSOR COULD PREVENT FIRES AND SAVE LIVES

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

12/9/2016 - SAVANNAH, GA
YOU ARE STILL LIST IT AS "RECALL INCOMPLETE". FOR HOOD. WHEN I CALLED I WAS INFORMED IT WAS FIXED BY PREVIOUS OWNER. SO IT SHOULD BE COMPLETED. DATE CALLED AROUND OCTOBER OR NOVEMBER 2016. 9/10/2016? SO YOU NEED TO VERIFY THIS AND MAKE CORRECTIONS ACCORDINGLY. I DON'T SEE RECALL FOR AIRBAGS FOR THIS VEHICLE.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/28/2016 - HAMPTON, NJ
HOOD RELEASED WHILE TRAVELING ON THE HIGHWAY CAUSING SERIOUS DAMAGE TO THE VEHICLE AND CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO LEAVE THE ROADWAY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

11/15/2016 - BALTIMORE, MD
NISSAN ISSUED RECALL ON THE PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG SENSOR THAT DISENGAGES THE AIRBAG WHEN A GROWN ADULT IS SEATED IN THE PASSENGER SEAT. MY CAR WAS RECALLED AND "SUPPOSEDLY" FIXED, BUT TWO SEPARATE INCIDENCES HAVE OCCURRED WHERE THE PASSENGER AIRBAG LIGHT INDICATING THE AIRBAG IS OFF WHEN A PERSON IS SEATED THERE HAS OCCURRED. THE ISSUE WAS NOT RESOLVED FULLY WITH NISSAN'S WARRANTY FIX AND NISSAN IS LOOKING INTO MY CAR FURTHER ON HOW TO FIX THE ISSUE. I HAVE RESEARCHED THE ISSUE AND MANY OTHER INSTANCES OF THIS ISSUE OCCURRING AFTER THE SO CALLED "FIX" PERFORMED BY NISSAN. LINK BELOW: HTTP://WWW.CARCOMPLAINTS.COM/NISSAN/ALTIMA/2014/SEAT_BELTS_AIR_BAGS/AIR_BAGS.SHTML THIS IS A CONSUMER SAFETY ISSUE WITH NOT HAVING A PROPERLY FUNCTIONING AIRBAG.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

11/14/2016 - BEACHWOOD, NJ
HOOD LATCH CAME UNDONE WHILE DRIVING CAUSING HOOD TO FLY OPEN ALMOST CAUSING AN ACCIDENT. DAMAGE TO HOOD AND BOTH FRONT FENDERS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

10/27/2016 - LOMBARD, IL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE VEHICLE STALLED SEVERAL TIMES WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO TWO DIFFERENT MECHANICS WHO WERE UNABLE TO REPLICATE AND DIAGNOSE THE FAILURE. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 84,526.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds