Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET COLORADO - 2016 CHEVROLET COLORADO Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 132 complaints filed for the 2016 CHEVROLET COLORADO

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2016 CHEVROLET COLORADO. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2016 CHEVROLET COLORADO, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (6) Engine (22) Fuel System Gasoline (1) Structure (6) Vehicle Speed Control (11)
Back Over Prevention (1) Engine And Engine Cooling (1) Power Train (51) Suspension (3) Visibility (1)
Communications (1) Exterior Lighting (3) Service Brakes (7) Tires (1) Visibility Wiper (5)
Electrical System (16) Fuel Propulsion System (6) Steering (25) Unknown Or Other (12) Wheels (4)
Electronic Stability Control (9)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
 
ComplaintDescription

STEERING

7/20/2019 - WEBSTER, TX
ON MULTIPLE OCCASIONS THE "SERVICE POWER STEERING" MESSAGE IS DISPLAYED ALONG WITH THE ABS LIGHT AND STABILITRACK LIGHT. ON TWO OF THESE OCCASIONS RIGHT WHEN I TURNED ON THE TRUCK, THE POWER STEERING ACTUALLY WENT OUT AND MADE THE WHEEL VERY DIFFICULT TO TURN. RESTARTING THE ENGINE SOLVED THE PROBLEM, BUT THIS WOULD BE VERY DANGEROUS IF IT WERE TO OCCUR WHILE DRIVING. THE LIGHTS HAVE COME ON WHILE DRIVING WITHOUT THE POWER STEERING GOING OUT, AND HAVE TURNED OFF ON THEIR OWN AFTER A FEW MINUTES.

View Details

STEERING

7/17/2019 - ROCKFORD, MI
I HAVE A 2016 COLORADO WITH ONLY 56,000 EASY MILES. I STARTED MY TRUCK IN MY DRIVEWAY AND STARTED TO BACK UP. I NOTICED THE POWER STEERING DID NOT WORK AND WARNING LIGHTS APPEARED ON THE DASH INDICATING A POWER STEERING PROBLEM. RESTARTING THE TRUCK DID NOT CORRECT OR RESET THE POWER STEERING FUNCTION. I HAVE OWNED 5 OTHER TRUCKS IN MY LIFE TIME AND NEVER EXPERIENCED ANYTHING LIKE THIS. NOW I HAVE A $1800 BILL FROM THE DEALERSHIP. THERE ARE 23 OTHER POWER STEERING COMPLAINTS ON 2016 COLORADOS ON YOUR WEBSITE. A LOW MILEAGE PICK-UP SHOULD NEVER HAVE A THIS PROBLEM. PLEASE DO SOMETHING.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/17/2019 - MILFORD, OH
THE IGNITION WILL NOT TURN COMPLETELY OFF WHICH MEANS THE KEY WILL NOT COME OUT. I MAY HAVE TO RESTART THE ENGINE, PUT IT IN GEAR AND MOVE A FEW FEET, FIVE TIMES TO GET THE KEY OUT. THE ENGINE ITSELF SHUTS OFF, BUT EVERYTHING ELSE STAYS ON. THIS HAPPENS FREQUENTLY. CHEVROLET HAS ISSUED A BULLETIN SAYING A DIRTY KEY WILL CAUSE THIS. HOW MANY TIMES IN YOUR LIFETIME HAVE YOU HAD TO CLEAN A KEY? THIS HAPPENS AFTER I HAVE STOPPED AND TRIED TO TURN THE TRUCK OFF.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/15/2019 - LAFAYETTE, TN
THE DRIVER INSTRUMENT AND RADIO DISPLAYS GO BLACK FOR SOME MINUTES (2 TO 20) MINUTES AND THEN RETURN TO FUNCTION. DURING THE BLACK OUT I CAN NOT CHECK SPEED, GAS MILEAGE, ODOMETER OR ANY OTHER INSTRUMENT FUNCTION. I HAVE VISITED CHAMPION CHEVROLET IN JOHNSON CITY, TN AND WILSON COUNTY MOTORS IN LEBANON, TN TO HAVE THE PROBLEM RESOLVED. NEITHER COULD RESOLVE THE ISSUE. THIS IS A SERIOUS SAFETY CONCERN TO ME. CAR WAS IN MOTION ON A HIGHWSY

View Details

STEERING

7/12/2019 - OWASSO, OK
POWER STEERING (PS) STOPS WORKING EITHER WHILE IN MOTION OR STATIONARY. PROBLEM IS INTERMEDIATE & STARTED 11 JLY 2019. IT DOESN'T SEEM TO MAKE A DIFFERENCE IF IN A CORNER OR STRAIGHT, THE PS JUST QUITS @ VARIOUS TIMES. IF MY WIFE OR DAUGHTER ARE DRIVING WHEN PS STOPS WORKING, IT COULD LEAD TO AN ACCIDENT BECAUSE THEY DON'T HAVE THE UPPER BODY STRENGTH TO STEER MANUALLY, ESPECIALLY IF IT HAPPENS IN A CORNER. NHTSA RECALL BULLETIN 15595A COVERS THIS PROBLEM WITH THE 2015 COLORADO'S BUT NOT THE 2016 COLORADO'S. THE RECALL NEEDS TO BE EXPANDED.

View Details

STEERING

7/11/2019 - PASADENA, MD
I WAS DRIVING MY CHEVY COLORADO IN A MARINE PORT IN HIGH TRAFFIC . MY TRUCK DINGED AS TWO SERVICE CODES CAME ACROSS MY DASH . SERVICE - POWER STEERING DRIVE WITH CARE AND SERVICE STABILTRAK . THE MOST TERRIFYING THING ABOUT THIS HAPPENING IS THE STEERING WHEEL PRETTY MUCH LOCKS AND BECOMES HIGHLY HIGHLY DIFFICULT TO GET TO A SAFE PLACE OR PULL OVER . I WAS ALMOST HIT GOING THROUGH A INTERSECTION . I STOP TURN THE TRUCK OFF . TURN IT BACK ON . MAGICALLY THE STEERING WORKS AGAIN . I GO TO DRIVE TO MY SHOP TO HAVE THEM HAVE A LOOK . MY POWER STEERING GOES OUT AGAIN ! NO RECALLS PRESENT OVER A 2400 DOLLAR REPAIR . HOW CAN THIS KEEP HAPPENING AND CHEVY WONT FIX THIS PROBLEM !

View Details

ELECTRONIC STABILITY CONTROL

6/28/2019 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
I WAS TURNING THROUGH A BUSY INTERSECTION AND AS I COMPLETED MY TURN AND CAME TO A STOP THE ENGINE SHUT DOWN. PRIOR TO MAKING THE TURN THE ENGINE FELT LIKE IT WAS GOING TO STALL OUT AND QUIT RUNNING. I HAVE EXPERIENCED THE SLUGGISH IDLE BEFORE BUT IT NEVER SHUT DOWN LIKE IT DID TODAY. A GOOGLE SEARCH REVEALED THAT CHEVROLET HAS A TECHNICAL SB, 16-NA-284 THAT SAYS A REPROGRAM OF THE COMPUTER IS REQUIRED TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM. IN MY OPINION THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE. I WAS FORTUNATE TO HAVE COMPLETED MY TURN BEFORE IT QUIT RUNNING BUT SOMEONE ELSE MAY NOT EVEN BE AWARE OF THE SITUATION PUTTING THEMSELVES AT RISK IF IT WOULD HAPPEN TO QUIT DURING THE TURN WITH ONCOMING TRAFFIC.

View Details

ENGINE

6/28/2019 - INDIANAPOLIS, IN
I WAS TURNING THROUGH A BUSY INTERSECTION AND AS I COMPLETED MY TURN AND CAME TO A STOP THE ENGINE SHUT DOWN. PRIOR TO MAKING THE TURN THE ENGINE FELT LIKE IT WAS GOING TO STALL OUT AND QUIT RUNNING. I HAVE EXPERIENCED THE SLUGGISH IDLE BEFORE BUT IT NEVER SHUT DOWN LIKE IT DID TODAY. A GOOGLE SEARCH REVEALED THAT CHEVROLET HAS A TECHNICAL SB, 16-NA-284 THAT SAYS A REPROGRAM OF THE COMPUTER IS REQUIRED TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM. IN MY OPINION THIS IS A SAFETY ISSUE. I WAS FORTUNATE TO HAVE COMPLETED MY TURN BEFORE IT QUIT RUNNING BUT SOMEONE ELSE MAY NOT EVEN BE AWARE OF THE SITUATION PUTTING THEMSELVES AT RISK IF IT WOULD HAPPEN TO QUIT DURING THE TURN WITH ONCOMING TRAFFIC.

View Details

ENGINE

6/27/2019 - LEBANON, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2016 CHEVROLET COLORADO. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. ADDITIONALLY, WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS PLACED IN PARK, THE IGNITION KEY FAILED TO CYCLE TO THE OFF POSITION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO RYDELL CHEVROLET (LOCATED AT 1309, 18600 DEVONSHIRE ST, NORTHRIDGE, CA 91324, (866) 802-5628) TO BE DIAGNOSED, BUT THE MECHANIC WAS UNABLE TO RETRIEVE A FAULT CODE OR DUPLICATE THE FAILURES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURES WERE INTERMITTENT. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 44,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

6/27/2019 - LEBANON, MO
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2016 CHEVROLET COLORADO. WHILE DRIVING 30 MPH, THE VEHICLE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING. THE CONTACT WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE VEHICLE. ADDITIONALLY, WHEN THE VEHICLE WAS PLACED IN PARK, THE IGNITION KEY FAILED TO CYCLE TO THE OFF POSITION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO RYDELL CHEVROLET (LOCATED AT 1309, 18600 DEVONSHIRE ST, NORTHRIDGE, CA 91324, (866) 802-5628) TO BE DIAGNOSED, BUT THE MECHANIC WAS UNABLE TO RETRIEVE A FAULT CODE OR DUPLICATE THE FAILURES. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE FAILURES WERE INTERMITTENT. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURES. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 44,000. THE VIN WAS NOT AVAILABLE.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 19
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds