Auto Recalls for Consumers

CHEVROLET SPARK - 2017 CHEVROLET SPARK Problems & Complaints

 
Auto Recalls For Consumers
by General Motors LLC

There are 13 complaints filed for the 2017 CHEVROLET SPARK

Below is a list of complaints & problems filed against the 2017 CHEVROLET SPARK. These problems includes information received by NHTSA from consumers either directly or as recorded by the Vehicle Safety Hotline. This information may be used by NHTSA during the investigation process. If you like to file an official complaint for the 2017 CHEVROLET SPARK, you can do so by calling the NHTSA Mon-Fri 8am to 8pm at 888-327-4236, TTY: 800-424-9153. You can also file your complaint online by clicking here. Your complaint will be added to the NHTSA complaints database after a thorough review. If a trend is discovered, an investigation will be opened by the ODI.

Search Complaints - Search Recalls

See complaints below ↓
View other component problems for this vehicle or view all problems
Air Bags (4) Exterior Lighting (1) Power Train (1) Service Brakes (2) Vehicle Speed Control (1)
Electrical System (1) Fuel Propulsion System (1) Seat Belts (1) Unknown Or Other (1) Visibility Wiper (3)
Engine (2)

Pages:  1 
 
ComplaintDescription

POWER TRAIN

3/17/2019 - ANACORTES, WA
WE PURCHASED A 2017 CHEVY SPARK WITH 40,000 MILES ON IT AND WITHIN THE FIRST TWO WEEKS THE CAR WILL NOT ACCELERATE FOR ABOUT 2 SECONDS AND THEN WILL LEAP FORWARD. WHEN YOU COME TO A COMPLETE STOP THE ENGINE WILL REV UP AND NOT GO FORWARD FOR ABOUT 2-3 SECONDS. THIS BECOMES VERY UN SAFE SINCE YOU CAN NOT DEPEND ON THIS VEHICLE TO GO FORWARD WHEN NEEDED. I HAVE TAKEN IT BACK TO THE DEALER AND THEY SAID THERE WAS AN SOFTWARE UPLOAD TO THE TRANSMISSION THAT SHOULD HELP. IT DID NOT HELP AND I HAVE RESEARCHED THAT THIS IS PRETTY COMMON WITH THESE CVT TRANSMISSIONS. I WILL TAKE IT IN AGAIN THIS WEEK FOR THEM TO POSSIBLY CHANGE OUT TRANSMISSION. THE COMPLAINTS THAT ARE ON THIS VEHICLE ARE THE SAME HAVING TO DO WITH ACCELERATION PROBLEMS. GM NEEDS TO LOOK AT THIS ISSUE AS A RECALL TO HELP SAVE LIVES.

View Details

VEHICLE SPEED CONTROL

3/17/2019 - ANACORTES, WA
WE PURCHASED A 2017 CHEVY SPARK WITH 40,000 MILES ON IT AND WITHIN THE FIRST TWO WEEKS THE CAR WILL NOT ACCELERATE FOR ABOUT 2 SECONDS AND THEN WILL LEAP FORWARD. WHEN YOU COME TO A COMPLETE STOP THE ENGINE WILL REV UP AND NOT GO FORWARD FOR ABOUT 2-3 SECONDS. THIS BECOMES VERY UN SAFE SINCE YOU CAN NOT DEPEND ON THIS VEHICLE TO GO FORWARD WHEN NEEDED. I HAVE TAKEN IT BACK TO THE DEALER AND THEY SAID THERE WAS AN SOFTWARE UPLOAD TO THE TRANSMISSION THAT SHOULD HELP. IT DID NOT HELP AND I HAVE RESEARCHED THAT THIS IS PRETTY COMMON WITH THESE CVT TRANSMISSIONS. I WILL TAKE IT IN AGAIN THIS WEEK FOR THEM TO POSSIBLY CHANGE OUT TRANSMISSION. THE COMPLAINTS THAT ARE ON THIS VEHICLE ARE THE SAME HAVING TO DO WITH ACCELERATION PROBLEMS. GM NEEDS TO LOOK AT THIS ISSUE AS A RECALL TO HELP SAVE LIVES.

View Details

FUEL/PROPULSION SYSTEM

3/17/2019 - ANACORTES, WA
WE PURCHASED A 2017 CHEVY SPARK WITH 40,000 MILES ON IT AND WITHIN THE FIRST TWO WEEKS THE CAR WILL NOT ACCELERATE FOR ABOUT 2 SECONDS AND THEN WILL LEAP FORWARD. WHEN YOU COME TO A COMPLETE STOP THE ENGINE WILL REV UP AND NOT GO FORWARD FOR ABOUT 2-3 SECONDS. THIS BECOMES VERY UN SAFE SINCE YOU CAN NOT DEPEND ON THIS VEHICLE TO GO FORWARD WHEN NEEDED. I HAVE TAKEN IT BACK TO THE DEALER AND THEY SAID THERE WAS AN SOFTWARE UPLOAD TO THE TRANSMISSION THAT SHOULD HELP. IT DID NOT HELP AND I HAVE RESEARCHED THAT THIS IS PRETTY COMMON WITH THESE CVT TRANSMISSIONS. I WILL TAKE IT IN AGAIN THIS WEEK FOR THEM TO POSSIBLY CHANGE OUT TRANSMISSION. THE COMPLAINTS THAT ARE ON THIS VEHICLE ARE THE SAME HAVING TO DO WITH ACCELERATION PROBLEMS. GM NEEDS TO LOOK AT THIS ISSUE AS A RECALL TO HELP SAVE LIVES.

View Details

ENGINE

10/15/2018 - TIGARD, OR
AS I WAS IDLING UP BEHIND THE CAR IN FRONT OF ME AT A 4-WAY STOP, AND BRAKING GENTLY, MY ENGINE PUTTERED OUT AND TURNED OFF. I WAS ABLE TO RESTART THE CAR AFTER PUTTING IT IN PARK AND TURNING THE IGNITION OFF THEN BACK ON.

View Details

UNKNOWN OR OTHER

8/27/2018 - BEAUMONT, CA
I WAS DRIVING ON THE FREEWAY UP A SLIGHT INCLINE, IT WAS OVER 100 DEGREES OUTSIDE, HAD AC WORKING AND HAD CRUISE CONTROL SET TO 70 MPH, THE CRUISE CONTROL SUDDENLY CANCELED ITSELF OUT AND MY SPEED RAPIDLY DROPPED. THIS ALWAYS SEEMS TO HAPPEN WHEN THE WEATHER IS OVER 100 DEGREES OUTSIDE AND GOING UP AN INCLINE, EVEN SLIGHTLY. ANOTHER PROBLEM I AM HAVING IS THAT WHEN I COME TO A STOP, SOMETIMES THE CAR SHUDDERS AND JERKS. ALSO IF I AM RUNNING THE AC ON THE VEHICLE IN PARK, SOMETIMES THE AC CUTS OUT ITSELF. IN ORDER TO START IT AGAIN I NEED TO TURN THE KNOB TO OFF AND TURN THE KNOB BACK ON TO GET AC WORKING AGAIN. THESE ISSUES ALL OCCURRED RANDOMLY, MULTIPLE TIMES

View Details

AIR BAGS

5/22/2018 - ARLINGTO, TX
SWIRVED TO SHOULDER OF THE ROAD CAME TO A COMPLETE STOP AND CURTIN AIR BAGS DEPLOYED IN STANDING POSITION.

View Details

ENGINE

1/1/2018 - ORLANDO, FL
THE ENGINE LOSES 1% OF ITS OIL EVERY 20 DRIVEN MILES. GM KNOWS ABOUT THIS EXCESSIVE OIL CONSUMPTION AND REFUSES TO RESOLVE THE CAUSE. I BOUGHT THIS AS A NEW CAR, WITH 2059 MILES ON IT. RIGHT NOW MY OIL GAUGE READS 96%, OR A 4 % OIL LOSS, AFTER 80 DRIVEN MILES. I AM DEATHLY AFRAID TO TAKE THIS CAR OUT ON A INTERSTATE HIGHWAY WITH HIGH SPEED TRAFFIC BECAUSE THIS WILL REALLY STRESS THE ENGINE. THE 1ST 80 DRIVEN MILES WAS ON CITY STREETS IN ORLANDO, FLA. WHAT I DON'T UNDERSTAND IS THAT NHTSA HAS KNOWN ABOUT THIS GM ENGINE PROBLEM SINCE 2014, SO WHY HASN'T SOMETHING BEEN DONE TO GET GM TO PUT SAFE, RELIABLE ENGINES IN THEIR CARS? THEIR OPEL CARS HAVE EXCELLENT REPUTATION FOR ENGINES WHICH DO NOT LOSE OIL BETWEEN OIL CHANGES.I ALSO AM AWARE THE DAEWOO BLOCK HAS BEEN RE-WORKED AND GM WANTS TO GET ITS INVESTMENT BACK, USING ULTRA CHEAP KOREAN LABOR, WHERE THE ENGINE IS MADE. WHAT I DON'T KNOW, AND CAN'T FIND OUT IS IF THESE ENGINES HAVE A SMALL TURBO TO BOOST POWER, WHICH IN TURN WOULD BE A REASON FOR A SMALL INCREASE OIL CONSUMPTION, BUTT, DEFINITELY NOT AS DRASTIC AS THE 1% EVERY 20 DRIVEN MILES I AM CURRENTLY EXPERIENCING. I EXPECT AUTO NATION CHEVROLET IN ORLANDO TO DEMAND THAT GM SEND THEM A 2018 MADE ENGINE TO INSTALL IN MY CAR TO SEE IF THE OIL CONSUMPTION ISSUE HAS BEEN RESOLVED. WHAT I DEMAND IS A TOTAL RECALL OF THESE SPARK ENGINES AND REPLACE THEM WITH NEW RELIABLE ENGINES WHICH OTHER GM SUBSIDIARIES LIKE OPEL MAKE. HOW MANY PEOPLE HAVE TO DIE IN AN ACCIDENT BEFORE THIS UNSAFE ENGINE IS REPLACED,

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

9/28/2017 - LEESBURG, GA
THE INTERIOR TRIM ON THE DASH AND DOORS IS SO SHINY IT CAUSES REFLECTIONS IN THE SIDE MIRRORS. THE REFLECTION IS SO BAD IT OBSTRUCTS YOUR VIEW OF THE OTHER VEHICLES ON THE ROAD BEHIND YOU. (IF YOU LOOK CLOSELY AT THE UPLOADED PICTURE YOU MIGHT BE ABLE TO SEE THE VEHICLE BEHIND ME IN THE OTHER LANE.)

View Details

AIR BAGS

9/15/2017 - PLYMOUTH, MA
THERE IS A RECALL INCLUDING MY SPARK TO REPLACE THE PASSENGER SIDE AIRBAG. I TOOK MY SPARK TO THE DEALER (BY APPOINTMENT) ON 1 SEPTEMBER TO HAVE THE RECALL AIRBAG CHANGEOVER MADE. IT COULD NOT BE DONE BECAUSE A COUPLER IN THE NEW INSTALLATION WAS FOUND TO BE DEFECTIVE. ANOTHER COUPLER WAS ORDERED, IT ARRIVED AND WAS ALSO FOUND TO BE DEFECTIVE (8 SEPTEMBER). ACCORDING TO THE DEALER AND CHEVROLET CUSTOMER ASSISTANCE, THERE ARE NO OTHER COUPLERS TO BE HAD AND THE ETA FOR A CORRECTLY-MADE COUPLER IS UNKNOWN. I HAVE BEEN TOLD THAT MY CAR, WHICH WAS DISASSEMBLED AND NOW SITS AT THE DEALERSHIP, CANNOT BE REASSEMBLED UNTIL THE NEW AIRBAG IS INSTALLED. WHEN THAT CAN HAPPEN IS, OF COURSE, UNKNOWN. IF THE POINT OF A RECALL IS TO MAKE THE CAR DRIVEABLE, CHEVY HAS FAILED UTTERLY. AS A CONSUMER, I HAD THE EXPECTATION THAT WHEN A RECALL WAS ORDERED, THE DEALER WAS EXPECTED TO CORRECT THE SITUATION IN A TIMELY MANNER. I HAVE ABSOLUTELY NO IDEA WHEN MY SPARK'S PROBLEM WILL BE CORRECTED.

View Details

VISIBILITY/WIPER

9/1/2017 - BEDFORD, VA
MY FRONT WINDSHIELD WIPERS DON'T WORK WHEN THE WINDSHIELD GETS WET. AFTER THE SUN DRIES THE CAR, THE WIPERS WORK FINE. I HAD TO KEEP STOPPING ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD WIPING OFF THE WINDSHIELD SO I COULD SEE WHERE I WAS GOING. I ALSO TURNED ON THE DEFROSTER TO HELP DRY THE WINDSHIELD. THE AUTOMATIC DAYTIME RUNNING LIGHTS ONLY COME ON AT NIGHT. I HAVE TO MANUALLY TURN THEM ON DURING THE DAY.

View Details
Pages:  1 
Home  •  Car Recalls  •  Tires  •  Motorcycles  •  RVs  •  Commercial Vehicles  •  Car Seats  •  Complaints  •  Sitemap  •  Privacy Policy

Edmunds  •  Kelley Blue Book  •  SaferCar.gov  •  Consumer Recalls  •  Government Recalls
Follow arfc_recalls on TwitterRSS Feeds