Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SPARK - 2016 CHEVROLET SPARK Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 12 complaints filed for the 2016 CHEVROLET SPARK

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2016 CHEVROLET SPARK. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2016 CHEVROLET SPARK, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Electrical System (3) Exterior Lighting (1) Service Brakes (4) Unknown Or Other (2) Visibility Wiper (1)
Engine (2) Power Train (1)

Pages:  1 
 
ComplaintDescription

ENGINE

6/6/2019 - MEDINA, TN
I HAD JUST LEFT THE HOUSE AND THE CAR WAS FINE. I GOT TO A DANGEROUS INTERSECTION WHERE WRECKS HAPPEN ALL THE TIME AND I PRESSED ON MY BREAKS AND MY CAR DID NOT WANT TO STOP SO I KEPT PRESSING HARDER AND HARDER FINALLY I STOPPED. WHEN I DID THE CAR CUT OFF. IT CONTINUED TO DO THIS FOR THE 15 MINUTE DRIVE AND IT CUT OFF ON THE BUSH BYPASS IN THE CITY. MY HUSBAND LOOKED AT IT AND THE VACUUM PUMP BLEW UP AFFECTING THE CAMSHAFT. WE HAVE REPLACED THOSE PARTS AND THE SENSOR. NOW, I AM LOOKING FOR A CAMSHAFT EXHAUST ROD THAT NO CHEVY DEALER IN THE US HAS AND THEY SAID IT IS IN EXTREME BACKORDER. WHY IS THAT? I DID FIND ONE IN NORTH CAROLINA BUT IT WAS TAGGED FOR ANOTHER CUSTOMER. MY CAR HAS BEEN DOWN FOR A MONTH! I+M PAYING 300.00 A MONTH FOR A NEWER CAR AND 200.00 FOR FULL COVERAGE FOR SOMETHING I CAN+T EVEN GET A PART ON. IT MUST BE A COMMON PROBLEM. SOMETHING NEEDS TO CHANGE!!! IF YOU LOOK UP THE COMPLAINTS ONLINE YOU WILL SEE THIS CAR IS NOTHING BUT PROBLEMS. I SAY IT NEEDS MORE THAN A PART RECALL. THE WHOLE CAR NEEDS TO BE RECALLED!!! THIS IS AN INCONVENIENCE!! I JUST ASK YOU TO PUT YOURSELF IN MY SHOES.

View Details

ENGINE

5/15/2019 - CHEPACHET, RI
THERE WERE TWO INCIDENTS INVOLVING THE SAME PROBLEM. WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE ON THE HIGHWAY AND THEN ON A MAIN ROAD THE BRAKES LOCKED AND I HAD TO USE THE EMERGENCY BRAKE TO BRING THE VEHICLE TO COMPLETE STOP. MY MECHANIC REPLACED THE ENGINE BRAKE VACUUM PUMP AFTER BOTH INCIDENTS. THE PUMP WAS BROKEN IN PIECES ON BOTH OCCASIONS LEADING TO METAL PARTS FALLING INTO THE ENGINE DURING REPAIR AND NEEDING TO BE RETRIEVED TO PREVENT ENGINE DAMAGE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/15/2019 - CHEPACHET, RI
THERE WERE TWO INCIDENTS INVOLVING THE SAME PROBLEM. WHILE DRIVING THE VEHICLE ON THE HIGHWAY AND THEN ON A MAIN ROAD THE BRAKES LOCKED AND I HAD TO USE THE EMERGENCY BRAKE TO BRING THE VEHICLE TO COMPLETE STOP. MY MECHANIC REPLACED THE ENGINE BRAKE VACUUM PUMP AFTER BOTH INCIDENTS. THE PUMP WAS BROKEN IN PIECES ON BOTH OCCASIONS LEADING TO METAL PARTS FALLING INTO THE ENGINE DURING REPAIR AND NEEDING TO BE RETRIEVED TO PREVENT ENGINE DAMAGE.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/1/2019 - CARY, NC
AS I WAS DRIVING MY BRAKES GOT HARD PREVENTING ME FROM STOPPING ,I WAS DRIVING ON MY WAY TO PICK MY SISTER UP AND AS I WENT TO STOP TO TURN INTO HER DRIVEWAY MY BRAKES ARE SUPER HARD AND I WAS UNABLE TO COME TO A COMPLETE STOP FOR ABOUT A QUARTER OF A MILE WHEN I TOOK MY CAR IN TO GET IT INSPECTED THEY SAID MY BRAKE BOOSTER WAS OUT AND WHEN THEY TOOK IT OFF THE BRAKE BOOSTER VACUUM ALSO HAD TO BE REPLACED THEY SAID THIS RARELY EVER HAPPENS BUT THERE IS ALSO BEEN MULTIPLE COMPLAINTS OF IT AND THAT THERE IS NO WARNING SIGNS

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

3/9/2019 - AURORA, IL
THE FRONT LIGHTS APPEAR TO HAVE A DEFECT IN THEM. WHEN I HAVE A BULB REPLACE IT GOES RIGHT OUT. I JUST PURCHASED THIS CAR ON 11/19/2018. I HAD THE OIL CHANGED TWICE ALREADY AND THE OIL INDICATOR CONTINUES TO COME ON.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

3/9/2019 - AURORA, IL
THE FRONT LIGHTS APPEAR TO HAVE A DEFECT IN THEM. WHEN I HAVE A BULB REPLACE IT GOES RIGHT OUT. I JUST PURCHASED THIS CAR ON 11/19/2018. I HAD THE OIL CHANGED TWICE ALREADY AND THE OIL INDICATOR CONTINUES TO COME ON.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

9/10/2018 - GALVENSTON, TX
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2016 CHEVROLET SPARK. WHILE BEING OPERATED AT A LOW SPEED, THE BRAKES MADE AN ABNORMAL NOISE WITHOUT WARNING. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO CLASSIC CHEVROLET (LOCATED AT 1101 W STATE HIGHWAY 114, GRAPEVINE, TX) WHERE IT WAS DIAGNOSED THAT THE BRAKES NEEDED TO BE ADJUSTED AND THE BRAKE WHEEL CYLINDER WAS DEFECTIVE AND NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE VEHICLE WAS REPAIRED; HOWEVER, THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 9,659.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/9/2018 - SUMMITVILLE, IN
THE CONTACT OWNED A 2016 CHEVROLET SPARK. WHILE DRIVING APPROXIMATELY 45-50 MPH, THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL SMOKE ODOR IN THE CABIN OF THE VEHICLE. SUDDENLY, THE VEHICLE CAUGHT FIRE. THE FIRE DEPARTMENT WAS NOTIFIED AND EXTINGUISHED THE FIRE. THE VEHICLE WAS DESTROYED. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE FIRE STARTED FROM INSIDE THE VEHICLE AND SPREAD THROUGHOUT THE VEHICLE. A FIRE REPORT WAS FILED. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED BY THE FIRE DEPARTMENT THAT THE FIRE MIGHT HAVE BEEN CAUSED BY AN ELECTRICAL ISSUE, BUT WAS UNABLE TO SUBSTANTIATE THE CLAIM. THE VEHICLE WAS TOWED TO BAKER'S RECOVERY AND TOWING. THERE WERE NO INJURIES SUSTAINED. PAUL-RICHARD GMC (769 W MAIN ST, PERU, IN 46970, (765) 323-4317) WAS NOTIFIED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VIN WAS UNKNOWN. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 44,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

9/11/2017 - PLEASANT VALLEY, NY
CLUTCH WORE OUT ON 2016 CHEVROLET SPARK LS IN LESS THAN 11,000 MILES (JUST OVER 1 YEAR OLD). I AM AN EXPERIENCED MANUAL TRANSMISSION DRIVER WHO HAS DRIVEN OTHER CARS TO OVER 125,000 MILES WITHOUT NEEDING A NEW CLUTCH. CLEARLY DEFECTIVE CLUTCH BUT THEY WOULDN'T COVER IT UNDER WARRANTY BECAUSE IT WAS A "WEAR ITEM". NO, IT WAS A DEFECTIVE ITEM. DON'T BUY CHEVROLET SINCE THEY DON'T STAND BY THEIR VEHICLES AND YOU WILL PAY HUGE REPAIR COSTS FOR THEIR DEFECTS/PROBLEMS.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

1/23/2017 - MATTHEWS, SC
TL-

View Details
Pages:  1 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds