Auto Recalls for Consumers

FORD FOCUS - 2016 FORD FOCUS Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Ford Motor Company

There are 229 complaints filed for the 2016 FORD FOCUS

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2016 FORD FOCUS. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2016 FORD FOCUS, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (9) Exterior Lighting (3) Seat Belts (1) Structure (7) Vehicle Speed Control (15)
Electrical System (23) Fuel Propulsion System (32) Seats (2) Suspension (1) Visibility Wiper (8)
Electronic Stability Control (7) Fuel System Gasoline (3) Service Brakes (3) Tires (1) Wheels (4)
Engine (54) Power Train (109) Steering (15) Unknown Or Other (28)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

7/19/2019 - MACOMB, MI
VEHICLE STUTTERS AND HAS TROUBLE ACCELERATING/STAYING IN GEAR AFTER COMING TO A STOP OR SLOWING DOWN AND STARTING MOVEMENT AGAIN MULTIPLE TIMES A DAY. SOUNDS LIKE TRANSMISSION IS GRINDING DAILY WHEN ACCELERATING AFTER BEING AT A STOP, OR SLOWING DOWN. VEHICLE DROPS GEARS RANDOMLY WHILE MAINTAINING SPEED HIGHWAY SPEEDS. MADE RIGHT HAND TURN OUT AND EVEN WITH THE ACCELERATOR FLOORED VEHICLE DID NOT ACCELERATE UNTIL ALMOST REAR ENDED WHEN CARE JUST TOOK OFF ALMOST UNCONTROLLABLY, WAS LIKE IT WAS IN NEUTRAL GEAR AND WAS JUST ROLLING FOR JUST UNDER A QUARTER MILE ON CITY STREETS. EVEN FELT LIKE THE VEHICLE MIGHT OF BEEN SLOWING DOWN.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

7/19/2019 - MACOMB, MI
VEHICLE STUTTERS AND HAS TROUBLE ACCELERATING/STAYING IN GEAR AFTER COMING TO A STOP OR SLOWING DOWN AND STARTING MOVEMENT AGAIN MULTIPLE TIMES A DAY. SOUNDS LIKE TRANSMISSION IS GRINDING DAILY WHEN ACCELERATING AFTER BEING AT A STOP, OR SLOWING DOWN. VEHICLE DROPS GEARS RANDOMLY WHILE MAINTAINING SPEED HIGHWAY SPEEDS. MADE RIGHT HAND TURN OUT AND EVEN WITH THE ACCELERATOR FLOORED VEHICLE DID NOT ACCELERATE UNTIL ALMOST REAR ENDED WHEN CARE JUST TOOK OFF ALMOST UNCONTROLLABLY, WAS LIKE IT WAS IN NEUTRAL GEAR AND WAS JUST ROLLING FOR JUST UNDER A QUARTER MILE ON CITY STREETS. EVEN FELT LIKE THE VEHICLE MIGHT OF BEEN SLOWING DOWN.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/19/2019 - WASHINGTON, DC
MY CAR HAS EXTREME STUTTERING WHEN IT SHIFTS, AS THOUGH THE CLUTCH IS SLIPPING OR NOT ENGAGING PROPERLY. IT ALSO DOES NOT SHIFT WHEN GOING UP A HILL UNLESS THE THROTTLE IS RELEASED AND THE REV COUNTER IS ALLOWED TO DROP VERY LOW. ACCORDING TO NEWS REPORTS, FORD SET A DEADLINE OF 7/19/19 FOR WARRANTY REPAIRS OF THIS ISSUE. MY LOCAL DEALER CONFIRMED THIS DEADLINE AND TOLD ME TO CALL FORD FOR INFORMATION. FORD REFUSED TO CONFIRM ANYTHING AND SAID THAT I NEEDED TO SCHEDULE AN APPOINTMENT WITH THE DEALER TO DO ANYTHING. THE FACT THAT THEY HID A DEADLINE FOR REPAIR COVERAGE FOR A KNOWN ISSUE AND THAT THE PUBLIC WAS ONLY MADE AWARE WHEN THAT INFORMATION WAS LEAKED AND REPORTED ONE DAY BEFORE ITS EXPIRATION IS INCREDIBLY ANTI-CONSUMER AND DANGEROUS. THERE CAN BE NO REASONABLE EXPECTATION THAT ANYONE WOULD BE ABLE TO HAVE A PROBLEM DIAGNOSED AND FIXED IN ONE DAY AT A DEALER, AND FORD IS CLEARLY ACTING IN BAD FAITH.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

7/19/2019 - MANSFIELD, TX
THE TRANSMISSION SEEMS LIKE IT IS SLIPPING AND NOT GOING INTO GEAR. WHEN I TRY TO PUT I PUT THE CAR INTO REVERSE AND PUSH GAS PEDDLE IT DOES NOT GO, BUT WHEN I PUT IN DRIVE IT MOVES. THE CAR ONLY HAS 45,XXX MILES. WHEN I START THE CAR A BUNCH OF CLICKING SOUNDS COME FROM THE MOTOR, AND WHEN I TURN THE CAR OFF IT MAKES A BUNCH OF WEIRD CLICKING SOUNDS ALSO

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/19/2019 - MANSFIELD, TX
THE TRANSMISSION SEEMS LIKE IT IS SLIPPING AND NOT GOING INTO GEAR. WHEN I TRY TO PUT I PUT THE CAR INTO REVERSE AND PUSH GAS PEDDLE IT DOES NOT GO, BUT WHEN I PUT IN DRIVE IT MOVES. THE CAR ONLY HAS 45,XXX MILES. WHEN I START THE CAR A BUNCH OF CLICKING SOUNDS COME FROM THE MOTOR, AND WHEN I TURN THE CAR OFF IT MAKES A BUNCH OF WEIRD CLICKING SOUNDS ALSO

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/17/2019 - MILWAUKKE, WI
MY CAR IS NOT YET THREE YEARS OLD AND I HAVE HAD THE CLUTCH REPLACED TWICE. ON JULY 2, 2019, I WAS TOLD I NEEDED ANOTHER CLUTCH, WAITED ALL DAY FOR THE DEALERSHIP TO FIND A PART, ONLY TO BE TOLD THE NEXT DAY THAT I DIDN'T NEED A NEW CLUTCH. HOWEVER, MY CAR IS STILL MAKING THE RATTLING NOISE THAT HAS LED TO MY CLUTCH BEING REPLACED THE OTHER TWO TIMES. ON MY SECOND REPLACEMENT IN SEPTEMBER OF 2018, I WAS ENCOURAGED TO "UNLOAD" MY CAR AS SOON AS I COULD AS MY CLUTCH COULD NOT PERMANENTLY BE FIXED, AND THAT THEY COULD REPLACE IT, BUT THAT I WOULD BE BACK AGAIN IN 6 MONTHS. WHEN, IN JULY OF THIS YEAR, I WENT FROM NEEDING A NEW CLUTCH, TO SUDDENLY NOT, I ENDED UP WITH MY CAR BACK AT THE DEALERSHIP ON JULY 16, 2016 TO HAVE THEM TEST THE CLUTCH AGAIN. I ASKED THE SERVICE REP IF IT WAS TRUE THAT MY CLUTCH COULD NOT BE PERMANENTLY FIXED AND HE SAID THAT YES, UNFORTUNATELY THAT WAS TRUE. HE EXPLAINED TO ME THE DUAL CLUTCH AND SAID THAT IT WAS AN EXPERIMENT THAT WORKED IN THE FACTORY, BUT FAILED IN THE REAL WORLD. POSSIBLY, MOST CONCERNING TO ME, IS THAT THE CAR HAS TWICE, IN THE LAST COUPLE OF MONTHS, LURCHED FORWARD WITH THE CAR IN REVERSE. THE FIRST TIME IT HAPPENED, I WAS BACKING INTO MY GARAGE, AND MY CAR LURCHED FORWARD WHEN I PUSHED ON THE GAS WITH THE CAR IN REVERSE. I BARELY MISSED HITTING MY NEIGHBORS FENCE. THE SECOND TIME, I WAS ON MY PARKING SLAB. WHEN I WENT TO BACK UP, IT LURCHED FORWARD WITH THE CAR IN REVERSE. SINCE, ON MY MOST RECENT VISIT, THEY COULD NOT DUPLICATE THIS ACTION IN MY CAR THEY FIXED NOTHING. THEY ALSO, ONCE AGAIN DID NOT REPLACE THE CLUTCH, AND MY CAR IS STILL RATTLING. I'VE ALSO HAD THE TWO OTHER WARRANTY ISSUES WITH THIS CAR. I HAVE ALSO HAD THE BLOCK HEATER REPLACED, AND I HAD A LOSE BALL JOINT THAT NEEDED TO BE REPLACED. THE RATTLING AND SHUDDERING THAT I'VE EXPERIENCED ALWAYS HAPPENS WHEN ACCELERATING.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/17/2019 - MILWAUKEE, WI
TL THE CONTACT OWNS A 2016 FORD FOCUS. WHILE DRIVING AT ANY SPEED AND ATTEMPTING TO ACCELERATE, THE VEHICLE MADE A RATTLING NOISE AND SHUDDERED. THE CONTACT ALSO STATED THAT THE VEHICLE LUNGED FORWARD WHEN IT WAS SHIFTED INTO REVERSE. THERE WAS NO WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO UPTOWN FORD LINCOLN (414-771-9000, LOCATED AT 2111 N MAYFAIR RD, MILWAUKEE, WI 53226) TO BE DIAGNOSED, BUT THE FAILURES COULD NOT BE DUPLICATED. THE CLUTCH WAS REPLACED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED SEVERAL TIMES. THE CLUTCH WAS REPLACED AGAIN. THE CONTACT WAS INFORMED THAT THE TRANSMISSION COULD NOT BE REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND DID NOT ASSIST. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 13,803.

View Details

ENGINE

7/17/2019 - SUFFOLK, WA
TL THE CONTACT OWNS A 2016 FORD FOCUS. WHILE THE VEHICLE WAS AT A COMPLETE STOP, THE ENGINE STALLED WITHOUT WARNING WHEN PRESSURE WAS APPLIED TO THE ACCELERATOR PEDAL. THE DEALER AND MANUFACTURER WERE NOT NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT DIAGNOSED OR REPAIRED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 46,000.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

7/17/2019 - IOWA FALLS, IA
THE TRANSMISSION SLIPS AND THE CAR SHUDDERS. I HAVE HAD IT REPAIRED 3 TIMES AND EVERY TIME THE "CLUTCH" GOES BAD AGAIN. THE CAR WILL OCCASIONALLY ROLL BACK WHEN ON A HILL AND ALSO UPON TAKE OFF THERE'S A DELAY AND THEN THE CAR SHUDDERS AND THEN WILL START TO GO. THERE'S ALSO TIMES THAT THE RPMS WILL GO HIGHER THAN THEY SHOULD BEFORE THE CAR SHIFTS INTO THE NEXT GEAR.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

7/17/2019 - TROY, MI
AT ABOUT 20,000 MILES, THE DPS6 TRANSMISSION STARTED SHUDDERING AND VIBRATING DURING ACCELERATION. IT GOT PROGRESSIVELY WORSE, AND AT 21,988 MILES, ON 6/12/2019, I TOOK IT TO THE DEALER FROM WHOM I HAD PURCHASED THE CAR NEW ON 6/20/2016. A TECHNICIAN PERFORMED LABOR CODE #160109A. HE THEN NOTED, "FOUND SOME CLUTCH SHUDDER STILL PRESENT BUT FEWER THAN 250 RPM, OK PER FORD." AFTER I COMPLAINED, THE SERVICE MANAGER SENT ME A LETTER OFFERING ME A FREE OIL CHANGE (WHICH I DECLINED). TODAY, 7/17/2019, AT 21,988 MILES, THE TRANSMISSION IS STILL SHUDDERING. I AM WAITING TO SEE WHAT HAPPENS ON THE FORD FOCUS/FIESTA TRANSMISSION SETTLEMENT. MY CLAIM ID NO. ON THIS SETTLEMENT IS 10612086.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 32
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds