Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN ALTIMA - 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 44 complaints filed for the 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (13) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (1) Steering (9) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electrical System (4) Fuel Propulsion System (5) Service Brakes (6) Structure (1) Visibility (1)
Electronic Stability Control (1) Power Train (13) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (4) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (3)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

7/24/2014 - LA PORTE, IN
OVER 65MPH THE CAR BECAME UNSTABLE AND CONSTANT STEERING INPUTS WERE NEEDED TO STAY IN MY LANE. CAR DIDN'T TRACK VERY WELL THRU CORNERS AND WAS VERY TIRING TO DRIVE.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/21/2014 - MIAMI, FL
ON WEDNESDAY, JULY 15TH 2014 I WAS LEAVING MY COMMUNITY AND THERE WAS A SECTION ON THE WAY WHERE WATER ACCUMULATES AFTER IT RAINS. DURING MY DRIVE OUT THE COMMUNITY I NEEDED TO GO THROUGH THE PUDDLE OF WATER TO CONTINUE MY EXIT. AS I PASSED THROUGH THE PUDDLE,THE WATER RUSHED INSIDE THE CAR, ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE UNDER THE STEERING WHEEL. IT APPEARS THAT THE WATER RUSHED INTO THE CABIN THROUGH THE STEERING COLUMN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/21/2014 - MIAMI, FL
ON WEDNESDAY, JULY 15TH 2014 I WAS LEAVING MY COMMUNITY AND THERE WAS A SECTION ON THE WAY WHERE WATER ACCUMULATES AFTER IT RAINS. DURING MY DRIVE OUT THE COMMUNITY I NEEDED TO GO THROUGH THE PUDDLE OF WATER TO CONTINUE MY EXIT. AS I PASSED THROUGH THE PUDDLE,THE WATER RUSHED INSIDE THE CAR, ON THE DRIVER'S SIDE UNDER THE STEERING WHEEL. IT APPEARS THAT THE WATER RUSHED INTO THE CABIN THROUGH THE STEERING COLUMN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/21/2014 - SPRINGBORO, OH
CAR WILL SHUDDER AT LOW SPEEDS (15-35 MPH) TOOK CAR IN TO DEALER, THEY UPDATED THE SOFTWARE BUT, THE TRANSMISSION "FAILED' THE DIAG TEST. A NEW TRANSMISSION WAS PUT IN THE CAR. THE CAR STILL WILL SHUTTER UNEXPECTEDLY MOSTLY AT LOW SPEEDS (HOWEVER A COUPLE OF TIMES HAVE BE DOCUMENTED BY ME AT HI-WAY SPEEDS) IN GENERAL, WHEN THE MOTOR RPMS ARE AROUND 1000 RPMS AND YOU GIVE IT A SLIGHT AMOUNT OF ACCELERATION, IT WILL GET IN TO THE TORQUE STALL SITUATION. SO, COMING TO STOP LIGHTS AND THEN NEEDING TO GO BEFORE COMING TO A COMPLETE STOP, OR TURNING ON SUBDIVISION WHERE SLOW SPEEDS ARE REQUIRED OR TURNING INTO A PARKING LOT OR PARKING SPACE. HAVE DOCUMENTED MANY MANY DATES WHERE THIS HAS HAPPENED. IT WAS BACK TO THE DEALER BUT, THE HAVE NOT HAD THE ISSUE HAPPEN TO THEM. I HAVE NOT LET MY TEENAGED DRIVERS DRIVE THE CARS AS I DO NOT FEEL IT IS SAFE FOR THEM TO DO SO. THIS SITUATION IS NOT SAFE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/18/2014 - KANSAS CITY, MO
MAKING A LEFT TURN INTO SHOPPING CENTER AND CAR STARTED JERKING , TWO DAYS LATER GOING THROUGH A 25MPH SCHOOL ZONE AND CAR STARTED JERKING ,TOOK CAR INTO DEALER AND I WAS TOLD THAT THEY REPLACED THE TRANSMISSION WHEN I PICKED CAR UP, ON THE WAY HOME WHENEVER I WOULD SLOW DOWN TO STOP THE CAR WOULD MAKE A WHINING NOISE AND IT WOULD COME TO A HARD STOP, TOOK CAR BACK TO DEALER AND WAS TOLD THAT IT WAS NORMAL . IT WAS NOT DOINTHAT BEFORE THEY CHANGED THE TRANSMISSION NISSAN CONSUMER AFFAIRS SENT A SPECIALIST OUT TO CHECK THE CAR OUT HE DROVE THE CAR AND HE FELT THE ISSUE , I WAS TOLD THAT IT WAS THE TORQUE CONVERTER LOCKING UP AND THAT WAS NORMAL, TOOK CAR TO ANOTHER DEALER FOR A SECOND OPINION AND HE DROVE THE CAR AND EXPERIENCE THE ISSUE AGAIN I WAS TOLD THAT IT WAS THE TORQUE CONVERTER LOCKING UP , IT MAKES THIS JERKING AT DIFFERENT SPEED LEVELS AND THE WHINING AND HARD STOPPING IS CONSTANT THE SECOND DEALER TOLD ME THAT I MAY HAVE A SOFTWARE PROBLEM BECAUSE THE COMPUTER THAT THEY HOOKED UP TO THE CAR SHOWS NO PROBLEMS I AM STILL EXPERIENCING THE PROBLEM . SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE TO CORRECT THIS ISSUE .IT WAS NOT MAKING THE WHINING NOISE AND MAKING THE HARD STOPS WHERE IT MAKES THE CAR MOVE.I AM STILL DEALING WITH THESE ISSUES.

View Details

AIR BAGS

7/17/2014 - SPRING, TX
MY SON LOST CONTROL OF HIS VEHICLE DUE TO A SEIZURE , HE HIT A ON COMING 4 WHEEL DRIVE TRUCK PARTLY HEAD ON , THEN ANOTHER TRUCK T-BONE HIM IN THE PASSENGER SIDE. DURING THE WRECK NONE OF THE AIRBAGS DEPLOYED ARE THE SEAT BELT RESTRAIN HIM . HIS HEAD WENT THRU THE WINDSHIELD PARTLY AND THE BACK OF HIS NECK BROKE OFF THE HEAD REST. HE HAS NO RELATED ISSUES OF SEIZURES OF ANY KIND IN THE PAST, NO ONE TICKETED FOR THE ACCIDENT PERIOD. WE COME FIND OUT THAT NISSAN MANUFACTURE HAS A RECALL ON THIS CAR BECAUSE OF AIRBAGS PROBLEMS. WE NEVER RECEIVED ANY KIND OF NOTICED FROM THE DEALER SHIP ARE NISSAN MANUFACTORY PERIOD. I' VERY CONCERN ABOUT THE SAFETY OF THIS VEHICLE EVEN BEING ON THE ROAD PERIOD

View Details

SEAT BELTS

7/17/2014 - SPRING, TX
MY SON LOST CONTROL OF HIS VEHICLE DUE TO A SEIZURE , HE HIT A ON COMING 4 WHEEL DRIVE TRUCK PARTLY HEAD ON , THEN ANOTHER TRUCK T-BONE HIM IN THE PASSENGER SIDE. DURING THE WRECK NONE OF THE AIRBAGS DEPLOYED ARE THE SEAT BELT RESTRAIN HIM . HIS HEAD WENT THRU THE WINDSHIELD PARTLY AND THE BACK OF HIS NECK BROKE OFF THE HEAD REST. HE HAS NO RELATED ISSUES OF SEIZURES OF ANY KIND IN THE PAST, NO ONE TICKETED FOR THE ACCIDENT PERIOD. WE COME FIND OUT THAT NISSAN MANUFACTURE HAS A RECALL ON THIS CAR BECAUSE OF AIRBAGS PROBLEMS. WE NEVER RECEIVED ANY KIND OF NOTICED FROM THE DEALER SHIP ARE NISSAN MANUFACTORY PERIOD. I' VERY CONCERN ABOUT THE SAFETY OF THIS VEHICLE EVEN BEING ON THE ROAD PERIOD

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES, HYDRAULIC: PEDALS AND LINKAGES

7/3/2014 - GUTTENBERG, NJ
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 2 MPH, HIS FOOT SLIPPED OFF OF THE BRAKE PEDAL AND ONTO THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL WHICH CAUSED THE VEHICLE TO CRASH INTO A SIX INCH CURB. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE WIDTH OF THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS NOT CONVENTIONAL FOR A PERSON WITH A LARGER FOOT. THE DEALER STATED THAT THE BRAKE PEDAL COULD NOT BE REPLACED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 1,000.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

6/30/2014 - SAINT LOUIS, MO
WHEN I TURN THE IGNITION NOTHING HAPPENS. ALL I HEAR IS A CLICK WHERE THE CAR IS TRYING TO IGNITE. AFTER TRYING SEVERAL TIMES IT FINALLY CRANKS UP AND START. I'VE HAD THE BATTERY CHECKED AND HAVE TAKEN IT TO NISSAN FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TEST AND BOTH CAME BACK NEGATIVE. NOT SURE WHAT THE PROBLEM BUT IT IS HAPPENING MORE FREQUENT NOW SINCE THE FIRST TIME IT HAPPENED IN NOVEMBER 2013 AND AGAIN IN APRIL 2014. IF THE ISSUE ISN'T SHOWING UP AFTER PAYING $85 FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TEST AT NISSAN, I WONDER IF OTHERS ARE EXPERIENCING THIS ISSUE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/30/2014 - SAINT LOUIS, MO
WHEN I TURN THE IGNITION NOTHING HAPPENS. ALL I HEAR IS A CLICK WHERE THE CAR IS TRYING TO IGNITE. AFTER TRYING SEVERAL TIMES IT FINALLY CRANKS UP AND START. I'VE HAD THE BATTERY CHECKED AND HAVE TAKEN IT TO NISSAN FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TEST AND BOTH CAME BACK NEGATIVE. NOT SURE WHAT THE PROBLEM BUT IT IS HAPPENING MORE FREQUENT NOW SINCE THE FIRST TIME IT HAPPENED IN NOVEMBER 2013 AND AGAIN IN APRIL 2014. IF THE ISSUE ISN'T SHOWING UP AFTER PAYING $85 FOR A DIAGNOSTIC TEST AT NISSAN, I WONDER IF OTHERS ARE EXPERIENCING THIS ISSUE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  ... 6
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds