Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ODYSSEY - 2015 HONDA ODYSSEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 113 complaints filed for the 2015 HONDA ODYSSEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2015 HONDA ODYSSEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2015 HONDA ODYSSEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (7) Engine (17) Seat Belts (2) Structure (14) Vehicle Speed Control (4)
Back Over Prevention (1) Exterior Lighting (6) Seats (14) Suspension (3) Visibility (2)
Electrical System (12) Fuel Propulsion System (4) Service Brakes (9) Tires (2) Visibility Wiper (3)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Power Train (26) Steering (4) Unknown Or Other (19) Wheels (4)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
 
ComplaintDescription

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/21/2019 - FARIBAULT, MN
I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE (2013 CHEVROLET CRUZE) IN 2016 AND IT HAD MILEAGE OF 3,500 MILES. LESS THAN A MONTH OF OWNERSHIP AN ALERT SHOWED AND SOUNDED IN THE DASH LIGHTS THAT THE REAR DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR WAS OPEN WHEN IT WASN'T AND THIS WAS WHILE IN A PARK POSITION AND WHILE IN MOTION ON ANY ROAD. THE ALERT WAS ALMOST CONSTANT SO I BROUGHT IT TO A REPAIR SHOP WHICH REPLACED THE LATCH IN THE DOOR 3 SEPARATE TIMES AND THE PROBLEM STILL OCCURRED. EVENTUALLY I ASKED TO JUST HAVE THE LATCH DISCONNECTED IN THE DOOR BECAUSE NO ONE COULD FIX IT AND STOP THE ALERT AND SOUNDS FROM GOING OFF. SO NOW I HAVE A $300 LATCH DISCONNECTED INSIDE THE DOOR BECAUSE THAT WOULDN'T FIX THE PROBLEM PLUS I HAVE TO MANUALLY LOCK AND UNLOCK THAT DOOR IF I NEED TO USE IT WHEN ALL OF THE OTHER 3 DOORS CAN BE ELECTRONICALLY LOCKED/UNLOCKED WITH THE FOB OR THE LOCK/UNLOCK BUTTON IN THE CAR. NOW A NEW PROBLEM THAT IS CURRENTLY GOING ON IS THE REAR BRAKE LIGHT IN THE BACK WINDSHIELD IS VERY DIM WHILE IN A PARK POSITION OR WHILE IN MOTION DRIVING ON ANY ROAD. IT STILL WORKS BUT IS NOT AS BRIGHT AS IT USED TO BE. IT'S A LIGHT BAR THAT SITS IN THE BACK WINDOW ACTING AS A 3RD BRAKE LIGHT AND IT DOES NOT CONTAIN LIGHT BULBS. ALSO, I'VE HAD A COUPLE OF OTHER ALERTS SHOW UP IN THE DASH FOR A DAY OR MORE WHILE IN A PARK POSITION OR IN MOTION DRIVING ON ANY ROAD AND THEN THEY GO AWAY AFTER A FEW DAYS. I SUSPECT THIS VEHICLE HAS AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM AND I CAN'T AFFORD TO HAVE IT DIAGNOSED.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

7/21/2019 - FARIBAULT, MN
I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE (2013 CHEVROLET CRUZE) IN 2016 AND IT HAD MILEAGE OF 3,500 MILES. LESS THAN A MONTH OF OWNERSHIP AN ALERT SHOWED AND SOUNDED IN THE DASH LIGHTS THAT THE REAR DRIVER'S SIDE DOOR WAS OPEN WHEN IT WASN'T AND THIS WAS WHILE IN A PARK POSITION AND WHILE IN MOTION ON ANY ROAD. THE ALERT WAS ALMOST CONSTANT SO I BROUGHT IT TO A REPAIR SHOP WHICH REPLACED THE LATCH IN THE DOOR 3 SEPARATE TIMES AND THE PROBLEM STILL OCCURRED. EVENTUALLY I ASKED TO JUST HAVE THE LATCH DISCONNECTED IN THE DOOR BECAUSE NO ONE COULD FIX IT AND STOP THE ALERT AND SOUNDS FROM GOING OFF. SO NOW I HAVE A $300 LATCH DISCONNECTED INSIDE THE DOOR BECAUSE THAT WOULDN'T FIX THE PROBLEM PLUS I HAVE TO MANUALLY LOCK AND UNLOCK THAT DOOR IF I NEED TO USE IT WHEN ALL OF THE OTHER 3 DOORS CAN BE ELECTRONICALLY LOCKED/UNLOCKED WITH THE FOB OR THE LOCK/UNLOCK BUTTON IN THE CAR. NOW A NEW PROBLEM THAT IS CURRENTLY GOING ON IS THE REAR BRAKE LIGHT IN THE BACK WINDSHIELD IS VERY DIM WHILE IN A PARK POSITION OR WHILE IN MOTION DRIVING ON ANY ROAD. IT STILL WORKS BUT IS NOT AS BRIGHT AS IT USED TO BE. IT'S A LIGHT BAR THAT SITS IN THE BACK WINDOW ACTING AS A 3RD BRAKE LIGHT AND IT DOES NOT CONTAIN LIGHT BULBS. ALSO, I'VE HAD A COUPLE OF OTHER ALERTS SHOW UP IN THE DASH FOR A DAY OR MORE WHILE IN A PARK POSITION OR IN MOTION DRIVING ON ANY ROAD AND THEN THEY GO AWAY AFTER A FEW DAYS. I SUSPECT THIS VEHICLE HAS AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM AND I CAN'T AFFORD TO HAVE IT DIAGNOSED.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/21/2019 - VALENCIA, CA
OCCASIONALLY WHEN DRIVING AT SLOW SPEEDS THE CAR STRUGGLES AND LURCHES FORWARD AND LOSES POWER. IT IS VERY SCARY WHEN IT HAPPENS. IT FEELS LIKE IT IS STUCK IN NEUTRAL AND YOU LOSE POWER. PROBLEM IS IT DOESN'T HAPPEN CONSISTENTLY, AND HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO TAKE IT DIRECTLY TO THE DEALER WHILE IT HAPPENS. I THINK IT IS DANGEROUS, BECAUSE I BELIEVE IT COULD CAUSE AN ACCIDENT ONE DAY. I'VE GOOGLED IT AND HAVE FOUND MANY OTHER PEOPLE WITH MY AGE HONDA ODYSSEY HAVE THE SAME PROBLEM, AND MANY SAY THAT HONDA CANNOT FIX IT. I THINK IT USUALLY HAPPENS WHEN THE WEATHER IS COLD.

View Details

SEAT BELTS

7/16/2019 - HOLLISTON, MA
# WHAT HAPPENED MY 7-YEAR OLD CHILD (AROUND 50 POUNDS, 4'ISH FEET) WAS IN THE 3RD ROW SEAT AND ATTEMPTED TO PUT THE SEATBELT. AS SHE WAS DOING THIS, SHE SOMEHOW MANAGED TO GET KNOTTED WITH THE SEATBELT AROUND HER STOMACH (SEE PHOTO). ATTEMPTS TO LOOSEN THE SEATBELT DID NOT WORK AS THE SEATBELT SEEMED TO HAVE LOCKED UP (EVEN AFTER PUTTING THE CAR IN PARK) # DETAIL 1. WE WERE COMING BACK FROM NEWPORT, RI WHEN WE RAN INTO THIS ISSUE. 2. I PULLED OVER AND WE IMMEDIATELY STARTED WORKING ON UN-RAVELLING THE SEATBELT (SINCE IT COULD POTENTIALLY CUT OFF CIRCULATION ON THE CHILD) 3. EVEN AFTER STOPPING THE CAR AND PUTTING THE CAR IN PARK, THE SEATBELT WOULD NOT SLACK AND LOOSEN. THE CHILD HAD CLEARLY GOT TIED UP IN THE SEATBELT. I WOULD EXPECT THAT THE SEATBELT WOULD SLACK (AKA: NOT LOCK UP) AND ALLOW THE KNOT TO LOOSEN AND FOR THE CHILD TO COME FREE. HOWEVER THAT DID NOT HAPPEN. DESPITE NUMEROUS EFFORTS TO WIGGLE FREE AND PULL THE SEATBELT FOR SLACK, NOTHING WOULD GIVE. 4. WE FINALLY MANAGED TO FIND A SCISSOR AND CUT OFF THE SEATBELT. AS SOON AS THE SEATBELT WAS CUT OFF, IT MADE A CRANKING NOISE AND COILED BACK INTO THE RESTRAINING SYSTEM. THE INCIDENT THAT HAPPENED IS VERY SIMILAR TO THE ONE DESCRIBED IN THIS ARTICLE (HE IS MORE ARTICULATE THAN ME!) : HTTPS://WWW.CONEJOVALLEYGUIDE.COM/WELCOME/SEAT-BELT-SCARE-ON-FATHERS-DAY-2011-KEEP-A-SHARP-OBJECT-IN-Y.HTML (*Y SIMILAR INCIDENT AS TH*)

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

7/9/2019 - ORTING, WA
I PURCHASED MY 2015 HONDA ODYSSEY BRAND NEW AND HAVE DONE ALL THE MAINTENANCE ON TIME WITH HONDA. MY SLIDING DOORS DO NOT STOP IF SOMETHING IS IN THE WAY. I HAVE HAD MULTIPLE TIMES WHERE A CHILD HAS TRIED TO GO IN/OUT WHILE THE DOOR IS SHUTTING AND IT HAS NOT STOPPED, THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE! THEN IN 2018 WITH ONLY 32K MILES OR SO I STARTED TO HEAR A SQUEAL TYPE NOISE AT 2K RPM AND ABOUT 60MPH. IT ONLY HAPPENED A FEW TIMES ON THE ROAD TRIP THEN AGAIN ON MY NEXT ROAD TRIP. HONDA LOOKED AT IT AND SAID THEY DIDN'T KNOW BUT THE TRANSMISSION FLUID SHOULD BE CHANGED. IT WAS CHANGED AT 29000 MILES WITH THE 30,000 MILE MAINTENANCE. WHEN IT HAPPENED AGAIN ON THE FREEWAY I TOOK IT IN AGAIN, NOW AT 47,000 MILES. HONDA SAYS THE TRANSMISSION FLUID IS DIRTY AND NEEDS TO HAVE WORK DONE. 4 WEEKS LATER I AM STILL WAITING FOR LOCAL HONDA TO GET OK FROM HEAD HONDA FOR FIX OF THROTTLE CONTROL WHINE. HONDA TECH WAS ABLE TO HEAR THE WHINE/SQUEAL WHILE DRIVING IT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/9/2019 - ORTING, WA
I PURCHASED MY 2015 HONDA ODYSSEY BRAND NEW AND HAVE DONE ALL THE MAINTENANCE ON TIME WITH HONDA. MY SLIDING DOORS DO NOT STOP IF SOMETHING IS IN THE WAY. I HAVE HAD MULTIPLE TIMES WHERE A CHILD HAS TRIED TO GO IN/OUT WHILE THE DOOR IS SHUTTING AND IT HAS NOT STOPPED, THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE! THEN IN 2018 WITH ONLY 32K MILES OR SO I STARTED TO HEAR A SQUEAL TYPE NOISE AT 2K RPM AND ABOUT 60MPH. IT ONLY HAPPENED A FEW TIMES ON THE ROAD TRIP THEN AGAIN ON MY NEXT ROAD TRIP. HONDA LOOKED AT IT AND SAID THEY DIDN'T KNOW BUT THE TRANSMISSION FLUID SHOULD BE CHANGED. IT WAS CHANGED AT 29000 MILES WITH THE 30,000 MILE MAINTENANCE. WHEN IT HAPPENED AGAIN ON THE FREEWAY I TOOK IT IN AGAIN, NOW AT 47,000 MILES. HONDA SAYS THE TRANSMISSION FLUID IS DIRTY AND NEEDS TO HAVE WORK DONE. 4 WEEKS LATER I AM STILL WAITING FOR LOCAL HONDA TO GET OK FROM HEAD HONDA FOR FIX OF THROTTLE CONTROL WHINE. HONDA TECH WAS ABLE TO HEAR THE WHINE/SQUEAL WHILE DRIVING IT.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/6/2019 - CONCORD, CA
PURCHASED AT 45,646 MILES. NOTICEABLE JUTTERING AT 15-40 MPH, MOST NOTABLY FROM 25-30 MPH AND DRIVING UP HILLS FAINT WHINING NOISE. DEALER CHECKING SOFTWARE UPDATE ON TRANSMISSION. NOTICED ON FREEWAYS AND CITY STREETS.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/14/2019 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
WHILE DRIVING, THE IDLE STARTED TO BECOME ROUGH AND ENGINE VIBRATION INCREASED. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND ADDITIONAL WARNING LIGHTS APPEARED IN THE DASH. ERROR CODE P0302 WAS THE PRIMARY ERROR CODE FOR MISFIRE CYLINDER 2 WHEN THE ERRORS WERE SCANNED AT HOME AND CONFIRMED BY SHOP AFFILIATED WITH CAR DEALERSHIP. THE SPARK PLUG IN CYLINDER 2 WAS INSPECTED AND IDENTIFIED TO BE FOULED AND COVERED IN OIL. ADDITIONALLY THE CERAMIC WAS MISSING FROM THE SPARK PLUG. THIS VEHICLE ONLY HAS 50,785 MILES, AND THIS ISSUE IS SIMILAR TO THE CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT/SERVICE BULLETIN 13-081 ISSUED TO HONDA VEHICLES (INCLUDING HONDA ODYSSEYS 2011-2013) . HOWEVER, THIS TIME HONDA IS TELLING ME THAT THIS ISSUE IS NOT A POWERTRAIN WARRANTY ISSUE AND THAT I AM RESPONSIBLE FOR THE COST OF REPAIRS ALTHOUGH THE PROBLEM FOLLOWS THE EXACT DECISION MATRIX FOUND IN THIS SERVICE BULLETIN FROM THE LOGGED ERROR CODE TO THE FOULED SPARK PLUG IN A YOUNG MOTOR. THIS VEHICLE HAS BEEN SERVICED BY THE SAME HONDA DEALERSHIP SINCE I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE USED AT 16K MILES.

View Details

ENGINE

6/14/2019 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
WHILE DRIVING, THE IDLE STARTED TO BECOME ROUGH AND ENGINE VIBRATION INCREASED. CHECK ENGINE LIGHT AND ADDITIONAL WARNING LIGHTS APPEARED IN THE DASH. ERROR CODE P0302 WAS THE PRIMARY ERROR CODE FOR MISFIRE CYLINDER 2 WHEN THE ERRORS WERE SCANNED AT HOME AND CONFIRMED BY SHOP AFFILIATED WITH CAR DEALERSHIP. THE SPARK PLUG IN CYLINDER 2 WAS INSPECTED AND IDENTIFIED TO BE FOULED AND COVERED IN OIL. ADDITIONALLY THE CERAMIC WAS MISSING FROM THE SPARK PLUG. THIS VEHICLE ONLY HAS 50,785 MILES, AND THIS ISSUE IS SIMILAR TO THE CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT/SERVICE BULLETIN 13-081 ISSUED TO HONDA VEHICLES (INCLUDING HONDA ODYSSEYS 2011-2013) . HOWEVER, THIS TIME HONDA IS TELLING ME THAT THIS ISSUE IS NOT A POWERTRAIN WARRANTY ISSUE AND THAT I AM RESPONSIBLE FOR THE COST OF REPAIRS ALTHOUGH THE PROBLEM FOLLOWS THE EXACT DECISION MATRIX FOUND IN THIS SERVICE BULLETIN FROM THE LOGGED ERROR CODE TO THE FOULED SPARK PLUG IN A YOUNG MOTOR. THIS VEHICLE HAS BEEN SERVICED BY THE SAME HONDA DEALERSHIP SINCE I PURCHASED THE VEHICLE USED AT 16K MILES.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

5/30/2019 - SHAW AFB, SC
WHEN ACCELERATING NORMALLY, A SHAKING, SLUGGISH SENSATION BEGINS IN 2ND GEAR GOING THROUGH 3RD. IF I SETTLE OUT WITHIN ONE OF THE GEARS, IT GOES AWAY. IT ONLY HAPPENS WHEN I'M ACCELERATING. THE SPEEDS WHEN IT OCCURS RANGE FROM 20-40 MPH. IF I WERE TO TRULY STEP ON IT, IT DOESN'T SEEM TO GET WORSE, IT ACTUALLY ALMOST DISAPPEARS. IF ANYONE ELSE HAS THIS PROBLEM, PLEASE POST IT UP. DONT WANT IT GETTING WORSE AND CAUSING INJURIES BUT IF IT DOES, THERE NEEDS TO BE A RECALL.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 15
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds