Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN ALTIMA - 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 17 complaints filed for the 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Steering (3) Unknown Or Other (3) Visibility Wiper (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Power Train (5)

Pages:  1  
2  ... 2
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

4/14/2014 - BRIDGEPORT, CT
VEHICLE SOLD AND WARRANTED TO FIRST LESSEE BY AUTHORIZED DEALER NOT SUBJECT TO RECALL. UPON INSPECTION, POSSIBLE PASSENGER WARNING LIGHT DEFECTS OBSERVED. LESSEE DEMANDED CANCELLATION OF TRANSACTION.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

4/7/2014 - BUCKEYE, AZ
START BUT WHEN SET TO REVERSE OR DRIVE ENGINE DIE.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

4/4/2014 - CENTEREACH, NY
WHILE DRIVING IN NEW YORK, I SUDDENLY HEARD A POP, AND REALIZED THAT THE WINDSHIELD CRACKED AT THE BOTTOM OF THE PASSENGER'S SIDE. THE CRACK IS ABOUT 10 INCHES LONG, AND STARTS AT THE VERY EDGE OF THE WINDSHIELD, GOING TOWARDS THE CENTER OF THE PASSENGER'S SIDE OF IT. THERE WAS NO IMPACT, NO GRAVEL, NO ROCKS HIT THE WINDSHIELD. THERE ARE NO CHIPS, AND NO PLACE OF IMPACT, THE CRACK APPEARED OUT OF NOWHERE. CALLED THE DEALER, THE DEALER REFUSED TO REPAIR THE WINDSHIELD UNDER WARRANTY, AND ADVISED ME TO CALL THE INSURANCE COMPANY.

View Details

STEERING

3/24/2014 - ARLINGTON, VA
VEHICLE WANDERS AND DOES NOT KEEP IN A STRAIGHT LINE. IT IS NOT STABLE . THERE IS LOT OF WIND NOISE COMING INSIDE AND THERE IS ALWAYS A SLOSHING SOUND AND BELIEVE IT IS THE FUEL. NOT SAFE AS THE FUEL ALWAYS BANGS AROUND THE WALLS.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/24/2014 - ARLINGTON, VA
VEHICLE WANDERS AND DOES NOT KEEP IN A STRAIGHT LINE. IT IS NOT STABLE . THERE IS LOT OF WIND NOISE COMING INSIDE AND THERE IS ALWAYS A SLOSHING SOUND AND BELIEVE IT IS THE FUEL. NOT SAFE AS THE FUEL ALWAYS BANGS AROUND THE WALLS.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/24/2014 - ARLINGTON, VA
VEHICLE WANDERS AND DOES NOT KEEP IN A STRAIGHT LINE. IT IS NOT STABLE . THERE IS LOT OF WIND NOISE COMING INSIDE AND THERE IS ALWAYS A SLOSHING SOUND AND BELIEVE IT IS THE FUEL. NOT SAFE AS THE FUEL ALWAYS BANGS AROUND THE WALLS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/19/2014 - GOOSE CREEK, SC
I WAS AT AN INTERSECTION PREPARING TO MAKE A LEFT TURN. WHEN THERE WAS AN OPENING IN ONCOMING TRAFFIC I PUSHED THE GAS PEDAL TO PROCEED FORWARD AND AS I ENTERED THE INTERSECTION THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY DROPPED THE RPM'S AND ACTED AS IF IN "LIMP MODE". I PRESSED THE ACCELERATOR TO THE FLOOR TO TRY TO GET OUT OF THE INTERSECTION BUT THE VEHICLE DID NOT RESPOND AND ONLY "CRAWLED" THROUGH THE INTERSECTION. BECAUSE I COULD NOT GET OUT OF THE INTERSECTION DUE TO THIS ISSUE ONCOMING TRAFFIC HAD TO SLAM ON BRAKES AND ALMOST HIT ME. ONCE I EXITED THE INTERSECTION I LOOKED FOR A PLACE TO PULL OVER AND STOPPED ABOUT A 500 YARDS FROM THE INTERSECTION. I THEN NOTICED THE VDC LIGHT WAS ON. I PRESSED THE VDC BUTTON AND IT LITE UP ANOTHER INDICATOR ON THE DASH SHOWING OFF. I PRESSED IT AGAIN AND THE LIGHT WENT OUT HOWEVER THE OTHER VDC LIGHT ON THE DASH STAYED ILLUMINATED. I THEN TURNED THE ENGINE OFF AND WAITED A COUPLE MINUTES AND WHEN I STARTED THE VEHICLE THE OTHER VDC LIGHT WAS OFF AND THE VEHICLE THEN DROVE NORMAL. I HAVE SINCE NOTICED A SOUND LIKE THE TRANSMISSION SPINNING WHENI PRESS THE ACCELERATOR. I WAS SCARED TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE SO I WENT HOME. I IMMEDIATELY TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE NISSAN DEALER AND HAD THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM BUT WAS TOLD THERE WERE NO "FAULT CODES" AND THEY DID NOT KNOW WHY MY NEW CAR WHEN INTO "LIMP MODE" AND THE VDC LIGHT CAME ON. THIS CAR IS NEW AND NOW I AM SCARED TO DRIVE IT! THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT AT THE DEALERSHIP WHERE I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE SAID IF IT HAPPENS AGAIN BRING IT BACK. I HAVE FOUND NUMEROUS PROBLEMS ON OTHER INTERNET CAR FORUMS REGARDING OTHER NISSAN ALTIMA'S WITH THIS SAME ISSUE. THERE IS EVEN ANOTHER ONE ON THIS SITE! THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY DEFECT AND NEEDS TO BE CORRECTED ASAP. I COULD HAVE BEEN SEVERELY INJURED BY ONCOMING TRAFFIC BECAUSE THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT RESPOND TO THE ACCELERATOR NO MATTER WHAT I DID.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

3/19/2014 - GOOSE CREEK, SC
I WAS AT AN INTERSECTION PREPARING TO MAKE A LEFT TURN. WHEN THERE WAS AN OPENING IN ONCOMING TRAFFIC I PUSHED THE GAS PEDAL TO PROCEED FORWARD AND AS I ENTERED THE INTERSECTION THE VEHICLE SUDDENLY DROPPED THE RPM'S AND ACTED AS IF IN "LIMP MODE". I PRESSED THE ACCELERATOR TO THE FLOOR TO TRY TO GET OUT OF THE INTERSECTION BUT THE VEHICLE DID NOT RESPOND AND ONLY "CRAWLED" THROUGH THE INTERSECTION. BECAUSE I COULD NOT GET OUT OF THE INTERSECTION DUE TO THIS ISSUE ONCOMING TRAFFIC HAD TO SLAM ON BRAKES AND ALMOST HIT ME. ONCE I EXITED THE INTERSECTION I LOOKED FOR A PLACE TO PULL OVER AND STOPPED ABOUT A 500 YARDS FROM THE INTERSECTION. I THEN NOTICED THE VDC LIGHT WAS ON. I PRESSED THE VDC BUTTON AND IT LITE UP ANOTHER INDICATOR ON THE DASH SHOWING OFF. I PRESSED IT AGAIN AND THE LIGHT WENT OUT HOWEVER THE OTHER VDC LIGHT ON THE DASH STAYED ILLUMINATED. I THEN TURNED THE ENGINE OFF AND WAITED A COUPLE MINUTES AND WHEN I STARTED THE VEHICLE THE OTHER VDC LIGHT WAS OFF AND THE VEHICLE THEN DROVE NORMAL. I HAVE SINCE NOTICED A SOUND LIKE THE TRANSMISSION SPINNING WHENI PRESS THE ACCELERATOR. I WAS SCARED TO DRIVE THE VEHICLE SO I WENT HOME. I IMMEDIATELY TOOK THE VEHICLE TO THE NISSAN DEALER AND HAD THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT DIAGNOSE THE PROBLEM BUT WAS TOLD THERE WERE NO "FAULT CODES" AND THEY DID NOT KNOW WHY MY NEW CAR WHEN INTO "LIMP MODE" AND THE VDC LIGHT CAME ON. THIS CAR IS NEW AND NOW I AM SCARED TO DRIVE IT! THE SERVICE DEPARTMENT AT THE DEALERSHIP WHERE I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE SAID IF IT HAPPENS AGAIN BRING IT BACK. I HAVE FOUND NUMEROUS PROBLEMS ON OTHER INTERNET CAR FORUMS REGARDING OTHER NISSAN ALTIMA'S WITH THIS SAME ISSUE. THERE IS EVEN ANOTHER ONE ON THIS SITE! THIS IS A MAJOR SAFETY DEFECT AND NEEDS TO BE CORRECTED ASAP. I COULD HAVE BEEN SEVERELY INJURED BY ONCOMING TRAFFIC BECAUSE THE VEHICLE WOULD NOT RESPOND TO THE ACCELERATOR NO MATTER WHAT I DID.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/13/2014 - WASHINGTON CROSSING, PA
AIRBAG LIGHT SHOWING THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAGS ARE OFF INTERMITTENTLY COMES ON WHILE AN ADULT PASSENGER IS SEATED IN THE CAR AND VEHICLE IS MOVING.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/11/2014 - CENTEREACH, NY
2014 NISSAN ALTIMA SL 2.5 MAKES ALLOT OF NOISE AND VIBRATION WHEN YOU ACCELERATE TO GET UP TO A HIGHWAY SPEED WHETHER IT IS FROM THE ENGINE OR TRANSMISSION IT IS VERY LOUD INSIDE THE CAR! THE STEERING WHEEL SEEMS TO HAVE A LOT OF PLAY IN IT AT A DEAD STOP WITH ENGINE RUNNING BY TURNING THE WHEEL RIGHT TO LEFT! YOU ALSO HEAR CLUNKING NOISES TURNING IT RIGHT TO LEFT! THE FUEL IN THE TANK MAKES LOUD SWISHING NOISES SORT AS IF I HAVE A SMALL OCEAN IN MY FUEL TANK!

View Details
Pages:  1  2  ... 2
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds