Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN ALTIMA - 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 265 complaints filed for the 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (96) Equipment (4) Latches Locks Linkages (11) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (12)
Back Over Prevention (1) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (57) Steering (26) Vehicle Speed Control (10)
Electrical System (33) Exterior Lighting (2) Seat Belts (3) Structure (14) Visibility (4)
Electronic Stability Control (4) Fuel Propulsion System (8) Seats (5) Suspension (6) Visibility Wiper (5)
Engine (20) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (14) Tires (1) Wheels (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
 
ComplaintDescription

AIR BAGS

4/18/2017 - PANAMA CITY, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA. WHILE OPERATING THE VEHICLE WITH A FRONT SEAT PASSENGER, THE AIR BAG SENSOR ILLUMINATED INDICATING THAT THE PASSENGER SIDE AIR BAG WAS DEACTIVATED. THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 41,533.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/30/2017 - MCCORDSVILLE, IN
2014 NISSAN ALTIMA S, 74,000 MILES. I SHIFTED THE CAR FROM PARK TO REVERSE TO BACK OUT OF PARKING SPACE, THE CAR SHUDDERED AND DIED. I AM VERY FORTUNATE THAT I WASN'T HIT BY ONCOMING TRAFFIC AS THE CAR WOULD NOT MOVE. I HAD MY DAUGHTER STEER THE CAR WHILE I PUSHED IT OUT OF THE WAY OF TRAFFIC. I TRIED SEVERAL MORE TIMES TO PUT THE CAR IN GEAR, IT WOULD RUN FOR A FEW SECONDS AND DIE. THERE WERE NO PREVIOUS PERFORMANCE PROBLEMS AND NO ENGINE WARNING LIGHTS TO INDICATE A PROBLEM. I HAD THE CAR TOWED TO A NISSAN DEALER. IT WAS DIAGNOSED WITH "TORQUE CONVERTER FAILURE/ NEED TO REPLACE CVT UNIT/ FOUND NO DTC'S STORED/FOUND NOT TRANNY LEAKS/ PRINTED OFF TRANNY "A" AND "B" COUNTS JUST IN CASE" I HAVE READ OTHER REPORTS OF THESE ALTIMA'S COMPLETELY FAILING IN RUSH HOUR TRAFFIC BECAUSE OF NISSAN'S DEFECTIVE TRANSMISSION. MY FAMILY WAS LUCKY. THE SITUATION COULD HAVE ENDED VERY BADLY IF THIS DEFECTIVE CAR HAD DIED IN TRAFFIC, CAUSING ME OR AN INNOCENT SERIOUS HARM. NOW, MY FAMILY IS FACING AN ALMOST $5000 DOLLAR REPAIR ON A THREE YEAR OLD CAR THAT I DON'T TRUST ANYMORE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/28/2017 - LAUREL, MD
NISSAN HAS A RECALL ON THE CVT ON THE 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA, THEY EXTENDED THE WARRANTY FOR SOME, BUT NOT ALL. I'VE EXPERIENCED MY VEHICLE SHUTTING OFF WHILE DRIVING AND VERY STRONG JERKING, WHICH IS VERY DANGEROUS. I TOOK THE VEHICLE TO TISCHER NISSAN IN LAUREL AND THE JERKING AND SHUTTING STOPPED AFTER THEY RESET THE CVT PER THE RECALL. HOWEVER, IT HAS STARTED AGAIN AND THEY'RE NOW STATING I AM RESPONSIBLE FOR THE CHARGES. THEY KNOW THERE IS AN ISSUE WITH THIS PART, YET THEY WON'T BE ACCOUNTABLE. IT IS DANGEROUS AND VERY EXPENSIVE AND IT SHOULD BE THEIR RESPONSIBILITY. THIS IS MY SECOND COMPLAINT AND NOTHING HAS BEEN DONE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/14/2017 - LITHONIA, GA
ON 14 MARCH 2017, MY TRANSMISSION GAVE OUT WITHOUT WARNING WHILE I WAS TRAVELING ABOUT 50 MILES ON THE FREEWAY. I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE USED IN SEPTEMBER OF 2015 WITH ABOUT 30, 000 MILES ON IT. FROM DAY ONE, THE VEHICLE WOULD STALL AT VARIOUS TIMES BUT THE MECHANICS STATED NOTHING WAS WRONG AND NO WARMING WAS EVER ABLE TO BE FOUND. THE VEHICLE CAME TO A COMPLETE HALT THROWING ME FORWARD. I WAS ABLE TO MOVE IT TO SAFETY AND GET IT TOWED TO THE DEALER MATT BOWERS NISSAN LOCATED AT 13050 INTERSTATE 10 SERVICE RD. NEW ORLEANS, LOUISIANA 70128. THE CONTACT NUMBER IS (504)245-5900. PRIOR TO ARRIVING, I LEARNED THE VEHICLE HAD A RECALL DEALING WITH THE TRANSMISSION BUT NOT SPECIFICALLY WITH IT STALLING AND GOING OUT. ACCORDING TO ONLINE AND THE DEALER, NISSAN RECALLED WHATS CALLED A CVT WHICH RESETS THE TRANSMISSION. EVERY LAST ONE OF THE SERVICE MEN AUTOMATICALLY KNEW THE ISSUE WHEN I TOLD THEM IT STOOPED ON THE FREEWAY. ONE GENTLEMAN EVEN STATED HE WOULDN'T EVEN PURCHASE ONE FOR HIS DAUGHTER OR HIS WIFE. I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE ASSUMING NISSAN NAME WAS STILL GOOD. THERE ARE REPORTS OF TRANSMISSION GOING OUT WITH 10, AND 30 THOUSAND MILES. MY HOOD ALSO POOPED OPEN WHILE ON THE FREE AND CRACKED MY WINDSHIED A FEW WEEKS AGO. I LEARNED TODAY THERE IS A RECALL ON THE HOOD. THE BACK DOOR CAME OPEN WHILE MY GRANDKIDS WERE IN THE BACK. IT TOOK ABOUT 10 MINUTES TO GET THE REAR DOOR TO CLOSE. THIS VEHICLE NEEDS TO BE RECALLED FOR THE TRANSMISSION. THEY ARE NO BETTER THAN TOYOTA BY KEEPING THIS INFORMATION FROM THE PUBLIC. MY VEHICLE HAS 127512 MILES AND SHOULD NOT BE HAVING TRANSMISSION ISSUES. I PUT ALMOST 400 K ON MY IMPALA AND THE TRANSMISSION WAS STILL GOOD. PLEASE MAKE NISSAN PAY AND RECALL THIS TRANSMISSION. OFTEN TIMES CONSUMERS FAIL TO REPORT ISSUES WHICH CAUSE GREAT HARM TO OTHERS. HOW MANY COMPLAINTS IS IN YOUR DATA REGARDING THIS? PLEASE HELP ME. SINGLE MOTHER

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/13/2017 - REDFORD, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NOISE PROGRESSING FROM THE REAR BRAKES, WHICH WORSENED WHEN THE BRAKE PEDAL WAS DEPRESSED. THE CONTACT HAD TO APPLY FORCE TO THE BRAKE PEDAL TO ENSURE THAT THE VEHICLE CAME TO A COMPLETE STOP. THE DEALER COMPLETED A MULTI-POINT INSPECTION, OIL CHANGE, RESURFACED THE ROTORS, AND REPLACED THE REAR BRAKE PADS. THE FAILURE RECURRED SIX MONTHS LATER. THE VEHICLE WAS TO BE TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER FOR FURTHER INSPECTION. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

3/12/2017 - ALEXANDRIA, LA
FIRST TIME THIS HAPPEN I WAS AT A LIGHT AND THE CAR JUST CUT OFF. STARTED BACK UP PUT IN DRIVE STALLS OUT WHEN IN DRIVE. TOOK IT TO NISSAN AND THEY TOLD ME THE NEXT DAY IT'S THE TRANSMISSION IT NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. AT THIS TIME THE CAR IS STILL UNDER WARRANTY, THEY KEPT THE CAR FOR TWO WEEKS TELLING ME THEY WAITING ON A APPROVAL FROM NISSAN TO REPLACE THE TRANSMISSION. FINALLY I GET A CALL WITHIN THAT LAST WEEK THE CAR IS READY WHEN I GET UP TO NISSAN THEY TELL ME THAT THE SOFTWARE NEEDED TO BE UPDATED AND THAT THEY DROVE THE CAR TO MAKE SURE THAT IT DIDN'T STALL OUT AGAIN AT THIS TIME THE CAR HAD AT THIS TIME MY CAR HAS 53,000 MILES WHEN ALL THIS HAPPENED NOW MY 60000 MILE WARRANTY IS UP I HAVE 63,000 MILES ON THE CAR AND IT STALLED OUT AT ME AT WORK. THE CAR STARTS UP FINE BUT AS SOON AS YOU PUT IT IN DRIVE IT MAKES A WHINING NOISE AND RUMBLING NOISE AND FINALLY GET A CUT OFF ALSO THE CAR WHEN IT DON'T STALL IT DON'T GO IN REVERSE OR DON'T DRIVE FORWARD.

View Details

STEERING

3/8/2017 - PEMBROKE PINES, FL
AT SLOW SPEEDS, THERE IS A WHINING NOISE COMING FROM THE CAR. DEALER SAID IT IS NORMAL AS IT IS A NEW ELECTRIC STEERING PUMP AND NOT THE OLD BELT SYSTEM. THE PROBLEM IS CONTINUOUS AND HAS NOT STOPPED.

View Details

AIR BAGS

3/1/2017 - ABBEVILLE, SC
THE LIGHT INDICATING A PERSON IS IN THE PASSENGER SEAT DOES NOT OPERATE ALL THE TIME. THE DEALER HAS PROGRAMED IT TWICE. THE DEALER IS FRUSTRATED AS THEY HAVE SEVERAL OTHER CUSTOMERS WITH THE SAME PROBLEM. THE DEALER ASKED ME TO CONTACT NISSAN DIRECTLY WHICH I DID. I WAS TOLD TODAY BY A SPECIALISTS FROM NISSAN THAT I HAVE TO BRING THE VEHICLE IN WHEN IT IS DOING IT, I EXPLAINED IT IS AN INTERMITTENT PROBLEM AND I WOULD BE MORE THAN HAPPY TO LEAVE THE VEHICLE WITH THE DEALER. SHE INFORMED ME THIS WAS NOT ACCEPTABLE THAT I HAVE TO BRING IT IN WHEN IT IS NOT OPERATING PROPERLY. I GUESS SHE COULD NOT COMPREHEND THE FACT THAT IT IS AN INTERMITTENT PROBLEM, MOST LIKELY DUE TO A FAULTY T PASSENGER SIDE SENSOR IN THE SEAT. THE PASSENGER WEIGHTS IS AROUND 120 POUNDS SO SHE IS HEAVY ENOUGH FOR THE SENSOR TO PICKUP HER WEIGHT. I AM CONCERNED THAT THE AIR BAG MIGHT NOT DEPLOY DURING AN ACCIDENT. MOST OF THE TIME WHEN THE VEHICLE LIGHTS ACTS UP IS WHEN WE FIRST START OUT. THERE IS NO SET PATTERN TO CREATE THIS PROBLEM, MIGHT BE OK FOR A WEEK OR TWO THEN COULD DO IT TWO OR THREE DAYS IN A ROW AND MAYBE GO OUT BY IT SELF. THIS HAS BEEN HAPPENING FOR SEVERAL MONTHS, MAYBE CLOSE TO A YEAR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/28/2017 - FULLERTON, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING AND STALLED SEVERAL MORE TIMES AS THE CONTACT CONTINUED TO DRIVE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT MADE AWARE OF THE ISSUE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 61,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/28/2017 - ATLANTA, GA
TRANSMISSION HAS FAILED ON VEHICLE AT 63000 MILES. THE CAR BEGAN JERKING AND STUTTERING WHEN IN MOTION AND ALSO WOULD NOT RESPOND TO GEAR CHANGE WHEN MOV8NG OUT OF PARK. IT WOULD JUST SIT FOR MINUTES BEFORE MOVING SLOWLY OR JUMPING VIOLENTLY WHEN SWITCHING GEARS.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 34
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds