Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SUBURBAN - 2015 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 241 complaints filed for the 2015 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2015 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2015 CHEVROLET SUBURBAN, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Equipment Adaptive (2) Seats (5) Structure (24) Vehicle Speed Control (2)
Electrical System (28) Exterior Lighting (5) Service Brakes (99) Suspension (18) Visibility (2)
Electronic Stability Control (14) Fuel Propulsion System (10) Service Brakes Hydraulic (1) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (2)
Engine (22) Power Train (16) Steering (29) Unknown Or Other (33) Wheels (3)
Equipment (1) Seat Belts (4)

Pages:  
<<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 23
 
ComplaintDescription

SERVICE BRAKES

11/5/2018 - KINNELON, NJ
ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS AFTER I PUT CAR INTO MOTION AND STARTED TO DEPRESS BRAKE PEDAL, IT WAS EXTRAORDINARILY DIFFICULT TO DEPRESS AND WAS BARELY ABLE TO STOP THE VEHICLE. I WAS ON A HILL SO THIS CAUSED MY CAR TO SLIDE FORWARD BEFORE BARELY STOPPING. ON ANOTHER OCCASION THIS SAME THING HAPPENED WHEN I PUT THE CAR IN REVERSE AND PRESSED THE BRAKE PEDAL. THIS SITUATION HAS OCCURRED AT LEAST 7 TIMES OVER THE PAST YEAR WE HAVE HAD THIS VEHICLE AND IT SEEMS TO OCCURS RANDOMLY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/19/2018 - MT LAUREL, NJ
WHILE DRIVING IN STOP AND GO TRAFFIC BRAKES STOPPED WORKING. EVENTUALLY WAS ABLE TO COME TO A STOP BUT FELT LIKE I HAD TO FIGHT THE PEDAL TO PRESS IT DOWN HARD ENOUGH. KIDS WERE IN THE CAR AND WE WERE ALMOST T BONED AT AN INTERSECTION. DROVE TO A PARKING LOT AND WENT TO PARK AND HAD THE SAME PROBLEM, COULDN'T STOP AND ALMOST HIT THE PARKING BLOCK. HAVE 45000 MILES ON THE CAR. AT 40,000 THE AC STOPPED WORKING AND HAD TO PUT 1500 DOLLARS INTO A NEW AC - NOW WILL HAVE TO PUT 1500 DOLLARS INTO THE BRAKES AS THIS IS NOT COVERED UNDER WARRANTY. WHEN WILL CHEVY ISSUE A RECALL FOR THE PROBLEMS WITH THE 2015 BRAKES (AND AC)?

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/16/2018 - HALLSVILLE, TX
VACUUM PUMP FAILED (ACCORDING TO DEALERSHIP) AT APPROX 56,000 MILES. ALMOST CAUSED A WRECK DUE TO LOSS OF BRAKES (WITHIN INCHES OF HITTING SOMEONE). THERE WERE NO WARNING LIGHTS/SIGNS/INDICATIONS OF FAILURE, SUDDEN AND COMPLETE LOSS OF BRAKE POWER. DRIVER HAD TO PRESS BRAKE PEDAL COMPLETELY TO THE FLOOR, ONLY THEN DID THE VEHICLE EVENTUALLY STOP AFTER SEVERAL FEET. PUMPED BRAKES TO CHECK FOR AIR IN LINE, PEDAL BECAME HARD AS A ROCK. LUCKILY THIS OCCURRED AT A LOW SPEED (PULLING UP TO A DRIVE THRU LINE). IF ON THE STREET AT HIGHER SPEED, ISSUE WOULD OF CAUSE A SERIOUS WRECK. WE WERE FORCED TO ABANDON THE VEHICLE, PARK IT OVERNIGHT AND TOW IT TO THE LOCAL CHEVROLET DEALER THE NEXT MORNING. BRAKES APPEARED TO WORK FOR TECH AT FIRST, BUT UPON FURTHER INSPECTION AND AFTER A CALL TO US FOR MORE INFO, THE VACUUM PUMP WAS SAID TO BE FAILING, LOSING BREAK POWER AFTER A COUPLE PRESSES OF THE PEDAL (HINTS WHY THIS FAILURE OCCURRED IN STOP-GO TRAFFIC). VACUUM PUMP IS BEING REPLACED AS WE SPEAK, BUT WE STILL DO NOT FEEL SAFE DRIVING A VEHICLE THAT CAN HAVE THIS MANY SAFETY ISSUES AT THIS PRICE POINT AND AT THIS AGE; BRAKES, VIBRATION AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS A.K.A THE "CHEVY SHAKE" THAT HAS NOT BEEN FIXED OR ACKNOWLEDGED BY CHEVROLET AFTER SEVERAL TRIPS TO DEALER, TIRE RECALLS, AN EXTENDED WARRANTY ON THE A/C DUE TO FAILURES (AND IT DID FAIL AT 36,000), AND NOW A POWER STEERING RECALL, JUST TO NAME A FEW.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

10/2/2018 - POTOMAC, MD
I WAS DROPPING OFF MY CHILDREN AT SCHOOL AND HAD MY FOOT ON THE BRAKE WHILE THEY UNLOADED. AS I WAS DRIVING AWAY AT A VERY LOW SPEED (3 OR 4 MPH) I WENT TO BRAKE AROUND A CURVE IN THE PARKING LOT AND I COULD NOT DEPRESS MY BRAKE. I TRIED SEVERAL TIMES BEFORE THROWING THE CAR INTO PARK AND SLAMMING ON THE PARKING BRAKE TO GET THE CAR TO STOP. THIS OCCURRED IN A PARKING LOT FULL OF KIDS WALKING BY. I WAS VERY LUCKY NOT TO HAVE HIT SOMEONE. I THEN RELEASED THE PARKING BRAKE AND WITH MY FOOT ON THE BRAKE TRIED TO PUT THE CAR IN DRIVE AND AGAIN THE BRAKE WOULD NOT WORK SO I AGAIN USED THE PARKING BRAKE TO STOP THE CAR FROM ROLLING. AT THAT POINT I THOUGHT I WOULD TRY TO GUIDE THE CAR OUT OF THE THE WAY OF THE BUSES AND CHILDREN WITH THE EMERGENCY BRAKE SO I TURNED IT OFF COMPLETELY AND UPON RESTARTING THE CAR THE BRAKE WAS FUNCTIONAL AGAIN. I AM TAKING THE CAR TO CHEVY TODAY BUT THEY SAY THERE IS NO RECALL ON THE ISSUE HOWEVER, IN RESEARCHING WHAT COULD HAVE HAPPENED I HAVE FOUND MANY SIMILAR ACCOUNTS OF BRAKE FAILURE AT LOW SPEED IN 2015 SUBURBANS. I COULD HAVE EASILY KILLED SOMEONE IF I HADN'T THOUGHT QUICKLY TO THROW THE CAR INTO PARK AND USE THE EMERGENCY BRAKE.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

9/27/2018 - NATCHEZ, MS
WHILE DRIVING @65 MPH ON A FOUR LANE HIGHWAY, GRASSY MEDIAN BETWEEN THE NORTH AND SOUTH LANES, NO OTHER CAR AROUND ME, I HEARD A LOUD POP AND CRASH. I THOUGHT MY CAR HAD BEEN SHOT OR A WINDOW HAD BEEN BLOWN OUT. I SAW NOTHING WHEN I LOOKED AROUND THE CAR. THEN I HEARD WIND AND REALIZED THAT MY SUNROOF WINDOW HAD EXPLODED. SCARED ME TO DEATH, LUCKILY MY INSIDE SUNROOF PANEL WAS CLOSED SO NO GLASS ENTERED THE CAR. I AM CERTAIN THAT NOTHING HIT THE ROOF AND CRACKED THE WINDOW. IT EXPLODED ON ITS OWN. WHEN I STOPPED, IT LOOKED AS IF THE WINDOW HAD BUBBLE UP AND BURST, AS YOU CAN SEE IN MY PICTURE, IT LOOKS AS IF IT BUBBLED UP AND BURST.

View Details

STEERING

9/23/2018 - JAMESVILLE, NY
I WAS INVOLVED IN A VEHICLE ACCIDENT IN JANUARY OF 2017. A VERY TRAUMATIC EXPERIENCE NEEDLESS-TO-SAY. I WAS IN THE FAR LEFT LANE OF A 3 LANE HIGHWAY. AS I WAS ATTEMPTING TO SWITCH TO THE CENTER LANE, I SUDDENLY LOST THE ABILITY TO CONTROL MY STEERING WHEEL, AS THOUGH IT WAS JAMMED. AS A RESULT I CONTINUED TO GLIDE ACROSS THE HIGHWAY, DESPERATELY TRYING TO MANEUVER MY STEERING WHEEL TO GO STRAIGHT. I WAS FRANTICALLY TELLING MY PASSENGER + I CAN+T CONTROL MY WHEEL!!+ WITHIN MOMENTS I WAS AT THE FAR RIGHT SIDE OF THE HIGHWAY AT THIS POINT, AND ALL OF A SUDDEN THE WHEEL +RELEASES+, IT NO LONGER FELT JAMMED. WHEN THIS HAPPENS MY VEHICLE TURNS ALMOST 180 DEGREES, FACING THE DIRECTION OF ON-COMING TRAFFIC, AND WE WERE IMMEDIATELY HIT BY HUGE TRACTOR TRAILER. THE BLESSING IN ALL THIS WAS THERE WERE NO FATALITIES, AND I AM DEEPLY GRATEFUL FOR THAT. IN THE AFTERMATH OF IT ALL, MY VEHICLE WAS TOTALED AND I STRUGGLED WITH NOT BEING ABLE TO FULLY UNDERSTAND NOR EXPLAIN HOW AND WHY THIS HAPPENED.

View Details

SUSPENSION

9/22/2018 - BRANDON, FL
MY 2015 SUBURBAN LTZ HAS LOST BOTH FRONT STRUTS. DEALER WANTS ALMOST $2,000 TO REPAIR. IF THIS IS AS COMMON OF A PROBLEM AS IT SEEMS, AND I WERE A MAJOR AUTO MAKER, I WOULD BE EMBARRASSED THAT AN UPGRADED, HIGH TECH SUSPENSION SYSTEM THAT I ADDED TO MY $70,000 PRODUCT WAS CAUSING MY CONSUMERS A VERY PREMATURE, VERY EXPENSIVE REPAIR. IF THIS IS AN UPGRADED, LUXURY VEHICLE, I'LL TAKE THE STANDARD ONE. I SHOULD HAVE STAYED WITH AUTO MAKER THAT STANDS BEHIND THEIR PRODUCT.

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

9/17/2018 - MONTGOMERY, AL
VEHICLE WAS SERVICED AT THE LOCAL CHEVROLET DEALERSHIP SUBJECT TO NHTSA RECALL NO: 18V-586 ON FRIDAY, SEPTEMBER 14, 2018. THE NEXT DAY, 9/15/18, VEHICLE EXPERIENCED SAME PROBLEMS THAT WERE HAPPENING PRIOR TO BEING SERVICED. SPECIFICALLY, ON SATURDAY(9/15) AT APPROX. 4:30 P.M. CST, WHILE MAKING A ROLLING RIGHT HAND TURN ON GREEN THE VEHICLE LOST POWER STEERING AND LOST ALL POWER. NO ONE WAS DIRECTLY BEHIND ME AS I STOPPED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE CITY STREET. I PUT ON THE FLASHERS AND, AFTER UNSUCCESSFULLY TRYING TO RESTART THE VEHICLE IN NEUTRAL, WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE CAR WHILE IN PARK. I NOTICED THE BATTERY VOLTAGE METER WAS LOWER THAN NORMAL FOR THE REMAINDER OF MY TRIP, HOWEVER, IT HAD RETURNED TO NORMAL THE NEXT MORNING. THIS HAS BEEN AN ONGOING PROBLEM WHICH STARTED ON AUG. 9, 2018. FIRST TRIP TO THE CHEVY DEALERSHIP RESULTED IN REPLACING THE F-MODULE. PROBLEMS PERSISTED AND THE NEXT RECOMMENDATION WAS TO REPLACE THE NEGATIVE BATTERY CABLE, WHICH WAS DONE ON 9/10/18. NOW, AFTER SERVICING DUE TO RECALL, I CONTINUE TO HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

9/17/2018 - MONTGOMERY, AL
VEHICLE WAS SERVICED AT THE LOCAL CHEVROLET DEALERSHIP SUBJECT TO NHTSA RECALL NO: 18V-586 ON FRIDAY, SEPTEMBER 14, 2018. THE NEXT DAY, 9/15/18, VEHICLE EXPERIENCED SAME PROBLEMS THAT WERE HAPPENING PRIOR TO BEING SERVICED. SPECIFICALLY, ON SATURDAY(9/15) AT APPROX. 4:30 P.M. CST, WHILE MAKING A ROLLING RIGHT HAND TURN ON GREEN THE VEHICLE LOST POWER STEERING AND LOST ALL POWER. NO ONE WAS DIRECTLY BEHIND ME AS I STOPPED IN THE MIDDLE OF THE CITY STREET. I PUT ON THE FLASHERS AND, AFTER UNSUCCESSFULLY TRYING TO RESTART THE VEHICLE IN NEUTRAL, WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE CAR WHILE IN PARK. I NOTICED THE BATTERY VOLTAGE METER WAS LOWER THAN NORMAL FOR THE REMAINDER OF MY TRIP, HOWEVER, IT HAD RETURNED TO NORMAL THE NEXT MORNING. THIS HAS BEEN AN ONGOING PROBLEM WHICH STARTED ON AUG. 9, 2018. FIRST TRIP TO THE CHEVY DEALERSHIP RESULTED IN REPLACING THE F-MODULE. PROBLEMS PERSISTED AND THE NEXT RECOMMENDATION WAS TO REPLACE THE NEGATIVE BATTERY CABLE, WHICH WAS DONE ON 9/10/18. NOW, AFTER SERVICING DUE TO RECALL, I CONTINUE TO HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

8/31/2018 - MAGNOLIA, TX
WHILE DRIVING ALL OF THE POWER CUTS OFF INCLUDING POWER STEERING. ALTERNATOR, OIL, FUEL, STRUTS, BATTERY X 2 HAVE BEEN CHANGED OUT IN ATTEMPT TO CORRECT ISSUE. ISSUE IS STILL PRESENT. LOCAL CHEVY DEALERSHIP UNABLE TO RECTIFY PROBLEM. THERE HAVE BEEN NUMEROUS INCIDENTS WITH POTENTIAL ACCIDENTS. THERE SEEMS TO BE A POWER DRAW ON THE SYSTEM, UNABLE TO FIND ANY KINKED OR FRAYED WIRES. WHILE DRIVING ALL LIGHTING INCLUDING GAUGES DIMS USUALLY PRIOR TO COMPLETE VEHICLE ELECTRICAL FAILURE. I HAVE A VIDEO OF ELECTRICAL DIMMING, BUT UNABLE TO LOAD ON HERE. VEHICLE IS LABELED AS 2015 BUT MANUFACTURE DATE IS 2014, IVE NOTICED THERE IS A RECALL ON 2014 MODELS FOR ELECTRICAL CHASSIS FAILURE HOWEVER MY VIN IS NOT ENCOMPASSED IN THIS RECALL.

View Details
Pages:  <<  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  11  12  >>  ... 23
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds