Auto Recalls for Consumers

TOYOTA RAV4 - 2016 TOYOTA RAV4 Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by Toyota Motor Corporation

There are 97 complaints filed for the 2016 TOYOTA RAV4

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2016 TOYOTA RAV4. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2016 TOYOTA RAV4, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (8) Exterior Lighting (14) Service Brakes (26) Suspension (1) Vehicle Speed Control (8)
Electrical System (8) Fuel Propulsion System (2) Steering (4) Tires (1) Visibility (3)
Electronic Stability Control (3) Power Train (4) Structure (5) Unknown Or Other (10) Visibility Wiper (8)
Engine (8) Seats (1)

Pages:  1  
2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
 
ComplaintDescription

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

6/19/2019 - EXETER, PA
MOONROOF DRAIN CLOGGED AND CAUSED WATER TO RUN DOWN A FRAME AND SEEP UNDER CARPET. VEHICLE IS NOW FULL OF MOLD DUE TO THE LEAK. AT THIS TIME THE LEAK IS FIXED BUT THE MOLD ISSUE PERSISTS. THIS BEEN CONFIRMED BY DEALER AND TOYOTA NATIONAL OFFICE. THERE IS NO MENTION OF THE DRAIN OR DRAIN MAINTENANCE IN THE MANUAL. THE MOLD IS A SERIOUS HEALTH HAZARD. MY CURTAIN AIR BAG IS ALSO PROBABLY DAMAGED DUE TO WATER RUNNING DOWN THE FRAME. THE WATER MUST HAVE BEEN LEAKING FOR A WHILE BUT I DID NOT BECOME AWARE OF THE PROBLEM UNDER THE MOLD STARTED TO SMELL WHEN THE WEATHER GOT WARM. THE WATER ALSO HAS THE POTENTIAL TO DAMAGE CRUCIAL ELECTRICAL EQUIPMENT. NATIONAL TOYOTA OFFICE AND THE DEALER ARE DISMISSIVE ABOUT THE ISSUE. TOYOTA'S SOLUTION TO THIS PROBLEM IS "CALL YOUR INSURANCE" INSTEAD OF TAKING RESPONSIBILITY FOR NOT INFORMING THE CONSUMER ABOUT THE DRAINS. I WOULD NOT HAVE THIS ISSUE IF I WAS INFORMED TO PERIODICALLY CHECK THE DRAINS FOR DEBRIS. MY RAV4 FOR 41K MILES ON IT. USE IS NORMAL.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

6/18/2019 - LAKEWOOD, NJ
MY BRAKES SEEM TO SCRAPE ABOUT THE FIRST 5 TIMES I USE THEM THEN THE SOUND GOES AWAY

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

5/20/2019 - CLIFTON, VA
MY CAR HAS ONLY 22,700 MILES. FRONTS END BRAKES AND ROTOR ARE TOTALLY WORN OUT. THE CAR WAS DRIVEN NORMALLY.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/30/2019 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
2016 TOYOTA RAV4 WAS STOPPED AT RED LIGHT AND SUDDENLY ACCELERATED AT HIGH RPM CAUSING THE VEHICLE TO LUNG FORWARD. HOLDING THE BRAKE PEDAL HARD DID NOT KEEP THE VEHICLE FROM GOING FORWARD. THERE WAS NO TRAFFIC AT THE TIME, WAS STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT WITH BRAKE ENGAGED, AT INTERSECTION ON US17, JACKSONVILLE, FL. VERY SERIOUS SAFETY DISCREPANCY THAT HAS POTENTIAL TO CAUSE SEVERE ACCIDENT AND OR FATALITY.

View Details

SERVICE BRAKES

3/30/2019 - JACKSONVILLE, FL
WHILE STOPPED AT A RED LIGHT THE VEHICLE ACCELERATED AND LUNGED FORWARD. BRAKES WOULD NOT HOLD THE VEHICLE FROM GOING FORWARD. HAD TO TURN THE VEHICLE OFF.

View Details

ENGINE

3/5/2019 - BRADENTON, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2016 TOYOTA RAV4. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO MAKE A TURN FROM A STOP, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER. THERE WAS NO WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE RESTARTED WITHIN TWO SECONDS, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO GETTEL TOYOTA OF LAKEWOOD (941-567-1080, LOCATED AT 5959 E. STATE RD 64, BRADENTON, FL 34208) WHERE IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS PERFORMING AS DESIGNED. THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES AND DID NOT ASSIST. THE FAILURE WAS NOT REMEDIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 1,000.

View Details

ELECTRICAL SYSTEM

3/5/2019 - BRADENTON, FL
THE CONTACT OWNS A 2016 TOYOTA RAV4. WHILE ATTEMPTING TO MAKE A TURN FROM A STOP, THE VEHICLE LOST POWER. THERE WAS NO WARNING INDICATOR ILLUMINATED. THE VEHICLE RESTARTED WITHIN TWO SECONDS, BUT THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE VEHICLE WAS TAKEN TO GETTEL TOYOTA OF LAKEWOOD (941-567-1080, LOCATED AT 5959 E. STATE RD 64, BRADENTON, FL 34208) WHERE IT WAS DETERMINED THAT THE VEHICLE WAS PERFORMING AS DESIGNED. THE FAILURE RECURRED. THE MANUFACTURER WAS MADE AWARE OF THE FAILURES AND DID NOT ASSIST. THE FAILURE WAS NOT REMEDIED. THE FAILURE MILEAGE WAS APPROXIMATELY 1,000.

View Details

POWER TRAIN

2/1/2019 - NORCROSS, GA
I HAVE PROBLEM WITH CV JOINT LESS 30,000 MILES, TOYOTA TELL ME EVERYTHING IS GOOD WITH THE SUV, BUT HAVE SOME NOISE, NOW DON'T HAVE GOOD STABILITY WHEN A DRIVE

View Details

STRUCTURE: BODY

12/3/2018 - PEARLAND, TX
HELLO, MY SUNROOF SHATTERED WITHOUT WARNING. ONE MORNING, I DECIDED TO OPEN MY SUNROOF. WHEN I PRESSED THE OPEN BUTTON, THE SUNROOF MADE A CRACKING NOISE THAT GOT WORSE AS THE SUNROOF OPENED. I WAS ON A RESIDENTIAL STREET AT THE TIME. TEMP: ABOUT 65 DEGREES.,OVERCAST.

View Details

EXTERIOR LIGHTING

11/27/2018 - WEST RICHLAND, WA
THE HEADLIGHTS ON THIS VEHICLE ARE NOT ADEQUATE. THE LOW BEAM HEADLIGHTS DO NOT PROJECT FAR ENOUGH DOWN THE ROAD TO SEE OBJECTS ON THE ROAD, ESPECIALLY AT HIGHWAY SPEEDS. ON THE NIGHT OF SEPTEMBER 16, 2017, I NEARLY HIT TWO DEER ON THE INTERSTATE HIGHWAY BECAUSE I COULD NOT SEE THEM.

View Details
Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  10  >>  ... 11
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds