Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN ALTIMA - 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 125 complaints filed for the 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (46) Equipment (1) Power Train (21) Steering (17) Unknown Or Other (11)
Electrical System (15) Equipment Adaptive (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (4) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Exterior Lighting (1) Seats (1) Suspension (5) Visibility (2)
Engine (10) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Service Brakes (8) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

5/21/2015 - UNION CITY, CA
I BOUGHT THE CAR LAST YEAR AND IT HAS ONLY BEEN ABOUT 13 MONTHS. ABOUT THREE MONTHS AGO, I NOTICED THAT THERE WAS A KIND OF JERK WHEN I WOULD START OFF A STOP LIGHT AND ACCELERATE. FIRST THINKING IT WAS NOT A GREAT DEAL, I KEPT GOING HOWEVER I NOTICED IT THAT IT WAS BECOMING MORE CONSTANT. ONE DAY ABOUT TO REVERSE OUT OF A PARKING LOT, I PUT THE CAR IN REVERSE, AND THE CAR TURNED OFF. THERE WAS NO RESPONSE AT ALL FROM THE TRANSMISSION. I THEN TURNED THE IGNITION OFF AND RESTARTED IT AND IT STARTED WORKING FINE. BEING LATE FOR WORK, I THEN CONTINUED ON AND UNTIL YESTERDAY EVERYTHING WAS OKAY. YESTERDAY, I GOT INTO MY CAR, STARTED IT, SWITCHED TO DRIVE, AND THE ENGINE SHUT OFF AND THERE WAS NO RESPONSE FROM THE TRANSMISSION. I TURNED THE IGNITION OFF, TURNED IT ON AGAIN, MOVED THE SHIFTER INTO REVERSE AND THE ENGINE SHUT OFF AGAIN. I HAVE SINCE HAD IT TOWED AND IT IS BEING CHECKED AT THE DEALERSHIP. THIS BEING A ONE YEAR OLD CAR, I DO NOT EXPECT IT TO GIVE THESE ISSUES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/21/2015 - UNION CITY, CA
I BOUGHT THE CAR LAST YEAR AND IT HAS ONLY BEEN ABOUT 13 MONTHS. ABOUT THREE MONTHS AGO, I NOTICED THAT THERE WAS A KIND OF JERK WHEN I WOULD START OFF A STOP LIGHT AND ACCELERATE. FIRST THINKING IT WAS NOT A GREAT DEAL, I KEPT GOING HOWEVER I NOTICED IT THAT IT WAS BECOMING MORE CONSTANT. ONE DAY ABOUT TO REVERSE OUT OF A PARKING LOT, I PUT THE CAR IN REVERSE, AND THE CAR TURNED OFF. THERE WAS NO RESPONSE AT ALL FROM THE TRANSMISSION. I THEN TURNED THE IGNITION OFF AND RESTARTED IT AND IT STARTED WORKING FINE. BEING LATE FOR WORK, I THEN CONTINUED ON AND UNTIL YESTERDAY EVERYTHING WAS OKAY. YESTERDAY, I GOT INTO MY CAR, STARTED IT, SWITCHED TO DRIVE, AND THE ENGINE SHUT OFF AND THERE WAS NO RESPONSE FROM THE TRANSMISSION. I TURNED THE IGNITION OFF, TURNED IT ON AGAIN, MOVED THE SHIFTER INTO REVERSE AND THE ENGINE SHUT OFF AGAIN. I HAVE SINCE HAD IT TOWED AND IT IS BEING CHECKED AT THE DEALERSHIP. THIS BEING A ONE YEAR OLD CAR, I DO NOT EXPECT IT TO GIVE THESE ISSUES.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/21/2015 - UNION CITY, CA
I BOUGHT THE CAR LAST YEAR AND IT HAS ONLY BEEN ABOUT 13 MONTHS. ABOUT THREE MONTHS AGO, I NOTICED THAT THERE WAS A KIND OF JERK WHEN I WOULD START OFF A STOP LIGHT AND ACCELERATE. FIRST THINKING IT WAS NOT A GREAT DEAL, I KEPT GOING HOWEVER I NOTICED IT THAT IT WAS BECOMING MORE CONSTANT. ONE DAY ABOUT TO REVERSE OUT OF A PARKING LOT, I PUT THE CAR IN REVERSE, AND THE CAR TURNED OFF. THERE WAS NO RESPONSE AT ALL FROM THE TRANSMISSION. I THEN TURNED THE IGNITION OFF AND RESTARTED IT AND IT STARTED WORKING FINE. BEING LATE FOR WORK, I THEN CONTINUED ON AND UNTIL YESTERDAY EVERYTHING WAS OKAY. YESTERDAY, I GOT INTO MY CAR, STARTED IT, SWITCHED TO DRIVE, AND THE ENGINE SHUT OFF AND THERE WAS NO RESPONSE FROM THE TRANSMISSION. I TURNED THE IGNITION OFF, TURNED IT ON AGAIN, MOVED THE SHIFTER INTO REVERSE AND THE ENGINE SHUT OFF AGAIN. I HAVE SINCE HAD IT TOWED AND IT IS BEING CHECKED AT THE DEALERSHIP. THIS BEING A ONE YEAR OLD CAR, I DO NOT EXPECT IT TO GIVE THESE ISSUES.

View Details

ENGINE

5/13/2015 - AFTON, OK
2014 NISSAN ALTIMA. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE OIL LEAKS ISSUE. CONSUMER SENT ADDITIONAL CORRESPONDENCE. THE CONSUMER STATED THERE WAS A SMELL OF HYDRO-CARBONS WHEN HE STARTED THE ENGINE. THE DIP STICK SHOWED A DROP OF AT LEAST 3/8 OF OIL ON THE DIP STICK. ALSO, THE AIR BAG ISSUE WAS NOT ADDRESS AND THE PLASTIC PROTECTING THE BOTTOM OF THE ENGINE FELL DOWN.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/13/2015 - AFTON, OK
2014 NISSAN ALTIMA. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE OIL LEAKS ISSUE. CONSUMER SENT ADDITIONAL CORRESPONDENCE. THE CONSUMER STATED THERE WAS A SMELL OF HYDRO-CARBONS WHEN HE STARTED THE ENGINE. THE DIP STICK SHOWED A DROP OF AT LEAST 3/8 OF OIL ON THE DIP STICK. ALSO, THE AIR BAG ISSUE WAS NOT ADDRESS AND THE PLASTIC PROTECTING THE BOTTOM OF THE ENGINE FELL DOWN.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/8/2015 - ATLANTA, GA
MY CAR IS STALLING ON THE HIGHWAY AND SOMETIMES CUTS OFF AT A LOW SPEED. I TOOK IT TO THE NISSAN DEALERSHIP AND WAS TOLD THEY DO NOT SEE ANY ISSUES DUE TO THE ENGINE LIGHT NOT COMING ON. I THINK THIS IS A SAFETY HAZZARD BEING THAT THE CAR COULD TURN OFF AT ANYTIME ON THE HIGHWAY. I'M REALLY CONCERN WHEN MY FAMILY (WIFE & KIDS ARE IN THE CAR. PLEASE HELP!

View Details

VISIBILITY: SUN ROOF ASSEMBLY

5/6/2015 - WEST VALLEY CITY, UT
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA. WHILE TRAVELING APPROXIMATELY 65 MPH, THERE WAS A LOUD POPPING SOUND AND THEN THE SUN ROOF GLASS SHATTERED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT INDICATED THAT THE SUN ROOF WAS CLOSED AND THAT THERE WAS NO IMPACT. THE CONTACT WAS NOT SURE IF THE TRACK WAS OFF OR IF THE SEALS FAILED ASSOCIATED WITH THE GLASS FRACTURING. THE CONTACT STATED THAT UPON OPENING THE SUN ROOF, THE GLASS WAS ALREADY FRACTURED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN AUTHORIZED DEALER FOR FURTHER INSPECTION AND DIAGNOSIS. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 16,500.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/4/2015 - BLUFFTON, IN
2014 ALTIMA HAS BEEN INTO DEALER FOR PASSENGER AIR BAG ISSUES AND TWICE THEY HAVE DONE THINGS, BUT WE STILL HAVE THE PROBLEM. A PASSENGER OVER 125 POUNDS IS SITTING IN THE SEAT AND THE AIR BAG LIGHT SAYING THE AIR BAG IS TURNED OFF IS ON. HAVE TO SHUT THE CAR OFF AND TURN ON AGAIN AND IT WILL THEN GO OUT. MAKES ME WONDER WHAT IT WILL REALLY DO IF WE ARE IN AN ACCIDENT.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/4/2015 - SILVER SPRING, MD
NEVER RECEIVED ANY INFORMATION ON A NAVIGATION SOFTWARE UPDATE RECALL OR A SECONDARY HOOD LATCH PROBLEM UNTIL I BROUGHT THE CAR IN TO THE DEALER TO ASK WHY THE RADIO AND NAVIGATION SYSTEM WERE NOT WORKING PROPERLY.

View Details

AIR BAGS

4/25/2015 - GOODE, VA
I AM WRITING REGARDING PROBLEMS WITH THE NISSAN AIR BAG SAFETY SYSTEM IN MY 2014 ALTIMA. I PURCHASED A 2014 ALTIMA IN AUGUST AND HAVE HAD A RECURRING INTERMITTENT PROBLEM OF THE PASSENGER AIR BAG LIGHT COMING ON AND REMAINING ON WHEN I HAVE AN ADULT PASSENGER IN THE VEHICLE. MY WIFE WEIGHS 120 POUNDS YET IT IS NOT INFREQUENT FOR THE LIGHT TO GO ON WHEN WE START THE CAR AND THEN REMAIN ON FOR AN EXTENDED PERIOD OF TIME, USUALLY BETWEEN FIFTEEN AND THIRTY MINUTES. IT MAY ALSO COME ON AND STAY ON IF SHE GETS IN THE CAR AFTER I HAVE STARTED IT. SINCE LOCAL TRIPS ARE OFTEN LESS THAN THIRTY MINUTES, THERE ARE TIMES WE COMPLETE A SHORT TRIP WITHOUT THE LIGHT GOING OUT. THE LIGHT WILL ALSO COME ON FOR NO APPARENT REASON WHILE WE ARE DRIVING. DURING ONE OF THESE EPISODES THE LIGHT CAME ON WHILE WE WERE DRIVING ON AN INTERSTATE, REMAINED ON FOR JUST OVER AN HOUR, AND THEN WENT OFF. WE HAVE HAD THE CAR EVALUATED BY NISSAN TWICE AND ARE REPEATEDLY TOLD NOTHING IS WRONG. I ALSO WROTE AND SPOKE WITH NISSAN CORPORATE AND WAS TOLD THERE IS NOTHING THEY CAN DO. THERE IS NOTHING UNDER THE SEAT. THERE ARE NO CHILDREN IN THE CAR AND MY WIFE IS NOT TURNING AROUND IN THE SEAT. I HAVE PICTURES (I CAN FORWARD IF DESIRED) THAT SHOW THE PROBLEM WHILE WE ARE ON THE ROAD.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 16
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds