Auto Recalls for Consumers

NISSAN ALTIMA - 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Nissan North America, Inc.

There are 129 complaints filed for the 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (47) Equipment (1) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Unknown Or Other (12)
Electrical System (15) Equipment Adaptive (1) Power Train (23) Steering (17) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Exterior Lighting (1) Seat Belts (2) Structure (4) Visibility (2)
Engine (10) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Seats (1) Suspension (6) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine And Engine Cooling (2) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (8) Tires (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

6/16/2015 - PALM COAST, FL
WE RENTED A 2014 ALTIMA S FROM A LOCAL HERTZ RENT-A-CAR AND TRAVELED ROUNDTRIP FROM FLORIDA TO NEW YORK. ON THE RETURN TRIP WE STOPPED AT A REST AREA JUST ENTERING SOUTH CAROLINA. WHEN I RESTARTED THE VEHICLE AND WENT TO PUT THE VEHICLE IN REVERSE THE CAR STALLED OUT. I PROCEEDED TO PUT THE VEHICLE IN PARK AND RESTARTED THE CAR. WHEN I PUT THE VEHICLE AGAIN IN REVERSE, AGAIN IT STALLED; TRIED AGAIN TO PUT IT IN DRIVE, AGAIN IT STALLED. I THEN CALLED HERTZ EMERGENCY ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE TO GET A TOW TO THE NEAREST HERTZ RENTAL WHICH TURNED OUT TO BE TO THE NEAREST AIRPORT. THE TOW CAME IN 45 MINUTES SINCE THE NEAREST RELIABLE TOW WAS IN NORTH CAROLINA. EVEN THE TOW TRUCK DRIVER COULD NOT PUT THE VEHICLE IN GEAR WITHOUT THE VEHICLE STALLING OUT EVEN AFTER COOLING FOR ALMOST AN HOUR. THE CAR RENTAL GAVE US ANOTHER VEHICLE, A NISSAN SENTRA, WHICH WAS THE LARGEST VEHICLE THEY HAD AVAILABLE. LUCKILY WE WERE ABLE TO FINISH OUR TRIP TO FLORIDA WITHOUT ANY FURTHER INCIDENCE. THE RENTAL AGENT OR HIS BOSS COULD NOT BELIEVE THAT THIS PROBLEM HAPPENED; THAT THEY'RE NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR MECHANICAL PROBLEMS WITH THEIR RENTALS; THAT SHE'LL GIVE ME A TOKEN DOLLARS OFF MY RENTAL SINCE NO OTHER PLACES WOULD EVEN DO WHAT SHE DID FOR US.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES: HOOD: LATCH

6/5/2015 - WARREN, MI
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2014 NISSAN ALTIMA. WHILE DRIVING AT 35 MPH, THE HOOD UNLATCHED INDEPENDENTLY. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO AN INDEPENDENT MECHANIC WHO FAILED TO DETERMINE A REMEDY FOR THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS THEN TAKEN TO A DEALER WHERE IT WAS INFORMED THAT THE FAILURE MIGHT BE RELATED TO NHTSA CAMPAIGN NUMBER: 15V116000 (LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES). THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 44,000.

View Details

AIR BAGS

6/1/2015 - BUDA, TX
2014 NISSAN ALTIMA. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO PASSENGER AIRBAG INDICATOR LIGHT ISSUES. THE CONSUMER STATED THE AIR BAG LIGHT ILLUMINATED INDICATING THE PASSENGER AIR BAG WAS DEACTIVATED, DESPITE HIS 100 POUND WIFE WAS SEATED IN THE FRONT PASSENGER SEAT. THE DEALER REPROGRAMMED THE OCCUPANT CLASSIFICATION SYSTEM. HOWEVER, FOUR MONTHS LATER, THE LIGHT ILLUMINATED AGAIN. THE DEALER REPROGRAMMED THE OCS AGAIN. THE CONSUMER RETURNED TO THE DEALER FOR A THIRD TIME, IN DECEMBER 2014. THE DEALER CLAIMED THEY TEST DROVE THE VEHICLE WITH A PASSENGER AND THEY COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE PROBLEM.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

5/27/2015 - BALTIMORE, MD
I HAVE ONLY HAD MY CAR FOR ABOUT 15 MONTHS AND I BOUGHT IT BRAND NEW. SO ABOUT A MONTH AGO I NOTICED THAT THERE WAS A JERK WHEN I WOULD PUSH ON THE GAS WHEN COMING FROM A COMPLETE STOP. ONE TIME MY CAR EVEN SLIGHTLY SLID AND THE TIRE LIGHT CAME ON. I TOOK MY CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP ONCE THAT HAPPENED BUT THEY SAID THAT THE ONLY ISSUE THEY SAW WAS THAT MY WHEELS WERE UNBALANCED. I STILL EXPERIENCE THIS ISSUE FROM TIME TO TIME AND I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW WHY. I BOUGHT A BRAND NEW CAR FOR A REASON AND THAT WAS TO NOT HAVE TO DEAL WITH CAR ISSUES FOR A WHILE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/27/2015 - BALTIMORE, MD
I HAVE ONLY HAD MY CAR FOR ABOUT 15 MONTHS AND I BOUGHT IT BRAND NEW. SO ABOUT A MONTH AGO I NOTICED THAT THERE WAS A JERK WHEN I WOULD PUSH ON THE GAS WHEN COMING FROM A COMPLETE STOP. ONE TIME MY CAR EVEN SLIGHTLY SLID AND THE TIRE LIGHT CAME ON. I TOOK MY CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP ONCE THAT HAPPENED BUT THEY SAID THAT THE ONLY ISSUE THEY SAW WAS THAT MY WHEELS WERE UNBALANCED. I STILL EXPERIENCE THIS ISSUE FROM TIME TO TIME AND I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW WHY. I BOUGHT A BRAND NEW CAR FOR A REASON AND THAT WAS TO NOT HAVE TO DEAL WITH CAR ISSUES FOR A WHILE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/27/2015 - BALTIMORE, MD
I HAVE ONLY HAD MY CAR FOR ABOUT 15 MONTHS AND I BOUGHT IT BRAND NEW. SO ABOUT A MONTH AGO I NOTICED THAT THERE WAS A JERK WHEN I WOULD PUSH ON THE GAS WHEN COMING FROM A COMPLETE STOP. ONE TIME MY CAR EVEN SLIGHTLY SLID AND THE TIRE LIGHT CAME ON. I TOOK MY CAR TO THE DEALERSHIP ONCE THAT HAPPENED BUT THEY SAID THAT THE ONLY ISSUE THEY SAW WAS THAT MY WHEELS WERE UNBALANCED. I STILL EXPERIENCE THIS ISSUE FROM TIME TO TIME AND I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW WHY. I BOUGHT A BRAND NEW CAR FOR A REASON AND THAT WAS TO NOT HAVE TO DEAL WITH CAR ISSUES FOR A WHILE.

View Details

SUSPENSION

5/21/2015 - UNION CITY, CA
I BOUGHT THE CAR LAST YEAR AND IT HAS ONLY BEEN ABOUT 13 MONTHS. ABOUT THREE MONTHS AGO, I NOTICED THAT THERE WAS A KIND OF JERK WHEN I WOULD START OFF A STOP LIGHT AND ACCELERATE. FIRST THINKING IT WAS NOT A GREAT DEAL, I KEPT GOING HOWEVER I NOTICED IT THAT IT WAS BECOMING MORE CONSTANT. ONE DAY ABOUT TO REVERSE OUT OF A PARKING LOT, I PUT THE CAR IN REVERSE, AND THE CAR TURNED OFF. THERE WAS NO RESPONSE AT ALL FROM THE TRANSMISSION. I THEN TURNED THE IGNITION OFF AND RESTARTED IT AND IT STARTED WORKING FINE. BEING LATE FOR WORK, I THEN CONTINUED ON AND UNTIL YESTERDAY EVERYTHING WAS OKAY. YESTERDAY, I GOT INTO MY CAR, STARTED IT, SWITCHED TO DRIVE, AND THE ENGINE SHUT OFF AND THERE WAS NO RESPONSE FROM THE TRANSMISSION. I TURNED THE IGNITION OFF, TURNED IT ON AGAIN, MOVED THE SHIFTER INTO REVERSE AND THE ENGINE SHUT OFF AGAIN. I HAVE SINCE HAD IT TOWED AND IT IS BEING CHECKED AT THE DEALERSHIP. THIS BEING A ONE YEAR OLD CAR, I DO NOT EXPECT IT TO GIVE THESE ISSUES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/21/2015 - UNION CITY, CA
I BOUGHT THE CAR LAST YEAR AND IT HAS ONLY BEEN ABOUT 13 MONTHS. ABOUT THREE MONTHS AGO, I NOTICED THAT THERE WAS A KIND OF JERK WHEN I WOULD START OFF A STOP LIGHT AND ACCELERATE. FIRST THINKING IT WAS NOT A GREAT DEAL, I KEPT GOING HOWEVER I NOTICED IT THAT IT WAS BECOMING MORE CONSTANT. ONE DAY ABOUT TO REVERSE OUT OF A PARKING LOT, I PUT THE CAR IN REVERSE, AND THE CAR TURNED OFF. THERE WAS NO RESPONSE AT ALL FROM THE TRANSMISSION. I THEN TURNED THE IGNITION OFF AND RESTARTED IT AND IT STARTED WORKING FINE. BEING LATE FOR WORK, I THEN CONTINUED ON AND UNTIL YESTERDAY EVERYTHING WAS OKAY. YESTERDAY, I GOT INTO MY CAR, STARTED IT, SWITCHED TO DRIVE, AND THE ENGINE SHUT OFF AND THERE WAS NO RESPONSE FROM THE TRANSMISSION. I TURNED THE IGNITION OFF, TURNED IT ON AGAIN, MOVED THE SHIFTER INTO REVERSE AND THE ENGINE SHUT OFF AGAIN. I HAVE SINCE HAD IT TOWED AND IT IS BEING CHECKED AT THE DEALERSHIP. THIS BEING A ONE YEAR OLD CAR, I DO NOT EXPECT IT TO GIVE THESE ISSUES.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

5/21/2015 - UNION CITY, CA
I BOUGHT THE CAR LAST YEAR AND IT HAS ONLY BEEN ABOUT 13 MONTHS. ABOUT THREE MONTHS AGO, I NOTICED THAT THERE WAS A KIND OF JERK WHEN I WOULD START OFF A STOP LIGHT AND ACCELERATE. FIRST THINKING IT WAS NOT A GREAT DEAL, I KEPT GOING HOWEVER I NOTICED IT THAT IT WAS BECOMING MORE CONSTANT. ONE DAY ABOUT TO REVERSE OUT OF A PARKING LOT, I PUT THE CAR IN REVERSE, AND THE CAR TURNED OFF. THERE WAS NO RESPONSE AT ALL FROM THE TRANSMISSION. I THEN TURNED THE IGNITION OFF AND RESTARTED IT AND IT STARTED WORKING FINE. BEING LATE FOR WORK, I THEN CONTINUED ON AND UNTIL YESTERDAY EVERYTHING WAS OKAY. YESTERDAY, I GOT INTO MY CAR, STARTED IT, SWITCHED TO DRIVE, AND THE ENGINE SHUT OFF AND THERE WAS NO RESPONSE FROM THE TRANSMISSION. I TURNED THE IGNITION OFF, TURNED IT ON AGAIN, MOVED THE SHIFTER INTO REVERSE AND THE ENGINE SHUT OFF AGAIN. I HAVE SINCE HAD IT TOWED AND IT IS BEING CHECKED AT THE DEALERSHIP. THIS BEING A ONE YEAR OLD CAR, I DO NOT EXPECT IT TO GIVE THESE ISSUES.

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/13/2015 - AFTON, OK
2014 NISSAN ALTIMA. CONSUMER WRITES IN REGARDS TO VEHICLE OIL LEAKS ISSUE. CONSUMER SENT ADDITIONAL CORRESPONDENCE. THE CONSUMER STATED THERE WAS A SMELL OF HYDRO-CARBONS WHEN HE STARTED THE ENGINE. THE DIP STICK SHOWED A DROP OF AT LEAST 3/8 OF OIL ON THE DIP STICK. ALSO, THE AIR BAG ISSUE WAS NOT ADDRESS AND THE PLASTIC PROTECTING THE BOTTOM OF THE ENGINE FELL DOWN.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 17
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds