Auto Recalls for Consumers

HONDA ODYSSEY - 2016 HONDA ODYSSEY Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Honda (American Honda Motor Co.)

There are 76 complaints filed for the 2016 HONDA ODYSSEY

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2016 HONDA ODYSSEY. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2016 HONDA ODYSSEY, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (3) Fuel Propulsion System (3) Seats (19) Tires (1) Visibility (1)
Electrical System (14) Latches Locks Linkages (1) Service Brakes (5) Unknown Or Other (12) Visibility Wiper (2)
Electronic Stability Control (2) Power Train (9) Steering (4) Vehicle Speed Control (4) Wheels (3)
Engine (4) Seat Belts (2) Structure (9)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/24/2019 - GREENSBORO, GA
SUNROOF EXPLODED IN CAR WHILE PARKED IN A GARAGE.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

6/23/2019 - SUNNYVALE, CA
THE VAN JUDDERS PERIODICALLY AT SPEEDS BELOW 50MPH. THE JUDDERING IS BAD ENOUGH TO BE A SAFETY ISSUE. THE TORQUE CONVERTER SOFTWARE HAS BEEN UPDATED AND TRANSMISSION FLUID FLUSHED MULTIPLE TIMES WITHOUT SOLVING THE ISSUE. THE TRANSMISSION SHIFTS ERRATICALLY AND JERKS THE VAN RENDERING IT UNSTABLE. MULTIPLE CUSTOMERS HAVE REPORTED THE SAME ISSUE WITH THIS MODEL.

View Details

SEATS

4/12/2019 - SANTA MARIA, CA
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2016 HONDA ODYSSEY. THE CONTACT STATED THAT THE WALK-IN RELEASE LEVER TO THE SECOND ROW OUTBOARD SEAT WOULD NOT REMAIN IN THE LOCK POSITION. THE CONTACT HAD TO MANUALLY LOCK THE SEAT IN ORDER FOR IT TO REMAIN IN POSITION. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO HONDA OF SANTA MARIA (XXX), BUT THE CAUSE OF THE FAILURE COULD NOT BE DETERMINED. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURE AND INFORMED THE CONTACT THAT THE VIN WAS NOT INCLUDED IN A RECALL. THE FAIILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 56,442. PARTS OF THIS DOCUMENT HAVE BEEN REDACTED TO PROTECT PERSONALLY IDENTIFIABLE INFORMATION PURSUANT TO THE FREEDOM OF INFORMATION ACT (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

View Details

WHEELS

3/27/2019 - POUGHKEEPSIE, NY
THE INNER TIRE ROD UNTHREADED FROM THE OUTER TIRE ROD IN THE FROM PASSENGER TIRE AND LOCKED MY RIGHT TIRE DISABLING THE CAR

View Details

STEERING

3/14/2019 - CINCINNATI, OH
AFTER 38000 MILES, MY STEERING WHEEL BEGAN TO MAKE A CLICKING/POPPING SOUND WHEN TURNING AT A VERY SLOW SPEED, I TOOK IT IN AND THE DEALER/SERVICE CENTER SAID THERE WAS A SERVICE BULLETIN, BUT IT WASN'T A SAFETY HAZARD, ALSO SAID THE VAN HAD A SIMILAR ISSUE WITH STRUTS (SAFETY BULLETIN ISSUED FOR THOSE AS WELL). EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED THAT A VEHICLE WITH THIS LOW MILES AND SUCH A GOOD REPUTATION FOR QUALITY WOULD HAVE SUCH ISSUES AND I FIND IT HARD TO BELIEVE HOW THE STEERING AND STRUTS ARE NOT A SAFETY ISSUE. PRIOR TO THESE ISSUES, MY RACK AND PINION STARTED LEAKING, WHICH IS UNHEARD OF AT 35000 MILES.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/14/2019 - CINCINNATI, OH
AFTER 38000 MILES, MY STEERING WHEEL BEGAN TO MAKE A CLICKING/POPPING SOUND WHEN TURNING AT A VERY SLOW SPEED, I TOOK IT IN AND THE DEALER/SERVICE CENTER SAID THERE WAS A SERVICE BULLETIN, BUT IT WASN'T A SAFETY HAZARD, ALSO SAID THE VAN HAD A SIMILAR ISSUE WITH STRUTS (SAFETY BULLETIN ISSUED FOR THOSE AS WELL). EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED THAT A VEHICLE WITH THIS LOW MILES AND SUCH A GOOD REPUTATION FOR QUALITY WOULD HAVE SUCH ISSUES AND I FIND IT HARD TO BELIEVE HOW THE STEERING AND STRUTS ARE NOT A SAFETY ISSUE. PRIOR TO THESE ISSUES, MY RACK AND PINION STARTED LEAKING, WHICH IS UNHEARD OF AT 35000 MILES.

View Details

LATCHES/LOCKS/LINKAGES

2/27/2019 - LEANDER, TX
THE PASSENGER SIDE SLIDING DOOR OPENS UP AUTOMATICALLY AS THE CAR IS IN MOTION. THE VAN IS SET TO LOCK ALL DOORS WHEN TAKEN OUT OF PARK. THE VAN DOESN'T GO INTO PARK THUS ALLOWING THE SLIDING DOOR TO OPEN. THIS IS THE SECOND ROW OF THE VAN WHERE MY CHILDREN SIT. WHEN IT HAS OPENED, ON ITS OWN, MY CHILD HAS BEEN SITTING THERE. THE DEALERSHIP CAN'T FIGURE OUT WHAT IS CAUSING THE DOOR TO OPEN OR WHY THE DOORS DON'T LOCK.

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY: DOOR

2/27/2019 - LEANDER, TX
THE PASSENGER SIDE SLIDING DOOR OPENS UP AUTOMATICALLY AS THE CAR IS IN MOTION. THE VAN IS SET TO LOCK ALL DOORS WHEN TAKEN OUT OF PARK. THE VAN DOESN'T GO INTO PARK THUS ALLOWING THE SLIDING DOOR TO OPEN. THIS IS THE SECOND ROW OF THE VAN WHERE MY CHILDREN SIT. WHEN IT HAS OPENED, ON ITS OWN, MY CHILD HAS BEEN SITTING THERE. THE DEALERSHIP CAN'T FIGURE OUT WHAT IS CAUSING THE DOOR TO OPEN OR WHY THE DOORS DON'T LOCK.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

2/11/2019 - CASTLE ROCK, CO
AS I WAS DRIVING OUR 2016 HONDA ODYSSEY ON THE FREEWAY ON 8 FEBRUARY 2019, THE SUNROOF GLASS EXPLODED LEAVING A HOLE ABOUT 6 INCHES FRONT-TO-BACK BY ABOUT 9 INCHES SIDE-TO-SIDE. AT THE TIME OF THE EVENT, THE INTERIOR PANEL WAS OPEN TO LET IN THE SUNLIGHT SO IT WAS QUITE LOUD WHEN THE GLASS EXPLODED. I DO NOT BELIEVE THE GLASS WAS HIT BY A ROCK OR OTHER DEBRIS. THERE WERE NO CARS OR TRUCKS CLOSE AHEAD OF ME AND I HAD NOT GONE UNDER AN OVERPASS. ALSO THE REMAINING BROKEN GLASS AROUND THE HOLE WAS BOWED OUTWARD. MY SENSE IS THAT THIS IS A STRESS-RELATED FAILURE - PERHAPS TRIGGERED BY THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN OUTSIDE AND INSIDE TEMPERATURES. AT THE TIME OF THE EVENT, THE OUTSIDE TEMPERATURE HERE IN CASTLE ROCK, CO WAS 19 DEG F AND THE SUN WAS SHINING. THE INSIDE TEMPERATURE WAS ABOUT 67 DEG F. OUR DEALER, KUNI HONDA, SAID THAT BECAUSE THE VAN HAD PAST THE 36-MONTH MARK IN DECEMBER (ABOUT 5 WEEKS EARLIER) THAT THEY WOULD NOT COVER THE REPAIR UNDER WARRANTY. THE SERVICE MANAGER TOLD ME THE REPAIR WOULD COST $997.02.

View Details

WHEELS

1/3/2019 - BROOKLYN, NY
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2016 HONDA ODYSSEY. EACH TIME THE VEHICLE WAS DRIVEN, IT PULLED TO THE LEFT. THE FAILURE OCCURRED NUMEROUS TIMES. THERE WERE NO WARNING INDICATORS ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO DCH HONDA OF NANUET (10 NY-304, NANUET, NY 10954, (845) 367-4380) WHERE A WHEEL ALIGNMENT, TIRE BALANCE, AND AIR PRESSURE CHECK WERE COMPLETED, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN BACK TO THE DEALER WHERE THEY RE-TESTED THE WHEEL ALIGNMENT AND TEST DROVE THE VEHICLE, BUT COULD NOT DUPLICATE THE FAILURE. THE VEHICLE WAS NOT REPAIRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS NOTIFIED OF THE FAILURE AND PROVIDED CASE NUMBER: 09153138. THE APPROXIMATE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS 26,142. CONSUMER STATED FRONT-END WHEEL ALIGNMENT ALL FOUR WHEELS WERE DONE AND ALL 4 WHEELS WHERE BALANCED BY A DEALER ON SAT. 11/18/18 VEHICLE STILL HAD PROBLEMS TOOK IT TO ANOTHER DEALER SOLVED THE PROBLEM.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  ... 9
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds